CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS.
 
 6g Wiffiam C&nbretts, 
 
 Mr. Andrews' books are always interesting. Church Bells. 
 
 Mr. Andrews' works are a rich mine of curious learning, displayed 
 in an attractive form. " Echoes of the H\-ck," by Mr. G. A. Sa/a. 
 
 I think your labours, -writes the Right Hon. ll' r . E. Gladstone to 
 Mr. Andrews, of real interest and value in their illustration of Old 
 English Life. 
 
 Curiosities of the Church. 
 
 We feel sure that many will feel grateful to Mr. Andrews for having 
 produced such an interesting book. The Antiquary. 
 
 A volume of great research and striking interest. The Bookbuyer 
 (New York). 
 
 Contains in a popular and readable form, much that is curious and 
 instructive. Manchester Gua rdian. 
 
 An interesting, handsomely got up volume. . . . Mr. Andrews 
 is always chatty and expert in making a paper on a dry subject 
 exceedingly readable. Newcastle Courant. 
 
 An admirable book. Sheffield Independent, 
 
 Old Church Lore. 
 
 Mr. Andrews' book does not contain a dull page. . . . Deserves 
 to meet with a very warm welcome. Yorkshire Post. 
 
 A worthy book on a deeply interesting subject. . . . We commend 
 this book strongly. European Mail. 
 
 An interesting volume. The Scotsman. 
 
 The book is eminently readable, and may be taken up at any 
 moment with the certainty that something suggestive or entertaining 
 will present itself. Glasgow Citizen. 
 
 Curious Church Customs. 
 
 A thoroughly excellent volume. Publishers' Circulat. 
 
 We are indebted to Mr. Andrews for an invaluable addition to our 
 library of folk-lore, and we do not think that many who take it up will 
 skip a single page. Dundee Advertiser. 
 
 Very interesting. To-Day. 
 
 Mr. Andrews is too practised an historian not to have made the most 
 of his subject. Review of Reviews. 
 
 A handsomely got up and interesting volume. The Fiteside. 
 
 Bygone England. 
 
 A very readable and instructive volume. The Globe. 
 
 Many are the subjects of interest introduced in this chatty volume. 
 Saturday Review. 
 
 A delightful volume for all who love to dive into the origin of social 
 habits and customs, and to penetrate into the byways of history. 
 Liverpool Daily Post. 
 
 There is a large mass of information in this capital volume, and it is 
 so pleasantly put that many will be tempted to study it. Mr. Andrews 
 has done his work with great skill. London Quarterly Review. 
 
 'A delightful book,' is the verdict that the reader will give after 
 a perusal of its pages. Mr. Andrews has presented to us in very pleasing 
 form some phases of the social life of England in the olden time 
 Publishers Circulat . 
 
 Some of the chapters are very interesting, and are most useful for 
 those who desire to know the origin and history of some of our daily 
 practices and amusements. The World.
 
 BTHELMARUS, BISHOP OF WINCHESTER, I26l.
 
 EDITED BY 
 
 WILLIAM ANDREWS, F.R.H.S., 
 
 AUTHOR OF "CURIOSITIES OF THE CHURCH," " OLD CHURCH LORE," 
 " BYGONE ENGLAND," ETC. 
 
 HULL: 
 WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., THE HULL PRESS. 
 
 LONDON : 
 SIMPKIN, MARSHALL, HAMILTON, KENT & CO., LTD. 
 
 i 896.
 
 preface. 
 
 I ^ H E welcome given by the public and the 
 -*- press to my previous volume issued under 
 the title of " Curious Church Customs," has en- 
 couraged me to prepare on similar lines another 
 collection of papers dealing with the byways and 
 highways of Church history. 
 
 My contributors have done their best to furnish 
 articles of interest, and I think their work is of 
 permanent value. I should be ungrateful if I 
 did not express my gratitude for their assistance. 
 
 I send forth this book hoping that it may not 
 fail to prove entertaining, and throw some 
 light on matters of interest to lovers of our 
 
 National Church. 
 
 WILLIAM ANDREWS. 
 
 THE HULL PRESS, 
 
 St. Nicholas' Day, 1895. 
 
 2068523
 
 Content*. 
 
 PACK 
 
 WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN AN OLD CHURCH. By George Benson i 
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. By J. A. Sparvel-Bayly, B.A. 14 
 
 THE CHURCH PORCH. By William E. A. Axon, F.R.S.L. . . 29 
 
 THE .LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. By the Rev. J. 
 
 Charles Cox, LL.D., F.S.A 36 
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. By Florence Peacock .... 65 
 
 MISERICORUES. By T. Tindall Wiidridge ..... 92 
 
 CHURCH GILDS. By the Rev. J. Malet Lambert, M.A., LL.D. . no 
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. By J. A. Sparvel-Bayly, B.A. . . 138 
 
 THE BISHOP'S THRONE. By the Rev. Geo. S. Tyack, B.A. . 163 
 
 CHANTRIES. By John T. Page ....... 170 
 
 HAGIOSCOPES. By John T. Page 178 
 
 SOME ENGLISH SHRINES. By the Rev. Geo. S. Tyack, B.A. . 181 
 THE CHURCH AND WELL OF ST. CHAD. By J. A. Langford, 
 
 LL.D. .......... 193 
 
 BURIALS IN WOOLLEN. By William Andrews, F.R.H.S. . . 201 
 
 HEARSE: How A WORD HAS CHANGED ITS MEANING. By 
 
 Edward Peacock, F.S.A. ...... 209 
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. By Emily Sophia 
 
 Hartshorne ......... 224 
 
 BOY-BISHOPS. By England Hewlett ...... 241 
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. By Rev. J. Charles Cox, 
 
 LL.D. F.S.A. ......... 251 
 
 INDEX ........... 277
 
 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Wbat to look for in an l& Cburcb. 
 
 BY GEORGE BENSON. 
 
 THE church in many villages is the only 
 object of antiquity. In it, generation after 
 generation of the villagers have been baptised, 
 married, and buried ; on it, the best work of the 
 village mason, joiner, smith, and carver has been 
 employed, and a good deal of the village history 
 is contained within its walls, rendering the edifice 
 so interesting that even strangers rarely leave the 
 village without a peep at the church. To render 
 the visit to a village church as interesting as 
 possible, we purpose explaining the various 
 objects as we may meet them. 
 
 The church, with its burial ground, is enclosed 
 by a wall. 
 
 1
 
 2 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Each in its little plot of holy ground, 
 
 How beautiful they stand, 
 
 These old grey churches of our native land. 
 
 At the entrance to the churchyard is the lych- 
 gate, or corpse gate (A.S., lich, a dead body), 
 being a covered gateway, beneath which the 
 coffin rests on a bier for a few minutes. Through 
 the lychgate are the stocks, in which those who 
 had been guilty of some minor offence were 
 placed. Nearer the church is the tall churchyard 
 cross, elaborately carved and raised on steps, 
 from which in some places sermons are preached 
 in fine weather. Scattered over the burial 
 ground are yew trees, which, having a long life, 
 are typical of immortality. At Easter, Whitsun- 
 tide, and Christmas, boughs of this tree were used 
 to decorate the interior of the church. The church- 
 yard is filled with headstones, table tombs, etc., 
 many of them inscribed with quaint and curious 
 epitaphs. 
 
 The church, generally approached on the 
 south side, consists of a tower at the west end ; 
 south porch and aisles, with roof sloping from 
 below the windows of nave ; and chancel, with 
 priest's door. On the east end of the nave roof 
 is a Sanctus bell cot, containing the bell which
 
 WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN AN OLD CHURCH. 3 
 
 was rung at the words " Sancte, sancte, sancte, 
 Deus Sabaoth " (Holy, holy, holy, Lord God of 
 Sabaoth) ; and all who heard it were expected 
 to prostrate themselves. The east end of the 
 chancel roof is terminated by a gable cross, richly 
 sculptured, and on the wall is a consecration 
 cross sculptured where the bishop when con- 
 secrating the church had made the sign of the 
 cross. The projecting pieces of masonry to the 
 wall are termed buttresses, and on some there are 
 deep furrows worn by sharpening arrows, when 
 archery was practised in the churchyard. The 
 buttresses terminate in gargoyles, projecting 
 grotesque figures, with open mouths, which carry 
 the water from the roof and throw it off the 
 building. On one side of the entrance to the 
 south porch is an ancient sun-dial, whilst above 
 the moulded arch is a canopied niche, containing 
 an effigy of the patron saint. Above is a window 
 which lights the room over the porch. Within 
 the porch on either side runs a stone bench, and 
 on the walls are posted the church notices. The 
 deeply moulded and shafted doorway is fitted with 
 a door made from the oak of Old England, and 
 enriched with beautiful bands of wrought ironwork 
 representing the Fall of Man.
 
 4 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Within the church, at the east side of the door, 
 is a stone basin formed in the masonry. This is 
 the " Stoup " used in mediaeval days for holy 
 water. On entering, each worshipper dipped his 
 finger into it, and crossed himself. Sometimes a 
 stoup is met with outside the priest's door. 
 Opposite the entrance stands the font, of stone, 
 lined with lead, and filled with water for baptism. 
 It is deep and circular in shape, ornamented on the 
 exterior, and surmounted with a lofty crocketed 
 spire, raised by a pulley and a counterpoise in the 
 form of a dove, so that as it ascends the holy dove 
 descends. The font stands between the north 
 and south doors. Through the former Satan is said 
 to escape from the child when, by baptism, it be- 
 comes a child of Christ. Over the tower arch are 
 the Royal Arms, and along the walls under the 
 tower are tables recording the names of past 
 benefactors to the poor, the parish, and the church. 
 A bread board in the form of a carved cabinet 
 with shelves, displays the loaves given to the poor 
 who attend service in accordance with the wish of 
 the benefactor. 
 
 Unlocking a door in the angle, the tower is 
 ascended in corkscrew fashion by narrow, dusty, 
 and ill-lighted stairs. Plodding up the decayed,
 
 WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN AN OLD CHURCH. 5 
 
 broken, and rugged steps, a faint glimmering of 
 light illuminates the darkness, gradually increasing 
 until a low door is reached : stooping beneath, a 
 large, lofty, and gloomy apartment is entered. 
 This is the Ringing Chamber. A loud, sharp, 
 metallic creaking noise arrests attention, and the 
 clock apparatus is observed in the dim light. 
 The great clock is about to strike, and for some 
 minutes is preparing itself for the alarming event. 
 Dangling from the ceiling are the ropes from the 
 belfry ; on the floor is a carved oak settee for the 
 ringers, and a highly ornamented chest full of 
 disused rate books, with the banner of St. 
 George and the Union Jack thrown carelessly 
 over, and sometimes as carelessly hoisted on the 
 staff, for we have noticed church flags gaily floating 
 in the breeze upside down. From the windows of 
 this chamber many charming views are obtained. 
 Affixed to the walls are peal boards, recording 
 achievements of former ringers, and also rules in 
 rhyme relating to ringing, as follows : 
 
 He that a bell doth overthrow 
 Shall twopence pay before he go, 
 And he that rings with spur or hat 
 Shall fourpence pay, be sure of that : 
 And if these orders he refuse 
 No less than sixpence will excuse.
 
 6 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 By a dilapidated ladder in the corner the ascent 
 is made to the belfry ; then passing through the trap 
 door, the breeze whistling through the louvres 
 and nearly taking away the breath, the belfry is 
 reached, and a sudden and loud dong alarms us, 
 but our nerves are reassured as we realise that 
 it is only 
 
 The crazy old church clock 
 And the bewildered chimes. 
 
 Amidst the heavy timbered framing hang the 
 bells, fine specimens of casting, in good tune, and 
 with pious mottoes beautifully lettered and 
 ornamented. Caution is necessary in examining 
 the bells, especially during ringing time. Im- 
 pressions of the raised inscriptions and ornaments 
 are obtained by stretching over them strips of thin 
 narrow paper and rubbing with pieces of thin, 
 black boot leather. 
 
 The interiors of belfries are often in a dirty 
 condition, owing to birds flying in and out, and 
 jackdaws and owls occasionally taking up their 
 abode there. By a ladder reaching to the trap-door 
 above, the summit of the tower is reached, and a 
 panoramic view of the district obtained. In 
 the centre of the tower is the flag-staff, whilst 
 a corner is occupied by the beacon, restored and
 
 WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN AN OLD CHURCH. 7 
 
 re-lighted at Her Majesty's Jubilee. In another 
 corner is the vane, a metal plate turning on a 
 vertical spindle to show the direction of the wind. 
 Descending the tower, the church is again 
 entered. In front is the alms box, formed 
 from a tree trunk, securely locked, and having 
 clasps of hammered ironwork. The Church- 
 wardens' Pew attracts attention, having at each 
 end of the seat a tall thick wand painted black, 
 with the Royal Arms or CW (churchwarden) in 
 gold on the upper part. These emblems of 
 authority demanded a good deal of respect in 
 days gone by. On the desk-rail are wrought-iron 
 candle-holders. In the spandrels of the nave 
 arches are hatchments, lozenge-shaped black 
 frames containing the coats-of-arms of persons 
 interred in the church. On the floor, fixed to 
 blue stones, are large plates of brass, on which 
 the effigy of the deceased is graven. They 
 are known as " Sepulchral brasses," a form of 
 memorial adopted about the middle of the 
 thirteenth century. Rubbings of these effigies 
 are obtained by placing a piece of thin white paper 
 to cover the brass and then rubbing it over with a 
 piece of black heel-ball, which can be obtained 
 at any shoemaker's. There are also some stone
 
 8 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 slabs with floriated crosses, an earlier form of 
 memorial. A recess in the wall on the north side 
 was the hermit's cell, formerly tenanted by a 
 recluse. 
 
 A small stair leads to the room above the 
 porch, which is termed a parvise ; a small open 
 quatrefoil gives a view into the church, and a fire- 
 place occupies a corner. This room formerly 
 contained a library of chained books, the chain 
 of sufficient length to allow of the book being 
 laid on a desk for perusal. The room was 
 probably occupied by a priest. Descending 
 from the parvise, it is noticed that the walls of 
 the church have been scraped, revealing masons' 
 marks, some faint outlines of ''frescoes" and 
 texts on the wall. In this case the interior 
 of the walls being ashlar, the removal of the 
 plaster is justifiable, but the "scraping" process 
 has been carried too far, and plaster removed 
 from rubble walls that were never intended by their 
 designers to be exposed. All the irregularities of 
 these rubble stones have even been accentuated 
 by jointing them in black mortar. Round the 
 walls is a solid mass of masonry, forming a long 
 stone bench or seat, a remnant of the time 
 when there were no other seats in the church.
 
 WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN AN OLD CHURCH. 9 
 
 The wood seats in the nave have beautifully 
 carved ends with poppy heads. 
 
 A beautiful oak screen, termed a parclose, 
 separates the nave from the chantry chapel, 
 which contains the tomb of its founder. He 
 erected the chapel, and endowed it with lands, 
 etc., in order that after his death masses should be 
 daily celebrated for his soul. Above are sus- 
 pended pennon and armour. The chapel con- 
 tained an altar, and also a " Squint," a splayed 
 opening through the masonry in an oblique 
 direction, which enabled the priest in the chantry 
 chapel to see the elevation of the Host during 
 mass at the high altar. Near the entrance to the 
 chancel is the desk, termed the " Lectern," from 
 which the lessons are read. It is formed of 
 brass, and represents a pelican with wings ex- 
 panded to hold the Bible. The bird is drawing 
 her blood out of her breast to feed her little ones. 
 
 The pulpit of oak has an imposing appearance. 
 It is reached by stairs having twisted balusters, 
 and surmounted by a huge projecting canopy or 
 sounding board, intended to throw the sound of 
 the preacher's voice among the congregation. On 
 the pulpit ledge is a relic of the days of long 
 sermons. It is the wrought-iron frame which con-
 
 io CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 tained the sand hour-glass. Below the pulpit is the 
 old reading desk, having beneath, the seat formerly 
 occupied by the parish clerk. Such a pulpit 
 is commonly termed a three-decker. The gallery 
 at the west end formerly contained the choir of 
 male and female voices, and the orchestra of flute, 
 violin, and bassoon. Now the choir is surpliced, 
 and consists of male voices only, who are seated 
 in the chancel, near the organ, which has super- 
 seded the instrumental band. 
 
 In the vestry are kept the Parish Registers, 
 Churchwardens' Accounts, etc., which are invalu- 
 able to the Parish, and in these days of cheap 
 printing, copies should be made ere the originals 
 perish by neglect or fire. A framed Terrier sus- 
 pended on the wall records the possessions of this 
 church. 
 
 The chancel is separated from the nave by a 
 carved wood screen, with folding doors in the 
 centre. The upper part of the screen projects, 
 and carries a gallery or rood loft, the front of 
 which has canopied niches that were filled with 
 figures of saints. Above the screen is the rood 
 or Crucifixion, between the figures of St. Mary 
 and St. John. The approach to the rood loft is by 
 a narrow stair in the wall. Within the chancel are
 
 WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN AN OLD CHURCH. 1 1 
 
 the stalls, arranged on each side and re-turned at the 
 west end. They are separated from one another 
 by large elbows. The seats are fitted with hinges. 
 Underneath is a bracket, termed a miserere, with 
 a grotesque carving. When turned up it was 
 sufficient, without actually forming a seat, to 
 afford considerable rest to any one leaning upon 
 it, thus being a relief to the infirm ecclesiastics 
 during the long services when it was necessary to 
 stand. At the western end of the south side of 
 the chancel is a low side window, considered to 
 have been the window where lepers assembled 
 outside to hear the service. Three steps lead to 
 the railing across the altar space. The Com- 
 munion table is placed close to the east wall. At 
 the back is the reredos, enriched with sculpture ; 
 and on either side of the east window are the 
 Commandments and the Belief. South of the 
 table is the piscina, a sculptured recess, containing 
 the sink in which the chalice was rinsed at the 
 time of the celebration of mass ; above was the 
 Credence shelf, on which the bread and wine 
 were placed before consecration. A closet in the 
 .wall which contained the sacred vessels was 
 termed a locker. On the south side are the Sedilia, 
 three canopied seats recessed in the wall,
 
 12 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 formerly used by the priest, deacon, and sub- 
 deacon ; and on the north side is a sculptured 
 recess, known as the Easter sepulchre. In it the 
 crucifix was placed with great solemnity on Good 
 Friday, and watched continually from that time 
 till Easter Day, when it was taken out and re- 
 placed on the altar with special ceremony. Under 
 the chancel was the crypt, a chapel with a stone 
 altar, the top slab being marked with five crosses, in 
 allusion to the five wounds of Christ, while a recess 
 in the altar once contained relics, the bones of a 
 saint. In course of time the crypt, being disused 
 as a chapel, was utilised as a bone-house ; any 
 bones dug up in the churchyard whilst making 
 new graves were religiously taken care of and 
 placed there. In later times it became the vault 
 of some local family, and is now filled up with 
 earth. An important element in the decoration 
 of the edifice is the stained glass. The earliest 
 was coloured throughout by oxide of metal fused 
 with it in the furnace, and termed "pot metal." 
 The first coloured glass windows were formed of 
 pieces of different colours, arranged in patterns 
 outlined by lead, similar to mosaic ; afterwards the 
 surface of larger portions of pot metal glass were 
 adorned with a dark brown fusible colour ; then
 
 WHAT TO LOOK FOR IN AN OLD CHURCH 13 
 
 diapered backgrounds became general, on which 
 were coloured outlined geometrical figures. After- 
 wards the windows consisted of subject panels 
 alternating with geometrical patterns, termed 
 grisaille work. Then came large single figures 
 under canopies, followed by greater freedom of 
 treatment. Finally, instead of each light being 
 a single subject, the whole window becomes 
 occupied with one general subject. 
 
 It is greatly to be regretted that much church 
 furniture of historic and artistic interest, that was 
 considered to adorn the edifice previous to what 
 is termed the restoration of the church, has been 
 sold or lost. They were relics of the various 
 epochs in the history of the church, as well as 
 examples of the progress of art, and were worthy 
 of preservation. All the objects mentioned in 
 this chapter may not be found in every 
 church we may visit, for much destruction has 
 taken place within churches during the centuries 
 they have existed, some suffering more than 
 others, but each edifice has some special feature, 
 and if examined in the manner indicated, the 
 visitor will find the inspection of an old church a 
 source of instruction and delight.
 
 jarl\> Church BeMcatione. 
 
 BY J. A. SPARVEL-BAYLY, B.A. 
 
 MORE than once during the past ten or 
 twelve years have we heard a puzzled 
 clergyman say, when alluding to his recently 
 restored church, " I do not know when to ask the 
 Bishop to re-open it ; my church, unfortunately, 
 has no dedication that I am aware of." In answer 
 to this, we have, in our turn, put the question, 
 " Is a fair held in your parish ? because, if so, it 
 is most probable that your church is dedicated to 
 the saint whose festival falls upon that fair-day, or 
 the one nearest to it." That there is good warrant 
 for this assertion is proved by a comparison of 
 known dedications with the dates of the fairs held 
 or formerly held, in the respective parishes 
 Knowing that the pagan English had long been 
 accustomed to hold great feasts and drinking 
 festivals in honour of their gods and of dead 
 ancestors, St. Gregory the Great, who was a
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. 15 
 
 shrewd man of the world, directed the day of the 
 dedication of a church to be kept as a holiday, 
 that the people might build themselves huts with 
 branches of trees around the church, and pass the 
 time in religious feasting. Thus, the parochial 
 holiday and village fair on the day of the dedica- 
 tion of the church became an institution ; the 
 sylvan bowers suggested by St. Gregory in his 
 letter to the Abbot Mellitus being now represented 
 by the booths and stalls of itinerant mummers and 
 pedlars. Still, it would seem that even in the 
 fifteenth and sixteenth centuries the dedication 
 names of many of our early churches were equally 
 unknown. Can it be possible that some of our 
 oldest churches had originally no dedication names 
 at all, but were simply consecrated to the honour 
 and glory of God ? It may have been so, but we 
 can scarcely think it, because in times long since 
 passed away religious sentiment took the form of 
 special devotion to this or to that particular saint 
 as, for example, that of the Confessor to St. 
 Peter, "his friend," and to St. John, "his own 
 dear one." Witness also the reverence of Edward 
 the Black Prince for the Holy Trinity, as evinced 
 in his will bv the minuteness of the instructions for 
 
 J 
 
 his burial in the Trinity Chapel of Canterbury
 
 16 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Cathedral ; and it is strange that it was on the 
 Trinity Sunday of 1376 that he, the 
 
 " Sable warrior, 
 Mighty victor, mighty Lord," 
 
 entered upon his rest. But perhaps the most 
 striking example is afforded by Henry III., the 
 most alien in heart of all our Angevin Kings, who 
 spent his whole time and energy in vain efforts to 
 recover the Continental dominions lost by his 
 father, John. Henry was, after his fashion, a 
 deeply religious man, and did special honour, by a 
 curious contradiction, to two purely English saints. 
 One of these was Edward the Confessor, whose 
 Abbey Church of Westminster Henry rebuilt in 
 the shape in which we still see it, though it was 
 slightly enlarged by the Renaissance chapel of his 
 Tudor successor, Henry VII. The other was St. 
 Edmund, King of the East Anglians, murdered 
 during the first Danish invasion by the heathen 
 Scandinavians, and duly enshrined as a martyr in 
 the town of Bury St. Edmund's, which takes its 
 title from his relics. After these two English 
 saints Henry named his sons, Edward I. and 
 Edmund, Earl of Lancaster. Therefore, we think 
 it highly improbable that the founders of our 
 ancient churches " the gates of heaven, the
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. 17 
 
 ladders of prayer "-would omit to associate with 
 their great and good work the name of that member 
 of the celestial hierarchy whom they held in the 
 highest reverence. To many old churches, other 
 names than those originally invoked have, without 
 doubt, been added or substituted ; and especially 
 so at the time of the Reformation, when, no doubt, 
 many merely local and historical invocations gave 
 place to more catholic ascriptions. Re- dedications, 
 we know, were also common in honour of the 
 " saint-name " of some new and popular Bishop of 
 the diocese. Mistakes, too, may have arisen 
 through neglect or ignorance ; and in this arises 
 one of the greatest difficulties we have to contend 
 with in forming an estimate of the flow of the tide 
 of religious fervour in a bygone time, especially as 
 recent research proves that too much reliance 
 must not be placed on the " Liber Regis," once 
 regarded as infallible. The most valuable and 
 reliable information on the subject is that obtained 
 from early wills and similar documents. 
 
 It is somewhat strange that during the almost 
 universal restoration of our churches few, if any, 
 of the original dedication tablets have been found 
 or noticed ; but possibly the inscriptions may have 
 been painted on, instead of incised in the stone.
 
 i8 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 In the north wall of the chancel of Postling 
 Church, Kent, there is a stone containing the 
 following inscription, which we thus interpret : 
 
 xix Kl Septbr 
 S. Evsebi cfor 
 &c. Hec eccla 
 Fuit dedicata 
 In honore see 
 Di Matr Mare 
 
 1 9th Kalendarum Septembris 
 
 Sancti Eusebii Confessoris, 
 
 etc. Hoc ecclesia 
 
 fuit dedicata 
 
 In honore sanctse 
 
 Domini Matris Mariae 
 
 We take the word " die " to be understood in 
 the second line, and the " etc." in the third to 
 mean " et Martyris." The sense then is plain 
 and easy. No doubt such inscriptions were as 
 common as the consecration crosses with which 
 we are familiar. Local martyrs and mediaeval 
 Churchmen enter, of course, largely into our dedi- 
 cations ; but, as at least eight thousand parish 
 churches were built in England within a century 
 after the Conquest by the Normans, religious 
 houses, chantries, and altars in the already erected 
 churches became the means by which especial 
 honour to the memory of such men as St. Thomas 
 a Becket could be paid, though it is probable that 
 in the case of this most uncompromising champion 
 the Church has ever possessed, the dedications of 
 innumerable parish churches, like that of the
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. 19 
 
 Metropolitan Cathedral itself, became merged in 
 the new title of the Church of St. Thomas a Becket, 
 or St. Thomas of Canterbury, until Henry VIII. 
 so unceremoniously unsainted and unshrined him. 
 Even at Verona, in Italy, we still find a church 
 built in 1316 dedicated to San Tomaso Cantuari- 
 ense. 
 
 It seems worthy of notice that church names in 
 some parts of the country appear to run in groups 
 of almost adjoining parishes, as though some 
 dominant influence had exercised its power upon 
 the early piety of the ancient days in that particu- 
 lar district. And it may perhaps be, in many 
 cases of joint dedication to St. Mary and another, 
 that although St. Mary be placed first, it was often 
 used as a prefixed and expletive term, the last- 
 named saint being the special invocation. In 
 every county of England the dedications were, as 
 a matter of course, most numerous to St. Mary. 
 " To her the eyes of all were raised." Then in 
 most counties came All Saints, so inclusive and so 
 very comprehensive in form, securing, as was 
 believed, the intercession of all, as all were equally 
 appealed to. St. Peter, "the Rock," gives his 
 name both by himself and in conjunction with St. 
 Paul, to many churches ; while St. Paul, unless
 
 20 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 united with St. Peter, appears to be rather a rare 
 dedication, and even when it does appear may 
 sometimes be a contraction of St. Paulinus, the 
 Bishop of York, and afterwards of Rochester, who 
 appears to have been very generally popular. It 
 appears somewhat strange that so many of our old 
 churches should be dedicated to St. Andrew, he 
 being the special saint of Scotland : but he, him- 
 self a fisherman, was also the patron saint of 
 fishermen. And it will be remembered that the 
 monastery, founded by St. Gregory, on the 
 Ccelian, at Rome, was dedicated to him, and that 
 from it Gregory sent St. Augustine on his mis- 
 sionary expedition to England. Can it be that 
 this association had anything to do with the 
 veneration in which St. Andrew was evidently 
 held in olden time ? The dedications to St. 
 Michael are everywhere numerous, and the 
 churches dedicated to this saint are generally 
 situated on the summit of some steep and usually 
 isolated hill. This invocation is said to be a sur- 
 vival of Celtic Christianity, and it may well be 
 that the hill upon which a church dedicated to this 
 saint now stands may in pagan days have been the 
 sacred hill or mound on which the Beltaine, or fire 
 of Bel, was kindled, and sacrifices offered in
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. 21 
 
 honour of the solar deity. When the first Chris- 
 tian missionary planted his preaching cross in our 
 land, he thought it prudent to acknowledge existing 
 institutions by carving on the four corners of its 
 pedestal the dragon's claw. As a matter of fact, 
 he did a great amount of bowing down in the 
 House of Rimmon it was, as St. Gregory 
 thought, necessary. The serpent bore a very 
 important part in all representations connected 
 with the worship of Mithra, whose emblems occur 
 in many ruined Christian churches, and may still 
 be seen in the interesting churches at Bradfield 
 and Norton. 
 
 But side by side with the serpent cult, long 
 before the first missionary had raised the cross, 
 was the worship of the Sun-god himself, for the 
 Phoenician trader had come, and with him his 
 faith. The long sea route from Sidon to England 
 rendered the establishment of a resident colony 
 necessary, to be perpetually renewed by fresh 
 blood as its older members died off, for there was 
 no " run home " for the worn-out tin-trader, how- 
 ever home-sick he might be. Exile was to him 
 for life, with hardly any exception. Therefore, on 
 some high hill, from whose summit he could see 
 the sun rise in all its glory, he would wait to pros-
 
 22 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 trate himself before his deity, as in the old days of 
 infancy among the Syrian hills, and there in time 
 he would place the temple of the Sun-God the 
 place of the sacred fire, served by a hierophant 
 of priestly caste, descending from father to son, 
 and dwelling close to, if not on, the, to him, holy 
 ground. This hill of the Temple would be dis- 
 tinguished by the Celts around as the Hill of the 
 Light. And when Christianity had become more 
 firmly established in the land, what so natural as 
 that the priests should convert the old Temple 
 on that Hill of Light into a church in honour of 
 him who led the Angelic Host to victory in their 
 conflict with the spirits of evil and darkness. The 
 old carvings to be seen on the gargoyles and fonts 
 of so many of our ancient churches the fancied 
 visages of demons, genii, giants, and dwarfs are 
 merely traces of a heathenism which lasted on into 
 Christian days a heathenism which Christianity 
 overlapped and absorbed. It was a great struggle 
 in this, our land, between the old and the new 
 faith ; but the time came when the missionary 
 pilgrim needed no longer to inscribe upon the 
 symbol of his faith the totems of a worship he had 
 set himself to subvert. 
 
 Dedications to SS. Simon, Jude, and Mark
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. 23 
 
 are conspicuous by their absence from our list of 
 early invocations. This is, of course, accounted 
 for by the comparatively late institution of their 
 festivals, dating only from A. D. 1090. St. James 
 and St. Luke instituted respectively in A. D. 1089 
 and 1130, are, for the like reason, uncommon, 
 although all five were favourably regarded in later 
 days. Churches bearing the name of St. 
 Nicholas are generally found near the sea-coast, 
 or on banks of rivers. Being regarded as the 
 patron of the sailor, the captive, the poor, and of 
 children, this dedication appears to have been 
 everywhere popular. He was Bishop of Myra, in 
 Asia, and died about A.D. 326. The St. Mar- 
 garet, whose name so frequently appears in the 
 southern and western parts of England, is most 
 probably the legendary virgin-martyr of Antioch, 
 who died in 306 ; but the saint of this name, com- 
 memorated in some parts of Yorkshire, and in the 
 more northern counties, may perhaps be the good 
 and noble-minded Princess Margaret, wife of 
 Malcolm Canmore, King of Scotland, and mother 
 of David I. She was born in 1046, and during 
 her life founded many churches and religious 
 houses, and her memory was much venerated. 
 St. Helen, the Christian Empress, figures some-
 
 24 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 what uncertainly in our dedications. In some 
 counties, notably Yorkshire, Kent, and Lincoln- 
 shire, her invocation appears to have been at 
 one period very popular ; while in other counties 
 the churches bearing her name seem to have 
 been very few and far between. She founded the 
 church of the Holy Sepulchre at Jerusalem, and 
 the Church of the Nativity at Bethlehem. From 
 the circumstance that her son, Constantine the 
 Great, was in Britain when he assumed the purple, 
 Helen, or Helena, was supposed to have been a 
 British Princess, whereas she was in reality the 
 daughter of an innkeeper in Bithynia ; but the 
 British tradition, revived most probably during 
 the Crusading days, made her name popular in 
 England. 
 
 The modern prevalence of St. George in church 
 names is greatly due to loyal feeling during 
 the Georgian era ; but, of course, the dedication 
 commemorates St. George, who was martyred in 
 285. Being a Christian soldier, he became ideal- 
 ized as a redresser of wrongs the dragon slayer ; 
 and in the time of the Crusades as the patron of 
 chivalry, and was adopted by the third Edward as 
 the model of Knighthood for the Order of the 
 Garter. Another century may probably see
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. 25 
 
 English Churches dedicated to St. Victoria, there 
 being a saint of that name who was beheaded in 
 251. The most authentic life of this saint, and 
 the one accepted by the Roman Church, was 
 written by St. Anthelm, an English monk, son of 
 Kentred, and nephew of Ina, King of Wessex. 
 Why churches dedicated to St. Botolph were 
 placed near the gates of towns we know not. 
 But that they were so is proved by the existence 
 of churches so dedicated near four well-known gates 
 of London ; also at York, Colchester, and many 
 other places in the country. The Holy Cross and 
 the Holy Trinity are both late mediaeval ascrip- 
 tions ; and when we find them appearing in 
 connection with early Norman Churches, we may 
 be sure that they have replaced older invocations. 
 Among the Great Churchmen connected with the 
 history of our land, we find the names of SS. 
 Dunstan, Augustine, Gregory, Paulinus, Clement, 
 Wilfrid, Chad, and many others of less importance. 
 The Norman Conquest and consequent inter- 
 course with France has caused some of the old 
 churches to be dedicated to St. Giles, the French 
 recluse, who died in or about the year 7 1 2, a popu- 
 larity shared to a great extent by the good Bishop 
 St. Martin, to whom Queen Bertha, wife of Ethel-
 
 26 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 bert, very naturally consecrated her first church in 
 Kent. There are some few dedications to St. 
 Edmund, especially in the Eastern counties. This 
 must be the generally revered martyr- King, slain 
 in 870. This Prince, it will be remembered, 
 was beaten and shot at with arrows by the Danes. 
 They proceeded to cut off his head, which, as well 
 as the decapitated trunk, they threw into the 
 thickest part of the wood of Eglesdene. The 
 East Anglians afterwards recovered the body, and 
 buried it at Hoxne, but could not find the head. 
 While engaged in the search, some of the men, we 
 are told, lost their companions, and called, 
 " Where are you ? " A voice answered, " Here, 
 here, here ! " On going to the spot the head was 
 found in a thicket of thorns, guarded by a wolf. 
 According to Matthew of Westminster, " Cum 
 caput quaeendo inter sylvas socii ad socios 
 clamantes patrio sermone. Ubi es, ubi es ? 
 interrogabant. Caput martyria eadem lingua 
 respondens dixit Her, her, her." As tales never 
 lose by their repetition, Lydgate tells us the head 
 of this English Sebastian 
 
 Never ceased of al that long day 
 
 So for to crye tyl they kam wher he laye, 
 
 and, arriving at the spot whence the sound pro-
 
 EARLY CHURCH DEDICATIONS. 27 
 
 ceeded, they found a wolf holding the head 
 between his fore feet. The animal politely 
 delivered up his charge, which, the moment it 
 came in contact with the body, returned so exactly 
 to its former position that the junction was not 
 visible, except when closely examined. The wolf 
 remained a harmless spectator of the scene, and 
 after gravely attending the funeral at Hoxne, 
 peacefully trotted off to his native woods. Many 
 legends attach to the spot now called the Golden 
 Bridge, where the unfortunate monarch was cap- 
 tured. One is that a young couple had that day been 
 married and were going home at night. The 
 moon was shining brightly, and made King 
 Edmund's spurs glitter. The Danes were all 
 around looking about for their victim, and to save 
 their own lives the peasants pointed out the place 
 where they had seen the glittering golden spurs. 
 The Danes dragged the King from his hiding- 
 place, and at once commenced the ill-usage which 
 was to terminate so fatally. Then the unhappy 
 Edmund denounced in anticipation all who might 
 thereafter pass that way to be married, and for 
 hundreds of years no newly-married couple would 
 go near the Golden Bridge ; and we believe the 
 spot is still shunned by the engaged ones of the
 
 28 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 neighbourhood. This dedication may sometimes 
 be confounded with that to St. Edmund the 
 Bishop, who was Archbishop of Canterbury, 
 1234-45, and after his decease was canonized as 
 St. Edmund of Pontigny, though it is very doubt- 
 ful whether any of our English churches now 
 commemorate that good man. But be the dedi- 
 cations what they may, our old parish churches 
 will ever prove a source of interest, and command 
 the loving sympathy of all thinking people, for 
 there is something in an ancient village church 
 which has a peculiar charm for the mind some- 
 thing felt, but not easily described. We take 
 pleasure not only in its stones, but in its very dust. 
 Every such building is a page of our National 
 Church history, reminding us of those early 
 Christian days in this land of ours long before the 
 coming of Augustine and his Italian monks.
 
 She Church porch. 
 
 BY WILLIAM E. A. AXON, F.R.S.L. 
 
 CHRISTOPHER HARVEY, after passing 
 ^~S through the churchyard, looking at the 
 church stile and the church gate, and surveying 
 the church, comes to the church porch : 
 
 " Now ere thou passest further, sit thee down 
 In the church porch, and think what thou hast seen ; 
 Let due consideration either crown 
 Or crush thy former purposes : between 
 . Rash undertakings and firm resolutions 
 Depends the strength or weakness of conclusions." 
 
 And a church porch is not an unfit place in which 
 to think of the past and of the future. Like many 
 other things, it no longer possesses the importance 
 it had in former years. No one is either married 
 or buried in the church porch now, nor is it a 
 place where weighty transactions are generally 
 concluded. 
 
 An architect might profitably devote a volume 
 to the church porches of the world. The great 
 cathedrals would hold a foremost place, but in 
 many smaller churches the porches did not lack
 
 30 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 beauty. What wealth of care and artistic inven- 
 tion was sometimes lavished upon the structure 
 we may see by the famous south porch of Adel 
 Church, with its multifarious carvings of grotesque 
 symbolism. The apex is a demoniacal head, sup- 
 
 A DEL CHURCH PORCH. 
 
 posed to represent Satan. Underneath is a cross, 
 then the lamb with a banner of triumph, and then 
 the Son of Man seated on His throne. To right 
 and left are images or symbols of the sun and the 
 
 d the four evangelists. On one side two 
 moon, an
 
 THE CHURCH PORCH. 31 
 
 stems are said to be emblematic of the Law and 
 the Prophets, and terminate in four flowery heads 
 for the Four Gospels ; on the other a single stem 
 symbolic of the Patriarchal System, ending in four 
 branches with serpents' heads, in allusion to the 
 Four Gospels and the Fall of Man. There is much 
 more symbolism connected with Adel in 
 " Archaeologia Adelensis," by a late rector, the 
 Rev. H. T. Simpson, M.A. (London, 1879). Mr. 
 Simpson's ingenuity of theorising, however, was 
 not sufficiently restrained to make him a safe 
 guide. 
 
 We know from many testimonies that in the 
 earlier ages of Christianity the veneration in 
 which churches were held extended to the whole 
 circuit of the outbuildings, and to the land in 
 which they stood. In the ample porches there 
 were placed relics of the saints. There were rich 
 hangings at the doors of the church. Some of 
 silk made for St. Peter's at Rome by order of 
 Leo III., are mentioned by Anastasius Biblio- 
 thecarius. In the porches and at the entrance to 
 the church itself, the faithful not only prayed, but 
 kissed the pavement. 
 
 Here, too, was sometimes the last resting place 
 of great kings and brave warriors, and other
 
 32 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 worthies. Constantine the Great was buried not 
 in the midst of the Church of the Apostles that he 
 had built at Constantinople, but in its porch. In 
 the Greek Ritual, after the priest has perfumed 
 the church with incense, he performs the same 
 operation for its vestibule, for the sake of the 
 dead who are there, and in honour of the sacred 
 images with which it is adorned. 
 
 Images are mentioned in the porches of some 
 of the French churches in the seventeenth 
 century, as also is the custom of chanting litanies 
 there. 
 
 St. Chad is said to have been one of the 
 earliest to be buried inside the church. He was 
 first interred near St. Mary's Church, Lichfield, 
 but the body was afterwards transferred to St. 
 Peter's, and placed in a wooden shrine, roofed 
 like a house, and with a hole through which the 
 pilgrims passed their fingers and subtracted a few 
 grains of his dust, which, drunk in water, was 
 supposed to have a powerful remedial effect on 
 various diseases. 
 
 The beggars plied their trade in the church 
 porch, and might well hope to reap a rich harvest 
 in an age when the encouragement of mendicity 
 by indiscriminate alms-giving was deemed a virtue
 
 THE CHURCH PORCH. 33 
 
 The baptismal fonts were anciently placed in 
 the porch, and there also were wells or basins in 
 which the faithful might wash their hands before 
 entering the church, and thus be reminded of the 
 need both for external and internal purity. 
 Chrysostom says that the poor waiting for alms at 
 the church door are the bowls in which the hands 
 of the soul are to be cleansed by the giving of 
 alms. 
 
 The porch was the place in which the penitents 
 had to wait, and in which on Holy Thursday the 
 greater part of the ceremony of reconciliation was 
 performed. 
 
 Several councils and synods issued decrees 
 forbidding the trial of pleas in the church or its 
 porches, and the number of the prohibitions is in 
 some measure a proof that such secular uses were 
 not unknown if indeed they were uncommon. 
 Fairs and merchandise from time to time invaded 
 the porches in spite of many protests. The 
 Council of Constantinople, in 692, forbade the sale 
 of food, drink, and ornaments in the circuit of the 
 churches, and in support of the rule, adduced the 
 example of Christ in clearing the Temple of its 
 traffickers. But the church authorities found 
 
 it a hard task, as a long string of ineffectual 
 
 3
 
 34 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 ordinances sufficiently shows. Nor were church- 
 men always averse from allowing the sale 
 of certain articles, such as chaplets and medals, 
 girdles of St. Francis of Assisi, scapulars, 
 prayer books, images of the saints, crucifixes, 
 etc., all of which were sold close by the 
 precincts of Notre Dame, and many other 
 churches. It was apropos of a controversy on 
 this subject that Jean Baptiste Thiers wrote 
 his " Dissertation sur les Porches des Eglises " 
 (Orleans, 1679), in which there is much curious 
 information. That the separation of the religious 
 from the secular has never been complete, is 
 evidenced by the notices of elections, rates, and 
 other worldly matters, which may still be read on 
 the doors and in the porches of churches. At 
 Mucklestone, near Market Dray ton, there hangs 
 in the porch a frame containing engravings after 
 Mr. Hedley Fitton's clever drawings of the district. 
 The church porch was in former days the place 
 often selected for the payment of dowries, legacies, 
 and other monies. There was a manifest con- 
 venience in such an arrangement, for the names of 
 those present could be added to the record as wit- 
 nesses, and, in case of dispute, their testimony 
 would be important.
 
