^^s^:- 
 
 D 
 
 2— & 
 
 1 ^^1 
 
 — ^ 
 
 3 
 
 
 i! 
 
 i . 
 
 ! t 
 
 '1 * 
 
 ■ } ; 
 
 
 -1 1] 
 
 ♦«; 
 
 5 
 
 ^' 
 
 ^ -. 
 
 ^ 
 
 # 
 
 n 
 
 i
 
 # 
 
 ^
 
 ^^.> 
 
 ■^Mm 
 
 / i
 
 PAST AND PRESENT 
 
 OF 
 
 JASPER COUNTY 
 
 IOWA 
 
 GEN. JAMES B. WEAVER 
 
 EDITOR-IN-CHIEF 
 
 ILLUSTRATED 
 
 VOLUME I 
 
 1912 
 B. F. BOWEN & COMPANY 
 
 INDIANAPOLIS. INDIANA
 
 DEDICATION. 
 This work is respectfully dedicated to 
 
 THE PIONEERS, 
 
 long since departed. May the memory of those who laid down their burdens 
 by the wayside ever be fragrant as the breath of summer 
 flowers, for their toils and sacrifices have made 
 Jasper County a garden of sun- 
 shine and delights.
 
 ■5137052 
 V. / 
 
 PREFACE 
 
 All life and achievement is evolution; present wisdom comes from past 
 experience, and present commercial prosperity has come only from past exer- 
 tion and suffering. The deeds and motives of the men that have gone before 
 have been instrumental in shaping the destinies of later communities and 
 states. The development of a new country was at once a task and a privi- 
 lege. It required great courage, sacrifice and privation. Compare the pres- 
 ent conditicms of the people of Jasper ctmnty. Iowa, with what thev were 
 one hundred years ago. From a trackless wilderness and virgin land, 
 it has come to be a center of prosperity and civilization, with millions of 
 wealth, systems of railways, grand educational institutions, splendid indus- 
 tries and immense agricultural and mineral productions. Can any thinking 
 person be insensible to the fascination of the study which discloses the 
 aspirations and efforts of the early pioneers who so strongly laid the founda- 
 tion upon which has been reared the magnificent prosperity of later days? 
 To perpetuate the story of these people and to trace and record the social, 
 political and industrial progress of the community from its first inception 
 is the function of the local historian. A sincere purpose to preserve facts 
 and personal memoirs that are deserving of perpetuation, and which unite 
 the present to the past, is the motive for the present publication. The work 
 has been in the hands of able writers. Avho have, after much patient study 
 and research, produced here the most complete biographical memoirs of 
 Jasper county. Iowa, ever offered to the jjublic. A specially valuable and 
 interesting department is that one devoted to the sketches of representative 
 citizens of this county whose records deserve preservation because of their 
 worth, effort and accomplishment. The publishers desire to extend their 
 thanks to the gentlemen who have so faithfully labored to this end. Thanks 
 are also due to the citizens of Jasper count\- for the uniform kindness with 
 which they have regarded this undertaking and for their many services ren- 
 dered in the gaining of necessary information. 
 
 In placing the "Past and Present of Jasper County. Iowa," before the 
 citizens, the publishers can conscientiously claim that they have carried out 
 the plan as outlined in the prospectus. Eveiy biographical sketch in the 
 work has been submitted to the party interested, for correction, and therefore 
 any error of fact, if there be any, is solely due to the person for whom the 
 sketch was prepared. Confident that our effort to please will fully meet the 
 approbation of the public, we are, 
 
 Respectfully. 
 
 THE PUBLISHERS.
 
 u
 
 CONTENTS 
 
 CHAPTER I— Ix\TRODUCTORY 25 
 
 Importance of General and Local History — Jasper County Three Score 
 Years Ago — Wonderful Change in the Scene. 
 
 CHAPTER II— NATURAL FEATURES 27 
 
 ■ Geological Characteristics — Soil — Land Elevations — Streams of Jasper 
 County — The Native Groves — Wonderful Mirage in 1859 — Coal Mining 
 Industry — Weather Conditions of Jasper County — Climatic Changes. 
 
 CHAPTER III— CHANGE FROM INDIAN TO W^HITE MAN'S OCCUPANCY 37 
 The Iowa Indians, the Sacs and Foxes — Indian Treaties — Disputes Between 
 Iowa Indians and the Warlike Sioux — Treaty of 1825 — Government Secures 
 Indian Lands — Removal of the Indians — Indians and the Whites — Some 
 Well-known Chiefs — Indian Traders — The Trail Made by the Dragoons. 
 
 CHAPTER IV— ORGANIZATION OF JASPER COUNTY 44 
 
 Original Boundary Lines — Organizing Act of 1846 — Organizing Election — 
 First Officers — First Meeting of County Commissioners — Locating the 
 County Seat — Dividing the County into Townships — Boundaries — Another 
 Change in Township Lines — Washington Precinct — Government Surveys — 
 Dates of Township Organizations. 
 
 CHAPTER V— EARLY SETTLEMENT OF THE COUNTY 54 
 
 Adam Tool and His Companions — Mrs. William Highland, the First Woman 
 — Tool's Tavern — Assessment Roll for 1847 — The Hollanders in Jasper 
 County — The Pioneers — Wild Game — First Bad Characters in this County — 
 First Events in Jasper County — First Portable Saw Mill — Claim Protection 
 Societies — Going to Mill — Value of Bread — Some Severe Winters. 
 
 CHAPTER VI— COUNTY GOVERNMENT 72 
 
 County Governmental Changes — Acts of the County Commissioners — Taxa- 
 ble Property in 1849 — Acts of the County Judge — Proceedings of the Board 
 of Supervisors — Drainage of the Swamp Lands — The County Held Liable — 
 The County's Finances — Abstracts of Tax Books, 1910 — ^Jasper County's 
 Various Court Houses — First County Building — The Second Court House — 
 The Present Court House — The County Jail — The County Home — Jasper 
 County Seal — Official Directory, 1911 — New Road Drag Law. 
 
 CHAPTER VII— COUNTY, STATE AND NATIONAL REPRESENTATION.. 89 
 
 Presidential Vote — L'nited States Senators — Congressmen — Governors of 
 Iowa — State Senators — Representatives — Early County Commissioners — Com-
 
 CONTENTS. 
 
 „„.Mu„.i- V Icrks-County J lulKes— Sheriff .-founty Surveyors— Clerks of 
 the District Court— County Attorneys— County Treasurers— County Record- 
 crs-Countv Coroners- County Auditors-Prosecuting Attorneys— Superin- 
 tendents of'School— School Fund Commissioner— County Supervisors— Town- 
 ship Officers — Supervisors' Districts. 
 
 CHAPTER VIII-AGRICULTURE, HORTICULTURE, STOCK RAISING-— 100 
 Jasper, an Advanced County in One of the Best Agricultural States of the 
 Union— Agricultural Census for 1905— Yield Per Acre— Rainfall— Jasper 
 County Agricultural Society— Official Roster— Present Officers— Prairie City 
 Agricultural Society— Patrons of Husbandry. 
 
 CHAPTER IX-RAILROADS AND EARLY TRANSPORTATION 109 
 
 Importance of Railroads in Local Development— First Railroad Project- 
 Iowa Land Grants— Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific— Newton & Monroe 
 Railroad— Iowa Central Railroad— Chicago Great Western Railroad— Newton 
 & Northwestern Railroad— Railroad Mileage of County. 
 
 CHAPTER X— EDUCATIONAL INTERESTS . 116 
 
 Iowa Public School System the Best— Early Legislative Acts— First Subscrip- 
 tion Schools — Early School Houses — School Finances Long Ago — First 
 Schools in Some of the Townships — Newton City Schools — Occupations of 
 High School Graduates — Jasper County Schools in 1870-76 — A Model School 
 House — Jasper County Schools in 1910 — School Townships — Independent 
 Village. Town and City Corporations — Rural Independent Corporations — 
 Some Statistics — Teachers' Institutes — Wittemberg Manual Labor College — 
 Lynnville Academy — Hazel Dell Academy — Its Founder, Prof. Darius 
 Thomas — Newton Normal College. 
 
 CHAPTER XI— NEWSPAPERS OF JASPER COUNTY 143 
 
 Potent Influence of the Press — First Newspaper in Jasper County — Newton 
 Newspapers — The Express — The Journal — Jasper County Independent — Free 
 Press — Newton Herald — Newton Daily News — Newton Record — Lynnville 
 Star — Baxter New Era — Colfax Tribune — Colfax Clipper — Prairie City News 
 — Monroe Mirror — Kellogg Enterprise. 
 
 CHAPTER XII— RELIGIOUS HISTORY OF THE COUNTY 152 
 
 Religious Convictions of the Pioneers — First Religious Service in the County 
 — Present Denominations and Memberships in the County — Methodist Epis- 
 copal Societies— Newton Methodist Church— Tool's Chapel — Methodist 
 Churches at Ira, Valeria, Mingo, Keilogg, Rushville, Mt. Pleasant, Reasnor, 
 Colfax, Clyde, Fairmount, Kilduff, Prairie City, Lynnville— Methodist Pro- 
 testant Church — Newton Free Methodist Church — Baptist Churches at New- 
 ton, Colfax, Vandalia, Metz, Monroe— Presbyterian Churches at Newton, 
 Colfax— United Presbyterian Churches at Monroe, Newton and the Palo 
 Alto Church— United Brethren — Congregational Churches at Newton, Prairie 
 City, Monroe, Sully, Newberg. Wittemberg— Church of Christ (Disciples)— 
 Universalist Church— Catholic Churches of Jasper County— Episcopal Church 
 —Mormon Church— Lutheran Churches— German Reformed Church— Christ- 
 ian Ueformed Church— Society of Friends— Seventh-day Adventist Church- 
 African Methodist Epixopal Church— Young Men's Christian Association.
 
 CONTENTS, 
 
 CHAPTER XIII— CIVIC SOCIETIES OF THE COUNTY 191 
 
 Ancient Free and Accepted Masons — Royal Arch Masons— Kpights Templar 
 — Independent Order of Odd Fellows — Patriarchs MSilitant — Knights of 
 Pythias. 
 
 CHAPTER XIV— MILITARY HISTORY OF THE COUNTY 204 
 
 President Lincoln's First Call for Enlistments — Enthusiasm in Jasper County 
 — War Meetings — Official Action — Presentation of the Havelocks — Volun- 
 teer Roster of the County— The County's Death Roll — The Jasper Grays— 
 Spanish-American War — Grand Army of the Republic. 
 
 CHAPTER XV— BENCH AND BAR OF JASPER COUNTY 229 
 
 First Term of Court in Jasper County — Early Judges — District and Circuit 
 Courts — Jasper County Attorneys — The Present Bar. 
 
 CHAPTER XVI— MEDICAL PROFESSION 248 
 
 The Early "Saddle-bags" Doctor — Wonderful Advance in the Science of Medi- 
 cine — Physicians of Jasper County — An Honorable List — Present Practicmg 
 Physicians — County Medical Societies. 
 
 CHAPTER XVII— BANKS AND BANKINGi 256 
 
 Little Early Need for Banks — Prosperous Times of the Fifties — Specie Pay- 
 ment in the County — Panic of 1857 — Newton's Banks — Banking at Monroe, 
 Reasnor, Prairie City, Newburg, Mingo, Lynnville, Baxter, Ira, Kellogg, 
 Colfax — Bank Failures — List of Present Jasper County Banks. 
 
 CHAPTER XVIII— THE CITY OF NEWTON . 269 
 
 Beginning of the City — Value of Town Lots in 1846 — Town Plat Surveyed — 
 Early Residents — Business Enterprises in 1860 — Activity of 1875 — Subsequent 
 Rapid but Steady Growth — Manufacturing Enterprises in 1911 — Flouring 
 Mills — Postoffice History — Municipal History — First Town Charter Aban- 
 doned — Fire Department — Electric Light Plant — Water Works — A New De- 
 parture — City Officials — Free Public Library — Union Cemetery — Business 
 Men's Association. 
 
 CHAPTER XIX— BUENA VISTA TOWNSHIP 285 
 
 Organization — Location — Concerning the Settlement— First Events— Wild 
 Turkeys — Village of Murphy — Village of Killduflf — Churches. 
 
 CHAPTER XX— FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP 290 
 
 Boundaries— Organization — First Settlement in Jasper County — First Events 
 — Town of Monroe — Incorporation History — Mayors — Present Town Offi- 
 cers — Business Directory — City of the Dead — Postoffice History — Village of 
 Fairmount — Fairview Township and the Civil War — Veterans Who Re- 
 enlisted. 
 
 CHAPTER XXI— MOUND PRAIRIE TOWNSHIP 300 
 
 Location — Organization — Original Land Entries — Early Settlers — First 
 Events — Village of Metz — Village of Severs. 
 
 CHAPTER XXII— ROCK CREEK TOWNSHIP . 304 
 
 Boundaries — Population — First Land Entries — Organization and First Elec- 
 tion — Fatal Accidents — Valuations — Village of Turner.
 
 CONTENTS. 
 
 CHAPTER XXIII— ELK CREEK TOWNSHIP — 306 
 
 Situation— Organization— First Entries of Government Land— First Religious 
 Ser\'ice — Elections — Valuations— Village of Galesburg. 
 
 CHAPTER XXIV— MARIPOSA TOWNSHIP 308 
 
 Location and Organization— Land Entries— Personal Tax Valuations— En- 
 terprising Spirit 
 
 CHAPTER XXV— MALAKA TOWNSHIP 309 
 
 Largest Township in the County— Boundaries— Organization — Population — 
 Land Entries — A Prairie Township — Tax Valuations. 
 
 CHAPTER XXVI— DES MOINES TOWNSHIP 310 
 
 Area— Natural Features — Population — Organization — Land Entries — Elec- 
 tions — Tax Valuations — Towns and Villages — Prairie City — A Desirable Lo- 
 cation — Incorporation — Mayors — Local Improvements — Postoffice History — 
 Business Directory — Vandalia Village. 
 
 CHAPTER XXVII— KELLOGG TOWNSHIP 316 
 
 Location — Population — Tax Valuations — Town of Kellogg — Original Platting 
 — Early Business Enterprises — First Events — Municipal History — Business 
 Factors in 1911 — Postoffice — Fires. 
 
 CHAPTER XXVIII— INDEPENDENCE TOWNSHIP 321 
 
 Boundaries — Natural Features — Organization — Tax Valuations — A Terrible 
 Accident — Town of Baxter — Original Plat — Mayors — Public Improvements 
 — Postoffice — Business Directory — Village of Ira — Business Interests — Post- 
 office. 
 
 CHAPTER XXIX— HICKORY GROVE TOWNSHIP 325 
 
 Area and Boundaries — Population — Unusual Items of Interest — Assessed 
 Valuations — Village of Newburg — Postoffice — Business Interests. 
 
 CHAPTER XXX— LYNN GROVE TOWNSHIP 328 
 
 One of the Original Civil Precincts — Natural Features — Tax Valuations — 
 Character of First Pioneers — Early Enterprises — Another Early Settlement 
 Account — First Events — Lynnville — Incorporation — Present Business Inter- 
 ests — Postoffice — Village of Sully — Business Directory — Public Utilities — 
 Postoffice. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXI— RICHLAND TOWNSHIP 336 
 
 Situation and Area — Natural Featur.;s — Property Valuation — A Prosperous 
 Farming Community. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXII— POWESHIEK TOWNSHIP 337 
 
 Origin of Name— Situation— Natural Features— Organization— First Land 
 Entries— Greencastle— Village of Mingo— Officials— Postoffice— Business In- 
 terests—Village of Valeria— Commercial Directory— Postoffice— Oswalt. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXIII— PALO ALTO TOWNSHIP 342 
 
 Location and Area— Earliest Land Entries— Organization— The Beginnings- 
 First Events— Interesting Paragraphs— Town of Reasnor— Present Business 
 Interests — Postoffice History.
 
 CONTENTS. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXIV-NEWTON TOWNSHIP... 34^ 
 
 Organization-Boundaries-Natural Features-Prpuirti"o"n-ETe7tio'ns-Tax" 
 Valuations— Historical Notes. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXV-WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP 348 
 
 Boundaries-Streams-Population-Organization of the"Towns"h7pl"at"y"of 
 Colfax-Schools and Churches-First Things-Medicinal Waters-Munici- 
 pal Crovernment— Incorporation— Mayors— Present Officers— Fire Depart- 
 ment-Water Works-Postoffice-First Important Events-Business In- 
 terests. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXVI— SHERMAN TOWNSHIP 357 
 
 Location-Groyes-Streams-Early Land Entries-b7;inL7t7on-p7puTa" 
 tion — Land Valuations. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXVII-CLEAR CREEK TOWNSHIP 358 
 
 Situation-Area-Streams- Population - Elections-TaxableT- vinaie""of 
 Clyde — A Bad Fire. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXVIII-MISCELLANEOUS ITEMS 360 
 
 Village Plats of the County-California Gold Seekers-Earl'y'stage'Ro'adl- 
 Marnage Record— Intoxicating Liquors, Prohibition, Etc.— Unique Temper- 
 ance Election-Vote on the Constitutional Amendment-Local Literature 
 and Authors-Total Eclipse of 1869-Pioneer Woman Called "Good Squaw" 
 ~r^^}%'^T^^] ?"" Located in Jasper County-The Underground Railroad 
 -Old Settlers Society-Jasper County's First Celebration-Population Sta- 
 tistics-Postoffices-Village Plats and Population-Early-day Mob Law 
 Spint-Jasper County Safe Robbery-Overturning of a Stage Coach-Grand 
 Jury Incident— Ventriloquism— Valeria Cyclone, 1896. 
 
 CHAPTER XXXIX-INTERESTING REMINISCENCES.... 403 
 
 Great Indian Scare— Memorable Winter of 1848-9— Hard Winter of"l856-7— 
 Reminiscences of the Old Court House-A Home Coming-Early Times in 
 Mound Prairie— The "Know Nothing" Political Party
 
 HISTORICAL INDEX 
 
 A 
 
 Acts of County Commissioners 37 
 
 Acts of County Judge 75 
 
 African M. E. Church 189 
 
 Agricultural Societies 102 
 
 An Agricultural County 100 
 
 Ancient Free and Accepted Masons 191 
 
 Anti-slavery Days 373 
 
 Assessment Roll of 1847 59 
 
 Attorneys of Jasper County 232 
 
 Auditors 95 
 
 B 
 
 Bad Characters 64 
 
 Bank Failures 266 
 
 Banks and Banking 256 
 
 Baptist Churches , 164 
 
 Baxter 322 
 
 Baxter Newspapers 148 
 
 Bench and Bar 229 
 
 Board of Supervisors 76 
 
 Buena Vista Township 286 
 
 Burton & Co. Bank, Kellogg 265 
 
 Business Men's Association 283 
 
 C 
 
 California Gold Seekers 362 
 
 Catholic Churches 183 
 
 Census of 1910 377 
 
 Census Statistics 100 
 
 Changes in Township Lines 51 
 
 Chicago Great Western Railroad 114 
 
 Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific 
 
 Railroad 112 
 
 Christian Reformed Church 186 
 
 Church of Christ l78 
 
 Churches 152 
 
 Circuit Court 231 
 
 Citizens' State Bank, Colfax 265 
 
 Citizens' State Bank, Xewton 260 
 
 Civic Societies 191 
 
 Claim Protection Societies 67 
 
 Clark. L. D., Bank 260 
 
 Clear Creek Township 358 
 
 Clerks of District Court 93 
 
 Climatic Changes 34 
 
 Clyde 359 
 
 Clyde M. E. Church 161 
 
 Coal Mining 31 
 
 Colfax 340 
 
 Colfax Business Interests 353 
 
 Colfax Christian Church 180 
 
 Colfax Fire Department 352 
 
 Colfax M. E. Church 160 
 
 Colfax Municipal Government 351 
 
 Colfax Newspapers 148 
 
 Colfax Officers 351 
 
 Colfax Postoffice 352 
 
 Colfax Presbyterian Church 168 
 
 Colfax Water Works 352 
 
 Commissioners' Clerks 92 
 
 Congregational Churches 173 
 
 Congressmen 90 
 
 Constitutional Amendment, Vote 366 
 
 Coroners 95 
 
 County Attorneys 94 
 
 County Commissioners, Acts of 7Z 
 
 County Commissioners, Early 92 
 
 County Commissioners, First Meet- 
 ing 47 
 
 County Divided 50 
 
 Count}' Finances 78 
 
 County Government 72 
 
 County Home 86 
 
 County Jail 85 
 
 County Judge, Acts of 75 
 
 County Judges 92 
 
 County Medical Societies 255
 
 HISTORICAL INDEX. 
 
 v.,„,u> urticcrs. 1911 «^ 
 
 County Schools in 1870 125 
 
 County Scat. Locating •♦^ 
 
 County Supervisors 96 
 
 County Treasurers 94 
 
 County's War Death-roll —1 
 
 Court. F\t>1 Term of 229 
 
 Court House Reminiscences 40/ 
 
 Court Houses 80 
 
 Cyclone at Valeria 399 
 
 D 
 
 l)ai!y Newspapers I'^S 
 
 Des Moines Township 310 
 
 Disciples Church 178 
 
 Division of County SO 
 
 Doctors, Early 248 
 
 Drag Law 87 
 
 Drainage of Swamp Lands 77 
 
 E 
 
 Early County Commissioners 92 
 
 Early-day Mob Spirit 379 
 
 Early Judges 229 
 
 Early Physicians 248 
 
 Early School Finances 119 
 
 Early School Houses 118 
 
 Early Settlement 54 
 
 Early Stage Roads 362 
 
 Early Times 411 
 
 Eclipse of 1869 369 
 
 Educational Interests 116 
 
 Election, Organizing ; 47 
 
 Elevation of Land 27 
 
 Elk Creek Township 306 
 
 Episcopal Church 183 
 
 F 
 
 Fairniount 296 
 
 Fairmount M. E. Church 161 
 
 Fairvicw Township 296 
 
 Fairvifw Township and the Civil 
 
 War 296 
 
 Farm Stai us 101 
 
 Farmers' S mgs Bank, Ira 265 
 
 Fifth Infantry 210 
 
 Fifth Veteran Cavalry __ 218 
 
 Fifty-first Regiment 225 
 
 Fifty-second Regiment 226 
 
 Finances of County 78 
 
 First Court House 80 
 
 First Death 65 
 
 First Events in Jasper County 65 
 
 First Mill 66 
 
 First National Bank, Colfax 266 
 
 First National Bank, Monroe 261 
 
 First National Bank, Newton 261 
 
 First National Bank, Prairie City 263 
 
 First Newspaper 143 
 
 First Portable Saw-mill 67 
 
 First Railroad Project 109 
 
 First School House 118 
 
 First Schools 119 
 
 First Term of Court 229 
 
 First Wedding 65 
 
 First W^hite Child 65 
 
 First Woman Here 56 
 
 Fortieth Infantry 216 
 
 Forty-fifth Infantry 217 
 
 Forty-ninth Regiment 224 
 
 Fourteenth Infantry 213 
 
 Fourth Cavalry 218 
 
 Foxes 37 
 
 Free Methodist Church 164 
 
 Friends Society 188 
 
 G 
 
 Galesburg 307 
 
 German Reformed Church 185 
 
 Going to Mill 69 
 
 Gold Seekers 362 
 
 Good Squaw 370 
 
 Government Surveys 52 
 
 Governors 90 
 
 Grand Army of the Republic 226 
 
 Grand Jury Incident 398 
 
 Grange 106 
 
 Great Indian Scare 403 
 
 Green, John, Chief 41 
 
 Greencastle 338 
 
 Groves 29 
 
 H 
 
 Hard Winter of 1856-7 407 
 
 Hazel Dell Academy 135 
 
 Hickory Grove Township 325 
 
 Highland, Mrs. William 56
 
 HISTORICAL INDEX. 
 
 Hollanders in Jasper County 60 
 
 Home Coming 410 
 
 I 
 
 Independence Township 321 
 
 Independent Order of Odd Fellows 196 
 
 Independent School Corporations — 127 
 
 Indian Occupancy 37 
 
 Indian Scare 403 
 
 Indian Traders 41 
 
 Indian Treaties 38 
 
 Indians and Whites 39 
 
 Interesting Reminiscences 403 
 
 Intoxicating Liquors 365 
 
 Introductory 25 
 
 Iowa Central Railroad 114 
 
 Iowa Land Grants 110 
 
 lowas 37 
 
 Ira 324 
 
 Ira M. E. Church 157 
 
 J 
 
 Jail 85 
 
 Jasper County Agricultural Society-- 102 
 
 Jasper County Attorneys 232 
 
 Jasper County Banks 267 
 
 Jasper County Medical Society 255 
 
 Jasper County Organized 44 
 
 Jasper County Population 377 
 
 Jasper County Postofifices 379 
 
 Jasper County Safe Robbery 383 
 
 Jasper County Savings Bank 260 
 
 Jasper County Seal 87 
 
 Jasper County Streams 27 
 
 Jasper Grays 223 
 
 Jasper's First Celebration 375 
 
 Jasper's Original Boundary 44 
 
 Judges 92 
 
 Judges, Early ^ 229 
 
 K 
 
 Kellogg 316 
 
 Kellogg Christian Church 180 
 
 Kellogg Lutheran Church 184 
 
 Kellogg M. E. Church 158 
 
 Kellogg Newspapers 150 
 
 Kellogg Township 316 
 
 Killduff . 288 
 
 KilldufT M. E. Church 161 
 
 Knights of Pythias 201 
 
 Knights Templar 193 
 
 Know-nothing Party 414 
 
 L 
 
 Land Elevation 27 
 
 Land Grants HO 
 
 Library, Newton 281 
 
 Local Authors 367 
 
 Local Literature 367 
 
 Locating County Seat 48 
 
 Lutheran Church 184 
 
 Lynch Law 379 
 
 Lynn Grove Township 328 
 
 Lynnville 331 
 
 Lynnville Academy 135 
 
 Lynnville M. E. Church 162 
 
 Lynnville Newspapers 147 
 
 M 
 
 Macy Brothers' Bank, Lynnville 264 
 
 Malaka Township 309 
 
 Mariposa Township 308 
 
 Marriage Record 363 
 
 Masonic Order 191 
 
 Medical Profession 248 
 
 Medical Society 255 
 
 Memorable Winter of 1848-9 406 
 
 Meteorological Reports 33 
 
 Methodist Episcopal Churches 153 
 
 Methodist Protestant Church 163 
 
 Metz 303 
 
 Metz Baptist Church 167 
 
 Military History of County 204 
 
 Mingo . 339 
 
 Mingo M. E. Church 157 
 
 Mingo Trust & Savings Bank 264 
 
 Mining 31 
 
 Mirage 30 
 
 Miscellaneous Commands 219 
 
 Miscellaneous Items 360 
 
 Mob Law Spirit 379 
 
 Model School House 125 
 
 Monroe 291 
 
 Monroe Baptist Church 167 
 
 Monroe City, State Capital 371 
 
 Monroe Congregational Church 175 
 
 Monroe Newspapers 150
 
 HISTORICAL INDflX. 
 
 Monroe Savint;> Uaiik -- -^1 
 
 Mormon Church — ^84 
 
 Mound Prairie, Early Times 411 
 
 Mound Prairie Township 300 
 
 Mt. Pleasant M. E. Church 159 
 
 Murphy 288 
 
 N 
 
 Xative Groves 29 
 
 Natural Features -' 
 
 Newburg •'^^ 
 
 Ncwburg Congregational Church 176 
 
 Newspapers of Jasper County 143 
 
 Newton 269 
 
 Newton & Monroe Railroad 112 
 
 Newton & Northwe>tern Railroad — 114 
 
 Newton Banks 260 
 
 Newton Baptist Church 164 
 
 Newton Business in 1866 272 
 
 Newton Business in 1911 273 
 
 Newton Business Men's Ass'n 283 
 
 Newton City Officials 280 
 
 Newton City Schools 121 
 
 Newton Congressional Church 173 
 
 Newton Daily News 147 
 
 Newton Disciples Church 179 
 
 Newton Electric Light Plant 279 
 
 Newton Fire Department 278 
 
 Newton. First Buildings 270 
 
 Newton. First Events 271 
 
 Newton Flouring Mills 274 
 
 Newton Herald 146 
 
 Newton Lutheran Church 185 
 
 Newton Methodist Church 155 
 
 Newton Municipal History 276 
 
 Newton Newspapers 144 
 
 Newton Normal College 141 
 
 Newton. Original Plat 270 
 
 Newton Postoffice 275 
 
 Newton Presbyterian Church 168 
 
 Newton Public Library 281 
 
 Newton Record 147 
 
 Newton Savings Bank 261 
 
 Newton Surveyed 270 
 
 Newton Town Lots 269 
 
 Newton Township 346 
 
 Newton L'. P. Church 172 
 
 Newton Water Works 279 
 
 Nintii <avalry 219 
 
 Normal <'ollege 141 
 
 O 
 
 Occupations of Students 124 
 
 Odd Fellows 196 
 
 Officers of County, 1911 87 
 
 Officers of Townships 98 
 
 Old Settlers' Society 375 
 
 Organization of Jasper County 44 
 
 Organization of Townships 52 
 
 Organizing Election 47 
 
 Oswalt 341 
 
 P 
 
 Palo Alto Presbyterian Church 169 
 
 Palo Alto Township 342 
 
 Panic of 1857 258 
 
 Patriarchs Militant 197 
 
 Patrons of Husbandry 106 
 
 People's State Bank, Baxter 265 
 
 Physicians, Early 248 
 
 Physicians, Present 255 
 
 Population 377 
 
 Postoffices of Jasper County 379 
 
 Poweshiek 40 
 
 Poweshiek Township 337 
 
 Prairie City 311 
 
 Prairie City Agricultural Society 105 
 
 Prairie City Congregational Church — 174 
 
 Prairie City Disciples Church 181 
 
 Prairie City M. E. Church 161 
 
 Prairie City States Bank 263 
 
 Presbyterian Churches 168 
 
 Present Bar __ _ 247 
 
 Present Court House 83 
 
 Present Physicians 255 
 
 Presidential Vote 89 
 
 Press of Jasper County 143 
 
 Prohibition 365 
 
 Prosecuting Attorneys 96 
 
 Prosperous Times of Fifties 256 
 
 R 
 
 Railroad, First 109 
 
 Railroad Mileage 115 
 
 Rainfall 102 
 
 Reaper Accident 321 
 
 Reasnor 344 
 
 Reasnor M. E. Church 160 
 
 Recorders 94
 
 HISTORICAL INDEX. 
 
 Reformed Church 186 
 
 Religious History of County 152 
 
 Reminiscences 403 
 
 Reminiscences, Old Court House 407 
 
 Representatives 91 
 
 Richland Township ^ 336 
 
 Road Drag Law 87 
 
 Rock Creek Township __ 304 
 
 Royal Arch Masons 192 
 
 Rural School Corporations 127 
 
 Rushville M. E. Church 159 
 
 Sacs 37 
 
 Safe Robbery, 1868 383 
 
 Savings Bank of Newburg 263 
 
 School Corporations 127 
 
 School Finances, Early 119 
 
 School Fund Commissioners 96 
 
 School Houses, Early 118 
 
 School Laws 117 
 
 School Statistics 128 
 
 School Townships 126 
 
 Schools in 1870 125 
 
 Seal of County 87 
 
 Second Court House 81 
 
 Senators, State 91 
 
 Senators, U. S. 90 
 
 Seventh Cavalry 218 
 
 Seventh-day Adventist Church 189 
 
 Severs 303 
 
 Sheriffs 92 
 
 Sherman Township 356 
 
 Society of Friends 188 
 
 Spanish-American War 223 
 
 Specie Payment 257 
 
 State Capital in Jasper 371 
 
 Stage Roads, Early 362 
 
 State Savings Bank, Baxter 264 
 
 State Savings Bank, Monroe 262 
 
 State Senators 91 
 
 Streams of Jasper County 27 
 
 Sully 333 
 
 Sully Congregational Church 175 
 
 Superintendents of Schools 96 
 
 Supervisors Id, 96 
 
 Supervisors' Districts 99 
 
 Surveyors 93 
 
 Surveys, Government 52 
 
 Swamp Lands, Drainage of 11 
 
 T 
 
 Tax Books, 1910 79 
 
 Teachers' Institutes 129 
 
 Temperance Election, Unique 365 
 
 Temperatures 33 
 
 Tenth Infantry 211 
 
 The Hamlin Affair 380 
 
 The Havelocks 309 
 
 The Pioneers 61 
 
 Third Infantry 210 
 
 Thirteenth Infantry 212 
 
 Thirty-seventh Infantry 216 
 
 Thomas, Darius 135 
 
 Tool, Adam 54 
 
 Tool's Chapel 156 
 
 Tool's Tavern 57 
 
 Total Eclipse of 1869 369 
 
 Township Line Changes' 51 
 
 Township Officers __" 98 
 
 Township Organizations 52 
 
 Townships Laid Oflf 50 
 
 Trail of Dragoons 42 
 
 Treasurers, County 94 
 
 Treaties with Indians 38 
 
 Turner 305 
 
 Twenty-eighth Infantry 215 
 
 Twenty-second Infantry 213 
 
 Twenty-third Infantry 214 
 
 u 
 
 Underground Railroad 373 
 
 Union Cemetery 282 
 
 Unique Temperance Election 365 
 
 United Brethren Church 172 
 
 United Presbyterian Churches 169 
 
 United States Senators 90 
 
 Universalist Church 182 
 
 V 
 
 Valeria 340 
 
 Valeria Cyclone , 399 
 
 Valeria M. E. Church 157 
 
 Value of Bread 69 
 
 Vandalia 314
 
 HISTORICAL INDEX. 
 
 Vandalia Baptist Church 166 
 
 Ventriloquism 398 
 
 Village Plats, 1900 379 
 
 Village Plats of the County 360 
 
 Volunteer Roster of County 210 
 
 Volunteering for War 206 
 
 Vote on Constitutional Amendment-. 366 
 
 W 
 
 War Death-roll 221 
 
 War Mass Meetings 206 
 
 Washington Precinct 52 
 
 Washington Township 339 
 
 Weather Conditions 33 
 
 Wild Game 62 
 
 Wild Turkeys 288 
 
 Winter of 1848-9 406 
 
 Winter of 1856-7 407 
 
 Wittemberg Congregational Church. 177 
 
 Wittemberg Manual Labor College 129 
 
 Wolf Hunting 62 
 
 Wonderful Mirage 30 
 
 Y 
 
 Yield, per acre, Farms 101 
 
 Young Men's Christian Association.. 189
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX 
 
 A 
 
 Adamson, Abraham 800 
 
 Adamson, William 485 
 
 Adkains, Merit W. 1299 
 
 Adkins, Martin 1062 
 
 Agar, H. W. 813 
 
 Allan, Fred ' 1077 
 
 Allan, John 1140 
 
 Allen, George M. 512 
 
 Allfree, Henry I. 927 
 
 Altemeier, Edward C. • 899 
 
 Altemeier, William J. 837 
 
 Anderson, Hans P. 1008 
 
 Andreas, Fred C, Jr. 690 
 
 Arnold, Rev. Joseph 663 
 
 Arnold, Raford L. 670 
 
 Auten, A. C. 607 
 
 Awtry, Emmet 428 
 
 B 
 
 Bailey, R. H. 490 
 
 Bailey, William E. 1237 
 
 Bain, Fred 1293 
 
 Baker, Albert I. — — 510 
 
 Baker, B. F. 1296 
 
 Bale, Leo P. 1230 
 
 Barbee, Christopher C. 1134 
 
 Barbee, J. Clifford 1348 
 
 Bateman, Mark W. 864 
 
 Battels, Beriah 519 
 
 Battles, Ephraim C. 1312 
 
 Bean, Eugene 990 
 
 Beard, E. J. H. 448 
 
 Benson, Arthur H. 1297 
 
 Benson, Willard H. 1065 
 
 Berry, Albert D. 1093 
 
 Bishop, Charles S. 1304 
 
 Black, Isaiah W. 736 
 
 Blackledge, Virgil 1171 
 
 Blakely, Z. W. 487 
 
 Blanford, George W. '^77 
 
 Bond, Reece 1036 
 
 Bond, Richard E. 1037 
 
 Bond, William 846 
 
 Booth, Judson S. 1284 
 
 Borts, Eli W. 1340 
 
 Boyd, William M. 514 
 
 Boyle, James 1074 
 
 Braley, Claude A. 1068 
 
 Brantner, Jacob A. 1287 
 
 Bridges, Charles H. 602 
 
 Brokaw, Andrew J. 460 
 
 Brown, Rev. Elijah S. 888 
 
 Brown, James M. 1020 
 
 Brown, John S. 1027 
 
 Brown, Matthew 1311 
 
 Buhrow, Christian W. 850 
 
 Bump, Benjamin L. 1256 
 
 Burdick, Charles 1225 
 
 Burkey, Peter 1172 
 
 Burnham, Joseph A. 885 
 
 Burroughs, William H. 1047 
 
 Butler, George C. 1241 
 
 Butler, Joseph L. 648 
 
 Byal, Henry 1113 
 
 Byal, William J. 1166 
 
 C 
 
 Callison, Erville T. 1300 
 
 Campbell, Abner B. : 1355 
 
 Campbell, Ira A. 1335 
 
 Campbell, William M. 1127 
 
 Campbell, Willis 1 120 
 
 Cams, Isaiah B. 503 
 
 Carpenter, Frank 938 
 
 Carpenter, Oscar O. 1290 
 
 Carrier, Abram 979
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 
 
 Carson, Mrs. Bruce 1023 
 
 Carver, Benjamin 1231 
 
 Castner. George 1262 
 
 Caulfield. Thomas 1206 
 
 Chambers, Preston 872 
 
 Chapman, Albert S. 442 
 
 Christenson, Fred 1308 
 
 Church, David W. 896 
 
 Churchill, Howell L. 1178 
 
 Churchill, Levi M. 908 
 
 Clark, Lyman C. 737 
 
 Claussen, John 939 
 
 Clements, William G. 421 
 
 Cleverley, Frank E. 1116 
 
 Cline, Charles C. 866 
 
 Coakley, John 567 
 
 Coffey, F. J. 935 
 
 Colfax, Hotel 667 
 
 Connelly, Charles H. 1358 
 
 Connelly, Fred D. 1163 
 
 Conwell, Carlos 1180 
 
 Conwell, Orville E. 1277 
 
 Cool, Frank C. 1102 
 
 Cool, Melville J. 1122 
 
 Cool, Peter J. 1215 
 
 Cooper, William R. 549 
 
 Couch, Frank 1346 
 
 Cozad, Felix W. 629 
 
 Craig, William A. 834 
 
 Craven, David H. 898 
 
 Crawford, John H. 1090 
 
 Crawford, W. J. 1156 
 
 Cross, Jesse 1086 
 
 Cushatt, John W. 1351 
 
 Custer, Charles R. 956 
 
 Custer, John W. 957 
 
 D 
 
 Dales, William 1 687 
 
 Davidson, R. P. 1223 
 
 Dawson, Isaac M. 1161 
 
 DeBolt, Joseph 644 
 
 DeBruyn, Frank K. 853 
 
 DeBruyn, William C. 1072 
 
 Decatur, Samuel 738 
 
 Dejong, John J. 1273 
 
 Dennis, C. D. 565 
 
 Dennis. W. L. 445 
 
 Denniston, W. E. 447 
 
 Densmore, Frank W. 1352 
 
 DePenning, Peter 1056 
 
 Deppe, Benjamin F. 1144 
 
 Deppe, William A. 1139 
 
 Diehl, George 1150 
 
 Dodd, Charles E. 1333 
 
 Dodd, Dennis 1275 
 
 Dodd, Frank J. 1255 
 
 Dodd, Fred 1181 
 
 Dodd, Samuel P. 1109 
 
 Dodd, Ulysses 1331 
 
 Dodd, Warren 1258 
 
 Donahue, James P. 667 
 
 Dotson, Eli E. 464 
 
 Duncan, E. L. 798 
 
 E 
 
 Earley, Carrie L. 563 
 
 Earley, George G. 560 
 
 Earp, Walter M. 121 
 
 Eastman, James 582 
 
 Eaton, Frederick A. 941 
 
 Edmundson, David 585 
 
 Edwards, John W. 1186 
 
 Efnor, Henry S. 605 
 
 Efnor, Oscar E. 1003 
 
 Emery, John M. 492 
 
 Engle, Perry 425 
 
 Esmeyer, Barney 828 
 
 Evans, George 742 
 
 Evans, Mrs. Joanna V. 741 
 
 Eyerly, Josiah B. 688 
 
 F 
 
 Failor, Samuel 1011 
 
 Fales, John M. 544 
 
 Feldschneider, Frederick S. 1362 
 
 Finch, David 613 
 
 Flanagan, Owen J. 1301 
 
 Fleck, David S. 1197 
 
 Fowler, L. E. 1208 
 
 Forsyth, Allen W. 1038 
 
 France, William H. 960 
 
 French, Andrew 988 
 
 Frizzell, Walter E. 923 
 
 Fugard, Judson H. 430 
 
 Fugard, Noble J. 608 
 
 Fuller, Oliver B. 1334
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 
 
 G 
 
 Galusha, Simeon H. 452 
 
 Gates, Alvin C. 508 
 
 Gates, Margaret I. 848 
 
 Gates, Sumner E. 848 
 
 Gauch, August 1133 
 
 Gearhart, Herley G. 830 
 
 Gearhart, William H. 854 
 
 Geise, Adolph 1106 
 
 Geise, H. A. 1176 
 
 Gibford, Daniel L. 541 
 
 Gillespie, A. D. 964 
 
 Gillespie, Elmer L. 934 
 
 Gilson, Benjamin S. 638 
 
 Gipson, Albert A. 1242 
 
 Gipson, Alfred D. 1244 
 
 Gipson, George H. 1246 
 
 Goodhue, Edward P. 554 
 
 Goodhue, George C. 1216 
 
 Goodwin, Edwin J. 1146 
 
 Gorrell, Joseph R. 111 
 
 Gove, William S. 435 
 
 Greenlief, Charles E. 683 
 
 Greenlief, Leonard A. 578 
 
 Guessford, W. M. 463 
 
 Guthrie, A. T. 932 
 
 H 
 
 Hager, August 1124 
 
 Hager, Fred 1317 
 
 Hager, Gustav A. 1165 
 
 Haines, Edwin S. 790 
 
 Haley, Daniel 1269 
 
 Hall, A. W. 604 
 
 Hallam, Eathel L. 1303 
 
 Hamilton, William F. 1111 
 
 Mummer, Marion R. 529 
 
 Hampton, Russell R. 1155 
 
 Hanke, Dallas 1006 
 
 Hans, George A. 1016 
 
 Hanson, George E. 1211 
 
 Harding, J. P. 1201 
 
 Harmon, L. T. 654 
 
 Harre, Otto : 1341 
 
 Hart, George C. 456 
 
 Harvey. John H., Sr. 660 
 
 Hasselbrink, Christoph 845 
 
 Hawkins, J. C. 637 
 
 Hayes, Andrew J. 711 
 
 Helming, Thomas 1078 
 
 Hendricks, Fred 697 
 
 Hendricks, George 696 
 
 Henry, Ebenczer W. 949 
 
 Herwehe, Henry 943 
 
 Herwehe, Jacob 1193 
 
 Hews, George 704 
 
 Hews, John 588 
 
 Hiatt, John M. 580 
 
 Hickey, James 953 
 
 Hickman, George W., Jr. 479 
 
 Highley, Alva A. 723 
 
 Hill, Bert 1286 
 
 Hill, Charles E. 1067 
 
 Hill, Philip S. 1083 
 
 Hill, William E. 619 
 
 Hitchler, George W. 887 
 
 Hodges, Pleasant 1220 
 
 Holdsworth, William H. 1043 
 
 Holtz, John S. 651 
 
 Horn, Joe 426 
 
 Horsford, John G. 747 
 
 Hotchkin, John 783 
 
 Howard, Andrew H. 642 
 
 Hummel, James M. 841 
 
 Hummel, John P. 973 
 
 Hut son, Lawrence 1239 
 
 I 
 
 Irwin, Emmor E. 666 
 
 J 
 
 Jeffers, Thomas J. 1138 
 
 Jeffries, Arthur W. 109<^ 
 
 Jennings, Charles H. 598 
 
 Jennings, W. E. 876 
 
 Jensen, Herman H. 847 
 
 Jensnia, Andrew D. 901 
 
 Jensma, Sicco J. 1055 
 
 Jickling. John D. 1142 
 
 Jickling, William R. 822 
 
 Johnson, Albert 826 
 
 Johnson, Jervis C. 858 
 
 Johnson, W. S. 972 
 
 Jones, John N. 1203 
 
 Jones, Loyd D. 92S 
 
 Jones, Thomas M. 909
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 
 
 K 
 
 Kanne, Frederick A. 1084 
 
 Kanne, Levi H. 1169 
 
 Kartchner, John C. 1152 
 
 Kelley, Thomas F. 1190 
 
 Kelly, Jeremiah 819 
 
 Kelly, John 734 
 
 Kelton, George B. 1061 
 
 Kennington, John M. 518 
 
 Kennington, L. S. 516 
 
 Kimberley, Frank 1148 
 
 Kimberley, William 1126 
 
 Kintz, Charles E. 1325 
 
 Kintz, Commodore P. 1319 
 
 Kintz, Oley A. 1294 
 
 Kitchel, Ed M. 1330 
 
 Kitchel, Warren A. 1022 
 
 Kitchin, Mrs. Sarah 978 
 
 Kline, William M. 1205 
 
 Kling. Philip 659 
 
 Kling, William G. 1250 
 
 Kling. William J. 1014 
 
 Klopping, Henry W. 871 
 
 Klyn, William 1196 
 
 Kooistra, Herman W. 836 
 
 Kooistra, John 1364 
 
 Korf, H. C. 536 
 
 Krampe, August 1153 
 
 Kroh, Henry L. 816 
 
 Krueger, Henry 1249 
 
 Krueger, Theodore 1248 
 
 Krueger, William 1248 
 
 Lamb, Richard 474 
 
 Lanil..Tt, Elliott E. 438 
 
 Lamphier. Daniel 786 
 
 Landmesser, Nicholas 702 
 
 Lane. George 1354 
 
 Lawrence, Avery T. 824 
 
 Lee, James 1009 
 
 Lenz, Carl 1069 
 
 Leonard, Joseph A. 1328 
 
 Lewis, Martin L. 657 
 
 Libolt, Hiram C. 748 
 
 Lindsley, H. A. 1253 
 
 Lister, Alfred 856 
 
 Lister, Arthur 505 
 
 Lister, James 501 
 
 Livingston, Arch 907 
 
 Livingston, William O. 902 
 
 Loar, George W. 1360 
 
 Logsdon, Franklin G. 1101 
 
 Logsdon, Smith C. 1252 
 
 Long, Frank 1092 
 
 Long, George 1324 
 
 Longley, Lyman A. 808 
 
 Lotts, William M. 571 
 
 Loupee, W. F. 930 
 
 Lufkin, Albert 646 
 
 Lufkin, Benjamin 1075 
 
 Lunt, Moses B. 1049 
 
 Lust, Alfred T. 715 
 
 Lust, Elmer 1001 
 
 Lust. John W. 713 
 
 Mc 
 
 McCann, Rev. Thomas J. 557 
 
 McConkey, Charles C. 458 
 
 McCord, Milton A. 471 
 
 McElroy, W. O. 496 
 
 Mclntire, Charles E. 1259 
 
 McKinney, William B. 912 
 
 McLaughlin, E. M. S. 624 
 
 McLellan, Belding R. 679 
 
 McVay, Warren ^ 600 
 
 M 
 
 Macmillan, Albert S. 1004 
 
 Macy, Charles O. 879 
 
 Macy, E. B. 921 
 
 Maggard, George A. 1214 
 
 Maggard, Henry H. 1315 
 
 Malmberg, Ed P. 720 
 
 Mark, Frances A. 1302 
 
 Mark. Samuel 1302 
 
 Marshall, George F. 904 
 
 Marshall, William J. 895 
 
 Mason, George E. 1247 
 
 Matteson, Frank E. 1270 
 
 Mendenhall, E. P. ,.__ 976 
 
 Meredith, Harlan 962 
 
 Meredith, Oliver C. 780 
 
 Meyer, A. C. 1344 
 
 Meyer, John F. 840 
 
 Miller, August G. 4 843
 
 BIOGRAPHICAI. INDEX. 
 
 Miller, George W. 857 
 
 Miller, Robert 1357 
 
 Miller, William J. 1136 
 
 Millgate, George 1050 
 
 Moore, Barrett E. 551 
 
 Morgan, Charles H. 811 
 
 Morgan, V. H. 523 
 
 Morgan, Walter J. 475 
 
 Morris, Robert M. 882 
 
 Morrison, Arthur S. 829 
 
 Morrison, H. S. 621 
 
 Moss, John 500 
 
 Mowry, Ross R. 432 
 
 Murdock, William S. 861 
 
 Murphy, J. W. 924 
 
 Myers, Oliver P. 040 
 
 N 
 
 Newcomer, John 1 168 
 
 Newell, Clifton D. 1307 
 
 Newell, George W. 832 
 
 Newell, Herbert E. 672 
 
 Newell, S. H. 863 
 
 Newton, George W. 441 
 
 Nichols, Miss Hannah 656 
 
 Nirk, W. C. 805 
 
 Noah, Calvin 1080 
 
 Noah, Henry 1174 
 
 Nolin, Cyrus 958 
 
 Nolin, William H. 591 
 
 Norton, C. P. 1194 
 
 O 
 
 Ogg, Mason C. 891 
 
 Oldham, James A. 920 
 
 Ortwig, Charley B. 791 
 
 Owings, J. B. 528 
 
 P 
 
 Pahre, Henry F. 700 
 
 Parmenter, George D. 673 
 
 Parsons, Hess D. 1280 
 
 Pashan, Charles 1298 
 
 Patterson, John 919 
 
 Paul, John S. 1104 
 
 Paul, William 851 
 
 Pease, George H. 1226 
 
 Pendleton, Logan 730 
 
 Penquite, Maynard E. 635 
 
 Pentico, Peter P. 1040 
 
 Perin, George A. 1123 
 
 Perrin, Henry A. 954 
 
 Perry, Harrison W. 1160 
 
 Phelan, Daniel 1034 
 
 Phillips, Thomas R. 495 
 
 Phipps, P'elix L. 1070 
 
 Pierce, George P. 823 
 
 Poage, James R. 1129 
 
 Porter, Harry W. 915 
 
 Porvin, William C. 472 
 
 Potter, Rev. John 792 
 
 Price, Frederick O. 1158 
 
 Q 
 
 Quire, Charles E. 1053 
 
 R 
 
 Ramsey, E. B. 525 
 
 Reckler, Frederick A. 677 
 
 Reed, Albert H. 538 
 
 Rees, Spencer H. 633 
 
 Reid, Lewis D. 653 
 
 Reynolds, Hayden 558 
 
 Reynolds, John W. 573 
 
 Reynolds, Victor 968 
 
 Richardson, Fred 799 
 
 Rippey, Francis J. , 1236 
 
 Rippey, William F. 1264 
 
 Robb, Wilson M. 985 
 
 Robinson, Ralph 465 
 
 Rodgers, Joseph R. 592 
 
 Rohrdanz, Fred 709 
 
 Romans, Bert A. 694 
 
 Rorabaugh, Frederick O. 910 
 
 Rorabaugh, John M. 911 
 
 Ross, Charles F. 944 
 
 Ross, Frank B. 1349 
 
 Rush, Melvin 906 
 
 Ryan, Rev. James E. 583 
 
 S 
 
 Saak, Herman, Jr. 1108 
 
 Saak. Louie 1175 
 
 Sacred Heart Church 557
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 
 
 Sanderson, Benjamin 884 
 
 Saut-rnian. Charles F. 631 
 
 Saunders, Charles H. 1000 
 
 Schmitt, Henry 743 
 
 Schmitt, Jacob 74U 
 
 Schnell, John W. 812 
 
 Schnell, Louis C. 1279 
 
 Schnug, Henry P. 685 
 
 Schultz, Lewis F. 994 
 
 Schultz, William C. H. 724 
 
 Schultze, William 699 
 
 Schumann, August C. 892 
 
 Schweinebart, Frederick S. 1342 
 
 Scott, Hugh 443 
 
 Scott, Robert A. 576 
 
 Scoville, Charlie B. 969 
 
 Sellman, Frank 491 
 
 Shaffer, Tobias 499 
 
 Sharp, Henry D. 803 
 
 Shaw, Samuel W. 965 
 
 Sherbon, Florence B. 681 
 
 Sherbon, John B. 681 
 
 Sherman, John H. 749 
 
 Signs, J. Emery 1199 
 
 Signs, John W. 1327 
 
 Signs, Lee 1098 
 
 Silwold, Henry 470 
 
 Simpson, John 874 
 
 Simpson, George W. 616 
 
 Sitler, Joseph R. 626 
 
 Skinner, Herbert K. 1024 
 
 Slaght, Nellie 454 
 
 Slavens, Jesse . 575 
 
 Sloanaker, Chester 534 
 
 Small, George A. 1096 
 
 Smith, Alexander 732 
 
 Smith, 1. S. 797 
 
 Smith, John 675 
 
 Smith, Thomas, Jr. 476 
 
 Snider, Amos 1184 
 
 Southern, John W. 1337 
 
 Sparks, Jerry W. 835 
 
 Sparks, John H. 936 
 
 Sparks, Stephen J. 868 
 
 Stark, James • 1032 
 
 Starr, Benson 728 
 
 Stevens, Squire W. __1243 
 
 Stewart, Robert N. 1200 
 
 Stinson, Thomas 1210 
 
 Stolte, Louis 784 
 
 Strain, David W. -— 744 
 
 Stratton, Joseph T. 1119 
 
 Streeter, Thomas A. .1266 
 
 Sullons, William F. -1058 
 
 Sumpter, William H., Jr. 1204 
 
 Swalwell, Jay B. 1183 
 
 Swalwell, Thomas 1288 
 
 Swearingen, Frank W. 788 
 
 Swigart, George W. 1030 
 
 Sylvester, Lanham T. 1052 
 
 T 
 
 Talbot, Warren N. 1028 
 
 Terpstra, Dow W. 992 
 
 Terpstra, Harry D. 692 
 
 Terpstra, Watson V. 707 
 
 Tharp, John W. 880 
 
 Thomas, H. A. 669 
 
 Thompson, Clarence E. 1188 
 
 Thompson, John W. 1321 
 
 Thorp, W. T. 1081 
 
 Tice, Madison 488 
 
 Tice, William M. 1278 
 
 Tiffany, Carl 1314 
 
 Tiffany, Fremont L. 1261 
 
 Tiffany, Ray 1309 
 
 Tipton, David G. 1117 
 
 Tool, John H. 714 
 
 Tool, Quinn H. 987 
 
 Tough, James 795 
 
 Tramel, Frank W. 1228 
 
 Tramel, James J. 1114 
 
 Tramel, Walter O. 1338 
 
 Tramel, William 1095 
 
 Tramel, W^illiam A. : 1191 
 
 Trease, Joseph S. 1066 
 
 Trussel, James 1221 
 
 Turnbull, William M. 1046 
 
 Turner, Alice B. S. 483 
 
 Turner, James K. 610 
 
 Turner, Josiah P. 595 
 
 Turner, Lewis C. S. 480 
 
 Turner, Marce 735 
 
 Turner, Mrs. Mary C. P. 806 
 
 Turner, O. J. 1088 
 
 V 
 
 Vance, Gershom 916 
 
 Vandermast, John 966
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL INDEX. 
 
 Vandike, W. R. 1232 
 
 Van Epps, Harmon V. 946 
 
 Van Kampen, Jacob, Jr. 1283 
 
 Vanscoy, Milton 1015 
 
 Vansice, John M. 1272 
 
 Varenkamp, John M. 1044 
 
 Veach, James T. 1218 
 
 Victoria Sanatorium 681 
 
 W 
 
 Walker, George W. 831 
 
 Waring, Emal L. 975 
 
 Warner, G. H. 650 
 
 Watt, William 817 
 
 Weaver, Jacob F. 570 
 
 Weaver, Gen. James B. 417 
 
 Welle, Henry 745 
 
 Wells, John P. 1235 
 
 Wells, L. A. 587 
 
 Wendt, August 478 
 
 Westfall, Lee C. 820 
 
 Wheatcraft, John 815 
 
 Wheeler, Orville A. 860 
 
 Wheeler, Vernon S. 999 
 
 Whitcomb, Daniel W. 614 
 
 Whitehead, Fred 970 
 
 Whitehead, George G. 1031 
 
 Whittaker, John E. 1060 
 
 Wiggin, Andrew J. 593 
 
 W'ilcox, Edward 997 
 
 Wildman, Charles W. 1041 
 
 Willemsen, Henry 717 
 
 Williams, Samuel P. 502 
 
 W^illiams, Wilford 1064 
 
 Williamson, Warren A. 1291 
 
 Wilson, Alfred O. 1131 
 
 Wilson, Jeremiah W. 951 
 
 Wilson, John N. 981 
 
 Winn, Charles W. 507 
 
 Witmer. Jacob R. 623 
 
 Woodrow, John R. 984 
 
 Woodrow, Joseph M. 433 
 
 Woody, John M. 894 
 
 Wormley, George W. 1018 
 
 Wright, C. B. 957 
 
 Z 
 
 Zachary, Hartwell 718 
 
 Zollinger, J. R. 522 
 
 Zwank, Ira 721
 
 RECENT JASPER COUNTY COURT HOUSE 
 
 -i^ 
 
 If t 
 
 'X 
 
 
 f'll ^""i- 
 
 V ■• f •' 
 
 * f i~?ri%Ti 
 
 JASPER COUNTY COURT HOUSE
 
 HISTORICAL 
 
 CHAPTER I. 
 
 INTRODUCTORY. 
 
 One of the most interesting, as well as useful, studies to those of all ages 
 is that of general and local history. Especially is this true when the historian 
 treats of a county or state as it existed in its primitive state; tells how it was 
 peopled, and enters into detail in relation to the life and general manners of 
 its pioneer settlers. There is ever a peculiar fascination about the rude life of 
 the early settlers of a country. The freedom of action, the unconstrained man- 
 ner with which they receive one and all, and their generous hospitality, is 
 indeed fascinating. 
 
 It may be stated that sixty-eight years ago the part of Iowa comprising 
 Jasper county was an unbroken wilderness, inhabited only by wild beasts of 
 the forest, wild birds of the air, and the no less wild red men, who roamed at 
 will over the broad prairies, fishing in the streams or hunting game that 
 abounded on every hand. They seemingly cared nothing for the morrow — sim- 
 ply lived for the present. The thought of the "pale face" penetrating this 
 beautiful section had not yet seriously disturbed them, and so they continued 
 on in their daily life of hunting and fishing, with occasionally a short war 
 between tribes to relieve the monotony of their existence. But the time was 
 soon to come when these Indians were to surrender up their lands and be 
 pushed on toward the setting sun. All nature was soon to be transformed by 
 civilized man's hand and brain. The fair prairies and sweet scented wild 
 flowers, painted in all their beauty by the hand of God, must be broken up by 
 the husbandman, and where wild flower and grass grew must wave the golden 
 grain of another and more advanced type of mankind. 
 
 A little more than three score years ago all here was a wilderness; the 
 soil had been unvexed by the plow, and the woodman's axe had never been 
 heard in this "green glad solitude." The cabin of the settler, its smoke curl- 
 ing heavenward, with an air inviting the weary traveler to come and rest.
 
 26 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 was not to be seen, nor even the faintest trace of real civilization, but instead 
 the boundless sea of prairie grass, while here and there might have been seen 
 the Indian wig^vam down by the river side. 
 
 Behold, how changed the scene from that of the year 1843, when Adam 
 M. Tool and his little band of comrades first saw this fair and fertile domain. 
 There were the following eras of development: The true pioneer settlement; 
 the Civil war period ; the railroad era and present highly advancd condition of 
 the first decade of the twentieth century. Where once the wigwam of the 
 Indian stood in the forties, a palatial-like residence is seen today ; where then 
 stood the sons of the forest gathered together for the worship of Manitou, 
 the "Great Spirit," the handsome church edifice is now pointing heavenward 
 and therein worship is now had by the white race, using the worship of their 
 fathers and praying to the Most High, as they understand divinity. Change, 
 wonderful change, is written on every hand. Just how this great transforma- 
 tion has been wrought out, the various steps by which the wilderness has been 
 made to blossom like the rose, is the pleasant task and duty of the historian to 
 show : and in the following pages the attempt is made, with the hope that the 
 facts contained therein may be of interest, and the lessons of the past may 
 be instructive to each and every reader of this work.
 
 CHAPTER 11. 
 
 NATURAL FEATURES TOPOGRAPHY MINING. 
 
 Before entering into the history of this county, as made by the present 
 race of men, or even before mentioning briefly the Indian occupants of this 
 portion of Iowa, it will be well to view the country as it came from the hand 
 of the Almighty. 
 
 Of the natural features of Jasper county, let it be stated that the north- 
 eastern part of the county lies in the sub-carboniferous group, classified by 
 Professor White, the western limit being the outcropping of a bed of sand 
 rock near KJbllogg, which is traced in a direction from southeast to north- 
 west. This rock, which forms an excellent building stone, is the floor of 
 the vast coal basin of Iowa and is exposed in many places throughout the 
 county. In the southern part of the county limestone of an excellent quality is 
 found. Clays of good grade are found throughout the county, from which 
 excellent building brick have been manufactured from time to time. In 
 places it is very suitable for the making of crockery and fire brick. 
 
 The soil is a vegetable mold, evenly mixed with a finely ground sand, 
 with some traces of aluminous matter. It is almost everywhere fully one foot 
 deep on the uplands, while in the valleys and creek bottoms it is many feet in 
 depth, and for this reason the wagon roads in the pioneer and even later 
 times were almost impassable in wet seasons. 
 
 At Monroe the elevation from the sea level is stated by good authority 
 to be 624 feet and that of Prairie City is 635 feet, while at Newton the survey 
 shows an altitude of 940 feet. The water in the Skunk river at the crossing 
 of the railroad track is 753 feet above sea level and the grade at Colfax is 
 763 feet. From above it is seen that the surface and altitudes in various sec- 
 tions of Jasper county are varied and uneven. 
 
 STREAMS OF JASPER COUNTY, 
 
 The rivers, creeks and springs of any given section of the country are 
 ever highly prized by the stranger, as well as by the actual settler, who knows 
 he is in a goodly land whenever he sees streams and at least a moderate 
 quantity of timber. One stream in particular in Jasper county has made a
 
 28 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 history for itself that is known from ocean to ocean, and that is the Skunk, the 
 south fork of which enters Poweshiek township on section 9, and by action of 
 the county authorities was made the southern boundary of Poweshiek, Sher- 
 man, Palo Alto and Elk Creek townships, and the northern boundary of 
 Washington, JMound Prairie and Fairview. Its Indian name was "Chicaqua," 
 meaning an ofifensive odor, and it is said to be the same in Indian dialect as 
 "Chicago," both rivers deriving their name from the wild onion which the 
 moist character of the soil along both streams allowed to grow in great abund- 
 ance. Ever since the early settlement this stream and its bottom lands have 
 been a terror to travelers. The soil in the bottom is very deep and porous, 
 and when the frost is leaving in the spring or after heavy rains, the bottom 
 becomes one long mud-hole into which the early-day immigrant passed 
 through with fear and trembling and thought himself in luck if indeed he 
 escaped without being pulled out at least three or more times. This was 
 known and dreaded by people from Maine to California. At an early day 
 the Skunk river was wont to raise out of its banks after a hard rain storm 
 with great rapidity, and many a traveler has passed over with water belly 
 deep to the stage coach teams. But with the development of the country 
 this has largely passed away. The lands are properly drained, bridges erected 
 far above the high water mark and light approaches made, so that no one 
 dreads the crossing of what was in. the fifties and sixties a dangerous proposi- 
 tion. So famous was this bottom away back about Civil war days, that 
 Harper's Weekly contained an illustration of crossing the "Skunk Bottoms," 
 in which a stage coach loaded with passengers were sitting swamped in the 
 mud, waiting for a pioneer farmer, who is seen approaching in the distance 
 with a yoke of oxen to help the weary horses in pulling the coach to firm 
 ground. It is said, however, that the profanity occasioned could not be il- 
 lustrated by Harper's artist. 
 
 The North Skunk takes its source in Marshall county, flows through 
 Malaka, Kellogg and the southwest corner of Rock Creek townships ; thence 
 through the center of Richland, and so on through the northeast portion of 
 Lynn Grove township. 
 
 Sugar creek rises in Hickory Grove township, waters the eastern part of 
 Rock Creek and Richland townships, passing out on section 25. 
 
 Rock creek rises in Marshall county, flows throug'h Honey Grove and 
 Rock Creek and discharges into North Skunk river in Richland. 
 
 Coon creek rises in Mariposa and is a branch of the North Skunk. 
 
 Burr and AUoway creeks rise in Mariposa and empty into the North 
 Skunk river in Kellogg township.
 
 JASPE6 COUNTY, IOWA. 29 
 
 Indian creek rises mainly in Clear Creek township and flows into South 
 Skunk river in the southwest part of Sherman township. 
 
 Cherry creek is made up largely of confluents in Malaka and Newton 
 townships, discharging into South Skunk river in section 29, of Palo Alto 
 township. 
 
 Elks creek gathers its waters of several smaller streams east of the city 
 of Newton, flowing through Buena Vista and Elk Creek townships into 
 Mahaska county. 
 
 Squaw creek heads in the southern portion of Mound Prairie township 
 and flows into the South Skunk river a mile and one-half west of Colfax. 
 
 Watkins creek rises in Washington township, passes through Des Moines, 
 then into Marion county. 
 
 Calhoun creek takes its rise at Prairie City, drains the east portion of 
 Des Moines township, passes into the southwest part of Fairview township, 
 where it enters Marion county. 
 
 Warren creek rises in the south part of Mound Prairie township and 
 'enters South Skunk river in the northern part of Fairview township. 
 
 Besides these there are numerous lesser streams hardly large enough to 
 have a dignified place on the map of the county, yet which at times, especially 
 at an early day, were streams of no small consequence. For agricultural and 
 stock raising purposes the county has none too many of these streams, the 
 waters of which make glad the heart of man and are duly appreciated by the 
 "cattle of the thousand hills." 
 
 THE NATIVE GROVES. 
 
 One of the beauties of Jasper county, at an early date, were its numerous 
 natural groves of excellent timber, among which may be mentioned the fol- 
 lowing : 
 
 Hixson's grove, as known and named by the pioneers, is three miles to 
 the south of Newton. 
 
 Adamson's grove is really the southern portion of Hixon's. 
 
 Vowell's grove is two miles to the west of Newton. 
 
 Hammer's grove is four miles northeast of Newton on the North Skunk 
 river. 
 
 Slaughter's grove is to the south of the Main Skunk river and east of 
 Colfax. 
 
 Lynn grove is situated in Lynn Grove township and a part extends into 
 Kellogg.
 
 30 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Black Oak grove and White Oak grove are divided from Lynn grove by 
 the North Skunk river. 
 
 Shepherd's grove is on the south side of the Skunk river, eight miles 
 south of Newton City. 
 
 Tool's grove, the timber land north and east of Monroe. 
 
 Indian Creek grove and Clear Creek timber, the wooded lands in the 
 northwest portion of the county. 
 
 A WONDERFUL MIRAGE IN 1 859. 
 
 During the month of August, 1859, H. Ballinger wrote the following 
 graphic description of a beautiful mirage seen by himself and wife in this 
 county. Webster defines a mirage as "An optical atmospheric illusion by 
 which objects at great distances are presented in an inverted form." But it is 
 well known that many such strange phenomena appear without the image 
 being inverted, as in this case, as well as several seen by the writer in northern 
 central Iowa in the seventies. The item referred to as from the pen of Mr, 
 Ballinger is : 
 
 "I live about fourteen miles southeast of Newton, and about one mile 
 west of me runs the North fork of Skunk river. Five miles farther west runs 
 Elk creek, and still farther west runs the South fork of Skunk river. Now a 
 person standing in the door of my residence and looking westerly over these 
 streams and divides can only distinctly see North Skunk and the eastern 
 slope of the divide between it and Elk creek, and over its summit the extreme 
 tops of the trees comprising the groves of Elk creek. But the country or 
 divide between Elk creek and South Skunk is not visible to the eye, being hid 
 entirely from the first divide mentioned at ordinary times. But yesterday 
 morning, a little before six o'clock, I happened to cast my eyes westward and 
 to my surprise I beheld Elk Creek grove and the surrounding country as well 
 as the divide between it and South Skunk apparently elevated on an inclined 
 plane of slight elevation. The trees of the grove could be distinctly seen from 
 their top to their roots and appeared to be much nearer to us (my wife was 
 now a spectator with me) than formerly; whereas, before, the extreme tops 
 of the trees could only be seen from our position, and houses we had not seen 
 before took their places majestically in this beautiful panorama and seemed 
 also singularly plain, distinct and nearer to us. Yet I do not think we had 
 the satisfaction of seeing it at its best, for the whole affair settled down out 
 of sight in a few minutes after our discovery. A better time, I think, would 
 have been about sunrise or a little after."
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. JI 
 
 THE COAL MINING INDUSTRY. 
 
 It is generally understood that coal in Jasper county was first discovered 
 on the claim of Hugh Patterson, in 1847, it having been noticed cropping out 
 in the bed of a small stream crossing his claim, since known as Coal creek. It 
 was also found while digging a well near Vandalia soon after this. 
 
 In 1878 it was reported in a former history of the mining interests of the 
 state that the best developed coal mine in Jasper county was that owned by 
 the Jasper Coal Company, a half mile from the main track of the railroad. 
 Several rooms were opened and work progressed rapidly. Fire damps were 
 never known in these mines, but black damps, or carbonic acid gas. was 
 sometimes encountered. Seventy-five cents a ton was paid for mining and the 
 men made about three dollars a day. 
 
 Mines were also in operation in Palo Alto, operated largely by English 
 miners, who clung to customs that had obtained in England for hundreds of 
 years. 
 
 In the south part of this county the mines were being operated by Scotch- 
 men, and there a large per cent, of the workmen were strict Presbyterians in 
 their religious faith. These miners worked at coal mining winters and tilled 
 the soil of their fanns in summer time. 
 
 In 1874 the county had twenty-three "coal banks.'' as they were then 
 styled. One hundred and ninety-five men were employed in such mines. 
 Thirty-one thousand tons were mined and the value was placed at seventy 
 thousand eight hundred dollars. 
 
 The coal inspector in 1876 reported twenty-eight mines in the county in 
 operation, all well managed and lawfully worked. He reported the coal as 
 being from thirty inches to four feet in thickness, the best grade being taken 
 from the Fairview mines. Other excellent mines are named as being located 
 in Palo Alto, Sherman, Mound Prairie, Pmveshiek and Richland. One new 
 mine was opened in 1877. At that date over three hundred miners were em- 
 ployed in Jasper county, and four hundred tons of marketable coal were 
 mined daily. 
 
 In 1877-78 the following mines were being operated successfully: Mound 
 Prairie — Bear Grove, R. N. Stewart; Sherman — Bealier. Scott Slaughter; 
 Poweshiek — Adsit & Company, E. G. Fish ; Fairview^-R. S. Buckley, George 
 Blount. James Hart, E. E. Edwards'. Marshall; Palo Alto — Newton Coal 
 Company, Isaac Morgan, John Riley, Jasper Coal Company, William Lister. 
 Snook Brothers'. Robert Davidson. Snook & Walker, James McAllister; 
 Richland — F. L. Downie, A. Eastman.
 
 32 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 In 1900 it was written of the coal business in Mound Prairie district: 
 "Mound Prairie has made a very creditable showing in many respects. She 
 has kept out of politics and built no cities. She can only boast of Metz and 
 Seevers, but let's see what she has done. The Slaughter coal bank was dis- 
 covered in 1846, by a young fellow stopping at Slaughter's. He was out 
 hunting wild turkey one morning before breakfast, and in jumping off of a 
 fallen tree, slid the earth from a chunk of coal. This, so far as I know, says 
 the writer, was the first discovery of coal in Jasper county — a happy accident." 
 
 The state mine inspector's reports ending June 30, 1910, shows that there 
 were mini';g operations carried on in Jasper at that date in the following order: 
 
 "There was produced in this county 333,340 tons of coal during the year 
 ending June 30, 1909, and for the year ending June 30, 1910, 334,186 tons 
 of coal. Only one fatal accident has occurred in this county during the two 
 years ending June 30, 1910, and seven serious accidents. 
 
 "This county is the second largest in coal production among the counties 
 comprising (up to the present time) the third inspection district. Hereafter 
 Jasper county will be reported among the counties of the second inspection dis- 
 trict. Owing to the large development of mines in the third district and with 
 a view to more evenly divide the inspection service it was deemed best to place 
 Jasper county in the second district. 
 
 "Mining operations are, as heretofore, largely in the vicinity of Colfax 
 and Seevers, and the usual success attend these operations." 
 
 At the date of this report there were the following mining companies 
 operating in this county: Carson Bros' Coal Company, Newton; Hanson & 
 Mead Coal Company, Prairie City; John Bruce Coal Company, Monroe; 
 French Coal Company, Newton ; Lister Coal Company, Newton ; Snook Bros.' 
 Coal Company, Newton; Colfax Consolidated Coal Company; McAllister 
 Coal Company, Newton; Warrick Coal Company, with offices at Des Moines. 
 The product of these mines is all consumed by the local trade except that of the 
 four last named in the list, and these mines are general shippers. 
 
 The report shows that in the matter of accidents for the two years in- 
 cluded in the report that in Jasper county there was one fatal accident, that of 
 the falling and killing of Paul Binisse, a top laborer, who met death by falling 
 from a shaft's mouth, while working in the Colfax Consolidated Coal Com- 
 pany's mines. The other accidents were those of the serious injury of 
 Gerald Rodgers, Frank Lipovach, George Shenton and V. Tomlonvich, the 
 latter losing an eye and the others having broken limbs. 
 
 For the year ending June 30, 1909, the reports show that Jasper county 
 produced from its eleven mines 333,340 tons of coal; employed 519 miners; 
 other inside workmen, 191 ; outside men, 61 \ total employed, 771.
 
 JASPER COUMV, lUWA. 33 
 
 J 11 Ihc Nc.'ir fnllowins^', ^\hich \\as for the year ending Jnne 30, 1910, the 
 report goes on to show that the ten coal mines then in operation produced 
 334,186 tons of coal; employed 493 miners; 194 other inside men; 70 outside 
 workmen, making a total of 757 men employed. 
 
 The figures show that in 1910 Jasper county stood hfth among the coal 
 producing counties of Iowa. The list of counties included in the state in- 
 spector's reports being in the order and rank here given : Monroe, Polk, Ap- 
 panoose, Mahaska, Jasper, Marion, Boone, Wapello, Dallas, Wayne, Webster, 
 Adams, Van Buren, Cxuthrie, Page, Keokuk, Taylor, Greene, Lucas, Warren, 
 vScott, Jefferson and Davis. 
 
 WEATHER CONDITIONS OF JASPER COUNTY. 
 
 The government reports secured at the bureau at Des Moines, for Jasper 
 county for the last third of a century, the figures are as follows, taking the 
 month of January for a standard winter mouth. The warmest weather and 
 coldest of these years has occurred since 1898, as will be observed In- the table 
 1>elow : 
 
 ]\Iean temperature. Highest and Lowest temperature. 
 
 1879 — 12 above zero. 1899 — 48 above, 20 below zero. 
 
 1880 — 28 above zero. 1901 — 51 above. 8 below zero. 
 
 1881 — 8 above zero. 1902 — 50 above. 22 below zero. 
 
 1882 — 21 above zero. 1903 — 45 above. 8 below zero. 
 
 1883 — 24 above zero. 1904 — 47 above. 22 below zero. 
 
 1894 — 19 above zero. 1905 — 43 above. 18 below zero. 
 
 1895 — 15 above zero. 1908 — 51 above. 10 below zero. 
 
 1896—24 above zero. 1909 — 56 above. 16 below zero. 
 
 1897 — 18 above zero. 191 o — 40 above. 17 below zero. 
 
 1898 — 23 above zero. 191 1 — 32 above. 5 below zero. 
 
 The average temperature at Newton since 1878 has been in the month 
 of January, 18 degrees above; in February, 20 degrees above; March, 33 
 degrees above; April. 48 degrees above: ]\Iay, 60 degrees above: June. 70 
 degrees above: July, y^ degrees above: August, yz degrees above; September, 
 63 degrees above ; October, 5 1 degrees alw\e ; November, 34 degrees above ; 
 December. 22 degrees above. The average for all years and all months is 48 
 degrees above zero. 
 
 Another table shows that the highest temperature in the county, as indi- 
 cated bv the Baxter reports, in the last thirty years, was in the month of July, 
 1901, when it reached 107 degrees above zero: the next hottest was 99 degrees 
 
 (3)
 
 34 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 in September. 1899, and August. 1900^ was next with 93 degrees above zero. 
 The coldest was reached in February. 1899. when it \\as 28 below zero; the 
 next lowest was in December. 1901. when it was 22 below and the next lowest 
 >^as in the months of January and February, 1900, when it registered 13 below. 
 
 The a\'erag"e annual rain and snow fall (precipitation as it's known in 
 weather table parlance) at the Xewton station from 1878 has been by years 
 indicated, as follows: 1878. 28 inches; 1879. -^ inches: 1880. 33 inches; 
 1881, 44 inches; 1882, 39 inches; 1893, 29 inches; 1894, 20 inches: 1895. 2>- 
 inches; 1896. 45 inches; 1897. 27 inches: 1898, 30 inches: 1899, 27 inches; 
 1900, 40 inches; 1901, 25 inches. The total average for these years is thirty- 
 three and thirty-nine hundredths inches of water. 
 
 After reading so much about the ''hard winters" of early days, it will be 
 of interest to read the causes for a change to milder winters. The following 
 is from a scientific standpoint, by the pen of Dr. Gorrell, of Newton, in 191 1 : 
 
 CLIMATIC CHANGES. 
 By Dr. J. R. Gorrell. 
 
 Is our climate becoming milder and our winters less severe? If so, what 
 is the cause. There exists a consensus of opinion among close observers of 
 meteorological conditions that there has been a perceptible change during the 
 last fifty years. We may, they say, ]je unable to discover any difference from 
 v^rinter to winter, but a comparison of our late winters with the winters of 
 ten, twenty, thirty, forty and fifty years ago. appears to justify the belief that 
 a gradual change is occurring in our climate. 
 
 There are those who believe that the artificial groves over Iowa and 
 adjoining states have contributed materially to raising the temperature during 
 the winter months. It is no doubt true that the rigor of the winds has been 
 lessened thereby, but as the absolute temperature is unaffected even by bliz- 
 zards, it appears improbable that the groves have any effect on the climate. 
 There are others who attribute our milder winters to thermal reg'ions in space 
 through which our solar system as a whole is passing. The solar system con- 
 sisting of the sun, the planets (Mercury. Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, 
 Uranus. Xeptune ) , their satellites, the asteroids l)C'l\\ec!i the orbits of Mars 
 and Jupiter and all meteoric matter and comets that 1)elong to our system, is 
 rushing through space with a velocity of thirty-nine thousand six hundred 
 miles an hour, and the direction is so near a straight line that it will require 
 many millions of years to complete one revolution. It is therefore not impossi- 
 Ijle that the regions in space through A\hich we have l>een passing during the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 35 
 
 last two. three, four or five decades has had a hig^her tem[)erature than that 
 through which we passed before, because we may have approached nearer to 
 some other sun in the sidereal system to which our solar system belongs. The 
 grove theory is unsatisfactory, and the effect of our movement through space 
 is naught else than speculation. 
 
 The heat of the surface of the earth and the atmosphere is derived almost 
 wholh- from the sun. If the earth is a molten mass within, the heat from that 
 source^ in hot springs, geysers and volcanoes (if any of these have any con- 
 nection with the central lieat. which is improbable) is so small that it need 
 not be considered in a discussion of climatic conditions and causes. 
 
 Some substances are transparent to light and heat that are opaque to 
 heat without light. For example, if a pane of glass is held between the face 
 and the sun. the heat passes through the glass and the face is burned. If the 
 same pane is held between the face and an intensely hot cannon ball that is 
 not incandescent, the glass acts as a perfect screen and no heat whatever is 
 felt because the glass is opaque to dark heat. 
 
 John Tyndall was the first to call the attention of scientists to the fact 
 that carbonic acid (carbon dioxide. C O2 ) was partially opaque to dark heat, 
 and to suggest its potency in producing a milder climate. The proportion of 
 carbon dioxide now in the atmosphere is only about one-thirtieth per cent., 
 but being opaque to dark heat it absorbs the heat of the earth that otherwise 
 would be radiated into space, and thus acts as a blanket to keep the earth 
 warm. The greater the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere the 
 thicker becomes the blanket, and the more heat it absorbs. The other con- 
 stituents of the atmosphere, oxygen and nitrogen, are transparent to dark heat 
 and would therefore permit the radiation of the heat of the earth into space, 
 and the result would be a cold and lifeless planet. 
 
 Prior to the carboniferous era all the carbon dioxide now stored in the 
 coal measures of the earth, 200,000 square miles in China and Japan; 194.000 
 in the United States ; 35.000 in India ; 27.000 in Russia : 9.000 in Great Britain : 
 3,600 in Germany: 1,800 in France: 1,400 in Belgium. Spain and other coun- 
 tries, making a total of 471.800 square miles, was free in the atmosphere, and 
 in consequence thereof there existed a tropical climate extending to the poles, 
 as is indicated by the presence only of tropical plants in coal measures. It is 
 estimated that the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere during that 
 period was from fifty to one hundred thousand times greater than the amount 
 now in the atmosphere, and as a result of the warm, moist climate, there 
 flourished during that geological era the most luxuriant growth of vegetation 
 the earth has ever known, and the succeeding glacial period was the logical 
 sequence of the withdrawal of the carbon dioxide from the atmosphere.
 
 36 JASPER COUNTY, k)\\ A. 
 
 Prof. Joseph LeConte, in his "Elements of Geology, " on page 617, says: 
 "On account of its heat absorbing properties, the carbon dioxide is vastly the 
 most important element affecting the climate. It now only forms about one- 
 thousandth part of the atmosphere. With its thermal potency it will be seen 
 that comparatively slight variation in the amount would produce great climatic 
 effects. Physicists have long recognized this fact. It is believed that doubling 
 the present small amount of carbon dioxide, would produce a mild climate to 
 the poles, and that halving the present amount would bring on another glacial 
 period."' 
 
 The rapid increase in the consumption of coal, and the inevitable increase 
 in the amount of carbon dioxide thrust into the atmosphere becomes apparent 
 from the following facts. The consumption of coal in the United States in 
 the year 1845 ^^'^^ ^'0^^'" ^""^ one-half million tons ; in the year 1864, twenty-two 
 million tons; in the year 1874, fifty million tons; in the year 1884, one hun- 
 dred and six million tons; in 1894, one hundred and fifty million tons; in 
 1899, two hundred and forty-three million tons. In Great Britain in the year 
 1845, there was consumed thirty-one million tons; in the year 1864, ninety 
 million tons; in the year 1874, one hundred and twenty-five million tons; in 
 1884. one hundred and sixty million tons; in 1894, one hundred and sixty-four 
 million tons; and in 1899, two hundred and ninety-five million tons. And the 
 rate of increase in other countries. China and Japan, India, Russia, Germany, 
 France, Spain, Belgium and Austria-Hungary, is approximately the same. 
 There is at present a concurrence of opinion among the highest authorities 
 that the w^orld's supply of coal would probably last two or three centuries, but 
 the rapidly increasing rate of consumption is becoming ominous. ''The state- 
 ments of former years that the supply of coal was inexhaustible were not only 
 false and foolish, but pernicious." 
 
 The process of combustion, and respiration, consumes oxygen and lib- 
 erates carbon dioxide and aqueous vapor. The incalculable combustion of coal 
 and oil is gradually restoring to the atmosphere the hitherto confined carbon 
 dioxide which when free produced a mild climate the \\orld over, and will 
 probably again create the same meteorological conditions of heat and moisture 
 that existed during the Tertiary period — a tropical climate from pole to pole.
 
 CHAPTER 111. 
 
 CTIAXGE FROM IXDIAX TO Willi K MAX's OCCUPAXCY. 
 
 The date of the Illack Hawk war was in 183-'. and about one hnnrh-ed 
 years before that time the land within what is now Jasper county, Iowa, was 
 the huntino- oround oi the Iowa Inchans. the Sacs and the Foxes. At the time 
 of the Indian war just mentioned, the whole territory east of the Mississippi 
 river was taken from the control of the red man and g-iven over to the author- 
 ity of the white race, to w horn the \\ orld is indebted for its w(~inderful develop- 
 ment and present priceless value. The Fox Indians were mercilessly driven 
 from Canada, the movement for that purpose being- started in 1714. continuing 
 with great vigor under De Louxigney. who gave them a terrible defeat on Fox 
 river. In r7_'N the\' were dri\en farther to the west, and in 1746 the most of 
 the tribe (those who had escaped with their lives ) had crossed the Mississippi. 
 Subsecjuent to this the Sacs, who had formed a ur.i(~)n with the Iroquois in 
 New ^'ork state and had dislodged th.e Illinois tribes from their grounds, 
 which extended as far west as the Des Moines river, crossed the Alississippi 
 and also formed a close alliance with the Foxes. 
 
 The lowas were at one time identified with the Sacs of Rock River, but 
 for some unknown cause they separated and started out as a band independent. 
 The eight leading families of this tribe formed classes, or parties, known by 
 the name of the different animals or birds, which they chose as types or 
 symbols of their respective families — the eagle, the pigeon, the bear, the elk. 
 the beaver, the buffalo and the snake — and were known severally in their tribe 
 bv the ])eculiar manner in w liich they wore their hair. The Eagle family was 
 marked by two locks of hair on the front part of the head and one on the back 
 left part; the ^^'olf family had scattered bunches of hair left, representing 
 islands whence their families were supix)sed to have sprung: the Rear family 
 left one side of the hair of the head much longer than the other: the F>uffalo 
 familv left a strip of long hair from the front to the rear part of the head with 
 two bunches on each side to represent horns : and so on through all the families. 
 
 For a time the lowas occupied common hunting grounds w ith the Sacs 
 and Foxes, but feuds eventually sprung up between them and they became 
 greatlv diminished in numbers and strength by the onslaughts of their more 
 powerful enemies. The princii)al village of the lowas was on the Des Moines,
 
 ^8 JASPER COUNTY, JOWA. 
 
 in what is now \^an Biiren county, and on the site of the town of lowaville. 
 This was the scene of the great battle between the lowas and Sacs and Foxes, 
 in which Black liawk. then a young- man, commanded one division of the at- 
 tacking force. The battle resulted in the crushing defeat of the lowas. who 
 were driven west of the Des Moines ri\ er in dismay, having lost, in killed and 
 prisoners, a large portion of their former numbers. 
 
 INDIAN TREATIES. 
 
 North of the hunting- grounds of the Sacs and ]<"oxes were those of the 
 Sioux, a fierce and warlike nation, which often disputed possession with their 
 rivals in savage and bloody warfare. The possessions of these tribes were 
 mostlv located in ^Minnesota, but extended over a portion of northern and 
 western Iowa to the Alissouri river. Their descent from the north upon the 
 hunting- grounds of Iowa frequently brought them in collision \\ ith the Sacs 
 and Foxes and, after many a conflict and struggle, a boundary line was estab- 
 lished between them by the government of the United States in a treaty held 
 at Prairie du Chien in 1825. But this, instead of settling the difficulties. 
 caused them to (juarrel all the more in consequence of alleged trespass upon 
 each other's side of the line. These contests were kept up and became so un- 
 relenting- that in 1830 the government bought of the respective tribes of the 
 vSacs and Foxes, and the Sioux, a strip of land twenty miles in width on both 
 sides of the line and, thus throwing them forty miles apart by creating between 
 them a "neutral ground," commanded them to cease their histilities. 
 
 The boundary line of this as surveyed by the terms of the treaty of 1825. 
 was thus fixed : Commencing at the mouth of the Upper Iowa river on the 
 west bank of the ]\Iississippi. and ascending said Iowa river to its west fork; 
 thence bv the fork to its source: thence crossing the fork of Cedar river in a 
 direct line to the second or upper fork of the Des Moines river; thence in a 
 direct line to the lower fork of the Calumet river and down that ri\er to its 
 junction with the Missouri river. 
 
 On the 15th of July, 1830, the Sacs and Foxes ceded to the United States 
 a strip of country lying south of the above line, twenty miles in width and ex- 
 tending along the line aforesaid from the Mississippi to the Des Moines river. 
 The Sioux also ceded in the same treaty a like strip on the north line of the 
 boundary. Thus the United States became into possession of a portion of 
 Iowa forty miles in width and extending along the Clark and Cass line of 
 1825, from the Mississippi to the Des Moines river. This territory was known 
 as the "neutral ground"' and tlie tri1)es on either side of tlr.' lino were allowed
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 39 
 
 to fish and hunt on it unmolested till the W'innehagoes were moved to it in 
 1 841. 
 
 Thus the southern houndarx- of the "neutral ground" was estahlished to 
 pass through the northwest portion of Story county and Jasper became the 
 possession of the Sacs and Foxes under the protection of the national govern- 
 ment. 
 
 In 1832 the Sacs and Foxes relinquished a strip of country fifty miles 
 wide bordering on the Mississippi, from Minnesota to Missouri, and accepted 
 in exchange a reservation of four hundred sections lying along the Iowa river. 
 In 1836 the Indians ceded a strip lying alongside the lands relinquished in 
 1832, twenty-five miles wide in the center and terminating in a point at each 
 end. Another treaty was made with the allied tribes in 1837, by which they 
 agreed to dispose of all their land lying south of the neutral grounds, but the 
 bargain was not consummated. 
 
 The last treaty was made with the Sacs and Foxes October 1 1, 1842, and 
 ratified March 23. 1843. It was made at the Sacs and Fox agency (Agency 
 Citv) ])v John I'hamliers. commissioner on behalf of the United States. In 
 this treaty the Sacs and h'ox Indians "ceded to the United States all their 
 lands west of the Mississippi to which they had any claim or title." By the 
 terms of this treaty they were to be removed from the country at the expira- 
 tion of three years and all remaining after that were to move at their own ex- 
 pense. Part of them were remo\ed to Kansas in the fall of 1845, and the rest 
 the spring following. In the fall of 1843, "iifler the stipulation of this treaty, a 
 line was surveyed northward from the Alissouri state line by George W. Har- 
 rison, which passed by the red rocks of the Des Aloines about one mile west of 
 the present town of that name. The extension of the line northward very 
 nearly divided section 35 Fairview, through the middle. The western limit of 
 the town of Monroe is one mile east of the line and the residence of what later 
 was S. Zerley. in the same township, stands close to the line. This sur\-ey 
 opened about two-thirds of Jasper county for settlement and left a strip ten 
 and a half miles wide for the occupation of the Indians in this county. 
 
 INDIANS AND THE WHITES. 
 
 At the date of the first settlement in Jasper county the band of Indians 
 still hanging around the country was under the leadership of lyishkekosh. who 
 was strong enough to accompany Black Hawk when he visited Washington 
 some vears before. The work entitled "Pioneers of Marion County" is the 
 authority for the following concerning this chief and his people :
 
 40 JASPER COLNtV, U)\VA. 
 
 Having- endured much privation during the winter of 1844-5. the hand 
 visited the little settlement at Red Rock in quest of hospitality. In the hand 
 was Kishkekosh and his wife; Wykoma, son of Wapello, and two wives; 
 Masha W'apetine and his wife, and children helonging to each family. They 
 were entertained at hreakfast by Mr. Mikesell. Kishkekosh. having learned 
 the art of dining at the national capital, passed the dishes to his hungry com- 
 panions with politeness, before helping himself; but when he had organized 
 the meeting, so to speak, the \oracious savage sat rex'ealed — he had relapsed 
 from civilization to barbarism and ate like all his mates. He managed five or 
 six cups of coffee, with solids in proportion. When pressed "to have some- 
 thing more." he drew his fingers across his throat, and then, in further ex- 
 planation, crammed it down his Avindpipe. 
 
 The Indians who had received the strip of land off the west side of Jas- 
 per county prepared to remove late in the autumn of 1845. Kishkekosh and 
 his braN'es, twenty odd in all. had stored their heavy articles at Red Rock 
 during the summer, not needing them while engaged in hunting. Prior to 
 starting west, they repaired to Red Rock and hired Mr. Mikesell to haul the 
 goods to camp. That night they camped where Alonroe now stands. The 
 weather was cold and a heavy snow fell during the night. The Indians huddled 
 together as close as possible to keep warm, and upon opening out in the morn- 
 ing a perfect cloud of steam arose. Part of ^ilikesell's oxen went astray dur- 
 ing the night, and he followed them clear home, the snow still continuing to 
 fall very fast. On returning he found the Indians all bewildered as to the 
 direction they should take, and it took the chief some time to ascertain the 
 course, when the journey was resumed and their village reached that night. 
 
 Pasishamone and his band also frequented the Skunk in this county, and 
 at the time of the removal of the l)and of twenty, just spoken of, the former, 
 with about all his braves, was at Agency City on a visit. The women, chil- 
 dren and old men went into camp four miles from Fort Des Moines to await 
 their return, which was at the beginning of winter. Then the band packed up 
 and followed Kishkekosh and his followers. 
 
 Another band, under the control of the famous Poweshiek, had a village 
 at the forks of Indian creek, in what is now Toweshiek township. Their aban- 
 doned wikeups remained standing two or three years after the tribe had re- 
 moved. These wikeups were louilt by setting corner stakes into the ground at 
 suitable distances for the intended building. To these were fastened poles at 
 top and bottom, which served as fastenings for the covering of elm bark. This 
 was procured by girdling the trees at the bottom and then as high as the arm 
 could reach, when it was slit and peeled off in one sheet. When a sufficient
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 4I 
 
 number had been procured, thc\- were punched at the ends and bound with 
 bark or thongs to the poles, care being taken to kip them sufficiently to make a 
 
 * 
 
 good joint. The rafters were notched and fastened to the top poles with bark 
 or leather and co\ered in much the same fashion as the sides. 
 
 It is related of this band that on one occasion, in 1846. they visited the 
 trading house kept by Rvans. alxjut a mile west of where Newton now stands, 
 with whom they succeeded in exchanging a pony for a keg of whisky. Aydel- 
 lotte, who saw them, savs they were already well saturated with fire water, and 
 that as soon as the transfer was effected one of them lashed the keg to his 
 saddle, when they all jumped on their ponies and made off on a gallop, whoop- 
 ing loud enough to be heard two miles ! 
 
 John Green was another well known chief. He was at the head of a 
 small band of Pottawatomies. On one occasion he found a large lump of iron 
 pyrites and meeting Mr. Sparks, soon after, informed that gentleman that 
 he had found a gold min.e. ^Ir. Sparks, when he saw the specimen, unde- 
 ceived the poor fellow, who had doubtless looked ahead to a future when he 
 could ha\e whiskv three times a day, l)0Ught with tlie avails of his gold mine. 
 
 The liorsc stealing of that day was not all carried on by the renegade 
 Indians, as was sometimes thought by the pioneers, according to pioneer and 
 first settler William Highland, who declared that a party of bee-hunters 
 visited the countv in tlie summer of 1844 (the wet year) and were so unfor- 
 tunate as to have some horses stolen, which they laid to the Indians. He says 
 many cases of horse theft were charged up to Lo. the poor Indian, of which 
 they were guiltless. From time to time there were white men passing through 
 the count\-, in whom no more dependence could l)e placed than in the average 
 Indian. After several vears' intercourse \\ith the latter, he said he had ne\er 
 had any trouble with them, drunk or sober, l)ut that they seemed very friendly 
 and honorable to him. 
 
 iXDT AX tradi-:rs. 
 
 Two \-oung men. whose names ha\ e gone from the memory ot the early 
 settlers, had been traders w ith the Indian tril^es in some one or more of Iowa's 
 lower counties, and in the spring of 1844 erected a little shanty in a small 
 grove a mile north of the old "Long farm." Their stock of goods consisted 
 chieflv of a barrel of whiskv, diluted one-third with water for profit's sake and 
 not for the cause of tem])erance. As soon as the "store" was open for business 
 a lively trade was carried on w ith the little band of Kishkekosh. On a certain 
 day a dozen or more of the braves visited his place and managed to get
 
 42 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 drunk. They then demanded more \vhisk>-. \\hich the dealer refused for fear 
 of serious trouble. The Indians became quarrelsome, but after persisting 
 some time without success they went back to their camp grumbling. Soon 
 thereafter they returned with a lot of raw recruits, the total number being 
 three times as many as at first. The traders became alarmed and endeavored 
 to prevent the Indians from entering the store, but the door was easily 
 pushed in. One of the white men knocked down three of the ugly Aluscjuakas, 
 but thev were ox^erpowered by the shere force of superior numbers and borne 
 to the floor of the shantv, where they were badly maltreated. One was badly 
 injured by a blow from an Indian holding in his hand a saw he chanced to get 
 hold of. Thev finallv made good their escape, leaving the store and its ''wet"' 
 contents plunder for the red men of the forest. The white men found their 
 way to Adam Tool's place, where they found the men all away from home, 
 and thev were not pitied much by the good housewife, who had no love in her 
 heart for wreckless liquor tlealers. They never engaged in business again in 
 Jasper county. 
 
 The same spring (1844) came ]\Iatthew Fish, who also began to trade 
 with the Indians. His place was two miles northwest of Tool's Point. He 
 ran a respectable place and sold no whisky to anyone. He traded three }-ears 
 and then sold his claim to a man named Tucker. 
 
 Later in the season of 1844 came in one Redick, and he stayed with one 
 of the first four settlers, ^''ance, and there he handled whatever the Indians 
 most wanted. l)ut only remained a few months. 
 
 Scott & Nichols visited Jasper county the same year and traded with the 
 Indians, doing a large whisky business. They had located the year before at 
 Red Rock and in the summer of that year Scott, while hunting, had trouble 
 \\ itli some Indians, who stole several articles from his camp south of Lvnn- 
 ville. This maddened the Indians, who said, "vScott, he have too much white 
 in his eyes." Scott left, but Xichols remained three years. His principal 
 purchases were ponies, the usual price l:)cing sixteen quarts of whiskv for a 
 first-class pony. 
 
 THE TRAIL MADE RY THE l)R.\(;()ONS. 
 
 Concerning the trail left in the march of the United States dragoons 
 through Jasper county, in the forties, an able writer for the Western His- 
 torical Companv in the seventies says : 
 
 "Soon after the treaty of 1842 had been com])]etc(l. bv the terms of 
 whicli the Sacs and Foxes were to be protected from expeditions from the
 
 jAsrF.R corxTv. IOWA. 43 
 
 war-like Sionx. the government made preparations to send troops into the 
 new purchase for that purpose. The infantry was sent up the Des Moines 
 river, arriving at the Raccoon forks ]\Iay g, 1843. -^s soon as the grass had 
 started sufficiently, the dragoons detailed to go as scouts were sent forward 
 to the same point, by way of Iowa City. Their course was really due west, as 
 nearly as the upland of the country would admit of. and it crossed very nearly 
 where now stands the city of Newton. This is the first passage, so far as 
 can be ascertained, by white men through the central part of what became 
 Jasper county four years later. It would be a pleasure to record the halting 
 places of the little journey by this party, but it cannot now be done. The 
 little band hardly dreamed that the prospector's wagon was close behind, and 
 to them it would have been the merest imagination, and an improbable thing, 
 had one of the party prophesied that the day's journey they were making be- 
 tween Red Rock and South Skunk would in thirt}- years be marked with 
 three prosperous, busy towns, and that on every July day over one hundred 
 harvesters could be counted on either side of the trail they were then making 
 through the forest and prairie grass. 
 
 '"At night the camp-kettle bubbled, while the horses were picketed, the 
 sentinels placed and the men in dusty uniforms collected to devour their 
 rations. Pipes and cards were produced, and, indifferent to the future, the 
 men played "old sledge"' for an hour, and then, wrapping their blankets 
 about th6m, bivouacked beneath the stars that winked to each other, as if 
 they knew more about the future than the tired horsemen reposing on the 
 prairie grass never before crushed by the boot-heel."
 
 CH A IT F.R ^y. 
 
 ORGAN IZATI ox OK JASPKR COUNTY. 
 
 Oriijinally. Jasper was incliKlecl in Keokuk county. It was established 
 January 13. 1846, and organized March 1. 1846. up to whicli time it had been 
 attached to Mahaska county for election and judicial purposes. It was named 
 in honor of Serqeant William Jasper, who won fame as a Revolutionary sol- 
 dier. The following- were named as the committee to locate a county seat 
 for the new county i>\ Jasi)er: Ricliard lusher. E. W . Kirkman and Thomas 
 Anderson, respectively from Wapello. Davis and Keokuk counties. The 
 first district court was appointed to be held at the house of Matthew D. 
 Sprin,qer. 
 
 The boundarv lines, as first defined, were not correctly specified by the 
 act of the Legislature, in that it caused the county being set apart to cover 
 parts of adjoining counties, as now understood. The first act of the Legisla- 
 ture was dated January 13. 184^). but four days later, January ijtb. the 
 Legislature saw its error and so amended the act as to read as follows : 
 
 ■■P.eginning at the northeast corner of township Xo. 8t north, of range 
 Xo. 17 west; thence west to the northwest corner of township X'^o. 81 north. 
 of range 21 west: thence south to the .southeast corner of township X'o. 78 
 north, of range Xix 21 west: thence east to the southeast corner of township 
 Xo. 78 ni'trth. of range 17 west: thence to the place of beginning."' 
 
 TIIR OKCANrziXr, ACT. 
 
 The following is substantially the wording of tbe record of the act or- 
 ganizing Jasper county approved Januarx' 17. 1846: 
 
 ''Section i. I'e it enacted b\- the Coimcil and House of Representatives 
 of the Territory of Iowa: That the counties of Jasper and Polk be and they 
 are hereby organized, from and after the date of March next, and the in- 
 habitants of said counties shall be entitled to all the rights and privileges to 
 which by law the inhabitants of other organized counties of the territory are 
 entitled, and the said counties shall constitute a part of the second iudicial 
 district of the territory. 
 
 "Sec. 2. That there sliall be a special election held on the first Mondav 
 of the month of April, at which time the county officers for said counties
 
 JASPER COUXTV. K)\VA. 45 
 
 shall be elected: and also such number of justices of the peace and constables, 
 for each of said counties as may be ordered by the clerks of the court for 
 their respective counties. 
 
 "Sec. 3. That it shall be the duties of the several clerks of the district 
 court, in and for said counties, to give at least ten days' previous notice of 
 the time and place of holding such special election, in each of said counties, 
 grant certificates of election, and in all respects discharge the duties required 
 by law to be performed by the clerks of the boards of county commissioners 
 in relation to elections, until a clerk of the board of county commissioners for 
 their respective counties may be elected and qualified. 
 
 "Sec. 4. That it shall be the duty of the clerk of the district court, in 
 each of said counties, to discharge all the duties required by law to be per- 
 formed by sheriffs, in relation to elections, until a sheriff for their respective 
 counties may be elected and qualified. 
 
 "Sec. 5. That the county officers, justices of the peace and constables 
 elected under the provisions of this act shall hold their offices until the first 
 Monday in the month of August, 1846. and until their successors are elected 
 and qualified. 
 
 "Sec. 6. That the clerks of the district court, in and for said counties 
 of Jasper and Polk, may be appointed and qualified at any time after the pas- 
 sage of this act. 
 
 "Sec. 7. That all actions at law and equity in the district court of the 
 county of Alahaska commenced prior to the organization of said counties of 
 Jasper and Polk, where the parties, or either of them reside in either of the 
 counties aforesaid, shall be prosecuted to final judgment, order or decree as 
 fully and effectually as if this act had not been passed. 
 
 "Sec. 8. That it shall be the duty of all justices of the peace, resident 
 within said counties of Jasper and Polk, to return all books and papers in 
 their hands, pertaining to said offices, to the next nearest justice of the peace, 
 who may be elected and qualified for their respective counties under the pro- 
 visions of this act; and all suits at law. or other official business, which may 
 be in the hands of such justices of the peace and unfinished, shall be prosecuted 
 or completed by the justices of the peace to whom such business or papers 
 may have been returned as aforesaid. 
 
 "Sec. 9. That the judicial authorities of ^Mahaska county shall have 
 cognizance of all crimes or violations of the criminal laws of this territory 
 committed within the limits of said counties of Jasper and Polk prior to the 
 first dav of March next : Proxided. prosecutions be commenced under the
 
 46 JASl'KU CurXTV. IOWA. 
 
 judicial authorities of said ^fahaska county prior to the first day of March 
 next. 
 
 "Sec. 10. That the said counties of Jasper and Polk shall have cog- 
 nizance and jurisdiction of all crimes or violations of the criminal laws of this 
 territorv committed prior to the first day of March next, in cases where prose- 
 cutions shall not have been commenced under the judicial authorities of Ma- 
 haska county. 
 
 "Sec. II. That the county of Marshall be and the same is hereby at- 
 tached to the county of Jasper for elections, revenue and judicial purposes. 
 "Sec. !_'. (Attached counties of Story, Boone and Dallas to Polk.) 
 "Sec. 13. That the several clerks of the district courts in and for the 
 said counties of Jasper and Polk, may keep their respective offices at any place 
 within their respective counties until the county seats thereof may be located. 
 "Sec. 14. That Richard Fisher, of the county of Wapello; E. :\1. Kirk- 
 ham, of the countv of Davis, and Thomas Henderson, of the county of Keo- 
 kuk, be and thev are hereby appointed commissioners to locate and establish 
 the seat of justice of the. county of Jasper. 
 
 "Sec. 15. (Appointed commissioners for Polk.) 
 
 ■'Sec. 16. That said commissioners, or a majority of them, shall meet 
 at the office of the clerk of the district court in and for the county for which 
 seat of justice they have been appointed to locate, on the first Monday in the 
 month of ]\Iay next, or at such other time, not exceeding thirty days there- 
 after, as a majority of said commissioners may agree. 
 
 "Sec. 17. (Prescribed the oath to be administered to the commissioners.) 
 "Sec. 18. Said commissioners, when met and qualified, shall proceed to 
 locate the seat of justice of the respective counties for which they have been 
 appointed, and as soon as they shall have come to a determination, the same 
 shall be committed to writing, signed by the said commissioners and filed with 
 the clerk of the district court of the county in which such seat of justice is 
 situated, whose duty it shall be to record the same and forever keep it on file 
 in his office, and the place thus designated shall be the seat of justice of said 
 county. 
 
 "Sec. 19. (Provided that the commissioners should receive two dollars 
 per (lay and two dollars for every twenty miles traveled while discharging 
 their duties.) 
 
 "Sec. 20. That the district court for the county of Jasper shall be held 
 at the house of Mathew D. Springer, in said county, or at such other place as 
 may be designated by the board of county commissioners of said countv, until 
 the seat of justice may be located."
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 47 
 
 ORGANIZING ELECTION. 
 
 The duties of setting off precincts, appointing- judges, setting up notices, 
 etc.. were performed by a citizen of Iowa county. 
 
 At the election held in April. 1846. there were thirty-five \otes cast for 
 the office of sheriff', of which D. Edmundson received eighteen votes and his 
 opponent seventeen. Moses Lacy was one of the judges at Elk Creek pre- 
 cinct. The other polling places were at Tool's Point and Lynn Grove. A 
 return of the vote was made at Iowa City, in order to show the territorial 
 authorities that the county was organized to assume its rights and duties, and 
 also to KJnoxville, where the vote was canvassed and declared. John H. 
 Franklin was the messenger sent to Iowa City and Washington Fleenor to 
 Knoxville. 
 
 The officers chosen were : Joab Bennett. John R. Sparks and ]^Ianly 
 Gifford, commissioners; John H. Franklin, clerk: J. \V. Awann. treasurer; 
 Davidson Edmundson. sheriff; Seth Hemmer. recorder; Washington Fleenor, 
 probate judge. 
 
 It will be understood by the reader that the county was at first, and until 
 1 85 1, governed solely by the officers known as the board of commissioners; 
 then came the county judge system, that obtained until the county supervisor 
 system went into effect, under the code of that year, when the judge's powers 
 were limited to a sort of probate business and finally in 1868 was abolished 
 entirely and the office of county auditor established, and he serves as ex- 
 officio clerk of the board of supervisors. 
 
 FIRST MEETING OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS, 
 
 "Territory of Iowa, Jasper County : 
 
 ■'At a special term of the board of county commissioners, in and for the 
 county of Jasper, in the territory of Iowa, begun and holden on the 14th day 
 of April, A. D. 1846. present John R. Sparks, Joab Bennett and Manly Gif- 
 ford, commissioners of said court; John H. Franklin, clerk of the board of 
 commissioners, and David Edmundson, sheriff of said county. 
 
 ■'Ordered, that the eagle side of a ten-cent piece, or dime, of the coin 
 of the United States, be and the same is hereby adopted as the temporary seal 
 of the board of county commissioners of the county of Jasper, aforesaid, until 
 a proper seal may be provided for the use of said board." 
 
 By a joint resolution, passed January 17, 1846, William Edmundson was 
 authorized to contract a full set of seals for the counties of Marion, Jasper
 
 ^8 JASI'KK COLNTV, IOWA. 
 
 and Tolk. and that ihe same be paid for out ot the territorial treasury. By 
 this it would seem that the seal of Jasper county had not yet been obtained. 
 
 The clerk was authorized to procure suitable books and stationery for the 
 countv. after which the board adjourned to the second Monday of May fol- 
 lowiiii;-. The book provided for the clerk and commissioners' use was a thick 
 account book, of about three hundred pages, which contains all of the proceed- 
 ings of that pioneer body, as well as the doings of the county judge, up to 
 January 30, 1855. 
 
 LOCATING THE COUNTY SEAT. 
 
 Before Ballinger Aydellotte, a justice of the peace, appeared Messrs. 
 Henderson and Fisher, two of the three commissioners named as locating 
 commissioners in the county-seat matter, on the nth of }klay, 1846, and took 
 an oath to faithfully and well perform their duties in impartially locating the 
 seat of justice for Jasper county. They swore to take into account the 
 "future as well as the present population of the county." Their report is 
 carefully preserxed in the archives of the county, as required by law, and as 
 the document is somewhat of a curiosity, unicjue in its spelling and general 
 make-up, it is here given in full as follows : 
 
 "Territory of Iowa, Jasper County: 
 
 "We, the undersigned Commissioners, appointed by an x\ct of the Legis- 
 lature of the Territory of Iowa, passed at the session of 1845-6, providing for 
 the organization of the Counties of Jasper and Polk Counties, after having 
 1)een duly qualified agreeably to the provisions of Said Act, faithfully and Im- 
 partially to Locate the seat of justice of said Jasper county, and having Ex- 
 amined the Sityation of said County, have Agreed, and doe hereby Locate and 
 Establish the County Seat of said Jasper County on the Northwest Quarter 
 of Section (34) Thirty-four, Township Eighty (80) of Range Nineteen 
 (19). Witness our hands this 14th day of May, A. D., 1846 — and furtfier 
 Doe Give the Seat of Justice of said County the name of Newton City. 
 
 •'Thomas Henderson, 
 "Richard Fisher, 
 
 "Commissioners to locate the Seate of Justice of Jasper County, Iowa Terri- 
 tory." 
 
 The alxjve instrument was hied as the comniissioners'report. witli J. N. 
 Kinsman, clerk of the district court. May 25, 1846.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 49 
 
 The record of the affair shows that the commissioners examined two 
 other sites besides the one at Newton. One was at a point two miles south of 
 the one chosen, situated in section 3, Palo Alto township, and the other was 
 near the residence which later belonged to William Hixon, in Kellogg town- 
 ship, about three miles to the east of Newton. The general belief is that the 
 site near Mr. Hixon's would have been selected as the point at which to 
 locate Jasper's county seat, had it not been for the "log rolling'' carried on by 
 the people of "Fort Des Moines" to prevent the four w-estern congressional 
 townships of Jasper from being annexed to l\jlk county, which would have 
 endangered the prospects of the fort itself of being made the permanent 
 county seat of Polk county. In that event, it will readily be seen that Des 
 Moines would have been too far west in Polk to have won the coveted prize, 
 the county seat. While the final result gave Des Moines what it wanted, the 
 latter-day population of Jasper county have ne\er regretted the turn which 
 things took through this sharp practice on the part of Des Moines' early-day 
 political factors. It has given this county a very desirable and highly valuable 
 strip of land six miles wide on the western border of her fertile domain, in- 
 cluding the civil townships of Clear Creek, Poweshiek, Washington and Des 
 Moines. 
 
 Before the commissioners had settled on Newton as the seat of justice, 
 it is related in a former historical compilation, that B. Aydelotte and William 
 M. Springer erected a liickory log building at Adamson's Grove, which they 
 proposed to donate the county for office building purposes, but the offer was 
 ignored bv the locating commissioners, w'hich greatly angered the would-be 
 donors of a primitive court house. However, they were manly enough not 
 to rush into either injunction or mandamus proceedings, as has been the case 
 in many another Io\\ a county before the county seat question has tinally been 
 settled. 
 
 Thomas Adamson had a high pole erected on the site selected by the 
 commissioners. To this pole he had attached a composition of his own mak- 
 ing, setting forth the beautiful location, that it was central, and that here it 
 should he located, because by so doing would be effected the greatest good to 
 the greatest number. Mr. Adamson was a rock-rooted Democrat, and so 
 were the locating commissioners, and some were of the belief that the stand 
 he took had much to do with the final locating of the seat of justice at Newton. 
 Be that as it may, ''all is well that ends well,'' and but few have ever had 
 reason to regret that Ne\\t(Mi was chosen. With the crowning glory of the 
 present new temple of I'ustice, costing more than two hundred thousand dol- 
 lars, it is quite certain that the time will never come in the county's history 
 when a mo\-ement will be for once thought of for moving the county seat. 
 (4)
 
 ;0 JASl'KR COIXTV. IOWA. 
 
 DIVIDING THE COL'XTV INTO TOWNSHIPS. 
 
 On Mav 14. 1846. the county coniniissioneis proceeded to lay off civil 
 sub-divisions, or townships, as follows: 
 
 "Ordered, that there be a precinct laid otT in the southwest corner of 
 the county, to be called Des Moines precinct. Said precinct to contain all 
 the territory west of the Indian boundary line, and all south of the" terri- 
 torial road leading- from Oskaloosa to Fort Des Moines, within said Jasper 
 county. 
 
 "Fairview Township — Ordered that Fairview precinct be bounded on 
 the northeast Iw Skunk ri\er. on the south by the county line, and on the 
 southwest bv Des Moines precinct, and on the west by said county line to 
 said Skunk river. 
 
 Elk Creek Township — Ordered that Elk Creek precinct be l)ounded as 
 follows : Beginning at the northwest corner of said county, thence south to 
 Skunk river, and down said Skunk river to the south line of the county, 
 thence east to range line dividing 17 and 18, thence north to north boun- 
 darv of said county, thence west to place of beginning." 
 
 Lynn Cirove township was created by the following order: /'That 
 Lynn Grove precinct be bounded as follows : That said precinct shall con- 
 tain all that portion of territory in said county east of range line between 
 17 and 18." 
 
 The abnve were Jasper county's original townships, or precincts, as 
 sometimes still termed, but "township"' is the real name of the subdivisions 
 in the entire state of Iowa. 
 
 The judges of election in these newly created primaries were appointed 
 bv the board of commissioners as follows : In Fairview precinct, Adam 
 Tool. Xewton \\'right and John Frost ; in Elk Creek precinct, ]\Ioses Lacy, 
 Thomas J. Adamson and Xathan Williams; in Lynn Grove precinct. Rufus 
 Williams. M. L. Matthew and Blakely Shoemakc : in Des Moines precinct, 
 Moses Ray, James Guthrie and Adam Michael. 
 
 The first official act of County Judge Jesse Rickman (who was elected 
 in August. 1851. and immediately took his seat) was that of rearranging 
 the township lines, which was accomplished as follows : 
 
 "The following are the boundaries of Lynn Grove township: Com- 
 mencing at the northeast corner of township 81, range 17 west, and run we'st 
 six miles to the southwest crirner of said township and range; thence south 
 to the southwest corner of township /S<, range 17; thence east six miles to 
 the southwest corner of saicl townsliiji and range: thence to the j:)lace of 
 beginning.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 5 1 
 
 "The follow ing- are the boundaries of Xewton township : Commenc- 
 ing- at the nortlieast corner of township 8i, range i8 west, and run west 
 twehe miles to the northeast corner of township 8i, range 19; thence south 
 six miles to the southwest corner of said township and range; thence west 
 two miles to the northwest corner of section 2, township 80, range 20; 
 thence south to Skunk river; thence with the meanders of the river to the 
 section line four miles south of township line Xo. 79; thence east to range 
 line 18; thence north to place of beginning. 
 
 ''The following are the boundaries of Elk Creek township: Com- 
 mencing at the northeast corner of section 25, township 79, range 18 west, 
 and run west to Skunk river; thence with the meanders of the river to the 
 county line: thence east to range 18, thence north to place of beginning. 
 
 "Fair\iew Township — The boundaries of Fairview township are : Com- 
 mencing on the county line at the southeast corner of section 34. township 78. 
 range 20 west, and run north to the northwest corner of section 22. township 
 79, range 20; thence east to Skunk river: thence with the meanderings of the 
 river to the county line ; thence west to place of beginning. 
 
 ''Des ^Nfoines Township — Commencing at the southwest corner of the 
 county and run north to the southwest corner of section 18. township 79. 
 range 21 west: thence east to the northeast corner of section 21. township 79, 
 range 20 ; thence south to the county line : thence west to the place of be- 
 ginning. 
 
 Poweshiek Township — Commencing at the southwest corner of section 
 18. township 79, range 21. and run east to Skunk river: thence up the ri\-er 
 with the meanders to the section line two miles west of range 20: thence north 
 to the township line 81; thence west to the county line: thence south to the 
 place of beginning. 
 
 ''Clear Creek Township — Commencing at the northwest corner of the 
 county, and run south to township line 81 ; thence east to range line 20: thence 
 north to the county line : thence west to the place of beginning." 
 
 ANOTHER CHANGE IN TOWNSHIP LINES. 
 
 In February, 1857, the county judge saw fit to make other changes in 
 the territory and boundaries of the several townships within Jasper county. 
 After that task had been completed the townships of the county were as fol- 
 lows : Rock Creek, Mariposa. ^lalaka. Clear Creek. Poweshiek. Xewton, 
 P)uen'i \^ista. Palo Alto. Mound Prairie. Des ^^oines. Fairview, Elk Creek. 
 Lvnn Grove. This made twelve townships in all up to the date this change 
 was broue^ht about.
 
 0- 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 On March 4, 1858, Independence township was formed. 
 
 By election time, i860, the townships had been changed around to as- 
 sume somewhat their present standing, Washington township, however, not 
 having been set off until June, 1861, at request of petitioners from Mound 
 Prairie township. Sherman and Hickory Grove were formed at a later date. 
 
 WASHINGTON PRECINCT. 
 
 1 
 
 In Marion county, to the south of what is now Jasper county, the set- 
 tlement had increased to such an extent that the commissioners of Mahaska 
 countv, in March. 1845. erected the territory now comprised within the 
 bounds of Jasper county into what they were pleased to term "Washington 
 precinct." with the polling place at the house of Mr. Tool. As there were 
 only about a dozen voters within the precinct at that date, it is possible that 
 the vote was smaller than at the election the year l3efore and the officers 
 elected were doubtless the same as those of the previous year. 
 
 THE GOVERNMENT SURVEYS. 
 
 All of the township and range lines north of the correction line and 
 east of the Indian Reserve line were run by Orson Lyon, who also ran the 
 southern and western line of township 78, range 19. The correction line was 
 laid by J. E. Whitcher to the northwest corner of township 78, range 19, and 
 was afterwards prolonged westward by Isaac X. Higbee. The tow^nship and 
 range lines south of the correction line, and east of the reservation, were run 
 bv William A. Burt of ^Michigan, son of the inventor of Burt's solar compass. 
 Both Lyon and Burt were employed for several years in the surveys of Iowa. 
 Township 78, range 21, was bounded by John Ball, and the lines of the re- 
 maining townships in range 21 were laid by Isaac N. Higbee. Other parts 
 of the survev in Jasper county were surveyed out by ^lessrs John D. Evans, 
 Samuel Whitmore. Samuel Jacobs. James (jrant and possibly one other 
 surveyor. 
 
 DATES OF TOWNSHIP ORGANIZATIONS. 
 
 These dates refer to original formation of the several townships of 
 Jasper county, as kmiw n today, and not to certain changes in their territory 
 and lines : 
 
 Buena Vista township was organized in February, 1857. 
 
 Clear Creek township was organized in the summer of 1849.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 53 
 
 Elk Creek township was organized in ]\Iay. 1846, one of the original 
 townships. 
 
 Fairview township was organized in May, 1846, one of the original 
 townships. 
 
 Des Moines township was organized in 'Sla.y, 1846. one of the original 
 townships. 
 
 Hickory Grove township was organized in 1864, among the last. 
 
 Independence township was organized in March, 1858. 
 
 Kellogg township was organized in 1868. 
 
 Lynn Grove township was organized in 1846, one of the first sub- 
 divisions. 
 
 Mariposa township was organized in February, 1857. 
 
 Mound Prairie township was organized in February, 1857. 
 
 ]\Ialaka township was organized in February, 1857. 
 
 Xewton township was organized in August, 1851. 
 
 Palo Alto township was organized in February, 1857. 
 
 Poweshiek township was organized in 1847. 
 
 Rock Creek township was organized September 4, 1854. 
 
 Richland township was organized in i860. 
 
 Washington township was organized in 1861.
 
 CHAPTER V. 
 
 EARLY SETTLEMENT OF THE COUNTY. 
 
 To ha\e been a pioneer in Jasper county, Iowa, while the fair and 
 fertile domain was yet under the territorial government was indeed an 
 honor to those who braved the frontier hardships, away back in the early 
 forties, when the Indian was still in part possession of this section of the 
 "vast, illimitable and ever-changing West." The sons and daughters of 
 these early settlers may well refer to their ancestry with a just pride, for 
 it was they who set the first stakes to a civilization now far surpassing their 
 most sanguine dreams. Then, too, many of the pioneer band and their off- 
 spring went forth in 1861 in defense of the flag of the Union and laid down 
 life on a Southern battlefield, or perchance returned maimed for life. In- 
 deed the pioneer band who first invaded the wilds of Jasper county were men 
 and women of the truest and most sterling type of manhood and woman- 
 hood. 
 
 It was on April 23, 1843, ^ week prior to the legal time set for wdiite 
 men to set their claim stakes in the "New Purchase" in Iowa, that four 
 daring, rugged characters, accompanied by three others, left their families 
 in Jefferson county, Iowa territory, in search of lands on which to build 
 for themselves new homes. These men were Adam M. Tool, William Hisfh- 
 land, John Frost and John Vance. Of the three men who accompanied 
 those just named, this narrative will not undertake to trace further than 
 when they parted from the four who are the subjects of this item in the 
 early settlement chapter now being prepared by the compiler of this work. 
 
 These four brave-hearted pioneers carried ten days' rations, and blankets 
 on which to sleep at night time, and traveled a distance of eight v miles up 
 the Skunk river. On the night of the 28th of April, 1843, these weary 
 travelers and homeseekers camped for the night at a point where now 
 stands the town of Monroe. They prepared their evening meal, rolled up 
 in their blankets and slept peacefully in that solitude as yet unbroken by 
 the work of the white race. The next day they passed on south to the 
 trading post of Dick Parker, at the red rocks of the Des Moines, then the 
 only house west of Jefferson county. Here they chanced to meet that now- 
 historic steamboat, "'lone," which was slowly making its way up the Des
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 55 
 
 Moines river, having on board a company of infantry, commanded by 
 Captain Allen, who was then building a barracks at the Raccoon forks 
 (present Des ]^Ioines City). The land seekers were headed for a "squat- 
 ter's" place whose name was ]\Iosier, in the Narrows near where Oskaloosa 
 now stands, but as if by the strange hand of fate, or Providence, they were 
 caught in a drenching, cold spring rain. They walked briskly along the 
 Indian trail till late at eventide, finally reaching their objective point, badly 
 jaded by exposure. 
 
 In the morning of the following day Adam M. Tool was especially dis- 
 gusted with his experience and talked of returning to Jefferson county and 
 there purchasing a claim of another. They had been informed (possibly 
 by the' trader Parker) that the Xew Purchase would not be ready for set- 
 tlement for at least twenty years yet. The quartette of homeseekers all 
 seemed to have a bad case of the '"blues." Highland was not satisfied, 
 but believed that, on the whole, they could not do better than retrace their 
 steps and stake out claims up the river. Finally a council determined that 
 they should go back to the point of timber in which they had camped on 
 the night of the 27th. Frost and A'^ance, the other two, being footsore and 
 generally fatigued, thought it best for them to remain at the "Narrows" 
 until the wagon loaded with provisions which was to intercept their wan- 
 derings came in sight, when they would have more provisions and axes 
 and other implements with which to make some needed improvements. Hence 
 it was that Tool and Highland sallied forth and made their way to the 
 Skunk Bottoms, arriving at their former camping spot on the night of the 
 30th of April. 1843. The next day was hailed with great delight, as that 
 was the day fixed by the government on which claims might legally be 
 staked out. They did not have the opposition met with in later years in 
 Oklahoma land lottery days, but only had to select such choice lands as 
 their judgment led them to believe were most desirable to them. 
 
 They went forth at break of day, with tomahawks in hand, and be- 
 gan the work of blazing and staking off their claims. Highland blazing and 
 Tool doing the staking act. That day they staked out two claims and the 
 day following staked the other two out. 
 
 On the morning of the fourth day of their residence in the goodly 
 location, which vicinity later became known as Tool's Point, they ate the 
 last of their "grub." but were soon delighted to see the promised supply 
 wagon. ^^ ith a fresh supply, accompanied by their partners. \'ance and 
 Frost, as well as the drivers. James A. Tool, son of the pioneer, and the 
 son-in-law, ^^'ashington Fleenor. The son and son-in-law soon staked out
 
 r5 JASTKR COrXTV. IOWA. 
 
 a claim, each for himself, adjoining- the other four already referred to. This 
 land was about one-half timber and one half ])rairie. and each claim was 
 supposed to contain three hundred and twenty acres, the prairie land being 
 situated along the south side of the Skunk river. 
 
 These men were all true as steel and not possessed of selfishness or 
 graft, but agreed that, as long as the men Tool and Highland had been the 
 real pioneers in staking out claims there they should have the first 
 choice of claims. Hence it was that the older Tool took the claim farther 
 to the west, at the head or point of the grove, while Highland took the third 
 one toward the east. Then Frost and \'ance drew cuts to decide their choice. 
 A'ance's lot fell between Tool and Highland. 
 
 The law. as well as their own needs and that of their families, which 
 were soon expected on, demanded that within thirty days they each pro- 
 vide themselves with cabins on their several claims. The six men above 
 named set to work and succeeded in building up as far as the plates, one 
 house a day. Highland's was the first built and consequently was the 
 first erected in jasper county by white men. After having completed their 
 cabins these men went back to Jefferson county to meet their families and 
 tell them of the wonderful country they had concluded to settle in. A 
 happv meeting it must have been, too! 
 
 MRS. WILLIAM HIGHLAND FIRST WOMAN. 
 
 As Mr. Highland at once packed up and moved his family here, ]\Irs. 
 Highland was undoubtedly the first white woman to invade the wilds of 
 what is now Jasper county, but which county had not yet been organized. 
 This, the first family to be "at home" in the county, dated its coming in 
 May. 1843. Vast the change in these later eventful decades in Iowa's 
 history I 
 
 As the township histories contain much of the early settlement and 
 other matter concerning the various sections of the county, the only further 
 attempt in this chapter to give the comings and goings of the first men and 
 women who settled the county, will be brief sketches of a few of the first 
 men whf) located in the month of April and May, 1843. closing the chapter 
 with a list of the j>ersons who are found on the tax list of 1847, four years 
 after the settlement was made at Tool's Point. 
 
 Willis Green visited this county in 1845, 'Accompanying James Pear- 
 son. Green located a claim while here, but did not succeed in selling his 
 former claim in Mahaska count v, so the ckiim here was taken l)v Da\'i(l
 
 OLDEST HOUSE IN JASPER COUNTY
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 57 
 
 Edimindson. Green finally settled in 1847 and for two years thereafter 
 spent most of his time in hunting bees in :\[arshall and Hardin counties. 
 Joab Bennett was usually his comrade on these bee hunts. Bennett was a 
 genuine frontiersman and it is said of him that he could talk the Indian 
 dialect fluently. Indians frequently visited Newton to sell or trade ponies, 
 and while other settlers were getting ready to buy a choice animal, expect- 
 ing to pay ten or fifteen dollars, Bennett would walk up to the vender and, 
 after a moment's talk, would walk off with the bridle on his arm, having 
 paid two or three dollars for the animal. 
 
 Seven claims were made in 1843, but only three can now be definitelv 
 fixed as having been made in 1844. one having been that of Manlv Gifford. 
 in section 36, township 78, range 20. This man remained many years and 
 made a prominent and useful citizen. Later in life he moved to Keokuk 
 county. John Campbell came to Jasper county in 1844. but whether he 
 claimed land that season is not certain to the writer. 
 
 The beginning of a settlement was made in the southeast portion of 
 the county during the summer of 1844, one claim being taken by "Tandy" 
 Mayfield, and another by Wesley Stalling, in what is now styled Lynn 
 Grove. The families of these men probably did not arrive until the spring 
 or summer of 1845. 
 
 '"tool's taverx." 
 
 Adam Tool's family arrived at his cabin September 2, 1843, ^^d, 
 among the weeds and pea vines and tall grass, they halted their teams. 
 built a fire by a huge dry log, and there cooked and ate their first supper 
 in Jasper county, happy in the thought that they were on their own land 
 and free to car\e out a home worth the having. The cabin being too 
 small to accommodate the whole family of boys and girls and parents, the 
 sons slept in their covered wagon for a while. Soon a shed was built and 
 then more room was had for all hands in the "house.'' However, very soon 
 the strong sons and rugged father, with ax in hands, went forth to the 
 forest, from which they felled trees and then with a broad-ax hewed out 
 and built a commodious log house of good proportions. Their nearest saw 
 mill Avas seventy-five miles away, so lumber was not to be counted on. but 
 all was worked out by hard hewing and chopping. It is the oldest house 
 in the town of ^lonroe and stood many years as a landmark of those 
 days in 1843 "^^hen it was built.
 
 58 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 As it turned out. it came to be a pioneer tavern, for lono- before it was 
 ready for real occupancy a weary traveler wanted lodging- there, and as 
 the government had set about establishing a post at Fort Des Moines, this 
 being the nearest house to the trail from that point to Oskaloosa, it be- 
 came a stopping place for many of the men in government employ as well 
 as strangers looking up locations for homes for themselves. Hence Mr. 
 and Mrs. Tool had to become real landlord and landlady, a thing which 
 they were quite well adapted to, and they had a large patronage for a 
 time. 
 
 Pioneer Adam Tool, who passed from earthly scenes in the seventies, 
 was born in Augusta county. Virginia, July 31, 1794. His father was a 
 teamster and young Tool had to do his share at helping cultivate the soil 
 in order that the large family might subsist. He commenced farming on 
 his own account, with one horse, when but sixteen years old. He was 
 drafted into the militar\- service at the age of nineteen years. He married 
 Susan H. Stinson in 181 7 and settled down for the struggle of what proved 
 an eventful but prosperous career. In 1836 they moved to Coles countv, 
 Illinois, where land was claimed, but on account of the fever and ague 
 there, he sold and went toJefTerson county, low^a territory, where he was 
 reduced in property by reason of sickness, having lost his eldest daughter, 
 and other misfortunes overtook him. It was in the fall of 1841 when he 
 arrived in Iowa. After this his history is known to the reader, if he has 
 read the fore part of this chapter. 
 
 William Highlands was born in Pennsylvania in 1803; removed to 
 Ohio when a young man, and married Ellen Slaine. In 1837 he removed 
 to Illinois and there became acquainted with Adam Tool. In September, 
 1842, he located in Jefiferson county, Iowa, to await the opening of lands 
 in the "'New Purchase." He reared a large family, all of whom have long 
 since removed from Jasper county to other parts of this (country, one 
 daughter marrying James Fudge and moving to Poweshiek county. 
 
 Had the four men who went up the Skunk on a land-hunting expedi- 
 tion in the month of April. 1843, shot a deer they were after for food 
 purposes, their supply then being about exhausted, the chances arc that they 
 would never have become first settlers in Jasper countv, but such are the 
 strange accidents in all stages of life. 
 
 John B. Frost was a native of Virginia, settled in Fairview township 
 in 1843. married Miss McCollum. In 1847 he sold his claim to another 
 and moved on farther toward the setting sun.
 
 JASl'Kk COUNTY, IOWA, 59 
 
 John \^ance, the other named among the four who first located here, 
 was born in Washington county, A'irginia; was a bachelor; made his claim 
 and sold to ^lanly (iifford in 1845 o^' 1846, himself removing to Mahaska 
 county, Iowa. 
 
 Perhaps no better method is now obtainable to give the names of the 
 persons who made up the population of Jasper county four years after 
 the coming of the four men already narrated about, than to copy the list 
 as shown in the assessment roll for 1847, which in substance is as follows, 
 leaving out the amounts which each were assessed for : 
 
 Jacob Bennett, Jesse Rickman, Peter ■Miller, Katherine Good, John 
 H. Franklin, James Edgar, John Campbell, Ezekiel Shipley, M. S. Logs- 
 don, C. C. Thorp, William Chenoweth, Willis Green, James Fry, Henry 
 Hammer, Sr., David Edmundson, ^^'illiam Edmundson, Sylvester Tiffany, 
 Martin Adkins, * Elbert Evans, John B. Hammack, John Ship, John Flem- 
 ing, Nathan Brown, Wesley Brown, Benjamin Browse, ^ladison Tice, 
 Amanda Tice, James D. Norris. Joel B. Worth, Peter Browse, Joseph Hill, 
 Stephen B. Shelladay, ]\Iaiw D. Shelladay, Jacob Pudge, John Davis, Mary- 
 Baldwin, John Carr, Adam Tool, Manly Gifford, Daniel ]\Iosier, Uriah 
 Robbins, Jeremiah Kintz, John Wyatt, John Thorp, Mar}^ Adamson, John 
 Rodgers, Cyrus Insley, Joseph Slaughter, i\ndrew Insley, Samuel Sewell, 
 James Guthrie, William C. Harpe, William P. Norris, Robert C. Brown, 
 Andre J. Brown, Stephen Reffel, John A. Mikel, Jacob Bruner, William 
 Hays, Sarah Wyatt, Abner Ray, Alex. McCully, Asher Prunty, Elias 
 Prunty, Thomas Tuttle, Alex. Black, Jacob Booher, John Q. Deakin, Henr>' 
 Shewer, Daniel W. Shewer, Samuel H. Shewer, George Anderson, A. An- 
 derson, John R. Sparks, Samuel Mor, Hezekiah Northsent, Robert Patter- 
 son, Jesse Hammer, Wesley Stallings, E. N. Parks, William Turner, 
 Elijah Friend, David Campbell, Mercy Shoemake, Sabin Stanwood, J. W. 
 Swan, Henry Sweet, Isaac Myers, A. Davis, Atwell Holmes, William 
 Smith, Ira Hammer, Evan Adamson, Abraham Adamson, Sims Richman, 
 Ballinger Aydelotte, A. T. Prouty, Washington Logsdon, Nathan Williams, 
 R. B. Dawson, William B. Campbell, Jacob Herring. Samuel McDaniel, 
 Joseph Cooper, A. J. Smith, William E. Alexander, William Peterman, 
 John Sherman, John Bisbee, Joseph Hiner, Silas Sawyer, ^^'illiam Welch, 
 A. B. Miller, George K'ryser, Clark Kitchen, Evan Jones, Nathan McCon- 
 nell, W'illiam Johnson. Arnold Shepherd, David Shepherd, Hartwell Hays, 
 William Highland, John Reed, Ellison R. Wright, Newton Wright, John 
 C. Baldwin est., Archibald IVIcCullon. Washington Fleenor. Daniel Spaw, 
 O. Patterson. lames A. Pool. George Binkley, Lann Maradtt. John Snoas,
 
 6o JASPER COrXTV. TOWA. 
 
 John J. Mudi^^ett. James Blake. 1'. M. Sparks. M. T. .Mather. WilHam T. 
 Ma>iiekl. J. M. Trease. \\'alter rnrncr. Jabez Starr. John E. Copp, David 
 E. Cooper. William J. Biiffington. Thomas Mitchell. Curtis Dooley, William 
 Logsdon. Wilberger Logsdon. Calvin Wolf. Zimri Hinshaw, David Hin- 
 shaw, Elijah H. Barton, Lewis Adamson, Alvin Adkins, Thomas Pearson, 
 Matthew Campl>ell. William J. Asher. Joseph Davidson, Joseph Logsdon, 
 Maria Proiity. Thomas J. Adamson. Seth Hammer, Henry Ham- 
 mer. Rachel Hammer. J^Jisha Hammer. G. W. Halley James 
 Elliott, Mitchell Robertson. William C. Smith. Blakely Brush, J. 
 M. Ferguson. James Asher. Moses Hames. Henry Hammer, Jr., A. S. Cox, 
 William P. Cox. Joshua Kent. John AMI son. Jesse Amos, Moses Lacy, 
 Shelby \\Aatt. Simon Ballard. I'hilip Ballard. John Duke, James Miller, 
 Cavender Gear, Shelton Gear, John Ballarrd, Thomas Garden, Isaac Asher, 
 William Ballard. E. B. Bush. Washington Asher. Lemuel* Perrin. James 
 Richman, David La Follett, Joseph Kintz, William B. Meacham. James 
 Finwick. George Howell. Eleanor Maggert. David A. Maggert. Josiah 
 Cox. E. R. Wyatt est.. Richard Barker. A. J. Berry. A. A. Cummings, 
 Daniel Cox. Evan Henshaw. Lewis Herring, John Moss, Joseph Dodd, 
 David McKinney. William D. Allen, Henry Adamson, Benjamin Adamson, 
 George Dooley. Silas Dooley. Thomas Rees, William M. Springer, Joseph 
 Jones, Albert Ship, William Thomson. L-a Adamson, Samuel K. Parker, 
 Edwin Terril. Abraham Peer, Hart Spring. William Howell, William 
 Rickey, John C. K^artchmer, Charles A. Dolson, Joseph Stobaugh, Samuel 
 Morrow, Milton Edwards, Joseph Hewitt, Joel B. Worth, Charles Fry. 
 
 THE HOLLANDERS IN JASPER COUNTY. 
 
 As a result of the religious persecution in Holland in 1835. as between 
 the government and the Reformed church (one class of its members), a 
 colony was formed under the leadership of Rev. Plenrv P. Scholte, who 
 in 1846 landed with four boatloads of these people in Baltimore. They 
 went to Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, by canal boats and on down the Ohio and 
 finally landed in St. Louis, where they recruited and finally wended 
 their way to Marion county, Iowa, the objective point had in 
 view by their leader. They settled up many of the northern townships 
 in Marion county, Iowa, and it is their sons and daughters who today are 
 known as the "Hollanders" of the southern townships of Jasper county, 
 among whom are many of the best, truest citizens within the county, being 
 industrious, religious, temperate and in all ways fit subjects of their adopted 
 countrv.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 6l 
 
 THE PIONEERS. 
 
 The following gem of a poem was read by its author, the editor of 
 the Nezvton Herald, in 1904, at the Louisana Purchase Exposition, at St. 
 Louis, on the Fourth of July occasion that year. It w^as in the Iowa build- 
 ing, before an intelligent Iowa audience, and is very befitting in this con- 
 nection, hence will be given, both as a setting to the chapter now at hand, as 
 well as to show the literary talent of one of Jasper county's young authors 
 and publishers at that date, George F. Rinehart: 
 
 We love best the man who dares to do — 
 
 The moral hero, stalwart through and through, 
 
 W'ho treads the untried path, evades the rut; 
 
 Who braves the virgin forest, builds a hut; 
 
 Removes the tares encumbering the soil, 
 
 And founds an empire based on thought and toil. 
 
 Within his veins the blood of humble birth. 
 His purpose .stsible :is the roek-bound earth. 
 His mind expansive and his pulsing brain 
 Resolving problems not of selfish gain — 
 This man will never servile bend the knee — 
 He feels the uplift of the century. 
 
 Leviathans for him forsake the main, 
 
 And monsters leave the forest and the plain; 
 
 The future holds no terror for his soul; 
 
 No avarice collects its robber toll; 
 
 No social caste, no party creed nor clan, 
 
 To make him more a slave and less a man. 
 
 . With wants but few, no pioneer will crave 
 A crown in life nor plaudits at his grave; 
 He leaves behind the slavery of style, 
 The myrmidons of pride, deceit and guile; 
 Enlisting with the cohorts of the free. 
 The motto on his shield is "'Liberty." 
 
 What cares he for the monarch's jeweled crown? 
 For prince or plutocrat, for fame's renown; 
 The turmoil and the strife of endless greed. 
 When honest toil supplies each simple need: 
 He seeks not glory, yet the future years 
 Weave bri.ditest laurels f(ir the pioneers. 
 
 Thus we have met in this fair spot today, 
 
 To honor those, as well we may, 
 
 Who. tliinkin;u' deep, perceived (ind's mighty pl;in. 
 
 And carved the creed of liberty for man; 
 
 W^ho made Bunker Hill a spot divine, 
 
 And built at Valley Forge a nation's shrine. 
 
 For emblems of that liberty so wide, 
 
 So vast that with eternity it vied, 
 
 They snatched the blue of heavens for the scroll, 
 
 And sprinkled it with stars to make the goal, 
 
 Where we might, far beyond the crest and crag, 
 
 In liberty and justice plant the flag.
 
 ()2 lASI'KU COLXTV, IOWA. 
 
 We venerate its patriotic pride. 
 The sacied cause for which the martyrs died; 
 And feeling thus, you will with me agree 
 That much of what we are, what we may be, 
 We owe to those who wrought for future years. 
 And earned my toast, "God Bless the Pioneers.' 
 
 WILD GA.ME. 
 
 Pioneer lames A. Tool .states that wild i^ame was not very plcntiftil 
 when the tirst settlers arrived. l)tit that within a .short time deer and wild 
 turkey beeame abundant. The wolf had always been in evidence. In the 
 winter of 1848-9 the snow was very deep and it was so light that the tur- 
 keys could not fly to their roosts. One morning If ugh Patterson, living 
 near by. went into Tool's orchard and rode down and picked up as many 
 turkeys as he could carry away with him. May i, 1849, he states that he 
 stood on the Skunk river bluffs, on what is the southeast corner of the 
 Silas Nolan farm, and from that view-point counted forty-one deer. They 
 were supposed to l)e migrating, for the like had never been seen before nor 
 since that date. 
 
 When the first settlers came here they found but few^ elk. buft'alo or 
 antelope, though evidences of large numbers of receding buffalos was found 
 in the trail they left visible going to and from springs of water and streams 
 where the noble animals used to quench their thirst. There were but few^ 
 panthers and less bear, owing to the thinness of the bodies of timber, af- 
 fording them but scanty protection from cold w intry blasts. Wild cats and 
 black wolves infested the groves, while troops of coyotes roamed at w ill on 
 the broad prairies, but these animals were not dangerous, except that fre- 
 (juentlx- they feasted on the pigs and lambs owned by the pioneers, who could 
 not for did n<it) at all times house their domestic animals. 
 
 I'erhaps the greatest, most exciting, wolf hunting in Jasper countv oc- 
 curred in the winter of 1846-7. The snow was very deep that season, aver- 
 aging, it is said upon good authority, thirty-three inches on the level. 
 Washington Fleenor was the crack wolf hunter of those days.. There were 
 a few- greyhounds owned by the pioneers, two of wliich were indeed noble 
 animals. When the snow was not too deep, these dogs could easily run 
 down a wolf and handle him with skill and success, but during the winter 
 just mentioned the dogs would soon tire of the chase. On one occasion 
 l'"leenor started out on horseback, carrying only a stout club, and was followed 
 by tile dogs. The horse, though he made hard work of it, could outrun 
 the wolves, and during that day Fleenor killed seven wolves with his club.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 63 
 
 It goes without saying that the poor horse he rode was only too glad to 
 reach his stall at night-time. 
 
 Pioneer Sparks stated in one of his reminiscences that a wolf succeeded 
 in getting at a calf he owned and made a good meal off of it, yet the calf 
 recovered, he being bitten and chewed about his hind quarters. Later, the 
 calf was sold to an emigrant going to Oregon and was driven along the 
 trail toward the setting sun. 
 
 Owing- to the fact that the Indians had been crowded into a small terri- 
 tory in Jasper county, there were not many deer left in this section of Iowa. 
 The treaties of 1832 and 1842 had caused the hunting ground of the In- 
 dians to be circumscribed to a small domain. But by about 18^0 more deer 
 were to be seen in these parts than before." As late as 1857-8 venison was 
 by no means a rarity in Jasper county. An early settler named ]Mosier, in 
 the winter of 1850. came upon two fine bucks on the Skunk bottom lands. 
 They had been engaged in a fight and had become entangled by their great 
 shar]) interlocking horns and could not free themselves in time to make good 
 their escape, hence both were secured by Mr. ]\Iosier. 
 
 In 1852, possibly a year later, William Highland (now so well known 
 to the reader as the first man with his family to locate in Jasper county) 
 caught a fawn between his farm and the Skunk river, which he took home 
 and confined in a lot. This drew many bucks around the house, almost 
 daily, and sometimes they would approach within a few rods of the dwelling. 
 
 The majoritv of the bee trees had been discovered and utilized by a 
 few enterprising men long before the actual settlement had been made. 
 There were some still found on Elk creek. The expert bee-hunter would 
 hang about the timber-lands until he saw a l^ee and then watch him till he 
 made his flight for his home tree and in that manner the bee tree could be 
 easily located. Many hundreds of pounds of delicious honey were taken 
 from some of these trees. Another mode employed to locate the bee trees 
 was to place a small amount of honey in a tin box, then several bees were 
 captured alive and placed in the box, and when they had "filled up." one 
 was released and the hunter Avould follow the bee in its ''bee-line" to the 
 tree where its store was kept. 
 
 Of snakes, it should be said that rattlesnakes were never very numerous 
 in Jasper county, as compared to other sections of the West. It is stated that 
 Calvin WoU. while walking on the open prairie, barefooted, encountered a 
 massasauga. w hich he stamped to death with, his heels, a very imprudent, rash 
 deed. too. In the southern part of Jasper county, however, the reptiles were 
 more ntmierous. At a ledge of rocks on the Des Aloines river the rattle-
 
 54 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 snakes hibernated during the winter, and for miles around their den they 
 were Hable to be encountered in the summer months. About 1849 ^ party 
 visited the ledge, on a warm spring day, and managed to kill over three hun- 
 dred and would have killed many more only for the sickening smell caused 
 by the act, which turned their stomachs. 
 
 THE FIRST BAD CHARACTERS IN THIS COUNTY. 
 
 The two Caslner boys, the hfth persons to come in for the supposed pur- 
 pose of taking up lands, proxed anything but good citizens. While Adam 
 Tool, the first settler, was down in Jefferson county with his family, after 
 having made his improvements, preparatory to bringing the family here, 
 Benjamin and Jonas Castner came in from Missouri. Finding Mr. Tool's 
 cabin unoccupied, they at once moved into it. \\'hen the good pioneer re- 
 turned, rather than have trouble, he gave the boys fifteen dollars to vacate. 
 They then claimed lands near by and built themselves a cabin. It was not 
 long before it was noticed that Jonas was making frequent visits to his old 
 home in Missouri to see his father, and it was also observed that whenever 
 he went south that some of the friendly Indians lost several ponies, as they 
 would come along and inquiry was made by them for stray ponies. 
 
 These Castners committed all kinds of depredations, at one time robbing 
 a poor Indian's tent during the absence of the squaw, of all the blankets, 
 buffalo robes, camp kettles, and in fact everything that was worth carrying. 
 That night when the Indian returned and discovered his loss, he started for 
 Castner with a gun and butcher knife. Arriving at Frost's the latter per- 
 suaded him to stay all night, fearing he might get killed if he went there in 
 the night alone. The following morning he went to Castner's and found 
 his goods, but while there parleying about them, one of the Ijoys came run- 
 ning in. saving to the Indian. "'I'hcre is a turkey out here: let me take your 
 gun."' which the Indian did; but the young man forgot to return and while 
 the Indian was in search of the young man to get his gun the goods disap- 
 peared and he never saw them afterwards. During the trouble that fol- 
 lowed the Indian got his hand shot and claimed that it was done by Jonas 
 Castner. In the fall of 1845 Jonas finally got his just deserts at the hands 
 of a mob near old Fort Des Moines. It was government pay day at the fort 
 and when Jonas was discovered hanging around, a party painted like Indians, 
 but probably all whites, seized Jonas and ran him to the woods and gave 
 him an unmerciful flogging. There was no trial and no f|uestions asked. 
 Thev said his curses were frightful. That fall the family went to Mis-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 65 
 
 soiiri, but afterwards returned to Iowa, bringing a large amount of stock 
 with them, which mostly died during the following winter. Typhoid fever 
 soon broke out in the family; the old man, his eldest son, Henry, and sev- 
 eral younger ones died. The balance of the family scattered, some going in 
 1862 across the plains. The Castners were Mrginians bv birth and several 
 of their near relatixes had ser\'ed time in the penitentiarv of that state. 
 
 FIRST EVENTS IN JASPER COUNTY. 
 
 J 
 
 There always lingers alx)ut the first happenings of the settlement of 
 every new country much of interest, and here follows an account of some 
 of the more important events in the settlement of Jasper county, as vouched 
 for by James A. Tool, who dates back to the very first pioneer band of set- 
 tlers, hence is not likely to have been mistaken in his statements. 
 
 The first white child born in what is now Fairview township, as well 
 as in Jasper county, was a son. Robert, born in 1843 to \\^illiam and Ellen 
 Highlands. His mother was the first white woman to settle within Fair- 
 view township. 
 
 The first wedding took place at the house of Adam Tool in February, 
 1845. The parties concerned were William Hill, a young officer in a com- 
 pany of dragoons then stationed at Fort Des ]\Ioines, and Susan A. Tool. 
 Rev. Pardoe, a chaplain in the army, officiated. 
 
 The first election was held in April, 1844, ^"f^ the place held was at 
 Adam Tool's. This was a township election. 
 
 The first death occurred at Warren's Grove. Tn the fall of 1844 or 
 spring of 1845 a family settled there consisting of a man, wife and one 
 child, and the wife's brother. In the summer the brother died without 
 medical attendance or anyone knowing of his illness until a few hours be- 
 fore his death. John Brown and James A. Tool cleared off the hazel brush 
 patch and dug a grave, after which they sat up with the corpse all night. 
 The lumber used for making the rude coffin was hewed from a plank taken 
 from the loft floor of Adam Tool's house. He was lowered into his last 
 earthlv resting place by the tender hands of entire strangers. His name is 
 not now recalled and no tombstone marks his resting place, but his grave is 
 within the corporation of Monroe, on land later owned by ]^Trs. Huddleston. 
 That same autumn two others died and were buried in the same locality. 
 
 The first school house in the county was one standing near \\'illiam 
 Highlands, on land later owned by Lucy Whitted. It was built of round 
 logs, had eight-bv-ten window lights, hewed slabs for floors, seats of the 
 
 (5)
 
 66 JASl'EK COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 same stuff, with holes bored in and pins for legs. The first teacher was E. 
 R. Wright. Church services were also held in this building. 
 
 The first mill of any kind in Jasper county was the saw mill constructed 
 by A. T. Sparks in the fall of 1846, on the North Skunk river, in Lynn 
 Grove. By harvest time, 1848, he had added machinery by which a fair 
 grade of flour was produced. In fact it was no make-shift affair, but a good 
 flouring mill for those days. 
 
 The earlv settlers here had no means by which wheat could be threshed, 
 save by treading it out with cattle or horses. The bundles of grain were 
 placed with their heads inward in a circle on the ground. After being 
 trampled for a time, the straw was stirred and the process continued, the 
 horse or team going round and round, fastened to a center pole. This was 
 done when the flail was not used instead. Then came the slow process of 
 separating the chaff' from the wheat. This was either done by waving a 
 sheet up and down to fan out the chaff as the grain was dropped before it, 
 or by taking advantage of the strong autumn winds, often brisk enough to 
 blow off the chaff rapidly, and, by frequently stirring the grain, a consid- 
 erable quantity could be cleaned in a day. Threshing machines and fanning 
 mills had been just recently introduced in the Eastern states, but the people 
 here in Iowa had not yet got forehanded enough to purchase other than the 
 necessary plows and hoes. 
 
 Here it may be stated that it is believed the first threshing machine ever 
 operated in Jasper county was the one owned by Isaac Cooper, of Polk 
 county, who had a few "jobs" in the southern portion of this county in 
 1848. This was an old "chaff-piler." This had no separator attachment 
 and the grain fell inclosed in the chaff, at the mouth of the cylinder, while 
 the straw was blown by the current created by the motion of the cylinder a 
 little beyond the grain, whence it w^as removed by rakes and forks. There 
 are but few persons remaining in the country now who saw or used one of 
 these early-day machines. The contrast between these and the fine power 
 threshers of today, wnth separator, self-measurer, self-stackers and self- 
 feeders and band cutter attachment, some of which such machines have been 
 invented and are now extensively manufactured in Newton, is indeed great. 
 None desire to go back to those days of flail and treading out wheat, but. 
 as we praise modern improvements, we should revere the memorv of our 
 forefathers who worked on in faithfulness until these good days of the 
 twentieth century were in sight. 
 
 As to plows, it should here be stated that prior to 1846 in Jasper county, 
 both breaking and stirring plows were made bv home Ijlacksmiths. The
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 6/ 
 
 cutter-bar in the one and the land-side in the other, with the points, were 
 made of steel and the mold-board of wood. In 1846 a Mr. Sperry, of Jef- 
 ferson county, Iowa, commenced to make a fair mold-board plow. Cast 
 plows Nvere used some, but would not scour in our soil. The first harrow 
 "drags" used were home-made and had wooden teeth. Many had the har- 
 row made in the shape of a letter A. 
 
 The first election in the territory of Jasper county (then in Marion) 
 was held in April, 1844, Mahaska county having been organized in the Feb- 
 ruary prior to that date, and its territory included that of present Marion 
 county for election purposes, and by reason of this, the little settlement in 
 Jasper county, as now understood, was allowed to \ote at the house of Adam 
 Tool, at Tool's Point. William Hig'hland was elected justice of the peace 
 and township clerk ; \\'ashington Fleenor as constable, and Adam Tool as 
 one of the trustees. 
 
 FIRST PORTABLE SAW MILL. 
 
 Perhaps the first portable saw mill ever invented was the product of 
 pioneer John Cary, of Jasper county, who was one of the founders of old 
 Wittemberg College, of Newton township. He came to the county in 1853 
 and after the college had been decided upon, there was the obstacle of lum- 
 ber not being at hand. Mr. Cary returned to Ohio, his old home, and tried 
 at various places there and in Pittsburg to get some firm to construct him a 
 portable saw mill, but failed, for they said it could not be successfully ac- 
 complished. He finally secured a firm at Norwalk, Ohio, who followed his 
 plans and made him the first portable saw mill of which history seems to 
 have any definite knowledge. It was shipped on here to Jasper county and 
 set up. It worked finely and cut much of the lumber for the old college 
 buildings, as well as for many of the pioneer buildings in Newton and sur- 
 rounding country. Later the mill was shipped up the Des Moines river and 
 as late as 1880 was still being operated. Prior to this circular saws had been 
 operated by horse-power, or by stationary engines, but the Cary portable 
 saw mill created a revolution in the saw mill industry, east as well as west. 
 
 CLAIM PROTECTION SOCIETIES. 
 
 In the spring of 1846, a Claim Protection Society was formed by the 
 settlers of Lynn Grove. The meeting place was by a pile of logs in a clear- 
 ing on the farm of John A. Sparks. All the settlers in the vicinity attended.
 
 68 jASI'KK COU.NTV. low \ 
 
 Rules were adopted substantially the same as those found effectual in other 
 counties. and the clerk of the meetino- made a plat of the precinct on which 
 all the claims then made were noted, and also registered on a separate piece 
 of paper. When a newcomer put in his appearance he was advised to in- 
 spect the plat kept by the clerk in order that he might see what land was 
 already claimed. Any of the settlers would gladly spend a day. or more if 
 need be. with him in hunting up a desirable location. Settlers were very 
 sensitive about the movement of strangers who were not fully vouched for. 
 Jasper county, however, did not suffer as much from claim jumpers as many 
 of the counties further east, many of the professionals in that line having 
 been taught a lesson before coming here. 
 
 Pioneer Sparks related once at an old settlers' meeting how he was ac- 
 companied by a Mr. Coleman, the surveyor who located the territorial road 
 from Iowa Cit\ . and how they visited the cabin home of John J. Mudgett. 
 The surveyor had some thought of locating a mill-site, and their business 
 was mainly to see if one could be found there. Mr. Coleman asked Mr. 
 Mudgett to give him the number of the section he was living on. which the 
 latter did, and then proceeded to describe the spot the surveyor had just 
 mentioned. Coleman interrui)ted him by saying that he knew all about it, 
 which alarmed Mr. ^Mudgett. who at once became cold and reserved and had 
 no more information to offer. Sparks and his companion soon left. That 
 evening Sparks, who well understood Mudgett's change of manner, made 
 the surveyor promise to return the next day and visit the suspicious settler, 
 in order to remove the unfavorable impression he had created. This he 
 promised to do, and started off early the following day. He found Mudgett, 
 stayed to dinner, and returned, leaving his host fully convinced that he had 
 no covetous intentions regarding his claim. 
 
 What was known as the Independent Protection Society was formed 
 about 1846-7, having in view the protection of those occupying claims, but 
 without means of entering them at once. The scope of power assumed bv 
 the organizers of this society was to prevent persons from entering lands 
 claimed by others in good faith, and in case the land was actually taken from 
 the claimant to force settlement which should be satisfactory to the first 
 holder of such land. In many other parts of Iowa a state of war had some- 
 times arisen over these collisions of capital with the understood rights of 
 the first comers; but in Jasper county there were only two such cases, at 
 least of any considerable note. These occurred in 1848. The first case was 
 that of A. T. Prouty. who entered forty acres of land claimed hv James 
 Edgar, a blacksmith, which is now situated in the citv limits of Xewton.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 69 
 
 Prouty had the patent issued to his son, Joseph, who at the time was under 
 age. As soon as the transaction was noised abroad, a meeting of the settlers 
 Avas held, which delegated a committee to wait upon Prouty for the purpose 
 of demanding an explanation. This he thought best, everything considered, 
 to offer, and compromised with the stern-faced visitors by executing a bond 
 for a deed, and recjuiring Joseph to make a deed also, in favor of Edgar. 
 Joseph afterwards went to California and while there sued for the recovery 
 of the forty, but without success. 
 
 In the second case, Prouty had entered a claim already claimed by John 
 Moss, three to four miles east of Xewton. Hearing that the neighbors of 
 Mr. Moss had fixed a day for the purpose of visiting him again, he left 
 home. The neighbors went to his house as determined as before, but were 
 put off by Mrs. Prouty. who promised that her husband would pay Moss a 
 fair price for his claim. The sum was agreed upon and the trouble thus 
 settled. 
 
 Another statement is that the land was entered by Prouty's daughter, 
 Alaria, who made the settlement; but the girl did not entirely give up till 
 the crowd of "Protectionists'" had first appeared in front of the house and 
 as an evidence of what might happen to her, they applied a coat of tar and 
 feathers to the front gate post. 
 
 GOING TO MILL VALUE OF BREAD. 
 
 People today, who eat of the fancy brands of roller ])rocess flour, 
 little dream of what hardships their forefathers endured in striving to 
 secure bread on which to feed their families. Seventy-five to one hundred 
 miles from a mill, and that run by an uncertain water power and crude ma- 
 chinery (sometimes without a bolting mill attached), made milling very 
 uncertain in pioneer days in Jasper county. Tn the winter of 1843-4. it is 
 related of .\dam Tool. William Highlands and John Frost, that they made a 
 trip to Locust Grove mill, some twenty-five miles northwest, on the Skunk- 
 river, arriving there Saturday night. The miller would not run his mill on 
 Sunday, but agreed if a certain man could be hired to run his mill on Sun- 
 dav he might grind their grain for them. The man was secured and the 
 grain was ground, so tliev started home early Monday morning. It re- 
 quired ten days to make the trip. 
 
 In 1844 it became necessary for the same party to have milling done 
 again. Both corn and money were scarce articles. There was. however, a 
 man named Elder who had corn to sell at twenty-five cents a bushel. They
 
 JO JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 all secured the necessary amount except Mr. Highlands, who had no money 
 with which to pay for corn, and his acquaintance was too slight to ask credit 
 of Mr. Elder. But finally Adam Tool and John Vance went his security for 
 five bushels of corn. That was all the bread stuff the family had from that 
 date until the new corn crop was old enough to grate. This will show what 
 value was placed on early bread-stuft's. 
 
 In 1845 a mill was erected by Mr. Duncan on the Skunk river north of 
 Oskaloosa. 
 
 Another milling trip may suffice to show early milling trials. In the 
 winter of 1845-46 the snow was deep and drifted so that it was almost im- 
 possible to cross the prairie between Tool's Point and Fort Des Moines, 
 therefore all travel from and to Des Moines left the prairie road four miles 
 west of where Pella now stands, and followed the Des Moines river, which 
 gave a timber road, consequently there was no broken road from Tool's 
 Point, in the direction of the mill, nearer than eight miles. Bread-stuffs 
 were fast running out and must soon be provided for, so the neighborhood 
 turned out to break the roads, starting from John Frost's. They broke two 
 miles of the road the first day, and returned home for the night. The next 
 day by hard work they succeeded in getting clear through, and stopped for 
 the night at the house at the end of the snow-shoveled highway, rejoicing 
 in their success. 
 
 In the winter of 1846-7, James ^loss, with an ox team, went to Dun- 
 can's Mill, on the South Skunk river, near Oskaloosa. On his return trip 
 he was caught in a northwest blizzard. It became very cold, the team and 
 himself became bewildered and laid out all night. When he was finally 
 found he w as badly frozen and later both feet were amputated at the instep. 
 There were no surgeons or doctors here and it is said James Pierson per- 
 formed the surgical operation with a pocket knife and sa\ed the young 
 man's life. 
 
 In the winter of 1847-48 the snow was so very deep on the prairies 
 that it took all of the men, oxen and horses in the neighborhood two days to 
 break a road from Elk creek, near the Dan Gifford place, to the Lynn Grove 
 mill. The neighborhood having been out of all meal, flour or bacon for about 
 four or five weeks, had subsisted during that long period on pounded and 
 boiled corn, grated potatoes and wild meat. The same winter, Nathan 
 Hammer took two yoke of cattle, hitched to his wagon, and with a grist of 
 corn went over the same road. The snow was so deep he uncoupled his 
 wagon, put the hind wheels on the front axles, loaded on his grist and com- 
 pleted his journey to the mill, where he stayed all night. The next dav he
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. / I 
 
 Started for home, and was caught in a southwester which filled up the tracks 
 of the previous day. He became very cold and when he arrived home his 
 feet were badly frozen. They foolishly applied a poultice of roasted turnips, 
 and he was obliged to wear moccasins until spring.
 
 CHAPTER VI. 
 
 COUNTY GOVERNMENT. 
 
 The county, as well as the state and nation, must ha\e good men at the 
 head of its government in order that the best results be obtained. In the 
 main, Jasper count\' has been ruled by men of intelligence and honesty, there 
 have l)een exceptions to this rule. ho\ve\er. The large defaulters chron- 
 icled in many other parts of the commonwealth have not burdened the tax- 
 payers of this county to any great extent. In common with other counties, 
 it took some time to get used to the various governmental changes, as, for 
 instance, in the matters of a change from the county commissioner system 
 to that of the almost one-man power of the old county judge system adopted 
 by Iowa in 1851 ; then the change to the county supervisor system in 1861, 
 by which the county judge was almost entirely shorn of his authority, and 
 the county controlled by one man from each township within the countv, all 
 of whom formed the county board. Then, in 1868-9, the creation of a 
 county auditor system — the finest system yet conceived of for accurately 
 keeping the accounts of the county — by which the auditor becomes ex-officio 
 clerk of the board of supervisors. The various methods of levying and 
 collecting taxes, caring for the highways and the unfortunate poor in the 
 county — these and a score more of things which have gone through change 
 after change, have each and all required time and good judgment in order 
 to simplify and readjust the old and understand the new methods of carrv- 
 ing on a good and popular government Aside from, possibly, two items in 
 our county affairs, the ])resent system needs but little legislative revision to 
 Ik- in harmony with just and |)0])nlar laws for the affairs of running the 
 ninety-nine counties of Iowa — the matter of better ecjualization of taxes and 
 more business-like methods for building and maintaining public roads. Here 
 there is no doubt that a field is open for great improvement. J'roperly ex- 
 pended, tile vast sums of money collected for road and bridge purposes 
 could l>e made to make many times the number of good miles of roads that 
 now exist in everv countv in Iowa.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 73 
 
 ACTS OF THE COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 
 
 The wheels of county government were set in motion April 14, 1846, 
 with the following- as county officers in charge of affairs : Joab Bennett, 
 John R. Sparks and Manly Gifford. commissioners; John H. Franklin, clerk; 
 J. W. Swain, treasurer; David Edmundson. sheriff; Seth Hammer, recor- 
 der; AVashington I'leenor, probate judge. 
 
 The first order given by the commissioners was "That the eagle side of 
 a ten-cent piece or dime, of the coin of the United States, l)e and the same 
 is hereby adopted as the temporary seal of the board of county commis- 
 sioners of the county of Jasper, aforesaid, until a proper seal may 1)e pro- 
 vided for the use of said board."' 
 
 Now will follow the more important acts of the board, in aljout the 
 chronological order they transpired, as seen by the records of the county. 
 But before introducing the record on these matters, it will be best to state 
 that the name of tlie county seat was changed as follows ; 
 
 Chapter 22. of the acts of the First General Assembly of Iowa, ap- 
 pro^•ed February 3, 1847, reads as follows: "Section i. Be it enacted by 
 the General Assembly of the state of Iowa, that the name of the town of 
 'Newton City,' the county seat of Jasper county. l)e and the same is hereby 
 changed to that of 'Newton.' " 
 
 At the July meeting" of the county board, the first tax was made a 
 matter of record, it lieing a lev}' of four mills for county purposes and a half 
 mill for school purposes. At the same time the treasury was in receipt of 
 twenty-five dollars from Jacob Bennett, who paid his license to keep a 
 grocery in Newton. 
 
 The following day tlie following order was made: "That John R. 
 Sparks be appointed as agent for the county of Jasper, to act as such to 
 borrow money for and to enter at the land office at Iowa City the cjuarter 
 section of land that the town of Newton is located on, for the seat of 
 justice of Jasper county, who shall use all exertions to procure funds for 
 the same by paying an interest not to exceed twenty per cent." 
 
 October 4. 1847 — That day the court house erected by Evan Adamson 
 was accepted and an order allowing him the sum of one hundred seventy-five 
 dollars in "town money," which amounted to the eighty-seven dollars and 
 fiftv cents voted him in full for the construction of the first court house of 
 the county. 
 
 lanuarv 4, 1848 — The clerk was instructed to give notice that there 
 would be a sale of lots in Newton, commencing on the 31st day of January,
 
 74 
 
 TASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 1848. and that it would be continued from day to day until a sufficient sum 
 had been realized to defray the expenses of entering the land selected for 
 county seat purposes. 
 
 April 10, 1848— The board assumed control and jurisdiction over Mar- 
 shall county, by establishing a township in that territory of the name of 
 Minerva Creek, with a polling place at the house of George W. Halley. 
 
 At the meeting in July. 1848. the board levied a four-mill tax on the 
 dollar for county revenue, two and a half mills for state purposes, and a 
 half mill for school purposes. 
 
 Silas Dooley. sheriff and assessor, was allowed thirty dollars for as- 
 sessing the county, summoning jury, etc. 
 
 The board also ordered that the portion of the state road running 
 from Granville Hendry's, in :\Iarion county, to Fort Des Moines, which lay 
 in Jasper county, be declared open for travel. 
 
 At the October 2. 1848. meeting of the board, Joab Bennett was em- 
 ploved to ceil one of the small rooms in the court house, for which he was to 
 receive sixteen dollars in "town funds." 
 
 Nathan Williams and Thomas J. Adamson became the purchasers of 
 out-lots Nos. 18 and 19 in Newton, toward which they applied as part pay- 
 ment a stove valued at twelve dollars. 
 
 At this same meeting of the board difficulty was found relative to the 
 county borrowing money and the following orders were made: "That the 
 county be forthcoming to Nathan Williams and John R. Sparks for money 
 to enter the town quarter the seat of justice of Jasper county; whereas, the 
 said Williams and Sparks borrowed money of A. T. Prouty, and gave their 
 own individual notes for the same to enter said land, and the same, or a 
 large part of it, still remains unpaid, the county commissioners now assume 
 the payment of the same, and all interest and accruing interest and costs that 
 mav accrue on the same. 
 
 "Ordered, that John B. Hammock be appointed commissioner's agent 
 in the stead of Nathan Williams to borrow any moneys or use any reason- 
 able means of getting money on the faith of the county, to pay the expense 
 of entering the seat of justice of Jasper county." 
 
 The money had been borrowed on the expectation that an apportion- 
 ment of school money was to be made to the county, and it had been stipu- 
 lated by the makers of the note that they were allowed to borrow this till 
 the county would be able to replace the money in the school fund commis- 
 sioner's hands out of a subsequent tax levy. It was a sort of "accommoda- 
 tion"' paper which operated then as it has later, to fool the parties who gave 
 it worse than anybody else.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 75 
 
 At the July meeting in 1849, the county treasurer reported the receipts 
 for the last year to have been $266.42 in county orders and $312.50 in 
 "town orders." 
 
 The board then levied taxes as follows: County, four mills; state, two 
 and a half mills; school, one mill. 
 
 The total amount of taxable property in 1849 was $94,366. There were 
 one hundred and seventy-six persons liable to pay a poll tax. There were 
 eight silver watches, and $4,842 in coin and bank notes in possession, but 
 it is likely that all was not given in then, as is the case nowadays. There 
 were also three hundred and one horses over two years old, six hundred and 
 eighty-eight head of cattle o\'er two years of age and two mules. The num- 
 ber of sheep listed was seven hundred and ninety-four and one thousand 
 seven hundred sixty-three swine — "prairie rooters." Four carriages were 
 found by the assessor, but not a single piano within Jasper county! 
 
 In March, 1850, the record shows that "The late treasurer paid over 
 the sum of $365.23. the amount of tax for 1849 received by him." 
 
 Jesse Rickman, school fund commissioner, made his report to the board, 
 showing that the net sum collected and in his hands was $421.23. 
 
 April, 185 1 — Ordered that the trustees of the parsonage of the mission 
 of the Methodist Episcopal church have a deed for lot No. 8 in block No. 25. 
 This donation to the church was among the last, if not the last, acts of the 
 county commissioners whose office had been legislated out and they gave 
 way to the newly created office of county judge, which obtained until an- 
 other ten years had rolled around and the supervisor system had been estab- 
 lished in all Iowa counties by the provisions of the code of 185 1. The last 
 board of commissioners adjourned July 28, 1851. 
 
 ACTS OF THE COUNTY JUDGE. 
 
 Jesse Rickman was elected as Jasper county's first county judge. His 
 first act was to rearrange the townships of the county, and when he had per- 
 formed this task there were seven sub-divisions in Jasper county. His next 
 act was to issue marriage license to \\^illiam Hammer and Ruth Hinshaw ; 
 the document bears date of August 14, 1851. 
 
 August 30, 1856, the old court house was sold at auction to Caleb Lamb 
 for one hundred fifty dollars. 
 
 In Septem1>er of the same year last named, the county treasurer was 
 compelled to furnish a bond for thirty thousand dollars, instead of the 
 sixteen thousand dollar bond given before, for the reason that the countv
 
 j6 JASPKR COrXTV. IOWA. 
 
 expected the next levy to bring to his hands about twenty-five thousand dol- 
 lars. This additional bond was signed bv P. G. D. Morton, J. W. Macy, 
 Taylor Pierce and M. A. Blanchard. 
 
 December lo. 1856, the county treasurer reported that the tax lists 
 for 1848. 184c), 1850 and 1851 hnd been lost. It was therefore ordered that 
 he ha\e credit ior the amount of tax delinquents on those lists, which 
 amounted to two hundred eighty-se\en dollars. 
 
 February 17. 1857. the county judge again made changes in the bound- 
 aries of certain townships in this county and created other new ones. 
 
 During the Legislature of 1856-7 a law passed requiring the county 
 judge to affix his warrant to the tax book of 1854, ordering the treasurer to 
 collect the taxes delinquent therein, and that the treasurer proceed to collect 
 said taxes, and he was also ordered to pay over all nionev he had collected 
 prior to the passage of that act. The county was made accountable to the 
 treasurer for any damages lie might sustain in making the collections called 
 for. 
 
 In the autumn of i860 the county judge submitted to vote the question 
 whether a sufficient portion of the swamp land fund should l^e di\-erted for 
 the pur}X)se of erecting necessary l)ridges and for the redemption of bonds 
 issued for the building of the court house. 
 
 December 31. i860, the county judge made a contract with J. W. May 
 to build a bridge at Parker's Ferry, on South Skunk, to be completed bv the 
 first of the following April, for which he was to receive four hundred eightv- 
 five dollars. On the same day B. Manning received his warrant for con- 
 structing a bridge at ^Manning's Ferry, for which he was to be paid seven 
 hundred eighty-six dollars. 
 
 The last act of the county judge before handing over the reins of 
 county government was to fix the boundary lines l)etween Fairview and Elk 
 Creek townships. 
 
 PROCKEDIXG.S OF THE BOARD OF Sl'PERVISOR.S. 
 
 The first board of county supervisors, as ordered hx the new law, held 
 its session the first week in January. 1861. The first board was made up of 
 the following gentlemen: David McCord (chairman). William N. Harrah, 
 C. M. Davi.s, Morris Gating, Salem Jeffries, Reuben Johnson. John Mc- 
 Cracken, G. W. Chinn. Caleb Jorrlan. James E. Butler, Andrew G. Groves. 
 William G. Romans. Perry Matteson, Eli.sha Flaugh and George Ryan.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. /J 
 
 Among- the earliest acts of the board of supervisors may be mentioned 
 the dividing- of Mound Prairie township and the formation of a new town- 
 ship to be known as Washington. This was dated June, 1861. 
 
 At the same session of the board it was learned that two thousand dol- 
 lars of interest was due and delinquent to the permanent school fund. S. G. 
 Smith, county attorney, was directed to push the collection of the same as 
 speedily as possible. 
 
 The board decided to apply one-half of the proceeds of the sale of 
 swamp lands to the drainage of the sanie, anfl the other to building- bridges. 
 
 DRAINAGE OF TtlE SWAMP LANDS. 
 
 At the September meeting of the board came up the important matter 
 of drainage of Jasper county's swamp lands. It was resolved that the 
 drainage commissioner be authorized to expend such sums, not exceeding 
 three hundred dollars, as he might deem necessary in the townships of 
 Poweshiek, Clear Creek, Elk Creek, Fairview and Palo Alto, for the pur- 
 pose of draining the swamp lands therein. Underground drains were to be 
 used and the work was to be paid for in the lands at one dollar and twenty- 
 five cents per acre, unless in case where the lands were worth more, when the 
 lands were to be sold and contractors paid in cash. 
 
 In June, 1862, the board agreed with John Henry, X. L. Williams and 
 others, representing a company formed for the purpose, to transfer the 
 swamp lands lying adjacent to the road crossing, either at Parker's or ^lan- 
 ning's Bridge over South Skunk river, to the company on condition that the 
 proposed corporation should construct approaches to the stream which should 
 be above the high water mark, as well as drain the lands transferred. In 
 exchange for this the company was granted the privilege of taking tolls for 
 crossing the bridge selected by them, the amount to be regulated by the 
 board. 
 
 At the same session the committee on poor was instructed to inquire 
 into the expediency of purchasing a poor farm. 
 
 In 1863 the board agreed with the Mississippi & Missouri Railroad 
 Company and the \\'estern Stage Company to have a sufficient roadway 
 made across Skunk bottom at Parker's Bridge, the county contributing four 
 thousand dollars, the railway one thousand dollars, and the stage company 
 five hundred dollars.
 
 -s 
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 THE COl^NTV HELD LIABLE. 
 
 In 1873, or possibly a year later, one John Hessdorfer and family 
 passed through Jasper county on his way to Nebraska. While crossing the 
 South Skunk bottoms his team became frightened, backed off the bridge 
 and in the fall one of the children was killed and other meml^ers of his 
 family injured and the wagon badly broken up. Mr. Hessdorfer employed 
 W'inslow & Wilson, attorneys, to bring action against Jasper county in his 
 behalf. The case was tried in ]^Iahaska county, and he was awarded a ver- 
 dict of four thousand five hundred dollars. This county appealed the case 
 to the state supreme court. In the meantime J. ^^^ Wilson has been ap- 
 pointed administrator for the deceased child, and he brought suit to recover 
 the value of the child's services till it should have become of age, claiming 
 five thousand dollars therefor. It was a long-drawn-out case, with com- 
 promise here and there, and finally resulted in the county having to pay the 
 plaintiff, in October. 1876. the sum of four thousand dollars and costs, to be 
 paid in installments. 
 
 THE county's FINANCES. 
 
 Perhaps there is no better way to show the thrift and growth of the 
 county in the last third of a century than to give the assessed valuation for 
 the year 1878 and that of 1910: 
 
 Assessed 
 Valuation, 
 Townships. 1878. 
 
 Newton $2^2.425 
 
 Clear Creek 249.825 
 
 Washington 412,348 
 
 Hickory Grove 228,850 
 
 Prairie City 194,650 
 
 Palo Alto 318.108 
 
 Mariposa 218.289 
 
 Jasper City, Ind. D 180,350 
 
 Lynn Grove 257,505 
 
 Rock Creek 275,590 
 
 Richland 244.569 
 
 Kellogg 329-564 
 
 Des Moines 408,647 
 
 Assessed 
 Valuation, 
 Townships. 1878. 
 
 Monroe 8313,410 
 
 Sherman 259,266 
 
 Colfax 1 16,672 
 
 \'andalia 31,992 
 
 Fairview 423,876 
 
 Lynnville, Ind. D 106,860 
 
 Poweshiek 275,678 
 
 Independence 241,473 
 
 Malaka 370-3i5 
 
 Ruena Vista 335,941 
 
 Elk Creek 356.410 
 
 Mound Prairie 276,776 
 
 Newton. Ind. D 691.949
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. /() 
 
 ABSTRACT OF TAX BOOKS I QIC. 
 
 Real and Personal Property. Total Tax. 
 
 Clear Creek $ 292,320 $ 10.566.36 
 
 Independence 342,065 11,349.12 
 
 ]Malaka 369.635 11,711.97 
 
 Hickory Grove 344-885 10,570.1 1 
 
 Rock Creek 286,330 9,724.34 
 
 Kellogg- 309,790 1 1,136.50 
 
 Newton 437-265 i5'274-39 
 
 Sherman 304-95O 10,441.02 
 
 Poweshiek 278,360 9,665.67 
 
 Washington 317..125 9,867.62 
 
 Mound Prairie 378,435 11,790.91 
 
 Palo Alto 367,730 12,987.58 
 
 Buena Vista 403,465 13,272.24 
 
 Richland Z^7'7^':^ 12,260.96 
 
 Lynn Grove 37^-370 13,078.23 
 
 Elk Creek 371-125 12,780.00 
 
 Fairview 479-320 15,808.42 
 
 Des Moines 414-540 I3»i95-7i 
 
 Mariposa 356,045 11,191.86 
 
 Town or City corporation — 
 
 Monroe 253,235 i3,i74-53 
 
 Jasper City 159^965 9-003.36 
 
 Baxter 166,840 9,1 10.99 
 
 Prairie City 230,035 12,160.99 
 
 Sully 78.185 4-141-23 
 
 Lynnville 54-6io 2,909.89 
 
 Mingo ■ 47.555 1,788.79 
 
 Greencastle 50,730 i-9i3-89 
 
 Vandalia 32-375 1,568.12 
 
 Reasoner 50,330 2,211.12 
 
 Newton (City) 2,158,152 120,997.88 
 
 Colfax 287,690 30.330-73 
 
 Corporations 926,069 34,677.60 
 
 Total $11,249,241 $470,662.13
 
 80 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 JASPER county's VARIOUS COURT HOUSES. 
 
 The term "court house" is sometimes wrongly applied. It may mean 
 simply a place for holding various kinds of court, or it may also mean a 
 county building-, or buildings, wherein courts are held, as well as office 
 rooms for the various county officials, such as recorder, treasurer, etc. So 
 in speaking of the "first court house" in any given county it is always well 
 to understand which construction is placed on the building being talked 
 about. Here in Jasper county, the organizing act of the Legislature of the 
 territory of Iowa had one section which reads : "That the district court of 
 Jasper county shall be held at the house of Matthew- D. Springer, in said 
 countv, or at such other place as may be designated by the board of county 
 commissioners of said county, until the seat of justice of said county may 
 be located." 
 
 In accordance with the above provision, the first term of court was 
 held at ]\Ir. Springer's residence, in Buena Vista township, or rather in Palo 
 Alto tow^nship, near the line between the tw-o townships named. It was 
 held in the cabin of Mr. Springer which he had erected the autumn before 
 (1845) and to which he had added a small room in which the court might 
 be held. While it was the first court house, it was not a public building 
 owned by Jasper county, at all, but the residence of Mr. Springer. (See 
 Bench and Bar chapter for the first court.) 
 
 The reader of today and later generations may be interested in a descrip- 
 tion of this, the pioneer "court house," so called. 
 
 It stood where the highway now makes an elbow^ on the Samuel 
 Squares farm. It w-as built of small round hickory logs, about eight inches 
 in diameter and w^as in size sixteen feet square and about eig"ht feet high. 
 Clapboards were nailed over the cracks inside to keep the snow and wind 
 out as much as possible. It had what they called then a "continental" chim- 
 ney — that is, holes Ijored into the w^alls, pins driven therein, and then weath- 
 erboarded w'ith clapboards, thus forming a flue for conducting the smoke 
 abo\e the roof of the building. A lane was cut through the brush from the 
 "court house" to the prairie. Judge Williams, of Muscatine or Davenport, 
 was the first judge of the Jasper county district court, and it is related that 
 while in session (the term lasted about an hour) several deer were seen 
 roaming about and finally entered the lane, cut through the underbrush be- 
 tween the court house and prairie and the court, iudge and all, went out to 
 see the animals.
 
 JASPER COUXTY, IOWA. 8l 
 
 FIRST COUNTY BUILDING. 
 
 The first real court house of Jasper county was that built in 1847 ^y 
 Evan Adanison and turned over to the commissioners by him October 4th 
 of that year, for which the board paid him the sum of eighty-seven dollars 
 and fifty cents. It was constructed of green native lumber. The contract 
 was awarded to Mr. Adamson April 5, 1847, ^^^ ^^ called for a building 
 eighteen by thirty feet and one story high. This building served well its 
 original purpose until the second court house was built in 1857. 
 
 THE SECOND COURT HOUSE. 
 
 During the winter of 1855-56 much excitement arose over a proposed 
 removal of the court house site from the public square to Park block, in 
 Nbrth Xewton. March 3. 1856, a petition was presented to County Judge 
 Rickman, asking him to submit the question of removal in April following. 
 A remonstrance Avas also presented, when it was learned that the petition 
 contained four hundred nine names and the remonstrance seven hundred 
 sixty-two. The Judge ruled that there be no election called. The case then 
 went to tlie district court and the judge of that tribunal ordered that the 
 county judge call an election, — at least to let the proposition be voted upon 
 at the spring election, — which was carried out and resulted in a defeat to 
 the removal petitioners, by a majority of four hundred sixty-eight. 
 
 When it was decided to build a better, larger court house, in 1857, the 
 old one was sold to Caleb Lamb and removed to his farm near Newton, 
 where it stood for many years. 
 
 The second court house being demanded. Judge Edmundson made a 
 contract with John Hyde for the construction of a foundation of a building 
 that should be ample for many years to come, and the record shows that on 
 August 15, 1857. Hyde was allowed $150 as a part of the September pay- 
 ment on the court house contract; on the 22d he was paid $150 more; on 
 the 29th, $200 more. William Rodgers was paid $225 for superintending 
 the work. October loth, Hyde was allowed $1,159 and November 3d, 
 $3,814, drawn in thirty-two warrants. 
 
 Eebruary 22, 1858, the Judge's record shows that he had sold bonds 
 one and four to A. A. Kellogg at seventy-eight cents on the dollar, the same 
 being pavable at the St. Nicholas Bank, New York City. Other bonds were 
 disposed of at eightv cents on a dollar. 
 (6)
 
 82 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 October 30, 185S. the county indite ordered 81,981.43 to be paid to 
 Contractor Hyde on the contract, and the record says he added, "this com- 
 pletes the sum of $26,600 which has been paid on the court house, and for 
 which J. P. Huskins. agent of John Hyde, the contractor, has receipted for 
 as payment in full for contract and all extras in and about the building. 
 The house is therefore received from the hands of the contractor." 
 
 An early description of this building reads thus: "The building is 
 located in the center of the public square; its form is oblong, being fifty feet 
 wide by sixty-two long, with porticoes projecting from each front twelve 
 feet. It is two stories high, with a basement seven feet high beneath, the 
 latter built of sandstone; the portion above ground is faced with white lime- 
 stone, the bases to the columns and antae being of the same material. The 
 walls are built of brick. The first story is fourteen feet high, and contains 
 four rooms, each seventeen and a half by twenty-three and a half feet, and 
 two halls, each ten feet wide, occupied by the county officers. Two stair- 
 ways lead to the second story, w^hich contains the court and jury rooms. 
 The court room is thirty-seven by forty-seven feet, and nineteen feet high, 
 and both jury rooms are ten and a half by sixteen feet in size. The entire 
 height of the top of the cupola is eighty-three feet. The columns of the 
 portico are Ionic." 
 
 The first court house was not removed until October, 1859, and the 
 following appeared in the Free Press, the*i published here : "Once it was the 
 house of the town. I remember well when all the business of the county was 
 conducted in it. Thither we used to go every Tuesday night to the post- 
 office to hear our old townsman. Jesse Rickman, the postmaster, read over 
 the list of mail matter brought in by Valentine Adamson. It was not until 
 the spring of 1853 that we got mail over once a week, and that was brought 
 every Tuesday by Val Adamson, and we used to gather around the old court 
 house while 'Jess' Rickman opened the mail. In that same old house w'e 
 used to ha\e both law and gospel dealt out to us." 
 
 It was in this old house that many of the early county laws and ap- 
 propriations were made. With its passing, came in a new and better era of 
 county government. 
 
 Court house number two. the one erected in 1857. was the one in 
 which stood the treasury safe which in 1868 was broken into and robbed of 
 about three thousand five hundred dollars in cash. 
 
 This structure stood and served well its purpose until the present mag- 
 nificent temple of justice was placed on the ground where the old one stood.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, TOWA. 83 
 
 THE PRESENT COURT HOUSE. 
 
 This building, second to but few, if any, on Iowa soil today, was dedi- 
 cated April 6, 191 1, and cost the county in round figures the sum of two 
 hundred thousand dollars, which included the fixtures, etc. 
 
 The first act of the board of supervisors looking to the erection of this 
 splendid court house was in 1908, when the board called an election for the 
 purpose of getting an expression of the people on this subject. Popular 
 consent was easily obtained. In February, 1909, a contract was let; work 
 commenced April i, 1909. and the building was dedicated Thursday, April 
 6. 191 1, Judge Horace E. Deemer, of the supreme bench of Iowa, deliver- 
 ing the speech. 
 
 The building is one hundred twenty feet and eight inches long and 
 eighty feet wide. The tower is one hundred forty feet high from the curb- 
 ing on the street below*. There are sixty rooms and four vaults in the struc- 
 ture and an electric clock in each suite of rooms in the building, all regu- 
 lated by the master-clock in the rooms of the auditor's office. The contract 
 price for the court house was $140,825.71 ; the heating plant, $15,500; archi- 
 tect and superintendent, $7,900; furniture, etc., $36,000, making a total ex- 
 penditure of $200,225. This magnificent building is constructed of the 
 celebrated Bedford (Indiana) stone, the best building limestone to be found 
 in the country. A minute description is needless here, for be it rememljered 
 that long after the pages of this county history are worn and turned yellow 
 W'ith age, in all human probability this building will stand in all its massive 
 beauty. 
 
 It may be well, however, to add this concerning the new (1911) tem- 
 ple of justice : The four emblematic paintings are by Edgar Cameron, of 
 Chicago, and are each illustrative of some incident in Jasper county's his- 
 tory. On the south side of the rotunda is a scene of a prairie fire and a herd 
 of buffalo; on the east is a group of Unitd States soldiers, camped on the 
 banks of Skunk river, west of Newton, in the early forties; on the north a 
 scene of the departing Indian and the coming of the white man. his cabin 
 and domestic surroundings; on the west side may be seen the soldier boys 
 leaving for the front, in Civil war days, in which are to be seen the teams 
 and the relatives of the newly enlisted men, with waving flags as they bid 
 home and loved ones "good bye." These paintings are all real works of art 
 and add materially to the charm of the building. 
 
 The filing cabinets and book racks are all steel and fitted w^ith sliding 
 fronts, dust and light proof, for the preservation of papers. In addition in
 
 84 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 those offices needing- them are large fire-proof vaults, as large and liglit and 
 comfortable to work in as the oflfice rooms proper. 
 
 On the first floor is a room set apart for the exclusive use of the Grand 
 Arniv of tho RciHiMic. in whicli there is everything attractive. In its 
 border of mural decorati^ui are painted the names of nineteen of the import- 
 ant battles of the Civil conflict, including Manassas and the windup at Ap- 
 pomattox. 
 
 .\nother si)ccial and modern feature of this court house building is the 
 spacious, elegantly equipped ladies' rest room, on the first floor, easily ac- 
 cessible to the street. Here the ladies from town and country may while 
 away an hour and rest. 
 
 On tlie same floor is an assembly room, which is finely furnished and 
 here farmers and others may hold public meetings. This easily seats two 
 hundred persons. 
 
 Hie clock in the tower is tiie latest achievement in time-pieces. It is 
 fitted with an automatic attachment so that every day it winds itself and 
 each night it turns on the electric lights which show through its eight-foot 
 dial to the four sides of the public. square. One thousand two hundred dol- 
 lars of its cost was made uj) by private donations of Jasper county citizens. 
 
 Aside, perhaps, from the Des Moines (Polk county) public building, 
 nothing in all Iowa compares with this beautiful, modern court house. The 
 following gentlemen were associated in the production of this, Jasper 
 county's latest public l)uilding: Proudfoot & Bird, architects; James Row- 
 son & Son, contractors; Norman A. Price, superintendent; Frank Sellman, 
 auditor; supervisors during its construction, D. S. Fleck, chairman of the 
 board. W. O. Livingston. J. F. Khse and C. F. Sauerman. 
 
 At the dedication of this l)uilding there were one Imndred and twenty 
 names entered in a book provided for the occasion, showing those present at 
 the exercises who had seen the erection of the old court house of 1858. In 
 this "book of fame,'' as it was appropriately styled, the oldest man to sign 
 his name was C. A. Dotson, of Colfax, aged ninety vears and who came to 
 Jasper county in 1848. The youngest man to sign was J. A. Blackwood, 
 aged fifty-five years and who was three years old when the old court house 
 was erected. Then another feature of this record book was tlie signing of 
 the same by the oldest living settler in Jasper county, the venerable R. F. 
 McKJinney, who is not the oldest person, but the oldest settler now living in 
 the county, he having arrived here in 1846. at the age of seven vears. three 
 years after tlie first wliite man liad invaded the county's domain.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 85 
 
 John B. Owens, of Newton, aged seventy-three, signed with the same 
 pen which was used hy him on a hke occasion for the 1858 court house, 
 having retained the same during all these long, eventful years. 
 
 The chapter on "Reminiscences" in this volume will contain an article 
 from the ready, graphic pen of J. H. I'\igard, of Newton, which will round 
 out the history of Jasper county's last two court houses. (See index.) 
 
 DETAILED FACTS CONCERNING THE BUILDING. 
 
 Authorized at election November 3, 1908 
 
 Contract let February 18, 1909 
 
 Work commenced April i. 1909 
 
 Building completed April 6, 191 1 
 
 Length 120 feet and 8 inches 
 
 Width 80 feet 
 
 Height to cornice 56 feet 
 
 Height of tower 140 feet 
 
 Number of rooms 60 
 
 Number of vaults 4 
 
 Diameter of clock faces 7 feet 
 
 Contract price $140,825.71 
 
 Heating plant 15,500.00 
 
 Architect and Superintendent 7,900 00 
 
 Furniture, etc 36.000.00 
 
 Total $200,225.71 
 
 THE COUNTY JAIL. 
 
 The first permanent and separate jail for Jasper county was erected in 
 1877, at a cost of a contract price of fourteen thousand six hundred dollars, 
 to John W. Rice, who gave l)onds to the amount of ten thousand dollars for 
 the faithful performance of his work. It is a brick building, just to the 
 southwest of the public square. It is a jail and sheriff's house combined and 
 is a neat, modern structure, always kept clean and sanitary. The contract 
 was let in December, 1876, and the building was first opened in 1877. In its 
 rear is the city water works and lighting plant, with the new high steel water 
 tower overlooking it.
 
 86 JASl'ER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 THE COUNTY HOME. 
 
 The present county home was built through a contract entered into 
 April 1 6, 1896, with S. T. Roberts, of Des Moines. The building commit- 
 tee consisted of J. C. Donahey, chairman. Ed. Cook and Alfred Davey. The 
 building was completed in October of the same year the contract was made. 
 A one mill tax levy was made on the property of the county for the erection 
 of this building. The election was had with the general election in Novem- 
 ber, 1895, at which this proposition had 1,613 ^otes for and 1,545 against 
 the building. 
 
 Times change with the administration of different sets of county offi- 
 cials, as will be observed by reading the two resolutions concerning this poor 
 farm. 
 
 At the April session in 1896, the board resolved: "We will not here- 
 after allow payment for any but substantial, such as supplies and clothing, 
 and positively refuse to allow payment for green apples, plums, cranberries, 
 peaches, high grade flour in no case save sickness and then on an order from 
 the attending physician." 
 
 Way back in Commissioner Burton's administration, a quarter of a 
 century ago, he states to the writer that he had one man — an inmate of the 
 place — to raise poultry to the amount of over four hundred chickens and 
 two hundred turkeys. When fully grown, he saw fit to dole these chickens 
 and turkeys out to the old men and women who had poor appetites. He 
 was called up on the carpet and the board found much fault with him, think- 
 ing that he should sell such provisions and feed the inmates, regardless of 
 age and health, on the plain foods such as the more hearty could live upon. 
 Mr. Burton let his holy indignation Che came from old Virginia) rise and 
 arose in his seat and exclaimed : "So long as I have charge of the poor fann 
 I will do just as I have done and when you don't like my style you simply 
 say so and I will resign my position to another." This ended it — he went 
 ahead and heard no further murmuring from the stingy board. 
 
 The last report of the county auditor gives the following concerning 
 the report of the superintendent of the county home of Jasper county : Num- 
 ber of inmates January i, 1910, thirty -nine: admitted in 1910, eight; total, 
 forty-seven. Number of deaths during 1910, se\en : number discharged in 
 1910, six: total enrolled January i, 191 1, thirty-four. 
 
 Total expenditures for 1910, including groceries, clothing, coal, to- 
 bacco, furniture, feed and stock, improvements, doctor's bills, steward and 
 stewardess, with payment on lighting plant. $8,614. Total sales from the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 8/ 
 
 county farm for 1910, $3,981 ; net gain in invoice during 1910, $988.75. 
 Outside the county home, the expenses were $5,020. For the three preced- 
 ing- years the figures were: In 1906, $5,969; 1907, $6,119; 1908, $5,813. 
 
 THE JASPER COUNTY SEAL. 
 
 As has been previously noticed, the first seal of this county was im- 
 provised by using the imprint of a ten-cent coin piece. Then later the county 
 commissioners were allowed to purchase a real seal, which was in the lat- 
 ter part of the forties or early in the fifties. This seal is the same in use 
 today. It is quite emblematic. It is composed of the figure of an American 
 eagle sitting on the edge of ''union,'' or a striped shield, which shield is 
 resting on the beam of a huge plow turning a heavy furrow of virgin sod. 
 In the rotunda of the new court house in Xewton this design has been en- 
 larged to cover a space described by a circle not less than eight feet in 
 diameter. It is in colors made by the different tints of the marble flooring. 
 The only lettering on the seal is, ''Seal of Jasper County, Iowa." 
 
 OFFICIAL DIRECTORY I9II. 
 
 Auditor. H. S. Rayburn; deputy auditor. C. O. Edge; clerk, Frank 
 Wilson; deputy clerk, Harvey Gribben; treasurer, O. B. Kipp; deputy treas- 
 urer. Blanche Kipp; recorder, R. H. Bailey; deputy recorder, Fay Horn; 
 sheriff, W. S. Gove ; deputy sheriff, Harry Gove ; county superintendent, 
 Olive Shriner; deputy county superintendent, Edith Parvin; county attorney, 
 Ross R. Mowry; county surveyor, W. F. Byers; coroner. James C. Hill; 
 members of board of supervisors, D. S. Fleck, C. F. Sauerman, ^^^ O. Liv- 
 ingston. 
 
 NEW ROAD DRAG LAW. 
 
 In the winter of 1910-11, the Iowa Legislature passed a new road drag 
 law, of which the following is one of the sections : 
 
 "Section 2. The township trustees shall from time to time designate 
 what districts shall be dragged, which must include all the mail routes and 
 all the main traveled roads within the township; they shall at their regular 
 meeting in April, or at a special meeting called for that purpose, appoint a 
 superintendent of dragging, who shall be a resident of the township, or any 
 citv or town within said township, who shall serve for one year unless 
 sooner removed by the board: they shall fix the amount of his compensa- 
 tion, which shall not exceed two dollars and fifty cents per day and actual
 
 88 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 expenses for each day of eight hours while engaged in necessary work for 
 the township, and for giving notice to contractors who shall be required 
 to drag he shall receive such additional compensation as the board may di- 
 rect; they shall furnish suitable road drags for the township and pay for 
 same out of the township road funds; they shall adopt a suitable form 
 of notice to be given by the superintendent of dragging when ordering the 
 roads dragged, stipulating the manner of serving same." 
 
 It is believed that this new law will serve to greatly facilitate the 
 making of improved roads, and Jasper county has already put the law into 
 force. There are several excellent *'road-drags" manufactured within this 
 county, one of which is made entirely of steel and is adjustable in its 
 operation.
 
 CHAPTER VII. 
 
 COUNTY, STATE AND NATIONAL REPRESENTATION. 
 
 The chief object of this chapter is to give the reader a complete Hst 
 of all county officers ; also to inform him as to who have represented the people 
 of Jasper county in state and national official positions. It may serve as a 
 fair political index of the county since the early days to the present, as in 
 cases the vote is given on certain officers, showing the party strength. 
 
 PRESIDENTIAL VOTE. 
 
 1848— 
 
 Zachary Taylor (D) Elected. 
 1852— 
 
 Franklin Pierce (D) 
 
 Winfield Scott (Whig). 
 1856— 
 
 James Buchanan (D) Elected. 
 
 John C. Fremont (R). 
 i8"6(^- 
 
 Abraham Lincoln (R) Elected 
 
 Stephen A. Douglas (Northern D) 
 
 John C. Breckenridge (South. D). 
 1864— 
 
 Abraham Lincoln (R) Elected. 
 
 George B. McClellan (D) 
 1868— 
 
 U. S. Grant (R) 2.999 
 
 Horatio Seymour fD) . . . . 1.282 
 1872— 
 
 U. S. Grant (R) 2.848 
 
 Horace Greeley (Lib. D) . . 942 
 1876— 
 
 Rutherford B. Hayes (R) . . 
 
 Samuel J. Tilden (D) 
 
 1880— 
 
 James A. Garfield f R) . . . . 
 
 \Mnfield Scott Hancock ( D) 
 
 James B. Weaver (Gr'enb'k) 
 1884— 
 
 Grover Cleveland (D) . . . . 
 
 James G. Blaine (R) 
 
 John P. St. John (Prohi.) 
 
 Benjamin Harrison (R) . . . 
 
 Grover Cleveland (D) . . . . 
 1892— 
 
 Benjamin Harrison (R) . . . 
 
 Grover Cleveland (D) . . . . 
 
 James B. A\^eaver (Peo.) . . 
 1896— 
 
 William Mcl\iinley (R) 
 
 William J. Bryan (D) 
 
 John M. Palmer (Nat. D) . . 
 
 John Levering (Prohi.) . . . . 
 1900 — 
 
 \\'illiam McKinley (R.) 
 
 William J. Bryan (D.) 
 
 John G. Wooley (Prohi.).. 
 
 3.162 
 
 2.734 
 2,997 
 
 3.138 
 2.340 
 
 3.i7<^> 
 2.556 
 
 3-7T3 
 
 2.747 
 
 3. 161
 
 90 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 1904— 
 
 Theodore Roosevelt {R) ■ . 3.962 
 
 Alton B. Parker (D) 1,942 
 
 Silas C. Swallow (Prohi.) 
 Eugene V. Debs (Soc.) .... 
 
 1908 — 
 
 William H. Taft (R).. 
 William J. Bryan (D) . 
 E. W. Chafin (Prohi.). 
 Eugene V. Debs (Soc.) . 
 
 3o43 
 2,889 
 
 UNITED STATES SENATORS. 
 
 The following is a list of the United States Senators from Iowa 
 first General Assembly failed to elect a U. S. Senator. 
 
 The 
 
 1848-58— George W. Jones (D) 
 1848-55 — Augustus C. Dodge (D). 
 1855-65 — James Harlan (Whig). 
 1858-70 — James W. Grimes (R). 
 1866-72 — James Harlan (R). 
 1865-67 — Samuel J. Kirkwood (R). 
 1870-72 — James B. Howell (R). 
 1871-77 — George G. Wright (R). 
 1 872-1908— William B. Allison (R). 
 1 877- 1 894— J. H. Gear (R). 
 
 CONGRESSMEN. 
 
 1877-81 — Samuel J. Kirkwood (R). 
 1881-83— James McDill (R). 
 1 882- 1 894— James F. Wilson (R). 
 1 895- 1 900 — John H. Gear (R). 
 1900-10 — Jonathan P. Dolliver (R). 
 19 10 — few months — Hon. Lafayette 
 
 Young (appointed). 
 1908 — Albert B. Cummins (R). 
 19 II — W. S. Kenyon (R). 
 
 Since 1875 the congressmen from the sixth district have been as follows 
 
 1875-78 — Ezekial Sampson. 
 1879-80 — James B. Weaver. 
 1881-83— John C. Cook. 
 1883-84— M. E. Cutts. 
 1885-86— M. E. Cutts. 
 1887-88 — James B. Weaver. 
 
 1889-90 — James B. Weaver. 
 1891-92 — ^John F. Lacy. 
 1893-94 — Fred E. White. 
 1895-06 — John F. Lacy. 
 1907-08 — D. W. Hamilton. 
 1909-11 — N. E. Kendall. 
 
 GOVERNORS OF IOWA. 
 
 1846-50 — Ansel Briggs (D). 
 1850-54 — Stephen Hemstead (D). 
 1854-58 — James W. Grimes (Whig). 
 1858-60— Ralph P. Lowe (R). 
 1860-64 — Samuel J. Kirkwood (R). 
 1864-68— William M. Stone (R). 
 
 1868-72— Samuel Merrill (R). 
 ] 872-76 — Cyrus C. Carpenter (R). 
 1876-77 — Samuel G. Kirkwood (R). 
 1878 (part)— Sam'l G. Newbold (R) 
 1878-82— John H. Gear (R).
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 9 1 
 
 1 882- 1 886— 1895-97— 
 
 Biiren R. Sherman (R) 2,073 F. M. Drake (R) 2,875 
 
 L. G. Kinnie (D) 695 W. J. Babb (D) 1,414 
 
 D. M. Clark (P) 687 1897-190CK- 
 
 1885-1889— Leslie M. Shaw (R) 3,116 
 
 William Larrabee (R) . . . . 2,756 F. E. White (D) 3*240 
 
 C. E. Whiting (D) 2,462 1900- 1902 — 
 
 1889-1891 — Leslie M. Shaw ( R) 3-33^) 
 
 — Hutchison (R) 2,791 F. E. \\'hite (D) 3.009 
 
 Horace Boies (D) 2,276 1901-1908 — 
 
 1891-1893 — Albert B. Cummins (R)... 3,434 
 
 Hiram C. Wheeler f R) .... 3,077 T. J. Phillips (D) 2,190 
 
 Horace Boies (D) 2,695 1908-1912 — 
 
 1893-1895 — B. F. Carroll (R) 3,3^7 
 
 Frank D. Jackson (R) 3,075 Fred E. White (D) 2,825 
 
 Horace Boies (D) 2,365 
 
 STATE SENATORS. 
 
 The state senators who have lived in Jasper county and represented 
 this district have been as follows : 
 
 EHsha Flaugh, tenth General Assembly. 
 
 M. D. Doud. twenty-first and twenty-second General Assemblies. 
 
 Perry Engle, twenty-third and twenty-fourth Assemblies. 
 
 Dr. J. R. Gorrell, twenty-eighth Assemblies. 
 
 F. L. Maytag, twenty -ninth to thirty-third Assemblies. 
 
 REPRESENTATIVES. 
 
 ! 
 
 First General Assembly. John Kinsman. 
 Sixth General Assembly, David Edmundson. 
 Seventh General Assembly, S. B. Shelledy. 
 Eighth General Assembly, C. ^L Davis. 
 Tenth General Assembly. Salem Jeffries. 
 Eleventh General Assembly, David Ryan. 
 Twelfth General Assembly, M. W. Atwood. 
 Thirteenth General Assembly. Caleb Bundy. 
 I Fourteenth General Assembly, John P. Beatty.
 
 92 
 
 ASl'KR COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 Fifteenth Cieneral Assembly. George M. \\ilson. 
 Sixteenth General Assembly. Georg-e M. Wilson. 
 Seventeenth General Assembly. Joel W. Deweese. 
 Eighteenth and Nineteenth (General Assemblies. Eli E. Dotson. 
 Twentieth General .\ssembly. \\'illiam H. McColloch, H. B. C. Ward. 
 Twentv-first and twenty-second General Assemblies, Aaron Custer. 
 Twenty-third, twenty-seventh General Assemblies, Samuel B. Powers. 
 Twenty-fourth and twenty-fifth General Assemblies, C. N. Doane. 
 Twenty-sixth General Assembly. X. A. Wells. 
 Twenty-eighth General Assembly, W. W. Hawk. 
 Twenty-ninth General Assembly, AV. W. Hawk. 
 Thirtieth to thirty-third General Assemblies. John E. Offill. 
 Thirty-third General Assembly, William R. Cooper. 
 
 EARLY COUNTY COMMISSIONERS. 
 
 1846 — John R. Sparks, Joab Bennett, ]\Ianly Gifford. 
 
 1847 — ^lanly Gifford. Nathan Williams, John R. Sparks. 
 
 1848 — Same as 1847. 
 
 1849 — J*'hn R. Sparks, Nathan Williams, John B. Hammack. 
 
 1850 — Nathan Williams, John R. Sparks, James A. Tool. 
 
 1 85 1 — James A. Tool, Willis Green, Levi Plummer. 
 
 commissioners' clerks. 
 
 1846 — John H. Eranklin. 1847 — Jesse Rickman (to fill va- 
 
 1847 — Washington Eleener. cancy). 
 
 1848 — Jesse Rickman. 
 
 COUNTY judges. 
 
 This office was abolished by law in 1868. 
 1852 — Jesse Rickman. 1862 — Riley Ashley. 
 
 1856— William P. Norris. 1864— J. A. Harris. 
 
 1838 — David Edmundson. 1866 — O. C. Howe. 
 
 SHERIFFS. 
 
 1846-7— David Edmundson. 1850 — Ballinger Aydelotte. 
 
 1848 — Silas Dooley. 1832 — Rilev Ashlev.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 93 
 
 854— J. A. Shellady. 
 856 — William Kromer, 
 857 — D. E. Longfellow. 
 858— J. T. Hull. 
 860-R. Ashley. 
 864 — Chancy Howard. 
 866 — James 'SI. Rodgers. 
 872— \\'. C. Hawk. 
 874 — J. R. Zollinger. 
 879 — James S. Hunter. 
 88 T — James S. Hunter. 
 883— H. L. Weston. 
 88 s— H. L- \\'eston 
 
 1887— M 
 1889— I. 
 1891— M 
 1893-M 
 1895— D. 
 1897— D. 
 1899— C. 
 1 90 1 — C. 
 
 1903— :^r 
 
 1905 — M. 
 
 1908 — F. 
 1 910 — W 
 
 . A. McCord. 
 L. Patton. 
 . A. McCord. 
 . A. McCord. 
 
 R. Tripp. 
 
 R. Tripp. 
 
 H. Hook. 
 
 H. Hook. 
 . B. Moberly 
 . B. Moberly. 
 
 H. Russell. 
 S. Gove. 
 
 COUNTY SURVEYORS. 
 
 846— Silas Sawyer. 
 848 — Samuel SI. Coleman. 
 849 — Elisha Hammer. 
 852 — ^John Q. Deakin. 
 856— W. P. Cole. 
 858— S. W^ Foreman. 
 860— E. T. Preston. 
 866 — John Collier. 
 
 1868 — Charles C. Turner. 
 1872 — Aaron S. Stuver. 
 1876 — \\'illiam L. LeFever. 
 1879 — William L. LeFever. 
 1881 — Willard F. Byers. serving un- 
 til 1906. 
 1906— P. R. Rice. 
 1908 — W. F. Byers. still serving. 
 
 CLERKS OF THE DISTRICT COURT. 
 
 847 — Thomas J. Adamson. 
 848— Peter :\Iiller. 
 850 — William ^L Springer. 
 832— W. P. Xorris. 
 854 — C. C. Turner. 
 857 — Joseph B. Hough. 
 861 — Owen Davis. 
 865 — John A. Seaton. 
 869— A\'. R. ^rcCully. 
 877^ — Leroy B. Westbrook. 
 878— L. B. \\^estbrook. 
 880— ^L P. Doud. 
 882— :^L P. Doud. 
 884— G. W. Harlan. 
 
 1886 — George W. Harlan. 
 1888— X. Townsend. 
 1890 — X. Townsend. 
 1892 — John L. Mathews. 
 1894 — John S. Mathews. 
 1896 — John A. Mathews. 
 1898— t. H. Kapple. 
 1900 — J. A. Mathews. 
 1902 — Earnest Early. 
 1904 — Earnest Early. 
 1906— P. H. Healy. 
 1908— P. H. Healy. 
 19TO — Frank A\'ilson.
 
 94 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 COUNTY ATTORNEYS. 
 
 1886— J. A. Kerr. 
 1888— W. G. Clements. 
 1892 — E. J. Salmon. 
 i8g6— O. C. Meredith. 
 1900 — Henry Sihvolcl. 
 
 1904 — P. H. Creagen. 
 1902 — P. H. Creagen. 
 1906 — E. P. ]\Ialmberg. 
 1908— E. P. Malmberg. 
 
 COUNTY TREASURERS. 
 
 Up to 1804 the office of treasui 
 The records show, however, that the 
 sitions in Jasper county : 
 1846 — J. \V. Swann. 
 1848 — John E. Copp. 
 1850 — Henry Rodgers. 
 1854— A. T. Ault. 
 1858 — Elisha Hammer. 
 1862— J. W. Wilson. 
 1 864 — Thomas Arthur. 
 1866 — Josiah B. Eyerly. 
 1872 — E. H. Bartow. 
 1876 — George Z. Anderson. 
 1878— S. E. Zinn. 
 1879— D. G. Winchell. 
 1881— D. G. Winchell. 
 1883— S. H. Galusha. 
 
 er and recorder was one and the same, 
 following served in their respective po- 
 
 1885— S. H. Galusha. 
 1887— A. K: Brown. 
 1889 — A. K. Brown. 
 1 89 1 — Erank R. W^itmer. 
 1893 — Frank R. Witmer. 
 1895 — Willard Howard. 
 1897 — Willard Howard. 
 1899 — Henr}^ Galusha. 
 1 90 1 — Frank E. Robins. 
 1903 — Frank E. Robins. 
 1906 — Phillip Scharf. 
 1908— O. B. Kipp. 
 1 9 10 — O. B. Kipp. 
 
 COUNTY RECORDER. 
 
 1846 — Seth Hammer. 
 1848 — John E. Copp. 
 1830 — Henry Rogers. 
 1858 — Elisha Hammer. 
 1862— J. W. Wilson. 
 1864 — Thomas Arthur. 
 1865 — John C. Wilson 
 1869— G. W. Chinn. 
 
 1873— W. H. Hough. 
 
 1877 — Williamson N. Carrothers. 
 
 1878— W\ B. Russell. 
 
 1879— S. S. Wilson. 
 
 1880 — Thomas M. Rodgers. 
 
 1882 — Thomas M. Rodgers. 
 
 1884 — Ezra Adkins. 
 
 1886 — Ezra Adkins.
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 
 
 95 
 
 1888 — Jo Cunningham. 
 1890 — Jo Cunningham. 
 1892— J. W. Jeffries. 
 1894— J. W. Jeffries. 
 1896— A. G. West. 
 1898 — Fred A. Eaton. 
 
 1900 — A. J. Streeter. 
 1902 — A. J. Streeter. 
 1904 — James Campbell. 
 1906 — E. E. Erwin. 
 1908— R. H. Bailey. 
 1910 — R. H. Bailey. 
 
 COUNTY CORONERS. 
 
 852 — Thomas J. Adamson. 
 
 854 — David S. Fuller. 
 
 856 — Joseph Hickman. 
 
 858 — Hugh Rodgers. 
 
 864 — W. M. Carrothers. 
 
 866— Hugh Newell. 
 
 868— David S. Stiver. 
 
 871 — Hugh Rodgers. 
 
 876— E. W. Mitchell. 
 
 878— Hugh Xewell. 
 
 879 — Hugh Newell, until 1887. 
 
 887— T. J. Robins. 
 
 1889— T. J. Robins. 
 1 89 1 — Hugh Newell. 
 1893 — Hugh Newell. 
 1895 — Hayden Reynolds. 
 1897 — Hayden Reynolds. 
 1899— H.'C. Gill.' 
 1901 — T. H. Jacobs. 
 1903 — S. M. Robinson. 
 1906 — C. E. Boyd. 
 1908 — James C. Hill. 
 1 910 — James C. Hill. 
 
 COUNTY AUDITORS. 
 
 This office was created and that of 
 auditor, since that date, being ex-officio 
 isors. 
 
 868-9—0. C. Howe. 
 869— G. R. Ledyard. 
 871 — G. R. Ledyard. 
 873— G. R. Ledyard. 
 875— G. R. Ledyard. 
 877— G. R. Ledyard. 
 879 — Moses Greenleaf. 
 881 — Moses Greenleaf. 
 883— B. \y. Brown. 
 885— B. \y. Brown. 
 887— J. T. Hunt. 
 
 county judge abolished in 1868. the 
 clerk of the lx)ard of county super- 
 
 1889— J. T. Hunt. 
 1892 — J. M. Rayburn. 
 1894 — J. 'SI. Rayburn. 
 1896 — Frank Fisk. 
 1898 — Joseph Horn. 
 1900 — Joseph Horn. 
 1902 — Eugene Bean. 
 1904 — Eugene Bean. 
 1906 — Frank Sellman. 
 1908 — Frank Sellman. 
 19 TO — H. S. Rayburn.
 
 g() JASPKK COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 PROSECUTING ATTORN KVS. 
 
 183 i_H. J. Skiff. 1 85r)— William B. Sloan. 
 
 1853— J. N. Edgar. 1857— D. L. Clark. 
 
 Following this came the office of district attorney, which did away 
 w ith the office of prosecuting attorney. 
 
 SUPERINTB^TDENT OF SCHOOLS. 
 
 1858— Albert Lufkin. 1887— J. \V. Iliff. 
 
 1862— James Porter. 1889— C. O. McClain. 
 
 1864— D. Thomas. 1891— C. O. McClain. 
 
 1866— David Craig. 1893— ^^I. A. Walsh. 
 
 1868— Sanford J. Moyer. 1895— Minnie A. Walsh. 
 
 1872— C. D. Hipsley. 1897— E. C. Meredith. 
 
 1876 — W. G. Work. 1899 — Libbie Dean. 
 
 1878 — M. A. Mayfield. 1901 — Libbie Dean. 
 
 1879 — R- -^- ^lathews. 1903 — J. E. Roberts. 
 
 ]88i— R. A. Mathews. 1906— Laura W. Killduff. 
 
 1883 — Daniel Miller. 1909 — Olive Shriner. 
 1885— Daniel Miller. 
 
 SCHOOL FUND COMMISSIONERS. 
 
 This was an office that was abolished when that of superintendent of 
 schools was created in 1858. The commissioners were: 1851, Jesse Rick- 
 man: 1853. T[arve\- J. Skiff; 1857. James G. Afeek. 
 
 COUNTY SUPERVISORS. 
 
 The governing power of all Iowa counties since i86t, when the one- 
 man-power county-judge system was shorn of its authority, has been 
 vested in the board of supervisors. Up to about 1871 there was one su- 
 pervisor from each township within the county, but at that time it was 
 changed to three and sometimes five (according to population) for the en- 
 tire county, the same representing districts, in which they must reside. 
 Under the former supervisor system the list in Jasper county was : 
 
 1861 — David McCord, chairman; William N. Harrah. C. M. Davis, 
 Morris Cating, Salem Jeffries. Reuben Johnson. John McCracken, G. W.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 97 
 
 Chinn, Caleb Jordan, James E. Butler, A. G. Groves, William G. Romans, 
 Perry Matteson, Elisha Flaiigh, George Ryati. 
 
 1862 — David McCord, chairman; Reuben Johnson, James Shaw, 
 Joseph Dodd, Salem Jeffries, E. Flaugh. .V. McDonald, William N. Harrah, 
 Caleb Jordan, R. L. McCroy, \\\ G. Romans, John McCracken, James E. 
 Butler, A. G. Groves, IMorris Gating, C. M. Davis. 
 
 1863 — E. Flaugh, chairman; J. E. Butler, D. McCord, Reuben John- 
 son, Isaac Porter, Nicholas Graffis, \\"m. X. Harrah, Caleb Jordan, James 
 Shaw, Salem Jeffries, Manly Gifford, F. Gary, A. W. McDonald, Joseph 
 Dodd. Levi Plummer. 
 
 1864— C. M. Davis. M. Griffis, Thomas Haskett, Manly Gifford. R. B. 
 Dawson. J. A. Killin. A. W. ]VlcDonald. L. Plummer, E. H. Bartow, C. 
 Jordan, D. McCord, J. McCracken, J. E. Butler, J. Dodd, George Ryan, 
 W. N. Harrah, chairman. 
 
 1865 — Joseph Dodd, George Ryan, John Taylor, R. S. Williams, 
 Thomas Haskett. R. B. Dawson, John Sumpter, John A. Fillin, A. W. Mc- 
 Donald, E. H. Bartow, P. H. Doud, Caleb Jordan, John Breeden, C. M. 
 Davis, W. R. Skiff, James E. Butler, John Taylor, W. N. Harrah, chair- 
 man. 
 
 1866— E. H. Bartow, chairman; A\'. R. Skiff, Joseph Dodd, C. M. 
 Davis, John Taylor, Joel Osgood. James Shaw. M. W. Atwood, P. H. 
 Doud, William R. McCully, James E, Butler, John Breeden, James Rhine- 
 hart. R. B. Dawson. Henry Hammer, Wesley Davis, R. S. Williams. 
 
 1867 — C. M. Davis, chairman; M. W. Atwood, Henry Hammer, Jacob 
 Kipp, W. Davis, G. W. Shafer, J. F. Lamb, G. W. Chinn, Addison White, 
 James Shaw. H. C. Peer, E. H. Bartow, J. G. Mudgett, Joseph Dodd, Salem 
 Jeffries, J. F. Beatty. D. Edmundson. 
 
 1868 — C. ^L Davis, chairman: \\'esley Davis, J. J. Mudgett, Henry Ham- 
 mer, J. F. Lamb. J. P. Beaty, H. C. Peer, J. Kipp. Joseph Dodd, Addison 
 White, A. W. McDonald, D. Edmundson, William J. Rippey, G. W. Chinn, 
 E. H. Bartow, Thomas Peer, Riley Ashley. 
 
 1869 — Riley Ashley, Jacob Kipp, J. L. Smith, J. L. Laughlin, H. C. 
 Peer. Addison White, C. M. Davis, chairman. 
 
 1870 — J. P. Beatty, Reuben Johnson, J. L. Smith, C. M. Davis, J. C. 
 Hiatt. E. Ross, George Harst, J. I-. Laughlin, A. W. McDonald, A. J. 
 Hamilton. \Y. Carrothers, J. Kipp, C. D. Conwell, Wesley Davis, H. C. 
 Peer. F. E. Phelps. D. P. Craven. A. White, D. Edmundson. chairman. 
 
 1871 — Elisha Flaugh, chairman: A. W. McDonald. George Harst. 
 
