THE HISTORY OFMORLEY. 
 
 BY WILLIAM SMITH.F.S.A.S.&c.
 
 THE LIBRARY 
 OF 
 
 THE UNIVERSITY 
 
 OF CALIFORNIA 
 
 LOS ANGELES 
 
 m ,?'-'f 
 
 iff 
 
 
 ffl$8 (1 
 
 m if]
 
 THE HISTORY OF MORLEY
 
 From Flioto^Tapli by Braithwaite Leeds
 
 THE 
 
 HISTORY AND ANTIQUITIES 
 
 OF 
 
 MORLEY, 
 
 JJn tfje E2Eest &toing of t&e ountg of 
 
 WITH UPWARDS OF ONE HUNDRED ILLUSTRATIONS. 
 
 SMITH, F.S.A..S., 
 
 AUTHOR OF "ADVENTURES WITH MY ALPEN-STOCK AND CARPET- BAG: on A THREE 
 WEEKS' TRIP TO FRANCE AND SWITZERLAND;" "A YORKSHIREMAN'S TRIP TO 
 ROME;" "RAMBLES ABOUT MORLEY;" "THE CHRONICLES OF MORLEY;" ETC., ETC. 
 
 Subscribers' (Eopg. 
 
 LONDON : 
 
 LONGMANS, GREEN, & CO., PATERNOSTER ROW. 
 
 1876.
 
 [ENTERED AT STATIONERS' HALL.] 
 
 MORLEY : 
 PRINTED BY S. STEAD, "OBSERVER" OFFICE, COMMERCIAL STREET,
 
 College 
 Library 
 
 TO 
 
 SIE TITUS SALT, BAET., J.P., D.L., 
 
 OF SALTAIEE AND CEOW NEST. 
 
 DEAR SIB, 
 
 Allow me to thank you most sincerely for the 
 
 permission, so politely and readily granted, to dedicate to you this 
 humble attempt to make the inhabitants of Morley better acquainted 
 with their ancestors and the history of the place in which, by the order 
 of Providence, they first saw the light. 
 
 Al 
 
 1221610
 
 vi. DEDICATION. 
 
 I esteem it a high gratification to be permitted to dedicate this 
 work to you, a native of Morley, not more noble by the rank into 
 which our Sovereign has raised you, and by your social position, than 
 by the virtues with which you adorn the station in which you are 
 placed. 
 
 Your benevolence and kindness are virtues of the highest order, in 
 as much as they are both liberal, diffusive, and universal. Not 
 narrowed by party prejudice, nor bounded by the limits of party 
 connection or local circumstances, your generosity has scarcely known 
 any bounds, but purified, strengthened, and animated by Christian 
 principle, it has been steady, uniform, and persevering. Of your public 
 career it may with truth be said, that your eloquence has been more 
 that of deeds than one of words. While others have spent a lifetime 
 in endeavouring to define benevolence, you have studied the practice 
 of it; and like your Divine Master, whose example you have copied, 
 you have gone about "continually doing good." 
 
 During a long and laborious life, you have rendered noble services 
 to the cause of humanity, of social progress, and of religion. To 
 furnish employment for thousands of your countrymen ; to supply the 
 pressing needs of the really indigent and necessitous; to assuage the 
 sorrows of poverty overtaken by sickness or cast down by misfortune ; 
 " to smooth the furrowed cheek, and make the winter of age wear 
 the aspect of spring;" to be a father to the helpless orphan; to 
 relieve the distress and yet spare the blushes of those who have 
 known better days; to help the cause of religion when struggling 
 with worldly difficulties; these have been your employment these the 
 objects of your beneficence these the offices of mercy in which you 
 have delighted. 
 
 As a tribute of respect, for your public spirit and services, this 
 Work is dedicated to you, by 
 
 Your Obliged and Humble Servant, 
 
 WILLIAM SMITH. 
 
 MOELEY, JUNE 1ST, 1876.
 
 PREFACE. 
 
 The purpose of this book is, to present the reader with a succinct 
 account, historical and topographical, of a locality, which both on 
 account of its ancient history and its modern manufactures, is not 
 unknown to fame. 
 
 In the year 1830, Norrisson Scatcherd, Esq., published his HISTORY 
 OP MORLEY, which, though displaying considerable research and 
 antiquarian knowledge, and being, in its information, both valuable 
 and curious, yet cannot, in any sense, be considered as a popular or 
 comprehensive account of the place. It is rather the history of the 
 times and persons more intimately associated with the Old Chapel ; 
 the portion devoted to the general history and manufactures of the 
 town is very meagre, besides being prolix to all but antiquarian 
 readers. In addition to this, nearly half a century has passed away 
 since Mr. Scatcherd's book was published, and the mere lapse of time 
 must have rendered it, in many respects, obsolete, even if no new 
 information had come to light respecting the Old Chapel and other 
 portions of the History. 
 
 I cannot, however, omit to acknowledge my obligations to the 
 painstaking and laborious writer just mentioned, for which, in every 
 case, due acknowledgement is made; and my object in quoting 
 somewhat freely from his book, has been to render it by compression 
 and elucidation more useful and acceptable to the general reader. 
 
 To those who may read this work, I would further say that, 
 notwithstanding the labour and difficulty of collecting so much varied 
 information, and the liability to error hi regard to names and dates, 
 I have spared no pains to ensure accuracy, to write impartially, to 
 avoid misrepresentation, and I have not wilfully falsified facts or led 
 my readers into error.
 
 viii. PKEFACE. 
 
 I have, as far as possible, adopted an easy and familiar style of 
 writing, in order to render the book agreeable to the various classes 
 of readers who may favour it with a perusal. I have, purposely, 
 avoided reference to many of the authorities I have consulted, and 
 have not larded the pages with explanatory notes, being of opinion 
 that what was not worthy of being inserted in the body of the work, 
 might as well be left out altogether. 
 
 To my friend, Charles A. Federer, Esq., of Bradford, I am anxious 
 to express my grateful acknowledgements, for his kindly aid in pre- 
 paring the copious index at the end of the work, and in supplying 
 several valuable items of information. To Messrs. J. Horsfall Turner, 
 of Idle, Simeon Rayner, of Pudsey, and Thomas P. Empsall, of 
 Bradford, my thanks are due for several obliging communications. 
 For the gift or loan of several photographs and engravings (possibly 
 not the least interesting feature in the book) I am indebted to Sir 
 Titus Salt, M. Rhodes, Esq., J. Lumley, Esq., and Messrs. Lockwood 
 and Mawson, of Bradford; W. II. Parkinson and George Mallinson, 
 Esquires, of Leeds; Messrs. T. Harrison and Sons, of Bingley; E. 
 Eldon Deane, Esq., of London ; Messrs. S. Law and Sons, W. Kempe 
 and Co., Joseph Rhodes and Sons, Houghton, Kuowles, and Co., and 
 some others. 
 
 This work having been written during the intervals of leisure, found 
 hi the midst of an active business life, indulgence is asked for any 
 mistakes or errors which may unintentionally have been made. 
 
 W. S. 
 MORLEY, JUNE, 1876.
 
 CONTENTS 
 
 Page 
 
 HISTORICAL NOTICES ... 1 
 
 ETYMOLOGIES 10 
 
 BOUNDARIES 17 
 
 WAPENTAKE 19 
 
 THE LORDS OF MORLEY 21 
 
 SCENERY AND GEOLOGICAL FEATURES ... 45 
 
 AGRICULTURE 49 
 
 DOMESTIC ARCHITECTURE 52 
 
 MEANS OF COMMUNICATION ... ... ... G2 
 
 LOCAL GOVERNMENT ... ... ... GS 
 
 SOCIAL CONDITION AND HABITS ... SO 
 
 ANCIENT CUSTOMS AND AMUSEMENTS ... 84 
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES 94 
 
 ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY 124 
 
 LITERARY AND EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS ... 199 
 
 INDUSTRIAL AND PROVIDENT SOCIETIES 204 
 
 THE WOOLLEN AND UNION CLOTH MANUFACTURE 207 
 
 APPENDICES ... 249 
 
 INDEX ... 253 
 
 LIST OF SUBSCRIBERS
 
 LIST OF ILLUSTRATIONS, 
 
 Portrait of the Author ... ... ... ... to face Title Page. 
 
 Old Manor House ... ... ... ... ... 1 
 
 Arms of Lacy ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 5 
 
 Manor House ... ... ... ... ... ... 22 
 
 Arms of Beeston ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 24 
 
 Arms of Lisle ... ... ... ... ... ... 26 
 
 Arms of Savile ... ... ... ... ... .. ... 30 
 
 Howley Hall (from an old Engraving) ... ... ... 31 
 
 Howley Ruins ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 35 
 
 Arms of Dartmouth ... ... ... ... ... 44 
 
 Old Houses, Pinfold, and Town's Quarry ... ... ... ... 53 
 
 Old House and Gateway ... ... ... ... 55 
 
 MorleyHall ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 57 
 
 Mount Pleasant ... ... ... ... ... 58 
 
 Thornfield House ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 58 
 
 Osborne House ... ... ... ... ... 59 
 
 Carrier's Waggon ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 65 
 
 Waterworks Pumping Station ... ... ... ... 77 
 
 Offices of the Local Board ... ... ... ... ... ... 79 
 
 Ducking Stool... ... ... ... .. ... 88 
 
 Portrait of Sir Titus Salt, Bart. ... ... ... ... ... 95 
 
 Arms of Salt ... ... ... ... ... ... 95 
 
 Saltaire ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 96 
 
 Saltaire Mills... 97 
 
 Saltaire Congregational Church ... ... ... ... ... 99 
 
 Saltaire Club and Institute ... ... ... ... 100 
 
 Saltaire Elementary Schools... ... ... ... ... ... 101 
 
 Crow Nest, the Seat of Sir Titus Salt, Bart. ... ... 103 
 
 Portrait of Norrisson Scatcherd, Esq. , F. S. A. . . . ... ... ... 107 
 
 Morley House ... ... ... ... ... ... 108 
 
 Portrait of Manoah Rhodes, Esq., J. P. ... ... ... ... 118 
 
 Old Chapel, 1770 124
 
 LIST OP ILLUSTKATIONS. XI. 
 
 Page. 
 
 Anglo-Saxon Church ... ... ... ... ... ... 126 
 
 Arms of Nostel Priory ... ... ... ... ... 129 
 
 Old Chapel, 1870 ... ... ... ... ... ... 134 
 
 New Congregational Church ... ... ... ... 135 
 
 Arms of Savile ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 136 
 
 Corporal Crowther's House, Banks' Hill ... ... ... 133 
 
 Old Chapel Parsonage ... ... ... ... ... ... 143 
 
 Arms of Sharp... ... ... ... ... ... 151 
 
 Portrait of Rev. Joseph Fox ... ... ... ... ... 156 
 
 New School, Troy Hill... ... 157 
 
 Ancient Tombstones ... ... ... ... ... ... 163 
 
 Ancient Tombstones ... ... ... ... ... 166 
 
 St. Peter's Church... ... ... 174 
 
 St. Peter's Infant Schools ... ... ... 176 
 
 St. Paul's Church ... ... ..'. ... 178 
 
 Eehoboth Chapel ... ... ... 180 
 
 Portrait of Rev. J. Fletcher... ... ... 184 
 
 Cross HaU ... ... ... ... 184 
 
 Portrait of Ptev. J. Wesley ... ... ... ... ... 185 
 
 Wesleyan Chapel ... ... ... ... 186 
 
 Baptist Tabernacle... ... ... ... ... ... ... 188 
 
 Zion Congregational Sunday School ... ... ... 189 
 
 Bethel Reform Chapel ... ... ... 1 90 
 
 Brunswick Primitive Methodist Chapel ... ... ... 191 
 
 Exterior of Catholic Apostolic Church ... ... ... ... 192 
 
 Interior of Catholic Apostolic Church ... ... ... 193 
 
 Ebenezer Primitive Methodist Chapel ... ... ... ... 194 
 
 New Connexion School, Bruntcliffe ... ... ... 195 
 
 Zoar Particular Baptist Chapel ... ... ... ... ... 196 
 
 Turton Hall School, Gildersome ... ... ... ... 201 
 
 Co-operative Hall and Stores ... ... ... 205 
 
 Flemish Weaver, XlVth Century 209 
 
 Crank Mill ... ... 212 
 
 Albert Mills ... ... ... ... 213 
 
 Rag Cleaning Machine ... ... ... ... ... ... 219 
 
 Rag Grinding Machine ... ... ... ... ... 219 
 
 Shake Willey ... ... 221 
 
 Teaser ... ... 221 
 
 Card Setting Machines ... 223 
 
 Scribbling Machine ... ... ... ... ... 224 
 
 Carding Machine and Condenser ... ... ... ... 224 
 
 Distaff and Spindle ... 225
 
 xii. LIST OP ILLUSTATIONS. 
 
 Page. 
 
 Whorl, for the Spindle of the Distaff. . . ... ... ... ... 226 
 
 Spindle of the Whorl ... ... ... ... ... 226 
 
 Jersey Spinning Wheel ... ... ... ... ... ... 227 
 
 Billey or Slubbing Machine ... ... ... ... 227 
 
 Jenny or Hand Spinning Machine ... ... ... ... ... 228 
 
 Portrait of Arkwright ... ... ... ... ... 229 
 
 Portrait of S. Crompton ... ... ... ... ... ... 230 
 
 Self -Acting Spinning Mule ... ... ... ... 230 
 
 Long Handled Comb ... ... ... ... ... ... 232 
 
 Clay Loom Weights ... ... ... ... ... 233 
 
 Ancient Hand Loom ... ... ... ... ... ... 234 
 
 Portrait of Cartwright ... ... ... ... ... 235 
 
 Power Loom ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 235 
 
 Fulling Stocks 237 
 
 Fulling Machine (Side View) ... ... ... ... ... 233 
 
 Fulling Machine (Moveable Trough) ... ... ... 239 
 
 Fulling Machine (Front View) ... ... ... ... ... 239 
 
 Hand Raising ... ... ... ... ... ... , 240 
 
 Teazle Setting ... 241 
 
 Raising Gig ... ... ... ... ... ... 242 
 
 Teazle Head 242 
 
 Perpetual Shearing Machine ... ... ... ... 243 
 
 Winding-on Gig for Roller Boiling ... ... ... ... 244 
 
 Tentering Machine ... ... ... ... ... ' 245 
 
 Brushing and Steaming Mill... ... ... ... ... ... 247
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 233 
 
 forward one of these wands the warp could be passed through from side 
 to side, either by a long rod or by a shuttle. The rest of the process is 
 thus described : 
 
 " After the woof had been conveyed through the warp it was driven downwards 
 or upwards, according as the web was woven from the top or from the bottom. 
 Two different instruments were used in this part of the process. The simplest, 
 and probably the most ancient, was in the form of a large wooden sword (spatha). 
 This instrument is still used in Iceland exactly as it was in ancient times. 
 
 "The spatha was, however, in a great degree superseded by the comb (pecten], 
 the teeth of which were inserted between the threads of the warp, and thus made 
 by a forcible impulse to drive the threads of the woof close together. It is 
 probable that the teeth were sometimes made of metal, and they were accom- 
 modated to the purpose intended by being curved (pectinis unci), as is still the 
 case in the combs which are used in the same manner by the Hindoos. Among us 
 the office of the comb is executed with greater ease and effect by the reed, sley, 
 or batten." 
 
 Clay Loom Weights. 
 
 Adam, in his "Roman Antiquities" (Lond. 1830), p. 485, says: 
 
 " When the web was woven upright, a thin piece of wood, like a sword (spatha), 
 seems to have been used for this purpose ; and in weaving of Arras, of Turkey 
 carpeting, etc., in which alone the upright mode of working is now retained, the 
 weft is driven up with an instrument somewhat like a hand u'ith the Jingers stretched 
 out, made of lead or iron. " 
 
 Juvenal (Sat. ix. 30), makes Naevolus complain that sometimes he 
 gets greasy and coarse clothes badly woven : 
 
 "Et male percussas textoris pectine Galli," 'and insufficiently struck with the 
 comb of a Gaulish weaver,' i.e., the threads of the woof not driven closely enough 
 together by the comb, which then served the purpose now effected by the sley." 
 
 The comb was used by the hand of the weaver, in the operation of 
 driving home the weft, and this rude implement is still in use among the 
 Hindoos. 
 
 B
 
 234 
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 In Morley, for many centuries, the hand-loom was in use, and was of 
 a rude description. Previous to the year 1780, the shuttle was thrown 
 by the weaver from one hand to be caught by the other ; and where the 
 cloth was more than a yard in width, two weavers were required, one at 
 each end of the loom. In the above year John Kay, of Bury, produced 
 the fly-shuttle, to be driven by the "picking peg," a straight wooden 
 handle, by means of which the weaver impelled his shuttle. Fifty years 
 ago, the nick-nack of the handloom was the most familiar sound in the 
 streets of Morley, and at the present day a few of these relics of a past 
 generation may still be met with. George Eliot, in " Silas Marner," 
 
 Ancient Handloom. 
 
 has given us a faithful picture of the old handloom weaver in his best 
 days, and has drawn a contrast between the loom's questionable sound 
 and " the natural cheerful trotting of the winnowing machine and the 
 simpler rhythm of the flail." Dyer thus describes the operation of 
 handloom weaving : 
 
 "From hand to hand 
 
 The thready shuttle glides along the lines, 
 
 Which open to the woof, and shut alternate ; 
 
 And ever and anon, to firm the work, 
 
 Against the web is driven the noisy frame. " 
 " From hand to hand 
 
 Again, across the lines of opening, glides 
 
 The thready shuttle, while the web apace 
 
 Increases. "
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 235 
 
 In 1785 the power-loom was invented by Dr. Cartwright, of Hollander 
 House, Kent, but it was a clumsy machine and was never got effectually to 
 work. The origin of the power-loom 
 was as follows : Dr. Cartwright, 
 happening to be conversing with a 
 number of manufacturers whom he 
 casually met at Matlock, on the 
 merits of Arkwright's spinning- 
 jenny, suggested that machinery for 
 weaving ought to be invented, if 
 they were to keep pace with the 
 spinning. The idea was ridiculed, 
 but the Kentish clergyman nursed 
 the idea, and although at that time 
 he had never even seen a weaver at 
 work, he set about the task of 
 inventing the power-loom. Within 
 the last thirty years two thousand power-looms have been set to work 
 in Morley, and are chiefly attended to by upgrown females, under the 
 
 Dr. Cartwright. 
 
 Power Loom. 
 
 supervision of men called "tuners." The earnings of these females 
 average about thirteen shillings per week ; and so great is the demand 
 for power-loom weavers, that it is all but impossible to secure a supply 
 of domestic servants.
 
 236 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 In the simplest form of power-loom, such as is used for plain union 
 cloth, the threads required for the warp are wound to the necessary 
 length, on a horizontal cylinder as long as the breadth of the intended 
 fabric, and are so attached to levers that every other thread is first 
 raised, and then depressed, by the alternate action of the loom. As they 
 are thus separated, the shuttle flies between them, carrying the woof 
 thread, which is instantly driven home to that last placed by the stroke 
 of the beam ; and the series of warp threads that were above the woof 
 thread at one passage come to lie below it at the next. A simple stripe 
 in the- warp can be managed upon a similar loom; but a twill, diagonal, 
 ribbed, or other so-called "fancy" weaving, or the production of a 
 varied pattern, will require more complicated machinery, such as many 
 bobbins, instead of a single cylinder, to carry the warp, and arrange- 
 ments by W 7 hich the warp threads may be lifted in some irregular or 
 varied order. 
 
 Notwithstanding the comparative perfection at which the power-loom 
 and other woollen machinery has arrived, improvements are still beiug 
 constantly made, hence 
 
 ' ' Amidst the dust, and speed, and clamour, 
 Of the loom shed and the mill, 
 "Midst the clank of wheel' and hammer, 
 Great results are growing still. " 
 
 The power-loom, well adapted for the cotton warps, was introduced 
 into Morley by Mr. Matthew Smith, when the haudlooms began to 
 rapidly disappear from the cottages of the operatives. 
 
 11. BUKLING. The weft and warp having now assumed, with the 
 aid of the loom, the character of cloth, it is carefully inspected by 
 women called " burlers," who, with strong-pointed nippers, pluck out 
 all knots or other imperfections in the yarn, and also remove from the 
 surface of the cloth all inequalities or irregularities made in the weaving. 
 The cloth is then hung over a wide frame or " perch," in a good light, 
 and any imperfection which may have escaped the notice of the burler, 
 is seen by the " taker-in," whose duty it is to call the attention of the 
 weaver to bad workmanship. 
 
 12. MILLING. This operation requires much skill and care, in order 
 to cleanse the piece from the grease it contains, and so to "felt" the 
 cloth that it shall reach the required width in proper condition. Twenty 
 years ago, all the milling in this locality was done by means of the 
 " fulling stocks," but these have made way for the " milling machine," 
 which thickens or " mills " the cloth to the required substance with less 
 waste and loss of weight, than was occasioned by the old method.
 
 H1STOBY OF MOELEY. 
 
 237 
 
 The fulling stock is of ancient invention ; no one can tell when it was 
 first used in this country, nor by whom it was introduced. It was in 
 use in Spain a long time ago, and is mentioned by Cervantes, when he 
 calls the machines "Fulling hammers," which shows that "fallers" 
 were then used. Sixty years ago, the fulling of cloth was only carried 
 on in places where water power was plentiful, and the Morley clothiers 
 of that day had to prepare the cloth at home, and then take it to 
 Ilunslet, Harewood, or more generally to Greenwood's mill at Dewsbury. 
 
 Fulling Stocks. 
 
 We have listened with great interest to the tales of some clothiers 
 when speaking of those milling days of yore. Greenwood's mill was 
 situated in a lovely spot, surrounded by fine meadows and scenery ; and 
 near to the mill ran the river, which furnished a stream by which the 
 ponderous water wheel was turned. The clothier was glad, rather than 
 otherwise, to make a journey to this spot : it was a kind of relief to the 
 monotony of home a change of scenery, and made him intimate with a 
 number of boon companions ; for he had to stay sometimes two or three
 
 238 HISTOKY OP MOBLEY. 
 
 days until his turn came, and he could carry the cloth back in a milled 
 state. 
 
 In the fulling mills we have an instance of the origin of surnames. 
 "Walker" reminds us of the early fashion of treading out the cloth 
 before the invention of the stocks. In Wicklyffe's version of the story 
 of Christ's transfiguration, he speaks of his clothes shining so as no 
 
 Fig. 1. Fulling Machine. 
 
 ' ; fullere or walkere of cloth" may make white upon earth. Langland, 
 writing of this mode of fulling, says : 
 
 'Cloth that cometh fro the wevyng 
 Is naught comely to wear 
 Til it be fulled under fool, 
 Or in fullying stokkes, 
 Washen well with water 
 And with tasselas cracched 
 Y-touked, and y-tented 
 And under taillours hande." 
 
 The " fulling stocks '' consisted of heavy wooden mallets, driven by a 
 revolving wheel, after the manner of tilt hammers. After the cloth had 
 been saturated with a hot solution of soap, it was placed in the trough, 
 ready for the action of the " fallers." By means of projecting cogs on 
 the wheel, the two ponderous mallets alternately rose and fell, each as 
 it descended striking the cloth with a heavy blow. The felting was 
 continued until the cloth was fulled to the required extent. Fuller's 
 earth was long used in Morley for scouring and fulling purposes, but 
 soap is now preferred
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 239 
 
 The fulling process is now performed by a machine called the " milling 
 machine," which is more convenient than the stocks, does the work in a 
 shorter time, and requires 
 less soap. It consists of 
 a strong iron framework, 
 A A, Fig. 1, supporting a 
 wooden case B B, which is 
 screwed on to it ; C C are 
 strong cogwheels, the lower 
 one of which is set in 
 motion by the dram K, 
 Fig. 3. On the axis of these 
 wheels are fixed two narrow 
 wooden rollers, which are F1 * 2 " Moveable To(l of TrouglK 
 
 shown in section in Fig. 2 ; the lower one, D, has a copper flange on 
 each side, the use of which will be noticed presently. On a horizontal 
 
 Fig. 3. Fulling Machine. 
 
 line, passing between these rollers, there is fixed a sort of trough or 
 shoot, F, a part of the top of which is moveable on a hinge, as shown 
 in Fig. 2 : at the end of this moveable lid there is a kind of box, H, in 
 which weights are placed. The upper roller E is pressed on by the
 
 240 
 
 HISTOKY OF MOELEY. 
 
 springs S, Fig 1 . 1, the force with which they press downwards being 
 regulated by the nuts at the ends of the rods attached to the springs. 
 The cloth is shown in Fig. 3, in the position which it occupies while 
 being milled ; the two ends of the cloth are fastened together so as to 
 form an endless cloth. Passing through two holes in the piece of wood 
 0, the two parts of the cloth pass together over and between guide 
 rollers until the united cloths pass between the rollers E D, being kept 
 in place by the copper flange before mentioned. The action of these 
 rollers forces the cloth on into the trough F, where it is doubled and 
 folded up in the way represented, the weights in the box II preventing 
 it from passing freely out of the trough. The force thus exerted between 
 the rollers and in the trough has the effect of milling the cloth, and 
 
 Hand Raising. 
 
 causing the fibres to felt together, just as in the stocks. Soap is added 
 by being poured on the cloth in front of the machine, as it is at work, 
 the doors D D being made to open for that purpose. 
 
 In the course of a few hours, by the combined action of heat, friction, 
 and moisture, the cloth is milled or felted, i.e., the fibres of the wool 
 interlock into each other, thereby forming, as it were, a new matted 
 surface on the cloth. After the cloth has shrunk to the required width, 
 it is scoured with great care and attention, in order to remove both the 
 oil and soap which have been used in the process. 
 
 13. EAISING THE NAP. This, the first of many processes which 
 come under the head of "finishing" the cloth, is a most interesting and
 
 HISTOBY OF MOKLEY. 
 
 241 
 
 curious operation. Raising was formerly done entirely by hand, arid 
 was very laborious employment, insomuch that it was customary to 
 allow the men a plentiful supply of beer, in addition to money payment. 
 The raising gig, introduced into Morley about the year 1836, was a 
 great improvement upon the " dubbing, nellying, and cross-raising " by 
 hand. The raising of the points from the fibres of the cloth is done by 
 means of teazles, the ripe heads of a thistle-like plant, called Dipsacus 
 
 Teazle Setting. 
 
 Fullonium. This plant is cultivated in Wilts, Essex, Yorkshire, and 
 many parts of France. 
 
 In Willsford's "Nature's Secrets" it is said, " Tezils, or Fuller's 
 Thistle, being gathered or hanged up in the house, where the air may 
 come freely to it upon the alteration of cold and windy weather will 
 grow smoother, and against rain will close up its prickles." The 
 occupation of tayseler is referred to in an old statute of Edward IV. 
 " Item, that every fuller, from the said feast of St. Peter, in his craft
 
 242 
 
 HISTOEY OP MOELEY. 
 
 and occupation of fuller, rower, or tayseler of cloth, shall exercise and 
 use taysels and no cards, deceitfully impairing the same cloth." 
 
 
 Raising Gig. 
 
 The teazles are arranged in oblong iron frames, which are placed on 
 the circumference of a revolving drum, and there is an arrangement of 
 
 rollers, for exposing the cloth to the 
 prickly points of the teazle. The 
 use of the teazle for "finishing" 
 purposes is somewhat remarkable, 
 since it has never yet been superseded 
 by mechanical appliances. Its hooked 
 scales or points are better suited than 
 wire for raising the nap, because 
 whilst strong enough to do this, they 
 yield and break under circumstances 
 where wire would by its resistance 
 cause injury to the cloth. The gig- 
 mill is of various forms, but in all the 
 Teazle Head. cloth moves in a contrary direction 
 
 to the dram, and with a much slower motion. When the cloth leaves
 
 HISTOEY OF HOELEY. 
 
 243 
 
 the gig, it presents a very rough and uneven surface, the raised points 
 of wool being of unequal length, and requiring cutting or shearing to a 
 uniform level. 
 
 14. SHEAEING. Seventy years ago, the raised goods were handed 
 over to workmen called "croppers," who cut the surface of the cloth 
 with shears. Persons now living remember the time when shearing was 
 entirely done by hand, and the workmen presumed on their skill and 
 their value to their employers to be turbulent and disorderly in a degree 
 that rendered them public nuisances. When the catting machine was 
 introduced, it was received in Morley with determined opposition, 
 though without those acts of violence with which it was associated 
 
 Perpetua 
 
 Machine. 
 
 elsewhere. The croppers especially directed their attacks against the 
 machines themselves, and destroyed them wherever they could. 
 Connected with this movement was the rising of the " Luddites," as 
 they were called, a body of men composed chiefly of croppers. 
 
 The shearing or cropping of cloth, at the present time, is effected by 
 means of a machine called a "perpetual," consisting of a roller with 
 cutting blades passing spirally round it ; a straight piece of steel with a 
 fine edge, called a "ledger blade," and an arrangement of rollers by 
 which the cloth is brought up against the " cutting blades." As the 
 spiral revolves, it, together with the straight fixed blade, acts like a pair 
 of scissors, and cuts the nap of the cloth to the desired length.
 
 244 
 
 HISTOBY OP MOELEY. 
 
 The various parts of the "cutting machine" have to be carefully 
 adjusted, in order that it may do the delicate work required of it, and 
 for this purpose the bearings are made compensating, and are so 
 constructed that, if the ends of the cutting roller should wear unequally, 
 the bushes in which its ends rest adjust so as to prevent irregular 
 cutting. In like manner, if the ledger blade or spiral cutter should wear 
 more at one side of the machine than at the other, a similar compensa- 
 ting action takes place. 
 
 15. BOILING. This process, called "roller boiling," was introduced 
 about the year 1825, and although a very simple operation, is of great 
 importance to the satisfactory finishing of the cloth, as the boiling 
 
 Wincling-on G'g for Holler Boiling. 
 
 produces a permanent lustre on its surface which not even rain injures. 
 The cloth is wound tightly round a roller, which is then immersed in a 
 tank of hot water for some hours. This treatment is repeated several 
 times, when the cloth is placed in a cool atmosphere. Another and 
 shorter mode is, to wind the cloth round a perforated copper cylinder, 
 and to allow steam to pass through it. 
 
 16. DYEING. As this process is not carried on in Morley, we shall 
 pass over it with the remark, that blue and black are the principal 
 colours into which the Morley cloths are dyed. Formerly dyeing was 
 carried on in several places in Morley, notably at the " Leadhouse 
 dye works," in Brunswick Street, where the machinery was turned by a 
 horse-gin, for many years.
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 215 
 
 17. TENTERING. Fifty years ago, in Morley, there were numerous 
 tenter fields large open spaces of ground, containing rows of poles and 
 rails, studded with tenter hooks, on which the cloth was stretched while 
 drying. Bardsley says : 
 
 "We still speak, when harassed, of being on the stretch, or when in a state of 
 suspense, of being upon tenter-hooks, both of which proverbial expressions must 
 have arisen in the common converse of cloth-workers. The tenter itself was the 
 stretcher upon which the cloth was laid while in the dyer's hands, On account of 
 various deceits that had become notorious in the craft, such, for instance, as the 
 overstretching of the material, a law was passed in the first year of Richard III. 
 .that tentering or ' teyntering ' should only be done in an open place, and for this 
 purpose public tenters were to be set up." 
 
 Tentering Machine. 
 
 Thoresby, referring to some stairs near the bridge at Leeds, says : 
 
 "These stairs lead to the Tentures, a place so called from the Instrumental ad 
 extendendos Pannos, or in the Law Lathi of the MS. Survey of the Manner, Farias 
 Tenturartim. 'Tis observable, that the ground then let by the Lords for a pair of 
 Tenters, was but 26 or 28 yards long, cloth being then generally made either into 
 Dozens or Short Cloths, consisting of two such Ends, whereas now, to the great 
 oppression of both Man and Beast n Carriage, etc., Cloths are often above GO 
 yards long." 
 
 The occupation of the out-door tenterer is gone, and in its stead the 
 cloth was, for many years, dried in fire or steam heated rooms, but this 
 method has also been discarded for the " tentering machine," a valuable 
 invention, which not only dries the cloth, but stretches it to the proper 
 width. The machine, from its intricate construction, is costly, the kind 
 used in Morley costing upwards of six hundred pounds. 
 
 The invention is due to Mr. Wm. Whiteley, of Lockwood, Yorkshire, 
 and the saving of labour by its use was so great that manufacturers
 
 246 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 readily adopted it. The machine is a huge mass of iron work, weighing 
 about twenty tons, and yet in its working is both simple and highly 
 efficacious. The attendant, when minding the machine, stands in a cool 
 atmosphere, while the cloth is being carried through the hot room on 
 chains, having fine steel or brass hooks, which keep the cloth out to the 
 required width. The machine will dry and tenter 2,500 yards of cloth 
 per day of ten hours. 
 
 18. PBESSING. Although the cloth is cut a second time by means 
 of the perpetual, and is brushed and steamed, these processes are but a 
 
 Brushing and Steaming Mill. 
 
 repetition of those to which allusion has already been made; and 
 pressing is the only other process we need specially notice. The first 
 pressing is given to the cloth before the roller boiling, after it has been 
 brushed by revolving brushes. For this purpose the cloth is folded up 
 in regular lengths, with glazed paper between the folds to prevent the 
 surfaces of the cloth from coming into contact. Hot iron plates are 
 then introduced between each folded end or piece, and when a sufficient 
 thickness or height is made up the whole is subjected to the action of a 
 powerful hydraulic press. When the hot plates came into vogue at the 
 commencement of the seventeenth century, measures were taken for 
 their suppression, and the clothiers of the West Eiding petitioned the 
 Lords of the Privy Council for the continuance of the use of the " hot
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 2i7 
 
 presse papers and boards," as they were called. The justices of the 
 riding supported this petition, in the following terms : 
 
 " The Justices of the "West Riding to the Privy Council. 
 "May itt please your Lordshipps 
 
 "Accordinge to your Lordshipps directions by your Letters of the 29th 
 of December last upon a petition with reasons thereto annexed, exhibited to your 
 Lordshipps by the clothiers of the westridinge of Yorkeshire, for the continuance 
 of the hott presse Boards and papers, as the same are nowe in use, which wee 
 receaved togeather with the saide Letters. Our Quarter Sessions fallinge out to 
 be holden upon the 10th and 1 1th dayes of this instant January at Wakefeilde, 
 which nowe is the greatest markett and principall place of resorte of all sorts of 
 Clothiers Drapers and other Traffikers for Cloath in all theis parts. * * * 
 Wee his Majesty's Justices of Peace for our satisfaction and better discharge of 
 our dutyes and service to his Majesty, your Lordshipps and the Countrie in this 
 behalf e, have caused both the said Letters, Petition and Reasons to be pnbliquely 
 and distinctly read in the open Cort of the saide Sessions there beinge then present 
 a very great concorse of people both Clothiers Drapers and others attendinge the 
 same, requiringe them to object what they or any of them coulde either against 
 the use of the hott presse Boards and papers as they were then generally practised, 
 or against the said Reasons and allegations made to your Lordshipps by the saide 
 Clothiers. Att which time we did not finde any one to oppose the same, but of 
 the contrary a generall acclamation and concurrence of the voice of the whole 
 Countrie with the said petition. Neither hath any man sithence offered himselfc 
 to any of us, againste the same. And we doe further upon Examination findc 
 that the hott presse Boards and Papers have bene very muche in use from the 
 time of the makinge of the Lawes against them. And that the same albeit they 
 add some glosse to the Cloath yet the saide Cloath beinge withall well dressed is 
 much bettered thereby, as well by the dryinge shriiikinge Thickninge and 
 fasteninge of the same, and layinge it even and smooth from Cocklinge, as by the 
 Trial and betteringe of the dye therof. And we find that meanes of the quicke 
 and readie dispatche of the pressings of cloathes with the said hott presse Boards 
 aud papers, the poore Clothiers do prepare and make readie theire clothes much 
 the sooner. Soe that thereby they double and treble their returnes. And by 
 occasion hereof multitudes of families are sett on worke and manteyned, which of 
 the same sholde be taken away should be left without Imployment or nieanes. 
 The could presse nott beinge able in longe tyme to afford that dispatche which the 
 hot presse will doe in short tyme. And soe wee humbly take our 
 
 leaves Restinge 
 
 "Att your Lordshipps Comandment 
 
 "H. SAVTLE (of Methley). , 
 
 Ric. BEAU-MONT (of Whitley). 
 
 ROBERT CLAY (Vicar of Halifax). 
 
 Jo. KAYE (of Woodsome). 
 " Att our Generall Sessions at Wakefeilde 
 the Xlth of January, 1627-8." 
 
 When the cloth is taken out of the press, it is folded again in such a 
 way that the creases of former folds may come opposite the flat faces of
 
 248 HISTORY OP MOELEY. 
 
 the press papers and be removed at the second pressure. Hot-pressing- 
 gives a lustre and smoothness to the face of the cloth, which is further 
 improved by the brushing machine, consisting of a series of brushes 
 attached to a cylinder. In passing through this machine the face of the 
 cloth is softened by being slightly damped by exposure to steam, which 
 escapes in minute jets from pipes enclosed in a wooden box, extending 
 the whole length of the machine. After pressing, the cloth is made up 
 for the market in bales, by means of hydraulic pressure. 
 
 Having briefly sketched the processes by which Union cloths are 
 produced, we shall conclude, by naming some of the varieties of this 
 fabric, which are manufactured in Morley. These are, 
 
 Plain Cloths. The arrangement of the warp and weft in these is of 
 the simplest character, and the largest proportion of this class of union 
 cloth is dyed black, and is extensively used in the mantle and clothing 
 trades. 
 
 Satarras. Ribbed cloths, which are in demand for summer coatings ; 
 in the home trade, principally. 
 
 Deerskins. This cloth is similar in character to a twill or Venetian, 
 and is well adapted for clothing purposes, for which it is extensively 
 used in the home trade. 
 
 Beavers. A stout cloth, slightly finished on the face, having been 
 previously milled until very hard and compact. 
 
 Meltons. Medium cloths, for mantles and summer coatings, not 
 dressed or finished, except by being slightly cut and pressed. 
 
 Tweeds. A thin cloth slightly milled, and finished, and used for 
 ladies' overalls. These cloths are waterproofed and shrunk before 
 pressing. 
 
 The above are a few of the leading types, but they do not by any 
 means comprise all the varieties produced by the combination of wool 
 and mungo. Professor Archer, writing of this manufacture, says that : 
 " There is a popular prejudice against the employment of these materials ; 
 but so well are they used, and such fine goods are made from them, that 
 not one in a hundred thousand of those who wear them have the slight- 
 est suspicion of their origin. Instead of a disgrace to our manufacturing 
 industry, the employment of mungo and shoddy is a credit to the age, 
 for waste is a sin against the present and future generations."
 
 THE HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 HISTORICAL NOTICES. 
 
 1 HARK ! to the impassion'd song that mem'ry pours, 
 As up Time's vale, with outspread wing, she soars, 
 She, with bright kindling eye. ;he past surveys, 
 And robes in light the scenes of former days, 
 Makes the past brighter than the present seem, 
 (As scenes shine brightest in the ev'ning beam), 
 And while she loves their image to restore, 
 Half-sad she feels that they are here no more." 
 
 CHAKLES PHILIP GIBSON*. 
 
 |ORLEY is a township-chapelry, situate in the parish of Batley, 
 in the diocese of Ripon, archdeaconry of Craven, rural deanery 
 of Birstal, and is included in the Dewsbury Poor Law Union, 
 Petty Sessional Division and County Court district. It also belongs to 
 the Agbrigg and Morley Wapentake, and is a polling district for the 
 South- Western division of the West Riding. The chapel ry includes 
 Churwell, and the town is subdivided into the hamlets of Bruntcliffe, 
 Howley, Stump Cross, and Owlers. Morley is distant four miles from 
 Leeds, five from Dewsbury, seven from Wakefield and Bradford, eleven 
 from Huddersfield, and one hundred and ninety from London. 
 
 Morley has not been altogether neglected by county historians and 
 local topographers. The earliest mention of the place in the history of 
 this country is to be found in " Doomsday Book," which was compiled 
 between the years 1080 and 1086 ; it is there named in connection with 
 the Norman survey, made by William the Conqueror as a register of 
 the lands of which he had recently taken possession. 
 
 "In MORELIA halmit Dunstau VI Car. terrae ad Geld, et VI Car. possunt ibi 
 esse qui Ilbertus habuit sed weist est. Ibi est Ecclt*ia. Silva past. 1. leng. long 
 et 1 late. T. R. R Val XL, Sol," 
 13
 
 2 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 The following is the translation : " In Morley, Dunstan held six 
 carrucates (about six hundred acres) of land subject to taxes ; and other 
 six carrucates may be there, which Ilbert held, but it is waste. There 
 is a Church a native wood, one mile long 1 and one broad in the time 
 of King Edward value forty shillings." From a very early period 
 Morley appears to have been a place of some consequence, and must 
 have been of some importance in the 14th century when a portion of 
 the Scottish army wintered here. We have, however, no historic 
 records as to whether the place had an existence in the dark ages, long 
 before the Conquest, when the inhabitants dwelt amid the primeval 
 forests, with which this, as well as other parts of the country, were 
 covered, and which also harboured wolves and other wild animals, to 
 such an extent that Yorkshire received the name of Deira or wild-beast 
 kingdom. 
 
 We may, however, fairly suppose that Morley had a "local habitation 
 and a name" even before the birth of Christ. We have a " Street" or 
 Roman road, which stretches within the township of Morley, from 
 Gildersome Street to Tingley Bar, and it is therefore more than pro- 
 bable that the place was not unknown to the Roman legions, with their 
 glittering arms and ensigns 
 
 "Those dauntless chiefs 
 Who clad in armour bright and lofty crests, 
 Dealt death with many a ghastly wound." BYRON. 
 
 The Roman roads were of four kinds, viz.: 1. the via militaris, 21 feet 
 wide, elevated three feet and upwards above the surface of the ground ; 
 these roads were called vice stratce. 2. The viapublica, or public road, 
 about 14 feet wide, not paved but covered with glarem, or gravel. 
 3. The vice, vicinales, or private roads, seven feet wide, with wider 
 spaces here and there, for conveyances to meet and pass. 4. The 
 diverticu'la, or cross roads. 
 
 We are not in a position to state whether Morley has furnished any 
 positive evidence, beyond the above, connecting it with pre-historic 
 times, or with the Roman period. We may mention, however, that on 
 the 5th of May, 1846, an interesting discovery of bronze weapons was 
 made, at a point near to the boundary between Morley and Churwell. 
 These weapons consisted of two spear heads and five palstaves. One 
 of the spear heads is very finely-formed and well-proportioned, and 
 measures lOf inches in length. The other is of a ruder form, though 
 finely patinated, but wants the lower portion; it is 4 inches in length. 
 There is a palstave G^ inches in length, rough from the mould, and
 
 HISTORY OF MOKLEY. 3 
 
 ounces iu weight. The others, of the same type, bear the marks of 
 service ; they are the same length, and average 15^ ounces in weight. 
 A few years previous to this discovery, a large bronze palstave was 
 found in a garden at Morley, measuring 7 inches in length, and weighing 
 21| ounces. Mr. John Holmes, of Methley, a well-known antiquarian, 
 states that, from the IGth to the middle of the 19th century, antiquarians 
 attributed bronze, and in some instances stone implements to the 
 Romans ; indeed it would appear, 
 
 " It ne'er cam i' their heads t' cloot it 
 Till chields gat up and wad dispute it 
 
 And ca' it wrang, 
 And muckle din they made aboot it. " 
 
 Gradually, however, the opinion that all or most of these implements 
 were Roman has been abandoned ; and while there is no doubt that the 
 Romans did use certain bronze implements, it is now held that, as a 
 rule, stone and bronze weapons are pre-Roman and pre-historic. Pliny 
 records that the Romans used iron, in the third and fourth centuries 
 B.C., in the manufacture of arms and agricultural implements; and 
 while bronze and brass were used, as at present, for ornamental piirposes, 
 yet considering the abundance of iron at hand, it is not likely that bronze 
 would be used for purposes to which iron is so much better adapted. 
 Besides, more bronze swords, daggers, etc., are found in places where 
 the Romans never were, than in Italy itself. Ireland and the Highlands 
 of Scotland yield bronzes iu abundance ; Sweden and Denmark far more 
 and finer still. Yet these were never subject to the Romans, whereas 
 in Italy, and especially in Latium itself, finds of bronze tools and 
 weapons are comparatively rare. But in Greece and all the countries 
 inhabited by Etruscans and Phoenicians bronzes are found in abundance. 
 If we look back over past centuries we shall find that, in a manufac- 
 turing point of view, Morley has held a prominent position for some 
 hundreds of years ; yet as an ancient abode of men it is a place of still 
 higher antiquity. The date of its foundation is unknown. Like many 
 another settlement in this "land of just and old renown," there is 
 mention of it at a remote period ; but who shall say how much earlier 
 it acquired its name ? 
 
 From the before-mentioned notice in Doomsday Book we gather that 
 a great depreciation took place in the value of Morley, from the time of 
 Edward the Confessor to that of the Doomsday survey, which may 
 fairly be placed to the account of William the Conqueror, as resulting 
 from the ravages he made in this locality. The whole of Yorkshire
 
 4 HISTORY OF MOBLEY. 
 
 suffered greatly from his devastations, and Morley, which previously 
 had laud of considerable value, subject to taxes, was in Doomsday 
 Book returned as waste. William did not subdue his northern subjects 
 so easily as he, doubtless, anticipated he would; and his oppressions 
 excited the indignation of the Yorkshiremen of those days, and caused 
 great discontent. With a view to put down this discontent, and suppress 
 the conspiracies which everywhere abounded, he established the curfew, 
 which compelled our forefathers to extinguish fire and light at eight 
 o'clock in the evening. The curfew was a species of shield extinguisher, 
 called couvre-feu, to be placed over the embers of every hearth in the 
 kingdom, at sound of the bell which rang at eight o'clock. Thomson, 
 in his Seasons, thus beautifully notices the tyranny of this custom, 
 though it must be admitted that it was also intended as a precaution 
 against fires, which were very frequent and destructive when so many 
 houses were built of wood : 
 
 " The shivering wretches, at the curfew sound, 
 Dejected sunk into their sordid beds, 
 And through the mournful gloom of ancient times 
 Mused sad, or dreamt of better." 
 
 The establishment of the curfew, however, had not the desired effect, 
 and the Conqueror, finding himself still set at defiance, made a fearful 
 resolution that " he would exterminate or subdue the unbroken spirits 
 of the North." For this purpose he entered Yorkshire, when one 
 deplorable scene of devastation ensued. " The country was laid waste 
 with fire and sword, the inhabitants were massacred, religious houses 
 were desecrated, and every enormity was perpetrated." 
 
 With regard to the native wood, value forty shillings, mentioned in 
 Doomsday Book, it is necessary to explain that the above sum, though 
 small at the present day, was something considerable eight centuries 
 ago. The pound sterling at that time was a pound weight in troy of 
 silver, and its intrinsic value when in money was 3, but its extrinsic 
 value was about one hundred times more than 1 of the present day. 
 The annual value then, in King Edward's time, would be about 200 of 
 our money, and in the time of the Conqueror 80, and would be 
 considered a valuable possession in those days. 
 
 It may be well here to note that, previous to the Doomsday survey, a 
 Saxon landed proprietor, named Dunstan, held lands in Morley, as well 
 as in Gomersal, Cleckheaton, and other places, but lost all his possessions 
 by his patriotism in defending his property from the ruthless Norman 
 invader. Of the terrible devastations made by William the Conqueror,
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 5 
 
 Pope, the poet, thus writes, after having spoken of Nimrocl as the u first 
 mighty hunter," 
 
 ' ' Our haughty Xorman boasts that barb'rous name, 
 
 And makes his trembling slaves the royal game. 
 
 The fields are ravish'd from the industrious swains, 
 
 From men their cities and from gods their fanes ; 
 
 The levell'd towns with weeds he covered o'er ; 
 
 And hollow winds through naked temples roar ; 
 
 Round broken columns clasping ivy twined ; 
 
 O'er heaps of ruin stalks the stately hind." 
 
 The family of Lacy, who occupied such a conspicuous position in 
 Yorkshire, and who held Morley after Dunstan, were the Lacies, Earls 
 of Pontefract. Ilbert, to whom Moiiey was given, 
 was one of the Normans who assisted in the sub- 
 jugation of the kingdom, and had bestowed upon 
 him by the Conqueror 150 manors in the West 
 Riding alone. He was created Baron of Pontefract 
 in 1070, and built a castle at that place, and lived 
 in a degree of splendour little, if anything, inferior 
 to that of England's greatest monarchs. Ilbert de 
 Lacy is said to have built a castle on Mill Hill, at 
 Leeds, on the north side of the town, which was Arms of Lacy, 
 besieged and taken by King Stephen in 1139. In this castle Richard II. 
 was confined for a short time, but all trace of it had disappeared in the 
 reign of Henry III. When Ilbert added Morley to his Barony of 
 Pontefract, it was, in all probability, a small farming village of about a 
 score or two of houses. 
 
 Of the 2,698 acres of land within the township, we may reasonably 
 conclude that by far the largest portion was covered with timber, for there 
 were other woods of all extensive character besides the one mentioned 
 in Doomsday, which latter, it is said, was one mile long and one broad. 
 Many indications of these ancient forests are still discernible, especially 
 in the names of fields and localities. As the Church of St. Mary's was 
 said to be in the wood, all evidence points to the probability that this 
 wood chiefly lay to the North and North East of the Church and the 
 village, and extended as far as Middleton beck on the Leeds and 
 Dewsbury road. In all likelihood the Southern side of this wood 
 extended from a point above where Rods Mill now stands, down by 
 Gillroyd or Dunuingley Beck to Middletou Wood. It was customary, 
 in the eleventh and twelth centuries, to call land that was reclaimed or 
 thrown into cultivation, " terra rodata, or rode land" and we find that 
 the tract of land from Rods Mill to Middleton Beck was called, from
 
 G HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 time immemorial, "the Rods," an abbreviation of rocles or royds. 
 Gillroyd, which formed part of this tract, was so named from royd or 
 rode, and Gill, a beck or rivulet. 
 
 Another wood, of considerable extent, was situate about half-a-mile 
 to the North West of the village, and was known as Dean AVood, 
 which, doubtless at the time of the survey, included the smaller cop?es, 
 still known as Daffield Wood, Clubbed Oaks, and Clark Springs, and 
 which extended West and East down to the hospital at Beeston. Dean 
 or Den, has very many etymologies, some of which we shall notice 
 hereafter. Kemble, who wrote " The Saxons in England," gives several 
 meanings to the word. ''Den," (A.S.) says he, "signifies a forest, or 
 outlying pasture in the woods ; Den, (Celtic) a small valley or dingle. 
 Names of places ending in den (neuter) always denoted pasture, usually 
 for swine that is, cubile ferarum, or the den-lair abode of ivild beasts 
 and other animals" A competent etymological authority gives a 
 definition of the word which, we think, applies more forcibly than any 
 of the above to the Dean Wood, in Morley. He says, " the term dene 
 or dean, in its local acceptation, indicates a narrow wooded valley, 
 whose banks rise less abruptly than those of a cleft, or clough ; and, in 
 addition to a stream at the bottom, is furnished with a small strip of flat 
 alluvial land lying on its margin." 
 
 In 1322 an army of Scots wintered at Morley. In their invasion of 
 England, in the disastrous and inglorious reign of Edward II., they 
 halted at this place, which they made their head quarters, and thence 
 spread terror and devastation throughout the surrounding country. 
 Now when the bleak and exposed situation of Morley is considered, it 
 will be evident that they could only have been induced to select Morley 
 for their abode, during so long a period, by the number of its houses, 
 the excellence of its accommodation, and consequently its comparative 
 superiority to other localities. In further proof of the importance of 
 Morley at this time, one writer says, " That it was anciently possessed 
 of a respectable numerical population, is proved by the fact of the 
 existence of so rich and so cele brated a church as that of St. Mary's, 
 which would surely have never been founded in a place where there was 
 not an adequate and imposing number of parishioners. We have before 
 affirmed our conviction that the annihilation of this consequence, and the 
 decline and ruin of Morley, are to be attributed to the ravages of the 
 Scots, whose ferocious character, inflamed by a sense of national injury, 
 would bo developed by the demolition or conflagration of the towns 
 which they cursed with their presence. Our own belief is that, prior to 
 this period, Morley was the most flourishing town in the district.
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 7 
 
 As to the appearance of Morley, for several centuries after the 
 devastation made by the Scottish army in 1322, we have no authentic- 
 information. In 1523, Morley contained only four persons of any 
 consequence or position, and at that time the place, we believe, could 
 not boast of any group of dwellings worthy of the epithet of village or 
 hamlet, but scattered over an area of more than two and a half miles, 
 and rusticated by hedgerows and in narrow lanes were a few farmers in 
 their homesteads, interspersed with a very few detached cottages, 
 inhabited by people little better than serfs. 
 
 From an interesting communication made to the Yorkshire Archa3o- 
 logical Society, by J. J. Cartwright, M.A., of London, we learn that, in 
 the 14 and 15 Henry VIII., a yearly subsidy was granted to the King, 
 to be continued for four years. The subsidy roll for the Wapentake of 
 Agbrigg and Morley is preserved, with all documents of the same class, 
 in the Public Record Office, in London. These rolls possess especial 
 interest, serving, as they do, to give the names of the principal persons 
 in each of the townships named, and the relative values of the property 
 held by each, and liable to assessment, with the sums collected in each 
 place. The following extract has reference to Morley : 
 
 "MORLEY Adam Harrop for 4guds, 2s. ; Thomas Grethed for 41 gilds, 2s. ; 
 Robert Ellys for 40s. guds, 12d. ; William Tomson for 40s. guds, 12d. 
 
 Sum Gs." 
 
 We have much pleasure in drawing the attention of local historians, as 
 well as general readers, to the Subsidy Rolls of the Wapentakes of 
 Agbrigg, Morley, and Skyrack, a complete copy of which may be found 
 in the journal of the above-named Society. Of their value, the Rev. 
 Robert Collyer, of America, thus speaks : " Coming in as they do 
 before the Parish Registers, and reporting to us not only the names and 
 condition of the larger landholders, but of the yeomen, tradesmen, and 
 peasants, they form one of the most valuable side lights of the antique 
 common life in the different local centres 350 years ago I have ever met 
 with, are unique indeed, and entirely invaluable, as one tries to trace, 
 the earthward immortality of the common people, those long lines of 
 stout men and women at the foundations of the English life, who hold 
 their own, on the same spot as the primroses do on the green banks 
 and the throstles in the hollies. I can hold this list in my hand of those 
 who paid their subsidy in the Wapentake of Skyrack, and trace the 
 families by their names to the very hearthstones where I saw them 
 sitting a quarter of a century ago; compare their condition in 1840 
 with that of 1523, and see how_they have gone up or down or held
 
 8 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 their own. I suppose if these Rolls, for England, are all printed, they 
 will sparkle on all sides with points of light for great numbers of people, 
 and as the history of my mother land is changing in the hands of men 
 like Froude, from a recital of what battles were fought by the Kings, 
 to the far more vital struggles of the people so from materials like 
 these we can, in the course of time, build up again the waste places of 
 our local histories." 
 
 Amongst former landed proprietors, in Morley, we read of several 
 who were of some consequence in their day. From documents preserved 
 in the muniment room at Langton Hall, in the East Riding, we give the 
 following abstracts : 
 
 [1616 September 30.] Francis Norcliffe, Esquire, of Beeston, son and heir of 
 Thomas Norcliffe, late of Nunnington, deceased, grants to Thomas Norcliffe, 
 Councillor-at-law, his Brother, at 42 year rent, the manor of Hunburton Co. 
 York and lands in Great Gomersall, Byrstall, Heckmondwyke, a messauge in 
 Churwell, a close called Ostlenroyde, two closes called Mawnsell, two called 
 Great Bromley and Little Bromley, one called Do/aide Wood. Doffald Wood, 
 Lamb Close, * * * Overlong Close, the Home Close, land called the Tenter 
 Garths in Beeston, Cottingley, Churwell, and Mooreley, and whatsoever lands 
 Thomas Norcliffe the father, purchased of Ralph Beyston in the parish of Batley, 
 and an annuity of 6 13s. 4d., purchased of Christopher Hodgson and Isabel his 
 wife. 
 
 Witnesses. Stephen Norcliffe, Wm. Tompson, Cti. Robinson, 
 Richard Skinner. 
 
 [1627 Nov. 3, 3 Chas.] Deed Poll of Covenant whereby Sir Thomas Norcliffe, 
 of Nunnington, Knt. covenants with Sir Thomas Fairfax of Gilling, Kt., Sir 
 Thomas Wentworth of Elmsall, Kt. ; Sir Richard Young of London, Kt. and 
 Richard Brend of Howsam, gent, to levy a fine of his lands in Langton, his manor 
 of Hunburton, tythes in Batley, lands in Beeston, Churwell, Cottingley, Morley, 
 Gomersall, Gildersome, and Batley, to use of himself for life ; remainder, one 
 third to dame Katherine his wife, in lieu of Dower, and one third till her sons are 
 of age, and a third to raise portions for younger children, with divers remainders 
 over. 
 
 This Sir Thomas Norcliffe was born in 1579, bought Langton 1618, 
 being then a knight, was high sheriff in 1626, had a general pardon 
 under the Great Seal, 10 Feb., 1625-6, and died in 1628. 
 
 Christopher Hodgson, whose name appears above, was a member of a 
 family, of great wealth and consequence, hereabouts. In 1613 he was 
 living at Ncwhall. He was attorney to the Council in the North. He 
 married Isabel, daughter of Henry Currer, of Holling-llall, Esq., and 
 had two sons John and Christopher. 
 
 Ralph Beiston, or Beyston, was also the possessor of considerable 
 estates in and around Morley. His arms were : Sable, a bend or
 
 HISTORY OF MOKLEV. I) 
 
 between six crosses, croslet, botanee argent. This person would, 
 doubtless, be a successor to Ralph Beeston, who was buried at Leeds 
 Old Church in 1496, and of whom Scatcherd says, " beyond this Ralph 
 I can find no further mention of this family, except that William 
 Beeston, Esq., with Sir John Mirfield and Christopher Ward, were 
 seized of lands, amounting to a Knight's fee, in Morley, Beeston, and 
 Drighlington." 
 
 In these " good old times," as they are sometimes called, our villagers 
 were not "given to change." Empires might rise and fall, wars and 
 rumours of wars might be constantly taking place, and towns like Leeds 
 and Manchester might be receiving influxions of settlers, but here, in 
 this quiet and healthy nook of Old England, the same family stock 
 inhabited the same dwelling for generations, and from written records, 
 as well as from tradition, with scarcely the intrusion of a single stranger, 
 we find the same family names continuously transmitted, until the place 
 became quite a nest of Websters, Smiths, Crowthers, Dixons, Clarks, 
 Reyners, Brooks, Asquiths, Dawsons, Listers, Scatcherds, etc. With 
 respect to the name of Webster, of which we have many representatives 
 still living in Morley, Scatcherd says, that " the name of the first person 
 whom I can discover living at Morley, is Richard Webster, married in 
 1575 to Johan Watson Webster, like the name of Walker, arose from 
 the trade or business which the first of the name followed."
 
 ETYMOLOGIES. 
 
 " The great lesson to be drawn from the fact that Anglo-Saxon underlies, like original granite, 
 all the strata of the English life, is, that to write in it is to write for the hearts of the people. It 
 is their mother-tongue, strong, sinewy, and expressive ; and they cling to it with a fondness which 
 no change of usage can uproot, and no caprice of fashion can destroy. FKASEU. 
 
 " As we go back in history, language becomes more picturesque, until its infancy, when it is all 
 poetry, or all spiritual facts are represented by natural symbols. The same symbols areJound to 
 make the original elements of all languages. It has moreover been observed, that the idioms of 
 all languages approach each other in passages of the greatest eloquence and power." EMERHON. 
 
 |T would be difficult to settle authoritatively what, in past times, 
 was the orthography of the name Morley. Glancing over the 
 leaves of our historical authorities, we have a choice of 
 answers to such a query. In common with numerous other names in 
 those far-away generations, Morley was written in a charming variety 
 of ways. It occurs as Morlege, Moreley, Moorley, Morlei, Maurley, 
 and Morley. Such are some of the forms of the word as perpetuated by 
 the pens of our ancestors, when there was no printing to give greater 
 agreement in orthography. What its pronunciation was, on Saxon or 
 on Norman lips, may be conjectured but not decided. The above 
 transmutations do not by any means include every modification of the 
 word. Generally speaking, in the olden time, there was a large super- 
 abundance of letters employed ; and very often, in the same legal or 
 other document, would be found several variations in the spelling of the 
 same name. 
 
 As to the origin of the name, there are various and conflicting opinions. 
 Scatcherd ventures no definition, but we explain it as being derived from 
 Moor and Ley, meaning Moorfields. " Moor," in allusion to the physical 
 appearance of the district at the time it was named, and " Ley," a field 
 or fields. Baines, in his recently-published work, " Yorkshire : Past 
 and Present," writes, " Morley (West Riding) is written Moreleia in 
 Doomsday, and probably means the field of the mor or moor,"
 
 HISTOBY OF MORLEY. 11 
 
 We Lave no doubt that most of the present local designations of 
 farms, fields, and places, in Morley, are of very early origin ; and the 
 meanings of most of them can be clearly ascertained, though some of 
 the appellations have evidently met with contraction and corruption in 
 their transmission to us. We have in the township several considerable 
 elevations, known as Banks' Hill, Scatcherd's Hill, Dawson's Hill, Troy 
 Hill, Chapel Hill, Cinderhill, and Hungerhill. Banks' Hill is evidently 
 so called from its position on an eminence. We have many other places 
 named Bank as Bank Top, Bank End, Bank Side, and Bank Fields. 
 Scatcherd's and Dawson's Hills were so named from their approximation 
 to the residences of the old families of that name. As to the origin of 
 Troy Hill, we dare not hazard a conjecture. Chapel Hill was, doubtless, 
 so named a century ago, when the Old New" Chapel, as it was called, 
 was built thereon. Cinderhill is, evidently, of more ancient origin ; and 
 Scatcherd accounts for the name as follows: " From the- rugged aspect 
 of many places about Morley the turning up of much scorias upon my 
 own premises, and the name of a place at the Town's end called ' The 
 Cinderhill,' I am satisfied that -in the Plantagenet reigns, or perhaps 
 before then, there were iron foundries to the west, north, and north-east 
 of Morley. The extensive beds of cinders discovered in our neighbouring 
 woods, especially those of Faruley and Middleton, and very near their 
 respective rivulets, put the matter out of doubt. On the Middleton side 
 of the Leeds and Dewsbury Eoad (going thereto from Low Common) 
 there are still (1831) traces of a large dam, and some remains of very 
 large ovens, with thin bricks, such as the Romans used, were lately 
 discovered. But the most curious fact connected with this discovery is, 
 that these very works were actually upon, and BUT A VERY FEW YARDS 
 ABOVE, A THIN BED OF COAL, which the people of these times seem 
 little to have regarded, using timber, more than anything, for their 
 blast or smelting." Hungerhill, the last of the " seven hills," can lay 
 claim to even greater antiquity than Cinderhill. Scatcherd does not give 
 us the origin or meaning of it, but simply remarks : " It is another 
 evidence of the ancient greatness of Morley." AVe shall therefore 
 submit the following opinion thereon : This name is one of the many 
 landmarks of ancient superstition which have survived after the legends 
 connected with them have been long buried in oblivion. Ancient 
 mythology peopled every mountain with deities beneficent and 
 attractive in Roman and Grecian lands, where every tree and grove had 
 its dryad, every brook its nymph, every crag its sylph terrible and 
 dreaded when shrouded in the dark mysteries of the Northern Giant- 
 gods. Wherever the Saxon tongue and race have penetrated, they
 
 12 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 have left traces of their dark belief; the howling tempest was to the 
 Saxon peasant the whirling past of the Odin's chase ; the lowering cloud 
 arid the mountain mist were Thor's impenetrable garment; giants of 
 immense power and mischievous dwarfs were dwelling in the mountains 
 and in the impenetrable forest; thence the word "Hun," (i.e. Giant, 
 Mysterious Being, God of Thunder) is almost universally associated 
 with names of mountains, under the different forms, of Unna, lion, 
 Ilungr. Hungerhill is thus equivalent to " Hill of the Huns," and is a 
 term met with very frequently, especially in connection with places 
 where in Druidic times sacrifices were offered, as is sufficiently evidenced 
 by remains of Druidic stones, ashes, etc., found in many places connected 
 with the name Hun. There is little doubt that this eminence, known by 
 the name of Hungerhill, must in olden times have been a sacred grove, 
 where the Druids performed their mystic rites, until the Roman arms 
 destroyed the organization of their religious polity, but yet were unable 
 to efface from the mind of the people the impression of dread and awe 
 with which the sacred place inspired them, so that the place would for 
 ages be still held as the abode of the Hun or God, until Christianity 
 dispelled these dark superstitions, and bereft the spot of every mystery 
 connected therewith, leaving nothing but its sacred name, " Hill of 
 Mystery," or Hill of Hun. 
 
 In further illustration of the etymologies of the township, we note 
 that many of the appellations refer to depressions^as Morley Hole, 
 Bottoms, Hollow, Low Common, Low Moor, Low Nop Koyd, and 
 many others. There are many names which indicate the former 
 existence of moors or commons. Of this class are Upper Moor, North 
 Moor, Far Moor, Low Moor, Low Common, and others. Names, 
 indicating the situation of wells, are found in Salter Well Close, Well 
 Hill, Spout Well, Well Close, and Well Croft ; arid in some few instances 
 we have the species of trees given, as in Yew Tree House, Owlers 
 (i.e. Alders), and Nutty Koyd. 
 
 Lower Short Butts, Upper Short Butts, Short Butts, on the Low 
 Common, commemorate the prevalence of archery in days when onr 
 battles were fought, and our victories earned, with the bow and arrow. 
 Then the law of tlie land, as well as custom and inclination, made the 
 youth of the country crowd to the shooting butts. Some persons are 
 still living who recollect the time when, upon the Common, there were 
 several mounds or hillocks, about four or five feet high, and situate from 
 each other about ten or twelve yards. Mr. Nicolas, a writer on the 
 subject of " Butts," as these mounds were called, thus explains their 
 use : " Butts," he says, "were mounds of earth erected for the purpose
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 13 
 
 of a target, against which arrows were shot. They were called 
 ' rounds,' no doubt, from their form. ' In the fifth year of Edward the 
 Fourth, an Act passed that every Englishman and Irishman dwelling 
 with Englishmen, should have an English bow of his own height, which 
 was to be of yew, wych, hazel, ash, or accorne, and that butts should be 
 made in every Toivnship, at which the inhabitants should shoot up and 
 down every Feast-day, under the penalty of a halfpenny when they 
 should omit this exercise." Some weight may attach to this explanation, 
 wheii we bear in mind that the village feast was held on the Common, 
 previous to the Enclosure ; and, in fact, this waste was the " Public 
 Recreation Ground" of our ancestors. The property now belonging to 
 Mr. Charles Dixon is built upon ground where formerly stood these 
 " butts," and this ground, the north side of the Old Chapel Yard and 
 the Low Common, was certainly the village play-ground, and that as 
 lately as the reign of Charles the First ; for some of his coins were 
 found in the hedges' banks, and the village sports were on the Common 
 until 1816. 
 
 Resuming our local etymologies, until within the last few years, there 
 existed in Morley sundry clusters of houses, called "folds," some of 
 them of ancient date, and originally erected for purposes of mutual 
 protection and defence. These were known as Old Fold, Jackson Fold. 
 Swinden Fold, Bailey Fold, and some others. It may be well to state 
 that, notwithstanding "fold" has for several centuries been used, as 
 applying to a single enclosure, it originally meant a wide, open plain. 
 Of other names of fields in Morley, which may afford the student of 
 etymology exercise for his talents, we have Burn or Burnt Knowl, Far 
 Botany Bay, Toft Close, Sour Ing, Upper Holden, Far Joan Royd, 
 Upper Buntake or Bundock, High Nop Royd, Nob Royd, Spout Croft, 
 Pan Place, Upper, Middle, and Lower Mere, Hunter Lands, Pudding 
 Close, Isabel Close, Little Dog Close, Buckley Brow, Birkby Brow and 
 Flatts. Schole-croft. Sclwles or Schales was a term in our ancient 
 tongue, denoting slcells or huts. In Saxon times, when hamlets were 
 formed when small colonies of freemen associated for mutual protection 
 and were answerable for each other's conduct this would be an 
 appropriate term for the rude dwellings then existing. 
 
 Before leaving the subject, it will be interesting to indicate how far the 
 names of some of the families in Morley are territorial, i.e., transferred 
 to them from the spot or locality some time occupied by them. Mr. C. 
 Federer, in " Yorkshire Surnames," writes : " On the arrival of the 
 Saxons, they found Yorkshire a wilderness of moor, forest, and feu, in 
 which the new settler has as many difficulties to contend with as the
 
 14 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 backwoodsman in the wilds of North America. Their first work was 
 to hew down the secular trees, burn out the stumps, remove the under- 
 growth, collect the stones, in short form a clearing, but what was then 
 named a rydding, ridding, roddiug, or royd." That many such 
 "clearings" were made in Morley, is shown in the names of fields, as 
 Upper and Lower Royds, Tong Royds, Far Ing Royd, Upper Colling 
 Royd, Far Royd, Near Joan Royd, Four Royds, Brown Royd, Rods 
 Mill, and those previously mentioned. From the circumstance of making 
 these "roddings" or "royds," the Saxons became known by the 
 surname of Rhodes, Ryder, Rider, and Riding ; and when their efforts 
 to cultivate the laud were crowned with success, and the "oak-corn" 
 (acorn) grew into the stately oak, it gave the name to OaTcroyd, 
 Aclcroyd, and Akeroyd. In like manner, Boothroyd was applied to one 
 who erected a shanty or booth on his clearing. Holroyd and Hoiuroyd 
 (from hoi, low) was given to one who cast his lot in a low and flat 
 district. Illingworth is derived from hill-field, and Barrowcloiigh from 
 barrow hill, and clough a shady recess. Stoclcwell comes from Stock, 
 a dwelling, and well, the well near the dwelling. Slack signifies low 
 ground, and SlivpUy is equivalent to sheep-pasture. Asquith is an 
 instance of that peculiar metathesis which takes place in Askew 
 Akesheugh. Thus Asquith is Akeswith, the with or wath, that is, the 
 ford of oaks. 
 
 In Byivater we find how the relative aspect of the site gave the person- 
 ality of the nominee. In old Hundred Rolls such entries as the following 
 are found, viz. : " John- Above-Brook," " Thomas-Behind- Water," and 
 others. Brook, a very ancient name in Morley, is a further example. 
 Our Brooks and Bywaters are but the descendants of some early ancestors 
 who dwelt beside some shallow stream or brook. Hirst, a very common 
 name in Morley, is derived from clumps of trees or hursts. This name 
 has many compounds, as for instance, " If filberts abound it is Hazlchurst ; 
 if lindens, Lyndhurst; if elms, Elmhirst ; and if deer, Dewliirst (spelt 
 Dwerhurst, 1375). 
 
 Den, or Dean, has also given us names of a familiar kind. Bardsley 
 says that, " a den was a sunken and wooded vale, where cattle might 
 find alike covert and pasture." In this way " den " came to be spoken 
 of in connection with animal life ; and we find the ram in Ramsden, the 
 swine in Swinden, the wolf in Wolfenden, the sow in Soivden, and hog 
 in Hogden or Ogden. In like manner the words Lee, a shelter, and Ley, 
 a pasture, have given us many Morley surnames connected with the 
 animal kingdom. Hart-ley, Ox-Icy, Buck-ley, and Ship-ley, may be 
 cited as examples.
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 15 
 
 Greaves is a surname also associated with locality, and represents a 
 woodland avenue, cut out of a forest, and from this comes our 
 Hargreaves, a grove, where the hares are plentiful. Holmes is derived 
 from the "holm," or flat meadow-land near the windings of some 
 valley stream, and Knowles from the gently rising slopes in the woods, 
 grassy and free of timber. Our doughs and Cliffs, ancient surnames in 
 Morley, represent the narrow fissures betwixt the hills. Appleyard is 
 significant enough, and requires no explanation. " The Celtic ' booth,' 
 a frail tenement of ' boughs,' Avhose temporary character our Biblical 
 account of the Israelitish wanderings so well helps to preserve, has 
 given birth to our ' Booths ' and ' Booihmans.' " 
 
 Surnames of office have given us Clark, from " Clerk," as connected 
 with the Church. Cook, from an important functionary in the baronial 
 establishments of ancient times. Spencers, from " despencer," the man 
 who had charge of the "buttery" or "spence," where the household 
 store was kept. In like manner our Marshall comes from " marechals," 
 the early name for a horse-groom or blacksmith. In Foster we have the 
 "forester," in Bailey the "bailiff," and in Fowler the trapper of birds. 
 All these surnames are well represented in Morley at the present day. 
 
 The occupations of the people here, as elsewhere, have furnished 
 many of the surnames still existing amongst us. Of these we have 
 numerous examples, though many of them refer to much of our English 
 life that has become obsolete. Thackray is, perhaps, one of the oldest 
 of these surnames, and dates back to the time when the husbandman's 
 house roof was composed of thack or. thatch, and every village had its 
 " thatcher." Slater, derived troni the same occupation of covering the 
 homestead, is of more modern origin. From agricultural pursuits we 
 derive Shepherd and Calvert or " Calveherd." Also Wether ill from our 
 rams, and Day from a dairyman, of which word it is but another form. 
 
 Of the miller and his mill we have examples in Hills, Milnes, Miller, 
 and Milner. The old word for mill was " mime," hence the variations. 
 
 Coming to the good old Saxon name of Smith we find that for many 
 generations it has figured conspicuously in the annals of this ancient 
 town. Bardsley, writing of the name, says : " How can we hope to 
 do justice to it in a few sentences ? We do not know where to begin, 
 and having once begun, the difficulty at once arises as to where we can 
 end. How few of us reflect upon the close connection that exists 
 between the anvil and the smith himself, and yet it is because he smote 
 thereupon that he has got his name. As old Verstigan has it 
 
 ' From whence comes Smith, all be he knight or squire, 
 But from the smith that forgeth at the fire.'
 
 16 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 Were we to put into one community the persons who bear this name in 
 our land we should have a town larger than Leeds." 
 
 In connection with our woollen manufacture we have several surnames, 
 notably Webster, a name common in Morley for several centuries. 
 Originally it was " Webbe," then it became lengthened into the 
 masculine " Webber," and the originally feminine " Webster." In 
 mediaeval and still earlier records such entries as " John le Webestre " 
 and " Elyas le Webbe " often occur. Lister, a favourite name here, is 
 derived from the occupation of dyer. Ilalliwell gives the obsolete verb 
 "to lit" or dye, and quotes an old manuscript which says, " We use na 
 clathis that are litted of dy verse coloures." 
 
 In leaving the subject of our etymologies, we wish it to be understood 
 that the derivations are not given as indisputable facts.
 
 BOUNDARIES. 
 
 " That ev'ry man might keep his owne possessions, 
 Our father's used, in reverent Processions, 
 (With zealous prayers, and with praiseful cheere,) 
 To walke their parish-limits once a year ; 
 And well knowne marks (which sacrilegious hands 
 Now cut or breake) so bord'red out their lands, 
 That ev'ry one distinctly knewe his owne ; 
 And many brawles, now rife, were then unknowne." 
 
 WITHEE'S Emblems, Fol. 1C35. p. 1C1. 
 
 | ER AMBULATING the parish boundary (to fix its limits), with 
 all its rites and ceremonies, has been observed in Morley, time 
 out of mind, and has generally been made the occasion of con- 
 siderable festivity. The last occasion of "beating the parish bounds" 
 was on the 21st of January, 1859, the arrangements for which ceremony 
 had been made at a Vestry meeting, when it was resolved : " First, 
 the expenses of perambulating the Township shall not be more than 
 twelve pounds. Second, that a Luncheon be provided, not to cost more 
 than three pounds ten shillings. Third, that ten shillings shall be given 
 to children, in copper, to be thrown amongst them." 
 
 Early in the morning of the appointed day, notwithstanding the 
 inclemency of the weather, a large number of the inhabitants, comprising 
 many of the boys of the village, met at the starting point. The Churwell 
 boundary was first defined. Here some little difficulty had to be 
 encountered. The dam connected with Crowther's mill had to be passed 
 through ; by no means a pleasant task a person was at last found, 
 however, who was venturesome enough to take a cold bath on a winter's 
 morning. At various points of the journey stakes were driven to mark 
 the boundary. Much amusement was created by the custom of bumping. 
 Numbers of people who were not previously acquainted with this ancient 
 ceremonial, were highly tickled by the mirth and good feeling of those 
 C
 
 18 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 who were made to undergo the infliction ; the more so as the stone used 
 for the purpose was not perhaps so soft as the recipients might have 
 wished. 
 
 The boundary, as then defined, is as follows : Beginning at the 
 south-east verge of the township, near Tingley Bar, Morley is separated 
 from the township of East Ardsley by hedgerows, along " The Knolls," 
 above Rods Mill, and the boundary line, taking an easterly direction, 
 runs by Topcliffe Moor beck, to what was formerly the Ford of 
 Middleton Mill, a little beyond the Leeds and Dewsbury Road. From 
 this point Morley is separated from the township of Middleton by the 
 fringe of Middleton Wood; after recrossing the Leeds and Dewsbury 
 turnpike, the line runs past the iron works of the Messrs. Harding, 
 continuing through Broad Oaks farm, from which point Morley is 
 divided from the township of Churwell by hedgerows and dykes, until 
 Churwell Lane is reached, a little below the residence of the Misses 
 Crowther. Crossing the Leeds and Elland Road, a little above T. P. 
 Crowther, Esq.'s residence, in a westerly direction, the boundary is 
 right through the centre of Mr. Crowther's mill dam, and Morley 
 continues to be divided from Churwell by a beck, until Gelderd road is 
 reached, about one hundred yards below the end of Rooms Lane. 
 Crossing Gelderd Road, Morley is separated from the township of 
 Farnley by a stream, until the said road is recrossed opposite Rooms 
 farm ; from which point the course lies along Whin Hill, Clubbed Oaks, 
 and Dean Wood, by the beck which separates Morley from Gildersome. 
 From the west corner of Dean Wood, the boundary line runs through 
 the " Stone Pits " to the top of " Neepshaw Lane," in Wakefield and 
 Bradford Road; then crossing the last named and passing through 
 Crosby's farm, along Howden Clough beck, on to Howden Clough mill. 
 Leaving the mill to the right, Morley is separated from the township of 
 Birstal by a stream running along the foot of Birkby Brow and Cliffe 
 Wood to Howley Bridge, where the township of Morley is separated 
 from that of Batley by the said bridge, erected at the joint expense of 
 both townships. The boundary line is then along Alice Wood to 
 Howley Old Mill, and passing through Soothill Wood, near Lady Anne's 
 Well, runs along Howley and Jackie's plantations, past America Moor 
 to Stump Cross ; from whence the starting point of the perambulation is 
 only some three hundred yards distant.
 
 WAPENTAKE. 
 
 ' AGES have passed, since the vassal horde, 
 Eose at the call of the feudal lord, 
 Serf and chief, the fettered and free, 
 Are resting beneath the greenwood tree. 
 And the blazon 'd shield, and the badge of shame, 
 Each are alike, an empty name." ANON. 
 
 ' They were days when the sword settled questions of right, 
 And Falsehood was first to monopolise Might ; 
 When the fighter of battles was always adored, 
 And the greater the tyrant, the dearer the Lord ; 
 When the king who by myriads could number his slain, 
 Was considered by far the most worthy to reign ; 
 When the fate of the multitude hung on his breath 
 A god in his life, a saint in his death." CHARLES MACKAY. 
 
 ] HE Wapeutake, which derives its name from Morley, was 
 formed in the time of King Alfred, when the people were 
 classed into families of tens, over which one man was elected, 
 and held responsible, called the tytheing-man, who had to maintain 
 peace, and the laws common for their association. Ten tytheings 
 constituted a higher court, called the Hundred Court, which had its 
 officials, who had power over lands, roads, water-courses ; over weights, 
 measures, money, and order; to secure honesty, commerce, and life. 
 Certain of these Hundreds formed a Riding, Rape, Lythe or Higher 
 Court, that had charge of bridges, King's highways, general laws, 
 defence and internal arrangement over lesser courts. Some of these 
 customs are still in existence. Morley is still under the jurisdiction of 
 the Court Leet at Bradford, as regards the appointment of the ancient 
 public guardian, known as pindar and bye-law man. " Having, in 
 Alfred's time, no standing armies, the Courts required all youths of 
 fourteen years to be brought to do suit and service, to be sworn to 
 uphold the law, and to take share in the defence of the districts. They 
 fixed the time for drilling into military discipline, and appointed the
 
 20 HISTOKY OP MORLEY. 
 
 place of rendezvous, and the leaders in war or defence. These districts 
 were called Wapen-taks, because they took their weapons when called 
 upon, and touched the stone or centre when they swore their oaths." 
 
 Hovendon, a celebrated writer on these subjects, says that " when a 
 person received the government of one of these divisions, at the appointed 
 time and usual place, the elder sort met him, and when he had alighted 
 from his horse, arose up to him then he held up his spear and took 
 security of all present, according to custom ; whoever came touched his 
 spear with theirs, and by this touch of armour was confirmed in one 
 common interest, and thus from " Wapan" or " weapons" and " tac" or 
 " touch " they were called " Wapen takes." Morley Wapentake, in 
 1821, comprised four parishes; Birstal, Bradford, Calverley, and 
 Halifax 53 townships, 35,509 inhabited houses, and 176,475 inhabitants. 
 The fee of this Wapentake at one time was the property of Henry, Duke 
 of Lancaster, who dying without male issue, his large estates were 
 divided between his daughters, of whom Blanch, being married to John 
 of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, 4th son of King Edward III., had the 
 bailliwick of this Hundred or Wapentake assigned for her property." 
 
 The populous Wapentake of Morley is joined with the more thinly- 
 peopled Wapentakes of Ewcross and Staincliffe, to fonn the north- western 
 division of the West Riding of Yorkshire. Near the top of Owlers 
 Lane, in Morley, there was until a few years ago a place known as 
 " RATTEN ROW " or Rotten Row, a name of very high antiquity. The 
 meaning of the term, according to the best authorities, is Muster Row ; 
 and this, so far as we are concerned, explains its use in reference to 
 Morley. " Musters were formerly taken of the armour and weapons of 
 the several inhabitants of every Wapentake, and from such as could not 
 find sufficient pledges of their good a- bearing, their weapons were taken 
 and delivered to others." It is, therefore, more than probable that the 
 Wapentake, or inspection of arms for this district, was held on this spot.
 
 THE LORDS OF MORLEY. 
 
 " WEALTH, and the high estate of pride, 
 With what untimely speed they glide : 
 How soon depart." AXON. 
 
 LBERT, of the noble bouse of Lacy, was the first of the lords 
 of the Manor of Morley, of whom we have any particular 
 account. For his devotedness to his royal master he was 
 rewarded by the gift of one hundred and sixty-four manors hi the 
 counties of York, Lincoln, and Notts. He was a tenant who held his 
 lands immediately of the king 1 , which were confirmed to him by William 
 in the tenth year of his reign. Ilbert had further granted to him the 
 barony of Pontefract, and he held much land in Morley, which previous 
 to the spoliations of the Conqueror, was enjoyed' by Dunstan, the Saxon. 
 Ilbert died in the early part of the twelfth century, and was succeeded 
 by his sou, 
 
 ROBEET DE LACY. This baron was confirmed in his possessions by 
 the king, and subsequently founded the priory of Pontefract. A contest 
 having arisen between Henry I. and Robert of 
 Normandy, as to the sovereignty of England, 
 Robert de Lacy took the part of the last-named, 
 and for this act was, along with his son, banished 
 the kingdom. Dodsworth says: "Anno 1102. 
 Heuricus Rex, Robertum Malletum et Yvoneni de 
 Grentsniill, Robertum de Pontefracto, filium Ilberti 
 de Laceis, et potentiorem omnibus Robertum de 
 Belisuro, etc., ad judicium summonivit." After 
 the exile of father and son, the castle and honour 
 of Pontefract was bestowed upon Henry Traverse, Arms of Lacy - 
 
 who, after a few days, was murdered by one of his servants, and Hugh 
 de la Val next held the possessions, formerly belonging to Ilbert and
 
 22 
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Kobert de Lacy. After a few years' banishment the last-named was 
 restored to his estates and honours, but dying towards the close of 
 the reign of Henry I., was succeeded by his son, 
 
 ILBEET DE LACY. Shortly after his accession to the honours and 
 possessions of the de Lacies, Stephen was raised to the throne, and 
 found in Ilbert one of his most faithful adherents. When Ilbert died is 
 not known, but, having no children, his estates went to his brother 
 Henry. 
 
