:i- y.'0 
 
 
 mC- 
 
 :\ y'V' ■'■'< 
 
 
e^^iL 
 
THE LAKE OF GENEVA 
 
. :^i..Ji 
 
 A FOUNTAIN IN NYON 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 By f'^ 
 
 Sir FREDERICK TREVES, Bart. 
 
 G.C.V.O., G.B., LL.D., Sergeant-Surgeon to His Majesty the King 
 
 AittJwr of " The Other Side of the Lantern," " The Cradle of the Deep," " The 
 
 Country of the Ring and the Book," "High-ways and By-ways of Dorset," 
 
 "The Riviera of the Cor niche Road," etc. etc. 
 
 With a Map and lOo Illuslrations from Photographs by the Author 
 
 GASSELL AND COMPANY, LTD 
 
 London, New York, Toronto and Melbourne 
 1922 
 
^^.\ 
 
Preface 
 
 APPARENTLY no book in English deals— from the 
 / \ point of view of the present-day traveller — with 
 the Lake of Geneva as a whole. One work will 
 concern itself with the Swiss side and another with the 
 shores of Savoy, the two countries being regarded as 
 unassimilable. Modern facilities in travelling have made 
 the two shores one, and, moreover, the history of the 
 district can hardly be appreciated unless it be considered 
 as a whole. 
 
 I have included two places — Abondance and Gruyeres 
 — which are not on Lac Leman because few who come 
 to the Lake fail to visit these ancient tovnis, since it is 
 from the Lake that they are both most conveniently 
 reached. 
 
 I am indebted to the management of the Etablisse- 
 ment des Bains at Evian for access to a library of over 
 two hundred volumes dealing exclusively with the Lake 
 and with Savoy. Extensive use has been made of the 
 admirable Dictionnaire Historique du Canton de Vaud, 
 the publication of which has just been completed. 
 
 FREDERICK TREVES. 
 
 Vevey, February, 1922. 
 
 516876 
 
 V 
 
Contents 
 
 1. The Lake of Geneva 
 
 2. Geneva : A General View .... 
 
 3. Geneva : The Old Streets .... 
 
 4. Geneva : The Old Buildings and the Alleys 
 
 5. The Escalade . . 
 
 A, FROM GENEVA TO THE DRANSE 
 
 6. Hermance and Yvoire 
 
 7. The Tragedy of Beauregard 
 
 8. Thonon .... 
 
 9. Round about Thonon 
 
 10. Ripaille .... 
 
 11. Two Legends of Ripaille . 
 
 B. FROM THE DRANSE TO THE RHONE 
 
 12. A Deserted Spa . 
 
 13. EVIAN ..... 
 
 14. The Fete-Dieu . 
 
 15. Victor Amadeus II and Evian 
 
 16. The Real Country 
 
 17. How Marie Aimee met Seven Angels in the 
 
 Guise of Mendicants 
 
 18. The Castle of St. Paul 
 
 19. The Great Stone and the Haunted Lake 
 
 20. The Holly of the Talking Cats 
 
 21. The Abbey of Abondance . 
 
 22. From Evian to Bouveret . 
 
 23. Meillerie and its Love Story . 
 
 vii 
 
 1 
 
 6 
 16 
 
 22 
 29 
 
 39 
 
 48 
 54 
 61 
 
 09 
 
 78 
 
 83 
 
 88 
 
 97 
 
 100 
 
 106 
 
 111 
 114 
 118 
 123 
 129 
 135 
 139 
 
Contents 
 
 24. John Evelyn at Bouveret 
 
 25. Across the Rhone ..... 
 
 C. FROM THE RHONE TO LAUSANNE 
 
 26. The Three Towns 
 
 27. Chillon ..... 
 
 28. The Prisoner of Chillon . 
 
 29. Barbille of Chatelard 
 
 30. Vevey 
 
 31. La Tour de Peilz 
 
 32. The Escapade of Madame de Warens 
 
 33. Blonay Castle .... 
 
 34. Gruyeres ..... 
 
 35. On the Road to Lausanne 
 
 36. A Chapel in a Grocer's Shop 
 
 37. LUTRY . . . . 
 
 38. Lausanne ..... 
 
 39. Gibbon at Lausanne . 
 
 40. OUCHY ..... 
 
 PAGE 
 
 147 
 152 
 
 165 
 173 
 179 
 184 
 189 
 197 
 200 
 209 
 215 
 224 
 230 
 236 
 241 
 252 
 263 
 