 (7)
 
 ^8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Under the later system of the 1871 code, this county has had but 
 three supervisors, the county^ being divided into supervisor districts. Those 
 serving as such have been: 
 
 1872 — George Harst, chairman; Daniel Arnold, John C. Hiatt. 
 1873 — George Harst, chairman; Daniel Arnold, John Burton. 
 1874 — Daniel Arnold, chairman; John Burton, W. G. Romans. 
 187^ — W. G. Romans, chairman; John Burton, Jesse Slavins. 
 1876 — W. G. Romans, chairman; Jesse Slavins, C. N. Doane. 
 1877 — S. G. Butters, chairman. Jesse Slavin. C. N, Doane. 
 1878 — S. G. Butters, chairman; C. N. Doane, Daniel Arnold. 
 1879 — B. W. Brown, long term. 
 1 88 1 — Henry S. Effnor, long term. 
 From this time on one supervisor was elected each year as follows : 
 
 1882— A. R Smith. 1895— ^^'. J. Miller. 
 
 1883 — William Byall. 1896 — John T. \\^inters. 
 
 1884 — John Roberts. 1897 — Ed Cook. 
 
 1885— James Stark. 1898— W. J. Miller. 
 
 1886— William Byall. 1899— C. T. Shill. 
 
 1887— E. H. Burton. i90C^G. C. Hart. 
 
 1888 — James Stark. 1901 — William Dentsch. 
 
 1889— W. H. Daft. 1902— C. T. Shill. 
 
 1890 — J. C. Donahey. 1903 — Geo. C. Hart. 
 
 1891 — Alfred Davey. 1904 — J. H. Hise. 
 
 1892— W. H. Daft. 1906— F. J. Klise. 
 
 1893 — J. C. Donahey. 1908 — D. S. Fleck, G. W. Parsons. 
 
 1894 — Alfred Davey. 1910 — \\'. O. Livingston. 
 
 TOWNSHIP OFFICERS I9II-I2. 
 
 Justices of the Peace — Hickory Grove township, A. H. Palmer; Inde- 
 pendence, W. R. Vandike; Independence, Harry Hazlett; Newton, M. J. 
 Carey; Newton, J. W. Allfree; K'ellogg, F. L. Phipps, Kellogg, J. N. Stuart; 
 Richland, H. Laskewitz; Buena Vista, P. C. Welle; Mound Prairie. Will- 
 iam Mabie; Mound Prairie, William Gist; Washington. W. H. Hagendorn; 
 Washington, P. H. Cragan : Des Moines, T. J. Cowman; Des Moines, F. E. 
 Cooper: Fairview. M. W. Bateman; Elk Creek. A. J. Hayes; Lynn Grove, 
 J, H. Shaw; Lynn Grove, R. L, Sparks.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 99 
 
 Townfehip Clerks — Hickory Grove, Frank Beatty ; Mariposa, T, O. 
 Sheek; Malaka, L. H. Weseman; Independence, R. M. Lane; Clear Creek, 
 J. A. Leonard; Poweshiek, L. C. Westfall; Sherman, J. H. Mallicoat; New- 
 ton, G. W. Edge; Kellogg, H. S. Roth; Rock Creek, W. H. Burroughs; 
 Richland, V. B. Bailey ; Buena Vista, R. F. Agar ; Palo Alto, R. L. Rees ; 
 Mound Prairie, W. S. Westbrook; Washington, Ira J. Mead; Des Moines, 
 Hugh G. Little: Fairview. W. M. Livingston; Elk Creek, W. D. McKinney; 
 Lynn Grove, C. F. Briggs. 
 
 supervisors' districts. 
 
 District Xo. i — Clear Creek, Poweshiek, IMalaka, ^Mariposa. Sherman, 
 
 Independence, north one-half of Newton. 
 
 1 
 District No. 2 — Hickory Grove, Rock Creek, Kellogg, Richland, Buena 
 
 Vista, Lynn Grove, south one-half of Newton. 
 
 District No. 3 — Elk Creek, Washington, Mound Prairie, Palo Alto, 
 
 Fairview, Des Moines.
 
 CHAPTER VIII. 
 
 AGRICULTURE, HORTICULTURE AND STOCKRAISING. 
 
 The United States is an agricultural country; Iowa is classed as one 
 of the best agricultural states, and Jasper county is considered among the 
 most advanced agricultural counties within the state of Iowa. Here the 
 farmer is king. By the aid of improved machinery, he is able to draw from 
 this, the richest soil on earth, an abundance of all that is produced by suc- 
 cessful agriculturists, fruit-growers and stock raisers. It may be said 
 that outside the lively manufacturing industries at Newton and other points 
 within Jasper county, and the fairly good mining interests, that the county 
 is purely a farming section, where the farmer has grown rich, comfortable 
 and happy in the thought that he has l^een able to provide for his own family 
 and at the same time produce enough to feed the vast army of men and 
 women in Eastern countries who have to depend on the West and its rich 
 soil for about all they consume. Especially has corn been successful here. 
 For a number of years Jasper won the banner for raising the most corn of 
 any of the ninety-nine counties in Iowa, Polk, Pottawattamie, Page and Har- 
 rison being the only real rivals for honors. 
 
 The state census compendium for 1905 — the last official document on 
 these matters — gave the following on Jasper county : 
 
 "Population 1900. 26,900; area in square miles, 720; county settled 
 in 1843; produced in 1905 — Bushels corn, 5,587,482; bushels wheat, 64,863; 
 bushels oats, 1,287,410; bushels barley, 57,854; bushels ry-e, 3,289; tons 
 clover, 4.192; tons timothy, 49-999; tons millet, 950; tons wild hay. 3.81 1; 
 bushels clover seed, 367; bushels timothy seed, 4.706; bushels potatoes, 
 209.369 ; bushels sweet potatoes, 2,438 ; bushels sweet corn, 24,046 ; eggs and 
 poultry. $272,323; dairy products, $306,201; fruits. $117,985; value farm 
 animals. $3,236,468; value railroad and other corporations, .$3,704,276; value 
 personal property, $9,438,984; value of lands, $22,882,960; value of town 
 lots, $4,734,820; total value. $40,761,040.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 101 
 
 YIELD PER ACRE, RAINFALL, ETC. 
 
 Since 1890 the average yield per acre for the ordinary crops in Jasper 
 county has been as follows : 
 
 1890 — Corn, thirty bushels; wheat, twelve bushels: oats, seventeen 
 bushels ; barley, thirty-five bushels : potatoes, forty-five bushels ; hay, two 
 tons. 
 
 1891 — Corn, forty-four bushels: wheat, fourteen bushels: oats, forty- 
 one bushels: 1)arley. thirty-six bushels: potatoes, one hundred and sixtv-two 
 bushels : hay, two tons. 
 
 1892 — Corn, thirty-one bushels; wheat, eleven bushels; oats, twenty- 
 nine bushels; barley, twenty- four bushels; potatoes, fifty-seven bushels: hay, 
 one ton and a half. 
 
 189^^ — Corn, thirty-nine bushels; wheat, eleven bushels: oats, twenty- 
 four bushels; barley, twenty-five bushels; potatoes, seventy- four 'bushels; 
 hay, one and seven-tenths tons. 
 
 1894 — Corn, thirteen bushels: Avheat. twelve bushels: oats, twenty bush- 
 els: barley, fifteen bushels: potatoes, fifty-six Imshels : hay. one-half ton. 
 
 1895 — Corn, forty-seven bushels: wheat, eighteen bushels; oats, fifty- 
 one bushels : barley, twenty-four bushels ; potatoes, one hundred and twenty- 
 two bushels: hay. one ton and a half. 
 
 1896 — Corn, forty-four bushels: wheat, fourteen bushels: oats, twenty 
 bushels ; barley, twenty-five bushels : potatoes, eighty-one bushels : hay, two 
 tons. 
 
 1897 — Corn, thirty-one bushels: wheat, thirteen bushels: oats, thirty 
 bushels : barley, twenty-four bushels : potatoes, sixty bushels : hay. one and 
 eight-tenths tons. 
 
 1898 — Corn, thirty-two Imshels: wheat, sixteen bushels: oats, thirty- 
 one bushels: barley, thirty bushels: potatoes, ninety-three bushels: hay. four 
 and four-tenths tons. 
 
 1899 — Corn, forty-five bushels: wheat, sixteen bushels: oats, forty-two 
 bushels : barley, thirty bushels ; potatoes, ninety-three bushels : hay. one and 
 a half tons. 
 
 1900 — Corn, forty-three bushels: wheat, eighteen bu.shels : oats, twenty- 
 nine bu.shels: barley, twenty- four bushels: potatoes, seventy- four bushels: 
 hay. one and six-tenths tons. 
 
 1901 — Corn, thirtv bushels: wheat, fifteen bushels: oats, twent^'-six 
 bushels ; barley, twenty-eight bushels : potatoes, fifty-five bushels : hay. one 
 and six-tenths tons.
 
 I02 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 1902 — Corn, thirty-seven bushels; wheat, twelve bushels; oats, twenty- 
 six bushels: barley, twenty-eight bushels; potatoes, fifty-three bushels; hay, 
 one and eight-tenths tons. 
 
 The averages for all these years has been — Corn, thirty-five bushels 
 per acre; wheat, fourteen bushels; oats, thirty-one; barley, twenty-six bush- 
 els: potatoes, seventy-eight bushels; hay, one and six-tenths tons. 
 
 i 
 RAINFALL FROM MAY 1ST TO SEPTEMBER 1ST. 
 
 1893, fifteen inches: 1894, seven inches; 1895, twenty inches; 1896, 
 twenty-seven and a half inches; 1897, eight and three-quarters inches; 1898, 
 fourteen inches; 1899, fifteen inches; 1900, twenty-one inches; 1901, ten 
 inches; 1902, twenty-nine inches. 
 
 The average rainfall for these years was sixteen and eighty-seven hun- 
 dredths inches. The greatest crops were produced in the year when there 
 was the greatest rainfall, 1896. 
 
 A(;RICULTrRAL SOCIETIES. 
 
 The Jasper County Agricultural Society dates its history from 1855, 
 during which year a county fair was held near the house of Da\id Edmund- 
 son, in a tent made of cloth borrowed for that purpose. A membership fee 
 was charged, which enabled the society to pay its little premium list. One 
 hundred and thirty-six premiums were awarded at the fourth fair held by 
 this society. Mrs. McCord showed the best grade of butter and Mrs. E. 
 Guthrie the best loaf of bi'ead. Evan Adamson was the sole exhibitor of 
 apples grown within Jasper county. 
 
 The officers of the society in 1858 were: C. M. Davis, president; R. 
 Shearer. J. \\\ Blackwood, vice-piesidents: H. S. Winslow, secretary; P. S. 
 Ritter. treasurer: C. Taylor, John Litner, Z. Mendenhall. E. S. Winslow, A. 
 Hursh. Stephen Xeedham, E. \\'. Cozard. \\'i11iam Mann. E. D. Duncan. R. 
 S. Williams, managers. 
 
 Tn 1859 one hundred and thirteen premiums were awarded. Only one 
 bull was exhibited that could give an authentic pedigree. The only fruit on 
 public exhibition was a specimen of fine grapes by D. E. Longfellow. 
 
 The society harl for its president in 1860 A. Failor. with D. E. Long- 
 fellow as secretary. 
 
 In December, 1859, an effort was made to secure .suitable fair grounds 
 for the annual exhibition of Jasper county ])roducts, and at a Januarv meet-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. IO3 
 
 ing of that year it was resolved to enclose ten acres of the intended purchase 
 with a fence seven feet high. It was also then decided to pay sixty cents on 
 a dollar of the premiums awarded in October. The receipts had been one 
 hundred thirty-two dollars and twenty-five cents and the expenditures eightv- 
 four dollars and forty-six cents, leaving a balance on hand of forty-seven 
 dollars and forty-nine cents. 
 
 The fair of i860 was a decided improvement over the 1859 exhibition, 
 the number of entries being three hundred and seventy -one. Adamson 
 showed some good varieties of home-grown apples and Longfellow some 
 fine grapes, while E. B. Johnson's display of small fruits was excellent. 
 Twelve thoroughbred cattle were enclosed in the pens of entries. A trotting 
 match was run and a span of mules drew six thousand two hundred and 
 thirty-eight pounds. The cash receipts that year was one hundred eighty- 
 four dollars and thirty-five cents. 
 
 What was styled the Central Iowa District Association was held at 
 Newton in August. 186 1. It may be of some interest at this remote date to 
 note the receipts and expenditures for this fair. 
 
 Receipts — 
 
 Four hundred and seven membership tickets $ 407.00 
 
 Single tickets 607.00 
 
 Restaurant receipts 80.15 
 
 Per cent 223.10 
 
 Rent of grounds 15.00 
 
 From State of Iowa 200.00 
 
 Total $io32-35 
 
 Expenditures — 
 
 Premiums awarded $1,346.25 
 
 Paid repairs to fence, stalls, etc 54-00 
 
 Paid lumber bill 70.28 
 
 Paid privies, police, gate hands, etc 126.27 
 
 Paid printing 12.00 
 
 Paid Mrs. Sanford labor 5.00 
 
 Paid Treasurer's assistant and expenses 3.00 
 
 Total St .628.80
 
 104 JASfliR COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 One of the interesting, exciting and novel exhibits of the occasion was 
 the cooking match in which ^liss Hattie Winslow. aged fourteen years, won 
 the premium of eight dollars offered by the society to the person who could 
 cook a meal of victuals in the least time, in the best manner. In forty-eight 
 minutes she prepared the following dishes, which were enjoyed greatly by 
 the committee on awards: Warm biscuits, fried chicken, tomatoes, pota- 
 toes, cabbage, tea and coffee. 
 
 Coming down to a little later date, it is discovered by the records that 
 in June. 1875, the society purchased an addition to the old grounds, paying 
 for the same the sum of one thousand three hundred dollars, and again in 
 Tune, 1881. a nine-acre tract additional, costing the society one thousand 
 "fifty dollars. This makes the present (1911) fair grounds to contain almost 
 thirty-six acres of ground, just south of th€ city proper, on high rolling land 
 and amid sightly surroundings, where are annually held the county fairs and 
 also the circuses, etc.. which from time to time come to Newton. 
 
 The following have served as presidents and secretaries of the agri- 
 cultural society: Rev. Thomas Merrill. 1855, president, and A. Failon. sec- 
 retary; (the president's name will come first in this list) James Deland, A. 
 Failor, 1856: C. M. Davis. IT. S. Winslow, 1858; the records are deficient 
 until 1860. when the president was A. Failor, secretary. Thomas Arthur; A. 
 Failor, Thomas Arthur. 1861 ; William R. Skiff. J. A. TTarris, 1862; William 
 R. Skiff, J. A. Harris. 1863; William R. Skifl'. J. J. Vaughan, 1864; A. Car- 
 rier. J. J. \^aughan, 1865: A. K. Emerson. J. J. Vaughan, t866; A. K. omer- 
 sun. J. J. N'aughan. 1867; Capt. J. H. Tait. F. W. Allum. 1868: A. Failor. 
 L. \\'. Allum. 7869; A. Failor. F. W. Allum. 1870: A. Failor. William R. 
 McCullv. 1871 ; another break in the records; A. K. Emerson. John W. Al- 
 free. 1886; A. K. Emerson. A. K. Failor. 1887; A. F. Harrah. A. Failor, 
 1888; A. Tx. Emerson. J. J. A^aughan. 1889; C. N. Doane, J. J. Vaughan, 
 1890; A. L. Harrah. J. J \^aughan. 1891 ; A L. Harrah, Arthur J. Wright, 
 1892; A. F. Harrah, Arthur J. Wright. 1893; H. D. Parsons. Arthur J. 
 Wright. 1894; H. D. Parsons. J. R. Crawford. 1895; T^. D. Parsons, J. R. 
 Crawford. 1896: H. D. Parsons. S. G. Russell. 1897; H. D. Parsons, A. 
 Failor, 1898; H. D. Parsons, A. Failor, 1899; H. D. Parsons. I. C. Khrf, 
 iQoo; H. D. Parsons. I. C. T\orf. 1901 ; W. J. Miller. C. W. Campbell. 1902; 
 A. Stewart. C. W. Campbell. K)03 : same in 1904-5; Fouie Aillaud, E. E. 
 Fambcrt. 1906: Fouie .\illaud. Emma Fufkin. 1907; Fouie Aillaud, E. F. 
 McMurray. 1908: C. F. Saucrman. J. H. dribbon. 1909; C. F. Sauerman, F 
 E. Meredith. 1910-1 1.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I05 
 
 These annual fairs have always been kept alive and much interest has 
 been manifested \\ith the passing years. The present grounds are well im- 
 proved and contain all that can be desired by exhibitors anywhere. Good 
 premiums are offered each year and a large attendance usually obtains, be 
 the weather fair or otherwise. 
 
 The following are the officers for the present season : President, C. F. 
 Sauerman : vice-president, J. C. Haiffeigh : secretary. F. E. Meredith : treas- 
 urer. Joe Horn. The directors elected to serve one year are X. J. Morgart, 
 Hickorv Grove: J. W. Jeffries. Des Moines township; J. P. Taylor. Lynn 
 Grove township; Tleorge Moore. Kellogg township; H. D. Parsons. Malaka 
 township; Mike Hummell. Fairview township; Louie Aillaud. Xewton town- 
 ship ; O. J. Turner. Rock Creek township ; William Carrier, at-large. Those 
 elected for a term of two years are C. \\'. Craven, Mariposa township; B. F. 
 Baker, Clear Creek township; E. E. Dotson. Washington township; Fred 
 Hager, Independence township; D. E. Donahey. Xewton township; R. B. 
 Yowell, Des Moines township; L. C. Watts, Richland township. Those 
 elected for a term of three years are F. H. Russell. Xewton; H. C. Strater, 
 Fairview township; H. L. ]\loffitt, Sherman township; W. A. Livingston. 
 Buena Vista township : John Meyer. Palo Alto township : Fred C. Andreas. 
 Elk Creek township; E. L. Duncan, Poweshiek township; W. J. Miller. 
 Mount Prairie township. 
 
 Among the more recent improvements made at the fair grounds may be 
 mentioned the new track built in 1910, said now to be the best half-mile track 
 in Iowa. 
 
 PRAIRIE CITY AGRICULTURAL .SOCIETY. 
 
 In 1870 a society known by the above name was organized at Prairie 
 Citv. in this county. Perhaps no better statement can be made, at this late 
 late, of this fair than that written in the XcTi'fon Jounml by its editor, who 
 was in attendance and wrote as follows: 
 
 'Tn company with about one hundred and fifty others from Xewton. we 
 were at Prairie City at the fair last Thursday. With good roads and fair 
 weather, the drive thither was one of the most pleasant that we know of. 
 \\'e found a large number of people on the grounds, not less than two thou- 
 sand at one time during the day. The number of entries was about five 
 hundred. There was an excellent showing of fine large horses, but few cat- 
 tle, one pen of sheep, and quite a fair showing of hogs. In Floral Hall were 
 to be seen some excellent specimens of flowers and the handiwork of ladies.
 
 106 JASl'EK COL' N TV. U)\VA. 
 
 The trotting race in the afternoon was indeed exciting and closely contested, 
 being won by Tirapevine.' owned by D. C. Gifford. Governor Kellogg failed 
 to arrive, but the balloon went up about five o'clock. All day the weather 
 had been threatening, and at a little after five the rain came down in tor- 
 rents and continued until about midnight. The experience of many of our 
 people in getting home through the rain is laughable to relate, and all agree 
 that the visit to the Prairie City fair this year could not be set down as a dry 
 time." 
 
 Two hundred and fifty-eight premiums were awarded to exhibitors on 
 the al>ove occasion. After a time this association went down and now Xew- 
 ton has the only annual exhi1:)ition in the county. 
 
 PATRONS OF HUSBAXnRY. 
 
 This was an order that sprang into existence perforce of the very 
 needs of that time, and which was. not as has been supposed by some, a 
 failure in the broader sense of the word, for through it the legislative bodies, 
 both state and national, were induced to listen to the petitions of farmers 
 and laborers in general. Many of the present-day reforms have been made 
 possible by the work of what was termed the ''Grange.'' or Patrons of Hus- 
 bandr\\ movement. This movement was organized and in good working 
 form early in the seventies, but in Jasper county it had reached its greatest 
 strength in 1874. when there were about sixty well organized Granges in 
 operation. Its primary object was to make higher the standard of living 
 among the farming classes of America. When it was fairly known what its 
 true aim and object was, there were designing men. men who had been thus 
 far a failure in life's conflict, and who hoped to gain by Ixx-oming identified 
 with the new movement, who sought and in many cases were admitted to the 
 Granges. Xo sooner had the order been well founded than tliere was one 
 element who desired at once to do away with the "middle men" of this 
 countr\- and take upon themseUes the duties of running retail and whole- 
 sale stores, mills, creameries and farm implement factories and warehouses. 
 They also sought to enter the political arena and have a direct voice in legis- 
 lation, all of which was highly ])rnper. in a way. but as it was managed it 
 proved too much of a task for a new-born order to successfullv carrv out. 
 TTence instead of the real object, that of teaching farmers a better method of 
 <l()ing things, it really came to be a hot-bed for political wire-pullers and 
 office-seekers to feather their own nests, to the detriment of the masses of 
 the membership of the Grange. To this class r)f men must lie charged the
 
 JASPER COUXTY, TOWA. lO/ 
 
 final downfall of the great order of Patrons of Husbandry in this country, 
 including the numerous Granges in Jasper county. By 1878 the numl>er of 
 Granges in this county had decreased to about fifteen. 
 
 Among the many good results of the Jasper County Grange may be 
 mentioned the formation of a Farmers' Mutual Fire Insurance Company, in 
 1874. with E. N. Gates as president; J. \\\ Alfree. secretary; H. L. Moffatt, 
 treasurer, with directors from each to\\nsliip in this county. 
 
 Another feature of the Patrons of Husbandry here was the establish- 
 ment of the Jasper County Co-operative Association, formed also in 1874. 
 with its chief place of transacting its business at Newton. The first .stock- 
 holders were J. W. Murphy, J. W. Alfree, James Lee, H. L. Mofifatt and 
 Caleb Lamb. The paid-up capital was four thousand seven hundred dollars. 
 This was more fortunate than most of the "Grange stores" in the country, 
 in that it made some net profit each year during its existence. 
 
 An ele\ator was erected at ]\Ionroe, this county, in 1873 by the Patrons 
 in that locality, and it was owned and operated by them two years and more, 
 when the property was sold without loss to the stockholders. 
 
 In the earlv months of 1874. when word came from the distressed and 
 destitute settlers of northwestern Iowa, asking for help for the hundreds 
 who had lost heavily by reason of the grasshopper scourge, none gave more 
 lil)erally than memljers of the Granges in Jasper county. And again, when 
 the cry went up from drouth-stricken Kansas and Nebraska the year fol- 
 lowing, car load after car load of grain and clothing and provisions were 
 sent from here, as well as large sums of ready cash. Surely in the last day. 
 when the motives and virtues of all men's hearts shall be made manifest, 
 the names of the members of these Granges in Jasper county shall be re- 
 corded as ha\ing done what they could for their brother farmers in distress 
 and want. 
 
 •Times changed, more equal laws were made concerning freight rates, 
 warehouse privileges, etc.. and one by one the Granges dropped out of exist- 
 ence until the order, once so thriving, went down. But in its stead, came 
 many farmers' clubs and other associations by which the mutual efforts of 
 farmers have Ijeen the means of doing much good in both social and indus- 
 trial wax s. The farmer has at last learned that he has plenty to do to farm 
 after improved methods and the business man has learned a lesson taught 
 him bv the Granger movement, that it is l>est to not exact too great a profit 
 on the goods he seeks to sell to the toiling masses of agriculturists in this 
 country. !More and more, the American farmer is coming to be looked upon 
 as holding the balance of ix)wer in his hands. His present bank account is
 
 io8 jasim:r couxtv, iowa. 
 
 causing even Wall street to "sit up and take notice," and in times of panics 
 he has only to keep a cool head and plow corn in Jasper county to be one of 
 earth's independent kings. 
 
 At this writing (1911) there are but a few Granges operating in this 
 county, which includes the one known as the old Buena Vista Grange, which 
 has always kept up its organization, This Grange was organized in August, 
 1872. bv the late -\ndrew Failor. at the home of J. W. Murphy, who was 
 its first worthy master. This Grange owns a good hall at Adamson's Grove, 
 well lighted and heated. Its table seats forty-two persons. Between seventy- 
 five and one hundred persons still belong to this order in Buena Vista town- 
 ship. Meetings are held each month and members are constantly being 
 added. This always was one of the strongest Granges in Jasper county. It 
 was here that was set on foot the present Farmers' Institute, as well as the 
 Farmers' Co-operative Mutual Telephone System.
 
 CHAPTER IX. 
 
 RAILROADS AND EARLY TRANSPORTATION. 
 
 There is no internal improvement that has done so much to develop the 
 country as its railroads. The printing press, the railroad and the electric 
 telegraph wire, combined with the later telephone systems, certainly moved 
 the world as Archimedes little dreamed it could be moved. Up to within 
 about a half century, all new countries were required to be opened by the 
 hardv pioneers, and their agricultural and mineral resources well developed 
 before the capitalists would invest their money in building railroads. Now 
 railroads are first built and the people follow on by freight and passenger 
 train transportation. Jasper county was not so fortunate as to have been 
 provided wdth railroads in advance of its first settlement, but long, weari- 
 some years were endured before the stage coach and freighting wagons were 
 superseded by the iron horse speeding over the iron and steel rails of a 
 steam railway. But today the "Kingdom of Jasper" is crossed and recrossed 
 by a network of railways that afford ample transportation for all that comes 
 from the richness of the soil, and from its mineral deposits, as well as its 
 vast manufacturing industries, the raw and completed materials of which 
 come in and go out by rail in vast quantities. 
 
 FIRST RAILROAD PROJECT. 
 
 The county judge of this county in October, 1853, ordered an election 
 on the question of railroads, which reads as follows : 
 
 "Ordered, that there be an election held in Jasper county, Iowa, on 
 Monday, the 21st day of November, 1853, submitting the question whether 
 the countv of Jasper will aid in the construction of the Lyons Iowa Central 
 railroad by subscribing to the capital stock forty thousand dollars." 
 
 This election was ordered upon the petition of one-fourth of the legal 
 voters within the county. Bonds were to be issued, running twenty years, 
 and no monev was to be paid over until that amount of work had been per- 
 formed within Jasper county by said railroad company. The rate of in-
 
 no JASPER COrXTY. IOWA. 
 
 terest to be paid on bonds thus issued was seven per cent, llie people were 
 to be taxed seven mills on a dollar each year for ten years and ten mills 
 each year for the remaining ten years. 
 
 This election resulted in a vote of one hundred eighty-nine for and one 
 hundred forty-nine votes against the proposition. The road was never 
 built, however, so it remains to be seen when Jasper county did really gain 
 her first railway line. 
 
 But before coming to that climax, the reader may be interested in 
 knowing of other attempts at railroad projects in the county. November 20, 
 1856. a petition was presented to the county judge, signed by more than the 
 required one- fourth of the voters of the county, asking that a proposition be 
 submitted at an election, authorizing the judge of the county to subscribe 
 two hundred thousand dollars to the capital stock of the Mississippi & Mis- 
 souri Railroad Company. The election was set for December 30. 1856. 
 The proposition was to carry with it twenty-year bonds, drawing ten per 
 cent, interest. The result at the election was decidedly against the measure, 
 the \ote standing seven hundred seven against and two hundred fourteen 
 for the subscription. Every township in the county went against it, save 
 Newton alone, and in the townships of Lynn Grove, Elk Creek, Fairview and 
 Clear Creek not a single vote was cast for the railroad company. It is said 
 that the farming communities outside went against this to get even with 
 Newton for not voting them licenses for selling liquor — they wanted much 
 in those early days for rattlesnake bites ! 
 
 Another railroad proposition was defeated July 25, 1857, the vote 
 standing seven hundred twenty-eight for and eight hundred two against the 
 railroad. This was also for the proposed Mississippi & ]\Iissouri line, asking- 
 two hundred thousand dollars in lx)nds. 
 
 The next date for the railway proposition to come before the taxpayers 
 of Jasper county was March 4. 1858, when the county judge ordered an 
 election to decide whether the people wanted to vote aid to the Mississippi & 
 Missouri line in the amount of fifty thousand dollars. This election, held 
 April 5, 1858, was decided against the proposition by a vote of seven hun- 
 dred fifty for and eight hundred fifty-seven against. 
 
 IOWA LAND GRANTS. 
 
 The congressional act of May 15, 1856, granting lands for the purpose 
 of constructing railroads in this state, included the following trunk lines: 
 Burlington & Missouri River, 287,000 acres of land ; Mississippi & Missouri
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. Ill 
 
 River, 774.000 acres of land ; Cedar Rapids & Missouri River, 775,000 acres 
 of land: Dubuque & Sioux City railroad, 1,226,000 acres of land. 
 
 By this same act of Congress, the Mississippi & Missouri line was au- 
 thorized to transfer and assign all or any part of the grant to any other com- 
 pany or person, "if in the opinion of said company, the construction of said 
 railroad across the state of Iowa would be thereby sooner and more satisfac- 
 torily completed."' 
 
 But greater still was the "graft" of the act of Congress in August. 
 1846. which provided for the navigation of the Des Moines river, and in 
 payment for same undertaking the Des ]\Ioines River Navigation Companv 
 was to receive two hundred and se\"enty-one thousand acres of valuable land 
 on either side the stream, the same being each alternate section. 
 
 Then, in 1855. when it was seen that the navigation scheme would not 
 prove a success, they got Congress to juggle the case over, so that a railroad 
 company might be built and thus utilize the proceeds of the land grant. The 
 newly formed company was styled the Des Moines River Improvement & 
 Railroad Company. After more than thirty years of litigation, in the courts 
 of the country and in Congress, the case was finally settled by the commis- 
 sion appointed by Congress to adjust the matter. Many improvements had 
 been made on these lands by innocent purchasers and the company ejected 
 many of the families. This went on as far north on the river as the grant 
 extended, which was to Fort Dodge. \\'ebster county settlers were the 
 greatest sufferers. One steamboat went as far north as Fort Dodge, on the 
 high water of 1857, but no more was seen of steamboating on the river. 
 Several sections of this river land, as it was styled, was in Des Moines and 
 Fairview townships of Jasper county. 
 
 Having expended just enough money to partly complete locks and dams 
 along the stream, to control the lands granted by Congress, the company 
 became bankrupt (?) and transferred its title to the Keokuk. Des Moines & 
 Minnesota Railroad Company. This company, in about i860, commenced 
 the building of a railroad along the banks of the Des Moines. Three years 
 later the corporation was changed to the Des Moines Valley Railroad Com- 
 pany, and under that corporate name the road was finished to Fort Dodge. 
 
 This was the first railroad completed in Jasper county. The date was 
 late in 1863. The first freight, a car of lumber, was landed at Monroe 
 November 24, 1865. The next spring it reached Prairie City and in August, 
 that year, it reached Des ]\Ioines. 
 
 In 1873 the companv went into bankruptcy and was sold to others. The 
 line between Keokuk and Des Moines was afterwards known as the Keokuk
 
 112 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 & Des Moines railroad. The last named corporation Ijecanie involved and 
 in 1878 it passed intt) the hands of the great Rock Island system. Including 
 its connection with the ri\er land project, for making the river a navigable 
 stream, this is the oldest railway corporation in Iowa. 
 
 THE CHICAGO. ROCK ISLAND & PACIFIC. 
 
 This highway entered Iowa by reason of a lease from the old Missis- 
 sippi & ]\Iissouri railroad, already mentioned as having been given aid 
 through the great land grant of 1856, along with several other trunk lines 
 across the domain of Iowa. Yet, without these grants it might have been 
 manv years longer before the pioneer settler would have heard the neigh of 
 an iron horse. 
 
 Like all other early roads, this one made slow progress in getting 
 through to the Missouri river at Council Bluffs. In 1858 it had reached 
 Iowa Citv, where it stopped several years for lack of business and funds 
 with which to complete its lines. During the middle of the Civil war 
 period, about 1863, ^^ork was resumed, and "will reach Newton in ninety 
 days" was heard several years, and finally, in 1867, it did reach this point. 
 The oft-repeated defeats of the company at the hands of the people of Jas- 
 per county proved but the part of wisdom when later decisions of the 
 United States and state courts held that the bonds asked for in aid of such 
 an enterprise would have been null and void for lack of constitutionality. 
 
 In May, 1867, Newton had her first train service and the road was 
 pushed on to Des Moines in the same year. 
 
 Not long after this the old company went into the hands of a receiver, 
 in the person of that once well known, highly respected banker, B. F. Allen, 
 w^io in handling the large amounts entrusted to him invested in personal 
 enterprises, and in the end became a bankrupt himself, and many think 
 went down to his grave in dishonor. After this the road was operated and 
 finally owned by the Riock Island corporation, and is today one link in its 
 long and powerful system — a part of its main line. Another branch of this 
 railroad is what was formerly called the 
 
 NEWTON & MONROE RAILROAD. 
 
 For a short line route, this railroad has had a checkered career. It 
 was started by the coal mining interests found in the southern part of Jas- 
 per county, in 1863-4, when F. H. Griggs, of Davenport, invested in a large
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. II3 
 
 tract of this coal land, situated three or four miles to the south of Newton. 
 In 1 87 1 a local company was formed for the purpose of building down into 
 the mining district from Newton. It was called the Jasper County Coal and 
 Railroad Company, with Griggs as its president. 
 
 In 1 87 1 a company known as the Chicago, Newton & Southwestern 
 was organized, and the old coal road company contracted to build the same 
 for them. No bonus was asked for this road. 
 
 About the same date there was still another railroad enterprise formed 
 on paper, largely, that of the Iowa, Minnesota & Northern Pacific, having a 
 capital of twelve million dollars back of it. This line was projected as far 
 to the northwest as Webster City, Hamilton county, Iowa. As soon as the 
 last company began operations along the line, at Newton they disputed the 
 rights of the coal road to hold the right-of-way in and through Newton, and 
 then came an injunction suit in which the Iowa, Minnesota & Northern 
 Pacific were beaten. 
 
 During 1871 some work was executed along the new line to the great 
 northwest, and in Palo Alto, Newton and Fairview townships, Jasper county, 
 a tax was \oted to aid the construction of the new proposed highway. In 
 fact, the new corporation had but little means on which to operate and they 
 had to depend largely on the taxes they hoped to receive from farmers along 
 the line. Hence they gave time checks and due bills to the workmen who 
 performed service for them in construction. They, of course, believed that 
 when the taxes were paid as levied that they would receive their pay. Busi- 
 ness men took the paper at Newton and ]\Ionroe, and that by a slight dis- 
 count. But presently, the men who had not favored taxation refused to pay 
 taxes in and suits were filed to recover in cases where they had been paid 
 in. At that date more than twenty thousand dollars of paper was floating, 
 as given out for work done on the new road. 
 
 The Iowa, Minnesota & Northern Pacific Company then laid still until 
 1875. when Hornish, Davis & Company, contractors, transferred their con- 
 tract to the Iowa & Minnesota Construction Company, organized for the 
 purpose of getting the old company out of the financial trouble it had fallen 
 into. The old original stockholders of the coal company, of course, re- 
 ceived thirtv-five thousand dollars in bonds of the road. Under this con- 
 tract the grading was done and the track laid between Newton and Monroe, 
 in December, 1876. Thus ended the much-talked-of great northwestern 
 thoroughfare to the lake region of the upper ^lississippi river and the thun- 
 dering cataract of St. Anthony Falls (now ^linneapolis) — a road part way 
 through lasper county. 
 (8)'
 
 114 TASI'KU COrXTV. IOWA. 
 
 In the spring of 1878. becoming in\ol\ed. the last named company was 
 reorganized and was styled the Newton & Monroe Company, with general 
 offices at Newton. Bnt later it was taken over by the Chicago, Rock Island 
 & Pacific Company and is by them operated today. 
 
 THE lOWA CENTRAL RAILROAD. 
 
 This system strikes Jasper county at a few ix)ints. Its main line, built 
 in the seventies, from Alarshalltown to Oskaloosa. goes through the city of 
 C.rinnell. and from the first station point to the north of Grinnell. called 
 Newburg, which place is situated in Jasper county, a branch of the Iowa 
 Central diverges to the northwest, to State Center. Newburg is within 
 Hickory Grove township. 
 
 Then this road has a branch, in Jasper county, running from Newton 
 southeast to Lvnnville. from which place it passes southeast and out of the 
 county, terminating at the main line, at New Sharon. 
 
 THE CHICAGO GREAT WESTERX RAILROAD. 
 
 This road was originally known as the Diagonal, then the Maple Leaf, 
 and now the ''Great Western" route, which runs to St. Paul, Chicago, Des 
 Moines, Council Bluffs and Kansas City. It passes through the northwest 
 part of Tasper county, with stations at Baxter, in Independence township; 
 Ira. in the same township: Mingo, in Poweshiek township, and also Valaria, 
 where it forms junction with the short road from Colfax, the Colfax North- 
 ern. The Great Western was completed early in the eighties through this 
 countv and is a valuable adjunct to transportation. It was built after the 
 days when people were asked to be taxed to build railroads in Iowa, hence 
 cost the people nothing, save here and there a bit of right of way, which \vas 
 more than paid for in the advantages had by the coming of so good a system 
 of railroad. 
 
 THE XEWTOX vS; NOK'l" 1 1 WEST?:RX UAH.KOAD. 
 
 This is the latest highway constructed in Jasper county, and so far has 
 not ])roved to be a success, financially. It was constructed and put in opera- 
 tion in 1905-6 and bid fair to become a good road. It runs through a rich 
 section of Iowa's fair domain with several flourishing station points en route, 
 but in a few years it was forced into the hands of a receiver, in the person 
 of Parley Sheldon, of Ames. It is at this writing in the hands of the United 
 States court, and unless matters can l)e adjusted or the ])ropertv sold to 
 another corporation, it will be ordered sold for the material on its roadway,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. II5 
 
 including the iron and bridges, etc., and depot buildings will be sold at 
 auction for the benefit of its creditors. But it is hoped, and believed, that 
 the property will remain intact and purchased by a company able to continue 
 its operation. Rumor says the Iowa Central and Rock Island both have 
 their eyes on it. And it is thought the Des Moines interurban electric line 
 may purchase and electrify a part of it. 
 
 The general offices of the company are at Boone, while some of the 
 stock is held in Boston. It extends from Xewton to Rockwell City, a dis- 
 tance of one hundred and six miles, with a branch line from Goddard to 
 Colfax of about four miles length. 
 
 In Jasper county it passes from Xewton through Mingo, in a north- 
 westerly direction. It has been suggested that it be electrified from Xewton 
 to Des Moines Junction, but this remains to be recorded by another histor- 
 ian, when the road has been finally disposed of. 
 
 RAILROAD MILEAGE OF COUNTY. 
 
 The mileage of railroads in Jasper county, in the spring of 191 1 is as 
 follows : 
 
 Miles. 
 
 Main line of Rock Island railroad 34-38 
 
 Monroe branch of Rock Island railroad 17.02 
 
 Old "Des Moines Valley" branch 17-52 
 
 Iowa Central (main line) 4.00 
 
 X'^ewton-Xew Sharon line 23.28 
 
 State Center branch 6.00 
 
 Colfax & Northern i3-oo 
 
 Newton & X^orthwestern -24.35 
 
 Chicago Great Western 31 -82 
 
 Interurban (from Colfax west) 5.06 
 
 Total mileage in county 1 76.43
 
 CHAPTER X. 
 
 EDUCATIONAL INTERESTS. 
 
 Sidney Foster, of Des Moines, is credited with originating the follow- 
 ing phrase: "Of all things good, Iowa affords the best.'' And this sentiment 
 applies justly to the public school system of the state. The common schools 
 of our countiy are now looked upon as the safeguard of the republic. The 
 first settlers of Iowa territory showed their faith by their .works in planning 
 for a greater and better common school system than had hitherto been 
 known in any section of the countn-. Governor Robert Lucas, in his first 
 message to the first Legislative Assembly of Iowa territory, which con- 
 vened at Burlington November 12, 1838, said in reference to schools: 
 
 "The twelfth section of the act of Congress, establishing our territory, 
 declares that 'the citizens of Iowa shall enjoy all the rights, privileges and 
 immunities heretofore granted and secured to the territory of Wisconsin, 
 and its inhabitants.' This extends to us all the rights, privileges and im- 
 munities specified in the ordinance of Congress of the 13th of July, 1787. 
 
 ■'The third article of this ordinance declares that 'religion, morality and 
 knowledge, being necessary to good government, and the happiness of man- 
 kind, schools and all the means of education shall be forever encouraged.' 
 
 "Congress, to carry out this declaration, has granted one section of land 
 in each township to the inhabitants of such township, for the purposes of 
 schools therein. 
 
 ■'There is no subject to which I wish to call your attention more em- 
 phatically, than the subject of establishing at the commencement of our 
 political existence a well digested system of common schools." 
 
 This Assembly addressed itself early to the task of providing for a 
 system of common schools and enacting a law providing for the formation 
 of districts, the establishing of schools, and authorized the voters 
 of each district, when lawfully assembled, to levy and collect the necessary 
 taxes, "either in cash or good merchantable property, at cash price, upon the 
 inhabitants of their respective districts not exceeding one-half per centum, 
 nor amounting to more than ten d(jllars on any one person, to do all and 
 everylliing necessary to the establishment and support of schools within the 
 same."
 
 CENTRAL SCHOOL BUILDING, NEWTON 
 
 WEST SCHOOL BUILDING. NEWTON
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 11/ 
 
 The second Legislative Assembly enacted in January, 1840. a much 
 more comprehensive law to establish a common school system. But it was 
 a little in advance of the pulilic mind of the day. In the United States 
 census reports for 1840 there were few public or private schools reported. 
 One academy in Scott county with twenty-five students, and in the territory, 
 sixty-three primary and common schools, with one thousand f\\c hundred 
 scholars enrolled, is the report of that day. 
 
 The first section of the act of 1839, for the establishment of schools, 
 provided, that "there shall be established a common school, or schools, in 
 each of the counties of the territory, which shall be open and free for every 
 class of white citizens between the ages of five and twenty-one years.'' These 
 districts were governed by a board of three trustees, whose duties were to 
 examine teachers and employ the same, superintend the schools and collect 
 and disburse the taxes voted by the electors for school purposes. 
 
 When Iowa was admitted into the Union, in December, 1846, it had 
 a school population of twenty thousand, one-fifth of its entire population. 
 There were then four hundred school districts. By 1857, there had come to 
 be three thousand two hundred and sixty-five school districts. 
 
 From the earliest day, in Jasper county, education was considered first 
 in importance and well were laid the foundation stones for the present most 
 excellent public schools. 
 
 The first schools in the county were taught in a private way, in the 
 various settlements. These were what were termed ''subscription schools.'' 
 Sometimes thev were taught in a rude log cabin, scarce fit for human habita- 
 tion. Stoves and other heating appliances, now so common, were then un- 
 known to this section of the countiy. A mud-and-stick chimney in one end 
 of the building, with an earthen hearth, with a fireplace wide enough and 
 deep enough to take in a four- foot length of wood for back-log and smaller 
 wood to match, served universally for the warming of these early school 
 houses. In summer time they served as a sort of conservatory. For win- 
 dows, part of a log was cut out in either side, and maybe a few panes of 
 eight-by-ten glass set in. or. in other instances, the opening would be covered 
 with thick greased paper, which allowed a small amount of the sun's light 
 into the rudely furnished school room. For writing benches wide planks 
 were rested on pins or arms driven into some two-inch auger holes bored into 
 the logs of the building, just beneath the windows. Seats were fashioned 
 out of thick planks or hewed puncheons. The floor was usually made of the 
 same material — sometimes only the soil of mother earth. Yet, from just
 
 Il8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 such school rooms have gone forth many of America's greatest statesmen. 
 In some other instances the "spare room" of some humble farm cabin home 
 was fitted up for school purposes. But even there the furniture was of the 
 same rude, home-made type, never having seen a saw or smoothing plane, 
 but all had the score line and imprint of the handy pioneer's hand-ax. All 
 this has materially changed. In Iowa, a log school house has come to be 
 looked upon as a rarity. In common with all the great commonwealth of 
 Iowa. Jasper county now boasts of excellent school houses and teachers fully 
 up-to-date in their manner of training the young. The county superintend- 
 ents and the city instructors in the graded schools rank as high as any in 
 Iowa. 
 
 EARLY SCHOOL HOUSES. 
 
 The first school house erected in Jasper county was built on the claim 
 made by David Edmundson, near the site of the present county farm. This 
 was built in 1848, of logs, and was about sixteen feet square. The floor, 
 doors and desks were all made from rough hewn puncheons. The windows 
 were glazed with greased paper. The chimney would be a startling curiosity 
 to any person, old or young, today. A huge log was laid inside and parallel 
 with the outside walls. On this the flue was constructed, sloping to the roof. 
 Thus the space usually left in cabins for a recess w as left open as a toasting 
 place for the little scholars. The flue-walls were covered with a thick mor- 
 tar of clay. 
 
 This school was taught by William C. Smith on the '"subscription" plan 
 and lasted three months. In the dreary winter of 1848-9 might have been 
 seen huddled together such boys as were later .prominent men in this county, 
 and known as Messrs. A. T. Prouty, W. ^1. Springer, Lewis Herring, John 
 Moss, Moses Lac}- and ! ). P^dniundson. 
 
 The first school house in the southern portion of the county was that 
 near Jasper Whitted's. at Tool's Point, which structure was completed in 
 the fall of 1848 also. This was a much superior building, in that it had a 
 chimney clear up from the earth to above the roof and it stood on the out- 
 side of the building. The windows also were provided with glass. These 
 window^ lights possibly came from Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, via the Ohio and 
 Mississippi river, round by way of the Des Moines river to this county. This 
 school was taught by E. R. Wright and it was held in the w inter of 1848-49. 
 He had an attendance of about fifteen and some weeks as high as twentv 
 pupils.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I I9 
 
 SCHOOL FINANCES LONG AGO. 
 
 Jesse Rickman, the first county school fund commissioner, had but 
 little trouble in looking after the finances, as turned in to him, as will be 
 obser\-ed bv the following: Only six school districts had so far been or- 
 ganized by the fall of 1849-50. David Hinshaw, treasurer for district No. 2, 
 Newton township, receipted for $18.08; Ezekiel Shipley, of district No. 3, 
 same township, $20.60; Levi Plummer, for district No. i, Poweshiek town- 
 ship, $34.06: Joseph L. Doan, for district No. i, of Newton township. 
 $44.90; William Hayes, No. i. of Des ]\Ioines township, $48.77; Jacob 
 Pudge, No. I, of Fairview township, $51.63. 
 
 The school fund apportionment in March, 1851, was as follows: No. 2, 
 Fairview, $8.29; No. 2, Newton, $19.35; ^^o- i- Elk Creek, $12.27; No. 3, 
 Newton. $17.15; No. 4, N>wton, $23.34; No. i. Poweshiek, $18.25; No. i, 
 Lynn Grove, $42.61; No. i, Newton, $24.34: No. i, Fairview, $24.34; No. 
 I. Des ]Moines, $26.00: No. i. Clear Creek. S19.97: No. 2, Des ]\Ioines, 
 $13.27. Five districts were formed in 1851. 
 
 In 1854 four school districts were organized in Jasper county. That 
 year marks the beginning of better school days in the county, for its first for- 
 mative stages were then at an end — the log school house was then doomed 
 to be superseded by frame and brick structures, for the mighty tide of settle- 
 ment then set in had brought hundreds of settlers, some of whom had means, 
 and all had an idea that education was a good thing to have in opening up a 
 new country. By 1856 the rush of immigration was great and it brought 
 new life and the true spirit of education and general progress from the older 
 Eastern states. In August, 1854, the annual tax levy was : State, one and a 
 half mills; county, three mills and a poll tax of fifty cents; roads, two mills, 
 and a poll tax of one dollar and fifty cents : schools, three-fourths of a mill. 
 
 FIRST SCHOOLS IN SOME OF THE TOWNSHIPS. 
 
 For Newton township, see "'City Schools." 
 
 In Monroe, in Fairview township, the first regular school house of anv 
 consequence was erected in 1851. 
 
 The independent district of Jasper city (now Kellogg) was organized 
 May 25, 1868. with S. C. ]\Ionett as its president. June 8th of that year it 
 was voted to erect a school house by the issue of a ten-mill tax for bonding 
 purposes.
 
 I20 JASl'KR COrXTV. IOWA. 
 
 The independent district of Lynnville was created in March, 1870. with 
 A. O. Ailver as its president, and Benjamin F. Arnold, treasurer. In Aui^ust, 
 1 87 1, the board ordered the old school house sold and appointed a committee 
 to confer with the I^>iends society of the town, with a view of selling the 
 property and then leasing of them if possible. At that date, the Friends had 
 a large building which had been used by them as an academy, but was then 
 not in use. The board finally made satisfactory terms and the old meeting- 
 house of the Friends was secured and served the district until in 1876. when 
 it was found too small for the increasing population. The Friends believed 
 in the school and recommended it to the surrounding settlement of Friends, 
 and in this wav large numbers from outside were sent to school in this dis- 
 trict, thus giving a nice town school re\enue. The land owned by the 
 Friends was not thought legal to build a public school house upon and hence, 
 after an injunction suit had been commenced, the matter was not protested 
 against, but the district went ahead and bonded for two thousand dollars to 
 build on grounds of their own purchasing. The building was twenty-eight 
 by forty feet and two stories high. 
 
 This is the base of the present school system at Lynnville, which from 
 an early date has been noted for good order and most excellent public 
 schools, as well as the old academy conducted by the Friends, first in the 
 near-by country and later in town, an account of which will appear elsewhere 
 in this chapter. 
 
 The independent district of Colfax was not formed until in April, 1876. 
 William Kelsey was the first president of the school board. During that year 
 the district \oted and bonded itself for the amount of three thousand five 
 hundred dollars with which to erect suitable school buildings. Its cost was 
 really over four thousand dollars. It was a two-story, forty-foot scjuare 
 building. 
 
 At Prairie City an indepen^lent district was voted into existence at the 
 March election of 1867. Caleb Bundy was chosen first director. In 1868 an 
 exceptionally good school house was erected at a cost of six thousand dollars. 
 
 The district in which Reasoner is located was formed in 1878 and 
 since then the schools of the village ha\e been on a par w ith most small town 
 schools in Jasper county. 
 
 With the passing of the years there were built school houses all over 
 the fair domain of Jasper county, wherever the settlement demanded it. and 
 this appears to have been in almost every nook and corner. The present 
 county superintendent's report to the state authorities, dated 1910. discloses 
 many facts relative to Jasper county schools, which should be carefully read
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 121 
 
 by all interested in the subject of education in this county. But before 
 entering into that subject, it will l3e best to note some things concerning the 
 city schools of Newton, for they have, indeed, made an almost enviable 
 record in the last quarter of a century among the cities of Iowa, and that 
 largely perforce of having the right men at the helm, both on the board of 
 education and as instructors. 
 
 NEWTON CITY SCHOOLS. 
 
 To have been educated at the Newton high school has been to be well 
 trained — fit for entering into a college or an active life of business, in what- 
 ever calling one might adopt. However, this excellent school did not come 
 by mere chance, but by long, hard struggles. It has had its foes within and 
 without, but at last came off conqueror and stands out prominent among the 
 foremost schools in any section of the Hawkeye state. 
 
 The early records show that Newton was within what was styled dis- 
 trict No. 3, of Newton township, from 1858 on to the spring of 1863, when 
 it was placed within an independent district. The records show the first 
 officers to be, in this independent district, J. B. Hough, president; Josiah 
 Wright, vice-president : William R. Skiff, treasurer : Jesse Rickman. secre- 
 tary ; Milton Anderson, director. 
 
 The first teachers employed were Baxter George, Airs. Margaret Carss. 
 Mrs. Emilv McCord and Rebecca Donnal. 
 
 The board resolved that ''the teachers and each and every one of the 
 larger scholars be required to sweep the school house by turns," and that 
 the teachers should have pay only for actual time employed. 
 
 May 25, 1864, the board contracted with Hugh Rogers for the erection 
 of two school houses, for one thousand four hundred and eighty -dollars, 
 twenty-five by thirty feet, one located in Edmundson's addition to Newton, 
 and also one in Pardoe's addition. 
 
 In the spring of 1865 a new roof was placed on the brick school house, 
 at the cost of five hundred dollars. 
 
 In the summer of 1867 the West End school house was built by Con- 
 nelly & Eastman, for seven hundred and eighty dollars, and the same season 
 a building was erected in the east part of town, by C. L. Connelly, costing the 
 district eight hundred and seventy-eight dollars. 
 
 August 10, 1868, a vote was taken on the question of issuing bonds for 
 the purpose of extending the school accommodations of Newton, which 
 election resulted in five majority against the proposition. On the 25th of
 
 122 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 the same month, however, another vote was taken and resulted in favor of 
 the pending- proposition, the \ ote standing- one hundred forty-two to one 
 hundred one. 
 
 In March. 1870, a ten-mill tax was voted by the people for the con- 
 struction of buildings to be centrally located. In May, 1871, the old school 
 house site, north of the public square, was selected after a close contest. 
 The building (still in use) was erected in 1871. It is three stories high and 
 sixty by eighty feet in size. A high tower encloses the bell. The material 
 is Milwaukee brick. The five thousand dollars which it cost was raised by 
 floating bonds. The redemption fund commenced in 1872, with an eight 
 mill tax. In 1873 four thousand five hundred dollars was levied: in 1874, 
 1875 and 1876, ten mills each year was levied. In 1878 the building was 
 filled to its entire capacity and the patrons of the schools were again com- 
 mencing to wonder what would be the next school house plans for Newton. 
 In its day, this school house was among the best in Iowa, was well con- 
 structed and is still doing excellent service. 
 
 What is known as the West school, it being on ^^'>st ]vlain street, was 
 erected in 1897, at a cost of ten thousand dollars, including all connected 
 therewith. It is a two-story brick structure of modern architecture. 
 
 The next building required was the one in the northeast part of the 
 city, erected in 1901, at a cost of nine thousand eight hundred and seven-five 
 dollars, including furniture. 
 
 The pride of the city, however, is the high school building, erected in 
 1907, just west from Central school building. This beautiful large struc- 
 ture cost the district the sum of seventy-two thousand dollars, all furnished. 
 It is built on the most modern and approved plans for school buildings, even 
 to the items of sanitary drinking fountains. 
 
 THE SCHOOL GRADED. 
 
 In 1863 Albert Lufkin, Milton Anderson and Josiah Wright were ap- 
 pointed to grade the Newton schools. The following year there were four 
 teachers employed at salaries ranging from twenty-five dollars to forty dol- 
 lars per month. Darius Thomas was "principal teacher"' and he held the 
 position to 1864, the end of that school year. E. H. Fenton was employed 
 at twenty-five dollars per month and four other teachers were employed. 
 
 In 1865 W. H. Shaw was employed as "principal teacher"' at fifty dol- 
 lars per month. During all of these years of national struggle not a word 
 is to be seen in the records about the great Ci\il war, then in progress, yet no
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I23 
 
 one can doubt that Newton was filled with a true and loyal spirit of patriot- 
 ism, from the number of men she sent to the fighting front at the South. 
 
 In 1866 the teachers were L. B. Westbrook, Mary Hickey, Emily Fen- 
 ton, Cynthia Lindley, Lavinia Rickman and Lydia S. Clark. The salaries run 
 from forty dollars down to as low as twenty-five. 
 
 In 1867 the principal was J. A. Clippinger, who was paid sixty dollars 
 per month for his services. Admission to the highest department of the 
 schools was based on ability ''to advance beyond fractions." The man at 
 the head of the schools was not permitted to use his own judgment, but must 
 needs consultahe directors about any changes in school affairs. 
 
 From 1869 on, the record shows that nine months" school was counted 
 as a "school year." E. S. Everly was elected as principal, but. refusing to 
 teach for less than seventy-five dollars a month, the board re-elected Mr. 
 Clippinger and he was assisted by five other instructors. 
 
 In 1868 among the teachers mentioned in the records was 'Sir. Martin. 
 who received the largest salary. 
 
 In 1870 nine teachers were employed. G. M. Doud receiving sixty dol- 
 lars per month. W. G. Work remained superintendent. 
 
 In 1 87 1 O. M. Schee was superintendent, at one hundred dollars per 
 month, an innovation in wages. \\\ W. Wallace was hired to teach music 
 at fifty dollars per month. Nine other instructors were engaged at that 
 time. 
 
 In 1872 Albert Loughridge was superintendent at a salary of one 
 thousand dollars per year. He had ten assistants. 
 
 In 1873 and on to 1876, William Hog was the superintendent. In 
 November, 1874, a new course of study was adopted and the first class 
 graduated in ]\Iarch, 1875, and was as follows : Emerson Hough, Bertha 
 Fehleisen and George Fehleisen. 
 
 From 1880 to 1883 R. G. Young was employed. In this connection it 
 should be said that in 1882 a high school course was first adopted that met 
 with the general approval of educators in this section of Iowa, generally, and 
 was looked upon as advanced ground in the matter of better educational 
 facilities. Again in 1887 another change was effected in grading the high 
 school of Newton. 
 
 Prof. E. J. H. Beard, the present capable instructor, was employed at 
 Newton in 1892, as the superintendent of the public schools. Since then three 
 school houses have been erected. When he commenced his work here he 
 had fourteen assistants and now the work has advanced to that degree that 
 more than twenty are required to do the work of instruction. Within the
 
 124 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 
 
 past ten years the colleges of the land have increased their requirements, by 
 the addition of several branches, but the fact that up to 1903 no pupil had 
 graduated who was not prepared to enter the freshman classes of accredited 
 colleges speaks much for the work of the Xewton school. 
 
 Seventeen classes, numbering in all one hundred and eighty-six pupils, 
 graduated during the employment of other superintendents, while under 
 Professor Beard's administration nineteen classes ha\e graduated, and these 
 have a total of four hundred and twenty-eight pupils. 
 
 In February, 1910. Professor Beard, superintendent of the city schools, 
 said: 
 
 ■'It is frequently Siiid that the studies of the high school courses lead 
 boys to choose professional careers and do not promote the choice of pro- 
 ductive industries or ordinary business pursuits. In the past seventeen years 
 one hundred and thirty-five lx)ys have graduated from the Newton high 
 school. So far as I am- able to ascertain the following occupations and the 
 number of students in each is here indicated: 
 
 Lawyers or students of law 4 
 
 Proprietors or partners in mercantile business 7 
 
 Clerks in various establishments 8 
 
 Farmers 18, students of agriculture so far as known 7. . . . 25 
 
 In banks 4 
 
 Grain dealer i 
 
 Railroading i 
 
 Architects 3 
 
 Agents for manufacturing and mercantile houses 6 
 
 Flectrical engineers or student of electrical engineering. .8 
 
 Civil engineers or students of civil engineering 7 
 
 Professors of colleges 4 
 
 Veterinary students 3 
 
 Real estate dealer i 
 
 Justice of the peace i 
 
 Editor or printer 2 
 
 Evangelist r 
 
 Dentists 4 
 
 Dead c 
 
 Lumberman i 
 
 Doctors or medical students 3 
 
 Professor of music i
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 12: 
 
 In factories as proprietor or workmen 15 * 
 
 In college, courses not known 14 
 
 Students concerning- whom I have no data 4 
 
 135 
 
 "It will be seen from the foregoing that the frequently repeated asser- 
 tion that the modern high school courses prepare students for the so-called 
 'learned professions' only, is not true and has not been true so far as the 
 Newton high school history for the past seventeen years goes." 
 
 JASPER COUNTY SCHOOLS IN 187O-76. 
 
 From Superintendent S. J. Moyer's report in 1870, we extract the fol- 
 lowing: "The state of Iowa boasts of her neat school houses, that dot her 
 l)eautiful prairies, and Jasper county has a respectable share of these to 
 claim as her own. \\ithin the past two years it has been the desire of all 
 unimproved to accommodate themselves with accessible and convenient 
 school houses, and by an examination of the tax abstract for the coming 
 year we are assured the desire increases and ripens into execution as Jasper 
 county enters upon the new year with an increased school house tax. The 
 statistics show that during the last year (1869-70) there have been erected 
 twenty-eight new school houses." 
 
 The official reports for 1877 show that the county then contained 17 
 district townships: 28 independent districts: 145 sub-districts: ungraded 
 schools, 165; graded schools, 8; school year, seven months and one week, 
 average: number of male teachers, 123: number of female teachers, 244; 
 average male wages. $35.95; female. $29.64; total enrollment. 8,198: aver- 
 age attendance. 4,598: average cost of tuition, per scholar, $1.61; number 
 of frame school houses. 170; brick school houses. 4; log school houses, 
 none. The value of all school houses in the county, at that date, was 
 $170,405. Cash on hand in school house fund. S6.380: contingent fund, 
 $6,541 ; teacher's fund, $20,446. 
 
 A MODEL SCHOOL HOUSE. 
 
 Be it said to the credit of the patrons of the Monroe public schools 
 that in 1870 the following was truthfully recorded by the county superin- 
 tendent of schools of this countv :
 
 12(1 lASl'KK fOUNTV. IOWA. 
 
 ^'Those who contemplate building for graded schools and independent 
 districts are respectfully invited to examine the new and beautiful school 
 building lately erected in Monroe, which is far superior to any other in the 
 countv in its design and structure and reflects much credit upon the city, the 
 citizens and board that controlled its erection, and upon the community 
 around." 
 
 JASPER COUNTY SCHOOLS IN IQIO. 
 
 According to the official report made by the school superintendent in 
 1910. the following was the statistical condition of the public schools in this 
 county : 
 
 SCHOOL TOWNSHIPS. 
 
 Buena \^ista township, number of pupils enrolled, 246; male teachers, 
 one; female teachers, thirteen: number of sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Des :\Ioines township, number enrolled. 180; male teachers, two; fe- 
 male teachers, sixteen: number of sul)-districts. eleven. 
 
 Hickory Grove township, number enrolled. 119; male teachers, one; 
 female teachers, thirteen; number sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Independence township, pupils enrolled. 185; male teachers, one; fe- 
 male teachers, twelve; number of sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Kellogg township, pupils enrolled, 154; male teachers, one; female 
 teachers, fifteen; number of sub-districts, eight. 
 
 Lynn Grove township, pupils enrolled, 207; female teachers, twenty- 
 two; number sub-districts, twelve. 
 
 Malaka township, pupils enrolled, 140; female teachers, fifteen; num- 
 ber of sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Mariposa township, pupils enrolled, 172; female teachers, seventeen; 
 number of sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Mound Prairie township, pupils enrolled. 249; male teachers, two; fe- 
 male teachers, fourteen ; number of sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Xewton township, pupils enrolled, 136; female teachers, ten; number 
 of sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Palo Alto township, pupils enrolled. 209: female teachers, fifteen; num- 
 ber of sub-districts, eleven. 
 
 Poweshiek township, pupils enrolled, 244: female teachers, eighteen; 
 number of sub-districts, eight. 
 
 Richland township, pupils enrolled, 188; male teachers, one; female 
 teachers, sixteen ; number of sub-districts, nine.
 
 JASPER COUNT V, IOWA. 12/ 
 
 Rock Creek township, pupils enrolled, 204; male teachers, five; female 
 teachers, fourteen; number of sub-districts, eight. 
 
 Sherman tOAvnship, pupils enrolled, 117: female teachers, fourteen; 
 number sub-districts, nine. 
 
 Washington township, pupils enrolled, 131; female teachers, eleven; 
 number sub-districts, nine. 
 
 INDEPENDENT VILLAGE, TOWN AND CITY CORPORATIONS. 
 
 Baxter had five rooms of graded school : one male and fourteen female 
 .teachers; enrollment of 140. 
 
 Colfax had fourteen rooms of graded school; one male and fourteen 
 female teachers, with an enrollment of 706. 
 
 Galesburg had two rooms graded; one male and three female teachers, 
 and an enrollment of 49 pupils. 
 
 Greencastle had two graded rooms; two female teachers, and an en- 
 rollment of 59 pupils. 
 
 Kellogg had five graded rooms; one male and four female teachers, 
 with an enrollment of 156 pupils. 
 
 ]^Ionroe had seven graded rooms ; one male and four female teachers, 
 with an enrollment of 226 pupils. 
 
 Xewton had twenty-eight graded rooms ; two male and twentv-six fe- 
 male teachers, with an enrollment of 1,056 pupils. 
 
 Prairie City had six graded rooms : one male and seven female teachers. 
 \\ith an enrollment of 233 pupils. 
 
 Reasoner had two graded rooms, two female teachers and an enroll- 
 ment of thirty-five pupils. "•- 
 
 Sully had two graded rooms; one male and one female teacher, with an 
 enrollment of 98 pupils. 
 
 Vandalia had two rural schools ; three female teachers, and an enroll- 
 ment of 49 pupils. 
 
 RURAL INDEPENDENT CORPORATIONS. 
 
 No. I, one male and two female teachers, with an enrollment of 36. 
 No. 2, Harsh, two female teachers, and 44 enrollment. 
 Xo. 3. two female teachers and an enrollment of 19 pupils. 
 N^o. 4. one female teacher and an enrollment of 15 pupils. 
 Xo. 5. Ashton. three female teachers; 21 pupils enrolled.
 
 128 JASI'ER COUNTV. IOWA. 
 
 No. 6. Oak Gro\e, three female teachers, and an enroHment of 21 
 pupils. 
 
 No. 7, X'alley. one female teacher, and an enrollment of 26 pupils. 
 
 No. 8. Indian Creek, three female teachers ; 23 pupils enrolled. 
 
 No. 9, Green Valley, one female teacher, and an enrollment of 28 pupils. 
 
 Andreas, two female teachers, and an enrollment of 15 pupils. 
 
 Brown, one female teacher, and an enrollment of 18 pupils. 
 
 Dairy Grove, two female teachers, and an enrollment of 17 pupils. 
 
 McKiiiney. one female teacher and eighteen pupils enrolled. 
 
 Pleasant View, two females as teachers, and an enrollment of 13 pupils 
 
 Richland, one male and two female teachers; number pupils enrolled. 14. 
 
 Rose Hill, one female teacher; numljer pupils enrolled, 26. 
 
 Sand Point, one female teacher; 18 pupils enrolled. 
 
 Bellevue. two female teachers; 20 pupils enrolled. 
 
 Capitol Prairie, one female teacher, and an enrollment of 15 pupils. 
 
 Cottage Grove, one female teacher, and an enrollment of 35 pupils. 
 
 Enterprise, one female teacher, and 16 pupils enrolled. 
 
 Excelsior, one female teacher, and 16 pupils enrolled. 
 
 Fair View, one female teacher, and 16 pupils enrolled. 
 
 McCosky, two female teachers, and an enrollment of 16 pupils. 
 
 Oak Grove, two female teachers, and an enrollment of 28 pupils. 
 
 Pleasant Hill had no school in 19 10. 
 
 Sunny Point, one female teacher, and 17 pupils enrolled. 
 
 Union, one female teacher, and an enrollment of 26 pupils. 
 
 Warren Grove, two female teachers, and 17 pupils enrolled. 
 
 The average tuition cost of pupils per month in 1910 was «*'>2.55. 
 
 OTHER FIGURES. 
 
 As seen by the county school sujjerintendent's report to the state, bear- 
 ing the date of June 30, 1910, llie following was the standing of schools 
 in the county at that time : 
 
 Average number of months taught, 81/, ; rural independent districts, 
 29; independent city, town and village incorporations in the countv. 11; 
 school townships, 16; sub-districts. 147; teachers employed — males, 28; fe- 
 males, 348; average compensation per month, for m<'ile teachers, $69.13; 
 for females, $43.60; total enrollment in the county, 6,411; total average 
 attendance, 4.490; average tuition per month, $2.55; number of school 
 houses. 191; value of school houses, $336,740; value of all apparatus,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 29 
 
 $11,105; number of volumes in all school libraries, 9,230; rooms in which 
 the effects of stimulants and narcotics are taught, 244. 
 
 On June 30. 1910. there was on hand in the school fund of Jasper 
 county, the sum of $61,829. The school-house fund had on hand at the 
 date just named, $8,845. O" the same date there were bonds and interest- 
 bearing warrants outstanding in the county, $53,181. 
 
 teachers" institutes. 
 
 Hardin county had the first teachers' institute in Iowa, under the law 
 which was created in the winter of 1857-8. Jasper was not far behind, 
 for the record shows that on November i, 1858, an institute was commenced 
 at Newton, lasting for six days. Reduced hotel rates were arranged for at 
 the Phelps House, City Hotel and old Ohio House. Teachers were expected 
 to bring with them a AIcGuffey's fourth reader, a geography and atlas, an 
 arithmetic and grammar. 
 
 The second institute was held in September, 1859. ^^^ organized by 
 Albert Lufkin, president; A. W. Drew, vice-president; A. L. Swallow', 
 secretary. This session continued for two full weeks and numerous lectures 
 were given, including those delivered by Messrs. Shays, Rev. Joshua Swal- 
 low. Rev. T. Merrill, J. R. Mershon, S. F. Cooper, S. N. Lindley and W. 
 D. Moore. 
 
 This was the beginning of institutes that have been kept up e\er since, 
 with much interest and educational profit. The institute has come to be 
 an occasion which all reputable teachers long for. and the teacher is now 
 compelled to attend at least a part of the session each year. It is one of 
 the needed auxiliaries to teaching and no up-to-date teacher cares to miss 
 the annual session. 
 
 wittemberg manual labor college. 
 
 By Hon. W. O. McElroy. 
 
 Advancement in civilization is largely due to the triumph of principles 
 for which men and women, living in advance of their times, contended for 
 years without apparent success. To such persons, the writer of contempo- 
 raneous history is not always just. He who writes regarding his own times 
 may accurately record current events, but a later generation can. l^etter 
 than he. understand and appreciate their historical value. It is the dutv of 
 the historian not onlv to present the facts, but to mark their significance, 
 (9)
 
 130 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 iiulgint;- men and measures impartially and gi\in,i;- credit to whomsoever 
 it may Ix' due. The reason for tlie fnre.y;oing remark will appear as we 
 proceed. 
 
 Tn the early fifties a dozen or more families settled upon the prairie 
 north of Xewton, formini^ what was afterwards known as the ''College 
 I'arm" neighljorhood. Their number inckuled some exceptionally thoughtful 
 and earnest men and women. On the i8th day of December, 1855, some 
 of the more prominent ones assembled at the home of John Carey and there 
 adopted articles of incorporation of the W'ittemberg Manual Labor College. 
 At that time negro slavery was strongly intrenched in the United States 
 under constitutional protection : women were generally barred from college 
 and universit) , from taking part in public affairs, rarely being permitted 
 e\en "to sj^eak in church," and were not generally accepted as teachers in 
 public schools; technical education of the industrial classes, schools of agri- 
 culture and mechanical arts, and public instruction in manual training and 
 domestic science, were practically unknown : and the general trend of all 
 education was away from manual labor and e\erything pertaining thereto. 
 It is interesting- to notice, in the light of conditions then existing, the dis- 
 tinctive principles of the institution thus founded and the spirit of its 
 founders, as indicated in its articles of incorporation, four of which were 
 as follows : 
 
 "Article 3d. We will endeavor to maintain a school in which a pure 
 morality and evangelical religion shall be taught, guarding against the in- 
 troduction of both sectarian teaching and sectional influence. 
 
 "Art. 4th. As the name of the corporation implies, labor shall be 
 combined with study, invariably, in such manner as the trustees may direct, 
 so that not less than two hours of manual labor each day be required of 
 every teacher and student, unless prevented by sickness or other bodily in- 
 firmity. 
 
 "Art. 6th. Xo person of good moral character who is not a slave- 
 holder in practice or principle, shall be denied the privilege of being a 
 shareholder in this institution. None shall be rendered ineligible to office 
 or refused admittance as a student on terms of ])erfect equalitv, on account 
 of caste, color or sex. 
 
 "Art. 1 2th. The trustees shall be chosen by ballot at each annual meet- 
 ing * * * a|. ^vhich time this constitution may be amended * * * ex- 
 cept so much of the second, third and fourth articles as embrace the dis- 
 tinctive principles of our organization, to-wit : Pure morality and religion, 
 without sectarianism; manual labor; freedom from distinction on account 
 of caste, color or sex ; these features shall remain unalterable."
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I3I 
 
 The first officers of the institution were: Richard Sherer. president; 
 John Carey and John A. Work, vice-presidents; Andrew Failor, secretary; 
 James R. Crawford, treasurer; Rev. Thomas Merrill, general agent; all of 
 whom, with Mrs. Elizabeth Merrill, Mrs. ]\Iary Carey, James McLaughlin, 
 S. A. Thornton, J. P. Beatty and Thomas \'anatta, constituted the board of 
 trustees. A tract of land including the east halt of section 3. township 80, 
 range 19, and adjacent lands, comprising more than four hundred acres 
 in all. was purchased and sul)sec|uently platted. Ten acres in the center was 
 reserved for college building, ornamental grounds, etc. Four rectangular 
 tracts, each comprising about sixty acres, were reser\-ed for the purpose of pro- 
 viding thereon the manual labor in agriculture to be performed by students 
 and members of the faculty. Outlying parts of the land platted were di- 
 vided into residence lots which were afterwards appraised and sold in order 
 to obtain funds for the erection of a building. 
 
 The records of the board of trustees throughout the sixteen or more 
 years of the existence of the institution lie before us as we write. Insuf- 
 ficient support funds, general low prices and low wages, high rates of in- 
 terest, financial panic, and the disorganizing influence of the Civil war, made 
 the struggle for the maintenance of the school throughout those years very 
 hard. Every meeting of the board was opened with prayer. 
 
 On Christmas day, 1855, the board fixed the rates of tuition for a term 
 of twelve weeks, as follows : Three dollars for primary department, four 
 dollars for common English branches and five dollars for the advanced 
 English branches and the languages. At the same time ^fr. and ]Mrs. Merrill 
 were employed as teachers. 
 
 In Februarv", 1856, the property owned by the institution was valued 
 at $6,781.75. One thousand copies of a circular setting forth the advantages 
 offered by the school and its course of study were ordered printed and dis- 
 tributed. Provisions were made for boarding students. Scholarships were 
 ordered sold, the consideration therefor to be paid in installments. The 
 board adopted a plan for a two-story central building fifty-two feet long 
 and forty feet wide, with end or wing buildings, each thirty feet by forty 
 feet. The building committee was authorized to borrow five thousand 
 dollars for the erection of the building. Those were times of low prices 
 and exorbitantly high rates of interest, and the committee subsequently re- 
 l)orted that it could borrow only one thousand dollars. 
 
 In November. 1856, the board purchased eight acres of timljer from 
 Jesse Hammer, pacing thirty-three dollars per acre therefor, to provide 
 lumber for the building. The plan of the building was subsequently altered
 
 132 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 
 
 considerably, the wing: biiildinji-s beino- omitted. The building- finally erected 
 was a large two-story frame building constructed principally of native wood, 
 finished inside with black walnut, the weather-boarding also being of walnut. 
 The floors were oak. The foundation was stone. Its exact cost can not now 
 be ascertained, but it was probably between six thousand and ten thousand 
 dollars. Prior to its occupancy for educational purposes, the school occu- 
 pied temporary buildings, one of which was, on and after December 7, 1857, 
 rented to the board of directors of the school district for school purposes, 
 at the rental of two dollars and fifty cents per month. The building was 
 afterwards sold to the district. 
 
 On Xovember 24, 1856, a death having occurred in the neighborhood,, 
 a burial ground was located upon the lands of the college by a committee 
 of the board of trustees "in view of locating the present grave," and the 
 board adopted a resolution that the grounds be free to all as a place of 
 burial. The burial thus located is within the present Wittemberg cemetery, 
 comprising two acres. On October 20, 1858, the board of trustees adopted a 
 resolution for the transfer of the burying ground to the trustees of the Free 
 Presbyterian church of ^^'ittemberg. 
 
 The financial panic of 1857 bore very heavily upon the corporation. 
 The school continued without interruption, but very little progress was 
 made upon the building. On March 4, 1857, the board adopted the follow- 
 ing resolution : 
 
 "Resolved, ist. That we recognize in our present embarrassed condition 
 as a board and the causes which have led to it. the plain teachings of di- 
 vine providence. 
 
 "Resolved, 2d. That both duty and interest demand that we should 
 go forward in the erection of the college building now under contract. 
 
 "Resolved, 3d. That in order to the accomplishment of this- end, we 
 feel that God is now demanding of us the contribution of such a portion of 
 his property now in our hands as will put this enterprise beyond embarrass- 
 ment." 
 
 On September 22, 1857, a public dinner was held at the college, the meat 
 for which cost the institution nine dollars. During the same month, the 
 board arranged with Mr. and Mrs. Merrill to publish The W'ittcuiherg Edu- 
 cator, a monthly journal devoted to the cause of education and the interest 
 of the college in particular, the board furnishing the press, tvpe and room, 
 and Mr. and Mrs. Merrill receiving the proceeds of the publication. Sarah 
 Merrill, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Merrill and afterwards wife of Rev. 
 Charles C. TTarrab. did the greater part of the work upon the paper. Tt
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I33 
 
 was subsequently puljlished semi-monthly under the name of Tlic IVittem^ 
 berg ReTiciv. How long the publication continued, does not clearly appear. 
 However, the minutes of the board show that on December 14. 1858, it 
 adopted a resolution making its subse(|uent meetings private and directed 
 the publication of the resolution in The Ji'iffemberrj Rez'iezv. On June 6, 
 1859, 'i^ order was made by the board giving Mr. Merrill the use of the 
 printing press and twenty dollars worth of type for one year. In November, 
 1859, the board refunded to !Mr. Merrill the money spent by him in issuing 
 the first numbers of The JVitt ember g Reviezc. 
 
 On January 20, i860, the board voted to arrange to open the college 
 school on the first Wednesday of the following May, the tuition alone being 
 the salary of the teachers. At the same meeting Rev. Thomas ]\Ierrill 
 was elected president of the college. J. R. Crawford, G. T. Poage and 
 Thomas Merrill were appointed a committee to prepare a course of study, 
 and ^Ir. Merrill A\as authorized to publish a circular setting forth the ad- 
 vantages of the school. However, a part of the building was yet unfinished. 
 On June 22, 1861, the board submitted to the Free Presbyterian church of 
 \\'ittemberg a proposition to grant to said church the use of the north lower 
 room of the college building for five years for church purposes, provided the 
 church would furnish the materials and pro\ ide the labor necessarv for 
 the completion of the room in the manner specified in the proposition. The 
 proposition was accepted and the room was used for the purposes designated 
 throughout the full term specified. 
 
 On December 15, 1862, the board of trustees invited the Wesleyan 
 Methodist general conference to co-operate in sustaining the college. Ten 
 days later a committee from the conference called upon the board. The 
 conference declined to consider the proposition unless the joint stock sys- 
 tem should be abandoned and the institution governed entirely by a close 
 board. All negotiations were dropped. During the next four years, in 
 spite of adverse conditions and influences, the school prospered, the attend- 
 ance varying from forty to ninetv pupils. Tn November, 1866, a committee 
 was appointed to consider and report upon the advisability of transferring 
 all the property of the institution to a responsible person who would agree to 
 maintain the school. Nothing was accomplished in that direction, how- 
 e\er, until ^May, 1867, when a contract was made with Rev. S. A. McLean, 
 of Washington county. Pennsylvania, by the terms of which he advanced 
 to the board the sum of two thousand dollars in cash, and agreed to con- 
 duct in the college building for four years a school furnishing instruction 
 in all branches taught in first-class academies, the board agreeing to furnish
 
 1 ^4 JASPER COL'XTV, lOW A. 
 
 the building in manner specified in the contract, and, at the end of the four 
 years, to pay to McLean the aggregate sum of four thousand and fifteen 
 dollars, the college property to be security for such payment. 
 
 From the earliest settlement of the neighborhood until the close of 
 the Civil war, the Free I'resbyterian church maintained a strong organiza- 
 tion at Wittemberg. However, \\hen sla^•ery had ceased to exist and the 
 war was closed and the feeling engendered thereby began to disappear, the 
 organization dissolved, one element returning to the Presbyterian church 
 and the other forming the Congregational church of Wittemberg. To the 
 church last named, the board of trustees of the college conveyed a building 
 site about December i, 1867. The Presbyterian church continued to occupy 
 the college chapel until about 1869. 
 
 On May i, 1868, a committee of the board made written report recom- 
 mending the execution of a new agreement with S. A. McLean, by the 
 terms of which the greater i)art of the college property was to be trans- 
 ferred to ^IcLean, he to cancel all claims under the prior agreement and to 
 assume certain debts and to maintain a school in the college building for 
 ten years from and after January 1, 1868, and, at the expiration of the ten 
 years, to be the absolute owner of the property. Other terms and condi- 
 tions were included in the contract. A resolution authorizing the execution 
 of the agreement was adopted by a divided vote of the trustees. The agree- 
 ment was executed. Mr. McLean died in the early part of 1869. His 
 daughters, Elizabeth and Anna, conducted the school some years after his 
 death. In the meantime, in an action instituted by a trustee who opposed 
 the execution of the last agreement with Mr. McLean, the district court of 
 Jasper county held the conveyance of the property void and gave Mr. Mc- 
 Lean's representatixes a lien thereon. 'i"he lien was foreclosed, but re- 
 dempti(jn from the sale was not made and tlie title to all the property passed 
 to AJr. McLean's heirs. 
 
 Another writer remarked about tin's educational institution that "to 
 complete the building and to pay the (lel)ts, Messrs. Merrill, Cary and 
 Crawford pledged one thousand dollars each; Mr. King fi\e hundred dol- 
 lars; Mr. Failor, two hundred and fifty dollars; Mr. Beatty, one hundred 
 dollars. The money was raised l)y mortgaging the lands of those named 
 above to parties in the E^st. and much anxiety was experienced by all of 
 them in raising the money afterward to clear the mortgages. 
 
 "This closed the history of the school, which might, otherwise, have 
 enjoyed a wide reputation. Howex'er, much good was done iiere, for many 
 young men found facilities for education here that tliev might ha\'e failed
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I35 
 
 of, and a num1)er of gentlemen now i)rominent in business affairs and 
 other pursuits owe their education to Wittemburg. The school was quite 
 successful from 1857 to 1865. the usual enrollment of pupils being from 
 fifty to eighty." 
 
 It may also be added that, socially, this institution accomplished much 
 good for the early settlers of Jasper county. It also had what were then 
 very new and advanced notions concerning diet. For instance thev ( the 
 founders) did not eat much meat, but taught that a pure vegetable diet was 
 the proper thing. They used large quantities of graham flour in their cook- 
 ing. They had other notions which would not ])e popular today with the 
 masses, but on the whole those college founders were men and women of 
 large hearts, active brains and great fortitude and integrity of purpose. 
 They certainly left their imprint on the community in which they settled 
 and finally founded ^^'ittemberg College. 
 
 LYNNVILLE ACADEMY. 
 
 Mainl\- through subscrii)ti()ns raised among the Friends' society, this 
 institution of learning was founded at Lynnville in 1866. It was continued 
 a number of years, but owing to lack of boarding places the school waned 
 and finally in the course of a few terms closed its doors. In 1871 arrange- 
 ments were perfected with the public school district by which the building 
 thev had erected just outside of town aways was moved to the village and 
 rented to the district. In 1875 the b>iends again took possession of the 
 property, and in the fall of that year an academic course was opened up, 
 with an attendance of about eighty-five students, which number, at the end 
 of the fifth week, had increased to one hundred and thirty. Prof. W. W. 
 Gregg and N. Rosenberger were the teachers at the beginning, and such 
 was the rush of students that the services of Miss Cynthia Macy and Miss 
 Gregg became necessary. After about one year of such prosperity. Professor 
 Gregg left the school. Another principal, from Indiana, taught a while 
 and then the school ceased to be. 
 
 The building was a frame structure, two stories high, well adapted for 
 school work. Later the building became a part of the Friends' church. 
 
 IIAZEI. DELF. ACADEAJV AND ITS FOIXDKK. t'KOF. DAkllS IlIOMAS. 
 
 By J. H. Fugard. 
 
 This institution was located at Xewton, and occupies an imi)ortant 
 
 place in the educational history of Jasper county. It was a private school 
 
 founded bv Prof. Darius Thomas, A. M., in 1856, and was owned and con-
 
 ] :>(. JASPKK COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ducted by him for nearly a third of a century. He then disposed of it to 
 Prof. G. \\'. Wormley. a former pupil, who removed it to a new location, 
 and changed it into the Xewton Xornial College. 
 
 At first the primary as well as the higher branches were taught. But 
 as the public school system became more fully de\eloped, the primary branches 
 w ere dropped, and the academy liecame an intermediate step between the com- 
 mon school and the college. At that time many colleges had a two-year prepara- 
 tory course for such students as were not prepared for the regular college 
 studies. And it is to the credit of Hazel Dell that some of its students were 
 able to pass the required examination and enter the freshman year. And 
 this, too, not onlv in Western colleges, but also in some of the older ones, 
 such as Dartmouth, Harvard and Pennsyhania. At that time commercial 
 colleges and normal schools were but few in number, and none nearby. But 
 this want was here met by courses of study designed to fit young people for 
 business or for teaching. :^Iany received their training here, and 
 several hundred school teachers were fitted for their work. More 
 than fifteen hundred students attended the school during Professor 
 Thomas' administration. .And. as a large numl)er of them afterwards taught 
 in this countv, it can safely 1)e said that, directly and indirectly, several 
 tliousand of our young people received its benefits. 
 
 I once heard the veteran educator. C. D. Hipsley. say that in his ex- 
 ])erience. as a teacher and principal of the Newton schools and as county 
 su])erintendent. he had found that the teachers who came from this school 
 were more uniformly successful than those from any other institution. 
 
 The school existed at a time when educational advantages were limited 
 in central Iowa, when times were strenuous and money scarce. And its 
 founder made it possible for many young people to prepare for college, or 
 fit themsehes for life's work, who would otherwise have lacked the op|X)r- 
 tunitv and the stimulus. A glance at our early history will make this more 
 apparent. 
 
 .\ large proportion of the pioneers were per.sons of intelligence and 
 character. They were desirous that their children should have the privileges 
 whicli they had enjoyed in their former homes. But they were handicapped 
 b\- lack r)f means. Money was scarce everywhere, and especially in the 
 \\'^est. where people had little to sell, and lacked manV of the comforts of 
 life. Some of their efi^orts to secure better things were A-ery feeble, but 
 were steps in the right direction. .\nd we ought not to despise the (Ia\ of 
 small things. For to these efforts we are largely indebted f(^r the ])resent 
 more ideal conditions, which are represented by the church and the school
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 37 
 
 house on the hill and no saloon in the valley. An incident of early davs will 
 illustrate this thought. I once read the minutes of a school meeting that 
 was held in 1854 at the home of Doctor Turck. where John Welle now lives 
 in Buena Vista township. James Wright was secretary and the minutes 
 were quite full and complete. The settlers had gathered to consider the 
 question of having a school in their midst. And it was decided to have one, 
 and to make application for money to hire a teacher. Xo public funds seem 
 to ha\e been available for .school-house purposes, and so thev arranged to 
 build one themselves, each man contributing a portion of the material. It 
 was of rough logs with a clapboard roof, and stood just ea.st of what is 
 now the Mt. Zion cemetery. The needless luxury of a floor was dispensed 
 \\ith for the first year or two. 
 
 And this school house, rude as it seems, was quite an acquisition to the 
 community, and was used for several years, not only for school purposes, 
 but also for preaching services and festive gatherings. And the religious 
 work begun there by a faithful band of Christians, has been carried steadily 
 and successfully forward, and is now the prosperous ^It. Zion ^Methodist 
 church. 
 
 The door of the old school house had wooden hinges and a wooden latch. 
 And the seats were rough slabs with the bark side down, and with long 
 wooden pegs for legs. 
 
 Ah, those blessed old slab benches! ^My back aches even now as T re- 
 call how hard it was for the little folk to balance themselves on them all 
 day long, with nothing to lean against, and not able to reach the floor with 
 our feet. And I remember how I envied the larger scholars who could sit 
 on the bench that was next to the wall. 
 
 And yet it was while seated there that some of us learned how to spell 
 "l)aker" and '"shady" and the other hard words of two syllables that came 
 after them in Webster's Elementary Spelling Book. On the cover of the 
 book was an emblematic picture of the Temple of Fame, on the top of the 
 Hill of Knowledge. But the sirles of the hill were so steep that no little 
 bov would think of ever trying to reach its summit ; unless, perchance, like 
 Darius Green, he could hope to invent .some kind of a flying machine. 
 
 But poor as were the school house facilities of those days, a greater 
 educational want was the need of properly trained teachers. At the one 
 just mentioned no school was held the first winter fbr lack of a teacher. 
 And some of the men who taught in the schools during those years were 
 nearbv farmers, who were more noted for their muscle than for their wis- 
 dom. And the fact that thev were able to control the larger bovs mav ha\e
 
 138 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 had something to do with their selection. In the towns the conditions were 
 not much better. 
 
 The schools were held in small and over-crowded buildings, and only 
 the rudimentary branches were taught. 
 
 Such was the state of affairs when Mr. Thomas, a quiet, unassuming 
 man. came here from the state of Maryland and entered on his life's work, 
 for which he was well fitted, both by nature and by training. He was a 
 graduate of Jefferson College, Pennsyhania. now known as Washington and 
 Jefferson College. Newton was then only a little hamlet, situated on the 
 edge of a wide prairie that rolled away to the eastward like a boundless 
 sea. To the west and north was an almost unbroken forest, miles in extent 
 and coming to within a block or two of the business part of town. 
 
 He selected some lots three blocks north of the square where Will 
 Jasper now lives, and with his own hands erected a neat school house there- 
 on, and hewed a road to it through the dense thickets from which it took 
 its name. It was afterwards enlarged several times, until it was made to 
 accommodate a hundred or more pupils, many of whom roomed in the 
 building. 
 
 Ha\-ing learned in his }ounger days the now lost art of cabinet mak- 
 ing, he was able to make his own furniture ; and it was of a kind that did 
 not fall to pieces with the first season's use. 
 
 And here he (juietly carried on his work for many years, brightening 
 and sweetening the li\es of others. There was no pomp or attempt at dis- 
 play. X'o students were solicited, and no public aid was ever asked for or 
 received. These things seem odd to us. for we have come to believe that 
 great endowments and costly buildings are a necessary part of brain culture. 
 And we can hardl\- rid our minds of the idea that success onl\- comes to him 
 who most loudly toots his own horn. We forget that modesty is occasionalh- 
 rewarded, and that the public sometimes discovers and appreciates real merit. 
 
 The school was well patronized by the town. l)ut the most of the stu- 
 dents came from the country. The sturdy l30\s and bonnie girls came troop- 
 ing in, glad to avail themselves of the opportunity which it offered. Only 
 a small portion of them would have been able to go away to a distant school 
 or college. But here, at their very doors, they found an opportunitv at a 
 small cost to obtain the instruction which they desired. And some of them 
 lived near enough to bring a sufficient supply of their mother's cooking to 
 last all the week. 
 
 They found no s])irit of caste or clannishness to appall them, and soon 
 ceased to be mortified about their plain clothes and were encouraged to do
 
 JASPER COUNT V, IOWA. 1 39 
 
 their best. Many of ilieni had to work or teach a part of the year in order 
 to earn enough to attend the rest of the time. And tliose who felt unable 
 to continue their studies for lack of means often received helpful suggestions 
 from their teacher, and were assured that their tuition could remain unpaid 
 until they were able to meet it. And to their credit, it can be said that none 
 of them ever failed to meet this obligation. 
 
 At the present time so many educational institutions number their stu- 
 dents In- hundreds and by thousands, and we are apt to associate successful 
 instruction ^\ ith large attendance. We forget that many small schools and 
 colleges are doing a grand work, and that many able men are from in^^titu- 
 tions that are almost unknown. 
 
 In a small school the student is usually brought into closer touch with 
 the teacher, and had ought to learn from him to l)e a I^etter and brighter 
 man. And this it seems to me is the best part of the teacher's work, to so 
 shape and mould the lives of their pupils that they may become a blessing 
 to others. 
 
 Professor Thomas had the faculty of being able to make an impression 
 for good on the character as well as the minds of those who came under his 
 instructions. And this has since been shown by their well-ordered lives. 
 They remember the exemplary life, the words of admonition, and the earn- 
 est prayers for their guidance ; and somehow these things helped make them 
 better men and l^etter women. 
 
 It is pleasant to know that those who had been most l>enefited by his 
 services did not wait until he was gone to express their appreciation. But 
 many gladly did so during his lifetime. A largely attended reunion was once 
 held at the fair grounds, with a good program, and he was presented with 
 a siher service, suitably engraved, as a token of his pupil's esteem. 
 
 On account of failing health, he was compelled to gi\e up his loved 
 work in 1884, and seek relief in a milder climate. He retained a warm in- 
 terest in the welfare of his former pupils, and kept a record of their where- 
 abouts. And one of his greatest delights was to hear of their success. 
 
 He pas.sed away on the 17th of October. 1892. at his home in Carthage, 
 Missouri, and his body was laid to rest in the Xewton cemetery, amid the 
 scenes of his earlier years, and among the people that he loved. 
 
 Trulv he was a high type of manhood, and "Worthy to bear without 
 reproach that grand old name of Gentleman.*' 
 
 In the preparation of the foregoing sketch I am indebted to a number 
 of former students and others who have given me facts and suggestions. .\f- 
 ter havins: consented to do it. I shrank from the task, as I felt that it was a
 
 140 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 subject worthy of some one who could do it better. And having been a pu- 
 pil, and later an intimate friend of ^Ir. Thomas, I feared that it might be 
 thought that 1 had unduly magnified the importance of these matters. Hence 
 mv enquiries of others in regard to their view of it. And 1 have been sur- 
 prised at their unanimity of opinion, some liaving used words of commenda- 
 tion stronger than 1 have dared to do. 
 
 As it was intended for a permanent history, I felt that it should be 
 done bv one who was never connected with the school, and preferred that 
 Hon. A. K. Campbell should do it. 
 
 He had been familiar with its history, and had been deeply interested 
 in the cause of education, and one of the regents of the State University. 
 But he insisted that I should do it. and furnished me an outline, which I 
 ha\e somewhat closelv followed in the foregoing. 
 
 A. G. Miller, a former pupil, who has been for many years an efficient 
 police officer in Des Moines and twice chief of the department, makes this 
 suggestion: That the people of this count}' would do themselves a credit 
 to erect a suital)le memorial, either a bronze tablet in the court house, or a 
 monument, in honor of this useful man. 
 
 Another student. President Hill ?\1. Bell, of Drake Universit}', writes 
 in api)reciative words of the school and its teacher. I value his opinion be- 
 cause he is a successful instructor, and a man of great executive ability, and 
 also as the head of a great university and one of the trustees of the Carnegie 
 Pension Fund he has had almost une([ualed opportunity to become acquainted 
 w ith educators and to weigh their work and worth. 
 
 I can not better close than by gi\^ing his letter, in which he exjiresses his 
 views in a few terse sentences. It is as follows: 
 
 "Des Moines^ Iowa, June 3, 1911. 
 "My Dear Mr. Iniganl : 
 
 "In answer to your letter of June 2d. I will say that I feel that Prof. 
 Darius Thomas exercised a wonderfully good influence upon the earlv his- 
 tory of Jasper county. 
 
 "Hazel Dell Academy will long be rememljered as an institution that 
 did a service that was not available from any other of like kind. 
 "I acknowledge my own debt to Professor Thomas. 
 ''He was an excellent teacher, and was in his day an inspiration to many 
 young men and women. 
 
 'A'ory truly yours, 
 
 "Hill M. Bell."
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I4I 
 
 NEWTOX NORMAL COLLEGE. 
 
 The Xcuton Xonnal College was but the continuation of old Hazel 
 Dell Academy. G. W. W'ormley, in a recent article, states that in the fall 
 of 1884 he was a student in the Iowa State College and received a communi- 
 cation from Prof. Darius Thomas, in which letter the latter stated that he 
 would have to give up teaching on account of failing health, and said : 'T have 
 chosen vou to be my successor; come down and see me; I want to sell out to 
 you." 
 
 Mr. \\'ormley graduated that autumn as a civil engineer, a field of 
 work in which he was very much interested. He wrote Professor Thomas that 
 he had nothing- with which to purchase his school. To this the Professor 
 replied, "Come down and see me; I can easily manage that part." 
 
 Here was an event that was to entirely change the life plans of a young 
 man for the better or worse, who can say? He himself is unable now to 
 tell. 
 
 He went, and the result was he returned to complete the few remain- 
 ing weeks of his college course, the owner of Hazel Dell Academy, the place 
 where he had taken his preparatory work for college. 
 
 Professor Thomas had sold his school to ^^Ir. W'ormley on time, about 
 the only way he could sell to a student just through college. Professor 
 Wormley has told how Mr. Thomas, after carrying over all the desk-books, 
 records, charts, etc., belonging to the school, came bringing the keys and the 
 old copy of the Psalms and Xew Testament which he had read at opening- 
 exercises for so many years, saying. "This also belongs to you, George. I 
 hope you will not fail to continue its use in the school," and the answer he 
 received seemed to satisfy him. 
 
 Grand old man — God IMess him. Few nobler ever lived! 
 
 The first term opened with an attendance of seventy-five. A pretty big 
 undertaking for a young man only twenty-four years old, but he taught 
 them, unaided by any assistants, and seemingly to their satisfaction. 
 
 This young principal must have been rugged to some degree for he slept 
 on a straw tick on the floor in an upstairs room in the academy all winter. 
 In the spring of 1885 Mr. Wormley married Mary Ellen Spencer, daughter 
 of Henrv M. Spencer and wife, of iSletz. 
 
 In 1886 he built an addition to the academy, more than doubling the 
 size of the building. The school gained in attendance and the second year 
 after the addition was finished the enrollment reached one hundred and 
 fifteen. Two assistants were now employed. The school continued to pros- 
 per for nine vears. until some of the public-spirited citizens said it ought to
 
 142 JASPER COl-XTV. IOWA. 
 
 lia\e a l)ettt'r ei|uipnient and a more favorable location. This ag-itation re- 
 sulted in the 1)uildino- of the Xewton Xormal College. This was done on 
 the lot sale plan, through a board of trustees, and was made possible only 
 through the influence of the business men of Newton and a number of pub- 
 lic-spirited farmers. 
 
 Xot a dollar of remuneration was ev«r received by the board of trustees 
 for their services; on the contrary, they contributed personally toward the 
 incidental expenses of their meetings. 
 
 On April i-j . 1S93. the contract was let to Fehleisen & Coutts for 
 tweh'e thousand, one hundred dollars, not including heating and plumbing. 
 The building was turned over to Professor W'ormley in the month of No- 
 vember. 1893. The amount received up to this date from lot sales was not 
 sufficient to enable the trustees to settle with the contractors, accordingly 
 they had to secure a loan of three thousand dollars on the college. 
 
 This mortgage Professor Wormley assumed. This, with two thou- 
 sand dollars which he paid for a heating plant to a firm in Oskaloosa. with 
 school furniture, curtains, wells, piano, and the expenses incurred in mov- 
 ing and remodeling the old academy l)uilding to be used as a dormitory, put 
 him in debt six thousand, five hundred dollars, all of which he paid eight 
 per cent interest upon. He had paid for Hazel Dell and had one thousand 
 dollars in the bank at the close of 1892. This he had spent in purchasing 
 lots, so he was compelled to l)orrow the entire six thousand, five hundred 
 dollars in order to put the new building in condition to open for school the 
 .winter of 1893. This debt he paid off at the end of seven years, partly by 
 tuition, and partly by money raised from the sale of his residence (the 
 old D. T. ^liller property) and the academy lots. 
 
 The new school was maintained from 1893 to 1906, a period of thirteen 
 years. Much lasting good was accomplished in this period among the stu- 
 dents. This institution was in continuous operation for a period of fifty 
 years, beginning in 1856 and ending in 1906. Twenty-eight years of the 
 time the school was under the management of Prof. Darius Thomas and 
 twenty-two years under Prof. G. W. ^^^ormley. 
 
 Beginning almost at the opening of the new school — the Normal Col- 
 lege — changes were taking place in our jnil^lic school system, \\hich no one 
 could have foreseen and which no one would wish to prevent had they fore- 
 seen. These changes encroached more and more upon the field fcjrmerly 
 occupied by the scln^ol, imtil five years ago (1906) Professor Wormlev. not 
 satisfied with the outlook, sold out his school and retired to a farm home 
 near Newton. The normal college building is now occupied bv a manu- 
 facturing plant.
 
 CHAPTER XL 
 
 NEWSPAPER PRESS OE FASPER COIXTV. 
 
 The newspaper press of the land today exerts a more potent influence 
 upon the world than even the pulpit or the bar. The power for good or 
 evil of the press is almost unlimited. The shortcomings of the politician 
 are made known through the columns of the newspaper. The dark deeds 
 of the wicked are made known to the people of all communities. The con- 
 trolling influence of a state or nation is its press, and what is true generally 
 today is true and has been for many years in Jasper countv. 
 
 The local press is justly considered among the most important insti- 
 tutions of every ^■illage, town and city. The people of almost all communi- 
 ties regard their special newspaper as almost invaluable in the home, the 
 workshop and ofiice. One by one the facts for news items are collected bv 
 competent, reliable reporters : the printer puts them into cold tvpe : one bv 
 one the papers are rolled forth from fast-moving presses : one bv one these 
 papers are gathered and bound into a volume of invaluable historical infor- 
 mation for the eyes of future people. The bound volumes of newspaper files 
 are then gleaned by the local historian and from their pages, sometimes very 
 yellow and dusty with age, come forth pages of history worth the reading, 
 which had it not been thus safely preserved would forever have been lost 
 to the reading, thinking world. The people of each town and county naturally 
 have a pride in their own publications. The local press, as a general ^ule. 
 reflects the business enterprise, the moral standing and the religious senti- 
 ment of the community in which it is published. Judging from this stand- 
 ard, the efforts in the right direction in Jasper county have indeed been com- 
 mendable. 
 
 The first newspaper in the county was the Exf>rcss. founded in 1836. 
 
 The first daily was started by Rodgers & Newell in 1 861-2 and con- 
 tinued for seven months, when the war took the youthful proprietors into an 
 Iowa regiment. Xewell was killed at A^'icksburg. Rodgers is now assistant 
 editor on the Xczcfon Record. 
 
 The latest newspaper venture in Jasper county is the socialistic publi- 
 cation established bv Dr. Perry Engle of Xewton. It is a small monthly 
 paper devoted to political and economic interests. It is known as the AVrc-- 
 ton Ethics. It is parti v home and partly outside make-up.
 
 144 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Among the earliest journals in this county, of which hut little is now 
 known, was the W'ittcuthcry Educator, jjuhlished hy the faculty of the Wit- 
 temherg- College, mentioned in the educational chapter. It was established 
 in 1857 and continued a few years, then changed its nam€ to the Wittcm- 
 bcrg Rcz'iczv. which became a semi-monthly instead of a monthly, as had been 
 the Educator. 
 
 THE NEWTON NEWSPAPERS. 
 
 In order to give a correct understanding of the press history in the city 
 of Xewton it should be stated that the history of several of the newspapers 
 here are mingled one with the other, their history being about as follows : 
 
 The first real newspaper was the Express, founded in 1856 by Besack 
 & Welker. Welker soon withdrew from the paper, and in 1857 F- T. Camp- 
 bell purchased an interest, and a little later Besack disposed of his remain- 
 ing interest to A. K. Campbell, about which date the name was changed to 
 Free Press. Campbell Brothers conducted the paper till 1861. when F. T. 
 (Frank) Campbell left his interests in the hands of his brother and went to 
 the front as a Civil war Union soldier. On his return he engaged in the news- 
 paper business at JNIontezuma until 1865, when he returned to Newton and 
 published the Free Press until 1867, when he sold to Patton and W. A. Camp- 
 bell. They, in turn, sold to \\'. S. Benham in 1870, and he continued im- 
 til New Year's 1877, when he disposed of the property to Sage & Robinson, 
 which firm was made up of the present weather bureau director, John R. 
 Sage, of Des Moines, and Ralph Robinson, still residing at his old home- 
 stead in Newton, honored and respected by all classes. Air. Robinson was 
 once proprietor of the Herald at Clarinda, Page county, Iowa, also associ- 
 ated at Fairfield with that pioneer journalist editor, Junkin, and in early 
 life, after having learned his trade as printer in Wheeling, West A^irginia, 
 was connected with the \arious papers at Pittsburg, Pennsyhania. After 
 a partnership of alx)ut twelve months. Air. Sage had a banter from Robin- 
 son to buy or sell for cash, and Sage, not having the cash at his command, the 
 property passed at once to the hands of Air. Robinson, who conducted it as 
 a straight out and out, always true-blue Republican organ, and his \ears of 
 editorial writing on this publication, which name was changed to the Journal, 
 when he took hold of it alone, have numbered thirty-three, he running it un- 
 til 1910, and very reluctantly gave it up on account of failing health. He 
 sold to F. L. Boy don. one of its present owners. 
 
 ATr. Robinson put in the first power press in Jasper county, and had one 
 of the finest plants — newspaper and job — in Iowa and his editorials were 
 copied widely among all Republican papers in the West.
 
 JASPER COL'XTY, IOWA. 145 
 
 To complete the history of the Journal, the reader will please note the 
 connection it finally had with the old Banner and Headlight, the outline 
 history of which here follows: 
 
 In 1868. J. B. Besack decided to start another journal in Xewton. he 
 having purchased the material of the defunct Banner, a Democratic paper, 
 of short duration. He called his new venture in Newton the Republican, but 
 through various financial causes it went to the wall and fell into the sheriff's 
 hands in 1874. On its ruins F. T. Campbell and T. H. Rodgers established 
 the Headlight, which continued to shine and reflect the news of Jasper 
 county and Newton until 1877, when it formed a union with the Free Press, 
 and the j)reseiit Xewton JoiidiqI arose out of the ashes of both. 
 
 In 1 910 the Daily Journal made its first a])pearance and is now run as 
 such. It is a creditable daily and well circulated in the community. 
 
 The Jasper County Independent was established September i, 1868, by 
 H. A. Hanson, at Newton. Under his management it was. however, known 
 as the Democratic Sentiiiel. Four years later he sold to Charles A. Clark, 
 who issued his first paper in August. 1872. He changed the name to that 
 of the Jasper County Independent. It was ever a strong Democratic paper, 
 ablv edited and well patronized. In 1877 a Campbell power press was made 
 to supersede the old hand press, and for many years it stood as one of the 
 able advocates of Democracy in Iowa. 
 
 DAILY NEWSPAPERS OF THE COUNTY. 
 
 The first dailv newspaper in Jasper county was established in the winter 
 of 1 861 -2 bv two striplings of boys, yet in their teens. T. M. Rodgers and 
 Jackson F. Newell. The former is now the well-known new s])aper man 
 called familiarly "Tommy" Rodgers. and the latter was wounded at the 
 fearful siege of \'icksburg. Mississippi. ]^Iay 22, 1863. and died from the 
 effects June ist. that year. 
 
 These two youths were apprentices on the Free Press of Newton, run by 
 the Campbell Brothers, and they got permission of these gentlemen to work 
 extra time and get out a four-column daily paper, giving the important Civil 
 war news, as the\- had arranged to secure the dispatches from the first 
 telegrapher who e\er handled the keys at the Newton office. C. J. Housel. 
 He took them as they passed over the wires to the w estern cities. The 1-ree 
 Press l^eing a weeklv paper, it u.sed some of this war news matter in its edi- 
 tion. Thev continued to conduct this daily, which had a large circulation 
 for those days, until .\ugust. 1862. when both boys enlisted as volunteers in 
 (10)
 
 I4^» JASPER COl'NTV, IOWA. 
 
 the I'nion cause (See War chapter). Had it not l)een for that war, no tell- 
 in;^ what their career might have lieen by this time. The name of the daily 
 was The Xci^ion Monitor. They were at a loss to know what to call the 
 publication until that well-known lady. Mrs. Nettie Sanford-Chapin, whose 
 maiden name was Skiff, suggested the name Monitor, in honor of the gun- 
 boat 1)\ that name that liad just sunk tlie Rebel "Merrimac." It was greatly 
 appreciated by the patriotic citizens of Jasper county. 
 
 The next daily in Xewton was that run by the Herald ofifice (see Herald 
 history). In passing, it should be added that the daily run by the Herald 
 oflfice was not of long duration, as it passed to the hands of the present K'eiv- 
 ton Daily News. 
 
 The Herald dates back many years in its history. First the lozua Nia- 
 tional, a Greenback organ, was established in the winter of 1877-8 in New- 
 ton, and in 1878 a stock company was formed. com[X)sed of citizens of New- 
 ton and one Charles F. Neal. The paper appeared February ist, with Mr. 
 Neal as its editor. Soon J. D. Rickman purchased a part of Neal's interest 
 and the paper was published until September 23d. when Neal & Rickman 
 sold their stock to the balance of the company and in 1878 the stockholders 
 were: Milton Briggs. J- H. F. Balderson. J. C. Cotrell, C. W. Harcourt, 
 George Early. Squire Sims. Perry Engle, M. D., J. R- Clements. Dr. Miller, 
 John Meredith. A. T. Hinshaw. J. R. Mershon. Rev. T. F. Brown. D. N. Mc- 
 Cord. Their motto was ''Forward, upward and onward, and while we so- 
 licit the indulgence of our friends, we ask no favors of our enemies." Dr. 
 Perrv Engle became editor and changed the name to the Newton Herald. Tt 
 is still run as a weekly paper, but has l)een in the hands of many persons up 
 to the ])resent time. It was run by Engle. then by Engle & Son and they 
 sold to Ci. F. Rinehart. who conducted it many years in a successful man- 
 ner, as a Democratic organ. Tn Deceml)er. TQ05. he sold the plant to J. F. 
 Robinson, and in .\])ril, 1906. he sold to his son. L. E. Robinson, and in Sep- 
 tember of that year he sold to Air. Rinehart, who had previously owned it. 
 Rinehart conducted it initil Noveml)er. T906. when he sold it to M. Bilder- 
 back. and in Januarw i(>io. he sold to C. F. Ridings and he in turn sold in 
 May, 1910. to J. F. Klein. He ran it till July. iqio. when he sold to M. 
 Miller, and he in October, 1910, to the Herald Company, W. M. Ward, edi- 
 tor, as it is still published. This paper has cut a wide swath in the historv 
 of Newton pa])ers. Tt is still one of the leading newspapers in J'lsper countv. 
 It has had good and bad men at the helm. l)nt tlie proi)ert\- has al\\a\"S been 
 valuable and found a warm welcome in many of the homes of this countv. 
 Its numerous changes in form and dress are of not so much historic interest, 
 as its policv and its editorials.
 
 JASPER COUXTV. IOWA. I47 
 
 At present its business is large, including its subscription list and ex- 
 cellent job department, operated through the medium of the latest appliances 
 known to the art. 
 
 It was once a daily, with V. L. Boyden as editor, and under the editor- 
 ship of Perry Engle the Herald was the hrsi paper in the nation to advo- 
 cate the policy of "referendum," now so highly popular. 
 
 The daily was sold to the present Nrzcfoii Daily Nez^s office. 
 
 The Nczi'fon Daily Xczcs was established in 1902. as a separate publi- 
 cation, it having been run as the daily edition of the Newton Herald up to 
 that time. The Nen-s pulled its first issue as a daily under the present name, 
 on May 19. 1902. James R. Rhoades is its editor. It is a newsy, public- 
 spirited publication, greeting hundreds of homes each week dav in the vear. 
 Its circulation grew rapidly from the first issue under the present able man- 
 agement. It is perhaps one of Iowa's best dailies for a town of the size in 
 which it is published. Its moral tone and business enterprise is indeed praise- 
 worthy. Its present form is a seven-column folio. Its mechanical appear- 
 ance is up to date. The job office connected therewith is fullv abreast with 
 modern printing. It is set up by means of the first linotype in the citv. See 
 history of the Herald for the early history of dailies in Xewton. 
 
 The Xezcton Record (weekly) was established in the month of August. 
 1894. by Blazer & W'hitham, of Aledo. Illinois, and was edited bv Homer A. 
 Galloway. October 15, 1897. it was purchased by L. A. Andrew, who con- 
 ducted it five years, but had many an enemy and sold to C. A. Marlin. of 
 Audubon. Iowa, and he in turn sold, in Fel)ruary. 1905. to W. S. Johnson a 
 one-half interest. In 1907 \Iy. Johnson purchased the entire propertv and 
 still conducts the paper as a weekly. It has always espoused the Republican 
 political cause, and is one of the cleanest, brightest local papers in this section 
 of the state. Its local editor. T. ^I. Rodgers, has long been connected with 
 the press of the town and he makes it a fine family newspaper, because of his 
 industry and wide acquaintance throughout Jasi)er county. It is a six-column 
 quarto paper, run on a Cottrel power press operated by electric motor power 
 for the last five years. The office also has a fine job plant, including a Gordon 
 and a two-revolution cylinder jobber. Its subscription price is one dollar per 
 year. 
 
 NEWSPAPERS AT I.YNXVILLE. 
 
 Lynn \i He has had her own share of newspapers, some short-li\ed, and 
 .'^ome longer. The history of the press at this point in 1878 was written up 
 as follows by a local scribe : 
 
 I
 
 148 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 The LynuviUe Gaccffc was established as a six-coluiiTn folio newspaper, 
 Xoveniber 26, 1868, by Evans & Arnold. It continued six months, when 
 Evans collected all ad\ance subscriptions he could and went away for the 
 enjoyment of the money thus obtained, while Mr. Arnold was left to settle 
 up the affairs of the oftice. The paper was soon discontinued and Lynn- 
 ville was paperless until September 16. 1876. when Mr. Arnold started the 
 lozca Interior Nczcs, which continued until June i, 1878, when the pro- 
 prietor went to Kellog\i^ and there engaged in like business. 
 
 After the editor of the Inferior decided to remove to Kellogg, the town 
 was without a newspaper for a time, but other attempts were made by dif- 
 ferent persons, these trials only ending in dismal failures. The present 
 spicy newspaper, the LynnriUc Star, was toimded in 1900 and is ably con- 
 ducted by Charles W. W'ildman. who is the mayor of the town and the ef- 
 ficient postmaster, as well as an insurance and realty operator of the place. 
 This paper is a six-column quarto, partly home and partly foreign print. It 
 is published each Thiirsdav and its yearly subscription price is one dollar. 
 
 THE BAXTER NEW ERA. 
 
 At Baxter there was a paper established soon after the building" of the 
 railroad, and in 1882 it was founded by a Mr. Brown and known as the 
 Baxter Neics. Jt was l>eing conducted in 1888 by Will Johnson, who sold 
 to C. B. Francisco in 1892 and after two years he sold to James Brower. 
 who conducted it fourteen months, when it died. Brower then, in the sum- 
 mer of 1895, established what is now the Nezc Era. which he sold to C. B. 
 Francisco, Septeml^er i. 1896. and he in turn sold to the present publisher, 
 Harry Hazlett, July i, 1899. The present outfit is good, up to date, and in 
 keeping with the general enterprise of the town of Baxter. Three presses 
 are installed, a Campbell. Peerless and Gordon jobber. The N^ezv Era is 
 always Republican and an organ of no little or uncertain influence. The 
 news, all the news and not afraid of printing tlie news as its editor finds it, 
 might well be its motto. 
 
 COLEAX JOURNALISM. 
 
 The hist(jr)- of newspapers in Colfax is somewhat hartl to get at, for 
 various reasons, among these the fact that complete files have not been pre- 
 served from the founding of the pioneer papers. 
 
 It is known that the Coif as Reporter was founded in 1876 bv \\'. B. 
 Stearns. This was ])iil)lishe(l until Xovember of that vear. when it was sold
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 149 
 
 to meet the debts incurred in founding it. It was purchased by J. W. Jarna- 
 gan, and on January 4. 1878, he began the publication of the Sentinel, first 
 a six-cohnnn folio, and later a five-coluntn quarto. 
 
 The Colfax Tribune was established in 1893 ^^^ ^^ "o^^' conducted by 
 C. L. Smith as an independent local paper. It is six-column and a quarto, 
 fifteen by thirty inches in size. It is run on a power press, by gasoline power, 
 and is issued each Thursday, at one dollar and fifty cents per year in advance. 
 
 The Colfax Clipper was established in June, 1879. by H. \\\ Robinson 
 and is still owned and operated by him. It is a six-column quarto paper, run 
 on a Campbell press by gasoline engine. It is a "stand-pat"' Repuljlican 
 organ, four pages home print and balance ready print. 
 
 The Clipper succeeded the old Colfax Sentinel. It now enjoys a liberal 
 patronage and does an immense amount of fine job work. Its plant is 
 equipped with the latest type and presses for the speedy and artistic execu- 
 tion of such work and the jobljers are busy the }"ear round. 
 
 The Prairie City Xez^'S, among the bright newsful papers of Jasper 
 county, has come down through the following changes in proprietors. The 
 following was written of the newspaper history in Prairie City, in 1878: 
 
 'The first paper published in Prairie City was the Gleaner and Herald, 
 bv lacob Sanders, in 1870. which only survived about one year. 
 
 ■'The next publication was the Index, established by McGinitie & Bart- 
 lett. in 1873. After a short time Bartlett sold to Col. W. Hammond, who 
 .soon purchased ]\lcGinitie's interest. After a short career, the Colonel, hav- 
 ing other business affairs of more importance to him. ceased the publication 
 of the paper. 
 
 "The next paper was the Xeivs, established by H. L. McGinitie. In 
 1878 this paper was described as a six-column folio. Republican in politics 
 and had a good business, including a good job office. 
 
 "A Greenback organ was published at this town in 1878, but in August 
 of that year suspended." 
 
 H. L. ;McGinitie established the Nezvs from the old hulex office, and he 
 was succeeded by B. C. \\'ard, now of Des ;Moines, who continued six or 
 more vears and gave way to A. A. Thompson and he in turn to Hammack & 
 Allen, who sold to S. M. Robinson, who sold to Frank L. Woodard, who is 
 now engaged in the general insurance business at Prairie City. He con- 
 ducted the paper from October. 1891, to the spring of 1897 and sold to 
 Robert lones. who consolidated with the Kodaek T another paper of the 
 town) and it was then known as the News-Kodack. The next change was 
 when it was purchased bv E. G. Robison and changed to the Prairie City
 
 1 :^0 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 A^czi's. After some time he sold to S. B. Patterson and he to D. A. ]McDon- 
 ald. who sold to the present proprietor, Al. S. Condon. The last named took 
 possession some time in 1910. The office is well equipped with job printing 
 material and its proprietor seems to be the right man at the helm, both as a 
 local editor and job printer. 
 
 MONROE NEWSPAPER HISTORY. 
 
 At Monroe, the first newspaper was the South-Side Transcript, estab- 
 hshed in 1872, by Leroy W. Alhim. Imt a year later changed the name to 
 Monroe Mirror. The founder sold the material, but not the subscription list, 
 which the purchaser had overlooked in the sale contract. Allum continued 
 the Mirror till 1877, when P. St. Clair took a partnership for a time, but re- 
 tired in four months, when Mr. Allum took full control. The Transcript and 
 Mirror worked side by side for nine months, when the Transcript ceased to 
 be issued. 
 
 In the month of April. 1877. ^Messrs. Betzer & Jarnigan estal)lished the 
 Times, which survived three months only. Later on, the Monitor, a little 
 monthly, was started by Elder J. W. Todd, which publication was changed to 
 the Temperance Reformer, and continued three months, when it was con- 
 verted into a weekly paper. It had four editors within a dozen weeks' time. 
 
 Mr. Allum was in control until October, 1880, when he sold the office 
 to John Vandermast, the present owner and editor, who has been constantly 
 in the editorial harness ever since that autumnal day thirty-one years ago. 
 At three different dates since his coming to INlonroe, attempts have been 
 made to run a newspaper outside of his, but all have "gone up the flume." 
 The list is the Monroe Leader, by L. J. Anderson, who stuck to it three 
 months; the second attempt was the Monroe Reviezv, by a Mr. Booton, and 
 he held down the tripod about one year. Then came the Pride of Monroe. 
 by C. A. Cox, who stuck to the ship for about two months and since then 
 the Mirror has been the only reflector of the local news for the town, and be 
 it said that it is a good newspaper, run in a modern way, by a man who un- 
 derstands what a news item is and runs it down. Long may its pages shine 
 under the present management. 
 
 NEWSPAPERS AT KELT.OGG. 
 
 At Kellogg the first paper established was the Reporter in ^^~^,. Its 
 founder was N. C. McBeth. who continued until 1878, when he abandoned 
 the field. His partner for a short time was M. E. Rudolph.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I5I 
 
 In 1878 the K'fllogg Post was established by B. F. Arnold, during the 
 month of June. It was a bright, newsy Republican local paper. At first it 
 was printed on material and presses of the Interior News at Lynnville. Mr. 
 Arnold sold the Post to J. R. Chandler and he in turn sold to J. C. Pratt, who 
 later moved the plant to Perry, Iowa. 
 
 In 1876, the Iozlu JVorkman was founded at Kellogg by J. Madison 
 Kirk. This was the organ of the United Workmen in Iowa. It had a very 
 large circulation and was finally removed to Davenport in the spring of 1878. 
 
 The Kellogg Enterprise, the present creditable newspaper of the town, 
 was founded April 30, 1880, by J. W. Burke and W. P. Coutts, who were 
 in partnership for six and almost a half years, when Mr. Coutts became sole 
 proprietor and for all these thirty-one years has been connected and edited 
 the Enterprise. At first it was a five-column quarto and was printed first on 
 a Wells job press of an ancient type; then it was printed from a Washington 
 hand-press, but today is printed on a Hoe power press and is an eight-column 
 folio in form and size. The office is also equipped with two modern style 
 jobbers, a Star and a Gordon press. The power press was installed in 1902. 
 The Enterprise has missed but one issue in thirty-one years and then on ac- 
 count of changes in oftice equipment which could not be accomplished in one 
 week. The editor of this paper is a true citizen of his town and county and 
 is now running the only Democratic sheet in the eastern part of his county. 
 He is an able writer and works early and late, year in and year out. for the 
 upbuilding of Kellogg. 
 
 The Tribune was established in 1889, by J. W. Burke, who conducted 
 it until February, 1909, but the plant was injured by the great fire and after 
 running it a few months longer it was suspended. Its politics was Republi- 
 can.
 
 CHAPTER XII. 
 
 RELIGIOUS HISTORY OF THE COUNTY. 
 
 The ])ioneer band who first settled Iowa, inchuh'n.2: Jasper county, were 
 not all devoted Christians, by any means, but it should be recorded that many 
 of the men and women who made up the vanguard of true civilization here 
 were God-fearing- persons, who in some one of the older ^Middle or Eastern 
 states had been identified with some church organization and did not leave 
 their devotion and religious practices when they departed for the wilds of 
 "beyond the Mississippi river." On the contrary, they soon gathered in pri- 
 vate houses, and later in rude log buildings, and there worshipped the only 
 true and living God. as they had done in the land of their nativity. Building 
 for themselves a home in a new country meant more than to acquire a large 
 tract of cheap government land and to erect a log cabin in which to live and 
 rear their young. It meant gaining a livelihood, by hard work, but coupled 
 with this, the aim was to properly educate the mind and heart of the on- 
 coming generation ])y the formation of school districts and the organization 
 of church societies which carried their own religious conviction into practice. 
 Erom the best obtainable evidence, the first religious service in Jasper county 
 was in the fore part of 1844 at the house of Adam Tool. It was a meeting- 
 presided over by a young Methodist Episcopal minister whose voice sounded 
 like "one crying m the wilderness," and he was gladly listened to bv the few 
 who lived within four or five miles of Tool's Point. The historv of the 
 ^lethodist church at Monroe, found within this cha])ter. will gi\e the historv 
 of this starting of religious .services in Jasper county, and which have in- 
 creased in strength and good works until, according to the 1905 state census 
 report, Jasper county had the following denominational representation, the 
 list showing the number of church organizations and the niembershi]^ of the 
 denomination in this county : 
 
 Bapti.st (Regular), three congregations and a total membership of 405. 
 
 Catholic, three congregations, 350 members. 
 
 Christian, four congregations and t,6oo members. 
 
 Congregational, seven churches, 886 members. 
 
 Eree Methodist, one society, thirty members. 
 
 Friends (Orthodox), tw^o meetings, 370 members.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I53 
 
 German Baptist Brethren, one society, fifty members. 
 
 Lutheran churches, two, members, i88. 
 
 Methodist Episcopal, nineteen churches. 1.676 members. 
 
 Methodist (African), one with a membership of 16. 
 
 Presbyterians, three churches, 219 members. 
 
 United Presbyterians, three churches. 247 members. 
 
 United Brethren churches, two, membership, 100. 
 
 Total number churches, fifty: total number of members, in all churches 
 in the county, 5,664: total value of churches and parsonages in countv. $27,"/,- 
 500. 
 
 In the early part of the summer of 1844. while on his way to get some 
 supplies for his household, Adam Tool met a stranger who proved to be a 
 young ^Methodist preacher, sent out to establish a circuit. He met Mr. Tool 
 on the open prairie and on horseback. He was invited to make Tool's place 
 a stopping place and a preaching point in the new settlement. In 1845 ^^^'O 
 ministers were sent in. Their circuit took in the old Agency City, and Tool's 
 Point circuit was seventy-five miles long. In 1846 the work changed so that 
 it extended northwest to connect Tool's Point with Coon Mission, extending 
 to where Boonsboro was later located, then across the Des ^loines river and 
 the Coon river at Fort Des ^Moines, then down the Three River country. 
 With so many unbridged streams, fording was a frequent occurrence, and 
 the early circuit rider's life was anything but a "flowery bed of ease." 
 
 The first Sunday school was established in 1844 just over the Marion 
 county line, but attended by the settlers of Jasper county. 
 
 The first church organization of Jasper county was perfected in the 
 winter of 1846-7 by J. A. Hammond. E. R. Wright was soon made class 
 leader, the society being of the Methodist Episcopal faith. 
 
 The third societv was formed in 1848. made up of diflferent denomina- 
 tions, but mostly of the Baptist faith. Preaching was had at Hartwell Hayes* 
 place. 
 
 METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 
 
 At ^Monroe the first religious denomination was formed in Jasper county. 
 It was. as has so many times been the case, given to the ^Methodist people to 
 first set up the cross of Christ in this new country at a time when the red 
 man had just alx)ut given his last farewell to the country and a few settlers 
 had set their claim stakes and built their rude log cabins.
 
 1 :;_^ JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Early in the spring of 1844. Adam M. Tool, while going to mill at 
 Brighton, chanced to fall in with a young ]\Iethodist preacher, who asked him 
 if he helieved the people in his little neighborhood would like to have him 
 come in and preach for them. Mr. Tool replied he thought they would. This 
 young man of God was Rev. J. W. Johnson, who soon came to the settlement 
 and preached at Mr. Tool's house. Soon afterwards a class was organized, 
 the same consisting of Mrs. Susan A. Tool, Washington Fleenor and wife, 
 and David Worth and wife. 
 
 Later in the same season, a two days' meeting was held, when James A. 
 Tool and his sister, Airs. Hill united with the class. The membership re- 
 mained stationary then until the winter of 1849-50, during which season a 
 revival was held, probably in charge of Rev. J. Q. Hammond, when the 
 membership was increased to si.xteen, a part being by letter. It is know-n 
 that Revs. Gibson and Hanson had preached the Word in 1846-7, and Rev. 
 Raynor and Rev. Kirkpatrick during 1848. The revival was held at the 
 school house. 
 
 The first church building was a frame building, erected in 1856; it was 
 homely, but very comfortable for those early times. In size it was thirty by 
 fortv feet, and cost about one thousand seven hundred dollars. By that date 
 the church membership had increased to about seventy-five. 
 
 In 1874 another church was built. This was a frame structure forty by 
 sixty-four feet, with a vestibule and bell tower. Its cost was five thousand 
 dollars. In 1878 this church was still doing good service and the church had 
 a membership of three hundred and twenty. 
 
 The following have served as pastors in this church, with possibly a few- 
 others whose names have not been inscribed on the record books: Revs. J. 
 Q. Hammond, Gibson, K5rkpatrick. Michael Seay, 1850; Rev. Pierce, 1851; 
 Joseph Hall. 1853; J. B. Allender, 1854-5; E. M. H. Fleming and Rev. Gard- 
 ner in 1856; A. Coleman, 1857; Bussey, 1858; E. Wood, 1859; A. Lauback, 
 i860; C. W. Shaw, 1862-3; B. Holland, 1864-5; Early, 1866; F. :M. Slusser, 
 1867-69; George Clammer, 1870; T. McKay Stuart, 1870-73; D. Mclntyre, 
 1874; P. St. Clair, 1875; ^^^'- Brown, 1876. From that date to the present 
 the following, among others, have served : Revs. Brown, Clammer, Murphy, 
 Durfey, Heaton, Stahl, September, 1893 to 1896; R. W. Smith, 1896-98; A. 
 V. Knepper, 1898 to 1902; D. M. Hilmich, 1898-02; J. A. Ross, 1902 to 
 1904; A. E. Foutch, 1904 to 1906; J. C. Pike, 1906-1909; Charles P. John- 
 son, 1909 to date.
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 1 55 
 
 THE NKWTOX METHODIST CHURCH. 
 
 The First Methodist Episcopal church of Newton was organized in 
 1848 by a Httle class which had been collected by Rev. Strange Brooks. 
 Among- the original members were Willis Green and wife and their two 
 daughters. E. Shipley and wife, James Pearson and wife, Thomas Pearson 
 and wife. Willis Green was the first class-leader. 
 
 In the winter of 1858-9 a union revival service was held at the old court 
 house, which was conducted by Rev. Thomas Merrill, and Rev. Bartlett, 
 Congregationalists, Rev. Fleming, of the Methodist church, and Rev. ^Ir. 
 Steel, of the Presbyterian church. After the new converts had chosen their 
 own church home, it was found that eighteen had united with the Methodist 
 society. 
 
 The first church edifice for this society was erected in 1856-7 and cost 
 two thousand dollars. It was thirty by fifty feet. Later a good bell was 
 added to the property. 
 
 The records show that in 1877 there were two hundred and ten mem- 
 bers in good standing, which has increased with the passing years to seven 
 hundred and twenty-five. 
 
 The list of pastors is not quite clear during the first few years, but it is 
 certain that the following is not far from a complete list, beginning at 1854: 
 Revs. Parker, Hiles, Petefish. Flemming, Carrier, Shaefer. Hestwood, \\'in- 
 nings, Shaw, Brown, Harris, Busby, Reynolds, Shriner, Evans (in 1878), 
 W. G. Thorn, R. A. Carimine, J. A. Boatman, J. G. Barton. I. O. Kimble. 
 G. M. Tuttle, E. L. Shriner, J. W. Lewis, E. C. Brooks, C. V. Cowan, J- C. 
 Willits, J. \\'. Hackley, O. S. Baker, W. P. Stoddard, W. H. Perdew. 
 
 The present value of the church property of this society is twenty thou- 
 sand dollars. Of the various building operations it should be stated that in 
 1 88 1 the present church was erected, at a cost of fourteen thousand dollars. 
 It was destroyed by fire in 1885, caused by a poor furnace. It was rebuilt 
 the same vear at a cost made up largely from insurance money received. 
 In 1898 an addition was erected, at a cost of five thousand dollars, making it 
 almost as large again. 
 
 The increasing membership necessitates a new and larger building, and 
 in the spring of 191 1 the trustees were instructed to secure subscriptions, 
 plans, etc.. with the view of erecting a larger edifice, which will doubtless 
 be carried forward in the near future. Great is the contrast in Xewton 
 Methodism between these days and those early times of which the county 
 record books speak as follows :
 
 1-6 JASl'ER COrXTV. IOWA. 
 
 ••Ordered, that the trustees of the parsonaiie of the Methodist Episcopal 
 mission church have a deed granted to them for lot No. 8. block No. 25." 
 (Dated July, 1851. and signed by the Board of County Commissioners.) 
 
 tool's chapel METHODIST. 
 
 [The following is from the hfty-sixtli anniversary of this church's his- 
 tor\ . compiled in a neat booklet and is worthy of reproducing, it relating to 
 earlv Methodism in Jasper county. — Editor.] 
 
 The earlv history of the Methodist circuit rider and the development of 
 this country run side by side. With the foundation of this government 
 Methodism came on the scene, and as rapidly as the boundary was pushed 
 westward, and in some instances before, the friendly face of the Methodist 
 circuit rider was seen in his work of spreading the gospel of Jesus of 
 Niazareth. 
 
 The first religious service held in this section was in the home of Brother 
 Tool, in 1849. in a ten-by-twelve log house that stood where now stands the 
 home of Austin Sheeler. During this year a camp-meeting was held by the 
 big spring, a half mile north of Draper, by Re^•. Mr. Parker, a supply on the 
 Monroe mission. 
 
 The work continued until December, 1853, when a class was organized 
 called ''Tool's Class," R. B. Allender being the preacher in charge and John 
 Hayden, presiding elder, with James A. Tool as class leader. The members 
 at that date were : James A. Tool, Mrs. S. Tool, Allen McDannel, Louis 
 Wright (later Mrs. J. H. Woody), Mrs. Elizal^eth Miller, Mrs. Mary F. 
 Franklin, William Burns, Mrs. Amelia Burns. Mrs. Mahala Romans, Mrs. 
 Sarah Rater. In the old class-1x)ok is still to be seen this inscription : ''Re- 
 member the Friday preceding each quarterly conference, as a day of fasting 
 and praver. for the prosperity of Zion in our midst." 
 
 A church was erected in 1866. under the direction of the pastor. Rev. 
 I. O. Kemble. This was after another great camp-meeting by the old spring- 
 just mentioned. J. A. Tool gave the site for the building and soon a neat 
 chapel was erected, twenty-six by thirty-six feet, costing one thousand four 
 hundred and twenty-five dollars, dedicated in 1867. Tt was named "Tool's
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 137 
 
 Chapel" l)v the pastor, Rev. Kemble. In 1899 it was remodeled and rededi- 
 cated. and was re-seated in 1904. 
 
 The record of pastors shows the followin,t^ array since that pioneer 
 commencement in 1853. given in the order in which they served: Revs. R. 
 
 B. .\llender, Eli Fleming, Austin Coleman, Amos Bussy, Enoch Wood, A. 
 Eauback, C. Shaw. B. Holland, E O. Kemble, Horton, Worden, Carrier, 
 Kino-. Armstead. 1". J. Meyers, Eli Sampson, IJ. B. Smith, A. Kershaw. A. 
 Shaffer, A. J. Belknap. Cook, J. Butler. Slusser, E. Hartley, C. V. Cowan, 
 S. Hestwood, Brown, J. Clulow. C P. Van Wye, ^E S. Stryker. G. "^^oun- 
 kin, P. B. Davison, ^^^ H. Gifford, Will Hughes, E. E. Doud, D. S. Dunla- 
 vey. D. F. Stiles, W. H. Jones, W. E. Fry, H. C. Millice, F. S. Seeds. 
 
 IRA METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 The Methodist Episcopal church at Tra was organized in 1S89, l>y the 
 following members: W. E. Rippey. Mr. and Mrs. Eli Cross, James Poul- 
 son. James Cross. Mrs. Mary Crawford, Mrs. Zimmerman. Mr. and Mrs. 
 Doctor Goodman. Mrs. Roberts. Mr. and Mrs. James Baker, Mrs. Colwell. 
 
 The church now has a membership of eighty in good standing. The 
 church edifice, thirtv bv forty feet, cost three thousand dollars, and was 
 erected of wooden material. 
 
 The pastors have been Revs. Patterson, Raymond. T. A. Eami)Son, 
 Frank Ewan, E. C. Hackathorn, M. A. Wright. William Blood, Bartholo, 
 
 C. C. Wilkins. W. D. Price, Charles Knoll, W^ \\'. Williams. 
 
 VALERIA METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 Methodism at Valeria was established in 1890 and now the church has 
 a membership of twenty-eight. The first members were Mrs. Henninger, of 
 Bondurant; Mrs. Mary Henninger. ]\Irs. Maria Eawrence, Mr. and Mrs. 
 Poling. 
 
 .\ church building was erected thirty by forty feet, at a cost of two 
 thousand dollars. AA'hen the great Valeria cyclone passed through the county 
 in May, 1896. this building was removed four feet from its foundation. The 
 list of pastors have been the same as found in the lu'story of the church at Tra. 
 
 MIXGO METIIODI.ST EPISCOPAL ClfURCH. 
 
 At Mingo the Methodist church was estal)lished in 1887 and now has a 
 membership of one hundred and fifty-four. The congregation now worships 
 in a five thousand dollar edifice. The pastors serving here are the same as
 
 158 JASPKK fOlXTV, IOWA. 
 
 those given in tlie Ira church history. The charter members of the Alingo 
 church were as follows: Robert Boyd and wife. John Penquite, Mrs. John 
 Penquite. Mrs. John Boyd. \\'. A. W'itmer. Mrs. W. J. Southern, Mrs. Fred 
 Wiles, Eli Boyd. :\Irs. Eli Boyd. Mrs. Fred Utiles. Mrs. Abe Penquite. 
 
 KKLI-OGG METHODIST KPISCOP.VL CHURCH. 
 
 This church was organized in 1866. For some time, in the early history 
 of Kellogg. Sunday school was held in a passenger coach, this being the end 
 of the Rock Island road at that time. UpcMi the erection of a school house 
 ( bv a stock company) the school was transferred to that building and all de- 
 nominations used it as a church. The present church building is a frame 
 structure, thirty-two by fifty feet, erected during the pastorate of Rev. R. J. 
 Kenyon. in 1870. In June. 1870. during the erection of the building, a storm 
 struck it with such force that it had to be partly rebuilt. The record shows 
 that among tlie first members were: William \"aughan and wife. Mehnda 
 and Elijah Cowles. Mrs. Mary Cowles and daughter Elizabeth united on 
 probation at the same time. The earliest preaching was by Rev. Mr. Moore, 
 of the Grinnell circuit. Other members of about that date were Almira Bron- 
 son. John Bronson. Clark Florer. Mrs. Hannah Florer, Martin Schoffner. 
 Rel)ecca Schoffner. J. E. Fisher. ]\Irs. ^l. E. Fisher. W. J. Hagwood. Mrs. 
 Betsa Hagwood. Mrs. Mira J. Stanley, S. C. Beeleney. ]Mrs. Sarah Beeleney, 
 Phil Shoemaker. Helen Shoemaker, Amanda Mirely. John E. Auten. Sarah 
 .\uten. Mr. and ^^Irs. Hyatt. Marion Monett. Maggie IMonett. Mrs. Thomas 
 W'ingate. Joel Dunton. Mary Dunton, D. S. McCoun, Retta AlcCoun. The 
 present membership is forty-three. 
 
 \\'hat is styled the Kellogg circuit was formed in 1866. and consisted of 
 Kellogg. Lynnville, Rushville. Rock Creek and Pleasant View. Rev. B. F. 
 Wright was assigned to the charge. The following have served as pastors : 
 Revs. Rankin, Moore. 1867; C. W. S. Shaw. 1868-9; R- J- Kenyon, 1870-1-2: 
 J. M. Coats, 1873-4: Cyrus Morey, 1875-6: C. P. Reynolds, 1877-8-9: B. F. 
 Share, 1880-1-2; John Potter. 1883; O. C. Shelton, 1884: R. A. Allison, 
 1885: G. W. Younkin, 1886; James Cleeclow. 1887: A. \Y. Haines. 1888- 
 9-90; C. W. Shephard. 1892-3-4; M. A. Aleagher, 1895; Isaac Borts, 1896- 
 7: D. R. Martin, 1898-9-1900: H. F. Robin.son. 1901-02: A. J. Bruner and 
 L. A. Crull. 1903; L. A. Crull, 1904-5: H. W. Munster, 1906; Richard 
 Breeden, two months; J. .\. Murray. 1907-8; Ireland. 1909: H. C. Millice, 
 1910-11. The church cost two thousand se\en hun(b-cd dollars and the par- 
 sonage six hundred dollars.
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 1 59 
 
 RUSIIVILLE METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 The Rushville church of this denomination was organized April 25, 
 1855. ^y i^ev. J. D. Hiles, and had for its original class Robert W. Wilson 
 and wife and their daughters, Frances, Charlotte and Irene; William Morrow 
 and wife. Margaret, and daughter. Mary Ann; John Oldfield and wife. R. 
 A\'. Wilson being the first class leader. The membership in April, 191 1. is 
 thirty- four and three probationers. 
 
 The pastors have been Revs. J. D. Hiles, 1855; William Clearage. 1856; 
 
 A. H. Murphy. 1857-8; A. H. Shafer. 1859-60; George Clammor. 1863-4-5; 
 
 B. F. Wright. 1866; Rev. Moore. 1867; C. W. Shaw, 1868-9; R. J. Kenyon, 
 1870-1-2; J. M. Coats. 1873-4; Cyrus Morey. 1875-6; C. P. Reynolds. 1877- 
 8-9; B. F. Shane, 1880-1-2; John Potter. 1883; O. C. Shelton. 1884; R. A. 
 Allison, 1885; G. W. Younkin, 1886; James Clulow. 1887; A. W. Haines, 
 1888-9. 1899-91; C. W. Shephard. 1892-3-4; M. A. Meagher, 1895; Isaac 
 Borts. 1896-7; D. R. Martin. 1898-9; H. F. Robinson. 1901-02; A. J. Bruner, 
 1903 ; L. A. Crull. 1904-5 ; H. W. Munster. 1906 (ten months and R. Breeden 
 two months) ; J. A. Murray. 1907-8; W. B. Ireland. H. C. Millice. 1910-11. 
 
 Services were first held in a log school house fourteen by sixteen feet, 
 then a frame school building was used until the present church was erected 
 in 1885. This building is twenty-eight by fort}' feet, a frame structure, and 
 cost one thousand two hundred dollars. It was dedicated during the pas- 
 torate of Rev. G. W. Younkin, l)y Rev. J. T. McFarland. It was dedicated 
 free of deht. 
 
 MOl'XT PLEASAXT METHODIST CHURCH. 
 
 This church, located three miles southwest of Xewburg. was built in 
 1 871;. at a cost of one thousand three hundred dollars. The stone used were 
 hauled about tw enty miles and one team w as lost by overheating in this work. 
 Anions those who labored hard for the building of this edifice were Tohn 
 Breedon, Calvin Dickson and Aaron Moxley. The first pastor was Rev. C. 
 P. Revnolds. whose class had thirty-five meml)ers. This church is a neat 
 frame building. 
 
 The pastors have been: Revs. C. P. Reynolds. 1879; B. F. Shane, 
 1880-1-2; John Potter, 1883; J. Craig. 1885; S. F. Bishop, A. S. Loveall. 
 1886-7; A. \\'. Haines. 1888-9; C. W. Shephard. 1892-3-4; M. A. Meagher. 
 1895; Isaac Borts, 1896-7; D. R. ^Tartin. 1898-9-1900; H. F. Robinson. 
 1901-02; A. I. Bruner. 1903. with L. A. Crull. a part of the year; L. A 
 Crull. iC)04-5; H. W. Munster. i()o6 ften months. Richard Breeden two
 
 ]C)0 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 months): J. A. Murray. 1907-8 : preachino: suspended in 1909; assigned to 
 H. C. Millice on Kellogg charge. The present membership is small. Al- 
 though small, this church has sent out three preachers from its midst. Revs. 
 D. C. Bevan. Richard Breeden and Silas Ludwick. 
 
 The publishers are greatly indebted to Re\ . Henry C. Millice. of Kel- 
 logg, for his aid in getting facts together for the history of the churches 
 under his immediate charge and for those whicli he has heretofore been the 
 pastor of. 
 
 RE.VSOXEK METII01U.ST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 This church was formed in 1885 and now enjoys a membership of one 
 hundred and forty. The following have ser\'ed as pastors : Revs. ]. Clulow. 
 1885; G. P. VanWye. 1886: M. S. Stryker. 1887-8; G. Younkin. 1889-90-92: 
 W. H. Gifford, 1893-4; E. E. Doud. 1895-6; D. S. Dunlavey, 1897-8: D. O. 
 Stiles. 1899-1901 ; W. H. Jones. 1902-3-4: A\'. L. Ery. 1905-6: H. C. Millice. 
 1907-9: E. S. Seeds. 1910-11. 
 
 COLFAX METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 The first minister of this faith to preach the gospel at Colfax was Rev. 
 J. W. Anderson in 1869. followed by RIev. Roby, who continued until 1872. 
 Re\'. Da\id Shenton succeeded and found here Mr. Eoy and wife. Mrs. Hin- 
 ton and one other woman of the Methodist faith. So little seemed in store 
 for the location, he was transferred to Sand Ridge. But again, in Novem- 
 ber, 1874, this same minister came to Colfax and preached in the Presbyter- 
 ian church, from John xiv:T5-i7. A class was formed composed of Mr. and 
 Mrs. Eoy and R. Price and wife. Tn November. 1875. he began to hold ser- 
 N'ices in West & Weaver's hall, and on December 19th a Sabbath school was 
 organized. Rev. Osljorne became pastor in 1876, followed in 1877 jjy Re\". 
 J. A. Smith, and the year following came Re\". D. Thompson. 
 
 The church was completed in l'el)ruary. 1878, and dedicated b\- Bishop 
 Andrews. May 5th. It was a frame structure thirty-two by fiftv feet, costing 
 about two thousand four hundred dollars. Tn 1878 the churcli had a mem- 
 ber.ship of eight\- and its present membership is three luuKb'ed and fortv. 
 The value of church property is al)0ut ten thousand dollars. In 1890 the 
 church was struck by lightning and the steeple entirely destroyed: the loss, 
 howe\er, was made good by insurance in force. 
 
 The following is believed to be the order in which the various pastors 
 have served at Colfax: Revs. David Slienton, Osborne. T. A. Smith. D.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. l6l 
 
 Thompson, L. Jean, W. A. Chambers, Laidlay, Dr. Vinson, M. Harnerd, A. 
 E. Griffith, B. F. W. Cozier, C. J. English, R. E. Shaw, M. Stahl, E. H. 
 Fleisher, H. A. Walbiirn and E. W. F. Requa. 
 
 CLYDE METHODIST CHURCH. 
 
 During the autumn of 1874 the society erected a church edifice at this 
 Httle hamlet to meet the demands of the worshipers of the Methodist Episco- 
 pal faith in the surrounding neighborhood. It was forty by sixty feet in 
 size, with a neat spire and bell swung in the same, the latter being a donation 
 from ^^'arren Maxwell, of State Center. The cost of the church was two 
 thousand five hundred dollars. 
 
 FAIRMOUNT METHODIST CHURCH. 
 
 The Methodist church at Fairmount was formed about 1877 and in a 
 year or two a house of worship was erected of frame; it had a steeple and 
 its cost was one thousand nine hundred and nineteen dollars. It was dedi- 
 cated September 20, 1878, by Rev. Cullen. 
 
 KILLDUFF METHODIST CHURCH. 
 
 The Killduff Methodist Episcopal church is located in Buena Vista town- 
 ship. It was organized in 1883 ^3' Rev. I. O. Kemble and now has a mem- 
 bership of ninety-seven. The charter members were as follows : Mr. and 
 Mrs. Andrew Jackson, James Rairdon, Ollie Rairdon, Phoebe Williams. Har- 
 vey Hall, Barbara Dove, W. L. Dennis, R. A. Smith, Susan A. Smith, James 
 Carey, ^Mary Carey. John Klein, Hetty Klein, Everet Leslie, Mary Leslie, 
 Sarah Young, Alice Newell. Frances Hall, John Weeks, Clara Weeks, Will- 
 iam Doak. 
 
 The pastors who have faithfully served this church are: Revs. I. O. 
 Kemble, J. Craig. S. F. Bishop, A. S. Loveall, D. R. Martin, A. W. McBain. 
 L. G. Cummins and Jesse A. Monk. The present house of worship was built 
 of wooden material, with a seating capacity of three hundred and fifty, and 
 cost three thousand dollars 
 
 PRAIRIE CITY METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 From the best authority obtainable, this church had its beginning away 
 back in a log dwelling owned by John Butters, in 1856. Rev. Caleb Bundy 
 being the preacher. The church was legally organized April 26, 18:^7. The 
 
 (11)
 
 1 62 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 organi;^ing minister was Rev. William Clarridge. of Greencastle circuit and 
 within Iowa conference, .\mong the charter members may be named the 
 following, though not a full list : Caleb Bundy, Mary Head, Mrs. Caleb 
 Bundy, S. T. Butters, Margaret Butters, Jacob Main and wife, Mrs. Daniel 
 ]\Iain and daughter, Julia; J. Minchell was class leader and his daughter was 
 also a member. • • 
 
 The following have served as pastors at this point to the present date 
 (191 1 ), the date following name indicating when they took charge of the 
 church: Revs. Caleb Bundy, 1856; William Clarridge, 1857; Smith, 1859; 
 Garrison, i860; Whittier, 1861 : J. D. Moore, 1862; J. G. Eckles, 1864; A. 
 Badley, 1867: W. A. Richards, 1868; F. M. Slusser, 1869; Sexton, 1871 ; D. 
 Thompson. 1873; J. W. Snodgrass, 1874; H. ]\I. Sexton, 1877; A. H. Shafer, 
 1878; H. H. Murphy. 1879; A. ]. Barton, 1881 ; E. W. McDade, 1883: C. 
 H. Newell, 1885; J. H. Anderson, 1887; A. H. Rusk, 1889: A. M. Shea. 
 1892; William G. Riheldaffer, 1895; John Cox Hall, 1897; \V. R. Alartin, 
 1898; B. W. Cozier, 1899; A. T. Jeffry, 1900; C. W. Proctor, 1903; J. R. 
 Ramsev, 1907; William Mercer, 1908; the last named is still serving this 
 church. 
 
 The first church was erected in 1878; a frame building, thirty by forty 
 feet, costing one thousand two hundred dollars. The present building was 
 erected of brick, on the same site as the old structure. This was built in 
 1884, costing seven thousand dollars. The present parsonage was built in 
 1893. costing two thousand dollars. It is possible the first church building 
 was erected a few years earlier than the date here given. 
 
 LYNXVILLE METHODIST EPISCOPAL. 
 
 The ^Methodist church at Lynnville was organized in 1865 by Rev. 
 Wright. The first members were H. Moody and wife, William Reardon and 
 wife, D. C. Edwards and wife. Harrison Dryden, A. O. Silver and wife. John 
 P. Stallings and A. Chambers and wife. In 1871 the society purchased the 
 old district school house and converted it into a house of worship. The next 
 church was provided in 1879 at a cost of three thousand five hundred dollars. 
 
 The present membership of the Lynnville circuit is one hundred and 
 twenty-five. This includes the three appointments. The following have been 
 pastors at this point: Revs. Wright. Rollins. Ditarr, ]\richner, S. R. Fergu- 
 son, Morey. Shane, C. P. Reynolds, 1881 ; N. Wells, 1883; John Potter, 
 1884: O. C. Shelton, 1885; R- A. Allison. 1886; F. A. Piper. 1888: David 
 Philips. 1889: F. C. Demorest, 1893; R. Collier, 1894; A. C. Boyd. 1898; H.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 63 
 
 I. Poage. 1899; A. W. Haines, 1901 ; Alfred J. W. Tongue, 1902; Thomas A. 
 Adams, 1903; A. T. James, 1904; H. C. ]\Iillice, 1905; \V. D. Merryman, 
 1907: T. B. Hughes, 1908; Frank Pfoutz, 1909. 
 
 At this date there are three appointments on the Lynnville circuit : 
 Bethel church, five miles north of Lynnville; Searsboro, four miles east of 
 Lynnville; the Lynnville appointment. The Lynnville circuit was formed at 
 the Iowa conference in September, 1867. 
 
 OTHER METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCHES. 
 
 The churches in connection with the work at Kilduff are the Grace 
 church, six miles south of Newton; Mount Zion, nine miles southeast of 
 Xewton; Pleasant Mew, se\'en miles east of Newton. Killduff was organ- 
 ized either in 1883 or 1884; Pleasant View in 1868; ]\Iount Zion in 1870; 
 Grace in 1872. The church in Killduff was erected in 1868 at a cost of two 
 thousand three hundred dollars; the one at Mount Zion, in 1870, costing two 
 thousand dollars; Grace, in 1876, costing two thousand four hundred and 
 sixty-seven dollars. Total membership of all these churches, three hundred 
 and fifty. 
 
 The following is a list of the faithful pastors who have served in about 
 the order here given, for a greater or less time : Revs. J. H. Boyd, George 
 Clammor, P. F. Bresee, M. Carrier, A. M. Shafer. G. H. Clark, E. R. Frost, 
 R. J. Kenyon, S. Hestwood. John Elrod, J. W. Robinson. J. ^L Coates, E. P. 
 McCliene, Ira O. Kimble, J. Craig, S. F. Bishop, A. S. Loveall, R. Woese, 
 David Phillips, Elias Handy, A. S. Loveall, D. R. Martin, A. \\\ ^IcBalin, 
 L. G. Cummins, Jesse A. Monkman. 
 
 Of the first church edifice at Mount Zion, it should be stated that it was 
 destroyed by a cyclone in 1881 and rebuilt the same season. 
 
 METHODIST PROTESTANT CHURCH. 
 
 At Sully is located a Methodist Protestant church which was organized 
 about i860, known first as Lynn Grove church. The charter members of 
 this society were inclusive of these : J. R. Sparks and family. \\\ R. Mathews 
 and family, Levi Conover and family. J. R. Mathews and family. Moses Shay 
 and family. Mrs. A. R. Mathews is the only surviving charter meml>er. 
 
 The pastors serving have been as follows: Revs. W. B. Warrington, 
 \V. F. Price, John F. Rouge. Josiah Sanders. Josiah Selby. G. T. Dewitt, J. 
 R. Bolton. I. L. Scott. G. M. Scott. G. I. Reeves. E. S. Brown. R. C. F.
 
 164 JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA. 
 
 Chambers, A. A. Peterson, T. W. Noble, James Kirkwood, J. H. Schull, P. 
 A. Keople, J. R. McKaig, S. M. Petty, A. H. Linder, J. W. Payne, A. J. 
 Green, F. G. Aylmore, A. N. Courtney, the present pastor. 
 
 The present church was erected about 1870 and was then locaed about 
 one-half mile east of the present town of Sully. It was moved about 1883 
 to its present site within the town incorporation limits of Sully. It is a frame 
 structure, thirty -two by forty-four feet in size, costing originally two thou- 
 sand three hundred and seventy dollars. 
 
 The only other church of this denomination in Jasper county is the 
 Hixon Grove, with Rev. J. \A'. ]\Iurphy as present pastor. 
 
 At the date of its organization the Sully church was a part of the Oska- 
 loosa circuit and was known as Lynn Grove. It was organized in a school 
 house a mile to the east of where Sully now stands. It was later made a part 
 of the Newton circuit and later still became a self-supporting charge, as it is 
 today. 
 
 NEWTON FREE METHODIST CHURCH. 
 
 This society was formed and incorporated October 17, 1892, there being 
 but six members present at that date. It has grown to number about thirty 
 now. In 1894 a neat frame chapel was erected on North Market street. In 
 1896 a parsonage was built, which ^^ ith the church have cost the society four 
 thousand dollars. 
 
 The present officers are : T. C. Ewing, H. E. Rinehart, George Chap- 
 man, trustees, and Mrs. L. Chapman, secretary. 
 
 The following have served as pastors : Revs. J. V. ]Murray, W. E 
 Boger, W. Chouts. I. H. Gorrill, I. B. Neville. E. I. Lish. I. P. Doud, F. M. 
 Smith. I. S. Booton, Euke Scripter, E. E. Dalbey, and the present pastor. 
 Rev. R. B. Ralls. 
 
 BAPTIST CHURCHES. 
 
 Among the first Baptist churches organized in Jasper countv, so far as 
 is known to the compiler of this chapter, was the one at Newton, in Novem- 
 ber, 1852, and during that year one was formed at A^andalia, whether before 
 or after the Newton church is not now known from a lack of records at the 
 former. 
 
 At Newton the society was formed at the court house, November 20th, 
 by Rev. E. Evans, moderator, and Rev. J. A. Nash, secretary of the council. 
 The charter members numbered eight. They adopted the "New Hampshire 
 Declaration of Faith and Church Covenant.'' Meetings were held, at least
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 165 
 
 once a month, at the court house. In 1856. through the aid of the Home 
 Missionary Society, this church secured the services of Rev. J. E. Guild, who 
 preached every Sabbath in the Presbyterian church. In 1857 they worshiped 
 in the old academy building, with increased interest. In 1862 the lots on 
 which the church edifice was later erected were purchased for two hundred 
 and thirty-four dollars. In 1863 the church, having adopted rules of incor- 
 poration, began building operations. The society then had only thirty-three 
 members. 
 
 The Sabbath school was not organized until May 14, 1865. On May 12. 
 1866. the chairman of the building committee, William Blackman, reported 
 the church as finished, and that the total cost of church and lots was three 
 thousand three hundred and fifty dollars. It was built of brick and was 
 thirty by forty feet in size. In June, that year, the parsonage was commenced 
 and was finished that year, at a cost of one thousand two hundred dollars, a 
 portion of which debt the society authorized the building committee to pay 
 ten per cent, interest for the money borrowed. This debt hung over the 
 church like a pall until 1874. In 1878 the membership was eighty-two and 
 its present membership is one hundred and thirty. 
 
 The following have served as pastors of this church : Revs. E. Evans, 
 from 1852 to 1855; Rev. Orin W'hitcomb, 1855-56; Rev. J. E. Guild, 1856- 
 57 \ J- Currier, from ]March. i860, to June, 1863; J. Y. Atchison, from Xb- 
 vember. 1865. to June, 1868; T. M. Bailey, from January. 1869, to October. 
 1869; S. M. Chamblet. May, 1870, to 1871 : D. M. Mead, from September, 
 1870, to October, 1871 ; Amos Robinson, from November. 1871, to 1879; 
 Gilman Parker, one year: N. H. Daily, two years; in 1883. Rev. G. G. 
 Daugherty became pastor, serving only nine months, and was not satisfactory 
 to many in the church. The next pastor was Rev. L. F. Compton. in 1885. 
 remaining two and a half years, and was followed by J. R. Murphy, D. D.. 
 serving two years. In 1891 H. D. Weaver became pastor, serving three 
 years; in 1894, J. S. Xasmith came from Kansas and took charge of the 
 church, remaining two years ; he was succeeded by J. E. Lemar, who re- 
 mained nine months and returned to college ; then came C. F. Lusk, followed 
 by M. J. Sigler, C. A. Tenny, G. H. Rookns, N. G. Thomas, who is the 
 present pastor. 
 
 As to the present brick edifice, let it be said that it was dedicated in 
 March, 1901. and cost eight thousand dollars. It stands one block south of 
 the southwest corner of the court house square. It is modern in ever}- way. 
 
 The building committee was as follows: Pastor Irwin Forbes, \\'illiam 
 Amos, J. H. Fugard. F. D. Brown, William E. Holtz.
 
 l66 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 The First Baptist church of Colfax was organized by a band of ten 
 famihes holding this faith. This was in the spring of 1889, and they strug:- 
 gled along as best they could until the next year by holding their meetings in 
 the homes of their members. That year, however, they called Rev. Allen, 
 who labored with the society about one year. Rev. T. R. Stitt became the 
 next pastor and under his administration a house of worship was planned. A 
 member of the church, \\\ A. \\'inder, donated the lot on which the church 
 now stands. The edifice, which was not erected until 1891, is a frame struc- 
 ture, costing four thousand five hundred dollars. 
 
 The church has grown from its original twenty members to have two 
 hundred and sixty -one. The pastors have been in the following order : Revs. 
 Allen, T. R. Stitt, Ferguson, Lilley, Reed, Miller, A. J. McColl, J. B. Banker, 
 R. S. Wallace. T. W. Evans, J. L. Barton, and the present pastor. Rev. Al- 
 bert van der Ploeg. Only two of the original members still remain in Colfax, 
 Thomas Ryan and Mrs. Frankie IMarion. 
 
 Sugar Grove Baptist church was organized about 1870 in Sherman town- 
 ship and struggled along many years, finally providing themselves with a 
 house of worship, built by popular subscriptions. The society finally run 
 down and the building was sold to the Free Methodists under a contract that 
 it should always be used for religious purposes. But not long since the last 
 named society sold the property to William Baker, who sought to convert the 
 same into a hog house, on his farm. But before its removal from its original 
 site, the matter became a matter for the district court to attend to, as it was 
 involved in an injunction suit brought by E. B. IMoffitt, of the Baptist denom- 
 ination. The case was tried in the district court at Newton, before Judge 
 Preston, at the May term, 191 1, at which time it was decided by the court 
 that the property should not be removed, as it was built by subscriptions of 
 people in the community who understood that it should always be uSed for 
 church purposes at that point. The case has been appealed to the supreme 
 court of the state. 
 
 BAPTISTS AT VANDALIA. 
 
 From an old record the following is found concerning the earlv Baptist 
 church at Vandalia: 
 
 "A Baptist society was organized in 1852. by Elder J, A. Nash, later of 
 Des Moines. The first members were Henry Shearer and wife, J, Q. Deakin 
 and wife, George Anderson and wife, Ira Sllers and wife. The first pastor 
 was Elijah Evans, who moved to Vandalia about 1854, remaining ten vears. 
 A building was erected by the society during the first years of its history, and 
 was the only church building Ijuilt at \'andalia up to 1878."
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. J 6/ 
 
 METZ BAPTIST CHURCH. 
 
 There is a new Baptist organization at the village of Metz, west of New- 
 ton, and during the spring and summer of 191 1 a neat frame church edifice 
 was erected and dedicated in May or June. 
 
 BAPTIST CHURCH OF MONROE. 
 
 The First Baptist church at ^Monroe was formed ]\Iay 5, 1855, at which 
 date the following assembled : Rev. E. ScarfT. E. O. Town, E. Bockenoogan, 
 I. Talbott, A. Udell, J. J. Haven, W. Q. Ellis, from Pella, and Rev. A. B. 
 Leavitt, of Indiana. W. J. Ellis was chosen clerk. The church was then or- 
 ganized and in March. 1856, preparations were made to build of brick 
 
 Among the pastors who have served in this place may be recalled : Revs. 
 A. \\\ Russell, J. Carrier, up to 1868; G. W. Hertzog, from 1869 to 1875; 
 J. A. Abbott, to 1877. 
 
 In 1878 the membership was about eighty. At this date it is one hun- 
 dred and eighty. Following Rev. Abbott, came Revs. \\'. C. Pratt, Hertzog, 
 Wilson, Mills. H. J. Shutts, J. D. Collins, Richmond A. Smith, G. F. Reik- 
 ing, F. H. \\'ebster, C. O. Johnson, O. H. Sisson, the present pastor, who 
 came in September, 1910. 
 
 In 1885, *oi' the sum of six hundred dollars, the society purchased the 
 old Congregational church building and used it as it was until 1894, when 
 they rebuilt it, leaA'ing only one of the side walls. It is now a fine veneered 
 structure, costing six thousand four hundred dollars. It seats comfortably 
 five hundred. It stands on the east side of the public square and has a fine 
 belfr\% bell, baptistry and circular pews, all in modern style. 
 
 It should be here recorded, however, that this was not the first Baptist 
 societv in this neighborhood, for one was forn-ted ^larch 3, 1850. At a meet- 
 ing held on the day just mentioned, met Elder George Bond, and Warren D, 
 Everett, as secretary. Those who united with a new church were : Hartwell 
 and Rebecca Hayes, John and Polly Woody, James D. and Diadema Putnam, 
 Tarlton P. Duncan, Lucy Horton and Polly ]\Iangrum. This society was 
 named "Harmony Church." Elder Evans preached in 1854 and in 1855 
 the church increased in its membership, but the Republican political party 
 having arisen, dissensions of a political nature aroSe. coupled with other 
 minor differences, caused the church to go do\\ n. The newer members asked 
 to withdraw, but this was not granted. A meeting was called and the latter
 
 1 68 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 membership voted to take their letters and they formed a new church at Mon- 
 roe. The old original membership revived the old church and removed the 
 place of meeting to the Woody neighborhood, where it ever afterward con- 
 ducted its church services. 
 
 PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES. 
 
 One of the earliest churches, in the city of Newton is the Presbyterian, 
 formed in 1854. Among the pioneer members were C. J. Housel and wife, 
 G. W. Chambers and wife and a Mr. Martin and wife. 
 
 This society was incorporated March i. 1859. with J. S. Hunter, John 
 C. Wilson and Thomas McCord as trustees. The house of worship was 
 built at a cost of six thousand dollars in 1865 ; it was of brick, thirty by sixty 
 feet in size. It was dedicated February 23, 1868, the sermon being deliv- 
 ered by Rev. W. R. IMarshall, of Marion, Iowa. In 1878 the membership 
 was seventy-five. Its present membership is placed at two hundred. 
 
 The pastors who have served this congregation include the following : 
 Revs. Jones. L. B. Crittenden, John Seele, E. S. Vail, George L. Little, 
 James Agnew, John X. Wilson, E. L. Williams, Isaac Whittemore, R. R. 
 Westcott, David Brown, Edwin J. Rice, R. F. Chambers, 1898 to 1906; W. 
 N. Hess, 1906 to 1908; Theodore M. Balcoff, 1908 to 1909: George Furniss, 
 May 22, 1910, and still pastor. 
 
 The present church edifice was built in 1889, dedicated December 22d, 
 free of all debts. The present valuation of the church property, including 
 the manse, is fourteen thousand dollars. 
 
 The present officers are S. G. Russell, clerk; H. S. Morrison. A. T. 
 Guthrie, T. G. Bryant, C. W. Winn, Benjamin Jones, elders ; C. W. Jarvis, 
 J. I. Cunningham, Percy R. McCord. James Davidson, T. G. Bryant and 
 Lyman A. Russell (treasurer), trustees. 
 
 THE COLFAX rUESBYTERIAX CHURCH. 
 
 At Colfax the Presbyterian formed their church as the first church so- 
 ciety in the place The petition was dated April 6, 1868, and was signed by 
 J. T. and Salina Lamb, R. N. and Lizzie Stewart, W. H. Bonnell, E. O. Par- 
 ker, G. W. Parker, Jane A. Parker. James and Sarah L. McCracken, Levi 
 ^IcCracken. and Sarah C. Mytinger. Elders J. T. Lamb and R. N. Stewart 
 were chosen September 20th. The church was erected in i868. at a cost of 
 one thousand two hundred dollars. In 1884. a new church edifice was erected 
 at a cost of five thousand four hundred dollars.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. T69 
 
 The present membership of this church is one hundred and eighty. The 
 various pastors here have included the following : Revs. Thompson, Wilson, 
 Agnew, Gordon, Hammer, F. A. Shearer, 1879; S. N. Vail, 1886; Charles 
 R. Hunt, 1890; William E. Knight, 1892; D. Wallace McMillen, 1899; 
 Henry Ouickenden, 1899; John McLinn, 1902; Scott W. Smith, 1904; W. 
 C. Brewer, 1905; D. D. Buchanan, 1906; N. R. Miles. 1907, and still serving. 
 
 The society was incorporated May 10, 1868, by E. O. Parker, J. M. 
 Kennedy, W. H. Bonnell, R. N. Stewart, J. L. Lamb, with W. D. Ballantyne 
 as moderator. J. R. Rodgers and R. N. Stewart are the only pioneers left. 
 
 During the last four years the church has put in new cement steps to 
 both entrances to the church building; put in a basement; replaced old and 
 added new windows. The members give an average of about eleven dollars 
 each to support the church, some as high as one hundred and twenty-five 
 dollars. 
 
 UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCHES. 
 
 The United Presbyterian church at Monroe was an early organization 
 in this county. It dates its history from before 1855, and the organization 
 was perfected in 1861 and now has a membership of sixty-three. It built a 
 frame church building in early Civil-war days which, with remodeling and 
 repairs, has served until now. It is probably the oldest church in use in Jas- 
 per county, and is in fine condition. Its surrounding grounds are kept in 
 fine shape and the main structure is surmounted with a neat belfrv and vesti- 
 bule. It is located southeast from the business portion of the citv. 
 
 A WONDERFUL COUNTRY CHURCH. 
 
 The Palo Alto United Presbyterian church was formed in December. 
 1870 — really after the church building had lieen completed, for that was 
 dedicated in December and was started in February of that year, by a mere 
 handful of neighbors of this particular religious faith. In 1869. preaching 
 was held at the old court house and at the Wild Cat school house, five miles 
 south of Newton, and in 1870 there was some talk early in the year of erect- 
 ing a place for worship. Finally, five families, the Hills, Reeses, Matchetts, 
 McCartneys and Kellers, organized themselves into a church. Pioneer Robert 
 M. Hill, after consulting with the preacher. Rev. Johnson, at Newton, com- 
 menced to circulate a sub.scription paper for the purpose of raising the neces- 
 sary funds. He was successful in getting one thousand dollars pledged in
 
 lyO JASPER COUNTYj IOWA. 
 
 one day in material and cash. Seven hundred dollars of this amount was 
 donated by members of the above mentioned families, the sums ranging from 
 twenty-five dollars to one hundred dollars each. In all the house cost about 
 two thousand dollars. It was, after some parleying, decided to build on the 
 opposite side of the road from the little country cemetery that had been 
 established a few years prior. The land was really not worth over fifteen dol- 
 lars per acre, but the owner, a Catholic, wanted sixty dollars per acre for the 
 tract, which amount was finally given him. This church and cemetery is 
 just south of the present homestead farm of R. M. Hill. Mrs. Badger was 
 the lady who. carrying out the wishes of her deceased husband, paid for the 
 ground and finally made a clear deed to the trustees of the newly organized 
 church society. These first trustees were Messrs. Amos B. Rees. Henry C. 
 Richardson and Joseph ]\Iiller. The structure was commenced February 14, 
 1870. The timbers were drawn from Adamson's grove and much of it was 
 hewed out from the forest kings by hand. A carpenter named Conle} , of 
 Newton, was engaged to build the cliurch, the ^^•ork being largel}- performed 
 by the men of the church. The ladies furnished dinners for the workmen, 
 both at the timber and at the building site. All but the price of two barrels 
 of lime for the foundation had been contributed. \\'hen Fourth of July 
 came round they held a rousing celebration and it was visited b\- many from 
 outside, including many from Newton. The ladies made a handsome profit 
 on articles sold on the Fourth and the first to occupy the new church was the 
 Robert M. Hill family, of father, mother and three children. They stayed 
 the night after the celebration in order to watch and care for dishes and pro- 
 visions that had been left over from the feast. They were joined in the early 
 niorning by ^Irs. Badger, who walked from her farm home and took break- 
 fast in the church w itli the Hills and they then counted over the proceeds of 
 the celebration with thankful hearts. This church was not erected without 
 much sacrifice. State Treasurer Rankin had been selected to orate on that 
 Fourth (1870), but not coming, he sent a twenty-dollar bill for the use of 
 the church. One hundred dollars more was sent by the Church Extension 
 Society and another hundred from Mrs. Hill's old home church in Linn 
 county, Iowa. 
 
 The date of real church organization was October 27, 1870. It was 
 not fully perfected, however, until in December of that year, when fifteen 
 members were taken into the church. At that time, the elder was Robert 
 McCartney ; trustees, Amos B. Rees and Henry C. Richardson. 
 
 By the excellent financial management of Robert M. Hill (still living), 
 ihe church was dedicated by Rev. William Johnson, free of any debts. The
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I7I 
 
 first person to be baptized here was David J. Matchett, at the second meeting 
 held in the new building. Weekly prayer meetings were established "to con- 
 tinue Wednesday evenings, perpetually." A Sabbath school was early formed 
 and has been kept up ever since. 
 
 Rev. William Johnson was to be the pastor, but had a call to preach in 
 Indiana, and wrote the church officers ("on the wing") that he had to leave 
 them and could not accept the work here, but wanted to frequently "hear 
 from the church that dwelt solitary in the woods.'' 
 
 Among the preachers who served as supplies, for a longer or shorter 
 period, may be recalled Revs. Joseph Boyd. Richard Turnbull, Hugh F. Wal- 
 lace, R. C. Wyatt. A. J. Graham, A. McCartney, J. Taylor, J. F. Tate, C. T. 
 McCanaghan, F. K. Martin, S. M. Black, H. McHatton. R. Gray, S. Mc- 
 Arthur. The last served until the call of the regular pastor. Rev. E. S. Mc- 
 Michael, who had charge both here and at Xewton till 1873, ^vhen Newton 
 was set off into a church by itself. Rev. ^IcMichael served in all from 1872 
 to 1879. and was followed by Rev. J. A. Ferguson, who served till 1882, and 
 then came Rev. J. A. McCalmount to 1889. The next was Rev. W. A. 
 Campbell, 1890-92; in the first twenty-five years of the church's history there 
 had been twelve supply and thirteen stated pastors "settled." Since then 
 there have been Revs. John Ferguson, E. F. Gillis, each seven years' pastor- 
 ate, and now the church is "supplied." 
 
 The present total meml>ership is about sixty. At one date, this church 
 had sent out and in acti^■e work sixteen members who were teachers, college 
 students, preachers and lawyers, showing the wonderful influence for good 
 citizenship, education and Christianity that had sprung from this little coun- 
 try church. ^liss Kate A. Hill, daughter of Robert ^I. Hill and wife, has 
 been a missionary to India for fifteen years. A better family and church 
 record can scarcely be found in the state than this one. Miss Hill is one of 
 five sisters, all of whom were teachers. She is building up a thirty thousand 
 dollar school for girls in India, to be named for her. Another, reared in this 
 church, is Avery Fales, doing home missionary work in New Mexico. 
 
 Robert M. Flill, one of the founders of this church, worked at day wages 
 for a few shillings per day, to pay for the few evergreens and willow trees 
 which now grace the front yard of this beautiful country church. These now 
 tall, stately trees will doubtless stand in their waving green long years after 
 the death of the devout man who. in the prime of his manhood, planted them, 
 a living, growing monument to his rare devotion to the cause he had so 
 sacrificed for.
 
 172 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 NEWTOX UNITED PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH. 
 
 The United rresbyterian church at Newton has a history running along 
 the same lines as the one in Palo Alto, just mentioned. It sprang from this 
 parent church in 1873. and they worshiped in the Presbyterian church until 
 they purchased the old Universalist church building. After a number of years 
 they tore this down and erected in 1897 their present neat church on the cor- 
 ner of Olive and McDonald streets, the old site of the original Universalist 
 building. Tlie same pastors have served both this and the Palo Alto church 
 for all of these eventful years. Just now they have no pastor. The present 
 membership is something over one hundred and seventy. 
 
 UNITED r.RETIIREN IN HICKORY GROVE TOWNSHIP. 
 
 This churcli was formed in 1872, organized by Rev. G. P. Fisher in 
 Hickory Grove township, where there is also another of the same denomina- 
 tion. The one now written of is known as Hickory Gro\'e, and the other, a 
 history of which follows this, is known as the Union Chapel. Hickoiy Grove 
 church now has a membership of about sixty. The only remaining charter 
 member of this society is Mrs. Priscilla Burroughs. 
 
 The building at Hickory is frame, thirty-six by forty feet, and in the 
 beginning cost one thousand five hundred dollars, but in later times has been 
 remodeled and added to, at an expense of one thousand five hundred dollars 
 more. 
 
 UNION CHAPEL UNITED BRETHREN. 
 
 This societ\ was organized in section 5. Hickory township, sometime 
 early in the eighties. Its edifice cost, originally, one thousand three hundred 
 dollars. It has a present membership of about fifty. One of the members 
 has kindly furnished the following facts concerning this society : 
 
 In the eighties, sometime after the school house was built on section 5, 
 Hickor\' Grove township, the United Brethren organized a class and the 
 preacher from the Hickory Grove church of the same denomination, preached 
 at the school house in the afternoon, once in two weeks. The members at' 
 that date were as follows: Daniel Benedict and wife, Hiram Benedict and 
 wife, Dewitt Benedict and wife. Thomas Doane and wife. Nathaniel Welch 
 and wife. 
 
 The pastors who have served here are the same as served at the Hickory 
 Grove church, and included these, but the list is incomplete : Revs. Durfee,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 73 
 
 George Rose. George \'andeventer, W. T. Dawson, Frank Butley, A. B. C. 
 Dewatter, R. L. Purely, H. E. Slattery, D. C. and A. M. Tolbett, E. A. 
 Elliott. L. L. Nichols, under whom the church was erected; Revs. L. "L. 
 Nichols, 1898; W. A. King; 1899, W. A. King; 1900. A. T. Wright; 1901- 
 02, W. Stevenson; 1903. E. C. Wolcott; 1904, E. C. McCurdy; 1905-06, N. F. 
 Hicks; 1907-8, C. Violett; 1909, C. E. McCurdy; 1910, R. P. Roberts; 191 1. 
 C. C. Hobson. 
 
 The present building was erected in 1869-70, as above referred to, and 
 tion 5, township 81, range 17. It is twenty-six by forty feet, is built with 
 arched ceiling and is beautifully frescoed and has modern seats. 
 
 CONGREGATIONAL CHURCHES. 
 
 The Congregational church at Xewton was formed in September, 1856. 
 Rev. J. R. Mershon was the moderator at the organizing meeting. The first 
 membership was as follows : C. B. and Alary W. Eels, Robert and Marinda 
 Scott, Edwin and Ruth Ann Scott. Chester and Henrietta Seymour. Elhan- 
 nan Winslow and wife, P. E. and Matilda J. Charrand, Lemuel Scoville, J. 
 R. Mershon, Elisha Woodruff and Mrs. A. A. Stevens. 
 
 In 1859 a church was built at the cost of two thousand" five hundred dol- 
 lars ; it was thirty by fifty feet in size, with an anteroom and was surmounted 
 by a bell. In 1878 this church had a membership of one hupdred and fifty. 
 Its membership in the spring of 191 1 was four hundred and thirteen. The 
 present beautiful church building was built in 1892, at a cost of fifteen thou- 
 sand dollars. 
 
 The pastors who have served this church include the following : Re^■s. 
 E. P. Kimball, E. N. Bartlett, from July, 1858, to December, i860; E. D. 
 Jones, from February, 1861, to February, 1863; George H. Beecher. from 
 August. 1863. to May, 1864; H. E. Barnes, from June. 1864, to July, 1868; 
 E. N. Bartlett, from September, 1868, to September, 1869; W. L. Bray, from 
 January, 1870, to September, 1870; D. H. Rogan. from September, 1871. to 
 August. 1874; R. P. Foster, from May, 1875, to March, 1876; E. D. Eaton, 
 from November, 1876, to December, 1879; J. E. Bissell, from July, 1884, to 
 1890; C. H. Harrah, from September. 1890, to May, 1897; B. C. Baum- 
 gardner, from May, 1897. to May. 1900; J. \\'. Cowan, from August. 1900. 
 to October, 1901 ; G. L. Smith, from March, 1902, to May, 1906; A. B. 
 Appleby, from September, 1906, to 1910; George H. Kemp, from November. 
 1 9 10, the present pastor.
 
 174 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 The Congregational church of Kellogg is among the oldest societies of 
 that place. It dates its organization from February, 1868. when a council 
 convened for that purpose, made up of the following gentlemen : Rev. 
 H. E. Barnes, of Newton; Rev. T. G. Brainard, of Grinnell. and Rev. S. J. 
 Whitton, of the old W'ittemberg church. The pulpit was supplied from Grinnell 
 and other towns until the call of the first pastor. Rev. A. Lyman, of Sheffield, 
 Illinois, who remained a number of years, doing excellent work. In June, 
 1869, several members purchased the old Union meeting house and fitted it 
 up for themselves as a church home. In 1878 the society had a membership 
 of about sixty. Up to that time the pastors had been Revs. A. Lyman, R. 
 Hassell and H. S. Thompson. Year after year the church grew and pros- 
 pered until by removal from the community and by deaths the society finally, 
 in 1909, had to give up its support of a pastor and soon the Sunday school 
 also went down. The society now only has a few members, who deeply re- 
 gret the fact that services in their own church can not be maintained ; how- 
 ever, with true Christian spirit, they willingly worship with some one of the 
 other orthodox churches in the town. 
 
 In May. 1889, the church dedicated a new frame church. Dr. Magoun, 
 of Grinnell College, preached the dedicatory sermon. Rev. Edward Allen 
 was serving as pastor of the church at that time. Deacon William F. Pringle 
 was a deacon and treasurer, as well as church clerk for many years, even up 
 to within a short time before he was called hence by death. 
 
 The last pastor here was Rev. J. Franklin Smith, who ceased his labors 
 in March, 1909, a few months ahead of the time for which he had really 
 contracted for. 
 
 THE PRAIRIE CITY CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 
 
 The Congregational church at Prairie City was formed in ]\Iarch, 1868. 
 It was accomplished through the untiring labors of Rev. C. H. Eaton. The 
 constituent members were E. Adkins and wife, Sarah Fugard. Elijah Elliott 
 and wife, John Hume and wife, Mrs. Elizabeth Sladen, Mrs. Bidwell and 
 possibly a few more. 
 
 The building committee, in September. 1868, consisted of E. Adkins 
 and C. H. Eaton. The first building was finished in the spring of 1869, and 
 dedicated June 20th that year. Its cost was about two thousand dollars. In 
 1877 the recorded membership of this society was fortv-five. Its present 
 membership is not large, but they are all devout church workers.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 75 
 
 The present Iniilding was erected in 1869-70. as above referred to. and 
 is of the New England type of "meeting houses" so called there. A basement 
 is being provided for the church now. 
 
 The following have served as the pastors of this church : Revs. C. H. 
 Eaton. C. C. Harrah. J. Allender, William J. Smith. Charles Slater, B. F. 
 Sherman. J- W. Ferner, two or more years; Rev. Sharpley. about the same 
 length of pastorate: then for four years there was no pastor; the next was 
 Rev. H. M. Skeels, who held meetings for a month and sent Rev. Houston 
 for pastor and he remained one year and was followed by Rev. W. W. Hazen. 
 for three years: then came Rev. J. J- ^litchell, who served seven years, and 
 was followed by Rew W. C. Barber : next was Rev. R. B. Hall, followed by 
 Rev. George Deakin and Rev. A. A. Thorn. The present pastor. Rev. 
 William C. North, was called in 1909. 
 
 MOXROE CONGREGATIOXAL CHURCH. 
 
 At ^lonroe the Congregational church was formed in 1866, with about 
 twenty-five members, under the ministration of Rev. Thomas ^Merrill, of 
 Newton, who remained as pastor during the first year's history. Among the 
 first to unite with this society may be recalled the names of Theodore 
 Bethel and wife, ^Mr. Holdridge and wife and W. H. Langan and wife. 
 
 The same year the church was built, twenty-eight by fortv feet in size, 
 with a tower and l^ell swung within the same. This building was erected on 
 the east side of the square, on ^^lonroe street. 
 
 The pastors have included these : Revs. S. N. Crout, two years : C. C. 
 Harrah. one year: C. N. Bingham, four years; Rev. C. C. Harrah returned 
 in 1876 and served several years. 
 
 The church finally went down for lack of support and the building was 
 bought by the Baptist society, who have remodeled and re-built it and now 
 occupy the same. 
 
 SULLY COXGREGATIOXAL CHURCH. 
 
 This is one of the latest churches formed in Jasper county, the date of 
 its organization being Februarv- i. 191 1. Tt has a membership of about 
 fifty persons. The constituent members were F. G. Ayhnore and wife. Mr. 
 and Mrs. F. G. Sherman. Mr. and Mrs. Goat. Mr. and Mrs. A. M. Forsythe. 
 Mr. and Mrs. H. E. Forsythe. F. M. Sherman, ^^r. and Mrs. Henry Wells. Mr. 
 and Mrs. E. Awtrv, Mr. and ]\Irs. C. T Roten. Mr and Mrs. John Bnmner,
 
 176 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. E. S. Haines, ^Iv. and Mis. P. A. Kling, Mrs. G. Youngkin, 
 Mr. and Mrs. Ch-de Mitchell. Mrs. D. Mitchell, Mrs. John Holdsworth, Mrs. 
 E. J. Haines, Mr. and Mrs. Fred Haines, Mrs. Hammer. 
 
 The only pastor the society has ever had is the present one, Rev. Fred 
 G. Ayhnore. The trustees are William Talbot, F. M. Sherman, A. C. Boat 
 (treasurer), F. G. Sherman (clerk). 
 
 A neat church edifice was erected at a cost of about one thousand five 
 hundred dollars, size thirty by forty-five feet, on the north half of lots Nos. 
 I, 2 and 3, block 16, Sully. 
 
 NEWBURG CONGREGATIONAL CHURCH. 
 
 This society was formed ]\larch 28, 1880. During the winter of 1879- 
 80, Rev. F. H. ^lagoun, of Gilman, preached at Newburg school house. 
 Several persons were converted to this faith and hence a church was formed 
 at once. H. H. Morris, A. H. Palmer and J. R. Dewhurst were appointed 
 a committee to send letters missive to the churches at Toledo, Chester, Grin- 
 nell, Kellogg, Gilman and ^Nlarshalltown, also to Rev. C. H. Eaton, President 
 G. F. Magoun, Rev. J. M. Chamberlain and Prof. S. G. Barnes. Other meet- 
 ings were held and articles of faith and covenant were adopted and several 
 persons presented themselves for admission as members by letter and by pro- 
 fession of faith. 
 
 On April 8, 1880, the council, composed of pastors and delegates from 
 the invited churches, and Rev. G. F. Magoun and C. H. Eaton of Grinnell, 
 assembled and proceeded to organize the church with the following members : 
 George H. [Morris, from First Congregational church, Grinnell; Howard 
 H. Morris, from First Congregational church. Grinnell; Mrs. Mary O. 
 Morris, from First Baptist church, Tiskilwa, Illinois ; A. H. Palmer, from 
 First Congregational church, Gilman, Iowa; Mrs. Abi Palmer, from First 
 Congregational church. Gilman ; William Parker, from First Congregational 
 church, Gilman; Mrs. Hannah J- Parker, from First Congregational church. 
 Gilman ; James R. Dewhurst. from First Congregational church, Gilman ; 
 James R. Wood, from Methodist Episcopal church, Gilman; ]\Irs. Elizabeth 
 Royer, from First Congregational church, Chester; Mrs. Olive N. ISTewton, 
 from United Brethren church. Hickory Grove; Harrison Newton, on pro- 
 fession ; John Newcomer, on profession ; Mrs. Laura Newcomer, on profes- 
 sion; Mrs. Lucy T. Morgan, on profession; Miss Lottie E. Sisco, on pro- 
 fession; Miss Emma Kate Williar, on profession; Mrs. Laurette Green, on 
 profession; Mrs. Elizabeth Wheelan, on profession.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. . I// 
 
 A church was erected on lots 9 and 10, block 2, of Xewburg, costing 
 three thousand dollars. It is thirty-two by forty-eight feet and built of lum- 
 ber. There are now about forty members in the church. The following 
 have served as pastors : 
 
 Revs. C. H. Eaton, 1880-81: F. H. Magoun. 1881-2; W. L. Coleman, 
 August 1882, to July. 1884; G. M. D. Slocum, 1884 to 1887; A. J. Houston, 
 June. 1887, to latter part of 1891 ; C. L. Hammond, March, 1898, to De- 
 cember. 1903: G. R. Chambers, April, 1894. to 1907; H. L. Wissler, Januarv, 
 1898, and still pastor. 
 
 WITTEMBURG C0XGREG.\TI0N AL CHURCH. 
 
 Wittemburg Congregational church of Newton township was organized 
 in 1865 by members of the Free Presbyterian church and now enjoys a 
 membership of ninety-seven members. The size of the edifice is thirty-six 
 b\- sixty feet, its cost being about two thousand dollars. The parsonage 
 and three acres of land are now valued at two thousand, five hundred dol- 
 lars. 
 
 The following have served as pastors : Revs. David Crage, S. Whiton, 
 White. DeBois. S. Mills, J. J. Mitchell, W. M Dunham, E. Durant, S. A. 
 Arnold, A. J. Benton, R. F. Lavender. 
 
 To go into the origin of this church and society it will be well to in- 
 troduce the reader to Rev. Thomas ]<klerrill and Richard Sherer and others 
 from southern Ohio, all members of the Free Presbyterian denomination 
 and anti-slavery men who settled in 1853 in Newton township, this county. 
 
 They believed God had created all men free and equal and many a poor 
 black man and woman (runaway slaves) found refuge and help from them 
 in the days of Jasper county's "underground railroad." They also founded 
 Wittemberg Manual Labor College in this township, an account of which 
 W. O. McElroy has kindlv written elsewhere in this volume. Rev. Merrill 
 taught and preached for this society until 1862, when he enlisted in Company 
 B, Fifth Iowa Infantry Regiment, as its chaplain. Rev. Poage filled his ])ul- 
 pit while he was at the front fighting and praying for the cause of the 
 L'nion. After his return he became a home missionary, preaching to the people 
 of Wild Cat Grove, Newton, Rushville. etc., and the strong moral influence 
 he threw into the community is felt even to this day. 
 
 The Civil war having forever settled the slavery question, which had 
 divided the main Presbyterian lx)dy before the war. and the fact that there 
 were but few Presbvterian churches in Iowa, one night at a church meeting 
 (12)
 
 IjS- JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 at the suggestion of pioneer John P. Beatty, of the Free Presbyterian body 
 here, and \\ho still lives at Newton, honored and revered by all who ap- 
 preciate good old gentlemen, a Congregational church was organized in 
 1865, as shown above. /\.t first the membership was forty-seven. 
 
 Owing to the fact of this being an early church of this denomination 
 and the circumstances imder Avhich it was formed, it may be of interest to 
 note who the charter members were, their names following : 
 
 Samuel Failor, Mrs. Lucy Skiff,, ^Irs. Berrie Dodge, L. A. Dungan, 
 John P. Beatty, Mrs. E. K. J. Beatty, John M. King, Julia M. King, M. V. 
 Calhoun. \\'. S. Calhoun. Albert Harrah, Mrs. E. M. King, Mrs. Sarah 
 Bosworth, William Bosworth. Mrs. Margaret Woods, William Woods, W. 
 N. Dungan, Mrs. B. Dungan, Dorcas Hanger, George Hanger, Mrs. Abi- 
 gail Hanger. Phoebe Condit, Mrs. J. V. Crawford, Sarah Crawford, James 
 R. Crawford, Mrs. Mary Jackson, Thomas Vanatta, Rebeca Sherer, Martha 
 Wade, D. C. Work. :\Iaggie E. Work, George F. Work, William Work, 
 ]\Iargaret Work, Maria Banks. N. E. Baxter, James R. Poage, Harriet E. 
 Poage, Bell ^^^ Poage, Jane R. Poage, George L. Poage, L. E. Merrill. S. 
 E. Merrill. E. J. Merrill. 
 
 Too much can not well he recorded of the good accomplished by Rev. 
 ]Merrill and his excellent, devoted family. The daughters, Lucy and Sarah, 
 were fine singers, the former ha\'ing a sweet, strong soprano voice, while 
 her sister had a fine contralto. Those days there were no hymn books and 
 the minister read the lines, after which all the congregation joined in sing- 
 ing the same. The people came from many miles around on horseback 
 on foot and w ith big lumber wagons. They had no roads, but traveled along 
 trails along the higher divides. No matter what might be the weather, 
 the meeting house was always full. 
 
 Sarah Merrill, the eldest daughter above named, edited a college-church 
 paper, giving the lecture and weekly news of the community. 
 
 CHURCH OF CHRIST (dISCIPLES). 
 
 This denomination is quite strong in Jasper county, having in 1905 
 four congregations with a total membership of sixteen hundred. 
 
 The first church of this denomination to organize within the county was 
 at Lynnville, in 1857. It was then styled in this section of the country as 
 the "New Light" church. This organization was perfected by Elders James 
 Ouillan and John A. Killim. As near as can now be learned, the original 
 members included Boston Finders and wife, IVIatthew Sparks and wife, and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 79 
 
 possibly three others. Soon afterwards, Mrs. Mayfield, John R. Sparks, Jr., 
 and Stephen J. Sparks united. 
 
 During the Civil war, many having- enlisted in the defense of their coun- 
 try's flag, the church became almost extinct, but at the close of the great 
 civil strife it was at once revived, nearly all the male membership having 
 been fortunate enough to return to their homes. In 1878 the record shows 
 the church to have enjoyed a membership of about one hundred. 
 
 CHURCH OF CHRIST AT NEWTON. 
 
 At Ne\\ton the first church of this sect to organize was formed in 
 1864 by Elders N. A. McConnell and Allen Hickey, with twenty-six mem- 
 bers. T. F. Brown and C. M. Davis were chosen elders and William Broth- 
 ers, Alvah Viles and William N. Harrah, deacons. 
 
 At a meeting held in November, 1867, it was decided to build. At 
 least twenty-three members wanted to and signed a petition to do so, but 
 others of the church refused to co-operate and withdrew from membership. 
 This weakened the church, and in fact it did not fully recover from the 
 secession until 1869, when, by the earnest efforts of Elder Richards, nearly 
 all of the seceders were induced to return to the flock. During the winter 
 of 1869-70 occurred a genuine revival, by which many were added to the 
 church. After this protracted meeting the matter of building was taken up 
 and the plans carried forward and the house of worship was completed two 
 years later. This house cost three thousand one hundred dollars and was 
 thirty-six by fifty-six feet in size. The dedication sermon was preached by El- 
 der Hill, of Des Moines, February 25. 1872. The structure was of frame and 
 served the congregation until the present fine edifice was built in 1893, at 
 a cost of twelve thousand dollars. It is a frame structure, built in modern 
 style and well furnished. The present membership of this church is three 
 hundred and seventy-five, having grown from a charter membership of 
 twenty-three. The 191 1 officers of the church are: Elders, E. C. Ogg, 
 James Lee, A. Dennis; deacons, C. H. Holden, Lee Hayes, John Hews. 
 Frank Morrow, A. Green, Frank Starrett, P. C. Daly: clerk, E. C. Smith: 
 treasurer, Mrs. Jennie Ogg; chorister, ^Irs. Laura Reeves: trustees, George 
 Hows, James Lee, E. C. Ogg. 
 
 The various pastors include the following in about the order given : 
 Revs. Blackwell, Gay, Roach, Dennis, Johnson, three years: S. B. Letson. 
 one year; J. K. Cornell, four years; B. F. Alesworth, three years; S. J. 
 Martin, one vear and a half; L. C. Pace, one year; J. C. Hanna, three years;
 
 l8o JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 J. H. Freeman, one year; W. H. Betts, one year; E. F. Leake, present pastor, 
 having served in all eight years. 
 
 In the country this denomination has churches at Baxter, Kellogg, 
 Galesburg, Prairie City, Colfax, besides the N^ewton church. 
 
 CHRISTIAN CHURCH AT COLFAX. 
 
 « 
 
 The Christian church at Colfax was formed in February, 1890, by Rev. 
 Wilson and about a dozen members, but has grown to a society numbering 
 two hundred and forty-three now. The original members were Wesley 
 Jordan. Lavina Jordan. Cora Jordan, C. A. Dotson, Mariam Dotson, and 
 daughter. Sadie D. Hurst; W. B. Wells, Amanda Wells, Emily Myhill, 
 Flora Robinson, F. A. Smith, Jennie Smith, Elihu Wiley, Nancy Wiley, 
 Walter Hall. Ann Penn, C. D. Snow. 
 
 Howard Street chapel was erected in 1891, and dedicated January 10, 
 1892. Its cost was seven thousand dollars. 
 
 The first pastor was A. ]\I. Haggard, now dean of Drake University. Other 
 ministers have been B. O. Aylsworth, E. A. Ott, H. L. Laye, O. H. KHng, 
 J. H. Ragan. W. S. Stairs, P. H Popplewell, Lyle De Jarnett, Vernon Har- 
 rington, Gertrude Harmon. Jesse Bader. 
 
 The present officers are S. A. Potts, A. \\'hitehead, elders ; W. T. Davis, 
 Charles A. Butler, B. E. Copeland, John Price, Dr. Edward Bowker, George 
 T. Robinson, Elton Briggs, deacons ; Mrs. Chloe C. Dawson, Mrs. Mattie 
 Penquite, Mrs. Rose M. Scott, Mrs. Bell Weirick, Miss IMinnie Tripp, Mrs. 
 Maggie Price, deaconesses. The church clerk is W. E. Brown. 
 
 CHRISTIAN CHURCH OF KELLOGG. 
 
 At Kellogg the Christian denomination first organized themselves into 
 a church society, located at the Saum's school house, in Buena Vista town- 
 ship, June 26, 1870, with sixteen members. The first officers were: Jesse 
 Reed, Luther Foot. G. W. Close, elders ; S. A. Saum, Robert Ludwick, 
 deacons. 
 
 In 1875 the society moved to Kellogg, and in the spring of 1877 a 
 church building thirty-eight by forty-five feet in size was erected at a cost 
 of one thousand five hundred dollars. It was dedicated June 23, 1877. In 
 1878 the church had a membership of seventy-five. Its present membership 
 is one hundred and fifty.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. l8l 
 
 An addition to the old clnircli was made later, at a cost of one thousand 
 dollars. The following have been the pastors of this society : Elders, T. F. 
 Brown, Ellis and J. E. Gaston, Elder Dyer, D. R. Lucas, J. B. Vantor, Rev. 
 Roach, Rev. McConnell, M. S. Johnson, T. F. Odimreller, A. M. Haggard, 
 Rev. Mclntyre, Rev. Roby, and C. F. Ladd. 
 
 PRAIRIE CITY CHRISTIAN CHURCH. 
 
 It is not certain when this church was organized, but it was not later 
 than 1857 or 1858. This was through the efforts of Elder J. P. Roach. 
 In an historic account of this branch of the Church of Christ, compiled in 
 1877-8, we find the following record made: 
 
 "Elder White, the present pastor, states that when he began his labors 
 here the society had erected a frame building — this was in 1868. He also 
 found members as follows : J. H. Elliott and wife. Reason Moore, Lemuel 
 Doud and wife, Jesse, Frazier and wife, Morris McKeever, Dr. Adams, 
 Charles Norris and wife, and probably J. W. Deweese. Mr. White undertook 
 to carry on a revival and succeeded in bringing some twenty persons into the 
 church. The building was completed in 1869, and the dedication held, at which 
 Prof. G. T. Carpener, of Oskaloosa, preached. The building cost three 
 thousand, five hundred dollars; is thirty-four by fifty-one feet in size, and is 
 provided with a bell." This same church bell is still in use, calling the church- 
 goers together. 
 
 Notwithstanding the population was fluctuating, the organization con- 
 tinued to grow in strength and influence and the regular services were 
 always maintained. 
 
 During the pastorate of L. B. Ames the present parsonage was erected 
 at a cost of one thousand dollars. 
 
 The year 1893 marked an important epoch in the history of the church, 
 as on November 6th the handsome new brick edifice was dedicated. The 
 cost of the new church was seven thousand one hundred sixty dollars and 
 fifty cents. B. A. Wilkinson served as pastor at this time. The dedica- 
 tory sermon was delivered by F. M. Rains of Cincinnati. 
 
 During its organization the following have served as pastors of the 
 church : D. R. Ellis, James E. Gaston. George T. Carpenter, John C. White, 
 James P. Roach, P. Donan, J. C. White, a second term; John ^,L Crocker. 
 Henry D. Dennis, D. C. Morris, D. R. Dungan, Joel Brown, Allen Hickey. 
 Lucius B. Ames. B. A. Wilkinson, Luther Moore, J. A. Bennett, C. A. Grav.
 
 152 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Charles E. Wells, M. L. Anthony, A. L. Zink, H. C. Strawn, G. H. 
 Kemp. A. B. Cornell, twenty- four in all. The following evangelists have 
 conducted services here : E. R. Cotton, Thomas Brown, ]\Iarion Boyles, 
 H. P. Dyer, Alec. AlcK\eever, Clark Braden, Allen Hickey, George F. Devol, 
 A. B. Moore, Lee B. Myers, Bruce Brown, J. A. Bennett, Matthew Small, 
 C. C. Davis, A. B. Leverett, Rev. Pickett. 
 
 Besides the pastors and the evangelists, tlie burden of the church has 
 been upheld by manv faithful men and women who have prayed, paid and 
 sacrificed to bring the congregation to its present efficiency. 
 
 Since the organization, seven hundred and eighty-three members have 
 been enrolled and at present there are two hundred and twenty-five members. 
 
 UNIVERSALIST CHURCH. 
 
 This denomination has never been very strong in the west, especially 
 in Iowa and in Jasper county. 
 
 At Newton, right after the close of the Civil war, in 1865, such a so- 
 ciety was formed with but a small membership. The following year its 
 numbers had increased to that extent that it was thought best to build for 
 themselves a house of worship. They bought a lot with an unfinished 
 church building upon it, for which they paid one thousand dollars. This 
 building was finished to the taste of the new society at a cost of two thou- 
 sand dollars more, making the whole property cost three thousand dollars. 
 It was situated at the corner of Olive and McDonald streets and still stands. 
 
 Up to 1876 the ministers who preached for this society included Revs. 
 Edmonds, J- B. Gilman, Woodbury, Nash and Sage. About 1874 Rev. 
 Rogan, a former pastor of the Congregational church, having modified his 
 radical opinions, resigned his charge and entered into other work for a time, 
 but in 1876 or 1877 he began to hold meetings in the Universalist church, 
 which were attended by several members of the Congregationl faitli. This 
 led up to a unity of organization among liis hearers, who joined in the plan 
 of employing him as settled pastor. 
 
 The trustees in 1878 were recorded as O. G. Drew, Henry Krisner. 
 Albert Harrah, S. N. Lindley and John Long. .After vears of struggle 
 this society went down and many of its members found a chiUTli home in 
 the Newton Congregational church. The Universalist building was sold 
 to the United Presbyterian society whose church now stands where stood 
 the old church.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 83 
 
 CATHOLIC CHURCHES OF JASPER COUNTY. 
 
 In the early history of the county, services for this denomination were 
 held every six months by Father Brazil, of St. Ambrose church of Des 
 Moines, at the house of Michael ]\Iorring^, also at the residence of James 
 Hickey. Finally, in 1868, a church building was erected a short distance 
 southwest from the Rock Island depot in Newton, which continued as a 
 place of worship until the erection of the present Sacred Heart church, 
 which was dedicated in 1896. A rectory was erected about thirty years ago 
 by Father Fogarty. The present membership of the Newton church is 
 about twenty-eight families. Attached to Newton parish are the missions 
 at Monroe and other points in the county, while at Colfax and Valeria a 
 priest has charge of the work at that point and at Colfax. There is a neat 
 chapel at both the last named towns. During the history of the church at 
 Newton there have been fifteen pastors, including Father Braswin and the 
 present pastor, Rev. Father Thomas McCann. The latter is a native of 
 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, who was educated in the parochial schools of 
 his native city and later he studied in the college of Mount St. Mary at Em- 
 metsburg, Maryland ; also at St. Mary's University and Johns Hopkins Uni- 
 versity, Baltimore, Maryland. He came to Newton in 1909. 
 
 At Kjellogg the first Catholic services were held in the early seventies, 
 soon after the construction of the Rock Island railroad. The work was 
 then under the guidance of Father Fogarty. of Newton. There 'are a few 
 families of this denomination at Kellogg at present and are cared for by 
 the Newton priest. 
 
 At Monroe the Catholic people organized a church in 1865. Father 
 ■\IcCabe was the first priest to hold Catholic services at this point. He 
 found here the families of Edward Mead, Patrick Mulkahey. Michael 
 Cragin and Daniel Holland, whom he at once organized into a church so- 
 ciety. 
 
 In 1875 3. building was erected under the pastorate of Father Malone. 
 It was thirty by fifty feet in size, costing about two thousand dollars. In 
 1878 the society, or congregation, numbered about twenty families and at 
 this writing it has a membership of many more families. 
 
 The various pastors who have had charge here have included Revs. 
 McCabe. Cogan. Lewisman. J. P. Clabby, Minahan. ]\falone, Fogarty. 
 
 EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 Not manv of this religious faith have ever united in a society in Jasper 
 county. There was. however, one such church formed in Newton, St. 
 Stephen's parish, which was organized by Rev. \\\ T. Currie in October,
 
 184 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 1867. the same being incorporated December i, 1868. The original mem- 
 bers were J. Green, M. B. Atwater, F. P. Miller, S. Van Riper, Thomas 
 Arthur, D. and R. Ryan. 
 
 The corner stone for the church was laid in September, 1871, and the 
 edifice was finished, except the spire, in Easter time, 1874. The cost of 
 church, furnishings, painting and grounds, amounted to about six thou- 
 sand dollars. 
 
 The rectors who ser\ed, so far as can now be learned, were Revs. W. 
 T. Currie, T. B. Niewby, J. H. Magoffin, S. C. Gaynor. 
 
 In 1878 the record shows that there were about thirty communicants 
 in St. Stephen parish. In later years the society found it impossible to sup- 
 port a regular rector and services were discontinued for a long period at a 
 time, but in the spring of 191 1 the society had been revived again and a 
 regular pastor secured and regular services are now held again. 
 
 MORMON CHURCH. 
 
 There have been but two societies of these religionists in this county, 
 and that was the church formed at Newton about 1858 and continued about 
 a quarter of a century. John X. Davis was its president. It came to have a 
 membership of about forty, who held services in a hall on the north side of 
 the public square. The belief of this peculiar sect is based jointly on the 
 Bible and the "Book of Mormon," which latter was accepted as a later 
 revelation to the original Bible. 
 
 A society flourished at Monroe for a number of years, but finally went 
 down. 
 
 LUTHERAN CHURCH AT KELLOGG. 
 
 St. Clement's Lutheran church at Kellogg was formed in 1869, by 
 Rev. F. A. Boden, who served as pastor many years. In 1878 the congre- 
 gation had a membership amounting to thirty families. In 1873 ^ house of 
 worship was erected at a cost of one thousand three hundred and sixty -five 
 dollars. The present membership is about seventy communicants. The first 
 child christened here was that of ]\[r. and Mrs. Louis Boden. August 31, 1873. 
 Rev. J. G. Olterman, now of State Center. Iowa, was pastor here until a few 
 months since, he being the last pastor serving the congregation. 
 
 At Elk Creek, this denomination has another church of about seventy- 
 five communicants, worshipping in a frame church erected in 1900.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 85 
 
 THE NEWTON LUTHERAN CHURCH. 
 
 This society was organized in July. 1868. under the labors of Rev. 
 H. S. Cook. The first members were Mrs. Elizabeth Failor, Mr. Ramsey, 
 and wife, Joseph Lyday and wife, John Dutot and wife, J. T. Xewell and 
 wife. Dr. Benjamin Failor and wife and Andrew Failor. 
 
 A house of worship was erected in 1873, known as the "Ten-Cent 
 Church." About two thousand dollars was raised by the society and alx)ut 
 five hundred dollars by the people of Xewton, regardless of denominational 
 lines. This not being sufficient to carry out their plans, the pastor sent let- 
 ters to churches in Pennsylvania, Ohio and other states, soliciting ten-cent 
 subscriptions from each member in the Eastern churches. About eight 
 hundred dollars was thus realized. The structure was built of brick, a short 
 distance from the northeast angle of the public square and is still in use. In 
 1878 this society had a membership of about fifty and at present it has one 
 hundred and fifty-six. The society owns the church and a good frame 
 parsonage, near by. The pastors who have cared for this congregation 
 since its organization have been : Revs. H. S. Cook, 1869, to September 6, 
 1876: Walter L. Lilly, April 8, 1877, to 1878; J. H. Culler, 1879 to 1884: 
 Albert Bell, 1884-87: Rev. O. F. Weaver, B. F. Grenoble, 1888-92; Rev. 
 Litzell, Rev. Simon, Rev. Tait, Rev. Dieffenbach, W. L. Bright. 
 
 The records show the church was established with seventeen members. 
 
 THE GERMAN REFORMED CHURCH. 
 
 The Bethany German Reformed church at Baxter was located one mile 
 east of the village, November 7, 1869, with about twenty-six constituent 
 members, including these : Simon Haeger, Henry Krueger, Karl Krueger, 
 Simon Klemme. Henry Haeger, Frederick Krampe, \\'illiam Hermsmeier. 
 Henry Krampe and Henry Kanne. 
 
 The following have served as pastors : Rev. Solomon Elliker, from 
 July 4, 1869, to August 26, 1883 ; Rev. A. Heineman, from November 7. 
 1883, to January 13, 1889; Rev. Edward Scheidt, from January 27. 1889, 
 to October, 1907: Rev. Paul Treager. from April 5. 1908, and still pastor. 
 
 The first church building was dedicated July 25, 1869; this becoming too 
 small, another church was erected in its place and dedicated August 
 18, 1878: it was thirty-six by fifty-four feet, built of wood. The interior 
 was tastefully arranged and fitted out with a large two-manual pipe organ. 
 On Christmas day, 1910. this edifice was totally destroyed by fire. Another
 
 1 86 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 church of pressed brick, forty by seventy-eight feet, with a steeple eighty 
 feet high, in gothic style, is now under course of construction. 
 
 The congregation owns a large parsonage, a school house for parochial 
 purposes and different buildings of wood construction, representing a total 
 value of about twenty thousand dollars. All buildings are located close to- 
 gether on a two and one-half acre tract. It also owns a cemetery of two and 
 a half acres, located a half mile north of the church. 
 
 The congregation is now composed of two hundred and fifty communi- 
 cating members. This is now, perhaps, the only church in Jasper county 
 where regular school is kept exclusively in the German language and where 
 all services are conducted entirely in the same language. 
 
 Another church of this denomination is located seven miles east of 
 Baxter, known as the Reformed Zoar church. 
 
 REFORMED CHURCH. 
 
 At Galesburg, this county, there was formed a church of the Reformed 
 denomination, early in July, 1891. The Reformed Church in America be- 
 gan mission work at this point and in October, 1891, the society was or- 
 ganized. At first the congregation worshiped in the Methodist Episcopal 
 church, later in the Christian church, and then for a time on the second 
 floor of the parsonage. In the fall of 1897 the building of a church was 
 contemplated, and on the nth of April, 1898, the corner stone was laid 
 and on July 13th, the same year, this neat mission church was most joy- 
 fully dedicated. People from different parts of the country and pastors from 
 the various denominations participated. 
 
 THE CHRISTIAN REFORMED CHURCH. 
 
 This denomination is a branch of the great Reformed church of the 
 world. It differs from the Dutch Reformed church only in minor affairs, 
 and in the old country is all one body. At Sully, this county, this church 
 was formed in 1896. The denominations are represented in many states 
 and territories in this Union. Among the original charter members at Sully 
 were these : D. Van Zante, of Sully, and A. G. Vos, of Galesburg. At 
 present there are eight consistory members. The present total membership is 
 three hundred and forty-five souls, or sixty-five families. 
 
 The church building is located on the road from Killduff to Lynnville 
 in the edge of the village of Sully. It is forty-four by sixty-six feet. The
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. iSj 
 
 basement is of cement l>Iocks, nine feet high, the balance being of frame. 
 It stands on a tract of eleven acres of land with the parsonage in the center. 
 The first church was sold to the Congregational people and in January, 191 1, 
 a new edifice was dedicated, which, together with the parsonage, etc., is 
 valued at ten thousand dollars. 
 
 The growth of the church is slow from the fact that teaching takes 
 much pains and time. Most of the congregation are farmers and the high 
 price of the land in this county keeps many from settling here, hence a slow 
 groA\th in congregation matters, but good, thorough work is effected. 
 
 The following have served as pastors at this point: Revs. J. Van der 
 Mey, 1897-1903; W. Stuart, 1904-07; M. Van der Heide, 1908-10; the 
 present pastor in charge is Rev. H. Danhof, who came and was installed 
 September 18. 1910. 
 
 CHRISTIAN REFORMED CHURCH OF GALESBURG. 
 
 This society was organized in 1898 with eight families and seventeen 
 communicants and about twenty members by baptism. Garret Uppel and 
 family are among the first and strongest members of the church here, al- 
 ways being counted on and present when possible to attend services. He 
 is eighty-three years old, but neither summer's heat nor winter's blast pre- 
 vents him coming to church. He lives all of five miles from his church. 
 
 At first the society rented a place to worship, but in a few years pur- 
 chased the old Christian church building and have since used that as a 
 church home. About 1907 the society bought a parsonage at a cost of 
 one thousand, three hundred dollars. Among the pastors here may be re- 
 called. Rev. T- Van der ]\Iey, 1903-4; Rev. Van der Hock. 1905-08, and the 
 present pastor, Rev. S. Bouma, who came in 1909. 
 
 The church now has a membership of twenty-two families, forty-two 
 communicants and sixty members by baptism — all told, one hundred and 
 two. All services are held in the Holland language. 
 
 REFORMED CHURCH OF SULLY. 
 
 This society was organized as the First Reformed church December 7. 
 1904. and now has forty-six members, including these : John Verenkamp 
 and wife, Cornelius De Jong, G. Van Workman and wife, Mr. and Mrs. 
 James Dykstra, W. K'ooistra and wife, Mr. and Mrs. Wisgerhof and names 
 not now at hand.
 
 l88 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 The list of pastors includes the following: Revs. B. Bruim, from No- 
 vember, 1905. to November, 1907; John Hoffman, from July i, 1908, and still 
 serving- the church as its pastor. 
 
 The church and parsonage, both frame buildings, at Sully, are valued 
 at fifteen hundred dollars. 
 
 THE SOCIETY OF FRIENDS ( ORTHODOX ). 
 
 This denomination has two societies within Jasper county at the present 
 date. The first work of this good sect was in the early fifties, near Lynnville. 
 They first formed into a society in 1851 at Lynn Grove. Just a few years 
 prior to this came to this settlement Ambrose Osborn and family, who 
 located there. He purchased the mill erected by Mr. Sparks. Soon after 
 this came Jervis Johnson, accompanied by his wife, Melissa, and four sons, 
 who emigrated from Indiana. Then came Jesse Arnold, his wife, Sarah, 
 and six children: Henry Zimmerman and wife, Paris ]Mendenhall and fam- 
 ily, Solomon Edwards and family. Such a number desired meetings and 
 came under the Sugar Creek (now Oskaloosa) monthly meeting. J. A. Grin- 
 nell was their first preacher. 
 
 This pioneer effort upon the part of the Friends was made known to 
 those of like faith living in Indiana and large numbers came hither. From 
 out this number of Friends was organized the Sugar Creek. Chester and 
 Lynnville meetings. About 1858 they commenced to hold monthly meet- 
 ings and by 1878 they had come to number of four hundred. These, to- 
 gether with those at Kellogg, made up a quarterly meeting known as Lynn 
 Grove quarter, having a membership of six hundred and thirty-one in 1877. 
 In 1856 a meeting house was built thirty by sixty feet in size. Later, meet- 
 ings w'ere held in the old academy. 
 
 The present Friends' church at Lynnville was erected in 1899 at a cost 
 of two thousand dollars, when material and labor was much lower than at 
 this date. The present membership of tin's society is two hundred and eighty- 
 three. 
 
 THE CHESTER CHURCH FRIENDS' SOCIETY. 
 
 Among the early settlers in Lynn Grove township were believers in the 
 faith of the Friends (Quakers). Among the pioneers of this church are 
 recalled now the names of Lemuel and Thomas Butler, Warren Bufkin, Will- 
 iam Dysart, A. T. Kirk, Eli White, James Williams and others. These peo- 
 ple all came in from Indiana and most of them had families partlv grown to 
 manhood and womanhood at the time of their coming.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 1 89 
 
 The first prairie was broken in 1855 and the first house erected in 1856. 
 While improving their lands and making for themselves comfortable homes, 
 they forgot not the God of their fathers beyond the rolling waters of the Mis- 
 sissippi river from whence they had emigrated. They formed here a cliurch 
 and set in motion the wheels of a common school. For a time this settlement 
 attended meeting at Lvnnville. but soon provided one nearer to their homes. 
 The first meeting was held at the home of Lemuel Butler. After the school 
 house was erected that was also used for meeting house purposes, until 1857, 
 when a church was built. The first minister in this neighborhood v/as Jane 
 Jones, Mattie Bufkin, Anna \\'hite, Aaron Symons and his wife, Anna, were 
 included among the early ministers of this church. After 1887 Charles 
 Renaud faithfully served as minister for a number of years and was still 
 there in 1901. The membership was small, but they believed it their dutv 
 to maintain a home meeting. 
 
 SEVENTH-DAY ADVENTIST CHURCH. 
 
 This denomination is not now represented largely in Jasper county. 
 A small body of this faith of religionists was organized at ^lonroe in 1871, by 
 Elder Canright. The first members were Rebecca and Sarah A. Stemm, John 
 Johnson and wife, Joseph Bennington and wife and George Marshall and 
 wife. This denomination has not grown to any considerable extent in 
 Jasper county with the passing of the vears. 
 
 AFRICAN METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH. 
 
 This society was organized by the colored people of Newton of this de- 
 nomination in 1877, and a house of worship was provided in the northeast 
 part of the city by the purchase of an old frame school house, which, after a 
 number of years, was rebuilt into a respectable church edifice which still 
 serves the congregation, which includes many of the colored people of the 
 place, there being only the one African church in Xewton. 
 
 YOUNG men's CHRISTIAN ASSOCIATION. 
 
 A society of this order was established at Newton in Februarv, 1874, 
 with seven members. The officers were : S. J. Moyer, president ; J. C. 
 Aydelotte. vice-president : David Van Giesen. treasurer; James Mitchell, 
 Charles Jackson, Charles A. Clark, trustees.
 
 190 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 A mission Sabbath school was organized by this association in North 
 ISTewton in March, 1876. 
 
 The association also established a lecture course in 1877. which was 
 highly successful. A reading room was maintained, open afternoons and 
 evenings, as well as Sundays. For a number of years this society was very 
 active, but with the formation of other kindred societies within the numerous 
 churches, the "^'oung Men's Christian Association was allowed to run down.
 
 CHAPTER XIII. 
 
 CIVIC SOCIETIES OF THE COUNTY. 
 
 In almost every part of the civilized globe there are found secret orders 
 of various kinds, both ancient and modern in their origin. Of recent years — 
 the last forty — there ha\e sprung up a legion of beneficiary societies, semi- 
 secret in their workings, but it is not of this class that this chapter will treat, 
 for they are too numerous and of too little general interest. They come and 
 go like the shadows — some are good and some are spurious. As most of these 
 are now under state control, they afford a very safe life insurance, and have 
 coupled with them some very excellent work and are quite good social or- 
 ganizations. Among such, in this county, may be named in passing, the 
 Woodmen, Workmen, Knights of Columbus, Red Men, Ben Hur, etc. 
 
 This chapter will seek only to give the general history, organization, 
 present standing, etc., of the three great civic orders of this century, the 
 Masons. Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias. 
 
 ANCIENT FREE AND ACCEPTED MASONS. 
 
 The first Masonic lodge instituted within Jasper countv was Newton 
 Lodge No. 59, founded under dispensation of James L. Hogin, grand master. 
 March 30, 1855. The first officers were: R. D. Minard. worshipful master; 
 Jesse Rickman, senior warden ; Hugh Rodgers, junior warden ; S. Cooper, 
 treasurer; Elisha Hammer, secretary; William Rodgers, senior deacon; Z. 
 M. Allen, junior deacon ; Lewis Helfry, tiler. 
 
 Hugh Rodgers represented this little band as proxy for the worshipful 
 master at the grand lodge the following June, the session being held at 
 Keosaqua. The report of that session remarked in record : "The work of 
 this lodge is mostly square. The lodge was opened May 26, 1855, and has 
 not yet been closed. Otherwise the work is good and the by-laws correct. 
 They recommend that a charter be granted to said lodge by the name of 
 Newton, No. ." Later in the grand lodge the number "59" was be- 
 stowed upon this lodge. The lodge was represented at grand lodge at Oska- 
 loosa in 1856 by Jesse Rickman. It does not appear that any "work" was 
 done until in June, 1855, but a year later the ft^llowing had "formed the
 
 19-' JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 perfect square:"' J. A. Harris, Caleb Laml). j. R. Sparks, P. AI. Wood, G. 
 W. Corney. Little Woods, John Dunsmore, David Evans, W. M, Springer, 
 Henry Welker. Joshua Rickman. Thomas Rees, W. R. Matthews, William 
 H. Silssby, G. \\'. Louthian, \\illiam Dinwiddy, Riley Ashley, A. R. Joslin, 
 William Dunn, Thomas Pearson, Henry Blake, Levi Combs, S. W. Foreman, 
 T. J. Dinsmore. At the close of 1858 this lodge had a membership of forty- 
 two. In 1878 it had increased to one hundred and twenty-eight. 
 
 In 1875, ^^ conjunction with the chapter and commandery, they built a 
 third story over the building erected by ]\Iorgan & Ledyard and R. Burns, 
 on the west side of the public square, which was fitted up for their use at a 
 cost of twelve thousand dollars. The rooms and equipment of this hall were, 
 in their first days, considered as good as any in Iowa. 
 
 The present number in this lodge is two hundred and sixty-four. Its 
 officers in the spring of 191 1 were as follows: James E. Callison, worshipful 
 master; Frank Wilson, senior warden; O. N. Green, junior warden; Christ- 
 ian Griebling, treasurer; Fred L. Kiennedy, secretary; J. B. Harvey, senior 
 deacon; John W. Kennington. junior deacon; David Conn, senior steward; 
 George F. Scott, junior steward ; L. B. Westbrook, tiler. 
 
 The following is a complete list of the past worshipful masters in New- 
 ton : R. D. Minard, Jesse Rickman, 1857; R. D. Minard, 1858; R. D. Min- 
 ard, 1855-6; Jesse Rickman. 1857; R. D. ]\Iinard, 1858; William Rodgers, 
 1859; J. A. Harris. 1860-61; T. H. Miller, 1862; William Rodgers, 1863; 
 I. A. Hammer, 1864-5; William Rodgers, 1866; I. A. Hammer. 1867; S. G. 
 Smith, 1868; J. W. Wilson, 1869-70-71-72-73, and grand master, 1878-79; 
 S. H. Galusha, 1874-5; S. J. Condit, 1876-77; A. P. Hanson, 1878; J. W. 
 McLaughlin, 1879-80: Caleb Lamb, C. P. Axtel 1882; J. B. Eyerly, 1883; 
 Robert Burns. 1884; O. W. Treman (May to December) ; H. S. Winslow, 
 1885; H. K. Stahl, 1886: \'. W. Skiff. 1887-8; C. F. Morgan, 1889-90; J. Y. 
 Bailey, 1891-92-93: H. V. Byers, 1894; O. N, Wagley, 1895-96-97-98, and 
 grand custodian: F. D. \\'inn. 1899-1900; J. T. Pound, 1901-02; S. C. 
 Hughes, 1903; David Conn. 1904-05; E. P. ]\Ialmberg. 1906; David L 
 Clark, 1907; Walter J. ]\Iorgan. 1907; Clifford V. Cox, 1909; James E. Cal- 
 lison, 19 10. All are now deceased but twenty-one. 
 