 HENEY DE LACY. In the year 1147 Henry did, with the consent of 
 the Abbot of Fountaynes, and in accomplishment of a vow made in the 
 time of his sickness, found a monastery for Cistercian monks, first at 
 
 Bernoldswicke, and afterwards removed them to Kirkstall, which 
 monastery he amply endowed with lands and revenues. Henry 
 died in the latter part of the reign of Henry II., and was buried in 
 Kirkstall Abbey. 
 
 ROBEET DE LACY. This person was the son of the above-named 
 Henry de Lacy. Robert died in 1193, and having no issue he made his 
 cousin-german, Albreda de Lisours, his heir. This lady was the 
 daughter of Albreda, aunt of Robert de Lacy, who had married Robert 
 de Lisours, as proved by the following extract from the Great Roll of 
 the Exchequer of the year 1311 : 
 
 "Robertas de Lusoriis rcddit compotum de viij li. vj s. viij d. ut ducat in 
 uxorem sororem Ilberti de Laci. In thesauro iiij li. Et debet iiij li. vj s. viij d."
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 23 
 
 As nearly all previous historians, who have written of the de Lacies, 
 assert that " Robert de Lacy made his half-sister his heir," we shall 
 give further explanation of the statement we have made, viz., that it 
 was his cousin-gennan, and not his half-sister, as affirmed by Dugdale, 
 Boothroyd, Whitaker, Orrnerod, Hunter, and others. In the preface to 
 the record of the Great Roll of the Exchequer the Editor says : 
 
 "A new view is opened of a very important fact in the history of one of the 
 great feudal tenancies of England, which became at length, as it still continues, a 
 fief of the Crown, the Honor of Pontefract. The original grantee was an Hbert 
 de Lacy, whose great possessions are described in Doomsday Book. From him 
 descended other Lacies, who held this fee till the reign of Richard L, when 
 Robert, the last of them, deceased without issue. On his death the fee descended 
 to Albreda de Lizours, of whom there exists a fine of the fifth year of King 
 Richard, showing her in possession and to whom she disposed of it. The question 
 is how Albreda stood related to the last Laci last seised ; and Dugdale, together 
 with the whole body of genealogists, have followed the Historia Laceiorum, an 
 historical fragment written not earlier than the time of Henry VI. , printed in the 
 Monasticon from a chartulary. The writer of this little piece of history declares 
 Albreda to have been half-sister, ex parte materna, to the last of the Lacies. But 
 as it would show a rule of descent of which it is presumed no similar instance can 
 be produced from those times, and might, if admitted, lead to general conclusions 
 that were erroneous in respect of the inheritance of feudal tenures under the early 
 monarchy, it is of importance to observe that in this Roll there is an entry in the 
 accounts for Nottinghamshire and Derbyshire, that Robert de Lizours paid 
 8?. 6s. 8d., that he might take to wife the sister and heir of Ilbert de Lasci, a 
 second of that name ; and there can scarcely be a doubt that Albreda, the issue of 
 that marriage, was cousin and heir, and not half-sister, of the last Lasci, and 
 therefore a partaker of the blood of the Ilbert de Lasci who was the original 
 grantee from the Conqueror." 
 
 Albreda de Lisours carried sixty knights' fees of the Honour of 
 Pontefract into the family of the Constable of Cheshire, having married 
 Richard Fitz-Eustace, Baron of Halton. 
 
 During the lifetime of this lady the manor of Morley must have 
 changed hands, for there is evidence to prove that in 1216 some parts 
 of the manor of Morley belonged to the Priory of St. Oswald at Nostel. 
 Burton's Monasticon tells us, that Ralph de Insula and William his son, 
 or brother, gave twelve oxgangs of land in Morley to the said Priory. 
 Ralph de Insula or de Lisle was, we believe, a member of the family of 
 Rougemonte, though Jones, in his History of Harewood, and in the 
 pedigree of the de Insulas, makes no mention of a Ralph as a member 
 of the family. At this time the manor of Morley appears to have been 
 held, jointly, by Ralph de Insula and Robert Beeston. 
 
 The Beestons appear to have possessed immense wealth, for, in 1226, 
 Robert de Beeston gave twelve acres of laud in Morley to the Church of
 
 24 
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 St. Oswald, and also twelve acres of land to the house of St. Nicholas 
 of Pontefract. Another of the family, Hugh de Beeston, gave ten acres 
 of land in Morley to the monks of Kirkstall ; and other members of the 
 same family also bequeathed land in Morley to many other institutions. 
 A notice of this family, with pedigree, appears in Thoresby's Leeds, 
 page 206. " In a list of the knight's fees in the Wapentake of Morley 
 I find that William de Beeston held in Beeston and Morley 3 Plow- 
 lands, or as it is in Mr. Thornton's MS. redde-booke, Tres carecutas 
 terra, whereof 8 oxgangs make a Plow-land 18 a Fee." Adam de 
 Beeston was witness to the noted Charter of Leeds, Anno. 1207. When 
 the connection of the Beestons with Morley ceased we have been unable 
 to ascertain. The following pedigree is from Hopkinson's MSS. : 
 
 THE BEESTONS OF BEESTON. 
 2Lmeajje. 
 
 ADAM BEISTON, of Beiston, m. dau. of Sir John Herewith, Knt., had 
 issue, 
 
 ADAM BEISTON, of B S & H of Adam, 
 m. dau. of Sr. Peter Plompton of Plompton, 
 had issue 
 
 ADAM BEISTON of B S & II of 
 
 m. dau. of Sir Robert Ughtred of Scar- 
 borough, had issue 
 
 ADAM BEISTON of B S & II of 
 
 m. dau. had issue 
 
 ADAM BEISTON of B S & H of Adam, 
 m. dau. of Mr. Pilkington, of Lancashire, 
 had issue 
 SIE WILLIAM BEISTON, of B. Knt. 
 
 living 3 Ed. III. m. dau. had issue. 
 
 In 4th Ed. II. he obtained a grant for 
 Free Warren at Beiston, Chorlewell, and Cotingley. He had one-third 
 part of a Knight's fee in Beeston, held of the Honor of Pomfret. 
 
 KALPH BEISTON of B. Esq. S & H of Sir Will. m. dau. of 
 
 had issue Will and young Ealph, John, Matthew, Miles, and 
 
 Isabel. In Ed. III. he paid 25s. Relief for a fourth part of a Knight's 
 Fee in Beeston. 
 RALPH BEISTON of B. Esq. m. Margt. dau. of Mr. Langtou of 
 
 Arms of Beeston.
 
 HISTOHY OF MOELEY. 25 
 
 Huddleston, had issue Will, Ralph, Tho. This Ralph gave to Kirkstall 
 Abbey 4 acres of meadow in Beeston, also the meadow at Hulbeck rode. 
 
 WILLIAM BEESTON of B. Esq. S & H of Ralph, m. Eliz. dau. of 
 John Boffevile of Chevet, Esq. had issue Ralph, Bryan, Will (m. dau. of 
 Gilbert Legh of Middleton, Esq.) Agnes, and Joanna. 
 
 RALPH BEESTON of B. Esq. S & H of Will. m. Jane dau. of Richard 
 Green of Newby, Esq., had issue Ralph, Kath (m. Will. Wentworth of 
 
 Woodhouse, Esq.) He m. 2ndly dau. of Sir John Laugton, 
 
 Knt.) Alice in. Parcivall Moor of Austrope Hall, Esq.) This Ralph was 
 buried in St. Peter's Church in Leeds ano 1496. 
 
 RALPH BEESTON of B. Esq. S & H of Ralph m. Margery dau. of Sir 
 Robt. Nevile of Liversedge, Knt. had issue Ralph died s. p. Robert, 
 Biyan (m. Eliz. dau. of Mr. Callbeck at Leeds 6 May 1574 to his first 
 wife. She d. in Dec. 1585. Ralph, Bapt. 13 Aug, 1579, Bryan, Bapt. 
 9 Feby 1581, left issue Dorothy, I. 1576, d. 1635, having m. Mr. George 
 Brown, who had issue George d. s. p. and Dorothy Brown, who m. 
 Ralph Dixon of Leeds. The 2nd wife of Bryan was Francis dau. of 
 Mr. Heathfield, by her he had issue, Robert 5. 1590, lived at Cottingiey 
 (the said Bryan was buried in June 1592.) Leonard 3rd S. Joan, m. 
 Mr. Nich. Denham, of Rufford in Nottinghamshire. 
 
 ROBEET BEESTON of Beeston, Esq., S & H of Ralph, m. dau. 
 
 of Sir Will Calverley of Calverley, Knt. 3rd Ed. VI. had issue Ralph, 
 Robert, bora 1564, died s. p. 1604, Dorothy (m. Mr. Sheffield Savile, 
 1584) Frances d. unmar. 1577. N.B. Ralph was Mace Bearer to the 
 Earl of Strafford when President of the North. This Robert was buried 
 23rd April 1566. 
 
 RALPH BEESTON of B. Esq., Justice of Peace 25 Eliz. m. 2 wives, 
 Anne dau. of Will Swift, Esq., she died s. p. 2nd, Susanna, dau. of Edw. 
 
 or Henry Hall of Great in Lincolnshire, Esq., by her he had 
 
 issue Dorothy, was bapt. 11 Sep. 1591 (m. Thos. Grace of Sandal, Esq. 
 Helen (m. Mich. Denham of Wickhill, Esq.) This Ralph commonly 
 called Capt. Beeston sold the Manor of Beeston to Sir John Wood, Kut. 
 
 Arms Vert, a Lion rampant, Argent, honored, langued and armed 
 gules. 
 
 With regard to the connection of the de Insulas or de Lisles, with 
 Mbrley, Burton's Monasticon tells us, that Ralph de Insula or de Lisle 
 and William his eon or brother, gave twelve oxgangs of land in Morley 
 to the Priory at Nostel. 
 
 In all probability this Ralph was the sou of Fulk de Breaut, who was 
 a great favourite of King John's, who made him the general of one of
 
 26 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 his armies, which he was forced to raise against the citizens of London 
 and the malcontented Barons. Fulk carried out his duties with great 
 severity, firing, burning, and pillaging the Barons' houses, parks, etc., 
 and destroying the suburbs of London, carrying away great spoil. The 
 King, approving his activity, gave him the Castle of Bedford, and 
 bestowed upon him Margery de Redvers in marriage, with her own 
 lands, and those of her late husband Baldwin. 
 
 Fulk de Breant, from his lands and estates in the Isle of Wight, was 
 called de Insula or de Lisle, and was the first of this name who came 
 into Yorkshire. In 9 Henry III., A.D. 1225 Margery obtained a 
 divorce from her husband. 
 
 LISLE BARONS DE LISLE OF ROUGEMONT. 
 Etage. 
 
 Of this surname were several families, springing originally from two, 
 which had derived the designation, one from the Isle of Ely, the other 
 from the Isle of Wight. 
 
 ROBEET DE LISLE of Rougemont, co. Bedford, having m. Rohese de 
 Tatshall, widow of Robert de Tatshall, and dau. and co-heir of John de 
 Wahull, feudal lord of Wahull (now Wodhull) co. 
 Bedford, had livery of the lands of her inheritance, 
 upon paying his relief in the 1st Henry III.. A.D. 
 1217, at which period he had restitution of his own 
 estates in the cos. of Lincoln, Kent, York, Norfolk, 
 and Suffolk, which had been seized by the crown 
 in the preceding reign during the baronial contest. 
 After this feudal lord came another, 
 
 ROBEET DE LISLE who in the 48th Henry III., 
 was constituted governor of the castles of Marl- 
 borough and Lutgareshull, and the next year taking part with the 
 barons, was made by them governor of Newcastle-upon-Tyne. " From 
 this Robert," says Dugdale, " I must make a large leap to another," 
 
 ROBEET DE LISLE, who was summoned to Parliament as a baron, 
 from 19 December, 1311, to 25 February, 1342. This nobleman was in 
 the expedition made in 1339 into Flanders, but he subsequently took 
 holy orders, having before doing so settled the manors of Rampton, 
 Cotenham, West Wike, with the advowson of the church of Wimpole, 
 co. Cambridge, upon Alice, dau. of Robert de Lisle, Elizabeth Peverill, 
 
 Arms of Lisle.
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 27 
 
 and Richard Bayeaux, for life, with remainder to John, son of Robert de 
 Lisle, and his heirs. His lordship d. in 1342, and was s. by his son, 
 
 JOHN DE LlSLE, 2nd baron, summoned to Parliament, by writ, 
 addressed " Johanni de Insula de Rubeo Monte" from 25 Nov. 1350, to 
 15 March, 1354. This nobleman, in the 10th of Edward III., had 
 obtained a grant from his father of the manor of Harewood, co. York, 
 valued at 400 marks per annum, to enable him the better to serve the 
 king in his wars. In three years subsequently he was in the English 
 army, then drawn up to encounter the French at Virowfosse and we 
 find him soon after engaged in an expedition made into Gascony. In 
 the 1 6th of the same reign he was one of the commanders at the siege 
 of Nantes. In the 18th he was again in Gascony, and in the 20th he 
 had a pension from the king of 200 per annum, to be paid out of the 
 exchequer, to enable him to sustain his rank of banneret. John Lisle 
 was so highly esteemed by King Edward III. for his courage and 
 martial prowess that he was made one of the Knights Companions of 
 the Garter, at the institution of that order. He subsequently obtained 
 from the crown a grant for life of the sheriffalty of the counties of 
 Cambridge and Huntingdon, with the governorship of the castle of 
 Cambridge ; and the year before he died (29 Edward III.) he was again 
 with Piiuce Edward in the wars of France. His lordship d. 14 October, 
 1356, leaving issue, Robert his heir ; John, cL s. p. ; and Elizabeth, m. 
 to William, Lord Aldeburgh. The eldest son, 
 
 ROBERT LISLE, was summoned to Parliament as by writ, addressed, 
 " Roberto de Insula Rubeo Monte," 15 Dec., 1357, and 20 Nov., 1360. 
 He is stated to have d. in 1399, and the Somersetshire Visitation of 
 1623, sa^s, that he left a son, Sir William Lisle, of Waterperry, co. 
 Oxford, but this is very doubtful. 
 
 Arms Or, a fesse between two chevronels, sa. 
 
 In 1226 the connection of the De Lisles with Morley ceased, by the 
 marriage of Euphemia de Lisle with Nicholas de Rotherfield. The 
 manor of Morley was in the family of Rotherfield for nearly a century 
 and a half; and though we have found it impossible to trace the 
 descent, during this long period, from one member of the family to 
 another, we have met with several notices of the connection which 
 existed between the Rotherfields and the township. From a list of 
 knights' fees, in the year 1277, we find that, 
 
 " Lady Albreda de Rotherfield holds in Morley 15 caracutes of land for Ponto- 
 fract Castle."
 
 28 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 In the 9th year of Edward II. it is shown, from the Nomina Villarum, 
 that the King was the Lord of the Wapentake of Morley, and John of 
 Derford or Eotherfield was Lord of the Manor of Morley. 
 
 In the account of the receiver of Pontefract 9th Edward II. 1315, we 
 find that 58s. 6d. were paid for the relief of John de Rotherfield for half 
 a knight's fee, the eighth and sixteenth part of one knight's fee in 
 Morley, Drighlington, and Beestou. It seems probable that Peter de 
 Rotherfield, the ancestor of the above John, was killed in the fatal 
 battle of Bannockburn, which had taken place in the previous year. 
 John de Rotherfield held his hereditary possessions in Morley until the 
 38th Edw. III. 1364. From the Pontefract accounts, we learn that 
 Adam, son of John de Rotherfield, paid 10 for the relief of two 
 knights' fees, in Queldale, Suttou, Morley, and Austhorpe, after the 
 decease of the same John. The last of their house appears to have been 
 Albredus de Rotherfield, for we find from the feodary account that John 
 Mirfield, William Beeston, and Christopher Ward paid 5 for the relief 
 of one knight's fee in Morley, Beestou, and Drighlington, which 
 Albredus de Rotherfield sometime held. 
 
 The John Mirfield was no doubt of the family of Mirfield of Batley. 
 Scatcherd tells us their ancient manor house, or family seat, stood in 
 what is now called the " Hall-Croft." After the decay of the Rotherfield 
 family, they appear to have been of most importance in Morley. In the 
 10th Hen. VI., 1431, a suit was instituted between William Mirfield, 
 Esq., plaintiff, and William Richardson, of Morley, son of John 
 Richardson, deforct., of two tofts, sixty acres of land, fourteen acres of 
 meadow, twelve acres of pasture, and two acres of wood, with the 
 appurtenances in Morley. The right was adjudicated to William Mirfield 
 and his heirs. In the 1st Edw. IV., 1461, the feoffees of Oliver Mirfield, 
 who had died in that year, had power to make over an estate at Morley 
 to William Mirfield, his son, and to the heirs of his body begotten. 
 
 "In the name of God, Amen. I Oliver Mirfield, squier, hole of mynde in the 
 vij. day of Jaimar, makis my willc in this fourme folowing. First, I be wite my 
 saule unto God Almighty, to our Lady and to all the Santes in heven. Also I 
 wille as touching all the Lordeshippes lands and tenenements, rentis and service 
 which I have within the Counte of Yorke, or in thos that any men be enfeffed 
 unto my use by me or any other persone or persones to performe my will. First I 
 wille that my ferns that air enfeffed in all my lordschippes in the towns of 
 Mirfield, Dighton, Egerton, Gleydholte, Heyton, Hopton, Batley, Holey, Morley, 
 Gildosome, Boton, Chekynlay, Leede, Newstede, Halyfax, Wakefelde, Westerton, 
 with all theire appurtenaunces, make a state of theim to William Mirfield my son 
 and to his eyeres of his body accordinge unto the dede of feffement afore made. 
 Aiso I wille that haly kirk have all his duites that hym ought for to have. Also
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 20 
 
 I wille that I be broughte forthe at the day of berial as my degree askis withouten 
 any seven day and my dettis to be payed of my goodes. Also I wille that William 
 my sone have the peces with covertour that my fader gave me, also the chymneth 
 a hanging laver with the hailing, a cesterne, the ledes with other brewing vessell. 
 Also I wille that my wife have all the array of my chapell til my sone come to ful 
 age, and to be delivered to William Mirfield my sone. Also I wille that my wife 
 have xl. marcs in the name of hir dower for to be taken in the formes aforesaide, 
 except the maner of Holay, which I wille my son have when he comes to full age. 
 ***** AI SO i wille that myn exeoutours finde a preste vj. yere at my 
 parish kirke to sing for my saule, myne elder for al Christen saules." 
 
 Prob. s. d. 1462. 
 
 In the 1st Henry VIII. this William Mirfield seems to have died, for 
 in that year William his son paid relief for half a knight's fee in Morley, 
 Beeston, and Drighlington. 
 
 From the Mirfields the Manor of Morley came into the possession of 
 the Saviles, by the marriage of one of the Mil-fields to the daughter of 
 Sir John Savile of Sandal. The last-named was knight of the Shire in 
 the 29th Hen. VI., and High Sheriff in the 33rd Hen. VI. He was 
 chief steward of the Manor of Wakefield, and had the custody of the 
 Castle of Sandal, where he died, 1482. His lady was a daughter of one 
 of the Sir William Gascoignes of Gawthorp. They had several 
 daughters, who intermarried with the principal families of the West 
 Riding the Mirfields, Meltons, Watertons, and others. 
 
 SAVILE BARONS SAVILE, EARLS OF SUSSEX. 
 3Ltneagc. 
 
 The family of Savile is of great antiquity in the North of England. 
 In the reign of Edward III. 1327-77, 
 
 SIR JOHN SAVILE, Knt. of Elland, in Yorkshire, was constituted 
 escheator for the cos. Northumberland, Cumberland, and Westmoreland, 
 and in the next reign was sheriff of Yorkshire, and governor of the 
 Castle of York. In the 2nd Henry V. 1414-15, 
 
 THOMAS SAVILE, of Thornhill, co. York, being at that time one of 
 the esquires to Edward, Duke of York, was, in consideration of his good 
 services, made forester of that Prince's chase and park at Aryngden, in 
 the same shire. From this Thomas descended 
 
 SIR HENRY SAVILE, of Thornhill, K.B., temp. King Henry VIII., 
 who by his wife, a dau. and co-heir of Thomas Soothill, Esq., of 
 Soothill, had a son and heir, Edward, who d. s. p., and a dau. Dorothy,
 
 30 
 
 HISTOEY OP MOELEY. 
 
 Arms of Savile. 
 
 m. to John Kaye, Esq., of Woodsome, co. York. He had also, by a 
 
 concubine, named Barkston, another son, 
 
 SIE ROBERT SAVILE, alias BAEKSTON, Knt., who in the 15th 
 
 Elizabeth, served the office of high sheriff for the county of Lincoln. 
 
 ^ He m. a sister of John, Lord Hussey, and widow 
 
 of Sir Richard Thimelby, and was s. by his son, 
 
 SIE JOHN SAVILE, Knt., of Howley, near 
 Morley. Was high sheriff for Lincolnshire, in the 
 32nd Elizabeth, and member of Parliament for the 
 co. of York, temp. King JAMES I. and King 
 CHAELES I. He was likewise high steward for the 
 honour of Pontefract, and was elevated to the 
 peerage, by letters patent, dated 21 July, 1628, as 
 BAEON SAVILE, of Pontefract. His lordship was 
 subsequently sworn of the Privy Council, and 
 
 appointed comptroller of the household. Lord Savile m. 1st, Catherine, 
 
 dau. of Lord Willoughby, of Parham, but had no issue. He m. 2ndly, 
 
 Elizabeth, dau. of Sir Edward Carey, Rut., and had issue, 
 
 I. Henry, who m. Helen, dau. and co-heir of William Oglethorpe, Esq., 
 and d. v. p., leaving a son. 
 
 1 John, who d. also before Lord Savile. 
 
 II. Edward, m. Anne, dau. and heir of Richard Tolson, Esq., of Cumber- 
 land but d. s. p. 
 
 III. THOMAS (Sir), who s. to the peerage. 
 
 IV. Robert, d. unm. 
 V. Edmund, d. unm. 
 
 VI. Catherine, m. 1st, to Sir Thomas Bland, of Kippax Park, in Yorkshire, 
 
 and 2ndly to Walter Welsh, Esq. 
 
 VII. Anne, m. to Piers Leigh, son and heir of Sir Piers Leigh, of Lyme. 
 VIII. Elizabeth, m. 1st, to Alvera Cooper, Esq., of Batley, in Yorkshire, and 
 
 2ndly, to Richard Banks, Esq. 
 IX. Frances, m. to the Rev. Thomas Bradley, D.D., rector of Castleford, co. 
 
 York. 
 
 The connection of Sir John Savile with Howley, Morley, Leeds, and 
 the West Riding generally, demands a somewhat lengthy notice. He 
 was the first Alderman, or mayor, of the borough of Leeds, which was 
 incorporated by Charles I. in 1626. He built Howley Hall, in Morley, 
 called by Camden " a most elegant house." After occupying many 
 years in its erection, it was completed in 1590. 
 
 Dr. Whitaker, the historian, says that this hall was " the magnificent 
 seat of an illegitimate branch of the Savills, though by address and 
 court favour, they outstripped the heads of the family for a time in
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 31 
 
 honour." The hall must have been one of the most splendid residences 
 in the country, if the magnificence of any edifice is to be estimated by 
 its cost. About two hundred yards to the north-west was an ancient 
 mansion of the Mirfield family, which was abandoned, and probably 
 destroyed, when the more modern hall was built. Part of the old 
 mansion was preserved in the outhouses and offices of the new one ; and 
 Dr. Whitaker declares that one part which appears to have been the 
 chapel, exhibits some appearances of antiquity greater than he had ever 
 observed in a domestic building, and probably not later than the year 
 1200. Howley Hall, at the time of erection, is said to have cost one 
 hundred thousand pounds, that is to say, about six hundred thousand 
 pounds of our present money a sum which staggers credulity itself. 
 From the elevation of the south front the house seems to have truly 
 merited its title of " a most elegant house," it had a high and massive 
 
 Howley Hall (from an old Engraving). 
 
 tower at each extremity ; the middle or principal building was perfectly 
 regular and well-proportioned ; it had a projecting centre, or porch, on 
 the south side, ormamented with columns and capitals ; and the battle- 
 ments on the summit, the chimneys so constructed as to rise like the 
 minarets of an Oriental mosque, and the high and graceful cupolas 
 surmounting the whole, must have imparted to it an aspect extremely 
 noble and striking. A fine bowling green adjoined the west side of the 
 hall, a cherry orchard occupied the east, an ornamental flower garden 
 the north, and a kitchen garden the south. 
 
 J. J. Cartwright, Esq., in his " Chapters of Yorkshire History," says 
 that, "the foremost Yorkshireman in the early part of the reign of 
 James I. was undoubtedly Sir John Savile, of Howley." In all 
 probability, this nobleman came into Yorkshire when in his 35th year,
 
 32 HISTORY OP MORLEY. 
 
 and took possession of Rowley Hall on its completion. Coming 1 , as he 
 did, amongst a manufacturing population, be made commercial interests 
 an especial study ; and having been returned to represent the county, in 
 the first Parliament of King James I., he took a very prominent part in 
 the discussions on commercial matters, and very soon became a favourite 
 amongst the clothiers of Morley, Leeds, Dewsbury, and the district. On 
 one occasion a debate arose about a new patent for dyeing and dressing 
 woollen cloths, which led to numerous complaints of the stagnation of 
 the cloth trade by different members of the House. Sir John took an 
 important part in the discussion, and quoted the following statistics 
 bearing upon the question. He told his hearers that some thousands of 
 pounds' worth of cloth remained upon the hands of the manufacturers in 
 his country, the buyers being so few ; thai 13,000 men were occupied 
 with this kind of work within ten miles of his house, 2,000 of whom 
 were householders, and the value of whose respective stocks varied 
 between 5L and 201. ; there were also 800 householders, makers of 
 cotton, who were not worth 30s. each. He thought this state of the 
 country could not endure a month. 
 
 Sir John was keeper of the rolls for the West Riding ; high steward 
 of Pontefract, Wakefield, and Bradford ; six times M.P. for the county. 
 He was a Trustee for the Batley Free School, as well as a Governor of 
 the Wakefield Grammar School. It is reputed that the celebrated 
 Eubens visited Lord Savile at Howley Hall, and painted for him a view 
 of Pontefract; also, that Archbishop Usher was staying at Howley, 
 when he assumed the disguise of a Jesuit, in order to tiy the contro- 
 versial talents of Robert Cooke, the learned Vicar of Leeds. 
 
 Sir John died at Howley Hall on the 31st of August, 1630, and was 
 buried at Batley. There was an inquisition of his estates after his 
 death, taken at Leeds, on the 31st of March, 1631. The jurors John 
 Midgley, John Harrison, Benjamin Wade, Francis Jackson, Alexander 
 Metcalf, George Killingbeck, William Simpson, gentlemen and others 
 certified that he held the manors of Headingley, Batley, MOELEY, East 
 Ardsley, Woodchurch, and Gildersome, with their appurtenances, also 
 certain lands known by the name of New Park of Wakefield, situate in 
 the several parishes, towns, and places of Wakefield, Dewsbury, 
 Alverthorpe, and Ossett ; the rectory of Woodchurch ; a Fabrica 
 ferraria, Anglice, "the Iron Forge" at Kirkstall, with the buildings, 
 floodgates, and streams connected with the said forge. Savile also held 
 six corn-mills and one fulling mill in connection with his several manors. 
 
 SIR THOMAS SAVILE, Knt., 2nd Baron Savile. This nobleman, the 
 eldest surviving son of Sir John Savile, was created 11 June, 1628,
 
 H1STOBY OF MORLEY. 33 
 
 Viscount Savile, of Castlebar, in the peerage of Ireland. His lordship 
 was comptroller of the household, and whilst attending CHARLES I. at 
 Oxford, was advanced by letters patent, dated 25 May, 1644, to the 
 dignity of EARL OF SUSSEX. Like his father, he was the enemy of 
 Wentworth, and at the same time he was most certainly attached to the 
 Puritans. This nobleman, by sending a letter to the general of the 
 Scots, professedly signed by six of the principal noblemen in England, 
 and inviting them to advance to the rescue of the country, was the 
 means of bringing them into this part of the kingdom, and thus of 
 effecting the ruin of Wentworth and the triumph of the Parliament. 
 
 On the 16ch of May, 1643, a meeting took place at Howley Hall, of 
 the army, who afterwards obtained what an old account calls the 
 " miraculous victory gained by the Right Honourable Ferdinando Lord 
 Fairfax, against the army under the command of the Earl of Newcastle 
 at Wakefield, in Yorkshire." The following is the despatch of Sir 
 Thomas Fairfax and his brother officers who won the victory. It is 
 among the Lenthal papers : 
 
 " Saterday night, the 20th of May, the Lord Generall gave Order ffor a pty of 
 1000 foote three Companyes of Dragoons and eight Troopes of horse to March 
 from the Garrisons of Leeds, Bradford, and Howley. Sir Thomas ffairfax 
 Comanded in Chefe. The ffoote were Comanded by Sert. Maior Gennal Gifford 
 and Sr. William ffairfax. The Horse were devided into two bodyes, four Troopes 
 Comanded by Sr. Thomas ffairfax and the other four Troopes by Sr. Henry ffoulis. 
 Howley was the Rendizvous, where they all mett on Satterday last about twelve 
 a Clocke at night. Aboute two next morneinge they Marcht away. And coming 
 to Stauley (Stanley) where two of the enenyes Troopes lay with some dragoons 
 that Quarter was beaten vp and about one and twenty prisnos taken. About four 
 a Clocke in the morneing wee came before Wakefeild where, after four of their 
 Horse were beaten into the Towne, The ffoote with vnspeakable Courage, Beat 
 the enemyes from the hedges which they had lyned with Musketteares into the 
 Town And assaulted it in two places, Wrengate and Norgate. * 
 The enemy had in the Towne 3000 ffoote and seaven Troopes of Horse besydes 
 C'ol. Lumpton's Regiment which came into the Towne after wee had entered the 
 Towne. The enemy left behynd them ffour peeces of Ordinance with Amiaucon 
 which we brought away." 
 
 Thomas fairfax 
 
 Henry ffoulis, &c., &c., &c. 
 
 After the death of Wentworth, Sir John declared for the King, and 
 he enrolled his name at York, in the list of those who resolved to devote 
 their lives and fortunes to the royal cause. 
 
 On the 22nd of June, 1645, the Earl of Newcastle laid siege to 
 Howley Hall, which was at the time garrisoned by Sir John Savile of 
 Lupset, near Wakefield, and a body of raw, inexperienced soldiers, 
 D
 
 34 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 hastily-collected and ill-provisioned. Although Newcastle brought his 
 cannon to bear upon the building and fiercely battered its walls, the 
 gallant governor resisted him with great resolution ; the superiority of 
 numbers and artillery, however, prevailed, and the place was taken by 
 storm. Although the stores and goods in the hall were plundered, the 
 building received but little injury ; and it was, a short time afterwards, 
 a garrison for the Parliament. When Howley Hall had thus been 
 stormed, Lord Savile applied for compensation for the damage which 
 had been done by the Royalists, but his memorial did him no good, and 
 elicited a mortifying reply from the court. 
 
 To Sir Thomas Savile the Presbyterians at Morley, in 1650, were 
 indebted for the lease for 500 years of the " Old Chapel premises, with 
 land and buildings, and all the tithes of corn, grain, grass, and hay 
 thereunto belonging, at an annual rent of twenty shillings, for the 
 benefit of a preaching minister." 
 
 Sir Thomas m. 1st, Francis, dau. of Sir Michael Londes, Knt. of 
 Throwley, in Kent, and widow of Sir John Leveson, but had no issue. 
 He m. 2ndly, Lady Anne Yilliers, dau. of Christopher, Earl of Anglesey, 
 and eventually sole heiress of her brother Charles, last Earl of Anglesey, 
 of the family of Villiers. By this lady he had issue, 
 
 I. JAMES, Lord Savile, his successor. 
 
 II. Frances, m. to Francis, Lord Brudenel, son and heir of Robert, Earl of 
 Cardigan, by whom she had issue, 
 
 1. George, 3rd Earl of Cardigan. 
 
 2. James. 
 
 3. Mary, m. to Richard, Viscount Molineux. 
 
 4. Anne, m. 1st, to Henry, Lord Belayse, of Worlaby; and 2ndly, to 
 
 Charles Lenox, Duke of Richmond. 
 
 5. Frances, m. 1st, to Charles Levingston, 2nd Earl of Newburgh ; and 
 
 2ndly, to Richard, Lord Bellew. 
 
 In Burke's Extinct Peerage, page 475, it is stated that Sir Thomas d. 
 in 1646, and was s. by his son, JAMES SAVILE, 2nd Earl of Sussex. 
 This is clearly incorrect, as proved by his granting the lease of the Old 
 Chapel in 1650. The date of his death is unknown, but Scatcherd 
 thinks that it took place about 1661. 
 
 JAMES SAVILE, 2nd Earl of Sussex. This nobleman m. Anne, dau. 
 of Robert Wake, a merchant at Antwerp, but d. early, and was buried 
 at Batley, 11 Oct., 1671, having had a son of the same Christian name 
 buried there on the 16 October preceding. This James, Earl of Sussex, 
 must have been the last male heir of his family, for directly after his 
 death, Francis, Lord Brudenel, husband to Frances Savile, heiress of this
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 35 
 
 branch, acquired possession of Howley and the other estates, which 
 have remained in the Cardigan family since that time. The following, 
 having reference to this period in the history of Howley, is copied from 
 the Sessions Rolls : 
 
 Abraham Harrison, of Howley Hall (one of the servts of James Lord Viscount 
 Savile Earl of Sussex) being appointed collector of the present three months 
 assessmts of the Royal Ayde for Morley Howley Hall, however, being a 
 priviledged place and that noe psons liveing at Howley Hall ought to serve any 
 office within the Constablery of Morley, the warrant was suppressed and Robt 
 Morley of Morley appointed 1665. Ordered also that he be free from keeping town 
 apprentices. Under the hands and seals of Sir John Armytage, Sir John Kaye, 
 Francis Whyte, Esq. 
 
 Howley Hall Ruins, 1876. 
 
 Lord Brudenell was living at Howley in 1678 ; and in July of that 
 year, "Mr. Francis Hyde," his cooke, was buried at Batley. This 
 nobleman died in 1698. Howley Hall was demolished in 1730 by order 
 of the then Earl of Cardigan, in all probability to save the great cost of 
 maintaining it. When the mandate had been given, the work was 
 speedily accomplished ; the colossal masses which composed the angles 
 were blown up with gunpowder ; and immense quantities of its wrought 
 stone were dispersed through Morley, Birstal, Batley, and other places. 
 Dr. A\ r hitaker states that the wainscotting was sold about the country, 
 and in 1787 many rooms remained in "Wakefield fitted up with portions 
 of it, bearing date 1590.
 
 36 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 On the death of the second EARL OF SUSSEX, the manor of Morley 
 passed into the Thornhill branch of the Savile family, then represented 
 by SIR WILLIAM SAVILE, Bart. 
 
 The principal legitimate branch of the SAVILE family was represented 
 by SIR GEORGE SAVILE, Bart., of Thornhill, co. York, who m. Lady 
 Mary Talbot, dau. of George, 6th Earl of Shrewsbury, and was grand- 
 father of 
 
 SIR WILLIAM SAVILE, Bart., who m. Anne, dau. of Thomas, Lord 
 Coventry, and was s. by his son, 
 
 SIR WILLIAM SAVILE, Bart., of Thornhill, who in consideration of 
 his own and his father's eminent services during the Civil Wars, was 
 elected to the peerage by King CHARLES II., 13 January, 1668, as 
 Baron Savile, of Elland, co. York, and VISCOUNT HALIFAX. On 
 16 July, 1679, his lordship was created EARL OF HALIFAX, and 
 MARQUIS OF HALIFAX, 22 August, 1682. He m. 1st, Lady Dorothy 
 Spencer, dau. of Henry, Earl of Sunderland, and had issue, 
 
 I. HENRY, who m. Esther, dau. and co-heir of Charles de la Tour, Marquess 
 
 of Governet, in France, and d. s. p. , r. p. 
 II. WILLIAM, his successor. 
 
 III. George, fell at the Siege of Buda, in 1688, and d. imm. 
 
 IV. Anne, TO. to John, Lord Vaughan. 
 
 His lordship married 2ndly, Gertrude, dau. of William Pierrepont, of 
 Thoresby, 2nd son of Eobert, 1st Earl of Kingston, by whom he had an 
 only dau., 
 
 ELIZABETH, who m. Philip, eldest son of Philip Stanhope, 2nd Earl of Chester- 
 field. 
 
 The Marquis of Halifax was lord privy seal and some time president of 
 the council, temp. CHARLES II. He was esteemed a statesman of the 
 first grade. Burnet characterises him " as a man of great and ready 
 wit, full of life, and very pleasant, but much turned to satire ; his 
 imagination was too hard for his judgment ; and a severe jest took more 
 with him than all arguments whatever. He let his wit run much on 
 matters of religion, which got him the reputation of a confirmed atheist ; 
 but he denied the charge. Friendship and morality were great topics 
 with him ; and punctuality and justice remarkable in his private 
 dealings. In relation to the public he went backwards and forwards, 
 and changed sides so often, that in the conclusion no side would trust 
 him." Macaulay bears more flattering testimony to the merit of this 
 eminent politician: " The memory of Halifax," says that accomplished
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 37 
 
 writer, " is entitled iii an especial manner to the protection of history. 
 For what distinguishes him from all other statesmen is this, that, 
 through a long public life, and through frequent and violent revolutions 
 of public feeling, he almost invariably took that view of the great 
 questions of his time which history has finally adopted. lie was called 
 inconsistent, because the relative position in which he stood to the 
 contending factions was perpetually varying. As well might the pole 
 star be called inconsistent, because it is sometimes to the east and 
 sometimes to the west of the pointers. To have defended the ancient 
 and legal constitution of the realm against a seditious populace at one 
 conjuncture, and against a tyrannical government at another ; to have 
 been the foremost champion of order in the turbulent Parliament of 
 1680. and the foremost champion of liberty in the servile Parliament of 
 1685 ; to have' been just -and merciful to Roman Catholics in the days 
 of the Popish Plot ; and to Exclusionists in the days of the Rye House 
 Plot ; to have done all in his power to save both the head of Straff orcl 
 and the head of Russell; this was a course which contemporaries, 
 heated by passion and deluded by names and badges, might not 
 unnaturally call fickle, but which deserves a very different name from 
 the late justice of posterity." 
 
 His lordship d. in 1605, and was s. by his eldest surviving son, 
 WILLIAM SAVILE, 2nd marquis. This nobleman married 1st, 
 Elizabeth, dau. of Sir Samuel Grimston, Bart., of Gorhambury, co. 
 Herts, and sister and heiress of Sir Harbottle Grimston, by whom he 
 had an only dau., 
 
 in. to Charles, 4th Earl of Elgin, and 3rd Earl of Ailesbury, and wag 
 mother of "a dau. and eventual heiress, LADY MARY BRUCE, who in. 1728, Henry 
 Brydges, 2nd Duke of Chandos (whose dau. and heiress, Anne Eliza, m. 1796, 
 Richard, Earl Temple, afterwards Duke of Buckingham and Chandos), and one 
 dau. Caroline, wife of John Leigh, Esq., of Adlestrop. 
 
 His lordship m. 2ndly, Lady Mary Finch, dau. of Daniel, Earl of 
 Nottingham, by Lady Essex Rich, dau. and co-heiress of Richard, Earl 
 of Warwick and Holland, and had, with two sons, who both d. young, 
 three daus., viz. : 
 
 1. Essex, d. young. 
 
 2. Dorothy, m. to Richard Boyle, Earl of Burlington. 
 
 3. Mary, ?. to Sackville Tufton, Earl of Thanet. 
 
 The marquis d. 31st August, 1700, when his estates devolved upon his 
 daus. as co-heirs, and all his honours became extinct. 
 
 Arms Arg., on a bend, sa. three owls of the 1st.
 
 38 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 In 1706 the manor of Morley was bought from the trustees of the 
 Marquis of Halifax by Baron Dartmouth, in whose family it has 
 remained to the present time. 
 
 DARTMOUTH OP DARTMOUTH. 
 
 The founder of this family, 
 
 THOMAS LEGGE, served the office of sheriff for the city of London in 
 1343, and was Lord Mayor in the years 1346 and 1353. In 1338 this 
 opulent citizen lent EDWAED III. 300 towards carrying on the war 
 with France, which was a very considerable sum in those days, and 
 more than any other citizen advanced, except the lord mayor and Simon 
 de Francis, who lent each 800 in the ensuing year. Alderman Legge 
 m. Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Beauchamp, Earl of Warwick, and 
 was succeeded by his elder son, 
 
 SlMON LEGGE, who m. Margaret, dau. of Sir John Blount ; and his 
 eldest surviving son, 
 
 WILLIAM LEGGE, going into Ireland, m. Anne, only dau. of John, 
 son of Miles, Lord Birmingham. He d. at Cassilis, at the advanced age 
 of 92, and was succeeded by his son, 
 
 EDWAED LEGGE, who made a voyage in 1584 with Sir Walter 
 Raleigh, and died in 1616, aged 74. By Mary, daughter of Percy 
 Walsh, of Moyvallie, he had six sous and seven daughters, of 
 whom Mary was mother of Admiral Sir Edward Spragge. The eldest 
 son, 
 
 WILLIAM LEGGE, was brought out of Ireland by his grandfather, 
 Henry Danvers, Earl of Dudley, and sent by him to serve as a volunteer 
 under Gustavus-Adolphus of Sweden ; he also served afterwards under 
 Prince Maurice of Orange, in the Low Countries. On his return to 
 England, he was first constituted keeper of the king's wardrobe during 
 life; and made, soon after, groom of the bedchamber. Col. Legge, 
 during the Civil Wars, became eminently distinguished by his faithful 
 attachment to CHABLES I., attending that monarch with constancy 
 during his sufferings, Lord Clarendon speaking highly of his reputation 
 for integrity and fidelity to his master. He was also noted for his 
 persevering exertions in the royal cause, before and after the death of 
 the king. He was afterwards wounded and taken prisoner at the battle 
 of Worcester, and would have been executed had he not effected his
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 39 
 
 escape. He was again imprisoned during the Protectorate, but contrived 
 to get free and exert himself for the Restoration, on which event he was 
 offered an earldom, but declined it on account of his large family and 
 small fortune. lie was high in favour after the Restoration, and enjoyed 
 several lucrative and honourable offices. He in. Elizabeth, eldest dau. 
 of Sir William Washington, of Packingtou, co. Leicester, and grand-dau. 
 maternally, of Sir George Villiers, of Brooksby, in the same co. ; and 
 dying of a fever, in 1672, aged G3, was s. by his eldest son, 
 
 GEORGE LEGGE, Esq., a naval and military officer of eminence. 
 From 1667 to 1672 he commanded line-of-battle ships, and was 
 appointed in the latter year lieut.-governor of Portsmouth; in 1673 
 advanced to the governorship, and appointed master of the horse and 
 gentleman of the bedchamber to James, Duke of York. In 1677, 
 Governor Legge was constituted Col. of a regiment of foot, and 
 nominated lieut.-geu. of the ordnance, of which he was soon afterwards 
 made master. He was subsequently sworn of the privy council, and 
 elevated to the peerage, 2 Dec., 1682, as Baron of Dartmouth, co. Devon, 
 with remainder, after his own male heirs, to his brother William, and 
 his heirs male. His lordship soon afterwards was sent as admiral of 
 the whole English fleet to demolish Tangier, and on his return obtained 
 a grant of 10,000, in reward of his services. 
 
 During the reign of JAMES II., Lord Dartmouth enjoyed the 
 confidence of that monarch, and filled some of the most important 
 offices. In 1687, he was appointed admiral of the fleet to intercept the 
 Prince of Orange. " The King," says Burnet, " gave the command to 
 Lord Dartmouth, who was, indeed, one of the worthiest men of his 
 Court; he loved him, and had been long in his service and confidence, 
 but he was much against all the conduct of his affairs ; yet he resolved 
 to stick to him at all hazards." The fleet collected in the Thames, 
 consisted of thirty ships of the line. The winds, however, were 
 favourable to WILLIAM, and proved treacherous to JAMES. Having got 
 out of the Thames, Lord Dartmouth's fleet was prevented making way 
 down the Channel by a gale from the west, which sprang up just after 
 William's forces had disembarked in Torbay. Then the king's fleet was 
 becalmed for two days off Beachey Head. At length Dartmouth was 
 able to proceed. He passed the Isle of Wight, and one of his ships 
 came in sight of the Dutch masts in Torbay. Just at this moment he 
 was encountered by a tempest, and compelled to take shelter in the 
 harbour of Portsmouth. While at the latter place he received instructions 
 to convey the Prince of Wales to France. This was done at the 
 instigation of James, who, as aoon as the child anrl Queen should be
 
 40 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 safe, intended to leave England. Dartmouth, in a truly spirited manner, 
 sent a reply to the request, refusing to obey it, declaring that he had 
 already carried his obedience to the furthest point to which a Protestant 
 and an Englishman could go. To put the heir-apparent of the British 
 crown into the hands of Lewis Avould be nothing less than treason 
 against the monarchy. ^Referring to this episode in Dartmouth's life, 
 Macaulay says, " His conduct on this occasion was the most honourable 
 part of a not very honourable life." The same writer, somewhat 
 severely, if not untruthfully as well, criticises the policy of Dartmouth 
 with respect to WILLIAM and MARY. He writes as follows : 
 " Dartmouth, though he had sworn allegiance to the sovereigns who 
 were in possession, was one of their most active enemies. His mind 
 was constantly occupied by schemes, disgraceful to an English seaman, 
 for the destruction of the English fleets and arsenals. The treason of 
 Dartmouth was of no common dye. He was an English seaman, yet 
 had offered to take the command of a French squadron against his 
 country. He was arrested and brought to the Council Chamber. He 
 vehemently protested his innocence, saying, 'My Lords, I am an 
 Englishman. I always, when the interest of the house of Bourbon was 
 strongest here, shunned the French, both men and women. I would 
 lose the last drop of my blood rather than see Portsmouth in the power 
 of foreigners. I am not such a fool as to think that King Lewis will 
 conquer us merely for the benefit of King James. I am certain that 
 nothing can be truly imputed to me beyond some foolish talk over a 
 bottle.' He was sent to the Tower, and after a few weeks' confinement, 
 ch'ed of apoplexy ; but he lived long enough to complete his disgrace by 
 offering his sword to the new government, and by expressing in fervent 
 language his hope that he might, by the goodness of God, and of their 
 Majesties, have an opportunity of showing how much he hated the 
 French." 
 
 His lordship in. Barbara, dau. and sole heir of Sir Henry Archbold, of 
 Abbots Bromley, and had issue : Mary, who m. 1st, Philip Musgrave, 
 Esq., and 2ndly, John Crawford, Esq. ; four other daus., who all died 
 unm., and an only son, his successor in 1671, 
 
 WILLIAM, 2nd Baron. This nobleman enjoyed the confidence of 
 Queen ANNE, was sworn one of her principal secretaries of State in 
 1710, and advanced to the dignities of Viscount Lewisliam, and EARL 
 OP DARTMOUTH, 5 Sept., 1711. In 1713, his lordship was appointed 
 lord-privy-seal, and on the demise of his royal mistress, was one of the 
 lords- justices of Great Britain. He was eminently qualified by his high 
 moral character, extensive learning, sound reasoning, and the kindness
 
 HISTOKY OF MOKLEY. 41 
 
 of his disposition, to fulfil with credit the many important offices to 
 which he was called by his sovereign, and his public life was marked by 
 diligence, faithfulness, and strict impartiality. He m. in 1700, Anne, 
 dau. of Heneage, Earl of Aylesford, and had issue, 
 
 I. GEORGE, Viscount Lewisham, m. Elizabeth, dau. and heir of Sir Arthur 
 
 Kaye, Bart. , of Woodsome, co. York ; and dying before his father, left 
 surviving issue, 
 
 1. WILLIAM, successor to his grandfather. 
 
 2. Anne, m. to James Brudenel, Earl of Cardigan. 
 
 3. Elizabeth, m. to Whitshed Keene, Esq., M.P. 
 
 II. Heneage, one of the barons of the Exchequer, in 1739, m. in June, 1740, 
 
 Catherine, dau. and co-heiress of Jonathan Fogg, Esq. ; and d. 29 Aug. , 
 1759, leaving by her, who d. 12 November following, 
 
 1. Heneage, 6. 7 Jan., 1747 ; m. in 1768, Elizabeth, dau. of Sir Philip 
 
 Musgrave, Bart. ; and d. 1 Jan., 1827. 
 
 2. Catherine, m. to Charles Chester, Esq., brother of William, 1st 
 
 Lord Bagot. 
 
 III. Henry-Bilson, (the Right Hon. ) sometime Chancellor of the Exchequer ; b. 
 
 29 May, 1708 ; m. Mary Stawell, created BARONESS STAWELL of 
 Somerton (who m. after his decease, Wills, Marquis of Downshire. ) He 
 had an only son, 
 
 Henry, 2nd Stawell, who m. Mary, dau. of Viscount Curzou ; and d. 
 
 in 1820, when the barony expired. He left an only daughter, Mary, 
 
 ?. to John, Lord Sherborne. 
 
 IV. Edward, b. in 1710; commodore in the R.N. ; d. in 1747. 
 V. Barbara, m. to Sir Walter Bagot, of Blithetield. 
 
 VI. Anne, m. to Sir Lister Holte, Bart. ; and d. in 1740. 
 
 The earl d. 15 Dec., 1 750, and was s. by his grandson, 
 
 WILLIAM, 2nd earl; &. in 1731 ; who m. in 1755, Francis-Catherine, 
 only dau. and heiress of Sir Charles-Gunter Nicholl, K.B. lie was in 
 1765 appointed First Commissioner of Trade and Plantations, and in 
 1772, Secretary of State for the Colonies. He was highly venerated 
 for his piety and quiet, amiable, and benevolent disposition. lie had 
 issue, 
 
 I. GEORGE, 3rd earl. 
 
 II. Henry, barrister-at-law ; 6. 23 Jan., 1765 ; d. 19 April, 1844. 
 
 III. Arthur- Kaye (Sir), K.C.B., admiral of the Blue ; d. unm. 12 May, 1835. 
 
 IV. Edward, in holy orders, Lord Bishop of Oxford ; d. 27 Jan., 1827. 
 
 V. Augustus-George, in holy orders, M.A. ; b. 21 Aug. 1773; m. 15 Dec., 
 1795, Hoiiora, eldest dau. of the late Rev. Walter Bagot ; and d. in 1828, 
 leaving issue, 
 
 1. George- Augustus, in holy orders, b. 8 July, 1801 ; m. in Aug., 1825, 
 Frances- Augusta, eldest dau. of William Bowyer Atkins, Esq., of 
 Braywick Grove, Berks ; and d. 16 June, 1826. His widow m. 
 2ndly, in 1828, Rev. S. W. Cobbe, rector of Ightham, Kent.
 
 42 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 2. William, in holy orders, rector of Ashstead, b. 29 July, 1802. 
 
 3. Henry, in holy orders, rector of East Lavant, Sussex ; b. 29 June, 
 
 1803, in. 5 May, 1830, Elizabeth-Louisa, eldest dau. of the late 
 Admiral Stair Douglas, and had by her (who d. 28 Oct. 1840), 
 
 Henry-Edwin, b. in 1831. 
 
 Augustus-George, b. 20 Jan., 1835. 
 
 William-Douglas, b. 13 Dec., 1836. 
 
 Charles-Egerton, b. 22 May, 1840. 
 
 Honoria- Anne-Charlotte. 
 
 4. Charlotte-Anne, m. 15 Dec. 1825, to the Hon. and Ilev. Arthur- 
 
 Philip-Percival. 
 
 5. Honora-Augusta. 
 
 6. Louisa-Frances. 
 
 VI. Charlotte, m. in 1795, to Lord Feversham, who d. in 1841. 
 
 Ills lordship d. in 1801, and was s. by his eldest son, 
 
 GEORGE, 3rd earl, K.G. His lordship was born 3 Oct., 1755 , was 
 educated at Christ Church, Oxford, and obtained the degree of M.A. in 
 1775. In 1775 he was returned M.P. for Plymouth, and in 1780 for 
 Staffordshire ; and two years after, was appointed one of the Lords of 
 the Bedchamber to the Prince of Wales ; and in 1789, Lord Warden of 
 the Stanneries. While he was member for Staffordshire, he supported 
 the Coalition administration, and voted for Mr. Fox's India Bill ; and in 
 1783 was nominated one of the Commissioners of Mr. Fox's new Board 
 of Admiralty, who were to be assisted by a subordinate Board of nine 
 Directors. He was called up to the House of Peers, as Baron Dartmouth, 
 June 1C, 1801, during the life-time of his father; succeeded his father 
 in the earldom, July 15 ; and was appointed president of the Board of 
 Control in the same year. He was appointed Lord Steward of his 
 Majesty's household, 1802, and Lord Chamberlain, 1804. In the 
 summer of 1807 he resigned the Colonelcy of the Loyal Birmingham 
 Volunteers, on account of ill health. His lordship was much beloved, 
 and inherited the amiable qualities of his family, for which they were 
 distinguished from the time of " honest Will Legge," as King Charles L 
 called him. The following lines were written on the Earl by the Earl of 
 Carlisle, when boys at Eton School : 
 
 " Mild as the dew that whitens yonder plain, 
 LEGGE shines serenest 'midst your youthful train ; 
 He whom the search of fame with rapture moves ; 
 Disdains the pedant, though the muse he loves 
 By Nature form'd with modesty to please, 
 And join with wisdom unaffected ease." 
 
 Ilis lordship was a most active member of the House of Peers, and his 
 abilities as a statesman won for him many marks of the royal favour.
 
 HISTORY OF MOHLEY. 4o 
 
 His death was deeply deplored by all classes of the people, who testified 
 by the large attendance at his funeral their high appreciation of his 
 many estimable qualities. His lordship m. 24 Sep., 1782, Frances, dau. 
 of Heneage, 3rd Earl of Aylesford, and by her (who died 21 Nov., 
 1838), had issue, 
 
 I. WILLIAM, 4tli earl. 
 
 II. Heneage, b. 29th Feb., 1788; commissioner of the Customs; in. 19 July, 
 1821, Mary, dau. of Major Johnstone ; and d. 12 Dec., 1844, having 
 had one dau., Mary. 
 
 III. Charles, R.N. ; b. in 1799 ; d. in 1821. 
 
 IV. Arthur-Charles, major in the army ; b. 25 July, 1800 ; m. 1 June, 1827, 
 
 Anne-Frederica, dau. of John, 1st Earl of Sheffield ; and 2ndly, 
 29 Aug., 1837, Caroline, 4th dau. of the late James- C.- P. Bouwens, 
 Esq. By the former (who d. 31 Aug., 1829) he had a son, Charles, b. 
 5 Aug., 1829 ; and by the latter, another sou, Alfred- Arthur- Kaye, b. 
 31 July, 1839 ; and a dau. b. 27 May, 1843. 
 V. Henry, in holy orders, rector of Lewisham ; b. in 1803 ; m. 12 May, 1842, 
 
 Marian, dau. of Frederick-Leman Rogers, Esq. 
 VI. Louisa, in. in 1807, to William, Lord Bagot ; and d. in 1816. 
 VII. Charlotte, m. in 1816, to the Hon. and Rev. George-Neville Grenville, 
 
 Master of Magdalen College, Cambridge. 
 VIII. Harriet, m. in 1815, to Gen. the Hon. Sir Edward Paget, G.C.B., d. 
 
 11 Mar., 1855. 
 
 IX. Barbara-Maria, m. in 1820, to F. Newdigate, Esq. ; d. 22 April, 1840. 
 X. Georgiana-Caroline. 
 XI. Mary. 
 XII. Anne. 
 
 The earl d. in 1810, and was s. by 
 
 WILLIAM LEGGE. 4th earl, D.C.L., F.R., and A.S. ; Viscount 
 Lewisham; t>. 29 Nov., 1784, s. 2 Nov. 1810; m. 1st, 5 April, 1821, 
 Frances-Charlotte, dau. of Charles-Chetwynd, 2nd Earl Talbot, by 
 whom (who d. 4 Oct., 1823) he had an only sou, 
 
 WILLIAM-WALTER, Viscount Lewisham, the present earl. 
 
 His lordship m. 2udly, 25 Oct., 1828, Frances, 2nd dau. of George, 5th 
 Viscount Barrington, and had by that lady, 
 
 I. George Barrington, b. Dec., 1831 ; late captain in Rifle Brigade, now in 
 holy orders, late vicar of Packington, co. Warwick; in. 9 Oct., 1860, 
 Sophia-Frances-Mary, dau. of the late John Levitt, Esq., of Wichnor 
 Park, co. Stafford, and has 
 
 1. Arthur-Edward-John, b. 25 May, 1863. 
 
 2. Robt. -George, b. 3 Aug. 1864. 
 
 3. Augusta-Sophia.
 
 44 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 WILLIAM WALTER, 5th earl, 1). 12 August, 1823, was educated at 
 Eton, and Christ Church, Oxford, (B.A. 1844, M.A. 1847); is a 
 
 Dep.-Lieut. of Staffordshire, and a Magis- 
 trate for that county and Shropshire ; was 
 M.P. for South Staffordshire 1849-53; 
 Capt. of the Staffordshire Militia 1843-54 ; 
 and has been Capt. of the 27th Stafford- 
 shire Rifle Volunteers since 1860. Is 
 Lord of the Manor of Morley, and owns a 
 large portion of the soil, as well as 
 valuable beds of coal and stone. Has 
 
 Arms of Dartmouth. 1 . ~ , , . 
 
 been a munificent benefactor to various 
 
 movements for church extension and educational requirements within 
 the township. The Earl is patron of nine livings Pattingham, V. 
 Patshull, I. Christchurch I. West-Bromwich, I. Staffordshire ; 
 Lewisham, V. Forest-hill, I. Sydenham, I. Kent; Farnley Tyas, I. 
 Yorkshire ; Oluey, V. Buckinghamshire. His lordship is a churchman 
 and staunch supporter of Conservatism. He m. (1846) Lady- Augusta- 
 Finch, eldest daughter of the 5th Earl of Aylesford, and has had issue, 
 
 I. Frances-Charlotte, b. 10 July, 1848. 
 II. Elizabeth-Sarah, b. 30 Jany., 1850. 
 
 III. WILLIAM HENEAGE, Viscount Lewisham, b. 6 May, 1851, c. at Eton and 
 
 Christ Church, Oxford. 
 
 IV. Henry-Charles, b. 4 November, 1852. 
 V. Augusta-Georgiana, b. 21 May, 1854. 
 
 VI. Gerald, b. 30, d. 31 July, 1855. 
 VII. Mary-Florence-Henrietta, b. 4 March, 1862, d. 14 May, 1863. 
 
 His lordship has seats at Patshull-hall, Wolverhamptou ; Sandwell-park, 
 Birmingham; Woodsome-hall, Huddersfield. Toivn Residence 40, 
 Grosveuor-square, W. Cluls Carlton, Travellers. 
 
 Azure : a buck's head, cabossed, argent. @t0t Out of a ducal 
 coronet, or, a plume of six ostrich feathers, argent and azure, alternately. 
 Supporters Dexter, a lion argent, semee of fleur-de-lis, sable, ducally 
 crowned, or, and issuing from the coronet a plume of six ostrich feathers, 
 argent and azure, alternately. Sinister a stag argent, unguled, or, 
 and semee of mullets, gules. 
 
 Motto Gaudet tentamiue virtus. (Virtue rejoices in trial.)
 
 SCENERY AND GEOLOGICAL FEATURES. 
 
 ' WHO digs the mine or quarry, digs with glee ! 
 No slave ! His option and his gain are free : 
 Him the same laws the same protection yield, 
 Who ploughs the furrow, or who owns the field." SAVAGE. 
 
 ' WHAT spacious veins enrich the British soil ; 
 The various ores, and skilful miners' toil ; 
 How ripening metals lie concealed in earth, 
 And teeming nature forms the wond'rous birth." YALDEN. 
 
 JLTHOUGH destitute of prospects which excite wonder and 
 admiration, yet the scenery around Morley is pleasing and 
 attractive. The first impressions of a stranger will not prove 
 unfavourable to the district, if obtained, on a clear day, from (say) the 
 graveyard of the Old Chapel, the Railway bridge in Scatcherd's Lane, 
 or the banks of the reservoir in Bruntcliffe Lane, from whence the views 
 are both extensive and diversified, exhibiting a succession of fields and 
 woods, farmsteads and manufactories, church steeples and tall chimneys. 
 No doubt the aspect of the township has been much changed by 
 progressive mining and manufacturing developments, comprising the 
 opening of coal mines, stone quarries, and erection of dwellings ; yet its 
 general contour remains unchanged. Scatcherd, writing near half a 
 century ago, says : " Respecting Morley in a local and picturesque 
 view, I cannot but observe it excels any village hereabouts ; and much 
 more any village that I have noticed in the dull uniform scenery of the 
 Midland Counties Perhaps I may be thought partial to the place, but 
 I assure the reader I have no extraordinary reason to be so ; or my 
 taste may be questioned, but that I cannot help. There is certainly 
 nothing so various as taste, but at all events I am not very singular 
 in my opinion, for many of our visitors from the South, and some
 
 4G HISTOEY OF MOBLEY. 
 
 settlers from flat countries, are much pleased with the picturesque, 
 if not romantic beauties of Morley its hills and valleys its woods 
 and waters its fine prospects and diversified walks its pure air and 
 excellent springs the fine country around it, and convenient distance 
 of the market town." A later writer says : " If Morley has not the 
 green fields and shady groves the gardens and conservatories of the 
 South, neither have we the obsequiousness and poverty which seem to be 
 almost invariable accompaniments of beautiful landscapes and stately 
 homes." 
 
 The contour of the township varies considerably, hill and dale being 
 the rule, and a flat surface the exception. On the west the greatest 
 regularity in appearance exists, and the soil under cultivation rests on a 
 somewhat stiff and clayey substratum, while beneath the last-named are 
 beds of sandstone and coal. On the east side the surface undulates, and 
 the mould, little more than a graft deep, is lighter in colour than on the 
 west side, and rests on the cold stiff clay, also having underlying beds 
 of stone, coal, and ironstone. The south and north sides have 
 characteristics in common with the west, so far as regards their mineral 
 wealth. 
 
 The coal mines within the township open up an important branch of 
 trade, and find employment for near two thousand persons. The quality 
 of the coal is good, and comprises house, cannel, and engine coals, 
 which find a ready market throughout Yorkshire and Lancashire. The 
 following list gives the names of the mines, the situation, and the names 
 of the owners : 
 
 Dean Hall Neepshaw Lane Bedford and Co. 
 
 Dartmouth Daisy Hill Lister and Co. 
 
 Farnley Gelderd Road Farnley Iron Co. 
 
 Howley Park Howley Howley Park Co. 
 
 Middleton Dewsbury Road Harding and Co. 
 
 Morley Main Albert Road W. Ackroyd and Bros. 
 
 Victoria Bruntcliffe John Haigh and Son 
 
 West End Howley West End Coal Co. 
 
 One hundred years ago coal was obtained from several mines in Morlej 7 , 
 in a very different manner from that in which it is obtained at the 
 present day; nor was there, at the time of which we speak, the same 
 danger attending the occupation of the miner. The beds of coal then 
 worked were those near the surface; except in one or two instances, 
 where " gin-horses " were employed to raise the coal to the pit's mouth. 
 Instead, however, of being got at by perpendicular shafts, the coal was 
 much oftener reached by means of " day-holes," that is, by an opening
 
 HISTOBY OF MOELEY. 47 
 
 in the ground, the road being by a gentle descent until the coal was 
 reached. At that time coal was obtained in small quantities, sufficient 
 to supply the wants of the then thinly-populated district, and carried by 
 the modes of conveyance, then common, up and down the almost 
 impassable lanes and roads of the township. None of these primitive 
 pits are to be found in work at present ; but the colliery proprietors of 
 the present day have often had cause to complain that their predecessors 
 were not so particular in confining themselves to the getting only of the 
 coal which they had leased. 
 
 Morley owes much of its commercial prosperity to the coal and stone 
 trades. During the last twenty years its hidden mineral treasures have 
 been sought for and brought to the surface in an abundance that would 
 have astonished our forefathers, and instead of the Hollidays and 
 Bedfords of a century ago sending out their twenty tons per day, we 
 have the descendants of these persons, along with the Ackroyds and 
 the Haighs, sending away by rail thousands of tons per week. There 
 has also been a great alteration in the price of coal. In 1750 house coal 
 was one shilling per ton; in 1790 two shillings and sixpence were paid 
 for the same quantity ; while at the present day, the prices at the pit, 
 for this class of coal, range from fourteen to sixteen shillings per ton. 
 
 The Morley Main is by far the most extensive of the collieries within 
 the township. Above and below ground are employed several hundred 
 men and boys, and seventy-five horses. Thirteen steam engines are at 
 work, either raising coal, pumping water, working the inclines, sawing 
 wood, or hammering iron. Four of these engines are in the deep pit, 
 working the ropes engaged in drawing the coal to the bottom of the 
 shaft. One of these ropes is 2,400 yards and the other 1,200 yards 
 long. The shaft of the Deep Pit is 153 yards in depth, and 10 feet in 
 diameter, and the shaft of the Little Pit is 125 yards in depth and 11 feet 
 in diameter. These pits were opened in 1855, and in 1872 occurred one of 
 those disastrous explosions which result in a fearful loss of life. While 
 the men were at work, on the 7th of October, and just before two o'clock 
 in the afternoon, an explosion of fire-damp occurred by wluch thirty-four 
 men and boys lost their lives. This was, by far, the most fearful 
 calamity which ever occurred in Morley. 
 
 An important branch of industry in Morley is the stone trade. Rich 
 in coal and iron, the township contains many very valuable and extensive 
 beds of stone. Much of this stone finds its way to London, and in some 
 cases it is packed in wood and shipped to America. We are unable to 
 give statistics as to the amount quarried, but as 500 persons find 
 employment in these quarries, we may reasonably conclude that the
 
 48 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 aggregate amount must be considerable. The following list gives the 
 names of the quarries, the situation, and names of the owners : 
 
 Bruntcliffe Brmitcliffe Henry Smith 
 
 Do. Do. Samuel Nelson 
 
 Hembrigg High Street William Denton 
 
 Finsclale Scotchman Lane Do. 
 
 Stump Cross High Street Do. 
 
 Finsdale No. 1. Finsclale J. Ackroycl and Son 
 
 Do. No. 2. Do. Do. 
 
 Finsdale Do. Thomas Clough 
 
 Co-operative Scotchman Lane Co-operative Quarry Co. 
 
 Finsdale Do. John Haigh 
 
 Morley Wellington Street Hannah Pawson 
 
 The Morley quarries were first opened about the beginning of the 
 eighteenth century, and for a long time were carried on by Earl 
 Dartmouth, lord of the manor. The stone is handsome in appearance, 
 but rather perishable. Fossil remains have, on several occasions, been 
 found in the stone workings. They consisted, principally, of fossil stems 
 of plants which for ages have been unknown in this kingdom. Scatcherd 
 gives some curious particulars respecting the finding of organic remains 
 within these quarries. lie says, " Sometime in the summer of 1824, in 
 a solid block of stone, twenty-five feet from the surface of the earth, 
 there were found eight or ten fossil nuts or acorns. They are ovate and 
 angular and there can be little doubt are the nuts of the ' Carpinus 
 Betulus ' (the large hornbeam). Some of these nuts have assuredly not 
 arrived at maturity when they fell from the tree, and were overwhelmed 
 by that awful catastrophe whereby the ' fountains of the great deep 
 were broken up.' I am satisfied, however, that in England these kind 
 of nuts are indigenous ; that they grew to the full size and came to 
 maturity in what is now Yorkshire ; and possibly near the spot where 
 are now our quarries, before the last General Deluge, or great Convulsion 
 of Nature. I say the last General Deluge, because it appears to me 
 that one deluge will not account for appearances in various parts of the 
 Earth." Scatcherd does not explain what appearances he here alludes 
 to which gave him the neiv idea of two separate and distinct Deluges. 
 
 In some parts of Morley the beds of stone have a singular formation, 
 as may be observed near the station of the London and North Western 
 Kailway, in the Valley. The line here runs through a deep cutting of 
 solid rock, and, close by the goods-shed, has exposed some very 
 interesting geological phenomena, in the shape of a singularly contorted 
 stratum of flagstone, warped and twisted by some mighty "throw" or 
 dislocation, in the earlier days of mother earth.
 
 AGRICULTURE. 
 
 " HONOUR awaits, o'er all the earth, 
 Through all the generations, 
 The art that calls her harvests forth, 
 And feeds the expectant nations.' W. C. BRYANT 
 
 " AGRICULTURE is the most certain source of strength, wealth, and independence. Commerce 
 flourishes by circumstances precarious, contingent, transitory, almost as liable to change as the 
 winds and waves that waft it to our shores. She may well be termed the younger sister, for, in all 
 emergencies she looks to agriculture both for defence and for supply." COLTON. 
 
 HE land of the township generally, with one or two exceptions, 
 is broken up into small farm holdings, which consequently are 
 sub-divided into small fields or closes. Morley, at one time, 
 had a considerable agricultural population, and previous to the develop- 
 ment of the union cloth manufacture, the cottages were far outnumbered 
 by the farmsteads, and the inhabitants were engaged in an admixture 
 of trade and agriculture. With a few exceptions the land is badly 
 cultivated, which arises from the fact that manufacturing enterprise is 
 rapidly using up the land for other purposes, and partly from the farms 
 being let from year to year ; the lease principle, which offers greater 
 inducement to thorough cultivation, not being in operation here to any 
 great extent. 
 
 - An old lease which we have before us, contains some curious 
 particulars with regard to the holding of land by our forefathers. This 
 document bears date " the tenth day of February, Annoque Domini, 
 1695," and is " between the Right Honourable Lord Marquis of Halifax, 
 Baron of Elland, of the one part, and Susan Brook, widow, and William 
 Askwith, of Morley, husbandman, of the other part." After describing 
 the property, which consisted of a messuage or tenement with the 
 appurtenances, and eight acres of land, provision is made to reserve to 
 the Earl the " woods, underwoods and trees, mines of coal, lead-oar, and 
 iron-stone and other mines, and all quarries of stone and slate." The 
 property is to be held for twenty years, paying during that term the 
 E
 
 50 HISTOKY OF MORLEY. 
 
 yearly rent of Four Pounds and Twelve Shillings, at the feasts of 
 Pentecost and St. Martin, the Bishop, in winter. Then comes the 
 clause : 
 
 "The said Susan Brook and William Askwith shall and will do suit and service 
 to the Court Baron of the said Lord Marqitess, to be holden for his Manor of 
 Morley, when and so often as the said Court, shall be summoned to be there held 
 and kept. And also, they shall and will do suit to the mills of the said Lord 
 Marquess, situate in Howley Park, by grinding all such corn, grain, and malt, as 
 they the said Susan Brook and William Askwith shall from time to time use and 
 expend in or about the said leased premises or turn into oatmeal shilling, and 
 shall and will pay for the grinding thereof, all such toll and mulcture, as is usiially 
 paid by other the tenants and suitors to the said mills." 
 
 Provision is afterwards made that the land shall receive proper cultiva- 
 tion, in terms as follows : 
 
 " The said Susan Brook and William Askwith, shall and will lay and spread iipon 
 every day's work, with a plough of the said leased premises which they shall plough, 
 grave or rive out, to be sown with corn or grain, twenty sufficient horse-loads of 
 well-burnt and unfaln lime or ten sufficient wain-loads of mairure, and shall not 
 take above three crops together, for once so liming and manuring the aforesaid. 
 And shall also lay and spread upon the said premises for the better husbandry 
 thereof, all the hay, straw, fodder, compost, dung and ashes, which shall yearly 
 come, grow, be gotten or bred upon the said premises. And they also, shall and 
 will for every acre of Ley -ground of the said premises which shall be ploughed, 
 graved or riven out to be sown with corn or grain in any of the three last years of 
 the said term, well and truly satisfie and pay unto the said Earl over and above 
 the yearly rent hereby reserved, the yearly Summ of three pounds of like money." 
 
 The above notice respecting " Mills " is the second intimation we 
 have of their existence within the township. A\ r e should not have been 
 surprised had mention of a mill been made in Doomsday Book as then 
 existing in Morley, seeing that mills for grinding corn had become 
 common about the close of the Saxon period. These corn mills invariably 
 belonged to the Lords of the manors, and the tenants were permitted to 
 grind only at the Lord's Mill, a restriction which has not been abolished 
 in some cases even at the present day. 
 
 In Morley, during the early part of last century, on many of the 
 farms, manure was carried into the fields in square boxes or crates, 
 called " Hotts," which hung like panniers over the backs of the horses, 
 and which were generally managed by women. They had doors at the 
 bottom, through which the manure was discharged upon the land ; and 
 while one box or pannier was emptying, the other was borne up by an 
 assistant. 
 
 The soil in Morley is, for the most part, a heavy loam, on a substratum 
 of stiff clay, and much of it comparatively sterile, little energy or skill
 
 HISTORY OP MORLEY. 51 
 
 being expended on its improvement. The land is in many cases held by 
 persons engaged in trade, who are supposed to know, by some intuitive 
 instinct, how to purchase and attend to live stock, manage systems of 
 drainage and irrigation, pursue the best rotation of crops and culture of 
 artificial grasses, with the right changes of seed and proper applications 
 of manure. Hence we find that bone, guano, and other artificial manures 
 are seldom used, and the land continues, year after year, in a state of 
 comparative infertility. 
 
 Grass and hay are the chief products of the fields, milk production 
 monopolising in a great measure the attention of the farmers, who retail 
 it at threepence per quart. Oats were at one time a favourite cereal, 
 and the crops were for home consumption, as oat-cakes or "haver- 
 bread " was the staple article of diet ; and these cakes were suspended, 
 in every house, across the lines of the " creels " under the ceiling. A 
 regiment of soldiers raised in these parts, eighty years ago, took the 
 name of the "Oaten-cake lads;" assuming as their badge an oaten-cake, 
 which was placed for the purpose of attraction on the point of the 
 recruiting sergeant's sword. Scatcherd says that, " united in groups of 
 three or four together at Leeds winter fair, they would purchase an ox, 
 and Having made partitions of it, they salted and hung the pieces for 
 their winter food. The broth and ' rashers ' which these afforded, with 
 oat-cakes, were a perpetual repast." 
 
 In connection with this subject we notice t The Morley Floral and 
 Agricultural Society," which was formed in 1836, under the modest 
 title of " The Morley Floral Society." The first meeting of this society 
 was held in August, 1836, when X. Scatcherd, Esq., was appointed 
 president ; Dr. Swiuden, treasurer ; and Mr. D. Butterfield, secretary. 
 The first show was held in the National School Room, Town End. The 
 number of subscribers was 27, subscriptions 3 7s. 6d., admission to 
 the show 11s. 6d., out of which items $he committee gave 20s. as 
 prizes. The expenses were 20s. 3d., leaving a balance in hand of 
 30s. 9d. The show went on expanding year after year, until in 1866 it 
 had for patrons, earls, baronets, commoners, and men of all classes, with a 
 noble list of nearly five hundred subscribers ; an annual revenue of more 
 than 300 ; a splendid show ground, and 10,000 visitors on the show 
 day. At the present time the show has dwindled to very insignificant 
 dimensions, and lacking the energy thrown into it by Mr. John Jackson, 
 the secretary during the years of its greatest prosperity, it bids fan* to 
 become, altogether, a thing of the past.
 
 DOMESTIC AECIIITECTURE, 
 
 ' The grassy lane, the wood-surrounded field, 
 The rude stone fence with fragrant wall-flowers gay, 
 The clay built cot, to me more pleasure yield, 
 Than all the pomp imperial domes display." SCOTT OF AM 
 
 jjOST of the huts, booths, cots, or dwellings inhabited by the 
 peasantry in Morley, centuries ago, were slight structures of 
 one storey, open to the rafters, and divided into "house part" 
 and sleeping room. To construct these, a vertical framework of oaken 
 crooks was inserted in the ground, and pegged well together. The 
 lower portion was crossed with transverse timbers, and the interstices 
 .were filled in with laths, wattles, or wicker work, and plastered with 
 clay. The roof was hipped at both ends, and thatched with straw. 
 The door was kept closed or shut with the aid of a " sneck," and was 
 opened or unlatched by means of a finger-hole, or else by pulling the 
 " sneck-band." No preliminary knocking at the door was then expected. 
 Bells, knockers, and patent or other locks were then undreamt of, and 
 visitors, whether "the aukl beggar man" or some friend or relation, let 
 themselves in, and as a rule, were welcome to such hospitalities as the 
 inmates could afford. Light was admitted to these homes by a casement 
 window or two, glazed with small lozenge-shaped panes of a greenish 
 hue. Ventilation was generally provided for by a hole in the roof, 
 caused by the wear and tear of the elements; this mode had the 
 disadvantage of leaving a free passage for wet. 
 
 Two centuries ago these " homes of the people " existed here, and 
 until the latter part of the eighteenth century were numerous in Morley. 
 They were, indeed, mere hovels, unworthy the designation of " homes," 
 as the following description of one of them (only pulled down about ten 
 years ago, and known for more than a century as " Slack's cottage ") 
 will shew. Scatcherd thus describes it : " This singular building is an
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 53 
 
 ancient lath and plaster or ' post and pan ' cottage. The shaft of the 
 chimney immensely large, with a top of sticks and bindings, being, 
 doubtless, a funnel for the smoke, constructed at an after period, displays 
 the antiquity of the dwelling. But the fire-place is the most surprising, 
 it is eleven feet ten inches wide ; five feet two niches deep ; and five 
 feet five inches high. In the centre of this space, no doubt, in ancient 
 times, was the skeleton of a rude range ; and here around a fire, partly 
 perhaps of coal, but principally of wood, did the ancestors of Slack sit 
 plaiting their straw hats by the light of the chimney in the day-time." 
 
 In course of time stone was substituted for wood and plaster, but the 
 houses were still only one storey high and had no chambers. Some of 
 these primitive dwellings may yet be seen in various parts of the town, 
 but others have been swept away during the last few years ; notably, a 
 
 Old Houses, Pinfold, and Town's Quarry. 
 
 row which existed upon the site of the ancient ducking pond, and near 
 to the " Pinfold," or common Pound. In order that our readers may 
 judge of these " homes " of the " good old times," we append a view of 
 the cottages last named. 
 
 Around these homes of our ancestors stretched the moorland, 
 unreclaimed by the plough or the spade ; and fine woods where 
 
 " Thick as a forest grew the towering trees." 
 
 Here and there on the hills, and in the valleys, were a few houses, of a 
 somewhat better class, with small gardens attached to them, and
 
 54 HISTORY OF MOBLET. 
 
 generally a patch of land sufficient to maintain a cow ; these were 
 occupied by the "niaister clothiers," as they were called ; for the chief 
 employment of the population, both of Morley and the neighbourhood, 
 was the making of cloth. Nearly every house had its loom and spinning 
 wheel, for the entire manufacture was carried on by hand labour. 
 
 When the cloth manufacture began to still further develope itself, 
 houses of a much more roomy, if not of a more substantial character, 
 were built, generally of stone. In these the various operations connected 
 with the " domestic manufacture " of woollen cloth were carried on. 
 The small manufacturers, employing generally only the members of their 
 own families, were also farmers, yet the farming of that day was of a 
 very indifferent character, and was done by the husband and other male 
 members of the family, whilst the wife and daughters, after they had 
 milked the cows and churned the butter, busied themselves in carding, 
 slubbing, and spinning of wool, and preparing the warp for the loom. 
 The warp was then sized, dried, and beamed by the men ; and either 
 they, or the females, as circumstances admitted, wove the warp in the 
 loom-house. The number of looms did not often exceed three to a 
 family, and what with the farming, the house work, and the 
 manufacturing, there was generally plenty of employment for all who 
 were able to work, 
 
 The farm buildings (outhouses) were chiefly antique, inconvenient 
 erections, sometimes covered with thatch, but oftener with grey slates. 
 Many of these noticeable buildings might be seen until very recently in 
 the neighbourhood of Owlers Lane, Stump Cross, Bank Top, and other 
 parts of the town. The "living part" of these buildings was, as we 
 have already observed, of a roomy character, and consisted of house, 
 parlour, pantry, attics, and loom-house. In the yard, or " fold " as it 
 was called, were the horsing-stock or mount, the dog-kennel, and 
 can-tree ; this latter fixture was a portion of a many-armed tree, sunk 
 in the ground, and was intended to hold the clean "piggins" or milk 
 cans. 
 
 Of the better class of houses, built in the seventeenth century, and 
 occupied by the yeomanry of the village, we have several good examples 
 left to us. Yew Tree House, on Banks' Hill, was built in 1650 by one 
 Richard Huntington, from whom it was purchased by Miss Waller, 
 daughter of Edmund Waller, the poet. On Banks' Hill is an old house, 
 built during the " Oliver days," which externally bears evidence of its 
 former respectability, while the interior is furnished with some fine 
 specimens of wood carvings, and in all respects it is a fair sample of 
 the type of West Riding houses, inhabited by the more wealthy citizens
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 55 
 
 in the seventeenth century. Another house, of a still more ancient date 
 than the last-named, is to be seen at the top of Chapel Hill. On the 
 gateway leading to this house there was, until ^lately, the following 
 inscription : " Porta patens esto, Nulli dauda/ris honesto," gate be 
 thou open ; thou mayest not be shut to any honest man. The first half 
 was upon the pillar of the gateway to the left as we enter ; this has 
 been pulled down, but the other pillar, containing the latter half of the 
 inscription, still remains. Tradition says that Mr. Pickering, at one 
 time minister of the Old Chapel, lived here, and after him, and probably 
 until 1695, when he died, one Wyther, an attorney, who lies buried at 
 Batley. Next, probably one Rothwell, a schoolmaster, and after him 
 
 Old House and Gateway. 
 
 some of the Rayner family. Since that time, one Trenholme, a school- 
 master ; and after this person Mr. Overend, a well-to-do manufacturer, 
 and others. 
 
 Near to the Old House last mentioned is a specimen of the farm-house 
 common in Morley about the beginning of the eighteenth centuiy. This 
 was at one time the residence of Samuel Clark, a drysalter and well-to-do 
 farmer, who was of some importance in his day, as appears by the part 
 he took in town's affairs. He served the office of Chief Constable in 
 1760, Churchwarden in 1766, and Overseer of the Poor in 1786. Given 
 to hospitality, this village worthy was accustomed to receive the visits 
 of his neighbours in the old farm-house. In this place, with (in winter) 
 its warm, roaring fire, and where sundry flitches of bacon, oaten cake
 
 56 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 and hard wheaten bread burdened the hooks and "creels" of the kitchen 
 ceiling sitting on the high-backed settle near the fire, with pot and 
 pipe, they would discuss political, parochial, fanning, and other matters. 
 The old house, forty years ago, underwent many internal alterations to 
 adapt it to suit the purposes of the village post office, then kept by 
 Andrew Cowburn. 
 
 Cross Hall is an antiquated structure, situate on the line of " The 
 Street." It was built in the latter part of the seventeenth century, and 
 is noticeable as being at one time the property and residence of Miss 
 Bosanquet, afterwards Mrs. Fletcher, whose name has become a house- 
 hold word, in the homes of the Yorkshire people especially. Cross 
 Hall, in 1704, was in the possession of Mr. Thomas Hardcastle, maltster, 
 who sold the " messuage tenement and maltkiln, lately builded, and one 
 croft, to Sanil. Middlebrook for 103 3s. 6d." In order to show the 
 increase in the value of property in Morley, at different periods, we give 
 the following particulars respecting this estate : 
 
 In 1743, Middlebrook sold to Jeremiah Scott " Cross s. d. 
 Hall, one cottage, one maltkiln, one barn, one stable, one 
 garden, one orchard, four acres of land," for 300 
 
 Sold by Scott to Francis Bentley, and by the latter to 
 Wm. Wilcock in August, 1766, for 2GG 
 
 On the 27th of March, 1769, Wilcock sold to Mary 
 Bosanquet, " Cross Hall, one barn, one cow-house, four 
 stables, two maltkilns, three granaries, one orchard, and 
 one close of land," for ... ... ... ... ... 650 
 
 In 1781, John William Fletcher and Mary, his wife, 
 (Miss B.) sold the estate to Henry Preston, merchant, of 
 Leeds, for 1470 
 
 May 22nd, 1832, Henry Preston sold the property to 
 the Kev. A. G. Kinsman, for 1600 
 
 August 2nd, 1836, Mr. Kinsman sold it to Benjamin 
 Walker for 2000 
 
 In 1851, R. H. Ellis, Esq., J.P., of Dewsbury, purchased the estate 
 from William Tipping, Esq., who had married the daughter of Mr. 
 Walker. In 1853, Cross Hall became the property of Mr. J. J. 
 Mallinson, who now occupies the premises. One or two of the above- 
 named deserve a passing notice. Jeremiah Scott was a gentleman of 
 fortune, if one may judge from the memorial of his death a handsome 
 mural monument in Batley Church. Mary Bosanquet was a lady of 
 distinguished piety. During her residence at Cross Hall she applied an 
 ample fortune to the relief of the friendless, collecting together and
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 57 
 
 supporting under her own roof an extensive family, composed of the 
 afflicted, the indigent, and the . helpless, but chiefly consisting of orphan 
 children. Mr. Henry Preston, who purchased the Hall from Mr. 
 Fletcher, was a merchant at Leeds, and ran the first close carriage in 
 this neighbourhood. 
 