 THE CHURCH PORCH. 35 
 
 When the porch was chambered it furnished a 
 place for the sacristan, or for night watchers, who 
 from it could, by looking into the church, see that 
 it was safe from fire and sacrilege. At Malmesbury 
 Abbey Church it was used as a school-house. 
 
 Marriages were celebrated in the porch, and 
 there it was that the Wife of Bath was united to 
 the five husbands whom she survived. The mar- 
 riage by proxy of Charles I. to Henrietta Maria 
 was celebrated at the door of Notre Dame of 
 Paris. 
 
 The mystic ceremonies of St. Mark's Eve were 
 celebrated in the church porch. Young men and 
 young women went there between eleven at night 
 and one o'clock on the following morning, and 
 watched for the wraiths of those who were to die 
 within the next twelve months. 
 
 Such are some of the bygone associations of 
 the church porch. George Herbert ends his 
 moralising in the church porch thus : 
 
 " In brief acquit thee, bravely play the man : 
 
 Look not on pleasures as they come but go ; 
 Deferre nor the least vertue : life's poor span 
 Make not an ell by trifling in thy woe. 
 
 If thou do ill, the joy fades not the pains ; 
 If well, the pain doth fade, the joy remains.
 
 Gbc liobts of a flDefci&val Church. 
 
 BY THK REV. J. CHARLES Cox, LL.D., F.S.A. 
 
 THE mediaeval churches of England were 
 artificially lighted in two ways, namely, 
 by lamps and by candles. The lighting of 
 churches for practical purposes, that is to say, to 
 enable each worshipper, if so minded, to follow the 
 prayers in print, or to join in responses, chants, 
 and hymns not known by heart, was a method of 
 procedure altogether unknown. The ordinary or 
 necessary lights for a church would be few and far 
 between. The usual offices were said by daylight, 
 save at the early winter masses. Gilds were in 
 the habit of attending at the late first evensongs 
 of festivals, but then special provision for lighting 
 was made. In the larger quires, where the night 
 offices were kept, the lamp before the high altar 
 would give at least a dim glimmer, \vhilst there 
 were usually attached two candle sockets to the 
 great lectern in the centre of the chancel, on which 
 lay large copies of the grayle and antiphonar. 
 Every mass had of course its own light, and the
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 37 
 
 great festivals, especially those of Christmas, 
 Easter, and Candlemas had their special illumina- 
 tions. 
 
 Cressets or mortars, which were cups hollowed 
 in stone and filled with grease or oil with a 
 floating wick, were occasionally placed at door- 
 ways and other points of vantage. They were 
 specially used at cloister corners and dormitory 
 staircases in the religious houses. A simple 
 Norman example, formed from a small stone shaft, 
 ten inches high, and four and a half inches in 
 diameter, and hollowed at the top into a shallow 
 cup, was unearthed at the 1894 excavations of the 
 cloister of Watton Priory. In some instances 
 several of these cups are formed in a single large 
 stone. Mr. Micklethwaite instances a stone of 
 this character, with seven cressets, which stands 
 on a base inside the north door of the church of 
 Lewanick, Cornwall. Good folk of those days 
 who attended a service in the dark, or darkling 
 hours, would bring their lanterns, and having 
 brought them would probably keep them lighted 
 when inside the church. In the present century, 
 worshippers at Somersetshire churches on the 
 confines of Exmoor were in the habit, during the 
 darkest of Sunday winter afternoons, of lighting
 
 38 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 their lanterns for the metrical psalm at the end of 
 the sermon, candles being only provided for the 
 minister and the clerk, and in the singers' loft. 
 An old man told us, in the sixties, how he could 
 remember his father carrying his tinder box to 
 church at Wootton Courtney, and striking a light 
 in his seat, from which others were kindled. 
 
 With regard to lamps, as distinguished from 
 mere cressets or cups of stone or other material, 
 their chief use in church seems to have been in 
 the chancel. Mackenzie Walcott tells us that 
 "at Lichfield, in 1194 ; at Salisbury, by Osmund's 
 Custumal ; at Hereford, in the time of Edward 
 III., by bequest ; and in all wealthy churches, by 
 episcopal injunctions, in the. thirteenth century, a 
 perpetual lamp burned day and night before the 
 high-altar." 
 
 The continual light of the sanctuary lamp before 
 the high-altar, in honour of the reservation of the 
 Blessed Sacrament, is abundantly referred to in 
 charters, ordinances, inventories, and church 
 accounts from the thirteenth to the sixteenth 
 centuries. The lamp in this instance, to the best 
 of our belief, was never superseded by a candle or 
 torch, the chancels retaining them to the end ; 
 but in chapel lights, and lights before images,
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 39 
 
 lamps, in most instances, gave way to candles as 
 time went on, for they were found to give a better 
 and steadier light, and could more easily be kept 
 in order. 
 
 In pre- Reformation Churchwarden Accounts, 
 the references to candles are at least twenty times 
 as numerous as those to lamps ; nevertheless 
 some interesting allusions to lamps can occasion- 
 ally be found. The church of Yatton, Somerset, 
 paid, in 1518, 7d. "for hangyng up y e lampe in 
 y e chanselle," and 2d. " for a lyne to y e lampe." 
 Just twenty years later occurs an entry of id. 
 *' for makyng clene y e lampe in y e chanselle." 
 Much earlier than this, namely in 1447, the same 
 parish paid 4d. for lamp-wick (lichline vel filo 
 lichinis]. The interesting accounts of Yatton 
 show that, from 1445 to 1547, the area of the 
 parish was divided into three districts, for the 
 purpose of making voluntary gatherings, and 
 that those who brought in the gatherings were 
 usually termed " Lightmen," instead of wardens. 
 The name doubtless came from the chief expense 
 having originally been the supporting of lights in 
 the church, and this for festival and exceptional 
 illumination, and not for ordinary utilitarian 
 purposes.
 
 40 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 The records of Morebath, Somerset, show that 
 in 1528, "William at Pole vel Potter gave his 
 part of beys (bees), that rested with John Morsse 
 at hys departyn, to the store of Thee to mayntayn 
 a lamppe barnyg afore the figar of Jhu, and afore 
 Sent Sydwyll every principall feste yn the ere, to 
 barne from the furste evensong untyll hygh masse 
 be done the morow, the whyche beys ware yn 
 valure at William at Pole ys departyng ij s . 
 
 'd " 
 
 V11J . 
 
 In 1349, the accounts of St. Michael's, Bath, 
 show a payment of lod. for oil for the lamp, 
 which would doubtless be the lamp in the chancel 
 before the Blessed Sacrament. The clerk's 
 annual fee for lighting the said lamp was one 
 penny. At first sight this sum, representing a 
 labourer's daily wage, seems altogether in- 
 adequate, but the payment was a mere Easter 
 honorarium, as we shall presently see, the 
 perpetual light being only extinguished and 
 rekindled once a year. 
 
 There are a variety of charters extant of the 
 thirteenth and fourteenth centuries, by which 
 lands or rent- charges were given to churches, 
 both secular and religious, tor the purpose of 
 maintaining lamps for devotional purposes, for
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 41 
 
 instance at Chesterfield, Repton, and Dronfield, 
 Derbyshire ; at Alrewas, Wolverhampton, and 
 Lichfield, Staffordshire ; as well as at most of 
 our cathedral and big monastic churches. The 
 terms used, such as lampas, lucerna, and lichnicus, 
 clearly mean a lamp, and not candle, torch, or 
 mere cresset. Such charters occasionally only 
 specify the providing of light (lumen), and leave 
 it to conjecture as to how the artificial light was to 
 be supplied. On the other hand, candles are 
 sometimes specially named in charter bequests, 
 though usually in those of later date. The 
 earliest of these candle tenures that we have 
 noted are two of the beginning of the thirteenth 
 century, whereby lands were conveyed in Lich- 
 field on yearly payment to the cathedral church of 
 a candle worth 6d. and of a pair of candles to the 
 chapel of the Blessed Virgin in the market-place 
 of the same city. 
 
 Hooks in the roofs of churches in front of side 
 altars, notably where there is stone groining, may 
 not infrequently be observed ; these have served 
 for the cords or chains of suspended lamps. One 
 of these roof hooks may be noted at the east end 
 of the south quire aisle of the cathedral church of 
 Lichfield.
 
 42 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 It will probably be a surprise to some of even 
 our well-read ecclesiologists to learn how large 
 was the number of devotional lights in the 
 majority of our English churches. The most 
 remarkable instance with which we are acquainted 
 is that of the parish church of the small county 
 town of Horncastle, Lincolnshire, where there 
 were twenty-three of such lights. 
 
 By will, dated June gih, 1536, James Barton, 
 of Horncastle, left his body to be buried in the 
 south side of the church of the Blessed Virgin of 
 Horncastle, and made inter alia the following 
 bequests : 
 
 Itm to the light in the quiere, viijd. 
 
 Itm to Set George light, viijd. 
 
 Itm to the roode light, xijd. 
 
 Itm to Set Michell light, xjd. 
 
 Itm to the light of our lady of grace, viijd. 
 
 Itm to our lady's light in Set Nicholes quiere, vjd. 
 
 Itm to Set Helene light, viijd. 
 
 Itm to our lady light at the high altares end, viijd. 
 
 Itm to our lady light at the font, vjd. 
 
 Itm to our lady light of the sowthe side of the churche, vjd. 
 
 Itm to our lady light on the northe syde of the churche, vjd. 
 
 Itm to our lady light in the churche porche, vjd. 
 
 Itm to Jesus light, viijd. 
 
 Itm to the yong men's light, vjd. 
 
 Itm to Set Jamys' light, iiijd. 
 
 Itm to the trynite light, vjd.
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIAEVAL CHURCH. 43 
 
 Itm to all hallows light, vjd. 
 Itm to Set Tronyans light, viijd. 
 Itm to Set Xpofer light, vjd. 
 Itm to Set Lawrence light, vjd. 
 Itm to St Leonarde light, vjd. 
 Itm to St Savyor light, iiijd. 
 Itm to St Clement light, iiijd. 
 
 The churches of Tideswell, Derbyshire, and All 
 Saints, Derby, had, in the fifteenth century, at 
 least thirteen and fourteen lights respectively. 
 Dulverton, Somersetshire, had twelve lights, 
 Winsford nine, and many of the smallest village 
 churches of that county from three to five. And 
 yet a great mistake would be made if we were 
 led to suppose as more than one historical 
 novelist has imagined that a night visit to such 
 churches in pre- Reformation days would have 
 found the gloom to some extent dispelled by the 
 twinkling lights reflected from brightly-coloured 
 figures of the saints. Save at exceptional festi- 
 vals, no light would have been found burning after 
 nightfall, even in such a church as Horncastle, 
 except "the light in thequere." Reservation was 
 not permitted save at the high altar, and it was 
 only before the Sacrament that the light burned 
 perpetually.
 
 44 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 With the exception of this choir light, all the 
 special lights at Horncastle would doubtless be 
 great candles, or torches, as they were more 
 usually called. Serges was another word for these 
 great tapers ; it was the term mostly used in the 
 midlands. The churchwardens' accounts of All 
 Saints, Derby, for 1466-7, give detached entries 
 with regard to these great wax lights. 
 
 " Imp'mis Sancte Cat'ne lyght ys upholden by gederyng of 
 
 the candyllyghter and conteneth xx serges. 
 Itm Sayncte Nicholas lyght ys upholden by the parishe clerke, 
 
 by his gederyng of Saint Nicholas nyghte and conteneth 
 
 xij serges. 
 Itm whoesoe ever ys scolemaster by gederyng amonge hys 
 
 scholars upholden before Sancte Nicholas iiij wax 
 
 serges. 
 Itm vj wax serges before sancte Loy that be upholden by the 
 
 farrers. 
 Itm v serges before Sancte Clemente upholden by the 
 
 Bakars. 
 
 Itm v serges before O r Lady upholden by the Shoemakars. 
 Itm v serges before the Roode, William Walkar one, John 
 
 Draper another, Thos. Farynton the thrydde, Thomas 
 
 Payn the forthe, Thomas Bradshae the fyfte. 
 Itm v serges before the Mary of pety holden uppe by Rawfe 
 
 Mayre wyffe. 
 Itm in or Lady Chappell before o r lady ys fonde iij serges, 
 
 William Walker one, Thomas Knolles another, Richerde 
 
 Baker ye thrydde. 
 Itm in the same chapelle by some before sancte John bap- 
 
 tiste holden up by William Walker.
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 45 
 
 Itm v serges before Sancte Cristofer att the fyndyng of 
 Masier Willugby, John Farynton, John Peneston wyffe, 
 William Bancrofte, and Edmund Busby. 
 
 Itm iij serges yt Anc r Geyr fonde one before o r lady, 
 anoyther before Sancte Cat'ne, the third before the 
 Trinite alter. 
 
 Itm ij serges before Sancte Edmunde holden up by the 
 gederyng of the clerke of Sante Edmund nyghte and 
 goyng with Sancte Edmunde within the parishes as ye 
 doe of Sancte Nicholas nyght." 
 
 From this interesting statement, it follows that 
 there were as many as seventy-eight of these great 
 wax tapers constantly upheld in the church of All 
 Saints. The whole would be lighted throughout 
 the great festivals ; those associated with special 
 saints from the beginning of the vigil to the end 
 of the festival, and most of them (if not all) during 
 the daily morning masses as well as throughout the 
 daylight, when worshippers were likely to be 
 present. The custom that now prevails in certain 
 parts of continental Christendom, as at Poictiers, 
 of the candle-lighter keeping the great standing 
 lights before special images and shrines burning 
 longer on market days, probably held good in the 
 churches of our English mediaeval towns. 
 
 The lights at All Saints, Derby, before Saint 
 Catherine and Saint Nicholas, were evidently 
 crowns or circlets containing twenty and twelve
 
 46 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 tapers respectively. It is interesting to find the 
 gilds of farriers, bakers, and shoemakers, respon- 
 sible for other groups of tapers, and the school- 
 children did honour to St. Nicholas, the patron 
 saint of boys. The images of St. Nicholas and 
 St. Edmund were taken in procession round the 
 parish on the vigils of their festivals, the clerk 
 collecting from door to door for the support of 
 their special lights during the year. 
 
 Thomas Lawrence, the candle-lighter, was an 
 important functionary at All Saints, and was quite 
 distinct from the parish clerk. The candle-lighter 
 of that church was responsible to the wardens, not 
 only for the various serges and their proper 
 kindling, but also kept inventories of the jewels, 
 books, and other ornaments of the church. In 
 1446, Thomas Lawrence and his son report that 
 they have in their charge sixty serges in wax, 
 more or less. These they would be ready to sell 
 for funeral and other purposes, and the sale would 
 be credited to the church accounts. No doubt 
 there would also be perches or light metal stands 
 in front of the more favourite images, whereon 
 the " perchers " or thin votive tapers, for casual 
 and speedy use, would be placed and lighted, and 
 rapidly burnt away after being offered by grateful
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIAEVAL CHURCH. 47 
 
 worshippers. When estimating the glare of light 
 that would often meet the eye, in the daylight 
 hours, within our more frequented old English 
 churches, the frequent gleaming of these smaller 
 and occasional votive candles must not be over- 
 looked. 
 
 But we are reminded by these Derby accounts 
 of another source of light in our English mediaeval 
 churches, which is usually only associated in our 
 minds with the actual period of the funeral cere- 
 mony. We allude to the great wax candles, 
 torches, or serges, that were used around the 
 corpse. They were usually carried in the funeral 
 procession to the church, and were burnt by 
 the side of the bodies. The funeral tapers of the 
 poorer folk, or of those not associated with special 
 gilds, seem only to have sufficed for the actua 
 funeral mass and ceremonials, or thereabouts ; but 
 with the funerals of the wealthy, or more devout, 
 it was different. When all was over, by far the 
 greater part of these slowly burning thick wax 
 tapers still remained, and they were removed to 
 the front of different altars or images, where they 
 were not infrequently removed by special bequests 
 or by the piety of sorrowing relatives. Or, again, 
 in the case of the more influential, whose hearses
 
 48 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 were allowed to remain round their tombs or over 
 their burial places within the church, the torches 
 that had burnt there in their fixed places were 
 renewed from time to time, particularly at the 
 month's end or trental, and at obits or anniversaries 
 of death, and when once kindled were usually 
 allowed to burn themselves out, sometimes occupy- 
 ing in the process several days and nights. A big 
 and popular church would seldom then be without 
 the yellow flare of some of these great funeral 
 lights. 
 
 English churches still retain a few examples of 
 iron hearses. At Spratton church, Northampton- 
 shire, the iron rails round a beautiful modelled 
 knightly effigy of the fourteenth century, are 
 original. There are the prickets at the four 
 corners, on which were placed the great sepulchre 
 serges. 
 
 In 1447, there were twenty-seven of these 
 " sepulchre serges " in the church of All Saints, 
 Derby, and the names of those who were respon- 
 sible for their upholding are all entered. It would 
 seem then that these quite permanent serges were 
 kept burning day by day, but not, we believe, 
 during the hours of darkness. Certainly, the office 
 of candle-lighter in such a church was no sinecure.
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDLEY AL CHURCH. 49 
 
 Three sixteenth century wills of parishioners of 
 All Saints, that we copied at the Lichfield probate 
 office, illustrate this use. William Widdonson, 
 1515, bequeathes " iiij li wax to be brent aboute 
 my body in y e day of my buryall." Richard 
 Robinson, 1518, " wyll have v tapurs of wax in 
 the day of my byryall to bryn aboute my body and 
 likewyse in y e sevent day next ensenyng." John 
 Farjnton, 1526, wills that " my ij torches of yelow 
 wax be bernyed aboute my herse the day of my 
 buryal, And after y l I wyll yt one of them goe to 
 the hye alter in All Halowe Church, and 
 the other to Seynt Kathoryne alter. Also 
 wyll yt my litle link of a torch go to the Trinitie 
 alter." 
 
 The true sepulchre serge or torch was not made 
 of pure wax, but a considerable portion of resin 
 was added. The proportion of the latter was 
 sometimes astonishingly large ; thus at Tintinhull, 
 Somerset, in 1440-1, the wardens decided to make 
 four immense wax torches. For this purpose they 
 bought 47 pounds of wax at 293. 3d., and 43 
 pounds of resin at 45., and yarn for the wicks at 
 i5d. William Bowie, who made the torches, was 
 paid 2s. for his three days' work, whilst 2od. was 
 spent in diverse victuals then consumed by
 
 50 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 William and by the wardens while watching him 
 and 2d. for ointment for his hands. 
 
 These parochial torches seem to have been 
 intended for the use of those who could not afford 
 special ones for their departed friends, and were 
 probably provided gratuitously. The Yatton 
 wardens, in 1529, " payd for xxviij pownde wexe, 
 wyche made y e torches and y e tapers wyche shall 
 brene y e corse shall be present xviij s viij d " as 
 well as 33. 6d. for 14 pounds of wick yarn, and 2s. 
 for making the torches. Bequests, by will, in 
 addition to leaving money for various specified 
 lights and the sepulchre light, sometimes leave a 
 sum (as at Pitminster and Trull, Somerset) for 
 "the torches," evidently meaning by this the 
 parochial funeral serges. 
 
 Nor are we to imagine that because a particular 
 lamp or big serge was kept definitely burning 
 before a particular image that this excluded more 
 casual gifts of a like kind, and these, too, distinct 
 from the mere hastily consumed thin taper, to 
 which allusion has already been made. In the 
 account given above of lamps, mention was made 
 of a bequest made to keep a lamp burning before 
 Saint Sydwell (Cealwold) at Morebath. In the 
 same year (1528) Joan Hillyer gave "a canstycke
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 51 
 
 of lattyn to stand afore Sent Sydwyle, prisse vjd. 
 Afore the wyche canstycke sche dotte mayntayn 
 a taper before Sent Sydwyll trymmed with flowers 
 to borne there every hye and principal fests, this 
 she doth extende to mayntayne whyll sche lyvyth, 
 gracia divina." To the same church, a few years 
 later, gifts were made of two five-light latten 
 candlesticks to stand before certain images. 
 
 The county parishes where there were no craft- 
 gilds, had usually, if well worked, brotherhoods or 
 fraternities, often called stores (staurum or 
 instauruni), which had gatherings for special 
 devotions, and accepted gifts such as sheep, bees, 
 etc., and offerings for these purposes, apart from 
 the usual churchwarden accounts for general 
 expenses. The young men were often then 
 associated for one purpose, and the maidens for 
 another. The maintaining of lights, latterly 
 almost invariably candles, was one of their chief 
 objects. This subject has been recently ably 
 treated of in connection with Somersetshire, by 
 Bishop Hobhouse, in the 4th vol. of Somerset 
 Record Series, and by Rev. F. W. Weaver in 
 Wells Wills. The particular light that seems to 
 have been most religiously maintained throughout 
 these west country parishes was the All Souls'
 
 52 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Light, or the Light for the Dead, which was 
 beautifully intended as an ever-present memorial 
 to the worshippers of the immortality of the soul, 
 and of their communion with the faithful departed. 
 The following is a list of the various titles by 
 which this li^ht is mentioned in Somersetshire 
 
 o 
 
 Wills : Allsolen Light, Alsolen Store, Lumen 
 Animarum, Almes Light (that is soul-light, pour 
 les ams\ Lumen Elemosinarum (a confusion 
 with the foregoing), Dead Light, Lumen Mortuum, 
 Lumen Mortuorum, Lumen Defunctorum, and 
 Lumen pro Defunctis. 
 
 There were three occasions upon which all 
 mediaeval English churches were ablaze with light, 
 Christmas, Candlemas, and Easter. 
 
 At the midnight mass on Christmas Eve, or at 
 very early masses on Christmas Day, all 
 parishioners were expected to attend, and English 
 wardens seem usually to have made a special 
 provision of candles ready for a general illumina- 
 tion at that season, as is evidenced by several of 
 the early Somersetshire accounts, such as those 
 of St. Michael's, Bath, and elsewhere, and by the 
 accounts of St. Laurence and St. Mary, Reading, 
 etc. Indeed this custom lingered after the Refor- 
 mation. The accounts of the church of St. Helen,
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIAEVAL CHURCH. 53 
 
 Abingdon, state, " 1561, payed for four pounds of 
 candilles upon Christmas in the morning for the 
 masse ; " and again, " 1574, payed for candilles for 
 the church at Christmas." There would be no 
 general candlesticks in the nave and aisles, and 
 doubtless the good folk as they knelt would hold 
 their tapers in their hands, whether provided 
 in the church by the wardens, or carried by them 
 from their own homes. 
 
 We cannot refrain from quoting a beautiful 
 passage from a Christmas Sermon for Children, 
 by Rev. S. Baring Gould, from the text " I have 
 ordained a lamp for mine Anointed," as it exactly 
 illustrates old use by modern continental practice : 
 " Last winter I was in an old German town. On 
 Christmas Day, in the morning at four o'clock, 
 there was a celebration of the Holy Eucharist in 
 the Cathedral. The building was vast, lofty, and 
 solemn. It was quite dark when I went to it, and 
 the wind was whistling through the carved stone 
 battlements, and the snow was falling out of the 
 starless sky ; only a very feeble glimmer shone 
 through the stained glass of the minster windows 
 into the market-place, where the snow began to 
 whiten the ground, and a shivering sentinel paced 
 up and down before the guard-house. When I
 
 54 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 got inside, the church was quite dark, except for 
 the candles on the altar, which were burning, for 
 there was no provision made for lighting it. But 
 by degrees the people came in, and each had 
 brought a little wax taper, a little twisted coil of 
 yellow or white or red wax, and the end was 
 lighted and uncoiled as wanted. Little by little, 
 as the people arrived, the light began to spread 
 throughout the vast building from their tiny 
 sparks of candles ; at last the great Cathedral was 
 full from end to end, and twinkling everywhere, 
 down the nave, behind the pillars, along the 
 aisles, in the transepts, all round the choir, with 
 more than a thousand lights. That great multitude 
 was assembled to meet their Christ, to hail Him 
 born of Mary, laid in a manger ; they had come 
 to pray to their Christ, to sing praises to their 
 Christ, to kneel to, to adore their Christ, and for 
 their Christ they had prepared their feeble lights." 
 In this picture, 'mutatis mutandis, we get a life-like 
 glimpse of our English churches on early Christ- 
 mas morn in the olden days. One of the good 
 old names for Christmas Day, throughout the 
 Western church, was the Feast of Lights. 
 
 The Feast of the Purification of the Blessed 
 Virgin, February 2nd, was the next occasion when
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 55 
 
 our churches blazed with light, a custom that from 
 early days gave to the festival the common name 
 of Candlemas. A proclamation of 30 Henry 
 VIII., concerning rites and ceremonies of the 
 church, says : " On Candelmas Daye it shall be 
 declared that the bearing of candels is done in the 
 memorie of Christe, the spirituall lyghte, whom 
 Simeon dyd prophecye, as it is redde in the 
 churche that day." Everyone was in the habit 
 of bringing a candle or taper to church on that 
 day. They were blessed by the priest and 
 sprinkled with holy water, and returned lighted to 
 the people. They were held lighted in the hand 
 at high mass. After the service they were taken 
 home and termed holy candles. It was usual to 
 light them in the house, as a protective during 
 thunder storms, and also when any lay a-dying. 
 There is a curious reference to this latter custom 
 in one of Bishop Latimer's sermons, wherein he 
 records how, soon after he had taken his Master of 
 Arts degree, he was called in to a relative who 
 
 o ' 
 
 was very ill, and who died just as he entered the 
 house. His cousin, who had been in charge of 
 the sick man, upbraided him much, and told him 
 she thought his learning worthless, because he did 
 not know how to bless the corpse with the holy
 
 56 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 candle. In addition to the candles borne by the 
 congregation at this feast, special provision for 
 lighting (but in the day time at mass) was made 
 by the wardens. Several of the Somersetshire 
 and other early warden accounts, contain entries 
 relative to two tapers purposely made for Candle- 
 mas, but the more usual particular feature, which 
 occurs in most of these parishes year after year, 
 was the making of the trendell, trindell, or tren- 
 dyll. Originally the trindle (of our word trundle, 
 to roll) seems to have been a roll or coil of thin 
 wax taper, but it afterwards signified a kind of 
 chandelier or series of circular, graduated wheels, 
 attached horizontally to a pole, and often suspended 
 by a cord from the roof; small tapers were 
 fixed to the outer margins of the wheels. There 
 are many entries about it at St. Laurence's, 
 Reading, such as 135. 4d. for supplying the 
 trendyll with lights, and "payed for the tymber 
 trendle for Candlemas Day iiijd." (1539-40). The 
 Tintinhull wardens had to give, in 1465-6, 6s. 4d. 
 for a new trendell, the old one having caught fire 
 and been burnt. We have not met with any clear 
 evidence about it, but we believe the trendell was 
 usually suspended in the nave in front of the rood, 
 and not in the chancel.
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 57 
 
 On Maunday Thursday, the Sepulchre, which 
 was sometimes a stone structure, but more usually 
 a movable one of wood, was prepared on the north 
 side of the sanctuary. Late in the evening, or 
 early on Good Friday, the altar was stripped, and 
 the Reserved Sacrament was removed from the 
 tabernacle or pyx, on or over the altar, and placed 
 in the Sepulchre. The perpetual lamp before the 
 Sacrament was taken down and affixed to a stand 
 (often of considerable magnitude and beauty) in 
 front of the Sepulchre. Other lights were 
 frequently kindled at the same place, and the 
 Sepulchre was solemnly watched from the time of 
 its erection until the dawn of Easter, when the 
 Host was replaced upon or over the altar. This 
 watching the Sepulchre was a paid service usually 
 done by two men, probably serving in watches 
 alternately, and entries for their payment occur in 
 almost every known churchwardens' book of pre- 
 Reformation date. This watching had its utili- 
 tarian advantage as well as its symbolic significa- 
 tion, for it became customary to offer a great 
 number of tapers to be burnt before the Sepulchre, 
 so that it would be necessary to have someone on 
 the spot night arid day, for fear of fire, and to see 
 to the frequent extinguishing or renewal of the
 
 58 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 smaller lights. One of the most foolish of all the 
 foolish reasons given as an explanation of "low- 
 side windows," is that they were used for watchers 
 of the Sepulchre lights, and hence certain wise- 
 acres at the beginning of the Gothic revival gave 
 to them the ridiculous name of lychnoscopes ! As 
 if in our damp English climate the watchers would 
 stop outside in the churchyards to see if the lights 
 were properly burning ! 
 
 On Easter Eve the perpetual light that had 
 been removed to the front of the Sepulchre, and 
 all other lights there, or that there might per- 
 chance happen to be anywhere else in the church, 
 were solemnly extinguished. The hallowed or 
 holy fire was then kindled in the church porch by 
 means of a crystal or burning glass if the sun was 
 bright, and if not by a new flint and steel. This 
 fire was blessed by the priest, and from it was first 
 kindled the great Paschal Candle, and afterwards 
 the perpetual lamp, and other lamps or candles in 
 the church according as light was required. The 
 devout had let their hearth fires die out at home, 
 and hastened to the church to obtain fresh light 
 from the hallowed fire for their renewal. The 
 immense size of the Paschal Candle has often 
 been explained ; in some of our cathedral and
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIAEVAL CHURCH. 59 
 
 abbey churches it was simply colossal, the one for 
 the abbey church of Westminster weighing 300 
 pounds. Fifteen pounds was a usual weight for 
 one of our smaller English country parish churches. 
 This great taper, which was placed close to the 
 altar, was always burnt in English churches 
 throughout the octave of Easter, at matins, 
 mass, and vespers, and sometimes it appears to 
 have been kept alight continuously, and down to 
 Holy Thursday. At the same time that the 
 Paschal Candle was made, the font taper was 
 usually constructed. It was solemnly conveyed 
 down the church at Easter, and seems to have 
 been placed in a locker by the font, to be ready 
 for ceremonial use at baptisms throughout the 
 year. 
 
 Much might be written about altar candles and 
 candlesticks, usually only two in number, but that 
 is a subject that has already been treated of most 
 fully in a variety of ways, and everyone knows 
 that the invariable use for centuries was 
 to have lighted candles at the time of mass. 
 Remarks explanatory of the English use of 
 tenebral candles on their triangular candlesticks 
 (with their mystic gradual extinction), on the pro- 
 cessional tapers and their candlesticks, or on the
 
 6o CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 lighted lantern carried before the Reserved 
 Sacrament when the priest visited the sick, might 
 be added. But these details, interesting in them- 
 selves, and capable of further original illustration, 
 are somewhat foreign to the purport of this 
 article. 
 
 Brief mention must, however, be made of the 
 lights of the rood loft, which were often so 
 numerous as to give to the rood-beam the alias 
 of the candle-beam. Entries abound in early 
 accounts proving that on festivals the rood-beam 
 was often a glow of light, being supplied with a 
 continuous line of candle-sockets, and occasionally 
 branched lights. Pages might be filled with 
 extracts as to the methods and manner of lighting 
 the rood loft at different seasons, and at various 
 ceremonials, not a few of which have never 
 appeared in print. A single quotation shall, how- 
 ever, suffice, as the subject has been so often 
 treated of, and it is taken from Mr. Kerry's 
 interesting book on St. Laurence's, Reading : 
 
 " 1506, It. payed for sysis (small wax tapers) to the 
 holy (holly) bush at Christmas, ixd. 
 
 Paid Macrell for an holy bush before the roode, ijd." 
 
 Is not this a forerunner of the Christmas tree ? 
 A holly bush covered with lighted tapers and
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDI/EVAL CHURCH. 61 
 
 suspended at Christmastide in front of the 
 rood ! 
 
 In conclusion, a few words may be given with 
 regard to the changes in lights at the time of the 
 Reformation. The injunctions of Henry VI 1 1., 
 issued in 1538, ordered that "they should suffer 
 from henceforth no candles, tapers, or images of 
 wax to be set before any image or picture, but 
 only the light that commonly goeth across the 
 church by the rood loft, the light before the 
 Sacrament of the altar, and the light about the 
 sepulchre which for the adorning of the church 
 and divine service they shall suffer to remain." 
 
 The injunctions of 1547 order the retention of 
 " two lights upon the high altar before the Sacra- 
 ment," excluding all else. The visitation articles 
 of Archbishop Cranmer of this year inquire 
 " whether they suffer any torches, candles, tapers, 
 or any other lights to be in our churches, but only 
 two lights on the high altar." 
 
 Bishop Bale, in The Image of Both Churches, 
 inveighs against " The continual light of lamps 
 before the high altar, the burning cressets at 
 triumphs in the night, the torches at burials and 
 solemn processions, tapers at high masses, and the 
 candles at offerings."
 
 62 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Lights seem to be literally a burning question 
 with the reformers. In the zealot Tyndale's 
 Answer to Sir Thomas Mores Dialogue, occurs 
 the following ; " When thou stickest up a candle 
 before the image, thou mightest with as good 
 reason make an hollow belly in the image and pour 
 in meat and drink ; for as the saint neither eateth 
 nor drinketh, so hath he no bodily eyes to delight 
 in the light of a candle." 
 
 But in another place the same writer gives a 
 sensible explanation of the origin of this custom, 
 which no one can gainsay : " Lights were sticked 
 before the memorials of the saints at the begin- 
 ning, to be a ceremony to put us in remembrance 
 that we so praised the saints, and boasted their 
 livings, that we followed their examples in our 
 deeds, as Christ saith, ' Let your light so shine 
 before men, that they see your good works, and 
 glorify your Father which is in heaven.' ' 
 
 This is an ecclesiological, and not theological 
 article, and deals rather in the old customs than 
 their modern revival ; but we may be permitted to 
 point out that the beautiful teaching of lights, as 
 appealing to the brightness of Christian hope, has 
 in recent years regained much of its ancient 
 strength in the churches of our land. The great
 
 THE LIGHTS OF A MEDIEVAL CHURCH. 63 
 
 festivals in many of our most crowded churches, 
 both in country and in town (and their number 
 increases year by year), are marked, as of old, by 
 the gladness and the glow of specially-kindled 
 lights at the celebration of the Holy Eucharist. 
 
 " The tapers now 
 In rosy morning dimly burn ! " 
 
 the chancel twinkles with the constantly burning 
 flame of the sanctuary lamp; and the tall sepulchre 
 serges once more glow beside the bier, 
 giving gleams to the mourners of resurrection 
 hopes. Although there has been no formal 
 restoration of the beautiful and touching English 
 custom, once so universal in our churches, of a 
 light for the faithful departed, we learn, as these 
 lines are being written, of a fair silver sanctuary 
 lamp just suspended in the quire of a Stafford- 
 shire church, on which are engraved the words : 
 
 " Oh, ye spirits and souls of the righteous, bless ye the Lord ; 
 praise Him and magnify Him for ever." 
 
 A traveller from the Continent, visiting England 
 in the fifteenth century, was so struck with the 
 festival glow of our churches from candles, lamps, 
 and tapers that he called it the Land of Light. 
 There can be no doubt that the cult of church 
 lights was more closely and generally followed in
 
 64 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 England than elsewhere throughout Christendom, 
 and this, doubtless, through a desire to correct 
 the natural gloom and comparative dulness of our 
 climate. The recurrence of this sentiment among 
 us may partially arise from a like cause. May 
 England's worshippers, when their eyes are 
 gladdened with kindled lights, ever see in them 
 but symbols of the Light of the World, and thus, 
 and then only, will our native land be able to claim 
 with true justice, the lovely title of the 
 LAND OF LIGHT !
 
 Concerning Crosses. 
 
 BY Miss FLORENCE PEACOCK. 
 
 THAT the cross was in some sense a religious 
 symbol amongst the heathen, long before 
 and after the Christian era, there can be but little 
 doubt. It is said that the Spaniards found it an 
 object of veneration when they conquered South 
 America, where it was used as the emblem of the 
 rain god. What connection there was between 
 rain and the cross we do not know ; but it must 
 be remembered that very little of the actual beliefs 
 of those whom Spain subdued, in the new world, 
 has come down to us. One form of the cross is 
 common upon Egyptian monuments, and was used 
 as the sign of immortality. It has been held that 
 the northern nations venerated the cross in pre- 
 Christian times, because in it they beheld the 
 hammer of Thor, the mighty god of war, second 
 only to Odin himself in power and strength. A 
 modern writer expresses this idea in verse :
 
 66 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 " You shall mark your food with the hammer of Thor, 
 And think you are signing a holy sign ; 
 But the high gods shall laugh, for the symbol of war 
 You have laid on the bread, and the flesh, and the wine." 
 
 It would be impossible in anything like 
 moderate space to give an account of all the forms 
 into which the cross has been fashioned ; in the 
 symbolic language of heraldry alone there are 
 more than a dozen ways in which it is commonly 
 to be seen represented. Perhaps the most grace- 
 ful of these are the Maltese cross and the cross 
 pat^e fitche'e. 
 
 In the present paper we have confined ourselves 
 to an endeavour to describe some of the crosses that 
 were erected in England before the Reformation ; 
 the people of the present day do not realise how 
 common crosses were previous to that date. 
 
 Almost every parish had its cross, and it was 
 by no means an uncommon thing for the larger 
 parishes and towns to have several. We know 
 that at Liverpool there was the High Cross, the 
 White Cross, and St. Patrick's Cross. There was 
 usually the Churchyard Cross ; this was almost 
 invariably placed on the southern side of the 
 church ; in some instances it was a magnificent 
 piece of work, showing the sculptor's art in all
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 67 
 
 its glory, but more often it was comparatively 
 small and plain. 
 
 From the time that Britain became Christian 
 until the Reformation, these churchyard crosses 
 continued to be set up ; it has been computed 
 that at least two-thirds of the crosses were then 
 destroyed. Not only those in the churchyards, 
 but Market Crosses, Weeping Crosses, Wayside 
 or Boundary Crosses, were all included amongst 
 those that thus perished. 
 
 The Anglo-Saxon crosses usually had the 
 Crucifixion carved on them. It was the custom 
 at that time to erect the churchyard cross either 
 near to the south doorway of the church or by the 
 side of the pathway which led to it, so that the 
 pious might be reminded at all times as they 
 entered or left the building by the sight of Our 
 Saviour upon the Cross, to pray for the souls of 
 those whose bodies were mouldering beneath the 
 grass at their feet. 
 
 Occasionally these churchyard crosses were 
 called " Palm Crosses," because on Palm Sunday 
 it formed a station in the Procession of the Blessed 
 Sacrament ; also after the Passion had been 
 recited at Mass on that day, blessed palms were 
 brought out, and the cross was decked with them.
 
 68 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Most likely these palm wreaths remained on the 
 cross until either very late on the following Thurs- 
 day, or early on Good Friday morning, when no 
 doubt they would be removed. Henry Bunn, in 
 his will, 1501, ordered a cross to be set up in 
 Hardley Churchyard " pro palmis in die ramis 
 palmarum offerendis."* 
 
 The ceremonies at the cross on Palm Sunday 
 were common also in France and Germany. It 
 was not only acts of religious ceremonial which 
 took place at the cross ; many civil functions were 
 performed there. Formerly the mayors of 
 Folkestone assembled the electors to meet them at 
 the churchyard cross on the eighth of September, 
 in order to choose the mayor for the following 
 term of office. It must have been an imposing- 
 sight ; the sign that the hour had arrived to pro- 
 ceed to the meeting-place was given by the 
 blowing of a horn.t This horn now hangs over 
 the mayor's seat in the Town Hall. 
 
 * Bloomfield's " Norfolk," x. I4f, edit. 1809. 
 
 t At Ripon the badge of the Wakeman (mayor as he has been called 
 since the Municipal Reform Act) is a very old horn, the baldric of which is 
 decorated with little silver ornaments given to it by the various Wakenien ? 
 some of these appear to be very ancient. Another large horn is blown 
 every evening in front of the mayor's house, and at what is known as the 
 Market Cross, an Egyptian-like obelisk which stands in the market-place, 
 and which no doubt occupies the place where the market cross once stood. 
 An engraving of the Wakeman's Horn may be seen in Walbran's " Guide 
 to Ripon."
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 69 
 
 When all were assembled, the mayor addressed 
 them and bade them go into the chancel of the 
 church and there elect the new mayor, which was 
 then done. Whether they again returned to the 
 cross we do not know. The Manor Court of 
 Aston Rogers, Shropshire, met at the cross. 
 
 The crosses at Sandbach in Cheshire are con- 
 sidered to be older than any in England, but they 
 do not stand in the churchyard ; they are held by 
 authorities to date from the eighth century, and 
 some even consider them not to be later than the 
 seventh. They are too well known to need any 
 description ; there seems to be no reason why 
 they should not last for the next thousand 
 years ; the stone of which they are made is the 
 Lower Silurian formation, and is practically inde- 
 structible by weather or time. It is by no means 
 an uncommon thing to find the bases of church- 
 yard crosses yet remaining, and at times they are 
 dug up by the sexton. Half the stone into which 
 the base of the cross had been fitted, was dug up 
 about forty years ago in the churchyard of 
 Northorpe, Lincolnshire, but it was destroyed at 
 the time, or very soon afterwards. At Bottesford, 
 in the same county, the base of the cross remains 
 in its original position on the southern side of the
 
 7 o 
 
 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 churchyard, about forty or fifty feet from the 
 church. The cross itself is still fixed firmly in its 
 place, but it has evidently been taken up at some 
 time and the column considerably shortened, and 
 then put back again. At the present time it is 
 only about three feet high. The object of thus 
 shortening it seems to have been that a sun-dial 
 might be placed on the top. The head of the 
 
 cross has been roughly 
 levelled to admit of this 
 being done. The holes in 
 the stone show where it was 
 attached, but the dial itself 
 has long since ceased to 
 mark the drawing nearer of 
 eternity. 
 
 The east of England is 
 much poorer in crosses than 
 the west, but Lincolnshire 
 can boast of one which is 
 said to be unique, and is by 
 some people considered to 
 be the most graceful church- 
 'yard cross in Britain. It 
 stands in the churchyard 
 of Somersby, near Louth, 
 
 SOMERSBY CROSS.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 71 
 
 celebrated as being the birthplace of Tennyson. 
 The beautiful octagonal column springs from 
 broaches which rest upon a square base ; it 
 is fifteen feet high, and is surmounted by 
 an embattled triangle, the top of the shaft 
 having also an embattled head. There is no 
 tradition by whom, or for what purpose, it was 
 erected ; we do not know whether it was meant to 
 keep in the memory of men someone who rests 
 near it, and who has been forgotten these four 
 hundred years, or whether it is a " Weeping 
 Cross," or only the ordinary churchyard cross. 
 There is a good account of it to be found in 
 " Ancient Stone Crosses of England," by Alfred 
 Rimmer. There is a curious custom connected 
 with the churchyard cross at Stringston, in 
 Somersetshire. A writer in the Ecclesiologist 
 for 1844 * says, " Until very lately it was the cus- 
 tom of the people of Stringston to do obeisance to 
 the churchyard cross."t 
 
 In many parts of England the old feeling of 
 reverence has never died out, but I do not at this 
 moment recollect another instance of the peasantry 
 
 * iv. 291. 
 
 t Sixty years ago, at Kirton-in-Lindsey, Lincolnshire, the old men used 
 to give a pull at their forelocks, towards the altar, on coming into and 
 leaving the church, and the old women curtsied towards it.
 