 ROYAL ARCH MASONS. 
 
 Gebal Chapter No. 12 was granted a dispensation for charter by James 
 R. Hartsock. grand high priest, March 6, 1856, to J. Swallow, J. D. Minard, 
 Caleb Lamb and a few others.
 
 JASl'ER COUNTY, IOWA I93 
 
 In 1878 the number of members of this chapter was ninety-eight and 
 at this date it is one hundred and sixty-one. 
 
 The hst of high priests have been as follows: Joshua Swallow, Caleb 
 Lamb, William Rodgers, D. R. Minard, Jesse Rickman. 1863; William 
 Rbdgers, 1864; Caleb Lamb. 1865; ^^'i^iam Rodgers, 1866-67; J. W. Mur- 
 phy, 1868; William Rodgers, 1869; H. S. ^^■inslow, 1870-71-72-73, and 
 grand high priest. 1875-76-77: S. J. Condit. 1874: S. E. Zinn, 1875-6 
 George R. Ledyard. 1877-78: A. P. Hanson. 1879-80; S. H. Galusha, 1881 
 D. L. Clark. 1882; J. W^ McLaughlin, 1883; C. P. Axtel, 1884-5: O. W 
 Treman. 1886: Charles H. \\'ilder, 1887, and grand custodian, 1894-5: J. W 
 McLaughlin, 1888: C. H. ^^'ilder, 1889-90; O. C. Meredith, 1891-92; F. D 
 Winn, 1893-94-95: J. Y. Bailey. 1896-97; Howard Case, 1901-02; John 
 Hartwig, 1903-04-05; David Conn, 1906-07-08; Fred L. Kennedy, 1909-10. 
 Dates given denote the year elected, the election occurring in November. All 
 are now deceased but sixteen. 
 
 KNIGHTS TEMPLAR. 
 
 Oriental Commandery No. 22, at Newton, was organized March 28, 
 1872, the charter having been granted October 16, 1871. The following is 
 the list of the eminent commanders : Caleb Lamb, J. B. Eyerly, J. W. Wil- 
 son, George R. Ledyard, Wesley Roberts, N. Townsend, J. Y. Bailey, J. \\'. 
 McLaughlin, D. L. Burnett, J. P. Newell, Charles H. W^ilson, O. C. Mere- 
 dith, Robert Burns, C. F. Morgan, A. M. Hough,, Frank D. Winn, Fred E. 
 ]\Ieredith. A. H. Benjamin, D. R. Tripp. Lee E. Brown, Fred L. Kennedy, 
 Walter J. ]\Iorgan, A. P. Hanson, E. E. Lambert. R. A. Rhoades, C. A'ar- 
 num. William Rodgers. S. E. Zinn, S. L. Patton. H. S. Galusha. 
 
 The present membership is one hundred and ninety. 
 
 MONROE LODGES. 
 
 Monroe Lodge No. 88. Ancient Free and Accepted Alasons, at !\Ionroe. 
 was formed by dispensation granted March 5, 1856, hence is one of Jasper 
 county's earliest Masonic bodies. The grand master named B. Putnam as 
 worshipful master; D. S. Smoke, senior warden, and John Tyler as junior 
 warden. Nothing was accomplished, however (owing to some irregularities 
 in admitting members without proper recommendations), until 1857. In 
 1858 John Tyler became worshipful master and three members had been ad- 
 mitted bv initiation ; then three had been passed and three raised, four de- 
 mitted and the total membership was twenty-one. 
 
 (13)
 
 194 JASl'EK rOlNTV. IOWA. 
 
 The lodi^'e was finallv chartered in ^^^J. hnt from internal causes the 
 charter was surrendered in June, iS^g. w lien the body ceased to exist. After 
 the close of the Civil war and in 1X66 the fires of Masonry were again lighted 
 here in Monroe and a dispensation, was issued in June of that year to h^air- 
 view Lodge Xo. 194. The first officers of the new lodge were: G. R. Led- 
 vard. worshipful master: G. W. Richards, senior warden; John Taylor, junior 
 warden. The lodge was chartered as Xo. 194 in the following year. From 
 that date on peace was the record of the lodge at Monroe and in [HjH it en- 
 I'oved a membership of ninety. Its present membership is recorded as one 
 hundred and fourteen. The present officers are: (i. C. Ammer. worshipful 
 master; C. D. Fouch, senior ^\■arden ; S. Scharf. junior warden; O. W. Burch- 
 inal. treasurer; F. L. Lane, secretary. 
 
 Fairview Lodge rented a hall until 1873, ^^hen they built a home of 
 their o\\ n. and the present fine brick hall was erected in 1909, the same being 
 as complete as anv hall in Towa. The Order of the Fastern Star is repre- 
 sented here. 
 
 Geber Chapter L^. D.. Royal Arch Masons, was instituted June 20, 
 1878. bv the appointment of G. AL Bethel as eminent high ])riest; Seth 
 Dixon, excellent king; V. M. Slusser. excellent scril)e. The chapter grew 
 rapidlv from the first and fifteen belonged in Octol)er, 1878, its first year's 
 history. 
 
 KELLOGG MASONIC LODGES. 
 
 At Kellogg. ^Meridian Lodge Xo. 280, Ancient Free and Accepted Ma- 
 sons, was established February 10. 1870. under dispensation granted Febru- 
 ary Lst. which named Lsaac Burnett as worshipful master; C. H. Russell, 
 senior warden; S. S. Patterson, junior warden. The other members Avere : 
 \V. R. Reynolds, D. Vaughn. W. F. Rowland, Charles Morgan, Walter Mor- 
 gan. J. AW A\'ilson was the first master under the charter, which instrument 
 was granted the following June. In 1878 the records show a membership of 
 about fifty; at present it is seventy-one. 
 
 The present officers are as follows: R. C. Burton, worshipful master; 
 F. R. Foster, senior warden; P>. A. Barton, junior warden; C. R Irish, treas- 
 urer; E. J. Birchard, secretary; A. R. W. P)rown, A. !>. Cra\en, James Drake, 
 trustees. 
 
 In the nineties this lodge ])urcliase(l its present brick hall building. 
 
 L^■x^\"ILLl•; ?il\soxi(' lodge. 
 
 Lebanon Lodge X^o. 227, Ancient b'ree and .Accepted ^lasons, at Lvnn- 
 ville, was organized under dispensation December 7, 1867, with fames B. 
 Naylor, worshipful master; I. J. AAHiite, senior warden; AA'. R. Matthew^s,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I95 
 
 junior warden: J. P. lUmi]), treasurer; Joseph R. Xaylor, secretary; Dewitt 
 Dunham, senior deacon; W. C. Rayburn. junior deacon; S. W. Caster, tiler. 
 The only other charter meml)er was John R. Sparks. S. M. Robertson was the 
 first candidate for the forming- of the ''perfect square." J. B. NIaylor served 
 as master for seven years. 
 
 The present membership of this lodge is sixty-seven and its elective offi- 
 cers are: C. H. Potter, worshipful master; A. W". Meredith, senior warden; 
 C. L. Zimmerman, junior warden; AT. G. Garner, treasurer; C. E. Ouire. 
 secretar}'. 
 
 BAXTER MASONIC LODGE. 
 
 Unit Lodge No. 520. Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at Raxter. 
 was instituted in 1892 by charter members as follows: John R. Peck. William 
 R. Vandike. George M. Web]), James Williamson. P. J. Cool, Martin L. 
 W'eaver, F. T. Gilmore, Alfred Davey. W^illiam H. Blair, C. P. Rairdon, J. 
 
 0. Gardner. W^illiam Bailey, George Greenfield, Jesse Cross. W. F. Rippey. 
 
 The first officers (elective) were: John R,. Peck, ^^•orshipful master; 
 William A^andike, senior warden ; George M. Webb, junior warden ; James 
 Williamson, treasurer ; P. G. Cool, secretary. 
 
 The first place of meeting was in the rooms o\'er Hanson & Downs" drug 
 store. That burned in 1897, when they built a hall of their own on lot 15, 
 l)lock 2, of Rippey's addition to Baxter. They lease to the Odd Fellows and 
 \\'oodmen. 
 
 The present membership of this lodge is forty-four, or \\as on January 
 
 1. 191 1. Its present officers are: John Allan, worshipful master; L. E. Fow- 
 ler, senior warden ; J. S. Booth, treasurer ; Carl C. Webb, secretary. The 
 trustees are Paul Cooper, C. E. Davey and W. R. A^andike. 
 
 THE GALESBURG LODGE. 
 
 Monumental Lodge Xo. 311, Ancient Free and .\ccepted Masons, at 
 Galesburg, was organized in 1872 and in 1884 they erected their present hall. 
 They now have a membership of forty-two, with the elective officers in 1911 
 as follows: Albert Lust, worshipful master; B. A. Romans, senior warden; 
 L M. Carnahan. junior warden; W. A. AA'ilHamson. treasurer; .\rthur 
 Wheeler, secretary. 
 
 COLFAX MASONRY. 
 
 Riverside Lodge No. 389, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at Colfax, 
 worked under dispensation from some time in 1878. when J. R. Rodgers was 
 worshipful master; L N. Paschal, senior warden; J. T. West, junior warden;
 
 196 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 W. L. West, secretary; John Fanselor. treasurer. The remainder of the 
 charter members were: John Cochran. C. A. Dotson. D. ^1. Morrison, John 
 D. Dee. E. M. Holland, Dr. J. R. Ryan. William Foy. William Clark, J. 
 Keasey, William Little. Dr. S. K. Pickens and three more. 
 
 PRAIRIE CITY MASONRY. 
 
 Preston Lodge No. 218. Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, at Prairie 
 City, was organized under dispensation, iMay 14. 1867, with J. G. Eckles, 
 worshipful master: A. B. Jenks. senior warden; C. F. Head, junior warden; 
 the other petitioners were Charles Dustin. W. L. Clark, Lewis Clark. Levi 
 Jenks, William L Church, F. T. Murrah, Ralph Nixon. The charter was 
 granted in June, 1868. In 1878 the lodge had a membership of fifty-two and 
 in the spring of 191 1 it has forty-eight. The present officers are: K. F. 
 Harp, worshipful master; F. J. Binford, senior warden; J. A. Ray. junior 
 warden: Fred Daly, senior deacon; D. ]\I. Henninger, junior deacon; B. E. 
 Moore, treasurer; J. H. Freeman, secretary. 
 
 A lodge hall was erected in 1881, at a cost of about one thousand five 
 hundred dollars. The following is a list of the worshipful masters of this 
 lodge: J. T. Eckles, C. F. Head. F. J. Reigart, H. C. DeWolf, W. L. Clark. 
 W. G. Clements, F. M. Austin, Jesse Wilson. B. C. Ward. J. F. Harp, A. T. 
 Dowden, G. L. McFadden, C. S. Jenks, Arthur Graham, D. H. Gill, H. M. 
 Wilson, C. D. Johnson, J. F. Harp. 
 
 MASONIC LODGES IN JASPER COUNTY, I9II. 
 
 The following ^Masonic lodges were in existence in ]\Iay, 1911 : Newton 
 Lodge No 59; Fairview Lodge No. 194, at Alonroe; Preston Lodge Nb. 218, 
 at Prairie City : Lebanon Lodge No. 227. at Lynnville ; Meridian Lodge No. 
 280, at Kellogg: Alonumental Lodge No. 311, at Galesburg; Riverside Lodge 
 No. 389. at Colfax; Unit Lodge No. 520, at Baxter. 
 
 INDEPENDENT ORDER OF ODD FELLOWS. 
 
 The pioneer Odd Fellows lodge of Jasper county was formed at New- 
 ton. It was Central Lodge No. /T,, established October 11, 1855, by author- 
 ity of the grand lodge of Iowa. The charter members were : H. J. Skiff, 
 Solomon Gardner, A. Failor, C. Conlev and \\'il]iam Rodgers. The latter 
 was the first noble grand; H. J. Skiff, \ice-grand : S. Gardner, recording sec- 
 retary ; C. Conley, permanent secretary ; A. Failor, treasurer.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. I97 
 
 This lodge flourished with the town of Xewton until the breaking out 
 of the Civil war, Ijut in 1862 it was found impossible to sustain it on account 
 of the large numbers who had gone into the service of their country under 
 President Lincoln's call for troops. The charter had to be surrendered, but 
 about the close of that terrible conflict it was petitioned for at the grand lodge 
 to have the original charter returned, and the prayer was answered, as they 
 were entitled by their patriotism to this complimentary token of good will 
 from the head of the order. 
 
 In 1878 this lodge had a membership of fifty-six and was in a flourishing 
 condition. The lodge now has a membership of two hundred and fifty-two. 
 Its present officers are: Elroy Scott, noble grand; O. M. Keith, vice-grand: 
 John R. Hall, recording secretary: F. H. Russell, financial secretary; George 
 ^^^ Simpson, treasurer. 
 
 Xewton Encampment Xo. 16 was instituted April 19, 1876. by charter 
 from the grand encampment of Iowa, with Caleb Lamb, chief patriarch ; J. 
 H. F. Balderson, high priest; A. ^I. Hinsdale, senior warden; William 
 ^'aughan, junior warden; J. S. Agnew, scribe; J. H. !McCalmont, first war- 
 der; G. F. Schurtz, second warder. The other members were E. Shipley, G. 
 Meyer and J. S. Knight. 
 
 In 1878 the records show a membership of twenty-seven; its present 
 membership is one hundred and thirty-two. 
 
 The present officers are : A. C. Raridon, chief patriarch : H. E. Ras- 
 mussen, high priest; Arthur Jackson, senior warden; E. P. Grant, junior 
 warden: J. R. Hall, secretary; S. S. ^Marshall, treasurer. 
 
 PATRIARCHS MILITANT. 
 
 Canton X^o. 31, at X'ewton, was possessed of the following elective offi- 
 cers in June. 191 1: H. E. Rasmussen. captain; A. L. Guthrie, lieutenant; 
 W. L. Kintz, ensign ; J. R. Hall, clerk and accountant. The order now has a 
 membership of one hundred and thirty. 
 
 The order is represented in the state department of Odd Fellowship by 
 Maj.-Gen. E. E. Lambert and Col. H. J. ^NIc^Furray. of the Second Regi- 
 ment of Iowa. 
 
 The hall occupied by the Independent Order of Odd Fellows at X'ew- 
 ton was erected many years ago. At first the order built the east half of the 
 present block at the northeast corner of the square and later purchased the 
 balance of the block. They have a fine hall and the membership in all de- 
 grees is one of activity and good works.
 
 198 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ODD FELLOWS AT COLFAX. 
 
 At Colfax the Odd Fellows organized Lodge Xo. 476, May 24, 1884, 
 with the following charter members: F. W. Carey. J. R. Sharp, M. Thomas, 
 D. M. Guessford. J. I). Johnson, A. J. Chalmers. J. M. Stayner. 
 
 The present membership is one hundred and ninety. Its present officers 
 are : B. F. W'intersteen, nol)le grand ; E. A. Wheeler, vice-grand ; R. E. 
 Cnmmings. secretary; J. H. Hahn. treasurer. The lodge hall is owned in 
 company with the Knights of Pythias order. The past grands are as follows : 
 J. R. Sharp, A. S. Kizer. J- R. English. C. \V. Paschal, W. H. Ball, Henry 
 Sharp. B. L. Logsdon. J. H. Clements. F. W. Logsdon. John Pearson, A. 
 Dale. W. X. Smith. J. O. Pflaum. C. H. Keipp. B. Winpegler. A. H. Irwin. 
 John Harris. Fred Ackrael. R. E. Cummings. yi. E. Penquite, E. E. Clark, 
 \\\ S. Cutter. A. A. W'allburn. T. P. Barnes, E. E. Kiendig, E. J. Howe, 
 Orvil Morgan. A. Denholm. l-'red Hanson. C. Winslow. J. H. Hahn, J. M. 
 Stayner, O. D. Acton. 
 
 BAXTER ODD FELLOWSHIP. 
 
 As is usually the case in these progressive times, towns where enterpris- 
 ing men do Imsiness ha\e time and desire for keeping up the various secret 
 orders and looking after each other's ^^•elfare. Baxter has ever been fore- 
 most in such laudable work 
 
 Acton Lodge X"o. 516 was organized December 27, 1902, Iw' twenty- 
 eight charter memljers. including these : X. Hazlett, P. S. Hill, W. H. Bair. 
 George Chamlierlain. who held office. The total membership now is fifty- 
 five. The lodge meets in Masonic hall, which they lease. The 191 1 electi\e 
 officers are : J. F. Coakley. noble grand ; T. 1'. K'elley. ^■ice-grand ; James 
 McKenzie, secretary : ^^^ T. Thorp, treasurer. 
 
 Baxter Encampment X^o 224 was organized June 2/, 1909, with twenty- 
 five memliers. The present officers are: Clint McMahon. chief patriarch; 
 J. 1"'. Coakley, junior warden: R'. \\\ Crawford, high priest; James Garrison, 
 scribe. 
 
 Baxter Rebekah Lodge X'^o. 579 was organized February. 1909. and now 
 enjoys a membership of fifty. Its present officers are: Mrs. Walter Grant, 
 noble grand: Mrs. Alice Earl}-, vice-grand: Mrs. Belle Chamberlain, secre- 
 tary. 
 
 MIXGO ODD FELLOWSHIP. 
 
 Mingo Lodge Xo. 174 was formed at Mingo, July 10. 1905. with forty- 
 six charter members. The total membership of this lodge is one hundred 
 and nine. Its present officers are: Henry Byal. nol)le grand; J. W. Ramlio,
 
 JASPER COUXTY, IOWA. I99 
 
 vice-grand; C. C. Black, treasurer; W. A. PeiKiuite. secretary. The lodge 
 meets every Wednesday evening, in Baker's hall. 
 
 The following have served as noble grands in this lodge; A. L. Rees, 
 F. B. Rose. E. C. Battles. Lee Signs. M. F. Berkley. H. K. Poorbaiigh. C. C. 
 Black. \V. J. Southern (deceased). J. L. Coughlan. W. A. Penciuite and C. 
 Hebers. 
 
 MONROE ODD FELLOWSHIP. 
 
 At ]Monroe, Jasper Lodge No. i68 dates its history from Septeml)er. 
 1868. when a meeting was held and it was decided to petition for a charter. 
 A dispensation was granted by William P. Sharpe. who ordered if the peti- 
 tioners would wait three weeks or so. to come and establish a lodge, which 
 was consummated December lo. 1868. The recognized charter members were 
 as follows: William Howard, L. G. Zerley. J. W. Johnson. W. F. Hill. 
 Josiah Turner. Jacob Kipp, Ximrod Caple and T. Burchinal. 
 
 Early in 1871 the lodge purchased a set of jewels at a cost of one hun- 
 dred dollars, and in the latter part of the year 1870 the lodge moved to new 
 lodge (|uarters. In 1875 the lodge bought a lot of ground on the northeast 
 corner of the pul)lic s(|uare. paying one thousand dollars therefor and there 
 their hall was erected. 
 
 In 1878 the lodge had a membership of seventv-one; its 191 1 member- 
 ship is eighty-five. Its present officers are ; C. M. Hetherington. noble 
 grand; Harry Worth, vice-grand; W. T. Woolcott. recording secretary; W. 
 H. Hetherington. financial secretary; C. W. Burchinal. treasurer. 
 
 At first this lodge had its home in the second story of a building on the 
 north side of the public scjuare. Its present quarters are situated in the haU 
 in the second story of a brick building over the State Savings Bank, at the 
 southwest corner of the s(|uare. This hall was l)uilt at a cost of three thou- 
 sand dollars. It was erected in 1898 and is the property of the Odd Fellows. 
 
 Monroe Encampment Xo. 60. at Monroe, was instituted May 20. 1872. 
 The first officers were: T. B. Burchinal. chief patriarch; T. McR. Stewart, 
 high priest; I. Hawkins, senior warden; J. R. Hall, junior warden; R. R. 
 Foehlinger. scribe; X. Caple. treasurer. In 1878 the lodge had a membership 
 of thirty, which has been increased to forty-five in 191 1. The chief patriarch 
 is W. T. Woolcott. 
 
 Eureka Rel^ekah Degree Lodge X'o. 32 was established January 17, 
 1874. T. C. Burchinal was the first noble grand. It now has a membership 
 of eighty. The present noble grand is Mrs. Mary Holland.
 
 200 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 KELLOGG ODD FELLOWSHIP. 
 
 Tecumseh Lodge No. i8i, at Kellogg', was organized December 15, 
 1869. J. H. F. Balderson was made noble grand: Daniel Boatright. vice- 
 grand ; William Bonser. secretary ; S. Condon, treasurer. The other charter 
 members were Cyrns Sinnard, Robert AIcK'ittrick and Jasper N. Stewart. 
 
 The following- have filled the office of noble grand : J- H. F. Belderson, 
 D. Boatman. S. Condon, William Bonser, B. B. Boatright, \\'illiam ^Marshall, 
 William \^aughan, George Condon, Le\i ^^^ Davis, Charles B, Duncan. The 
 present officers are: A. B. Craven, noble grand; ^^^ J. Robinson, vice-grand; 
 F. L. Phipps, secretary : Harry Attwood, treasurer. 
 
 The lodge now has a membership of fifty in good standing and is in a 
 flourishing condition. The order meets over the Dr. Smith business house, 
 on Main street, which it has called its home for a rpiarter of a century. The 
 encampment degree is well represented at this point, also. 
 
 ' LYNNVILLE ODD FELLOWSHIP. 
 
 Lynnville Lodge No. 322 was constituted October 21, 1875. The first 
 officers were : R. H. Cook, noble grand ; O. C. Meridith, vice-grand ; J. W. 
 Moody, secretary; A. R. Matthews, treasurer. The other members were 
 William Hamilton, Thomas McGlasson and S. Condon. 
 
 In 1877 the lodge had a membership of about fifty. 
 
 Lynnx'ille Fncampment No. 83, at Lynn\-ille, was established in October. 
 1876. The first officers were: O. C. Meridith, chief patriarch; J. W. Moody, 
 high priest; A. R. Matthews, senior warden; J. S. Kitch, junior warden; W. 
 H. H. Nelson, scribe; S. M. Robertson, treasurer. V. A. Roberts was also a 
 charter member. 
 
 In 1878 this encampment had a membership of thirty. 
 
 PRAIRIE CITY ODD FELLOWSHIP. 
 
 Prairie City Lodge No. 144 dates its history from 1867. George Fugard 
 was the first noble grand ; C. Conrad, vice-grand, and the other charter mem- 
 l)ers were Isaac Cooms, Caleb Bundy, S. F. Miller, B. J. Head. R. B. Smith, 
 A. J. Wilkinson. 
 
 The records show a membership in 1878 of thirty: its present member- 
 ship is one hundred and four. Its present officers are: J. A. ^^^^ddell. noble 
 grand ; Charles French, vice-grand ; Fred Daily, secretary ; ]. R. Buckley, 
 treasurer.
 
 JASPER COUNT V, IOWA. 201 
 
 This lodge owns its own hall, a building forty by one hundred and twenty- 
 feet, with a hardware store below the hall. The Rebekahs. Woman's Relief 
 Corps and the Yieomen meet in the same hall. 
 
 KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS. 
 
 This fraternity has grown rapidly since its organi/catir)n. which seems 
 but a few }ears, in comparison to the Masonic history which runs awav back 
 into truly ancient times. The Knights of Pythias lodges are found in the 
 following places in Jasper county : 
 
 Delta Lodge No. 53 was organized February 19. 1880, by the following 
 charter membership: F. S. Clark. ]\F A. McKinley. Frank Fisk, C. W. Stahl, 
 Jay Clark. J. W. McLaughlin, George W. Ledyard, A. J. McGregor, W. Mc- 
 Colloms, Grant Townsend, Ralph Parmenter, Frank Hunter. S. R. Oldaker, 
 S. N. Russell, J. G. Cotton. H. K. Stahl. E. E. Hughes and R. C. Wilson. 
 
 The first officers were: Past chancellor. S. R. Oldaker; chancellor com- 
 mander. IT. Iv. Stahl: vice-chancellor. AL A. McKinlev : propliet. J. \\\ Mc- 
 Laughlin: master of exchequer. Jay Clark; master of finance. Frank Fisk: 
 keeper of records and seal, C. W. Stahl: master at arms. E. E. Hughes; 
 inner guard. Grant Townsend : outer guard. A. J. McGregor. 
 
 The present officers are: H. P. Engle, chancellor commander: J. R. 
 Bowen, vice-chancellor: R. B. Gibford. prophet: R. D. Guessford. master of 
 work; Oscar A. Coon, keeper of records and seal and master of finance; 
 Charles Griebeling. master of exchequer; Arthur Nelson, master at arms; 
 Mert Lewis, inner guard ; M. R. Souder. outer guard. 
 
 The lodge was instituted in the Hiatt building on the north side of the 
 public square and now meets in Castle Hall in the Clark Ijuilding on the east 
 side of the square. 
 
 The past chancellors have been A. H. Bergman. Jay Clark. John L. 
 Conn, W. E. Carpenter. John H. Coon. J. R. Gorrell. Charles Ciriebeling, M. 
 B. Huckins. J. H. Harvey, W. F. Harvey, A. K. Lufkin. E. N. Lawrence. 
 R. R. Alowry, B. A. Miller, J. W. McLaughlin. David McAllister. John 
 OT^eary, J. F. Rouze. Alton Reynolds, C. A. Snow and G. W. Simpson. 
 
 Russell's Division No. 26, of the Uniform Rank of this order, was or- 
 ganized June T. 1893, but has never been as prosperous as some of the other 
 L'niform Rank divisions of Iowa. 
 
 There are Knights of Pythias lodges in Jasper county at Newton. Kel- 
 logg. Prairie City. Newburg. Baxter. IMonroe. Colfax.
 
 202 JASI'KK COrXTV, IOWA. 
 
 The Kini'o-hts of TVthias are represented at Prairie City l)y Jasper Lodge 
 No. 63. organized August 14. 1890. by charter members, inckiding these: 
 
 B. E. Aloore. J. H. Little. M. Feathers, j. Prouty. B. C. \\"ard. I. \V. Shriver. 
 D. L. Lower, Ellis AlcConnaughey. V. A. Heaton. Ed. Winchell. C. Tool. B. 
 F. Milleson, Henry Blatmer, W. M. Davis, Bailey Burns, Edgar Draper. 
 
 Among the chancellor commanders have been B. C. Ward, D. M. Kelly, 
 Alden (lilbert, Bailey lUirns, George 1\'. Scott, D. F. Brown, R. E. Yowell, 
 F. Al. Moore. 1. W. Shriver. R. I). Lower, J. W. Jeffries. B. E. Moore, D. 
 yi. Hemminger. A. j. Hixson. J ]\1. Keating, I'rank L. \\'oodard, W. M. 
 Davis, present incumbent of the office. 
 
 The 191 I officers are: W. M. Davis, chancellor commander; T. J. Yow- 
 ell, vice-chancellor; R. E. Yowell, master of work; Hugh G. Little, keeper of 
 records and seal and master of finance ; B. F. Moore, master of exchequer ; J. 
 W. .Hayes, master at arms; F. M. Moore, prelate; D. i\L Hemminger, inner 
 guard: Ivan Moore, outer guard. 
 
 A leased hall is occupied now. 1die present membershii) of lodge is 
 seventy-fi\e. 
 
 In 1909 the I'ythian Sisters were instituted, and the 191 1 officers are as 
 folhnvs : Past chief. May Hemminger; most excellent chief, Ollie Little; ex- 
 cellent senior chief, Fannie Wiggins; excellent junior chief, Hazel Hayes; 
 manager. Delia Kindred; mistress of records and correspondence. Jess M. 
 Gill: mistress of finance. Floy McKleveen ; protector. Dora Brown; guard, 
 Carrie Patrie. 
 
 At Kellogg a Knights of Pythias lodge was formed in 1893 ^"^^ "^w has 
 a working membership of thirty. It is known as Kellogg Lodge No. 376. 
 They meet in a leased hall over the Jones business house on Main street. 
 
 The officers (elective) in 1911 were: T. L. Simpson, chancellor com- 
 mander; F. L. Rhodes, vice-chancellor; (i. F. Galusha. keeper (jf records and 
 seal; A. E. Adams, prelate: S. A. Owings. master of finance; R. C. Birchard, 
 master of exchecpier ; S. H. Schultx. master of work; A. F. Schultz. master 
 at arms; M. D. Baum, inner guard; Pi. N. Smith, outer guard. 
 
 Baxter Lodge No. 168. Knights of Pythias, was organized .\ugust 13, 
 1896, with sixteen charter meml>ers. The ])resent total membership is seventy. 
 The present electi\e officers of the lodge are: G. T. Haeger, chancellor com- 
 mander; George E. Kline, vice-chancellor; J. E. Thorp, prelate; \V. T. Thorp, 
 keeper of records and seal; H. S. Downs, master of exchequer. 
 
 The lodge meets in Haeger Brothers' hall. The past chancellors are: 
 H. S. Downs, Homer Rairdon, A. C. Rose, W. T. Thorp, H. .\. Trus.sel, Carl 
 
 C. ^^'el)b, J. A. Workman, \\. ]. (ioodwin.
 
 JASPER COUXTY, IOWA. 2O3 
 
 Colfax Lodge No. 4 was organized August 14. 1885, and now has a 
 membership of one hundred eighty-six. The first officers were : (j. C. O'Neal, 
 past chancellor; H. Crawford, chancellor commander; F. .\. Smith, prelate; 
 
 0. Bryan, master of exchequer; A. S. Mar(|uis, master of finance; A. W. 
 Hall, keeper of records and seal; J. N. Reynolds, master at arms; PI. Young, 
 inner guard ; John Roup, outer guard. 
 
 The present (1911) officers are as follows: N. Rinker, chancellor com- 
 mander; M. Pollard, vice-chancellor; Robert Dawson, prelate; M. McKeever, 
 master at work; John Pearson, keeper of records and seal; A. Rol>erts. master 
 of finance; I^. J. Drois, master of exchequer; Charles Gregg, master at arms; 
 
 1. Hunter, inner guard; A. E. Wheeler, outer guard. 
 
 There have been fifteen chancellor commanders in this lodge to date. The 
 order owns its own hall.
 
 CHAPTER XIV. 
 
 MILITARY HISTORY OF THE COUNTY. 
 
 The people of Iowa have ever been justly proud of the state's military- 
 record made duriui;- the great Civil war, fought from 1861 to 1866. That 
 her pioneers were made of the right material, in a patriotic sense, one is con- 
 vinced by a glance at the lately published military volumes of Iowa, which 
 valuable documents disclose the fact that out of about one hundred and fifty 
 thousand men subject t(i military duty within lier borders in 1861, fully 
 eighty thousand men went to the seat of war in the Southland. Many never 
 returned to home and friends, Imt were buried where they fell, by disease or 
 bullet, their graN'es now l)eing marked, if at all, by the sad, but significant 
 word "unknown." Verily these died that our glorious Union might lie pre- 
 serxed. By their life-blood the Nation was saved ! 
 
 At first seventy-five thousand men were called for ])y the following- 
 proclamation by President Lincoln, the document being dated Monday, April 
 15, 1861, and read as follows: 
 
 ■'Whereas, the laws of the United States have for some time past, and 
 are now, opposed, and the execution thereof obstructed, in the states of 
 South Carolina, Alabama. Florida, Mississippi, Louisiana and Texas, by com- 
 binations too powerful to he suppressed by the ordinary course of judicial 
 proceedings, or by the powers vested in the marshals ; now therefore, I, Abra- 
 ham Lincoln, President of the United States, by virtue of the power in me 
 vested by the Constitution and the laws, have thought to call forth, and 
 hereby do call forth, the militia of the several states of the Union, to the 
 number of seventy-five thousand, in order to suppress said combinations, and 
 to cause the laws to be duly executed. 
 
 ''The details for this su])ject will ])e immediately communicated to the 
 state authorities through the war department. I appeal to all loyal citizens 
 to favor, facilitate and to aid this effort to maintain the honor, the integrity, 
 and existence of our national union, and the perpetuity of popular govern- 
 ment, and to redress wrongs already long endured. I deem it proper to say 
 that the first services assigned to the forces hereby called forth will probably 
 be to repossess the forts, places and property which have been seized from 
 the I nion; and in everv event the utmost care will Ije observed, consistentlv
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. -^0=) 
 
 with the ol)ject aforesaid, to avoid any devastation, any destruction of, or 
 interference with property, or any disturbance of peaceful citizens in any 
 part of the country; and I hereby command the persons composing the com- 
 binations aforesaid, to disperse and retire peaceably to their respective 
 abodes, within twenty days from this date. 
 
 "Deeming that the present condition of pubh'c affairs presents an extra- 
 ordinary occasion, I do herelDy. in virtue of the power in me vested by the 
 Constitution, com-ene l)()th liouses <:)f Congress. The senators and represent- 
 ati^•es are therefore summoned to assemble at their respective chambers at 
 twelve o'clock noon, on Thursday, the fourth day of July next, then and 
 there to consider and determine such measures as in their wisdom the public 
 safety and interest may seem to demand. 
 
 "In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the seal of 
 the United States to be affixed. 
 
 "Done at the city of Washington, the fifteenth day of April, in the year 
 of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and sixty-one, and of the independ- 
 ence of the United States the eighty-fifth. 
 
 "Abraham Lincoln. 
 
 "By the President. 
 
 "W. H. Seward, Secretary of State." 
 
 The last words of this proclamation had scarcely fallen from the wires 
 before the call was filled. Men came from farm and shop, from the East 
 and the West, from mountain and glen — men of all professions and all politi- 
 cal shades of difference for the time being forgot all but the one thing of 
 preserving the uaion of states and the rights of the people under the Con- 
 stitution and the flag that had so long and proudly waved over a united 
 people. 
 
 But seventy-five thousand men were not sufficient to crush out the re- 
 bellion. Call after call was made and filled by the best volunteers the world 
 has ever seen draw- a sword or take aim with a musket. The inscription 
 written in 1859 by Hon. Enoch Eastman, of Eldora, for the block of stone 
 designed for the Washington monument, at the national capital, read, "Iowa 
 — her affections, like the rivers of her borders, flow to an inseparable L^n- 
 ion." When the great civil conflict came on, these words seemed almost 
 prophetic in their character, when one reflects upon the unison of action in 
 most e^'erv part of the commonwealth with wliich troops were mustered into 
 service that the union of states might be preserved. 
 
 Upon the receipt of the news that the assassination of the newly- 
 elected President had been attempted while en route to Washington to take
 
 206 JASPER COl'XTV. IOWA. 
 
 his seat, a military company was hastily organized at the old conrt house at 
 Xewton, with thirty-fi\e members, llie officers chosen were: j. A. Gar- 
 rett, captain: J. W. Wilson, first lieutenant: J. S. llunter, second lieutenant; 
 J. L. Matthews, Henry Kissell. Samuel Failor, Jesse Kennedy, Jr., sergeants; 
 D. >\IcCord, Jr., Samuel Osborne, M. Ramsay. J. M. Rogers, corporals. 
 Captain Garrett had seen service in the Mexican war. 
 
 Application was immediately made to the go\'ernor of Iowa for arms, 
 but the answer returned was that the cjuota was exhausted, and that there 
 was little prospect of more being obtained for some time to come. On this 
 account, the filling up of the company's ranks proceeded slowly for several 
 weeks, when the organization was abandoned. 
 
 VOLUNTEERING. 
 
 April 22, 1861, in response to the President calling for troops, a rousing 
 meeting was held at the court house in Xewton, and the nucleus of a com- 
 pany for actual service was formed. The Free Press says that intense ex- 
 citement pervaded the meeting, "and when the national flag was brought 
 into the densely crowded room, to the stirring music of glorious 'Yankee 
 Doodle,' such excited enthusiasm was there as only comes when slumbering 
 patriotism is kindled from off God's altar." W. H. Silsby presided. Stir- 
 ring and patriotic speeches were made by Dr. Robinson, of Grinnell, H. J. 
 Skiff, S. G. Smith. H. S. Winslow, Judge Kbllogg, Rev. C. Shaffer. Rev. 
 John Steel and Captain Chapman. The following citizens then signed the 
 roll : S. H. Chapman, J. G. Jones, J. R. Rodgers, Thomas R. Keisler. John 
 Shellady, D. \\\ Lester. Robert Bain. W. E. Huling, John S. Cottle, Allen 
 Alloway, Thomas Poor, Martin Rtimsey, Simeon Kennedy, J. W. Preston, 
 William Robinson, J. C. Dixon, William Hunter. D. ^^^ Critzer, J. S. Adam- 
 son, S. R. Bicknell, B. Aydellotte, John Cockley, William Foutts, Francis 
 Job, James P. Banks. 
 
 Another meeting was held on the 26th of the same month, at which 
 time the roll of the company was nearly comj)leted. May 2d the list was 
 published, and its composition may be seen in this chapter elsewhere. 
 
 In Monroe a great mass meeting was held on .\pril 24, 1861, presided 
 over by R. Elwood ; S. A. Holt, secretary. Ten men volunteered. On the 
 29th, at an adjourned meeting, thirteen more enrolled their names and the 
 meeting pledged itself to furnish as many more if necessary — and certainly 
 they kept their word.
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 20'J 
 
 In Poweshiek a meeting was held on April 26, 1861, presided over by 
 patriotic men. Another was held three days later. Eleven men joined Cap- 
 tain Chapman's company, and the meeting passed the following resolutions : 
 
 "j. That immediate .steps be taken to thoroughly organize Poweshiek 
 into a military organization. 
 
 "2. That there be a committee of twelve appointed to act as regula- 
 tors, for \arious purposes, not necessary to mention. 
 
 "3. That all persons not willing to vindicate and defend the Union and 
 the Constitntion, sliall ])e brouglit lie fore the committee and be dealt with as 
 traitors. 
 
 "4. That (tur meetings open and close !)}• inxoking the divine aid and 
 blessing upon our patriotic and glorious undertaking." 
 
 JASPER COUNTY FULLY AROUSED. 
 
 Saturday. May 4, 1861, was a big day in Jasper county. On that day 
 was held a great mass-meeting at Xewton. at ^\•hich time measures were 
 taken to fully perfect a complete military organization of the whole county, 
 in which Poweshiek a few days Ijefore had led off by enrolling a home guard 
 of fifty men. Captain Chapman was marshal of the day, assisted by Colonel 
 Shellady and William H. Silsby. J. W. Alurphy presided at the meeting 
 and A. K. Campbell was secretary. The exercises consisted of speeches by 
 J. R. Alershon and Rev. C. Shafer, music and the business for which the 
 assemblage had met. 
 
 It was in the minds of the people in this and other southern Iowa coun- 
 ties that an invasion would soon take place by the guerrillas from Alissouri. 
 
 Airs. T. G. Springer, then of Alalaka township, wrote a beautiful poem 
 on the going out of these. Jasper county's first soldiers. One stanza should 
 never be lost among the rare gems of poetry written by an obscure lady at 
 the beginning of the Civil war. It runs thus : 
 
 "But would we call them back to us? Xo ! by those Stripes and Stars, 
 That floated o'er our fathers through their long and bloody wars. 
 We will cheer them on to battle \\here their glorious banner waves, 
 And they'll proudl}- die beneath it, rather than live as slaves; 
 And they will be victorious — the strength of courage born 
 Will bear aloft their gallant flag, though blood-stained and torn; 
 And the proud defiant chieftain, from the land of bloom and song, 
 Will learn in blood this lesson — 'the peaceful are the strong.' "
 
 2o8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 The original "Jasper drays" could not be recognized by Governor Sam- 
 uel J. I\iirk\vood. until in July. ]86i, when they hnally received marching 
 orders. They attended the Congregational church in a body in the morning, 
 Rev. D. E. Jones preaching the sermon. At evening they attended the 
 Methodist Episcopal church and listened to Rev. A. H. Shafer. The next 
 evening, while assembled at a sociable at the Congregational church, a ma- 
 jority of the men took a pledge list, which included these items: 
 
 "We, the undersigned United States volunteers, remembering the teach- 
 ings of our fathers and mothers and the sentiments of the community from 
 whence we go, will abstain entirely from the use of ardent spirits, except for 
 medicinal purposes; to not use profane language and improper language; to 
 keep holy the Sabbath day ; to read the Scriptures and have prayer in our 
 midst, and hope to be brave in the hour of conflict, kind and compassionate 
 in the hour of victory, especially to women and children." 
 
 On Tuesday, the same week, the soldiers were presented with a flag, 
 the presentation being made by Col. Thomas Miller, on behalf of the "New- 
 ton Hawkeyes." Then came the parting time — that saddest of all times on 
 earth, when loved ones and dear friends part with but a faint hope of again 
 meeting. Many of the citizens accompanied the troops on their way, as far 
 as they thought best. The route taken was via Monroe, Pella, Oskaloosa and 
 Edenville to Burlington, the place of rendezvous. A kettle-drum was car- 
 ried by the boys, loaned them by ]\Ir. Bain. The same had been carried by a 
 Continental drummer in the Revolutionary war. 
 
 Recruiting for two more companies at once commenced ere the sound 
 of the first company had been lost to the ears of the patriots at home. One 
 was raised at Monroe and another at Newton. A company was also raised 
 in August, 1 86 1, commanded by gallant Captain Garrett. 
 
 OFFICIAL ACTION IN JASPER COUNTY. 
 
 The reader may be interested to know something concerning the official 
 action of the board of county supervisors, the people's representatives, during 
 that never-to-be-forgotten struggle. The records show that at a special 
 meeting held early in July, 1861, the following resolution was adopted by the 
 board : 
 
 "Resolved, That each member of the board of supervisors be authorized 
 to look after the families of the soldiers that have gone or may go to war 
 from their respecti\-e townships, and furnisli them witli such necessaries of 
 life as tliey may need. And the orders of said supervisors, respecti\eh'. on the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 209 
 
 comity treasurer to pay for said necessaries shall be drawn by the clerk of the 
 board of supcrxisors, upon presentation, accompanied with the name of the 
 person's family to be relieved thereby, and duly signed by said member of the 
 board of supervisors, each member to report his doings to the board." 
 
 This was the only action necessary, and for the next seven years, until 
 the claims and demands of soldiers' families had come to an end. there was 
 never a hint by any member of the board that too much was being expended 
 to care for the "war widows" and the families of soldiers in the field. When 
 money was needed, it was dealt out in a business-like manner by the people, 
 through the l)oard. Each member of the board (one from each township in 
 the county then) had charge of the needs of his own township and was never 
 questioned by the other members, for they, too, were all looking after the 
 needs of their own soldiers' families. 
 
 On June 3, 1863, the board passed the following resolution : 
 "That Drs. Thornell and Hunter be and are hereby appointed a com- 
 mittee to visit the sick and wounded soldiers of Jasper county, Iowa, and 
 that the sum of three hundred dollars is hereby appropriated for the purpose 
 of furnishing such supplies for them as, in their judgment, may be necessary 
 and proper; and that they be required to report at the next session of this 
 board, of their doings, together with the amounts expended." 
 
 PRESENTATION OF THE ''lIAVELOCKS." 
 
 The following bit of reminiscence was brought out by the pen and from 
 the good memory of Civil war days, by J. H. Fugard. of Newton, at the 
 dedication of the new (1911) court house: 
 
 "Our people had some queer ideas about the dangers of a soldier's life, 
 and some impracticable schemes were proposed for their relief. One source 
 of dread was the fear that our boys would not be able to endure the intense 
 heat that was supposed to exist in the Southern states. Some one had read 
 how General Havelock, the Christian soldier, had furnished a novel sort of a 
 head covering for his Highlanders to protect them from the sun, in their 
 famous march across the sands of India to the relief of Lucknow. 
 Acting on the suggestion, the Newton Ladies' Aid Society devised and made 
 a lot of them. They were called 'Havelocks,' and were made of some kind 
 of light material, and looked (piite different from anything ever seen here 
 before, being a sort of a cross between a helmet of the middle ages and a 
 night cap of our grandmother's days. And when Captain Garrett's com- 
 pany were about to leave, they were drawn up in front of the north porcli, 
 ' (14)
 
 2IO JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 and in a short speech by one of the ministers were formally presented with 
 them. 
 
 "The gift was made from nol)le moti\es. But the presentation proceed- 
 ings were badly marred by the loud laughter of the small boys at the ludi- 
 crous appearance of the troops. But the latter paid no heed to the taunts 
 and, out of respect to the donors, they wore their sunbonnets like heroes until 
 they got out of town. They afterwards used them for dish cloths." 
 
 For a complete list of all soldiers ^^•ho went from Fairview township 
 the reader is referred to the history of that township for a certified sworn-to 
 copy of same, made in 1865 for military purposes. " 
 
 VOLUNTEER ROSTER OF THE COUNTY. 
 
 The following roster of soldiers who went from Jasper county has been 
 carefully compiled from the adjutant-general's reports which were issued by 
 authority of the state between the years 1862 and 1866, and are considered 
 correct, except in a few changes, where some disability, such as desertion, 
 has been removed l)y more recent acts of Congress and rulings of the war 
 department. It is the aim to give the name of all volunteers, and note also 
 those killed. The list is given alphabetically, by companies and regiments. 
 
 THIRD INFANTRY. 
 
 Company C — William H. Sparks. 
 
 Company E — Second Lieutenant (when mustered out in 1864) Allen 
 Alloway ; James F. Guthrie, corporal; Benjamin F. Denton, corporal; J. 
 M. Skiff, corporal ; John Blake. Justice Dunn. Samuel T. Jones, James C. 
 Livingston. I. T. Xewhouse, Jasper H. Parks. J. \V. Preston, James H. 
 Trotter. 
 
 Coiiipaiix G — T. (i. Norris. John A. Butler. 
 
 Company H — Second Lieutenant David Scott; Sergeant John C. Carr; 
 H. C. Dearinger. 
 
 FIFTH INFANTRY. 
 
 Company A — Corporal William C. Hawk. F. G. Tubbs. 
 
 Company B — Captain Samuel H. Chapman; First Lieutenant Alexander 
 Mateer; First Lieutenant Robert A. McKee ; Second Lieutenant O. A. Camp- 
 bell ; Sergeant John Shellady ; Sergeant William W . Dungan ; Sergeant 
 James Vannatta; Sergeant Thomas R. Kiesler; Sergeant William Adamson ;
 
 JASPIiR COUNTY, IOWA. 21 J 
 
 Corporals Miles Humphrey, E. Edmonds, J. ^M. Loudcnback.' Isaac J. Jones. 
 
 D. W. Teter. James W. McCroske) . W. C. W'inslow, James Taylor, William 
 F. Bodley, David Herron. James P. Banks, Cleorge F. Work, A. Ritter, 
 John M. Yolk, T. E. Beath; J. R. Rogers, musician; If. C. Gist, wagoner; 
 A. G. Atha. Daniel Bixler. M. Butler. John D. Bodley, I. T. Borden, L. K. 
 Carey, S. Capel. I. Cartwright, M. W. Cottrell, M. K. Campbell, I. Collier, 
 Burnett Dewitt, John C. Dixon, William P. Pouts, Job Plemming, Joseph 
 
 E. Fisher, John Gray. William E. Graham. J. Halgerson, William E. Hun- 
 ling, William Hill, Hiram C. Hall. W. H. Howard, George M. Hammond, 
 William H. Haxton, J. M. Hilsinger, F. 'M. Johnson, Theodore Jones. G. L. 
 Jones, S. Kennedy, James A. King, Thomas Kerr, PI. I. Lyman, George W. 
 Lowe, D. R. Loudenback, E. McReynolds, ^^^illiam ^lartino. Jered Mesker. 
 George B. T^Iahan, ^^'illiam I^. ]\Iaus, Wesley ]\Iatson. T. L. McDonald. 
 William McCully, Charles ^I. Alorris, O. B. Piix^r. Thomas Poor, John J. 
 Peyton. Thomas W. Preston, H. Reynolds. A. D. Romans, J. Rhynehart, 
 James H. Smael. L. F. Shell} . William H. Sparks. B. F. Stearns, H. Scott. 
 J. Stem. William Spnrlin, John H. Sparks, George Watson. W. Warrell, 
 John H. \\^elsh. 
 
 Company D — Layton Butin. M. B. Cooper. S. Hayes. T. H. Payton. 
 Company (unknown) — Daniel Connor. C. Erich. A. ]>klcCusker, P. Mc- 
 Daniel, J. Schlusser. 
 
 TENTH INFANTRY. 
 
 Colonel William H. Silsby entered as first lieutenant : Lieutenant-Colo- 
 nel Aaron \\'. Drew entered as sergeant ; Quartermaster George G. Lindlejl' ; 
 Sergeant-Alajor George Fugard; Hospital Steward Milo Dibl)le; Musician 
 y. W. Skiff; Musician John A. Harris; ^Musician Z. Needham ; Musician 
 Xeedham. 
 
 Co}npa}i\ D — William B. McKinney. 
 
 Company F — Samuel Bushong. 
 
 Company I — Captain John A. Garrett; Captain Stephen W. Poage; Cap- 
 tain William P. Wilson; Jnrst Lieutenant William Manning; Second Lieu- 
 tenant James S. Laughlin ; Sergeant ^^'illiam F. Rippey ; Sergeant Joseph 
 Houston ; Sergeant Joseph Powell ; Sergeant E. R. Gantt ; Sergeant Freder- 
 ick Kinley; Corporals J. T. Kennedy. Oscar Evans. H. L. Kroh. Robert C. 
 Banks, J. H. Jliff. \\'ilHam H. Earp. D. W. Church, C. T. J-Jelm, William 
 Strong. Henrv Lockwood. James Smith: Musicians James O. Hammond. W. 
 R. Perkins ; D. X. Adamson. A. Alloway, A. M. Ashley, A. Bevan, I. Black- 
 wood, A. X. Bradfield, J. B. Clark, J. H. Coldren. Thomas J. Colyar, M. Cox,
 
 212 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 T. J. B. Crawford. James Ciilp. Josiah Dicus, William Doak, Joel Dodge, E J. 
 Duncan, H. M. Fiske, M. V. George, A. Hammack, James C. Hawk, George 
 Hews, Isaac Hickman. A. W. Hickman, I. Homer, M. F. Iliff, William F. 
 Jackson. George Klelly, Joseph C. Kennedy. Wesley Kerr, O. C. Kinley, 
 James F. Faiigblin, George G. Findley, B. F. Logsdon, William H. Lowell, 
 John Mather, R. D. Maus, J. W^ Mans, J. E. Montgomery, L. W. Moshier, 
 Aaron Mylin. Thomas J. Nelson. E. D. Patterson, H. H. Phillips. John N. 
 Replogle. F. .\. Sanders, S. Scarbrongh. Bennett Scoville, Jesse Slavens, H. 
 E. Smith, Joseph \l. Trammel. M. W. Trotter. Benjamin F. Weston, F. 
 Whitted, J. T. Wilsey, \Mlliam P. ^^'ilson. A. J. Wiggin. John W^ren. 
 
 Company K — S. Adams, S. F. Beals, L B. Beals, U. D. Barrett, A. 
 Cushalt, S. Howell. Israel Myrely, S. Morris, E. C. Smith, Richard Stock. 
 
 Company (unknown) — John H. Dearinger. R. AL Sanders. 
 
 THIRTEENTH INFANTRY. 
 
 Company B — Captain Thomas H. Miller; Captain HarYcy J. Skiff; 
 Captain Levi L. Newcomer; First Lieutenant George E. Martindale; First 
 Lieutenant Josiah B. Eyerly ; First Lieutenant Ezekiel L Evans ; Second 
 Lieutenant E. D. Duncan; Second Lieutenant William J. Peer; Second Lieu- 
 tenant George B. Hunter ; First Sergeant David S. Stover ; Sergeant N. S. 
 Johnson ; Sergeant John L. Mathews ; Sergeant Sylvester Adams ; Corporal 
 John West ; Corporals E. L Evans, J. C. Taylor, William H. Shipley, H. 
 L. Kissell. H. H. Lockwood, William L Peer, William P. Stier; privates, 
 Armentrout, D. R. : Armentrout. William H. ; Binkerd. Jacob; Snodgrass, 
 Robert S. ; Swaney. N. ; Barnes, J. R. ; Baker. Daniel W. ; Battles, Beriah; 
 Byerty, William H. ; Barbee. William S. ; Burroughs. C. R. ; Cary, A. W. ; 
 Carrothers. \\^illiam ; Cary, John C. ; Dickenson, J. W. ; Dodge, Israel ; 
 Davis, M. R. ; Dennis, T. ; Dawson, J. ; Easterday, A. P. ; Eyerly, 
 AA'illiam R. ; French, Angus; Fislier. F. H. : Fowler, Snyder; Fisher, Wil- 
 liam IT.; Foy, William; Flaugli. William; Frantz. William; Flaugh. Aaron; 
 Guthrie, 1). L. ; Giles, Samuel S. ; Guthrie. R. N. ; Guthrie. F. A.; Guthrie, 
 A. W. ; Hunter, William A.; Hall. John R. ; Hart. William; Hanks, George; 
 Hughes, S. R. ; Jordan, John ; Jordan, \\'illiam B. ; Kenyon, John N. ; Kenyon. 
 George W. ; Kellogg. Frederick; Knapp, William H. ; Langcor. William; 
 Lamphicr. 1).; Little. James V.\ Logsdon, \\Mlliam; Logsdon. George \Y.\ 
 Lickins. Thomas N. ; McKeever, George ; Murphy, Hugh M. ; Muri)liy. 
 William T. ; Myers. M. P.; Mendenhall. B. W. ; Monger, John \^ ; Moler, 
 Lewis; McWilliams. H. ; Poling. Martin; Patterson, G. F. ; Rogers, J. M. ;
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 2I3 
 
 Parker, F. ; Rieman, F. ; Rieman, Clay; Rowe, G. R. ; Reynolds, James; 
 Richardson, William; Rowe, Willis; Skiff, E. P.; Street, W. W. ; Shipp, 
 Thomas; Snyder, M. P.; Seaton, J. A.; Shutt, John; Stahl, Henry; Swaney, 
 Joseph; Sams, D. E. ; Shill, G. W. ; Wolf, C. j\I. ; Watt, James; Weston, 
 G. W. ; Wedkins, William; Westfall, L. C.; Wheeler, J. R. ; Wright, Henry; 
 Young, Wesley. 
 
 Company E — Marquette, J. F. ; Neil, H. H. ; Priest, Joseph; Stock, 
 William; Shook, J. R. ; Walker. Enos; Oswald, B. P.; Parker, J. W. (com- 
 pany not known). 
 
 FOURTEENTH INFANTRY. 
 
 Company E — Captain ^^'illiam B. Davidson; First Lieutenant John W. 
 Horine; Second Lieutenant Neill Murray; Second Lieutenant William H. 
 McMillen; Sergeant William T. Ingle; Sergeant W. W. Stanfield; Sergeant 
 J. K. Cavatt ; Corporals Samuel Ritchie, D. W. Shearer, J. Gravatt, D. W. 
 Lybe, Benj. F. Prunty, Augustus Wagner, Isaac L. Rerick, James S. Seller, F. 
 T. Jeffries, Daniel Bailey; Musicians Charles W'allace, B. F. Shawhan; privates 
 — Broen, P. W. ; Crockett, B. F. ; Collins, William ; Collins, Andrew ; Court- 
 ney, James; Cowman. C. R. ; Davidson, W. S. ; Deakin, \A'illiam; Deakin, 
 J. E. ; Drake. M. ; Draper, J. \\\ ; Frazier, George ; Frost. Joel ; Frost, 
 Samuel; Flemry. A.; Goodacre. Robert; George, D. C. ; Groomes, S. C. ; 
 Gravatt, T. H. ; Hilton, William; Hayes, William A.; Hodson, William; 
 Horn, George H. ; Holland, Thomas ; Johnson, Robert H. ; James, ISPathan ; 
 James, George W. ; Lybe, William; Linton, H. B. ; Lindsey, Robert; Morris, 
 John W. ; McMillen, J. C. ; Means, Adam, Pruner. Isaac; Pope, Carey; Rose, 
 George D. ; Rutherford, D. E. ; Silvers, Isaac ; Van Grundy. L. ; Wallace, 
 A\'illiam W. ; Webb, George M. 
 
 RESIDUARY BATTALION, FOURTEENTH INFANTRY. 
 
 Company A — Sergeant William T. Ingle; Sergeant William S. David- 
 son ; Corporals. George M. Webb, F. M. Anderson, Isaac Walters. 
 
 TWENTY-SECOND INFANTRY. 
 
 Company C — Captains T. M. Ault and Lafayette F. ^Mullens; First 
 Lieutenants Neill Murray and Robert W. Davis; Second Lieutenants 
 Samuel C. Fugard and Nathaniel Townsend ; Sergeants Taylor Pierce. 
 George W^ Cooney, O. B. Sawdy, John N. Wykoft"; Corporals David H.
 
 214 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Nlorris, Benjamin West. Levi V^ersaw, George \V. McCall, Thomas Allnm 
 George S. Post. James T. Dailey. George C. Nicholl, N. Townsend. J. W 
 Dinsmore. I. W. Low. J. \\\ Xewcll, George T. Bennett, George McQueen 
 Musicians F. H. Peabody and Thomas M. Rogers ; \\'agoner David Slozad 
 privates. Adams. Jeremiah; Atha. C. H. : Alkim, Leroy; Brown, H. C. 
 Brown. S. B. ; Bean. Robert I. ; Brown. W'ilHam H. : Baker, Charles P. 
 Burtch. A. E. ; Bair, Emanuel ; Bair, David ; Bennett, Adam ; Campbell 
 George W. ; Carper. Monroe: Cushatt, James T. ; Chiles, H. W. ; Cole 
 James A. ; Clippinger. John ; Dixon. A. ; Falkner, ]\I. H. ; Green. John L. 
 Guthrie. J.: Hart. E. C. ; Hickman. E. M. : Hall. Levi M. ; Irwin. William 
 Jack. John W. ; Jack. H. B. ; Kester, J. E. ; Kester. Samuel; Kene- 
 day, J. R. ; Kester. Lewis \\'. : Kawapot, C. ; Linn, A. J. ; Longfellow. 
 
 E. E. ; Linn, John, ]\IcIntosh, James K'. ; Myers, John ; McPherson. J. B. ; 
 McCollough, James P. ; ]\Iyers, T. ^^^ ; McKeever. \\^illiam ; INIcKeever, 
 Thomas; McDonald, C. L. ; McKeever, A.; Miles, R. W. ; Mann, William 
 M.; McQueen, George; Xewhouse, J.. Oiler. C. C. ; Roustin. A.; Roustin, 
 E. ; Story, Samuel; Smithart. L. W. ; Stanfield, P. N. ; Swaggert. John; 
 Shawhan. George W. ; Story, Thomas ; Shipp, E. ; Scott. David ; Spurling, 
 J. T. ; Strater. William; Thatcher. Joseph M.; Trager, William; Van Horn, 
 D. M. ; Xan Horn, O. E. ; ^^'interhalter, I. \\'. ; Worrell. Barney. 
 
 TWENTY-THIRD INFANTRY. 
 
 Company A — Hilton, E. B. 
 
 Company E — Fudge. James \\'. ; AIcLaughlln. E. R. ; Wood, E. F. 
 
 Companx G — Captain J. P. Roach ; Captain Richard L. McCary ; Cap- 
 tain Thomas H. Miller; Second Lieutenants George F. Ingle. Charles Hanes; 
 Sergeants A\'illiam H. Minnick, S. Hammel. A. F. McConnell, William A. 
 Webber. D. J. Sturgeon. H. Swain. Jacob R. Moore; Corporals, R. S. 
 Rutherford. Charles Hanes. J. ^\^ Deweese. E. Frazier, R. S. McConnell. 
 A. J. Porter. Thomas G. Stewart. J. B. Rumbaugh. D. West; Musicians. J. 
 
 F. Hunnel, D. Hunnel ; wagoners. John H. Hill. R. S. Rutherford; privates, 
 Asher, A.; Asher, L. ; Anderson, Robert; Ash. Thornton; Royer. Jacob; 
 Berry, B. C. ; Brubaker, J. W. ; Bailey, William B. ; Carter, Harrison; Car- 
 risck, C. ; Draper, J. J. ; Eli, S. J. ; Erickson, J. ; Meming. John \. ; Flinn. 
 Robert; b^jrbes. F. H. ; Fox. (icorge W. ; Gift. John A.; Halpin. James; 
 Hanes. William A.; Harvey, William; Harlan. E. ; Hampton. William; Hill, 
 J. M.; Hill, William F. ; Hayes, J.; Howard. \\'illiani A.; Ingle. Thomas J.: 
 Ingle. John L. ; Jones. A. \\'. ; K.oder. Sloan; Loman, John H. ; Morris,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 215 
 
 Solomon; ]\liller. Thomas H.; Marsh, Robert H.; Montgomery, T. G. ; 
 ]\Ieans. EHas ; North, John; O'Kee, Joseph L. ; Porter, William E. ; Porter. 
 Robert; Person. C. D. ; Powers, J. W. ; Powers, J. P.; Phifer, William; 
 Phifer. John; Powers. John G. ; Riley. H.; Rees, James F. ; Sprunce, Levi; 
 Smith. A. L. ; Sturgeon, A.; Stout. William H.; Strain, John A.; Sanford, 
 I. \V. ; Trout. S. PL; Van Gundy. William W. ; Willock. John; West. S. ; 
 Worley, John W. 
 
 Company H — Nicholas. A. J.; Sims. John E. 
 
 Company K — Perin. H. J.; Smith. Alvey ; Thompson. William M.; 
 Thompson, Joseph A. 
 
 TWEXTY-EIGIITH IXFAXTRY. 
 
 Company K — Captain Merritt W. .Xtwcjod; First Lieutenant Malcom 
 C. Dean: Second Lieutenant J. R. Zollinger; First Sergeant C. W. Mvlin; 
 Sergeant J. Wright Wilson; Sergeants De \Vitt C. Smoke. John 
 Hammack. John H. Smith, Nelson Adams, ; Corporals T. T. Mc- 
 Cord, C. L. Roberts, J. M. Blanchard. James Hawes, Daniel E. Connor, 
 Charles Bodley. Abel L. Cure. John F. W. Andreas, G. ]M. Walker. William 
 Patterson. A. T. Pope, John R. Elliott, John C. \\'ilson, A. ]\L Hinsdale; 
 ]^Iusicians. Thomas H. Housel. Jabez Green; Wagoner S. H. Durbin; privates, 
 William J. Adams. John Aikens, \\'illiam H. Ashley, John H. Butters, W. 
 H. Butters. Lucian Blanchard, William A\'. Brothers, John Bergstrom. A. 
 
 F. Beals. Joseph Bodley. James M. Brown, E. E. W. Briggs. George W. 
 Conrad. Samuel M. Caldwell, S. B. Cox. C. Callison. A. P. Callison. Nim- 
 rod Dickey, James M. Dimn, Robert Doak, C. T. Davis. W. Elliott, Edward 
 Early. Henry Effner. David Flover. Leander French. Robert D. Fregna, 
 Samuel Friend. J. Graves. George ^^^ Garner. Daniel Gifford, Elisha Ham- 
 mer, H. T. Hawk. James N. Hamilton. E. A. Head. Jonas P. Haskett. 
 E. Harris. George Hutchinson, John Hews. John B. Harris. David Harris. 
 S. \A'. Helphrey, J. ^^^ Hendricks, H. C. Houck, William J. Iliff, L. D. 
 Jones. Thomas H. Jay, Charles Jones. E. H. Keyes. Hugh L. Moffit. J. 
 Lloyd. H. McFarland. M. A. :\IcCord. Elias B. Moffitt. William J. ^L'lrtin. 
 
 G. :McConkey. \\'illiam Northcut, \\'illiam Oblenis, E. A. Perkins, S. Old- 
 field, G. B. Powell, William Roots, G. D. Patton, D. A. Post. A. J. Post, T. 
 V. Saunders. John Sinder, Amos Sinder. Benson Starr. D. C. \\'ork, G. M. 
 J. Parks. J. B. Peer. C. P. Riose. Josiah Rose. G. Skinner, A. S. Saum. M. 
 Wilson. T- S. Wilson, Austin Whitehead, Solomon \\'est.
 
 2l6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 THIRTY-SEVENTH INFANTRY. 
 
 Covipanx C — First Lieutenant Stephen B. Shellady. 
 
 Company I — Captain Caleb Lamb ; Sergeant \\'illiam Blasdell ; Corporal 
 Alex. Pattison; Musician Isaiah Gardner; ^Musician C. L. Gardner; Wag- 
 oner R. R. Louderbach; Privates T. H. Cavett. Robert Denny, Elijah Davis, 
 Jacob Guthry, William Gardner, N. S. Heard, Lewis Herring, David Harris, 
 A. Y. Hampton. John K]eating. S. R. Lee, Alex AIcGarrah, C. D. Moffitt, 
 William Meek, Jacob Oswalt, Alex. Peer, George Purrington, Andrew Pease, 
 W. J. Robertson, T. Slater. William Stewart. D. C. Thatcher. William Wil- 
 son, R. B. Wilkinson. 
 
 FORTIETH INFANTRY. 
 
 Company A — Joseph L. Hutchins. 
 
 Company B — Y. E. Hestwood. 
 
 Company D — Captain Felix W. Cozard ; Captain D. Cox; First Lieuten- 
 ant David Edmundson ; First Lieutenant James D. Taylor ; Second Lieu- 
 tenant John W. Smith; Sergeants C. C. Turner. J. W. Preston. Robert 
 Williams, David Beams ; Corporals Y'illiam Barbee, Jacob C. Cozad, T. J. 
 Davis, William P. Jordan, Hugh A. Peas, Y^illiam Ring, Alfred Alloway; 
 Musician Eli Boarts; Musician W. B. Manners; privates, Joseph H. Ander- 
 son, Abisha Alloway, B. Aydelotte, John W. Alloway, Curtis Burnham, 
 Abraham Burnham. John C. Baker. C. F. Brock. James E. Bailey, A. Con- 
 over, John B. Cole, H. M. Cole, Hiram B. Chase, P. M. Cline, A. B. Con- 
 way, John Coe, Robert Dawson, Joseph A. Dooley, Thomas English, S. H. 
 Fisher, AL Flock, David Y'. Flock. Elias E. Friend, William Foy. James 
 Gettys. Peter Gettys, Jacob Gearhart, Burton Hurst. John Hopping, Abel 
 Herring, John Y\ Haines. A. E. Jeffries, E. R. Jones, J. F. Knostman, 
 Flenry Long, M. Lee, James Miller, Robert W. Mitchell, John Manning, H. 
 iMcK'enna, James A. Meredith, T. J. McGlothlin, John R. Meighan. M. 
 Miller, E. G. Neighbors. S. F. X^wcomer. Simeon Phillips. Robert Philson. 
 John Rafferty. Adam Robinson, X. A. Rawlings, B. C. Sparks. M. F. Swan. 
 John Swan, Robert Swan, George Sims, Solomon Sego, James Stewart, L. 
 D. Smith, Patrick Sheridan, William LL Trease, James J. Tramel, George 
 W. Y^olf, Eli Wolf, Joseph Wetzel, John \\'allace, John R. Y-'illiams, Jacob 
 West, John T. Wyat, George W. A\'eems. 
 
 Company E — Captain W. Sennet ; Captain Joseph Hewitt ; First Lieu- 
 tenant James L. Hunter ; Second Lieutenant Aaron Adams ; Sergeants V. Y^. 
 Heller. N. G. Xelson, John Mateer, H. G. Nielson ; Corporals C. P. Kintz, S.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 2\J 
 
 O. Munger, Charles E. Dodd. William R. Hampton. William Dye, Joshua 
 Chapman, William A. Thompson. J. W. Taylor, L. J. Connelly, William A. 
 Kline. L. S. Thurston: Musicians T. C. Bain. John R. Bain; Privates A. 
 Butin. A. C. Butin, William F. Baker. E. M. Bateman, B. Y. Blackwood, J. 
 Bargenhaultz. Joseph Cox, I. B. Carnes. M. Connelly, H. A. Cowles, C. M. 
 Cating. A. Carnham, Solomon Clemens. George W^ Carnahan, C. X. Dani- 
 ger. John Dunaway, H. C. Fowler, G. Edwards. George W\ Eyler, Joseph 
 E. Fisher. J. C. Fudge, F. P. George, Samuel P. Grey, J. A. Humphreys. 
 David Hays. F. Hendricks. E. Humphreys, Jacob Hunter. N. Kitchen, Charles 
 Kestler, Peter Kline, Isaac Koon. Howard Koon. John H. Lapella. Levi 
 Lower. Olfrey Matthew. E. ]\Iather. John Minor. Phillip ]\Iudgett, Daniel 
 Mather, N. Moon. F. Alortimore. Peter Matthews. X. H. X'orthrup. Joseph 
 Xeal. John Oberlies. Joshua Parker. Henry Quick, William H. Runyon, 
 Joseph Runyon. Francis Rice. William S. Reagan, George W. Randall. James 
 Schooley. J. K. Schreck, Joseph F. Shutts. David Shutts, C. O. Sellman, 
 E. AL Streeter. T. A. Streeter, Thomas Stock, George W. Thorne. James 
 'M. Trotter. E. J. Talbott. C. Taylor. S. Thompson. H. \'an Fossen, J. F. 
 Wheatcraft. John F. Wheeler. John X'. Wilson, Isaac X'. Waldrip. Eli 
 Walker. Joseph M. West. 
 
 Company H — First Lieutenant Henry F. O'X'eal ; Wagoner John D. 
 Cradlebaugh ; Privates James Acklin. C. Buckhalter, James Buckhalter, Davis 
 Branham, William B. Bass, John W. Brodess, Jesse W. Barton, Cary Brown. 
 William A. Ballard. J. Barrett. John Catlin, M. R. Carroll. Ashley Codey, 
 John V. Cole. Isaac X'. Core, F. M. Dickey. George R. Dawson. James P. 
 Dawson. Joshua Doty. Closes Doty. Isaac Doty, Phillip Etherington, A. 
 Everhart, James A. Enos. Austin Fosdick. Franklin Ford, Oliver Ferrell. 
 
 E. Haining, John Huff, H. Horsman. William H. Hammer, S. J. Humphrey. 
 M. Hollingsworth. P. Hockstra. F. Jennings, Charles Johnson. James M. 
 Johnson. Samuel Kinart, Peter Kesler. George M. Kferr, William Melroy, 
 William ^lullins, John A. ]\Iark. Robert M. X'audain, John A. X'oasman, H. 
 
 F. O'X'eal. James ^I. Pendroy. S. Rickenbaugh. Jackson Reno. A. L. Rees, 
 Peter Rickenbaugh, Samuel P. Rees, John P. Scott. 
 
 Company A'— C. M. Cating. Samuel G. Grey. D. W. Hiatt. C. W. Har- 
 court. Joe KSndle. 
 
 FORTY-FIFTH INFANTRY TbATTALION) . 
 
 Coinpanx B — Captain Joseph R. Rodgers : First Lieutenant Thomas 
 Allum: Second Lieutenant Joshua J. Anderson: Sergeants S. ^^ Shellady. 
 William M. Bovd. Samuel S. Fowler, William Carter. William :^rills. Will-
 
 2l8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 iam A. Livingston; Corporals Cyrus liill. L. ilanimcr, A. Adamson, 
 Marion Please; Musicians H. L. Stern, John C. Schack; Wagoner 
 O. W. Burkhalter; Privates Thomas Adamson, \\'illiam J. Barrow, A. G. 
 Donnell William H. Estle. W. Eggert, B. Elliott. \^^ J. Graves, William 
 Hill. A. J. Honald, Edward E. Harris. John M. Hiskey, H. J. Iliff, L. Kes- 
 ter, John C. Kelley, A. S. Livingston, William W. Logsdon, Thomas J. 
 Long, J. N. Martin, D. U Mans, Benj. F. Meek, O. C. Meredith, C. W. 
 Post. ]\Iarion Pease. Homer Reyburn. S. H. Rees. John W. Sego, S. T. 
 Sparks. H. L. Stem. James Street, James M. Schooley, John Trotter, H. M. 
 Talbott, C. F. W^inslow. 
 
 FOURTH CAVALRY REGIMENT. 
 
 Compaiix ./ — James ]McIntosh. 
 
 Company E — Captain Exum R. Saint; Commissary Sergeant William 
 R. Matthews ; Sergeant William G. Work ; Corporal John Blackman ; Far- 
 rier D. M. Savage; Privates Eli E. Carson, Allen Davis, Robert J. Gaza- 
 way, John Jennings. D. W. Jones, J. ]\I. Kime. E. Mahler, John W. Rafferty, 
 J. J. Sparks, James Starr, Andes Turck. 
 
 Compan\ F — James L. Hume, W^illiam F. Minshall, John Thompson, 
 B. Volk. 
 
 Company K — Jonathan \\^right, John Mitchell (company not certain). 
 
 FIFTH VETERAN CAVALRY. 
 
 Company A — Thomas J. Smith, John Walker. 
 
 Company I — Captain Robert A. McKee ; Second Lieutenant John O. A. 
 Campbell; Robert Bain, Samuel Capel, William P. Fonts, William E. Gra- 
 ham, D. R. Loudenback, William Martino, E. McReynolds, B. F. Stearns, 
 George Gaston, Delos Williams. 
 
 SEVENTH CAVALRY. 
 
 Company E — John ]T. Stor}-, a saddler; ShulMll Hurt, David Ximms, 
 James E. Storey. 
 
 Company G — Captain Elias Flammer; Second Lieutenant Job S. Bcals; 
 Commissary Sergeant Benjamin R. Jones ; Corporals John M. Baker. James 
 T. Allen, John ]\1. Hammer. Malco Doud ; Wagoner H. Borton. Ferdinand 
 Adamson, Samuel Armstrong, James ¥. P)aker, A. J. Chenoweth, James C.
 
 JASE'EH COLNTY, IOWA. 219 
 
 Friend, Frank Gifford, A. T. Hammer. James G. Hanawalt, Samuel Hen- 
 ning-s, J. F. Haines, Enos Hammer, M. H. Harper, I. R. Jordan, Thomas 
 K^err. F. P. Oldfield, John C. Piper, Charles Parks, George R. Rowe, James 
 A. Stephens, Edward R. Bell and A. Minnick (in unknown company of the 
 Se\enth Cavalry ) . 
 
 NINTH CAVALRY. 
 
 Company H — Corporal L. C. Draper; Adam Means, Silas Thornburg. 
 
 Company L — Captain Orlando C. Howe; First Lieutenant William W. 
 Moore; First Lieutenant Norris Richardson; Second Lieutenant Richard 
 Armstrong; Second Lieutenant David Scott; Commissary Sergeant H. 
 Mathies ; Sergeant George W. Bronson ; Sergeant John Murray ; Sergeant 
 James C. Painter; Corporals Xapoleon P. Church, Julius A. Baldwin, James B. 
 Scott. C. D. Knapp, O. P. Springer; Trumpeter William W. Allen; Trumpe- 
 ter James Bain; Wagoner A. McDonnell, George Anderson, Henry Baker. 
 W. H. Barton. George Brady. T. Broomhall, James F. Burroughs, Baxter 
 Banks. D. Y. Cross. James Clement. X. B. Collrell. A. J. Collrell, James 
 Drake. James Early, James R. Gentry, William Grubb, William A. Hankins, 
 C. H. Jennings. John W^ K^nox, William L. Kimberly, William Loaman. 
 John T. Leach. Milton Lee. Joseph Logsdon. John March. H. H. Maus. 
 C. H. Mendenhall, D. T. ^Ljrtimore. \A\ Mudgett, George Oldfield. D. H. 
 Parker, D. M. Priddy, William Reynolds, Jacob Reutson. William E. 
 Schooley, Foster Scott. George Sims, \\'illiam J. Stewart. F. Trotter, Purdy 
 Trager. Jacob Trevets. S. E. Welch. D. AL West, James ^^'ilson. Theodore 
 Winkler. 
 
 Company M — Second Lieutenant William H. Crotzer; Corporal C. R. 
 Squires. 
 
 MISCELLANEOUS COMMANDS. 
 
 Second J'ctcra)! Infantry — Justus Dunn, J. F. Guthrie, J. C. Living- 
 ston. J. H. Trotter. 
 
 Fourth Infantry — [Musician Samuel Osborne; Corporals William. Bill- 
 ings and L. D. Bloom. 
 
 Sixth Infantry — Sergeant M. Holland, William H. Bolton, John Gard- 
 ner, J. J. Moore. M. Holland. 
 
 Seventh Infantry — H. C. McGill. 
 
 Eight Infantry — Captain David Ryan; Sergeant Robert Ryan. F. 
 McConnell. S. M. Peck. Lewis Scott. 
 
 Ninth Infantry — Joseph Koener.
 
 220 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 
 
 Eleventh Infantry — Charles Rairden. C. C. Cloiul, R. ]\I. Davis, John 
 Dally, H. Fisher, U. M. Gable, William Goodrich, I. Higgins, L. P. Hazen, 
 Elias Humphries, H. Kandwig, Lewis Lobeer, O. K. Landrne, A. Lansing, 
 
 A. McCaiiley, R. Xeese. F. Xeese, Peter Peterson, R. R. Rovster, L. J. Roy- 
 ley. 
 
 fifteenth Infantry (Mustered out July 24, 1895) — Patrick Cotter, An- 
 drew Crouch, Alexander Corbin, J. ]\I. Dilton, Frank Emmerson, J. M. Hort- 
 man, W. T. Hiler, William Peterson. David Phillips, San Pierie, W. A. 
 Spencer, A. A. Woodard, William W^addell. David Webster. 
 
 Seventeenth Infantry — D. S. Reagan. T. S. Smith; Captain George W. 
 Deal; First Lieutenant Theodore Thompson. ]\I. H. Davis, Joseph A. Louden- 
 back; Corporal Elijah Carnahan. James George, C. Klaiser, F. Kinton, F. 
 McBride. 
 
 Eighteejith hifantry — S. A'. Shellady, Edward Rogers, John R. Scutt, 
 Adam Whiteman ; First Lieutenant John H. Harvey ; Sergeant John H. Har- 
 vey ; Corporal John W. Cattrell ; Corporal M. W. Settle, jNIayville Drake. H. 
 C. Farnsworth, William P. Holmes, John P. Johnson. 
 
 Twenty- fourth Infantry— Isaac Anderson. 
 
 Thirty-second Infantry — John McFarland, C. A. Stone. 
 
 Thirty-third Infantry — James H. Bates, Holland Myers. Thomas Dun- 
 naway, Delano [Myers. D. A^anXoss. 
 
 Thirty-sixth Infantry — Theodore Brown, John Herring, H. T. Dimmitt, 
 Joseph M. Scott. 
 
 Thirty-ninth Infantry — Samuel E. Thornton. 
 
 Forty-sixth Infantry — Sergeants Milo Cowan, George Baxter, Albert 
 Harrah. Seth W. Macy, Joseph Shorer. 
 
 Forty-seventh Infantry — Chaplain James P. Roach; Corporal James W. 
 Davidson, C. Means, D. M. Pruny. 
 
 First Ccevalry — Quartermaster Samuel C. Dickerson ; Sergeant James 
 G. Rutter; Captain Charles Dustin ; Sergeant James H. McCord ; Corporal 
 Peter B. Greaves; D. M. McCord, James E. Arnold, John S. Davis, James 
 J. Gray, W. P. Kimberly. David Rutter, L H. Wildman. 
 
 Second Cavalry — Corporal Elias Thatcher ; A. T. Sims, George W. Poore. 
 John R. Seelev, William H. Shoewalter, James S. Smith, H. C. Smith, John 
 
 B. Kuhns, H. B. Seeley. 
 
 Third Cavalry — John F. Offil, Alexander Snodgrass, Cororal Ransom 
 Sumney; Wagoner Daniel A. Buckhalter; T. S. Donnell, James H. Harvey, 
 H. C. Vaughn, Joseph X^. Box, E. B. Carr, Orris Carter, William C. Goodman, 
 David Hankins, M. T. Xorris, Robert Sterritty, Robert Stallcop, Henry Smith, 
 James H. Morgan, M. S. Morris, T. J. Sinclair.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 22 I 
 
 Sixth Cavalry — E. C. Stephens. 
 
 Eighth Cavalry — William Rundy, John Friend. Jasper Robinson, Finley 
 Sterrett. 
 
 First Infantry, A. D., Co. E. (Sixth United States Volunteers A. D.) — 
 Captain George F, Work; Sergeant John Green: Corporals H. Hayes, D. 
 Siegel. H. Jones; Captain Alexander Nichols; A. E. Fine. S. F. Gordon. C. 
 Graves. A. Hays. Lewis Castleton. T. E. Marshall. Austin Samuels, John 
 Shearer, William Tait. W. Wolden. Jerry Wilson. 
 
 Dodge's Brigade Band — George A. Bluem. \^ernon A\\ Skiff. James F. 
 Needham. John F. Lister, John P. Strator. James Smith. Samuel Failor, 
 Charles Gilman. 
 
 Sixty-sixth Illinois Infantry — John Briggs. 
 
 Third Missouri Cavalry — ^^'illiam Jordan. 
 
 THE county's death ROLL. 
 
 If it can truthfully be said that. ''It is good for one to die for his coun- 
 try,'' Jasper county certain!}' acted well her part from 1861 to 1866. Out of 
 the almost fourteen hundred men who went forth to the field, about one hun- 
 dred and seventy fell on the battle field, or died from other army causes, and 
 never reached home alive. The following may. and possibly may not. be a 
 complete list of the honored dead. This list is one compiled from the adjutant- 
 general's reports published from 1863 to 1866, inclusive, and there may be 
 errors and omissions. The latest military work on Iowa soldiers is not yet 
 out of press, hence the following will be given : 
 
 Adamson, D. N. 
 Armentrout. D. R. 
 Atha. C. H. 
 Andreas. F. W. 
 Alloway. Abisha 
 Beath. T. E. 
 Bodley. J. D. 
 Be van. A. 
 Blackwood. L 
 Byerley. \\'illiam H. 
 Boyer, Jacob 
 Brown, S. B. 
 Baker. Charles P. 
 Bair. Emanuel 
 Bennett. Adam 
 Butters. W. H. 
 
 Baxter, William W. 
 Beals. A. F. 
 Blasdell. William 
 Bargenhaulz, J. 
 Brodess, John W. 
 Brady, George 
 Bolten. William H. 
 Cure. Abel L. 
 Cottrell. M. W. 
 Cushatt, Jas. T. 
 Connor, Daniel E. 
 Callison. A. P. 
 Cozad. Jacob C. 
 Cline, P. ^L 
 Connelly, L. J. 
 Connellv, ^L 
 
 Clements. James 
 Dibble, Milo 
 Derringer. H. C. 
 Duncan. E. D. 
 Dickerson, Samuel C. 
 Easterday, A. P. 
 Edmonds, E. 
 Erickson. J. 
 English. Thomas 
 Etherington, Phillip 
 Flemming. Job 
 Fisher. William H. 
 Flemry, A. 
 Frazier. E. 
 Plover, David 
 Fowler, H. C.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Green, John L. 
 Goodacre. Robert 
 Grooms. S. C. 
 Gravatt. T. H. 
 Gould. F. W. 
 Hunter. Jacob 
 Huff. John 
 Hammack, John 
 H ousel, Thomas H. 
 Hawk. H. T. 
 Hamilton. James 'M. 
 flackett. Jonas P. 
 Helphrey. S. W. 
 Hendricks. H. W. 
 Hopping-. John 
 Herring". Abel 
 Haines. John \V. 
 Hammel. S. 
 Hunnel. J. F. 
 Hart. William 
 Hammack. A. 
 Haxton. William H. 
 Hil singer. J. ^^T. 
 7 laves. S. 
 Ja\-. Thomas H. 
 Jordan. William P. 
 Jeffries. F. T. 
 Jordan. John 
 Jones, G. T. 
 Knapp. C. D. 
 Kenady, J. R. 
 Kuhus. John B. 
 Kawapot. C. 
 Kerr. \\''esley 
 Faudenback. D. R. 
 Fongfellow. E. E. 
 T-inton. H. B. 
 Ij'kins. Thomas N. 
 Lowe, George W. 
 McConnell. F. 
 
 McCollough. Jas. P. 
 McLaughlin. E. R. 
 McKeever. George 
 McCary. Rich 
 ^[cWilliams. H. 
 McDonald. T. F. 
 Mudgett. Fliillip 
 >ranning, John 
 Moore. Jacob B. 
 ^Toss. J. W. 
 Mateer. Alex C. 
 Xelson. N. G. 
 Xewcomer. S. F. 
 Xewhouse. J. 
 Xorris. David H. 
 Oblenis. William 
 Powell, G. B. 
 Foots. William 
 Parks. T. J. 
 Pease. Andrew 
 Powers. J. W. 
 Parker. F. 
 Poage. S. W. 
 Parks. Jasper H. 
 Filler. O. B. 
 Pevton. John L. 
 Pope. A. T. 
 Rippey. William F, 
 Rees. A. L. 
 Rees. Samuel P. 
 Runyon, William H. 
 Rice. Francis 
 Reno. Jackson 
 Samei. James H. 
 Shelley. L. F. 
 Stem. J. 
 Streett, James 
 Sln-eck. J. K. 
 Shutts, Joseph F. 
 Stott. Thomas 
 
 Scott. Foster 
 Skiff'. J. M. 
 Smith, James 
 Scarbrough, S. 
 Scoville, Bennett 
 Street. \V. W. 
 Shipp. Thomas 
 Shill. G W. 
 Shook. J. R. 
 Swaggert. John 
 Spurling. J. T. 
 Sturgeon. D. T. 
 Sprunce. Levi 
 Sturgeon. A. 
 Smith, Alvoy 
 Swan. M. F. 
 Sego. Solomon 
 Smith. L. D. 
 Taylor. James 
 Taylor. James C. 
 Trotter. James N. 
 Thornton. Samuel E. 
 A^anGrundy. L. 
 A'anGrundy. William W. 
 A^anHorn. D. AF. 
 WanHorn. O. F. 
 WanFossen, H. 
 Weston, Benjamin F. 
 A\'ren, John 
 Watt. James 
 Weston. G. W. 
 \\'alker. Enos 
 Winterhalter. L W. 
 Williams. Robert 
 Wolf. Geo. W. 
 Wetzel. Joseph 
 ^^'allace. John 
 West. Jacob 
 Willock. Tohn
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 223 
 
 THE JASPER GRAYS. 
 
 This military company was organized in January, 1876. with the follow- 
 ing- officers: Than Townsend, captain; J. L. Mathers', first lieutenant; Al J- 
 Richards. second lieutenant; Al W'vkoff, J. R. K;. Lamb. Newton Smith, 
 Henry M. Rose, sergeants ; Zach Stokes. William S. Ferguson. Herbert Rose, 
 George Failor, corporals. The uniform selected was navy blue, trimmed in 
 fine style. The company was immediately armed with S])ringfiel(l breech- 
 loading ritles. In 1S78 there were forty-five names on the roll. The company 
 was sworn into state ser\ice April 30. iS/H, and was under orders in the riots 
 of 1877, and were also a part of the escort of the lamented Cien. X. V. Baker. 
 ^^•hose remains they followed to the grave. 
 
 SPANISH-AMERICAN WAR. 
 
 President William AIcKinley's proclamation ordering war between the 
 United States and Spain was issued April 23. 1898. and read as follows : 
 
 "Whereas, a joint resolution of Congress was approved on the 20th dav 
 of April. 1898. entitled 'Joint Resolution for the recognition of the indepen- 
 dence of the people of Cuba, demanding that the government of Spain relin- 
 quish its authority and government in the island of Cuba, and to withdraw 
 its land and na\-al forces from Cul)a and Cuban waters, and directing the Presi- 
 dent of the United States to use the land and naval forces of the United States 
 to carry these resolutions into effect.' and 
 
 'AVhereas by an act of Congress entitled 'An act to ])ro\ ide for temporar- 
 ily increasing the militar\- establishment of the United States in time of war 
 and for other purposes,' approved April 22, 1898. the President is authorized, 
 in order to raise a volunteer army, to issue his proclamation calling for volun- 
 teers to serve in the army of the United States : 
 
 ''Nbw, therefore. T, A\'illiam McKinley, President of the I'nited States. 
 by virtue of the power vested in me by the constituticMi and the laws, and 
 deeming sufficient occasion to exist, have thought fit to call forth, and hereby 
 do call forth, volunteers to the aggregate number of one hundred and twenty- 
 five thousand, in order to carrv into effect the purpose of said resolution; the 
 same to be apportioned, as far as practicable, among the several states and 
 territories and the District of Columbia, according to the population, and to 
 serve two vears. unless sooner discharged. The details for this object will be 
 immediatelv communicated to the proper authorities tlu-ough the war depart- 
 ment.
 
 224 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 "In witness whereof, I have hereunto set my hand and caused the seal of 
 the United States to be affixed. 
 
 "Done at the city of Washington, this 23d day of April, A. D. 1898, and 
 in the independence of the United States the one hundred and twenty-second. 
 
 "William McKinley. 
 [Seal] 
 "By the President : 
 John Sherman, 
 
 "Secretary of State." 
 
 On April i, 1898. the following was the roster of the Iowa National 
 Guard at Newton, as comprising Company L, Second Regiment : 
 
 Henry T. Kennedy, first lieutenant ; William E. McMurray, second lieu- 
 tenant : Alva Baker, Hemy ]\I. Burnett. Harry Barber. Albert B. Bryant, 
 Walter H. Boyd, Frank Besack. Frank H. Boat. Roland E. Benjamin, Frank 
 H. Clements. Eugene M. Errett, Charles H. Fox, Pearl G. Gibford, John W. 
 Hendryx. Marion R. Flammer, John Hayes, Harry T. Lewis, Thomas B. Law, 
 William H. Montgomery, Will L. Maus, Hany C. A. Miller, Harry J. Mc- 
 Murray, Thomas F. Alorrissey, George W. Ohler, A. L. Parish, James M. 
 Richmond. Charles H. Ruberg, Arthur Reynolds, Guy H. Smith, George Selb- 
 her, Harry A. Stallings, George W. Turner, Fred E. Wilson, I. O. Wilson, 
 William S. Westbrook, Arthur P. Woods, William H. Wert, John C. Wert, 
 R. A. K. ^^llson, Albert F. Williams, Fred H. Wells, William M. \^^^-ick, 
 Lewis E. Young. 
 
 When the troops made up from the National Guards were finally mustered 
 into the service of the United States, those from Iowa took the regimental 
 numbers of the state, commencing where the last number left off in Civil war 
 times. Those from Newton and Jasper county were in the regiments named 
 below : 
 
 THE forty-ninth REGIMENT. 
 
 This regiment was organized from the Il'rst Regiment of Iowa National 
 Guards; was ordered into Camp McKinley. Des Moines, Iowa, by the Gov- 
 ernor on the 25th day of April, 1898, mustered into the service of the United 
 States by Capt. J. A. Olmstead. United States Army, at Des Moines, June 
 2, 1898; left Des Moines, June 11, 1898, by rail for Jacksonville. Florida; 
 assigned to the Third Brigade, Second Division. Seventh Army Corps; moved 
 to Savannah. Georgia, October 25, 1898, and to Havana, Cuba. December 19,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 225 
 
 1898. Companies V, C, H, K, A and I returned to the United States, April 5, 
 
 1899, for mnster-oiit. Headquarters band and companies L., M, K, 1), G, and B 
 returned to the United States, April 9, 1899. for muster-out. The whole 
 regiment, January 1. 1899. particii)ated in the ceremonies attending the evac- 
 uation of Havana by the Spaniards. Hie regiment was mustered out of the 
 United States service at Savannah, Georgia, on the 13th day of May, 1899. 
 
 Those serving from Jasper county in Company L were : Amos J. Under- 
 wood, Elliott E. Lambert (colonel). John C. Trease, Howard T. Gibford, 
 Swain Dennis, Ezra G, Baird. Frank E. Besack, John Wert, Thomas F. Mor- 
 risey, Burrell Owens. Fletcher H. Helm, Andrew J. Streeter, James W. 
 Vaughn, Thomas B. Law, Hennan: E. Dahlgren, Ike O. Wilson, Clarence G. 
 Errett, John McFarlane, John W. Callahan, Alexander S. Crawford, Fred H. 
 Coleman. Thomas W. Corrigan, Homer Vasco Clutter, Frank Leroy Harsha. 
 John A. Hayes, Horatio S. Howard, Albert L. Kennedy, Carl D. iCiser, Henry 
 A. McKinney, Bertram Mendenhall, William J. O'Neill, Fred L. Shrader. 
 Arthur E. Small, Charles P. Smith, Perry E. Spencer, Jesse R. Stallings, Ed 
 C. Stevenson, Andrew J. Streeter, James \Y. Vaughn, Bazil W^ells, Leonard 
 A. Wells. 
 
 FIFTY-FIRST REGIMENT. 
 
 This regiment was organized from the Third Regiment of Iowa National 
 Guards ; was ordered into quarters at Camp McKinley, Des Moines. Iowa, by 
 the Governor, on the 25th day of April, 1898; mustered into sen-ice of the 
 United States by Capt. J. A. Olmstcad, United States Army, at Des Moines 
 May 30, 1898; left Des Moines June 5, 1898, by rail for San Francisco, Cali- 
 fornia, per telegram from war department ; arrived in Camp Merritt. San 
 Francisco. June 10. 1898; removed to Camp Merriman, Presidio, July 29, 
 1898; eml)arked on board transport ''Pennsylvania," at San Francisco. No- 
 vember 3. 1898; arrived at Honolulu Novem1)er 12. 1898. arriving at Manila 
 Bay, Philippine Island. December 7. 1898; remained on transport in Manila 
 Bav until December 26. 1898. upon which date the regiment sailed for Iloilo, 
 arriving at the latter i)]acc Decem1)er 28. 1898; remained on board the trans- 
 port in Iloilo Bay until January 29. 1899. upon which date they sailed for 
 Cavite, arriving January 31. 1899: disembarked from transport February 3. 
 1899. and went into quarters at Cavite. The regiment participated in the oc- 
 cupation of San Roque. February 9. 1899. and the various companies were in 
 the following engagements of the Philippine expedition: Gaudalupe church. 
 Ouingua. East and ^^'est Pulilan. Calumpit. Santo Tomas. San Fernando, 
 Calulut, Angeles. 
 (15)
 
 226 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 September 0. 1899, the regiment was moved to Manila preparatory to 
 returning to the United States; sailed on transport "Senator,'" September 22, 
 1899. arriving at San Francisco, California, October 22, 1899; mustered out 
 of service of the United States jMovember 2, 1899. ^^ San Francicso, Cal- 
 ifornia. 
 
 In this regiment there were soldiers from Jasper county as follows : Fred 
 S. Carpenter, Joseph \'. House, Herbert W. Marshall. 
 
 FIFTY-SECOND REGIMENT. 
 
 This regiment was organized from the Fourth Regiment of Iowa Na- 
 tional Guards, and was designed to go to Porto Rico, but never left this coun- 
 try, being stationed at Chickamauga Park, Georgia, and were mustered out 
 at Des Moines in October, 1898. Only two from Jasper county served in 
 this regiment, Qiarles A. Leonard, of Mingo, and Robert H. Rose, of Van- 
 dalia. 
 
 GRAND ARMY' OF THE REPUBLIC. 
 
 The Grand Army of the Republic is composed of men who placed their 
 lives at the disposal of their government for the preservation of the Union 
 during the years of 1861 to 1865. They are organized to continue the frater- 
 nal comradeship which grew out of their associations in a common cause, and 
 the seeking of a common end — "The perpetuity of the Union.'' To teach 
 coming generations by precept, as well as by example, a reverence for our 
 flag, a love for our country, and the continuance of a "government of the 
 people, by the people and for the people." Also to care for the needy soldiers, 
 widows and orphans. Its motto and its practice is, "Fraternity, charity and 
 loyalty." 
 
 Garrett Post No. 16. Department of Iowa, located at Newton, Iowa, was 
 organized and mustered in on the 20th day of August, 1879, ^"*^ ^^^^ named 
 in honor of Col. John A. Garrett, who entered the military service in the war 
 of the Rebellion August. 1861, as captain of Company I, Tenth Iowa Infantry, 
 and was mustered out at the close of the war as colonel of the Fortieth Iowa 
 Infantry. Colonel Garrett died at his home in Newton, Iowa, January 23, 
 1877. This post now has a membership of aljout seventy-five Civil war 
 soldiers and two Spanish-American soldiers. 
 
 The 191 1 officers are: J. W. Donavan, commander; J. W. Longley, 
 senior vice-commander; T. M. Rodgers, junior vice-commander; A. Dennison, 
 quartermaster; J. R. Sitler, adjutant; J. D. Edge, officer of the day; John 
 Potter, chaplain.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 22/ 
 
 With the return of each Memorial day the old \eterans take charge of 
 the services and decorate the graves of the one hundred and sixty soldiers 
 now buried in the City ceinetery. in a \ery befitting and truly touching manner. 
 
 OTHER POSTS IX JASPER COUNTY, 
 
 The Grand Army is also represented at the following points within Jas- 
 per county: E. H. Keyes Post No. 511, at jMingo; Shellady Post Xo. 84, 
 at Monroe; McGray Post Xo. 27, at Prairie City; Alloway Po.st Xo. 106. at 
 Lynnville; E. D. Duncan Post No. 253, at Colfax; General Wilson Post No. 
 432, at Kellogg; Garrett Post No. 16, at Newton. There was a post at 
 Baxter, but on account of the death and removal of many of the members their 
 charter has probably been surrendered. 
 
 Nearly if not all of the posts have had connected with them manv years 
 the helpful auxiliary of the Woman's Relief Corps. 
 
 THE PASSING OF THE "gRAND ARMY." 
 
 As the years speed by the ranks of the Grand Army posts are fast dis- 
 banding through the inroads of death. Perhaps no more eloquent passage 
 along this theme can be here narrated than that recently delivered by Sant 
 Kirkpatrick to his comrades of the Hornet's X>st Brigade, at Oskaloosa. 
 Iowa, in April, 1911, when, in closing his well-timed address to the boys 
 who once wore the loyal blue, he remarked : 
 
 "To me. an occasion like this, in a great measure, is an hour of sorrow, 
 a never ending day of mourning. The length and breadth and depth of the 
 wounds and scars occasioned by that cruel war are as a poisoned arrow, the 
 shaft of which has deeply pierced the heart of every true American citizen. 
 
 "Comrades, you and I have passed the meridian of life ; we are now going 
 down the decline on the other side, and I feel sometimes as if all creation was 
 greased for the occasion. 
 
 "W^ith you and T. the morning of life has gone, somber shades of even- 
 ing are gathering closely around about us, we have heard the reveille at sun 
 rise and listened to the tattoo of night, and taps, yes, taps, that once betokened 
 the extinguishment of lights, now come reverljerating back as the heralds of 
 death. 
 
 "Another decade and many of us will have crossed the bar, another score 
 of years and nearly, or quite all of us. will have answered the roll call of
 
 228 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 eternity, and not only the Grand Army of the Republic, but the grandest 
 army of the world, will haye passed into history. 
 
 ' "Already the great majority of those with whom we once touched 
 elbows have crossed the riyer. Would you behold them today ?^ If so, then 
 come with me and draw aside as it were the veil of immortality."
 
 CHAPTER XV. 
 
 THE BENCH AND BAR OF JASPER COUNTY. 
 
 Wherever laws are enacted, there will always be need for capable and 
 honorable lawyers to interpret and help put into execution the enforcement 
 of legal enactments. The day has long since passed when the honorable 
 attorney at law is looked upon as any but a member of one of earth's most 
 useful professions, one needed in every intelligent community. He it is who 
 helps us apply law to daily life. Changes comes in law. and hence the more 
 need of a lawyer to point out such changes to his client, that he may not err 
 in transacting his business. The discoveries of the arts and sciences, the in- 
 ventions of new contrivances for lalx)r. and the increase of development 
 in commerce are all new unexplored fields into which law must delve and it 
 must needs be handled by competent lawyers who ha\e been schooled in the 
 science of their own i)eculiar ]M-ofession. Hence the lawyer is a man of the 
 day — a needful factor in ad\anced civilization. 
 
 It is to be regretted that no more complete record has l)een kept of the 
 Jasper county bar than has 1>een made, for it would be read with no little inter- 
 est today, to note the many trials, and who were the combating attorneys who 
 took part in the same, during all the years of the county's history. All that 
 can be learned for the reader of this chapter of the county's history is found 
 in the following", a carefully compiled statement of facts as they ha\e been 
 picked up, here and there, from memory and record, bringing the list of at- 
 torneys down to the present, and trying to give a fairly comprehensive 
 glimpse into the earlier lawyers and judges of this county and district. The 
 publishers are indebted to Hon. \V. G. Clements, who has compiled the follow- 
 ing excellent account of the bench and bar: 
 
 There is no record of any court ha^•ing l)een held in Jasper county ])rior 
 to November 23. 1848. However, according to tradition and information 
 gained from the old settlers, the first term of court was held in the spring of 
 1846, at the house of Matthew D. Springer, in what is now Buena Arista 
 township, and was presided o\ er by Judge Williams, of ^luscatine. 
 
 Judge Williams was elected supreme judge in 1846 or 1847. ^^^^^^ ^^'^s 
 succeeded on the bench by Judge William McKay. The court record indi- 
 cates that Judge ^IcKay held a term of court in Newton in June, 1849. ^^
 
 230 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 which term Hon. William H. Seevers was appointed prosecuting attorney. 
 Judge McKay lived at Des Moines and continued to preside as judge of the 
 district court of Jasper county until about July. 1854, when he was succeeded 
 by Judge C. J. McFarland. who resided at Boonesboro. 
 
 Judge McFarland held the different terms of the district court of Jasper 
 county until 1857. Judge McFarland was quite austere and abrupt in his 
 manners, and if any person incurred his displeasure, such person was very 
 sure to be reminded of the same in a very severe manner. At the first term 
 of court held by Judge McFarland in Xewton in 1854. the Hon. H. J. Skiff 
 incurred the displeasure of the Judge, for the reason that Skiff opposed the 
 election of ^^IcFarland (both being Democrats). Skiff claiming that McFar- 
 land was not a proper person to be judge on account of his inebriacy. There- 
 fore. McFarland sought to get revenge by ordering Skiff to sit down when 
 he arose to address the court in reference to some case. Skiff refused to 
 complv with the order of the Judge, and told the Judge that he had a right to 
 talk in that court. Thereupon, the Judge fined him ten dollars for contempt. 
 Skiff' told him to "pile it on." and the Judge doubled the fine. The quarrel con- 
 tinued until Skiff stood indebted to the school fund in the sum of one hun- 
 dred and fifty dollars. The Judge ordered the clerk to make out a commit- 
 ment, who suggested to his honor that he could not get it served. The com- 
 mitment was delivered to the sheriff', but it was not served. In the evening, 
 the attorneys all met for consultation at Skiff's residence. The next morning 
 when court opened, the attorneys by agreement continued all their cases, 
 whereupon the Judge ordered the sheriff to adjourn the court. The contempt 
 cases against Skiff were appealed by him to the supreme court, and McFar- 
 land's judgments were set aside. ( See State vs. Skiff. 2d Iowa Supreme Court 
 Report, page 550.) Judge McFarland died in Boonesboro when only alxjut 
 forty years of age. 
 
 Judge McFarland was succeeded as district judge by Hon. William AT. 
 Stone, of Knoxville. Judge Stone resigned in March. 1861. and enlisted in 
 the Union army. He afterwards became colonel of the Twenty-second 
 Regiment of Iowa \'olunteer Infantry, and in the fall of 1863 was elected 
 governor of the state of Iowa, which position he held for a term of four vears. 
 and was one of the war governors of Iowa during the Rebellion. Judge Stone 
 was afterwards commissioner of the general land office at Washington. D. C, 
 having Ijeen appointed by President Harrison. Afterwards he removed to 
 the Territory of Oklahoma, where he died Jul}' t8. 1893, and his l)(")dv was 
 brought to Knoxville for burial. Upon the resignation of Judge Stone in 
 March. 1861. William Loughridge. of Oskaloosa. was appointed district
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 23 1 
 
 ] 
 
 judge, and continued to hold court in the sixth judicial district and in Jasper 
 county until January i, 1867. Afterwards Judge Loughridge became a mem- 
 ber of Congress from the sixth congressional district of Iowa, serving in that 
 capacity several terms. Judge Loughridge died several years ago, and is buried 
 at Oskaloosa. Iowa. 
 
 On Januar}' i, 1867, Judge Loughridge was succeeded by lUm. K. S. 
 Sampson. Judge Sampson was an ideal judge, very reserved in his' man- 
 ner, cool and deliberate, and was highly respected by all who knew him. 
 During the Civil war he was lieutenant-colonel ot the Fifth hnva Regiment 
 of Volunteer Infantry. After his retirement from the l)ench. he was elected 
 to Congress and served one term. Afterwards he engaged in the practice of 
 law at Sigourney, Iowa, where he died October 7, 1892. 
 
 Judge Sampson was succeeded on the district bench by Hon. H. S. 
 Winslow. of Newton. January i. 1873. ^"^^^ served until January i, 1879. 
 Judge Winslow was a good lawyer and a competent, painstaking judge. 
 
 On January i. 1870. he was succeeded by Hon. J. C. Cook, of Xewton. 
 now residing at Cedar Rapids. Judge Cook continued to occupv the dis- 
 trict bench until January i, 1883. at which time Judge J. K. Johnson of 
 Oskaloo,sa. was elected district judge, and lield the different terms of 
 district court in Xewton, until January i. 1887. 
 
 Under the law enacted in 1868. from 1868 to 1887. in addition to the 
 district court, there was what was denominated the circuit court, having 
 jurisdiction of all ci\il cases and probate matters. When the circuit court 
 was instituted in 1868, Hon. H. S. Winslow. of X^ewton. was elected judge 
 of the second circuit of the sixth judicial district, and entered i\\K)n his duties 
 Januar\- i. 1869, and held the ofifice of circuit judge for one year, resigning 
 to engage in the practice of law. He was succeeded l)y Hon. S. X. Lindley. 
 of X^ewton. to that position and Judge Lindley continued to ser\ e in that ca- 
 pacity as circuit judge until January i. 1873, after which Hon. L. C. Blanch- 
 ard. of Oskaloosa. served as circuit judge until 1880. and was succeeded by 
 Hon. W. R. Lewis, of Montezuma, who served until the circuit court was 
 abolished. January i. 1887. at which time it was provided by law that the 
 sixth judicial district would be entitled to three district judges, and in the 
 fall of 1886 Hon. David Ryan, of Xewton. was elected as one of the judges 
 of the district, together with Hon. J. K. Johnson, of Oskaloosa. and Hon. 
 W. R. Lewis, of ^lontezuma. Judge Lewis served until January i. 1891, 
 and was succeeded by Hon. A. R. Dewey, of Washington, who served un- 
 til Tanuarv i. 1903- J^idge Johnson served until lie died in 1894. and was 
 succeeded bv Hon. Ben McCoy, of Oskaloosa. \\ho was appointed by the
 
 2^2 lASPER COUN'IV, IOWA. 
 
 governor to fill the vacancy and ser\e the l)alance of Jncl,o-e Johnson's term; 
 he was elected in the fall of 1894 to tlie office of indge for the term com- 
 mencing- jannary i, 1895, ^^"^^ served nntil Jannary 1. 1899. Jndge Ryan 
 served as district judge until January i. 1899, and was succeeded by W. G. 
 Clements, of Newton, who served until January 1. 191 1. Judge McCoy 
 was succeeded by Hon. John T. Scott, of Brooklyn, who served two terms 
 until Januarv t. 1908, and was then succeeded l>y Hon. K. E. Willcockson, 
 of Sigournev, who is now one of the judges, serving his second term. On 
 January i. 1903. Judge Dewey was succeeded by B. W. Preston, of O.ska- 
 loosa, who is now one of the judges, and ser\'ing his third term. Judge 
 Clements serxed three terms and was succeeded by Hon. John F. Talbot, of 
 Brooklyn, who is now one of the judges of the district. l'"oin- terms of 
 court are held during the year in Jasper county, and each of the district 
 judges have alternatel}' held the terms of court in the county as provided 
 by law. 
 
 JASPER COUNTY ATTORNEYS. 
 
 From the time of the institution of the district court in Jasper county, 
 many noted cases were tried. From 1868 to 1884 there were two terms of 
 the district court and four terms of the circuit court held in Jasper countv 
 each year, and from 1870 to 1880 the dockets of the different courts were 
 crowded with cases and kept the court busy each term for four weeks, but 
 of late years, litigation has ceased at least one half as compared with the 
 period above mentioned. 
 
 The names of some of the pioneer lawyers who took an active ])art in 
 the court proceedings are as follows: H. J. Skiff, Thomas H. Miller. S. d. 
 Smith, O. C. Howe, H. S. Winslow, S. N. Lindley. G. R. Shays, J. W. Wil- 
 son, J. W. Sennett, D. L. Clark, David Ryan, Robert Ryan J. C. Cook, Hugh 
 Newell, George E. Spencer, J. G. Meek, H. W. Gleason, J. W. Deweese. 
 D. O. Stuart. R. A. Sankey. A. K. Campbell. S. J. ^^loyer, S. S. Patterson, 
 Sidney Williams, W'illiam Howard, Don Carlos, Jonathan X. Edgar, of 
 whom mention will be made. 
 
 Hon. H. J. Skiff came to Newton from New ^'ork in 1850, and actively 
 engaged in the practice of law. Mr. Skiff* was a graduate of Amherst Col- 
 lege, and was a leading member of the bar shortly after coming to Newton. 
 He was a member of the third constitutional convention of Towa. which was 
 held at Iowa City in 1857. representing the counties of Poweshiek. Marsliall. 
 Tama and Jasper. He took an active part in the con\-ention. and was greatly 
 instrumental in formulating the present constitution of Towa. .\fterwards
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 233 
 
 he retired from the practice and en.^as^ed in the banking- lousiness in New- 
 ton, nntil the outbreak of the Civil war, when lie enlisted in Companv B, 
 Thirteenth Iowa Regiment of Volunteer Infantry, and served as captain of 
 the company from 1862 to 1864. After the war he engaged in commercial 
 pursuits, and died in Newton in November. 1904. 
 
 Thomas H. Miller came to Newton from Cumberland countv. Pennsyl- 
 vania, in December. 1856. and immediately formed a partnership with if. S. 
 Winslow. under the style and firm name of Miller & Winslow. This firm 
 continued in the practice of law until July. 1861. at which time Mr. Miller 
 enlisted in Company B of the Thirteenth Ivegiment of Iowa Volunteer In- 
 fantry and was captain of the company, serving with distinction and bravery 
 in the battle of Shiloh, and while leading his company into the battle he fell, 
 mortally wounded, on April 6. 1862, and died of his wounds on Mav 13, 1862. 
 His body was brought to Newton for burial. Mr. ATiller was a good lawyer 
 and a thorough gentleman. 
 
 Hon. S. G. Smith was born in Greene county, New York, May 22. 183 1. 
 He attended college at Oberlin, Ohio. Was admitted to the bar in March, 
 1857. at Columbus, Ohio. In XoxTUiber of that year he removed to New- 
 ton, Iowa, and commenced the practice of law. In August, 1862, he was 
 commissioned major of the Fortieth Iowa X^olunteer Infantry, and held 
 this position until 1864, when he resigned. He then returned to Newton and 
 resumed the practice of law. Was mayor of Newton, state senator in the 
 ninth General Assembly and the extra session of the ninth General Assem- 
 bly, and was district attorney of the sixth judicial district for four years. 
 Was president of the board of directors of the State Normal School. .\t 
 one time he was a member of the firm of Smith & Wilson, attorneys. He 
 continued the practice of his profession until about four years before his 
 death, and on account of failing health retired from the practice. He died 
 in Newton November 5, 1890. 
 
 Hon. O. C. Howe was born December 19, 1824, at Williamstown, \'er- 
 mont. He finished his education at Aurora Academy. Studied law at Buf- 
 falo. New York. In the fall of 1855 he came to Jasper county where he en- 
 gaged in the practice of law for a short time. In the summer of 1856 he 
 went to Spirit Lake. Iowa, and (Organized Dickerson county and located 
 the countv seat. Afterward he returned to Newton preparatory to moving 
 his goods and chattels to Spirit Lake. On his return to Spirit Lake, he 
 found the Indians had massacred all of the white people in and around that 
 section. He was elected count\' judge of Dickinson county. In 1858 he 
 was elected district attorncv for tliat district. .\t that time the district em-
 
 234 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 braced nearly one-fourth of the area of the entire state. In 1862 he returned 
 to Newton, and soon thereafter he enUsted and was made captain of Com- 
 pany L, Ninth Iowa Cavalry, and remained with the organization until the 
 time of his discharge, in November, 1864. after which he returned to New- 
 ton and formed a partnership for the practice of law with A. K. Campbell, 
 until 1875. when he was appointed resident professor in the law depart- 
 ment of the State University at Iowa City, and remained at Iowa City until 
 1 88 1, when he removed to Anthony, Kansas, going into partnership there 
 with James McPhee. where he remained in the practice until his death, which 
 occurred in August, 1899. 
 
 Hon. H. S. Winslow was born at Pittsford. \^ermont. July 18, 1837. 
 and came to Jasper county with his parents in 1856. He formed a partner- 
 ship in December. 1856, with Thomas H. Miller, said firm practicing under 
 the style and firm name of Miller & Winslow, until Mr. Miller enlisted in 
 the Thirteenth Regiment of Iowa \^olunteers. In 1862 Mr. Winslow was 
 elected district attorney of the sixth judicial district of Iowa, and served in 
 that capacity for four years. In 1868 he was elected judge of the second 
 circuit of the sixth judicial district for a term of four years. At the end 
 of one year he resigned this office and resumed the practice of his profession 
 until 1874, when he was elected judge of the sixth judicial district, and con- 
 tinued to hold that position until January i, 1879. Afterward he resumed 
 the practice of law and continued in the practice until his death, which oc- 
 curred December 11, 1899. In 1894 the supreme court of the state appointed 
 Judge Winslow one of the commissioners to revise and codify the laws of 
 Iowa. To this work he brought not only his rare and ripe experience and 
 knowledge of the law s, but the same indefatigable energy that characterized 
 his whole life. Few men were more diligent, industrious or faithfully de- 
 voted to the profession than Judge Winslow. By his death there went 
 down one of the strongest towers of the profession, one distinguished in the 
 state, both as an advocate at the bar and a jurist on the 1)ench. 
 
 G. R. Shays came to Newton from the state of New York about the 
 year 1858. and commenced the practice of law, and devoted himself actively 
 to the practice until 1868, when he formed a |)artnership with Robert Ryan, 
 under the firm name and style of Shays &- Ryan. The firm continued in the 
 practice until the death of Mr. Shays, which occurred May 18, 1870. Little 
 is known of the previous history of ^Ir. Shays, but he was a tower of strength 
 in the trial of a case. He was over six feet in height and a great athlete. 
 The writer remembers of his delivering an address at the court house to 
 the first company of \olunteers that left Jasper county in the Civil war and 
 his speech was an elocjuent effort and inspired enthusiasm and patriotism.
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 235 
 
 Hon. J. W. Wilson was born August 8, 1837. in Lawrence county. 
 Pennsylvania. He received his education at Mt. Union College, in the same 
 state. Was admitted to the practice of law at Medina. Ohio, Septeml>er 21, 
 1855. The following year he removed to Xewton. Iowa. Tn October. 1861. 
 he was elected county judge, which office he held until the following Aug- 
 ust, when he resigned to enter the United States militar}- ser\ice, which he 
 did as a private in Company K. Twenty-eighth Iowa Volunteer Infantry. In 
 1864 he was promoted to be adjutant of his regiment, which position he held 
 until the close of the \\ar. He then returned to Xewton and resumed the 
 practice of his profession. He formed a partnership with Hon. H. S. Wins- 
 low, which partnership continued until Mr. Winslow was elected to the 
 district Ijench. Mr. Wils()n then formed a partnership with Hon. S. G. 
 Smith, which continued until atout 1879, then again formed a partnership 
 with Mr. \\"inslow and remained a member of said firm and engaged ac- 
 tively in the practice until a short time before his death, which occurred 
 May 6, 1887. During his lifetime he took a great interest in ^Masonry. Was 
 a Knight Templar, and was elected grand master of the grand lodge of Iowa 
 Masons and continued to hold that exalted position for two terms. He was 
 a true friends, and many a young member of the profession recollects him 
 with gratitude for his kindly advice. 
 
 J. \V. Sennett was one of the pioneer members of the profession, and 
 engaged in the practice of law in X'ewton, commencing about the year 1854 
 or 1855, until November 15, 1862. when he enlisted in the militar\' service 
 of the United States, and was captain of Company E. Fortieth Regiment of 
 Iowa \^olunteer Infantry, serving in that capacity with distinction until 
 August, 1864, after which he resumed the practice of law in Xewton for a 
 time, and then removed to Jasper county. Missouri, and engaged in the prac- 
 tice of law until alx)ut the year of 1907. at which time his death occurred. 
 
 D. L. Clark came to Xewton alx)ut the year 1854 or 1855 and engaged 
 in the practice of law successfully until he entered the banking business in 
 Newton and continued in that business until his death, which (xcurred Sep- 
 tember 20. 1904. He was a successful lawyer and a man of excellent judg- 
 ment and a good financier. For a short time he was in the practice of law 
 he was in partnership with Robert Ryan. 
 
 Hon. David Ryan was born in Washington county, Xew ^'ork. March 
 15, 1840, and came to Jasi)er county with his parents in 1857, settling on a 
 farm about two miles south of Prairie City. He was educated in the com- 
 mon schools of Xew York and Iowa, and at Central University at Pella. 
 He left college in 1861 and enlisted as a private in Company E. Eighth
 
 2^() JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 Iowa Infantry. He finally became captain of his company. He participated 
 in the Battle of Shiloh where he was captured and spent six months in Rebel 
 prisons W'hen the Civil war ended, he had attained the rank of colonel. Re- 
 turning to college, he graduated in 1867. and in the fall of that year he began 
 the practice, which he continued a part of the time alone and a i)art of the time 
 in partnership, first with Judge Lindlev and then with his brother, Robert 
 Ryan, and later with W . O. McElroy. He was elected to the Legislature 
 of the state, and was an efficient memlier of the ele\'enth (leneral Assembly. 
 In 1886 he was elected to the district l)ench, which position he filled with 
 credit for tweh'e years. At the exi)iration of his third term on the bench, he 
 removed to Des Moines where, with ^^^illiam Phillips and his two sons. J. 
 W. Ryan and \\'. L. Ryan, he formed the firm of Phillips, Ryan & Ryan, and 
 on the subsequent death of Mr. Phillips, continued as Ryan, Ryan & Ryan 
 up to the death of Judge Ryan, which occurred June 19, 1905. He was suc- 
 cessful at every point of his useful career and. personally, was an excellent 
 g'entleman. He had many friends wherever he was known. At the time 
 of his death he was ])resident of the Des Moines Bar Association, and his 
 funeral was largely attended bv many friends and members of the bar. com- 
 ing from distant parts of the state. 
 
 Hugh Xewell was one of the pioneer memljers of the bar of Jasper 
 county, having emigrated to Xewton in 1855, and a short time thereafter 
 was admitted to the bar on September 12. 1855. He engaged actively in the 
 practice of law for several years, after which he retired and engaged in 
 other pursuits in Jasper county, where he died February 26, 1895. 
 
 Hon. J. C. Cook was born at Tiffin, Ohio, December 2f), 1846, and re- 
 ceived his education at Heidelberg College. He was admitted to the bar 
 in 1867 and the same year came to N'ewton and actively engaged in the prac- 
 tice of the law. At one time he was in jiartnership with R. C. Clark, who 
 emigrated to Kansas. In 1876 he was nominated for attorne}- general by 
 the Democratic party of Iowa. In 1878 he was elected district judge of the 
 sixth judicial district of Iowa, and served a term of four vears. After- 
 wards he was elected to Congress from the sixth congressional district. 
 Thereafter he became attorney for the Chicago & Northwestern Railway 
 Company, with headcpiarters at Eagle (irove. Iowa. He is now attorney 
 for the Chicago. Milwaukee «S: St. Paul Railway Com])any for Iowa, and is 
 located at Cedar Rai)ids. Judge Cook was a successful practitioner, seldom 
 losing a case in which he was engaged. 
 
 S. S. Patterson was born near Rochester, Xew ^'ork. .\])ril 17. 1835, 
 and read law in Cincinnati, Ohio, for one year. At the first call for troops
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 2 ^7 
 
 in 1861, he enlisted in Company l\ Twelfth Ohio Infantry, as a private and 
 after five months service returned to Ohio, resumed the study of law at 
 Tifiin. Ohio, and in June, 1862, was admitted to the bar. Afterwards, in 
 the early part of 1863, Mr. Patterson once more entered the army, being 
 appointed as captain of the comj>any. He was present at the surrender of 
 General Lee at Appomattox. After his service in the army, which closed 
 in the fall of 1865. he received a governmental appointment in southwestern 
 Virginia as inspector of internal re\enue. In 1868 he came to Iowa and lo- 
 cated in Kellogg. After practicing his profession at that place for eight 
 years, he came to Newton and engaged in active practice of the law with the 
 exception of the time of President Cleveland's first administration, when 
 he held a position under the general government of Indian agent in New 
 Mexico. After occupying that position for four years, he returned to N^ew- 
 ton and engaged in the practice of his profession until his death, which oc- 
 curred in February, 1899. Major Patterson was a man of high honor and 
 integrity and commanded the respect of all who knew him. 
 
 Hon. J. W. Deweese commenced the practice of law at Prairie City in 
 1869 and remained at that place for ten years, during which time he was 
 elected to represent Jasper county in the sixteenth and seventeenth General 
 Assemblies, which he did with credit to himself and to his constituency, being 
 elected speaker pro tem. of the House of Representatives at its seventeenth 
 session. In 1862 Mr. Deweese answered the call of his country and en- 
 listed in Company G, Twenty-third Regiment Iowa Volimteer Infantry, and 
 served until the close of the war, after which he attended the Central Uiii- 
 versity at Pella, Iowa, and then law school, previous to locating in Prairie 
 City. In 1879 Mr. Deweese removed to Lincoln, Nebraska, and became at- 
 torney for the Chicago. Burlington & Quincy Railway in Nebraska, which 
 position he occupied until his death, which occurred September 3. 1907. Mr. 
 Deweese was an able lawyer. 
 
 Hon. E. C. Roach engaged in the practice of law at Prairie City, 
 commencing about the year 1875 O'' 1876, and remained at that place ac- 
 tively engaged in his profession until about 1883, at which time he removed 
 to Rock- Rapids. Lyon county. Iowa, where he is still engaged in the practice 
 of law with success. He has represented Lyon county twice in tlie Legis- 
 lature, the twentv-first and twenty-second sessions of the General Assembly 
 of Iowa. 
 
 L. A. Williams came to Prairie City from the state of Kentucky in 
 about the vear 1874 and continued the practice of law at that place until 
 about the vear 1903. when he returned to the state of Kentucky, liis old home, 
 and a short time thereafter died.
 
 238 JASl'KR COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Sidney Williams commenced the practice of law in Prairie City about 
 the year 1868 and remained at Prairie City until 1873 and then removed 
 to Colfax, Iowa. In 1874 he, with John Dixon, discovered the noted min- 
 eral waters at Colfax. About the year 1885 he removed to Colorado, where 
 he is now engaged in mining enterprises. 
 
 Hon. B. C. Ward, a native of Vermont, came to Prairie City in 1869 
 and was principal of the schools at that place for a number of years. He 
 studied law and was admitted to the bar in the fall of 1876, and formed a 
 partnership with W. G. Clements, under the firm name of Clements & Ward, 
 which partnership continued for the practice of law until 1893. The firm 
 maintained offices at Prairie City and Newton, Mr. Clements having re- 
 moved to Newton in October, 1887. The partnership was dissolved in 1893. 
 Mr. \\'ard moved to Des Moines, where he has been engaged in philan- 
 thropic interests, being president of the Young Men's Christian Association 
 in Des Moines for a number of years. While at Prairie City, Mr. Ward rep- 
 resented Jasper county in the Iowa Legislature, the twentieth session of the 
 same, and served with credit to himself and to his constituency. Mr. Ward, 
 during the Civil war, enlisted in the Second Vermont Infantry and served 
 his country faithfully and was in many battles, including Gettysburg, the 
 Wilderness and other hard-fought engagements. Mr. Ward still lives in 
 Des Moines and is now senior vice-commander of the Grand Army of the Re- 
 public of Iowa. 
 
 William Howard came to Monroe in the year 1856. Was justice of 
 the peace at that place for a number of years. Afterwards was admitted to 
 the bar about the year i860, and engaged in the practice of law until his 
 death, which occurred about 1875. 
 
 Jacob Kipp was a pioneer lawyer of Monroe, coming to that town in 
 the year of 1854. W^as elected justice of the peace for a number of years 
 and was admitted to the bar and engaged in the general practice of law 
 until 1899, when he retired from the practice and engaged in other pursuits. 
 He is still living in Monroe and is over eighty-five years of ag"e. 
 
 Sloan Koder practiced law in Monroe for a number of years with suc- 
 cess. In 1895 he removed to Siloam Springs, Arkansas, where he resumed 
 the law business and is still living at that [)lace. 
 
 R. A. McKee commenced the practice of law in Monroe about the year 
 1870, and remained in the practice at that place for a number of years, and 
 removed to the state of Nebraska. During the Civil war Mr. McKee was 
 captain of Company I, Fifth Veteran Cavalry, and served with credit to 
 himself and his country.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 239 
 
 A. O. Hayes, once a member of the bar of Jasper county, and engaged 
 in the law business in Alonroe for a number of years, removed to the state 
 of K'ansas about the year 1880. At last accounts, he was still living in the 
 state of Kansas. 
 
 Hon. H. W. Gleason. a native of New Hampshire, came to Monroe 
 about January i. 1869, and remained there two years and engaged in the 
 practice of law successfully, afterwards removed to Oskaloosa, Iowa, and 
 formed a partnership with Judge Crookham. Mr. Gleason represented Ma- 
 haska county in tlie se\enteenth General Assembh- of Iowa. After dissolv- 
 ing partnership with Judge Crookham, he removed to the state of Kansas 
 and there engaged in the practice of law for some time, and then returned 
 to Oskaloosa where he continued the practice of law until his death, which 
 occurred May i, 191 1. 
 
 Alanson Clark, son of D. L. Clark, a graduate of Dartmouth College 
 and the Iowa Law School, was admitted to the bar in 1875. and in 1876 com- 
 menced the ])ractice of law at Xewton with success and remained in the prac- 
 tice until his death, which occurred March 28, 1894. Mr. Clark was very 
 energetic in the cause of his numerous clients, and won distinction at the bar 
 by his prosecution of rebate cases against the different railway companies. 
 At the time of his death, he was county attorney of Jasper county. 
 
 S. J. ]\Ioyer came to Jasper county in the year 1864 and was engaged in 
 teaching school until about the year 1872, when he was admitted to the 
 bar and practiced law in Newton for a period of about twelve years, then 
 remoxed to Chaml)erlain, South Dakota, and engaged in the same business 
 at that place until his death, which occurred about the year 1896. 
 
 A. S. Stuver was justice of peace for a number of years in Xewton, and 
 a member of the bar and practiced law until he removed to Kimball, South 
 Dakota, in 1882. He engaged in the practice of law in that state until his 
 death, which occurred in 1904. 
 
 H. K. Stahl and C. \\\ Stahl commenced the practice of law in Xew- 
 ton in the vear 1874. under the firm name and style of Stahl Bros. They 
 engaged in the ])ractice in Xewton for a period of about twelve years, and 
 then removed to the state of California, where they each now reside. 
 
 R. B. Kiddoo came to Jasper county in the year 1869 and engaged in 
 the practice of law in Newton for about ten years. He then removed to 
 the state of Nebraska, where he resumed the same business until his death, 
 which occurred in the year 1894. 
 
 J. G, Meek, one of the pioneer lawyers, came to X^ewton in the year 
 1854 and was admitted to the bar during that year. He practiced law in
 
 240 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Newton for about ten years and then remo\ed to Ottuniwa, Iowa, where 
 he still lives. 
 
 J. M. Clements came to Jasper county with his parents in 1855 ^"^ ^"" 
 gaged in work on the farm for his father near Newton until about the year 
 1868, when he attended college at W'ittemberg and Hazel Dell Academy in 
 Newton, studied law. and was admitted to the bar in 1873. On January 
 I, 1879, he was appointed official sliort-hand reporter for the sixth judicial 
 district by Judge Cook and served in that capacity for four years, after w hich 
 he resumed the practice of law in Newton. In a short time he formed a 
 partnership with S. C. Cook, under the firm name of Cook & Clements, the 
 partnership being dissolved in 1886, at which time Mr. Clements went to 
 Helena, Montana, where he was elected county judge of the county for a 
 term of two years. Afterwards he commenced the practice of law at that 
 place with success. In 1903 he was elected judge of the district court at 
 Helena, Montana. In 1907 he was re-elected, and now holds that position. 
 
 S. C. Cook was raised on a farm near Newton, studied law and was ad- 
 mitted to the bar in Jasper county about the year 1874 and entered into part- 
 nership with R. A. Sankey, which partnership existed for about four years, 
 after which he formed a partnership with J. M. Clements. Mr. Cook was 
 president of the railroad company which constructed what is now the Iowa 
 Central Railway from Newton to Keithsburg, Iowa. Mr. Cook was a 
 successful financier, very energetic and painstaking in whatever he under- 
 took. He continued in the practice of law until September, 1887, when he 
 met his death on a railway crossing between Mitchellville and Colfax by be- 
 ing struck by a railway train while driving in his buggy. His tragic death 
 was mourned by all his friends and acquaintances. 
 
 Hon. Stephen N. Lindley was born in Merrittstown, Pennsylvania, May 
 7, 18 1 7. He removed to Athens county, Ohio, in 1835, ^^^^ there studied 
 law in the office of A. J. Brown and was admitted to the bar. In April, 
 1848, he came to Iowa, and in 1861 came to Newton, where he resided nine- 
 teen years, following his profession, and served two terms as circuit judge. 
 He then moved to Fairbury. Nebraska, in 1880, and was elected and served 
 several terms as probate judge. In 1894 his health failed and he gave up 
 his practice and moved to Blanchester, Ohio, where he died January 22, 
 1896. Judge Lindley, prior to the Civil war, was an ardent abolitionist. 
 While he resided in Monroe, he and John R. Clements (the father of the 
 writer) conducted an "underground railroad'' and helped many a poor black 
 person to regain his liberty.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 24 1 
 
 A. K. Campbell emigrated from the state of Ohio to Newton about 
 the year 1855. Previous to coming to Iowa he studied law with his father 
 in the state of Oliio. He was admitted to the bar in Jasper county in 1868, 
 and formed a partnership with Judge O. C. Howe; the partnership continued 
 until Judge Howe was appointed one of the resident law professors in the 
 State University, which occurred in 1876. Mr. Campbell continued the 
 practice of his profession until he removed from Newton to Des Moines, in 
 1887, where he now resides. 
 
 W. E. Evans studied law in the office of Hon. J. C. Cook in Newton, 
 and was admitted to the bar about the year 1876. He engaged in the prac- 
 tice in Newton for three or four years, and then removed to the state of 
 Kansas, where he now resides and is still engaged in the practice of law. 
 
 Clark Varnum was admitted to the bar in Poweshiek county about 1873, 
 and engaged in the practice of law at Malcom, Iowa, until 1885, when he 
 removed to Newton and formed a partnership with Hon. H. S. Winslow, 
 which partnership continued until Mr. Varnum removed to Chicago, which 
 occurred about the year 1893. Mr. Varnum still resides in Chicago and is 
 engaged in the practice of his profession. 
 
 A. F. Brown was raised on a farm in Jasper county, studied law and w as 
 admitted to the bar in June, 1882. and immediately thereafter formed a 
 partnership with J. H. Fugard, which partnership was dissolved in Sep- 
 tember, 1901. Afterward Mr. Brown continued the practice of his pro- 
 fession as a lawyer in Newton until September, 1907, when he removed to 
 the city of Des ]\Ioines where he is now general attorney for the Corn Belt 
 Land & Loan Company. 
 
 R. F. Graham engaged in the ])ractice of law in Newton for a number 
 of years, being admitted to the bar about the year 1898, and followed the 
 practice of law in Newton until about 1903. He then removed to W'hittier, 
 California, where he is now engaged in the law- business. 
 
 D. O. Stuart practiced law in Monroe. Iowa, for about six years, then, 
 in 1878, removed to Harlan. Iowa, where he is still engaged in the practice 
 of his profession. 
 
 A. I. Craven was admitted to the bar in 1882. and practiced law in New- 
 ton for about four years, and then removed to Helena, Montana. While 
 there he became a member of the Legislature, and also a member of the 
 constitutional convention which framed the constitution of the state. He 
 is now located in Bellingham. Washington, and is there engaged in the prac- 
 tice of law. 
 (16)
 
 242 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 James A. Kerr was admitted to the l)ar in about the year 1882 and 
 immediately commenced the practice of his profession in N^ewton. He con- 
 tinned in the practice with success until 1890, when he removed to Seattle, 
 Washington, where he is now engaged in the practice of law. Previous to 
 his leaving Newton he was in partnership with \V. O. McElroy for about 
 four years. Mr. Kerr was a tprceful speaker and advocate, and has achieved 
 great success in his new field where he now resides. 
 
 A. AI. Harrah came to Jasper county with his parents about the year 
 1855, studied law and was admitted to the bar in 1875, and commenced the 
 practice of his profession in Newton which he continued with success until 
 1907. when he removed to Pasadena. Qlilifornia. where he is still engaged 
 in the practice of his profession. In 1886. Mr. Harrah was elected county 
 attorney and served in that capacity for a period of two years. Mr. Harrah 
 A\as an able lawyer. 
 
 John G. Harrah, son of A. M-. Harrah, was admitted to the bar in 
 1905, and commenced the practice of law in Newton and continued until 
 191 1, when he removed to Pasadena, California, where he now resides. 
 
 Preston Chambers was born in the state of Indiana and emigrated to 
 Iowa in 1855, settling near Galesburg. Iowa. He was admitted to the bar 
 in 1877, and practiced law until June 19, 1907, when he died near Gales- 
 burg. at the age of eighty-three years. 
 
 Hon. W. H. Redman was born in Geneseo. Illinois. March 15, 1840. 
 He lived and worked on a farm during the early years of his life. He 
 served as private in Company C. Twelfth Illinois Cavalry, during the Civil 
 war, and was advanced to the position of captain of his company. He was 
 in several battles during the war. After the war, he came to Poweshiek 
 county and located on a farm. He entered the law department of the State 
 University from which he graduated in December, 1869. The following 
 year he commenced the practice of law in Montezuma. Mr. Redman served 
 in the twentv-first and twenty-second General Assemblies of Iowa, being 
 made speaker of the House in the last named session. In 1898 he was ap- 
 pointed assistant attorney general, whicli office he held until A])ril t, 1899. 
 In 1900 he located in Newton, Iowa, and continued the practice of law until 
 his death, which occurred about December. 1901. 
 
 H. L, Stem came to Jasper county with his parents in 1855 '^"^^l settled 
 on a farm near Monroe. Mr. Stem worked on the farm until he was admitted 
 to the bar in 1871. and engaged in the practice of law in Monroe. Iowa, for 
 a period of six vears, after which he removed to the state of Nebraska.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 243 
 
 E. M. Ives practiced law at Lynnville for a number of. years. From 
 thence he removed to Kellogg. Iowa, and resumed the practice of his pro- 
 fession at that place until 1907, when he removed to the state of Indiana. 
 
 L. J. Labour practiced law in Colfax for a number of years, and about 
 the year 1880 removed to the city of Des Moines. 
 
 J. A. Metcalf came to Xewton about the year 1888 and i)racticed 
 law' in Xewton until 1895, when he removed to Sac City, Sac county, Iowa, 
 where he is now engaged in his chosen profession. 
 
 Fred Oilman came to Newton from the northeastern part of Iowa about 
 the year 1882, and practiced law in Xewton until about the year 1887. When 
 he was appointed professor in the law department of the State University of 
 Iowa, he removed to Iowa City. 
 
 S. I, Miskimmons commenced the practice of law at Baxter, in Jasper 
 county, in 1899 and continued in the practice at that place until the time of 
 his death, April 15, 1904. 
 
 S. Kent commenced the practice of law in Xewton about the year 1873, 
 and remained in Xewton until about 1878, when he removed to the state of 
 Xebraska, where he now lives. 
 
 Bryant E. Corwin was ]x)rn in Morrow county, Ohio. October 21. 
 1850. attended the common schools of that county until 1872, when he 
 came to Monroe. Iowa. He had previously studied law in the office of Judge 
 Dickey at Mt. Gilead. He was admitted to the bar in Jasper county Xovem- 
 ber 10, 1876. Previous to that time he had l)een principal for four years 
 of the Monroe schools. He practiced law in Monroe with success until the 
 time of his death, which occurred October 30, 1893. 
 
 W. H. Williams practiced law in the town of Monroe from 1877 to 
 1879. He then moxed to the state of Kansas where he now resides. 
 
 Joseph Arnold was born at Richmond. Indiana, April i. 1832. In 
 1843 li^ came with his parents to Lynnville. Iowa, and aided iiis parents in 
 operating a grist mill at said place, and also in conducting a farm. In 1864 
 ^[r. Arnold was ordained a minister of the gospel in the Friends church 
 and preached more or less. Alnnit the year 1873 he commenced the 
 study of law, and was admitted to the bar in Jasper county in 1877 and con- 
 tinued the practice of law in Lynnville with success until the time of his 
 death. Avhich occurred September 7. 1904. in the seventy-third year of his 
 age. 
 
 John C. Meredith was reared on a farm near Lynnville and about the 
 vear 1880 was admitted to the bar and entered in the practice of law at Lynn- 
 ville. which he carried on with success until about the year 1883. when he 
 removed to Angus. Iowa.
 
 244 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 James B. Nay lor, a resident of Lynnville, was admitted to the bar in 
 1874, and continued the practice of law at that place until about 1880, 
 when he removed to Simeron, Kansas, where he is still engaged in the law 
 business. 
 
 C. A. Tracy practiced law in Monroe for about two years, commencing 
 in 1890. He then removed to the state of Nebraska. 
 
 R. A. Sankey, a native of Pennsylvania, came to Newton in 1866 and 
 commenced the practice of law with success. He afterwards formed a 
 partnership with AI. Howard, which continued for about two or three years. 
 Afterwards he formed a partnership with S. C. Cook, which was dissolved 
 in about two years thereafter. In 1882 Mr. Sankey went to Wichita, Kansas, 
 where he engaged in the practice of his profession until the time of his 
 death, which occurred in March, 1909. He was about sixty-two years of 
 age at the time of his death. 
 
 M. Howard came to Newton about the year 1870 and commenced the 
 practice of law in partnership with R. A. Sankey, and after the dissolution 
 of the partnership, which continued about three years, Mr. Howard removed 
 to the city of Chicago where he now resides. 
 
 Hon. Robert Ryan was born in Washington county, New York, and 
 emigrated to Jasper county with his parents in 1857, and settled on a farm 
 two miles south of Prairie City. He was educated in the common schools 
 of New York and Iowa, and at the Central University at Pella. During the 
 war he served as a member of the Eighth Iowa Infantry and upon his re- 
 turn home finished his education and studied law, attending the law depart- 
 ment of the Iowa State University. In about the year 1868 he commenced 
 the practice of law in Newton, forming a partnership with G. R. Shays, 
 which continued until the death of Mr. Shays. He then formed a partner- 
 ship with his brother, David Ryan, which continued until his removal to 
 Lincoln, Nebraska, where he resumed the practice of law. In a short time 
 after removing to Lincoln, he was elected a member of the supreme court 
 of that state, on which he serxed with alMJity for a term of six years. Af- 
 terwards he resumed the practice of law, and in about the year 1900 he 
 came to Des Moines, Iowa, and formed a partnership with his brother, David 
 Ryan, and J. B. Ryan and W. L. Ryan, sons of David Ryan. Hon. Robert 
 Ryan is now actively engaged in the practice of law in Des Moines. 
 
 Evert M. Allen was born in Jasper county, and lived with his parents 
 on a farm near Colfax. He attended the State University at Iowa City, 
 and graduated from the law department thereof in 1897, after which he 
 engaged in the practice of law in Colfax until about 1906. when he removed
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 245 
 
 to Spokane, state of Washington, where he is still engaged in the practice of 
 his profession. 
 
 E. H. Hurd came to Newton about the year 1900 and engaged in the 
 practice of law until about 1906, when he removed to the state of Nebraska. 
 
 Clifford V. Cox was born in Jasper county, February 14. 1880. He 
 received his education in the common schools of the county and then entered 
 the State University in 1897. from which he graduated from the law de- 
 partment in June. 1903. and was admitted to the bar. He commenced the 
 practice of his profession in Newton, forming a partnership with W. O. 
 McElroy, under the firm name and style of McElroy & Cox, which partner- 
 ship continued until 1909, when Mr. Cox removed to the city of Des Moines 
 and formed a partnership with Mr. Bannister, where he is actively engaged 
 in the practice. 
 
 J. A. Mattern came to Colfax about the year 1878. He was admitted 
 to the bar about that time and commenced the practice of law, which he con- 
 tinued until about 1898. when he was elected clerk of the district court of 
 Jasper county, which position he occupied until 1906. He then removed 
 from Jasper county to Creston, Iowa, where he now resides. 
 
 George F. Rinehart practiced law in Newton for about two years, 
 then engaged in publishing a newspaper in Des ]\Ioines. From there he re- 
 moved to the state of Oklahoma, where he is now successfully engaged in 
 editing a newspaper. 
 
 Jonathan N. Edgar was admitted to the bar at Newton in 1855. A short 
 time thereafter he was elected county attorney and served in that capacity 
 for about two years, when he removed to Oskaloosa, Iowa. 
 
 William B. Sloan was admitted to the bar at Newton, September 8, 
 1854, and practiced law in Newton for about four years. He then re- 
 moved to the state of Ohio and resumed the practice of his profession. 
 
 B. F. Parmenter came to Newton in the fall of 1855 and commenced 
 the practice of law. In the summer of 1856 he, in company with Judge 
 O. C. Howe, went to Spirit Lake, where Mr. Parmenter remained until the 
 time of his death. 
 
 Charles Smentzer came to Newton in 1855 and commenced the practice 
 of law. In 1857 he removed to Ft. Dodge, Iowa, where he resumed the 
 practice of his profession and occupied many positions of trust at his new 
 home. 
 
 Hon. John C. Pollock, a native of Belmont county. Ohio, came to New- 
 ton after the Civil war and studied law in the office of Hon. H. S. Winslow. 
 He was admitted to the bar in Jasper county, and from there he moved to
 
 246 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Montezuma, Poweshiek county, and remained there in the practice of his 
 profession for about three years. He then removed to the state of Missouri 
 and still continued the practice of law. From Missouri he went to Kansas 
 where he gained distinction as a trial lawyer and was elected as district 
 judge of that state, and while serving in that capacity was appointed judge 
 of the United States district court for the state of Kansas, which position 
 he now occupies. 
 
 Hon. George E. Spencer was admitted to the bar in Newton April 16, 
 1856, and thereafter engaged in the practice of law in Newton with success. 
 In 1858 he served as secretary of the state Senate of Iowa. Thereafter, in 
 1859. he removed to the northwestern part of the state in Cla\- county and 
 took up a government claim and thereon laid out a town, giving it his own 
 name, which is now the county seat of Clay county. He was the first set- 
 tler in Clay county. During the Civil war he was colonel of a regiment of 
 loyal Alabamians and served with distinction until the close of the war. After- 
 wards, he settled in the state of Alabama, and was elected from that state to 
 the United States Senate for a term of six years. 
 
 Hon. James B. Weaver was born in Dayton. Ohio, June 12, 1833. He 
 was educated in the common schools of Iowa. He commenced the study of 
 law in the ofifice of S. G. McAchran. at Bloomfield, Iowa, in 1854. After- 
 wards he attended the law school of Cincinnati College and graduated in 
 1855. Rutherford B. Hayes, afterwards President of the United States, 
 was one of the board of examiners of said school. Afterwards General 
 Weaver came to Bloomfield and engaged in the practice of his profession 
 until the spring ofi86i. when he entered the Union army as a private 
 soldier and was elected first lieutenant of Company G, Second Iowa InfantiT. 
 Afterwards was promoted to the rank of major of his regiment and then to 
 colonel and after\\ards was l)re\'eted Ijrigadier-general by President Lincoln. 
 General Weaver was engaged in many hard-fought battles along with his 
 regiment. At the close of the war he returned to Bloomfield and again en- 
 tered upon the practice of law and in 1866 was elected district attorney of 
 the second judicial district, ^^•hich was composed of seven counties, in which 
 capacity he served for a term of four years. He was afterwards appointed 
 United States assessor of internal revenue. Afterwards he entered the gen- 
 eral practice and took an active part in politics. In 1878 he was elected to 
 Congress from the sixth Iowa district and in 1886 was again elected to Con- 
 gress. In 1880 he was nominated by the national Greenback party for Presi- 
 dent of the United States and polled over three hundred thousand votes. In 
 1892 he was nominated for President of the United States by the Populist
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 247 
 
 party and polled over one million votes, and received twenty-two electoral 
 votes, (ieneral Weaver was a resident of Colfax, in jasper countv. for 
 the past fifteen years and, while not in the active practice of the law, was 
 engaged in literary work. General Weaver had a keen sense of justice and 
 right and espoused the cause of the weak and oppressed and therefore was 
 highly respected and esteemed l)v ever}- person with whom he came in c«jn- 
 tact. He died on February 6, 1912. 
 
 THE PRESENT BAR. 
 
 The following are the present members of the Jasper county bar: A. A. 
 Arnold, George T. Anderson, A. H. Brous, J. W. Burke, M. J. Carey, W. G. 
 Clements, F. H. Clements, W. R. Cooper, P. H. Cragan, C. E. Cragan, J. E. 
 Cross, Tim J. Campbell, C. O. Edge, J. H. Fugard, A, R. Gorrell, A. C. 
 Gates, M. R. Hammer, Jr., J. C. Hawkins, P. H. Healy, P. E. Johannsen, 
 F. L. Kennedy, L. S. Kennington, H. C. Horf, Jacob Kipp, George C. Kipp, 
 J. Koder, L. E. Hall, A. K. Lufkin, E. P. Malmberg, W. O. McElroy, C. O. 
 McLain, E. M. S. McLaughlin, O. C. Meredith, Ross R. Mowry, V. H. Mor- 
 gan, H. L. Morgan, G. L. Morgan, O. P. Myers, E. C. Ogg. M. E. Penquite, 
 J. B. Ryan, E. J. Salmon, Henry Silwold, F. W. Swearingen, G. M. Tripp, 
 D. M. Tripp, L. A. Wells.
 
 CHAPTER XVL 
 
 THE MEDICAL PROFESSION AND MEDICAL SOCIETIES. 
 
 From the earliest history- of mankind, in all countries, civilized and un- 
 civilized, the medical man has always been held in high esteem by those in 
 need of his services. Whether it be the learned professor, who has had the 
 advantages of many colleges and thoroughly understands the latest discov- 
 eries in his science, or the "great medicine man'' of the semi-civilized and 
 half-tutored savage, who from actual experience has made discoveries of the 
 healing properties of various roots and herbs, honor awaits him on almost 
 every hand, while the life and death of a human being is virtually placed in 
 his keeping. The weary patient, streached out on his bed of pain, and the 
 no less w^orthy watcher by his side, wait anxiously for the coming of the 
 "good doctor,'' and, on his arrival, note his every movement. In health and 
 strength we often speak lightly of the medical profession, but when the face 
 is flushed with fever and the frame is full of pain and disorder, then it is that 
 the doctor is most appreciated, for we know^ full w'ell that nature can best be 
 aided by medicines administered by one who has made materia medica his life 
 study. 
 
 The early physicians in Jasper and adjoining counties were men of stand- 
 ing and endured great hardships, as they faced the storms of an Iowa winter 
 or the burning suns of summer, traveling on foot and on horseback, many 
 times over roads almost impassable, with bridgeless streams, by day and by 
 night. The "saddle-bag doctor" was here in evidence and the trained nurse 
 was wanting, but was quite well substituted by the dear old grandmothers who 
 seemed to have brought down from their homes in the eastern country many 
 simple remedies and knew just how to care for the sick member of the family 
 until the case needed a physician. 
 
 The early day doctors practiced for money, same as today, but then, as 
 now, the honorable physician did not turn a poor person away without treat- 
 ment, but administered the best he could and trusted to luck to be repaid. 
 This trait has caused many a doctor to have thousands of dollars charged on 
 his books which might as well never have been entered, for when the patient 
 has been healed he too frequently forgets his family physician and pays others 
 less worthy.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 249 
 
 The science of medicine has materially advanced in the last fifty years 
 and surgery has within twenty-five years made wonderful strides. What once 
 seemed impossible to perfonn. is today counted but the work of a few minutes 
 and a great operation is performed and life saved thereby. New countries 
 always have their own peculiar diseases and Jasper county had her full share 
 of pioneer ailments to be cared for by the early physicians, who were not al- 
 ways of the brightest, highest type of medical men, but they carried out what 
 they believed to be the best for those whom they treated. The later physi- 
 cians were of a better educated type and met with good success — especiallv is 
 this true of those who cam€ to Jasper county after the close of the Civil war. 
 That conflict was of itself a great surgeon maker and the result of the ex- 
 perience is still felt in the hospitals and general practice of today, from ocean 
 to ocean. 
 
 Early in the eighties the state laws were so changed that a "quack" was 
 prohibited from practicing medicine, and this rule of law has made higher 
 and better the standard of doctors throughout the commonwealth. The bitter 
 fights between "old school" and other medical schools, including homeo- 
 pathic, osteopathic, and even Christian Science treatment, has about been 
 abandoned : the rank and file of physicians now see some good in the eclectic 
 school as well as in the "regular." and if patients care to take treatment with 
 any new school the reputable doctor is not offended, and indeed if he himself 
 thinks anything is to be gained by using some of the remedies of other 
 schools he feels at liberty to do so, and calls it perfectly professional. Tn 
 short, the men engaged in the practice of medicine have been trained at in- 
 stitutions of learning controlled by broad-gauged men. who see some good in 
 all rational methods and have come to seek a cure, rather than carr}' into 
 practice a pet theory of any school of medicine. 
 
 PHYSICIANS OF JASPER COUNTY. 
 (By Dr. Perry E3ngle.) 
 
 The first physician in this count\' to estal>lish a medical practice was Dr. 
 Henry Rodgers. who came from Pendleton, Indiana, and settled in Newton 
 in 1847. He was the father of John F. Rodgers. of Newton, and an uncle 
 of T. M. Rodgers, of the Neivton Record. Once while riding through the 
 woods he was chased by a wild cat that tried to jump on his horse. He had 
 a verv severe spell of sickness and was just convalescent when some of his 
 patients near Grinnell came after him to see someone very sick: no buggies 
 were in the countv then and the Doctor was unable to ride a horse, so a bed
 
 250 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 
 
 was rigged up in a wagon in which the devoted Doctor made his trip. He 
 came home, took a relapse and died at the age of thirty-seven years. He saved 
 his patient. He died that others might Hve. When the anxious John in- 
 quired from the seaside prison, "Art thou He that shall come?" Christ sent 
 replv: "The lame walk, the blind see." Is not the saving of the lives of others 
 divine? Doctor Rodgers was buried in the Newton cemetery in 1855. 
 
 William Patton was born in Warren county, Ohio, in 1818; graduated 
 in medicine in Cincinnati, Ohio. He practiced medicine in Rock Creek town- 
 ship. Jasper county, from 1855 to 1862, when he died from cerebro spinal 
 meningitis, contracted while attending patients in Grinnell afflicted with that 
 fatal malady. He was the father of I. L. Patton, ex-sheriff of Jasper county. 
 He died May 6, 1862, in Rock Creek township. 
 
 Andrew Patton was born in Warren county, Ohio, in 1808, and practiced 
 in Newton three years before enlisting in the army; he was a surgeon in a 
 colored regiment. His residence was where the Methodist parsonage now 
 stands; he left Newton in 1865 for Nevada, Iowa, where he died in 1888. 
 
 M. W. Richey practiced at Colfax, but for many years has been located 
 in LeMars, Plymouth county, Iowa, where he has built up a large practice. 
 
 N. W. Gearhart, another Colfax doctor, is now in Pierre, South Dakota. 
 
 Lindley S. Blackledge, who was in Newton in 1883, is now in Orosi, 
 California. 
 
 A. T. Ault came to Newton in 1855, and later was elected county treas- 
 urer, served in the Union army as captain in Company C, of an Iowa regi- 
 ment. After the war he moved to Missouri, where he died. 
 
 Drs. Neeley and A. L. Gray were active practitioners in Newton in 1854. 
 
 B. M. Failor was born February 21, 1831, in Bucyrus, Ohio. In 1853 he 
 married Sarah Picking. To them one child was born, Anna, now Mrs. 
 Grandstaff, of Burlington, Iowa. He was a surgeon of the Nineteenth Regi- 
 ment Ohio Volunteers and had a horse shot from under him at the battle of 
 Stone River. He located in Newton in 1865. He was secretary of the Jasper 
 County Medical Society for twenty years. He had charge of a field coi*ps 
 hospital in Mississippi. Garrett Post, Grand Army of the Republic, Woman's 
 Relief Corps and the Jasper Society attended his funeral. In his professional 
 business he was generous to a fault, never refusing a call on the score of pov- 
 erty. He was, while returning from a sick call, waylaid and robbed. He died 
 September 12, 1901. 
 
 James M. Brown was born in Newton and was a son of Rev. T. F. 
 Brown; was one of the editors of the lozva National; was a man of ability and 
 a successful practitioner. He is now practicing in western Nebraska, having 
 left Newton in 1878.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 25 I 
 
 A. H. Buchanan died in Baxter, Iowa, April 3. 191 1. He was horn at 
 sea January i. 1830. For three years he Hved at Delma. Alabama. At the 
 age of three years he came with his parents to Richland county, Ohio, and 
 lived on a farm near Hayesville. After preparatory study he was graduated 
 from Jefferson Aledical College, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. He practiced 
 medicine in Bellville, Ohio, for twenty-five years. In 1862 he married Irene 
 Wade, who died in 1876. To them two children were born, one of whom died 
 in infancy, the other being Astella V. Hunter. In 1876 he came to Xewton, 
 Iowa, where he lived two years, then moved to I)axter, Iowa. July 9th he 
 married Isal^elle Donaldson, and to this marriage one child was 1x)rn. His 
 wife and two daughters survive him. His life was a success, and he left the 
 world the better for his having lived in it. 
 
 Eugene Augustus Goodwin was born April 10, 1 831, at Hallowell, Maine, 
 He spent much time teaching. He graduated from the U^iiversity of Michi- 
 gan in 1871. and from there he entered the Long Island Medical College, 
 from which he also graduated. He first practiced medicine in New Jersey, 
 from where he moved to Newton, Iowa, in 1873. He practiced two years, 
 then located in Baxter, this county, and finally engaged in farming. June 14, 
 1861, he enlisted in Company F, Ninety-ninth New York Volunteers; he was a 
 valiant soldier of the Potomac and witnessed the memorable battle between 
 the "Merrimac" and "Monitor." He was discharged July 2, 1864; died 
 October 18, 1910, and was buried at Baxter. 
 
 John S. Hunter came from Carrollton, Ohio, to Newton, Iowa, in 1857. 
 at which time his competitors were Drs. Ault, Neeley, Rodgers, Hammer. 
 Dinwiddle, Gray and others. The Doctor was the father of five children. 
 Dr. Henry E. Hunter being one of them. He was a successful practitioner 
 for years, and died and was buried in Newton. 
 
 Henry E. Hunter was born in Carrolltown, Ohio, September 18, 1830. 
 He came to Newton in 1854. He returned to his old home and was married 
 to Sarah A. Wilson February 27, 1855. To this union two children were 
 bom, George M. Hunter, and Carrie Hunter, who married C. E. Stubbs: she 
 died in confinement in Chicago in 1885. Doctor Hunter first kept house in a 
 frame building standing where the "Churchill" now stands. He was sent by 
 the people of this county to care for our soldiers at \^icksburg. Mississippi. He 
 came in a stage from Davenport, Iowa, to Newton and began practice with Dr. 
 A. T. Ault, and at the time of his death he was the oldest practicing physician 
 in the county. In medical ethics. Doctor Hunter was the soul of honor, brave, 
 manly and just; his religious environment was the strictest cut of Presbyter- 
 ianism, but at his death he was a liberal, a seeker of truth, and an example of
 
 252 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 equity. He died of brain trouble June 20, 1902; his pall bearers were Dr. S. 
 Druett. of Anamosa. Perry Engle, L. E. S, Turner, C. Boyd. E. F. Besser, 
 C. C. Smead and J. T. Hendershot. 
 
 William Bailey was born in Boston, Lincolnshire, England, on the 14th 
 of r^larch, 1819, and died in Newton, Iowa, on the 25th of July, 1907, aged 
 eighty-eight years. He was a son of Rev. William Bailey, who was one of 
 John Wesley's preachers, \\hen a lad of ten years of age he came with his 
 father to America and settled in New York state, and later moved to Ohio, 
 where he grew to manhood. He earned his money for an education and grad- 
 uated from the Lake Erie LTniversity in Columbus, as Doctor of Medicine 
 at the age of twenty-three years. He practiced medicine for twenty-five years 
 in Ohio and two years in Newton, Iowa. When he left his parental home to 
 fight life's battles, he had but two dollars, one of which he gave to his loving 
 mother, the other dollar was his only cash capital, which, with his honesty, 
 energy and industry, made him rich. He bought a horse on credit; the horse 
 died and he was compelled to make his rounds to visit his patients on foot. His 
 patients many of them were poor and his practice large. His big generous 
 heart took in his patients as well as his mother. He gave thousands of dollars 
 in services and medicines gladly to the poor and unfortunate. In giving his 
 life for others, the kind hearted Doctor often suffered from want and hunger. 
 He instructed his family to never turn a tramp away hungry. His sympathies 
 took in animals and birds as well as humanity. He was engaged in general 
 merchandise in Newton for two years and then owned and successfully man- 
 aged a large farm near Baxter. He was twice married and had seven children 
 born. In 1893 he and his faithful daughter. Margaret, made their home in 
 Newton. He was a charter member of the Masonic lodge of Baxter. 
 
 I. A. Hammer was born in Tennessee, and came to Newton in 1864. He 
 was a man of marked ability and seiwed as mayor of Newton two terms. In 
 1872 he moved to Des Moines and was elected city clerk. In 1892 he moved 
 to Chicago, where he practiced medicine until his death, that occurred January 
 I, 1900. He was a Methodist preacher, as well as a doctor, and he could 
 marry a couple, officiate at the birth, and preach the funeral sermon, and do all 
 the work well. He was an uncle of Dr. Marion Hammer. 
 
 James Cooper was raised in Jasper county, read medicine with Perry 
 Engle, and is now a prominent practitioner in Rockwell City, Iowa. 
 
 J. Ridhout located in Jasper county in the early fifties, practiced a few 
 years in Newton and for many years near Baxter. He died in Newton when 
 nearly ninety years of age.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 253 
 
 Max Miller read medicine with J. R. Gorrell and is now in Newton. Kan- 
 sas. 
 
 George Clark was J- R- Gorrell's student, also Charles Erichson, who 
 located in Des Moines, where he died. 
 
 A. B. Thornell was located in Newton in the sixties, but moved to Knox- 
 ville, where he died. 
 
 Drs. Wolf and Willey practiced in Newton about fiftv years ago. 
 
 J. Lindley read medicine with J. R. Gorrell, located and died while a 
 young man at Maringo, Iowa. 
 
 The following is a miscellaneous list of doctors who have practiced in 
 Jasper county, and who have removed to other lands or are dead. The pres- 
 ent whereabouts are given when known to the writer : 
 
 C. C. Graham, of Baxter, now located at Des Moines, traveling salesman 
 for antitoxin. 
 
 H. C. Potter, formerly of Prairie City, is now located in Des Moines. 
 
 J. W. Beck, of Kellogg, moved to Des Moines, where he served several 
 terms as coroner, and where he died. 
 
 S. F. Miller, once located at Colfax, Prairie City and Baxter, died at 
 Baxter. 
 
 H. C. Eschbaugh was located in Monroe and moved to Albia, where he 
 has a lucrative practice. 
 
 J. L. Pifer left Newton for Chicago. 
 
 W. R. Trotter, once of Newton, is now in Des Moines. 
 
 J. T. Robbins left Newton in 1897 for Des Moines, where he is still 
 located. 
 
 A. C. Simonton was in partnership with Henry E. Hunter, but is now 
 located in the far West. 
 
 C. J. Lukins read medicine w'ith Perry Engle. moved to Oskaloosa, and 
 from there to Oklahoma. 
 
 J. T. Hendershot practiced in Monroe, where he died of phthisis. 
 H. C. Finch left Lynnville and is now in Oklahoma. 
 E. H. Robb, of Newton, is now in Meenah, Wisconsin. 
 
 D. W. Smouse left ^Monroe for Des ]Moines. 
 
 Theodore Engle left Newton for State Center, where he is running a 
 large sanitarium. 
 
 J. C. McNutt left Reasoner and his residence is unknown. 
 
 W. W. Goodrich, once in Ira. this county, is now on the Pacific coast, 
 engaged in other business.
 
 254 JASPKR COL'XTV, IOWA. 
 
 A. Moxley. of Kellogg, removed to parts unknown. 
 
 W. H. E. Booth, of Newton, is now practicing in Lebanon, Oregon. 
 
 E. M. French died in Newton. 
 
 A. W. Adair, who practiced in Kellogg for more than forty years, moved 
 to Des Moines, where he died. 
 
 E. H. Mershon practiced in Newton and vicinity for forty years and 
 died in Newton. 
 
 J. R. Smith was a successful practitioner of Kellogg, where he died. 
 
 J. B. Coor, of Monroe, removed and residence is not known. 
 
 E. M. Holland, of Colfax, died in that city. 
 
 E. D. Allen, of JNIonroe. died there. 
 
 J. R. Ryan, of Colfax, served humanity there more than forty years and 
 moved to Des Moines, where he followed his profession ten years and died of 
 cancer of the stomach. 
 
 George Franzee. of Greencastle, this county, moved to Shelby county, 
 where he died. 
 
 J. G. Bidwell and \\'. T. Geary, of Prairie City, removed to parts un- 
 known to the writer. 
 
 Joseph Cowgill read medicine with Perry Engle and practiced medicine 
 in Newton and is now located in Colorado Springs, Colorado. 
 
 Bailev Thomas was a son of Prof. Thomas, founder of Hazel Dell 
 Academy. Newton, and read medicine with Perry Engle, and is now a leading 
 physician at Carthage, Missouri. 
 
 Frank Hunter also read with Perry Engle. located and died at Newton. 
 
 Howard Gray left Newton, and is now located in Des IMoines. 
 
 E. E. Lusk left Newton, but his residence is unknown. 
 
 O. N. Jones left Colfax and. we believe, is decea.sed. 
 
 J. W. Martain. of Colfax, left, but we know not of his residence. 
 
 Harlan Wells was as.sociated with ]. R. Gorrell for a year and then moved 
 to Wisconsin. 
 
 John Thomas Hendershot was Iwrn in Greene county, Pennsylvania, 
 December 2, 1842; he died in Monroe. April 5, 1903. of consumption. He 
 came to Monroe from Otley in 1883; in 1877 he married Lucy A. Dunn, 
 who. with one son. survives him. 
 
 W. F. Stouder was born in Ohio July 12, 1850; came to Newton from 
 Des jNToines and died November 9, 1908. He was the Socialist candidate for 
 Congress from Des Moines, and polled a large vote. 
 
 T'Vank Carpenter has moved from Sully to Pella. Towa, recently.
 
 JASPER COUXTV. IOWA. 25 ^ 
 
 PRESENT PRACTICIXG PHYSICIANS. 
 
 At Newton— J. R. Gorrell, Perry Engle. Harry P. Engle. E. F. Besser, 
 Charles E. Boyd. M. R. Hammer. C. C. Smead. H. Y. Bvers. T. C. Hill, L. O. 
 Rodgers. \L R. Harding. H. F. Landis. 
 
 At Colfax — A. B. S. Turner, L. E. C. Turner, Florence lirown Sherbon. 
 John Bayard Sherl)on. F. E. Boyd. J. C. Corselius, William W. Hawk. Nunia 
 T. ^^'eston. Royal Anspach. Frank AW Stewart. 
 
 At Lynnville — C. E. Quire. Austin R. Quire. 
 
 At Baxter— Paul Keoper, C. C. Graham. Herl)ert W. Canfield. 
 
 At Prairie City — J. F. Harp. AW D. McCannaughey, J. X. Porter. W. 
 B. Chase. 
 
 At Monroe — W. H. Shaw. J. L. Taylor. G. W. Loar. C. J. Aplin. James 
 A. Shrader. G. L. Smith. J. L. Taylor. Daniel W. Wheelwright. 
 
 At Sully— O. O. Carpenter, j. C. Smith. 
 
 At Mingo — DL C. Gamer. 
 
 At Kellogg— B. Eiesman. J. F. Hackett. Dr. Woods. 
 
 At Vandalia — A. M. Xorris. 
 
 At Reasoner — Frank Carpenter 
 
 COUNTY MEDICAL SOCIETIES. 
 
 Jasper covmty's first medical society was organized in May. 1858. 
 Doctor Hunter was elected chairman and Doctor Hunter. Jr.. secretary. 
 Drs. Harris and Gray were selected to frame a constitution and by-laws. Drs. 
 Dinwiddie and Hunter. Jr.. were to draw up a fee bill. The society com- 
 pleted its organization May 24. 1858, and it had five members. Dr. E. H. 
 Mershon was called the ''odd man." This society was short-lived, and Jasper 
 county had no medical society until June. 1874. when another was organized 
 with the following officers: J. W. Shooley. of Monroe, president: J. W. 
 Adams, of Prairie City, vice-president: B. M. Failor. of Xewton, secretary; 
 J. R. Gorrell. of X'^ewton. as treasurer: H. E. Hunter, of X>wton. I. A. 
 Hammer, of Colfax. W. H. Shaw, of Monroe, censors. 
 
 The present society is composed of twenty-five members and the follow- 
 ing are its officers: Harry Perry Engle. president; L. E. C. Turner, vice- 
 president: Frank E. Boyd, secretary: Perr>' Engle. C. C. Boyd and John 
 Sherbon. censors.
 
 CHAPTER XVII. 
 
 BANKS AND BANKING OF THE COUNTY. 
 
 Banking, while not the first business demanded in any given community, 
 is, after the settlement has advanced a few years, a very important adjunct 
 to civilization and commerce. The pioneer had but little if indeed any money 
 to deposit, and he had. as a general rule, but little property to put up as se- 
 curity for money should he want to borrow, hence the bankers did not appear 
 on the scenes of pioneer life very early, and then only in a very small way 
 did they profess to carry on banking business, as it is now understood. 
 Today, the farmer is as much of a bank depositor and is engaged in large trans- 
 actions in stock and realty, by which he needs the assistance of a bank, 
 fully as much as the business men of city and town. The citizens of 
 Jasper county, who came in early and remained here, or their children and 
 grandchildren who came after them, have, by reason of decades of hard 
 work in tilling the fertile soil, and by the advance in land values, become 
 wealthy and prosperous. They ride in carriages and automobiles ; they 
 use the modern phone and rural mail service and have to do with the great 
 busy world about them to a large degree, hence they have come to need the 
 banker. Once the bank only loaned short time loans to the farmer, to 
 tide him over a pinched period, till he could thresh or sell his stock, but 
 now the farmer has a plenty and to spare, hence deposits, loans to others 
 and takes certificates of deix)sits, running six and twelve months in many 
 cases. 
 
 PROSPEROUS TIMES OF THE FIFTIES. 
 
 From 1852 on for a number of years— until the crash of 1857 — the 
 West was in a prosperous condition, financially, at least for those days in 
 the history of our country. Immigrants by the tens of thousands had 
 found their way across the ^Mississippi river, in quest of new homes on 
 the rich prairies of Iowa. Times were flourishing in the Eastern states, 
 and many well-to-do farmers there, having tired of stony, stumpy fields, 
 sold, and with the cash received, ventured out into this section of the 
 West. Usually they had sold their farms in the East for one-third down, 
 and agreed to wait for the other two-thirds a term of years. Country towns 
 Indian agent Reach of Fort Des Moines, who notified the Indians that un- 
 in Indiana and Illinois reaped a liar\est from the lengthy trains of teams
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 257 
 
 Avith covered wagons, known as "prairie schooners." which crossed the great 
 river over into the land "beautiful." of which they had heard so much. 
 
 No sooner had these pioneers made a selection of land and erected 
 a claim cabin on the same, than it was up to them to purchase machinery, 
 cattle, swine and horses with which to stock and improve their newly bought 
 places. This took much mone>-. Grain had to come from the farmer al- 
 ready in advance of him; plows with which to turn over the virgin soil 
 had to come from the maker and dealer in such implements; lumber had 
 to be sawed from native forests, and this cost money. But fortunately, 
 many received money on deferred payments on farms once owned in some 
 one of older Eastern states, v^^hich came due and followed on here to Jasper 
 county in 1855 and 1856, hence everybody seemed for the time to be "well 
 off." As is ever the case when money is plenty, speculation goes ranijjant 
 and men get in the habit of indulging in luxuries not thought of in more 
 stringent times. It was then towns were laid out and schools and colleges 
 founded. But with these times came the higher rate of interest, and finally 
 it was no uncommon thing to ask and receive twenty-five per cent, per an- 
 num for the use of cash with which to go into some wild-cat scheme — a 
 paper townsite, a milling project or a college. But really, the more fortu- 
 nate of all was the stout man whose good, paid-for team would bring hmi 
 in three dollars a day at breaking prairie, or hauling freight from the market 
 places. Again, another would pay for a threshing machine in one year's 
 threshing season and be ready for the next year all out of debt. But ten 
 years later, the man who owned a machine was the most unfortunate man 
 man in the county, for sometimes they lost their all l)y purchasing a high- 
 priced machine and then trying to thresh in a season when grain did not 
 yield. 
 
 So gav and glorious did things look to the newcomer that he went 
 wild over speculation. Frequently, he could make a hundred per cent, in 
 one week on a single transaction, such as buying a corner town lot and 
 selling it before Saturday night came around at twice what he had given. 
 Labor did not make the first fortunes in Iowa and Jasper county, but specu- 
 lation was at the back of those early-day fortunes. 
 
 SPECIE PAYMENT IN THE COUNTY. 
 
 The first specie payment in Jasper county was unquestionably in the 
 autumn of 1844. when forty thousand dollars was sent in silver coin to 
 less thev called for it immediately he would ha\e to send it back, as he 
 feared robberv. He meant to send this money due the tribe back to Agency 
 
 (17)
 
 258 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 City. The untutored savages looked as earnestly for pay day as does the 
 workman of today for his pay day to come. They frequently held a council 
 for a month before time to be able to not make any errors or to give any 
 chance for the money to be sent back to Washington. In one instance a 
 forty-thousand-dollar lot of money was guarded day and night at the cabin 
 home of the first settler, Adam Tool, who, it will be remembered, kept a 
 sort of an inn at Tool's Point, near ]\Ionroe of today. The si)ecie arrived 
 at the forks of the river, but the Indians, as usual, were not yet ready to 
 receive it. as they had gotten into a dispute over whether it should be paid 
 to the heads of the families, to the chiefs or to the traders from whom 
 goods had l>een purchased. After a da}- or two parleying about the mat- 
 ter, Beach was as good as his word and started the silver back to Agency 
 City, and again stopped over night at Tool's tavern. The Indians feared 
 they might miss the cash entirely if they did not quickly decide, so they 
 notified Beach to have the money turned over to the trader at once, who 
 took out what was coming to him and allowed the balance to be retained 
 by the Indians, so that in all this mix up. the forty thousand dollars laid 
 several nights at Tool's place. 
 
 This was probably the first large amount of money kept at any one 
 place within Jasper county, either for public or pri^•ate use. 
 
 THE PANIC OF 1 857. 
 
 Nearly every one is familiar with the facts, in general, about the great 
 crash of 1857, which almost wrecked the entire country financially. But 
 perhaps not all know of some of the local happenings in this county, in 
 common with other points in Iowa. 
 
 It was in the month of August, 1857. when the Ohio Life and Trust 
 Company, a corporation doing business as bankers and life insurance ac- 
 tivities, produced a panic on Wall street. New York City. A score of banks 
 suspended payment, and a couple of weeks later bank failures became com- 
 mon from Maine to the South and West. So inflated had been the financial 
 condition of the countiy that speculators had been allowed to check on banks 
 and give security only on lands yet undiscovered beyond the waters of the 
 Missouri river, in what is now Nebraska and Kansas. When this crash 
 came, gold and silver (as is ever the case) hid itself away, and soon 
 followed the choicest of bank bills of Massachusetts, New York and Ohio, 
 leaving nothing but the "wild-cat" bills, "red dog" money, etc.. of the West- 
 ern states whose banking systems had not l>een noted for their regularity
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 259 
 
 la payment at par. Then came the tumble of prices in land, town property. 
 Jive stock and general merchandise. It is said that upon an average these 
 commodities fell fully fifty per cent. 
 
 The farmer could not, and did not, pay his taxes and in many cases 
 lost his land, the same having been sold for taxes. The sheriff of Jasijer 
 county was the biggest real estate dealer here. He had good, but unpleas- 
 ant, deals on hand every day in the week and every month in those never- 
 to-be-forgotten years, remembered best by the fathers and grandfathers 
 of those now owning and occupying the lands of Jasper countv. Those 
 were the harvest days for those who had kept their cash well in hand and 
 had the money at the right time, to bid on tax titles. 
 
 The limit of time for redemption was short then as compared with the 
 three year limit of today. So bad was the case in Iowa, that the Legisla- 
 ture had to step in and relieve actual settlers from execution, by extending 
 the day of redemption on taxes unpaid by land owners. 
 
 The granaries of Jasper county were indeed full to the overflowing. 
 The fertile soil had kept on producing well and the amount of wheat, oats 
 and corn in crib and granary was something wonderful to behold. Good 
 horses stood in the stables and sheds, fat steers and hogs in their wonted 
 places, but there was no cash to be seen or had "for love or high interest.'' 
 as one pioneer put it. The storekeeper would take such commodities in 
 exchange for his wares — at his own price, howe\er. For many weary, 
 anxious months the transactions were all accomplished on this barter plan. 
 Xotes were given for so many bushels of wheat or corn, or again for so 
 many pounds of pork. When a farmer wanted a sled or wagon, new or 
 repaired, he first had to consult the mechanic or dealer as to what sort of 
 "truck" he ^\■ould take and how much he would allow for the same, for such 
 and such articles, or work to l>e performed. 
 
 Yes. indeed, Jasper county suffered immensely rluring the [)anic — more 
 so than at any other time during its entire history. But little land in this 
 county escaped the sale for taxation. During the ill-fated winter of 1837-8. 
 it is related for a fact, that a load of wheat on the street in Xewton could 
 not be exchanged for a pound of coffee. Muscatine and Keokuk (too far 
 to be reached by many) were the only market points where this article 
 could be exchanged for anything of much real value to the producer. This 
 state of affairs kept on until the breaking out of the great civil conflict. 1861. 
 It is true that during 1858-9 — the rush days to Pike's Peak — the farmers 
 had a breathing spell while the long caravans of gold seekers were passing 
 through this county en route to the far off west. They left some good money
 
 26o JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 with tlie farmers for the proxisions they needed. Then came the Mormon 
 exodus, which left a Httle more ready cash on which to tide this county 
 over. 
 
 As late as 1861 exchange on X^ew York in Xewton ruled at thirty per 
 
 XKW ton's banks. 
 
 The L. 1). Clark Banking House, of Xewton. was estal>lished in 1866, 
 by L. D. Clark. It is a private banking concern with no specified capital. 
 The owner is L. D. Clark and the officers are Jay Clark, manager, and 
 D. L. Clark, cashier. Its building was erected in 1867. It stands well 
 among the reliable banks of Jasper county. 
 
 The Jasper County Savings Bank was organized in 1869, by Gen, 
 James Wilson and Albert Lufkin with a capital of $20,000. It now has 
 a paid up capital of $100,000, with officers as follows: J. JM. Woodrow, 
 president; F. M. Woodrow, vice-president; A. E. Hindorff. cashier. The 
 bank building was erected in 1892, in which the extensive business is carried 
 on at this date. 
 
 When first established this banking concern was known as the Jasper 
 County Bank, but since Februar}- i, 1908, it has operated under a charter 
 as a savings institution, under the same officers and management. This 
 bank does a large business and has the full confidence of all within this 
 section of the state. The management has always been conservative and 
 at all times honorable in its transactions. 
 
 The Citizens State Bank was organized in 1896, with a capital of 
 $60,000, which is also its present capital. Jt was at first formed and known 
 as the Farmers and Alerchants State Bank, but its name was changed to 
 the Citizens State Bank in 1905. 
 
 The first set of officers were as follows : F. R. \\'itnier. president ; 
 O. H. \\'itmer, cashier. At this date its officers are: Joe Horn, president; 
 Charles Seeberger, vice-president : Lee E. Brown, cashier. The February, 
 191 1, statement published for this banking house, shows the deposits to 
 have been at that date, $305,334.38 : total liabilities, $377,543.46 ; undivided 
 profits, $9,000. In the list of directors a])pear the names of Joe Horn, 
 C. F. Morgan and F. A. ]\IcMurray. The Citizens Bank of X^ewton has 
 for the last six or seven years publislied and distrilmted free to its i:)atrons 
 or others desiring it a small eight-page, dduble-cohinm ])a])er containing nianv 
 valuable and higlily interesting items concerning banking, as well as general 
 literary items. It is a neat folder, printed in modern st}le and is looked
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 261 
 
 for with the return of each month 1)\- hnndreds of ])ersons who ha\e read 
 it a number of \ears. 
 
 The First National Bank of Xewton was organized in 1882 and was 
 the first national hank chartered in jasper county. It first officers were V. 
 T. Campbell, president ; C. Griebling. vice-president : C. Glenaker, cashier. 
 The present officers are: W. C. Bergman, president: l\. B. Alfree and C. 
 Slonaker, vice-presidents: R. L. Arn<jld. cashier. 
 
 The present surplus and profits are $105,000. The bank was erected 
 in 1886 and is «mi the northwest corner of the courthouse square. This 
 banking house is the only government depository in Jasi)er county. 
 
 The Xewton Savings Bank was organized in 1890, with J. H. Lyday, 
 president: Charles Jasper, vice-president: C. Slonaker. cashier. This is 
 run in connection with tlie hirst X^ational. a1)o\e mentioned, and its i)resent 
 officers are one and the same. The combined resources of the two banks 
 were, in May, 191 1. $700,000. The combined deposits of both banks was 
 at the date last named $500,000. The surplus and undivided profits are. w hen 
 combined. $122,000. The X'ewton Sa\ings Bank was also the first to be 
 incorporated in Jasper county. 
 
 These two banks have the share of business they justly merit in Jasper 
 countv and surrounding vicinity. They have the confidence of the entire 
 communitv. as safe, conservati\e bankers and business men. 
 
 BAN KING AT MONROE. 
 
 The Monroe Savings Bank, of this county, which was organized after 
 the Civil war, finally became known as the Bank of Monroe. In 1875 this bank 
 was converted into the First X^ational Bank of Monroe, with Tunis Schenck, 
 president: W. H. Chipps. vice-president: R. C. Anderson, cashier; T. Chad- 
 wick, assistant cashier: William White. James H. Loundsbury, Manly 
 Giflford, George J. Dix. directors. Finding the business not remunerative, 
 it surrendered its charter January i. 1878, and at once re-organized its 
 capital into the State Bank, with a paid up capital of $55,000 and it had the 
 same set of officers. 
 
 It was conducted in the last named manner until August 10. 1904. 
 when it was organized into the First National Bank, with a capital of 
 $25,000. the same which it still operates with. Its first officers were: A. J. 
 Porter, president: J. P. Johnson, vice-president: C. T. Schenck. cashier. 
 A bank building was erected on the west side of the square in 1906. The 
 present officers are: .\. J. Porter, president: Fred \\'hitehead. vice-president:
 
 262 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 F. B. Kingdon, cashier; F. D. Chipps, assistant cashier. The last state- 
 ment shows this bank had deposits amounting to $157,000 and loans out 
 amounting to $126,000. 
 
 In connection with this national bank is the Monroe Savings Bank, 
 organized at the same date as the national. Its capital was, and is still. 
 $10,000. The present officers are: J. W. LeGrand, president: George 
 Lackey, vice-president; F. B. Kingdon. cashier. Deposits, $120,000; loans, 
 Si 12.000. 
 
 The State Savings Bank of Monroe was organized January 30, 1893, 
 with a capital of $17,000. which has been increased to $25,000 since 1908. 
 The first officers of this banking house were: W. H. Shaw, president; T. P. 
 Burchinal, vice-president; Josiah Fisher, cashier; T. P. Burchinal. assistant 
 cashier. The officers in the spring of 191 1 are: W. H. Shaw, president; 
 T. P. Burchinal. vice-president: W. M. Livingston, cashier: O. W. Burchinal, 
 assistant cashier; the last named, with W. O. Tice, G. W. Loar and E. W. 
 Henry are the directors. The present capital stock and surplus amounts to 
 $33,000. The l)ank building now used was built in 1898. at a cost of about 
 $8,000. 
 
 BANKING AT REASONER. 
 
 The Reasoner Savings Bank was organized June 2. 1900, as a private 
 banking house, with a capital of $10,000. Its president and proprietor 
 was Josiah Fisher. In 1905 the bank was incorporated as a State Savings 
 Bank, carrying the same cash capital as when it was established as a private 
 concern. The first officers of the incorporated banking house were : H. B. 
 Allfree. president: B. B. Trout. \ice-presi(lent : W. A. ^\'illianlson. cashier; 
 C. C. Warring, assistant cashier. The a1)ove. with Riley Lust, are the Ijank's 
 directors. 
 
 This town being within one of the best stock shipping sections in Jasper 
 county, the banking business is good and has been considered one of the 
 safest of financial institutions, having the confidence of the entire community. 
 
 In the start the bank was kept in the Edwards store building, but 
 in 1907 a substantial brick structure was built for banking purposes exclu- 
 sively. 
 
 BANKS OF PRAIRIE CITY. 
 
 As might be expected in such an enterprising place as Prairie Citv. 
 situated as it is in the heart of one of the finest farming sections in all 
 Iowa, banking flourishes there. The historv of the banks is as follows :
 
 JASI'ER COUNTY, IOWA. 263 
 
 In 1876 a private banking house was established by L. E. Zachary, 
 who had a capital of $25,000. He erected a handsome brick banking house, 
 and continued as a private bank until May. J 893. when it l)ecame the 
 First National Bank, with the same capital stock. Under the new l>ank, 
 the first president was J. D. Whisenand, who is still at the head of the bank; 
 the vice-presidents are B. F. Moore and J. G. Olmsted; cashier. Hugh (j. 
 Little; the additional directors are J- H. Little, A. A. Arnold and E. A. 
 Nye. ^Ir. Little has served as cashier since 1909. when he succeeded W. D. 
 Scott, who had succeeded Fred L. Risser. 
 
 The March. 191 1, statement makes a good showing for the bank, as 
 is to be seen by the following items: Loans, $264,543; United States bonds 
 (five per cent), $13,125; cash and due from banks, $49,532, as resources. 
 The liabilities include: $25,000 capital stock; surplus and profits, $10,276; 
 circulation, $12,500; deposits, $281,924. This gives a total of $329,701, 
 liabilities and resources, including the real estate holdings. 
 
 The Prairie City State Bank was organized December 2, 1889, with the 
 same capital it now runs under, $25,000. The officers were: Dr. S. V. 
 Duncan, president; John Ryan, vice-president; B. W. Brown, cashier. This 
 banking house has always been conducted in a safe, conservative manner, 
 hence has always had the good will and confidence of the community. Its 
 officers in the spring of 191 1 are: T. E. Johns, president; A. G. Warner, 
 vice-president; John Ryan, vice-president; John R. Buckley, cashier, and 
 Estell Porter, assistant cashier. Its late statements show that the amount 
 of deposits was $250,056, and its total liabilities were, on March 7, 191 i. 
 $282,237. 
 
 BANKING AT NEWBURG. 
 
 Being within one of the richest portions of Jasper county, it is not to 
 be wondered at that pioneer John Borroughs saw fit to organize the present 
 Savings Bank of Newburg. in the month of October. 1908. Its first and 
 present capital is Sio.ooo. Its first officers were John Borroughs (now 
 deceased) ; P. Y. Fuller, vice-president, and A. K. Murphy, cashier. The 
 brick bank building was erected as the home of the institution in October 
 of the year in which the bank was organized. 
 
 The present officers are : John Newcomer, president ; P. Y. Fuller, 
 vice-president: A. K. Murphy, cashier. The stockholders were originally 
 about fortv-two, manv of whom were fanners in the northeast part of 
 this countv. The last statement shows deposits amounting to about $50,000. 
 The bank has among items in its last statement, loans to the amount of
 
 264 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 $45,000. The itistitution is in the hands of safe, conservative men, inckid- 
 mg that excellent business man of many years" commercial training. A. K. 
 Murphy, the efficient cashier. 
 
 MIXGO BANKING INTERESTS. 
 
 The Ming;!) Trust and Savings Bank was established in 1894 and incor- 
 porated in 1904. Its founder and president was F. R. Witmer. who started 
 with a capital of S3.000. The present officers are: F. R. Witmer, president: 
 W. J- Gannon, vice-president : A. W. Frey. cashier. The ])resent capital 
 is Si 5.000: deposits about $70,000: loans about $70,000. Ilie neat brick- 
 bank building was constructed in 1905. 
 
 BANKING AT LYNNVILLE. 
 
 Macy Brothers Exchange Bank of Lynnville was established in 1891, 
 by Macy Brothers (E. B. and C. O. Alacy), who started on a capital of 
 $5,000. The present officers are : C. O. Macy. president : E. B. Macy. 
 cashier: E. M. Carey, assistant cashier. The present capital is $10,000. 
 with a surplus of $2,000. The bank building was erected in 1900. Prior 
 to this banking house. Johnson Brothers operated a private bank at Lynn- 
 ville a number of years. 
 
 BANKING AT B.VXTER. 
 
 What is now known as the State Savings Bank of Baxter was originally 
 established and known as the City Bank of Baxter, the date of its establish- 
 ment being 1894. George D. and Alexander Wood established the City 
 Bank, were the president and vice-president respectively, and the cashier 
 was R. L. Arnold. 
 
 The State Savings Bank was formed and incorporated in 1902 and it 
 then took over the business of the old City Bank and in 1906 it also took over 
 the banking interests of the Farmers State Bank of Baxter. 
 
 The present officers are: Fred Hager. president: 11. .\. Geise. vice- 
 president : Charles Burdick, cashier. 
 
 The capital is now $30,000. with a surplus and undi\ide(l profits of 
 $12,000. The building was erected in 1895. 
 
 At this date the directors are : Fred Hager, H. S. Downs, Charles 
 Sanderman, A. C. Meyer. George T. Hager. TI. A. Geise. Henry Krampe.
 
 JASPER COrXTV. IOWA. 265 
 
 The showini^- made in the fall of k^io was. loans. $288,000. and (le])<)sit.s 
 amounting to $3i7/)79. 
 
 There were at that date about fifty stockholders. 
 
 The People's State Bank was organized in 1906, by L. 1*:. l-'owk-r. with 
 a capital of $15,000. A handsome bank building was erected the same year 
 of the bank's organi/:ation. The present officers re: A. D. Berry, presi- 
 dent: L. R. Fowler, cashier. The present capital is $15,000: surplus and 
 profits. $2,400. This banking house, although new, is gaining a good repu- 
 tation and a good grade of business. 
 
 BANKING AT IRA. 
 
 At the village of Tra. this county, the Farmers' Savings Bank was estab- 
 lished in 1904 by the citizens of Tra and vicinity, with a capital of $10,000. Its 
 first officers were: B. F. Baker, president: W. F. Rippey. vice-president: C. S. 
 Weston, cashier. The officers in 191 i are: B. F. Baker, president: TIenrv 
 Miller, vice-president: \\'. I. Price, cashier. Their recent statement shows 
 loans amounting to $62,000: deposits $60,000: net earnings $800. 
 
 KAXKINC, AT KF.IJ.OC.O. 
 
 At the enterprising town of Kellogg, banking was first established bv 
 J. B. Burton — a private banking house — in 1881. This continued to serve 
 all demands in the community until 1900, when it became organized into 
 a state bank under the name of the Burton & Company State Bank. Its 
 present capital is $80,000. The present officers are: J. 1]. Burton, presi- 
 dent; C. J- Irish, cashier: R. C. Burton, assistant cashier. 
 
 In September, 1908, the whole scpiare upon which stood the bank was 
 destroyed by a sweeping fire and the bank was destroyed. Then the same 
 year (1908) the present bank was built. It is a fine structure on the main 
 street. 
 
 The last statement of this bank shows they had deposits amounting to 
 $225,764.15, while its undivided profits, etc., amounted to $6,871.60. 
 
 COLFAX P.AXKTXG. 
 
 The Citizens State Bank of Colfax was established in iS(/). It was the 
 successor to a private banking concern called the Citizens Bank. The present 
 bank was established bv "M. B. W'heelock and S. d. Ruby, with a paid up
 
 206 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 capital of $35,000, which, with the surphis funds, now amounts to $50,000. 
 The first officers were: S. G. Ruby, president; W. M. Croft, vice-president; 
 M. B. Wheelock, cashier. The present officials are: C. W. Crissman, presi- 
 dent; S. B. Wheelock. vice-president; M. B. Wheelock, cashier. The present 
 deposits amount to about $300,000, with loans amounting to $275,cxx). The 
 bank has always had a good growth and is now in a flourishing condition. 
 Suavity of manner on the part of the officers of this bank is a marked feature 
 of their dealing with customers. 
 
 After the failure of the Bank of Colfax (which is treated elsewhere in 
 this chapter), w^hich closed its doors and passed into the hands of a recei\er 
 appointed by the district court, the building in which that defunct institution 
 had been kept was sold by the receiver at public auction, and purchased by P. 
 E. Johannsen for about $13,000, and he at once established the People's 
 Loan & Trust Company, .\bout the same date Des Moines capitalists came 
 to Colfax and established the First National Bank and the two new concerns 
 run for several years, after which they sold to the People's Loan & Trust 
 Company, the two banks becoming one. This continued until the Johannsen 
 interests were sold to the present owners of the First National Bank. 
 
 In 1904 R. A. Craw-ford and W. W. Lyons, of Des Moines, established 
 the First National Bank. The first officers were W. \V. Lyons, president ; 
 E. E. Dotson. vice-president; A. S. Marcjuis, cashier. The present officers 
 are : F. E. Boyd, president ; R. D. Atchison, cashier ; R. E. Cummings, assist- 
 ant cashier. The capital has always been $25,000. The present deposits are 
 $115,000, with loans amounting to $85,000. The building in which the bank 
 is kept was erected in 1881. 
 
 This bank has the confidence of the citizens of Colfax and the new men 
 at the head of the concern are loyal and true to every interest of their newly 
 adopted city. 
 
 BANK FAILURES. 
 
 What was known as the Bank of Newton failed in 1884. ^t was a 
 private concern and its cashier was J. G. Cotton, who dealt on the Board of 
 Trade in Chicago and went under for fifty thousand dollars. Much might 
 be added to the history of this transaction, l)ut it may be best to let the 
 "dead bury tlie dead" and keep silent. Suffice to say. that the guilty one paid 
 the j)enally for his wrong doing. I hit the (lei)()sitors ne\er received the funds 
 he had squandered in speculation. 
 
 Other bank failures have been at Baxter, Lynnville and Colfax. Of the 
 Colfax failure let it be said that the Bank of Colfax was a copartnership
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 267 
 
 banking house, doing business at the city of Colfax. Its cashier and gen- 
 eral manager was one of the two who formed the copartnership, the other 
 member being an uncle of the cashier. The cashier was named George D. 
 Wood, a fine looking, brainy, business man, in whom his uncle and all patrons 
 of the bank had the utmost confidence. But in an unguarded moment he 
 thought he saw a short cut — a "get-rich-(juick" plan — and dealt in options on 
 the Chicago Board of Trade, which concern has ruined so many hundreds of 
 good business men. He turned out to be a "plunger" — he invested in any- 
 thing and everything from stocks of goods to live stock speculations and 
 finally the grain pit. The capital was sui)posed to be about $75,000. He was 
 badly involved in December, 1903, and on the 4th day of that month he" 
 deliberately shot himself through the temple, ending his life instantly. There 
 were over eleven hundred creditors to his bank, and these included bankers 
 in the chief cities and towns in Iowa; widows and orphans in estate forms, 
 and merchants. The total of all claims against the bank was, in round figures, 
 $624,000, while the receiver, W. O. McElroy, of Newton (appointed by 
 Judge Preston), after three years and two months' hard, faithful .service, 
 including carrying three cases through the supreme court, was only able to 
 pay out $235,000, or about thirty-nine and sixty-five hundredths cents on a 
 dollar of the claims in question. The largest claim was over a hundred thou- 
 sand dollars. Banks at Marshalltown, Des Moines, Council Bluffs, Daven- 
 port, Washington, etc., all got fleeced, as well as one bank at Colfax, which 
 suffered many thousand dollars of loss. In fact the business interests of the 
 city of Colfax suffered for a number of years, before full confidence in money 
 institutions could be restored — people were all afraid of banks and bankers 
 for a long time after this failure and sudden tragic ending oi their esteemed 
 fellow townsman. ]^Ir. Wood. 
 
 LIST OF JASPER COUNTY BANKS. 
 
 As shown in the Iowa Bank Directory for January. 191 i. the following 
 is concerning Jasper county banking interests : 
 
 Place. Xame. Organized. Capital. 
 
 Baxter — People's State Bank 1906 $15,000 
 
 Baxter — State Savings Bank 1894 30.000 
 
 Colfax — Citizens' State Bank 1893 35.000 
 
 Colfax — First National Bank 1904 25,000 
 
 Ira — Farmers' Savings Bank 1904 10,000
 
 268 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Kellogg — Burton <S; Co. State Bank 1881 
 
 Lvnnville — Macy Bros." Exchange Bank 1889 
 
 Mingo — Mingo Trust & Savings Bank 1894 
 
 Monroe — Monroe National Bank 1870 
 
 Monroe — Monroe Savings Bank 1904 
 
 Monroe — Monroe State Savings Bank 1893 
 
 Xewburg — Newburg Savings Bank 1908 
 
 Xewton — First National Bank 1882 
 
 Xew ton— Citizens' State Bank 1905 
 
 Xewton — Xewton Savings Bank 1890 
 
 Xewton — Jasper County Savings Bank 1869 
 
 Xewton — Bank of L. D. Clark 1866 
 
 Prairie City — Prairie City State Bank 1890 
 
 Prairie City — First Xational Bank 1893 
 
 Reasoner — Reasoner Savings Bank 1900 
 
 Sully— Bank of Sully 1889 
 
 Total capital of all banks, aside from the L. D. Clark 
 
 private banking" house 
 
 The total surplus and profits amounts to 
 
 80.000 
 10 000 
 15,000 
 25.000 
 10.000 
 25.000 
 10,000 
 65,000 
 60.000 
 15.000 
 1 00.000 
 
 25,000 
 
 25.000 
 
 10,000 
 
 7.500 
 
 $597'50« 
 i82.s6o
 
 NORTH SIDE SQUARE. NEWTON. IN 1861 
 
 NORTH SIDE SQUARE, LATER
 
 CHAPTER XVIII. 
 
 THE CITY OF NEWTON. 
 
 Newton, the seat of justice for Jasper county, now has a population 
 (according to the latest census) of 4.616 people, has a fine public librarv, ten 
 churches, a $200,223 court house, paved streets, four excellent hanking in- 
 stitutions, three railways, twenty-five bus\- factories, employing upwards of 
 fi\e hundred persons constantly, the best municipal electric lighting plant in 
 any town in Iowa of its size, a fine water plant and a water supply showing 
 ninety-eight per cent, purity, with nine miles and more of water mains, seven 
 or eight miles of sewer, and coal mines in three directions from the city. Its 
 population has increased more than twenty-five per cent, in the last decade. 
 
 BEGINNING OF THE CITY. 
 
 Xewton was located as the county seat by the locating commissioners 
 named in the act of the Legislature creating the county, and these men were 
 sworn before Justice of the Peace Ballinger Aydellotte. 2^Iay 11, 1846, to 
 ''take into account the future as well as the present population of the county." 
 The report of this commission will be found in the general chapters of this 
 work. 
 
 It may not be without some interest to know what town lots sold iov in 
 Xewton in 1846, hence the subjoined account of same will be given. This is 
 from a record of lots sold in the newly platted town of "X'ewton City," as 
 Xewton was at first called: John R. Sparks, lot i. block 20, $^7: John 
 Wilson, lot 3, block 20. $20: Joab Bennett, lot 4, block 21, $20: John X". 
 Kinsman, lot 2. block 21. $14: C. X. Hamlin, lot 4, block 15, $20; William 
 Hanshaw. lot 3. block 15. $27: T. J. Adamson. lot 4, block 22, $10.50; T. J. 
 Adamson, lot 5. block 14. S7 : Xathan Williams, lot 5. block 9, S31 : William 
 Edmundson, lot 5, "block 9, ^t,2\ :\Ianly Gifford, lot i, block 16, $31 ; .\lvin 
 Adkins. lot 7. block 16, $31; Joab Bennett, lot 8, in block 9, $26: James 
 Pearson, lot 7. block 16, $13.62: William Hanshaw, lot 6, in block 15, $20: 
 J. X. Kinsman, lot i, block 21, $8: Joab Bennett, lot 8, block 16, $25: T. J. 
 .Adamson. out-lots i. 14. 21. 23. 2^. at. respectively. $5. Sio. $31. S7 and 
 $7.25. 
 
 It will be an interesting problem for some realty man of this day to go 
 through this list of lots and com])ute their ])resent value.
 
 270 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 NEWTOX TOWN PLAT SURVEYED. 
 
 The records of Jasper county show that at a meeting of the county com- 
 missioners in June, 1846, it was ordered that the town plat of the new county 
 seat; "Xewton City," be surveyed into lots. The record of July 7th, that 
 vear, shows that orders were allowed out of "the town money," to Rdchard 
 Fisher, Thomas Henderson, Joab Bennett, J. N. Kinsman, Samuel Metz, 
 lames Edgar. Closes Lacy, T. C. Underwood and William Campbell, in all 
 amounting to eighty-one dollars, all of the persons named having taken 
 some i)art in the survey of the new town and county seat. 
 
 The survey of the original plat was executed by Silas Sawyer, who, the 
 books show, was allowed sixty-seven dollars and fifty cents for such services 
 and that his work was performed about June 25, 1846. There were twenty- 
 nine blocks, of eight lots each, and twenty-nine out-lots. The streets from 
 north to south were South. Marion, IMain, McDonald. A\'ashington and 
 X<irth. and those from west to east were Farmer, Mechanic, Olive, Spring, 
 Market. Vine and Race. The location was describetl as being the "northwest 
 of section 34, township 80, range 19." 
 
 The first building erected on the plat was early in the autumn of i84r>, 
 by John X. Kinsman, on lots t and 2, block 21. It was a log structure. 
 
 The second building was that built by Joab Bennett. This was a hewed 
 log building and its owner intended to rent it to the commissioners for a 
 county building (court house), but he was disappointed in this. A little later 
 a small store was opened by a Mr. Van Horn. 
 
 An old historic item runs thus : 'W son of William Edmundson relates 
 that in the spring of 1847, being then six years old. he accompanied his father 
 on a considerable drive across the prairie. Several miles awav he saw a 
 flag floating in the air above a building, which, according to his recollection, 
 stood solitary- and alone. Boylike, he set his question-mill going and soon 
 found from his father that the people had laid out a town called X^ewton 
 City the year before for a county seat, and that the building he saw was a 
 small store." 
 
 "Upon a virgin prairie, forest decked, 
 
 A pole was set in seeming pride erect. 
 
 Upon its ])oint the stars and stripes unfurled 
 
 Proclaimed its due importance to the world ; 
 
 And, where that starry emblem kissed the breeze, 
 
 A town was platted, — Newton, if you please." 
 
 RiNEHART.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 2/1 
 
 The residents in Xewton in 1850 were made up of about the following 
 persons, possibly a half dozen others whose names ha\e escaped the notice 
 of the earliest historian of the county : \V. M. Springer and family, hotel : 
 John H. Franklin and family, cabinetmaker and justice of the peace; Ezekiel 
 Shipley and family, carpenter: Willis Green and family, farmers; P. M. 
 Wood and family, plasterer; Jesse Rickman and family, postmaster and 
 clerk of the county board of commissioners; James Edgar and familv, black- 
 smith; Calel) Lam]) and family, carpenter; L. L. D. Kennedy and Jesse R. 
 Kennedy, carpenters; Joseph Morgan and family, blacksmith; Job Springer, 
 clerk; James Fry and family, farmers; Re\'. Strange Brooks and familv. cir- 
 cuit preacher of the ^Methodist Episcopal denomination; John Meredith and 
 family, blacksmith; Zadock ]\[. Allen, blacksmith; Dr. D. R. Rodgers; Mrs. 
 Good and Mrs. Peter Miller and daughter; E. Hammer, teacher. 
 
 It would appear that blacksmiths were in great demand at that day, for 
 it will be obserxed that out of the first colony which located on the new town 
 site, three were knights of the forge. 
 
 The first drugs were sold in way of patent medicines kept bv John H. 
 Franklip in his furniture and undertaking establishment. It was he who had 
 for "free distribution" a lot of Dr. Jayne's Almanacs, on the back cover of 
 which was printed the ad\-ertisement of ''John H. Franklin, corner of Farmer 
 and South streets, Xewton. Iowa, cabinetmaker and undertaker and dealer in 
 patent medicines.'' 
 
 The first school was taught by Elisha Hammer in the old court house, 
 and spelling schools were frequent and interesting. 
 
 The early hotel was the Ault House and later, after, additions had been 
 made thereto, it was styled the Tammany House. ]Many a good story is 
 told of this pioneer stopping place. Some are doubtless true and many 
 anotlier one untrue, hence none will find place in this connection. Jo Thomas 
 was one of the funny oddities who lx)re the title of landlord at this hotel and 
 he it was who had a suit in court and when the judge (AIcFarland) was en- 
 tering his decision on the record, just as Thomas entered the court room, the 
 judge looked up and remarked, "Jo Thomas, by G — . I am beatin' you. You 
 don't set up enough corn at vour table. I enter judgment against you for 
 
 S and costs." Thomas conducted this house many years. It was a stage 
 
 station and manv a weary traveler was sheltered beneath its roughly made 
 walls. It was burned in 1857 and was known at that day as the Ohio House. 
 
 Of all the various industries and enterprises of which Xewton may 
 justly be proud today none are more lacking than that of hotels, there being
 
 2-2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 onlv one hotel in the city, ami there is oertainl}- room tor at least two more, 
 of reasonable rates and acceptable fare. 
 
 But to resume the story of early matters in Newton, let it be said that 
 at the close of the Civil war period ( 1866) the ])usiness of the city was in 
 the hands of the following persons, chiefly: 
 
 Xewspapers — Jasl>cr Free Prrss. Republican, b}- h'rank T. Campbell ; 
 Xcuio)i Baimrr, Democratic, by John A. ^^'ilson. 
 
 Crocers, Wholesale and Retail — John Meyer, R. Dixon, Anderson & 
 Pardoe, A'ernon Skiff. John Dixon. I. E. Webster, Bradway & Belt, Joseph 
 Rodgers. the last named a refreshment saloon. 
 
 General Merchants— J. B. O'Neal & Brother. George Wright, Sawyer & 
 Company, G. G. Lindley & Company, J. M. Blanchard. McCalmont t^ Broth- 
 ers, S. E. Zinn, Loomis & Company, Miller & Little. 
 
 Druggists — Dr. J. Green. Hammer & Company, Evans & Company. 
 
 Jewelers — C. J. Housel. Chapman & Dawson. 
 
 Hardware — Rhodes Lee. Thrift & Clippinger. \\'il]iam \'au§han. 
 
 l'\u-niture — David Vangeison, W. H. Silsby. 
 
 Dentists — C. J. Housel. W. E. Roseman. 
 
 Harness — Milton Anderson, A. J. Osborn, R. McDowell, P. Alesworth. 
 
 .\ttorneys — O. C. Howe, G. R. Shays, ^^'inslow &: Lindley, S. G. Smith, 
 R. A. Sankey. J. W. Wilson, J. W. Sennett. D. L. Clark. 
 
 Physicians — Drs. J. R. Gorrell, H. E. Hunter, E. H. Mershon. H. J. 
 Walker, A. Patton, B. M. Eailor, Jabez Green, A. T. Ault. 
 
 Hotels — Phelps House, Union Hotel, City Hotel. 
 
 Miscellaneous Dealers, etc. — Livery, Sampey & Company ; marble shop ; 
 photographer, S. D. Leveridge ; bookseller. Charles Gillman ; clothing, Gar- 
 rett & Company; patent medicines, A. T. Ault, manufacturer; meat market. 
 James Lester; lumber sealer. \\'illiam Durose, Hough & Atwater; boots and 
 shoes. R. McDowell. Milton Anderson. \\"illiam Manning. John Lloyd. 
 
 The year of JCS75 was one of the most noted for building operations in 
 Newton, up to that date, two hundred thousand dollars worth of building being 
 effected. Among the structures may l)e remembered the Masonic block, J. B. 
 Eyerly's building, J. W. Wilson's, Caleb Lamb's, Burns & Condit, Henry 
 Sami)ey, on the west side of the public square. West from northwest from 
 the square was the W. H. L. Kjing and Henry Sampey's buildings; at the 
 southea.st corner of the square were the buildings of Mershon and the hotel, 
 a three-story building, sixty-three by one hundred thirty-two feet in size. At 
 the same corner was the Joseph McCalmont iroii front building. The better, 
 larger class of residences included those of Dr. (iorrcll, Willirun Wiughn.
 
 EAST SIDE SQUARE, NEWTON 
 
 SCENE ON CHAQUAQUA OR SKUNK RIVER
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 273 
 
 Gen. James Wilson. Mr. Ainswoitli. .Xiij^ust W'endt and W. D. W'eineke. 
 The.se and twenty other buildin<^s were all completed in 1875 '" Xewton. 
 
 In the eii^hties. nineties, and a.t(ain in the first vears of the twentieth 
 century. Xewton had rapid i^rowth. hut never was known as a f)oom town, 
 always being steady and conser\ati\e in its actions and ad\ancement. Per- 
 haps within the last twelve or fifteen years has there been more of a genuine 
 sj)irit of enterprise than in an\- other \ears in the historv of the citv. In this 
 period the city has come to he known for its many tine i>aying manufacturing 
 plants, which have gi\en the i)lace much advertising abroad. This is the 
 well-known home of the patented articles marie bv the famous One Minute 
 Manufacturing Company, the self-feeding threshing machine and band-cut- 
 ting machinery, named elsewhere in this chajiter. etc. Todav the hum of 
 machinery in twenty-five plants can l)e daily heard, while the rtve hundred 
 persons engaged swell a pay-roll amounting to about fortv thousand dollars 
 per month. 
 
 All tiie \arious retail Imsinesses of a first class citv of its population are 
 here well represented, the naming of which is useless in this connection. The 
 great activities of X'ewton are certainly centered in its manv factories, the 
 whole being in working harmony with the well developed farming com- 
 munity surrounding the city. The following include the manufacturing 
 enterprises of Xewton in 191 1 : 
 
 The Maytag Comi)any make the Parsons feeder, swinging ele\ator 
 feeder, Ruth feeder, corn husker and shredder, shock hoist, shock loader, hay 
 press, grain grader. Pastime washer, hog waterer. belt guide, cvlinder wrench, 
 automobile parts. 
 
 The G. W. Parsons Compan\- make trenching and exca\ating machinery 
 and do a crucible steel and iron foundr}- business. 
 
 One Minute Manufacturing Company make the One Minute washer, 
 gasoline ])ower washer, electric power washer, gasoline engines, ironing 
 lx)ards. rinse tul)s. combination farm tools. 
 
 X'ewton Balance \'alve Companx make balance \alves. 
 
 M. &- E. Manufacturing Companv manufacture acetylene gas lighting 
 phmts. 
 
 Automatic I'^lectric Washer Company manufacture an automatic electric 
 washer and wringer and gasoline power washers. 
 
 Cherry Blossoms Manufacturing Company make flavoring extracts. 
 
 American Construction Company ])ut in municipal gas plants. 
 
 The Bergman Manufacturing Company make grain graders. 
 
 Hummel Manufacturing Company manufacture road graders. 
 (18)
 
 2-4 JASPER COrXTV, IOWA. 
 
 Xewton Ice & Cold Storage Company make artiricial ice. 
 
 Xewton Milling Company make Honr and patent pancake Hour. 
 
 Oglnirn Manufacturing Company make the detachable manure spreader. 
 
 Western Stock Remedy Company make stock remedies. 
 
 Henry Held makes cigars. 
 
 John O'Leary makes cigars. 
 
 Xon-Leak Balance \'alve C()mj)any make balance valves. 
 
 Scheurman Brothers make ladies' garments. 
 
 Ever Ready Manufacturing Company make ironing boards. 
 
 Xewton Manufacturing Company make advertising novelties. 
 
 Clipless Paper Fastener Compau}- make the clipless paper fasteners. 
 
 Skew Brothers make road graders, disc sharpeners, gray iron castings, 
 bank and otfice fixtures, show cases, stair cases, exterior and interior finishes, 
 manure spreaders. 
 
 Xewton Disc Plow Company make disc garden plows, and X^ewdisco 
 electric and power washers. 
 
 Engle Coffee Mill Company make power coffee grinders. 
 
 M. G Rogers makes cement l)locks. 
 
 M. Brown makes brick and tile. 
 
 F. Henning makes brick and tile. 
 
 C. Schaumberg makes brick and tile. 
 
 Ad\ertising Xovelty Manufacturing Company make advertising novel- 
 ties. 
 
 Arthur H. Joy & Company make dental soldering machines. 
 
 M. L. Lewis & Son make bottled goods. 
 
 E. C. Smith makes breakfast foods. 
 
 The Cieorge W. Xewton Company, advertising no\elties. 
 
 FLOl'RINT. MILL.S. 
 
 One of the mo.st imi)urtant and useful industries Xewton possessed as 
 early as 1858 was its steam flour mill, which plant made upon an average of 
 two hundred barrels per day of an excellent grade of flour. 
 
 The present milling business is conducted by the X^ewton Milling Com- 
 pany, H. C. McCardell, proprietor. These mills are not extensive, but do ex- 
 cellent work. They are located on the corner of Spring and South streets. 
 
 Other mills of Jasper county are situated at Baxter, Monroe, Prairie 
 City. Kellogg and Lynnville. 
 
 Ten years ago (1900) the industries of Xewton were summed up as 
 follows: The Parsons Band Cutter and Self-Feeder Comi)any was organized
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 2/5 
 
 in 1892. has a capital of $73,000. ccners two and one-half acres with a splen- 
 did plant, turns out 3.500 machines per annum, worth S600.000. employs 
 ninety artisans and twenty-five traveling;- men, pays out $80,000 a vear in 
 wages and sells its product in all the grain growing states of the L'nion. 
 
 The Hawkexe l-'eeder Works was incorj)orated in Mav. 1898, l>y Par- 
 sons. Rich & Company, composed of (ieorge W. Parsons and V. S. Rich. 
 The plant represents a value of $30,000. turns out 1.200 machines worth 
 $240,000. sells in all small grain districts. 1"he i)lant covers half a hlock. em- 
 ploys 46 artisans, six in office, and ten traveling men. and ])avs out in wages 
 S25.000 per }-ear. 
 
 The Taylor-Xewell Company, manufacturers of pants, operate with a 
 capital stock of $20.ocx). employs 65 people in the factory and five traveling- 
 men, turn out $100,000 worth of goods and sell in Iowa. Minnesota. South 
 Dakota. Nebraska. Kansas. Alissouri, Colorado. Illinois. The pav roll is 
 $15,000 per year. The stockholders are F. M. Taylor. Will G. Xewell. 
 Charles Seeberger. C. F. Alorgan, Ralph Parmenter. Ralph Robinson. A. C. 
 riates. E. J. Schuneman. A. J. Anderson. The former is president of the 
 company. 
 
 A. C. Randolph & Company, manufacturers of the Randolph [)neu- 
 matic stacker, established in 1899, employs 20 men in factory, six tra\-eling 
 men, turns out 500 stackers worth $125,000 and sells where\-er threshing is 
 done. A. C. Randolph is manager. 
 
 Xewton Steel Cut Milling Company, manufacturers of "W'heat-O" 
 breakfast food, established in 1898. capital $10,000, turns out $18,000 worth 
 per year and sells through jobbers in several states. There are fi\e employes 
 at the mills, two at office and two on the road. The compan\- is composed 
 of A. H. Bergman. E. C. Smith. J. A\'. Langanback. 
 
 The Hawkeye Incubator Company is composed of W. C. and F. H. 
 P)ergman. was organized in 1898. turns out incubators and the "Ratchet 
 Slat" washing machine, puts out 2.500 incubators and brooders and 1.000 
 washers, value $30,000 and employs 2=, men. 
 
 In addition to the al)o\e the Skow Bros, manufacture a disc sharpener 
 and a sand shoveler at their foundry and machine shop. 
 
 PO.STOFFICE HISTORY. 
 
 A postoffice was established in Xewton in the summer of 1847 ^"^^ T. J. 
 Adamson was a])pointed postmaster. The mail was carried on horseback 
 from Iowa Citv. then the state capital. A. B. Meacham was the mail carrier.
 
 276 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Later he became famous in the Modoc Inthan warfare. Mail was thus car- 
 ried until 1850. when stages were put in operation. It is known, howexer, 
 that in the winter of 1850-51 the town had only about fifty people within its 
 borders and that mail was received but once a week. It was brought in by 
 \'al. Adamson and the po.stoffice was kept in the old court house, where all 
 hands would congregate to hear the latest news, get a i)aper. ix)ssibly two or 
 three weeks old. printed in .>^ome one of the states to the east of our own. In 
 the winter of 1850-51 the postmaster w-as Jesse Rickman, who was also clerk 
 of the county board of commissioners, and he held his combined office in the 
 countv l)uilding. near where now stands the magnificent court house. In 
 1861 .\. W. McDonald was postmaster; he succeeded Perry Grossman, who 
 was appointed under President James Buchanan. The records are lost from 
 the date of Mr. McDonald to 1868. when followed these: G. B. Hunter, 
 David Flowers, T. M. Rodgers. Samuel Sherman, L. S. Kennington, M. A. 
 McG(»r(l, George Glark, Jr., the present postmaster. 
 
 In 1886 this office was made a second-class ofilice. About 1900 the 
 rural free delixery went into force at Newton office and now there are rural 
 carriers. The office was made a free city delivery office in 1899. with three 
 carriers, which has l)een increased to four. The office has been in its present 
 place al>out seven years, and just ])revious to the present (piarters the post- 
 office was kept on the west side of the pulilic square. The amount of business 
 transacted, outside of the money order business, in 1910 was twentv-five 
 thousand dollars. There are now twelve mails each way daily, and the total 
 number of ])ersons em|)loyed, including the rural carriers, is eighteen. 
 
 During tlie administration of T. M. Rodgers as po.stmaster. on the eve 
 of St. X'alentine's day. 1893. the office was burglarized of three hundred dol- 
 lars of government money and alx)ut the same amount belonging to the {XDSt- 
 niaster. Xo clue as to the thief was ever had, but, aside from positive proof, 
 it was really known who took the mone\'. 
 
 MlNCJl'AI. lirSTOKV. 
 
 Xewton was incorporated under a special charter, being one of the few- 
 cities in Iowa thus incorporated. The legislative act incorporating the place 
 was approved and dated January 26, 1857. Section 19 of the articles of 
 incor]K)ration reads as follows: 
 
 '"The county judge of the county of Jasper is hereby authorized to issue 
 an order for an election, to lie held in the .said town of Newton on the first 
 Mfjnday of .\pril next, for the adoption or rejection of this act of incorpora-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 2/7 
 
 tion, and the election hoard ot the township oi Xewton. in the said county. 
 sliall on said day open a separate poll for the ])urpose of such votes; said 
 election to be held in accordance with the laws governing county elections. 
 Those in favor of the adoption of this act shall write on their tickets 'ff)r in- 
 corporation ;' those opposed to the adoption of this act shall write on their 
 tickets 'against incorporation.' Only the resident voters of said town shall 
 be eligible to vote at said election." 
 
 At the above election there were one hundred and twenty-one votes cast 
 for incorporation and thirty-four against the proposition. The first corpora- 
 tion election was held May 4, 1857, Imt the records of Xewton have not been 
 l)reser\ed and hence the list of the first few set of officials cannot now l)e 
 arrived at. An old history states that the first mayor was Hugh Newell. 
 
 It should be said in connection witli the legislative act by which Xewton 
 became an incorp(^rated town, in i^^y. that through a clerical blunder, the 
 act defined the location as being "in township 81,'' which would bring it six 
 miles north of where the town does in fact lie. and was intended bv the peti- 
 tioners to be located. This error caused much anncjyance for a number of 
 years, especially in attempting to enforce any criminal law. This, however, 
 was later remedied l)y the Legislature. 
 
 The records show that the following ser\ed as officers of the town of 
 Xewton in 1868: D. D. Piper, mayor; Jcjhn C. Wilson, recorder: W. II. 
 Hough. F. T. Campbell. James McGregor, C. K. I-'ord. J. M. Hiatt and 
 George T. Anderson, councilmen. 
 
 During the summer of 1868 there was a large amount of wooden side- 
 walk put down on the streets of X'ewton. as a result of the town [)eing in- 
 corporated. 
 
 Tn September. 1869, one hundred and fourteen citizens and four "not 
 eligible" petitioned the council to repeal the ordinance prohibiting the sale of 
 "ale, wine and beer," but it was tabled and not long before the reiuon- 
 strance of one hundred and thirty voters and ninety-six ladies was presented 
 to the same body. N^ewton has never had legalized saloons. The ladies have 
 to be given much credit along this line, be it recorded to their honor. 
 
 Tn September. 1869. the council granted the right to F. 11. ( iriggs to 
 construct a horse car line through the alley running north and south between 
 Race and Vine streets, from the Rock Island depot to the south line of Xew- 
 ton. and thence west on the street along the south side of the incorporation, 
 to connect with the public road leading to the fair grounds. But it appears 
 that the franchise was never taken advantage of, for there was never any 
 street railroad constructed in X'^ewton.
 
 jjS JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 FIRST TOWN CHARTER ABANDON ED. 
 
 On Februarv 28. 1870. thrdUi^h llie i)etili()n of eighty-se\en citizens, 
 with no renit^nstrance ai^ainst it. the special charter of Xewton's first incor- 
 iwration was al)an(lone(l. and the place was then organized under the laws of 
 the state as seen in chapter 51, i860. An election was held in April of that 
 vear and the question was voted upon and resulted in a \ote of eighty-seven 
 for and none against, thus reorganizing the town inc(jrporation. The Hrst 
 officers under the new town government were as follows: J. A. Hammer, 
 mavor; L. B. Westbrook. recorder: J. A. Garrett. M. A. Blanchard. J. A. 
 WiLson. C. Connelly. J. J. Vaughan. conncilmen : A. J. Osl^orn. treasurer: W. 
 H. Hough, assessor. 
 
 On ^\a\' 5, 1870. the ccnuicil divided the city into five wards and about 
 the same date instituted a "pound" and purchased land on which to place the 
 same. 
 
 On Januarv 30, 1871. the limits of the place were extended to the extent 
 of eightv acres, in section 2/: two hundred acres in section ^7,: two hundred 
 and forty acres in section 34. 
 
 On May 30. 1870. the right of wa}- through the city limits was refused 
 to the Jasper County Coal & Railroad Company and to the Iowa, ^Minnesota 
 & Northern Pacific Company : but on the 2d of August, that year, the appli- 
 cation of the latter company was granted and an ordinance issued therefor. 
 Xewton became a city of the second class in ]\Iay. 1870. 
 
 FIRE DEPARTMENT BEGINS. 
 
 The beginning of the present fire department in Xewton was effected in 
 1874. when about twenty members, which soon increased to fortv-five. or- 
 ganized themselves into a hook and ladder companv. S. J. Mover was its 
 president: J. J I. Tait. foreman: Alex. Work, first assistant: J-'rank Clark, sec- 
 ond assistant; Alanson Clark, secretary: H. K. Stahl, treasurer. The present 
 company consi.sts of about thirty-five men. Iliey are in charge of the hook 
 and ladders and three hose carts, by which they ha\e l)eeii very successful in 
 fighting fires. 
 
 A city hall was erected in about 1886 and is still in use. The mayor 
 has his private office and the city clerk and water su])erinten(lcnt hrnc officc< 
 in the electric lighting plant.
 
 .lASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 279 
 
 ELECTRIC EIC.llT I'l.AXT, WATER WORKS, ETC. 
 
 This i)l:int was (jri^inally buill by the Thompson-Houston Companv in 
 1883 and was of a private ownersliip ty])e. but in 1889 the present citv plant 
 Avas installed and has furnished lii^ht and power U) the citv since then. It 
 furnished li^ht at cheaper rates than were had in almost any other citv in 
 Iowa. Last year (1910) it made a pnjfit of twelve thousand dollars, hence, 
 after making a cheap rate to patrons, it is far more than self-sustaininj^-. 
 
 The city is this year ( 1911 ) installing a gas ])lant for power and heating 
 purposes, by bonding the city to the amount of forty thousand dollars. Thev 
 expect to furnish gas as cheaply as possible, but at first it will necessarilv l)e 
 about ()ne <lollar and fift\- cents per thousand feet. 
 