 Morley Hall, built in 1683 by Thomas Dawson, Esq., is an old- 
 fashioned, but by no means a pleasing, specimen of the architecture of 
 the times in which it was built. It has a low central portion, flanked 
 by several gabled erections, and at one end a new wing, which, not 
 having the weather stains of the rest of the building, seems somewhat 
 
 Morley Hall. 
 
 out of keeping with it. It stands on the knoll of a hill, with a broad 
 green meadow in front, sloping gradually down to the village, and is 
 planted at the back with trees. One peculiarity of these trees we 
 cannot pass over. Thirty years ago, quite a colony of rooks inhabited 
 them, and the evening's proceedings and playful manoeuvres of this 
 feathered tribe afforded much amusement to the juveniles of those days. 
 In the autumn time, just before dusk, they came in long strings from 
 their day's wanderings, and wheeling round and round in the air, in a 
 playful manner, they made a loud cawing, preparatory to settling down 
 to their rest. The number of these yearly visitants to the Hall is now
 
 58 
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 much less than formerly, when they were so numerous that to speak of 
 " The Rookery" was equivalent to giving the place its proper name. 
 
 During the last thirty years a large number of better class cottages 
 have been built in the town, as well as several good shops ; and taking 
 the whole town' as a sample, it presents a good illustration of the results 
 of manufacturing activity, as compared with the " jog-trot" lethargy of 
 a century ago. At the same time we enter our humble protest against 
 the retrogressive step now being taken by "builders and contractors," 
 who are, in all parts of the town, running up rows of "back-to-back" 
 houses, built close up to the street lines, without allowing any space for 
 a garden, of even the narrowest town pattern. 
 
 A few modern mansions claim passing attention. Prominent amongst 
 them is Mount Pleasant, the residence of Joshua Asquith, Esq., which 
 
 Mount Pleasant. 
 
 stands at the foot of one of the " seven hills" of the town. It is, as 
 its name implies, a pleasant spot a choice corner of the village, and the 
 view thence across the valley to the meadows and woods beyond, and 
 over a wide stretch of picturesquely varied country, including the 
 mansions and grounds of Temple Newsam, is, perhaps, not equalled in 
 the neighbourhood. 
 
 Thomfield House, the residence of William Jackson, Esq., is a good 
 specimen of the class of residences which spring up as a result of 
 commercial prosperity. It has been erected within the last eighteen 
 months, and with its beautiful entrance porch, clustered chimneys, bay
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 windows, and commanding situation, is worth notice. From the 
 accompanying- view, it will be seen that the residence has all the 
 appearances of substantiality, comfort, and adaptability to the domestic 
 requirements of the successful manufacturer. The style of architecture 
 is an adaptation of Gothic outline with modernised details, and has a 
 somewhat picturesque appearance. 
 
 The Morley Hall Estate, tolerably secluded from the hum and bustle 
 of manufacturing life, offers to working people the opportunity of 
 
 becoming their own landlords, and living in 
 a most healthy and desirable locality. The 
 estate is the property of a limited company, 
 whose praiseworthy efforts to meet the ever- 
 increasing demand for improved dwellings 
 have not, as yet, met with the support and 
 sympathy of the capitalists or working-men 
 which it deserves. Notwithstanding this 
 drawback, upwards of eighty dwelling- 
 Osbome House, houses have been erected on the estate, in 
 
 addition to several pleasing villas in the cottage omee style, of which 
 we present a specimen. 
 
 Morley possesses abundance of stone and clay, the latter of which 
 can be cheaply and expeditiously manufactured into bricks, notwith- 
 standing which there is a great lack of cottage houses, as well as of an 
 intermediate class of dwellings.
 
 EXTENT AND POPULATION. 
 
 " I love the place, in which my infant sight 
 Caught the first beams of animating light ; 
 Thy Saxon tongue to polished ears uncoutli 
 In guile unpractised, but allied to Truth ; 
 Thy hardy sons, who know with equal pride 
 To chase the shuttle or the plough to guide ; 
 Thy thrifty wives, thy daughters ever dear, 
 Thy hearty welcome to their simple cheer." ANON. 
 
 ROM an old town's book we learn that the township is upwards 
 of two miles long, and about three miles broad. Its superficial 
 area is given in Scatcherd's History as 2,300 acres ; William 
 Wordsworth, Esq.'s survey in 1840, exclusive of roads, as 2,699 acres ; 
 "White's Clothing District," in 1866, as 2,698; Porter's Directory of 
 Leeds, 1872, as 2,645 ; and the ordnance survey, the most accurate of 
 all, yields 2,698 acres. 
 
 From the scanty memorials accessible, apparently during several 
 centuries the population was but small, and the prosperity of the place 
 at a comparative standstill. No record is preserved of the number of 
 the population previous to the year 1800, but the following tabulated 
 statement of the several censuses taken by Government, shows the 
 modern progressive increase of population : 
 
 Date. 
 
 Inhabited 
 Houses. 
 
 Uninhabited 
 Houses. 
 
 Males. 
 
 Females. 
 
 Total. 
 
 1801 
 
 422 
 
 
 
 1094 
 
 1014 
 
 2108 
 
 1811 
 
 
 
 
 
 1231 
 
 1226 
 
 2457 
 
 1821 
 
 
 
 
 
 1556 
 
 1475 
 
 3031 
 
 1831 
 
 
 
 
 
 1921 
 
 1898 
 
 3819 
 
 1841 
 
 846 
 
 56 
 
 2109 
 
 1978 
 
 4087 
 
 1851 
 
 1010 
 
 26 
 
 2439 
 
 2382 
 
 4821 
 
 1861 
 
 1427 
 
 14 
 
 3382 
 
 3458 
 
 6840 
 
 1871 
 
 2036 
 
 57 
 
 4759 
 
 4848 
 
 9607 
 
 Although the rate of increase per cent, in 1841 shews a considerable
 
 HIST OK Y OP MORLEY. 
 
 Gl 
 
 decline upon the previous enumerations, this was altered in 1851, and in 
 the ten years ending April 1861, the progress had been singularly rapid, 
 owing to the erection of woollen mills, and the opening out of the coal 
 and stone trades. The population at the present time (1876) is 
 estimated at upwards of 12,000 souls. 
 
 The population of Churwell, one mile from Morley, is given below. 
 The area of this township is 488*acres. The boundary stone separating 
 the two townships is in Churwell Lane, nearly opposite the residence of 
 the Misses Crowther. 
 
 Year. 
 
 Inhabited 
 Houses. 
 
 Uninhabited 
 Houses. 
 
 Males. 
 
 Females. 
 
 Total. 
 
 1801 
 
 127 
 
 1 
 
 202 
 
 300 
 
 502 
 
 1811 
 
 138 
 
 9 
 
 347 
 
 319 
 
 666 
 
 1821 
 
 155 
 
 13 
 
 419 
 
 395 
 
 814 
 
 1831 
 
 204 
 
 6 
 
 518 
 
 505 
 
 1023 
 
 1841 
 
 233 
 
 5 
 
 607 
 
 591 
 
 1198 
 
 1851 
 
 226 
 
 27 
 
 572 
 
 531 
 
 1103 
 
 1861 
 
 319 
 
 7 
 
 791 
 
 773 
 
 1564 
 
 1871 
 
 355 
 
 1 
 
 856 
 
 834 
 
 1690 
 
 The population of Gildersome, two miles from Morley, is appended. 
 The area of the township is 1120 acres. 
 
 Year. 
 
 Inhabited 
 Houses. 
 
 Uninhabited 
 Houses. 
 
 Males. 
 
 Females. 
 
 Total. 
 
 1801 
 
 241 
 
 5 
 
 628 604 
 
 1232 
 
 1811 
 
 278 
 
 6 
 
 682 
 
 727 
 
 1409 
 
 1821 
 
 306 
 
 19 
 
 799 
 
 793 
 
 1592 
 
 1831 
 
 328 
 
 4 
 
 815 
 
 837 
 
 1652 
 
 1841 
 
 387 
 
 5 
 
 945 
 
 972 
 
 1917 
 
 1851 
 
 431 
 
 34 
 
 1075 
 
 1051 
 
 2126 
 
 1861 
 
 558 
 
 20 
 
 1375 
 
 1326 
 
 2701 
 
 1871 
 
 729 
 
 18 
 
 1790 
 
 1698 
 
 3488
 
 MEANS OF COMMUNICATION. 
 
 ' Your late old coachman, though oft splash'd by dirt, 
 And out in many a storm, remains unhurt ; 
 Enjoys your kind reward for all his pains, 
 And now to other hands resigns the reins." GARRICK. 
 
 " THE poetry of tiavelling is gone, the romance of roadside adventure is at an end. I confess 
 that I love not this break-neck work, this breathless hurrying through the world, this skip-jack, 
 money-making rapidity. It is not characteristic of our nation it accords not with the heavy 
 tread and sure and stable movements of John Bull. I am one of the few lovers of old fashions ; 
 content with the country as God has made it, and with the speed which bore our old forefathers to 
 the grave quick enough, and yet left them time to make their country the greatest nation in the 
 world." THOMAS MILLER. 
 
 to the middle of the seventeenth century the roads 
 in existence in Morley, as elsewhere, were of the most primitive 
 character, and, except in rare instances, simply footpaths, 
 leading from one part of the village to another, and to the market at 
 Leeds. Many of these by-paths are still in existence, and form public 
 conveniences for business, and healthy outlets for invigorating strolls. 
 In all probability the earliest bridle lane or " sty," or public trackway 
 for horses, carts being then unknown or very uncommon, was a line 
 connecting Morley with Leeds and Thorpe or Middleton, which coming 
 up Rooms Lane, went by way of the " ginnel " on Chapel Hill, and 
 then across what was at that time the Common, on to Dunningley. 
 This is likely, when it is remembered that previous to the enclosure of 
 the common in 1817, the lane or road was of a similar width with that 
 .of Rooms Lane of the present, and the " Wide Lane " of this day was, 
 at the time of which we speak, only a "bridle lane." We believe that 
 Rooms Lane still retains all the features which it possessed in the days 
 of " pack-horses," and is a fair specimen of the roads that were to be 
 found in Morley a century ago. In this lane a path still remains, 
 similar to that on which the pack-horses used to travel, it being laid 
 with flags on which the horses could obtain a firm footing. Why this 
 ancient road should, more than a century ago, have ceased to be a
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 63 
 
 public highway, is difficult to understand, except it was on account of 
 the Leeds and Elland Road having been made, and the old lane thus 
 becoming less useful, or superfluous. Of the days of the pack-horses 
 much that is interesting has been written. In these days of express 
 trains we can form but a faint idea of the sensation that would be 
 caused in village circles on the arrival of these cavalcades ; by the 
 musical tingling of the bells on the horses' necks, the clatter of their 
 hoofs on the causeway, and the large packs of goods, like small 
 mountains, on their backs. The village gossips would gather round 
 their drivers to learn what was going on in Leeds, and to listen to the 
 "news of the times" in which they were generally well posted up. 
 Scatcherd has left an interesting communication relative to these 
 travellers, formerly very numerous in these parts. He says : " I have 
 a faint recollection of them passing through Morley twice a week, on 
 Mondays and Thursdays, as I am told. They were called pack-horses 
 from carrying large packs of cloth, wool, etc., on their backs. These 
 horses and their drivers were the chief conveyances during the middle 
 ages, and down to the times of the great Civil War. By means of 
 them, not only various goods, but letters, and even young Oxford and 
 Cambridge students, were passed from various parts of the kingdom. 
 AVhen I saw the bell-horses at Morley, passing on to Dewsbury and 
 Thornhill, the first horse only wore a bell. The roads were then narrow 
 and rugged, with deep ruts, and the causeways, generally, were single 
 and uneven. The bell-horses always kept this footpath, and forced 
 therefrom travellers of every description, so that on dark nights, and 
 especially in the winter time, the bell of the proud leader was a most 
 useful appendage. These roadsters ceased to travel, sometime, as I 
 fancy, about 1794, but I cannot ascertain the precise date." 
 
 With increasing commerce the old roads were exposed to a severity 
 of stress and wear for which they were not adapted, and more 
 commodious modes of transit were forced into existence. Local powers 
 being unequal to the emergency, the aid of Parliament was sought and 
 obtained. The first turnpike was made in England in 1663, but it was 
 not until a century later that other Acts were passed to facilitate the 
 communication between the towns and villages of the AVest Riding. On 
 the best turnpikes, in 1750, the ruts were deep, the descents precipitous, 
 and the way often such that it was hardly possible to distinguish in the 
 dark the road from the unenclosed common which lay on both sides. 
 The turnpike from Leeds to Manchester ran as follows : Leeds, through 
 Beeston, up old road at C bur well, and on to Morley Hole, and then up 
 Neepshaiv Lane to the " Street" or Roman Road ; next, along this road
 
 64 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 till it reached Adwalton. From the latter village, the way was over 
 Adwalton Moor to Gomersal, and forward to Manchester. 
 
 For a long time the passenger traffic was carried on by means of 
 "machines with steel springs," better known as stage coaches. "The 
 Dart, four-horse Post Coach, will run daily from Leeds to Iluddersfield, 
 at six o'clock in the evening, by way of Morley, Birstal, etc., April, 
 1815." The stage-coach was then in its glory, and was described by a 
 great traveller as " the perfection of travel." There are many yet in 
 our town who have a vivid recollection of the ups and downs, the 
 lights and shades, the social variety and freshness of a trip to London or 
 Manchester in these old coaching days. The stage coach was a great 
 improvement upon the locomotion of a century before, when by means 
 of the " social pillion" farmers' horses carried double. In this way the 
 people had to come from Churwell, Gildersome, and many other places 
 to the Old Chapel on Sunday, for at that time none of these villages had 
 churches or chapels ; but the people were all united in one common fold 
 under the Puritan pastor at Morley. Every Sabbath day, by way of 
 Neepshaw Lane, Rooms Lane, and other roads of a similar kind, came 
 the clothiers, the farmers, and operatives, with their families, some on 
 foot, toiling along the narrow rugged roads, and miry footpaths, while 
 others, the farmer and his wife, used frequently to ride together on 
 horseback, the " guidwife " being seated behind her lord and master, on 
 what was called a pillion a kind of stuffed seat. As this was also the 
 way in which they went to market, or came on business to the village 
 to accommodate those who travelled in this rude fashion, there used to 
 be stone steps, called "mounts" or " horsig-stones " attached to the 
 inns in the village, for the use of equestrians who wished to mount or 
 dismount. Some of these mounts still remain in various parts of the 
 West Riding, and the old fashioned method of " going to market " is 
 yet pursued in some parts of England. 
 
 For the requirements of trade, after the pack-horses came the 
 ponderous waggons of the common carriers, with four or six horses to 
 each. In the early part of the present century "The Lodge" near 
 St. Peter's Church was occupied by George Mitchell, who was the 
 principal carrier between Leeds and Manchester. At that time the 
 traffic upon this turnpike road was considerable, and the " Swan," now 
 the " Dartmouth Arms," was a well-known stopping place, noted for 
 its high character and good accommodation. Not only was it the head- 
 quarters of the " Dart," but it was also patronised by the innumerable 
 stage-waggons, post-chaises, flys, and other vehicles which then lined 
 the road, presenting an appearance of liveliness which would form a
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 65 
 
 strange contrast to the quietude of the road during the last thirty years. 
 Nearly a century ago, a better picture of an English way-side inn than 
 the " Swan " presented could scarcely have been found ; and it would 
 be a matter of some difficulty to point to any other spot in our town 
 which, at the time we have alluded to, could furnish a better photograph 
 of the rural life of its inhabitants. In the olden times, ere the railroad 
 had penetrated through the veiy heart of the village, it was the meeting 
 place of all the idlers in the neighbourhood, attracted thither by the 
 horn of the guard of the stage coach, which eveiy evening stopped at 
 this noted hostelry, and from whose passengers, as they replenished the 
 " inner man," the news-loving villagers gathered information of what 
 was passing in the " Town," as Leeds was then called. The interior of 
 the " Swan" is worthy of notice. The kitchen or principal room was a 
 
 Carrier's Waggon. 
 
 large old-fashioned apartment, with the indispensable " long-settle," 
 which eveiy evening was noticeable for the variety of its occupants. 
 The travelling packman, the regular tramp, having a home nowhere, 
 and a home everywhere, whose life must have derived its peculiar 
 attraction from its endless change of scene; the fanner's man resting 
 after his day's toil ; the operative glad to find excitement anywhere ; 
 the gamekeeper and others which we cannot stop to enumerate all 
 gathered around the cheerful hearth. On the afternoon of market day, 
 the various carriers belonging to the neighbouring villages drew up their 
 teams, at the door of the inn, as they return heavily laden from market ; 
 and as they relate the t; news " to the assembled rustics, they are joined 
 by " old Michael," the master of the house, who, having been to market 
 himself, is very civil and communicative. Over the long-settle, and 
 P
 
 66 HISTOKY OF HOKLEY. 
 
 nailed to the wall, you may observe a board on which is painted, in 
 conspicuous letters, the following warning : 
 
 " Since man to man is so unjust, 
 One scarcely knows what man to trust ; 
 I've trusted many to my sorrow, 
 So pay to-day, I'll trust to-morrow." 
 
 But our village inn was not only visited by numerous and varied 
 individuals of the locality itself, but occasionally strangers, who had 
 been to visit Howley, and other picturesque places in the neighbourhood, 
 would drop in to wait the departure of the coach, and for these better 
 accommodation was provided in the parlour, with its high backed chairs, 
 dimity curtains, and glass cupboard, full of antique gaily-painted china. 
 
 At the present day, in addition to the facilities for traffic afforded by 
 "common carriers" to Leeds, and goods traffic by rail, two lines of 
 railway compete for the transit of passengers. The Leeds and 
 Manchester (L. & N. W.) Railway, with a station in the township, was 
 commenced in 1845. The line is through the very heart of the town by 
 a tunnel, commencing about one hundred yards from the station house. 
 The following particulars respecting this tunnel may not be uninteresting. 
 It is in length 3,370 yards, or nearly two miles. The extreme breadth 
 is 26 feet, and the height 26 feet. The tunnel is nearly level throughout 
 the fall being only what is required for its proper drainage. In 
 executing the works, twenty-three working shafts were used, besides 
 four permanent shafts. At one time workmen were employed at forty- 
 eight different places. Eleven powerful steam engines were at work, 
 fifteen double horse-gins, three hundred and thirty horses, and two 
 thousand workmen. The Act for its construction was obtained in July, 
 1845, and the tunnel was opened in about three years from that time. 
 The first stone of this stupendous undertaking was laid on Monday, the 
 22nd of February, 1846, and was made the occasion of considerable 
 festivity and display. In August, 1848, the key-stone of the last arch 
 of the tunnel, at the north or Moiiey entrance, was laid by Mr. 
 Grainger, the principal engineer. The line was opened to the public on 
 the 18th day of September, 1848, but owing to the high rate of charges, 
 omnibuses continued to ply between the village and Leeds for several 
 years after that time. The goods, as well as the passenger traffic, is 
 now very large. In the article of coal only, more than eight thousand 
 tons are often sent by rail from Morley alone in one week; and the 
 goods warehouses at our village stations daily receive large quantities of 
 w r ool, rags, mungo, and other materials required by our manufacturers, 
 The Great Northern Railway, passing along the western boundary of
 
 HISTOEY OF HORLEY. 67 
 
 the town, has a station near Hungerhill, opened in 1858; and this line 
 has placed several important West Riding towns within easy access of 
 Morley. 
 
 In the matter of postal arrangements, Morley has made considerable 
 advances upon the primitive foot messenger who, less than a century 
 ago, performed the duty of post-master. Fifty years ago, one Betty 
 Hartley acted as post-mistress in a humble one-storey cottage, on Banks 
 Hill, at its junction with Chapel Hill. The letters at that time were 
 called for every night and morning by John Cowburn, who, coming 
 from Adwalton, collected them from all the villages on his way to and 
 from Leeds. In the times preceding these, it was the custom for them 
 to be collected from every house by a person called the " Foot 
 Postman," who, walking through the village, blew a horn, the sound of 
 which, when heard, brought forth the people to him with their letters, 
 or prepared them to be on the look-out for some long-expected 
 communication. A writer says : u The family of the ' Hornblowers ' 
 was pretty numerous in these days, and one of the number at Morley 
 was the village postman. It is a usage as old as Shakespeare's days, 
 but quite discontinued here now." In the Merchant of Venice, Act. 5, 
 scene 1, Launcelot says : 
 
 "Tell him there 's a horn come from my master full of good news." 
 
 It may be interesting to note that, fifty years ago, the following were 
 the rates of postage from Morley to the following places : Leeds, 4d. ; 
 Huddersfield, 4d. ; Manchester, 7d. ; London, lid.; Ireland, Is. 3d. ; 
 America, 3s.; France, 2s. Id.; Germany, 2s. 7d. At the present time the 
 post-office, in Queen Street, is a most important public institution, and 
 is ably presided over by Mr. Roger Penning Sleigh. In addition to two 
 despatches and two arrivals of letters daily, there are money order, 
 savings' bank, and telegraphic departments, and office for the sale of 
 stamps, as well as issue of licenses.
 
 LOCAL GOVERNMENT. 
 
 ' ' DESCRIBE the Borough 'though our idle tribe 
 May love description, can we so describe, 
 That you shall fairly streets and buildings trace, 
 And all that gives distinction to a place ? 
 This cannot be ; yet moved by your request 
 A part I paint let Fancy form the rest." CK ABBE. 
 
 ROM various records in our possession, we learn that from 1665 
 to 1860, or thereabouts, the maintenance of the peace of the 
 township was vested in the " Constable," a most important 
 public functionary, elected annually at a town's meeting, and the 
 appointment subsequently confirmed by the Justices of the Peace. In 
 1693 Morley was the head of a division of the Constabulary, and the 
 following notice relating thereto is from the Sessions rolls . 
 
 Chief Constable for Hundred of Morley, appointed at the Sessions, Edwd. 
 Langley, Hipperholme, Esq., nominated 1693. 
 William Rawson, of Boiling, nominated 1696. 
 
 With reference to the appointment of the first named gentleman, we 
 find that a letter was sent to the justices, to the following effect: 
 
 "Gentlemen, 
 
 Mr. Edward Langley of Hipperholme who wee presume is 
 known to some of yw was this time two yeares sumoned to bee Cheeife Constable 
 for the Division of Morley, yw were pleased to excuse him then from that Office 
 Hee haveing buisenes of great concerne of his owne to follow and promising hee 
 would succeed Mr. Dearden who was then made Chiefe Constable if yw should 
 think fitt. the psons Mr. Dearden nominated for yw to appeare of were Mr. 
 Edward Langley Mr. Thos. Holdsworth Mr. John Whittell Mr. John Ramsdeu 
 we doe desire yt yw will giue order that hee may be sworne We are 
 
 Yr. Humble Servants 
 
 Apl. 20, 1696. Thos. Horton. Gilbt. Rigby. 
 
 The last named were justices of the peace, residing near Halifax. 
 
 The duties of the village Constable, a century ago, were by no means of
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 69 
 
 an easy character. In addition to the protection of property and life, 
 numerous other matters required his vigilant supervision. The manage- 
 ment of the Old Chapel clock was in his hands, and constant reference 
 is made in the town's accounts to payments connected therewith. In 
 1752, John Clark ' ; paid 8s. Id. for mending klock and candles, and l-|d. 
 for oyl." In 1781 the sum of " 13s. 4d. was paid for winding the klock 
 up." This sum seems to have been the fixed yearly amount, paid for 
 more than half-a-centur}', to the important public officer, who was 
 intrusted with the useful task of giving "Greenwich time" to our 
 ancient villagers. The " testing of the weights " was part of the duty 
 of the revenue officers, a century ago, and at this performance the 
 constable was expected to be present. In 1761, Joseph Crowther, the 
 then constable, was more than usually generous to the Government 
 officers, for we find that his account was objected to by the vestry 
 meeting, the item being "12s. 6d., which was expended in treating the 
 people who try the weights, which is disapproved of, and will not be 
 allowed in future accounts." The accounts of the Constable were 
 audited yearly, and the following is a sample of such accounts and 
 audit : 
 
 October 4th, 1752. Accounted then with Saml. Webster, Constable for the year 
 
 last past : 
 
 s. d. 
 
 And he has reed, by one Assessment ... 10 15 3;} 
 
 And he has disburst as appears by the particulars of his accts. ... 917 1 
 
 Remains due to the town ..................... 18 
 
 Paid the same time to Jos. Hague ... ... ... ... ... ... 9 1 1 g 
 
 And paid into Samuel Rayner hands (of wch. 8s. Id. was paid for 
 
 mending Klock and Candles, also l^d. for Oyl)... ... ... ... 8 2^ 
 
 Allowed by us, Thos. Hopkins, Saml. Reyner, Jos. Rayner, Jos. Webster. 
 
 April 10th, 1761. Accounted then with Samuel Clark, Constable for the year 
 
 last past : 
 And he has reed- by Two Assessments ... ... ... ... ... 27 7 2| 
 
 And he has disburst as appears by the particulars of his accounts ... 21 14 4 
 
 Rest due to the Town ..................... 5 12 lOi 
 
 Which was immediately paid to Joseph Crowther, the succeeding 
 Constable, out of wch. the sd. J. Crowther immediately paid to 
 Joseph Haigh for looking after the Chapel Clock ......... 013 4 
 
 4 19 
 
 The following are the most noticeable particulars of the disbursements of 
 the Constable for the year 1781, and we feel sure that it would afford
 
 70 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 instruction, as well as amusement, to the younger portion of our readers, 
 if they would try to ascertain the meanings of the items for which the 
 various payments were made : 
 
 1781. s. d. 
 
 October 10. Adwalton Court Expenses ... 18 7 
 
 ,, 20. Journey to Wakefield paid for Warrants... ... ... 6 
 
 ,, 26. Three Passingers 006 
 
 Nov. 5. Paid to Nathaniel Slack for Ringing ... ... ... 010 
 
 ,, 25. Paid for winding the Klock up 13 4 
 
 January 6. Journey to Wakefield for the Crouner ... ... ... 010 
 
 , , 7. Funeral expenses for Mr. Balmforth ... ... ... 040 
 
 ,, 12. Melitiah Bill paid 050 
 
 March 2. Journey to Wakefiald to sign York Castle Bill 023 
 
 ,, 3. An Inquest at East Ardsley ... ... ... ... ... Oil 5 
 
 April 6. Bridg Money 724 
 
 ,, 16. Tobacko and Candles 007 
 
 ,, 28. Going a Whindow Peeping ... ... ... ... ... 050 
 
 July 7. Journey to Wakefield to fetch the Dublicates ... ... 044 
 
 Sept. 5. Sesment signing ... ... ... ... ... ... 010 
 
 ,, 18. Paid for Weighing 050 
 
 ,, 21. Paid Ben Fosterd for blowing the Horn 006 
 
 ,, 24. Tobacko and Pipes 008 
 
 Dec. 7. The Chapil Klock Bands 086 
 
 January 17. The Fine and Loosing 13 4 8 
 
 We shall endeavour to give an explanation of some of the above items ; 
 for the others, we leave them for the ingenuity or research of our 
 readers : 
 
 The " Melitiah Bill " was for expenses incurred in balloting for the 
 Militia, and concerning these allotments many incidental notices occur 
 in the " Town's Book," the first in 1757, when, in September of that 
 year, the following were ballotted, viz., Nathaniel Kayner, David 
 Mitchell, John Coats, Nicholas Morris, and Joseph Judge. The 
 following persons were ballotted in the years as follows : 
 
 1759. July 9. Samuel Webster, Joseph, son of Nathl. Webster, and Saml. 
 
 Crowther. 
 ,, Sept. 9. Edward Fletcher, William Wilson, and Charles Broadbent. 
 
 1760. Oct. Jno. Binks, the son of John Biuks. 
 
 1762. Apl. Jeremy Ackroyd, Jeremiah Walker, John Dodgeson, John Aired. 
 
 1763. Oct. John Rhodes. 
 
 1766. Apl. Thomas Sugden, served for himself; John Lister, jun., James 
 
 Bilsberry, and John Milner, son of Matthew Milner. 
 
 1767. May 12. William Stuart, served for himself. 
 
 1770. Mar. 31. Samuel Waring, clothier, Thomas Roberts, Geo. Brook, and 
 
 James Wilson. 
 ,, May 24. Wm. Banks.
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 71 
 
 1773. ApL 29. John Lister, son of Wm. Lister, sen., John Whitley, John 
 Garnett, John Robinson, and Thomas Crocker. 
 
 1776. Mar. 18. Wm. Gloodhill, William Tempest, Wm. Scott, Wm. Bradley, 
 and Matthias Murgetroid. 
 
 1779. John Lawson, Joseph Watson, John Leathley, John Hey, and 
 
 James Stanhope. 
 
 1782. John Smith, staymaker, and John Westerman, breeches maker. 
 
 1783. Benjamin Ellis, son of Moses Ellis, Wm. Scatcherd, and Jno. 
 
 Jackson. 
 1785. Jno. Scott, Abm. Fittan, Saml. Asquith (comber), Wm. Smith, 
 
 (clothier), and Jonas Hartley (smith). 
 1787. Elijah Brook, Chris. Milner, Benj. Ellis, and Arthur Hemsworth, 
 
 worstedman. 
 1793. Joseph Davinson, Richard Savile, Jno. Mortimer, William 
 
 Aldred, and James Fox. 
 
 In 1796, when Bonaparte threatened England with invasion, the 
 inhabitants, fired with patriotism, revived with increased power the 
 militia system, and seventeen persons were balloted as a supplementary 
 militia, and Henry Preston, of Cross Hall, was appointed one of the 
 Provisional Cavalry. At that time clubs for providing substitutes for 
 those ballotted were held at one or two public-houses in the village. 
 The expenses of volunteering, recruiting, and of the army of reserve fell 
 heavily on the ratepayers. The militia account in 1801 was nearly 
 twenty pounds, whilst the payments on behalf of the militia and army 
 of reserve, in 1803-4, were more than sixty pounds. 
 
 Whilst on the subject of the militia, we may note that, in 1680, a 
 law was in force, that, every person who had .50 a year arising from 
 property, or had personal estate amounting to the sum of 600, were 
 bound to furnish one pikeman or musketeer to the militia then being- 
 raised. The militia was at that time the only force England possessed, 
 and its strength was estimated at 130,000 persons. In the muster roll 
 of Sir Michael Wentworth's regiment, raised in the before-named year, 
 we find the following names from Morley : 
 
 "Matthew Scatcher and Tho. Craister, Musketeers." 
 
 The dress of a musketeer consisted of a steel morion, a good combe cap, 
 a gorget for the neck, and a pike-proof cuirass. The musket barrel was 
 four-and-a-half feet long, and the stock of walnut or beech wood. In 
 later times Morley has taken its due share in the defence of the country, 
 for at the time when the revolutionary war broke out with France, our 
 gallant Captain "Webster and others, the inhabitants of this village, 
 distinguished themselves by their loyalty and patriotism. The Morley 
 cavalry, raised and equipped without any expense to the country, was
 
 72 HISTOEY OP MOELEY. 
 
 no disgrace, it is said, to the numerous regiments who were reviewed by 
 General Cameron, on Chapeltown Moor, on the 25th of June, 1795. 
 The martial spirit of the men of Morley seems to have departed, for the 
 present Volunteer movement throughout England has met with no 
 response here. 
 
 The "Adwaltou Court Leet." The word "Leet" comes from a 
 Saxon word which means a little court, and a Court Leet is out of the 
 Sheriff's turn. The Court Leet was held for Morley twice a year, in 
 April and October ; many of the duties now performed by the magistrates 
 then devolved upon the Leet jury. The following may be taken as a 
 specimen of the offences which were brought before the Court, and the 
 fines adjudged. Heavy fines were imposed upon unruly tempers, 
 gaming, allowing persons to play at cards at night. For an assault 
 where no blood was drawn, the fine was generally 3s. 4d. ; where blood 
 was drawn, 10s. 
 
 In further explanation of the Constable's account we note that, the 
 " Passingers " to whom money was given were, in some cases, persons 
 passing through the town as paupers, but small sums were also given to 
 " gentlemen " and " gentlewomen " who, in going from town to town, 
 held licenses to beg. In some cases, even scholars of the Universities 
 had these given to them by the heads of the Universities. 
 
 The " Bridg money " was the proportion levied upon Morley by the 
 County justices, for the repairs of the bridges throughout the Riding. 
 By an Act, 22 Henry VIII., c. 5, the various townships in the different 
 Ridings were compelled to keep the public bridges in repair : 
 
 "With the repairing of a decayed bridge, four justices, one being a quorum, 
 may tax the inhabitants and make collectors and overseers for repayring of it ; 
 and appoint surveyors, and exact an accompt of them, and if they refuse so to do, 
 the said justices may make out warrants against them, returnable at the Quarter 
 Sessions. " 
 
 The next item, " Tobacko and Candles," is more easily understood, 
 for whilst the latter would be indispensable, the former would doubtless 
 often prove a soporific in the discussion of town's affairs in these 
 troublous times. 
 
 "Whindow Peepers" were the persons appointed to assess the 
 amount to be paid for " window duty" in the days when this obnoxious 
 impost was the law of the land. AVheu, periodically, it became noised 
 abroad that those officials were assessing, people became fidgetty and 
 alarmed, and many a useful old window was blocked up, as the farmers, 
 even when their rental excluded them from the operation of the law, 
 believed they should, somehow or other, be made amenable to the duty.
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 73 
 
 Dairy windows, when filled in with lattice work in lieu of glazing, were 
 exempt ; hence the word " Dairy " was inscribed over windows in many 
 houses in Morley. 
 
 The custom of "Blowing the Horn" was very common a century 
 ago, and by it the apprentices and labourers were aroused at five o'clock 
 in the morning in summer, and at six in winter, and it is said that " so 
 shrill were its blasts, that no excuse was allowed to the lazy on the plea 
 of not having heard it." 
 
 The " Ringing of the Bell " on Guy Fawkes' day was then practised; 
 but we may mention that it was customary at that time to ring it on 
 the occasion of every town's meeting. 
 
 Amongst the other duties pertaining to the office of Constable, was 
 the custody of the Village Stocks the old-fashioned panacea for 
 reforming swearers, drunkards, and desecrators of the Sabbath. This 
 crazy wooden machine stood near the gates of the Old Chapel burying 
 ground, and was removed about sixty years ago, the use of them having 
 been abandoned many years before. 
 
 In former days, when troubles were abroad in the land, the Constable 
 was assisted in his duties by a local body of watchmen, known as the 
 " AVatcn and Ward," who were provided with long spears, staves, and 
 other means of defence. Some of these are still to be found in the 
 possession of our townsmen, but were formerly kept in a room at the 
 Town's school, amongst other public property. That property in 18 1C 
 consisted of the following articles : 
 
 ' ' Inventory of the Weights, Measures, etc. , belonging to the Township of Morley, 
 taken this 30th clay of December, 1816, and delivered to Wm. Marshall, the 
 present Constable, by Wm. Wilkinson. 2 Constable's Staves ; 1 Pair Handcuffs 
 and Lock ; 1 Beam, Scales, and Standard ; 2 Eight Pound Weights ; 1 Four 
 Pound Weight ; 1 Three and a Half do. ; 1 Stroke Measure and Roller ; 1 Pint 
 Wine Measure, and 1 Jack Do. ; 1 Pint Ale Measure ; 1 Vagrant Whip. 
 
 Signed W. WILKINSON. 
 
 Morley was included within the County Constabulary jurisdiction in 
 1860, and subsequently the protective vigilance of the new police force 
 was introduced. A sergeant and five officers are now stationed in 
 the township. Formerly prisoners were taken to Dewsbury, a distance 
 of four miles, as soon as apprehended, but in 1873 a county constabulary 
 station was erected in New Street. It is a compact stone edifice, 
 containing separate lock-ups or cells for males and females, with office 
 and residence for the sergeant. In addition to the nightly patrol of the 
 police, a private watchman is kept at most of the mills and manufactories. 
 
 The parochial affairs of the township, for upwards of two centuries.
 
 74 HISTOEY OP MORLEY. 
 
 have been vested in the " Overseers of the Poor," annually elected 
 at the town's meeting-, their appointment being confirmed by the 
 magistrates. As complete a list as possible of the Overseers from 1700 
 to 1876 will be given in Appendix I. We trust that our readers will 
 not look upon this list as a mere dry catalogue of names, devoid of any 
 interest. It is in truth an enumeration of the oldest families in the 
 township, for a period of nearly two hundred years, and as such is of 
 some historic value. We believe it to be desirable, and it certainly is 
 pleasurable, to be able to trace our ancestors back through the centuries, 
 to recount their virtues, and in some measure to unravel the intricacies 
 of the times in which they lived. It is worthy of remark that in this 
 list we find nearly all the old names which exist amongst us at present. 
 We have the Dixons, the Scatcherds, the Websters, the Rayners, and 
 the Asquiths in abundance, along with others equally familiar. 
 
 In connection with the office of Overseer, it will be interesting to look 
 into the history of Morley, in respect to its rating. The amount raised 
 in 1751 was as follows : Poor Rate, 54 ; Highway Rate, 12 ; 
 Constable Rate, 14 ; and Church Rate, 15 ; making a total of 92. 
 In 1791 the poor rate had materially increased in amount, being 382, 
 and the payments from this sum included, besides militia expenses and 
 relief moneys, such items as coals, shoes, clothing, oatmeal, corn, and 
 rent for the poor, burial fees for paupers ; paid with apprentices, 
 medicine, etc. In 1801 the poor's rate amounted to 1,079, levied by 
 several assessments, the total of which was 13s. 6d. in the pound. (The 
 present amount of assessment is Is. 6d. in the pound.) The increase in 
 the rateable value may be taken as a practical indication of the growing 
 prosperity of the town. In this respect we find that in 1781 the 
 property assessable was 1,333 ; in 1815, 5,964 ; in 1841, 10,831 ; 
 in 1865, 26,589 ; in 1876, 45,457. 
 
 Previous to 1700, Poor Laws were unknown in Morley, and after the 
 Legislature had passed these measures, Morley, for a long time, dealt 
 with its own poor, and the amount required for their maintenance was 
 very small, and collected, as it was required, in small sums or leys, from 
 the ratepayers in the township. 
 
 The first, and indeed the only, Poorhouse in Morley was established 
 about 1730, and consisted of two or three one-storey cottages, situate 
 on the site now occupied by the offices of the Local Board. This site 
 was granted to the town's authorities by the Earl of Dartmouth, lord of 
 the manor. In many cases the poor were employed to make up articles 
 of clothing, and in other ways to assist in their own maintenance. 
 
 All the respectable inhabitants in Morley were bound to take
 
 HISTOKY OF MORLEY. 75 
 
 apprentices, with whom they received a small premium, or pay a fine of 
 10. Persons in receipt of parochial relief had to " wear upon y e right 
 sleeve of their upper garment a badge, being a large Roman P, with the 
 first letter of y 6 parish or place, cut in red or blue cloth, as y e church- 
 wardens or overseers should appoint, upon pain of having their relief 
 abridged or withdrawn, or being sent to y e house of correction for any 
 time not exceeding 21 days; and if any churchwarden or overseer 
 should relieve any such person not wearing such badge, he shall forfeit 
 20s., one-half to go to y e informer and the other to y e poor." A " List ' 
 of Persons' Names who have had Town or Parish Apprentices, from 
 1710 to 1802," to the number of 188, appears in an old Town's Book in 
 my possession. In 1775, it is recorded as follows: " Rec d - of Alice 
 Halstead, Widow, 5 15s. Gd., in lieu of a Town's Apprentice. Another 
 entry is to the following effect : 
 
 "March 5th, 1759. Whereas, Willm. Worseman, a poor child, being put 
 Parish Apprentice to SamL Fozzard, and he, the said apprentice, being set at 
 liberty by Two of Her Majesty's Justices of the Peace, and there being a consider- 
 able charge about the sd. apprentice wch amounts to 1 8s. 6d., and now the said 
 Saml. Fozzard does hereby agree to beare half of the charge and the Constble. the 
 other halfe. And for that the said SamL Fozzard is to be freed of a Parish 
 Apprentice, for seven years next ensuing the date hereof." 
 
 A century ago the following scale of allowances was agreed to be 
 made to "such officers or other persons who went away on town's 
 affairs: To Wakefield, Is.; Birstal, 4d. ; and Bradford, Is." The 
 expenses to Adwalton were included in the Court fees. Morley was at 
 that time still held of the Crown as parcel of the Honour of Pontefract, 
 and the Court Leet was held at Adwalton. To this Court the Constable 
 was required to summon all the king's tenants and such freeholders as 
 were required to do " suit, service, and fealty." Notwithstanding the 
 allowances above-named, some extravagant overseer occasionally 
 exceeded the limits, for we read that, in 1768, 
 
 "John Webster, Freeholder and Hireling under Samuel Crowther, charged 
 Three Shillings and Sixpence for going to Cottingly, being the first person ever 
 Acted in so scandalous a manner." 
 
 Under the old system of management of town's affairs, the ratepayers 
 are often to be found regaling themselves with " ale and tobacko " at 
 the town's meetings, and paying for it out of the poor's rate. Among 
 other uses to which the money thus collected was put, we find payments 
 for Godfrey's cordial, medicine, coffius, and burials ; binding apprentices ; 
 searching the town for "vagrom men"; fetching back runaway
 
 76 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 apprentices; paying for loom hire; allowances to " passingers," tramps, 
 or vagrants; purchasing sparrows' heads at a halfpenny each; and 
 buying articles of clothing and furniture for paupers. 
 
 The first Surveyors of Highways for Morley, of whom we have any 
 record, were John Atkinson and Thomas Asquith, elected March, 1700. 
 
 The assessment for the Highways for the year ending May 27th, 
 1751, amounted to 12 2s. 6d., and the disbursements to 11 7s. lOd. 
 Of turnpikes in Morley at that time there were three miles and three 
 furlongs ; and of other highways three miles and six furlongs. In a 
 " highway rate made upon the inhabitants of Morley to defray the 
 disbursements of Christopher Milner, Benjamin Clark, and William 
 Lister, Surveyors of the Highways, August 28th, 1794," we find the 
 following list of ratepayers, whose rates at one shilling in the pound 
 amounted to over twenty shillings : 
 
 s. a. 
 
 Mr. Whitley, Howley 5 14 
 
 Joseph Dixon ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 230 
 
 Mr. Wetherill 1 16 9 
 
 Lord Dartmouth ... 1 11 9 
 
 Mr. Lister 2 G 
 
 Julius Mortimer ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 160 
 
 Robert Dixon ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 138 
 
 Widow Birtby 100 
 
 Widow Webster 170 
 
 John Wilson 1 3 
 
 Thomas Crooker 190 
 
 Thomas Hemsworth ... ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 1 1 
 
 Peter Hepworth 106 
 
 With smaller sums making 66 15 3 
 
 In 1817, on its being shown, to use the words of the preamble, that 
 " there are several commons or parcels of waste land, called Upper 
 Common, Low Common, Bruntcliffe Common, and Street Common, in 
 Morley, which in their present state are incapable of any improvements, 
 and it would be of great advantage if the same were divided, and 
 specific parts thereof allotted unto and among the several persons 
 interested," an Act of Parliament was passed for enclosing the same : 
 Nicholas Brown, Esq., of Wakefield, being appointed commissioner for 
 carrying the Act into execution. 
 
 From the survey made, the waste lands amounted to 119a. 3r. 36p. 
 In the first place, 8a. 3r. 39p. were reserved to Earl Dartmouth as lord 
 of the manor, " in lieu of, and in full compensation for, all such his
 
 a: 
 
 ra 
 
 o 
 
 z 
 
 o 
 
 ^ 
 
 CD 
 
 3 
 
 CO 
 
 <c 
 
 5 
 
 a: 
 o
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 77 
 
 right and interest in and to the soil, lands, and ground only." From 
 the remainder a number of public and private roads were taken, full 
 particulars of which are set forth in the award; also four public 
 watering places for cattle, and three quarries, were ordered to be left 
 " for the use of the public highway surveyors and their successors for 
 ever." From the remainder, 24 acres were sold to defray the costs 
 incidental to obtaining the Act of Parliament, and other expenses 
 connected with the enclosure. The 24 acres were sold, mainly, from 
 the Low Common lands, and the principal purchasers were John 
 Wordsworth, Benjamin Clark, Joseph Snowden, William Dixon, and 
 Captain Webster. The remainder of the commons were allotted amongst 
 the principal freeholders in the town. 
 
 In the year 1862, the supervision of the highways, along with other 
 responsible duties connected with the general management of the town's 
 affairs, were vested in a Board formed under the Local Government Act- 
 The sanitaiy state of the town had long been exceedingly defective, the 
 streets were not lighted, and the roads in a most unsatisfactory condition. 
 A most fatal fever was raging in the town at that time, and, indeed, one 
 result of inefficient sanitary arrangements was, that Morley was visited 
 by any and every epidemic that prevailed. As in 1849, when the 
 cholera made sad havoc in our midst, a committee was appointed " to 
 relieve the distress caused by the visitation, and, if possible, to adopt 
 measures to prevent a recurrence of the unusually fatal fever." The 
 committee consisted of Drs. Ellis, Hirst, King, and Gisburn ; Messrs. 
 Thomas Scott, Edward Jackson, William Smith, jun., Joshua Swainson. 
 Joshua Asquith, and Samuel Scatcherd. At the close of their labours, 
 they presented a report on the sanitaiy state of the township, which 
 served as the basis for future operations. This report directed attention 
 to the high death rate for many previous years, which was attributed to 
 the defective state of the main drainage, and to the want of a proper 
 supply of water ; the quality and quantity of that which was used being 
 found to be sadly deficient. 
 
 This resulted m the determination, on the part of many of the leading- 
 inhabitants, to place the town under the operations of the Public Health 
 Act, and at a most uproarious parish meeting, held on the 7th February, 
 1862, Henry Webster, Esq., churchwarden, La the chair, on the motion 
 of N. Dixon, Esq., seconded by Dr. Ellis, " That the Public Health Act 
 be adopted," the proposal was rejected, only sixteen hands being held 
 up in its favour. Nothing daunted, the friends of the Act demanded a 
 poll, and worked so strenuously to achieve success, that at the close the 
 number of votes in favour of the adoption of the Act was 633, whilst
 
 78 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 against it there were 480, leaving* a majority in favour of adoption of 
 153. No event during the previous quarter of a century created such 
 an amount of excitement amongst the inhabitants of this place as the 
 attempt to introduce the Local Government Act of 1858. 
 
 At the election of the first Board, great efforts were made by the 
 opponents of a Board to return men pledged to a stand-still policy, but 
 in this they were happily frustrated. The successful candidates, all in 
 favour of the Act, were : Messrs. Daniel Hinchcliff, Andrew Cowburn, 
 Samuel Scatcherd, Joseph Webster, N. Dixon, Ed. Jackson, Joseph 
 Rhodes, Joshua Asquith, Thomas Garnett, William Dixon, Thomas 
 Watson, and Joseph A. Haigh. Mr. Daniel Hinchcliff was appointed 
 chairman, Mr. T. A. Watson, clerk, and Mr. Samuel Stead, collector. 
 
 The proceedings of the Board, from its formation to the present time, 
 have been watched with the greatest interest by the ratepayers, and 
 their public acts have often been severely criticised. After being in 
 operation for fourteen years, there is at the present but one opinion, as 
 to the necessity of the measures taken in 1862. 
 
 These measures have been as follows : First. An ample water 
 supply, obtained from the Leeds Corporation, and which is pumped up 
 from the boundary of the borough of Leeds, at Churwell, to the storage 
 reservoir at Bruntcliffe. The waterworks were necessarily costly, and 
 the outlay to the present time is close upon 15,000. The inauguration 
 of the works took place on the 12th of June, 1869, and was made the 
 occasion of an imposing demonstration. Second. A thorough drainage 
 of the town was undertaken, at a cost of 6,000, and the lighting and 
 paving of the streets have been so far satisfactorily performed. The 
 survey of the town, and preparation of plans for the use of the Board ; 
 the carrying out of the water supply and the superintendence of the 
 drainage, was entrusted to James Lumley, Esq., C.E., of Bradford. 
 
 To carry out these improvements, the sum of 30,000 has been 
 borrowed on mortgage of the rates ; and their annual cost to the town, 
 including the payment of 2,827 for interest and instalment of the 
 loans; 460 for public lights, and 3,125 for paving and repairs to 
 highways, and miscellaneous expenses, average about 7,000 a year, 
 and is an investment for which Morley has reason to be thankful. 
 
 The result of all this has been that the death rate is much lower than 
 it was twenty years ago, and whereas at that time the number of 
 houses and shops unlet was considerable, at the present, and for some 
 time it has been extremely difficult to obtain either in eligible situations, 
 and the want of additional house accommodation is strongly felt. 
 
 The present rateable value of the township is 45,467 15s. 3d., and
 
 Offices of the Local Board.
 
 H1STOEY OF MOELEY. 70 
 
 tlie Local Board Rate at 3s. in the pound on buildings, and 9d. in the 
 pound on land, realises the sum of 4,860 5s. 7d. The receipts and 
 expenditure of the Board for 1874-5 were as follows : 
 
 s. d. s. d. 
 
 Amount received in Rates ^ ... 5648 17 10 
 
 Paid for Lighting 459 17 11 
 
 Interest on Loans ... ... ... ... ... ... 1427 17 9 
 
 Repayment of do 460 
 
 Highways and extra paving ... ... ... ... 3125 11 1 
 
 Establishment expenses ... ... ... ... ... 506 19 6 
 
 Contagions Diseases... ... ... ... ... ... 15 3 
 
 5995 9 3 
 
 Water Account. 
 
 Paid Leeds Corporation 2235 5 
 
 Wages 256 
 
 Coals 227 16 
 
 Incidentals ... ... ... ... ... ... ... 157 11 4 
 
 Interest on Loans 1032 
 
 3908 12 5 
 Water rents received 3606 7 7 
 
 In November, 1866, the foundation stone of a building for the use of 
 the Local Board, was laid by Alexander Scott, Esq., then chairman of 
 the Board, The building is in the Gothic style of architecture, and is 
 situate in Queen Street, a little above Morley House. The building- 
 contains, on the ground floor, offices for the clerk and collector to the 
 Board, and also for the assistant overseer of the poor. The upper 
 storey is used as the Boardroom, and is 28 feet long by 18 feet wide, 
 with open decorated roof. At the south-west corner of the building is 
 a square turret, broached into an octagon 51 feet high, and in this is the 
 staircase leading from the ground floor to the Boardroom. George 
 Mallinson, Esq., of Leeds and Dewsbury, prepared the plans for the 
 building. On pulling down the old cottages, standing on the site, the 
 workmen found, carefully embedded in the wall, a large shoe buckle of 
 very ancient date. A few years ago, during a gale of wind, the 
 ornamental buttresses upon the turret were blown down, and other 
 damage done to the building. With a disregard of the unsightly 
 appearance caused by the absence of the ornamental portion of the 
 turret, the Board have done nothing as yet to remedy the glaring defect, 
 but, on the contrary, have allowed the carved stone work to be used as 
 a decoration to the rockery of a private dwelling house.
 
 SOCIAL CONDITION AND HABITS. 
 
 " PEOPLE inethinks are better, but the scenes 
 Wherein iny youth delighted are no more. 
 I wander out in search of them, and find 
 A sad deformity in all I see. 
 Strong recollections of my former pleasures, 
 And knowledge that they never can return, 
 Are causes of my sombre mindedness." ANON. 
 
 N speaking of the inhabitants of Morley, who "lived and moved 
 and had their being," in the place, when it was but an obscure 
 village, we may remark that they partook a good deal of the 
 character of their surroundings. Bred amongst the hills, woods, and 
 moors which surrounded their homes, with their diet of oatmeal porridge, 
 of which they were not sparing, they were a much stronger race of men 
 and women than the present. 
 
 Of the domestic appliances of those days, we know that they mainly 
 consisted of boilers, flour and meal " kists," oat-cake creels, and the 
 indispensable "delf-case." Oatmeal or water porridge was eaten twice a 
 day, but oat-bread or haver-bread (from the Saxon hafer, oat,) was the 
 principal " staff of life " among the people who dwelt in Morley. It 
 was made by the meat being mixed into a species of pottage, and 
 afterwards clapped or rolled into thin unleavened oblong cakes, which, 
 when baked, were laid up either in the aforesaid " kists " or closets, or 
 oftener, put on a " creel " under the ceiling of the room. One or two 
 butchers satisfied the requirements of the whole community. At that 
 time the township could not boast the possession of a dozen iron ovens, 
 but brick ones and " bak-stones" were common, both in f arm-house and 
 cottage. Wheat was boiled, sweetened, and eaten with milk, and was 
 called " frnmmetty," aud barley bread was eaten in times of scarcity. 
 The custom was for the house- wife to bake a sufficient quantity of oat- 
 cakes for the week, the entire family being restricted to this plain fare ;
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 81 
 
 white or loaf bread and tea were luxuries reserved for Sunday; the 
 dame alone might, if she choose, partake daily of the last-named 
 beverage. Skim milk could be obtained at a cheap rate, and fresh 
 butter was considered as uncommonly dear when sold at 9d. or lOd. per 
 pound. " Beest " custards and porridge, sweet milk and butter-milk, 
 were also pretty largely consumed. 
 
 Of the interior aspect of these homes, we may say that they were 
 generally clean and neat. Conspicuous, on entering, were the nicely 
 sanded floor and whitewashed walls. A chest of black oaken drawers, 
 with desk, occupied a place of honour, as did also the venerable 
 "smoking stool" or arm chair, whose age it was impossible to 
 determine. There was also the large accommodating fire range, with 
 its capacious hob; the three-cornered cupboard, and the oaken dining 
 table. Near to the cupboard was the home-made book shelf, containing 
 a few household books, such as the Bible, Bunyan's Pilgrim's Progress, 
 Culpeper's Herbal, Old Moore's Almanac for the current year, probably 
 interlined and marked with important entries, and a load of divinity 
 books of the age of the Protectorate. 
 
 As to clothing, knee breeches were then common, and to preserve 
 their position they were straitened at the waist. Old Mr. Gisburn, the 
 village surgeon of forty years ago, was the last person in the town to 
 exchange these picturesque nether garments for modern trousers. 
 Metal shoe buckles were worn on week-days, and silver ones on 
 Sundays, by those who could afford it ; the latter also wore silver knee 
 and wrist buckles, ornamented with the initials of the wearer. Broad 
 brimmed hats were then hi vogue, and the " maister dashers " also wore 
 a woolsey apron, of a clean and smart appearance, which, when at work, 
 hung down, and when in the fields or on a journey, would be wrapped 
 round the waist. The women, generally, wore "linsey woolsey," or 
 blue spotted petticoats, and bed-gowns, high crowned caps, and coal- 
 scuttle straw hats, for nothing was then known of chignons, polonaises, 
 aerial bonnets, hats, and the like. The working dress of these, our 
 great grandmothers, would to the " worker" of the present day, seem 
 as singular as their persons would be remarkable, and their occupation 
 homely. 
 
 In the absence of daily papers and the penny post, the gossip of a 
 century ago chiefly concerned weddings, christenings, and burials, with 
 occasional inquests. The death of a neighbour's cow, or the recurrence 
 of the annual feast, and other seasons of merrymaking, with other 
 trifling local matters, assisted to enliven their monotonous lives. 
 Newspapers were very scarce, the " Leeds Mercury " and " Intelligencer " 
 G
 
 82 IIISTOEY OF MOBLEY. 
 
 only finding their way into the homes of the lawyer, doctor, parson, and 
 squire. With the exception of the last-named worthies, nearly all the 
 people were very illiterate, few being able to write their own names in a 
 legible hand. 
 
 At the time of which we are writing, the attachment of the indigenous 
 families to their own kith and kin was very strong. Hence, when 
 sweet-hearting, they kept near home, and admitted the claims of their 
 neighbours' daughters in preference to those of strangers, and even at 
 the present day we find some religious communities formed almost 
 entirely of the various relations of one family. 
 
 Gipsies periodically found their way into Neepshaw Lane, Eooms 
 Lane, Scotchman Lane, and other out of the way places, and during 
 these visits often succeeded in purloining something from the villagers. 
 Sometimes their persuasive eloquence was devoted to extracting from 
 the weaker sex payment for telling their fortune, but should the 
 remuneration from this source not suffice to meet their wants, they made 
 no scruples about seizing anything that could be easily removed. 
 Scatcherd has left us an account of these people, as follows : " On the 
 20th of December, 1831, I saw, for the first time in my life, a gipsey 
 hut, at night, with its fire blazing on the right of the road, about fifty 
 yards below the "Needless" Inn, in Scotchman Lane, just by the 
 rivulet which crosses the road on this hill side. The family consisted of 
 husband, wife, and young daughter, he a tinker and grinder, was 
 exercising his evening vocation as fiddler, at the Inn, while his wife, a 
 pretty black eyed woman, (but lost in dirt) was sitting solitary, guarding 
 the tent ; with her sparklers (overshadowed with fine black eyelashes) 
 fixed in listless indolence upon the fire. She told me that she was a 
 native of Somersetshire ; and on my asking if she was not afraid of a 
 storm and still colder weather, she replied that a good snow was what 
 she had long wanted, as it would be more wholesome and pleasant after 
 a good downfall. These gipsies, I have ever observed, are as excellent 
 judges of situation, as were the monastics of the middle ages. If there 
 be one, nice sheltered, well watered, dry and green spot, in a long lane, 
 or by a road side, they are sure to find it. In 1832 there were five 
 more camps of gipsies along the top of Morley Spring, in Scotchman 
 Lane, and so many people went to see them from all the surrounding 
 villages, that the town's officers were obliged to send them away at a 
 short notice." 
 
 Coming down to the present time, we note that, the social life of a 
 manufacturing community like Morley, is largely determined by the 
 amount of prosperity which attends the undertaking of the employers.
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 83 
 
 and when we consider that everybody in the place who can work does 
 so, and is well paid for it, it would indeed be strange if we had not a 
 large measure of comfort and contentment amongst the working 
 population. With the progress of manufactures has kept pace the 
 increase of cottage comforts, in substantiality and even luxury of food, 
 improved articles of dress, better dwellings, and superior internal 
 conveniences in the homes of the workers. Provision has been amply 
 made to improve the social and intellectual status of the inhabitants, by 
 the erection of places of worship and Sunday schools, but that the 
 moral and religious improvement of the people has kept pace with these 
 increased advantages can scarcely be admitted. 
 
 One phase of the improved condition of the working classes is seen in 
 the fact that, fifty years ago, men even on the Sunday wore their 
 week-day clothes, succeeded some time afterwards by coarse blue cloth 
 trousers, figured vests, and blue cloth coats, with brass buttons; 
 whereas now, suits of good broad cloth are worn by every working man 
 on Sunday, and generally on Saturday afternoon. The earnings of the 
 female factory worker being at the present lime almost equal to the 
 united earnings of the whole family a century ago, no Morley belle 
 would now think of appearing in the once universal and economical 
 " bed-gown." On the contrary, it is now a matter of some difficulty to 
 distinguish the mistress from the maid, or the female operative from the 
 squire's daughter or the merchant's wife. 
 
 The increase of population has been followed by the breaking up of 
 old associations and the formation of new ones; old habits and old 
 customs have been abandoned; new modes of dress and living have 
 been adopted, and the old fashioned ways are fast falling into oblivion. 
 We have referred to them, however, in order that taking a lesson from 
 the past we may the better shape our future course ; that " seeing the 
 way we have come, we may be the better enabled to pursue that which 
 is before us."
 
 ANCIENT CUSTOMS AND AMUSEMENTS. 
 
 ' Old customs ! Oh ! I love the sound, 
 
 However simple they may be : 
 Whate'er with time hath sanction found 
 Is welcome, and is dear to me." 
 
 " I value every custom that tends to infuse poetical feeling into the common people, and to 
 sweeten and soften the rudeness of rustic manners, without destroying their simplicity. Indeed it 
 is to the decline of this happy simplicity that the decline of ancient customs may be traced ; and 
 the rural dance on the green and the homely May-day pageant have gradually disappeared, in 
 proportion as the peasantry have become expensive and artificial in their pleasures, and too 
 knowing for simple enjoyment." HONE'S Every Day Book. 
 
 HE villagers of Morley were formerly celebrated for their skill 
 and agiKty in athletic sports, and such manly exercises as 
 cricket, quoits (the discus of the Komans), with others of a 
 similar character, and in some of these they still display their taste 
 whenever they have the chance of exercising 1 it. Unfortunately there is 
 no spot in Morley expressly set apart where the working man can enjoy 
 the old healthy sports once common throughout England, and which, 
 even now, could not fail to be grateful after the monotony of the mill 
 and factory. 
 
 Amongst other amusements once very popular in Morley was a game 
 called the "bear and tenter," an interesting account of which was 
 contributed to Hone's Table Boole by Mr. Scatcherd. " A boy is made 
 to crawl as a bear upon his hands and knees, round whose neck is tied a 
 rope which the keeper holds at a few yards' distance. The bystanders 
 then buffet the bear, who is protected only by his keeper, who, by 
 touching any of the assailants, becomes liberated ; the other is then the 
 bear, and the buffetted bear becomes the keeper and so on. If the 
 1 tenter ' is sluggish or negligent in defence of his charge, it is then 
 that the bear growls, and the blows are turned upon the guardian, 
 wholly or partially, as the bear-baiters elect. My conjecture as to the 
 origin of the game of ' bear and tenter ' is this : Our English youths
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 85 
 
 and their tutors, or companions, were formerly distinguished in foreign 
 countries by the names of the bear and the bear leader, from the absurd 
 custom of sending out the former (a boisterous, ungovernable set,) and 
 putting them under the care of persons unfit to accompany them. These 
 bears were at first generally sprigs of royalty or nobility, as headstrong 
 as need be ; and the tutor was often some needy scholar, or a courtier, 
 who knew little more of the world than his pupil, and both returned, 
 bringing home a stock of exotic follies, sufficient to render them 
 completely preposterous characters in the eyes of their own countrymen. 
 But as complaints would, at least, be unavailing when such persons as 
 ' Baby Charles ' and ' Stenny Buckingham ' happened to be the ' bear 
 and tenter,' the people revenged themselves, as far as they dared, by the 
 institution of this game." Other games were also indulged in, which 
 were intended as " political satires to ridicule such follies and corruptions 
 of the times, as it was, perhaps, unsafe to do in any other manner." 
 
 No account of the May pole has survived in Morley, notwithstanding 
 the past existence of a village green upon the Low Common. Eush- 
 bearings, we believe, were customary, if not in Morley itself, at least 
 in many of the neighbouring villages ; and Scatcherd speaks of having 
 seen a rush-bearing procession at Birstal, two miles from this place, and 
 he accounts for the decline of the custom by remarking that, " wherever 
 our churches are paved or flagged, as most have been since the Tudor 
 reigns, and all since the Reformation, there has been no necessity to 
 strew the churches ; and this part of the ceremony has, generally, if not 
 always, been dispensed with." 
 
 In writing of the amusements of a century ago, music must not be 
 omitted. Both the vocal and instrumental branches of the science were 
 studied, and its beauties and usefulness disseminated by the choirs of the 
 different chapels, amateurs, singing classes, and " The Old Brass Band." 
 Considering the smaller population and the limited opportunities for 
 cultivating music, it was a much more favourite source of recreation, 
 even twenty years ago, than it is at the present time. Amongst the 
 musical notabilities of half a century ago was David Hirst. Well known 
 in our village was the form of this old man, who, in his youthful days, 
 had been a very enthusiast in musical matters, and countless stories are 
 remembered by our elder villagers of Hirst and his fiddle : How, in the 
 olden times, when Yorkshire was famous for its choral singing, our 
 village fiddler, accompanied by " Tommy Blakeley " and others, would 
 attend all the oratorios for miles round ; and having partaken too freely 
 of Yorkshire hospitality (then generous to an extreme), how they would, 
 with their darling instruments, through some obliquity of vision or other
 
 86 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 cause, come to grief, as they were plodding their way homeward. 
 Whatever opinions our villagers held with respect to the professional 
 abilities of " old Dave," as he was generally called, no one could have a 
 higher opinion of them than he himself had. He looked upon himself as 
 a very Paganini, and was much disposed to be fault-finding with those 
 amongst his musical associates who did not devote themselves with the 
 same assiduity to musical pursuits as he himself did. Mr. Hirst was the 
 last of the coterie of which he and Blakeley formed no insignificant part. 
 When a boy Hirst had the fortune, on two occasions, to be selected to 
 hold the horse of John Wesley, the founder of Methodism, when that 
 distinguished minister visited Morley. lie well remembered the yellow 
 painted, old-fashioned chaise in which sat Wesley, with his fine head of 
 hair and venerable countenance. Mr. Hirst died July 27th, 1865, aged 
 86 years, leaving three sons, all eminent members of the musical 
 profession. 
 
 The "Morley Harmonic Society," established five years ago, for the 
 purpose of encouraging the study of vocal and instrumental music, is 
 under the fostering care of an energetic committee, comprising many 
 influential townsmen, Mr. G. H. Stead being the indefatigable secretaiy, 
 and J. W. Bowling, Esq., of Heckmondwike, the efficient conductor. 
 Is is intended to organise an instrumental band and a chorus, 
 capable of performing the best music, and of undertaking concerts of a 
 superior style. Already the society has publicly rendered some of out- 
 greatest oratorios with credit to themselves and with satisfaction to the 
 public. 
 
 The manly game of cricket has taken deep root in the locality, and 
 has been much practised in Morley for more than a century. The 
 present "Nelson Cricket Club," which is the crack club of the town, has 
 been in existence nearly twenty years, and is under the presidency of 
 Oliver Scatcherd, Esq., whose exertions to make it successful have been 
 untiring. The first grand match by twenty-two of this club against the 
 All-England Eleven, in July, 1862, at Morley, lasted three days. On 
 the third day the ground presented a most animated scene, as it was 
 computed that six thousand persons were present, including a large 
 number of ladies, who, in their gayest attire, graced a large marquee, 
 near to which the Morley Baud was stationed. After some splendid 
 cricketing, when " time " was called, the game was declared a tie ; 
 Morley having, however, three wickets to fall, virtually won the game. 
 
 In the year following, the " Nelson '' twenty-two again played the 
 All-England Eleven, on the same ground, when the latter obtained an 
 easy victory, winning with 116 runs to spare. During the existence of
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 87 
 
 this club the members have played innumerable matches, and beaten, at 
 various times, nearly every club in the neighbouring villages. 
 
 Amongst ancient customs which have but recently become extinct, 
 was the ceremony of " riding the stang," or effigy bearing, when 
 persons had proved faithless to their nuptial vows. " Riding the Stang," 
 says Scatcherd, "upon a fight between husband and wife, was in 
 common use in Morley during the last century, but is now discontinued. 
 A wanton wag, upon these occasions, was carried on a stang or pole ; he 
 was followed by a number of such mischievous dogs as himself, and was 
 set down or mounted on a wall when the'Nominy' was to be repeated." 
 Another custom was called " pack-sheeting." "When two persons have 
 been united in wedlock, if either party has had other sweethearts, the 
 unsuccessful are taken by their companions and tossed into a wool pack 
 sheet, with a few hearty knocks on the ground, purposely inflicted, 
 until the patient consents to pay a fine to be spent for the general good. 
 This imposition is termed paying socket." This custom of levying 
 u socket" was also practised upon any person who came " a-courting" 
 from any of the neighbouring villages to Morley. Another obsolete 
 custom is that of "trashing" or pelting common people with old shoes, 
 on their return from church, upon the wedding day. 
 
 Another custom furnishing amusement to our ancient villagers was 
 the punishing of scolds by subjecting them to the operation of the 
 Ducking Stool, wherein they were tied, wheeled round the town, and 
 then ducked in the pond which formerly occupied the site of the late 
 Pinfold, or Pound, in Albert Road. When this ground was required for 
 other purposes, such was the anxiety of the villagers to retain this 
 salutary mode of correction, that they had the stool removed to a 
 suitable spot in Morley Hole, and subsequently to the " Flush Pond " in 
 Owlers Lane, near to what was long known as " Ratten Row." Our 
 ancestors had no sympathy with the village scold, busy-body, and 
 gossip, considering her not only as a domestic plague, but as a public 
 nuisance, calculated to breed mischief amongst her neighbours, and 
 disturb the peace of the neighbourhood. 
 
 ' ' There stands my friend in yonder pool, 
 An Engine called a Ducking Stool : 
 By legal power commanded down, 
 The joy and terror of the town. 
 If jarring females kindle strife, 
 Give language foul, or lug the coif, 
 If noisy dames should once begin 
 To drive the house with horrid din, 
 Away, you cry, you'll grace the stool ; 
 We'll teach you how your tongue to rule."
 
 88 
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 The Ducking Stool appears to have been of Saxon origin, and consisted 
 of a plank, from twelve to fifteen feet long, supported in the middle by 
 a short upright post which was driven into the ground, close by the 
 side of the pond, and arranged so as to allow of the chair or stool being 
 raised or depressed or swung round in any direction. To the end of the 
 plank the stool was attached by means of a pivot, which allowed it 
 always to retain the horizontal position. In this the scold was securely 
 fastened, and being swung round over the water, the opposite end of 
 the lever was raised, and down went the offender, and received the 
 immersions, three being the usual number of dips. 
 
 Ducking Stool and Pond. 
 
 We find from the following extract from an old poem on the Ducking 
 Stool, that the confirmed scold occasionally vented her angry clamour as 
 soon as she recovered her breath after the first plunge, in which case the 
 immersion was repeated till exhaustion caused silence : 
 
 "Down in the deep the stool descends, 
 But here, at first, we miss our ends ; 
 She mounts again and rages more 
 Than ever vixen did before. 
 If so, my friend, pray let her take 
 A second turn into the lake ; 
 And rather than your patience lose, 
 Thrice and again repeat the dose. 
 No brawling wives, no furious wenches, 
 No fire so hot, but water quenches. " 
 
 When the Ducking Stool failed to suppress the license of female 
 tongues, other modes of punishment were tried, not the least successful
 
 HISTORY OF HOELEY. 89 
 
 being the "Brank" or "Lucy's Muzzle." A specimen of this ingenious 
 piece of mechanism was for a long time in the possession of Mr. 
 Scatcherd, but may now be seen in the museum of the Leeds 
 Philosophical Society. This Brank was constructed of iron, having a 
 collar which fitted round the neck, being hinged at the sides, to which 
 were fastened four bauds or hoops, rising over the ears, and in front 
 between the 63 7 es, crossing each other on the crown of the head. The 
 baud passing down the back of the head was hinged at the crown so as 
 easily to be raised when the instrument was applied to the culprit, and 
 was then secured to the collar by a padlock at the back of the neck. On 
 the band in front was welded a piece of steel called the gag or bridle-bit, 
 about two inches long and one inch broad, projecting inwards, having 
 its under side rasped or cut like a rough file. This was inserted into the 
 mouth of the " slanderous gossiper," and rested upon the tongue, thus 
 effectually stopping her powers of speech. Above the bit was an 
 aperture for admitting the nose. For a century and a half, previous to 
 the year 1800, this was a popular mode of punishment in Morley and 
 elsewhere, in England. 
 
 In an equally public manner the delinquencies of the male sex were 
 punished, by confinement in the public stocks, which formerly stood 
 close to the gates at the entrance to the graveyard at the Old Chapel. 
 Here our ancestors used to sit, when paying the penalty of some 
 misdemeanour. Many expedients were resorted to by them to escape 
 this public exposure, and often with success ; but sad was the case of 
 him who, being found guilty, was too poor to find a bribe hi the shape 
 of a peace offering. With, perhaps, a keen sense of his situation, and 
 fully alive to the folly of his conduct, he was without any pity confined, 
 publicly exhibited, and thus exposed to the taunts and sneers of the 
 rabble, and to the serious reprobation of his conduct by his more 
 respectable fellow townsmen. This punishment was looked upon by 
 our forefathers as most degrading, and as sure to entail upon the subject 
 of it a stained character and permanent disgrace. It was no uncommon 
 thing for an offender put into the stocks for the first tune, and that for 
 some petty misdemeanour, to endeavour to hide his shame in a course of 
 drunkenness, until at last he became an outcast of society, and gained a 
 very unenviable but homely acquaintance with the stocks. The use of 
 the stocks hi Morley was abandoned long before their removal, and they 
 were for a long tune preserved as a memento of the peculiar methods 
 once employed for the punishment and reformation of evildoers. The 
 stocks consisted of two upright wooden posts, into which were fitted 
 three horizontal planks, the lowest being a fixture, while the two upper
 
 90 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 were made to slide vertically in a groove in the pillars. lu the edges of 
 the planks, notches of different sizes were cut to receive the legs of the 
 culprit, when the whole were bound together with iron hasps, secured 
 by a padlock. 
 
 The punishment of the " stocks " is very ancient, Jeremiah referring 
 to it more than six hundred years B.C. Solon, the Athenian law-giver, 
 names them in his laws. Cardinal Wolsey, 
 
 " That once trod the ways of glory, 
 And sounded all the depths and shoals of honour," 
 
 suffered the ignominious punishment of the stocks. At the time he was 
 incumbent at Lymington, near Yeovil, it was the village fair or feast, 
 when Sir A. Poulet, a strict moralist, seeing (it is said) the minister in 
 liquor, ordered him to be put in the stocks, which was accordingly done. 
 
 Many of the customs of our forefathers are fast wearing out, but 
 some of them still remain, and the following remarks relating thereto 
 may not be uninteresting : Many of the inhabitants of Morley still 
 keep up the old custom of sitting up on New Year's Eve till after 
 midnight, to see the New Year make its advent. Watch-night services 
 are also held at several of the churches and chapels, at which consider- 
 able numbers attend. As in many other places, a superstitious feeling 
 is still entertained as to who is the proper person to bring good luck to 
 the house, by being the first caller on New Year's morning. Opinion 
 seems to be divided as to whether the hair of the caller should be light 
 or dark, the preference generally being assigned to the latter. 
 
 The practice of making presents on New Year's day existed among 
 the Romans, and also amongst the Saxons. Pieces of Roman pottery 
 have been found inscribed with a wish of which the English translation 
 is, "A happy new year to you," and such is still the usual mode of 
 salutation, varied with " The compliments of the season," now common 
 in Morley, though fifty years ago it was couched in more homely 
 phrase, as " A happy new year t' ye and meuny of 'em." 
 
 On New Year's Day the youngsters keep up the old custom of asking- 
 gifts, and wishing their neighbours " A happy new year." Rising early, 
 they go in companies from shop to shop, and vociferously demand " A 
 New Year's Gift." The gifts are generally of little value, but the 
 circumstances of the time, and the mode of distributing them, contribute 
 much to the pleasure and interest of all parties concerned. 
 
 "Valentine's Day was also observed in Morley long before the penny 
 post had made the transmission of " billet doux " an easy matter, and 
 the day is now looked forward to with great interest by the youths of
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 1)1 
 
 both sexes. The day is heralded for weeks previously by the appearance 
 in the windows of the post office and stationers' shops of valentines of 
 every conceivable variety. Factor}' workers and servant girls are the 
 principal recipients of these missives, except on Valentine Day itself, 
 when burlesque, sentimental, and serious love epistles find their way 
 into almost every house in the town. The custom of choosing' valentines 
 was a sport practised hi England as early as the year 1479. There is a 
 tradition, that on this day every bird chooses its mate. 
 
 Shrovetide was a season peculiarly welcome to the school-boy and 
 the apprentice. " Collop Monday " is still observed, so far, at least, as 
 dining on eggs and collops is concerned, but not to the total fast from 
 flesh meat, previous to entering upon the solemn season of Lent, which 
 was the case when the country was under Catholic domination. For 
 more than a century the bell of the Old Chapel rung what was called 
 the "pancake bell" on Shrove Tuesday, at eleven o'clock in the 
 forenoon. This was the signal for a total cessation from labour for the 
 rest of the day. The parish apprentices, inured to hard work and scanty 
 fare, and the school boy, tired of tasks and floggings, listened with 
 peculiar pleasure to the tones of this bell ; all now gave themselves up 
 to foot-ball and other games, and to do whatsoever they might choose. 
 The custom of frying pancakes on this day is still observed by our 
 villagers, and the feat of turning them in the pan is the cause of much 
 merriment. 
 
 " IT is the day whereon the rich arid poor, 
 Are chiefly feasted on the self-same dish, 
 When every paunch till it can hold no more, 
 Is fritter-filled, as well as heart can wish ; 
 And every man and maid do take their turn 
 And toss their pancakes up for fear they burn, 
 And all the kitchen doth with laughter sound, 
 To see the pancakes fall upon the ground." 
 
 PASQUIL'S Pallnodin. 
 
 Ash- Wednesday is not observed in Morley, sack-cloth and ashes 
 finding no favour amongst our population, nor do they, as did their 
 grandfathers, dine on salt fish, but on the contrary, on what they like, 
 or can best get. 
 
 Palm Sunday was observed, a century ago, with more care than at 
 present. Large numbers went on that day to Ilowley, where a fair or 
 wake was held, known as " Fieldkirk Fair." Near to the place where 
 the fair was held, was " Lady Ann's Well." It was the custom to 
 throw palms into the water, and it was believed that the water
 
 02 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 possessed some miraculous power of a healing nature. The custom is 
 still preserved, and though the faith in the efficacy of the water may 
 not be so strong, thousands go to the well every Palm Sunday, from 
 Morley, Batley, and the adjacent villages. 
 
 On the First day of April, as in times past, the youths of our town 
 delight in striving to make as many fools as they can. Who is there 
 amongst us but can remember being sent once in his life, at least, on 
 what was called a " sleeveless errand," either for " Pigeon's Milk," or 
 " Strap Oil," or some other similar absurdity. An old tradition affirms, 
 that " such an infatuation attends the First day of April as no foresight 
 can escape, no vigilance can defeat." 
 
 Good Friday is not, and has not in times past been, much observed 
 as a holiday in Morley, except by those connected with the Established 
 Church. The Easter holidays are considered more as a season for 
 enjoyment, and have been kept as such from time immemorial. 
 
 The evening before May day was formerly looked forward to, by the 
 more peaceably disposed inhabitants, with feelings of trepidation, for 
 " Mischief night," as it was called, was faithfully observed by the young 
 and boisterous portion of the inhabitants of Morley and the surrounding 
 district. All kinds of mischief were then perpetrated ; water-tubs were 
 overturned, door handles tied securely fast, shopkeepers' signboards 
 exchanged, and other unmentionable freaks performed, until the 
 establishment of regular police put an end to these vagaries. 
 
 May Day and Royal Oak Day were once kept by the juveniles of 
 Morley with greater hilarity and loyalty than at present. It was the 
 custom on the latter day to wear wreaths of oak leaves on the caps, 
 and the horses' heads were bedecked in a similar manner. This was 
 done to commemorate the restoration to the throne of Charles the 
 Second, at the termination of the Commonwealth, and of the conceal- 
 ment of the King in an oak tree, after the battle of Worcester, in 1651. 
 
 The observance of Whitsuntide is still kept up with spirit. On 
 Whit-Monday the streets and lanes are made quite vocal by the 
 choristers of the various Sunday Schools, who, clad in their best (the 
 girls generally in snowy white), perambulate from house to house among 
 the leading families of the religious bodies to which they belong. 
 Aided by double-basses, trombones, and fiddles, and led by a village 
 " Costa" of very emphatic gesticulation, mounted on a kitchen chair, and 
 flourishing a big roll of music hi his hand, hundreds of voices manage 
 somehow to get through a hymn tune of very questionable merit, 
 generally composed for the occasion ; and at the conclusion of this have 
 no hesitation about rendering an anthem from Handel or Haydn.
 
 HISTORY OF MOBLEY. 93 
 
 The Village Feast, kept in September, does not now maintain its 
 former importance, and many of the sports and pastimes peculiar to it, 
 a century ago, are now forgotten. Pitching the bar, throwing at 
 cocks (a most barbarous amusement), hunting the pig, sack, smock, 
 and wheelbarrow races, grinning and smoking matches, very largely 
 constituted the amusements of our forefathers. As time wore on, these 
 amusements gave place to others of less questionable character. With 
 the decline of our "village feast" the wandering exhibitions, once so 
 familiar, have become nearly extinct, and travelling giants, dwarfs, 
 performing ponies, and wonderful pigs, are only seen on rare occasions. 
 
 Guy Fawkes' Day is still remembered, and shows no signs of being 
 forgotten by the boys of the village, who consider this a great holiday, 
 and for weeks previous, make extensive preparations to give it due 
 celebration. These preparations consist of sundry visits to way-side 
 hedges, farm yards, and ill-secured fences, from whence more bumables 
 are generally taken and deemed lawful prize than the law allows. This 
 mode of procedure has been common for some years, as will be gathered 
 from the " Town's Minutes." 
 
 "Resolved, on Nov. 6th, 1788, by a Piiblic Town's Meeting, on account of 
 many depreciations committed upon the property of the people of Morley, that, on 
 the Fifth of November of every succeeding year, the Constable shall charge a 
 sufficient number of men, and make a public search throughout the town by virtue 
 of his warrant, and put out or extinguish all the bonfires in this township, at the 
 hour of eleven at night. 
 
 ' ' Signed, Samuel Webster, John Webster, Joseph Webster, Robert Dixon, and 
 others." 
 
 Christmas was formerly kept in Morley with great festivity. The 
 yule-log was burnt on Christmas Eve; the "Mummers" went from inn 
 to inn, and played their fantastic " peace-egg " ; and the " waits " were 
 about the streets from early morn. A band of music paraded the streets 
 throughout the day, and called at the residences of the local aristocracy, 
 and were regaled with genuine Christmas fare. Ale and cake were 
 liberally bestowed upon friends, and the poor were not forgotten ; for 
 Morley has had its " Dorcas Society" for a long period, by which the 
 poor were and are still, at this season, relieved without reference to sect 
 or party.
 
 BIOGRAPHICAL SKETCHES. 
 
 " WHAT constitutes a State ? 
 Not high-raised battlement or labour'd mound, 
 
 Thick wall or moated gate ; 
 Not cities proud, with spires and turrets crown'd ; 
 
 Not bays and broad-arm'd ports, 
 Where, laughing at the storm, rich navies ride ; 
 
 Not starr'd and spangled courts, 
 Where low-brow'd baseness wafts perfume to pride. 
 
 No : MEN, high-minded MEN, 
 With powers as far above dull brutes indeed, 
 
 In forest, brake, or den, 
 As beasts excel cold rocks and brambles rude ; 
 
 Men, who their DUTIES know, 
 But know their RIGHTS, and knowing, dare maintain." SIR W. JONES 
 
 N presenting brief biographical sketches of some eminent and 
 worthy men connected with Morley, we trust that their lives 
 may command the attention and emulation of the younger 
 portion of our readers. If we have no lives and actions of what are 
 conventionally termed great men to record, we yet have in our gallery 
 of local worthies men whose habits of industry, perseverance, and 
 well-regulated principles of moral rectitude, have raised them from the 
 humblest positions in life to situations of no inconsiderable eminence. 
 In one, at least, of our sketches, we have clearly set forth the truth- 
 fulness of the wise man's saying : " Seest thou a man diligent in his 
 business, he shall stand before kings ; he shall not stand before mean 
 men." The lives of such men as Salt, Rhodes, and others, are offered 
 as examples to young men who, like them, have commenced life obscure 
 and unknown, but who by imitating their industry, energy, perseverance, 
 and honesty, may leave behind them names for their children to respect, 
 their townspeople to reverently cherish, and for posterity to honour. 
 
 We trust that our readers will feel pleasure in becoming acquainted 
 with some of the men, who have, in the past, done something to 
 promote "moral manhood" in the world; and in sketching briefly the
 
 SIR TITUS SALT, UART., J.I., D.L.
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 95 
 
 lives of our local merchant princes, literati, divines, professional men, 
 painter, and missionary, we do so because we believe such lives will 
 possess a special interest in a local point of view, and probably exercise 
 a deeper influence for good in the town whence they sprung, than the 
 lives of still greater men could do whose career have earned a world- 
 wide reputation on a more distant and less known stage. 
 
 " THY goodness was constant, but modest and meek, 
 It knew no parade and its own did not seek, 
 
 'Twas the power and the silence of light. " ANON. 
 