 72 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 paying honour to the cross, so late as the middle 
 of the present century. At Ampthill, in Bedford- 
 shire, there is in the vestry of the church a most 
 interesting fragment of the old cross, which no 
 doubt once stood in the churchyard there. It has 
 on it, on one side, the Crucifixion, which is very 
 general ; on the other, Oar Lady, crowned, which 
 is unusual. 
 
 Some writers have spoken as though crosses 
 were never erected in churchyards after the 
 Reformation, and no doubt it was rarely done, but 
 we have positive evidence that it was occasionally 
 allowed. The following inscription upon the 
 cross in the churchyard of Fyfield, Berks, is an 
 instance in point : 
 
 This cross was erected 
 
 in the yeare 1627 
 
 at the expence of 
 WM. UPTON, esq.* 
 
 Wayside crosses are believed not to have been 
 so common in England as they are at the present 
 day in some parts of Spain and Italy, but there 
 were undoubtedly an immense number of them ; 
 there are probably more remaining now in 
 Gloucestershire, Somersetshire, Wiltshire, Devon- 
 
 * Gents. Mag. Lib., Topog. i. 156.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 73 
 
 shire, and Cornwall than in all the rest of England 
 
 o 
 
 put together. There were several reasons for the 
 erection of these emblems of Christianity, but no 
 doubt the chief one was that so quaintly expressed 
 in a kind of commentary on the ten command- 
 ments, " Dives et Pauper" printed by Wynken de 
 Worde, at Westminster, in 1496. The author 
 tells us that " for this reason ben crosses by ye 
 wave, that whan folke passynge see the crosses 
 they sholde thynke on Hym that dyed on the 
 crosse and worshyppe Hym above all thynge." 
 
 It was also a practice to set them up on the 
 spot where a murder had taken place, and this is 
 commonly done in Spain even now. 
 
 They were often erected in positions suitable 
 for funerals to halt at ; the body was placed at 
 the foot of the cross, and the mourners rested and 
 prafyed for the soul of the departed. Archbishop 
 Grindell* issued an injunction against resting with 
 corpses at crosses on the way to burial.t 
 
 There is a very ancient cross at Lancaster, with 
 the following Runic inscription upon it : 
 
 Pray for Cynibald the son of Cuthbert. J 
 
 * Edmund Grindal, Bishop of London ; Archbishop of York, 1570 ; 
 Archbishop of Canterbury, 1575-6. 
 t Parker Soc. Index, 255. 
 % Archaeological Journal, iii. 72.
 
 74 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 In Ely Cathedral is the base of a cross that was 
 formerly at Heddenham, commemorating the 
 steward of Etheldreda (he seems to have died 
 about 680). The following is the inscription upon 
 it : 
 
 *%* Lucem . Tuam . Ovino . 
 
 Da . . Deus . . Et. Requie . 
 Amen.* 
 
 There is the fragment of an ancient cross to be 
 seen close to Doncaster, with an inscription upon 
 it in Norman French : 
 
 ^ ICEST : EST : LA : CRVICE : OTE : D : TILLI : 
 A : KI : ALME : DEV : EN : FAICE : MERCI : 
 A.M. 
 
 Tradition says that this cross was destroyed by 
 the troops of the Earl of Manchester, either on 
 their way to, or as they came from, the battle of 
 Marston Moor ; if there be any truth in the 
 story, it would be most likely to have taken place 
 on the return march southwards. The Parliamen- 
 tary general was in a great hurry on his way to 
 the north, and however much their zeal against 
 signs and symbols might lead the Puritan soldiers 
 under him to desire to pause and demolish any 
 work of art which lay in their line of march, it 
 
 * Rock, "The Church of Our Fathers," vol. iii. part i. 18.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 75 
 
 is very unlikely that they would have been allowed 
 to waste valuable time by doing so at that 
 juncture. 
 
 Near Cambridge once stood a wayside cross, 
 asking the prayers of the passers-by for one 
 Evrard : 
 
 Quisquis es Eurardi memor esto Bechensis, et ora 
 Liber ut ad requiem transeat absque mora.* 
 
 Certain crosses seem to have been objects of 
 devotion to various trades or professions. The 
 cross at Kings Weston, Gloucestershire, stood 
 near the Severn, and was an object of great rever- 
 ence to sailors. After returning from a voyage 
 they visited it, to give thanks for being brought 
 home, and before they again sailed, to pray that 
 they might return in safety. 
 
 Wayside crosses, besides being memorials of 
 some person or event, or objects of especial devo- 
 tion to some class of people, were often used as 
 meeting-places. There is a local tradition which 
 says that the base of a mediaeval cross raised on 
 octagonal steps, which yet remains, half-way 
 between York and Fulford, a village about a mile 
 and a- half to the south of that city, was used as a 
 place of meeting between the townsfolk and the 
 
 * Leland's " Collectanea," ii. 438.
 
 76 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 country people during the Plague in 1665. That 
 it was so used during the cholera in 1833 we 
 know. Those who had market produce of any 
 kind to dispose of, placed their goods on the steps, 
 and when the bargains were concluded, the pur- 
 chasers in their turn laid the money there, so that 
 none needed to touch each other. There can be 
 but little doubt that the crosses destroyed at the 
 Reformation far exceeded in number those that 
 remained, but the Civil War between Charles I. 
 and his Parliament, attended as it was by an out- 
 burst of fanatical zeal, caused many to be 
 demolished which had weathered the greater 
 storm of the preceding century. Many things of 
 interest suffered from the vandalism of the 
 ignorant soldiery, and crosses being considered 
 emblems of Popery, were very hardly dealt with. 
 Over the greater part of England where the tradi- 
 tion exists that any work of art was destroyed 
 from 1642 to 1658, it is stated, and firmly believed 
 to have been caused by, or at least received the 
 sanction of, Cromwell. In some few instances 
 there seems to be evidence that he did allow it, 
 but in most cases he never was near the place 
 either then or at any other time. Unfortunately, 
 the crosses in the west of England have suffered
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 77 
 
 in more recent days from another cause. It was 
 by no means an uncommon thing for the farmers 
 in the eighteenth century, and even till within 
 living memory, to use them for gate-posts. This 
 was perhaps done more in Cornwall and Devon 
 than anywhere else, but the neighbouring counties 
 can, alas ! show specimens of this wanton destruc- 
 tion. The crosses generally to be met with in the 
 western part of the island are oblong blocks of 
 granite, generally with a flat circular top, on one 
 side a Latin cross, on the other usually a rough 
 sculpture representing the Crucifixion. In some 
 instances we find the Latin cross replaced by the 
 Greek one, but this is rarely to be found. 
 These crosses vary much in size ; while some are 
 nearly eight feet high, others appear only a foot 
 above the ground. It is believed there is no 
 
 o 
 
 Cornish cross with any inscription upon it, save 
 one, the Market Cross at Penzance. It is said the 
 following inscription is concealed at the bottom of 
 the shaft : 
 
 Hie procumbunt corpora plorum.* 
 The west of E no-land must have been wonder- 
 
 o 
 
 fully rich in crosses ; there are five remaining at 
 
 * Halliwell, " Rambles in Western Cornwall," p. 29.
 
 78 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 the present time in the parish of Lelant, in Corn- 
 wall. At St. Erth, in the same county, the cross 
 has a square head, an unusual feature in that part 
 of the country, the heads of the crosses there being 
 nearly all of them circular. Many of these heads 
 have four round holes in them ; when this occurs 
 they are usually named " Four Hole Crosses." 
 
 Norfolk possesses several crosses in a fair state 
 of preservation. One of the best amongst them is 
 that in Langley Park. It consists of a single 
 shaft ; the ornamental carvings upon it are very 
 beautiful, and it is in wonderfully good repair. 
 Very early in the present century Sir Thomas 
 Proctor removed it from its original site near 
 the Abbey, and placed it where it now stands, to 
 mark where the parishes of Langley, Chedgrave, 
 and Thurlton meet. In the removal the shaft was 
 unfortunately broken, but it was mended when the 
 cross was once more set up. It is a great pity 
 that it was ever taken from its place, but to put it 
 back might be dangerous, as again the shaft might 
 break. Mr. Samuel Whitbread, the great-grand- 
 father of the late member for Bedford, put up 
 a wayside cross at Cardington in that county, in 
 the centre of the three roads which lead to Bedford, 
 St. Neots, and Cardington. This is a late instance
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 79 
 
 of such a cross being erected before the present 
 revival. Many of the wayside crosses were set up 
 as boundary marks, and they are often alluded to 
 in old chartularies. When by far the greater part 
 of the country was unenclosed, such marks were 
 necessary, and a natural instinct of piety dictated 
 the form. 
 
 It would be difficult to say why the east 
 of England suffered more than the southern 
 and more westerly parts of the island by having 
 these memorials destroyed. The city of Lincoln 
 is an example of this. We know Remigius built 
 a cross there, he was succeeded by Hugh de 
 Grenoble, who erected two, if not more, in the 
 city, and from time to time we hear of others. 
 All have perished ; St. Mary's Cross, so-called, 
 being a conduit. 
 
 Weeping Crosses were crosses that had either 
 been expressly set up as stations at which to do 
 penance, or those used as such. They must have 
 been very common, for " to return home by weep- 
 ing cross " became a proverb, and signified that 
 the individual about whom such a remark was 
 made had failed in something in the success of 
 which he was deeply interested, or had in some 
 way or other been very unfortunate.
 
 8o CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 He that goes out with often losse, 
 
 At last comes home by Weeping Cross,* 
 
 seems to indicate that the expression was generally 
 meant to indicate that a person had had a series of 
 misfortunes in his business or calling in life. 
 
 This phrase seems to have lasted as late as 
 the middle of the eighteenth century. 
 
 Ozel,t in his translation of Brantome's " Spanish 
 Rhodomontades " (2nd edit. 1774, p. 56), says : 
 " Making an eruption into Provence, he came 
 home by weeping cross." 
 
 The Weeping Cross at Shrewsbury was one of 
 the stations on Corpus Christi Day ; the various 
 guilds and corporations visited it, and there offered 
 up prayers for a good harvest. There is a road 
 outside Salisbury named " King John's Lane," 
 leading from Clarendon to Old Sarum. It is 
 crossed by another road, and at this point there is 
 a clump of elm trees. These trees are known as 
 " the weeping cross trees." There can be but 
 little doubt that on this spot a Weeping Cross 
 once stood, and the memory of it is handed down 
 
 * Hazlitt's " Eng. Prov. ," p. 3. 
 
 t John Ozel. He was the translator of many French, Italian, and 
 Spanish Books, amongst the rest, of " Don Quixote," and the works of 
 Rabelais and Moliere. Pope alluded to him somewhat unfavourably in 
 " The Dunciad," whereupon he drew a comparison between the poet and 
 himself, by no means in favour of the former.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 8r 
 
 to us in this manner, though in all likelihood it 
 perished more than three hundred years ago ; but 
 let a name or a tradition once take firmly hold of 
 the hearts and minds of the people, and it dies 
 hard. As will be seen later on, it seems to have 
 been the custom to plant trees in the place of the 
 cross when it was demolished. I have been 
 informed that on some maps this clump of elms is 
 called " Whipping Cross Tree," which is evidently 
 a corruption. There is, however, a very curious 
 instance of the way in which, what may be termed 
 modern myths, are evolved, to be found in connec- 
 tion with this place. It is stated, and no doubt 
 truly, that the London coach stopped here to pick 
 up passengers, and that their friends usually 
 accompanied them to the starting-point ; and as, 
 in the eighteenth and early part of the nineteenth 
 century, a journey from Salisbury to London was 
 not a thing to be lightly undertaken, the partings 
 that took place here were often of a tearful and 
 melancholy kind, hence the name "Weeping 
 Cross," for they wept where the roads crossed 
 each other. Such is history. 
 
 Near I slip Church, Oxfordshire, is to be seen a 
 large elm-tree, its root surrounded by stones. 
 This is known as " The Cross Tree," but whether
 
 82 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 it was a Weeping Cross, or merely a Wayside 
 Cross, we have no means of knowing. 
 
 There is a Weeping Cross near Holy well in 
 Flintshire. The Welsh name for it means the 
 Cross of Mourning.* Weeping Crosses must 
 have been numerous ; there is one yet remains 
 near Stafford, and there was one formerly between 
 Banbury and Adderbury. 
 
 Preaching Crosses were places where sermons 
 were delivered by the preaching friars and other 
 ecclesiastics. There was, until about twenty years 
 ago, an old sycamore tree in the village street at 
 Messingham, in Lincolnshire. It was named 
 " The Cross Tree," and no doubt occupied the 
 place where the cross once stood. Did John 
 Wesley realise, as standing beneath it he preached 
 to the crowds that flocked to hear him, that, as 
 the shadow of the sycamore fell upon him, so on 
 that very spot had the shadow of the cross fallen, 
 centuries before, upon those who then spoke to 
 the ancestors of the men and women listening to 
 him, of things spiritual and the life eternal to 
 come ? 
 
 When the old tree died, a young one of the same 
 kind was planted in its place, and is also known 
 
 * Rimmer, " Ancient Stone Crosses of England," chap. i. p. 14.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 83 
 
 as the "Cross Tree." St. Paul's Cross was one 
 of the most celebrated of the preaching crosses, 
 not only of England, but of Europe ; what it may 
 have been like at first we have no means of know- 
 ing, but in later days it was a pulpit of wood, 
 raised on a flight of stone steps, and covered with 
 lead. The citizens of London formerly held their 
 meetings at it, and it is associated with many 
 historical events, the memories of which yet 
 remain with us. In the reign of Richard III., 
 Jane Shore did penance before it. It was in front 
 of this cross that Cardinal Wolsey sat in state to 
 hear fulminations against the doctrines of Luther, 
 and it was here that, by the orders of Henry VI II., 
 sermons were delivered to the wondering crowds 
 in favour of the Reformation. Hither came Queen 
 Elizabeth in 1588 to attend a service of solemn 
 thanksgiving for the defeat of the Spanish Armada. 
 Sermons continued to be preached here, more or 
 less irregularly, until 1643, when, by the orders of 
 Parliament, it was demolished with various objects 
 of interest. The destruction of crosses, glass, and 
 the many other monuments of bygone ages, 
 occasioned much ill-feeling, and there still remains 
 some of the satires written at the time. The fol- 
 lowing is a specimen of verse of the better sort
 
 84 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 that was written to bring the spoilers of sacred 
 things into contempt in the eyes of the 
 people : 
 
 They pluckt communion-tables down, and broke our painted 
 glasses, 
 
 They threw our altars to the ground, and tumbled down the 
 crosses ; 
 
 They set up Cromwell and his heir, the Lord and Lady 
 Claypole, 
 
 Because they hated common-prayer, the organ, and the may- 
 pole.* 
 
 Bishop Percy refers to Whitelock's statement, 
 under the date May 3, 1643, that Cheapside and 
 other crosses were ordered to be pulled down by 
 a vote of Parliament, but this order was not 
 carried out so far as Charing Cross was concerned 
 until the summer of 1647^ 
 
 In his "Relics" [ii. 331] Bishop Percy prints 
 an amusing account of the destruction of Charing 
 Cross. It commences thus : 
 
 Undone, undone, the lawyers are, 
 
 They wander about the towne, 
 Nor can find the way to Westminster, 
 
 Now Charing Cross is downe ; 
 
 * Thomas Jordan, " A royal Arbor of loyall Poesie," 1663. Jordan 
 wrote an immense number of books and pamphlets. He has been called 
 " the professed pagent writer and poet-laureat for the city." 
 
 t " Relics of Ancient English Poetry," ed. 1794, ii. 333.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 85 
 
 At the end of the Strand, they make a stand, 
 
 Swearing they are at a loss, 
 And chaffing say, that's not the way, 
 
 They must go by Charing Cross. 
 
 There are six verses in the poem, and perhaps 
 the one already quoted and the fifth are the best. 
 
 The latter is interesting, as showing that the 
 destruction of crosses was general : 
 
 The committee said, that verily, 
 
 To popery it was bent, 
 For aught I know, it might be so, 
 
 For to church it never went. 
 What with excise and such device, 
 
 The kingdom doth begin 
 To think you'll leave them ne'er a cross 
 
 Without doors nor within. 
 
 A beautiful specimen of a Preaching Cross at 
 Hereford escaped the fate of so many others, and 
 is still to be seen in the Dominican Priory there. 
 Preaching crosses may yet be found at the Cathe- 
 drals of Norwich and Worcester, on the north 
 side. It is said St. Oswald used to preach at the 
 cemetery cross at Worcester, but I do not know 
 the evidence for this belief. There are other 
 specimens of preaching crosses to be seen we 
 know of the existence of many that have perished 
 and there must have been numbers of others of
 
 86 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 which no tradition, either written or unwritten, 
 now remains. 
 
 Market crosses were to be found in the Middle 
 Ages in almost all towns ; they were generally 
 placed in the centre of the cross streets, and were 
 no doubt intended as places of shelter for those 
 attending the market. The usual form was a 
 vaulted structure, with opening at the sides and 
 cross on the top ; they varied much in size, 
 shape, and detail. Fine examples yet remain at 
 Chichester, Malmesbury, Elgin, Glastonbury, 
 Shepton Malet in Somersetshire, Salisbury, and 
 other places. 
 
 Some people consider the Market Cross at 
 Chichester to be the finest specimen now left in 
 Britain it is certainly one of the most elaborate. 
 It was built by Edward Storey, who was translated 
 from the see of Carlisle to that of Chichester in 
 1478. It was restored during the reign of Charles 
 II. by the Duke of Richmond.* 
 
 Ipswich could once boast of a very interesting 
 old market cross, but, to the everlasting disgrace 
 of those who authorised such an act of vandalism, 
 it was destroyed early in this century. On the 
 summit was a colossal figure of a woman holding 
 
 * Rimmer, "Ancient Stone Crosses of England," 1875, chap, v., p. 62.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 87 
 
 a pair of scales ; so far as I am aware, there is 
 but one other instance of this in England, 
 Coventry Cross has the figure of Justice at the 
 top, holding a pair of scales also. There is little 
 doubt that these figures were intended to typify 
 the fact that just dealing ought to reign below. 
 Malmesbury Market Cross is in very good preser- 
 vation. Leland gives an account of it. Market 
 Crosses served a double purpose : the seller looked 
 upon the cross and swore that what he offered 
 was honestly come by and good, and this supplied 
 the place of a voucher.* The Market Cross at 
 Shepton Mallet, Somersetshire, is one of the best 
 examples that yet remain. It was erected in 1505, 
 by one Walter Buckland, and Agnes, his 
 wife.t 
 
 In addition to the Market Cross, each town 
 usually had a High Cross, at whose foot public 
 meetings were held, proclamations made, and 
 much civil business transacted. If there were no 
 High Cross, such things were then, as a rule, done 
 at the Market Cross. Macaulay alludes to this in 
 his account of the Mayor of Plymouth, in " The 
 Armada," raising the standard, 
 
 * Southey, " Com. PI. Bk.," iii. 139. 
 
 t Rimmer, "Ancient Stone Crosses of England," 1875, ix. 113.
 
 88 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 His yeomen round the market cross make clear an ample 
 
 space, 
 For there behoves him to set up the standard of Her Grace. 
 
 We find that in 1529 the play of " Robert 
 Cecill " was performed at the High Cross, at 
 Chester, and that it was newly gilded, most likely 
 in honour of the event. In 1583, Nicholas Massy, 
 sheriff, " being a godly zealous man," not long 
 before his death, pulled down certain Crosses 
 there by command of the Archbishop's * visitors 
 one at the Barrs, one at Northgate, and another 
 at Spittal Boughton.t There was also a Cross 
 somewhere near to St. Michael's Church. 
 
 There is a meadow on the west side of the city, 
 called the Roodee. In former days, when the 
 tide rose it was covered with water, with the 
 exception of a small island, on which stood a Cross, 
 or Holy Rood. A writer in the Gentleman s 
 Magazine, in 1807,^ speaking of Chester, says, 
 <( The only remains of any cross at this time here, 
 is upon the Roode where races are run." The 
 High Cross escaped the fate of most of the other 
 crosses in the city in 1583, but was torn down by 
 the Puritan soldiers in the following century. In 
 
 * Edward Sandys, elected Jan. 25, 1577-8, died at Southwell, July 10, 
 1588. 
 
 t Gents. Mag. Lib., Topog. part ii. 117. % Ibid., 1807, part i. p. 313.
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 89 
 
 1804 the remains were discovered buried in the 
 porch of St. Peter's Church, and were taken to 
 Netterleigh House, and there used to form a kind 
 of ornamental rock work in the gardens. They 
 are now restored to their original position, and 
 Chester High Cross once more looks down on the 
 busy life of the city lying below it. 
 
 Melton Mowbray had two crosses ; they seem 
 to have been placed at the two principal entrances 
 to the town. The following interesting mention 
 of them occurs in an old minute book belonging to 
 the town : 
 
 1584 Itm. The stock stone at Thorpe Crosse was sold to 
 John Wythers for towe shillings and towe pense, and to plante 
 or sett one Ashe tree, or a thorne, and to renewe the same till 
 yt please god theye grow. 
 
 Itm. The stocke stone at Kettelbye Crosse wt one 
 stone standing, is solde to Willm Trigge for fyve shillings 
 and he to sett a Tree and husbond yt till yt growe as 
 abovesaid. 
 
 The crosses in Scotland do not seem to have 
 been so elaborate as they were in England ; not 
 infrequently they had the unicorn on the summit. 
 The High Cross of Edinburgh stood in the middle 
 of the High Street. It was removed in 1617, a 
 royal pageant then being organised to welcome
 
 90 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 home James VI. on his first visit to his northern 
 capital after he had succeeded to the English 
 throne; and it was thought the cross would obstruct 
 the royal procession. 
 
 So far as I am aware there has been 
 no list compiled of the crosses that yet 
 remain in Britain. The crosses of some districts 
 have been accurately and fully described ; and 
 scattered about in various periodicals and the trans- 
 actions of learned societies there is much valuable 
 information to be obtained on the subject, but 
 what is really needed is an exhaustive list of the 
 crosses of Britain, arranged under the counties. 
 A short account of each cross should be given, 
 and especial care ought to be taken to record the 
 existence of the bases or fragments of any kind 
 that are still to be found. 
 
 It ought not to be difficult to get some resident 
 in each county to undertake this, the larger coun- 
 ties being sub-divided again, and the result of their 
 investigations forwarded to some zealous antiquary 
 who would undertake to direct the whole proceed- 
 ing, and edit the book. Surely someone might be 
 found at once capable of, and with leisure enough, 
 to undertake this most needful compilation. The 
 bells of many counties have been fully described
 
 CONCERNING CROSSES. 91 
 
 and chronicled ; in others the church plate has 
 been made the subject of investigation; the crosses 
 have not been so fortunate, but it is earnestly to be 
 hoped that they may ere long receive the 
 attention they most certainly merit.
 
 fllMsericorfces. 
 
 BY T. TlNDALL WlLDRIDGE. 
 
 A LT HOUGH examples of the graphic art of 
 ** mediaeval times which illustrate life and 
 character with fidelity are abundant, the informa- 
 tion conveyed by them is not so vast that the sister 
 art of sculpture cannot be considered as not hold- 
 ing equal place as an exponent of the past. Sculp- 
 ture had by indirect courses come down from the 
 ancients without material break, and it is fortunate 
 for enquirers into the customs and costumes, 
 habits and habilaments, sports and pastimes, beliefs 
 and disbeliefs of the Middle Ages that the spirit 
 pervading Gothic architecture freely admitted and 
 cherished the representation of common and 
 uncommon things as a part of architectural 
 decoration. Chiefly the churches were the 
 galleries of art in wood and stone, and to these 
 we readily turn for precise information on very 
 many points of mediaeval life. 
 
 On the one hand we have the stately mail-clad 
 figure, rich with facts scarcely to be met else-
 
 MISERICORDES. 93 
 
 where, on the other the sculptured capital crowded 
 with some mimic scene ; there whole choirs of 
 life-like musicians ; here, below the choir seats, a 
 series of oaken carvings which are, in this church 
 or that, mines of antiquarian wealth, giving 
 countless contemporary facts and countless in- 
 stances of survivals of thought and design dating 
 from the birth of the Sphinx. These seat- 
 carvings are the subject of the present study. 
 
 They are found in churches having a connection 
 with purposes beyond the celebration of ordinary 
 parochial services, and were an essential adjunct 
 of collegiate and monastic choirs. Being designs, 
 by some strange freak of continuous fashion, 
 more or less independent of the object on which 
 they are placed, they are less conventional than 
 other decorations ; their retired situation also gave 
 a free hand, though this was a consideration not 
 greatly weighing with the artists of old, who were 
 not usually deterred by motives of prudence or 
 delicacy. 
 
 The seats of the choirs of conventual or 
 collegiate churches, as well as of the smaller 
 churches depending on such, are moveable, 
 turning up on pivot hinges, and on the lower side 
 is a second seat or shelf. This small second seat
 
 94 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 is variously known as the Misericord, Miseri- 
 cordia, Miserere, Patience, Subsellium (Greek, 
 Sumpsellion), Sediculum, or Sellette, and it is this 
 bracket rest which was invariably seized by the 
 mediaeval wood carver on which to exercise the 
 most unrestrained freedom of his art. There is a 
 popular error, for which the cathedral cicerone of 
 the old school is responsible, that this is an 
 arrangement to keep awake sleepy ecclesiastics, by 
 compelling them to maintain a watchful regard for 
 their equilibrium, and so avoid an undignified 
 descent into the floor of their stalls. The stability 
 of various examples varies according to the bulk of 
 the projecting block and the angle of fall 
 backward, given either originally or at subsequent 
 replacing of the stalls. 
 
 The term "miserere," now in general use, was 
 adopted by Britton in 1817, and by Hart in 1846, 
 but it bears on it the stamp of being an earlier half- 
 jocular term for the misericord. It was anciently 
 customary to stand during religious services, but 
 gradually the practice of sitting during a portion 
 of the time crept in, and was the occasion of 
 severe reprimands by the more severe heads of 
 orders. Eventually the secondary seat seems to 
 have become the compromise by which devotees
 
 MISERICORDES. 95 
 
 might rest without entire deviation from the 
 attitude of standing. The twelfth century seems 
 to have been the period when the use of the 
 contrivance came to be fully recognized. The 
 seat proper was only let down at the Epistle, the 
 Gradual at Mass and the Responses at Vespers : 
 but the secondary seat was used at the will or 
 inclination of the canons at any other time. In 
 the early part of the twelfth century, the word 
 
 THE sow AS MUSICIAN (Btverley). 
 
 misericorde is met at the convent of Hirsaugh, in 
 Germany. Peter of Clugny, in 1121, doubtless 
 alludes, as quoted by Walcott, to the same thing 
 in the expression, " scabella sediliis inhserentia." 
 ' ; Sedes paratae " appears to be the English 
 Mediaeval term, though the word misericord was 
 well known. Chaucer says : 
 
 "The spices of misericorde ben for to lene." 
 No doubt many a canon prone to comfort would
 
 96 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 consider the narrow shelf a penance rather than 
 a mercy, and forgetting how far it was an 
 indulgence, would, as he leaned thereon during the 
 singing of the Penitential Psalm or installion, 
 be applying its opening word to the situation in 
 which he found himself. Hence, doubtless, the 
 misericorde became a miserere. 
 
 The earliest examples of misericordes extant in 
 England are those of Exeter, of the thirteenth 
 century, and in them knights in armour are a 
 principal subject ; those of Chichester are at- 
 tributed to the same century. Those of Boston, 
 Cartmell, Ely, Gloucester, Hereford, and Lincoln 
 are among the fourteenth century examples ; 
 Carlisle, Chester, Darlington, Norwich, Ripon, 
 and Whalley among the fifteenth century ; 
 Beverley, Bristol, and Manchester the sixteenth 
 century ; Durham and Wimborne the seventeenth. 
 
 Misericordes previously vaunted as being with- 
 out conventionality of subject, are, in one respect, 
 the most conventional of the ancillary ornaments 
 of churches, for they have almost invariably one 
 curious characteristic : the central design carved 
 on the block, corbel, or bracket of the misericorde, 
 is flanked or supported at the sides by smaller 
 carvings, which, in the majority of cases, have a
 
 MISERICORDES. 
 
 97 
 
 distinct connection with the chief subject, and 
 often are a kind of commentary on it. These 
 sides are always much smaller than the centre 
 device, and are connected with it by a band, which 
 is a continuation of its top moulding and often 
 encircles the side pendants ; they are in semi- 
 relief (except in a few instances of exquisite 
 foliage designs), and their object is simply to take 
 off the blankness of the empty space which would 
 
 FOOLS DANCING (Bevcrley). 
 
 otherwise be left. The edge of the misericorde 
 is generally shaped into six facets, with several 
 mouldings, very frequently including an inverted 
 crenellation. 
 
 It will be interesting to review a few of the 
 subjects of misericorde ornamentation. 
 
 Scriptural incidents are frequent. At Beverley 
 Minster are shewn the spies returning from the
 
 98 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 land of Canaan, bearing between them the 
 grapes of Eschol. At Ripon there is a treat- 
 ment of the same subject ; here the sides are 
 an excellent representation of a fabulous race 
 of men fully accepted as realities in mediaeval 
 times. These are veritable " nobodies," being 
 heads with legs attached to the jaws. One 
 has arms proceeding from his temples. In the 
 Cosmographiae Universalis of 1550, there is the 
 following passage : " Sunt qui cervicibus carent, 
 et in humeris habet oculos ; De India ultra 
 Gangem fluvium sita," which, like the report 
 of the spies, was a mere " traveller's tale." 
 
 Ripon has three other good biblical subjects. 
 One is Samson bearing away the gates of Gaza. 
 The city affords a good example of the walls 
 of a fortified English town, with a square gate 
 and a round corner tower. Within are indicated 
 the roofs of the houses. The proportions of the 
 whole thing, however, are ludicrous, the gates 
 (two half-doors, iron-bound, with hinges complete) 
 being of a size that a labourer, which the sly and 
 triumphant Elder much resembles, could carry 
 with ease. The other two contain the story of 
 Jonah. First is shewn the prophet being cast 
 overboard by three mariners. The ship is the
 
 MISERICORDES. 
 
 99 
 
 usual single-masted, rostrumed mediaeval galley. 
 It is well shewn as though seen from above, the 
 interior of the crow's nest being seen. The 
 " whale," a curious sea-creature, is waiting outside 
 among the carefully combed waves. The sequel 
 carving depicts Jonah being cast out of the jaws 
 of the much-relieved monster ; he has emerged 
 half-way, and is in the attitude of prayer. Behind 
 is the shore, with a few neat trees. The trees of 
 
 FOOL GRIMACING (Severity). 
 
 misericordes are the conventional growths of 
 carefully-ordered leaves such as from Anglo- 
 Saxon times had been considered the proper 
 representation. Gloucester has the shepherds 
 {medievally three) marvelling at the appearance 
 of the star, their dog sharing in the general 
 astonishment. The dresses of these are remark- 
 ably good, all three wearing hoods, and having
 
 ioo CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 also hats, probably of leather or felt ; one has his 
 hat on his head, the other two bearing them 
 slung behind, as was done with the classic 
 petasus. Two have high many-buttoned boots r 
 and all have at their girdles their knives, other 
 implements, and pouches. 
 
 Trades and occupations are illustrated in 
 several examples. In Beverley Minster is a good 
 instance, in which both sides and centre are occupied 
 by the figures of sculptors or carvers, with aprons 
 complete. The best of such, however, is a figure 
 known as the Wellingborough Shoemaker, though 
 it is perhaps to be doubted whether he is not of 
 some other trade, the object on which he is engaged 
 being a tudor rose. He has on his knee-board, 
 however, seven tools, including an awl, a hammer, 
 several chisels, or other cutting instruments. 
 Allied to trades are the carvings dealing with the 
 ever popular subject of ale. At Ludlow an ale- 
 drawer is filling a flagon from a barrel of some- 
 what the same capacity. At Wellingborough an 
 ale-wife is preparing to pour ale from a jug into a 
 horn cup, but first, apparently, asks a boorish- 
 looking customer for his money. This is 
 evidently not ready, for he scratches his head in 
 perplexity, and both their faces are turned aside
 
 MISERICORDES. 
 
 101 
 
 as though for the utterance of sotto voc$ remarks 
 suited to the occasion. The Ludlow series 
 also tells the dreadful end of the fraudulent 
 ale-wife. She is shewn entirely naked, except 
 for the horned head-dress, and is carried 
 in an unconventional manner on the back 
 of a scaly demon. In her hand is her false 
 measure. Another demon gleefully greets her 
 with a tune on the bagpipes. At one side a 
 
 SHOEMAKER (IVellingborougli). 
 
 third demon is reading from a scroll, which is 
 presumably either one of her bills, or a list of her 
 enormities. The common practice of women 
 keeping ale-houses was productive of much evil, 
 and they were a constant subject for the satirist 
 in mediaeval times. In the reign of Elizabeth it 
 became a frequent town's ordinance that ale- 
 houses be no longer kept by women.
 
 102 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 In misereres we find the material form of Hell, 
 so widely believed in during the middle ages, well 
 illustrated. " Hell's Mouth " is shewn, here as 
 elsewhere in church ornament, as the yawning 
 mouth of a dragon, horrid with teeth. There are 
 scenes in many manuscripts very similar to the 
 condemnation of the Ludlow ale-wife, though 
 without the allusions to the trade of the overtaken 
 one ; the nearest approach to it in another 
 carving is an elaborate stone sculpture over the 
 south transept doorway of Lincoln Cathedral. 
 
 The demons are such as are found in the 
 accepted forms of the greater and the lesser 
 embodiments of pure evil. Lineal descendant of 
 the ancient satyr, the mediaeval demon was a man 
 with the legs and feet of a goat, and all the 
 propensities towards mirthful mischief and 
 hilarious abandon characteristic of his classic 
 prototype. The idea of the bad hob-goblin of 
 Saxon-English folk-lore fell in well with the 
 design thus perpetuated by the monks, and the 
 fact that evil is almost invariably represented 
 under ludicrous forms, is probably due to the 
 reflection that good men could afford to laugh ; 
 that the demons enjoyed a thousand humorous 
 antics while burning or otherwise tormenting
 
 MISERICORDES. 103 
 
 their victims, was of course no consolation to the 
 wicked sufferers. In his transition from classic 
 groves to the haunts of mediaeval man, the satyr 
 demon became slightly differentiated in form. 
 His horns in some instances have disappeared, 
 but in most have become those of a bull, and his 
 goatish tail is mostly found to be elongated to 
 that of a bull or lion ; or often has the barbed end 
 incident to the dragon form. From the same 
 source, the dragon being a favourite embodiment 
 of evil, is also derived the demon's bat-like wings. 
 To these physical equipments is frequently added 
 a human face set in the abdomen, as in the 
 famous demon playing Luther's head as bagpipes, 
 or more rarely at the knees. The misericorde 
 carving of the demon rushing upon the miser at his 
 money chest, in Beverley Minster, has these traits, 
 while a figure of a goose-shaped dragon in the 
 same series has the additional human face in the 
 breast. It is not improbable that this was an 
 arrangement brought to mind by the figures used 
 by mummers, who inside light mimic structures 
 representing dragons and other creatures, looked 
 out through a hole cut in the breasts. Perhaps 
 there is no form of mediaeval dragon which cannot 
 be found in one or another set of misericordes.
 
 104 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 One of the most prevalent subjects was the 
 history of Reynard the Fox. It is to be particu- 
 larly noticed that the incidents shewn in 
 misericordes by no means closely follow the 
 narrations given in the abundant Reynard litera- 
 ture. The fox preaching to the geese is carved 
 in Boston Church, in Beverley Minster, in the 
 great church of St. Mary in the same town, in 
 Ripon Cathedral, and other places. He is also fre- 
 quently represented in the seat carvings as having 
 laid violent hands on his flock, as at Nantwich, 
 and many other places. Though, however, the 
 details of the fox's career vary in misericordes 
 from the received story, they closely adopted its 
 main ideas. Thus the ape is shewn as a friend 
 and attendant (in the fable, Reynard claims the 
 monkey family as relatives, and makes them 
 useful to himself). In several carvings the ape 
 participates in Reynard's religious ministrations, 
 and carries some of the poultry. In one he is 
 shewn taking the rope from the fox's neck after 
 the execution of the marauder (shewn fully in 
 another sculpture) by a flock of geese. In another 
 Reynard is laid in a little bed, which has four legs, 
 with a drooping coverlet (rather like the meaner 
 sort of modern German arrangement), while the
 
 MISERICORDES. 105 
 
 ape tends him, perhaps after resuscitation from 
 his hanging. The hanging by geese is shewn 
 carved among the misericordes of Sherborne and 
 Beverley Minsters. In the former the sides are 
 two monks, who look up from their books to note 
 the execution. In the latter one of the sides is 
 the fox prowling near to two sleeping geese. 
 The gallows is invariably the square mediaeval 
 form. In the pulpit scenes, the fox, in some 
 representations other than misericordes, is shewn to 
 be uttering the words of St. Paul to the Philippians, 
 Testis est mihi deus quam, cupiam vos omnes 
 visceribus meis (God is my witness, how I desire 
 you all in my bowels). Except when in monkish 
 garb the fox in misericorde illustration is shewn 
 simply in his natural appearance, and he is the best 
 rendered of the numerous animal forms attempted. 
 There is among the fox carvings some of the 
 evidence that misericordes were, though not copied 
 one from another, yet suggested by the same 
 actual designs. The fox at Ripon is shewn 
 making off with a goose from among the flock ; a 
 dog pursues him, and a woman runs out of her 
 house with her distaff, illustrating the old cry of 
 " The fox is come into the town, ho ! " The same 
 thing, exactly tallying in description, is at
 
 io6 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Beverley, but very differently rendered. Another 
 in the last-named Minster shews the fox beino- 
 
 o 
 
 despatched in a manner which would not have 
 been beloved by Beckford ; an archer shoots him 
 as he lies at the mouth of his earth. 
 
 Leaving the fox, another misericorde instancing 
 an old nursery phrase is among the same set ; 
 " The Cat and the Fiddle " is a well-known 
 combination, and there we find her playing to five 
 mice who dance before her. There again the 
 popular fantasy known as " the world turned 
 upside down," has its allusion in the shape of a 
 hare on the back of some unnameable animal, 
 which it is driving. 
 
 Minstrelsy of every variety is caricatured in 
 misericordes, the tabor 
 
 " When tightly stretched and struck with hearty blow, 
 For half a mile you'll hear it as you go," 
 
 the pipe, the viol, and the harp, most often shewn 
 to be played by the sow (an animal dedicated, by 
 the way, to Apollo), are nearly as common 
 beneath the seats of the choir as on the stone 
 arches above. Both at Ripon and at Beverley 
 are carvings of the sow playing the bagpipes to 
 her dancing family. That of Beverley is the
 
 MISERICORDES. 107 
 
 subject of an illustration in this article, and 
 affords also an instance of the harpist sow. 
 
 A famous carving is at Beverley in " the 
 shoeing of the Goose," also at Cartmel. A man 
 nails a horse-shoe upon the webbed foot of the 
 bird. This is an allusion to a saying which has 
 left few traces, but which apparently has been 
 formerly of common acceptation, "Whoso melles 
 him, what all men does, let him come here and 
 sho the Goes." Melles equals " meddles " and may 
 contain a mediaeval pun on hammering. The 
 phrase is equivalent to " Melez vous de vos 
 affaires" as supplying an occupation for those 
 who have no business except that of other 
 people. 
 
 The Feast of Fools was elaborately celebrated 
 at Beverley, and there is a good carving of three 
 fools engaged in a sort of morris dance, with 
 others at the sides, one supplying the music of 
 pipe and tabor, the other with the time-honoured 
 bladder and staff. It is scarcely necessary to 
 enter here upon an account of the great and 
 popular festival which this in some measure 
 illustrates. The sketches give excellent examples 
 of the fool's costume. Fools' heads with hoods and 
 long stuffed ears are also common, occasionally
 
 io8 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 grimacing, assisting the distortion of features by 
 the forcible use of the fingers. In one instance 
 the fool's-head has two birds perched upon it. 
 
 There is a considerable amount of morality 
 conveyed by some of these sculptures, some being 
 very complete sermons. It is shewn at Beverley 
 how the Devil is on the watch alike for the 
 miser who kneels before his treasure chest, and 
 the prodigal glutton, who, in eating and drinking, 
 runs to excess in the opposite direction. 
 
 The monsters of all times are favourite subjects, 
 and these are among the best survivals of classic 
 design. No doubt the nondescripts plentifully 
 scattered throughout our churches were believed 
 in to a considerable extent. The Greek gryphon 
 ubiquitous as the mediaeval griffin, the dragon 
 under every conceivable form, the dog-headed 
 ape, the boar-headed doe with a lion's tail, the 
 unicorn, the mermaid, and other specimens of 
 unnatural history, are common. Ripon has 
 probably the noblest griffin and the most repulsive 
 dragon. 
 
 At Ripon an old story is well illustrated. Among 
 a tangle of oak branches is shewn the wandering 
 Orson, hairy and muscular, and armed with an 
 enormous club. That he may not be mistaken
 
 MISERICORDES. 109 
 
 for an ordinary wild man of the woods, he is 
 crowned with the knightly chaplet of his forgotten 
 birth. As well as these direct references there 
 are many carvings dealing with incidental ordinary 
 life ; the knight hawking, and the labourers mow- 
 ing are there. Puns are not unknown, and 
 heraldry has its part ; bear-baiting and boar- 
 hunting are given in spirited carvings ; while 
 some of the works are elaborate and careful 
 compositions of fruit, flowers, or foliage ; and 
 nearly every symbol of the Church is treated 
 more or less picturesquely. 
 
 Thus the ground covered by the subject of 
 misericordes is as wide as the whole field of 
 mediaeval art, and almost every phase of thought 
 has its illustration in these quaint carvings, which, 
 little regarded in a "minster gloom" more 
 profound than that which enwraps the rest of the 
 ecclesiastical ornament, invites in every county 
 the attention of the curious.
 
 Cburcb <5ilt>s. 
 