 In addition to the above concerning the establishment of the light plant 
 in Newton, it should be said that the Thompson-Houston Companv. one of 
 the largest corporations in lighting and electric plants in America at that 
 date, held a perpetual franchise in Xewton. Imt l)y reason of the high rates 
 charged the people, a home concern went into l)usiness for the city and its 
 municipal benefit. A small plant was installed and little by little thev man- 
 aged to draw away the patrons of the old prixate company of Thompson- 
 Houston. That corporation got into litigation with the city of Xewton over 
 the franchise rights of the city streets: thou.sands of dollars were expended 
 in the courts, both higher and lower. Then came cutting of rates bv both 
 companies, until finally it proved unprofitable to both and the Thompson- 
 Houston people S(jld their entire ])lant for a little more than four thousand 
 dollars to the cit\ of X'ewton. The next Legislature passed a law that no 
 city should grant franchise for a longer term than twenty-five years. 
 
 Xewton's first water works system was of private ownership, and was 
 granted its franchise by the city in 1903. It was owned by Messrs. B. W. 
 Skift'. Charles Seaberger and M. L. MaA-tag. who operated it until 1907, 
 when the city purchased the plant for forty thousand dollars. Bonds were 
 issued and floated for the j^aymeni of this needed cit\- impr(~>\ement. It has 
 come to be almost self-sustaining. The su|)ply of water is had In- a large 
 nuniber of fortv-five-foot wells sunk to the gravel beds of the fiats lying si.x 
 miles to the west of the city, near the village of 'Sletz. The water is of the 
 best and purest in the country. It is i)um])ed In- steam power through cast 
 iron pipes and forced to elevated tanks in the heart of the city. The original 
 tank holds eighty-fi\e thousand gallons of water, but the one being con- 
 structed at the i)resent time is to be one hundred and twenty-eight feet high
 
 28o JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 and constructed ui steel. This will hold one hundred thousand gallons mure. 
 Both will be used, one as a reserve tank in case of emergency. 
 
 A NEW DEPARTURE. 
 
 In i8y7 the citizens awoke to the fact that they were behind the times 
 in which thev were living and some advocated the paving of streets and 
 making other needed city improvements, another class bitterly opposing 
 these improvements on account of the necessary expenses, but when the 
 spring election for city officers came around that was one, if not the prin- 
 cipal, feature in nominating men for the office of mayor and members of the 
 council. As it turned out the right man was selected and won out at the 
 l)olls. This was George Early, who ser\ed one term and was friendly toward 
 the putting down of the first brick paving Newton had ever had. So well 
 were the propertv owners pleased that extensions were made from year to 
 vear until now the city has many miles of paving. 
 
 It was under the administration of Mayor Early, too, that the legal 
 battle over the electric light franchise and original plant was carried forward 
 and finallv won by the city purchasing the old private plant. Newton now 
 gets water and lights (under municipal ownership plan) at the cost of pro- 
 duction. 
 
 CITY OFFICIALS. 
 
 The following is a list of mayors for Newton, commencing with 1868, 
 the records having been lost for the i>eriod before that: 1868. D. D. Piper; 
 1870. J. A. Hammer: 1873. C. Howard; 1874. M. A. Blanchard ; 1875, D. D. 
 riper: 1877, John A. Wilson, w^hose term was completed by D. Edmundson 
 and ]\I. A. Blanchard: 1878. M. A. Blanchard; 1879, D. Edmundson; 1880, 
 X. Townsend : 1887. J. B. Eyerly : 1889, Joseph Stevens: 1893, A. Lufkin; 
 1898, George Early: 1899. Frank I-ong; 1907, Ed. Cook: 1909 to present 
 date. O. C. Meredith. 
 
 The officers for the city at this date are: ^layor, O. C. ^^leredith: 
 solicitor. J. E. Cross; clerk. E. C. Finch; deputy clerk. Rov Fisk : treasurer. 
 I). L Clark: health officer. Dr. E. E. Besser : street commissioner, .\rt Rey- 
 nolds: marshal, J. H. Robbins; deputy marshal. \\'. V. Wade: superintendent 
 light, water and gas. Connie OT^eary : councilmen. Frank P. Baldwin. George 
 H. Warner (at-large). Oscar Coon, first ward: John H. Harvey, second 
 ward: R. B. Jackson, third ward; Fred Fl. Bergmen, fourth ward. The chief 
 of the fire department is Bruce E. Sattele : city assessor, E. E. Effnor : over- 
 •seer of the poor, Ed. Cook.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 28l 
 
 FREE I'L-BLIC LIBRARY 
 
 As has been well said hy the efficient librarian of the splendid new- 
 public library of Xewton, "Researches in the ancient history of Xewton re- 
 veals the fact that the hrst inception of the librar}- idea was due to a Young 
 Men's Christian Association at a very early date.* The history is not easilv 
 traced. The fact remains, however, that Xewton counted the furni.shing of 
 good literature an important factor in the growth of a good town. Later 
 the work was undertaken b}- the Woman's Christian Temperance Union and 
 was pushed with the public spirit and energy that characterizes that organi- 
 zation. It passed through many \icissitudes. and only those of us who have 
 given years of effort to initial points of service, who have tasted the bitter- 
 ness of seeming failure, relie\ed by transient gleams of success, can aijjjre- 
 ciate the patient labors of those days. 
 
 "The next stej) was the foundation of the Social I'nion. an enterprise in 
 which many took an acti\e part — indeed these faithful toilers Inu'lded better 
 than they knew. 
 
 'Tn 1897 the city took charge of the library. In October of that year 
 the present librarian was employed and the matter assumes the character of 
 personal history." 
 
 Again, in 1910, Miss Belle E. Smith writes a short history of the in- 
 stitution in which she says : 
 
 "X'ewton's free public library of four thousand thirteen volumes and sixty 
 periodicals is the outgrowth of a library instituted by the ladies of the 
 Woman's Christian Temperance Union, in June. 1878. For seventeen years 
 a handful of self-sacrihcing women conducted a public library and reading 
 room, supported b}- indixidual contributions of money and Ixnoks and a few 
 ])eriodicals. 
 
 "In 1895 the Xewton Social Union succeeded to the management of 
 the librarv and was very influential in causing the citizens to vote in March. 
 1896. for the establishment of a public library, as authorized by law and for 
 a lew of a tax f(^r its maintenance. For three years the society lalxired to 
 increase the number of books and when they last met, in October, 1898. the 
 li])rarv contained one thousand eight hundred fourteen volumes. The or- 
 
 *Xote. — This must be in error from the fact that an old record discloses the fact 
 that the Newton Library Association was organized in 1859, prior to any Young Men's 
 Christian Association work in Iowa. The first invoice of books numbered one hundred 
 and thirty-two volumes. A. K. Campbell was librarian and the books were kept 
 at the old court house.
 
 jg2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 jianization of tlie new free puljlic library, under tlie state laws, was com- 
 pleted in Jiilv. 1896, by the appt)intnient of nine trustees who were confirmed. 
 Jn lulv. 1902, in response to a recpiest from the trustees. .Vndrew Carnegie 
 donated ten thousand dollars for a huildini;-. under the usual conditions im- 
 posed bv him. .\ lari^e, attractive site was purchased and donated by public- 
 spirited citizens. December. 1902. saw the library in its own building', the 
 first time in its existence when it had no rent to i)ay. 
 
 This edifice is a two-story brick building, forty-seven by sixty-five feet, 
 has a heating ])lant and is lighted nicely by electricity. The first floor is 
 taken up by the library proi)er and five rooms — children's reading room, 
 general reading room, reference library and toilet room. The second floor 
 is used bv the Woman's Clul). library trustees, school board and other or- 
 ganizations. 
 
 The number of visitors to the reading rooms are reported not long 
 since as two thousand fi\e hundred monthly. Already two townsmen have 
 donated one thousand one hundred dollars toward the book purchasing fund. 
 The library and reading room are open nine hours through the entire school 
 vear of the public schools of Newton, and six hours in summer time. The 
 expenses are reduced some Ijy ha\ing the magazines hand-bound by one of 
 the women of the place.'' 
 
 The tax for library maintenance at the jjeginning of 1909 was two and 
 one- fourth mills on the dollar, but in August that year was increased to 
 three mills. 
 
 The present (1911) trustees of the library are: W. O. McElroy, presi- 
 dent; Mrs. O. C. Meredith, secretary; O. N. Wagley, Mrs. C. M. Campbell, 
 E. J. H. Beard, Mrs. F. L. Maytag. E. C. Ogg. C. P. Hunter, Mrs. F. P. 
 Gardner. Charlotte \'. P>ryant is the librarian and her assistant is Helen M. 
 Taylor. 
 
 T hi: r .\ lox CKM j:t I':rv. 
 
 The attention ])aid to the resting place of the departed dead in an^■ gixen 
 community speaks \olumcs for or against the character of the people of 
 .such section of the country. Indeed the mark between ci\ilized and unciv- 
 ilized life is found in this one feature. The city cemetery in .Xewton lias 
 been fre(|uently \isited by many from otlier parts of Iowa, with the \ic\v of 
 getting ideas as to caring for their own Ijurial places. 
 
 With the first .settlement (jf Xewton ihc bur\ing ground was on the 
 lots when- now stands the new high schod] l)nilding. Tiiere tiie first ])ioneers 
 of the ])lace were laid away to rest. Tlu-rc lluw remained until Ci\il war
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 283 
 
 days and a little later, when the association which had charge turned it over 
 to the incorporated town of Xewton. Many of the interments were moved 
 to the new grounds. The deed record shows that the land where the present 
 cemeter}' is situated, and which is known as the L'nion cemetery, was origin- 
 ally owned by Jacob K. Ciuthric. who deeded it to D. E. Longfellow, in Feb- 
 ruary, i860, for the consideration of $S37- 'his tract contained eleven and 
 one-(iuarter acres. Mr. Longfellow deeded the same to the incorporation of 
 Newton, August 23, 1866, for the consideration of ten dollars, the record 
 reads. This cemetery is located to the northwest of the city and is a part 
 of section 2H. township 80. range 19. To this has been added two other 
 small tracts, making the present size of the cemetery about tw'enty acres. 
 There are numerous l)eautiful native trees growing here and there through- 
 out the cemetery. In the nineties the sexton, Mr. Kuhn. found it necessarv 
 to have the ground re-platted, so a better account could be kept of the lots. 
 At the northeast corner of the grounds is situated the four lots known as 
 Memorial, or Soldiers', s(piare, where with the return of each Decoration 
 day the (jrand Army and Relief Corps representatives, with other citizens, 
 meet and have their own special ceremonies in honor of the fallen heroes, 
 many of whom are sleeping their last sleep \\ ithin this sacred enclosure. An- 
 other feature of the cemetery is the chapel, erected in 1900 at a cost of 
 seven hundred and eighty dollars. 
 
 In 1910 a local company erected a large mausoleum ha\ing two hundred 
 cr)-pts f(^)r the burial of the dead abo\e ground in sealed vaults. This struc- 
 ture was made of cement block material and adds much to the beauty of the 
 grounds. Onlv eight bodies are now resting in this place. After the build- 
 ing was completed it was turned over to the city authorities \\ itli pro\isions 
 that the citv should maintain it and keep it intact perpetual!)-. Since early 
 in 191 T the cit}' has cared for it. 
 
 THE BUSINESS MEX's .VSSOCIATIOX. 
 
 Being ali\'e to e\er\- interest of a growing western cit}-, the abo\e as- 
 sociation was organized in 1897 ^"^^ '^'^"^^ enjoys a membership of two hun- 
 dred and foiu". Its hrst officers were H. M. X'aughan. president: A. K. 
 Hindorff. secretarv. The present officers are W. V. Johnson, president; E. 
 E. Lambert, secretarv. The association has been instrumental in inducing 
 manv industries to locate in X'ewton and are still reaching out over the 
 countrx- l)v means of literature and correspondence, llu-ough tlie \arious chan- 
 nels of commerce, to make Xewton well known abroad, h'rom its circular
 
 284 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 issued in i<)io and freely distrihuled al the Ikwu stale fair that season, we 
 (|uote the following: 
 
 ■"Xewton is situated right in the center of the greatest consuming region 
 in the world. Iowa is known the country over as l)eing the hest market in 
 tile west for goods of all kinds and being right in the center of the state, 
 we are e(|uall\' distant from four great states which hound Iowa on either 
 side. 
 
 "Xewton has one of the largest iron foundries in Iowa, and the only 
 crucihle steel foundrx- of anv size west of Milwaukee. This is a great con- 
 venience to small manufacturers who need castings in small ([uantities. 
 
 '■l-"or factories Newton ofTers a twenty-four-hour electric current for 
 motors with as cheap rates as any city in Iowa, large or small. Our fac- 
 tories are now using several hundred horse power daily from this ])lant, 
 wliich is owned and operated by the city itself. 
 
 "Newton now employs l:>etween fi\e and six hundred persons in her 
 factories and has ne\-er had a labor trouble of any note in all the years of her 
 factory history."
 
 CHAPTER XIX. 
 
 BUENA VISTA TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Bnena Vista township was organized in February, 1857, by the order 
 of the then presiding judge. The record shows that the order was, that 
 there l)e a new township formed b}- the name of Buena Vista, bounded as 
 follows: "Commencing at the northeast corner of section 25, township 
 80. range 18; thence west on the section line to the northwest corner of sec- 
 tion 30, same township and range ; thence south on the range line to the 
 southwest corner of section 30, township 79, range 18; thence east on the 
 section line to the southeast corner of section 25, said township and range; 
 thence north to the place of beginning by the range line." 
 
 This refers to original Buena Vista township. There have been some 
 changes in its boundaries since then, however. 
 
 This sub-division of Jasper county derived its name doubtless from the 
 Mexican city in which our American army entered in the war with Mexico 
 that had just closed when this county had got fairly well organized and had 
 among its ])ioneer band many who had taken part in that war. 
 
 It is situated to the south of Kellogg, to the west of Richland, to the 
 north of Elk Creek and Palo Alto, and to the east of Palo Alto townships, 
 this county. It is six miles square. Among its chief water courses may be 
 named Little Elm creek. The northw'estern portion of this township has. 
 or did have at an early day, considerable natural timber. The iK)pulation of 
 the township in 1905. according to the Iowa state census rei)orts, was ^"/T). 
 Tt is one of the most excellent farming sections of the county. 
 
 Its pioneer settlers were thoughtful and enterprising men and women 
 whose characters have left their impress upon the present po])ulace. Among 
 the first persons to enter government land in this townshi]) were: William 
 Smith, in the west half of the northwest of section 20. August 12.^847: 
 Evan Adamson. east half of section 18, August 14, 1847. 
 
 In 1874 occurred the death of pioneer Henry Hammer. Sr.. who settled 
 in Buena Vista township in 1848. He was a native of Tennessee and reached 
 the ripe old age of seventv-three years. He was an anti-slax ery man all of his 
 eventful life.
 
 286 lASPKK COIXTV. IOWA. 
 
 In 1878 the records show that Buena \'ista township liad personal prop- 
 erty to the extent of $82,718. inclnding 670 horses, eis^hty mules and 1.780 
 head of cattle. In 1877 the Ijooks show thai this township had i)roperty 
 \alued for assessment purposes to the amount of $336,000. The tax on 
 this property broui^ht to the treasury of the county $5,072. See Educational 
 chapter for the public schools of this township. 
 
 CONCEKXING THK SETTLEMENT. 
 
 A settlement was made on Elk creek, this township, as early as 1845 
 in what is stvled the Hixon and Adamson groves. Moses Lacy, of Illinois, 
 took a claim in the southeast (piarter of section 18, in March. 1845. built a 
 cabin and later sold to Evan Adamson. who moved to the same in the spring 
 of 1846. Adamson immigrated from Missouri. 
 
 Xathan Williams settled in the northwest (piarter of section 20 in the 
 autumn of 1845. sold to Bill Smith, known as "Fool Bill," in the spring of 
 1846. lie sold to Enos Adamson, he to James Robb, and he in turn to 
 William Robb, who owned the farm in 1900. 
 
 l)a\id Adamson took a claim in the northwest (piarter of section 18. 
 in March, 1846, and the following April sold to Abraham Adamson. He had 
 sexen sons and from this large family the gro\e took its name. 
 
 M. D. Springer took a claim later known as the Sam Scpiires farm, 
 moving to the same in January, 1846. Ele sold to Elijah Hammer. On 
 section 20, Ira Hammer claimed land and the date of this entry was 1846. 
 There pioneer Hammer li\ed and died, barther to the east. William Chen- 
 e(|oth, from Ohio, and later from Missouri, settled either in 1847 or possibly 
 the year before. He died there ten years later. 
 
 Henry Smith claimed land in 1846 where John Wells li\ed a few vears 
 ago. He .sold to IVFoses Darling in 1837. 
 
 On Elk creek Ballington Aydelotte claimed land in section 8, locating 
 there in March. 1845, '^''^ ^^^ original entry man. In 1851 he sold to Samuel 
 McDaniel and later it passed to the ownership of Milton \'ansco\-. 
 
 James Plumb. Jr.. settled in a log cabin near where the J. W. Murphv 
 residence now stands in 1848. In this rude ca])in home the Rew b'unes IMuml) 
 fn-st saw the light of day. Air. Mur])hy ])urchased this farm in 1856. 
 
 John H. Franklin claimed land in the southeast corner of section 6. in 
 the early days of the spring of 1845. ^^''^ cabin stood near the present school 
 building on section 5.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 287 
 
 William M. Sprini^cr took a claim on the northwest of section 7, in the 
 fall of 1843. 
 
 Da\i(l l^dmundson settled exactly where n(jw stands the conntv poor 
 farm, in the spring" of 1846. 
 
 Jacol) Hennett took land in the northwest of section 6 in 1843; he kej)! 
 a honse of entertainment for traxelers. 
 
 James Pearson settled in section 5. in 1845; this ])ropertv a few vears 
 since was owned by Daniel W. Alnrphw 
 
 Pioneer Pearson came into the connty on foot, made a fire and prepared 
 his meal and then laid him down to rest, for he was \erv \\ear\ . He slcj)! 
 by the side of a hnge log, and when he awoke in the earlv morning he dis- 
 covered a larg-e wolf on the ojjposite side of the log' and he too had been too 
 weary to look for game or to molest the stranger. Both were surprised and 
 alarmed — the wolf ran away and for the time Mr. Pearson forgot he had a 
 gnn and let the animal go. Pearson weighed fully two hundred and fiftv 
 pounds and it has often ])een related of him that when he \iewed the beau- 
 tiful prairie and forest landscape all about him, that he climbed a big, high tree 
 and exclaimed in a very loud voice, ''I pre-empt all the land in sight." 
 
 Between 1850 and 1856 the settlement was greatly augmented in this 
 and manv parts of Jasper county. Among those who entered lands in this 
 township ma}' be recalled now the names of: d. T. Saum, in section 1, in 
 1851 ; James Fenwick. in section 21, in 1852; Leonard Lickens, in section 2j. 
 in 1852 or 1853; Levi Cook, in section 3, 1854; he erected a frame house 
 which for many years was known as the "steep-roofed house.'' 
 
 It was about this time that the hrst postoffice east of Xewton. on the 
 Iowa City road, was established. This oifice was kept on section 35 of what 
 is now Kellogg township. 
 
 FIR.ST EX'EXTS. 
 
 It seems (|uite certain that the first child born in this township was Allie 
 Springer, son of William .M. and "Aunt Sally" Springer, he having been l)orn 
 in the winter of 1846-7. 
 
 The earliest marriage was that of Jesse Rickman (later a judge) and 
 Xancy Pearson. At the same time, and both ceremonies being performed at 
 the cabin of Thomas Pearson, were united for better or for worse. John 
 Wilson and Josie Pear.son. Ballinger Aydelott tying both marriage knots. 
 This was in Alarch. 1847. '^he wedding supper consisted of corn bread, 
 crabapple pie. crabapple .sauce, roast chicken (both prairie and tame), cab- 
 bage, slaw, roast pork and vegetables.
 
 288 JASPER COIXTV. IOWA. 
 
 The First sermon preached in Buena N'ista townsliip was that delivered 
 by Joah Bennett, a Methodist minister, in March. 1846. Imvc i)ersons made 
 up his auchence. In tlie autumn of 1846 WilHam Ferguson formed a Chris- 
 tian church society at the house of pioneer Balhnger Aydelott. and tliis was 
 doubtless the first of this denomination in Jasper county. 
 
 WILD TURKEYS. 
 
 it has been related of pioneer Jacob Bennett's good wife that slie met 
 with the following fate by a wild turkey: In the spring of 1845 Bennett 
 planted a patch of corn in the edge of the brush ; in the fall he cut and shocked 
 it uj). The wild turkeys proposed to get a share of his labor, so they came 
 to pick corn. Mrs. Bennett proposed to be their equal, so she hid herself in 
 a shock. A large turkey gobbler climbed on the shock she was in. She 
 caught him bv the leg. held him fast and he lacerated her hand terribly with 
 his spurs. 1)in she took him in and cooked him. 
 
 VILLAGE OF ML^RPHY. 
 
 In 1890 there was a postoffice established at this point, the northeast 
 quarter of the northwest (juarter of section 17, township 79, range 18, but it 
 was discontinued January 15, 191 1. J. W. Murphy, an old pioneer, was 
 the only person who ever ser\'ed as postmaster. The business of 19 10 only 
 amounted to about forty dollars. Three mails were received each way daily 
 while the office was in existence. The people of the vicinity are now sup- 
 plied with mail by the rural free delivery from Newton route No. 7. There 
 is a small store located iiere, l)ut aside from its being a station point on the 
 railroad, there is no business transacted there. 
 
 \ILLAGE OF KILl.DUFF. 
 
 The only real \illage in this township is Killduti', located on section 35, 
 ten miles to the southeast of Newton, on the Iowa Central railroad. It had 
 in 1900 about eighty inhabitants, a postoffice, two good stores, a lumber yard 
 and a blacksmith shop. It had a population of one hundred and fifty. Its 
 business in 1910 consisted of the following: The live-stock dealer was 
 Henry W. Agcr; l)lacksmithing, ])y O. H. Caniahan ; liardware and hotel 
 were being conducted by William B. Coe ; barl>ering, William Harvey; gen- 
 eral dealer in merchandise and banking in a small way. I'rank W. Swearingen ;
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 289 
 
 restaurant, by W:lliani C. Korff, ^vho was the postmaster at the date ^iven 
 above. '^ 
 
 There are two churches, the Methodist Episcopal and the Reformed • the 
 latter denommation have no regular pastor at this writing. 
 
 (19)
 
 CHAPTER XX. 
 
 FATRVIEW TOWNSHIP. 
 
 This township Hes on the south hne of the county and west of Skunk 
 river, hence is of an irregular shape, -conforming as it does on its eastern 
 border to the nieanderings of that stream. It is bounded, or rather sur- 
 rounded by four townships and one county hne. It has two steam railroad 
 lines, both entering the only town in the territoiy, Monroe, situated on the 
 south line of the township and county. Marion county is just to the south 
 of Fairview township. 
 
 Being one of the original precincts of Jasper county, it was organized 
 Mav 14, 1846. The order which made it a civil township read as follows: 
 "Ordered that Fairview precinct be bounded on the northeast by Skunk 
 river, on the south by the county line, on the southwest by Des ^loines pre- 
 cinct, and on the west by said county line to the said Skunk river.'' 
 
 This is numbered among the oldest and richest portions of Jasper county 
 and within its tx^rders are to be seen many ^•aluable and highly cultivated 
 farms, producing their annual harxest of valuable crops, which have en- 
 riched the owners. 
 
 Among the first entries of government land in Fairview township may 
 be mentioned IManly Gifford, on the northwest quarter of the southeast quar- 
 ter of section 36, January 16, 1848; Joel B. Worth, the west half of the 
 southeast quarter of the northeast quarter of section 34, also the northeast 
 quarter of the southwest quarter of the same section, on October 10, 1848. 
 
 In the extreme southeastern portion of the township is found a large 
 body of natural timber, as well as some in the southwestern part. 
 
 It was in this township that the original settlement of Jasper county 
 was effected and here the first Methodist services were held at the home of 
 pioneer Adam Tool early in 1844; ^ Sabbath school was organized the same 
 year at the cabin home of Joel Worth, three miles southeast of the first pio- 
 neer settlement in the county. The first store selling general merchandise in 
 the south part of the county was in Fairview township. It was the property 
 of Rol^ert Moore and brother, in 1848, they having purchased the claim taken 
 by Mr. Fish.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 29I 
 
 While the schools, churches and lodges will be mentioned at length in 
 general chapters on these subjects, it may be stated here that in March, 1855, 
 the amount of school fund apportionment for Fairview township was eight 
 dollars and twenty-nine cents. 
 
 At the presidential election in 1852, when Scott and Pierce were the can- 
 didates for the presidency, the result of the election in Fairview township 
 was twenty votes for each candidate; Gen. W'infield Scott, however, carried 
 this county. 
 
 In 1855 the temperance (piestion was voted on in Jasper countv with the 
 following results in Fairview township: Votes for prohibition, fiftv-three, 
 and against the measure, forty-nine. 
 
 In 1878 the total personal property of Fairview township amounted to 
 $82,680, including the items of 941 head of horses, 122 head of mules and 
 asses and 2,155 head of cattle. 
 
 The records show that in 1877 the total value of all property in this 
 township was $423,876 and the taxes paid into the treasury was $6,554.35. 
 
 The first business transacted in Fairview township, of which there seems 
 to be any record extant, was that of March 7, 1853, when William DeLong 
 and Xewton Wright met and divided the township into two road districts. 
 
 October 4, 1853, John E. Teeters had his stock mark recorded, which 
 was "a swallow fork in the point of each ear." 
 
 In April, 1854. Daniel Harcourt and Jacob Kipp were elected justices 
 of the peace; Ezra Woodv and Jesse Seay, constables; Theophilus Bethel, 
 assessor ; \\'illiam Highland, Ximrod Cope and William DeLong, trustees ; 
 ]*klartin Rogers, clerk. 
 
 According to the state census reports for 1905, the population of Fair- 
 view township in that year was 1.258. 
 
 ( For an account of the proposed state capitol in this township, at "Mon- 
 roe City," see index of general chapters.) 
 
 THE TOWN OF MONROE. 
 
 Monroe was laid out by pioneer Adam Tool, in the spring of 1851. the 
 first platting being under the name of Tool's Point. It was changed a year 
 or two later to Monroe. 
 
 The first house erected on the plat was by James A. Tool. The same 
 season buildings were erected by Mrs. Mary S. Fleenor, W'illiam DeLong, 
 Daniel Hiskey, Dr. J. E. Teter, Hugh Patterson. William Peg and J. Kipp. 
 The building erected bv Mr. Hiskey was used by him for store purposes.
 
 2Q2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Peg was the first "village blacksmith."" These structures were all of the 
 frame tvpe. Hosea Alatthews had constructed a saw mill on Alikesell creek, 
 iust north of Red Rock, and lumber could be obtained at low figures. Most 
 of the buildings had the old style, heavy frames mortised together and fast- 
 ened with hardwood pins. Only three were ventured on the "balloon"' 
 frame plan. The timbers were hewed out. studding and all. The siding 
 was black walnut, the floors of oak, and the doors and window casings were 
 of walnut. Long shingles were used, being split and dressed by hand. 
 
 Late in 185 1 a school house was built in the town. 
 
 The first child to see the light of day here was the daughter of Mr. and 
 Airs. Ilill. She was christened Anna and became the wife of Stephen Shel- 
 lady, Esq. The eldest child of the Hill family was born in Des Moines in 
 1846 at the old fort, and was the second child born in the fort, the date of its 
 birth being the 9th of January, 1846. Had the child been a son, it was the 
 intention of Mr. Hill to name him Andrew Jackson, as its father was a rock- 
 rooted Democrat. 
 
 The first lawyer to hang out his shingle in Monroe was S. N. Lindley, 
 who did not remain long, however, but moved to the new town of Xewton. 
 In the county seat ]\Ir. Lindley became a successful lawyer and judge of much 
 note. 
 
 Monroe grew steadily until 1857, when it had reached about four hun- 
 dred population and was the center of a good business territory. The Des 
 Moines Valley railroad entered the town in the month of November, 1865, 
 and on the 24th of that month the first freight was unloaded from a car. 
 
 During the Civil war days Monroe was a lively place and it sent forth 
 its full share of men, as will be seen by reference to the War chapter. 
 
 In 1876, the Newton & Monroe railway entered the place and this gave 
 new life and encouragement to the town. The first road charged very high 
 rates for freight and caused the dealers at Monroe to lose heavily, especially 
 about 1 87 1 -2. but when connection was made at Newton with the great Rock 
 Island system, Chicago and all eastern rates were materially reduced. Many 
 of the Monroe dealers exchanged goods for time checks of laborers who djd 
 the railway construction work for the Iowa, ^Minnesota & Northern Rail- 
 road Company. l)ut were great losers in the end. as such paper proved almost 
 worthless. 
 
 INCORPORATION ITI.STORV. 
 
 Monroe became an incorporated town in December, 1867, but the final 
 legal papers were not properly completed until the autumn of 1868. The 
 records do not show the result of the first town election, but it is ijuite certain
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 293 
 
 that the first council met December 31. 1868, and was made up of the fol- 
 lowing gentlemen: W. L. LeFever, mayor; M. K. Campbell, recorder; L. 
 M. Shaw, Seth Dixon, J. B. Bennington, John Morrison. A. S. Elwood, 
 trustees: William Johnson, treasurer: John I. Nichols, marshal. 
 
 The first ordinance was one to restrain persons from hitching teams to 
 the fence around the public square. 
 
 Up to 1878 the sentiment of the people of Monroe was largelv in favor 
 of allowing liquors to be sold under a licensing system, at least for the sale 
 and use of ale. wine and beer, but at that date a new council was elected 
 with tliis in view and wiped the saloon from the town. 
 
 The following have served as mayors of Monroe : W. L. LeFever. 
 elected in 1868; J. Kipp, 1870: H. Green. 1872; J. C. McDill. 1873; J. B. 
 Bennington. 1874: L. M. Shaw, 1875; ^lelvin Nichols, 1876; G. \V. Hertzog, 
 1877: W. T. Stotts, 1879: Aaron Custer, 1880-81 : \V. G. Romans, 1882: D. 
 Hiskey, 1883: J. Cunningham, 1884; Z. Mosher, 1885; Z. ]\Iosher, 1886; G. 
 \\\ Hertzog, 1887-8: J. W. Honald. 1889; W. L. LeFever, 1890; Hugh Mor- 
 rison, 1891-93: S. S. Seger, 1894-6: Crane. 1896-7; Hugh Morrison, 
 
 1898: S. S. Seger, 1899: J. B. Gray, 1900-01 ; J. Koder, 1901-02: D. J. Lev- 
 eridge, 1902-3: G. ^L Cowles, 1904-05; J. Kbder, 1905-6-7; A. Palmer, 
 1908-9: \\'. T. W'olcott, 1910-11 
 
 The present town officers are W. T. Wolcott, mayor: D. C. Phillips, 
 clerk ; Jonas Barr. marshal : councilmen. C. C. Worth. George H. Orcutt. 
 George Ammer. O. G. Shaw, George Neft. 
 
 A gasoline gas plant provides sufficient light for the town. It was in- 
 stalled in 1902-3 at a cost of six thousand dollars, secured by floating bonds. 
 The town has a good brick city hall and jail, but needs water works. 
 
 In 1905 the population of Monroe was eight hundred and thirty-six, ac- 
 cording to the state census reports. 
 
 The banking interests are mentioned in the chapter on banking. 
 
 BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 
 
 In the spring of 19 10 the business and professional interests of this old 
 and interesting town were as follows : 
 
 General Dealers — James H. Cochrane, Frank J. Coffee, Custer Brothers 
 & Wright, Louis H. Yost. 
 
 Groceries — J. A. Murray. 
 
 Meat.s — Irwin Heffelfinger.
 
 294 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Live Stock — R. B. Hendershot. Mark Batenian, Charles Cramer, W. 1. 
 Shaw . W'ilHani Whitted. all breeders but the first named. 
 
 Drugs — \V. \\'. Townsend. 
 
 Lawyers — J. Kipp & Son, Jacob Koder. 
 
 Hardware and Plumbing — Ammer & Worth. 
 
 Blacksmith — George F. Anderson. 
 
 Physicians — Dr. Charles J. Alpin. Leonard \V. Cochrane (dentist), 
 Robert K. Gladson (dentist). In 191 1, D. H. Wheelwright, F. L. Smith. 
 
 Li\ery — George Corroy, Thomas W. Hancock 
 
 Merchant Tailor — Edwin A. Coburn. 
 . ?^Iillinery — Estella Broomfield, Mrs. Cora Ferguson. 
 
 Cigar Maker — Harry Demming. 
 
 Shoes — O. H. and L W. Fisher. 
 
 Hotel — Roberts House. 
 
 Lumber — Citizens" Lumber Company. 
 
 Furniture — J. & S. Scharf, Chicago Furniture Company (1911). 
 
 Exclusive Live Stock — Monroe Live Stock Company. 
 
 Newspaper — The Monroe Mirror. 
 
 Telephone Company — The Monroe Telephone Company, who built a 
 fine cement block exchange building in 1910. 
 
 Cement ^^'ork — L. T. Munson. 
 
 Real Estate— W. T. Stotts. 
 
 Buggies and \\'agons — Hetherington & Son. 
 
 THE CITY OF THE DE.\D. 
 
 The people of this community have ever taken much care and have a 
 just pride in their cemetery. The ^Monroe cemetery was established as a 
 private enterprise on the part of Daniel Hiskey, Esq., who. in 1871, pur- 
 chased twenty-two acres of land, at a cost of two thousand seven hundred 
 and fifty dollars, within a half mile of the public square. This was soon 
 fitted up and properly improved for a resting place for the departed dead of 
 the community. In 1878 the property was sold to F. M. Slusser, Esq. He 
 continued proprietor until his death, when his heirs, a son and daughter, 
 took the work up and have carried the same on ever since, although they reside 
 away from Monroe. Through pioneer hardware man, L. I\L Shaw, they 
 have had this burying place well cared for and improved. Aside from this 
 the citizens, especially the Ladies Association of Monroe, have accomplished 
 much to beautify the sacred enclosure and through their work have sue-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 295 
 
 ceeded in laying a fme cement walk from the city out the entire way to the 
 cemetery, a half mile, and they have also cared for all graves and grave lots 
 where relatives do not reside in Monroe. Xo obnoxious weeds and tall, un- 
 sightly grasses are permitted to grow on the grounds. The walk alone cost them 
 eight hundred dollars. With the return of each springtime, these grounds are 
 looked after and Memorial day is an interesting event in Monroe district, for 
 all gather and remember the graves of departed friends. Many fine shade 
 trees beautify the place. lx)th native and evergreens. There are many costly 
 monuments, including the John D. Long shaft, forty feet high, of white mar- 
 ble, surmounted by an angel figure of rare design. This monument was 
 raised by a Philadelphia firm who had to send a special freight wagon to 
 draw the material from the railroad to the cemetery, so huge were the parts, 
 including the great granite base. This monument, which cost ten thousand 
 dollars, was erected to the memory of the great cattle raiser and '"cattle king"' 
 of Jasper county, who at one time just before his death had eight hundred 
 acres of Jasper county land and a mansion on one tract of it. Strange to 
 relate, and seemingly without cause. Mr. Long took his own life by hanging, 
 alx)ut ten days prior to a great im[K)rted stock sale he was to have on his 
 farm. He left a daughter by his first marriage and his second wife, who was 
 buried beside him in the spring of 191 1. 
 
 When the construction of mausoleums l>ecame so popular a few years 
 since in Iowa a company, at an expense of twenty-two thousand dollars, 
 erected one on the Monroe cemetery grounds, on land purchased of the pro- 
 prietors. This was completed in 1909 and has two hundred and fifty crypts, 
 of which about forty are now disposed of. The prices at first were one hun- 
 dred dollars, but after Mr. Maytag, of Xewton. came into possession of the 
 place it was raised to one hundred and twenty-five dollars per crypt. It is a 
 massi\e piece of masonry, lined with pure white, polished marble. It con- 
 tains four tiers of crypts, one above another, for both children and adults. 
 This is a prixate institution and has mtthing to do with the cemetery proper. 
 
 POSTOFFICE IILSTORV. 
 
 There has been no record kept of this ofiice, except intermittently, so it 
 will be impossible to go much into details. It was one of the early offices in 
 Jasper count)- and the following gentlemen have served, with possibly one or 
 two more, but this seems to be about a correct list : Mrs. Adam Tool, first in 
 charge; Thomas Petete, 1854, John Hickey, W. L. Lefevre, Aaron Adams, 
 L W. Allum, O. B. Kipp, H. G. Nelson, John Vandernast. W. T. Stotts. H.
 
 296 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 A. Perrin. who receixed his appointment in 1897, and still holds the office ac- 
 ceptably to the patrons of the office H. J. Perrin is assistant postmaster. 
 
 Monroe postoffice was robbed May 14, 1902, when twenty-three dollars 
 in stamps and small change were taken from the money drawer. 
 
 VILLAGE OF FAIRMOUNT. 
 
 This is a station point on the old Des Moines Valley (now the Rock 
 Island branch) railroad, situated in Fairview township, midway between 
 Monroe and Prairie City. It is beautifully situated by nature, being on a 
 level plateau of prairie land separating the Des Moines from the Skunk rivers, 
 the timber from both streams being plainly in sight. In 1878 the place had 
 grown to possess a Methodist Episcopal church edifice, costing" almost two 
 thousand dollars. 
 
 At the date last mentioned Fairmount did considerable business in the 
 shipping of farm products, including many potatoes. The present business 
 of the place is confined to a few business houses, a church and the usual 
 small shops such as are demanded by the farming community. The county 
 directory of 1910-11 gave the population of Fairmount as fifty. The general 
 dealer was xA.rch Livingston, who was postmaster; grain dealer, J. M. Porter 
 & Sons. 
 
 A Methodist Episcopal church is sustained here, the same being cared 
 for by the pastor from Prairie City. The postoffice at Fairmount was estab- 
 lished in 1876. It is a fourth-class office, and has had but two postmasters, 
 George Volk and A. Livingston. It is a small office, having transacted only 
 one hundred dollars' worth of postal business during the last year. Two 
 mails are received and one sent each way daily. 
 
 FAIRVIEW TOWNSHIP AND THE CIV^IL WAR. 
 
 Fortunate, indeed, are the publisliers to obtain a true certified copy of 
 the list of soldiers who went from this township to the Civil war. The list 
 is certified to by R. C. Anderson and Roljert Elwood, sworn to before Notary 
 Public Simeon B. Tefft. January 11, 1865. The company and regiment in 
 which these men served will generally be found in the War chapter of this 
 work, hence will not be repeated in this connection, but their age will be here 
 published, showing, as it does, that l'\airview sent forth from her midst youth 
 and age. the best blood and flower of the community. Other townships may 
 have e(|ualed this, but no record is found :
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 297 
 
 Armstrong, Richard, aged forty. 
 
 Adams, Aaron, aged thirty-five. 
 
 Armstrong, Samuel, aged eighteen. 
 
 Brady, George, aged eighteen. 
 
 Bain, Robert, aged twenty. 
 
 Bain, James, aged eighteen. 
 
 Bargenholts, James, aged twenty. 
 
 Box. Joseph, aged twenty-eight. 
 
 Baker, Henry, aged twenty-three. 
 
 Beath. Thomas, aged twenty- four. 
 
 Buckhaher, Cason. aged forty-four. 
 
 Bargenhalts. Peter, aged eighteen. 
 
 Carr. Raymond, aged eighteen. 
 
 Campbell, M. K., aged twenty. 
 
 Cowles, H. A., aged eighteen. 
 
 Caple. S., aged eighteen. 
 
 Dowler. Henry, aged eighteen. 
 Deye. William, aged twenty-seven. 
 Dibble, Milo. aged twenty-five. 
 Eyerley. William R., aged twenty- 
 four. 
 Estella, William, aged nineteen. 
 Ell wood, A. G., aged thirty-seven. 
 Eyerly, J. B.. aged twenty-six. 
 Fudge, John C., aged twenty-one. 
 Fudge. James W., aged twenty- 
 three. 
 French. Angus, aged thirty-five. 
 Grubb, Sylvester, aged eighteen. 
 Grubb. W^illiam. aged eighteen. 
 Gray, Perry, aged forty. 
 Gray, John, aged twenty-one. 
 Gray. Samuel, aged nineteen. 
 Gray. James, aged eighteen. 
 Harcourt. Charles, aged twenty- 
 three. 
 Heron. David, aged twenty-one. 
 Hughes. Sylvester, aged nineteen. 
 Hawkins. David, aged fortv. 
 
 Hitchins, Joseph, aged thirty. 
 Howard, A., aged eighteen. 
 Hammond, J. Q.. aged twenty. 
 Hunter, Jacob, aged forty. 
 Hill. John, aged twenty-one. 
 Hill. Frank, aged twenty-five. 
 Hill. James, aged nineteen. 
 Hawling, Edward, aged thirty. 
 Hawkins, William A., aged eighteen. 
 Jordan. Isaac, aged eighteen. 
 Jones. T. K., aged eighteen. 
 Jones. G. G.. aged twenty-five. 
 Jordan, John, aged forty-three. 
 Kerr. Thomas, aged twenty-one. 
 Kerr, Wesley, aged eighteen. 
 Kerr. George, aged eighteen. 
 Knapp. William, aged twenty-two. 
 Knapp, C. D., aged thirty. 
 Kaiser, Christopher, aged eighteen. 
 Kindle. Joseph, aged thirty. 
 Loudenback. R., aged fifty. 
 Lapella. John P.. aged eighteen. 
 Loudenback. I. X.. aged twenty-two. 
 Lone. J. P., aged twenty-fi\e. 
 Loudenback, David, aged nineteen. 
 Loudenback, Joseph, aged twenty- 
 one. 
 Leeter. D. W.. aged twenty-two. 
 Mudgett. P., aged nineteen. 
 Mudgett, Woodbury, aged nineteen. 
 Mateer, John, aged thirty-five. 
 Mateer. Alex., aged twenty-five. 
 ?^forgan. Joseph, aged twenty-six. 
 Murphy. H. ]\L. aged twenty-eight. 
 -Murphy, William, aged twenty-one. 
 Montgomery, James, aged eighteen. 
 Moore. W. W., aged twenty-eight. 
 Mathews. Peter, aged twenty. 
 Mortimore. Ephraim. aged eighteen.
 
 298 
 
 TASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mathews, Alfrey, aged eighteen. 
 
 Mathias. Henry, aged thirty-four. 
 
 McKee. Robert, aged nineteen. 
 
 McBride, John, aged eighteen. 
 :McDonald, Charles, aged twenty- 
 one. 
 
 McWilliams. Henry, aged twenty. 
 
 McDonald, Allen, aged thirty. 
 
 McReynolds, Ew-ing. aged twenty- 
 two. 
 
 McReynolds, David, aged twenty- 
 six. 
 
 McCarthy, J. W.. aged twenty-one. 
 
 Xitnnio, David, aged twenty-three. 
 
 Nelson, H. G., aged forty. 
 
 Painter. James, aged twenty-two. 
 
 Porter, Andrew J., aged twenty-one. 
 
 Porter, Robert, aged eighteen. 
 
 Porter. A\'illiam, aged twenty. 
 
 Priddy, D. M., aged forty-two. 
 
 Parker, Joshua, aged thirty-one. 
 
 Patterson, James, aged eighteen. 
 
 Pattison, Alex., aged fifty-five. 
 
 Romans, A. D., aged twenty-two. 
 
 Rice, Frank, aged twenty-five. 
 
 Richardson, Norris. aged twenty- 
 five. 
 
 Rogers, Edward, aged eighteen. 
 
 Rutter, James G., aged thirty-one. 
 
 Rutter. John, aged twenty-one. 
 
 Rutter, David, aged eighteen. 
 
 Robison, Jasper, aged eighteen. 
 
 Robison, George, aged twenty. 
 
 Sumney, Anthony, aged thirty-three. 
 Sumney, Ransom, aged twenty-one. 
 Staler, William, aged nineteen. 
 Schooley, William E., aged eigh- 
 teen. 
 Schooley, James, aged forty. 
 Stem, Jacob, aged twenty- four. 
 Scott, David, aged twenty-two. 
 Scott, David, aged twenty-three. 
 Scott, James, aged twenty-one. 
 Story, John H., aged forty-two. 
 Story. James, aged eighteen. 
 Shellady, Stephen, aged eighteen. 
 Shelledy. S. B., aged sixty. 
 Shelledy, John E., aged twenty -five. 
 Stevens, James, aged eighteen. 
 Sterrett, Robert, aged forty-four. 
 Starrett. Finley. aged eighteen. 
 Thorne, George, aged twenty. 
 Taylor, James, aged twenty-six. 
 Tefft, Seneca, aged eighteen. 
 Taylor. James C, aged twenty- four. 
 Taylor, Columbus, aged twenty-two. 
 Taylor, John, aged thirty-five. 
 \^olk, ^Michael, aged twenty-two. 
 Vaughan. H. C, aged twenty-two. 
 Wood, Eli F.. aged twenty-five. 
 Whitted. Aaron, aged eighteen. 
 Wilson. James, aged nineteen. 
 \\'inkler, Theodore, aged eighteen. 
 Whitman. Adam, aged eighteen. 
 \\'estfall, Leander, aged twenty-two. 
 
 VETERANS WHO RE-ENLISTKD. 
 
 These are the soldiers from Fairview township who veteranized : Robert 
 W. McKee, H. C. Vaughan. Ransom Sumney. Robert Bain, Thomas Kerr, 
 William Eyerley, Sylvester Flughes, I. N. Loudenback, Leander W^estfall,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 299 
 
 E. McReynolds, J. O. Hamniond. John Hill, James G. Rutter, William 
 Murphy, John Schooley, William Mills, William Estee. Alex. Livingston, 
 S. V. Shelledy, O. W. Buckhalter, Jeff Long, John Scheck, John Hiskey, H. 
 Stem, Samuel McRevnolds.
 
 CHAPTER XXI. 
 
 MOrXn PRAIRIE TOWNSHIP. 
 
 This sub-division of Jasper county is in the southwestern part of the 
 county, comprises about twenty-seven sections of land, for the most part sit- 
 uated in township 79. ranges 20 and 21 west. It is bounded on the north- 
 east by the South fork of the Skunk river, that stream being the Hne be- 
 tween it and Sherman township. It is of quite irregular form, owing to 
 the meanderings of the river. A ix)rtion of Prairie City is within this town- 
 ship, while the remainder is situated in Des Moines township. The north 
 line of the township is traversed by the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific rail- 
 road, which enters W^ashington township at Colfax, just to the west line of 
 Mound Prairie township. 
 
 A half dozen or more small tributaries of the Skunk river flow from 
 the southwest to the northeast through this township. But little native 
 timber ever grew within this township, but the farming land on the prairies 
 is of an excellent character and has come to be verv- valuable. The only 
 village within the township, aside from a portion of Prairie City, is Metz. a 
 small station point on the Rock Island railroad. 
 
 Mound Prairie was organized in February. 1857, under the old county 
 judge .system. The order of the court creating this township organization 
 reads as follows : "That there be a township organized by the name of 
 Mound Prairie, bounded as follows: Commencing at the northwest corner 
 of section 3. township 79. range 20. thence west on the township line to the 
 northwest corner of township 79. range 21 ; thence west on the countv line 
 to the southwest corner of said township and range; thence east on the 
 township line to the southeast corner of section ^^. township 79. range 20; 
 thence north on the section line to the quarter section stake on the east side 
 of .section ii. same town.ship and range: thence west one mile: thence north 
 to place of beginning.'' 
 
 It will be seen that this took in much more tcrritorv than the present 
 township does. Washington township was not yet cut ofT and made into a 
 township organization. 
 
 Among the original land entries in this township, as first organized, 
 were the following: Elbert Evans, on the southwest of section 2. range 20.
 
 JASPER COUNT V, IOWA. 3OI 
 
 October 28, 1848; John Rodgers, in the southwest quarter of northeast range 
 20, of section 2, October 21, 1848. 
 
 The state census returns for 1905 gave this township a population of 
 1.393- 
 
 In 1878 the township paid a personal tax on $45,867, including the 
 items of 544 horses; 39 mules; 1,067 head of cattle over six months of age. 
 
 In 1877 the total real estate and personal tax of this township was re- 
 corded as $276,776, on which a tax was turned into the county treasurer 
 amounting to $4,575.26. See table of present township valuations, m the 
 chapter on County Government. 
 
 The people of Mound Prairie ha^■e ever been on the alert for the in- 
 troduction of the best public school methods and have had standard Jasper 
 county public schools from the earliest date of its history. Much concerning 
 schools, churches, lodges, etc., in this township will be incorporated in the 
 general chapters of this volume, under their proper and respective headings. 
 
 EARLY SETTLERS. 
 
 The first settler in this township was Joseph Slaughter, of section 5, 
 and he came in 1845 ^"^ built a log cabin, went back east and returned with 
 his family in the spring of 1846. 
 
 Samuel K. Parker settled in 1847. He had a saw mill operated by 
 Robert Warner. 
 
 In 1853 John Sumpter settled on section 7. He became the first justice 
 of the peace of this township. Then there were a few settlers on the east 
 side of the river before 1855, in what is now known as the Metz corner, and 
 among these were the Millers, L. D. Samms, who came in 1849; James, 
 John and G. W. Miller, of 1853. with possibly others who settled for a short 
 time and moved on west. 
 
 At that date the facilities for home and comfort were not excellent, 
 only for the stout-hearted, brave and self-denying spirits. The nearest post- 
 office was at Tool's Point: a grist mill at Red Rock; a corn-cracker on the 
 Indian creek, near present Colfax; all merchandise had to be hauled on 
 wagons from the Mississippi river ; salt was seven dollars a barrel : cut nails 
 fifteen cents per pound and other articles in proportion. 
 
 Coal was first discovered in this county in 1846 by a young man on 
 the Slaughter place. 
 
 Reaping with a reaper was first accomplished in this township in 1857 
 with an old Rugg reaper.
 
 302 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 Following the settlers already mentioned, may also be recalled the 
 following: E. R. Peck; on section 19 was Riley Scoyac, who remained until 
 1857; Daniel Shepherd; and possibly a few more in the early fifties. 
 
 The first school was taught as a private school by Mrs. Charles Kendall 
 in the kitchen of her small house in 1856. This stood on the southwest 
 quarter of section 8. The first school house in this township was erected on 
 the southwest corner of the east half of the southwest quarter of section 7 
 and among the first teachers there was Samuel Gooden. 
 
 The fencing all had to Ije of rails split from the nearby forests, and if 
 for no other reason the timber sections of the country were always occupied 
 first, this being many years prior to barb wire inventions. Then the timber 
 afforded better protection against the severe winter blasts. The winter 
 season was usually put in by these pioneers at rail splitting and getting out 
 logs, some of which went twenty miles to be sawed into floor stuff for cabin 
 homes. The diet was usually corn bread, corn cakes and honey and plenty 
 of prairie chicken breasts. 
 
 In 1843 a mounted company of dragoons passed through this township 
 from Iowa City to Raccoon Forks or Fort Des Moines. They crossed the 
 Skunk at Samuel K. Parker's place. 
 
 In 1849 set in the heavy California emigration to the faraway gold 
 fields. 
 
 In 1856-7 the Momions passed through on their way to Salt Lake, in 
 colonies of from five hundred to one thousand daily, with their hand-carts 
 loaded with all their earthly possessions. Each company had a few wagons 
 and good tents for the leaders and the sick ones. The hand-carts were 
 rough and unsafe for such a long trip. 
 
 The same road was lined from sunrise to dark in 1859 with Pike's 
 Peak trains, and then the Skunk bottoms were next to impassable. The 
 suffering of both man and beast will never be known. 
 
 The first railroad in this township made its advent in 1867. the Rock 
 Island system. 
 
 In 1894 Seth W. Macy sunk the first hole for coal so far out on the 
 prairies and struck five feet of good coal. Hanson & Nay lor later opened 
 a large bank near this point in the township. Now one of the most valuable 
 coal mines in Iowa is situated on the R. N. Stewart farm on section 17. 
 
 The winter of 1855-6 was long to be remembered, being one of the 
 severest on record. Snow stood thirty inches deep on a level in the timber 
 and much suffering was experienced all over Iowa.
 
 JASPER COrXTV. IOWA. 3O3 
 
 THE VILLAGE OF METZ 
 
 Metz is the small railroad station situated midway between Xewton on 
 the east and Colfax on the west. In 1877 it is said to have contained but a 
 half dozen buildings, all told. It was put in here by the railroad company 
 as an accommodation to the farming community, where stock and other 
 farm products might be shipped and where lumber and fuel might be pur- 
 chased from the local dealers. It is situated on section 11, and was platted 
 in 1883. by William Hitchler. It now contains about eighty population. Its 
 present business consists of a general store by Jesse H. Clement, who is also 
 the postmaster : the grain business is carried on by D. J. Eberhart. Recently a 
 Baptist church has been organized and a house of worship erected, at least is 
 now in course of erection : it is a frame building in the northern part of town. 
 
 VILLAGE OF SEVERS. 
 
 This is a coal mining town and has never grown to great proportions. 
 It is at the terminus of a coal spur extending out from Colfax. A postoffice 
 was established there many years ago.
 
 CHAPTER XXII. 
 
 ROCK CREEK TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Rock Creek township is on the eastern border of Jasper county and 
 the second from the north hne of the county. It comprises all of congres- 
 sional township Xo. 80, range 17 west, except section 31, in the southwest 
 corner which belongs in Kellogg" township. Hickory Grove township lies to 
 the north; Poweshiek county to the east; Richland township at the south 
 and Kellogg township on its west. In the central and eastern portions is a 
 fine body of native timber. Rock creek, a beautiful stream, with its branches 
 affords ample drainage for this township, which for the greater part is made 
 up of excellent prairie farming" lands, now of high value on account of the 
 price of land and its exceptional fine productive qualities. The Rock Island 
 railroad runs through its domain from east to west, bearing to the south- 
 east in its course. 
 
 According to the state census reports in 1905, the population of Rock 
 Creek township was seven hundred and twenty- four. It takes its name evi- 
 dently from the stream of the same name, a tributary of the Skunk river. 
 
 Among the first original entries of government land within this town- 
 ship may be mentioned Theodore Whitney, in the northwest of section 9, 
 on October 27, 1848; Charles G. Adams, in the north half of the northeast 
 quarter of section 27, and the south half of the southeast of section 22, on 
 the same date. 
 
 This township was set off from Lynn Grove township September 4, 
 1854. The first election was held at the house of James Elliott. This sub- 
 division of Jasper county was described as being congressional township 
 X^os. 80 and 81, range 17 west. Later Hickory Grove was formed from its 
 northern half. 
 
 Among the fatal accidents in this township is recalled by those living- 
 there in 1874, that of Washington Young, who was struck by lightning on 
 September 19th of that year and instantly killed, while standing in front of 
 his blacksmith shop. A man and boy standing" near him were badly shocked, 
 but not materially injured. During the same thunder storm, a barn be- 
 longing to J. H. Russell, living five miles southwest of X^wton, was set on 
 fire by lightning and totally destroyed.
 
 r 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 305 
 
 Rock Creek is purely an agricultural district and has hundreds of most 
 excellent, well improved farms, upon which reside a happy, contented and 
 prosperous people. 
 
 To show the general sentiment of the township, in April. 1855, when 
 the prohibition of the sale of lifpior came up through a vote in Jasper county, 
 it may be stated that the vote stood eight for the law and twelve against. 
 
 In 1878 the total assessed ^•alue of all personal property in the town- 
 ship was $38,805. including that levied on 477 head of horses; 17 head of 
 mules and 989 head of taxable cattle. 
 
 In 1877 t^i^ total \aluation of both personal and real estate was 
 $275,590. on which the sum of $5,280 was paid into the county treasury. 
 The reader is referred to the table in the County Government chapter on 
 total valuations of the various townships in Jasper county as in comparison 
 to the figures of this year. 
 
 The schools and churches are mentioned at length in chapters especially 
 on these topics for the whole county. 
 
 THE VILLAGE OF TURNER. 
 
 Turner is a little hamlet on the Rock Island railroad on the line of sec- 
 tions 23 and 28 of Rock Creek township, fourteen miles east of Newton. It 
 affords a good trading point, in a small way, for the adjacent community of 
 farmers. The recent dealers there are : General merchandise. Lena Diehl ; 
 creamery. E. B. Elliott; postmaster, O. J. Turner; live stock, coal and lum- 
 ber, O. J. Turner. 
 
 (20)
 
 CHAPTER XXIII. 
 
 ELK CREEK TOWNSHIP. 
 
 I'^lk Creek township is situated on the south hue of Jasper county and 
 comprises almost forty sections of land, all in township 78, range 18 west, 
 except about three sections which lie in range 19, of the same congressional 
 township. 
 
 It is bounded on the north by Buena Vista and Palo Alto townships ; 
 on the east by Lynn Grove township; on the south by Mahaska county and 
 Fairview townshi[). Jasper county; on the west by Palo Alto and Fairview 
 townships. 
 
 This civil township was organized May, 1846, as one of the original 
 townships or precincts of the county of Jasper. For a description of its 
 original boundaries the reader is referred to the chapter on County Or- 
 ganization, elsewhere in this work. 
 
 The pioneer settlers who came in to this fair and fertile portion of 
 Jasper count}- were men and women of sterling worth and possessed the 
 true Western settler traits of character and indeed they "builded better than 
 they knew." 
 
 Among the first to enter government land in this section of the county 
 were: John J. Mudgett, the west fractional part of the southwest quarter of 
 section 29, on December 16, J 856, and the same person on parts of section 
 30. September 4, 1847; James A. Tool, on the east half of the northwest 
 (piarter of section 34, September 4. 1847; the same in the southwest of sec- 
 tion 27, on the same date. The lands were purchased from the general 
 government at one dollar and twenty-five cents per acre and are now certain 
 of being worth from sixty to one hundred and fifty dollars ])er acre. This 
 shows the reader the base of much of Jasjjcr countN's wealth. 
 
 The first sermon ever preached within Elk Creek township was by Rev. 
 -Mr. Hitchcock, a Congregational missionary, at the house of M. D. Springer, 
 in the early spring of 1846. Twenty or more persons were his attentive aud- 
 ience. Xo attempt was made to form a church there then. 
 
 The schools and churches of this townshij) appear in iheir resi)ective 
 places in chapters on these subjects. It may be said, however, in passing.
 
 JASI'KR tOlNTV. IOWA. 3O7 
 
 that in March, 1851. the record shows that the school fund a])p(jrtionnient 
 for Elk Creek township aiiiounted to the sniii of tweKe dollars and twenty- 
 seven cents. 
 
 At the general election in iS3_>, when (leneral Scott and hVankiin 
 Pierce were running for President of the L'nited States, the vote in Elk 
 Creek township stood, ten for Scott and three for Pierce. 
 
 In 1855 the question of prohihition of intoxicating liquors in Jasper 
 county resulted at an election in which tlie \ote in Elk Creek township was 
 thirteen for the law and thirty against prohihition. It carried, however, in 
 the county hy thirty-five votes. 
 
 In 1878 the total amount of personal property assessed in Elk Creek 
 township was $83,267. This included the items of 786 horses, 66 mules 
 and asses, and 1,670 cattle. 
 
 As to the valuation and taxes on property of all kinds in this town.ship 
 in 1877. the books show that it amounted to $356,410, and that the taxes 
 turned into the treasury were $5,073. I^he state census returns in 1905 fixed 
 the population as being 909. 
 
 VILLAGE OF GALESBURG. 
 
 The village, or hamlet of Galesburg, on section 16 of this township, is 
 five miles east of Reasoner. It was recorded of it in 1878 that it contained a 
 good store which drew trade from a large farming section. It once had a 
 postoffice, but after the establishment of rural delivery of mail in the county 
 it was discontinued. A general store is conducted there by A. A. AUoway; 
 also one l)y William C. DeBruyns and A. Graffs. The village blacksmith is 
 C. Breen. At an early day there was hopes of this becoming a much larger 
 place than it has attained to.
 
 CHAPTER XXIV. 
 
 MARIPOSA TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Mariposa township is the second from the east and lies on the north hne 
 of the county, comprising congressional township No. 8i, range 17 west. It 
 is almost entirely a prairie township, having a few small streams. Its soil 
 is fertile and its farms are among the most valuable and productive of any in 
 the county. To its north is Marshall county; to its east is Hickory Grove 
 township; to its south is Kellogg township and on its west is Malaka town- 
 ship. Its population in 1905 w^as placed in the state enumeration reports as 
 being six hundred and twelve. 
 
 Mariposa was organized in the month of February, 1857, by the county 
 judge then in office. The record says, "Ordered that there be a new township 
 formed by the name of Mariposa, bounded as follows : Commencing at the 
 northeast corner of township 81, range 18; thence west to the northwest 
 corner of said township; thence south to the range line to the southwest 
 corner of section 19, in township 80, range 18; thence on the section line to 
 the southeast comer of section 24 in said township and range; thence north 
 on the range line to place of beginning."' 
 
 Among the first to enter government land in this township were : Ben- 
 jamin Springer, in the fractional half of the northwest quarter of section 7, 
 on May 15, 1854; Almond Bird, in the sowtheast of section 33, July i, 1854. 
 
 The settlement prospered and the lands l>ecame e(]ually valuable to that of 
 <jlder and timbered portions of the county. In 1878 the records show that 
 this township had a personal tax valuation amounting to $40,322, on which 
 they paid into the treasury the sum of v$700. In 1877 the total value of all 
 taxable propcrt\-, personal and real, was $218,239, which caused the taxpayers 
 to deposit in the county funds the sum of $3,365.13. 
 
 This township has always kept al)reast with the average township in 
 jasper county in the matter of roads, l)ridges and schools, the people being 
 full}' up-to-date and possessed of the true American spirit of "go-ahead.'' 
 With the advent of the rural mail delivery and the telephone system in the 
 county, Maripo.sa has l>een gready benefited by these necessities, as viewed 
 from a modern farmer's standpoint. 
 
 The schools, churches, etc., connected witli this townshij) are treated in 
 general cliapters on tliese to])ics, hence need not here be repeated.
 
 CHAPTER XXV. 
 
 MALAKA TOWNSHIP. 
 
 This is the largest township within Jasper county. It is situated cen- 
 trally east and west and is on the northern hne of the county, bordering on 
 Marshall county, with Mariposa and Kellogg townships at its east; Xewton 
 township on the south and Sherman and Independence on the west. It has 
 forty-eight sections of land, and comprises township 8i and two tiers of sec- 
 tion of township 80, range 19 west. 
 
 This township was organized in February, 1S57. by the then county 
 judge. The record of its formation is as follows: "Commencing *m the 
 northeast corner of township 81, range 19; thence west on the countv line 
 to the northwest corner of section 2, in township 81. range 20; thence south 
 on the section line to the southeast corner of section 12. township 80, range 
 19; thence north on the range line to the place of beginning.'' 
 
 According to the census reports of 1905 taken by the state authorities, 
 this township had a population at that date of six hundred and twenty-four. 
 
 Robert H. Snyder entered government land in the northwest (piarter 
 of the northwest (juarter of section 23, township 81, range 19, on November 
 16, 1852; Greenberry Bridges, the southwest quarter of the northwest quarter 
 of section 27, on the same date. 
 
 This is one of Jasper county's almost exclusive prairie townships and is 
 now well developed into valuable, high-priced farms with a happy, prosperous 
 and contented populace. However, it is without railroad or near-by town 
 market places, depending upon the city of Newton largely for such 
 accommodations. 
 
 This township became the seat of the famous \\'ittemberg Manual La- 
 bor College, mentioned at length in the Educational chapter. 
 
 The taxes paid on the personal property in this township in 1878 
 amounted to $90,680, inclusive of the items of 849 head of horses; 51 head of 
 mules and asses and 2,333 ^^^^<^1 '^^ cattle over six months of age. The year 
 prior to that (1877) the total tax of the township, personal and realty, 
 amounted to $5,760, while the total valuation was placed at $370,400. 
 
 Several other items connected with the history of this township will be 
 found under their proper headings in the general chapters, including the 
 churches, schools, etc.
 
 cii.\rT]-:k x.w 1. 
 
 UES MOINES TOWN SHIP. 
 
 Des Moines is the extreme southwestern township of Jasper county. It 
 is composed of township 78, range 21 west, and a part of range 22 of the same 
 township. It is eight miles from east to west and six from north to south. 
 The "correction hue"" runs on the north line of this township, hence there oc- 
 curs a set-off, or jog, the townships to the north being set over to the west one 
 mile on account of this correction line. The southern portion of this sub- 
 division of Jasper county is quite well supplied with native timber, of excellent 
 varieties. Numerous little streams course through the domain, making it 
 one of rare beauty and fertility. To its east lies Fairview township; to its 
 south is Marion county ; to its west is Polk county ; and on its north are 
 Washington and Mound Prairie townships, Jasper county. 
 
 In 1905 its population was one thousand and eighty. For an account of 
 its schools and churches, the reader is referred to the general chapters on these 
 topics. 
 
 Of the organization of this township it should be stated that it was among 
 the original townships set off in jasper county and has a history dating back 
 to May, 1846, when the county was organized into precincts. It was described 
 by the record as comprising "a precinct laid oft' in the southwest corner of the 
 county, to be called Des Moines, said precinct to contain all the territory west 
 of the Indian boundary line, and all south of the territorial road leading from 
 Oskaloosa to Fort Des Moines, within said Jasper county." 
 
 .Among the first to enter go\ernment land in this township were ; Na- 
 than l^jrown, in the east half of the southwest quarter of section 26, on Sep- 
 tember 26, 1848; (ieorge Anderson, on the west half of the northwest quar- 
 ter of section 30, on the same date. 
 
 The sch(Kjl fund apportionment for 1 (S5 i was thirteen dollars and twenty- 
 seven cents for Des Moines township. 
 
 In 1852, at the presidential election, this townshi]) cast sexenteen votes 
 for Cien. Winfield Scott and fifteen for ['"ranklin Pierce for President of the 
 United States. 
 
 In .\ijril. 1855, at an election o\er the \ exed (|uestion of selling or not 
 .selling intoxicating li(|uors in Jasper county, the vote stood in this township, 
 twenty for and thirty against tlie measure of ])roliihition.
 
 I JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 3II 
 
 The records show that in iHjcS the personal property in Des Moines 
 township amounted to $85,609. inchuhnj,^ such articles as 865 horses, 133 
 mules and asses, and i,<j^^ head of cattle. 
 
 In 1877 the books show that this townshi[) had a total of $408,647 in all 
 kinds of property, and on this paid taxes into the treasury to the amount of 
 $6,268.13. 
 
 TOWNS AND VILLAGES. 
 
 In this township are the towns of Prairie City and Vandalia. The 
 former is situated on the northern border line and is a station point on the 
 first railroad in Jasper county, the old Des Moines Valley line, now owned 
 and operated by the great Rock Island systeuL It was written (^f this enter- 
 prising town as early as 1877 that it was one of the best of its size in all Iowa 
 and that Iowa towns ^vere the best of any between the two great oceans. It 
 was at hrst named Elliott, but changed in 1856 to Prairie City. The first 
 settlement was effected here in the autumn of 1851 l)y William Means, soon 
 followed bv James H. Elliott in 1852, and he in turn succeeded by Anderson 
 Boyd in 1853. The first building was erected by the owner of the plant and 
 it was used as a blacksmith shop. William Robertson built the first dwelling 
 and the pioneer store was a small building removed from Monroe on a wagon 
 by Benjamin Adams, this being done before the town had been surveyed. 
 George W. Bailey opened the next store. A school house was built in the 
 summer of 1856. but the first school taught in this township was by Isaac 
 Hershman in a small building owned by James H. Elliott, this being in 1855. 
 It stood until 1877, when it was torn down from its original site, which was 
 lot No. 6, block No. 10, of Prairie City. 
 
 The first preaching here was by a Methodist preacher in the fall of 1853. 
 
 The first deaths were children of Anderson Boyd, who died of scarlet 
 fever in the fall of 1854. 
 
 Prairie City grew rajjidly from 1865 on for several years. The Des 
 Moines Valley Railroad reached this point in 1866 and then came a genuine 
 healthv boom. By 1878 its population had reached about nine hundred, 
 which is probably in excess of its present population by a hundred or more. 
 In 1878 it reported to a local historian that it possessed two good banks, a 
 large flouring mill, two grain elevators, and the usual number of shops and 
 stores. 
 
 Its location, geographically and topographically, make it one desirable 
 to live in. as it stands on almo.st level table-lands separating the Des ^loines 
 from the Skunk rivers.
 
 312 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 To gi\e the reader a faint glimpse of what this town was in pubhc en- 
 terprise ami spirit in i860, it may he well to descril>e the Fourth of July cele- 
 bration of that year. It was celebrated in splendid style, by a procession form- 
 ing on the public square at ten o'clock in the morning, officered by Isaiah 
 Coombs. George Fugard, James F. Parker, Fletcher :\linshall, J. H. Elliott 
 and R. H. McConnell, headed by the Newton Brass Band. A. F. McConnell 
 read the Declaration of Independence and addresses were made by H. S. 
 W'inslow. Judge Phillips, of Des Moines, Thomas S. Osborn. of Chicago, and 
 Rev. Caleb Bundy. Six hundred people sat at dinner around a table heavily 
 loaded with all that was palatable, the length of the improvised table being 
 four hundred feet. 
 
 A later Independence Day celebration was of not so pleasing a character. 
 It was that of 18^)9, when several young men were saluting by the firing of 
 an anvil when some one mentioned the fact that the town afforded another 
 an\il. which was brought forward, l)urst with the first shot or discharge. 
 It proved to be a cast iron one, hence not safe. The bursting of this anvil 
 instantly killed a Mr. Anderson, of Prairie City, a man sixty years old ; also 
 Mr. Rockbold, of Vandalia, besides severely wounding several others in the 
 crowd of by-standers. 
 
 Prairie City was incorporated and its first council met October 14, 1868, 
 when Sidney Williams was mayor. In March, 1869, the work of sidewalk 
 building engaged the attention of the people and the council. In July, the 
 same year, a town jail or calaboose was erected for the unruly ones who 
 chanced to l)e within the town's gates. The mayors from then on included 
 1). M. Bartlett, 1869: C. Smith, in 1875; D. G. Winchell, 1876; E. R. Ward, 
 in 1877; A. H. Brous, 1881-83; L. A. Williams, 1883-85; G. J. Comman, 
 1885-89; M!. Feathers, 1889-91; I. W. Shriver, 1891-95; C. M. Baird, 1895- 
 97; F. J. Cowman, 1897-99; C. M. Baird, 1899-1901 ; George K. Scott, 1901- 
 03; D. H. Gill, 1903-07; C. M. Baird, 1907-10; J. W. Hayes. 1910-12. 
 
 ,\ nine-thousand-dollar water works plant was voted in 1904 and it is 
 now doing service. The present city clerk is Frank C. Turner, who is capable 
 for his duties. 
 
 The lodges and churches of this place will be treated in their respective 
 chapters elsewhere in this work. 
 
 The postoffice history of tliis place begins with its establishment in about 
 1855. It is now situated on the north side of the square. The first rural 
 route was established from this point in July, 1902, and there are now two 
 routes leading to the surrounding country. The amount of business trans- 
 acted during the year 1910 at this postoffice was three hundred and fiftv dol-
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 3I3 
 
 lars. Five mails are received here daily. On the night of April 21, 1909, the 
 safe of this postoffice was blown open by two burglars, and stamps, etc., to 
 the amount of eight hundred dollars and postal funds to the amount of about 
 one hundred and seventy-five dollars was taken out. Xo clue has ever been 
 obtained to the rcjbbery. 
 
 The following have served as postmasters at Prairie City : James 
 Elliott, J. Irely. John Butters. Caleb Bundy, D. M. Bartlett, Dennis Win- 
 chell. Jc^hn Lyons. A. H. Brous. T. J. Cowman, J(jhn Sell)y. W. H. Price. 
 Jacol) Mummert and the present incumbent, T. W. Xixon. 
 
 The town is provided with a handsome park, a full square, in which are 
 now growing a large number of artificial trees, which, with the band-stand 
 in the center, makes an attractive place. 
 
 The Knights of Pythias. Independent Order of Odd Fellows and Masons 
 have lodges — see chapter on Lodges in this volume. 
 
 The churches here represented are the Christian, Methodist Episcopal, 
 Congregational. Christian Reformed (Dutch). 
 
 BUSINESS DIRECTORY IN I9II. 
 
 Banking — The First National and the State Bank. 
 
 Prairie City Milling Company — Peter Wagman, miller. 
 
 Dowden Manufacturing Co. — Makers of end-gates and potato diggers. 
 
 Prairie City Grain and Live Stock Company — George V^anderz, manager. 
 
 General Dealers — F. J. Christie. George Cross. Illias. 
 
 Hardware Dealers — Little & Gill Company, Jenks & Son. 
 
 Drugs — X. D. Riddle. J. F. Freeman. 
 
 Harness— E. C. Wilson. 
 
 Restaurant — E. K. Ballogh. A. A. Jones. 
 
 Hotels— The Main and the Feathers. ■ 
 
 Furniture — ^^^ A. Thomas. 
 
 Novelty Store — M. Feathers. 
 
 Postmaster — T. \V. Nixon. 
 
 Millinery — Carrie White. 
 
 Meats — \>rhaalen & \^erdught. 
 
 Railroad Agent — Frank Joy. 
 
 Blacksmiths — Rantlall & Son. Ren fro & Bowen. 
 
 Dentist — Dr. D. ]\I. Hemminger. 
 
 Billiard Hall— F. E. Davis. 
 
 Auctioneer — Col. John T. Graham.
 
 -I^^ JASPER COIXTV. IOWA. 
 
 Shoes and Clothing — D. Kramer & Co. 
 
 Barbers — W'aher Hugen, Alex. Ray. 
 
 Newspaper — The Prairie City Nezus. 
 
 General Insurance — Frank L. \Voodard. 
 
 Stationery — Leonard May. 
 
 Books and Confectionary — H. C. Cowman. 
 
 Livery — William Dutley. 
 
 Lumber — McKleven & Co. 
 
 Physicians — Drs. J. F. Hary. \\'. B. Chase, W. D. AlcCormaughey. ' 
 
 Attorneys — A. A. Arnold, A. H. Brous. 
 
 Opera House — The L'nion Mall. W. S. F'arker. i)roprietor. 
 
 VANDALI.\ VILLAGE. 
 
 \^andalia was laid out in 1851. John 0. Deakin and family were the 
 life of earlv \'andalia. The first store in the place was opened by Henry 
 Shearer. Mr. Deakin's father-in-law. 
 
 A school house was provided in 1856, and by a few years more the 
 place had outgrown the most sanguine expectations of its founder. In 1861 
 it was a better town than Monroe and kept on holding its enterprise until 
 1865. when it had a population of about five hundred. There were four 
 general stores, two mills, two hotels, three blacksmith shops, two wagon shops 
 and a good plow factory. Before that date had been formed both a 
 Christian and Presbyterian church society. 
 
 The Des Moines Valley road had planned to take in this village on its 
 southeastern route, but finding that they could legally avail themselves of 
 every other section of valuable land, even if they did go in a ^■ery crooked 
 and extended course through the domain of the state, they decided to go 
 farther out and leave Vandalia out in the rural district in which she had 
 been so long located. It was the old Des Moines Navigation Companv liack 
 of the building of this railroad, and its litigation was the tliorn in the side of 
 every Congress until finally adjusted, about 1885. Many of the original 
 settlers all along the river, as far north as Fort Dodge, lost all they had ])ut 
 on their lands in way of twenty years improvements. 
 
 EARLY DAY.S IN TTTE VILLAGE. 
 
 .\t \'andalia, the first claim was taken by John O. Deakin, in 1845, 
 while Iowa was yet a territory. He removed from Henry countv. Iowa, in 
 the following year, and not long after his settlement he was joined bv liis 
 wife's parents, Henry Shearer and wife, and George Anderson and wife.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 315 
 
 Dnrini^- his first year's sojourn, Mr. Deakin believed he had located in Polk 
 county, and he cast his vote in that county in the fall of 1846. Me also served 
 as a grand juryman from Polk county. 
 
 The hrst birth in the village was that of a child of Mr. and Mrs. An- 
 derson in the fall of 1849. 
 
 The first death was that of a child of Mr. and Mrs. Deakin, which oc- 
 curred in 1848. 
 
 The first school house was erected in 1850, but a school had been taught 
 by George Reese, the previous winter. The patrons of this first school were 
 inclusive of these : Elias Prunty, Abner Ray, George Anderson, Alexander 
 Black and J. Q. Deakin. 
 
 In 1848 Mr. Deakin built a saw mill on Camp creek, near the west line 
 of the county. He cut large quantities of native lumber and patrons to his 
 mill came for many miles distant with logs. Two years later he commenced 
 the building of a flouring mill and carding machine, where \'andalia now 
 stands. In digging a well for his carding factory, he struck a vein of soft 
 coal about twenty feet below the surface. It was found to be four feet thick, 
 and was used for heating his buildings during the winter. 
 
 With the construction of the old Des Moines \^alley railroad, the present 
 Rock Island route, Vandalia began to go down, it being an inland town. 
 Today many know not of its former history. Its present business is con- 
 fined to a general store conducted by John Cavatt.
 
 CHAPTER XXVII. 
 
 KELLOGG TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Second from the north and the same from the east, in Jasper county, is. 
 Kellogg township, which is all of congressional township No. 80, range 18 
 west. It is for the most part a fertile prairie section of the county. Its 
 Ix-autiful streams are (juite numerous, and these include Alloway, Burr Oak 
 and Coon creeks. In the central part of the township is found a good sized 
 hody of natural timber land. The Rock Island & Pacific railroad traverses 
 the territory from east to west, bearing" diagonally from southeast to north- 
 \\est through a larger part of its course. The only town \yithin this town- 
 ship is Kellogg, situated on section 23. 
 
 The township's population in 1905, as per state reports, was six hun- 
 dred and eight, plus that of Kellogg town, five hundred and ninety-two, mak- 
 ing a total of one thousand two hundred. 
 
 In 1878 it had a personal tax yaluation of $64,207. including 571 head 
 of horses: 30 mules; 1,407 cattle. 
 
 In 1877 the township paid a tax on all its property assessment into the 
 county treasury amounting to $4,986, which had been levied on a valuation 
 of all property, personal and real, amounting to $329,586. 
 
 Here one finds a thrifty set of settlers who have wonderfully trans- 
 formed the appearance and real value of the six-mile-square tract of Jasper 
 county land. 
 
 This township was organized in 1868 by the board of county super- 
 visors and had previously been attached to other territory. 
 
 TITE TOWN OF KELLOGG. 
 
 Kellogg was laid out l)y Messrs. Enos Blair and Abraham W. Adair on 
 September 12, 1865, \vhich was a few months before the first passenger ser- 
 \'ice was perfected on what is now the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific rail- 
 road, then known as the Mississippi & Missouri railway, to this point in 
 Jasper county. It stands (original platting) on section 23, township 80, 
 range 18 west.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 317 
 
 Soon after the platting had been executed a postoffice was estabhshed, 
 known as Kimball, the name of the plat having been recorded as "J^^sper 
 City." The railroad, however, had named the station at this point Kellogg, 
 hence the place had, for a short time, three names. The track of the rail- 
 road being laid from east to west, headed for the Missouri river, reached 
 Kellogg in the spring of 1866, and soon freigiit and passenger service was 
 maintained. The terminus of the road was here for about a year. None 
 were sure what the company proposed to do in way of extension, or improve- 
 ments, hence most all the buildings were little other than mere board shanties, 
 aside from one building owned by a Mr. Downing, which later liecame the 
 Methodist parsonage. 
 
 During the summer and autumn of 1866 a tavern was started by Ben- 
 jamin Manning; Blair & j\dair, town site proprietors, oi)ened up stores and 
 Samuel Rich a blacksmith shop. Mr. Rich, aside from pounding at the 
 glowing forge, was also the ''Nasby" of the town, for he held the office of 
 postmaster and it is related for a truth that he delivered mail from his hat 
 around the embryo village. The beer saloon was early in the field here, for 
 during the year last mentioned two were staVted by Messrs. -\. J. Fish and 
 Dick Wood. 
 
 Besides those already referred to, there were residing in Kellogg during 
 the winter of 1866-7: William Vaughan, Robert Ludwick, J. \V. Maynard. 
 Samuel Rich, an attorney named Cooney, Lewis Clark. Fred C. Downing. 
 John Matthews, the pioneer butcher, George Laird, W. R. Reynolds, E. L. 
 Keagy, James McCully, Thad Woods, Captain Atwater, Barrtey Curtis, 
 Patrick McGuire and a few more, all, or nearly all, men of families. 
 
 Tn 1867 the peo])le united in the building of a union church, which 
 later was purchased by the Congregational society, and in the- winter of 
 1868-9 't was rented for school house purposes and in it was taught the first 
 school by J. H. F. Balderson. 
 
 The first sermon in the place was preached, however, by Rev. Spooner in 
 the depot in the late months of 1866. this man jjeing of the L'nited Brethren 
 faith. Next came the L'uiversali^t preacher. Rev. Eaton. Then came another 
 United Brethren preacher. Rev. Longshore. A society of this faith was 
 formed, but went down after a year or two. 
 
 The infant of Air. and Mrs. William \'aughan, born in the winter of 
 1866-7, '^^■^s doubtless the first to be born in Kellogg: it survived init a half 
 year. 
 
 The first marriage was that of William Patten to Mollie Winters in 1867.
 
 ^iS lAsi'KR c()^^T^■. iowa. 
 
 In 1872 a large and costly flouring mill plant was erected at Ixlellogg. 
 It was operated about three years, when it w^as burned and another followed 
 in a few years. 
 
 Kellogg had a fine growth for many years. A former history of this 
 place, compiled in 1878. speaks of it as follows : The town of Kellogg has had 
 a rapid growth in the thirteen years of its existence. It is surrounded by a 
 magnificent farming region and enjoys a large trade. Its population ranks 
 third in the county and it has by no means reached its limit of growth. Its 
 citizens are wide-awake and enterprising, and are able to hold their own in 
 comjietition with the surrounding towns. Its builders are fully employed 
 and its growth (hu-ing iH/H is equal to that of the most prosperous towns in 
 Iowa, population being considered." 
 
 MUNICrP.XL HISTORY. 
 
 Kellogg was legally incorporated in 1874, pursuant to a vote of its 
 people. The first council was organized March 16. 1874, made up as follows: 
 J. H. F. Halderson, mayor; W. J. Hay ward, Philip Shoemaker, L. L. Patton, 
 L. W. I)a\is. S. 1'). Lyday. trustees; J. P>. Burton, recorder; F. Clawson, 
 marslial and street commissioner. 
 
 The mayors have been as follows: J. H. F. Balderson, 1874 and 1875; 
 L. W. Davis. 1876: I. L. Patton, 1877-7*8; H. M. Cox, 1880; A. W. Adair, 
 1881-2; C. J. Wright. 1883; A. G. West, 1884; G. J. Wright, 1885; C. M. 
 Golden. 1886: John Simpson, 1887; J. R. Smith, 1888; D. H. Setzer, 1890; 
 W. J. Breedon. i8(j3: D. K. Moberly, 1896; C. K. Irish, 1900; A. G. West, 
 1902; S. 1). Powers. ]i)oC): \V. N. Jones, 1908; J. Boyle, 1910; F. L. Phipps, 
 19TI. 
 
 The n'lunicipal officers in the spring of 191 1 are: F. L. Phipps. mayor; 
 R. C. Birchanl. clerk; ('. J. Irish, treasurer; A. L. Miller, marshal; council- 
 men. C. W. Richetl, F. T. Hammer, R. C. Butron, Perry Coon. 
 
 The town is not well protected against fire. The small water svstem of 
 the town is not sufiicient, but better things are promised another year, when 
 a more up-to-date system will probably be voted upon. The recent year's 
 fire has opened the eyes of the citizens and business men. Now the town 
 only has small street wells and a cistern of small capacity on the hill. When 
 these improvements go in it is thought also to erect a town hall and jail com- 
 bined. These, with a suitable stand-pipe on the heights, will secure the 
 citizens and i)ro])erty owners against the further ravages of the dread fire 
 fiend.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. ■ 319 
 
 Kellogg has a good gasoline gas-lighting [jlant owned by the town ; also 
 the advantages of a good electric lighting system by the Craven Electric Com- 
 pany, private. The gas plant was installed in 1905 at a cost of four thousand 
 dollars. Bonds were floated for ten years for this purpose. 
 
 BUSINESS IN J 911. 
 
 In the month of April, 191 t, the following were the business factors in 
 Kellogg : 
 
 Agricultural Implements — Craven Implement Company, Craven & Mo- 
 berly. 
 
 Garage — Craven Garage Company. 
 
 Bank — Burton & Company's State Bank. 
 
 Barbers — Hammer & Shill, Arthur Jay. 
 
 Blacksmiths — A. N. Dunn. 
 
 Brick and Tile — Kellogg Brick and Tile Company. 
 
 Cement Blocks — R. L. West. 
 
 Clothing — Moses Caminsky. 
 
 Creamery — Beatrice Creamery Company. 
 
 Dentist — J. C. Craven. 
 
 Druggists — R. C. Birchard, Carl W. Forche. 
 
 Furniture and Undertaking — B. A. Burton. 
 
 General Dealers — Ed. Lison, Bobzin Corner Store. Jones Bros., Galusha 
 & Company. 
 
 Grain Dealers — Farmers' Elevator Company. 
 
 Hardware — B. A. Burton. Craven & Moberly. 
 
 Hotel — Hotel Simpson. 
 
 Lawyer — John W. Burke. 
 
 Stock — Stephen A. Morris. C. \V. Rowland. 
 
 Livery — Harry Richeld. 
 
 Lumber — Charles Bobzin. 
 
 Mills— Roller, by E. A. Conrad. 
 
 Meats — "Melcher's Market." 
 
 Milliner — Mrs. Lizzie Arthur. 
 
 Newspaper — Enterprise. 
 
 Pool Room — Mr. Nichols, of the Simpson hotel. 
 
 Physicians — Drs. J. Frank Hackett. B. Liesman. Dr. Wood. 
 
 Restaurant — Olson Bros.. Leslie Hill. 
 
 \^alve Factorv — Stock company of home capitalists.
 
 3_>0 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 The most important concerns of Kellogg at this date are the brick and 
 tile factory and the \alve factory. The former was established in 1905. 
 
 The churches of the town are the ^Methodist Episcopal. Congregational, 
 Christian and German Lutheran societies. 
 
 The lodges include the Masons, Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias 
 and ^^'oodmen and Yeoman orders. (See Lodge and Church histories else- 
 where.) 
 
 The postoffice at Kellogg was established in 1865. and has been of the 
 third-class since January i, 1907. There are four mails each way daily. The 
 first rural free delivery route was established July i. 1902. There are now 
 three routes. The amount of postoffice business transacted in 1910 was 
 $4,300.16. The following have served this office as postmasters: Samuel 
 Rich. B. F. Wright, William Fisher, Mrs. Phoebe Ludwick, L L. Hammer. 
 W. P. Coutts, J. W. Burke, E. J. Birchard, the last being the present incum- 
 bent; 
 
 Kellogg has been visited with two disastrous fires, one in Septem1>er, 
 1909. and another January 22, 191 1. In the first fire the entire eastern side 
 of the first business block was totally destroyed, aside from a residence or 
 two. One dealer, IMr. Bobzin, lost over twenty thousand dollars in this 
 fire. This was occasioned by a small boy burning" scrap papers in the alley 
 and this ignited with straw in a livery barn across the alley from the old 
 bank building. 
 
 In the fire of last spring the opera hall was destroyed and with it a 
 skating rink and part of a millinery stock. Total loss in this fire was said 
 to have been about five thousand dollars.
 
 < 
 
 CO 
 
 O 
 -n 
 
 > 
 
 X 
 
 H 
 
 m 
 
 73 
 O
 
 CHAPTER XXVIII. 
 
 INDEPEXDEXCE TOWNSHIP. 
 
 That portion of Jasper county described as congressional township 8i, 
 range 20 west, is known as Independence civil township. It is bounded on 
 the north by Marshall county ; on the east by Malaka township ; on the south 
 by Sherman and a part of Poweshiek townships; on the west by Clear 
 Creek township. It contains thirty-six sections of mixed timber and prairie 
 land; is well watered by numerous small streams and larger creeks, all flowing 
 southward, emptying into the waters of the Skunk river. The town of 
 Baxter, a station on the Great Western railroad, is situated at the exact 
 center of the township, and was long before railroad days known as Baxter 
 postoffice. 
 
 Independence township was organized in IMarch, 1858, by the county 
 judge then in office. This was one of the later townships set ofif from the 
 original precincts of Jasper county. 
 
 The population of the township in 1905, according to state reports, had 
 reached nine hundred and twenty-nine. 
 
 In 1878 the value of personal property was fixed at $52,909, of which 
 sum were included 619 head of work horses; 20 mules; 1.473 head of cattle. 
 
 In 1878 the total amount of taxable property, personal and real, in In- 
 dependence township was placed at $241,443, and the tax on the same was 
 turned into the county treasury to the amount of $4,517. See present valua- 
 tion list elsewhere for all the townships within the county. 
 
 A TERRIBLE REAPER ACCIDENT. 
 
 Among the terrible accidents of this township may be recalled that of 
 1874, when Alfred Butler, son of a widow Butler, of this township, was 
 killed by a reaper. The team he was driving became frightened at a terrific 
 clap of thunder and started to run, throwing the boy from his seat in such 
 a manner that his body fell in front of the cutting bar of the reaper, by which 
 part of the machine his right foot was severed and his left leg amputated at 
 (21)
 
 ... JASl'KK COINTV, IOWA. 
 
 — 
 
 the groin, the parts above being so mangled and torn that death ended his 
 sufferings in a few minutes, and before the men at work binding could reach 
 him. 
 
 THE TOWN OF BAXTER. 
 
 What was originally styled "Baxter Postoffice," on section 22. of In- 
 dependence township, has come to be a thriving town of about five hundred 
 and fifty population. It is situated on the Great Western railroad and 
 draws trade from a large fanning settlement, it now being the most business- 
 like place in the northern part of Jasper county. It had in 1877 come to be a 
 small hamlet in which were to be seen a postoffice, a physician, a public hall 
 in which public meetings, church services, etc., were held, and near at hand 
 was a good frame school building. 
 
 Baxter has made its great growth since the building of the railroad, first 
 stvled the "Diagonal." then the ''Maple Leaf" route and now the Chicago 
 Great Western system. This railroad reached this place in 1883, since which 
 date the town has made much growth. 
 
 The town was platted October 24. 1883. by David W. and Amy Smith. 
 It is within Independence township and is a part of section 24. It was in- 
 corporated in 1894, and the 191 1 municipal officers are as follows: H. Haz- 
 lett. mayor; Carl C. Webb, clerk: Charles Burdick, treasurer; H. H. Mag- 
 gard, marshal ; councilmen, J. S. Booth. W. T. Thorp. George Diehl. O. E. 
 Cunningham. A. C. Rose. 
 
 The mayors of Baxter have been as follows: J. D. Richards. 1894; G. 
 \\'. Thompson, 1896; J. F. Klise, 1897-1899, inclusive; W. T. Thorp, 1900 
 to 1904; C. C. Graham. 1904-05; H. Hazlett, 1906 to the present date, hav- 
 ing served well and faithfully for the last six years. 
 
 The question of providing some adequate water works for Baxter 
 comes up at the special election this season. It is designed (if the people so 
 elect) to issue bonds in the sum of ten thousand dollars. 
 
 In 1904 the town erected a city building of cement blocks at a cost of 
 one thousand six hundred dollars and in connection with this building a 
 gasoline gas plant was added, costing the sum of four thousand five hundred 
 dr)llars. The bonds run ten years. 
 
 THE POSTOFFICE II I.STORY. 
 
 This office was established at an early date in the town's history and 
 among those who have been postmasters are the following : S. B. Higgins, 
 Milo T. Burnett, J. F. Klise, George T. Hager, F. L. Phipps. D. R. Mann. 
 Mrs. J. N. Mann, Carl C. Webb, who was appointed July i, 1906.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 323 
 
 A twenty-six-mile rural route was established a few years since. The 
 receipts of this office in 1910 amounted to about one thousand seven hundred 
 and twenty-nine dollars. 
 
 191 I BUSINESS DIRECTORY. 
 
 In the fall of 1910 the following were the chief business and professional 
 factors of the town of Baxter: 
 
 Banking — State Savings Bank and People's State Bank. 
 
 Baxter Dairy Company. 
 
 Baxter Roller :\Iills — Hager & Noah. 
 
 Baxter Telephone Company (incorporated). 
 
 Blacksmiths— O. S. Tipton, H. D. Wilson. 
 
 Baxter JNIercantile Company. 
 
 Harness Shop — C. C. Commack & Company. 
 
 Implements — Baxter Implement Company. 
 
 Newspaper — The Neiv Era. 
 
 Pool Room — C. S. Bishop. 
 
 Cigar Maker — August Gouch. 
 
 Clothing — H. E. Gould & Company. j 
 
 Coal — Denniston & Partridge and S. E. Squires. 
 
 Dentist — \\. R. Crawford. 
 
 Drugs — Downs Drug Company and C. ]\I. Forney. 
 
 Furniture — Buckley & Noah. 
 
 General I>ealers — Miller & Klemme. 
 
 Hardware — Buckley & Noah, Hasiie Hardware Company. 
 
 Hotels — The Commercial, by G. A. Small, a dollar hotel by Mrs. Mar- 
 garet Cool. 
 
 Live Stock — F. W. Scharmann, J. M. Vansice. Smith & Wiley. 
 
 Meat ^Market — Duncan McKenzie. 
 
 Millinery — Mrs. H. H. Maggard. 
 
 Photographs — J. L. Butler. 
 
 Physicians — Drs. H. W. Canfield. C. C. Graham and Paul Koeper. 
 
 Planing :\Iills— O. O. Tipton. ; 
 
 Poultry and Eggs — Thomas Canfield. 
 
 Real Estate Dealer— C. C. Webb. 
 
 Insurance — C. C. W^ebb. 
 
 Shoemaker — James Trussel. 
 
 Postal Telegraph & Cable Company.
 
 ^24 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Klise's Opera House. 
 
 Jewelry — G. H. Pease. 
 
 For the Lodge and Church history of Baxter see spteci^l chapters. 
 
 VILLAGE OF IRA. 
 
 This is one of the smallest villages in the county, and yet much business 
 is transacted here. It was platted as a station point on the Great Western 
 railroad about 1883-4 and now has a population of about one hundred and 
 fiftv. It had, in the spring of 191 1, a Christian and Methodist Episcopal 
 church ; a Modern Woodman of America camp of thirty members and the 
 Yeomen also had a lodge at this place, organized about 1890. Both meet in 
 the hall on the second floor of the Ira Building Association's building. 
 
 The business interests at Ira are now : 
 
 Lumber — The Ira Lumber Company, L. F. Richards, manager. 
 
 Grain — Rippey & Hanson. 
 
 General Dealers — G. A. Ruml3augh, A. H. Campbell. 
 
 Hardware — C. C. Barbee. 
 
 Blacksmiths — F. I. Inglis. 
 
 Barber — L. I. Harding. 
 
 Bank — Farmers Savings Bank. 
 
 Postmaster — A. W. Jeffries. 
 
 Harness shop — W. W. Mead. 
 
 Restaurant — C. L. Palmer. 
 
 Stock dealer — Trammel & Jeffries. 
 
 Railway agent — W. M. Barber. 
 
 Implements — F. I. Inglis, Hurst Hotel. 
 
 A |)ostoffice was established at Ira in 1883 and is now situated on lot 
 No. 9, block 5. A rural free delivery route was established here April i, 
 1903. The amount of business transacted here in 1910 was five hundred and 
 tw-elve dollars and thirteen cents. Two mails are sent and received here daily 
 at this time. It is a fourth-class postoffice. The postmasters who have 
 served here have been in the following order: Salem Jeffries, ^^^ J. Craw- 
 ford. II. A. Jeffries. ^\^ J. Crawford, H. A. Jeffries, H. R. Lorimor, A. W. 
 Teffries.
 
 CHAPTER XXIX. 
 
 HICKORY GROVE TOWNSHIP. 
 
 The extreme northeastern subdivision of Jasper county is known as 
 Hickory Grove township. It is six miles square and comprises township 8i, 
 range 17 west. It has but few streams of much size and is a prairie town- 
 ship of excellent fertility and now well improved and the abiding place of 
 hundreds of magnificent and valuable farm homes. The only village within 
 its borders is Xfewburg, on the eastern line, midway north and south, a station 
 point on' the Iowa Central railway. This township is bounded by Marshall 
 county on its north ; by Poweshiek county on the east ; by Rock Creek town- 
 ship on the south; and by Mariposa township on its west. In 1905 its popu- 
 lation was placed by the state authorities at six hundred and thirty-eight. 
 It was organized in 1864 and was among the later ones to be set off from 
 the original townships or precincts of the county. 
 
 Among the earliest land entries within this township may be named 
 Francis Holyoke and Homer Hamlin in the northeast quarter of the south- 
 east quarter of section 20, May 12, 1854; John Swigart. the southwest (luar- 
 ter of section 34, on May 15, 1854. 
 
 The amount of money apportioned from the school fund in the spring 
 of 185 1 for this township was but a few dollars: the amount for the territory 
 now included (the township not yet having been organized) in Hickory 
 Grove and two other precincts was only $28.10, but at that day but little was 
 needed for schools, as settlers were very far between. 
 
 In October, 1865. William R. Skiff was appointed agent to locate swamp 
 lands scrip for Jasper countv, but nothing was done for a year when he was 
 ordered to dispose of the scrip for cash, on the best possible terms. 
 
 UNUSUAL ITEMS OF INTEREST. 
 
 In the middle of August. 1876. Harry Ford, a lad of seven years, was 
 bitten by a rattlesnake in this township. The fangs of the reptile struck him 
 in the hollow of his foot and he being heated at the time, the poison was ab- 
 sorbed into his svstem and as a result he died within twentv-four hours.
 
 jj() JASPER COl'XTV. IOWA. 
 
 In June. 1875, a small child of Scott Aydelotte. of this township, was 
 scalded to death. Its mother had placed a tub of boiling hot water in the 
 middle of the room, and had stepped to a nearby well, leaving the child in 
 the room alone. The child approached the tub. fell in and was so badly 
 scalded that it yielded up its innocent young life the day following. 
 
 In 1878 Hickory Grove township had an assessed valuation of personal 
 property amounting to $26,625 ; of this was included 527 horses. 47 mules 
 and asses and 800 cattle. 
 
 In 1877 the total valuation of all property in this township was $284,- 
 450. on which they paid into the county treasury the sum of $4,487. 
 
 The schools and churches, as well as lodges of this township, are de- 
 scribed in general chai)ters on these topics elsewhere. 
 
 The Iowa Central railroad touches the eastern sections of this township, 
 with a station point at Newburg, a small platted place in section ^24. An 
 other branch of the same railroad runs to the northwest . from Newburg, go- 
 ing diagonallv to section 6 where it leaves the county. 
 
 The wagon roads in this township are situated, as a rule, on section lines 
 and are well worked. 
 
 The conveniences of modern mail service, the telephone and other im- 
 provements which are now universally enjoyed by all up-to-date farmers 
 here obtain to a good degree. To be a land owner in this goodly portion of 
 the ''kingdom of Jasper" is indeed to be an independent citizen. 
 
 VILLAGE OF NEWBURG. 
 
 In Hickory Grove township, in the northeastern corner of Jasper county, 
 is situated Newburg. A postoffice was established at this point in 1878. It 
 was made a rural delivery station in July, 1902. The amount of business 
 transacted in 1910 was only sex'enteen dollars and ten cents. This office 
 suffered the loss of fifty-three dollars by a robbery, to which no clue was 
 ever obtained. Two mails are receixed here daily, except Sunday. The fol- 
 lowing persons have served as postmasters or postmistresses : E. H. Taylor, 
 James R. Wood, O. V. Kenaston, ¥. J. Edelblite, Miss Sarah J. Clay, served 
 nine years and six months, until August 23, 1893. when Mrs. Mary J. Craw- 
 ford served until May 11. 1897, or three years and eight months, when Miss 
 Sarah J. Clay was reappointed and is still serving. 
 
 The population is now supposed to be about one hundred and fifty. 
 
 There are two church buildings in Newburg, the Church of God and the 
 Congregational denominations. See church chapter.
 
 , JASPKR COUNTY, IOWA. 327 
 
 The business interests of Newburg in April, 191 1, are: 
 
 General dealers — G. D. Alden, Dale Livingston. 
 
 Banking — The Newburg Savings Bank. 
 
 Grain — Newburg Farmers lilevator Company, doing almost half a mil- 
 lion dollars worth of business annually. 
 
 The Newburg Creamery- Company, with numerous routes, doing an an- 
 nual business of $30,000. 
 
 Implements and lumber — A. C. Newcomer. 
 
 Blacksmiths — George E. Buck, W. T. Richardson, who also runs a ma- 
 chine shop. 
 
 Hotel — Shannon House, by John Shannon and wife. 
 
 The agent for the Iowa Central Lines at this station has l)een for the 
 past seventeen years, P. S. Howard. 
 
 It goes without saying that this place is situated within one of Iowa's 
 richest farming sections
 
 CHAPTER XXX. 
 
 LYNN GROVE TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Lynn Grove township is one of the original precincts of Jasper county, 
 organized by the commissioners in 1846. It is situated in the extreme 
 southeastern corner of the county ; is bounded on the east by Poweshiek 
 county, on the south by ]\Iahaska county, on the west by Elk Creek town- 
 ship. Jasper county, and on its north by Richland township. It comprises, as 
 now constituted, all of congressional township yS, range 17 west. The 
 northeastern portion is cpiite rough and originally heavily timbered, while 
 the balance of its territory is fine, rich prairie land, the cultivation of which 
 has made it among the richest sections within Jasper county. The enter- 
 prising town of Lynnville is the only place within this township, a history 
 of which will follow the general history of the township. This township 
 originally included much more teriltorv than at present. 
 
 The schools and churches are mentioned under their respective head- 
 ings, in the general chapters of this volume. 
 
 .\t the general election in 1852 this township gave the following votes 
 for the presidential candidates : For Gen. Winfield Scott, eighteen ; for 
 Franklin Pierce, twelve. Scott carried Jasper county, but was not elected. 
 
 In 185^; when the prohibition cjuestion first came up for solution in 
 Jasper county, the voters of this township gave thirty-one votes for prohi- 
 bition as against thirty-four votes against it. The measure carried in the 
 county by thirty-five majority, and saloons then had to pay a license in order 
 to sell intoxicating liquors. 
 
 That this township was in a ]M-osperous condition in 1878 it only need 
 be said that the county records show that there was at that date $76,580 
 worth of personal property, including tlic following items: 747 horses. 210 
 mules and asses and 2,011 cattle of a taxable age. The previous year the 
 record is that this township paid into the county treasury the sum of $5,304.19. 
 as the taxes on a total \aluation of all pro])erty of $257,505. 
 
 The population of the townshi]). according to the reports compiled by 
 authority of the state, in 1905 was eight hundred and eighty-three. 
 
 The first pioneers in this goodly township were original land entry men 
 — men who sought out this section of the famous Iowa countr\- in which to
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 309 
 
 build for themselves homes. Among- the earlier land entries the following 
 named are now recalled after consulting the records of the county and the 
 land office books : John R. Sparks, the west half of the northwest of section 
 10. December 4, 1846; William ]\I. Stallings; Walter Turner, Jr., the east 
 half of the southeast of section 36, November 18, 1847; Moses Starr, the 
 northwest of section 35, April 27, 1848. 
 
 The original township, or territorial precinct, of Lynn (irove included 
 ''all that part of Jasper county east of the range line between 17 and 18." 
 But we find that changes were made and that on September 4, 1854. the 
 territory of the precinct was sub-divided, throwing Rock Creek into a terri- 
 tory described as "congressional townships 80 and 81, range 17 west." 
 
 In 1857 the record shows that Lynn Grove was still in possession of all 
 territory within congressional townships 78 and 79. range ij west. 
 
 Richland township was cut off in i860, since which date Lynn Grove 
 has been as now seen on the maps, an even township of land. 
 
 Some time in the fall of 1846 a saw mill was constructed and started in 
 this township by A. T. Sparks. It was on the North Skunk river, and bv the 
 end of harvest time, in 1848, he had a good flouring mill in operation. This 
 was a superior milling plant to that hitherto put up with by the pioneers, 
 who had much trouble to obtain good flour at the illy-built make-shifts of 
 mills in this section of Iowa. It was greatly prized by the people of the en- 
 tire county, saving as it did three days drive to Oskaloosa over very uncertain 
 streams and poor highways. 
 
 Concerning the hardships of settlers here, the reader is referred to the 
 general early settlement chapter in this volume. 
 
 In March. 1851, the record shows that the apportionment from the 
 school fund for this township amounted to forty-two dollars and sixty-one 
 cents. This looks small to the residents of the school district in this year of 
 the world. 
 
 ANOTHER EARLY .SETTLEMENT ACCOUNT. 
 
 Among the various historical writings of Joseph Arnold of this town- 
 ship the writer has gleaned the following facts : 
 
 In the spring of 1844, Wesley Stallings, his son W'illiam, and David 
 Campbell came to Lynn Gro\e to establish homes. They came with ox teams. 
 But prior to these pioneers had come fi\e men and taken claims and two had 
 cabins built on them by these men. But all alone in the green glad solitude of 
 the far west, these men tired of the country, believing that ilot in their life
 
 3^0 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 time would this couiitry ever be settled up. hence they hunted and doubtless 
 found greener pastures more to their liking. 
 
 On the arrival of the Campbells and Stallings they took the two claims 
 on which had been the cabins referred to above. They broke out twenty 
 acres of the virgin sod and when their plow became too dull to do further 
 work in the sod they went seventy-fne miles to have the sharpening done 
 and paid for the work in breaking. While on this trip they chanced to meet 
 \V. T. Mayfield and wife,, Nancy, with a family of six children. They 
 begged them to locate in this section of Iowa and this they did in the month 
 of August following. The Stallings returned and sowed some turnip seed 
 and made many other improvements on their claims, then returned to their 
 old home in Illinois. \\'hen Mr. Stallings returned he had his wife and five 
 children and one dollar and seventy-five cents in cash. 
 
 In the spring of 1845, D'^vid Campbell and family returned on April 19. 
 It is quite certain that these constituted all that were in Lynn Grove in 1844. 
 
 John R. Sparks and wife with eight children arrived in 1845, during the 
 month of March. He possessed twenty-five dollars and a team of horses, 
 two yoke of oxen and two yoke of steers. They located on section 10 and 
 he lived and died on that claim. He used to relate that the Indians were so 
 thick that they stuck out from under the bed frequently, but that he never had 
 any trouble with them, but was more troubled with wild animals than with In- 
 dians. Mr. Sparks died August 17, 1886, and his good wife passed away in 
 June of the same year and they were liuried in the Odd Fellows cemetery near 
 Old Settler's Park. 
 
 Mathew T. Mathews came in company with Mi\ Sparks. He had a wife 
 and five children at the time. They commenced housekeeping in a log cabin 
 without doors or w indow s. 
 
 J. W. Swan, the first treasurer of Jasper county, located here in 1845. 
 He made many a coftin for the people who died in an early day in his section 
 of this county. 
 
 FIRST EVENTS. 
 
 It is always of more or less interest to know the first hai)pcnings in the 
 settlement of any given portion of a county, hence the following: 
 
 The first township election was held when all was primitive. The ballot 
 box consisted of a tin cup with a si)elling book for its cover. In the evening 
 the ballots were counted out fair and scjuare and the number was fourteen 
 and Jabez Starr was elected justice of the peace.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 33^1 
 
 The first couple married was Alexander Davis and Mercy Shoemaker, in 
 the winter of 1848-9. The next was Jesse Hammer and Margaret Sparks. 
 The first death was that of the ten-year-old daughter of Wesley Stallings. 
 The first sermon in the township was preached by John Cameron. 
 
 LYNNVILLE. 
 
 This sprightly town is located on section 11 of Lynn Grove township, 
 and was laid out by John and Mary Arnold in 1856. There is perhaps no 
 section of Jasper county more replete with early day histor)', in many ways, 
 than this vicinity. The first claims to land in what afterwards became Lynn 
 Grove township were those made by Wesley Stallings and ''Tandy'" May- 
 field, who came in the spring or summer of 1844. In the fall of the same 
 year occurred the first birth in the neighborhood, the same being the second 
 in Jasper county. This was in the family of Mr. Mayfield, and the child was 
 named Xapoleon B. 
 
 John R. Sparks and several others whose names are not recalled by the 
 old settlers now settled in the Grove during 1845. The first death of that 
 year was a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Shillings, aged about eleven years. Mrs. 
 William Sparks passed from the scenes of this life in 1846. 
 
 In the autumn of 1845 ^^^- Sparks began the construction of a saw 
 mill and completed it the following year. This was doubtless the first saw 
 mill in Jasper county, hence it had all it could possibly do as the pioneer 
 settlers must needs have lumber with which to aid in building. Mr. Sparks 
 also began his grist mill in 1847 and completed it himself, only aided by Mr. 
 Richards. It commenced grinding in the fall of 1848. This was the first 
 flouring mill completed in Jasper county. It was operated many years by 
 its builder, but in the seventies passed into the hands of F. & J. Arnold. 
 
 A school house was built in the autumn of 1848 and a school taught by 
 a }oung teacher named Foster. The following spring a Sabbath school was 
 started by Miss Lizzie Springer as its supenntendent. 
 
 Probably the first camp meeting in Jasper county was held by the Metho- 
 dist Protestant denomination either in 1850 or 185 1. 
 
 Lvnnville is situated on the right bank of the North Skunk river, which 
 here is a very rapidly flowing stream. In 1878 the town had a population of 
 about five hundred souls. It is situated also about four miles to the west 
 of Searsboro. on the Iowa Central railway line. 
 
 A creditable local newspaper was founded at Lynnville in 1876 by B. F. 
 Arnold, who later removed to Kellogg.
 
 2^2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Lvnnville was incorporated in 1875 *"oi' the purpose of controlling the 
 liquoi' traffic, which the common law did not well regulate. The first council 
 met September 28. 1875. and was composed as follows: O. C. Meredith, 
 mavor: W. W. Dryden. recorder; Z. F. Cause, Joel Hyatt, B. F. Arnold, G. 
 R. \\'hite. 1. j. \\'hite. trustees; Joel Hyatt, treasurer; J. B. Xaylor. solicitor; 
 D. C. Edwards, marshal ; Taylor Brown, street commissioner. 
 
 Ordinance Xo. i was for prohibiting the sale of liciuor in the corpora- 
 tion. In 1876 a pound was established and much attention was given to the 
 building of suitable sidewalks. 
 
 The following include the list of mayors in Lynnville since its incorpora- 
 tion : O. C. Meredith, then in their order came Miles Tahash, Joseph Arnold, 
 R. T. English (two terms), L. H. Bufkin, G. B. McCoy, E. \V. Jay. E. B. 
 Macv. C. W. Wildman, the present mayor. The 191 1 officers are: Mayor, 
 C. W. Wildman; clerk, E. M. Gary; treasurer, G. F. Briggs ; council, S. R. 
 Alice. M. H. Cause, G. H. Xewby. A. T. Gifford, W. A. Cunningham. 
 
 As the churches, schools and lodges have been made topics in chapters 
 bv themselves, for all the towns of the county, no reference is here made of 
 them. This is al.so true of the interesting subject of the old slave time "Un- 
 derground Railroad." which had a station here. See general chapters. 
 
 The population of Lynville as shown by the state census reports for 1905 
 was four hundred and sixty-two. 
 
 BUSINESS INTERE.STS IN I9II. 
 
 At this date the business of Lynnville is carried on successfully by the 
 following persons; 
 
 General dealers — J. H. Cause & Company, Briggs Brothers, Rich Rivers. 
 
 Hardware — Ollie Ladd, F. W. Royden. 
 
 Harness shoi^ — Lynville Harness Company. 
 
 Meats — W. F. Zimmerman, V. A. Johnson. 
 
 Milliner.s — Flora X'^oah, Cause & Garner. 
 
 Furniture — A. T. Gifford. 
 
 Livery — John Thompson. 
 
 Hotel — Mrs. T. .\. Thompson. 
 
 Photographs — Edith Burnham. 
 
 Roller Mills — Fred Wagman, manager. 
 
 l-'arm Implements — Clertsma (.K: Renaud, C. B. McCoy. 
 
 Lumber — ]\[acy Brothers. 
 
 Grain and Stock — Macy Brothers.
 
 I JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 333 
 
 Brick and Tile — C. H. Xewby. 
 
 Cement Blocks — H. C. Alacy. 
 
 Newspapers — The Lynnvillc Star, C. \V. Wildman. 
 
 Builders and Contractors — J. C. Trease ^nd S. R. Alice & Son. 
 
 Blacksmith — J- Noah. 
 
 LVXXVILLE POSTOFFICE. 
 
 In 1901 Joseph Arnold wrote concerning this postoffice as follows: "At 
 this writing Lynnville is supplied with a branch of the Iowa Central railroad 
 running from New Sharon to Newton. It affords ample means of trans- 
 portation, and the mail car attached to the passenger train drops off its mail 
 on time. This is a wonderful contrast with the one-horse carrier in the 
 person of Mr. Eli Wolf, who in the year 1848, and on into the fifties, made a 
 weekly trip, or a 'try' weekly trip it should be said, for when the roads were 
 impassable he abandoned it days at a time. John R. Sparks was appointed 
 postmaster when the office was first established. He kept it in a small building 
 near where the hotel later stood. In a short time it was inconvenient for 
 him to attend to the office and a returned ]\Iexican soldier, Sabin Stanwood, 
 was appointed in his place. He lived a mile and a half west of Lynnville. In 
 1853 Joseph Arnold was appointed postmaster by President Franklin Pierce. 
 The desk turned over to him was of black walnut, three feet long and fifteen 
 inches wide and about eight inches deep. This, with a roll of paper, com- 
 prised the furniture, and was carried by me from Stanwood's house to Lynn- 
 ville under my arm. It set up the postoffice in the claim in which I lived, 
 which was located on what is now lot i; block 3." 
 
 The postmasters have served in about the following order : Joseph 
 Arnold, Mattie Cloud. William Drs'den, Joseph McConnell, Jacob Kitch, 
 ^N^^riett^ Dryden, Ollie ]\Iathews, Marietta Dryden, Charles W. Wildman. 
 
 In 1903 a rural route was extended out from Lynnville over a line twenty- 
 nine miles in length; T. A. Thompson has been the driver four years. The 
 receipts of this office are about one thousand dollars a year. The number of 
 mails sent out each week is fifteen and eighteen are received. 
 
 VILLAGE OF SULLY. 
 
 This excellent town is situated on section 8 of Lynn Grove township, on 
 the line of the Iowa Central railroad from Newton to New Sharon, four 
 miles west of Lynnville, and in 1900 had a population of one hundred and 
 fifty and a good bank, lumber yard, large general store, a newspaper and an 
 implement house. At present it has the following :
 
 :^i>_j. JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Bank of Sully. 
 
 Hotels — The Sully House, by Airs. Rusa Hammer; and the house con- 
 ducted near the railroad, by Mrs. A. J. Ouinn. 
 
 General Stores — C. E. Haan, Boat & Verdencamp. 
 
 Drugs — C. y. Shipman. 
 
 Restaurant — R. Burnham. 
 
 Harness Work — Holdsworth & Company. 
 
 Livery — Eldridge Brothers. 
 
 Hardware — Vangenderen & Luberden, who are also blacksmiths ; Holds- 
 worth & Company. 
 
 Lumber — D. S. Jardema. 
 
 Grain — Emmet Awtry. 
 
 Contractors — N. J. Edwards, Henry Willets. 
 
 Garage — H. Welle. 
 
 Dressmaker — Mrs. Everett Eldridge, Miss Neva Edmundson. 
 
 Barber — Lee Perry. 
 
 Butcher — E. Austin. 
 
 Railroad Agent— H. B. Lane. 
 
 Physicians — Drs. O. O. Carpenter, J. C. Smith. 
 
 Sully was incorporated as a town late in the nineties and the following- 
 have served as mayors in the order here named : H. Welle. Robert Willets, 
 C. Burnham, W. H. Holdsworth, S. G. Sherman. 
 
 The 191 1 town officials are: Mayor. S. G. Sherman, J. G. Huigen, 
 treasurer; D. Sjaardema, clerk; councilmen. Henry Welle, A. C. Boat, 
 E. Awtry. J. P. Brunner. Peter Lubberden. 
 
 In the month of April. 191 1, at the spring election, the matter of voting 
 on the question of providing water and fire protection was up, and resulted 
 in the casting of sixty-two votes. There were forty-five cast for voting and 
 selling bonds to the amount of eight thousand five hundred dollars and seven- 
 teen voted against the enterprise. At this election the ladies who were en- 
 titled to a vote cast forty-four votes, of wliich all were favorable but seven. 
 The bonds will be floated and the work of construction begun this season. 
 The tower for the tank will be one hundred and eight feet high and the tank 
 will hold thirty thousand gallons. Gasoline engines will be installed to pump 
 w ith. This movement upon the part of the enterprising people of Sully will 
 never be regretted. 
 
 The postoffice was established here in the nineties and the following 
 have served as the postmasters: Lew Mather, C. Phelps, T. H. Thomson, 
 L. H. Sherman, appointed 1890; L. M. Doani, 1893; Cornelius Boat, 1897; 
 Henry DeWit. 1899; John Varenkamp. 1903, and still in office.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 335 
 
 A rural free delivery was extended from this point in February, 1903, 
 and is twenty-six miles in length. The first carrier was R. E. White and the 
 present one is E. S. Haines. It was made a money order point in August, 
 1902. The receipts of this postoffice (outside of money order business) in 
 1910 was eight hundred and seventy-seven dollars and eight cents. 
 
 The churches at Sully in the spring of 191 1 are Congregational, "Christ- 
 ian Holland Dutch," Methodist Protestant and Dutch Reformed. 
 
 The lodges are the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and its various 
 auxiliaries. 
 
 The churches and lodges are mentioned in their respective chapters in 
 the general chapters of this volume.
 
 CHAPTER XXXI. 
 
 RICHLAND TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Richland township is situated in the south and eastern portion of the 
 county, comprising all of congressional township 79, range 17 west, hence is 
 six miles square and contains thirty-six sections of choice land. Its chief 
 stream is the Skunk river, which courses through the territory from north to 
 south, with a heavy body of natural timber growing in the south part of the 
 township. In the east part is Sugar creek, a small stream. 
 
 Richland is situated south of Rock creek, west of Poweshiek county, 
 north of Lynn Grove township and east of Buena Vista township. The 
 correction line runs on the southern boundary of Richland township. 
 
 Richland was organized in i860. The population of this township in 
 1905 was placed by state reports as being seven hundred and thirty-nine. 
 
 The property valuation — personal and real — in 1877 ^^'^^ $244,569, on 
 which the taxes amounted to $4,816. The assessed valuation of all personal 
 property in 1878 was $43,141, inclusive of 537 head of horses, 40 head of 
 mules and 1,108 head of taxable cattle. See table of various townships for 
 1910, in the chapter on County Government. 
 
 At this date there are laid out and well improved highways on almost 
 every section line in this township. The chief business of the people in this 
 section of Jasper county being agriculture, the lands are well tilled and farm- 
 ers are in a prosperous condition. There are no towns within Richland 
 township, but the modern advantages of both telephones and free rural mail 
 delivery makes farming a pleasant task instead of a hum-drum life as it was 
 in the fifties, sixties and seventies. 
 
 Richland has its full cjuota of well conducted public schools which are 
 mentioned in the Educational chapter of this volume.
 
 CHAPTER XXXII. 
 
 POWESHIEK TOW XSHIP. 
 
 Powesliiek township was named in honor of that very intelhgent and 
 "good Indian" chieftain of the Sac tribes of Iowa Indians. 
 
 It is situated on the western line of Jasper county, second from the 
 northern border, with Polk county to the west, Clear Creek township to the 
 north, Sherman township on the east and Mound Prairie and Washington 
 townships on the south. Indian creek is its eastern border most of the dis- 
 tance north and south, which fact caused it to be set over into another con- 
 gressional township a part of one tier of sections from the one it is chiefly 
 composed of. Its main territory is within township 80, range 21 west. 
 However its southwestern corner is taken off from what would be a right 
 angle, by reason of its line at that point going only to the banks of the South 
 Skunk river, leaving two sections of township 80 on the south side of the 
 river in Washington township. 
 
 Poweshiek has considerable native timber within its borders and coal is 
 found in paying mining quantities. This is said to be one of Jasper county's 
 banner townships, and w ith its excellent coal lands and fertile surface it has 
 come to be looked upon as among the most valuable realty within this section 
 of the state. 
 
 This township was organized in January, 1847, by the county commis- 
 sioners, who then were the sole rulers of the county, this being prior to the 
 establishment of the old county judge system, which obtained from 1851 to 
 1868, but more properly a one-man power up to 1861, when the supervisor 
 system was established in Iowa. 
 
 The commissioners" record, relative to this township, reads : "January 
 5, 1847 — To provide for the needs of the growing population of this county, 
 be it ordered that there be a precinct laid off in the northwest corner of Jasper 
 county, to be called Poweshiek precinct, said precinct to commence as fol- 
 lows : On the county line, at a supposed line so as to include the Slaughter 
 Grove, on the south side of the Skunk river, at the east end of said grove, 
 thence north to the county line so as to include all the Indian creek timber 
 and its tributaries. 
 (22)
 
 :^^S JASPER COrXTV. IOWA. 
 
 "Ordered, that the place tor hokhni;- electicms in Poweshiek precinct he at 
 the house of John McDonald. 
 
 "Ordered, That Lenuiel Perrin, C. H. i lanilin and Joseph Kint/. he ap- 
 pointed as judges of elections in Poweshiek precinct." 
 
 The population of this townshi]) in 1003, according to the state census, 
 was one thousand thirty-two. 
 
 It is now thickly settled and lands are held at high prices. Init when 
 sold or exchanged the one leaving goes much farther and fares no hetter 
 than to have remained the possessor of a fine farm in Poweshiek, in which 
 township the old Indian chieftain made his last home, as the good head of the 
 Sac tribe of Indians. Indeed great has been the transformation in these 
 parts since the dusky warrior took his farewell look at the beautiful plains 
 and hillsides, his last hunting grounds. 
 
 Among the first to enter government land in this goodly section of 
 Jasper county were: Seth Richards, who claimed the east half of the south- 
 east quarter and the southeast cjuarter of the northeast quarter of section i. 
 June 29, 1849: Levi Plummer. the north fractional half of section 2, Septem- 
 ber 17, 1849. 
 
 The school history of this townshij) will be found in the chapter on 
 luiucation. It may be well in passing, howe\er, to mention the fact that the 
 school fund apportionment in this township in 185 1 was but eighteen dollars 
 and twenty-fi\'e cents. 
 
 At the 1852 presidential election the \'ote in Poweshiek township re- 
 sulted in gi\ing (ien. W'infield Scott eighteen \otes as against eight cast for 
 l-'ranklin Pierce. Pierce was elected, but Scott carried Jasper county. 
 
 When the xote on prohibition was taken in Jasper coimty in the spring 
 of 1855. the vote stood, "for license eighteen, and thirt\"-one against" in Pow- 
 eshiek township. 
 
 TOWXS AXD VILLAGES. 
 
 In this township ha\e been platted four towns. Greencastle, on section 14. 
 Mingo, on section 3. Valeria, on section 20. and Oswalt, on section 33. 
 
 Greencastle — a name almost ol)Solete now — was a \illage nestled down 
 in the midst of a fine farming section of this county. The first w hite man to 
 settle in this vicinity was pioneer Joseph Slaughter and a few who came in 
 about the same time in 1846. A school district was located near Slaughter's 
 settlement in 1849. showing the character of the few who braved the new 
 country hardships.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 339 
 
 A successful Independence Day celebratifni was hel<l there Julv 4. 1859. 
 at which tlie throng- assembled at the school house, formed in gay procession 
 and marched to the music of the CJreencastle String Band to seats in the 
 western part of the village. George E. Baker was presiding officer; Revs. 
 Carr and E. M. II. Flemming made short addresses; also Rev. Murray. After 
 the picnic dinner was o\er. short speeches were made by Rev. W. Schaffer 
 and H. S. Winslow. 
 
 In 1866 Dr. J. II. Knox, a homeopathic doctor, located there. 
 
 In 1875 a flouring mill was erected ])y bishcr & Pfieffer. the same having 
 a capacity daily of one hundred barrels. 
 
 The Methodist society, early in the field at Greencasde. Imilt a good 
 church building. 
 
 With the construction of the railroad — the Great Western — the village 
 of Greencastle went down and now there is but litle if anv business carried 
 on there and the mail is delivered by rural carrier. 
 
 VILLAGE OF MINGO. 
 
 ^lingo is situated on section 3, on the line of the Chicago Great Western 
 railroad, sixteen miles to the north and west of Xewton. For its platting see 
 ^Miscellaneous chapter on 'A'illage Plats." This is an enterprising little place 
 of about two hundred and eight\- people, it is an incorporated place — one 
 of the smallest incorporations in this county. Commencing with its first 
 mayor in 1903. the list of mayors is: L. C. Westfall, Jacob Stiers. W. W. 
 Goodrich, R. D. Armstrong, L. C. \\'estfall. W. F. Hayes, L. C. Westfall. 
 
 The present town officials are: L. C. Westfall, mayor; W. E. Witmer, 
 clerk; Charles idansen. treasurer; councilmen. W. E. Hayes. D. McKeever, 
 C. C. Black. D. B. Adams. F. 1-^. Baldwin: town marshal. Martin Xeal. 
 
 The town has a lively Odd Fellows' lodge and also a Woodmen of 
 America camp, mentioned in the Secret Society chapter. Its churches are the 
 Methodist and Christian denominations. 
 
 The two railroads at Mingo are the Great Western and the Xewton & 
 Xorthwestern routes. 
 
 Of the postoffice history it should here be stated that Mingo was named 
 for the town of like name in Ohio, by the present i)ostmaster. R. C. Everett. 
 and the original name was derived from that noble old Indian chieftain. "The 
 Mingo Chief," so familiar to all .school l)oys. The postmasters have served 
 in the following order: \\'. H. Penquite, 1'. W. Rumbaugh, Dr. W. W. 
 Hawk. Ira Cummings, R. C. Everett. A. E. Rees. Jasper Watt. R. C. Everett.
 
 340 .lASl'ER COLNTV. IOWA. 
 
 About 1907 a rural route was established from this point, with C E. Baker 
 as carrier. There are two mails each way daily from Mingo. The office 
 receipts in 19 10 were eight hundred and fourteen dollars and seventy-five 
 cents, including box rents. 
 
 The business interests in Mingo in April, 191 1, were as follows: 
 
 Banking — ]\Iingo Savings and Trust Company. 
 
 Lumber — The Adams Lumber Company, 
 
 Grain Dealer — A. \V. Frey. 
 
 Stock — Berkley & Ivnotsnian. 
 
 Meats — Xeal & Franklin. 
 
 Hotel — Mingo House. 
 
 Millinery — Mrs. S. E. Harter. 
 
 Barbers — Joseph Pitcock and E. C. Kelley. 
 
 General Dealers — \V. A. Witmer, H. M. Baker, Mingo Mercantile Com- 
 pany. 
 
 tlardware — E. C. Southern Hardware Company and G. L. Rumbaugh. 
 
 Drugs — Charles Hansen. 
 
 Implements — Black Brothers. 
 
 Produce — Des Aloines Poultry Company. 
 
 Livery — Albert Kerns. 
 
 Physician — Dr. D. C. Garner. 
 
 Wagon Shoi) — David McKeever, 
 
 VILLAGE OF VALERIA. 
 
 This is another town created by the building of the Chicago Great West- 
 ern railroad through this township. It also became a junction point with 
 the road named and the Colfax & Northern line. Its population in 1900 was 
 one hundred and tifty. A bank was established there in 1901 by Benjamin 
 Falen, but it has closed. Its present business consists of the following: 
 
 General Dealers — C. J. Ryan and J. Y. Fiddler. 
 
 Restaurant-hotel — H. Stiers. 
 
 Barber Shop — W. M. Keever. 
 
 Hardware — J. A. Radley. 
 
 Lumber — H. E. Stoke. 
 
 Livery — J, C. Stanley. , 
 
 Millinery — Miss Doha Vernocom. 
 
 Grain Dealers — Gannon Brothers. 
 
 Drugs — Charles Worrick.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 34I 
 
 With the coal deposit running out hy being worked many years; by the 
 great cyclone through the township in May, 1896, and several disastrous fires, 
 the town has gone down instead of advancing. One fire in April. 1894. burned 
 on both sides of the main street, causing much damage. 
 
 The population is now less than one hundred souls. The churches of 
 Valeria are the Catholic and Methodist Episcopal. The latter is served by 
 the pastor at Mingo. 
 
 The following have served as postmasters at Valeria: C. A. O'Brien, 
 J. W. Walters, Mr. Bushard, Frank Woods, F. G. Pease, B. Anderson, J. B. 
 Hessinus, C. Jones, C. J. Bryan, who was appointed in 1910. It is a fourth- 
 class and a money order office. It was robbed in July, 1910, of four dollars 
 and sixty-three cents. Under postmaster Anderson a fire in March, 191 1, 
 visited the office, but little was lost, but in the sweeping fire of 1894 the entire 
 office effects were lost. 
 
 OSWALT. 
 
 This is now a mere station point on the Colfax & Northern railroad, 
 midway between Colfax and Valeria. At one time, in the palmy coal ship- 
 ping days, it had considerable local business.
 
 CHAPTER XXXIll. 
 
 PALO ALTO TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Talo Alto township is iinniediately south of Newton city and township, 
 west of Buena X'ista and Elk Creek, north of Elk Creek and Eairview town- 
 ships and to the east of the Fairview and Sherman townships. It is of irregu- 
 lar shape owing to its domain taking the territory to the northeast of South 
 Skunk river in its southwestern part. Its territory comprises parts of con- 
 gressional townships yS and 79, in range 19 west. It contains about thirty- 
 live sections of land and is eight miles from north to south and live miles wide 
 from east to west in the main part of its territory, following the meander- 
 ings of Skunk river in the southwest. 
 
 ]t is largely a prairie section, aside from the large body of timber found 
 growing three miles or so to the south of Newton, known as Hixon's Grove, 
 and that growing along the valley of the Skunk river. 
 
 The Newton & Marion railroad runs through this township from north 
 to south, with siding station points at various points and at Reasoner. 
 
 The earliest entries of government land were made as follows : William 
 Hanshaw. on the northeast quarter of the northeast cjuarter of section 4, 
 November 29. 1847; Thomas Rees, the southeast cpiarter of the southeast 
 (juarter of section 15. Januarv 3, 1848. 
 
 J^alo Alto township had a population of one thousand ninety-six in 1905, 
 according to the state census. 
 
 The township was organized in the spring of 1857 by the county judge. 
 His order for the formation of a new township reads as follows : "Commenc- 
 ing at the quarter section stake on the east side of section 12, township 79, 
 range 19 west; thence west on the line through the center of the section to 
 the quarter section stake on the west side of section 12, township 79, range 20 
 west; thence south on the section line to the southwest corner of section 36, 
 said township and range: thence east to the township line to the northwest 
 corner of section 4, township yS, range 19; thence south to the southwest cor- 
 ner of said section; thence east to the southeast corner of section i, same 
 township and range; then north with the range line to the place of beginning." 
 
 The above was the original territory of Palo Alto township which was 
 named for the Mexican name, which had been made famous by the war with 
 Mexico alxnit the date of the formation of this sub-division of Jasper county.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 343 
 
 THE BEGINNINGS IN I'ALO ALTO. 
 
 'J'homas Rees and family were the tirst to estal)lish lor themselves a 
 home in what is now known as Palo Alto township. Mr. Rees located on 
 section 22, township 79. range 19 west, in November, 1848. Xut until four 
 years had passed — long ones too — did they enjoy the society of a neighbor 
 nearer than four miles distant. Months at a time ]\irs. Rees never saw the 
 face and form of a woman, except the dusky Jndian women. They were on 
 good terms with the Indians and frequently the latter were entertained and 
 even allowed to sleep in the house in bad weather and enjoy the huge fireplace 
 and crackling fire, always at a bright glow. 
 
 ]n the simimer of 1852 Shelby Baker came in and located; later still 
 came a man named Finwick. Joshua Guessford, Jacob and George Elmanty, 
 E. B. Sloan, Wesley W'atkins, and Wakefield Trotter came in 1854 to in- 
 crease the little settlement in the wilds of the township. In 1856 came David 
 D. Prior, Joel Guessford, Stephen Guessford, Allen T. Drake, James Early, 
 Riley Ashley and LeRoy Livingston. In i860 the township had a population 
 of not far from five hundred. 
 
 The first wedding was over the marriage of Henry Adamson and Mary 
 Jane Baker, February 10, 1853. The shoes worn by the bride were borrowed 
 from Mrs. Rees (shoes were scarce articles then in this township). 
 
 I'he first birth in the township is supposed to have been a daughter born 
 to Thomas and Mary A. Rees. March 25, 1849. 
 
 The first death recorded was an infant son of the same family, July 26, 
 
 1854. 
 
 School No. I in the townsliip was taught as a subscription school, in 
 1857. Hattie Bain was the teacher. The first public school was taught in the 
 Wild Cat school house by Miss Eliza Henderson in the summer of 1858. 
 
 The first religious ser\'ice was held by Rev. Thomas Merrill and Rev. 
 Ami Shaffer, who conducted serxices at the school house last mentioned. 
 
 Palo Alto township sent forth twenty soldiers to the front during the 
 days of the Civil war, a good record of patriotism. 
 
 INTERESTING PARAGRAPHS. 
 
 National Independence Day was celebrated in this township July 4, 1874. 
 at or near the Presbyterian church in the native grove. An oration was lis- 
 tened to by Hon. John Meyer, and responses to toasts by Capt. M. W. Atwood. 
 Samuel Reasoner. William Brown, Rev. E. S. McMichael, Miss S. E. Hill 
 and W. A. Li\ingston.
 
 :^44 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 By reference to the records of the county, made in 1878, it will be dis- 
 covered that the total amount of personal taxes paid from this township in 
 1878 (for the previous year's taxes) was $69,193, including the items of 710 
 head of horses, 44 mules and 1.556 head of taxable cattle. 
 
 The total of personal and realty property taxes was $6,112, on a Aalua- 
 tion of $318,467 in the township. Compare this with a table found in the 
 chapter on County Government and see how the township has advanced finan- 
 cially. 
 
 Quite a portion of this township is underlaid with paying quantities of 
 an excellent coal which is being mined to a good profit to its owners. The 
 chapter on the topography and natural features of the county will speak more 
 at length of these mining interests. 
 
 THE TOWN OF REASONER. 
 
 Reasoner is a small village on the Xewton & Marion railroad in the 
 southern part of Palo Alto township, twelve miles due south of Newton. It 
 takes its name from several large land-owners by that name in that immediate 
 vicinity. Its plat was surveyed in the summer of 1877. 
 
 James Allen had constructed a building there before the town site stakes 
 had been set. A dozen buildings sprung up as if by magic and two grain 
 elevators, one by Arnold & Johnson and one by Mr. Adamson. Two general 
 stores were at once opened up for trade and the station agent, James Allen, 
 was the first to serve as postmaster. This place is in the heart of the coal 
 district of Jasper county, yet surrounded by a rich agricultural country. 
 
 PRESENT BUSINESS INTERESTS. 
 
 In the month of April, 191 1, the following persons carried on their 
 respective business in Reasoner : 
 
 General Dealers — Hinshaw & Saunders, J. W. Edwards and F. J. Coffee. 
 
 Meat Market and Lunch Room — B. R. Cardon. 
 
 Hardware Dealer — Frank B. Ross. 
 
 Farm Implements — Reasoner Implement Company. 
 
 Drugs— C. B. Walsh. 
 
 Lumber and Grain — Denniston & Partridge. 
 
 Elevator, Poultry and Hogs — E. Bean. 
 
 Blacksmith — J. M. Carnahan. 
 
 Barber — Will Wasson.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 345 
 
 Boarding House — 'Sirs. Andrew French. 
 
 Stock Dealers — Coker & Warring. 
 
 Justice of the Peace — Charles Saunders. 
 
 Reasoner Savings Bank. 
 
 Reasoner Mutual Telephone Company. 
 
 The town has one of the finest mineral water flowing wells in the countv, 
 it gushing out near the center of the business part of the place. 
 
 The religious element is cared for by the Methodist Episcopal church. 
 \\hich denomination has a good frame building. 
 
 POSTOFFICE HI.STORY. 
 
 An office was established here about 1879. In February, 1904, it was 
 made a rural route station. The present carrier is J. E. Sipe. 
 
 Outside of the money order business, the receipts of the office in 1910 
 was six hundred and sixty-five dollars and eighty-five cents. There were 
 during the same period sent out sixty-two pieces of registered mail matter. 
 Two mails are received each way daily, north and south. 
 
 The following is a complete list of postmasters at Reasoner : James 
 Allen, J. F. Wheeler, Will Caldwell, J. W. Edwards, 1894-97; James F Wil- 
 son, 1897-1907; (Miss) Mary J. Wilson, 1907-07; (Miss) Fern Bean. 1908 
 and the present postmistress.
 
 CHAPTER XXXIW 
 
 NEWTON TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Xewton township, in wliich the city of the same name is situated, is al^out 
 in the geographical center of the county, and as now constituted comprises 
 twenty-four sections of congressional township 80, range 19 west. At its 
 north is found JMalaka township, on its east is Kellogg, on the south is Palo 
 Alto township and on the west is Sherman township. Cherry creek and 
 smaller streams drain and water this part of the county. There are beautiful 
 groves of native timber, once heavy, large forest trees in the west and north- 
 western part of Xewton township, l)ut much has been cut off with the passing 
 of years and the development of the county. 
 
 N^ewton was organized in 185 1 by County Judge Jesse Rickman, who de- 
 cided the boundaries of Xlewton township should be as follows : "Commenc- 
 ing at the northeast corner of township 81, range 18 west, and run twelve 
 miles west to the northwest corner of township 81, range 19; thence south six 
 miles to the southwest corner of said township and range; thence west two 
 miles to the northwest corner of section 2, township 80, range 20; thence 
 south to Skunk ri\er; thence east to the range line 18; thence north to the 
 place of beginning." 
 
 It will be seen that originally this township took in much more than its 
 present territory, including Kellogg township of today. In 1857 it took its 
 present form and size. 
 
 The population of this township, outside of the city of X^ewton, in 1905. 
 when the state census was taken, was nine hundred and two. 
 
 At the presidential election in 1852, when (ien. Winfield Scott and 
 l">anklin Pierce ran for the presidency, Xewton township ga\"e the former 
 sixty-eight votes and the latter tliirty-two \-otes. 
 
 In April, 1855, in voting on the prohibition cpiestion, this township 
 gave the measure of prohibition one hundred and eighty-eight votes and fifty- 
 three against the measure. 
 
 In 1878 the records show that there was personal propertv valued at 
 $22,308 in Newton township, outside the city. This included 324 head of 
 hor.ses, 1 1 mules and 274 head of cattle of taxable age.
 
 JASlMiK COUNTY. IOWA. 347 
 
 At the above date the total valuation of property in the township was 
 $252,425, on which was paid a total tax of $4,559.46. 
 
 For the first five or six years the history of Newton t<jwnsliip is partly 
 summed up by the following extracts from the records now on file : 
 
 1848 — The record for this year shows that William \[. Springer was 
 sworn in as township clerk, by T. J. Adamson, a justice of the peace. William 
 C. Smith was school inspector. The township trustees were Charles C. Thorp, 
 Ballinger Aydellotte and Henry Hammer. In .\pril the same year, Lewis 
 Herron and James Pearsons qualified as fence viewers and o\erseers of the 
 poor. In June, Moses Lacy was appointed constable, while in August, Hart 
 Spring was made another constable for Newton township. 
 
 1849 — '^ he trustees were Evan Adamson, Seth Hammer and John B. 
 Hammack. It was during that year that the township was divided into four 
 road districts. 
 
 1850 — The trustees ordered twenty-eight dollars and twenty-five cents 
 to be paid for "the l^enefit of John Sewell." On March 30th the order read to 
 "call out all the 'respectful' hands in the road districts, and open up the county 
 road laid from Newton to the Marion county line, in the direction of Red 
 Rock." 
 
 1852 — Joseph Dodd and J. N. Edgar were elected justices of the peace; 
 Jesse Hammer and T. J. Densmore, constables. 
 
 1853 — Tliree new road districts were established in this township. At 
 the April election were elected Edwin White, Ezekiel Shipley and T. J. 
 Allen as trustees. W. M. Springer was clerk and Lawson D. Sims, assessor. 
 
 1856 — The sum of fifty-one dollars was voted to defray the sick and 
 burial charges of Mary Jane ]\IcConkey, a pauper. William R. Davis was 
 assessor that vear. The same year ten dollars was allowed for defraying the 
 expense of caring for Mary Johnson, a pauper, and a like amount for a ''sick 
 man." 
 
 The history of the city of Newton appears elsewhere in this work, it 
 being given a chapter by itself.
 
 CHAPTER XXXV. 
 
 WASHINGTON TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Washington township, on the western border of Jasper county, the 
 second from the south Hne, comprises nearly all of congressional township 79, 
 range 21 west, and about two sections in its northwestern corner belonging" 
 in township 80 of the same range. Its total territory is about thirty-six sec- 
 tions. The South Skunk river forms its northern border line. It is bounded 
 on the west by Polk county, on the north by Poweshiek township, on the 
 east by Mound Prairie and on the south by Des Moines township. 
 
 The Rock Island railroad crosses the township from east to west, enter- 
 ing the township on section i and leaving it from section 7. 
 
 The old Des Moines Valley line (Des Moines & Keokuk railroad) passes 
 through the southwestern portion of the township, traversing secions 18. 19, 
 20, 21. 27, 28. 34 and 35, with a station at Prairie City on section 36 of Des 
 Moines township. 
 
 Squaw Creek and lesser streams, all flowing into the South Skunk river, 
 are the streams of the township. Watkins creek takes its rise in section 20, 
 of Washington township, and flows to the southeast. This is a prairie town- 
 ship for the most part. 
 
 In the \icinity of Colfax the bituminous coal industry has come to be 
 one of much magnitude in recent years. 
 
 The only town or city within the township is Colfax, mentioned at 
 length in this chapter. 
 
 The population of the townshij) in 1905, according to the state census, 
 was eight hundred and fifty-two outside the city of Colfax, which had at that 
 date about 2,600. 
 
 ORGANIZATION OF THE TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Washington township was organized at the June session of the board of 
 county supervisors, in 1861, upon a petition presented by the citizens of 
 Mound Prairie township. The record of such proceedings reads as follows: 
 "Commencing at the northwest corner of section i, township 79 north, range 
 21 west, and running thence south on the line dividing sections i, 2, 11, 12,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 349 
 
 I3> M. ~3> -4, -5. ^^)^ 35. 36 until it strikes the southwest corner of section 
 36, in the same township and range, so that all west of said division line may 
 constitute and become a new township for voting and school purposes, and to 
 do and to transact all other business as required by law in such case.'' 
 
 The first polling place for holding elections was fixed by the lx)ard as at 
 the Tyler school house. 
 
 In 1877 the township paid a total tax of $6,351. on an assessed valuation 
 of $412,348. 
 
 In 1878 the abstract of assessment shows that the personal tax at that 
 period was $58,105, including the items of 615 head of horses. 33 head of 
 mules and 1,570 head of taxable cattle. These figures, compared with those 
 found in the chapter on County Government, for the various townships in 19 10 
 will show the progress and growth made by this township. 
 
 For the educational interests, as well as the church and lodge historv of 
 the townshij), the reader is referred to such topics found in the general chap- 
 ters under proper index headings. 
 
 THE CITY OF COLFAX. 
 
 Colfax is known, far and near, as "Spring City," owing to its numerous 
 mineral springs, which are of great medicinal \irtue in the treatment of many 
 diseases. It is situated on high rolling land for the most part and has many 
 fine building sites and beautiful, well improved homes. Its abundant supply 
 ol excellent water, taken from the gravelly springs, affords one of the most 
 delightful and healthful places in all Iowa. Its beautiful groves of native 
 timber, its large hotels and charming pul)lic park-grounds calls thousands 
 here annually, for both pleasure and health. They come from all the states in 
 the Union. 
 
 Its churches and schools are something to l^e proud of. The denomina- 
 tions having comfortable, though not extravagant, edifices, are the Metho- 
 di.st Episcopal, Baptist, Christian, Presbyterian. Catholic and Christian 
 Science. 
 
 The public school buildings — two large, fine, modern brick structures — 
 are centrallv located. The older was erected in 1896 and the last one in 191 1. 
 For more detailed account of churches and schools the reader is referred to 
 chapters on these special topics elsewhere in this volume. For the history of 
 the ^lasonic. Odd Fellows and Knights of Pythias orders, see Civic Society 
 chapter.
 
 -^;0 JASl'EK COrXTV, IOWA. 
 
 Colfax, named in honor of Hon. Schuyler Colfax, X'ice-President with 
 President Grant during his first term, is situated in section i of Washington 
 civil township and near the edge of the Ijotloiii land through which meanders 
 the waters of the Skunk river. It was platted in 1866 by A. Kimball, almost 
 one vear before the completion of the Rock Island railroad through Jasper 
 county. In the autumn of 1866 Xew ton & Richey started in the dry goods 
 trade at this point, while West tS: Kennedy opened a good sized general mer- 
 chandise store. Mr. i^arker opened the hrst grocery store in the place. In 1867 
 Dr. j. G. Ryan established himself in the drug business. Such was the be- 
 ginning at Colfax which for many years has been well advertised and widely 
 known as one of the fine towns of which Iowa may well boast of many, 
 where business, society, health-giving mineral waters and harmony prevail as 
 elements sought by those desiding to lead a quiet life. It will be remembered 
 that Colfax is but a short run on the steam or electric cars to Des ]\Ioines, 
 hence the place is well patronized as a summer resort, owing largely to the 
 surroundings and the fine spring water, w ith ample hotel accommodations. 
 
 It is a first class market point for a large and wealthy farming section. But 
 perliaps its greatest natural advantage is derived from its famous springs and 
 ihe numercjus hotels and sanitariums using the medicinal waters which gush 
 from the lx)wels of the earth at different points in and near the city proper. 
 
 The town was started solely as a railroad station of the ordinary charac- 
 ter, but in the autumn of 1875 ^ mineral spring was happily discovered and 
 samples of it were sent to James H. Blaney, a celebrated cliemist of Chicago, 
 who after testing its cpialities, declared that it contained chloride of sodium, 
 sulj)hate of .soda, sulphate of potassa, sulphate of lime, sulphate of magnesia, 
 bicarbonate of magnesia, bicarbonate of iron, alumina, silica, and only a small 
 per cent, of organic matter. 
 
 It should be recorded that here, as in most cases, great things are the work 
 of accident, for the water found to be of so much \alue to the public at Colfax 
 was discovered by a firm wh(j were boring for coal, and found the flow of 
 water greatly hindering them, and while working the uneducated workmen 
 (|uenched their thirst from this water and pronounced it fine water and the 
 attention was called to it by others who l)elieved it more than common spring 
 water. Invalids .soon ])tgan to seek it and finally a hotel had to lie erected to 
 provide entertainment. It was not long before the medicinal qualities of this 
 water attracted large numbers from far and near and the name of "Colfax 
 Springs" and "Colfax Water" was known from one end of the land to the 
 other. A hotel was erected for the accommodation of gue.sts and in\alids in 
 1876 and in January, 1877, a three-story building was erected by Messrs.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 35! 
 
 Dixon, Leighton & Gray, which was thirty-six feet by one hundred and fifteen 
 feet in size. The main springs are a mile to the east of the city, proper, and 
 there are a number of hotels both there and in the city, all having mineral 
 water connected therewith. In the summer of 1901 there were seven hotels in 
 Colfax and all well filled with people afflicted with various diseases, including 
 rheumatism, dyspepsia. Bright's disease and other kidney complaints and 
 digestive derangements. Immense amounts of this water are shipped to all 
 parts of the United States in botdes. jars and casks. This is carried on largely 
 by three bottling works which carfcyonate the water for shipping purposes. Two 
 large coal companies have their headquarters in Colfax and their pav rolls are 
 of great value, commercially, to the city. 
 
 Another feature by which the city is known is its beautiful Chautauqua 
 grounds, the Epworth League Park, that is situated but a short distance from 
 the eastern city limits. Here are assembled immense throngs with the return 
 of each season to li.sten to the best talent in the country. 
 
 MUNICIPAL GOVERNMENT. 
 
 Colfax was incorporated as a town and its first council met September 9, 
 1873. when J. R. Rodgers took the oath as its first mayor; J. T. West its re- 
 corder; R. Price. R. F. Fullington. William Kelsey. John Logston and W. L. 
 West its trustees; M. B. Coe. assessor. The town's first marshal was H. 
 Sumpter. 
 
 The first year's receipts in the incorporation was one hundred and fifty- 
 four dollars ; disbursements, one hundred and three dollars and twenty-five 
 cents. It became a ""city" in February, 1901. and contains one square mile of 
 territory. 
 
 The following have served Colfax as mayors: J- R. Rodgers. 1875-6; 
 P. H. Cragan, 1877; L. J. Labour. 1878; T. J. Doane. 1879; M. P. Doud, 
 1880; B. F. Sanders, 1881 : H. L. Weston. 1882; F. W. Carey. 1883 to 1886; 
 J. A. Mattern. 1886: W. T. Dart. 1887; H. L. Weston. 1888; ]. A. Mattern. 
 1889 to 1892; G. M. Tripp. 1892; W. M. Croft. 1893; J. A. Mattern. 1894: 
 P. H. Cragan. 1895; ^V. M. Croft, 1896; G. M. Tripp. 1897; P. H. Cragan. 
 1898 to 1901 ; J. B. Weaver. 1901 : J. H. Hahn. 1903 to 1909; M. E. Penquite. 
 1909. and is now on his second term. 
 
 The present officers are: M. F. Penquite. mayor: W. S. Cutler, clerk; 
 F. E. Kendig. chief of police; O. Morgan, deputy police; J. E. Penquite. 
 water and street commissioner: Harry Xoble was elected treasurer, but on 
 account of leaving for another state, the council elected another in his stead
 
 T^z^2 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 in the month of May. The present ( 191 1 ) council is as follows: Ray Lyons, 
 N. T. Weston, J. H. Hahn, F. L. Evans, C. J. Burnett. The city assessor is 
 \V. B. Wells. 
 
 In the last two or three years the city has taken up the important matter 
 of paving and sewerage. It now has eight miles and more of cement walks 
 and is in all ways coming to the front as a small city. It has more than two 
 thousand dollars invested in a public library and its furniture. It had in 1910 
 three and one-half miles of water mains, forty-three hydrants and many other 
 les.ser improvements. 
 
 FIRE DEPARTMENT. 
 
 The fire department is such as is usually found in towns and cities of 
 this class in Iowa. It is provided with hose carts, hook-and-ladder appliances, 
 engines, etc.. and is manned by a volunteer fire company. 
 
 WATER WORKS. 
 
 The city is possessed of a most excellent water works system. It derives 
 its water supply from a series of springs seated within a bed of gravel, and 
 the purity of the water thus obtained is appreciated by the populace and by 
 the stranger within the gates of the city. It is forced to the high water tower 
 and tank on a very high eminence to the east of the city, proper, by means of 
 steam pumps. The direct pressure from this elevated tank gives one hundred 
 and twenty pounds down in the business center of the place — ample for all 
 fire protection. The water rates are from ten to thirty cents per thousand 
 feet. The water works fund is sustained by a five mill tax annually. These 
 water works are valued at twenty-five thousand dollars. 
 
 POSTOFFICE HISTORY, 
 
 The history of the Colfax postofiice dates from the construction of the 
 railroad through the place. Its earliest histor}' seems a little obscure in the 
 minds of the present-day residents of the city. Among the postmasters who 
 have served here are well remembered the following : William \\' est, "Vance" 
 Wilson, Jacob F. Weaver, Adella V. Weaver, J. M. Topper, H. W. Robinson, 
 and the present incumbent, W. W, Hawk, who was commissioned in 1908, 
 
 In 1910 it was made a second-class office, having passed the eight thou- 
 sand dollar mark of business transacted annually. It has two rural routes 
 extending out from Colfax.
 
 JASPER COUXTY. lUWA. 353 
 
 FIRST IMPORTANT EVENTS. 
 
 In the month of August, 187O, the town was provided with a suitable 
 calaboose and about the same date the town voted on the saloon license ques- 
 tion and it resulted in thirty-ti\e votes l>eing cast for license and thirty-two 
 against it. 
 
 The independent school district of Colfax was organized in 1876 (see 
 Educational chapter). 
 
 The first religious society to organize in Colfax was the Presbyterian 
 body: their first action was taken April 6, 1868, and a church was erected in 
 1868 at a cost of one thousand two hundred dollars. 
 
 A steam flouring mill was built here about 1877 and this drew trade 
 from a large farming community. 
 
 BUSINESS INTERESTS OF I9IO-I9II. 
 
 It will be interesting in future years to look back to this page and note 
 who was engaged in the various business and professional callings in Colfax 
 in the years in which this history is being compiled. The list is as follows : 
 
 Agricultural Implements — Lovolleus & DeLong. A. A. Penquite Hard- 
 ware Company. 
 
 Banks — Citizens' State, First National. 
 
 Blacksmiths— Ball & Hibbs, D. D. Briggs. 
 
 Books and Stationery — H. ^\^ Wood. 
 
 Boots and Shoes — H. E. Gould & Company. 
 
 Brick & Tile Co. — Colfax Brickyard Company. 
 
 llothing — The Bargain Store, Davis & Davis. H. E. Gould. i 
 
 Dentists— F. G. Blake, \\'. P. Cain. 
 
 Drugg-ists — F. A. ^larquis, C. G. W'eirick. H. A. W'eirick. X. T. Weston. 
 
 Dry Goods — Colfax Mercantile Company. 
 
 F'lour and Feed — S. H. Dunton. James E. Goodman. 
 
 I-'urniture — The Forsythe Hardware Company, .\. A. Penquite Hard- 
 ware Company. 
 
 General Dealers — Ed. Bellehoefer. Colfax Mercantile Company, W. E. 
 Fenner. 
 
 Grain Dealer — S. M. Brown & Son. 
 
 Groceries — W. L. Porter, C. E. Sullenl^erger, Walter Thompson, George 
 H. York and Luther Brothers. 
 
 (23)
 
 354 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Hardware — A. A. Penquite Hardware Company, Forsythe Hardware 
 Company. 
 
 Hotels — European, Grand Hotel, Colfax, Mason House, Mills House, 
 Oriental, Victoria, Sanatorium House. 
 
 Tee Dealer — Cieorge ]Myers. 
 
 jewelry — \\\ S. Johnson, H. W. Wood. 
 
 Laundry — Colfax Steam Laundry. 
 
 Lawyers — P. K. Johannsen, James B. Weaver, Trip & Trip and Cragan 
 Brothers. 
 
 Live Stock — George \V. Kintz. 
 
 Livery — Main & Robinson, C. C. Plummer, Star Livery. 
 
 Lumber — S. M. Brown & Son, Colfax Lumber Company. 
 
 !Meats — Colfax Mercantile Company, Sharp & Tespstra. 
 
 Millinery — Miss K. G. Mahoney. Miss Emma Wheeler. 
 
 Newspapers — Colfa^v Tribune, Baptist Messenger (monthly) and the 
 Clipper. 
 
 Photographs — Robert Dawson. 
 
 Physicians — Drs. R. G. Anspach, Frank E. Boyd, T. A. Burke. J. C. 
 Corselius, Alex. Hall. W. W. Hawk. M. AL Knowles, F. W. Stewart, J. E. 
 Traister, Alice Turner, L. C. S. Turner, H. A. Weirick, N. T. Weston. 
 
 Sanitariums — The Centropolis, Grand Hotel and Mineral Springs, Vic- 
 toria, and Rest House. 
 
 L'ndertakers — W. S. Cutler & Company. 
 
 Colfax, in no large sense, can be styled a factory town. It has, how- 
 ever, three extensive bottling works which sterilize the mineral spring waters 
 and ship in all sorts of ])ackages to distant points in the United States. These 
 concerns work full time and usually ship a carload apiece each twenty-four 
 hours. 
 
 The electric light plant has long been in operation. It is owned by pri- 
 \ate individuals and beautifully illuminates the city and environments. 
 
 The latest industry in Colfax is one of its best in many ways, for it has 
 established a factory the product of which will certainly be in great demand 
 as the years come and go. This is the plant that manufactures the "Close 
 To Nature" incubator and brooder and kindred goods employed in the arti- 
 ficial hatching of chickens and the care of the same. Its factory is near the 
 depots and is good sized and well regulated. It has its base in the invention 
 patented by its manager, W. H. IVIonroe, who several years since invented a 
 line of devices for the purposes already stated and then formed a stock com- 
 pany of chiefly Colfax men. It is known as the "Close To Nature" Manu-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 355 
 
 facturing Company. In the incubator which they make warm water is em- 
 ployed for heating the machine. They also manufacture an improved "green 
 feed" producer, by which green wheat, oats, corn, etc., may be (juicklv brought 
 forth in mid-winter and early spring for feeding poultry. These goods find 
 ready sale in all sections of the United States and the enterprise is constantlv 
 spreading out w ith its increase of orders.
 
 LllAiTKR XXXVl. 
 
 SHERMAN TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Sherman township, in the northwestern quarter of Jasper cuunty, is lo- 
 cated to the south of Intlependence township, to the west of Malaka, Newton 
 and Palo Alto townships, to the north of Mound Prairie and Fairview town- 
 ships and east of P'oweshiek township. For the most part the western border 
 line is the meanderings of Indian creek, a branch of the Skunk river, which 
 also forms the southwestern line of the township, thus making the township 
 one of wedge shape. It contains about forty sections of land. This town- 
 ship is somewhat broken, with numerous small creeks and a lake within 
 its borders. The natural groves are confined to the banks of these streams. 
 Highways run on almost all section lines, however, and the township is one 
 of much value, lying near to the county seat as it does. There are no towns or 
 \illages \\ ithin its borders. 
 
 It has an excellent lot of common schools and as these are included in 
 the Educational chapter they need not here be referred to. 
 
 One of the earliest land entries in this township is shown by the public 
 records to have been Samuel K. Parker, in the northwest quarter of the 
 southeast cpiarter of section 32. on June 14, 1849; ^^ iHiam Rickey, in the 
 northwest quarter of section 20, on Alay 15, 1849. 
 
 Much of the land in this townshij) is underlaid with a good grade of 
 bituminous coal, which has l)een nu'ned in paying quantities for many 
 years. 
 
 The Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railroad crosses the southern point 
 of this township from east to west, the mileage in the same being about four 
 miles. 
 
 ORG.XNIZATION, ETC. 
 
 Sherman to\\nshi[) was organized in 1868. 
 
 According to the state census reports of 1903. tlie population of Sherman 
 township was five hundred and seventy-fi\'c. 
 
 As far back as 1877 ^^""6 total valuation of i)roi)erty in this township 
 amounted to $359,326, on which the people owning it paid into the county 
 treasury the sum of $5,475.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 357 
 
 In 1878 the personal tax was levied upon property valued at %y^Xy22, in- 
 clusive of 793 head of horses. 29 mules and asses and 1.785 head of taxable 
 cattle. By comparing these figures with those contained in the item of town- 
 shi]) \aluations, found in the County Ciovernment chapter of this volume, the 
 reader will note the advancement in the last quarter of a century of the town- 
 ship's history.
 
 CHAPTER XXXVII. 
 
 CLEAR CREEK TOWNSHIP. 
 
 Clear Creek township is situated in the extreme northwestern part of 
 Jasper county, bounded on the north by Story county, on the east by Inde- 
 pendence township, on the south by Poweshiek township, on the west by 
 Polk county. It is six miles square and comprises congressional township 
 8i, range 21 west. It was organized by order of the county board in the 
 month of August. 1849, ^^^ ^^'^-'^ described later as it now stands. 
 
 Indian creek courses through this township on its southeastern course, 
 and together with its tributaries drains and waters the township well. Con- 
 siderable nati\e timber is found in this portion of Jasper county. In 1905 
 the state census gave this township a population of seven hundred and eighty- 
 seven. *Its schools and churches will be treated in the general chapters on 
 such topics. Among the first to take up government land in this township 
 were jose])h Kintz. two tracts in sections 24, 25 and 26, July 2, 1849; Adam 
 W. Alaggart in section 25, July 9, 1849. 
 
 The school fund apportionment for this township in 185 1 was nineteen 
 dollars and ninety-seven cents. At the presidential election in 1856 General 
 Winfield .Scott received nine votes and Franklin Pierce twenty-three votes 
 in this township. 
 
 In April. 1855. the people of Jasper county voted on the ever-present 
 intoxicating li(|uor problem and in this township the vote stood eleven for 
 and forty-eight against the measure. 
 
 In t8-8 the records show that there was a total assessment on personal 
 property in this township amounting to $61,206. This included the 615 
 horses. 30 mules and 1.388 head of cattle in the township. 
 
 The tax levy for 1877 shows this township to have had a total valuation 
 of property of $249,980 and on this they paid into the county treasury the 
 sum of $3,757.26. 
 
 THE VIEL.XGE OF CLYDE. 
 
 This litde hamlet was for many years a useful adjunct to the people of 
 this township. It is situated on section u of a small branch of Indian creek, 
 less than two miles from the north line of the county. It is al)out fifteen 
 miles from Newton and twelve from Colfax, while it is but twelve miles south 
 of Colo. Story county.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 359 
 
 Maxwell & Company started a general store here in 1868; in the autumn 
 of 1874 the Methodist Episcopal denomination erected a church here at a 
 cost of two thousand five hundred dollars. In 1878 the hamlet had a dry 
 goods store and three shops, with about fifteen or twenty dwelling houses. 
 
 It was at this point in February, 1875. that during a fearful storm, the 
 residence of Charles B. Maxwell caught fire and was totally destroyed, caus- 
 ing a loss of four tliousand four hundred dollars, one half of which was 
 covered by insurance. Clyde is still only a small trading point.
 
 CHAPTKR XXXVJ]!. 
 
 :miscklLam-:()L"s ite:ms. 
 
 Within this chapter will be found many interestin"-. valuable accounts 
 of the doings of men and \\H)men who have participated in the development 
 of Jasper countv. from its earliest settlement to this date. The editors have 
 sought to publish ()n]\ tliat which is l)elie\e(l to lie accin-ate. and as such it 
 will be valuable to the reader of local history. 
 
 \1LI.AGE PLATS OF TTIE COUNTY. 
 
 The following is believed to be an account of the plattings of all of the 
 villages, towns and cities within Jasper county up to May, 191 1. Only the 
 '"originals" are here named : 
 
 Amboy. i)latte(l January. 1872. by David B. Gotschall and wife on the 
 west half of the southwest quarter of section 17, township 80, range 18. The 
 Rock Island road runs through this village plat. It is in Kellogg civil tow'n- 
 ship. 
 
 Baxter, platted October 24, 1883. on the southwest quarter of the north- 
 west quarter of section 14, township 81. range 20, by David ^^^ and Amy 
 Smith. It is situated in Independence ci\il township and is a station point 
 on the (ireat Western railroad. 
 
 Colfax was platted by Abel Kimball, of Scott coimty. Iowa, on the 
 north half of the scnithwest (juarter of section 1. township 79. range 21, in 
 July. 1867. 
 
 Clyde was platted Septeml^er 18, 1857, on the northeast ((uarter of the 
 southwest quarter of .section ii. township 81. range 21, by V. M. Heller and 
 Joseph West and their wives. 
 
 b^arniersN-illc was ])latted by Anderson X'owcll and wife, Lettv. in Maw 
 1876. on the southwest (|uartei' of the northwest (|uarter of section 12, town- 
 shi]) 79, range 20. 
 
 b^airmount — Xo record of brst platting. Boles addition \\as made 
 March 21, 1876. This is a station jioint on the old Des Moines \'alle\' rail- 
 road (now Keokuk & Des Moines), l)etween Prairie City and Monroe. 
 
 Greencastle. on section 14, township 80, range 21. was i)latted bv .\ll)ert 
 Sbi])p and wife. August 30, 1855. This plat is situated in Poweshiek civil 
 township, southeast from Mingo.
 
 JASPER GOLNTV, IOWA. 361 
 
 Galeshurg. on section i6. townshij) 78. ran.qe 18. was platted by William 
 Burton and wife. August 22, 1855. and is situated in Elk Creek township. 
 
 Ira. which was platted as "Millard" originally. December 3. 1883. bv 
 William F. Rippey and wife, is on section 32. townshij) 81, range 20. It is 
 situated within Independence civil township. 
 
 Jasper City (now Kellogg) was platted on section 26. township 80. 
 range 18. Sei)tenil)er 12. 1863. by Imios Blair and Absalom Adair and their 
 wi\es. It is in Kellogg civil township. 
 
 Kellogg (first known as Jasper City) was incorporated August 12. 1873. 
 after which it took the name Kellogg. 
 
 Killduff was platted January 5. 1884. l)y Timothy Killduff and wife, on 
 the east half of the southeast (|uarter and east third of the west lialf of the 
 southeast quarter of section 35, township 79, range 18. Februarv 21, 1883. 
 
 Lynnville was platted July 23. 1856. by John and ^fary .\rnold. on the 
 northwest fpiarter of the northeast quarter of section 11. town.ship 78. range 
 17, and is witlun the ci\il township of L}nn Grox'e. 
 
 Monroe was j)latted December 18. 1856. on the northwest (piarter of 
 section 31. townshij) j?^, range 19, by Daniel Hiskey and wife. This is within 
 the ci\il township of Fairview. 
 
 Mingo was jjlatted May ij. 1884. on the northeast half of the south- 
 west quarter of section 3. townshij) 80. range 21. by Thomas A. and Da\id 
 Baker and is w ithin the trritory of Poweshiek townshij). 
 
 Metz was j)latted Julv 2^:^. 1883, on the southeast (piarter of the north- 
 east cjuarter of section it. townshij) 79. range 20. b\ William Hitchler and 
 is within Mound Prairie township. 
 
 Xewburg was j)latted Sei)tember 30. 1878. on the east half of the north- 
 east cjuarter of the northwest (juarter of section 24. townshij) 81. range 17. 
 by Horace and Margaret Palmer, in Hickory drove civil township. 
 
 Xewton (original) was j)latted by the county commissioners of "Jasj)er 
 county. Territory of Iowa." July 7. 1846. 
 
 Prairie Citv (first called Flliott) was platted June 7. 1856. by James 
 Elliott and wife, on section 2. township yd', range 21. This is in De> Moines 
 township and a j)art runs over into Washington tow nshij). 
 
 Rushville, in the northeast quarter of the northeast quarter of section 9. 
 townshij) 80. range 18. was j)latted by Jesse and Jane Young. March 24. 1857. 
 and is situated in Kellogg civil township. 
 
 Reasoner was i)latted August. 1877. l)y Samuel and Mary Reasoner. on 
 the northeast (juarter of section 10. township 78. range 19. and is situated in 
 Palo Alto ci\il townshij).
 
 ^02 JASPER COUNJV. IOWA. 
 
 Sully was platted on the northeast quarter of the northwest quarter of 
 section 8. township 78, range 17. August 3, 1882, by Robert Ryan, trustee. 
 This is in Lynn Grove civil township. 
 
 Tools Point was platted and filed for record May 13, 1850, by pioneer 
 Adam Tool, on the southwest quarter of section 31, township 70. range 19. 
 
 Turner was platted April 19, 1899, on the northeast quarter of the north- 
 west quarter of section 34, township 80, range 17. and is within Rock Creek 
 civil township. 
 
 X^andalia was platted on section 36, township 78, range 18. by josei)h W. 
 Buffington. Februaiy 25, 1853. 
 
 Valeria was platted October 24, 1883, by N. W. Johnson and wife, on 
 section 20, township 80, range 21. in Poweshiek civil township. 
 
 Wittemberg was platted by John Carey, president; T. Failor, secre- 
 tarv of the Wittenil>erg IManual Labor College, on the east half of section 3. 
 township 80. range 19, Decemlier 15, 1856, and the same was recorded Janu- 
 arv 12. 1858. This was in Newton civil township. It was vacated in 1878 
 and in 1890. 
 
 •Another village was platted at Oswalt, in Poweshiek township, but little, 
 save a railway station has ever been built there. It is midway between Col- 
 fax and \'aleria, on the Colfax & Northern railroad, in Poweshiek townshi]). 
 
 CALIFORNIA GOLD SEEKERS. 
 
 During the great California gold fe\er days, and in 1850, Jasper county 
 was caught, as was many another Iowa county. A party was formed in- 
 cluding the following gentlemen : David and William Edmundson, John E. 
 Copp and son, Nathan Williams, William Smith, Curtis Dooley, Jesse Wilton 
 and Peter Miller. Williams and Miller died in California. Dooley returned 
 and a few years later went to Oregon. This party crossed the great plains, 
 then styled the "Great American Desert." As a rule none were but little 
 more advanced, financially, when they returned than when they left Iowa. 
 Some, however, did (|uite well. 
 
 EARLY ST.VGE ROADS. 
 
 In h'cbruary, 1847, ^^'^ '^^t was approved by the Iowa Legislature, by 
 which E. G. Hanfield, of Marion county, and Rufus Williams and Joab Ben- 
 nett, of Jasper county, were authorized to lay off a road known as the "State 
 Road," commencing at Knoxville, and running by Red Rock to Newton.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 363 
 
 These men were to meet thirty days later and have their expenses all paid 
 jointly by the two counties. 
 
 On the 1 2th of the same month Edward , of Iowa, Nathan Will- 
 iams of Jasper, and A. D. Jones, of Polk counties, were appointed to es- 
 tablish a road, beginning at James McCrea's in township 79, range 6, and 
 running by the way of Newton and Fort Des Moines to the county seat of 
 Dallas county, Iowa. 
 
 Provisions were also made for running a road from Iowa City, bv the 
 way of Marengo, to Newton, David Edmundson being the locating commis- 
 sioner. 
 
 February 18, 1847, ^lanly Gifford, of Jasper. John Hamilton, of Marion, 
 and Thomas H. Napier, of Polk county, were appointed to lay out a state 
 road from Lake Prairie, in ]Marion county, to Fort Des Moines, running on 
 the north side of the Des Moines river. These commissioners were recjuired 
 to meet l:>efore September of that year, to execute their duties. 
 
 Joint resolution No. 9. of the first General Assembly, calls for the rep- 
 resentatives in Congress to use their influence to obtain the establishment of 
 a mail route from Iowa City, by the way of Newton, to Fort Des Moines, and 
 to secure the establishment of a postoffice at Newton City. Resolution No. 
 12 called for the representatives in Congress to use their best exertions to 
 obtain an appropriation for the establisliment of a military road from Iowa 
 City to Fort Des Moines, and from thence on to the Missouri river. The 
 preamble states that the route would conduce greatly to the public interest, and 
 that, passing through a region remote from the navigable waters of any 
 stream, it would thereby tend to facilitate the sale of large tracts of the public 
 domain, which would otherwise remain unsettled for a long time. 
 
 MARRIAGE RECORD. 
 
 As long as people "are married and given in marriage"' in this world, 
 if not in the world to come, it may be of some interest to the reader of this 
 historic volume to know something of the first and subsequent marriages in 
 Jasper county, as discovered in the records of the county. 
 
 It appears of record that the first marriage in the county was that which 
 united Sergt. James Hill. United States Army, of Fort Des 2^Ioines. and the 
 bride. Miss Susan A. Tool, daughter of the first pioneer in this county. This 
 marriaee is not recorded here, but in Marion countv. as this dates back earlier 
 than the organization of this county. The marriage was performed in the
 
 -^(34 lASl'ER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 niunth of l-'ehrnary. 1845. the ceremony being pertonned 1)y Re\-. Pardoe, an 
 illiterate minister who had frequently preached as a missionary to Keokuk 
 and his tribe. 
 
 It is related of this eccentric minister, that he talked to the Indians and 
 told them that if they loved to do right and believed in the word of life, that 
 when thev died thev would go to a land "flowing with milk and honey." 
 whereupon old chief Keokuk replied that he would much prefer to have it 
 whisky and corn ! 
 
 The first entrv found in tlie jasper county marriage register reads 
 tlui> : 
 
 "The L'nited States of America. Greeting: This may certify that James 
 F. Xew has presented the [evidence] of being a regularly licensed minister 
 of the gospel, in connection with the ^lethodist Episcopal church; therefore, 
 know ve that the said James F. Xew is hereby authorized to solemnize the 
 rites of matrimonv in said county so long as he maintains his standing in said 
 church, and no longer. 
 
 "In testimon\ whereof. I ha\c hereunto set m\' hand and affixed the 
 seal (jf said court, at Monroe, this 4th da\- of Deceml)er. A. D. 1846. 
 
 "Peter Mileer. Clerk." 
 
 The credentials of l-'dder Claiborne Hall, a minister of the Christian 
 church, were recorded in 1849. and also the credentials of Rev. John Crill 
 and R. H. Brooks, preachers of the Methodist church. 
 
 X^o marriages prior to 1849 are to be found recorded. Those consum- 
 mated during that \ear were: Jesse Hammer and ^Margaret Sparks, by Rev. 
 J. I"". Xew: .\lexander McCollum and Amanda Tice. by Elder Hall; Alex- 
 ander Davis and Mrs. Mercy Shoemake. bv Jabez Starr, justice of the peace: 
 Jacob Trulinger and Mrs. Catherine W'enn. b\- !>. 1". P)ro(l}'. justice of the 
 l)eace. 
 
 From January, 1870. to January. 1879. there were 990 marriages re- 
 corded in the county's books in the clerk's office; from 1880 to January. 1890. 
 the marriages numbered j.ooi in the ten-year ])eriod : frcjm 1890 to 1898 the 
 number was 1.832: froiu J898 to 1907. the total was -'.392 for the decade, an 
 average of 236 annually. From 1907 to January i. 191 1, the numl)er of 
 marriages was 680. This makes a grand total of 7,895 since January i, 
 1 870. forty years.
 
 .|Asn:u ^.()L^l^. iowa. 365 
 
 IXTOXlCATIXC l-IyrORS, I'KOIIiniTlOX, KTC. 
 
 l-'roiii the cavlicsi date in the history of this county, as well as in the 
 entire state of Jowa, there has been a division of iniblic opinion regarding the 
 sale of intoxicating liquors as a beverage. As a rule the river towns on the 
 east and west ])orders of the commonwealth have been the locations where 
 the idea of ])rohi]jition lias l)een hooted at and fought the hardest. This is 
 natural, for at such points the worst of our population have always resided, 
 the l)etter element having chosen the prairie lands farther out from the con- 
 taminating inthiences of river traffic and boatmen's life. 
 
 The record of this county shows that in April, 1855, the question of 
 prohibition was submitted to the people, and resulted in defeat bv a vote of 
 three hundred and se\en to three hundred and forty-two, thirty-fiveniajority 
 for proliibition. At that election Xewton. as a precinct, gave one hundred 
 and eighty-eight votes against the sale of liciuor. and had it not been for this 
 large majority (more than one hundred) the county would have gone for 
 "free whisky."' 
 
 ]n July, 1855. 't is recorded that at the town of Monroe. Bennett Put- 
 nam was appointed by the judge as agent for the purchase and sale of intoxi- 
 cating li(|uors for that town, and that on the loth of the same month he pur- 
 chased one hundred and fifty dollars worth of liquors to be kept in his 
 stock for "legitimate uses." Even this was a better regulation than many 
 of the liquor laws enacted on b»\\a soil, by which the "de\il has been whip))ed 
 around the bush." 
 
 UNIQUE TP:MrERANCE ELECTIOX. 
 
 The Woman's Christian Temperance Union, in Xewton, was organ- 
 ized in June. 1876. with Mrs. Reynolds as its president: Mrs. A. C. Gardner, 
 secretary: ]^Irs. Golding. treasurer. In 1878 it reported sixty-eight mem- 
 bers. 
 
 Perhaps the most noted thing ever attempted and carried to completion 
 was that of holding a separate election, on the same day of the regular elec- 
 tion held bv the men eligible to vote in Newton. The women had their own 
 ballot \x)x and rallied their forces strong, early and late, and when the bal- 
 lots were counted out by the men, it was found that the town had gone "dry" 
 by one hundred and fifty majority. The ladies polled over four luuKlred bal- 
 lots at their voting place. This was over whether Xewton should grant license 
 to saloons or not. In this case the ladies, no doubt, had much influence on the 
 casting of the ballots of their husbands and the reader can judge as to the 
 proprietv of letting women vote as a purifier of elections in this country.
 
 366 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 VOTE ON THE CONSTITUTIONAI- AMENDMENT, 
 
 On June i-j, 1882. the prohibition question in Iowa was voted on. the 
 question being whether or not an amendment should be added to the state 
 constitution prohibiting the sale of intoxicating liquors, including "ale, wine 
 and beer." The vote in Jasper cninty, l)y precincts, was as follows: 
 
 For Against 
 Amendment. .Amendment. 
 
 J.ynn Grove township 234 t^t^ 
 
 Buena Vista Township 136 45 
 
 Independence Township 117 42 
 
 Colfax precinct 171 24 
 
 Elk Creek Township 1 19 127 
 
 Monroe precinct 299 143 
 
 Prairie City 42 7 
 
 \'andalia precinct 40 65 ' 
 
 Sherman township 90 39 
 
 Palo .\lto township 152 58 
 
 Poweshiek township 185 28 
 
 Mound Prairie township 90 36 
 
 Xewton township 533 196 
 
 Kellogg township 185 in 
 
 Clear Creek township 146 7 
 
 \\'ashington i)recinct 68 14 
 
 AFalaka township 43 63 
 
 Mariposa township 43 75 
 
 Richland township 92 34 
 
 Rock Creek township 29 53 
 
 Hickory Grove township 92 40 
 
 T<jtal 3.148 1.360 
 
 Majority for amendment 1,788 
 
 Total vote 4.508 
 
 Newton and Jasper county, generally speaking, have always disapproved 
 of the sale of intoxicating liquors, and until recent years have not tolerated 
 "boot-legging," but now it is common for such outlaws to get their work in, 
 in certain parts of the county. But saloons have never found a home at Xew- 
 ton. As early as 1855, Andrew Insley was engaged in the illegal sale of
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 367 
 
 liquor at Newton, and the citizens took the matter in hand, and finallv pur- 
 chased his stock of one hundred and thirty-six gallons of pure whisky and 
 nineteen gallons of good brandy which they took to the court house and de- 
 stroyed. Insley agreed to (juit the business, but soon resumed his illegal work 
 at peddling whisky. This being made known, the brave, true-hearted women 
 of the little hamlet gathered together and in a meeting resolved to destroy 
 the "vile stuff." This was accomplished under the leadership of Mrs. Lamb, 
 Mrs. Walker and ]\lrs. I'ettetish. The grand jury failed to find a true bill 
 against the man or he nn'ght have l>een severely punished. He had also sued 
 the ladies for destroying his "property." but the case would not stand in 
 Judge ?vIcFarland's district court. 
 
 During 1836 the women of Xewton visited the liquor shop kept bv San- 
 ford Porter and completely destroyed his stock in trade. Porter was greatly 
 enraged and had the ladies arrested, but the case amounted to nothing, for he 
 had no redress l:>efore the courts, as his was then, as now. looked upon as 
 an illegitimate business. 
 
 LOCAL LITERATURE AND AUTHORS. 
 
 Since the pioneer days in Jasper county there have been several literary 
 characters, those who have penned many beautiful jx^ems and framed many 
 fine sentences and pages of ])rose writings. These can not all be reviewed in 
 a work of the nature of this, but mention must be made of those that have 
 come within the personal knowledge of the writer. 
 
 Miss Carrie L. Early, daughter of George Early and wife, of Newton, 
 will be long cherished by those who have read her fine poems and other com- 
 positions. She passed from earth's shining circle all too young to have made 
 herself known to the nation, as she would have done had she been spared to 
 old age. She died at the age of twenty-seven. 
 
 Tn a book of her rare gems of poetry, she had one poem entitled "Suc- 
 cess." the last ver.se of which is here given. It really shows that her own sweet 
 life was a success in and of itself. 
 
 "If tliou hast striven to make clean 
 
 Thyself and build a life of good 
 To others, while thyself shall glean 
 
 From wheat or tares a sheaf of good — 
 If thou hast given thy l)est life's blood 
 
 To gain the cause thou didst think best. 
 If ever\' day thou didst an act of good. 
 
 Then thou hast truly gained success."
 
 j^()S JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Miss Ciulillnia Zollinger was a recent year contributor to periodicals. 
 •'Dan Druniniond." "The Widow O'Callihan's Boys" (1908). "The Route 
 of the Foreigner" (1910), "A Boy's Ride"" (1909), and "Alaggie AlcLane- 
 han" (1910). etc., are all from her winning pen. 
 
 Dr. Perrv Engle has wntten many beautiful things of sentiment and 
 deep philosophy, both in p^'ose and poetry. 
 
 Dr. I. n. Gorrell has written many good things along various lines, 
 including scientihc. professional and also religious and political. His recent 
 work on his religious faith is said by good judges to be a work of rare merit 
 as a compilation on religious subjects. 
 
 As a local writer for the press none excels "Tommy" 'SI. Rodgers, as he 
 is known. He has long served on various papers and gets down to the bot- 
 tom of one's heart when he tries to be sentimental. Some of his writings 
 along down the vears are rare gems, in beautiful English word settings. He 
 was a soldier in the Civil war and, w ith another youth, established the first 
 daily in this county. 
 
 ^Ir. Rinehart, who conducted the Herald many years, was a brilliant 
 writer in both prose and poetry, some of which may be seen in this work. 
 
 Mrs. T. G. Springer, of the north part of this county, wrote fine verse 
 in Civil war days. One poem was dedicated to the Jasper V^olunteers in 1861 
 and proved to be prophetic. 
 
 Another lady whom Jasper justl\' claims was Xettie. daughter of Air. and 
 Skiff, later known as Xettie Sanford-Cha])in, through her two marriage 
 unions, the last being to the veteran journalist, E. C. Chapin, of the Marshall 
 County Xczvs. She wrote mostly prose. She resided at W^ashingtoti several 
 winters and wrote much concerning society and fashionable ^^'ashington 
 circles. She lo\ed history also and w rote much of interest and \alue on Iowa 
 history. She pul)lished se\eral small books herself. She has been dead a 
 number of years. 
 
 The following is a campaign ode written man\- \ears ago bv William 
 Burne_\-. then editor of the Xcwtoii IlcraUl. now editor and proprietor of the 
 Collins Cazcltc. the occasion being the congressional campaign of 1888: 
 
 Friend of the ])eo[)le. wise and just. 
 l-'aithful to country, and to trust, 
 Xor shyster, nor deceiver; 
 Straightforward in debate and vote. 
 A gallant chief niongst men of nt)te, 
 We hail thee. General \\'ea\er.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 369 
 
 Brave soldier 'mid the j^ory rtght 
 For freedom, union, and the right. 
 
 Undaunted 'til the close; 
 Now. "mid the fight for equal laws 
 For rich and poor — a holy cause — 
 
 Thou bearest on thv foes. 
 
 And truth and justice must prevail; 
 And sore o])pression. and the wail 
 
 From many a burdened life. 
 Shall, by thine efforts, disappear, 
 "Till o"er the land, afar and near, 
 
 Shall cease the cause of strife. 
 
 God bless our country — may her boys 
 Have every blessing, and may joys 
 
 Find none their non-recei\er ; 
 And blessings crown thee, statesman true. 
 ]\ larch on to conquer, we renew 
 
 Our pledges. General Weaver. 
 
 THE TOTAL ECLIPSE OF 1 869. 
 
 Jasper county, in common ^\ ith others in this portion of this country, 
 had a rare — once in a life-time chance — in the month of .August, 1869. to 
 view the sublimit v of a total eclipse of the sun. It had been foretold by 
 astronomers and the\' hit the \ery minute in which it appeared. It appeared 
 as total within a stretch of country more than one hundred and fifty miles 
 in width through Iowa. The bodv of the moon completely hid the sun from 
 view. When the disk of the sun was almost covered and the light began to 
 diminish, a chilliness crept into the air. which during the earlier part of the 
 day had been extremely hot (it being August 7th). and a coolness not ex- 
 perienced even of a summer evening hour seemed to envelop the earth. This 
 approach of cold was instant and almost alarming. Birds and domestic fowls 
 sought their roosts, dogs and horses manifested much uneasiness and in some 
 instances positive terror. Cattle huddled together in fear at the swiftly ap- 
 proaching darkness and vet it was scarcely four o'clock in the afternoon. The 
 
 (24)
 
 370 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 total w iilth i)t the corona was fifjured by scientists at one million six hun- 
 dred thousand miles. 
 
 Every person of an\- considerable as^e in this county who was not un- 
 fortunate euiius^h to he blind, \iewed this wonderful ])henomenon in the 
 heavens. It was a sight never to be forgotten 1)\- old ov young. Some had 
 one impression, some another. It was a wonder to all. Many hundreds hav- 
 ing prepared for the sight, had smoked glasses, and with tliese were enabled 
 to clearlv view the eclipse from start to finish. The coming on was beautiful 
 in the e.xtreme. Little bv little the light of the brilliant summer's sun was 
 shut off bv the shadows of the silveiw moon in its majestic march onward. 
 A few seconds of expectancy and the light was gone entirely. Then came 
 an interval of absolute silence — total darkness covered the earth. Upward, 
 the sight was charming, yet strange to behold. The larger, brighter stars 
 could be seen overhead plainly, as if it were night time. The chickens 
 crowed in man\' neighborhoods and all business was for the time suspended. 
 All were quiet and awestruck. The astronomer was at his glory. The su- 
 perstitious feared an impending calamity. The religious were thoughtful and 
 knew that Clod in hea\en reigned o\ er all. .\fter a few seconds, the rift of 
 light began to make its appearance and slowly the sun commenced again to 
 send forth its warm summer rays. It was said that this eclipse would not 
 again occur within four hundred years. Tt was the subject of much thought. 
 discussion and speculation at the time. 
 
 ITONEEIi wo .MAX CALEEI) ""COOO SQU.VW." 
 
 The wife of one of the first settlers in Jasper county. Mrs. \\'illiam High- 
 land, the first white woman in this county, felt timid when visited by her coi>- 
 per-colored sisters and brothers in the absence of. her husband. Frequently a 
 dozen braves would enter her cabin home at one time. They made quite 
 fashionable calls and seemed interested in her housekeeping and the house- 
 hold affairs in general. They talked on \arious topics, but wound up gen- 
 erally with a hint that some (jf the w bite woman's food would suit their taste 
 pretty well. In winter their clothing was none too ample for covering them, 
 and in summer it was still more lacking in close structure. .\t first she tried 
 to cut short these calls, and they knew full well the cause — because they were 
 not wanted. When they had tea.sed her to their heart's content, they would 
 compliment her by saying she was a "good scpiaw," and then offer to leave if 
 she would shake hands with them. When she comi)lied. they silently left the 
 place and did no mischief.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 37 1 
 
 There was a certain sympathy and pity extended toward these wander- 
 ing: Indians, who had just recently been bont^ht off. or dri\en off from their 
 lands by the antiiority of government. Uut the law of the survival of the 
 fittest had tn I)e broui^ht into play in such cases that civilization mij^ht lx;ttcr 
 be established in this, the .garden spot of Iowa. 
 
 STATE CAPITAL ONCE LOCATED LV JASPER COUNTY. 
 
 There are but few of the citizens living- within Iowa now who are aware 
 of the fact that one time the capital of Iowa was legally fixed to be built in 
 Jasper county, but such is the fact. 
 
 After Iowa territory had been admitted as a state, in 1846. and its first 
 session of Legislature was held in Iowa City, then the capital of the ter- 
 ritory, the state treasurer reported the building at Iowa City very unsafe. 
 subject to being injured by storms, etc.. and asked the Legislature to do 
 something about it. Hence the General Assembly responded to his appeal 
 and appropriated the sum of two thousand five hundred dollars for the com- 
 ])letion of the old building. The question of the western boundary of Iowa 
 ha\ing then been settled, a discussion arose regarding the relocation of the 
 capital, as Iowa City was known by all reasonable minds to be too far to the 
 east. So the General .\ssembly appointed a commission to locate a seat of 
 government, and to select five sections of land. I)eing the amount granted by 
 Congress for the erection of public buildings: and granted the untlnished 
 buildings at Iowa City to the newlv created State L'niversity. to be used, 
 however, by the Legislature until other provisions could be made. The said 
 locating commissioners at once selected four sections and two half sections 
 in Jasper county. Two of these sections were located in what is n(nv Des 
 Moines township and the remainder in Fairview township. These lands were 
 situated between Prairie City and Monroe, on the Keokuk & Des Moines 
 railroad of later survey. A sale of lots took place there, a town having been 
 platted and given the name of "Monroe City." Four hundred and fifteen of 
 these lots were sold at cheap prices. The cash payment, one-fourth, yielded 
 .Si. 797.34; while the expense of the sale, and claim of the commission for ser- 
 vices, exceeded that amount by $409.14. When this glowing bit of financier- 
 ing was made known in the report to the Legi.slaturc. he. later known as 
 Iowa's most eccentric district judge. McFarland. who was then a member 
 of the House, moved that a committee of five, forming a select committee, 
 should be a])])ointed to investigate and show how much of "Monroe City" 
 was under water and how much had been burned u]>! The report was re-
 
 l^yZ JASPER COIXTV. IOWA. 
 
 ferred, without the instructions, however. The result was that Iowa's new 
 capital at Monroe City ceased to be. llie lots were vacated and most of the 
 lot owners received their money back. Chapter 71 of the laws of the first 
 General AssembK will give about the above facts. 
 
 But there are still more interesting points to be brought to the attention 
 of the reader, in this singular case. Samuel B. Shelladay, a United States 
 marshal, one of more than ordinary influence in Iowa, and also a large land- 
 uuncr in Jasper county, was engaged by the citizens of the southern part of 
 Jasper county, to go to the Legislature that w inter, at Iowa City, and lobby 
 for the new seat of justice for Iowa. It may be stated, on good authority, 
 that through his scheming the commissioners were induced to select ''Monroe 
 City" (to be) for the new capitol location. 
 
 After the commissioners had fully agreed upon this location, a pledge 
 was given that no members should divulge the secret, until the fact had been 
 made known at Iowa City to the Governor and through him made generally 
 public?. But it is claimed that one Joseph D. Hoag, of the Friends religious 
 faith — a genuine Quaker — after having agreed to this, was so dishonorable 
 that he went to his home in Henry county, near Salem, and there let the news 
 out among his brethren, giving them e\ en the exact spot where the commis- 
 sion had located the new capital. At once the scheme was set on foot to 
 claim and purchase all the land in and around the newly-made seat of justice. 
 The Quakers were seen in great numbers, traveling on foot, on horseback and 
 in wagons from Henry county, northward, through Oskaloosa, until the peo- 
 ple there mistrusted something unusual was going on and when they followed 
 on after them, in a few days, it was learned that these Friends had literally 
 gobbled up much of the a\-ailable lands in the vicinity of 'Monroe City" — in 
 short nearly all Ijetween tlie Skunk and Des Moines rivers. 
 
 Manly Gifford, of Jasper county, was a large lot purchaser in the em- 
 bryo city. So great was the ill feeling toward the man who had thus l>etra\ed 
 a sacred pledge, that it was not until the lapse of more than fifteen vears that 
 H(jag was able to get his fees as commissioner from the state of Iowa, which. 
 after the older meml)ers were forgotten, did in 1862 finall\- ])a\- him for sucli 
 services. 
 
 "Monroe City"' ne\"er was platted ruid recorded in a legal manner — it 
 existed only in the minds of a few schemers and upon paper of little size and 
 value. Xot even a cabin was ever raised there ; the stakes denoting the lot 
 corners soon disappeared with the prairie fires of 1850. Where the proud dome 
 of the new state capitol was to rear its head heavenward, the prairie grass, 
 frostbitten and brown, stood in (hy and decaying waves. ^Fhc wild animals 
 made their snug homes where the executive mansion was to have been erected.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. T^yT^ 
 
 THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD. 
 
 To the present generation, especially t(j those who have not read up on 
 the history of the country before the Civil, war, as touching the 
 workings of the fugitive sla\e law, by which all citizens of the 
 United States, whether living South or North, whether believing 
 in the justice of slavery or opposed thereto, were, according to 
 that law of Congress, obliged to help capture and return to their "own- 
 ers" such negro slaves as might escape from their masters. This was a hard 
 provision for the anti-slavery men to live up to and keep good and clear their 
 consciences. Hence there was organized a secret society of men, and women 
 too, who were ready to thwart the plans of such an unjust law, by assisting 
 in every possible manner a sla\e who might come through the country, want- 
 ing to make his escape to Canada, where he would be looked upon as a free 
 man, black though he was. It will be understood also that this was happening 
 just at a time when steam railroads were first engaging the minds of the 
 masses and hence they very naturallv used the term "underground railroad," 
 for the line over which these runaway slaves were sent from one part of the 
 north to the other. Many of the patriotic anti-slave songs also had titles 
 such as "Old Dan Tucker,"" the "Car of Emancipation," etc. Then it will be 
 understood that "underground railroad" had no real significance, in the light 
 of its being a real highway, as we now speak of railroads and of "under- 
 ground railroads'" in cities, etc., which do exist, in fact, but usually styled as 
 "subways." 
 
 During those anti-slavery times there were many in this county who 
 took an active part in helping negroes escape to Canada over this supposed 
 "underground"" line, for most of its trains were operated at night-time, in 
 order not to be detected by the slave hunters and their hounds. The following 
 is from the pen of "Old Shady" (Joseph Arnold), who was a "conductor" 
 on this railroad and these lines were not written until after the four years of 
 Civil war had freed the slaves : 
 
 "On the 4th day of November, ICS57, while returning from 
 Newton in company with Matthew Sparks, they overtook three 
 negroes about one-half mile out from Newton on the road leading 
 to Lvnnville. Mr. Arnold spoke to them, assuring them that he and his com- 
 panion were their friends, and told them to get into the wagon and ride. 
 They seemed glad of the opportunity, and after getting in, asked them where 
 they were going. Their repl>- was Lynn Grove. The darkies' eyes began to
 
 274 JASPER COUISTV, IOWA. 
 
 enlarge and show plenty of white. They then imiuired if either of us knew 
 Arnold or Sparks. Upon being informed that the two gentlemen to whom 
 thev were talking were the persons asked for, the poor fellows were over- 
 joyed at tile announcement. One of them look a ragged and soiled piece of 
 paper from his pocket. On this slip was the names of Arnold and Sparks 
 which they said was furnished them by a certain party who had formerly 
 lived in this neighborhood, but now a resident of the Territory of Kansas. He 
 had instructed the colored gentlemen that Arnold and Sparks were safe con- 
 ductors on the underground railway. They were taken to C. B. White's 
 house in Lynnville. Soon after a good many local stockholders in the line 
 assem])led. a meeting having been called by Arnold and Sparks. About nine 
 o'clock one of the darkies made a speech in which he said : T have never 
 saw so many friends in all ni}- life and would not be anything but a "nigger" 
 tonight if J could. God bless you, I am gwine to de norf, sah.' After furnish- 
 ing the darkies with means and proper passage, they were taken on to 
 Grinnell. Their names were James F. ]\Iiller, Henry May and John Ross, 
 and were from the Cherokee nation. The same year, a darkey, his wife and 
 child, the latter about one year old, were br<jught to Joseph Arnold, who 
 kept them until about daylight, ferried them across the North Skunk ri\er 
 and took them to Jarvis Johnson, where they were secreted until the next 
 night, and sent on to the next station, Grinnell. That station was then 
 superintended bv Hon. J. B. Grinnell himself. On one occasion a slave 
 catcher met Arnold, and after having noticed, veiy particularly, the co\'ered 
 wagon he was then driving, the Missourian, a rough, profane man, stO]:)ped 
 the team and in an abrupt manner said : 'You haint seen nuthin' of no nig- 
 gers along here lately, ha\e you?' Arnold soon saw the defect in this man's 
 grammar, and answered him 'Xo\' He said his niggers were in here some- 
 where and that he would catch them as sure as h . He didn't though." 
 
 Other instances include the following narrated in a former history of 
 this section of Iowa : 
 
 "John R. Si)arks, Es(|.. employed several fugitives for a short time about 
 his saw-mill. On another occasion he came narrowly out of a 'fix.' During 
 his absence, his father, a good old Kentucky Democrat, entertained se\eral 
 dusky travelers northward IxDund. These fellows were trailed by pursuers 
 <lirectly to Mr. Sparks' house, and bad it not been for the fact that the shelter 
 was gi\en as stated it would ha\e been a certain case. As it was. the pm-suers 
 grumbled a good deal toward the old gentleman. 
 
 "August 13, i860, two covered wagons passed through Xewton contain- 
 ing fifteen negroes from Missouri and Kansas, makin"- tlieir way toward tlie
 
 JASPER CO UN TV, IOWA. 3J5 
 
 North star. The wagons were accompanied by some twelve or fifteen white 
 men on horseback, and all were heavily armed, presenting a very warlike ap- 
 pearance. Among the whites was Barclay Coppoc, who had accompanied John 
 Brown on his ill-starred expedition into \irginia. and had barely escaped the 
 fate meted out to his comrades, one of wliom was his brother. Edward. His 
 flight was characterized by great nerve and daring. He returned at once to 
 his home in Cedar county, this state. Soon after, the sheriff at Tipton was 
 visited by a Virginia officer with a requisition for Barclay. The sheriff 
 volunteered to serve the papers, \isited Coppoc's home, and. not finding him, 
 left a message requesting Coppoc to be at home next day, as he had a warrant 
 for him. Another of the party was Ball, of the Brown invasion, and still 
 another. Doyle, of Kansas note. Coppoc and his company declared thev were 
 able to cope with a hundred persons, if attacked. They camped a short dis- 
 tance from town for several hours, and then resumed their journev. A squad 
 of nineteen passed a few miles south of Xewton the same dav. Three other 
 negroes passed through Xewton on their way north in A])ril of the pre- 
 ceding year." 
 
 OLD settlers' society. 
 
 January 8. i88j. an old settlers* organization was perfected. Joseph 
 Arnold drew up the preamble, constitution and by-laws, and they were re- 
 corded in book 3, page 382, in the recorder's office at Newton. There had 
 been several annual meetings of the old settlers held in the groves previous 
 to this, but no organization had been effected or any record of the proceed- 
 ings kept. John R. Sparks was chosen president and Joseph Arnold secre- 
 tary. In 1884 five acres of land was selected and purchased by the society, 
 which is one-half mile southwest of Lynnville and is called the ''Old Set- 
 tlers' Park." On this ground annual meetings were held and usually at- 
 tended bv the thousands. They are still kept up and at one occasion there 
 was estimated to have been ten thousand people in attendance. They came 
 from Maine to the Pacific coast — friends who had one time lived in Jasper 
 county. These gatherings are held on the third Thursday of each August, 
 and are greatlv enjoved 1)v all. Tt is the event of all the year in and about 
 Lynnville. The present ( 191 i ) officers of the association are: W. J. Adams, 
 president: Charles W. Wildman, secretary: W. P. Robertson, \ ice-i)resident : 
 C. H. Potter, treasurer. 
 
 JASPER county's FIRST CELEBRATION. 
 
 The first Fourth of July celebration in this county was held at the log 
 cabin home of pioneer 15. Aydekjtte. in Buena X'ista townshi]). and in 1894 —
 
 376 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 just fortv-eight years later — Mr. Aydelotte was invited to attend a celebra- 
 tion in that township again, but was unable to be present, so wrote the fol- 
 lowing letter to his old-time friend, j. \\\ Murphy, who still resides in Buena 
 \'ista township. The letter, which describes the pioneer celebration, reads 
 as follows : 
 
 "Newton, Iowa, July 2, 1894. 
 "]. W. Murphy. Esq. 
 
 "Dear Sir : 1 was pleased to hear you was going to celebrate the 4th 
 at r^Iurphy. It reminds me of a little celebration we had at my home in 
 1 84(1 — if it could l^e called a celebration. It was a small affair, but we done 
 the best we could under the circumstances. Well ; the eight families that 
 settled on Elk Creek in 1845 concluded to meet at my cabin (you know where 
 it stood, near where the Herring House stands now) and spend the day in 
 celebrating. All furnished the best they had on hand to help out the dinner. 
 The families were AI. D. Springer. William AI. Springer, Joab Bennett, 
 James Pearson, Moses Lacy, Fool Bill Smith, B. Aydelotte and John H. 
 l-'ranklin. We got together early and the women went to cooking the dinner. 
 We did not have a great variety, but plenty such as it was. Lacy had killed 
 a deer a day or so ago, so we had fresh venison. Bennett found several 
 bee trees and we had plenty of honey. Bill Smith had been to Oskaloosa a 
 few days before and brought home a little flour. He furnished the pie crust. 
 I had gathered a lot of wild gooseberries, so we had gooseberry pie and plenty 
 of it and the dear old crabapple pie of those days. We had new potatoes and 
 garden beans, so our principal meal was corn bread, beans and potatoes. For 
 sweetening, my wife had made four gallons of maple molasses and lifty 
 pounds of sugar in an Indian AVickeup' that stood just above where the 
 railroad crosses Elk creek (west of Murphy). I had made troughs and 
 tapped thirty trees that stood around the AVickeup,' so with Bennett's honey 
 we had plenty of sweetening. \\'illiam M. Springer read the Declaration of 
 Independence and we spent the balance of the day in talking of the Mexican 
 war and the good countiy of Iowa and whether it would ever be settled up — 
 not in our day, we all thought. 1 would be glad to be with vou. but can't this 
 time. I have jotted this down as things came to my remembrance — did not 
 think I would write half so much. 
 
 'AVishing you a successful celebration 
 
 "I remain yours, 
 
 ''B. Aydelotte."
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 }>7. 
 
 POPULATION. 
 
 The total jjopulation of Jasper ccninty. from 1847 to igo^. was as fol- 
 lows : 
 
 1847 560 1867 16.116 
 
 1849 1.223 1870 22. 116 
 
 1 850 1 .280 1 875 24, 1 28 
 
 1852 1,647 1880 23.963 
 
 1854- • 3456 1890 24.891 
 
 1856 7,490 1895 25.948 
 
 i860 9.883 1900 26.976 
 
 1863 10,590 1905 27.156 
 
 1865 12,239 
 
 In 1905 the state census report gave Jasper county a total of 27.156 
 population. di\icled among the \arious townships as follows: 
 
 Buena ^'ista township 873 ^^ari])osa township 612 
 
 Clear Creek township 787 Mound Prairie township i'393 
 
 Des Moines township 1,080 Xewton township 902 
 
 Elk Creek township 909 Palo Alto township 1.096 
 
 FairAiew township 1.258 Poweshiek township 1.032 
 
 Hickory Grove township 638 Richland township 739 
 
 Independence township 608 Rock Creek township 724 
 
 Kellogg township 608 Shemian township yt^ 
 
 Lynn Grove township 883 \\'ashington township 852 
 
 ^Falaka township 624 
 
 The population of cities, towns and villages in 1905 was: Baxter. 520: 
 Colfax. 2.-^^T,\ Prairie City. 756: :\Ionroe. 836: Kellogg. 592: Lynnville. 
 
 462: .'^ullv. 262: AFingo. 262: Xewton. 4.398- 
 
 THE I9TO UNITED STATES CENSUS. 
 
 The official census returns for 19 10 show that Jasper county has made 
 but a slight gain in population during the past ten years, but a review of the 
 table given below will show that the retardation in gain is due to the falling
 
 T^jS JASI'EK COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 off of the rural districts for the towns in all instances, but three show a good 
 per cent, of gain. The cities of Xewton and Colfax both made good gains 
 
 over the 1900 census. Xewton making a gain <it 25.43 per cent and Colfax 
 J2.94 per cent. Lynnville, Sully and Baxter also made good gains in per cent., 
 but the towns of Monroe, Prairie City and Kellogg show a decided falling off 
 in population. During the past ten years the county made a gain of but 58 
 inhabitants, or al)Out one-fifth of one per cent. 
 
 Jasper County 27,034 
 
 Buena Vista township 896 
 
 Clear Creek township 796 
 
 Des Moines township, including Prairie City town i'993 
 
 Prairie City town 764 
 
 Elk Creek township 904 
 
 Fairview townshij). including Monroe town 2,028 
 
 Monroe town 800 
 
 Hickorv CJro\e tow nship 656 
 
 Indei)endence township, including Baxter town 1,361 
 
 Baxter town 527 
 
 Kellogg township, including Kellogg town 1.255 
 
 Kellogg town 610 
 
 Lynn Grove township, including Lynn\ille and Sully towns i'49'2 
 
 Lynnville town 370 
 
 Sully town 282 
 
 Malaka townshij) 601 
 
 Mariposa township 635 
 
 Mound Prairie township : 1-383 
 
 Newton township, including Xewton City 5oi8 
 
 Xewton city 4,616 
 
 Ward 1 1.55- 
 
 W'ard 2 1 .769 
 
 Ward 3 1.295 
 
 Palo Alto township • i.035 
 
 Poweshiek township, including Mingo town 1.259 
 
 Mingo town 246 
 
 Richland township j~^z^ 
 
 Rock Creek township 631 
 
 Sherman tf)wnship ^y^
 
 JASPER COUNTV, IOWA. 379 
 
 Washington t(n\ns]iip. including Colfax City 3<-^^3 
 
 Colfax City -i.^S4 
 
 Ward I 727 
 
 Ward 2 744 
 
 Ward 3 1 ,033 
 
 JASPER COUNTY POSTOFFICES. 
 
 In 19 r I the county had the advantages of the following postoffices. be- 
 sides numerous free rural delivery routes almost networking the entire countv : 
 Baxter, Colfax. l'"airmount. Ira. Kellogg. Killduff. Lynnville. Metz. Mingo. 
 Monroe, Newburg. Reasoner. Severs, Sully. Turner, Murphy and Xewton. 
 
 The history of these postoflfices will be found in the township and vil- 
 lage history chapters of this work. 
 
 VILLAGE PLATS AND POPULATION. 
 
 In 1900 Jasper countv had the following \illage plats, a more detailed 
 description of which will be found in the chapter on "County Organization:"' 
 
 Newton, population 3,475: Monroe, 917; Kellogg, 633: Lynnville. 347: 
 V^andalia. 89; Colfax. 2,500: Prairie City, 808: Greencastle, 92; Clyde: 
 Reasoner. 89: Galesburg: Baxter, 427: Fairmount, 40: Metz, 50: Mingo; 
 Ira, 130: Xewburg, 100: Sully, 150: Kilduff. 70; Murphy: Oswalt: Valeria, 
 150. 
 
 At that date eight of these places were incorporated towns, and fourteen 
 villages. 
 
 EARLY-DAY MOB LAW SPIRIT. 
 
 Perhaps in the settlement of all of the first counties in Iowa there were 
 cases wherein Judge Lynch took law into his own hands and thus sought 
 to get free from objectionable characters. In Jasper county. I>e it said to 
 the credit of her citizens, not manv such cases blacken the pages of its his- 
 torv. but there were a few times when men's lives were hanging between 
 eartli and skv in an awful suspense. In some instances innocent men and 
 again guiltv rmes were thus treated for some crime, or supposed crime, com- 
 mitted in this county. 
 
 One such case is as here narrated: In 1848 and during the month of 
 August, right in the midst of sultry dog days, a man named William Knisely 
 had made a claim in township 81. range 21. north of present Greencastle
 
 o 
 
 80 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 site. He had broken out a small tract of land and planted out some nursery 
 stock. He was a single man. a very filthy, dirty person in personal appear- 
 ance and not well understood or liked 1)\' his near neighbors, the Hamlin 
 families. All of a sudden Knisely was missing and no one seemed to know 
 of his immediate whereabouts. Days went by and he did not return to im- 
 pro\e his claim. Finally the whole county was aroused about his sudden 
 disappearance and began to look the matter up. Charles H. and David B. 
 1 lamlin. with two other men. were arrested. Nathaniel Hamlin was also 
 arrested, but he was acc|uitte(l in a short time. It was known that the Ham- 
 lins had some property once l)elonging' to the man Knisely. and one of the 
 familv had l)een seen at the claim shack the day before the strange settler 
 had last been seen. Information was sworn out by John Harp and John 
 B. Hammack lie fore T. J. Adamson. and the murder was alleged to have 
 been committed June 27th. The complaint was made August nth. The 
 Hamlins were to have a preliminary hearing on the nth and the other men 
 on the 14th of August. All but the Hamlins were acquitted. To convict 
 even the Hamlins more e\"idence must be found, so the mob having the 
 matter now in hand set out to procure evidence sufficient to pro\"e the guilt 
 of the parties. First they took Nathaniel Hamlin in hands and coming to 
 a small tree hung him U]) by the thumbs. Soon he w'as lowered and. believ- 
 ing as he did, the poor fellow thought best to confess to almost anything they 
 asked him to. Half beside himself, and fearing l\nch law, he admitted that they 
 had killed Knisely and offered to show where the body had been buried in 
 a sand bar on the South Skunk. The crowd took the young man to the river, 
 who selected the spot alleged ; but no trace of the remains of Knisely could 
 be discovered there. Then the mob coaxed Hamlin to another confession, 
 when he stated the body of the murdered man had l^een thrown into the 
 Skunk river. He conducted the violent mob to the river's edge, and by this 
 time he was in danger of being torn to pieces by angry, liquor-crazed men. 
 Tie claimed the spot was on section 33 and that it was doubtless b\- a pWe of 
 drift wood. They now feeling they might be on the correct clue, allowed 
 Hamlin to strip and dive for the supposed body of the corpse. He did this, 
 but doing so failed to come up. One of the guard plunged in after him and 
 found Hamlin holding fast to a root, under water, no doubt intending to 
 drown himself. His grip was loosened, and he was brought to the surface 
 nearly strangled to death. 
 
 As soon as he had recovered sufficiently to resume liis "trial" it has 
 been related that he was severely flogged. The young man Hamlin, again 
 fearing sudden death at the mob's hands, had a new idea — he claimed that
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 381 
 
 the murdered man had probably been buried in tlie Indian burying ground 
 on section 25. township 80, range 21, near his father's claim, the remains of 
 a Fox Indian's grave having been disturbed for that purpose. 
 
 A rope was then attached to the prisoner, his hands pinioned and the 
 rope fastened to the saddle's horn, after which he was literally dragged by 
 a horse ridden by ^^'illiam Rickey, across the prairie to the Indian grave 
 yard. He pointed to the spot and the earth was opened, but no corpse was 
 discovered. 
 
 It was an anomalous condition of affairs. The mob had casilv ex- 
 torted a confession from Nathaniel, but each point in his story was shown 
 to be untrue by actual inspection. It would be supposed that the people 
 ought to have been satisfied with these acts of violence, but thev had now l)e- 
 come bloodthristy. Accordingly a crowd again gathered, all of whom 
 it is said, l^eing heroic with li(|uor. and took the other two Ilamlins out of 
 the custody of the sheriff, and strung them up by the neck until they were 
 found to be unconscious, when the\' were let down and allowed to revive. 
 But this bold and wicked act on the part of the mob elicited nothing more 
 satisfactoiT than the experiments made upon Nathaniel. The men told af- 
 terward that the pain of hanging was trifling, but that the return to con- 
 sciousness was terrible. 
 
 That night the Hamlins, through the exertions of David Edmundson 
 and John R. Sparks, Avere returned to custody, and were guarded by Mr. 
 Sparks and John E. Copp in Copp's store: Copp was absent for awhile, and 
 before he returned a tliunder-storm broke, ^^'hen Copp returned the noise 
 of his entrance startled Sparks, who clutched him by the coat collar ready 
 to strangle him before he recognized him. supposing for an instant that he 
 was leading the returning mob.. The poor Hamlins were then discovered 
 in one corner of the room, whimpering with fear, and begging to be saved 
 from the mob. 
 
 During the day's cruel business. Edmundson. who had followed the 
 crowd, held down the sapling to which one of the men was stretched, in hoi)e 
 of pre\-enting mischief, but was pulled a\\a\- l)y the crowd. Sparks, who had 
 accompanied Edmunson. ran foul of the malevolent Prouty. who said to him 
 that he believed he (Sparks) knew as much about Knisely's disappearance 
 as the Hamlins. Sparks' Kentucky blood was up as soon as the words were 
 out of Proutv's mouth. He seized the latter by the throat and demanded a 
 retraction, which Prouty. who was a thorough coward, gave at once. It is 
 difficult to find words suitable to express the honorable conduct of Messrs.
 
 ^S2 JASPER COINTV, IOWA. 
 
 Edmundson and Sparks in endeavorini;- to maintain the law. Shakesix-are's 
 "so shines a i^ood deed in a wicked world" is appropriate here. 
 
 The people, thus haftled, were more excited than e\er. The Hamlins 
 were carefullv i^narded tor several weeks hefore any new developments took 
 place. 
 
 Meantime. William Smith, wilhont statini;- his ])nrpose, decided to em- 
 bark in the delecli\e business on his own account. Tie knew that Knisely 
 had a brother li\int;- in Missouri, and he proceeded thither to l>egin his in- 
 c|uiries. haviui^ been informed by the Hamlins that Knisely had gone to that 
 state. .\s he had surmised, he found that Knisely had been to visit his 
 brother since his disappearance from this county. Smith reurncd home and re- 
 lated what he had heard. 
 
 This was almost more than the county could stand, and the feeling was 
 such that Smith himself was in danger of being lynched, or. at least, ar- 
 rested. Thev had become convinced that the Hamlins could not by any pos- 
 sibilitv be innocent, and here was Smith, just from Missouri, claiming to 
 show that they could not possibly be guilty. 1'o sohe the dilemma and es- 
 tabli.sh bevond dispute the truth or falsity of Smith's statements, a committee 
 of three su])stantial citizens was selected to \-isit Kliisely's brother. They 
 started forthwith and found to their astom'shment — most likely to their dis- 
 gust, also — that Smith's story was literally true. Knisel}''s brother and a 
 neighbor returned with the committee, and brought with them several afifi- 
 daxits showing that the nurseryman had been seen l)v all the signers of the 
 affidavit subse(|uent of the supposed murder. Nothing could be done but to 
 release the two Tlamlins; yet it is certain that no apologies were offered them 
 for the auno\ance and terror they had experienced through seventy-eight 
 anxious da\s. Some of those concerned in the abo\'e transaction believe to 
 this day that Knisely was killed by the Hamlins. It is stated to be a fact, 
 in connection with the above, that Knisely ne\er appeared again to any of 
 his acquaintances after he \isited his brother. 
 
 It transi)ired al)out the time the prisoners were released, that the Ham- 
 lins had told Knisely the neighbors were about to mob him (^n account 
 of his filth\- habits of living, but whether this was a joke on their i)art, or 
 whether tlicx' thought the}' could work on his fears and get him to run awav. 
 thereby to get possession of his yoke of oxen and other property, or whether 
 this came of his own imagination, can not now be stated with certainty, but 
 it i> probable he made this statement himself while staying with his brother. 
 
 Th(jse who had a part in this strange matter owe William Smith a debt 
 of conscience they can never re])ay ; for. had it not been for his forethought.
 
 JASPER COUNTV. IOWA. 383 
 
 it is almost certain the poor Hamlins would lia\e been hanj^ed, either by or- 
 der of Jiidge Lynch, or by authority based upon circumstantial evidence. It 
 was a hai^py escape from a legalized murder that would have been a blot on 
 the records of Iowa for all time. As it was. the i)eople of jasper county 
 found that the news when spread abroad worked to their detriment, for peo- 
 ple were afraid, for two years, to settle in the county, Ix^lieving its inhal)itants 
 were a set of heathens. 
 
 JASPER COUNTY SAFE ROBBERY. 
 
 The conviction of two men. Rose and L'dell. in 1868, for breaking into 
 the Jasper county treasury and robbing it of its effects not only created great 
 excitement here, making an unparalleled chapter in the criminal records of 
 this county and state, l^ut also broke up a gang of thieving outlaws whose 
 members stretched over Indiana. Illinois and Iowa at the close of the Civil 
 war. This forever ended the work of the Reno robbers of Indiana and like 
 cases in the other two states named. The Pinkerton detective agency of Chi- 
 cago figured in this noted case, as well as did J. W. Wilson, Esq., of this 
 county, who liad charge of the prosecution. The county and commonwealth 
 owe a debt of lasting gratitude to these several gentlemen for the genius and 
 legal skill exhibited in breaking up this nest of violators. 
 
 Bad, bold men have lived in all old as well as newly settled countries and 
 Iowa has had her full share of such outlaws and some are still serving time in 
 the prisons of the state for tlie crimes committed, while still others went un- 
 punished, and still more have served their sentences and died, leaving but 
 a dark spot upon the pages of the history of the county in which they lived 
 and operated. In the more eastern states these crimes commenced way back 
 in the years after the war of 1812-14 in Kentucky and other states. In 1835 
 this element sought newer fields in fair Iowa, then a territory, by the organi- 
 zation known in historv as the "Banditti of the Prairies."' who were re- 
 sponsible for the assassination of that good frontiersman. Col. Ceorge l)a\- 
 enport. for whom the city of this name was named. 
 
 The settlers in these states and territories only found Judge L\nch 
 available in meting out justice to these noted characters. In 1837 coun- 
 terfeit monev was j)ut into circulation in large quantities and was often 
 l)razenly offered at the United States land offices. Hor.se stealing was a 
 common thing for many years and was carried on to such an extent that 
 "Horse-thief Societies" were organized under one name or another to pro- 
 tect citizens from losing their teams. These gangs of outlaws were well
 
 ^$4 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 organized, too, and nothing but Jvidge Lynch could reach their cases, courts 
 being too slow in action. 
 
 Early in the forties such gangs made their appearance in Cedar, Linn, 
 Clayton and I'^ayette counties. Their chief business was stealing live stock 
 and driving it to market and selling it. But as the country settled up more, 
 this type of men turned theiv attention to bank robbery and county seat 
 treasury safes, from which they frecjuently picked many thousands of dol- 
 lars. Then after the Ci^■il war came the James, and Youngers and Renos, 
 and a dozen more noted bands. Jasper county, however, escaped the dev- 
 iltry of these men until in 1868 the county treasury was boldly robbed by 
 descendants (doubtless) of these same gangs of outlaws — for blood will 
 tell ! 
 
 The safe belonging to Jasper county, and the one used for temporary 
 funds, was broken into on the night of February 25, 1868, and rohbed of 
 about three thousand hve hundred dollars in current funds. The evening 
 before the robbeiy, Josiah B. Eyerly, county treasurer, was at the court- 
 house on business, in company with a man from the country. The treas- 
 urer was very careful upon leaving to see that all was securely locked. 
 
 At the time of this robbery Newton was the scene of a very exciting 
 religious debate between J. Y. Atchison, a celebrated Baptist minister, and 
 Rev. King, a Universalist preacher, well known in Iowa as a debater on 
 universal salvation for all mankind. Nearly all the adult population of 
 Newton had assembled at old Union Hall, facing the court house scjuare. 
 The debate did not cease until almost midnight. Snow was falling and 
 footsteps were thus well muffled. From the fact that no footsteps were 
 seen in the snow when the robbery was discovered, it is thought the robbery 
 must ha\e l)cen effected while the debate was going on in the well-packed 
 hall, as the falling snow would easily cover such tracks as must ha\e been 
 made by the robbers. 
 
 The following morning, Albert Piper, an assistant of the treasurer, 
 upon entering the office first, discovered the books and pajjers strewn about on 
 the floor. He at once gave the alarm to the treasurer, who, with liis friends, 
 went to the scene of the night robbery, and there found the tloor covered 
 with ])apers and books of great value, carefully preserved and placed on 
 file by the county officials. Some were mutilated and torn and others en- 
 tirely destroyed, while others were yet of value and carefully collected to- 
 gether. Powder had been placed in an opening in the safe and bv the ex- 
 plosion the bolts and doors had been 1)lown apart. The robbers had chosen a 
 time wlien the treasurv did not contain nearlv so much cash as mi<2ht have
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 385 
 
 been found a day or so earlier or even later. Among the articles left behind 
 were wedges, bars and tools used in effecting an entry ; a part of a wax candle 
 and fuse were also found on the floor. At the time the safe stood in a very 
 much exposed place, as compared to treasuries of today, which are housed 
 within very safe, fire-proof vaults. 
 
 The county officers concerned in ferreting out the robbery were J. M. 
 Rodgers. sheriff; J. B. Eyerly, treasurer; M. A. McCord. prosecuting at- 
 torney. W'inslow & Wilson were employed as special attorneys for the county. 
 Silas Axtell, a constable and detective, was engaged at once to work up the 
 case. The officers lost no time in instituting a search. I'Tom among the mul- 
 titudes uf rumors they gathered enough to satisfy themselves that the rob- 
 bers were not local parties, and that no grounds existed for suspecting anv- 
 one in the town or county. It was soon learned that strangers had l)een 
 seen coming into town the evening before from the direction of Kellogg. A 
 school teacher had observed the men carrying a case or package, coffin- 
 shaped, as he descril^ed it. It seemed \ery heavy, as the men kept changing 
 hands in conveying it along the highway. This served as clue number one 
 for the officers. It Avas soon learned that five men got ofif the Rock Island 
 train at Kellogg the evening before the robbery. It was also found that five 
 men got ofif the train at Mitchellville. the morning after the robbery had been 
 committed. 
 
 Search was then made all over Xewton and in a lumber yard the "coffin- 
 shaped" box was discovered. A blacksmith shop on the west side o'f the 
 square had been forced open and from it a sledge had been taken. This was 
 found near the safe in the court house. A banker in Xewton was at once 
 engaged to wire a detective in Chicago and at once one of Pinkerton's best 
 men. DaAe Ise. appeared on the scene. He soon learned from railway men that 
 the five men had each flashed a ten-dollar bill to pay fare to Des Moines, 
 and that they had jumped the train at Mitchellville, before entering Des 
 Moines. The men were soon spotted as having hired a famier to carry them 
 to Nevada and there they boarded a train for Chicago. The detective-, hot 
 on their trail, went to Chicago. There he changed clothing in disguise and, 
 with the farmer, visited the low dives of the city a few days and finally found 
 what the farmer said was his men and he still carried out the plot by playing 
 cards with them and letting on that he was intoxicated. He had stationed 
 two policemen at the saloon door and when the time was ripe the men wan- 
 dered out and fell easilv into the hands of the officers. They being on I Hi- 
 
 (25)
 
 386 lASl'ER COLNTV. IOWA. 
 
 nois soil, they had .to l^e spirited away by force in a sled and taken to a train 
 which Pinkerton had wired to be stopped, where they were placed in irons 
 and broug^ht to Davenport, where they tried at meal time to make their escape, 
 but after a few shots were as^ain captured and broui:;'ht on west. On their 
 person were found the gold pen and a padlock stolen from the lumber yard 
 in Kewton, alreadv mentioned: also pieces of fuse of the same sort found 
 in the Xewton court house. 
 