 D. FROM LAUSANNE TO GENEVA 
 
 41. St. Sulpice and Morges ..... 269 
 
 42. St. Prex and a Man of Weight . . . 279 
 
 43. RoLLE 283 
 
 44. Nyon 289 
 
 45. Madame de Stael ...... 297 
 
 46. CoppET AND its Chateau ..... 308 
 
 47. The Home of Susanna Curchod . . . 315 
 
 48. The Town that is not a Town . . . .319 
 
 49. Voltaire at Ferney ...... 324 
 
 Index 333 
 
 vni 
 
List of Illustrations 
 
 A Fountain in Nyon 
 
 • 
 
 • 
 
 
 Frontispiece 
 
 FACIN 
 
 O PAQB 
 
 Geneva from the Lake ...... 
 
 6 
 
 Geneva : The Last of the Penthouses . 
 
 
 
 
 10 
 
 Geneva : Monument to the Reformatio 
 
 n 
 
 
 
 14 
 
 Geneva : Rue Calvin 
 
 
 
 
 18 
 
 Geneva : Bourg de Four 
 
 
 
 
 
 20 
 
 Geneva : Tour Baudet 
 
 
 
 
 
 24 
 
 Geneva : Scene of the Escalade . 
 
 
 
 
 
 30 
 
 Hermance, from the Lake . 
 
 
 
 
 
 40 
 
 Hermance ..... 
 
 
 
 
 
 40 
 
 Yvoire (Castle on Right) 
 
 
 
 
 
 42 
 
 A Gate of Yvoire 
 
 
 
 
 
 44 
 
 Street in Yvoire . 
 
 
 
 
 
 44 
 
 Yvoire : The Church 
 
 
 
 
 
 46 
 
 Beauregard 
 
 
 
 
 
 50 
 
 Thonon .... 
 
 
 
 
 
 54 
 
 Thonon : St. Francis' Shop 
 
 
 
 
 
 58 
 
 Rives below Thonon . 
 
 
 
 
 
 58 
 
 The Castle of Allinges 
 
 
 
 
 
 62 
 
 The Chapel of Allinges 
 
 
 
 
 
 64 
 
 Concise .... 
 
 
 
 
 
 64 
 
 The Dranse 
 
 
 
 
 
 66 
 
 The Old Bridge over the Dranse 
 
 
 
 
 68 
 
 Ripaille : The Entrance 
 
 . 
 
 
 
 
 70 
 
 IX 
 
List of Illustrations 
 
 
 
 
 FACIl 
 
 s:g page 
 
 The Chateau of Ripaille 
 
 74 
 
 Ripaille : The Nut Tower . 
 
 
 
 
 78 
 
 Amphion .... 
 
 
 
 
 86 
 
 Amphion : The Deserted Spa 
 
 
 
 
 86 
 
 Evian .... 
 
 
 
 
 92 
 
 Evian : One of the Towers . 
 
 
 
 
 92 
 
 Evian Church 
 
 
 
 
 98 
 
 How Vmes are Grown in Savoy- 
 
 
 
 
 . 106 
 
 Marie Aimee's Shrine . 
 
 
 
 
 112 
 
 The Great Stone 
 
 
 
 
 . 120 
 
 Dent d'Oche .... 
 
 
 
 
 120 
 
 Maxilly Castle .... 
 
 
 
 
 124 
 
 Abondance : The Cloisters . 
 
 
 
 
 130 
 
 Abondance : The Door of the Virgin . 
 
 
 
 130 
 
 Petite Rive : A Tj^pical Lake-side Village 
 
 
 
 136 
 
 Meillerie ....... 
 
 
 
 142 
 
 Tower at Porte du Sex 
 
 
 
 152 
 
 Chessel Church ...... 
 
 
 
 152 
 
 Noville ....... 
 