 BY REV. J. MALET LAMBERT, M.A., LL.D., 
 
 THE " Guild " is now again a living institution 
 in English Church life. Even in the 
 eclectic circles of Nonconformity here and there 
 we see an institution establishing itself under the 
 name which has become popular with the develop- 
 ments of the Anglican revival. Chiefly as a 
 parochial agency for cherishing a corporate spirit 
 among the youth of the Church, but now and 
 again taking a wider sphere, and under the names 
 of St. Matthew or St. Luke, aiming at a national 
 association of those who feel the urgency of some 
 special aspect of Church work or some theory of 
 social duty, the " Guild " bids fair to settle down 
 as a familiar form of religious and social organism. 
 Yet it bears upon its face the evidence of its 
 nineteenth century origin. " Guild " is most 
 common as a title of the later trade or mercantile 
 association which played so great a part in the 
 England which followed the Reformation. The 
 original was a " Craft " or a " Gylde " or " Gilde."
 
 CHURCH GILDS. in 
 
 The "unnecessary and obtrusive u," as it is severely 
 termed by one of our encyclopaedic philologists, 
 is a siofn of the relation which the modern associa- 
 
 O 
 
 tion bears to its ancient original, though whether 
 we should be justified in going on to say with the 
 same author, that "Guild" is "an obsolete form 
 of Gild," is a question which we will not attempt 
 to decide. 
 
 Freeman, in one of his essays, points out the 
 historical distinction between those names of 
 ancient title or institution which are genuine 
 survivals of bygone ages, and those which are 
 the result of conscious imitation or attempts at 
 revival. The municipal rulers of the city of Alby, 
 at the time of the French Revolution, were called 
 consuls ; before many years France itself, under 
 Bonaparte, was governed by a consul. But the 
 consuls of Alby dated from a time when the 
 memory of the consuls of Rome was still a living 
 power in Gaul. The consulship of Bonaparte, like 
 the Capitol of Washington, was a thing of imita- 
 tion and revival. It is not often that the relics of 
 the past, and the imitation of it, thus touch in the 
 same decade, oftener the gulf between them is 
 wide enough to lend a glamour of mystery and 
 romance to the distance. What we mean, then,
 
 ii2 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 is that the ancient gild of which we are about to 
 speak was a different thing from its modern 
 useful, but distinct, congener, dating, it is said, 
 from Manchester in 1851. 
 
 What was the ancient church gild ? Alas, its 
 very name betrays its ecclesiastical association, as 
 it betokens one source of its enduring popularity 
 and strength. The name is but little removed from 
 the Anglo-Saxon for a collection. The plain- 
 spoken old lady member of Society who briefly 
 described the principles of her Connexion as "a 
 shilling a quarter, a penny a week, and justifica- 
 tion by faith," went more to the heart of the 
 enduring principles of association than her hearers 
 conceived. Only there was a directness about 
 the form of the collection in old England which 
 is more in accordance with the bluntness of 
 unsophisticated men than the modern rather 
 clumsy attempts to euphemise over the naked 
 fact. It was Gildan, to pay, which gave its name 
 to the gild. The other attempts to account for 
 the origin of the term, such as that which would 
 connect it with Welsh * Briton, or Dutch words, 
 meaning a feast or holiday, may be regarded as 
 mistaken. The ancients were strangers to the 
 modern custom of glossing over the fact of a
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 113 
 
 collection by a pretence of a feast. The tran- 
 sition stage between the two is found in the 
 Elizabethan ordnance which preceded the estab- 
 lishment of the Poor Law, namely, that a 
 (voluntary) collection should be made for the 
 poor, but that those w r ho neglected to subscribe 
 should be visited and given clearly to understand 
 that a continuance of their neglect would result in 
 proceedings before the justices. 
 
 Few more interesting subjects for students of the 
 religious and social life of the Middle Ages could 
 be suggested than this. As the mist of oblivion 
 is being lifted from the lower social life of those 
 times, we begin to trace the outlines of the customs 
 and institutions which gave warmth and interest 
 to existence. Life for our forefathers was rigorous 
 enough. Shut in by the walls of their narrow 
 cities, or scattered over the sparsely peopled land, 
 violence may have been common, famine was 
 too often a reality, and pestilence was terrible 
 enough, but when we can get , a glimpse of the 
 everyday life of the burgher or villager, we see 
 him to be a man by no means soured or cowed. 
 Civic patriotism was vigorous, trade after its kind 
 struggled against the barriers which restricted it, 
 everywhere the Church reared its massive tower
 
 ii4 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 in the centre of the community, and round it 
 gathered the associations which gave the strongest 
 bonds of union to the slowly growing elements of 
 society. 
 
 The Church itself, it may be said, is an associa- 
 tion, one which claims to satisfy the truest and 
 widest aspirations of men. What room is there 
 within her boundaries for these minor associations 
 which detract from the sense of unity which she 
 is to cherish in herself? The answer is practical. 
 At the times when she has been the strongest, 
 and her influence has been most extensive, there 
 has always exhibited itself the tendency to 
 develop subordinate unions within. The ex- 
 tensive character of her domain, the catholicity of 
 her communion, not only leaves room for, but 
 invites, the natural cohesion in smaller groups of 
 those who are attracted by mutual affinity or 
 united in common aims. Hence the scope for 
 monastic orders, for gilds and fraternities, in the 
 Middle Ages, hence, too, the scope for the 
 multitudinous "Societies" which mark the vigor- 
 ous Church life of our own clay. 
 
 The present chapter is concerned especially 
 with gilds in their connection with the church. 
 But the very distinction itself is redolent of
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 115 
 
 modern habits of thought. Nearly all gilds were 
 connected with the church, hardly any gilds were 
 solely and purely a part of church organization. 
 All said prayers, all had their lights, all came 
 solemnly to hear mass and invoke the services 
 of the priest. No gild but rested under the wing 
 of some saint or angel, many under the protection 
 of them all. Though devotees of S. Anthony, the 
 gildsmen founded their ordinances " in the 
 worshep of God of heven, and of his modir Seynt 
 Mari, and alle the holy Company of heven, and 
 souerengly of the noble confessour Seynt Antony, 
 with a grete devocion the fraternite was begonne 
 in the toun of lenne (Lynn)." The anniversary 
 days were Saints Days or were reckoned from 
 them. If this constituted a Church gild our 
 range is wide. But as truly must it be said 
 that of purely ecclesiastical influence, still more of 
 ecclesiastical government or control, there was in 
 the great majority of cases, at any rate till late in 
 the Middle Ages, but little. The priest was 
 possibly the chaplain, in some cases one of the 
 founders, in some was expressly excluded, but the 
 gild was the " fraternite " of the good folk 
 themselves. The line between the gild of a craft 
 and the gild of the patron saint of the craft was
 
 n6 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 one which, if it existed in every case, and it is 
 doubtful, we at any rate cannot accurately follow. 
 The craft of the tailors and the gild of " ye holy 
 prophete Seynt Jon baptist " were almost identical. 
 The members of the one were probably members 
 of the other. We have more than a shrewd 
 suspicion that under this "grete devocion " to 
 some of the "armie of heven " the turbulent 
 journeymen or artisans of more than one craft 
 sought and found some measure of that liberty of 
 association which was denied them in a more open 
 form. If this be so, it was within the circle of 
 the gild that some of these social forces were 
 nourished, which have claimed so much attention 
 in our own day. 
 
 Again, nothing can be more plain than that the 
 religious observances were closely interwoven 
 with observances less distinctly devotional. We 
 know not quite whether to admire or to smile 
 when we read in the rules of the prayers which 
 were to be said over the great tankards of ale in 
 the gild of Shakespere's town. Who would pray 
 over them now ? Those were days when the 
 water, if we may judge from the notices in city 
 ordinances, was by no means so wholesome as ale 
 inspected by the mayor, and tried by the ale-
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 117 
 
 conner, and when tea was unknown. The 
 naivete of the documents is beyond suspicion. 
 As we study their quaint simplicity, replete with 
 shrewd touches of life, we can imagine no smile 
 passing over the face of the scribe who engrossed 
 them or the brethren who gave them their loyal 
 adhesion. Humour was there, but it was the grave 
 humour of wholehearted men. There was then 
 no such boundary line between the secular and 
 the religious as there is with us. Church and 
 nation, parish and township, were one, different 
 sides of the same life ; prayers and feasting, 
 worship, and work, and merriment, alternated 
 without a thought of incongruity or inconsistency. 
 It is the spirit of that bygone world of thought 
 which was imaged in Dante, and which has now 
 passed away before the haunting self-consciousness 
 of modern civilization. 
 
 Let us try to picture to ourselves one of these 
 companies of fourteenth century English men and 
 women. For women were there on terms of inde- 
 pendence and respect. They, too, brought their 
 great tankards for the ale ; for the ordinance 
 stated that if any sister did not bring her tankard 
 she should pay a halfpenny. But there is no 
 record, so far as we are aware, of either an alder-
 
 n8 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 woman or other female officer, only, " if any 
 brother or sister is bold enough to take the seat of 
 another," another halfpenny followed. 
 
 It is the age of Chaucer, and the goodly fellow- 
 ship of the country town determine to follow the 
 example of their acquaintance and establish a gild. 
 About a score agree to join in the foundation- 
 citizens and their wives, and one or two more on 
 their own account. They meet in the hall, or, as 
 we might say, the Parish room of the place, for 
 as yet they have none of their own, or especially 
 if, as was often the case, the gild was founded on 
 a Sunday, it may be in the nave of the Parish 
 Church. Preliminaries being settled, the ordin- 
 ances were drafted, on lines common to the genus, 
 but having distinctive features of its own, for 
 hardly any two of these old bodies of rules are 
 exactly the same. 
 
 Each member promised his payment, perhaps 
 charged his estate with an endowment. In Hull 
 it was two shillings and two-pence for each, or 
 for man and wife ; but the form and manner 
 of payments varied much. In Lincoln, in the gild 
 of the Resurrection, it was fourpence to the ale 
 and a penny to the wax on entrance, and thirteen- 
 pence yearly. Officers were appointed an
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 119 
 
 alderman, a warden, a rector or a dean, a grace- 
 man, seneschals, six good men, or twelve, a beadle 
 or a clerk. Their office was hedged round with 
 dignity, and privileged by double fines ; sureties 
 were appointed, and an oaken chest, with its iron 
 hoops and many locks, was provided for the safe 
 keeping of parchments and liveries, silver plate, 
 pewters, money, and old world treasure. The 
 feast days, the mornspeeches, were decided on, 
 the fines fixed, the objects of the charity of the 
 Sfild determined. Each member affixed his seal. 
 
 o 
 
 A new interest was added to life. Each member 
 belonged henceforth to a new social unity. They 
 were brethren and sisteren. The monotony of 
 old custom was broken by the expectation of the 
 procession and the feast, and the consciousness of 
 the Church's approval, the special patronage of 
 the presiding saint, and the remembrance of the 
 charity to the poor, were sweet to the soul. So 
 the weeks would pass, and on the Sunday after 
 the Feast, say, of the Epiphany, a mornspeech 
 would be held a general meeting we should say 
 in these days. If it were held in the proper hall, 
 the alderman or warden would sit on a raised 
 chair at the end where the chest of the gild was, 
 and there, too, were the officers, while the mem-
 
 120 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 bers sat on the benches below. Often it would 
 be held in the nave of the Church. Four times 
 in the year were these meetings held " to consider 
 and do whatever the welfare of the gild needs." 
 Everyone then paid his sixpence, or whatever was 
 the sum due. If he was in default " he shall pay 
 a pound of wax." " And the Dean shall pay a 
 penny for every brother he ought to have warned 
 and did not." But there is some unruly brother 
 who is inclined to grumble, or the new-fledged 
 dignity of the president does not meet with the 
 respect which is its due. A member is " rebelle 
 of his tonge ageyn ye Alderman, or ageyn ani of 
 ye gylde breyeren or sisterere." Such conduct is 
 foreseen and provided for. The rule is referred 
 to. ' ' I f he grucche (grumble) he shal pay a pounde 
 of wax, or leve ye fraternite for evere more." 
 Thus good order is preserved, and the " grete 
 lyte " is liberally supplied with wax. But the day 
 of festival is at hand, the order of the procession 
 is to be arranged, the details of the feast are to be 
 settled. All is done in good humour, and with 
 serious attention to business, and the members go 
 home abundantly satisfied. The great day arrives, 
 and the brethren and sisters assemble " atte hous 
 that is assignen for the fraternite, for to gone, two
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 121 
 
 and two togedre, worshipfully to the chirche, with 
 the aldirman, for to heren messe and evensonge, 
 and atte general messe for to offre in worship of 
 the holy martir, atte messe of Requiem ilke for hem 
 that ben deed," upon pain of two pounds of wax. 
 Nor were the prayers ended when the church was 
 left, for " atte general tyme while the drinkynge 
 lastes, everyche nygt, afore the feste, the clerk 
 shal stonden up and done pees ben in the house, 
 while that he says the bedes for the state of holy 
 chirche and the state of the londe, with the lygt 
 brenninge that longes to the compaignye." Hear 
 the prayer said at Wygnale in Norfolk, " Beseche 
 we ihesu crist mercy, for the pees and state of 
 holy chirche, for the pope of Rome an the car- 
 dinals, for the patriak of Jerusalem, and for the 
 stat and pees of holy chirche, meinten hem and 
 susten him ; and for the Archbischope of Canter- 
 bury, and the Bischope.of Norwyche, and for the 
 Prioresse of Crabous, and for alle the covent, and 
 for alle Archbishopes, Bisshopes, Abbotes, Priours 
 an for alle men and wommen of religioun ; and for 
 the kynge and the quene and al the comones of 
 this Roialme." Truly, their sympathies were 
 wide. Into the details of the feast which followed 
 our accounts do not enter. Familiar to the
 
 122 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 authors of them, they had no thought of the 
 curiosity of those who should come after, and 
 should have lost the peculiar secret of their enjoy- 
 ment. The potentialities of the human system, 
 as we are often reminded, are wonderful, and that 
 good digestion waited upon appetite the silence of 
 the chroniclers would lead us to suppose. Steaks 
 of roasted porpoise, wonderful pasties, swans, pea- 
 cocks, and venison all these and more would be 
 on the board in some of the greater gilds, nor 
 would the humbler fare of the lesser ones be less 
 plentiful or relished the less ; for the great tan- 
 kards of ale had been first sent to the poor, 
 and the occasion could be improved, with a good 
 conscience. 
 
 We should, however, do grievous wrong to 
 these good brethren if we should regard their 
 fraternities as nothing better than clubs for feast- 
 ing, praying, and jollity. As we have pictured 
 the gild so far, it was a social union, with a fixed 
 payment, with a close connection with the 
 Church, and with periodical holiday feasts. If 
 this were all, it would be worthy of passing 
 interest. But there were two features besides 
 which gave it a place both of greater practical 
 usefulness and of higher religious and social
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 123 
 
 significance. These were its functions of charity 
 to the living", and of its peculiar care for the 
 welfare and memory of the dead. In the more 
 recent popular accounts of the pre-Reformation 
 gilds, there is perhaps too much tendency to 
 dwell exclusively on the former of these aspects. 
 The gilds have been repeatedly described, not 
 without reason, as the Friendly and Provident 
 Associations, the Insurance Societies, the Clubs, 
 and the Trades Unions of the middle ages. But 
 it is difficult to say, and probably no generalisa- 
 tion on the subject could be accurately made, 
 whether to their contemporaries they presented 
 the spectacle of institutions chiefly social, or 
 charitable, or religious. The elements varied in 
 their proportions in different localities and in 
 different gilds of the same town. It is with this 
 word of caution that we proceed to say something 
 of their works of charity. For charity of some 
 kind may be said to have been a universal feature 
 among them, and the kindly feeling it must have 
 cherished in the community where it existed must 
 have been a most wholesome element in con- 
 temporary society. 
 
 But the first objects were ever, and often ex- 
 clusively, the members of the gild, " especially to
 
 i2 4 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 them of the household of faith," as the apostle 
 enjoined of old. Take the memorable gild at 
 Ludlow. " When it happens that any of the 
 bretheren or sisteren of the gild shall have been 
 
 o 
 
 brought to such want, through theft, fire, ship- 
 wreck, fall of a house, or any other mishap, that 
 they have not enough to live on ; then once, 
 twice, and thrice, but not a fourth time, as much 
 help shall be given to them, out of the goods of 
 the gild, as the rectors and stewards, having 
 regard to the deserts of each, and to the means 
 of the gild, shall order ; so that whoever bears 
 the name of the gild, shall be upraised again, 
 through the ordinances, goods, and help of his 
 brethren." If any brother or sister should be 
 wrongfully cast into prison, the gild would do its 
 utmost to spend money to get him out. "If any 
 of our poorer bretheren or sisteren fall into 
 grievous sickness, they shall be helped, both as to 
 their bodily needs, and other wants, out of the 
 common fund of the gild, until their health is 
 renewed as it was before. But if anyone becomes 
 a leper, or blind, or maimed in limb, or smitten 
 with any other incurable disorder (which God for- 
 bid), we wish that the goods of the gild shall be 
 largfelv bestowed on him." Again, " If any 
 
 o * o *
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 125 
 
 girl of the gild, of marriageable age, cannot 
 have the means found by her father, either to go 
 into a religious house or to marry, whichever she 
 wishes to do ; friendly and right help shall be 
 given her out of our means and our common 
 chest, towards enabling her to do whichever of 
 the two she wishes." Or at Coventry, " If any 
 brother or sister of the gild become so feeble, 
 through old age or through any worldly mishap, 
 that he has not, and cannot earn, the means of 
 living, he shall have such help, at the cost of the 
 gild, that he shall not need to beg his bread." 
 At Chesterfield also the provision was character- 
 istic, "If any brother is sick and needs help, he 
 shall have a halfpenny daily from the common 
 fund of the gild, until he has got well. If any of 
 them fall into poverty, they shall go, singly, on 
 given days, to the houses of the brethren, where 
 each shall be courteously received, and there shall 
 be given to him, as if he were master of the 
 house, whatever he wants of meat, drink, and 
 clothing, and he shall have a halfpenny like those 
 that are sick ; and then he shall go home in the 
 name of the Lord." 
 
 At Hull, in the Corpus Christi Gild, the charity 
 dispensed was strictly practical. "If it befall
 
 126 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 that any brother or sister become, by mishap, so 
 poor that help is needed, twenty shillings shall be 
 granted to him for one year, to enable him to 
 follow his calling. And if he cannot earn the 
 twenty shillings in that year, he shall keep the 
 money for another year. And if then he cannot 
 earn it, with increase, nor make his ' living, he 
 shall have it for another year, so that he may 
 make a profit out of it. And if, through no fault 
 of- his own, he can get no increase even in the 
 third year, then the money shall be released to 
 him." And in the gild of St. John Baptist, it 
 was further provided that five shillings should be 
 given to each of the afflicted at the feast of St. 
 Martin, in winter, to buy a garment. But the 
 strictly business-like character of this charity is 
 marked by the further provision in these Hull 
 gilds, that in each case, except only in extreme 
 necessity, a deduction was to be made to cover the 
 regular yearly payments due from the members 
 to the gild. Charity, too, in a wider sense was 
 nourished. For, " inasmuch as the gild was 
 founded to cherish kindness and love, the alder- 
 man, steward, and two help-men," in case of a 
 quarrel arising between members, "shall deal 
 with the matter, and shall earnestly strive to
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 127 
 
 make the quarrellers agree together, without any 
 suit or delay, and so that no damage, either to 
 body or goods, shall in anywise happen through 
 the quarrel." And if the officials should neglect 
 to compose the quarrel, they should pay between 
 them four pounds of wax, or if the quarrellers 
 will not listen, " they shall pay four pounds of wax." 
 And, finally, if the officials cannot agree in a 
 matter of this sort, "then all and every of the 
 gild shall be summoned to meet, and the matter 
 in difference shall be discussed before them, and 
 be referred to them for settlement." It was, in 
 fact, a common rule that no brother should go 
 to law with brother, a rule which not only has 
 apostolic authority, but even goes back to the 
 gilds of the heathen, which were contemporary 
 with and prior to St. Paul. 
 
 The extent of the external charity of the gilds 
 is less easy to determine. It was a common, 
 and possibly we might even say a universal, 
 practice among them, that on the occasion of 
 the annual feast, portions should be given to 
 the poor. So at Grantham, each married 
 -couple or single man, on the day of the gild 
 feast, was to feed one poor person. There 
 were also given to the friars minor of the town
 
 128 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 who had gone in procession with them fourteen 
 loaves, eight gallons of ale, and half a kid or 
 sheep. We have already alluded to the tankards 
 of ale at Ludlow, which were given to the poor 
 before the feasting began. But there were other 
 and more far-reaching works of charity done by 
 many gilds. The Report of the Commissioners 
 of Henry VIII. reported of the Gild of the Holy 
 Cross, at Birmingham, " There be dyuers pore 
 people founde, ayded, and suckared, of the seyde 
 Gylde, as in money, Breade, Drynke, Coles." And 
 their successors sent by Edward VI. reported 
 of the same gild, " There be relieved and 
 mainteigned uppon the possessions of the same 
 Guilde, and the good provision of the M r and 
 bretherne thereof, twelve poore persones, who 
 have their howses Rent free, and alle other kinde 
 of sustenaunce, as welle foode and apparelle as 
 alle other necessaryes." This gild, however, was 
 no ordinary one. Founded by the Bailiffs and 
 Commonalty of the town, its membership and 
 influence must have been very large. It is stated 
 that in the year 37 Henry VIII., there were " in 
 the same towne of Byrmyngham 2000 houseling 
 people. And at Ester tyme, all the prestes of the 
 same Gilde, with dyuers others, be not sufficient
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 129 
 
 to mynyster the sacraments and sacramentalles 
 unto the seyde people." At Coventry also we 
 find that out of the goods and chattels of the gild 
 means of living were found for thirty-one men and 
 women who were unable either to work or to find a 
 living, and this at a charge of thirty-five pounds 
 five shillings a year. u Moreover, one of the 
 houses before named is kept as a lodging-house 
 with thirteen beds, to lodge poor folks coming 
 through the land, on pilgrimage or any other 
 work of charity, in honour of God and of all saints. 
 And there is a Governor of the house, and a 
 woman to wash their feet, and whatever else is 
 needed. The yearly cost hereof is ten pounds." 
 
 These, be it remembered were the days of 
 pilgrimage, to Canterbury and farther afield, and 
 the popularity of the custom finds frequent 
 illustration in the ordinances of the I4th century. 
 
 In some cases a gild brother going on 
 pilgrimage was excused his payments till his 
 return. It was so at Hull. But at Lincoln, " If 
 any brother or sister wishes to make pilgrimage to 
 Rome, St James of Galacia, or the Holy Land, 
 he shall forewarn the gild ; and all the bretheren 
 and sisteren shall go with him to the city gate, 
 and each shall give him a halfpenny at least."
 
 130 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 And at the same city in another gild it was 
 further ordained that they should meet him on 
 his return and go with him to the monastery. 
 
 Hitherto we have dealt with the gilds as 
 institutions for the diversion and the profit of the 
 living. We have now to add some illustration of 
 their function in the care for the dead. For the 
 world of the departed loomed larger in the eyes 
 of our forefathers than it does in the nineteenth 
 century. Ghosts were real. At any rate they 
 still lingered round the habitations of the living. 
 At Ludlow, in the gild of the Palmers, "If any 
 man wishes, as is common, to keep night watches 
 with the dead, this will be allowed, on the 
 condition that he does not call up ghosts " 
 (monstra larvarum in ducere). 
 
 It is here that we come into contact with what 
 was undoubtedly one of the fundamental and vital 
 principles of ancient gilds a principle which, 
 indeed, was strong in the middle ages, but which 
 was as potent in far more ancient times, and links 
 on the mediaeval gild to the collegium of Rome, 
 and the brotherhoods of both east and west. We 
 will first note the universal practice of our English 
 societies : "All the brethren then in the town (of 
 Lancaster) shall come to placebo and dirige if
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 131 
 
 summoned by the Belman, or pay twopence " ; 
 <l all shall go to the mass held for a dead brother 
 or sister" ; " each brother and sister so dying shall 
 have at the mass, on the day of burial, six torches 
 and eighteen wax lights, and at other services two 
 torches and four wax lights " ; "If any of the gild 
 dies outside the town of Lancaster, within a space 
 of twenty miles, twelve brethren shall wend and 
 seek the body at the cost of the gild, and if the 
 brother or sister so dying wished to be buried 
 where he died, the said twelve shall see that he 
 has fitting burial there, at the cost of the gild." 
 Or in Lincoln, "When any brother or sister dies 
 in Lincoln, two torches shall be kept burning about 
 the body until it has been carried into the Church. 
 The torches shall then be put out ; afterwards, the 
 mass being ended, the torches shall be lighted 
 again, and shall be kept -burning till the body is 
 buried." Or again, " When any of the bretheren 
 or sisteren dies, the rest shall give a half-penny 
 each, to buy bread to be given to the poor, for the 
 soul's sake of the dead." At Stamford, the ordin- 
 ance is interesting, " Also it is ordeyned that 
 when any Broder or Suster of this Gilde is 
 decessed oute of this worlde, then, withyn the xxx 
 dayes of that Broder or Suster, in the chirch of
 
 132 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Seynt Poules, ye Steward of this Glide shall doo 
 Rynge for hym, and do to say a placebo and 
 dirige, w* a masse on ye morowe of Requiem, as 
 ye commoun use is. Att the which masse, the 
 Alderman of ye glide, or his depute, shall offer ijd. 
 for the same soule ; and to ye Clerk for Rynging 
 ijd., and to the Belman for goyng aboute ye 
 Town jd. The seid dirige to be holden on ye fry- 
 day and it may be, and the masse on the morowe. 
 All this to be doon on ye Coste and charge of the 
 seid gylde." But the pageantry, so dear to the 
 thought of the living and the relatives of the dead, 
 was also provided by the gild. It was a valued 
 privilege to know that the gorgeous pall of the 
 gild would cover the departed, that the " hearse " 
 should be put about it, with thirteen square wax 
 lights burning in four stands, with four angels, and 
 four banners of the Passion with a white border, 
 and scutcheons of the same, powdered with gold. 
 For the hearse was not the hideous monstrosity 
 of to-day. The old iron frame in the church of 
 Tanfield, in Durham, over the Marmion tomb, 
 will serve to illustrate the original of which we 
 have to witness the degenerate descendant. For 
 the poor brother there was no pauper's funeral in 
 store. For him, too, the light would burn, and
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 133 
 
 though his kith and kin were gone, his gild 
 brethren would follow him, two and two, to his 
 last resting-place. 
 
 It would carry us beyond our sphere to illus- 
 trate the similarity we might almost say the 
 identity of these observances in many details 
 with those of the gilds of heathen Rome. The 
 funeral chapel on the Appian way, with its 
 arrangements for memorial feasts and its liveries 
 for the gild brethren, presents an analogy with the 
 mediaeval gild too close to be accidental. It is 
 singular how the parallelism at times stands out. 
 Take the following two cases : 
 
 ORDINANCE OF LANCASTER ORDINANCE OF THE GILD OF 
 GILD OF HOLY TRINITY AND DIANA AND ANTINOUS AT 
 ST. LEONARD, A.D. 1377. LANUVIUM, A.D. 133. 
 
 If any of the gild dies out- If any member die beyond 
 
 side the town of Lancaster, the zoth milestone from the 
 
 within a space of xx miles, xij town, and his death be fully 
 
 brethren shall wend and seek reported, three members 
 
 the body at the cost of the chosen from our body shall 
 
 gild. And if the brother or proceed to the place to take 
 
 sister so dying wished to be charge of his funeral, and shall 
 
 buried where he died, the said render a true account, etc. 
 
 xij shall see that he has fitting But if the death take place 
 
 burial there at the cost of the beyond the 2oth milestone, 
 
 gild. then (those undertaking the 
 
 funeral), shall be re-imbursed.
 
 134 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Change Diana and Antinous into Christian 
 saints, change the objects of worship, increase the 
 charitable ordinances of the gild, and the 
 fundamental social principles of the institution 
 have changed but little in the 1 200 years which 
 have elapsed. The payment of the fixed con- 
 tribution, the endowment, the funeral ceremonies, 
 the help to poorer brethren, the rules for 
 maintaining order, the periodical feasts, the gild 
 hall, the dedication, occur in both Roman and 
 mediaeval forms. The persistency of these more 
 homely social institutions throughout long periods 
 of external historic change is one of the most 
 interesting of the facts which meet the student of 
 sociology. Whatever be the explanation of the 
 parallelism we are now noticing, whether it be a 
 case of similar causes producing similar effects, or 
 whether there be in it rather a curious example of 
 more direct historic descent, it is certain that the 
 prevalence of gilds, or at any rate we may say of 
 institutions closely resembling them, is almost 
 co-extensive with the beginning of civilisation 
 both ancient and modern. 
 
 Still more strange is the irony of fate. It was 
 this feature in the mediaeval English gilds, the 
 one above all others, as we have seen, which
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 135 
 
 reaches back to an immemorial antiquity, and 
 seemed in its nature indestructible, which was the 
 chief cause of their destruction. To estimate the 
 proportionate strength of state policy, mere greed 
 for plunder, and religious conviction, in the com- 
 posite forces which disestablished the chantries, 
 colleges, and gilds in the reign of Edward VI., 
 would be at this date impossible. But it is clear 
 that although we find instances of a confusion in 
 the reports of the commissioners between the 
 chantries and gilds which it is hard to believe was 
 entirely due to ignorance, nevertheless, in striking 
 at the gild property the reforming party struck an 
 effective blow at one of the mainstays of the old 
 religious system. The pageantry connected with 
 the masses for the dead, obits, and maintenance of 
 the chantry priests, was firmly rooted in the old 
 gilds. Plunder there was, but it was plunder, 
 which achieved a calculated end. 
 
 Still we prefer not to think of them as dead. 
 The image which we will leave in the minds of 
 our readers is a brighter sort. In the Minster 
 town of Beverley was a gild dedicated to St. 
 Elene, the holy mother of Constantine, who 
 found the Holyrood. At the year end, the alder- 
 man and stewards, and the bretheren and sisteren
 
 136 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 of the gild, met together on the feast of St. 
 Elene ; and there a fair youth, the fairest they 
 could find, was picked out, and clad as a queen, 
 like to St. Elene. And an old man went before 
 the youth, carrying a cross, and another, a 
 woman, carrying a shovel, in token of the finding 
 of the Holy Cross. The sisteren of the gild 
 followed after, two and two, and then the 
 bretheren, two and two ; and then the two 
 stewards, and after all followed the alderman. 
 And so, all fairly clad, they went in procession, 
 two and two, with much music, to the Church of 
 the Friars Minors of Beverley ; and there, at the 
 altar of St. Elene, solemn mass was celebrated, 
 and every one of the gild made an offering of a 
 penny. The mass ended, and all prayers said, 
 they went home ; and after dinner, all the gild 
 met in a room within the hall of the gild ; and 
 there they ate bread and cheese, and drank as 
 much ale as was good for them. Afterwards 
 they chose, by consent of all, out of the best men 
 of the gild, an alderman and two stewards for the 
 next year ; and to these were handed over all the 
 goods of the gild. And the alderman and 
 stewards were bound to maintain two, or three, 
 or four, bed-ridden poor folks while they live,
 
 CHURCH GILDS. 137 
 
 and when these die, they must bury them, and 
 choose others in their place, and in like manner 
 maintain them. Lights were kept burning in 
 honour of St. Elene, and any money in hand at 
 the year's end was spent in repairing the chapel 
 of the gild, and in gifts to the poor. At least, 
 this was the account given of themselves to King 
 Richard by the good folk themselves. Peace be 
 with them.
 
 of the {past. 
 
 BY J. A. SPARVEL-BAYLY, B.A. 
 
 IN every parish of England, from Cumberland 
 to Cornwall, the one most important feature 
 is the venerable building designated the Parish 
 Church. This edifice, with its massive square 
 tower, from which 
 
 " ascends the tapering spire, 
 That seems to lift the soul up silently 
 To heaven, with all its dreams," 
 
 commands the sympathetic respect of all. Some 
 remember with reverence the scenes which have 
 been enacted within its walls in the days that have 
 gone by, and hope that yet once more it will be the 
 home of the ancient faith. All know that beneath 
 the church's Gothic shade the ashes of their fore- 
 fathers are laid in peace. A strange feeling of 
 tranquil awe falls upon one on entering so holy and 
 so ancient a building. But, unfortunately, to its 
 habitual frequenters it contains within its walls a 
 fruitful germ of envy, and one calculated to utterly 
 destroy a peaceful and contented state of mind ;
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 139 
 
 for probably more heart-burnings and petty 
 jealousies have been caused by the position of 
 seats or pews within the church than by anything 
 else connected with the sacred edifice, and it is to 
 these that we now propose to turn our attention. 
 
 yEtheberht had given the little pagan Saxon 
 temple embosomed in thickets to Augustine and 
 the monks who came with him. From its ruins, 
 and on the site of this temple, rose the first 
 Christian church in Kent, and the homely church 
 of St. Pancras became the type of future parochial 
 churches. Simple in form, they possessed no 
 furniture the altar, the stone cross, and the 
 sedilia for the clergy in the chancel, being, in fact, 
 structural parts of the edifice. The parishioner 
 rich or poor, without distinction who desired to 
 attend divine service, could, on entering the 
 church, place himself anywhere in the part 
 designed for the congregation, none interfering, 
 and there he was expected to stand or kneel the 
 whole service through. The inconvenience to the 
 old, the sick, and infirm, must have been very 
 great, compelled thus to stand on the damp, cold 
 floor, whether paved with tiles or stones, or, as 
 was commonly the case, on the ground itself, the 
 clay having been simply beaten hard.
 
 Uo CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 A stone bench, in some instances, ran round 
 the north, south, and west walls, to which the 
 weary might retire for a while. In Chaldon 
 Church, Surrey, a long low stone seat ran along 
 the wall of the south aisle, until 1871, when it was 
 " restored " away ; and in Acton Church, near 
 Nantwich, there is still a stone bench along the 
 wall of the south aisle. The porch was always 
 provided with benches, where those coming from 
 a distance might rest themselves before entering 
 the building. 
 
 No sitting accommodation for the congregation 
 appears to have been provided before the four- 
 teenth century, though it is probable mats were 
 used to sit and kneel on long before that period. In 
 one parish there is a record of " nats " or mats of 
 plaited straw being charged in the accounts ; and 
 we know that straw and rushes were very gener- 
 ally used for strewinge the church, and upon these 
 the people may have sat. But it is somewhat 
 doubtful whether originally this strewing of straw 
 or rushes was not with a view of keeping the 
 church clean, the rushes taking the place of mats. 
 When the roads were bad, and villagers had some 
 distance to walk to church, probably they uninten- 
 tionally brought a good deal of dirt into the build-
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 141 
 
 ing. This supposition arises from certain entries 
 in some old churchwardens' accounts, where par- 
 ticular attention appears to be given to the new 
 pues. 
 
 In 1493, the churchwardens of St. Mary-at-Hill, 
 in Middlesex, paid 3d. for three burdens of rushes 
 for ye new pews, and, in 1504, 2d. for "three ber- 
 dens of rysshes for the strewing the new pewes." 
 
 Within the memory of the present writer, the 
 floors of the churches of Pitsea, Bowers Gifford, 
 Vange, and South Benfleet, in Essex, and that of 
 Swanscombe, in Kent, were regularly covered with 
 straw during the winter months. But it is only fair 
 to say that the same family influence was para- 
 mount in the five parishes at that period. 
 
 In the inventory of the plate and furniture of 
 Worcester Cathedral there is an entry of " three 
 long carpets to sytt upon at sermons." But these 
 were for the quyer. Sermons at this time were 
 not the heavy cumbrous discourses of the religious 
 and political controversalists of the Reformation. 
 
 The Gesta Romanorum was one of the most 
 applauded compilations of the Middle Ages. Its 
 great popularity encouraged the monks to adopt 
 the method of instructing by fables in their dis- 
 courses from the moveable pulpits then in use, and
 
 142 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 thus endeavour to make an impression on the 
 minds of their illiterate auditors. Short and inter- 
 esting as these moral discourses must have been, 
 the hearers were often chided for their restless 
 inattention, probably induced by the standing or 
 squatting position which, through lack of seats, 
 they were obliged to adopt. Thus we find Bishop 
 Bentham in his visitation articles directing the 
 people " not to walk up and down in the church, 
 nor to jangle, babble, nor talk in church time, but 
 to give diligent attention to the priest." And long 
 before, even in the fifteenth century, Myrc had 
 noticed the very irreverent behaviour of those who 
 lolled about, lounging against the pillars, as per- 
 haps well they might, if the sermon happened to 
 be inordinately long. He says in his Instructions 
 for Parish Priests, that men should put away all 
 vanity : 
 
 " Ne non in Chyrche stonde schal, 
 Ny lene to pyler, ne to wal. 
 But fayre on kneus they schall hem sette 
 Knelynge down up on the flette. 
 
 And whenne the Gospelle red be schalle 
 Teche hem thenne to stande up alle." 
 
 With the increase of domestic comforts, the 
 necessity for seats became urgent. The clergy
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 143 
 
 reluctantly had allowed laymen of opulence to 
 occupy stalls in the chancel hitherto reserved for 
 themselves, and it soon became difficult to prevent 
 other parishioners, differing but in degree, from 
 enjoying the same privileges in the nave, hence 
 moveable seats or benches were introduced. The 
 poorer classes still being without either, the body 
 of the church remained open ; nor was the space 
 thus left often unappropriated. In 1326, the tithe- 
 corn of Fenham, Fenwick, and Beale was collected 
 in the chapel of Fenham, and about the same 
 time, when the good monks of Holy Island found 
 their grange would hold no more, they converted 
 the chapel attached to their manse into a tem- 
 porary tithe-barn. A manor-court called Temple 
 Court was held in the church of SS. Mary and 
 John the Baptist, Dunwich, annually on the feast 
 of All Souls. Wool was stored in one of the 
 churches of Southampton. Parliaments have been 
 held in the parish church of Northampton, and a 
 law-suit settled in S. Peter's Church, Bristol. As 
 an illustration of how old customs survive, we 
 remember a case in Essex, where the non-resident 
 incumbent came into the neighbourhood, and ex- 
 pressed a not unreasonable wish to perform service 
 in the church of his parish ( Bowers Gifford). The
 
 . .,4 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 principal farmer, an ancestor of the present writer, 
 who was also churchwarden, was consulted ; but a 
 difficulty presented itself. It was harvest time, 
 the weather had been showery and uncertain, and 
 the churchwarden was obliged to reply that they 
 would have had much pleasure in seeing their 
 rector amongst them, but there had been a 
 deficiency in barn accommodation, and the church 
 was then full of his wheat. 
 
 That moveable seats were a source of danger 
 to unpopular priests may be gathered from the 
 account of a riot which took place in the church 
 of S. Giles, Edinburgh: "When the Bishop 
 stepped into the pulpit, hoping to appease them 
 by reminding them of the sanctity of the place, 
 they were the more enraged, throwing at him 
 cudgels, stools, and what was in the way of fury." 
 A woman was at the bottom of this mischief, one 
 Janet Geddes, who, like the wretch that burnt the 
 temple at Ephesus, would never have had her 
 name mentioned but for some villainous exploit 
 of this kind. She struck up the prologue to 
 the subsequent tragedy by heaving her folding 
 stool at the Bishop. There are several stools 
 preserved, which each claim to be Janet Geddes' 
 stool so applied. The derivation of the word
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 145 
 
 " pew " is about as difficult to determine as the 
 time in which it came into use. Dr. Johnson 
 gives the word a Dutch origin, implying "a seat 
 enclosed in a church." Among other explanations 
 is that ingeniously suggested by Mr. A. Heales, 
 F.S.A., in his exhaustive work on The History 
 and Law of Church Seats, that Pewis may be a 
 corruption of Pervis, the Parvise or Paradise, 
 used occasionally by our old writers to signify an 
 enclosure. Nearly all the pre- Reformation church 
 seats in this country are of the late Perpendicular 
 era. Pews were, however, in common use, long be- 
 fore that time. In some parts of England, it is now 
 extremely uncommon to meet with a church still 
 containing ancient pews, or, more properly 
 speaking, benches, many of them having fallen 
 victims, no doubt, to the fashion for family isola- 
 tion in the sixteenth century ; but in other parts, 
 old pews still remain, even in this present age of 
 destructive restoration. Sir Thomas More often 
 mentions them in his discourses. He tells how 
 men "fell at varyance for kissing of the pax, or 
 goyng before in procession, or setting of their 
 wives' pews in the church ;" while Sir Richard 
 Baker in his Chronicle, gives a long account of a 
 
 disturbance in the church of St. Dunstan, London, 
 
 10
 
 146 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 between the wives of a nobleman and a knight as 
 to the right of the occupation of a particular pew 
 in that church, resulting in a riot, and death and 
 injury to various persons, partisans of the angry 
 ladies. This event took place early in the 
 fifteenth century. We may, therefore, surmise 
 that pews were sometimes restricted to the use of 
 the fair sex. 
 
 Lord Bacon tells us : " When Sir Thomas 
 More was Lord Chancellor, he did use at mass to 
 sit in the chancel, and his lady in a pew. And 
 whereas upon the holy days during his High 
 Chancellorship, one of his gentlemen, when 
 service at the church was done, ordinarily used 
 to come to my Lady his wife's pew door, and 
 say unto her ' Madam, my Lord is gone ; ' the 
 next holy day after the surrender of his office, 
 and departure of his gentlemen from him, he 
 came unto my Lady his wife's pew himself, and 
 making a low courtesy, said unto her : ' Madam, 
 my Lord is gone.' But she, thinking this at first 
 to be but one of his jests, was little moved till he 
 told her sadly he had given up the Great Seal." 
 At the church of St. Botolph, Aldgate, an entry 
 appears in the year 1553, of money paid to a 
 carpenter for " two new pewes, wherein Dr.
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 147 
 
 Arthur Darsey and his wife are sett." A pew 
 each! Addison says: "If our sex take it into 
 their heads to wear trunk breeches at church, a 
 man and his wife would fill a whole pew." But a 
 man and his wife were not allowed to try the 
 experiment, for the practice of separating the sexes 
 seems never to have been abandoned from the 
 earliest period of Christianity down to the present 
 time. It is said to have been customary in the 
 time of St. Mark ; and the author of the Apostolic 
 Constitution says : " Let the doorkeeper stand at 
 the gate of the men and the deaconesses at the 
 gate of the women." 
 
 St. Augustine intimates that each sex had its 
 distinct place ; and St. Ambrose, who was always 
 getting into scrapes, " was once furiously assaulted 
 in a church by an Aryan woman, who tried to 
 hale him by his garments to the women's part 
 that they might beat him." The great Emperor 
 Theodosius had to leave his seat in the sanctuary 
 or chancel, and sit without among the men ; and 
 the Empress Helena prayed with the women in 
 their part of the church. Females were forbidden 
 the privilege of sitting in the chancel in the seven- 
 teenth century ; and when the laymen invaded 
 that sacred portion, the women, ecclesiastically
 
 148 CURIOUS CHURCPI GLEANINGS. 
 
 the most obnoxious, were very pertinacious in 
 their attempts to do likewise. 
 