 At the sprini^" term of district court, at Xewton, that same }ear, the 
 two captured men, Charles LMell and Abraham Rose, were arraigned for 
 the crime. They pleaded not guilty. The case did not come off. at once, 
 and to make sure of their game, the authorities had the prisoners sent to 
 a safer place, Oskaloosa jail, to await the November term of court. Allan 
 Pinkerton had l>ecome convinced that these men l)elonged to a great gang — 
 possibly the famous outlaws, the Renos, and he it was who insisted on hold- 
 ing the case over in order to get more of the gang, which pro\-ed a very 
 wise thing, too. A scheme was put into etTect. the gist of which was this: 
 
 The prisoners were known to ha\e friends outside and it was con- 
 cluded that attempts would be made to corresi)ond with them. The sheriff 
 of Mahaska. J- ^^ • Hinesley, was interested in the matter and his valuable 
 services secured. The sheriff did not live in tlie jail l)uil(Hng, which was in 
 charge of jailer Hedrick. It was arranged that e\ery facility should be 
 given the men, especially I'dell. for writing letters and his literary tendencies 
 encouraged to the utmost. These epistles were necessarily given into the 
 hands of some one of the officers. presuma])h- in those of the jailer: but in 
 all cases the prisoners and their friends' letters were to be sent to Messrs. 
 \\'inslow & Wilson, at Xewton. to be treated as they saw fit. ^Mr. \\'ilson 
 became deeply absorbed in the work, and performed some detective feats 
 that would ha\'e reflected credit on an old professional. 
 
 Only a few days elapsed before the sheriff was able to open a regular 
 system of secret correspondence with 'Mr. ^^^ilson. ^feantime the Pinker- 
 ton force was fully aware of the scheme and ready to co-operate with the 
 officers of either X'^ewton or Oskaloosa. The whole affair is explained so 
 fully by the epistolary documents still in existence, but for the first time 
 made public in 1878. ten years after tlie robbery, that thev are here used as 
 quotations in full or in i)art, as the case seems best to warrant. 
 
 The fir.st letter to Mr. Wilson from Sheriff 1 linesley was dated April 
 28. 1868. The reply is given here in full :
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 3S7 
 
 "Xewton. Iowa. April 29. 1868. 
 "J- ^^'• Hinesley, Esq. : Yours of the 28tli w itli enclosure to W'inslow 
 w as received today. W'inslow is in Boone county now. In the letter to Mrs. 
 Smith, enclosed, I tiiid by close examination that it was written by invisible 
 ink and contained something worth knowing. I applied a test to the letter, 
 and brought out a full and clear letter, written closely over the whole sheet 
 of paper. I send you enclosed a true copy for your benefit. The ink used 
 was milk. I will make a true copy of the letter to Mrs. Smith as written 
 in ink and in milk and send that to her. T will send a copy of the same to 
 Pinkerton at Chicago, and have him send to Indianapolis and watch the 
 party who takes the letter out and follow up the plot. In this way. I think 
 we can keep track of them all the while and follow them to Oskaloosa. and 
 arrest them Avhen they make the attempt on the jail. Of course vou will be 
 prepared for them on the 15th and 20th of May, the time spoken of. As 
 soon as we hear from Chicago we will let you know and keep vou fullv 
 posted. Send all communications to us: also all letters sent to Rose and 
 I'dell. before delivering them to the prisoners. 
 
 "Yours truly. 
 
 ''W'lXSLOW & \\'lLS0X, 
 
 "Per Wilson." 
 
 The letter referred to by Wilson is here produced in full. It was 
 written by Mr. Udell on commercial note paper and contained a few com- 
 monplace remarks on the first page, ))ut ended with the significant expression 
 *'So now look out." Mr. W^ilson was satisfied that there was invisible 
 writing on the three apparently blank pages and devoted nearly three days 
 with experiments to bring it out. At last he thought of milk as an invisible 
 ink and a])plied the test of a hot sad-iron, when the following satisfactory 
 and surprising document gradually appeared on the innocently looking sheet : 
 
 '"Dear Elizabeth : \\'e have tried twice to get out. but have made a 
 failure. The last time we would have been out in a few minutes more, but 
 now we can do nothing without help. The jailer is living in the jail. He is 
 about. Andv Wilson and his wife is sick most of the time. There is three 
 girls grown and three little boys the size of S. L. Willie and George. The 
 boys all sleep in one bed and the family sleep up stairs. If five men w ill come 
 tliev can take the whole family and release us. There is five persons in jail. 
 There is a man bv the name of William A. Ayers that will lead the men if 
 he can get four to follow him. He is a friend to A. Ro.se. my partner. 
 \\'rite to William A. Avers. Springfield. Illinois, and send one letter to him
 
 ^88 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 in Chicago to the Matteson House, corner of Randolph and Dearborn streets, 
 and tell him to come and see you, that you want to make an arrangement 
 with him about bailing Abe Rose and his friend out of jail. Tell him on 
 what street and the number of your house so that he can find you and your 
 name, and when he comes show him this letter. Do this sure. This is the 
 onlv sure way 1 know of to get out of here now. I hope that Ogle, Billy, 
 Carle, I'erkins and Reno, or three of them at least, will follow Ayers. I 
 know that the thing can be done in the evening at half past seven or eight 
 and then lea\c on the train at nine. We can lock the family in the jail and 
 get away at any time of night. This must be done or I fear I shall see hard 
 times before I see you again. There will be no chance for private talk if 
 one was to come to the jail, unless he comes in the night. I would (like 
 and) ought to know what night to look for them, for I would (otherwise) 
 be asleep when they spoke. There is a fence twelve feet high around the 
 west end of the jail where we are. Get over that and come to the window 
 and have a stick nine feet long. You can reach right straight across the hall 
 to mv cell. Bring a dozen of the best saws. There is three bars in the door 
 of the cell to saw, two inches wide and two and a half inches thick, and the 
 same to cut to get into the house hallway. Then I will be as good as out. The 
 window is large and low, four feet from the ground, with two sets of grates 
 in it, but you could poke anything into my cell with a nine inch (foot) stick. 
 If anyone comes they could stay a week and come in the night and talk to 
 me. And I could tell them then what else to do. It will cost fourteen dol- 
 lars to come here. Come b}- Keokuk. I will set the night the 20th of May, 
 for one to be at tlie window. I will look for one that night at eleven or 
 twelve. The jail is in the west end of building in Oskaloosa, Mahaska 
 countv. The town is three miles from the railroad. Now- get one to bring 
 the saws and come that night and stay and get things done fine. I have no 
 confidence in sawing out but 1 will tv\'. If one comes he can see how e\'ery- 
 thing is and take us out; the one that comes he can see how we are situated, 
 then go back and get the men. He can go into the woods and stay daytime 
 and see us at night. He can buy his grub somewhere, or go to the hotel at 
 meal time. If you can get Ayers to come and sec }-ou. he can c-ome and 
 get the thing done, and if he is not there by the 15th of May, get Ogle or 
 Billy, or e\'en Charlie to come to our window . The fence is high and w ill be 
 a little hard to get inside the fence. But there is cross pieces on the inside 
 and will be very easy to get out. 
 
 "Now my only hope of getting out of this scrape is bv some of you 
 helping me, and I hope Charlie and Billy will not fail to help me. Ayers
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 389 
 
 (has?) was a brother in a fix S(j Ijacl as ours. He himself will do anything 
 for my partner, that any of you would do for me; so if you can get him 
 there or anyone to come, (a few words here unintelligible). I write this 
 April 25th. but don't know how soon I can get it mailed. My last request 
 is for some one to come to the window, some night as soon as they can and 
 keep coming until we can come to some final understanding. Write me few 
 lines through the lawyers at Newton and if anybody comes say so through 
 milk: but only a few words, as 1 can only get letters through the jailer, 
 James Hendrick. I have ten dollars yet. I will give the jailer's boy a dol- 
 lar to mail this. If you get it that shows he is true to me. His name is 
 Hiram Hendrick. He is alxmt twelve years of age. Whoever comes to our 
 window have him to bring two small vials of equafortis. It will eat the bars 
 when it is heated hot. (iet two vials with glass sto])pers and get the very 
 best equafortis there is. Be careful it don't leak or it will ruin their clothes 
 who e\"er l)uys it. The sheriff lives two squares from the jail. I tried to get 
 the confidence of the sheriff. He may come right. He is on the stand 
 what to do. He is afraid he can't do anything without being suspected. 
 Only sure thing is to rough the jailer. It can be done by bringing a pris- 
 oner. Tell him they captured him trying to steal one of Lansing Bryant's 
 (omission), living four miles east of town. Tell whoever comes to the jail 
 to call Mr. Hedrick. He will ask who is there. Tell him you have a man 
 you caught trying to steal a horse of Lansing P)ryant. Then he will open 
 the door and the jail part is straight back through the hall. Come on right 
 through. When he comes on after you with the keys act as the thing suits 
 you, but don't let the jailer go for the sheriff, but keep him in. Do not fail 
 to get one to come to our window and don't be afraid of anything. It is 
 easv to get out of the lot. but it is a high fence and hard to get inside." 
 
 There was no signature to the secret part of the letter. The portion in 
 ink contained the necessary formalities. 
 
 The letter confirmed the suspicions of the detectives, but the sup- 
 pression of the document would merely thwart their own ends. It must be 
 sent to its destination and there traced to the evident headquarters of the 
 gang in Indiana. The execution of this required no little ingenuity and 
 skill. The letter itself was no longer availal)le because of the restoration of 
 the milk writing to a legible condition. The only way to accomplish their 
 end was to reproduce the document. This plan was successfully carried out. 
 The writing in ink was coimterfeited and then the pages in milk were copied 
 carefully in stvle. orthography, etc. Still after this diflficult task was per- 
 formed there remained an obstacle in the way. Po.st-marked envelopes from
 
 ^gO JASPER COIXTV, IOWA. 
 
 Oskaloosa were needed and these were obtained. The bogus letter was placed 
 therein and sent to the Xewton office without further stamping. 
 
 The expressions used by Udell opened up another field of work. It 
 was agreed between the lawyers and the sheriff that the latter should estab- 
 lish confidential relations with the prisoners, holding out the inducement 
 that he could be bribed. The plan was so cautiously worked up that the 
 cracksmen were fully deceixed. It was also arranged that the jailer's boy' 
 should carrv all letters offered by Udell ; but instead of posting them he de- 
 livered them to the sheriff. When it was known that Udell made use of 
 milk that article was supplied him as a regular diet. The usually shrewd 
 man thus fell headlong into the trap. 
 
 The next letter was as follows : 
 
 "Oskaloosa. May 8, 18G8: This is written with milk — heat it hot. 
 Send me some answer this way. Write to the sheriff of Mahaska count}, 
 Iowa. The sheriff is a brother of Hinesley that keeps the exchange livery 
 stable in Indianapolis. I have talked with him about letting me out. He said 
 if I was from where he heard I was that he could do something. He asked 
 me about dift'erent persons at Indianapolis. I offered him six hundred for 
 letting me out. He said it was not enough. Since Billy was here he has 
 come and talked with my partner and wanted $2,500. But from his talk 
 I am sure he will do it for two thousand. So if we can get two thousand I 
 am sure we can both get out. He. of course, will not trade just for one of 
 us. as he says that all in here will have to get away at the same time so as 
 not to have him suspicioned. I am confident he is in earnest but he wants to 
 make money by it and does not want to let anyone have a holt on him here- 
 after. If Billy has this amount come and give it to me and I will l)e out in 
 less than a week after. There was no drop about him being at the window 
 that night, but the jailer won't let anyone in after night, unless he knows 
 just who they are. So that if anyone was to come they would have to come 
 late at night and get in on the quiet. But I know the sheriff will give us a 
 chance to get off if we can get two thousand dollars. I don't believe that 
 Rose can raise any money, so if Billy can get me that amount I can be out 
 right off. But no one must know we bought the sheriff', for if he was to 
 know I wrote this he would do nothing. He has got his left arm shot off 
 and is p(jor and wants money. If I could raise the money anyway of my- 
 self I would (\o it. But I don't know only to depend on Billy and that 
 amount will let us out. and that is better than to run any uncertain or 
 dangerous chances. If liillv can see those friends and get some funds from
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. yjl 
 
 them Ayers will give some, if he has it. But if Billy has the money himself 
 don't delay. If he gives to me we will make it in less than twenty days. I 
 hate to ask this. l)ut is a sure thing and 1 have full confidence in it. 
 Jf he did say anything to Ryan about me trying to hrihe him, 
 I am confident he is all right now, for he can't make any mone\- l>v keeping 
 us here or nothing by blowing on us for bribing him. If Billy comes to the 
 window he must not say anything about the sheriff, for it won't do for the 
 others in here to know we bribed the sheriff. But they can get out when we 
 do, for the sheriff does not want them to know enough to implicate him. 
 He is very cautious when he comes here to talk." 
 
 How well the scheme worked will be seen by the following instrument 
 which announces the full capture of the sheriff. It also alludes to the pres- 
 ence of Udell's friends outside the window, a certain prisoner named ''Laid- 
 ley." and possibly Pinkerton's Registers — at least the letter reads: 
 
 "Oskaloosa, May 16, 1868. 
 "I have a bargain to get out for $2,000. If I can get half and Abe 
 half, we can get out right off. I don't know if the boys can do anything 
 or not. B. said they would come in two weeks. That time is past two days 
 ago. A prisoner upstairs tells me three of my friends was here Mondav and 
 Tuesda}- night Ijut failed to come to mv window. This man upstairs li\-es at 
 Columbia, ]owa. His name is George S. Laidley. He is a harnessmaker 
 and gets out the last of this month. If B. goes to him the thing can be done 
 here on the (|uiet. We want a all-key made. We have the impression. Then 
 we ha\e onlv three liars to cut. This can be done with muriatic acid in one 
 hour. Make a cu]i of beeswax around the bar and pour on acid. In forty 
 minutes it will eat it off. This man understands it. Let one come to window 
 and get our impression and go to Keokuk and get the key made. Get a 
 dollar's worth of muriatic acid and a pound or two of beeswax and come 
 and give it into the window about two or three in the morning. All is (piiet 
 at that time. The next night we can cut out. We want also a good sized 
 screw driver to take the lock off the back door. That lets us into the garden. 
 Let B. come to Columbia the first of June and find George Laidley. I have 
 posted him and if he gets out before the first of June he will write to you. 
 But he will l)e home in Columbia by June ist. Anyhow he can tell B. more 
 than I can and he will help at anything. He has been a rebel in his time and 
 says he cut the bars and let Stonewall Jackson out of prison at Harper's 
 Ferr\ . If B. will risk this plan, let him work it in dark of moon in June. 
 But I can be home in three days if I can get a thousand dollars and Abe a
 
 2^2 JASPER COLXTV. IDWA. 
 
 thousand dollars. The sheriff lets us break out. Leave no stone unturned 
 until von get me out. I am afraid B. will get discouraged but we must get 
 out somehow before court. \\'e may be too late then. If that Avers liad 
 money Abe would get his. lie writes to three or four men for money but 
 has onlv heard from Ayers and he has none. He expects some from John 
 Richardson, his brother of Forest City. ^Missouri. He writes today to his 
 uncle at Trov. New York. Thomas Richardson. He is wealthy and I think 
 Abe will get a thousand dollars soon and then I hope B. will let nie have a 
 tliousand dollars. It might be best to buy out at once. So much expense 
 will run u]) to that soon and we can get out immediately then. Write a few 
 lines in ink and a few in milk. Send to J. ^^^ Hinesley, this place. Don't 
 mention about this letter, as I got the jailer's boy to mail it. but you can 
 say Ayers was there and how you are, etc." 
 
 Mav 27. t868. Udell delivered a letter to the sheriff, with the sincere 
 belief that that ofificer was still working in his interest, which letter was to 
 be sent to his brother in Indianapolis, the Hveryman above alluded to. This 
 missive contained an ordinary hope for better times, but was signed with a 
 significant cioss. evidently a private mark placed by Udell on all documents 
 containing milk writing. Some three pages of invisible writing were dis- 
 covered on this sheet. Imt the information contained has already been cov- 
 ered by other letters, except that these stated that he had not gotten his 
 share of the Jasper safe robbery and that by reason of his going to Chicago 
 to get his full share he had been captured. 
 
 The letter ended by an intimation that the boys were still engaged in 
 their dangerous work. He says, "li the boys 'make' $2,000. bring it to me 
 without a moment's delay. Anyone can see me in company w ith the sheriff. 
 \\'e are like old acquaintances. He knew father well.'' 
 
 He also asked his wife how many letters she had received, as if he 
 suspicioned the sheriff might not 1)e ])lriying fair with him. In a second 
 letter, on the 27th of ?^ra\ . he signifies tliat he fears Laidley is not going to 
 be true to his promise. He urged first one plan, then another, as if driven to 
 desperation as court time was drawing close at hand. He repeats his in- 
 junctions concerning the ease with which the j.'iiler can be '"ruffed." and 
 himself and partner set at liberty. 
 
 Another letter is found written entirely in milk, without date, which 
 seems to take up the thread of the story at this ])oint. It is here reproduced 
 entire, and is in Udell's own handwriting: 
 
 'A\'e lia\e a job for the boys to do. Tet them get a good worker to 
 help them, and they can raise the money at one place. 1 think Jo Miller could 
 work it with 1'. and C. There is a town called Xew London; it is eiehteen
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. * 393 
 
 miles west of BiirHnoton. It has six hundred inhabitants and there are ten 
 stores and groceries in the place, and one steam grist mill. There is a drug 
 store and grocery store together in one building. The store is kept bv Allen 
 & Thompson. They have a safe five feet high, and it must have inside doors. 
 as it is quite thick. It stands with the back towards the door, so that you 
 can't see the front of it. It sets in the front of the store, at one end of the 
 counter, and is the only safe in the town, except one at the gri.st mill. The 
 one at the mill is a Pittsburg, single door. But don't disturb it until after 
 the drug store one is got. There is no one sleeping in the drug store, and no 
 one nearer than the tavern across the street. 
 
 "This is the best job I know of. There is some bonds in il, and the 
 druggist bought $900 in gold last fall from one man. There is some de- 
 posits in it. They are sure of $5,000, and it ought to be made sure of. If 
 they could get that and come on here, one of them, with $2,000. we would 
 be free in a little while. At the back end of the store is a warehouse. You 
 could raise a window in the back and get in through the middle door into 
 the front room, or go in at the front door of the store. 
 
 "The thing is as T tell you. and if you prepare yourself to go out \ou 
 miglit watch it sometime to satisfy yourselves about it. Rut be sure and get 
 a good worker and go ahead and do this as soon as possible. It is not 
 harder than the Mount Vernon matter. Be sure and not make a failure. My 
 life almost depends on raising this $2,000. I do hope that it will be got 
 1)6 fore long. Nearly half of my time is up. and nothing done yet. Don't 
 lose the rest of the time. 
 
 'T S]:)oke about a man named Laidley, that lived at Columbia. He w ent 
 out the 30th of May. He promised to go and see you. He said he would 
 stop at Springfield and see Ayers. and write back and go onto your house. 
 We gave him ten dollars to get through on ; but he has not wrote back, nor 
 have we heard anything from him yet, and if he has not come he then only 
 lied to us. Let me know in milk in your next letter if the $10 man has ever 
 come vet. If lie wrote to vou. vou need not pay much attention to him. for 
 he promised to go and see you and get some help to get me out. If he writes, 
 or comes either, do not give him any money, nor do not let him lay around 
 long. If he does anything, let him go at it. If not send him about his busi- 
 ness. But let me know if he comes or wrote. If I had a little stufif I could 
 settle the man that is here. 
 
 'Tn vours of the 23d. you say they watch the house. I see by the 
 papers that the Jeff train was beat the night before you wrote, and it is 
 likely the police had their eye on the house when you wrote, to see who
 
 T^g^ JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 would be coming in. to see if any of the express robbers were likely to be 
 in it. I kind of suspect Salisbury is about there, and if he is he may be 
 knowing" old matters, and may ha\e put someone on the affair that Ruby 
 tried to shake him on. Sol is as mean, if not meaner, than (Gonzales, and they 
 both ought to be put out of the way. 
 
 "Write in black next time how much \ou can raise me, and how soon it 
 can be got. B. thought the sheriff was wrong when he was there that night. 
 I will find out when Ryan comes, if the sheriff said any thing alx)ut me to 
 him: but anvway, if he did say anything. I know he would not do as he 
 does now if he were not right; besides when Aloe's brother comes he will 
 fix it so that he can't fool us: and he would be afraid to not let us break out 
 after he got his money, for fear our friends would kill him." 
 
 Another touching letter from "Lizzie," the wife of Udell, reads thus: 
 "Well, I hardly know what to say, but 1 would give all this world that 
 I ever exi)ect to ha^'e to see you and to know how to get you out. But my 
 will is good, but for me to do anything without anything to go on is im- 
 possible, for 1 hardly know what to do next sometimes. I have just one 
 hundred dollars left now. The money that was lost with them dirt\- dogs B. 
 says he will give back to me. It was three hundred dollars, but the lawyers 
 got two of it. P'or my part I can't do nothing but just wait. I expect that 
 you look for someone, but there was no one to go, for B. and C. had gone 
 away to try to get some old debt settled up, and I will have to wait. If I 
 could raise the money I would be glad to do so sure, and I think that B.'s 
 j)ile is small at this time, but when they get back they can say what can be 
 done. I think that they watch my house and that makes B. verv shy, what 
 makes it hard on me. But I will try and do the best I can. 1 have found out 
 through one of my neighbors that they quit Tom Wilson for not taking you. 
 When you was out here they tried him in the police court, and he came very 
 near losing his office. She says that day that he came to my house that there 
 was three more in here, and Tom told a friend that he could not lake vou, 
 because he thought so much of \-our wife and children. Hereafter. I will lie 
 warned of danger. Well, 1 don't know what to say next. l)iit hope that 
 something will be done for you when B. and C. gets back. I Impc that some- 
 thing will be done for you. 1 have got the blues so l)ad I am almost sick. 
 Well. I have told you all I can this time. Oh that 1 could see you and talk 
 I would be glad. Write soon and let me hear from you, and I will trv hard 
 to get .something done, so keep in good heart, and for this time. 
 
 "Lizzie."
 
 JASl'EU COUNTY. IOWA. 395 
 
 June 9. 1868, came the next letter from Udell to his wife. Interlined 
 between the ink writing is the information that his identity had been dis- 
 covered and his connection with the general band was known. He ex- 
 pressed no anxiety on this score, and assures his wife that he talks merely 
 on general topics with the sheriff. He is satisfied that he can make his 
 escape upon the receipt of one thousand dollars, and said the sheriff wanted 
 the money sent by a trusty man, instead of l)y express. They had received a 
 letter from Ayers. He had no money. Ijut wcmld attend to their case as 
 soon as he got through with the trial of his own brother in Illinois for bur- 
 glary. He said they could place no more confidence in Ayers. He again 
 mentioned the chance at cracking the safe at Xew London and explains 
 what he meant by wanting "stuff" to give a prisoner in jail there in Oska- 
 loosa. It was thought the jail-bird had told the authorities of his trying to 
 make a wooden key. 
 
 The last letter from Udell to his wife was in pencil and spoke of hav- 
 ing her bring the children to see him at time of his trial. 
 
 Another letter from ^Irs. Udell to her husband, dated June 27th. refers 
 to the i^risoner. Laidley. in the following language : 
 
 "The man }ou gave the ten dollars wasn't here. He wrote to me to 
 send him forty dollars to come and see me. but I can't do that, and I am 
 afraid of your friends. I fear the letter that you sent by the sheriff's 
 brother was give to Bill Robison. the old sheriff, to bring to me. Don't trust 
 too far to no one. Joe Miller is gone up. and his wife and little Jim. But I 
 think 1 can raise the money of Perkins by a mortgage on the land. The job 
 on the Jeff road I don't know nothing about. 
 
 "Send your letters to Mrs. Smith, same as l>efore. Tliat man Ayers. I 
 don't want you to write to him, for I don't like his style, from what I can 
 hear: and dcjn't talk too much to no one. tor everything leaks out. If he 
 had the money, it would be all right : but he has not got it. 
 
 "Well. I hope that your partner will raise his part by the 4th. and then 
 someone will fetch it with the rest soun. Keep in good heart, for it is hard 
 for me to think of you." 
 
 The corresi3(jndence between Rose and his friends begins in April. 
 1868. l)v a letter to Ayers. written in ink, urging Avers to come to Xewton 
 and consult with the lawyers for the defense relative to bail. 
 
 May 8th three letters were written by Rose, one addressed to William 
 C. Avers. Springfield. Illinois; one to John Richardson. Forest City, Mis- 
 .souri. and one to James Gillmore. of St. Louis. The letter to Ayers is 
 plainlv a renewal of the request for one thousand dollars to aid him in getting
 
 T^qC) JASI'KR cor XT V. IOWA. 
 
 out of his difficulty. The one to Richardson was addressed ''Dear Brother'' 
 upon the inside, and is of the same import as the one just referred to. The 
 third letter was of a similar nature. 
 
 Another of the interesting communications to iVyers was one written 
 June If. 1868. which presupix)ses a knowledge of the attempted escape by 
 bribery, and was written l)v both I 'dell and Rose, jointlw This letter read 
 as follows : 
 
 "You know I'itzsimmons, or Sandy, as he is called, also James Stein, 
 and maybe Hilly Burns. Either one or all of these can tell you who it is 
 that should raise the money. It was our misfortune to be found first, and 
 b\- that means others had a warning of something wrong. \\'e ha\'e been 
 wise enough to keep our mouths shut, also. We do not want to write to 
 Chicago from here, or to make a false move to endanger any man's liberty, 
 but we want nionew aiul must Iiaz'c it, for the purpose that we ha\e hereto- 
 fore informed you. If you have any business up at Chicago, take this with 
 you and find some of these men, and tell them you want to see our friends, 
 or those that ought to help us. If you can be satisfied of the abilities of our 
 friends to keep the secret, then you can tell them what is wanted with the 
 money. And if thev wish to see or know more about it for their own satis- 
 faction, let them send a man that they can depend upon here, and they shall 
 be satisfied. Burns or Stein or Sandy, they can see us by seeing the sheriff. 
 But for Christ's sake don't let this matter of ours become too public. It is a 
 bad policy for men you know to gab and blow as soon as they are in trouble, 
 but it is worse policy for free men to not step forward with a few hundred 
 dollars to save men from long sufTering and hardships. 
 
 'A\'e ]ia\e got a knowledge of matters now that would of l)een cheaj) 
 five months ago for $1,000. If we can get fixed, as money will fix it. this 
 information will cost you nothing. The amount we ask. $2,000. can be 
 returned inside twenty days. This letter, Ayers. I hope you will use with 
 discretion. It is the only chance we ha\-e for seeing da\light." 
 
 Ayers responded to this letter as follows : 
 
 "I received your letter today of the 12th instant, and was glad to hear 
 you were well. But I am .sorry to be obliged to say that I cannot help vou at 
 pre.sent. I am on my way to Springfield, just leaving Ilarrw He had a 
 trial, and was sentenced to eight years and Jim to six years. But we ap- 
 pealed it and got a new trial. It comes off next September. Abe I expect 
 to see Mc. and I shall lay this before him. 1 saw him once, l>ut he was not 
 fixed. I can't get to see Billy, but I understand he says that he would not 
 help anybody. I shall do all I can. 1 have overreached myself financially 
 in this case of Harry's, but I shall go into business soon and keep you posted."
 
 JASl'ER COLXTV, KHVA. 397 
 
 J-roni tlic lime "Laidlcy" was liljeratcd. May ^olh. a constant visitor to 
 Udell appeared in the jail yard. To this friendly fellow Udell fell into the 
 habit of throwing numerous bits of tracts and hymn books, which some good 
 Christian lady had evidently supplied him with, for the benefit of his soul. 
 These scraps of religious literature were covered with fine writing in pencil, 
 giving instructions as to how to work. In one of these messages Udell gives 
 expression of a fear that ''all was not as it should be," but that he had a 
 "true wife" who would look out for his interests. 
 
 These messages found their way into the hands of Wilson, the attor- 
 ney, in a way that was strange. Udell began to doubt the "honesty" of 
 Laidley, and no one will blame him for that. 
 
 The jail at Oskaloosa was strengthened by additional bolts and bars, 
 in an unusual degree, Udell thought, considering the fact that no one knew 
 of the proposed escape. 
 
 . Day after day dragged heavily by, and no one came to his rescue. The 
 day for his trial came and the two. Rose and Udell, were taken to Newton 
 for trial. Lindley & Ryan defended the men. Xo defense was required, 
 however, for on the 25th of November, both men pleaded guilty to the 
 several charges. 
 
 Charles Udell was sentenced December 30th to ten years' imprison- 
 ment in the penitentiary and to pay half the costs of the prosecution. 
 
 Abraham Rose was sentenced to seven years' imprisonment and half 
 the costs of the prosecution. Rose was let ofif easy on account of his hon- 
 orable service in the Union cause in time of the Civil war. The nine hundred 
 and fifty-four dollars taken from them at their arrest was applied on their 
 fines. 
 
 The sentence of Rose was carried out to the end, but Governor Samuel 
 J. Kirkwood. in 1878, pardoned Udell a few months before his time had 
 expired on account of his disease, consumption, which, it was believed. 
 would carrv him from earth within a short time. Thus were the ends of 
 justice met. and thus ended the career of two noted western criminals. 
 
 THE OVERTUKXIXG OF A STAGE COACH. 
 
 A ])ublic meeting was once broken up l)y an accident that could not well 
 happen nowadays. The only i)ublic conveyance then was the old-fashioned 
 stage coach which passed through Newton a couple of times a day, and some- 
 times several of them together. They used to stop at the old Phelps House.
 
 398 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 a tour-r;torv liostelrv on the south side of the piibHc sciiiare. The (h-ivers 
 hked to attract attention, and wonld sometimes drive in with their four 
 horses on the run and turn up in the hotel door in grand style. One driver 
 made too short a turn and upset his \ehicle. The round, heavy body of the 
 coach broke loose from its fastenings and rolled across the street, like a huge 
 pumpkin. The numerous passengers were packed in so tightly that they did 
 not receive a shaking up. They were like so many sardines in a can. B. F. 
 Allen, the noted banker of Des ]^Ioines. the only Iowa millionaire at the 
 time, was a passenger, and had to share the delights of pioneer tra\el with 
 the rest. 
 
 A GRAND JURY INCIDENT. 
 
 An incident is told of the grand jury room, that illustrates the dififi- 
 culty that is sometimes met with in the enforcement of law. It prol)ably 
 leaked out through the keyhole. The jurymen were discussing among them- 
 selves how they could secure evidence that would lead to the conxiction of 
 certain well known liquor dealers. One of their number, who was a drink- 
 ing man, but a good citizen, remarked that they had ought to make inquiry 
 of a certain man. as probably he knew more about it than anv man in the 
 county. He was brought in and duly interrogated, as to whether he knew 
 of any place where li((uor was sold or had been sold, as a be\erage, or of 
 anyone who had bought and sold. To all these questions he replied in the 
 negative. The gentleman who had suggested his name took him in hand, 
 anfl inquired whether he could remember at a certain place on the street, a 
 short time before, one of the witnesses remarking that he was going to get 
 some liquor, and after going away soon returned with some. But although 
 he strained his memory until it almost cracked, he was unable to recall it. 
 He was then asked, somewhat hotly, whether he could remember of their 
 having drank together, at any time, or at any place. He cheerfully replied 
 that he did not. Whereupon the juryman proceeded to express his opinion 
 of him in a wav that made the air seem blue! 
 
 VKNTRTT.OOT'I.SM. 
 
 From some of the early day incidents, of an historic character, and 
 possibly worthy of preser\ation in a history of Jasper count)', where it oc- 
 curred, is the following: 
 
 During the fall of i«^43, perhaps in Octoloer. two strangers, young men. 
 sto])ped at Adam Tool's house for the night. They said they were from St.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 399 
 
 Louis. 'J'liey were dressed in l)uckskin trousers and lumting skirts nicely 
 fringed with the same material. After supper all were sitting around the 
 campfire. One of the strangers stepped back from the circle. Soon sounds 
 canie from the roadside like one in distress. The stranger called for a lan- 
 tern, the man ])y the roadside saying his horse was down, and was crving 
 for assistance. The lantern secured, the stranger, accompanied hv James A.. 
 started to assist the horseman, but when they arrived at the spot from whence 
 the sounds had proceeded, the stranger called out. "Where are you?" "'Here, 
 a h'ttle ways off! Come quick!"' was the answer. Running about in this 
 manner for a time, the stranger remarked. "The fellow must l>e drunk. We 
 won't go any farther." and returned to the fire. In half an hour or so there 
 was a call in another direction The stranger was again interested, and with 
 lantern in hand, again accompanied by James, the}' started to assist him. 
 Soon after. James discovered there was a trick in this, and ventured to say 
 he believed it was a Aentriloquist. and explained to the stranger, at his re- 
 Cjuest. what a Aentriloquist was. They soon returned to the tire. The 
 stranger, dropping behind James, barked like a dog and caught him by the 
 pants leg. By this time the women folks had retired for the night, and after 
 the lights were blown out, all sorts of barnyard noises proceeded from this 
 man's couch, chickens crowed, cats squalled and babies cried, the rest of the 
 fami]\- not understanding the joke until tlie following morning. 
 
 THE VALERIA CYCLONE. 1 896. 
 
 The most disastrous wind-storm, taking the form of a cyclone, that 
 ever passed through Jasper county, since white men have known it. was the 
 one which struck A'aleria, Mingo and vicinity on Sunday night. May 24. 
 1896. There were many accounts written of this storm, as seen from 
 various view-points, but we have chosen the account as published in the 
 Xcwtoii Journal the week of the storm, the facts of which here follow : 
 
 There were twentv-one killed, outright. It occurred about eight o'clock 
 in the e\ening. after a very sultry Sunday afternoon. The dead included the 
 following: Afr. and ]\Irs. Charles Phalen and children. Charlie, Mike, Susie, 
 ^^lollie and l")an. Charles Phalen. the husband and father, was a wealthy 
 farmer and large land-owner in the neighborhood of Valeria, and upon 
 hearing the roaring of the oncoming cyclone, the sound of which resembled 
 that of a train of freight cars rumbling rapidly over a wooden liridge. 
 started for a storm cave near by the house on his farm. He evidently had 
 one child under each arm in his flight. He was carried some forty feet and
 
 400 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 dashed against a tree and instantly killed, as were also the children he had 
 witli him. The honse was completely demolished. The daughter Mary and 
 son Willie were blown fifty feet and they were the only ones of the house- 
 hold saved. \\'illie had his hip broken. The mother got as far as the mouth 
 of the ca\e and was there soon after found in a dying condition. The hogs, 
 chickens, calves and all other domestic animals were killed and badly mangled. 
 
 Other persons who were killed were Air. and ]\Irs. Peter Bolenburg 
 and an adopted daughter, eight years of age. Lucrctia \Miitney and Martha 
 Dickey, and the wife and son of D. Aiken and grandmother Shell. But few 
 persons were injured, aside from those killed outright. The head of ]\frs. 
 J.ucretia \\'hitney was so imbedded in the earth that it took the strength of 
 se\"eral persons to extricate it. 
 
 Most of the bodies of the deceased were fearfully mangled and must 
 have been killed instantly. ]\Iany were sleeping at the time and possibly had 
 no opportunit}" to save themselves from an awful death. 
 
 The house of Robert Bailey, two miles north of Bondurant, was com- 
 plete! v demolished and he and his wife and three children belonging to a 
 brother at Colfax were all killed outright. In and near Mingo, the storm 
 again did much damage and the property loss on farms was immense. 
 
 At Valeria, in the house of G. ^^^ Lacey, there were nine children. The 
 house was badly wrecked, but fortunately none were materially injured. 
 
 The house of Miss Sue Philson was completely turned over and the 
 ridge of the roof was thrown into the side of the next house to it, but 
 strange to relate, the occupants of the former were unharmed. It is stated 
 that the family started down stairs and arrived there just as the house 
 turned over and were obliged to go back up stairs in order to get out. 
 
 The Methodist Episcopal church at \'aleria was moved from its foun- 
 dation two feet and badly wrecked, while the Catholic church building was 
 totally demolished. In the priest's house the pastor of the church started 
 across the room as the storm struck the house, and only escaped by a few 
 inches a flying two-by-four scantling, which was sent through the window . 
 
 In the business portion of \'aleria village, Taylor Barker's hardware 
 building had its front blown in and mud and water covered the stock of 
 goods. 
 
 The residence of James Jones was entirely demolished, but the family 
 had escaped to a cave nearby. 
 
 The Knights of Pythias building, with a general stock on the first 
 floor, was completely smashed to pieces. The blacksmith shop of D. M.
 
 JASPER COINTX, IOWA. 4O I 
 
 Ilhon was also mashed flat to the earth. The newly Iniilt creamery was 
 totally destroyed and its fixtures .strewn to the far-away fields. 
 
 The railroad depot had two sides l)lown in and a nearby bridge was 
 washed out. delaying all train service until the following afternoon. At the 
 time there were six young men and boys from Poweshiek township standing 
 in the depot and their fright was something they will always remember. 
 The public .school building west of town was blown to kindling wood, not 
 even a large section of the same being found in the neighborhood. 
 
 Solomon Dickey's farm house was actually lexeled to the ground, but 
 his wife and daughter were saved, with a few injuries. Harvev Pitcock. 
 south of Mingo, had his farm house ]jicked up and carried fifty feet and 
 landed in a ditch: his family were more or less injured. Charles Couche's 
 house, south from Mingo, was destroyed, while the familv esca])ed death bv 
 making their way to the storm cave. 
 
 Sol. Dickey was in bed with his little baby and was bl()wn to a brush 
 heap .'^ome distance. He was bruised badly, but the bal)e was uninjured. Five 
 were killed of this family. 
 
 The cloud has been Aariously described. From the point seen by many, 
 it appeared dark and inky, while in other directions it was reix)rted as being 
 white. The sound was awful. It was like falling water, or again seemed 
 like trains running at rapid speed over trestle-work bridges. Its form was 
 like a balloon or funnel-shaped, and it bounded along to and from the sur- 
 face of the earth. There were many wells in the pathway of the storm, all 
 of which liad their waters sucked from them as if by a huge jjunij). An 
 apple orchard, west of \'aleria, was completely uprooted. At another point 
 a w hole Osage orange hedge was taken up. roots and all. In the depot yards 
 at \'aleria. there were steel rails twisted into all kinds of shape, and in one 
 instance manv will still recall tlie strange sight of a steel rail thirty-two feet 
 long. dri\en int() the hard earth a depth of fourteen feet, in a perpendicular 
 position. 
 
 So distinct was the path of the .storm that one-half of mrmy forest trees 
 had their entire foliage and limbs cut off. while the remaining half was ap- 
 parently untouched. Chickens were seen picked clean of feathers, pin 
 feathers and all, while hogs had been beheaded as clean as if struck by a 
 sharpened ax. 
 
 Mondav and Tuesday, as well as for days afterwards, visitors came 
 from far and near to view the strange, yet ugly, sights made by this terrible 
 electric storm, which mowed in its certain path of death and .sure destruction. 
 
 (26)
 
 402 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Manv, indeed, nearly every visitor, carried away some treasured relic of the 
 storm. The same evening there was a large water-spout in j\Iariposa town- 
 ship, this county, which caused property damage, but no loss of life. This 
 terrible wind-storm occurred the same week of the great St. Louis cyclone in 
 which so many lives were sacrificed, and when the Eads steel bridge over the 
 Mississippi river, between East St. Louis and the city proper, was partly 
 carried away. There have been other severe wind storms in Jasper county, 
 but none to compare with this one.
 
 CHAPTER XXXIX. 
 
 INTERESTING REMINISCENCES. 
 
 The following reminiscences have been furnished by local writers and 
 extracted from the writings of men who have passed from earthlv scenes 
 anrl who in their day and generation were men of influence and wrote truly 
 and accurately concerning pioneer events which they themselves had wit- 
 nessed either as men or youth. Perhaps there will be found treasured here 
 much of interest to both the present and oncoming generations. 
 
 THE GREAT INDIAN SCARE. 
 
 Ballinger Aydelotte, who was one of Jasper count\ 's earliest justices 
 of the peace, a hardy pioneer, and a man of considerable ability as a descrip- 
 tive and historic writer, at various times, for numerous publications, gave 
 the facts as herein narrated, concerning the great Indian scare in Jasper and 
 adjoining counties away back in the days when the Indian was about to be 
 removed forever from this, his once happy hunting and fishing ground, to l>e 
 occupied by the white race : 
 
 "The Indians were moved from this country in 1846 by the governiuent 
 to western Kansas, except a few who were left on the reservation in Tama 
 county. A great many of them did not want to go, and the dragoons gath- 
 ered them to Fort Des Moines with a four-mule government team. W'e could 
 see a squad of dragoons with mule teams every day for two weeks hunting 
 Indians, catching them every day and hauling them to Des Moines. Most of 
 them were Avilling to go, and would pilot the dragoons and help catch those 
 who did not want to go. Those they did not find, gathered on the reserva- 
 tion in Tama county and stayed there, as the soldiers were sent to the war in 
 Mexico. 
 
 "Quite a number straggled back in the fall of 1848. They said: 'Mas- 
 quakie heap sick out there; all die if they stay there.' In June, 1849. they 
 came in gangs of thirties and forties. They were sullen and would not talk 
 or give the settlers any satisfaction, but went on to their reservation on Iowa 
 river in Tama county. By the Fourth of July they had all passed on. AlK)Ut 
 this time it began to be talked among the settlers that the Indians were going
 
 404 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 to drive the whites out or kill them. This was talked of for a few days; 
 stories began to fly thick and fast of what the Indians were going to do. 
 None of these stories lost anything, but were generally enlarged, until noth- 
 ing else was talked of but Indians and their massacres. Everybody was 
 excited or scared. I saw men talk Indian till their teeth would chatter and 
 their knees knock together. The women and children were worse scared, if 
 possible than the men. Pretty soon some of the men took their families and 
 left. This started the tide, and they went thick and fast for a few days. All 
 went from some neighborhoods. They went to Mahaska. Jefiferson and Lee 
 counties. One company from the Clear Creek settlement came to town 
 and camped in the old court house, that stood on the northwest corner of the 
 square. It was then new. They had one or two-horse teams, the rest were oxen. 
 There were seven or eight families. Some time the next night the horses 
 got scared, commenced to snort, and rattled their chains. Some one yelled, 
 'The Indians are coming!* This started the screams of the women and chil- 
 dren. Wash. Logdon's wife fainted. This made matters worse, and such a 
 tumult as they had! 'Twas a time long to \)t rememl^ered. Over half of the 
 settlers in the county this side of Skunk river left. We felt lonesome after 
 so many had gone. Some contended all the time that there was no danger ; 
 but when the larger part of the settlers got scared and believed the reports, 
 there was no reasoning w itli them. Those who stayed would gather at some 
 house in the neighborhood at night. When they did not meet at my house I 
 would take my wife and little six-year-old bov to the place where they were 
 to meet, and go back home myself and get a good night's rest. I was no 
 braver than other men. but I did not believe there was any danger. I felt as 
 secure as I do today. The Indians were seen every day by the settlers in 
 small hunting parties, and fishing, and sometimes called at the houses to l^eg 
 for something to eat. Three of them called when I was awav from home. 
 They walked in without speaking, frightening mv little liov so he crawled 
 under the bed. and my wife could not speak. She was one of the scared ones 
 from the first, b^inally she a.sked if the Indians were .going to war with the 
 whites. The old Indian could not talk English, and he said. '^>s." Then 
 my wife said. 'You won't kill the innocent, will you?" *Yes, we will.' he 
 said. Then the little boy l:>egan to yell and cry. She then asked if there 
 were more Indians coming. He said. 'Yes. heap Musquakie comin' drunk.' 
 Then she thought sure she would l)e scalped in a few minutes. She then 
 said. 'White man come and kill Indian.' Then the Indians were scared as 
 bad as she was; they ran out of the house, jumped on their ponies, and went 
 off whipping and looking back as if they expected to see the white men after
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 405 
 
 them. They did not come to my house any more that summer or fall. As 
 soon as they were out of sight my wife and little lx)y hurried to the nearest 
 neighhors as fast as they could, expecting to see the drunken Indians any 
 time. When she told what the Indians said, the neighbors were badly 
 scared and su))posed they had got drunk to begin their butchering. The 
 news flew all over tlie settlement that the Indians had been to Avdelotte's 
 house and threatened to kill his wife and child, and scared her so bad that 
 she was not expected to live. Men came in from all over the settlement to 
 learn the truth. There were no drunken Indians seen or heard of. T sup- 
 pose the old Indian saw she was frightened and said what he did to frighten 
 her worse. There were no more Indians seen in our neighborhood during 
 the scare, but the talk and excitement went on, and several log forts were 
 built around some houses in the settlement, where women and children were 
 taken until the scare was over. In our settlement, after they had built their 
 fort and got their women and children in three or four days, two of the 
 women got into a quarrel over an old iron spoon. Thev then broke up and 
 went home. 
 
 "On Clear creek they built a fort around old Joe Hint's house. He was 
 one who believed there was no danger. He went on plowing corn and 
 working on his farm as usual, while the neighbors built the fort. They 
 threatened to tie and keep him in the house. He told them they were wel- 
 come to build the fort and bring their families there and stay as long as they 
 pleased, Init he must plow corn and take care of his own farm, for there was 
 no danger from the Indians. So the excitement went on. There was a com- 
 mittee of five appointed to go to the Indian village on Iowa river and find out, 
 if they could, whether the Indians were going to break out or not. Dr. 
 Rodgers, Joab Bennett, Brock Hammick. William Richie and Silas Dooley 
 were the committee who \n ent. They came back and reported that they had 
 been to the Indian camp, and seen the Indians at their homes, and they 
 .seemed verv friendly and sociable, and they gave no signs of hostility, and 
 thought there was no danger. In the meantime several petitions had been 
 gotten up in the different settlements and sent to the Governor at Iowa City, 
 requesting him to send militia and drive away the Indians. Finally the Gov- 
 ernor got so many of the petitions and found that the settlers were so excited 
 and neglecting their work, that he sent an officer with a squad of men and an 
 interpreter. Thev went and had a talk with the Indians. They found them 
 perfectlv ignorant of the scare among the whites: they knew .something was 
 wrong, but thev thought that the whites were going to war among them- 
 selves. When thev found out what was the matter thev were as badlv scared
 
 4J(» JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 as the Avhites had been. They were afraid the government would drive them 
 back to Kansas, and that they would as soon die as go back there. From 
 that time on. they were \ery friendly to the whites. They committed no 
 depredations that were heard of. The worst they did was in scaring my 
 wife and son. The Governor sent out a statement that he had investigated 
 the matter and found the Indians peaceable and wanting to live at peace with 
 the whites, and there were no good grounds for the scare. This settled it. 
 and in a short time those who had left began to return, by one and twos. We 
 had a good deal of fun wanting to know when they would get their land 
 warrants for services in the "Indian war." and what they would take for 
 them. Thus ended the big Indian scare of 1849." 
 
 MEMORABLE WINTER OF 1 848-49. 
 
 Among the numerous historic items \\ritten at A'arious times by that 
 trustworthy pioneer, Ballinger Aydelotte. the following is worthy of perpetual 
 preservation in the county's annals : 
 
 "Tt was in the year 1848-49 that we had the 'deep snow,' so-called, be- 
 cause it was the deepest ever known up to or after that winter. The snow 
 began falling early in December, and on Christmas morning it measured 
 forty inches on the level all over the country. As there had been no wind, 
 there were no drifts. About the 27th there came a thaw and a fog and a 
 crust formed. A few neighbors made paths from one house to another, but 
 they were so far apart that most of the traveling was done on snow shoes 
 for three months. We had no good houses. All were small log cabins, with 
 cracks chinked and daubed with mud. The roofs and doors were made of 
 clapboards, with puncheon floors, so they did not lack ventilation. There 
 were no stoves in this country at that time. Wg had no mail for three 
 months, therefore no news from the outside \\orld. It was impossible to get 
 to the Oskaloosa mills. A few had tlieir milling done. Imt they were soon 
 out of breadstuff, and those who had none borrowed vmtil it was all gone. So 
 all were soon on an equality. The rule was to divide everything we had to 
 eat as long as it lasted. Several attempts were made to get to mill in Febru- 
 ary, but all failed, and it was not until the last of March that we got tlirough 
 with ox teams. So we had bread again, after li\ing on l)ro\\ning and boiling 
 corn and grating for over two months. 
 
 "After the crust formed on the snow, a man on snow shoes could catch 
 a deer in a short time, as the deer would go through the crusted snow evei-v 
 jump it made, and after a few jumps would give up. The wolves, being able
 
 JASPER COrXTV, IOWA. 407 
 
 to run on the crust, caught a great many deer. One was started near William 
 Springer's house: it tried to run into the house, but the dogs caught it and 
 killed it in the yard. By the hrst of March deer got so poor one would not 
 kill them for meat and many starved. 
 
 'The Indians lost hundreds of ponies that winter by starving. The 
 snow that fell after the crust was formed was very light and every hard 
 wind the air was filled with snow so one could scarce see their hand before 
 them. At such times the snow would drift through the clapboard roof. And 
 it was no fun jumping out of bed some mornings with snow two or three 
 inches deep all over the house. After the hard blizzards the fine snow would 
 blow off from the prairies into the hollows, making some of the drifts thirty 
 and forty feet deep. I lived on Elk creek that winter.'' 
 
 HARD WINTER OF 1 856-57. 
 
 All true lowans have experienced, or heard their parents tell of. the 
 terrible winter of 1856-57, when the snow, on a dead level, measured fully 
 thirty inches deep, and when the thermometer stood from ten to thirty-four 
 degrees below zero for weeks at a time. In November, 1856, it commenced 
 snowing and during that night it fell to the depth of eight inches. The regu- 
 lar rule that winter was five days of snowing and blowing and two days 
 fair and A'ery cold. Humanity and the iX)or half-starved animal kingdom suf- 
 fered greatly during that never-to-be-forgotten winter. This state of affairs 
 extended throughout the entire western country. Reader, imagine yourself 
 the head of a family, located three miles or more out on the prairie, where 
 no fuel could be procured, save by hauling a few logs at a time, over the 
 snow, from some timber ravine, and cutting it up for stove wood to keep 
 your family from perishing. This was the lot of hundreds who had sought 
 out a new home in the wilds of Jasper and other Iowa counties. 
 
 REMINISCENCES OF THE OLD COURT HOUSE. 
 
 By J. H. Fiigard. 
 
 There was once great rejoicing over the completion of a certain great 
 building, but some of the people wept when they remembered the glories of 
 the former house. We are now made glad by the completion of our splendid 
 new court house, but are not unmindful of the more modest structure that 
 once occupied its place. The old building stood for so many years in the 
 most prominent place in the county, and was such a familiar object, that 
 to manv its destruction came like a personal loss ; and the world almost
 
 408 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 seemed like a lonesome place without it. It cost much less than the present 
 one. But land was then cheap and the people were poor. So that relatively 
 it was more expensive than the new buildini;". Its architecture was of no 
 mean order, and before it was marred by us^ly alterations and by the hand of 
 time, it was reallv a handsome building. When we were children some of 
 us thought that it was the grandest building in all the world. Its lofty 
 dome seemed to us almost to reach the sky, and when brave Joe Bowker, 
 the painter, once climbed upon it. and standing erect waved Old Glory to the 
 breeze our enthusiasm knew no bounds. But the crowning glory of our 
 former house consisted not in its stately columns and its classic frieze, 
 but in wealth of its history. Many of the princi])al happenings of the county 
 in its earlier \ears were connected with it, and much of our grand war 
 historv centers there. A multitude of thrilling scenes, patriotic and pathetic, 
 humorous and sensational, have occurred within and around it. Many 
 notable cases were tried there, and from its witness stand have been told 
 tales of the unraveling crime that were equal to the detective stones that are 
 told of Sherlock Holmes. ]\Iany worthy men there rendered faithful service 
 during their best years, and the lives of some of them doubtless were short- 
 ened bv its unhealthy atmosphere. Many an exciting political convention 
 was held there. And many a good man met his Waterloo, because of lack 
 of sufficient votes. Rival parties and contending factions have there met 
 and harmonized their differences, and like the wolf and the lamb have lain 
 down together, one of them inside the other. Those who tremble for the 
 safety of the country, because of the deadly breach between the progressives 
 and the stand-patters, should remember the big pow-wow when the fierce 
 "stalwarts" and the "mugwumps" ceased their defying warwhoops and to- 
 gether smoked the pipe of peace. 
 
 Not only was it a favorite place for local speakers to exercise their talents 
 but many state spell-binders, and not a few of national reputation have there 
 held forth. With what delight we have heard the eloquence of some of 
 them, both on the rostrum and at the bars, with vigor of thought and splen- 
 dor of diction they have striven to convince or instruct or inspire their 
 hearers. As T have listened to their well chosen words and well rounded 
 sentences, I have thought that I would rather l)e an orator than a king. 
 
 The court room was for many years the largest assem])K- hall in tlie 
 cotinty, and was the natural meeting place for large public gatherings. It was 
 often used for religious services. And in early days a number of funerals 
 w ere held there, among them that of Capt. Thomas H. Miller, who was mor- 
 tally wounded at Pittsburg Landing. His was the first soldier's funeral ever
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 4O9 
 
 held in Newton, and was lart^ely attended by people from all parts of the 
 county. Memorial services were also held there for our first martyr Presi- 
 dent, whom the people loved to call ''I"~ather Abraham." A great sanitary 
 fair was held during the war to raise money to buy supplies for the sick and 
 wounded soldiers. It lasted for several days, and many hundred dollars 
 were raised. People poured out their money lavishly for the good cause, 
 and paid fabulous prices for trilling articles, often handing them back to 
 be sold over again. 
 
 It seems incredible that men's better natures should be stirred by patriot- 
 ism that they would be willing to leave their families and business, and go 
 away for years and incur the dangers and hardships of war. By such devo- 
 tion, however, the I'nion was saved and we are enabled to enjov manv of 
 our present blessings. The old court house figured prominently in the davs 
 of the war, as many rallies were held there, and most of the volunteers 
 started from there for the front. Man}- heartbreaking scenes occurred as the 
 families and friends of the lirave men gathered about them to bid them what 
 in many cases proved to be their last goodbye. 
 
 Upon the breaking out of the rebellion, a numl^er of our citizens ex- 
 pressed a willingness to help put it down. Among them was Samuel Chap- 
 man, the town jeweler, who had seen service with Scott in Mexico, and who 
 \vas urged to take the lead in trying to get up a company. And a meeting 
 was called at the court house to discuss it. Earnest speeches were made by 
 several of the volunteers and others. Among the speakers was a young 
 Newton law student named S. H. M. Byers, now a prominent citizens of Des 
 Moines. He told in a manly way that he thought it was every man's duty to 
 be willing to obey his country's call, and that he had decided to offer his 
 services. And he closed by saying "Rome was once a mighty nation, and 
 so was Carthage. Rome fell and so did Carthage ; but shall these great 
 United States of America fall? Never, never, never.'' Afterwards while 
 confined in a rebel prison, he wrote a little poem entitled "Sherman's ^larch 
 to the Sea," and sent it home concealed in a wooden leg of a returning fellow 
 prisoner. And when he himself came home, he found that it had been set 
 to music and had made him famous. 
 
 Let me trv to describe another rally which was typical of all. It was on a 
 summer afternor)n in 1862, in the darkest days of the war. Dr. Ault had 
 received a commission authorizing him to raise what was afterwards Com- 
 pany C of the Twenty-second Iowa, and this meeting was for the purpose of 
 assisting him. Some one read the President's latest proclamation, calling for 
 three hundred thousand more troops. And a statement was made as to tlie
 
 4IO JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 number that would be required from Iowa and from Jasper county. People's 
 hearts sank, for it seemed as if not another man could be spared, and the 
 number of black dresses to be seen told plainly what had been the fate of 
 many who had gone. Several citizens made brief remarks in regard to the 
 needs of the country. Then it was announced that those who wished to 
 volunteer could do so; and sixteen young men, mostly from Newton and 
 from the flower of our youth, went up to the judge's desk and signed the 
 enlistment paper, amid a silence broken only by the sobs of their parents and 
 friends. Among them were Jackson F. Newell and Thomas ]\I. Rodgers, the 
 vouthful editors of the Monitor, our first daily paper. Than Town,'send. 
 Rov Allum and ^lilt ^IcCord were also of the number: but the last named 
 was afterward transferred to his brother's company in the Twenty-eighth 
 Iowa. 
 
 During tlie next few years these sixteen young men had an opportunity 
 to learn the horrors of war and about half of them never returned. On the 
 bloodv 22d day of May, 1863, they were in that long line of blue that swept 
 up the heights at Vicksburg and was hurled back in defeat from the rebel 
 works, and men went down like grass before the mower. Among those that 
 fell that day were the Bair brothers and Jackson Newell and Johnny Green. 
 
 A HOME COMING. 
 
 It was a glad night in the old building when the boys of Company B, 
 Thirteenth Iowa, came home together on a furlough. The drums beat loudly, 
 and everybody shouted for joy as the sturdy veterans marched proudly into 
 the court room, and were seated at long tables laden with a royal feast. Those 
 were stirring times. 
 
 And many a fist fight occurred on the streets over discussions growing 
 out of the war. While a jollification was being held at the south front of 
 the court house, celebrating the victories at Vicksburg and Gettysburg, the 
 audience suddenly left their seats and ran to watch an angry crowd thump a 
 big fellow for having spoken disrespectfully of the government. There were 
 times when it seemed as if the seat of war was about to be transferred from 
 the cotton fields of the south to the corn fields of the north. .\ riot occurred 
 at a ])olitical meeting at Peoria in Mahaska county and many shots were 
 fired, and a returned soldier named Alloway was killed. The news, in a 
 greatly magnified form, reached here while a rally was in ])rogress at the 
 court house and caused a great sensation. Many a check turned pale when 
 it was reported that a battle had been fought on this side of Oskaloosa, and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 4II 
 
 that two thousaiul rebels were niarchiiiL;- towards Xewton. At another time 
 the community was thrown into excitement over the news that the draft was 
 Ijeing resisted in I'oweshiek county, and that two United States marshals 
 had been ambushed and shot in the public highway. And again the long roll 
 sounded from the east steps calling out the home guards, like the minute 
 men of old, for immediate service. 
 
 Jasper county did its full part in standing loyally by the go\ernment in 
 those trying times. And it furnished far more men than the fiuota required 
 of it. At the first \\ ar meeting, before mentioned, a hope was expressed 
 that eighty-four -men could be secured so that they could form their own 
 organization. But several expressed doubts as to whether so many could 
 be raised in such a thinly settled county. But Captain Chapman afterwards 
 had the joy of marching out of the court yard at the head of his jasper 
 Grays, a hundred strong. And later on six more full companies were sent 
 and enough parts of companies and recruits to bring the whole number up to 
 about fifteen hundred men. And these citizen soldiers, unused to war's alarms, 
 served with great credit. Many of them saw active sen-ice, and some of 
 them witnessed struggles as terrific and slaughter as terrible as were exper- 
 ienced by the veterans who followed the leadership of the First Napoleon. 
 
 EARLY TIMES IN MOX'ND PRAIRIE. 
 
 The following reminiscence was written about a dozen years ago by 
 Seth W. Macy, wlio was a lad of thirteen summers when his parents settled 
 in Mound Prairie township, as it is now known among the civil sub-divisions 
 of the county : 
 
 On the 15th day of September, 1854, Jonathan W. Macy started from 
 Kingston, Indiana, with all his worldly goods, to move to Iowa. His effects 
 were loaded into two wagons, each drawn by a pair of horses. They arrived 
 at Tool's Point October 5th. We drove on three and a half miles to the 
 Col. S. B. Shelladv farm, then owned by Mr. Smart, and after father ex- 
 plained \\hat we wanted, he proceeded at once to empty the best room in the 
 house for us. What we needed for use in the house we unloaded and put 
 in order tliat night. The remainder of the goods were stored in the barn 
 except the large and well-filled tool chest, which was left in the wagon. The 
 first night in Jasper county was very agreeably spent, and we had everything 
 necessarv to our comfort. The next day. after dinner, father and I started 
 for our land, and to locate the spot where the first cabin was to be built, 
 on the northwest corner of section 19. ^^'e then drove on to the upper end
 
 412 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 of Slaughter's (ii"o\e. where there were two log' cabins eight feet apart, the 
 space between roofed and enclosed. These cabins were occupied by John 
 and Edward Thomas, brothers. Ilie cabins were of logs with the bark left 
 on. They were chinked and dau]:)ed with mud, and each had a stick-and-mud 
 fire-place. Each brother had a wife and three children, two beds and trundle 
 beds, so that each had a spare bed for traxelers. We secured bed and board 
 with Ed Thomas until we could l>uild our cabin. The next day we went 
 down into the timlier for our first load of logs fcjr our new cabin. Father 
 cut the logs and loaded them and I hauled them out and unloaded them. I 
 was then but thirteen years old, and of necessity had to play the part of a 
 man. Six weeks later we moved into a \ery neat and comfortable hewed 
 log house, fourteen by sixteen feet, with a sawed oak floor. 
 
 Xow we have the cabin built, we will look around and see who li\ed in 
 Prairie Mound township. In passing up from Tool's Point over the old 
 Indian trail, we entered the township by coming onto section 33 from the 
 south. On the northeast quarter of this section lived E. R. Peck, who af- 
 terward became very well known by taking a great deal of interest in other 
 people's property. Just north of the Peck property, on the southeast quar- 
 ter of section j8, was another claim and cabin occupied by a Mr. Thomas. 
 These were all the improvements on the south side of the township. 
 
 On the east half of the northwest quarter of section 19, there was a small 
 cabin built the year l^efore by Riley Van Scoyac. who occupied the same 
 until 1857. when he sold to Isaiah Coomes who lived there for many years 
 and died on the farm. On this farm Mr. Coomes made the first crockery 
 in this portion of the country. Air. Van Scoyac's father lived south on the 
 east half of the southwest quarter of the same section, and sold about the 
 same time as his son to Daniel Shepherd. All of these places mentioned 
 thus far were so new that they had no grain or produce to sell. The Thomas 
 brothers of whom we have spoken lived on section i j. in what is now W^ash- 
 ington townshi]). Joseph Slaughter, who lived on section 5. ^^■as the first 
 settler in what is now Mound I'rairie township. He came here in 1845. 
 erected a cabin, went back east and returned with his familv in fhe spring 
 of 1846 and had a good farm in cultivation when we came, and ])lenty of 
 grain and stock. 
 
 Samuel K. Parker settled on section 4 in 1847. This was at the river 
 crossing, now the Ross farm. Mr. Parker had a saw mill on the ri\'er forty 
 rods below the river bridge, \\hich was then run by Robert ^\^arner, who we 
 still have Avith us one mile south of Colfax. In 1853. John Sumpter settled 
 on section 7, on what is now known as the Hartley farm. Mr. Sumpter was the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 413 
 
 first justice of the peace in the township, and no better or truer man could 
 be found either then or ncnv for the place. 'J'his was all the permanent set- 
 tlers in the township except a few on the east side of the river, now known 
 as the Metz corner, where some very excellent people settled at an early date, 
 among them the two Miller families, George \V. and brother. The first 
 was L. D. Simms, who came in 1849, ^^i^" his son. S. S.. in 1831. James 
 John and G. W. Miller came in 1853. These are all that we know settled 
 in Mound Prairie township prior to 1854. 
 
 In every new country there are always quite a number of comers and 
 goers of a migratory disposition. They were here, but as I was a small boy 
 1 don't remember any of them. 
 
 Now we will look around a little, our postoftice was at Tool's Point, 
 our grist mill at Red Rock, our corn cracker at Indian creek, northeast of 
 Colfax, and all the merchandise had to be hauled in wagons from the Mis- 
 sissippi ri\er. What would you think of paying seven dollars per barrel for 
 salt and fifteen cents per pound for nails, and all other articles in proportion? 
 
 In the spring of 1856, an eastern Indiana farmer came out to look at 
 the country. He arrived at Fort Des ]^Ioines in the evening, and took a 
 little walk on Second street where the business was nearly all done. Seeing 
 some salt barrels in front of a grocery, he incjuired the price, and was told 
 seven dollars per barrel. "What! Seven dollars for a barrel of salt?" '"Yes." 
 responded the grocer. "Well, no country can be settled where salt costs 
 seven dollars per barrel." tie took the first stage for Keokuk and returned 
 home as soon as possible. Those that remained here, however, have seen 
 the Hawkeye state grow and develop until it is the grandest state in the 
 union. 
 
 A few years later, we are informed this same Indiana farmer heard 
 of the famous rock salt beds in Kansas, moved there and prospered. 
 
 The first grain cut with a machine was in iiS^^y. Jt was a Rugg ma- 
 chine, bought Ijy William Jordan, who owned a part of what was after- 
 wards the Jesse Long farm. Jonathan W. Macy afterward bought the ma- 
 chine and cut the grain in the township that harvest. 
 
 In 1856 Mr. Macy lx)ught .some registered shorthorn cattle of Milton 
 Wilson, who went through here from Wayne county, Indiana, to Madison 
 county. Iowa. Jonathan W. Macy was the originator of the Macy potato, 
 later called the White Me.shanoc. and of the potato industry which has made 
 the Prairie Citv famous. He was a pattern maker and millwright by trade, 
 and one of the most skilled and perfect mechanics that could be found in 
 any country. He built the first pile driver ever used in Jasper county. This
 
 414 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 machine was fully half a century in advance of the age in which it was 
 built. See what J. R. Rodgers has to say of this machine. He helped drive 
 the first piles that were driven in the county with it. 
 
 Mr. Alacv made a set of carpenter's tools before his arrival here, such 
 as planes, bit stalks, screw clamps and a wooden bench vise, that would puzzle 
 the modern mechanic to construct and equal to many of those now made by 
 machinerv. most of which are now in my possession. 
 
 ■'the kxow nothing" political party. 
 
 The present generation knows but little, if indeed anything, of what 
 was of political significance in the fifties in the way of a political party known 
 as the ''Know Nothings." It was represented from one end of the country 
 to the other and its chief principle was that it forbade the holding of office by 
 other than American-born citizens, all foreigners being excluded from hold- 
 ing anv office, either in county, state or nation. Naturally, a party advocat- 
 ing these principles must soon go down in a country like this. 
 
 In jasper county such a party had an existence for a season or more, 
 and has been well described by "Old Shady" (Joseph Arnold) in one of his 
 reminiscential stories which runs thus : 
 
 In 1855-6 there was organized in nearly every state in the Union a party 
 known as the Know Nothing party, the object of which was to keep all for- 
 eigners from holding office or taking any i)art whatsoe\er in the go\'ernment of 
 the United States. The meetings and lodges were held in secret, with armed 
 force if need be. to prevent any foreigners from entering or to know of the 
 Imsiness transacted. 
 
 This ga\e a fa\-oral)le opi)ortunity for crafty office seekers to manipulate 
 plans for their own elexation to office. A. T. Alt, the treasurer of the county, 
 whose first tenu was about to expire, wished to be elected for another term. 
 This he thought an opportunity to immortalize his name and secure his elec- 
 tion for a second term. He attended meetings in an adjoining countv which 
 was head(|uarters for Know Nothings and got the appointment to organize 
 lodges in Jasper county. He set a time and place and notified the leading 
 voters and foreigner haters that he would be down in L\nn Grove and or- 
 ganize a lodge and fit them up to do business. At that time there was a log 
 cabin in the midst of the woods located on .section 3, one-half mile north of 
 the home of John R. Sparks. In conformity with previous arrangements. 
 Sir Alt came down from Newton with tlie appliances to organize the Ameri- 
 can party of Know Nothings. About sunset there was a large gathering of
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 415 
 
 the voters of the township up in the woods near Sparks. About dark we 
 wended our way to the cabin. Alt called the house to order. The first thing 
 done was to place sentinels out to see that no foreigners should know of the 
 business or purpose of the meeting. All being ready, Alt unfurled the Stars 
 and Stripes, which made a fine display in that dark and forlorn place. In an 
 elaborate speech he told us of the danger that the United States was in from 
 the foreign element. After getting us fully awakened, he proceeded to in- 
 itiate us as members of this mystic organization. The initiation fee was 
 nominal, not exceeding one dollar for each one initiated. I well remember 
 the pass-word, "Have you seen Sam?" The sign was to take hold of vour 
 coat on the right side with all of your hand except the index finger, which 
 should be pointed straight out. Then the arm in a natural mo\ement to be 
 brought toward the left side, the index finger placed on the left breast near the 
 region of the heart. 
 
 After a general hand shaking this meeting closed about ten o'clock with- 
 out benediction. A. T. Alt was defeated, and soon the K'now Nothing partv, 
 in all the states, w as a thing of the past. This meeting was on Saturday night. 
 On Sunday morning I went to our little Quaker meeting and saw as soon as 
 I got into the yard. Jarvis Johnson. True to his trust, he gave me the sign bv 
 taking hold of his shadbelly Quaker coat with his right hand, bringing his 
 index finger near the region of the heart. T. true to my pledge, returned the 
 sign. We both saw we were brethren and no foreigner could have our sup- 
 port, for we were full-fledged Know Nothings, and the government still 
 stands.
 
 GEN. JAMES B. WEAVER
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL 
 
 GEN. JAMES BAIRD WEAVER. 
 
 Among the few surviving commissioned officers of the Civil war is the 
 man whose name heads this biographical notice, Gen. James B. Weaver, 
 whose gallant military career, as well as useful political record, is well known 
 to nearly every^ one within the borders of Iowa. His espousal of the cause 
 of reformation and temperance in this state will live in principle and be en- 
 acted into laws long after he has passed from earthly scenes. To have had 
 the courage to fight the battles of one's country, whether on the field of car- 
 nage, or by tongue and pen, as a wide-awake, forceful writer and speaker in 
 the great national political arena, is indeed a fit legacy to bequeath to future 
 generations. 
 
 Mr. Weaver was born June 12, 1833, at Dayton, Ohio, and was educated 
 in the common schools of early Iowa. He drove an ox team across the great 
 plains of the \^^est from Davis county, Iowa, to Sacramento City, California, 
 in 1853. He returned via Panama and New York the same autumn, and 
 clerked for Edwin Planning at B()na])arte, Iowa, in the winter of 1853-4. 
 The following spring he began his long cherished study of the law in the office 
 of S. G. McAchran, at Bloomfield. Iowa. He then attended law school at the 
 Cincinnati College and graduated as a Bachelor of Law in 1855. On the 
 board of examiners was Rutherford B. Hayes, who long afterward became 
 President of the L'nited States. He then returned to Bloomfield, Iowa, and 
 was there admitted to the bar under Judge H. B. Hendershott, and entered 
 upon the practice of his profession and continued therein actively until the 
 spring of 1861, when he entered the Union army as a private soldier in Com- 
 pany G. Second Iowa Infantry Regiment. He was elected first lieutenant 
 and served in that capacity through the battles of Forts Donelson and Shiloh, 
 and until the morning of the first day's battle at Corinth, Mississippi, when he 
 was promoted to the rank of major. His commission as major came to him 
 as a great surprise on the morning of the first day's battle. He had no inti- 
 mation of his having been recommended for this position and was in no sense 
 
 (27)
 
 _l^i^v; jAsrp:R coiXTV. iowa. 
 
 a candidate for that honor. Jn this he was promoted over all the captains 
 of his regiment. The first day of that fierce engagement his colonel, James 
 Baker, was killed, and at the first volley in the morning of the second day's 
 fight his lieutenant-colonel, Noah W. Mills, was mortally wounded. The next 
 morning he was unanimoush- chosen colonel of the regiment by the officers 
 and was duly commissioned by Governor Samuel J. Kirkwood. Subsequently, 
 he w as breveted brigadier-general by President Lincoln. 
 
 After the conflict of that great civil war had ended. General Weaver re- 
 turned to Bloomfield. Iowa, and again resumed the practice of law, and in 
 1866 was elected district attorney of the second judicial district, which w-as 
 composed of seven counties. The term lasted four years and during that 
 time and two years longer he also held the office of United States assessor of 
 internal revenue for the first district of Iowa. When his term of office had 
 expired he again entered the general law practice, meantime taking an active 
 ])art in even' political camjiaign as a Republican. Before the war he had 
 edited a weekly new^spaper for a time and in many ways this became useful to 
 him in after life. He also edited the lozca Tribune, of Des Moines, several 
 years and it had a national circulation. 
 
 In 1875 he was before the Republican state convention as a candidate 
 for the governorship of Iowa, and on the very morning of the convention it 
 seemed certain to all that he would be the nominee, but on account of his 
 antagonism to the liquor interests in the state and his uncompromising tem- 
 perance principles, the liquor license men of the convention secretly organized 
 a movement to bring out the name of Samuel J. Kirkwood, the old "War 
 Go\'ernor," and against that grand old man's wishes they presented his name 
 in dramatic manner and by a pre-arranged plan had a tremendous applause 
 and cheering started in the convention hall which swept the convention off 
 their feet and at the last moment diverted from General Weaver's strength 
 to nominate Kirkw^ood. The majority of Iowa voters desired to make him 
 governor, but the men at the convention were swerved from the path of honor 
 and political duty. 
 
 But Weaver was to be heard from again. In 1878 he was elected to 
 Congress from the sixth district in Iowa, on the independent, or so-called 
 Greenback ])arty platform, defeating Judge Sampson. In 1880 he was nomi- 
 nated by the national Greenl)ack party for President of the United States and 
 polled over three hundred thousand votes, after having made an extended can- 
 \ass both North and South. In 1882 he again l^ecame a candidate for Congress 
 in a triangular fight, and w^as defeated by Hon. M. E. Cutts, though General
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 419 
 
 Weaver, having started in third, came out second best in the spirited contest. 
 But he did not give it up. In 1884 he defeated Hon. Frank Campbell by a 
 close margin, that of only sixty-six votes. Again in 1886 he was elected to a 
 seat in Congress over John A. Donnel, I^epublican candidate. In 1888 Mr. 
 Weaver was defeated by Hon. John F. Lacey. 
 
 In 1892, twelve years after his first Presidential race, he was again nomi- 
 nated for President of the United States by the Populist party, and ix)lled over 
 one million votes, receiving twenty-two electoral votes, notably those of Kan- 
 sas, Colorado and Nevada. During this campaign he canvassed the whole 
 country from sea to sea and from the lakes to the gulf. He is the only third 
 party candidate since Gen. John C. Fremont who has ever been able to force 
 his way into the electoral college, a victory that cannot be effaced. He still 
 takes an active part in politics and religious work. He has long been identi- 
 fied with the Methodist Episcopal church. 
 
 General Weaver was a delegate to the Democratic national convention 
 of 1904 and a member of the committee on platform. In 1900 he made the 
 fight of his life in the St. Louis Populist national convention and secured the 
 endorsement of W. J. Bryan by that convention. As a token of regard, Mr. 
 Bryan dedicated his book "The First Battle" to three men, Bland, of Missouri, 
 Teller, of Colorado, and J. B. Weaver, of Iowa. 
 
 Of late years General Weaver takes but little part in the practice of law, 
 but is still very active on the stump when his heart is in the cause. In the 
 campaign of 1908 he spoke from two to four times each day until the last 
 night of the campaign. He is still hale, hearty and active. It should be 
 added that his work in Congress was marked by great force and constant 
 conflict. His battle for the opening of Oklahoma is unparalleled. For nearly 
 one week, solitary and alone, he held up the House of Representatives until 
 they were forced to pass that righteous bill. Remember, he stood alone upon 
 the floor of the House in that struggle. That record stands unparalleled in all 
 our parliamentary history. He had been prepared for this service by his con- 
 flicts at the bar where he met in fierce combat such men as Trimble, Knapp. 
 Perry, Miller. Burton, Hendershott, Jones. Harris and all of the great men 
 of the Iowa bar of that day. 
 
 General Weaver has truly been foremost in the advocacy of every refomi 
 now urged by the progressives of both parties of the present day. His speeches 
 in Congress, his book "A Call to Action," published in 1892. and the platforms 
 upon which he ran twice for President of the United States, establish this 
 l)eyond doubt. If there ever was a representative in Congress from this com- 
 monwealth true to his honest convictions, it was the gentleman of whom this
 
 _j^20 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 sketch is written, and these points of excellency are being more and more 
 realized as the years come and go in the political histoiy of this country. 
 Whether one views the venerable General from the standpoint of a brave 
 soldier on the field of terrible conflict in the Southland ; in the halls of national 
 Congress; in state and national conventions; on the stump, the lecture plat- 
 form, before the bar, or among his own home people, at his humble home in 
 the beautiful city of Colfax, he is always and ever the same true, loyal, abid- 
 ing friend to the great throng of American commoners. 
 
 That his services have been appreciated by many of his fellow-country- 
 men, it only needs to be referred to that in 1908, after the smoke of political 
 l)attle had cleared away, his scores of admirers in Iowa had painted an heroic 
 life-size oil portrait of General Weaver, and publicly presented it to the art 
 gallery in the Iowa State Historical rooms at Des Moines. Upon that oc- 
 casion scores of friends sent letters of congratulation to him, the same being 
 iinally neatly bound and presented to him as a tribute of respect and honor. 
 v'Dne of these letters (too lengthy to here insert) was from the pen of ''Ret" 
 Clarkson, formerly of the State Register, who lived in New York city and 
 could not be present. But one section of this letter should here be given 
 ]:lace, showing a trait of character not yet brought out concerning General 
 W'eaver : 
 
 'Tt may be said of General Weaver that he has achieved in all the larger 
 helds except that of commercial success and money-making. His failure in 
 that is to be credited to his generous nature and his life-long desire to help 
 others rather than himself. Had he not looked to the interest of others all 
 his life, more than to his own, he by his profession and oratoiy could have 
 amassed a fortune. 
 
 "I regretted he was not nominated for governor, instead of Kirkwood; 
 he had fairly earned the position and a majority of the people of Iowa wanted 
 him nominated." 
 
 Mr. Weaver was married in July, 1858, at Keosauqua, Iowa, to Miss 
 Clara Vinson, an Ohio girl, and by this union nine children were born, eight of 
 whom are living, viz: Maude, J. B., Jr.. Susan, Abraham C, Laura, Ruth, 
 Esther, Paul and another son who died in infancy. 
 
 Addenda. — Since the foregoing sketch was prepared. General Weaver 
 passed away on Tuesday afternoon, February 6, 19 12, while visiting at the 
 home of his daughter, Mrs. H. C. Evans, in Des Moines. Though he 
 had been ill for a couple of days, suffering severely from an attack of 
 acute indigestion, it was not thought his condition was critical, and his sud- 
 <:cn death came as a profound shock to the whole community in which the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 421 
 
 General had for so many years been a familiai '^ jjiire. Funeral ser\'ices were 
 held at the First ]^Iethodist Episcopal church, Des Moines, where the body 
 lay in state for several hours prior to the services. The Rev. Dr. Pruitt, of 
 Colfax, General Weaver's pastor, was in charge of the services, and the Rev. 
 O. W. Fifer and Rev. Father James Xugent made appropriate addresses, 
 touching eloquently on the life and character of the deceased. The active 
 pallbearers were the two sons, J. B. Weaver, Jr., and A. C. Weaver, three 
 sons-in-laws, Charles Sullenberger. of Colfax, Edward Cohart, of Traer, and 
 S. C. Evans, and a nephew, D. H. Payne, of Bloomfield. Honorary pall- 
 bearers were survivors of the Second Iowa, the General's old regiment. 
 
 JUDGE WILLL\AI G. CLE^IEXTS. 
 
 Standing out distinctly as one of the central figures of the judiciary 
 of Iowa is the name of Hon. ^^'illiam G. Clements, of Xewton, Jasper county, 
 the able and popular retiring judge of the sixth judicial district of Iowa, com- 
 prising Jasper. Poweshiek, Mahaska, Keokuk and \\'ashington counties. 
 Prominent in legal circles and equally so in public matters beyond the con- 
 fines of his own jurisdiction, with a reputation in one of the most exacting 
 of professions that has won him a name for distinguished service second to 
 none of his contemporaries, there is today no more prominent or influential 
 man in the district which he has long honored by his citizenship. Achieving 
 success in the courts at an age when most young men are just entering upon 
 the formative period of their lives, wearing the judicial ermine with becom- 
 ing dignity and bringing to every case submitted to him a clearness of per- 
 ception and readv power of analysis characteristic of the learned jurist, his 
 name and work for years have been allied with the legal institutions, public 
 enterprises and political interests of the state in such a way as to earn him 
 recognition as one of the distinguished citizens in a locality noted for the 
 high order of its talent. A high purpose and an unconquerable will, vigorous 
 mental powers, diligent study and devotion to duty are some of the means 
 by which he has made himself eminently useful, and every ambitious youth 
 who fights the battle of life with the prospect of ultimate success may peruse 
 with profit the biography herewith presented. 
 
 Judge Clements was born January 2. 1847. near Flushing. Belmont 
 county. Ohio. He is the son of a sterling old family of the Buckeye state, 
 his parents. John R. and ^^lalinda ( Ramage) Clements, being natives of Bel-
 
 ^22 JASrpR rOUXTV. U)\VA. 
 
 mont countv, m which ihey ^.ew to maturity, received their education and 
 were married, beginning life on a farm. In October, 1855, they came to 
 Jasper county, Iowa, and settled first in Monroe, where they remained three 
 years, then took possession of an undeveloped farm northeast of Xew'ton, 
 where they became well established and well known, the father dying there 
 on November 17. 1888, being survived by his wife, who is now eighty-six 
 years old and is living with her son at Harvey, Iowa. ^Ir. Clements was an 
 ardent anti-slavery man. and he was a "conductor" on the "underground rail- 
 road" through Iowa before the war. There were six children in his family, 
 namelv: William G., of this review: James :\I. lives in Helena, ^Montana, 
 and is judge of the district court there, having held this position for eight 
 vears; L. R. is a manufacturer of excelsior at Harvey, Iowa; O. J. 
 lives at Minneapolis, Minnesota, and is in the transfer business; John S. is 
 an engineer and lives at Ames. Iowa; Josie died in 1885 at the age of eighteen 
 years. It is a singular fact that the five sons are all living, the youngest being 
 past fifty-four. 
 
 The Clements family is of Scotch-Irish lineage. Grandfather James 
 Clements settled in Belmont county, Ohio, in 1803 and began life there as a 
 pioneer. He was born in Maryland and w^as a fuller by trade. He married 
 Eliza Merritt and they became the parents of nine children. Josiah ^Nlerritt, 
 the Judge's great-grandfather, was a soldier in the Revolutionary war, hav- 
 ing enlisted from Pennsyhania, and he became a sergeant. On the maternal 
 side, the great-grandfather, William Ramage, Sr., was also a soldier in the 
 war for independence, having enlisted from New Jersey, and he settled in 
 Ohio in 1802. His son, William Ramage. Jr.. was the grandfather of Judge 
 Clements, and he was a soldier in the war of 1812. He came to Iowa with 
 his son-in-law^ father of the subject, and lived here until his death, at the age 
 of eighty, on March 17. 1874. and he is buried at Monroe, Jasper county. 
 
 William G. Clements was eight years of age when he accompanied his 
 parents to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1855. He received his primary education 
 in the common schools of Monroe and in the rural schools north of Newton 
 and at the old College Farm, or ^^'ittemberg College, near Newton. This 
 was supplemented by a course in Grinnell College. Grinnell, Iowa ; he w^as 
 also graduated from the low^a Business College at Des Moines. For a few 
 years he taught school, and was later appointed deputy county recorder, in 
 the meantime beginning the study of law under Judge O. C. Howe, who was 
 afterwards an instructor in the state law school. Thus he taught school and 
 studied law until November, 1869, when he was admitted to the bar. In the 
 spring of 1870 he began the practice of law at Prairie City, having formed a
 
 JASPER COLXTV, IOWA. 423 
 
 partnership with Sidney \\'illiani>. which lasted two years. While there he 
 was mayor of that town for one year. In 1876 he formed a partnership with 
 Hon. B. C. Ward, which existed for eighteen years Leaving Prairie City 
 in 1887, where he had built up a very satisfactory clientele, he removed to 
 Xewton, in order to secure a broader held for the exercise of his talents, 
 maintaining an office also at Prairie City until 1893 ^^ 1^88 he was elected 
 county attorney, and he performed his duties in such a commendable manner 
 that he was re-elected in 1890, serving four years. He continued to practice 
 law until 1898, his career presenting a series of continued successes such as 
 few lawyers achieve. As a careful and painstaking student he has availed 
 himself of every opportunity to familiarize himself with his profession in 
 its ever}- detail to the end that he might better serve his fellow men and render 
 justice to those who appeal to the courts for redress. 
 
 Judge Clements is a Republican and as such has been active in public and 
 political affairs and an intiuential force in his party not only in local matters 
 but in the larger and more important theater of state and national affairs. 
 He comes of Republican ancestors, but he does not attribute to this fact his 
 strict adherence to the principles which he supports, but rather to history, 
 also to reflection, judgment and conscience, all of which have combined to 
 make him not only an able and judicious counselor, but a moulder of opinion 
 and leader of men in what concerns the best interests of the body politic. 
 While loyal to his power to promote its success, he believes that a man can be 
 an earnest and active politician and yet be strictly honest in his methods and 
 above reproach in all that he does to ad\ance the interests of his cause. He 
 has ever acted upon the principle that he who serves his country best serves 
 his party best, and with this object in Aiew his political efforts, although 
 strenuous and in the highest degree intiuential and successful, have been above 
 the slightest suspicion of dishonor and his counsels ha\e not onl\- met with the 
 approval of his party associates but commanded the respect of the opposition 
 as well. 
 
 Partly as a reward for his nnseltish public service and partly because of 
 his universally recognized ability. Mr. Clements was elected judge of the 
 sixth judicial district in the fall of 1898, and his record was so highly satis- 
 factory tliat he was re-elected in 1902 ?.nd in 1906. making a continuous 
 service of twelve years, during which tin:e he was called upon to try many 
 important cases, one of which was the noted Sarah Kuhn murder case, in 
 which there was a state-wide interest and one of the most important ever 
 held in Keokuk county, in fact, was one of the noted poisoning cases of the 
 country. She was convicted and given a life sentence, which was affirmed by
 
 ^24 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 the supreme court, but she committed suicide in prison by swallowing con- 
 centrated lye. Another case was that of Chester Tyler, tried for the murder 
 of Dr. Benjamin Tailor, who was convicted and affirmed by the supreme 
 court and he died in prison, his case having been tried in Newton. The de- 
 cisions of Judge Clements shows a smaller percentage of reversals by the 
 supreme court than any other judge who has occupied the bench in this dis- 
 trict — reversed less by proportion of cases determined by the supreme court; 
 in fact, as a judge he more than met the expectations of his friends and the 
 public, and so discharged the duties of the office as to receive the hearty ap- 
 proval and warm commendation of the bar. in his own and other circuits. 
 without regard to party. He brought to the bench a dignity becoming the 
 high position, and in the line of duty has ever been industrious, careful and 
 singularlv painstaking, which, combined with his sterling honesty and fear- 
 lessness of purpose, made him one of the most efficient and popular men ever 
 called to preside over the courts of this district. Tt is but just to say, and 
 greatlv to his credit, that no political prejudice, bias or zeal was ever allowed 
 to deflect his mind from its honest convictions, and \vhile discharging his 
 official functions, personal ties and friendships, as well as his own interests 
 and opinions, were lost sight of in his conscientious efforts to render equal 
 and exact justice to those whose affairs were adjudicated in his court. His 
 opinions and decisions attested his eminent fitness for judicial positions, being 
 alwavs lucid, unstrained and vigorous, his statements full and comprehensive 
 and his analysis and interpretations of the law conspicuous and complete. 
 
 At the expiration of his term of office. Judge Clements resumed the 
 practice of law January t. rgri. in partnership with his son. He has always 
 stood high in Ins profession. Xo one knows better than he the necessity of 
 thorough preparation for the trial of cases, and no one more industriously 
 applies himself to meet the issue than he: he is uniformly courteous and 
 deferential to the court, and kind and forbearing to his adversaries. As a 
 speaker he is earnest and impressive. 
 
 The Judge's domestic life began on February 6, 1871, when he was 
 united in marriage with Harriet T. Halferty. a lady of talent and culture, the 
 daughter of James F. Halferty. an influential citizen of Richland county, 
 Ohio, where ]\lrs Clements \\as born. This union has been blessed by the 
 birth of one son. Frank H. Clements, a popular and successful lawyer in 
 Xewton : he married Clara Rcwvcr and thev have one child. W^illiam B. 
 Clements. 
 
 The Judge has a beautiful, modern and attractive home in all its appoint- 
 ments at Xo. 200 Soutli A'ine street, where the nianv friends of tlic familv
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 425 
 
 frequently gather, tinding here genuine hospitahty and good cheer. Fra- 
 ternally, the Judge has been a Mason since 1869, and has attained the Knights 
 Templar degree; for five years he was master of Preston Lodge Xo. 218, 
 at Prairie City. He and his wife are members of the Congregationalist 
 church, of which the Judge was one time trustee and of which he has always 
 been a liberal supporter. 
 
 PERRY ENGLE, AI. D. 
 
 Deserving of a worthy and conspicuous place in the history of Jasper 
 county is Dr. Periy Engle, of Newton, whose active and eminently worthy 
 career, covering a residence of forty 3'ears in this locality, has been fraught 
 with much usefulness since he came to the community. 
 
 Doctor Engle was born near Findlay, Ohio, July 16, 1841, and he is the 
 second child of Jacob and Louisa (Probst) Engle, natives of the state of 
 Pennsylvania. He is one of seven children, was left an orphan when fifteen 
 years of age, and he began the study of medicine while working on a farm. 
 Pie afterward attended the University of Michigan, graduating from the 
 medical department of that institution with the class of 1871, supplementing 
 this by a course in the Long Island College at Brooklyn, New York, where 
 he also graduated. In 1872 he had charge of the Third Street Hospital in 
 Cincinnati. Ohio. Doctor Engle has been an honored resident of Newton 
 for many years and during this time has been a potent factor for the general 
 good of the community. He has held various local ofifices and always with 
 credit. In 1876 he established The Xezcfoii Herald and was its editor and 
 proprietor for twenty-four years. The Doctor is a fluent and forceful writer 
 and during his regime the editorial columns of the Herald reflected a brilliancy 
 rarely met with, and his paper grew to be one of the jeading journals of cen- 
 tral Iowa, under his judicious management. In 1887 he established the lozin 
 Refercnduui, this being the first ])aper in America that advocated the initiative 
 and referendum. 
 
 In 1889 Doctor Engle was nominated for state senator liy the Union 
 Labor party and was afterwards nominated by the Democrats. In the latter 
 campaign his seemed to be a hopeless fight, as Jasper county was strongly 
 Republican, but he was elected by about two hundred majority, which is 
 evidentlv criterion enough of his high standing in the county. He was the 
 first man elected to the Legislature from Jasper county in opposition to the 
 Republican nominee. He served in the twenty-third and twenty-fourth Gen-
 
 _^2(, JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 eral Assemblies, and was a commanding figure in that distinguished body, 
 ahvavs making his inliuence felt for the good of his county and state and 
 proving his sagacity in civic affairs and the wisdom of his constituents in 
 selecting him for such an important office. In the twenty-third General As- 
 sembly he introduced a bill for the Australian ballot, which was finally merged 
 into a committee bill and e\entnally became a law. He also introduced the 
 bill which established the Industrial School for the Blind, at Knoxville, Iowa, 
 which has since been made a home for inebriates. He was the People's 
 party candidate for Congress in 1892, and a candidate for lieutenant-governor 
 in 1901. 
 
 Doctor Engle is a man of fine learning and scholarly attainments. A 
 student of all that is richest and best in literature, his abode is a mecca for a 
 wide circle of friends who love to commune with one so profound in thought 
 and so delightful in entertainment. Possessing a heart mellowed by human 
 sympathy and having a keen appreciation of the great social conditions of our 
 day. he is an earnest advocate of such principles as may hasten the dawn of 
 the long-hoped-for brotherhood of man. He is a profound student and is a 
 vigorous investigator and has the courage of his investigations on all questions 
 on which men and parties divide — in fine, he is a splendid example of that 
 energetic, public spirited, genteel, virile, unassuming American manhood that 
 pushes forward the car of civilization. 
 
 The domestic life of Doctor Engle began in 1871 when he was united 
 in marriage with Kate Madison, and to this union two children were born. 
 Dr. Harry P. Engle, an eye. ear and nose specialist who is practicing in New- 
 ton, and Bert J. Engle, an attorney. Thev are both graduates of the Iowa 
 State L'niversity, and are young men of much promise. 
 
 TOE HORN. 
 
 In nearly every community are to be found indixiduals wlio, 1)\- iimate 
 ability and sheer force of character, rise above their fellows and win for 
 themselves conspicuous places in public esteem. Such an one is the well 
 known gentleman whose name appears above, a man who has been identified 
 with the history of Jasper county for many years, during which time his life 
 has been closely interwoven with the material growth and development of 
 the county, wielding a potent influence in financial circles, while his career as 
 a progressive .man of affairs has been synonymous with all that is lionorable
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 427 
 
 and upright in citizenship. In all life's relations he has conmianded the re- 
 spect and confidence of those with whom he has been thrown into contact 
 and his friends are in number as his acquaintances, for he is, with all of his 
 genial disposition, business acumen and commendable traits, entirely unas- 
 suming. 
 
 Joe Horn, president of the Citizens' State Bank, at Xewton, is the scion 
 of a sterling old family of the Keystone state, and he himself was born in 
 Bedford county, Penns\lvania, April i6. 1855; he is the son of Frederick 
 and Ann (Long) Horn, both natives of Pennsylvania, where they grew to 
 maturity, were educated and married. They came to Cedar countv, Iowa, in 
 1855, where they lived on a farm for twelve years, becoming quite well 
 established and Avell known in that community and then removed to Kansas 
 where they remained one year, then came back to Cedar county, Iowa, for 
 a short time, later removing to Knox county, Illinois, where the father's death 
 occurred in 1866, the mother surviving until 1895, reaching an advanced age. 
 They were the parents of eight children, six of whom are living, namely : 
 Lydia, wife of A. D. Briggs, of I'nion county, Iowa; Joe, of this review; 
 Ella, wife of James Goddard, of Union City, Iowa; Eliza, wife of James 
 Adams, of Kansas City, Missouri; Minnie is the wife of Henry Rayl. of 
 Union City ; M. D. lives in Jasper county. 
 
 Joe Horn was reared on the farm where he lived until fourteen years ago. 
 1897. He received a good common school education, which has since been 
 supplemented by general home study and actual contact with the business 
 world. He maintained a fine farm in Richland township, this county, which, 
 under his able management, yielded rich harvests from year to year and he 
 also handled a good grade of live stock of various kinds, being known for 
 many years as one of the progressive agriculturists of his township, and there 
 he maintained his home until he became deputy county auditor in 1897, which 
 position he held verv creditably for two years, being elected auditor in 1899 
 on the Republican ticket, and he gave such eminent satisfaction that he was 
 re-elected, serving four years in a manner that reflected much credit upon 
 his abilitv as a conscientious, painstaking public servant and won the hearty 
 approval of all concerned. After his tenure of oftice had expired Mr. Horn 
 opened a real estate ofiice, which he continued for two years, then became 
 cashier of the Citizens State Bank at Newton; a year later he was made vice- 
 president, having in that time given conclusive evidence of a peculiar and 
 rare abilitv as a financier, and in 19 10 he became president, the duties of 
 which he has continued to discharge in an able and conservative manner, 
 rendering this one of the soundest, most popular and safest institutions of 
 its kind in central Iowa.
 
 _j^jS JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 On November 2=,, 1880. Air. Horn was married to Margaret A. Koons. 
 daughter of Felix and Agnes (Ragan) Koons. She was born of an excellent 
 faniilv in Knox county, Illinois, and she is a woman of many pleasing char- 
 acteristics which have gained for her a wide circle of friends. 
 
 Six children have been born to Mr. and ]\Irs. Horn, namely: Allen 
 Roy: Fav is deputy recorder: Edna is the wife of Alva Griffin, of Newton; 
 Ethel is a stenographer in the ])ank with her father; Walter L. is a student 
 in the agricultural college at Ames, Iowa : Hollis is attending school. Fra- 
 ternallv. Mr. Horn is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. 
 
 Mr. Horn has been very successful in business, being energetic, a keen 
 observer and a good manager. He is a stockholder and director, also treas- 
 urer in the Newton Disc Plow Company. He is also director and treasurer 
 of the American Construction Company at Newton. In each of these rapidly- 
 growing concerns he is a potent factor, and owing to his scrupulously honest 
 methods and his genial address he has won the esteem and good will of the 
 people of Jasper county. 
 
 EMMET AV/TRY 
 
 The march of improvement is accelerated day by day, and each successive 
 moment seems to demand of men a broader intelligence and a greater discern- 
 ment than did the preceding, showing that successful men must be live men in 
 this age, bristling with activity. The purpose of biography is to preserve the 
 records of such men for the edification of succeeding generations; thus the 
 lesson of biography may be far-reaching to an extent not superficially evident. 
 A man's reputation is the property of the world, for the laws of nature have 
 forbidden isolation. Every human being either submits to or rises above the 
 controlling influence which touches, controls, guides or misdirects others. If 
 he be honest and successful in his chosen field of endeavor, investigation will 
 brighten his reputation and point the way along which others may follow with 
 like success. The career of Emmet Awtry, well known business man of 
 Sully, Jasper county, is of that class of enterprising citizens whose example 
 is calculated to be an incentive to others, for his efforts have met with a fair 
 measure of success in life's affairs. 
 
 Mr. Awtry was born in Marion county, Iowa. July 29, 1873, the son of 
 Simon P. and Margaret A. (Flaugh) Awtry, the father born in Kentucky and 
 the mother in Ohio, and they came to Iowa in a very early day, and the ma- 
 ternal grandparents, Elisha and Tissue Flaugh, who were natives of Ohio, 
 came to Jasper county, Iowa, when the country was wild and settlers few.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 429 
 
 It is believed that they entered land from the government and here they estab- 
 hshed a good home, after the usual hard work and discomfiture, and here 
 spent the rest of their lives, reared a family and took a leading part in the 
 county's affairs. Air. Flaugh was a surveyor and, there being a great deal of 
 this work done in his day, he was kept busy, though he managed to operate 
 successfully his one hundred and sixty acre farm. Giles Awtry, the paternal 
 grandfather, was also a pioneer of Iowa, he having come from Kentucky to 
 Lick Prairie township, Alarion county, and there entered government land. 
 He was a cooper by trade, which he followed in connection with farming and 
 he became an influential citizen in that county. On his farm the father of the 
 immediate subject of this sketch grew up and when the Cvil war came on he 
 enlisted for service in the Federal army, in Company C, Fifteenth Iowa \'olun- 
 teer Infantry, in which he served very faithfully for three years and ten 
 months. He was wounded at the battle of Shiloh and came home on a fur- 
 lough, after which he returned to his regiment and served out his time, re- 
 ceiving an honorable discharge. After coming back to low^a from his arm\- 
 career he was married and soon afterwards began farming, buying a part of 
 his father's homestead. Through close application and good management he 
 prospered from year to year and added to his holdings until at the time of his 
 death, on July 25, 1891, he ow^ned four hundred and forty acres of valuable 
 land, which he had brought up to a high state of improvement and cultivation. 
 His widow survived until in August, 1910. Simon P. Awtry led a quiet home 
 life, preferring to give his attention to his farm and his family rather than 
 seek precarious public honors. His wife was a member of the Christian 
 church, and known as a kind-hearted, noble-minded w^onian. Their family 
 consisted of eight children, six of whom are living at this waiting. 
 
 Emmet Awtry grew up in Marion county, assisted his father with the 
 general work about the place and received his education in the public schools 
 there, and there he took up farming, w-hich he followed for a period of five 
 years, getting a good start the meanwhile. In September, 1902, he came to 
 Sully, Jasper county, and there entered the live stock business with Alacev 
 Brothers & Gove. Mr. Gove having later retired, the Maceys and Mr. Awtry 
 are conducting the business, which has assumed extensive proportions and thev 
 are widely known over this locality, in fact, are among the leading and most 
 successful stock men in this section of Iowa. 
 
 Politically. Mr. Awtry is a Republican, and he has served his township as 
 trustee. 
 
 In March, 1897, occurred the marriage of Mr. Awtry with Xellie C. Boat, 
 a native of Marion county. Iowa, and the daughter of a highly respected fam- 
 ily. This union has been blessed by the birth of one child, Margaret.
 
 4^0 JASPER COUNTV, IOWA. 
 
 JUDSON H. FUGARD. 
 
 Mr. Fugard was born at Bellville, Richland county. Ohio. I'"e1)ruary 14. 
 1850. and is the son of John F. and Angalina (Cowan) Fugard. His father's 
 people came from the Granite state, and his mother's from Maryland, and 
 were among the early settlers of Ohio. One of his ancestors was Rev. 
 Isaiah Stone, a prominent Baptist minister of New England. Another one 
 was Samuel Fugard, of Bedford, New Hampshire, who liad ([uite.a good 
 record as a Revolutionary soldier. He was a minute-man at the beginning 
 of the war, and accompanied the illfated winter expedition against Quebec. 
 He afterwards served for six years in the Continental line, or regulars, as a 
 member of the Sixth Company of the First New Hampshire Regiment, and 
 took part in the principal campaigns and battles of the war. He endured 
 the hardships of \'alley Forge, and was among the one thousand five hundred 
 picked men who crossed the Delaware river and attacked Trenton, on a night 
 so cold that two of their number froze to death. On this occasion his com- 
 pany was given the post of honor, by being selected to lead the advance and 
 capture the enemy's outposts, receiving great credit for their gallantry. After 
 his return from the war, he was granted a pension bv the Legislature. The 
 records state that he had been discharged as unfit for duty because worn out 
 in the service, and that a certificate had been given him by his excellency. 
 General Washington, stating that he was entitled to a pension. 
 
 Mr. Fugard's parents moved to Jasper county in 1855, and settled in 
 Buena Vista township eight miles southeast of Newton. The country was 
 then new and thinly settled, but they enjoyed pioneer life and did their full 
 share towards building up the community, by actively favoring those things 
 that were for the public good. Four children were born to them, three of 
 whom died in infancy. Noble J. Fugard, of Newton, grew from childhood 
 to honorable manhood in this home, and several other children also shared its 
 benefits for one or more years, so that it was often known as the ''Orphans' 
 Home." The farm on which the Fugard family first settled remained in their 
 possession for fifty years. 
 
 The father died at the age of sixty-three. His widow afterwards mar- 
 ried J. J. Young, who is now deceased. She makes her home with her son. 
 and, although past her eightieth year, she enjoys good health and takes an 
 active interest in affairs at home and abroad, and has learned the great secret 
 of how to grow old sweetlv.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 43 1 
 
 Judson Fugard grew to manhood on the farm, and knew the meaning of 
 hard work, performing his part in helping to develop the home place from its 
 raw state. He attended the public schools and Hazel Dell Academy and 
 graduated from the law department of the State University. He opened 
 an office in Newton and practiced for a number of years alone, and after- 
 wards was associated for some twenty years with A. F. Brown, Esq.. under 
 the firm name of Fugard & Brown. He still maintains a law office, but de- 
 votes a part of his time to looking after outside interests. Some years he 
 has had charge of as much as two thousand acres of farm lands belonging to 
 others. For several years he has been interested in dairying, and has a herd 
 of thirty cows, and a modern dairy barn and silo in a fine grove adjoining 
 town. Improved methods are used in caring for the dairy products, which 
 find a ready market. 
 
 On ]^Iarch 5, 1884. ]\Ir. Fugard was united in marriage with Ella Slem- 
 mons. a worthy young lady of Des Moines township. Her parents, Mr. and 
 [Mrs. Benjamin Slemmons. were highly esteemed people of that community. 
 They afterwards lived at Newton for a number of years, and then removed 
 to Mahaska county. Both are now deceased. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Fugard still reside in the same home in which they com- 
 menced housekeeping. Two children have graced their union. John Reed. 
 the son. is twenty-four years old, and married Rowena Owen, an excellent 
 }onng lady of Piano. Illinois. He is a graduate of the Newton high school 
 and afterwards took a four-years course of study in the School of Archi- 
 tecture of the Illinois University. Upon his graduation from the latter insti- 
 tution, he was offered a position with a prominent architect of Chicago and 
 spent six months superintending the erection of some fine residences at 
 Princeton, New Jersey. He is now located in Chicago and doing well. 
 Florence Angelina, the daughter, is fifteen and is the light of her parents' 
 home. 
 
 ]^Ir. Fugard and his family belong to the Newton Baptist church and 
 make four generations of their family that have been connected with it. He 
 is also a member of the Iowa Society of the Sons of the American Revolution. 
 He is a Republican in poli.tics. and has served his party as secretar}- of the 
 county committee and in other capacities. At the time of the prohibitory 
 amendment campaign, he served for three years as secretary of the amend- 
 ment association and helped to thoroughly organize the county and carry 
 it for prohibition by nearly two thousand majority. He has achieved some
 
 ^32 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 reputation as a writer, his articles possessing a quaint and interesting style, 
 full of humor and pathos. F'or several years he had charge of the local 
 work of the Newton Journal, was the Newton correspondent for the State 
 Register, and has done considerable work for other papers, among them the 
 Chicago Tribune. 
 
 Personally Mr. Fugard is a very pleasant gentleman to know, being 
 genteel in manners, unostentatious and obliging. 
 
 ROSS R. ^lOWRY. 
 
 It is with marked satisfaction that the biographer adverts to the life of 
 one who has had a successful career despite the somewhat discouraging and 
 unpromising circumstances at the outset. Such a life abounds in lesson and 
 incentive and cannot but prove a stimulus to those whose fortunes and destinies 
 are yet matters for the future to determine. Ross R. Mowry, one of the best 
 known of the younger attorneys of Jasper county, was ambitious to become 
 an attornev, but the way was not clear to him, so he made a way, studied hard, 
 worked his way through college and at an early age has made a record of 
 which anyone might well be proud, his career proving what honesty of purpose 
 and rightly applied energy may accomplish although in the face of obstacles. 
 
 Mr. Mowry was born in Clear Creek township, this county, March 5. 
 1882, of one of the highly respected old families of that part of the county, 
 being the son of John E. and Louisa (Wilkins) Mowry, both natives of Penn- 
 sylvania. The father devoted his life principally to farming, though he was for 
 some time engaged in the mercantile business at Baxter, Jasper county, in 
 which town he is now living retired. He is well known and has a host of 
 friends throughout the county. There were ten children in his famil}^ Ross 
 R., of this review, being the youngest. They are all living but one, who died 
 in infancy; they are: Florence, widow of Henry Kline, of Baxter, this county; 
 Alice, widow of David Cross, living near Colfax, Iowa ; Jesse lives at Nevada, 
 Missouri ; Julia is the wife of Fred Dodd, living near Baxter; William lives at 
 Marshalltown, Iowa; Ella Buchanan is the wife of J. M. Buchanan, living 
 near Colfax; Milton lives in Kansas City, Missouri; Anna is the wife of Carl 
 C. Webb, of Baxter; Ervin died in infancy; Ross R. 
 
 The last named spent his youth on the home farm and assisted with the 
 work about the place until he was fifteen years of age. He was always a
 
 Cf^y^^ (K, Tn O^^J^
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 433 
 
 Student and he applied himself carefully to his text-hooks in the country 
 schools, later graduated from the high school at Baxter, with the class of 
 1900, then entered the State University at Iowa City, w-here he made an ex- 
 cellent record and from which institution he was graduated, in the law depart- 
 ment, in 1903. However, he fore entering the university he taught school for 
 a time; as already stated, he worked his way through the university. In the 
 spring of 1903 he w^as admitted to the bar when he was twenty-one years of 
 age. He began the practice of his profession at Baxter, where he remained 
 one year and was gaining a solid foothold, Ijut. seeking a wider held for the 
 exercise of his talents, he moved to Newton in 1905 and formed a partnership 
 with John E. Cross, which was dissolved in 1910. Mr. Mowry has figured 
 more or less prominently in local legal afifairs all the while, being regarded as a 
 A-ery strong young lawyer and he lias been very successful in all his legal work- 
 in the local courts. 
 
 In 1910 Mr. Mowry was the Repul)lican nominee for county attorney 
 and was duly elected at the ensuing election, and is now \er}- ably discharging 
 the duties of this office. 
 
 ^Ir. Mowry was married on September 15. 1908. to Edith Matthews, 
 daughter of John L. Matthews, a well known citizen of Xewton. Mrs. 
 Mowry is a young, lady of education and many pleasing traits of character 
 which have long rendered her a fa\orite with a wide circle of friends. This 
 union has been graced by the liirth of one child, l^sther \'irginia. who was born 
 on November 8, 1909. 
 
 Fraternally, Mr. Mowry is a member of the Knights of Pythias and the 
 Modern Woodmen, and politicallv he is l(\val in liis support of the Republican 
 party. 
 
 The Mowry famrly is of (German slock, and the first sj)ecific record we 
 have of them in America is when thev settled in Pennsylvania in the early davs. 
 
 JOSEPH M. W'OODROW. 
 
 No business man in the city of Xewton is regarded with higher fa\-or 
 than the gentleman to a brief review of whose interesting career the reader's 
 attention is directed in the following paragraphs, Joseph M. Woodrow being 
 one of those public-spirited men who, while laboring to advance his own in- 
 terests along legitimate lines, does not neglect to discharge his duties in fos- 
 
 (28)
 
 _|i_^ JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 teriiii;" the upbuilding of the cuninumity in general, and few men ha\e done 
 more to advance the material interests of Xewton than he. owing to his high 
 position in financial circles and his unswer\ing allegiance to the higher stand- 
 ards of living. 
 
 Mr. Woodrow. president of the Jasper County Bank and one of the sub- 
 stantial and representative men of Iowa, has been a resident of Jasper county 
 since 1865 and he has thus li\ed to see and take i)art in the wonderful trans- 
 formation of the same from a wild i)rairie country to a high rank in the 
 great Hawkeye commonwealth, taking a great pride in its progress and al- 
 wavs standing readv to support any worthy movement having as its object the 
 general welfare o\ his locality and state. 
 
 Mr. \\'oodrow is the scion of a sterling old family of the Empire state, 
 he himself having been born in Genesee county. Xew York, September 8, 
 1840. and he is the son of Benjamin and Frances ( Sprague ) Woodrow, the 
 father a native of England and the mother born in the state of Connecticut. 
 The former was a tailor by trade, and after spending his youth in his native 
 country, he emigrated to America in 1807 and became well established here. 
 
 Joseph M. WOodrow started in life for himself when twent}--one years 
 of age, working on a farm, by the month, in Illinois. Believing that the newer 
 state of Iowa held still greater advantages for one of his temperament, he 
 emigrated further west and in 1863 became a clerk in a store at Alt. Pleasant. 
 Iowa, where he remained until 1865. when he came to Jasper count}- and 
 launched out in the lx:)Ot and shoe business, the results of which were very 
 satisfactory. In the spring of 1869 he sold out and started a nursery, which 
 he operated successfully until 1883, when he sold out. Turning his attention 
 to banking, for wliich he seems to ha\e been best endowed by nature, in 1880 
 he became cashier of the Jasper County Bank at Newton. His close applica- 
 tion to his duties in this connection and his honest and conservative policy, 
 together with his uniform courteous treatment of the patrons of this institu- 
 tion, resulted in gradualb increasing its prestige and it 1)ecame one of the 
 popular and sound financial institutions in central Iowa. He became its 
 president in 1889, which position he has \ery abl\- and worthily discharged 
 to the i)resent time. l)ecoming one of the best known bank presidents of this 
 part of the state, managing the affairs of this institution with rare discretion 
 and foresight and kec])ing it on a sound and safe basis, so that it has been 
 amply able to weather all financial crises. 
 
 '["he douiestic life of Mr. Woodrow began in 1865, when he was united 
 in marriage with Parmelia A. Fluke, daughter of Mrs. Judith Browning and 
 a lady of many i)raiscworthy attributes, being the re])resentative of an ex-
 
 JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA, 435 
 
 cellent old family. To this union seven children have been born, namely : 
 Frank M., Eva A., Mrs. A. C. Keinath, Harry E. (deceased), Fred C, Grace 
 M.. Airs. A. E. Hindorft, O. Blaine and Benjamin W. 
 
 Mr. Woodrow's beautiful residence in Newton, which is modern and 
 attractive in all its appointments, is frecjuently the gathering place for the 
 many friends of the family, who never fail to find here an old-time hospitalitv 
 and a sincere welcome, so that he and his wife ha\'e long been favorites with a 
 wide circle of warm and admirinsf friends. 
 
 WILLIAM S. GOVE. 
 
 Many elements contribute to the development of a new countr}-, but no 
 one thing plays so large a part as sterling worth and character. It is to the 
 rugged, steadfast men and women who come into its domain that the new 
 land must look, and it is most often the plain, blunt men of lousiness and 
 every-day affairs who most affect a new country's history. While William S. 
 Gove, the present able and popular sheriff of Jasper county, is not among the 
 oldest of the county's settlers, yet he came here just at the close of the 
 Civil war. and, throughout the years that have passed since then, his life has 
 been a busy and fruitful one. and he has i)layed an important part in the 
 affairs of the community during the most important period of its (le\elopment. 
 Nearly every one in the county knows big, bluff, honest Will Gove, and the 
 secret of his popularity lies in the fact that he has always been allied with 
 those things which tend toward the advancement and betterment of men. 
 While a keen, careful and straightforward business man. he has ne\-er become 
 a dollar w orshiper or permitted the lust of greed to eradicate his higher ideals, 
 believing that life holds much of greater value than mere wealth of estate. 
 
 Mr. Gove was born in Vermont on May 23, 1855,. the scion of a sterling 
 old Xew England family, being the son of Sabin P. and Harriet (Kendall) 
 Gove, both natives of Vermont. The father was a farmer and it may truth- 
 fully be said of him that he was a self-made man. Left an orphan when but 
 a mere child, he was early bound out to an old doctor named Sabin. with 
 whom he lived until almost reaching his majority. \\'hile this man was kind 
 and did all for the boy he could, yet the youngster's life was \e\y lonesome 
 and he was glad to reach the dav when he could start out in life for himself, 
 which he did empty-handed. All he subsequently acquired he obtained alone 
 and unaided, and when he died he had the respect and love of all who knew
 
 ^^6 JASPER ^COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 him. Sabin P. Gove and wife were married in Verm.ont. coming from tliat 
 state to Kane county, Illinois, when the son. ^^''illiam S.. was but three months 
 old. Upon their arrival there they purchased one hundred and twenty acres 
 on which thev lived nine years, then moved to Grinnell. at that time the ter- 
 minus of the Rock Island railroad. That was in 1864, and the following 
 spring thev came on to Jas])er county, locating on one hundred and sixty 
 acres in Richland township, which land still remains in the family, there 
 having lieen but one transfer made of it. the land being originally home- 
 steaded bv ]\Irs. A. K. Banett, a sister of the subject's mother, from the gov- 
 ernment and transferred by her to the subject's father. Sabin P., in 1863. 
 Here the family prospered, the father added to it until he finally became the 
 owner of six hundred acres of valuable land, thus becoming one of the 
 countr}-'s largest landowners and most progressive farmers. In the spring 
 of 1883 he retired from active life and moved to the town of Sully, where 
 he built a comfortable residence. Later, his health becoming very poor, he 
 and his wife moved to Pasadena, California, where he purchased two good 
 residence properties, and there he resided until death ended his earthly 
 career, on September 10, 1895, when he had reached the age of sixty-fi\'e 
 years, the immediate cause of his death Ijeing heart trouble. He was a man of 
 fine character and had the good will and admiration of all who knew him. 
 After his death his widow returned to her home in Sully, Iowa, where she 
 still resides, being now seventy-seven years of age. Her eldest son lives with 
 her. She has a host of warm friends who admire her beautiful characteristics. 
 
 William S. Gove, of this review, is one of four children, all of whom are 
 living; of these, the subject and an elder brother were born in Vermont, the 
 others being born in Illinois; they are Albert K., born August 9, 1853. lives 
 in Sully; William S., of this review; Harry M., born October 24, 1859, lives 
 in Grinnell. Iowa; Tracey L., born August 2. 1861, also lives in Grinnell. At 
 the age of twenty-one the subject began his independent life work by taking 
 up farming and this he followed continuously until October. 1909. During 
 the last twent}- years of this period, howcxer, he engaged in a very extensi\-e 
 stock business, buying all kinds of live stock all over the county and, in fact, 
 throughout many states, especially those of the West and South. It is said 
 of him that lie has shi])ped stock over almost every railroad running into 
 Chicago, and he is universally regarded as an expert judge of all kinds of 
 stock. Few men are more widelv known in this \-ocation and few have 
 achieved greated success. 
 
 While never at any time pretending to be a politician. Mr. (iove has al- 
 ways taken a keen and intelligent interest in ])(>litical affairs, and so, at the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 437 
 
 November, 1910. election the people of Jasper count}- testirted to the respect, 
 confidence and esteem they held for him by electing him sheriff of the county, 
 which position he is filling in a worthy and most acceptable manner, reflecting 
 much credit upon himself and giving eminent satisfaction to all classes, dis- 
 charging his official duties with that painstaking care and discretion, that un- 
 swerving fidelity and aptitude that has ever characterized his Imsiness career. 
 His son, Harry E. Gove, is acting deputy sheriff under his father, and they 
 have the distinction of being the first sheriff and deputy to occupy the new 
 court house. Mr. Gove has also held a number of the offices in Richland town- 
 ship, among them being that of supervisor of roads and director of the town- 
 ship schools. 
 
 On November 2, 1876. Air. Gove was united in marriage with Amarilla 
 Allen, a native of Illinois and the daughter of Ervin and Amelia (Moshier) 
 Allen, both of whom were nati\-es of the state of X^ev/ York. They spent 
 their lives on a farm and are now deceased, the father dying in Richland 
 township, this county, at the age of seventy-eight years, his death occurring 
 while he was here on a visit. He was buried in Oklahoma, where he had main- 
 tained his home for some time. The mother died in that state at the age of 
 sixty-six years. Mrs. Gove's parents came to Iowa when she was but three 
 years old, her birth having occurred on July 17, 1856, she being the eldest of 
 four children, all living, namely: Laura married Albert Gove, a brother of the 
 subject, and they live in Arabia. Arizona, where \lrs. Gove is matron of 
 the Indian school; Erank ]\I. Allen lives at Gates, Oklahoma: Susan E. li\es 
 in Aha, Oklahoma. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Gove of this re\"iew six children ha\e been Ijorn, five 
 of whom are living, namely: Jennie Alay. born May i, 1877, is the wife of 
 Frank B. Sparks and resides on a farm in Richland township, this county : 
 Cecil Ro.se, wife of Charles \\\ Sparks, a brother of I-Tank B., was born 
 January 8, 1880: thev live on a farm in Richland township: Plarry E. Gove, 
 born September 15, 1882. married Naomi Ewing and lives in Newton: Hat- 
 tie A., born January 14, 1885. died December 10, 1905; Bessie E., born Jan- 
 uarv 29, 1890, is unmarried and is still with her parents; Mabel E.. born July 
 31. 1892. has also remained single and is a mem];er of the family circle. 
 
 In 1887 Mr. Gove went to southwestern Kansas and lived a year in 
 Haskell county. While there he homesteaded one hundred and sixty acres 
 which he later paid out under the provisions of the pre-emption law, receiving 
 his patent from the President, December 28, 1889, it being the first patent 
 ever issued in that county. He still holds this land, and also has other val- 
 uable and extensive interests.
 
 438 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Gove are kindly, affable people and their home life is ideal, 
 their attractive and commodious dwelling being known to their many friends 
 as a place where hospitality and good cheer ever prevail. They have long 
 been prominent factors in the social life of the town and county and richly 
 deserve the high esteem and good will which are freely accorded by all. Mrs. 
 Gove comes of a long line of Quaker ancestry. 
 
 Mr. Gove has made a su.ccess of his life work, succeeding because he has 
 been an adherent to those principles .and ideals w hich the world admires 
 everywhere. He has not depended upon the assistance of any one. preferring 
 to be the architect of his own fortune, and is a fine type of the virile, useful. 
 industrious, broad-minded and public-spirited self-made American. 
 
 COL. ELLIOTT E. LAMBERT. 
 
 The office of biography is not to giye voice to a man's modest estimate 
 of himself and his accomplishments, but rather to lea\-e upon the record the 
 \-erdict establishing his character by the consensus of opinion on the part of 
 his neighbors and fellow citizens. The life of Col. Elliott E. Lambert, a 
 leading business man of Newton, Jasper county, has been such as to elicit just 
 praise from those who know him best, owing to the fact that he has always 
 been loyal to the trusts reposed upon him and has been upright in his dealings 
 with his fellow men, at the same time lending his support to the advancement 
 of any cause looking to the welfare of the community at large. 
 
 Colonel Lambert was born in Licking county, Ohio, January 8, 1863, 
 and he is the son of R. K. and Cynthia (Benjamin) Lambert, both natives of 
 C)hio. The father, who devoted his early life to farming, came to Iowa in 
 1868 and settled in Newton, soon buying one hundred and sixty acres of laud, 
 v.-hich he farmed until 1876, in which year he came to Newton and estaljlished 
 the famous Lambert hotel, which he and his wife conducted successfully for a 
 period of twenty-eight years, the same being popular with the traveling public 
 and known throughout this part of the country. ]\Ir. Lambert is now living 
 retired in Newton. He is one of the interesting ])ioneers and has had a \aried 
 and interesting history, a representative of that sterling t}pe of men who con- 
 stitute the bone and sinew of any country. His grandfather, Francis Lam- 
 bert, was a soldier in the war of 181 2. The subject's father was a soldier in 
 the Civil war, a faithful and efficient follower of the Stars and Stripes in 
 many a trying campaign and hard-fought battle. He is known as a worker, a
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 439 
 
 man who does things. Although now advanced in years, ha\ing Ijeen born in 
 1839, he is today strong and vigorous. . His wife is a woman of the fine old 
 school who has given the world so much sweetness and refinement, hospitable 
 and affable. Ever loyal to all that was l)est and truest, during all her life she 
 has brought to her home and friends a benign and uplifting infiuence. She is 
 a faithful church worker and her life has been filled with many charitable 
 deeds. The three children in this family are all living, namely : William R. 
 lives in Newton, Iowa; his sun. Everett \\\, now deceased, had a national 
 reputation as an all-around athlete; Elliott E., of this review; Belle is now the 
 wife of Doctor Besser, of Xewton. 
 
 It was in 1886 that Colonel Lambert, of this review, began business for 
 himself, by taking up the general freighting and transfer business in Newton, 
 which he followed for a period of seventeen years, when he sold out and 
 engaged in the implement business there, the style of the firm being W. C. 
 Bergman & Company, which business he conducted with his usual success for 
 two years, after which he engaged in the general fire and life insurance busi- 
 ness, which he has continued to the present time, his offices now being in the 
 Scharf building, north of the court house square. He has met with a large 
 measure of success from the first in this line of endeavor and is one of the 
 best known insurance men in central Iowa. 
 
 On January 6. 1886, Colonel Lambert was united in marriage with Lizzie 
 M. Boydston. daughter of James and Mary Boydston. the fatlier dying soon 
 after his daughter and the Colonel were married, and the mother died in Xew- 
 ton on April 10, 19 10. 
 
 Four children have been Ijorn to tlie Colonel and wife, all of whom are 
 living, namely: Earl B., born October 7. 1886. is at home and employed by 
 the American Construction Company; Harold R.. born June j, 1891, is at- 
 tending the State University at Ames; Robert E., born August 2"/, 1893, is 
 employed as stenographer for the Bergman Manufacturing Company; Mar- 
 jory B.. born September 5, 1896, is at home, and. possessing a voice of ex- 
 quisite melody and sweetness, which has been carefully educated, she is well 
 known in musical circles. 
 
 Colonel Lambert's military record is one of which his relatives and 
 friends should be justly proud. On July 15. 1888, he enlisted at Newton in 
 Company B. Third Iowa Volunteer Infantry, National (iuard. On March 9, 
 1889, lie was elected captain of his company, in which capacity he served 
 until April 30. 1892. when he was transferred to the Second Regiment and 
 elected major with the rank from that date; Later he was promoted to lieu- 
 tenant-colonel. January 11. 1897. being mustered out :\Iay 18. 1898. and on
 
 440 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 that date he was mustered into the vohinteer service with the rank of Heuten- 
 ant-colonel of the Fiftieth Iowa Rei^iment. and for meritorious service he was 
 promoted to colonel on Aus^ust 29. 1898. 1)ein<; mustered out as colonel on 
 Xovember ^:;oth following-, at Des Moines. On February 5, 1900, he enlisted 
 as a private in Company ].. i''iftieth Regiment. Iowa National Guard, of 
 which he was elected major on julv i^), 1900. He was advanced to the. rank 
 of lieutenant-colonel of the h'ifty- fourth (same as the Fiftieth) Regiment. 
 Mav 2. 1904. He was appointed quartermaster on the staff of Brig-Gen. J. 
 Rush Lincoln, commander of the First Brigade. Iowa National Guard. July 
 20. 1909. which i)osition he still holds. During the Spanish-American war 
 he was (juartered at Iackson\ile. Morida. having been assigned to duty with 
 the Second Di\ision of the Seventh Army Corps, under command of Gen. 
 Fitzhugh Lee. As a soldier he has acquitted himself most gallantly, and has 
 won the admiration of his men and the praise of his superior officers. 
 
 Colonel Lambert is a member of Newton Lodge No. 59, Ancient Free 
 and Accepted Masons; Gabal Chapter No. 12. Royal Arch Masons; Oriental 
 Conimandery No. 22, Knights Templar, and the Za-Ga-Zig Temple, Alystic 
 Shrine, at Des Moines. He is past eminent in the conimandery, and has passed 
 all the chairs in the same. He is also a member of Central Lodge No. 73. 
 Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Newton Encampment No. 16, and Can- 
 ton Chevalier Bayard No. 31. At the ])resent writing he is department com- 
 mander of Patriarchs Militant of Iowa, with rank of major-general. He is 
 also grand senior warden in the grand encampment of the Independent Odd 
 I'^ellows of Iowa. 
 
 Colonel Lambert has also been a member of Newton's volunteer fire de- 
 partment for t\\ ent\-se\en \ears. l)eing foreman of the company and chief 
 of the department a part of the time. At present he is vice-president of the 
 Iowa State Firemen's Association and chairman of the pension committee of 
 that association. He is also a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, 
 White Pine Camp No. 22, of Newton, of which he was clerk for ten years. 
 For some time he ser\'ed as a member of the city council of Newton, being a 
 member and chairman of the committee on streets and alleys. He has also 
 been a member of the Newton Business Men's Association ever since its 
 organization, and is its present secretar\'. 
 
 Mrs. Lambert is well known in church and social circles; she is a mem- 
 ber of Newton Chapter No. 100. Order of the Eastern Star, of which the 
 Colonel is past worthy patron. She is a member of Margaret Rebekah Lodge 
 No. 237. of Newton. She was formerly president of the Twentieth Century 
 Club of Newton. She is a steward in the Methodist church, of wliich all the 
 familv are members.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 441 
 
 GEORGE W. NEWTON. 
 
 Perhaps, for his age, no man in Jasper county has acconiphshed more 
 for the city of Newton than (George W. Newton, a man whose sterling char- 
 acteristics would bring him success in any walk of life, for nature seems to 
 have combined in him those attributes of head and heart which, when prop- 
 erly controlled and directed, as they have evidently been done in his case, 
 never fail of large results. Although young in years, Mr. Newton is widel\- 
 known as the head of one of the best and most rapidlv growing manufactur- 
 ing institutions in the city of Newton. 
 
 Mr. Newton is the scion of a sterling ancestry, his birth having occurred 
 on May 5, 1873, in Mt. Sterling, Illinois, and he is the son of \\'allace and 
 Laura J. (Shealds) Newton, both natives of Ohio and both now deceased. 
 The father was by occupation a carpenter, coming from a long line of me- 
 chanics and artisans. 
 
 George W. Newton is one of a family of three children, all living: Am- 
 brosia married Oliver Sparks, the present mayor of Galena, Kansas, and the 
 owner of the largest and best zinc mine in the country; Julia married Everett 
 W'ilkins, a farmer living near Fairview, Illinois; George \\'. is the eldest of the 
 three. 
 
 Mr. Newton began working for himself soon after the death of his 
 mother. Coming to Li\-ermore, Iowa, he took charge of a photograph gal- 
 lery for a short time. Later, in response to an advertisement asking for a 
 window trimmer, he came to Newton and entered the emplovment of the 
 Iowa ^Mercantile Company, ^vith which he remained one year, at the end of 
 W'hich time he entered the manufacturing business in a small way, turning 
 out ad\'ertising specialties. At first he formed a partnership and the firm 
 name was the Newton Manufacturing Company. This concern began, with 
 little capital, to manufacture a number of small wood, metal and card-board 
 specialties, in a little back room, but, having a good line and the tact to handle 
 it properly, they were successful almost from the very beginning, and from 
 time to time they were compelled to mo\e into larger quarters. On Januarv 
 I, 19 10, they incorporated for twenty-fi\-c thousand dollars and purchased 
 their own building. Since then they ha\e rented and now occupy another 
 large building near their own l)uilding. They are manufacturing the largest 
 and fastest selling advertising novelty in the United States, the Safety Maga- 
 zine Match Safe, which little article is the direct outcome of the inventive 
 genius of George W. Newton, of this review. He has also invented and
 
 ^2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 designed a number of special machines for its accurate and rapid manufac- 
 ture, in fact, it is to the pluck and energy of Mr. Newton that the company 
 owes much of its phenomenal success and its widespread popularity, for he is 
 bv nature an organizer and promoter and is able to foresee with remarkable 
 accuracy the future outcome of a present transaction, and he has made few 
 mistakes as a business man. 
 
 On June 20, 1902, Air. Newton was married to Anna Grace Van Wine- 
 garden, daughter of William and Jacob ^^'inegarden, natives of Holland, 
 from which country they came to America in early life, and here Mrs. New- 
 ton was born. She received a good education and is a lady of many hue per- 
 sonal qualities which makes her a favorite in the best social circles of her city. 
 She is a member of a family of nine children, all of whom live within twenty 
 miles of Newton ; they are, Jennie married Scott Byers, a farmer near Sully ; 
 Anna Grace, wife of Air. Newton; Airs. Aliller, wife of Fred AHller, a farmer 
 of this county; John is farming near Galesburg; Eva lives with her parents 
 near Sully; Carry married Walter Blackwood, a farmer near Newton; \\'alter, 
 Emma and Rudolph are living at home. 
 
 To Air. and Airs. Newton two children have been born. George Alaxwell 
 and Jacoba Lorene. 
 
 Both Mr. and Airs. Newton are members of the Alethodist Episcopal 
 church of Newton, and, fraternally, he belongs to the Yeomen. Politicallv. 
 he is a Republican. He is a man of the highest standing in the comnninitv. 
 ha\ing the confidence and respect of all classes. 
 
 ALBERT S. CHAPAIAN. 
 
 Jn the present review is recorded briefly the life history of one who was 
 a few years since a familiar figure in the city of Colfax, 'where he was a 
 prominent and respected business man. and took a full share of activity in the 
 affairs of the community. As a business man he was strictly honest, and 
 entirely cai)able, and his sagacity was admired bv his associates and acquaint- 
 ances. His success was marked and notalile, and was the result of his own 
 careful building. 
 
 Albert S. Chapman was born near Colum])us. b'ranklin countv, Ohio, the 
 son of John O. Chapman. John O. Chapman was born near Cape Alav. New 
 Jersey. Judge Stanberry, of the Ohio supreme court, was the grandfather of 
 Albert Stanberry Chapman. His mother died near Alaryville, Ohio, and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 443 
 
 Albert S. came to Mound Prairie precinct, Jasper county, Iowa, in 1865, 
 with his father, who bought a farm here and hved on it the rest of his days. 
 Albert S. lived on the farm, and was very successful in agriculture until 1881. 
 when he removed to Colfax and engaged in business, quickly winning for 
 himself a reputation as a man of enterprise and spirit. He continued in busi- 
 ness until his death, on November 2^ , 1894, at the age of fifty-three. He 
 served as a member of the school board in Colfax, and was always interested 
 in the improvement and development of the communit}". 
 
 Mr. Chapman was married in Mound Prairie precinct t(j Kate \'an Gil- 
 der, the daughter of Squire Abram and Sarah (Anderson) \'an Gilder. Abram 
 Van Gilder was born on July 9, 1813, in Hamilton county, Ohio, moved to 
 Indiana, later to Knox county. Illinois, to a farm seven miles east of Gales- 
 burg, and came to ]\Iound Prairie precinct in 1864. where he and his wife, 
 who was born in Adams county. Ohio, on June 16, 1821, spent the rest of 
 their lives. Abram \^an Gilder was influential in his community, and filled 
 the ofiices of justice of the peace, town clerk, and secretary of the school board. 
 ]\Ir. and Mrs. Chapman are the parents of the following children : Frank, of 
 Bisbee, Arizona, a builder: Ed, of Colfax; George, of Colfax, a real estate 
 agent; Harry, of Colfax; Mary Belle, who married Otis Wright, a banker of 
 Colfax, and who died in 1897, at the age of twenty-seven, leaving one child. 
 
 The Chapman family is one of the most respected in Colfax, and all 
 its members are filling positions of worth and usefulness. Thesons of Albert 
 S. Chapman ha\e ever present with them the memoiy of their father's ex- 
 cellent life as an inspiration and example. 
 
 HUGH SCOTT. 
 
 Herein is recorded the life of one of the representative men of Jasper 
 county, a capable and prominent farmer, who has a unique distinction in that 
 he reared to manhood and to a sense of duty five stalwart sons, who ofifered 
 their lives to their country and from each of whom she accepted the gift. Few 
 men have been called upon for such a sacrifice as this. 
 
 Hugh Scott was born on November 15. 1799, in Fleming county, Ken- 
 tuck}-, the son of Thomas and Hannah Reid Scott. Thomas Scott, who was 
 born on June i, 1766, was the son of Matthew and Elizabeth (Jackson) 
 Scott, and married Hannah Reid, the daughter of Hugh and Jemima (Car- 
 mon) Reid. on November 24, 1789. Jemima Carmon was the daughter of
 
 ^^ JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 lohn and Hannah Larmon, and was born on May 20. 1745. Hugh Scott's 
 brothers and sisters were : Robert Jackson Scott, who was a heutenant in the 
 war of 1812. Hved later in Ohio, and then in I'aris, Illinois; John Cannon 
 Scott, who served in the Ohio militia in the war of 181 2, and remained in 
 Ohio: Joseph Scott; Matthew Reid Scott, of Paris. Illinois; Sarah Scott 
 Fuller; Mary Trewit Scott Means, Asenath Scott Pownall. 
 
 Hugh Scott came to Jasper county in 1856. and located in Washington 
 township. He had resided for more than twenty years previously in \ igo 
 county, Indiana, near Terre Haute. \[r. Scott bought a farm of raw prairie, 
 and cultivated and improved it and made from it an excellent farm, becoming 
 known as one of the best farmers in the county. His success was entirely de- 
 served and was due to his ability and character. He died on September 16. 
 1882. aged eighty-three years lacking two months. 
 
 In 1827 Hugh Scott was married to Mar}- Lewis, who was born in Ken- 
 tucky in 181 1, and died on June 8, 1852. in Vigo county, Indiana. She bore 
 to him nine children, whose records follow ; 
 
 Charles T. Scott enlisted in the Union army in tlie Twenty-ninth Iowa 
 Infantry in 1862, and died in 1863 in the service of his countr}-. Hannah 
 Scott married George Linford, of Mound Prairie township. Jasper county, 
 and died in 1863. Henry Scott enlisted in 1861 in Company B, Fifth Iowa 
 Infantry, and died in the service in March, 1863. Albert Scott, of Vigo 
 count}-. Indiana, enlisted in the Eighteenth Indiana Batter\ of Light Artillery, 
 and died in Tennessee in 1863. Lewis Scott enlisted in t86i in the Eighth 
 Iowa Infantry, and died in the Keokuk (Iowa) hospital in 1862. Foster 
 Scott enlisted in 1863 in the Ninth Iowa Cavalry, and met his death on the 
 held at Du\-airs Bluff. Arkansas. Thus of the sons of Hugh Scott fixe ser\-ed 
 in the armies of the L'nion. and all of these five ga\-e their lives in the nation's 
 cause. 
 
 Asenath Scott married first Thomas Malcomson, of Washington town- 
 ship, who came to Jasper county in the fall of 1865. He served three years 
 in the Second Wisconsin Infantry. To this marriage were born two children, 
 Riley Malcomson, of Colfax, and Henry Malcomson, a builder, of Alinot, 
 North Dakota. Mrs. Malcomson married later G. O. Barnes, who came to 
 Jasper county in the eighties, and died in 1896, at the age of fifty-two. 
 
 Harriet Scott married George Linford after the death of her sister, 
 Hannah Scott. Harriet Scott died June 20. 191 1. Jacob Scott, a farmer of 
 Washington township, died on April i, 1886, at the age of thirty-six. 
 
 Hugh Scott took an active and prominent part in the affairs of his com-
 
 JASl'ER COUNTY, IOWA. 445 
 
 inuiiit}-. He was an old-time Whig, and later a Republican. He fiJled the 
 offices of township assessor and trustee, was a justice of the peace, and at one 
 time a member of the school board in I'rairie City. His character was strong 
 and his indi\idualit\- impressive. 
 
 \V. L. DEXXIS. 
 
 \\'illmer L. Dennis was born in Wapello county, Iowa, on December 17. 
 1857, about five miles south of the city of Ottumwa. His father, Benjamin H. 
 Dennis, was born in Ohio in 1830, and came west in 1852 and located first 
 in Lee county, Iowa, but one year later he removed to Wapello countv. and 
 here, on August 22,, 1854, he was united in marriage to Matilda Jackson, 
 daughter of Richard and Isabella (Baum) Jackson. '\lrs. Jackson was born 
 in Ohio in 1833, and removed with her parents to Wapello county, Iowa, when 
 quite young. In 1864 ^Ir. Dennis traded forty acres of land which he had 
 acquired in Wapello county for two hundred and forty acres in Jasper county, 
 and in March of the following year brought his family to Jasper county and 
 took possession of his farm, which was located in Buena \^ista township, near 
 Kilduff. Here he lived and prospered until the year 1878. when he built a 
 home in the city of N^ewton, Iowa, and retired from active labor. He de- 
 parted this life in January. 1900. He was a splendid man, public spirited and 
 very acti\e in church work, having united with the Methodist Episcopal church 
 in 1859. The mother of the subject departed this life in January, 1872, while 
 the family still lived on the farm. When the family first came to Jasper 
 countv all they owned in the way of stock was a team of horses, four head of 
 cattle and a few sheep Mr. Dennis was a good business man and a man of 
 good judgment, and by energetic eft'ort and good management he prospered 
 and became a hea\y stock feeder well known throughout the county. Of five 
 children born to this couple only three surxive : Willmer L., the subject of this 
 review ; C. Dean Dennis, whose sketch appears elsewhere in these pages : and 
 Minerva, wife of James Carey, of near Killduff, Iowa. 
 
 Willmer L. Dennis received his early educational training in the country 
 schools of the township in which he lived, and at the age of twenty began 
 working for himself upon his father's farm. In 1882 his father made over 
 to him eightv acres of land. Having had experience with feeding cattle and 
 buvino- and raisin"- same for the market, while with his father, he began in
 
 ^._|.6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 this lint? for liiniself and became one of the county's heaviest stock producers. 
 He also from time to time purchased land, until at this time he owns over 
 five iiundred acres, two hundred in Buena Vista township and three hundred 
 in Richland township. He also owns a section of land in Deaf Smith county, 
 Texas. 
 
 On Mav 20. 1880, W'illmer L. Dennis was iniited in marriage to Anna 
 M. Emmert. who was born in Bedford county. Pennsylvania, on September 
 II. 1861. She was the daughter of J. \\ and Dorothea Emmert. prosperous 
 fanners in the southeast portion of Buena A'ista township. Her parents were 
 natives of Germany, her father coming with his ])arents to this country when 
 onlv one vear old. the family locating in Pennsylvania. Pier mother, whose 
 maiden name was Dorothea Schwappach. came alone to this country at the 
 age of sixteen, and a few years later was joined by a sister, and these two 
 were the onlv members of the family to cross the ocean. When ]\Irs. Dennis 
 was a child three years old. her parents moved to Illinois, and hve years later 
 thev moved to Jasper county. Iowa, and purchased one hundred and sixty 
 acres of land in Buena Vista township, which is still the home of her mother, 
 her father dying at this place on April 12. 1895, ^^ the age of sixty-eight. Her 
 mother is now seventy-three. Mrs. Dennis was one of ten children, she being 
 the second in order of birth, the names of the others being as follows : George 
 A., born in i860, owns eighty acres of land adjoining the old home place, 
 and li\es with his mother and sister; Andrew, born in 1863, lives on a farm 
 near Kellogg, Iowa, married Eelia Drew; Sophia died in infancy; Ella, born 
 in 1867, lives at home,- unmarried ; William V.. born in 1868. was killed on 
 his twenty-eighth birthday by being kicked bv a horse; Caroline, born in 1870, 
 married Ed. Heli)er, who is deceased; Emma died of croup in infancy; 
 Philip and Frances, twins, born in 1875; Frances, who died in 1909. was the 
 wife of Ca.se Williamson; IMiilip lives on a farm in Palo Alto township. 
 
 To y\r. and Mrs. Willmer L. Dennis have been born se\en children, 
 namely: Benjamin, born August 9, i88t. died in 1882; Pdora May. born 
 August 30. 1883. died in 1910. She was the wife of Charles Earp, to whom 
 she bore two children, Leslie Lamont. deceased, and Nadine L. Earp ; Leroy. 
 born November 19. 1888. near Killduff. married Regina Van Gilst. and to 
 them has been born one child; Alvy. born Februarv 20. 1891. married Jennie 
 De Bruyn, and lives near Killduff; Wanda, born March 14, 1894, is still under 
 the parental roof, attending the Xewton high .school; W^illiam V., born Sep- 
 tember 29, 1896. lives at home with his parents; Cleora, born .\ugust 22, 1891. 
 
 In March. 19 10. Mr. Dennis and familv left the farm and ])urchased a 
 fine residence property in Xewton. Iowa, where they now reside, .\lthough
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 447 
 
 living away from the farm. ]\Ir. Dennis is not content to lead a life of ease and 
 quiet, but is still engaged in the stock business and looks after his farming 
 interests, going back and forth from his home to the farm in an automobile. 
 Both Mr. and ]\Irs. Dennis are members of the Methodist Episcopal church 
 in Xewton. Politically, he votes with the Republican part}-. 
 
 W. E. DEXXISTOX, 
 
 The name of Denniston has been for many years an honored and 
 respected one in Jasper county, and the gentleman of that name who is the 
 immediate subject of this sketch is richly deserving of the universal respect 
 and esteem which is accorded him by all with whom he is acquainted. For 
 many years he has l>een one of the leading lumbermen of Xewton; still in 
 the fullness of years, he is to be found at the helm of a large and growing 
 business. 
 
 A\'. E. Denniston. of the firm of Denniston & Partridge, was born in 
 Jasper county. October 28. 1868, on the parental homestead in Buena \'ista 
 township. He is the son of Robert E. and Delia (Hotchkiss)" Denniston, 
 the father a native of Ohio and the mother of Wisconsin. The elder Denni- 
 •ston came to Iowa in 1861 and settled in Buena \'ista township, and he has 
 resided in the county ever since, now living on a farm of sixty acres just 
 on the edge of X'ewton. He has long been well known in this community 
 and has lived to see and take part in the great development of the same. His 
 famil\- consisted of live children, two of whom are living, three having died 
 in infancy: besides the subject, the other living child is Mrs. Charles Emery. 
 who is li\ing on a farm near Metz. this county. 
 
 ^^^ E. Denniston spent his early life on the home farm where he assisted 
 with the general work about the place when of proper age. and he attended the 
 common schools during the winter months, his education in later years being 
 supplemented by good business training and wide home reading. He 
 remained unrler his parental rooftree until he was twenty-one years of age. 
 He learned the carpenter's trade, at which he worked two years in X^'ewton 
 after he had left the farm. He then worked in the lumber yards for Fred L. 
 IMavtag for two vears. and twelve years for Maytag & Emerson, then he 
 formed a partnership with Mr. Emerson under the firm name of Emerson & 
 Denniston. which continued three years. Upon the death of Mr. Emerson, 
 about two vears ago, the firm became Denniston & Partridge, a corporation.
 
 448 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA 
 
 oi which -Mr. Denniston is secretary aiul general manager. They have been 
 verv successful and ha\e now a large and rapidly growing business which 
 is wide in its scope, owning other yards besides the large one at Newton, 
 including one at Altoona and Mitchellville, both in Polk county, Reasoner. 
 Colfax and Baxter, in Jasper county. They handle a varied line of up-to- 
 date building material. lum])er and also grain. Their home shed is one 
 hundred twentv bv one hundred eighty feet, everything being conveniently 
 and attractivelv arranged. 
 
 On h>bruary 24, 1892. ISlv. Denniston was united in marriage with 
 Lizzie W^ilson. daughter of ^\'illiam and Mary Wilson, who came from Scott 
 county. Iowa, to this county. Air. Wilson having been born in the former. 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Denniston two children have been born. Roy. whose birth 
 occurred on February 20. 1892. and Homer, born August 5. 1895. 
 
 Mr. and !Mrs. Denniston attend the United Presbyterian church. Politi- 
 cally, he is a Republican and has taken an abiding interest in local affairs for 
 some time. In 1906 he was elected to the city council from the first ward 
 and has been on the board since then, making his influence felt for the good 
 of his citv and community whenever possible. He is a man of energy, rare 
 business foresight and he is a good mixer, being ahvays a gentleman and 
 yet easily approached and unassuming, a man who has the confidence and 
 good will of his fellowmen owing to his fair dealings and exemplary character. 
 
 PROF. E. J. H. BEARD. 
 
 The men most influential in promoting the advancement of society and 
 in giving character to the times in which they live are two classes — the men of 
 study and the men of action. Whether we are more indebted for the improve- 
 ment of the age to the one class or the other is a question of honest difference 
 of opinion ; neither can be spared and both should be encouraged to occupy 
 their several spheres of labor and influence zealously and without mutual dis- 
 trust. In the following paragraphs are briefly outlined the leading facts and 
 characteristics in the career of a gentleman who combines in his makeup the 
 elements of the scholar and the energy of the public-spirited man of affairs. 
 Devoted to the noble and humane work of teaching, Prof. E. J. H. Beard, the 
 efficient and po])ular superintendent of the Newton city schools, Jasper county, 
 Iowa, has made his influence felt in a most potent manner in the locality of 
 which this history treats, and he is not unknown to the wider educational
 
 ^c^. 
 
 -^
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 449 
 
 circles of the state, occupying as he does a prominent place in his profession 
 and standing high in the esteem of educators in other than his own particular 
 field of endeavor. All who come within range of his influence are profuse 
 in their praise of his admirable qualities and the high regard in which he 
 is held, not only professionally but socially, and as a gallant veteran of the 
 grand army that saved the national Union, indicates the possession of attri- 
 butes and characteristics that fully entitle him to the respect and consideration 
 of his fellow men. 
 
 Professor Beard, like many of our leading citizens, is a native of the 
 great Empire state, his birth having occurred at Jefferson, Schoharie county. 
 New York, February 23, 1842. He is the son of Ezra G. and Ruth G. (Gay- 
 lord) Beard, both natives of New York, in which state they grew up, were 
 educated and married and became well established and influential. The father 
 devoted his life to agricultural pursuits and he lived and died in his native 
 state. Professor Beard traces his genealogy back several centuries through 
 a long line of distinguished ancestry. The family has been notably con- 
 spicuous as soldiers, it being fully authenticated that members of the family 
 participated in the early Indian wars, the Revolutionary war, the war of 1812, 
 Civil and Spanish-American wars. In all the relations of life they have made 
 their influence felt wherever they have dispersed, being leaders in the public 
 and social life of their communities. 
 
 Professor Beard spent his early boyhood on the home farm and there, 
 in the free outdoor life and sylvan beauty, he laid the foundation for the de- 
 velopment of a sound body and a strong mind. He never attended the public 
 schools, but his early text-book training was received at Delaware Institute, 
 Franklin, New York. He then entered Hamilton College, at Clinton, New 
 York, and was making a brilliant record in that institution when the tocsin of 
 war sounded which lured him from the primrose paths of a student life to the 
 sanguinary "field of Mars,'' so he went to defend the flag with as much alacrity 
 as ever Roman youth .hastened to the legions of Titus or Caesar, enlisting in 
 the Fifty-first New York Volunteer Infantry, in which he served faithfully. 
 He participated in the trying Virginia campaigns in the latter part of 1864 
 and the early months of 1865, engaging in many of the hard fought battles 
 of the war. He was at Appomattox at Lee's surrender. The war over, he 
 was honorably discharged and returned home. In the spring of 1866 he 
 went to Colorado on government survey work and assisted in surveying the 
 ground south and east of Denver, also in the vicinity of Colorado Springs 
 and Pueblo. In the autumn of 1866 he went to Nebraska City, Nebraska, and 
 
 (29)
 
 4 so JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 taught school the following winter, then in 1867 he taught at Rockport, 
 Atchison county, Missouri. The following year he was elected surveyor of 
 that county, which position he held but a short time, however, having resigned 
 to become superintendent of the schools at Hamburg, Iowa, where he remained 
 for a period of fourteen years. From there he went to Maryville, Missouri, 
 as superintendent of schools, which position he held for a period of eight 
 years. In 1892 he came to Newlon, Iowa, as superintendent of schools and 
 here he has continued to reside, having thus been in charge of the schools 
 here for a period of twenty years. In this time he has l^rought the high school 
 of Xewton up to a standard of efficiency and equipment that ranks with any 
 high school in the state. He has taken great interest in his teachers, all of 
 whom are selected with especial reference to their ability to fill acceptably the 
 positions to which assigned. He encourages many of the high school gradu- 
 ates to enter the teacher's profession and to this end devotes considerable time 
 to pedagogic lectures and instruction on this important and far-reaching sub- 
 ject, which are greatly prized by those contemplating making the school-room 
 their chosen arena of endeavor. That the advantage of a liberal education 
 may be generally disseminated he has encouraged young people of the county 
 to attend high school by giving them every possible consideration. His great 
 force of character and ripe scholarship, together with his ability as an organ- 
 izer, has enabled Professor Beard to bring to his work in this city the results 
 of his professional experience with marked effect, and it was not long until 
 the schools under his supervision advanced to the high standard of efficiency 
 for which they are now noted. The teaching force during his incumbency 
 has been increased and the enrollment of pupils has constantly grown, while 
 many things tending to lessen the teacher's labors and at the same time make 
 them effective have been introduced ; the course of study throughout has been 
 modified and improved, the latest and most approved appliances installed and 
 everything in keeping with modern educational progress tested, and where 
 practical, retained. He has shown himself to be a man of progressive ideas, 
 broad-minded, and he has kept fully abreast of the times in all matters per- 
 taining to his profession. His work in every department of education is char- 
 acteristically practical and in teaching, in superintending and in devising and 
 modifying the course of study, he possesses to a remarkable degree the sense 
 of proportion and fitness. Continuous application through a period of forty- 
 five years has given him a clear and comprehensive insight into the philosophy 
 of education and the largest wisdom as to method and means of attainment of 
 ends, while his steady growth in public favor wherever he has labored and his 
 popularity with teachers and pupils have won for him educational standing 
 in several states in the Middle West.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 45 1 
 
 Although a school man in the broadest and best sense of the term, and 
 as such making every other consideration secondary to his professional and 
 official duties, Prof. Beard has never become narrow or pedantic, as have so 
 many whose lives have been spent in intimate association with the immature 
 minds within the four walls of the school-room. He is a well rounded, sym- 
 metrically developed man. fully alive to the demands of the times, thoroughly 
 informed on the leading questions before the puljlic and takes broad views of 
 men and things. He believes in progress in other than the profession to 
 which he belongs and to attain the end manifests an abiding interest in what- 
 ever makes for the material advancement of the community, encouraging all 
 worthy enterprises and lending his influence to means whereby his fellowmen 
 may be benefited and made better. A reader and thinker, he very naturally 
 gives considerable thought to politics, his studies and investigations along this 
 line leading him to espouse the Republican party. Fraternally, he holds mem- 
 bership with the Masons, in which he has attained the Knight Templar degree, 
 and the Knights of Pythias, and he belongs to Garrett Post, Grand Army of 
 the Republic. He and his family are members of the Congregational church. 
 
 In addition to the duties of the superintendency, Professor Beard is 
 deeply interested in educational matters throughout the state and from time 
 to time he has been honored with important official positions in various soci- 
 eties and associations which make for the good of the work and the advance- 
 ment of the teacher's profession. He is active and influential in the State 
 Teachers' Association, having been president of the same, discharging the 
 duties of that important position with an ability and fidelity that reflected 
 much credit upon himself and elicited the hearty approval of all concerned. 
 Besides taking an active part in the discussions and general deliberations of 
 the organization, advocating certain measures with masterly force and skill 
 and opposing whatever he deems dangerous to the progress of educational 
 thought, his influence has always been felt, while his suggestions have com- 
 manded respect and carried weight. As a lecturer on educational topics he 
 is an easy, forceful and not infrequently a truly eloquent speaker, his familiar- 
 ity with the subject under consideration, with his full command of strong, 
 vigorous English and his pleasing, direct style, making him popular with his 
 audiences and to no small degree a master of public assemblages. 
 
 The domestic life of Professor Beard began on November 30. 1868, 
 when he led to the hymeneal altar Lura Alexander, a lady of culture, talent 
 and refinement, the daughter of ]\Iajor Samuel P. Alexander and wife, a 
 prominent family of Beloit, Wisconsin, and this union has been graced by the 
 birth of four children, namely: Lura Vesta is one of the popular teachers of
 
 ^^2 JASPER COUNTY. 1()\V.\. 
 
 Newton, having been engaged with her father in high school work for the 
 l)ast twenty-three years ; Grace L. is the wife of J. B. Baumer, of Independ- 
 ence. Kansas ; Ezra G., who went to the Spanish-American war and died of 
 typhoid-malarial fever, was a bright, promising and finely educated young 
 man; Gertrude, the youngest child, is the possessor of rare musical talent and 
 she is engaged in teaching music in Newton. This family has long been 
 prominent in the social life of the city and county. 
 
 SIMEON HICKS GALUSHA. 
 
 Among Newton's prominent and most highly respected citizens is Simeon 
 Hicks Galusha. one of the earliest settlers of this locality and for a good many 
 years a prominent figure in its political and official affairs. His days of activ- 
 ity now over, he is leading a retired life as befits his years, having passed his 
 seventy-seventh milestone, but up until the last fifteen years there were few 
 men in all Jasper county whose lives were so full and varied as his, for he 
 has been a most conspicuous actor in the drama of civilization as played here 
 in this, one of the most favored sections of the great ^Middle West, having" 
 taken an active and influential part in its growth from the pioneer epoch to 
 tlie opulent present. 
 
 Mr. Galusha, like manv of the leading business men of this part of 
 Iowa, is a native of the old Empire state, his birth having occurred on April 
 14, 1834. in Cattaraugus county, New York. He is the son of David and 
 Marilla (Hicks) Galusha, both natives of VeiTnont, the father born near Ben- 
 nington and the mother near East Arlington. David Galusha, who devoted 
 his life principally to school teaching, was the son of Simeon Galusha and 
 wife, an early New England family. When Simeon H. Galusha was thirteen 
 years of age his parents moved from New York to Mt. Vernon, Ohio, and 
 there he received most of his schooling. When he was twenty-one years of 
 age he moved with his parents to Iowa, settling first at Marion, Linn county, 
 in 1855. He had previously learned the trades of l)rick mason and plasterer, 
 and he followed these lines most of his active life. About a year after he 
 came here he returned to Ohio, and after a short stav there came again to 
 Iowa, this time locating at Newton, where he has made his home continuouslv 
 to the present time, his life history and that of the town l)eing closely inter- 
 woven, rp to fifteen years ago hardly a brick Iniilding was erected that he 
 (lid not l)uil(l. wholly or in part: he helped erect the old Central school build-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 453 
 
 ing which has withstood the storms of over half a century. He is one of the 
 two men now surviving who assisted in building the court house in Xewton. 
 erected in 1858, and which lias but recentl}- been replaced by the stone Iniild- 
 ing which now occupies its site; in fact, the major part of the t(jwn of Xewton 
 stands as a monument to his skill as a builder. 
 
 In the month of April, 1858, Mr. Galusha was united in marriage with 
 Harriett Newell, daughter of Samuel Fleming and Julia A. (Fugard) Newell, 
 the former a native of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, and the mother of New 
 Hampshire. ]\Ir. Newell was a carpenter by trade. He came to Newton. 
 Iowa, from Mt. \>rnon, Ohio, in 1855, ^^^ here he became well known, was 
 regarded as a very fine workman and was highly respected, and here his death 
 occurred at the age of seventy-six years, his wife ha\ing died when forty- 
 three years old. Airs. Galusha was born in Ohio on December 15, 1839, she 
 being the eldest of a family of five children; the others'are Jackson F., who 
 was killed in one of the principal battles during the siege of Vicksburg. in 
 Company C, Twenty-second Iowa Volunteer Infantry; Adaline. now deceased, 
 married Henry AIcFarland; Margaret E. wife of John M. Steele, lives at 
 Olympia, Washington ; Elsworth L. owns and operates a ranch near Stock- 
 ton. California. 
 
 Air. Galusha. of this review, was one of a family of seven children, 
 namely : Julius died in Wisconsin ; Ruben died at St. Paul, Minnesota ; 
 David Henry died, it is presumed, during a yellow fever epidemic in the South, 
 having been a soldier in the Third Wisconsin A'olunteer Infantry during the 
 Civil war. at least he was never heard from after that: Delia. Lydia and Julia 
 are all deceased. The father of these children died at the age of eighty-four 
 years, the mother reaching the age of ninety-one years, and Grandfather Hicks 
 lived to be one hundred years old. 
 
 Air. and Airs. Galusha nre the parents of six children, namely: Samuel 
 Henrv is living at Wichita, Kansas : he was formerly treasurer of Jasper 
 countv. Iowa; Edward died in infancy: Julius AI., who is now living in Des 
 Moines. Iowa, was formerly department treasurer of Jasper county, and he 
 is now manager of the Western Newspaper Union; David Murray, who lives 
 at Alemphis. Tennessee, is connected with the Western Newspaper Union : 
 Reuben G. who is deceased. A\as associated with the \\'estern' Newspaper 
 Union and A. N. Kellogg Newspaper Company at Chicago, Omaha and 
 Wichita, as manager, and was a brilliant and forceful young man: Ned L.. a 
 brick mason and plasterer at Newton. 
 
 Simeon H. Galusha was a member of the Home Guards during the war 
 nf the Rebellion. He was at one time department auditor of the county and
 
 _^-_| JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 he was township clerk for many years. He was elected on the Republican 
 ticket and served two terms as treasurer of- Jasper county. He and his wife 
 belong to the Congregational church of Newton, she having been a member 
 since the age of nineteen. 
 
 Air. Galusha was employed as bookkeeper in Morgan's store at Xewton 
 for se\eral years. He is the owner of tw^o valuable and desirable properties 
 in Xewton. Fraternally, he belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
 lows and has attained the Knights Templar degree in Masonry ; all his sons 
 except Ned are ]\Iasons. The subject spent a few years in Los Angeles, Cali- 
 fornia, for his health. 
 
 NELLIE SLAGHT, D. O. and M. D. 
 
 This alert, capable and energetic \\oman is a splendid example of what 
 courage, coupled with ability, may accomplish. Although a woman, she has 
 entered a held of human effort commonly given over to men, and, while not 
 sacrificing one jot of the feminine daintiness which is hers, she has been very 
 successful in her chosen profession, that of a physician of the osteopath school. 
 
 Nellie Slaght was born September 3, 1872, in Tiffin, Iowa, the daughter 
 of Charles Parker and Philena (Higgins) Slaght. Her mother was born 
 July 29, 1840, at Mount Vernon, Ohio, and her father was a native of New- 
 Jersey, born in Morris county, that state, March 25, 1835. He was the fifth 
 child born in a family of six children to Jeremiah Slaght (born 1798, in New^ 
 Jersey). Se\eral years after his marriage, Jeremiah Slaght took his family 
 and moved to the state of Ohio ; here he followed agricultural pursuits for a 
 numl)er of years and in 1853 he removed to Iowa and settled on a farm near 
 Iowa City. At this time Charles Parker, father of the subject, was a young 
 man of eighteen years, and came with his father's family to Iowa. He learned 
 the stonemason's trade in an early day and worked at this trade and also 
 farming throughout his life. He was a man of good parts and great public 
 spirit. He invented a hay rake and loader, known as the "Clean-sweep Hay- 
 rake and Loader," now manufactured by the Sandwich Manufacturing Com- 
 pany of Illinois. This invention has been exhibited at the world's fairs held 
 in Chicago, Paris, Buffalo, etc., and is sold and shipped to Australia, South 
 America, and, in fact, to all parts of the world. He was also a soldier in the 
 Civil war, serving with distinction throughout the struggle. 1)eing a meniljcr 
 of the Twenty-seventh Iowa Regiment. He was always prominent and active 
 in j)oHtics. being identified with the interests of the I'JeiJublican party: was a
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 455 
 
 member of the Grand Army of the Repubhc, and was also prominent in church 
 work, and in all affairs for the benefit of the public. He was a class leader 
 and of^cer in the Methodist Episcopal church in TifBn for a great many years. 
 In 1881 he moved to Iowa City and here his death occurred in 1890, from in- 
 juries received from falling from a roof of a barn. He was twice married, his 
 first marriage occurring October 8. 1857, when he was united to Rachel A. 
 Chamberlin. To this union there were three children born, namely : Mar- 
 garet, Mary and George, none of whom are now living, and only one of 
 whom, Margaret, grew to maturity. She died at the age of thirty, unmarried, 
 and his first wife died June 20, 1864, ^ii^^ iJii September 13, 1866, he was 
 united in marriage to Philena Higgins, mother of the subject, as stated above. 
 She was a daughter of Jesse and Sophronia (Van W'ormer) Higgins. To 
 this second marriage were born three children, namely : Sophronia Celia, 
 born September 3, 1867, died at the age of twenty-six; Agnes, born in iVugust, 
 1869, died at the age of four; and Xellie, the subject of this review. The 
 mother died May 10, 1903, at Monroe, Iowa, where she was living with the 
 subject, leaving her the only Ii\ing member of her family. Her father's peo- 
 ple were all long-lived people. The family is of German descent. Two of her 
 aunts, on the father's side, Lucinda Wolf Drake and Xancy Doty, are still 
 living, aged respectively eighty-eight and eighty-two. Mrs. Drake lives in 
 Newton, Iowa, Mrs. Doty at Sparta, Ohio. 
 
 Nellie Slaght graduated from the high school at Iowa City, after which she 
 taught two terms of school in Johnson county, and one term in the schools 
 of Washington county, this state. She then took up the study of osteopathy, 
 and entered the S. S. Still College of Osteopathy in Des Moines, Iowa, from 
 wliich institution she was graduated in June, 1901. Slie then moved with her 
 mother to Monroe, where she began the practice of osteopathy. About a year 
 later she gave up her practice in Monroe and went to Chicago and taught 
 there in the Chicago School of Osteopathy in the winter of 1902-3. She also 
 took up the study of homeopathy, from which branch of medicine she was 
 graduated in April, 1904. After her graduation she entered St. Hedwig's 
 Hospital in Chicago as interne and served there during the winter of 1904-5. 
 The following July she came to Newton and opened an office for the practice 
 of osteopathy. Success crowned her efforts, and during the years she has been 
 in Newton she has built up a large and lucrative practice and is recognized as 
 one of its leading and prominent physicians. 
 
 She is an active member of the state and district osteopathic associations 
 and is eligible to meml)ership in the National Osteopathic Association. She 
 is a zealous member and actixe worker in the United Pres])vterian church.
 
 _|.56 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 GEORGE C. HART. 
 
 In studving the interesting life histories of many of the better class of 
 men, and the ones of unquestioned merit and honor, it will be found that they 
 have been compelled, very largel}'. to map out their own career and furnish 
 their own motive force in scaling the heights of success, and it is such a one 
 that the biographer writes of in these paragraphs. 
 
 George C. Hart, a jjrominent citizen of Newton. Jasper county, is the 
 son of Cyrus \\'. and Agnes M. ( Duff ) Hart, the former a native of Ohio 
 and the latter of Pennsylvania. The paternal grandfather was also named 
 Cvrus ; the latter married Susan Ewing. who emigrated from Ireland with her 
 parents when three years of age and they located near Pittsburg, Pennsyl- 
 vania. The grandfather was born in Vermont and after his marriage lived 
 in Ohio and reared a family of seven children. He was quite a talented man, 
 being a musician and an author of note in that locality. Those of the children 
 who came West were Theodore Plart, a former physician of Galesl)urg. this 
 county, and also of Xewton, now deceased. Harriet Denniston, whose hus- 
 band mysteriously disappeared while on a trip to Philadelphia with a load of 
 horses; George Denniston, of Xewton, is their son. Susan was the wife of 
 \A''ilson Tompson, now deceased; he was a farmer in Buena A'^ista township; 
 James Hart was also a farmer in that township; Cyrus, father of the subject, 
 and Lucy, who married James Irwin, were twins; she is deceased. Air. Irwin 
 was a farmer in Buena Vista township and hardware merchant in Xewton. 
 
 Cyrus Hart, the father, was born in 1833. and his wife, who was the 
 daughter of a farmer, was born in 183^). The}- emigrated to Iowa in the 
 pioneer days, descending the Ohio river, and thence up the ^Mississippi ri\er 
 to Keokuk, then hauled their goods overland with ox teams to Mahaska 
 county, where they purchased one hundred and sixtv acres of land. X'^ot 
 having been used to a prairie country they found the winters uncomfortably 
 severe, and the following spring sold their place and mo\ed to Jasper county 
 and bought two hundred and forty acres in the timber, in Buena Arista town- 
 ship. There was a stone quarry upon the place wln'cli proved to l)e a lucrative 
 source of revenue. Some of the stone which entered into the construction of 
 the old Jas])er county court house was taken from this quarry. In 1866 Mr. 
 Hart traded this place for one hundred :>nd sixty acres in section 29, Buena 
 \^i.sta township: later he added to this until he owned four hundred and 
 seventy-eight acres, which he retained until 1892, when he retired and moved 
 to Xewton. having laid by a competency and become one of the substantial 
 men of his communitv, but he was not eniraeed in farminij- all that time. He
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 457 
 
 owned a house and lot where the present opera house now stands, and he was 
 at one time engaged in the shipping ])usiness. He was the first citizen of 
 Jasper county to start a dairy and creamery ; however, there was one here be- 
 fore his, but it was operated by outside capital. While on his farm he was a 
 heavy stock shipper and before the railroad was put through he was compelled 
 to drive his stock to Kellogg for shipping. Mr. Hart died in Newton in 1907, 
 honored and respected by all; one of the county's early settlers, he was one of 
 its successful and progressive as well as influential business men. public 
 spirited and active in the advance movements of his day and generation. It is 
 a singular coincidence that his death and that of all the other deceased mem- 
 bers of the Hart family occurred in February. The family of Cyrus Hart 
 consisted of six children, namely: John died in infancy; Emma, who married 
 Dr. I. H. ]^loore. of Monroe, now lives at Seattle, Washington ; until recent 
 years he was superintendent of the Treadwell mine in Alaska; Madge mar- 
 ried Jesse McClintock, and they live in Missouri ; Charles is engaged in the 
 mercantile business at Blackfoot. Idaho; Fanny, who married Milt Carrier, 
 lives in Xewton. Iowa: and George C, of this review. The mother of these 
 children was called to her rest in February. 1904. 
 
 George C. Hart, the third child in order of birth in his father's familv, 
 was born in Jasper county, October 6, 1858. He received a good education 
 and when twenty-one years of age he bought eighty acres of land from his 
 father, and that year the father started in the creamery business and he 
 induced his son to remain and manage the same for him. and in order to fully 
 equip himself for this line of endeavor he went to a college where dairying 
 is taught and took a course in the same, then returned and took charge of the 
 business, which, under his able management, rapidly grew to large proportions 
 and was a \erv paying enterprise. Four years later lie operated a dairy at 
 Lynnville; later he rented his father's place and successfully operated the farm 
 for six vears. At the end of that time he bought one hundred and twenty 
 acres in Palo Alto township, in section 13. Eight years later he sold this and 
 for two vears he engaged in the stock and meat market business in Xewton. 
 He then bought land in South Dakota, also one hundred and sixty acres in 
 Buena Msta township, about a mile from his birthplace. In all these business 
 ventures he was successful. 
 
 On Februarv 18. 1885, Mr. Hart was united in marriage with Alma 
 Eaton, who was born November 14, 1858. the daughter of Fred and Carrie 
 (Hodges) Eaton, the father a native of Ohio and the mother was born in 
 the state of New York. Mr. Eaton came to Jasper county, Iowa, many year; 
 ago and is todav one of the county's prominent citizens: he was elected county
 
 _^-S JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 recoixler for two terms. He and his wife live in Newton. Twelve children 
 were born to them, namely : Frank died when thirteen years old ; \\'illiam is 
 fanning in Newton township; Carrie married Gus Ericson and lives at Red 
 Oak. Iowa: Arthur lives in Newton; Truman makes his residence in Kellogg 
 township; Harry lives at Shenandoah, Page county; Horace is deceased; 
 Fred, jr., lives in California; Sherman is deceased; Addie married Alton 
 Reynolds and lives in Denver, Colorado ; Anna Belle is deceased. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. George C. Hart three children have been born: Grace, 
 born Februarv 14. 1886, married Dr. \\'illiam Nelson, a dentist at Essex. 
 Page county; Mabel, born ]\Iay 13. 1888, married Dr. H. D. Bergman, mem- 
 ber of the faculty of Ames College, Ames, Iowa ; C. Fred, born January 29, 
 1896. also lives at home. ]\Ir. and Mrs. Hart are the fond grandparents of 
 one little baby girl, Marjorie, born May 20, 1909, the daughter of Mr. and 
 Mrs. Nelson. Mrs. Hart's grandfather Hodges was in the Revolutionary war. 
 
 George C. Hart has long been prominent in political affairs, and in 1900 
 he was elected county supervisor, and has since been re-elected. He is the 
 inventor of a combination street fountain for the watering of both man and 
 beast, that has many unique features which bids fair to become very popular. 
 Mr. Hart is the owner of good city property and his home is an attractive and 
 commodious one. 
 
 Fraternally, Mr. Hart is a member of Modern Woodmen Camp No. 182 
 at Newton. He and his wife belong to the Alethodist Episcopal church of 
 this city and are liberal supporters of the same. 
 
 CHARLES C. McCONKEY. 
 
 To the strong, defeats are but mile-stones on the highway tit Aictory. 
 This truth seems to have been borne out by Charles C. McConkey, one of 
 Jasper county's progressive citizens and an honored representative of one of 
 her old i)ioneer families, members of which have done a great deal in various 
 ways in contributing to the general development of this favored section of the 
 great Hawkeye state. Mr. McConkey has never permitted obstacles to d<»\\n 
 him or turn him aside when once he has determined upon a legitimate course 
 of action, and therefore he has succeeded in his life work. 
 
 Mr. McConkey was born May 18, 1872, in this county, and he is the son 
 of Cobane and Sarah J. (Read) McConkey, early settlers of Jasper county. 
 The paternal grandfather was Samuel McConkey. Cobane :\IcConkey was a
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 459 
 
 native of Ohio, born near Hopedale, Harrison county. When a young man 
 be went to Virginia and was married there, by Alexander Campbell, the 
 founder of the Campbellite church at Bethany. 
 
 Cobane McConkey devoted his life to farming and in 1853 he brought 
 his young wife to Scott county, Iowa, where they engaged in farming two 
 years. He then moved to Jasper county and bought one hundred and twenty 
 acres of good land in Newton township, which he retained up to the time of 
 his death, having improved it into a splendid farm. He spent his last vears in 
 retirement in Newton and died there in 1896 at the age of seventy-four vears. 
 He was a good man and had the respect of all who knew him. His widow 
 survives, making her home with her daughter, Mrs. Sumner E. Gates, just 
 north of the city of Newton. 
 
 The son. Charles C. was one of ten children, two of whom died in in- 
 fancy : the others are ]\Iargaret I. Gates, widow of Sumner E. Gates, a prom- 
 inent Jasper county citizen, his death haxing occurred in 1900; their sketch 
 appears elsewhere in this work. Jane McConkey, who became the wife of 
 Frank Graham, is now deceased ; Alice married John Alunn, of Newton town- 
 ship; Edward died when seventeen years old; Mary died at the age of nine- 
 teen ; Lillie married Bert Beatty, of Newton township ; William remained sin- 
 gle and died when twenty-nine years old. 
 
 Charles C. A'IcConkev attended the common schools, also Hazel Dell 
 Academy two years. He began life for himself when about sixteen years of 
 age, doing various things whereby he could earn honest money, but most of 
 his labors were confined to the farm. He learned the carpenter's trade when a 
 young man, which he has followed practically ever since. 
 
 On June 28. 1893, Mr. McConkey was united in marriage with Alice 
 Stuver, who was born in Iowa in October, 1874, the daughter of Joseph and 
 Sarah (Palmer) Thomas. \\'hen but a small child she was legally adopted 
 bv Aaron and Josephine Stuver, who had no children of their own. She has 
 two sisters living, Mrs. Sarah Davis and Mrs. Zoa King, both in Colorado. 
 When but a girl of sixteen she taught scliool two years, being .married at the 
 age of eighteen. Not long after they were married Mr. and Mrs. ]\IcConkey 
 moved to Brule county. South Dakota, where they purchased a quarter sec- 
 tion of land, which they disposed of a few years later and returned to Jasper 
 countv, locating on the old home place, which Mr. McConkey farmed for two 
 years, then moved to the city of Newton and followed the carpenter's trade 
 until the desire for a change again seized him; thus three years later he 
 moved his familv to Chickasha. Grady county, Oklahoma; but he returned to 
 lasper countv in 1909, since which time he has been following his trade, being
 
 _j.6o JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 \ery successful as a contractor and builder. He is regarded as a high grade 
 workman and his contract jobs are always turned out quickly and well done. 
 
 yir. and Mrs. McConkey are the parents of four children, namely : 
 Charles Harold, born in .\ugust, 1905; Bertram, born in 1897, *^1'^<^ i" i'"*" 
 fancv ; Edward, born in May, 1902: Margaret, born in Alay. 1909. 
 
 Mr. McConkev has been very successful in a business way and he is now 
 the owner of three hundred acres of valuable land in Kaddo county. Okla- 
 homa. Fraternallv. he belongs to the Alasonic lodge in Xewton. and he is 
 also a member of the Ancient Order of United \\'orkmen, in Brule county. 
 South Dakota, and of the Relief Association of Oklahoma, Xo. 59. He and 
 his wife are members of the Congregational church. 
 
 ANDREW J. BROKAW. 
 
 Abram Brokaw, the grandfather of the subject, was born in New Jersey 
 in 1773, the son of Caleb Brokaw, who was a lieutenant in the war of the 
 Revolution, and a brother of Caleb, named Isaac, served as private in the 
 Revolutionary war. Abram Brokaw was married to Mariah Stryker. a native 
 of New Jersey, in the year 1791, and to them were born fifteen children. In 
 the year 1822 the family removed from Xew Jersey to Ohio and settled in 
 Jefferson county, that state, and there Abram Brokaw departed this life in the 
 year 1826. 
 
 John A. Brokaw. the father of Andrew J., was the se\enth child born 
 to Abram and ]\lariah Brokaw, and was Ijorn July 4, 1804. At the age of 
 seventeen he learned the shoemaker's trade and began working for himself. 
 When the family moved to Ohio, he went with them, but eighteen months 
 later he went back to X^ew Jersey. A year later he returned again to Ohio 
 and remained there until after the death of his father, when he took his mother 
 and went back to New Jersey. Upon tliis trip he married Caroline Bush, a 
 native of Xew Jersey, having been born in that state on June 20, 1809. In 
 183 1 John Brokaw took his wife and family, consisting at that time of two 
 children, and again removed to Jefferson county, Ohio, but one year later he 
 moved to Knox county, in the same state, and there he remained, working 
 at his trade and farming until his death, which occurred on January 17, 1893. 
 at the \enerable age of eighty-nine. At the time he arrived in Knox county, 
 his entire worldly possessions consisted of one horse and a wagon and three 
 dollars and twelve and one-half cents in monev. B\ inchistrv and thrift he
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 461 
 
 acquired quite a handsome campetence. His wife, Caroline Brokaw. the mother 
 of Andrew J., died at Mt. Liberty, Knox county, Ohio, in 1878. This couple 
 were the parents of thirteen children, as follows: Sarah, Ixtrn in 1829, died 
 in 1852, was the wife of Henry Slack; Maria was the wife of Peter Sprack- 
 len, born February 21. 1831, died 1855; Effa, born Februarys 26, 1833. mar- 
 ried George Barr in 1853, and is now living at Manilla, Crawford county, 
 Iowa, her husband being deceased ; Elizabeth, wife of D. L. Brackenridge, 
 was born in November, 1834, and died in Tama county, Iowa, December 2t,, 
 1872; a daughter, born January 25, 1837, died in infancy; Phoebe A., born 
 June 17, 1838, married Frank Lambert in 1859, and lives in Manilla, Craw- 
 ford county, Iowa; Caroline, born January 27, 1842. married John Bird. Sep- 
 tember 7, 1865. and lives at Mt. Vernon. Knox county, Ohio; Mary L.. lx>rn 
 in February, 1843. niarried Smith Gearhart in 1865, and lives at Mt. Liberty, 
 Knox county, Ohio ; Andrew J., the subject of this review, born June 6, 1845 ; 
 William B., born August 8. 1847, lives in Richland county, Ohio; Abraham 
 G.. born February 4. 1850. lives in Manilla, Crawford county, Iowa; John B.. 
 born July 25, 1852, lives at Hollywood, California, has a real estate Ijusiness 
 in Los Angeles, that state; Marcus, born July 8. 1855, died in infancy. 
 
 Andrew J. Brokaw, who was the ninth child born to John and Caroline 
 Brokaw. received his early educational training mainly in the country schools in 
 Knox count}', Ohio. .\t the age of twenty-two he started out to work for 
 himself, and a few years later. 1870. he came to Jasper county, Iowa, and 
 worked as a farm hand around at different places, making his home the 
 m.eanwhile with a sister. Phoebe Lambert, at that time living on a farm in 
 Xewton township, this county. For a little over four years he continued 
 working thus, at which time he was united in marriage with Mrs. Elizabeth 
 Bishop, who was the widow of Miles S. Bishop and the daughter of Marcus 
 A. and Lydia (Nichols) ^Morton, her father being a native of Massachusetts, 
 born at Middlebury. that state, and her mother a native of Vermont. lx)rn 
 at Well ford, that state. The family came from Massachusetts in the year 
 1832 to Licking county, Ohio, and settled on a farm not far from Gran\ille. 
 that state. Here they lived until the year 1848. when they removed to Wood 
 county, in the same state, where they engaged in agricultural pursuits until 
 the death of the husband and father, which occurred on December 18. 1855, 
 The next vear. the family, consisting of the mother and children, came to 
 Iowa, and purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land just north of 
 Newton, in Newton township, in the neighborhood of Farmer College. 
 Here the mother departed this life on October 14, i860. There were ten
 
 _|(i2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 children in this family, as follows: George, born November 7. 1830. lives 
 in Wood county, Ohio; A\'illiam W., born ^lay 22, 1832, died May 19, 1901, 
 at Newton, leaving a family of three children. He owned a feed yard, the 
 first one of its kind established in Newton, where Simpson's feed yard is 
 now located; Hiram M., born January 8, 1834, died at Winterset, Iowa, in 
 1873. leaving four children; Sarah, wife of George Bacon, was born Decem- 
 ber 18, 1836, lives at Horton, Kansas; Elizabeth, wife of Andrew J. Brokaw. 
 was born November i, 1838; Silas \\'.. born April 21, 1840, died in 1906 
 at Council Bluffs. Iowa, leaving two children; Elias A died in infancy; Lydia 
 E., born December 9. 1844, married James Trussel, and died in 1865, leaving 
 five children; Julia, born September 14. 1846, wife of Thomas Helphrey, 
 lives in Chicago; Mattie, wife of Jolin B. Johnson, was l)orn April 22, 1848, 
 died at -Council Bluffs, Iowa, March 12, 1880, leaving three children. 
 
 At the time the Morton family came to and located at Farmer College 
 the country was very sparsely settled, there being only three houses Ijetween 
 their place and the village of Newton. In 1859 Elizabeth Morton married 
 Miles L. Bishop, a young farmer, who died in 1870. leaving her with five 
 small children, namely: Eva, born November 12, i860, is the wife of John 
 Mclllece, and lives in Webster county, Nebraska, where they own a farm 
 of three hundred and twenty acres; George ]\I. and Charlie, twins, born June 
 5. 1862. George Hves in Scott county. Iowa, and Charlie lives at Baxter, 
 Iowa, where he is engaged in business. He also owns land in North Dakota ; 
 Hattie L., born June 7, 1864, married Frank Truman, lives at Lemoyne, \Vood 
 county, Ohio; Delbert E.. born July 20, 1866. lives in Des Moines, Iowa. 
 On February 2, 1875, Mrs. Bishop married Andrew J. Brokaw, and to them 
 were born three children, namely: Mina, born March 7, 1877, married 
 Charles Earl in 1899, lives in Rock Island, Illinois; J. A., born December 8, 
 1880, married Ethel Taylor December 9. 1907. lives at Newton, Iowa, and 
 a boy who died in infancy. 
 
 In 1901 Mr. and ]Mrs. Brokaw sold the home farm, where she had 
 lived since a girl for over forty years, and purchased property in Newton. 
 Their home is located in the southeast part of the city, where they have 
 three acres of land. They also own a small tract of timber land in Kellogg 
 township. Mr. Brokaw retired from active life when he left the farm in 
 1901. His family is of French extraction, while Mrs. Brokaw is of Scotch 
 descent on her mother's side and English on her father's. She is a member 
 of the Methodist Episcopal church in Newton, active and zealous in all the 
 branches of that institution.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 463 
 
 W. M. GUESSFORD. 
 
 The methods of \V. M. Guessford, well known real estate and insurance 
 man of Newton, who for many years was a leading farmer of Jasper county, 
 have always been progressive, and he is quick to adopt new ideas wiiich he 
 believes will be of practical value in his work. Indolence and idleness have 
 been entirely foreign to his nature and owing to his close application to his 
 business and his honorable methods he has won the prosperity that he richly 
 merited, while he enjoys the friendship and esteem of the people throughout 
 the county. 
 
 Mr. Guessford was born in Adair county, Kentucky, November 20. 1848. 
 He is the son of \\'illiam D. and Emily J. (Smith) Guessford, both natives 
 of Kentucky. The father emigrated to ^lissouri in 1850, coming on to 
 Iowa in 1856, locating four miles south of Newton where he remained until 
 seventeen years ago, when he moved to Newton and died here in October, 
 1906. He devoted his life to farming and his efforts were crowned with 
 abundant success. He was a good citizen, but plain and retiring, seeking 
 no public honors. The mother of the subject passed away when he was but 
 seven years old. in 1855. preceding her husband to the grave over half a cen- 
 tury. They were the parents of six children, four of whom are living, namely : 
 Mrs. Louise Booyer, of Viola, Illinois: Mrs. Anngemona Springer, of Har- 
 lan, Iowa: D. ]M., of Sumner, Nebraska; and W. M. of this review. The 
 father of these children married a second time, his last wife being Lucy 
 Evart, a native of New Jersey, this union resulting in the birth of five chil- 
 dren, four of whom are living, namely: Joshua and Leander, both of New- 
 ton : George lives southeast of Newton ; and Ida lives in Newton. 
 
 W. M. Guessford grew to maturity on his father's fann and assisted in 
 the general work about the place. He received a ^ery good education in 
 the public schools, and he has made farming his chief life work, following 
 the same with unabated success for a period of thirty-five years in Jasper 
 county, having maintained a very desirable, productive and well im.proved 
 place ten miles southeast of Newton. Seven years ago he gave up farming 
 and moved to Newton where he has since engaged in real estate and the 
 insurance business with singular success, having succeeded in building up a 
 very satisfactory patronage. He is well infonned on the various grades and 
 range in prices of real estate in this locality and his scrupulous honesty in all 
 his dealings with his fellow men has given him an excellent standing in the 
 business world, so that he has both the good will and the confidence of all 
 who know him.
 
 464 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Guessford is the owner of two valuable farms, one of eighty acres 
 a mile south of Xewton, and one of one hundred sixty-se\en and a half acres 
 near Colfax. 
 
 On September 29, 1869, he married Catherine I. Blakely, a native of Ohio. 
 She was the daughter of Z. A\'. and Elizabeth Blakely, who came to Jasper 
 county, Iowa, in 1866. 
 
 The following children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Guessford : 
 Cora; Edward lives east of Xewton; Mrs. Lucretia Donald lives in Wayne 
 county, Iowa, near Corydon ; Elmer lives near Cambria, Wayne county, 
 Iowa ; Tames R. is associated with his father and is also in the auction busi- 
 ness; Earl C. is employed in the First National Bank of Xewton. Mr. and 
 Mrs. Guessford are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, Mr. Guessford 
 being a teacher in the Sunday school; their children also belong to this church. 
 Mr. Guessford is an enthusiastic worker in the church and Sunday school 
 and has held every official position in the church. Fraternally, he belongs 
 to the ^^'oodmen of the World. 
 
 HON. ELI E. DOTSON. 
 
 Herein is recorded the life history of a man who has been long, actively 
 and prominently concerned in the affairs of Colfax and vicinity, one who dur- 
 ing his life has been a practical and progressive teacher, an able and successful 
 farmer, an efficient servant of the people in his state's legislative halls, and is 
 now a prominent banker and business man of Colfax, a man whom the people 
 trust implicitly, because they have seen him tried in so many situations in life 
 — Hon. Eli E. Dotson. 
 
 Eli E. Dotson was born in Edgar county, Illinois, on February 20, 1847, 
 and was brought to Jasper county, Iowa, in June, 1848, by his parents. He is 
 the son of Charles A. Dotson, whose sketch see in this w^ork. He was reared 
 on the home farm, two and one-half miles north of Colfax, and attended the 
 common schools. Then, showing a fondness for books and education be- 
 yond that of most farm boys, he attended Grinnell College. For several terms 
 he taught school in Jasper county, and for a time in Colfax, and in this capac- 
 ity became well known, and because of his forceful personality and mastery 
 of his profession he exerted a strong influence for good on the pupils who 
 came under his instruction. He became the owner of a large tract of land 
 west of Colfax in Washington township, and resided on the farm from 1876 
 to 1897, during which time he prospered. In 1897 he moved to Colfax and
 
 O^'-'A^^ 
 
 "Y^-^-i-^ 
 
 ^d-t\jl
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 465 
 
 now resides there, 1)iit still manages his farm of five hundred acres personally, 
 with the same capability which he exercised when he lived upon it. At the 
 organization of the First National Bank of Colfax Mr. Dotson became vice- 
 president and later cashier, and his ability has had much to do wnth the prog- 
 ress and prosperity of that institution, one of the soundest of Jasper county's 
 banking establishments. 
 
 Mr. Dotson is a Republican in politics and early held the offices of town- 
 ship clerk, trustee, member of the school board, and other local offices. In 
 1879 he was elected to the Iowa Legislature from Jasper county, and re-elected 
 in 1881. He served in the sessions of 1880 and 1882, and in the latter session 
 was chairman of the committee on schools, which w^as in that session one of 
 the most important committees, as several significant laws in regard to educa- 
 tion were considered by the Assembly. Here Mr. Dotson's experience and 
 reputation as a teacher had equipped him to render efficient service. Mr. Dot- 
 son has been chairman of the county central committee and has long been 
 veiy active in county and state politics. In fraternal relations he is a member 
 of the Masons, of the Mystic Shrine, and of the Knights of Pythias. 
 
 In 1868 Mr. Dotson was married in Jasper county to Mary Ellen Hurst, 
 the daughter of Alfred Hurst, of Jasper county. She bore to him the follow- 
 ing children: Ulysses, now principal of schools at Salem. Oregon; the Rev. 
 Charles A., of Portland, California, pastor of the Christian -church; Doctor 
 Eli E., of Corning, Oregon; Seymour H., and Sarah Belle, the wife of Ed 
 Bolen, of Poweshiek county, Iowa. Mr. Dotson was married a second time 
 to Anna Triplett, of Jasper county. To this marriage one child was born, 
 Hugh L., of the United States navy, on the flagship "Tennessee" of the 
 North Atlantic squadron. 
 
 Mr. Dotson is well known to the people of Colfax, and they fully realize 
 the value o^his services to the community and the worth of his character. For 
 this reason w^ords of encomium are unnecessary, beyond saying that he is 
 known in such a way as to create respect for the man who has builded his 
 life so admirably. 
 
 RALPH ROBINSON. 
 
 Ralph Robinson, who died July 2r, J911. was tor man}- years the able 
 editor of the Nezvton Journal. He was born in Washington county. Penn- 
 sylvania, September 11, 1830. But little information is before the writer 
 regarding the earlv history of the Robinson family. \\'c learn. hn\\c\'er, 
 
 (30)
 
 _^t,r> JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 that they originated in the north of Ireland and w ere all Protestants, and by 
 (-(ccupation small farmers and weavers. The paternal great-grandfather was 
 quite a leader in his community, and was at one time master of the grand 
 lodge of the Orangemen of Ireland. 
 
 The famil}' was numbered among the early ^lethodists of Ireland, and 
 John Wesley, when in the neighborhood, visited the subject's grandfather, 
 to whom he wrote a number of letters. Large families have always been 
 characteristic of the Robinsons. In his great-grandfather's family there were 
 fifteen children; in his grandfather's thirteen, and in his father's family nine, 
 consisting of seven sons and two daughters. Of these last, two brothers and 
 one sister are now living. 
 
 William Robinson, father of the subject, was ])rought to this country 
 when a voung man. together with two others bearing the same name as he. 
 bv an uncle whose name was also William Robinson. This uncle was a 
 unique character, of liberal education and a bachelor. The object of his life 
 was to free Ireland, and he came to America with the determination to make 
 a fortune and eventually use it in bringing" about the accomplishment of the 
 aim of his life. He possessed a remarkable memory and in all his numerous 
 business transactions never kept a book, depending on liis memory for every- 
 thing in this line. He was always very reticent, and never conversed with 
 relatives or friends of his business transactions unless obliged to do so. It 
 is believed that he accumulated a fortune of some two or three million dollars. 
 and was doubtless preparing to devote it to the object for which it was made, 
 when he was seized with a stroke of apoplexy and died without lea\ing any 
 information to his relatives or friends of where his accumulations were in- 
 vested, and the lawyers in the large cities where his interests were supposed 
 to be. being discreet enough to keep silent after his death, neither Ireland nor 
 his relati\'es received anv benefit from his large fortune. 
 
 The father of the subject was one of a pair of twins, the tenth addition 
 to the family. He settled in A\'ashington, Washingt(jn county. Pennsylvania. 
 where he opened a small weaving shop, and early in life married ^fargaret 
 Bushfield, of Greensburg, Westmoreland count\-. I'ennsvhania. Energetic 
 and industrious, a man of keen intelligence and judicious management, he 
 prospered in business, and at the time of his death, \\hich occurred in \\'ash- 
 ington, I'ennsyhania, in 1834. he was a wealtlu' man. While engaged in 
 wea\ing". he em])lo}-ed man\- apprentices, flaxing always been a Methodist. 
 he was an^ong the first to join the Methodist Protestant church after the 
 division of the ^lethodist Episcopal church, and was a very devoted member 
 of the denomination. To aid the cause, he made it a point to "graduate"
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 467 
 
 preachers from among his apprentices at the weaver's bench, and in that 
 way he added a dozen or more ministers to the pulpit of the chiircli. the most 
 prominent of them being Doctor A[cCHntock, of Philadelphia. 
 
 Since coming to this country the Robinson family has been largely 
 engaged in business enterprises, more particularly in the weaving, paper 
 and iron business. One of the subject's uncles built the Benwood Iron Mills, 
 at Benwood. three miles south of Wheeling. West \'irginia, and a brother 
 was extensively interested in paper mills, owning an interest in several large 
 concerns. Quite a number of his immediate family have been newspaper 
 publishers. His eldest brother, Samuel, was for a time connected with the 
 Washington (Pennsylvania) Reporter. His bfother, James G., in company 
 with D. R. Locke (the famous "Xasby"), first published the Advertiser, at 
 Plymouth, Richland county. Ohio, afterward the Mansfield Herald, at Mans- 
 field. Ohio, and then the Bncyrns Journal. 
 
 Subsequently the subject of this sketch purchased Mr. Locke's interest 
 in the last named paj)er, after which he and his brother published it for sev- 
 eral years. Another brother. William T.. learned the printer's trade in 
 Washington county. Pennsyhania. and first published the Republican at 
 Knoxville, Illinois, then the Juurtiol at Leon. Decatur county. Iowa, and is 
 now puljlishing the Opinion at Glenwood. Iowa, having been a publisher for 
 nearly forty vears. When the senior ^Ir. Robinson died, in 1834, the subject 
 was a child of four years, and his mother was left a widow with seven chil- 
 dren. Soon afterwards financial reverses came, and in 1837 the family re- 
 moved to Beverly. Washington county. Ohio, from which point the children 
 began to scatter. In 1840 the mother and three children removed to ]\Iorris- 
 town. Belmont county, Ohio, thence to Camliridge, and finally returned to 
 Beverly, where she died in 1841. 
 
 A^erv earlv in life the struggle for existence began with the subject of 
 this sketch. At eleven years of age, he having determined to learn the trade 
 of a printer, we find him at ^leadow Farm. Muskingum county. Ohio, where 
 he found a place with the Rev. Cornelius Springer, who was then publishing 
 the Western Recorder, Methodist Protestant paper. There he remained 
 about two and one-half years, after which he worked for a time on the 
 Zanes^iille Aurora, and from there went to \\'heeling. West \'irginia. where 
 he entered the office of the J J 'heeling Times, then under the management of 
 James E. Wharton. In that office his term of apprenticeship was completed, 
 after which he attended school in \Mieeling for two terms. 
 
 We next find Mr. Robinson a teacher in the public schools for one year. 
 This profession. howe\er. did not suit his taste, for while he desired to be a
 
 468 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 teacher, he wanted to do liis work through the columns of a newspaper and 
 not in the school room. Removing to Pittsburgh, he Ijecame a journeyman 
 and reporter, and also filled the position of foreman in several offices in that 
 citv. He was a member of the second, if not the first, typographical union 
 in this country. \\'hile engaged as foreman on the Chronicle in Pittsburgh, 
 he gave to a man who afterward became famous his first work in a [)rinting 
 office. This was no less a personage than David R. Locke, who is noted as 
 the author of the "Xasby Letters", and who made a great success as editor 
 and publisher of the Toledo Blade. 
 
 As ]\Ir. Robinson grew older and gained additional experience, he dis- 
 covered that a more thorough education would be of ad\'antage to him. 
 Accordingly he went to Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, where he entered college 
 and attended several terms, but did not graduate. Later he became proprietor 
 of a book store in Wheeling, which, after conducting for little more than a 
 year, he sold. For a time he managed a straw paper mill, in which a brother 
 was interested. On account of failing health, he removed from Wheeling 
 to Fairfield, Huron county. Ohio, and returned to his ''first love," the news- 
 paper business. At that time he purchased an interest in the Fairfield 
 Gazette, and continued its publication for two years. He then accepted a 
 position as local editor of the Peoria (Illinois) Transcript, and after a short 
 time thus s[)cnt he purchased the Republican at Middleport, Iroquois county, 
 Illinois. The fever and ague drove him out of that town, and he went to 
 Bucyrus, Ohio, where he bought an interest in the Journal and remained for 
 six and one-half years. 
 
 Meantime the Civil war was in progress. Mr. Robinson assisted in 
 raising two companies of volunteers for Union services, notwithstanding the 
 fact that Crawford county was relied upon for a Democratic majority of 
 nineteen hundred, and the blue coat of a soldier upon the street was oftentimes 
 the signal for a knock-down. Though desirous of enlisting, Mr. Robinson 
 realized that to do so meant to discontinue a Republican paper in Crawford 
 county, and on consulting with Ohio's old war governor, David Todd, he was 
 told, ''Stick to your paper, Ralph. You can do more good for the L^nion 
 cause there than }0u can by fighting rebels at the front." Therefore his fighting 
 was done through his paper, and he did his full share of it, too. ^Moreover, 
 he has the honor of a lieutenant's commission, having been commissioned in 
 Company B, First Ohio Regiment, "Squirrel Hunters," at the ''siege of 
 Cincinnati," and partook of six-weeks rations of hardtack and "pig's bosom." 
 
 AVhile in Bucyrus, Mr. Robinson married Fannie J- Hamilton, whose 
 lnjme was in ^lonroeville, Ohio. From Bucyrus he came to Iowa and pur- 
 chased a half interest in the Fairfield Ledger with W. A\". Junkin. remaining
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 469 
 
 there for six and one-half years. He then went to Clarinda, where he pur- 
 chased the entire interest of the Clarinda Herald, running it until 1877, when 
 he came to Xewton and bought a half interest in the Newton Journal, and 
 subsequently purchased the entire paper, in the publication of which he was 
 engaged until his death. Socially, he was a member of the Independent 
 Order of Odd Fellows and was a Royal Arch Mason, having taken the first 
 three degrees in Wheeling Lodge Xo. 128, in 1853. when he lived in that 
 city. He was made a chapter Alason in McCord Chapter of Fairfield, Iowa, 
 and received the council degrees at Newton. 
 
 In all his newspaper venturings and wanderings ^Ir. Robinson was 
 successful as a publisher and gained the respect and confidence of the people 
 among whom he resided. He was thrice honored by being chosen as a 
 delegate to national editorial conventions. Since his residence in Iowa, he 
 visited all parts of the country, from Manitoba on the north to the old city of 
 Mexico on the south, and from Boston on the east to San Diego on the west, 
 travel being his principal recreation. In politics he was always a Republican. 
 He was a member of an old Whig family, and his first Republican vote was 
 cast for John C. Fremont, and every vote afterwards was cast for the nominees 
 of the partv he represented, without an exception or a scratch on the tickets. 
 The great good accomplished by the party during all these years of his con- 
 nection therewith furnished him with reliable evidence that he had made no 
 mistake in his political affiliations. From 1854 to the Emancipation Proc- 
 lamation of President Lincoln, he was more or less identified with the "Old 
 Liberty Guard'" and knew much of the workings and passengers of the 
 underground railway and of the travel of the latter from slavery of the 
 South to their Mecca of freedom in Canada. 
 
 Mr. and ]\Irs. Robinson became the parents of two daughters and two 
 sons. The eldest daughter, Margaret, now the wife of Rev. R. F. Chambers, 
 of Jackson. Minnesota, is an entliusiastic and earnest worker in church mat- 
 ters. The eldest son. Roy, is one of the proprietors of the JJ'alsenburg 
 (Colorado) Independent. The second son, S. ^ilona. is manager of the Xewton 
 Manufacturing Company. The younger daughter, Daisee, now Mrs. ^Mark 
 Evans, is now with her mother since the father's death. Mr. Robinson's 
 fifty-two vears of hard continued labor in and about a printing office was a 
 limit few men have attained, and he was continually found in his printing 
 establishment, guiding and directing, and at his editorial desk. His editor- 
 ials attracted no little attention. When he supported an enterprise, he did 
 it with his whole soul, and what he condemned through his paper, his friends 
 were apt to let alone.
 
 _^yO JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 HENRY SILWOLD. 
 
 Henry Silwold, well known attorney and substantial citizen of Newton, 
 Jasper county, was born in Sheboygan county, Wisconsin, January 12, i860. 
 He is the son of Henry and Charlotte (Depping) Silwold, both natives of 
 Germany where they spent their childhood, emigrating to America when 
 young. The elder Silwold devoted his life to farming and by hard work 
 and good management became well established. He came to Iowa in 1866, 
 located in Malaka township, Jasper county, where he bought land which he 
 placed under excellent improvements and a high state of cultivation and 
 where he continued to live until his death, in October, 1901, his wife surviv- 
 ing until ^larch, 1908. They were highh- respected in their community 
 and had a host of friends where^•er they were known. Six children were 
 born to them, five of whom are living, namely : Henry, of this review ; Mrs. 
 Herman Claussen, who lives four miles north of Newton; Mrs. W. J. Kelly, of 
 Grovont, Wyoming; Fred is living on the old home farm in this county; 
 Marv is also living on the old homestead. 
 
 Henry Silwold was six years of age when his parents brought him to 
 Jasper county ; here he grew to maturity on the home farm which he worked 
 during the crop seasons, attending the common schools in the wintertime; 
 after which he took a preparatory course at Hazel Dell Academy at Newton 
 before entering Drake University, in 1885, at Des Moines, from which insti- 
 tution he was graduated in 1890, having completed the collegiate course. He 
 remained under his parental roof-tree, with the exception of the time spent 
 in school, until he was t\\enty-five years of age. He had long entertained a 
 laudable ambition to study law, and after leaving college he plunged into 
 Blackstone and other authorities in earnest and made rapid progress with W. 
 O. McElroy, of Newton, and he was admitted to the bar in October, 1892, and 
 soon thereafter began active practice at Baxter, Iowa, where he gained a 
 good foothold at once, remaining there three years. Seeking a wider field 
 for the exercise of his talents, he moved to Newton in May, 1898, and has 
 remained in the practice here to the present, proving himself to be a painstak- 
 ing and careful advocate, and he is regarded as a logical and earnest pleader at 
 the bar. He keeps fully abreast of the times in all matters pertaining to his 
 professifjn. such as the latest decisions in important cases, new codes and 
 revised statutes, anrl, judging from his past worthy and eminently honorable 
 and satisfactory career, he bids fair to become one of tin- leading attorneys 
 of the state in due course of time.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 4/1 
 
 yiv. Sihvold has never assumed the responsibilities of the married state. 
 PoHtically, he is a RepubHcan and has been more or less active in political 
 affairs for a number of years, always lending his support to any movement 
 having for its object the general development of his locality. He was county 
 attorney from April, 1900, to January 1, 1902, holding this important office 
 in a manner that reflected much credit upon himself and to the entire satis- 
 faction of all concerned. Fraternally, he is a member of the Masonic order, 
 and in religious matters he belongs to the Congregational church. 
 
 MILTON A. McCORD. 
 
 Milton A. McCord has long been recognized as one of Jasper county's 
 foremost citizens, having long had the interests of the county at heart and 
 which he has ever striven to promote in whatever laudable manner that pre- 
 sented itself. His life has been led along high planes of endeavor and has 
 been true to every trust that has been reposed in him. Thus for many reasons, 
 not the least of which is the fact that he is an honored veteran of the greatest 
 of the world's wars, in which he valiantly upheld the Stars and Stripes, he is 
 eminently entitled to specific mention in a history of this character. 
 
 Mr. McCord is the son of David and Eleanor (Temple) Macord, the 
 father born in Virginia and the mother in Tennessee. Milton A. was the 
 eighth in a family of eleven children, and he was born in Paris, Illinois, Feb- 
 ruary 5, 1845. He lived in his native state until he was ten years of age, the 
 family emigrating from Illinois in 1855 to Jasper county, Iowa, making the 
 trip overland, locating in Newton township where, as pioneers, they settled 
 on an unimproved farm which they developed and on which a good home was 
 established, the elder Macord becoming one of the county's well-to-do men, 
 owning at one time over two hundred and forty acres of land. Here IMrs. 
 Alacord died in 1873, ^^ ^^e age of sixty-five years, the father's death occur- 
 ring in 1884 at the age of seventy-eight years. The family has been identified 
 with the business interests of Jasper county from its infancy and has borne an 
 unsullied reputation. 
 
 Milton A. .McCord grew to maturity on the home farm, and when but a 
 boy he assisted in the general work about the place, attending the common 
 schools in the winter time. He remained on the parental homestead until .\u- 
 gust I, 1862, when, heeding his country's call, although yet a mere boy. he 
 enlisted in Company K, Twenty-eighth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, in which he
 
 _^j2 JASPER COUNTV, IOWA. 
 
 served very faithfully for three years and nineteen days, during which time 
 he participated in the battles of Champion's Hill, r>iege of Vicksburg, Port 
 Gibson, Fisher's Hill. Black River, Cedar Creek and many others. His broth- 
 ers, William l'.. Thomas T., James PI. and David X., were also in the service 
 
 After receiving an honorable discharge, Mr. McCord returned home and 
 began freighting across the plains with ox teams, making two trips to Denver, 
 later engaging in farming and stock raising, being thus successfully engaged 
 lip to 1890. He has always been more or less interested in ])uljlic affairs and 
 always stood ready to support such measures as made for the progress of his 
 county, and his loyalty has been rewarded by his friends electing him to sev- 
 eral positions of trust and responsibility, having been elected sheriff of Jasper 
 county in 1891, in which capacity he served for two terms in a manner that 
 reflected much credit upon himself and to the entire satisfaction of his con- 
 stituents. On March i, 1898, he was appointed postmaster at Newton, which 
 position he held to October i, 1910, and in which he further demonstrated 
 his eminent fitness as a public servant, pleasing both the department and the 
 people of the town and vicinity. Mr. ]\IcCord was a delegate to the Republi- 
 can national convention in 1908. 
 
 On November 26, 1868, Mr. McCord married Gertie M. Reed, who was 
 born in Indiana, and this union resulted in the birth of three children. Percy 
 R.. Hettie and Stella M. 
 
 WILLIAM CLAYTON POR\^IN. 
 
 The history of Jasper county, Iowa, would be lacking should there be 
 failure to give mention to William Clayton Porvin, who, though he spent the 
 greater portion of his life in his native state of New York, was for many 
 years a well known citizen of Newton, Iowa, where he took a leading part in 
 all enterprises which promised the development of the community, and be- 
 came influential in business and financial matters. 
 
 William Clayton Porvin w^as born on January 11, 1828, the son of John 
 and Sarah Porvin. His parents moved to Philadelphia when he w-as nine 
 years old. and remained there until he was eighteen, when they returned to 
 New York. Here his father died, and here the son lived \yith his mother 
 until he was forty-six years old. On June 22, 1875, he was united in marriage 
 at Middletown. New York, to Elizabeth Hamilton, who was born on January 
 30. 1839.- She was the daughter of James W. and Catherine (Taylor) Hamil-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 473 
 
 ton, of .Middletown, New York. Her father was a native of Scotland, and 
 came with his parents when eight years old to Philadelphia. After his mar- 
 riage Mr. Porvin and his wife remained for three years at Middletown. While 
 living in Xew York he had been a wholesale druggist, and had been very suc- 
 cessful, but on account of failing health, he and his wife m.oved to Xewton. 
 Jasper county, Iowa, in 1879. 
 
 To ]\Ir. and ]\Irs. Porvin were born two children: Edith C. at Middle- 
 town. Xew York, on June 26, 1876, who is now deputy county superintendent 
 of Jasper county, and is residing at home with her mother; and Hamilton, 
 who was born at Middletown, New York, on May 31, 1878, and is employed 
 as a bookkeeper with the Hawkeye Feeder Company. 
 
 Mr. Porvin died on Xovember 14. 1893. His remains were interred in 
 Newton cemetery. He was a member of the Congregational church, and gave 
 to it his strong support. In politics he was a Republican, but took little active 
 part. William Clay Porvin was not a relative of Theodore S. Porvin. but 
 William Porvin, who was killed' at the battle of the Alamo, near Porvin, 
 Texas, was an uncle of W^illiam Clay Porvin. 
 
 William C. Porvin was a man of high ideals and culture. He ^\•as a man 
 of the strictest integrity in business dealings and of keen judgment in finan- 
 cial affairs. He was free with charity for the poor and needy, and was the 
 friend of those in want, supplying their needs with pleasure. He was a man of 
 strong intellect, and agreeable presence. Though his marriage occurred late 
 in life, he was very much devoted to his wife and children, and no cloud ever 
 occurred to shade their recollection of him as a kind and loving husband and 
 father. As in his later days his business did not occupy all of his attention, 
 he was enabled to give to his family much of his time and .society. This man 
 of splendid character and attainments was one whose loss was deeply felt in 
 Newton, for he had during his residence there strongly impressed his individ- 
 ualitv on the people of that city, and they fully recognized the character of 
 the man who had gone from their midst, and who had given so freely of his 
 life and his talents to the service of the community, which had learned to 
 honor and respect him. 
 
 Mrs. AA^illiam Clay Porvin, an accomplished woman, whose appearance 
 belies her age, is living with her children at No. 445 West McDonald street. 
 Newton, and takes her full share in all the activities of the city, both social, 
 religious and philanthropic, while Mr. Porvin's son and daughter are taking 
 active and responsible parts in the work of the world.
 
 ^j^ JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 RICHARD LAMB. 
 
 Fealty to facts in the analyzation of a citizen of the type of the late 
 Richard Lamb, of Newton, Jasper county, is all that is required to make a 
 biographical sketch interesting to those who have at heart the good name of 
 the community, because it is the honorable reputation of the man of standing 
 and affairs, more than any other consideration that gives character and stabil- 
 ity to the body politic and makes the true glory of a city or state revered at 
 home and respected abroad. In the broad light which things of good report ever 
 invite the name and character of Mr. Lamb stand revealed and secure and 
 though he is remembered as a man of modest demeanor, with no ambition to 
 distinguish himself in public position or as a leader of men, his career was 
 signally honorable and it may be studied with profit by the youth entering 
 upon his life work. 
 
 Mr. Lamb was born in Randolph county, North Carolina, September 9, 
 1829, and he was four years old when he accompanied his mother from his 
 native hills to Hendricks county, Indiana, where he grew to manhood and 
 received his education. His early youth was spent on the farm with his 
 mother, two brothers and one sister, John. Caleb and Elizabeth. 
 
 The subject was about four years old when his father, Albert Lamb, 
 died, — in fact, death took him from his family while enroute to their new 
 home in the North, to which the mother bravely pushed on and established in 
 the Hoosier state. 
 
 Richard Lanib came to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1852, located at Newton 
 and remained here three years. Here he met Nancy Thompson and they were 
 married on February 25, 1855. She was born on September 3, 1834, and 
 she was the daughter of Jerry and Jessie Thompson, of Kentucky. His par- 
 ents moved from Wayne county, Kentucky, to Clinton county, Iowa, where 
 they located on a farm. After his marriage Richard Lamb remained in New- 
 ton but a short time, when he took his mother back to Indiana, their old home, 
 and remained there five years on a farm in Hendricks county. Later Mr. 
 Laml) Ijrought his wife and mother back to Newton, Iowa, in the fall of i860, 
 and in 1865 they bought eighty-five acres of good land and there Mr. Lamb 
 and wife made their home for a period of twenty-three years, during which 
 time they enjoyed a liberal reward for their labors and developed one of the 
 choice little farms of this part of the county. Finally, his health failing, he 
 moved back to Newton, where he continued to reside until his death, on No- 
 vember 13, 1 901, at the cozy and neatly furnished home, No. 425 West North 
 street, where Mrs. Lamb continues to reside.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 475 
 
 They were the parents of two children, a daughter and a son. Frances 
 Jane, born April i6, 1856, is now the wife of E. C. Ogg, of Xewton, and the 
 mother of two sons living, Harry and George R , the latter being now in 
 school at Monmouth College, Illinois. Albert Lamb, the subject's other child, 
 died in infancy. 
 
 Religiously, Richard Lamb held to the Baptist faith, and he was always 
 a stanch Republican, taking a very active part in public affairs in his earlier 
 years. Fraternall}-. he belonged to Lodge Xo. 59, Ancient Free and Accepted 
 Masons, at Xewton, and he was also a member of the Independent Order of 
 Odd Fellows. 
 
 Mr. Lamb was very successful in a material wav and as he prospered 
 through hard work and good management he added to his original eighty-fi\-e 
 acres until he had a valuable place of two hundred acres, also a farm of one 
 hundred and sixty acres in another part of Jasper county, which was well 
 located and desirable land. He also owned one hundred and sixty acres of 
 good land in Dakota, besides his home in X^ewton, adjoining which is one acre 
 of land. He was one of the substantial and popular citizens of the county 
 and, owing to his upright life, his kind and genial nature, he enjoyed the con- 
 fidence, good will and friendship of all who knew him. 
 
 WALTER J. MORGAX. 
 
 It is probable, as a rule, that few of the present generation have ever 
 realized in the dimmest way the transcendent possibilities that rested upon the 
 shoulders of the pioneers of this country, of which worthy band the well 
 remembered late Walter J. Morgan, of X'ewton, Jasper county, was an hon- 
 ored member. Grant it that their lives, in certain instances, were somewhat 
 narrow and that they realized but little the great results that ultimately 
 crowned their efforts ; yet there exists the supreme fact that they followed 
 their restless impulses, took their lives in their hands, overspread the wild 
 prairies of the Hawkeye state and, with patient energ}', resolution and self- 
 sacrifice that stands alone and unparalleled, they worked out their allotted 
 tasks, accomplished' their destinies and today their descendants and others 
 enjov undisturbed the fruitage of their lalx)rs. 
 
 Mr. ^Morgan was born May 17, 1830, at Marshall. Xew York, and when 
 he was a small boy, his parents, \\'alter and Louisa Morgan, came to Erie 
 countv. X'ew York, and there the subject remained with his parents until he
 
 _^y6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 was seventeen }ears old. when he went to Wisconsin, locating at Kenosha, 
 where he remained for a number of years, and while there he learned his trade 
 as cabinet maker, and while living" there he was married, on December lo, 
 1855, to Delia Derbyshire, the daughter of S. S. and Delia Derbyshire, Mrs. 
 Morgan's birth having occurred on December 14, 1834, and she was living 
 with her parents in Kenosha at the time of her marriage. This union was 
 without issue. 
 
 After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Morgan remained in Kenosha for 
 nine years, and in 1864 they came to Jasper county. locating on a farm of four 
 hundred acres in Clear Creek township, where they remained two years, then, 
 late in the spring of 1867. they moved to another farm near Newton of two 
 hundred acres, but remained there only a short time, moving to Newton in 
 1867, where Mr. Morgan launched in the furniture business and remained 
 here until his death, on December 7. 1883, dying at the home where his widow 
 has since lived, No. 306 East \\^ashington street, and he is buried in Newton 
 cemetery. 
 
 Fraternally, Mr. Morgan was a prominent Mason and Woodman at New- 
 ton. He held to the creed of the Congregational church, although he was not 
 a member of the same, but he was a liberal supporter of the local church and a 
 great worker in the same. He was always a friend to the poor and did many 
 charitable acts, not for any show or approval of the public, but out of- the 
 largeness of his heart. In political affairs lie was always a stanch Republican 
 although he never took an active part in public affairs. He was very success- 
 ful as a business man and left his widow a beautiful and commodious home 
 and cjuite a competency. She has long been a favorite with a wide circle of 
 friends in Newton and vicinity, being the possessor of many estimable traits 
 of character. 
 
 THOMAS SMITH, JR. 
 
 Prominent in the affairs of Newton and Jasper county and distinguished 
 as a citizen whose influence was far extended beyond the limits of the com- 
 munity honored by his residence, the name of the late Thomas Smith, Jr., 
 for a quarter of a century the able and popular street commissioner, stands 
 out a conspicuous figure. Characterized by breadth of wisdom and strong 
 individuality, and in all of his enterprises and undertakings actuated by noble 
 moti\es and high resolves, his success and achievements but represented the 
 result of fit utilization of innate ralent in directing effort along those lines
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 477 
 
 where mature judgineiit and rare discriniinatioii led the way, and he long 
 enjoyed the confidence and esteem of all classes, having done much for the 
 general upbuilding of the city and community and led a clean, upright life 
 from his youth up. 
 
 Mr. Smith was born in England on ]\Iarch lo, 1S34, and after a long 
 and busy career he passed to his reward at Xewton, Iowa, on Februar\- 25, 
 1907, at the attractive modern residence at No. 623 South Farmer street, 
 where Mrs. Smith still resides. He grew to manhood and was educated in 
 England, emigrating to New York City at the age of twenty-one years, but 
 remained there only a short time when he came west, and, finding Jasper 
 county a place of future possibilities and delightful surroundings, he decided 
 to make this locality his permanent home, Iowa then being in her first stages 
 of development. He first located in Newton township, but soon afterwards 
 came to the town of Newton, where he made his home until his death, being' 
 very active up to within a year and a half of that time, having resigned his 
 position with the city in order to spend his declining days in retirement, ill 
 health forcing him to take this step. He spent his early life engaged in agri- 
 cultural pursuits, having in his youth worked with his father, Thomas Smith. 
 Sr., a native of England and a prosperous farmer there. 
 
 In 1856 Thomas Smith, Jr., was united in marriage with Mary Jackson, 
 of Newton, Iowa, and to this union three children were born, onlv one of 
 whom survives, Frank, who is married and resides at Colfax, this county. 
 
 The first wife of Thomas Smith, Jr., died in 1872, and in 1874 he was 
 united in marriage with Martha Hanson, of Newton, who was born Septem- 
 ber 14, 1849, tl''^ daughter of Thomas Hanson and wife, of Birmingham. 
 England. To this union four daughters were born, three of whom are now 
 living, namely : Minnie married John Gardner, a large land owner and 
 farmer of Jasper county; Ida May married William Gardner, a brother of 
 John Gardner; thev live on a farm four and one-half miles from Newton and 
 have two daughters, Mabel and Florence; Katie Belle married Guy Finch, of 
 Newton. 
 
 Mrs. Martha (Hanson) Smith is the daughter of Thomas and Jane 
 Hanson, of Newton, to which city they came in 1865 from Birmingham, Eng- 
 land. Here he soon began working at his trade, that of brick maker and 
 molder. Their family consisted of fourteen children, namely : Emma, Mrs. 
 Liza Lister, of Newton; William: ^^Irs Anna Beach, who now resides in 
 Birmingham, England; Mrs. Fannie Newton, also of that city; ]\Iartha, now 
 iMrs. Smith, of this review ; Mrs. Jane Ferguson, who lives in Adel, Iowa ; 
 Mrs John Woodrow, of Newton. Iowa; Mrs. Clara Clasby, of Newton;
 
 ^-8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 George is deceased; Arthur lives in Oklahoma; Charles is deceased; Anna 
 Norris is now deceased; Thomas lives in the state of Washington. 
 
 Mrs. Thomas Smith, Jr., is the owner of considerable valuable property 
 in Xewton. including a substantial and well furnished residence, surrounding 
 which are three acres of ground. 
 
 Mr. Smith was a Republican in politics and always took an active interest 
 in local affairs. He was not a member of any church, being liberal in his 
 religious views, although he inclined to the doctrine of the Methodists and at- 
 tended thai church in Xewton with his family, they lieing members of the 
 same. 
 
 AUGUST WENDT. 
 
 But a few years ago the gentleman whose name heads this re\'iew was a 
 familiar figure in the city of Newton, where he was recognized as one of the 
 prominent and successful merchants of that municipality. Born in Germany, 
 he came to this country a poor immigrant, and by thrift and industry, and by 
 adhering in the dealings of his business life to the principles of that church to 
 which he was so greatly devoted, he gained a competence, became prosperous, 
 and a leader in the community in which he resided, and which lost one of its 
 ablest citizens in his death. 
 
 August Wendt was born on May 26, 1845, ^^^ Shieder, Lippe-Dettmold. 
 Germany. In infancy he was baptized in the Lutheran church, and in early 
 life entered by confirmation into full communion with the church, throughout 
 life making the service of his Master and his church his first object, literally 
 obeying the injunction of his Master, ''Seek }'e first the kingdom of heax'en." 
 In 1865, seeking for greater opportunities, young August Wendt came to 
 America and, locating at Freeport, Illinois, resided there for four years, then 
 came to Newton, Jasper county, Iowa, where he thenceforward cast his lot. 
 He engaged in the grocer)- and dry goods business, in wiiich he greatly pros- 
 pered, and was enabled to gain a competency sufficient to enable him to greatly 
 assist in church work, to keep his family in comfort, and to accumulate a 
 considerable amount of property in addition. He was prominent and respected 
 among the business men of his city and active in every work which had for its 
 object the betterment of the community, as well as in all kinds of philan- 
 thropic movements. 
 
 On Easter Monday, 1873, August Wendt was united in marriage with 
 Emelinc Hanke. the daughter of Frederick and Matilda Ilanke, natives of
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 479 
 
 Germany, later residents of Freeport, Illinois. To this marriage were born 
 five children, Louise, Matilda, August, Grace and Frederick. Fred- 
 erick died in infancy; the others are living. Mrs. Emeline Wendt 
 died at Newton, Iowa, on April 23, 1886, and on August 25, 1887, 
 Mr. Wendt was married to Matilda Hanke, a sister of his first wife. To this 
 marriage was born one son, William, now a student in Iowa State College at 
 Ames, Iowa, in his fourth year's work. August Wendt was a stanch Republi- 
 can, the principles of which party he adopted shortly after coming to this 
 country. He died on July 26, 1896, and his remains were interred in the 
 cemetery of Newton, Iowa. 
 