 SIR TITUS SALT, Bart., of Saltaire and Crow Nest, was bora at 
 Morley, in the Old Manor House, on the 20th of September, 1803. He 
 was the son of Daniel Salt, of 
 Morley, drysalter and wool merchant, 
 and his wife Grace, daughter of 
 Isaac Smithies, also of Morley. He 
 was educated at the Heath Grammar 
 School, near Wakefield, his father 
 having, whilst his son was yet 
 young, removed to the small farming 
 village of Crofton, near Wakefield. 
 After leaving the grammar school, 
 Titus was placed for a time under 
 the care of a Mr. Enoch Harrison, 
 who taught a school in Wakefield. 
 He stayed at this school until his 
 father decided to abandon farming 
 pursuits, and return once more to 
 the more speculative and engrossing 
 pursuits of active business life. To 
 this end Daniel Salt removed to 
 Bradford, and commenced business as a wool merchant, and pursuing 
 the same honourable and industrious business habits which characterised 
 his career while a resident in Morley, and which are spoken of with 
 commendable pride by those, still living, who had the pleasure of his 
 acquaintance, he became one of the most extensive dealers of wool in 
 Bradford. In course of time the son was taken into partnership, and 
 the firm was thenceforward known as " Daniel Salt and Son." During 
 the early years of this partnership, a considerable trade was carried on 
 by the firm in Donskoi wool, which was imported from Russia, and 
 
 Arms of Salt.
 
 96 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 extensively used amongst the woollen manufacturers, Australian wool 
 being then comparatively unknown. 
 
 Becoming thoroughly convinced that this wool might be used with 
 equal advantage in the worsted as in the woollen trade, Titus Salt 
 endeavoured to overcome the prejudices of the customers of the firm, 
 and induce them to give the article a fair trial, feeling convinced that 
 satisfactory results would ensue. In this effort he failed, but nothing 
 daunted he determined to make the trial himself, and in 1834 commenced 
 business as " worsted spinner and manufacturer," at " Thompson's Mill, 
 Silsbridge Lane, Bradford." He subsequently occupied various other 
 mills, and during this time laid the foundation of his future prosperous 
 career. Having succeeded in the introduction of Russian wool into the 
 worsted trade, he turned his attention to testing the merits of a wool he 
 had accidentally met with during a visit to Liverpool. How he became 
 the possessor of the first cargo of this fibre is too well known, and is so 
 much a matter of history that we need not repeat the story here. 
 Suffice it to say, that the superior staple and lustre of the comparatively 
 unknown wool of the South American alpaca soon established its claims 
 to public favour, and whilst, for the four years following its introduction 
 by Mr. Salt, the importation to England only averaged 570,000 pounds 
 per annum, for the year ending Dec., 1874, the amount was 4,186,381 
 pounds, equal to 557,586 in value, and from 8d. per pound in 1836 the 
 value has risen to 2s. 9d. per pound at the present time. 
 
 With the rapid increase of business following upon the introduction of 
 the alpaca fibre, came the necessity for increased power of production, 
 and with a characteristic prudence and foresight, Mr. Salt determined to 
 leave Bradford, which was already becoming overstocked with mills and 
 manufactories, and find a more congenial soil whereon to develope his 
 wisely formed and withal extensive plans. These latter were not devised 
 for the sole purpose that he might acquire more wealth, but embraced 
 the desire to place the relationship of master and servant on a more 
 sound, considerate, and Christian-like basis, by providing for the health, 
 comfort, and general well-being of those "whose lot it was to earn their 
 daily bread by the sweat of their brow." In order to do this, the idea 
 of Saltaire originated with Mr. Salt, whose keen foresight, practical 
 sense, and steadiness of purpose eminently fitted him for the inauguration 
 of so new and great a design. 
 
 On the 20th day of September, 1853, on the fiftieth anniversary of his 
 birthday, the " works " at Saltaire were opened by a banquet, worthy of 
 the event. What is comprised in that little word "works" may be 
 gathered from a cursory view of the premises as we are hurried past
 
 HISTOKY OF MORLEY. 97 
 
 them by train ; but to realise fully their vast extent and completeness, a 
 more leisurely and close examination is necessary. A brief description, 
 copied from a little work by Mr. A. Holroyd, entitled " Saltaire and its 
 Founder," must suffice to give our readers some idea of the magnitude 
 of this " palace " of labour : 
 
 "The manufacturing premises, proper, cover an area of ten acres, and are 
 arranged in the form of the letter T. The top of the letter is represented by the 
 massive fa9ade, or south front of the mill, which is 550 feet in length, or exactly 
 that of St. Paul's. This front pile has six storeys, is seventy-two feet in height, 
 and has a very commanding and beautiful appearance. Like all the other 
 buildings, the factory is in the Italian style of architecture. The first four floors 
 are divided, but the top room, which runs the whole length of the building, is one 
 of the largest and longest in the world. The main stem of the letter T is formed 
 
 Saltaire Mills. 
 
 by the warehouses, which run northward from the centre of the great front line, 
 and terminate at the canal, a length of 330 feet. There are seven floors in the 
 warehouse, including the basement. At the top of the building there is a large 
 cast-iron tank, capable of holding 70,000 gallons, which is supplied with water 
 from the river by the engine pumps. On either side of the warehouses the ground 
 is occupied by the extensive sheds, that on the eastern angle by the weaving shed 
 (which will hold 1,200 looms), and that on the western side designed for combing 
 machines. On the western side are also rooms for sorting, washing, and drying 
 wools, and for reeling and packing. At the western boundary of the works are 
 situated the offices, presenting a handsome architectural frontage of 240 feet. 
 Not the least prominent feature of the ' works ' is the chimney, which stands at 
 the eastern corner of the factory, and rises to a height of 250 feet. It is 26 feet 
 square at the base. The effect of this handsome chimney shaft is that of an 
 II
 
 98 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Italian bell-tower or campanile. The engine-houses are situated on either side of 
 the central entrance to the mill. The engines consist of four beam engines equal 
 to 1,800 horse-power, and other two engines of 600 horse-power propel the dye- 
 works, etc. Fourteen boilers on the tubular principle are connected with these 
 engines, which turn shafting of about three miles in length. In the construction 
 of the engine-beds alone about 2,400 tons of solid stone were used. The whole of 
 the works thus described are constructed of stone, supplied by twenty quarries in 
 the neighbourhood, and for extreme massiveness and solidity have no equal in this 
 or any other country. The architects of these stupendous works were Messrs. 
 Lockwood and Mawson, of Bradford, who by this achievement greatly increased 
 their previous reputation. Mr. (now Sir) Wm. Fairbairn, of Manchester, was the 
 engineer." 
 
 Since the above description was written various other improvements 
 and additions have been made, which must not be overlooked, as they 
 are deserving of being put on record for the information of future 
 generations. In 1868 considerable extensions of Saltaire took place. 
 
 ' ' On the north side of the works, a new mill was builh, between the canal and 
 the river. Closely adjoining were also erected large dyeworks, gasworks, and all 
 their belongings. The iron bridge, too, which was constructed during the early 
 progress of the works, was taken down, and set in a straight line with Victoria 
 Road. This was an extensive undertaking. The massive stone buttresses were 
 taken down and replaced by cast-iron cylinders, these adding greatly to the beauty 
 of the whole structure. The total length of this bridge is now 430 feet, the width 
 being 31 feet. About the year 1871 other extensions, consisting of a wool shed 
 capable of holding 12,000 bales of wool, were made on the eastern side of the 
 works adjoining the railway." 
 
 Such are some of the physical changes which have been effected in 
 the Shipley valley (field of the sheep), by the talent, public spirit, and 
 energy of the firm of " Sir Titus Salt, Bart., Sons, and Co.," but there 
 is one feature of their gigantic undertaking still more striking, and more 
 worthy to be placed on record, viz., the moral effects produced by their 
 character, conduct, and thoughtful consideration upon the vast number 
 of operatives in their employ. Strikes and " turn-outs " are unknown 
 at Saltaire, and if our information be correct, the utmost harmony and 
 good feeling between employer and employed has at all times prevailed ; 
 and while " the firm" has ever shown a deep interest in the well-being, 
 both temporal and spiritual, of their workpeople, the latter have, as a 
 body, been found diligent in duty and faithful to those under whom, in 
 God's providence, they have been placed, and the result, with his 
 blessing, has been a prosperous and mutually profitable connection. 
 
 To show that it was the wish and earnest desire of the founder of 
 Saltaire that the welfare and happiness of his workpeople should have 
 paramount consideration, we need only refer to the noble speech made
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 99 
 
 by him at the opening banquet, and then give evidence as to how far 
 his wishes have been realised. Sir Titus (then Mr.) spoke as follows : 
 
 "He might state that ten or twelve years ago he had looked for this day, on 
 which he completed his fiftieth year. He had looked forward to this day, when 
 he thought to retire from business and enjoy himself in agricultural pursuits, 
 which would be both congenial to his mind and inclination. But as the time 
 drew near, and looking to his large family, five of them being sons, he reversed 
 that decision, and determined to proceed a little longer, and remain at the head of 
 the firm. Having thus determined, he at once made up his mind to leave 
 Bradford. He did not like to be a party to increasing that already over-crowded 
 borough, but he looked around him for a site suitable for a large manufacturing 
 and commercial establishment ; and for the beauty of situation, and the salubrity 
 of its air, it was a most desirable place for the erection of dwellings. Far be it 
 
 Saltaire Congregational Church. (See Page 101.) 
 
 from him to do anything to pollute the air and water of the district. He would 
 do all he could, and he had no doubt he should be successful, to avoid evils so 
 great as those resulting from polluted air and water ; and he hoped to draw 
 around him a population that would enjoy the beauties of the neighbourhood, and 
 who would be well-fed, contented, and happy. He had given instructions to his 
 architect, who was quite competent to carry them out, that nothing should be 
 spared to render the dwellings of the operatives a pattern to the country. If his 
 life should be spared by Providence, he hoped to see satisfaction, happiness, and 
 comfort around him. " 
 
 The firm gives employment to four thousand workpeople, and for their 
 accommodation Sir Titus Salt has erected 770 dwelling-houses, covering 
 an area of twenty-six acres. The houses were occupied in the latter
 
 100 
 
 HISTORY OP MOELEY. 
 
 part of 1875 by 4,460 persons. These "homes of the people" are all 
 of stone, are regularly and uniformly built, and are provided with all the 
 conveniences requisite to the health and comfort of the occupiers. Each 
 house contains a living room, scullery, cellar, and, at the least, three 
 bedrooms. 
 
 "The Saltaire Literary Institute was established in December, 1854. Its 
 operations, with a library of 3,000 volumes, were transferred to the new Club and 
 Institute on its completion in November, 1872. This is undoubtedly one of the 
 finest buildings of its kind in the country. The palatial and beautifully propor- 
 tioned fa9ade at once arrests the attention of the visitor. The building, like the 
 schools opposite, is thrown back some forty feet from the line of the street, the 
 intervening ground, enclosed by ornamentcal railing, being tastefully laid out. 
 
 Saltaire Club and Institute. 
 
 The building was furnished at a cost of 25,000 by Sir Titus Salt. The 
 accommodation provided is as follows : Beading-room, library, laboratory, chess 
 and draught rooms, smoking-room, billiard-room (four tables), bagatelle-room 
 (three tables), lecture hall, to seat 800, lecture theatre, to seat 200, school of 
 art, various class-rooms, curator's house, gymnasium and rifle drill room, 
 lavatories, etc." 
 
 "Another pleasing feature of Saltaire is the Almshouses, forty-two in number, 
 which were founded by Sir Titus Salt 'In grateful remembrance of God's 
 undeserved goodness, and in the hope of promoting the comfort of some who, in 
 feebleness and necessity, may need a home.' The ensemble of these beautiful 
 buildings is one of the most pleasing description, and fitly accords with the 
 remaining architectural features of Saltaire. In front are asphalted walks, green 
 parterres and flower-beds, and underneath the windows are spaces where the
 
 HISTOEY OP MORLEY. 
 
 101 
 
 honeysuckle and the rose- are cultivated. The interiors are fitted up, by the 
 owner, with every necessary requirement for the persons for whom they are 
 intended. The occupants of these almshouses may be either men or women, or 
 either single, married, or widowed. In addition to the houses being free of rent, 
 taxes, or cost of repairs, either of the freehold or of the furniture, there is a weekly 
 allowance to each married almsman residing with his wife of ten shillings, and 
 each almsman or woman without wife or husband, of seven shillings and sixpence. 
 The applicants are appointed by the founder during his life, and afterwards by 
 trustees to be appointed. The almshouses were opened in September, 1868. An 
 infirmary is attached for the dispensing of medicines, and for the use of those who 
 may meet with accidents at the works, and recently there has been an addition 
 made, consisting of male and female wards, holding four beds each." 
 
 Saltaire Schools. 
 
 ' ' The Saltaire elementary schools, now under the control of the Shipley School 
 Board, are situate about the centre of Victoria Road, and opposite to the 
 magnificent Club and Institute. There is something significant in the position of 
 these two educational institutions ; the transition is easy from one to the other, 
 so far as appliances and distance are concerned. The plan of the day schools is 
 based upon the system of instruction recommended by the Committee of Council 
 on Education. Undoubtedly they form one of the most complete ranges of school 
 buildings in England. The style adopted is Italian in character, and accommoda- 
 tion is provided for 700 children. " 
 
 Fully sensible of the spiritual, as well as the temporal, wants of this 
 large population, Sir Titus, in the year 1856, made provision for their 
 religious instruction by the erection of the Congregational Church, a 
 beautiful example of Italian architecture.
 
 102 HISTOKY OP MOELEY. 
 
 "From its exquisitely graceful outline it is a really beautiful object when 
 viewed from the entrance gates in front. As a whole this church is stated to be 
 the most exquisite example of pure Italian architecture in the kingdom. The 
 principal front consists of a circular colonnade of Corinthian columns, detached 
 from the building, above which rises a handsome pedestal, supporting a cupola 
 and dome 130 feet in height. The interior is also novel in effect, being elaborately 
 enriched by the decorator's art. The extreme length of the church is 140 feet, 
 and the cost 16,000, the whole of which was defrayed by Sir Titus Salt. The 
 tower of the church contains a chime of six bells, and a clock with three dials. 
 All the seats are free. The family mausoleum, on the south side of the church, 
 was erected in 1860, and contains the remains of Whitlam, Mary, and Fanny Salt, 
 children of Sir Titus and Lady Salt. Also of Jane, the wife of Ed. Salt, Esq., of 
 Ferniehurst, Baildon, who died in 1870. The mausoleum contains a beautiful 
 full-length female figure emblematic of the Resurrection, this perfect example 
 in pure Italian marble being sculptured by Mr. Acton-Adams, of London. 
 Other rare examples of tablet work adorn the walls." 
 
 The last, and certainly the most pleasing, addition to all that has 
 been previously undertaken for the benefit of the inhabitants of Saltaire, 
 is the "Public Park" or Recreation Ground. The park was designed 
 by Mr. Win. Gay, of Bradford, and was first opened to the public on 
 July 25th, 1871. The grounds are not only picturesque to the eye, but 
 beneficial to the health of those who resort to them for innocent 
 recreation and social intercourse. The grounds cover about fourteen 
 acres, five of which are devoted to a cricket ground. Provision is also 
 made for bowls and croquet. 
 
 Having now epitomised the business career of Sir Titus Salt, we shall 
 briefly summarise his public life, for his time and means have not been 
 exclusively taken up with business and the founding of Saltaire. He 
 has filled many honourable positions with credit to himself and usefulness 
 to the community. At the incorporation of the borough of Bradford he 
 was elected senior alderman, and he served the office of Mayor in 
 1848-9. He was also one of the first borough magistrates, and he was 
 afterwards placed on the Commission of the Peace, and was also 
 Deputy-Lieutenant of the West-Biding. In 1857 Mr. Salt was 
 President of the Chamber of Commerce. In the same year his name 
 was before the electors of Bradford, but he withdrew rather than divide 
 the Liberal party. In 1859, however, his political friends again pressed 
 him to stand, and he was duly returned with Mr. Wickham as member 
 for Bradford. In 1861 he resigned that position, and resumed his 
 commercial pursuits. In 1869 Her Majesty conferred upon him the 
 honour of a baronetcy an act which met with universal favour. Sir 
 Titus Salt's public gifts are well known. Many a struggling cause has 
 been lifted out of its difficulties by the immediate help he has given to it,
 
 C/J *N
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 103 
 
 or indirectly by the stimulus in others which has resulted from his 
 generosity. To literature and to literary men he has ever been a 
 steadfast friend; and his help has always been ready to encourage 
 whatever was good and useful. In all his acts, public and private, it 
 has been abundantly manifested that neither the accumulation of wealth 
 nor the desire of worldly position, have been the actuating motives in 
 his character. 
 
 Sir Titus has at all times manifested a deep interest for the town in 
 which he was born, and his sympathy and help have ever been cheerfully 
 rendered when an appeal has been made to him on behalf of the religious 
 or literary institutions of Morley. Sir Titus m. in 1829, Caroline, the 
 daughter of Geo. Whitlam, Esq., of Great Grimsby, and has had issue, 
 
 I. WILLIAM HENRY, m. Dove, clan, of John Dove Harris, Esq., M.P. for 
 Leicester, and has issue, 
 
 1. Shirley Harris, b. 1857. 
 
 2. Constance Dove. 
 II. George. 
 
 III. Amelia, m. April 2nd, 1873, Henry Wright, Esq., of Kensington, London. 
 
 IV. Edward, m. Mary Jane Susan, dau. of Samuel Elgood, Esq. , of Leicester ; 
 
 and 2ndly, Sarah Amelia, elder dau. of the late William Rouse, Esq. , 
 of Burley House, Burley, Wharfedale. 
 V. Fanny, d. 1861, aged 19 years. 
 VI. Herbert. 
 
 VII. Titus, m. Katherine, dau. of the late Joseph Crossley, Esq., of Halifax, 
 and niece of the late Sir Francis Crossley, Bart., M.P. for the West 
 Riding of Yorkshire, and has issue, 
 
 1. Gordon Locksley, b. 1866. 
 
 2. Harold Crossley, b. 1868. 
 
 3. Lawrence Titus Whitlam, b. 1874. 
 VIII. Whitlam, d. 1851, aged 4 years. 
 
 IX. Mary, d. 1851, aged 2 years. 
 X. Helen. 
 XI. Ada. 
 
 3Ltiua(je. 
 
 DANIEL SALT (s. of Titus Salt, who d. at Hunslet, 7 March, 1804), 
 m. 5 July, 1802, Grace, dau. of Isaac Smithies, Esq., of the Manor 
 House, Morley, and by her (who d. 19 Nov., 1804) had, with other 
 issue, a son, the present Sir Titus Salt, Bart. 
 
 Arms Az., a chevron indented between two mullets in chief, and a 
 demi-ostrich displayed, holding in the beak a horse-shoe, in base, or. 
 Crest Upon a rock, an alpaca, statant, ppr. Motto Quid non Deo 
 juvante.
 
 104 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 " Blest be the art that can immortalise, 
 The art that baffles time's tyrannic chain, 
 To quench it." COWPER. 
 
 JULIUS C^ESAE IBBOTSON. This eminent English landscape painter 
 was born at Churwell, near Morley. He was the son of .Richard 
 Ibbotson, and in consequence of the death of his mother by a fall upon 
 the ice when she was pregnant, he was brought into the world on the 
 29th of December, 1759, by the Caesarian operation ; hence the name of 
 Julius Cassar, the former title being after the name of his maternal 
 grandfather, and the latter from the manner of his birth. He received 
 the first part of his education from the Moravians, and afterwards 
 attended the Quakers' School at Leeds. He was apprenticed to Mr. 
 Fletcher, ship painter, Hull, with whom he stayed until he was eighteen 
 years of age, when, his master retiring from business, he went to 
 London, where he spent several years in the painting of pictures for a 
 picture dealer. He subsequently returned to his native village, and in 
 1780 he married, but his wife died in 1794, leaving him with two sons 
 and a daughter. In 1788 he went out as draughtsman to an Embassy 
 to China, with the Hon. Col. Cathcart, in the Vestal Frigate, Captain 
 Sir J. E. Strachnan. The Ambassador having died on the passage out, 
 and as no successor could be appointed, the vessel returned immediately 
 to England, and Ibbotson lost his whole year's salary, which plunged 
 him into pecuniaiy difficulties. To compensate him, however, for his 
 loss and disappointment, his friends procured for him an offer of an 
 appointment in Lord Macartney's Embassy to China, but Ibbotson could 
 not be induced a second time to accept such an engagement. After 
 undergoing many hardships on account of his pecuniary embarrassments, 
 he quitted London in 1798, when he visited the Lakes of Westmoreland, 
 at which place, in the following year, he fixed his residence. In June, 
 1801, he married, for his second wife, the daughter of Mr. William 
 Thompson, of Windermere. Ibbotson having, in 1803, attracted the 
 attention of William Danby, Esq., of Swinton Park, was induced to 
 settle down at Masham, where he ended his days, under the kind 
 patronage and fostering care of that worthy gentleman. 
 
 At the period in which Ibbotson flourished, he was considered a good 
 artist, and his pictures were in request. His landscapes are fair 
 representations of English scenery, enlivened with cattle and figures, 
 and generally of a moderate size. His extraordinary genius as a painter 
 has been universally acknowledged by persons of taste, both collectors 
 and artists. He was denominated the "Berghem of England" by a late 
 venerable president of the Koyal Academy (Benjamin West, Esq.) He
 
 IIISTOKY OF MOELEY. 105 
 
 was in private life benevolent and sincere, well informed in various 
 branches of science and literature, acute in reasoning 1 , and in his 
 conversation abounding in cheerfulness and humour, but like too many 
 other men of genius, Ibbotson was very improvident, and, consequently, 
 poor and often in pecuniary difficulties. Many very amusing 
 anecdotes respecting him have often been told by the old inhabitants of 
 Masham. As to his pictures, his cattle are touched with great spirit, 
 and those in which they constitute a principal feature, are by far the 
 best of his productions. 
 
 In Notes and Queries (vol. viii. of New Series, page 96), a stoiy is 
 told to the effect, that there is a local tradition, that whilst Ibbotson 
 was residing at Ambleside, he used often to ramble as far as the 
 picturesque valley of Troutbeck, which is about four miles from 
 Ambleside, to indulge in the double enjoyment of the sweet scenery 
 around, and the 4i home-brewed" within the humble ale-house there, 
 kept by one Birkett; and that in acknowledgment and commendation 
 of the good ale, he painted a sign with two faces, each " looking the 
 character" admirably, the one being that of a stout jolly-faced toper 
 with rubicund nose, and the other that of a thin, white-faced, lantern- 
 jawed chap, the veritable picture of a modern teetotaller, (?) with labels 
 from their mouths thus inscribed : 
 
 " Thou mortal man, who liv'st by bread, 
 
 What is it makes thy nose so red /" 
 And 
 
 " Thou silly oaf -with nose so palf, 
 
 It is with drinking BIRKETT'S ale. " 
 
 " The painting has been supplanted by its title in plain letters, ' The 
 Mortal Man,' but the old people say that they still remember it, and 
 that they admired it, and that it is now preserved in Carlisle." 
 
 Ibbotson was a particular friend of Burns, the celebrated Scottish 
 poet, and among other pictures, he painted " Tarn O'Shanter " and " All 
 Hallow E'en." In 1817, whilst engaged in painting a favourite hunter 
 for Lady Augusta Millbank, he took a cold which settled upon his 
 lungs, and terminated his existence, leaving a widow and daugher, the 
 latter, it is said, inheriting her father's talents for sketching. 
 
 Mr. Ibbotsou died at Masham, and a stone on the north side of 
 Masham Churchyard bears the following to his memory : 
 
 " Here lie the remains of Julius C<esar Ibbotson, an artist eminent for his taste 
 and skill in painting rustic figures, cattle, and rural scenery. He died October 
 13th, 1817, aged 58. This humble memorial was erected by the affection of his 
 widow."
 
 106 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 " As shines the sun around on every hand, 
 And gilds with golden beams the sea and land, 
 So a kind heart with kind emotion glows, 
 And flings a blessing wheresoe'er it goes." ANON. 
 
 ISAAC CEOWTHEE. This eminent manufacturer was born in a house 
 on Banks' Hill, Morley, in the year 1769. His father, Mr. Samuel 
 Crowther, was a wool merchant at that time, and placed his son, when 
 at a proper age, to learn the cloth manufacturing business, in which he 
 afterwards rose to great eminence, his energy and rare business talents 
 gaining for him a first position as a manufacturer and merchant. For 
 many years he was, by far, the largest employer of labour in the village, 
 and contributed much in this respect to the comfort and well-being of 
 the inhabitants of Morley. He was a man of good common sense, 
 quick perception, and much constitutional energy. In the decline of life 
 he sometimes manifested great excitability, and his habits became more 
 retiring. Having amassed considerable wealth, and connected himself 
 in early life to the Wesleyau Methodists, he proved himself of great 
 service to the last-named body of Christians, for he failed not to obey 
 the sacred injunction, " To do good and to communicate, forget not." 
 He contributed largely to well-regulated plans for the stability and 
 prosperity of the work of God in the circuit in which he resided; 
 presented to the Wesleyan Missionary Society many thousands of 
 pounds, and, loving all the institutions of Methodism, supported them 
 with a munificence rarely exceeded. The following letter from John 
 Burton, Esq., to the Rev. Dr. Bunting, will testify to the esteem in 
 which he was held by the Wesleyan body : 
 
 "Houndhay, near Leeds, April loth, 1843. 
 
 " Dear Sir, 
 
 "I have great satisfaction in handing over to you an order 
 
 on Messrs. Williams, Deacon, and Co., for 2,000, from our mutual and highly- 
 valued friend, Isaac Crowther, Esq., of Morley. Mr. C.'s hearty attachment to 
 the Wesleyan missions, as one of the most highly honoured institutions for the 
 diffusion of the gospel of Christ, throughout the whole world, prompt him to 
 apportion 1,500 of the above sum to the AVesleyan Missionary Society. And his 
 deep conviction that the Methodist Connexion, the nation, the world, owe a large 
 debt of gratitude to the Wesleyan ministers of the present and former generations, 
 for their zealous, self-denying, and efficient labours in the extension of vital 
 Christianity by preaching the great doctrines of our orthodox Protestantism, 
 induces him to request the treasurers of the fund for the relief of aged and 
 worn-out ministers and ministers' widows to accept of 500 as an expression of his 
 earnest desire to see a more adequate provision made for the worthy men who 
 have spent themselves in the work of Christ. 
 
 ' ' I am happy to have been the means of conveying to yoii four princely
 
 ^ 
 
 ~
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 107 
 
 donations from Mr. Crowther to various Wesleyan Funds, amounting to 4,500, 
 besides subscriptions to the Missions and Centenary Fund, making in the whole 
 6,000. May God comfort and strengthen the heart that thus deviseth liberal 
 things. 
 
 ' I remain, dear Sir, yours very truly, 
 
 "JOHN BURTON. 
 " To the Rev. Dr. Bunting." 
 
 About the year 1846 his strength failed, and the last few years of his 
 life were marked by great feebleness. His sufferings were great and his 
 prayer was, that God would grant him patience, and in His own good 
 pleasure receive him to glory. A handsome marble monument in the 
 New Wesleyan Chapel, bears the following testimony to his character 
 and worth : 
 
 " Sacred to the memory of the late ISAAC CROWTHER, Esq., of Morley, forty -five 
 years a member of the Methodist Society. His Christian character was marked 
 by simplicity, godly sincerity, and pure desire for the spread of divine truth, and 
 in the enlargement of the Old (Wesleyan) Chapel he took a lively interest. The 
 sum of one thousand pounds he generously invested in the trustees for the time 
 being, directing that the interest arising from it should be divided twice in the 
 year, among the poorer members of the Methodist Society in his native town. He 
 was a liberal supporter of various charitable institutions. His zeal on behalf of 
 missions was evinced by offerings rarely exceeded. He departed this life May 
 31st, 1850, aged 81 years." 
 
 4 ' He had a routh o' auld nick-nackets, 
 Rusty airn caps, and jinglin- jackets, 
 Would hold the Croudars three in tackets 
 
 A towmond gude, 
 And parritch-pats, and auld saut-lackets 
 
 Afore the flude." BURNS. 
 
 NORRISSON CAVENDISH SCATCHERD, F.S.A. This gentleman and 
 antiquary was born at Morley House on the 29th of February, 1780, 
 and was descended from a family resident at Morley for more than two 
 centuries. He was the eldest son of Watson Scatcherd, Esq., a very 
 successful member of the Northern Bar, and during the latter part of his 
 life, a West Hiding Magistrate and Chairman of Quarter Sessions. 
 Norrisson was educated at Maryleboue and Hipperholme Schools, and 
 graduating at Cambridge, was called to the Bar by the Honourable 
 Society of Gray's Inn, on the 28th of November, 180G. He practised 
 only for a very short time, and then betook himself to literature and 
 antiquarian pursuits. He will be remembered chiefly as the author of 
 The History of Morley and its surrounding Villages, 1830, 8vo., a work 
 now very scarce. He also wrote Memoirs of tlie celebrated Eugene Aram,
 
 108 
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 who was executed for the murder of Daniel Clark in 1759 ; with some 
 account of his family, and other particulars, collected for the most part 
 above thirty years ago," two editions ; Gleanings offer Eugene Aram : 
 and A Treatise on Bridge Chapels ; including the history of the chapel 
 upon Wakefield Bridge. He was also a contributor to the Gentleman's 
 Magazine, to Hone's Tear and Table Books, and the local newspapers. 
 Mr. Scatcherd's two pamphlets on Eugene Aram were favourably 
 reviewed in the leading periodicals and newspapers of the period, much 
 to the satisfaction of the author. We select the following extract from 
 Dr. A. B. Granville's Spas of England (Northern Spas, p. 95) : 
 
 "The most successful, clever, and highly interesting effort made to that effect 
 (i.e., the enlisting of public sympathy on behalf of the memory of Eugene Aram) is 
 
 Morley House. 
 
 that of Norrisson Scatcherd, Esq., who in two well- written little works, full of 
 curious details, the one entitled, ' Memoirs of the celebrated Eugene Aram,' and 
 the other, ' Gleanings after Eugene Aram,' has endeavoured to place the history 
 of that extraordinary character in its proper light, and to enlist the kindly feelings 
 of his readers in behalf of his hero." 
 
 Shortly after the appearance of Mr. Scatcherd's Memoirs of Eugem 
 Aram, a new edition of E. Hargrove's Trial of Eugene Aram (first 
 published at York in 1759 by C. Etheringtou) appeared, containing some 
 unacknowledged extracts from and some aspersions on Mr. Scatcherd's 
 pamphlet, which greatly roused the ire of our Morley historian, as
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 109 
 
 appears from the subjoined letters addressed by him to a tradesman at 
 Knaresborough, who had rendered him valuable assistance in unravelling 
 the Aram mystery. The italics are Mr. Scatcherd's own. 
 
 "Morley, May 15th, 1834. 
 "My Dear Sir, 
 
 " My ' Memoirs of Eugene Aram ' appeared in the spring of 
 
 1832. After 800 copies had been sold, lo ! and behold about October in the same 
 year, out comes a reprint of Hargrove's old Tract, with a few hints stolen from 
 mine, by some printer's Devil (as I guess) anonymous of course. The best is that 
 this Devil affects not to have seen my little tract (vide p. 63-64), although 800 had 
 been some months in circulation. He affects to talk of Sally Aram, but whoever 
 in this world ever saw the name of Sally or any one of Aram's children in print 
 until I laid them before the public ? Eugene Aram has been my ' Hobby ' ever 
 since I discarded my wooden rocking-horse, and I will not allow that any man 
 ever took one-twentieth of the trouble to do him justice that I have done. 
 
 " Yours very truly, 
 
 "NORRISSON SCATCHERD. 
 
 "To Mr. Jacob Edmondson." 
 
 Another attempt having been made to depreciate Mr. Scatcherd's 
 claims as the biographer and defender of Aram, he addressed a second 
 letter to his friend : 
 
 " Morley, Nov. 29th, 1835. 
 "My Dear Sir, 
 
 ' ' Every man has his hobby horse and Eugene Aram has 
 
 been mine ever since I was a child. No man has ever made any material enquiry 
 about him, bid myself, and no man has ever travelled one-hundredth part of the 
 distance that I have done to gain information as to his family, his connections, and 
 local circumstances, " therefore Eugene Aram is my property, and though others 
 may publish his trial I alone am his biographer. I alone have vindicated his 
 character. I have dispelled the mystery, or shall dispell the mystery which has 
 'clouded the records of his life,' and therefore no one can be entitled to the 
 character of an author as respects Aram but myself. 
 
 " Yours very truly, 
 
 "NoRRissoN SCATCHERD. 
 "To Mr. J. Edmoudson." 
 
 In January, 1836, when about to issue his " Gleanings after Eugene 
 Aram," he again writes to his fellow-labourer at Knaresborough, and we 
 have the satisfaction of being able to place before our readers this 
 characteristic epistle, and in doing so have to express our opinion, that 
 it more accurately depicts the leading features of Mr. Scatcherd's literary 
 weaknesses than any portraiture of them that we could furnish : 
 
 "Morley, January 3rd, 1836. 
 "My dear Sir, 
 
 " I now beg of you, as a most particular favour, not to say 
 a word to any one about my new work. It is but a trifle, but it will be deemed
 
 110 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 very curious and interesting, and it certainly will tell the world (in connection 
 with my ' Memoirs ') far more about Eugene than all other people together have 
 told ; and it will correct some important mistakes. A few pages towards the 
 latter end peculiarly my own will also be admired as written with good taste and 
 feeling, and the whole will display a publication very different to a humbug 
 reprint of Mr. Hargrove's old trial. 
 
 "Yours very truly, 
 
 "NORRISSON SCATCHERD. 
 
 "Mr. Jacob Edmondson." 
 
 In the following March Mr. Scatcherd forwarded to Mr. Edmondson 
 a copy of his " Gleanings," and accompanied it with the following 
 laconic and precautionary epistle : 
 
 "Morley, March 26th, 1836. 
 "My dear Sir, 
 
 "You herewith will receive and I trust be pleased with the 
 
 little Tract which I promised you and pray do not lend it out. Nothing injures 
 the sale of a work like this practice, and as I wish to raise something for our 
 National School, you will not throw one obstacle in my way. 
 
 ' ' Yours very truly, 
 
 "NORRISSON SCATCHERD. 
 "Mr. J. Edmondson." 
 
 In order to give the reader some idea of the literary tastes of Mr. 
 Scatcherd, as well as to show his opinion of the men and times in which 
 he lived, we append a letter, addressed by him to Mr. Geo. M. Tweddell, 
 of Stokesley, who had solicited Mr. Scatcherd to contribute to the 
 Yorkshire Miscellany, then about to be launched : 
 
 "Morley, near Leeds, July 30th, 1844. 
 
 " My dear Sir, 
 
 "Your Letter of the 15th inst. should not have gone 
 
 unanswered so long, had not my hay harvest, my horticultural and domestic 
 avocations, and numberless other matters, prevented. 
 
 ' ' I thank you for your obliging panegyrick on my two little tracts, the Memoirs 
 and Gleanings after Eugene Aram, which I hope there is no undue vanity in my 
 believing to be of some desert, after the commendations which they have received 
 from literary men of the first talent, Rev. J. Hunter, E. L. Bulwer, Dr. 
 Granville, and a host of authors of lesser eminence ; and all of them, except the 
 Historian of South Yorkshire, (even personally) unknown to me. If you ever 
 take up the Spas of England, vol. i., by Dr. Granville, you may find some 
 expressions as warm and kind as your own. 
 
 "But now to the main point contributions to your Yorkshire Miscellany. 
 Really, I dare not promise much, as Poetry, Fiction, or Anecdote are not at all in 
 my way ; and I have the misfortune to be as fastidious about these things as I am 
 in my favourite anmsements of Music and Antiquities. Yet I have a subject ' in 
 petto,' which I much desire to lay before the world. As far as I know, it will 
 possess one charm which captivates alike the Queen upon the throne, and the 
 Beggar on the dunghill, the charm of Novelty ! I may perhaps begin my subject
 
 HISTOEY OF MOKLEY. Ill 
 
 with a few hints gathered from Wood's Athena?, and followed up by local 
 researches of my own ; but I shall not conclude without giving a tew facts a few 
 characters Yorkshire Men whom I have seen, and one of whom is still living: 
 Men who, for intellect, ought (though in humble life) to be regarded almost with 
 veneration. 
 
 "If, when the cold weather sets in, my health be good, I will send you some- 
 thing worth printing. I shall give you names and places of abode, and not only 
 my own, but my bookseller's authority. 
 
 ' ' Never fear my troubling you either with Politics or Religion, or any sentiment 
 calculated to alarm the prejudices, or shock the feelings, of any one. My theme 
 (if ever I write, as I purpose, to some one for publication) will delight some 
 people, astonish others, and afford a vast field for conversation and reflection. 
 
 "But I am sixty-five years of age dreadfiilly afflicted, at times, with lumbago, 
 etc., and may never have leisure to give my Biographical Sketches. To make sure 
 of something, therefore, as it is a wet day, allow me to present a picture or two, 
 and ask you a question. 
 
 "While lounging in a bookseller's shop, some years ago, at Leeds, a country- 
 man comes in, with clogs on hisJeet, worsted stockings, corduroy 'unmentionables,' 
 a vulgar striped waistcoat, threadbare blue coat, scarlet cravat, tied sailor-like, 
 and a hat worse than that of a bricklayer's labourer. And what may be the 
 business, think you, of this lowly man ? Why, to ask the bookseller if he has 
 succeeded in getting him, from Deighton's of Cambridge, a second hand copy of 
 what? Why, of La Croix and the Infinitesimal Calculus ! ! ! This man's name I 
 found to be Kiley, and his residence at Pudsey. He was a book-keeper in some 
 counting-house there, and gave instructions in Mathematics. 
 
 "At the same place, another time, a man in a smock frock like a waggoner 
 but who was really a stone-mason, asked my bookseller, in my hearing, if he could 
 sell him a translation of Sir Isaac Newton's Principia ! ! ! I followed him a long 
 way, that I might know him again. His name, I believe, was Backhouse, and his 
 abode Seacroft or Whitkirk. 
 
 "Piiley Backhouse Field Aram what names are these for a Yorkshire 
 Miscellany ! It is a pity, if not a shame, that Men with intellects, born, as it 
 were, for the Universe, should live neglected, and die as little heeded as the fall 
 of an autumnal leaf in the pathless Desert. But we live in a world of trouble, of 
 sorrow, and of sin. 
 
 "But I shall hope some time or other to give you a better account of 'the' 
 Infinitesimal Calculus and Principia, and of a Yorkshire Miller and Mathematician 
 of the reign of Elizabeth. 
 
 " Such subjects as these, Sir, are not namby-pamby, but redound to the glory of 
 Yorkshire and of the human species. They display intellect of the highest order, 
 and illustrate the saying of the Psalmist : 'Thou hast made him but a little lower 
 than the angels, and crowned him with glory and honour.' 
 " Yours, Sir, very respectfully, 
 
 "NORRISSON SCATCHERD." 
 
 When at Mary-le-bone School, the ancient manor house, rented by 
 his grandfather, drew his admiration. Tradition reported that, " this 
 fine ancient structure was a palace of Elizabeth ; from her it came by 
 grant to the Forsyths, and thence to the Duke of Portland." Mr.
 
 112 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Scatcherd says of it, " I have a perfect recollection of this fine and 
 interesting house, with its beautiful saloon and gallery, in which private 
 concerts were held occasionally, and the first instrumental performers 
 attended. My grandfather was an enthusiast in music, and cultivated, 
 most of all, the friendship of musical men, especially of Handel, who 
 visited him often and had a great predilection for his society." It is 
 more than probable that it was while spending many years in this house, 
 our historian first imbibed the love of antiquities, which made an indelible 
 impression upon his future life. That the London suburb was full of 
 attractions to him will be gathered from the following letter, written in 
 1831. He says : " I can remember Mary-le-bone in 1790 better than 
 the lakes of Cumberland, which I saw only in 1828; my recollection 
 traverses every room in the palace or manor-house. I remember the 
 fine gardens and mulberry trees, and seeing Lunardi or Blanchard in his 
 balloon high over them. I remember anecdotes of Dr. Arne, and many 
 eminent men ; and especially of those wonderful men Samuel and Charles 
 Wesley, who, when children, were stars of the first magnitude in the 
 musical world, and lived at or near Mary-le-bone." 
 
 Mr. Scatcherd was a good specimen of the " fine old English gentle- 
 man." As an illustration of his liberality, we may mention that, in 
 1821, in consequence of the agricultural distress throughout the district, 
 he returned ten per cent, to his tenants, and intimated that he should 
 continue to do so, so long as the distress continued. In politics he was 
 a most devoted Whig. AVriting in 1838 of Lord John Russell, he says : 
 
 "If any name be dear and justly dear to Englishmen, it is that of Russell, as 
 illustrious in the 19th as the 17th century ; though many should forsake him, yet 
 will not I. The Conservatives shall find me, like Chatham, in this 'faithful 
 among the faithless. ' I have no office to ask of any great man, nor will I prostitute 
 myself to please any man upon earth. I am not after the flesh-pots of Egypt, or 
 likely to sell my birthright for a mess of pottage. I am getting an old man, and 
 it is too late in the day for me to become an apostate. " 
 
 In 1851, Mr. Scatcherd had the gratification to be elected a Fellow of 
 the Society of Antiquaries. He died at Morley House on the 16th of 
 February, 1853, and left a widow and six children to mourn his loss. 
 
 " If well to live, and well to die, 
 If faith, and hope, and charity, 
 May crown a soul in endless bliss ; 
 Thrice happy his condition is. " ANON. 
 
 EDWARD REYNER, M.A. This eminent divine was born at Morley, 
 in 1600, and received his early education in the neighbourhood of Leeds,
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 113 
 
 It is said of him that he feared the Lord from his youth, and greatly 
 frequented sermons in his childhood, and constantly attended the 
 monthly exercise, which was encouraged by that excellent Abp. Dr. 
 Toby Matthews, at Leeds, Pudsey, and other places. Before he left 
 Morley for the University, he was, in all respects, a most conscientious 
 Christian ; frequent in secret prayer, a strict Sabbatarian, of a gravity 
 beyond his years, and giving great promise of future eminence. While 
 at the University of Cambridge, he made the most of his opportunities, 
 and laid in a good stock of learning, but the straitness of his means did 
 not permit of his staying there so long as he had an inclination to do. 
 After leaving the University, he taught school at Aserby in Lincolnshire, 
 but owing to the inability of the people to sufficiently remunerate him 
 for his services, he left the place to accept an offer from the Countess of 
 Warwick, of the school at Market-Rasen, in which he continued a few 
 3 r ears, industriously grounding his scholars in the rudiments of learning 
 and the principles of religion, and improving all his spare time for the 
 perfecting his own studies. After remaining four years, the Countess 
 bestowed upon him the lectureship at Welton, which she maintained. 
 
 Mr. Reyner was, on the 13th of August, 1626, invited to Lincoln, by 
 a most affectionate call of many pious people there, first, to be lecturer 
 at Benedicts, and then to be minister at Peters, at the Arches, Marcli 
 4th, 1627 ; where he displayed uncommon ministerial abilities, and was 
 an unspeakable blessing to the city. At that time he did not conform 
 to the usual ceremonies, which created him adversaries who threatened 
 him; but his liberty of preaching was continued, and his moderation 
 procured him favour with several that belonged to the Minster, who 
 sometimes heard him in the afternoon. Sir Edward Lake himself, the 
 chancellor, was often his auditor, and declared he received benefit by 
 his preaching, till he was reproved by certain persons in power. In this 
 position Mr. Reyner was precisely the man for the place. His piety and 
 sterling character; his simplicity and faithfulness eminently qualified 
 him to assume the offices of pastor and teacher ; for his sole desire was 
 to forward the welfare spiritual, intellectual, and physical of those 
 about him. 
 
 Dr. Williams, the Bishop of the diocese, in one of his visitations, 
 attended the preaching of Mr. Reyner. As soon as the latter had ended 
 his sermon, the Bishop sent him an invitation to dine with him, and 
 before parting, presented him with the Prebend of Botolphs in Lincoln, 
 which he at first accepted ; but when he came seriously to reflect upon 
 the matter, he was much dissatisfied, for he found he could not keep it 
 with a safe and quiet conscience. Hereupon lie prevailed with the lady 
 I
 
 114 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Armine (to whom he was related) to go to the Bishop, to excuse his 
 declining this preferment ; when his lordship pleasantly said to the lady, 
 " I have had many Countesses, Ladies, and others, who have been 
 suitors to me to get preferments for their friends ; but you are the first 
 that ever came to take away a preferment, and that from one upon 
 whom I bestowed it with my own hands." 
 
 Mr. Reyner was a most laborious teacher, " warning every one, night 
 and day with tears, teaching them publicly, and from house to house, 
 being an example of a pious, diligent, and conscientious pastor." It 
 was a great trouble to him to find some of his people falling off to 
 unsound principles. He prayed for them without ceasing, and conversed 
 with them with much meekness, and in his sermons he laid the grounds 
 of those truths from which they had fallen, in such a general way, as if 
 none in the congregation had doubted of them, that none might be 
 exasperated. 
 
 In 1639 he was asked to accept the pastoral oversight of a congrega- 
 tional church in Holland, but hoping that better times were approaching 
 in England, he sent a denial. About this time he had orders sent him 
 from the Commissary's Court, to "conform" to many practices repugnant 
 to his feelings, but the general commotions that happened soon after 
 saved him from those rigours. After spending some time at Norwich, 
 where he had accepted a lectureship, he was invited to Leeds by 
 the magistrates and principal inhabitants, who pressed him, with the 
 consideration of its being his native county, which needed his help. He 
 had another pressing invitation to be one of the preachers in the city of 
 York. In 1654 he returned to Lincoln, and settled in the Minster, but 
 had not been long there before a new trouble came upon him. Some of 
 the King's soldiers came foraging as far as Lincoln. Their malice was 
 pointed at Mr. Reyner ; they accordingly pursued him, and there were 
 none to oppose them. He fled into the library to hide himself ; but they 
 followed him with drawn swords, swearing they would have him, dead 
 or alive : upon which he opened the doors, when they stript him of his 
 coat, took away his purse, and led him away in triumph ; but he was 
 soon afterwards released. Mr. Reyner died about 1670. 
 
 As a preacher, he was very successful in his method, which was 
 generally catechetical. He was a great reprover of sin, wherever he 
 saw it, in great or small. He was conscientious in his conduct as to 
 public affairs, and could not fall in with the practices and opinions of 
 the times. He was a very humble, meek, quiet, and patient person, 
 giving this as his observation, in the close of his days, " I have ever 
 found, that words spoken in meekness of wisdom, and not from an
 
 HISTOEY OF MOKLEY. 115 
 
 angry spirit, are most piercing to others, and most comfortable to 
 myself." 
 
 Mr. Reyuer published the following works : Precepts for Christian 
 Practice Considerations concerning Marriage; The Honour, Duties, 
 Benefits, and Troubles of it A Vindication of Human Learning and 
 Universities The Being and Well-being of a Christian: in three 
 Treatises. 
 
 "And so to live, that when the sun 
 Of our existence sets in night, 
 Memorials sweet of mercies clone 
 May shrine our names in memory's light." BOWRING. 
 
 JOHN SwiNDEN. This gentleman, though not a native of Morley, 
 may fairly claim to be ranked amongst the " worthies " of the place, 
 having spent nearly his whole life here. He died in 1841, deservedly 
 esteemed and lamented by his numerous friends and acquaintances. His 
 death deprived society of one of its brightest ornaments, and his loss 
 was mourned with feelings of no common sorrow. As a surgeon, during 
 a period of thirty years, his great professional talents were eminently, 
 and, under divine providence, usefully exerted in the service of his 
 fellow-creatures ; and he was esteemed an honour to that profession of 
 which he was so distinguished a member. His science and well-grounded 
 skill in medicine were equalled only by the virtues which adorned his 
 heart. In his character, the scholar, the man of science, and the man 
 of feeling were happily blended. His advice was at all times freely at 
 the command of the sick and suffering poor ; to whom he was ever kind 
 during his practice in Morley ; no pecuniary motive could ever induce 
 him to forget their claims upon him. His good deeds were more 
 abundant in those times of privation and distress, which the operatives 
 of the village were called to pass through, and which he endeavoured to 
 alleviate in every way that he could ; and these are still remembered by 
 those who profited by his advice and experience, and who also were the 
 recipients of his private bounty. He suggested and carried out the 
 formation in the village of a society for the mutual improvement of 
 adults ; and possessing a thorough knowledge of chemistry, he was 
 never happier than when endeavouring to make himself understood by 
 the humblest capacity. He was also an excellent lecturer on other 
 subjects connected with Nature and Art, and as he possessed a happy and 
 easy manner of elucidation, the imperfectly informed operative listened 
 to him with profit and delight.
 
 116 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 In 1831, Dr. Swinden took an active part in a movement against the 
 further extension of the "factory system" in Morley. The Gillroyd 
 Mill Company was at that time being formed, and our village squires 
 contemplated, with feelings of pain, the breaking up of the old "domestic 
 manufacture of cloth." A meeting was held in March, 1831, in the 
 Town's School. Dr. Swinden was in the chair, and in his speech said 
 that " It was the bounden duty of all to uphold the domestic manufac- 
 ture, and the operatives particularly are bound to hail that good old 
 fashioned system, which offered an encouragement to men to be careful, 
 because by being so they might purchase a little wool, manufacture it 
 into cloth, take it to the Leeds Cloth Hall, and having once tasted the 
 sweets of labour, they would be more industrious and better members of 
 society." The meeting passed resolutions condemnatory of the factory 
 system. N. Scatcherd, Esq., also spoke against the introduction of 
 machinery into the manufacture. 
 
 A few years before his death, his name went forth to the literary 
 world as the author of " An attempt to prove that Lord Chatham was 
 Junius," and we may infer from the following review by the Leeds 
 Mercury of Dec, IGth, 1830, that the attempt was not without merit. 
 It says : 
 
 "Dr. Swinden has added that to Chatham's fame which will give it additional 
 brilliancy. He has neither advanced false facts, nor reasoned falsely from true 
 principles. We may apply to him the beautiful language of Chatham quoted in 
 the preface, ' The evidence which truth carries with it, is superior to all argument, 
 it neither wants the support, nor dreads the opposition, of the greatest abilities. ' 
 We are persuaded that Mr. Swinden's evidence is that of truth." 
 
 A local poet inscribed the following lines to the memory of this village 
 worthy : 
 
 "Though vain the storied urn and poet's lay, 
 We mourn as men when genius dies away ; 
 We feel our loss of intellectual worth, 
 We know a glorious light hath left the earth. 
 His voice is in our ears, his form we see 
 Flitting before us, wheresoe'er we be ; 
 And, in the past's bright mirror, as they rise, 
 His nobler virtues we more dearly prize. 
 What though the solemn bell from day to day 
 Proclaims aloud that fellow worms decay ; 
 When gifted minds to death's cold mandate bend, 
 All nature mourns an universal friend. " 
 
 A marble tablet in St. Peter's church records that he died on the llth 
 of April, 1841, aged 51 years.
 
 HISTORY OF HORLEY. 117 
 
 " The faitliful friend the generous heart and hand 
 The noble mind, filled with the richest lore 
 The well-remembered form familiar face 
 
 Are now no more ! JOHN REED ATPLETOX, F. S. A. 
 
 NATHANIEL DlXOX. Any history of Morley would be incomplete 
 without a notice of this gentleman, who may be fairly ranked as one 
 of the "worthies" of the place, as he was, from 1848 to 1862, one 
 of the most prominent public men in Morley, and took a large share in 
 furthering its growth and development. lie took a deep interest in all 
 public matters tending fo the welfare and well-being of his fellow- 
 townsmen, lie was elected chairman of the Local Board in 1863, 
 having previously served all the various public offices connected with 
 the township. In 1859 he was chairman of the Gas Company, and 
 retained the office until his death. Whenever he attended any public 
 meeting of the inhabitants, called for the purpose of taking into 
 consideration any scheme intended to improve and advance their 
 interests, he always delivered what he had to say on the subject in a 
 clear and forcible manner, and generally to the point. But it was as a 
 Christian man that he will be best remembered by those who knew him. 
 lie was the life of every benevolent and Christian movement, a devoted 
 lover of peace, and a large-hearted well-wisher of every good cause. 
 He was eminently a man of prayer, strictly conscientious, honourable 
 and upright in all his dealings, scrupulous even to a fault, generous, and 
 ever ready to -assist in any public or private acts of benevolence. 
 
 Mr. Dixon was a man of untiring energy, of dauntless resolution, and 
 uncompromising principle. His life was marked by great thoroughness, 
 transparency, and firmness of character; and he was a man whom all 
 could trust and honour. Though he was somewhat abrupt and impetuous 
 in his manner, yet he struggled successfully to overcome, in a great 
 measure, this disposition. He was ever loyal to truth, to duty, and to 
 God. Religion was emphatically the business of his life. During the latter 
 years of , his life he was in delicate health, and having retired from 
 business, he had ample opportunity of usefulness, and also the willingness , 
 to avail himself of it. Indeed, perhaps it might be said, he attempted 
 too much ; had he taken less care upon himself, and been content to 
 spend a life of inglorious ease, humanly speaking, he might have lived 
 longer. 
 
 In 1863, his health failing, he went to reside at Drighlington. He 
 departed this life on October 30 th, 1865, in his 60th year, and was 
 interred in Rehoboth Chapel bariul ground, Morley, on the 4th day of 
 November.
 
 118 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 ' ' That to act, whate'er betide, 
 Nobly on the Christian plan, 
 This is still the surest guide, 
 How to be the GEKTLEMAN." TUPPER. 
 
 MANOAH RHODES, J.P., was born at Morley on the 7th of March, 
 1810. His father, Joseph Rhodes, was in comfortable circumstances, 
 as a farmer and manufacturer of "healds and slays," used in the woollen 
 trade. At an early age the son was sent to the Endowed Grammar 
 School at Batley, distant three miles from Morley, and the daily journey 
 to and fro was often most wearisome, especially in winter time, when 
 the roads were in execrable condition. Batley was, at that time, more 
 of an agricultural than a manufacturing village, and gave no signs of 
 the great change which half a century has effected, in transforming the 
 place from a rural country village into a large manufacturing town, with 
 a mayor and corporation, gigantic mills and manufactories, and palatial 
 residences. 
 
 On the 9th day of November, 1822, young Rhodes took his leave of 
 Morley, and walked over to Bradford, to enter upon an apprenticeship 
 with Mr. John Allott, silversmith, Ivegate, with whom he remained for 
 fourteen years, serving him faithfully. In 1836, Mr. Rhodes commenced 
 business on his own account, and from a very humble beginning is now, 
 after a prosperous career of forty years, head of the well-known firm of 
 Manoah Rhodes and Sons, one of the largest gold and silversmiths' 
 businesses in the North of England. 
 
 In 1852, Mr. Rhodes was initiated into the Order of Freemasonry, 
 and has since that time filled nearly all the offices in the craft, below 
 that of D. P. G. Master. Whilst Master of his own lodge, he was 
 honoured by the G. M. Earl de Grey, accepting his hospitality. 
 
 When the subject of incorporating the borough of Bradford was 
 mooted, Mr. Rhodes took a very active and prominent part in furthering 
 the movement, and bringing about the incorporation, which was effected 
 in 1847. Fifteen or sixteen years ago, he occupied a seat in the Town 
 Council for a term of four years. lie has not since taken any very 
 prominent part in local politics, and only re-entered the council chamber 
 in 1871, as one of the members for the North Ward. In November, 
 1873, he was elected Mayor of the borough of Bradford, and in proposing 
 him for the office, Aid. M. Dawson spoke as follows : " Mr. Rhodes 
 was one of the few men who had not made an enemy, either political or 
 religious. He believed it was just fifty-one years on Sunday Lord 
 Mayor's day that Mr. Rhodes had entered the good old town of 
 Bradford; and during the whole of that time, no one had found any
 
 MANOAH
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 119 
 
 fault with his character, but he had attained a high and honourable 
 position in society. lie was generous almost to a fault, and he had 
 gained the esteem and regard of all classes of his fellow-townsmen. He 
 had prospered with the town, had progressed with its progress, and had 
 succeeded with its success." Mr. Rhodes fulfilled the duties of his office 
 with dignity, suavity, and grace, and in the council chamber, during 
 the debates, he kept order admirably, blending with mildness of tone 
 an unmistakeable decision of manner. During his mayoralty the statue 
 erected in Bradford, in honour of Sir Titus Salt, Bart., was unveiled 
 with great ceremony; the mayor afterwards entertaining to luncheon, 
 in the banqueting room at the town hall, His Grace the Duke of 
 Devonshire, Lord Frederick Cavendish, M.P., the Lord Mayor of York, 
 Sir Matthew Wilson, Bart., Henry W. Ripley, Esq., M.P., all the 
 surviving ex-Mayors of Bradford, and a number of other gentlemen. 
 
 At the expiration of his mayoralty, Mr. Rhodes was entertained at a 
 banquet by the town council, and in the week following at a second 
 banquet, by a number of influential townsmen, not connected with the 
 council, who were anxious to express their sense of satisfaction with the 
 manner in which he had discharged the duties of Mayor. 
 
 Some few months ago, Mr. Rhodes was placed on the list of borough 
 magistrates, since which time he has regularly fulfilled the duties of the 
 bench in a very able and efficient manner. 
 
 Mr. Rhodes has never taken any very prominent part in political 
 matters. In early life he belonged to the old Whig party, but for some 
 years his leanings have been towards the Conservative interest. In 
 religion he has identified himself with the Wesleyan Methodists, and has 
 contributed liberally to its various organisations, and at the same time, 
 according to his ability, has materially assisted any good movement in 
 the Church, or amongst other denominations, as well as the various 
 charities in Bradford. 
 
 Mr. Rhodes was married in 1836 to Ann, daughter of Joseph Watson, 
 cloth maker, Morley, and niece of the late Isaac Crowther, Esq., of Croft 
 House, Morley, by whom he has a family of six sons and two daughters. 
 We have pleasure in being able to present our readers with a life-like 
 portrait of this " village worthy," the lessons of whose life are worth 
 remembering, for, though it contains no adventures or events of an 
 exciting nature, yet it serves to show how high and worthy a position 
 may be attained by steady perseverance, plodding industry, and honour- 
 able dealings ; and proves that " excellence is never granted to man but 
 as the reward of labour," for " if you have great talents, industry will 
 improve them ; if moderate abilities, it will supply their deficiencies."
 
 120 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 " The heights, by great men reached, and kept, 
 
 Were not attained by sudden flight ; 
 But they, while their companions slept, 
 Were toiling upwards in the night." LONGFELLOW. 
 
 WILLIAM OVEREKD PRIESTLEY, M.I). This eminent physician, still 
 living, was born at Churwell, June 24th, 1829, whence, at an early age, 
 he was removed to " The Hall," Morley. His father, Mr. Joseph 
 Priestley, was an extensive manufacturer of cloth, and having bought 
 the Hall, removed from Churwell, and, for the better carrying on of his 
 business, erected the large factory on Dawson's Hill. The son spent 
 several years at Morley, and in due course was sent to the Free 
 Grammar School, at Batley, and subsequently to Bramham College. In 
 1843 he was apprenticed to Mr. M. T. Sadler, surgeon, of Barnsley ; on 
 leaving that town, he took charge of a district in Leeds, during the 
 visitation of cholera in 1849. He next removed to Edinburgh, where he 
 studied at the University, and was assistant for some years to the 
 celebrated Dr. Simpson. Besides other academic distinctions, Mr. 
 Priestley was Senate Gold Medallist at his graduation, this being the 
 highest honour of the University, and awarded only for original 
 researches. Settling in London as a physician, he became one of the 
 lecturers at the Grosvenor Place School of Medicine. Somewhat later 
 he was appointed lecturer on midwifery at the Middlesex Hospital, and 
 in 1862 Professor of Obstetric medicine in King's College, London. Dr. 
 Priestley is a member of and one of the examiners in the Royal College 
 of Surgeons; a Fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, both in 
 London and Edinburgh. He has held the office of examiner for the 
 prescribed term of years, both in the University of London and the 
 Royal College of Physicians. In April, 1856, Dr. Priestley was married 
 to Eliza, daughter of Robert Chambers, Esq., of the well-known firm of 
 W. and II. Chambers. Of his present position in the medical world, we 
 gather the following particulars from the Medical Directory for 1876 : 
 "Priestley, W.-O., 17, Hertford Street, Mayfair, London; M.D., Edin., 
 1853; F.R.C.P., Edin., 1858; F.R.C.P., London, 1864; M., 1850; 
 M.R.C.S., England, 1852 ; Fell. Roy. Med. Chir. Soes., London and 
 Ediu. ; Fell. Bot. Soc., Edin. ; Mem. Obst. Socs. Lond. and Edin. ; Late 
 Exam, in Midw. University, London ; Prof, of Midw., King's College 
 Hosp. ; formerly Vice-President, Paris Med. Soc., and author of 
 numerous papers on natural history and medicine." In addition to these 
 and many other honours, Dr. Priestley was in 1865 appointed Physician- 
 Accoucheur to the Princess of Hesse, and to the members of the 
 Orleans family resident in England.
 
 UISTOKY OF MOELEY. 121 
 
 " Send these forth, and tame the savage, 
 Sow his realms with British homes, 
 Where till now wild monsters ravage, 
 Or the wilder Bushman roams. TUPPEE. 
 
 JAMES SMITH. This eminent Baptist Missionary was born at Morley 
 on March 4th, 1817, and was the son of Joseph and Hannah Smith. 
 Of his early years and education we have no particulars, but in 1840 he 
 was in business as a tailor and draper in Vicar Lane, Leeds. In 1841, 
 his business not being prosperous, and himself somewhat reckless, he 
 enlisted into the East India Company's service, and speedily embarked 
 for Calcutta. During the outward voyage, he was the subject of deep 
 religious impressions, which increased after his arrival, and ultimately 
 led him to a decided avowal of the faith of the gospel. In 1842 he was 
 at the Fall of Cabool, under Major General Pollock, when this general 
 congratulated the soldiers on their admirable conduct, feeling convinced 
 that greater gallantry had never been exhibited by British troops. Soon 
 after this engagement, Mr. Smith was set at liberty, by the kindness of 
 unknown friends, who paid for his discharge from the army. He went 
 to Cawnpore, where, as he says, " I reached this place, without friends 
 and without property, but was shortly afterwards in full employment. 
 I am employed by the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in 
 Foreign Parts. I did not seek the situation, but was appointed by the 
 Society's Calcutta Committee without my knowledge. I act as catechist 
 under the Rev. W. H. Perkins, at a salary of 5 per month, with 
 house, etc. My duty is chiefly to read the Bible, and explain in the 
 Bazaar, and to superintend the Native Schools.'' 
 
 In accepting this appointment, Mr. Smith had expressly stated his 
 objections to some of the principles of the Church of England, and it was 
 stipulated that these objections should be respected. In consequence, 
 however, of persecution . at the hands of the clergy, he ultimately 
 tendered his resignation, which was not accepted, and he continued to 
 labour on until 1846, W 7 heu his views respecting baptism underwent a 
 change, and giving up his situation with the Propagation Society, he 
 was employed by the Baptist Missionary Society for six months, 
 pending a reference to the Committee in London. In entering upon the 
 duties of his new vocation, he found many difficulties to contend with, 
 and he had to exercise much self-denial, but he prosecuted his work 
 with cheerful and untiring spirit, in which he was greatly aided by his 
 excellent wife. By constant application to study, he became very highly 
 cultivated, an excellent linguist, and a man of extensive and general 
 reading. These, however, could not divert him from the object, which
 
 122 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 with his characteristic ardour of mind, he ever kept in view the office 
 of a minister amongst a heathen people, an office which he has sustained 
 for thirty years of his life, with an ability which has won for him the 
 esteem of the Baptist denomination. 
 
 On two occasions Mr. Smith has revisited his native town, preaching 
 and lecturing to delighted audiences. A tall commanding figure, a 
 manly and forcible utterance, a plain, simple style, peculiarly adapted to 
 sacred subjects, and a luminous, comprehensive view of eveiy topic and 
 argument, such as familiarly presents itself to a cultivated mind, combine 
 to render him an admired and eloquent preacher. 
 
 At the present time Mr. Smith is a power in Delhi, both in spiritual, 
 sanitary, and social affairs. The Queen's gardens, zoological and 
 botanical, are committed to his care, with their menagerie. He was 
 chosen to present the address of the citizens to the Duke of Edinburgh, 
 on the occasion of his visit to Delhi. Mr. Smith is also a Sanitary 
 Commissioner, and has many important public trusts under his control. 
 
 ' ' Hope, with her prizes and victories won, 
 Shines in the blaze of my morning sun, 
 Conquering hope, with golden ray, 
 Blessing my landscape far away." TUPPER. 
 
 WILLIAM WILLANS ASQTJITH. Eldest son of the late J. D. 
 Asquith, Esq., was born at Morley in 1851. Educated at Fulneck 
 School, Iluddersfield College, and City of London School. Gained an 
 Exhibition at Balliol College, Oxford, November, 1870, and -w&sproxime 
 accessit for the Stanhope Prize in the University, 1872. Obtained a 
 second-class in "Classical Moderations" in Michaelmas Term, 1872, and 
 a first-class in the Final Classical School in Trinity Term, 1875. 
 
 " Away with your counsels and hinder me not, 
 On, on let me press to my brilliant lot ! 
 Young and strong, and sanguine and free, 
 How knowest thou what I may be ?" TUPEER. 
 
 HERBERT HENRY ASQUITH. Was born at Morley in September, 
 1852, and is the second son of the late Joseph Dixon Asquith, Esq., 
 wool merchant, and grandson of the late William Willans, Esq., of 
 Iluddersfield. Mr. H. Asquith' s earlier education was received at the 
 Moravian School at Fulneck, at Huddersfield College, and finally and 
 chiefly at the City of London School. At the latter he took, besides the
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 123 
 
 Tite Scholarship, the Grocers' Company's Exhibition of 50 per annum 
 for four years, tenable at either of the leading Universities. In 1869 he 
 won the Balliol Scholarship in competition with several of the leading- 
 Grammar Schools, such as Cheltenham and Marlborough, the value 
 being 80 per annum, and tenable for five years. He entered College 
 at Oxford, in October, 1870 ; took first-class honours in "Mods" in 1872, 
 and the same year was proximo accessit for the Hertford Scholarship, 
 and for the Ireland Scholarship in 1872 and 1874. In the latter year 
 he gained a first-class in the Final Classical School, in Trinity Term. 
 Mr. Asquith also obtained the Craven Scholarship, in Trinity Term, 
 1874, at the same time being President of the Oxford Union Society. 
 He was also elected a Fellow of Balliol College, in Michaelmas Term, 
 1874. 
 
 ' ' Man is his own star, and the soul that can 
 Render an honest and a perfect man 
 Commands all light, all influence, all fate. 
 Nothing to him falls early, or too late." JOHN FLETCHER. 
 
 II. E. HlRST, M.A., B.C.L. Is the son of a surgeon at Morley, and 
 belongs to a family who have, for many generations, taken an active part 
 in every movement calculated to advance the prosperity of the town. 
 The subject of our sketch was born January 13th, 1849, at Oxford 
 Place, Leeds, and when a few years old removed to Morley, where his 
 fathe'r had commenced a medical practice. When thirteen years old he 
 began his education in the Grammar School at Leeds; in 1867 he became 
 captain of the school, and after having passed first for the Hastings' 
 Exhibition at Queen's College, Oxford, as well as for the School 
 Exhibition, Master Hirst began his studies at the University. In June, 
 1871, he took his B.A. degree with a double second-class in history, 
 philosophy, logic, and the classics. In October of the same year, his 
 studies embraced chemistry, comparative anatomy, and the' physical 
 sciences, with a view to medical practice, but finding, whilst thus 
 engaged, that the medical profession ill-accorded with his tastes, he 
 determined to commence the study of the law. In November, 1873, he 
 began to attend lectures at the Inns of Court, and in the following June 
 he passed the necessary examinations for the B.C.L. degree, and took 
 that honour, with his Master's M.A. in the course of the same month. 
 In November, 1874, Mr. Hirst was called to the bar at Lincoln's Inn, 
 and during the Spring Circuit of 1875 was elected a member of the 
 Northern Circuit.
 
 ECCLESIASTICAL HISTORY. 
 
 ' The humble-hearted and the meek and pure 
 
 Had, by the holy worship of long years, 
 
 Made thee a hallowed place ; and many tears, 
 Shed in repentance deep, had blessed thy floor. 
 The distant sound of thy sweet Sabbath bell 
 
 O'er meadows green no more shall conie to me, 
 
 Sitting beneath the shady woodland tree- 
 Church of my native village ! fare-thee-well 1" ROBERT XIOOLL. 
 
 "Build not, good squire, worthy parishioners, a new church, high or low! repair the old with 
 loving care and reverent anxiety : there is a charm, there is a value inexpressibly precious in 
 ancientness and continuity of remembrance. The world is poorer and smaller by the loss of any 
 old thing visibly connecting us, poor fleeting mortals, with the sacred bygone years ; leaving a 
 door open, unto the land of the Past. It is deeper than a question of taste, this of blotting out 
 traces of the great Past from our visible world, blotting them out for ever, with all their softened 
 beauty, and mystery and tender sadness. The worst thing is to erase the venerable relic from the 
 earth. The next worse thing, is to restore it. Keep, Old England, thy old churches, and old 
 manor-houses too, and town-halls and ivied walls, and shady winding roads ; these things, believe 
 it, tend to nourish all that is wholesome and beautiful in conservatism, and to foster a love of the 
 country of our ancestors, which is also our own, and will, we hope, be our children's." 
 
 PATRICIUS WALKER. 
 
 |N entering upon the Ecclesiastical history of Morley, the Old 
 Chapel of St. Harys-in-the-Wood first claims our notice, and 
 amongst other and more reliable material from which we hope 
 to derive valuable information as to its antiquity and history, the 
 researches of Scatcherd will assist us greatly, for, as with " a labour of 
 love," he jealously preserved the memorials associated with the place, 
 as became a true antiquary. Nevertheless, while acknowledging at the 
 outset our indebtedness, it will be our duty to point out many glaring- 
 inaccuracies in the writings of this painstaking and laborious historian. 
 His zeal on behalf of "Oliver" and the times of the Commonwealth ; 
 his wish to glorify the age in which some of his ancestors distinguished 
 themselves ; and his evident desire to make certain matters connected 
 with the Old Chapel coincide with the opinions of antiquarians like 
 himself, led him, in several instances, into surmises and speculations, 
 which he gives as facts, but which are clearly untenable. In his anxiety
 
 HISTORY OF HOKLEY. 125 
 
 to "furnish a book," as he says, "for bookish people," he neglected to 
 take the necessary precautions to verify statements, which even 
 unlearned writers have no difficulty in proving to be incorrect. 
 
 Starting then with the origin of the Old Chapel, or its predecessors, 
 we have to admit that an impenetrable obscurity surrounds its early 
 history. We have no means of verifying Scatcherd's assertion, that a 
 place of worship existed on this site, from the era of the Saxon 
 Heptarchy (A.D. 455-827), and as he does not stay to give- us his 
 authority for the statement, we are disposed, in the absence of 
 documentary evidence, to leave the two centuries, between the Saxon 
 Heptarchy and the times of Edward the Confessor (A.D. 1042-66), and 
 commence our investigations at the time when there is positive proof of 
 the existence of a church or chapel at Morley. 
 
 In Doomsday Book (A.D. 1066-86) it is written: 
 
 " There Is a church at Morley a native wood, one mile long and one broad in 
 the time of King Edward, valued at forty shillings.'' 
 
 Another passage in the same book is thus rendered : 
 
 "According to the verdict of the men of Morlege (Morley) Wapentake, con- 
 cerning the Church of St. Mary, which is in Morley Wood, the King has a 
 moiety of the three Festivals of St. Mary's, which belong to Wakefield. Ilbert 
 and the Priests who serve the Chxirch have all the rest. " 
 
 Eight centuries have passed away since these facts were recorded, 
 and now that sacrilegious hands have laid hold of the Old Chapel and 
 levelled it to the ground, in the month of September one thousand 
 eight hundred and seventy-five, we cannot part with the only link 
 which connected the Morley of to-day with the Morley of the eleventh 
 century, without a pang of regret, the more especially, when we think 
 upon the eventful records of the venerable edifice, stretching over a 
 space of time that comprehends the most important facts which belong 
 to English history, and includes those changes in the condition of our 
 ancestors, which reach from a state of social barbarism to that of 
 personal freedom and comparative refinement. In looking- upon the 
 ancient edifice, more particularly, before the so-called "restoration" of 
 1865, there was ample scope for the rich and comprehensive faculty of 
 mental reflection to be brought into full exercise. Tracing its chequered 
 history, as we have often done, from the time when the feodal baron 
 and the Romish priests said their prayers within its walls ; when its 
 wealth was considerable, as proved by its alms, offerings, and oblations ; 
 down through the ages, when it has been alternately in the hands 
 of Roman Catholics, Protestants, .Presbyterians, and Independents, we
 
 126 
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 cannot but feel pained at the separation which the destruction of the 
 edifice has brought about. We know that money-grubbing, avaricious, 
 and worldly-minded men will sneer at what they may be pleased to call 
 a superstitious clinging to antiquity, but we are free to admit that we 
 cannot readily shake off our reverence for that which our fathers have 
 reverenced so long, even though the causes, in which that reverence 
 originated, are not so obvious or not very satisfactory to superficial 
 observers. 
 
 From Doomsday Book, we know that the Old Chapel, or a place of 
 worship upon the site of the late chapel, has existed from the times of 
 our Saxon ancestors, but we are left to conjecture at what period of the 
 Saxon era it had its rise. The Old Chapel of recent times does not help 
 
 Church of the Anglo-Saxon Perioi. 
 
 us to solve this difficulty, for most assuredly no portion of that edifice 
 could be assigned to so early a date. This building was not the original 
 one, but was evidently the production of at least three different periods, 
 none of them dating back further than the beginning of the 13th 
 century. 
 
 Before proceeding to trace the history of the Old Chapel, we shall 
 adduce one or two testimonies as to the antiquity of the Church of 
 St. Mary. Whitaker, in his celebrated work, " Loidis and Elmete," 
 thus speaks of it : " Morley, which denominates the Hundred, had at 
 the time of the Doomsday survey a parish Church to the dependent 
 state of a chapel to Batley, it was reduced by Kobert de Lacy, founder
 
 HISTOEY OP MORLEY. 127 
 
 of the latter church, and so it seems to have continued till the great 
 rebellion, when it underwent a second degradation, being then leased 
 out by Savile, Earl of Sussex, to certain Presbyterian trustees for the 
 term of five hundred years; in consequence of which, it remains, 
 perhaps, the only instance throughout England and Wales of an ancient 
 established place of worship which was not restored to the established 
 church at the Reformation." 
 
 Dr. Whitaker further says, speaking of the church at Wakefield : 
 " I am persuaded that though the church at Wakefield was in existence 
 in the Conqueror's reign, it was not one of the original Saxon churches, 
 of which, in the hundred of Morley, there were only two; namely, 
 Morley, itself the hundred church, and Dewsbury," and the Doctor goes 
 on to show that Wakefield Church was taken out of the original parish 
 of Morley. It is curious and interesting to read the Doctor's theories, 
 for we see in them how, in the absence of facts, a plausible statement 
 may be elaborated, which shall mislead the reader even as much as it 
 has misled the author who concocted it. No part of Dr. Whitaker' s 
 book is more purely theoretical than his attempt to connect the Old 
 Chapel of Morley with the church mentioned in Doomsday as being- 
 there. 
 
 Whilst we admit the existence of the Saxon Church in 1080, we must 
 bear in mind that shortly after the Conquest the Church of " St. Mary's- 
 in-the-Wood " was made a dependent chapel to Batley, by Robert de 
 Lacy. This must have been previous to the year 1120, for in that year 
 this Robert de Lacy founded the Priory of Nostel, to which he gave the 
 Church of Batley. From this fact, together with the omission of all 
 mention of the Church of Morley, we may reasonably conclude that 
 Morley Church had sunk into the condition of a dependent chapel, and 
 was then conveyed as such to Nostel, by the gift of the then parent 
 Church of Batley. After this time we believe that the chapel at Morley 
 declined, and probably soon fell into decay, for there remains a notice 
 which goes very far indeed to prove that no such building existed here, 
 even when Henry III. ascended the throne in 1216. Some parts of the 
 manor of Morley had been given to the Priory of St. Oswald at Nostel. 
 Burton's Monasticon tells us, that Ralph de Insula and William his son 
 or brother gave twelve oxgangs of land, and that Robert, son of Herbert 
 de Beeston, gave twelve acres more to the same Priory. Ralph de 
 Insula or De Lisle was a member of the family of Rougemont ; and the 
 Beestons were lords of the manor of Beeston, near Leeds. Both families 
 were magnates in the Norman period, and both were immense possessors 
 of land in Morley for a considerable space of time.
 
 128 HISTOET OF MORLEY. 
 
 There is au account of Morley in the Had. MS. 797, which shows the 
 connection of these families therewith, and those notices we shall now 
 use. In the 4th John, 1202, a case was investigated between Adam 
 de Beeston, demandant, and Elias de Morley, tenant, concerning one 
 carrucate of land in Morley, and the right of inheritance was settled upon 
 the aforesaid Adam. These Morley s appear to have been of some 
 importance, and by them was another link added to the chain which 
 connected Morley with the Priory of Nostel. The Coucher Book of 
 Nostel informs us that Elias, son of Adam de Morlai, gave to God and 
 to the Church of St. Trinity of York, and to the Church of Holbeck, one 
 oxgang of land in the Town of Morley. Stephen, Prior of St. Trinity 
 of York, conveyed by charter to the monks of Nostel the same oxgang 
 of land which Elias de Morley had given to his house. When the 
 house of De Morley became extinct does not appear, but they seem to 
 have been succeeded by the Beestons, who were also benefactors to 
 Kirkstall Abbey. The Coucher Book of that house tells us that Hugh 
 de Beeston gave ten acres of land in Morley to the monks at Kirkstall. 
 In the llth Henry III., 1226, the King confirms to the Church at 
 St. Oswald at Nostel the gift of Robert, the son of Robert de Beeston, 
 of twelve acres of land in Morley. And they have bequeathed land in 
 Morley to other institutions. In the charter of confirmation to the house 
 of St. Nicholas of Pontefract, it is stated that Robert, the son of Herbert 
 de Beeston, gave twelve acres of land in Morley. The Priory of Nostel 
 also acquired lands in Morley from the family of De Lisle, between 
 whom and the Beestons, the entire township seems to have been divided. 
 In 1226 their connection with Morley seems to have ceased, by the 
 marriage of Euphemia De Lisle with Nicholas de Rotherfield, whose 
 heirs henceforth seem to have taken the prominence their maternal 
 ancestor had previously possessed. In that year a suit arose between 
 Nicholas de Rotherfield and Euphemia his wife, plaintiffs, and Manna- 
 duke Davil and Helewisa his wife, tenants, and heirs of William de 
 Insula, respecting land in Morley. It is to this Nicholas and his wife 
 Euphemia that we would draw attention, for it is at their instance that 
 the Chapel of Morley was founded. 
 
 In folio 85 of the Nostel Coucher we find a notice respecting the 
 CHAPEL OF ST. NICHOLAS of Morley, wherein we are told, that John 
 the Prior and Convent of St. Oswald, of Nostel, grant to Nicholas de 
 Rotherfield and Euphemia his wife, and to their heirs, a license that they 
 may have for ever a Chaplain in the Chapel of St. Nicholas of Morley, 
 celebrating every day divine offices at their salary, and the aforesaid 
 Nicholas and Euphemia for this grant have given unto us one oxgang of
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 129 
 
 Arms of Nostel Priory. 
 
 land in Morley. This then is beyond all doubt the origin of the Old 
 Chapel of Morley, whose chancel is said to be " apparently, of higher 
 antiquity than even Edward II.'s reign." 
 
 There is, however, something conflicting in the further account (on 
 folio 88 of the Coucher Book) that Prior Robert of Nostel granted to 
 Euphemia, sometime the wife of Nicholas de 
 Rotherfield, a chapel in her court of Morley, in 
 which she may hear divine service only for her 
 life, saving in all things the indemnity of the 
 mother church of Batelai. Long after this period 
 the Eotherfields continued to live in Morley as its 
 lords. In the 26th Edward I., 1297, a case was 
 tried before John de Metingham and his associates, 
 Justices of the Lord the King, respecting the 
 seizure of land in Morley belonging or reported to 
 belong to the Prior of Nostel. William de 
 Beeston, Hugh his brother, Peter de Rotherfield and others were said to 
 have unjustly disseised the Prior of Oswald of the Common of Pasture 
 which belonged to his free tenement in the same town ; and the jurors 
 said upon oath that the aforesaid Prior caused his cattle to roam from 
 his manor of Rowwell to his aforesaid messuage in Morley, for the 
 dunging his land and for the feeding of those cattle in the aforesaid 
 common as he was wont to do. The suit terminated in favour of the 
 Prior, w T ho was ordered to recover his seizin. 
 
 Another evidence of the antiquity of this place of worship is to be 
 found in the pedestal of what has undoubtedly been a Saxon cross or 
 dial. Scatcherd tells us that the old people of his day assured him that 
 it was formerly a sun dial ; but he did not accept their opinion, and 
 endeavours, in ten pages of his History, to prove by analogy and in 
 other ways that an ancient church-yard cross once appeared upon the 
 base of this column. Both these conjectures may be right, as many 
 instances are on record of these Saxon crosses being used as dials. We 
 are, however, of opinion that the pedestal, still standing on the south 
 side of the site of the Chapel, was simply the bearer of a modest 
 church-yard cross. History tells us that the cross originally marked 
 out the hallowed spots where Christianity was first preached to our 
 forefathers, and near to which the church was usually erected. From 
 the like source we learn that these crosses were, in many cases, removed 
 from our church-yards at the time of the Reformation, or were after- 
 wards destroyed or defaced by the Puritans, in their great zeal for 
 destroying everything good or bad which, as they thought, at all
 
 130 HISTORY OP MOELEY. 
 
 savoured of Romauism. Stone, iu his " God's Acre," informs us that, 
 " One especial symbol of the consecration of a church-yard, was the 
 erection of a cross, to remind us of the benefits vouchsafed to us by the 
 cross of Christ. No church-yard was formerly seen without it, mostly 
 placed in the centre of the area." At the present day, in Cornwall, 
 almost every church-yard has one at least, on the south side, and usually 
 raised on a mound or step, similar to that in the Morley grave-yard. 
 
 "For oft the cross near some lone chapel stood, 
 Beside the fount, or in the public way, 
 That whoso list might there kneel down and pray, 
 To Him, once crucified." 
 
 Having spoken of the origin, as we believe, of the Old Chapel, we will 
 proceed to a description of its appearance previous to the restoration (?) 
 of 1865. The chapel had then a bell-turret at the west end, surmounted 
 by a w r eathercock and the points of the compass. The west window 
 consisted of six long lights, square headed, with clock above. The 
 entrance to the chapel was at the south-west corner, above which was a 
 clerestory window, in roof, of four lights, and another similar window 
 towards the east end. On the south side were two windows of five 
 lights each, and one to the east of three lights. In the chancel, which 
 was smaller and lower than the main body of the chapel, there was a 
 small door on the south side, with a small window of three lights on the 
 west side, and one of one light to the east of it. The east window was 
 of five lights. The gallery at the west end was erected, and a small 
 organ introduced, in 1798, also walls whitewashed, rough posterns cased 
 in deal, painted, grained, and varnished. The chancel, or east end, was 
 the oldest part, and was built in the early part of the thirteenth century, 
 but some portion of that erection, it is supposed, was destroyed by fire 
 about the year A.D. 1322, when the village and the church were set fire 
 to by the ravaging Scots. This is proved beyond a doubt by the 
 discovery, during the pulling down of the chapel, of a considerable 
 number of stones, which have evidently been at some time exposed to a 
 severe heat. Carved stones of the zig-zag pattern, no doubt forming 
 the arches of some portion of a former chapel, were found to have been 
 used in the foundations for the walls of the Old Chapel. These stones 
 are now in our possession. The materials of the chancel were nothing 
 more than cobble stones, which had never been coursed or even tooled 
 with the pick-axe; the rafters of the roof were placed on corbels or 
 projections of stone; and within the building there was a projecting 
 stone in the form of a heart, evidently a remnant of Catholicism, and 
 intended to hold a crucifix.
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 131 
 
 Of the chancel, Scatcherd says : " It may be conjectured, with some 
 probability, to have been part of a church, erected upon the site of the 
 original church of St. Mary's, by one of the De Lacys, about the 
 beginning of the twelfth century ; and judging of them from what our 
 old historians relate, I should, certainly, give the honour of it to Robert, 
 the son of Ilbert ; for he it was who reduced the church at Morley to a 
 chapelry, dependent on Batley, in the reign of Henry I." Scatcherd's 
 conjecture as to the chancel forming part of a church or chapel erected 
 on the site of the original church of St. Mary's, is doubtless correct ; but 
 we have shewn that its erection does not date back to " the beginning 
 of the twelfth century," nor yet that the honoui of the erection is due 
 to one of the De Lacys. 
 