 " Lewde men holy church \vyl forbede 
 To stonde yn the chaunsel whyl men rede, 
 Who so ever tharto ys custummer 
 Though he be of grete powere. 
 
 Yet for wommen's sake thys tale ys tolde 
 That they oute of the chaunsel holde," 
 
 for it was great folly for women to stand with the 
 clergy : 
 
 " Other at matyns or at messe, 
 But y hyt was yn cas of stresse ; 
 For there of may come temptacyun 
 And disturbyng of devocyun." 
 
 This practice of the laity sitting in the chancel 
 should have ceased when the nave became 
 occupied with pews ; but such was not the case. 
 In an age full of mystical significations, when 
 every part of the church was symbolized, it 
 appears nothing strange that the division of the 
 sexes should still maintain. That the men should 
 be placed on the southern the women on the 
 northern side, to signify that the saints which be 
 most advanced in holiness should stand against 
 the greater temptations of the world. But 
 according to others the men are to be in the fore-
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 149 
 
 part, i.e., eastward, the women behind, because 
 the husband is the head of the wife, and therefore 
 should go before her. The extreme simplicity of 
 this arrangement, makes its symbolical character 
 more impressive. 
 
 The seventeenth century came, and with it the 
 time when the pews became both comfortable and 
 magnificent. 
 
 The patron of the church had always been 
 well seated, the squire fairly so ; but now 
 money and position could acquire by precept, 
 license, or faculty what was needed. Sermons of 
 the highest importance in reference to disputed 
 tenets, and the religious and political controversies 
 of the day were preached in country parishes ; 
 and rustic priests, who derived but a scanty 
 subsistence from their tithe-sheaves and tithe-pigs, 
 developed the professional spirit in the highest. 
 In the words of Macaulay : " Living in seclusion, 
 with little opportunity of correcting their opinions, 
 they held and taught the doctrines of hereditary 
 right, of passive obedience, and of non-resistance, 
 in all their crude absurdity." The high pew 
 became a refuge for the parishioners to sit or 
 sleep in, where the Puritan could listen to a 
 teaching not sufficiently reformed, and the loyal
 
 iSo CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Catholic could cross himself in safety, and mutter 
 his aves unnoticed. 
 
 The luxury of some pews of this period may be 
 inferred from their having glass windows. At 
 Merstham, in Surrey, until comparatively recently 
 there were pews raised some feet above the cold 
 damp floor, comfortably fitted, and possessing a 
 fire-place and table by no means an uncommon 
 example. Such pride of place must have been 
 peculiarly offensive even in private chapels. 
 That such seats were well considered and tended, 
 we may readily believe. In the Booke of Nurture, 
 by John Russell, A.D. 1420, the following advice 
 is given concerning " the office of a chamberlain, 
 to prepare for his master attending church " 
 
 " Prynce or prelate if hit be, or any other potestate, 
 Or he enter in to the churche, be it erly or late, 
 Perceive all thynges for his pewe that yt be made 
 
 preparate. 
 Bothe cosshyn, carpet, and curteyn, bedes and boke, 
 
 forget not that, 
 Then to your Sovereyne's chamber walk ye in haste." 
 
 It was this fashion of having " seates or pewes 
 made high and easie for the parishioners to sit or 
 sleepe in, a fashion of no long continuance and 
 worthy of reformation," which called forth the 
 indignant reproof from Bishop Corbet : " I am
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST 151 
 
 verily persuaded," he says, " were it not for the 
 pulpit and the pews (I do not now mean the 
 Altar and the Font for the two Sacraments, but 
 for the pulpit and stools as you call them) many 
 churches had been down that stand. Stately 
 
 Tj' 
 
 CANOPIED FEW, BKEEDON-ON-THE-HILL. 
 
 pews are now become tabernacles with rings and 
 curtains to them. There wants nothing but beds 
 to hear the Word of God on ; we have casements, 
 locks and keys, and cushions I had almost said 
 bolster and pillows ; and for those we love the
 
 152 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Church." Strong words, but undoubtedly in their 
 time very true. 
 
 A good example of a canopied pew is in the 
 church of Breedon-on-the-Hill, Leicestershire. 
 It bears the date of 1627. This pew is in the 
 Ferrers or north aisle of the church, which is 
 railed off from the rest of the building. The 
 Earl of Ferrers is the owner of the pew, but it 
 is never used. It is beautifully carved, and on 
 the whole, is in a good state of preservation. 
 
 A pew seems, from the following story, to have 
 sometimes been the eminence upon which 
 offenders did public penance : " These witness in 
 dede will not lye," as the pore man sayd 
 by the priest, "if I may be homely to tell 
 you a mery tale by the way." "A mery tale," 
 quod I, "commith never amyse to me." "The pore 
 man," quod he, "had founde ye priest over famyliar 
 with hys wyfe, and because he spake of yt abrode 
 and could not prove yt, the priest sued him before 
 ye byshoppes offyciale for dyffamatyon, where the 
 pore man upon pain of cursynge (i.e., excommuni- 
 cation), was commanded that in hys paryshe 
 chyrche, he should upon ye Sundaye at high 
 masse time, stand up and sai, ' Mouth, thou 
 lyest ! ' Whereupon, for fulfilling of hys penance
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 
 
 153 
 
 up was the pore soul set in a pew that the 
 people might wonder on hym and hear what he 
 sayd. And there all a loud (when he had 
 
 PEW, WENSLEY CHURCH. 
 
 rehersyed what he had reported by the priest), 
 then he sett hys handys on hys mouthe and saide, 
 ' Mouth ! mouth, thou lyest ; ' and by and by 
 thereupon he set hys hand upon his eyen and
 
 i54 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 saide, ' but eyen, eyen,' quod he, ' by ye mass ye 
 lie not a whitte.' ' 
 
 We give an illustration of a historically inter- 
 esting pew in Wensley Church, Yorkshire. The 
 chief part of it consists of portions of a richly- 
 carved parclose, believed to have been brought 
 from the Scrope Chantry, Easby Abbey, near 
 Richmond, in the county of York, the ancient 
 burying-place of the Scropes. On the top of the 
 screen are inscriptions, and " a sort of Scrope 
 pedigree in woodwork." The carving is well 
 executed, the pew was richly gilt and blazoned. 
 It belongs to the Lords of Bolton, and in the 
 tomb under it rest the remains of members of that 
 noble family. The flag suspended above the 
 pew is that of Loyal Dales' Volunteers. 
 
 Before the well-cushioned family pew could be 
 reached, a journey in many cases had to be under- 
 taken, sometimes attended with no few difficulties. 
 All the establishment was beaten up, and the lord 
 of the manor marched at the head of no mean pro- 
 cession, carrying his favourite hawk on his wrist, 
 and closely followed by his hounds. The latter, 
 when arrived at the church, were placed in the 
 "hall dog pew" during divine service. One of 
 these pews was in existence, and used for this
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 155 
 
 purpose, at Aveley, in Essex, at the close of the 
 last century. 
 
 That the clergy possessed no power to check 
 the freaks of the squirearchy, and if they had 
 would not have used it to the hurt or hindrance 
 of those animals which ministered to their 
 pleasures, is most abundantly proved. It was 
 always difficult to restrain the clergy from the 
 pursuit of field sports from the time of King 
 Edgar to that of Rowland Hill. One of the 
 ecclesiastical canons, passed in the reign of the 
 former, enjoins : " That no priest be a hunter, or 
 fowler, or player at tables, but let him play on his 
 books as becometh his calling." Lord Hermand, 
 the Scotch judge, had a large Newfoundland dog 
 called Dolphin, which used to go everywhere 
 with him, and even to church on Sundays. His 
 master taught him to place his huge paws on the 
 book-board of the pew, and rest his head gravely 
 thereon, like a country farmer. The dog seemed 
 to relish this part of his duty, and when the judge 
 could not attend, went itself to church and 
 devoutly listened. And when there was no 
 service in the parish church, the dog was even 
 liberal enough to attend the dissenters' meeting 
 house with apparently equal relish and
 
 156 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 spiritual refreshment. A Scottish laird, en- 
 sconced in the family pew, thought nothing of 
 there smoking his accustomed pipe, and the yelp- 
 ing cur at his feet would often disturb the parson 
 in the midst of his most polished eloquence. But 
 the social barometer had not then risen ; the 
 parsons were not as yet the men they were in the 
 time of Cowper : 
 
 " The things that mount the rostrum with a skip, 
 And then skip down again ; pronounce a text, 
 Cry ' hem ; ' and read what they never wrote, 
 Just fifteen minutes, huddle up their work, 
 And with a well-bred whisper close the scene." 
 
 As an example of the way licenses for pews 
 were asked for and obtained, we may mention the 
 instance of a clergyman and his wife who alleged 
 that they had lately purchased an ancient house 
 in the parish, " where, by reason of the situation 
 and air, she, for her health's sake, for five months 
 past, and he also do sometimes dwell," and not 
 having a convenient seat, and there "also want- 
 ing a seat for women who came after childbirth to 
 give God thanks," they offered to build, in a void 
 place, a seat for themselves and one for such 
 women. So a faculty was at once granted to 
 them for leave to build two pews. Thus, with a
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 157 
 
 show of providing occasional additional accom- 
 modation to a part of the parishioners, they 
 acquired two new pews for themselves and 
 servants. 
 
 The absence of any system in making these 
 early grants will be seen in another case. The 
 applicant, a widow, was decreed to be restored to 
 the " uppermost room in the pew, as before, and 
 her husband's place also to be restored if she 
 should again marry." In another, the court 
 directed the churchwardens to "place Mr. 
 Church, his daughters, when God should send 
 them him, in the said third seat." 
 
 The attempt to seat parishioners according to 
 their degree three centuries ago involved very 
 great litigation, and we are sorry to think that 
 ever since pews have been fought for more for 
 the pride of place than as places for prayer. 
 
 Man is a creature of habit. It is likely that 
 while many persons would consciously or un- 
 consciously each acquire the habit of occupying a 
 particular place, their neighbours would, from 
 friendly feelings or peaceable motives, be dis- 
 inclined to interfere, a right by courtesy would be 
 acquired, and this right be allowed on no other 
 grounds by the Ecclesiastical Courts. We take
 
 158 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 for granted the undisputed right of the patron 
 and the lord of the manor, or his representative, 
 to share with the rector those parts of the chancel 
 which have, by common consent, appertained 
 respectively thereto. Until the restoration of 
 Swanscombe Church, Kent, in the year 1873, the 
 whole of the south side of the long chancel of 
 that ancient edifice was occupied by a magnifi- 
 cently upholstered pew, with table, etc., in which 
 sat, in solitary state, a dignified tenant farmer, as 
 representative of the lord of the important Manor 
 of Swanscombe. The north side of the chancel 
 being equally divided between the rector and the 
 lord of the tributary Manor of Alkerden in the 
 same parish. 
 
 While on the Continent the parson is charge- 
 able for the repairs of the whole church, in 
 England he is responsible for the state of the 
 chancel alone, and in some instances not for that. 
 In London, from long usage, the inhabitants 
 claim the right of appointing both churchwardens, 
 and they have the privilege and duty of repairing 
 the chancel as well as the nave, and apportioning 
 the seats in both, but as a rule their authority is 
 limited to the nave. 
 
 The claim of churchwardens to appoint to
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 159 
 
 everyone where he must sit in the church, 
 appears to have been enforced in 1605 against 
 one Lancelot Ridley, who was presented " for 
 that he will not be ordered for his seat in church, 
 being appointed by the churchwardens," and 
 being interrogated on the next court day whether 
 he had done so, " Dixit that he hath not, nor 
 doth sit in it," wherefore he was pronounced in 
 contempt, and suspended " Ab ingressu ecclesice" 
 Rather a singular punishment, but no doubt a 
 very effectual means of preventing a repetition of 
 the offence. 
 
 There might be reasons we know not of why 
 Lancelot would not sit where he was ordered. 
 We have heard of church rats and mice, but a 
 " hungry ." Well, we will give an extract 
 from the churchwardens' account-book of St. 
 Margaret's, Westminster : 
 
 " 1610. Item. Paid to Goodwyfe Wells for salt to 
 destroy the fleas in the Churchwardens' seat, 6d." 
 
 Perhaps such presence may have been accepted 
 as a reasonable excuse which, under an Act of 
 Elizabeth, every inhabitant had to make for not 
 being present at the solemn services of the 
 Church. But if some sittings were uncomfort- 
 able, we may imagine those provided by the
 
 160 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 generosity of benefactors were not so. Amongst 
 these we should class the pew erected in the nave 
 of Little Bemington Church by a shepherd 
 crossed in love, who, lacking a memento mori 
 inscription, has spoiled the effect of his very 
 commodious pew by placing a skeleton carved in 
 wood in the south-west angle, with the in- 
 scription : 
 
 " For couples joined in wedlock ; and my Friende 
 That stranger is ; this seate I did intende 
 Built at the cost and charge of 
 
 Stephen Crossbe, 
 
 1640." 
 
 About this time (1640), the pews were so 
 arranged in many churches that they could easily 
 be taken up, and the ground used for interments. 
 
 Among the numerous pews of the past bearing 
 inscriptions, we may mention one at Whalley, to 
 this effect : 
 
 " Factum est per Rogerum Nowell, Ann. MCCCCCXXXIIIJ." 
 
 The history of it is this, as appears from the 
 deposition of an old parish clerk given in a suit 
 in 1605. A pew belonging to the Townley 
 family in right of their Manor of Hapton, was 
 anciently called St. Anton's Cage ; and a dispute 
 having arisen in respect to places in the church,.
 
 PEWS OF THE PAST. 161 
 
 Sir Joseph Townley, as the principal man in the 
 parish, was called upon to decide it ; and after- 
 wards it was remembered that he had made use 
 of the following remarkable words : " My man 
 Shuttleworth, of Hacking, made this form, and 
 here will I sit when I come ; and my cousin 
 Nowell may make one behind me if he please ; and 
 my son Sherbourne shall make one on the other 
 side, and Mr. Catterale another behind him, and 
 for the residue the use shall be, ' First come, first 
 speed,' and that will make the proud wives of 
 Whalley rise betimes to come to church." This 
 is simply the sovereign order of the local auto- 
 crat, for which no authority but his ipse dixit is 
 pretended. 
 
 In contrasting the pewed churches of the 
 seventeenth century with the bare and com- 
 paratively unfurnished naves of earlier times, we 
 should remember that though the pre- Reforma- 
 tion congregations were for the most part 
 unseated, they usually stood or knelt within reach 
 of benches, to which they could retire in case of 
 illness or extreme fatigue. 
 
 So long as the people's quarter preserved its 
 old social usages, and was by turns a court-house, 
 
 a market-hall, a granary, and a place for such 
 
 11
 
 162 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 neighbourly entertainments as church ales and 
 bid ales, it usually contained stacked away in 
 corners, a stock of boards, stools, and tables. It 
 seems to us strange that the sacred buildings 
 should have been used for any secular purposes, 
 yet such was the case ; and we are compelled to 
 confess that the advice given by Seager, in his 
 Sckoole of Virtue, printed in 1557, is still often 
 disregarded : 
 
 " When to the churche thou shalt repayer, 
 Knelynge or standynge, to God make thy prayer ; 
 All worldly matters from thy minde set apart, 
 Earnestly prayinge, to God lyfte up thy heart."
 
 Bishop's throne. 
 
 BY THE REV. GEO. S. TYACK, B.A. 
 
 FROM very early, if not even from the earliest, 
 times it has been customary for a special 
 seat to be reserved for the Bishop in the chief 
 church of his diocese. This, as is well-known, has 
 given its name to the cathedral, from the Greek 
 cathedra, and even to the See itself, from the 
 Latin sedes, both being, in a narrower or a wider 
 sense, seats of the Bishop. 
 
 Doubtless at first the chair was in itself simple 
 enough, and it has grown to its present dignity of 
 form and circumstance by gradual and natural 
 stages, just as the useful crutch has become the 
 symbolic crozier. But what the first thrones 
 lacked in splendour of design, they gained in 
 dignity of position. In the days of Basilican 
 churches the altar stood on the chord of the arc 
 formed by the apse, and the stalls of the clergy 
 were ranged in a semi-circle behind it, with the 
 bishop's chair on a dais in the midst. Thence, 
 with his clergy on either hand, and looking over
 
 164 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 the altar at the congregation assembled in the 
 
 o o 
 
 nave, the bishop preached to, and blessed, his 
 people. 
 
 This arrangement of the church is referred to, 
 among other early writers, by St. Gregory 
 Nazianzen, who describes himself sitting as 
 bishop on the high throne, with the priests on 
 lower benches ; the Apostolical Constitutions also 
 allude to the same thing. Even on the continent, 
 where churches of the basilican type are still found, 
 another order now prevails, yet at Nantes an 
 almost perfect example exists, although the apsi- 
 dal east-end of the cathedral is as late as the 
 eleventh century in date ; while further south in 
 France, the ancient arrangement may not in- 
 frequently be seen, save that some decorative 
 feature, such as a pair of folding doors, has 
 usurped the original place of the throne. 
 
 Over the elevated seat thus set apart for the 
 " Father of the Diocese " a handsome covering 
 was thrown, characteristic either by its richness 
 or its decoration of its purpose. St. Athanasius, 
 in one of his apologies, speaks of a " Throne 
 episcopally draped ; " and St. Augustine of 
 Hippo, warns Maximin, the Donatist Bishop, that 
 " neither thrones raised on steps, nor covered
 
 THE BISHOP'S THRONE. 165 
 
 (perhaps canopied) seats," will avail one at the 
 Last Judgment. 
 
 At the same time the Church was jealous of 
 too much display in the state of the episcopate. 
 At the Council of Antioch (A.D. 341) one of 
 the charges against Paul of Samosata was that 
 he had built himself a lofty tribune, too much 
 resembling those of secular princes. It was the 
 Church's care, in the quaint words of Bingham, 
 that "the honours bestowed on her bishops 
 should be such as might set them above con- 
 tempt, but keep them below envy ; make them 
 venerable, but not minister to vanity." A 
 practice similar to this of draping the throne with 
 handsome stuffs, prevailed at old St. Paul's 
 Cathedral, among the ornaments appertaining to 
 which, in the seventh year of Edward VI., were 
 " baudkins of divers sorts and colours, for 
 garnishing the quire for the King's coming, and 
 for the Bishop's seat." 
 
 With a different style of architecture, a different 
 arrangement of the seats for the clergy became 
 necessary ; and in England, at any rate, where 
 basilican churches were probably never common, 
 the usual position seems always to have been on 
 the south side of the choir, between the altar and
 
 166 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 the 'canons' stalls, although the marble chair, 
 known as St. Augustine's chair, at Canterbury, is 
 said at one time to have stood behind the altar, 
 after the ancient style. 
 
 Some of the earliest representations of epis- 
 copal thrones occur on coins, especially on those 
 of the Italian cities, which, in the days when they 
 were separate republics, generally marked their 
 money with the figures of their patron saints. A 
 coin of Milan bears on its obverse the effigy of St. 
 Ambrose, in full episcopal vestments, his right 
 hand raised in benediction ; he sits on a square 
 seat, without arms or back, but carved in front, 
 and having an embroidered cushion upon it. 
 Other examples exhibit thrones almost equally 
 simple, though various in shape. Several of the 
 English Archbishops, both of Canterbury and 
 York, issued a coinage of silver pennies, previous 
 to the Norman Conquest ; but, though they 
 stamped them with their own names, and some- 
 times with an exceedingly rough representation 
 of their faces, English art at that time was 
 evidently unequal to the task of attempting the 
 delineation of the whole figure. 
 
 For primitive English examples we may turn 
 to the illuminated manuscripts of our monkish
 
 THE BISHOP'S THRONE. 167 
 
 scribes. One of the Royal manuscripts has a 
 figure of St. Augustine seated in a carved chair, 
 the arms of which terminate in the heads of 
 animals, and the feet of which are correspondingly 
 clawed ; the seat is cushioned, and the whole is 
 elevated on a shallow step, or dais. A Harleian 
 manuscript has a figure of the same saint, 
 enthroned on a chair precisely similar, which 
 would imply that the seat in question was drawn 
 from one actually in use, unless the artists copied 
 one from the other. 
 
 An ancient episcopal chair is preserved at 
 Hereford. It is a substantial seat with spindles 
 in the arms, and in front and sides below the seat. 
 But this was probably never the official throne 
 of the. See. It was usual for a movable chair to 
 be provided, wherein the bishop might sit in any 
 part of the cathedral in which he might be 
 ministering. This was often made to fold up, 
 for convenience of carriage, and was conse- 
 quently termed faldistorium ; and although the 
 Hereford chair is not of that type, it was doubtless 
 used in a similar way. 
 
 Several of the early English thrones were of 
 stone, which, by its very solidity and durability, 
 gave them, however simple in form, a restrained
 
 168 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 dignity. Allusion has already been made to St. 
 Augustine's chair at Canterbury ; another example 
 is the " Frithstool," or " seat of peace " in 
 Hexham Abbey. At the time of the abolition of 
 the right of sanctuary, this had been long used as 
 the spot to be gained by the fugitive criminal ere 
 he could claim the church's protection ; but it is 
 scarcely questionable that originally it was the 
 throne of the ancient see of Hexham, which 
 existed from A.D. 68 1 to 825. The throne used 
 by the Bishops of Durham when presiding in the 
 chapter-house belongs to the same class. 
 
 The fourteenth century was apparently a great 
 time for the erection of thrones in the English 
 cathedrals. One of the most splendid in the 
 country is at Exeter, the canopy of which, with its 
 towering pinnacles soars almost to the roof. The 
 rearing of it was probably the work of Bishop 
 Walter Stapledon (1308-1327), a great builder at 
 Exeter, though by some it is ascribed to Bishop 
 John Boothe (1465-1478). Bishop Hatfield, of 
 Durham (1345-1382) endowed his cathedral with 
 a magnificent episcopal throne. Below he pre- 
 pared for his own entombment, and above, 
 supported by arches of stone and reached by an 
 equally solid stair, he placed the throne, thus
 
 THE BISHOP'S THRONE. 169 
 
 to teach himself, it is said, to remember the 
 dignity of the episcopate, and the frail mortality of 
 the bishop. The throne at Lincoln was put up 
 under the auspices of John de Welbourn, the 
 minster treasurer, in the same century ; and those 
 at Hereford, and several other cathedrals, are of 
 about the same date. Thomas de Bekinton, bishop 
 of Bath and Wells from 1443 to 1466, is credited 
 with the throne at Wells, but many consider it an 
 earlier work. At Chester, fragments of the shrine 
 of the abbess-patroness St. Werburga, destroyed at 
 the Reformation, have been built up into a throne. 
 
 The most modern English episcopal throne is 
 that in Norwich Cathedral, a handsome and 
 dignified structure, which was erected in 1895 to 
 commemorate the episcopate of nearly forty years 
 of Bishop Pelham (1857-1893). 
 
 Many of our cathedrals were also abbey- 
 churches, and in these the bishop had a dual 
 office. He was both bishop of the diocese and 
 abbot of the monastery, the dean being his prior. 
 Thus it happens that at Durham, Carlisle, Ely, 
 and elsewhere, the bishop had assigned to him not 
 only his throne, but also the first stall on the south 
 side (the abbot's stall), the dean in these cases 
 having the opposite one.
 
 Chantries. 
 
 BY JOHN T. PAGE. 
 
 " He sette not his benefice to hire, 
 And lette his shepe accombred in the mire ; 
 And run into London unto Seint Pouls, 
 To seken him a chanterie for soules." 
 
 CHAUCER. 
 
 I ^HE equivalent of the word chantry in 
 -1. mediaeval Latin was Cantaria, which in 
 French is expressed as Chanterie from Chanter, 
 to sing. 
 
 Chantries may be said to have flourished in 
 England, roughly speaking, from the fourteenth 
 to the middle of the sixteenth century. Most of 
 the churches which date back to this period still 
 retain traces of chantries within their walls. 
 These were established in nearly every parish, 
 and could literally be counted by the thousand at 
 the time when the fiat went forth for their 
 suppression. During the Middle Ages the belief 
 in purgatory was real and widespread. The 
 clergy pourtrayed with harrowing details the 
 torments of lost souls, and enhanced their descrip-
 
 CHANTRIES. 171 
 
 tions by the aid of startling frescoes on the church 
 walls. Thus it came about that those who 
 possessed money were easily persuaded to set 
 apart a portion of it in order that prayer might 
 continually be made for the repose of their souls. 
 For this purpose small private chapels were 
 either added to or divided from the parish 
 churches by those who could afford to do so. 
 Here priests were employed to keep up a per- 
 petual succession of prayers for the prosperity of 
 the founder and his family while they lived, and 
 for the repose of their souls when they died. 
 Within the precincts of the chapel their bodies 
 were eventually committed to the dust, and richly 
 sculptured altar tombs were erected over their 
 remains. Many of these gorgeous memorials 
 still exist, although the small enclosures in which 
 they were enshrined have long ago been 
 demolished. 
 
 Sometimes as many as half-a-dozen chantries 
 were attached to an ordinary parish church, and 
 in St. Paul's Cathedral, at the suppression, there 
 were found to be no fewer than forty-seven such 
 foundations within its walls. 
 
 The service in the chantry was very simple. 
 It was usually conducted by a priest and his
 
 172 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 acolyte, no congregation whatever being necess- 
 arily present. Bishop Jewell, in condemning 
 these "private masses," speaks of them as being 
 "for the most part sayde inside iles alone, with- 
 out companye of people, onely with one boye 
 to make answer." 
 
 In constructing a chantry, it was customary to 
 enclose a part of either the north or south aisle of 
 the church at the east end. The partitions were 
 composed of stone-work or wood, the bottom 
 part being panelled and the upper part open- 
 work like the rood screen dividing the chancel 
 from the nave of the church. Most of these 
 partitions have now entirely disappeared, but in 
 some cases they are intact. A piscina in the 
 outer wall of the edifice is often the only remain- 
 ing indication of the position of a chantry. It 
 should here be mentioned that chantries were not 
 always contiguous to a church. In some cases 
 buildings were specially erected for this purpose 
 near the residence of the founder. 
 
 A few examples of the stone altars at which 
 mass was said in the chantries still exist. A very 
 good specimen of one of these may be seen at 
 Warmington Church, Warwickshire. It consists 
 of a slab of stone marked with crosses at each
 
 CHANTRIES. 173 
 
 angle and in the centre. It is let into the wall 
 and supported from beneath on three stone 
 brackets. The founder's tomb was occasionally 
 utilised as an altar, but this was not often the 
 case. 
 
 The Beauchamp Chapel attached to St. Mary's 
 Church, Warwick, may be cited as one of the 
 finest chantries now to be seen in England. 
 Under directions contained in the will of Richard 
 Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick, it was commenced 
 in 1443, and is constructed in the purest Gothic 
 style. It took twenty-one years to accomplish its 
 completion, the cost, including the elaborate altar- 
 tomb of the founder, being ,2,481, equal to about 
 ,40,000 in the present day. It is, practically 
 speaking, still intact, and contains many choicely 
 sculptured tombs and memorials. Another very 
 good specimen is to be seen at the little village of 
 Kirk Sandall, in Yorkshire. It was founded by 
 William Rokeby, Archbishop of Dublin, who died 
 in 1521. He was a native of the place, and left 
 directions in his will that his body should be 
 buried at Kirk Sandall, his heart at Halifax, and 
 his bowels at Dublin. 
 
 During the time that chantries were in vogue, 
 they were frequently established by royal person-
 
 i 7 4 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 ages. In such cases much money was spent on 
 their internal decoration, and they were, of course, 
 very richly endowed. A royal chantry formerly 
 existed on the spot now occupied by the north 
 aisle of the Church of All Hallows, Barking, in 
 the city of London. It was founded by King 
 Richard I., and dedicated to the Virgin Mary. 
 Some even believe that the " lion heart " of 
 Richard was buried here, but this is, to say the 
 least, very doubtful. As a royal foundation, estab- 
 lished for the benefit of Kin^ Richard and his 
 
 O 
 
 successors, great care was naturally bestowed upon 
 it by later kings of England, notably by Edward 
 I., Edward IV., and Richard III. Many allu- 
 sions to this chantry occur in old documents. The 
 following entries are from the " Privy purse 
 expenses of Elizabeth of York " (1470). 
 
 Paid to our Ladye of Berkinge xi s - vi d - 
 Item to Sr. William Barton, preest, singinge 
 at oure Ladye of Barkinge vi s - viii d - 
 
 Another celebrated royal chantry is that of 
 Henry V., at Westminster Abbey, which occupies 
 the whole of the east end of the chapel of Edward 
 the Confessor. Some of the grandest sculpture 
 in the venerable edifice is to be seen in this 
 chapel.
 
 CHANTRIES. 175 
 
 The commencement of the crusade against 
 chantries, which ultimately led to their dissolution, 
 may be traced to the year 1529, when an Act was 
 passed forbidding any person to receive money 
 for celebrating Mass for the souls of the dead. 
 This Act effectually prevented the establishment 
 of any new foundations, but did not affect those 
 already in existence. In 1545, a statute provided 
 that the revenues of the chantries should be tem- 
 porarily appropriated for the King's use, but this 
 only lasted until Henry's death. A more drastic 
 measure was then set ' on foot. Soon after the 
 first parliament of the young king, Edward VI., 
 met, an Act was passed (i Ed. VI., c. 14) which 
 permanently dissolved all chantries and confiscated 
 all their endowments. The avowed object of its 
 promoters was to convert the foundations into 
 " good and godly uses, in erecting grammar 
 schools, in farther augmenting the universities, 
 and making better provision for the poor and 
 needy." * 
 
 That nothing of the kind was intended, the 
 sequel amply proved. This was, indeed, "a har- 
 vest time for thieves, and a high holiday for the 
 profane." t It is true that a few grammar schools 
 
 * Collier. t Lane.
 
 176 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 still known as King Edward the Sixth's schools 
 were established throughout the country, and 
 the hospitals of St. Bartholomew and St. Thomas 
 were provided with endowments for the relief of 
 the sick poor ; but the bulk of the spoil was used 
 to defray the warlike operations in Scotland and 
 Ireland, and last, but not least, to enrich the 
 coffers of the court sycophants. " Educational 
 endowments had to be left for later reigns, and 
 largely to private munificence. The unique 
 opportunity which the dissolution of the chantries 
 presented for advancing the cause of education 
 was practically lost." 
 
 The uses to which the chantry chapels had been 
 put amounted to a parody on religion, and the cry 
 for reformation was irresistible and imperative. 
 But the change proved too sudden to be useful. 
 Things once held in reverence became common 
 and profane, and money bequeathed for pious uses 
 was squandered like water to compass the ends of 
 unscrupulous courtiers. Thus the remedy was in 
 many respects worse than the disease. 
 
 The chantries desecrated and demolished, their 
 revenues misappropriated and misspent, and their 
 priests turned adrift to face a frowning world 
 
 * William Page, F.S.A.
 
 CHANTRIES. 177 
 
 such is the picture of havoc that meets our gaze as 
 we turn back to the stirring period of the Refor- 
 mation. In these later times, all that is left to us 
 is a mass of beautiful wreckage, which the hand 
 of demolition has scattered along the shores of 
 time. 
 
 12
 
 Ibacjioscopes, 
 
 BY JOHN T. PAGE. 
 
 A HAGIOSCOPE, or Squint, generally con- 
 sists of an oblique opening in the interior 
 walls of a church, cut through the angle formed 
 by the junction of the north or south aisles with 
 the chancel. It is carried through the thickness of 
 the wall immediately at the back of the pillar 
 which supports the chancel arch. By this means 
 a good view is obtained of the east end of the 
 chancel, which would otherwise be quite hidden 
 from anyone occupying a position at the eastern 
 ends of the aisles. It will at once be obvious that 
 during the time when the Chantries or private 
 chapels were in vogue, something of the kind was 
 necessary in order that the elevation of the host, 
 and other ceremonies conducted at the high altar, 
 might be witnessed and participated in by the 
 Chantry priests. Examples of these oblique 
 openings, or hagioscopes, are to be found in 
 nearly every county in England, but, notwith- 
 standing this, they are by no means common.
 
 HAGIOSCOPES. 179 
 
 It should here be mentioned that there are 
 a few instances in which the sight line of a 
 hagioscope is not directed towards the high altar, 
 but to some other part of the building. As an 
 example the church at Eastbourne may be cited, 
 where the opening in the south pier of the 
 chancel is directed towards the south aisle. This 
 is, however, most unusual, and it is assumed that 
 in such a case, the opening was made to overlook 
 the tomb of the founder of a Chantry, where Mass 
 was celebrated daily. This would enable any one 
 to participate in the ceremony, without of 
 necessity entering the private chapel. 
 
 Sometimes the openings are continued in a line 
 through more than one wall, as in Bridgwater 
 Church, Somerset, where an opening, now bricked 
 up, in the north porch, commands a hagioscope in 
 the north transept, through which the position 
 occupied by the high altar may be viewed. 
 
 At Tilebrook Church, Bedfordshire, the north 
 aisle is continued eastward, so as to form a 
 chapel, which contains a hagioscope and a 
 piscina combined, and at Minster Lovell Church, 
 Oxfordshire, there is a hagioscope in each tran- 
 sept, and another opening from the vestry. 
 
 Most of these hagioscopes are perfectly plain
 
 i8o CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 slits in the masonry, and are quite devoid of 
 ornament, as at Stepney Church, Middlesex, 
 but there are very occasionally to be seen 
 specimens of a more ornate description. At 
 Hadleigh Church, Essex, there are openings both 
 in the north and south piers of the chancel arch, 
 which are cinque-foiled in shape, and at Irthling- 
 borough Church, Northamptonshire, the head of 
 the opening is arched, cinque-foiled within, and 
 surmounted by an embattled moulding. 
 
 In modern times many of these hagioscopes 
 have been glazed at both ends, and thus tem- 
 porarily closed, and in some cases, they have 
 been permanently blocked up with masonry. 
 
 Where they still exist, they generally serve the 
 purpose of silent witnesses against a system of 
 architecture which has not yet succeeded in 
 devising a scheme whereby every worshipper 
 can see and participate in the most important 
 part of the services of the church.
 
 Some English Shrines. 
 
 BY THE REV. GEO. S. TYACK, B.A. 
 
 WHILE not questioning the fact that good 
 was wrought by that great upheaval 
 which is commonly called the Reformation, it is 
 impossible for the thinking man to close his eyes 
 to the excesses to which its leaders drifted, both 
 in thought and deed. It is not the province of a 
 volume such as this to discuss the strictly religious 
 results of that stormy time, but the artist and the 
 antiquary can hardly deplore too deeply the havoc 
 which it wrought in the domains most interesting 
 to them during the century or more that elapsed 
 between the beginning of the Reformation and 
 the end of the Commonwealth. Nothing that 
 was beautiful, nothing hallowed by the veneration 
 of the ages, seems to have been able to touch a 
 tender chord in the spoilers' souls ; and if much 
 that is both lovely and venerable has nevertheless 
 been spared to us, it is chiefly owing to good 
 fortune, or to the happy skill of our ancestors in 
 combining artistic beauty with almost impreg-
 
 1 82 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 nable strength. Thus, while our massive cathe- 
 drals remain to us, and our once glorious abbeys, 
 though disused as well as desecrated, still, after 
 three centuries of neglect, rear many a sightless 
 window and graceful tower to defy the winds, 
 the painted glass all aglow with inimitable colour, 
 the statues of saints and martyrs, and the tombs 
 and shrines of the great and the holy of old time, 
 these have been grievously mutilated, or swept 
 totally away. 
 
 The mediaeval Church loved to show her devo- 
 tion to the saintly dead by the erection of shrines 
 in their honour. Some of the most ornate 
 portions of our cathedrals were built specially to 
 receive them, and on the shrines themselves all 
 the resources of art were willingly lavished. 
 
 The shrine of St. Thomas a Becket at Canter- 
 bury needs only to be mentioned in illustration. 
 It was, we are told, " blazing with gold and 
 jewels, and embossed with innumerable pearls 
 and jewels and rings." But even this is reported 
 to have been surpassed in magnificence by the 
 tomb of St. Cuthbert of Durham, "of costly 
 green marble, all limned and gilt with gold." 
 
 Almost all our cathedrals contained the bones 
 of some local saint, whose last resting-place
 
 SOME ENGLISH SHRINES. 183 
 
 devotion and patriotism combined to honour and 
 adorn. Thus York cherished in its minster the 
 relics of St. William, archbishop (with an 
 interval), from 1143 to 1154; Lincoln, those of 
 St. Hugh, bishop from 1186 to 1203; and Here- 
 ford, those of St. Thomas (Thomas de Cantelupe), 
 whose arms still form the armorial bearings of the 
 see, bishop from 1275 to 1283. Oxford, Ely, 
 and Chester boasted the possession respectively 
 of the abbesses, St. Frideswide (died 735), St. 
 Etheldreda (died 697), and St. Werburgh (died 
 699). St. Wulfstan (1002-1016) reposed in his 
 cathedral at Worcester, St. Wilfrid (664-709) at 
 Ripon, St. Richard (1245-1253) at Chichester, 
 St. David (died 544) at St. David's, St. Swithun 
 (852-862) at Winchester, St. Osmond (1078- 
 1099) at Salisbury, and St. Paulinus, the com- 
 panion of St. Augustine (633-644), at Rochester, 
 all bishops of the sees in which they were after- 
 wards venerated. Rochester also raised a shrine 
 for St. William of Perth ; and of the English 
 kings, St. Oswald, the martyred sovereign of 
 Northumbria, was honoured at Worcester, and 
 St. Edward the Confessor at Westminster ; while 
 at Gloucester the unhappy Edward II. was 
 esteemed a saint and a martyr, and his body was
 
 1 84 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 preserved in a richly-carved shrine, which still 
 exists. Of all these, and of the many shrines of 
 minor interest, once standing in the cathedrals 
 and the great abbey churches of England, few 
 now remain ; and even the sacred contents of 
 most have disappeared. The shrine of the Con- 
 fessor, of course, is still to be seen at West- 
 minster ; the lower part, consisting of the actual 
 tomb of St. Thomas, is found at Hereford, and 
 portions of the shrine of St. Frideswide yet exist 
 at Oxford ; while the various fragments of that of 
 St. Alban have recently been discovered and 
 laboriously pieced together. Of several others 
 the bases alone remain, and in some few cases the 
 bodies were undisturbed at the destruction of 
 their shrines, or were re-interred after it. 
 Durham still boasts the relics of St. Cuthbert ; 
 Salisbury, those of St. Osmond ; Canterbury, 
 those of St. Alphege ; and Ripon perhaps those 
 of St. Wilfrid. 
 
 The history of these sacred repositories is very 
 similar in outline. It will be useful to follow in 
 some detail the fortunes of one, as an example of 
 all ; and for this purpose we turn to the shrine of 
 St. Hugh of Lincoln, as being in its time one of 
 the most famous in the country, yet to us of
 
 SOME ENGLISH SHRINES. 185 
 
 to-day not so well known as those of St. Thomas 
 of Canterbury or St. Edward the Confessor. 
 
 Hugh of Avalon, afterwards to be venerated 
 as St. Hugh of Lincoln, came to the throne of 
 that see in 1 1 86, and after a reign of seventeen 
 years, during which his gentle firmness and un- 
 flinching devotion to duty commanded both the 
 affection and respect of his contemporaries, from 
 the graceless King John to the meanest of his 
 people, he died in London in 1203. The body, 
 brought with all pious care to his cathedral city, 
 was buried in the chapel of St. John Baptist, near 
 the cloister door. 
 
 The name and fame of Hugh soon brought such 
 multitudes of devotees to visit his tomb, in hope 
 of some signal blessing for soul or body through 
 the intercession of so holy a man, that the little 
 chapel proved all too small for their convenience. 
 The walls were therefore carried out some fifty 
 feet further in length, and, at the same time, 
 the relics were translated to a more dignified 
 tomb in the centre of the chapel. 
 
 St. Hugh was formally canonized in 1220, and 
 from that time increased efforts were, made to pro- 
 vide for his remains a resting-place commensurate 
 with the esteem in which they were held. In
 
 i86 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 1256, a scheme far more ambitious than the mere 
 enlargement of a side chapel was begun. The 
 apse terminating the choir of the cathedral was 
 pulled down, and a new and noble addition was 
 commenced. This extension, known as the angel 
 choir, provided a worthy site for a splendid 
 shrine, and ample room for the many pilgrims. 
 This building was not itself complete, when, on 
 October 6th, 1280, the second and final transla- 
 tion of St. Hugh's relics took place amid a scene 
 of pomp probably never equalled in Lincoln. 
 
 It was usual, in erecting a shrine, to place it 
 immediately behind the reredos of the high 
 altar, and to so raise it as to make it visible 
 to the priest while saying Mass, the object being 
 to raise his thoughts, with his eyes, to the 
 example of the saint whose tomb stood before 
 him. So was placed the shrine of St. Cuthbert, at 
 Durham ; so, too, that of St. William, at York, and 
 many others ; and so, too, probably stood the 
 shrine of St. Hugh, at Lincoln. 
 
 The custom in Wales was an exception to this 
 rule, the favourite position being on the side of the 
 choir. St. David's shrine was on the north side in 
 his cathedral, and that of St. Teilo on the south 
 side at Llandaff.
 
 SOME ENGLISH SHRINES. 187 
 
 At Lincoln, on a lofty stone base was placed a 
 metal " here " or portable shrine, adorned with 
 jewels and the precious metals ; a grill of curiously 
 wrought ironwork was added later to protect it, 
 and a cover, inlaid with gold and silver figures, 
 surmounted all. Plates of beaten gold covered 
 the tomb, which was eight feet long and four feet 
 broad. 
 
 Although the body was thus removed to the 
 angel choir, the chapel of St. John Baptist was 
 not shorn entirely of its glories, for the head of St. 
 Hugh was replaced in it, and was presently pro- 
 vided with a gold reliquary of its own, beautifully 
 enamelled and jewelled. A mitre of silver gilt 
 accompanied the head, and rings set with 
 sapphires, beryls, and other stones, together with 
 old gold coins and branches of coral, adorned 
 either the sacred relic itself, or its case. A 
 chained copy of the life of St. Hugh stood some- 
 where near for the instruction of the visitors. 
 
 It was a usual thing for a church, having more 
 than one relic of a saint, or relics that had become 
 separated into parts, to distribute them in different 
 chapels in this way. At Chichester, the body, the 
 head, and the chalice of St. Richard had each its 
 proper place. At York, too, and at Lichfield, the
 
 i88 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 heads and bodies of St. William and of St. Chad 
 were severally provided for. 
 