 Extremely successful as was the business career of ]Mr. Wendt, perhaps 
 he will be best remembered on account of the unceasing energy which he de- 
 voted to the work of the Lutheran church, of which he was a mainstay, and 
 the aid which he gave to charity and his kindness toward the needy and de- 
 serving. He united with the Newton Evangelical church July 12, 1874. His 
 place in the Lutheran congregation was one which cannot be filled, for, able 
 church workers though there be, there are none with quite his tireless zeal, 
 and strong and cheery personality. He was superintendent of its Sunday 
 school for many years, and a deacon in the church. In public life he was a 
 man of agressiveness and force, in his family he was a kind and tender com- 
 panion, devoted to his wife and children, whose loss in his death was inestima- 
 ble. 
 
 GEORGE W. HICKMAN, JR. 
 
 The present re^■iew records the events in the life of a man who was well 
 known in Newton, Iowa, and to the people of Jasper county as a man of 
 unswerving honor and integrity, and one capable of fulfilling his duty in all 
 the situations of life where he was placed. He was yet but in his prime at the 
 time when he was taken away, and the loss of his cheering presence and of his 
 strong and upright manhood was greatly felt by those who had occasion to be 
 associated with him, for though there are many who have become more 
 famous and wealthier tlian he. still no one can ever fill the individual place 
 which he so ^\ell filled, and no one can e\er take the place of George W. 
 Hickman in the memories of his friends, his wife and his family. Their 
 consolation is that they hope to meet him later in his heavenly home.
 
 480 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 George W. Hickman. Jr.. was born in Campbell county. Kentucky, on 
 June 2, 1847. ''^"*^ ^'^^^ ^^ ^^^^ home in Newton, Iowa, on March 31, 1905. He 
 was brought up by his grandparents, Mr. and Mrs. North, his mother having 
 died when he was six years old. 
 
 In 1864, though but seventeen years of age, he enlisted in the service of 
 his country, and was for one year a member of Company C, Fifty -third Ken- 
 tucky Mounted Infantry. During this period he was taken prisoner, and was 
 confined for three months in Libby prison, where he suffered great exposure, 
 and almost starvation, the effects of which permanently injured his health. 
 While in active service he was in a number of battles, and in all of them 
 showed himself as a brave and efficient soldier, though but a lad, not vet fully 
 grown. 
 
 On September 29, 1867, Mr. Hickman united with the ^Methodist church 
 at Asbury chapel, near Newport, Kentucky, and there began his career of 
 Christian service. A few years later he came to Jasper county, Iowa, where 
 he engaged in farming, and then he transferred his membership to the First 
 Methodist church of Newton, of which he was an acti\"e and leading member 
 until his death. 
 
 Mr. Hickman was married on January 16. 1876. to Jane Hickman, the 
 daughter of Samuel Hickman and wife, who were pioneers of Jasper county. 
 To this union was born one son, Melville Clifford. 
 
 George W. Hickman was very successful in his farming operations, and 
 was a capable and upright business man in whom the people had confidence. 
 To all mankind he was a friend, and no one in need could appeal in vain to 
 his generous heart. He was an active member of Garrett Post of the Grand 
 Army, and was always glad to meet in its hospitable halls the comrades of the 
 great struggle to preserve American liberty. To his wife and son he was 
 especially kind and loving, for he was a man who cared much for his family, 
 and lavished on them the wealth of a strong affection. 
 
 LEWIS C. S. TURNER, M. D. 
 
 Among the leaders in the medical profession in central Iowa the name 
 of Dr. Lewis C. S. Turner, of Colfax. Jasper county, must be included, for 
 his practice here of nearly thirty years has won him a wide reputation among 
 his contemporaries, who, with his wife, also a physician of well established 
 re])ute, is proprietor of the Turner Rest Flome and Sanitarium, which has a
 
 H 
 C 
 
 2 
 
 m 
 
 73
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 481 
 
 prestige second to none of its kind in the state. But, indeed, no man possess- 
 ing the heritage of character and ahility which Doctor Turner has received 
 from his ancestors could fail to live a life of usefulness, controlled by correct 
 principles and high ideals, his progenitors including that sterling patriotic 
 stock which helped successfully to establish the early American colonies, 
 who sacrificed life in Washington's army in the struggle for independence, 
 who bore the vicissitudes of the great Rebellion on the sanguinary battle 
 fields of the South, who, as pioneer physician, faced the dangers and hard- 
 ships on the western frontier in the service of administering to the ills to 
 which humanity is heir- — men and women who, in their station, nobly ful- 
 filled their myriad duties. Such an inheritance is more to be desired than 
 '"much fine gold." 
 
 Doctor Turner was born in Poweshiek township, Jasper county, Iowa, 
 on November 2, 1854, the son of Charles Carroll Turner and Ann E. (Parks) 
 Turner, the father born in Oxford county, Elaine, in 1826, the son of Joseph 
 Turner, whose birth occurred on June 12. 1799, the latter's home being at 
 Dedham, Massachusetts, and whose wife was known in her maidenhood as 
 Nancy Shaw. Joseph Turner was the son of Ebenezer and Polly (Sum- 
 ner) Turner, the former born in 1772, the son of Lieutenant Edward and 
 Hannah (Fisher) Turner. Edward Turner was an officer in the colonial 
 army and he fought in the battle of Bunker Hill, and while in the service for 
 freedom he contracted smallpox which caused his death at Half Aloon, 
 Massachusetts, in December, 1777. The first American ancestor of the Turn- 
 ers came to Massachusetts in the early colonial days and settled twenty miles 
 from Boston. The family of Joseph Turner came to Mindon, Adams county, 
 Illinois, in 1834, the father of the subject of this sketch being then 
 eight years of age, and there he grew to maturity, the Prairie state at that 
 time being practically a wilderness. He remained in Illinois until 1850, when 
 he came to Jasper county, Iowa, among the very early settlers, and located 
 on a farm three miles north of the present site of Colfax, which land is still 
 owned by his widow, Mrs. Mary C. (Pease) Turner, and their son, Ed S. 
 Turner. Charles C. Turner became one of the influential farmers of the 
 county in his day. He was the owner of over two hundred acres of good 
 land and he was an extensive breeder of fine grades of live stock. He was 
 active in public affairs, first as a Whig, then as a Republican. He was elected 
 clerk of the district court of Jasper county, holding ofifice from 1854 to 1857; 
 he was also county sun-eyor for two terms, from 1868 to 1872, and he was 
 iustice of the peace and assessor for four full terms. He was a charter mem- 
 
 (31)
 
 ^^2 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 Ijer uf Xewtoii Lodge Xo. 5.9, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He 
 proved his patriotism in i8()2 when he enhsted in the Federal army and 
 proved to be a gallant soldier in the Fortieth Iowa V^okmteer Infantry. For 
 a time he was sent home on recruiting service. \\'hile in the field he was at 
 Columbus and Paducah. Kentucky ; Satarsia. Mississippi, Haines Bluff and 
 Snvder Bluff, and after the fall of Vicksburg he was on reserve duty. He 
 was in Arkansas at the taking of Little Rock, and he was the first with his 
 brother-in-law, Hugh A. Pease, to cross the river on a pontoon bridge, October 
 10, 1863. He was mustered out at Davenport, Iowa, on April i, 1864. His 
 death occurred on August 7, 1907, at an advanced age, after a useful and 
 honorable career. Andrew Pease, father of ^Irs. Alary C. (Pease) Turner. 
 Avas also one of the worthy "boys in blue,'" having served in Company I, 
 Thirty-seventh Iowa \'olunteer Infantry. — the noted "Greybeard Volunteers," 
 — he having enlisted when fifty-eight years of age, on December 15, 1862, and 
 his death occurred while in the service, at Alton, Illinois, on January 10, 1863, 
 he having been on guard duty there. 
 
 Ann E. Parks, maiden name of the mother of Dr. Lewis C. S. Turner, 
 of this sketch, was born in Noble county, Indiana, October 2, 1836, the daugh- 
 ter of Dr. Hiram S. Parks, who was one of the pioneer physicians of Powe- 
 shiek township. Jasper county, Iowa, and he practiced medicine here until 
 1863. when he went to Kansas. He made his calls on horseback, going long 
 distances in all kinds of weather, enduring great hardships, following Indian 
 trails, often swimming or fording dangerous streams, sometimes in the 
 roughest winter weather. He was a good doctor and was highly esteemed by 
 the entire locality. The death of Mrs. Ann E. Turner occurred on May 10, 
 1856. 
 
 On June 4. 1857, Charles C. Turner was married a second time, his last 
 wife being Alary Catherine Pease, one of the early teachers of this county, 
 who taught the first school in her district. She was a woman of high edu- 
 cational attainments and a strong character. She directed the education of 
 her only step-child; and at the age of nineteen, Lewis C. S. Turner, of this 
 sketch. l)egan teaching in the common schools of this county. He entered 
 Simpson College, Indianola, Iowa, in 1873, and he also attended Central 
 University at Pella. Iowa, in 1874. In June. 1877. he finished the course at 
 the Baylies Mercantile College at Keokuk, this state, and in 1878 he was 
 graduated from Pierce's Xormal Institute of Penmanship of the last named 
 city. He began the study of medicine under Doctors Tillman Seems, of 
 Mitchellville, Iowa, and J. J. M. Angear. of Fort AFadison. Iowa, later of 
 Chicago. Since March i. 1882. Doctor Turner has been successfully en- 
 gaged in the practice of his profession at Colfax and has built up a large,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 483 
 
 Iiicrati\e and ever-.s^rowing patronage. He has kept well abreast of the times 
 in everything that pertains to his practice, having always been a profound 
 student and a vigorous and independent researcher. He is a member of the 
 Jasper County, the Des Moines District and the Iowa State Medical societies. 
 Since 1888 he has been health officer of Colfax and a member of the school 
 board from 1892 to 1895. A graduate pharmacist, he dispenses his own 
 drugs. He makes a specialty of eye, nose and throat and obstetrics, and his 
 skill in these lines has placed him in the front rank of his professional 
 brethren. 
 
 On October 21, 1878, Doctor Turner was united in marriage with Alice 
 B. Sams, one of the leading lady practitioners of medicine in central Iowa, 
 an individual sketch of whom appears on another page of this work. This 
 union has been graced by the birth of two children : Vera, who married J. W. 
 Preston, of Port Lavaca, Texas. They have one daughter, Ruth Alice, born 
 July 13, 191 1. She is a graduate of Wellesley College, and for a time she 
 taught in the Jasper county schools ; she is a member of the Des Moines 
 chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution. Carroll J. Turner 
 was graduated from the Colfax high school and is now at college, preparing 
 to follow in the footsteps of his parents and devote his life to the medical 
 profession. 
 
 Doctor Turner is a man of agreeable social nature, pleasing personality. 
 Religiously, he is a Unitarian. He has been active in many works in Colfax, 
 always ready to do what he could in furthering the interests of the city in 
 any way. He is best known as the proprietor, jointly with his wife, of the 
 Turner Rest Home and Sanitarium, which they established in 1904. Prior 
 to this they had been proprietors of the Victoria Sanitarium, and for three 
 years previously they maintained public bath parlors, using in all these the 
 mineral waters for which. Colfax is famous. Doctor and Mrs. Turner went 
 to Chicago, Illinois, in 1898 and there remained two years, returning to 
 Colfax in 1900 and have since devoted most of their attention to their mod- 
 ern, well equipped and popular sanitarium, which has proven to be a boon to 
 thousands. 
 
 ALICE BELLVADORE (SAIMS) TURNER, M. D. 
 
 Women are entering, in this advanced epoch of the world's history, many 
 of the professions, and, as a rule, they have met w-ith exceptional success, this 
 being particularly true of medicine, and the town of Colfax, Jasper county, 
 has a resident woman who has been longer in practice than most women
 
 _|^84 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 doctors, and one who stands at the top of the profession, irrespective of sex. 
 Dr. Ahce Bellvadore (Sams) Turner is a descendant of a sterling old family 
 of courageous, useful men and women, who have been leaders in various 
 lines wherever they have dispersed, faithful citizens in whatever situation 
 they were placed, whether fighting for their country's independence or living 
 quietly in times of peace, whether blazing new trails on the frontier of civiliza- 
 tion or laboring to better material, civic and moral conditions in some seat of 
 modern culture. ]Mrs. Dr. Turner is a native of this county, having been 
 bom at Greencastle on ]\Iarch 13, 1859, the daughter of John and Evaline 
 (Humphreys) Sams, the former the son of Edmund and Sarah Sams, and 
 her mother was the daughter of Moses and Rebecca (Boyd) Humphreys. 
 Both her grandfathers served in the war of 1812 with the Tennessee troops, 
 [ohn Sams was born in Sullivan county, east Tennessee, in 181 3 and there he 
 spent his boyhood, moving to Logan county, Illinois, in 1833, when that coun- 
 try was practically a wilderness. From there he came to Jasper county, Iowa, 
 in 1853 and again began life as a pioneer. He first married Mary Vande- 
 vender, who was born in Virginia in 1834 and her death occurred in 1851, 
 leaving three children, David E., Margaret and Sarah, deceased. In 1852, 
 u'hile a resident of Logan county, Illinois, he was united in marriage with 
 Rvaline (Humphreys) Hilton, who was born May 10, 1824, in the eastern 
 part of Tennessee. To this marriage four children were born : Alfred is 
 living in Jasper county; Emily, widow of Dr. A. S. Warner; Alice Bellvadore, 
 subject of this sketch, and Francis M. 
 
 John Sams, born January 8, 1813, was a successful farmer, in fact, for 
 many years he was one of the leading agriculturists of the county, being the 
 owner of about six hundred and forty acres here. He was influential in the 
 affairs of his community, serving as township trustee and school director. He 
 was an active Democrat, and a good and useful man. His death occurred 
 on April 9. 1891. his widow surviving until August 19, 1902. 
 
 The subject's paternal grandparents, Moses and Rebecca (Boyd) Hum- 
 i;hreys. were natives of Carter county, Tennessee, and in an early day they 
 moved to Logan county, Illinois, where they lived until 1853. when they came 
 to Jasper county, Iowa, thus starting life twice under ])ioneer conditions, and 
 here they spent the rest of their lives. 
 
 Alice B. Sams grew to womanhood and received her common school 
 training in her home community, later attending Lincoln University, at Lin- 
 coln, Illinois, also Simpson College at Indianola, Iowa, and the Mitchell 
 Seminary at Mitchellville, Iowa, and for a time she successfully taught school 
 in Jasper and Shelby counties. She studied medicine under Dr. J. J. M.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 485 
 
 Angear of Keokuk. Lnva. making rapid progress, and thus well equij^ped for 
 her life work, she hegan practicing medicine in Colfax in 1884 and with the 
 exception of two years, from 1898 to 1900, inclusive, spent in Chicago, this 
 vicinity has been the arena of her endeavors, during which time she has 
 enjoyed a profitable and growing practice and has taken a position in the 
 front rank of her compeers. 
 
 On October 21, 1878, the subject was united in marriage with Dr. Lewis 
 C. S. Turner, a complete sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this history, 
 and has since been associated with him in practice and in the management of 
 the famous Turner Rest Home and Sanitarium, but the success of the same 
 has been due as much to her efforts as to his. She is a member of the Iowa 
 State Aledical Society. She was one of the founders of the Colfax Public 
 Library, of which she has been president for many years ; she also belongs to 
 the Chautauqua Literary and Scientific Circle, the Woman's Christian Temper- 
 ance Union and the \\'oman's Relief Corps. In 1886 and 1887 she filled the 
 position of health officer of Colfax, being the first woman in Iowa to fill such 
 a position. She has read many able papers before the above named literarv 
 and medical societies. She is a scholarly, cultured and refined ladv whom to 
 know is to esteem for her many commendable attributes of head and heart 
 and she numbers her friends only by the limits of her acquaintance. She is 
 a worthy member of the Unitarian church. Although necessarily \er\r busy 
 in her professional and club work, she is none the less a faithful mother and 
 home-loving woman. On July 24. 1874. she began keeping a diary, a daily 
 record of transpiring events of interest which she has continued to the pres- 
 ent time, and she has induced her son and daughter to begin keeping a dailv 
 journal. These children are. Vera, born October 2. 1881. who was gradu- 
 ated from Wellesley College in 1895, married J. A\'. Preston, now a resident 
 of Colfax, and they are the parents of one child, Ruth Alice, born fulv 13. 
 191 1 ; Carroll John Turner, who was born March 28, 1893, was graduated 
 from the local high school and he is now attending Drake Universitv at 
 Des Moines, intending to follow the medical profession. 
 
 WILLIA^r ADAMSON. 
 
 The importance that attaches to the lives, character and work of those 
 who took the initiative in the work of transforming the country from its wild 
 condition into its present high state of development, and the influence they 
 have exerted upon the cause of humanity and civilization is one of the most
 
 486 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 absorbing themes that can possibly attract the attention of the local chroni- 
 cler or historian. If great and beneficent results — results that endure and 
 bless mankind — are the proper measure of the good men do, then who is there 
 in the world's history that may take their places above such men as the late 
 William Adamson, one of the best remembered of Jasper county citizens of a 
 past generation whose good deeds will ne\er be forgotten? 
 
 Mr. Adamson was born March 27, 1841, at Huntsville, Indiana, the son 
 of Enos and Mar}^ Adamson. Enos Adamson died at Savannah. Missouri, 
 and the widow came to Jasper county, Iowa, when William Adamson was 
 about four years old. She entered land from the government and developed 
 a very comfortable home. \\'illiam Adamson remained at home with his 
 mother until he enlisted in the defense of the Stars and Stripes on April i, 
 1861. becoming a member of Company B, Fifth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, 
 from Jasper county, this regiment being known as the ''Jasper Grays." He 
 fought in the battles of Missionary Ridge, Lookout Alountain, Vicksburg. luka, 
 Fort Donelson, Fort Henry and Shiloh. !Mr. Adamson saw much hard ser- 
 vice and was in many tight places, and was once wounded on the head and 
 was sent to the hospital, rejoining the army after his recovery and he was 
 honorably discharged and returned to his mother, who was still living on the 
 home farm in Jasper county. He taught schools in the winter months and 
 farmed in the summer for several years. On December 12, 1867, he was 
 united in marriage with Angeline Poore. a native of W'ichester, Randolph 
 county, Indiana, where she was born May 27, 1841, and she was the daugh- 
 ter of Edwar'd and Nancy A. Poore, who came to Jasper county, Iowa, in an 
 early day when their daughter, Angeline, was young, and here they became 
 well established and were prominent in the days of the first settlers. To this 
 union two sons were born : Paul M. Adamson. who married Leah J. Wheldon, 
 of Marshalltown, Iowa, and they have one child. Maxwell W\, who is attend- 
 ing school at Marshalltown; Earl C. Adamson, the second son of the subject, 
 was married to Daisy M. Lindsey, and to this union two children were born, 
 one of whom died in infancy ; Marcella B. now resides in Newton with his 
 grandmother, Mrs. William Adamson, his mother having passed away when 
 he was a small boy. The second marriage of Earl C. Adamson was to Elois 
 Allen, of Des Moines, Iowa, and to this union one child, Joseph F., was born. 
 
 W^illiam Adamson grew up in Jasper county, received his education in 
 the old-time public schools here and he went to school for a time at the Hazel 
 Dell Academy. He and his family were members of the ^^lethodist church at 
 Newton and he was a prominent member of the Grand Army of the Republic 
 post at Newton and he always upheld the policies of ihc I\cpublican party. For
 
 JASPKR COLXTV, IOWA. 487 
 
 a number of years he a\ as assessor of Sherman township, and he became one of 
 the prominent men of liis county. Air. Adamson was more than an average 
 man, and had a fine education. 
 
 After his marriage, Mr. Adamson remained on the farm only a few 
 years, then on account of faihng health, he moved to Xewton and purchased 
 the home where his widow now resides and there he lived until his death, 
 January 15, 1897, and he was buried at Xewton cemetery. He left his family 
 a beautiful home and several valuable lots in Newton, also another valuable 
 residence property, these holdings of Mrs. Adamson being well situated on 
 East South street in a \'ery desirable residence district of the citv. Airs. 
 Adamson is a woman of estimable characteristics and has a host of warm 
 personal friends who often visit her in her beautiful home. Her family were 
 influential in their locality, and two of her brothers, Thomas J. and George W. 
 Poore, were in the Civil war, the former being in the same company with her 
 husband, William Adamson. and the latter was in the Iowa Cavalr}- and he 
 died while in the service. 
 
 Z. \\\ BLAKELY 
 
 Among the representati\e farmers of Sherman township, Jasper county, 
 the name of Z. W. Blakely, who has now departed from this life for his heav- 
 enly home, is that of a man whose ability and character are often mentioned by 
 those who were familiar with him. Unfaltering in the performance of his 
 duty, whatever that may have been; a thorough and persevering Christian 
 throughout all the days of his life, he was a citizen of the type to whom the 
 state of Iowa owes her greatness. 
 
 Z. \\'. Blakely was born on a farm in Knox county, Ohio, Pike town- 
 ship, on January 29, 1830, the son of Hugh and Catherine Blakely. His father 
 spent his days in farming, and his son early took up his father's occupation 
 and followed it to the end of his days. He remained on the home farm until 
 he was married, on November 8, 1849, to Elizabeth Ivunckel. who was born 
 in the same township as he, on December 2, 183 1, the daughter of Samuel and 
 Elizabeth Kunckel. After marriage Mr. and Airs. Blakely remained on the 
 farm of Airs. Blakely's parents for three years, lived on different farms in 
 Knox county, and in i860 moved to Aluscatine county, Iowa, shortly after- 
 ward to Cedar county, where they lived for eight years, then in 1870 came to 
 Jasper county. Here they lived each year accumulating and adding slowly 
 to their property, until Air. Blakely 's death, on Alarch 2-j , 1898. At the time
 
 ^88 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 of his death, he was tlie owner of an excellent farm of one hundred and twenty 
 acres, the cultivation of which had well repaid him. 
 
 To the union of Z. \\'. Blakely and Elizabeth Kunckcl nine children 
 were born, of whom three are now living. Catherine Isabella is the wife of 
 W. M. Guessford, of Newton, and the mother of six children: Cora, Ed- 
 ward W., Elmer, James, Lula and Earl. ^lary married Jacob Klein, of Jas- 
 per county, to whom she has borne two children, Thelma and Florence E. 
 Maggie is married to O. N. Green, of Newton, and has one son, Lester. Mr. 
 and Mrs. Blakely also reared another child, Fanny, now the wife of O. G. 
 Braley. near Kellogg, Iowa. 
 
 In politics Z. \\'. Blakely was a Democrat before the war, then became a 
 stanch Republican, and in his later life voted the Prohibitionist ticket. At the 
 age of seventeen he united with the Methodist church, and was ever 
 afterward a faithful meml^er. He was a class leader in the church at Newton, 
 and took a leading part in all the affairs of the congregation. Honest and 
 hardworking, of honor and integrity above reproach, he was a successful 
 farmer, and left his family well provided for. He was much liked by those 
 who knew him. for in his daily life he exemplified the teachings of the Christ 
 in whom he had faith, and showed to the world a most lovable, and at the same 
 time a strong character. To his wife and family he was a model husband 
 and father, ranking his duty to his family as only next to, and indeed as a part 
 of. his dut\- to his God. and his tenderness towards the members of his family 
 was very noticeable. Such were the excellencies of the character of this man, 
 that his taking off wrought an especial hardship on those who were intimately 
 associated with him. and thus received the advantages of his advice and his 
 presence, and to them tlie loss was great, their grief consoled onK- l)y the 
 knowledge that he had gone to a fitting reward. 
 
 .MADISON TICE. 
 
 To point out the way, to make possi])le our present advancing civilization, 
 its happy homes, its arts and sciences, its discoveries and inventions, its edu- 
 cation, literature, culture, refinement and social life and joy. is to be truly 
 great benefactors of mankind for all time. This was the great work accom- 
 plished by the early settlers and it is granted by all that they builded wiser 
 than they knew. Such a one was the well remembered and highly revered late 
 Madison Tice. a sterling character, whose life was fraught with many good
 
 JASPER COUXTV, IOWA. 489 
 
 deeds and whose record was above reproach, a man whom to know was to 
 honor and admire and whose record may be held up as worthy of imitation 
 by the youth of this locahty whose destinies are still matters for the future to 
 determine. 
 
 Mr. Tice was born September 28, 1827, near Wheeling. West Virginia, 
 and he was the son of Jacob and Jane Tice, who lived on a farm there, and 
 who, later in life, moved to Illinois, locating in Menard county on a farm of 
 one hundred and sixty acres, which they purchased in 1847, i^i which year 
 their son. ]^fadison, of this review, came to Jasper county, Iowa, and located 
 on one hundred and sixty acres, near Monroe, being among the pioneers. 
 Here he set to work with a will and, although beset with many obstacles, he 
 developed a good farm and home, which he sold in 1850 and moved to 
 Mahaska county, this state, where he purchased three hundred and twenty 
 acres which is now owned by his widow. It is \ery well located, being four 
 miles from Pella. There ^Ir. Tice lived until his death, April 30, 1896. He 
 developed an excellent farm by hard work and good management and accumu- 
 lated a competency. 
 
 On September 5. 1854. ]\Ir. Tice was united in marriage with Xancy 
 Mays, who was born March 8. 1836. in Highland county, Ohio, near Chilli- 
 cothe. She was the daughter of Charles and Mary Mays, who came to Iowa 
 in an early day and were living on a fann near Oskaloosa when tneir daughter 
 Xancv was married. 
 
 To Mr. Tice and wife eleven children were born, namely : One died in 
 infancv; the ten living are, Theopolus D. married Harriet A. Godby, and they 
 have five children. Lester C, William M.. Delia J., May B. and Veda G. : 
 Manella Tice married J. E. Hull and they liave five children, Madison, O. K., 
 Homer H., Pearl and Frank: Alary Tice married J. W. Straughan. l)ut this 
 union has been without issue ; Louisa Tice married Luther Lawrence, and they 
 have three children, Lucy I., Nancy M. and Harvey T. Minnie Tice married 
 E. X. Grimes, and they have two children, Gladys C. and Ruth W. ; C. G. 
 Tice married Lovina Jarard. which union has been without issue: Cora Tice 
 married F. P. McAdoo and they have four children. Avis C, Irene E., 
 Frances C. and Beulah K. : Hattie M. Tice married O. L. McAuley, which 
 union has been without issue: Daniel T. Tice married Gertrude Williamson 
 and they have one child, Ruth J. ; Lottie Tice has remained single and is living 
 with her mother and assisting in keeping their beautiful and well furnished 
 home at Xo. 319 X^'orth Mechanic street. 
 
 Madison Tice held to the creed of the Christian church, which he at- 
 tended, although he was not a member. He was active as a member of the
 
 ^yO • JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Peoria, Iowa, and in political affairs 
 he was always a stanch Democrat. 
 
 After his death, Mrs. Tice remained on the farm near Pella, Mahaska 
 county, for seven years, then came to Newton on ]^Iarch lo, 1902, and pur- 
 chased the home where she now resides, mentioned above. 
 
 Mr. Tice was a successful and enterprising farmer and he was a man who 
 was popular among his neighbors, being charital)le. hospitable and always 
 honest. 
 
 R. H. BAILEY. 
 
 Every human being either submits to the controlling intluence of others 
 or wields an influence which touches, controls, guides or misdirects others. 
 If he be honest and successful in his chosen field of endeavor, investigation 
 will brighten his reputation and point the way along which others may follow 
 with like success. Consequently a critical study of the life record of the 
 honored young man whose name forms the caption of this paragraph will 
 be of interest to many readers of this history, for it is one of usefulness and 
 correct conduct. 
 
 R. H. Bailey, the present popular and efficient county recorder of Jasper 
 county, was born in Des Aloines township, near \"andalia, this county, June 23, 
 1880. He is the representative of one of the sterling early families of 
 Jasper county, being the son of N. P. and Xancv J. (Keating) Bailey. The 
 elder Bailey w«s a native of Illinois, from wliich state he came to Jasper 
 county, Iowa, in 1855, locating on a farm in Des ]\Ioines township, which 
 he soon had under excellent improvements and had esta1)lished a good home 
 where he spent the remainder of his life, dying in 1901, at the age of sixty- 
 six years. His wife was a native of Penns\l\ania. from which state she 
 moved with her parents to Ohio and thence to Iowa about 1855. with her 
 parents. She is still living, making her home in Vandalia ; she is a woman 
 or fine Chri-stian characteristics. 
 
 Five children were born to Mr. and Mrs. X. P. Bailey, namely: H. C, 
 deceased; J. E. lives in Des Moines; Edna Pearl is the wife of W. J. Bruner, 
 of St. Louis; M. Coral is the wife of F. A. Vaughan, of Primghar, Iowa; 
 R. 11., of this review. These cliildren received good common school educa- 
 tions and are well situated in life, respected in \vliate\ cr cr)mmnnity they liave 
 cast their lot.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 49I 
 
 R. H. Bailey, of this review, grew to maturity on the home farm where 
 he assisted with the general work about the place and during his youth 
 attended the neighboring schools in the winter time, receiving a good educa- 
 tion which has been supplemented in later life by general home reading and 
 study. He remained on the parental acres until he was elected county re- 
 corder in 1908 on the Republican ticket, in which year he moved to Xewton 
 and where he has since resided. He has long taken an acti\e part in the 
 affairs of the party, and his selection to the important positicjn he now 
 occupies is looked upon as a very fortunate one. owing to the fact that he has 
 discharged his duties in this capacity in a most effective and praiseworthy 
 manner, giving entire satisfaction to all concerned. So faithful and well 
 did he discharge his duties during his first term that he was his partv's choice 
 for re-election in 19 lo. 
 
 Fraternally, I\Ir. Bailey is a memlier of the Knights of FVthias. the 
 Masonic order and the ]\Iodem \A'oodmen, standing high in each, and in 
 religious matters he is a member of the Christian church. 
 
 Mr. Bailey was married June 7. 1911, to Anna L. Sauerman, daughter of 
 C. F. Sauerman. of Xewton. 
 
 FRANK SELLMAN. 
 
 It is not the weaklings who accomplish worthy ends in the face of op- 
 position, but those with nerve and initiative whose motto is "He never fails 
 who never gi\es up," and with this terse aphorism ever in view, emblazoned 
 on the pillar of clouds, as it were, before them, they forge ahead until the 
 sunny summits of men are reached and they can breathe the purer air that 
 inspires the souls of men in respite. Such has been the history of Frank Sell- 
 man, a leading business man of Newton, who was born October 4, 1868. in 
 Jasper county, Iowa, on a farm in Elk Creek township. He is the son of 
 Charles O. and Lucinda ((iraffis) Sellman, the father a native of ^Maryland 
 and the mother of Ohio. They grew to maturity in the East and were edu- 
 cated there, and they came to Iowa in 1855, locating among the early settlers 
 of Elk Creek township. Jasper county, where they became well established, 
 developed a good farm and became influential in the community. Grandfather 
 Beal Sellman came to ]\Iarion county, Iowa, in an early day and he operated 
 there one of the first mills in the state. The death of Charles O. Sellman oc- 
 curred in Tune. 1886. while middle aged, having been born in 1842. His wife
 
 _|Qj JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 is living in Buena \'ista township, this county. The father devoted his life 
 to farming and he held a nnnil)er of minor local offices. He was a soldier in 
 the Civil war, having enlisted in Company E, Fortieth Iowa \'olunteer In- 
 fantrv. in which he served faithfully for three years. He was in the siege 
 of \'icksburg and many other engagements. His family consisted of four 
 children, two of whom are living: Hattie died when seven years old; Blanche 
 is the wife of Grant Wheatcraft. of Buena A'ista township: Jessie died in in- 
 fancv : Frank, of this review. 
 
 Frank Sellman worked on the home farm during his youth and lived 
 there until he came to Newton in 1906. He received a good education in the 
 common schools, which has since been supplemented by home reading and 
 actual business experience. He- was seventeen years old when his father died, 
 and after that he farmed for himself. (The father died from the effects of a 
 kick from a horse.) 
 
 The subject received his business training in the Western Normal Col- 
 lege at Shenandoah, Iowa, from which he was graduated. In igo6 he was 
 elected county auditor on the Democratic ticket, and he made such an ex- 
 cellent record that he was re-elected in 1908, filling the duties of this office 
 in a manner that has reflected much credit upon himself and gained the ad- 
 miration of all concerned. His term expired January i, 191 1, and he is now 
 devoting his time exclusively to the hardware business, having been in partner- 
 ship with H. M. Cox for some time, at Newton. They carry a large and care- 
 fullv selected line and have built up a very satisfactory patronage. 
 
 Mr. Sellman was married on February 17, 1895, to Laura Cooper, daugh- 
 ter of A. V. Cooper, a well known citizen, living near Prairie City, Iowa, and 
 to this union eight children have been born : Jessie, Jean, Robert, Florence, 
 Arthur, Urith, Frances, Esther, all at home and all in school except the two 
 youngest. 
 
 Mrs. Sellman is a member of the Christian church, and fraternally Mr. 
 Sellman is a Mason, belonging to the Knights Templar and the Shriners. 
 
 TOHN M. EMERY. 
 
 The highest claim to the crown of good citizenship of John M. Emery, a 
 gentleman too well known all over the state of Iowa to need any introduction 
 here, is his universal dedication of himself to all moral and uplifting public 
 issues. Point out the right side of all questions of vital public and general
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 493 
 
 interest and there you will hnd ^Ir. Emery arrayed as an advocate and tighter, 
 and his popularity is well deserved, as in him are embraced the characteristics 
 of unabating energy, unbending integrity, unswerving public spirit and an in- 
 dustry that never flags, having gained the confidence and good will of his 
 fellow men in all the relations of life by his genial address, his straightfor- 
 ward business policy and his unquestioned loyalty to life's higher ideals. 
 
 Like many of the best citizens of Jasper county. Mr. Emery hails from 
 the old Empire state, his birth having occurred in Steuben county. New York, 
 July 31, 1849, h^ being the scion of a sterling old family, the son of A. G. 
 and Alice (Chatfield) Emery, both natives of New York, the mother's par- 
 ents having come from Massachusetts, and the paternal grandfather served 
 his country under Washington at Valley Forge. A. G. Emery was a Baptist 
 minister and for many years was prominent in that denomination. He grew 
 to maturity and was educated in his native state, and in 1854 he brought his 
 family to Iowa, locating in Fayette county, and the following year he entered 
 one hundred and sixty acres of land in Clayton county, and there began 
 farming and preaching. He was successful and to his original holdings he 
 added land until he owned a fine farm of two hundred and forty acres. In 
 1875 he sold this and moved to Kansas, where he homesteaded one hundred 
 and sixty acres, also took up a timber claim of one hundred and sixty acres, 
 and there he spent ten years, preaching and farming, then sold out and moved 
 to Xorton, Kansas, where he lived eight years, thence moved to Boulder, Colo- 
 rado, where he spent the remaining years of his life, dying when past eighty- 
 seven years of age, and there he was buried. He was a good and useful 
 man and highly honored wherever he went. His wife a most excellent wo- 
 man, died at Bennett, Colorado, two years later at the age of eighty-five. Rev. 
 A. G. Emery was a remarkable man in many ways ; he was exceptionally 
 alert, vital and forceful, and possessed the magnetic ability to sway all who 
 came into contact with him. His voice was musical and at the same time 
 powerful and his eloquence impassioned and all-pervading. He was a born 
 leader of men. and, whether from the pulpit or lecture platform, he always 
 carried his audience with him. He took a deep interest in politics and was 
 ever the champion of things worth while. He was a fine example of that 
 sturdv band of pioneer citizens who ha\e made the Middle \\'est the great 
 and prosperous land that it is today. His wife was a woman of sweet and 
 gentle character, bringing into her home life the most benign and uplifting 
 influence and she was of great assistance to her husband in his work. She- 
 remained at home and took care of the family while he took a course in 
 Hamilton College. Xew York, through which institution he worked his way. 
 They became the parents of nine children, one of whom died in infancy;
 
 _]Q_|. JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Ogden L. died at Xorton, Kansas, in 1885; Eftie married Andrew Gibson 
 and died in Smith county, Kansas, in 1895, leaving five children; Hattie mar- 
 ried Charles Frye, and she died in Boulder, Colorado, in 1908; those living 
 besides John ]\I., of this review, are: Charles L., of Bennett, Colorado; Dr. 
 H. G., of Denver, Colorado; R. D., of Des ]\Ioines, who is secretary of the 
 Great \\'estern Accident Association ; Lettie married William Roundtree and 
 lives at Bennett, Colorado. 
 
 John M. Emery received a good education in the home schools and he 
 started out for himself early in life. In 1869 he was married to Ellen L. 
 Lawrence, a natixe of New York. Her parents spent their lives on a farm 
 and are now both deceased. Mrs. Emery is one of eleven children, six of 
 whom are living, namely: Mary A. is the widow of Benjamin Hunt, of Ken- 
 sington, Kansas ; Estella married T. J. Piper and they live at Greeley, Colo- 
 rado; ]\Iyra is the wife of J. A. Lawrence, living in Wisconsin; A. T. lives at 
 Newton, Iowa; Ellen, wife of Mr. Emery, was the youngest of the family. 
 
 After renting a part of his father's farm in Clayton county, Iowa, John 
 M. Emery began farming, but six months later he took up the insurance 
 business, at w hich he worked steadily for ten years, then sold out and took a 
 position in a store for a year, after which he went on the road as traveling 
 salesman for a gents' furnishing house, with which he continued for five years. 
 He then took his present position with the Irwin-Phillips Company, of Keo- 
 kuk. ha\'ing given them his usual high grade service and being regarded as 
 one of their most efficient and trustworthy employes. 
 
 Mr. Emery has made a special study of many languages, devoting special 
 attention to the Swedish, mastering the same so perfectly that he can assume 
 the role of a Swede for an indefinite time without being detected, even among 
 Swedes. Added to this accomplishment is a rare sense of humor that is de- 
 lightful in the extreme, consequently, being a good mixer, he is popular with 
 all classes. He has a happy faculty of making after-dinner speeches, having 
 frequently appeared at banquets and public gatherings, and his company is 
 eagerly sought wherever he goes. Personally, he is a man whom it is a 
 pleasure to meet, jovial, kind, hospitable, unselfish. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Emery have been born the following children : Bur- 
 dett R. lives in Abilene, Kansas ; Theodosia married Jesse T. Tripp, and they 
 are living at Bennett, Colorado; Aveiy lives in Newton. 
 
 Fraternally, Mr. Emery belongs to Newton Lodge No. 59, Ancient Free 
 and Accepted Masons, of Newton, and Gebal Chapter No. 12, Royal Arch 
 Masons. He also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America at Newton. 
 He has a pleasant and well furnished home at Newton.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 495 
 
 THOMAS R. PHILLIPS. 
 
 The present sketch is concerned witli the Hfe of a man who was for- 
 merly one of the prominent farmers of Jasper county. In all the relations of 
 life he was faithful in every respect to the highest standard of duty, whether 
 in the service of his country in war, or in the every-day duties of his peaceful 
 farm. Though for some time he has been a resident of the better land, his 
 memory still lives in the hearts of his affectionate wife and children, the lat- 
 ter of whom are now occupying useful positions in the work of the world to- 
 day. 
 
 Thomas R. Phillips was born in Steubenville, JefYerson countv. Ohio, 
 on December 22, 1833, the son of Henry and Maria Phillips. When he was 
 seven years of age his parents came to Knox county, Ohio, and here he 
 grew to manhood on a farm eight miles west of the city of Mount Vernon. 
 On the 9th day of November, 1856, he was married to Harriett Rebecca 
 Allfree, of Green Valley, in the same county, for whom his friendship dating 
 from boyhood had ripened into love. In August, 1862, he enlisted in the 
 sendee of the United States government in Company E, Ninety-sixth Ohio 
 Infantry, thus freely offering, if need be, his life to his countr}-. His regi- 
 ment was under the command of Col. W. C. Cooper, of Mount Vernon, and 
 soon after joining it Mr. Phillips was detached from his company, and made 
 wagon master of his division, a position which he filled honorably and effi- 
 ciently until he was honorabl}^ discharged from the service on account of ill 
 health. In 1864 Mr. Phillips and his family moved to Iowa, where he ex- 
 pected to find, and did find, greater opportunity in farming than in his native 
 state. He lived on his farm of one hundred and twenty acres until 1883. 
 when he removed to Newton, there erected a handsome residence at No. 319 
 South Market street, and lived here until his death, on March 4, 1903, his 
 life lacking but a few months of reaching the three score and ten allotted to 
 man. His wddoAV is still living in the home on South Market street. Mr. 
 Phillips, as well as his family, was d. member of the Methodist church of 
 Newton, and took an active part in church work. Fraternally, he was a 
 member of the Masons and the Knights of Pythias, and the Grand Army 
 counted him as one of the most enthusiastic of its members. 
 
 The children o£ Thomas R. and Harriett R. Phillips are : Edward, de- 
 ceased; Arthur A., deceased; Ella M., the wife of William Yost, of Newton, 
 to whom she has borne one child, Cecil B. ; Ida M., deceased, formerly the 
 wife of Charles Downs, of Kansas.
 
 ^g(j JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA. 
 
 Thomas R. Phillips was a man liked and respected by all who knew him, 
 on account of the many strong and worthy features of his character. Of a 
 companionable disposition, enjoying the society of his brother man, welcome 
 in all gatherings, kind and generous to the poor and needy, he was in the 
 bosom of his family the most affectionate of husbands and kindest of fathers. 
 In war a brave and gallant soldier, in peace a substantial, public spirited citi- 
 zen, to all mankind a friend, to his family all in all, and they all in all to 
 liim — v^i^ich was Thomas R. Phillips, whose taking away left a vacanc)' not to 
 be tilled in the ranks of the citizens of Newton. 
 
 w. o. Mcelroy. 
 
 There is no member of the Jasper county bar who occupies a higher 
 position in the estimation of the people than does W. O. McElroy, attorney, 
 whose office is over the Jasper County Bank. During his many years of 
 practice he has built up a very large clientele and he occupies a peculiar posi- 
 tion before the people in that he is regarded as an exceedingly safe counselor 
 in all matters pertaining to legal questions. It speaks well for any man who 
 may have the confidence of the people to such an extent that he is regarded 
 as especially adapted to the settlement of estates and matters of equity. Mr. 
 McElroy holds this position. His serAdces are likewise in large demand 
 where the drawing of intricate papers is involved, in fact, as a lawyer, he is 
 easily the peer of any of his professional brethren throughout the state, and 
 the honorable distinction already achieved at the bar is an earnest of the still 
 wider sphere of usefulness that he is destined to fill, and the higher honors 
 to be achieved in years to come as he is yet in the prime of manhood and a 
 close observer of the trend of the times and an intelligent student of the great 
 questions and issues upon which the thought of the best minds of the world 
 are centered. 
 
 Mr. r^TcElroy was born in Fayette county, Ohio, February 2, 1858, of 
 a sterling old family of the Buckeye state, his parents being Hugh and Martha 
 (Kerr) McElroy, both natives of Ohio, where they grew to maturity, re- 
 ceived their education and married, and where they began life on a farm, 
 emigrating to Jasper county, Iowa, when their son, W. O., of this review, was 
 eleven years of age, locating about five miles north of Newton. Here the 
 father continued to reside for forty years, becoming well established and an 
 influential man in his community, making this his home until his death, De- 
 cember 8, 1908, having attained the advanced age of eighty-nine years. He
 
 Qir^^.^^iA^'e'^^ .
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 497 
 
 spent his last days in Xewtun. where his death occurred. He Hved to see and 
 take part in the wonderful development of the county, being one of the hon- 
 ored pioneers, and known as an honest, plain, modest, unassuming gentle- 
 man whom to know was to respect. He owned a good farm and was in- 
 du.strious and thrifty. His wife passed away in 1880 at the age of fifty-four 
 years. They were the parents of eight children, six of whom are living: J. 
 K. makes his home near Waterloo, ]owa: Mrs. Lizzie A. Winstead, of Cir- 
 cleville, Ohio; Margaret H. Vanatta, of Newton, Iowa; W. O., of this 
 review; Charles S. is living on the old home farm five miles north of Xewton ; 
 Hugh E. lives in Boise. Idaho, where he is practicing law; Mrs. Agnes 
 McClain died when thirty years of age. in 1876; Mattie died when eighteen 
 years old. 
 
 W. O. McElroy spent his early life on the home farm where he assisted 
 with the general work during the crop season, attending the common schools 
 in the winter time, also took a course at Hazel Dell Academy at Xewton, 
 When twenty-one years old he entered Ames College, taking a course in 
 civil engineering, graduating there in 1881. For two years he successfully 
 followed this profession. Ijut ha\ing entertained a laudable ambition to enter 
 the legal profession, he accordingly began the study of law in 1883 with 
 Col. David R}an, of X'e\\ton, and. ha\ing made rapid progress, was admitted 
 to the bar six months later. In May. 1884. he formed a partnership with his 
 ])receptor, which continued most success full}' until Colonel Ryan went on the 
 bench in January, 1887, at which time Mr. McElroy formed a partnership 
 with J. A. Kerr, now of Seattle, Washington, this partnership continuing for 
 three years, Mr. McElroy having been alone most of the time since, taking a 
 first ])lace among his professional brethren in this section of the state and 
 figuring prominently in all the local courts, keeping abreast of the times in 
 all matters pertaining to his profession and devoting his attention almost 
 exclusively to his work. 
 
 The domestic life of Mr. McElroy l)egan on September 6, 1888, when 
 he was united in marriage with Julia Cavanagh. of Iowa City, a lady of re- 
 finement and many estimable traits and the representative of a prominent 
 family there, being the daughter of Matthew Cavanaugh. a prominent citizen 
 of Iowa Citv. He and Marv Fellows constituted the first class of Cornell 
 College at Mt. A'ernon. Iowa. Mrs. }kIcElroy was graduated from the State 
 University. This union has been bjessed by the birth of the following chil- 
 dren : Margaret, who is a junior at Cornell University. Ithaca. Xew York: 
 Harold is attending the Iowa State College at Ames; Richard is a junior in 
 the Xewton high school; Carroll, who is now ten years old. is attending the 
 home schools. 
 
 (32)
 
 498 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. McElroY has, by careful and prudent management and methods of 
 strict integrity, acquired a handsome competence. He is a director in the 
 Jasper County Savings Bank, and he has some vahiable landed interests in 
 Idaho. His home on East Main street, Newton, is a commodious, modern 
 and attractive one where the many friends of the family frequently gather. 
 
 ^Ir. ]\IcElr(iy has e\ er kept in touch with the affairs of his city and 
 countv and is an ardent advocate and liberal patron of all worthy enterprises 
 making for their advancement and prosperity. His activity in behalf of every 
 movement for the good of his fellow citizens has endeared him to the people 
 among whom the greater part of his life has been spent, and his popularity 
 is bounded onlv l)y the limits of his accpiaintance. He has served as city so- 
 licitor, countv attorney, as a member of the school board and he has been 
 president of the library board ever since the library was built, about sixteen 
 years ago, in fact, the cit}- is largely indebted to him for securing the hand- 
 some donation ])\- Andrew Carnegie for the building, and Mr. McElroy spent 
 a great deal of time in seeing that the building was erected according to plans 
 and specifications, spending a great deal more time in this way than one would 
 naturally suppose, but he has the good of the community at heart and has 
 ever sought to sen-e the public well. For nearly twenty years he has been 
 trustee of the Iowa State College at Ames, and he was chairman of the 
 board for six years. He has been elected one of the trustees to administer 
 the specific fund of one hundred and fifty thousand dollars given by G. A\\ 
 Catt to the State College at Ames. He is loyal to the Republican party, but 
 is not especially active in political affairs. Fraternally, he stands high in 
 Masonic circles, being a member of the blue lodge, and having attained the 
 Royal Arch and Knight Templar degrees. He and his family worship at the 
 Congregational church. 
 
 Mr. McElroy is deepl\- interested in educational affairs and he was 
 chairman of the committee on faculty and course of study at the State College 
 at Ames for more than ten years, this being the most important committee in 
 the college. Mrs. ^ilcFlroy has also been acti\e in educational matters, and 
 she A\ as head of the local high school for fwe years ]irevious to her marriage. 
 
 Ml'. McElroy is always master of himself in ihe trial of cases and is 
 rarely not at his best, being uniformly courteous and deferential toward the 
 court and forbearing to his opponents. His treatment of his case is always 
 full of comprehension and accurate, his analysis of the facts clear and ex- 
 hausti\'e, and he seems to grasp without effort the relation and dependence of 
 facts, and so groups them as to enable him to throw their combined force 
 ui)on tlie point they tend to prove. He is not onl\- an able and reliable coun-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 499 
 
 selor, with a thorough acquaintance of the principles, intricacies and com- 
 plexities of jurisprudence, but his honesty is such that he has frequently 
 advised against long and expensive litigation, and this, too, at the loss of 
 liberal fees which otherwise he could have easily earned. He is a man of the 
 people, cosmopolitan in his ideas and of such sterling qualities as to render 
 him popular with all classes; however, he is a plain, straightforward and un- 
 assuming citizen who is merely seeking to live a wholesome life in all its re- 
 lations, and while benefiting himself, does not neglect his broader duties to 
 the county, state, nation and his fellow men in general. 
 
 TOBIAS SHAFFER. 
 
 An enumeration of those men of a past generation in Jasper county who 
 won honor and puljlic recognition for themselves and at the same time hon- 
 ored the locality to which they belonged, would be incomplete were there fail- 
 ure to make mention of the late Tobias Shaffer, one of the prominent and sub- 
 stantial citizens of Xewton, who, through all life's vicissitudes, sustained a 
 ver}- enviable reputation in all circles, and left behind him the greatest of all 
 inheritances, a good name, something to be desired, according to Hoi}' \\'rit. 
 much more than silver and fine gold. 
 
 Air. Shaffer ^^•as born May 24, 1839, in Bedford county. Pennsylvania, 
 the son of Philip and Rebecca Shaffer, of that county, where they spent their 
 lives engaged in farming pursuits, and there the subject grew to maturit}'. 
 assisting with the general work about the place and attending the public 
 schools during the winter months, remaining with his parents until he was 
 married to Amanda Ressler, August 22, 1862. She was born May 29, 1842, 
 in Bedford county. Pennsylvania, and was the daughter of \\'illiam and 
 Elenor Ressler, of that county, where they spent their lives engaged in farm- 
 ing. 
 
 Four days after his marriage Tobias Shaffer proved his patriotism and 
 his loyalty to the flag by enlisting on August 26, 1862, in Company F, One 
 Hundred and Thirty-eighth Pennsylvania \'olunteer Infantry, and he re- 
 mained in the army nearly three years, proving to be a very gallant soldier. 
 He was wounded at the battle of Fisher's Hill. September 22, 1864, having 
 been shot through the left knee. Later he was taken to a hospital at Phila- 
 delphia, where his limb was amputated. After he recovered he returned to 
 his wife at the old home in Bedford county. Pennsylvania, and tliere they re-
 
 :;e.O JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 mained until 1871. when they came to Jasper county Iowa, and located on a 
 farm near \\'ittemberg. Remaining" there three and one-half vears. they 
 moved to Xewton and purchased a home. Mrs. Sliaffer resides at Xo. 208 
 East Xorth street, lie retired from actixe life, after accumulating" a com- 
 petency. 
 
 Two children were born to Mr. and ]Mrs. Shaffer, Joe W'.. born Decem- 
 ber 31. 1866, in Bedford county. Pennsxlxania, married Edith Stine. of St. 
 Joseph, ^Missouri, and one child was born to them wlio died in infancy. The 
 death of Joe \\'. Shaffer occurred in St. Louis. August 10. 1904. Alberta 
 Mav Shaffer was born in Jasper county, Iowa, August 6, 1873. She married 
 Andrew Stewart and thev live at Rockwell City. Iowa, where he is an exten- 
 sive farmer and cattle dealer. They have three children, namely : Eugene, 
 Ruth and Donald, who are all attending school at Rockwell City. 
 
 Tobias Shaffer was a member of the Lutheran church. Mrs. Shaffer 
 belongs to the Christian church. ]\Ir. Shaft'er was an active member of the 
 Grand Army of the Republic at N^ewton. Iowa. In political affairs he was a 
 Democrat, but later in life became a stanch Republican, remaining so until his 
 death. Owing to his being disabled in the arm}- his government remembered 
 him with a pension of fifty-seven dollars per month as long as he lived, and 
 his widow now receives twelve dollars per month. Her beautiful and well 
 furnished home in X^ewton is often the gathering place for her many warm 
 friends. 
 
 JOHX MOSS. 
 
 The foundation principles of all American institutions are English, and 
 no nationality of people who have come to this country have so affected the 
 destinies of the country as have the English. The majority of the earlies^t set- 
 tlers were English and they gave the type to our institutions. But in later 
 days immigration from England has greatly Jessened, in comparison with that 
 from the continental countries, so that it is the exception to find in this coun- 
 try those of English birth, thus directly coming from that little island whose 
 people rule over the largest empire which the world has known, whose lan- 
 guage is spoken by far more persons than any other European language, and 
 whose sons and daughters, wherever found, typify the elements which have 
 made their country so great. 
 
 John Moss was born in Worsall, Staffordshire, England, on March 15, 
 1832. anrl received his earlv education in the Blue School, from whicli lie
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 5OI 
 
 graduated with high honors, manifesting in his boyhood the intellectual abil- 
 ity and the perseverance which were characteristic of his life. In England he 
 became a grainer and decorator, and followed that occupation until 1869, when 
 he came with his wife and family to Jasper county, Iowa, and there resided 
 until his death, on December 8, 1885. More than thirty years ago he estab- 
 lished the first floristry in Xewton, and this plant is still in operation bv his 
 widow and children as the only one in Xewton today. The business, which 
 was quite profitable in the lifetime of Mr. Moss, has greatly increased, and 
 the up-to-date establishment is very attractive. 
 
 John Moss was a stanch Republican and always stood up for the i)rinci- 
 ples of that party, in which he was an active worker. In religion he was a 
 member of the Episcopal church and took a prominent and leading part in 
 the church work at Xewton. for as a true Christian he believed that his efforts 
 could be nowhere better spent. He was a man of strong and vigorous charac- 
 ter, of influence in the affairs of his community, greatly devoted to his wife 
 and family, to whom he was ever a kind and loving husband and father. Mr. 
 yioss. was one of the solid and substantial citizens of Xewton. of whom his 
 adopted countr}- might be as proud as he was of her, and he filled a unique 
 place in the city of X'ewton. which no other man could enter into. 
 
 Mr. ]Moss was married on August i, 1864. to Eliza Hanson, the daugh- 
 ter of Thomas and Jane Hanson, born in Birmingham, England, on August 
 19. 1844. Five years after marriage Mr. and Mrs. Moss came to America 
 and located at Xewton, Iowa. To their union fourteen children were born, 
 of whom but four are living: Arthur A. ]\Ioss, born July 13, 1865, in Xorth 
 Wales, Great Britain. li\es in Ottumwa. Iowa; Charles A. ^loss, of Spartan- 
 burg. South Carolina: Anna E. and Sidney H. ]\Ioss. living in Xewton with 
 their mother and managing the fioristr}^ 
 
 After the death of Mr. ]^Ioss his widow was married to James Lister. 
 
 James Lister was born on February 9, 1830, in Yorkshire, England. He 
 began his business career in Bradford, England, where he remained for seven 
 years, and is supposed to have been the first butcher in that city. In 1856 he 
 came to Xewton. Iowa, and engaged with Murhorn & Brothers, millers, for 
 some time. Later he farmed in Jasper county. Iowa, and at the time of his 
 death was the owner of a considerable amount of property in Xewton. On 
 Julv 13. 1902, he passed away, and his remains were interred in Xewton 
 cemeterv. In politics Mr. Lister was a Republican and his religious affilia- 
 tions were with the ]\Iormon church. He was a man well known in Xewton. 
 a good, conservative business man. w ith many friends, and who possessed the 
 esteem and respect of all who knew him. and had the highest reputation for 
 integritv and uprightness. He was in many affairs a leader of his neighbors.
 
 -Q2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Tames Lister was first married in Bradford, England, to Mrs. Ann Fos- 
 ter, the daughter of George Ingle, who was born on July 3. 1825, in York- 
 shire. England. She was the mother of one child bv her previous marriage, 
 Diniah. now ]\Irs. Needham. Mrs. Ann Lister died in Jasper county in 1890, 
 and on April 25. 1895, Mr. Lister was married to Mrs. John Moss, of New- 
 ton, and after this marriage he lived in Newton until his death. 
 
 Mrs. James Lister is an accomplished lady of refinement, who herself 
 attends to much of her business affairs, and takes her full share in the social, 
 church and philanthropic activities of Newton, and is always ready to aid any 
 deserving person who is in need. 
 
 SAMUEL PIERCE WILLIAMS. 
 
 For many years the late Samuel Pierce Williams was actively identified 
 with the life of Johnson county, playing a role of no mean consequence in her 
 affairs and becoming widely known as one of her honored citizens. His well 
 directed efforts in the practical affairs of life, his capable management of his 
 own business interests and his sound judgment brought to him prosperity and 
 his life demonstrated what may be accomplished by the man of energy and 
 ambition who is not afraid to work and has the perseverance to continue his 
 labors, even in the face of seemingly discouraging circumstances. In all the 
 relations of life he commanded the respect and confidence of those with whom 
 he was brought into contact, as was abundantly evidenced on many occasions, 
 and without a suitable record of his life and achievements this volume would 
 l)e incomplete. 
 
 Air. Williams was born on February 6, 1838, in Huntingdon county, 
 Pennsylvania, the son of Thomas and Jane B. Williams, prosperous farmers 
 of that place. In 1843 his parents moved to Centerburg, Knox county, Ohio, 
 vhere the subject received his education. He remained at home with his par- 
 ents until he was twenty-one years of age, then came to Johnson county, Iowa, 
 locating on a farm and the following year, i860. Mr. Williams was united in 
 marriage with Mary Elizabeth Marhis, of that place. She was born in New 
 Jersey, April 17, 1841, the daughter of Benjamin and Lucinda Marhis. She 
 came to Ohio when she was a small girl, where she remained until she was 
 fifteen years old, then came to Jolmson county, Iowa. After her marriage, she 
 and Mr. Williams moved to a farm and there remained several years, later 
 moving to a farm in Shelby county. Iowa, purchasing a fine place of several
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 503 
 
 hundred acres, where he remained until his death, on January i. 1889. He 
 was a successful farmer and was highly respected, his character Ijeing above 
 reproach. To Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Williams five cliildren were born, 
 namely: Berton died in infancy; Lucinda Catherine married Alpheus Leigh, 
 of Shelby county, and she died lea^•ing one daughter, Bessie Lee, who was 
 raised by her grandmother. Airs. Williams, wife of the subject, with whom 
 she still makes her home. Charles E. Williams married h^fiie Davis and they 
 are now living in Omaha, Nebraska; Samuel C. is married and lives at Ames, 
 Iowa. 
 
 Samuel P. Williams, of this review, was a prominent member of the 
 Christian church of Shelby county, and he was a stanch Republican, taking 
 an active part in the affairs of his party. He cast his first vote for Abraham 
 Lincoln. He was very successful as a business man and left an ample com- 
 petency. A few^ years after his death Mrs. Williams came to Xewton and 
 purchased a modern, cozy and neatly furnished home on East South street, 
 where she has since resided. She is highlv esteemed by a wide circle of friends. 
 
 ISALVH B. CARNS. 
 
 The record of Isaiah B. Cams, one of Xewton's most substantial and 
 highly honored citizens, is that of a man who has worked his way from a 
 modest beginning to a position of considerable prominence by ^his efiforts. 
 which have been practicall}- unaided, which fact renders him the more worthv 
 of the praise that is freely accorded him by his fellow men and of the respite 
 that he is enjoying in his declining years. The major part of his life has been 
 one of unceasing industry and perseverance and the notablv systematic and 
 honorable methods he has ever followed ha\e won for him the unbounded 
 confidence and regard of all who have formed his accjuaintance. and in look- 
 ing over the list of Jasper county's representative citizens, none is deemed 
 worthier of a place in the pages of this work than that of the venerable gen- 
 tleman whose name appears above. 
 
 Mr. Cams was born of a sterling old Buckeye family, pioneers of Colum- 
 biana county, Ohio, his birth having occurred in Springfield township, that 
 county, on September 23. 1829. He is the son of Abraham and Elizabeth 
 (Mishey) Cams, natives of Pennsylvania. The father followed farming all 
 his life, coming to Ohio with his young wife in 1808 and settled in what was 
 then a wilderness, in which wild game was plentiful and Indians were numer-
 
 :^04 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ons. Thev bei^an life in a loj^' ca])in and literally hewed (^ut from the woods 
 a farm of one hundred and lift\- aeres, and it was there that Isaiah !>. was 
 born and. his father d\ ini;" when he was hut three years old. he was compelled 
 to work hard as soon as he was old enough to go to the fields, his mother, by 
 indomitable pluck and courage, keeping the family together until the subject 
 was fourteen years of age, then she. too. closed her eyes on earthly scenes. 
 The son, Isaiah W.. then went to Stark county. Ohio, and li\ed with an elder 
 brother two years. Although ha\ing only a limited ojjportunity to attend 
 school, he studied hard at home and \yhen only sixteen years old began teach- 
 ing in the winter months, working on the farm in the summer, continuing 
 thus for four \ ears, in the meantime taking a general course of instruction in 
 Twinsburg Seminary. He then entered Allegheny College, at ]\Ieadyille. 
 Pennsvlyania. w here he remained two years, and he made a splendid record in 
 l)oth these institutions. Later he returned to Ohio and resinned teaching", but 
 after four months he began the regular business course in DufT's Mercantile 
 College, at Pittsburg, Peniisylyania. He then went to Cincinnati, Louisyille, 
 and later to St. Louis, seeking employment as bookkeeper, but failed to get 
 suitable work, conse(|uentl}' he came on to Keokuk, Towa, September 27, 1853, 
 and taught in Lee comity that winter. In the spring following he was called 
 to a chair in what was then known as the Iowa Wesleyan Institute, w here he 
 remained one year, when, on account of sickness, he was compelled to return 
 to Ohio. When he came back to Iowa he located at h\armington and there 
 organized an academy in which he taught the following fall and winter. In 
 the summer of 1856 he went to Pennsyhania. where he was united in mar- 
 riage with Margaret Kiddoo. daughter of John Kiddoo. of Jefferson county, 
 Ohio. Returning with his wife to Farmington, Iowa, he inidertook to con- 
 tinue with the school, but the panic of 1857^ coming on, the school failed, after 
 which Mr. Cams came to Jasper county, where he had previously secured one 
 hundred and twenty ^acres of wild land. This he moved upon and began im- 
 proying, remaining there for foiu' )-ears, and there he passed some of the 
 darkest hours of his life, undergoing some of the hardships and priyations 
 always incident to a life in a new country. Then the war between the states 
 came on, and excitement was high in his locality, neighbors all around him 
 began enlisting, so. his patriotism being aroused, he bade adieu to his young 
 wife and three small children on August 15, 1862, and enlisted in the, lu;rtieth 
 Iowa Volunteer Infantry at Newton, and was sent at once to (Cairo, Illinois, 
 thence to Columbus, Kentucky, where the winter of 1862-3 '^^''^^ spent. In 
 the early spring he was sent to Paducah and drilled until June 30th, on the 
 night of which they embarked for A'^icksburg, and there seryed through the
 
 .JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 5OS 
 
 siege: later Mr. Cams was sent to Helena and f.ittle Rock, .Arkansas, and 
 from there he was sent home on sick leave. After remaining at home a 
 month, he was placed in the United States hospital at Keoknk. .The following 
 February he joined his regiment at Little Rock and in the fall of that vear 
 was sent to Fort Smith, later to Fort Gibson, where he was mustered out 
 August 15, 1865. having been a very faithful defender oi the flag for three 
 years. Returning home, he engaged in the real estate business, entering the 
 office of a real estate dealer who, four years later, he bought out. jThen he 
 engaged in the general real estate business for a period of thirtv-one years 
 continuously, selling lands and making abstracts, during which time he became 
 very well established, and took rank as one of Jasper county's substantial citi- 
 zens, retiring from active life in 1896, and he is spending his old age in an 
 attractive, commodious and neatly kept residence in Newton. 
 
 Mr. Cams is the sole survivor of a family of eleven children, and liis 
 wife is the only one. living of a family of ten children. To them have been 
 born three children, two of whom are living: Fannie is at home: Jennie is the 
 widow of A. F. Solmon,and resides at home: Lizzie died in infancv. This 
 family belongs to the Presbyterian church of Xewton. ]Mrs. Cams being an 
 active member of all the church societies and as active in church work as her 
 health will permit. Mr. Carns has served his church as elder and trustee. 
 Prior to the Civil war he was a member of Mystic Lodge No. 55, Independent 
 Order of Odd Fellows, passing through all the degrees. After the war he 
 dimitted out. He is an active temperance worker, and a member of an anti- 
 saloon league. In politics he is Republican. He belongs to Garrett Post No. 
 16, Grand Army of the Republic, at Newton. ]\Irs. Carns was for a number 
 of vears a teacher in the public schools and is a woman of talent and culture. 
 Her brother. Joseph D. Kiddoo, was a brigadier-general during the Civil war, 
 being desperately wounded at Petersburg. Before his death he was breveted 
 major-general. 
 
 ARTHUR LISTER. 
 
 Among the prominent business men of the younger generation in Jasper 
 county who are deserving of the large success that attends their efforts and 
 of the high esteem in which they are held is Arthur Lister, a man who is not 
 only endowed with indomitable industry, but who maintains a high standard 
 of business and social ethics in every relation of life, thereby winning and re- 
 taining the good will and confidence of all who come into contact with him.
 
 -q5 jasper county, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Lister comes to us from our sister nation across the Atlantic, and 
 while cherishing patriotic impulses from his native land, he has become 
 thoroughly Americanized and is an ardent supporter of our institutions. He 
 was born in Yorkshire, England, January i8, 1865, and he is the son of 
 William and Hannah (Brown) Lister, both natives of England, where they 
 were reared, educated and married. The family emigrated to America in 
 March, 1865, landing at New York. The father at once went to Philadelphia 
 and engaged in the wool business, having worked as a wool sorter in his native 
 countrv. After remaining in the Quaker city for five years they came to Iowa, 
 locating at Xewton in 1870, the elder Lister having purchased land south of 
 the city before coming here and on this he located and there the son Arthur, 
 of this review, lived until he was seventeen years old, when he engaged in the 
 meat business for his father in Xewton. After conducting this for about three 
 years the son went to Rhode Island to learn the wool business with a brother, 
 James. After remaining there three years, he returned to Xewton, Iowa, and 
 engaged in the grocery business with his father for three years, after which 
 he went to Denver, Colorado, thence returned to Rhode Island, where he 
 again took up the wool business. In a little more than two years he returned 
 to Xewton, and, the father having died the meanwhile, he engaged in the gro- 
 cery business for himself for nearly five years. Closing out this business, he 
 became the manager of the opera house in Newton and later at Grinnell. He 
 leased the opera house at Grinnell and managed it for about two years, during 
 which time he purchased the opera house at Kellogg, which he retained four 
 years. Later he went to Des ]Moines and engaged in the real estate business, 
 having disposed of his opera house at Kellogg. He is at present manager and 
 part owner of Lister's Opera House at Xewton, and owns and operates bill- 
 posting plants in Colfax and Xew^ton. In 1906 he went on the road at the 
 head of the Chase-Lister Company, a theatrical organization, remaining out 
 one year. While engaged in the grocery business in. Newton and as manager 
 of the local opera house. Air. Lister was united in marriage with Louise 
 Schwerin, of Burlington, from whom he was subsequently divorced. This 
 union was without issue. 
 
 Mr. Lister has met with some success as a business man, proving that he 
 possesses fair business acumen, energy and foresight by his able management 
 of whatever he has turned his attention to, having had experience covering 
 a wide range. He has made a fair success of the local opera house and 
 brought it up to standard, it now ranking with theaters in cities much larger 
 than Xewton, a good class of attraction being constantly booked. He keeps 
 everything in fair order and his attractions draw large crowds, at times many 
 from other towns.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 507 
 
 Mr. Lister at one time made a trip to England, his early home, which he 
 left when a babe. While on this visit he made most of the trip from London 
 to Paris on a bicycle. At present he lives in Des :Moines. but spends most 
 of his time in Newton. Fraternally, he is a member of the Knights of 
 Pythias of Newton. Personally, he is a genial, obliging, genteel gentleman 
 whom it is a pleasure to meet. 
 
 CHARLES W. WINN. 
 
 There are few people in Newton or in Jasper county who do not know 
 Charles \\\ Winn, a progressive merchant and representative citizen. The 
 chief reason why this is true is that he possesses a never-failing fund of humor 
 and is a man blessed with that wealth of human sympathy which alwavs en- 
 dears one so favored to his fellow men. No gathering of a social nature but 
 receives an added spice if he be present, for he can always be relied upon to 
 make a happy little speech or tell a quaint and funny story. This genial, 
 obliging and popular gentleman was born in Muskingum county, Ohio. March 
 5, 1844, and he is the son of J. W. and Harriet (Virden) Winn, both natives 
 of Ohio. His father was a merchant and came to Mt. Pleasant, Iowa, in 
 1854. The trip was made in an old-fashioned "prairie schooner,"' through 
 a country more or less wild, over unbridged streams, rough roads, and filled 
 with all kinds of wild game. The father purchased one hundred and sixty 
 acres in Henry county, Iowa, but the hardships and loneliness of pioneer life 
 caused him to turn his attention away from home-building in a new countrv 
 in less than a year and he went back to Ohio, his son returning with him. 
 In 1863 Charles W. Winn again left Ohio and went to Memphis, Tennessee, 
 where he worked at different things for two years. He then returned to 
 Ohio and on May i, 1866, was united in marriage with Eunice Thomas, 
 
 daughter of David and (Hewett) Thomas, natives of Pennsylvania. 
 
 Both these parents are now deceased, as are those of Mr. Winn also. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Winn five children have been born, namely : Orlando, 
 who has remained unmarried, resides in Newton; Estella Laird, wife of J. L. 
 Laird, lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota: Harvey W., who is married, is a 
 prominent business man in Ft. Worth. Texas; Frank D.. who is yet single, 
 lives in Des Moines; Blanch, who is a successful teacher, has remained single 
 and is livimr at home.
 
 -oS JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 In 1866 Mr. Winn ai^ain niovetl from Ohio to All I'lcasant. Iowa, where 
 he bought and improved a farm, hving on it for several years. Later, in 
 1878, he came to Newton. Jasper county, and in this vicinity again engaged 
 in farming pursuits with his usual success. He then turned his attention to 
 the shoe business, which he has followed ever since, having been in his present 
 location in New^ton. either as clerk or proprietor, for a period of tw^enty- 
 three vears. He has one of the neatest, best arranged and best known stores 
 in the county, which is always carefully stocked with an ui)-to-date and at- 
 tractive line of footwear of every description, and his trade has constantly 
 grown, now extending to all parts of the locality. A criterion of his honesty 
 and courtesy to patrons is seen in the fact that many of his best customers 
 are of ten or twenty years' standing. 
 
 Mr. Winn is one of eight brothers and sisters, tln-ee of whom are still 
 livine". namelv : Isaac makes his home in Ohio; Frank D. lives in Idaho; and 
 himself. Mr. Winn and his family are members of the Presbyterian church 
 of Xewton, of which he is an elder. In politics he is a Democrat and, 
 fraternally, belongs to the Brotherhood of American Yeomen. He has always 
 manifested an abiding interest in the growth of Jasper county and has always 
 readilv supported every movement calculated to augment the same. 
 
 ALVIN C. GATES. 
 
 Alvin C. Gates, who was born in Ashland, Ohio. October 14. 1855. is the 
 son of E. N. and Sarah (Cunningham) Gates, the father being a native of 
 Vermont and the mother of Ohio. It was in the year 1840 that the father 
 came to Ashland, Ohio, and engaged in the practice of law\ Here he met and 
 married his wife and here he resided until 1857, when he came to Geneseo, Illi- 
 nois, again engaging in the law business. Mr. Gates's reason for stopping at 
 this point was that he might w^ait until the railroad should have been built 
 farther west. 
 
 Before leaving Ohio, the father had, in 1854, journeyed to Jasper county, 
 Iowa, and entered something over four thousand acres of land from the gov- 
 ernment, paying the regulation government price of one dollar and a half per 
 acre for it. It was situated in different parts of the county. It was this wise 
 and far-seeing move on the part of the father which laid the foundation of 
 the Gates fortune, which is considerable.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 509 
 
 In June, i860, the father rinally came to Jasper county, settHng in Xew- 
 ton. A year later he moved out on one of his big farms a mile and a half 
 northeast of Xewton. After this, although lie still practiced law to some 
 extent, he practically gave up his profession, giving his attenticjn to his vast 
 farming interests. 
 
 E. N. Gates was one of the ahle lawyers of his time. lie was also a 
 brilliant and forceful orator and a man of fine ])u1jlic s])irit. During the war 
 he was commander of the board of enrolhnent for the sixtli congressional dis- 
 trict of Iowa, acting as attorney and settling all legal questions. On account of 
 this position he was ever afterwards called "J^-^^lgc" Gates. He was verv 
 prominent in the state Grange of his time. He died in Xewton in December. 
 1882, at the age of sixty-eight years. 
 
 Alvin C. Gates, the, subject of this sketch, is one of six children, all 
 boys, of whom but two are li\ing. Three died in infancy; Sumner E.. who 
 died in Jasper county in 1900, was ,born in Ohio and at his death was a 
 farmer of considerable means; Lorin A., who was born in Illinois, in 1858. 
 resides in Newton, was formerly engaged in the mercantile business, but is 
 now engaged in oil operations in Kansas. 
 
 Alvin Gates attended law school at Iowa City in 1876-77 and graduated 
 from that school, afterwards opening a law office in N'ewton, where he en- 
 gaged in the general practice of law for four years. Disliking the work, he 
 purchased a livery stable in Newton, which he conducted for three years. lie 
 was then appointed deputy sheriff under I. L. flatten, which office he filled for 
 three vears. Next he was elected city clerk and superintendent of the X^ewton 
 light and water plant, which position he held seventeen years. During the 
 latter part of that time 'Slv. Gates and George Parsons organized the G. ^^^ 
 Parsons Company, of which Mr. Gates is secretary and treasurer. This com- 
 pany manufacture hea\y excavating machinery, selling their products all over 
 the United States and in foreign countries. He is also vice-president 'of tht- 
 One Minute Manufacturing Company, known all over the United States. Mr. 
 Gates also has other interests of importance, owning some valuable lands. He 
 is a member of X>wton Lodge Xo. 59, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
 also Gebal Chapter Xo. 12. Royal Arch Masons, and Oriental Commandery 
 X'^o. 22. Knights Templar, also Za-Ga-Zig Temple, Ancient Arabian Order of 
 Xobles of the Mystic Shrine, at Des Moines. Iowa. ]\lr. Gates is also a mem- 
 ber of Des ]^loines Lodge X^o. 98. Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. 
 
 On December 5. 1877. Mr. Gates was married to Jennie, daughter 
 of Ephraim and :\Iartha ( Harvin ) Bennett, both natives of Iowa. Mrs. 
 Gates is one of three children, two of whom are dead, Adam and David. Mrs.
 
 10 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Gates was born Janiiarx- 23, i860, and is a woman of rare culture and re- 
 finement. She is also prominent socially, being a member of' the local chapter 
 of the P. E. O. She is also a member of the Order of the Eastern Star. To 
 this couple have been born four children, one only surviving at this writing: 
 Grace and Glen, twins, born 1879: Grace died in 1880 and Glen in 1889: 
 Earl, born in Xewton in 1889, resides in Xewton. He is shipping clerk for 
 the Parsons Company. He was recently united in marriage with Catherine 
 Wilson, of Xewton ; Harry Dale, born in 1893, died in Xewton in 1894. 
 
 ALBERT I. BAKER. 
 
 Among the men who have been instrumental in public affairs is Albert 
 I. Baker, of Xewton. a man eminently deserving of the high esteem in which 
 he is held by all classes, and whose name should be perpetuated in the history 
 of his localitv. partly because of his honored and untiring efforts in upbuilding 
 the same and partly because he has led a worthy and consistent life, also 
 because he is the scion of one of the prominent and influential old pioneer 
 families, the type that has made the great Mississippi valley rival that of the 
 Xile in medieval times. 
 
 Mr. Baker was born in Livingston county, Illinois. December i, 1864. 
 and he is the son of William E. and Sarah ( Chesebro) Baker, both natives of 
 Xew York. His mother's parents were pioneers of Livingston count}-. Illi- 
 nois, having built the second house in Sullivan townshi]), there, and for. many 
 years they farmed extensively in that county. \Mlliam E. Baker was reared 
 in Cincinnati, Ohio, and he came from there to Livingston county. Illinois, 
 when a very young man, where he located oh a section of land purchased b}- 
 his father and here he was married. There is no more prominent man in Liv- 
 ingston county. Illinois, today than the subject's father, for he has at all 
 times been active in politics and has held numerous township and countv 
 offices, having twice been a meml)cr of the county board of super\isors. He 
 was at one time mayor of the town of, Dwight. Illinois, and was also a mem- 
 ber of the board of education there. After leaving Dwight he moved to Eair- 
 bury, in, the same county, where he w-as appointed postmaster under Cleve- 
 land. Lpon retiring from the postofifice in 1890 he was elected county treas- 
 urer on the Democratic ticket, having resigned the position as ^postmaster to 
 accept same. During his term as treasurer he w^as elected chairman of the 
 Democratic county committee, in which capacity he served through two
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 5II 
 
 different campaigns, winning in botli. Since going out of office he has been 
 appointed on the board of re\iew for the apportionment of taxes for his 
 county. At present he is residing in Pontiac, the county seat, and is serving 
 as justice of the peace for Pontiac township, having been elected in 1909 by 
 both parties. He is serving in this capacity with his usual ability and satis- 
 faction. Although Mr. Baker is now seventy-three years of age, ^he is hale 
 and hearty and an interesting man to know, being of the finest characteristics 
 and well informed on all public questions. His wife is now sixty-six years 
 old, and they have a host of warm friends. Their family consists of six chil- 
 dren, an equal number of l)oys and girls, namely: Albert I., of this review: 
 Clark E., a photographer of Smithfield. Utah: Stevens R., an att(jrnev in 
 Pontiac: Helen lives in Pontiac; Delia, who married a ranchman, lives in 
 Kalispel. Montana, and Isabel, in Pontiac. 
 
 When eighteen years of age Albert I. Baker began working as an assist- 
 ant bookkeeper and cashier in a large general store at Fairbury. Illinois, anrl 
 there he remained three years, giving his employers the utmost satisfaction. 
 Then he and his brother Clark established Tlic Fairbury Xcz\.'s, a weeklv 
 paper which flourished for three years, when the plant l)urned. The following 
 day both brothers accepted a partnership with The Fairburv Blade, where 
 they remained two years. Clark Baker then went to Utah and in Decemlier. 
 i8go, Albert I. Baker was appointed deputy clerk of Livingston countv under 
 John C. George and served four years. After^that he spent over three vears 
 in Elkhart, Indiana, as head bookkeeper for the National Paper and Supplv 
 Company, and it was while Jiving there that he met and married Mrs. Har- 
 riet A. Gruber, ncc Dodson, she being the widowed daughter of James J. and 
 Jane (McLean) Dodson, lx)th of Ontario, Canada, where the father had been 
 a merchant : he is now deceased ; his widow is making her home in Buffalo. 
 Xew York, and is now seventy-four years old. 
 
 One child, a son. born to Mr. and Mrs. Baker, died in infanc\-. 
 
 In November, 1898, ^Ir. Baker came to X'ewton, Jasper county, and 
 purchased the lozca State Democrat, which he sold after running it less than a 
 year, then engaged with the Iowa Mercantile Company, filling the position of 
 bookkeeper and cashier with his usual ability and fidelity for a period of four 
 years. The next two years he was storekeeper and purchasing agent for the 
 Parsons Self Feeder Company. On June i, 1906. he became auditor and 
 credit man. for the One Minute Manufacturing Company, which position he 
 still holds. perf(jrming his duties in a manner that reflects much credit upon 
 his abilitv and to the entire satisfaction of his employers.. ^He owns a beauti- 
 ful modern home in Xewton. He and his wife are both members of the
 
 ^12 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 }^Iethoclist Episcopal church at Xewton. Mr. Baker l)eini;' one of the trustees. 
 He has alwavs taken an acti\"e interest in politics, especially since coming to 
 Newton. He has acted as secretary of the Democratic central committee of 
 the county and it is in a great measure due to his efforts that the party has 
 heen placed on a successful basis. Fraternally, he is a niember of Xewton Lodge 
 X^o. 39, Ancient Free and .\ccepted ]\Iasons. and he is a dimitted meml)er of 
 X'ewton Chapter Xo. 100. Order of the Eastern Star, of which his wife also 
 is a member. He also belongs to the Modern ^^'oodmen of America and the 
 Brotherhood of American Yeomen at X'^ewton. He is a genial, kindly man 
 whom it is a pleasure to meet, well informed on current topics on which men 
 and parties divide and is acquainted with the world's best literature. He is one 
 of those sincere, honest, public-spirited citizens who are a credit to any com- 
 munity, for while laboring to advance their own interests thev nexer lose 
 sight of their obligations to their neighbors and the general pul)lic. 
 
 GEORGE M. ALLEX. 
 
 There are always valuable lessons to be gained in perusing the life his- 
 tories of such men as the late George M. Allen, one of Jasper county's most 
 popular citizens whose life forcibly illustrated what energy, integrity and a 
 fixed i)uri)ose can accomplish when animated by noble aims and correct ideals. 
 During the years of his residence in the countv he held the unequivocal con- 
 fidence and esteem of those with whom he came into contact, for he was a 
 man whom to know was to trust and admire owing to his many commendable 
 attributes of head and heart, when the "reaper whose name is death" gath- 
 ered him in its sheaves while in the fullness of his strength and the prime of 
 useful manhood, his irreparable loss to the community was keenly felt by all. 
 
 Mr. Allen was born in this county on December 17. 1869. the son of 
 James T. and Sarah E. Allen, the father a soldier in the Civil war. having 
 been a member of Company G. Seventh Iowa Cavalry, and his death occurred 
 when his son George was thirteen years of a,^e. Left fatherless thus early in 
 life, it became necessary for him to put his shoulder to the wheel, and. nothing 
 daunted, he pushed forward through every obstacle, proving his sterling in- 
 nate mettle. He was educated in the pul)lic schools and for two years he at- 
 tended the \\'estern Xormal College at Shenandoah, from which institution 
 he was graduated in 1890. He was a good student and advanced rapidly, 
 aufl when he was ready to begin a career for himself he was well equipped.
 
 ^,^-^^L,^>-T/t-^^^^
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 513 
 
 Turning his attention to the clothing business, he entered the employ of G. 
 ]\I. Hoyt & Company. Later he formed a partnership with J. E. Ammons, 
 succeeding the first named concern, but a few years later he and Mr. Ammons 
 dissolved partnership, and Mr. Allen associated himself with J. T. Pound in 
 the same business. He later sold his business to a ]\Ir. Kock and in the spring 
 of 1908 he formed a partnership with l^ed A. Jones, under the firm name 
 of Jones & Allen, clothiers, which partnership was continued until dissolved 
 by the death of Mr. Allen, on July 21, 191 o. He was regarded as one of the 
 leading merchants of Newton, and always enjoyed a good trade with the sur- 
 rounding country as well as the city, for he was uniformly courteous and 
 considerate to his hundreds of patrons, all of whom were his friends, for he 
 believed in injecting the Golden Rule into his every-day afTairs and he there- 
 fore had not only the confidence but the good will of those with whom he had 
 dealings. He was a man of good judgment, keen discernment and managed 
 well, consequently he was succeeding most admirably when his career was 
 suddenly cut short by the common fate of humanity. 
 
 On June 17, 1896, Mr. Allen was united in marriage with Grace Hough, 
 who survives him. She was the daughter of W^illiam H. and Sarah E. (Bond) 
 Hough, both natives of Virginia, born in the Shenandoali valley in Loudoun 
 county, where Mr. Hough was a prominent and influential Quaker. Mr. and 
 and Mrs. Hough were married at Waterford, Loudoun county, Virginia, 
 May 22, 1850, and they came to Iowa in 1858, locating in Newton, and for a 
 time Mr. Hough freighted goods between that city and Grinnell. He was a 
 man of much native ability and he took considerable interest in political affairs 
 and was highly respected wherever he was known. For many years he owned 
 and conducted a grocery store here. He was elected countv recorder of this 
 county on the Republican ticket for two terms, performing the duties of that 
 office in a most satisfactory manner. His death occurred in NcAvton on April 
 16, 1894, when seventy-one years of age, his birth having occurred on Novem- 
 ber 27, 1823. He was a member of the Methodist church and a prominent 
 worker in the same, having united with the same soon after he came to Newton, 
 although he had been reared a Quaker. For many years he was class leader 
 in the local congregation and he also sen-ed his church as treasurer. His 
 wife was born on January 17, 1832. and her death occurred in Newton on 
 October 20. 1908. She was a woman of the finest personal characteristics. 
 
 Mrs. Grace (Hough) Allen was born in the house which she now 
 occupies, on January 25, 1872, and it has been her home ever since. All her 
 girlhood pleasures are connected with the place, the joys of her young wife- 
 
 (33)
 
 314 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 hood, and later the place became hallowed to her as the place wherein her 
 devoted life companion spent his last days on earth and also as the place 
 from which both her beloved parents passed into the mystic beyond, and here, 
 too, she was led to the happy hymeneal altar. 
 
 Mrs. Allen was graduated from the local high school in 1890, and she 
 has been prominent in musical affairs from childhood. She is now a member 
 of the choir of the Methodist Episcopal church : in fact, she has been singing 
 in this choir since she was a school girl. She has a splendid alto voice which 
 delights all who have the pleasure of hearing her sing. Mr. Allen was also a 
 singer of exceptional ability as well as a thorough musician, and for years 
 he was a well known figure in the choir of the Methodist church with his 
 wife, and he was also a member of the Newton band. His voice, rare and 
 well trained, was frequently heard at funerals and upon memorial occasions. 
 
 Besides Mrs. Allen, the following children constituted the family of Mr. 
 and Mrs. William H. Hough: Mrs. E. E. McCord, Arthur and Fred, all 
 living in Newton. 
 
 Surviving Mr. Allen, besides his wife, is a sister, Mrs. Carrie Rice, of 
 Pueblo, Colorado, and Roy Allen, who is in the printing business in Newton. 
 
 At the time of his death Mr. Allen was treasurer of the Methodist church. 
 He was a prominent Mason, being a member of the blue lodge; he was also a 
 member of tlie Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and was a charter member 
 of the Xewton Hunting and Fishing Club. He had no children. He was a 
 man of engaging personality, genial, kind and generous almost to a fault, 
 e\-er true to all that was best and noblest. All who knew him felt the personal 
 charm of the man. for they' knew him to be a man not only of exceptional 
 ability, but an advocate of all that meant progress in material, civic and moral 
 lines. 
 
 \VILLTAM M. BOYD. 
 
 We of the present generation do not fully. realize what it meant for the 
 young men of half a century ago, with life's bright promises before them, to 
 lea^'e business, the comforts of home and the pleasures of associations with 
 family and friends and go out to do or die 'in tlie world's greatest war, in 
 which they suffered indescribably, at times, during four long, dreary years, 
 "in order that the nation might live." But they, our honored sires, did it, 
 gladly and well, and today no man should be the recipient of greater esteem 
 bv us than the old Aeteran, who wore the blue. One such was \\'illiam M.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 515 
 
 Boyd, long a highly respected citizen of Jasper county, who was born in Cen- 
 ter county, Tennessee, January 22, 1843. and he was the son of John and 
 Sarah (Beldon) Boyd, the father a native of Tennessee and the mother of 
 North Carolina. The latter came with her people to Tennessee with her 
 parents when young and there met John Boyd and they were subsequently 
 married by the noted "Parson Brownlow," a prominent preacher and poli- 
 tician of his time. Mr. Boyd devoted his life to farming and carpentering and 
 his death occurred in Jonesborough. Tennessee, at the advanced age of ninety 
 years. He was influential in his community in public matters, and he and 
 his oldest son were soldiers in the Mexican war, the father rising to the rank 
 of first lieutenant. He was twice married and William M.. (jf this re\"iew, is 
 one of three brothers by the first marriage; Samuel T. died in Tennessee in 
 1909; James I. lives in Shelby county, Iowa. Xine children were born to the 
 second marriage. 
 
 William M. Boyd left home witli his father's brother when fifteen years 
 of age and came to Illinois where he worked as a farm hand four years, then 
 in 1854 he came to Jasper county, Iowa, w-hen the country was new, settling 
 in Poweshiek township where he worked as a farm hand until he responded 
 to his country's call and enlisted in Newton, in Company B, Forty-eighth Iowa 
 Volunteer Infantry, in the western division of the Federal army, under "Fight- 
 ing Joe"' Hooker. He was sent to Davenport, where he did guard duty, and 
 later sent to Chicago to prevent a possible attempt to free a number of Con- 
 federate prisoners held there. Returning to Rock Island, he was honorably 
 discharged at the close of 1864 and returned to Jasper county, where he pur- 
 chased one hundred and sixty acres of land, raw prairie, having long since 
 transformed it into a splendid farm, well improved and under a high state of 
 cultivation, and on which he was very successful as a general farmer and 
 stock raiser. 
 
 In March, 1857, Mr. Boyd was united in marriage with Amanda Sewell, 
 daughter of John Sewell. a native of Indiana, and to this union three children 
 were born, two sons and one daughter : Samuel died in infancy; Ella married 
 Jonathan Lacy and resides in Colfax, this county; Sarah D. married a Mr. 
 Patterson, a grain dealer of Mitchell ville, Iowa. 
 
 The first wife of Mr. Boyd died in 1863 and in 1865, upon returning 
 from the war, he married Margaret Martindale, a widow, and to this union 
 seven children were born, all of whom are living, namely: Dr. F. E.. of 
 Colfax; Edward, who conducts a "bus" line in Newton; L. J. is a traveling 
 salesman, out of Beatrice, Nebraska; H. C. is a druggist in Mason City: 
 Bertrus is the wife of Sumner Baker, a merchant who lives in Maringo. this
 
 5l6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 county; Theodosia is unmarried and is living at home; Linnie is the wife of 
 Richard Sharp, a miner of this county. 
 
 Until seven \ears ago, Mr. Boyd carried on active farm work, then re- 
 tired and moved to Colfax, where he purchased a neat, substantial and com- 
 fortable residence in which he spent his old age in the midst of plenty as a 
 result of former years of activity. His death occurred on July 3, 191 1. 
 
 He was always a man who had^the public welfare at heart, and he served 
 in nearly all the township offices. He was a member of the Methodist Epis- 
 copal church of Colfax, and he belonged to the E. D. Duncan Post of the 
 Grand Army of the Republic, of which he was commander for several years. 
 He belonged to Riverside Lodge Xo. 53, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, 
 at Colfax, and he belonged to Oriental Commandery No. 22, Knights Tem- 
 plar, at Newton, and to, the chapter of Royal Arch Masons; he had been a 
 Mason since 1863. He was the recent overseer of the poor at Colfax and one 
 of the commissioners of the soldiers' relief commission, and he was a member 
 of the city council. In every capacity in which he served the public he acted 
 conscientiously and won the approval of all concerned. 
 
 KENNINGTON BROTHERS. 
 
 The record of a life well spent, of triumphs over obstacles, of persever- 
 ance under difficulties and steady advancement from a modest beginning to 
 a place of honor and distinction in the industrial world, when imprinted on 
 the pages of a history, present to the youth of the rising generation an example 
 worthy of emulation and may also be studied with profit by those of more 
 mature years whose achievements have not kept pace with their expectations. 
 The success of the well known and popular firm of K'ennington Brothers, real 
 estate dealers of New^ton, Jasper county, has been well earned and is worthy 
 of careful consideration by those hesitating at the parting of the ways. They 
 are representatives of a prominent old pioneer family here. 
 
 L. S. Kennington was born in Jasper county, Iowa, June 13, 1858, and 
 he is the son of Henry and Margaret (Slaughter) Kennington, the mother 
 being a native of Ohio and the father of Ireland, from which country he 
 emigrated to America in 1849, landing in New York where he began working 
 as a locomotive machinist. Four years later he moved to Dayton, Ohio, w here 
 he was married. In 1855 he came to Jasper county alone and purchased 
 eighty acres of land and in the spring of 1856 he returned, bringing his family,
 
 JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA. 517 
 
 and began developing the land. By hard work and good management he soon 
 had an excellent farm and a comfortable home and here he continued farm- 
 ing until 1880 when he moved to his beautiful home in Newton where he has 
 since led a retired life. He has always been a man of public spirit, his great- 
 est interest being in the upbuilding of the schools and public roads, and during 
 his active years he served as supervisor of roads and as school director. many 
 times. To the original tract he added eighty acres, making one hundred 
 and sixty acres in all, which valuable farm is now owned by his son, John 
 M., brother of L. S. Kennington. The elder Kennington is a man of sterling 
 attributes and popular with a wide circle of friends. 
 
 At the age of sixteen years L. S. Kennington started in life for himself 
 by canvassing for books. He then entered Hazel Dell Academy for the win- 
 ter term and the following spring began teaching school. From then on till 
 the fall of 1879 li^ either attended or taught school. He was a success as a 
 teacher and his services were in great demand, but, believing that the law was 
 his proper sphere, he began studying Blackstone and other standards, and 
 entered the law department of the University of Iowa where he made a 
 splendid record, and was graduated from the law department in 1880. Then 
 he began the collegiate course from which he was graduated in 1884, receiv- 
 ing the degree of Bachelor of Laws from the law department and the degree 
 of Bachelor of Arts from the college ; later he received the degree of Master 
 of Arts. 
 
 In July, 1884, Mr. Kennington bought a half interest in the loiva State 
 Democrat at Newton, and he purchased the other half in 1887. This paper 
 he published with singular success for a period of fourteen years, during which 
 time he built up a large circulation and made his paper the equal of any its 
 type in Iowa and rendered the same a moulder of public opinion. In the 
 spring of 1896 he was appointed postmaster of Newton and served two years 
 in a manner that reflected much credit upon himself and to the entire satis- 
 faction of the department and the citizens of this community. After leaving 
 the newspaper field he began the practice of law, which he has continued ever 
 since in connection with a real estate business. As an attorney he takes high 
 rank in the local bar and is a painstaking, energetic and straightforward advo- 
 cate and counselor who has long since won the admiration and good will of 
 all classes and he has built up an extensive and ever growing clientele, figuring 
 prominently in all the local courts. He has kept well abreast of the times in 
 all matters of jurisprudence and is a close student. 
 
 The domestic life of L. S. Kennington began on June 12, 1895, when he 
 was united in marriage with Myra Davis, the daughter of J. S. Davis and
 
 5l8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 wife, the former deceased. Mys. Kennington is a lady of many estimable 
 attributes. 
 
 At all times L. S. Kennington has taken an active interest in public 
 affairs. In June. 1910, he completed a term of twenty-five years in some 
 official capacity within the organization of the Democratic party. He served 
 several times as county chairman of his party and also upon the congressional 
 committee of his district, being chairman during one of the Weaver cam- 
 paigns. He has served his party well and his counsels have done much for 
 the success of the same. In all positions of public trust he has discharged 
 his duties in an able and conscientious manner, to the satisfaction of all, irre- 
 spective of party alignment. 
 
 Mr. Kennington is a charter member of the Xewton Business Men's 
 Association. He belongs to Central Lodge No. /t,, Independent Order of 
 Odd Fellows, of Newton ; Newton Lodge No. 59, Ancient Free and Accepted 
 Masons; Gebal Chapter No. 12; Royal Arch Masons; Oriental Commandery 
 No. 22, Knights Templar, and the Za-Ga-Zig Temple, Ancient Arabic Order 
 of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine, at Des Moines. Mrs. Kennington belongs 
 to the Episcopal church at Newton. 
 
 John M.. Kennington, brother of L. S. Kennington, and a well known 
 business man and politician of Jasper county, was born here on October 9, 
 1856, being the eldest of four living children. The other two, besides L. S., 
 are Eldora May, who married Al Bischoff, advertising manager of a Chicago 
 newspaper; and Howard V., foreman of the linotype room for one of the 
 large Chicago publishing houses. Those deceased are Sarah F., Charles H., 
 Carrie and Margaret. The mother is also deceased. 
 
 John M. Kennington began life for himself at the age of seventeen years 
 by teaching school in the winter months and working on farms in the sum- 
 mer and he is a fine type of the truly self-made American. He was educated 
 at the old Flazel Dell Academy and when twenty-two years of age he went to 
 Colorado, where he remained until the spring of 1897, working in different 
 mining fields and becoming a successful mine operator. L'pon his return to 
 Jasper county, Iowa, he purchased the old home place of his father, which 
 he still owns and which he has kept well improved and well cultivated. In 
 1898 he, went to Chicago, where he was united in marriage with .Vlbertine 
 Smith, a lady of refinement, a native of Gennany. Returning to Jasper 
 county with his bride, Mr. Kennington settled on his farm and there he car- 
 ried on general farming and stock raising very successfully until in l-'ebruary, 
 1908, when his wife was called to her rest, after which he rented his farm 
 and moved to Newton, where he began a real estate business with his brother
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 5I9 
 
 and in which he has been very successful. Together they own over one 
 thousand acres of choice and valuable land in Jasper county at this writing. 
 They also have considerable holdings in South Dakota. They carry on a 
 general real estate business, purchasing most of their property outright and 
 are well known all over the county as honest, straightforward, capable busi- 
 ness men, their integrity and honor not being questioned. 
 
 John M. Kennington has ahvays paid considerable attention to politics, 
 having served his township in nearly e\'ery capacity and he recentlv made a 
 strong race for county treasurer on the Democratic ticket. He is a member 
 of Newton Lodge No. 56, Ancient Free and Acepted Masons ; Oriental Com- 
 mandeiy No. 22, Knights Templar; Gebal Chapter No. 12, Royal Arch 
 Masons; he also belongs to Central Lodge No. y-^^, Independent Order of Odd 
 Fellows, at Newton, having been a member of the same since 1879 and he is 
 a past grand of that order. Like his brother, L. S., he is popular throughout 
 the county or wherever he is known, being an unassuming, genial and public 
 spirited gentleman. 
 
 BEMAH BATTELS. 
 
 It would be hard to find, within the borders of the locality of which this 
 history treats, a man better beloved by his neighbors and his community than 
 Beriah Battels, a sterling and honored pioneer, who, now that he has reached 
 the advanced mile-posts of the years ''where cool and long the shadows grow" 
 before the mellow evening twilight, is serenely passing his last days in re- 
 tirement in his cozy home in the city of Newton. His life since l)oyhood has 
 been an exemplary one, and he is now nearing his four score years. Kindly 
 in his nature, gentle in his judgments, broad in his sympathies, he has long 
 been known in truth to be "a friend in need and a friend indeed." -\lthough 
 the sunshine for him has been darkened during the past few years, owing to 
 some affliction of the eyes, he bears his lot with rare fortitude and cheerful- 
 ness. His optimism of character, his gentleness and kindliness have made him 
 ever a welcome guest in the hon-ies of his fellow men and have endeared him 
 to all who know him. 
 
 Mr. Battels was born on April 9. 1833. in Trumbull county, Ohio, the 
 son of Beriah and Elizabeth (Fisher) Battels, both natives of Pennsylvania. 
 His father was a veteran of the war of 1812. and his grandfather, who was 
 also named Beriah. was a soldier in the Revolution. \Mien the subject of 
 this sketch was but a small bov he moved with his parents to Hancock cr.untx ,
 
 -20 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Ohio, and there, in the district schools, he received his education. His father 
 first engaged in the foundry business in Pennsylvania, later took up farming 
 in Ohio, and in 1855 moved with his family to Iowa, locating in Hamilton 
 countv, where, as a pioneer, he engaged in farming until his death, in 1863, 
 at the age of sixty-five years. L'pon coming to this state the subject came 
 on to Jasper county, in 1855, selecting a farm in Poweshiek township, being 
 among the early settlers there, with neighbors few and far between. Here 
 he remained until the outl)reak of the Civil war, when he proved his patriotism 
 by enlisting, in September. 1861. in the state service, and on October 21st fol- 
 lowing was sworn into the United States service at Camp McClellan, as a 
 l^rivate in Company B, Thirteenth Iowa A'^olunteer Infantry, under the com- 
 mand of Capt. Thomas H. Miller and James ^^'ilson, first lieutenant, the lat- 
 ter finally becoming a general. E. E. Dungan was second lieutenant. They 
 were cjuartered at Jeft'erson barracks, near St. Louis, and at Jefferson City, 
 Missouri, for the winter, and in ]\Iarch following they were ordered down the 
 river, otsensiblv bound for Savannah, 1)ut they were turned aside at Pittsburg 
 Landing and ordered into active service. During this engagement Mr. Bat- 
 tels had a portion of his hand shot away, which incapacitated him for further 
 duty, and he was discharged at St. Louis on August 12, 1862, and sent home. 
 After his return from the army lie bought one hundred and sixty acres of 
 land in Malaka township and, witli the exception of two years, 1881 and 
 1882, when he owned and conducted a general store at Mitchellville. he re- 
 mained upon this farm until he retired in 1890, in which year he removed to 
 Newton, where he has ever since resided, owning here a commodious and 
 pleasant home, neatly furnished and well kept. 
 
 Mr. Battels was the second child in a family of eight children, namely : 
 Hiram Xewton was a member of a company recruited at Homer, and he 
 served in the Second Iowa Cavalry during the Civil war ; he had a family of 
 thirteen children, eight of whom were boys, who have now reached maturity 
 and are successful business men. Mrs. Margaret E. Russell lives on a farm 
 near Webster City, Iowa ; Jane, who married George Stover, died in Kansas ; 
 Hiram, the second, died in Polk county, low^a ; Mrs. Mary Tucker lives in 
 Pueblf), Colorado; Mrs. Amanda Bell, now a widow, lives at Brush Prairie. 
 Washington; Mrs. Rhoda Brandon lives in Des ^Moines; Mrs Ellen Abernathv 
 lives in Arkansas City. 
 
 On Eebruary 22. 1853, Mr. Battels was united in marriage with Eliza 
 J. Myers, daughter of John and Matilda (Groves) Myers. Not having any 
 children of their own, they took a child to raise wdien only two months old, 
 Charles E., the son of Lucetta Roberts, now Mrs. Albert B. Kitchel. Thev
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 52 1 
 
 educated him and reared him to manhood, and although never legally adopted 
 by Mr. Battels or his wife, he has always borne their name. 
 
 ~S[r. Battels' first wife died in 1882. whereupon he retired irom the mer- 
 cantile busine'ss. turning the same over to the young man he had reared. On 
 April II. 1883, he was married again, his last wife being known in her maiden- 
 hood as Mar}' E. Carper. Her father, a well known farmer in Poweshiek 
 township, this county, died in 1864, when only thirty-four years old; his 
 widow survived him many years, dying on her se\entieth birthdav in Seattle, 
 \^''ashington. There were five children in the family who grew to maturity, 
 namely : Dr. P. D. Carper, a well known physician of Seattle. Washington, 
 died six years ago; T. E. Carper, now engaged in the transfer business in 
 the last named city, is married and has two children; Mrs. Kathryn Hinton. 
 now deceased, left one child, Mrs. Andrew Christensen, wife of one of Seat- 
 tle's progressive business men: Mrs. Clara Kircher died at Columbus. Ohio: 
 the two brothers, mentioned above, were the first two from this country to set 
 foot into the Klondike, and they enjoyed the distinction of being the first to 
 discover gold in paying quantities on Bonanza creek. Their mining venture 
 was very successful, the two having mined out several hundred thousand dol- 
 lars' worth of gold, and they finally disposed of their claim for two hundred 
 thousand dollars. At his death Dr. P. D Carper was the owner of the Good- 
 lope mine of Nevada, which he left as a legacy to his brothers and sisters and 
 it is still in the family. 
 
 The first coal discovered in Jasper county north of the river was on the 
 farm belonging to ^Irs. Battels' mother, and there the little town of Oswald 
 was builded. 
 
 ^[r. and Mrs. Battels are both members of the Methodist Episcopal 
 church at Newton, the former having been converted at the age of eighteen, 
 and he has been a consistent member of that denomination ever since. He 
 has been class leader in the church since he first moved to Newton ; he has 
 held most everv ofiice in the church, including that of steward, and as lay 
 pastor he visits the homes of the afflicted and those who need his help and he 
 is ever a welcome visitor, for he believes in scattering sunshine about him as 
 he goes through life. Mrs. Battels has been a teacher in the church for a 
 number of years and was a charter member of the Methodist Episcopal church 
 at Colfax. When but fifteen years old she and her sister were baptized in the 
 Skunk river at Colfax, being the first to receive baptism in the river there, 
 and united with the Christian church, in which faith their mother had been 
 baptized by Alexander Campbell at Massillon.
 
 C^22 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Battels have no children, lie is a member of the Ma- 
 sonic order at Xewton, also belongs to the Garret Post. Grand Army of the 
 Republic, of which he has been past commander and chaplain. In 1862, after 
 his return from the army, Mr. Battels was commissioned captaiai of the Home 
 Guards bv Governor Stone of Iowa. Politically, he is a Republican. ]\Irs. 
 Battels is a member of the Eastern Star, also the Woman's Relief Corps, 
 having" been president of the latter for three years, also served as chaplain. 
 
 Personallv, Mr. Battels is a very pleasant gentleman and he and his wife 
 have long been prominent jn local affairs, especially in a social way, and 
 among the most influential in club and church matters. 
 
 J. R. ZOLLINGER. 
 
 In a necessarily brief sketch like this it is impossible to enter fully into 
 detail. The course of most lives is largely determined by circumstances and 
 environment, a man, as a rule, being only able to do the best he can in the 
 place where he finds himself. 
 
 Jeremiah Rummel Zollinger was born December 7, 1829. near Hagers- 
 town, Maryland, from which locality he removed in his early childhood with 
 his parents to Pennsylvania, where he grew up. He learned the carpenter's 
 trade, becoming a contractor and builder, and in that capacity came west at 
 the age of twenty -five. At that time he invested somewhat in Iowa farm 
 land. He was of a genial disposition, and had many friends. He was also 
 possessed of sound common sense and good business ability, and, being 
 thoroughly honest, he had the confidence of those with whom he dealt. 
 
 In August, 1862, he enlisted as a private in Company K. of the Twenty- 
 eighth Iowa, under Captain, afterward Colonel. John Meyer. There would 
 seem to have been a warm friendship always between these two men. From 
 private, J. R. Zollinger rose to be second lieutenant of his company, and was 
 known for the thoroughness with which he performed all the duties falling 
 to him. first as orderly sergeant, and later as second lieutenant. Like all of 
 the Company K boys, he was a good soldier, always ready to fight, and never 
 shrinking from any danger. He was in Hovey's division, and fought in thir- 
 teen battles, besides skirmishes and other fights. In April, 1863. Hovey's 
 division started for Vicksburg. They did not reach it till the 20th of May, 
 when the city was invested and its bombardment began. In the meanwhile 
 were fought the battles of Port Gibson. ]May i st, and Chami)ion Hill. May
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 523 
 
 i6th, in both of which J. R. Zolhnger fought, as well as later in the rifle 
 pits of Vicksburg. Immediately after the surrender of X'icksburg the Twenty- 
 eighth Iowa was marched off to take part in the siege of Jackson. Here, on 
 the 7th of July, Lieutenant Zollinger received a wound in the head which did 
 not at the time seem serious, but which gave him more or less suffering all 
 through his later life. In Deceml)er, 1863, he was sent home as a recruiting 
 officer and remained until the 27th of March, 1864, when he rejoined his 
 regiment in Louisiana and saw service in that state during the spring and 
 summer. On the 22d of July, ]864, he was embarked at Algiers, Louisiana, on 
 the steamship "Arage" and sent north to Virginia. Here, in the valley of the 
 Shenandoah, he saw hard service, being engaged in the battles of \X'inches- 
 ter, Fisher's Hill, and Cedar Creek, besides several skirmishes. At various 
 times in the absence of a captain he had the command of three diff'erent com- 
 panies in the regiment besides his own, and led Company D in a charge in 
 battle. In January, 1865, the Twenty-eighth was sent by sea to Savannah. 
 Georgia. On the 12th of March they were sent to Newbern, North Caro- 
 lina. Here the regiment by companies did guard duty on hospitals, prisons, 
 and prisoners, and patrolled the town. In August, Lieutenant Zollinger, hav- 
 ing been mustered out, returned to his home. 
 
 In January, 1868, he was appointed deputy sheriff' by William C. Hawk, 
 the newly elected sheriff of Jasper county. In this position he served four 
 years. He was then elected sheriff, and held that office for three successive 
 terms. In 1879 ^^ ^^'^^ made assignee of a bankrupt stock of goods in Col- 
 fax, and disposed of it satisfactorily to all concerned. In 1880 he opened a 
 grocery in Newton, and remained a grocer until he died, on Fe1)ruary 24, 
 1895. ' 
 
 V. H. MORGAN. 
 
 V. H. Morgan was born March 31, 1872, in Rock Creek townsliip, Jasper 
 county, Iowa, and is the son of John and Mary (Dubois) Morgan, the father 
 being a native of. Indiana and the mother of Iowa. The father came with his 
 parents to Scott county, Iowa, when seven years old, his parents locating on 
 a farm near Davenport, where they remained until they died. Mr. Morgan's 
 father came to Jasper county in 1870 and settled on land near Kellogg. In 
 all, he purchased three hundred and fifteen acres and followed farming and 
 stockraising. Here he remained until his death, on September 29. 1907, at the 
 age of sixtv-three vears. He was a man of splendid public spirit, active in
 
 -24 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 local politics and a stanch Democrat. He held a number of township offices, 
 was justice of the peace, assessor and school director. He died having the 
 respect and regard of the many who knew him. 
 
 The subject of this review began working for himself at the age of 
 twenty vears, working on the farm until he entered school at Hazel Dell 
 Academy under Professor ^^'ormley. After graduating from that institution 
 he taught school for one year, after which he entered the law office of Judge 
 Winslow, reading law. He continued there one year, after which he entered 
 the law department of the Iowa State University, graduating from that school 
 in 1898. Immediately after graduating, he located a law office in Newton and 
 began the active practice of law. He was alone for six years, after which 
 time he formed a partnership with Ralph T. Graham, which partnership, 
 under the firm name of Graham & Morgan, continued until July, 1901, when 
 Mr. Graham went to Whittier. California, where he is now rated as one of its 
 leading attorneys. 
 
 Again Mr. Morgan was alone until December, 1902, when he formed a 
 partnership with H. C. Korf. under the name of Morgan & Korf. which 
 name is still continued. They do a general law business and represent some 
 of the largest corporations in Newton. Besides the law, they deal cjuite ex- 
 tensively in Jasper county land. During the first eight years of their 
 partnership, they have owned six thousand five hundred acres of Jasper 
 county land, aggregating a value of seven hundred thousand dollars. At this 
 writing they are the owners of what is known as the Draper ranch, located 
 in the county, some four and one-half miles from Prairie City, comprising 
 one thousand two hundred and fifteen acres of fine land and said to be the 
 best big farm in the county. 
 
 ^Ir. ^lorgan is one of nine children, of whom six are living, three dying 
 in infancy; the living are: Mrs. Emma Robison, wife of W. J. Robison, a 
 farmer of the county ; \\'. R. Morgan, retired, who lives in Newton ; next in 
 order is the subject of this sketch; F. V. Morgan, an attorney residing in Cam- 
 bridge, low^a ; G. L. Morgan, proprietor of the original Morgan farm in the 
 county of Jasper ; H. L. Morgan, an attorney of Ames, Iowa. 
 
 The subject of this sketch was united in marriage October 30, 1901, W'ith 
 Bessie Hinsdale, daughter of Charles ]\I. and Eva (Vaughn) Hinsdale, her 
 mother being a sister of Hon. Charles N. Felton, former United States sena- 
 tor from California. Her father was a traveling salesman for thirty-five 
 years and at the time of liis death was chief deinity in the I'nited States mar- 
 shal's offi.ce at Des !^foines. He died November 20, 1907. The mother of 
 Mrs. Morgan makes her home with the subject of this sketch. To Mr. and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 D^D 
 
 Mrs. Morgan have been bom three children, all of whom are living: Charles 
 H., born December 20, 1902; John A., born August 31, 1904, and Elizabeth, 
 lx)rn May 29, 1906. all at home. 
 
 Mrs. Morgan is a member of the Episcopal church of Xewton. She is 
 also president of the local chapter of the P. E. O., a social organization of 
 state-wide importance, designed for social, charitable and educational work. 
 Mr. Morgan is a member of tlie Knights of Pythias, also of Oriental Com- 
 mandery No. 22, Knights Templar, of Newton. In politics he is a Republi- 
 can. In 1900 he visited the Paris exposition as special commissioner from 
 the state of Iowa, remaining in Europe for three months and visiting all the 
 principal countries and points of interest. 
 
 E. B. RAMSEY. 
 
 Fifty years ago when the slaveholders' rebellion broke out with all its 
 fury at Fort Sumter and when it looked as if the Union, which all love so 
 much, would be dissolved. E. B. Ramsey, a venerable and esteemed citizen of 
 Newton, Jasper county, enlisted to save the federation of states, being per- 
 fectly willing, notwithstanding the grave dangers and certain hardships, to do 
 what he could in this direction. ]t was a time when there could be no tem- 
 porizing and no halting — no half-way position — for all who were not for the 
 Union were against it, and both sides hated the man who claimed to be 
 neutral because he had not the courage to go upon the field of battle and had 
 no principles to sustain. ]\Ir. Ramsey was alive to the gravity of the national 
 conflict, realizing that the struggle impending was something more than a 
 holiday undertaking and knew that it meant great sacrifices and the shedding 
 of much precious blood before the flag could again wave from Maine to 
 Florida and from the Atlantic to the Pacific seaboards ; but he did not hesitate, 
 be it said to his everlasting credit. So for this and many other reasons the 
 name of Mr. Ramsey should be included in this history, not the least of which 
 is the fact that he has been a loyal booster to the city of Newton since taking 
 up his residence here, forty-four years ago, ha\ing played no inconspicuous 
 part in the general progress of the town, and led a life so free from aught that 
 is paltry or ignoble that its parallel is not frequently met with, and now that 
 the twilight shadows of life are enshrouding him he can look backward over a 
 road well traversed and forward with no apprehension.
 
 :;26 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Ranise)' was born in 1827. in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, and he 
 is the son of Thomas and Sarah (W'eaverhng) Ramsey, both natives of 
 Pennsylvania. The father, who dexoted his life to farming, was an old-line 
 Whig and a man of upright character. His death occurred on December 20, 
 1861, at the age of fifty-nine years, while his son, E. B., was away from home, 
 fighting for the flag which they both loved. The mother lived to be seventy- 
 seven years of age. 
 
 E. B. Ramsey, who was the third child in a family of six children, is of 
 Scotch-Irish ancestry; the other children are: James, now deceased, formerly a 
 wagon maker in Pennsylvania ; John died in Bucyrus, Ohio, when twenty- 
 eight vears of age; Henry \\'., who served in the Unitm army, enlisting in a 
 Pennsylvania regiment, is a shoemaker and lives in that state; Sophia is also 
 living there; Oliver, now deceased, also served in the Civil war from Penn- 
 sylvania. 
 
 E. B. Ramsey, of this sketch, received his education in the public schools 
 in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, but his educational advantages were limited. 
 When fifteen years of age he was apprenticed to a tailor, and after learning 
 the trade he worked at it for a period of fifteen years in different towns in 
 Pennsylvania and Ohio, and won a reputation for verv skilled workmanship. 
 When the Cixil war began he was one of the first to offer his services to the 
 Union, April 25, 1861, in Company G, Thirteenth Pennsylvania Volunteer 
 Infantry. He was stationed at York, Pennsylvania, and later at Chambers- 
 burg, Pennsylvania. He was accidentally wounded by the carelessness of 
 Lieut. William Barndollar. The subject found a revolver while doing picket 
 duty and having seen one similar in the hands of his lieutenant, he took it to 
 him. the latter carelessly taking hold of the weapon which was discharged as 
 he did so, the bullet passing through Air. Ramsey's hand. The lieutenant was 
 also injured. The result was that the subject received a discharge for dis- 
 ability and was sent home. On February 20, 1863, leaving his young wife at 
 home (for he had in the meantime married), he re-enlisted, this time in Com- 
 pany E, One Hundred and Eighty-sixth Penns}l\'ania \"olunteer Infantry. 
 He was in various engagements and skirmishes, but most of his duties were 
 l^erformed while on detached service. After the close of the war he received 
 an honorable discharge and was mustered out in August. 1865, in Philadel- 
 phia. 
 
 Air. Ramsey was married on February 18, 1862, to Sarah E. Widell. who 
 was born in Bedford county," Pennsylvania, the daughter of George and Mary 
 dMillborn) Widell, both natives of Pennsylvania. Her parents were of Ger- 
 man and English extraction. '^Fhev came to Iowa and located in Xewton in
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 527 
 
 1867 and here Mr. Widell lived until his death, on December 20, 1888, at the 
 age of seventy-two years. His widow survived until April 30, 1901, dying 
 at the age of seventy-eight years. They" were the parents of six children; the 
 eldest, Sarah E., who married ]Mr. Ramsey, was born on November 26, 1840; 
 Amanda died when twenty-two years of age; Mary is the wife of Hess Par- 
 sons, a prominent stock man and farmer in Alalaka township, this county; 
 Georgia, wife of James Woods, lives in Xewton ; Henrietta, who married 
 Charles Clark, lives in the state of Washington, where he owns a fruit ranch; 
 William lives in Newton. 
 
 E. B. Ramsey came, unaccompanied, to Iowa in the fall of 1867, reach- 
 ing the city of Newton on November 23d. his family following soon after- 
 ward. He was able to foresee a great future for Newton and decided to 
 settle here. First he worked at his trade, that of tailor, later conducting a 
 dray and express business for over -thirty years, or until he retired from active 
 life, he having been sole owner of the same. By careful and honest manage- 
 ment he succeeded in building up an extensive patronage and accumulated a 
 competency for his old age. 
 
 Three children were born to j\Ir. Ramsey and wife, named as follows: 
 Elmer Elsworth lives in Des Moines; Charlie Preston, who makes his home 
 with his father here in Newton, married Almira Stewart, and they have two 
 children, Katherine W., who teaches school, and Florence E., who is attend- 
 ing high school in Newton. They keep house for their grandfather, the sub- 
 ject, his wife being deceased. William Albert, the youngest child of the sub- 
 ject, died in infancy. 
 
 After traversing happily and harmoniously the winding path of life to- 
 gether for nearly a half century, Mr. Ramsey was called upon to undergo his 
 greatest sorrow, that of parting from his faithful life companion, who passed 
 to her rest on August 9, 19 10. She was a woman of remarkable intellect, 
 broad-minded, kind-hearted and who was always willing to lend her assist- 
 ance in forwarding any good cause. By her efforts, probably more than those 
 of anv other woman, was the public library in Newton established. There 
 being much local prejudice against it, she was compelled to work for it for a 
 number of vears. She presided over the "reading room." patiently working 
 with other right-minded citizens, until the public library became a fixture in 
 Newton. She was its first librarian, and served as such for a period of thir- 
 teen vears in a manner that reflected much credit upon herself and to the sat- 
 isfaction of all concerned. She was a faithful member of the Lutheran 
 church, a charter member of the local congregation, and she was a teacher 
 in the Sunday school until ill health compelled her to resign.
 
 r28 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ^ir. Ramsey is a member of the same church. ha\ing been loyal to this 
 denomination for a period of sixty-se\en years, and he was an officer in the 
 church for a period of forty-five years, having been elder until recently, when 
 his hearing grew too poor to perform his duties adequately, but he is still 
 elder emeritus. He is a member of Garret Post, Grand Army of the Republic. 
 When he enlisted for service in the army he was postmaster at Everett, Penn- 
 sylvania; his wife, having been made his deputy, looked after the office while 
 he was at the front. She was a member of the Woman's Relief Corps, also 
 the Woman's Christian Temperance Union. Politically. Mr. Ramsey has al- 
 ways been a stanch Republican. He owns a pleasant cottage on Farmer and 
 Washington streets, and is spending his declining years in peace and comfort. 
 
 T. B. OWINGS. 
 
 The history of Jasper county is not a very old one. It is the record of 
 the steadv growth of a community planted on the wild prairies scarcely 
 more than a half century ago and has reached its magnitude of today without 
 other aid than those of industry. The people w^ho redeemed it from the 
 primeval state Were strong-armed sons of the soil who hesitated at no diffi- 
 culty and for w^hom hardships had little to appall. Among this class is the 
 prominent retired farmer and enterprising citizen by whose name this article 
 is introduced. The county was in its infant state of development w-hen he 
 came upon the scene, and he has done much to assist in advancing its won- 
 derful resources and' brought it up to the proud position it now occupies 
 among the most progressive and enlightened sections of Iowa. 
 
 J. B. Owings was born in Tuscarawas county, Ohio, December 25, 1837. 
 He is the son of Beal and IMiranda (Young) Owings, both natives of Mary- 
 land, from which state they came to Ohio about 181 5 and became prominent 
 among the pioneers there, spending the rest of their lives on a farm there, 
 the father dying in April, 1839, and the mother in 1844; they were the par- 
 ents of eight children, three of whom are living, namely : Mary Ann died 
 about 1908: Ellen also died about 1908; John died at Trinity Center, Cali- 
 fornia, in 191 1 ; Denton died in childhood; McKensie lives in Newton, Iowa; 
 Jesse died when twelve years old ; Minerva lives at Carbon Cliff, Illinois, and 
 is the wife of a Mt. Barton; J. B., of this review. 
 
 The subject grew to maturity and was educated in his native state, 
 remaining there until 1855, when he came to Jasper county, Iowa, where he 
 has since resided. He settled nine miles east of Newton and followed
 
 J. B. OWINGS
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 529 
 
 farming successfully until 1892. when he moved to Xewton and retired. 
 He lived to see and take part in the great transformation of the county, for 
 when he first came here the wild prairies were scarcely touched bv a plow- 
 share and the town of Xewton was very small, there being no square and the 
 court house was small and built of wood; there was not a brick building in 
 the town. Land was then worth only three, six and eight dollars per acre. 
 Mr. Owings is the owner of a finely improved and productive farm in Kellogg 
 township, consisting of one hundred and thirty-four acres. On this he did 
 unusually well as a general farmer and stock raiser. 
 
 On December 27, i860, ]\Ir. Owings was married to Martha Mills, daugh- 
 ter of John }klills, of Keokuk county, Iowa. She was born in Tennessee, 
 ^larch i.1,, 1844, and from there she removed to Iowa with her parents when 
 she was one year old. To Mr. and Mrs. Owings three children have been 
 born, namely: Shafer A., who was born May 12, 1862, married Allie Miller, 
 of Jasper county, and they live on the parental homestead, nine miles east of 
 X'ewton ; Gertie J., born July 2/. 1865, is the wife of J. B. Case, a traveling 
 salesman, residing at Jackson, Mississippi; Arrie I)., born December 12, 
 1869, married Charlie Miller, li\ing near Kellogg, Jasper county; she is now 
 deceased. 
 
 Mr. Owings has been a worker in the affairs of the county, having held 
 a number of township offices in Kellogg, and he was overseer of the poor in 
 Xewton township. In all of these he discharged his duties most faithfully 
 and creditably. Fraternally, he is a member of Xewton Lodge X'o. 59, 
 Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; politically, he is a Republican, and he 
 and his wife are faithful members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
 
 MARIOX R. HAMMER. M. 1). 
 
 The life history of Dr. Marion R. Hammer, prominent citizen of Xewton, 
 Jasper county, is one of romance and tragedy. Born in this county, the son of 
 verv early settlers, his career has been one of strenuous action and full of 
 human interest; but, being endowed with sterling (jualities. he has successfully 
 met and overcome many obstacles that would have defeated the purposes of 
 others less courageous. Determining early in life to become a physician, he let 
 nothing stand in the way of his ambition and after years of toil and self-sac- 
 rifice he attained the end sought for, becoming a successful practitioner, hon- 
 
 (34)
 
 :io 
 
 ^O JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 ored among his fellows. From this position he was stripped of all honors and 
 subjected to such humiliation and disgrace as falls to the lot of a convict, then, 
 to be pardoned bv the goxernor, restored to citizenshi]). and again win l)ack 
 success and honor. He clearly belongs to that class of men made of the stuff 
 that does not bend easily and who refuse to be downed by untoward ircum- 
 stances, who, in fact, being natural fighters, thri\e on opposition. 
 
 Doctor Hammer traces bis ancestry l)ack to Aaron Hammer, who was 
 born in Celacia, (lermany, from which country he emigrated to America in 
 1 72s, settling in Bucks county. Pennsylvania, in which county his son Abra- 
 ham was born in .1731. He adopted the Quaker religion and became a worker 
 in that faith and the next three generations of Hammers adhered to the same. 
 His son Isaac was l)orn at Guilford Court-house. North Carolina, in 1764, 
 whither the father. .\1)raham. had emigrated with his family. Elisha. son of 
 Isaac, was born in Xorth Carolina. ]\Iay i. 1789. and at an early age moved 
 with his parents to Tennessee, settling in Jefferson county. He was a miller 
 and owned a mill on the historic stream of Lost creek. He was a minister of 
 the Friends church. His family consisted of ten children, of whom, Jesse, 
 the father of the subject, was fourth in order of birth. In 1846 the Rev. 
 Elisha Hammer sold his mill, loaded up bis earthly l^elongings and drove over- 
 land to Iowa, bringing" his wife and si.\ sons, four of whom were married, 
 and thev brought their families ; also tw(^ daughters. The Rev. Mr. Hammer 
 came along, leaving but one meml)er of the family in Tennessee, llie Ham- 
 mers wintered in Richland. Keokuk county, Iowa, where the father taught 
 school. In the spring of 1847 Rev. Elijah Hammer came to Jasper county 
 and settled in the neighborhood of Hammer's Grove and there he organized 
 the I'riends church and became its first pastor, serving with(nit pay. and there 
 he continued to reside until liis death, in 1847, ^'^^^ he was buried at Pleasant 
 Plains. He was a useful man and accomplished much good wherever his lot 
 was cast. He was a Whig and a strong Abolitionist. 
 
 Jesse Hammer, father of the Doctor, was born Octol)er 4. 1820, in Jef- 
 ferson county. Tennessee. There he grew up. recei\ed what education he could 
 in the rude schools of those early days and there be married, bis wife dving in 
 early life, leaving him with two sons. In i84r) be joined liis father, who de- 
 cided tf) leave that country since he was opposed to slaxerv and his \iews had 
 been resented by his neighbors, and they all came to Iowa. He settled in 
 Jasper county and was destined to become quite prominent and influential. 
 Here he married Margaret W. Sparks, daughter of John R. Sjxirks. wlio 
 owned a flour n^ill at Lynn\ille. of wln'cb mill Jesse Hammer later became 
 miller. o])eratin,iL'; the same successfullv for a number of vears. He later
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 53 1 
 
 became miller of Doctor Warren's mill near Oskaloosa. He was the owner 
 of two hundred acres of land in Xewton township. He was elected the first 
 sheriff of Jasper county. Init refused to serve. His marriage with Margaret 
 Sparks was the first of record in this county. His brother Seth was the first 
 recorder of the county, having been elected in 1846 or 1847; another brother. 
 Elisha, was captain of Company G, Seventh Iowa Ca\alry. in the Civil war. 
 Jesse Hammer was married four times, his first wife having been a Miss 
 Hackney, of Tennessee, and they were married in Jefferson county. Mr. Ham- 
 mer's wedding suit having been cut out by Andrew Johnson, later President 
 of the United States, who lived in the adjoining county. By his second wife, 
 Margaret Sparks, was born Dr. Marion R. Hammer, of this sketch, he l>eing 
 their oldest child. In all, Jesse Hammer was the father of fourteen chil- 
 dren. John R. Sparks, mentioned above, was not only known as the pro- 
 prietor of the mill at Lynnville but he was also a large land owner, and at 
 one time paid the largest tax of any one in Jasper county. He was prominent 
 in the early industrial life of the county, having established the first flour 
 mill, the first saw mill and the first carding mill in Jasper county, all being 
 erected near Lynnville. Two sons of his, William Henry and Mathew T.. 
 uncles of the subject, were soldiers in the Ci\'il war. having served in the I-'ifth 
 Iowa \'olunteer Infantry: they were captured at Tunnel Hill in 1864 and in- 
 carcerated in Andersonville prison, where. they died. The death of Jesse Ham- 
 mer, father of the Doctor, occurred on September 2. 1873. at Richland. Iowa, 
 whither he had gone on a visit. 
 
 Dr. ]yIarion R. Hammer, the immediate subject of this sketch, was born 
 Januarv 26, 1853, about a quarter of a mile north of the Amboy school house 
 in Kellogg" township. When he was eight years old his mother died, and his 
 earlv education was neglected, in fact, at the age of fifteen he could scarcely 
 read or write, but earlv in boyhood he had shown a preference for the medi- 
 cal profession and would not permit anything to turn him from his course, and 
 he consulted with Dr. I. A. Hammer, a brother of his grandfather, as to the 
 proper course to be pursued and was informed that he must obtain an educa- 
 tion, so the boy set about to do so. Saving his earnings by working out on the 
 farm, he attended school ten terms at Hazel Dell Academy and at Lynnville 
 three terms. He also taught one term in the Lynnville Academy and three 
 terms of public school in the county. In 1876-7 he entered the Iowa State 
 Universitv and took his first course in medicine. He studied assiduously and 
 made a brilliant record in his studies, both in the academy and the university. 
 and thus well e(|uii)ped he began the practice of medicine at .\damson Grove 
 in 1877. Later he located in Reasoner. In order to further fit himself for his
 
 .■^o- 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 calliiii^". in j88o he entered the College of Physicians and Surgeons at St. 
 Joseph. Missouri, taking the prescribed course of medicine. Before he had 
 finished there was a si)Ht in the faculty of that institution and a number of 
 professors and students seceded and established the Northwestern Medical 
 School. Of the seventy-seven students in the College of Physicians and Sur- 
 geons, more than fiftv went with the new college. Doctor Hammer being one 
 of the number and he graduated fourth in a class of twenty-seven on Febru- 
 ar\- 17. 1881. He was elected vice-president of the Alumni Association of the 
 last-named institution. Following his graduation, he came to Newton, lo- 
 cating here in March. 1881. In the spring of 1884 he went to Kingsley. 
 Iowa, and taught in the schools there for three terms He was first principal 
 of these schools for one term. He was appointed professor of physiology of 
 King College in Des Moines, which position he held for four years, and he 
 lectured for two years on diseases of children in that college. In March, 1889, 
 he was graduated from the King Eclectic College. He taught the branch of 
 physiology in the Newton College for seven or eight terms. As a teacher he 
 gave the utmost satisfaction in all capacities. 
 
 On Octol^er 22, 1876, Doctor Hammer was united in marriage with 
 ]\rar\- Emma Dooley, the daughter of a Jasper count\' farmer, and to this 
 union two children were born: Marion R., Jr.. born August 22, 1878. is prac- 
 ticing law in Newton; Jesse Marion, born at Kingsley. October 18, 1884. is. 
 farming in Jasper county and is an optician. 
 
 In the year 1901 Doctor Hammer was so unfortunate as to become em- 
 broiled in a fjuarrel with a young man of Newton which resulted very disas- 
 trously, for a time checking his career, and bringing much sorrow into his 
 life. Doctor Hammers ow-n story of the troube follows: 
 
 The two men in (juestion met on the public square and after a few bitter 
 words the Doctor's opponent struck him five times in cjuick succession, the 
 fourth blow knocking him to his knees ; while he was still on the sidewalk, the 
 fifth blow knocked him into the street, some distance from the curbing. His 
 opponent then followed him up ;md as he apj^roached Doctor Hammer drew 
 a sheathed knife from his pocket and struck him with the knife sheathed, but 
 his assailant continued to rain blows upon the Doctor's head and shoulders. 
 1 he latter's opponent was a much younger and larger man. twenty-eight \ ears 
 of age, six feet and one inch tall and weighing two hundred and fortv pounds, 
 while the Doctor was forty-eight years old and weighed but one hundred and 
 fifty pounds at that time, and was but five feet seven inches in height. Be- 
 lieving that liis life was in danger and not being able to cope with his 
 opponent unassisted, he unslieathcd his knife and cut him several times or
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 533 
 
 until his assailant desisted from his attack. Imji- this he was arrested, tried and 
 convicted of attempted manslaui^hter, hefore Judge Bishop, who was ap- 
 pointed to hear the case and on l'>iday, March i, 1901. was sentenced to 
 serve three and one-half years in the penitentiary. The ca.se was then ap- 
 pealed and was sustained by the upper court, and on April 22, 1902, he was 
 taken to Fort Madison by Sheriff Hook and Deputy Agnew, who showed him 
 every possible courtesy. During the first ten months of his term in prison 
 he was a messenger man or "lumper." and as such was allowed freedom to go 
 to all parts of the penitentiary : the last twenty months he was gate-keeper at 
 the lower gate and was outside the walls every day. His wife remained faith- 
 ful during his trouble and never ceased in her efforts to work for his pardon. 
 A petition containing over three thousand names, being one-third of the 
 voters of the county, was presented to the governor, together with petitions 
 from persons from various states of the union to the number of four thousand. 
 The latter names were secured through the editor of the Blue Grass Blade, 
 the Rev. C. C. Moore, of Lexington, Kentucky, who interested himself in the 
 case and espoused it. These seven thousand names were presented in a peti- 
 tion to the governor, asking for his release, and after the men who had been 
 most interested in his prosecution and conviction had joined in the petition, 
 the governor acted upon it, and on September 12, 1904. the Doctor's sentence 
 was commuted to take effect on September 15th. three days later. He had 
 received eight months off for good time. He came back to Xewton on the 
 same train which had carried him to prison, reaching home on the 22d of that 
 month, just two }-ears and six months after leaving home, \\nien the train 
 upon which he was returning arri\-ed at the local station he was met by a 
 delegation of five hundred persons, who tendered him an ovation, assuring 
 him that they believed he had been wrongfully sentenced. On April 18. 1905, 
 Doctor Hammer was restored to citizenship by the governor. The Doctor 
 does not believe that his case was properly handled by his attorney. After 
 his return home he again took up the practice of medicine, in the .same office 
 in the ]\I\ers block, which he had retained during his absence; in fact, this has 
 been his office since 1885. He has been very successful since his return home. 
 enioving a large and growing practice, and he has sent his son. M. R. Ham- 
 mer, Jr., through Drake University. Doctor Hammer is independent of his 
 practice, but he continues it because of his liking for the work. He owns a 
 good farm near Kapple Station, as also does Mrs. Hammer. He has served 
 as health officer of the citv of Xewton for two years, and he has been i)hysician 
 to the county jail for four years, all told : at the present time he is assistant 
 phvsician to the county. He has been president and secretary of the Jasper
 
 ;24 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 County Eclectic Society of Physicians and Surgeons, and in 1910 he was elected 
 vice-president of the Jasper County Medical Society. He was president of 
 the Kingslev Medical Society and president of the Teachers Association of 
 that institution. While confined at the state penitentiary he formed a medi- 
 cal society and was made its president. It consisted of five other physicians. 
 At present he is a member of the Jasper County Medical Society, the Iowa 
 State Medical Society and the American Aledical Association. He is a 
 dimitted member of the Masonic order. Lebanon Lodge No. 127, at Lynn- 
 ville, Iowa. He is also a dimitted member of the Knights of Pythias. He 
 belongs to the Pioneer Lodge, Des Moines Homesteaders. 
 
 Politically, Doctor Hammer was reared a Republican, became a Demo- 
 crat, afterwards embraced the Greenback theory, and later became a Populist, 
 and is now a Socialist. He voted for Belva Lockwood for President, and is 
 an ardent supporter of woman's suffrage. While he has always been an 
 abolitionist, he is an uncompromising Confederate, and is in possession of the 
 onlv Confederate flag in Jasper county. Religiously, he was reared a Quaker 
 (Friend), became a Methodist, then a Universalist, later an infidel and now a 
 confirmed atheist. 
 
 CHESTER SLOANAKER. 
 
 One great exemplification of the fact that wealth attends upon industry 
 and that comfort is a close follower in the wake of thrift is shown in the life 
 career of Chester Sloanaker, the popular and able vice-president of the First 
 National Bank of Newton and a potent factor in the financial circles of the 
 locality for many years, being regarded as one of the leading and substantial 
 citizens of Jasper county; however, his is a plain record, rendered remarkal)le 
 by no strange or mysterious adventure, no wonderful and luckv accident, and 
 no tragic situation. Mr. Sloanaker being one of those estimable characters 
 whose integrity and strong personality must force them into an admirable 
 notoriety, which their modesty never seeks, who command the respect of 
 their contemporaries and tlieir ])osterity, and leave the impress of their in- 
 dividuality upon the age in which they live. 
 
 Mr. Sloanaker was born in Chester county, Pennsylvania. January 11. 
 1856, of a sterling old New England family, members of which have figured 
 more or less prominently in various walks of life since the old colonial days. 
 He is the son of Isaac Morgan and Mary Trego (Hartman) Sloanaker, the 
 father a. native of Chester countv, Pennsvlvania. where he grew to maturitv
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 535 
 
 and was educated, and tor many years he engaged successfully in the whole- 
 sale mercantile business in the city of Philadelphia, under the firm name of 
 Sloanaker, Kilpatrick & Company, wholesalers and importers, which firm did 
 an extensive ahd thriving business. His wife was the daughter of Maj.-Cien. 
 George \V. Hartman, who took a conspicuous part in the war of 181 2. His 
 father, Major George Hartman, was a drummer l>oy when fourteen years of 
 age at the battle of Brandywine, during the Revolution, and he was wounded 
 in that engagement. His father was Major Peter Hartman, an officer in the 
 patriot army. Peter Hench. the great-grandfather of Mrs. Isaac M. Sloan- 
 aker, lived at Valley Forge during the war for independence, and while 
 Washington's army was camped there, and he turned out his herd of cattle 
 to the commander, to be used as food for the soldiers, for which worthy ser- 
 vice the government later voted him money. His wife baked bread for the 
 army. 
 
 The maternal side of the famil\- is traced back to Plymouth Rock, through 
 the W^eaver and Sharpies families, the subject's grandmother having been a 
 \\'eaver. The earliest progenitor of the Hartman family in America was 
 John Hartman. Dr. William Dell Hartman. uncle of the subject, was a 
 member of the Academy of Science at Philadelphia, and during his career as 
 professor he made a fine collection of shells which was eventually purchased 
 by the Carnegie Museum at Pittsburgh. 
 
 Isaac M. Sloanaker. father of Chester, was a Whig and an Abolitionist. 
 He was a strong-minded and a useful man. and his death occurred in 1863; 
 his wife survives, having attained the age of eighty-seven years. She makes 
 her home with the subject and is a woman of gracious personality. She is the 
 mother of two children. Chester, of this review, and .Mrs. Edith Mary Lyday, 
 of Xewton. 
 
 Chester Sloanaker was educated in the pu])lic .schools and the State Nor- 
 mal at West Che.ster, Penn.sylvania, and also studied at two private academies 
 there. He first turned his attention to farming, which he continued in his 
 native state for five years, then came to Newton, Iowa, in 1881 and was one of 
 the organizers of the First National Bank here in 1882, becoming its cashier, 
 the duties of which position he discharged in a most worthy manner for a 
 period of ten years, his courteous treatment of the bank's patrons and his 
 conservative and judicious management of its affairs rendering it one of the 
 most popular financial institutions of central Iowa. He became its president, 
 which important position he held for a period of ten years, during which the 
 bank enjoyed a still greater period of prosperity; he is at this writing vice- 
 president and is devoting part of his time to real estate and other large inter-
 
 -i5 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ests. He is esseiuiallv an organizer and promoter by nature, and he pos- 
 sesses rare business acumen and foresight, being al)le to forecast with re- 
 markal)le accuracv the future outcome (»f a present transaction, and he has 
 been very successful in a financial way, having, by his individual efforts, ac- 
 cumulated a handsome competency and extensive property interests, including 
 one of the most attractive, modern and desirable residences in Newton, the 
 presiding" spirit of which is a lady of culture and genial personality, known in 
 her maidenhood as Elizabeth Failor Lyday, whom Mr. Sloanaker married on 
 September 13. i88t. She was born in Springfield, Ohio, and came to Jasper 
 countv. Iowa, in her youth. She is the daughter of Jose])h H. and Alary (Fai- 
 lor) Lvdav. This union has been blessed by the birth of six children, namely: 
 George Hartman died when thirteen months old: Joseph Lyday. who lives 
 near Fresno, California, graduated from Iowa College, drinnell, class of 
 1908, and engaged in the eucalyptus tree industry, maintaining a large nur- 
 sery at his home; Ruth married Earl C. Guessford. teller with the First Na- 
 tional Bank of Newton : Ralph Chester is with Graber & Allies Garage Com- 
 pany, of Newton : Alary Cecelia graduated from the Newton high school with 
 the class of 191 t ; Hiram Lyday is a student in the local high .school. 
 
 This family belongs to the Lutheran church, of which Mr. Sloanaker is 
 an elder, and he has been identified with the church council since he has resided 
 in Newton. Politically, he is a Republican. He is a genteel gentleman at all 
 times and a man in whom the utmost confidence is reposed o\^"ing to his hon- 
 est methods. 
 
 H. C. KORF. 
 
 Among the earnest }oung men whose depth of character and strict ad- 
 herence to principle have gained for him the admiration of his contempor- 
 aries, H. C. Korf, well known attorney of Newton, Jasper county, is num- 
 bered, and in his professional career he has shown a tenacity of purpose, an 
 indomitable energy and that self-reliant courage whose natural concomitant 
 is definite success. 
 
 Air. Korf is one of the native sons of this county of whom she should be 
 justly proud. His birth occurred on April 25, 1876 He is the son of Henrv 
 and Wilhelmina (Weseman) Korf, the father a nati\e of Germany and the 
 mother of Freeport, Illinois. The former came to .America in 1848 when 
 eight years of age, accompanied by his parents, who located on a farm near 
 Freeport. Illinois. Henry Korf grew^ to maturity in Illinois and was educated
 
 JASPER, COUNTY, IOWA. 537 
 
 there, remaining on the home farm durinj^- his youth. He came to Jasper 
 county, Iowa, in 1867, locating on a farm in Mahika township, where he be- 
 came well established, developed a good farm and where he lived until 1906, 
 when he retired and moved to Newton, where he now resides, spending his 
 declining years in the midst of plenty and in comfort as a result of his long 
 life of hard work and good management. He is a member of the Presbyter- 
 ian church, and he and his wife have many friends throughout the countv. 
 They are the parents of seven children, namely: H. C, of this review: Mrs. 
 Hermina Rourke, of Marion, Ohio: Mrs. Marie J. Babcock, of Des Moines. 
 Iowa; Amanda is in the law olifice with her brother, H. C. ; L. G. lives in 
 Newton; E. T. is a civil engineer and lives at Ogden. Utah: E. O. is a student, 
 at the State University. 
 
 H. C. Korf grew to maturity on the home farm and there he assisted 
 with the general work during the crop seasons during his earlv life, receiving, 
 in the meantime, his primary education in the country schools and at Hazel 
 Dell Academy at Newton, later attended Highland Park College at Des 
 Moines, also took a course at the State University, graduating from the law 
 department in 1899. ha\ing made a \er\ commendable record there, and in 
 the same year he was admitted to the bar, soon afterwards beginning active 
 practice at Newton, where he has since remained, building up a very satisfac- 
 torv clientele and taking a very high rank among the men of this profession in 
 central Iowa. He has kept well informed on all the important court decisions 
 and revised codes, being at all times an assiduous student. He has been most 
 successful in all his legal work and he stands second to none of his contem- 
 poraries in a locality noted for the high order of its legal talent. Owing to 
 his marked ability and his public spirit, he was soon singled out for positions 
 of public trust, and for a period of four years he was city attorney of Newton, 
 the duties of which important office he discharged in a manner that reflected 
 credit upon himself and proved the wisdom of his constituents in selecting him 
 for the place. This was from 1903 to 1907. 
 
 Mr. Korf was married on August 9, 1905, to Patience E. Wormley, of 
 this county, where she was born, reared and educated, being the representative 
 of an excellent earlv family here. This union has been graced by the birth 
 of one child. \\'ilimenia, born June 30, 1910. 
 
 Mr. Korf is a director in the First National Bank and the Newton Sav- 
 ings Bank: he is secretary and director of the Jasper County Telephone Com- 
 pany, and is also a stockholder in a number of local manufacturing concerns, 
 and he has an interest in several large farms, joint ownership in a number of 
 lar"-e landed estates, in this state, and a large tract in Minnesota and Nevada.
 
 -og JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Korf has been very successful in a business way, being a man of 
 rare executive abiHty, soundness of judgment and able to foresee with re- 
 markable accuracy the future result of a present transaction. Politically, he 
 is loyal to Republican principles, and fraternally, he is a member of the 
 Knights of Pvthias. He is one of the trustees of the Congregational church, 
 of which Mrs. Korf is also a member. 
 
 ]\Ir. Korf has led an exemplary life and has the confidence and good will 
 of all who know him, and he is regarded as one of the most substantial and 
 representative citizens of his county, as well as a lawyer of unusual capability. 
 He has been the artificer, very largely, of his own fortunes, and though he has 
 encountered numerous obstacles, his courage has never tiagged and he has 
 shown himself to be one thoroughly appreciative of the dignity of honest toil 
 and endeavor. He has done much to improve the agricultural prosperity of 
 the countv as well as encourage improvement along various lines, and, judging 
 from his past honored and praiseworthy record, it is safe to predict that the 
 future has much of good in store for him and his fellow men a still greater need 
 of his services. 
 
 ALBERT H. REED. 
 
 That life is the most useful and desirable that results in the greatest 
 good to the greatest number and, though all do not reach the heights to which 
 they aspire, yet in some measure each can win success and make life a blessing" 
 to his fellow men; and it is not necessary for one to occupy eminent public 
 positions to do so, for in the humbler walks of life there remains much good 
 to be accomplished and many opportunities for one to exercise one's talents 
 and influence which in some way will touch the lives of those with whom 
 we come into contact, making them better and brighter. In the list of Jasper 
 county's honored citizens is Albert H. Reed, who is living in retirement in 
 Xewton. In his career there is much that is commendable and his life forciblv 
 illustrates what one can accomplish, even in the face of obstacles, if one's 
 plans are wi.sely laid and his actions governed by right ])rinci])les, noble aims 
 and high ideals. 
 
 Mr. Reed was born on Fel)ruary u. 1836, in Jacksonxille, Illinois, the 
 .son of Dr. Maro ]\IcLain Reed and Elizabeth (Lathro])) Reed, both natives 
 of Connecticut, and in the old Nutmeg state they grew up, were educated and 
 married. At Hartford the father practiced medicine two years, then located 
 in Jacksonville, Illinois, and there the major part of his active career was
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 539 
 
 Spent. The Reed family is one of the oldest in Xew England and its several 
 representatives for a number of generations have distinguished themselves 
 in various walks of life wherever they have dispersed, being noted for their 
 industry, culture and intellectual attainments. The paternal grandfather of 
 the immediate subject of this review was Elijah E. Reed, a physician, verv 
 prominent in his profession, in fact, was in advance of his times. He was the 
 first doctor along the Connecticut valley to abandon the old practice of bleed- 
 ing a patient for almost all ailments. He lived and died in Connecticut, 
 after a useful and honored life. He was a descendant of one who came over 
 in the "Mayflower."' William Bradford, who was elected the second governor 
 of the Plymouth colony. His son. Maro McLain Reed, received his classical 
 education at Yale College and his medical education at two medical colleges. 
 Like his father before him. he was very successful as a medical practitioner 
 and was highly esteemed for his manv commenclable attributes of head and 
 heart. He was a man of fine pu1)lic spirit and broad-minded. He was a 
 strong abolitionist and prohibitionist. After coming to Illinois he and Elihu 
 W'oolcot, with others, founded the Congregational church at Jacksonville. 
 He practiced medicine in Jacksonville for a period of forty-five years, during 
 which time he became widely known, in fact, was regarded as one of the 
 leading physicians of that part of the state. His death occurred in 1877, at 
 the age of seventy-six years. His wife was a refi-ned gentlewoman of excel- 
 lent Xew England parentage, and she is remembered as having a face good to 
 look upon, full of benevolence and purity of mind and soul, indexing the inner 
 life of one who held close communion with higher things. She was born in 
 1S07 and li\"ed to the goodlv old age of ninety-seven, beloxed by all who knew 
 her. 
 
 Xine children, of whom Albert H., of this review was the third in order 
 of birth, were born to Dr. Maro McLain Reed and wife; those now living 
 are. Tnlia, wife of William T. Reid. of Belmont. California. Mr. Reid was 
 at one time president of the State University of California, but at present he 
 is the owner and manager of the Belmont School for Boys, a preparatory 
 school for Harvard L''ni^•ersity : he is assisted in the work by his wife, a woman 
 of fine culture, great executive ability, and unwavering fidelity. Maria Reed 
 married [. W. Thompson, and they live retired at Berkeley, California: Har- 
 riet Reed was stewardess for a period of twenty years for the Belmont School 
 for Bovs and died in 1902; Mary E. Reed, now decea.sed. was the wife of 
 Professor Blackburn, of Chicago University. 
 
 Albert H. Reed enjoved the advantages of a liberal education. He at- 
 tended the Jacksonville schools and was graduated from Illinois College in
 
 i^^.O JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 i8sy- after which he atiended Andover Theoloi^ical Seminary, in Massachu- 
 setts, and was graduated from that institution in i86j. After leaving the sem- 
 inary, he took up the work of the American Missionary Association tor 
 Freechnen at Norfolk. X'irginia, but after two years of earnest endeavor, he 
 was forced to retire from the work on account of failing health, w'hich had 
 been undermined hv the miasmatic climate, and a se\ere accident. Since then 
 he has led a more or less retired life. 
 
 On May 13. 1868, Mr. Reed was united in marriage with Julia W'ent- 
 \\ortli. a descendant of one of the illustrious Eastern families. She was born 
 at Rollings ford, Xew Ham^jshire, January 5. 1838, the daughter of John H. 
 and Judith .\. (Pottle) \\'entworth. Her father was a lineal descendant of 
 Elder William W'entworth. of England. Five of the governors of New 
 Hampshire have borne the name of \\>ntworth. In Portsmouth today stand 
 several handsome colonial mansions formerly occupied by the Went worths 
 who were governors of the Granite state. The \\'entworth House, the most 
 prominent hotel in the city of Portsmouth, has achieved international prom- 
 inence bv reason of the peace conference between Japan and Russia being 
 held there and the signing of the treaty between those nations there. John 
 \\'entworth, father of IMrs. Reed, died in i860 at the age of fifty- four years. 
 His family consisted of eight children. Besides Mrs. Reed, they are. Elias 
 P.. who is now eighty years old, is a retired farmer. li\'ing near Portsmouth, 
 at Greenland ; Eleanor married Charles Maloy, of W^altham. Massachusetts, 
 he having been a literary man and a lecturer of prominence, a follower of 
 Emerson; ]\Iartha H., the wife of Joseph Langton. is living at Kittery Point. 
 Maine, just across the river from Portsmouth: he was formerly a merchant. 
 but is now living retired; Thomas Fenner Wentworth is now deceased; he 
 was formerly a prominent attorney in New York City: Francis G., who served 
 through the Civil war, having enlisted as lieutenant in the Seventh New 
 Ham])shire \V)lunteer Infantry, and he was breveted major during the raid at 
 Washington. 
 
 ^fr. and Mrs. Reed were married at Jacksonville. Illinois, and they con- 
 tinued to reside in that cit\- for a ])eriod of thirty-one years, in the same 
 house, and then they moved to Newton, Iowa. This union was blessed bv the 
 birth of four children, named as follows : Elizabeth A\"entworth Reed, a 
 very capable and talented professional nurse, has had an extensive training 
 in her line, having attended a training .school at Fall River, Massachusetts, 
 and also one of the best hospitals in New York City, receiving careful in- 
 structions in surgery as w^ell as in nursing; she has been successfully engaged 
 in her work in Newton for ten years, and her services are always in great
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 54I 
 
 demand. Julius A. Reed, the subject's second child, who is with the ^reat 
 Wanamaker department store of New ^'ork City, was named for his uncle, 
 Rev. Julius A. Reed, well known ihrouj^hout the state of Iowa as a Congrega- 
 tional minister, his entire life having been spent in home missionary work. 
 After the first few years of this work, he was appointed superintendent of 
 home missionary work for the whole state of Iowa, which position he held 
 for eighteen years. Julius A. Reed, son of the subject of this review, was 
 married to Harriet Lyons, of New York, and they have one child, Harriet 
 Wentworth Reed. Jennie Reed, third child of the subject, died in childhood. 
 William T. Reed, the youngest child, who lives at Tucson. Arizona, married 
 Mabel Edwards, of Xewton, and they have four cliildren. Laura Wentworth. 
 Jennie AL. Theodore F.. and Ora Elizabeth. Both of tlie sons, Julius A. and 
 William T., enlisted in the Spanish-American war. in Company K. I'iftieth 
 Iowa Volunteer Infantry. 
 
 Mr. and Airs. Reed are Congregationalists in religious belief, and they 
 were members of the church of this denomination in Jacksonville. Illinois. 
 As intimated in a preceding paragraph, they have lived a retired life in Xew- 
 ton during the past twehe years, and it has been their custom for some time, 
 to spend their winters in Tuscon, Arizona. 
 
 DANIEL L. GIBFORD. 
 
 It is at all times \ery interesting to compile and preserve the experiences 
 of the old soldiers who went out to fight the country's battles during the slave- 
 holders' reljellion fifty years ago. These gallant old fellows are fast passing 
 away, and we should get all their experiences first hand before it is too late, 
 for it is not only interesting but important that we preserve these personal ex- 
 periences, for, after all. those are the events that make history. What would 
 history be worth were it not for the vivid actions of the individuals? That 
 is all there is to the splendid histories of ancient and modern times. The 
 story as told bv one who has passed through the bU)ody experiences of a half 
 century ago of several years of stubborn struggle and was in numerous battles, 
 marches and campaigns, and perhaps, prisons and hospitals, is far more inter- 
 esting than if narrated long hence by some writer who may distort events out 
 of their true historic significance. One of the lionored veterans of that great 
 conflict whose military career would, if properly set forth, make a xolume of 
 interesting narrative is Daniel L. Cibford. of Newton. Jas])er county.
 
 -_L2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 .Mr. Gibford was l)oni in Allen county,, Indiana, L'ebruary 3, 1841, the 
 son of William and Sarah (Ritter) Gibford. both natives of Ohio. His 
 grandparents on both sides came from Germany, the subject having been 
 named after his grandfather, Daniel Ritter, a tavern keeper in Stark county, 
 Ohio, in the early (la}s. by reason of which fact he became widely known. 
 The subject's father was tbe third child in the family of Abraham Gibford 
 and wife, whose familv consisted of seven children. In 1840 the i)arents of 
 Daniel L. Gibford canie from Ohio and settled in Allen county. Indiana, l)ut 
 soon after the birth of the subject of this sketch they returned to Stark county, 
 Ohio, and a few vears later they removed to Monroe. Green county, 
 Wi.sconsin. where the father, William Gil)ford, engaged in manufacturing and 
 continued his trade of cabinet making. In 1854 he came to Newton, Iowa, 
 having been induced to come here by W. B. Ritter, brother of Mrs. Gibford, 
 who had come to this county a short time previously. After living in New- 
 ton three or four vears. tliey moved to a farm in Palo Alto township, and in 
 1867 Mr. Gibford sold his farm and again moved to Newton and there spent 
 the rest of his life, dying in 189 1 at the age of eighty-two years, his wife hav- 
 ing preceding him to the grave in 1884, d\ing at the age of se\'enty-six years. 
 Their familv consisted of eight children, of whom Daniel L., of this sketch, 
 was the eldest; the others are, Jonathan, a veteran of the Ci\il war who lives 
 at the Soldiers' Home; Catherine, now deceased, was the wife of L. D. Jones, 
 formerly of Reasnor, this county; Frank, who was killed by a train in Cali- 
 fornia: William, a stone-mason, lives in Denver, Colorado; Emily, wife of 
 Frank Osborn, li\es in Seattle, W^ashington ; Charles owns a plum])ing estab- 
 lishment in Newton; Alexander is in the dairy business at San Bernardino, 
 California. 
 
 Daniel L. (hl)ford, when twenty-one years of age, enlisted in August, 
 1862. in Company K, Twenty-eighth Iowa Volunteer Infantr\% at Newton, 
 under Capt. John Meyer, later made colonel ; M. W. Atwood, first lieutenant, 
 and M. C. Dean, second lieutenant. This regiment gathered at Iowa Cit}-. 
 and when they were ordered soutli many of tlie boys carried a bottle of whisky 
 with them, the subject being among the number; but he knew his mother would 
 not ha\ e ajjproved of this had she known of it, so he ga\-e his bottle to a com- 
 rade and eased his conscience, and he has never bought a drop of whisky since. 
 He served faithfully until the close of the war and was honorably discharged 
 in .\ugust, 1865, at Savannah. Georgia. He was in thirteen battles, some 
 of which were among the most hotly contested of the war. among them being 
 I'ort Gil:s()n. Jackson. Champion's Hill and the siege of Vicksburg. He par- 
 tici])ated in the Rc<\ ri\er expedition and went wilb Sbcridan into the Slienan-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 543 
 
 cloah valley and was in the battles of Winchester and Cedar Creek, being 
 wounded in the former, and he was one of the boys who tossed his hat when 
 Sheridan dashed u[) from Winchester from his famous ride, arrivint^' in time 
 to rally his fleeing troops and turn defeat into victory. For meritorious 
 serxice Mr. Gibford was made fifth corporal and color guard. 
 
 After returning from the war Mr. Gibford engaged in farming near 
 Xewton, this county. He had sent the money received from his services in 
 the army home for his father to take care of, but it appears that the latter was 
 a poor financial manager and when the young soldier returned from the front 
 he found that he was practically penniless ; however, he did not regret his 
 services to his country. He bargained for fift_\' acres in 1867. in section 15. 
 Palo Alto township, agreeing to pay one thousand dollars for the same, hie 
 did not have a dollar to pay on it at the time, in fact he was compelled to 
 borrow two dollars from a comrade with which to pay for the revenue stamp 
 at that time required on all such legal papers. lUit he was a man of determina- 
 tion and grit and. working hard and looking careful to details, he graduallv 
 forged ahead until he had it all paid for. He not only improved it. but added 
 twenty-fi\e acres more, making a very desirable farm, which he still owns. 
 Tile land is underlaid with coal wliich ma\' prove a prolitable source of in- 
 come to the family. 
 
 In 1866 Mr. Gibford was united in marriage witli Xanc}- A. W'atkins. 
 who was born in Kentucky in 1848. To this union three children were born, 
 as follows: Eddie Sheridan, born in 1867. was named for the noted general. 
 On September 19, 1890, on the anni\ersar)- of the battle of Winchester, he 
 applied for a marriage license, intending to l)e married two da\s later. X. 
 Townsend was the license clerk, and had fought in lliat battle, and in the 
 .same regiment. Twenty-eighth Iowa, in which Mr. (hbford had fought, and 
 the clerk induced the boy to have his wedding that night. His wife is now 
 deceased, but he has four children, all daughters; he is a contractor and lives 
 at Kearnev. Xel)raska. Alice S. Gibford. the subject's second child, was horn 
 in 1868 and she married Lester W olford. They live on a farm near Lewellen. 
 X'ebraska. and have three children. Howard T. Gibford is a dentist at 
 Greenfield, Towa. 
 
 On August 29. 1879. Mrs. Gibford was claimed by death, and on Xovem- 
 ber 2, 1 88 1, the subject was united in marriage with Elizabeth Bates, born 
 October 25, 1850. in Stevenson county. Illinois. She is the daughter of J. 
 and Hannah (Lambert) Bates, the father a native of \>rmont and the mother 
 of Massachusetts. Her parents came to Iowa at a very early date, soon after 
 their daughter. Elizabeth, was born. Her father died in 185^^ and her mother
 
 -^4 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 passed awav in 1865. Their family consisted of three daughters and two 
 sons, namely : Harriet married Horace Smith, a farmer of Palo Alto town- 
 ship: Ellen married George Foster, who is in the employ of the United States 
 government, having formerly heen lock tender for the go\ernment on the 
 Illinois canal; Edwin, a veteran of Company I, One Hundred and Fifty-sixth 
 Illinois \'olunteer Infantry, and formerly engaged in the livery Imsiness, 
 now lives retired in I'lattsmoutli. Xel)raska: Isaac died when eleven years of 
 age. 
 
 Five children were horn of Air. (hbford's second marriage, namely: 
 Alta Edna, born March 12, 1883, married Marion DeBolt ; they live in New- 
 ton and have one child: he is with the ^^>stern Stock Remedy Company, 
 being a stockholder in the same. Raymond B.. born April 15. 1884, formerly 
 cashier for three years in the Laurel Savings Bank. Laurel, Iowa, and for 
 sometime bookkeeper in the Citizens Bank at Newton, is now with the 
 Ehman-Gibford Chemical Compau)- of this city as vice-president and general 
 manager. Karl B., born ]^Iay 22, 1887, who lives on the home place in Palo 
 Alto township, is married and has one child; Alorrell, born October i, 1892, 
 died August 22, 1893; A'irgil, born May 14, 1894. died on September 20th 
 following. 
 
 For a period of forty-two years Mr. Gibford lived on his farm and then 
 bought property in Newton in 1908, having accumulated a competency, and 
 retired from active work, and here he is now living in honored retirement, 
 surrounded by plenty as a result of his former years of industry. He is a 
 member of Garret Post No. 16, Grand Anny of the Republic. Politicallv, 
 he is independent. His wife belongs to the Methodist church. 
 
 TOHN M. FALLS. 
 
 Probably no citizen of Newton has triumphed over greater difficulties 
 and adversities than has John AI. Fales, of Newton, Jasper county. The 
 story of his life reads like fiction. He dates his lineage back to 1600, in 
 which year James Fales emigrated from Engand and settled in ^^'alpole, 
 Massachusetts, married Anna Brock in 1635, fought in King Philip's war, 
 which commenced in 1675, and died in 1708. There were eight children in 
 his family, the fourth of whom was named Peter, Ijorn in 1668, and died 
 August 10, 1725. His wife. Al>igail Robbins, bore him eight children, the 
 first a son, also named Peter, born April 18, 1690. He married Sarah Unity
 
 /^(&'CL,^^
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 545 
 
 Allen July 30, 1724. Eight children came by this union, and the fourth was 
 named Peter, born December 16, 1732. On August 4, 1726, he married 
 Avis Bicknell. Ten children were born to them, the seventh being named 
 Peter. Thus for four generations in the direct lineage of the subject comes 
 the name Peter. The latter, who was born October 14, 1778, married 
 Hannah Shepherd, and was married a second time to Judith Pole. He was 
 born at Attleborough, Massachusetts, lived at different places, including 
 Maine, Buffalo, New York, and died in Ohio, September 20, 1857, at the ad- 
 vanced age of eighty years. He was the father of sixteen children, the 
 sixth being Ellis, the father of the subject. Ellis Pales was born in Union, 
 Maine, July 9, 1809. He received a limited education in the common schools 
 of Maine, and when he reached his majority married Julia Ann Avery in 
 Sheldon, New^ York. They afterward removed to Trumbull county, Ohio, 
 but in a short time pushed farther w^est and located in Fond du Lac county, 
 Wisconsin. Nine children were born to this union, three of whom and the 
 mother died of typhoid fever in Wisconsin. After the death of his first wife, 
 Mr. Fales married Electa Tolman in Fond du Lac, W^isconsin, by whom he 
 had three children. For his third wife he married in Chickasaw county, 
 Iowa, Mary Ann Tucker, which union resulted in the birth of four children. 
 The family later moved to Missouri, and again returned to Iowa, and in a 
 short time migrated to Norton county, Kansas, where they remained until 
 the father's death, on September 16, 1888. Mr. Ellis was a blacksmith by 
 trade and, although never having the advantages of a school education, by 
 constant reading at home, became a w^ell posted man, and was able to hold 
 his own in debates with men much better educated than he. 
 
 John M. Fales, of this review, was the sixth son of Ellis and Julia Ann 
 (Avery) Fales, and he was born near Farmington, Ohio, April 17, 1843. ^^^^ 
 with his parents, who pushed w-estward at an early date, experienced many of 
 the hardships coincident to pioneer life. On Februar\^ 12, 1862, he enlisted 
 in Company A, Sixteenth United States Infantry, Second Battalion. They 
 were sent to headquarters at Columbus, Ohio, and later to Columbus, Ken- 
 tucky; here the subject remained, doing guard duty at headquarters until 
 February, 1864, when he was ordered to join his regiment at Chattanooga, 
 Tennessee. He participated in the battles of Buzzard Roost, Resaca, New 
 Hope Church, Kenesaw^ Mountain, July 4, 1864, Peach Tree Creek, Atlanta 
 and Jonesboro, and subsequently, under the command of General Sherman, 
 marched to the rear of Atlanta and was under fire most of the war. When 
 Sherman started for the sea. Mr. Fales, with his brigade, was sent back to 
 
 (35)
 
 546 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Lookout Mountain, where he was honorably discharged, February 12, 1865. 
 Returning home, he located in Chickasaw county, low^a, and invested what 
 money he had saved from the pay of his ser\'ice in the army in land, buying 
 seventy acres. At this time, September, 1865, he was united in marriage with 
 Sarah J. Sisson. Shortly after their marriage her step-mother died and her 
 father, James Sisson, who was then well advanced in years, was left alone. 
 They took him into their family and he agreed to make them a deed to forty 
 acres of land which he owned if they would take care of him the rest of his 
 life. Agreeing to this, they sold their own place and moved to the home of 
 her father, but this not proving to be a happy arrangement, the deed was 
 returned to Mr. Sisson, giving him back his land, and leaving them nearly 
 penniless. Thus Mr. Fales and his wife and little babe were turned out into 
 the world b^' Mr. Sisson without anything. 
 
 Mr. Fales then moved to Jasper county, Missouri, in 1870, but soon 
 returned to northern Iowa. Here, at Fredericksburg, he operated a wagon 
 shop and at this time his father-in-law again became a member of his family, 
 Mr. Sisson now being without funds, having deeded away his property and 
 got nothing for it to some one who was to give him a home during the rest 
 of his life, but becoming dissatisfied and homeless Mr. Fales, forgiving- the 
 harsh treatment he had received at his hand, took him again to his home and 
 took care of him from that time until his death, which occurred in Newton 
 in 1873, at the age of seventy-seven years. At this time Mr. Fales was in 
 very reduced circumstances. He moved to Newton in 1873 and on May 20, 
 1875, his wife died after a long period of failing health, leaving five small 
 children. During her illness and at her death, Mr. Fales' circumstances were 
 such that he was compelled to accept outside assistance, and after her death 
 homes were found for the two youngest children. One died shortly after- 
 wards, but the other was reared by John Lamb and wife. The four children 
 now living are Anna D., wife of Henry Metz, living in Idaho on a farm; 
 Cora, wife of Charles Gififord, lives at Cunningham, Washington; Sidney M. 
 is engaged in the meat market business at Rigby, Idaho ; he also owns a farm 
 near there ; A. L. lives in New Mexico, engaged in missionary work. 
 
 On April 2, 1876, Mr. Fales was united in marriage with Mrs. Betsey 
 Barker, a native of Pennsylvania, the daughter of Hiram and Eliza Gary. 
 She was lx)rn November 16, 1848. To this union tw^o children were bom, 
 both now deceased,' as is the mother, whose death occurred on August 24, 
 1895. During the latter years of his life Hiram Gary, father of the second 
 Mrs. Fales, was an innlate of their home, and he died at the age of eighty 
 vears.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 547 
 
 On February 26, 1896, Mr. Fales was united in marriage with Mary C. 
 Anderson. She was born in 1861 in Sweden, and she is the daughter of 
 Andrew and Margaret (Mathews) Anderson, both natives of Sweden. She 
 was twenty-two years old when she accompanied her parents to America, in 
 1883, and a brother, Victor, also came at that time. He is now engaged in 
 farming and looks after a farm belonging to the subject of this sketch in 
 Palo Alto township. There were six children in the Anderson family, all 
 of whom came to America. Only three are now living. A sister, Anna 
 Carleston, lives at Galvey, Illinois. Her father died ten years ago at the age 
 of seventy-four years. The mother is still living and makes her home with 
 her daughter, Mrs. Fales, of this review. She is now eighty-five years old. 
 
 To Mr. Fales' last union two children have been bory, John Melvin. 
 born June 27, 1897, and Peter Emery, born May i, 1901. It will be noticed 
 that the name "PeterV again appears, after skipping two generations, Mr. 
 Fales believing that the name ought to be perpetuated in the family. 
 
 John ]\I. Fales is now one of Xewton's substantial citizens, being worth 
 over fifty thousand dollars. He is a fine type of the self-made American 
 citizen. The story of his early struggles and his gradual rise to affluence is 
 one to make the younger generation take notice, proving that strong hands, a 
 clear brain and an honest heart can make stepping-stones of adversities and 
 achieve large results in the face of obstacles. Before coming to Xewton 
 Mr. Fales was engaged in the wagon making and repairing business, as above 
 stated, in Fredericksburg. Once he sold a wagon to a man, taking in part 
 pay an old wagon worth alx)ut ten dollars. He made a new wagon, using the 
 irons of the old one and traded this for a young horse; he already owned a 
 horse and therefore had a team. Soon after this trade he decided to move to 
 Newton, so, loading up his family and earthly belongings, he drove through 
 with his team, which he sold soon after his arrival, for sixty-five dollars, and 
 purchased two lots in north Newton with the money. Later he was enabled 
 to purchase enough lumber to build a house on them. This was some time 
 after the death of his first wife when he was beginning to get on his feet 
 again. Not long afterwards he traded the house and lots for one hundred 
 and twenty acres of land in Cherokee county, Iowa, without seeing the land. 
 This proved to be a good trade and after holding the land for some time he 
 sold it for fifteen hundred and sixty dollars, and with twelve hundred and 
 twenty dollars of that amount purchased eighty acres near Newton, leaving 
 him a balance of three hundred and forty dollars, which paid for the lumber 
 he had used in building the house on the lots, also included the price of the 
 lots. Thus it will be seen bv his \arious trades, which he takes pride in tracing.
 
 -48 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Starting with the old set of wagon wheels, he \vas now twelve hundred and 
 twenty dollars "to the good."" This eighty acres was sold some years after- 
 wards for forty dollars per acre, and wath the money Mr. Fales purchased 
 ninety-one and one-half acres of fine land in Fairview township and this he 
 still holds. The second Mrs. Fales inherited eleven hundred dollars upon the 
 death of her father, and forty-six and one-half acres was purchased in Wild 
 Cat grove with this amount. This was unimproved and Mr. Fales and his 
 faithful wife worked very hard in placing it under cultivation, and it is now 
 a splendid little farm, worth probably two hundred and fifty dollars per 
 acre. Mr. Fales has since added five acres to it, thus making fifty-one and 
 one-half acres. In all he owns in Fairview and Palo Alto townships three 
 hundred and sixty-five acres and two good residence properties in Xewton, 
 and he is also part owner of one of Newton's best business blocks. He is 
 now retired from the active duties of life and lives quietly in his beautiful 
 modern home in Xewton, where his two little boys attend school. He is a 
 member of the Baptist church, \vhile his wife affiliates with the Presbyter- 
 ians. He is very grateful that God has prospered him and believes that "hon- 
 esty is the best policy." 
 
 Mr. Fales relates in an interesting manner his early experiences in 
 Iowa, which were characterized by hardships, privations and labor of the 
 most strenuous nature. Among these experiences he tells in the following 
 words of his efforts to build his first house : "Soon after I came from the 
 army I purchased a small piece of wild land near Fredericksburg, Chickasaw 
 county, Iowa, paying for it with the money I had saved in the army service, 
 using all my means in this purchase. I now needed a house, but, having no 
 money, I worked for a Mr. Martin for ten days, for which I received one 
 thousand feet of native lumber, delivered at the saw-mill. Then I gleaned 
 around and got about seven hundred more feet of native lumber 
 and hauled it to the mill. I then went to Mr. Paden, who owned the mill, 
 and bargained with him to saw my logs at ten dollars a thousand, paying 
 him in work by the day. I then got some logs and hew'ed my sills, eight 
 inches square. Needing shingles, I went to Mr. Martin and bought a large 
 black oak shingle tree for four dollars, to be paid at harvest time. I had the 
 tree sawed into shingle blocks and hauled them to the shingle factor}^ I 
 paid for the making of the shingles by work at the shingle factory. \\'hen I 
 had the materials on the ground and ready to start the building I went to a 
 Mr. Conner to help me put up the little house, which was to be fourteen by 
 eighteen feet, eight feet high. He was too busy to help me, but said he 
 could show me how so that I could do the work as well as he could. When
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 549 
 
 ready to raise the building I went to town to buy some nails. I had in my 
 pockets but thirty-five cents and w ent to a hardware store to buy two' dollars' 
 worth of nails. Being a stranger, they did not want to trust me, but said 
 they would let me have the stuff if my father would say it was all right. 
 Going to see my father. I found he had gone to the country, so I went back to 
 the store. While there a man came in who was doing some mason work for 
 the store people and said he wanted them to get him a workman. I spoke 
 up and asked for the job, which I secured, and after working two days was 
 able to buy my two dollars' worth of nails. I found a man who had a 
 window he did not need and worked for him until I had paid for the window. 
 My wife being anxious to get into the house, we moved in in the spring of 
 1866, with but one side of the roof on. one window in; a blanket doing service 
 for a door and the floor only temporarily laid. This is the way I built my 
 first house. We were both happy in this home of our own, though it was 
 ever so humble, and when the building was completed it was a very com- 
 fortable house." 
 
 HOX. WILLIAAI R. COOPER. 
 
 A young man who has stamped the impress of his strong personality 
 upon the minds of the people of Jasper county in a manner as to render him 
 one of the conspicuous characters of the locality is Hon. \\'illiam R. Cooper, 
 the able and popular retiring representative in the state Legislature. Faith- 
 fulness to duty and a strict adherence to a fixed purpose, which always do 
 more to advance a man's interests than wealth or advantageous circumstances, 
 have been dominating factors in his life, which has been replete with honor and 
 success worthily attained, and he has become an important factor in the affairs 
 of his county and stands in the foremost rank of the legal profession. Few 
 citizens in Jasper county are better known, none occupy a more conspicuous 
 place in the confidence of the public, and it is a compliment worthily bestowed 
 to class him with the representative men of his day and generation in the city 
 of his residence, having done much for the general development of Xewton 
 and this vicinity. 
 
 Mr. Cooper is one of the native sons of Jasper county of whom she may 
 well be proud, his birth having occurred here on November 28. 1868. he 
 being the scion of one of the sterling old families that figured prominently 
 in the pioneer history of the county, the son of Levi and Ellen (Sanders) 
 Cooper. The father was born, reared and educated in Pennsylvania, from
 
 -:^0 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 which state he came to Iowa about 1862 or 1863 and located in Jasper county, 
 near Lvnnville. where he developed a good farm and became well established, 
 and where he continued to reside until his death in 1874, when his son, 
 \\'illiam R.. was about six years old. His wife was born in Indiana. The 
 Cooper family is of Quaker stock and its members ha\-e always been noted for 
 their piety and clean citizenship. 
 
 Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Levi Cooper, two daughters, 
 who are deceased, and \\'illiam R. of this review. The mother is now living 
 in California, haxing remarried, her last husband being Jackson Booth. 
 
 ^^'illiara R. Cooper was educated in the rural schools of this county and 
 at Hazel Dell Academy at Newton. He afterward entered Iowa State Col- 
 lege at Ames, and graduated in 1894, taking the scientific course. He pre- 
 pared himself for a teacher and for several years successfully followed that 
 vocation, winning the admiration of both pupil and patron ; but growing tired 
 of the school room, he entered the abstract and loan business in 1900, in New- 
 ton. Still not satisfied with his work, although again successful, he finally 
 turned his attention to the law, for which he seemed to have a natural bent, 
 and, making rapid progress in the same, he was admitted to the bar in 1904, 
 since which time he has been actively engaged in the practice, and at the 
 same time has carried on an extensive abstract and loan business. He has 
 been successful as an attorney and abstractor, winning a reputation as a 
 conscientious, capable, well grounded and energetic advocate, who, by his 
 judicious course, has won the good will and admiration of all classes. 
 
 Owing to his public spirit and his recognized ability, Mr. Cooper was soon 
 singled out by party leaders for public positions, and in 1908 he was elected 
 representative from Jasper county, and his eminently worthy and satisfactory 
 course in the Legislature has evidently justified the wisdom of his selection 
 for this important position, for he has labored untiringly for the good of his 
 locality, winning the hearty approbation of all concerned, irrespective of party 
 alignment, making his influence felt in the counsels and deliberations there 
 and often on the floor, challenging forcefully and eloquently any measure that 
 did not seem to warrant his support, and always defending in a relentless and 
 tactful manner such movements as were calculated to make for the general 
 good. He was chairman of the federal relations committee and a member of 
 the judiciary, ways and means, insurance, banks and banking, mines and min- 
 ing, pardons, labor, telegraph and express, and engrossed bills committees,- in 
 all of which he displayed rare soundness of judgment and business acumen. 
 He was the author of the bill, 'Tlace of Trial of Citations," which provides 
 grounds for change of place of trial. He was instrumental in securing the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 55 1 
 
 passage of a bill to change the place of trial to the home county where there 
 is an alleged fraudulent contract. He was the author of many hills, an<l his 
 efforts were always directed toward the betterment of the moral conditions 
 of the state. He was largely instrumental in securing the passage of a bill 
 providing against the sale of cigarettes and cigarette papers and providing 
 for search warrant of any building where same was thought to be kept for 
 sale, and which provides for the assessment of a fine of three hundred dollars 
 against the owner of the building. 
 
 Judging from the past meritorious record of ^Ir. Cooper, it is safe to 
 predict that the future years hold much of honor and success f(jr him and 
 that he will in due course of time take his place among the eminent and useful 
 men of the great commonwealth of Iowa. 
 
 Mr. Cooper's domestic life began on October 26, 1898, when he was 
 united in marriage w'ith Virginia Russell, a lady of culture and genial address 
 and the daughter of S. G. Russell, president of the Farmers' Insurance Com- 
 pany, of Newton, and a well known business man here. This union has been 
 blessed bv the birth of four children, Florence, Robert, Russell and Richard. 
 
 BARRETT E. MOORE. 
 
 Prominently connected with the business history of Jasper county, the 
 career of Barrett E. Moore, president of the Dowden Manufacturing Company 
 and vice-president of the First National Bank of Prairie City, is eminently 
 worthy of permanent record. Great fortunes have been accumulated by 
 others through various methods, but few lives in this section of Iowa furnish 
 a better example of the wise application of sound business principles and safe 
 conser\atism as does his. The story of his success is not long nor does it 
 contain any exciting chapters, but in it lies a valuable secret of the prosperity 
 which it records. His business and private life are replete with interest and 
 incentive, no matter how lacking in dramatic incident; the record of an in- 
 dustrious life whose every action has been actuated by a laudable aml)ition 
 and controlled by proper ideals, consistent with itself and its possibilities in 
 every particular. In fact, it would be hard to find a better example of what 
 mav be accomplished by duty fully performed or what obstacles may be sur- 
 mounted through energy-and tact than that aft"orded by the life history of this 
 progressive man of affairs.
 
 -^2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Air. Moore is the scion of a sterling- old family of eastern Iowa, and he 
 was born at Attalissa, Muscatine county, Iowa, June i, 1862, the son of S. S. 
 and Ellen (Worrell) Moore, both natives of Ohio. The father was a shoe- 
 maker by trade and in 1849 or 1850 he left Ohio with his family and came to 
 Iowa, making the long overland journey in an old-fashioned wagon, falling 
 in with the almost continuous train of emigrants to the middle and far west 
 during that formative period of our country's histor}'. He settled near the 
 town of Attalissa, Muscatine county, and farmed there for a time, then went 
 into the grocery business at that place, continuing the same for five years, 
 when he moved to Brooklyn, Iowa, where he entered the same business, 
 handling farming implements additionally, with a partner under the firm name 
 of Overman & Moore. Six years later he sold out and moved to Mitchell- 
 ville. where he went into the lumber and grain business, building the first 
 grain elevator there. He continued in that line of endeavor there with his 
 usual success for over seventeen years, but, selling out in 1886, he came to 
 Prairie Citv to make his future home, and here he led a retired life until his 
 death, in June, 1894, at the advanced age of eighty-two years; his widow, 
 who survived until 1909, also reached that age. After her husband's death 
 she made her home with the son, Barrett E. of this review, he being the 
 youngest of a family of seven children, four of whom reached maturity, the 
 other three being ^Martha A., widow of J. R. Gill, he having formerly been 
 a well known grain dealer of Prairie City, in partnership with the subject, 
 and his death occurred in 1908, leaving a wife and several children; Priscilla 
 married Benjamin Cope, a well known farmer of Polk county, and they also 
 ha\-e several children: William H.. who is a retired business man of Prairie 
 City, is married and has a family. 
 
 Barrett E. Moore attended the Mitchellville Seminary at Mitchellville, 
 later going to Kansas City, Missouri, where he remained less than a year, 
 then came to Prairie City, Iowa, where he secured emplox nient in \^ander- 
 mast's general store, clerking for him for five years, giving a high grade 
 ser\ice all the while and incidentally becoming, thoroughly familiar with the 
 ins and outs of merchandising. His next venture w-as in the grain business 
 with Gill & Son. and after three years he bought the interest of J. R. Gill and 
 the firm became Gill & Moore, and he continued in the same for a period of 
 seventeen years, building up a large and ever-growing business and becoming 
 widely known as one of the leading grain men of central Iowa. Observing 
 better opportunities in the banking world, he sold out his grain interests in 
 1908 and identified himself with the Eirst National Bank of Prairie Citv,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 553 
 
 assuming the duties of vice-president, which position he still tills in a manner 
 that reflects much credit upon himself and to the entire satisfaction of the 
 stockholders and all others concerned, his influence having done much in estab- 
 lishing the growing prestige of that safe and sound institution, which had 
 developed at a steady pace. Besides his interest in the bank, Mr. Moore is a 
 large stockholder in the Dowden Manufacturing Company, with which he 
 has been connected since its organization in 1888. It is capitalized for forty 
 thousand dollars, but its surplus and working capital is eighty thousand dol- 
 lars, and it has a large, modernly equipped plant, in which only skilled artfsans 
 are employed and where every department is managed under a superb system, 
 and the much-sought products of the plant are constantly invading new terri- 
 tory. 
 
 The domestic life of Mr. Moore began in September, 1894. when he was 
 united in marriage with Carrie Bollhoefer, of -Newton, this county, the ac- 
 complished and refined daughter of A. C. Bollhoefer and wife, very early set- 
 tlers of Jasper county and long prominent and highly esteemed in local circles. 
 Mrs. Moore has one brother and four sisters living, namely : Marv. who lives 
 in Xewton: Lou. Minnie and Emma live in Xewton ; Edward lives in Colfax. 
 Jasper county. 
 
 To ^Ir. and ]\Irs. Moore two children have been born. Merle M.. now 
 fourteen years of age. and Florence E.. who died when six years old. Mrs. 
 Moore Is a member of the ^I'ethodist Episcopal church of Xewton. Fra- 
 ternally, yir. ]Moore belongs to the Masonic order, Preston Lodge X'o. 218, 
 and to the Knights of Pythias, Jasper Lodge X^o. 63, being treasurer of both 
 lodges. Politically, he is a "standpat" Republican, but. being engrossed with 
 personal affairs, he has never cared for political leadership or the honors of 
 public office ; however, always deeply interested in whatever tends to the pub- 
 lic welfare and readv to lend a helping hand in forwarding any movement 
 having for its object the upbuilding of the section in which he lives. 
 
 The career of Mr. Moore illustrates most happily for the purpose of this 
 work the fact that if a young man possesses the proper attributes of mind and 
 heart, he can. unaided, attain to a position of unmistakable precedence and 
 gain for himself an honored position among the men who are the foremost 
 factors in shaping the destinies of communities, his life proving that the only 
 true success in this world is that which is accomplished by personal effort 
 and consecutive industr\% by honesty and a straightforward, unassuming at- 
 titude toward those with whom he comes into contact.
 
 --^ JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 EDWARD PAYSOX GOODHUE. 
 (An Autobiography.) 
 Edward Payson Goodhue, the third and youngest son of Da\id and 
 Betsey Goodhue, was born in Groton, New Hampshire, March 7, 1839. My 
 fatlier was the oldest son of Joseph Goodhue and he was born in Groton, New 
 Hampshire, February 11, 1903, and his death occurred on February 26, 
 1886. He was a man of sentiment as well as enterprise, but more philosoph- 
 ical than emotional, a great reader, in fact, was a better scholar than his sons ; 
 he was strictly honest and temperate — had no use for tobacco, whisky or pro- 
 fanity. He took an active part in the organization of Malaka township. 
 Jasper county, Iowa, and acted as clerk at the first town meeting, and he was 
 commissioned by A. W. Randall, postmaster-general, on the 24th of April, 
 1868. as the first postmaster at Horn, and he held the office eleven years, and 
 I was commissioned by Postmaster-General D. M. Key in 1879 to take his 
 place and I occupied this position nine years. My father was a descendant of 
 William Goodhue, who came from England in November, 1636. He is known 
 to ha\e been a man of high integrity and wisdom and many of his descendants 
 have ranked high in church and state. They are a quiet, peace-loving people. 
 I have never heard of a divorce in this family, and neither is there any record 
 of any Goodhue having been in the poor house or the penitentiary. They 
 have their share of faults, but so far have held' their own counsel and adjusted 
 their differences outside of court. My mother's people were from Scotland, 
 Her maiden name was Betsey McGoo ; she was born in South Berwick, Maine, 
 February 2. 181 1, and died July 18, 1906, at the advanced age of ninety-five 
 years, five months and sixteen days. She married Thomas Warwick, of Bos- 
 ton, Massachusetts, November 21, 1826. Four years later he died in Balti- 
 more, Maryland, leaving two young sons, James and Thomas : the former 
 died in Lynn. Massachusetts, in the spring of 1900, and the latter, who was in 
 the marine service during the Civil war, died while thus employed for his 
 country. On February 4, 1833, my parents were married and, besides my- 
 self, two other sons were born, George Clinton and Da\id Dexter. She was 
 a noble woman and true niother in every sense of the word, always full of 
 hope and cheer, generous to a fault, sympathetic and energetic. It was her 
 custom, back in New Hampshire, to take the wool when sheared, and card, 
 spin and weave enough to cut and make my older brothers new suits for win- 
 ter, and she performed her tasks in this line with more grace than ease, sing- 
 ing more than complaining. Of course these mantles were sooner out-grown
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 555 
 
 than out-worn and naturally fell upon me; a fair deal was the height of my 
 expectancy, but this was more than I had bargained for. It is better to be 
 born lucky than rich. 
 
 When I was fourteen years of age my father sold his farm at Croton, 
 Xew Hampshire, and on April i, 1854, he took Horace Greeley's advice and 
 came west, arriving a month later, on the first of May, at Marengo, the county 
 seat of Iowa county, Iowa. Besides these parents, their three sons and 
 ''Ring," their dog. Uncle Warren Goodhue and Cousin Frank also came along, 
 and in June we were joined by Uncle Harford and Aunt Harriet Barton, 
 from Readville, Massachusetts. Uncle Harford and my brother, George C, 
 entered land just east of Hilton creek, but my father, in company with Uncle 
 Warren, bought a section, including some timber, that lay across the Iowa 
 river. Fifty-five acres of this had been broken and enclosed by a seven-rail 
 stake-and-rider fence, two houses built and two wells dug square and timbered 
 up cob-house fashion. The houses were constructed in a similar manner of 
 logs and shingled with undressed oak splits, three feet in length and from 
 four to six inches in width ; these were laid in courses and a log placed across 
 the roof to hold them in place. Like Solomon's temple, the sound of the 
 hammer was never heard in their construction, for the buildings were minus 
 nails. This land was surveyed and divided during the summer of 1855. It 
 was well located, a little southeast of Marengo on a divide that overlooked 
 the town; but the climate was so different from that of Xew England, it gave 
 all of us the shakes. As soon as I had recovered, my father, mother and 
 brother Clint all fell ill with typhoid fever and brother Dick was still in a 
 serious condition. To get a nurse was quite out of the question, for there 
 was no room nor place for one, and. although a boy of sixteen years. I was 
 their only help and watched over them both night and day. Our good Doctor 
 Hendershot gave me much praise for skill and untiring devotion. A little 
 later in the fall my good Aunt Harriet died, which fact proved so depressing 
 to my parents that they sold out and moved in the early spring of 1856 to 
 Jasper county, making the journey in a lumber-wagon, drawn by four oxen. 
 Attached to the end of the wagon was a hand-cart of my own making, filled 
 with trinkets and "Yankee notions" from the East. We had sold our live 
 stock and took with us only the oxen, one bay stallion, a small drove of sheep, 
 a coop of chickens and our little black dog to bring up the rear. We fre- 
 quently stuck in the mud. for the sloughs were not bridged, but they managed 
 to pull through by doubling teams with some mover who chanced to come by 
 in an opportune time, or who were also stuck in the deep mire: so on the 
 evening of the' third dav we landed at the Xorth Skunk river. There mv
 
 --6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 father bought one hundred and ninety-five acres of choice land, of wliich 
 twenty-five acres had been broken and fenced, and upon which a house had 
 been started and left partly finished. The land was well watered and on it 
 stood a fine grove of timber, which was quite an item, for the country was 
 principally prairie and so far as the early settlers knew, there was no coal in 
 the state, nor railroad to furnish them with building material. Some of the 
 black walnut was cut and sawed at John Gary's mill, and in the fall after it 
 was seasoned, my father purchased for me a set of tools and I was put to 
 work finishing the house. After making the panel doors there was enough 
 left to make my mother a light-stand, a leaf-table and cupboard. I still re- 
 tain the latter as a true specimen of what a boy can do with Yankee "gumption" 
 at the age of seventeen years. The country was new and needed to be de- 
 veloped. I had little time for books or sport. I never owned a gun and I 
 never killed a rabbit or song-bird. I got enough pleasure out of the use of 
 tools, which I took to most readily. I made barrels, churns, trays, boots, 
 shoes, sleds, spoke-wheels and many other things, ^^^lile in Dubuque in 
 the winter of 1862, in company with my brother Deck. I offered to enlist with 
 a company of carpenters and join the Union army in Tennessee, but our 
 services were rejected. 
 
 My first vote was cast for President Lincoln, and I have voted for every 
 President since, with the exception of Hayes; however, I am liberal both in 
 my political and religious views, believing more in men and principles than 
 in parties or any special denominations, although I attend church and con- 
 tribute something to the support of churches. I do not believe the story of 
 creation, believing that light, heat, motion and all phases of vegetable and 
 animal life to be spontaneous, springing from the ever changing but inde- 
 structable atom. ^Matter and space are too vast to be cornered and controlled 
 by art, and nature is too full of tragedies to admit of design. It would im- 
 peach justice as well as mercy and set at naught the command of Moses, 
 'Thou Shalt not kill." 
 
 I have always tried to do my full share in the work of developing this 
 locality, having had its interests at heart from the first, and I hope I have been 
 of some small service in this respect. When twenty-one years of age I was 
 elected road boss, and my district run the length of the township, and after 
 spending the tax bridging the sloughs, I donated twenty-one days grading the 
 bank and reconstructing the first bridge across the North Skunk river. The 
 next year I was elected justice of the peace, and I have held at different times 
 every office in the township, except constable.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 557 
 
 It was while acting on the building committee of the school board that I 
 first met Carlton Braley, who proved to be a genial Vermont Yankee, who 
 owned the stone quarry at Kellogg. He introduced me to his daughter Ellen, 
 who, by the way, is the present Mrs. Goodhue. She had been well educated 
 and had taught several terms of school in our district, and of course, the first 
 one in our new school house. We were married by the Rev. Addison Lyman 
 and served a sumptuous Thanksgiving dinner, November 25, 1869. On 
 ]\Iarch 13, 1 87 1, Birdie, our only child, now Mrs. F. G. Maple, was born. 
 We had some reverses, but in spite of that, prospered fairly well, so in the 
 summer of 1890, after a lapse of thirty-six years, in company with my wife 
 and daughter, I visited my native land, where every hill and dale are hallowed 
 by the sacred memory of bygone days. We visited relatives in and around 
 Boston and every town of note in Vermont, Mrs. Goodhue's native state. 
 We had the pleasure of attending a liberal campmeeting at Queen City Park, 
 bordering Lake Champlain, and we crossed that historic lake to the place where 
 my grandfather fought under McDonough in the war of 1812. We came 
 home through Canada, by way of Montreal. The following winter we bought 
 the place where we now reside. The following summer we sold our farm 
 in ^lalaka township and since then have bought ninety-five acres more. I 
 have given my daughter a deed of twenty, and sold some, but still retain 
 eighty-five acres, the most of which we keep rented. We keep a little live 
 stock for every-day use, including a favorite horse. 
 
 SACRED HEART CHURCH, NEWTON. 
 
 In the early history of the county services were held every six months 
 by Father Brazil, of St. Ambrose church, Des ^loines, at the home of Michael 
 Morring, also at the residence of a Mr. Hickey. Finally, in 1858, a church 
 was built, and continued as the place of worship until the Sacred Heart church 
 was erected in Newton. The rectory was erected about thirty years ago by 
 Father John Fogarty. Fifteen pastors have administered the affairs of the 
 congregation since 1858. The congregation now numbers twenty-eight fam- 
 ilies, the present pastor being Rev. Thomas J. McCann, a native of Philadel- 
 phia. Pennsylvania. His education was obtained in the parochial schools of 
 his native city and later he studied in the College of Mount St. Mary's, at 
 Emmetsburg, Maryland, also at St. Mary's University and Johns Hopkins 
 University, Baltimore, Maryland.
 
 558 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 To the Xewton church are attached the Catholic missions of Monroe 
 and Colfax. Both towns have Catholic churches and. although the congrega- 
 tions are vet small, thev are growing and good work is being done. 
 
 HAYDEN REYNOLDS. 
 
 This well known and higlil}' honored old soldier of Xewton, Jasper 
 county, is an excellent representatix'e of the retired business men of this 
 locality, coming from an ancestry that distinguished itself in the pioneer 
 times, when the country was covered with wild, native growths; in fact, 
 Mr. Reynolds himself came to this country in the days of the wild, wide- 
 sweeping prairies, and assisted his people and the rest of the early settlers to 
 carve homes, build schools and churches and introduce the customs of civil- 
 ization in the wilderness. They were hardy, courageous, honest pioneers, 
 willing to take the hardships that they might acquire the soil and the home 
 that Avas sure to rise and enjoy the blessings following inevitably in the wake 
 of civilization. 
 
 Hayden Reynolds was born in Hart county. Kentucky, on October 12, 
 1842, the son of Shadrach and Mary (Logsdon) Reynolds. The father was 
 a native of Virginia, but when a child his parents brought him to Kentucky 
 and there he grew to manhood and married, and in 1855 he moved with his 
 family from the '"dark and bloody ground" country to Jasper county, Iowa; 
 however, the trip was not made at once, for they went in wagons to Louis- 
 ville and New Albany, stopping in the latter city several months, when the 
 journey w-as resumed by steamboat to Keokuk, Iowa, and from there in 
 wagons to Newton, the father buying land in what is now^ Newton township, 
 which was at that time a part of Malaka township, settling there in 1856, thus 
 becoming one of the early settlers of the county. There the elder Reynolds 
 farmed until his death, which occurred when he was fifty-eight years of age, 
 his wife reaching the age of sixty-four years. They had a large family, four- 
 teen children, of which Hayden, of this sketch, was the third in order of birth ; 
 the others are, James O., who served in the Civil war as a member of Com- 
 pany B, Thirteenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, died in Kansas ; Sarah, who mar- 
 ried Green B. Bridges, lives in Newton; Deliah died in infancy; Nancy J., now 
 Mrs. John Montis, lives at Belle fontaine, Ohio; William, who was in Com- 
 pany L, Ninth Iowa Cavalry, during the Civil war, died in Afton. this state; 
 Zachariah died in Oskaloosa, low^a ; Joseph lives in Des Moines ; Isabel married
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 559 
 
 John T. Rapp, a veteran of the Civil war. who is living at the Soldiers' Home 
 near Dodge City, Kansas ; Thomas lives in Newton ; Charles lives on a farm 
 near Xewton; A. G. Hves in Des Moines; E. F. lives in Newton; Martha is 
 the w^ife of Lee Logsdon and they live in Newton. The last five named were 
 born after the family came to Jasper county. 
 
 Hayden Reynolds attended the district schools in his township, and dur- 
 ing the summer months he assisted with the work on the home farm. When 
 the great war between the states came on he gladly sacrificed the pleasures of 
 home and prospects of business and offered his services to the Union, being 
 among the early volunteers, ha\ing enlisted in Company B, Fifth Iowa In- 
 fantry, in June, 1861, and on July 15th following he was sworn into the 
 service at Burlington, Iowa, this being the first regiment raised in this state 
 under the call for three hundred thousand troops. He saw some hard service, 
 having been in the battle of luka, in which his company lost very heavily, in 
 fact, more than half of it was killed or missing. Mr. Reynolds witnessed the 
 bombardment of New^ Madrid, Missouri, and he w-as in the hard-fought bat- 
 tle of Corinth. At Memphis he was accidentally wounded and was laid up 
 in the hospital for some time. On September 7, 1863. he was given an honor- 
 able discharge and sent home on account of disability, after a faithful sen-ice 
 of twenty-six months, during which time he participated in several important 
 campaigns, hotly contested battles and innumerable skirmishes. After re- 
 turning home he engaged in farming, but his health was broken and his 
 injury troubled him, in fact, has ever since been somewhat of a handicap to 
 him. 
 
 On October 25, 1865, Mr. Reynolds was united in marriage with Mary 
 Linder, w'ho was born in Iowa, and this union resulted in the birth of six 
 children, namely : James lives at Sully, Iowa ; Elizabeth died when four 
 years of age: Ida B. married J. E. Townsend and they live in Dexter, Guthrie 
 county. Iowa; Frederick died in infancy; Arthur lives in Newton, being at 
 present street commissioner there ; Sarah married Robert Linder, and they 
 live on a farm in Sherman township, six miles west of Newton. 
 
 The first wife of Mr. Reynolds died and he was subsequently married to 
 Harriet Walker, June 5, 1881. She was the daughter of William and Mary 
 (Dixon) Walker, the father a native of Ohio and the mother of Illinois. 
 They came to Iowa in 1853. Mr. \\'alker was a soldier in the Civil war. a 
 member of Company C, Thirty-third Towa Volunteer Infantry, having been 
 sent to the front as a volunteer, and he saw much hard service, was wounded 
 at Jenkins Ferry, captured and confined in prison at Tyler, Texas, making his 
 escape from his captors at one time, but was overtaken and returned to prison,
 
 560 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 having- been run down by bloodliounds. He was held a prisoner thirteen 
 months. His eyes having been affected by the treatment he received while a 
 prisoner, he later went blind. His death occurred in 1891. at the age of 
 seventy-one years. His wife died in 1889, at the age of fifty-nine years. 
 Mrs. Reynolds, who was born in 1853, was the oldest of eight children; 
 those now living are, Malissa Walker is living in Newton; William makes his 
 home in Kansas; Ruth is the wife of George Rodgers and they live in New- 
 ton, where Erwin also resides. The parents of Mrs. Reynolds came to Jasper 
 county in 1885. 
 
 To Mr. Reynolds' second marriage one child, Iva, was born, but li\'ed 
 only a short time. About the time of his second marriage, thirty years ago, 
 Mr. Reynolds moved to Newton and for a while was engaged in the paint- 
 ing business, then became a pension agent, in which he has since been engaged. 
 At first he was associated with Judge Clements and Attorney Salmon, but 
 later established an office of his own. He is a property owner and has a sub- 
 stantial home in a good portion of Newton, only two blocks from the public 
 square. Besides looking after pension claims, he is engaged very successfully 
 in the spectacle business. 
 
 Mr. Reynolds has been a member of Garrett Post of the Grand Army of 
 the Republic at New'ton for over twenty-five years, of which he has held most 
 of the offices and has been commander twice. He was signally honored in 
 1901 bv being appointed an aid on the staff of the commander-in-chief of the 
 Grand x'Vrniy of the Republic, the commission carrying wdth it the honorary 
 but nevertheless enviable title of colonel. Mrs. Reynolds is a member of the 
 Woman's Relief Corps, and she belongs to the Baptist church. 
 
 GEORGE G. EARLEY. 
 
 The name of George G. Earley is too familiar to the readers of this 
 book to need any special introduction here, for he has long been one of Jasper 
 county's leading citizens, having taken a conspicuous part in the general 
 development of this locality and led an honest and upright life. He was 
 born in Franklin county, New York, October 11, 1841, and he is the son of 
 James and Sophia (Simmons) Earley. The mother was a native of Montreal 
 and the father of Ireland. The latter was in the British army and took part 
 in the war of 18 12, then returned to England and w^as in the battle of Waterloo 
 against Napoleon in 1815. He later came back to America, through Canada,
 
 GEORGE G. EARLEY
 
 j' 
 
 MISS CAKRIE L. EARLEY
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 56 1 
 
 where he met liis wife. He located in Frankhn county, New York, where he 
 spent his hfe on a farm until his death, in 1850, his widow surviving until 
 1865, dying in Mt. Gilead, Morrow county, Ohio, where the family had 
 moved after the death of Mr. Earley. There were eleven children in this 
 family who grew to maturity, namely: John died in 1871 ; Thomas died in 
 Michigan ; James died in Leon, Decatur county, Iowa ; Patrick was accident- 
 ally killed in 1850; Dr. William Earley died in Topeka, Kansas; Peter lives 
 in Marion county. Iowa, l^eing a retired merchant; Edward died in Republic 
 county, Kansas, in 1891 ; George G.. of this review; Catherine died in Mor- 
 row county, Ohio; Maria. Mrs. MtClaine, lives at Xew Sharon, Iowa; Har- 
 riet M. lives in Jefferson City, Missouri. 
 
 George G. Earley was ten years old when he moved with his parents from 
 Franklin county, Xew York, to Morrow county, Ohio, in 185 1. and two 
 years later he came to Iowa, driving horses, coming with strangers, and he 
 landed at Keokuk. He had received a meager schooling, and he began his 
 business career when but a boy. He associated with his brother in a store at 
 Keokuk and remained there until 1856, when he returned to Ohio, where 
 he learned the shoemaker's trade, at which he worked successfully for a period 
 of three years, or until the breaking out of the Civil war. He was quick to 
 respond to his country's call, the first call, in fact, for troops to put down the 
 rebellion, and on April 19, 1861. before the echo of the guns that fired on 
 Fort Sumter had hardly died away, he enlisted in Company I. Third Ohio 
 Volunteer Infantry, and was mustered into service on April 25th. After his 
 three months' term of service had expired he enlisted for three years on 
 June 21, 1861, in the same company and regiment, and he served with 
 gallantry until June 21, 1864. He was in the battle of Rich Mountain, 
 West V^irginia. under McClellan ; he was also in the battle of Perryville, 
 Kentucky, under General Buell; he also took part in the great battle of 
 Stone River, under General Rosecrans, and was taken prisoner there. Janu- 
 ary I. 1863. H€ was in prison for about a month, and soon the entire regi- 
 ment was taken on the General Streight raid at Rome, Georgia, and were sent 
 to Libby prison, and there they were later paroled and sent to Camp Chase, 
 Ohio, except the officers, who were not paroled. They were then exchanged 
 and returned to the Army of the Cumberland at Chattanooga. Tennessee, 
 and the non-commissioned officers commanded the company. Mr. Earley 
 being in command of Company I. which position he held until discharged on 
 June 21. 1864. the commissioned officers having been held as prisoners con- 
 tinuously. After the war he returned to Mt. Gilead. Morrow county. Ohio, 
 
 (36)
 
 562 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 and resumed work at his trade, which he followed until February 14, 1865, 
 when Mr. Earley re-enlisted in the One Hundred and Eighty-seventh Ohio 
 Volunteer Infantry, in which he served with his usual faithfulness until 
 January 20, 1866. His regiment went as far south as Macon, Georgia, w'here 
 he received a commission as second lieutenant, and he was the first com- 
 missioned officer put in command at the Andersonville post, and he had the 
 distinction of building the first fence around that place, having entire charge 
 of the work there, performing his duties, as he had previously done at all 
 times in a manner that elicited the praise of his superior officers. After his 
 discharge on January 20, 1866, Mr. Earley returned again to Morrow county, 
 Ohio, and in March. 1866. he came west to Mahaska county, Iowa, working 
 at his trade there for six months, when he returned to Ohio, following his 
 trade there for two years. In i86g he returned to Mahaska county, Iowa, 
 and after working there a short time at his trade he came to Jasper county, 
 Iowa, in March. 1872. locating in Palo Alto township, and engaged in farm- 
 ing, where he developed a fine farm and established a good home, and where 
 he li\"ed until 1888. when he moved to Xewton, in which city he has since 
 resided, having a commodious and attractive home ; however, he farmed for 
 several years after moving here, making his home in the edge of the city. 
 He then engaged as a clerk in a grocery store, owned by J. W. McLaughlin, 
 with whom he remained four years. He then launched into the real estate 
 business, with W. M. Hill, which lasted for about eight years, the partnership 
 being dissolved about eight years ago, after building up an extensive business. 
 Mr. Earley was married, first, to Martha Burke, of Knox county, Ohio, 
 their marriage occurring in Morrow county in 1864, and two children were 
 born to this union: Wilbur L.. who died in 1891 at Helena, Montana, at the 
 age of twenty-five, his birth having occurred on July 6. 1865; Martha died 
 in infancy. The mother of these children passed away on March 10, 1870, 
 and in September of that year Mr. Earley was married to Laura P. Ashing, 
 who was born in Licking county, Ohio, October 30. 1844. To this union 
 these children were born: Ernest L.. born August 24, 1871, is associated 
 with his father in the real estate business ; Martha H. w-as born in March, 
 1873; Letta M. was born on June 20, 1875. She is dean of the music depart- 
 ment of Adrian College at Adrian, Michigan; Mamie ]^., who died August 11, 
 1908, was born in 1877; Carrie L., who was born February 2. 1880. died 
 August 24. 1907. A sketch of her ap])ears elsewhere in this work. Maud E. 
 Earley, born December 22, 1883. died in January, 1903; George A., born in 
 Palo Alto tounshi]). this county, February. 1884, is a drug clerk in Newton.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 563 
 
 Mr. Earley has long taken an abiding interest in the affairs of his city and 
 county, and he was mayor of Newton from 1897 to 1899, during which 
 time he did much for the permanent good of the town and community. Since 
 then he was elected councilman from the second ward, but resigned after four 
 months' service. He has served eight years on- the board of directors of the 
 independent school district of Newton and he has over a year yet to serve. 
 He was twice the nominee of the Greenbacks and the Democratic partv 
 (combined) for the Legislature, but was defeated 1)y a small plurality. He 
 was also nominated for county clerk on the Greenback ticket. He is a mem- 
 ber of the Grand Army of the Republic. He is a man whom to know is to 
 admire and respect, for his life has been exemplary and his services to his 
 country commendable in a high degree. 
 
 CARRIE L. EARLEY. 
 
 No history of Jasper county, published in the beginning of the twen- 
 tieth century would be complete if special mention were not made of the well 
 remembered lady of talent whose name forms the caption of this biographical 
 memoir, whose beautiful and idyllic life has been transplanted to higher 
 planes, but whose influence will long continue to pervade and uplift the lives 
 of her many, many warm friends left to continue the ''farce men call life." 
 
 Carrie L. Earley was born near Newton, Iowa. February 2, 1880. and 
 was the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. George G. Earley, a well known and 
 highly respected early Jasper county family. Her girlhood years were spent 
 on the farm near Newton and her education was begun in the country 
 schools. Later she graduated from the Newton high school and. having 
 applied herself very assiduously to her text-books, received a good education, 
 and afterward became one of the faithful and popular teachers in the schools 
 of her home city, continuing her work until frail health compelled her to 
 desist. In 1904 she was nominated on the Democratic ticket for county 
 superintendent of schools and reduced the Republican majority of six hun- 
 dred to one hundred and seventy-fi\e. 
 
 The local newspapers reflected from time to time her literary tendencies 
 and her writings were always read with interest and pleasure, for hers was a 
 very versatile and trenchant pen. such as only the truly gifted can wield. Her 
 mind was exceedingly keen, her information was general and her grasp of 
 matters pertaining to the interests of the people was broad and comprehen-
 
 564 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 sive. She had a facuhy of close analysis and was quick at repartee and un- 
 usually strong and apt in debate. Her mind and heart were absolutely pure 
 and very sympathetic. She always aligned herself on the side of right and 
 was completely against oppression of any sort, no matter against whom nor 
 by whom directed. 
 
 From girlhood she had a passion for writing verses. She wrote simply 
 because her mind was overflowing with thoughts too big to be retained, yet 
 she was conservative and was seldom heard to speak of her writings, even 
 to intimate friends. It was not until ''afterward"' that the volumes and 
 quality of what she had written were fully comprehended and that her friends 
 and acquaintances realized that they had had in their midst a soul gifted with 
 poetic fire. 
 
 On August 24, 1907, Miss Earley passed into larger life. The splendid 
 beauty of her character and the strong undercurrent of love which dominated 
 her every impulse were more clearly understood when what she had written 
 was revealed. 
 
 A book of her poems, containing eighty pages, has been published and 
 even the closest friends of the author were surprised at the diversity of 
 the subject-matter, showing a breadth of thought and comprehensiveness un- 
 surmised. Some of her verses have been set to music and have thus touched 
 the hearts of many. 
 
 Although her span of years was short, she wielded an influence that 
 shall be ever widening and deepening and her work will not be finished until 
 the "great book" is closed. Her beautiful Christian character was the finished 
 product of the Master Builder, whose skill she reflected in her work — in 
 school, in church and in literary pursuits. 
 
 As a further perpetuation of her sweet memory it may be said that one of 
 her gems of verses has been adapted to a pleasing air and has now been pub- 
 lished and adopted in many of the public schools of the state. The words of 
 this popular song are as follows : 
 
 IOWA, FAIREST OF EARTH. 
 
 You may sing of the glorious mountains 
 
 And their snow-capped peaks so high ; 
 I can sing of a sight that is fairer, 
 
 That delights while it rests the eye ; 
 'Tis the "beauti f ul rolling prairie 
 
 Where the green hills meet the l)lue sky.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. c^c 
 
 Chorus : — 
 There's a land that is fairer and dearer 
 
 Than any strange country on earth, 
 Where the breezes sweep over the prairie. 
 
 In the l)eautiful land of my birth. 
 And the sunlight kisses the green fields 
 
 Of old Iowa — fairest of earth. 
 
 You may sing of the grand old ocean 
 
 When the white sails its breast adorn ; 
 I am sure there is a sight that is grander 
 
 In the dear land where I was born — 
 \\'hen the warm wind ruffles the green waves 
 
 In a field of old Iowa's corn. 
 
 You may sing of magnificent mansions, 
 
 Of the castles on the Rhine: 
 The}- can never bring rest to the homesick ; 
 
 For their splendor I do not pine, 
 But I long for the little old farm house 
 
 On that dear childhood home of mine. 
 
 C. D. DEXXIS. 
 
 The subject of this sketch, Clay Dean Dennis, is a native of Iowa, having 
 been born August 23, i860, in Wapello county. His father, Benjamin H., 
 and his mother. ]^Iatilda (Jackson) Dennis, were both natives of Brown 
 county. Ohio. The father, Benjamin Dennis, was born Mav 2y, 1830. and 
 his childhood and youth were spent in his native county. On attaining his 
 majority, he left his home in Ohio and came west, locating in Lee county. 
 Iowa, about the year 1852. Remaining here only about one vear, he went 
 on to \\'apello county, where he purchased land, and the next year, on August 
 23, 1854, he married Matilda Jackson, daughter of Richard and Isabella 
 (Baum) Jackson, whose birth occurred on X'ovember 5, 1833. To this 
 couple were born three sons and two daughters, all of whom first saw the 
 light of day in Wapello county, Iowa, and whose names are as follows : 
 Wesley, born in June. 1853. died at Dexter. Iowa. Xovember 3. 1909; Min-
 
 r66 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 erva. bom October 17, 1856, married James Carey, and Hves near Kilduff; 
 W'illmer, born December 17, 1857, lives in Newton; one child who died in 
 infancy; and Clay Dean, the subject of this review. In the year 1864 Mr. 
 Dennis traded forty acres of land in Wapello county for two hundred and 
 forty acres in Jasper county, near Kildufif, where he removed his family in 
 March, 1865. Here ]Mrs. Dennis died on January 7, 1872. On April 23, 
 1874, Mr. Dennis again married, choosing as his wife Mary J. Davis, daugh- 
 ter of C. M. Davis. In 1878 he built a splendid home in Xewton, and retired 
 from active labor; and here he lived until his death, which occurred January 
 31, 1900. Mr. Dennis was an active worker in the Disciples church and was 
 always allied with every good work. For ten years he was a member of the 
 official board of the church, with which he united in 1856. 
 
 Clay Dean Dennis began working for himself at the age of eighteen years. 
 In 1 881 he came into possession of eighty acres of land from his father, which 
 he still holds, and he has since then acquired other lands through his energy, 
 industry and successful operations until he is now the owner of three hun- 
 dred and twenty acres of the best land in Jasper county. 
 
 On March 4, 1883, Mr. Dennis was united in marriage to Margaret A. 
 Richardson, daughter of James and Ann (Stabler) Richardson, both natives 
 of England, the mother born at Molerat Row, Long Benton parish, England, 
 ]\larch 21, 1827. Mrs. Dennis was the only child of this marriage, but by a 
 former marriage of the mother to a man by the name of Hall there were three 
 children, namely : Lizzie, wdio died in infancy, and Henry and Thomas Hall, 
 both living in Grundy county, Missouri. The mother, who was born on 
 March 27, 1827, is living with her son, H. S. Hall, in Missouri. Mrs. 
 Dennis w^as born May 13, 1865, in New Castle, England, and when she was 
 one year old, the family came to the United States, and settled in Schuylkill 
 county, Pennsylvania. Six }"ears later they removed to Luzerne county, 
 Pennsylvania, and five years later they came to Jasper county, Iowa, where 
 they purchased the old Cradlebaugh farm of one hundred and twenty acres 
 near Kilduff, and here the husband and father, James Richardson, departed 
 this life on June 18, 1894. 
 
 After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. Dennis lived on their farm until in 
 October, 1908, when they removed to Newton, where they now reside. On 
 account of the failing health of Mrs. Dennis, she was no longer able to con- 
 tinue the arduous duties pertaining to life upon the farm. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Dennis have been born four children, as follows : 
 James Arthur, born February 6, 1884, married Ilelen Vinall and lives near 
 Kilduff; Benjamin H., born June 28, 1885, married Bertie De Bruyn, lives
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 567 
 
 near Kilduff; Leah A., born January 6, 1893, ^ow attending high school in 
 Newton; Thomas Chfford, born September 9, 1899, attending school in 
 Newton. 
 
 Both Mr. and IMrs. Dennis are consistent and faithful members of the 
 Methodist Episcopal church, having been so affiliated for the last twenty-five 
 years. 
 
 Although Mr. Dennis's home is now in Xewton, he still takes an active 
 part in overseeing his farm, and in raising, buying and selling stock for the 
 market. He is a Republican in politics. At one time Mr. Dennis was 
 severely kicked by a sick horse, which he was doctoring, and the report was 
 widely circulated that he was killed. Some enterprising firm got up a mem- 
 orial card and sent it to him. He considers it quite a unique experience. 
 Mr. Dennis was treasurer of the school board in his township for a numl)er 
 of years. He owns a fine automobile and goes back and forth to his farm in 
 his car. 
 
 JOHN COAKLEY. 
 
 The biographies of successful men are instructive as guides and incentives 
 to those whose careers are yet to be achieved. The examples they furnish of 
 patient purpose and consecutive endeavor strongly illustrate what is in the 
 power of each to accomplish, if he is willing to press forward in tlie face of 
 all opposition, refusing to be downed by untoward circumstances, thus making 
 stepping stones of what some w'ould find to be insurmountable stumbling 
 blocks. The gentleman whose life history herewith is, we hope, accurately 
 and succinctly set forth, is a conspicuous example of one who has lived to 
 good purpose and achieved a definite degree of success in the special sphere to 
 which his talents and energies have been devoted. As the name indicates, John 
 Coakley is of Irish origin, although born and reared on American soil and a 
 loyal and representative citizen of the state in which he lives. Mr. Coakley 
 was born in Cook county, Illinois, in 1845, the son of Cornelius and Alary 
 (Wolf) Coakley, the father born in county Cork, Ireland, and the mother in 
 Denmark. The father was reared and educated in Ireland, .and when twenty- 
 two years of age he emigrated to America, unaccompanied. He at once came 
 to Indiana, when that state was comparatively undeveloped, and there he 
 secured employment on a canal as boss. Mary Wolf came with her parents 
 from far Germany and settled near Ft. Wayne in the Hoosier state, where 
 the father worked at his trade of saddler, and the parents of the subject
 
 :^68 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 were married in Logansport. Indiana. Subsequently the elder Coakley turned 
 his attention to farming, owning- eighty acres near Ft. Wayne, that state, 
 then moved to Terre Haute, and in 1851 he came to Iowa, driving overland 
 to Mahaska county, the trip requiring six weeks, their little caravan con- 
 sisting of two wagons, two carts, a buggy and seven horses. On the trip, 
 John, of this rexiew. then six years old, had an attack of the wliooping-cough. 
 Upon their arrival in the wild Hawkeye state, the father purchased one hun- 
 dred and sixty acres, and entered some other, and. being a hard worker and a 
 man of natural business endowments, he prospered in the new country, be- 
 coming influential and among the largest land owners, his estate comprising 
 thirteen hundred acres at the time of his death, forty acres of which was in 
 Elk Creek township, Jasper county. His death occurred near Pella, at the 
 advanced age of eight\-one years, his wife reaching the age of seventy-six 
 when her summons came. Their family consisted of six children, namely : 
 Anna, who is deceased, was the wife of James Sheehy and lived on a farm 
 in ]Mahaska county ; John, of this review ; J. J. lives in Altoona. Iowa ; Thomas 
 is deceased; Catherine, wife of George Sheehy, of Los Angeles, California, 
 where Mr. Sheehy is engaged in business; Mary is the wife of Henry Van 
 Fleet, an automobile dealer in Pella, Iowa. 
 
 John Coakley received what educational training he could in Marion 
 county, under the most primitive and adverse conditions, for it Avill be remem- 
 bered that he grew up in pioneer times, when there were few schools in this 
 country and what there were lacked proper management and equipment. When 
 twenty-four years of age he began farming for himself on a portion of his 
 father's farmstead, the latter giving him two hundred acres when he reached 
 the age of twenty -seven. This land was in Mahaska county and he still owns 
 it. having added to his holdings there until he is now- the owner of four hun- 
 dred and sixty-five acres in that county, and he also owns one hundred and 
 twenty-one acres in Palo Alto township, Jasper county. He became one of the 
 leading general agriculturists and stock men of his community and laid by an 
 ample competency, so that in 1901 he left the farm, moved to Xewton, where 
 he has a modern and attractive home, and here he has lived practically retired, 
 although he spends considerable time on his farms. 
 
 On June 24, 1869, Mr. Coakley was united in marriage with Catherine 
 ^larrinan. of Ottumwa; she was the daughter of Patrick Marrinan. Her 
 death occurred five years later, leaving the following children : Mary Jane, 
 wife of R. A. Autry, died ten years ago. leaving one child, Harry; Catherine 
 T. married Louis Schaub, of Ottumwa, and thev have one child. A Fart T.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 569 
 
 Two years after the death of his tirst wife Mr. Coakley remarried, his 
 second wife being Anna Ford, whose death occurred eleven months later with- 
 out issue. In 1881 he was again married, his third and present wife being 
 Johanna C. Mulcahy, who was born in Marion county, Iowa, in 1855, and she 
 is the daughter of P. L. and Margaret (Fitzpatrick) :\Iulcahy. The father 
 was born in county Limerick. Ireland, and there was reared and attended 
 school, when twenty-five years of age locating at Saratoga, New York. :Mrs. 
 Coakley"s mother was l)orn in Spring \'alley. Xew York, her parents l^eing 
 natives of Ireland, who came to America and lived a number of years, but 
 finally returned to Ireland, spending the remainder of their days in their 
 native land. \Vhen a child of fourteen. Mrs. Coakley "s mother paid a visit 
 to the Emerald Isle. These ])arents came to Iowa in the spring of 1855 and 
 entered and purchased land and followed farming for some time, owning two 
 hundred acres in Fairview township, where the mother still resides, beine 
 now seventy-five years of age. the father having died six years ago. at the 
 advanced age of ninety-six years. He was a remarkable man in man\- re- 
 spects. They reared ten children, nine of their own. named as follows: 
 Johanna C, wife of Mr. Coakley; Alartin, who owns a rice plantation in 
 Arkansas; Alary is the wife of Fernando Roush and lives in Lamar, Colorado; 
 Margaret is the wife of Dan O'Roak. of Xewton; Clementine lives with her 
 mother; Catherine is the wife of Bernard Kane and lives near Percv, Iowa; 
 Jennie. Thomas. James and Richard are all at home. Mary Riley, the adopted 
 child, is now the wife of J. J. Coakley, brother of the subject. She was the 
 child of Airs. Coakley's aunt (father's sister), her father having lost his life 
 in the army, as a result of which her mother died of grief. 
 
 To Mr. and Airs. Coakley three children have been born, all of whom are 
 at home, constituting an intelligent, happy and interesting group: Alargaret 
 Anna ; Alyrtle Agnes, who is teaching" in the country schools, and the son, 
 John P. They are all members of the Roman Catholic church, and Air. 
 Coakley has been a life-long Democrat. 
 