 The nave, or body of the chapel, was preserved to us until 1875, and 
 though it lacked the age of that portion of which we have just been 
 writing, there are interesting associations connected with it. The removal 
 of the plaster in 1865 revealed to view many carved stones of the zigzag 
 pattern, set in courses, and mostly in the south wall, probably a portion 
 of the chapel of St. Nicholas. As nearly as can be ascertained, the nave 
 was erected about the year 1560, and from its peculiar construction, its 
 similarity to the tithe-barn at Birstal, and from the traditions respecting 
 it, there is reason to believe that it was formerly the tithe-barn of the 
 lord of the manor. When the tithes began to be compounded for, it 
 became useless for this purpose, and as far as our information will enable 
 us to judge, it was converted into a place of worship, about the time of 
 James or Charles I. 
 
 Scatcherd endeavours to shew that considerable additions and, indeed, 
 its greatest improvements were made soon after the times of the 
 Commonwealth. In proof of this, he says that, " about 1825, on removing 
 the whitewash from the walls of the nave, a discovery of several 
 ancient scrolls was made ; whose inscriptions indicate with considerable 
 certainty the time when they were written." However plausible this 
 theory may be, it was not correct, so far as they inscriptions are 
 concerned, unless, indeed, these were but copies of some which had been 
 in another part of the edifice. On pulling down the chapel in 1875, it 
 was proved, beyond doubt, that the walls on which these texts were 
 found were not built previous to the year 1710, or fifty years later than 
 the period assigned to them by Scatcherd. This was ascertained by the 
 fact that on the north side of the chapel, and within it, were a number 
 of flagstones, evidently put over graves, that were enclosed when the 
 enlargement of the chapel, by the addition of two side aisles, took place. 
 Four of these slabs had upon them brass plates, with inscriptions dating
 
 132 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 from 1691 to 1704. In addition to this testimony, an examination of 
 the wood-work of the roof clearly shewed that it was of comparatively 
 recent erection, and certainly was not older than the date to which we 
 have assigned it. With respect to the inscriptions or scrolls, as they 
 were reproduced in 1865, we believe that the scrolls mentioned by 
 Scatcherd were reproductions of others that were, as he says, put up 
 soon after the times of the Commonwealth. At that time it was common 
 to affix upon walls, passages from scripture calculated to keep up a 
 feeling of loyalty, and to inculcate a spirit of submission to the restored 
 dynasty. Stowe, in his Chronicles, thus explains the origin of this 
 custom : " The practice of pulling down images and crucifixes began in 
 the reign of Edward VI., and as these symptoms of a defunct religion 
 disappeared, the walls of the churches became decorated with inscriptions, 
 consisting of appropriate passages of scripture." Scatcherd gives it as 
 his opinion that the inscriptions in the Old Chapel were levelled at 
 Major Greathead, Captain Gates, and all those who had been privy to 
 the Farnley Wood Plot in 1663, and also as a rebuke to the Republicans 
 throughout the land. That this was so is highly probable, for in close 
 proximity to the following inscription, " My Son, fear thou the Lord and 
 the King, and meddle not with them that are given to change," was the 
 Royal coat of arms, with the letters "C.R." on each side of the crown, 
 and also above the lion's head, and the date 1664 underneath the whole. 
 It was customary, previous to the times of the Commonwealth, to have 
 the arms of the Sovereign in all churches, but in the year 1650 (during 
 the Protectorate) the Parliament caused the King's arms to be defaced, 
 and cast out of all places of public worship and courts of judicature 
 throughout the land, " to make the giddy people forget the garlick and 
 onions of Egypt they much hankered after." After the Restoration the 
 Royal arms were required to be put up again in the churches, and this 
 will account for the spirited symbol of royalty which is still preserved 
 to us. That every church was not so eager to replace the dethroned 
 emblem, we find, from the history of the Church in Masham, that it was 
 not until 1683 that the churchwardens of that place paid "Phillip 
 Waller for drawiuge y e King's arms in oyle 1," and a further sum was 
 also paid at the same time for the covering the walls of the church 
 with texts of scripture, painted in black letters, and surmounted by 
 ornamental scroll-work to form panels. This description exactly 
 corresponds with the appearance of the Old Chapel, and leads us to 
 the same conclusion as Scatcherd, viz., " that both the anus and the 
 inscriptions were put up, in the Old Chapel, in 1664, as a rebuke and 
 reprimand to the leaders and abettors of the Farnley Wood Plot."
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 133 
 
 As the inscriptions are now gone for ever, we subjoin a list of those 
 good and instructive texts that once adorned the walls of this venerable 
 edifice. In addition to the text already referred to, there was over a 
 small window on the north-east side of the chapel the inscription : 
 " Blessed are the peace-makers, for they shall be called the children of 
 God." On the north wall were the admonitions, contained in the 
 following texts : " Remember now thy Creator in the days of thy 
 youth, while the evil days come not, nor the years draw nigh when 
 thou shalt say, I have no pleasure in them," and " He hath shewed 
 thee, man, what is good, and what doth the Lord require of thee but 
 to do justice, to love mercy, and walk humbly with thy God." On the 
 south wall was the inscription, " Lord I have loved the habitation of 
 thy house and the place where thine honour dwelleth." Near to this 
 was once the Lord's Prayer, and on the other side of the King's arms it 
 was discovered that there had formerly been the Apostle's creed, and 
 over the whole there had been once the Commandments. 
 
 Outside the chapel, at the west end, was an ancient clock and bell 
 turret. When the ancient clock was put in we cannot say, but its 
 ponderous and antiquated mechanism proved it to be of a very early 
 date. The bell on which the hour was struck is dated 1694, and the 
 motto, " Soli Deo Gloria" (To the sole glory of God) shows that from 
 its erection it was dedicated to the service of the sanctuary. Of the 
 source from whence it came, we have no authentic record; tradition 
 says it once served an useful purpose at Kirkstall Abbey, from whence 
 it was transferred to Morley ; but wherever it came from, it is evidently 
 of no mean origin, for it contains a large proportion of silver. 
 
 In 1865 a series of most barbarous alterations were carried into effect, 
 culminating in the destruction of the chancel the portion which had 
 been in existence for more than six hundred years, and whose history 
 had in it as many vicissitudes as that of the English nation. In a short 
 time the old walls were razed to the ground, the old woodwork was 
 scattered, in the shape of manufactured relics, throughout the village, 
 the inscriptions were obliterated ; the old clock and dial found a resting- 
 place amongst the lumber in a timber-yard, and the whole place soon 
 became one scene of disorder and desecration. 
 
 In the local papers of that day we ventured to raise our protest 
 against the so-called " restoration," but we were met with the plea of 
 expediency, and the desire to increase the minister's stipend, as the 
 reasons for the wholesale destruction of the sacred edifice. But no 
 regard was paid to the plea which we endeavoured to put in for the 
 conservation of the old village church, where generation after generation
 
 134 
 
 H1STOEY OF MOKLEY. 
 
 of the villagers had knelt in pious adoration of the Most High, on each 
 returning Sabbath, and whose ashes reposed in silence beneath the 
 shadow of the primitive temple, in some part of which holy place the 
 priests in ages gone by had chanted their songs of praise and thanks- 
 giving "morning, noonday, and evening" to their God. We did not 
 wish to see disturbed, 
 
 " The old gray church that crown'd the long green hill, 
 The old church-yard's innumerable graves, 
 O'er which the long dark grass luxuriant waves, 
 The tomb-stones rude, in uncouth types that show 
 The name and years of those who sleep below, 
 The homely rhymes by which fond love is fain 
 Those names to rescue from oblivion's reign. " C. P. GIBSON. 
 
 To our mind there is something very suggestive and solemn about an 
 old weather-beaten place of worship, and our reverential feelings are 
 
 Old Chapel, 1870. 
 
 roused within us as we tread the aisle of the ancient building, and such 
 feelings were shared by many of our townspeople, with regard to the 
 Old Chapel, the grandsire of other places of worship edifices, which for 
 centuries had afforded accommodation to the whole God-fearing population 
 of this now large town. In 1872 the place was said to be unsafe, and 
 was closed for public worship, and last year the edifice was razed to the 
 ground, and a new " Congregational Church " is now being erected on 
 the site of the church of " St. Mary's-in-the-Wood," the " Church of
 
 LOCKWOOD & MAWSON. ARCHT, BRADFORD
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 135 
 
 St. Nicholas," or the "Old Chapel" as it has been called at various 
 periods. The following is a description of the building, which is to be 
 erected on the site, from designs prepared by Messrs. Lockwood and 
 Mawson, architects, of Bradford : 
 
 The church will be 100 feet long, by 45 feet wide, consisting of nave, 
 side aisles, and transept, and will accommodate about 850 persons. The 
 walls are to be built of wall-stones with ashlar dressings. The grouping 
 of the edifice is pleasing. At the west end a nicely-proportioned tower 
 and spire will rise to a height of 140 feet. A chamber is to be provided 
 for a peal of bells, and above this, at a height of 70 feet from the 
 ground, a place is set apart for a clock, with four dials, which from the 
 eligibility and loftiness of the site will, when put up, be seen for a 
 considerable distance. Entrances are provided in the principal front 
 leading into a vestibule ; staircases communicating with the galleries. 
 The nave will be rather wider than is usually seen, by which increased 
 height and a better appearance will be obtained. The centre bays of 
 the nave will be higher than the other arches, and the windows on each 
 side so disposed as to shed a flood of light into the church. A circular 
 window will be placed in one gable, and in the other a four-light 
 traceried window will surmount the principal entrance. The staircase 
 opposite the tower will be covered with an octagonal roof, and combined 
 with the principal gables and those of the transepts and central bays, 
 will produce a picturesque and harmonious effect. The roof is to be 
 open timbered. The organ recess is behind the pulpit on the ground 
 floor. It is proposed to form a terrace in front of the church. The 
 total cost of the new building will exceed 7,000, towards which 4,000 
 has already been obtained, and as the congregation connected with the 
 place " have done what they could," they are looking earnestly for aid 
 and assistance from the wealthy Nonconformists of Yorkshire, that they 
 may be enabled to erect and pay for a place of worship, which shall be 
 worthy of the traditions and associations connected with the ancient 
 site, whereon for centuries the gospel has been faithfully preached. The 
 contractors for the various works are : Mason and joiner, Messrs. Jas. 
 Clegg and Son, of Morley ; plumber, Mr. George Wilson, of Leeds ; 
 plasterer, Mr. James Duckworth, of Leeds ; slaters, Messrs. Hill and 
 Nelson, of Batley ; painter, Mr. Edward Ilarland, of Leeds. The 
 foundation stone was laid on Tuesday, Jan. 18th, 1876, by Alderman 
 James Law, J.P., of Bradford, and a corner stone by Miss Webster, of 
 Roundhay. The following ministers also took part in the ceremony : 
 Revs. J. R. Campbell, D.D., E. R. Conder, M.A., F. Barnes, B.x\., 
 J. Atkinson, and J. James, F.S.A.S., of Morley.
 
 136 HISTORY OF MOBLEY. 
 
 Leaving the history of the structure, we will proceed to speak of the 
 various religious and legal changes connected with the Old Chapel. 
 Previous to the early part of the 16th century, Koman Catholicism was 
 the established religion of this country, and remained so till 1534, when 
 the Papal power was abrogated. 
 
 In the reign of Elizabeth, the Puritans made an attempt to introduce 
 a purer form of worship than that countenanced by the Anglican 
 Bishops, and some of them began to contend also 
 for a form of church government to be framed on 
 the Apostolic model. When the services of the 
 Komish church at the Old Chapel were exchanged 
 for the Puritan form of worship, we cannot 
 determine, but the first minister of whom there is 
 any record was the Kev. Samuel Wales. After the 
 times of Mr. Wales, a Presbyterian ministry 
 occupied the pulpit, and during this period the 
 congregation increased rapidly, and the influence 
 of its pastors and chief members obtained such 
 countenance that Thomas Viscount Savile, Earl of Sussex, then living at 
 Howley Hall, was pleased to grant a lease of the chapel and premises 
 to the following trustees of the Presbyterian denomination: Edward 
 Birtbie, of Scolecroft, Thomas Otes, John Rayner, Win. Ward, John 
 Crowther, Thomas Greatheed, of Morley, John Smith, William Bancke, 
 Jos. Greatheed, of Gildersoine, Robte Pauldau and William Burnell, of 
 Churwell, in the County of York. 
 
 Several of these trustees were famous in their day and generation, 
 and left themselves a name and a place in the page of history. In the 
 year 1663, a short twelvemonth after the ejectment, or passing of the 
 Act of Uniformity, there arose a disaffection amongst the people in the 
 West Riding, which culminated in the " Farnley AVood Plot." That the 
 Nonconformists had something to do with this rising we are prepared to 
 grant, as there is clear evidence that many of the principal Dissenters 
 and their pastors hereabouts were privy to it, if not actually present on 
 the occasion. That the latter are to be very much blamed we can 
 scarcely admit, seeing that the then recent events of 1662 were not of a 
 very tranquillizing character, but on the contrary, were calculated to 
 produce a feeling of hasty zeal in earnest and excitable natures. 
 
 The facts connected with this plot, as far as they are known, are 
 these : The object was to reinstate the ejected pastors, to restore the 
 rebel Parliament, and to remit the taxes, etc. Government were made 
 aware of the movement by some who were in the secret, and steps were
 
 HISTORY OF MOBLEY. 137 
 
 taken to entrap and secure the offenders. The actual date when the 
 meeting took place in Farnley Wood seems to be a disputed point, as 
 Miall in his " Congregationalism in Yorkshire," gives the 10th of Oct., 
 1663, while Scatcherd, as we think correctly, states that the meeting 
 took place a little before midnight on the 12th of that month. This 
 latter opinion is borne out by a letter which was sent on the 13th of 
 October, 1663, from Edward Copley to Sir George Savile, of which the 
 following is a copy : 
 
 "1663. Oct. 13. Fear surprise, as many passed through Leeds on horseback 
 last night, and 40 more from Holbeck, Hunslet, etc. 300 are in Farnley Wood, 
 three miles from Leeds. They intend to take Skipton Castle. Captain Oates of 
 Morley is thought to be with them. They are very numerous. There are 300 or 
 400 in Halifax and some going to Chester. They would have fallen on Sir Pdchard 
 Tanckard had he stayed. " 
 
 Scatcherd, copying the MSS. of an ancestor of his, says : 
 
 "On the 12th of October, 1663, a little before midnight, the following con- 
 spirators did actually meet at a place called 'the Trench,' in Farnley Wood, viz. : 
 Captain Thomas Gates, Ralph Gates his son Joshua Cardmaker, alias Asquith, 
 alia* Sparling, Luke Lund, John Ellis, William Westerman, John Fossard 
 (servant of Abraham Dawson, who lent him a horse), and William Tolson, all of 
 Morley. Jno. Nettleton and John Xettleton, jun., both of Dunningley. Joseph 
 Crowther, Timothy Crowther, William Dickinson, Thomas Westerman, and 
 Edward Webster, all of Gildersome. Robert Oldred, of Dewsbury, and Richard 
 Gldred, commonley called 'the Devil,' of Dewsbury. Israel Rhodes, of Wood- 
 kirk. John Lacock, of Bradford. Robert Scott, of Alverthorpe, and John 
 Holdsworth, of Churwell. Being all surprised at the smallness of their number, 
 they made but a short stay, and perceiving no more coming, Captain Gates desired 
 them to return home, or shift themselves as they could. " 
 
 This account, however, as well as the version given by Miall, who 
 says that "the number assembled amounted in all to about twenty 
 persons," must be incorrect, as proved by Copley's letter. It is evident 
 that these writers can only refer to the leaders of the plot, of whom 
 twenty-one were executed, whilst the bulk of those who were present 
 made their escape. As our intention is not to give a detailed histoiy of 
 the origin, progress, and failure of the rising, all of which can be 
 learnt from English histoiy, we shall proceed to write of the Morley 
 conspirators who took part in that memorable plot. 
 
 Captain Thomas Oates, one of the Old Chapel trustees, and the leader 
 of the insurrection, is thus described by Scatcherd : " Captain Oates, 
 being an old Republican officer, had, doubtless, distinguished himself on 
 the same fields with Major Greatheed, Captains Hodgson and Pickering, 
 and many others who lived in this vicinity. At the call of his country
 
 138 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 he first took up arms, and he probably laid them down when the army 
 under Lambert was disbanded. Be that as it may, he had, after the 
 Kestoration, embraced a profession which, generally speaking, is far 
 "more honourable to a man, more beneficial to his country, and more 
 compatible with the Christian character, than is that of a soldier. He 
 was the village schoolmaster, and he taught his scholars in what had 
 been a part of the church of St. Mary, but is now (1830) the chancel 
 end of the chapel. From aged people I have heard that, upon his boys 
 giving warning of the approach of military, he fled and was seen no 
 more at Moiiey ; which is not improbable, as the chapel yard commands 
 a distant view of the road from Leeds, and as, it is certain, he was 
 taken and executed." Captain Gates lived in the Manor House, at 
 present occupied by its owner, Dr. Ellis. 
 
 John Ellis, some of whose descendants are still living, also had been 
 a soldier and trumpeter in the army of the Parliament. Having acquired 
 some property, he lived upon it, at or where Tingley House now stands. 
 This property was seized by the Crown, and Ellis was hung, drawn, and 
 quartered. 
 
 John Fozzard also had been a cavalry soldier under Fairfax, and was, 
 at the time of the plot, " the servant of Abraham Dawson, who lent him 
 a horse." There is no doubt that Fozzard was induced to join the party 
 of conspirators at the instigation of his master, and to his honour it is 
 recorded, that "he might have saved his own life by the sacrifice of 
 his master's, but he disdained the thought; and in gratitude for his 
 constancy, his widow and children were almost wholly supported by the 
 Dawsons. 
 
 Joseph Crowther, commonly called " Corporal Crowther," from his 
 holding that position in the Parliamentary army, occupied a house on 
 Banks' Hill, to which the " agitators " often resorted. The house is 
 still standing, and is a fair specimen of the domestic architecture of the 
 seventeenth century. We insert a view of this house from a sketch by 
 E. E. Deane, Esq., architect, of Healey and London. 
 
 William Dickinson, after lying long concealed with Atkinson, in coal 
 pits near Gildersome, came one night late to his own house, and rapping 
 at a window, asked for some shoes and stockings, which having 
 received, he and Atkinson travelled to London, and subsequently made 
 their escape to Holland. 
 
 Joshua Asquith, alias Cardmaker, alias Sparling, descendants of 
 whom are still living, also escaped with his life. It is very probable 
 the alias "Cardmaker" was given to him or his ancestors from their 
 following the business of making cards, used in the cloth manufacture.
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 139 
 
 Asquith seems to have turned informer, for we find that a letter was 
 sent by Sir Thomas Wentworth to the Duke of Buckingham, to the 
 following effect : 
 
 " Mr. Boulton's evidence of a rising is confirmed by Askwith and William 
 Tolson (another of the Morley conspirators) who were asked to get horses and join 
 a meeting at Morley. After the meeting at Faniley 100 horses marched forward 
 to Bradford Moor and the rest dispersed ; they only waiting the disarming of the 
 other side to act their part. Oct. 16, 1663." 
 
 An interesting notice of the part Asquith took in this plot is to be found 
 in the " Depositions at York," published by the Surtees Society. It is 
 to this effect : 
 
 "Oct. 28th, 1663. William Hage (Haigh) of Woodchitrch, husbandman, saith, 
 that, on Monday, the 12th of October last, he mett William Askwith, alia* 
 Sparlinge, aboute 8 of the clocke at night, nere Howley Parke, to search for two 
 horses of Sir Richard Tankard's, and that they did intend to have rise with 
 Captain Thos. Gates. About two days after this informant apprehended him, 
 upon the late plott, and he told this informant that, on the night after they 
 parted, he went to Morley to Oates, his house, that Gates was gone to Farneley 
 Wood, and beinge too late to goe, he returned home againe. And one Samuel 
 Ellis did confesse to this informant that he went to Morley to be a trumpiter to a 
 troope of horse under Captain Oates, and had the Lord Castleton's trumpett with 
 him. 
 
 "John Avyard, saith, that he apprehended John Fawcer, for the late plott, and 
 he did confesse, that he was in armes in Farneley Wood with Captaine Oates and 
 others, to the number of 25 persons or thereabouts. 
 
 "Sparling (Askwith) was a prisoner in York Castle for a long time, but escaped 
 the gallows." 
 
 Amongst the first trustees of the Old Chapel, we must not omit the 
 name of Major Greathead, who fought bravely against the Royalists at 
 the battle of Adwalton Moor. At the commencement of the Civil Wai- 
 he was a gentleman possessed of but a small estate, though enjoying a 
 high character for patriotism and honour. About six months after the 
 engagement mentioned he was, in January, 1644, when between 28 and 
 29 years of age, appointed major of a regiment of foot commanded by 
 Colonel Richard Thornton. Subsequently, and in particular after the 
 death of his Colonel, who is supposed to have fallen at Marston Moor, 
 or before Pontefract Castle, he was still further advanced in the service, 
 and we find him ultimately chosen by the Republicans to be General in 
 the West Riding. 
 
 The second trust-deed bears date May 7th, 1687, and by it the 
 surviving trustee, Robert Paulden, of Xewel in Bowlin, assigns the Old 
 Chapel premises to John Snowden, of Scholecroft; Thomas Dawson, 
 Thomas Craister, James lauson, John Copendale, Thomas Scatcherd,
 
 140 HISTOKY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Sanil. Ward, William Roebuck, and John Crowther, of Morley ; Jere 
 Boulton, John Dickenson, and John Birkhead, of Gildersome; and 
 Joshua Janson and Danl. Pickering, of Churwell. As the date and 
 some of the names here given differ from Scatcherd's account as given 
 at page 127 of his History of Morley, \ve may say in explanation that 
 the above particulars have been copied from the register belonging to 
 the Old Chapel. 
 
 The Thomas Scatcherd above referred to was an ancestor of our 
 historian, and was married in 1687 to Miss Jane Smurthwaite. He died 
 the 20th day of May, 1700, his wife having predeceased him on the 
 4th of September, 1G91, when she was " cut off in the bloom of life." 
 
 John Dickenson was in some way related to W. Dickenson, the 
 Farnley Wood plotter. He built Gildersome " Old Hall," now occupied 
 by Joseph Webster, Esq., a wealthy Morley manufacturer. Dickeuson 
 became a Quaker at the close of his life, and at his death was buried at 
 the Old Chapel, Morley. 
 
 The next trust-deed bears date June 22nd, 1721, and by it the 
 property was assigned by Birkhead and Janson to Samuel Scatcherd, 
 John Dawson, William Lister, John Crocker, Benjamin Dixon, Joseph 
 Dixon, Nathaniel Slack, Thomas Hemsworth, Jonathan Fothergill, John 
 Ellis, the younger, John Webster, the younger, Samuel Greathead, 
 William Clarke, Joshua Rayner, Isaac Crowther, Samuel Webster, and 
 Jeremy Swift, of Morley ; William Leathley, of Churwell ; and Samuel 
 Birkhead and John Miliier, of Gildersome. 
 
 Of Samuel Scatcherd, eldest son of Thomas Scatcherd, but little is 
 recorded, his descendant deeming it sufficient to say of him, that " he 
 had the honour to be accepted as the husband of Miss Mary Greatheed, 
 granddaughter to the Major a lady, of whom, were I to write but a 
 part of what people have related, the reader perhaps would say that I 
 had borrowed a character from romance and not from real life." It is 
 amusing to read the fulsome flattery and laudation of Major Greathead 
 by Scatcherd, who was elated beyond measure that he could claim a 
 distant relationship to so distinguished a man, yet if contemporary 
 history is to be relied upon, the Major acted the part of traitor and 
 informer, for while professing sympathy with the Farnley Wood 
 plotters, and attending their gatherings, he was at the same time 
 holding office under Government, and acted as its spy. 
 
 John Dawson, of "The Hall," Morley, was the son of Thomas 
 Dawson, who built the hall in 1G83. lie was the father-in-law of 
 Alexander Wedderburu, afterwards Baron Loughborough and Lord 
 Rossylyu. Of John Dawson's services to Morley we have no reason
 
 HISTORY OF MOBLEY. 141 
 
 to think very highly, if it be true that "his room when dead was worth 
 quite as much as his society when living." From the account given of 
 him by Scatcherd, we can only conclude that, like many in the present 
 day, he lived for himself alone, without doing one kindly deed by which 
 he might be remembered in the future, or leaving on record in the page 
 of history one meritorious action to perpetuate his memory, or shew 
 that any such person had ever existed. 
 
 ' ' What is a man, 
 
 If his chief good and market of his time, 
 Be but to sleep and feed ? a beast, no more, 
 Sure, He, that made us with such large discourse, 
 Looking before, and after, gave us not 
 That capability and God-like reason 
 To rust in us unused." SIIAKESPERE. 
 
 By an assignment dated August 25th, 1763 : Samuel Scatcherd, the 
 elder, Samuel Webster, the elder, and Jeremy Swift, conveyed the 
 property to John Dawson, Samuel Scatcherd, the younger, Robert 
 Dixon, Joseph Ellis, William Reyner, Nathaniel Webster, Joseph 
 Webster, John Hemsworth, Thomas Reyner, Samuel Webster, the 
 younger, and Joseph Webster, the elder, all of Morley ; George Aired, 
 John Reyner, and Samuel Leathley, all of Churwell ; Joseph Asquitli 
 and Henry Scatcherd, of Gildersome ; Wm. Leathley, of Newhall ; and 
 Samuel Dawson, of Topcliffe. 
 
 The last Deed of appointment of new trustees in the last century 
 bears date the 3rd September, 1793, by which Joseph Webster and 
 Samuel Webster assign to Watson Scatcherd, John Gisburn, John 
 Wetherill, John Webster, the younger, John Garnett, and Thomas 
 Crowther, of Morley ; Samuel Wetherill, of Millshaw ; John Reyner, of 
 Leeds ; John Boj-le, of Haigh Moor ; Miles Shirtcliffe, of Churwell ; 
 Abm. Dawson, of Topcliffe ; and Joseph Asquith, Robert Ellis, John 
 Rollings, Saml. Gaunt, John Wormald, William Asquith, John Jackson, 
 and Daniel Slack, of Morley. 
 
 Of Watson Scatcherd, Esq., it is written: "In 1778 he married 
 Frances, third daughter of the Rev. John Fountaine, rector of North 
 Tidniouth, in Wiltshire (an intimate friend of the celebrated Handel). 
 He was educated in the law, under Warren, an eminent special pleader. 
 For about thirty years he practised as a barrister, and in very unpleasant 
 times served the public as a magistrate, without any profit to himself, or 
 inordinate benefit to his clerk." A few who are still living remember this 
 " fine old English gentleman" holding his court for petty cases in the 
 large room at the Nelson's Arms, and dispensing justice, tempered with
 
 142 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 mercy, to his neighbours. He was most affable in his demeanour, kind 
 to the poor, and a rigid moralist, so that it was said of him that, " he 
 never forgave the man who offended his delicacy." 
 
 The name of Gisburn has been a "household word" in Morley for 
 many generations, and has stood connected with the art of healing for 
 more than a century and a half in this town. John Gisburn, the trustee, 
 lived in a house on Banks' Hill, now occupied by Dr. Hirst, and he was 
 for many years the only surgeon and apothecary in the neighbourhood. 
 He was a facetious man, and skilful in his profession ; whatever were 
 his failings, they hurt nobody but himself, and his loss was generally 
 lamented. He was father to John Gisburn, who died a few years ago, 
 and grandfather to the retired village surgeon who still honourably bears 
 the name. 
 
 The rest of the above-named trustees may be passed over with the 
 remark, that they are nearly all represented by lineal descendants in 
 Morley or the neighbourhood at the present day. 
 
 By indenture dated July 24th, 1822, John Wetherill, John Webster, 
 John Garnett, and Samuel Wetherill assigned the trust premises to 
 Norrisson Scatcherd, Nathaniel Webster, Saml. Webster, John Webster, 
 John Hollings, John Rayner, Samuel Rayner, Thomas Middlebrook, 
 John Garnett, of Morley ; and John Ellis, of London. 
 
 The last trust-deed bears date April 14th, 1856, by which John 
 Hollings, Thomas Middlebrook, and Samuel Rayner assign to Joseph 
 Webster, Samuel Webster, John Webster, William Middlebrook, James 
 Theaker, Robert Barren, John Garnett, Emmanuel Bradley, James 
 Asquith, Joseph Myers, Thomas Oakes, of Morley; and Richard 
 Webster, of Newark. Five of the last-named trustees have departed 
 this life, viz., John Webster, Esq., J.P., Bromsgrove; Richard Webster, 
 Esq., the Lodge, Morley ; and Messrs. Robert Barron, Joseph Myers, 
 and Thomas Oakes, of Morley. 
 
 After the first lease was granted by the Earl of Sussex, the chapel 
 was, in all probability, used for some years by the Presbyterians, but it 
 appears that when the Act of Uniformity became law in 1662, Mr. 
 Etherington, the minister of the Old Chapel, at that time comformed, 
 and by this means the Established Church obtained possession of the 
 chapel, but the Presbyterian trustees still kept possession of the lease 
 of the property. Two circumstances go to shew the truth of our 
 statement in reference to possession of the chapel, first the fact of the 
 Royal arms having been set up in the nave, in 1664, only two years 
 after; and second, the service book, used about that time, and still 
 preserved, contains the liturgy of the Church of England. In this
 
 HISTORY OF MOELET. 
 
 143 
 
 service book are prayers " for James ; for Mary Catherine, the Queen 
 Dowager ; Mary, Princess of Orange ; and the Princess Ann of 
 Denmark ;" and at the beginning, in an old-fashioned hand, are written 
 the words " Morley Town's Book Common Prayer." This book was 
 not used after 1688, for in the prayers no substitution of the 
 name of King William for that of James occurs, and Scatcherd says : 
 " We know, that not long after the Dynasty of the Stuarts terminated, 
 the chapel was restored to its rightful proprietors." This restoration to 
 the Nonconformists took place somewhere between 1G93 and 1G98, and 
 in support of this view we know that in 1686 the Dissenters built the 
 Parsonage house, and three years afterwards obtained a license to 
 
 Old Chapel Parsonage. 
 
 perform religious worship therein. This they would not have done had 
 they regained, at that time, possession of the chapel. 
 
 The Parsonage, occupied by the Presbyterians, for a number of years, 
 when they were exiled from the chapel, is situated to the soutli of the 
 chapel, in Commercial Street. It has two frontages, one to the west 
 the other to the south. The former was built for the pastor's residence 
 and the latter as a place of worship, as will be seen from the copy of 
 the license annexed, and at a time when the people had little expectation 
 of the chapel being restored to them or their successors. This certificate 
 of license appears to have been obtained after the passing, and by virtue 
 of the Toleration Act, and is to the following effect : " At the general
 
 144 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 quarter sessions of the peace of our Lord and Lady the King 1 and Queen, 
 held at Leeds, adjournment from another place in the West Riding 1 , the 
 13th day of July, in the first year in the reign of our said Lord and 
 Lady William and Mary, now King and Queen of England, before Sir 
 John Kay, Baronet; Marmaduke Wentworth and William Lowther, 
 Knights ; Win. Norton, John Townley, and Robert Ferrand, Esquires, 
 and other justices; these are to certify that the house built by the 
 inhabitants of Morley, within the said West Riding, was recorded at 
 the sessions above-said, for a meeting-place for a congregation or 
 assembly for religious worship, according to the form of the statute 
 in that case made and provided." 
 
 The above license was accepted on behalf of the congregation at 
 Morley by two of the members. 
 
 "Leeds the 19tli July 1689. These are to Certify their maiestys Justices of 
 ye peace att ye Quarter Sessions Held at Leeds the day Above that there is a 
 a Congregacion of Protestant Dissenters doe Assemble to worship God publickly 
 att a publick place built by the Inhabitants of Morley for that purpose at the 
 Towne of Morley in the Parish of Batley. 
 
 "John Coppendale. John Lister." 
 
 The portion used as a chapel, has undergone much subsequent 
 alteration; but, even within a comparatively recent period, the window 
 mullious and the thin wainscotted partitions separating the parlour, 
 showed plainly enough that it was formerly but one apartment. The 
 probability is, all these circumstances being considered, that the 
 minister's residence was built in 1686, when Mr. Dawson was invited to 
 settle at Morley, but that the addition of a meeting-place was not made 
 until 1689, when the license was granted. 
 
 At the sessions held in Leeds, July, 1689, a license to the following 
 effect was granted to Mr. Dawson : 
 
 " To certify y*- Joseph Dawson of Morley, Clerk, doth make choice of his owne 
 dwelling house in Morley to assemble in for ye service of God as is allowed by a 
 late Act of Parliament. 
 
 "Joseph Dawson. John Coppendale." 
 
 From the above notice it would appear as probable that service was 
 held in Mr. Dawson' s house, at Morley Hall, until such time as the room 
 at the parsonage was ready for occupation. 
 
 The building near the entrance to the graveyard was built for the 
 purposes of a stable on the ground floor, and a dining room above, in 
 the days when our forefathers, on account of the distance from a place 
 of worship, were compelled to go to chapel on horseback, and stay in
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 145 
 
 the neighbourhood throughout the day. The place was subsequently 
 converted into a cottage for the use of the sexton, and ultimately lost its 
 public character. 
 
 We shall now proceed to speak of the various ministers who have 
 officiated at the Old Chapel from 1627 to the present time. Their names 
 with the time of their settlement and removal (in cases where these 
 could be ascertained) may be gathered from the following 
 
 CATALOGUE OF THE MINISTERS OF THE OLD CHAPEL, MORLEY. 
 
 Date. 
 
 Ministers' Names. 
 
 Cause 
 of Vacation. 
 
 1627 
 
 Samuel Wales 
 
 Death 
 
 1662 
 
 Etherington 
 
 Resigned 
 
 16651671 
 
 Christopher Nesse, M. A. 
 
 do? 
 
 16731674 
 
 David Noble, M.A. 
 
 do. 
 
 16741675 
 
 Samuel Bailey 
 
 Death 
 
 1675 -1677 
 
 Thomas Sharp, M.A. 
 
 Resigned 
 
 16771680 
 
 Robert Pickering, M.A. 
 
 Death 
 
 16881709 
 
 Joseph Dawson 
 
 do. 
 
 17091763 
 
 Timothy Aired 
 
 Resigned 
 
 17631794 
 
 Thomas Morgan 
 
 do. 
 
 17951806 
 
 Samuel Lucas 
 
 do. 
 
 18061807 
 
 Spencer 
 
 do. 
 
 18071815 
 
 Duncan 
 
 do. 
 
 18171837 
 
 Abraham Hudswell 
 
 Death 
 
 18371841 
 
 Joseph Fox 
 
 Resigned 
 
 18421854 
 
 John Morris 
 
 do. 
 
 18541860 
 
 James Wonnacott 
 
 do. 
 
 18621865 
 
 Fred. Barnes, B.A. 
 
 do. 
 
 18661875 
 
 George Southey, B.A. 
 
 Death 
 
 'They in their glorious coitrse the guides of youth, 
 Whose language breathed the eloquence of truth ; 
 Whose life, beyond perceptive wisdom, taught 
 The great in conduct, and the pure in thought ; 
 These still exist, by thee to fame consigned ; 
 Still speak and act, THE MODELS OF MANKIND." 
 
 ROGERS Pleasures of Memory. 
 
 SAMUEL WALES. This learned divine was the first minister of 
 whom we have any account. He was, in all probability, the son of 
 John Wales, of Idle, and brother to the Rev. Elkanah Wales, of Pudsey. 
 He was an earnest and zealous Puritan, an intimate friend of Lord 
 Wharton, and was one of those who led the way to the Nonconformity 
 of later times. With his personal history, previous to or during his 
 settlement at the Old Chapel, we are entirely unacquainted. He was 
 the author of a book, entitled " Totum Hominis, or the whole 
 L
 
 146 HISTOEY OF MOBLEY. 
 
 duty of a Christian, consisting of faith and a good life, by the late 
 Reverend and Worthy Mr. Samuel Wales, Minister of the Gospel at 
 Morley, 1627." The work was dedicated to Philip, Lord Wharton, and 
 became famous. Mr. Wales possessed very considerable talents for the 
 ministry ; his discourses both in matter and style were admirably suited 
 to the edification of his hearers. Mr. Wales remained at Morley until 
 Ms death, when it appears he left five orphans, as the following 
 extract from Thoresby's MS. life of his brother Elkanah Wales, M.A., 
 of Pndsey, will show : 
 
 "As for his care of ye poor orphans of his nearest Relations and others 'tis no 
 less yn wonderful yt so small a pittance as he had either from his father or people 
 should maintain so many, by his father's will (ye original of wch I have writ by 
 his son Elk.) it appears that he left 7 sons, of w<=h 4 were very young and 
 particularly recommended to his care, &c. the old man's Inventory amounts to 
 4:1. 5s. 2d. wch wth 501. to be paid in 4 years time out of some houses, lands and 
 leases by his son Nath : (afterwards of New Engld.) wa s to be ye portions of ye 6 
 youngest sons of wch his and his bro'- Saml- (ye pious and learned author of Totum 
 Homines) 2 having rece d - y* education was but 61. 13s. 4d. upon ye death of sd- 
 Bro r - Saml. of Morley he had ye additional charge of 5 orphans, 3 of w m - he 
 educated at y e Universitys. " BIECH MSS. No. 4460. Brit. Mus. 
 
 In February, 1653, the first Congregational church in the West 
 Eiding was formed at Topcliffe, near Morley. This society, based on 
 Independent principles, owed its origin to the Rev. Christopher Marshall, 
 who also at the same time occupied, as minister, the parish church. 
 This church met for worship in Topcliffe Hall, then inhabited by Captain 
 Pickering, a person in whom Cromwell expressed great confidence. 
 This Mr. Marshall was a good preacher and sound divine, and had been 
 " educated, partly in Cambridge, and partly under Mr. Cotton, at Boston, 
 in New England." 
 
 On the 17th May, 1662, the Uniformity Act was passed, and it came 
 into force on the 24th August. This rigorous measure prescribed an 
 uniform religious service in all the churches of the land, and ordained 
 that every minister holding any ecclesiastical benefice should, before the 
 next feast of Bartholomew, 1662, declare his unfeigned assent and 
 consent to everything contained in and prescribed by the Book of 
 Common Prayer, or be deprived ; that no lectures or preaching should 
 be held without the use of the Common Prayer ; and that a person not 
 episcopally ordained who should administer the Lord's Supper should be 
 liable to a fine of 100. The influence of this Act was most disastrous 
 in Yorkshire, where Puritan principles had become so widely extended. 
 Calamy gives the number of men in Yorkshire whom this cruel measure 
 compelled to resign their livings at 123 (76 of whom were in the West
 
 HISTOBY OP MOKLEY. 147 
 
 Riding), and 1 6 only who conformed. Many of the ejected ministers 
 found their way to Morley, and occupied the pulpit in private houses, 
 and afterwards found a quiet resting place in the graveyard adjoining 
 the Old Chapel. Amongst this number we may mention Revs. Joseph 
 Dawson (ejected from Thornton) ; Robert Pickering, William Hawden 
 (ejected from Broadsworth) ; and others. 
 
 On the 16th March, 1664, the Conventicle Act was passed. This 
 monstrous Act declared that if five persons above the number of which 
 the family was composed assembled for any exercise of religion, such 
 offenders should be liable for the first offence to three months' imprison- 
 ment, and for the second six months' imprisonment, or to pay a fine of 
 10 ; but that for the third offence they should pay the sum of 100, or 
 in default thereof be transported to the colonies for seven years. The 
 Act of Uniformity had proved ineffectual to prevent the meetings of 
 congregations in secret, hence the more severe measures of the 
 Conventicle Act. The hardships inflicted by this Act were enormous, 
 for the magistrates received power to enter houses, if necessary, by 
 force. 
 
 ETHEEINGTON. This person was minister when the Act of 
 Uniformity came into force, and conforming, continued to occupy the 
 pulpit until the following year, when he left Morley, and succeeded one 
 Mr. Bovil, at Bramley. 
 
 CHEISTOPHEE NESSE, M.A. This eminent and useful minister was 
 born at North Cave, Dec. 26th, 1621. He was educated at Cambridge, 
 after which, he retired into the country during the Civil War, and 
 preached for a while at Cliffe Chapel. He was at that time under the 
 care of his uncle, then vicar of North Cave. He subsequently accepted 
 a call to Holderness, and from thence removed to Beverley, where he 
 kept a school and preached occasionally. His next station appears to 
 have been Cottingham, the living of which was presented to him by Dr. 
 Winter. In the course of a few years he was called to Leeds, where he 
 laboured with great success. In 1665 he came to Morley and remained 
 for a length of tune. After leaving Morley, Mr. Nesse removed to 
 Hunslet, where he taught a number of boys, and preached privately till 
 1672, when the Mam Riding House being converted into a Meeting 
 House, he preached publicly there to a numerous auditory. He was 
 four times excommunicated, and when upon the last occasion a writ for 
 his apprehension was issued in 1675, he removed to London. He died 
 in London, December 26th, 1705, in the 84th year of his age, and was 
 buried in Bunhill Fields. 
 
 As an author Mr. Nesse was highly popular, his life of Pope Innocent
 
 148 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 the Eleventh being sold off in the course of a few weeks. He also 
 published a Church History, an Exposition of the Bible, and various 
 treatises on religious subjects. He was a man of sound learning, clear 
 and accurate reasoning, and a good conversationalist. He was assiduous 
 in his attention to the duties of his sacred office, when it was perilous to 
 be opposed to the prevailing errors of the day, but notwithstanding the 
 dangers of fine and imprisonment, he continued with a commendable zeal 
 and devotedness to preach the true faith. 
 
 At the time Mr. Nesse came to Morley in, 1665, the persecution of the 
 Nonconformists was at its height, and, as he left about the time the first 
 indulgences were granted in 1672, it is probable that his preaching here 
 was in private, and not in public at the chapel, except, perhaps, on some 
 few occasions. The chapel was at that time in the hands of the Anglican 
 Church, so that any preaching there by a Dissenter must have been by 
 permission of the Vicar of Batley, which was occasionally granted some 
 years after the Act of Uniformity had been passed. When those who 
 were reduced to the conscientious necessity of a separation left the 
 church, they assembled at first, with considerable peril, in private houses. 
 They were of that noble race of men who made a decided stand for truth 
 and liberty, and whose names will be illustrious and venerated so long 
 as there is virtue enough in England to properly estimate the Christian 
 consistency and integrity, with which they struggled against oppression 
 and arbitrary power, and submitted to all the ills of poverty rather than 
 sacrifice their principles or barter their consciences. 
 
 We are proud of the band of brave men, who for many years, after 
 the passing of the Act of Uniformity, ministered to the " faithful among 
 the faithless," in connection with the Church at Topcliffe and the 
 Meeting House at Morley. They bore up bravely during times of 
 unpitying severity and cruel wrong, and preserved their consciences 
 when others forsook all, for the " loaves and fishes." More than sixty 
 thousand Nonconformists suffered in various ways for their adherence to 
 their principles, and two thousand messengers of the gospel were ejected 
 from their pulpits, and were driven out into the world to suffer poverty 
 and persecution. Many of these found their way to Morley, and so 
 popular were their ministrations that permission was occasionally given 
 for them to preach in the Chapel itself, at which times they confined 
 themselves entirely to preaching, for they refused to have anything to 
 do with the Liturgy. 
 
 During the time Mr. Nesse was at the Old Chapel, that distinguished 
 preacher, the Rev. Oliver Heywood, often preached at Morley, and 
 appears to have occupied the pulpit at the Chapel, though without the
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 149 
 
 consent of the Vicar of Batley, for in Heywood's diary, under date of 
 June 26th, 1669, he writes : 
 
 " Preached at Morley. When I was in the pulpit singing a psalm, Mr. 
 Broadhead, Vicar of Batley (to which parish Morley belonged), comes up tossing 
 among the crowd up the alley, and got with much ado to the clerk ; bade him to 
 tell Mr. Heywood to come down, and let him have his own pulpit, and then 
 hasted away to Batley ; told Justice Copley what a multitude of people there were 
 at Morley "hearing a Nonconformist ; he took no notice of it ; Lade let us alone ; 
 and so through God's mercy we enjoyed the day quietly." 
 
 On November 5th, 1679, Mr. Heywood preached at Morley, when he 
 says : " There was a double lecture at the meeting house, and a large 
 assembly at Mr. John Butterworth's, where I spent four hours in 
 prayer, and preached with great pleasure and enlargement of heart." 
 
 DAVID NOBLE, M.A. When Mr. Nesse removed, his place was filled 
 by this distinguished minister. He was born at Inverness, in Scotland, 
 and educated at Christ College, Cambridge. His classical attainments 
 were considerable. He taught a school, but in what part of the town 
 we have no information. Among his pupils were the two sons of Oliver 
 Heywood, who boarded in the house of Thomas Dawsou, probably 
 father of the minister at the Old Chapel. To this school Joseph Lister, 
 of Bradford, in 1673, sent his son, and in Mr. Lister's autobiography we 
 read, " I was then at a loss but I went to Morley, where Mr. Noble 
 taught school at that time, and put my son (David) under his care, who 
 was a diligent, faithful man. There my son profited much and was 
 soon fitted for university learning, but not having convenience of 
 disposing him at that time, he stayed another year and learned logic 
 with him, in which he was a good proficient." About 1678 Noble 
 became chaplain to Woolhouse, Esq., of Glapwell, Derbyshire, and 
 preached there and at Sutton. Noble was a great student of prophecy. 
 He published " The Visions and Prophecies of Daniel explained " in 
 1700, and left behind him a large treatise in MSS. on similar subjects. 
 He died at Chapel Fold, November 26th, 1709, and was buried at 
 Dewsbury. 
 
 SAMUEL BAILEY. Under the ministry of this good man the churches 
 at Morley and Topcliffe were united. It appears from an old Eegister 
 which once belonged to the society of Independents at Topcliffe, that 
 one Christopher Marshall was minister there from 1656 to 1673, and 
 that on the 25th of March, 1674, Mr. Bailey was elected pastor, and 
 one Gamaliel Marsden, teacher ; both having been admitted into com- 
 munion with that church, November 19th, in the preceding year ; that 
 after a lapse of only eighteen months, Mr. Bailey died, and was
 
 150 HISTORY OP MOELEY. 
 
 succeeded by Mr. Marsden, who died, minister of Topcliffe only, in 
 May, 1681. Mr. Bailey was a wealthy man, and could therefore afford 
 to entertain other ministers who sometimes officiated. 
 
 As the two churches at Morley and Topcliffe were for many years in 
 connection, it will be interesting at this point to refer to the ministry at 
 the latter place. From 1681 until 1684, the pulpit was occupied by Mr. 
 Holds worth, Mr. Jolly, and other ejected ministers. In the. Sessions 
 Kolls, Leeds, under date July, 1689, we find that 
 
 " A congregation or assembly of Protestant subjects Dissenting from the Church 
 of England doe hold their meeting for religious worship on the Lords Dayes in 
 Toplife Hall, Woodkirk and they hold other occasional meetings at J. Pickerings 
 house at Tingley. 
 
 "Jo. Pickering. Thos. Atkinson." 
 
 From 1684 to 1709, Mr. Thomas Elston was the pastor, when he was 
 succeeded in his office, by supplies from the ranks of the ejected 
 preachers, until 1714 when Mr. Kiley was pastor, and remained until 
 1727. At this period he was succeeded by a Mr. Lax, who remained 
 until 1736, and was, we believe, the last minister. In the last-named 
 year, the chapel at Topcliffe was converted into a dwelling house, and a 
 meeting house was built on the Upper Green, at Lee Fair. Topcliffe at 
 that time was but sparsely inhabited, and the congregation at the chapel, 
 as well as the funds for carrying on the work, had for many years been 
 mainly supplied by the inhabitants of Morley, for the reason that after 
 the passing of the Five Mile Act, Topcliffe was much resorted to by the 
 ministers, both on account of its privacy and its exempting them from 
 the penalties of that Act, the chapel there being without the five miles' 
 radius of any church. 
 
 There was, however, another cogent reason why Tingley should be 
 selected as the site for the new chapel. It was a much more populous 
 district, and in addition to this, " Pastor Elston," in 1685, married Miss 
 Mary Pickering, whose father gave some land at Tingley for a burial- 
 ground. It was, therefore, a matter of convenience that a chapel should 
 be near to the last-named, and accordingly when Mr. Hesketh was 
 chosen as minister, a house and chapel were built for him on the Upper 
 Green. This good man lived until 1743, when, for want of adequate 
 support, the Dissenting interest became extinct. About the year 1750, 
 the burial-ground was sold to an ancestor of the Rev. Mr. Wood, of 
 Tingley House, who added it to his plantations, and when we visited 
 the place a few years ago, we were sorry to see that little or no respect 
 had been paid to the memorials of the dead.
 
 IIISTOBY OF MORLEY. 
 
 151 
 
 Arms of Sharp. 
 
 THOMAS SHARP, M.A. This divine, the next in order of time, com- 
 menced his ministry at the Old Chapel in 1675. "In 1662 was living 
 at Horton Hall, near Bradford, a family of 
 some importance, bearing the name of Sharp. 
 The members of it were staunch Puritans, 
 and the head of the family, John Sharp, had 
 received a medal from Sir Thomas Fairfax 
 for services rendered during the civil wars." 
 This John Sharp had two sons, of which 
 the above-named Thomas was the eldest. 
 Thomas was educated at Cambridge, and 
 subsequently obtained the living of Adel, 
 near Leeds. He was cousin to Archbishop 
 Sharp, and a pupil of Tillotson. After the 
 Restoration, Sharp was ejected, and retired 
 into private life, and followed his studies 
 closely in his father's house, attending upon public ordinances in the 
 parish church at Bradford, where that worthy person, Mr. Abraham 
 Brooksbank, was vicar, until he removed to Reading. But when the 
 licenses were granted by King Charles the Second, in 1672, he took the 
 opportunity to exercise his ministry in his own house, which was 
 crowded with great numbers who flocked to hear him. Subsequently 
 in 1675, Mr. Sharp had a call to preach at Morley, where he was very 
 industrious and highly esteemed. Mr. Sharp left Morley after a two 
 years' ministry, and went to Leeds, where he became pastor of the 
 Presbyterian church at Mill Hill. He resided at Horton, usually riding 
 over on Sunday morning, preaching twice and returning in the evening. 
 At length he took a house at Leeds, though he did not relinquish his 
 residence at Bradford. He declined the contributions of his poorer flock, 
 having property of his own, nor would he receive money for occasional 
 services. He wrote verses which were much esteemed by his friends. 
 His death at Leeds is recorded by his. friend and executor, Thoresby, 
 the historian. 
 
 ROBERT PICKERING, M.A. This minister accepted a call to the 
 ministry of the Old Chapel, in the year 1667. He had been ejected 
 from Barley Chapel, near Selby, and afterwards became chaplain to R. 
 Dynely, Esq., Brainhope, and subsequently came to Morley. He died 
 at Morley in 1680, aged 44 years. It is said " he bore himself during 
 the times of persecution with dignified resignation and a meek fortitude. 
 He was a modest, humble, and pious man, courageous in fighting the 
 good fight,"
 
 152 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 On the 24th of May, 1689, the Act of Toleration passed, under 
 William III. and Mary II. This gave the Presbyterians and others the 
 right of meeting unmolested. After the Act of Uniformity in 1662, the 
 pulpit at the Old Chapel was claimed by the Established Church, whose 
 members for a time used it for preaching in, but the trustees still kept 
 possession of the house and adjoining land, and maintained their right 
 to the chapel itself. 
 
 JOSEPH DAWSON. This excellent preacher was the son of Abraham 
 Dawson, of Morley. He was ordained at the first Nonconformist 
 ordination at Manchester, and was intimate with Oliver Heywood. 
 Abraham Dawson had been charged by Ralph Gates as an accomplice 
 in the Farnley Wood Plot. The accusation does not appear to have 
 touched the son, probably because it was not believed of the father. 
 Of this good man, Calamy in his Memorial thus writes : " Mr. Joseph 
 Dawson was ejected from Thornton Chapel ; he lived after his ejectment 
 near Halifax, and preached near Birstal. He was a very pious and 
 learned man of great esteem for his integrity, prudence, humility, and 
 meekness. Of a very venerable aspect a hard student, and an 
 affectionate preacher, who naturally cared for the good of souls, 
 unwearied in labours very successful in his ministry, and who had a 
 good report of all men. Even in his advanced age, he travelled to a 
 considerable distance, at all seasons of the year, to preach to a poor 
 people, and took as much care to serve them as though they could have 
 given him a large salary. He was a considerable sufferer, by reason of 
 his strait circumstances, and his having a numerous family, yet he 
 never repented of his Nonconformity." 
 
 On the 4th of January, 1696, Mr. John Coppendale, of Morley, wrote 
 to Mr. Stretton a letter, being a plea for relief to Mr. Dawson, who was 
 desirous, it appears, to settle wholly at Morley, being old and infirm. 
 He had received an invitation to take alternate services at Halifax with 
 Mr. Priestley, then very young, but he had no desire to leave Morley. 
 Yet his people could only raise 24 per annum. 
 
 In a work, "Life and Errors of John Dunton, citizen of London," 
 that person speaks in terms of the highest praise of Mr. Dawson, 
 characterising him as " a burning and shining light, a very pattern of 
 holiness, meekness, humility, and zeal for God's glory one whose 
 conversation is in Heaven." Providence spared the life of this good 
 man to a long term, for he died June 26th, 1709, aged 73 years, and 
 the following extract from Thoresby's Diary, refers to his funeral : 
 " Walked to Morley (took account of the monumental inscriptions) to 
 the funeral of good old Mr. Dawson, one of the latest survivors of the 
 ministers who left the church in 1662."
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 153 
 
 In 1699 the Rev. William Hawden died, and was buried under the 
 west window of the Old Chapel. He was one of the ejected ministers, 
 and after some changes of residence, imprisonment, and loss of sight, he 
 abode for some time at Wakefield, where he died. It is not known 
 whether he was the minister at the Old Chapel, but the supposition 
 would fill a gap otherwise unaccounted for. A stone of antiquated 
 appearance bears the following to his memory : 
 
 "Here lyeth the body of WILLIAM HAWDEN, Minister, who departed thia life 
 ye 26th day of August, 1699, and of age 88." 
 
 " The righteous hath hope in his death." Prov. ye 14, 32 v. 
 
 The name and misfortunes of this worthy man are preserved in Calamy's 
 Nonconformist Memorial, from which we extract the following : " Mr. 
 William Hawden, the incumbent of Broads wort, was ejected by the 
 Five Mile Act, and afterwards settled at Sherburn and Wakefield. He 
 preached both at home and abroad, when opportunity offered, as long as 
 his sight continued ; but for the last eight or nine years he was blind. 
 However he still had frequent meetings in his own house. He was an 
 orthodox divine, a great enemy to all vice, a zealous promoter of what 
 was good, and a man of great magnanimity and resolution. In 1685, 
 when the Duke of Monmouth landed, Hawden was sent prisoner to 
 Hull, and thence conveyed to York Castle, where the commissioners 
 required him to be bound to his good behaviour, but he peremptorily 
 refused, knowing no occasion for it." 
 
 TIMOTHY ALDEED. This gentleman was set apart to the ministry 
 of the Old Chapel in 1709. He was a scholar who devoted much time 
 to his studies. He was a recipient of the Hewley fund, and was very 
 energetic in opposition to Wesley's doctrine of Christian perfection. He 
 resigned his office in 1763. In 1715, we are informed, the number of 
 his hearers was 450. Of this learned man, Scatcherd gives us the 
 following particulars : " Some of the MSS. of this gentleman, in my 
 possession, shew him to have been an able Latin scholar, and scripture 
 critic. It was during the ministry of Mr. Aldred that the chapel was 
 underdrawn, the chancel, vestry, or village school (whatever it was) 
 having doubtless been laid open to it, about 1693. This underdrawing 
 seems to have been a great effort in the estimation of our thrifty, 
 economical forefathers. The minister preached a sermon on the occasion 
 from the text, ' He is worthy for whom we have done this he hath 
 loved our nation and built us a synagogue.' After a long and able 
 ministry of fifty-four years (and, it is said, he was never absent from the 
 pulpit but one afternoon during the whole of that time), he retired from
 
 154 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 the labours of his- pastorate." He departed this life, August the 21st, 
 1773, and was buried in the Old Chapel graveyard, where a stone was 
 erected over his grave, bearing the following inscription : 
 
 "Here lyeth interred the EEV. MR. TIMOTHY ALDRED, pastor of the Congrega- 
 tion of Protestant Dissenters at Morley, 54 years, who departed this life, August 
 21, 1773, ^Etatis 88th." 
 
 THOMAS MORGAN. When Mr. Aldred resigned his charge, the 
 choice of the people fell upon this worthy man. He came from Delph, 
 in Saddleworth, leaving because his people thought he was not fully 
 evangelical (it may be presumed he was a Baxterian). 
 
 During the ministry of Mr. Morgan at the Old Chapel, he was 
 engaged in a controversy with the celebrated Dr. Priestley, then the 
 minister of Mill Hill Chapel, at Leeds. This gentleman had taken 
 offence at some opinions expressed in a pamphlet written by Mr. 
 Morgan, entitled, "An appeal to the Common Sense of Plain and 
 Common Christians." The Dr. replied to the strictures contained in 
 this "appeal" in a strain of severity. "Mr. Morgan died July 2nd, 
 1799, aged 80 years; after having faithfully discharged the office of 
 pastor here, from Oct. 23rd, 1763, to Sept. 28th, 1794, when it pleased 
 God to suffer his powers of speech and active usefulness to be destroyed 
 by a paralytic stroke." 
 
 During Mr. Morgan's ministry, the first collection at Morley, on 
 record, in behalf of missions, was made at the Old Chapel, in aid of the 
 Indian Charity School, in Lebanon, Connecticut, New England. The 
 amount collected was eight pounds. 
 
 SAMUEL LUCAS. This minister was educated under Mr. Horsey, the 
 successor of Dr. Doddridge, at Daventry, in Northamptonshire, and 
 settled at the Old Chapel as a Trinitarian minister. He afterwards 
 became an Arian, and the effect of this was, that a number of his 
 hearers became avowed Arians or Socinians. He remained at Morley 
 twelve years, leaving in 1806, on being invited by the ancestors of the 
 present Lord Houghton to accept the office of chaplain in their family. 
 He died suddenly, December 30th, 1821, and was buried in Mill Hill 
 Chapel yard, Leeds. "With this excellent man," writes Scatcherd, 
 "terminated the Presbyterian interest at the Old Chapel." 
 
 MB. SPENCEE. This person was the first Independent minister at the 
 Old Chapel, and commenced his pastorate in 1806, but only remained for 
 six months, when he resigned, and shortly afterwards the church and 
 congregation invited a Mr. Patoun, a minister, resident in Scotland, to 
 supply the pulpit for a month, with a view to the pastorate. He came
 
 HIS TOBY OF MOBLEY. 155 
 
 to Morley, and created a great sensation by the exposition of his views, 
 which were Hyper-Calvinistic. Finding that some of the more respect- 
 able portion of the congregation, including the WetheriU's, of Millshaw, 
 and others, did not look with favour upon his services, he returned to 
 Scotland, and sent, by request of some of the people, one Mr. Duncan. 
 
 MB. DUNCAN. Appointed minister at the Old Chapel in 1807. Of 
 his career in Morley we have the following account : " From the very 
 commencement of his ministry, a spirit of enmity was exhibited against 
 him by some members of the congregation, who would have preferred a 
 minister holding Unitarian views. The trustees, being determined to 
 get quit of this gentleman, called a trustees' meeting in the chapel, on a 
 certain day, hoping by that means to obtain the keys and get possession 
 of the building ; but Mr. Duncan and the sexton went into the chapel 
 a little before the tune appointed, and locked themselves in. The 
 trustees went, and when they found the door locked, they burst it open 
 with a crowbar, when a scuffle ensued. Mr. Duncan refused to give up 
 the keys, and a large crowd, which now appeared on the scene, loudly 
 cheered him in his resolution to keep possession. The trustees were 
 hooted from the chapel, and out of the chapel-yard." After this event, 
 Mr. Duncan appears to have suffered annoyance of various lands at the 
 hands of the disaffected parties. Becoming tired of ministerial work 
 under these circumstances, and a small sum being offered him to retire, 
 he did so in the beginning of 1815. He settled, as a surgeon, at 
 Adwalton, where he practised many years, but it is said he never 
 attempted to preach after he left Morley. 
 
 ABBAHAM HUDSWELL. This pious and excellent man commenced 
 his ministry at the Old Chapel in 1817, having a congregation, composed 
 of various elements, the poorer members being the most evangelical, the 
 richer holding very doubtful sentiments. He was settled at Bingley, 
 when he received an invitation to supply, on trial, the vacant pulpit at 
 the Old Chapel. He accepted the invitation, and preached for two 
 Sabbaths. His ministrations were favourably received, but it was not 
 until he had preached again and again, that he ultimately consented to 
 accept the call which had been given him. Of his abilities as a preacher 
 we have the following account: "His preaching was eminently 
 scriptural. He never introduced controversy into his preaching, never 
 mentioned an error to expose or combat it. His rule was, 'build up 
 truth and let error alone, and the error will fall of itself.' He never 
 directly referred to either Socinianism or Arianism or any of their tenets. 
 He assumed that his own views were scriptural and true, and that none 
 of the people ever doubted it." Mr. Hudswell exercised the gift of
 
 156 
 
 HISTORY OF MOKLEY. 
 
 prophecy, and on one occasion, after listening to a sermon from his son, 
 the Rev. William Hudswell, as they sat together in the evening, he 
 entered into conversation on the prophecies of the Bible, when he said 
 with great earnestness, " William, I shall never live to see it, but you 
 may. The year 1848 will be a very remarkable year among all nations 
 of Europe, and, perhaps, for the world. But if you live, as I hope you 
 will, to the year 1866, it will be by far the most remarkable of all." 
 Mr. Hudswell died on the 27th of February, 1838, aged 68 years. His 
 funeral sermon was preached by the late Eev. Dr. Hamilton, of Leeds. 
 His son, the above-named William Hudswell, was minister of Salem 
 
 Eev. Joseph Fox. 
 
 Chapel, Leeds, for upwards of thirty-six years, and retired from the 
 ministry on Sunday, September 23rd, 1866. On the 23rd of January, 
 1867, he was presented with 840 as a testimonial from his former 
 congregation. He died on October 27th, 1871, having reached the 
 sixty-seventh year of his age. 
 
 JOSEPH Fox. In 1837 this esteemed minister of the gospel accepted 
 a call to the pulpit at the Old Chapel, and during his four years' 
 ministry, the cause was in a most flourishing condition. During the 
 time he occupied the ministerial office here he resided at Leeds, thus
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 157 
 
 being deprived of the opportunity of pastoral visitation and watchfulness 
 over his flock. He was, as a preacher, a man of great abilities. He 
 possessed a clear understanding, and evinced an accurate knowledge of 
 the doctrines of the Gospel. Whilst he laboured here the congregation 
 increased considerably, and when he resigned the charge in 1841, he 
 left behind him a name that has been (ever since that time) mentioned 
 with great respect. In his later years he resided in Manchester, where 
 he died hi 1873. 
 
 JOHN MOEEIS. This excellent minister, who succeeded Mr. Fox in 
 the pastoral office at the Old Chapel, was born at Carmarthen, in Wales, 
 
 New Schoo!, 
 
 and educated in the Grammar School at that town. After passing 
 through the elementary principles of learning in this school, he was sent 
 to Blackburn College in 1833, where he studied four years. The first 
 place that was favoured with his stated labours was Springhead, near 
 Manchester, a call to which place he accepted in 1837. From thence, 
 after several years, in 1842, he accepted an invitation to the Old Chapel, 
 where he exercised his ministry with great diligence, faithfulness, and 
 success for twelve years. In 1854 Mr. Morris was honoured with an 
 invitation to become president of Brecon College, in South Wales, where 
 he is now Professor of Theology. As a preacher his manner of address 
 was plain, easy, and unaffected. His language was simple, his
 
 158 HISTORY OF MOELET. 
 
 expressions pertinent, and his delivery suited to the purposes of devotion. 
 He possessed a happy method of ingratiating himself with young people, 
 whose interests he ever studied, and his gentlemanly bearing secured 
 him the respect and esteem of all who were acquainted with him. 
 
 In 1849 the cholera visited Morley, and the services of Mr. Morris 
 during the continuance of that fearful epidemic were beyond all praise ; 
 inasmuch as he nobly and fearlessly discharged his duty as a Christian 
 teacher and pastor, at so awful and perilous a time. He was in constant 
 attendance upon the sick and dying, employing himself in administering 
 both to their bodily and spiritual wants. His self-denying labours were 
 subsequently acknowledged in a suitable manner. 
 
 During the pastorate of Mr. Morris, and mainly by his efforts, and 
 the assistance of Mr. Isaac Dodgshun, now of Leeds, the handsome and 
 commodious school on Troy Hill was erected. The building includes, 
 besides the principal room, an infant school, a cottage, and two class 
 rooms ; the latter were added in the year 1864. The school was opened 
 in December, 1844. On Sunday, the 22nd, sermons were preached by 
 the Rev. Joseph Fox, of Leeds, and the Rev. John Morris, minister of 
 the place. On the following Wednesday, the Rev. John Ely, of Leeds, 
 preached, and on the following day a tea meeting was held, when a 
 noble spirit of liberality was manifested ; the sum of one hundred and 
 twelve pounds being subscribed in the room. 
 
 JAMES WONNACOTT. This gentleman was educated for the ministry 
 at a Wesleyan Institution, and was ordained to the pastorate at the Old 
 Chapel on the 30th of June, 1854, and remained five years at Morley, 
 during which time the church doubled the number of its members, and 
 was, at the time of his removal, in a healthy and united state. Mr. 
 Wonnacott, during his residence at Morley, published a " History of the 
 Old Chapel," and edited a magazine, entitled " The Morley and 
 Churwell Magazine." The "History" was a compilation from various 
 sources, and added no new facts to what was already in existence, but 
 perpetuated many blunders and inaccuracies, notably with respect to 
 certain so-called " entries in the Old Chapel register," which entries did 
 not appear in such register, but had reference to another church in a 
 place some miles distant from Morley. 
 
 FREDERICK BARNES, B.A. Was born at Southwell, in Suffolk, on 
 the 2nd November, 1837. After about seven years' residence in Suffolk, 
 his friends removed to Epping, near London, where he was partially 
 educated. When about 16 years of age, he went into a wholesale 
 house in London, in the iron trade, but in the course of two years 
 removed to Stroud, in Glo'stershire, where, under the direction of the
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 159 
 
 Rev. Mr. Wheeler, he read for eight months previous to going to 
 college. He entered upon academical studies at Springhill College, 
 Birmingham, in 1856, matriculated at the London University in July, 
 1858, and took the degree of B.A., 1861. Mr. Barnes having finished 
 his studies, came forth to the discharge of ministerial duties. He entered 
 upon the pastoral office at the Old Chapel, Morley, and was ordained 
 September 3rd, 1862. During Mr. Barnes's ministry, he did not labour 
 in vain, for he not only found the number of his stated hearers increase, 
 but had the satisfaction of seeing many additions to his church. The 
 Old Chapel was restored in the last year of the ministry of this gentle- 
 man. In December, 1865, he received and accepted a call to Oxton 
 Road Chapel, Birkenhead, where he is now labouring. 
 
 GEOKGE SOUTHEY, B.A. This gentleman was a native of Warwick. 
 At the age of fourteen he was admitted as a member of the Congrega- 
 tional Church, in Brook Street, hi that town. At the age of twenty-one 
 he was admitted as a student at Spring Hill College, and remained there 
 six years. He matriculated the first year he entered college, and the 
 second year he obtained his B.A. degree, first-class, and also passed two 
 scriptural examinations in Hebrew, for which he received two prizes. 
 After a successful college career, he had several calls to the ministry, 
 and ultimately settled at Moor Green, in Notts. In May, 1866, he 
 accepted the call to the pastorate at the Old Chapel. On the 20th of 
 February, 1875, in his forty-first year, he departed this life. He was a 
 preacher of considerable power, and was possessed of superior scholarly 
 attainments. 
 
 In the olden times, and until the year 1847, the minister at the Old 
 Chapel retained the services of a clerk, who usually occupied a seat 
 below the pulpit, and who acted as precentor, and gave out public and 
 other notices. In bygone days, the duties of the clerk were not confined 
 to simply giving out the psalms and hymns, for the art of printing was 
 then in its infancy, and our simple-minded forefathers made public from 
 the clerk's desk, after service, all those secular transactions in which the 
 villagers were expected to feel an interest. In this way, sales by 
 auction, acts of trespass or damage, and town's meetings were duly 
 made known. Old Stainer was the first chapel clerk, and his immediate 
 successor was one John Rayner. In 1726, Joseph Haigh was appointed 
 to the office, and retained it until 1776, when he departed this life, aged 
 85 years. Nathaniel Slack was elected in 1777, and held the appoint- 
 ment until his death in 1804, when he was succeeded by George Smith, 
 who diligently performed the duties of the office for upwards of forty 
 years. During his term of clerkship, the post of sexton was filled by an
 
 160 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 eccentric person named Benjamin Foster. He had succeeded his father, 
 who also held, in addition to the sextonship, the responsible office of 
 "dog whipper and sluggard waker." In those days, it was customary 
 in many churches, for this functionary to go round the edifice, during 
 service, carrying a long staff, at one end of which was a fox's brush, 
 and at the other a knob ; with the former he gently tickled the faces 
 of the female sleepers, while on the heads of their male compeers he 
 bestowed with the knob a sensible rap. At Trysull, in Staffordshire, 
 John Eudge left in 1725 a pound a year, to be paid to a poor man to 
 walk about the parish church, during the sermon, to keep people awake 
 and keep dogs out. Ten shillings a year rent is paid at Chislet, Kent, 
 for about two acres of land, known as Dog Whipper's Marsh. This 
 payment is made to a person for keeping order in church, and preventing 
 dogs coming in. 
 
 During the time Foster, or "Old Ben" as he was generally called, 
 filled the offices of sexton and grave-digger, the funerals at the Old 
 Chapel were numerous, and the fees from this source formed an important 
 part of his income. If there happened to be, as he termed it, " a slack 
 time," he often wished that " somebody as buries at the place would be 
 sharp and die." When complaining to the minister, as he often did, 
 that some one or other had not treated him as he deserved, he always 
 ended by saying, " You know that I am the third man in the chapel ; 
 you know, it is parson, clerk, and sexton ; there is only you, sir, and 
 George Smith (the clerk), before me; I am sexton; you know, I 
 always give you the pre-eminence; but I am the third man." "Old 
 Ben" died February 21st, 1841, aged 78 years, and not hi 1833, as 
 stated by Mr. Wonnacott, the last-named date being the year in which he 
 resigned his office, though he continued to occupy the room under the 
 vestry, in the graveyard, until his death. From our personal knowledge 
 of " Old Ben," we can speak of him as quite a character in his way. In 
 a figurative, as well as in a literal sense, the graveyard might be said to 
 be the world in which he "lived, moved, and had his being." He was 
 a quaint sort of personage, and often startled our youthful imagination 
 by relating reminiscences connected with the duties of his office. 
 
 In 1834, John Taylor succeeded Foster, and proved himself a useful 
 and valuable servant, by his punctual attendance to all his duties ; his 
 quiet reverential and respectful behaviour in the house of God, and in his 
 silent, tender, and courteous decorum at the grave side. 
 
 James Taylor, brother to the above-named, succeeded to the office, 
 and at his death, he was followed by George Teale, who still retains 
 the post.
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 161 
 
 Before concluding our notice of the Old Chapel, we must ask our 
 readers to visit, with us, in imagination, the gallery, where the " village 
 choir" used to sing out 
 
 "Those great old psalms, 
 Familiar as a mother's face, but grand 
 As is the countenance of heaven with stars. " 
 
 Shall we recall the scene presented on each successive Sunday in this 
 gallery eighty years ago ? In the principal position, amongst the motley 
 group collected there every Sunday, was old John Chappel, whose face 
 looked down with great content on his " beloved violoncello," the tones 
 of which were brought out, apparently, more by the movements of the 
 head rather than the hands. John lived in the house nearly opposite 
 the entrance to the chapel-yard, where his mother kept a " dame 
 school," and taught the alphabet to our historian. John was the 
 "common carrier" to Leeds, and was known and respected for his 
 honesty and sobriety. But his passion for music was proverbial, 
 especially if it belonged to Handel or other great masters in sacred 
 music. He was an old bachelor, and it is said of him that, " when 
 seated in his arm-chair, with a number of fine fat tabby cats, his music 
 books, and violoncello, a king might have envied him his happiness." 
 Scatcherd, speaking of him from personal knowledge, says that, " Year 
 after year, and Sabbath after Sabbath, morning and afternoon, in the 
 coldest and most inclement weather, would old ' Cheetham ' trudge with 
 his violoncello, carrying it with all the care that a woman does her babe. 
 To have heard him, on his return from Leeds, with his heavy cart and 
 old black horse, singing one of Dr. Boyce's airs, ' Softly rise, southern 
 breeze,' with a voice between^a tenor and counter-tenor, would have 
 delighted even the Doctor himself." 
 
 Next to "Old John" in the chapel gallery, stood a musician, one John 
 Bilborough, with his left-handed fiddle, and on the other side a person 
 who played a wretched flute ; this constituted the instrumental portion 
 of the choir previous to the introduction of a small organ in 1798. Of 
 the singers, the chief was one Ananiah Illingworth, who, it is said, was 
 an excellent musician " well able to sing a piece of music at first sight, 
 if the words were known to him to which that music was adapted. He 
 was able to sing upon any clef ; even the old obsolete clefs, pertaining 
 (once) to church music, did not half so much puzzle him as the reading 
 of words." Others, of inferior abilities, were in that gallery, and these 
 were supplemented by a " set of young lads, yelping about them," the 
 whole forming a sight for a painter. 
 M
 
 1G2 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 " What awful silence reigns around this bed 
 Of human bones, this storehouse of the dead ! 
 Here flattery flies you, and ambition's fame 
 Shrinks into airy nothing, whence it came. 
 Here nor hypocrisy nor mirth is seen, 
 Nor pride, detested pride, with haughty mien, 
 But meek humility and happy peace, 
 Uninterrupted, dwells within this place." ANON. 
 
 The graveyard connected with the Old Chapel cannot fail to be an 
 object of interest, when we remember that, for nearly one thousand 
 years, it has, in all human probability, been the repository for the 
 remains of the former inhabitants of this village. In this graveyard 
 rest the remains of successive generations of high and low, and amongst 
 them the names of unpretending, but honest and true men, who have 
 each played their part on the stage of life. 
 
 The graveyard is situated in a singularly retired spot. A quiet and 
 solemn repose seems to mingle with the scenery around, increased by 
 the antiquity of the memorials of the dead. It is approached from the 
 town by a gentle ascent, and as we enter the sacred area, we find 
 ourselves away from mills and houses, with no other buildings except 
 the vestry and a mausoleum in close proximity. 
 
 During the alterations required to form the foundations for the new 
 chapel, many of the tombstones, as well as the occupants of the ground 
 beneath, were removed to other parts of the ground, and it will be well 
 for future historians to note that such alterations and removals have 
 been made, or they may seriously mislead their readers. 
 
 Before proceeding to speak of the tombstones, we wish to correct an 
 error into which Scatcherd has fallen with regard to the non-interment 
 on the north side of the chapel. He writes : " Fifty years ago there 
 was not one grave on the north side of the Old Chapel." He further 
 tries to explain this singularity by references to the writings of eminent 
 archaeologists and antiquarians, who, however, differ very materially in 
 their conclusions, and certainly their opinions do not warrant us in 
 supposing that any superstitious motives caused our ancestors to avoid 
 interment of their dead on the north side of the chapel. When the 
 chapel was taken down, it was found that on the north side of the 
 interior there were a number of graves, having slabs over them, four of 
 these having inscriptions upon them. These gravestones, as we have 
 elsewhere shewn, must have been at one time in the graveyard, for the 
 dates on the inscriptions are prior to 1700, and the enlargement of the 
 chapel, which included these slabs and graves, did certainly not take 
 place before 1720 or 1730.
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 163 
 
 As we wander amongst these relics of the past, we are forcibly taught 
 this lesson, viz., that here, if anywhere, is traced in lines that " he who 
 runs may read " the record of that constant succession of son and sire, to 
 be as surely displaced by other sons and sires, which makes up what is 
 called a family history. And when this is repeated over and over again, 
 for centuries in such a "fat churchyard" as this at the Old Chapel, 
 what a parish history we have got beneath our feet! Here may be 
 traced generations of Greatheeds, Scatcherds, Websters, Asquiths, 
 Smiths, Dawsons, and many other well-known local family names. 
 
 There are in the graveyard great numbers of gravestones, dating from 
 the year 1667 down to the present time. Many of the older ones have 
 curious designs, and rudely carved inscriptions upon them, as will be 
 seen from the following fac similes of two of them. 
 
 ai LiETH'THE fa 
 
 BODX OFW 
 ILUAM'TOM 
 PSON A WHO 
 DEPATEDT 
 HISLIFEIVLY 
 
 PRECIOYS--ISTHE 
 iDEKTH'OFTHE 
 
 'STEPHENTHOnPSON 
 OF MO R LEY -WHO 
 DEPKRTED-THIS 
 LlFE-THEffiPfOF 
 
 DECEMBEFHNThE 
 
 Ancient Tombstones. 
 
 Nothing further is known of these worthies beyond the fact that 
 they were father and son, and both were at one tune members of the 
 congregation at the Old Chapel. 
 
 Near the mausoleum of the Scatcherd family is a stone which, for 
 more than a century and a half, occupied a position close to the chapel 
 on the south side. It bears the following inscription : 
 
 "In memory of DOROTHY, daughter of the celebrated Edmund Waller, of 
 Beaconsfield, in the county of Bucks, who died January 18th, 1717, in the 61st 
 year of her age."
 
 164 HISTORY OF MOBLEY. 
 
 This lady was a dwarf, and was sent down to Morley for her health. 
 She lived in the village many years, at first in a house on Banks' Hill, 
 called Yew Tree House, built by a family called Hunting-ton, and 
 purchased by her from them. She afterwards removed to lodgings near 
 the Old Parsonage, and was accustomed to be carried to the chapel in a 
 sedan chair. Of Edmund Waller, her father, much might be written. 
 He was the poet who wrote flatteries in rhyme, addressed to Cromwell 
 and Charles the Second, and who when the latter remarked that his 
 poetical panegyric of the Protector was the best composition of the two, 
 excused himself by saying, " that poets are most successful in fiction." 
 
 On the south side of the graveyard is the sepulchre of Lady Lough- 
 borough, a person of rank and fortune. The slab containing her memorial 
 is of a soft blue stone, and the inscription is illegible. The following is 
 a copy of the epitaph : 
 
 " Within this tomb lie the remains of the EIGHT HONBLE. LADY LOUGHBOEOUGH, 
 Wife of Alexander Loughborough, Lord Chief Justice of the Common Pleas. She 
 was the only daughter of John Dawson, Esq., and his wife Elizabeth. Her Lady- 
 ship died the 14th of Feby., 1781, aged 36." 
 
 The following particulars, gleaned from another source, will furnish 
 further evidence of the position and rank of this lady : 
 
 " 1781. Feb. 14. Died at Morley Hall, and buried in the Old Chapel graveyard, 
 BETTY ANNE, daughter of John Dawson, Esq. , of Morley. She was the wife of 
 Alexander Wedderburn, who was born Anno. 1733 ; Solicitor General in 1771 ; 
 Attorney General, 1778 ; Lord Chief Justice of the Court of Common Pleas, 1781 ; 
 created Baron Loughborough, in the co. of Leicester, and to the heirs male of his 
 body, by Patent, dated 14th June, 1780." 
 
 Near to the last mentioned is a stone for the Rev. Nathaniel Booth, 
 of Gildersome, who died November 3rd, 1734, aged 50. This person 
 was a cloth manufacturer, and also the minister of the Anabaptist 
 Meeting House at Gildersome. An inventory of the goods and chattels 
 possessed by this person, at his death, will be found in Appendix II., 
 and will prove interesting, as showing the money value of cattle and the 
 various articles named, one hundred and fifty years ago. 
 
 Scatcherd gives us an amusing account of the way in which this old 
 pastor received his salary. He says " About this time the spinning of 
 wool was done by the hand, but already had machinery for this purpose 
 come into use, and a person at Huddersfield by means of it did much 
 work all the country round. Now spinners were as necessary to Mr. 
 Booth in his trade, as auditors were to his ministry, and if this worthy 
 man tended the fold on the Sabbath, giving his ' charge ' two or three 
 of Bishop Tilson's ' good fotherings,' and probably working with his
 
 HISTORY OP MOELET. 1G5 
 
 ' flail ' at other times, it surely was but reasonable that he should enjoy 
 his ' hire ' or an equivalent. Now as some of his people were too poor 
 to pay in money, and some could not spin wool, as well at least, 
 perchance, as the Parson could his texts, they remunerated him in what 
 was called ' spinner's siller,' that is to say, they allowed him so much 
 out of their collections as would pay for the spinning- of his wool." 
 
 In addition to supplying the pulpit at Gildersome, he, along with 
 another minister, supplied alternately at Rawdon Chapel. It was this 
 circumstance which led to his being interred at Morley ; for to prevent 
 any altercation between the two congregations, he directed his remains 
 to be brought to Morley, unwilling to show any preference between 
 those whom he sincerely loved. 
 
 On the north and west sides of the graveyard are many tombstones, 
 bearing the name of Wetherill. The Wetherills of Morley and Mill 
 Shaw seem to have been a numerous and substantial family of yeomen, 
 of some standing hereabouts. Samuel was one of the trustees of the 
 chapel, and was of some importance in his day. He was a well informed 
 person, and remarkably conversant in the ecclesiastical history of the 
 seventeenth century. Having imbibed a taste for antiquities, and having 
 a retentive memory, and a well-informed mind, his society was much 
 sought after by the literati of the neighbouring town of Leeds. 
 
 We must not omit to notice the tombs of the ejected ministers, and 
 the first of these demanding our attention is that of " Robert Pickering, 
 Master of Arts." His tombstone records his death in the following 
 terms : 
 
 " Here lyeth interred the body of ROBERT PICKERIXGE, Preacher of the Gospell 
 att Morley, who accounted himself the meanest servant in the work of Christ, who 
 departed this life October the llth, 1680." 
 
 " Master of Art, Sidney Colledge, Cambridge." 
 
 Of this excellent man it is written that, " to be accounted the meanest 
 servant was the real sentiment of Robert Pickering, though a Master of 
 Arts and a man of undoubted talent. He had long sat at the feet of his 
 beloved Master, ' whose kingdom is not of this world,' and there had 
 received those edifying lessons which qualified him for his office." 
 
 The sepulchre of another ejected minister, William Hawden, we have 
 already noticed. One of these interesting memorials bears the following 
 inscriptions : 
 
 "Here resteth the body of ABRAHAM DAWSON, of Morley, who departed this 
 life the 19th of November, 1671, aged 61." 
 
 " Here also was interred the body of the Rev. Mr. JOSEPH DAWSON, Minister of 
 the Gospel at Morley, and son of the above-said, who finished his labours and 
 entered on his rest June 26th, aged 73, 1809."
 
 166 
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Not far from Scatcherd's mausoleum is a curiously carved tombstone, 
 placed over the grave of Mr. Samuel Bailey, one of the ministers at the 
 chapel, and at a few yards distance, is another emblematical slab, 
 placed over the remains of Mr. Henry Greatheed and Martha, his wife. 
 These specimens of graveyard ' mason-craft ' are reproduced below : 
 
 fcn 
 
 of gilder 
 w departed 
 ihiSlife m0J.' h da 
 of gull IH8 in the 
 6c uedf of- his Aqe- 
 /Clsd nctrttil the? 
 ,n)ife of 14* above 
 tuho die-cl 
 
 - 
 
 THE-BQDY-pf 
 FT" S fc M U : E. U-jJAJ LY 
 'PI 1 N IST_ R/OF T HE 
 lOO S P E LI A T T ftp R 
 " 
 
 rfli-erbiJT JO r Thffiiiiiof lh 
 i;hieous ts i Ute o( life *nd he. 
 "imilwinnelhfguli 15 wiftt/ 3 
 imell 12'" i*/N inei) ihil be 
 ise (lull fhine s i bf iRhtntfse 
 al \' firmtrncn dnc) Lhtf iht 
 turn tniny io iiohtfo'jfnttjc as 
 IhiSttrrw for Jrtr * trw O 
 Rinuucn i4." iV'Biefseii ata 
 IheduolNO'dic inu^ord.ftom 
 hcnce(rlh ijU.dilh ijipmlthit 
 rny rtrt from Ihtir libouri 
 lil worte do follow ihem 
 
 Ancient Tombstones. 
 
 Near to the memorials of the Greathead family are the graves of the 
 Eeyner's, and some of the Scatcherd's; other members of the latter 
 family are buried in a large mausoleum close by. This building presents 
 no architectural features worthy of notice, being a plain, heavy-looking 
 erection. In the interior are five marble tablets on the wall on the east 
 side, and five on the west side, which read as follows : 
 
 FIRST TABLET, OK THE EAST SIDE. 
 
 To the Memory of Mr. MATTHEW SCATCHERD, of Morley, merchant, who died 
 in 1688, and was interred at Batley. Also to the Memory of ELIZABETH, wife of 
 the aforesaid Matthew Scatcherd, who died the 25th of August, 1715, in the 84th 
 year of her age, and was interred near this place. 
 