 When so much treasure was lavished upon 
 relics, it will be obvious that great care had need 
 to be shown in guarding them. We are not sur- 
 prised, therefore, at finding quite a retinue of 
 keepers of various degrees employed about the 
 shrine. These consisted of two principal keepers, 
 with a day-keeper and two night-keepers, all of 
 whom had assistants. Besides these there was a 
 chaplain, with deacon, sub-deacon, and choristers. 
 
 Alms-boxes stood near the shrine, into which 
 the faithful pilgrims dropt their thank-offerings, 
 and the record of the opening of these twice 
 yearly at Whitsuntide, and at the feast of the 
 translation of St. Hugh (October 7th) has come 
 down to us fairly complete from 1339 to 1532. 
 The largest amount noted is ,37 145. 8d. in 1365. 
 In the fifteenth century it begins to show a per- 
 ceptible decline, and in the sixteenth it reaches 
 only five or six pounds a year. 
 
 From the money thus collected wax was pur- 
 chased, presumably for tapers to burn at the 
 shrine ; and the residue was divided amongst the 
 cathedral officials, clerical and lay, in sums varying 
 from 2os. for the actual guardians of the shrine,
 
 SOME ENGLISH SHRINES. 189 
 
 to 3d. each for the sacristy-clerk and the clerk of 
 the fabric, and i8d. to be divided amongst the 
 boys of the choir. Those employed about the 
 tomb had a special allowance from the fund for 
 wine. 
 
 It was not always, nor even frequently, that the 
 offerings at a shrine were thus distributed. More 
 commonly the fabric of the church, or some other 
 more general object, benefitted by the gifts of the 
 faithful. The alms-box at the shrine of St. 
 William of Perth, at Rochester, provided means 
 for erecting the east end of the cathedal ; and pil- 
 grims to the resting-place of St. Wilfrid gave no 
 small help towards building the cathedral at 
 Ripon. 
 
 It is not, perhaps, a difficult matter for an age 
 which has lost all faith in saints, and almost all 
 in the possibility of saintliness, to find ground for 
 scornful derision in the devotion of the men of 
 old, to the tombs of the hallowed dead ; but it is, 
 at least, open to question, whether such a method 
 of raising funds for religious purposes was not 
 quite as legitimate and consistent as the modern 
 fancy for the frivolity of a " Bazaar," or the 
 feebleness of an amateur concert. 
 
 In spite of all the guardians and clerks who
 
 1 9 o CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 watched the relics of St. Hugh, a sacrilegious theft 
 of the head was perpetrated in 1364. Monastic 
 chronicles are not wanting in stories of monks 
 who, for the honour of their own house, have 
 " conveyed" thither venerated relics found in the 
 churches of their neighbours ; but in this case it 
 was not the head of the saint, but the casket 
 containing it, that formed the temptation. A 
 speedy vengeance, however, dogged the sinners' 
 steps. Their ill-got wealth was in turn stolen 
 from them, and they were arrested, convicted, 
 and hanged ; while the head, miraculously pre- 
 served from harm, tradition tells, came into the 
 hands of the king, Edward III., who restored it 
 to Lincoln. 
 
 The next robbery of the shrine was more 
 successful, as it was more thorough. Along with 
 most other churches, containing anything of 
 value, Lincoln Minster was plundered by royal 
 warrant at the Reformation, and the shrine with 
 all its gold and jewels, vanished. Far into the 
 eighteenth century, the iron clamps which secured 
 some portion of it to the ground, remained to 
 mark the spot, but even those have now dis- 
 appeared. The body was long supposed to have 
 been re-buried in a grave within the retro-choir,
 
 SOME ENGLISH SHRINES. 191 
 
 and Bishop Fuller (1667-1675) erected a tomb 
 over the spot ; but recent investigation has shown 
 that if indeed the relics of St. Hugh were ever 
 laid there, they were again removed, let us hope 
 by pious hands. 
 
 Besides the splendid shrine of which we have 
 been speaking, Lincoln Cathedral had others of 
 less note. The body of St. John of Dalderby, 
 bishop from 1300 to 1320, lay in a shrine of 
 silver, and another was erected over the remains 
 of "little St. Hugh," the Christian child, said to 
 have been crucified by the Lincoln Jews. So, in 
 Ely also, three other holy abbesses shared the 
 honours of St. Ethelburga ; at Durham, the 
 Venerable Bede kept watch over the western 
 chapel, as did St. Cuthbert over the eastern one, 
 while Canterbury had the shrines of several 
 saintly archbishops, and others. 
 
 For the better guardianship of these hallowed 
 spots, a special chamber was often erected for the 
 caretakers. Those at St. Alban's, a handsome 
 structure of two storeys, and at Oxford yet 
 remain. In other cases with the need of the 
 watch the watching-chamber has gone. 
 
 Alas ! that in speaking of the English shrines, 
 one should have to speak always of what has been,
 
 i 9 2 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 or of the fragments, the shadows, the dry records 
 only, that remain to us. If the veneration of 
 centuries, if the glories of art, had no voice that 
 could be heard against the clamorous cupidity of 
 the despoiler, surely one might have hoped that 
 the presence of the holy dead would have availed 
 to arrest the royal tyrant and the puritan bigot 
 in their career of sacrilege and crime.
 
 Gbe Cburcb anfc Well of St. dbafc. 
 
 BY J. A. LANGFORD, LL.D. 
 
 A SHORT but pleasant walk from Lichfield 
 Cathedral, by the side of Stowe Pool, leads 
 to the ancient and famous Church and Well of St. 
 Chad. Both in history and legend they are 
 indissolubly united, and the church cannot be 
 mentioned without the well being recalled at the 
 same time. Their history is an important chapter 
 in the Church History of Staffordshire, and is a 
 very interesting record to all lovers of antiquity, 
 and who take a pride in tracing the course of their 
 country's progress and the life of her people. 
 The Church of St. Chad is the oldest, and in some 
 respects the most interesting, foundation in Lich- 
 field older than the Cathedral which, since its 
 formation to the present time, is, of course, one of 
 the most important, as it is one of the most beau- 
 tiful, buildings in the country. But the cathedral 
 is the outcome and owes its existence to the little 
 cell of the saint on the site of which is the present 
 
 church. Authorities differ somewhat as to the 
 
 13
 
 i94 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 exact dates, but the most generally received belief 
 is that the church goes back to 669, while the 
 cathedral was founded in 700 A.D. 
 
 The Venerable Bede gives a full account of St. 
 Chad in his " Ecclesiastical History." This has 
 been well summarised, so far as our subject is con- 
 cerned, by the Rev. T. Harwood, in his History 
 of Lichfield : " In 4669, St. Ceaddn, Ceddn, or 
 Chad, succeeded to the episcopal seat in this 
 place. He first retired to Lichfield for the pur- 
 pose of religious solitude, where he led (as legend 
 tells us), an eremitical life in a cell, by the side of 
 a spring, near the place upon which the church of 
 his name now stands, and supported himself upon 
 the milk of a doe. Here, attended by Ovin and a 
 few other pious men, he was accustomed to preach 
 and pray. The spot thus chosen by St. Chad for 
 his habitation was well adapted to inspire senti- 
 ments of devotion. It was in the midst of a wood, 
 and a little river ran by the side of it. The 
 church was small, according to the age in which it 
 was erected, and here St. Chad was buried." 
 Then he quotes from Dr. Stukeley, who wrote in 
 1756, " I have long ago taken drawings of St. 
 Chad's habitation, by the neighbouring church of 
 Lichfield, where Ovin heard the angels at St.
 
 CHURCH AND WELL OF ST. CHAD. 195 
 
 Chad's obituary. There is his well, and a little 
 monastery ; the habitation joins on the north-west 
 angle of the church." Leland, who visited Lich- 
 field about 1538, thus refers to the church and 
 well in his Itinerary : " Stowe Church, in the 
 easte end of the towne, where is St. Chad's well 
 a spring of pure water, where is seen a stone at 
 the bottom of it on the Kvhiche, some say, St. 
 Chadd was wont naked to stande in the water and 
 praye. At this stone St. Chad had his oratory in 
 the tyme Wulphar, King of the Merches." 
 
 In these early times, when England was being 
 converted to Christianity, preachers like St. Chad 
 always selected for their cells and habitations 
 places near to a stream, a spring, or a well, water 
 being necessary for the ceremony of baptism. 
 The natural consequences followed. Immediately 
 after, and often before, the death of the holy man, 
 miraculous power was ascribed to the waters of the 
 stream, or spring, or well. This was especially 
 the case with wells, as a large number of holy 
 wells in the county remain to testify. Hence 
 arose Well Worship, which was accompanied 
 with religious ceremonies, some of them very 
 beautiful, some quite innocent, and others neither 
 beautiful nor innocent. In addition to these cere-
 
 196 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 monies, each well was visited by large numbers of 
 pilgrims, especially by persons suffering from 
 any kind of disease, who sought relief and 
 health by drinking, or washing themselves in the 
 miraculous waters, whose health-bestowing 
 efficacy was never doubted. This well worship 
 was never approved by the church, and was 
 " strictly prohibited by the Anglican councils," 
 even in the earliest times. These prohibitions 
 had little effect, and were generally, if not univer- 
 sally, disregarded, so strong is the power of 
 custom when united with religious or with any 
 superstitious belief. 
 
 During the Puritan rule all such observances, 
 ceremonies, and customs were rigidly suppressed. 
 At the Restoration, however, the people returned 
 to their old use and wont ; and although 
 pilgrimages had ceased, and the religious senti- 
 ment which formerly accompanied these observ- 
 ances had very little influence, the custom of 
 adorning, and having processions in honour of the 
 well, was made the occasion for a general holiday. 
 In Staffordshire the day selected for this purpose 
 was Holy Thursday. In his natural history of 
 the county, Dr. Plot says : "They have a custom 
 in this county of adorning their wells on Holy
 
 CHURCH AND WELL OF ST. CHAD. 197 
 
 Thursday with boughs and flowers. This, it 
 seems, they do in all gospel places, whether wells, 
 trees, or hills, which, being now observed only for 
 decency and custom sake, is innocent enough. 
 Heretofore it was usual to pay this respect to 
 such wells as were eminent for curing distempers 
 on the saint's day whose name the well bore ; 
 diverting themselves with cakes and ale, and a 
 little music and dancing, which, whilst within 
 these bounds, was also an innocent recreation." 
 Most readers will recall the lines in " Comus," in 
 which Milton sings the old honours paid to the 
 Severn : 
 
 " The shepherds at these festivals 
 Carol her good deeds in rustic lays, 
 And throw sweet garland wreaths into her stream 
 Of pansies, pinks, and gaudy daffodils." 
 
 The custom was carried out at St. Chad's Well 
 in the olden time with much ceremony. From 
 various sources, from bits taken from one writer 
 and bits from another, we are enabled to form 
 a rather clear idea, and to present a rather com- 
 plete picture of this now curious old Church 
 custom. Early on the morning of Holy Thurs- 
 day, the citizens would be busily employed in 
 dressing" the well to make it beautiful for the 
 
 o
 
 198 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 coming festival. This was done by decorating 
 it with wreaths and garlands of freshly-gathered 
 flowers, interspersed with slips from shrubs and 
 branches from the newly-budding trees. The 
 flowers were arranged in such devices as the 
 fancy or taste of the men and women engaged in 
 the work suggested. Here differently-shaped 
 boards were used, which were covered with moist 
 clay in which they placed the stems of the 
 flowers arranged in diverse patterns, which it is 
 stated made a very beautiful sight, the damp clay, 
 of course, preserving their freshness. These were 
 so suspended about the well that the flowing 
 water seemed to come between beds of flowers. 
 This labour of love finished, the workers put on 
 their holiday clothes ready for the next part of 
 the day's proceedings. 
 
 In olden times a service was held in the church ; 
 after which the people, with all the children 
 arrayed in their Sunday best, and carrying 
 flowers, formed in procession, and marched to the 
 well. Then the clergyman read the psalms, 
 epistle, and gospel for the day ; and this portion 
 of the festival was concluded by the church choir 
 and people singing a hymn ; the singing was 
 accompanied by music. The remainder of the
 
 CHURCH AND WELL OF ST. CHAD. 199 
 
 day was spent in rustic sports, in dancing, and 
 in other harmless and innocent modes of recreation. 
 In this manner a religious ceremony was com- 
 bined with secular festivity. Similar observances, 
 with local variations, were observed at nearly all 
 holy wells ; but the midland counties were 
 especially distinguished by the number of such 
 places, and by the thoroughness with which the 
 people celebrated the day. 
 
 The ceremony is still observed at St. Chad's 
 Well, but it is sadly shorn of its ancient glory, 
 and robbed of its ancient significance. Writing 
 early in the present century, the Rev. Mr. 
 Nightingale says, " Even at this day, it is cus- 
 tomary for the clergyman and churchwardens, and 
 a great concourse of children, to visit this well on 
 Holy Thursday (Ascension Pay), when it is 
 adorned with boughs and flowers, and the gospel 
 for the day is read." This description, with slight 
 alterations, will fairly describe the ceremony at 
 present performed. On Holy Thursday, the 
 choristers of the cathedral " walk in procession to 
 the well, carrying green boughs, and sing the 
 old looth Psalm, and the Priest Vicar reads the 
 Holy Gospel for that day." 
 
 The holiday, the procession, the loving labour of
 
 200 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 decorating the well, and the festivities, the sports, 
 and the general rejoicings of the olden time have 
 ceased and passed away, never likely to be again 
 restored. It is useless to preserve a form, when 
 the spirit which gave it vitality is dead. Still we are 
 pleased that even this rather poor survival of an 
 old custom remains, to call attention to the things 
 which delighted and made glad the hearts of our 
 forefathers, in the dim and distant past. Such 
 reflections are not without their happy effects on 
 the minds in which they arise. It is a pity to 
 lose any of the old customs which added to the 
 harmless pleasures of life, and gave a touch of 
 poetry to the otherwise prosaic intercourse of 
 daily existence. At such times, when thus recall- 
 ing the days that are no more, and for a little 
 time living in the past, we sympathize with 
 nature's great poet, and exclaim with Words- 
 worth : 
 
 " Would that our scrupulous sires had dared to leave 
 Less scanty measure of those graceful rites 
 And usages, whose due return invites 
 A stir of mind too natural to deceive ; 
 Giving to Memory help when she would weave 
 A crown for Hope ! "
 
 Burials in TKBoollen. 
 
 BY WILLIAM ANDREWS, F.R.H.S. 
 
 \ SINGULAR sumptuary law was passed in 
 ** 1666 to enforce burials in woollen. The 
 Act was devised by Parliament professedly for the 
 encouragement of woollen manufactures, and pre- 
 vention of the exportation of moneys for the 
 buying and importing linen. It is to be feared 
 that it was really the outcome of a selfish spirit of 
 protection, similar to that shewn in the Act which 
 prohibited the importation of cattle bred in 
 Ireland and fish caught by foreigners. 
 
 After March 25th, 1667, the Act directed that 
 no person should " be buried in any shirt, or 
 sheet, other than should be made of wooll onely." 
 The Act even prohibited the use of linen for 
 quilling round the inside of the cofHn, and the 
 ligature round the feet of the corpse ; both were to 
 be of woollen. A custom which was more ancient 
 than Christianity was hard to put aside. The 
 practice of wrapping the dead in linen is of great 
 antiquity. It is not surprising to learn that the
 
 202 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Act was almost a dead letter. The fines were 
 seldom enforced, for reliable information could 
 not be easily obtained, and could only as a rule be 
 given by the parties most interested in concealing 
 the transgression. 
 
 A more stringent Act was passed in 1678. The 
 first Act consisted of two clauses only, and the 
 second Act recites these, and includes a number 
 of clauses. The Act says that it is intended for 
 the "lessening the importation of linen from 
 beyond the seas and the encouragement of the 
 woollen and paper manufacturers of this kingdom." 
 
 In the second section of this Act it is stated 
 " Noe Corpse of any person or persons shall be 
 buried in any Shirt, Shift, Sheete, or Shroud, or 
 any thing whatsoever made or mingled with Flax, 
 Hempe, Silke, Haire, Gold or Silver, or any 
 stuffe or thing other than what is made of Sheep's 
 Wooll onely, or be put in any coffin lined or faced 
 with any sort of Cloath or Stuffe or any thing 
 whatsoever that is made of any Materiall but 
 Sheep's Wooll onely, upon paine of the forfeiture 
 of five pounds of lawfull money of England," etc. 
 
 Another section enacted that the clergy were to 
 keep a register of burials, and in it to record 
 affidavits that had previously been made before a
 
 BURIALS IN WOOLLEN. 203 
 
 justice of peace for the county, or other person 
 authorised by the Act. 
 
 When the Act was broken, half the penalty went 
 to the poor of the parish and the other half to the 
 informer. Usually, by arrangement, a servant of 
 the household, or someone whom the family 
 desired to receive the benefit, laid information. 
 
 The Act provided that persons dying of the 
 plague might be buried without a penalty being 
 incurred, even if linen were used. 
 
 In section nine it was directed that " this Act 
 shall be publiquely read upon the first Sunday 
 after the Feast of St. Bartholomew every yeare 
 for seaven yeares next following, presently after 
 Divine Service." 
 
 Dr. T. N. Brushfield, in his paper on " The 
 Church of All Saints, East Budleigh," read at a 
 meeting of the Devonshire Association for the 
 Advancement of Science, Literature, and Art, at 
 Plymouth, July, 1892, has an interesting note on 
 burials in woollen. " The earliest allusion to this 
 subject at East Budleigh," writes Dr. Brushfield, 
 " in our parish accounts are as follow : 
 
 1678-9. For Act for Buring in Wooling ... co oo 08 
 For a Register Book for Burying 
 
 in Woollen oo 01 oo"
 
 204 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Copies of the Register were sent to the 
 Sessions, e.g. : 
 
 " 1688-9. P d f r a transcript for y e burying 
 in woollen only w ch was putt 
 in att the Sessions ... ... oo 01 oo 
 
 1689-90. p d for a transcript for those 
 
 buried in woollen ... ... oo 01 oo" 
 
 At the conclusion of the burial service it was 
 customary for the parish clerk to call out, " Who 
 makes the affidavit ? " A chief relation came 
 forward and took the necessary oath, and this was 
 duly noted in the register. 
 
 The following is a common form of an 
 affidavit : 
 
 " Elizabeth Bryant^ of the parish of Radmill, in the 
 county of Sussex, maketh oath that Elizabeth Ford, of 
 the parish of Radmill, in the county of Sussex, lately 
 deceased, was not put in, wrapt up, or wound up, or 
 buried in any shirt, shift, sheet, or shroud, made or mingled 
 with flax, hemp, silk, hair, gold or silver, or any other than 
 what is made of sheep's wool only ; nor in any coffin 
 lined or faced with any cloth, stuff, or any other thing 
 whatsoever made or mingled with flax, hemp, silk, hair, 
 gold, or silver, or any other material contrary to the Act 
 of Parliament for burying in woollen, but sheep's wool 
 only. Dated the 16 day of Jan., 1724." 
 
 It will not be without interest to show the 
 manner of recording the affidavits in the parish 
 books. The first is from Newburn-on-Tyne :
 
 BURIALS IN WOOLLEN. 205 
 
 "1687, 18 Aug. Cuthbert Longridge was buried in 
 woollen, as by a certificate dated 24 Aug., 1687." 
 
 An entry from Lamesley, county of Durham, is 
 to the effect : 
 
 " 1678. Anne Marley wrapped in sheep's skin, bur." 
 From Woolvercot, Oxon., is the following- : 
 
 "1693, August 17. Catherine, dau. of Sir William 
 Juxon, buried in woollen. Affidavit." 
 
 Records of no affidavits are by no means un- 
 common, and we give as illustrations particulars 
 of two. The first is drawn from the register of 
 St. Mary-le-Bow, Durham : 
 
 " Christopher Bell, Gent., was lapped in linen contrary 
 to the late Act, Dec., 1678." 
 
 The next example is from the Gainsborough, 
 Lincolnshire, burial register : 
 
 "6th Sept., 1703. Buried Thomas Day Batchellor. 
 No Affidavit." 
 
 In 1730 was interred, in Westminster Abbey, 
 Mrs. Ann Oldfield, a celebrated actress. She 
 gave her maid, Mrs. Elizabeth Saunders, also a 
 clever actress, instructions respecting the manner 
 she desired to be dressed when dead. She 
 wished to wear "a very fine Brussels' lace head- 
 dress, a holland shift with a tucker, and double
 
 206 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 ruffles of the same lace, and a pair of new kid 
 gloves, and was then wrapped in a winding-sheet 
 of linen." Pope, in his " Moral Essays," thus 
 refers to Mrs. Oldfield : 
 
 " Odious ! in woollen ! 'twould a saint provoke, 
 Were the last words that poor Narcessa spoke : 
 No, let a charming chintz and Brussels' lace 
 Wrap my cold limbs, and shade my lifeless face ; 
 One would not, sure, be frightful when one's dead : 
 And, Betty, give the cheek a little red." 
 
 The parish book of St. John the Baptist, Chester, 
 contains a quaint entry bearing on this subject 
 well worth reproducing : 
 
 " 1689. The Churchwardens paid, by request of 
 Widow Gardener, to four poore widdows of her daughter's 
 acquaintance, her daughter being buried in Linen, 
 
 02 10 oo." 
 
 Some curious information is contained in a 
 book published in London in 1719, under the 
 title of " M. Misson's Memoirs and Observations 
 in his Travels over England, etc., disposed in 
 Alphabetical Order, written originally in French, 
 and translated by Mr. Ozell." The work made 
 its first appearance in 1698, and was published at 
 the Hague. The manners and customs of our 
 countrymen are fully noticed, and usually in an 
 entertaining style. When Sir Henry Ellis was
 
 BURIALS IN WOOLLEN. 207 
 
 preparing a new edition of Brand's " Popular 
 Antiquities," he frequently drew upon Misson's 
 Travels for information to illustrate his work. 
 We find in his volume a curious account of the 
 custom of burying in woollen. " There is an 
 Act of Parliament," says Misson, " which ordains 
 that the dead shall be buried in a woollen stuff which 
 is a kind of thin bays, which they call flannel ; 
 nor is it lawful to use the least needleful of 
 thread or silk. (The intention of this Act is for 
 the encouragement of the woollen manufacture.) 
 This shift is always white ; but there are different 
 sorts of it as to fineness, and consequently 
 different prices. To make these dresses is a 
 particular trade, and there are many that sell 
 nothing else." We are told that a man's shirt 
 ' 'has commonly a sleeve purfled about the wrists, 
 and the slit of the shirt done in the same manner. 
 This should be at least half-a-foot longer than the 
 body, that the feet of the deceased may be 
 wrapped in it as in a bag. Upon the head they 
 put a cap, which they fasten with a very broad 
 chin-cloth, with gloves on the hands, and a cravat 
 round the neck, all of woollen. The women 
 have a kind of head-dress with a forehead cloth. 
 . . ." He also states "That the body may ly
 
 208 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 the softer, some put a lay of bran about four 
 inches thick at the bottom of the coffin. The 
 coffin is sometimes very magnificent. The body- 
 is visited to see that it is buried in flannel, and 
 that nothing is sewed with thread. They let it 
 lye three or four days." 
 
 The law of burying in woollen was introduced 
 into Ireland in 1733, but the Irish Government, 
 it is recorded, seldom enforced it. The Act was 
 not repealed in England until 1814, but long 
 before that period it had fallen into disuse.
 
 Ibearse : 
 
 HOW A WORD HAS CHANGED ITS MEANING. 
 BY EDWARD PEACOCK, F.S.A. 
 
 ALL serious students of our mother tongue 
 owe a deep debt of gratitude to the late 
 Archbishop Trench for directing attention to the 
 fact that words are things, and have a history of 
 their own. We do not, of course, mean to imply 
 that he was the first person to make the discovery, 
 or even to point it out to English readers. Not to 
 mention the great continental scholars with whose 
 labours on Latin and Greek we have at present no 
 concern, there are traces, faint though they be, 
 that Sir Thomas Browne, on this as on many 
 other matters, held ideas in suspension in his 
 mind, though they were never formulated, which 
 have a strikingly modern aspect. We are, how- 
 ever, indebted to a fierce political partizan John 
 Horne Tooke for first compelling Englishmen 
 to give attention to the history of the words they 
 use. His Diversions of Purley, to which Dr. 
 
 Trench made such graceful reference in the pre- 
 14
 
 210 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 face to his Lectures on tke Study of Words, was 
 it seems the first work which attracted notice to 
 a class of facts which had hitherto been almost 
 completely neglected. It appeared upwards of 
 fifty years before the Archbishop's book saw the 
 light, during the crash and turmoil of the French 
 Revolution (1798-1805), a time most unpro- 
 pitious for thoughtful literature. Abounding as 
 it does, not only in shortcomings, but in absolute 
 errors, the Archbishop was unquestionably correct 
 in saying, at the time he wrote, though it would 
 be very far from being the case now, that his 
 first acquaintance with that remarkable book had 
 been " an epoch in many a student's intellectual 
 life." 
 
 Another forerunner of the philology of our own 
 day must not be passed by without some mention. 
 Walter Whiter was a learned man, by no means 
 without intellectual power ; but he held radically 
 wrong notions regarding those great laws or 
 forces which lie at the foundation of all rational 
 speech. His Etymologicon Universale, or 
 Universal Etymological Dictionary (1811-1825), 
 was not only dipped into but widely read, and 
 the very absurdity of some of the author's 
 assumptions stimulated thought. Still, when all
 
 HEARSE. 211 
 
 this has been allowed for, we cannot but acknow- 
 ledge that much of the earnest spirit of enquiry 
 regarding not only the words of our own 
 literary language, but also of the folk-speech 
 which still, we are happy to say, flourishes every- 
 where around us, is due to the memorable lectures 
 delivered by Trench to the pupils of Winchester 
 Training School, some forty-four years ago. The 
 New English Dictionary, which some of us think 
 the greatest literary work of the Victorian era, has 
 resulted from the combination of many causes, but 
 there cannot be a question that many of the 
 workers who have served and are serving under 
 the leadership of Dr. Murray, received their 
 first impulse towards a study of words from the 
 writing of Dr. Trench. 
 
 That the New English Dictionary is an im- 
 mense advance on all that has gone before it, 
 is admitted by everyone ; we doubt, however, 
 whether the historical treatment words receive 
 therein is generally appreciated as it deserves. 
 To us this is by far the most important part of 
 the work. It has, however, been found impos- 
 sible to treat even the most important words with 
 the fulness that they deserve, when looked upon 
 as units in the great structure of English speech.
 
 212 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 As time goes on we do not doubt that many of 
 the words calendared in Dr. Murray's great work 
 will be dealt with separately. We propose, so 
 far as space will allow, to do so with one familiar 
 term. It is no fitter for our purpose than 
 hundreds of others which might have been 
 pitched upon, but its curious history and strange 
 changes of meaning are of much interest to our- 
 selves, and cannot, as we believe, fail to stimulate 
 the imagination of such of our readers as do not 
 happen to be already in possession of the facts 
 which we are about to lay before them. 
 
 The word HEARSE or HERSE, for both forms 
 are recognized by those who are authorities on 
 the subject of spelling, has for modern people, 
 who have not devoted themselves to word-studies, 
 but one meaning. When they hear it, the mind- 
 picture produced is that of a funeral car, with its 
 black trappings and nodding plumes, in which the 
 bodies of the dead are borne to burial. If they 
 have visited Northern Germany or the Nether- 
 lands, they may perhaps add to this mental sketch 
 the white skulls and cross-bones painted on the 
 panels, and a driver clad in a long black cloak, 
 with a quilted frill round his neck, such as we see 
 represented in pictures of men who were old, or
 
 HEARSE. 213 
 
 at least middle-aged, when James the First was 
 king. 
 
 HEARSE may, like by far the greater number of 
 words we use, be traced back to an Aryan root. 
 We shall not, however, go further backwards up 
 the stream of time, on the present occasion, than 
 to the days of the Romans. 
 
 The most remote ancestor we shall claim for our 
 word on the present occasion is Hirpex, the Latin 
 term for a harrow or rake. This word Hirpcx, 
 though not identical, was, it is evident, near of 
 kin to Ericius or Hericius, a hedgehog, a term 
 which got to be employed metaphorically by 
 writers on the art of war to indicate a military 
 engine of the nature of a portcullis. In the Com- 
 mentaries of Caesar we have " erat objectus portis 
 ericius," * and Sallust says " eminebant in modum 
 ericti militaris veruta binum pedum." t 
 
 We have no clear notion of what was the exact 
 form of the Roman Hirpex, but until quite recent 
 days, when a great change has taken place, there 
 is nothing in which mankind has been more con- 
 servative than in the shapes of agricultural imple- 
 ments. We shall therefore probably not stray far 
 from the truth if we take it for granted that the 
 
 * De Bell. Civ. iii. 67. t Fragm. Lib. iii.
 
 214 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 harrows, of which there are a few representations 
 in mediaeval illuminations, represent not inaccu- 
 rately the Hirpex of the ancients. 
 
 The science of blazonry, too, comes to our aid. 
 An old English family of the surname of Harrow- 
 had for its arms three harrows joined together by 
 what the heralds called a wreath, but what is in 
 fact the ring, chain, or rope, by which it was 
 the custom to join them together in triplets. An 
 engraving of this shield is given in John Guillim's 
 Display of Heraldry.* They are represented as 
 triangular objects, having three bars running 
 across, into which the tynes or teeth are fixed. 
 
 The word HEARSE was occasionally used to 
 indicate the farmer's harrow. Lord Berners, in 
 his admirable translation of Froissart's Chronicles, 
 published in 1523, says of a certain battle that 
 "The archers . . . stode in manner of a herse, 
 and the men of armes at the bottom of the 
 bataile." t The first ecclesiastical use of the word 
 is probably due to France, but, if so, it was soon 
 imported into this country. It signifies a triangular 
 frame of wood, which was suspended by a cord 
 or chain from the roof of the Church. In form it 
 would seem to have been just like a harrow, but 
 
 * 5th edit., 1679, p. 214. t Vol I., ch. cxxx., p. 156.
 
 HEARSE. 215 
 
 at the points where the bars crossed each other 
 there were sockets in which to put candles. 
 These hearses soon gave way, except, perhaps, in 
 poor churches, to chandeliers of metal, but the 
 hearse only changed its place. It was taken down 
 from above-head, mounted on a stand or post, and 
 used in the service of Tenebrae. Then it usuallv 
 
 * 
 
 held twenty-four lights, but the custom was by no 
 means everywhere the same. Sometimes this 
 hearse was constructed to carry fourteen yellow 
 candles, with one of white wax in the centre. 
 The yellow candles symbolized the eleven faithful 
 apostles and the three Marys, the white candle in 
 the middle representing our Blessed Lord. In the 
 Tenebrae services of mediaeval England fourteen 
 psalms were said. As each one was ended a 
 candle was put out. When the time arrived that 
 the white taper alone remained burning, it was 
 concealed behind or near the altar, so as to leave 
 the church in darkness. 
 
 When the people had got accustomed to connect 
 the word hearse with a frame for holding candles, 
 it required but a short step to arrive at a new 
 meaning. Prayers for the dead were the 
 universal custom throughout the mediaeval 
 Church. When a corpse was brought to
 
 216 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 church for burial it was placed near to, 
 or at least in sight of, the altar. Over 
 the body, which was usually without a coffin, 
 except in the case of persons of high position, a 
 light frame-work of wood was placed, on which 
 the pall was spread. These frames were a regular 
 part of the church's furniture ; at the corners, and 
 sometimes on the ridge also, there were sockets for 
 candles. To these frames the word hearse was 
 soon applied. They occur frequently in ecclesi- 
 astical inventories. In the early part of the reign 
 of Elizabeth we find mention of them in several 
 Lincolnshire churches, e.g., Alkborough, Newton, 
 and Ripingale.* Of these hearses, not a single 
 example is known to have come down to our time. 
 Their fragile nature would render them peculiarly 
 liable to destruction, and they had become mere 
 lumber when prayers for the dead were no longer 
 used by the Established Church. Occasionally, 
 however, these wooden hearses were copied in 
 metal, and made permanent parts of the tombs of 
 persons whose last resting-place was in the 
 Church. A few examples of hearses of this kind 
 have survived the storms of upwards of three 
 hundred years. A very graceful hearse of this 
 
 * Peacock, Engl. Church Furniture, pp. 36, 118, 127.
 
 HEARSE. 217 
 
 sort still canopies the tomb of one of the Marmions 
 in the Church of Tanfield, near Ripon. It has 
 attached to it sconces for holding seven candles, 
 two on each side, and three on the ridge. A 
 portion of another of singularly beautiful design, 
 which was long ago cast out of the church of 
 Snarford in Lincolnshire, is now in the South 
 Kensington Museum. The effigy of Richard, 
 Earl of Warwick, who died in 1439, possesses a 
 hearse of this kind. It is smaller than those we 
 have already mentioned, but is made of brass, or 
 rather of that mixed metal our forefathers called 
 latten. The contract for making it still exists, and 
 it is noteworthy that it is therein spoken of as a 
 hearse,* shewing that before the middle of the 
 fifteenth century, hearse had become the re- 
 cognised term. 
 
 The next step in the progress of word-growth 
 was to apply the term hearse to a temporary 
 canopy of timber, decorated with a profusion of 
 tapers, and draped with hangings and banners 
 bearing heraldic and religious ornaments. This 
 was placed over the body while the funeral rites 
 were being performed. It has been known in 
 every country of Western Europe, but England 
 
 * Parker, Gloss, of Architecture, ed. 1850, vol. I, p. 250.
 
 218 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 is, so far as we know, the country wherein it was 
 called a hearse. Chapelle ardente is the ordinary 
 French term. We find Catafalco in Italian, and 
 Castrum doloris in the Latin of the Church. 
 When the bodies had to be carried a long 
 distance, it was the custom in the case of rich 
 families to erect one of these hearses in every 
 church where it rested for the night. Minute 
 accounts of several of these have come down to 
 us, showing that they were sumptuously decorated. 
 They were, however, we may be sure, never in 
 common use. Chaucer knew these hearses well ; 
 as he spent much of his life in court society he 
 must have seen several of them. In his Dream 
 he has given a description of the prayers which 
 were offered up around them : 
 
 " And after that about the herses, 
 Many orisons and verses, 
 Without note full softly 
 Said, were, and that full heartily, 
 That all the night, till it was day, 
 The people in the church can pray, 
 Unto the Holy Trinity, 
 On those soules to have pity." 
 
 Though public prayers for the dead were 
 abolished when the new ritual came into force, 
 yet the use of these sumptuous hearses was long
 
 HEARSE. 219 
 
 retained. They seem to have been employed as 
 a mark of social dignity, and as a means of 
 heraldic display. In 1589, a violent Puritan 
 satire against the then existing order of things in 
 Church and State was issued from a secret press, 
 bearing the strange title of Pappe with a Hatchet, 
 wherein the following passage occurs : 
 
 " Now you put me in minde of the matter, there is a 
 booke coming out of a hundred merrie tales, and the 
 petigree of Matin, fetchte from the burning of Sodome ; 
 his armes shall be set on his hearse, for we are providing 
 for his funeral." * 
 
 In William Habingdon's Castara, we find the 
 lines : 
 
 " Lily, Rose, and Violet, 
 Shall the perfumed hearse beset," 
 
 which shows that flowers were sometimes used as 
 a means of decoration. Love knots, too, had a 
 place there. Dryden makes one of his charac- 
 ters say : 
 
 " And maidens when I die 
 
 Upon my hearse white true-love-knots should lie ; 
 And thus my tomb should be inscribed above, 
 Here the forsaken virgin rests from love." * 
 
 That these stationary hearses were well known 
 to everyone in the middle of the seventeenth 
 
 * Ed., 1844, p. 17. * Marriage-a-la-mode, Act II., Sc. I
 
 220 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 century is proved by the title of the sermon 
 preached by Richard Vines on the death of the 
 Earl of Essex, the Parliamentary general at the 
 beginning of the great Civil War. It runs 
 thus : 
 
 " The Hearse of the Renowned and Right Honourable 
 Robert, Earl of Essex, and sometime Captain-General of 
 the Armies raised for the Defence of Kinge and Parlia- 
 ment, as represented in his Funerall Sermon, preached at 
 Westminster, 1646." 
 
 That stationary hearses were in use at the 
 funerals of the upper classes, so late as 1681, is 
 made evident by a passage in a sermon preached 
 by Nathaniel Resburg, in that year, at the burial 
 of Sir Alan Broderick. The preacher told his 
 hearers that the dead knight had made provision 
 in his will, "that his herse should by no means 
 be garnish'd with the usual ornaments of a family, 
 and no escutcheon should either there or else- 
 where appear.* 
 
 The funeral car or chariot, to which we now 
 give the name of hearse, to the exclusion of the 
 older meanings, originally differed but very little 
 from these stationary hearses, except that it was 
 upon wheels, and the necessities of locomotion 
 
 . Page 1 8.
 
 HEARSE. 221 
 
 required it to be smaller. We are not aware that 
 there is any evidence that these wheeled hearses 
 were in use in earlier days. There is no reason 
 why they should not have been, but it is probable 
 that the bodies of all but the very great, if they 
 had far to travel, would be conveyed in an 
 ordinary waggon. * 
 
 The body of Colonel Rainborowe, the Parlia- 
 mentarian officer, who was so basely murdered 
 at Doncaster, on the 29th of October, 1648, by 
 desperadoes from the Royalist Garrison, in Ponte- 
 fract Castle, t seems to have been conveyed from 
 the place where he fell to Wapping, then a village 
 in the outskirts of London, in a hearse. 
 
 Milton, in his " Epitaph on the Marchioness of 
 Winchester," when he introduces the word, implies 
 a movable structure. 
 
 " Gentle lady, may thy grave 
 Peace and quiet ever have ; 
 After this thy travel sore, 
 Sweet rest seize thee evermore. 
 
 * In Lincolnshire, and we imagine elsewhere, it is frequent for waggons 
 to be used for funereal purposes, by those families which are practically 
 connected with the cultivation of the land, and so possess them of 
 their own. 
 
 t A Memoir of this brave soldier, and upright gentleman, containing 
 many of his letters, has been compiled by the present writer, and appeals 
 in the Archxologia, vol. xlvi.
 
 222 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 " Here he tears of perfect moan 
 Wept for thee in Helicon, 
 And some flowers and some bays 
 For thy herse to strew the ways." 
 
 Anthony Walker, a clergyman of the Established 
 Church, preaching in 1673, said that " more friends 
 attend an hearse to the towne-end than will drive 
 through with it the whole journey ; " * and in 
 1690, they had become one of the necessities of 
 civilization, for we find in that year an advertise- 
 ment in The London Gazette, offering them for 
 hire. 
 
 We have accomplished our task by furnishing 
 our readers with a sketch of the evolution of the 
 word Hearse through many centuries, until its 
 meaning has become settled as we now know it. 
 We must not conclude, however, without directing 
 attention to what we consider no legitimate de- 
 velopment, but a disease of language. We mean 
 the habit, not uncommon in the seventeenth 
 century, of using hearse in the sense of a dead 
 body. Thomas Hey wood, in his Brytaines Troy, 
 1609, says : 
 
 " Now grew the battell hot, bold Archas pierces, 
 Thrugh the mid-hoast and strewes the way with Herses."f 
 
 Many similar examples of this perversion, as we 
 
 * Lees Lacrymans, p. 10. t Canto 3, st. 86, fol. 72,
 
 HEARSE. 223 
 
 regard it, might be produced, but no good end 
 would be served by quoting them. 
 
 A dialectic use of the word hearse must not pass 
 unnoticed. A writer in The Gentleman s Magazine 
 for the year 1861, says that herse signifies a 
 " crib of wattles," used to protect the banks of the 
 Severn against the encroachments of the tide. * 
 We have never seen one of these objects, but 
 conjecture that they are, or have been, originally 
 made in the form of a harrows. 
 
 * Gent. Mag. Lib. Eng., Topog. pt. iv. , p. 217.
 
 Ibcart Burials of English persons. 
 
 BY EMILY SOPHIA HARTSHORNE. 
 
 A NTIQUARIES regret, as time proceeds, 
 ^~1- the loss of many of those varied relics 
 which gladden their heart, and but for tradition, 
 ancient chronicles, and county histories, we should 
 be left very much in ignorance of the days of old. 
 So those who love the past, and follow step by 
 step the progress of civilization and new customs, 
 must rejoice that some memories are retained of 
 those who are gone, and whose deeds live to 
 record their actions and their honoured names. 
 Our subject, however, only refers to a special 
 object : that of heart burial in England, or with 
 reference to English people, who have signified 
 their wish that this portion of their mortal frame 
 should receive sepulture apart from the body 
 As this was easy to transport, it was considered a 
 safe and certain means of having the heart maybe 
 one which had known many cares and sorrows 
 transmitted to the place where affection 
 dictated, and where it would be regarded with
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. 225 
 
 reverence and love, and where human tears could 
 be shed over the casket 
 or urn, or in whatever 
 form the heart was 
 
 HEART AND FORGET-ME-NOTS, 
 LINCOLN CATHEDRAL. 
 
 By the Crusaders this custom appears to 
 have been instituted, as we learn that from the 
 Holy Land the earliest instances are recorded, 
 both by these precious relics being taken back to 
 the native country, or of being deposited in 
 Palestine's sanctified soil, 
 
 " The brave who sleep in soil of thine, 
 Die not entomb'd, but shrined, O Palestine." 
 
 Amongst the earliest instances of heart burials, 
 (we refer to the twelfth century), we read of 
 Stephen, Earl of Brittany and Richmond, who 
 commanded the rear of the conqueror's army at 
 Hastings. He was a man of peace, a lover of 
 the poor, and an honourer of religion. He died 
 in 1104, and directed that his heart should be 
 placed in the Abbey of St. Martin's at York, to 
 which he had been a great benefactor. In 1118, 
 Robert de Mellent, Earl of Leicester, desired that 
 his heart should be placed in a stone depository 
 at Brackley, in Northamptonshire (where he had 
 
 founded a hospital), and kept in salt. The 
 
 15
 
 226 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Bishop of Winchester, who died in 1129, directed 
 that his heart should be placed in a stone deposi- 
 tory, in two leaden dishes, where it was found at 
 Waverley Abbey, undecayed and preserved with 
 spices. In the same year Edith, wife of Robert 
 D'Oiley, who had previously founded a Priory of 
 Canons Augustines at Oxford, caused her heart to 
 be there interred, and she is represented upon her 
 tomb holding it in her hand. 
 
 William, third Earl of Warren, who fought 
 against the Turks in the second crusade in the 
 Holy Land, where he was slain, caused his heart 
 to be transmitted to England, and deposited in 
 Lewis Priory. 
 
 William Mandeville, Earl of Essex, who died 
 at Gisors, 1190, desired that his body should be 
 conveyed to England. Being told that the 
 difficulty of the passage was such that it could 
 not be done, he replied, " If you cannot, it is 
 because you have no mind to do what I, a dying 
 man, desire ; then take my heart and carry it 
 thither." Accordingly, it was buried in the 
 Chapter House at Walden in Essex. 
 