 It is interesting to note that AFr. Coakley helped haul much of the stone 
 and lime that was used in the construction of the old court house, which was 
 torn down to give place to the new structure recently erected. There is now 
 in the family a much beloved and handsome horse, ''Bob," a descendant of one 
 of the horses which helped bring the family to Iowa. The Coakley's are most 
 pleasant and hospitalile people and they number their friends only by the 
 limits of their acquaintance.
 
 -JO JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 CAPT. JACOB F. WEAVER. 
 
 The record herein presented is that of a man who was a few years ago 
 among the best known and most influential of the citizens of Colfax, whose 
 life is in all respects honorable and a worthy example. Responding to his 
 country's need in his youth, he served faithfully in her armies, and for his 
 bravery and efficiency he won promotion from the ranks to the command of 
 a company: at the close of the war engaging in business, he proved his capa- 
 bility, and easily won success ; he was always ready to aid in the development 
 of his community : and though his death seemed untimely, yet he had com- 
 pleted a full life, and in deeds and works had lived more than many who have 
 lived longer. 
 
 Tacob F. Weaver was born in Indiana, the son of George H. and Eliza- 
 beth (West) Weaver, on December 5, 1837. His mother was a sister of 
 William West, a merchant of Colfax. Both his parents died when he was 
 an infant, and he was reared to maturity by his grandmother \\'est. At the 
 outbreak of the Civil war he enlisted at Mechanicsville, Iowa, in the Fifth 
 Iowa Infantrv. in A\hich he served until the regiment ^\•as almost annihilated, 
 and he was severely wounded. On his return after the healing of his wound 
 he was transferred to Fifth Iowa Cavalry, was promoted, and was mustered 
 out as first lieutenant, acting as captain. He took part in twenty-six battles 
 and skirmishes, and went with Sherman to the sea. After the war he was 
 a leading member of the Grand Army at Colfax. 
 
 In 1865 Captain Weaver came to Xewton, Iowa, and engaged in the 
 drug business for three years. In 1868 he came to Colfax, and bought out 
 the interest of Mr. Kennedy in the firm of West & Kennedy, in the mercantile 
 business, the new firm being West & Weaver. Until September, 1883. Cap- 
 tain Weaver remained a member of the firm, which had remarkable success, 
 and was during that time the leading business firm in the city. Captain 
 Weaver accumulated a fair amount of property in Colfax. He was especially 
 active in the Republican party, and did considerable work for his party all 
 over the county of Jasper, which was effective, and ranked him as one of the 
 most sucessful workers of the party. He never sought any local ofiice. but 
 was postmaster of Colfax for seven years, dying before his second term 
 expired. Mrs. Weaver was appointed postmaster from 1894 to 1898. Cap- 
 tain Weaver died on January 6, 1893. at the age of fifty-five. His loss was 
 deeply felt by the community.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 57I 
 
 Captain Weaver was first married to Kate M. Dee, of Colfax. After 
 her death he was married to Adella V. West, of Colfax, a daughter of Joseph 
 T. West, a pioneer of Jasper county, and a grain merchant of Colfax. Joseph 
 T. W^est was born in Hicks county, Pennsylvania, and was married in Mount 
 Vernon, Iowa, to Susannah Hahn, the daughter of Daniel S. and Permelia 
 (Epperson) Hahn. Mr. Hahn was an early settler of Lynn county, Iowa, 
 and came in the forties from Virginia. His wife was a native of Kentucky. 
 Joseph T. West died in Colfax, in 1900, at the age of seventy-one. .Mrs. 
 Weaver survives her husband. 
 
 Captain and Mrs. Weaver became the parents of three children: Roscoe 
 B. Weaver graduated from Simpson College in 1905, and served as a first 
 lieutenant in the Philippine constabulary for about four years from 1905 to 
 1909. For three years of this time Mrs. Weaver resided in the Philippines 
 with her son. He is now a student at Yale University, Xew Haven, Con- 
 necticut, taking post-graduate work. Gail S. Weaver is deceased. DiEtta 
 J. Weaver is in school in Colfax. 
 
 Captain Weaver was among the foremost men of Colfax in all respects, 
 and had strong faculties of leadership. He was a progressive business man. 
 active in public interests, and a kind and loving husband and father. 
 
 WILLIAM ^[. LOTTS. 
 
 The agricultural interests of Jasper county were well represented for a 
 number of years by \\^illiam M. Lotts, one of the practical and enterprising 
 farmers of the southwestern part of the county, who. after accumulating a 
 competency, is now living retired in his pleasant home at Prairie City. He 
 has been both practical and progressive in his methods and to his energy and 
 perseverance is attributed the gratifying success which has attended his 
 efforts. Fidelity is one of his chief characteristics, such fidelity as is manifest 
 in his faithful discharge of all the duties of life, and it has won him warm 
 regard wherever known. 
 
 A\'illiam ]M. Lotts was born in Gallia county. Ohio, April 15. 1825. and 
 he is the son of Isaac and Xancy (Knox) Lotts, natives of Greenbrier county, 
 Virginia, and thev engaged in farming all their lives. The paternal grand- 
 father of the subject. Jacob Lotts. emigrated to the United States from Ger- 
 many when but sixteen years of age and settled in X'irginia. He was a cabi- 
 netmaker by trade. He enlisted for ser\ice in the Revolutionary war in 1876,
 
 r-jo JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 in wliich he served until the close of the conflict. He married a sister of the 
 famous General Wolfe. He moved to Gallia county, Ohio, in 1806 and there 
 his death occurred in 1839. His wife died in 1837. The father of the subject 
 changed the spelling of the family name from the German "Lotz" to "Lotts," 
 the present spelling. He and a sister left \'irginia and came to Ohio in 1814 
 when that country was still the land of the red men and wild beast, sparsely 
 settled. He entered a quarter section of land from the government, and estab- 
 lished a home there, working hard and undergoing the usual hardships of a 
 newcomer. Leaving there in 1837. he came to Knox county. Illinois, where he 
 bought two hundred and forty-two acres and on this he spent the remainder 
 of his days, dying on October 4. 1875, his wife preceding him to the grave 
 only a few davs, her death occurring September 26th of that year. Three 
 of William Lotts' uncles were soldiers in the war of 1812, namely: Abraham, 
 whose son is at present a prominent figure in Washington. D. C. ; William 
 Humphreys and Isaac Hawk. Abraham Lotz also fought in the Indian war 
 of 181 1, against Tecumseh's band under the Prophet at Tippecanoe, Indiana. 
 Like other members of his family he was a brave and forbearing man, always 
 ready to face any danger. 
 
 \\'illiam M. Lotts is one of a family of seven children, five of whom 
 reached maturity: Sarah, who married David Ward, died in Illinois; Minerva, 
 who married Woodford Pearce. also died in Illinois ; Salenda, who was the 
 wife of James Rebstock, also died there. Her husband was a lieutenant in 
 the Union armv during the Civil war. Milton lives at Knoxville, Illinois, at 
 the advanced age of eighty-eight years; W'illiam M., of this sketch, was fifth 
 in order of birth; Abraham was killed while building a raft on the Missouri 
 river, near Fort Benton, Montana, in 1865. 
 
 William M. Lotts received his education in the district schools of Knox 
 county, Ilhnois. In 185 1 he was united in marriage with Hester A. Webb, 
 of Ross county, Ohio. She was born November 18, 1829, and her death 
 occurred on August 25, 1899, in Prairie City, Jasper county, Iowa. She was 
 the daughter of John and Charlotte (Godfrey) Webb, who came to Illinois in 
 an earlv day and were well known and prominent in their locality. Mr. \\'ebb 
 was in the war of 1812. His death occurred in W.arren county, Illinois, in 
 1852. His wife died in Indiana when their daughter, Hester A., wife of Mr. 
 Lotts, was but a small child. 
 
 Of Mrs. Lotts' brothers and sisters, Oliver died in Colfax, Iowa; Henry, 
 who was a successful gold digger, a member of the famous band of ''forty- 
 niners," died in Illinois; Hester A. was next in order of birth; \\'illiam died at 
 Derby. Iowa, and Francis at Gilson, Illinois.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 573 
 
 After his marriage William M. Letts began farming, renting land the 
 first year, then bought a quarter section which he later sold, then came to 
 Jefferson county, Iowa, where he purchased two hundred and twentv acres. 
 After farming this two years he again sold out and returned to Warren 
 county, Illinois, where he bought one hundred and eighty-five acres of land 
 which he farmed for eleven years, then sold out and purchased a small place 
 near Abingdon, Knox county. Illinois, in order to get proper schooling for his 
 children. After living there three years he sold out and came to Iowa, landing 
 in Prairie City, Jasper county, March 22, 1872, and purchased a fine farm of 
 two hundred and forty acres four miles from town in Des Moines township, 
 which he still owns and which he has kept well improved and well tilled, in fact 
 made it one of the model farms of the county. For this place he paid thirty- 
 three dollars per acre; it is not worth over one hundred and fifty dollars per 
 acre, in fact, he has refused that figure. Having accumulated a competency 
 through general farming and stock raising, he retired from active life in 1892 
 and moved to Prairie City. 
 
 Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Lotts, namely: Malissa Jane, 
 who married Jay Prouty, lives on a farm near Prairie City; Olive, who mar- 
 ried Edward Hays, lives six miles from this village, and they have one son, 
 \\'illiam Russell Hays ; Emma married J. R. Chandler and lives at home with 
 her father; her only child. Hazel, lives with her. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Lotts is a Republican and while he takes the interest of a 
 right-minded citizen in public affairs, he has never sought political preference. 
 He has been a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal church for forty 
 years, having been class leader for many years. His wife was a consistent 
 member of the L'nited Brethren church, and known to a wide circle of friends 
 as a noble-minded, kind-hearted woman. 
 
 JOHN W. REYNOLDS. 
 
 « 
 
 It is oftentimes considered by those in the habit of superficial thinking 
 that the history of so-called great men only is worthy of preservation and 
 that little merit exists among the masses to call forth the praises of the his- 
 torian or the cheers and appreciation of mankind. A greater mistake was 
 never made. Xo man is great in all things and very few are great in many 
 things Alanv bv a luckv stroke achieve lasting fame, who before that liad no 
 reputation beyond the limits of their neighborhoods. It is not a history of the
 
 574 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 lucky stroke that benefits humanity most, but the long study and effort which 
 made the lucky stroke possible. It is the preliminary work, the method, that 
 serves as a guide for the success of others. Among those of the past genera- 
 tion in Jasper county who achieved success along steady lines of action was 
 John \\'. Reynolds, a man whose character was abo\e reproach and who richly 
 merited the confidence and esteem which all freely accorded him, for he took 
 a deep interest in the development of the locality, and always stood ready to 
 do his full share in the work of progress. 
 
 Mr. Revnolds was born on July 2t^, 1837, in Vermilion county, Illinois, 
 the son of ]\Ir. and Mrs. A\^illiam Reynolds, the mother dying when he was a 
 babv and when he was about fifteen years old his father came to Linn county, 
 Iowa, and there jnuxhased a farm where he continued to reside until his 
 death, becoming well estaljlished there, and he was one of the well known 
 settlers of that county. 
 
 When he was about twenty-five years of age, John W. Reynolds returned 
 to \>rmilion county, Illinois, and located near his old home, remaining there 
 about fifteen years, during which time he met and married, on June 16, 1861, 
 Marv A. Morgan, of that county. She was born June 4, 1843, ^'^^^ ^^'^^ the 
 daughter of Air. and Mrs. Thomas H. Morgan, successful farmers of that 
 county and highly honored citizens there. 
 
 Se\'en children were born to this union, named as follows : Dora May 
 died when four years old; Alton lives in Denver, Colorado; Ida (deceased) 
 married H. Van Epps, of Jasper county, and they had two children. Nellie 
 Grace dying in infancy, Percy being the living child; Loella Reynolds died 
 at the home of her mother at the age of thirty-one years in 1901 ; Victor, 
 who lives on the home farm, married Ada L. Simpson and they have four 
 children. Foster, Paul. Floyd and Robert; Nellie Reynolds died in 1901 ; 
 Foster, the youngest child, died in 1901. 
 
 After their marriage Mr. and Mrs. John W. Reynolds took up their 
 residence in Illinois and remained there eleven years, and in 1872 the family 
 came to Jasper county, Iowa, locating in Buena Vista township on a farm 
 of one hundred and forty acres, about five and one-half miles southeast of 
 Newton and there they lived until the death of Mr. Reynolds on April 4, 1892, 
 and there Mrs. Reynolds continued to reside until 1900, when 'she moved 
 to Newton, locating in a commodious and cozy home which she had built. 
 Remaining there a few years, she moved to the beautiful home she now owns 
 and occupies at No. 215 North Mechanic street, and here many friends delight 
 to gather for she is popular with a wide acquaintance. She has retained the 
 home farm. Mr. Reynolds made (|uite a success as a general farmer and stock
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 575 
 
 raiser and he was a man whom everyhody trusted. He wa> a worthv and 
 active nieml^er of the Methodist church at Pleasant View, Jasper county, to 
 which his family also belongs. In 1862 Mr. Reynolds showed his love of the 
 national union by enlisting for service in the Federal army, I^ecoming a mem- 
 ber of Company G, One Hundred and Twenty-fifth Illinois Volunteer Infantrv. 
 A few months later he was honorably discharged on account of disabilitv and 
 returned to his home in \>rmilion county, Illinois. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Reynolds was a Republican and he took an active part 
 in the affairs of his party. He was a well read man and always abreast of 
 the times. 
 
 JESSE SLAVENS. 
 
 The subject of the present sketch is a well known resident of Colfax, and 
 was formerly a farmer of Washington township, where by hard work and 
 honest dealing he accumulated a large amount of property, and is still the 
 owner of one of the largest and best farms of the township. To his neighbors 
 he is known as a man of high honor and integrity, of good business judgment, 
 an enterprising and progressive farmer and a loyal friend. 
 
 Jesse Slavens was born in Hendricks county, Indiana, thirty miles west 
 of Indianapolis, the son of James and Mary (Davis) Slavens. The Slavens 
 family were a family of soldiers. Many of the Indiana family served in the 
 Mexican war, Reuben Sla^'ens, the grandfather of Jesse and his son Thomas 
 took an active part in the war of 1812. and Reuben Slaxens' father ser\ed in 
 the Virginia troops during the Revolution. Jesse Slavens came to Iowa at the 
 solicitation of his uncle, C. M. Davis, with whom he lived for a while. At the 
 outbreak of the war no youth descended from such a line of soldiers could 
 have remained away from battle at his country's call, and Jesse Slavens en- 
 listed in Company I. Tenth Iowa Infantry, under Captain Garrett, in 1861, 
 and served for four years. He was in the Western army through the Corinth 
 campaign to Vicksburg. was at the battle of Missionary Ridge, and went with 
 Sherman to Atlanta and on to the sea, then took part in the Grand Review at 
 Washington. He followed the line of greatest resistance, and took part in all 
 the principal battles fought by the Western army, .\lways a brave and faith- 
 ful soldier, he escaped with but one wound during the war. a slight one re- 
 ceived at Champion Hill. 
 
 At the close of the war. in the fall of 1865, Jesse Slavens came to Wash- 
 ington township and located on the farm which he now owns, where he has
 
 576 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 since spent the most of his Hfe and which contains four hundred acres of 
 fertile and improved land. On this farm he has expended much labor and it 
 has been well rewarded. One year ago he rented his farm and retired to 
 Colfax. Mr. Slavens is a member of the Grand Army, an Odd Fellow, and 
 has taken the blue lodge and chapter degrees of Masonry. In politics he is a 
 strict Republican, and has ef'bciently served the people for one term on the 
 board of county supervisors. He is now trustee of Washington township, 
 serving on his second term, having been six years in office. His official service 
 has been greatlv satisfactory to the people. Mr. Slavens owns a large amount 
 of business property in Colfax. Mr. Slavens has one child, a daughter, the 
 wife of Jesse Marcjuis, of Washington township. 
 
 \\'idely and favorably known in the county, Mr. Slavens is especially 
 deserving of mention among the representative citizens of his community. 
 
 ROBERT ALEXANDER SCOTT. 
 
 One of the influential citizens of Jasper county is Robert Alexander 
 Scott, who, after a strenuous life as an agriculturist, is now living in honorable 
 retirement. A man of excellent endowments and upright character, he has 
 been a valued factor in local affairs and has ever commanded unequivocal con- 
 fidence and esteem, iD^ing loyal to the upbuilding of his community and ever 
 vigilant in his efforts to further its interests along material, moral and civic 
 lines. 
 
 Mr. Scott was born in Guernsey county, Ohio, March 30, 1845, the son 
 of John G. and Isabel J. (Smith) Scott. The father was born in Wales and 
 was the son of Job Scott, who came with his father to America when the 
 former was only four months ()ld, locating in Pennsylvania, near Parkers- 
 burg, and later moved to Belmont, Ohio, and there the death of Job Scott 
 occurred in February, 1884, at the advanced age of ninety-five years, he having 
 been born on May 25, 1789. There were eight children in his family, an equal 
 number of sons and daughters, namely : John G., father of Robert A., of this 
 review, was born June 30, 1816; Harrison, now deceased; Henry died in 
 Warren county, Iowa, in 191 1; Jefferson went to the frontier at the age of 
 twenty years and was never again heard of; Mary Ann, who married a Mr. 
 Green, lived in the southern part of Iowa, and she died in 191 1; Sarah Jane 
 married a Mr. Baldcrson and lives in Chicago ; Elizabeth Scott Robinson lives 
 in Illinois ; Rebecca Scott-Burk is living in Ohio. The family is of a sturdy 
 stock and all live to an advanced age.
 
 MR. AND MRS. ROBERT A. SCOTT
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 577 
 
 John G. Scott, father of the subject, was a cooper by trade, but after he 
 came to Iowa he engaged in farming, becoming well known in the county 
 and was influential among the pioneers, being a fine old gentleman personally 
 of whom it was said, ''He has no enemies.'' Being a man of exemplar)' char- 
 acter, he was highly respected by all who knew him; he was fearless in the 
 discharge of his duties when he knew he was right and he held various 
 township offices. His death occurred on August 7, 1905, at the age of eighty- 
 nine years, his widow, who was a native of Ohio, surviving until February 
 25, 1910, reaching the age of eighty-four. They were the parents of three 
 children, Lovina J., who married David Tipton, lives at Baxter, Iowa, they 
 being retired; Sarah Frances, who married Joseph Miskimins, is now de- 
 ceased; Robert Alexander, of this review, was the oldest of the three. 
 
 Mr. Scott received a good common school education in his native 
 county and he lived at home until his marriage, on January 10, 1867, to 
 Eliza Moore, the daughter of John and Eliza (Hutchinson) Moore. Her 
 father was born in Ireland and he came to America when a child with his 
 parents and settled on a farm in Guernsey county, Ohio, and there the 
 daughter, Eliza, was born on iMay 25, 1845. She was the next youngest 
 daughter in a family of six children, namely : Nancy J., deceased, married 
 J. B. Wherry, who formerly lived in Jones county, Iowa; ^lary, who married 
 William J. Wheriy, lived on a farm near Wyoming, Jones county, until Mr. 
 Wherry's death; William James is living retired in Jackson county; Samuel 
 G. is in the mercantile business in New York city; John Humphrey, the young- 
 est, enlisted in the Union army for service in the Civil war, at the age of 
 sixteen years, and he was captured and confined in Andersonville prison, 
 where he died. 
 
 Soon after the marriage of the subject he came to Jasper county, Iowa, 
 and located on a farm south of Baxter, of one hundred and twenty acres. 
 Here he devoted himself to farming successfully until about twelve years 
 ago. He then bought two hundred and twenty acres nine miles south of 
 Newton, a part of the Jesse Long place, which he still owns. It is a valuable 
 and well improved place. About ten years ago he bought property in Newton 
 and retired from active farming and stock raising, having since lived quietly 
 in his beautiful home in this city. He was very successful in his life work, 
 having always applied himself very carefully to whatever he had in hand. 
 
 :\rr. and MFs. Scott are the parents of three children, namely: Alice 
 Orena, born September 25, 1867, married George Alfred, and they are now 
 living in South Dakota and have three children. John A., born March 14, 1871, 
 
 (37)
 
 578 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 lives on a farm south of Newton, and they have one child. Elba Job, bom 
 May 2-^, 1875. lives in Xewton. 
 
 ]\Ir. and Mrs. Scott are members of the United Presbyterian church. 
 He Avas a charter member of the Knights of Pythias lodge at Baxter; Mrs. 
 Scott is a member of the Woman's Relief Corps. 
 
 Mr. Scott has always taken an abiding interest in the general develop- 
 ment of Jasper county and has always stood reeady to aid in any worthy 
 movement. He has made a host of warm personal friends since coming to 
 this county by his exemplary life, his public spirit and his industry. 
 
 LEONARD ALDING GREENLIEF. 
 
 One of the most interesting^ figures in Jasper county is Leonard Aiding 
 Greenlief. Genial, kindly and at all times cheerful, he is as alert in mind and 
 body as a man much younger in years. x\lthough almost blind for the past few 
 years, this great affliction has by no means cast a shadow over his courageous 
 and buoyant spirit, and his fund of ready humor is a delight to all who know 
 him. As a teller of war stories (for he is one of the veteran heroes of the 
 great civil strife of the sixties) he has few equals. \Miile his stories are 
 told in a humorous vein, for it is his nature to hold up the brighter side of a 
 picture to one's view, yet their dramatic quality graphically portrays the 
 horrors of that great conflict. 
 
 Mr. Greenlief was born on February 22, 1841, in the eastern part of 
 Canada, in Shepherd county, about seven miles north of Vermont. He is the 
 son of William C. and Mary (Whitcomb) Greenlief. both natives of Canada, 
 where the father engaged in farming, moving with his family in 1858 to 
 Illinois, settling near Bloomington, later mo\'ing to the southern part of the 
 state, remaining there about a year, then went back to Canada ; but in a little 
 while he came back to Illinois, locating in Henderson county. In 1862 he 
 moved to Scott county, Iowa, where his son, Leonard A., of this review, had 
 preceded him the year before. In 1864 he came to Jasper county and bought 
 two hundred and forty acres of land, in Mound Prairie township, not far 
 from Prairie City, and here he lived until his death, which occurred in 1894, 
 at the advanced age of eighty-eight years. William C. Greenlief was twice 
 married. His first wife, mother of the subject, died in Canada .before the 
 family came to the states. After her death he married Eunice Brown. Seven 
 children were born of the first union, namely : Mary, Adaline, Leonard Aid-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 579 
 
 ing, George, Lyman, Lottie and :Mark. Lottie is a widow, living in Cali- 
 fornia. By the second marriage four children were born: Hattie died in 
 infancy; Emma J. died when seventeen years old; Charles lives in Newton; 
 Homer has no fixed home. 
 
 Leonard A. Greenlief received his education in the district schools of 
 Canada, and was seventeen years of age when he accompanied his parents to 
 the United States. He broke prairie sod for his father in Illinois. In 1861 
 he came to Scott county, Iowa, and worked for some time at breaking sod. 
 In July, 1862, he pro\ed his loyalty to the constitution by enlisting in the 
 Union army, taking out his first papers looking toward citizenship at that 
 time. His enlistment was at Davenport in Company C, Twentieth Iowa 
 Volunteer Infantry. He saw a great deal of hard service, and, according 
 to his comrades, made a most efficient soldier. He was in the battle of 
 Prairie Grove, Arkansas, the siege of Vicksburg for two months, at Fort 
 Morgan, Fort Gaines, Fort Blakely, the outer works of Mobile, Alabama. 
 After the engagement at Prairie Grove their company was sent to Van Buren, 
 taking no provisions with them, expecting to find forage there, but the enemy 
 had decamped, taking or destroying everything in the nature of forage, and 
 the day following they marched back to Prairie Gro^■e again, covering a dis- 
 tance of forty miles without a bite to eat. 'Whenever videttes were called 
 for he always volunteered, until after he had a most horrifying experience, 
 after which he was not so eager for vidette duty. He was one of five who 
 were sent to different posts to watch the movements of the enemy. He was 
 the only one of the five who succeeded in reaching the post assigned him. The 
 enem}- advanced rapidly and the opposing factions engaged each other at about 
 a distance of twenty rods with vidette Greenlief between them, lying among 
 the weeds as close to the ground as he could, remaining there from eight in 
 the morning until nine at night, when, under cover of darkness, he got back 
 to camp. After that his voice was not the first to answer for vidette duty. 
 He was sent on detached duty to serve in guarding a fleet -of sixteen boats 
 from Duvall's Bluff to Little Rock. He was never injured nor was he in 
 the hospital during the service. He was mustered out at Mobile, Alabama, 
 and discharged at Clinton, Iowa, after three years of gallant service under the 
 flag of his adopted country. After his return from the army he remained 
 in Scott county only a month, then came to Jasper county. In the fall of 
 1866 he bought eighty acres of land in Mound Prairie township, and from 
 time to time lie has added to it until at the present time he owns nine hun- 
 dred acres of valuable, productive and well improved land, in two tract?. 
 He made a pronounced success as a general farmer and stock raiser, becoming
 
 -go JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 one of the substantial men of this part of the county. Thirteen years ago he 
 retired from active work and mo\ ed to Newton, where he has since made his 
 home, having a modern, attractive and neatly furnished home in one of the 
 choice residental sections of the city. 
 
 On May i, 1866, Mr. Greenlief was united in marriage with Hattie Chap- 
 man, who was born in Logan county, Ohio, in 1848, the daughter of J. O. 
 and Mary (\\'oodruff) Chapman, both natives of Ohio, where Mr. Chap- 
 man followed farming and owned a general store at Marysville, also at 
 Richland. He came to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1865 and bought land in 
 ]\Iound Prairie township, and here he became very well established. He died 
 at the age of eighty-five years. There were six children in his family, namely : 
 Mrs. Martha Thompson, deceased; Mrs. Ellen Hurd, deceased; Mrs. Frances 
 Halferty lives in Spokane, Washington; Albert is engaged in the butcher 
 business in Colfax; George is farming in Newton township; Hattie, wife of 
 ]\Ir. Greenlief of this review. The mother of these children died when the 
 wife of the subject was five years old, and the father married again, two chil- 
 dren being born by his second union, Charles A., who is living in Oregon, 
 and j\Irs. Mary Galusha, of Wichita, Kansas. 
 
 ]\Ir. and Mrs. Greenlief have one child, Mertie, who married Frank 
 Clymer; they live on their farm near Prairie City and have five children, Vera, 
 Kathryne, Nellie, John L. and William. 
 
 'Mr. Greenlief is a Democrat, and is a member of the Congregational 
 church, as is also his wife; she is a member of the Woman's Relief Corps. 
 
 JOHN M. HIATT. 
 
 Specific mention is made within the pages of this book of many of the 
 worthy citizens who have honored Jasper county with their residence — citizens 
 who have figured in the growth and development of this favored section of 
 the great Hawkeye commonwealth and whose interests are or have been 
 identified with its every phase of progress, each contrilmting in his sphere of 
 action to the well being of the community which he selected for the arena of 
 his life labors and to the advancement of its normal and legitimate growth. 
 Among this worthy number of a past generation none w^as more influential or 
 conspicuous than the late John M. Hiatt, a man coml lining many praiseworthy 
 characteristics of head and heart, much of whose busy and useful life was 
 spent within the borders of this county, whose interests he ever had at heart
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 58 1 
 
 and sought to foster while laboring to advance his own. For his public spirit, 
 his industry and exemplary character he was held in high regard b\- all classes. 
 
 Mr. Hiatt was born in Licking county, Ohio, March 21, 1819. He was 
 the son of Elsey and Sallie Hiatt. who were among the old settlers of that 
 county, the family finally moving from there to Shelby county, Ohio, when the 
 son, John ^I. Hiatt, was about four years old. and there grew to maturity on 
 the home farm and received a good education in the countr\- public schools. 
 He remained at home with his parents until he was married to Catherine Ike. 
 of Shelby county, Ohio, on February 24. 1842. She was born in that county 
 on Februar)^ 2, 182 1, she and Mr. Hiatt having been schoolmates there. She 
 was the daughter of William and Hannah Ike, pioneer residents of that lo- 
 cality, where they became prosperous farmers and influential in the affairs of 
 the neighborhood. 
 
 After their marriage John M. Hiatt and wife remained in Shelby county. 
 Ohio, three years, then, in 1845, moved to Dearborn county, Indiana, locating 
 on a farm where they spent three years, thence moving to Ross, that state, 
 where ]\Ir. Hiatt engaged in carpentering until 1854. then started on the 
 overland trip to Jasper county, Iowa, having been joined in Davenport. Iowa, 
 by the parents of Mr. Hiatt, who accompanied them to Jasper county. Thev 
 located on farms in Rock Creek township, purchasing one hundred and sixty 
 acres from the government, the county being new. unimproved, in fact. wild. 
 There the parents established a good home, in which they spent the remainder 
 of their lives and there John M. Hiatt and wife lived until 1863. when they 
 sold out and moved to Newton, which city was Mr. Hiatt's place of abode 
 until his death, on January 13. 1887, at the home on West High street, where 
 his widow continued to reside until summoned to her reward, some twenty- 
 three vears afterwards. Here Mr. Hiatt followed carpentering and contract- 
 ing, with the exception of three years, when he was in the drug business on the 
 east side of the public square. He was very successful in whatever he turned 
 his attention to and he became one of the best known contractors in this 
 locality, many of the substantial buildings over the county today being monu- 
 ments to his skill as a builder. 
 
 Mr. Hiatt was a strong Republican and he took an active interest in party 
 affairs. He was a worthy and active member of the Methodist Episcopal 
 church at Newton. He left his widow a beautiful home and several valuable 
 buildings in Newton, which she owned until her death, on Deceml^er 27. 1910, 
 having attained the advanced age of ninety years. She was active and hearty 
 almost to the last, her mind acute and memory excellent. It was a rare treat
 
 582 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 to hear her recall reminiscences of the early days and conditions of pioneer 
 times, both here and in Ohio. She led a devout Christian life and always 
 enjoved the association of a host of warm friends. 
 
 To iVIr. and Mrs. John M. Hiatt one child was born, a daughter, Sophia 
 Jane, whose birth occurred on December 27, 1842, in Shelby county. She died 
 when six years of age. 
 
 John jM. Hiatt was admired and respected by all who knew him, and he 
 did much for the early development of Jasper county along material and 
 moral lines, and he and his faithful life companion are eminently deserving of 
 a conspicuous place in her history. 
 
 JAMES EASTMAN. 
 
 It is an axiom demonstrated by human experience that industry is the 
 keynote of prosperity. Success comes not to the man who idly waits, but to 
 the faithful toiler whose work is characterized by sleepless vigilance and 
 cheerful celerity, and it was by such means that James Eastman, late of New- 
 ton, Jasper county, forged to the front and won an honored place among the 
 substantial citizens of the locality of which this volume treats. He was widely 
 and favorably known as a man of high character, and for a number of years 
 his influence in the community was marked and salutary. 
 
 Mr. Eastman came to us from England, where his birth occurred in 1832, 
 and when sixteen years of age he emigrated to America, arriving on the shores 
 of the United States, but later he went to Canada, and remained at Toronto 
 for five years, then he went to the state of New York, where he spent four 
 years. In 1855 he was'Uftited in marriage with Martha Hadley, of Machias, 
 New York, in which place she was born in 1837, the daughter of John and 
 Paulina Hadley, of that place. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Eastman 
 came to Jasper county, Iowa, and located in Newton in the spring of 1856, 
 and there Mr. Eastman remained until his death. Owing to failing health he 
 retired from active work about four years prior to his death, wnich occurred 
 on February 20, 1907, at the home where his widow now resides. No. 600 
 East Temperance street. His remains were interred in Newton cemetery. He 
 was among the old settlers aiid was for years a prominent character here ; he 
 was influential in the development of the city and county and played well his 
 part in the same. He devoted his life to contracting, both in stOne and wood 
 work, and was verv successful. Manv of the finest and most substantial
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 583 
 
 buildings which stand in Xewton today are monuments to his skill as a builder. 
 His services were in great demand owing to his adroitness in his chosen line 
 of endeavor and his honesty in all his contracts. He left considerable valuable 
 property to his widow, including a modern and substantial home in Xewton. 
 
 Mr. Eastman was a prominent member of the Congregational church, 
 having united with that church when a young man. He was also an active 
 and worthy member of the Masonic lodge and the United Workmen of Xew- 
 ton. Politically, he was a stanch Republican, taking a leading part in the 
 affairs of his party. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. James Eastman six children were born, as follows: 
 Eva died in X^ewton when seven years of age; Clarence also died here when 
 ten years of age; Bertha married Harry Aloore, of Xewton; they moved to 
 Oklahoma, where the wife died, leaving two children, Marian and Florence, 
 who remain with their father, he being a very prosperous farmer there. George 
 Eastman is a large contractor in Omaha, Xebraska ; he married Winnie Ouin- 
 lan, of Xewton, and they have one son, Clarence. Florence Eastman married 
 Arthur Joy, of X^ewton, and they have two children, Lucile and Morris, both 
 attending school at Xewton. James H. Eastman married Maud Joy, of Xew- 
 ton, and they have three children, Joy, Harry and Arthur, also attending 
 school at Xewton. 
 
 REV. JAMES E. RYAX. 
 
 X'o estimate of the immense amount of good that comes from a long and 
 useful life like that of the late James E. Ryan, can be made, for it was far- 
 reaching in its effects and will continue through coming generations, like the 
 light that ''shines more and more unto the perfect day." Few lives have been 
 so unselfish, so pregnated with good deeds and so controlled by an insatiable 
 desire to be kind and beneficial to his fellow men; therefore, his memory is 
 cherished wherever he was known, by thousands whom his life touched directly 
 or indirectly. 
 
 Rev. Mr. Ryan was born in the city of Roscrea. Ireland. His parents 
 came to Xew York in 1831 when he was a small boy, thence they went to 
 Montreal, Canada, and there they were living during the year of the great 
 cholera epidemic. His parents being poor, the subject was compelled to start 
 in life for himself when very young, being about nine years old when, in 
 1837, he began clerking in a dry goods store in Toronto, continuing in the same 
 line of work seven years there and in Ontario, Buffalo and Xew York City
 
 :^84 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 and a number of other large cities. In i<^45 he united with the Episcopal 
 church and resolved to become a minister, and he at once began a course of 
 study at the academy at Romeo, Michigan, then under the direction of Prof. 
 Rufus Netting Law. During the winter of 1846-1847 Mr. Ryan taught 
 school and boarded around among the patrons of the school. In the fall of 
 1847 he entered the freshman class at Western College, later locating at Hud- 
 son, Ohio, where he remained three years, but, being poor and out of funds, 
 he left college at the close of his junior year to accept a position offered him 
 as tutor in Williams Hall, a school for boys, and at the same time he became a 
 divinity student at Bexley Hall, both institutions being located at Gambler, 
 Knox county. Ohio, the seat of Kenyon College. He was graduated from 
 Bexley Hall in 1853 and the same year he was ordained deacon by Rev. Charles 
 P. Mcllvaine. bishop of Ohio, and the following year he was ordained to the 
 second office of priest by the same bishop. For several years he served as 
 rector of Grace church at Warren, Ohio. In 1858 he was sent by the church 
 as a missionary to Kansas, later taking charge of the church at Atchison, that 
 state, then he was called to St. Paul's church at Des Moines, Iowa, and he en- 
 tered upon the duties of that important parish in the fall of 1864 and for a 
 period of twenty-six years he labored faithfully and effectively in the diocese 
 of Iowa, giving his best efforts to the various churches to which he was called. 
 In 1 87 1 and again in 1877 ^e had the honor of representing the diocese of 
 Iowa in the general con\ention of the churches and was for a number of years 
 deacon of the northern and central conventions, and in 1885 he resigned the 
 rectorship of the Good Shepherd in Des Moines. Later, about 1880, on ac- 
 count of ill health, he and his family came to Xewton. Iowa, where he spent 
 the balance of his days. 
 
 On April 8. 1875, Rev. Mr. Ryan was united in marriage with a lady of 
 talent and culture, Mrs. H. C. Hawkins, at her home in Troy, Kansas. She 
 was born April 17, 1834, in Canandaigua, New^ York. She first married H. C. 
 Hawkins, of Marshall, Michigan. Afterwards Mr. Hawkins and his wife 
 moved to Topeka, Kansas, throughout which state he became known as one 
 of the ablest lawyers of the same and ranked high as a public man, serving, at 
 one time, very ably and commendablv as a member of the Legislature of that 
 state. His death occurred when he was a comparatively young man, forty- 
 three years old. By their union one son, J. C. Hawkins, was born, who married 
 Eva Ketman, of Humboldt, Iowa, the daughter of a very prominent family 
 there, and Mr. and Mrs. J. C. Hawkins are now living in Newton. Iowa, where 
 they, like Mrs. Ryan, have a host of friends and are highly respected and in- 
 fluential in the best social circles.
 
 JA§PER COUNTY, IOWA. 585 
 
 Rev. James E. Ryan was a man whom to know was to love, admire and 
 praise, for he was high-minded, learned, kind, generous, untiring in his efforts 
 to do good and at the same time unassuming, content merely to follow in the 
 footsteps of the humble Gallilean and to know that he was doing His will, con- 
 sequently the widespread fame and honor he won was justly due him. and the 
 world is better and hai)pier by his having lived in it. 
 
 DAVID EDMUXDSOX. 
 
 Widely known as one of the leading citizens of central Iowa during her 
 pioneer history and the subsequent period of her development, the name of 
 David Edmundson stands out conspicuously, and although he has long since 
 been called to a higher plane of action, the influence of his useful life, the many 
 unselfish and charitable deeds he performed will continue to pervade the lives 
 of succeeding generations, and the hearts of those who had the good fortune 
 to be associated \vith him are warmed and their spirits braced by some faint 
 echo of the words of wisdom and kindness he spoke. His well directed efforts 
 in the practical aft'airs of life, his capable management of his business interests 
 and his keen discernment brought him prosperity and his life demonstrated 
 what may be accomplished by any man of energy and ambition who is not 
 afraid to work and has the perseverance to continue his labors in the face of 
 any discouragements which may seem to arise. In all the relations of life he 
 commanded the respect and confidence of those with whom he was brought 
 into contact, and a biographical history of Jasper county would certainly lack 
 an important link were a record of his useful and interesting career omitted. 
 
 David Edmundson was the scion of a fine old Southern family, many 
 winnine characteristics of which he seemed to inherit, and he himself was 
 born on Dixie soil, his birth occurring in Harrison county, Kentucky, June 9. 
 181 1, and there he spent his early boyhood, removing with his parents, William 
 and ]Mary Emundson, to Indiana, locating at Greencastle in 1827. and there 
 the death of his father occurred, and afterwards David Edmundson came to 
 Burlington. Iowa. He located in Des Moines countv in 18 ?6 and there he 
 remained until in Alarch. 1841, when he was united in marriage with Tem- 
 perance Gordon, a lady of many beautiful attributes and the representative of 
 an excellent old familv. her birth haxing occurred in May, 1821, in Pennsyl- 
 vania, she being the daughter of Alexander and Elizal3eth Gordon. After their 
 marriage they moved to Oskaloosa. Iowa, having remained in Des Moines
 
 386 JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA. 
 
 county but a short time. Remaining about a year in the former place, they 
 moved, in 1846, to Jasper county, and here purchased one hundred and sixty 
 acres where the county poor farm is now located; after remaining there three 
 vears they moved to Xewton in 1849 ^"^^ there Mr. Edmundson assisted in 
 laving out the city, and here he purchased one hundred and sixty acres from 
 the government, he and his wife being among the very earliest settlers of this 
 county and city, and certainly none were more influential or prominent in its 
 earlv history than they, and none better known or more highly esteemed, for 
 with old-time hospitality and genuine neighborly impulses they performed un- 
 numbered acts of kindness among the first settlers. ]\Ir. Edmundson was 
 active in politics and wielded a strong influence for his party and he was called 
 upon to represent Jasper county in the state Legislature when the capital of the 
 state was located at Iowa City. He was afterwards elected county judge, the 
 duties of which important ofiice he performed in an eminently creditable man- 
 ner, as he did those of representative. He had charge of building the old 
 court house, in 1862. which was only recently torn down. 
 
 When the Civil war came on Mr. Edmundson was too patriotic to re- 
 strain his impulses to fight in defense of the old flag and he offered his services 
 to the Union, though he was fifty-one years old at the time. He was com- 
 missioned second lieutenant of Compan}- D. Fortieth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, 
 and after a very gallant service of two years resigned and returned to this 
 county and for the next fifteen years de\oted his attention very largely to the 
 oflice of justice of the peace. He was one of the brave band who crossed the 
 trackless western plains to the gold fields of California, he and a number of 
 other Jasper county citizens making the long and prolix journey in 1850, the 
 trip rc(|uiring tliree months. The return trip was made by water by way of 
 the Isthmus of Panama and up the Mississippi river. He. in later life, talked 
 most interestingly of this experience in the far \\>st and of other earlv occur- 
 rences. Politically, he was early in life a AMiig and after the Republican party 
 was. organized he loyally supported its principles. He made a splendid record 
 as judge, both in this county and at the military, post at Columbus. Kentucky. 
 
 The death of this excellent citizen occurred at his late residence. Xo. 520 
 East Temperance street. Xewton, Iowa, on July 26, 1895, at the age of eighty- 
 four years. One of his brothers lived to be ninety-two years old and his 
 mother was ninety- four years of age when she passed away in Oskaloosa, Iowa. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. David Edmundson eight children. were born, namely: 
 Araf^ella, the eldest child, is the wife of S. W. Macy. of Spokane. Washington; 
 Alex lives at Los Angeles. California: David G.. lives at Des Moines, Iowa; 
 Ella is deceased: Freda lives at the old home in Xewton: Marv is deceased;
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 0°/ 
 
 Charles is deceased; Elizabeth lives with her sister, Freda, at the old home- 
 stead mentioned above, and here the mother, who was a woman of gracious 
 personality, passed to her rest on April 2, 1910. 
 
 The Edmundson family has ranked in the forefront of Jasper county 
 citizens from the earliest pioneer days to the present, none standing higher 
 socially, and no one has done more for the locality honored by his citizenship 
 than David Edmundson. whose memory is revered by all who knew him per- 
 sonally or of his work. 
 
 L. A. WELLS. 
 
 Good intellectual training, thorough professional knowledge and the pos- 
 session and utilization of the qualities and attributes essential to success have 
 made L. A. Wells, of Xewton, Jasper county, eminent as an attorney-at-law, 
 and he stands today among the enterprising men of this profession in central 
 Iowa, figuring prominently for some time in the affairs of his locality, although 
 yet young in years. 
 
 Mr. Wells was born October 31, 1879, in Crawford county, Iowa, and 
 he is the son of X. A. and Emma J. ( Benefiel) Wells, the father a native of 
 A^ermont and the mother of Davenport, Iowa. X. A. Wells was for many 
 years a well known stock buyer, having come to Jasper county twenty-six 
 years ago, moving from Crawford county, this state. He was a successful 
 business man and was prominent in political affairs and he was representative 
 from Jasper county in 1897, filling this important office with much credit to 
 himself and to the eminent satisfaction of all his constituents. He is at present 
 living in Wadena county. ^linnesota, where he moved about seven years ago. 
 His wife died ]^Iarch 20, 1898. There were five children in their family, 
 named as follows: W. B.. of the United States navy, was with Rear Admiral 
 Schley, on the famous cruiser "Brooklyn" at the great naval battle of Santiago 
 during the Spanish- American war. He is now on detached duty at the Annap- 
 olis X^aval Academy, and is writing text-books on marine engineering and 
 naval construction : he is a graduate of the academy at Annapolis, and stands 
 very high in naval circles. S. H. Wells is on a ranch in Wyoming: Mrs. Edith 
 Kohler lives on a farm twelve miles south of Xewton ; Mrs. Mattie Lewis lives 
 in Oklahoma. 
 
 L. A. Wells, of this review, came to Jasper county with his parents when 
 a child and he was reared on a farm five miles south of Xewton, and when 
 old enough he assisted with the various duties about the place, attending the
 
 588 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 neighboring schools during the winter months. He was always an ardent 
 student and he made a splendid record while attending the high school at 
 Xewton, from which he was graduated in 1898, and the University of Iowa, 
 having graduated from the law department of the latter in 1901, after which 
 he began practice at once in Xewton, and was very successful from the first, 
 his practice having continued to grow steadily to the present time, being re- 
 garded as a very cautious, energetic and safe advocate and an earnest and 
 logical exponent before a jury. 
 
 During the Spanish- American war in 1898, just as he was finishing high 
 school. INIr. W^lls gave vent to his patriotic impulses by enlisting in Company 
 F, Fiftieth Iowa Infantry, and was stationed at Jacksonville, Florida, for six 
 months, from April to November. 
 
 On April 18, 1902, Mr. ^^'ells was married to INIary J. Manning, daughter 
 of Richard Manning, a prominent citizen of Xewton. Iowa, in which city Airs. 
 A\'ells was l:;orn, reared and educated and where, owing to her genial nature, 
 she has always been a favorite in the best social circles. This union has been 
 graced by the birth of two daughters, Hortense, seven years old, and Esther, 
 five years old. 
 
 Politically, Air. Wells is a Republican and he has long supported every 
 laudable movement looking to the betterment of his county and state, and he 
 has the confidence and respect of all who know him, his career so far having 
 been characterized by lofty purpose and honest precept. 
 
 lOHX HEWS. 
 
 The life history of John Hews, one of Jasper county's best known and 
 highly honored pioneer citizens, would indicate that he is the possessor of 
 sterling qualities that cannot help winning in any vocation if back of them is 
 an indomitable courage, as seems to have been the case in this instance, and 
 he has labored to goodly ends, ever keeping the interests of his neighbors and 
 the locality in general before him while working to advance himself and, there- 
 fore, he has played well his role in the local drama of civilization. He is one 
 of the gallant veterans of the great Union army, having gladlv sacrificed much, 
 like many legions of brave comrades, "in order that the nation might live." 
 Thus many reasons might be advanced why Mr. Hews is justly entitled to con- 
 spicuous and exhaustive mention in the history of this, one of the most thriv- 
 ing and favored sections of the great commonwealth of Iowa, whose interests 
 he has ever had verv much at heart.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 589 
 
 Mr. Hews was born September 3, 1837, in Saratoga county, New York, 
 the son of James and Sally Maria (Efnor) Hews, he being the third child in 
 order of birth, the two that preceded him dying in early infancy. These par- 
 ents with their only child, John, who was too young to take any note of hap- 
 penings at that time, 1838, made the long overland journey from New York 
 to Illinois and in that state the son grew to young manhood and received most 
 of his education. The family finally moved to Jasper county, Iowa, when this 
 country was new and unsettled, or very sparsely so, and here the subject as- 
 sisted in building a school house which he attended for a while. It was built of 
 round logs and the seats were made by splitting a log in halves, and holes were 
 bored in the ends in which the legs were fastened ; puncheons were also used 
 for flooring. It was a typical first settlers* school house. Being the oldest of 
 the family, a great deal of responsibility fell to him and he knew the meaning 
 of hard work in all its significance. The nearest mill to them was at Lynn- 
 ville, and there he had to go to mill, and later he went to Oskaloosa on the 
 same errand ; but these long trips were looked upon as a pleasure rather than 
 as irksome, for he was usually accompanied by some lively companion whom 
 he not infrequently made the butt of practical jokes. He drove an ox team 
 and. taking sufficient rations for the entire trip, would camp by the road over 
 night, the trips consuming four or fi\e days. On one occasion he was com- 
 pelled to haul water to be used in the mill, before steam could be generated 
 with which to grind his corn. He tells many interesting stories of conditions 
 and happenings here when he was a boy and when all were on an equal footing 
 financially and socially; when there were few roads, no fences; when there 
 were wolves, wild turkey and plenty of good game of various species ; in fact, 
 he would be apt to tell you that those old times, the good old days of the pio- 
 neers, were the best, and who of us would have the temerity to dispute him? 
 
 Alr. Hews enlisted on August 8, 1862, at Galesburg, in Company K, 
 Twenty-eighth Iowa \'olunteer Infantry, and after remaining at Camp Pope, 
 Iowa City, a short time, was sent to Helena, Arkansas, thence to Port Gibson, 
 where he took part in the battle, later fought at Champion's Hill, then was in 
 the siege of Vicksburg for forty-eight days, then he was in the skirmishing 
 about Jackson for fourteen days, after which his regiment was sent with 
 General Banks on the Red River expedition ; later Mr. Hews went with Gen- 
 eral Sherman into the Shenandoah valley, and he took part in the sanguinary 
 battles of Winchester, Fisher's Hill and Harrisburg; he was in camp at Cedar 
 Creek and from there was sent to Martinsburg to guard a supply train and 
 while he was there the Cedar Creek battle was fought. He marched bare-
 
 590 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 footed from Cedar Creek to Winchester. From there he was ordered with the 
 rest of the regiment to Savannah, Georgia, and there Mr. Hews was honorably 
 discharged, and was mustered out at Davenport, Iowa, at the close of the war, 
 after having seen some hard service. According to his comrades he was al- 
 ways very faithful in the performance of duty, and for meritorious service he 
 was promoted to sergeant at Vicksburg. He was in seventeen or eighteen 
 general engagements and many skirmishes. 
 
 After he returned from the war, ]\lr. Hews went back to farming; he 
 had married in 1859 and at the time of his enlistment he had two small chil- 
 dren. He owned forty acres of land in Elk Creek township and the wife and 
 children lived there until he returned from the front. She was known in her 
 maidenhood as Elizabeth Payton, who was born in Hendricks county, In- 
 diana, the daughter of James and Mary (McDaniels) Payton, natives of 
 Kentucky. The family came to Iowa fn 1855 and settled near Galesburg. 
 There were eight in the family that grew to maturity, namely : Mary A., wife 
 of Xapoleon B. Mayfield, now of Kansas, was the first wdiite child born in 
 Jasper county; she became well educated, was highly intellectual and at one 
 time was superintendent of schools of this county; Mrs. M. E. Hays is living 
 in Kansas; Mr. Hays was formerly sheriff of the county when he lived at 
 Sharon Springs; Milton C. lives at Creston, Iowa; Spencer H. lives at Lynn- 
 ville, this county. 
 
 The death of Mrs. Hews occurred in 1876, leaving eight children, only 
 three of whom grew to maturity, namely : Edwin O., a landscape gardener in 
 California; Alva was kicked by a horse and killed when twenty-seven years of 
 age ; William, living in Kansas. 
 
 In 1878 Mr. Hews again married, his second wife being Frances A. 
 Hewitt, who was born at Burlington, Iowa, the daughter of Joseph and Anna 
 (Buntin) Hewitt, natives of Ohio. By this marriage one child was born, 
 Leota May, who died at the age of two years. Mr. Hews' second wife passed 
 to her rest at Galesburg, February 14, 1909. 
 
 Mr. Hews has been very successful in his business relations, having 
 owned various farms, and in 1869 he went to Nebraska and bought one hun- 
 dred and sixty acres which he sold four years later. Returning to Jasper 
 county, he quit farming in a short time and took up carpentering, which he 
 has followed more or less ever since, but is now leading a retired life with his 
 sister, Mrs. Snodgrass. in Newton, whose husband died in October, 1890; she 
 owns a good farm of over a hundred acres in Newton township, but prefers 
 to live in the town of Newton.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 59 1 
 
 I\Ir. Hews spent eight years in Wichita, Kansas; for the past two years 
 he has Hved in Xewton, this county. He is a member of the Masonic lodge at 
 Newton; also belongs to Garrett Post, Grand Army of the Republic. He is a 
 "standpat" Republican, and while living in Nebraska he was elected justice 
 of the peace on the Republican ticket, and he held various offices in Elk Creek 
 township. He is a worthy member of the Christian church. 
 
 WILLIAM HARVEY NOLIN. 
 
 One of the honored vocations from the earliest ages has been husbandry 
 and as a usual thing men of worthy impulses have been patrons of agriculture. 
 The free outdoor life of the farm has a decided tendency to foster and develop 
 that independence of mind and self-reliance which characterizes true manhood 
 and the boy is indeed fortunate who is reared in close touch with nature in 
 the healthful, life-inspiring labor of the fields. 
 
 Among the enterprising young farmers of Fairview township, Jasper 
 county, Iowa, is William Harvey Nolin. who vvas born in Marion county, 
 Iowa, February 21, 1885. He is the son of Cyrus Nolin and wife, a complete 
 sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume. 
 
 The subject was the second in a family of four children, the others being. 
 Robert George, now deceased ; Elvin Meek ; Mary Alice Blanch. 
 
 William H. Nolin attended school at Sunny Point and he grew up on the 
 home farm, assisting with the general work there when a boy. On the even- 
 ing of his twenty-first birthday he was married, and he then began renting 
 land of his father-in-law, and the year following he rented of his father. In 
 191 1 he and his brother, Elvin, bought a portion of the James A. Tool farm 
 of one hundred and twenty acres, renting other land also, operating two hun- 
 dred and eighty acres in all. The two live together and work the place 
 together and they are making a success as general farmers and stock raisers, 
 making a specialty of Poland-Chma hogs, Belgian and Shetland horses and 
 light Brahma chickens. 
 
 William H. Nolin is independent in politics, voting always for the l>est 
 man. regardless of party. He is a prohibitionist in belief. He belongs to 
 Tool's Chapel Methodist Episcopal church. 
 
 Mr. Nolin was married on February 21, 1906, to Grace Lucile Jarnagin, 
 who was born December 19, 1884. in Marion county. She is the daughter of 
 Alpheus Jarnagin, who came from Illinois to Iowa in 1865. Mrs. Nolin at- 
 tended the Enterprise district school in Fairview township, this county.
 
 5^2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. < 
 
 To the subject and wife three children have been born, namely: Karl 
 William, Burt Roscoe and Harold Elvin. 
 
 Elvin Meek Nolin, mentioned above, as in partnership with the immediate 
 subject of this sketch in operating the farms in this township, was born 
 October 4, 1887. in Fairview township, this county. He attended the rural 
 schools and the high school at Alonroe, from which he was graduated in 1898, 
 after which he taught school very acceptably for two years; but he has pre- 
 ferred farming and he is making good. 
 
 On February 21, 191 1, Mr. Nolin was married to Cattolina Fennema, 
 who was born in 1890, the daughter of John F. and Wllhelmina L. (Dejong) 
 Fennema. These parents, who are of Holland descent, are farmers in ]\Iarion 
 countv. 
 
 CAPT. JOSEPH R. RODGERS. 
 
 No resident of Colfax is better known to its people, stands higher in 
 their regard, or comes from a more honored family, which he by his life has 
 made more honored, than does Capt. Joseph R, Rodgers, now retired, who 
 was the first mayor of Colfax, installed as such on September 9, 1875. -^^ 
 came to Newton, Jasper county, in 1854 with his parents, Hugh and Emily 
 (AlcManus) Rodgers. Hugh Rodgers came to this county from his native 
 city, Charleston, South Carolina. He was the son of Henry and Jane 
 (Nealy) Rodgers, respectively natives of Limerick and Cork, Ireland. Two 
 of Hugh's brothers, Dr. Henry Rodgers and William Rodgers, also located 
 at Newton, where the three brothers were among the leaders of the people 
 for many years. Hugh Rodgers engaged in mercantile pursuits, and was 
 coroner of Jasper county from 1858 to 1864 and from 1871 to 1876. The 
 brothers were prominent in Masonic circles. Hugh was the first junior 
 warden of Newton Lodge No. 59, of Masons, instituted on March 20, 1855, 
 was proxy for the worshipful master at the grand lodge in June, 1855. 
 William Rodgers was the first senior warden of the Newton Lodge, the first 
 principal sojourner of Gebul Chapter No. 12, Royal Arch Masons, insti- 
 tuted in 1856, and was a charter member of Commandery No. 22, Knights 
 Templar, and of Lodge No. 73 of Odd Fellows. Dr. Henry Rodgers was a 
 resident of Newton in 1850, and is credited with being the pioneer doctor of 
 Jasper county. He was treasurer of Newton township in 1850, county 
 treasurer from 1850 to 1854, and county recorder from 1850 to 1858. A son 
 of Henry Rodgers, T. F. Rodgers, still, in 1910, resides on a farm near New- 
 ton.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 593 
 
 Joseph R. Rodgers attended school in Xewton, and in uS6i enhsted in the 
 first company to leave Newton, Company B, Fifth Iowa Infantry. In 1863 he 
 became captain of Company B, Forty-eighth Iowa Infantry, and was so mus- 
 tered out in October. 1864. He took part in the battles of Corinth. luka. and 
 all the battles of the Western army up to and including the siege of Vicksburg. 
 
 In 1868 Captain Rodgers came to Colfax and engaged in the grain and 
 lumber business, in which he continued until 1898, when he retired, after 
 thirty years of successful experience, in which his business abilities were 
 strongly demonstrated. He was the first mayor of Colfax, served on the local 
 school board for some years, and was town clerk for nine vears. He was ap- 
 pointed land appraiser on the Dawes Indian commission in the Indian Terri- 
 tory, and served for three years. He has been during all this time a loyal Re- 
 publican. E. \\'. Duncan Post Xo. 283. Grand Army, numl>ers him among 
 its most enthusiastic and active meml^ers.' 
 
 Captain Rodgers was married at Newton to Emma J. IVIanning, the 
 daughter of Ben and Mary (Gibson) Manning. Her parents came to Newton 
 in 1854 from Plainfield, N^e\^• Jersey, and were prominent in the city. Mrs. 
 Rodgers died on April 10, 1909. at the age of sixty-four. She left one 
 daughter, Anna L. Rodgers, the wife of W. S. Cutter. Mrs. Rodgers' 
 brother, Col. W. R. Manning, of Newton, is past state commander of the 
 Grand Army of the Republic. A sister and a brother of Captain Rodgers live 
 in Newton, the sister. Ella Townsend. being the widow of Col. Nathaniel 
 Townsend, who was adjutant-general of Iowa ; the brother is Ward M. 
 Rodgers, the editor of the Xczctoji Record. 
 
 The record of the Rodgers family is an honorable one. and its members 
 are types of the best of American citizenship. Capt. Joseph Rodgers is a man 
 whom his community delights to honor for his services freely rendered, and 
 whom it ranks among its first and foremost citizens. He has in his lifetime 
 endeared to himself manv friends. 
 
 ANDREW J. WIGGIN. 
 
 Eighty-two years ha\e i)assed with leaden feet through the relentless 
 gates of the irrevocable past since Andrew J. \\'iggin.one of Jasper county's 
 best known and most highly respected citizens, first saw the light of day in an 
 old house in New England, but the years have been kind to him and he is as 
 active as most men are at the age of fifty. All his faculties have been well 
 preserved, so that he reads without glasses, can climb a tree as nimbly as a 
 
 (38)
 
 594 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 bov, has a keen, comprehending intellect and is still a man of affairs and in- 
 fluence. His early life was that of a soldier of fortune, a prospector and gold 
 digger in the far West in the early fifties, and later was to be found gallantly 
 defending his nation's flag on the field of battle, and in many ways he en- 
 countered and endured hardships and difficulties that would have crushed 
 many of a less sterling spirit, but his courage, energy, tact and robustness car- 
 ried him safely through and now, in the mellow Indian summer of his years, he 
 finds himself surrounded by peace and plenty upon the pleasant place he pro- 
 cured over thirty years ago. 
 
 ]Mr. W'iggin was born on April 14, 1830, in New Hampshire, the son of 
 Andrew \\'iggin and wife, who lived on a farm in that state, of which they, 
 too. were both natives. His great-grandfather W'iggin came from England 
 to Massachusetts in the historic "Alayflower." The subject was the third in 
 order of birth in a family of eight children, namely : Enoch, Laura, Sarah, 
 Augusta, Mary, George and one who died in infancy. They were all born in 
 New Hampshire, all remaining in their native state except Andrew J., of this 
 review ; Enoch. Laura and George are deceased, and the parents passed away 
 many years ago. 
 
 Andrew J. Wiggin attended the country schools near his home for a 
 time, but at the early age of fifteen years he started out in life for himself, 
 went to Boston, Massachusetts, where he learned the carpenter's trade, which 
 he followed until 1852, when, lured by the call of the western Eldorado with 
 its possibilities of untold wealth to be had for the mere digging, fortune favor- 
 ing, he set out with his savings to California, going by steamer from New' 
 York and across the isthmus and thence up the western coast by steamer. He 
 followed mining there for five years, and while not finding the enormous wealth 
 of which he had dreamed, yet he was veiy successful and came away with 
 several thousand dollars. He returned to Boston in 1857, and that same year 
 he came to Iowa, making the trip by rail to Mount Pleasant and from there by 
 stage to Prairie City, and he purchased eighty acres of land in Des Moines 
 township. The following year he married Cynthia Parker, who bore him six 
 children, namely: Morris, the eldest, lives in Wyoming; Mrs. Mary Pentacoe 
 lives on a farm near Des Moines; Orin lives on a farm in Nebraska; George 
 makes his home in Omaha, Nebraska ; Carrie, who has remained single, lives 
 at home and keeps house for her father; one child died in infancy. 
 
 When the great rebellion broke out in the early sixties, Mr. Wiggin felt 
 it his duty to forsake the pleasures of home, to leave his fields to grow up in 
 weeds and go to the front and do what he could in saving the Union, conse- 
 quently in August, 1861, he enlisted in Company T. Tenth Iowa Volunteer In-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 595 
 
 fantry, in which he saw much hard ser\ice and pro\ing himself to be a true 
 and gallant American soldier, an exponent of the Anglo-Saxon that has never 
 been defeated. He took part in fourteen of the hardest- fought battles of the 
 war, besides a number of skirmishes. He was in. among others, both battles 
 of Corinth, siege of Vicksburg, Raymond, Jackson. Holly Springs, luka. 
 Champion's Hill, New Madrid and Missionary Ridge. His regiment was in 
 the brunt of the bloody clash at Cham^pion's Hill, and his comjjany of thirty- 
 four men lost twenty-two, including Captain Pogue. Captain Garret, who 
 commanded them at the time of their enlistment, had been promoted to the 
 rank of colonel. Captain Drew was their captain when they were mustered 
 out in October, 1864, at Kingston, Georgia. 
 
 After his return home Mr. W'iggin took up the cultivation of his land 
 and about twenty years later he sold the eighty acres and bought forty acres 
 where he now lives, adjoining Prairie City. Later he added to this until he 
 had one hundred and sixty acres, which he farmed successfully until ten vears 
 ago, when he retired from active life, and a few years ago he sold all his land 
 but four acres around his house, and here he continues to reside, the town 
 having grown out around him. He has judiciously invested his monev in 
 various ways until he now enjoys an income of five dollars per day. 
 
 Mr. Wiggin has been twice married. Init for a number of years now he 
 has lived single. 
 
 Mr. Wiggin is a Republican, but he has never sought office. He cast his 
 first \ote for Fremont for President, he having been a resident of San Fran- 
 cisco at that time. He is a member of the McCray Post Xo. 27. Grand Army 
 of the Republic, being a charter member of the same. He was its commander 
 for several years, and at the present time he is senior vice-commander, and he 
 has always been active and prominent in the organization. 
 
 JOSL\H P. TURNER. 
 
 Everybody in Prairie City. Jasper count)-, knows and honors Josiah P. 
 .Turner, a kindly, honest, genial veteran of the "grand army" that saved the 
 Union. For years a typical "jolly miller" of the town which he still claims as 
 home, his special line of business giving him a wide acquaintance with the sur- 
 rounding countrv for a radius of many miles, he is one of the best known of 
 the pioneers of this part of the county, which he has lived to see develop from 
 the wild prairie, taking an active part in the same.
 
 j;96 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Turner was born in Greene county, Pennsylvania, on October 5, 1832, 
 the son of Isaiah and Nancy ( Moore) Turner, the father born in Maryland 
 in 1 80 1, the son of Abel Turner. The family is of Scotch-Irish descent. The 
 mother of the subject was born in Xew Jersey in 1803. These parents were 
 married in Pennsylvania, where they devoted their lives to farming. Ten 
 children were born to them, of whom Josiah P., of this review, was the fourth 
 in order of birth; the others were named as follows: Mrs. Elizabeth Shirk, 
 who died in Pennsylvania; Mrs. Martha Gordon also died in that state; Daniel 
 died in Xew Orleans; Abel, who was a soldier in Company H, Fifteenth Penn- 
 svlvania Cavalry, died in his native state; Mrs. Sarah Taylor also died in 
 Pennsylvania ; Mrs. Mary Sutton is living in \\'aynesburg. Pennsylvania ; Tillie 
 died in childhood ; X^ancy Ann. who has remained single, lives in the state of 
 Pennsvlvania, as does also James. The mother of these children died in 
 Greene county in 1855, and the father subsequently married Mrs. Ruth Clark, 
 a widow, this union having been without issue. The death of the father, 
 Isaiah Turner, occurred in 1876. 
 
 Josiah P. Turner was educated in the country school of Greene county, 
 Pennsylvania, remaining at home until 1854. when he came to Lasalle county, 
 Illinois, and found work in a flouring mill there, and learned the business thor- 
 oughl}-. In those early days the newcomers to the Middle West frequently 
 suffered from the ague, and the subject, not being exempt, left that country on 
 this account and returned home after an absence of two years. When the call 
 for volunteers to suppress the rebellion was sent out, it at once appealed to Mr. 
 Turner's patriotic impulses, and as soon as he could arrange to do so he "bade 
 farewell to kith and kin" and in July, 1862. he enlisted at Waynesburg in Com- 
 pany K, Fifteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry. At the battle of Antietam their 
 colonel was captured, Ijut later made his escape, and upon rejoining his regi- 
 ment it was reorganized, Mr. Turner's company becoming Company D. Their 
 colonel, William J. Palmer, was later made a brigadier-general. He was al- 
 ways greatly beloved by his soldiers and is now living at Colorado Springs, 
 Colorado. In 1907 he held a reunion of his regiment, furnishing transporta- 
 tion for all those living and who could attend. The subject was there and 
 the memory of this reunion will fondly linger with him until the final ''taps" 
 are sounded. Besides the bloody conflict mentioned above, Mr. Turner took 
 part in the scarcely less sanguinary conflicts of Chickamauga and. Stone River. 
 He was in the campaign about Atlanta, then their command was sent back 
 to General Thomas and was engaged in the battle of Xashville. He was with 
 General Stoneman on his campaign through North Carolina, Georgia, Ala- 
 bama and Tennessee. Fie was in manv skirmishes and saw much hard service.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 597 
 
 He was wounded in the foot at the battle of Stone River, and he was at one 
 time confined in the hospital on account of sickness. According to his com- 
 rades he made a most faithful soldier, and for meritorious service became first 
 sergeant of his compan\ . After three years' service he was honorably dis- 
 charged and mustered out on June 12. 1865. 
 
 After his career in the army he returned to Pennsylvania and the follow- 
 ing year came to Iowa, where he met Elizabeth Clark and in March, 1866. they 
 were married in Muscatine county. She was born in Tyler county, \'irginia. 
 on October 9. 1842. the daughter of Remick and Maria (Hatfield) Clark, 
 natives of Pennsylvania. They moved to Virginia shordy after their mar- 
 riage and came to Muscatine, Iowa, in 1865, later moving to Missouri, where 
 they bought a farm on which they spent the rest of their lives. Mr. Clark dying 
 there at the age of seventy-eight years, iiis wife reaching the age of eighty- 
 four. They were the parents of six children that grew to maturity, as fol- 
 lows : Emma, who married a ]\Ir. McPherren. lives in Geneva. Nebraska; A. 
 B. lives in Sullivan countv, Missouri ; Mrs. Minnie Bailev lives at Browningf. 
 Linn county. Missouri; Mrs. Joseph Pratt, now deceased, also lived in Mis- 
 souri; Mrs. Amanda Johnson lives in Sullivan county, Missouri. Stephen Hat- 
 field, grandfather of Airs. Turner on her mother's side, was a soldier in the 
 Revolutionary war. 
 
 Following their marriage Mr. and !\Irs. Turner went to Pennsyh'ania. 
 but the following year. 1867, they returned to Iowa and have resided here 
 continuously to the present time. For two years Mr. Turner farmed in Fair- 
 ^•iew township, Jasper county, near the town of M(mroe, and in 1870 he 
 moved to Prairie City and worked in the flouring mill there, which he later 
 purchased and in which he installed new machinery, converting it into a good 
 rolling mill and soon built up an extensi\e and lucrative business. This he 
 continued to operate and own until it was destroyed l)y fire, nine years ago. He 
 did not rebuild it. but has lived practically retired since that time. He has 
 accumulated a competency for his old age and is entitled to the respite he is 
 enjoying. He has a pleasant home in Prairie City, which he bought June i. 
 1 87 1, fortv years ago. and he has lived in the same ever since. During this 
 long period he has witnessed many great changes in this locality. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Turner six children have been l>orn, namely: \'irginia 
 died when six years of age; Anna 'SI. is at home; Amanda died when a child; 
 Alberta died in infancy; Xettie married Hart W. Zachary. and they live on a 
 farm three and one-half miles west of Prairie City, in Washington township, 
 and they have four children, Leland, Gerald, Raymond and Grace. Frank 
 Turner married Haddie Hanes and lives in Prairie City, where he is employed
 
 -q8 jasper county, IOWA. 
 
 as bookkeeper in the First National Bank, and they have one child, Francis 
 Palmer. 
 
 Politically, ^Ir. Turner is a Democrat and he cast his first vote for Stephen 
 A. Douglas in i860 for President. He is a member of McCray Post No. 177, 
 Grand Army of the Republic, of which he was formerly commander. Mrs. 
 Turner is a member of the Woman's Relief Corps. 
 
 CHARLES H. JENNINGS. 
 
 All honor and praise is due the old soldiers, they \\ho, when the Union 
 was in danger of being disrupted, gladly and unhesitatingly left their varied 
 tasks, forsook their cheerful hearthstones, bade farewell to home folks, shoul- 
 dered their muskets and offered their services and their lives, if need be, in 
 order, as the Great Emancipator said, "that the nation, under God, might live." 
 By their great sacrifices we of today are enjoying the fruits of their labors, 
 the glorious heritance which is inestimable. One of this W'Orthy number is 
 Charles H. Jennings, of Newton, Jasper county, a man whose life has been 
 led along consistent lines, resulting in much good to those with whom he has 
 come into contact and he is held in high esteem wherever he is known. 
 
 Mr. Jennings, who is of English and Irish ancestry, w-as born in Knox 
 county, Ohio, May 26, 1845, the son of Joseph and Eliza (McCowai) Jen- 
 nings, of New- England. They came to Ohio when both were children. The 
 paternal grandfather, Joseph Jennings, owned land in Knox county, Ohio, on 
 the stage road, his home becoming a stage station in the early days, in fact, his 
 place was a sort of tavern and there both driver and teams w-ere changed. His 
 son Joseph, father of the subject, when fifteen years of age, began driving the 
 stage through Knox and adjoining counties and continued in this business for 
 a period of twenty-five years. In 1856 he came to Iowa, driving overland in 
 ■'prairie schooners" from Franklin county, Ohio, where, at Reynoldsburg, he 
 had kept a grocery store, the trip here requiring a month, for the roads were 
 very rough; on the way a sick horse was traded for a good yoke of oxen. He 
 arrived with his family in Newton in April, 1856, his family at that time con- 
 sisting of three children, four having been born at later dates, and, liesides 
 himself and wife, his father also came along, but the latter later returned to 
 Ohio and his death occurred at Columbus. During the first year of his resi- 
 dence here Joseph Jennings engaged in freighting. He handled the brick 
 for the first two brick houses built in Newton, those for George Anderson and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 599 
 
 Colonel Meyers, both still substantial buildings. The same year he bought 
 one hundred acres of land in Newton township, which land now lies in 
 Sherman township, paying two dollars and fifty cents per acre for the same. 
 This he cultivated for over thirty years, during which time he became one of 
 the township's leading farmers, and laid by a com])etcncy ; then he lx)ught 
 property in Newton and moved there, where he continued to reside until his 
 death, in 1898, at the advanced age of eighty-two years, his wife having pre- 
 ceded him to the grave many years before. He was a man of sterling char- 
 acter and always a hard worker and a useful citizen. 
 
 Charles H. Jennings was the second child in order of birth in a family of 
 seven, named as follows: Isabel, who married Milton Heifner, a farmer, died 
 some time ago, leaving four children; Mary F., who married Austin Niffin, 
 taught school a number of years in this county, and her death occurred in 
 Newton a few years ago; George, Cordelia, Maggie and William, all died 
 during childhood. 
 
 The subject's schooling was not extensive, owing to the fact that he grew 
 up in a pioneer county ; however he improved such opportunity as he had in the 
 subscription schools, walking three miles, also going to school some in New- 
 ton. When seventeen years of age he ran away and joined the army, his 
 father having opposed his suggestion to become a soldier; but he enlisted in 
 Company L, Ninth Iowa Cavalry, on August 3, 1863. His service was mostly 
 in Missouri and Arkansas, taking part in a number of minor engagements and 
 skirmishes, and while he was not wounded he suffered from a severe sun- 
 stroke, which has proved detrimental to his health ever since. He was also 
 badly hurt by his horse falling on him. He was honorably discharged on 
 February 3, 1866, and after his return home he began farming. In 1871 he 
 took up a homestead claim of one hundred and sixty acres in Kansas, remain- 
 ing there until 1873, when he sold it and returned to Jasper county. In 1878 
 he bought land in Adair county, but sold it a few years later, after which 
 he followed carpentering in Newton for ten years. He was appointed janitor 
 of the court house, which position he held for five years. He bought a sub- 
 stantial residence property on Main street in the west part of Newton, and in 
 1894 traded this for his home place, which is pleasantly situated in the north 
 end of the city, surrounded by four and one-half acres of ground, and on this 
 Mr. Jennings has planted a number of fruit trees of excellent variety, and that 
 same year he built a good, cozy house here. Besides this valuable property, 
 he is the owner of a very desirable farm of one hundred and sixty acres in 
 Wells county, Colorado.
 
 600 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Jennins^s was married in \H()H lo Araniinta Runil)aui^h. which union 
 proved a faihu^e and continued less than a }ear. In 1876 he was again mar- 
 ried, his second wife heing Mary Eleanor Miller, whose death occurred in 
 1896; this union was without issue, but they adopted a son when he was three 
 davs old, he ha\ing proved to be a good boy and a great comfort to his foster 
 parents. Two years after the death of his second wife Mr. Jennings was 
 united in marriage with Airs. Alma Sager Kintz, who was born in Jasper 
 county. Iowa, the daughter of Simon and Eliza Sager. By her former mar- 
 riage, she became the mother of one child. William Kintz. who is now li\ing 
 in Xewton ; he is a moulder and carpenter. The two boys just referred to grew 
 up together. The ado|)ted son was named Charles Ernest Jennings. He is 
 now in Colorado. 
 
 The subject is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, Garret 
 Post Xo. 16. He has always been a Republican. 
 
 AVARREN McVAY 
 
 The gentleman to whom attention is directed in this review is an in- 
 di\'idual who has attained pronounced prestige by reason of native and ac- 
 quired ability, and also because of his high standing in the domain of private 
 citizenship. Warren McVay, of Newton, Jasper county, is one of the repre- 
 sentative men of this vicinity and for several decades past has been promi- 
 nently identified with the industrial and business interests of the locality of 
 which this history treats. He takes a deep and abiding interest in everything 
 pertaining to the material advancement of the town and county and every 
 enterprise intended to promote the ad\-ancement of the same is sure to recei\'e 
 his hearty support. He is rated as one of the progressive citizens of the 
 county in which he has lived for a period of more than thirty years and the 
 high respect in which he is held by all classes of people is a deserving compli- 
 ment to an intelligent, broad-minded and most worth}- man. 
 
 yir. McVay was born on February 15, 1862, in Schuyler county, Illinois, 
 near the town of Rushville, the son of Alvin and Phoebe (Sparks) McVay, 
 the father having been born in Ohio, the son of Isaac McVay. The familv is 
 of Scotch-Irish extraction. Alvin McVay was a cooper by trade. He spent 
 most of his life in Illinois, one year in Iowa and for a time resided in Denver, 
 Colorado, later returning to Illinois, and, after a successful and useful life he 
 died in 1894 at the age of sixty-five years His wife was born in Indiana and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 60I 
 
 her death occurred in Denver in October. 1909, at the age of seventy-four 
 years, having made her home in that city after the death of her husband. 
 Warren Mc\'ay was the third child in a family of ten children, the others 
 being named as follows: Alary j., wife of Milton McVay. a distant relative, 
 lives at Camp Point. Illinois; Rosa, wife of John Hasley. lives in Xcwton ; 
 Bert died in Silk, Colorado ; Myron died in Xewton ; Xancy. the eldest child, 
 and Calvin. John and Laura, all died in infancy. 
 
 ^\'arren McVay attended school in Adams county, Illinois, and on Octo- 
 ber 7. 1880. he arrived in Xewton. h^wa. and he attended one term of school 
 in Adamson's Grove, after coming to Jasper county. In order to get a start in 
 the new country he worked by the month on different farms for five years, 
 then went to Den\er. Colorado, and he farmed in that state for six rears ; but 
 not taking any too kindly to rancliing in the Centennial state, he returned to 
 Iowa in 1891. locating in Jasper county, living for a time at Kellogg. 
 
 In 1893 he was united in marriage with May Belle Peters, who was born 
 in Fayette county, Iowa, the daughter of John and Elizabeth (Landers) Peters. 
 Her mother was a native of Pennsyhania and the father of Ohio. He de- 
 voted his life to farming. He was only nine years of age when he accom- 
 panied his parents to Iowa and here he grew up with the country, the state 
 being new when he arrived. John Peters was a soldier in the L'nion army 
 during the Civil war, having enlisted early in the struggle in Company F. 
 X^inth Iowa \"olunteer Infantry, in which he served very gallantly until the 
 close of the war, receiving an honorable discharge. He saw some hard ser- 
 \ice in many campaigns and battles, in one of which he received a wound, but 
 not of serious consequence. Although he was compelled to undergo many 
 hardships of camp, skirmish and march, he never regretted his service to his 
 country. He is still living, making his home in Marshalltown, being now 
 sixty-eight vears of age. Mrs. Peters passed away in 1900. 
 
 Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. John Peters, namely : May 
 Belle, wife of Mr. McVay; Ida. wife of T. E. Roseman, who is in the mail 
 service at Kellogg, this county; Etta, wife of Horace Morgan, lives at Mar- 
 shalltown : Anna, wife of Albert Haines, also lives at Marshalltown : Xellie. 
 who married Harvev Gilbert, lives at Grinnell. Iowa; Wilder makes his home 
 in Wisconsin; Willis is a citizen of Marshalltown; Martha died in infancy. 
 
 After his marriage Air. Mc\^ay farmed for himself and as a general 
 farmer and stock raiser met with encouraging success all along the line. In 
 1910 he moved to Xewton and started a dairy business, which has grown int(i 
 extensive proportions, and his patrons still constantly increase. He is well 
 prepared for this work and understands every detail of the same. He hn^^
 
 602 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 every modern appliance and equipment to carry on an up-to-date, sanitary and 
 successful dairy. His honesty has been so pronounced that all who have had 
 dealings with him have confidence in his integrity. He has been very suc- 
 cessful in his life work, and besides his dairy, owns a substantial and pleasant 
 home on Greencastle avenue, Xewton. 
 
 Three children have been born to Mr. and ]\Irs. McVay, namely: Alma 
 and Glen are both attending school in Xewton ; Leola, the youngest, died in 
 infancy. 
 
 Politically, ]\Ir. McVay is a Republican, and while he is loyal to his party 
 and a booster for Newton and vicinity, he is in no sense a politician, preferring 
 to give his attention exclusively to his individual affairs. He is a member of 
 the Modern \\'oodmen and of the Christian church at Kellogg. He and his 
 wife have made a host of friends since coming to Newton. 
 
 CHARLES H. BRIDGES. 
 
 Among the native-born residents of Jasper county who have reached a 
 well merited success must certainly be included the name of Charles H. 
 Bridges, well known young business man of Newton He represents one of 
 the county's old and influential families, and honesty and fair dealing having 
 been his watchwords, these twin virtues having ever been personified in his 
 active life. He has kept unsullied the fair name of his forbears and is in 
 every way deserving of the high respect which is accorded him by all his 
 acquaintances. 
 
 ^Ir. Bridges was born in Newton township, this county, April i6, 1877. 
 He is the son of Absolom Green Bridges, commonly known as "Green'' 
 Bridges. He was born in Indiana and he married Sarah A. Reynolds, a 
 native of Kentucky, who came to Iowa when twelve years of age, her parents 
 having gome direct to Jasper county from Kentucky in 1853. Green Bridges 
 was also young when he came to this county, his advent here being in 1845 
 or 1846. He came with his mother and first wife, who died a few years after 
 locating here. Here the parents of Charles H. Bridges, of this review, met 
 and married. They devoted their lives to farming, their parents also having 
 been farmers on both sides of the house. By thrift and untiring industry 
 Green Bridges became one of the leading farmers of the county, at one time 
 owning five hundred and forty acres of valuable land, all in Newton town- 
 ship. Later, through his too generous nature and his kindness of heart and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 603 
 
 faith in his fellow men, he lost a considerable portion of this property. He 
 was ever willing to heed the story of another's misfortunes and always willing 
 to help. He frequently gave assistance that was not properly appreciated, and 
 lost by so doing. He was a sturdy, true, likable character and few men in the 
 country were better liked. A man of strong convictions, he was deeply in- 
 terested in educational and church work, serving the church and his town- 
 ship in many capacities. For years he was superintendent of the Sunday 
 school and was always working to ameliorate local conditions, to make his 
 fellow men better. Once he left the farm and came to Newton, where he con- 
 ducted a general store for three years, but returned to the farm when he sold 
 the store, dying soon afterwards at the age of sixty years. In politics he was a 
 Republican and was active in party affairs, in fact, he was a local leader in his 
 party and served it in many ways. 
 
 By his first marriage Green Bridges became the father of three children, 
 but one of whom, Emoline, wife of Joseph Reynolds, of Des Moines, is living. 
 Twelve children were born of his second union, five of whom are now living, 
 namely: Freddy and Etta died when children; Oliver Perry died in Xewton 
 when twenty-six years of age ; Hayden died on the home farm when twenty- 
 five years of age; Absolom G. died there when twenty- four years old; Carrie 
 May died at home when seventeen years old; Rilla Maud died at the age of 
 fifteen. Those living are: Rebecca, wife of John W. Foreman, lives in Xew- 
 ton; Jennie is the wife of \Y. E. Smith, of Newburg, Iowa; Joseph M. lives 
 in Plankinton, South Dakota; Charles H., of this review; Frank G., the 
 youngest, lives with his mother in Newton. All the children by the second 
 marriage were born in Newton tow-nship and all but two in the same house. 
 
 After the death of the father Charles H. Bridges was left to care for the 
 home farm, and he managed the same very successfully for a period of five 
 years, although a mere youth. He left the same when eighteen years old and 
 came to Newton and engaged in the livery business. After about three years 
 he added a transfer business, which combination was continued for eight years, 
 at the end of which time, the transfer business becoming so large, he disposed 
 of the livery business, and now devotes his attention exclusively to his transfer 
 work, his patronage ever increasing. He handles all kinds of baggage and 
 freight, moves household goods and pianos, and he is well equipped for prompt 
 and first class service in every respect. He has only reliable and competent 
 assistance and he has made a great success in this line l)y his courteous and 
 fair dealing with the public. During the past four years, howe\er, he has l)een 
 agent at Newton for the American Express Company.
 
 604 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 On October 3. 1906, Mr. Bridges was iinitetl in marriage with Pauline 
 Xugteren, daughter of Peter Nugteren, a native of Holland. Both parents 
 are living near Prairie City. Mrs. Bridges was born near Pella, Iowa. She 
 is a member of the Presbyterian church at Xewton. Mr. Bridges and wife 
 have one child, Earl LeRoy, who was born December 1 1. 1909. 
 
 Politically. Mr. Bridges is a Republican and fraternally he belongs to the 
 Delta Lodge No. 53. Knights of Pythias, of Newton, being at i)resent second 
 lieutenant in the Uniform Rank. He was for four years a member of the 
 Newton volunteer fire department. 
 
 A. W. HALL. 
 
 Of the able and enterprising business men of Colfax, none stands higher 
 in the esteem of his contemporaries, or has shown more of business sagacity 
 and capability in the management of affairs than has A. \\\ Hall, the record 
 of whose success is briefly told below. 
 
 A. W. Hall was born at Junction, Louisa county, Iowa, on November 22, 
 1854, the son of James G. and Celeste A. (Miller) Hall. James G. Hall came 
 to Louisa county, Iowa, in 1832, and the next year brought his wife and fam- 
 ily from Crawfordsville, Indiana, and spent the remainder of his life on a 
 Louisa county farm. His son, A. W., spent his boyhood in the usual pursuits 
 of farm life, and in 1883 came to Colfax, where he has since resided. For 
 nearly twenty years, until 1902, he was engaged in a general store which did a 
 thriving business, his partner being his brother, W. F. Hall, and the firm being 
 known as Hall Brothers. Here Mr. Hall gained that business experience 
 which has stood him in such good account in his later ventures. In 1901 he 
 became, at the organization of the Fry Bottling Works, a partner in the com- 
 pany, is now the secretary and treasurer, and has since that time devoted his 
 whole time to the company's affairs. This company deals in the celebrated 
 Colfax mineral waters, which it bottles and .ships all over the United States, 
 their product bearing the brand "Fry's Pure Colfax Water," which is a guar- 
 antee of its purity and relialjility. The sales of the company are each year 
 steadily growing, and much credit is due to the enterprise of Mr. Hall and his 
 associates, who have founded and built up this new business in Colfax. Mr. 
 Hall's attention, directed to his share of the management of the plant and 
 affairs, has contributed a large part to the success of the venture, for he is a 
 thonmgh and competent man of affairs, with a brain wln'cli can not onlv con-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 605 
 
 ceive ideas, but which can execute the ideas conceived and carry them out to 
 fruition. 
 
 Mr. Hall married Ella Young, a native of Washington, hjwa. To this 
 marriage five children have been born: Fred; J. X.. a graduate of Grinnell 
 College, now of Boston, ^^lassachusetts ; Harvey \\'.. of (irinnell College; 
 Dorothy Elizabeth and Marjory Celestia. now in school. Mr. Hall is much 
 devoted to his wife and children, and has given to the latter the best advantages 
 which could be afforded. 
 
 HEXRY S. EFXOR. 
 
 The veterans of the great Union army that saved the nation from dis- 
 ruption during its darkest period should be justly proud of what they have 
 done for succeeding generations, having left an inheritance of which we 
 should be very grateful ; indeed we owe them a debt of gratitude that we can 
 never pay. Xow that the "sunset of life" is upon them and the "grand army 
 of the republic" is continuously marching across the "great divide" to join 
 "the phantom army in the silent land." let us of the aftermath accord them 
 every courtesy and honor, and prove our gratitude for what they have achieved 
 while we have the opportunity. One of this worthy number is Henry S. 
 Efnor. long a well known business man and public official of Jasper county, 
 now living in retirement in his cozy home in Xewton. surrounded by every 
 comfort of life as a result of his former years of industry and right living. 
 
 Mr. Efnor was lx)rn May 4, 1839, in Saratoga county, Xew York. He is 
 the son of Samuel S. and Perlexy (Xims) Efnor. both natives of the state of 
 XTew York, where thev grew to maturity, were educated and married. The 
 paternal grandfather came from Germany with two brothers, locating in the 
 United States during the Revolutionary war. and they fought in the fam<jus 
 battle of Saratoga, one brother being killed there ; subse(|uently another went 
 west and the third. John, settled in Xew York, and from him sprang the 
 subject's family. In his early life, Samuel S. Efnor. father of Henry S.. of 
 this review, was a lumberman. He came west and located in Jasper county. 
 Iowa, in 1853. securing eighty acres of raw land in Elk Creek township; this 
 he improved and here lived until his death, in 1868. at the age of fifty-eight 
 years. His wife, who was a "down East Yankee." died in 1871, being also 
 fifty-eight years old. The father was a man of splendid Christian character, 
 of strict morality and integrity, having none of the so-called bad habits, never 
 having used liquor. He was active in church, educational and political work.
 
 6o6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Henrv S. Efnor was the only son in a family of seven children, five of 
 whom are now living", namely: Electa, widow of Francis Butin, lives in 
 Galesburg. Iowa ; Fannie married H. M. Talbot and lives in Fargo, Xorth 
 Dakota; Ella married John ]\Iinor and lives in Harlan. Iowa. 
 
 Henrv S. Efnor was reared on the home farm and secured what educa- 
 tion he could in the old-time schools. Up to i860 he worked out as a farm 
 hand and in the coal mines. He then began contracting for coal delivery in 
 Fulton county, Illinois. On April 5, i860, he was united in marriage with 
 Esther M. Henrv, of Pennsylvania, and this union resulted in the birth of 
 seven children, of whom two are deceased; Edwin resides in Newton; Robert 
 lives in Webster, South Dakota ; George is farming in Buena Vista township, 
 this countv ; Frank is farming in Fairview township ; Ella married Ulysses 
 Brown and they live in W'ayland, Iowa ; Henrietta died when eight years of age 
 and Fannie when a baby. 
 
 In the winter of i860 Mr. Efnor came to Jasper county, Iowa, and began 
 farming. He could not be content to remain at the plow when his country was 
 in arms, consequently in August, 1862, he left his young wife and child and 
 enlisted in Companv K, Twenty-eighth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, under Capt. 
 John Meyer. After short stops at Iowa City and Davenport, the regiment was 
 sent to Helena, Arkansas, thence to Oakland, Mississippi, then was sent on 
 the White river expedition to Duval's Bluff, Arkansas, and later took part in 
 the famous siege of Vicksburg. Mr. Efnor took part in the bitter engage- 
 ments of Grand Gulf, Port Gibson, Edward's Station, Baker's Creek and 
 Champion Hills, having been desperately wounded in the last named engage- 
 ment, having been shot through the right thigh and, being unable to walk, he 
 was captured, and he was permitted to lie upon the ground with no covering of 
 any kind for two weeks. The wounded prisoners were placed in lines of 
 twenty-five each, and received little or no attention whatever. Their food con- 
 sisted of but a half pint of thin soup to each man per day. Mr. Efnor's wound 
 was not dressed for three days after the battle ; in that time it was in a very 
 bad condition, and then it was merely washed. In the group of twenty-five 
 wounded Federal soldiers in which he was in, all died but Mr. Efnor. Two 
 weeks later the subject was fortunate enough to be exchanged and was placed 
 on a boat bound for Memphis. His leg and right side were swollen to twice 
 their normal size and were a mass of vermine and clotted blood. After re- 
 maining in a Union hospital three weeks, he was taken, along with some In- 
 diana soldiers, to Indianapolis. Later Governor Morton sent him to St. Louis 
 and from there he was sent home on a thirty days' furlough. He was using a 
 crutch and cane when he returned to his regiment at Opaloosa, Louisiana,
 
 JASPER COUXTY, IOWA. 607 
 
 reaching there just as it was going into battle. Later he participated in the 
 Red River expedition and fought at the battle of Sabine Cross-Roads. He was 
 then transferred to the Eastern army, with which he marched over a large 
 portion of the South. He w^as at the battles of Winchester, Fisher's Hill and 
 Cedar Creek, and he saw Sheridan make his famous ride. All told, Mr. 
 Efnor was in fourteen general engagements, besides numerous skirmishes, in 
 all of which he acquitted himself most creditably, according to his comrades 
 After being honoraljly discharged at Davenport, Iowa, he returned home and 
 resumed farming, which he continued until 1887, when he began contracting 
 county bridges. This he continued with a large measure of success for four- 
 teen years, building bridges all over the county. Beginning in 1882. he served 
 a term of three years as county supervisor. In 1890 he retired and moved to 
 Newton. He owns considerable farm and city property, all well improved and 
 desirably located. 
 
 \[t. Efnor's first wife died about 1906 and he subsequentlv married Anna 
 Swank, of Jasper county, which union has been without issue. 
 
 Fraternally, Mr. Efnor is a member of the Masons and Knights of 
 Pythias. He is a member of Garrett Post Xo. 16, Grand Army of the Re- 
 public, of which he is past commander. He and his wife belong to the Con- 
 gregational church, of which he w^as formerly a trustee and is now a deacon. 
 
 A. C. AUTEX 
 
 Alex. C. Auten was born in Knox county, Ohio, July 20, 1839. and came 
 of that stock which meant so much to the early history of this country. He is 
 the second child in a family of eleven born to J. C. and Rebecca (Colley) 
 Auten, both natives of Pennsylvania, of whom there are only seven now sur- 
 viving besides the subject, namely: Mary E., who was the wife and is now the 
 widow of Madison Boatright, living in Buena \'ista township, Jasper county, 
 Iowa ; Jacob Wesley ; William Allen ; James Finley ; and Alice, who married 
 Wheeler Cole, all living in Ohio; and Almira, wife of George Hall, living in 
 Pennsylvania. Those of the family who have departed this life are: Henry 
 Clinton, who died some years ago; Louisa died at the age of six; John died in 
 infancy; and Emma, who married Stucker Robbins, died in 1875. Both 
 father and mother died in Ohio, to which state they had removed soon after 
 the birth of their eldest child, Henry Clinton, in the year 1837. 
 
 Alex. C. Auten and his sister, Mary E. Boatright, were the only members 
 of the familv that ever came to the West, and on January 16. 1862. Mr. Auten
 
 6o8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 was united in marriage to Lois D. L'oot, in Ohio, who was born in Knox 
 county, that state, being the daughter of Aninijah and EHzabeth (DilHston) 
 Foot. She was one of fourteen children. One of her brothers, Wilbur Foot, 
 enlisted in an Ohio company and served in the Civil war during the struggle 
 between the North and South. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Auten were born two children. The elder, Frank ]\Ic- 
 Clellan. was born in October. -1865, while the faniilv li\ed in Ohio; and Jay 
 C. was born September i, 1872, in Buena Vista township, Jasper county, Iowa, 
 but died at the age of sixteen years. In the spring of 1866 the family moved 
 to Jasper county, Iowa, and for three years after coming west Mr. Auten 
 rented land, after which period he purchased forty acres in Hixon Grove, 
 Buena \'ista township. Later he sold this land and in 1895 he and his son, 
 Frank, jnirchased one hundred and sixty acres in section i, in Buena Vista 
 township, which they still hold. The son Frank lives near the home place, 
 with his interesting family of four children. The wife and mother, Susie 
 May (Morris) Auten, was called from this life on June 2, 1910, leaving to 
 mourn her loss, besides her husband, a little daughter, Annie Lois, aged eight 
 years ; two sons. Jay Morris, seven years old : Charles Winsor, four years old ; 
 and a baby daughter, Margaret, aged only two years. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Auten are well beloved and esteemed by all who know 
 them, and are of the finest and best citizens of Jasper county. Both are faith- 
 ful and consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
 
 XOBLE I. FUGARD. 
 
 A citizen of Xewton who has earned well merited success is Noble J. 
 P'ugard, for his life has been led along conservative, industrious and hon- 
 orable lines and he has ever sought to do his full duty as a citizen. He is of 
 German descent and a native of the old Buckeye state, his birth having occurred 
 in Mercer county, Ohio, April 6, 1862, and he is the son of John M. and Clara 
 (Tindall) Border, he having been adopted into the Fugard family. His 
 parents were married at Deerfield, Mercer county, Ohio, and his father was a 
 soldier in the Civil war, a member of a ^•olunteer regiment from that state, 
 in which he served througiiout the struggle. Returning to Ohio after the 
 war, he soon afterwards drove through from that state to Jasper county, 
 Iowa, bringing his family in an old-fashioned covered wagon, the trip requir- 
 ing seven weeks, the country through which they passed being wild and the 
 roads very njugh. The hardships of the trip were added to by almost con-
 
 D 
 
 m 
 
 z 
 n 
 m 
 
 O 
 
 z 
 
 o 
 
 r 
 
 c 
 o 
 >
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 609 
 
 tinuous rains, all of which greatly discouraged them: but the mother, a cour- 
 ageous little woman, refused to be daunted and her admirable display of forti- 
 tude kept up the courage of the others, frequently singing the old hymn, "We 
 Will Stand the Storm, It Will Not Be Long." The family settled on a farm 
 in Clear Creek township, this county, and besides farming, the father, who 
 was an engineer, had charge of a stationary engine in that neighborhood, 
 working in this capacity for a Mr. Richards. But a short time after reaching 
 here disaster visited the home and the happy family circle was broken up by 
 the sad death of the mother, who was burned to death. The father then left 
 this part of the country, leaving his child. Noble J., of this review, to the 
 care of neighbors. He was taken into the home of John F. Fugard when six 
 years of age and remained with that family until after he became of age and 
 he took their name. Having never been legally adopted by them, when he 
 reached his majority, he secured an order from the court changing his name 
 from Border to Fugard and he has since been known to ever)'body by the 
 latter name. After the death of the mother of the subject, the father married 
 again a Mrs. Young, and had a daughter, Mary Border, half-sister of the 
 subject. She lives in Des ]Moines, and is now Mrs. Frank Ferris. His second 
 wife is deceased, but Mr. Border is living in Des ^loines. There was but 
 one other child born to the parents of the subject, a daughter, who died in 
 infancy. 
 
 yir. Fugard knows but little of his mother's people. She was the daugh- 
 ter of Jacob Tindall, the latter a brother of George Tindall. a soldier in the 
 Revolutionary war. The family owned considerable land where the city of 
 Trenton, New Jersey, now stands. 
 
 On June 6, 1886, Noble J. Fugard was united in marriage with Lou 
 Mason, whose death occurred on September 12, 1888. On August 17, 1903, 
 he was married to ]\Irs. Jennie Edwards, widow of Charles Edwards, and the 
 daughter of John W. and Rebecca (Nichols) Bicknell. Her father was a 
 native of North Carolina and was the son of Pleasant and Miary (Campbell) 
 Bicknell. Her mother was the daughter of John and Mar>- Nichols and was 
 born October 15, 1831, and died April 2^, 1863. Her people were among the 
 earliest settlers in Jasper county and a full mention of them will l)e found in 
 the sketch of Hannah Nichols, appearing elsewhere in this work. 
 
 To John and Rebecca Bicknell five children were lx>rn. namely : Wilford 
 S., Weslev C, William H., Elias M. and Mar\- Jane, the wife of Noble 
 Fugard, of this review. She was born June 2=,, 1859. After her mother's 
 death her father married Valinda Blackwood, and to this union two children 
 were born, Frank, and Lester W., who died in 191 1. 
 
 (39)
 
 6lO JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mrs. Fugard's father, John Bicknell, was a well known man in this local- 
 ity. He was a successful farmer, carpenter and also owned a livery barn in 
 Xewton for a number of years. His death occurred very suddenly on Sep- 
 tember 27, 1895, in Buena Vista township. 
 
 Mary Jane Bicknell was married to Charles Edwards, May 22, 1882, 
 and to this union was born one child, Etta May Edwards, now the wife of 
 Guy A. Hammer, son of Nathan Hammer; they have three children, Lois, 
 Bessie and Lawrence. 
 
 Not having any children of their own, Mr. and Mrs. Fugard took a little 
 girl from the orphans' home in September, 1907, when she was six weeks' 
 old. They have adopted her and named her Daisy; she is much beloved by 
 them and is the sunshine of their home. 
 
 yiv. Fugard at one time owned what is known as the old Nichols place 
 in Buena Vista township, but sold it a few years ago and moved to Newton, 
 where he purchased a cozy home, known as the Springer property. This at- 
 tractive and pleasant home is surrounded by two acres of valuable land. 
 
 Mr. Fugard is independent in politics, but is in sympathy with the Pro- 
 hibitionists. He is a member of the Baptist church, as is also his wife. They 
 enjoy the friendship of a wide acquaintance and their home is known as a 
 hospitable one. 
 
 JAMES K. TURNER. 
 
 For various reasons James K. Turner, of Newton, Jasper county, is 
 deemed eligible for specific mention in this volume, not the least of which is 
 the fact that he was one of the brave "boys in blue" who offered his services 
 in defense of his country during the dark days of the early sixties. His life 
 has been one of honest endeavor and certainly not de^•oid of good to his 
 fellow men. as many of them will freely attest. He has always been a hard 
 worker and has never permitted obstacles to turn him from his course when 
 once he knew that he was right. He was born in July, 1845, ^^ Henry county, 
 Indiana, the son of James and Priscilla (Ferrow) Turner, the father born in 
 Guilford county. North Carolina, and the mother in Virginia, the latter's 
 people at one time being ver}^ prominent in their locality and owning a large 
 plantation along the Blue river. Her father was a slave holder, owning about 
 one hundred slaves, and at his death these and his estate fell to the subject's 
 mother and her brother, John C. Ferrow, later a general in the Confederate 
 army. After Priscilla Ferrow married Mr. Turner, most of the slaves were
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 6l I 
 
 set free, largely in view of the fact that James Turner, father of the subject, 
 was a Quaker minister and opposed to holding slaves. In an early day the 
 Turners moved to Indiana, but did not remain there long, having returned to 
 High Point, Guilford county. North Carolina. In 1856 he again took his 
 family to Indiana and lived there until his death, which occurred a few years 
 later at the age of sixty-eight; the death of the mother of the subject oc- 
 curred there two years after the family located there, at the age of fifty-eight 
 years. 
 
 James Turner followed farming, and also engaged in the distillery busi- 
 ness for some time, which in those days was universally regarded as a respect- 
 able vocation. His family consisted of ten children, of whom James K., of 
 this review, was the youngest; four of the sons were soldiers in the Civil war, 
 John, the eldest, having been with Morgan ; he died at Eddy ville, Iowa. The 
 other children were named as follows : Elizabeth, who married a Mr. Smuck, 
 is now deceased; Jane married Mace Beetle and lives in Jay county. Indiana; 
 Mary A. is the wife of Philip Oxley; George lives in Gas City, Indiana; he 
 w^as a soldier in Company C, Eighty-ninth Indiana Volunteer Infantry; Lewis, 
 who was a soldier in the Thirty- fourth Indiana \'olunteer Infantry, is now 
 living in Texas ; Priscilla, who married Thomas Tadlock, also lives in Texas ; 
 Nancy, who married Thomas Mann, lives in Michigan; Malinda died in In- 
 diana. 
 
 James K. Turner, of this sketch, attended school for a time at Buck 
 Creek, Indiana, also at Fairmont. When less than seventeen years of age he 
 enlisted in the Union army, in April, 1862, and served until the close of the 
 war with honor and distinction, seeing much hard service, having taken part 
 in over thirty of the most sanginuaiy battles of the war, besides a number of 
 smaller engagements. He was shot through the body at Jackson, Mississippi, 
 February 6, 1864, and was there taken prisoner, and it was some time before 
 he recovered. As a private in Company C, Eighty-ninth Indiana Volunteer 
 Infantry, he fought in the following engagements, among others : Green River 
 bridge, where he heard his first cannon, although he had been in previous en- 
 gagements; ^lurfreesboro, Lafayette, Guntown, Tupalo. Coldwater. The two 
 months that he was in prison he subsisted, mostly, on pea bread and water and 
 during that time his wound was dressed only once ; however, in the house 
 where he was confined, which was guarded by the Confederates, was a bright 
 young girl, who, feeling sorry for the wounded Northern lad, sometimes se- 
 cretly gave him substantial foocf and brought him water. After he was ex- 
 changed he was sent home. As soon as he was able to be upon his feet again he 
 reported for duty at Indianapolis, but was told that he was unable to return to
 
 6l2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 the front and was ordered to the hospital, Ijiit he begged so hard to be per- 
 mitted to rejoin his regiment that they allowed him to do so, and he was sent 
 to ^lemphis, later going with Gen. A. J. Smith's command on the Red River 
 expedition. Later in the war Air. Turner took part in the battles of Sabine 
 Cross Roads, Yellow Build, Fort Duruso, and in the hand-to-hand engage- 
 ment at Pleasant Hill, in which one big fellow came near choking him to 
 death, but a comrade saved his life by knocking his assailant in the head. They 
 followed General Price from De Soto to Lexington and to Santa Fe, Kansas, 
 and had several small engagements; then fought at Blue River, Sedalia, Lone 
 Jack, and was in the two-days battle of Xashville, then went to Xew Orleans, 
 and he witnessed the bombardment of Fort Pike, Fort Morgan and Fort 
 Gains. He was on the sand battery and battery U. G. in the charge on the 
 pontoons. He participated in the siege of Fort Blakely throughout. Later he 
 was with Sherman in his march to Meridian, Mississippi, and Avas wounded 
 at Queen's Hill. He was mustered out at Mobile. Alabama, and received an 
 honorable discharge at Indianapolis, Indiana, in August, 1865. 
 
 After returning from the war, Mr. Turner bought and sold cattle for 
 a while, then went to Illinois and worked at the carpenter's trade and house 
 moving. He came to Iowa in 1870, locating first at Oskaloosa, but later 
 moved to Xew Sharon and there he w-as married to Ellen Shadley, who was 
 born in Greene county, Ohio, the daughter of William and Malinda (Pendu- 
 lum) Shadley; the father, a farmer, was born in Virginia and the mother in 
 Ohio. They were the parents of ten children, those living besides Mrs. Turner 
 being: William, of Xewton, Iowa; Mrs. James Mitcheltree, of Xew Sharon; 
 Mrs. Hester Hilderbran, of near Xew Sharon; Mrs. Abbie Stanford, of 
 Montezuma. The Shadley family came to Iowa before the war. 
 
 Six children have been born to Mr. and ]\Irs. Turner, namely : ]\Iinnie, 
 who married Edward Lynn, lives in Des Moines, and they have seven children ; 
 Wesley, who lives in Xewton, is married and has two children ; Clyde also lives 
 in Xewton ; Elizabeth, wife of Charles Pugh, lives in Des Moines and has three 
 children ; Allison is at home ; Elsie, who married Bonner Benedict, died leaving 
 four children. 
 
 After living in Xew Sharon three years. Mr. Turner moved to Marshall 
 county, but later went back to Xew Sharon. Five years ago he came to X'ew- 
 ton, Jasper county, and here he and his sons are successfullv engaged in the 
 house moving business, having built up a large patronage. 
 
 Mr. Turner is a Republican and a member of Lighton Post, Grand Army 
 of the Republic. Mrs. Turner is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 613 
 
 DAVID FIXCH. 
 
 David Finch, an honored citizen of Xewton for over fifty years, one of 
 the worthy pioneers of this new country whose interests he e\er'had at heart 
 and sought to promulgate in any way possible, was born in Vates county, 
 New York, January 19, 1827. His childhood and vouth were spent in Ohio, 
 in which state, on May 28, 1854, he was united in marriage with Jemima 
 Dean, and soon afterward they emigrated to Iowa, settling in Xewton, Jasper 
 county, which, with the exception of a few years spent in Xebraska, had been 
 his home through all the years until his death, in 1908. 
 
 In February, 1877, his wife was called to her rest, leaving beside her 
 husband, three sons, Madison, now residing at W'ray, Colorado, and Edgar 
 and Ernest, residents of Xewton, Iowa. An only daughter, Florence, had 
 died in early childhood. 
 
 In X^ovember, 1879, Air. Finch was united in marriage with Mary Kime. 
 who, with their one son. Earl Finch, of Los Angeles. California, survives him. 
 Surviving him are also four sisters, all that are now left of a familv of eleven 
 children. ]\lr. Fincli was a man of industry and very successful in a material 
 way, 
 
 Mrs. David Finch was the daughter of George W. and Julia Kime, verv 
 old settlers of Jasper county and well known here to a past generation, both 
 being now deceased. The mother was born in Ulster county, Xew York. 
 May 16, 181 6; she moved to Ohio in 1837 and two years later was married to 
 George W. Kime and they moved to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1852. Then, 
 ten years afterwards, they moved to a place three miles south of West Union, 
 Nebraska, where they remained until Mrs. Kime's death, December 5. 1890. 
 Her remains were brought to X^^ewton, Iowa, and interred in the cemetery 
 here. George W. Kiijie, who spent the latter years of his life in retirement, 
 died at the home of his son, Jarvis Kime, near Dunning, X'ebraska, on 
 December 22, 1898; his remains were interred beside his wife in the cemetery 
 at Xewton, Iowa. He was eighty-one and a half years of age. having been 
 born in A'irginia on July 6, 18 17. He lived in his native state until seven years 
 of age when he removed with his parents to Seneca county, Ohio, where he 
 grew to manhood and was there married to Julia A Springer on Xovember 
 ID, 1839, and their union resulted in the birth of three children, nainely : 
 Margaret E., who died in her seventeenth year; Jarvis M.. who lives in 
 Nebraska; and Mary, widow of David Finch of this sketch. 
 
 In 1 8 S3 George W. Kime moved with his family by wagon to Iowa 
 countv. Iowa, and there lived amid the primitive conditions prevailing all over
 
 6l4 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 the state at that period until 1857, in which year he moved to Newton, Jasper 
 county, and here made his home until 1879, when he moved his family to 
 Custer county. Nebraska, where the remainder of his life was spent on a farm. 
 David Finch had been a faithful member of the Congregational church 
 for many years, in fact, was one of its pillars of strength. He was also a 
 worthy Mason, a Knight Templar, one of the last duties of his life being in 
 attendance at the funeral of a brother Knight, from which he was 
 returning home on April 24, 1908, when he was stricken with paralysis which 
 resulted in his passing away a few days later at the age of eighty-one years, 
 three months and twelve days, his death being marked w ith rare fortitude and 
 sublimitv of faith. 
 
 DANIEL W. WHITCOMB. 
 
 The world owes much to the plain, plodding worker who, uncomplain- 
 ingly, does his whole duty as he sees it ; but beyond his labors there is a sphere 
 of activity w-herein the workers are few and the products produced are most 
 rare — that of genius. Through the medium of this subtle, sublime, elusive 
 thing, possessed of certain favored ones, all the great treasures of art, litera- 
 ture, music and science have been given to the world. Those who know him 
 best do not hesitate to pronounce Daniel W. Whitcomb, one of Jasper county's 
 best known citizens, as a genius of high order, although it is doubtful if many 
 who know him appreciate this fact to the fullest extent. In his little studio 
 in Newton he is producing photographic art studies which are more than mere 
 every-day likenesses as turned out in a never-ceasing stream from most pho- 
 tograph galleries; they are works of art, while his samples of burnt wood 
 etching, his painting in oil, pastel, water color, crayon and other mediums are 
 of the finest. 
 
 Mr. Whitcomb was lx)rn in this county on February 22, 1858, and he is 
 the son of W. A. and Anna (Childs) Whitcomb, both natives of New York 
 state. The father was a skilled mechanic and his services were always in great 
 demand; he even made violins which were marvels of perfection. Back in his 
 native state he was a miller, and later engaged in the mercantile business. He 
 was a comparatively young man when he came to Indiana and settled near 
 Vincennes, where he continued the mercantile business until 1856. when he 
 came by wagon to Jasper county, Iowa, and located in Rushville, trading his 
 stock of goods for forty acres of land, to which he later added forty acres 
 more, and he follow^ed farming the rest of his life. There his death occurred,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 6 1 
 
 D 
 
 at the age of sixty-eight years, and his wife was aged sixty-four when she 
 was summoned to the silent land. The old homestead is still in the hands of 
 the family. The father, as has already been intimated, was a man of splendid 
 natural ability in many ways. He was ardently interested in church work 
 and in the upbuilding of his locality, and he was an advocate of all that was 
 best in life, being highly honored by all who knew him. His wife was a noble 
 woman, whose innate gentleness of character shed the most loving and benign 
 influence upon her home and friends. Their family consisted of eleven chil- 
 married Joseph Braley and her death occurred in Kellogg about 1887; Am- 
 anda, who remained unmarried, died there when twenty-two years of age; 
 William A. died in Rochester, Washington, in 1899; J. T. died in Oregon 
 about 1907; those living are Lodency, wife of Dr. \V. H. Green, of North 
 Yakima, Washington; Stephen A. lives in Colorado; C. E. lives near Prairie 
 City, this county; Eva lives in Des Moines; Daniel W., of this review. 
 
 In August, 1877, Mr. Whitcomb entered as apprentice with Charles A. 
 Clifford, of Xewton, learning the old fashioned "wet-plate" process of photog- 
 raphy, and he was with him about a year, after which he went to Des ^loines, 
 where he remained two years. Then he traveled extensively, teaching the 
 ■'dry-plate" process of photography, and, following this, he again worked with 
 Clifford and others in different places. 
 
 On October 25, 1882, ~Mr. XMiitcomb was united in marriage with 
 Orlina LaBar, a native of Pennsylvania and the daughter of Jesse and Sarah 
 (Snyder) LaBar, the father a native of France and the mother of Xew York. 
 The father died when Mrs. Whitcomb was a baby, so she has no recollection 
 of him whatever. Her mother and the rest of the family came to Iowa in an 
 early day and settled in Monroe about 1867. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Whitcomb have been lx)rn four children, all living, 
 namely: Leon A., born ]\Iarch 19, 1884, in Monroe, and who has been 
 crippled from infancy, began selling the Saturday Blade when a child, the cir- 
 culation of which he soon increased from thirty-four to one hundred and 
 sixty; selling this out, he began jjcddling extracts, toilet articles and other 
 things, and by untiring industry succeeded in getting together enough money 
 to purchase an expensive and modern pop^corn and peanut wagon, which, with 
 its genial and hustling little owner installed within it, is a familiar object upon 
 the streets of Newton, and he is making a decided success of the business. 
 The other children are, Mabel, who married Thomas A. Ciire. lives in New- 
 ton ; Lloyd is at home. He has been in the employ of the One Minute Manu- 
 facturing Company for five years and is a young man of good habits and 
 splendid promise in business affairs. Crippled like his brother from boyhood,
 
 6l6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 he has not permitted seemingly untoward circumstances to thwart him in 
 his career. An operation on his limb recently made him almost normal physi- 
 cally. Florence Edna Whitcomli is with her parents, and is a recent graduate 
 of the Newton high school. 
 
 After his marriage, Mr. Whitcomb opened a gallery at ]\Ionroe and in 
 1886 he went to Kellogg, later coming to Newton, where he has lived practi- 
 cally ever since, although lie has trayeled alone and with his family in many 
 states, principally those of the Middle West. During his travels he has taught 
 painting in different mediums, as well as photography. He gave up his pro- 
 fession in the spring of 1880 and went to Cheyenne, Wyoming, where, among 
 other things, he worked on a newspaper. At another time he accepted a con- 
 tract to finish the Atlas Distillery stock barns. This contract he completed 
 and made some money in the work. He has occupied his present location 
 twelve years and has built up a large and constantly growing business, many 
 of his patrons coming from remote sections of this and adjoining counties, for 
 his reputation has traveled over a wide territory. He makes every kind of 
 picture known to the photographic art and his ^york in all branches is superb. 
 He also makes enlarged portraits in water color, crayon and pastel. His 
 gallery is one of the best equipped in the state, being fitted to make all kinds 
 of cuts, half-tones, chalk plates, zinc etchings, etc. 
 
 Mr. Whitcomb in his fraternal relations belongs to the Kellogg Lodge. 
 Knights of Pythias, the Modern Woodmen and the Yeomen, of Newton. He 
 is a man of genial and interesting personality, and his wife is admired by a 
 wide circle of acquaintances. 
 
 GEORGE W. SIMPSON. 
 
 George W. Simpson is a name known to every one who has any acquanit- 
 ance whatever with the business history of Newton and Jasper county, for he 
 has long filled an active place in the industrial affairs of this locality, and as an 
 enterprising, far-sighted and energetic man whose judgment is seldom at 
 fault. His influence has made for the substantial upbuilding of the commun- 
 ity and he has earned the good will and esteem of a wide circle of friends. 
 
 Mr. Simpson was born November 7, 1859, at Westfield, Poweshiek 
 county, Iowa, and he is the son of John and Elizal^eth (Patrick) Simpson. 
 natives of Ohio, the father of Scotch descent and the mother of Irish. The 
 eider Simpson began life as a farmer. l>ut after coming to Iowa he preached 
 as an ordained minister in the United Brethren church. While living near
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 617 
 
 Kellogg he had three charges, one of which was forty miles west of Des 
 Moines. Every two weeks he dro\e eighty miles to preach and back again 
 after the services. For this service he was paid sixty dollars a year. This 
 one instance casts a strong side light upon the inherent strength and beauty of 
 the father's character and readily reveals why he was one of the best belox'ed 
 men in the county. All his life was spent in good works. 
 
 The family came to Iowa in 1854, first settling near Dubuque and about 
 a year later came on to Westfield. For years the father conducted a tavern 
 on the old stage road between Iowa City and Des Moines, and he ran a general 
 store in connection with the same. He also bought and shipped cattle and 
 hogs extensively, often driving droves of hogs as far as Iowa City to market, 
 which place was at that time the western terminus of the Rock Island system. 
 After selling the tavern, he bought a farm three and one half miles southeast 
 of Kellogg, and there he made his home until 1873, when he retired from farm- 
 ing and he and his son W\ S. started a general store in Kellogg, which they 
 sold after conducting it until 1876, whereupon the father retired. His death 
 occurred in Kellogg in 1906, at the advanced age of eighty-six years; the 
 mother is still living in that town, being now eighty-seven years old. John 
 Simpson was a local politician of more than ordinary influence and he was for 
 years mayor of Kellogg, the last time when past eighty years, making one of 
 the best officials the town ever had. He was a loyal Republican and served 
 his township in many capacities, always in a manner that reflected much credit 
 upon himself and to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. 
 
 Eight children were born to John Simpson and wife, of whom six are 
 living, namely: Thomas J. died in California, at the age of fifty-six years; 
 Wallace W. died in Kellogg, at the age of twenty-two years; W. S. is an eye 
 and ear specialist in Des Moines; A. J. owns and operates the home place of 
 two hundred and forty acres; T. L. resides in Kellogg, owning the only hotel 
 there, and also has two farms ; Sarah E. is the wife of James Bennett and lives 
 in Kellogg; George \\ . of this review ; L. E. is a retired farmer and resides in 
 Kellogg. 
 
 George W. Simpson began railroading in 1876 as water boy on the con- 
 struction of the Rock Island. Two years later he began working with the 
 steam shovel gang in Missouri. Then in the fall of 1879 he began braking 
 on the Rock Island road, in Missouri, remaining two and one-half years. 
 From that state he went to Ogden. Utah, then the western terminus of the 
 Union Pacific road, with his headquarters at Evanston, Wyoming. After 
 about a year he was transferred to Idaho and given a train. This he con- 
 ducted but a short time, when he was placed in the yards at Pocatello, Idaho,
 
 6l8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 as yard master. All told, he worked twenty-three months for the Union 
 Pacific. He then went to San Francisco and other points on the Pacific coast, 
 then returned east, and began braking out of Trenton, ]Missouri, continuing 
 at this a year and a half, after which he ran a train several years, being a con- 
 ductor both on a freight and a passenger. He was in many wrecks and saw 
 much hard service, a great deal of it under the old-fashioned style of apparatus, 
 before the days of safety devices and modern improvements. In making an 
 old-fashioned coupling he was injured, losing a part of his hand. He was in 
 a bad wreck in January before quitting the railroad business in February. 
 At one time he worked for the W^abash railroad three months, but most of his 
 long service was with the Rock Island and Union Pacific. He became widely 
 known in railroad circles and was regarded as a faithful, honest and capable 
 employe. 
 
 Mr. Simpson was formerly a member of the Brotherhood of Railway 
 Trainmen and was its first delegate ever sent to the grand lodge at San An- 
 tonio, Texas. Later, however, he dropped it for the Order of Railway Con- 
 ductors, of which he is now a dimitted member. 
 
 After he quit railroading Mr. Simpson purchased an eighty-acre farm 
 near Kellogg, on which he spent nine years, then sold out and bought one hun- 
 dred and fifty acres in Kellogg township which he farmed three years ; selling 
 this, he purchased one hundred and forty -three acres in Newton township. 
 After living here three years he sold it for one hundred sixty-two dollars and 
 fifty cents per acre, then purchased the one-fourth city block in the heart of 
 the business district of Newton where he has a feed store and hitch yard, 
 which is doing a large business. Besides this property, he owns a splendid 
 modern residence in Newton and valuable farming interests in Dickerson 
 county. 
 
 On March 31, 1887, Mr. Simpson was united in marriage with Mattie E. 
 Stringer, of Missouri, and the daughter of James Stringer and wife, both now 
 deceased ; they were farmers and highly respected in their neighborhood in 
 ^Missouri. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Simpson five childien have been born, all of whom are 
 living, namely: Earl E., born February 26, 1888, is a mail carrier in Newton; 
 Harry V., born December 6, 1889, lives in De Soto, Iowa; Guy, born August 
 24, 1896; Ruth, born April 26, 1902; Gerald, born February 5, 1905, the last 
 three named being at home. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Simpson are members of the Methodist church, and active 
 and sincere workers therein.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 619 
 
 Mr. Simpson is at present third \ice-president of the Methodist Brother- 
 hood. He has in the past been a trustee in the church and was assistant super- 
 intendent of the Sunday school two years and teacher of the men's class one 
 years. While in the country he was superintendent of the Sunday school three 
 years. He is a member of Central Lodge No. 73, Independent Order of Odd 
 Fellows, at Newton, being its present treasurer. In January, 1903, he joined 
 as a charter member the Knights of Pythias lodge at Trenton, Missouri, later 
 transferring his membership to Lodge No. 76 at Kellogg, Iowa, in which he 
 has passed all the chairs except those of outer guard and prelate. At this 
 time he is a member of the Newton lodge, which he has represented in the 
 grand lodge several times. He was a delegate from the Kellogg lodge to the 
 grand lodge at Council Bluffs. Both he and his \vife are members of the 
 Rebekahs, and Mr. Simpson is a member of the Modern Brotherhood of 
 America, of which he is secretary. Mr. Simpson has served on the school board 
 of Buena Vista township for three years and as road supervisor for two years. 
 He also served two years as clerk of Newton township. He is regarded as one 
 of Jasper county's useful and representative men. 
 
 WILLIAM ENSIGN HILL. 
 
 As long as history endures will the American nation acknowledge its in- 
 debtedness to the heroes who, between 1861 and 1865, fought for the preser- 
 vation of the Union and the honor of that starry banner which has never been 
 trailed in the dust of defeat in a single polemic struggle in which the country 
 has been involved. Among those whose militar}^ records as valiant soldiers of 
 the war of the Rebellion reflect lasting honor upon them and their descendants 
 is William Ensign Hill, well known citizen of Jasper county, where he has long 
 maintained his home and won an honored name by virtue of his consistency to 
 truth, honesty and right living. Therefore he is eminently qualified for a place 
 in the present volume. 
 
 Mr. Hill was born in Lyons county. New York, September 15, 1843, and 
 he is the son of Joshua and Eliza (Teller) Hill. His father was a carpenter 
 and died when the subject was nine years old, consequently the latter knows 
 but little of his father. After his death,, the mother continued to reside in 
 Knox county, Illinois, whither the family had moved when the son William E. 
 was five years old. Later they moved to Henry county, Illinois, where the 
 mother remarried, her second husband being John Ladu. They subsequently 
 moved to Jasper county, Iowa, and located near Newton.
 
 620 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 William E. Hill is one of a family of eight children, of whom but four 
 are now living: two died in infancy; Aaron is conducting a hotel in St. Joseph, 
 Missouri ; Mrs. ]\Iary Smith lives in Albany, Oregon : Mrs. Richard Barnes is 
 deceased; \Mlliam E., of this sketch, is next in order of birth; Sarah Andrews, 
 who later became ]\Irs. Burris, is deceased ; Charles Hill is living retired in 
 Newton. 
 
 Upon the death of his father. William E. Hill began helping his mother 
 support the family, and he remained at home until he was twenty-one years of 
 age. On May 14, 1864, not being able to longer suppress his patriotism, he 
 enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and Thirty-eighth Illinois Volunteer In- 
 fantrv. under Capt. L. B. Hunt, and was sent to Fort Leavenworth, Kansas, 
 on garrison duty. Later he was among the troops sent down the river after 
 General Price. Returning to Fort Leavenworth he was mustered out and dis- 
 charged from the service on October 15, 1864. when his term of enlistment 
 had expired. Seven weeks before his discharge he fell ill with fever which 
 had been brought on as the result of exposure, and although he had been fairly 
 robust, he weighed but ninety-five pounds when he reached home. For three 
 months after he returned to his fireside he could not work, but when spring 
 came on he went to the fields as a farm hand. In the following autumn, he 
 and his brother Aaron, who had also been a soldier, serving three years in the 
 Federal army, purchased a threshing outfit, which they operated all over the 
 county. After selling the machine they each rented farms and began farm- 
 ing. As renter and then owner, the subject continued farming successfully 
 until fourteen years ago, when he retired and came to Newton, where he 
 owns a splendid home and valuable tow'n property, and his farm in Malaka 
 township is one of the best. 
 
 On December 8. 1867, Mr. Hill was united in marriage with Rebecca 
 Emmert, daughter of Philip Emmert, a native of Pennsylvania. To this 
 union two children were born, one of whom, Floreno Adelpha, died when 
 seven months old; Philip S., born May 11, 1869. is living on a farm in 
 Malaka township, this county. The wife and mother passed to her rest on 
 October 28, 1880, at Morristown, Illinois. Subsequently, on October 13. 
 1 88 1. Mr. Hill was united in marriage with Phebe A. Anderson, of Orion, 
 Henry county, Illinois. She was the daughter of Thomas Anderson, of 
 Pennsylvania. Her parents were farmers and are now both deceased. Mrs. 
 Hill is one of a family of three children, all daughters, two of whom are liv- 
 ing; Margaret, who married Richard O. Richardson, resides in Newton; 
 Addie Elizabeth, who married John Robbins, is deceased.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 6JI 
 
 Thomas Anderson, mentioned in the preceding paragraph, and Aaron 
 Hill, brother of the subject of this sketch, were together when thev enlisted 
 for service in the Union army at Peoria, Illinois, September 20, 1862, in the 
 One Hundred and Twelfth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and they had a rather 
 remarkable record, seeing much hard and dangerous service, and were in the 
 following engagements: Monticello, Kentucky; Blue Springs, Philadelphia, 
 Campbell's Station, Knoxville. all in Tennessee; Fort Sanders, Mossy Creek, 
 Strawberry Plains, Dandridge, Rocky Face Ridge, Resaca, Carrsville, Dallas, 
 Kenesaw Mountain, Chattahoochie river, siege of Atlanta. Decatur, Stony 
 creek, Lovejoy Station. Duck river. Spring Hill, Franklin, Xashville, Port 
 Anderson, Town creek. \\'ilmington, Kingston and Goldsborough and others, 
 making forty-one engagements. They were discharged June 20, 1865. 
 
 Although reared a Democrat. Mr. Hill is at present a supporter of the 
 Republican ticket. He has always been a public-spirited man and willing to do 
 his part in all public matters. He served seven years in succession as super- 
 visor of roads in ]Malaka township, this county. He and his wife are both 
 members of the ]\Iethodist Episcopal church of Xewton, and he belongs to 
 Garrett Post No. 16, Grand Army of the Republic, and Mrs. Hill is a member 
 of the Woman's Relief Corps and has served as junior vice-president and has 
 also been color-bearer of the post. 
 
 H. S. MORRISON. 
 
 Standing with the best citizens of his county and state and a man whose 
 sterling worth and inherent human kindness endears him to all who know him 
 is H. S. Morrison. Jasper county can boast of no better all round man; no 
 more affable, courteous gentleman than he. He was born in Orange county, 
 New York, November 2^, 1851, his father, H. S. ^lorrison, Sr., and his 
 mother, Harriet Mariah Jackson Sherman, being also natives of that great 
 state. The father was born August 31, 1809, and died April 22, 1854, at the 
 age of forty-six years, dying in New York when the subject of this review- 
 was but three years old. The father was principally a farmer, although he 
 kept a store for a brief period. The mother, born September 15, 1814, shortly 
 after the death of her husband in 1856, removed with her family to Wisconsin, 
 where the business of farming was carried on until 1863. when the familv came 
 to Iowa, settling in Scott county. Here land was rented and farming re- 
 sumed, the sons doing the work. In the fall of 1869 another move was made.
 
 622 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 this time to Jasper county, the family settling- upon a farm ten miles northeast 
 of Newton, upon which they remained until 1891, at which time the subject of 
 this sketch and a brother, together \vith the mother, moved into Newton, 
 where thev have remained ever since. The mother died January 25. 1901. 
 while making her home with her children 
 
 It was something like forty-one years ago when Mr. IMorrison, the sub- 
 ject of this sketch, came to Jasper county, and settled on one hundred and sixty 
 acres of raw prairie. Newton was then but a small town and wolves were 
 plentiful, but he went to work with a stout heart and built a small house. By 
 untiring and earnest effort, he and his brothers came to own over one thousand 
 acres of land in the county. At one time, the years of 1873-4. he operated a 
 threshing machine in the county. 
 
 Mr. Morrison is one of nine children, five boys and four girls, of whom 
 four are living, Mr. Harrison being the youngest of the family. The living 
 ones are: John W.. who resides in Wisconsin, aged seventy-one years. He 
 has retired from active business. He was a soldier in the Northern army dur- 
 ing the Civil war; Catherine E. Wallace, aged sixty-six, wife of John Wallace, 
 retired farmer, resides in Springfield, Pennsylvania ; Sarah E. Brown, aged 
 sixty-two, wife of James M. Brown, a retired business man and Civil war 
 veteran, resides in Newton; the next and last is Mr. Morrison, of this history. 
 
 Upon September 9, 1891, Mr. Morrison was united in marriage with 
 Mattie Pickens, daughter of James and Eliza (Gordon) Pickens, both of whom 
 were natives of Ireland, her parents having married in Ireland, and coming to 
 America in 1868, landing at New York. From New York they came to Scott 
 county, Iowa, where they remained for nine years, after which they came to 
 Jasper county, settling upon purchased land northeast of Newton. 
 
 In 1899, Mrs. Morrison's father died, at the age of sixty-eight years. 
 Her mother is still living, making her home with a daughter, Mrs. David Paul, 
 of Grinnell. Iowa. Mrs. Morrison is one of six children, namely: Mary A. 
 Morrison, born April i, 1855, died December 24, 1902. She married ar 
 brother of the subject of this review; Margaret H. Paul, wife of David Paul, 
 retired, resides in Grinnell, born March 4, 1857; Thomas A., born May 14, 
 1859, resides in Newton; Eliza G. Bergman, wife of Henry G. Bergman, a 
 horse dealer of Newton, was born November 5, 1861 ; Hannah Lyman, wife 
 of J. Fred Lyman, a farmer, was born December 14. 1863, and resides in 
 Rockwell City, Iowa; Mattie B., wife of the subject of this sketch, was born 
 July 7, 1868. 
 
 To Mr. and Airs. Morrison have been born four children, all boys and 
 all living at home: Horace Henry, born August 28, 1892; Leland P., born
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 623 
 
 October 21, 1895; Charles William, born July 28, 1899; James Gordon, born 
 May 16, 1905. 
 
 Both Mr. and Mrs. Morrison are members of the First Presbyterian 
 church of Newton, Mrs. Morrison being also a member of the Ladies' Aid 
 Society and the Woman's Missionary Society. She is a teacher in the Sun- 
 day school, an earnest worker in the church and a most interesting and estim- 
 able woman. Mr. Morrison is also a teacher in the Sabbath school and for 
 sixteen years has been ruling elder in his church. He is also a member of 
 Newton Lodge No. 59, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, and of Gebal 
 Chapter No. 12, Royal Arch Masons. Always an active temperance worker, 
 he is a member of the Anti-Saloon League, has served as director, secretary 
 and treasurer of county schools and justice of the peace of his township. He 
 is also vice-president of the Farmers Mutual Fire and Lightning Insurance 
 Company. 
 
 At one time Mr. Morrison engaged in the hardware business in Newton 
 for eight years, selling out to go to California. He remained there but one 
 year, however, when he returned to Newton. He traces his family back to the 
 Revolution and is eligible to join the Sons and Daughters of the :\merican 
 Revolution. 
 
 CAPT. JACOB ROOKER WITMER. 
 
 Jacob R. Witmer was born near Safe Harbor, Lancaster county, Penn- 
 sylvania, the son of J. S. and Mary (Parker) Witmer. This family is of 
 Swiss descent, the great-great-grandfather, John Witmer, having been born 
 in that country in 1688. He came to America and located in Lancaster county, 
 Pennsylvania, in 1728. The Captain's great-grandfather was Michael Wit- 
 mer and his grandfather was Herman Witmer. Mary Parker, mentioned 
 above, was the daughter of Abram and Elizabeth (Ebby) Parker, both natives 
 of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. 
 
 Captain Witmer was one of a family of ten children, an equal number 
 of sons and daughters, three besides himself coming to Jasper county. 
 
 Captain Witmer was reared in his native state and educated in the public 
 schools. He came to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1866 and here launched in the 
 lumber business, running a saw-mill and maintaining a lumber yard, and here 
 he resided until his death. He was married here to Lizzie Kendig, daughter 
 of John and Maria (Kaufman) Kendig, pioneers of Sherman township, this 
 county, who came from Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, the father being now
 
 624 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 deceased. The wife of the subject was called to her rest on February 6, 1900, 
 when fifty years of age. The following children were born of this union: 
 Emma married Peter Pink, of Sherman township: ISlinnie is the wife of 
 George Sapp, formerly of Colfax, now of Sunnyside, Washington; Mary is 
 the wife of Hamilton Sumpter, of Acton, Iowa; Lincoln Witmer, who is 
 engaged in the lumber business at Kennewick, Washington, served two years 
 in the marine service of the United States in this country and two years in 
 the Philippine Islands; Cora married Milo Kapel, of Tacoma, Washington; 
 Jacob lives at Denver, Colorado; Cristal, who has remained single, lives in 
 Des Moines, Iowa. 
 
 Captain Witmer's war record is a notable one. Scarcely had news of the 
 firing on Fort Sumter been received when he offered his services in defense of 
 the flag, enlisting in April, 1861, and serving throughout the conflict and even a 
 year after the surrender, not leaving the service until in April, 1866. He 
 ser\'ed as a private in Company B, Seventy-ninth Pennsylvania Volunteer 
 Infantry, and as second lieutenant of Company E, Two Hundred and Four- 
 teenth Volunteer Infantry, of that state and he was mustered out as first lieu- 
 tenant of his company. He was in the Army of the West and took part in the 
 battle of Perryville, Kentucky; later he was transferred to the Army of the 
 Potomac and served with it in the Shenandoah valley. He was captain of a 
 company of one hundred soldiers that guarded the prison where Captain 
 Wertz was confined, and in the absence of his captain, the subject acted as 
 provost marshal at Annapolis, Maryland. 
 
 E. M. s. McLaughlin. 
 
 The name of E. M. S. McLaughlin, of Newton, needs no introduction 
 to the professional circles of central Iowa. Selecting the law as his sphere 
 early in life, he has devoted his energies to that, ignoring other aspirations to 
 make himself what he is today, a thorough master of legal science in all its 
 ramifications. The common law, the statutes of Iowa, the history, progress 
 and growth of jurisprudence, as well as the higher and more abstruse prin- 
 ciples of equity, are all completely at his command, constituting him a leader 
 at the bar, whicli position is readily conceded him by his associates. 
 
 Mr. McLaughlin was born in Hamilton county, Iowa, November 4, 1869, 
 the son of Angus and Catherine (Sells) McLaughlin, the father a native of 
 Ohio and the mother of Pennsylvania, the paternal grandparents being natives 
 of Scotland and the maternal grandparents of Pennsylvania. Angus Mc-
 
 E. M. s. McLaughlin
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 625 
 
 LaugliHn spent his active life engaged in agricultural pursuits, and is at 
 present living retired in Los Angeles. California. He came west to Iowa in 
 1855, and entered land in Hamilton county, which land he improved, trans- 
 forming it from the wild prairie to a fine farm, the same still being in pos- 
 session of the family. At one time he was the owner of four hundred and 
 twenty-six acres, which, since his retirement, has been added to by the sub- 
 ject and his brothers until they now own jointly nine hundred and fifty-nine 
 acres in one body, all well kept and valuable land, situated in one of the most 
 favored agricultural sections in the state. 
 
 Angus McLaughlin is a man of exceptional intelligence and sterling 
 innate characteristics. He was always much interested in educational mat- 
 ters, also politics, having served the Republican party in many capacities, 
 having been supervisor of his county for two terms besides holding other 
 offices, always with credit to himself and to the satisfaction of all con- 
 cerned. His wife died on February 22, 1909. at the age of seventy years. In 
 an early day the father made a trip across the western plains to the Black 
 Hills and to Colorado, where he mined gold for a year. He is now making 
 his home with his daughter, Elizabeth A. McLaughlin, an osteopathic phy- 
 sician of Los Angeles. His other children are: J. J., a veterinary surgeon of 
 Blue Earth, Minnesota; A. A., of Des Moines, is attorney for the Chicago & 
 Northwestern Railroad Company; E. M. S.. of this review; W. M. is an at- 
 torney at Des Moines and ex-city solicitor of that place; Maud M. is the wife 
 of D. D. McGillivary, an attorney of Lowden, Iowa. 
 
 E. ]\I. S. McLaughlin remained on the home farm until the fall of 1889, 
 then attended the Northern Iowa Normal School at Algona for one term, 
 teaching the winter term of school. The following August he entered the 
 Iowa State College at Ames for a four years" course, teaching during the win- 
 ters. He made an excellent record and was graduated from that institution 
 with the degree of Bachelor of Electrical Engineering, on November 10, 1894. 
 Then he again taught school and worked some at his chosen calling. 
 
 On February 26, 1896. ^Ir. McLaughlin was united in marriage with 
 Minnie A. Parmenter, of Polk county, Iowa, and the daughter of Edward and 
 Anna Parmenter, of Ohio. They came to Iowa in an early day and spent 
 their active lives in farming; the father is now deceased, but the mother 
 survives. Two children were born to ^Ir. and Mrs. McLaughlin, Ruth and 
 Ralph, both of whom are at home and in school. 
 
 After his marriage Mr. McLaughlin lived on his farm for three years, 
 after which he entered the law department of Drake University, from which 
 he was graduated with the degree of Bachelor of Laws. He applied himself 
 
 (40)
 
 626 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 verv assiduously to his studies, becoming exceptionally well equipped for his 
 life work, and in 1900 he opened a law office in Newton, which he has since 
 maintained, doing a general practice in all courts and building up a large and 
 constantly increasing clientele. He has met with a large measure of success, 
 being a careful, ])ainstaking, tireless and honest advocate and exceptionally 
 strong in the trial of cases. His reputation extends far beyond the limits of 
 his county and has placed him in the front ranks of his professional brethren 
 in this section of the state which has long been noted for its high order of 
 legal ability. 
 
 'Sir. McLaughlin has long been active in the affairs of the Republican 
 partv and is at this time chairman of the county central committee. His 
 advice and counsel is freely sought in campaigns by candidates and political 
 leaders. He was formerly a member of the Newton Business Men's Asso- 
 ciation. Fraternally, a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, he is 
 state consul of that organization, and served as its delegate to Indianapolis in 
 1903 and at Alilwaukee in 1905, and he was delegate to the head camp at 
 Bufifalo in June, 191 1. He is also a member of the Brotherhood of American 
 Yeoman, lieing its delegate to the grand conclave at Colorado Springs in 1903. 
 He was also sent to Minneapolis in 1909 as a member of the national law 
 committee and is at this time chairman of the national committee of appeals 
 and grievances of said order. He is a member of the Delta Lodge No. 53, 
 Knights of Pythias, of Xewton. Personally, ]\Ir. McLaughlin is a very 
 pleasant gentleman, courteous, genial, obliging, straightforward and unas- 
 suminsf. 
 
 JOSEPH R. SITLER. 
 
 To say that a man has been true to himself all his days, is to pay him a 
 very great compliment, but to add to this that he has been a good father, kind 
 and considerate husband, brave soldier and a man whose citizenship has been 
 without taint or tlaw is to place that man high among his fellows. Yet these 
 things may be truthfully said of Joseph R. Sitler, the subject of this review. 
 
 Mr. Sitler was born in Crawford county, Pennsylvania. May 19, 1832, 
 being the son of George Sitler, a native of Pennsylvania, and Sarah (Robins) 
 Sitler, a native of New York. He is one of eight children, of whom but four 
 survive, as follows: Mr. Sitler, of this review, the eldest: Henry F., born in 
 1836, resides in Dodge City, Kansas, of which city he has been one of the 
 pioneer settlers and builders. An old cattle man and railroad contractor, he
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 62/ 
 
 has been one of the most important factors in the upbuilding of his home city, 
 a portion of it l)eing- upon land which he formerly owned as a cattle ranch; 
 Jessie R. Sitler. born in 1840. resides in Bliss. Oklahoma, and is engaged in 
 the grain business; Frank J. was killed at Axtell. Kansas, in 1909, by falling 
 from a loaded straw wagon; he was born in 1845; Ida Wright, widow of 
 Rev. Byron Wright, a Methodist minister, resides in Xew ^'ork City; Anna, 
 wife of Rev. Orin B. Coates, died at the age of twenty-six years, one week 
 after her marriage, her death being as tragic as it was pitiful. Her husband of 
 one week enlisted in the army and when the news of his enlistment was brought 
 to her, she fell to the floor in a swoon, from which she never revived. The 
 young husband went to the front a broken-hearted man. Two i)rothers of the 
 subject died in infancy. Of ]Mr. Sitler's parents it may be said that they were 
 hardy. God-fearing people of culture and refinement. The father was a farmer 
 and was a stalwart among his fellow men. Neither e\er removed from Penn- 
 syhania. Both are now deceased. 
 
 The military record of Mr. Sitler is as remarkable as it is creditable. 
 Few men, even though they took part in that great civil war, were compelled 
 to undergo the misery, hardship and privation through which Mr. Sitler 
 passed. Modest and retiring in manner, he gave only some of the more strik- 
 ing details of his varied army experience to the biographer, but it is easy to 
 ''read between the lines" and gather the full purport of what he passed through. 
 On October 6, 1861, in company with forty-four neighbor boys, he enlisted in 
 the Second Pennsylvania Cavalry, and was placed in the department of the 
 army guarding \\'ashington. For six months he took part in the famous 
 chase after Mosby and his men. after which he was transferred to the Army 
 of the Potomas. He took part in the second battle of Bull Run and was in 
 the great battle of Gettysburg. Here it was he acted as first lieutenant of 
 provost guards, the captain being absent, and, hurrying here and there, super- 
 vising, directing and reporting to his superiors, he was under fire for hours. 
 He saw the famous charge of rebel General Pickett. The next battle of im- 
 portance in which he took part was that of Mine Run. \'irginia. and for days 
 thereafter was under fire. Then came the terrible battle of the Wilderness and 
 the desultory fighting along the Rapidan river during which battle he was 
 again in command. Before the battle of the W^ilderness he was sent home to 
 recruit men for the army, recruiting one hundred men from Crawford county, 
 Pennsylvania, in one month. On April 26. 1864. along with four hundred 
 men who had been home on furlough, he re-enlisted and was soon in the thick 
 of the fight, two days thereafter being detailed 'with a scouting party to watch 
 the actions of the rebel cavalrv along the Rappahannock river. On the night
 
 628 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 of Alay 7, 1864. following the battle of the Wilderness, he was captured and 
 marched to General Lee's headquarters, where he was kept for twelve days 
 in company with forty- four officers and fourteen hundred other prisoners, 
 with no rations except what they were able to buy for themselves. Next they 
 were marched to Lynchburg, Virginia, a distance of sixty-five miles, two 
 crackers being issued to each prisoner before starting Some of the men got 
 none. At Lynchburg the men were robbed of everything they possessed, and 
 were then taken to ALicon. Georgia, to the rebel prison camp. Here they were 
 kept until July 10, when they were taken to Saxannah. and then to Charleston, 
 South Carolina. Here it was that they were confined to the jail yard and the 
 Northern prisoners were exposed purposely to the Northern artillery fire in 
 order that an exchange might be enforced, but none was made. October 9, 
 1864, they were taken to "Camp Sorghum," South Carolina, so called for the 
 reason that the rations consisted of a pint of corn meal each day and all the 
 sorghum molasses they could use. From Camp Sorghum they were taken 
 across the river and put in the asylum prison at Columbia. Then a number 
 of moves were made to Raleigh, North Carolina, to Wilmington, South Caro- 
 lina, and to many other places in the vain attempt to avoid the fast approaching 
 Northern army, but finally at Wilmington, Mr. Sitler, along with many others 
 was paroled. Here occurred one of those striking and romantic incidents 
 so frequent in the great war. Standing among the Northern troops was a 
 tall, commanding looking man, who eyed the subject of this sketch as he moved 
 about among the other wretched prisoners. Suddenly, something familiar 
 appealed to him and he clasped the thin hand of the prisoner. It was his 
 brother, Jesse, at that time an adjutant of the Seventy-sixth Pennsylvania. 
 After a long siege in the hospitals, finding him unable to serve further, the 
 authorities gave Mr. Sitler an honorable discharge as first lieutenant and he 
 returned home. 
 
 Mr. Sitler was commissioned to serve on court martial duty twice, first 
 after the battle of Gettysburg and second at Annapolis. Maryland. This was 
 an exceptional honor to be given a line officer and he was the junior member 
 of the court both times. 
 
 Mr. Sitler is a member of Garrett Post No. 16, Grand Army of the 
 Republic, of Newton, of which he has been adjutant since 1895. He has also 
 been commander of the post. He came to Jasper county August 2, 1866, and 
 has resided here e\er since with the exception of one year spent in Dodge 
 City, Kansas. On l^^bruary 16, 1864, he married Carrie Spalding, daughter 
 of Rev. Josiah S])alding, who bore him the following children: Harry, born 
 March i, 1867, residing in Jasper county; Anna, born January 12, 1869, is
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. . 629 
 
 unmarried, and resides with her father at home; one child died in infancy, the 
 wife and mother dying soon after. 
 
 On March 2, 1881, Mr. Sitler was married to Rebecca Goodrich, daughter 
 of Levi Goodrich, a native of Maine. She still survives and is the considerate 
 and loyal companion of Mr. Sitler, being a sweet- faced woman of rare ac- 
 complishments. Both Mr. and Mrs. Sitler are members of the Congrega- 
 tional church of Newton and Mrs. Sitler is prominent in temperance work, 
 being an active member of the Anti-Saloon League. 
 
 Mr. Sitler is a large land owner, besides owning elegant city property and 
 being interested in the Jasper County Mutual h'ire and Lightning Insurance 
 Compan}\ of which he has been treasurer for seventeen years. Few men are 
 better known and none are more respected. In politics Mr. Sitler is a Re- 
 publican. 
 
 CAPT. FELIX WOODARD COZAD. 
 
 A romantic glamour clings about the life history of Capt. Felix Woodard 
 Cozad, gold digger of the days of the "forty-niners," loyal soldier and officer 
 in the great Civil war and now- retired business man of Newton, Jasper county, 
 who. although well past his eightieth milestone, is hale and hearty, as 
 straight as a pine, and as alert as most men of fifty. He comes of a hardy 
 New England ancestry. His grandfather was born just at the close of the 
 Revolutionary war, and when he was nine years old he was playing with 
 three vounger brothers when a band of Indians surprised and captured them, 
 carrying them away into captivity. The youngest, unable to keep up. cried 
 bitterly and was promptly brained with a tomahawk. The others were held 
 captive four years before they were rescued by their father. They had by 
 that time become so attached to the Indians and the Indians to them, that it 
 was with great difficulty that the father persuaded them to go home with him. 
 
 Captain Cozad was born in Lewis county, \\'est Virginia. February 17, 
 1827. being the son of Jacob W. and Beedy (Beaman) Cozad. the father born 
 in the same county as the subject and the mother in \\ermont. She died 
 when the son Felix W. was four years old. and the father being left alone with 
 three small children, remarried, his second wife being Phoebe Beeman. who 
 was a sister of the first wife. By the first marriage there were born these chil- 
 dren : Jacob C. now deceased; Cecelia, the widow of Jacob Pifer. lives in 
 Buckhannon. L^pshire county. West Virginia, the home of her birth; and 
 Felix \y., of this sketch. The second marriage resulted in the birth of Clara,
 
 630 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 who married Luther Bhick, and died in Colorado, whither she had gone for 
 her health; David is now living in Butler county, Ohio; Francis Marion, who 
 has not been heard from for twenty-five years; George W. died in Wheeling, 
 West Virginia, in 1882. The death of the father of these children occurred 
 in 1845, ^vhile yet a young man, only thirty-eight years old. 
 
 Soon after attaining his majority, early in 1849, Captain Cozad, of this 
 review, engaged in the manufacture of carriages in Cincinnati. Later in that 
 year, attracted by the stories of treasure and adventure coming from the far 
 West, he set out by w^ay of the isthmus of Panama for the new Eldorado. The 
 holidays of 1849-50 were spent on the isthmus at a point not far from where 
 the present great canal is being built. In January, 1850, he embarked on a 
 sailing vessel up the Pacific coast, arriving at San Francisco on April 8th fol- 
 lowing, the landing there being made upon the bare shore, there being no 
 wharf of any kind there at that time. Securing his mining outfit, he plunged 
 into the interior wilds of that region, finally locating in Trinity county, where 
 he remained two years, spending three years in all in the gold diggings, during 
 which time he met with far greater success than many others of the great 
 army of prospectors. In June, 1853, he returned to Cincinnati and in 1854 
 came to Xewton, Iowa, being among the pioneers of this region, and here 
 engaged in the mercantile business, which he continued until 1862, w^hen Lin- 
 coln issued his call for three hundred thousand volunteers, whereupon Mr. 
 Cozad closed out his business and in four days' time raised a company of one 
 hundred men, of which he was elected captain, this being Company D, For- 
 tieth Iowa Volunteer Infantry. He was soon at the front, proving to be an 
 efficient and gallant officer, remaining until the close of hostilities, being hon- 
 orably discharged on March 27, 1865, ten days prior to the actual close of the 
 w^ar. While he did not participate in any of the great battles of the war. he 
 took part in many lively skirmishes and was in the famous siege of Vicks- 
 burg. During the last year of his service he was taken sick with chills and 
 fever and forced to enter the regimental hospital, and from there he was sent 
 home, this illness causing him to tender his resignation a few days before the 
 close of the war. According to his comrades, he made a very efficient officer. 
 
 In 1856 Captain Cozad was united in marriage with Sarah A. Scott, a 
 native of Richmond, Virginia, and this union resulted in the birth of three 
 children, as follows: Ida V., born February 14. 1857, who married George B. 
 McCullough. now residing in Jefiferson, Iowa; Charles B., born in April, 
 1859, engaged in the drug and jewelry business in Adel, Iowa, married Laura 
 Cowman, and he has been postmaster at Prairie City for years; Cecelia C. 
 born February 14, 1862, died when four years old. The wife and mother
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 63 1 
 
 passed to her rest on October 25, 1(899, and eight years later, October 14, 
 1907, Captain Cozad was united in marriage with Mrs. Celia Therese Worm- 
 ley, widow of Frederick P. W'ormley. She was the daughter of Benjamin 
 Hale and Mary A. (Connable) Carlton, and her birth occurred on January 16, 
 1834, at Keene, New Hampshire, her parents being natives of Massachusetts. 
 Mrs. Cozad is one of three children, a sister, Ellen, was the wife of George R. 
 Parsons and she and a brother, Edgar L.. are both deceased. 
 
 Mrs. Cozad was formerly prominent in social life, devoting much time to 
 different social clubs and also organized for benevolent and literary pur- 
 poses; but of late years she has practically withdrawn from society and now 
 devotes most of her time to her home. She is a woman of education, culture 
 and affable disposition which has made her a favorite with a wide circle of 
 friends. She and the Captain are members of the Methodist Episcopal church 
 of Newton, and she is a member of the Order of the Eastern Star, and is a 
 charter member of the chapter in Pueblo, Colorado. The Captain belongs to 
 Newton Lodge No. 59, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, having been a 
 ]\Iason since 1862; he is also a member of Garrett Post No. 16, Grand Army 
 of the Republic, which post was named for his colonel. 
 
 Captain Cozad has an attractive and substantial home, surrounding 
 which are some beautiful and stately maple trees which he planted from the 
 seed fifty-two years ago. 
 
 CHARLES F. SAUERMAN. 
 
 One of the best known men in Jasper county and one of her worthiest and 
 most representative citizens is Charles F. Sauerman, for many years a leading 
 farmer and stock raiser, but now living in retirement in his beautiful home in 
 Newton. He is a fine type of the truly public-spirited citizen, and withholds 
 his co-operation from no movement which is intended to promote public im- 
 provement, and as president of the Jasper County Agricultural Society he has 
 done a very commendable service to this locality. Wliat he has achieved in 
 life proves the force of his character and illustrates his steadfastness of pur- 
 pose, his own persistent and well directed efforts winning him not only ma- 
 terial success, but also the good will and confidence of his fellow men. 
 
 Mr. Sauerman was born in Frederick coimty. Maryland, October 24, 
 1851. He is the son of William F. and Sarah A. (Kershaw) Sauerman, the 
 father a native of Hanover, Germany, and the mother of Maryland, her family 
 having been more or less prominent in the Oriole state for many generations,
 
 632 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 and there she grew to maturity, was echicated. met and married Mr. Sauer- 
 man, who emigrated to America in 1840 and located at Baltimore. He learned 
 the trade of shoemaking in his youth, which he followed successfully until 
 he was sixty vears of age when he went to farming. He came west when 
 Charles F., of this review, was three years of age, in November, 1854, locating 
 among the pioneers at Blue Grass, Scott county, Iowa, where he developed 
 a good farm, became well established, and where he remained until his death, 
 in June, 1902, at the advanced age of eighty-nine years; his wife survived him 
 until 1905, dying at the age of eighty-six years. Mr. Sauerman was strong 
 in his allegiance to the Union, although he was too old to serve in the 
 Federal arm v. He was a greatly beloved old gentleman and he and his wife 
 numbered their friends by the scores in their vicinity in Scott county. They 
 were the parents of ten children, four of whom are living at this writing : 
 Henrv A., now deceased, served in the Union army for four years; William 
 E. lives at (larner. Cherokee county. Iowa; xMrs. Sarah E. Spratt, of Sac 
 Citv. Iowa; Mrs. Anna E. Mewshaw. of Huntsville, Texas; Charles F.. of this 
 review. 
 
 The subject was three years of age when his parents brought him to Iowa, 
 and he grew to maturity on his father's farm, where he worked when a boy. 
 He attended the public schools during the winter months and received a fairly 
 good education. He took up farming for a livelihood, which he followed suc- 
 cessfullv until March i, 1910. He remained in Scott county until he was 
 thirty-two years old, then, in 1884. he went to Poweshiek county, Iowa, where 
 he lived sixteen years, moving to Jasper county in the spring of 1900, locating 
 five miles south of Newton, where he lived five years, then bought a farm 
 north of Colfax and lived there five years, moving to Newton on March i, 
 1910. and retired from active life. He improved a number of good farms and 
 by persistent labor and good management became well established. Besides 
 general farming he made a success of stock raising. He has a modern, com- 
 modious, attractive and neatly kept home on East Main street, the presiding 
 spirit of which is a lady of many attractive characteristics, who was known in 
 her maidenhood as Mary E. Agar, to whom JVIr. Sauerman was married on 
 March 31. 1876. She is the daughter of Thomas and Lucy Agar, and her 
 birth occurred in Livingston county. New York, where she was reared and 
 educated, coming west with her parents in 1865. To this union seven children 
 have been born, five of whom are living, namely : Harry C, of Lawton, 
 Oklahoma; Leroy T. died in 1906; Anna L.. Lollie P., Henry A. are all at 
 home; Ernest E. died when two vears old; Nellie E. is at home.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 633 
 
 Mr. Sauerman is a member of the board of county superx'isors, to which 
 he was elected in 1908, on the Repubhcan ticket and he is still in office, having 
 very ably and conscientiously discharged the duties of the same and winning 
 the hearty commendation of all concerned. This board of three members had 
 charge of building the new court house, which is one of the finest buildings in 
 Iowa. Mr. Sauerman has given a great deal of his time and attention to this 
 work, as well as looking after the bridges and roads of the countiy. Mr. 
 Sauerman has been president of the Jasper County Agricultural Association 
 for the past three years, during which time he has done much to encourage and 
 strengthen this work, having always taken a great pride and interest in the 
 work of the association, and he has worked for it in a manner that has won 
 the admiration of all concerned. He is active in the Republican party, and he 
 has often refused public office. Fraternally, he is a member of the Masonic 
 order, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and he and his wife belong to 
 the Methodist Episcopal church. 
 
 SPENCER H. REES. 
 
 One of Jasper county's substantial and representative citizens is Spencer 
 H. Rees, who is essentially a self-made man, and as such ranks with the most 
 enterprising and progressive of his contemporaries. He has, from early life, 
 steadily pursued the honorable course which in due time brought social recog- 
 nition and the high position he has long occupied in the industrial life of New- 
 ton. By a life consistent in motive and action and because of his many fine 
 personal qualities he has earned the sincere personal regard of all who know 
 him. and in his home, which is the center of a large social circle, there is always 
 in evidence a spirit of generosity. 
 
 Mr. Rees was born of a sterling old Buckeye family, on August 4. 1847. 
 in Hancock county, Ohio, being the son of Thomas and Mary A. (Prouty) 
 Rees, the father a native of Pennsylvania and the mother of Ohio. In 1840 
 Thomas Rees came to Ohio, where he followed his trade of stone cutter for 
 about eight years, during which time he met and married Mary A. Prouty. 
 Shortlv after the birth of his son, Spencer H., of this review, he emigrated to 
 Iowa, reaching Jasper county in the fall of 1848, settling in Palo Alto town- 
 ship, and there he entered wild prairie land from the government, on which 
 he built a one-roomed log cabin and began life in pioneer style, setting reso- 
 lutelv to work to carve out a new home in a new countrv. Here he became
 
 634 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 well established in due course of time, developing an excellent farm on which 
 he remained until his death, March 10, 1865. For three months during his 
 first winter here the only neighbors seen were Indians, but they were friendly. 
 Wolves, deer and turkey were plentiful. Thomas Rees became a man of 
 much influence in his community, being a man of fine personal characteristics 
 and pronounced public spirit. The first election held in the township was in 
 his barn. At the time of his death he was one of the county's largest land 
 owners, having seven hundred and forty acres in Palo Alto township. After 
 his death his widow married Isaac G. Badger, a native of England. She lived 
 with him until her death, on November 22, 1881. 
 
 To Thomas Rees and his first wife nine children were born, one of whom 
 died in infanc\- ; Lewis died at the age of ten, and Anson B., well known all 
 over the countv, died April 6, 1910; those living are, Spencer H., of this re- 
 view ; Henriette married Harry McVey and they live in Rathburn, Iowa ; 
 Rowland L. lives on a farm in Palo Alto township; Franklin P. is engaged in 
 the mercantile business at Wann, Oklahoma ; Estella AI. married Dr. D. N. 
 Johnson, of Chickasha. Oklahoma ; Effie C. married G. \\ . Byington, a real 
 estate dealer in Little Rock, Arkansas. After Air. Rees's death, Mrs. Rees 
 married Isaac Badger and two children were born to them, H. J. Badger, who 
 is now residing in Chinook, Montana, and Alarv Belle, who married S. A. 
 Guessford, a farmer of Buena Msta township, this county. 
 
 On October 24, 1877, Spencer H. Rees was married to Margaret E. 
 Holmes, daughter of Ranson P. and Mary A. (Duncan) Holmes, the father 
 being a native of Kentucky and the mother of Indiana, Mr. Holmes having 
 been a farmer and stock raiser. His death occurred on February 26, 1893, 
 and that of his wife on October 27, 1891. Their family consisted of six 
 children, of whom five are living, John W. Holmes having died in 1905 ; those 
 living are : Charles W., of Texas; Alnora is the wife of Dr. J. W. Hannah, of 
 Tonkawa, Oklahoma ; Ida married George W. Maund and lives in Jennings, 
 Louisiana; Verna married A. L. Lewellen, who is living in Rosendale. Mis- 
 souri. 
 
 After the death of their father, Spencer H. Rees and liis elder brother 
 assumed control of the farm and managed tlie same until the estate was 
 settled upon the re-marriage of the mother, at which time the subject began 
 working for himself, following farming until 1904, with more than ordinary 
 success, when he was elected secretary of the Mutual Fire and Lightning In- 
 surance Association of Jasper county, which position he has held ever since, 
 discharging the duties of the same in a manner that has reflected much credit 
 upon himself and to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. He has served
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 635 
 
 both as trustee and clerk of Palo Alto township for two terms and has been 
 assessor of that township three terms. He has acted as trustee of roads and 
 upon coming to Xewton he resigned as clerk of the school board. He is the 
 owner of an excellent farm in Palo Alto township, upon which is the site of the 
 cabin his father built when he came to this county. He also holds considerable 
 property interests in Xewton, having been very successful as a business man 
 in whatever he has directed his attention to. During the year 1887 he was 
 traveling mail weigher for the United States government on route Xo. 27036. 
 In 1889 he was nominated for county auditor by the Union Labor partv and 
 endorsed by the Democrats, being defeated by a small margin only. In 1895 
 Mr. Rees was nominated for county treasurer by the Populists and in the three- 
 cornered fight which followed he polled his share of the votes. Both these 
 nominations came to Mr. Rees unsought. 
 
 Five children have been born to Mr. and ]\Irs. Rees, two of whom died in 
 infancy; those living are, Morris H., born April 27, 1880; he received a high 
 education and is professor of biology in the college at Tarkio, Missouri; 
 Edith Glen, born January 8, 1884. is unmarried; Floy Xaoma. born October 
 17. 1887, is unmarried and at home. 
 
 Both ]\Ir. and Mrs. Rees are members of the United Presbyterian church. 
 While living in Palo Alto township he was a trustee of the church. 
 
 In March, 1905, Mrs. Rees was stricken with rheumatism from which 
 she has been a constant but patient sufTerer. having been almost helpless during 
 the past five years, but here severe affliction has not changed her genial and 
 kindly disposition. 
 
 ]Mr. Rees is one of the honored "boys in blue,'' having proved his patriot- 
 ism and loyalty to his country by enlisting in Company B, Forty-eighth Iowa 
 Volunteer Infantry, on May 24. 1864. After serving faithfully for five 
 months he was honorablv discharged October 21, 1864. 
 
 ^lAYXARD ELLSWORTH PEXOUITE. 
 
 Distinguished as an official, an attorney and pul)lic-spirited citizen, the 
 name of Maynard Ellsworth Penquite, the present popular and efficient mayor 
 of Colfax, has long been closely interwoven with the history and development 
 of Jasper countv : in fact, few men in this locality are better or more favor- 
 ably known and none have exercised a more potent influence in moulding and 
 directing public opinion. The family of which he is an honorable representa- 
 tive is old and eminently respectable.
 
 636 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Penqiiite was born in this county on January 20, 1872, and he is the 
 son of ^^'i^iam H. and Sarah I. (Hoping) Penquite. The father came to this 
 county in 1866, locating near dreencastle and there became well established 
 through years of hard and consecutive endeavor in general farming. He was 
 a veteran of the Civil war. having enlisted in the Twenty-second Ohio Heavy 
 Artillerv at Wilmington. Ohio, in 1863 and he ser\ed very gallantly and faith- 
 fully for three years; however, his knee having been injured early in the 
 service, he was on detached duty most of the time. He was the first post- 
 master at Mingo and for some time he was clerk of his township. He was a 
 member of the Grand Army of the Republic. Duncan Post No. 258. His par- 
 ents. John and Mary Penquite. spent their lives in Ohio, of which state he was 
 a native. The death of William H. Penquite occurred on October 24, 1909. 
 His wife was the daughter of Jeremiah and Jane (Stewart) Hoping, who came 
 to Jasper county. Iowa, in 1857. having formerly lived near Xenia, Ohio. 
 They located near Greencastle and there they both died. 
 
 Maynard E. Penquite was the only son in a family of four children, his 
 sisters being Claudia, the wife of Emanuel Fry, of ]\Iingo; Bessie is the wife 
 of J. T. Stitt. of Des Moines; Mae Penquite lives at Ira, Iowa, and is the wife 
 of Leon Richardson. 
 
 The subject's mother owns the old home place which she has kept well 
 improved and well cultivated. 
 
 Mr. Penquite was married in Jasper county to Lola E. \\'arell, a most 
 worthy representative of an excellent family, being the daughter of Charles 
 and Eva Warell, the father having located in Clear Creek township when a 
 boy and here grew up with the country. His wife was known in her maiden- 
 hood as Eva Clapper, daughter of Harman and Katherine (Harsh) Clapper, 
 who came to Jasper county in the latter forties or early fifties and located in 
 Clear Creek township. To Mr. and Mrs. Penquite the following children have 
 been born : Leon Maynard, Gladys Mae, Vergil Ellsworth, Morris Oral and 
 Helen Lola. 
 
 The subject grew up on the home farm where he worked during his boy- 
 hood while not attending the public schools. Turning his attention to the law, 
 he took a course in the law department of Drake L^niversity at Des Moines, 
 where he made a splendid record, and from which institution he was gradu- 
 atetl in 1899. Soon afterwards he was admitted to the bar and he began prac- 
 tice at Collins, Story county. January i, 1903, he came to Colfax, where 
 he lias continueil to the present time with ever-increasing success, being re- 
 garded as a painstaking, persistent and honorable advocate, ever vigilant of 
 his client's interests and a forceful and logical pleader before a jury. He has
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 637 
 
 figured prominently in the local courts for the past ten years and takes rank 
 with the leading legal lights of the county. He has been justice of the peace 
 for three terms, discharging the duties of this office in a most worthy manner, 
 his decisions being characterized by fairness to all parties and given in a man- 
 ner as to indicate his familiarity with all phases of jurisprudence. In the 
 spring of 1909 he was elected mayor of the town of Colfax, which office he has 
 held to the present time in a manner that reflects much credit upon himself and 
 to the entire satisfaction of all concerned. 
 
 Mr. Penquite is a pleasant man to know personally, genial, honest and 
 straightforward in all his transactions, a man eminently meriting the high 
 esteem in which he is held. 
 
 J. C. HAWKINS. 
 
 "Unique" is the term that best describes the subject of this review. 
 Not so in a notorious way, nor yet in the realm of cheap tinsel and tawdry 
 accomplishment, but unique as a man who is worth while, who is so original 
 as to be apart from the great rank and file of his fellow men. 
 
 J. C. Hawkins looks like Bourke Cochran and can talk almost as well. 
 He is cynical without being bitter, sarcastic without l>eing narrow or unkind. 
 Then he is so absolutely wide awake and alive to what the world is doing and 
 what life means. He was born in Troy, Doniphan county. Kansas, April 30, 
 1869, being the son of H. C. and Susan ( W'ormley ) Hawkins, his father being 
 a native of New York and his mother of Pennsylvania. His father was one 
 of the best known men and ablest lawyers in Kansas, being elected to the Legis- 
 lature of that state and leading attorney for the Santa Fe Railway Company 
 for many years prior to his death, which occurred in 1874. As a speaker his 
 reputation was equal to his fame as a lawyer. After the death of the father. 
 Mr. Hawkins's mother remarried, her husband being J. Evans Ryan, an Epis- 
 copal minister of Troy. Kansas. This marriage took place when the subject 
 of this review was but six years of age, he being the only child by the former 
 marriage. \\'hen his mother and stepfather came to Jasper county in 1880, 
 the little boy came with them and he has since remained in Jasper county, 
 although there was a time when he was absent, while traveling for his health 
 for a period of some five years. His stepfather departed this life in 1893 and 
 since then his mother has made her home in the city of Newton. Mr. Hawk- 
 ins began his career in 1892 by graduating from the law department of the 
 Iowa State Universitv of Iowa Citv. After this he went to Pueblo, Colorado,
 
 638 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 where he opened a law office in partnership witli William Mitchell, practicing 
 one vear. Returning to Monroe, Iowa, he practiced law one year in partner- 
 ship with Sloan Coder, afterwards coming to Xewton^ where he has since re- 
 mained. 
 
 Air. Hawkins, since coming to Xewton, has been connected with some of 
 the most important cases in the history of the county, his efforts being char- 
 acterized by signal success. Until the last year prior to this writing, he has 
 given his attention exclusively to the law, but since then has given much at- 
 tention to the manufacture and sale of an excellent office device known as the 
 "Clipless Paper Fastener." of which he is the inventor. This device, standing 
 almost alone among paper fasteners, securely fastens the sheets of paper 
 together by the paper itself and is in constant and ever increasing demand, 
 being on sale in every leading city in the world. As an assistance to his sales- 
 men, who handle his invention, Mr. Hawkins has written a delightfully in- 
 genious little book. "Salesmanship, or How to Make Money," which is well 
 worthv of perusal as it contains much trite information which could only be 
 gained by actual experience. 
 
 On October 18, 1904, Mr. Hawkins was married to E\-a Ketman. of 
 Humboldt. Iowa, daughter of H. J. and Frances Ketman, she being one of 
 twelve children living : Adrian, Abraham, Hermanns and one sister, Mary 
 Flemeigh, wife of Charles Flemeigh. are all engaged in farming near Hum- 
 boldt; Francis, wife of Fred Morgan, professor in Leland Stanford Univer- 
 sity, California; Jennie, wife of Frank Carpenter, a jeweler, resides in Ireton, 
 Iowa ; Isaac, residing in Winterset, Iowa, is the owner of the Scarless Liniment 
 Company ; Peter is in the real estate business in Minnesota ; and T. R., a min- 
 ister, is general manager for the Baptist Publishing Society of Chicago. Both 
 Mr. and Mrs. Hawkins are most affable and cultured people whom it is a 
 pleasure to know. They are among the best of Newton's people. 
 
 BENJAMIN S. GILSON. 
 
 The enterprise of Benjamin S. Gilson, long connected with the agricul- 
 tural interests of Jasper county, now living in retirement in Newton, has been 
 crowned by success, as the result of rightly applied principles which never 
 fail in their ultimate effect when coupled with integrity, uprightness and con- 
 genial disposition, as they have been done in the present instance, judging 
 from the high standing of Mr. Gilson among his fellow men, whose individual 
 esteem he has justly won and retained.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 639 
 
 Mr. Gilson was born near Enimettsburg, Maryland, October 25, 1846. 
 He is the son of Thomas S. and Susan E. (Groff) Gilson, the father born in 
 Frederick county, Maryland, February 27, 1825, and the mother was also born 
 in that state. There they grew to maturity, w^re educated and married. They 
 came to Dubuque, Iowa, in 1852, where they made their home until the spring 
 of 1870, \\hen they removed to Marshall county. Mr. Gilson devoted his life 
 to farming, remaining on his place in Marshall county until 1885, when he 
 removed to Marshalltown, where he died in 1892. He was a man of energy, 
 upright character and well liked wherever he lived. He was an enthusiastic 
 worker in the Methodist church, and at the time of his death was trustee of 
 the church at Marshalltown, and he had held other positions in the church. 
 His wife was also a member of this church from her early youth. They were 
 the parents of three children, Thomas R., of Sioux Falls, South Dakota, and 
 Benjamin S., of this review, the other child being deceased. The mother 
 passed to her rest in 1907, having attained the advanced age of eighty-tive 
 years. 
 
 Benjamin S. Gilson came west with his parents and was reared on the 
 home farm, where he worked in the summer, and attended the public schools 
 in the winter time. He has always been a farmer and delights in rural sur- 
 roundings. He began life for himself on a farm in Dubuque county, and 
 after he was married mo\ed to Marshall county, and in 1891 located at Xew- 
 ton and retired from active farm work. For some time he has been speculating 
 in lands on his own account, and his efforts have met with success. 
 
 Mr. Gilson was married Alarch 2, 1869, to Frances E. Hamilton, who 
 was born in Dubuque county, Iowa, the daughter of James S. and Mary 
 (Walker) Hamilton, natives of Pennsylvania. To this union three children 
 have been born : Jeanetta Mabel, who keeps house for her father, is a mem- 
 ber of the Daughters of the American Revolution. She is rarely accomplished 
 in china, water color, pastel and oil painting. She is a graduate of the high 
 school and is a young lady of marked intellectual attainments; Charles \V., 
 who married Mrs. Grayce (Mertz) Dixon. August 30. 191 1, lives at Scott, 
 Saskatchewan, Canada ; James Harold. Both boys are homesteading in 
 Canada. James H. is a graduate of Xorthwestern University at Chicago, re- 
 ceiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts ; he is also a graduate of the Comnock 
 School of Oratoiy of Evanston, Illinois, having spent six years in college. He 
 was offered a professorship, but he preferred outdoor life on the farm. He 
 has financial interest in the Kittleman Leather Goods Company, of Chicago. 
 He was married November 9. 191 1. to Ruth Ormiston Warrington, daugh- 
 ter of Rev. Thomas C. \\''arrington. pastor of McKinley Park church of Chi- 
 cago, and lives in Canada.
 
 640 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 }ilrs. Gilson passed to her rest in December. 1906. when tiftv-eight years 
 of age. She was a member of the Methodist church, as is also Mr. Gilson and 
 the entire family. The father is a Prohibitionist and so votes. He has a 
 beautiful and neatly kept home on East South street. While Mr. Gilson is a 
 retired farmer, he is still engaged in business, having large land holdings in 
 Canada, Kansas. Iowa, South Dakota. Walter, the eldest son, is an expert 
 machinist, and is doing expert work for the International Harvester Com- 
 pany in Canada, making his headquarters at Scott, Saskatchewan. 
 
 Mr. Gilson is a class leader in the Methodist church at Xewton and has 
 held nearly all the offices in the church. He has been a teacher in the Bible 
 class for fifteen years. He was twice a delegate to the world's Sunday school 
 congress, and he is a member of the Red Cross Society. 
 
 The reputation of the Gilson ancestors is most exemplary, there having 
 been no criminals and several preachers among them, and one of them fought 
 in the Re\'olutionary war. A\^illiam Gilson was the founder of the family in 
 America. He married Elizabeth Craighead. Their son, Thomas Gilson, mar- 
 ried Nancy Boyd, and their son Richard married Mary Smith, and Thomas, 
 the son of the latter couple, was the father of the subject. 
 
 David Boyd was captured by the Indians and lived three years with them. 
 Upon his return to his friends he joined the patriot army in the Revolutionary 
 war. throughout \\hich he served. 
 
 ^Ir. Gilson is a pleasant man to meet, hospitable, kind-hearted and pos- 
 sessing every characteristic of a Christian gentleman and he makes friends 
 easily and has no trouble in retaining them. 
 
 OLIVER PERRY MYERS. 
 
 The following is a brief sketch of one who, by close attention to business, 
 has achieved marked success in the world's affairs and risen to an honorable 
 position among the enterprising professional men of Jasper county with which 
 his interests have long 1>een identified. 
 
 Oliver Perry Myers, well known attorney of Xewton, was born in 
 Washington county, Iowa, July 30. 1856. The Myers family comes of 
 German stock. The parents were John and Mary (Ward) Myers, the father 
 having been born in Indiana and he devoted his life to agricultural pursuits. 
 He came to Iowa in 1856, locating in Washington county, where he lived 
 until 1880, then moved to Xeosho, Missouri, where he continued to reside
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 64I 
 
 until his death, in 1895, at the age of seventy-seven years. He was successful 
 as a business man and prominent in public life, taking an abiding interest in 
 the affairs of his community at all times. He was the Democratic nominee for 
 the Legislature from Washington county at one time, but declined the nom- 
 ination. His wife was a native of Indiana, her parents coming from New 
 Jersey. Her death occurred in 1866 when comparatively young m years. 
 Grandfather Myers was a native of Virginia. Being an anti-slavery man, he 
 never owned a slave. 
 
 Ten children were born to Mr. and Mrs. John Myers, three of whom are 
 living, namely: Joseph W., of Brighton, Iowa; Mrs. Rebecca J. Armstrong, 
 also of Brighton, this state; and Oliver P., of this review. The father, John 
 Myers, married again later in life. 
 
 Oliver P. Myers was born on the home farm in a log calkin, and there 
 he grew to maturity, knowing the meaning of hard work in developing a 
 farm from the wild prairie. He received his primaiy education in the 
 country schools there, going directly from the rural schools into the sub- 
 freshman class at the State University, at Iowa City, and, making a splendid 
 record for scholarship there, he was graduated from that institution in 1880. 
 He taught school, worked on the farm and read law^ at Iowa City, beginning 
 the study of law in earnest in 1882, and he was admitted to the bar in 1883 at 
 Newton, Jasper county, having come to Newton a short time before. He 
 formed a law partnership with A. M. Harrah on January i, 1884, which con- 
 tinued until 1 89 1, in which year Mr. Myers went to South Dakota, where 
 he lived until January 10, 1889, making his home at Huron. He taught 
 school, becoming one of the leading educators of that part of the state, and 
 he was county superintendent of schools for a period of four years, the law 
 in that state permitting only four successive years. He returned to Newton, 
 Iowa, in 1889 and re-formed a partnership with Mr. Harrah, which con- 
 tinued with their former success until 1905, when Mr. Harrah went to 
 California, since when Mr. Myers has been alone. He has built up a large 
 and lucrative clientele, which has continued to grow from year to year until 
 he ranks today among the leading legal lights of central Iowa, being regarded 
 as a learned, painstaking, cautious and vigilant advocate, and a logical and 
 earnest pleader at the bar, so that he has for years figured prominently in im- 
 portant litigations in the local courts. Long prominent in public affairs, he 
 was nominated for district judge for the sixth judicial district, but was 
 defeated, though carrying his home county for one judgeship. He keeps fully 
 abreast of the times in all matters pertaining to his profession and to public 
 affairs, is widely read and an untiring worker in his professional duties. 
 
 (41)
 
 642 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 .Mr. Myers was married 011 May i, 1897, to Leah McFarlane, a lady of 
 talent and many estimable traits, and the daughter of Samuel M. and Ellen 
 (Stewart) ^IcFarlane. She was born in Michigan, and her parents were both 
 born in Great Britain, the mother in London and the father in Ireland. They 
 emigrated to America when young, first locating in Michigan, then moved to 
 South Dakota, where Mr. and Mrs. Myers were married. This union has 
 been blessed by the birth of three children, Kenneth, Ruth and Dorothy. 
 
 Mr. ]VIyers is regarded by those who know him best as an honest man 
 of the highest type, honest in every relation of life, — his daily routine of 
 business, in social relations, in public affairs, — and it is safe to say that no 
 citizen stands higher in the esteem of the people of Jasper county. 
 
 ANDREW H. HO\\'ARD. 
 
 To attain a worthy citizenship by a life that is always honored and re- 
 spected, even from childhood, deserves more than mere mention. It is no 
 easy task to resist the many temptations of youth and early manhood and plant 
 a character in the minds and hearts of associates that will remain an unstained 
 figure for all time. One may take his place in public life through some vigor- 
 ous stroke of public policy, and ever remain in the hearts of friends and neigh- 
 bors, but to assume a position of honor in the communitv by dint of the prac- 
 tice of an ui)right life and without a cra\"ing for exaltation merely for selfish 
 ends, whose chief desires seem to be to serve others and lead a life of useful- 
 ness and honor, is worthy of the highest praise and commendation. Such a 
 man is Andrew H. Howard, of Newton, Jasper county, who, after a long and 
 active career, is living in retirement. 
 
 J\Ir. Howard was born in Herkimer county, New York, July 24, 1843, the 
 son of Chauncey and Ann (Rood) Howard, both natives of New York. The 
 father was a machinist and he spent his early life in the East, coming to Iowa 
 in 1856, locating in Jasper county in ^March of that year, first at Monroe, 
 where he lived until the fall of 1863, then moved to Newton, having been 
 elected sheriff of Jasper county, and he took office January i, 1864. He was 
 also deputy United States marshal at that time. After the war he was ap- 
 pointed deputy revenue assessor, and four years later the ofiice of assessor was 
 abolished and he was made revenue collector for this district, which he held for 
 a period of eighteen years. He declined the nomination for sheriff in 1865, 
 claiming that the office should be given to a soldier, which was then done. 
 Mr. Howard made Newton his home until his death, on Julv 16, 1882. He
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 64^ 
 
 was one of the organizers, supporters and active workers of the Universalist 
 church here. He was twice elected mayor of Xewton and also justice of the 
 peace. Politically, he was a Republican; he was an influential and highly re- 
 spected man, taking an active part in the early development of the locality. 
 His wife survived until February 28. 1904. They were the parents of five 
 children, three of whom are living, namely: May has remained single; Mrs. 
 Alice Carl, of Newton; and Andrew H., of this review. 
 
 The subject was thirteen years of age when his parents came to Jasper 
 county ; he received a meager schooling in the rural schools of the early davs 
 here, and on his eighteenth birthday he proved his patriotism and courage by 
 enlisting, on July 24, 1862. in Company F, Eighteenth Iowa Infantry, in which 
 he served with distinction for three years and one month, or until the close 
 of the war. He participated in the Red River campaign, and was in the 
 Western Army, his regiment having been rendezvoused at Clinton, Iowa, and 
 mustered into service August 6, 1862, leaving Clinton by boat on the nth of 
 that month, landding at St. Louis on the 13th. They went into camp at Benton 
 Barracks where they were drilled until August 27th, when they were sent to 
 Sedalia, ^^lissouri, thence across the country to Springfield, where they arrived 
 on September 13th, and on the i8th were assigned to the First Brigade, of the 
 Second Division of the Army of the Frontier, under command of General 
 Schofield. with "little" Phil Sheridan as quartermaster of the army. The 
 regiment took part in the battle of Newtonia, Missouri, on September 27th, 
 and Fayetteville, Arkansas, on October 27th. From there they came back to 
 Missouri, making a march of over seven hundred miles in seventy-five days, 
 and they went into camp at Springfield for the winter. On January 8, 1863, 
 the Confederate General Marmaduke attacked Springfield, which was defended 
 by the Eighteenth Iowa Infantry, and the fight lasted from ten o'clock in the 
 morning until eight at night, the Iowa troops suffering heavily. On October 
 17, 1863. the regiment left Springfield in pursuit of the Confederates under 
 General Joe Shelby, with whom they had numerous skirmishes, finally driving 
 him across to Arkansas, and the regiment went into winter quarters at Fort 
 Smith, remaining there until March 22, 1864, when, with three divisions of 
 the Seventh Army Corps, it marched to Camden, that state, all under com- 
 mand of General Thayer. During this raid the regiment took part in the 
 battle of Prairie d'Ann on April 12th, Macon the following day. Poison 
 Springs on April i8th, Jenkins Ferry at Saline river. April 30th. In the 
 battle of Poison Springs the regiment lost eighty-one killed, wounded and 
 missing. ^Mr. Howard was mustered out on August 3, 1867, at Davenport. 
 Iowa. The regiment of which he was a member marched in all four thousand 
 one hundred and sixtv miles. There were only four hundred men and eight
 
 644 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 officers who remained with the regiment at the date of mustering out, the total 
 loss by death and discharge having been five hundred and fifteen. Mr. How- 
 ard has been twice president of the Regiment Association of the Eighteenth 
 Iowa. 
 
 After the war he returned to Newton and worked at the carpenter's trade 
 for a year, then entered the cabinet shop of McCord & A^an Glason, an old firm, 
 with which he remained fourteen years, then entered the furniture business 
 for himself at Malcom, Iowa, in which he remained two and one-half years, 
 then returned to Newton and soon afterwards went on the road as traveling 
 salesman, which he followed successfully for a period of twenty-five years, 
 handling furniture five years and undertaker's goods the remainder of the time. 
 In 1900 he and his son put up a laundry plant here, known as the Newton 
 Steam Laundry, which they operated for ten years, employing about fifteen 
 people. In 1908 Mr. Howard turned the business of the plant over to his 
 son, exchanged residences with him and retired. 
 
 On September 12, 1866, Mr. Howard was married to Adelaide Tow^n- 
 send, a native of New Jersey, and the daughter of James and Esther Town- 
 send, both natives of New Jersey. This union resulted in the birth of the fol- 
 lowing children: Frances, wife of Murray Galusha, of JNIemphis, Tennessee, 
 he being manager of the Western Newspaper Union there; they have 
 three children, Howard, George D. and Robert. Charles E. Howard, pro- 
 prietor of the Newton Steam Laundry, married Catherine Saun, daughter 
 of George Saun, formerly an old citizen of Newton, now living in Des 
 Moines; they have three children, Chauncy B., George P. and Karl E. Grace 
 How^ard, now deceased, married Dr. B. A. Miller, of Newton, her death having 
 occurred at Vermillion, South Dakota ; Delia is the wife of Roy B. Fisk, deputy 
 city clerk of Newton. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Howard is a Republican; he belongs to the Grand Army 
 of the Republic and he is a ]\Iason, having attained the Ivnight Templar degree. 
 
 JOSEPH DeBOLT. 
 
 A name known to every one who has the slightest acquaintance with the 
 business history of Newton and Jasper county is Joseph DeBolt, for he has 
 for some time filled a large place in the industrial affairs of this locality, and as 
 an energetic, enterprising and far-sighted man whose influence makes for the 
 upbuilding of the community he has earned a reputation second to none of his
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 645 
 
 contemporaries. He possesses a broad, inquiring mind and is keenly alive to 
 everything that tends to improve material conditions and benefit those upon 
 whose shoulders falls the burden of making possible the phenomenal progress 
 resulting from the development and success of the industrial evolution in the 
 contemporaries. He possesses a broad, inquiring mind and is keenlv alive to 
 approachable, he has a strong and vigorous personality and in the best sense of 
 the term is a leader of men and well fitted to manage large and important 
 enterprises. 
 
 'Sir. DeBolt was born on January 13, 1859, in Woodford county, Illinois, 
 the son of Benjamin and Sarah (Bair) DeBolt, both natives of Pennsylvania, 
 where they grew up, were educated and married and began life on a farm, not 
 long afterwards, however, moving to Illinois, locating in Vermilion count}^ 
 and continued farming, the family coming -on to Iowa when the son Joseph, 
 of this review, Avas fourteen years old, and located near Perry. Six years later 
 they went back to Illinois, first to Knox county, but four years later returned 
 to Vermilion county. Here Mr. DeBolt farmed until 1905, when, having 
 accumulated a competency through many years of consecutive toil, he retired. 
 His death occurred in 1908, at the age of seventy-two years. He was the son 
 of Jacob DeBolt. who also spent his life on a farm. Benjamin DeBolt was 
 twice married, his first wife dying when Joseph, of this review, was eight vears 
 of age. He was the oldest of a family of six children, the others l^eing Clara, 
 wife of Frank Morton, a farmer in Illinois; Esther, now deceased, married 
 William Snart, a tailor at Sterling, Illinois; Edward is living at Galesburg. 
 Illinois ; two. children died in infancy. Benjamin DeBolt's second marriage 
 resulted in the birth of five children, namely : Frank and Clark are living at 
 Newton; Harold, Tina and Isabella, all of East Lynn, Illinois. 
 
 Joseph DeBolt obtained his education in the district schools of Wood- 
 ford county. Illinois. When nineteen years of age he began working in a 
 brickyard. In the fall of 1898 he came to Jasper county, Iowa, and located on 
 a farm in Newton township and he farmed successfully until the fall of 19 10. 
 when he moved to Newton and formed The Western Stock Remedy Company, 
 a stock company making and handling remedies for live stock. He is president 
 of the company and every member of his family owns stock in the company. 
 Mr. DeBolt travels extensively in the interest of the concern, which has 
 achieved a wide popularity, its products meeting with a ready sale wherever 
 their merits are known. They are well equipped in every way for the manu- 
 facture of various kinds of what has been proven to be superior grades of 
 stock remedies. The prestige and success of the company has been due to the 
 able management and judicious counsel of Mr. DeBolt.
 
 646 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 On October 20. 1880. Air. DeBolt was united in marriage with Ida Bur- 
 ton, who was born in Knox county, Illinois, on June 22, 1859. She was the 
 daughter of Harvey and Rachael (Carpenter) Burton, both natives of Ohio. 
 Her mother died when she was hve years of age, and her father subsequently 
 remarried. By the first marriage there are living but two children, Oscar, now 
 a Nebraska farmer, and Ida, wife of Mr. DeBolt. The children of the second 
 marriage now li\ing are : ' John; Nettie, wife of George Bandy, lives in Wash- 
 ington. iVIrs. DeBolt's father was a carpenter by trade ; his death occurred 
 in 1898 at the age of seventy-six years. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. DeBolt six children have been born, namely : Marion, 
 who married Edna A. Gibford, lives in Newton and is manager of the home 
 office of the Western Remedy Company, of which he is a large stockholder. 
 Earl DeBolt, who also owns considerable stock in this concern, is employed in 
 the home office of the same; he is unmarried and is still with his parents. 
 Flossie DeBolt married Walter Austin, and is now deceased, leaving a child, 
 Dorothea V. Lester, Glen and Clara are at home, the last named child having 
 been given a good musical education. 
 
 Mr. DeBolt is a member of the Modern Woodmen in Newton; he also 
 belongs to the Iowa State Traveling Men's Association. In politics he is a 
 Democrat, but is not a radical partisan, though he is interested in whatever 
 tends to promote the general good in his county w^hether politically, morally or 
 materially. He and his wife are consistent members of the Methodist Epis- 
 copal church. 
 
 Mr. DeBolt is a man of sound judgment and sterling character, a man 
 whose word is as good if not better than the bond of most people. 
 
 ALBERT LUFKIN. 
 
 A notable example of the successful self-made man was the late Albert 
 Lufkin, and as such he made his influence felt among the people of Jasper 
 county, where he 'cast his lot in pioneer days and labored for his ow^n advance- 
 ment and that of the locality as well, thereby earning the right to be classed 
 among the leading citizens of his day in the community honored by his citi- 
 zenship. His life was a long and interesting one, fraught, with much work and 
 much good; indeed, it is doul)tful if any man of a past generation was so in- 
 timately intermingled with the history of the city of Newton and Jasper 
 county as was Mr. Lufkin. and his career may well be studied with profit by.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 647 
 
 the youth standing at the parting of the ways whose career is yet a matter for 
 future years to determine, for it was not only successful from a material view- 
 point, but it was wholesome in every avenue, exemplary in every relation and 
 a model worthy of emulation by all who would be counted among those who 
 win in the battle which we commonly call life and leave behind us the greatest 
 of all heritages, an honored name. 
 
 Mr. Lufkin was born on a farm situated on Casco Bay, Maine, about 
 twenty miles from Portland, at the town of Freeport, on January 7, 183 1. He 
 was the son of Benjamin and Eliza (Pote) Lufkin, both of English extraction 
 and both natives of Freeport, Maine. Flis parents and all four of his grand- 
 parents are buried in the cemetery at that place. The farm on which the sub- 
 ject was born was partly cleared for the purpose of using the wood in boiling 
 down sea water in making salt, and in his boyhood he plowed up fragments of 
 the old salt kettles, interesting relics of a pioneer industry. His early educa- 
 tion was obtained in the public schools. In addition to the common branches 
 taught, he began the study of algebra and while yet at home he took up the 
 study of geometry and trigonometr}^ without a teacher, using an old work on 
 navigation, published in 1758. He learned the use of logarithms and com- 
 menced the study of navigation from this book. He finished his course in 
 Bowditch's Navigation unaided, after which he entered the North Yarmouth 
 Academy, which he attended several terms. He followed teaching for several 
 years, after leaving school, specializing on mathematics, which ])ranch he 
 taught one term in Yarmouth Institute. He then attended a school of engi- 
 neering at Providence, Rhode Island, under Prof. William A. Norton. The 
 latter being called to Yale, the subject, with most of his class, followed and 
 entered the school of engineering at Yale University, taking a course of scien- 
 tific engineering and chemistry. Leaving New Haven, Mr. Lufkin went to 
 work for H. T. Walling at map making. In 1853 he took a position with the 
 Pennsylvania railroad as topographer. After making the surveys on the 
 north branch of the Susquehanna river, he went to Philadelphia and si)ent 
 the winter drafting for this road and while there he attended sixty lectures, 
 having joined the Franklin Institute and the Pennsylvania Historical Society. 
 
 In the spring of 1855 Mr. Lufkin came west and located in Jasper county, 
 Iowa, purchasing a farm in what is now Richland township, for himself and 
 his brother William, who came out in the fall of that year. 
 
 On October 9, 1855, Mr. Lufkin was married to Catherine Grififin, of 
 Freeport,' ]\Iaine. In the spring of 1858 he was elected county superintendent 
 of schools and moved to Newton in August of that year. During his term of 
 ofTfice he succeeded in having built many better school buildings. He held the
 
 648 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 office two terms and made many friends among the people, teachers and 
 pupils. He then began the first set of abstracts of titles in Jasper county. In 
 1869, in company with Gen. James Wilson, he established the Jasper County 
 Bank, in which ^^Ir. Lufkin was interested for over ten years. While yet in 
 the bank he bought an interest in the foundry and machine shop -of James 
 Edgar & Company and with J. H. Lyday and James Dutot continued the 
 business under the name of the Newton Machine Works. Later he became 
 sole proprietor, \\hile he was in the machine shop, Rev. D. H. Rogan came 
 to him with sewing machine plans, and in a room of Mr. Lufkin's stable was 
 biiilt the first sewing machine ever manufactured west of the Mississippi and 
 the first e\-er run with a thread for a belt. This was later sold to the Singer 
 Sewing Machine Company. 
 
 The death of Mr. Lufkin occurred in 1907, and that of his wife in 1880. 
 Their family consisted of one daughter and two sons, namely : Mary, Arthur 
 K. and Herman, all of whom are married, and the sons are successful business 
 men and influential in their communities. 
 
 In 1 88 1 Mr. Lufkin married Fannie E. Derbyshire, and one child was 
 bom to this union, which died in infancy. 
 
 'Mr. Lufkin traveled extensively in this country, having visited all the 
 states but four, and Canada repeatedly, also old Mexico. 
 
 Mr. Lufkin was for over twenty years a member of the American Asso- 
 ciation for the Advancement of Science. He was one of the leading men of 
 his day and generation and to him Jasper county owes much and here his 
 memorv will lono- be cherished. 
 
 JOSEPH L. BUTLER. 
 
 The name of Joseph L. Butler is a well known one in Jasper county, and 
 he is a worthy representative of one of the old and honored families of this 
 and Marshall county, members of which have played well their parts in the 
 general progress of this locality, hence are deserving of proper mention in this 
 work. 
 
 Mr. Butler is a Buckeye by birth, having been born in L^nion county. 
 Ohio, August 28. 1855. When but six weeks old his parents emigrated to 
 Iowa, locating in Malaka township, Jasper county, and with the exception of 
 two years he has been a continuous resident of the county, having lived 
 through its several epochs of progress from the days of the first settler and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 649 
 
 the wild prairie sod to the present opulent state. He assisted his father in 
 developing the home farm and attended the public schools during the winter 
 months. For years he was one of Jasper county's successful farmers, in fact, 
 farming has been his chief life work, but on January i, 19 lo, he purchased 
 the Rhodes telephone system and on March ist of the same year he moved to 
 Rhodes, where he now resides in a modern and neatly kept and well furnished 
 home. He is making a success of his present work and is rapidly improving 
 and extending the system. For twelve years he was a photographer and his 
 fine work in this line attracted widespread attention. He seems to possess 
 those qualities that make for success in every walk of life. 
 
 Adams Butler, father of the subject, was born in Carroll county, Ohio, 
 on April 6, 1830, and his death occurred on March 14, 1904. He married 
 ]Mary ]\I. Beard, who was born in Union county, Ohio, on July 28, 1853, and 
 who died on December 7, 1907. They became the parents of eight children, 
 an equal number of sons and daughters, namely : J. \\'., born ]\Iarch 17, 1854, 
 married Henrietta W'ilsterman, February 19, 1902, and lives near Newton, 
 Iowa; Joseph L., of this review, born August 28, 1855; D. \V., born August 
 9, 1858, married Myrtle Higgins, June 4, 1891, and lives in Xewton; J. F. 
 married Alice M. Deihl, August 4, 1885, and lives at Xewton; he was born 
 on July II, i860; Mrs. Rosetta E. Martin, born December 14, 1861, lives in 
 Mahaska county, and married J. W. Martin July 6, 1880; Louisa M., who 
 married A. T. Heaverlo, was born April 11, 1863, and lives in Spencer, Iowa; 
 Mrs. Hattie B. Kline, born April 21, 1865. is residing now in Spencer, Iowa; 
 Mrs. Amanda O. Heaverlo, born May 2"], 1867, lives in ^lahaska county. The 
 two oldest children were born in Ohio, the others in Jasper county. 
 
 Joseph L. Butler was married on July 7, 1887, to Emma F. McKinney, 
 who was born in Adams county. Illinois. June i. 1859. When seven years of 
 age she came w-ith her parents to Iowa, the family locating in Wapello county. 
 Her father, Greenbury ^IcKinney, was born in Adams county, IlHnois, July 
 29, 1829, and died at the home of ATr. and Mrs. Butler, at Baxter, Iowa, Sep- 
 tember 21, 1909. The maiden name of Mrs. Butler's mother was Mahala E. 
 Abbott, who was born in Rushville. Schuyler county. Illinois. April 13. 1838, 
 and her death occurred on February 7. 1905. The wife of the subject was the 
 oldest child in a family of five children: the others are: John W. McKinney 
 now lives in Alaska : Thomas Jefiferson lives in Buxton. Iowa : Robert W. 
 lives in Indian Territory : Mary Agnes died when four years old. The mother 
 of these children spent her last days at Eddyville. Wapello county, Iowa, where 
 this family settled in 1866.
 
 650 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Politically, ^h: Butler is a Republican. He has been a member of the 
 school board and road supervisor for a number of years. Fraternally, he is a 
 member of Baxter Camp No. 5642, Modern \\'oodmen of America, at Baxter, 
 and Mrs. Butler is a member of Rainbow Camp No. 3448, Royal Neighbors 
 of America, at Baxter, and she is a member of the Christian church at Eddy- 
 ville. They advance every worthy cause and are well informed, keeping an 
 excellent libraiy and they enjoy the esteem of a wide circle of friends. 
 
 G. H. \\^\RNER. 
 
 In the face of obstacles that would have utterly discouraged one of less 
 stamina and determination, G. H. Warner, the well-known and successful real 
 estate dealer of Newton, Jasper county, has won for himself not only a fair 
 competency, but also the honest regard and esteem of those with whom he has 
 for many years been associated. He has taken an abiding interest in the 
 general welfare of his county and has aided in its development in every way 
 possible and by his judicious course has won the friendship and good will of 
 all classes, 
 
 Mr. Warner is a native of Scott county, Iowa, his birth having occurred 
 there on November 28, 1865. He is the son of Frank and Ellen (Johnson) 
 Warner, the father born in Germany and the mother in Ireland. Frank 
 Warner emigrated to America when a young man and he came to Iowa about 
 1863 and devoted his life to farming, becoming well established here. His 
 death occurred on April 18, 19 10, at the age of sixty-nine years, his birth hav- 
 ing occurred in August, 183 1. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. 
 Frank Warner, namely : G. H. of this review ; Frank W. lives on a farm in 
 this county; Anna J. is the wife of John A. Pulley and is living in Faribault 
 county, Minnesota ; Ella died in young womanhood. 
 
 G. H. Warner spent his babyhood on the parental farm in Scott county, 
 coming to Jasper county with his parents in the spring of 1868, when three 
 years old and he has since made his home within her borders. The father 
 located on a farm nine miles northeast of Newton and there G, H. spent his 
 boyhood and youth, assisting in the general work on the place, attending the 
 country schools during the winter months. When twenty-three years of age 
 he began farming for himself, which he continued successfully up to the fall 
 of 1899, when he came to Newton and engaged in the real estate business, 
 which he is still conducting, having built up a very satisfactory patronage and
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 65 1 
 
 a rapidly growing business through his judicious management and honest 
 deahngs. He is the owner of considerable desirable land outside the state. 
 
 Mr. Warner was married on April 25, 1888, to Anna L. Miller, daughter 
 of Joseph Miller, a highly respected citizen of this state, whither he moved 
 from Illinois when Mrs. Warner was a baby, she having been born in the last 
 named state, and she was reared and educated in Iowa. To Mr. Warner and 
 wife one child has been born, Blanche, whose birth occurred on March 6, 1889. 
 
 Mr. Warner has always taken an abiding interest in public affairs and in 
 1908 he was appointed a member of the city council of Xewton and in 1909 he 
 was elected councilman-at-large on the Citizens' ticket. He is an enthusiastic 
 city ownership advocate and he has done much for the general good of the 
 town and vicinity since coming here. Fraternally, he belongs to the Indepen- 
 dent Order of Odd Fellows and the ^^lodern Woodmen. ]\Irs. Warner belongs 
 to the Presbyterian church. Politically, Mr. Warner is an unswerving Demo- 
 crat. He is well liked throughout the county as a result of his public spirit, 
 his known honestv and his irenial address. 
 
 JOHN S. HOLTZ. 
 
 A highly honored citizen of Newton, wdio has long had the interests of 
 Jasper county at heart and whose career has been one of usefulness and char- 
 acterized by lofty purpose, is John S. Holtz, for many years a leading fanner 
 but now living retired. He was born near Morristown. Belmont county, 
 Ohio, October 14, 1838. He is the son of Jacob and Eleanor (Douglas) 
 Holtz, the father a native of St. Clairsville, Belmont county, Ohio, while the 
 mother was a native of ^^laryland. The former spent his life on a farm in 
 Ohio, dying at the advanced age of ninety-three years, his wife reaching the 
 age of ninety-two; they were a remarkable old couple and highly honored in 
 their community. The Holtz family is of German stock, Grandfather Holtz 
 having emigrated from Germany to the state of Pennsylvania, where he died 
 at the age of seventy-three years. Great-grandmother Holtz reached the re- 
 markable age of one hundred and three years. Fourteen children were born 
 to Mr. and Mrs. Jacob Holtz, seven of whom are living : Otha W. is a practic- 
 ing physician in Alissouri; John S., of this review; D. F., of Cambridge, Ohio, 
 is a minister in the Methodist church; Earl D. is a Doctor of Divinity, a great 
 lecturer and traveler, making his home at Johnstown, Pennsylvania, where 
 he has a church: J. M. is a practicing physician in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania;
 
 652 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mrs. Caroline E. Bowles is a resident of Fairview, Ohio; Mrs. Mary Hood 
 lives at Cambridge, Ohio. 
 
 John S. Holtz was reared on the home farm in Ohio and when but a boy 
 he knew the meaning of hard work. He received a good common school edu- 
 cation, and when the tocsin of war sounded, calling the loyal sons of the old 
 flag to rally in its defense, he unhesitatingly offered his services, enlisting in 
 Company K, Fifth Ohio Volunteer Cavalry, in which he served nearly four 
 years in a most faithful and gallant manner, participating in over one hun- 
 dred battles and skirmishes, including Shiloh, Corinth, luka. Chattanooga and 
 the numerous ones in the Atlanta campaign; he was with Sherman on his 
 march to the sea and was also with him through the Carolinas, and he was 
 taken prisoner near Fayetteville, North Carolina, and sent to Libby prison, 
 where he remained only a few weeks, this having been about the close of the 
 war. He received an honorable discharge at Qolumbus, Ohio. Two brothers 
 were also in the Union army. Their father was an officer in the Ohio militia 
 in his day. 
 
 John S. Holtz was married first on August 9, 1866, to Cora J. Richmond, 
 who was born in Kentucky, but was reared in Iowa, and to this union seven 
 children were born, namely: Ellen died when two years of age; Albert C. 
 lives on a farm near Ira, Jasper county ; William E. is a carpenter at Central 
 City, Nebraska; ]\Irs. Florence Shrider, of Zanesville, Ohio; James B., of 
 Boone, Iowa, where he is president and manager of a glove manufacturing 
 concern ; Efifie died when one year old ; Mrs. Beryl Gearhart lives near God- 
 dard, Jasper county. 
 
 Mr. Holtz came to Jasper county at the close of the war in 1865 and 
 settled north of Newton, where the village of Baxter is now located. After 
 living there about ten years, he moved to Adair county, Iowa, where he im- 
 proved two farms and lived seven years, then returned to near Baxter, Jasper 
 county, again and there continued to reside until the spring of 1889, when he 
 removed to northwestern Nebraska and there became the owner of four hun- 
 dred and eighty acres. After living there se\en years, he again returned to 
 Jasper county, Iowa, locating in Newton, where he has since lived, wath the 
 exception of one trip made back to Nebraska for his wife's health. When he 
 came back he rented a farm which he worked one year, then bought ten acres 
 near Newton and went to gardening and raising small fruits, which he con- 
 tinued for some time there, and then, about twelve years ago, he bought his 
 present valuable place in Newton and he has continued in the gardening and 
 small fruit business, having been very successful in this line of endeavor. He 
 has a valuable and neatly kept place and has been very successful in whatever
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 653 
 
 he has turned his attention to, having always been a hard worker and a good 
 manager. 
 
 Mr. Holtz was married in January, 1904, to Mrs. Ava Lloyd, who was 
 born in Jasper county, Iowa, of a highly respected old family, and here she 
 grew to maturity and was educated. Mr. and Mrs. Holtz are members of the 
 Baptist church. He served as trustee of the church for ten years. He is in- 
 dependent in politics, and is a member of the local post of the Grand Army of 
 the Republic. He is a Prohibitionist. 
 
 ]\Ir. Holtz is an interesting man to meet, genial, honest and kindly dis- 
 posed. He talks entertainingly of the pioneer days in Jasper county and of 
 the wonderful subsequent growth of the same. He has always been a keen 
 observer. He had a personal acquaintance with Gen. U. S. Grant and has 
 seen a large number of the great men of a former generation. 
 
 LEWIS D. REID. 
 
 Prominent among the business men of Jasper county is Lewis D. Reid, 
 who was born July 18, i860, in Crawford county, Pennsylvania, his father, 
 DeWitt C. Reid, being a native of Erie county, Pennsylvania, and his mother, 
 Delia (Lewis) Reid, a native of Crawford county, Pennsylvania. The father 
 died in Crawford county, in 1883, at the age of fifty-two years; the mother 
 still lives, making her home with the subject of this review. Mr. Reid's 
 father was a farmer and was quite a local politician in his day. being a Re- 
 publican after the birth of that party in 1856. After the death of his father, 
 Mr. Reid left his home in Pennsylvania,, in the spring of 1884, coming at once 
 to- Newton, Jasper county, where he rented land and began farming, his 
 mother coming with him. At the end of three years, he bought a farm of his 
 own and continued thereon until 1896, when he sold it and came to town, 
 engaging in the livery business. In this business he continued for five years, 
 after which he opened a real estate and insurance business, which business he 
 has continued in every since. He makes a specialty of farms and farm lands 
 in Jasper county, and also deals quite extensively in Canadian land and south 
 Minnesota lands, conducting excursion parties to these regions. Mr. Reid 
 is one of the best judges of soil in the county and enjoys the confidence of all 
 his neighbors and friends. Aside from his extensive dealings in lands, he deals 
 considerably in city property values and general investments and conducts a 
 general fire, tornado and lightning insurance business, his office being located 
 at this time at No. 114 \\'est McDonald street in the city of Xewton.
 
 554 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ]^Ir. Reid was united in marriage with Xettie R. Drake, daughter of 
 Horace and Catherine (Berminghoff) Drake, in September, 1884, in Cam- 
 bridge, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Reid's parents were both natives of Venango 
 county, Pennsylvania. Her father died in 1906, and her mother in 1883. 
 Mrs. Reid's grandfather, John Berminghoff, was a well known figure in the 
 early histon- of the Pennsyh-ania oil fields, and was the victim of what was 
 known at the time as the "Berminghoff Robbery,'' being robbed of over three 
 hundred and sixty thousand dollars, which he was keeping in his house, not 
 caring to trust the unstable "wild-cat" banks of that time, he having lost 
 heavily by them on three occasions. The prime mover in this robbery was 
 never caught. To Mr. and Mrs. Reid have been born six children, five of 
 whom are living, one dying in infancy, named as follows : Lyle F., born De- 
 cember 13, 1885, is a traveling musician and electrician with the Chase Theat- 
 rical Company, with which company he has been connected for four years ; 
 Ida Pearl, born December 3, 1888, resides at home, and is toll operator at the 
 Newton telephone exchange; George M., born January 21, 1894; Hazel L.. 
 born January 13, 1896; Gladys G., born August i, 1902. 
 
 Mr. Reid is a member of Central Lodge No. jt^, Independent Order of 
 Odd Fellows, of Newton, being also a member of the encampment and Uni- 
 form Rank. Mrs. Reid is a member of the local Rel^ekah lodge and also 
 member of the First Christian church of Newton, and the Ladies Aid Society. 
 In politics Mr. Reid is a Republican. 
 
 L. T. HARMON. 
 
 The subject of this sketch is known to be a man of courage, self-reliance 
 and of the utmost integrity of purpose, as a result of which he has, during his 
 entire life, stood high in the estimation of his neighbors and friends and is 
 therefore deserving of a place in this book. 
 
 L. T. Harmon was born in Jasper county, Iowa, July 28, 1866. He grew 
 to manhood and was educated there and has always been identified with the 
 agricultural interests of this and Marshall counties. He is the son of William 
 Harmon, who married Mrs. Julia A. Miller-McKeever, early settlers of Jasper 
 county ; the father died in Jasper county and the mother in Dallas county. A. L. 
 Harmon, twin brother of L. T.. of this review, resides in Adel, Iowa; J. A., 
 another brother, died in Dallas county; M. J. lives in Adel; \V. S. lives in 
 Dallas county; Ola ^May died at the age of nine years. The mother of these
 
 i 
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. ' 655 
 
 children had the following children hy her first marriage: B. A., of Des 
 Moines; D. A., of Mingo. Iowa: W. L. resides at Oswalt. Iowa: Amanda A. 
 is deceased: Emma Beard, of Jasper county: Samantha Humphrey, of Dallas 
 count}- ; Evaline died in Dallas county : J. H. is deceased : Loretta died when 
 eighteen years of age ; S. H. lives in Kansas. 
 
 L. T. Harmon, of this review, was married on January 22. 1889, to Hat- 
 tie Elizabeth Thompson, who was born in Clear Creek township. Jasper 
 county. August 27, 1871, and there she grew to womanhood and attended 
 school. Her father, Samuel Thompson, who was one of the early settlers of 
 Jasper county, was born in \'enango county, Pennsylvania. March 17. 1830. 
 \\'hen ten years of age he moved to Wayne county, Ohio, and remained there 
 until 185 1, when he moved to Jasper county. Iowa, and he has continued to 
 live in this locality ever since, being now a resident of State Center township. 
 Marshall county. His father, W^illiam Thompson, who was a "forty-niner.'' 
 was a native of Westmoreland county. Pennsylvania, and he died in Iowa : the 
 mother. [Margaret ^lorehead, also a native of Pennsylvania, died in Iowa. 
 Samuel Thompson was third in a family of nine children. He was married in 
 1852 to Harriet Deeter, who died the following year, after which he married 
 a sister of his first wife, Catherine H. Deeter. who was born in 1833 and died 
 in Rhodes, Iowa. One child, Margaret Ellen Dodd, was born of the first 
 union, her birth occurring on December 19, 1852; she is living in Jasper 
 county. To the second union eleven children were born, namely : Mar)- 
 Alulia [McNorris lives at Valley Junction. Iowa ; Annis Capron is deceased ; 
 Samuel lives at Olathe, Kansas ; Lillian Walker is deceased ; Jennie Signs lives 
 in Olathe, Kansas ; Rose Hand lives in Colo, Iowa : Sadie Corbett lives at 
 State Center, Iowa: John lives at Clyde, Iowa. The youngest son died in 
 infancy; Hattie Elizabeth, wife of Mr. Harmon, of this review. 
 
 Samuel Thompson owns a well improved farm of two hundred and 
 twehe acres in Clear Creek township, Jasper county, Iowa. He is a veteran 
 of the Civil war, having enlisted in Company E. Fortieth Iowa \'olunteer 
 Infantry, in which he ser\ed two years and eight months in the Army of the 
 Potomac. He is one of the honored pioneers of Iowa, having come overland 
 from Hancock county, Ohio. In i860 he made an overland trip to Pike's 
 Peak. He is now making his home with his daughter, Mrs. Corbett. of State 
 Center. 
 
 Four sons have been born to Mr. and Mrs. L. T. Harmon, of this review. 
 
 namely: Ora C. born July 21, 1890, lives in Marshall county; Clare G.. born 
 
 April 15, 1897, is with his parents on the farm; Leonidas B., born August 6, 
 
 . 1899; Russell A., born February 12, 1906. The eldest child was born in
 
 656 JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA. 
 
 Jasper county, the others in Marshall county, Ora C. having been born on the 
 same farm on which his mother was born. 
 
 PoHtically, Mr. Harmon is a Democrat and he has been a member of the 
 school board. He belongs to the Modern Brotherhood of America at Rhodes. 
 The son, Ora C, belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America at Rhodes. 
 Mrs. Harmon is a member of Crystal Chapter No. 11, Order of the Eastern 
 Star, at Rhodes. 
 
 MISS HANNAH NICHOLS. 
 
 The part women played in assisting the early settlers can not be under- 
 estimated. By nature not as robust physically as their male companions, 
 hardships and privations leaned more heavily upon them, but the women of 
 that day who came with their husbands and families into the loneliness of 
 what was then the wilderness or the wild trackless plains were equal to the 
 occasion. The pioneer woman, w'hether married or single, helped dispel 
 the gloom, to disseminate the sense of hopelessness w'hich occasionally fell 
 upon the settlers in their relentless labor. A woman of such caliber is 
 Hannah Nichols, who can claim a wide acquaintance and 'a host of loyal 
 friends throughout Jasper county, who, having passed her four score and 
 sixth mile-stone, is an interesting link between the present and the rifle- 
 bearing days of the first settler w^hen hardships were the rule and pleasures 
 the exception. 
 
 Miss Nichols, w'ho is a member of the Fugard family and who is making 
 her home with Noble J. Fugard, mentioned at length on another page of this 
 volume, she being a sister of Mrs. Fugard' s mother, was one of the very 
 early settlers of Jasper county. She was born August 12, 1825, in Ottawa 
 county, Ohio, and she was the daughter of John and Mary (McLoyd) 
 Nichols, the father having been born in Virginia in 1790, and the mother's 
 birth occurred in the same state in 1791. They came to Ohio in early youth 
 and were married there, continuing to reside there until 1836, when they 
 moved to Henry county, Indiana, where Mr. Nichols worked as a carpenter. 
 In 1854 the family moved to Iowa and settled in Henry county at first and in 
 the fall of that year they came to Buena Vista township, Jasper county, and 
 bought one hundred and sixty acres just a mile north of Murphy, for which 
 they paid fifteen dollars per acre for the prairie land and twenty dollars per 
 acre for the timber land. At that time there were only five families in the 
 township. The death of John Nichols occurred on December 22, 1855, his
 
 MISS HANNAH NICHOLS AND LITTLE DAISY FUGARD
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 657 
 
 widow siirvi\ing until June 18, 1870, both dying on the home farm which 
 they had labored so assiduously to develop. There were seven children in 
 their family, named as follows : Abigail, born July i, 1816, died in early life; 
 Nancy, born October 10, 1818, died in Jasper county, Iowa, in 1863; she 
 was the wife of Joshua Delhorn; Amy, born June 26, 182 1, died in child- 
 hood; John, born October 7, 1822, died in 1901 ; Hannah, of this review; 
 Mary, born May i, 1828, died the following year; Rebecca, born October 
 15, 1831, died April 23, 1863; she was the mother of Mrs. Xoble J. Fugard, 
 mentioned above. 
 
 For the past eleven years Miss Nichols has made her home with Mr. 
 Fugard and wife, the latter being her niece and they have been pleased to 
 minister to her every want, but being hale and in possession of her faculties she 
 is far from being a burden in her declining age, and is a woman of remarkable 
 memory, consequently her reminiscences of pioneer days are interesting and 
 instructive; she is quite active. She lived on the same farm from 1854 to 
 1904, a half century, when the place was sold and she moved to town with 
 the Fugard family. She has never married. Her life has been filled with 
 good deeds and she has always been known to have a very amiable and genial 
 disposition which has endeared her to all who have come into contact with her. 
 
 MARTIN L. LEWIS. 
 
 There are few people of Jasper county who have not heard of Martin L. 
 Lewis, the subject of this sketch, and to know him is to realize the pleasure 
 of knowing an honest, upright gentleman. He was born September i, 1842, in 
 Indiana, being the son of George and Eleanor (Ewing) Lewis, both natives of 
 Ohio. The father died in Tazewell county, Illinois, June i, 1853, at the age 
 of forty-four years, and the mother at Stanford, INIcLain county, Illinois. 
 
 The father was a farmer and a man whose word w'as his bond, being a 
 strict churcli member of the Baptist denomination. A few years after his 
 marriage he moved from his birthplace in Indiana and engaged in farming, 
 building a log cabin in the then wilderness. It was here that the subject of 
 this sketch was born. Next the father removed to Tazewell county, Illinois, 
 near the town of Washington, where he purchased sixty acres of land, which 
 he farmed until his death. After the death of the father the mother remained 
 on the land nineteen years, when she removed with her family to McLain 
 countv, Illinois, where she remained until she died. Mr. Lewis's mother was 
 
 (42)
 
 658 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 a Baptist and a woman of rare courage and Christian virtue, striving in every 
 way to inculcate the principles of honesty and industry in the minds of her 
 growing children. 
 
 Mr. Lewis is one of seven children, five of whom survive, whose names 
 are as follows: Mariah Gibson, aged seventy-six, widow of EHsha Gibson, 
 who, with her children, resides upon a farm in Nebraska ; Robert Lewis, aged 
 seventy-four, retired farmer, resides in Los Angeles, California, having been 
 a Northern soldier during the great civil conflict; Mary Wade, wife of John 
 Wade, died at the age of thirty years; Martin L., subject of this sketch; Sarah 
 Angenette Field, wife of Henry Field, died eighteen years prior to this writ- 
 ing; Eleanor Small, wife of jMillard Small, aged fifty-eight, resides in Deer 
 Creek, Illinois ; George Alvin, a retired fanner, residing in Moscow, Idaho, 
 aged fifty-six. 
 
 It was in March, 1894, that the subject of this sketch came to Jasper coun- 
 ty, settling upon a rented farm, where he remained ten years, farming and stock 
 raising. After that he went back to Illinois, remaining one year, after which 
 he returned to Xewton and engaged in the manufacture and bottling of soft 
 or temperance drinks, which business he still conducts, selling his products 
 all over the United States. His son, Merton L., manager of the plant, in- 
 vented the now famous "Cherry Blossom," a soft drink of unusual excellence 
 which is being sold everywhere. 
 
 Mr. Lewis was married to Adelia Field, a native of Illinois, who died 
 ten years later, while Mr. Lewis was living in Illinois. To this union were 
 born three children : George B., agent for the Adams Express Company in 
 Oskaloosa, Iowa; Daisy Martin, wife of Harry Martin, a farmer, residing 
 near Monroe, in Jasper county; Herbert, whose wife was Laura Swaub, is a 
 jeweler in Sutton, Nebraska. 
 
 Subsequently Mr. Lewis was married to Emma Deal, daughter of John 
 and Melvina (Eures) Deal, natives of Virginia. Mrs. Lewis died in Newton, 
 March 26, 1909. To them were born three children, namely: Deal H., 
 who married Catherine Livingston, resides in Jasper county; Merton L., un- 
 married, resides in Newton, being a partner with his father ; Bessie Whitaker, 
 wife of John Whitaker, a mail, carrier, resides in Newton. 
 
 Mr. Lewis has at all times been a public-spirited citizen, having served 
 five years as school director and five years as supervisor of roads in Fairview 
 township. He is a charter member of the Modern Woodmen of America, 
 Pine Tree Camp No. 394, of Sutton, Nebraska, at which place Mr. Lewis 
 lived for six years prior to coming to Jasper county, being engaged in the 
 livery Inisiness. In politics he is a Republican.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 659 
 
 PHILIP KLING. 
 
 It is always an inspiring thing to learn something of a good man's his- 
 tory. Life is so checkered and uncertain a thing that when we find an in- 
 dividual who has at all times been clean and steadfast' of purpose, and loyal 
 and true to the best that was by nature his, it is a pure delight to tell of him. 
 Such a man is Philip Kling, who resides as a retired farmer in Xewton. 
 
 Philip Kling was born in Hessen-Darmstadt, Germany, January i, 1859, 
 and came with his father to America in October, 1870, settling in St. Clair 
 county. Illinois. Here the family remained for three months, after which 
 they removed to Jasper county, Iowa, where they have since remained. Two 
 hundred acres of land were purchased in Elk Creek township in Jasper county, 
 and w^ith this holding they began farming and stock raising. Mr. Kling's 
 father, John Kling, and his mother, Elizabeth (Rodth) Kling, were both 
 natives of Germany and were splendid examples of the fine, hardy stock of 
 that great empire. The father died in June, 1889, at the age of eighty-five, the 
 mother in November, 1875, ^t the age of fifty-two. 
 
 Ten children in all came to America, all of whom are still living and all 
 of whom own their own homes. Seven of them, including the subject of this 
 sketch, reside in Jasper county. They are: Adam J., who resides in Sully, 
 this county, is a retired farmer; George, residing in Hickman, Xebraska, is a 
 shoe merchant; Catherine Reinheimer, wnfe of George Reinheimer, a farmer 
 residing in New Athens, Illinois; Margaret Hendricks, wife of Fred Hen- 
 dricks, a farmer residing near Galesburg, Jasper county ; Henry resides in this 
 county, near Kellogg, and is a prosperous farmer ; John, residing in Jasper 
 county, is a farmer; Philip, the subject of this review, is a retired farmer living 
 in Newton; Mary Sheen, wife of Daniel Sheen, resides on a farm near Shem- 
 ington, Wisconsin ; William J. resides on a farm in Jasper county ; Frederick, 
 who resides in St. Louis, is employed in a wholesale house. 
 
 On April 4, 1889, Mr. Kling v.as united in marriage to Lena \V. Castrof. 
 a native of Jasper county. She is the daughter of Frederick Castrof, of Jasper 
 county, who was born in Pommern, Germany, March i, 1846, and who died 
 in Jasper county. December 13, 1902. Her mother, Augusta (Andress) Cas- 
 trof, was a native of the same place. She came to America when about seven 
 years of age and is still living near Killduff. Jasper county, making her home 
 with her two sons, Frederick and Edward Castrof. 
 