 "Blessed are the dead which die in the Lord." 
 
 SECOND TABLET. 
 
 To the Memory of JANE, wife of Mr. Thomas Scatcherd, of Morley, gentleman, 
 who died Sept. 4th, 1691, in the bloom of life. Also to the Memory of Mr. 
 THOMAS SCATCHERD, of Morley, husband to the aforesaid Jane, who died May 
 20th, 1700. 
 
 " Oh time, how short, 
 Eternity, how long."
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 167 
 
 THIRD TABLET. 
 
 Sacred to the Memory of Mr. SAMUEL SCATCHEED, of Morley, gentleman, who 
 died January the 7th, 1766, aged 78. Also to the Memory of MARY SCATCHERD, 
 wife to the aforesaid Samuel, who died the 22nd of December, 1771, aged 80. 
 "Be not slothful, but followers of them who through faith and patience inherit 
 
 the promises. " 
 
 FOURTH TABLET. 
 
 To the Memory of THEODOCIA, the wife of Samuel Scatcherd, Esq., and daughter 
 of Rasii. Scatcherd, Esq., who died 13th of February, 1767, aged 39. Also to the 
 Memory of the said SAMUEL SCATCHERD, Esq., who died 13th June, 1779, aged 61. 
 "God hath both raised up the Lord, and will also raise up us by his own power." 
 
 1 Cor. vi. 14. 
 
 FIFTH TABLET. 
 
 In Memory of THOMAS SCATCHERD, Esq., and THEODOCIA, his wife. He died 
 28th October, 1771, aged 19. 
 
 "We shall all stand before the judgment seat of Christ." Rom. xiv. 10. 
 
 SIXTH TABLET, ON THE WEST SIDE. 
 
 Sacred to the Memory of WATSON SCATCHERD, Esq., of Morley, barrister-at- 
 law, and one of His Majesty's Justices of the Peace, once an ornament, and a 
 blessing to his family, his neighbourhood, his country, who departed this life the 
 5th day of March, 1817, and lies interred with FRANCES, his wife, who died the 
 14th October, 1812. 
 
 SEVENTH TABLET. 
 
 To the Memory of NORRISSON CAVENDISH SCATCHERD, Esq., F.S.A., of Morley, 
 eldest son of Watson Scatcherd, Esq. , barrister-at-law. He departed this life on 
 the 16th day of February, 1853, aged 73 years. A gentleman and a scholar ; 
 beloved of his family, and respected by all who knew him. Author of the 
 "History of Morley," etc. 
 
 EIGHTH TABLET. 
 
 Sacred to the Memory of WATSON SCATCHERD, Esq., solicitor, eldest son of 
 Norrisson Scatcherd, Esq., who departed this life on the second day of Sept., 
 1855, aged 34 years. Deeply deplored by his family. In him the village has 
 sustained a great loss. 
 
 NINTH TABLET. 
 
 In Memory of WATSON SAMUEL, the younger son of Watson Scatcherd, Esq., 
 and Francis, his wife. He departed this life at Halifax, June 16th, 1833, aged 50 
 years. This Tablet is erected by his widow. 
 
 TENTH TABLET. 
 
 In Memory of JOSHUA SCATCHERD, 3rd son of the late Norrisson Scatcherd, 
 Esq., who died 12th day of August, 1874, aged 48 years. 
 
 In another part of the graveyard is a stone curiously carved, and 
 inscribed as follows : 
 
 "In memory of Mr. THOMAS CRAISTER, who died May 13th, 1681, and of his 
 son THOMAS, who died March 6th, 1702, aged 4&"
 
 168 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 '**# 
 
 Allusion has already been made to the latter of these persons, as having 
 served as pikeman in Sir Michael Wentworth's regiment of militia in 
 1680. 
 
 On the west side of the graveyard a plain headstone is erected to the 
 memory of WILLIAM SWAINS ON, who will be remembered by many of 
 the present inhabitants of the town. As schoolmaster, vestry clerk, 
 assistant overseer, and registrar, he occupied an important position in 
 the village for many years. He was a clever mathematician and 
 algebraist, and was a contributor to the Ladies Diary and other publica- 
 tions of a similar class. His death took place in August, 1849. Our 
 own experience of his abilities as a pedagogue is summed up in the 
 following lines: 
 
 "For more than twenty years 't was his to rule 
 A noisy empire in the village school : 
 Portly of form, of visage large and grim, 
 The mling-pow'r seem'd bodied forth in him ; 
 That he not needed or to do or say, 
 
 For trembling urchins would his look obey. 
 
 ****** 
 
 Various his posts 't was his t' inspect the poor, 
 And his to cull the rates from door to door, 
 His, too, to pay the parish pauper's dole, 
 And stern keep low the numbers on the roll ; 
 'T was he who punctual registration made 
 Of all the born, the married, and the dead." 
 
 CHARLES PHILIP GIBSON. 
 
 On the west side of the chapel was a stone to one John Scurr, of 
 Holbeck, who died May 10th, 1684. He was related to Leonard Scurr, 
 mentioned by Calarny, and of whose murder and robbery in 1680 by 
 Holroyd, Littlewood, and others, a particular account may be found in 
 Whitaker's Leeds. Near to the last-named grave is a memorial to 
 Susannah, wife of John Bainbridge, of Rowmes (Rooms), who died 
 Feb., 1687, shewing that there were families thereabouts two centuries 
 ago. It is manifest indeed from the ancient barns and cottages which 
 we see skirting the borders of Farnley Wood, or at no great distance 
 therefrom, that in Gildersome, Rooms, Snittles, Cottingley, and Beeston, 
 there were dwellings long anterior to the Conspiracy. 
 
 We might multiply our list of the tombstones in the graveyard, but 
 our limits will not allow. We shall content ourselves with observing 
 that, as we leave the place, by the principal gateway, we pass the 
 burial ground of the Websters, whose benevolence of character and 
 many social virtues will long live in the grateful remembrance of the
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 169 
 
 inhabitants of this town. The ground is enclosed with palisades, and 
 contains eight tombstones. The following inscriptions are copied from 
 them : 
 
 " In memory of JOHN WEBSTER, who died May the 15th, 1831, in the 79th year 
 of his age." 
 
 "Sacred to the memory of THOMAS WEBSTEB, of Morley, formerly of London. 
 A man in sincere piety and benevolent feeling, scarcely inferior to any. His 
 commercial career was marked by successful industry and undeviating integrity, 
 while he resided in London, and the latter years of his life were spent in this his 
 native village, where like his Divine Master, he went about doing good. He was 
 born April 26th, 1779, and died October 19th, 1831." 
 
 " In memory of NATHANIEL WEBSTEE, who died the 3rd day of February, 1840, 
 aged 63 years." 
 
 "Here lie interred the remains of SAMUEL WEBSTEE, of Bank House, Morley, 
 merchant. A man of sound judgment, joined with undeviating principle, 
 unostentatious in his manners, and sincere in his piety, esteemed by the wise and 
 good, and most regretted by those who knew him best. He was born in this 
 village, Feby. 15th, 1784, and finished his course in it April 2nd, 1837, aged 53 
 years. His name will be had in remembrance here, and ' the memory of the just 
 is blessed.'" 
 
 " This stone records the memory of JOHN WEBSTER, of Springfield House, 
 Morley, merchant. His commercial energy furnished extensive employment for 
 the industrious population of this village and the regrets" of his neighbours at his 
 death, proclaim the highest tribute to his worth. He was born on the llth of 
 December, 1788, and died on the 9th of December, 1839, aged 52 years." 
 
 'Here sleep the remains of ANNIE WEBSTER, youngest daughter of Samuel and 
 Jane Webster, of Bank House, Morley. Amiable, intelligent, generous, and 
 affectionate, she was unusually beloved, and becoming truly pious at thirteen 
 years old, was eminently adorned with a meek and quiet spirit, and died in holy 
 triumph March 25th, 1843, aged 16 years. Also in memory of JOHN WEBSTER, 
 Esq., J.P V son of Samuel and Jane Webster. He died at his residence, The 
 Valley, near Bromsgrove, September 24th, 1867, aged 33 years, and is interred 
 with his wife in Chadshill Churchyard, Worcestershire." 
 
 About ten years ago a considerable addition was made to the grave- 
 yard, by the purchase of about half an acre of land from the Earl of 
 Dartmouth. This ground is being rapidly filled, and already memorials 
 are erected to members of the families of Bradley, Holliday, Barron, 
 Sykes, Rayner, Asquith, and other Morley people. 
 
 The Registers of baptisms and burials in connection with the Old 
 Chapel, Morley, and the Independent Church at Topcliffe, which are 
 kept together, are in a most excellent state of preservation. Great care 
 has been taken of them by the respective ministers. The handwriting 
 is, in most cases, of a very excellent description, and the registers 
 continue without a break, except from 1C 62 to 1730, when the Old
 
 170 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Chapel register does not appear to have been kept, or at least, the 
 Chapel being then in the possession of the Established Church, the 
 register is not to be found along with the one belonging to Topcliffe. 
 
 Believing that there are entries to be found in both registers that will 
 prove interesting to our readers, we shall first refer to the Topcliffe list 
 of baptisms and burials. The church record, preserved in MSS. amongst 
 the papers of the late Kev. Thos. Scales, of Leeds, commences February 
 loth, 1653, and seems to indicate the society's origin. The first entry 
 of baptisms is as follows : 
 
 1654. Abigaill, daughter of John Willson baptised Aug. 16. 
 
 There are other entries of baptisms, some possessing special interest : 
 
 1657. Sarah, dau. of our elder, Joh. Holdsworth. Mar. 29. 
 
 1661. Christopher, son of Christopher Nesse. July 9. 
 
 1662. Elizabeth, dau. of our pastor, Mr. Chr. Marshall. May 4. 
 1671. Hannah Rhodes, the grandchild of Bro. Nesse, who owned it 
 
 as his owne seed, and claimed the privilege of baptism and 
 undertook to bring it uppe as his own as to relegious care 
 and education, was therefore baptised Dec. 26. 
 
 1675. Jacob, son of Francis Beaumont, was baptised as her husband 
 
 thought fit March 20. 
 
 1691. Ralpah, son of Mr. Thomas Elston our pastor April 15. 
 
 Amongst the burials are the following : 
 
 1655. Hannah, dau. of Bro. Mr. Pickering buried Feb. 13. 
 1657. Our deare Sister, Sarah, the wife of our Pastor, Mr. Christo. 
 
 Marshall buried Feb. 23. 
 
 1665. Our Pastor's daughter that was born before time buried Sept. 16. 
 1681. Mr. Gamaliel Marsden fell sick and died 25th and buried May 27. 
 
 In Thoresby's diary the following entry occurs, under date of May 27th, 
 1681 : " Kid to Tingley to the funeral of that holy man, Mr. Gamaliel 
 Marsden, whose death was much bewailed, not by relations only, but 
 many good people and godly ministers, as a public loss." In " Miall's 
 Congregationalism in Yorkshire " appears the following notice of this 
 excellent man: "In 1673, Gamaliel Marsden, who had been twice 
 ejected, once from Dublin at the Kestoration, and again from Chapel-Ie- 
 Brears in 1662, joined himself to the little community at Topcliffe, and 
 became engaged by the church as teacher, his work being to educate 
 young men for the ministry, and probably to catechise the youth of the 
 church." He was a man of sound learning, but not an attractive 
 preacher. Continuing our list of burials we read : 
 
 1693. My dear wife, Mrs. Deborah Pickering, fell into an apoplexie, 
 Nov. 5, and dyed about 3 in the afternoon Nov. 8th, and 
 was then buried, about the 69th year of her age Nov. 10.
 
 HISTOEY OF MOKLEY. 171 
 
 1699. Oar bond, elder, Mr. John Pickering (who built the burying 
 place) dyed about 4 in ye. afternoon and was buried, in the 
 75th year of his age April 22. 
 
 1710. Mr. Thomas Elston, pastor at Topcliffe for about 34 years, 
 removed from thence to Chesterfield and dyed there, the 
 31st of March, buryed at Chesterfield April 3. 
 
 1727. Mr. John Riley dyed the 19th day of August, was pastor 
 
 about 14 years buried Aug. 21. 
 
 With reference to the above-named Mr. Elston, Thoresby in his diary 
 records: "April 3rd, 1710. Cousin Elston of Chesterfield (late of 
 Tinglaw) is to be buried this day; there are six Nonconformist ministers 
 of this county (Mr. Lister, Mr. Noble, Mr. Dawson and three more) died 
 the last year." 
 
 Mr. John Riley was pastor after Mr. John Lister. The number of 
 the congregation during his ministry was about 60. 
 
 Thoresby writes : " May 12, 1709. The afternoon was wholly 
 taken up in attending Uncle Joseph Sykes's funeral, accompanying the 
 corpse to the burial place upon Tinglaw Moor beyond Morley." 
 
 After the Old Chapel came into the possession of the Presbyterians, 
 no marriages appear to have been solemnised therein until the year 
 1850, though we have evidence that this ceremonial was performed 
 previous to 1650. In the Register of the pai-ish church of Dewsbury, 
 on a loose paper, with list of Churchwardens, etc., upon it, appears this 
 note : 
 
 "1635. Eycharde Gibson and Eliz. Womersley marryed at Maurley Chappell 
 the XXVth. daye of Nove. by Mr. Pearson. " 
 
 In 1730, the registers of baptisms and burials at the Old Chapel 
 commence, and as none of the entries of baptisms are of special 
 importance, we shall give a list of the burials deserving of mention. 
 Under date August, 1742, there is this entry : 
 
 1742. The Rev. Mr. Joseph Dawson, one of the ejected ministers, mentioned 
 in Dr. Calamy's Acct. of the ejected ministers, died minister of Morley 
 Chappell in the year 1709, when the Rev. Mr. Timothy Aldred was 
 chosen minister of Morley Chappell. 
 
 In 1752 the new style, as it was called, was introduced. Up to this 
 time, the year was considered to end on March the 25th. Henceforth, 
 the year begins January 1st, and ends Dec. 31st. 
 
 1753. Abraham Whitaker of Toplif, died March 26th at Morley 
 
 Chappel, and buried at Woodchurch March 29. 
 
 1759. A Travling Man, unknown where he came from died at 
 
 Matthew Ellis house at Morley, buried Xov. 22. 
 
 1763. Joseph Buckley of Morley, died Aug. 13. he was slain by a 
 cart near Ardsley.
 
 172 HISTORY OF MOBLET. 
 
 1771. Madam Scathard of Morley died Dec. 22. aged 80 years. 
 1773. The Rev. Mr. Timothy Aldred departed this life Aug. 21st. 
 
 aged 88 years. 
 1776. Joseph Haigh, who was Clerk of Morley Chappel upwards of 
 
 50 years, was buried, aged 85 years. Nov. 17. 
 
 1779. Mr. Samuel Scatcherd, of Morley hurried, aged 61. June 14. 
 
 1781. The Right Honourable the Lady Loughborough and daughter 
 
 of John Dawson, Esq. late of Morley, aged 36 years, was 
 
 buried Feb. 28. 
 
 1799. Rev. Thomas Morgan, Minister of Morley Old Chapel, aged 
 
 79 years July 5. 
 
 1804. Nathaniel Slack, of Morley, Old Chapel Clerk aged 66. Nov. 2. 
 
 1817. Watson Scatcherd, Esq. of Morley, died, aged 66 years Mar. 12. 
 
 1841. Benjamin Foster, Morley, aged 78 years, he was sexton of 
 
 this Chapel from April 1815 to May 1833 Feb. 21. 
 
 1847. George Smith, Gildersome Street, 40 years Clerk of this 
 
 Chappel June 23. 
 
 1875. Rev. Geo. Southey, B.A. aged 40 years. Feb. 20. 
 
 In looking over the Registers, we have noticed the recurrence of the 
 same surnames, in some instances, from the first almost to the last page. 
 We found also many Christian names, in the register of two centuries 
 ago, that are now never heard, as for instance, amongst the females we 
 find the names of Bathshua, Mehelebal, Tamar, Deborah, Jabesh, 
 Bethiah, Gershon, Rosamond, Penelope, Theadocia; and amongst the 
 males, Elyezer, Barriah, and Defience. On a minute inspection of these 
 records of the past we were struck with the longevity of the inhabitants 
 of Morley. More than an average of the entries 'of deaths are of persons 
 of advanced ages. Below we give a list of those persons who attained 
 the patriarchal age of 90 years and upwards : 
 
 1752. Mary, wife of John Webster, of Midal Thorp, Morley July 18. aged 91. 
 
 1764. Mary, wife of Samuel Deighton of Snitela Jan. 16. 90. 
 
 1770. Samuel Hincliff of Churwell Nov. 21. 99. 
 
 1781. Hannah Harris of Morley Apl. 30. 95. 
 
 1782. Joseph Garnet of Morley Jan. 12. 92. 
 1789. Elizh. widow of Samuel Webster, late of Morley Apl. 11. 94. 
 1789. Ruth, widow of Timothy Scott, of Churwell Nov. 10. 93. 
 1801. Eliz. widow of Laurence Lawson of Morley Oct. 25. 90. 
 1803. Ann, widow of John Walker, late of Bruutcliffe Feb. 13. 94. 
 1825. Mary Hartley Apl. 17. 102. 
 1827. Sarah, widow of William Broadbent, Morley Feb. 8, 90. 
 1857. Elizabeth, widow of the late William Smith June 13, 94. 
 
 Connected with this list is the circumstance that nearly all the above- 
 named persons have descendants still living in Morley, which goes to 
 shew that our villagers are well satisfied with the allotment of Providence 
 as regards their dwelling-place.
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELET. 173 
 
 " The time 
 
 Is conscious of her want ; thro' England's bounds, 
 In rival haste, the wished-for temples rise ! 
 I hear their Sabbath bells' harmonious chime 
 Float on the breeze the heavenliest of all sounds 
 That hill or vale prolongs or multiplies." WORDSWORTH. 
 
 ST. PETER'S CHUECH. The situation of this church is very com- 
 manding. Standing on the summit of a hill, it commands a beautiful 
 prospect, comprising the fine woods and grounds, with the venerable 
 mansion, of Temple Newsarn ; also Great Ormescliffe, Whitkirk, part of 
 Harewood plantations, and of the Skipton Hills, while in the vale below 
 may be seen the spires, towers, and homesteads of Leeds, and some of 
 the villages lying between the last-named town and Morley. A line 
 drawn from Ardsley Church to that of Pudsey would nearly pass over 
 St. Peter's at Morley, which having a spire and being nearly equidistant 
 from these other churches, produces an agreeable variety. 
 
 Previous to 1830 the want of a church had long been felt in Morley, 
 for the nearest church was at Batley, three miles distant, and there 
 many of the baptisms, marriages, and burials had to take place, much to 
 the inconvenience of a rapidly increasing population. 
 
 The sum of 3,000 being the amount the Ecclesiastical Commissioners 
 would allow towards the erection of a church, and a part of this sum 
 being required in the enclosure of the burial ground, the architect, in the 
 plan of the church, was confined to details combining simplicity with 
 convenience, and in fixing upon the style of architecture which prevailed 
 at the latter part of the reign of Henry III., thus the cost of, or at least 
 the necessity for, buttresses, battlements, a porch, fine tracery, and other 
 ornamental work, which increased in subsequent times, was saved. 
 
 The tower, which is surmounted with a spire, stands at the west end, 
 where the principal entrance, with a long lancet window on either side, 
 is situated. It is divided into three storeys. There are seven long 
 lancet windows on the north and south sides of the church. The east 
 window, of three lancet lights, is filled with stained glass, and was 
 inserted in 1850, the expense being defrayed by public subscription. 
 The window is a triplet ; and in the centre light is a figure of St. Peter, 
 six feet two inches in height, standing on a pedestal. The figure is 
 surmounted by a canopy, above which are the keys, the emblem of the 
 saint. The two side lights are well fitted and arranged with beautiful 
 emblems and monograms. The light to the left contains the dove, and 
 the monogram I.H.S., the emblem of St. Matthew, the cup and vine, 
 and the emblem of St. Luke ; and at the bottom, in a separate compart-
 
 174 
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 ment, are the arms of the Archbishop of York. The line to the right 
 contains the lamb and flag, the monogram of Alpha and Omega, the 
 emblem of St. Mark, the crown of thorns, and the emblem of St. John ; 
 and, at the bottom, and in a separate compartment, are the arms of the 
 Bishop of Kipon. The vestry is at the north-east corner, and at the 
 south-east corner there is a small doorway. The Sacrarium is raised 
 two steps and railed round. There is a reredos of wood, arranged in 
 arches, containing the Creed, Lord's Prayer, and Ten Commandments. 
 On the front of the altar cloth there is the monogram I.H.S., with small 
 cross above. The pulpit, a plain one, is placed at the north-east corner 
 
 St. Peter's Church. 
 
 of the body of the church, the reading desk occupying the opposite 
 corner, at the south-east. The ground floor and galleries are filled with 
 plain old-fashioned pews, very comfortable and commodious. The 
 church is built on two acres of ground, given, with a donation of two 
 hundred pounds, by the Earl of Dartmouth. The first stone was laid on 
 the 25th of June, 1829, and the plate inserted in the stone bears the 
 following inscription: "This first stone of St. Peter's Church at 
 Morley, built under the direction of the Honble. the Board of His 
 Majesty's Commissioners, for building now Churches, was laid the 25th 
 June, 1829. Kev. Thos. Foxley, Vicar of Batley, K. D. Chantrell, 
 Architect, Geo. Crowther, Kobert Clapham, Churchwardens.'" The
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 175 
 
 ceremony of consecration was performed by the Archbishop of York on 
 the 30th of August, 1830. The arrangements of the day were under 
 the direction of a committee, consisting of Dr. Swinden, Mr. Crowther, 
 and Mr. Scatcherd. The Odd-Fellows, with a band of music and all 
 their showy insignia, were in attendance. The sermon was preached by 
 the newly-appointed minister, the Rev. C. B. Cave, son of Sir Wilmot 
 Cave, Bart. The text was the twenty-fourth verse of the twentieth 
 chapter of Exodus. It is said that, " the most lively interest was taken 
 in this ceremony by the villagers generally, accounted for by the fact, 
 that for two centuries previous to this time, a large portion of the 
 inhabitants who attended church had to go to Batley, a distance of three 
 miles." The church will accommodate 1,000 persons, 478 of them in 
 free sittings. The communion plate was presented ; the silver cup is 
 inscribed "Mary Scatcherd" the silver plate " Mary, relict of James 
 Scatcherd, London," the silver paten " Rev. Thos. Foxley, M.A., Vicar 
 of Batley, to St. Peter's Church, Morley" The cost of the church was 
 2,954, and an authority on church architecture says of it, " the whole 
 edifice, though one of the plainest, is one of the most consistent and 
 appropriate churches in the kingdom." 
 
 The following is a list of the ministers and curates from the foundation 
 of the church : 
 
 MINISTERS. 
 
 18301. Rev. C. B. Cave, son of Sir Wilmot Cave, Bart. 
 
 18319. Rev. Andrew Cassells, M.A., to Parish Church, Batley. 
 
 1839 41. Rev. Geo. Dempster Miller, M.A., to Woodchurch. 
 
 1841 57. Rev. Joseph Pycock, to Newton RawclifFe, Pickering. 
 
 1857 Rev. Arthur M. Parkinson, B.A., Jesus ColL, Camb. 
 
 CURATES. 
 
 1836. Rev. Jas. Nelson, B.A., Mag. ColL Camb. to Coley and Luddenden. 
 
 1861. Rev. Owen Owen, St. Bees, to Kelbrook. 
 
 1866. Rev. William Tutin, M.A., Queen's Coll., Oxford, to Knaresbro'. 
 
 1868. Rev. Arthur Mays, B. A., Univ. Coll. Dublin, to Ripon. 
 
 1871. Rev. John A. O. Oxlee, Queen's Coll. Birm. to Burton near Brigg. 
 
 1871. Henry Thoa. Scott, M.D. Lie. Coll. Phys. 
 
 1874. James Crook, Univ. London and Durham, to St. Paul's, Morley. 
 
 Soon after the erection of the church, a small organ, built by Mr. 
 Booth, of Wakefield, was put in, but this was replaced in 1873 by a 
 larger one, costing 500, also by Mr. Booth. As yet only four 
 monuments ornament the walls of the church ; these are erected to the 
 memories of John Swinden, Geo. Crowther, and William Dixon, Esquires, 
 and Juliet Fanny, daughter of the Rev. A. M. Parkinson, the vicar. 
 
 During the night of October 2nd, 1835, the church was broken into
 
 176 HISTORY OP MOELET. 
 
 and robbed. It is supposed the sacrilegious thieves were disturbed, as 
 they only carried away the pulpit candlesticks and crimson altar cloth. 
 The candlesticks had been presented by Norrisson Scatcherd, Esq., and 
 bore his name. 
 
 The churchyard is nearly in the form of a square, and is well pro- 
 tected by a strong 1 enclosure. At one corner of this square stands the 
 school, a commodious and neat building, and along one side of the square 
 are the gardens belonging to the parsonage the latter a convenient 
 stone building, after the style of the church. 
 
 On the east side of the churchyard, in Victoria Road, a new infant 
 day school was erected and opened in 1875, upon a site given by the 
 Earl of Dartmouth. The foundation stone was laid by the Earl in 
 November, 1874, and the works were pushed on, under the general 
 superintendance of Walter H. Parkinson, Esq., of Leeds, the architect. 
 The plan of the building comprises entrance lobby, 15 feet by 5 feet ; 
 schoolroom 66 feet by 21 feet; large classroom 27 feet by 16 feet; and 
 smaller classroom 15 feet by 15 feet. The schoolroom has one large 
 three-light window in north gable, and nine three-light windows at 
 sides, arranged opposite one another to insure ventilation, also in the 
 roof two patent air-pump ventilators ; the warming of the rooms is 
 secured by open fire places with patent hot air grates. The building, 
 externally, is perfectly plain, but of Gothic character, built with the local 
 quarry faced stone, dressed stone being used for the windows and doors, 
 and having blue slated roof. The cost was 1,100, raised by subscrip- 
 tion. A bazaar was held at the opening, L. R. Starkey, Esq., M.P., 
 presiding on the occasion. 
 
 ST. PAUL'S CHUKCH. This church, now in course of erection, is an 
 outcome of an effort made by the friends of the Established Church to 
 provide religious services at the south end of the town, which is at a 
 considerable distance from St. Peter's Church, and has hitherto been 
 sadly neglected by all denominations, who in past tunes preferred to 
 build their several places of worship in close proximity to each other, 
 rather than adopt the more sensible plan of carrying the gospel to the 
 people, and sparing to families and aged persons the inconvenience of 
 walking long distances. As a proof of the truthfulness of this remark 
 we may add, that a person standing at the junction of Albion Street 
 with Queen Street is within a distance of some three or four hundred 
 yards from no less than eight places of worship. 
 
 The services at St. Paul's are at present conducted in the National 
 Schoolroom, near to the site of the new church. This school was erected 
 in 1837, by the combined liberality of the Earl of Dartmouth and the
 
 HISTORY OP MOELEY. 177 
 
 friends of the Established Church. The ceremony of laying the founda- 
 tion stone of this building was performed on Easter Monday, with 
 masonic honours, by brother the Honourable Philip Savile, son of the 
 Earl of Mexborough, assisted by brothers Charles Brandling, Esq., of 
 Middletou, Charles Lee, Esq., of Leeds, the Rev. C. Clapham, G.P.C., 
 of Arniley, and a large assemblage of the craft. The Freemasons, 
 succeeded by nearly 200 of the society of Odd-fellows, together with the 
 children of the Parish School, and many of the townspeople, walked iu 
 procession to the church, where a sermon was delivered by the Rev. 
 G. S. Bull, of Bierley. The school was built to supply the inhabitants 
 of that end of the village with divine service and a Sunday school, the 
 church of St. Peter being at too great a distance for aged people and 
 for the children who wished to attend school. The following account of 
 the opening services on New Year's Day, 1838, is taken from the Leeds 
 Intelligencer : " This interesting event took place on Monday last, and 
 in order to celebrate its occurrence, tea was provided for a large number 
 of females, and a supper of roast beef and plum pudding for the males. 
 The chair was ably filled by the Rev. A. Cassells, supported by John 
 ^Swinden, Esq., and many appropriate toasts and speeches were 
 delivered. A beautiful toned little bell suspended in the cupola, bearing 
 the inscription, 'Thomas Foxley, M.A., Vicar, gave me, A.D., 1837,' 
 rendered its services for the first time, and greeted melodiously the 
 national flag that floated above, and its aid will, we understand, hereafter 
 be occasionally required to summon the inhabitants of the village to the 
 worship of Almighty God after the fashion of their forefathers in the 
 pure ritual of the holy church. " 
 
 For a few years the school was used as a place of public worship as 
 well as a Sunday school, but subsequently these were given up, and the 
 place occupied as a day school only. After this the school remained 
 unteuanted for some time, and was becoming dilapidated, when the 
 present vicar of St. Peter's decided, in the summer of 1865, to reopen 
 it as a place of worship and for other purposes. After a complete 
 renovation and several important additions in the shape of entrance 
 porch, new windows, etc., the reopening was celebrated in November, 
 1865, by a tea and public meeting. 
 
 In July, 1874, the Rev. James Crook commenced his stated duties as 
 pastor over the congregation gathered together at this place, and with 
 the consent of the vicar of St. Peter's, the south part of Morley was 
 constituted an ecclesiastical district, and has since been known as the 
 parish of St. Paul, Mr. Crook being appointed vicar-elect. This gentle- 
 man's labours have been extensive, laborious, and eminently successful. 
 N
 
 178 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 The schoolroom soon became inconveniently crowded, and it was found 
 necessary to take steps to erect a more commodious place of worship. The 
 Earl of Dartmouth having generously offered a suitable site, subscriptions 
 were promised to the amount of 1,000, and the first stone of St. Paul's 
 Church was laid on Easter Tuesday, 1875, by Viscount Lewisham, in 
 presence of some thousands of the inhabitants. The church, as now 
 being built, is not large, for when completed it will only afford 
 accommodation to 300 persons ; but it is of the fullest dimensions the 
 executive thought it wise, at present, to adopt. The church will consist 
 of chancel, 30 ft. by 21 ft. 6 in.; nave 51 ft. by 21 ft. 6 in.; north 
 aisle, the entire length of the nave, 11 ft. 3 in. wide; a vestry at the 
 west end of the nave, with heating chamber below, and south and west 
 entrance porches. When necessary, a corresponding aisle can be added 
 upon the south side of the nave, and an organ chapel on the north side 
 of the chancel. At present a tower and bells have to be omitted on 
 account of the expense. The west end will be surmounted by a bell 
 gable. The style is early English, and is being carried out in Morley 
 stone externally, with Bramham Moor limestone to chancel walls 
 internally. The roofs are to be open-timbered, and externally covered^ 
 with the very effective patent tiles of the Broomhall Tile Co., London. 
 The architect is W. H. Parkinson, Esq., of Leeds and Harrogate. The 
 estimated cost of the works so far proposed to be carried out is 2,500, 
 and the congregation for the most part being poor, help from without is 
 greatly needed, and is earnestly sought. 
 
 REHOBOTH INDEPENDENT CHAPEL. In the year 1763, when Morley 
 was a small village, and when the Old Presbyterian Chapel was the 
 only place of public worship, the Rev. Thomas Morgan, a native of 
 Carmarthen, in Wales, and known there as the " Welsh Cicero," was 
 invited to the vacant pulpit at the Old Chapel. After considerable 
 hesitation on his part, and not a little pressure from a part of the 
 church, he accepted their invitation and came to reside in Morley. The 
 cause of Christianity in Morley at that time was in a languishing 
 condition, and the congregation at the Old Chapel much divided in their 
 opinions of the truth. But amongst them there was a small number 
 who took the opportunity of Mr. Morgan's settlement to leave the place, 
 and began to assemble together for worship in a hired room on Banks' 
 Hill. The following is the substance of the license granted to them to 
 meet in this place ; and we may add, that the word dissenters in this 
 license can scarcely be said to properly apply, in so far as it is meant 
 dissent from the established church in Morley, for it must be borne in 
 mind that the Anglican Church had no standing in Morley at that time,
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 179 
 
 and indeed was not represented by any place or form of worship here 
 for nearly two centuries previous to the year 1830 : 
 
 "This is to certify whom it may concern, that the dwelling house (and its 
 premises) of Joseph Webster, of Morley, in the parish of Batley, in the county 
 and diocese of York, was this day entered in the registry of his Grace the Lord 
 Archbishop of York, as a place of public worship of Almighty God, for independent 
 protestant dissenters. Witness my hand this 23rd day of May, 1764. Richard 
 Mackley, deputy registrar. " 
 
 In this licensed house did that body of congregational dissenters 
 worship, until the following year, when the second Earl of Dartmouth 
 gave to them " a rood of waste land for the purpose of building thereon 
 an Independent Chapel and making a burial ground." On that piece of 
 land the people erected the " OLD NEW CHAPEL " as it was called, and 
 a small dwelling house for the minister. No account is preserved of the 
 opening services; but they took place in 1765 when the church was 
 formed, and shortly after, the Rev. Mr. Parish was invited to the 
 pastorate. He was ordained in the chapel on the 20th of November, 
 1766; the following ministers took part in the ceremony: The Rev. 
 James Crossley, of Booth ; the Rev. Titus Knight, of Halifax ; and the 
 Rev. John Edwards, of Leeds. Mr. Parish continued to preach in the 
 New Chapel until his death, which took place in 1782. In the year 
 following, he was succeeded by the Rev. Joseph Sowden, who remained 
 until the year 1798, when he removed to Booth, in the parish of Halifax. 
 In the same year the Rev. Thomas Clough, a most worthy and excellent 
 minister, was ordained pastor, and he occupied the pulpit for thirty-one 
 years, until his death, which took place on the 16th day of February, 
 1820. During Mr. Clough's ministry, a new gallery was erected in the 
 chapel. The Rev. John Cones, in 1820, became the minister; but he 
 left in 1822, and the pastorate was vacant until 1825, when a call was 
 given to Mr. John Heselton, then a student in Airedale College. Mr. 
 Ileselton accepted the call ; but was only permitted to remain with his 
 people for one year and a half, and for three or four months of that time 
 he was unable to take part in any public service. He departed this life, 
 much lamented, on the 12th of January, 1827, in the twenty-sixth year 
 of his age. During his short pastorate, the congregation expended near 
 three hundred pounds in repairing the chapel, and enlarging the house 
 of the minister. 
 
 In the month of July, 1833, the ministers and trustees received a 
 notice from the Earl of Dartmouth to quit the premises, and when the 
 former waited upon his lordship's steward, they were told that they 
 must pay a rent of 50 per annum if they continued to occupy the
 
 180 
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 chapel. To this request they demurred, and resolved to build a new 
 chapel in Morley Hole. The foundation stone was laid on the 26th of 
 February, 1835, by the Rev. John Calvert. the minister, assisted by the 
 Revs. A. Hudswell, of Morley, and J. Cooke, of Gomersal. Two thousand 
 persons witnessed the ceremony, and heard the pastor deliver an earnest 
 address, in which he gave a connected history of dissent. 
 
 During the erection of this chapel the use of the Old Chapel was 
 granted to the people ; the services on the Sabbath commencing at nine 
 o'clock in the morning, and one in the afternoon, so as not to interfere 
 
 Rehoboth Congregational Chapel. 
 
 with the ordinary services in connection with the place. The chapel 
 was opened on the 8th of October, in the same year, and on that day 
 and the following Sunday, sermons were preached by the Revs. R. W. 
 Hamilton, J. Ely, and T. Scales, of Leeds, and the excitement was so 
 great that the chapel would not contain half the people. On the Sunday 
 afternoon three thousand persons attended, and the Rev. J. Calvert 
 preached in the burial ground, to those who could not gain admittance 
 into the chapel. 
 
 The following description of the New Chapel and premises was 
 written soon after the opening by the minister : " The exiles erected a
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 181 
 
 spacious chapel, vestry, and Sabbath schoolroom on Dawson Hill, and 
 they also purchased a dwelling house for the minister. The chapel and 
 premises are all freehold property, and are put in trust for the use of 
 congregational dissenters. The trustees are constituted the guardians 
 of the property, without having any right to interfere with the spiritual 
 concerns. The chapel is forty-four feet wide, and sixtj r -four feet long, 
 within the walls, and will accommodate eight hundred people. The 
 cost of the freehold, chapel, and dwelling house is near 3,000." 
 
 The Rev. J. Calvert continued to labour here until his death in Oct., 
 1847; having for twenty years filled the pastoral office in connection 
 with this church and congregation. At the time the " Old New Chapel" 
 was built there was no thought of such a thing as a Sunday school in 
 connection with the preaching of the gospel on the Sabbath day. At 
 that time there was not a Sunday school as a separate building in all 
 England. Seventeen years after this chapel was built, Robert Raikes 
 opened the first Sunday school in Gloucester ; but it was not until the 
 latter part of the last century that the first Independent school in 
 Morley was opened in the town's school. In this place the children of 
 two schools were divided by a partition, one portion being occupied by 
 the Independents and the other by the Presbyterians. The former body 
 subsequently removed and taught their school in a large room at the top 
 of Chapel Hill, a most uncomfortable and unsuitable place for the 
 purpose. The change from that place to the room under the present 
 chapel was hailed by the managers of the school as a great boon ; but 
 this accommodation in course of time became inadequate, and in 1850 it 
 was determined to erect a new school. In the following year the school 
 was opened, having cost 700. 
 
 After Mr. Calvert's death, the pulpit at Rehoboth was vacant until 
 the year 1849, when a call was given to the Rev. Jonah Reeve, of 
 Saddleworth, who came and settled in Morley, and continued his labours 
 until November, 1858, when he accepted an invitation to Stowniarket, 
 "where he still labours. In June, 1861, the late Rev. William Orgar, of 
 Bingley,' 4 became the pastor, and continued until 1864, when he resigned. 
 Soon after he left the church and congregation put into the chapel a 
 neat and excellent organ, at a cost of about 400. In the month of 
 December, 1864, a call was given to the Rev. John James, of Hinckley, 
 who accepted the invitation, and commenced his labours in February of 
 the following year, and still occupies the pulpit. 
 
 In 1870 the chapel underwent a thorough renovation, the whole of 
 the interior being taken out and replaced by more commodious pews, a 
 platform pulpit, and a recess for the organ. Two classrooms and a
 
 182 HISTORY OP MOBLET. 
 
 minister's vestry were also added. The cost of the alterations amounted 
 to 1,600, and the architect employed to carry out the work was A. H. 
 Thompson, Esq., of Leeds. 
 
 In the graveyard adjoining the chapel lie the remains of some who, at 
 one time, occupied a prominent position in the town and district. A 
 handsome stone obelisk, on the north side of the ground, has been 
 erected to the memory of a well-known West Riding gentleman. On 
 one side of the monument are the arms of the deceased, and the motto, 
 " Nitor in Adversum" and on another, 
 
 "In Memory of JOSEPH HORNER, Esq., Merchant, of Wakefield, who died 
 Dec. 13th, 1850, aged 37. His fellow-townsmen have erected a public monument, 
 at Wakefield, in remembrance cf his labours as a Philanthropist and Political 
 Reformer. His end was peace. " 
 
 In another part of the graveyard a neat stone bears the following 
 record : 
 
 "In Memory of JOSEPH DIXON ASQUITH, son of Joseph and Esther Asquith, 
 who died June 16th, 1860, aged 35 years." 
 
 Mr. Asquith was gifted with many estimable qualities, and rendered 
 valuable services to many of the religious and educational movements in 
 the town. He died suddenly, leaving behind him a widow and several 
 children. 
 
 WESLEYAN CHAPEL. Of the earliest introduction of Methodism into 
 Morley we have no authentic record. In 1751 the first Methodist chapel 
 or "preaching-house" in this district was erected at Birstal, and being 
 somewhat metropolitan in its character, as the head of a very extensive 
 circuit, " all the Methodists of the neighbouring societies " contributed 
 towards the erection of the chapel, and the trustees were selected from 
 Birstal, Gomersal, Morley, Gildereome, and many other places. 
 
 Four years before the erection of this chapel, the little society which, 
 no doubt, was in existence in Morley at that time, was honoured by a 
 visit from the venerated Wesley, who writes in his Journal, 
 "1747. April 22. I preached at Morley and Birstal. " 
 
 The founder of Methodism was at that time visiting the various towns 
 and villages in this district, accompanied by the celebrated John Nelson, 
 his zealous coadjutor, and after preaching, Wesley either formed, or if 
 one had previously existed, regulated the society. 
 
 Previous to Wesley's first recorded visit to Morley, the town was 
 favoured with the services and counsels of a zealous adherent to the 
 " new religion" in the person of John Murgatroyd, a native and resident 
 of Gildersome. Commencing his religious career, when one and twenty
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 183 
 
 years of age (1744), he became one of the most exemplary and useful 
 members of the Wesleyan society. As a " local worthy," and one who 
 in dark and adverse times upheld and advanced the truth, as well as 
 acted the part of pioneer of Methodism in this district, we deem that a 
 slight biographical notice will not be out place. John Murgatroyd, one 
 of the earliest companions of the celebrated Nelson, and for upwards of 
 sixty years a faithful member of the Methodist Society, was born at 
 Gildersome, 12th May, 1723. When one and twenty years of age, he 
 became a member of the second class formed in Yorkshire. 
 
 On the 14th of September, 1747, he entered into the marriage state 
 with Deborah North, a God-fearing woman, of Little Horton. John 
 Nelson and his wife were present at the wedding, and the day of union 
 was eminently a day of prayer and praise. 
 
 Murgatroyd is spoken of as " one of the most cheerful men that ever 
 lived ;" yet he was never a trifler. Sparing in his diet, and living by 
 rule, he enjoyed a state of almost uninterrupted health, for nearly four 
 score years. In dress he was plain, wearing always a blue coat and 
 waistcoat, and refusing to alter ; not putting on mourning, even for his 
 nearest relations. He was averse to everything that had even the 
 appearance of parade, or ostentation : hence, when undertaking a 
 journey, he made as little preparation as circumstances would admit. 
 On one occasion, having business in London which required his presence 
 there, lest his wife, who was a woman of admirable order and neatness, 
 should make too "much ado," he left her in ignorance as to the full 
 extent of his intended journey ; and in less than a fortnight returned in 
 good health to his wondering family ; having walked all the way thither 
 and back, a distance of at least four hundred and twenty miles ! 
 
 As the head of a numerous family, it was his constant endeavour to 
 go in and out before them in the fear of God. Twice every day, and 
 sometimes oftener, were all his household called together, to hear some 
 portion of God's holy word, and to unite in prayer and praise before 
 him. He was not a man of shining talent, but rather sought to lead a 
 peaceable and quiet life, " in all godliness." 
 
 In 1790 he removed to Wansford,. in the Bridlington circuit, where, 
 to the close of life, his zeal for God, and his endeavours to do good 
 were unabated. " The day before his death, he walked several miles to 
 hear preaching, and appeared unusually animated ; in the evening he 
 performed, as customary, the duties of the domestic altar, and on retiring 
 to rest fell asleep to wake with God." 
 
 Scatcherd gives the following account of the introduction of Methodism 
 into Morley : " It was not, however, hi 1763, but many years before
 
 184 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 it, that the village was first visited by an illiterate and itinerant ministry. 
 The Methodists who sprang up about 1729, and became considerable by 
 Whitfield's party in 1735, soon found their way to Morley ; and assisted 
 by the celebrated Miss Bosanquet, who then lived at Cross Hall, built a 
 meeting-house in 1756." This is incorrect, as that good lady only 
 settled in Yorkshire in 1768, and lived for a year at Gildersome previous 
 to her occupancy of Cross Hall. 
 
 Of the services of this lady to the cause of Methodism much might be 
 written. In 1770, at Cross Hall, meetings were held every Wednesday 
 evening, attended by fifty members of society, and great good and 
 increase of Methodism followed. Wesley made Cross Hall his home 
 when visiting the neighbourhood, and thus writes of the place and its 
 owner : 
 
 " 1770. Saturday, July 7. I rode to Miss Bosanquet's (Cross Hall). Her 
 family is still a pattern and general blessing to the country." 
 
 1775. Thursday, August 27th. I went on to Miss Bosanquet's and prepared 
 for the Conference. How willingly could I spend the residue of a busy life in this 
 delightful retirement, but, 
 
 " Man was not born in shades to lie, 
 Up and be doing ! Labour on, till 
 Death sings a requiem to the parting soul." 
 
 On the 12th day of November, 1781, Miss Bosanquet was married at 
 Batley Church to the Rev. John Wm. Fletcher, of Madeley, and in the 
 following January left Cross Hall. Mr. Moore, 
 writing on the marriage, says : " Miss 
 Bosanquet was held in general estimation. 
 Her superiority in natural and providential 
 gifts her well-known entire devotedness 
 her constancy and perseverance in the divine 
 life, all fitted her, as by general consent, to 
 be the consort of that great man, ' whose 
 praise is in all the churches ;' whose admirable 
 writings will live while piety and learning are 
 honoured in the earth ; and which have forced 
 even those who did not know his piety, or 
 who affected to lament that such talents 
 should be so connected, to acknowledge his great superiority." 
 
 Mr. Fletcher's learning was deep, extensive, clear, and various ; but, 
 like his venerable friend Wesley, whom he always called father, he 
 counted even all these estimable advantages " as dung and dross for the 
 excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus his Lord." So abased was
 
 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 185 
 
 this great man in his own eyes, and so entirely did he take the divine 
 mould of the Gospel, that there was not any minister of the true Gospel 
 whom he did not rejoice to call his brother in Christ, and whom he did 
 not " in honour prefer to himself," even in his own parish. 
 
 We have reason to believe that when the Methodists first commenced 
 operations in Morley, they preached and held their meetings in' private 
 houses, and often in the open air. In the 
 year 1770, with the help of the aforesaid 
 lady, they erected a plain and simple edifice, 
 on land leased from the Earl of Dartmouth. 
 The chapel still stands, near to the new one, 
 and is now used as a day school for infants. 
 In 1800, in consequence of an increase in the 
 congregation, the old chapel was enlarged, 
 and again in 1840, it underwent a further 
 enlargement. During the early days of 
 Methodism in our town, the people were 
 often encouraged by the presence amongst 
 them of their leader and founder, the Rev. Rev. John Wesley. 
 
 John Wesley, as will appear from the following extracts from his 
 Journal : 
 
 " 1759. Thursday, July 26. I preached in Gildersome at noon, and at Morley 
 in the evening. A flame is suddenly broke out here, where it was least of all 
 expected ; and it spreads wider and wider. When God will work, who is able to 
 stay his hand ? " 
 
 " 1772. Sunday, July 12. I preached at Morley about nine, Birstal at one, 
 and Leeds in the evening. " 
 
 "1774. Thursday, April 21. I preached at Morley, on 'O, thou of little 
 faith.'" 
 
 In 1859, a meeting of the church and congregation was called "to 
 consider the propriety of erecting a large new chapel," and at the close 
 1,200 was subscribed towards the cost of a new building. The old 
 chapel, with a considerable extent of land near, was purchased from the 
 Earl of Dartmouth, and the foundation stone of the new structure was 
 laid on September 20th, 1860, by the Rev. S. D. Waddy, president of 
 the conference. In 1861 the building was opened, when appropriate 
 sermons were preached on the 12th July by the Rev. G. B. Macdonald 
 and the venerable Dr. Dixon, of Bradford. Further services were 
 conducted by the Revs. W. Orgar, Independent minister at Morley, 
 S. D. Waddy, L. Tyerman, H. Hine, M. C. Osborn, and R. Roberts, of 
 London. The contributions at these services reached the liberal sum of
 
 186 
 
 HISTOBY OF MOBLET. 
 
 525. The new chapel is an imposing and elegant stone structure, in 
 the Italian style of architecture, and was designed by Mr. Jas. Simpson, 
 of Leeds. The front has pilasters and pediment and two doorways. 
 The vestibule is much too small. Here are the staircases leading to the 
 galleries, as well as the two doorways leading into the aisles, whicli 
 extend the whole length of the chapel. At the opposite end of the 
 chapel the pulpit is placed, with the communion table in front of it. 
 There is a gallery along the sides and one end of the chapel, a recess 
 behind the pulpit being occupied by the organ and singers' pew. The 
 whole of the wood-work is painted white, picked with gold, except the 
 
 AVes.eyan Chapel. 
 
 tops of the pews, communion rails, and pulpit, which are mahogany. 
 The building is warmed in winter with hot water. For evening service, 
 the building is lighted with gas. In the ceiling there are four sunlights, 
 which illumine the gallery and body of the chapel, and underneath the 
 galleries are four smaller sunlights. The acoustic properties of the place 
 are excellent. The chapel will accommodate 1,000 people, and cost, 
 exclusive of the organ, about 2,500. The organ, built by Mr. Booth, 
 of Wakefield, was put into the chapel in 1863. It was opened in 
 November of that year by George Hirst, Esq., of Liverpool. It cost, 
 with the case (which is in the Italian style, from a chaste and beautiful 
 design), 500.
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 187 
 
 In March, 1866, premises on Banks' Hill were rented by the denomi- 
 nation, and opened as a Preaching House and Sunday School. The 
 dedicatory sermon was preached by the Rev. E. Hay ward, of Birstal. 
 The Wesleyans have in contemplation the erection of a new chapel in 
 this thickly populated part of the town. 
 
 We have been given to understand that the Methodists of 1766, in 
 Morley, were, with perhaps one or two exceptions, of the humblest class 
 in life, without either worldly wealth, worldly influence, or worldly 
 reputation ; but the character of the congregation has undergone a 
 change since that time, and now they have amongst them considerable 
 opulence and respectability, and Methodism has become a power in 
 Morley, despite the predictions of Scatcherd, who, speaking of Wesley 
 and Methodism, says : " The foundation stone, indeed, of this mighty 
 edifice, appears to me to be laid in the power of novelty, and so long as 
 that remains, and the mass of mankind are illiterate, the building which 
 he has reared will stand." Previous to the year 1865, Morley was 
 included in the Birstal Circuit, but a successful application to be made 
 the head of a circuit was made by the Wesleyans of Morley to the 
 Conference in that year. Churwell, Tingley, and Gildersome are joined 
 to Morley, and the two resident ministers at present are the Revs. AY. 
 Slack and A. Freeman. 
 
 The institution now known as the WESLEYA3ST SUNDAY SCHOOL had 
 its origin about the year 1792, at which period a man named Robert 
 Morley collected a number of children together at his own house, Town 
 End, on the Sabbath day to teach them to read. After the lapse of a 
 few years he was removed, then Michael Sheard and Job Longley 
 commenced a Sabbath school at the house of the first-named. A few 
 years after this they removed to Mr. John Cockerham's day school, in 
 the Hungerhill, where a paid teacher was employed regularly until the 
 year 1816, when the friends built a commodious school, which would 
 accommodate 250 children. It was conducted on the Lancasterian 
 system, which was, teaching by monitors, with a master to manage the 
 whole. The school continued to be taught on this system until the year 
 1835, when it was remodelled, and the paid teacher dispensed with. 
 The scholars rapidly increased under the new system, and it was found 
 necessary to enlarge the schoolroom in 1850, and again in 1875, and 
 the school will now accommodate near 600. A day school is also kept 
 here. An inf ants' school is also conducted in the Old Wesley an Chapel, 
 Miss Williamson being the present mistress. She is assisted by three 
 teachers and one monitor.
 
 188 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 BAPTIST TABERNACLE. The Baptist church at Morley was com- 
 menced in 1870 by the Yorkshire Association of Baptist Churches, who 
 took up Morley as a mission station, and rented the Odd-Fellows' Hall 
 in which to hold their services. For twelve months these were conducted 
 by various ministers and students, but in June, 1872, the Kev. James 
 Wolfenden, of Daybrook, Northamptonshire, accepted a call to the 
 pastorate. On the llth of December of the same year, a church was 
 formed by the Revs. J. Barker, of Lockwood, and John Haslam, of 
 Gildersome. It consisted of twenty-four persons, nine of whom were 
 recent candidates, and the remainder were from other Baptist churches 
 in neighbouring towns. In a few years the hall became inconveniently 
 crowded, and it was found necessary to build. A site was obtained in 
 Commercial Street, of sufficient extent to admit of both chapel and 
 schoolroom being built thereon, but the friends being desirous to limit 
 the outlay to the means at their disposal, have for the present erected 
 the schoolroom only, leaving the chapel for a second effort. The 
 foundation stone of the " Tabernacle," as it is called, was laid on Easter 
 Tuesday, 1874, by Mr. D. Hartley, of Morley. The building is in the 
 Italian style, from the designs of Mr. John Simpson, of Leeds. The 
 principal room is 72 feet long by 36 feet wide, and 19 feet 6 inches 
 high, and will accommodate 500 adults. It is to be used as a preaching 
 room until the chapel is built. Contiguous to the schoolroom are two 
 commodious classrooms, and a cellar below for heating purposes. The 
 external walls are built with best double-dressed Morley wallstones, 
 lined inside with brick. The whole of the ashlar dressings to the doors, 
 windows, and cornice are from the best selected Morley stone, with 
 cleansed labour. In June, 1875, Mr. Wolfenden resigned his pastorate 
 of the church, and accepted an appointment in Melbourne, Australia, 
 where he is now labouring with great success. In September, 1875, 
 the Rev. Richard Davies, of Maesteg, Glamorganshire, accepted a call 
 to the pastorate, and was publicly recognised as minister on the 29th of 
 February, 1876. 
 
 ZION INDEPENDENT CHAPEL. In the latter part of the last century, 
 during the ministry of the Rev. Thomas Clough at the Old New Chapel, 
 as it was called, a section of the worshippers at that place resolved to 
 withdraw from it, and betook themselves for worship to the house of 
 one Margeson at Churwell. After meeting for awhile the house proved 
 too small to accommodate the people, and a resolution was passed to 
 build a chapel, each member of that small band engaging to exert 
 himself to the utmost of his ability. In the year 1804 they erected a 
 chapel near the top of Churwell Hill, at a cost of little more than 300,
 
 w 
 
 -1 
 
 tf 
 O 
 
 o 
 < 
 
 tf 
 w 
 
 <; 
 H 
 
 H 
 ( 
 
 i 
 
 H 
 A 
 <J 
 CQ
 
 H1STOEY OF MOKLEY. 
 
 180 
 
 and from its proximity to Daffil or Daffield Wood, it was called " Daffil 
 Chapel." The first and only stated minister who ever occupied the 
 pulpit was Mr. Nathaniel Dickenson, a native of Morley, and one of 
 their own number. He was a man of eminent piety, and though 
 possessed of few scholarly attainments, he was distinguished by a 
 strong and active mind. He preached for the space of forty years, with 
 great acceptance, and his labours were rewarded with success. He was 
 never ordained to the pastoral office. The ministers in the district 
 refused him the rite, excusing themselves on the ground that " he was 
 self-taught, and would not hold on in the work of preaching for more 
 than a year or two." He finished his course on the 16th of May, 1846, 
 in the 73rd year of his age. His loss was long and deeply felt, and his 
 memory is still fragrant in the recollection of many. 
 
 Zion Congregational Sunday School. 
 
 For several years after Mr. Dickenson's death, the pulpit was supplied 
 by the Leeds Town Mission and others. In 1850 the congregation, 
 chiefly residing at Morley, determined to build a new chapel at Morley, 
 and to this end bought an eligible plot of land, in the centre of the 
 town, on which they erected the present chapel and laid out a burying 
 ground. The opening services took place in 1851, and for about four 
 years the pulpit was supplied by " itinerants," when a call was given to 
 the Rev. Richard Harris, of Westbury, who accepted it, and became 
 the pastor of this people for about five years. In 1862, an unanimous 
 call was given to, and accepted by, the Rev. D. W. Rowe, of Gains- 
 borough, who resigned the pastorate in 1865. In January, 1872, a call
 
 190 
 
 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 was given to the Eev. Wm. Frost, who still retains the office of pastor. 
 Zion Chapel is a neat brick edifice, and is approached by a flight of 
 ten steps, and a small vestibule with two entrances to the body of the 
 chapel. On one side of the vestibule is the vestry, and on the other, the 
 staircase leading to the gallery. The gallery is nearly semicircular. 
 The pews in the bottom are made of deal and varnished, having 
 mahogany cappings. The accommodation is estimated for 600 persons. 
 The chapel contains a small organ, placed in a recess behind the pulpit ; 
 is lighted by a large gasalier suspended from the ceiling, and warmed 
 by hot air. The total cost was 1,200. 
 
 Bethel Chapel 
 
 Iii 1866, a commodious schoolroom, with lecture hall and classrooms, 
 was erected in Queen Street, at a cost of 1,200, the first stone of 
 which was laid on Good Friday, 1866, by Joshua Taylor, Esq., of 
 Batley. 
 
 BETHEL CHAPEL. The body of Christians worshipping in this chapel 
 is a split from the Wesleyan Methodists, and has now existed for about 
 twenty years in Morley. The immediate cause of that separation is too 
 well known to our readers to require any explanation in this work. For 
 awhile the Reformers in Morley worshipped in the Town's School, Troy 
 Hill. The society prospered, the congregation steadily increased, and 
 the school became too small. Arrangements were then made for building 
 the present chapel, with schoolroom underneath, to cost 600. The
 
 HISTOKY OF MOKLEY. 191 
 
 chapel was built, and opened in August, 1858, when sermons were 
 preached by the Revs. James Everett, of Newcastle, R. Harris, Morley, 
 T. Rowland, Newcastle, and Jonah Reeve, Morley. The chapel is a 
 small but neat stone structure, and is approached by a flight of steps. 
 In the vestibule are the doors leading to the body of the chapel ; on the 
 left is the vestry, and on the right the staircase leading to the gallery, 
 which occupies one end of the chapel, the other being appropriated for 
 the pulpit and singing pew. The building is warmed by hot air, and 
 lighted in the evening by one large and two small gasaliers, suspended 
 from the ceiling. The chapel will accommodate about 500 persons. 
 Underneath is a residence for the chapel-keeper, and a commodious 
 schoolroom. In 1873, the congregation spent 366 in enlarging and 
 improving the chapel and the erection of a vestry. 
 
 BRUNSWICK CHAPEL. The Primitive Methodists worshipping at the 
 Ebenezer Chapel, anxious to extend their influence, determined, in the 
 autumn of 1869, to open a room, at the north end of the town, and 
 having succeeded in renting a portion of Brunswick Buildings, com- 
 menced a Sunday school and preaching services, and were successful in 
 extending religious instruction in that thickly populated neighbourhood. 
 In a few years the room was much too small, and efforts were made to 
 raise funds for the erection of a new chapel and school. The friends in 
 connection with the place, though comparatively poor, worked hard and 
 gave liberally, and their efforts being seconded by many friends, they 
 commenced to build in Albert Road. 
 
 In April, 1874, the foundation stone of a chapel and school was laid 
 by William Ackroyd, Esq., jun., and a memorial stone was laid by 
 Richard Scholefield, Esq., of Leeds. The style of the building is an 
 adaptation of Italian. The size of the chapel is 52 feet by 42 feet ; 
 schoolroom 38 feet by 28 feet, with infant school and three classrooms. 
 The interior of the chapel is commodious and agreeable, though 
 characterised by simplicity of arrangement. It is built so as to admit 
 of the introduction of a gallery at some future time. At the front of the 
 chapel is a vestry and two entrance porches, provided with swing doors. 
 The west end of the chapel is occupied by the singers' pew, in front of 
 which is a platform pulpit of chaste design. The lighting, warming*, 
 and ventilation of the building is all that can be desired. Accommodation 
 is afforded for 400 persons, and the cost of building and land is 2,000, 
 towards which about half the amount has been subscribed, and the 
 persistent efforts of the zealous and united people belonging to the place 
 to still further reduce the debt is deserving of commendation and 
 encouragement. The architect of the chapel and school is Mr. Thomas 
 o
 
 192 
 
 HISTORY OP MOELEY. 
 
 Howdill, of South Parade, Leeds. Both the society and school are in a 
 most flourishing condition. In connection with the last-named is a 
 library of nearly 300 volumes, called the " Greenwood library," having 
 been formed, in a great measure, by the exertions of Mr. J. Greenwood, 
 of Morley. 
 
 CATHOLIC APOSTOLIC CHURCH. Towards the close of the year 
 1867, lectures on the "Lord's Second Coming" were delivered by an 
 " Evangelist serving under the Lord's Restored Apostles." The lectures 
 caused considerable sensation in the town, and resulted in the formation 
 
 Exterior of the Catholic Apostolic Church. 
 
 of a congregation of those who received the message. Shortly after- 
 wards a lease of the Town's school was obtained then in a state of ruin 
 and described by one writer, as, " now deserted ; dust and cobwebs are 
 rilling the places that once resounded to the mirth of childhood. " But 
 a judicious outlay made it a comfortable and commodious place of 
 worship. The congregation occupying it with many others in this 
 country and in all the countries of Christendom are described as 
 " abiding in the Catholic faith, and waiting for the appearing of the 
 Lord from heaven." They are known under the name of the Catholic
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 193 
 
 Apostolic Church, not that they make exclusive claim to that designa- 
 tion, but that they refuse to be called by any name that does not belong 
 to the baptised the Universal Church of Christ, with which they 
 account themselves to be in communion, and of which they profess to be 
 a part. As Christians they aspire to have received with faith and 
 obedience Apostles, whom the Lord by the Holy Ghost has sent to 
 prepare His way before Him ; and as citizens they honour and respect 
 every ordinance of God both in Church and State, and " submit them- 
 selves to every ordinance of man for the Lord's sake." The church is 
 
 Interior of the Catholic Apostolic Church. 
 
 served at present by three resident ministers, with one deaconess and 
 various lay assistants ; and the Holy Eucharist is celebrated on every 
 Lord's Day, and on Holy Days. The accompanying sketches of the 
 interior and exterior of the church are kindly supplied by E. E. Deane, 
 Esq., architect, Healey and London. 
 
 EBENEZER CHAPEL. In 1812, a new body of Christians sprang up 
 in England, the founders of which were two brothers, II. and J. Bourne, 
 natives and residents of Staffordshire. " This body took the name of 
 PRIMITIVE METHODISTS, implying thereby their desire to restore
 
 194 
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 Methodism to something resembling its original character, in the days 
 of Wesley and Nelson, from whose spirit they thought it had 
 degenerated." In 1819, they formed their first circuit in Yorkshire, and 
 soon after this time, a number of their followers in Morley met; 
 first, in the house of Wm. Benn, Morley Hole, then in a barn belonging 
 to Farmer Eobinson, and afterwards in a chapel which they built on 
 Troy Road. In 1826, dissension sprang up amongst this people, caused 
 by the female part of the congregation imbibing the notions of Ann 
 Carr, then a noted " Revivalist." This led to a disruption, and 
 ultimately the chapel was sold by one Samuel Middlebrook, who held a 
 
 Ebenezer Primitive Methodist Chapel. 
 
 mortgage upon it, to Mr. Isaac Crowther, an extensive manufacturer in 
 the village. This gentleman occupied a leading position among the 
 \Vesleyan Methodists in Morley, and the chapel was used for some time 
 by that body, the pulpit being supplied by local preachers connected 
 with the Birstal Circuit. After this time, for several years, the Primitive 
 Methodists had no standing in Morley, but about the year 1830, they 
 commenced divine service in a house in Low Town End, and remained 
 there until 1835, when Ebenezer Chapel was built, and opened on the 
 25th of September; in the dedication of the place, sennons were 
 preached by the Rev. Hugh Bourne, one of the founders of the 
 Primitive Methodist Society. A debt still remains on the chapel, which
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 195 
 
 the people are at present endeavouring to remove, with the intention to 
 sell the chapel and build a larger, for which purpose they have 
 purchased, in close proximity to the present chapel, 1800 yards of land, 
 at a cost of 400. In 1837, the congregation erected a schoolroom in 
 Queen Street, for a day and Sunday school ; previous to this time the 
 latter was kept at a house in the Town End. In connection with the 
 Sunday school, the number of scholars on the books at the present time 
 is 210, average attendance 150, and 34 teachers. 
 
 NEW CONNEXION SCHOOL. This body of Christians have only 
 recently obtained a footing in Morley. Bruntcliffe, which is situate a 
 mile from the town, proper, has been, for a century or more, a small and 
 unimportant place, scant of inhabitants, and with but a few straggling- 
 houses. During this time many efforts have been made by the various 
 societies in Morley to give religious instruction to the people here, and 
 for that purpose rooms have been rented and services conducted from 
 tune to time. Since 1870, two hundred houses have been built in 
 Bruntcliffe and the immediate neighbourhood, and the spiritual destitu- 
 tion of the place demanded that something should be done. On Sunday, 
 the 5th January, 1873, the first service in connection with the above 
 society was held in a small "upper room." In the following March a 
 society was formed with two members. An iron room was erected by 
 Messrs. John Haigh and Sons, colliery owners, and opened for a 
 Sabbath school and preaching room on the 9th of August, 1873. The 
 number of scholars present on that day was 170, but the place was 
 able to accommodate 300. Since that time three large classrooms have 
 been added. Subsequently a large schoolroom was erected by the 
 trustees of the Methodist New Connexion body. The material is brick 
 with stone dressings. It has an open timbered roof, stained and 
 varnished. The accommodation is for 350 persons, and the cost, 
 including land, about 1,500, towards which 800 has been subscribed, 
 Messrs. Haigh being liberal donors to the building fund. The school 
 has been built from plans prepared by Geo. Malliuson, Esq., architect, 
 Leeds and Dewsbury. Upwards of one hundred of the sittings are let, 
 and the number of members of society is over fifty. The pulpit services 
 are supplied from the Leeds Second Circuit. 
 
 An elementary day school is also conducted in the school under 
 Government inspection, the board of managers being seven trustees of 
 the place. Number of day scholars on the books 214. Also a night 
 school with 50 scholars is in active operation. Great praise is due to 
 Messrs. John Haigh and Sons for the interest which they have 
 manifested in the movement.
 
 196 
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 ZOAR BAPTIST CHAPEL. The principles of the Particular Baptists 
 have been occasionally preached in Morley for many years, but it was 
 not until 1870 that a preaching room was expressly set apart for the use 
 of this body of Christians. In June of that year a room, formerly used 
 for manufacturing purposes, was rented, and after undergoing the 
 processes of painting and renovating, was opened by Mr. J. Thornton, 
 of Accringtou. After some three years' occupation, more room was 
 required, and a site was obtained in Commercial Street, adjoining the 
 Old Chapel Parsonage, and on this site the Baptists have erected a small 
 but neat structure of stone. The corner stone was laid on the 4th of 
 March, 1873, by Mr. Mogson, of Halifax. The chapel, which is 
 
 Zoar Particular Baptist Chapel. 
 
 palisaded from Commercial Street, is small, and has underneath a 
 residence for the chapel-keeper. A stone panel, inscribed " Zoar 
 Particular Baptists, 1873," is inserted in the entrance gable, which is 
 pierced by two windows, one on each side of the entrance. There are 
 also three windows on each side of the building. Thus the interior is 
 well lighted, and it is also tastefully furnished. The chapel was opened 
 for divine worship on Sunday, 27th July, 1873, when three sermons 
 were preached by Mr. T. Walsh and Mr. Mogson. 
 
 As we have now described, in detail, the various religious denomina- 
 tions in the town, the reader will have gathered that nearly all creeds
 
 H1STOKY OF MOBLEY. 
 
 197 
 
 have representatives here. With the exception of the Presbyterians, all 
 the various Protestant sects have found a " local habitation" in Morley, 
 within the last one hundred years, for in 1760 the Old Chapel was the 
 only place for worship in the village. 
 
 If the description which is given by Scatcherd, as to the religious 
 aspect of Morley a century ago, be correct, then we have reason to 
 deplore the existence of so many religious bodies. He says : " As to 
 the demeanour of our villagers in those times, as respecting religion, it 
 was natural, unaffected, and lowly. Theirs was a religion without cant, 
 ostentation, and grimace. It interfered not with social and family 
 duties on the one hand, nor with innocent recreations and healthy sports 
 on the other. It fostered no pride it excited no disgust it excluded 
 none of the kindliest feelings of humanity. But when the apple of 
 discord was thrown, by the introduction of the 'five points,' when a 
 shorter road to heaven was proclaimed than our Puritan pastors ever 
 knew ; then it was the common bond of village union became broken. 
 Henceforth Sects and Meeting Houses multiplied, each having its little 
 confined pale around it; a neighbourly and social intercourse was 
 superseded by disputatious wrangling and morality and patriotism by 
 polemical controversy." 
 
 The following table will shew the accommodation provided at present 
 by the various religious denominations in the town : 
 
 Name of Place. 
 
 Denomination. 
 
 Situation. 
 
 Date of 
 
 Forma- 
 
 No. of 
 
 O "J.J." 
 
 
 
 
 tion. 
 
 Sittings. 
 
 St. Peter's 
 
 Establishment 
 
 Victoria Road 
 
 1830 
 
 1000 
 
 St. Paul's 
 
 Do. 
 
 Town End 
 
 1876 
 
 300 
 
 Old Chapel 
 
 Congregational 
 
 Troy Hill 
 
 1650 
 
 800 
 
 Rehoboth 
 
 Do. 
 
 Brunswick St. 
 
 1765 
 
 700 
 
 Wesley 
 
 Wesleyan 
 
 Wesley Street 
 
 1770 
 
 1000 
 
 Preaching Room 
 
 Do. 
 
 Banks' Hill 
 
 1866 
 
 100 
 
 Zion 
 
 Congregational 
 
 Queen Street 
 
 1804 
 
 600 
 
 Ebenezer 
 
 Primitive Methodist 
 
 Fountain Street 
 
 1835 
 
 450 
 
 Bethel 
 
 Free Church 
 
 Commercial St. 
 
 1856 
 
 500 
 
 Town's School 
 
 Catholic Apostolic 
 
 Troy Hill 
 
 1868 
 
 150 
 
 Zoar 
 
 Particular Baptists 
 
 Commercial St. 
 
 1870 
 
 200 
 
 Brunswick 
 
 Primitive Methodist 
 
 Albert Road 
 
 1870 
 
 400 
 
 Tabernacle 
 
 Baptists 
 
 Commercial St. 
 
 1872 
 
 500 
 
 Bruntclifle 
 
 New Connexion 
 
 Bruntcliffe 
 
 1873 
 
 300 
 
 Total Number of Sittings . . . 
 
 7000 
 
 In the year 1764 the Rev. Mr. Scott, then vicar of Batley, took a 
 survey of his parish, and from this document we gather such particulars
 
 198 
 
 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 as enable us to see what has been the increase and decrease in the 
 various denominations of the Christian world in our township during the 
 last century. The number of families in Morley at the above date was 
 259, out of which there were of Church families 72, Presbyterians 129, 
 Independents 9, Methodists 39, and Anabaptists 4. In Gildersome, 
 out of 166 families, 65 belonged to the Church, 6 Presbyterians, 23 
 Methodists, and 60 Anabaptists. Churwell had 68 families, of which 
 40 belonged to the Church, 22 Presbyterians, 4 Methodists, and 6 
 Anabaptists. 
 
 Scatcherd gives us the following statistics with respect to the religious 
 opinions of the inhabitants of Morley in 1826: "There are about 10 
 Church people ; Independents, 860 ; Methodists, 579 ; Ranters of 
 the Methodist Class, 60; Anabaptists, perhaps 40; Presbyterians, 
 number unknown; and Catholic, 1." 
 
 The following authentic table of the provision for religious education 
 in the town is compiled from the average of returns made on two 
 Sabbath afternoons in March of the present year. The returns also give 
 the number of volumes in libraries connected with the schools : 
 
 Name of School. 
 
 Denomination. 
 
 No. of 
 Scholars 
 
 Attend- No. of 
 ance. Teachers 
 
 Vols. in 
 Library. 
 
 St. Peter's 
 
 Establishment 
 
 145 
 
 110 
 
 22 
 
 500 
 
 St. Paul's 
 
 Do. 
 
 180 
 
 112 
 
 22 
 
 
 Old Chapel 
 
 Congregational 
 
 230 
 
 128 
 
 30 
 
 
 Rehoboth 
 
 Do. 
 
 361 
 
 331 
 
 40 
 
 480 
 
 Wesleyan 
 
 Wesleyan 
 
 750 
 
 380 
 
 69 
 
 470 
 
 Zion 
 
 Congregational 
 
 220 
 
 150 
 
 12 
 
 
 Ebenezer 
 
 Primitive Methodist 
 
 210 
 
 150 
 
 34 
 
 150 
 
 Bethel 
 
 Free Church 
 
 140 
 
 112 
 
 39 
 
 
 Tabernacle 
 
 Baptist 
 
 170 
 
 115 
 
 24 
 
 200 
 
 Brunswick 
 
 Primitive Methodist 
 
 152 
 
 100 
 
 22 
 
 250 
 
 Bruntcliffe 
 
 New Connexion 
 
 273 
 
 158 
 
 36 
 
 
 Totals... 
 
 2831 
 
 1846 
 
 350 
 
 2050 
 
 The teachers connected with the various dissenting bodies, founded 
 some years ago a Sunday School Union, which, however, at present 
 remains in abeyance.
 
 LITERARY AND EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 
 
 "To inform 
 
 The mind with moral and religious truth. 
 Both understood and practised so that none, 
 However destitute, be left to droop, 
 By timely culture unsustain'd ; or run 
 Into a wild disorder ; or be forced 
 To drudge through a weary life without the help 
 Of intellectual implements and tools ; 
 A savage horde among the civilised, 
 A servile band among the lordly free." WORDSWORTH. 
 
 ITH respect to the educational agencies which have been in 
 operation for the last century or more hi Morley, we can speak 
 with confidence of the provision made as being equal, if not 
 superior, to that of other places in the neighbourhood. The first school- 
 master of whom we have any account is Captain Oates, who taught a 
 school in the chancel end of the Old Chapel, two hundred years ago. 
 In 1720 the building, now occupied as the "Catholic Apostolic Church," 
 was converted from dwelling houses into a school, and was presented 
 by the Earl of Dartmouth to the town. The document by which the 
 school was conveyed is to the following effect : 
 
 " Indenture made between William Walter, Earl of Dartmouth of the one part, 
 and Samuel Scatcherd, gentleman ; John Dawson, gentleman ; Kev. Timothy 
 Olroyd, clerk ; Jonathan Fothergill, clothier ; and Samuel Webster, yeoman, of 
 the second part ; whereby the said Earl of Dartmouth, out of the love and 
 affection he hath towards the people of Morley, and his desire that the youth of 
 that place should be taught reading, writing, and good manners, doth lease to the 
 said parties for 1,000 years, one rood of land, on which there stands at present a 
 dwelling house, which is to be converted into a school, and the adjoining land 
 fenced off as a playground, by the said trustees, and in consideration of this grant, 
 they shall pay one shilling yearly, at the Feast of Pentecost, to the said Earl of 
 Dartmouth, so often as it shall be demanded, but should the said building at any 
 time be appropriated to other purposes than those of teaching, the said trustees 
 shall pay 10s. yearly to the said Earl." 
 
 Disputes have arisen at various times as to who were the rightful 
 owners of this school-house, all the trustees having been dead for some
 
 200 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 time. lu 1851 a town's meeting decided that the original deed should 
 be held by Watson Scatcherd, Esq., solicitor, on behalf of the town. 
 The deed is at present in the possession of Samuel Scatcherd, Esq., 
 between whom and the Local Board negotiations have been going on 
 during the past year, by which it was hoped to secure the premises for 
 the use of the town, but as yet no arrangement to that effect has been 
 made. We have no complete list of the schoolmasters who have wielded 
 the ferule in this school, from 1720 to 1849, when it ceased to be used 
 for educational purposes. In 1798 the situation of master was vacant, 
 and the following advertisement relating thereto appeared in the Leeds 
 Mercury : 
 
 "A SCHOOLMASTER WANTED AT MOELEY. A single or married MAN, of a good 
 moral character, qualified to teach English grammatically, Writing and Accounts 
 if a classical scholar it will be more agreeable ; he will be expected to be CLERK 
 to the TOWN, for which a salary is allowed. The school is large and commodious, 
 in a pleasant and healthy situation, and in a popiilous neighbourhood, where good 
 wages are given ; a MAN of good abilities and industrious will meet with great 
 encouragement. The day of Election will be on Wednesday, the 28th inst., at the 
 School, at Two o'clock in the afternoon. N.B. For further particulars apply to 
 the Churchwarden, or Overseer of the Poor of Morley aforesaid. Morley, 
 February 16th, 1798." 
 
 In 1810 the Eev. Balmforth was master of the school, then a Mr. 
 Trenholme occupied the position, and after him Mr. Swainson, of whom 
 mention has already been made. The last-named is still spoken of in 
 terms of respect by many of both sexes in Morley, who owe to him all 
 they possess of school learning, and which has enabled them to get a 
 good start in life. A Sunday school was kept in the Town's school 
 nearly a century ago, the only one in the village with the exception of 
 the Methodist's school. Mr. Jonathan Kirk was one of the first 
 teachers, and was paid for his services. When the Dissenters, 
 worshipping at the Old New Chapel, formed a Sunday school, it was 
 also held in this place, the scholars of the two schools being divided by 
 a partition. Mr. John Jones, a Welshman, then resident in Morley, 
 was the paid teacher on behalf of the Old Chapel people, and Mr. 
 Ananiah Illingworth a famous singer on behalf of the Old New 
 Chapel people. This continued for some years, until the last-named 
 rented another place. The Old Chapel school was, however, continued 
 until 1844, when a new school was built, to which reference has been 
 already made. 
 
 In addition to the educational facilities within the township, Morley 
 was supposed to derive considerable advantage from being entitled to 
 share in the education given at the Free Grammar School in Batley.
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 201 
 
 From personal knowledge we can say, that if this school was dis- 
 tinguished for anything, it was for not doing its special work. A better 
 specimen could not have been found in England, thirty years ago, of the 
 way in which educational endowments are wasted and diverted from the 
 original worthy intentions of the founders. We are glad to know that 
 the obsolete method of working the school, and its generally neglected 
 condition, at last came under the notice of the Endowed Schools 
 Commissioners, who have caused many reforms to be made. The 
 government of the school is now vested in a board of governors 
 appointed by the different townships interested in the foundation. The 
 present representative of Morley on the board is Mr. J. Dixon, farmer, 
 of Scholecroft. 
 
 Turton Hall School, Gildersome. 
 
 Provision for higher class education has existed in Morley for nearly 
 a century. Fifty years ago, Cross Hall was an educational establishment 
 of this class, and was under the superin tendance of Miss Wright. The 
 Misses Gill had a similar school on Chapel Hill ; and Miss Wheelwright 
 and the Misses Clough, at "The Mount," have given education of a 
 superior character to young ladies during the last twenty years. 
 
 The higher education of young gentlemen has been principally given 
 to Morley youths at boarding schools situate at a distance from Morley, 
 and notably at Turton Hall School, Gildersome, where, during the last 
 thirty years, a considerable number of our youths have received their 
 scholastic traiuing. This school, at the present time, enjoys a deserved
 
 202 HISTORY OF MOKLEY. 
 
 popularity, arising from its excellent adaptability for educational pur- 
 poses, and from the ability, zeal, and unremitting attention bestowed 
 upon it by the Rev. John Haslam, principal. The progress of the 
 school has, of late, been singularly good, as shewn by the results of the 
 University and other examinations, which place Turton Hall School 
 second to none in the West Riding. 
 
 When Mr. Forster's Education measure became the law of the land, 
 an attempt was made to form a School Board in Morley, but the effort 
 met with a most determined opposition on the part of various sections of 
 the inhabitants. A second attempt, two years later, met with the fate 
 of its predecessor, and as Morley had the honour (?) of being the first 
 town in England to refuse the proffered boon of a system of national 
 education, so, at the present, it stands in the position of neglecting the 
 education of the poorest of its population, whilst Churwell, Gildersome, 
 West Ardsley, and other neighbouring villages have set a nobler 
 example. 
 
 In 1874 the Education Department sent a notice to the town's 
 authorities stating that provision already existed for 1,292 scholars in 
 the following schools, namely, St. Peter's National School, 229 ; Town 
 End Church of England School, 189 ; and Wesley an School, 874. 
 Additional school accommodation was required at Bruntcliffe for 250 
 children, and in Morley for 150 infants, and if not provided within six 
 months their lordships would cause a School Board to be formed for the 
 district. The result of this notice is, that an infant school has been 
 erected near to St. Peter's Church, and provision made at Bruntcliffe, so 
 as temporarily to meet the requirements of the Education Act. 
 
 Almost from the establishment of Sunday schools in Morley, a library 
 of limited extent, and consisting principally of books supplied by the 
 Religious Tract Society or the Sunday School Union, has been in 
 existence in nearly every school. The books were mainly of a 
 biographical and religious character, with a large proportion of children's 
 books ; and being thus limited in their range of subjects, and generally 
 uninteresting, not one of these libraries proved attractive for any length 
 of time. 
 
 About the year 1836 was established the first public library in the 
 town, and this in a great measure through the exertions of Dr. Swinden, 
 Norrisson Scatcherd, Esq., and some others. This library was organised 
 by men of varied shades of opinion in both politics and religion ; and is 
 the earliest instance to be found in Morley of the embodiment of the 
 idea of voluntary association for literary purposes. Classes in chemistry 
 and other branches of science were held in connection therewith, and
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 203 
 
 our recollections of the library are, that it was a most excellent one for 
 the time, and that the books were of an entertaining and instructive 
 character the novel-reading mania not having then set in. In 1844, 
 the Morley Mechanics' Institution was formed, with 300 members out 
 of a population of 4,000 ; and in 1874 it expired, having in its dying 
 moments 120 members out of a population of 10,000. Thirty years ago 
 the taste for literature was, proportionately, far in excess of what it is 
 to-day ; and yet we often hear the past spoken of in very disparaging- 
 terms. 
 
 The Young Men's Christian Association is the only public literary 
 institution in the town, and was established in 1874 for the acquirement 
 of Christian knowledge, and the cultivation of general learning. Koorns 
 in Commercial Street a most central position were secured, and 
 members to the number of 140 were speedily enrolled. Information has 
 been imparted by means of a well-supplied newsroom, classes in various 
 subjects, popular lectures, and a small but well-selected library. During 
 the time the society has been in existence, it has effected considerable 
 good in a quiet, unostentatious way. The number of members at present 
 is 200, and the income for 1875 was 151 7s. 6d. The president for 
 1876 is Mr. William Lobley, and the secretary Mr. James Robinson. 
 A bazaar held at Easter, 1876, resulted in the sum of upwards of 100 
 being obtained, towards additions to the library. This institution, under 
 vigorous management, by administering to the mental and intellectual 
 requirements of such as choose to avail themselves of its privileges, and 
 by advancing, in many ways, religious, literary, and useful knowledge, 
 is capable of doing much towards ameliorating the social condition of 
 the town. 
 
 Several Mutual Improvement Classes exist in connection with the 
 various religious societies in the town, at which questions of public 
 importance are discussed, essays are read by the members, and lectures 
 are occasionally delivered. 
 
 Amongst other educational agencies Morley has its local newspaper, 
 the Morley Observer, commenced October, 1871, by Mr. Samuel Stead, 
 and conducted by him in a very creditable manner. The paper is issued 
 weekly, on the Saturday, and occasionally contains well written leaders 
 on local topics, good reports of the meetings of the local authorities and 
 school boards in the district; also correspondence on various social, 
 political, and imperial matters. The paper is Liberal in politics, and 
 while it maintains progressive principles, is tolerant towards those who 
 hold opposite views.
 
 INDUSTRIAL AND PROVIDENT SOCIETIES. 
 
 " And we shall sit at endless feast, 
 Enjoying each the others' good ; 
 What vaster dream can hit the moocl 
 Of love on earth ?" TENNYSON " In Memoriam." 
 
 " God helps those that help themselves." OLD MAXIM. 
 
 "I have no sympathy whatever with those who would grudge our workmen and our common 
 people the very highest acquisitions, which their taste, or their time, or their inclinations, would 
 lead them to realise ; for next to the salvation of their souls, I certainly say that the object of my 
 fondest aspirations is the moral and intellectual, and, as a sure consequence of this, the economical 
 advancement of the working classes the one object which, of all others in the wide range of 
 political speculation, is the one which should be the dearest to the heart of every philanthropist 
 and true patriot." CHALMERS. 
 