 William de Longo-Campa, Bishop of Ely, 
 caused his heart to be brought from Poictiers, 
 where he died, and deposited in his cathedral.
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. 227 
 
 This brings us to the end of the twelfth 
 century, and amongst the earliest records in the 
 following one, we find that King John, who 
 died in 1216, had directed that his heart should 
 be buried at the Cistercian Abbey of Crokesden in 
 Staffordshire. The heart of another Earl of Essex 
 (1228) was sent by his 
 Countess to the Chapter 
 House at Walden. 
 Margaret, wife of the 
 Earl of Winchester, who 
 had great affection for 
 Brackley, directed that 
 her heart should be there 
 enshrined within St. 
 John's Hospital. The 
 heart of William, third 
 Earl of Albini, who built '. 
 Belvoir Castle, had sep- L 
 ulture there, and that of 
 his son William, the fourth Earl, subsequently at 
 the same place. Richard Poore, Bishop of 
 Durham, one of King John's executors, was buried 
 with this inscription : " Ibique cor ejus corpus vero 
 apud Durham humatum est," which was extant 
 in Leland's time. 
 
 BRASS, ELMSTEAD CHURCH, ESSEX.
 
 228 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 The heart of Bishop des Roches, of Win- 
 chester, who was also one of King John's 
 executors, was sent to Waverley Abbey. That 
 of Isabel, Countess of Gloucester, in 1239, was 
 placed in a silver gilt cup at Tewkesbury. 
 
 Ethelmarus, Bishop of Winchester, who died 
 in 1261, is represented in his cathedral with his 
 crosier, and holding a heart in his hands. 
 
 Senechia, Countess of Cornwall, departed this 
 life in 1262. Her heart received sepulture at 
 Cirencester. Robert de Gourney's heart was 
 interred in the church of Friars Preachers at 
 Bristol in 1269. Henry, son of Richard, King of 
 the Romans and Earl of Cornwall, went to the 
 Holy Land. On his way home, in 1270, he was 
 slain in Tuscany when attending mass in the 
 church of St. Lawrence. His father caused his 
 heart to be honourably placed in a gilt cup, near 
 the coffin of St. Edward, in Westminster Abbey. 
 Sir Roger de Leyburn was one of the most stirring 
 and distinguished warriors of the day, whose 
 whole life was passed between the tilting lists and 
 the battlefield. 
 
 Sir Roger, the servant of Henry III., and the 
 trusty friend of Prince Edward, went to the Holy 
 Land. Wherever he may have died, we know
 
 CROKESDEN ABBEY.
 
 2 3 o CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 for certain that his death had occurred before the 
 end of November, A.D. 1271, and it is more than 
 probable that Prince Edward took care that his 
 heart was enshrined at Leybourne, as on 
 examination of the heart shrine in that church, 
 there is every reason to believe that his heart was 
 laid to rest there. 
 
 Again, in 1272, Richard, King of the Romans, 
 Earl of Cornwall, who had undertaken a second 
 journey to the Holy Land, died. His fourth wife, 
 Beatrix Falkeston, deposited his heart, under a 
 sumptuous pyramid of wonderful workmanship, in 
 the Church of Friars Minors, at Oxford, which 
 had been beautified and enlarged at the expense 
 of herself and her husband. The same year we 
 read that Ralph de Scopham's, Lord of Bryanston, 
 heart was buried under the font in his church, in 
 Dorsetshire, with this brief inscription : 
 
 " Hie jacet cor Radulphi de Scopham." 
 
 In 1274, the heart of Robert de Sutton, a 
 Monk of Peterborough, was brought in a cup to 
 his Monastery, and there buried before the altar 
 of St. Oswald. 
 
 The Bishop of Winchester, Nicholas de Ely, 
 directed that his heart should be entombed in the
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. 231 
 
 south wall of the Presbytery of Winchester, where 
 it was placed in 1280, with the following 
 inscription : 
 
 " Intus est cor Nicholai olim episcopi cujus corpus 
 est apud Waverlie." 
 
 The heart of Thomas Cantelupe was enshrined 
 with great honour in the Chapel of Our Lady in 
 his cathedral at Hereford, 1282. 
 
 The death of Alphonso, son of Edward I. and 
 Queen Eleanor, was a great affliction to his royal 
 parents, and they caused his heart to receive 
 sepulture in the Church of the Black Friars', 
 London, 1284. 
 
 Robert de Ros, Lord of Belvoir, who raised a 
 new battlement to the Castle of Belvoir, deceased 
 in June, 1285. His heart had sepulture at 
 Belvoir. 
 
 The heart of Hugh de Batsham, Bishop of Ely 
 in T 286, was placed near the altar of St. Martin, at 
 Ely. 
 
 The heart of Eleanor of Provence, wife of 
 Henry III., was interred with great solemnity in 
 London, in the church belonging to the Minor 
 Brothers, 1290. 
 
 Eleanor of Castille, the heroic wife of Edward 
 I., and the most devoted of consorts, was buried
 
 232 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 at the feet of Henry III., in Westminster Abbey, 
 in December, 1290, and, two days after, her heart 
 was deposited in the Church of Black Friars, 
 London. 
 
 William Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick, who 
 died 1298, requested that his heart should be 
 taken wheresoever the Countess, his dear consort, 
 should herself resolve to be interred. The hearts 
 of John and Margaret, children of William 
 Valence, were taken to the Black Friars' Church, 
 in London, the interment of which is mentioned 
 with that of Alphonso, son of Edward I., who 
 was related to them. 
 
 We now pass on to 1300, and find at an early 
 date that the heart of Maude de Hastings was 
 buried before the High Altar, at Barn well Priory, 
 Cambridgeshire. 
 
 Edward I., whose heart had known such intense 
 sorrow for the death of his beloved Eleanor, 
 expressed a much more pious wish with respect to 
 his heart than he did with regard to the disposal 
 of his body, as he desired this might be sent to 
 the Holy Land, since he would not go in person 
 according to his vow, and that it should be 
 deposited at Jerusalem, with thirty-two thousand 
 pounds sterling, which he had provided for the
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. 233 
 
 support of the Holy Sepulchre, to be taken 
 thence with a noble retinue. 
 
 Stow, in his Survey of London, states that in 
 the midst of the Church of the Grey Friars, 
 London, is an alabaster tomb, containing the body 
 of Queen Isabella, with the heart of her husband 
 on her breast ; also that of Peter Mountford in 
 the same church, says the same author. 
 
 Early in the fifteenth century, the heart of Sir 
 Hugh Mortimer received sepulture in Reading 
 Abbey. In the Church of Burford, Shropshire, a 
 simple tomb records that the heart of Edmond 
 Cornwall, Esquire, lies within it 
 
 " O Lord, my contrite heart and meek, 
 Do not refuse, I Thee beseek." 
 
 William, Lord Botreau, a great benefactor of 
 religious houses, directed his heart to be buried at 
 Bridgewater, 1462, and that of Anthony Wood- 
 ville, Earl Rivers, was by desire carried to our 
 Lady of Pue, at Westminster. 
 
 With the sixteenth century, we learn that the 
 heart of the young Prince Arthur of Wales, was 
 buried in the Church of Ludlow. Some years 
 ago the silver box in which it was encased was 
 taken up, and the heart was found to be double. 
 The case was embezzled by the sexton.
 
 234 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Eleanor, Duchess of Buckingham, appointed 
 that her heart should be buried before the image 
 of St. Francis, in the Church of the Grey Friars, 
 London. She died in 1531. 
 
 The heart of Queen Mary, the daughter of Henry 
 VIII., was interred in Westminster Abbey, where 
 subsequently that of Queen Elizabeth was taken, in 
 1670. When the royal vault was opened, the 
 urns containing them were found within the 
 niches, having their names inscribed upon them. 
 
 The heart of Sir Robert Peckham, who died at 
 Rome, 1569, was discovered at Denham, Bucking- 
 hamshire, in 1711, in a small box of lead 
 fashioned like a heart, flat and soldered, and 
 wrapped with several cloths still smelling strong 
 of the embalment. On the lid was written this 
 inscription : 
 
 "I.H.S. Robertas Peckham Egnes Auratus Anglus cor 
 summ Dulciss, patrie major. Monumentis commendari 
 Obitt idie September MDLXIX." 
 
 In 1575 died Edward, Earl of Windsor, abroad, 
 but his heart was enclosed in lead, and sent to 
 England to be buried under his father's tomb, in 
 token of a true Englishman. 
 
 Captain Thomas Hodges, on receiving his last 
 wound in 1583, gave three legacies; his soul to
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. 253 
 
 his Lord Jesus, his body to be lodged in Flemish 
 earth, his heart to be sent to his dear wife in 
 England. At Wedmore, Somerset, is a monu- 
 ment to his memory, bearing the following 
 inscription : 
 
 " Here lies his wounded heart 
 
 For whom 
 One kingdom was too small 
 
 A room ; 
 Two kingdoms therefore have 
 
 Thought fit to part 
 So stout a body and so brave a heart." 
 
 In 1586 died Sir Henry Sidney, Earl 
 of Leicester. The 
 leaden urn or cup 
 containing his heart 
 was carried to Ludlow 
 and deposited in the 
 same tomb with his 
 dearly loved daughter 
 Ambrosia, in the 
 little oratory he had V%NNO y poMNf <:? 
 made in the church 
 of St. Lawrence. The seventeenth century 
 records, in 1600, the heart of Anna Sophia 
 Harley, the infant daughter of the French 
 Ambassador, which was deposited in a 
 
 OF SIR HENRY
 
 236 
 
 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 gilt cup or vase, and placed upon a pyramid of 
 marble in St. Nicholas' Chapel, Westminster 
 Abbey. 
 
 The heart burial of Henry, Prince of Wales, 
 who died at eighteen, took place in 1612. His 
 heart was enclosed in lead, and placed upon his 
 breast in Westminster Abbey. 
 
 At the church of Brino;- 
 
 O 
 
 ton, Northamptonshire, 
 the parish in which 
 Atthorp is situated, is a 
 leaden drum deposited in 
 the wall, which is supposed 
 to contain the heart of 
 Henry, Lord Spencer, 
 Earl of Sunderland, who 
 died in 1643. 
 
 The heart of Arthur, 
 Lord Chapel, who, in 
 1648, submitted to his death upon the scaffold with 
 unparalleled Christian courage, was deposited in a 
 silver box enclosed in another with two locks, which 
 was subsequently placed in an iron box and de- 
 posited in the family vault. In 1656, the heart of 
 Admiral Blake, who had died in the harbour, was 
 embalmed, and buried in St. Andrew's Church at 
 
 CARVING ON A FINIAL IN BRINGTON 
 CHURCH.
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. 237 
 
 Plymouth. That of Isabella, Countess of North- 
 ampton, was placed in the Sackville vault, in the 
 church of Withyam, Sussex, in a leaden case in 
 the shape of a heart, on a brass plate affixed to 
 which is inscribed : 
 
 " The Hart of Isabella, Countess of 
 
 Northampton. 
 Died the i4th of October, 1661." 
 
 In the same year the heart of Esme Stuart, Duke 
 of Richmond, was enshrined in St. Nicholas' 
 Chapel, Westminster Abbey. 
 
 Sir Nicholas Crispe, a wealthy citizen of 
 London, who built the church of Hammersmith 
 in the time of King Charles I., had placed under 
 an effigy of the King on a pedestal an urn with 
 this inscription : 
 
 " Within this urn is entombed the heart of Sir Nicholas 
 Crispe, Knight and Baronet, a loyal sharer in the suffer- 
 ings of his late and present Majesty. He first settled the 
 trade of gold from Guinea, and then built the Castle of 
 Cormantin. Died the 28th of July, 1665, aged 67." 
 
 In 1685, Arthur Capel's (Earl of Essex, son of 
 the heroic Lord Capel) heart was enclosed in a 
 marble heart case, and kept at the family seat, 
 Cashiobury. The heart of Charles the Second 
 received sepulture in Westminster Abbey enclosed
 
 2 3 8 
 
 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 in a silver case covered with purple velvet, 
 and placed upon his coffin. The heart of 
 Mary II., Queen of England, was also 
 treated in a similar way, and 
 placed upon her coffin in the 
 vault of Henry the Seventh's 
 Chapel in Westminster 
 Abbey. Sir William Temple, 
 who died in 1699, selected 
 for his heart's resting-place a 
 sunny spot under the sundial, 
 opposite to the window of an 
 apartment from which he 
 used to contemplate the 
 works of Nature, and there it 
 was placed in a silver box. 
 In the year 1702 we record 
 that the heart of William III., 
 King of England, was en- 
 closed in silver, covered with 
 purple velvet, and placed 
 upon his coffin in West- 
 minster Abbey, and that 
 of Prince George of Denmark 
 in a like manner at the same place. 
 Queen Anne's heart received sepulture in 1714, 
 
 MONUMENT TO THE HEART OF 
 ANNA SOPHIA HARLEY.
 
 HEART BURIALS OF ENGLISH PERSONS. 239 
 
 also encased in silver, and covered with purple 
 velvet. 
 
 In the Columbarium, under the mausoleum at 
 Maulden Church, Bedfordshire, are two urns con- 
 taining " the hearts of Thomas, Earl of Ailsbury, 
 and his second Lady," date 1741. 
 
 In 1755, we know that the heart of the well- 
 known antiquary, Dr. Richard Rawlinson, was 
 bequeathed by him to St. John's College, Oxford, 
 where it is placed in a beautiful marble urn. 
 
 To Paul Whitehead, Esquire, of Twickenham, 
 we find the following obiit, December 30, 1774 : 
 
 " Unhallowed hands this urn forbear, 
 
 No gems nor orient spoil 
 Lie here conceal'd, but what more rare 
 
 A heart that knew no guile." 
 
 The year 1822 points out to us that the poet 
 Percy Bysshe Shelley, whose body was washed on 
 shore in the Gulf of Spizia, was, according to 
 Italian custom, burnt. The heart, however, would 
 not consume, and was placed in an urn and 
 deposited in the English Protestant burial ground 
 at Rome : 
 
 "Born August 5, 1792, 
 
 Died July 8, 1822." 
 
 " Cor Cordium."
 
 24 o CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 The same remarkable circumstance took place 
 when Archbishop Cranmer was brought to the 
 stake. His heart was not once touched by the fire, 
 and was found amongst his ashes after his body 
 was consumed. 
 
 The heart of George Gordon, Lord Byron, who 
 died at Missolonghi, in 1824, was sent to England 
 for interment, enclosed in a silver urn. It was 
 not placed in the family vault at Newstead as was 
 supposed, but in the chancel of Hucknall Torkard 
 Church, with an inscription upon the box in which 
 it was enclosed. 
 
 This must close our list of English heart burials, 
 although there are many more ; yet it is sufficient 
 to state these tell us much that is sad, much that 
 is interesting, and where, in those singular and 
 strange receptacles, the ingenuity of man has 
 fondly sought to preserve these remnants of mor- 
 tality from the power of oblivion and decay. We 
 desire to echo a piteous response for those now 
 calmly sleeping, and by their works of piety revive 
 and hallow their memory. 
 
 " Theirs are enshrined names, and every heart 
 Shall bear the blazon'd impress of their worth."
 
 BY ENGLAND HOWLETT. 
 
 OF the many bygone festivals which at one 
 time were so popular in England, and 
 which from one cause or another have gradually 
 fallen into such oblivion as to be almost forgotten, 
 perhaps few, if any, held for so long a period such 
 a fascination for all classes of people throughout 
 the length and breadth of the country as the 
 ceremonial incident to the election, and mimic 
 pontificate, of the boy-bishops. No doubt the 
 fact that all the participators in the observance of 
 this curious custom were children would strongly 
 appeal to the feelings of the people, who would, 
 not unnaturally, crowd together to see with what 
 solemnity and dignity these children could imitate 
 the office of the highest ecclesiastical dignitaries. 
 It would certainly seem that in the olden days 
 some good must have resulted from the observ- 
 ance of the ceremonial, for it received support 
 from nearly every church throughout the land, 
 
 and also support from the monasteries. 
 
 16
 
 242 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 In the Middle Ages, when festivities and 
 pageantry were so popular as almost to form a 
 necessary part of existence, St. Nicholas' Day 
 (6th December) took a very prominent place ; 
 this day being set apart for the election of boy- 
 bishops in various parts of the country. This 
 practice was not confined to cathedral cities alone, 
 but boy-bishops were elected from colleges, 
 grammar schools, and parish churches. As 
 patron of scholars, St. Nicholas had a double 
 feast at Eton College, where the scholars, to 
 avoid in anyway interfering with the boy-bishop 
 on St. Nicholas' Day, elected their boy-bishop in 
 November on St. Hugh's Day. 
 
 This festival in various forms seems to have 
 been celebrated in most, if not all, Christian 
 countries, therefore it naturally assumed very 
 different complexions according to time and 
 place ; in some instances the ceremony was of 
 a purely serious and religious character, and in 
 others it verged closely on the burlesque and 
 profane. In all places this childish pageantry 
 appears to have appealed strongly to the people, 
 and so great were the crowds which assembled to 
 witness the processions and mimic pontifical 
 ministrations, that it was specially provided by
 
 BOY-BISHOPS. 243 
 
 the statute of Sarum that no one was to press 
 upon the children or interrupt them during their 
 procession or service in the cathedral upon pain 
 of anathema. 
 
 In the early days of this festival in honour of 
 St. Nicholas, there is no doubt but that it was 
 intended solely as a reverential observance, but it 
 was impossible that such a farce could for any 
 length of time be ta'ken seriously either by the 
 children taking part in it, or the people who 
 thronged to witness it. That the show main- 
 tained its popularity to the last is amply proved, 
 but the wonder is that the Church did not sooner 
 awake to the fact that this playing at bishops was 
 certainly not in anyway conducive to the dignity 
 of those who properly held the office. 
 
 The boy-bishop was elected annually on St. 
 Nicholas' Day ; he was generally a chorister, and 
 elected by members of the choir. His term of 
 office sometimes only lasted until Holy Innocents' 
 Day, but in other cases for a much longer period, 
 the title itself being held until the next election. 
 According to the custom of Salisbury, the 
 Episcopus Puerorum was chosen by his fellow 
 children, and he held all the state of a true 
 bishop. After the election, the boy-bishop was
 
 244 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 vested in full episcopal vestments, with mitre, 
 ring, and pastoral staff. In some cases he 
 entered the church or cathedral, and performed 
 episcopal functions there, even going through a 
 form not unlike what has been called ''Table 
 Prayers" in the Church of England; that is, 
 celebration of mass without any consecration. 
 
 At Salisbury, in the procession of the boy- 
 bishop, the dean and residentiaries went first, 
 followed by the chaplains, the bishop, and petty 
 prebendaries. The choristers sat in the upper 
 stalls, the residentiaries furnished the incense 
 and book, and the petties were taper-bearers. 
 The boy-bishop exacted ceremonial obedience 
 from his fellows, who, dressed like priests, per- 
 formed all the ceremonies and offices which might 
 have been celebrated by a bishop and his pre- 
 bendaries. 
 
 In the diocese of York, as early as 1367, it was 
 ordered as an indispensable requisite, " that the 
 bishop of the boys should, for the future, be he 
 who had served longest in the church, and who 
 should be most suitable, provided, nevertheless,, 
 that he was sufficiently handsome in person, and 
 that any election otherwise should not be valid.'' 
 It would seem, therefore, that good looks were
 
 BOY-BISHOPS. 245 
 
 indispensable requisites for every candidate for the 
 youthful bishopric. 
 
 The boy-bishops made visitations to various 
 places in their diocese. These appear to have 
 been lucrative, as well, no doubt, as pleasant 
 excursions, especially at the hands of the local 
 nobility, whose welcome guests they were. On 
 December 7th, 1229, a boy-bishop, in the chapel 
 at Heton, near Newcastle-on-Tyne, said vesper 
 before Edward I. on his way to Scotland, who 
 made considerable presents to him and the other 
 boys who sang with him. In 1319, Roger de 
 Mortival, Bishop of Salisbury, found it necessary 
 to curtail some of the observances. He forbade 
 both feast and visitation, and, in some places, the 
 boys were kept from wandering beyond parish 
 bounds. 
 
 In 1396, John de Cave, boy-bishop of York, 
 went on his visitation tour. He was attended by 
 a considerable retinue, and his accounts were kept 
 by Nicholas, of Newark, " Guardian of the 
 property of the boy-bishop." It seems to 
 have been a succession of excursions from 
 and back to York. When the accounts 
 were balanced, and the receipt of gifts 
 weighed against expenses, there remained forty
 
 246 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 shillings and sixpence halfpenny for the little bishop 
 to put in his pocket, a considerable sum in those 
 days, considering the relative value of money. 
 
 It does not seem quite clear at what period this 
 idle ceremony was first established, but probably 
 it was ancient, and at least it can be traced back 
 with certainty to the thirteenth century. 
 
 With respect to vestments, etc., used by the 
 boy-bishop and his companions, there are many 
 notices of these in cathedral and parish records. 
 In the will of Thomas Rotheram, Archbishop of 
 York, dated in 1481, is a bequest to the college of 
 that place of a mitre of cloth of gold, with two 
 silver enamelled " knoppes," to be worn by the 
 "Barnes Bishop" In a MS. inventory of vest- 
 ments, committed to the care of the Sacristan of 
 Magdalen College, Oxford, in 1495, are "pro 
 peuris " tunicles, red and white and crimson, with 
 orfreys of damask and velvet, one set of albs of 
 blue damask, and two with apparels of red silk, 
 and, lastly, a banner of St. Nicholas. The 
 churchwardens' accounts of St. Mary-at-Hill, 
 London, 10 Henry VI., make mention of "two 
 children's copes, also a myter of cloth of gold set 
 with stones." 
 
 It would seem as though the Boy Bishops
 
 BOY-BISHOPS. 247 
 
 either each had a new seat or throne, or that the 
 one provided required constant repair. The 
 following extracts are taken from the Louth 
 Churchwardens' accounts : 
 
 1500. Paid to the Chyld Byshop at Cristynmes for 
 
 j paire cloffes, id. 
 
 To Thomas Couper, ijd. John Bradpull, 
 ijd., and making his See ov. nayles. 
 
 1501. Paid for one Chyld Bishop j pair cloffes. 
 
 Making his See, vjd. 
 1505. Paid for making the Child Bishop See, vjd. 
 
 On the Feast of Holy Innocents, the Boy 
 Bishop delivered a sermon, which, although 
 couched in somewhat childish language, was 
 doubtless prepared by some dignitary of the 
 church. This ancient custom was not only 
 allowed and continued by the founders of Win- 
 chester and Eton, but when Dean Colet made the 
 laws for his Grammar School, in the year 1512, 
 he directed that his scholars should on every 
 Childermas day hear the child bishop's sermon 
 in Paul's, and afterwards, attending the High 
 Mass, offer each of them one penny to the child- 
 bishop. This was done no doubt as a stimulus to 
 Christian ambition in the boys, just as the mitre 
 and staff are painted, as the rewards of learning, 
 on the school walls of Winchester.
 
 248 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 It appears to have been usual that money 
 should be struck for the boy-bishop " St. 
 Nicholas pence "-it was called. In the church 
 of St. Mary, at Bury St. Edmund's, there was a 
 Guild of St. Nicholas ; and in the year 1842, 
 during the removal of the priest's stalls, a quantity 
 of leaden pieces, formed in imitation of money, 
 were discovered ; these were undoubtedly relics 
 commemorative of the boy-bishop. 
 
 In case a boy-bishop died within a month of 
 his election, his obsequies were solemnized with 
 glorious pomp and sadness. He was buried, like 
 all other bishops, in his vestments and ornaments. 
 In Salisbury Cathedral, there is a diminutive 
 effigy of a bishop in full canonicals, and this is 
 popularly believed to be the tomb of a boy-bishop ; 
 the figure is about three feet in length, and the 
 name of the person represented is not known. 
 It seems, however, probable that it is the 
 monument of one of the earlier bishops, who are 
 known to have been buried in the Cathedral, but 
 the place of whose interment is not known. The 
 Salisbury Chapter memorials contain many refer- 
 ences to the boy-bishops, in which the name of 
 the boy is given, and not unfrequently the 
 amount of the money offerings received, but there
 
 BOY-BISHOPS. 249 
 
 is not any record of the death of any boy- 
 bishop. 
 
 In the year 1541, Henry VIII., by proclama- 
 tion, abolished the practice of electing boy- 
 bishops, much to the regret of the people, who 
 were thus deprived of what, for so long a period, 
 had been their most popular show, and one which, 
 no doubt, they had come to look upon as being 
 an annual ceremonial to continue for all time ; 
 however, it was hardly to be expected that the 
 puritan spirit of that age could countenance or 
 even permit such a burlesque. Up to this time, 
 what Archbishop Peckham had denounced, at 
 Godstowe, in 1279, the dressing up of girls to 
 publicly read prayers on Innocents' Day, still con- 
 tinued ; but Henry suppressed this also, with 
 other " chyldysh observaunces." 
 
 After the accession of Mary, and the re-estab- 
 lishment of the Roman Catholic religion, an order 
 was issued for the going about of the procession 
 of St. Nicholas. For some reason or other, 
 which does not appear, the order was recalled ; 
 but in 1556, the festival, processions, and all the 
 rites and ceremonies of the boy-bishop were fully 
 restored. The youthful prelate, with his retinue 
 and all their paraphernalia, was introduced to the
 
 250 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Queen, and in whose honour he sang a song in 
 her presence. All collegiate churches, and a 
 large number of schools, revived the practice ; 
 but the final abolition was near at hand. The 
 half sacred element, which was once connected 
 with the principal actor, died out in the eyes of 
 authorities, who began to see much abuse in this 
 sacro-comic performance. 
 
 All came to an end with the death of Mary, 
 and no longer the boys of Paul's obeyed the 
 order of their founder, Dean Colet, to attend at 
 Childermas and listen to the boy-bishop's ser- 
 mon. The popular festival died hard, but a 
 period of three hundred years has not effaced 
 the interest incident to the ceremony, although 
 it is now well-nigh shrouded by the mists of 
 antiquity.
 
 (Bleanings from a parish Cbest. 
 
 BY REV. J. CHARLES Cox, LL.D., F.S.A. 
 
 PARISH chests, which were almost invariably 
 kept in the parish church, as the safest 
 possible place for their preservation, were used as 
 the store-holds for most interesting and valuable 
 classes of documents, for centuries before the days 
 of the Reformation. In such places, were not 
 only kept the charters and evidences that per- 
 tained to lands given for the purpose of 
 maintaining lights in the church, and for other 
 like ecclesiastical purposes, but also, in many 
 cases, documents of still greater value to the 
 parish at large, such as the manor court rolls, that 
 regulated all the affairs of village and community 
 life. 
 
 In searching among a great number of our 
 village parish chests, stores of such rolls are even 
 now occasionally found ; we have met with them 
 from early fourteenth century days, in the chests 
 of Alrewas and Yoxall, Staffordshire. 
 
 After the parochial legislation of the close of
 
 252 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 Elizabeth's reign, parish books and accounts 
 began to multiply, and the well-kept parish chest 
 will be found to contain the separate accounts of 
 churchwardens, overseers of the poor, parish 
 constables, and way-wardens. 
 
 From time to time search will be rewarded by 
 a strange variety of unexpected scraps and frag- 
 ments, that may throw some little light not only 
 on local customs, but even on national history. 
 During the last thirty years, we have opened the 
 lids and searched with more or less diligence 
 into hundreds of village and town chests, and 
 though not infrequently some wretched spirit of 
 modern neatness or utilitarianism has cleared 
 out every document and book, and left perchance 
 nothing more savoury than smelling paraffin cans 
 and noisome lamp wick, still as a rule the search 
 is well repaid (particularly when we are assured 
 there is nothing of value), and occasionally 
 delightful finds are the reward of patient per- 
 sistence and considerable trouble. 
 
 But never do we expect to find so rich a 
 variety of unexpected treasures and scraps as 
 rewarded our efforts in April, 1864, when we 
 handled the first contents of the first parish 
 chest that came under our notice. In clearing
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 253 
 
 out a large, roughly-made, lidless chest, beneath 
 the tower of the parish church of Luccombe, 
 Somerset, wherein the sexton kept his tools, a 
 considerable store of decaying papers came to 
 light, beneath a mildewed parish pall. The first 
 thing that attracted attention was a small roll in 
 which were tightly wrapped in the blank parch- 
 ment leaf of a register book, and fastened round 
 with a leathern thong, a 1643 Form of Prayer 
 and Thanksgiving issued by the king at Oxford, 
 together with special thanksgivings for the birth 
 of Charles II., in 1630, and of the Princess 
 Mary in 1631. Among the heap of papers were 
 found a variety of post- Restoration and eighteenth 
 century forms of prayer, several of which, after 
 painstaking investigation, appear to be abso- 
 lutely unique copies. The preservation of the 
 earliest of these forms of prayer in this out-of- 
 the-world, though lovely little west country 
 village, which nestles in the offshoots of Exmoor, 
 under the shadow of Dunkery Beacon, is 
 accounted for when we recollect the parsons 
 who were once rectors of Luccombe. In 15/5, 
 Queen Elizabeth presented Laurence Byam, one 
 of an old Monmouthshire family of note, to this 
 rectory, which he held for nearly forty years,
 
 254 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 dying in 1614. Three, of his four sons became 
 distinguished divines. Henry, the eldest, born 
 at Luccombe, in 1580, "one of the greatest 
 ornaments of the University," says Wood, in 
 his Athence, succeeded his father in the living of 
 Luccombe. He resided at Luccombe, though 
 holding other preferments, and was proctor in 
 convocation for his diocese. At the beginning 
 of the civil war, he took so active a part for the 
 crown, that troops were dispatched to arrest him. 
 Escaping from the Roundheads, Henry Byam 
 joined the king at Oxford, in 1642. Dr. Byam's 
 devotion to the royal cause was strongly echoed 
 by his family. Four of his five sons were cap- 
 tain s in the king's armies, two of them losing 
 
 O ' O 
 
 their lives in battle. His wife and daughter, when 
 trying to escape the persecution of the Round- 
 heads (whilst Dr. Byam was at Oxford), by 
 crossing the Bristol Channel into Wales, were 
 both of them drowned. When Prince Charles, 
 afterwards Charles II., fled from England, Dr. 
 Byam accompanied him to the Scilly Islands, 
 and afterwards to Jersey, as his chaplain. He 
 was also for a time with Charles at the Hague. 
 
 o 
 
 At the restoration, he was reinstated in the 
 benefice of Luccombe, and made Canon of Exeter
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 255 
 
 and Prebendary of Wells. It was only his 
 modesty that prevented him from being made 
 Bishop. He died in 1669, aged 81, having been 
 rector of Luccombe for 55 years. Father and 
 son had thus held that benefice for only six years 
 short of a century. 
 
 We have already given full descriptions of the 
 highly interesting series of Forms of Prayer and 
 Thanksgiving, in the occasional accompanying 
 proclamations, that were discovered in this chest, 
 in four articles, in vols. vii. and viii. of the 
 Newbery House Magazine, but nothing has 
 hitherto been made known with regard to other 
 curious contents of this parochial chest. We now 
 proceed to deal with the more noteworthy of 
 these odds and ends. 
 
 The earliest fragments of a document found in 
 this chest contained a list of high officials of the 
 kingdom, followed by a list of bishops according 
 to their precedence. How these two leaves came 
 to be deposited in such a place it would be idle 
 now to conjecture. They have evidently formed 
 part of some large manuscript book, carefully 
 written. There is no date on these pages, but 
 from the names mentioned, and from the fact of 
 the sees of Oxford and Bristol being vacant, it is
 
 256 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 clear that they belong to the end of Elizabeth's 
 reign, somewhere between 1593 and 1600. The 
 following is a transcript : 
 
 " The names of the High Commissioners. 
 
 Tharchbishopp, Bishopp of London, B. of Durham, 
 B. of Winchester, B. of Elye, B. of Hereford, B. of 
 Coventrie and Lichfeld, B. of Sarum, B. of Lincolne, B. 
 of St. Davies, B. of Peterborough, B. of Worchester, B. 
 of Norwiche, B. of Chichester, and the Bishopp of 
 Rochester for the time being, B. of Carlisle, B. Suffragan 
 of Dover, Lo. Maior of London, Lord Wentworthe, Lo. 
 Ryche, Lord Bathurst, S r Xpoper Wraye, 1. chefe Justice 
 of England, Sir Henry Sidney, Sir Frauncis Knollis, 
 S r Xpofer Hatton, S r Frauncis Walsingham, S r Walter 
 Myldmay, S r Gilbert errard, M r of the Rolls, S r Roger 
 Marwood, L. cheife Baron, John Southcotte armiger 
 mort., William Aliffe armiger, S r George Carew knight. 
 
 The names of the Lordes and others of her Ma! ties Privie 
 CounselL 
 
 Sir Thomas Bromley, Knight, Lord Chauncellor of 
 England ; the Lord Bourleigh, 1. Treasurer ; the Earle of 
 Lincolne, L. Admirall ; the Earle of Shreuesberye, high 
 Marshall of England ; the lo. Charles Howard Baron of 
 Effingham, Lo. Chamberlayne of her Maties house; the 
 Earle of Warwick, M r of the Ordinaunce ; the Earle of 
 Bedforde, the Earle of Leicester, M r of the horse ; the 
 lo. Hundsdon, lo. Governor of Barwick, capt. of the 
 Gentlemen Pensioners ; S r Frauncis Knollis, knight, 
 Treasurer of the household ; S r James Acroft, knight, 
 comptroller ; Sir Henry Sidney, knight of the order, lo. 
 President of Walles.
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST 257 
 
 A note of the Bishoppes and how they are to take place each 
 below or after other, 
 
 Archbishopp of Canterbury. 
 
 Archb. of Yorke. 
 
 Bishopp of London. 
 
 B. of Winchester. 
 
 B. of Duresme. 
 
 B. of Hereford. 
 
 B. of Elye. 
 
 B. of St. Davies. 
 
 B. of Salisburye. 
 
 Bishopp of Bath and Wells. 
 
 B. of Coventrie and Lichfeld. 
 
 B. of Peterborough. 
 
 B. of Chester. 
 
 B. of Gloucester. 
 
 B. of Bangor. 
 
 B. of Carlisle. 
 
 B. of Chichester. 
 
 B. of Lincolne. 
 
 B. of Exeter. 
 
 B. of Worcester. 
 
 B. of St. Asaph. 
 
 B. of Landaff. 
 
 B. of Rochester 
 
 Bristoin 
 
 ^ r A I Vacant- 
 Oxford ) 
 
 The 2 Archbishoppes so placed of dignitye, the 3 
 Bps. following so placed by an Act of Parlament. 
 
 All that follow have there places as they be putt downe 
 neither by there dignitye nor by Act of Parlament, but 
 according to the severall tymes of there severall 
 Consecretions." 
 
 17
 
 258 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 In a torn and fragmentary condition, below a 
 heap of comparatively recent apprentice in- 
 dentures, was a creased and much- folded paper. 
 A tedious process removed the creases, and when 
 mounted it became evident that this was the first 
 of two consecutive large-sized Parliamentary 
 broadsheets which are of great rarity issued 
 on 1 7th April, 1646, in the midst of the great 
 Civil War struggle, but a few days before the 
 unhappy and deserted Charles left Oxford in 
 disguise, with two attendants, on his way to 
 Newark. The sheet measures eighteen inches 
 by fifteen inches, and is clearly printed in good 
 type. It is styled " A Declaration of the 
 Commons of England assembled in Parliament, 
 of their true Intentions concerning the Ancient 
 and Fundamental Government of the Kingdom ; 
 the Government of the Church ; the present 
 Peace ; Securing the People against all Arbitrary 
 Government, and maintaining a right understand- 
 ing between the Two Kingdoms of England 
 and Scotland according to the Covenant and 
 Treaties." The Commons proceed to recite the 
 objects they had had in view from the beginning 
 of the war, observing that " when it hath pleased 
 God to blesse our Endeavours and the Actions of
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 259 
 
 Our Forces and Armes, as that the Enemy is in 
 dispair to accomplish his designes by War, and 
 We are brought into good hopes of attaining and 
 enjoying that which with so much expense of 
 Blood and Treasure We have contended for "- 
 the same spirits are still stirring as at the begin- 
 ning to misrepresent their intentions and aims. 
 They state that they are accused of wishing to 
 recede from the solemn league and covenant 
 entered into between the two kingdoms, and of 
 desiring to continue " these uncomfortable troubles 
 and bleeding distractions," in order to leave all 
 government in Church and State loose and 
 unsettled, and to assume for themselves the same 
 arbitrary power over the persons and estates of 
 the subjects, " which this Parliament hath thought 
 fit to abolish by taking away the Star Chamber, 
 High Commissioners, and other Actuary Courts, 
 and the Exorbitant Power of the Council Table." 
 The Commons, therefore, think well solemnly 
 to repeat what are their true and real intentions. 
 First, with regard to Church government, they 
 note how they had ''fully declared for a 
 Presbyterial Government," and passed most of 
 the particulars brought to them from the 
 Assembly of Divines, and had only refrained
 
 260 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 from granting arbitrary and unlimited power, and 
 that it was their resolve still further " to 
 endeavour the Reformation of Religion in the 
 kingdoms of England and Ireland, in Doctrine, 
 Worship, Discipline, and Government, according 
 to the Word of God, and the Example of the 
 best Reformed Churches, and according to our 
 Covenant." 
 
 This sheet from the Luccombe chest stops 
 short in the midst of the declaration about 
 religion, and it was a long time before we could 
 discover the conclusion of this valuable historical 
 utterance. It is not referred to in any of our usual 
 histories of England, even the fullest, and we 
 failed to find a copy in several collections of 
 proclamations. But at last we came across a 
 folio volume printed by " Ed. Husband, Printer 
 to the Honorable House of Commons, and sold 
 at his shop at the signe of the Golden Dragon in 
 Flete Street nere the Temple Gate, 1646," which 
 contained a collection of " All the Publick Ordain 
 Ordinances and Declarations of both Houses of 
 Parliament from the ninth of March, 1642, untill 
 December, 1646." From this volume we were 
 able to recover the remainder of the declaration. 
 The remainder states that the Commons were in
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 261 
 
 favour of the continuance of the fundamental 
 constitution and government of the kingdom by 
 King, Lords, and Commons ; of depriving the 
 crown of any pretended power of the Militia ; by 
 maintaining the abolition of court of wards and 
 liveries, and of all tenures in capite, and by 
 knights' service ; of reducing garrisons ; of bring- 
 ing delinquents who had fomented the war to 
 due punishment ; and of fully observing the 
 solemn league and covenant between the two 
 kingdoms of England and Scotland. 
 
 One of the very next orders issued by the 
 parliament, when the news reached them of the 
 flight of the king from Oxford, on April 27th, on 
 an unknown journey, was the following brief 
 statement by far the shortest that the " long 
 parliament " ever put out which runs to the 
 following effect : 
 
 "Die Lunae, 4 Mali, 1646. 
 
 Ordered that it be, and it is, hereby Declared by the 
 Lords and Commons in Parliament assembled, that what 
 person soever shall harbor and conceal, or know of the 
 harboring and concealing of the King's person, and shall 
 not reveal it immediately to the Speakers of both Houses, 
 shall be proceeded against as a Traytor to the Common- 
 wealth, forfeit his whole Estate, and dye without Mercy." 
 
 On the same day it was ordered that the
 
 262 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 committee of the Militia of the city of London 
 be desired to publish the above order by beat of 
 drum or sound of trumpet within the cities of 
 London and Westminster and lines of com- 
 munication. The order was hardly likely to be 
 sent out save to districts where there was strong 
 reason to suspect that the king might be inclined 
 to make his way or to seek concealment. Why 
 then should this order have found its way to this 
 retired little Somersetshire village of Luccombe ? 
 The probable answer is that Luccombe, as has 
 been already remarked, was the residence of that 
 very prominent royalist clergyman, Lawrence 
 Byam, and his family, and that the royalist 
 garrison of Dunster Castle, six miles distant from 
 Luccombe, had but just yielded to the Parlia- 
 mentarians. An order of the two Houses, dated 
 May 2nd, had just been issued, commanding 
 that May iQth be observed as a day of " Publique 
 Thanksgiving in all places within the power of 
 the Parliament for the several Mercies of God 
 upon the forces of the Parliament in reducing and 
 taking in the several Castles and Garisons of 
 Portland, Ruthyn, Exeter, Barnstaple, the 
 Mount in Cornwall, Dunster Castle, Tutbury and 
 Aberistwith Castles, Woodstock Manor, and the
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 263 
 
 Castle of Bridgenorth." At Dunster Castle there 
 is still shown a hiding-place, behind the panelling 
 of a bed-chamber, where Charles I. is traditionally 
 said to have been concealed. We believe this 
 brief order of May 4th, found at Luccombe, to be 
 an absolutely unique copy. 
 
 In another corner of the chest, crumpled up into 
 a small ball, was a thin printed paper. After 
 careful unrolling and smoothing, it proved to be a 
 somewhat damaged broadsheet, seventeen inches 
 by fifteen inches, printed on one side, with orna- 
 mental heading and initial letter. It was "the 
 humble Petition of Arthur Gwin and Roger 
 Gwin, Ministers of God's word, in behalf of their 
 captivated and distressed families in Ireland," 
 addressed to " the Right Honourable the Lords 
 assembled in Parliament." In the body of the 
 petition it was stated that the petitioners had lost 
 their estates in Ireland " by that horrid and 
 matchless Rebellion" to the value of ,2,240, in 
 addition to an annual income of ^350, whereby 
 they and their families, numbering sixteen souls 
 were reduced to great want ; that the aged mother 
 and two children of Arthur were captives with 
 the Irish Rebels ; that Roger's wife and five 
 small children were in the city of Cork suffering
 
 264 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 extreme want, and without God's special provi- 
 dence like to perish ; and that through their 
 grievous losses and the sad destruction of the 
 kindgom they "are utterly disenabled to redeem 
 and bring away those miserable Captives, and 
 other distressed persons in whom they are so 
 nearly concerned." They therefore prayed for 
 authority " to quietly pass and repass in and about 
 their specified occasions " for a period of ten 
 months, and more especially to be recommended to 
 godly ministers of the gospel that they may 
 effectually move their congregation to charitable 
 contributions, "that so they may be in some 
 possibility to Redeem, relieve, and Fetch away 
 those poor captivated and distressed Christians 
 from among the Barbarous Rebels." Appended 
 to the petition is the certificate of " sundry 
 Protestant Lords and Noble Personages of the 
 Kingdom of Ireland," who sign as Kerry, 
 Ranelagh, Broghill, W. Fenton, and John 
 Percivall, testifying to the truth of the statements. 
 At the base of the broadsheet, printed in italics, 
 is the following parliamentary record : 
 
 " Die Jovis. 3 Septemb., 1646. 
 