 Mrs. Kling is one of four living children, namely : William, the first 
 born, first saw the light August 26. 1870: Margaret Snell. wife of J. W. 
 Snell, a farmer residing near Killduff, was born March i, 1872: Frederick
 
 660 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Castrof. whose wife was Effie Snell, resides on a farm in Jasper county. He 
 was born July 14, 1876; Edward Castrof, unmarried, residing with his 
 brother, was born July i8, 1878. 
 
 When Mrs. Kling's parents came here they could not speak a word of 
 English, but two days after landing at New York began work, and shortly 
 came to Jasper county, Iowa, in the year 1855. Here her grandfather entered 
 land from the government, later purchasing more until he owned four hun- 
 dred acres before he died, this being the farm upon which Mrs. Kling's mother 
 now lives. 
 
 Both Mr. and 'Sirs. Kling are members of the English Lutheran church 
 of Newton. jVIr. Kling is also a member of the Masonic fraternity, being a 
 Knight Templar and Shriner. He is affiliated with the lodge at Newton. He 
 is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Lodge No. 73, 
 at Newton. Mrs. Kling is a member of the Order of the Eastern Star, Chapter 
 No. 100, of Newton. She is also a member of the Daughters of Rebekah 
 lodge at Newton and is a woman of exceptional culture and refinement. 
 
 ]\Ir. Kling owns three hundred and twenty acres, besides his elegant home 
 in the city of Newton and other interests. Both he and his wife are affable, 
 kindly people, beloved by the great circle so fortunate as to call them friends. 
 In politics ]\Ir. Kling is a Democrat. 
 
 JOHN H. HARVEY, SR. 
 
 The history of Jasper county reveals the handiwork of many a great and 
 noble soul who wrought heroically and unselfishly. Her smiling fields and 
 splendid homes, her high-grade institutions, her happy, prospering people 
 speak volumes of someone's steadfastness of purpose, of someone's strength of 
 arm, courage of heart, activity of brain — of someone's sacrifice. But time, 
 that grim obliterator, before whose destroying fingers even the stubborn 
 granite must, in the end succumb, is ever at his work of disintegration. Be- 
 neath his blighting touch even memory fails, and too often a life of glorious 
 achievement is forgotten in a day. "Lest we forget," then, this tribute to the 
 elder John H. Harvey is penned. Pioneer, early freighter, a public-spirited, 
 brave, kindly, generous man, it is the desire of the biographer, as it must be of 
 all who know him, that his deeds and his character be recorded for the benefit 
 of those who follow after. By no means rich, as mere worldly possessions are 
 estimated, he is rich in a thousand thronging memories of the rugged days,
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 66l 
 
 long gone, when hardy men stood shoulder to shoulder and fought to conquer 
 the western wilderness. Hale and strong, although well past eighty, he may 
 be seen, almost daily, moving about the streets of Newton, now a city, but, 
 when first he saw it, a mere cluster of huts, set in the midst of the new prairie. 
 A few there were who preceded him into this virgin country, but they are very 
 few, Mr. Harvey having been numbered among its very first settlers. He 
 freighted the first printing press to be seen in Newton, from Muscatine, and 
 did many other useful things in the course of natural events, always doing 
 whatever he could to encourage the growth of the county. 
 
 Mr. Harvey was born in Madison county, New York, January 15, 1828, 
 and he is the son of Nathan and Oriel (Lyman) Harvey, the former a native 
 of the state of New York and the latter of Connecticut. The paternal grand- 
 father was born in Ireland. Nathan Harvey originally worked as a wool 
 dresser, but, after following this occupation some fixe years, he began farm- 
 ing, then, when his son, John H., of this review, was about four years old, he 
 sold his farm and began keeping a tavern on the famous old Cherry Valley 
 turnpike. This the father conducted for over sixteen years, the place becoming 
 widely known to the traveling public. Thus the boyhood and young manhood 
 of the son was full of that romance which clung so tenaciously about those early 
 hostelries. Day after day he watched the wagons come and go which were 
 bearing the emigrants from the east westw-ard. and night by night he sat by 
 the roaring fire-place and listened to many a fine old tale of adventure or senti- 
 ment. But though the ta\ern had a public bar in connection and drinking was 
 very common, he never touched liquor, and this fact, when we consider the 
 easy freedom of those early times, speaks much for his sterling character. 
 
 When about twenty-five years of age, Mr, Harvey came to Jasper county 
 and three years later his father came. In December, 1857, he built the house 
 where he now resides in Newton. For a year his parents lived with him. He 
 then moved to himself and later to Harrison county, Iowa, where his father 
 and mother both died. 
 
 John H. Harvey was married when about twenty years old while living 
 in New York, to Percy Ann Roberts, who died two years later, lea\-ing three 
 children, namely: Charles, who is now living in Plattsmouth. Nebraska; Mrs. 
 R. N. Stewart, of Severs, Iowa; and Mrs. Eva Bodley, of Jasper county. 
 When Mr. Harvey came west he left the children with his father and mother. 
 
 Mr. Harvey was again married, his second wife being Harriet Fenton. 
 who died about eighteen years ago; to this union five children were born, all of 
 whom are living, namely: Edward, William, John H., Jr.. and Carrie L.. all 
 of Newton ; and George, who lives at Laramie. Wyoming.
 
 (362 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 John H. IJarvey, Jr., was born on September 7, 1871, in Newton, and 
 he has spent his Hfe in Jasper county. He is a painter by trade and since he 
 was sixteen years of age he has successfully followed this occupation. During 
 the last ten years he has been employed in the works of the Maytag Manufac- 
 turning Company, the last nine years of this period performing very acceptably 
 the duties of foreman of the painting department. He has charge of the 
 painting of all the manufactured output of the factory. On April 10, 1895, 
 lie was united in marriage wath Louise Miller, a native of Wisconsin and the 
 daughter of Conrad Miller, both her parents being natives of Germany. They 
 emigrated to America in an early day and settled in Wisconsin, later came to 
 Jasper county, Iowa, and they are now living on a farm near Baxter, Iowa. 
 To Mr. and Mrs. John H. Harvey, Jr., have been born two children, Harlan J., 
 born April 17, 1898, and Edwena, a daughter, born September 7, 1903, her 
 father's birthday. 
 
 Mrs. Harvey is a member of the German Reform church, and she and 
 ^Ir. Harvey belong to the Pythian Sisters. The latter is very prominent in 
 lodge circles. He is a member of Newton Lodge No. 59, Ancient Free and 
 Accepted Masons, of Newton, of which he is senior deacon, also Delta Lodge 
 No. 53, Knights of Pythias, of Newton. He has passed all the chairs in this 
 lodge and is at present one of the trustees of the grand lodge of Iowa. He is 
 also a member of the Yeomen. 
 
 Young Mr. Harvey has been active in political affairs for some time, and 
 in 1904 he was nominated as Democratic candidate for auditor of Jasper 
 county, but was defeated, though he made an exceptionally strong race, run- 
 ning ahead of his ticket. At the spring election, 1909, he was elected to the 
 city council of Newton, and, having made a most creditable record, he was re- 
 elected in the spring of 191 1. He has served his party organization in many 
 ways and is a clean, energetic and. capable young business man, having the 
 trust and respect of all who know him. His sister, Carrie, is a popular news^ 
 paper woman, of exceptional ability and intelligence ; she is connected wnth the 
 Newton Daily Journal, one of the leading papers of this section of the state. 
 
 Since coming to Jasper county. May 21, 1854, John H. Harvey, Sr., has 
 spent nearly all of his time in the county. .\s a freighter he was once an im- 
 portant factor in the early affairs of the county. For a number of years he 
 hauled all kinds of goods from Muscatine to Newton, then, in 1859, he began 
 freighting westward to Denver. In 1864 he turned his attention to farming, 
 wliich he continued successfully up to sixteen years ago. since which time he 
 has led a retired Hfe, and, at peace with all the world, he is now enjoying that 
 consideration and good will which a life well spent has earned for him. While
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 663 
 
 never considering- himself a politician, he has always taken the keenest interest 
 in politics and in those great movements which make for the advancement and 
 betterment of his fellow men. He has served the city of Newton as supervisor 
 of roads and was for nine years constable, his duties taking him all over the 
 country. In religious belief he is a Congregationalist. and politically, while he 
 voted for Abraham Lincoln, he is now a Democrat. 
 
 The subject is one of seven children, but four of whom are living; they 
 are: Miles, the eldest, died in New Tacoma, California; John H., of this' 
 review, was second in order of birth ; Addison died in Harrison county, Iowa ; 
 O. B. lives in Ashland, Colorado; Emmet lives in St. Charles, Iowa; Mrs. 
 Theodora Gee, widow of George W. Gee, lives in Oakland, California; Mary 
 died in Harrison county, Iowa. 
 
 . REV. JOSEPH ARNOLD. 
 
 Examples that impress force of character on all who study them are 
 w^orthy of record, and the mission of a great soul in this world is one that is 
 calculated to inspire a multitude of others to better and grander things ; so 
 its subsequent influence cannot be measured in metes and bounds, for it affects 
 the lives of those with whom it comes into contact, broadening and enriching 
 them for all time to come. By a few general observations may be conveyed 
 some idea of the noble career of the late Rev. Joseph Arnold, for many years 
 one of the best known ministers and attorneys of Jasper county, united in 
 whose composition were so many elements of a solid, practical and altruistic 
 nature as to bring him into prominent notice, who. not content to hide his 
 talents amid life's sequestered ways, by the force of will and a laudable ambi- 
 tion forged to the front. His life was one of hard study and unselfish indus- 
 try, whose laborious professional duties in the various relations in which he 
 was placed, led to a high position in the esteem of the public, which gave evi- 
 dence that the qualities which he possessed afforded the means of distinction 
 under a system of government in which places of honor and usefulness are 
 open to all who may be found worthy of them. He passed over the troubled 
 sea of life like a galleon through the phosphorescent Spanish main, leaving in 
 its wake a pathway of illuminating radiance. 
 
 Joseph Arnold, son of Jesse and ^lary (Pucket) Arnold, was born at 
 Arba, Wayne county, Indiana, April i, 1832, and there he spent his early boy- 
 hood, removing to Henry county, Iowa, where the town of Salem now stands,
 
 664 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 in the vear 1839, later moving to Jefferson county, and in 1843 located in 
 Mahaska county where his father took a homestead on the first day that lands 
 were thrown open to settlers, two miles east of the present city of Oskaloosa, 
 his stock of farming utensils consisting only of an axe and an old-fashioned 
 flint-lock gun ; but he was a brave, hardy, persevering pioneer, who, in due 
 course of time, established a good home in the wilds. In 1851 as a carpenter 
 Joseph migrated to the Lynn Grove settlement in Jasper county to carve out 
 his fortune. In the year 1853 he received from Franklin Pierce, then Presi- 
 dent of the United States, his appointment as postmaster of Lynnville, and in 
 the same year was married to Tacy Smith, of Palmyra, Warren county, Iowa. 
 To this union were born six children, two of whom are deceased. 
 
 Up to the year 1861 the active business life of Joseph Arnold was one of 
 marked success, at which time he received an injury to the spine, by being 
 thrown from a wagon, from which he never wholly recovered. Being thus 
 deprived of physical strength, but having a strong mind, he turned his attention 
 from business matters to the ministry, and in 1864. after having prepared him- 
 self for this new work during a time of great physical distress, he was ordained 
 as a minister of the gospel in the Society of Friends, of which church he was 
 a birthright member. He continued taking treatment of the best physicians 
 of the country, but with little improvement, and he finally moved with the 
 family to Oskaloosa in 1867 for the purpose of being continually under the 
 care of a specialist. His wife died while living there in the year 1869, and 
 he was subsequently married to Sarah E. Hawkins, of Oskaloosa, to whom 
 three children were born. In 1852 he had purchased an interest with his 
 father in the flour and saw mills at Lynnville, which interest he retained, and 
 in 1872, having somewhat improved in health, the family returned to Lynnville 
 and Joseph Arnold was the miller there for some time until he traded his 
 interest for the property which was known as the Iowa House. The hum- 
 drum life of a landlord in a small town was not to his liking, however, so, 
 while looking after the wants of his guests, serving the town as mayor and the 
 township as justice of the peace, he studied law, devoting himself so assidu- 
 ously to the same that in eleven months after he began to read Blackstone he 
 successfully passed the recjuired examination and was admitted to the Jasper 
 county bar. besides performing his duties as minister of the gospel. He was 
 very successful from the first and soon enjoyed a satisfactory clientage, being 
 known throughout the country as "the Quaker lawyer-preacher," and in his 
 law practice the policy of Mr. Arnold was largely governed by the principle of 
 arbitration, even to the frequent sacrifice of justly earned regular attorney 
 fees He was an earnest, persevering, cautious and unbiased advocate, thor-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 665 
 
 oughly grounded in the principles of jurisprudence and as a speaker, whether 
 at the bar or in the pulpit, he was forceful, persuasive and not infrequently 
 truly eloquent. Something of his popularity in his home community and the 
 confidence in which he was held bv the pul)lic may he gained from the fact that 
 he was for fourteen successive years chosen mayor of Lynnville an<l he served 
 a subsequent term of two years. During his long administration he did much 
 for the upbuilding and permanent good of the town. He was not a politician 
 in the usual acceptation of the term, but when an emergency arose he was 
 always ready with his influence and personal efforts, indorsing all movements 
 calculated to be of general good to the community and county. 
 
 Illustrative of Mr. Arnold's early tenacity for freedom and the rights of 
 man, reference is made to his active part for the abolition of slavery for he 
 was one of the first ''stockholders, directors and conductors on the underground 
 railway." which made it possible for the transportation of many slaves toward 
 Canada and freedom. Again, when the campaign was on for the prohibition 
 amendment he left his business and went out to stump the southeastern part 
 of Jasper county for the cause of the home and right. His utterances on the 
 peace question were so clear and well defined that he was made secretary of 
 the American Peace Society and frequently represented the state of Iowa in 
 the great peace conferences of the several states and thus he enjoyed a wide 
 acquaintance throughout a vast amount of territory. He was regarded as one 
 of the prominent ministers of the society in the United States and his services 
 were often in demand in settling legal questions in which the churches were 
 interested. 
 
 From the year 185 1 until he was summoned to take up his work in a 
 higher sphere of action, on September 7, 1904, Mr. Arnold w^as closely identi- 
 fied with the public history of the county. In January, 1881. he drew up the 
 organization papers for the Old Settlers Association of Central Iowa, and con- 
 tinued as its secretary and most active member until his last illness in 1902. 
 He was ven,'- proud of this organization for it was the first of its kind in this 
 part of the state, and by far the largest. In all his business career he never 
 allowed anvthing to interfere with his attendance at the mid-week service at 
 the church, but would lock his office and attend divine worship. 
 
 Mrs. loseph Arnold, a woman of beautiful Christian character and praise- 
 worthy attributes, is still living at Lynnville, having attained the age of sixty- 
 eight years. The children of this family were named as follows : Jesse died 
 when three vears old: Mrs. Abbie A. Ratcliff died in 1896 at the age of 
 thirtv-seven years; Mrs. Mary E. Styles lives at Brentford, South Dakota: 
 Mrs. Emma A. Drvden is a resident of New Sharon. Iowa: Raford L., of
 
 666 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Newton, Iowa; Mrs. Ardilla CattcU lives in Pasadena. California; Mrs. Flora 
 Gregory lives in Chicago; Mrs. Maud Cause makes her home at Lynnville; and 
 J. W. Arnold is a resident of Hoisington, Kansas. 
 
 Throughout his entire career Joseph Arnold was animated by lofty mo- 
 tives and he made every personal consideration subordinate to the higher 
 claims of duty. Broad and liberal in his views, with the greatest good of his 
 fellow men ever before him, his conduct was that of the lover of his kind and 
 the true and loyal citizen, withal a man of the people, who stood among the 
 leaders of thought and molders of opinion and whose career was fraught with 
 great good to the people of Jasper county and the world. 
 
 EMMOR E. IRWIN. 
 
 Self-assertion is believed by many people to be absolutely necessary to 
 success in life, and there are good reasons for the entertainment of such be- 
 lief. The modest man very rarely gets what is due him. The selfish, aggres- 
 sive man elbows his way to the front, takes all that is in sight and it some- 
 times seems that modesty is a sin with self-denial the penalty. There are, 
 however, exceptions to all rules and it is a matter greatly to be regretted that 
 the exceptions to the conditions referred to are not more numerous. One 
 notable exception is the case of Emmor E. Irwin, well known business man 
 of Colfax, Jasper county, who seems to possess just a sufficient amount of 
 modesty to be a gentleman at all times and yet sufficient persistency to win 
 in the business world and at the same time not appear over bold; and as a 
 result of these well and happily blended qualities, Mr. Irwin has won a host 
 of friends throughout the locality of which this history deals, being well known 
 to all classes as a man of influence, integrity and business ability. 
 
 Mr. Irwin was born in Des Moines county, Iowa, January 13, 1859, and 
 he is the son of Robert and Mary (Bales) Irwin, both born in Belmont county, 
 Ohio, where they were reared and married. The father was a clerk in Ohio, 
 but upon coming to Des Moines county, Iowa, in 1855 or 1856, he turned his 
 attention to farming, having located on one hundred and sixty acres, twelve 
 miles west of Burlington. He soon had a good farm, and there he continued 
 to reside until 1S65, when he moved to Tama, and that was his home until 
 his death, about 1901, his wife having i)receded him to the grave two or three 
 years previously. They were an excellent old couple and could claim hosts of 
 friends wherever they were known. There were six children in their family.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 667 
 
 Emnior E. Irwin, of this sketch, who was named after his maternal 
 grandfather, Emmor Bales, a native of Ohio, received his education in the pub- 
 lic schools of Tama county, which he attended during the winter months, 
 working on the home farm in the summer-time, but he seemed to have a 
 natural bent toward the business world, so he started in the mercantile busi- 
 ness at Adel, Iowa, and in 1887 he moved to Oswalt, Jasper county, where he 
 continued to run a store for four years with his usual success; then, in 1891, 
 he came to Colfax and established a meat business which he conducted for 
 five years, enjoying an extensive patronage. His next \enture was in the 
 livery business, which he carried on for three years. Then in 1907 he was 
 elected county recorder, which ofifice he filled two years, discharging the duties 
 of the same in a manner that reflected much credit upon himself and to the 
 entire satisfaction of all concerned. Returning from the county seat to Col- 
 fax when his term of office had expired, he became manager of the Colfax 
 Lumber Company, which position he still holds, his business ability and 
 straightforward dealings with the company's numerous customers having done 
 much to further the prestige of the same. 
 
 Mr. Irwin, in his fraternal relations, is a member of Riverside Lodge No. 
 389, blue lodge of Alasons; Gebal Chapter No. 87, and the Knights of Pythias. 
 
 Mr. Irwin was married on July i, 1887, to Anna Bohlander, a native of 
 Illinois and the daughter of Peter Bohlander and wife, old settlers here and a 
 splendid family. To the subject and wife one child has been born. Clarence 
 E.. a graduate of the Colfax high school and now a teacher in the public 
 schools of this city. 
 
 HOTEL COLFAN. 
 
 To her mineral springs Colfax owes much of her present prosperity, and 
 to these primarily the building of the Hotel Colfax is due. James P. Donahue, 
 its proprietor and builder, has been actuated in the building of the hotel by two 
 motives : one, the care of the sick in a way to afford them all the advantages of 
 modern science and the benefits of the curative waters of the mineral springs; 
 the other, to provide in the midst of beautiful natural surroundings a hotel 
 with all the most modern and exclusive features, where the well may enjoy 
 recreation, and by rest and correct living build up a stronger state of health. 
 For the Colfax is an ideal place in which to spend a month in relaxation from 
 business or social cares.
 
 668 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 
 
 The Hotel Colfax is situated to the east of the village of Colfax, one mile 
 from the railroad station, and just twenty-three miles from Des Moines, the 
 metropolis of Iowa. Access to the hotel may be had by the trains of the Rock 
 Island, the hourly interurbans, and the hotel has its own electric line to convey 
 guests who come in this way to its doors, or by automobile, for the hotel is 
 only an easy hour's run over good roads from Des Moines. The visitor who 
 reaches the hotel finds upon alighting from the trolley or automobile that he 
 is at the summit of the highest hill in Iowa. Surrounded by natural forests, 
 the wide lawns, traversed by shaded drives, slope gently away from the hotel, 
 and the vast extent and heroic dimensions of the buildings create a feeling of 
 restfulness and cjuiet. One in the mood of solitude may find it here, even 
 though there are a thousand guests about the parks and piazzas. 
 
 The air, the scenery, the wonderful surroundings alone, w-ithout the min- 
 eral springs, make the Colfax one of the most satisfactorily situated hotels of 
 which man can conceive. From the Italian terrace you can see, on a clear 
 day, eighteen miles over the shimmering river, the luxuriant forest, and the 
 verdant fields. Walks passing through the hotel grounds in every direction 
 enter and wind away through the forest which encloses the buildings. Among 
 the many pleasant spots in the vicinity is Lover s Leap, overlooking a great 
 precipice. On returning from a stroll in the woods the hotel greets the eye 
 of the wanderer like a fairy castle of the olden days of enchantment. 
 
 The hotel is so complete in itself, with its garage and ice and cold storage 
 plants, its electric power house, pumping system and laundry, so independent 
 of the outside world, as aptly to be called a miniature city. The building is of 
 Moorish design, a style of architecture so perfectly adapted to the beautiful 
 surroundings as to seem to have been originated for them alone, and is abso- 
 lutely fireproof in construction, and inside and out a color scheme is worked 
 into every detail of wall, furniture, hangings and shades, as well as of towers 
 and minarets, and the whole gives an impression of unity and completeness of 
 decoration. The appointments of the hotel are equal to those of the most ex- 
 clusive of this country or Europe, and the perfect service guarantees freedom 
 from all petty annoyances of hotel life. In fact, the hotel is built on the plan 
 of the most exclusive CaHfornia hostelries, and run on the plan of an English 
 country mansion. 
 
 To all the comfort of the hotel and the charm of its natural surroundings 
 is added the curative and preventive properties of the waters of the Colfax 
 mineral springs, which are the full equal of those sold from the famous Old 
 World springs. The bath rooms of the hotel are unexcelled in equipment, the 
 services of a medical adviser are provided for the use of the patrons, and every
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 669 
 
 bath known to modern science, including the famous Manheim bath, may be 
 here secured. 
 
 Truly nature, with her scenery of magnificence and beauty and her waters 
 of wonderful curing power, and man, with his hotel offering the acme of 
 luxury, have combined to make Colfax one of the most attractive spots in the 
 world for the healing and the delectation of man. 
 
 H. A. THOMAS. 
 
 Among the many German citizens who have come to Jasper county to 
 make their homes and their fortunes, and there have been quite a goodly num- 
 ber, we find none who seems to have led a more consistent life or been truer 
 to the trusts reposed in him than H. A. Thomas, well known hotel proprietor 
 of Colfax, for his motto has been to live and let live, and he has, while advanc- 
 ing his own interests, not been neglectful of the interests of those about him. 
 For these happy qualities he has won the esteem of all who know him and is 
 today highly regarded by a wide circle of acquaintances among the tra\eling 
 public and local citizens, 
 
 Mr. Thomas was born in Silesia, Germany, on July 20, 1857. He is the 
 son of Henry and Augusta (Skobel) Thomas, both natives of Germany, where 
 they grew up, were educated and married and there they spent their lives on a 
 farm, both being now deceased. Their family consisted of thirteen children, 
 only two of whom ever came to America, the one besides the subject being 
 Robert Thomas, who lived in Davenport, Iowa, for ten years, but who now 
 makes his home with the subject in Colfax. 
 
 H. A. Thomas was reared and educated in the fatherland, taking a course 
 in the gymnasium, consequently he has always been robust and enjoyed ex- 
 cellent health. In his youth he took up farming there for himself which he 
 continued until 1882, when he came to America, believing that here were to 
 be found greater opportunities. After remaining in New York City five days, 
 he came on to the Middle West and located in Jasper county, Iowa, and here 
 he engaged in farm work for some time, then turned his attention to the hotel 
 business which he has followed for a period of twenty-eight years, having 
 taken a position as night clerk at the Mason House in Colfax in 1883. He 
 remained in that capacity, at intervals, for about four years, then in July, 
 1890, he became day clerk. Upon the death of the proprietor. Mr. Croft, in 
 1900 he assisted Mrs. Croft in the management of the hotel until her death,
 
 670 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 in February. 1907. when he became proprietor. ^Irs. Croft having willed the 
 hotel to Mr. Thomas in appreciation of his faithful services. He is managing 
 the ]\Iason House in a most satisfactor}^ manner and is extending its prestige 
 among the traveling public, which has long since shown its appreciation of the 
 eood manasrement and courteous and considerate treatment alwavs to be found 
 here. 
 
 Politically, ]Mr. Thomas is a Republican, and in his fraternal relations 
 he belongs to the ]\Iasonic blue lodge, the chapter and the commandery, also 
 the Ancient Arabic Order of Nobles of the Mystic Shrine. He is a member 
 of the Knights of Pythias and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, 
 and he stands high in lodge circles. 
 
 I\Ir. Thomas was married in May, 1891, to Mary E. Wharton, a native 
 of Iowa, and to this union four children were born, three of whom died in 
 infancy; Henry Thomas. Jr., is living at home. 
 
 RAFORD LINDLEY ARNOLD. 
 
 Holding distinctive prestige among the enterprising citizens of Jasper 
 county is Raford Lindley Arnold, popular and efficient cashier of the First 
 National Bank and the Newton Savings Bank, at Newton. Iowa, whose record 
 here briefly outlined is that of a self-made man. distinctively the architect of 
 his own fortunes, who, by the judicious exercise of the talents with which 
 nature endowed him, successfully surmounted an unfavorable environment 
 and rose to the position he now occupies as one of the substantial and in- 
 fluential men of the locality honored by his residence, having been true and 
 loyal in all the relations of life, standing as a type of that sterling manhood 
 which ever commands respect and honor. He is a man who would win his 
 way in anv locality in which fate might place him, for he has sound judgment, 
 coupled with great energy and business tact, together with upright principles, 
 all of which make for success wherever and whenever they are rightly and per- 
 sistently applied. Mr. Arnold is a creditable representative of one of the 
 old and highly esteemed families of Iowa, and possesses many of the sturdy 
 traits of his forebears. 
 
 !Mr. Arnold was born in Lynnville. Iowa, on August 12, 1861. The 
 family -noved to Oskaloosa. Iowa, in 1867 in order that the father, Joseph 
 Arnold, might receive medical treatment for an injury to his spine, which 
 accident O'curred in 1861. Moving back to Lynnville in 1872, Mr. Arnold
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 67 1 
 
 assisted his father in the flour-mill and later in the hotel known as the Iowa 
 House. Owing to a lack of means young Arnold was compelled to shift for 
 himself early in life and, although he met with many adverse conditions, the 
 training thus received fostered in him a spirit of perseverance and fortitude 
 which has contributed in no small measure to his subsequent success. He com- 
 menced clerking in the store of Gause, Macy & Company when only fourteen 
 years of age, thus his early education was neglected, but he has overcome 
 this deficiency by wide miscellaneous home study and reading and actual con- 
 tact with the business world. Later he was employed in the stores of John 
 Gray and J. ]\I. Rayburn at Lynnville. Afterwards a co-partnership was 
 formed under the name of Rayburn & Arnold, the firm handling a line of gen- 
 eral merchandise. This partnership continued successfully until 1894. the 
 firm having enjoyed a liberal patronage with the city and surrounding country. 
 In that year ]\Ir. Arnold turned his attention to banking, in which he has since 
 been engaged, having accepted a position in Baxter, Iowa, as cashier of the 
 City Bank of Baxter; however, he had previously had experience in this field, 
 having filled a similar position in 1892 and 1893 ^^ith H. D. Lane & Company, 
 bankers at Lynnville. 
 
 In 1 891 the City Bank of Baxter was incorporated into the State Savings 
 Bank with Mr. Arnold as the principal manager. In 1906 he accepted the posi- 
 tion as cashier of the two banks in Newton and here he has continued to give 
 the utmost satisfaction to the stockholders and patrons, performing his duties 
 in an able and conscientious manner that has elicited the commendation and 
 confidence of all concerned. During his nineteen years' experience in the 
 banking business the deposits entrusted to his management have ranged from 
 five thousand to the present figures, five hundred thousand. 
 
 Mr. Arnold was a birthright member of the Friends church, of which 
 denomination his father was an ordained minister. L'pon his removal to Bax- 
 ter Raford L. Arnold identified himself with the Congregational church and 
 was an active member of the same. After taking up their residence in New- 
 ton the family found a church home in the Methodist Episcopal congregation, 
 of which 'Sir. Arnold is treasurer. He has always been active in Sunday 
 school work, having twice been elected president of the Jasper County Sun- 
 day School Association, and at the present time he is a director of the Iowa 
 State Epworth League Assembly. He is a member of the executive board of 
 the Business ]\Ien's Association. Fraternally, he is also active and influential, 
 being a member of the Modern Woodmen of America, and is banker of the 
 local camp: he also belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and 
 Yeoman Homestead.
 
 672 JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA. 
 
 The domestic life of ^Ir. Arnold began on May 10, 1887, when he was 
 united in marriage with Mae Irene Raybnrn. the accomplished daughter of the 
 late Dr. C. E. Rayburn. of Brooklyn, Iowa, a well known and highly esteemed 
 family there. 
 
 The union of Mr. and Mrs. Arnold has been graced by the birth of four 
 children, namely: Aleta F.. born in 1889; Mildred T., born in 1894; Lowell 
 J., born in 1899; and Gerald E.. born in 1903. 
 
 Personally, Mr. Arnold is a genial, hospitable, public-spirited, unassuming 
 gentleman whom it is a pleasure to meet and who has justly earned the uni- 
 versal esteem in which he is held. 
 
 HERBERT E. NEWELL. 
 
 Among the men of influence in Jasper county, who have the interest of 
 their locality at heart and who have led consistent lives, thereby gaining defi- 
 nite success along their chosen lines, is Herbert E. Newell, who, although han- 
 dicapped by nature, has not been subdued by untoward circumstances, but has 
 been active and successful as an agriculturist, managing his fine landed estates 
 in Richland township with that care and discretion which stamps him as a 
 twentieth-century farmer of the highest order. 
 
 Mr. Newell was born in Scott county, Iowa, December 5, 1870. He is 
 the son of S. S. and F. A. (Powell) Newell, the father a native of Pennsyl- 
 vania and the mother of New York. They grew to maturity and were edu- 
 cated in the East. The father came to Iowa about 1853 and the mother about 
 1856. The former located in Davenport, and was a contractor. His wife 
 taught school for some time after coming here. They were married in Scott 
 county and they resided in Davenport until 1877, in which year they came 
 to Jasper county and located on a farm southeast of Kellogg where they es- 
 tablished a comfortable home and lived until alx)ut eight years ago when they 
 removed to Newton, the father's death occurring soon afterwards, in 1892; 
 the mother is making her home with her son, Herbert E., of this review. Ten 
 children were born to Mr. and Mrs. S. S. Newell, four of whom are living, 
 namely : W. E. lives near Altoona, Iowa ; S. H. resides near Kellogg, this 
 county; Mrs. Agnes Lorimer lives in Iowa City; and Herbert E., of this re- 
 view. 
 
 S. S. Newell, the father, was a business man of splendid attainments and 
 he became one of the substantial men of his community. He was a director 
 in the Mutual Insurance Company of Newton, also a director in the Jasper
 
 HERBERT E. NEWELL
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 6/3 
 
 County Fair Association. Fraternally, he was a member of the Independent 
 Order of Odd Fellows, and in religious matters a member of the Presbyterian 
 church. He was a good and useful man and highly esteemed by all who knew 
 him. 
 
 Herbert E. Xewell was seven years of age when his parents brought 
 him to Jasper county. He grew to maturity here and received a good educa- 
 ton in the country schools, which has since been supplemented by e.xtensive 
 home reading and study. He also attended school at Kellogg. When nine- 
 teen years of age he became afflicted with rheumatism and has since been a 
 cripple, but he has borne his lot with rare fortitude and is a pleasant, enter- 
 taining man to meet, and although he has not been able to work he gives his 
 farms his personal management and has been very successful as a general 
 farmer and stock raiser, his splendidly-improved and highly-productive farms 
 lying in Richland township. He has accumulated a very comfortable com- 
 petence and is deserving of a great deal of credit for what he has accomplished. 
 Politically, he is a Democrat and is a well-informed man on political and 
 current topics of the day. Mr. Newell has remained single. 
 
 GEORGE D. PARMEXTER. 
 
 Holding prestige among the successful agriculturists and stock raisers of 
 Jasper county, George D. Parmenter, now of Grinnell. Iowa, is entitled to 
 more than passing notice in the biographical history of this locality, for here 
 he labored long and arduously until he became one of the substantial men of 
 his township and one of its largest land owners, improving his home place until 
 he brought it up to a high and successful state of cultivation, in fact, rendered 
 it one of the choicest farms of this section of the state. He is a man of essen- 
 tial worth, very energetic and industrious and by diligent devotion to his voca- 
 tion he has succeeded in accumulating a liberal competence, besides much valu- 
 able land in other localities than this. His life has been led along such con- 
 servative lines as to insure the winning and retaining of the confidence of all 
 with whom he has had dealings in any way and he has ever stood ready to 
 lend what aid he could in furthering the general interests of his vicinity. 
 
 Mr. Parmenter was born in Rock Island county. Illinois, Januarv 2^, 
 1849, the son of Lorenzo and Kezia (Robbins) Parmenter. the father born 
 in Massachusetts and the mother in Pennsylvania. They came to Illinois in 
 their vouth. single, he with his sister and three brothers, and she with her 
 
 (43)
 
 674 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 parents and family, being one of a large family. One .sister located in Ohio, 
 but later in life came to Iowa, where her death occurred. ]Mr. and Mrs. 
 Lorenzo Parmenter married in Illinois. He had learned the tailor's trade 
 when a boy, but he turned his attention to farming in Illinois and \vas very 
 successful, becoming an extensive farmer, owning about three hundred acres 
 and there he and his wife spent the rest of their lives. Their family consisted 
 of four children. In politics he was a Republican and was very active in 
 party affairs, having held several local offices, including county supervisor. 
 His death occurred in September, 1896, his widow sur\iving until November. 
 1899. They were good and useful people and were highly honored in their 
 community. Mr. Parmenter's great-grandfather was in the Revolutionary 
 war. Oliver Robins, a brother of Mr. Parmenter's mother, was in the Mexi- 
 can war. 
 
 George D. Parmenter enjoyed the advantages of a liberal education, hav- 
 ing passed through the common schools and spent two vears in the Iowa State 
 University. He came to Jasper county, this state, and located on one hun- 
 dred and sixty acres of wild land which his father had previously purchased. 
 Here he went to work earnestly, broke the land and improved it, soon having 
 one of the choice farms of his township. He prospered by reason of close 
 application to his individual affairs and by good management he is now the 
 owner of four hundred and forty acres in this county besides eighty acres in 
 Poweshiek county, Iowa, and three hundred and 'twenty acres in North 
 Dakota. His Jasper county farm is a model in every respect and he here car- 
 ried on general farming and stock raising on an extensive scale. In 1893 
 he moved to an eighty-acre farm a mile west of Grinnell in Poweshiek county, 
 but sold this in 1902, retiring from active life and moving to a beautiful home 
 which he purchased at No. 1228 Main street, Grinnell, where he still resides. 
 He is a Republican in politics, and has held a number of local offices, including 
 that of township trustee. He and his wife are members of the Baptist church. 
 
 Mr. Parmenter was married on December 31, 1874, to Lydia Roberts, 
 who was born in Rock Island county, Illinois, the daughter of Arthur P. and 
 Maribee (Freeman) Roberts. The father was a member of the famous band 
 of "forty-niners" who sought gold in California. He returned to Illinois 
 where he lived until his death, in Novembei;, 1887, at an advanced age, having 
 been born on November 30, 1809. His wife was born on September 13, 1810, 
 and her death occurred on March 30. 1867. They were the parents of ten 
 children, five of whom are living, three daughters and two sons. One of the 
 sons. Isaac N., was a soldier in the One Hundred and Second Illinois \'olunteer 
 Infantry, and his death occurred in the hospital, of measles. contracted while
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. (^'J■^ 
 
 in the service. Two of his cousins also went to the front, one of them being 
 killed. Mrs. Parmenter's grandfather, Ebenezer Roberts, was a soldier in 
 the war of 1812, having enlisted from the state of Maine. After the war he 
 settled in Indiana. Arthur P. Roberts, father of the subject's wife, de\-oted 
 his life to farming. He was successful as a gold miner in the west and re- 
 turned to Illinois with enough money to buy a fine two hundred acre farm. 
 After the death of his first wife he married Mrs. Maiy E. Woods and she is 
 still living, making her home at Cedar Falls, Iowa. 
 
 Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Parmenter. namely: 
 Marcus ser\-ed in Company K, Fiftieth Iowa Infantry, in the Spanish-Ameri- 
 can war. and he now li\es on a farm in Poweshiek county ; Rosella is the wife 
 of O. J. Worcester, connected with the Grinnell Herald; Josephine and Flor- 
 ence are both at home. 
 
 JOHN SMITH. 
 
 Many families throughout the United States during the past few dec- 
 ades have gone to much trouble and expense to collect their records back 
 to the first settlement of their ancestor emigrant, thus laying the foundation 
 of a permanent family tree in this country- for the benefit and pleasure of 
 all descendants. There can be no doubt of the importance of this step. One 
 of these days, in the entailment of estates, such a record will be invaluable 
 to descendants. It will be found that those who do not have such a record 
 will not be able to prove their right to inherit valuable property. The saving 
 of such a record is simply a matter of self-preservation for the descendants. 
 The Smith family, represented by John of this review, has preserved a 
 fair record, good enough, perhaps, to make the claim certain in case of a 
 suit over an estate, and this sketch will, to some extent, improve this claim. 
 
 John Smith, an honored veteran of the Civil war, long known as one 
 of Jasper county's leading contractors and builders, who died at his home 
 in Xewton, October 11, 191 1, was born in Schuyler county, Illinois, Febru- 
 ary 2, 1843. He was the son of David and Henrietta (DeLap) Smith, the 
 father a native of Tennessee and the mother of Kentucky. David Smith 
 first moved to Illinois in the pioneer days, then to Iowa in 1854, locating near 
 Burlington where he farmed for six years, later moving on a farm of one 
 hundred and sixty acres in :McDonough county, where he lived until his 
 death, in 1867, at the age of sixty-eight years. His wife died at the age 
 of seventv-two, in Xewton, Iowa. They were the parents of eighteen chil-
 
 676 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 dren, a large family even in those early days; twelve of these grew to ma- 
 turit}'. namely: Da\id ; Mary Ripptoe, a widow; Mrs. Harrison Scott; Mrs. 
 Rhoda Gaul, and John, of this review, all reside in Newton. 
 
 John Smith received what education he could in Schuyler county, Illi- 
 nois, then a wilderness, in which lived Indians, wolves, deer, snakes, etc. 
 Later he went to school in McDonough county. During the summer months 
 he worked on various farms at fifteen and twenty cents per day. When 
 but a boy he proved his courage and patriotism by enlisting in Company D, 
 Twenty-eighth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and served as a brave and 
 efficient soldier for three years, one month and five days, being honorably 
 discharged at the close of hostilities, having seen much hard service, par- 
 ticipating in some of the bloodiest battles of the war, such as Fort Donelson, 
 Fort Henry, Shiloh, Corinth, Bolivar, Vicksburg, Jackson, Natchez and 
 many skirmishes. 
 
 Returning to jMcDonough county, Air. Smith purchased a ditching ma- 
 chine which he operated for two years, then farmed for four years, and on 
 August 19, 1870, he come to Newton, Iowa, where he engaged in farming 
 and teaming. He also learned the brick and stone mason's trade, which he 
 followed for many years, building and assisting to build possibly as many 
 buildings and structures in Newton and Jasper county as any other man 
 in this locality. He helped build every church in Newton except one. He 
 was known all over the county as a very skilled and conscientious workman. 
 
 On March 26, 1866, Mr. Smith was united in marriage with Mrs, Ur- 
 sula Dern, widow of James M. Dern, who was killed in the battle of Bull 
 Run during the Civil war. She was the daughter of Henry and Mary F. 
 (Gore) Rayburn, natives of Kentucky, and Mrs. Smith was born in that 
 state. Her father was in the war of 181 2 and her brother served in the 
 Mexican war. She is the sole and only survivor of the family of which there 
 were twelve children, ten of whom grew to maturity. The others were, 
 Nancy married Alex Bradshaw; McNeal; Amanda married James Kenni- 
 son; Henry W. ; Mary A. married Benjamin Lamb; John H. ; Belinda mar- 
 ried James Pilsher; Henrietta; Merritt C, who was in the Mexican war, 
 and William Newton. Mrs. Smith was the eleventh child in order of birth. 
 The parents of these children died in Ohio. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Smith six children were born as follows : Samuel, 
 who lives in Plattsmouth, Nebraska, is a farmer and traveling salesman; 
 Delia is the wife of William Fisher, a jeweler of Des Moines; Audrey is 
 the wife of A. C. Mowry, who is superintendent of the Colfax Telephone 
 Company; Alta is the wife of Walter Nitche, a stock man of Omaha; 
 Guy H. is a salesman in Omaha; Frank B. is deceased.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. ^-jy 
 
 By her first marriage two children were born to Mrs. Smith, both still 
 living, Louisa, wife of John Woodruff, and Alice, wife of Frank Manly, 
 of Grand Island, Nebraska. 
 
 Mr. Smith was a member of the Woodmen of the World and the Grand 
 Army of the Republic. Politically, he was a Republican. He "and his wife 
 have a host of friends throughout this locality. 
 
 FREDERICK A. RECKLER. 
 
 There have come to the United States from the German empire and 
 other alien lands men of limited financial resources, but imbued with a sturdy 
 independence and a laudable ambition to succeed, and who have taken ad- 
 vantage of the wonderful possibilities afforded here. Gradually, step by 
 step, they have risen to places of prominence in various lines of activity. 
 Of these there can be none mentioned who deserves more favorable attention 
 than Frederick A. Reckler, for many years one of Jasper county's successful 
 farmers, and who, having by his thrift gained a competency, is now living 
 retired in his cozy home in the city of Xewton. He is one of the honored 
 veterans of the great war between the states, having proved his patriotism 
 to his adopted country by gallantly fighting in defense of the Stars and 
 Stripes on many a sanguinary field, and even after being desperately 
 wounded and languishing for months in the terrible prisons of the South, 
 gladly returned to the front and continued to do what he could to save the 
 national Union. 
 
 Mr. Reckler was born in Saxony, Germany, November 28, 1831. He 
 is the son of Simon Gottlieb Reckler, who spent his life in Germany, a tailor 
 by trade, his death occurring when his son Frederick A. was nine years of 
 age. The father was in the German army against Napoleon. His wife, also 
 a native of Germany, lived and died there, the subject being the only mem- 
 ber of the family to come to America. He grew to maturity in his native 
 land and was educated there. Believing that the new w'orld held greater 
 opportunities for him, he set sail across the Atlantic in 1857, going by way 
 of Liverpool to New York. From there he traveled by rail to Davenport, 
 Iowa, and secured employment on a farm near there. \\'ith characteristic 
 German thrift he worked there steadily until the outbreak of the Civil war, 
 when he went to Wisconsin, and on April 22, 1861, only a few days after 
 Fort Sumter had been fired upon, he enlisted in Company C, Second Wis- 
 consin Volunteer Infantrv, under Captain McGee. At first he was sent
 
 678 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 to Washington, D. C, and he was at ArHngton Heights for some time drill- 
 ing; he was then plunged into real war by taking part in the first great battle 
 of the war. Bull Run. During this fierce engagement he received a very 
 severe wound that would have meant death to many another of less hardy 
 constitution, A bullet struck him in the left breast, passing through a 
 small German Testament and on through his body just below the heart, com- 
 ing out at the back. He still has this Testament, the hole through it bearing 
 grim evidence of the long and dangerous conflict. Air, Reckler was captured 
 in this battle and for six weeks he lay exposed in a field hospital with scant 
 attention ; he was then taken to Libby prison, later to the prison at Salisbury, 
 North Carolina, and still later to New Orleans. Shortly before General But- 
 ler captured the Crescent city, the prisoners there were returned to Salisbury 
 and paroled. Mr. Reckler was suffering with scurvy and was very sick of 
 numerous ailments, so he was sent to the military hospital at New York City, 
 where he remained eight weeks, after which he returned to Wisconsin and 
 began farming. But he could not be content to stay away from the front 
 and in October, 1863, he returned to his regiment and, as a private in the 
 Army of the Potomac, he took part in many of the greatest battles of the 
 war. including Mine Run, Spottsylvania and the Wilderness. After a re- 
 markable army record, in which he proved himself to be a fearless and splen- 
 did soldier, Air. Reckler was honorably discharged on June 28, 1864, and 
 he soon afterwards returned to Wisconsin. A year later he came to Iowa, 
 locating near Davenport and there farmed on rented land for five years, 
 then came to Jasper county and bought one hundred and sixty acres in New- 
 ton township, in 1869 and here he continued to reside until 1905, when he 
 turned the care of the farm over to his sons and moved to Newton, where 
 he is spending his declining years in the midst of plenty as a result of his 
 able management of the farm. 
 
 In 1867 Mr. Reckler was married to Henrietta Junck, who was born 
 in St. Louis, of German parentage. To this union eight children has been 
 born, namely : Mary, Christian and one infant are deceased ; the five living 
 are, Fred H., who resides on a farm in Sherman township; Emil is on the 
 farm in Newton township; Harriet married William Hildebrandt and they 
 live in Arkansas; Lena married Harmon Jensen and they live on a farm 
 in Sherman township; Laura married August Snelle and is living at home 
 with her parents. 
 
 Both Mr. and Mrs. Reckler are members of the German Lutheran 
 church. Politically, he is a Republican, and he belongs to Garrett Post, No, 
 16, Grand Army of the Republic.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 679 
 
 BELDING R. MtLELLAN. 
 
 One may live a lite of busy and successful years, niav fashion and 
 construct physical things and yet, if lacking true manhood and human sym- 
 pathy, his works are as nothing. Time, the grim destroyer, is ever at his 
 work of devastation; but there are some things which endure. Long after 
 we forget the material things a man may have possessed, we remember the 
 sacrifices he made, his cheerful Godspeeds and his inspiring example. Prin- 
 ciple is eternal, and courage and steadfastness of purpose have ever moved 
 the world, such as that possessed by the stout-hearted pioneer and soldier, 
 "Bell" McLellan, one of the best known and highly esteemed business men 
 of Jasper county, who died July 21, 191 1. 
 
 Belding R. :McLellan was born in Laporte county, Indiana, May 12, 1842, 
 and was the son of Joseph and Fidelia (Read) McLellan, the father a native 
 of Grafton county, New' Hampshire, and the mother of Bedford county, 
 Pennsylvania. The father devoted his life to farming, owning land in 
 Laporte county, Indiana, where he spent most of his life and where his 
 death occurred. He is remembered as a strong character, a man of pro- 
 nounced convictions, sterling honesty and persistent industry, a type of that 
 class of citizens from the bone and sinew of which all new countries spring. 
 His family consisted of seven children, two of whom are now living; the 
 eldest, Andrew, died in Laporte county. Indiana, about the spring of 1910; 
 Sarah Jane died in childhood ; Belding R. of this review was next in order of 
 birth; George W. lives on a farm near Laporte, Indiana: ]\Iartha married 
 George Reed and died in Michigan City in 1910; her twin sister, Mary, 
 married Charles McClure and they live in Gallatin, Missouri. 
 
 Mr. McLellan of this review spent his boyhood on the home farm which 
 he worked during the summer months and in the winter time attended the 
 district schools. He received a good schooling at St. Mary's Academy at 
 South Bend, Indiana, and Valparaiso University at X^alparaiso, Indiana. He 
 proved his patriotism when a mere boy by enlisting, in September, 1861, in the 
 Fourth Indiana Battery, and he was sent into Kentucky, hrst to Louisville, then 
 to Green River. He was assigned to Buell's command and saw his first hard 
 service at the battle of Shiloh; then he was at the siege of Corinth, 'and 
 later he was at Nashville, after which his division went to the vicinity of 
 Louisville, thence to Perryville and was in the battle there, in which Mr. 
 ]^IcLellan was severely wounded October 8, 1862, just below the knee, the 
 bullet or fragment of shell passing entirely through his leg. For a time he
 
 68o JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 remained in the temporary field hospital, No. 8, at Louisville, in fact re- 
 mained there three months, then was sent home. The injury incapacitated 
 him from work for some time, but as soon as he was able he began assisting 
 with the farming duties. He had been a very faithful soldier and, although 
 thus sorely wounded, never regretted his services to his country. In the 
 spring of 1865 he started over the plains of the great west with an ox team, 
 this incident in his career proving, perhaps more than anything else, that he 
 was a man of courage and energy; the many dangers, such as unfriendly 
 Indians, wild beasts, etc., did not deter him. It was interesting to hear him 
 recall reminiscences of this trip. He recalled the fact that Indians killed 
 white men ahead and behind his wagon train. Upon reaching Central City, 
 Colorado, he engaged in various lines of business. After an absence of 
 about two years he returned to Laporte, Indiana. On February 2^], 1867, he 
 was united in marriage with Rebecca A. Reed, daughter of Bazelleel and 
 Catherine (Flood) Reed, the father a native of Ohio and the mother of 
 Franklin county, Indiana. They were married in the county just named and 
 owned a farm there, later removing to Laporte county, Indiana, and buying 
 land there, where Mrs. McLellan was born. Mr. Reed came to Jasper 
 county, Iowa, in 1855 and entered a half section of land in Mound Prairie 
 township, which is still in the possession of the family. He entered this 
 land from the government and it remained undeveloped until 1872 when 
 Mr. and Mrs. McLellan came out and located on it, and, resolutely taking 
 up their labors, they had a good home in due course of time. Mr. and Mrs. 
 Reed are both deceased, Mr. Reed dying October 29, 1878. and Mrs. Reed 
 on September 4, 1861. All their children are also dead except tw^o; four 
 of them died in infancy; Joseph M'. died in Kansas just as he was starting 
 for the army, !May 15, 1864; Caroline died in Laporte county, Indiana, 
 December 13, 1878; Rebecca A., wife of Mr. McLellan, was next in order of 
 birth; Franklin died August 28, 1907, in Laporte county, Indiana; W. S. 
 lives on a farm in Jackson county, Kansas; George W., who died October 26, 
 1901, in Michigan City, Indiana, as at one time sheriff of Laporte county, 
 Indiana, being the youngest man ever elected to that office. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. McLellan, two daughters, both living, have been born, 
 namely : Minnie B. married George \V. Dickinson, lives in Newton part of 
 the time, but has property interests in Buchanan county, Iowa ; Effie married 
 C. A. Chapman and they live in Hood River, Oregon. Both these children 
 enjoyed the advantages of good educations, having passed through the 
 common schools, later attending the State University, and they are both 
 cultured and intelligent. Both were graduated from the business course.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 68 1 
 
 Mr. McLellan was very successful in a business way and he established 
 a pleasant home. He was a member of Garrett Post No. i6, Grand Army of 
 the Republic, of Newton. He was formerly a member of the post at Prairie 
 City and was quartermaster of the same. He belonged to Preston Lodge 
 No. 218, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Prairie City. Politically, 
 he was a Republican. :Mrs. McLellan, a woman of refined tastes and pleas- 
 ing address, belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church and is prominent in 
 the Woman's Relief Corps at Xewton. 
 
 VICTORL\ SANATORIUM. 
 
 The mineral springs of Colfax have greatly influenced the character of 
 the life and growth of the city in recent years. Of the several establishments 
 of dififerent varieties which have grown up in order to bring to the people 
 the wonderful advantages of the curative waters of these springs, special 
 mention must be made of the Victoria Sanatorium, which has been in ex- 
 istence since 1904, when Florence Brown Sherbon, A. M., M. D., her hus- 
 band, John Bayard Sherbon, M. D., and her father James Brown, incor- 
 porated the Victoria Sanatorium and Mineral Spring. The Doctors Sherbon 
 are in charge of the sanatorium. Doctor Florence B. Sherbon is a native 
 of Washington count}% Iowa, graduated from the Keokuk high school, the 
 Independence Training School for Nurses at the Iowa State Hospital, and 
 in 1902 received the degree of Bachelor of Philosophy from Iowa State 
 University. In. 1904 she completed her medical education at the same in- 
 stitution, receiving the degree of Doctor of Medicine and the same year the 
 degree of Master of Arts. Doctor John Bayard Sherbon is a native of Iowa, 
 and graduated in medicine from Iowa State University in 1904. Both he 
 and his wife are members of the American, State and County Medical 
 societies. Since 1904, when both Doctors Sherbon located at Colfax, their 
 history has been that of the Victoria Sanatorium. 
 
 The present home of the Victoria Sanatorium is a picturesque, red brick 
 colonial building, with spacious white porches, situated on one of the beautiful 
 wooded hillsides of Colfax. The corporation of physicians who own and 
 control it have spared neither trouble nor expense to make it not only a 
 credit to themselves and a boon to suffering humanity, but a credit to the 
 state and to the Middle West. It began its career modestly in a little thirty- 
 room brick hotel building; but was crowded out the first year. The building
 
 6S2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 was then complete!}" remodeled and enlarged, doubling its capacity and mak- 
 ing it up to date and entirely modern in every respect. The new building 
 proved as inadequate to meet the demand as the old, and the following year 
 a thirty-room brick building was erected as an annex, and has been in daily 
 use since the completion. 
 
 The sanatorium building is brick, with its long exposure north and south, 
 making it warm in winter and cool in summer. It is steam heated, with electric 
 lights, call bells and telephones, has an elevator and is well protected against 
 fire, and is artistically finished and furnished, with all outside rooms and a 
 pleasant outlook from every side. Although but five blocks from Main 
 street and depots, the sanatorium building is located at the end of its street 
 in a park of native trees, and as no traffic passes its doors there is an absence 
 of noise and dirt. 
 
 The water from the Victoria spring is classified as a carbonated cal- 
 cicsaline chalybeate, holds an unusual amount of sodium and magnesium 
 sulphate in solution, and has strong aperient properties. Its use is greatly 
 beneficial in many diseases of the stomach and bowels, in cases of diseased 
 kidneys and bladder, and various blood diseases, and especially in cases of 
 rheumatism. 
 
 The sanatorium is fitted for the care of many different classes of pa- 
 tients, such as those who are overworked and are in search of rest and re- 
 laxation; those suffering from nervous derangement, who are benefited by 
 the rest cure and the baths and exercises; cases of chronic disorder of the 
 organs of assimilation and elimination; rheumatic patients, in the curing of 
 whom the sanatorium has had wonderful results; cases of valvular heart 
 trouble, which are benefited by Nauheim baths, and appropriate exercises for 
 certain cases, for the care of which the sanatorium is especially equipped ; 
 and many cases of acute, non-contagious diseases, which are given careful 
 nursing and medical care. Tuberculosis and contagious diseases, as well as 
 troublesome mental cases, are not admitted. 
 
 The institution has a staff of competent resident physicians who take 
 all proper care of the patients, and who are not extremists, but use all 
 legitimate therapeutic measures. The equipment consists of the newest and 
 most approved apparatus, static machine. X-ray, high frequency coil, vibra- 
 tor, hot air machine, galvanic and faradic batteries, leucodescent lamp, etc. 
 A well equipped clinical laboratory is in constant use for diagnostic purposes, 
 and there is a well arranged operating room and a small perfectly appointed 
 hospital for the care of the more ill or helpless patients. The bath rooms 
 are well equipped for giving all kinds of hydriatric treatment, and are in
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 683 
 
 charge of a corps of skillful operators, who are thoroughly trained in both 
 American and Swedish methods in massage, orthopedic exercises, medical 
 gymnastics, etc. 
 
 It is not the purpose of the sanatorium to compete with local practi- 
 tioners, but rather to co-operate with them in caring for such cases as need 
 the advantage of sanatorium treatment in addition to regular medical aid. 
 
 The doctors in charge of this sanatorium are engaged in a much needed 
 work for the benefit of suffering humanity, in pro\iding for them the best of 
 treatment which modern medical science can provide, and ideally sanitary 
 surroundings, and their success has greatly encouraged their labors. And 
 there can be no nobler and no higher work than to minister to the ills and 
 sickness of mankind, to relieve them from pain and misery, and to prolong 
 their days on this earth. The physician who follows his profession in its 
 true spirit is the best friend of mankind, and the proprietors of the Victoria 
 Sanatorium have during its existence been responsible for the return of hope 
 to many lives from which it had been long shut out. 
 
 CHARLES E. GREENLIEF. 
 
 Clearly defined purpose and consecutive effort in the affairs of life will 
 inevitably result in the attainment of a large measure of success; but in 
 following out the career of one who has gained success by his own efforts 
 there comes into view the intrinsic individuality which made such accom- 
 plishment possible, and thus there is granted an objective incentive and in- 
 spiration, while at the same time there is enkindled a feeling of respect 
 and admiration. In carving out his career Charles E. Greenlief, one of the 
 leading business men and enterprising citizens of Newton, lived a use- 
 ful life and it seems that he tried to be of benefit to those who came into con- 
 tact with him, while laboring to advance his own interests, thus he is em- 
 inently entitled to the universal esteem in which he is held. 
 
 Mr. Greenlief is one of the honored native sons of Jasper county, and 
 he has been content to spend his life here, taking part in the development 
 of the same through all its stages. His birth occurred on January 19, 1868. 
 He is the son of William C. and Eunice (Brown) Greenlief, the father a 
 native of Montreal, Canada, and the mother of Steuben county. New York. 
 They came west when young and were married in Davenport, Iowa, the 
 father having come to Illinois from Canada in 1854, and after living in that
 
 684 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 state four or five years, went to Davenport in 1861. Near that city he 
 worked for a year breaking prairie, then, in 1862, came to Jasper county, 
 settling in Mound Prairie township on one hundred and sixty acres of raw 
 prairie land. To this he subsequently added eighty acres more and developed 
 it all into a fine farm and here they spent the remainder of their lives, the 
 father reaching the remarkable age of ninety-three years, the mother having 
 died at the age of fifty-five years. For additional facts relating to their lives 
 the reader is directed to the sketch of Leonard A. Greenlief in this work. 
 
 Charles E. Greenlief is one of a family of four children, two boys and 
 two girls; Hattie died when a baby; Emma J. died when seventeen years 
 of age; Charles E. of this review; and Homer B., of Des Moines, Iowa. 
 
 After the death of his mother the subject left home to make his own 
 way in the world, and, although but thirteen years old, he successfully ran 
 a feed mill for Will Arten of Prairie City for eight months. He then 
 worked as a farm hand for two years, after which he began working in a 
 machine shop at Des Moines, continuing there for several years, becoming a 
 very adroit workman. He then opened a saw mill in Marion county which 
 he operated two years, also ran one two years in Jasper county. He then 
 secured employment with the Parsons Band Cutter and Self -Feeder Com- 
 pany, being foreman of the machine shop for eight years. He then purchased 
 the home place and lived on it for two years, then went to Canada and 
 operated a steam plow for six months, having previously purchased a section 
 of land in that country. Returning to Newton, he bought an interest in the 
 One Minute Manufacturing Company and for six years has been superin- 
 tendent of the factory, no small amount of its success being due to his able 
 management and extensive knowledge of this line of work. 
 
 On December 25, 1892, Mr. Greenlief was united in marriage with Mrs. 
 Jomattie Cure, daughter of J. B. and Marian (Hibbits) Rumbaugh, of Ohio, 
 Mrs. Greenlief being born in Jasper county. Her parents were farmers and 
 are now living a retired life in Oskaloosa, Iowa. Their family consisted of 
 ten children, four of whom died in childhood; Mrs. Armittie Cunningham 
 died at the age of thirty-two years; Newton M. is in Des Moines; Mrs. 
 Mariah Swanegan and N. G. also live in Des Moines; Jomattie, wife of 
 Mr. Greenlief; Oliver B. lives in Seversville, Iowa. 
 
 Five children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Greenlief, namely : Nellie, 
 born April 6, 1895; Harry L., born May 29, 1897; Delta Grace, born Oc- 
 tober 3, 1899; Pearl May, born March 21, 1902, died when five months old; 
 Jesse William, born March 9, 19 10.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 685 
 
 By a former marriage Mrs. Greenlie^ became the mother of these 
 children: John Edward, born February 2, 1886, died when five months old; 
 Thomas J., born March 5, 1888; Hazel I., born April 19, 1890. 
 
 Mrs. Greenlief's father was a soldier in the Civil war and he is now an 
 invalid as a result of the hardships of army life. In an early day he was a 
 freighter, having hauled goods by wagon from Keokuk to DesMoines. The 
 first school ever taught in Mound Prairie township was taught in the house 
 of Mr. Greenlief's father. He was a pioneer here and has long been well 
 known in this part of the county. 
 
 Mrs. Greenlief is a member of the Christian church. Fraternally Mr. 
 Greenlief belongs to the Yeomen lodge, also the Newton Business Alen's 
 Association. He is one of the well-to-do and prominent men of this city, 
 is well known and has the respect and good will of all classes. 
 
 I 
 
 HENRY PETER SCHNUG. 
 
 The farmers who constitute the bone and sinew of Jasper county, 
 or, indeed, any section of this or any other state, are not those who are 
 unstable and unsettled, who change from one occupation to another, who do 
 not seem to know how to discharge the duties of citizenship until they are 
 told and who take no active and intelligent interest in public affairs, or who 
 hesitate in the support of schools, churches and property. The backbone of 
 this country is made up of the families which have made their homes, who 
 are alive to the best interests of the community in which they reside, who are 
 so honorable in their every-day affairs of life that it is no trouble for their 
 neighbors and associates to know it, and who, attending strictly to their own 
 business, are thus too busy to attend to that of others, who work on steadily 
 from day to day, taking the sunshine and the storm, and who rear a self- 
 respecting, honest family to a comfortable home and useful life. Such people 
 are always welcome in any community. They are wealth producers and this 
 country is blessed with many of them, among whom is the Schnug family, 
 of which Henry Peter Schnug, farmer and stock raiser of Elk Creek town- 
 ship, is a worthy representative. 
 
 Mr. Schnug was born in Elk Creek township, Jasper county, Iowa, on 
 September 16, 1866. He is the son of John and Anna Elizabeth (Strater) 
 Schnug, both born in Germany, the father in the town of Weidselters in 
 the duchy of Nassau on January 6, 1827, and the mother in Filbach,
 
 686 JASPER COUXTY, IOWA. 
 
 Herzogthuni, in the duchy of Nassau, August 6, 1833. They grew up in the 
 fatherland, received such educational training as was possible and there the 
 father learned the miller's trade, running mills for various employers, and 
 when a young man, in 1850, he decided to cast his lot with the North 
 Americans and accordingly boarded a slow sailing vessel for our shores. 
 He located in Richland county, Ohio, and there worked in a flouring mill, 
 and there he was married to Anna E. Strater, who had emigrated to that 
 county in 1842, when a young girl, with her parents. After the marriage 
 of the subject's parents, which occurred on September 21, 1851, they es- 
 tablished a home in Richland county and remained there until in 1856, when 
 they emigrated to Jasper county, Iowa, and here Mr. Schnug found em- 
 ployment in a flouring mill at Galesburg; later he ran Warren's mill, Marion 
 county, on the Skunk river, and across that stream he assisted in building 
 one of the first bridges that spanned it. He worked a great deal at the car- 
 penter's trade and he finally turned his attention to agricultural pursuits, 
 buying eighty acres of prairie and one hundred and twenty acres of bottom 
 land on the Skunk river, and he became very well established, developing 
 one of the best farms on that historic stream and there he continued to 
 reside, engaged in general farming and stock raising until 1905, when he 
 moved to Manson in Calhoun county, Iowa. He has been blind for the past 
 twenty-one years. He has long been a consistent member of the German 
 Lutheran church, and, politically, he is a Democrat. He has always borne 
 an exemplary reputation and his life work has been characterized by industry 
 and fairness to his fellow men. He came to this country when it was wild 
 and sparsely settled and he lived to see it grow into one of the first farming 
 sections of the great commonwealth of Iowa. 
 
 Three sons and three daughters were born to Mr. and Mrs. John 
 Schnug, named in order of birth as follows: Mtrs. Catherine Pahre is de- 
 ceased ; Mrs. Mary Strater is also deceased ; John Edward lives at Ralph, 
 Iowa; George is making his home in Pocahontas county, this state; Mrs. 
 Esther Walker lives in Council Bluffs ; Henry Peter, of this sketch, was 
 the youngest in order of birth. 
 
 Henry P. Schnug assisted his father in his general work when a boy, 
 spending his boyhood days in Elk Creek township, this county, attending 
 the common schools in the winter time. When twenty-three years of age 
 he -bought eighty acres of land, part of the home place, and set to work with 
 a will; he has accordingly prospered and he is now the owner of one of the 
 choice farms of the community, which consists of one hundred and ninety- 
 three and one-half acres, in Elk Creek township. He has here carried on
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 687 
 
 general farming and stock raising in a manner that has stamped him as 
 being fully abreast of the times in these matters. He has placed his farm 
 under a fine system of improvements and keeps his soil well tilled, so that 
 it has retained its old-time fertility. In the year 1902 he built a modern, 
 convenient and tastily arranged dwelling and he has other substantial build- 
 ings. He keeps a fine grade of live stock, making a specialty of Percheron 
 horses, Hereford cattle and he feeds large numbers of cattle and hogs, no 
 small part of his annual income being derived from this source. 
 
 Mr. Schnug is a Democrat politically and he has served his community 
 as township trustee. 
 
 On April i, 1889, was celebrated the marriage of Henry P. Schnug and 
 Margaret Kling. The latter was born in Elk Creek township on March 5, 
 1867, and here she grew to womanhood and was educated in the common 
 schools. She is the daughter of Henry Kling and wife, one of our honored 
 pioneer families. 
 
 To ^Mr. and Mrs. Schnug have been born the following children : Mur- 
 lin, born February 12, 1892; Pearl, born November 21. 1893; Ruby, born 
 June 19, 1895; Clifford, born February 4, 1897; Florence, born January- 15, 
 1901 ; Harold, born May 19, 1904; Helen, born September 25, 1906; Eldred, 
 born April 7, 1909. 
 
 WILLIAM DALES. 
 
 One of the owners of .extensive farming interests in Mound Prairie 
 township is the gentleman whose name initiates this sketch, one of Jasper 
 county's highly respected citizens. His valuable property has been acquired 
 through his own efforts, his persistency of purpose and his determination, 
 and the prosperity which is the legitimate reward of all earnest effort is 
 today his. 
 
 William Dales was born in Guernsey county. Ohio. July 21, 1854. He 
 is the son of Andrew and ]Mary (Gauley) Dales, both born near Belfast, Ire- 
 land, the father in 1826 and the mother in 1827. Andrew Dales emigrated 
 to America when he was twenty-one years old, having been married just 
 before he started. He came to Guernsey county, Ohio, later becoming the 
 owner of eightv acres. In 1886 he moved to Shelby county, Iowa, and there 
 bought eightv acres and there he and his wife spent the remainder of their 
 lives. Politicallv, he was a Republican and after the Civil war he l->ecame a
 
 688 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 member of the United Presbyterian church. His family consisted of nine 
 children, five sons and four daughters, of whom the subject of this sketch 
 was the oldest. 
 
 William Dales grew up on the home farm and assisted with the general 
 work about the place when a boy and he received his education in the district 
 schools in Ohio. Two years after his marriage he came to Jasper county, Iowa, 
 and bought eighty acres in Mound Prairie township. Selling that eighty, he 
 bought one hundred and sixty acres, on which he erected all the buildings 
 and made all other necessary improvements, setting out many trees, including 
 walnut and willow groves. He has been ver)^ successful as a general farmer 
 and stock raiser. He keeps large numbers of shorthorn cattle. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Dales is a Republican and he has been township trustee 
 and school director. He is a member of the United Presbyterian church. 
 
 Mr. Dales was married December 31, 1875, to Jennie E. Worthing, 
 who was born in Ohio, the daughter of Thomas Worthing, a farmer who 
 joined the Union army and was taken prisoner, confined at Andersonville 
 and starved to death in prison. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Dales the following children have been born : Mrs. 
 Mary M. Watt, Mrs. Agnes Maud Bond, Mrs. Minnie Pearl Leonard, Mrs. 
 Belva Lockwood Scow, Mrs. Ethel Newland, Bessie Zoe and William 
 Vincent. 
 
 JOSIAH B. EYERLY. 
 
 But recently the gentleman whose name heads this sketch was a familiar 
 and prominent figure in Xewton, where his business relations for many 
 years had been such as to make him known to many people and to gain for 
 him a standing as one of the foremost business men of the county. He had 
 reached an honorable age and lived a life full of usefulness and activity, never 
 giving up to the messenger of disease as long as it was in human power to 
 resist, and his taking away left a void in the hearts of friends and members 
 of his family which can not be filled, for there can never be another Josiah B. 
 Eyerly. 
 
 Josiah B. Eyerly was a native of Ohio, and was born at Lexington, in 
 Richland county, October 28, 1834, and at the time of his death, on March 11, 
 1907, had reached the age of seventy-two years, four months and fifteen days. 
 Eight of his brothers and sisters survived him: Rev. E. S. Eyerly, of Nor- 
 tonville, Kansas; D. H., of Hershey, Nebraska; Harlan, of North Loup, Ne-
 
 JOSIAH B. EYERLY
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 689 
 
 braska; George W., of Winterset, Iowa; Mrs. J. H. LaPella, of Earlham, 
 Iowa: Mrs. Alice Ferrin. of W'elmore, Kansas; Mrs. Hattie Gamble, of 
 Oklahoma, and :\Irs. Mollie Low, of Stuart, Iowa. 
 
 The parents of Josiah Eyerly came to Keokuk county. Iowa, in 1845, 
 where they resided on a farm until 1855. when they moved to Monroe. Jasper 
 county, and their son. not then twenty-one. came with them. For a time he 
 served as postmaster at Monroe, during the first year of the war. In 1861, 
 when the third company was organized in Jasper county, he enlisted as a 
 private under Capt. Thomas H. Miller, in Company B. Thirteenth Iowa \'ol- 
 unteer Infantry. He was soon promoted to sergeant, and in April. 1862. was 
 made sergeant-major of his regiment, on May 28th of the same year being 
 commissioned as first lieutenant of his company. For more than three vears he 
 served gallantly in the army, always doing his duty as a soldier and an ofiicer. 
 and taking part in many of the hardest engagements of the war. On Novem- 
 ber I, 1864, he was mustered out. and he then spent nearly a year in the service 
 of the government in reconstruction work. He then returned to his home. 
 
 In 1865 Mr. Eyerly was elected treasurer of Jasper county, on the Re- 
 publican ticket, and served for two terms, with a high record for efficiency. 
 He moved to Xewton when his term commenced. On October i, 1867, he 
 was united in marriage to Charlotte Piper, who died on Februarv 26. 1878. 
 leaving one son. William Eyerly. now living in Xewton. On the 27th of 
 August. 1879, he was married to Zerua Townsend. who died on April 24. 
 1886. On September 24. 1889. he was married to Celia Grandrath. who bore 
 to him four sons. Joe G., Fred S.. Frank R. and John B.. all living. 
 
 After retiring from the county treasurer's office in 1889. Mr. Eyerly 
 remained in Xewton. and for a time was engaged in banking, then for a num- 
 ber of years served as city clerk. After retiring from this latter office he 
 engaged in the real estate business. In all his operations he was successful, 
 and was in all his dealings actuated by the highest honesty and uprightness, 
 which gained for him the full confidence of the people. To him the word 
 friend had a sacred meaning, and to any one whom he called by that name he 
 gave the highest devotion and was loyal to him at whatever cost. But admir- 
 able as were the characteristics which this man showed in his more public 
 life, in his home the best qualities of his heart and soul were most manifest, 
 in the tender love and care which he gave to his wife and children, whom he 
 almost idolized and who returned his affection in like degree. Tmly they 
 suffered a great loss when this best of husbands and fathers was taken from 
 them, but thev hope to meet him hereafter and to renew their old association 
 where parting shall be no more. 
 (44)
 
 690 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Eyerly was a lo}al ^[ason, being a meml)er of all the degrees from 
 the blue lodge to the commandery, and in his life he exemplified the noble 
 principles of that order. He was one of Newton's men of influence, and that 
 influence was always exerted on the side of right and justice. Generous to a 
 fault, he always responded freely and bounteously to the appeals of the needy. 
 In his life he left a high example and manly fortitude and virtue to his sons, 
 and even better than the heritage of wealth which he left them is the heritage 
 of the memorv of his noble character. 
 
 FRED C ANDREAS, JR. 
 
 The eveiyday life, with its cares, necessities and duties, aft"ords ample 
 opportunities for acquiring experience of the best kind and its most beaten 
 paths provide a true worker with abundant scope for effort and improve- 
 ment. This fact was recognized early in life by Fred C. Andreas, Jr., one of 
 the enterprising and esteemed citizens of Sully, Jasper county, who seized 
 the small opportunities which he encountered on the rugged hill that leads to 
 life's lofty summit where lies the ultimate goal of success, never attained 
 by the weak, inactive and ambitionless. Mr. Andreas is carrying on the 
 Bank of Sully with that discretion and energ}^ which are sure to find their 
 natural sequence in definite success, and in such a man there is particular 
 satisfaction in offering in his life history justification for the compilation ot 
 works of this character. 
 
 Mr. Andreas was born in Elk Creek township, Jasper county, on De- 
 cember 20. 1875. He is the son of Fred C, Sr., and Mina (Castorf) An- 
 dreas, both natives of Germany, the father born on April i, 1843, ^^^^ the 
 mother on June 23, 1848. The maternal grandparents of the subject were 
 Charles and Anna (Wass) Castorf, natives of Germany, where they grew 
 up and married and from which country they emigrated to America in 
 1858, locating in Jasper county. Frederick and Sophia (Rohrdanz) Andreas 
 were the paternal grandparents of our subject. 
 
 Fred C. Andreas, Sr., grew up in Germany and there learned the black- 
 smith's trade. In 1857 the family emigrated to Jasper county, Iowa, the 
 grandfather buying a farm in Elk Creek township, where he lived until his 
 death. He gave his son, Fred C, the father of the immediate subject of 
 this sketch, eighty acres of land here, in view of the fact that he, being the 
 eldest son, had helped his father since a small boy. Fred C, senior, kept 
 adding to his farm until he had five hundred and forty acres of valuable land
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 69 1 
 
 at the time of his death, on March i8, 191 1, and he was one of the leading 
 farmers of the township and one of its most highly respected citizens. He 
 took an active interest in the affairs of the Democratic party, and served 
 his township very ably as trustee and he was treasurer of the independent 
 school district. He was reared in the German Lutheran church, from which 
 faith he never departed. His widow is still living on the home place. The 
 parents of the subject were married on January 11, 1868. This union re- 
 sulted in the birth of three sons and seven daughters, namely : Mrs. Emma 
 Rohrdanz, Mrs. W. J. Kling, :\Irs. Ella Sherman, ]Mrs. Martha Schnell, Fred 
 C, William J., Mrs. Cora Talbot, Frank, Mrs. Mar}- Watts and Stella. 
 
 Fred C. Andreas, Jr., grew up in his native community and he attended 
 the district schools in Elk Creek township. When only about twelve years 
 of age he began driving a team on the home farm and assisting with the 
 general work on the same. \\'hen twenty-two years old his father gave him 
 one hundred and twenty acres just west of the home place and here the 
 subject resided until March i, 19 12, when he moved to his commodious 
 home in Sully and took active management of the Bank of Sully, of which 
 he has been president since March i, 191 1. He had the farm under ex- 
 cellent improvements and in 1905 built a commodious and pleasant dwelling. 
 In connection with general farming he fed large numbers of hogs and bred 
 and raised Xorman horses of such a fine quality that they always found a 
 very ready market. 
 
 Mr. Andreas is a Democrat politically and he has served as township 
 clerk for four years and as assessor for two years, giving eminent satis- 
 faction in each. He belongs to the German Lutheran church. 
 
 Mr. Andreas was married on January 10, 1900, to Amelia Marie 
 Schnell, who was born in Buena Vista township, this county, on April 5, 1877. 
 She is the daughter of August Schnell and wife, a highly respected family. 
 One child has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Andreas, Percy Lee, who died when 
 six months old. 
 
 Mr. Andreas is a man of excellent business qualifications and he has 
 succeeded in whatever he has turned his attention to, being a man of sound 
 judgment and wise foresight, and he is one of the well known financiers of 
 Jiis township, being president of the Bank of Sully, to which position he 
 succeeded in 191 1. upon the death of his father (who had been president of 
 the bank for four vears preceding his death), and the duties of which 
 he has discharged with a fidelity and ability which reflects much credit 
 upon himself and to the satisfaction of the stockholders and patrons of 
 the bank. Personally, he is a very pleasing gentleman to know, cultured, 
 well informed, genial and honorable in all the relations of life.
 
 692 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 HARRY D. TERPSTRA. 
 
 To a great extent the prosperity of the agricultural sections of our 
 great country is due to the honest industr)', the sturdy perseverance and the 
 wise economy which so prominently characterizes the foreign element, both 
 those who have come direct from the European nations and their American- 
 born children. All will agree, after so much as a mere cursory glance over 
 our forty-eight states, that they have entered very largely into our popu- 
 lation. By comparison with their "old country" surroundings these people 
 have readily recognized the fact that in the United States lie the greatest op- 
 portunities for the man of ambition and energy. And because of this many 
 have broken the ties of home and native land and have entered earnestly 
 upon the task of gaining in the new world a home and a competence. Among 
 this class may be mentioned the Terpstra family, of whom Harry D., a 
 farmer of Elk Creek township, is a worthy representative; but he, being of 
 the first generation in America, had the good fortune of being born here, 
 thus avoiding many of the trials of his father, who had to master our 
 language, get acquainted with our strange customs and be assimilated, as it 
 were, into our civilization. 
 
 Harry D. Terpstra was born in Elk Creek township, Jasper county, 
 September 11, 1873, near Kellogg, and there he spent his boyhood and at- 
 tended the McKinney district school. He is the son of Dow W. and Rosa 
 (Napjus) Terpstra. both born in Friesland, Holland, the father on June 
 II, 1842, and the mother on September 23, 1848. The latter came to 
 America with her parents, John and Rosa (Plantenga) Napjus. and they 
 established their home near Red Rock, Marion county, Iowa, in 1856 and 
 there became well known. Dow W. Terpstra \vas the son of Watson and 
 Sietska (Zuidma) Terpstra, both born in Holland. The paternal grand- 
 parents of the subject of this sketch emigrated to the United States in 
 1850, and located in Lancaster, New York, and there they remained five 
 years engaged in farm work, then the family emigrated west, settling in 
 Marion county, Iowa, when that country was receiving its horde of settlers 
 from the Empire and other Eastern states. Watson Terpstra became the 
 owner of eighty acres of land in Marion county which he developed into 
 a good farm. His eldest son, Dow W., began to work on the place when but 
 a mere lad and there he grew up and married, later, in i86g, uKn-ing to 
 Jasper county, this. state, and here bought eighty acres near the hamlet of 
 Killduff. Later he traded this for one hundred and twentv acres in Elk
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 693 
 
 Creek township. Here he prospered and finally became the owner of four 
 hundred and fifty acres. He farmed on a large scale and was an extensive 
 cattle feeder and stock dealer. Accumulating a competency, he and his 
 faithful life companion moved to the town of Sully in 1905 and retired from 
 active life, living there until his death, on July ..11,. 1906, after a successful 
 and well spent life, during which he gained the respect of all with whom 
 he came in contact by reason of his model characteristics. Mrs. Terpstra 
 now lives on part of the home place. The father of the subject of this sketch 
 was prominent in the public affairs of his community. He was a Democrat 
 and in religious matters supported the Reform Dutch church. 
 
 Dow W. Terpstra and Rosa Xapjus were married on February 14, 1867, 
 and to this union eight children were born, named as follows : Watson 
 \'alentine, John X., Mrs. Sietsk George, of Xorth Dakota; Harry D., of 
 this sketch; Albert L., Mrs. Rosa Dick, Mrs. Yetta Romans and Martin. 
 
 Dow W. Terpstra was a true pioneer, locating here in the days of the 
 wild prairie which he saw transformed into a rich agricultural region, taking 
 a conspicuous part in the same. 
 
 Harry D. Terpstra, of this sketch, early in life knew the meaning of 
 hard work, starting to drive a team when only fourteen years of age. When 
 twenty-one he began life for himself, and he remained under his parental 
 roof-tree, working for his father until 1898, then moved to Sully and con- 
 ducted a livery barn there for two years. 
 
 On November 22, 1900, he was married, and at that time he moved to 
 Colfax where he opened a restaurant which he ran for six months, then 
 moved on one of the farms owned by his father-in-law in Palo Alto town- 
 ship, w^hich he rented for two years. In 1903 he moved on one of his 
 father's farms in Elk Creek township, where he rented for five years. In 
 1908 he moved on part of the old farm which he had previously bought. 
 This excellent farm, which consists of one hundred and sixty acres, has been 
 kept under a high state of cultivation and improvement by him and here he 
 has met with encouraging success as a general farmer and stock raiser. He 
 feeds four or five car loads of cattle annually, no small part of his income 
 being derived from this source. 
 
 Politically. Mr. Terpstra is a Republican, and while he takes an abiding 
 interest in the affairs of his communty, he is not a seeker after public favors, 
 preferring to devote his attention to his farm and stock. 
 
 On November 22, 1900. Mr. Terpstra was united in marriage with 
 Augusta L. Brodersen, who was born on February 26, 1874, m Palo Alto 
 township, Jasper county, Iowa, and here she grew to womanhood and was 
 
 i
 
 094 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 educated in the common schools. She is the daughter of Peter and Caroline 
 (Wulf) Brodersen, the father born on February 20, 1842, in Schleswig- 
 Holstein, Germany, which province was formerly a part of Denmark. The 
 mother was born on March 11, 1848, at Ratzwig, Germany. Mr. Brodersen 
 spent his boyhood in his native land and in 1865 he emigrated to Da\enport, 
 Iowa, and three years later he came to Jasper county, locating in Palo Alto 
 township. Mrs. Brodersen came to Newton, Iowa, in 1868 and she and Mr. 
 Broderson were married on December 17, 1869. They are now living in sec- 
 tion 34, Palo Alto township, where they have a pleasant home. The following 
 children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Harr)- D. Terpstra : Leslie Dow, 
 born December 27, 1901 ; Leah Irene, born November 11, 1903. 
 
 Mr. Terpstra is one of the best informed men and one of the most pro- 
 gressive citizens of his locality, keeping well abreast of the times and keep- 
 ing his home well supplied with good current literature. He believes in 
 adopting the most modern methods of agriculture, farms on the "intensive" 
 plan and therefore gets the largest returns for the least outlay of labor. He 
 is an excellent example of the thrifty second generation of Hollanders in 
 the United States, and he has the confidence and esteem of all who know 
 him, being a man who believes in following as far as possible, in his daily 
 life, the Golden Rule. 
 
 BERT A. ROMANS. 
 
 One of the most active, enterprising and thoroughgoing young farmers 
 of Elk Creek township, Jasper county, is the gentleman whose name intro- 
 duces this sketch. Bert A. Romans comes of a family that settled on the 
 wild Iowa plains when the Indians still roamed at will and the howl or the 
 wolf and scream of the wild fowl were still heard. Members of both sides 
 of the house were adventurous and enterprising and cared little for hardships, 
 at least they did not permit obstacles to thwart them in their efforts at 
 establishing new homes in new countries. Thus persevering, they succeeded 
 where the less courageous failed and became well established and useful 
 citizens. Many of their praiseworthy traits seem to have been inherited by 
 the subject, for he has met with success in material things and has at the 
 same time won a reputation for fair dealing and straightforward, honest 
 relations with all the world. 
 
 Mr. Romans was born in Elk Creek township, this county, on January 
 16, 1878. He is the son of Asbury D. and Mary A. (Wood) Romans, the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 695 
 
 father born in Illinois on Deceml^er 30, 1839, and the mother in Kosciusko 
 county, Indiana, on February 2, 1841. The maternal grandparents of the 
 subject were Eli and Elizabeth (Carr) Wood, both natives of Ohio, where 
 they grew up and were married, and from that state they moved to Indiana, 
 soon after their marriage, locating in Kosciusko county, where Mr. Wood 
 became owner of a farm. It was in 1856 that the mother of the subject and 
 her parents drove overland from Indiana to Jasper county, Iowa, with horses 
 and wagons, arriving here in June of that year, their trip having been much 
 pleasanter than those of other eastern pioneers to this country. There were 
 several families in the party and a number of young people. The weather 
 was most propitious and they all enjoyed the camping out. Grandfather 
 Wood bought one hundred and sixty acres in Fairview township, this county, 
 and there he lived until his death, having developed a good farm. He and 
 his wife were devoted members of the :Methodist Episcopal church. They 
 were the parents of twelve children, five sons and seven daughters, the 
 mother of the subject of this sketch having been the tenth in order of birth. 
 She attended school in Indiana and grew to girlhood there. Her mother 
 being in poor health, ^Mar}- A. took charge of the household work when but 
 a child, her older sisters having left home upon their marriage. 
 
 Mr. and Airs. Asbur}- D. Romans were married on February 5, 1865, 
 and they moved on the farm where the mother of the subject now lives in 
 Elk Creek township, in 1869. Eight children were born to them. Bert A., 
 of this sketch, being the sixth in order of birth, the others being named as 
 follows : Mrs. Mehala Carney ; Wallace lives in Mitchellville, Iowa ; Frank, 
 who was next in order ; ]^Irs. Jessie Butin, living in South Dakota ; Mrs. Laura 
 Efnor lives in Newton, Iowa; Mrs. Edna Whiteman lives in South Dakota; 
 Ora is deceased. 
 
 Bert A. Romans grew up on the home farm and when but a small lad 
 assisted with the work during the crop seasons, attending school in the 
 Pleasant View district. When twenty-one years old he began renting farms 
 in Elk Creek township, thereby getting a start. In 1907 he rented land of 
 Morris Gating in this township, and this he still operates, in connection with 
 eighty acres which he owns near by, just north of Galesburg. He is an 
 extensive hog feeder. Politically, he is a Republican and he belongs to the 
 blue lodge of Masons. 
 
 Mr. Romans was married on September 21. 1906. to Yetta Terpstra, 
 who was bora and reared in this county. She is the daughter of Dow W. 
 and Rosa (Napjus) Terpstra, both natives of Friesland, Holland, the father 
 born on June 11, 1842, and the latter on September 23, 1848, and when
 
 696 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 eight years of age the latter emigrated to the United States with her parents, 
 John and Rosa (Plantenga) Napjus, who located in Marion county, Iowa, 
 where the mother of Mrs. Romans grew up and went to school, and in 1869 
 she and Mr. Terpstra were married. Dow W. Terpstra was the son of 
 Watson and Sietska (Zuidma) Terpstra, natives of Holland, from which 
 country they emigrated to the state of New York in 1850, where they lived 
 five years, then came to Marion county, Iowa, obtained raw land and on this 
 Dow W. grew up and worked hard. After his marriage he came to Jasper 
 county and bought eighty acres, which he later traded for one hundred 
 and twenty acres in Elk Creek township and here became a substantial, well 
 known citizen, owning four hundred and fifty acres, and for years he was one 
 of the largest cattle feeders on the county. Retiring from active life in 
 1905, he moved to Sully, this county, and there his death occurred on July 
 II, 1906. His widow is now living on a part of the old homestead. 
 
 Mrs. Romans is one of a family of eight children, the others being, Wat- 
 son Valentine; Mrs. Sietska George, of North Dakota; Harry D., of Elk 
 Creek township; Albert L., Mrs. Rose Dick and Martin. 
 
 GEORGE HENDRICKS. 
 
 It makes a wonderful difference in a man's life whether he earns his 
 property by severe toil or by easy methods, or has it bequeathed to him by 
 some industrious kinsman, for our personal habits are determined in no small 
 measure by the manner in which we become the possessor of material things. 
 People of all occupations should be thrifty enough to take care of what 
 they have, no matter how they obtained it, for they have others to consider 
 — children who have the right to demand of their parents that they save 
 the property left to them by ancestors. Such is a family inheritance, which 
 no member has the right to dissipate. One of the thrifty families of Jasper 
 county who have been careful both as to how they secured their property and 
 its retention is the Hendrickses, of whom George, of Elk Creek township, 
 is a worthy representative. 
 
 Mr. Hendricks is a native of the community in which he still resides, 
 having been born here on November 25, 1874. Here he grew to manhood 
 and obtained his education in the Brown district schools, and he spent his 
 summers engaged in farm work for his father, making a regular hand in the 
 fields when only twelve years of age, and the early discipline he received has
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 697 
 
 been of great benefit to him in his subsequent career. He remained at home 
 until his marriage, on October 2^, 1901, then the father deeded to the subject 
 eighty-seven acres of the homestead and there young Hendricks established 
 himself, improving the place generally and remodeled the house. He has 
 prospered through close application to his work and has since added eighty 
 acres in section 23, Elk Creek township. In connection with general farming 
 he pays special attention to raising live stock and breeds Hereford cattle. He 
 has a good farm which he takes a deep interest in and which yields abundant 
 han'ests under his management. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Hendricks is a Democrat in principle. He has been 
 justice of the peace and treasurer of Independence school district. Re- 
 ligiously he belongs to the Lutheran church. 
 
 Mr. Hendricks w^as married to Hattie Castorf on the date mentioned 
 above. She was born in Lynn Grove township, Jasper county, Iowa, May 
 8, 1 88 1, and here she grew to womanhood and was educated in the common 
 schools. This union, has resulted in the birth of the following children : 
 Clifford, who died September 17, 1904, was born on November 9. 1903; 
 Willie Frederick, born January 14, 1906; Freeman Charles, lx)rn February 
 2, 1908; Bernice, born November 22, 191 1. 
 
 For a complete record of the subject's parents, Fred and Margaret 
 (Kling) Hendricks, the reader is directed to their sketch appearing elsewhere 
 in this volume. 
 
 FRED HENDRICKS. 
 
 From forty to sixty years ago it must have been the rule and not the 
 exception to see farms in Jasper county in all directions in various stages of 
 improvement, some in which the log cabin stood on the bare prairie or in 
 the little clearing of half an acre, some with a tract of from five to twenty 
 acres, newly broken and with a hewed or rough bark house, perhaps a double 
 one; some with still more acres upturned to the genial skies and basking in 
 the life-giving sunshine. On nearly all farms were to be seen for years after 
 the first work had ^been done spots which the farmer thought it necessary to 
 avoid on account of thick, heavy stumps, and low wet places, needing drain- 
 ao-e ditches. Today a great difference is noted. On all these old fields 
 something is growing, the soil having long ago been reclaimed from the 
 wild. Fred Hendricks, one of our prosperous and most progressive farmers, 
 passed through just such hardships and trying experiences, lived through the
 
 698 JASPER COUNTY^ IOWA. 
 
 early and later periods of development of Jasper county and he has played 
 well his part in the work of transformation, as has many another whose 
 name honors these pages, for no one will deny that to these hardy, self- 
 sacrificing pioneers all honor is due. 
 
 Fred Hendricks was born in Prussia, Germany, October i, 1843. -^^ 
 is the son of John and Sophia (Gamer) Hendricks, both natives of Germany, 
 the father born in 1805 and the mother in 1800. The parents of the subject 
 grew up and were married in the fatherland, and there engaged in farming. 
 In 1857 these parents emigrated to the United States, locating in Jasper 
 county, Iowa, where John Hendricks purchased forty acres of land and 
 here they established the family home, and here the mother died in 1864 
 while her son Fred, of this sketch, was away in the Federal army. Fred 
 was the only child by the first marriage of John and Sophia Hendricks. The 
 mother had been formerly married to a Mr. Price and they became the parents 
 of three children, namely: Mrs. Mary (Price) Brandt, ]\Irs. Sophia (Price) 
 Brandt, and Carl, who is deceased. 
 
 Fred Hendricks attended school in Germany and for a short time the 
 Jasper count}^ (Iowa) schools and he grew up on the farm, assisting his 
 father with the general work about the place. He proved his loyalty to our 
 flag and the national union by enlisting in our armies in 1862, and he served 
 faithfully as a private in Company E, Fortieth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, 
 for a period of three years, receiving an honorable discharge. He returned 
 home from the army and worked on his father's place, one hundred and 
 twenty acres of which was later deeded to him by his father, and on this 
 the subject went to work with a will and subsequently added to his original 
 holdings until he is now the owner of one of the choice farms of the town- 
 ship, consisting of three hundred and fifty acres, which he has kept well cul- 
 tivated and placed under a high state of improvements. This splendid place 
 is known as "Elk Valley Stock Farm." Some time ago he deeded forty acres 
 to his son George. He has made a success as a general farmer and is now 
 well established. 
 
 Fred Hendricks was married on January i, 1874, to Margaret Kling, 
 who was born in Germany on September 12, 1847, ^"^ there she spent her 
 girlhood, emigrating to America with her parents in 1871. To the subject 
 and wife two children have been born, namely : George, born in Elk Creek 
 township, Jasper county, Iowa, November 25, 1874, is married and engaged 
 in farming in this township; John, the younger son, is living at home. Po- 
 litically, Mr. Hendricks is a Democrat and he belongs to the Lutheran church.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 699 
 
 WILLIAM SCHULTZK. 
 
 There is a great difference in this world of ours as to how we get our 
 property, whether by small degrees and hard toil or by suddenly making it in 
 one or a few lucky ventures or even by inheriting it from successful and 
 thrifty ancestors. It makes a wonderful difference in a man's life also, whether 
 he earns his home by severe toil or by easy methods or secures it from his 
 parents. One important fact will not be disputed, that if a man earns it by 
 hard knocks he is much more likely to retain it than if it had been handed 
 down to him by some hard-working, economical progenitor. "Come easy, go 
 easy" is literally true, and it is not to the credit of anyone that it is so. One 
 of the up-to-date farmers of Elk Creek township who has made his property 
 solely by hard licks, who was taught to depend upon himself early in life and 
 has therefore been independent and self-reliant all his life, is William Schultze, 
 who was born in Hanover, Germany, August 17, 1858. He is the son of 
 Henry and Tobina (Lutman) Schultze, both natives of Germany, the father 
 born in 1829 and the mother in 1828. There they grew up and were mar- 
 ried, in fact, spent their lives in the fatherland, never having come to America. 
 The father was a ship carpenter by trade and was regarded as a very skilled 
 workman. His death occurred in 1904. 
 
 William Schultze, of this review, was the oldest of a family of five sons. 
 After attending school in the community where he spent his boyhood, he 
 learned the blacksmith's trade, at which he worked, hiring to various persons, 
 until 1888, when, believing that greater opportunities existed for him in the 
 United States, he set sail for our shores and has since been content to make his 
 home among us, much to our mutual advantage. He at once took up his resi- 
 dence at Orange City, Polk county, Iowa, establishing a shop there, which he 
 conducted for one year. Then he went to ^Missouri, where he spent nine 
 months, later worked in Chicago five months, then ran a shop of his own in 
 Polk, Iowa, coming to Sully, this state, a year later, where he maintained a 
 blacksmith shop until the spring of 1908, then turned his attention to farming, 
 having saved considerable money from his earnings at the forge. He was 
 regarded wherever he worked as a very skilled blacksmith and always had 
 plenty of work. The place he purchased consisted of one hundred and sixty 
 acres in Elk Creek township, Jasper county, and he moved thereto at once 
 and soon had a good home and the place under good improvements and in a 
 high state of cultivation and here he still lives, being now very comfortably 
 established as the result of his long years of hard and constant toil.
 
 7(X) JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ]\lr. Schultze has never been much of a pubhc man and he adheres to no 
 poHtical party, preferring to vote for the best man seeking the office within 
 the gift of the people, irrespective of party. He is a member of the Christian 
 Reform church. 
 
 yii: Schultze was married on April 29, 1890, to Anna Van \'orkum, who 
 was born in Holland, from which country she emigrated to America when 
 young and they were married in Pella, Iowa. To the subject and wife have 
 been born seven children, named as follows : Artie, Henry, Gilbert, William. 
 Lena, Adolf and Jennetta. 
 
 HENRY F. PAHRE. 
 
 The agricultural interests of Elk Creek township, Jasper county, is well 
 represented by Henry F. Pahre, one of our most typical twentieth-century 
 farmers, enterprising and progressive. His thorough system of tillage, the well- 
 cared-for condition of his fields, the excellent order of his dealings and fences, 
 demonstrate his successful management and substantial thrift. In the commun- 
 ity where he has spent his life he has maintained a very high place in the con- 
 fidence and esteem of his many neighbors and friends, being regarded as a 
 representative citizen in every relation of life, discharging every duty de- 
 volving upon him with commendable fidelity and proving himself worthy the 
 large respect with which he is treated by all who know him. He has alwayj 
 been interested in whatever tends to promote the prosperity of his township 
 and county and to him as much as to any one man is the community indebted 
 for the material development for which it has long been noted. He has also 
 used his influence in behalf of all moral and benevolent enterprises, being a 
 friend and liberal patron of the church and the school, believing these to be 
 the most potential factors for substantial good that the world has ever known 
 or can know. 
 
 Mr. Pahre was born in Elk Creek township, this county, on July 19, 
 1859. He is the son of Ernest and Fredrika (Sanders) Pahre, both natives 
 of Hanover, Germany, the father's birth occurring on November i, 1822, and 
 the mother's on February 11, 1823. They grew up in their native land and 
 there the father received excellent educational advantages, his parents desiring 
 that he follow the ministry, but it seems that he did not take any too kindly to 
 this idea> and left college and joined a colony of his fellow countrymen who 
 emigrated to Quincy, Illinois, about 185 1. Among this number was Fredrika 
 Sanders and she and Ernest Pahre were married in 1851, the first year of
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 7OI 
 
 their stay in Illinois, and in 1854 they came to Jasper county, Iowa, locating 
 in Elk Creek township. Here Henry Frederick Pahre, brother of the sub- 
 ject's father, had located about 1850, having taken up government land, after 
 he had served in the Mexican war. Then he went back to Germany and 
 returned to this country with his father, the latter Iniying one hundred and 
 forty-three acres upon his arrival in Jasper county, and here the parents of 
 the subject established a comfortable home, became influential in the commun- 
 ity and spent the rest of their lives. The father died on September 13, 1897, 
 and the mother passed away on March 11, 1906. 
 
 Henry Pahre, brother of the subject, who was one of the pioneers of 
 Jasper county, became well fixed in a material way here, later adding eighty 
 acres to his original holdings. He broke the wild prairie and endured the 
 privations and hardships incident to pioneer life. When he first came here 
 there were deer in plenty and much wild game of various kinds. Politically, 
 he was a Democrat and he served his district as secretary of the school board. 
 Religiously, he was a member of the Lutheran church. 
 
 The following children were born to Mr. and i\Irs. Ernest Pahre: Louisa, 
 Sophia and Louis all died in early childhood of diphtheria, all within two 
 weeks; Henry F., of this sketch, is the oldest living child; ]\Irs. Martha Rohr- 
 danz, Mrs. Emma O'Brien and Christina. 
 
 Henry F. Pahre, of this sketch, grew up on the home farm and there 
 learned valuable lessons relating to the various phases of agricultural work and 
 stock raising. He attended the Andreas district school, and when only nine 
 years of age he began driving a team and assisting in the farm work in a 
 general way. He remained at home until he was twenty-five years of age, then 
 bought sixty acres. He then worked his father's place on the shares until 
 the death of the father, when the subject bought out the other heirs and is 
 now the owner of one of the choice farms of the township, consisting of two 
 hundred and eight-three acres ; he has kept the old place so well tilled, rotating 
 his crops and keeping the fields well fertilized so that the soil has been strength- 
 ened rather than thinned, and abundant harvests reward his annual toil. In 
 1905 he built a commodious, attractive and substantial dwelling and he has 
 good outbuildings. In connection with general farming he raises and feeds 
 live stock in large numbers, especially hogs. 
 
 As a good and intelligent citizen, Mr. Pahre takes much interest in 
 political affairs, voting with the Democratic party, the principles of which he 
 believes to be more conducive to the country's good than those of any other 
 political organization. He has ably and acceptably served his locality as 
 township assessor for a period of eight years and he was also township
 
 ■J02 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 trustee for three terms. He is a member and liberal supporter of the German 
 Lutheran church. 
 
 On January 15, 1885, was solemnized the marriage of Henry F. Pahre 
 and Catherine O'Brien, who was born in Fulton county. Illinois, on September 
 2, 1864. She is the daughter of Pat and Ann (Cunningham) O'Brien. The 
 father was born in Ireland and from that country he emigrated to Illinois 
 when a young man. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Pahre, 
 namely: Elmer, born July 13. 1888; Lawrence, born July 9, 1890; Edna, born 
 September 21, 1892 ; Roscoe, born September 24, 1895. 
 
 NICHOLAS LANDMESSER. 
 
 Fame may look to the clash of resounding arms for its heroes; history's 
 pages may be filled with the record of the deeds of the so-called great who 
 have deluged the world with blood, destroyed kingdoms, created dynasties 
 and left their names as plague spots upon civilization's escutcheon; the poet 
 may embalm in deathless song the short and simple annals of the poor; but 
 there have been few to sound the praise of the brave and sturdy pioneer who 
 among the truly great and noble is certainly deserving of at least a little space 
 in the category of the immortals. To him more than to any other is civiliza- 
 tion indebted for the brightest jewel in its diadem, for it was he who blazed the 
 way and acted as a vanguard for the mighty army of progress that within the 
 last seventy-five years has conquered the wilderness, upturned the wild sods 
 of the plains, and transformed them into one of the fairest and most enlight- 
 ened of the American commonwealth's fair domains. They seem to have had 
 the sagacity to foresee the present opulent state of Iowa, having had, in some 
 occult manner, been able to discern the future of this singularly favored sec- 
 tion of the great Middle West. 
 
 One of these honored early settlers is Nicholas Landmesser, a venerable 
 agriculturist of Elk Creek township, Jasper county. He was born in Luzerne 
 county, Pennsylvania, December 27, 1835, and he is the son of Nicholas, Sr., 
 and Catherine (Kriedler) Landmesser, the father born near Saarburg, on the 
 Rhine, in Alsace-Lorraine, Germany, formerly a part of France, on Decem- 
 ber 5, 181 1. The mother was born in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, August 
 20, 181 1. The father was of a Huguenot family and they were persecuted by 
 the Catholics in their native land. The father was a teamster and worked all 
 over western Germany. In the year 1833 he emigrated to America, the tedious 
 voyage requiring seven weeks on an old-time sailing vessel. He was accom-
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, 703 
 
 panied by a married sister and brother-in-law and an unmarried sister — 
 Nicholas and Louise Bisch and Alary Landmesser. The father of the im- 
 mediate subject of this sketch located in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, when 
 that country was practically new. He found employment first in digging 
 canals, later worked in coal mines. He remained in the old Keystone state 
 many years, but not getting the start he had anticipated he emigrated with his 
 family to Jasper county, Iowa, in 1854. They came to Chicago by train and 
 made the rest of the journey in a wagon, buying a team in the city by the lake. 
 Here the elder Landmesser purchased two hundred and twenty acres in Elk 
 Creek township, to which he later added seventy acres. He prospered in the 
 new country through hard, persistent labor and good management and become 
 one of the substantial and well known men of his community. He was school 
 director and active in Democratic politics. He was reared in the faith of the 
 German Lutheran church and he remained a supporter of the same to the end, 
 his death occurring on March 4, 1879, his widow surviving only a few months, 
 she having joined him in the Silent Land on November ist of the same year. 
 
 There were eight children in the Landmesser family, named as follows : 
 George, Daniel, Louis, Henry, Peter and Nicholas, of this sketch; Louise is 
 deceased and two children died in infancy, the subject having been the oldest 
 of the family. 
 
 Nicholas Landmesser, Jr., had to work hard when a boy, assisting his 
 father care for the younger members of the family and clear and develop the 
 home place, in fact, he did a man's work from the age of fifteen years, and he 
 then began working in tunnels and mines. He had little chance to obtain an 
 education, but in later life he made up for this as best he could by home reading 
 and contact with his fellows. Thus he grew to manhood in Pennsylvania, 
 being nineteen years old when he accompanied his parents to Jasper county, 
 Iowa, in 1854, and he continued to live with them until he was twenty-six 
 years old, then began renting land of his father. He spent the entire year of 
 1865 breaking wild prairie land, and that fall he ran a horse-power threshing 
 machine. In 1865 he purchased two hundred and twenty acres and his father 
 bequeathed forty acres to him, so that he is now the owner of a fine farm con- 
 sisting of three huijdred and thirty acres in Elk Creek and Buena Vista town- 
 ships, which he has kept well improved and under a high state of cultivation 
 and has met with encouraging success as a general farmer and stock raiser 
 all along the line. For some time he kept between thirty and forty cows, 
 running a dairy for butter, of which he made a success, later sold the cream 
 and shipped it to Chicago. He is one of the most widely known threshers in 
 this section, having owned and operated a threshing machine for the past forty
 
 -04 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 years. He keeps full-blooded Polled-Angus cattle, and, being a good judge 
 of live stock, he has met with more than ordinary success in this field of en- 
 deavor. 
 
 Mr. Landmesser is a stanch Democrat and has long been active in the 
 affairs of his community, his support always going to such measures as make 
 for the general development of the same. He has been township supervisor for 
 one term. 
 
 Mr. Landmesser was married on January 13, 1858, to Louise Keller, 
 who was born in Luzerne county, Pennsylvania, on August 18, 1836, and there 
 she spent her girlhood days. She proved to be a woman of praiseworthy char- 
 acteristics and a fit helpmeet for an enterprising man of affairs. She was 
 called to her rest on January 16, 1910. She was the daughter of Conrad 
 Keller and wife, this family having emigrated to Jasper county, Iowa, in 
 1856, thus being among the pioneers, like the Landmessers. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Landmesser were born eight children, named as follows : 
 Fred, deceased; Charles Henry lives in Canada; Richard lives on his father's 
 place and assists in operating the same; Isadore lives in Galesburg. this state; 
 Mrs. Henrietta Hieman ; Luther, Efifie and Wright live at home. 
 
 Mr. Landmesser is a well preserved man for his years, hale and active. 
 Personally, he is a man of positive ideas and has the courage of his convic- 
 tions. By a judicious daily life he has won the confidence and good will of 
 all who know him. 
 
 GEORGE HEWS. 
 
 Standing for upright manhood and progressive citizenship, George Hews, 
 of Xewton, one of our honored defenders of the national union during the 
 great Rebellion, occupies a conspicuous place, being widely known in the lo- 
 cality of which this history deals, and his influence in e\ery relation of life 
 has made for the material advancement of the community which he has so long 
 honored by his citizenship and the moral welfare of those with whom he has 
 been brought into contact. He is descended from a sterling pioneer family 
 of the Prairie state, and he himself was born in Illinois when that great com- 
 monwealth was yet in its infancy compared with its present day glory indus- 
 trially, his birth having occurred in Fulton county on December 8, 1842. He 
 is the son of James and Sally Maria (Efnor) Hews, both natives of the state 
 of New York, in which the father of the former engaged in agricultural pur- 
 suits when that countrv was little more than a wilderness. His familv con-
 
 o 
 m 
 O 
 
 73 
 O 
 
 m 
 
 X 
 
 m 
 
 > 
 
 z 
 
 D 
 
 -n 
 >
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 705 
 
 sisted of these children: James, father of George Hews, of this sketch; Will- 
 iam, Henry, John, Benjamin, Abraham, Anson, Harriet. Katherine and Caro- 
 line, all of whom moved with the family to Illinois and died in that state, ex- 
 cept the subject and Herrick. who was accidentally drowned in the state of 
 New York, also Henry and John, who went south, being at New Orleans 
 at the time of the great yellow fever epidemic and they have never since been 
 heard of, so it is believed that they died there of that dread scourge. 
 
 The parents of these children were married on September 30, 1832, 
 and for a time farmed in New York state, driving through to Illinois in the 
 fall of 1838, the journey requiring seven weeks; they located in Fulton county 
 where they bought land which they farmed until 1833 ^vhen they again loaded 
 up their household effects and sought a new country, moving to Jasper county. 
 Iowa, being among the early settlers here, bringing two wagons, one driven 
 by a team of horses and the other by six yoke of oxen. There were four chil- 
 dren in the family ; the sons. George and John, walked behind the wagons most 
 of the way from Illinois, driving their cows. The elder Hews bought eighty 
 acres of prairie and forty acres of timber in Elk Creek township. For this 
 and a team, harness and a wagon he paid the sum of five hundred dollars. 
 The family also entered over two hundred acres of land in different tracts in 
 that and Fairview township, the land they thus entered having been fractional 
 tracts lying along the dividing lines of townships and by the correction lines 
 were made fractional. Newton was a very small place at that time, in fact, 
 was little more than a cluster of a few log houses in a brush patch. There 
 were no houses between the Hews home and Pella, except along the divide. 
 Their friends warned against their settling so far west of them, saying, among 
 other things, that the wolves would lie in their chimney corner. But the land 
 was rich and, through hard work, a good farm was de\eloped and a comfort- 
 able home established. 
 
 George Hews grew up on the home farm and when but a boy he knew 
 the meaning of hard work, and he attended school in a log school house dur- 
 ing the brief winter months, in Fulton county, Illinois. There was no school 
 in his neighborhood in Jasper county for some time after the Hews family 
 came here ; finally the scattering neighbors banded together and erected a log 
 house in which thev proposed to educate their children, .\lthough this was 
 located about three and one-half miles from the Hews home, the subject at- 
 tended school there, walking to and fro through all kinds of weather. 
 
 George Hews was the fifth child in order of birth, but two died in in- 
 fancv in New York; the others are: John, who is mentioned elsewhere in 
 this work : Theadata Rosina married M. V. Saunders, a farmer, but they are 
 
 (45)
 
 7o6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ni>\\ ifiired and li\e in Xewtoii ; Sarah Ann married Alex. Snodgrass. who is 
 now deceased, and she makes her home in Xewton. 
 
 lames Hews, father of the above named chi'dren, spent the rest of his 
 h'fe in tlrs county, living on his farm in Elk Creek township until his death, on 
 February ih, 1875, at the age of sixty-tive, his birth having occurred in 1810. 
 His wife, who was born in 1806, reached an advanced age, her death occurring 
 on Fel)ruary 2, 1895, being eighty-nine years old. 
 
 George Hews without reluctance offered his services to the Union during 
 the great conflict l3€tween the states, having enlisted on August 21, 1861, in 
 Company I, Tenth Iowa Volunteer Infantry, under Captain Garrett, Willliam 
 H. Silsby, first lieutenant, and Steven Pogue, second lieutenant, the latter 
 later becoming captain and being killed in the service. Mr. Hews made a most 
 faithful so'dier. according to his comrades, and he saw some hard service; 
 hs was present at the boml)ardment of Island No. 10. and while at that place 
 he was wounded in the wrist l)y the accidental discharge of a gun just as he 
 was going off picket dut}- ; the bone was shattered and the wrist has been stiff 
 ever since. Having been honorably discharged for disability, he returned 
 home and after he had sutficientl}' recovered he again took up farming. On 
 November 21. 1865. he was united in marriage with Purthenia L. Ramsdale, 
 who was born near Saratoga Springs, Saratoga county, New York, the daugh- 
 ter of Zachariah and Elizabeth (Crawford) Ramsdale, the father a native of 
 Pennsylvania and the mother of Ireland. Her death occurred at the birth of 
 the suljject's wife November 21, 1845, leaving five children, the other four 
 being John, who died in the state of New York; Mary, who married Edwin 
 Face ; Van Buren and Ziba, the latter three all still living in New York. By 
 a second marriage of the father of these children, one son, Frank, was born, 
 w ho is now engaged in farming. 
 
 Soon after the marriage of George Hews he bought one hundred and 
 sixty acres of land in Palo Alto township, this county, and this he still owns, 
 having brought it up to a high state of cultivation and improvement. He 
 worked the ])lace continuously from 1875 till in November, 1902, when, hav- 
 ing accumulated a competency, he retired from active farming and moved to 
 his pleasant home in Newton, having bought a good residence property here. 
 Fie is a member of Garret Post. Grand Ann\- of the Republic, while his 
 wife belongs to the Woman's Relief Corps, and they are both memljers of the 
 Christian church. They are the parents of four children, Nellie and Nettie, 
 twins, the former living at home, the latter having died when six years of 
 age : Albert is living in Day county. South Dakota, is married and has two 
 children. Herald and Iva; William H. died when nine years of age.
 
 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 WATSOX \'.\L1l\T1\E TERPSTRA. 
 
 707 
 
 One of the worthy citizens of Elk Creek township, Jasper county, who 
 has long followed agricultural pursuits is Watson \'alentine Terpstra, who, 
 by close application when a boy. established those habits of industry and fru- 
 gality which insured his success in later years. Only a cursory glance at his 
 well-tilled fields, well-cared-for buildings and fences and the comfortable build- 
 ings on his place is necessary to demonstrate his successful management and 
 the characteristic thrift of his family, for since the pioneer days of this section 
 of the Kawkc; e state the Terpstras have been admired for their enterprise and 
 honesty In every relation of life they have been regarded as representative 
 citizens, discharging every duty dexolving upon them with commendable 
 fidelity and proving themselves worthy in e\ery way of the large measure of 
 res])ect with which they have been treated by all who know them. Their 
 lives have been as an open book, the pages of which are singularly free from 
 blot or blemish, and citizens in whom all classes have been pleased to repose 
 the most implicit confidence and trust, so that we are glad to give the readers 
 of this work a review of their careers, although somewhat brief and imperfect. 
 
 Watson V. Terpstra was born in ]\larion county Iowa, on Eebruary 14. 
 1868. He is the son of Dow \V. and Rosa ( Xapjus) Terpstra, both natives of 
 Friesland, Holland, the father born on June 11, 1842, and the mother (jn 
 September 23. 1848, and from there they emigrated to .America, the mother 
 when she was eight years of age. with her parents, John and Rosa (Plantengaj 
 X'apjus: they settled ne;ar Red Rock. ^Marion county. Iowa, in 1856, where 
 they lived one year and then mo\ed to Pella. There the mother of the 
 subject grew to womanhood and attended school, marrying Mr. Terpstra on 
 February 14, 1867. Dow W. Terpstra was the son of Watson and Sietska 
 (Zuidma) Terpstra. natives of Holland, who emigrated to .\merica in 1850 
 and located in the state of New York, engaging in farm work there for a peri- 
 fi\ e vears. then moved to Iowa, locating in Marion county, and there bought 
 eightv acres of land and there the father of the subject grew to manhood and 
 helped develop the farm from the raw prairie. After his marriage he moved 
 to Jasper county in 1869 and bought about eight acres of land near Kill- 
 duff, which he later traded for one hundred and twenty acres in Elk Creek 
 township. Here he worked hard and forged ahead and became one of the sub- 
 stantial and influential men in his community, finally becoming the owner of 
 four hundred and fifty acres on which he carried on general farming and stock 
 raising on an extensive scale, being known as one of the largest cattle feeders 
 in the county. Laying by a competency, he retired from active life in 1905
 
 708 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 and he and his good wife retired to their pleasant home in Sully, Iowa, and 
 there they continued to enjoy the fruits of their earlier years of industry until 
 Mr. Terpstra's death, on July ii, 1906, Mrs. Terpstra subsequently returning 
 to the farm and she is at present li\ing on a portion of the old homestead. 
 
 Politically, Dow \V. Terpstra was a Democrat and he took a great deal 
 of interest in the affairs of his community, holding se\eral local offices with 
 credit to himself and satisfaction to all concerned. He was a man of fine 
 personal characteristics, a typical pioneer, having found in Iowa a wild, new 
 country, and here he bore the hardships and worked hard to develop himself- 
 and eventually wrenched success from a resisting nature and, passing from the 
 arena on to his reward, left behind a clear record. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Dow \V. Terpstra eight children were born, named as 
 follows: Watson Valentine, the immediate subject of this sketch; Mrs. Sietsk 
 George, of North Dakota ; Harry D. is farming in Elk Creek township, this 
 county; Albert L., Mrs. Rose Dick, Mrs. Yetta Romans, Martin and John. 
 
 When Watson V. Terpstra was about a year old his parents moved to 
 Jasper county and here he grew to manhood and received his education in the 
 McKinney district school. W^hen he was sixteen years of age he went to 
 Pella, Iowa, and, having had a desire to enter the mercantile field, found em- 
 ployment there and learned the business, clerking in a general merchandise 
 store for two years. But not taking to this line as kindly as he had anticipatea, 
 he returned to his father's farm and there assisted with the general work on 
 the same until he was twenty-one years old. Then for two years he clerked in 
 the store of August Wendt at Newton, Iowa. Shortly after this he took charge 
 of the clothing department in the large department store at Boyden, Iowa, 
 remaining there two years, giving his usual high grade service and general 
 satisfaction. Then, in 1899, after having spent several years in the mercantile 
 business, he traded his property in Newton for a restaurant in Prairie City, 
 in southwest Jasper county, and he lived there one year, then traded his res- 
 taurant for a farm in Decatur county, Iowa. In 1900 he began renting a 
 farm of his father, a part of the old Jonathan Black place and also a part of 
 the old Nels Alloway place, Mr. Alio way haxing been the picturesque charac- 
 ter well known in this part of the state as the mail carrier between Marshall- 
 town and Newton before the days of railroads. The subject still lives on this 
 place, now owning eighty acres there on which he is making a very comfortable 
 living, and he also rents other land. Pie built a new. commodious and con- 
 venient dwelling in 1904 and he has improved the place generally. He keeps 
 good live stock, making a specialty of Poland China hogs. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Terpstra is a Republican and an active worker for his 
 party in a Democratic township, and his influence always helps to lower the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 709 
 
 majorities of the opposing party, Fraternally, he belongs to the Woodmen of 
 the World and he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
 
 Mr. Terpstra was united in marriage in 1892 with Anna Luella Holmes, 
 who was born in Cass county, Xebraska, on March 5, 1870. She is the 
 daughter of Frank T. and Hannah (Dove) Holmes, the father Ixjrn in Cape 
 May county, New Jersey, on July 7, 1837, and he was the son of Theophelus 
 and Mary Holmes, both natives of New Jersey, in which state this familv 
 has long been more or less prominent. Theophelus Holmes was a wheel- 
 wright by trade and during the latter part of his life he was quartermaster and 
 ship carpenter in the navy and was regarded as a very skilled mechanic by the 
 department. Frank T. Holmes, father of Mrs. Terpstra, grew up in his native 
 state and was educated there, and in 1855 he came west to Sangamon county, 
 Illinois, where he remained until 1858. when he went overland to Colorado 
 and worked in the Pike's Peak gold mines The Civil war coming on while 
 he was in the West, he enlisted, in 1861, in Company F, First Colorado Cav- 
 alry, and he served very faithfully until October, 1864. In 1866 he came to 
 Marion county, Iowa, and farmed on different rented lands until 1876, when 
 he moved to Galesburg, Elk Creek township. Jasper county, and there worked 
 at the carpenter's trade. He is now living in the town of Galesburg retired, 
 an aged, well kno\\ n and highly respected pioneer. 
 
 The following children have been born to Mr and ^Irs. Watson V. 
 Terpstra : Ina, born September 14. 1893 ; Blanche, born May 15. 1895 ; Forest, 
 born November 14, 1900; Harold, born January 7, 1903. 
 
 Mr. Terpstra is a well informed man, having been a student all his life, 
 and his home is well supplied with good literature. He is a very versatile 
 man, speaking four languages fluently. English, Dutch. German and I'ries- 
 land. This accomplishment has been a big asset to him in a business way. 
 Personallv. he is a pleasant gentleman to meet, straightforward and genial, 
 enjoying a reputation for fairness in all the relations of life. 
 
 FRED ROHRD ANZ. 
 
 The agricultural interests of Elk Creek township, Jasper county, are 
 ably represented by Fred Rohrdanz, who. during the entire period since his 
 birth, Februarv 17, 1859, has been a resident and honored citizen of the 
 locality of which this history deals. He is a connecting link with the pioneer 
 period of the history of this section, this family having been active in the 
 affairs of the same since the countv was attacked by the seekers of new homes
 
 J 10 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 from the Eastern states, something more than a half century ago. Going still 
 further back in the family history, it is learned that his parents in an early 
 day left the vine-clad hills of Prussia and joined the tide of emigration to the 
 free republic in the western hemisphere, for ihey realized that here was to be 
 found a land which the poet Mackay sang of in the old colonial days as a 
 "realm where the humblest may gather the fruits of the soil." This, of course, 
 implied some outlay of physical labor on the part of those who would be 
 beneficiaries of this great storehouse of mother Nature's. But this family 
 having been used to the hardest kind of labor in the old country, — labor which 
 had inadequate returns, — did not shrink from the task of clearing the wild 
 land here and impro\-ing it, so they have succeeded. 
 
 Fred Rohrdanz grew to manhood on the home farm and here he at- 
 tended the district schools until he was fairly well educated. He is the son 
 of John J. and Mary (Price) Rohrdanz, both born in Prussia, now^ a part of 
 Germany, the father on February ii, 1825, and the mother in the town of 
 Deemen, on January 23, 1829. There they grew up and were educated and 
 there the father learned the blacksmith's trade. When thirty-six years of 
 age he emigrated to America, locating in New York City, where he worked 
 at his trade for a year. He then went to Niagara Falls, where he assisted in 
 building the first suspension bridge over that noted cataract. The mother 
 emigrated to New York in her girlhood days and there the parents of the 
 subject were married. In 1844, seeking newer fields in which to establish 
 their permanent home, they emigrated westw^ard until they came to Jasper 
 county, Iowa, where the father purchased forty acres of land of the govern- 
 ment, for which he paid one dollar and twenty-five cents per acre, in Elk 
 Creek township. The country was new and they had to undergo many priva- 
 tions for a time, but they worked hard, developed a good farm and became 
 very comfortably established, the father owning at the time of his death about 
 two hundred and thirty-six acres. He was highly respected among the pio- 
 neers. Politically, he was a Democrat and in religious matters he belonged to 
 the German Lutheran church. He was a true pioneer, having come here only 
 one year after the first settler in the county. There was but one house be- 
 tween his and Newton, eleven miles away, and neighbors were indeed very 
 few. He was a splendid soldier. ha\ing served in the (iernian army for a 
 period of eight years and he served gallantly in the Franco-Prussian war. His 
 death occurred on his farm here on No\ember 10, 1906. His family con- 
 sisted of two daughters and one son, Fred, of this review, being the youngest 
 of the family; his elder sisters were, Mrs. Christina Schultz and Mrs. Mary 
 Berkenholz.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 7II 
 
 Fred Rohrdanz was a mere lad when he began making a hand in the 
 fields of his father, plowing corn when twelve years of age. He has devoted 
 his life to agricultural pursuits and has met with encouraging success ail along 
 the line, being now the owner of three hundred and nine acres of choice land 
 in Elk Creek township, which he has placed under excellent improvements 
 •and a high state of cultivation. He has a pleasant home and such other 
 farm buildings as his needs require, and everything about the place indicates 
 that a gentleman of good taste has its management in hand. In connection 
 with general farming he raises and feeds considerable live stock of various 
 kinds. 
 
 Politically, Air. Rohrdanz is a Democrat and he belongs to the Lutheran 
 church. 
 
 On March 19, 1890. occurred the marriage of Fred Rohrdanz and Emma 
 Andrews. The latter was born in Elk Creek township, Jasper countv, on 
 November 19, 1868. She is the daughter of Fred C. Andrews, who came to 
 Jasper county in 1857 from Gennany, where he was born on April i, 1843. 
 
 The following children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Rohrdanz : 
 Letta, born February 2, 1893; Ella, born August 4, 1901 ; Otis, born Septem- 
 ber 22, 1906; Wilma, born March 27, 1908; Pearl. Lulu, Lily and Vera are 
 all deceased. 
 
 ANDREW JACKSON HAYES. 
 
 A large number of the early pioneers of Jasper county have passed to 
 their reward and now rest from their labors, but here and there a scattered 
 few remain, honorable heroes of a former day and generation, l)ent under 
 time's autograph indelibl)' stamped upon their brows, but still sturdy and in- 
 dependent of spirit as when in the long ago they cut loose from the moorings 
 of civilization and penetrated the woods and traversed the trackless prairies 
 in search of new homes and new destinies. Among those who have borne an 
 active part in the pioneer period of this county is the well known farmer of 
 Elk Creek township whose name introduces this sketch, whom to know is to 
 honor and respect. Andrew Jackson Hayes, a Buckeye by birth, has long 
 been one of the highlv esteemed citizens of the township of his residence and 
 it is with pleasure that the following brief outline of his life and achievements 
 is accorded a place in this volume which is devoted to a review of Jasper's 
 representative men. That he is one of such, no one who has known him -^ince 
 his residence began in our midst nearly a half century ago. will deny.
 
 y\2 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Mr. Hayes was born in Perry county, Ohio, March 30, 1844. He is the 
 son of Bazel Cooper Hayes and Mary Pickeral Hayes, the father born in 
 Maryland on December 25, 1800, and the mother in Perry county, Ohio. The 
 father was young when he came to Perry county^ Ohio, and there they grew 
 up and were married He had hved in Baltimore prior to his leaving the 
 Oriole state. He learned the shoemaker's trade, which he followed in con- 
 nection with farming, but devoted the principal part of his life to the latter 
 pursuit. It was about 1846 or 1847 that the Hayes family moved to Licking 
 county. Ohio, where the father of the subject purchased a farm. The mother 
 dying when the subject was two and one-half years of age, the father later 
 remarried, his second wife being Hannah Matthews. The death of Bazel C. 
 Hayes occurred in Ohio in 1863. He was a very radical Democrat, but a 
 loyal supporter of the Union. Although he was an admirer of Stephen A. 
 Douglas, he was an abolitionist. He and his wife belonged to the Christian 
 church.' 
 
 Andrew J. Hayes, of this review, had two sisters, and two half-sisters 
 and a half-brother. The subject is the second child and, being the oldest son, 
 he began assisting his father with the general work on the home farm when 
 quite yaung. and although he was kept busy in the fields the major part of the 
 year, he found time to attend school in the brief winter months in Licking 
 county, Ohio. The schools being excellent for those days, he became fairly 
 well educated. When twenty years of age he hired to A. V. Cooper to drive 
 five hundred sheep from Licking county, Ohio, to Jasper county, Iowa. That 
 was in 1864. He and his assistants were fifty-two days on the trip, which re- 
 Cjuired considerable hardship and labor. Mr. Cooper owned considerable land 
 in Jasper county. Being pleased with the prospect here, the subject decided 
 to remain, so he continued to reside here for two years, working by the month. 
 He then married and lived on his father-in-law's place, that of John Wheeler. 
 In 1 88 1 he bought forty acres in Elk Creek township and has since made it his 
 home. He has served as justice of the peace for a period of sixteen years, 
 filling this post of duty in a manner that stamps him as a faithful and able 
 public servant and he has given the utmost satisfaction to all concerned. His 
 decisions have been characterized by fairness and have seldom met with re- 
 versal at the hands of a higher tribunal. Mr. Hayes has long been a loyal 
 supporter of the Democratic party. 
 
 On November 14, 1869, occurred the marriage of Andrew J. Hayes with 
 Emeline Melissa Wheeler, who was born in McLean county, Illinois. She was 
 the daughter of John Wheeler, who came to Jasper county in 1856 and here 
 Mrs. Hayes spent her girlhood and attended the early schools of the district 
 in which the familv resided.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 713 
 
 The following children ha\e been born to Mr. and Mrs. Hayes: Will B. 
 and Artemissia are deceased; Lee B. is living in Newton; Mrs. Nellie Zander- 
 man, Arthur, Agnes O. ; Mrs. Myrtle Blacklidge (of Waterloo, Iowa) and 
 Maud, who is now deceased, were twins; Nina was the voungest in order of 
 birth 
 
 JOHN W. LUST 
 
 One of the worthiest young farmers and enterprising citizens of Elk 
 Creek township, Jasper county, is John W. Lust, who, never lured away from 
 the pleasant prairies of the Hawkeye state by the wanderlust spirit, has been 
 content to spend his life here at home, and he has succeeded because he early 
 grew familiar with the local conditions governing soils, crops and the various 
 phases of the calling which he has been pleased to follow. It would seem that 
 he has been thus wiser than so many of his contemporaries who have in their 
 boyhood left the old home and gone out into other states to seek their for- 
 tunes where conditions and peoples are alike strange and where so many for- 
 tunes assume the marsh-light aspect — alluring to the sight, but hard to grasp 
 in tangible form. 
 
 Mr. Lust was born in this township on June 20, 1878, and here he grew 
 up. received his education in the common schools, and worked on the home 
 place during his boyhood days, in fact he has ever been identified with agri- 
 cultural pursuits in this vicinity. 
 
 The subject is the son of Riley and Amanda (Pentlerj Lust, his father 
 being a native of Ohio and his mother of Indiana. His father, whose parents 
 w^ere natives of Germany, is one of the best known men in all Jasper county, 
 besides being one of its largest land owners. He is a man who is extremely 
 modest regarding his achievements and he has the respect of all who know 
 him because of the sturdiness and true worth of his character. He is largely 
 interested in a great number of investments and enterprises aside from his 
 extensive farm holdings, among others being the implement business in the 
 little city of Reasnor. He is also a stockholder and director of the Reasnor 
 Savings Bank. He is a man who does not seek public praise, but has always 
 stood ready to assist in any way the upbuilding of his community and to ser\ e 
 his fellows in whatever capacity they called him. At present he is leading a 
 more or less retired life in his beautiful and modern residence in Reasnor. 
 
 Ten children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Riley Lust, namely: Fred E., 
 born July 22, 1874; Alfred T., born March 30, 1876; John W., of this review, 
 being third in order of birth: Arthur J., born September 21, 1880: Elmer B.,
 
 714 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 born February 18, 1883; Roy R., born July 4, 1885 ; Minnie J., born Septem- 
 ber 19, 1887, is the wife of Elmer Mercer, a farmer of Jasper county; Kather- 
 ine S.. born March 5, 1890, is the wife of Carl Trout, a banker living in West 
 Grove, iowa; Myrtle M., who is at home, single, was born August 19, 1893; 
 Carl M., born Alay 31, 1896, is with his parents. 
 
 John VV. Lust attended the Sand Point district school and the Newton 
 Normal College three winters. In 1899 he began renting on the same place 
 where he now lives, which belongs to his father. He is now successfully en- 
 "aiied in farmino' one hundred and twentv-five acres. 
 
 Politically, Air. Lust is a Republican and he belongs to the blue lodge of 
 Masons. 
 
 Mr. Lust was married on March 3, 1904, to Grace Romans, who was 
 born in Fairview township, Jasper county, Iowa, July 16, 1882, the daughter 
 of James M. Romans, now a resident of Grinnell, Iowa. He was born in 
 Fairview township, Jasper county, Iowa, on July i, 1855. He married Mary 
 Eleanor McCuen, who was born in Ashland county, Ohio, August 23, 1857. 
 William Green Romans, the paternal grandfather of Mrs. Lust, came to Jasper 
 county in 1843, locating as one of the earliest pioneers on the wild Iowa prai- 
 ries. Mrs. Lust's folks lived on the old Highland farm, on which place the 
 first white child was born in Jasper county, as the Highlands were the first 
 settlers here, and Airs. Lust grew to womanhood and was educated in the 
 common schools of this county. 
 
 Air. Lust is a young man of engaging personality and is a man whom a 
 large circle of acquaintances delight to call friend. 
 
 JOHN H. TOOL. 
 
 The subject of this sketch is a worthy representative of one of the oldest 
 and best known families in Jasper county and since his childhood, which was 
 passed amid the stem experiences of the pioneer period, he has been acti\ely 
 identified with the growth and development of this locality. He has not only 
 worthily upheld an honored family name, but has won ^ reputation for public 
 spirit, honesty in politics and the home and liis material success is well de- 
 ser\cfl. lie is tlie grandson of Adam Tool, tlie first white settler in Jasper 
 county. 
 
 John H. Tool, farmer of Elk Creek township, was born in Fair\iew 
 township, this county, on Alay 23, 1854. He is the son of James A. and 
 Sarah (Fouch) Tool, the father born on June 12, 1825, in Virginia, and the
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 715 
 
 mother was a native of Indiana. In an early day the father came to Fairfield, 
 Iowa, and from there to Jasper county. For a complete history of the Tool 
 family the reader is directed to the sketch of Quinn H. Tool, brother of the 
 subject, which appears in another part of this volume 
 
 John H. Tool, of this sketch, grew to manhood on the home farm and 
 when but a boy he assisted with the general work in the fields and about the 
 place. In the winter months he attended school in the Oak Grove district, 
 and one winter in the Monroe high school. He remained under his parental 
 roof-tree until he was twenty -one years of age, when he bought sixty acres, 
 where he still resides. He has made a good living here, keeping his place well 
 cultivated and well impro\ed and he has a cozy home and excellent outbuild- 
 ings. By good management and close application to his affairs he has jjros- 
 pered and added to his place from time to time until he now owns four hun- 
 dred and twenty acres in Elk Creek and I-^airview townships. Good live stock 
 are always to be found in his fields and everything about him indicates good 
 management. 
 
 Mr. Tool was first a Greenbacker in his political Ix^lief, and he now votes 
 the Democratic ticket. In religious matters lie belongs to the Methodist 
 Episcopal church, in which he takes much interest. He believes in carrying 
 his religion into his every-day life and is therefore known as a mild-mannered, 
 honorable, straightforward gentleman, eminenth- deser\ing of the confidence 
 and respect which all freely accord him. 
 
 Mr. Tool was married on November 6. 1875, ^^ Rebecca Wood, who was 
 born near \\'arsaw. Indiana. December 2. 1855. the daughter of Weslev Wood, 
 who came to Jasper county. Iowa, in 1855 and who is now living at Monroe. 
 Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Tool, namely: George A.. 
 who married Marie Broderson : Bernice ; Clarence C. who married Dora 
 Trout, and Lillian. 
 
 ALFRED T. LUST. 
 
 Without searching for lineage in musty tomes or the less satisfactory 
 authority of tradition, it suffices to state in writing this brief sketch of a prac- 
 tical man and a master of his craft, that his progenitors were in the broadest 
 sense high and their infiuence salutary and whose characters and sterling 
 worth have been reproduced on their descendants. Alfred Lust, farmer of 
 Elk Creek township. Jasper county, has shown himself to be ready at all times 
 to encourage and aid all laudable measures and enterprises for the general
 
 yi6 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 good. By a life consistent in motive and because of his many good qualities 
 he has earned the sincere regard of all who know him, and his success wdiile 
 vet a young man bespeaks for him continued advancements and a higher sphere 
 of usefulness. 
 
 Mr Lust was born on the place where he still resides in this township, on 
 March 30. 1876, and here he has been content to spend his life. He is the son 
 of Riley and Amanda (Pender) Lust, a well know-n pioneer family of this 
 locality. The father was born in Ohio and the mother in Indiana. The pa- 
 ternal grandparents were natives of Germany. Riley Lust is one of the best 
 known and most substantial farmers in Jasper county, besides being one of our 
 most extensive land owners. He is deserving of a great deal of credit for 
 what he ha? accomplished, having hewn out his own fortune wdthout depend- 
 ing on anyone for aid ; however, he is very modest regarding his achievements, 
 being a plain, unassuming gentleman, content to be an unobtrusive citizen of 
 what he considers one of the very foremost localities of our great sisterhood 
 of states. He is largely interested in a great number of investments and en- 
 terprises aside from his extensive farm holdings, among others being the im- 
 plement business in the town of Reasnor, in which his son, Elmer, is a part- 
 ner. He is also a stockholder and director in the Reasnor Savings Bank, and 
 has at all times stood ready to serve his township in any capacity. At the 
 present writing he is leading a practically retired life in his beautiful and 
 modernlv furnished residence in Reasnor. He has the confidence and esteem 
 of all who know him and his character has ever been above cavil. 
 
 To Mr. and ^Irs. Riley Lust ten children have been born, all still living, 
 namely: Fred E , born July 22, 1874; Alfred T., subject of this sketch; John 
 W.. born June 20, 1878; Arthur J., born July 4, 1885; Mamie J., born Sep- 
 tember 19, 1887, is the wife of Elmer Mercer, a farmer of Jasper county; 
 Katherine S., born March 5, 1890, is the wife of Carl Trout, a banker residing 
 in West drove, Iowa: Myrtle M.. born August 19, 1893, is living at home; 
 Carl M., born May 31, 1896, also lives at home; Elmer B., born February 18, 
 1883, is engaged in the implement business at Reasnor, this county. 
 
 Alfred Lust grew up on the home farm and assisted with the general 
 work about the place, attending the Sand Point district schools in the winter 
 months. At the age of twenty-one he began renting land of his father, of 
 whom he has been renting four hundred acres ever since and operating the 
 same in a most successful manner. In connection with general farming he 
 carries on stock raising. He feeds cattle every year, making a specialty of 
 raisins: Herefords.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 717 
 
 Politically, Mr. Lust is a Republican and fraternally he belongs to the 
 Woodmen of the World and the blue lodge of Masons. He is a member of 
 the Methodist Episcopal church at Reasnor. 
 
 Mr. Lust was married on June 2y, 1900, to ^L'lrtha Earp. who was born 
 in Elk Creek township, this county, and here she grew up and was educated. 
 She is the daughter of Walter Earp, an early settler in Jasper countv. A 
 sketch of Mr. Earp appears on another page of this work. 
 
 To the subject and wife three children have been born, Edith. MiJdrerl 
 and Lester R. 
 
 HENRY WILLEMSEN. 
 
 Henry Willemsen, a prominent farmer and stock raiser residing in sec- 
 tion 14, Buena Vista township, is a native of Holland, having been born in 
 that country on July 6, 1877. He is the oldest in a family of seven children 
 born to John and Jennette (Van Ooigen) Willemsen, both natives of the 
 province of Golderland, Holland. The family emigrated to the United States 
 eighteen years ago and located on a farm four miles south of Sully, this county. 
 They bought one hundred and twenty acres of land in that vicinity, and there 
 they have ever since made their home. Air. Willemsen, Sr., owned a tobacco 
 plantation in Holland. He was born in 1854 and his wife in 1850. The 
 family came to the United States on the vessel "Rhinedam." Their children, 
 all of whom were born in Holland, ar^e as follows : Henry, the subject of this 
 sketch; Neil, who married Fanny Emmert (deceased), lives near Sully; Ed., 
 who married Ella Dykens, lives on his farm of one hundred acres two miles 
 north of Lynnville, this county; Jeff J., who married Jennie Vanderwilt. 
 lives on his farm of eighty acres two miles northwest of Tainter: Arie. un- 
 married, is a telegraph operator at \\'interset ; Diene lives at home with her 
 parents; Joanna, deceased. 
 
 Henry Willemsen was about fifteen years of age when the family came 
 to America, and until he reached the age of twenty-one he lived at home and 
 helped on his father's farm, after which time he started out working for him- 
 self. After laboring as a farm hand for about four years, he rented a farm, 
 and began the pursuit of agriculture for himself. A year later, h. June. 1903. 
 he married Sarah Van Rees, daughter of Laurence and Sarah (De Veries) 
 Van Rees. Her father is a native of Iowa, having been born near Sully, in 
 Lynn Grove township, this county. He was a prominent stock buyer and wa? 
 well known all over the county. He was an outspoken, old-fashioned, "dye<}- 
 in-the-wool" Democrat. He died at his home near Sully in March. 1907. at
 
 7l8 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 the age of fifty-three. Mrs. Willemsen's mother, who is Hving in Pella, iowa, 
 is also a native of Holland, but came with her mother to this country at the age 
 of three years, the father having died in Holland. Three days after landing 
 in America the mother died, and the baby was raised by an aunt. To the 
 V^an Reeses were born eight children, the seven besides Mrs. Willemsen being 
 as follows: Leonard, the eldest, living three miles southwest of Sully, mar- 
 ried Tosie Faust; Andrew. li\ing near Sully, married Xettie De ^'oung: 
 Laurence, unmarried, who has no fixed home,, was formerly a butcher in 
 Newton; Eddie died in infancy; Joe died at the age of ten; David and Agnes, 
 who are still at home with their mother. 
 
 That Henrv Willemsen is a man of rare judgment and good manage- 
 ment is sliown by the fact that four years after he began farming for himself 
 he was the owner of one hundred and sixty acres of fine land, formerly owned 
 bv Ira Elscott. Here they have lived ever since To Mr. and ]\Irs. Willemsen 
 have been born three children, namely : Joe Raymond, born December 28. 
 1904: Laura Hilda, born October 18, 1006; Jeannette Wilma, born Septem- 
 ber 5. 1908; Sarah Hendrena. born December 3. 1910. 
 
 Besides general farming, Mr. Wellemsen raises stock quite extensively 
 for the markets. He is a genial gentleman, public spirited and of progressive 
 ideas. In politics, he is independent, but of Democratic sympathies. 
 
 HARTWELL ZACHARY. 
 
 In placing the subject of this review before the reader as one standing in 
 the front rank of Washington township's young farmers, we are doing justice 
 to a fact, recognized by all who are familiar with his history. His career pre- 
 sents a worthy example of the exercise of those qualities of mind and charac- 
 ter which overcome obstacles and win success and his example might be imi- 
 tated wath profit by those dissatisfied with present attainments who would 
 aspire to wider fields of usefulness. 
 
 Hartwell Zachary was born on his father's farm in Washington town- 
 ship, this county, on March 31, 1871, and here he has spent his life. He is the 
 son of James and Sarah .\nn (Eenton) Zachary, the father born in Ohio in 
 1846 and the mother a native of Iowa. The paternal grandfather, Larkin E. 
 Zachary. was born in Virginia. November 20, 1818, and there grew up, mov- 
 ing with his family to Ohio in 1839. He learned the painter's trade in his 
 native state, which he followed during the summer months after he came to 
 Ohio, but worked in a furniture factorv in the winter time. In 18^1 he drove
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. jig 
 
 overland to Jasper county, Iowa, from Ohio. l)rin<,nng his family and all his 
 worldly effects in a one-horse wagon. He arrived here with a cash capital of 
 eighty dollars, fifty of which he paid for forty acres of land in Des Moines 
 township. He began life on the wild prairie in typical pioneer fashion and 
 soon had a good farm and a comfortable home. He became an extensive 
 cattle feeder on the open prairies and by hard work and good management 
 prospered far beyond the average man in a new country, finally becoming the 
 owner of twenty-four hundred acres of land in Jasper county, mostlv in 
 \\'ashington township. For many years he was one of the best known, most 
 influential and substantial men in the county. In 1876 he became interested 
 in a bank in Prairie City, later buying full control of the same, and it was 
 known as the Zachary bank and was one of the popular banks of this section 
 of Iowa. Larkin E. Zachary was married on January 29. 1840. to Elizabeth 
 Biee. a nntive of Ohio, and to their union eight children were l)orn. six of 
 whom are living. His wife lived to an advanced age. dying on Mav 2j. 1890. 
 but he survived her twelve years, dying in 1902. He was a grand old man, 
 whom everybody admired and respected. Politically, he was a strong Demo- 
 crat and pronounced in his convictions on any subject. 
 
 The maternal grandfather of the subject of this sketch was John Eelton. 
 who came to Jasper county from Ohio and settled on a farm in an early day, 
 wlierc he became v.ell established and \\ell liked 
 
 James Zachary, father of Hartwell. of this sketch, worked on his father's 
 farms until his death, in 1899. What little education he received was in the 
 old log school houses, but he was a man of energy and a good observer and 
 succeeded. 
 
 Hartwell Zacharv grew up on the farm and Ind little chance to secure an 
 education. \\'hen a small boy he herded cattle on his grandfather's farm. 
 \\'hen he was onlv fifteen years of age he began the management of one of the 
 farms and after both his grandfather and father had passed away, he bought 
 eightv acres around the old home place in Washington township. He re- 
 modeled the house and improved the place and has been very successful as both 
 a general farmer and stock raiser. He keeps full blooded short horn cattle. 
 shipping several loads each year as well as many hogs to market. Politically, 
 he is a Democrat and he belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America and 
 the Knights of Pythias. 
 
 The subject's mother died when he was small and the father remarried, 
 his last wife being Mary A. Shaw, a native of Indiana, and she still lives in 
 Des Moines. The subject has the following brothers and sisters: Robert, 
 deceased; Mrs. Lida C. Stoner. Mrs. Cormia Belle George: and a half-sister. 
 Imo Zacharv.
 
 720 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Hartwell Zachaiy was married on March 14. 1897, to Nettie May Tur- 
 ner, born in Prairie City, Iowa, the daughter of J. P. and Elizabeth Turner. 
 The following children have been born to the subject and wife: Harry Le- 
 land. Loren Gerald, Ravmond Fenton and Helen Grace. 
 
 ED P. MALMBERG. 
 
 One of the most deserving young men in Iowa, a man who has earned 
 the rewards that come as a result of carefully regulated lives and unflagging 
 zeal in whatever is undertaken, working his way unaided from none too fa- 
 ydrable environments at the start to a conspicuous position in one of the most 
 exacting of professions, is Ed. P. Malmberg, of Newton, Jasper county. 
 
 Mr. Malmberg is a native of the city where he now resides, having been 
 born here on January 14, 1878, the scion of a worthy and highly respected 
 family, being the son of N. K. and Nellie (Stinson) Malmberg, both natives 
 of Sweden, where they grew to maturity and were educated. They emigrated 
 to America in 1867 and w-ere married at Knoxville, Illinois, where they re- 
 mained until 1875, when they came to Jasper county, Iowa. After living a 
 few months at Kellogg they moved to Newton, where they have since re- 
 sided, the father being now seventy-six years of age. He has been a tailor for 
 sixty-six years and is a very skilled workman in this line. He is a quiet, un- 
 assuming man, whose life, though uneventful, has been useful and highly hon- 
 orable. His wife is also living, having reached an advanced age. Six chil- 
 dren have been born to them, those living besides Ed P. of this review, being 
 ]\Irs. Ida E. Day of Chicago; J. O. and C. A. of Newton. 
 
 Ed P. Malmberg grew to maturity in Newton and received his early 
 training in the local schools, graduating from the Newton high school in 1895 
 when seventeen years of age, having made an excellent record, and in 1897 
 he was graduated from the Newton Normal College. During these school 
 days he worked at odd jobs and after graduation he began to learn the cigar- 
 maker's trade, at which he worked until he earned enough money to warrant 
 his entering the State University at Iowa City. Having for some time fos- 
 tered the laudable ambition to enter the legal profession, he had been bending 
 every effort to that end, consecjuently he entered the law department of the 
 last mentioned institution, made a brilliant record and was graduated from 
 the same in 1905. and at once he began the practice of his profession at New- 
 ton, having been admitted to the bar immediately after graduation. He did 
 not have to wait long for clients, his abilities being recognized from the start
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 72 I 
 
 and he made friends easily who were glad to assist him. His abilities l>cing 
 quickly recognized by party leaders, he was nominated in 1906 by the Re- 
 publican party for county attorney. This was an exceptionally hard- fought 
 contest as there were three tickets in the field, but Mr. Malmberg was elected. 
 Something of his popularity is gained from the fact that he was the only Re- 
 publican elected on the county ticket. Useless to add that his selection proved 
 the wisdom of his constituents, for his record was indeed a splendid one, 
 eliciting the hearty approval of all concerned, irrespective of party alignment, 
 and he was re-elected to the same office in 1908, leading his ticket. In 1910 
 he was chosen as the Republican nominee for state senator, his nomination 
 being regarded l)y every one at all conversant with his career as a most for- 
 tunate one. He was duly elected at the ensuing election and was a conspicuous 
 member of the thirty-fourth General Assembly. 
 
 Mr. Malmberg is regarded as a painstaking, accurate and conscentious 
 attorney, well grounded in the principles of jurisprudence, and as a speaker 
 he is logical, forceful and often eloquent, having great power over a jury. 
 He believes in thorough preparation in the trial of cases and overlooks noth- 
 ing of benefit to his clients. Judging his future by his past excellent record, 
 there seems to be much in store for him. Mr. Malmberg has remained un- 
 married. Fraternally, he is a Mason and Odd I^ellow. 
 
 IRA ZWANK. 
 
 There is a great deal in being born under a good eye, one that watches 
 and guards off the error and folly that overtake so many young men. The 
 father and the mother who are able to infuse into their children the spirit 
 of the Spartans — the spirit that can meet any fate and make the most of the 
 xvorld — will see their children grow to years of maturity with excellent 
 habits and splendid principles and see them become exemplary citizens. The 
 subject of this brief notice was fortunate in having so able and clean a father 
 and so solicitous and gentle a mother. He was taught from the start the 
 duties of life — not ordinary instruction, but the highest duties which all owe 
 to each other and to society. The result has been to give him broad ideas 
 of life and its responsibilities and to fit him for good citizenship. This he 
 no doubt has fully appreciated and has sought to be a worthy representative 
 of an honored old family in all walks of life and has therefore won and 
 retained the good will and respect of all with whom he has come into contact. 
 
 (46)
 
 'J22 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Ira Zwank, farmer, of Elk Creek township, Jasper county, was born in 
 Marion county, Iowa, on January i, 1872. He is the son of Jacob and Anna 
 (DeBruyn) Zwank, the father born in St. Louis, Missouri, in 1847, and 
 the mother in Marion county, Iowa, in 1852, their home being now in New- 
 ton, Iowa. The father came to Marion county when a boy and there he 
 and Anna DeBruyn grew up, attended the common schools of their neigh- 
 borhood and were married. They were both of Hollander descent and the 
 sturdy stock of their progenitors has outcropped in them, enabling them to 
 make a good living and establish a comfortable home. They moved to Jasper 
 county soon after their marriage and bought forty acres of land in Elk Creek 
 township. This they later sold and purchased eighty acres and at the time 
 of the elder Zwank's death he owned a well improved farm of one hundred 
 and eighty acres. 
 
 Jacob Zwank endeavored to enlist for service in the Union army during 
 the Civil war, but was too young. However, he ran away from home and 
 started to the front, but was brought back. PoHtically, he was a Democrat 
 and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. His death occurred on 
 August 19, 1897. The mother subsequently re-married, her last husband 
 being Henry Efnor. They have a comfortable home in Newton. 
 
 Ira Zwank, of this sketch, had two brothers and five sisters, named as 
 follows : Mrs. Anna Carpenter ; Ira was the second in order of birth ; Peter, 
 Mrs. Kate Efnor, Harmon, Mrs. Bessie Landmesser, Mrs. Lilly Cary, Ollie 
 (deceased). 
 
 The subject attended the Rose Hill district school and when but a boy 
 he had to assist with the general work about the home place, he being the 
 eldest of the family. He began plowing when but nine years of age and 
 made a hand in the fields when most boys are spending their time fishing with 
 a pin hook and making flutter mills ; but this early experience was good for 
 him in the long run. When a young man he began farming for himself, 
 renting land of the neighbors and staying at home. In 1901 he bought eighty 
 acres which he sold a year later and then bought one hundred acres and he 
 has since added forty acres more where he now resides, making one of the 
 choice farms of the community, which he has kept well improved and well 
 cultivated. He keeps good live stock and has a pleasant home. 
 
 Mr. Zwank is a Democrat politically, having followed in the footsteps 
 of his father, and he has always taken a good citizen's interest in the affairs 
 of his community. He has served as township trustee. 
 
 Mr. Zwank was married on March 18, 1900, to Edna Winters, who 
 was born in Elk Creek township. Jasper county, June -30, 1880, and here
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 723 
 
 she grew to womanhood and received her education in the local schools. 
 She was the daughter of John Winters, a farmer of Elk Creek township. 
 who was born on April 23, 1849, in Ohio and who died on June 5, 1905. He 
 married Phoebe Jane Shroyer. who was bom on February 10, 1852. and who 
 is now living at Galesburg. Iowa. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Zwank has 
 been without issue. Personal!) . Mr. Zwank is a man of fine physique, 
 pleasant mannered and industrious. 
 
 ALVA A. HIGHLEY 
 
 For a number of years Alva A. Highley, of Washington township, Jasper 
 county, has directed his efforts toward the goal of success and by patient con- 
 tinuance has been amply rewarded, having made the rough path of life smooth 
 by untiring perseverance. When one thus wins in the battles of life, whether 
 it be by calm, consecutive endeavor or by sudden meteoric accomplishments, 
 his example must abound in both lesson and incentive and prove a guide to the 
 young men whose fortunes are still matters for the future to determine. 
 
 ]\Ir. Highley was born in Hocking county. Ohio, September 21, 1862, 
 and he is the son of Thomas Jackson Highley and Mary Jane ( Walsh) 
 Highley, the father born in Pennsylvania, February 4, 1830, and the mother 
 was born in Ireland, of Scotch descent, on May 26, 1829. She came to 
 America when a voung girl and she and Mr. Highley were married in Penn- 
 sylvania, in which state he grew up, and there he was engaged in the salt 
 works for some time. In 1858 he moved to Ohio, locating in Hocking county, 
 where he became the owner of an eighty-acre farm. Remaining there until 
 about 1865, he moved to Barton county. Missouri, and settled at LeMars, 
 then a new town, and in that vicinity he bought a farm of one hundred and 
 sixty acres and there he remained until 1870. then moved to near Fort Scott. 
 Kansas, where he owned one hundred and sixty acres. In 1873 he moved 
 to Warren countv. Iowa, where he rented land, later moving to Black Hawk 
 county, this state, renting farms near Waterloo. In 1896 he moved to Pali- 
 sades, Colorado, and became the owner of a fruit farm there. He was very 
 successful as a farmer and was favorably known in the various localities in 
 which he lived. His death occurred on February 4. 1909. Politically, he was a 
 Republican and. religiously, a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. 
 His family consisted of four sons and one daughter, namely: Frank is living 
 in Idaho: Alva A., of this review, was second in order of birth: Theodore W. 
 is living in Minneapolis, Minnesota: Mrs. Mettie Hampton was next in 
 order: and Grant, who makes his homo in Idaho, was the youngest.
 
 724 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Aha A. Highley grew up on the farm and he attended school in Ohio 
 and in Pleasant Hill. Missouri. When thirteen years of age he began working 
 out by the month on farms in Warren county. Iowa, and after his marriage 
 he began renting land in Jasper county, having come here in 1881. He bought 
 a farm in Calhoun county, this state, which he sold, and six months later 
 bought eighty acres in Jasper county, southeast of Mitchellville. In 1892 he 
 bought one hundred and fifty-one acres in Washington township, known as 
 the old Evans farm, and here he still lives, haxing improved the place in every 
 way. including the building of a good barn. He has prospered by reason of 
 close application and good management and since the purchase of this place 
 he has bought three hundred and twenty acres more. He raises good stock, 
 anfl feeds quite a number of cattle each year. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Highley is a Republican, and he has been school director 
 and road supervisor. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fel- 
 lows, and he belongs to the Methodist church of Colfax. 
 
 Mr. Highley was married on March 4, 1885, to Carrie M. Hibbs, w^ho 
 was born in Polk county, Iowa, May 27, 1866. She was the daughter of 
 George H. Hibbs, a very early settler of Polk county, having taken up his 
 home there in 1852. Six children have been born to the subject and wife, 
 namely : Edwin A. died at nine years of age ; Rachel J. died at the age of 
 seven years; Oscar G. died in infancy; Rosa, born November 6, 1895 '- Edna, 
 born June 30, 1899; May, born March 27, 1908. 
 
 WILLIAM CARL HEXRY SCHULTZ. 
 
 One of the best known and most painstaking of our younger generation 
 of Elk Creek township farmers and one of the worthy representatives of 
 one of the leading German families of Jasper county is William Carl Henry 
 Schultz, a man who could hardly help succeeding at whatever he turned his 
 attention to in view of his thrifty ancestral blood and his excellent early 
 training. 
 
 Mr. Schultz was born in the township where he still resides on January 
 4, 1875. He is the son of Lewis F. and Christie L. ( Rohrdanz) Schultz, he 
 a native of Germany. Their parents came to this country in an early day, 
 and although they found a strange language, strange customs and conditions 
 in general, yet they were tactful and hard-working and in due time had es- 
 tablished a good home and had an excellent farm under cultivation, at the 
 same time winning the friendship and good will of all with whom they came
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 725 
 
 into contact. The father was born in Pommerania, kingdom of Prussia, 
 later a part of Germany, on April 2. 1849. and he was the son of Christopher 
 C. and Caroline (Severt) Schultz. both natives of the same place. After 
 long planning, the Schultz family set sail for the shores of the New World 
 m October. 1854. when the subject of this review was six years old. After 
 the usual prolix voyage of those early sailing vessel days, they landed at 
 New York and they proceeded at once to Bruce county, Illinois, where two 
 other members of the family had previously settled and there they engaged 
 in farming and carpentering, building many barns for the earlv settlers. 
 Remaining there until 1858, they came to Poweshiek county. Iowa, and here 
 worked for some of the large land holders of the county for two vears. In 
 i860 Chris. C. Schultz started in life for himself, buying one hundred and 
 twenty acres there. His wife had died in the spring of 1855 and thus the 
 subject's father was reared by his grandmother. It was in the fall of 1873 
 that he came to Jasper county and began farming. W^ith some assistance 
 from his father and father-in-law he purchased one hundred and ten acres 
 which he still owns, and, having met with a large measure of success, he 
 has added to his original holdings until he is now -the owner of a large 
 amount of the county's richest land, in fact, Lewis F. Schultz has long been 
 regarded as one of our largest land owners and most enterprising agri- 
 culturists, his holdings now aggregating si.x hundred and eighty-seven acres, 
 besides other property. He has devoted his life to husbandry, having the 
 inherent love of his race for the soil and growing things, and he has also 
 devoted much attention to the raising of live stock, in connection with his 
 extensive farming. 
 
 Christie L. Rohrdanz, mother of the subject of this sketch, was the 
 daughter of John J. and Marie (Price) Rohrdanz, both natives of Germany, 
 who emigrated to America in 1853. locating at Niagara- Falls, New York, 
 and there the father was employed in the construction of the first great 
 suspension bridge ever built across the great gorge near the falls. There 
 Mrs. Schultz w^as born on November 26, 1854, she being one of three chil- 
 dren, all of whom are living, the other two being Marie, born April 9, 1857, 
 is the wife of Carl Birkenholtz. a Jasper county farmer; and Freda, born 
 in Jasper county, Iowa, February 13. 1858, is still living in this county. 
 Mrs. Schultz's parents came to this county in 1855. after the completion of 
 the big Niagara bridge. They reached here without much of this world's 
 goods, their sole capital being two and one-half dollars. The country was 
 new and they were compelled to undergo the hardships and privations in- 
 cident to the times, but being people of courage and thrift they did not per-
 
 726 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 mit anything to discourage them and each year found them further advanced 
 than the preceding until they finally had a pleasant home and a good farm 
 of three hundred acres. The father of Airs. Schultz served in the Prussian 
 army, as did the father of Lewis F. Schultz. During the rebellion of the 
 provinces of Holstein and Schleswig, Mr. Rohrdan'/ was awarded a medal by 
 the German government for signal bra\ery. 
 
 Lewis F. Schultz was one of a family of three sons and one daughter, two 
 of whom are living: Augusta Brooknew, wife of George Brooknew, a farmer, 
 was born in 1851 and died in 1895 while residing in Poweshiek county, Iowa; 
 Carl A., born in 1853, lives on a farm near Grinnell, this state, and Henry H., 
 born in 1854. died in Poweshiek county in 1883. 
 
 Mr. and Mrs. Lewis F. Schultz were married on January i, 1874, and to 
 this union six children have been born, namely : Joseph Christopher died in 
 infancy; William C. H., the immediate subject of this sketch; Walter Albert 
 Lewis, born March 8, 1876, died November 9, 1905, leaving a widow and one 
 child, a daughter, who died the following year ; Lewis Martin, born June 24, 
 1878, is a farmer and resides in this county; Henry Fred Lewis, born April 
 12, 1882. is also a Jasper county farmer: John C, born May 9, 1885, resides 
 in this county and is engaged in farming. 
 
 Lewis F. Schultz is a public spirited man and has held a number of local 
 offices, covering many years, such as township clerk, trustee, assessor and 
 justice of the peace, also supervisor of roads. He retired from active life in 
 the spring of 19 10, moving at that time to his commodious residence in 
 Reasoner. He is prominent in the Knights of Pythias lodge and he and his 
 wife belong to the German Lutheran church. They are both held in high 
 esteem bv all who know them for their man}- commendable personal traits. 
 
 William C. H. Schultz, of this review, grew up on the home farm and 
 assisted with the general work about the place during his boyhood days. 
 During the winter months he attended the McKinney district school. When 
 only seven years of age he w^as found following a plow, driving a team. He 
 assisted his parents on the homestead during his early youth and when 
 twenty-one years old he farmed for his father on the halves for a year, then 
 bought one hundred and thirty-three acres in 1907 and has impro\ed the 
 place in an up-to-date manner, keeping it well tilled and under a high state of 
 cultivation and he is making a success as a general farmer and stock raiser. 
 
 Mr. Schultz is a Democrat in his political relations, but he has not sought 
 to be a public leader. Religiously, he belongs to the German Lutheran church. 
 
 Mr. Schultz was married on December 22, 1905, to Minnie Castorf, who 
 was born near Sully. Jasper county, Iowa, in 1887 She is the daughter of
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 727 
 
 William Castor f, an early settler of this county and a highly respected citi/:en. 
 Here Mrs. Schultz grew to womanliood and received her education in the 
 common schools. 
 
 To the subject and wife have been born two children, namely: Lawrence 
 Kenneth, born August lo, 1907, and Raymond Elmo born January 25, 191 1. 
 
 The subject is a tall, strong young man, a hard worker and a genial 
 fellow to meet, having an easy manner and a straightforwardness that im- 
 presses the stranger. 
 
 WALTER M. EARP. 
 
 The descendants of the old settlers, those who cleared the land and first 
 upturned the wild sod to the sun, should see that the doings of those early 
 years are fittingly remembered and recorded. It was once remarked bv a 
 great writer that those who take no interest in the deeds of their ancestors are 
 not likely to do anything worthy to be remembered by their descendants. 
 Could the lives of the first settlers be fully and truthfullv written what an in- 
 teresting, thrilling and wonderful tale it would be. Think of the journey to 
 the west over the roughest of roads, of the hardships of clearing the soil and 
 the trials in establishing a home in a wild country and rearing a family. Think 
 of the pioneer gatherings, of the shooting matches, the old subscription schools, 
 the first churches under the branches of the trees the camp meetings, the 
 famous old circuit riders, the husking matches, the quilting bees, the coon, 
 wolf, fox and deer hunts, with many another form of diversion, and then 
 presume to say that the old settlers did not live happy lives. Such were the 
 experiences of \A'alter M. Earp. a highly respected citizen of Elk Creek town- 
 ship, now living retired. 
 
 Mr. Earp is a Kentuckian by birth, having first opened his eyes in the 
 country of "the dark and bloody ground."' in Ohio county, on November 8, 
 1836. He is the son of Laranzo Dow Earp and Nancy Earp. He spent his 
 early boyhood in his native state and received such education as he could in 
 the pioneer log-cabin schools. In 1845 he accompanied the family to Warren 
 county, Illinois, where they lived until 1853, when, with on ox team and an 
 old-fashioned covered wagon, they set out on the slow journey to Warren 
 county, Iowa, where they spent the summer, then moved to Marion county, 
 this state, and wintered there, coming to Jasper county in the spring of 1854. 
 Here the father of the subject entered one hundred and sixty acres in Elk 
 Creek township, and on this Walter M. Earp spent his young manhood, help-
 
 728 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 inj^' his father develop the place from the wild, helping split the rails with 
 which to fence the farm. They had few neighbors and they endured the 
 usual privations of first settlers, but in time had a good farm and a comfort- 
 able home 
 
 The subject began life for himself by renting land, which he continued to 
 operate for six years and thereby got a start. He then bought forty acres, 
 which he sold the following year and purchased eighty acres, to which he later 
 added fiftv-five acres more in Elk Creek township, which he improved into an 
 excellent farm. This he sold in 188 1 and moved to Plymouth county, Iowa, 
 where he remained two years on a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. Then 
 he came back to Galesburg. Jasper county, where he has since spent most of 
 his time. He is now making his home with his son-in-law, Alfred Lust, a 
 farmer of Elk Creek township, whose sketch appears on another page of this 
 work. 
 
 BENSON STARR. 
 
 The gentleman to whom the reader's attention is respectfully called in 
 the following paragraphs is an honored veteran of our great civil conflict. 
 Thev are getting fewer and fewer in numbers, their annual reunions are sadly 
 lacking when the lists of regiments- and companies are gone o\er. and their 
 march is not as quick and full of meaning and fire as it was a half century 
 ago. when, as sturdy boys, they left, most of them, the plow and assembled 
 at the front, eager to hurl themselves in in\inciljle legions against the foes of 
 the Union. But, nevertheless, it thrills one to see them in their old uniforms, 
 with their tattered flags flying and their forms bent as they keep step, assisted, 
 most of them. Avith their canes, at their gatherings on Memorial day or the 
 Fourth of July. And how interesting it is to hear them tell the story of the 
 dreadful hardships they endured in the hospitals, prisons, on the harassing 
 marches, or in the skirmishes and battles. But their time is short now. so all 
 persons should join in honoring them for the sacrifices they made when they 
 were young and full of the love of life, but which was offered freely on the 
 altar of their country. One of these honored old soldiers is Benton Starr, 
 who is also eminently entitled to a place in his country's history because he 
 is one of our pioneers, a member of that hard-working band who willingly 
 underwent hardships in the county's first period of development that succeed- 
 ing generati* n^ might be happy and prosperous.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 729 
 
 Air. Starr was born in Belmont county, Ohio, May 22. 1842. and he was 
 the son of Jabez and Jane (Gregory) Starr, who spent their early lives in 
 Ohio, married and began housekeeping there. About 1844 they made the long 
 overland journey to Iowa, locating in \'an Buren county, being among the 
 state's early settlers, but after three years there, during which thev hardlv gut 
 well located, and deciding that the community was not what they desired as a 
 permanent place of abode, they moved to Jasper county, locating in Lynn 
 Grove township. First Mr. Starr bought a claim, but a year later moved a 
 little to the north and entered one hundred and twenty acres in section 13. 
 This land he cleared, broke, improved, and in time had a splendid farm and a 
 comfortable home in which he lived until he reached an advanced age. then 
 lived around with his children for the greater part of the time, although alwavs 
 claiming this as his home. His death occurred in Madison county, this state. 
 in 1885. his wife having died in 1878 on their farm. Politically, he was a 
 Republican. He took a lively interest in political afifairs and for many vears 
 was justice of the peace. There were thirteen children in their family, four 
 of whom are living at this writing. Eleven of them grew to maturity and 
 were married The father, Jabez Starr, was a good and useful man. and for 
 years he did considerable preaching in the Methodist church, as did several of 
 his brothers. He assisted in organizing the early Methodist church here and 
 helped hold the first election ever known in Lynn Grove township ; he was also 
 the first justice of the peace in this township. He gave the greatest satisfac- 
 tion in this important ofifice, for in that early day it was important, a justice 
 court ranking in those times with the higher tribunals of today. He was a 
 lover of justice and peace and often settled differences and difficulties between 
 parties in his conmiunity outside of court, his advice being frequently sought 
 in personal and public affairs. Such men are empire builders and while today 
 they are certainly not noticeable to a very great extent in our so-called ad- 
 vanced civilization, thev were to be found in almost all communities of new- 
 comers in the early days when the frontier was ever pushing westward. The 
 memory of such should be fondly cherished by succeeding generations, for it 
 goes without saying that we owe them a great debt of gratitude rmd that they 
 builded wiser than they knew. 
 
 Benson Starr, the immediate subject of this sketch, grew to manhood on 
 the home place and there made himself useful in his boyhood days. He had 
 little opportunity to attend school, in fact, three months in the old public 
 school house in this vicinity constituted his text-book training: however, he 
 has become a well informed man through home reading and careful observa- 
 tion.
 
 73© JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 On August 7, 1862, Mr. Starr enlisted in Company K, Twenty -eighth 
 Iowa Volunteer Infantry, in which he served very gallantly for about eighteen 
 months, during which time he took part in the great siege of Vicksburg, the 
 battles of Port Gibson, Champion's Hill and others, being under fire fifty-two 
 days. Receiving an honorable discharge, he returned home and resumed 
 farming and soon had a good start, and in 1S79 he bought his father's home- 
 stead, later adding to the same until he is now the owner of a finely improved 
 and productive farm of one hundred and seventy-one acres in Lynn Grove 
 township, which adjoins the first purchase. Here he erected a substantial 
 dwelling and good outbuildings and made such other up-to-date improvements 
 as his needs required. He made a great success as a general farmer and stock 
 man. He still manages the farm, though he keeps it rented out. 
 
 Politically, i\Ir. Starr is a Republican and has ever been a loyal supporter 
 of the same, taking a lively interest in local affair^, and he has held several 
 offices within the gift of the people, including that of township trustee and con- 
 stable. Fraternally, he belongs to the Masonic order at Lynnville, the Inde- 
 pendent Order of Odd Fellows, encampment, also the Order of the Eastern 
 Star and the Grand Army of the Republic, in all of which he takes an abiding 
 interest. 
 
 Mr. Starr was married in 1865 to Ellen Squires, a native of \'irginia 
 and the daughter of Nehemiah and Olive Squires, who came to Jasper county 
 after the close of the Civil war and later moved to Missouri. To Mr. and 
 Mrs. Starr five children have been born, namely : Perry, who was killed by 
 lightning: Dora and Nora, twins, the latter dying when four years of age; 
 Lee and Frank 
 
 LOGAN PENDLETON. 
 
 To the person traveling by railw ay across the state at this day it seems 
 almost incredible that only a little more than a half century ago the major 
 part of the Hawkeye state was a wild, sparsely settled stretch of plains over- 
 run Ijy Indians and all manner of wild animals ; but such was the case. During 
 the last half century, the wild grass has been trampled down, the root-wo\en, 
 tenacious sod has been upturned to the life-giving sun and the forests have 
 been removed, almost entirely, stick by stick, by innumerable hands, — in fact, 
 most of the timber was removed in considerably less than a half century. All 
 this would never have been done were it not for the rich soil beneath and the 
 comfortable homes that awaited the efiforts of the settlers. The task was a long
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA, ' 731 
 
 one, but well repaid the early comers for the trials and hardships. One of the 
 farmers of Elk Creek township, Jasper county, who has contributed to the 
 development of this wonderfully favored section during what might be 
 termed the second period of its growth is Logan Pendleton, for his advent 
 here was not so early as the band of early pioneers who attacked the raw land 
 in the fifties. 
 
 Air. Pendleton was born in the Blue Grass state, having first opened his 
 eyes on earthly scenes in Adair county, Kentucky, on September 20, 1865 
 He is the son of Samuel and Margaret (Gadbury) Pendleton, the father Ijorn 
 in West \'irginia in 1810 and the mother in Kentucky in 1816, and there they 
 spent their later years, the father being a prominent farmer, owning over 
 eight hundred acres of valuable land, on which he farmed on a large scale, 
 conducting one of the large tobacco plantations of Adair county; however, 
 he kept no slaves. He was one of the substantial and influential men of his 
 part of the state and a gentleman of fine personal qualities. Politically, he 
 was a Republican and he and his wife belonged to the old Campbellite church. 
 Their family consisted of eight children, of whom Logan, of this review, was 
 the youngest in order of birth. They were named as follows: John, de- 
 ceased : Green ; Granville, deceased : James lives in Kentucky ; Mrs. Sarah 
 Napier lives in that state ; Mrs. Mollie Hudson is still a resident of the Blue 
 Grass county ; Parker was next to the youngest child. 
 
 Logan Pendleton was eight years of age when his father died in 1873. 
 He recei\ed his education in the district schools of his native community and 
 there he grew to manhood, and spent his summer months, when old enough, 
 at work on the home plantation ; however, as he grew up he worked con- 
 siderably by the month. It was in October. 1882. that he bade adieu to his 
 "old Kentucky home*' and directed his course to Jasper county. Iowa, and 
 here begnn working by the month for Preston Chambers in Elk Creek town- 
 ship, with whom he remained for a period of seven years. Then he purchased 
 a complete well-drilling outfit and followed drilling wells in this locality for 
 two vears. then he began renting land, farming thus for a period of six years. 
 Then he was married and his father-in-law, Preston Chambers, gave the sub- 
 ject and his wife an excellent farm of one hundred and three acres in Elk 
 Creek township, on which they still reside. Besides this Mr. Pendleton owns 
 five acres of timber. He has been very successful as a general farmer and 
 stock raiser, making a specialty of full-blood jacks, and he has quite a reputa- 
 tion in this locality as a breeder, keeping such superior stock that they have 
 been a great asset in his annual income. He also keeps full-blood Poland- 
 China hogs. He had the largest hog at the Iowa state fair in 191 1, the much- 
 admired animal weighing over one thousand pounds.
 
 732 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Politically, -Mr. Pendleton is a Democrat and while he takes more or 
 less interest in local affairs he is not a public man. On July i, 1900, oc- 
 curred the ceremony which united in the bonds of wedlock Logan Pendleton 
 and Allie Chambers. The latter was born in Elk Creek township, this county, 
 on September 6. i860. She is the daui^hter of Preston Chambers, one of the 
 substantial and influential early citizens of this county a sketch of whom is to 
 be found on another page of this work. Air. and Mrs. Pendleton have no 
 children 
 
 ALEXANDER SMITH. 
 
 I-'rom the far-awa}- land of Bruce and Burns, the bonn} heaths of ijlue- 
 bell and thistle, — the rugged north "countree" that has for centuries sent its 
 hardy, honest. liberty-lo\ing sons to help build the great republic of the West. 
 - — has come to us one of our most highly esteemed and useful citizens, Alex- 
 ander Smith, one of Jasper's county's most extensi\-e land owners, a man w hom 
 to know is to admire and respect, for, without other aid than a strong heart 
 and willing hands, guided and controlled by right principles and a sound brain, 
 he has fought his way from an obscure environment to the top of the material 
 ladfler and has long been one of the influential men of this locality. 
 
 Mr. Smith was born in the village of Forres, Scotland, on September 26. 
 1830. and he is the son of Robert and Jeannette (Lysle) Smith, both born in 
 Scotland. The paternal grandfather was Alexander Smith, a farmer, and 
 the maternal grandmother was of noble blood, being a sister of the Duke of 
 Southerland in England. 
 
 Robert Smith came to America with his family in 1834 and located in 
 Delaware county. New York, and there established a good home, and in that 
 vicinity the son, Alexander Smith of this review, grew to manhood and he re- 
 ceived his education at Roxbury.. New York, having the honor of being a 
 schoolmate of the famous financier, Jay Gould, and the scarcely less noted 
 author and naturalist, John Burroughs, the former having sat on the left of 
 the subject for a year and the latter just in front of him for three vears. 
 After leaving .school at the age of eighteen years, Mr. Smith engaged in teach- 
 ing for eight or ten years, during which time he met with great success and 
 his services were in demand wherever he was known. He also clerked for 
 some time in a general merchandise store. In 1865 he moved to Pella. Iowa, 
 and rented a farm that fall in Jasper county. The country was \vild and 
 imnrovemcnts had been made here and there, but he had the foresi»ht to see
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. JT^^ 
 
 a great future for so rich a region and in clue course of time he had l>econie 
 one of the leading farmers here. Not long after his arrival he bought two 
 hundred and forty acres, 'partly in Lynn (hove township and partly in lilk 
 Creek township. Prospering through close applic-ition and good manage- 
 ment, he added to his original holdings until he now owns eight hundred acres 
 of as choice land as the county affords. He also owns four hundred acres in 
 Lake county, Iowa, and two sections of land in North Dakota, all valuable and 
 well located land. While general farming has been Air. Smith's principal life 
 work, no small part of his large competency has been derived from the li\e 
 stock business; he has fed cattle annually for forty vears. and he has met with 
 a larger degree of success in this line than the average person. He has kept 
 his land under excellent improvements and has a modern, convenient and well 
 furnished home, in the midst of pleasant surroundings. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Smith is a Republican and while he has ne\er sought 
 leadership he has always stood ready to serve the public when necessary. He 
 was treasurer of the school board of his district for a period of hfteen years. 
 
 Mr. Smith was married on June 12, 1864, to Sarah Voss, who was born 
 in New Jersey, the daughter of John Voss and wife, and to this union seven 
 children have been born, of whom three are deceased, the living being named 
 as follows: Mrs. Amy Jeanette Sherman, who lives in Pasadena, California; 
 Mrs. Emily Francisco, who is li\ing in Des Moines, Iowa; Mrs. Mamie 
 Nicholson, who lives in New Sharon, Iowa; Alexander Lyle. 
 
 The last named son was born on the farm he now operates in Lynn Grove 
 township, Jasper county, on October 6, 1876. There he grew to maturity 
 and assisted with the general work on the place during the crop seasons, at- 
 tending the public schools during the winter months near his home, later the 
 high school at Lynnville, and the Iowa State College at Ames, spending two 
 years in the agricultural course there ; he also attended the Gem City Business 
 College at Quincy, Illinois. Thus well equipped for his life work from a 
 standpoint of text-book training, he returned home to assist his father man- 
 age some of his farms and he has met with a large degree of success; l>eing 
 regarded as one of the most modern and scientific farmers in the county. He 
 took charge of about six hundred acres two miles south of the town of Sully, 
 where he has carried on general farming and cattle raising on an extensive 
 scale, preparing for market and shipping from two to four car loads of cattle 
 and two hundred hogs annually. Although he rents some of the land, he 
 has general supervision over it all. Politically, he is a Republican and he and 
 his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal church at Sully.
 
 734 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Alexander L. Smith was united in marriage with Elizabeth Jean \'aughn 
 on May 2"], 1903. She was born in Pennsylvania, but was living at Bur- 
 lingame, Kansas, at the time of her marriage. She is the daughter of W. J. 
 and Emily K. (Brown) V'aughn, who moved with their daughter to Kansas 
 when she was two years old. and the parents still reside in the Sunflower state. 
 
 Three children have graced the union of Mr. and Mrs. Alexander L. 
 Smith: Donald Lyle. born December 29, 1907; Vernon Eugene, born July 
 27, 1909; Robert Vaughn, born November 4, 191 1. No family in the county 
 is better or more favorably known. 
 
 JOHN KELLY. 
 
 It is no doubt true that Ireland, of all countries of the world, has sent 
 more emigrants in proportion to population to the United States than any 
 other country, and the reason is well known. For hundreds of years the 
 Emerald Isle has been denied many valuable rights and privileges by Great 
 Britain, and the pride and honor of the people were ground into the dust. 
 They could avoid all this by leaving the island, much as they loved it, and 
 accordingly thousands of them, as the years rolled around, have crossed the 
 great Atlantic to find a home of greater freedom in America. They began to 
 come in large numbers soon after the Revolution and have continued to come 
 until the present time. In every state they settled and built up comfortable 
 homes. They were among our first teachers and business men, and today they 
 occupy many of the proudest positions within the gift of the inhabitants. In 
 that country was born John Kelly, farmer and stock raiser of Rock Creek 
 township, Jasper county. He grew up and received what education he could 
 in his native county of Roscommon. He is the son of George and Ann 
 (Grady) Kelly, both natives of Ireland, and there the)- lived and died, the 
 father being a shepherd, and consequently led a c[uiet life, close to nature and 
 ever unobtrusive, his wants being simple. His family consisted of six chil- 
 dren, three of whom are living, two in Ireland, Charles and Maria Burn. 
 
 John Kelly, of this sketch, spent his boyhood days as a shepherd, but not 
 being content with conditions at home, and having heard of the great oppor- 
 tunities that existed in the new world, he set sail on the "City of Antwerp," 
 October 6, 1869, for New York City. He came on to Richmond, Indiana, 
 and remained there three years, working on the Vandalia railroad, then went 
 to Indianapolis and during one winter worked in the railroad rolling mills. 
 In 1893 ^i*^ mo\cd to Des Moines, Iowa, and there resumed railroad work, in
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. jt^z^ 
 
 which he remained four years, then went to :\Iontana and worked in the placer 
 mines at A^irginia City for a few months; then went to Glendale City and did 
 the work of a roaster in the silver mines, remaining there three years, during 
 which he was on one furnace. Then returninj^ to Des Moines, he worked 
 there until his marriage, then mo\ed to Poweshiek county where he b(jught 
 eighty acres of land at Oak (irove. Washington township, and remained there 
 four years. He then moved to Palo Alto county, and a year later located in 
 Rock Creek township, Jasper county, where he bought a farm of one hundred 
 and twenty acres. This he has improved in an up-to-date manner and has 
 been very successful as a general farmer and stock raiser, and he is a breeder 
 of short horn cattle and Poland China hogs. Politically, he is a Republican, 
 and he and his wife are members of the Roman Catholic church. 
 
 In 1880 Mr. Kelly was united in marriage with Martha Hotchkin, who 
 was born in Xew York City, the daughter of John Hotchkin, of England, and 
 one of the honored old settlers of Jasper county, Iowa, where he died Decem- 
 ber 12. 191 1, being advanced in years. He married Rose Gaughran, a native 
 of Ireland. She and Mr. Hotchkin came to New York City single and there 
 married. He was a blacksmith by trade. He came west and located in 
 Illinois, three years after his marriage, and in 1870 he came on to Jasper 
 county, Iowa, where he lived until his death. His wife passed to her rest on 
 June 6. 1909. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Kelly, nameh : 
 Mary. George. John (deceased). Martha. Charles and Lucy. 
 
 MARCE TURNER. 
 
 Success could not fail to attend the efforts of such a persistent and 
 energetic worker as Marce Turner, of Kellogg township, for his motto seems 
 to have always been that what is worth doing at all is worth doing well. He 
 was born in Ralls county, Missouri, June 5. 1870. and he is the son of George 
 and Malinda (Seeley) Turner, the father born also in Ralls county, that 
 state, on June i, 1840. The father followed farming during the earlier 
 years of his life, later taking up carpentering, painting, blacksmithing and 
 carriage making, following these until his death, on March 10. 1890: his 
 widow survives, making her home in Cherokee county, Kansas. 
 
 Marce Turner grew to maturity in his native county and in Kansas, 
 spending his boyhood days assisting his father and attending the public 
 schools. He started in life for himself by driving a stage, later took up 
 freighting, then turned his attention to painting and carpentry. He came to
 
 736 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Kellogg township, Jasper county, in 1900 and here worked on the farm by 
 the month until in March, 1909, when he rented eighty acres. 
 
 Mr. Turner was married October 22, 1899. to Maggie Watson, who 
 was born in Michigan, f>bruary 14. 1883. the daughter of Lynn B. and 
 Mar}^ (Roach) Watson, the father having been born in Kansas in 1856, and 
 the mother's birth occurred in Iowa in 1855. Mrs. Turner received a good 
 education in the common schools and she came to Iov\"a when young. 
 
 Marce Turner is one of a family of ten children, five sons and five 
 daughters, namely: Molly is deceased; George is deceased; Elija is 
 deceased; Laura, Lucy, Cordelia and Cornelius (twins), Eugene, Joseph, 
 Mandy and Marce. 
 
 Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Turner, a son and a 
 daughter, namely: Virginia F., whose birth occurred November 20, 1900, 
 and Virgil Eugene, who was born December 9, 1903. 
 
 Politically, Mr. Turner is a Republican, and, fraternally, he belongs to 
 the \\'oodmen. He is a member of the Christian church. 
 
 ISAL^H W. BLACK. 
 
 A representative Io^^a farmer, one of that great class of able men who 
 have made Iowa a great state, is Isaiah W. Black. For Iowa is preeminently 
 a farming state, and her farmers are more progressive and efficient than the 
 average of American farmers, and demonstrate this every year by their 
 excellent showing. Mr. Black has spent the years of his active life on the 
 farm in honest and healthful toil, intelligently directed, which have brought 
 to him peace and plenty in his later years, and a consciousness of duty done. 
 
 Isaiah W. Black was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania, on December 
 28, 1850, the son of Robert and Eliza (Hanna) Black. His father came to 
 Jackson county, Iowa, from Mercer county, Pennsylvania, in 1853. His 
 mother had died at an early age in Jackson county. Robert Black farmed in 
 Jackson county until his death, at the age of seventy-one, and was a man of 
 local influence, filling many offices in the township in which he resided. David 
 M. Black, of Maquoketa, Iowa, is a half-brother, and Mrs. Emma Ward, of 
 Newton, a half-sister of the subject. 
 
 Isaiah W. Black farmed for many years in Jackson county, in South 
 Dakota, and in Jasper county, meeting with uniform success. In all the com- 
 munities in which he has lived he has taken an active and prominent part in
 
 70 
 
 m 
 
 D 
 m 
 z 
 
 n 
 m 
 
 o 
 
 > 
 > 
 
 X 
 
 r 
 > 
 
 o 
 7^
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 737 
 
 affairs of general interest and has filled local offices, lie was married in 
 Jones county, Iowa, to Anna C. Deischer, the daughter of Daniel Diescher, a 
 pioneer of Jones county, to which he had moved from Lancaster county, 
 Pennsylvania. To this marriage were born three children. Charles C. Black 
 is in the lumber business at Mingo, Jasper county, and is thriving successfully. 
 Clarence A. Black of Mingo, Jasper county, is a partner with his brother, 
 Charles C, in the lumber business. Dr. Elmer E. Black, of Colfax, is a veter- 
 inary surgeon, a graduate of the State Agricultural College of Ames, Iowa, in 
 1909. He began practice at Colfax, and is building np a good reputation by 
 his efficiency. 
 
 The Black family is an old and honored one. and all its Iowa members 
 have lived up to the family name. Isaiah W. Black possesses the respect and 
 esteem of all who know him, and has in his lifetime made many friends. 
 
 LYMAX C. CLARK. 
 
 Washington township, jasper county has ne\er had a better farmer or a 
 more honorable citizen than the late Lyman C. Clark, and all who knew him 
 well will readily admit that he was ever a gentleman of high standing to whom 
 was not denied a full measure of success, although he was compelled to carve 
 out his ow'n fortune with the assistance of no one but his faithful life com- 
 panion. He was long a recognized factor of importance in connection with 
 the agricultural interests of this localit}-, being identified with its material 
 growth and prosperity from the pioneer days, his life being very closely inter- 
 woven with its history. His early life was beset with such obstacles as would 
 have discouraged a man of less sterling mettle, but he persevered in the face 
 of all adversity and won. not only material success, but also the good will and 
 esteem of all who knew him, for he was public-spirited. •l)road-min(leil, liberal 
 and scrupulously honest. 
 
 Mr. Clark was born of an excellent Xew England family on January 4, 
 1846, in Worcester, Massachusetts. He was the son of John and Lucy 
 (Bond) Clark, lx)th natives of Massachusetts, where they grew up and were 
 married and there the father spent his life After his death the mother mar- 
 ried a Mr. Stone and they came west. 
 
 Lyman C. Clark was educated in the .schools of Massachusetts and in 
 about 1853, after having made his home in \'ermont for some time, he came 
 to Knox countv, Illinois, and there bought one hundred and sixty acres, and 
 
 (47)
 
 738 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 later his mother and step-father joined him there, having driven overland from 
 \'ermont. He found there a new and sparsely settled country and he tried 
 to develop a farm from the wild sod, but he found it a hard task, one of his 
 chief annoyances being the frequent destruction of his fences by prairie fires. 
 While living in Illinois he was married at Galva, and in 1869 he and his family 
 emigrated to Jasper county, Iowa, where he bought one hundred and sixty 
 acres in Washington township, and he later bought forty acres of timber in 
 Mound Prairie township. He succeeded in developing a good farm and 
 in gaining a competence, but not without great toil and much sacrifice on his 
 part and that of his wife, to whose sympathy and judicious counsel was due in 
 no small measure his large success. Here they found a new country and 
 they underwent the usual hardships and privations incident to pioneer life. 
 Some of their land has been undermined for coal from shafts from the east. 
 He was an extensive stock feeder and no small part of his income was derived 
 from handling live stock of various grades. 
 
 Mr. Clark was married on June 16, 1859, to Cordelia R. Stearns, who 
 was born in Rockingham, Windham county, Vermont, on February 13, 1836. 
 She was the daughter of Samuel E. Stearns and wife, a highly respected fam- 
 ily who spent their lives engaged in agricultural pursuits, moving to Union 
 county, Iowa, in the late fifties. Mrs. Clark died December 25, 191 1. 
 
 To Mr. and Airs. Clark the following children were born : Mrs. Alice M. 
 Fry; Mrs. Anna L. Jones; Mrs. Abbey Green, of Luceland, Canada; Norris 
 J. runs the home farm; Mrs. Mary B. Clement; Cyrus L lives in Polk county. 
 Iowa; Martha S. is deceased; Louis O., Jesse A. and Mrs. Gracia Haldefer. 
 
 The death of Lyman C. Clark occurred on May 20. 1908. loved and hon- 
 ored by all who intimately knew* him, for he was a man whom to know was to 
 admire. 
 
 SAMUEL DECATUR. 
 
 Among the successful farmers of Jasper county who have forged their 
 way to the front by sheer force of will and individual merit rather than by 
 the infiuence and material assistance of others, no worthier example could be 
 found than that of Samuel Decatur, of Rock Creek township. He is a man 
 of excellent judgment, which accounts for his uniform success as an agricul- 
 turist and stock raiser. Being careful in his calculations, resourceful in his 
 dealings and eminently honorable in his relations with others, people have 
 always reposed confidence in his word, as his integrity has ever been above 
 criticism. He is one of the best examples of the truly self-made American
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 739 
 
 this county can produce, for he started at the bottom of the ladder and his rise 
 to a topmost rung has been by hard work, close application and the exercise of 
 great patience, making stepping-stones out of the obstacles encountered on 
 tiie highway of life. 
 
 Air. Decatur was born in Tioga county. New York, October 15, 1850, 
 the son of William and Julia Ann (Cortwrightj Uecatur, both natives of Xew 
 York, he of Binghamton and she of Tioga county, and there they grew up 
 and were married. Mr. Decatur worked by the month until the commence- 
 ment of the Civil war w lien he enlisted in Company B, One Hundred and Ninth 
 Xew York X'olunteer Infantry. For there months he was sick in the hospital 
 and was finally discharged on account of disability, lie brought his wife to 
 Poweshiek county, Iowa, in 1869 and located in Griiinell, their son. Samuel, 
 of this review, having preceded the parents there the year previous. The 
 father remained in that city until his death, in 1882; however, he spent his last 
 days on the farm with the subject. His family consisted of sc\cn cnildren, 
 five of whom are living. Mrs. William Decatur survived her husband a short 
 time. 
 
 Samuel Decatur, of this sketch, was educated in the public schools of 
 New York, and when but ele\en years of age he was compelled to work to 
 help support the family while the father was in the war. When eighteen 
 years of age he came to Poweshiek count}', Iowa, and worked by the month 
 until the spring of 1881. When a boy he worked many a day for fifty cents, 
 cutting wood, and boarded himself, and later he worked for two seasons on the 
 Iowa Central railroad, using his own team. He was economical and thereby 
 got a start, these hard experiences tloing him gcjod and insuring his success 
 later in life In 1881 he bought a farm of thirty acres in Rock Creek town- 
 ship; this being timbered, he did a great deal of hard work developing it. but 
 this was his start toward a large and valuable farm, he having added to his 
 original purchase from time to time, as he prospered, until he is now the owner 
 of one of the best improved and most productixe farms in his township, con- 
 sisting of three hundred and fifty acres; he has all modern conveniences, in- 
 cluding a good silo, substantial outbuildings and a large and neatly furnished 
 residence. In 1904 he bought the Perry Madison place of two hundred seven- 
 teen and one-half acres which joined his original farm on the south. It is 
 one of the oldest farms in the vicinity, but is still rich and productive, having 
 been carefully tilled. Mr. Madison was one of the first settlers here and took 
 up this farm from the government when this part of the state was yet a wild 
 prairie. He was the first school teacher in Rock Creek township and wa- w ell 
 known to the earlv settlers.
 
 740 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 In politics r^Ir. Decatur is a Republican and he has held a number of local 
 offices, always with credit to himself and with satisfaction to the people. 
 
 In 1876 Mr. Decatur was united in marriage to Orilla Clapp, a native of 
 Walworth county, Wisconsin, and the daughter of Alvin and Martha Clapp, 
 old settlers of that county, having come from Xew England when Wisconsin 
 was a territory. They began life as typical pioneers, erecting a log house and 
 clearing a small patch, and in time had a good home, and there they spent the 
 remainder of their lives, both being now deceased. Their family consisted of 
 three children: Eli, who died in the army; Orilla, wife of Mr. Decatur; 
 Marida. who married E. M. Wafifle. 
 
 Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Decatur, namely: 
 Clarence is married and is living in Poweshiek county: George; Mable. who 
 married William Tesser, lives in Grinnell ; Herbert ; Delphina married Arthur 
 Durr and lives in Rock Creek township; Lawrence; William AIcKinley ; one 
 child died in in fane v. 
 
 JACOB SCHiMITT. 
 
 Among the enterprising Germans who have found homes within our bor- 
 ders and to whom the country has always been ready to extend a hearty wel- 
 come, Jacob Schmitt, farmer of Washington township. Jasper county, is de- 
 ser\-ing of specific mention in the list of worthy citizens of Jasper county. 
 He is one of the pioneers of Iowa and has spent most of his long and useful 
 life in the Hawkeye state, having come here when a boy sixty- four years ago, 
 so he has lived to see and take part in the de\"elopment of the state from the 
 epoch of the wild [)lains, when wild beasts and painted-faced Indians roamed 
 at will, and it is interesting indeed to hear him tell of the early days. He has 
 won a good home and valuable farmstead through his own indomitable efforts 
 and while he has been laboring for his own ad\ancement he has never let a 
 good opportunity pass whereby he could contribute in some way to the progress 
 of his locality, having ever had the general good of his adopted country at 
 heart. He has led a life of honesty and he has ever commanded the respect 
 and good will of his neighbors and many friends. 
 
 Mr. Schmitt was born in Bavaria, Germany, September 10. 1831, the son 
 of Jacob, Sr., and Elizabeth (Beebinger) Schmitt, both born in Bavaria, he in 
 1799 and she in 1805. The paternal grandfather was also named Jacob. 
 The father of the subject was a weaver by trade and worked his own loom 
 for linen weaving. Tn July, 1847, ^^^ brought his family to America, landing
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. y^i 
 
 at Xew Orleans alter a tedi(jus and trying \oyage of sixty-two days. They 
 found It so hot in the Louisiana nietropoHs that the family decided to ascend 
 the Mississippi to Iowa, so they came to Fort Madison and there located, the 
 father securing employment in a hrick yard. Later he rented a farm in Lee 
 county and lived there until his death, in 1863. liis familv consisted of seven 
 children, of whom Jacob, the immediate subject of this sketch, was the second 
 in order of birth. He attended school in Germany until lie was fourteen years 
 of age. Although but sixteen years of age when the family came to America, 
 he left them and started out in life for himself. For some time he worked in 
 Keokuk, Iowa, and he was in the employ of a steamboat' pilot, receiving dur- 
 ing the first year only three dollars per month. Later he began learning the 
 blacksmith's trade, which he followed for a time in Mis.souri. later locating in 
 Franklin, Iowa, where he conducted a blacksmith shop of his own. He 
 worked two years in Louisa county and in 1874 he moved to Prairie City. 
 Jasper county, where he established a blacksmith and repair shop and made 
 wagons which were of such superior quality that they were eagerly sought 
 for. He was in business with his brother Philip for some time, .\lthough 
 he had been very successful as a blacksmith and wagon maker, the subject 
 finally turned his attention to farming and rented land for three years, then 
 bought one hundred and sixty acres in Washington township, in 1881, and 
 here he has continued to reside, having enjoyed a very comfortable income 
 from his well tilled land. 
 
 Mr. Schmitt is a Republican in politics, though in his earlier life he voted 
 the Democratic ticket. He has ])een road supervisor for five vears. Reli- 
 giously, he belongs to the (jerman Lutheran church. 
 
 On October 26, 1856, Mr. Schmitt was united in marriage with Henrietta 
 Rauscher, who was born on the ocean while her parents were emigrating to 
 America. She is the daughter of Henry Rauscher. who came to Ohio in 1833 
 and in 1848 moved on to Lee county, Iowa, thus starting life twice in the new 
 world as a pioneer. To the subject and wife the following children have 
 been born: Philip. Henry. Mrs. Anna Anderson, Lizzie and George, who 
 died in infancy. 
 
 MRS. JOA.N.VA \ALI-:XTIXI-:-F\A\S. 
 
 The name of this estimable lady is a familiar sound to the people in Wash- 
 ington and surrounding townships, and the brief record of her life outlined 
 in the following paragraphs will doubtless be read with interest by manv 
 friends and acquaintances who have learned to prize her for her beautiful
 
 74-' JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 character and useful life, which has been as an open book in which there are 
 no pages marred or soiled by conduct unbecoming true womanhood, and whose 
 influence has always made for the good of the large circle of friends with 
 whom she has associated. 
 
 Airs. Evans was born on January _\S. 1839. in Warren county, Pennsyl- 
 vania, the daughter of Edmund and Hannah \'alentine, her father a native of 
 Pennsylvania and her mother of New York. Air. X'alentine grew up in Penn- 
 svlvania and there engaged in the lumber business, working in the timber 
 many vears, cutting, rafting and sawing. He is now deceased. 
 
 The daughter Joanna grew up and was educated in Pennsylvania and 
 she was married in Warren county, that state, on June 3, 1855, at Enterprise, 
 to George. Evans, who was born Alarch 21, 1828. in Eranklin county, Penn- 
 sylvania, and there he grew to manhood and when young followed teaming in 
 the town of Franklin. The week after his marriage he and his bride moved 
 to Henry county, Illinois, locating in the town of Cambridge and there farmed 
 in the edge of town for three years; then Air. Evans managed a hotel in the 
 town of Atkinson, Illinois, for several years. Later he teamed for different 
 companies in Geneseo, that state. He hauled telegraph poles for the Rock 
 Island Railroad Company when they built through Iowa. In 1875 he and his 
 wife came to Polk county, Iowa, and conducted a hotel in the town of Alitchell- 
 ville for a year, and also followed teaming there. The next year he bought 
 one hundred and fifty-three acres in Washington towaiship, Jasper county, and 
 moved to the same. Although he had to pay seventeen per cent, interest on the 
 money with which he paid for the land and met with \ arious drawbacks, he 
 persevered and succeeded, living on the place ten years. Then he bought three 
 hundred and twenty acres in Washington township, just west of the city of 
 Colfax, for which he paid twenty-six dollars per acre. It is now worth one 
 hundred and fifty dollars per acre. He met with increasing success as a gen- 
 eral farmer and stock raiser. He always kept a great number of dairy cows 
 and made large quantities of butter. He established a pleasant home and left 
 a comfortable competency. 
 
 Air. Evans was a Democrat, Ijut he was not an aspirant for public oftice. 
 He was a man whom everybody liked, being sociable, honorable and neigh- 
 borly. His death occurred on Alarch 4, 1905. 
 
 Seven children were born to Air. and Airs, (ieorge E\ans, named as fol- 
 lows : Airs. Alary DeLong, Airs. Georgia Rose, Airs. Mattie Rose, Airs. Lou 
 Stonehawker, Mrs. Ida Stamper, John and Ered. 
 
 The youngest son, Fred, lives with his mother on the home place and has 
 the active management of the entire farm, successfully carrying out the plans
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 743 
 
 inaugurated there by his father. They have gone extensively into butter 
 making during the past few years. During the year 1910 they made two tons 
 and eight hundred pounds from tlieir cows. They have a separator and churn 
 run by gasoHne engine, in fact, have every m(jdern convenience about the 
 place. 
 
 Fred Evans is a progressive, energetic and capable young farmer, for 
 whom the future promises mucli. lie attended school in Colfax, but has been 
 managing the home place since 1901. He is a Democrat, a member of the 
 Eagles lodge and the Improved Order of Red Men. He was married on May 
 24. 1905, to Mary Carroll, who was born at Council Bluffs, Iowa, the daughter 
 of John Carroll, a railroader. 
 
 HENRY SCHMITT 
 
 The family name of the subject of this sketch is familiar throughout the 
 county of Jasper and as highly esteemed as any other in this locality, and 
 Henry Schmitt is recognized as one of its creditable representatives, a true 
 type of a broad-minded, straightforward agriculturist who has not been 
 afraid of hard work and who has succeeded because he has diligently and per- 
 sistently followed a legitimate course, and while he has l^een laboring for his 
 own advancement he has not been neglectful of his general duties to the com- 
 munity at large. 
 
 Mr. Schmitt was born in Lee county, Iowa, on May 6, i860, the son of 
 Jacob and Henrietta (Rauscher) Schmitt, the father born in Bavaria, Ger- 
 many, on September 10, 1831, and the mother was born on the ocean while 
 her parents were emigrating to this country from Germany. The father of the 
 subject was brought to b'ort Madison. Iowa, by his parents in 1847. He 
 learned the blacksmith's trade which he followed successfully for many years 
 in Missouri and Iowa, later in life turning his attention to farming, becoming 
 the owner of a good farm in Washington township, Jasper county, in 1881, 
 where he has since resided, being now advanced in years. His family con- 
 sisted of five children, namely: Philip; Henry of this sketch; Mrs. .Anna 
 Anderson, Lizzie and George, the latter dying in infancy. 
 
 Henry Schmitt attended school first in Lee county, then in Louisa county, 
 later in lasper county, his parents moving to various places when he was a boy. 
 While they were living in Louisa count}, Hemw went back to the town of 
 Franklin in Lee countv to attend a German school and while there his father 
 moved to Prairie Citv, lasper county, and there, in connection with blacksmith-
 
 ^44 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 iiii;'. conducted a waj^oii shop, in which the sul)iect assisted, doing the painting". 
 Three vears later the faniilv moved south of that town on a farm where they 
 remained four years, then moved to the home farm in Washington township. 
 in 1881, as before stated. 
 
 When Henr\- was married he hegan renting hmd in order to get a start, 
 continuing tlnis for two years on the farm which he now owns. It was in 1893 
 that he purchased his farm of eight acres and this he has greatly improved 
 and made a good living from the same. He has remodeled the buildings and 
 has a comfortable home. 
 
 Mr. Schmitt is school director in his district, and. politically, he votes for 
 the best man, irrespective of politics. He was born and reared in the faith 
 of the German Lutheran church, from w hich he has not departed. 
 
 Mr. Schmitt was married on September 23, 1891, to Anna A\'arner, a 
 native of Jasper county, and the daughter of Mathew Warner, who came from 
 Indiana to Des Moines township, in a v^ery early day. Three children have 
 been born to the subject and wife, nameh' : Edwin Lyle, Clififord Vernon and 
 ^lildred. Thev are being \ery carefully reared Ijy their parents. 
 
 DAVID W. STRAIN. 
 
 The record of David W. Strain, farmer of Washington township, Jasper 
 county, is that of an er.ierprieing gentleman who worthily upholds an honored 
 family name and whose life has been \ery intimately associated with the ma- 
 terial prosperity and general advancement of \arious communities of this part 
 of Iowa during the most progressi\'e period of its history, and he has always 
 been found on the right side of (juestions looking to the 'development of his 
 community in any way. \A'"hile he has been prominent in industrial affairs, 
 he has at the same time won a reputation for honesty and wholesome living. 
 He is a worthy representati\-e of one of the count}''s sterling pioneer families. 
 
 Mr. Strain was born in Highland county, Ohio, Jime 12, 1845, ^he son 
 of Thomas and Xancy A. (Winegar) Strain, the father l)orn in Virginia in 
 1819, but he spent his l;(j}'hood in South Carolina. When a \ oung man he 
 went to Highland county, ( )hio. and there became owner of a farm. He was 
 a typical frontiersman, and in 1850 he drove a team overland to Jasper county, 
 Iowa, buying a farm here. There were few settlers and the country was a 
 wild prairie. He took some land from the government and bought some 
 from those who had entered land at an earlier period. He became the owner 
 of one hundred and sixty acres of good land in Des Moines township and here
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 745 
 
 he went to work with a will and developed a good farm which he later sold 
 and bought two hundred acres in Polk county, Iowa. Suhse<|uently trading 
 that farm for one in Alahaska county, he lived there until his death, which oc- 
 curred in February. 1877. Politically, he was first a Whig, later a Reiniblican. 
 His wife survived until 1895. They were the parents of ten children, an 
 equal number of sons and daughters, and it is somewiiat remarkable that so 
 large a family should all be living at their ages, the eldest being now seventy, 
 the Psalmist's allotted three score and ten ; they are Ellen J. ; John A., of 
 Nebraska; Mrs. Elvira A. Woods, also of Nebraska; David W., of this sketch, 
 who was the fourth in order of birth ; Libby ; Doctor W. ; Richard P. li\ <*>« n.-ar 
 Altoona. Iowa; Sarah B., Delilah Emma and Albert Ross. 
 
 David W. Strain, of this sketch, spent his boyhood for the most part in 
 Camp township. Polk county, having been five years of age when his parents 
 brought him from Ohio. He attended the pioneer schools of this vicinity. 
 He lived at home until he was married, having helped his father transform 
 raw land into productive fields. He became the owner of one hundred and 
 forty acres in Mahaska county which he continued to operate until 1891, when 
 he sold out and bought two hundred and forty acres in Polk county, which he 
 still owns. He lived there, carrying on general farming with his usual suc- 
 cess until 1900. in which vear he bought eighty acres in Washington township. 
 Jasper county, and moved to the same, since adding eighty acres more to it. 
 Under his management this pkice has taken rank among th.e l)est farms of the 
 township. 
 
 Mr. Strain was married on March t. 1877. to Mrs. Eliza (Myers) 
 Block, who was born in Posey county. Indiana, the daughter of Isaac Myers, 
 who came to Mahaska county. Iowa, in 1849. thus being an early settler. The 
 following children have been born to Mr. Strain and wife: Mrs. Edna R. 
 Freel. Mrs. Mayme F. ^^'ilson. Mrs. Lilly M. Schlo.s.ser and Mrs. Abl)ie R. 
 Ward. Personally. Mr. Strain is a man of splendid physique and of a genial. 
 jovial nature which makes him a favorite in any crowd. 
 
 HEXRV WELLE. 
 
 In the constant and laborious struggle for an honorable comi)etence and 
 a creditable name on the part of business or professional men there is little to 
 attract the reader in search of a sensational chapter, but to a mind thoroughly 
 awake to the true meaning of life and its responsibilities there are noble and 
 imperishable lessons in the career of an individual who. early tlirown upon
 
 J46 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 hi^ uwn rcs.ourcc> and without other means than a sound mind, fertile per- 
 ceptive facult)- and a true heart, conquers ad\ersity and wins not only a position 
 in the industrial world, but what is equally as great, the deserved esteem and 
 confidence of his fellow men. Such a man is the prominent business man of 
 Sully, Jasper county, whom the biographer treats in this connection, and whose 
 name is so intimately associated with the material and civic interests of Lynn 
 Grove township as to reflect much credit upon the town and vicinity, at the 
 same time gaining the undi\ided respect of all who know him for his well 
 directed life, which has been along paths of honor. 
 
 Henry Welle was born in Marion county, Iowa. June 24, 1867, the son 
 of Cornelius and Sarah (Nollen) Welle, both natives of Holland, the father 
 having emigrated to America in 1847 ^^'ith his parents, Peter and Dirkie Welle, 
 and located in ]^larion county, Iowa, two and one-half miles from Pella, and 
 there they spent the rest of their lives, having established a very pleasant home 
 in the new world, and there the father of our subject was reared, he having 
 been but a boy when he was brought to this state. The maternal grandparents, 
 Henrv and Sarah Xollen. also natives of Holland who emigrated to America 
 in 1854, located in Marion county, Iowa, also and there the mother of the sub- 
 ject was reared. 
 
 Cornelius Welle devoted his life to agricultural pursuits and became the 
 owner of about two hundred acres of valuable land. His death occurred on 
 September 20. 1907; his widow is still lixing at the town of Pella, being now 
 about seventy-five years of age. Their family consisted of two sons and two 
 daughters, all living. Mr. Welle w^as a quiet, home man, a member of the 
 Dutch Reformed church, to which his widow .also belongs. 
 
 Henry Welle was educated in the common schools of Marion count}' and 
 reared on the farm, and he engaged in the various phases of agricultural pur- 
 suits until he was twenty-eight years of age, then he spent a year in Pella and 
 in 1895 came to Sully, Jasper county, and entered the general mercantile busi- 
 ness in partnership with B. H. Van Spanckeren, which continued successfully 
 for a period of five years, during w hich time they built up an extensixe trade 
 with the town and surrounding country. At the end of that time Mr. Welle 
 bought out his partner and conducted the business alone for ten years, enjoying 
 a liberal and growing patronage all the while, then sold out in the fall of 19 10 
 to Mr. Haan, and soon entered a partnership with Frank Sherman in the 
 automobile and garage business, in which they are .^till engaged, having been 
 successful from the first. They built a modern, substantial cement building, 
 thirty by sixty feet, on Main street. They handle the popular Ford, Hudson 
 and Mitchell cars and their business is constantlv growing.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 747 
 
 Mr. Welle is a Democrat in i^olitics and while lie has never sought public 
 leadership he has always stood ready to do his part in furthering anv laudable 
 undertaking having for its object the upbuilding of the communitv in anv wav. 
 Religiously, he belongs to the Congregational church. 
 
 Mr. Welle was married on September 2. 1896. to Dora \'an Spanckeren. 
 daughter of P.. H. \'anSpanckeren, Sr.. who located in Marion county. Iowa, 
 in 1847. He now lives in Pella and is eighty-four years of age. One son 
 has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Welle, named Cornelius. 
 
 JOHN G. HORSFORD. 
 
 This sterling farmer, who lias come to us from the great and powerful 
 British empire, but who, nevertheless, reveres our flag and gladly supports our 
 institutions, is one of the progressive and highly honored citizens of Washing- 
 ton township, Jasper count) , owning there a valuable and well kept farm- 
 stead. Since coming here he has won a reputation for both industry and in- 
 tegrity, his character standing out unblemished, so that to him is accorded 
 the fullest measure of popular confidence and esteem. He is eminently en- 
 titled to representation in this work, which aims to give all worthy citizens of 
 this locality due credit for their praiseworthy lives. 
 
 Mr. Horsford was born in Devonshire, England. July 26, i860, and he 
 is the son of George and Charlotte ( Gritiin) Horsford. both natives of Devon- 
 shire, England. There they grew up, were educated and married, devoted 
 their lives to farming, and there they died, the father in the same house in 
 which he was born. Their family consisted of four sons, namely : John G., 
 of this sketch; William lives in England; Harry died in his native country; 
 and Fred, who is still living in England. 
 
 John G. Horsford grew up in his native community and was educated 
 there, emigrating to America when twenty-one years of age and located in 
 Winnebago county, Illinois, where he worked a few months, then returned to 
 England, where he remained until the spring of the next year, then returned to 
 Illinois and located in La Salle county where he worked out as a farm hand. 
 In the fall of 1883 he came to Jasper county and located in Richland town- 
 ship, buying one hundred acres there, which he improved into a good farm 
 and there made his home for a period of sixteen years, then sold out and 
 bought one hundred and forty acres near Bethel church. Selling that farm 
 in March, 1909. he purchased one hundred and sixty acres in Washington 
 township and this place he has impro\ed and is \ery comfortably situated.
 
 748 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 ha\ing a pleasant home and convenient barns and other builcHngs; in connec- 
 tion with general farming, he raises a good grade of hve stock of various 
 kimls. Having been a man of thrift, he has met with a hirge measure of 
 success in his adopted country. 
 
 Mr. Horsford is a man of decided views, and he votes for tlie man who, 
 in his estimation, is best (pudihed for the ofiice sought, irrespective of poHtics. 
 Rehgiouslv, he belongs to the Methodist Episcopal cluirch. He has been 
 school director in his district. 
 
 On July 24, 1884, Mr. Hosford was united in marriage with Mary Black, 
 who was born in Grinnell. Iowa. Alay 18, 1864, the daughter of O. W. Black 
 and wife, early settlers of this portion of Iowa. Two children ha\e been born 
 to the subject and wife. Mrs. Fannie Hoover and Charlotte. 
 
 HIRAM C. LIBOLT. 
 
 The subject of this sketch holds worthy prestige among the enterprising 
 farmers and representative citizens of Jasper county and it is with no small 
 degree of satisfaction that the biographer gives to the public the following 
 brief outline of his life and achievements, for he has always stood for upright 
 manhood and progressixe citizenship, his intiuence in every relation of lite 
 making for the luaterial advancement of his community, while he has led a 
 life of honesty and established a reputation for fairness in all his relations 
 with the world. 
 
 Hfram C. Libolt was ]x)rn in Washington township, this count}', Septem- 
 ber 7. 1868, the son of one of our worthy pioneer families, John L. and Eliza 
 (Corwin) Liljolt, the fatlier Ixjrn in the state of Xew York in 1829 and died 
 in 1907; the mother was born on the Isle of Man and her death occurred in 
 1869 when her son, Hiram C, of this sketch, was six months old. The father 
 subsequently married Mrs. Jennie (Robinson) Allen. John L. Libolt, the 
 father, was one of the earliest settlers in Cedar county. Iowa, w hither he came 
 about 1854 and there he was married some time afterwards to the subject's 
 mother. Aljout 1865 he moved to Jasper county and bought one hundred 
 and sixty acres in Washington township and here he continued farming. He 
 was a (Jreenbacker, later a Democrat and lie served his community as road 
 supervisor. His family consisted of two children by his first wife, William, 
 deceased, and Hiram C, of this review. Three children were born of his 
 second union, Ada. deceased: Mrs. Delia Smith, and Cieorge, wlio is li\ing in 
 Salt Lake Citv.
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 749 
 
 Jrlirani L". Liboll was educated in Washington township, district Xo. 6. 
 When t(jurteen years of age he left home and worked out by the month and 
 while still thus employed, at the age of twenty-three, he bought eighty acres 
 of the home place and there he still resides, having kept the same well improved 
 and well tilled, in 1907 he built a commodious new dwelling, and he has 
 always kept good live stock. 
 
 Tolitically, Mr. Libolt is a Democrat and he is now serving as school 
 director in Washington township. He is a member of the Modern Wood- 
 men lodge and of the Christian church at Colfax. 
 
 On February 27, 1901, Mr. Libolt was married to Anna Stineman, who 
 was born in Polk county, Iowa, the daugliter of John Stineman. This union 
 has been without issue. 
 
 Mr. Libolt is a pleasant man to meet, genial, hospitable and Inroad-minded. 
 Such a man is to be congratulated for working his way from an humble begin- 
 ning to the position which he now occupies In the community, and he is a 
 fine example of the self-reliant, courageous and self-made American, his ex- 
 ample proving that the boy who is ambitious and earnest may succeed in the 
 face of obstacles, without the help of family or influential friends. By hon- 
 est methods, economy, industry, the exercise of sound judgment and keen 
 foresight he has pushed his way to the front. Being a close observer, he 
 l)rofited bv the failures and faults of others. 
 
 JOHN H. SHERMAN. 
 
 What characterizes the present age of in(lu;-try in contrast with all that 
 ha\-e gone before is the great and wonderful di\ersity of pursuits. One 
 merchant of today will handle nothing but hats, another nothing but stationery, 
 another nothing but confectionery, and so on; few manufacturers nowadavs 
 turn out more than one product, and in nearly e\ery line of endeavor in this 
 rushing, specializing, industrial age. this fact is traceable. To a considerable 
 extent this holds good on the farm as well as in the city : the modern agricul- 
 turist is turning his attention to some specific branch of farming, and onlv 
 pursues the others so far as they will aid him in making a success of the one. 
 In following the one he but observes the tendency of the times to concentrate 
 most of his attention on certain lines which are thus sure to be vastiv more suc- 
 cessful tlian if liis efforts were scattered o\er man\- occupations. Thus it is 
 found that .some farmers make a specialty of raising certain grades of stock, 
 to the exclusion of general farming except as the latter will aid him with his
 
 750 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 
 
 Stock. A good exponent of both general and special farming is to be found 
 in John H. Sherman, one of the best known citizens of the southeastern part 
 of Jasper county, and the son of one of the honored and most intiuential of the 
 pioneers of L) nn Grove township, in the development of which the Shermans 
 have been among the most active during the past half century or more, and 
 in which township occurred the birth of the subject on March 23, i(Sr)i, and 
 here he has been content to spend his life. He is the son of Thomas and 
 Peninah (Sparks) Sherman. Th.e paternal grandfather. Harris Sherman, 
 was a native of Massachusetts, and in 1831 this family moved to Portage 
 county, Ohio, and settled among the pioneers there. Mr. Sherman engaging in 
 farming there until his death, at the advanced age of eighty-seven years, his 
 wife also reaching a ripe old age. 
 
 The Sparks family originated in Wales, from which country they emi- 
 grated to America and settled in Mar}land in the early history of this countrx . 
 later making their home in North Carolina, and still later in Kentucky. The 
 maternal grandparents, John R. and Elizal)eth Sparks, were born in Adair 
 county, Kentucky, he on March 16, 1806, and she on January 7. i8o5. and 
 there they grew up and were married, and moved to Illinois in the early set- 
 tlement of that state, and from there came on to Lee county, Iowa, in 1836. 
 making their home there until 1845, ^^h^ri they moved to Jasper county, locat- 
 ing in section 10, Lynn Grove township, entering about three hundred and 
 twent}' acres from the government. Mr.' Sparks had little of this world's 
 goods when he arrived here; he had twent}'-live dollars in money, a span of 
 horses, three yoke of oxen and two plows. But he liked nothing better than 
 to begin life in a new country, and he made a clearing, built- a rude hut and 
 went to work witli his usual courage, and soon had a good farm and comfort- 
 able home in which he spent the remainder of his life, dying on August 17. 
 1886, his wife having preceded him to the grave only a short time, her death 
 having occurred on June 7th of that year. Their lives were remarkable in 
 that they began and closed, each within a few days of the other and during a 
 long flight of years they traversed the pathway side bv side. They were among 
 the first settlers of Iowa and their like are not frequently met with nowadays. 
 John R. Sparks built the first saw-mill in Lynn Grove township, choosing for 
 the site the present village of Lynnville, on the Skunk river, and he also estab- 
 lished the first grist-mill here, in fact, this antedated the saw-mill some time, 
 he having est''blished these mills at Lynnville before he began farming in this 
 vicinity. 
 
 Thomas Sherman, father of John H., of this review, was born in Massa- 
 chusetts, on September C^. 1828. and in 1831 he accompanied his parents to
 
 JASPER COUNTY, IOWA. 75 1 
 
 Portage county, Ohio, and tliere grew to maturity (jn the home farm, receiving 
 such education as those early times afforded in the pubHc schools. Early in 
 life he manifested an unusual ability as a financier. In 1854 he came to Jas- 
 per county, Iowa, reaching here with absolutely nothing, and he began w(jrK- 
 ing for John R. Sparks, for two years at twelve dollars per month. On April 
 10. 1856, he married his employer's daughter. Peninah. She was born in 
 Morgan county, Illinois, on December 3, 1835. He had been economical, 
 saved his money and after his marriage bought two hundred and forty acres 
 of land in Lynn Grove township, not far from the Sparks homestead, for which 
 he paid only one dollar and twenty-fi\e cents per acre, when this township had 
 a population of less than two hundred. He built a frame house of a native 
 walnut tree. Being a man of keen business discernment .md good judgment, 
 he prospered from the first, and added t(^ his (jriginal purchase from time to 
 time until he ouned one thousand and sixtv acres of valuable Jasper county 
 land which he dix'ided mostly among his seven children before his de'ith. His 
 home farm was a model in e\er}- respect, and he became one of the county's 
 leading" agriculturists and substantial citizens, prominent and influential and a 
 man whom everybody trusted and esteemed. He retained the old homestead 
 until his death, on April 10, 1909, his widow sur\ iving until January 27. 191 1, 
 both having reached ad\anced ages. He was a great reader, kept well ad\ised 
 on current topics and was an intelligent and progressive citizen. He dealt 
 exclusively in land, never refusing to sell when offered a reasonable profit. 
 When the Iowa Central railroad built through this country he aided in organ- 
 izing and founding the town of Sully. ?Te gave his children good educations 
 and thev are all doing well in life's aft'airs. In politics he was a Republican 
 and he and his wife belonged to the Methodist Protestant church, to which 
 their parents before them also belonged. 
 
 fohn H. Sherman, of this review, grew- up on his father's farm and when 
 he became of proper age assisted in the general work on the same. After 
 passing through the public schools of his community, he spent four years in 
 Iowa College at Grinnell. In 1886 he returned to his native community and 
 took up his life work. On December 23, 1887, he was united in marriage 
 with Anna L. Shoop, daughter of a highly respected family. They .started 
 housekeeping on the farm which his father had given him. Later he bought a 
 part of the homestead and now owns a valuable, well improved and productive 
 farm of one hundred and eighty acres in Lynn Grove township and has met 
 with a large measure of success as a general farmer and stock raiser. He has 
 placed manv modern improvements on this land, including a new and attractive 
 dwelling and a good barn, fencing, etc. He has dealt in st<x-k raising all his
 
 JZ^2 JASPER COUNTY. IOWA. 
 
 life, and for some time specialized in breeding Poland-China hogs. In the 
 fall of 1908 he moved to Sully and built a fine modern home in that pleasant 
 \illage, in the southeast part of town where he now lives retired, leaving the 
 operation of his farm to his sons, though he still maintains general supervision 
 of the same. 
 
 Politicallv, Mr. Sherman is a Republican and he and his wife have always 
 been members of the Methodist Protestant church. ]^Irs. Sherman was born 
 in Ohio, the daughter of William and Elizabeth Shoop, the father a soldier 
 in the Civil war, dving after returning from the army, of sickness contracted 
 in line of service. About 1867 his widow and daughter came to Iowa and 
 located near Kellogg". Jasper county. Mrs. Shoop lived until 1894. Anna L., 
 wife of Mr. Sherman, was her only child. 
 
 To Mr. and Mrs. Sherman three children were born, namely: Emerson, 
 born November 5. 1888; Raymond, born September 9. 1890, and Florence M., 
 born August 6, 1900.
 
 UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LIBRARY 
 
 Los Angeles 
 
 This book IS DUE on the last date stamped below. 
 
 MARUbJ990 
 
 IH 
 
 ^ 

 
 i^-,"' 
 
 "i 
 
 1 
 
 D 000 216 065 3 
 
 n- 
 
 ^ 
 
 ^m*'-