 URINGr the last ten years Morley has borne a conspicuous and 
 honourable part in furthering' the Co-operative movement, and 
 in future years the efforts in this direction will count for some- 
 thing in any history of the place. More than twenty years ago, a few 
 earnest working men, principally total abstainers, rented a shop in the 
 Ilungerhill, and for their mutual benefit carried on the trade of butchers, 
 and for a time with a fair measure of success, but ultimately the 
 company dissolved, after having to encounter many difficulties, arising 
 from popular prejudice and dishonest servants. Other attempts of a 
 co-operative nature were made at various subsequent periods, but each 
 had to give way to the ignorance and prejudice of the class for whose 
 especial benefit the efforts had been put forth. In 1866, another and 
 more successful attempt to improve their circumstances was made by a 
 number of working men. A meeting was held in the Old School, Troy 
 Hill, and it was resolved to commence a co-operative society, and start 
 in the butchering business. Forty-five members were enrolled, and 
 capital subscribed to the amount of 35. In a short time they found 
 that the business was a profitable one, and this fact furnished the 
 originators with an eloquent and practical argument in favour of their
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 205 
 
 venture, and a desire on their part to extend the operations of the 
 society. A grocery business was commenced in a shop in Brunswick 
 Street, and at the end of the year 1866, the committee issued their first 
 half-yearly report and balance sheet. In it they stated that they had 
 174 members enrolled, with a capital of 84 3s. 6d. ; interest, 4 ; and 
 loans to the amount of 10. The profits amounted to 41 19s. Their 
 business continued steadily to grow, and other working men became 
 alive to the advantages of trading with the society, and the more careful 
 and industrious of the operatives soon enrolled themselves as members. 
 In 1868 the business had increased to such an extent that it was 
 found necessary to build a store, and in 1 870 the present handsome and 
 convenient building was opened for business. 
 
 
 Morley Industrial Co-operative Stores. 
 
 The share and loan capital of the Morley Industrial Co-operative 
 Society amounted in December, 1875, to 9,338 19s. lOd. ; the number 
 of members at the same period was 881. The total sales for the year 
 1875 amounted to 28,924 12s. 7d. ; dividends, Is. 8d. on members' 
 checks, and 2s. 6d. per bag, each quarter, on flour, and non-members 
 half the above amounts. The society has branch stores at Bruntcliffe 
 and Gildersome. 
 
 The society possesses a news and reading room, plentifully supplied 
 with newspapers and journals ; a circulating library, containing one 
 thousand volumes; both free to members; and a spacious assembly 
 room, capable of seating 400 persons. The business portion of the 
 premises is ample and commodious. The total amount of profits made 
 P
 
 206 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 by the society since its commencement is 12,133 ; total sales, 151,327 
 and expenses of working, 7,019. 
 
 The Morley Co-operative Quarry Company, established about four 
 years ago, is another successful association, or combination of working- 
 men, which bids fair to prove eminently successful. 
 
 Clubs and Friendly Societies have been established in Morley for a 
 considerable time, and have become so popular here that there are few 
 working men who do not belong to some one or other of them. The 
 various Orders of Freemasons, Odd-Fellows, Foresters, Free Gardeners, 
 Druids, and similar societies cannot, in Morley, date their origin earlier 
 than the year 1820. From the numbers connected with these societies 
 we find that a very large portion of the working classes in Morley are 
 men of provident habits, who make provision in case of sickness or 
 casualties, so as to place themselves independent of the workhouse or 
 parish relief, the latter too frequently doled out to applicants in a 
 manner hurtful to their feelings. 
 
 The oldest of these associations in the town is the New Industry 
 Lodge of Odd-Fellows, established in 1823, and located for about half a 
 century at the Cross Keys Inn, Stump Cross. In 1870 the members 
 decided to build a suitable place in which to hold their meetings, and 
 the foundation stone of the " Odd- Fellows' Hall " was laid on Saturday, 
 May 7th, 1870, by Mr. Wm. Bentley. The site is in Fountain Street, 
 and the building is of stone, in the Italian style of architecture. 
 
 The Freemasons of Morley are enrolled as the " Lodge of Integrity," 
 No. 380, under a warrant of constitution, dated 1825. On the 5th of 
 May, 1869, the foundation stone of a "Masonic Hall" was laid with 
 full masonic honours. The brethren and visitors met at the Fountain 
 Inn, and from thence proceeded to the site of the building in Commercial 
 Street. The stone was laid by J. Wordsworth, Esq., of Black Gates, and 
 in addressing the spectators he said, " In laying this stone I trust that 
 there will be built upon it a temple which shall promote harmony, 
 concord, and goodwill amongst large numbers. I am strongly in favour 
 of Masons holding their meetings away from public-houses, as more 
 consistent with the pure principles of Freemasonry. These principles 
 are pure, and there is no secresy in them, and the first of them inculcates 
 profound adoration for the Great Architect of the universe."
 
 THE WOOLLEN AND UNION CLOTH MANUFACTURE. 
 
 " Throw wide thy gates Oh Commerce ! teach mankind 
 The wondrous good which from thy bosom glows ! 
 Bid Industry thy golden kingdoms find ; 
 Lift thou mechanic arts before their foes, 
 And challenge pride to speak but what it knows ; 
 Display thy vast establishments of trade ; 
 Thy railways wharfs canals whence fortune flows, 
 Match the derided shuttle 'gainst the spade ! 
 The weaver's humble thread against the warrior's blade." SWAIN. 
 
 | HE woollen trade of Morley is of high antiquity, and has been 
 the staple trade of the town for centuries, though we do not 
 believe it to have been the first manufacture, for, as we have 
 already shown elsewhere, the getting and working of iron was, in all 
 probability, carried on in Morley long before the introduction of the 
 manufacture of woollen cloths. 
 
 Before the art of making cloth was introduced into this village, and 
 indeed for a considerable time previous to its general introduction into 
 this country, the trade of the nation largely consisted hi the exportation 
 of wool to the continent, and merchants from Flanders and elsewhere 
 came to England to make purchases. Previous to that time the 
 manufacture of cloth had been carried on in some few places in 
 Yorkshire, but on a very limited scale. 
 
 In the 12th century, as we are told by a reverend author, "gilds of 
 weavers were formed under Henry the Second in London and other 
 places, and though it may be supposed that the workmen were neither 
 very numerous nor expert in their business, yet they served to keep up 
 the little skill in the manufacture of cloth which they then possessed, 
 and prevented it being entirely lost." In the Hundred Rolls of 1284, 
 King Edward I., there is an account of a man named Evans, a weaver 
 of Gomersal, being confined in the prison of Bradford; and hi 1287, 
 there is a notice of Frizinghall, near Bradford, which took its name from 
 the coarse cloths called freize or frize, which were manufactured there.
 
 208 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 To King Edward the Third is justly due the honour of giving a great 
 impetus to the woollen and worsted manufactures in England. In the 
 tenth year of his reign he summoned his faithful Commons to consider 
 his noble design of reviving the almost extinct art of making cloth, and 
 thereby insuring to the wool growers the full value of their fleeces. The 
 parliament wisely adopted King Edward's suggestion, and an edict 
 was issued, inviting cloth workers to come hither from foreign parts, 
 assigning to them proper places to reside in, whereof York was one. 
 The exportation of wool was forbidden, but so lucrative was the trade 
 in wool that the practice was continued, and even after a tax of fifty 
 shillings per pack was imposed, so much wool was sent abroad that the 
 customs on it amounted annually to the large sum of 250,000. 
 
 This was in the early part of the fourteenth century, and from an 
 account left by Dr. Whitaker we learn, that 
 
 "A sack of wool sold for 6. The sack consisted, according to Spelman, of 
 twenty-six stones, each weighing fourteen pounds. A labourer then only received 
 a penny a day, and an ox was worth about thirteen shillings and fourpence ; 
 whence it follows, that at that time two and a half stones of wool would purchase 
 an ox, whereas a labourer will now earn the value of a stone of wool in a week at 
 that time it would require sixty days, so that poor sheepwalks were as valuable 
 as the best land. " 
 
 The Flemings, in the days of King Edward III., were most celebrated 
 for the making of cloths, and in 1331 the King gave letters of protection 
 to one John Kemp, a Flemish master manufacturer, to establish himself 
 at York, with weavers, fullers, and dyers to carry on his trade. At that 
 time the measure and size of cloth, grey and coloured, were regulated 
 by law : 
 
 " Whereby it is directed the length and breadth of the two sorts of cloth, that 
 the King's Aulneger shall measure them ; and they shall be forfeited to the king, 
 if they be short of the following lengths, viz. : the cloths of gray (not coloured) 
 were to be 28 yards in length, and six quarters broad ; secondly, the coloured 
 cloths were to be 26 long and six-and-a-half quarters wide. " 
 
 Whether any of the Flemish manufacturers settled in Morley, in the 
 fourteenth century, we are not prepared to say, but in all probability 
 such was the case. In the sixteenth century we find that the woollen 
 trade was carried on in Morley by one Richard Webster, who represented 
 a family deriving its surname from their occupation of "woollen 
 websters." Trading enterprise and agricultural occupations went hand 
 in hand, in these "good old times," when, if the rent was raised from 
 the farm, so much the better ; if not, the deficiency was made up from 
 the manufacturing profits.
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 209 
 
 Reliable information respecting the methods of manufacture carried on 
 in Morley extends back only to the year 1760, at which period the 
 handicraft was in its domestic stage, and confined to the fireside and the 
 cottage. The hand-loom was in use at that time, and the weavers had 
 to work fifteen hours a day for a shilling ! Here is consolation for the 
 workers of the present day, when they see that their ancestors worked 
 harder and for much worse fare than they themselves do. The 
 "Apprenticeship" system was at that time in full force, and continued 
 
 Flemish Weaver XlVth Century. 
 
 until the early part of the present century. A few are still living who 
 remember the hardships they experienced during the time they were 
 serving their "apprenticeship" under the system, then legal, of com- 
 pelling manufacturers and others to take boys and girls from the parish 
 authorities. 
 
 The introduction of machinery during the latter part of the eighteenth 
 century met with opposition from the small clothiers, which culminated 
 in an attempt in 1804 to preserve the " domestic manufacture " by Act 
 of Parliament. In that year a bill passed the Houses of Parliament, 
 which provided that no person should begin to be a clothier or woollen
 
 210 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 manufacturer unless he was duly qualified by having served an 
 apprenticeship. It also stated the number of looms such clothiers should 
 have in their own houses for the manufacturing of broad cloth ; in fact, 
 all the provisions of this bill were framed with a view to the perpetuation 
 of the " domestic manufacture." The preamble to this bill had in it the 
 following clause : " That the employment of persons in the woollen 
 trade to spin and weave and make cloth at their own houses, has 
 produced the most beneficial effects ; and the employment of numerous 
 looms in the same manufactory should be prohibited." When the cloth 
 was ready for the market, the happy (?) clothier of a century or two 
 ago could not, as we do now, step into the train and find himself at the 
 market in a few minutes. It was no uncommon thing for them to carry 
 the piece of cloth to Leeds on their heads, and when they arrived there 
 they had to stand in Briggate to sell it, in all sorts of weather. 
 
 The following is a list of Morley manufacturers attending the Coloured 
 Cloth Hall, Leeds, in 1817, with the inns they frequented : 
 
 Asquith Joseph, Saddle Leathley John, Saddle 
 
 Barns John, Saddle Lister James, Fox and Grapes 
 
 Barron Isaac, Saddle Lister Samuel, Fox and Grapes 
 
 Barran John, Saddle Locock John, Black Lion 
 
 Bradley James, Talbot Newsome W., George and Dragon 
 
 Bradley John, Saddle Oakes William, WJiite Sivan 
 
 Orowther Isaac, Saddle Scarth S. and W., White Swan 
 
 Dixon Benjamin, Swan Scarth Joseph, White Swan 
 
 Dixon Joseph, Nag's Head Scarth Thomas, White Swan 
 
 Dixon David, Nag's Head Smith George, Saddle 
 
 Dixon Thomas, Old Geortje Smith Samuel, White Swan 
 
 Dixon William, Saddle Topham Chris. , Saddle 
 
 Dixon John, Saddle Watson Isaac, Old George 
 
 Dodgson and Co. , Swan Watson Joseph, Old George 
 
 Garnett John, Saddle Webster J. and Sons, Saddle 
 
 Jackson James, Rodney Webster Mark, Saddle 
 
 Jackson John, Rodney Webster Nathaniel, Saddle 
 
 Thoresby has left us an amusing description of the cloth market in 
 Briggate. He says : 
 
 "The famous cloth-market, the life not of the town alone, but these parts of 
 England, is held in this street sub dio, twice every week, viz. , upon Tuesdays and 
 Saturdays, early in the mornings. The Brig-end-shots have made as great a noise 
 amongst the vulgar, where the clothier may, together with his pot of ale, have a 
 Noggin of Pottage, and a Trencher of either Boil'd or Roast Meat for Two-pence, 
 as the Market itself, amongst the more judicious, where several thousand pounds 
 worth of Broad-Cloth are bought, and paid for in a few hours time, and this, 
 with so profound a silence as is surprising to strangers. After the signal is given 
 by the Bell at the Old Chapel by the Bridge, the Cloth and Benches are removed,
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 211 
 
 so that the Street is at liberty for the Country Linen-Drapers, Shoo-makers, Hard- 
 ware-men, and the sellers of Wood- Vessels, Wicker-Baskets, Wanded- Chairs, 
 Flakes, etc." 
 
 After the market was over, it was customary to take the goods, if 
 unsold, to the " Rodney," or some other inn, and leave them in a small 
 room upstairs, or deposit them in the cellar, and on the following market 
 day the clothiers went by four or five o'clock in the morning, to find the 
 goods where they had left them ; if they had gone later, there would 
 have been a difficulty in finding them, as the whole stock would have 
 been squandered about the place. 
 
 Strange stories are told of the deceptions practised by some of these 
 old Yorkshire clothiers, in making and preparing cloths, and some of 
 the latter got an ill name, which is perpetuated to this day, in regard to 
 the manufacture of Morley union cloths, though for somewhat different 
 reasons to those which brought upon the "maister clothiers" of 
 Thoresby's time the indignation of the merchants. Various Acts of 
 Parliament were made to "regulate the manufacture" of woollen cloths. 
 Complaints were also rife as to the exorbitant lengths of the goods, and 
 Thoresby tells us that 
 
 "In 1583, a pair of Tenters, was but 26 or 28 yards long, whereas now (1710) 
 to the great oppression of both Man and Beast in Carriage, etc., Cloths are above 
 60 yards long." 
 
 In 1790 an event of an important character took place in connection 
 with the development of the Morley trade. A member of the family of 
 Webster, an enterprising gentleman, prevailed upon Earl Dartmouth, in 
 that year, to erect a factory, to be wrought by a steam engine, and 
 Crank Mill was built, and was the first mill erected in the neighbourhood. 
 Previous to that date the hills and valleys of Morley were innocent of 
 those large buildings and tall chimneys which now meet the eye in all 
 directions, telling us their tale of busy labour and ceaseless production. 
 
 The steam engine was brought into requisition at the Crank Mill, and 
 as its capabilities considerably exceeded either the horse-gin or water- 
 wheel, it caused, at that time, as great a sensation in the village as it 
 did a few years ago to the stranger who, coming from Leeds by rail, 
 was arrested by its appearance at the outside of the mill, in much the 
 same primitive form as when put up nearly a century ago. But we must 
 bear in mind that this was erected almost immediately after the genius 
 of Watt had rendered steam applicable to manufacturing purposes. The 
 dimensions of Crank Mill were large for the time; it contained three 
 or four billies, having twenty-four spindles each, with scribblers and
 
 212 
 
 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 carders to correspond. In a few years after Crank Mill was built, Rods 
 Mill was erected ; and Scatcherd writing of tins period condemns, in the 
 following severe language, the factory system : 
 
 "If one could wonder at anything now-a-days, it would be that such establish- 
 ments have not long since been a subject of legislative interference. One thing is 
 certain, that they are polluting our youth, who, huddled together, males and 
 females, in these pest houses the factories are exposed to the contagion of bad 
 example, and immoral intercourse ; and we find the boy, receiving his weekly 
 wages, is now a man at about sixteen years of age, perfectly aware of his 
 independence, and, of course, under no sort of control. " 
 
 Doubtless there was some truth in these strictures, for some of the old 
 mills are not pleasant places to work in even now. Low rooms so 
 crowded with machinery as to prevent cleanliness, and with an over- 
 heated atmosphere redolent of grease, can scarcely be the most healthy 
 places in which to labour. When we remember besides, that, at the 
 time of which we write, there was no factory inspector, that the 
 machinery was unfenced, and that the ordinary time of work was fifteen 
 hours per day, and extended not unfrequently through the night, we 
 may reasonably admit the charge of unhealthiness. As to the 
 immorality of the employment, we are not so certain that the charge 
 was justifiable, inasmuch as it seems to have been solely made on the
 
 HISTOBY OF MORLEY. 213 
 
 theoretical deduction, that where a large number of both sexes were 
 thrown together, immorality must of necessity exist. 
 
 In order to give the reader an opportunity of judging as to the 
 progress made, not only in the machinery but in the buildings used for 
 manufacturing purposes, we subjoin a view of Albert Mills, recently 
 erected. These extensive premises are the property of Messieurs A. 
 Barrowclough and Co., [ William Smith, ] and employ upwards of two 
 hundred workpeople. The main building is a substantial stone structure, 
 ninety yards long by eighteen yards wide ; in the centre of the building 
 is the engine house, containing a forty-horse power condensing beam 
 engine. Within the mill, all the varied processess of cloth manufacture, 
 with the exception of dyeing, are carried on, and the machinery is able 
 to turn out twelve thousand yards of cloth, weekly. 
 
 Albert Mills. 
 
 The introduction of cotton warp, about the year 1838, by Mr. Joseph 
 Hodgshon, may be said to form the turning point in the histoiy of the 
 trade of the town, for the manufactures of Morley have risen since then 
 to a marvellous degree of importance and prosperity. Not that the 
 progress has been uninterrupted, or that it has all been one even course 
 of profitable trade, for Morley has seen its panics, and felt the distress 
 consequent thereon. In 1837 the operatives in the village almost 
 reached the starvation point ; for nearly all the manufacturers were at 
 a stand. Having been engaged for a considerable time in producing 
 goods for the American market, the latter became glutted, and the goods 
 when they reached the other side of the Atlantic were in many cases 
 detained until they were comparatively valueless. This kept the money 
 of the employers fast, and the consequence was, that they could do
 
 214 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 
 
 little to relieve the distress around them : numbers of the operatives left 
 home and went into the agricultural districts a begging. 
 
 The Plug Riots of 1842, in which Morley participated, were caused 
 by an attempt on the part of the operatives to provoke a general 
 uprising of their class, for the purpose of compelling the Government to 
 yield to force what it seemed unwilling to concede to milder measures. 
 It was " an attempt on the part of the Chartists to stop all work until 
 Parliament should concede the doctrine of universal suffrage in the 
 election of the House of Commons." Bands of men from neighbouring 
 towns made their way to Morley, where being joined by some disaffected 
 townsmen, they entered one or two mills which were running, and 
 stopped the machinery by knocking out the boiler plugs, thus allowing 
 the water and steam to escape. Some of the Morley rioters were 
 sentenced to long terms of imprisonment in York Castle for the part 
 they took in this rising. 
 
 The years 1847 and 1857 witnessed further panics in the cloth trade. 
 These in a great measure took their rise in the United States of 
 America; the mercantile and manufacturing classes suffered severely; 
 for many mouths in each of these years there was a paralysis of 
 business in this and the neighbouring towns. For the sake of the 
 operatives, whose condition was most painful, we trust that we have 
 seen the last of these drawbacks to the well-being of our villagers. 
 
 In 1851, Morley had only six mills engaged in the manufacture of 
 cloth ; now it has twenty-six, and two thousand looms, confined almost 
 exclusively to the production of union cloths, which find a market in 
 every part of the world, and have also a large home consumption. 
 
 " To every clime his labours stalk. 
 
 ***** 
 
 From pole to pole they hawk the work 
 Made by this English wight. " 
 
 SONGS OF THE WILSONS The Weaver. 
 
 In the various International and other Exhibitions, the productions of 
 the Morley looms have elicited general admiration, and the following 
 manufacturers have been awarded medals for the superiority of their 
 productions : 
 
 London, 1862. Messrs. Thomas Daniel Dixon and A. Scott and Son. 
 Wakefield, 1865. Messrs. A. Scott and Son, William Smith, juu., D. Hinchcliff, 
 
 Dixon, Nicholls, and Co. , and J. and E. Stockwell. 
 Paris, 1867. Messrs. William Smith, jun., A. Scott and Son, and Dixon, 
 
 Nicholls, and Co. 
 Vienna, 1873. Messrs. William Smith, jun., William King, and J. Webster 
 
 and Son. 
 Leeds, 1875. Messrs. Joseph Webster and Son.
 
 HISTOEY OF MORLEY. 
 
 215 
 
 The present position of the Union cloth manufacture in Morley will 
 be best gathered from the accompanying table, showing, as it does, the 
 capabilities of each mill in the town : 
 
 Name df Mill. 
 
 Owner or Occupier. 
 
 0> l-> 
 
 g 
 
 * 
 
 i J 
 
 A % 
 *->t 
 
 ft on 
 
 y 
 
 02^ 
 
 02 
 
 O 
 
 *1 
 
 *> 
 
 i i -^ 
 
 TS'o 
 SS 
 
 SO S3 
 cifi 
 
 *s 
 
 a5 
 SO 
 
 3 
 
 Albert 
 
 A. Barrowclough & Co. 
 
 60 
 
 9 
 
 3840 
 
 120 
 
 11 
 
 3 
 
 6 
 
 Albion 
 
 John Mitchell 
 
 35 
 
 7 
 
 2724 
 
 62 
 
 12 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 Britannia 
 
 James Ross 
 
 35 
 
 10 
 
 4292 
 
 124 
 
 10 2 
 
 8 
 
 Cobden 
 
 Jas. Sharp 
 
 10 
 
 3 
 
 1200 
 
 30 
 
 
 
 
 
 Crank 
 
 Charles Hirst & Bro. 
 
 15 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 8 
 
 Daisy Hill 
 
 David Hartley 
 
 25 
 
 3 
 
 1320 
 
 20 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 Fountain Street 
 
 John Driver 
 
 20 
 
 5 
 
 2280 
 
 58 
 
 7 
 
 1 
 
 - 
 
 Finishing 
 
 Cloth Finishing Co. 
 
 25 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 28 
 
 Gillroyd 
 
 Gillroyd Mill Co. 
 
 110 
 
 22 
 
 8992 
 
 290 
 
 25 
 
 4 
 
 
 
 Hembrigg 
 
 Stockwell and Barron 
 
 25 
 
 8 
 
 3384 
 
 104 
 
 9 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 Hollow Top 
 
 Watson and Holton 
 
 6 
 
 
 
 
 
 47 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Low Moor 
 
 S. Dixon and Son 
 
 25 
 
 3 
 
 1368 48 
 
 5 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 Prospect 
 
 Isaac Bradley 
 
 16 
 
 5 
 
 2064 
 
 56 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 Peel 
 
 W. and E. Jackson 
 
 50 
 
 14 
 
 5076 
 
 146 11 
 
 
 
 . 
 
 Peel Street 
 
 J. and S. Rayner 
 
 17 
 
 3 
 
 1296 
 
 36 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 Prospect 
 
 Josiah Rhodes 
 
 40 
 
 9 
 
 3676 
 
 111 11 
 
 3 
 
 8 
 
 Providence 
 
 S. and J. Schofield 
 
 20 
 
 4 
 
 1296 
 
 45, 5 
 
 
 
 
 
 Perseverance 
 
 A. Marshall and Son 
 
 25 
 
 4 
 
 1908 
 
 53 5 
 
 
 
 4 
 
 Perseverance 
 
 W. Ramsden 
 
 32 
 
 5 
 
 3104 
 
 68 9 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 Quarry 
 
 D. Scholes 
 
 16 
 
 3 
 
 1020 
 
 32 4 
 
 
 
 
 
 Queen's 
 
 J. Stanhope and Son 
 
 35 
 
 11 
 
 3474 
 
 113 12 
 
 2 
 
 10 
 
 Rods 
 
 Watson and Holton 
 
 40 
 
 9 
 
 4447 
 
 81 11 
 
 
 
 
 
 Springfield 
 
 Hudson, Sykes, and Co. 
 
 35 
 
 10 
 
 3560 
 
 140 9 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 Spout Well 
 
 John Greenwood 
 
 15 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 3 
 
 
 
 Valley 
 
 Valley Mills Co. 
 
 40 
 
 11 
 
 4200 
 
 105 13 
 
 
 
 
 
 Victoria 
 
 S. Binks 
 
 25 
 
 6 
 
 2496 
 
 78 5 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 Wellington 
 
 J. Webster and Son 
 
 25 
 
 4 
 
 1208 
 
 33 
 
 6 
 
 
 
 
 
 Totals ... 
 
 822 
 
 168 
 
 68225 
 
 2000 | 180 
 
 30 
 
 72 
 
 Many of the mills in the above list are occupied under a plurality of 
 tenure, the various occupiers having just risen to the dignity of employers 
 of labour, and making up by their personal work and supervision, for 
 smallness of capital and other disadvantages ; and in course of time, if 
 things go well with them, they will build for themselves, and leave their 
 present temporary holdings to the next aspirants for mastership. In 
 many of the above-named mills, light, cleanliness, and comfort are 
 prominent features; the rooms are lofty and well ventilated, and are 
 carefully lime-washed. 
 
 A stranger visiting the Morley mills would not discern anything 
 approaching an unhealthy appearance amongst the operatives. The 
 manufacture is not injurious to health, as the registrar's returns of the
 
 216 HISTORY OP MORLEY. 
 
 mortality of the town will compare favourably with other districts ; and 
 it is not uncommon to find, that in the weaving sheds, occupied by 
 female workers, cheerful hilarity is the rule, and the noise of the 
 machinery is often drowned by the singing of a favourite hymn or 
 popular melody. Such is the popularity of factory employment in 
 Morley, that domestic service has to be performed by strangers, and 
 good servants are both scarce and costly. 
 
 The order of the trade of Morley seems to have been, first, the 
 domestic woollen manufacture ; next, the making of wool goods, known 
 as " German twills," for the German market ; afterwards the production 
 of haberdashery cloths, which for a long time gave the name of 
 "dashers" to the makers. These latter cloths were made principally 
 for the American market, and were very much similar to the cloths now 
 made, except in being made with woollen instead of cotton warp. A 
 few superfine cloths were also made about that time ; then followed the 
 present manufacture of union cloths. To the industry, prudently con- 
 ducted enterprise, and perseverance of the few manufacturers who, 
 under no ordinary difficulties, prosecuted this last manufacture, are the 
 working population of Morley at this day indebted for the enjoyment of 
 comforts unknown to their forefathers. Verily, if he who makes " two 
 blades of grass grow where only one grew before," is to be esteemed as 
 a benefactor to his country, we may well regard with admiration and 
 praise the men who have made twelve thousand people happy, where 
 formerly there were scarcely as many hundreds, who dragged on a 
 miserable, half-civilised kind of life, with few or any of the comforts 
 which may now be found in almost every house in the town. 
 
 In 1869 a Chamber of Commerce was established, which has rendered 
 important services to the town and trade of the district, but we are 
 sorry to learn that the Chamber does not receive that encouragement 
 which its importance deserves. The number of members at present is 
 forty-two ; the office of president is held by Joshua Asquith, Esq., wool 
 merchant ; and the secretary is Mr. Lewis Dransfield. 
 
 In 1872 the manufacturers, feeling themselves aggrieved by the 
 exorbitant premiums for insurance of woollen mills, charged by the 
 various insurance offices, formed a local company under the title of the 
 " Morley Mutual Fire Insurance Company, Limited." The services of 
 an inspector of fire risks were obtained, and a steam fire-engine pur- 
 chased at a cost of eight hundred pounds. The chairman of the company 
 is Councillor Webster, of Gildersome, and Mr. W. Smith is secretary. 
 
 Having traced the rise and progress of the staple trade of the town, 
 from the earliest period to the present time, we shall now describe the
 
 H1STOEY OF MORLEY. 217 
 
 processes of manufacture, ancient and modern, from the selection of the 
 raw material, to the finished piece of cloth. The processes are : ' 
 
 1. Selection and Sorting of the Wool. 
 
 2. Scouring the Wool to remove the grease and dirt. 
 
 3. Rags, Shoddy, and Mungo cleaning and grinding. 
 
 4. Willeying, for rough-cleaning the various materials. 
 
 5. Sprinkling with Oil, to facilitate the working. 
 
 6. Teasing, with the Teaser, to mix or blend the materials. 
 
 7. Scribbling, Carding, and Condensing. 
 
 8. Spinning, by means of the Self-acting Mule. 
 
 9. Dressing or Beaming of Cotton Warp. 
 
 10. Weaving, at the Power Loom. 
 
 11. Burling, to pick out dirt and irregularities in Weaving. 
 
 12. Milling, or Fulling with soap. 
 
 13. Raising the nap or face of the Cloth with Teazles. 
 
 14. Cutting or shearing off the nap. 
 
 15. Boiling, to give the cloth a permanent face. 
 
 1 6. Dyeing the cloth. 
 
 17. Drying and Tentering, to keep out the width. 
 
 18. Pressing in hydraulic presses with heat. 
 
 In describing the above processes, we shall notice the various improve- 
 ments which have, from time to time, been made in the machinery by 
 which these processes are carried on ; and also endeavour to give, by 
 means of the numerous illustrations accompanying the text, some idea to 
 the uninitiated of the various complex and ingenious contrivances by 
 means of which clothing for the masses is produced. To any who may 
 wish for a better acquaintance with the processes of manufacture, we 
 would recommend a visit to one of our mills, where much may be seen, 
 both to please and to instruct. 
 
 1. SELECTION AND SORTING OF WOOL. This article, though 
 absolutely necessary, does not enter so largely into the union manufac- 
 ture as it does into other branches of the woollen trade. German wool 
 was, at one time, the only kind used here, but it has been superseded by 
 the Australian wools, which are better adapted for the Morley trade, 
 possessing, as they do, superior felting properties ; that is, when 
 subjected to pressure and warm moisture, in the milling process, the 
 fibres of the wool interlock with the fibres of the other materials, and 
 the whole form a compact material, or substance, not easily separable. 
 
 Wool is received by the manufacturers in the state of firmly-rolled 
 single fleeces, tied up with twine, except in cases where the wool has 
 been scoured or hand- washed before leaving Australia. In either case,
 
 218 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 the wool has been packed in bales (weighing from two to five hundred- 
 weights each), by means of hydraulic pressure. It is loaded with 
 natural grease, and holds entangled in its fibres much foreign matter 
 such as earth, stones, seeds, bits of stick, and other substances with 
 which the sheep had come in contact. In the days when sorting the 
 wool was more a necessity than it is at present, this work was performed 
 by a workman called a "sorter," who stood in front of a table, or 
 " hurl," made of open wirework, on which he unrolled and spread out. 
 each fleece by itself. He then proceeded to detach from the bulk those 
 portions which yielded wool of an inferior quality, and put them into 
 separate baskets; whilst this process went on, the interstices in the 
 wire table allowed small stones, and loose coarse dirt of any kind, to 
 pass through on to the floor below. Many Colonial wools are filled with 
 " burrs" of extraordinary tenacity, and before they can be used, they 
 have to be freed from these, by means of the " burring machine," by 
 which the " burrs " are separated from the fibres. 
 
 The Colonials wools are, in most cases, obtained from the brokers in 
 London, who hold periodical sales by auction five times in the course of 
 the year. The present value of the wools used in Morley ranges from 
 Is. 6d. to 3s. per Ib. for scoured Port Philips and Sydneys, or about 
 treble the price of the two vegetable substances used in the cotton and 
 linen manufactures. The points which guide the manufacturer in the 
 selection of wool are, fineness, strength, freedom from burrs, moits, 
 kemps or white hairs (impervious to the dye), and dust. As the sorting 
 process, except in very special cases, is not carried on in Morley, it is 
 necessary that the wool, when bought, should be, as much as possible, 
 uniform in quality. As a rule the wool, when received in bales from 
 London, is at once subjected to the scouring process. 
 
 2. WOOL SCOURING. Alkali is the principal ingredient used in this 
 process, which has for its object the cleansing of the wool from the 
 grease with which it is naturally impregnated. The wool scouring 
 machine was brought into use at Morley about the year 1826, and was 
 of the most simple character, consisting of an iron pan, about five feet 
 in diameter, and four feet in depth, into which the wool was placed, 
 along with scouring liquor or ley. Having been agitated and allowed 
 to remain some time, it was, by means of a three-pronged wooden fork, 
 transferred to a feed brat, which passed it to the two squeezing rollers, 
 and thence into a bag or sheet placed for its reception. This mode of 
 scouring is still all but universal here, though great improvements upon 
 hand-scouring have been made by a patent wool-scouring machine, 
 introduced in 1853. This excellent machine consists of a long trough
 
 :-,. PATENT RAG GR1NDTK
 
 HISTOEY OF MOELEY. 219 
 
 containing alkaline lye, in which four rakes are made to " pass or drag 
 the wool automatically from the continual in-feed of wool until it reaches 
 a patent slide-lifter, which transfers it in regular quantities, according to 
 the feed, to the squeezing rollers." These rollers express the surplus 
 liquor, and the wool is then thoroughly washed in water as pure and 
 soft as possible. The apparently simple operation of drying the wool 
 requires careful attention, because if either too much or too suddenly 
 heated, it becomes harsh and brittle. A very efficient plan is to spread 
 the wool on galvanised wire-work, and then blow either hot or cold air 
 through it by means of a blast-fan. This dissipates the moisture while 
 it retains the natural softness of the fibre. The first of these machines 
 in Yorkshire was worked at Saltaire. 
 
 After the wool is scoured by the hand process it is taken to the 
 drying room, over the boilers, which supply steam for the mill, and the 
 wool is spread over a floor consisting of perforated iron plates. When 
 the wool is perfectly dry it is taken up and weighed ; thence transferred 
 to the " willey room," where it joins company with many other kinds of 
 material, all of which are required to produce the multifarious descrip- 
 tions of union cloths for which Morley has become famous. 
 
 First and foremost amongst these auxiliaries is Mungo, or ground 
 " tailors' clippings ;" Fud, the waste obtained from mills, in which all 
 wool cloths are manufactured, and is the refuse from the scribbling 
 machines ; Willey-locks, the small fine locks that fall through the grates 
 in the process of willeying ; German flocks, the waste in the finishing of 
 fine German cloths; Nippings, the refuse of the spinning mules; all 
 these and some others of less importance enter into the manufacture of 
 Union cloths. 
 
 3. KAG CLEANING AND GRINDING. Of the use of woollen rags, 
 new and old, in the union manufacture, much has been said, both of a 
 disparaging and of a complimentary nature. Our own opinion is, that 
 this manufacture has created a source of national wealth, by utilising 
 materials which were previously thrown away ; employs an enormous 
 amount of capital, and supplies both home and foreign markets with 
 cloth in every respect suitable to meet the requirements of the million. 
 
 As to the origin of " mungo," the principal ingredient in the Morley 
 manufacture, we have definite information. The discovery of this 
 article of commerce was made by George Parr, of Howley Mill, in 
 Morley. On seeing some old clothes being torn up by rag machines, 
 for the purpose of being used as flocks, the idea occurred to him that 
 the material was capable of being used for more important purposes. 
 He determined to purchase a quantity and have it manufactured into
 
 220 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 cloth. Having bought the material, he persuaded Mr. John Watson, 
 manufacturer, of Hungerhill, Morley, to try its properties, and the trial 
 proved the possibility of its being ultimately utilised. The cloth was, 
 however, spoiled by the presence of cotton, from the seams of the 
 garments, but this was remedied by the employment of women to sort 
 and seam the rags previous to their being ground. The experiment 
 was renewed and with perfect success. This occurred about the year 
 1834, and it is noteworthy that the article derives its name from two 
 vernacular words which, translated into English, mean "must go." It 
 originated from a remark made by Saml. Parr, brother of the discoverer, 
 who, on being unable to persuade a manufacturer to buy some of the 
 material, wrapped up his samples, with the remark that, it inun go, 
 meaning that it must go. 
 
 After the rags have been received from the rag merchant, who has 
 sorted them into various qualities, they are subjected to a process of 
 cleaning, by means of the " rag-shaker," a machine intended to free the 
 rags from dust. When the rags are sufficiently cleaned, they are spread 
 in layers upon the floor of the grinding room, and upon each layer is 
 sprinkled a quantity of olive or galipoli oil, to facilitate the grinding 
 process and lessen the friction. The merit of introducing the rag 
 machine into Yorkshire must be awarded to Brighouse, though soon 
 after that time two of these machines were in operation in Scotchman 
 Lane, Morley, near to Howley Mill. These were propelled by a water 
 wheel, though it had been elsewhere attempted to work them by manual 
 labour, a feat altogether impossible, on account of the force required. 
 
 The rag machine of 1820 was very different to the rag machine of 
 1876, for the swift, or revolving cylinder, set with iron-toothed plates, 
 ground the rags at two points, viz., at the corresponding level of its 
 ascending and descending revolution, or, to speak less technically, on 
 both sides of the swift. The speed of the machine when working was 
 much slower than at present, and the waste, from all the rags not being 
 torn sufficiently, was considerable. 
 
 The rag machine at present consists of a swift or cylinder, containing 
 some fourteen thousand teeth, revolving at the rate of seven hundred 
 revolutions per minute, and would travel, if running over the ground in 
 a straight line, nearly one hundred miles per hour ; it is, in fact, this 
 rapid revolution which is the cause of its effectiveness. The rags are 
 placed on a travelling " server" which carries them to the swift, when 
 the machine seizes them and tears them at one point only, viz., at the 
 centre of the ascending motion, or at the front of the swift. The rags 
 are now suddenly transformed into fibrous wool, which is used, along
 
 3- SHAKE WILLEY, 
 
 4. TEASER. 
 
 Woodburytype,
 
 HISTOEY Ol 1 MOKLEY. 221 
 
 with other materials, to produce a cheap cloth with a fine surface and of 
 moderate strength. 
 
 At the present time there are thirty rag machines in the town, each 
 producing twenty packs of rag-wool or mungo per week ; allowing two 
 weeks per year for holidays and repairs, the annual production will 
 amount to the grand total of 7,200,000 pounds weight. 
 
 In addition to this quantity of home-made mnngo, an equal amount 
 in weight of mungo, "imported" from neighbouring towns ani the 
 Continent of Europe, principally from Germany, is used. The qualities 
 of the mungoes sent to England from the last-named country are much 
 superior to those of home production, and are evidently the result of 
 careful supervision in the sorting and subsequent processes. 
 
 One result of the use of mungo in Morley manufactures is, that it 
 cheapens cloth, and enables thousands, nay millions, to have a woollen 
 garment who might otherwise be unable to procure one. It is, so far, a 
 legitimate application of a waste fabric to useful industrial purposes, and 
 the Union manufacture is now to be classed amongst the great industries 
 of the nation. 
 
 WlLLEYlNG. Fifty years ago the "teazer" only was in use for 
 opening the wool and mixing or "blending" the material together. 
 About the year 1825, the " shake- willey," a stronger and coarser- 
 toothed machine, was introduced, to open and disentangle the locks of 
 wool and other materials, whilst at the same time ridding them of sand, 
 dust, seeds, and other impurities. The willey consists of an open 
 cylinder or drum, with ten or twelve ribs, on each of which is a row of 
 spikes. Three rollers, each with ten rows of similar spikes, are placed 
 over the drum, so that when the machine is in motion, the spikes on the 
 roller pass through the spaces between those on the drum. By this 
 arrangement the wool is opened, and the impurities fall through the wire 
 grating beneath. 
 
 The time has now arrived when it is necessary to decide upon the 
 proportions of the various materials which are intended to form the 
 "blend," and having laid them upon the floor of the willey house, 
 proceed with the operation of mixing together. As the wool is mixed 
 with the other materials, it is plentifully sprinkled with oil, which 
 renders the fibres soft, flexible, and better fitted for later operations. 
 
 5. SPRINKLING WITII OIL. This is a most necessary operation, 
 in order that subsequent processes may be accomplished satisfactorily. 
 The oil is sprinkled on the wool by means of a tin vessel, having a wide 
 spout with numerous small holes, emitting a continuous spray. Galipoli, 
 olive, and "Price's Patent" are the oils chiefly used in this district, 
 Q
 
 222 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 
 
 though substitutes for oil have been repeatedly tried, but with little 
 success. 
 
 As the blending and oiling proceeds, we may remark that, forty years 
 ago, the weavers and spinners were called from their own work to assist 
 in this operation, and with the exception of an allowance of beer, 
 received no remuneration, but blending is now done by persons appointed 
 solely for the purpose. The materials having been mixed, they are next 
 passed through the teaser. 
 
 6. TEASING. By means of the "teaser" the matted portions of the 
 materials, which have not been subjected to the process of willeying, are 
 torn open and separated into small tufts. The machine consists of one 
 large and a number of small cylinders, studded over with many 
 thousands of iron teeth, and performing from 1,000 to 2,000 revolutions 
 per minute ; they tease the materials as they revolve, and throw them 
 out in light and airy flakes. 
 
 7. SCRIBBLING, CARDING, AND CONDENSING. These are the most 
 important operations in the manufacture of cloth, because the quality of 
 the yarn depends on the manner in which they are executed, and it is 
 not easy to remedy any defects in these processes in the subsequent 
 stages. The scribbler is a formidable looking machine, thirty to forty 
 feet in length, and consists of three or four large cylinders, known as 
 "swifts," each surrounded by a number of small rollers, called "workers, 
 fancies, and strippers." There is also a "doffing" cylinder and one or 
 two others. All these are covered with cards formed of wire, the points 
 of which on the " swifts " and " strippers," etc., incline in opposite 
 directions, so as to card the wool by opening, mixing, and blending the 
 fibres until they reach the "feed" of the carder in one thin continuous 
 sheet. 
 
 We shall now say something respecting the cards which cover the 
 cylinders, etc., of both scribbling and carding engines. Cards, for the 
 preparation of all fibrous substances, have been in use from time 
 immemorial ; indeed, ever since we have any traces of civilisation. The 
 following description of cards and cardmaking cannot fail to prove 
 interesting : " A card, such as was used in the early stages of 
 manufacture, was more like a large brush, and this brush was composed 
 of fine wire bristles, which leaned at a given angle instead of being 
 straight up. Two such brushes or cards were used together by the 
 operator, having one in each hand ; tufts of wool were placed on them, 
 and by repeatedly stroking one brush against the other, the tufts of 
 wool were straightened and lay amongst the wire bristles, which then 
 only required to be taken carefully away from the card without
 
 HISTOEY OF MOKLEY. 223 
 
 disturbing the smoothness of the wool. These straightened tufts were 
 called 'cardings.' After being prepared in this manner, the carding 
 was taken and spun by hand. This primitive mode of manufacture 
 gave employment to a large portion of our agricultural population when 
 not required upon the land. We now come to the card as since 
 introduced, first noticing its preparation by hand. The mode of pro- 
 cedure was to prepare a sheet of leather, 18iu. or 20in. long and 4in. 
 broad, which was ruled with lines at regular intervals, and pierced with 
 a two-bladed pricker until the sheec was full of little holes. The wire 
 was next cut with a pair of shears into lengths of about an inch, bent 
 by hand into the shape of a staple, and next bent again or hooked to 
 form a card-tooth. These teeth were then taken singly and put into 
 the holes of the leather, and when the sheet was filled with teeth it was 
 nailed on to a board with a handle, and was ready for use. During this 
 early period the manufacture of cards was on a very limited scale in 
 proportion to the present. As will be seen, three operations were 
 required to make the tooth alone, besides the pricking of the holes in the 
 leather and inserting the wire teeth one by one. All these operations 
 are now "performed by machines of the most ingenious and beautiful 
 mechanism, and by their assistance one man can now produce more 
 work than one thousand could by hand labour. It may be interesting 
 to know how such an important change has been accomplished. About 
 fifty years ago a machine was invented which took the wire from the 
 hank and cut off the desired length, doubled the staple, made the crook 
 or bend at one operation, and produced about one hundred teeth per 
 minute. One man would superintend twenty such machines, thus 
 making an important saving in point of labour ; but at the same time no 
 progress had been made in putting (or, what is called by the trade, 
 setting) the card teeth into the leather sheet, this having been done by 
 hand. An experienced hand could set 1800 teeth per hour. As far 
 back as 1811 letters patent w r ere taken out for a machine for setting 
 cards; again in 1814 and 1824; but none could be brought into practical 
 use until the late Mr. Dyer brought a machine from America and 
 commenced successful operations in Manchester about forty years ago. 
 Since that period hand setting has generally disappeared, and at present 
 the trade has adopted this mode of machine setting. The best machine 
 will set and make about 300 teeth per minute, or 18,000 per hour; and 
 one man will superintend fifteen of such machines. This would give 
 270,000 per hour, or 150 times as much as when done by hand." We 
 have, through the kindness of Messrs. S. Law and Sons, of Cleckheaton, 
 the privilege to present our readers with representations of these 
 beautiful card setting machines.
 
 224 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 Without attempting to settle the disputed point as to who was the 
 inventor of the carding machine, we must award to Arkwright the merit 
 of effecting great improvements in the carding process. The father of 
 the first Sir Robert Peel had attempted cylinder carding in Blackburn, 
 about 17GO, instead of handcombing, to straighten the fibres of cotton, 
 but the difficulty of stripping the cylinders by hand caused its abandon- 
 ment. Hargreaves, in 1773, brought out the crank and comb for 
 stripping the wool from the cylinders in one continuous fleece. Two 
 years later this contrivance was included in a patent by Arkwright, and 
 Ilargreaves lost the credit of the invention. 
 
 The carder, like the scribbler, is made up of a series of cylinders, each 
 covered with the leather fabric, from which an infinite number of wire 
 teeth project. When the delicate film leaves the scribbler, it drops on 
 to a travelling apron, and whilst the latter is moving backwards and 
 forwards, the wool is laid upon it in numerous thicknesses, and it is at 
 the same time being wound upon a cylinder or bobbin, the width of tlie 
 carder. This bobbin is then attached to the carder, and the wool is 
 still further straightened by the time it has passed over the numerous 
 swifts, fancies, and workers of the machine. In this process of feeding 
 the carder, many improvements have been made. Twenty years ago, 
 the feeding of both scribbler and carder was done by hand, and 
 commenced by a sort of travelling platform, on which a weighed 
 quantity of wool was evenly spread, to be carried by it under the first 
 wheel. When the wool had passed over the scribbling machine, it was 
 detached from the " doffer " or last cylinder by a sort of comb, and was 
 diverted laterally through a smooth ring, which delivered it in a 
 continuous rope. This was known as " Apperley's feed," and was a 
 great improvement upon hand-feeding, inasmuch as it dispensed with 
 the services of an attendant, and performed the work much better. 
 Apperley's feed has, in a great measure, been superseded by the feed 
 already described, which is known as " Blamires' Feed." 
 
 In the operations of scribbling and carding, it is absolutely necessary 
 to keep the card-points well sharpened, otherwise it is impossible to 
 obtain a satisfactory condensed thread. For this purpose an emery 
 roller is occasionally geared upon the top of the swifts and doffer, and 
 being carefully set, is brought to bear upon the wire. The swift and 
 roller are then driven rapidly against each other until all the points are 
 made level and sharp. To further keep the cards in good condition, a 
 concave emery cloth is held gently to the wire at frequent intervals. To 
 grind and sharpen the fancies and workers, it is usual to take them from 
 the carder, and let them run for a short time against an emery roller in 
 a grinding frame,

 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 225 
 
 Not only must the cards be sharp, but they must also be carefully 
 adjusted or set ; that is, those upon the fancies and workers must be 
 perfectly parallel with those upon the swifts, and so close that they 
 almost touch. This is done by means of screws, which raise or lower 
 the workers and fancies, in a radial direction. 
 
 The carding engine has an important work to perfonn, for it has not 
 only to disentangle every knot, but to lay all the fibres straight between 
 the cards, and afterwards by means of the " doffer " to remove them in 
 a continuous film of fibres, or a series of films. Each of these pass 
 between the "rubbers" or endless bands of leather, running on small 
 rollers, which "condense" them by a slightly lateral as well as forward 
 motion. The wool is then gathered into a small compass by being made 
 to go through a small groove, which by the motion of the small rollers 
 of the condenser, is rubbed into a round, but as yet untwisted cord. The 
 condensers in use at Morley give off as many as fifty of these round 
 slivers, which as they leave the condenser, are collected on bobbins, into 
 four sets of twelve each, the two outer ones being rejected as uneven 
 and imperfect. The bobbins when full are removed and transferred to 
 the spinning mule, a mechanical contrivance of an ingenious and 
 beautiful kind. 
 
 8. SPINNING. In Morley, two centuries ago, the distaff and spindle 
 were in general use, and in almost every cottage home the maidens of 
 the household might have been seen 
 industriously spinning a single 
 thread from the carded wool hence 
 they were designated spinsters, a 
 title which unmarried adult females 
 still retain. The work of the distaff 
 was followed by women among our 
 Anglo-Saxon ancestors of all ranks 
 of life, from the king's daughter 
 downwards. Spinning from a distaff 
 is even now common all through 
 Italy and Germany. Every now 
 and then the opened graves of our 
 female ancestors yield up the elabo- 
 rately ornamented leaden whorls 
 which were fastened at the lower 
 end of their spindles to give them 
 weight and steadiness. Representa- 
 tions of this, the most primitive spinning apparatus, are to be seen on
 
 22G 
 
 HISTOBT OF MOBLEY. 
 
 Whorl for the Spindle of the 
 Distaff. 
 
 the earliest Egyptian monuments, and the whorl at that time formed 
 part of the mechanism. 
 
 The whorl was, however, much oftener made of stone, and was 
 intended to act as a flywheel to the whirling spindle, and by its w r eight 
 
 to assist in drawing out and twisting the 
 thread which was rolled upon the spindle 
 from time to time as it was made from the 
 distaff. The latter was a staff with a notched 
 head on which the carded wool was wound, 
 and from which the spinner fed the spindle 
 as required. The distaff having the wool 
 loosely wound round its head, was stuck in 
 the girdle of the spinner, and projected 
 upwards under the left arm, so as to give 
 ease to both hands in managing the thread. 
 The distaff and spindle are still in use in many parts of the Continent, 
 but in Morley it was early superseded by the spinning wheel, which, in 
 its turn, has also become a thing of the past. In many 
 parts of Scotland, fifty years ago, the distaff and spindle 
 were in general use; and J. A. Smith, Esq., F.S.A.S., says 
 that, "in 1857, when I was in Skye, I noticed an old 
 woman busily engaged in spinning with the distaff and 
 spindle, at the village of Advasear, Sleat." In 1530, an 
 improvement upon this primitive mode of spinning was 
 invented in Nuremberg, by which the spindle was set in a 
 frame and made to revolve by a band, passing over a 
 wheel driven by an impetus from the hand ; this constituted 
 the spinning-wheel, A local writer, speaking of the 
 " good old times, says, " We can readily conceive that the 
 monotonous whirr of the wheel would induce abstraction 
 of thought; but we do not suppose that, in her most 
 speculative moods, the dame would ever dream of the great 
 future of the humble art in which she was engaged ; 
 however this may be, we feel a pleasure in taking a 
 retrospective glance at thee and thy occupation, which we 
 cannot but regard as links in the chain of causation, and 
 the course of events." At that time, the manufacturer had 
 to travel on horseback to purchase his raw material from 
 the farmers, or to attend at Wakefield, which was the 
 
 Spindle with its 
 
 stone whori in great wool market of this district. lie had then to give 
 the wool out to be spun, to be subsequently returned to
 
 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 227 
 
 him as yarn. The process of producing yarn, by means of the one 
 spindle wheel, was the "slabbing" of that day. The dame twisted one 
 end of a carding round the point of a spindle, to which a rotatory 
 movement was imparted by her right hand, through turning the band 
 wheel, whose rim was some three feet in diameter, whilst at the same 
 time, holding the other end between the finger and thumb of the left 
 hand, she rapidly drew out the slubbing horizontally by pacing back to 
 the extent of her reach. After stopping until the necessary spiral twist 
 
 Jersey Spinning Wheel. 
 
 had been given to the soft thread (called a slubbing), she wound it on 
 the spindle, and continued the process until the cop was large enough to 
 be taken off. Generally this operation of drawing and twisting was 
 repeated, whereby the slubbing was converted into a smaller, finer, and 
 longer thread; and to this latter operation the term "spinning" was 
 more properly applied. 
 
 By the introduction of the carding engine, the occupation of the 
 spinster came to an end. The u Billy," which was at first driven by
 
 228 HISTORY OF MOELEY. 
 
 hand, consisted of twenty spindles, and greatly increased the power of 
 production. 
 
 At one end of the " Billy " was a sloping board or inclined plane, on 
 which the rolls or " cardings " of wool were laid side by side, by young 
 boys or girls called " pieceners. " By the action of the machine, these 
 cardiugs were caught up, drawn in by means of a series of rollers, and 
 elongated by a kind of spinning process so as to be reduced in thickness 
 to a cord about a twelfth of an inch in diameter. Each cord, about a 
 yard long, became lengthened to several yards. The pieceners, as the 
 cards were drawn in, had to place new cardings on the sloping board, 
 and to rub the ends sufficiently to enable them to cohere. This work 
 was very arduous ; the child had to watch each carding attentively, and 
 twist another to the end of it ; and woe betide him if he permitted a 
 carding to slip through the rollers, for the " slubbers " of even thirty 
 years ago used their "pieceners" with great severity. 
 
 At the right hand side of the machine was a wheeled carriage or 
 frame, having a row of spindles upon it. By the turning of a handle 
 and moving the carriage to and fro, the cardings were stretched into 
 slubbings and wound upon spindles. Fifty years ago, the " pieceners " 
 employed on these machines were children of seven, or even six years of 
 age, and their hours of labour were from six a.m., or earlier, to eight or 
 nine p.m., or later, at wages varying from 2s. to 3s. per week. 
 
 Shortly before the invention of the " billy " the " spinning jenny " 
 was constructed, in 1763, by Thomas Highs, a reed maker at Leigh, 
 and so named after his beloved and favourite daughter Jane. " This 
 was the first step that led to the extension of the woollen and cotton 
 trades throughout the civilised world; and however meritorious may 
 have been the subsequent improvements, the sagacious mind that first 
 made this wonderful discovery must be entitled to the. praise of an 
 original and powerful genius." In 1767 the spinning jenny was 
 improved upon by James Hargreaves, of Blackburn. This inventor died 
 in 1777, in obscurity, unrewarded, in Nottingham workhouse, having 
 had his machinery destroyed, his patent invaded, and his abilities 
 blighted. Hargreaves' jenny commenced with eight spindles ; in 1770 
 it had sixteen spindles, and it gradually increased to sixty spindles. 
 Arkwright followed closely upon the heels of Hargreaves, and produced 
 the water frame, a great improvement upon the original jenny, and 
 which superseded the latter, and left Hargreaves unrewarded for all his 
 labours. 
 
 When jennies had been in use a short time, the number of spindles 
 was increased ; and an anecdote is related of one old man, not far from
 
 IIISTOEY OF MOKLEY. 
 
 229 
 
 Morley, who went to see a neighbour who had just obtained a new 
 jenny of fifty spindles. On seeing the wonderful new apparatus, the old 
 fellow exclaimed with astonishment, " E' gow, lad, hahivver duz ta see 
 'em all ? I've nobbut twenty-four, and I let five on 'em lake" (stand). 
 
 We may here note that the manufacture of machinery used in the 
 union trade, is extensively carried on within the township. Messrs. J. 
 Rhodes and Son, of Hope Foundry, have acquired some note in the 
 manufacture of rag grinding machines, scribblers, carders, and condensers, 
 and the productions of this firm are in use in nearly every part of the 
 kingdom, and are also well known and largely used on the Continent of 
 Europe. 
 
 Richard Arkwright was born of humble parentage, at Preston, in 
 Lancashire, 23rd December, 1732. He was the youngest of thirteen 
 children, and his early education 
 was very scanty. He was fifty 
 years of age before he found 
 leisure to study English grammar, 
 and to acquire the art of writing 
 to each of which he devoted 
 an hour each day. This, in some 
 measure, gives a clue to his 
 extraordinary character, showing 
 the energy of his nature, and 
 accounts for his wonderful aud 
 well-won success. Arkwright 
 was brought up to the humble 
 trade of a barber; quitting this 
 business in 1760, he became a 
 dealer in hair, and devoted his 
 leisure to mechanics. He followed 
 his experiments with so much 
 devotion and enthusiasm that he lost the little money he had saved, and 
 was reduced to great poverty; and to crown his misfortunes at this 
 particular time, his wife, one day in a moment of sudden anger and 
 wrath at his wasting his time over his profitless inventions, burnt his 
 wooden model of his spinning wheel, and destroyed all the other models 
 upon which he had expended so much labour, patience, and anxiety 
 " for which, however," says Carlyle, " he decisively, as thou wilt rejoice 
 to understand, packed her out of doors." But, nothing daunted, 
 Arkwright went to work again, and finally triumphed in the perfection 
 of the " spinning jenny," which ultimately enriched him, 
 
 X 
 
 Richard Aikwright.
 
 HlS TOBY OF MOKLEY. 
 
 In 1779 the inventions of Ilargreaves and Arkwright were supplanted 
 by the " mule " produced by Samuel Crompton, of Hall-i-th'-Wood, near 
 
 Bolton. This invention was 
 regarded as of great value, 
 and Parliament granted the 
 sum of 5,000 to Cromptou 
 as a reward for his services 
 to the country. More than 
 sixty years elapsed from 
 the invention of the mule to 
 its introduction in Morley ; 
 a singular fact, considering 
 its wonderful adaptability 
 for the woollen manufacture. 
 The mule has undergone 
 many improvements in 
 order to make it suitable 
 for the spuming of woollen 
 manufactures or yarns, the 
 latter sometimes of a tender 
 or brittle nature. The 
 mules, by which the carded 
 and condensed wool is twisted, or spun into yarn, consist of a stationary 
 portion, to which feeding cylinders taken from the condenser are 
 attached, and a travelling portion, which runs to and fro upon wheels, 
 over rails fixed to the floor, and carries the vertical bobbins on which 
 the yarn is wound. These bobbins are of a suitable size and shape to 
 be placed in a shuttle, where their threads form the woof of the fabric. 
 The travelling recedes from the stationary portion for about six feet, 
 and during the first half of this journey the feeding cylinders revolve 
 and give out their rope of condensed wool. They then stop ; so that in 
 the second half of the journey the rope is stretched to twice its former 
 length. As the travelling portion goes back the stretched rope is 
 twisted, and is wound upon the bobbin to which it belongs. Each set 
 of mules has an attendant and several "pieceners," who walk to and fro 
 with the traveller, and whose chief business it is to piece any threads 
 that may be broken. 
 
 9. BEAMING OF WAEP. With the introduction of cotton warps, in 
 1838, by Mr. J. Hodgshon, the occupation of "woollen warper" 
 disappeared, and as the cotton warps are prepared (except in one 
 instance), in other towns than Morley, we pass over the various 
 
 Samuel Crompton.
 
 Ld 
 
 O 
 
 o_ 
 oo 
 
 o 
 
 i- 
 o 
 
 Li_ 
 
 _1 
 U
 
 HISTORY OF MORLEY. 231 
 
 processes of the cotton manufacture, and merely note that the warps are 
 delivered ready -for beaming to the manufacturer. 
 
 Beaming is the process of putting the warp on the weaver's beam in 
 a proper manner. Having ascertained the breadth of the web, the 
 beamer, after passing two rods through the "lease," proceeds to draw 
 the warp ends into a reed; two threads into each split of the reed. 
 After this is done, the ends of warp are tied to the beam, and the 
 winding-on is commenced. It requires great care on the part of the 
 beamer to tie all the broken threads; and, in doing so, not to cross 
 them, or much trouble will be caused to the weaver, who will have to 
 stop frequently to take out the crossed yam, and put it in its proper 
 place. The warp being wound upon the beam, the next process is the 
 actual weaving of the fabric. 
 
 In the days when woollen warps were only used, these had to undergo 
 the process of sizing before being put into the loom. This was a 
 domestic process, more important than agreeable. The size being melted 
 to the proper consistence, the warp was immersed in it, subsequently 
 wrung out, and afterwards carried into the open air to dry. The hill- 
 sides, lanes, and fields in the town, on a fine day, presented a very 
 different appearance to that which they assume at the present time. 
 Standing upon one of the "seven hills," the spectator would see 
 stretching along the edges of the highways and lanes, long wavy 
 wreaths, of various colours, motionless in the still air, or blown about by 
 the wind that found its way into the valley. These were the warps, 
 stretched upon the "web-stretch," consisting of wooden stakes, inserted 
 in the crevices of the fence walls in a horizontal position, and supported 
 at the other end by upright stakes. 
 
 10. WEAVING. This constitutes one of the principal features of the 
 woollen manufacture, as it has done since the days of Moses, when, as 
 we are told, " all the women that were wise-hearted did spin with their 
 hands, and brought that which they had spun, both of blue and of 
 purple, and of scarlet and of fine linen," and further, " Them hath he 
 filled with wisdom of heart, to work all manner of work, of the engraver 
 and of the weaver, even of them that do any work, 
 and of those that devise cunning work." Job says : " My days are 
 swifter than a weaver's shuttle, and are spent without hope." Other 
 passages might be cited to show that the ancients understood and 
 practiced the art of weaving. The Hindoos have been acquainted with 
 weaving for thousands of years, and have, up to the present time, 
 made little or no improvement in their looms ; and yet with their rude 
 machines they succeed in weaving fabrics which can scarcely be rivalled
 
 II1STOEY OP HORLEY. 
 
 by the Yorkshire looms, even with the aid of the most elaborate 
 machinery. 
 
 Annexed is a representation of a long-handled comb, used, in all 
 probability, in the earlier days of the weaver's art. The peculiar marks 
 of wear upon the teeth are such as would be 
 produced by its use as a reed or slay, and are 
 scarcely likely to have been caused, as has been 
 suggested, by its simple use as a toilet-comb. 
 Many similar combs have been found in hut- 
 circles in Scotland, and occasionally in England, 
 with Roman remains. In the Philosophical 
 Society's museum at York there are some very 
 fine specimens, found in connection with Roman 
 relics. It is not difficult to show that this comb 
 was the characteristic implement of the ancient 
 weaver's art, and was in use amongst the 
 Egyptians, the Greeks, and the Romans, and in 
 mediaeval times in most of the countries of 
 Europe. Rich, in the " Illustrated Companion 
 to the Latin Dictionary," says under the word 
 pecten: "An instrument with teeth like a comb, 
 employed by the ancient weavers for the same 
 purpose as the reed, lay, or batten of our own 
 time, viz., to run the threads of the web close 
 together, by inserting its teeth between the 
 threads of the warp, and pressing the comb up or down, according to 
 the direction in which the web was intended to be driven." 
 
 In Donnegan's " Greek Lexicon" the following definition is given of 
 one of these implements: "A comb, the comb of a loom, a hand with 
 the fingers outspread;" and in another part of the same book it is 
 rendered as follows: "A weaver's comb, an instrument used for 
 fastening (compacting ?) the threads in weaving." 
 
 In Smith's " Dictionary of Antiquities," (Lond. 1856), under the word 
 Tola (a loom), there is a full description of the ancient methods of 
 weaving in the upright loom. It consisted of two side posts connected 
 by a cross bar at the top, under which was the beam on which the cloth 
 was rolled as it was woven. From the beam the warp (stamen) hung 
 down, and was kept hanging straight by weights (pondera), usually 
 smooth stones or clay tied to the lower end. 
 
 The warp was decussated by straight wands thrust horizontally 
 through it, the threads alternating on either side, so that by pulling 
 
 Long-handled Comb.
 
 APPENDIX I. 
 
 " A Catalogue of the Names of such Persons w ch - has Served the 
 office of the Overseer of the Poor, in the Township of Morley." 
 
 1700 Samuel Clark 
 
 1701 William Roebuck 
 
 1702 Thomas Hemsworth 
 
 1703 William Benson 
 
 1704 Robert Ellis 
 
 1705 William Leathley 
 
 1706 John Ellis 
 
 1707 John Crooker 
 
 1708 Mr. John Dawson 
 
 1709 Joseph Asqnith, sen. 
 
 1710 Jno. Reyner 
 
 1711 Thomas Burnell 
 
 1712 Thomas Asquith 
 
 1713 Nathaniel Slack 
 
 1714 William Sykes 
 
 1715 John Middlebrook 
 
 1716 Joseph Dixon 
 
 1717 William Lister 
 
 1718 Matthew Jefferson 
 
 1719 Theophilus Turner 
 
 1720 William Clark 
 
 1721 Joshua Reyner 
 
 1722 Samuel Ellis 
 
 1723 Jonathan Pease 
 
 1724 George Hepton 
 
 1725 William Westerman 
 
 1726 Benjamin Cromack 
 
 1727 Mr. Robt. Ray 
 
 1728 John Westerman 
 
 1729 William Athey 
 
 1730 John Ellis Cooper 
 
 1731 Isaac Crowther 
 
 1732 Joseph Hall 
 
 1733 John Ellis Smith 
 
 1734 William ReveU 
 
 1735 Samuel Reyner 
 
 1736 John Brook, clothier 
 
 1737 Joseph Asquith 
 
 1738 Mr. Samuel Scatcherd 
 
 1739 Samuel Birtby 
 
 1740 Joseph Tolson 
 
 1741 Samuel Waring 
 
 1742 Benjamin Brook 
 
 1743 Robert Parke 
 
 1744 Nehemiah Westerman 
 
 1745 James Garnet 
 
 1746 Thomas Marshall 
 
 1747 Mr. William Lister 
 
 1748 William Banks 
 
 1749 Nathaniel Webster 
 
 1750 Robert Dixon 
 
 1751 Francis Moor 
 
 1752 John Milner 
 
 1753 John Handish 
 
 1754 Samuel Asquith 
 
 1755 Samuel Clark 
 
 1756 Thomas Hopkins 
 
 1757 James Halstead 
 
 1758 William Lumby 
 
 1759 John Crowther 
 
 1760 John Hemsworth 
 
 1761 Joseph Webster 
 
 1762 Isaac Brown 
 
 1763 Samuel Fozzard 
 
 1764 Samuel Webster the elder 
 
 1765 Samuel Webster the younger 
 
 1766 Richard Prince 
 
 1767 Samuel Crowther 
 
 1768 Thomas Crooker 
 
 1769 John Clark 
 
 1770 William Milner 
 
 1771 Samuel Hall 
 
 1772 William Cromack 
 
 1773 John Dixon, Scholecroft 
 
 1774 John Whitley 
 
 1775 John Asquith 
 
 1776 William Watson 
 
 1777 Micah Robinson 
 
 1778 Joseph Asquith 
 
 1779 William Fox 
 
 1780 William Harris 
 
 1781 JohnWormald 
 
 1782 William Asquith 
 
 1783 Joseph Towlson 
 
 1784 John Webster and Thomas Dixon 
 
 1785 Henry Preston, Esq., and Mr. William Lister 
 
 1786 Samuel Clark and Thomas Roberts 
 
 1787 Isaac Smithies and John Lister 
 
 S
 
 250 APPENDIX. 
 
 1788 John Hirst and Robert Dixon, jun. 
 
 1789 Thomas Middlebrook and John Crowther 
 
 1790 Samuel Ellis and Joseph Mitchell 
 
 1791 Samuel Ellis, hired by the Town 
 
 1792 Do. do. 
 
 1793 Do. do. 
 
 1794 John Wetherill and John Webster, glue maker 
 
 1795 Joseph Dixon, John Webster, and S. Ellis 
 
 1796 William Marshall and John Asquith 
 
 1797 Thomas Hemsworth and Robert Dixon 
 
 1798 Benjamin Clark and John Towlson 
 
 1799 Christopher Milner and John Barras 
 
 1800 Samuel Gaunt and Robert Ellis 
 
 1801 John Rollings and Samuel H. Whitley 
 
 1802 John Dixon and Joseph Dixon 
 
 The names of those who served the office from 1803 to 1838 are 
 missing, the " Town's Minute Book "being lost. From 1839 the list 
 of Overseers is as given below : 
 
 1839 Samuel Asquith and Henry Hirst 
 
 1840 John Rayner and John Slack 
 
 1841 Joseph Webster and John Barren 
 
 1842 William Dixon and Joseph Dodgshun 
 
 1843 James Saville and William Theaker 
 
 1844 Joseph Dixon and Samuel Marshall 
 
 1845 Isaac Watson and Thomas Garnett 
 
 1846 John S. Perkin and John Jackson 
 
 1847 Abraham Tetley and John Senior 
 
 1848 David Binks and John Booth 
 
 1849 Henry Webster and Joseph Crowther 
 
 1850 Nathaniel Hartley and William Smith, senior 
 
 1851 James Nicholls and John Siddall 
 
 1852 Nathaniel Dixon and John Hard wick 
 
 1853 Samuel Webster and Joshua Hirst 
 
 1 854 Benjamin Driver and Thomas Smith 
 
 1855 Thomas Smith and Joseph Wade 
 
 1856 William G. Scarth and Isaac Watson 
 
 1857 Elliott Hinchliffe and William G. Scarth 
 
 1858 Edward Jackson and Daniel Hinchcliff 
 
 1859 Edward Jackson and Thomas Scott 
 
 1860 William Scott and David Hirst 
 
 1861 William Scott and Samuel Scatcherd 
 
 1862 George Sykes and Humphrey Bradley 
 
 1863 George Sykes and Alexander Scott 
 
 1864 William Jackson and Thomas Daniel Dixon 
 
 1865 William Jackson and William Marshall 
 
 1866 John Dixon and Samuel Hirst, junior 
 
 1867 W. T. G. Hirst and Joseph Mortimer 
 
 1868 Joseph Mortimer and George Ward 
 
 1869 David Scholes and Joseph Mortimer 
 
 1870 Samuel Stockdale and David Scholes 
 
 1871 Samuel Stockdale and Samuel Tetley Hirst 
 
 1872 Samuel Tetley Hirst and Robert Barron 
 
 1873 Robert Barron and John Stanhope 
 
 1874 Thomas Marshall and Samuel Bedford 
 
 1 875 Samuel Bedford and Samuel Stockdale 
 187C Samuel Bedford and Samuel Stockdale
 
 APPENDIX. 251 
 
 Other Catalogues follow in the "Town's Minute Book, 1749," of 
 persons who served the offices of Churchwarden, Constable, Surveyors 
 of the Highways and Collectors of Taxes, but as the same names are 
 found in all these, we do not print them. 
 
 APPENDIX II. 
 
 A TEUE AND PERFECT INVENTORY OF ALL THE GOODS, CATTLE, 
 CHATTELLS, and personal effects of Nathaniel Booth, late of Gildersome, 
 iu the county of York, viewed and apprised, this Twenty-seventh day 
 of November, 1734, by us, John Marshall, William Hudson, and Sam 11 - 
 Crowther. 
 
 In Kitchen. Two arm chairs and six bo\v-back'cl do. ... ... 01 00 00 
 
 One easy chair and quishion (cushion) ... ... 00 02 00 
 
 Thirteen pewther dishes ... ... ... 01 17 00 
 
 One old warming pann ... ... ... 00 03 00 
 
 Five chairs and four quishons ... ... ... 00 04 00 
 
 Some beef hanging in the kitchen ... 01 10 00 
 
 One dozen of pewther plates ... ... ... 00 06 00 
 
 In the Shop. In white Wooll ... ... ... ... 12 00 06 
 
 In Died Wooll ... ... ... ... 03 10 00 
 
 Three milnd cloths ... ... ... 23 00 00 
 
 One Loom and gears ... ... ... 02 00 00 
 
 Scribbling boxes and Swinging Float ... ... 00 05 00 
 
 Half of the sizing land... ... ... 02 10 00 
 
 Half of a pair of Looms ... ... ... 00 05 00 
 
 In the Barn. Barley in the mough ... ... 01 10 00 
 
 Six days mowing of hay ... ... 05 00 00 
 
 One mare, with two saddles .. ... 02 10 00 
 
 Three cows ... ... ... ... 06 00 00 
 
 In a Library of Books ... ... ... ... ... 06 06 00 
 
 Debts owing to deceased for cloth ... 55 05 03 
 
 With numerous other items, making a total of ... ... 183 01 03 
 
 The liabilities were enumerated as follows : 
 
 Debts owing for Wooll ...060 16 06 
 
 In Rents for Land ffarmed ... ... ... 009 01 00 
 
 For Dieiug Wares ... ... ... ... 013 02 01 
 
 And in borrowed money ... ... ... 020 00 00 
 
 Trustees in taking administration to expend, and 
 
 for a mortuary ... ... ... ... 002 16 00 
 
 The whole is 105 15 07 
 Then the clear sum of the inventory is ... 077 05 08
 
 252 
 
 APPENDIX. 
 APPENDIX III 
 
 In the " Domesday Book," published 1876, or, " A Return of Owners 
 of Land of England and Wales, 1873," appear the names of the follow- 
 ing- Morley freeholders, who own one acre and upwards. The total 
 number of owners of land of one acre and upwards in the West Riding 
 is 17,417, the extent, I,519,ll9a. 3r. 3p., and the gross estimated 
 rental, 5,027,300 14s. Owners, having less than an acre in extent, 
 59,496, the extent, 13,226a. Ir. 5p., and the gross estimated rental, 
 3,172,538 18s. The Earl of Dartmouth, lord of the manor of Morley, 
 owns in the West Riding, 14,724 acres, of the gross estimated rental of 
 26,539 9s. This includes his Morley land and property. 
 
 Name of Owner. 
 
 Situation. 
 
 Extent 
 of 
 Lands. 
 
 Gross 
 Estimated 
 Rental. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 s. 
 
 a. 
 
 Binks, Samuel 
 
 ! Bank Street 
 
 3 
 
 
 
 3 
 
 451 
 
 10 
 
 
 
 Bradley, Emmanuel 
 
 High Street 
 
 2 
 
 3 
 
 4 
 
 89 
 
 8 
 
 
 
 Bradley, Brian 
 
 Bridge Street 
 
 1 
 
 1 
 
 20 
 
 231 
 
 6 
 
 
 
 Barrowclough, A. and Co. 
 
 Princess Street 
 
 2 
 
 2 
 
 5 
 
 620 
 
 3 
 
 
 
 Old Chapel, Trustees of 
 
 Commercial Street 
 
 3 
 
 2 
 
 28 
 
 37 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 Wesleyan, do. 
 
 Wesley Street 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 18 
 
 43 
 
 
 
 
 
 Driver, John 
 
 Fountain Street 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 20 
 
 310 
 
 12 
 
 
 
 Gas Company 
 
 iValley 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 30 
 
 1875 
 
 
 
 
 
 Gath, George 
 
 ( Daisy Hill 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 30 
 
 94 
 
 9 
 
 
 
 Gelder, H. Exors 
 
 Rooms Lane 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 2 
 
 120 
 
 17 
 
 
 
 Hainsworth, J. do. 
 
 Gelderd Road 
 
 1 
 
 2 
 
 37 
 
 10 
 
 
 
 
 
 Hirst Brothers 
 
 High Street 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 30 
 
 417 
 
 
 
 
 
 Jackson, William 
 
 Peel Mills 
 
 3 
 
 
 
 15 
 
 569 
 
 13 
 
 
 
 Local Board 
 
 Queen Street 
 
 4 
 
 
 
 10 
 
 417 
 
 6 
 
 
 
 Mallinson, J. J. 
 
 Cross Hall 
 
 15 
 
 2 
 
 7 
 
 379 
 
 
 
 
 
 Mill Co., Gillroyd 
 
 Gillroyd 
 
 5 
 
 1 
 
 5 
 
 1832 
 
 16 
 
 
 
 Mill Co., Valley 
 
 Valley 
 
 1 
 
 1 
 
 30 
 
 600 
 
 
 
 
 
 Mitchell John 
 
 Church Street 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 15 
 
 534 
 
 11 
 
 
 
 Mitchell, Matthew 
 
 Bruntcliffe 
 
 6 
 
 2 
 
 1 
 
 18 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 Hudson, Sykes, & Bousfield 
 
 Springfield 
 
 17 
 
 
 
 
 
 696 
 
 12 
 
 
 
 Rhodes, Josiah 
 
 Victoria Road 
 
 1 
 
 1 
 
 30 
 
 709 
 
 14 
 
 
 
 Rhodes, Joseph 
 
 Queen Street 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 6 
 
 343 
 
 10 
 
 
 
 Scatcherd, Mary 
 
 Do. 
 
 57 
 
 1 
 
 24 
 
 255 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 Scatcherd, Exors. of 0. 
 
 Do. 
 
 2 
 
 2 
 
 13 
 
 4 
 
 10 
 
 
 
 Scatcherd, Norrison 
 
 Do. 
 
 83 
 
 1 
 
 11 
 
 433 
 
 15 
 
 
 
 Scatcherd, Samuel 
 
 Do. 
 
 73 
 
 2 
 
 38 
 
 239 
 
 19 
 
 
 
 Smith, Saml. Exors. 
 
 Bruntcliffe 
 
 1 
 
 1 
 
 12 
 
 45 
 
 15 
 
 
 
 Stanhope, John 
 
 Queen Street 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 15 
 
 641 
 
 16 
 
 
 
 Watson, Orlando 
 
 Queen Street 
 
 1 
 
 1 
 
 22 
 
 456 
 
 5 
 
 
 
 Watson, Thomas 
 
 Croft House 
 
 6 
 
 3 
 
 30 
 
 376 
 
 
 
 
 
 Webster, Joseph 
 
 The Hall 
 
 22 
 
 3 
 
 8 
 
 834 
 
 8 
 
 
 
 Wordsworth, William 
 
 Black Gates 
 
 8 
 
 2 
 
 10 
 
 36 
 
 
 

 
 GENERAL INDEX. 
 
 A. 
 
 Abbots-Bromley, 40. 
 
 Ackroyd, Jeremiah, 70 ; J. and Sons, 
 
 48; W. ami Bros., 46, 47; Win., 
 
 jun., 191. 
 
 Acton-Adams, 102. 
 Adam, 233. 
 Adel, 151. 
 Adlestrop, 37. 
 
 Adwalton, 64, 67, 70, 72, 75, 139, 155. 
 Agbrigg, 1, 7. 
 Ailesbury, 37. 
 Airedale College, 179. 
 Albert Road, 46, 87. 
 Aldeburgh, de, 27. 
 Alfred, King, 19. 
 Alice, Wood, 18. 
 Allott, John, 118. 
 Aired, George, 141 ; John, 70 ; Rev. 
 
 Timothy, 145, 153, 154, 171, 1/2 ; 
 
 William, 71. 
 Alverthorpe, 32, 137. 
 Ambleside. 105. 
 America, 67, 223 ; Moor, IS. 
 Anglesey, Earl of, 34. 
 Anne, Queen, 40. 
 Antwerp, 34. 
 Appleyard, 15. 
 Appleton, John Reed, 117. 
 Aram, Eugene, 107, 108, 109, 110; 
 
 Sally, 109. 
 
 Archbold, Sir Henry, 40 ; Barbara, 40. 
 Archer, 248. 
 
 Ardsley, 18, 32, 70, 171, 173. 
 Arkwright, Richard, 224, 228, 229, 
 
 230. 
 
 Armine, Lady, 114. 
 Armley, 177. 
 Armitage, Sir John, 35. 
 Arne, Dr., 112. 
 Aryngden, 29. 
 Aserby, 113. 
 Ashstead, 42. 
 Asquith, Herbert H., 122, 123 ; James, 
 
 142 ; Joseph, 141 ; Josh, D., 122, 
 
 182 ; Joshua, 58, 77, 78, 137, 138, 
 
 139, 216; Samuel, 71; Thos., 76; 
 
 W. Willans, 49, 50, 122, 141. 
 Atkins, Frances A., 41 ; W. B., 41. 
 
 Atkinson, John, 76; Rev. J., 135; 
 
 Thomas, 150 ; 138. 
 Austhorpe, 25, 28. 
 Aveyard, John, 139. 
 Aylesford, Earl of. 41, 43, 44. 
 
 B. 
 
 Backhouse, 14. 
 
 Bagot, Honora, 41 ; Sir Walter, 41 ; 
 
 Lord William, 41, 43. 
 Baildon, 102. 
 
 Bailey, Rev. SamL, 144, 149, 150, 166. 
 Bailey Fold, 13. 
 
 Baiubridge, John, 168; Susannah, 168. 
 Baines, 10. 
 Balmforth, 70, 200. 
 Bancke, William, 136. 
 Banks, Richard, 30 ; William, 70. 
 Banks' Hill, 11, 54, 67, 106, 138, 142, 
 
 164. 
 
 Bank 'End, 11. 
 Bank Fields, 11. 
 Bank House, 169. 
 Bank Side, 11. 
 Bank Top, 11, 54. 
 Bannockburn, 28. 
 Baptist Tabernacle, 188. 
 Bardsley, 15, 245. 
 Barker, Rev. J., 188. 
 Barkston, 30. 
 Barnes, Rev. Fred., 135, 145, 158, 
 
 159. 
 
 Barnoldswick, 22. 
 Barnsley, 120. 
 
 Barrington, Frances, 43 ; George, 43. 
 Barron, Robert, 142. 
 Barrowclough, Alfred, 213, 215. 
 Batley, 1, 8, 18, 28, 30, 32, 34, 35, 55, 
 
 56, 92, 118, 120, 126, 127, 129, 131, 
 
 148, 149, 173, 175, 184. 
 Bayeaux, Richard, 27. 
 Beaconstield, 163. 
 
 Beauchamp, Elizabeth, 38; Thos., 38. 
 Beachy Head, 39. 
 Beaumont, Frances, 170; Jacob, 170; 
 
 Richard, 247. 
 
 Bedford, 26 ; B. and Co., 46, 47. 
 Beeston, 6, 8, 9, 24, 25, 23, 29, 63, 
 
 168.
 
 254 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Beeston, Ralph, 8, 9, 24, 25 ; Robert, 
 
 23, 25, 127, 129; William, 9, 24, 
 25, 28 ; Adam, 24, 128 ; family of, 
 
 24, 25. 
 
 Belisur, Robert cle, 21. 
 
 Belayse, Henry, 34. 
 
 Bellew, Richard, 34. 
 
 Benn, William, 194. 
 
 Bentley, Francis, 56 ; William, 206. 
 
 Bethel Chapel, 190. 
 
 Beverley, 147. 
 
 Bilborough, John, 161. 
 
 Billy, the Slabbing, 227. 
 
 Bilsberry, John, 70. 
 
 Bingley, 155, 181. 
 
 Binks, John, 70 ; Samuel, 215. 
 
 Birkby Brow, 13, 18. 
 
 Birkenhead, 159. 
 
 Birkett, 105. 
 
 Birkhead, John, 140 ; Samuel, 140. 
 
 Birmingham, 44, 159. 
 
 Birmingham, John, 38 ; Ann, 38 ; 
 
 Miles, 38. 
 Birstal, 1, 8, 18, 20, 35, 64, 75, 85, 
 
 131, 152, 182, 185, 187. 
 Birtbie, Edward, 136. 
 Birtby, Mrs., 176. 
 Blackburn, 157. 
 Blakeley, Tommy, 85, 86. 
 Blanchard, 112. 
 Blanche of Lancaster, 20. 
 Bland, Sir Thomas, 30. 
 Blithefield, 41. 
 
 Blount, Sir John, 38 ; Margaret, 38. 
 BofFeville, John, 25 ; Elizabeth, 25. 
 Boiling, 68, 139. 
 
 Booth, F., 175, 176; Rev. N., 164. 
 Boothroyd, B., 23. 
 Bosanquet, Mary, 56, 184. 
 Boston, Ann, 146. 
 Boton, 28. 
 Bottoms, 12. 
 
 Bourne, H. and J., 193, 194. 
 Bouwens, Caroline, 43; Jas. C. P., 43. 
 Boulton, J., 139, 140. 
 Bovil, Rev. , 147. 
 Bowling, 68, 139. 
 Bowling, J. W., 86. 
 Bowring, 115. 
 
 Boyle, John, 141 ; Richard, 37. 
 Bradford, 18, 19, 20, 32, 33, 75, 78, 
 
 95, 98, 102, 118, 119, 139, 149, 151. 
 Bradley, Emmanuel, 142 ; Isaac, 215 ; 
 
 William, 71 ; Rev. Thomas, 30. 
 Bramham, 120. 
 Bramhope, 151. 
 Bramley, 147. 
 Brandling, Charles, 177. 
 
 Bray wick Grove, 41. 
 
 Breant, Fulk de, 25, 26. 
 
 Brecon, 157. 
 
 Brend, Richard, 8. 
 
 Broad Oaks, 18. 
 
 Broadbent, Charles, 70 ; Sarah, 172 
 
 William, 172. 
 Broadhead, Rev. , 149. 
 Broadsworth, 147, 153. 
 Bromley, 8, 40. 
 Bromsgrove, 142, 169. 
 Bromwich, 44. 
 Brook, Elijah, 71; George, 70; Susan, 
 
 49, 50. 
 
 Brooksbank, Abraham, 151. 
 Brooksby, 139. 
 Brown, Dorothy, 25 ; George, 25 ; 
 
 Nicholas, 76. 
 Brownroyd, 14. 
 
 Bruce, Caroline, 37 ; Mary, 37. 
 Brudenel, Francis, 34, 35 ; James, 41. 
 Brunswick Chapel, 191. 
 Brunswick Street, 244. 
 Bruntcliffe, 1, 46, 48, 76, 78, 172, 195. 
 Bruutcliffe Lane, 45. 
 Bruntcliffe Quarry, 48. 
 Bryant, W. C., 49. 
 Brydges, Ann E., 37 ; Henry, 37. 
 Buckingham, Duke of, 37, 139. 
 Buckley, Joseph, 171. 
 Buckley, Brow, 13. 
 Bnda, 36. 
 