 Upon the Petition of Arthur Gwin and Roger Gwin, 
 ministers, read this day in the House, shewing that
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 265 
 
 (besides their great losses in the Kingdom of Ireland) the 
 said Arthur hath his mother and two children captives 
 with the Irish Rebels, and that Roger Gwin hath his wife 
 and five small Children in the City of Cork ; 
 
 It is ordered by the Lords in Parliament assembled, 
 That the Petitioners be permitted to pass into Ireland, and 
 to return back with their said company without the let or 
 hindrance of any person whatsoever. 
 
 And that the Ministers of God's Word to whom they 
 shall address themselves, be pleased to move effectually 
 their Congregations charitably to contribute towards the 
 inabling of the said poor petitioners to Relieve, Release, 
 and fetch off the said Captives and other distressed 
 persons, as in their said Petition is expressed. 
 
 Joh : Brown, Cleric. Parliamentorum." 
 
 Comparatively little is known about post- 
 reformation excommunications in England, 
 although frequently put in force during the 
 seventeenth and eighteenth centuries for technical 
 ecclesiastical offences, and occasionally for moral 
 wrong-doing. So far as we aware, no example of 
 such an excommunication has ever been printed 
 in extenso, and therefore no apology is necessary 
 for giving one from the Luccombe chest of the 
 time of Charles I. According to English canon 
 law, a sentence of excommunication was bound 
 to be delivered in writing and under proper seal. 
 This document is written on a half-sheet of 
 foolscap lengthways, and has borne a large vesica-
 
 266 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 shaped wafer seal on the left-hand margin, but 
 nothing now remains of the seal save the stain 
 where it was originally stamped. 
 
 " Samuel Ward doctor of divinity Archdeacon of the 
 Archdeaconry of Taunton to our well-beloved the Parson 
 Vicar or Curate of the parish church of Luccombe within 
 our Archdeaconry of Taunton sendeth greetinge in our 
 Lord God everlastinge. Whereas Walter Pugslie, Moses 
 Pugslie, and John Anton of y e parish aforesaid for their 
 manifest contempte and disobedience have been longe 
 time justlie excommunicated and for excommunicate 
 persons openly denounced in the face of the Chuch at the 
 time of divine service in which dangerous estate without 
 feare of God or shame of ye world they still remaine in 
 contempte of lawe and lawful magistrates. We therefore 
 will and require you that the next Sabath day or holiday 
 ensuinge the Receipt hereof in your said parish Church at 
 the time of divine service before the whole congregation 
 assembled you shall publiquely denounce those Walter 
 Pugslie Moses Pugslie and John Anton for aggravated 
 persons and also then and there you shall admonish all 
 Christian people by virtue hereof that they and any of 
 them henceforth eschewe and avoid the society, fellow- 
 shippe and company of the said persons and that they 
 neither eate, nor drink, buy, sell, or otherwise by any 
 manner of means communicate with them, being members 
 cut off from all Christian Society under the payne of 
 excommunication by lawe in this behalf provided until 
 they shall submit themselves to be reconciled. And of 
 y r doinges herein Certifie us or our Deputy the next court 
 day ensuinge after fortye dayes after the denouncinge 
 hereof and fayle you not under the payne contempte.
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 267 
 
 Dated under our Scale the three and twentye day of May 
 Anno dom, 1628. 
 
 Ric : Peeke Reg." 
 
 It is no use trying to surmise what had been 
 the original offence (non-payment of tithes, or 
 some moral evil) of which these three Luccombe 
 parishioners had been guilty. The offence would 
 have been stated in the original sentence. This 
 excommunication is a further declaration ; for the 
 excommunication was obliged, by English canon 
 law, to be repeated at the end of six months, and 
 to continue to be repeated at that interval 
 of time, provided the person or persons had not 
 meanwhile purged themselves by submission and 
 penance, and obtained the benefit of absolution. 
 The reason for the mention of the forty days, was 
 because of the law and custom of England, 
 which in this respect differed from all other parts 
 of Christendom the civil authority in the person 
 of the sheriff was bound to step in and imprison 
 excommunicated folk, until they made their 
 submission, provided that their wish de excom- 
 municato capiendo was sought for by the 
 diocesan or bishop. On the same Sunday on 
 which these three Luccombe offenders were 
 denounced in their parish church, and all Christian
 
 268 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 folk commanded to boycott them, the same ex- 
 communication was read during the service at the 
 cathedral church of Wells, and on the following 
 day the names and offences of those excom- 
 municated were forwarded to the Archbishop of 
 the province. 
 
 On November i6th, 1628, the Archdeacon 
 issued another sentence of excommunication for 
 long-standing contempt against three Luccombe 
 parishioners, in very similar terms to the one 
 just quoted. The offenders were Moses Pugslie, 
 Amy Hawten, and Silvanus Band, and we may 
 conclude that Walter Pugslie and John Anton 
 had been meanwhile reconciled. This second 
 excommunication is somewhat damaged in 
 parts. 
 
 Another official document in the chest, which 
 has had a large marginal wafer seal attached, 
 was a marriage licence, issued by William. 
 Bishop of Bath and Wells, on March i2th, 
 1627. The contracting parties were John 
 Bryant, tailor, and Jane Jurdan, spinster. The 
 body of the document was in Latin, but at the end 
 is added in English: "If you knowe anie law- 
 full impediment to the contrary wherefore the 
 said parties ought not to be lawfully joyned to-
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 269 
 
 gether in matrimony you are not to precede to the 
 solemnization thereof these presents notwith- 
 standinge." 
 
 Another interesting, though damaged paper, for 
 it was wrapped round some old pieces of tallow 
 candle ends, proved to be a series of instructions 
 put forth by the combined powers of church and 
 state with regard to the regulations of authorised 
 worship. The document is written throughout in 
 a neat running hand. The provisions relative to 
 lecturers would only apply to market towns, and 
 those more populous places where such lecture- 
 ships had been established. These lecturers 
 were, as a rule, chosen by the parishioners, and 
 paid by them after a voluntary fashion, or from 
 some endowment left for that purpose. They 
 were often the Sunday afternoon preachers, and 
 usually preached on a week-day in addition. 
 They were of Puritan origin, and intended in 
 their foundation to specially exalt preaching, and 
 to counteract the stiff, state preaching of the 
 incumbent. Hence, the necessity of the church 
 regulating their institution and methods, as is 
 done by canons 36 and 37. This document is not 
 dated, but it was obviously issued soon after the 
 Restoration. There was legislation on the
 
 270 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 subject of lecturers and lectureships by 13 and 14 
 Charles II. c. 4, and 15 Charles II. c. 6. 
 
 " Instruction from his excellent Majestie to our 
 Reverend Diocesan and by his Lordshippe given in 
 charge to the clergie and all others whom it doth or shall 
 concern within his Lordshippe's Diocese. 
 
 That ye declaration for y e settling of all questions and 
 differences Bee strictly observed of all parties. 
 
 That in all parishes the afternoon sermon may be 
 turned into catechising by questions and answers when 
 and wherever there is not some great cause apparent to 
 break this ancient and profitable order. 
 
 That every lecturer doe read Divine service according 
 to the Liturgie printed by Authority in their surplice and 
 hood before the lecture. 
 
 That when a lecture is sett up in a Markett town it 
 may be read by a companie of grave and orthodox 
 Divines neare adjoining and of the same diocese and that 
 they preach in gownes and not in Cassocks as too many 
 use. 
 
 That if a Corporation do maintain a single lecturer he 
 be not suffered to preach till he do profess his willingness 
 to accept a benefice with care of soules in the same 
 Incorporation and that he actually take such a benefice, 
 or cure, soe soone as it shall be fairly procured for him. 
 
 That none under Noblemen and men qualified by lawe 
 have any private chaplaine within their house. 
 
 That Divine service be deligently frequented as well for 
 prayer and catechisms as sermons that can be had of it 
 and that a particular note be taken of all such as absent 
 themselves as Recusants or otherwise.'' 
 
 A curious example of seventeenth century
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 271 
 
 arithmetical problems came to light on the inner 
 side of the lining paper of the loose cover of a 
 parish account book, which began in the year 
 1702. It contained the statement of three sums 
 or problems, with the space below each occupied 
 by the working out of the figures by the scholar. 
 They seem to us worth printing as a sample of 
 the work done by our schoolboys about 1650 : 
 
 "(i) Suppose a piece of Timber be 2 foot by 2 inches 
 broad and i foot by 8 inches deep w' is the true square 
 of that piece say you. 
 
 (2) There be two Townes A and B lye south and north 
 and betweene them 25 miles a third Towne as C lyes 
 straight west from B 60 miles I demand the just distance 
 A and C. 
 
 (3) A Towne wall being besieged which is 36 foot high 
 and is moated round with a ditch 18 foot broad now the 
 General commandeth Ladders to be made of that Length 
 which may reach from y e edge of the ditch to the topp of 
 the wall how many foot must the Ladder be in Length." 
 
 Three pages of parish accounts, very neatly 
 kept, for the years 1633-5, were found. They 
 thus begin : 
 
 " Luccomb. Heare followeth the account of William 
 Stock and Richard Blackmore, Churchwardens, John 
 Balle and John Eame, Overseers for the Relleefe of the 
 poore of the saith parish for this present yeere, Ano. 
 dom. 1633." 
 Received by vertu of one Rate viij 11 - xv s iij d
 
 272 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 " Monthly distribucians beginning 
 May 12. Imprimis payd unto the old overseers 
 
 ij u - xiij s - iiij d - 
 
 Payd for a warrant of o r ofice - vj d - 
 To Jane Way - ij s 
 
 To Florence Keene - - viij d - 
 
 To Alice Adam - - xvj d - 
 
 To Jane Yomens - ij s - 
 
 To Edward Steere ij s - 
 
 Som is iij 1 '- j s x d - 
 
 The poor entries are made most carefully and 
 totalled for each month, those relieved average 
 six per month, and the same names are for the 
 most part repeated. The relief varies from 8d. 
 per month to 45. From July onwards, the parish 
 paid Alice Adam's house rent, which was 2s. 6d. 
 per month. In August, is. is paid " for a trusse 
 for Adam's boy," and in September, 8s. is paid to 
 George Gore, " for healing y e widow Adams 
 boy." In November, 53. 8d. is paid "for a 
 shroud for Robert Steere, and other charges at 
 y e funerall." The poor were never then buried 
 in coffins. 
 
 At the end of the year's accounts occur the 
 following entries : 
 
 " The viij 1 '- given by Laurance Byam, clarke, for the 
 binding out of apprintices remaineth iij 1 '- in the hand of 
 Anne Weber with Simon Pugsly, and is to be payd unto
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST. 273 
 
 the overseers the xxvj th day of July, Ano. dom. 1635. 
 The other v h - remaineth in our hands to be payd unto the 
 new overseers." 
 
 In another hand. 
 
 " Somerset. Apud Dunster in com. pdt. xxi die April 
 Ano. dni. 1634. If the overseers of the poore now 
 nominated doe nott mak uppe this ten pounds full and 
 all againe to bee put out with apprentices accordinge to 
 the good and memorable intention of Mr. Lawrence 
 Byam, deceased, they shall pay the fortie shillinges which 
 now comes short themselves ; and wee doe order that the 
 goods of one Richard Daniel, the late servant of John 
 Ball, which hee left in his said masters custodie when hee 
 ranne away for basterdie upon the accusation of Agnes 
 Duddridge, bee sould for the best profitt and advantage 
 towards the releafe of the bastard. 
 
 Tho. Windham. 
 
 Tho. Luterell." 
 
 The above are interesting instances of the way 
 in which the justices, according to the poor law 
 legislation of 39 and 43 Elizabeth, intervened in 
 the regulating of parish officers' accounts. The 
 justices above-named, Windham or Wyndham, 
 and Luttrell, were of the well-known west country 
 families resident respectively at the adjacent little 
 towns of Minehead and Dunster. Just one 
 example was preserved in the Luccombe chest of 
 the old form of appointing two parish overseers, 
 who, together with the churchwardens, were to 
 
 o 
 
 18
 
 274 CURIOUS CHURCH GLEANINGS. 
 
 raise competent sums for the necessary relief of 
 the aged and indigent, and to provide work for 
 such as were able but could not get employment. 
 This document, two years later than the poor's 
 account cited above, is signed by the same 
 magistrates. 
 
 " Somerset. Wee whose names bee subscribed Justices 
 of the peace within the said countye of Somerset and 
 neere unto the parish of Luccombe in the said countye 
 have accordinge to the statute in that case made and 
 provided and appointed Robert Phillips and Amos 
 Byckham together with the Churchwardens of the said 
 parish to bee Overseers of the Poore there for this yeare 
 next ensuinge. Witness our hands and seales the xxij day 
 of April, Ano R. R. Caroli Anglic etc 1635. 
 
 Tho : Wyndham (Seal) 
 Tho : Luttrell (Seal) 
 
 It is well known to ecclesiologists that up to 
 comparatively recent times, a variety of notices, 
 that would now considerably startle demure 
 congregations, were given out in parish churches. 
 Not a few Acts of Parliament, even of the 
 beginning of the present century, provide for 
 declarations and announcements being made, by 
 such officials as parish constables, on the Sunday 
 in church at the conclusion of service. But so far 
 as our acquaintance with old parochial documents 
 extends, the Luccombe chest is the only one that
 
 GLEANINGS FROM A PARISH CHEST, 275 
 
 has yielded absolute evidence of announcements 
 being made in church in the seventeenth century 
 about strayed cattle. By no means the least 
 interesting of the curious medley of fragments so 
 strangely preserved in this West Somerset village 
 was one of which the following is a copy : 
 
 " The Clerke shal give nottice on Trinitie Sondaye after 
 divine service is ended publickly in the Chuche that one 
 score and three straye sheepe hav bin vounde in David 
 Pugsley his bartone with a clippette in ye lefte eare. 
 Alsoe that a redde covve hath bene pinned by the pyndere 
 of East Luckham." 
 
 The writing is good, too good probably for the 
 village constable, and is most likely that of the 
 rector or curate. The sheep had doubtless 
 strayed off the closely adjacent Exmoor. The 
 " Zomerzet," v for f may be noticed in " vounde " 
 for " found." This paper is not dated, but there 
 can be no doubt that it is of the reign of Charles 
 the First.
 
 Adel, Porch at, 30 
 
 Ale-drawer, 100, 102 
 
 Ale at gilds, 116, 128 
 
 Alms-boxes, 188 
 
 Altar cards, 59 
 
 Andrews, William, Burials in 
 
 Woollen, 201-208 
 Anglo-Saxon crosses, 67 
 Archery in churchyards, 7 
 Arithmetical problems, 271 
 Axon, W. E. A., The Church 
 
 Porch, 29-35 
 
 Banner, 5, 153 
 Baptismal Superstitions, 4 
 Baptismal Fonts in the Porch, 33 
 Baring-Gould, Rev. S. (quoted) 
 
 53-54 
 
 Beauchamp Chapel, 173 
 Bedfordshire Crosses, 78 
 Beggars at the Church Porch, 32 
 Bellman and Funerals, 131-132 
 Bells, 2, 3, 6 
 Benson, George, What to look for 
 
 in an old church, 1-13 
 Breedon-on-the-Hill, Pew at, 
 
 151-152 
 
 Bequests for Lights, 42 
 Bishop's Throne, 163-169 
 Brotherhoods, 51 
 Brasses, How to make rubbings 
 
 of, 7 
 
 Bread -board, 4 
 Boy-Bishops, 241-250 
 Burials in Woollen, 201-208 
 
 Candle lights, 46, 48 
 Candle tenures, 4 
 Candlemas Day, 55 
 Canopied pews, 152 
 Cat and fiddle, 106 
 Celtic Christianity, 20, 22 
 Civil function in churchyard, 68 
 Civil War, 76 ; broadsheets, 258- 
 263 
 
 Chancel, females not to sit in, 147 
 
 Chantries, 170-177 
 
 Charters for lights, 40-41 
 
 Charing cross, 84 
 
 Cheapside cross, 84 
 
 Chester crosses, 83 
 
 Children, Sermon for, 53-54 
 
 Corpus Christi Gild, 125 
 
 Church Gilds, 110-137 
 
 Church Porch, 29-35 
 
 Church and Well 01 St. Chad, 
 
 193-200 
 Churchwardens' accounts, 10, 39, 
 
 42-43, 44, 52, 53, 56, 60, 141, 
 
 247 
 Churchwardens, Appointing, 158, 
 
 159 
 Coins issued by Archbishops, 1 66 ; 
 
 struck for Boy-Bishops, 248 
 Colet, Dean, 247 
 Collecting from door to door for 
 
 lights, 46 
 
 Concerning Crosses, 65-91 
 Consecration cross, 3 
 Cornish crosses, 78 
 Cox, Rev. J. Charles, LL.D., F.S.A., 
 
 The Lights of a Mediaeval 
 
 Church, 36-64 ; Gleanings from 
 
 a Parish Chest, 251-275 
 Cressets, 37 
 
 Crokesden Abbey, 227-229 
 Cross trees, 81 
 Crosses, Concerning, 65-91 
 Crusaders introduce heart burial, 
 
 225 
 
 Dancing, Fools, 97 
 Dead, Prayers for, 175, 215 
 Dedications, Early, 14-28 
 Dedications, Joint, 10 
 Demons, 102-103 
 Destroying Crosses, 74 
 Disturbance in Church, 145-146 
 Dogs at Church, 152-155
 
 2 7 8 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Doors, Oak, 3 
 
 Dowries paid in porch, 34 
 
 Early Church Dedications, 14-28 
 Edward, Black Prince, Reverence 
 
 of, 15-16 
 
 Edward I. and Boy-Bishops, 245 
 Edward the Confessor, 16 
 Egyptian Monuments, 65 
 Edinburgh High Cross, 89-90 
 Earliest church, 139 
 Easter Eve lights, 58 
 Easter Sepulchre, 12 
 Eleanor, Queen, 232 
 English Saints, 16 
 England called the ' ' Land of 
 
 Light," 63-64 
 
 Eton College, Custom at, 242 
 Excommunication, 265-278 
 
 Fables, Instructing by, 141 
 Faithful departed, Lights for, 63 
 Females not to sit in the Chancel, 
 
 147 
 
 Feast of Fools, 107-108 
 Feast of Lights, 54 
 Field Sports, Clergy joining in, 155 
 Fire of Bel, 20 
 Fire, Hearts not consumed by, 239- 
 
 240 
 
 Fleas, Destroying in Church, 159 
 Freeman on Gilds, III 
 Frescoes, 8 
 
 Fools Dancing, 97 ; Grimacing, 99 
 Font, 4 
 Forms of Prayer and Thanksgiving, 
 
 253 
 
 Fridstool, 168 
 Funeral Crosses, 73 
 
 Gable Cross, 3 
 
 Gargoyles, 3 
 
 Geddes, Janet, 144 
 
 Georgian Era, 24 
 
 Gilds, Light at, 36 
 
 Gleanings from a Parish Chest, 
 
 251-275 
 Good-fellowship, Age of, 118 
 
 Hagioscopes, 178-180 
 
 Hartshorne, Miss Emily Sophia, 
 Heart Burials of English Per- 
 sons, 224-240 
 
 Hearse, 48, 132, 209-223 
 
 Heart Burials of English Persons, 
 224-240 
 
 Hell's Mouth, 102 
 
 Henry III., 16 
 
 Henry VIII., Abolishes Boy- 
 Bishops, 249 
 
 Herbert, George (quoted) 35 
 
 Hermit's Cell, 8 
 
 Hexham Frid-stool, 168 
 
 High Altar, Continual Lights at, 61 
 
 High Cross, 87 
 
 High Pews, 149 
 
 Holly Bush at Christmas, 60 
 
 Holy Cross, Gild of, 128 
 
 Holy Water, 4 
 
 Horn-blowing Customs, 68 
 
 Hewlett, England, Boy-Bishops, 
 241-250 
 
 Images, Lights before, 38 
 Images taken in Procession, 46 
 Irish Rebellion, 263-265 
 Italian custom of burning, 239 
 
 Lambert, Rev. J. Malet, M.A., 
 LL.D., Church Gilds, 110-137 
 
 Lamps before the high altar, 38 
 
 Langford, J. A., LL.D., The 
 Church and Well of St. Chad, 
 193-200 
 
 Lanterns brought to church, 37 
 
 Latimer, Bishop, 55 
 
 Lectern, 9 
 
 Lectures, Institution of, 269-270 
 
 Legacies paid in the porch, 34 
 
 Licenses for pews, 156 
 
 Lights furnished by gilds, 46 
 
 Lights of a Medueval Church, 36-64 
 
 Lightmen, 39 
 
 Low-side windows, 58 
 
 Luccombe, Rectors of, 253-254 
 
 Lychgate, 2 
 
 Maltese Cross, 66 
 
 Market cross, 77, 86, 87 
 
 Marmion's tomb, 132 
 
 Marriages celebrated in the Porch, 
 
 35 
 
 Marriage license, 268-269 
 Mass, Lights at, 36 
 Mass for the Dead, 175 
 Mats, 140
 
 INDEX. 
 
 279 
 
 Maunday Thursday, 57 
 Meetings at the Cross, 69 
 Middle Ages, Life in the, 113 
 Misericordes, 92-109 
 Misson on Burials, 206-208 
 Monument to a Heart, 238 
 More, Sir Thomas, 145, 146 
 
 Night offices, 36 
 Night watchers, 35 
 Norman Conquest, 25 
 
 Obeisance to the Altar and Cross, 
 
 71-79 
 Odin, 65 
 
 Oldfield, Mrs., Burial of, 205-206 
 Orson, 108 
 
 Overseers, Appointment of, 273-274 
 Ozel, John, 80 
 
 Page, John T., Chantries, 170-177 ; 
 
 Hagioscopes, 178-180 
 Pagan feasts, 14 
 Pall, Parish, 253 
 Palm cross, 67 
 
 Palm Sunday Ceremonies, 68 
 Parliaments held in church, 143 
 Paschal candle, 58 
 Peacock, Edward, F.S.A., Hearse, 
 
 209-223 
 Peacock, Florence, Concerning 
 
 Crosses, 65-91 
 Penance, Public, 152 
 Penitents waiting in the porch, 33 
 
 Pews of the Past, 138-162 
 
 Pews. When came in use, 145 
 
 Phoenician traders, 21 
 
 Pilgrimages by members of gilds, 
 129 
 
 Porch, The Church, 29-35 
 
 Preaching crosses, 82, 85 
 
 Precedence of Bishops, 255 
 
 Pulling down crosses, 84 
 
 Pulpits, movable, 141 
 
 Purification, Feast of, 54-56 
 
 Puritan rule, 196 
 
 Purgatory, Belief in, 170 
 
 Plague, Use of cross during the, 76 
 
 Poor Law, 273 
 
 Rain-god, 65 
 
 Rain and the cross, 65 
 
 Reformation, Lights at, 61-62 
 
 Relics of Saints, 184, 187 
 Reynard the Fox, 104-106 
 Ringing chamber, 5 
 Ripon wakemen, 68 
 Rood loft, 10 
 Rood loft lights, 60 
 Roodee, Chester, 88-89 
 Royal arms, 4 
 Rules for ringers, 5 
 
 lushes, 141 
 
 loyal chantries, 174 
 
 Sailor, Patron Saint of, 23 
 
 Sale of Food, etc., in the circuit of 
 
 the Church forbidden, 33, 34 
 Sanctus-bell, 2-3 
 Schools in the Porch, 35 
 Scotland, Crosses in, 89 
 Scotland, Patron Saint of, 19 
 Seats, Movable, 144 
 Seats of Stone, 140 
 Secular Notices posted in the Porch, 
 
 34 
 Separating the Sexes in Church, 147 
 
 Sepulchre Lights, 57 
 
 Serges, 47, 48, 49 
 
 Sermons, Crude, 149 . 
 
 Sheep lost, Announcement of in 
 Church, 274-275 
 
 Shoeing the Goose, 107 
 
 Shrewsbury Cross, Customs at, 80 
 
 Smoking in church, 156 
 
 Some English Shrines, 181-192 
 
 Somershy Cross, 70-71 
 
 Sow as Musician, 95 
 
 Spar vel- Bayly, J. A., B.A. : Early 
 Church Dedications, 14-28 ; 
 Pews of the Past, 138-162 
 
 Squint, 9 
 
 Stocks in Churchyard, 2 
 
 Striking a light in Church, 38 
 
 Straw on Church floors, 141 
 
 Sumptuary law, 201 
 
 Sun-god, 21 
 
 St. Andrew, 19 
 
 St. Catherine, 45 ... ( 
 
 St. Chad, 32, I93> *94> Llfe of > Z 94 
 
 St. Edmund, 16, 26-29 
 
 St. Gregory, 14-15. 2O '* 1 , c 
 
 St. Hugh of Lincoln, 184-100, 107, 
 
 190 
 St. Mark's Eve, Mystic Ceremonies 
 
 on, 35 
 St. Margaret, 23
 
 280 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 St. Mary, 19 
 
 St. Nicholas, 45-46, 242-243 
 
 St. Paul's Cross, 83 
 
 St. Peter, 19-20 
 
 St. Thomas a Beckett, 18-19 
 
 St. Victoria, 25 
 
 Teaching of Lights, 62-63 
 
 Talking in Church, 142 
 
 Tennyson, Lord, 71 
 
 Tenures, Candle, 41 
 
 Thor, 65-66 
 
 Tombs, Lights Burnt on, 48 
 
 Torches, 47 
 
 Torches, Parochial, 49-50 
 
 Townley, Sir Joseph, on Pews, 161 
 
 Trial of Pleas in the Porch, 33 
 
 Tyack, Rev. Geo. S., B.A. , Bishop's 
 Throne, 163-169. Some 
 English Shrines, 181-192 
 
 Unpaved Churches, 139 
 
 Vanity to be put away in church, 
 
 142 
 
 Veneration of the Cross, 65 
 Vestments for Boy-Bishop, 246-247 
 
 Wayside Cross, 72, 75 
 
 Weeping Cross, 67, 71, 80, 81, 82 
 
 Well dressing with Flowers, 
 
 196-200 
 
 Well Worship, 195 
 Wensley Church, pew at, 153-154 
 Westminster Abbey, 16 
 What to look for in an old church, 
 
 I-I3 
 
 Wheat stored in church, 144 
 Wildridge, T. Tindall, Misericordes, 
 
 92-109 
 
 Wills, wax named in, 49 
 Windows of coloured glass, 12-13 
 Wool stored in church, 144 
 
 Yew-trees, 2
 
 LIST OF PUBLICATIONS 
 
 OF 
 
 WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., 
 
 THE HULL PRESS.
 
 " Valuable and interesting." The Times. 
 
 " Readable as well as instructive." The Globe. 
 
 "A valuable addition to any library." Derbyshite Times. 
 
 The Bygone Series. 
 
 In this series the following volumes are included, and issued at 7s. 6d. 
 each. Demy 8vo. , cloth gilt. 
 
 These books have been favourably reviewed in the leading critical 
 journals of England and America. 
 
 Carefully written articles l>y recognised authorities are included on 
 history, castles, abbeys, biography, romantic episodes, legendary lore, 
 traditional stories, curious customs, folk-lore, etc., etc. 
 
 The works are illustrated by eminent artists, and by the reproduction of 
 quaint pictures of the olden time. 
 
 BYGONE CHESHIRE, edited by William Andrews, F.R.H.S. 
 BYGONE DERBYSHIRE, edited by William Andrews, F.R.H.S. 
 BYGONE ESSEX, edited by William Andrews, F.R.H.S. 
 BYGONE ENGLAND, by William Andrews, F.R.H.S. 
 BYGONE KENT, edited by Richard Stead, K.A. 
 BYGONE LANCASHIRE, edited by Ernest Axon. 
 BYGONE LEICESTERSHIRE, edited by William Andrews, F.R.H.S. 
 BYGONE LINCOLNSHIRE (2 vols.), edited by William Andrews, 
 F.R.H.S. 
 
 BYGONE LONDON, by Frederick Ross, F.R.H.S. 
 
 BYGONE NOTTINGHAMSHIRE, by William Stevenson. 
 
 BYGONE SCOTLAND, by David Maxwell, C.E. 
 
 BYGONE SOUTHWARK, by Mrs. E. Boger. 
 
 BYGONE SURREY, edited Ly George Clinch and S. W. Kershaw, F.S.A. 
 
 BYGONE WARWICKSHIRE, edited by William Andrews, F.R.H.S. 
 
 BYGONE YORKSHIRE, edited by William Andrews, F.R.H.S. 
 
 HULL : WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., THE HULL PRESS. 
 London: Simp kin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent, & Co., Ltd.
 
 SECOND EDITION Bound in cloth gilt, demy 8uo. , 6s. 
 
 Curiosities of 
 
 Studies of Curious Customs, Services, and Records, 
 By WILLIAM ANDREWS, F.R.H.S., 
 
 AUTHOR OF "HISTORIC ROMANCE," "FAMOUS FROSTS AND 
 FROST FAIRS," " HISTORIC YORKSHIRE," ETC. 
 
 CO/STE/NTS: 
 
 Early Religious Plays : being the Story of the English Stage in 
 its Church Cradle Days The Caistor Gad-Whip Manorial 
 Service Strange Serpent Stories Church Ales Rush-Bearing 
 Fish in Lent Concerning Doles Church Scrambling Chari- 
 tiesBriefsBells and Beacons for Travellers by Night Hour 
 Glasses in Churches Chained Books in Churches Funeral 
 Effigies Torchlight Burials Simple Memorials of the Early 
 Dead The Romance of Parish Registers Dog Whippers and 
 Sluggard Wakers Odd Items from Old Accounts A carefully 
 compiled Index. 
 
 ILLUSTRATED. 
 
 press pinions. 
 
 A volnms both entertaining and instructive, throwing much light on the manners 
 and customs of bygone generations of Churchmen, and will be read to-day with much 
 interest. Keicbery House Magazine. 
 
 An extremely interesting volume. --North British Daily Mail. 
 
 A work of lasting interest. Hull Examiner. 
 
 The reader will find much in this book to interest, instruct, and amuse.- Home 
 Cliimes. 
 
 We feel sure that many will feel grateful to Mr. Andrews for having produced such 
 an interesting book. The Antiquary. 
 
 A volume of great research and striking interest. The Bool-buyer (Keif fork.) 
 
 A valuable book. Literary World (Boston, U.S.A.). 
 
 An admirable book. Sheffield Independent. 
 
 An interesting, handsomely got up volume. . . . Mr. Andrews is always chatty 
 and expert in making a paper on a dry subject exceedingly readable. Newcastle Courant. 
 
 Mr. William Andrews new book, ' Cuiiosities of the Church," adds another to the 
 
 . The book, 
 ade available 
 
 HULL: WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., THE HULL PRESS. 
 London : Simphin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent, & Co., Ltd.
 
 Elegantly bound in cloth gilt, demy 8uo., 6s. 
 
 Ofo urc Bore. 
 
 By WILLIAM ANDREWS, F.R.H.S., 
 
 Author of " Curiosities of the Church" " Old- Time Punishments" 
 "Historic Romance" etc. 
 
 OONTEUSCTS. 
 
 The Right of Sanctuary The Romance of Trial -A Fight 
 between the Mayor of Hull and the Archbishop of 
 York Chapels on Bridges Charter Horns The Old 
 English Sunday-The Easter Sepulchre St. Paul's 
 Cross Cheapside Cross The Biddenden Maids Charity 
 Plagues and Pestilences A King curing an Abbot 
 of Indigestion The Services and Customs of Royal 
 Oak Day Marrying in a White Sheet Marrying under 
 the Gallows Kissing the Bride Hot Ale at Weddings 
 Marrying Children The Passing Bell Concerning 
 Coffins The Curfew Bell Curious Symbols of the Saints 
 Acrobats on Steeples A carefully-prepared Index. 
 
 -** PRESS OPINIONS -"*- 
 
 "A worthy work on a deeply interesting: subject. . . . We 
 commend this book strongly. " European Mail. 
 "An interesting volume." The Scotsman. 
 
 "Contains much that will interest and instruct." Glasgow 
 Herald. 
 
 " The author has produced a book which is at once entertaining 
 and valuable, and which is also entitled to unstinted praise on the 
 ground of its admirable printing and binding." Shields Daily Gazette. 
 
 " Mr. Andrews' book does not contain a dull page. 
 Deserves to meet with a very warm welcome." Yorkshire Post. 
 
 "Mr. Andrews, in 'Old Church Lore,' makes the musty 
 parchments and records he has consulted redolent with life and 
 actuality, and has added to his works a most interesting volume, 
 which, written in a light and easy narrative style, is anything but of 
 the ' dry-as-dust ' order. The book is handsomely got up, being both 
 bound and printed in an artistic fashion." Northern Daily News. 
 
 HULL: WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., THE HULL PRESS. 
 London : Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent, & Co., Ltd.
 
 Elegantly bound in cloth gilt, demy 8uo., 7s. 6d. 
 
 THE DOCTORT 
 
 IN HISTORY, LITERATURE, FOLK-LORE, ETC., 
 Edited by WILLIAM ANDREWS, F.R.H.S. 
 
 CO/NTE/NTS: 
 
 Barber-SurgeonsTouching for the King's Euil Visiting Patients- 
 Assaying Meat and DrinkThe Gold-Headed Cane Magic and 
 Medicine Chaucer's Doctor of Physic The Doctors Shakespeare 
 Knew Dickens' Doctors Famous Literary Doctors The "Doctor" 
 in Time of Pestilence Mountebanks and Medicine The Strange 
 Story of the Fight with the Small-Pox Burkers and Body 
 Snatchers Reminiscences of the Cholera Some Old Doctors 
 The Lee Penny How our Fathers were Physicked Medical Fold- 
 Lore Of Physicians and their Fees A carefully compiled Index. 
 
 "A rich fund of quaint and out-of-the-way information relating to 
 physicians and the healing art will he found in the ' The Doctor ' . . . 
 got up in neat and attractive form." Leeds Mercury, 
 
 "Most interesting. . . . An immense amount of information that 
 will be new to most readers."- The News, edited by Rev. Charles 
 Bullock, B.D. 
 
 "'The Doctor' is an attractive miscellany of the type so pleasantly 
 associated with Mr. William Andrews' name, in which he has, as he tells 
 us, ' attempted to bring together from the pens of several authors, who 
 have written expressly for this book, the more interesting phases of the 
 history, literature, folk-lore, etc., of the medical profession.' The subject 
 is an interesting one. and is treated by Mr. Andrews and his several 
 contributors in a genial, gossiping, and not too abstruse fashion." The 
 Times. 
 
 "The volume, besides being readable and entertaining lo all who are 
 interested in bygone fashions and characters of the medical profession, is of 
 some value as a work of reference on its antiquities . . . An admirable 
 index. " Scotsman. 
 
 "An excellent volume. . . . The book is elegantly got up."- 
 Chester Courant. 
 
 HULL: WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., THE HULL PRESS. 
 London : Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent, & Co., Ltd.
 
 Elegantly Bound, Crown 8vo., price 2s. 6d. 
 
 Faceg oq the Queen's . Highway, 
 
 By FLO. JACKSON. 
 
 THOUGH oftenest to be found in a pensive mood, the writer 
 of this very dainty volume of sketches is always very sweet 
 and winning. She has evidently a true artist's love of 
 nature, and in a few lines can limn an autumn landscape full of 
 colour, and the life which is on the down slope. And she can 
 tell a very taking story, as witness the sketch "At the Inn," 
 and "The Master of White Hags," and all her characters are 
 real, live flesh-and-blood people, who do things naturally, and 
 give very great pleasure to the reader accordingly. Miss Jackson's 
 gifts are of a very high order. Aberdeen Free Pre*.?. 
 
 A charmingly written series of sketches and stories by Flo 
 Jackson, published under the happy title "Faces on the Queen's 
 Highway." The writer possesses descriptive powers of a high 
 order, and her " visionary glimpses of the passers on the patch 
 of highway beyond the curtained window," appeals strongly to 
 one's better and nobler feelings. Chester Courant. 
 
 This volume bears the name, as its author, of Flo Jackson, 
 a talented writer, whose sketches and stories we have often read 
 with pleasure. We can promise the same experience for readers 
 of this volume, which contains some of Miss Jackson's typical 
 work in prose. "In Winter Mood," "At the Inn," "The Journey 
 of the Leaves," "Safe at Last," and the sketches in "Faces" are 
 specimens of a high standard of literary excellence. With a poetic 
 and imaginative nature the writer combines a happy power of 
 expression, and she is thus enabled to paint a picture which easily 
 arrests the attention. "At the Inn," already named, is a short 
 story, which for its artistic effect and its pathos would sustain the 
 reputation of one of our leading authors. Throughout the book there 
 is a spirit of tender refinement ; while there are numerous features 
 likely to attract the reader, there are none to repel him. The pre- 
 vailing style is as unconventional as the " introduction," which is a 
 pretty departure from the orthodox mode of bowing to the reader. 
 Bristo/ Observer. 
 
 HULL : WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., THE HULL PRESS. 
 London : Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent, & Co., Ld.
 
 legantly bound in cloth gilt, Demy 8uo., Price 6s. 
 
 Bygone England : 
 
 Social Studies in its Historic Byways and Highways. 
 BY WILLIAM ANDREWS, F.R.H.S. 
 
 CONTENTS : Under Watch and Ward Under Lock and Key The 
 Practice of Pledging The minstrel in the Olden Time Curious 
 Landholding Customs Curiosities of Slavery in England Buying 
 and Selling in the Olden Time Curious Fair Customs Old Pre- 
 judices against Coal The Sedan Chair Running Footmen The 
 Early Days of the Umbrella A Talk about Tea Concerning Coffee 
 The Horn Book Fighting Cocks in Schools Bull Baiting The 
 Badge of Poverty Patents to wear Nightcaps A Foolish Fashion 
 Wedding Notices in the Last Century Selling Wives The Story of 
 the Tinder Box The Invention of Friction matches Body Snatching 
 Christmas under the Commonwealth Under the mistletoe Bough 
 A carefully prepared Index. 
 
 " We welcome 'Bygone England.' It is another of Mr. Andrews' 
 meritorious achievements in the path of popularising archaeological 
 and old time information without in any way writing down to an 
 ignoble level." The Antiquary. 
 
 "A delightful volume for all who love to dive into the origin of 
 social habits and customs, and to penetrate into the byways of 
 history." Liverpool Daily Post. 
 
 " There is a large mass of information in this capital volume, and it 
 is so pleasantly put that many will be tempted to study it. Mr. 
 Andrews has done his work with great skill." London Quarterly 
 Review. 
 
 Bound in cloth gilt, demy 8vo., price 7s. 6d. Only 500 copies 
 printed, and each copy numbered. 
 
 The Monumental Brasses of Lancashire 
 and Cheshire. 
 
 With some Account of the Persons Represented. 
 
 Illustrated with Engravings from Drawings by the Author. 
 
 By JAMES L. THORNELY. 
 
 " Mr. Thornely's book will be eagerly sought by all lovers of 
 monumental brasses. "London Quarterly Review. 
 
 " Local archaeologists will give a hearty welcome to this book/'- 
 Manchester Guardian. 
 
 " Mr. Thornely has produced a very interesting volume, as he has 
 not only figured every monumental brass within the two counties to 
 which he has confined his researches, but in every case he has given a 
 description also, and in some instances the genealogical information 
 is of a high order of value." The Tablet. 
 
 "The book is wonderfully readable for its kind, and is evidently 
 the result of careful and painstaking labour. The chapters are well 
 condensed, nowhere burdened with verbiage, yet sufficiently full to 
 serve the purpose in view. The illustrations of the various brasses 
 are exceedingly well done, and add much value and interest to the 
 work, which should become popular in Lancashire and Cheshire. "- 
 Warrington Guardian. 
 
 HULL : WILLIAM ANDREWS & CO., THE HULL PRESS. 
 London : Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent, & Co., Ltd.
 
 Just published. Crown 8vo., 330 pp. A Portrait of the Author, 
 and other Illustrations. Price 3/6. 
 
 (Reb, (Re* TEine, 
 
 BY THE REV. J. JACKSON WRAY. 
 
 " This, as its name implies, is a temperance story, and is told in the 
 lamented author's most graphic style. We have never read anything so 
 powerful since ' Danesbury House,' and this book in stern and pathetic 
 earnestness even excels that widely-known book. It is worthy a place in 
 every Sunday School and village library ; and, as the latest utterance of 
 one whose writings are so deservedly popular, it is sure of a welcome. It 
 should give decision to some whose views about Local Option are 
 hazy." -Joyful News. 
 
 " The story is one of remarkable power." The Temperance Recora. 
 
 " An excellent and interesting story." The Temperance Chrotiicle. 
 
 "It is written in a graphic and conversational style, abounding with 
 rapidly-succeeding incidents, which arrest and sustain the interest of the 
 reader." The League Journal . 
 
 " It is just the right sort of book for a prize or present, and should find a 
 place in every Band of Hope and Sunday School library." The Abstainer's 
 Advocate. 
 
 " A pathetic interest attaches to this volume, it being the last legacy of 
 Mr. Jackson Wray. It is a story with a purpose to advocate the claims 
 of total abstinence. The plot is laid in a small village of the East Riding 
 of Yorkshire, and the author sketches the awful ravages of intemperance in 
 that small community. The victims include a minister, doctor, and many 
 others who found, when too late, that the red, red wine biteth like a serpent. 
 Though terribly realistic, the picture is drawn from life, and every tragical 
 incident had its counterpart among the dwellers in that village. It is a 
 healthy and powerful temperance tale, and a fearless exposure of the quiet 
 drinking that was so common in respectable circles thirty years ago. It 
 should find a place in our school libraries, to be read by elder scholars." 
 Ale'hodist Times. 
 
 "This is a powerful story, the last from the pen of an indefatigable 
 worker and true friend of the total abstinence cause. The scene of the o'er 
 true tale is laid in East Yorkshire, the author's native district, which he 
 knew and loved so well. The characters appear to be drawn from life, and 
 every chapter has a vivid and terrible interest. The friendship between 
 old Aaron Brigham and Little Kitty is touching. The tale of trouble, 
 sorrow, and utter ruin wrought by the demon of strong drink might well 
 rouse every man, woman, and child to fight the destroyer, which, in the 
 unfolding of the story, we see enslaving minister and people, shaming the 
 Christian Church, breaking hearts all round, and wrecking the dearest 
 hopes of individuals and families. A striking and pitiful tale, not 
 overdrawn. Alliance News. 
 
 Hull : William Andrews & Co., The Hull Press. 
 London : Simpkin, Marshall, Hamilton, Kent & Co , Ltd. 
 And all Booksellers.
 
 UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LIBRARY 
 
 Los Angeles 
 
 is DUE on the last date stamped below. 
 
 iU-liv.
 
 PLEASE DO NOT REMOVE 
 
 THIS BOOK CARDn 
 
 University Research Library