 Bull, Rev. G. S., 177. 
 Bulwer, Lytton, 110. 
 Bunhill Fields, 147. 
 Bunting, Dr. Jabez, 106, 107. 
 Burley, 103. 
 
 Burling, process of, 236. 
 Burlington, Earl of, 37. 
 Burnell. William, 136. 
 Burnet, Bishop, 36, 39. 
 Burns, Robert, 105. 
 Burnt Kiiowl, 13. 
 Burton, Line., 175. 
 Burton, John, 106, 107 ; Dr. John, 
 
 23, 25. 
 
 Butterfield, David, 51. 
 Butterworth, John, 149. 
 Butts, 12. 
 Byron, 2. 
 
 C. 
 
 Cabool, 121. 
 
 Calamy, Rev. Dr., 146, 152, 153, 168, 
 
 171. 
 
 Calcutta, 121. 
 Callbeck, Elizabeth, 25.
 
 INDEX. 
 
 255 
 
 Calverley, 20, 25. 
 Calverley, Sir William, 25. 
 Calvert, Rev. John, 180, 181. 
 Cambridge, 26, 27, 107, 111, 113, 146, 
 
 147, 149, 165. 
 Camden, 30. 
 Cameron, 72. 
 
 Campbell, Rev. J. R., 135. 
 Card Setting process, 223. 
 Cardigan, Earl of, 34, 35, 41. 
 Cardmaker, Joshua, 137, 138, 139. 
 Carey, Sir Edwd., 30; Elizabeth, 30. 
 Carlisle, 105. 
 Carlisle, Earl of, 42. 
 Carlyle, Thomas, 229. 
 Carmarthen, 157, 178. 
 Carr, Ann, 194. 
 
 Cartwright, Dr., 235 ; J. J., 7, 31. 
 Cassells, Rev. Andrew, 175, 177. 
 Cassilis, 38. 
 Castlebar, 33. 
 Castleford, 30. 
 Castleton, Lord, 139. 
 Cathcart, Colonel, 104. 
 Catholic Apostolic Church, 192, 199. 
 Cave, Rev. C. B., 175 ; Sir W., 175. 
 Cavendish, Lord, 119. 
 Cawnpore, 121. 
 Cervantes, 237. 
 Chadshill, 169. 
 Chalmers, Dr., 220. 
 Chamber of Commerce, 216. 
 Chambers, Eliza, 120 ; Robert, 120. 
 Chandos, Duke of, 37. 
 Chantrell, R. D., 174. 
 Chapel-le-Brears, 170. 
 Chapel Fold, 149. 
 Chapel Hill, 11, 55, 62, 67. 
 Chapeltown Moor, 72. 
 Chappell, John, 161. 
 Charles I., 13, 30, 33, 38, 42, 131. 
 Charles II., 36, 92, 151, 164. 
 Chatham, Lord, 112, 116. 
 Cheshire, 23. 
 Chester, 137. 
 
 Chester, Charles, 41 ; William, 41. 
 Chesterfield, 171. 
 Chesterfield. Earl of, 36. 
 Chetwynd, Chas., 43; Frances C., 43. 
 Chevet, 25. 
 Chickenley, 28. 
 China, 104. 
 Chislet, 160. 
 Christchurch, 144. 
 Churwell, 1, 2, 8, 17, 24, 61, 63, 64, 
 
 78, 104, 120, 136, 137, 140, 141, 172, 
 
 187, 188, 202. 
 Churwell Lane, 18, 61. 
 
 Cinderhill, 11. 
 
 Clapham, Rev. C., 1?7 ; Robert, 174. 
 
 Clarendon, Lord, 38. 
 
 Clark, Benj., 76, 77; Daniel, 108; 
 
 John, 69 ; Samuel, 15, 55, 69 ; 
 
 William, 140. 
 Clark Springs, 6. 
 Clay, Robert, 247. 
 Cleckheaton, 4. 
 Clegg, James and Son, 135. 
 Cliff Wood, 18. 
 Clough, Thomas, 48 ; Misses, 201 ; 
 
 Rev. J., 179, 188. 
 Cloth Finishing Company, 215. 
 Cloth Boiling Process, 244. 
 Cloth Raising Process, 240. 
 Clubbed Oaks, 6, 18. 
 Clubs and Friendly Societies, 206. 
 Coates, John, 70. 
 Cobbe, S. W., 41. 
 Cockerham, John, 187. 
 Colton, 49. 
 
 CoUyer, Rev. Robert, 7. 
 Commercial Street, 143. 
 Cones, Rev. J., 179. 
 Conder, Rev. E. R., 135. 
 Conventicle Act, 147. 
 Co-operative Quarry, 48, 206. 
 Co-operative Society, 205. 
 Cooke, Rev. J., 180; Dr. Robert, 32. 
 Cooper, Alvera, 30. 
 Copley, Justice, 149 ; Edward, 137. 
 Coppendale, John, 139, 144, 152. 
 Cornwall, 130. 
 Cotenham, 26. 
 Cottingham, 147. 
 Cottingley, 8, 24, 25, 75, 168. 
 Cotton, Rev. , 146. 
 Coventry, Anna, 36 ; Thomas, 36. 
 Cowburn, Andrew, 56, 78 ; John, 
 
 67. 
 
 Crabbe, 68. 
 Crank Mill, 211. 
 Craister, Thomas, 71, 139, 166. 
 Craven, 1. 
 Crawford, John, 40. 
 Croft House, 119. 
 Crofton, 95. 
 Crompton, Samuel 230. 
 Cromwell, 146, 164. 
 Crook, Rev. James, 175, 177. 
 Crocker, John, 140; Thomas, 71, 76. 
 Croppers, 243. 
 Crosby's Farm, 18. 
 Cross Hall, 56, 71, 184, 201. 
 Crossley, Sir Francis, 103; Rev. Jas., 
 
 179 ; Joseph, 103 ; Catherine, 103. 
 Crow Nest, 95.
 
 256 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Crowther, Isaac, 106, 107, 119, 140, 
 194, 210 ; George, 174, 175; Joseph, 
 69, 137, 138; John, 136, 140; 
 Samuel, 75, 106; Thomas P., 18; 
 Thos., 141 ; Timothy, 137 ; Misses, 
 18, 61. 
 
 Crowther's Mill, 17, 18. 
 
 Cumberland, 29, 112. 
 
 Currer, Henry, 8 ; Isabel, 8. 
 
 Curzon, Viscount, 41. 
 
 D. 
 
 Daffield Wood, 6, S, 189. 
 
 Daffield Chapel, 189. 
 
 Daisy Hill, 46. 
 
 Danby, William, 104. 
 
 Danvers, Henry, 38. 
 
 Dartmouth, Earl of, 38 to 44, 48, 74, 
 
 76, 169, 174, 176, 178, 179, 185, 199, 
 
 211. 
 
 Dartmouth, family of, 38 to 44. 
 Dartmouth, arms of, 64. 
 Dartmouth Mine, 46. 
 Daventry, 154. 
 
 Davil, Helewisa, 128 ; M., 128. 
 Davies, Rev. R., 188. 
 Davinson, Joseph, 71. 
 Dawson, Abraham, 137, 138, 141, 152, 
 
 165 ; Betty Anne, 164 ; Elizabeth, 
 
 164; John, 140. 141, 164, 172; Rev. 
 
 Joseph, 144, 145, 147, 152, 165, 171 ; 
 
 Mark, 118 ; Samuel, 141 ; Thomas, 
 
 57, 139, 149. 
 Dawson's Hill, 10, 120. 
 Dean Hall Mine, 46. 
 Dean Wood, 6, 18. 
 Deane, E. Eldon, 138, 193. 
 Dearden, 68. 
 Deighton, 28. 
 
 Deighton, Mary, 172 ; Samuel, 172. 
 Deira, 2. 
 
 Delaval, Hugh, 21. 
 Delatour, Charles, 36. 
 Delhi, 122. 
 Delph, 154. 
 
 Denham, Michael, 25 ; Nicholas, 25. 
 Denmark, 3. 
 Denton, William, 48. 
 Derbyshire, 23. 
 Derford, John de, 28. 
 Devonshire, Duke of, 119. 
 Dewsbury, 1, 5, 18, 32, 46, 63, 73, 79, 
 
 127, 137, 171, 237. 
 Dickenson, Rev. Nathaniel, 189. 
 Dickinson, John, 140 ; William, 137, 
 
 138, 140. 
 Distaff and Spindle, 225. 
 
 Dixon, Charles, 13 ; Benjamin, 140, 
 210; John, 201, 210; Joseph, 76, 
 140, 210 ; Nathaniel, 77, 78, 187 ; 
 Ralph, 25 ; Robert, 76, 93, 141 ; S. 
 and Son, 215; T. D., 214; Wm., 
 77, 78, 175, 210 ; Dr. James, 185 ; 
 David, 210 ; Thomas, 210. 
 
 Dixon, Nicholls, and Co., 214. 
 
 Doddridge, Dr., 154. 
 
 Dodgshun, Isaac, 158 ; John, 70. 
 
 Dodsworth, 21. 
 
 Donnegan, 232. 
 
 Domestic Manufacture, the, 209. 
 
 Downshire, Marquis of, 41. 
 
 Dransfield, Lewis, 216. 
 
 Drighlington, 9, 28, 29, 117. 
 
 Driver, John, 215. 
 
 Dublin, 170. 
 
 Duckworth, James, 135. 
 
 Dudley, Earl of, 38. 
 
 Dugdale, 23, 26. 
 
 Duncan, Rev. , 145, 155. 
 
 Dunningley, 5, 62, 137. 
 
 Dunstan, 1, 2, 4, 5, 21. 
 
 Dunton, John, 152. 
 
 Dyeing process, 244. 
 
 Dyer, 223, 234. 
 
 Dyneley, R., 151. 
 
 E. 
 
 East Lavant, 42. 
 Ebenezer Chapel, 193. 194. 
 Edinburgh, 120. 
 Edinburgh, Duke of, 122. 
 Edmondson, Jacob, 109, 110. 
 Edward I., 1, 3, 4, 125, 207; II, 6, 
 
 24, 28, 129 ; III., 20, 24, 27, 28, 29, 
 
 38. 
 
 Edwards, Rev. J., 179. 
 Egerton, 28. 
 
 Elgood, Mary J. S., 103; Samuel, 103. 
 Elgin, Earl of, 37. 
 Eliot, George, 234. 
 Elizabeth, Queen, 25, 30, 111, 136. 
 Elland, 18, 29, 36, 63. 
 Elland, Baron of, 49. 
 Ellis, Benjamin, 71 ; John, 137, 138, 
 
 140, 142 ; Joseph, 141 ; Matthew, 
 
 171 ; Moses, 71 ; Robert, 7, 141 ; 
 
 Samuel, 139; Dr. W., 77, 138; 
 
 Robert H., 56. 
 Elmhirst, 14. 
 Elmsall, 8. 
 
 Elston, R., 170; Thos., 150, 170, 171. 
 Ely, 26. 
 
 Ely, Rev. John, 158, 180. 
 Emerson, 10.
 
 INDEX. 
 
 257 
 
 Epping, 158. 
 
 Essex, 241. 
 
 Etheringtou, C., 108; Rev. , 142, 
 
 145, 147. 
 Eton, 42. 
 Etruscans, 3. 
 Evans, 207. 
 
 Everett, Rev. James, 101. 
 Ewcross, 20. 
 
 F. 
 
 Fairbairn, Sir William, 98. 
 
 Fairfax, Lord Ferdinand, 33; Sir T., 
 
 8, 33, 138, 151 ; Sir Wm., 33. 
 Falling Stocks, 237. 
 Far Botany Bay, 13. 
 Far Ing Royd, 14. 
 Far Joan Royd, 14. 
 Far Moor, 12. 
 Far Royd, 14. 
 Farnley, 11,18, 168. 
 Farnley Iron Company, 46. 
 Farnley Mine, 46. 
 Faruley Tyas, 44. 
 Farnley Wood Plot, 132, 136 to 130, 
 
 152. 
 
 Federer, Charles A., 13. 
 Ferrand, Robert, 144. 
 Feversham, Lord, 42. 
 Ferniehurst, 102. 
 Field, 111. 
 Fielclkirk Fair, 91. 
 
 Finch, Augusta, 44; D., 37; M., 37. 
 Finsdale Quarry, 48. 
 Fittan, Abraham, 71. 
 Fitz-Eustace, Richard, 23. 
 Five Mile Act, 150, 153. 
 Flanders, 26. 
 Flatts, 13. 
 Fletcher, Edward, 70; John, 123; 
 
 Rev. J. W., 56, 184 ; Mr. 104. 
 Flush Pond, 86. 
 
 Fogg, Catherine, 41 ; Jonathan, 41. 
 Forest Hill, 44. 
 Forster, W. E., 202. 
 Forsyth, 111. 
 
 Foster, Benjamin, 70, 160, 172. 
 Fothergill, Jonathan, 140, 199. 
 Fountaine, Rev. J., 141 ; Frances, 141. 
 Fountain's Abbey, 22. 
 Foulis, Sir Henry, 33. 
 Fox, Rev. Joseph, 145, 156, 158 ; C. 
 
 James, 71. 
 
 Foxley, Rev. Thomas, 174, 175, 177. 
 Fozzard, 137, 138, -139 ; Samuel, 75. 
 France, 67, 241. 
 Francis, Simon de, 38. 
 T 
 
 Freeman, Rev. A., 187. 
 Freemasons, 206. 
 Friendly Societies, 206. 
 Frizinghall, 207. 
 Frost, Rev. William, 190. 
 Froude, J. A., 8. 
 Fulling Machine, 233. 
 Fulling Stocks, 237. 
 
 Garnett, John, 71, 141, 142, 210; 
 
 Joseph, 172 ; Thomas, 78. 
 Garrick, 62. 
 
 Gascoigne, Sir William, 29. 
 Gaunt, John of, 20; Samuel, 141. 
 Gawthorpe, 29. 
 Gay, William, 102. 
 Gelderd Road, 18, 146. 
 Germany, 67, 221, 225. 
 Gibson, Charles Philip, 1, 134, 168. 
 Gifford, General, 33. 
 Gibson, Richard, 171. 
 Gildersome, 2, 8, 18, 28, 32, 61, 64, 
 
 136, 137, 140, 164, 165, 166, 168, 
 
 182, 187, 201, 202. 
 Gill, Misses, 201. 
 Gillroyd, 5, 6, 116, 215. 
 Gisburn, Dr. John, 77, 81, 141, 142. 
 Gomersal, 4, 8, 64, 182, 207. 
 Gorhambury, 37. 
 Goveruet, 36. 
 Grace, Thomas, 25. 
 Grainger, 66. 
 
 Granville, Dr. A. B., 108, 110. 
 Greatheed, Mary, 140 ; Joseph, 136 ; 
 
 Thomas, 7, 132, 136, 140; Henry, 
 
 166 ; Martha, 166. 
 Green, Jane, 25 ; Richard, 25. 
 Greenwood, John, 192, 215. 
 Grentsmill, Yvo de, 21. 
 Grenville, George Neville, 43. 
 Grey, Earl de, 1 18. 
 Grimston, Eliz., 37 ; Sir Harbottle, 
 
 37 ; Sir Samuel, 37. 
 Gustavus, Adolphus, 38. 
 
 H. 
 
 Haigh, John and Son, 46, 47, 48, 195 ; 
 
 Joseph, 159, 172 ; Joseph A., 78 ; 
 
 William, 139. 
 
 Halifax, 20, 28, 68, 137, 152, 166, 179. 
 Halifax, Marquis of, 36, 38, 49. 
 Hall, Edward, 25 ; H. r 25 ; S., 25. 
 Halstead, Alice, 75. 
 Hamilton, Dr. R. W., 156, 180. 
 Handel, 112, 141.
 
 258 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Hardcastle, Thomas, 56. 
 
 Harding and Company, 46. 
 
 Harewood, 23, 27, 173, 237. 
 
 Hargreaves, 224, 228, 230. 
 
 Hargrove, E., 108, 109. 
 
 Harland, Edward, 135. 
 
 Harris, Dove, 103 ; John Dove, 103 ; 
 
 Hannah, 172; Rev. R., 189, 191. 
 Harrison, Abraham, 35 ; Enoch, 95 ; 
 
 John, 32. 
 Harrop, Adam, 7. 
 Hartley, Betty, 67 ; David, 188, 215 ; 
 
 Jonas, 71 ; Mary, 172. 
 Hawden, Rev. Wm., 147, 153, 1G5. 
 Haslam, Rev. John, 188, 202. 
 Hay ward, Rev. E., 187. 
 Heathfield, Frances, 25. 
 Heckmondwike, 8, 86. 
 Hembrigg Quarry, 48. 
 Hems worth, Arthur, 71 ; John, 141 ; 
 
 Thomas, 76, 140. 
 Henry I., 21, 22, 131 ; II., 22, 207 ; 
 
 III., 5, 26, 127, 173; V., 29; VI., 
 
 28, 29; VIII., 7, 29, 72. 
 Henry, Duke of Lancaster, 20. 
 Hepworth, Peter, 76. 
 Heselton, John, 179. 
 Hesse, Princess Louise of, 120. 
 Hewley, Lady, 153. 
 Heywood, Rev. Oliver, 148, 149, 152. 
 Highs, Thomas, 228. 
 Hinchcliff, Daniel, 78, 214; S., 172. 
 Hipperholme, 68, 107. 
 Hirst, David, 85, 86 ; George, 186 ; 
 
 H. E., 123; Dr., 77, 142; C. and 
 
 Bro., 215. 
 Hodgson, Christopher, 8 ; Isabel, 8 ; 
 
 John, 8; Joshua, 213, 230; Capt., 
 
 137. 
 
 Holbeck, 25, 137, 168. 
 Holdsworth, John, 137, 170; Sarah, 
 
 170 ; Thomas, 68 ; Rev. , 150. 
 Holland, Earl of, 37. 
 Holling Hall, 8. 
 Rollings, John, 141, 142. 
 Holroyd, 168; Abraham, 9". 
 Holte, Sir Lister, 41. 
 Hone, William, 84, 108. 
 Hopkins, Thomas, 69. 
 Horner, Joseph, 182. 
 Howden Clough Farm, 18. 
 Howden Clough Beck, 18. 
 Hovenden, 20. 
 Howdill, Thomas, 192. 
 Horton, 151 ; Thomas, 68. 
 Houghton. Lord, 154. 
 Howley, 1, 28 to 35, 46, 50, 66, 75, 
 
 91, 136, 139. 
 
 Howley Bridge, 18. 
 
 Howley Mill, 18, 50, 219, 220. 
 
 Howley Park Mine, 46. 
 
 Howley Plantation, 18. 
 
 Huddersfield, 1, 44, 64, 67, 122, 164. 
 
 Hudswell, Rev. A., 145, 155, 180 ; 
 
 William, 156. 
 
 Hudson, Sykes, and Bousfield, 215. 
 Hull, 104, 153. 
 Hungerhill, 11, 67, 187, 220. 
 Hunslet, 103, 137, 147, 237. 
 Hunter, Rev. J., 23, 110. 
 Hiinter-lands, 13. 
 Huntington, Richd., 54; family, 164. 
 Hussey, John, 30. 
 Hyde, Francis, 35. 
 
 1. 
 
 lanson, James, 139 ; Joshua, 140. . 
 Ibbotson, Julius Ccssar, 104, 105 ; 
 
 Richard, 104. 
 
 Illingworth, Ananiah, 161, 200. 
 Insula, de, see de Lisle family. 
 Innocent, Pope, 147. 
 Ireland, 3, 33, 38, 67. 
 Italy, 3, 225. 
 
 J. 
 
 Jackie's Plantation, 18. 
 
 Jackson Fold, 13. 
 
 Jackson, Francis, 32 ; Edward, 77, 
 77; John, 51, 71, 141, 210; James, 
 210 ; William, 58 ; W. and E., 215. 
 
 James, I., 30, 31, 32; II., 39, 40, 
 131 ; Rev. John, 135, 181. 
 
 Jeremiah, 90. 
 
 John, King, 25. 
 
 John of Gaunt, 20. 
 
 Jones, 23, 200 ; Sir W., 94. 
 
 Judge, Joseph, 70. 
 
 Junius, 116. 
 
 Juvenal, 233. 
 
 K. 
 
 Kay, John, 234. 
 
 Kaye, Sir John, 30, 35, 144, 247 ; Sir 
 
 Arthur, 41. 
 Keene, Witshed, 41. 
 Kemp, John, 208. 
 Kent, 26, 235. 
 Killingbeck, George, 32. 
 King, William, 214 ; Dr., 77. 
 King's College, 120. 
 Kingston, Earl of, 36. 
 Kinsman, Rev. A. G., 56.
 
 INDEX. 
 
 259 
 
 Kirk, Jonathan, 200. 
 Kirkstall, 22, 24, 25, 32, 128, 133. 
 Knaresborough, 109, 175. 
 Knight, Rev. Titus, 179. 
 
 Lacy, Ilbert de, 1, 2, 5, 21, 23, 131 ; 
 Robert, 21, 22, 126, 127 ; Family, 
 
 21, 22, 23. 
 
 Lady Anne's Well, 18, 91. 
 
 Lake, Sir Edward, 113. 
 
 Lambert, General, 138. 
 
 Lancaster, Blanche of, 20 ; Henry of, 
 
 20. 
 
 Langland, 238. 
 Langley, Edward, 68. 
 Langton Hall, 8. 
 
 Langton, Sir John, 25 ; Margaret, 24. 
 Latium, 3. 
 
 Law, S. and Sons, 223 ; James, 135. 
 Lawson, Elizabeth, 172 ; John 71 ; 
 
 Lawrence, 172. 
 Leadhouse, 244. 
 Leathley, John, 71, 210; Saml., 141 ; 
 
 William, 140, 141. 
 Lee Fair, 150. 
 Leeds Old Church, 9. 
 Legge, Family, 38 to 41. 
 Legh, Gilbert, 25. 
 Leigh, John, 37 ; Piers, 30. 
 Lenox, Charles, 34. 
 Leveson, Sir John, 34. 
 Levington, Charles, 34. 
 Lewisham, Viscount, 40 to 44, 178. 
 Lincoln, 21, 26, 113, 114. 
 Lincolnshire, 25, 30. 
 Lisle, Ralph de, 23, 25, 127, 128; 
 
 AVm., 23, 25, 127 ; Family, 26, 27. 
 Lisours, Albreda de, 22, 23 ; Robert, 
 
 22, 23. 
 
 Lister and Co., 46. 
 
 Lister, John, 70, 71, 144 ; James, 210. 
 Samuel, 210; Rev. Joseph, 149, 
 171 ; William, 71, 75, 140. 
 
 Liverpool, 96, 186. 
 
 Lobley, William, 203. 
 
 Local Board, 200. 
 
 Lockwood and Mawson, 98, 135. 
 
 Lodge, The, 64, 142. 
 
 Londes, Frances, 34; SirM., 34. 
 
 Longfellow, 120. 
 
 Loughborough, Lord and Lady, 140, 
 164, 172. 
 
 Low Common, 11, 12, 13, 76, 77, 85. 
 
 Lower Short Butts, 12. 
 
 Louis XIV., 40. 
 
 Lucas, Rev. Samuel, 145, 154. 
 
 Lumley, James, 78. 
 Liitgareshull, 26. 
 
 M. 
 
 Macaulay, 36, 40. 
 
 Mackay, Charles, 19. 
 
 Macdonald, Rev. G. B., 185. 
 
 Macartney, Lord, 104. 
 
 Madeley, 141. 
 
 Mallinson, J. J., 56; George, 59, 79, 
 
 195. 
 Manchester, 63, 64, 66, 67, 98, 152, 
 
 157, 223. 
 
 Manor House, 95, 103, 138. 
 Market Rasen, 113. 
 Marlborough, 26. 
 
 Marsden, Gamaliel, 149, 150, 170. 
 Marshall, A. and Son, 215 ; Rev. C., 
 
 146, 149, 170; Eliz., 170; Sarah, 
 
 170 ; AVilliam, 73. 
 Marston Moor, 139. 
 Mary, William and, 39, 182. 
 Marylebone, 107, 111, 112. 
 Masham, 104, 105, 132. 
 Matthews, Dr. Toby, 113. 
 Maurice, Prince, 38. 
 Mays, Rev. A., 175. 
 Mechanics' Institute, 203. 
 Melton Cloths, 248. 
 Merewith, Sir John, 24. 
 Metingham, John de, 129. 
 Mexborough, Earl of, 177. 
 Middlebrook, Thomas, 142 ; Samuel, 
 
 56, 194; William, 142. 
 Middlesex Hospital, 120. 
 Middleton, 5, 11, 18, 25, 62. 
 Middleton Wood, 18 ; Mine, 46, 47. 
 Millbank, Lady Augusta, 105. 
 Mill HiU, Leeds, 5, 151, 154. 
 Milling, process, 236. 
 Miller, Rev. G. D., 175, ; Thos., 62. 
 Milner, C., 71, 76 ; John, 70, 140 ; 
 
 M., 70. 
 
 Millshaw, 141, 155, 165. 
 Mirfield, John, 28, 31 ; Sir John, 9 ; 
 
 Oliver, 28 ; William, 28, 29. 
 Mitchell, D., 70; George, 64; John, 
 
 215. 
 
 Molineux, Richard, 34. 
 Monmouth, Duke of, 153. 
 Morgan, Rev. T., 145, 154, 172, 178. 
 Morley, Robert, 35. 
 Morley Hall, 57, 59, 140, 144 ; House, 
 
 79, 107, 112; Insurance Co., 216; 
 
 Obsen-er, 203 ; Main Colliery, 46. 
 Morris, Rev. John, 145, 157, 158 ; 
 
 Nich., 70.
 
 260 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Mortimer, John, 71 ; Julius, 76. 
 
 Mount, The, 201. 
 
 Mount Pleasant, 58. 
 
 Mungo, Origin of, 219. 
 
 Murgatroyd, John, 182, 183; M., 71. 
 
 Musgrave, Philip, 40, fl. 
 
 N. 
 
 Naevolus, 233. 
 
 National School, 110. 
 
 Needless Inn, the, 82. 
 
 Neepshaw Lane, 18, 46, 63, 64, 82. 
 
 Nelson, Rev. James, 175 ; John, 182 ; 
 
 Samuel, 48. 
 
 Nelson Cricket Club, 86. 
 Nesse, Rev. C., 144, 147, 148, 149, 
 
 170. 
 
 Nevile, Margery, 25 ; Sir Robert, 25. 
 New Connexion School, 195. 
 Newcastle, Earl of, 33, 34. 
 Newdigate, F., 43. 
 Newburgh, Earl of, 34. 
 New Hall, 8, 139, 141. 
 Newton, Sir I., Ill ; Rawcliffe, 175. 
 Nicholl, Sir C. G., 41 ; Frances C., 41. 
 Noble, Rev. David, 144, 149, 171. 
 Norcliffe, Frances, 8 ; Katherine, 8 ; 
 
 Stephen, 8 ; Thomas, 8. 
 Normandy, Robert, Duke of, 21. 
 North Tidmouth, 141. 
 Nottingham, Earl of, 37. 
 Nostel Priory, 23, 25, 127, 128, 129. 
 
 0. 
 
 Gates, Thomas, 132, 136 to 139, 199 ; 
 
 Ralph, 137, 152. 
 
 Oglethorpe, Helen, 30 ; William, 30. 
 Old Chapel, 91, 124 to 169, 196. 
 Old Chapel Yard, 13, 73, 89, 160, 162 
 
 to 169. 
 
 Old New Chapel, 11, 179, 200. 
 Old Parsonage, 143, 164. 
 Oldred, Richard, 137 ; Robert, 137. 
 Orange, Prince of, 38, 39. 
 Orgar, Rev. William, 181, 185. 
 Orleans Family, 120. 
 Ormescliffe, 173. 
 Owen, Rev. Owen, 175. 
 Owlers, 1, 12 ; Lane, 20, 54, 87. 
 Oxford, 27, 33, 41, 42, 44. 
 Oxlee, Rev. J. A., 175. 
 
 P. 
 
 Packington, 39, 43. 
 Paget, Sir Edward, 43. 
 
 Parkinson, Rev. A. M., 175; Juliet 
 
 Fanny, 175 ; Wm. Henry, 176, 178. 
 Parr, George, 219 ; Samuel, 220. 
 Paulden, Robert, 136, 139. 
 Peel, Sir Robert, 224. 
 Percival, Arthur Philip, 42. 
 Perkins, Rev. W. H., 121. 
 Perevill, Elizabeth, 26. 
 Phoenicians, 3. 
 Pickering, Captain, 137, 146 ; Daniel, 
 
 140 ; Deborah, 170 ; Hannah, 170 ; 
 
 John, 150, 171 ; Mary, 150 ; Rev. 
 
 Robert, 145, 147, 151, 165, 170. 
 Pinfold, 53, 87. 
 
 Pierrepont, G, 36; William, 36. 
 Plompton, Sir Peter, 24. 
 Plug Riots, 214. 
 Pollock, General, 121. 
 Pope Innocent, 147. 
 Pontefract, 5, 21, 23, 28, 30, 32, 75, 
 
 128, 139. 
 
 Portland, Duke of, 111. 
 Pressing, process, 246. 
 Preston, Henry, 56, 57, 71. 
 Priestley, Joseph, 120 ; Dr. Joseph, 
 
 154 ; Dr. W. Overend, 120. 
 Pudsey, 111, 113, 145, 146, 173. 
 Pycock, R.ev. Joseph, 175. 
 
 R. 
 
 Raikes, Robert, 181. 
 
 Rag Grinding, 219. 
 
 Raleigh, Sir Walter, 38. 
 
 Ramsden, John, 68 ; W., 215. 
 
 Ratten Row, 20, 87. 
 
 Rayner, Edward, M.A., 112 to 115 ; 
 John, 55, 136, 141, 142, 159 ; 
 Joseph, 69 ; Joshua, 140 ; J. and 
 S., 215 ; Nathaniel, 70 ; Samuel, 
 69, 142 ; Thomas, 141 ; Wm., 141. 
 
 Redvers, Baldwin de, 26 ; M., 26. 
 
 Reeve, Rev. Jonah, 181, 191. 
 
 Rehoboth Chapel, 117, 178. 
 
 Religious Tract Society, 202. 
 
 Rhodes, Hannah, 170 ; Israel, 137 ; 
 John, 70; Joseph, 78, 118 ; J. and 
 Sons, 229 ; Josiah, 215 ; Manoah, 
 118, 119. 
 
 Rich, Dorothy, 37 ; Essex, 37 ; Mary, 
 37. 
 
 Richard, I., 23; II., 5. 
 
 Richardson, John, 28 ; William, 28. 
 
 Richmond, Duke of, 34. 
 
 Riley, , 111 ; Rev. John, 150, 171. 
 
 Ripley, Henry Wm., M.P., 119. 
 
 Ripon, 1, 174, 175. 
 
 Robert, Duke of Normandy, 21.
 
 INDEX. 
 
 261 
 
 Roberts, Thomas, 70; Rev. R., 185. 
 
 Robinson, C., 8 ; James, 203 ; J., 71. 
 
 Rods, 6 ; Mill, 5, 14, 18, 212. 
 
 Rogers, F. L., 43 ; Marian, 43. 
 
 Rookery, The, 58. 
 
 Rooms Lane, 18, 62, 64, 82, 168. 
 
 Rosslyn, Lord, 140. 
 
 Rotherfield, Nicholas de., 27, 128, 129. 
 
 Rotherfield, Family, 27, 28. 
 
 Rothwell, 55, 129. 
 
 Rouse, Sarah A., 103; William, 103. 
 
 Rougemont, 23, 26, 127. 
 
 Rowland, Rev. J., 191. 
 
 Russell, Lord John, 37, 112. 
 
 Sadler, Dr. M. T., 120. 
 
 Salt, Sir Titus, 94 to 103 ; Daniel, 95, 
 
 103. 
 
 Salt, Family, 102, 103. 
 Saltaire, 95 to 102, 219. 
 Savile, Sheffield, 25 ; Thomas, 29, 30, 
 
 32, 33, 34, 127, 136 ; Henry, 29, 30, 
 
 36, 247; Hon. P. Y., 177. 
 Savile, Family, 29 to 37, 71, 137. 
 Scales, Rev. Thomas, 170, 180. 
 Scatcherd, N., 9, 10, 11, 28, 45, 48, 
 
 51, 52, 60, 63, 82, 84, 85, 87, 89, 
 
 107 to 112, 116, 142, 167, 175, 176, 
 
 202 ; Samuel, 77, 78, 140, 141, 167, 
 
 172, 199, 200 ; Matthew, 71, 166 ; 
 
 Thomas, 139, 140, 166; Henry, 
 
 141; Mary, 175; Oliver, 86; Win., 
 
 71. 
 
 Scatcherd, Family, 167, 172. 
 Scatcherd's Lane, 45. 
 School Board, 202. 
 Scotchman Lane, 48, 82. 
 Scholecroft, 136, 139, 220. 
 Scotland, 3, 226, 232. 
 Scott, Rev. , 197; Rev. H. T., 175; 
 
 Alex., 79; Jerh., 56; John, 71; 
 
 Robert, 137 ; Ruth, 172 ; Timothy, 
 
 172 ; Thomas, 77. 
 Scott of Amwell, 52. 
 Scribbling process, 222. 
 Scurr, John, 168 ; Leonard, 168. 
 Shakespere, 141. 
 Sharp, Abp., 151, James, 215; John, 
 
 151 ; Thomas, 145, 151. 
 Sheffield, Earl of, 43 ; Ann F., 43. 
 Shearing process, 243. 
 Shirtcliffe, Miles, 141. 
 Shrewsbury, Earl of, 36. 
 Simpson, J., 186, 188; Dr. 120; W., 
 
 32. 
 Skinner, Richard, 8. 
 
 Slack, Darnel, 141 ; Nathaniel, 70, 
 
 140, 159, 172; Rev. Wm., 187.' 
 Sleigh, Roger Fanning, 67. 
 Smith, George, 159, 16, 172, 210; 
 
 Hannah, 121 ; Henry, 48 ; James, 
 
 121, 122; John, 71, 136; J. A., 
 - 226 ; Joseph, 121 ; Matthew, 236 ; 
 
 Samuel, 210 ; William, 71, 77, 213, 
 
 214, 216. 
 Smithies, Grace, 95, 103 ; Isaac, 95. 
 
 103. 
 
 Smurthwaite, Jane, 140. 
 Snittles, 168, 172. 
 Snowden, John, 139 ; Joseph, 77. 
 Soothill, Thomas, 29 ; Wood, 18. 
 Southey, Rev. George, B.A., 145, 159, 
 
 172. 
 
 Sparling, Joshua, 137, 138, 139. 
 Spencer, Rev. , 145, 154 ; D., 36. 
 Spinning Mule, 230. 
 Spinning process, 225. 
 Spragge, Sir Edward, 38. 
 St. Mary's-in-the-W r ood, 5, 6, 124 to 
 
 127. 
 
 St. Nicholas' Church, 128. 
 St. Paul's Church, 176. 
 St. Peter's Church, 64, 116, 173. 
 St. Peter's Schools, 202. 
 Stair, Douglas, 42; E. L., 42. 
 Stainer, Old, 159. 
 Stanhope, James, 71 ; Philip, 36 ; J. 
 
 and Son, 215. 
 
 Starkey, Lewis Randle, M.P., 176. 
 Stead, G. H., 86; Samuel, 78, 203. 
 Stephen, King, 5, 22 ; Prior, 128. 
 Stockwell, J. and E., 214. 
 Stone Pits, 18. 
 Strachan, Sir J. R., 104. 
 Strafford, Earl of, 25, 37. 
 Street Common, 76. 
 Stump Cross, 1, 18, 54. 
 Sunday School Union, 202. 
 Sunderland, Earl of, 36. 
 Sussex, Earls of, 29, 33 to 36, 127, 
 
 136, 142. 
 
 Swainson, J., 77 ; Wm., 168, 200. 
 Swan Inn, 64, 65. 
 Swift, Ann, 25 ; Jeremy, 140, 141 : 
 
 W., 25. 
 
 Swinden Fold, 13. 
 Swinden, Dr., 51, 115, 116, 175, 177, 
 
 202. 
 Swinton Park, 104. 
 
 T. 
 
 Talbot, Earl, 43 ; Mary, 36. 
 Tanckard, Sir Richard, 137, 139,
 
 262 
 
 INDEX. 
 
 Tatshall, Robert cle, 26 ; R., 26. 
 Taylor, John, 160 ; Joshua, 190. 
 Teasing, process, 222. 
 Teazles, 241. 
 Teazle Setting, 241. 
 Temple Newsam, 58, 173. 
 Tentering, process, 245. 
 Tentergarths, 8". 
 Thanet, Earl of, 37. 
 Thimelby, Sir Richard, 30. 
 Thompson, A. H., 182; Stephen, 1G3 ; 
 
 William, 8, 104, 163. 
 Thompson's Mill, Bradford, 96. 
 Thornhill, 29, 36, 63. 
 Thoresby, Ralph, 24, 36, 146, 151, 
 
 152, 171, 210, 211, 245. 
 Thornfield House, 58. 
 Thornton, 24, 147, 152; J., 196; 
 
 Richard, 139. 
 Thorpe, 62. 
 
 Tillotson, Archbishop, 151 
 Tiugley, 2, 18, 138, 150, 171, 187. 
 Tipping, William, 56. 
 Toleration Act, 152. 
 Tolson, Anne, 30 ; Richard 30; Win., 
 
 137, 139. 
 Topdiffe, 141, 146, 148, 149, 150, 169, 
 
 170, 171. 
 
 Topclifle Moor Beck, 18. 
 Tower of London, 40. 
 Town's School, 200. 
 Town End School, 202. 
 Trenholme, 55, 200. 
 Troutbeck, 105. 
 Troy Hill, 11, 158, 160. 
 Turton Hall, Gildersome, 201. 
 Tutin, Rev. William, 175. 
 Tweddell, George Markam, 110. 
 Tyerman, Rev. Luke, 185. 
 
 U. 
 
 Ughtred, Sir Robert, 24. 
 Uniformity Act, the, 146, 148, 152. 
 Union Cloth Manufacture, 207 to 
 
 248. 
 Upper Bundock, 13 ; Buntake, 13 ; 
 
 Common, 76 ; Colling Royd, 14 ; 
 
 Holden, 13 ; Mere, 13 ; Moor, 12 ; 
 
 Royd, 14. 
 Usher, Archbishop, 32. 
 
 V. 
 
 Valley Mills Company, 215. 
 
 Villiers Ann, 34; Charles, 24; C. 34; 
 
 Sir George, 39. 
 Virowfosse, 27. 
 
 Waddy, Rev. Samuel, D., 185. 
 Wahull, John de, 26. 
 Wake, Ann, 34 ; Robert, 34. 
 Wakefield, 1, 18, 28, 29, 32, 33, 35, 
 
 70, 75, 76, 95, 108, 125, 127, 153, 
 
 183, 186, 226, 247. 
 Wales, Prince of, 39, 42; Rev. E., 
 
 145, 146 ; Rev. S., 136, 145, 146. 
 Walker, Ann, 172 ; Benjamin, 56 ; 
 
 John, 172 ; Jeremiah, 70. 
 Waller, Dorothy, 54, 163, 164; K, 
 
 54, 163, 164 ; Philip, 132. 
 Walsh, Percy, 38 ; Mary, 38. 
 Ward, Christopher, 9, 28 ; Samuel, 
 
 139 ; William, 136. 
 Warp Beaming Process, 231. 
 Warwick, 43, 159 ; Countess of, 113 ; 
 
 Earl of, 37, 38. 
 
 Washington, E., 39 ; Sir W., 39. 
 Watson, Ann, 119 ; Joan, 9 ; John, 
 
 220 ; Joseph, 71, 119 ; Thomas, 78; 
 
 Thos. A., 78 ; W. and Holton, 215. 
 Watt, James, 211. 
 Weaving, process of, 231. 
 Webster, George, 216 ; Henry, 17 ; 
 
 John, 75, 93, 140, 141, 142, 172 ; 
 
 Joseph, 69, 70, 71, 77, 78, 93, 140, 
 
 142, 142, 179; Joseph and Son, 
 
 214, 215 ; Edward, 137 ; Elizabeth, 
 
 172; Mary, 172; Richard, 9, 142, 
 
 155, 165, 208 ; Samuel, 16, 69, 70, 
 
 76, 93, 140, 141, 142, 172, 199 ; 
 
 Miss, 135 ; Nathaniel, 70, 141, 142. 
 Webster, Family of, 169. 
 Wedderburn, Alexander, 140, 164. 
 Well Close, 12 ; Croft, 12 ; Hill, 12. 
 Welsh, Walter, 30. 
 Wentworth, Marmaduke, 144 ; Sir 
 
 Michael, 71, 168 ; Sir Thomas, 8, 
 
 139 ; Sir William, 25, 33. 
 Wesley, Rev. John, 86, 182, 184, 185 ; 
 
 Rev. Charles, 112; Rev. S., 112. 
 Wesleyan Chapel, 107, 182 ; Day 
 
 School, 202 ; Sunday School, 187. 
 West, Benjamin, 104 ; Ardsley, 202. 
 West Bromwich, 44. 
 Westerman, John, 71 ; Thomas, 137 ; 
 
 William, 137. 
 Westerton, 28. 
 Wetherill, John, 15, 76, 141, 141, 142 ; 
 
 Samuel, 141, 142, 155, 165. 
 Wharton, Lord, 145, 146. 
 Wheelwright, Miss, 201. 
 Whin Hill, 18. 
 Whitaker, Dr., 23, 30, 31, 35, 163, 
 
 208 ; Abraham, 171.
 
 INDEX. 
 
 2G3 
 
 Whiteley, William, 245: 
 
 Whitkirk, 111, 173, 175. 
 
 Whitlam, Caroline, 103 ; George, 103. 
 
 Whitley, John, 71. 75. 
 
 Whyte, Sir Francis, 85. 
 
 Wicklyffe, 238. 
 
 Wichnor Park, 43. 
 
 Wide Lane, 62. 
 
 Wight, Isle of, 26, 39. 
 
 Wilkinson, William, 73. 
 
 Willans, William, 122. 
 
 William I., 1, 3, 4, 5, 21, 23; II., 30, 
 
 40, 144, 152. 
 Williams, Dr., 113. 
 Williamson, Miss, 187. 
 William, Deacon and Co., 106. 
 Willeying, process, 221. 
 Willoughby, Lord, 30; Catherine, 30. 
 Wills, 41. 
 Wilson, Abigail, 170 ; George, 135 ; 
 
 James, 70 ; John, 76 ; William, 70 ; 
 
 Sir M., 119. 
 Windermere, 104. 
 Winter, Dr., 147. 
 Wolfenden, Rev. James, 188; 
 Wolsey, Cardinal, 90. 
 Womersley, Elizabeth, 171. 
 Wonnacott, Rev. Jas., 144, 158, 160. 
 Wolverhampton, 44. 
 Wood, Rev. , 150; Sir John, 25. 
 
 Woodchurch, 32, 137, 139, 150, 171. 
 
 Woodhouse, 25. 
 
 Woodsome, 30, 41, 44. 
 
 Wool Scouring, 218, 
 
 Wool Sorting, 217. 
 
 Woollen Trade, 207. 
 
 Woolhouse, 149. 
 
 Worcester, 38, 92. 
 
 Wordsworth, Wm., 60 ; J., 77, 206. 
 
 Worlaby, 34. 
 
 Wormald, John, 141. 
 
 Worseman, William, 75. 
 
 Wrengate, 33. 
 
 Wright, Henry, 103 ; Miss, 20. 
 
 Wyther, 55. 
 
 Yeovil, 90. 
 
 Yew Tree House, 12, 54, 164. 
 
 York, 21, 30, 70, 108, 114, 119, 128, 
 
 139, 153, 174, 175, 208, 214, 232. 
 York, Dukes of, 29, 39. 
 Young, Sir Richard, 8. 
 Young Men's Christian Association, 
 
 203. 
 
 Z. 
 
 Zion Chapel, 188. 
 Zoar Chapel, 196. 
 
 END.
 
 LIST OF SUBSCRIBERS, 
 
 ALLBCTT, T. CLIFFORD, M.A., M.D., F.S.A., F.L.S., Leeds. 
 
 Armitage, George J. , F. S. A. , Clifton, Brighouse. 
 
 Ackroyd, William, J.P., Wheatleys, Birkenshaw, near Leeds. 
 
 Appleton, J. R., F.S.A., F.R.S.N.A., Western Hill, Durham. 
 
 Andrews, William, F.R.H.S., 1, Caughey Street, Hull. 
 
 Adlard, Henry, Engraver, 42, Hatton Garden, London. 
 
 Ackroyd, George, Bradford Banking Company, Bradford. (3 copies) 
 
 Allen Hammond, 16, St. Stephen's Square, Bayswater, London. 
 
 Almond, John, 12, Oriental Terrace, Armley. 
 
 Anderton, William, Worsted Spinner, Cleckheaton. 
 
 Appleton, T. W., Photographer, Horton Lane, Bradford. 
 
 Asquith, Mrs. J.D,, Morley House, St. Leonard's-on-the-Sea. 
 
 Andrew, John, 28, Sunny Bank Terrace, Leeds. 
 
 Adey, Rev. W. T., Baptist Minister, Woodsley Road, Leeds. 
 
 Ackroyd, William, Junior, Oakroyd Hall, Birkenshaw. (3 copies) 
 
 Armitage, George, Eastthorpe, Mirfield. 
 
 Askham, Joel, 14, May Day Green, Barnsley. 
 
 Atkinson, J. (D. Midgley and Sons), Huddersfield. 
 
 BAINES, EDWARD, J.P., D.L., Burley Hill, Leeds. 
 
 Brigg, J. Fligg, J.P., Mayor of Huddersfield, Greenhead Hall. 
 
 Balme, E. B. W., J.P., M.A., Sands House, Mirfield. 
 
 Brown, Henry, J. P. , Daisy Hill, Rawden, near Leeds. 
 
 Briggs, Nathaniel, J. P. , Cliffe House, Rawden, near Leeds. 
 
 Barber, Fairless, F.S.A., Castle Hill, Raistrick, Brighouse. 
 
 Boyne, W., F.S.A., Author of "The Yorkshire Library," London. 
 
 Barnes, Rev. Fred, B.A., Oxton Park, Birkenhead. 
 
 Beer, J. T., F.S.A.S., F.R.S.L., Threaplands House, Fulneck. 
 
 Bownas, Robert, Engraver, 20, Park Place, Leeds. 
 
 Barraclough, William, Union Foundry, Barnsley. 
 
 Beaumont, John, College of Science, Cookridge Street, Leeds. 
 
 By water, James H., Schoolmaster, Gomersal, near Leeds. 
 
 Binks, William, Cloth Miller, Millshaw, Beeston, near Leeds. 
 
 Brear, Thomas, Bookseller, Kirkgate, Bradford. (2 copies) 
 
 Braithwaite, Samuel, Idle, near Bradford. 
 
 Binns, Isaac, Borough Accountant, Town Hall, Batley. 
 
 Broadbent, James, Bookseller, Covered Market, Leeds. (12 copies) 
 
 Barmby, Thomas, 18, Briggate, Leeds. (20 copies) 
 
 Braithwaite, C. H. , Photographer, Top of Briggate, Leeds. 
 
 Bilbrough, Joseph B., 15, Beech Grove Terrace, Leeds. 
 
 Booth, Henry, Manufacturer, Gildersome, near Leeds. 
 
 Barrett, J. W. , Lane Side, Churwell, near Leeds. 
 
 Binks, John, Corn Factor, Wakefield. 
 
 Bousfield, C. E. , Woollen Merchant, Wellington Street, Leeds, 
 
 Blamires, Henry, Card Maker, Cleckheaton. 
 
 Brailsford, Rev. E. J. , Wesleyan Minister, Mirfield.
 
 SUBSCRIBERS. 265 
 
 Burrell, Benjamin R., Solicitor, 20, Albion Street, Leeds. 
 
 Bulmer, Charles, Solicitor, Blenheim Lodge, Leeds. 
 
 Binks, Samuel, Millowner, Rose Villa, Churwell. 
 
 Barker, James, Woollen Manufacturer, Fold Head, Mirfield. 
 
 Brigg, Benjamin S. , Burlington House, Keighley. 
 
 Burnley, James, (Saunterer), Author, 40, Salt Street, Bradford. 
 
 Bedford, George Troughton, Colliery Owner, Gildersome. 
 
 Butler, John Dyson, Land Surveyor and Valuer, Birstal. 
 
 Barber, J. M., Greenside, Heckmondwike. 
 
 Bundle, F., Turton Hall, Gildersome. 
 
 Bradley, Humphrey, Tingley Common, West Ardsley. 
 
 Bywater, William, Engineer and Machine Maker, Birstall. 
 
 Basden, E., 14, Murray, Street, Hoxton, Middlesex. 
 
 Bentley, Samuel, Cloth Finisher, Somers Street, Leeds. 
 
 Butterfield, John, Manager, Hartlepool. 
 
 Bailey, S. 0,, Engraver, Leeds Road, Bradford. 
 
 Banks, John and Co., Limited, 11, Lavender Road, Battersea. 
 
 Barmby, Rev. Goodwyu, Unitarian Minister, Wakefield. 
 
 Batley, Richard, Engineer, Albert Street, Batley. 
 
 CARTER, Alderman RICHARD, J.P., F.G S., Mayor of Barnsley. 
 
 Crowther, William, J.P., Field House, Gomersal. (2 copies) 
 
 Crossley, James, F.S.A., Pres. Chetham Soc., Manchester. 
 
 Cartwright, J. J., M.A., F.S.A., Public Record Office, London. 
 
 Carpenter, Rev. J. E., M.A., Manchester New College, London. 
 
 Clark, J. Chaundy, M.R.C.S., Bank House, Morley. 
 
 Cullingworth, Mrs. G. D., Springfield Place, Dewsbury. 
 
 Crook, Rev. James, Vicar of St. Paul's, Morley. (2 copies) 
 
 Crook, Charles, Secretary, Mechanics' Institute, Mirfield. 
 
 Cowan, Rev. D. R., Congregational Minister, Saltaire. 
 
 Carnes, George, Schoolmaster, Board Schools, Churwell. 
 
 Clapham, John. Medical Botanist, Wade Lane, Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 Clapham, Joshua, Manager, Lane Side, Churwell. 
 
 Compston, Rev. John, Baptist Minister, Beestoii Hill, Leeds. 
 
 Carr, Edwin, Surveyor, Headingley, and 12, Park Row, Leeds. 
 
 Clapham, John Arthur, Bank Chambers, Bradford. 
 
 Calvert, Rev. Joseph Mason, Independent Minister, Gargrave. 
 
 Crawford, J. W., Cloth Merchant, King Street, Leeds. 
 
 Clarke, W. H., Insurance Agent, Temple View, Beeston. 
 
 Crosland David, Oakes Mill, Lindley, Huddersfield. 
 
 Crowther, Miss, Lane Side House, Churwell. 
 
 Crowther, T. P., Woollen Merchant, Lane Side, Churwell. 
 
 Curzon, Frank, Lecturer, 12, Victoria Chambers, Leeds. 
 
 Cud worth, William, Undercliffe Street, Bradford. 
 
 Chadwick, S. J. , Church Street, Dewsbury. 
 
 Craven, Franklin, Radcliffe Hall, Pudsey. 
 
 Crann, William, County Court Office, Bradford. (8 copies) 
 
 Cowburn and Crowther, Chemical Manufacturers, Gomersal. (2 copies) 
 
 Child, James, Bookkeeper, Belle Vue, Wakefield. 
 
 Conyers, William Henry, 17, Water Lane, Leeds. 
 
 Colefax, J. S.. 36, Mannville Terrace, Bradford. 
 
 Clay, J. W., 16, Warwick Place, Leeds. 
 
 Cluderay, Charles, Clerk to Guardians, Holbeck. 
 
 DEVONSHIRE, The Most Noble the DUKE of, E.G., Piccadilly, London. 
 Dartmouth, the Right Hon. the Earl of, Patshull. (2 copies) 
 
 Denison, W. Beckett, M. P. , J. P. , D. L. , Meanwood Park, Leeds. 
 Dodgshun, Joseph, Merchant, Melbourne, Australia. 
 
 U
 
 266 SUBSCEIBEES. 
 
 Dodgshun, James, Merchant, Melbourne, Australia. 
 
 Dawson, Samuel, Bookseller, Market Place, Dewsbury. (2 copies) 
 
 Dixon, Elizabeth, 3, Oak Villas, Parish Gill Road, Ilkley. (4 copies) 
 
 Dixon, George, Dyer, Kirkstall Road, Leeds. 
 
 Dixon, John, Secretary, Leeds General Infirmary. 
 
 Deane, J. Arthur, Solicitor and Town Clerk, Batley. 
 
 Dodgson, Joseph, Bookseller, Grosvenor Place, Leeds. 
 
 Denton, William, Stone Merchant, Potternewton. 
 
 Dovenor, James, Linen Merchant, 91, Hyde Park Road, Leeds. 
 
 Dodgshun, James, Hamburg Villa, St. John's Hill, Leeds. 
 
 Dodgshun, Isaac, Wool Merchant, Basinghall Street, Leeds. 
 
 Dunckley, Henry, Editor, " Examiner and Times," Manchester. 
 
 Dixon, Abraham, Dyer, Beeston Royds, near Leeds. 
 
 Dalton, Eli, Dyer, Kirkstall Road, Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 Dickons, J. Norton, Solicitor, Bradford. 
 
 Deane, Edward Eldon, Architect, 14, Argyle Street, King's Cross, London. 
 
 Dillon, John, 25, Fore Street, London, B.C. 
 
 Denby, Alfred, Exchange Buildings, Albion Street, Leeds. 
 
 Dyson, W. C. (Colbeck Brothers), Batley. 
 
 Dixon, David, Manufacturer, 18, Carlton Mount, Leeds. 
 
 ELLIS, ROBERT HATTERSLEY, J. P. , Cotes Grange, Louth, Lincolnshire. 
 
 Ellis, William, M.R.C.S., Manor House, Queen Street, Morley. 
 
 Eddison, John, Junction Mills, New Wortley. (4 copies) 
 
 Earnshaw, Aaron, Manager, West Ardsley. (2 copies) 
 
 Eccles, J. H., Author, 7, Tonbridge Place, Leeds. 
 
 Ellis, Stead, Architect and Surveyor, Batley. 
 
 Empsall, Thomas P., 46, Manchester Road, Bradford. (2 copies) 
 
 FORSTER, The Right Hon. WM. EDWARD, M.P., Burley, Wharf edale. 
 
 Firth, Thomas Freeman, J.P., Westfield House, Heckmondwike. 
 
 Fallow T. M., M.A., Chapel Allerton, Leeds. 
 
 Federer, C. Anton, F.R.H.S., L.C.P., 8, Hallfield Road, Bradford. 
 
 Ford, J. Rawlinson, F.R.H.S., Solicitor, 18, Albion Street. Leeds. 
 
 Friend, A., Leeds. (20 copies) 
 
 Farrar, H. M. (the late), Accountant, Heckmondwike. 
 
 Fawcett, J. M. , Architect and Surveyor, Wortley Lodge, Leeds. 
 
 Fox, William, Driffield Street, Leeds. 
 
 Forrest, Charles, Lofthouse, near Wakefield. 
 
 Fox, William, 12, Belle Vue Terrace, Leeds. (3 copies) 
 
 Firth, Thomas, Silver Letter Maker, Huddersfield. 
 
 Firth, J., Grove House, Heckmondwike, near Leeds. 
 
 Falshaw, James, 14, Belgrave Crescent, Edinburgh. 
 
 GREENBURY, Rev. THOMAS, F.S. A.S., Ilkley. 
 
 Greaves, J. Edward, Reed and Heald Maker, Purlwell House, Batley. 
 
 Greaves, J. Oldroyd, Land and Mineral Surveyor, St. John's, Wakefield. 
 
 Gibson, Pearson, White Stone Lane, Huddersfield. 
 
 Graham, John, Back Lane, Churwell. 
 
 Gouldthorp, George, 29, Crawford Street, Camp Road, Leeds. 
 
 Gaunt, Joseph, Greenside, Wortley, near Leeds. 
 
 Gledhill, David, 12, Acton Street, Beeston Hill, Leeds. 
 
 Goodhall, Charles, Cookridge Street and Park Lane, Leeds. 
 
 Grainge, William, Author, Harrogate. 
 
 HOUGHTON, The Right Hon. LORD, D.C.L., F.S. A., Fryston Hall. 
 Heaton, J. Deakin, J.P., M.D., F.R.C.P., Claremont, Leeds. 
 Hailstone, Edward, F.S. A., F.G.S., Walton Hall, Wakefield.
 
 SUBSCRIBERS. 
 
 267 
 
 Hirst, H. E., M.A., B.C.L., Barrister-at-Law, Temple, London. 
 
 Homer, Joseph A., F.S.S., F.R.S.L., Tennesse, United States. 
 
 Howard, J. J., L.L.D., F.S.A., Blackheath, Kent. 
 
 Hulbert, Canon, M.A., Vicarage, Almondbury, Huddersfield. 
 
 Holliugs, Robert, M.R.C,S., Grove House, Wakefield. 
 
 Houghton, Councillor J. Denton, Woodhouse Lane, Leeds. 
 
 Hemingway and Webster, Painters, Batley. (2 copies) 
 
 Haslam, Rev. John, Turton Hall, Gildersome. (3 copies) 
 
 Haigh, John, Stone Merchant, Tingley House, West Ardsley. 
 
 Holmes, John, Holmville, Methley. 
 
 Holroyd, Abraham, Bookseller, Victoria Road, Saltaire. 
 
 Hinchcliff, Daniel, Laburnum House, Wortley, Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 Heatley, A., Eaton Grange, Market Drayton. 
 
 Hiuchlitfe, Elliot, West Lodge, Chapeltowii. (3 copies) 
 
 Hepper, John, Auctioneer, Clare ville, Headingley. (2 copies) 
 
 Hepper, J. H., Auctioneer, Balks House, Wortley. 
 
 Helliwell, Edward, Grove Cottage, New Road, Batley. (2 copies) 
 
 Houghton, William, Machine Maker, Goinersal. 
 
 Hardcastle, John, Jun., Accountant, South Milford. 
 
 Hainsworth, John E. , Engineer, Savile Town, near Dewsbury. 
 
 Haigh, George, Coal Proprietor, West Ardsley, near Wakefield. 
 
 Hepton, A. F. L., Addingham Honse, Ilkley. 
 
 HeUiwell, John, Cloth Manufacturer, Yarra House, Gildersome. 
 
 Hanson, Thomas, Earlsheaton, near Dewsbury. 
 
 Healey, John, Jun., Manufacturer, Batley. 
 
 Hawkeswell, William, 2, Aire Street, Leeds. 
 
 Hartley, Mrs., Baby Linen Repository, 157, Briggate, Leeds. 
 
 Hopkins, Thomas, Gentleman, The Mount, Malton. 
 
 Hinchliffe, James, Queen's Mill, Armley R^oad, Leeds. 
 
 Hargreave, Jabez, Cotton Spinner, Wortley, near Leeds. 
 
 Hammond, H. C. , Turner's Ford, Stanningley, near Leeds. 
 
 Holliday, Robert, Coal Owner, Gildersome Street, near Leeds. 
 
 Harrison, Thomas, and Son, Printers, Bingley. 
 
 Hart, James, Bookseller, Bradford. (4 copies) 
 
 Hinchliffe, John, Victoria Villas, Clarendon Road, Leeds. 
 
 ING HAM, DANIEL S., Clover Works, Dewsbury. 
 Ingham, John, Churwell, near Leeds. 
 
 JUBB, JOHN, J.P., ex-Mayor of Batley, Lamplands, Batley. 
 
 Jubb, Samuel, J.P., Author of "Shoddy Trade," Batley. 
 
 James, Rev. John, F.S.A.S., Windsor House, Morley. 
 
 Jessen, Henry, Merchant, Christiania, Norway. 
 
 Jasper, Enoch, Iron Works, Famley. 
 
 Johnson, David, Grosvenor Terrace, Woodhouse Lane, Leeds. 
 
 Jackson, Edward, The Mount, Potternewton, near Leeds. (4 copies) 
 
 Jepson, E. G. , 8, Woodsley Terrace, Leeds. 
 
 KENNEDY, Mrs. GEORGE, Keir Terrace, Pollokshields, Glasgow. 
 
 Kerr and Jubb, Northgate, Halifax. (2 copies) 
 
 Kirk, John, Surveyor, Brecon, South Wales. 
 
 Kilner, Caleb, Gentleman, Thornhill, near Dewsbury. 
 
 Kitchen, George, Farmer, Wales, near Sheffield. 
 
 Kempe, William, Machinist, Holbeck Mills, Leeds. 
 
 Kinsman, Andrew Guyse, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia. (2 copies. ) 
 
 LLOYD, SAMPSON S., M.P., J.P., Moor Park, Sutton Coldfield. 
 Leatham, E. Aldam, M.P., M.A., Whitley, Huddersfield.
 
 268 SUBSCEIBEBS. 
 
 Leatham, W. Henry, J.P., Hemsworth Hall, Pontefract. 
 
 Lee, Councillor W. H., J.P., ex-Mayor of Wakefield. 
 
 Law, Alderman, J. P. , Bolton House, Bradford. 
 
 Lumley, James, C.E., 14, Kirkgate, Bradford. (4 copies) 
 
 Leeds Public Library. (James Yates, Librarian. ) (10 copies) 
 
 Library, Bradford Public. (Charles J. Virgo, Librarian.) 
 
 Library, Leeds. (V. Sternberg, Librarian.) 
 
 Library, Leeds Mechanics' Institution and Literary Society. 
 
 Library, Village, Yorkshire Union of Mechanics' Institutes. 
 
 Leathley, George, 1, Claud Terrace, Seatoii St., Sculcoates, Hull. 
 
 Legg, Henry B., Woollen Merchant, 14, Blenheim Square, Leeds. 
 
 Law, Alfred, Cardmaker, Cleckheaton. 
 
 Lennox, John, Engraver, 40, Commercial Street, Leeds. 
 
 Langhorne, J. Bailey, Outwood Hall, Wakefield. 
 
 Law, Edwin, Howley Mill, Morley. 
 
 Lockwood, Benjamin, Storthes Hall, Huddersfield. 
 
 Lumb, William, Cloth Finisher, Beeston Hill, near Leeds. 
 
 Law, Samuel, Cardmaker, Cleckheaton, via Normanton. 
 
 Lockwood and Mawson, Architects, Exchange Buildings, Bradford. 
 
 Ladley, Joseph, Manufacturer, Steander Mills, Leeds. 
 
 MORLEY, SAMUEL, M.P., J.P., Hall Place, Tonbridge. (2 copies) 
 
 Marsden (the late), Alderman H. R., J.P., Avenue House, Leeds. 
 
 Mackie, Robert Bownas, J.P., St. John's, Wakefield. 
 
 Marsden, John, J.P., Cotton Spinner, Beechwood, Huddersfield. 
 
 Marshall, Thomas, M.A., Registrar, Chapel- Allerton. 
 
 Morehouse, H. J., F.S.A., Stoney Bank, Holmfirth. 
 
 Miall, Louis C., F.G.S., Curator, Philosophical Hall, Leeds. 
 
 Mayhall, John, F.R.H.S., Rose Villa, Horsforth. 
 
 Milner, Henry B. W. , J. P. , Kirkstall Grange, Leeds. 
 
 Midgley, A. E., 2, Alexandra Terrace, Rochdale Road, Manchester. 
 
 Marshall, William, Beulah Terrace, Gildersome near Leeds. 
 
 Morton, H. J., Garforth House, Garforth. 
 
 McCarthy, D. W., Jun., Horsforth, near Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 McCarthy, D. W., Gentleman, Harrogate. 
 
 Megson, A., Bradford. 
 
 Mitchell, Joseph, Rag Merchant, Field House, Ossett. 
 
 Morrell, W. Wilberforce, Author of " History of Selby," York. 
 
 Mallinson, George, Architect, Alexandra Crescent, Dewsbury. 
 
 Marshall, William, Whitetield Road, West Derby Road, Liverpool. 
 
 Mellor, Richard, Gentleman, Westfield Lodge, Huddersfield. 
 
 Morris, Professor John, Brecon College, South Wales. 
 
 Middlebrook, John, Gentleman, Birstal, near Leeds. 
 
 Moore, Joseph, Green Terrace, Gildersome, near Leeds. 
 
 NUSSEY, OBADIAH, J. P. , Cloth Merchant, Morley House, Hcadingley. 
 
 Nussey, Thomas, Cloth Merchant, Victoria House, Headingley. 
 
 Newell, George Fiederick, 30, Fenton Street, Leeds. 
 
 North, Edward, Wool and Waste Merchant, Dewsbury. 
 
 Nussey, S. L., Potternewton Hall, near Leeds. 
 
 Nussey, George Henry, Cloth Merchant, Burley, near Leeds. 
 
 Nussey, Arthur, Morley House, Headingley. 
 
 Naylor, Benjamin, Cloth Merchant, Bramley Grange, Thoriier. 
 
 Naylor, Samuel, Professor of Music, Drighlington. 
 
 North, Joseph, Cloth Miller, Leeds. 
 
 OXLEY, Alderman HENRY, J.P., Banker, Weetwood, Leeds. 
 Oldfield, T. B., M.R.C.S., Hill Top House, Heckmondwike.
 
 SUBSCRIBERS. 269 
 
 Gates, Henry, Heckmondwike. 
 
 Oxley, Henry, West Riding Prison, Wakefield. 
 
 PRIESTLEY, W. OVEREND, M.D., F.R.C.P., M.R.C.S., Mayfair, London. 
 
 Phillips, C. T. , Rag Merchant, Ossett, near Wakefield. 
 
 Parker, William, Cloth Manufacturer, Batley. 
 
 Pullan, B. C., Solicitor, Bank Chambers, Leeds. 
 
 Peel, Frank, Draper, Heckmondwike. 
 
 Popple well, George, Oldfield Lane, New Wortley. 
 
 Parr, Benjamin, Listing Manufacturer, Howley, near Morley. 
 
 Parkinson, Walter H., Architect, Upper Fomitaiue Street, Leeds. 
 
 Parker, Benjamin P., Manufacturer, Batley. 
 
 Peel, James, Church Street, Dewsbury. 
 
 Priestley, William, Gentleman, Birstal. 
 
 Penistone, Joseph, Harrison Place, Beeston Hill, Leeds. 
 
 Parker, Joseph, Jun., Woollen Manufacturer, Batley. 
 
 Pudsey Mechanics' Institute. ( J. A. Lawson, Secretary. ) 
 
 Pollard, Mrs. Robert, Windsor Road, Southport. ('2 copies) 
 
 Phillips, Edward, Garth Works, Rhiwderin, Newport, Mon. 
 
 Phillips, Robert E., Ossett, near Wakefield. 
 
 RIPON, The Most Noble the MARQUIS of, E.G., D.C.L., Studley Royal. 
 
 Ripley, Henry W., M.P., Acacia, Rawden, near Leeds. 
 
 Rhodes, Manoah, J.P., ex-Mayor of Bradford. 
 
 Ridgway, Matthew, J.P. , Market Place, Dewsbury. 
 
 Robinson, J. Ryley, LL.D., F.S.A.S., F.R.S.N.A., F.R.G.S., Dewsbury. 
 
 Roebuck, W. Denison, 9, Sunny Bank Terrace, Leeds. 
 
 Rayner, John, Mamifacturer, Alva, Scotland. 
 
 Robinson, John, Agricultural Implement Maker, Leeds. 
 
 Rayner, Simeon, Linen Draper, Chapeltown, Pudsey. 
 
 Ramsden, Mrs. (care of T. Barmby), Leeds. 
 
 Robinson, J. W., 14, Mount Preston, Leeds. 
 
 Redfern, William, Commission Merchant, 11, Wood Street, London. 
 
 Rhodes, M. Sharpley, Victoria Park, Shipley. 
 
 Rhodes, Rev. Charles, Independent Minister, East Hartlepool. 
 
 Ratcliffe, Joseph, Relieving Officer, Burmantofts, Leeds. 
 
 Routh, John, Accountant, Royal Insurance Buildings, Leeds. 
 
 Robertshaw, Thomas, Farmer and Valuer, Moat Hill, Birstal. 
 
 Ross, James, Millowner and Contractor, Warren Terrace, Wakefield. 
 
 Roberts, George, Lofthouse, near Wakefield. 
 
 Reeve, Rev. Jonah, Independent Minister, Stowmarket, Suffolk. 
 
 Richards, Job, Gentleman, 29, East Beach, Lytham. 
 
 Rodley, John, Queen's Mill, Armley, near Leeds. 
 
 Render, Dan, Colliery Owner, Gelderd House, Gildersome. (2 copies) 
 
 Roberts, Henry, Printer, Wakefield Road, Adwalton, near Leeds. 
 
 SALT, Sir TITUS, Bart., J.P., D.L., Crow Nest and Saltaire. (G copies) 
 
 Sykes, John, J.P., M.D., F.S.A., Doncaster. 
 
 Shaw, Bentley, J.P., D.L., Woodfield House, Huddersfield. 
 
 Sutcliffe, Wilson, J.P., Mayor of Bradford. 
 
 Swithenbank, G. E., LL.D., F.S.A., Anerley, S.E., Tynemouth Lodge. (2 copies) 
 
 Sewell, Edward, M.A., F.R.G.S., College, Ilkley. 
 
 Swithenbank, Councillor W. E. , Armley, near Leeds. 
 
 Smith, Rev. James, 15, Richmond Gardens, West Bromstead, London. 
 
 Swithenbank, Joshua Sweyn, Henley-on-Thames. (2 copies) 
 
 Swithenbank, Councillor W. C., Armley, near Leeds. 
 
 Scatcherd, Oliver, Solicitor, 27, Virginia Road, Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 Smith, Samuel, Assistant Librarian, Public Library, Leeds.
 
 270 SUBSCEIBEES. 
 
 Sharp, William, Card Maker, Scholes, near Cleckheaton. 
 
 Smith, Jeremiah, 3, St. Michael's Square, Chapeltown Road. (3 copies) 
 
 Scott, Mark, Oil Merchant, Selby. 
 
 Steward, Wilson, North Terrace, Birstal. 
 
 Scholefield, Matthew S., Solicitor, Batley. 
 
 Smith, Alfred, Reginald Terrace, Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 Stead, Samuel, 2, West Grove Terrace, Scarborough. 
 
 Stillwell, Thomas, 8, Portland Crescent, Leeds. 
 
 Storey, John, Artist, 7, Pilgrim Street, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. 
 
 Swithenbank, James, Rag Merchant, Street Side, Ossett. 
 
 Stead, Joseph, Ashfield Villa, Heckmondwike. 
 
 Smith, Henry Stocks, Gentleman, Headingley. 
 
 Sands, W. H., 32, Ridge Terrace, Bagby Fields, Leeds. 
 
 Sheard, Michael, Architect, Brookroyd House, Batley. 
 
 Shaw, Rev. N. Herbert, Baptist Minister, Dewsbury. 
 
 Sugden, Richard, Brighouse. 
 
 Schofield, Wright, Castle Bank Mill, Wakefield. . (2 copies) 
 
 Smith, Swire, Worsted Spinner, Low Field, Keighley. 
 
 Smith, Charles, 17, Greek Street, Leeds. 
 
 Stansfield, William, Boot and Shoe Maker, Beeston. 
 
 Snowden, Frederick, Plumber, Tingley. (2 copies) 
 
 Stead, J. J., Union Street, Heckmondwike. 
 
 Sheard, Joseph, Gentleman, Sunny Bank, Batley. 
 
 Stringer, J. W., 21, Fawcett Street, Ellerby Road, Leeds. 
 
 Simpson, Thomas, Solicitor, 20, Albion Street, Leeds. 
 
 Stephenson, C. H., 1, West End Villas, Barnes, Surrey. 
 
 Slater, Philemon, Manufacturer, Yeaclon, near Leeds. 
 
 Sheen, Alfred, Turton Hall, Gildersome, near Leeds. 
 
 Scaife, Robert H., 5, Blenheim Place, Holgate Road, York. 
 
 TAYLOR, Rev. R. VICKERMAN, B.A., Edlington Rectory, Rotherham. 
 
 Tweddell, G. M., F.S.A.S., F.R.S.N.A., Author, Stokesley. 
 
 Tatham, Alderman George, Springfield Mount, Leeds. 
 
 Terry, Alderman Benjamin, Solicitor, Barkhill, Idle. 
 
 Tipping, Mrs. William, Brasted Park, Sevenoaks, Kent. 
 
 Todd, Joseph Longley, Boot Maker, Dewsbury Moor, Dewsbury. 
 
 Taylor, Thomas, Manufacturer, Blakeridge Mills, Batley. 
 
 Turner, J. Horsfall, Schoolmaster, College House, Idle. 
 
 Tomlinson, G. W., Queen Street, Huddersfield. 
 
 Thompson, Samuel E., Sub-Librarian, Public Library, Leeds. 
 
 Turner, Thomas, Solicitor, 28, East Parade, Leeds. 
 
 Taylor, Thomas, Coroner, Wakefield. 
 
 Taylor, Joshua, Healey House, near Batley. 
 
 Theaker, Samuel, Stanley, near Wakefield. 
 
 Tyas, Charles, Woollen Manufacturer, Batley. 
 
 Townend, Benjamin, City Missionary, Middleton, near Manchester. 
 
 Tetley, Rev. W. M., Budleigh, Salterton, Devon. 
 
 VAUSE, THOMAS, 13, Gower Street, Bridge Street, Leeds. 
 Vero, E. H., Dewsbury. 
 
 WHEATLEY, CHARLES, J.P., Sands House, Mirfield, near Leeds. 
 
 White, George, J.P., Wine and Spirit Merchant, ex- May or of Scarborough. 
 
 Whaley, Thomas, M.E., Wigan, Lancashire. 
 
 Webster, Councillor George, Merchant, Park House, Gildersome. 
 
 Wigglesworth, James, Accountant, Idle and Bradford. 
 
 Wardman, Henry, Bridge Road, Holbeck, near Leeds. 
 
 Walker, David, Chapel Fold, Staincliffe, near Dewsbury.
 
 SUBSCRIBERS. 
 
 271 
 
 Webster, T. H., 3, Elniwood Terrace, Camp Road, Leeds. 
 
 Wake, C. Staniland, 74, Wright Street, Hull. 
 
 Watmough, Thomas, Grocer and Draper, Churwell, near Leeds. 
 
 Webster, Samuel, Beulah Terrace, Gildersome, near Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 Webster, James, Cloth Manufacturer, Wortley Hill. 
 
 Webb, J. P., Cloth Merchant, Wellington Street, Leeds. 
 
 Ward, William, Coal Proprietor, Manor House, Churwell. 
 
 Walker, Matthew, Swinnow Villa, Pudsey. 
 
 Webster, Joseph, Woollen Manufacturer, Old Hall, Gildersome. 
 
 Woolley, Jabez, Baron Close House, Elland Road, Leeds. 
 
 Wheater, William, Surveyor, 28, Albion Street, Leeds. 
 
 Wilson, Edmund, Solicitor, 8, Osborne Terrace, Leeds. 
 
 Watson, Thomas A. , Solicitor, Bradford. 
 
 Whitley, Samuel, Branch Road, Gildersome. 
 
 Whitehead, John, Manufacturer, 7, St. Paul's Street, Leeds. (2 copies) 
 
 Whitehead, John, Wellington Bridge Dye Works, Leeds. 
 
 Whiteley, Jeremiah, Rag Merchant, Chidswell, near Dewsbury. 
 
 Whiteley, William, and Sons, Lockwood, near Huddersfield. 
 
 Whaley, Henry, 3, Harcourt Buildings, Temple, London. 
 
 Webster, Samuel, Gentleman, Boston Spa, near Tadcaster. 
 
 YEWDALL (the late), Councillor J. GLUT, Stanningley, near Leeds. 
 
 AARON, JOHN. 
 Asquith, Ezra. 
 Armitage, Jacob. 
 Asquith, Joshua. (2) 
 Asquith, E. W. (2) 
 
 Asquith, J. D. 
 Asquith, William H. 
 Asquith, Samuel T. 
 Auty, David. 
 
 BINKS, J. W. (2) 
 
 Bradley, Albert. 
 Butler, Edwin. 
 Binks, Thomas. 
 Brunswick Library. 
 Bradley, Jacob. 
 Baxter Robert. 
 Birds, John. 
 Brown, James. 
 Baxter, Jonathan. 
 Brown, Robert. 
 Bethel Library. 
 Brown, Eli. 
 
 Brown, Charles S. (2) 
 Brook, David. 
 Bradley, Miss. 
 Brown, James. 
 Barren, Tom. 
 Butterworth, John. 
 Bywater, Samuel. 
 Bradley, Emanuel. (2) 
 Brown, Stephen. 
 Brooksbank, George. 
 
 Brown, Edwin. 
 Baines, William. 
 Baiues, Harry. 
 Barron, Edwin. 
 Bradley, Joseph. 
 Brown, Joseph. 
 Bryden, William. 
 Brown, David. 
 Barrowclough, A. (4) 
 Brook, John. 
 Banks, Elisha. 
 Brown, Reuben. 
 Brown, Israel. 
 Barron, Sam. 
 Bradley, David. 
 Briggs, David. 
 Brooksbank, James. 
 Boyes, Edwin. 
 Blakeley, Alfred. 
 
 CHEW, WALTER. 
 Clough, James. 
 Cook, Benjamin. 
 Crowther, Young. 
 Crowther, Joseph. 
 Co-operative Library, 
 Cowburn, Andrew. 
 Crowther, Fanny. 
 Crowther, Eva. 
 Crowther, Charles. 
 Crowther, William. 
 Coop, James. 
 Clough, Miss E. 
 
 Clark, David. (2) 
 
 DODGSHUN, J. E. 
 Dodgshun, Ebenezer. 
 Dixon, F. E. 
 Dodgshun, Wm. (4) 
 Dodgshun, Enoch. 
 Dransfield, Lewis. 
 Dodgshun, Wm. H. 
 Dixon, Joseph. 
 Driver, John. 
 Dixon, Charles. 
 Dixon, Alfred. 
 Davies, Rev. R. 
 Dixon, Thomas D. 
 Dixon, Thos. H. (2) 
 Dover, Joseph A. 
 Dickenson, Thomas. 
 
 Fox, JOHN. (2) 
 
 Furness, David. 
 Foster, Sam. 
 Frost, Rev. William. 
 Fisher, John. 
 
 GREENWOOD, JOHN. (4) 
 Gamble, J. (2) 
 
 Garnett, George. 
 Gaunt, Sarah. 
 Garnett, Hannah. 
 Garnett, Robert. 
 Gledhill, Thomas. 
 Gledhill, David.
 
 272 
 
 SUBSCRIBERS. 
 
 Greaves, Amos. 
 
 Mortimer, Joseph. 
 
 Sykes, Alfred. 
 
 Gledhill, Abraham. 
 
 Marshall, Robert D. 
 
 Scott, Samuel. 
 
 Gibson, Jeremiah. 
 
 Mallinson, J. J. 
 
 Stead, Thomas. (2) 
 
 Gray, George N. 
 
 Myers, William. (2) 
 
 Stead, Samuel. 
 
 Greenwood, Nathan. 
 
 Marshal], Thomas. 
 
 Stead, George H. 
 
 HEMSLEY, JOHN. (2) 
 Hirst, Mephibosheth. 
 Hirst, Benjamin. 
 Horsfall, J. Rayner. 
 Hartley, Samuel. 
 Horsfall, J. Theaker. 
 Hirst, Samuel, Jun. (2) 
 
 Mitchell, William. 
 Milner, Joseph. 
 Merrills, Benjamin. 
 
 NAYLOR, JOHN. 
 Newton, Abraham. 
 Nichols, James, (3) 
 
 OAKES, THOMAS. (2) 
 
 Smiddy, Dan. 
 Sykes, Matthew, Sen. 
 Sleigh, Roger Fanning. 
 Scholes, E. F. (2) 
 Spencer, Thomas. 
 Smith, Edward. (2) 
 Scatcherd, Samuel. (2) 
 Scholes, Paul. 
 
 Hill, John. 
 
 Oakes, William. 
 
 Smith, Alfred. (2) 
 
 Hirst, Charles. 
 Hazzlewood, Edwin. (2) 
 
 PEEL, JAMES. (2) 
 Parker, Charles. 
 
 Sykes, Matthew, Jun. 
 Scott, Mrs. T. 
 
 Hinchliffe, George. 
 
 Peel, Samuel. 
 
 Sykes, Thomas. 
 
 Habergham, George. 
 
 Pullan, Stephen. 
 
 Stansfield, Samuel. 
 
 Hirst, Samuel Tetley. 
 
 Pullan, Robert. 
 
 Spurr, Samuel. (2) 
 
 Hardcastle, Joseph. (2) 
 Hepworth, John Wm. 
 
 Priestley, Samuel. 
 Perkin, Miss. 
 
 Southey, Mrs. G. (2) 
 Scholes, David \V. 
 
 Holton, William. (2) 
 
 Pawson, Thomas. 
 
 
 Haigh, John. 
 
 Popplewell, Edwin. 
 
 TURNER, ELIZABETH H. 
 
 Hall, Miles. (2) 
 
 Peel, Ann. 
 
 Townsend, Albert. 
 
 Horsfall, Thomas. 
 HinchclifFe, Edwin. 
 Hargreaves, Joseph. 
 Hall, Joseph. 
 Hazzlewood, Joseph. (5) 
 Hartley, Benjamin. (3) 
 Hirst, Samuel, Sen. 
 Hirst, William. 
 
 RHODES, JOSIAH. (2) 
 Rhodes, Matthew. 
 Rehoboth Library. 
 Robinson, John, Jun. 
 Rhodes, Joshua. 
 Rhodes, Joseph. (2) 
 Rhodes, William S. 
 Robinson, James. 
 
 Teale, Mrs. 
 Turner, William. 
 Turner, Joseph. 
 Terry, George. 
 Tesseyman, Fred. 
 Thackray, David. (2) 
 Taylor, Joseph. (2) 
 Thackray, Francis, Jun. 
 Tomlmson "William 
 
 ILLINGWORTH, JOSEPH. 
 
 JACKSON, Mrs. WM. 
 Jackson, Edward. (4) 
 
 Rayner, John H. 
 Rayner, Samuel. 
 Roclley, Thomas. 
 
 Theaker, Benjamin. (2) 
 Teale, George. (2) 
 
 Johnson, George. 
 
 Rayner, John. (2) 
 
 Upton, J. F. 
 
 Jowett, George. 
 
 KING, Miss. (2) 
 King, Thomas. 
 King, Elizabeth. 
 
 Rayner, W. A. 
 Rayner, Samuel. Jun. 
 Rodley, William, (2) 
 Rylands, Richard. 
 Roberts, Mark. 
 
 WHITELEY, JOHN T. 
 Walker, John. 
 Walker, William. 
 Wilson, John, V.R. 
 
 King, James. 
 King, John. (3) 
 King, William. (2) 
 Kershaw, Benjamin. 
 Kenyon, John. 
 Kirkby, Joseph. (2) 
 LEATHLEY, THOMAS. 
 Lassey, Thomas. 
 Lawton, Edwin. 
 Lobley, William. 
 Lassey, George. 
 Lee, Robert. 
 Lamb, William. 
 Lawton, Joseph. 
 
 SCARTH, CHARLES. (4) 
 Summersgill, Joseph. 
 Scarth, Enoch. 
 Stead, Jonathan. 
 Stockwell, Edward. (2) 
 Stockwell, Joseph. (2) 
 Stubley, W. R. 
 Stephenson, Thomas. 
 Smith, Robert D. 
 Smith, John Henry. 
 Scarth, Joseph. 
 Sissons, Henry. 
 Schofield, Joseph. (2) 
 Schofield, Samuel. (2) 
 
 \V ornicilcl, xi. 
 Wilson, John, N.B. (2) 
 Webster, Alfred. 
 Westerman, Fred. 
 Wilkinson, John. 
 Worrall, Benj. Hale. 
 Webster, Joseph. (2) 
 Webster, Mark. 
 Webster, Mrs. R. (2) 
 Wade, Ezra. 
 Wilson, Oliver. (2) 
 Walsh, Samuel. 
 Waterhouse, Joseph. 
 Wilkinson, Thomas. (2) 
 Watson, I. C. (2) 
 
 MlDDLEBROOK, W. J. (2) 
 
 Stockdale, Samuel. 
 
 
 Metcalfe, Joseph. 
 
 Stables, Daniel. 
 
 Y. M. C. ASSOCIATION. 
 
 S. STEADj PRINTER, "OBSERVER" OFFICE, MORLEY. 
 
 ^
 
 UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LIBRARY, LOS ANGELES 
 
 COLLEGE LIBRARY 
 
 This book is due on the last date stamped below. 
 
 Book Slip-35m-9,'62(D2218s4)4280
 
 A 001 010 120 2 
 
 UCLA-College Library 
 
 DA 690 M8S6h 
 
 L 005 756 788 5 
 
 College 
 Library 
 
 DA 
 
 690 
 
 M8S6h