 
 
 154 
 
 Villeneuve : The Bouvier House . 
 
 
 
 160 
 
 Villeneuve : The Tower .... 
 
 
 
 160 
 
 Sea-gulls on the Lake .... 
 
 
 
 168 
 
 Chillon from the Lake .... 
 
 
 
 174 
 
 Chillon 
 
 
 
 174 
 
 A Courtyard in Chillon .... 
 
 
 
 176 
 
 The Great Hall, Chillon .... 
 
 
 
 176 
 
 The Pillar in the Torture Chamber, Chillon . 
 
 
 
 178 
 
 The Castle of Chatelard .... 
 
 
 
 186 
 
 Vevey ....... 
 
 
 
 190 
 
 A Street in Vevey ..... 
 
 
 
 194 
 
 X 
 
 
 
 
 
List of Illustrations 
 
 FACING 
 
 PAGE 
 
 Chateau de la Tour de Peilz, from the Harbour . 
 
 196 
 
 Chateau de la Tour de Peilz ..... 
 
 198 
 
 Blonay Castle ........ 
 
 210 
 
 Blonay Castle : The Main Gate ..... 
 
 212 
 
 St. Saphorin : The Entry ...... 
 
 224 
 
 Glerolles, showing a Background of Vineyards 
 
 224 
 
 Cully : A Door of 1598 
 
 232 
 
 Cully : A Mediaeval Bench dug out from Tree Trunk 
 
 232 
 
 Lutry ......... 
 
 236 
 
 Lutry : The Church Door ...... 
 
 236 
 
 Lutry : The Castle and Town Wall .... 
 
 238 
 
 Lutry : The Castle Door ...... 
 
 240 
 
 Lutry : The Stone Hand ...... 
 
 240 
 
 Lausanne ......... 
 
 242 
 
 Lausanne : Fountain and Town Hall .... 
 
 244 
 
 Lausanne : The Market Stairs ..... 
 
 246 
 
 Lausanne : The Wooden House . . . 
 
 246 
 
 Lausanne : Tower of Bishop's Palace .... 
 
 248 
 
 Lausanne : The Chateau ...... 
 
 248 
 
 Lausanne : The House in which Gibbon Lodged . 
 
 256 
 
 Stone showing Leagues ...... 
 
 270 
 
 
 270 
 
 Morges ......... 
 
 272 
 
 The Castle of Morges ....... 
 
 276 
 
 Vufflens ......... 
 
 276 
 
 St. Prex 
 
 280 
 
 St. Prex : The Town Gate 
 
 280 
 
 Rolle 
 
 284 
 
 The Castle of Rolle 
 
 286 
 
 Rolle 
 
 286 
 
 XI 
 
List of Illustrations 
 
 The Tower of Aubonne 
 
 Aubonne : Entrance to the Chateau 
 
 Nyon. ..... 
 
 Nyon : Rue de la Flechere 
 
 Nyon : The Writing on the Wall 
 
 Madame de Stael 
 
 Coppet : The Chateau 
 
 Coppet : The Church . 
 
 Coppet : The Main Street . 
 
 Coppet : The Entrance to the Chateau 
 
 Coppet : Where Madame de Stael is Buried 
 
 Crassier : The Church and Gendarmerie 
 
 Grassier : The Home of Susanna Curchod 
 
 Versoix ...... 
 
 Old Shops in Ferney .... 
 
 Voltaire's House, Ferney 
 
 Map 
 
 FACING PAGE 
 
 . 288 
 
 . 288 
 
 . 290 
 
 . 294 
 
 . 294 
 
 . 302 
 
 . 308 
 
 . 310 
 
 . 312 
 
 . 314 
 
 . 314 
 
 . 316 
 
 . 318 
 
 . 320 
 
 . 328 
 
 . 328 
 
 . 332 
 
 xu 
 
THE LAKE OF GENEVA 
 
 THE LAKE OF GENEVA 
 
 THE concise facts about the Lake of Geneva are 
 these : It is the Lac Leman of the French. It is 
 the largest of the lakes. It stands at a height of 
 1,220 feet above the level of the sea, and its waters are 
 blue. It is bounded by Savoy on the one side and by 
 Switzerland on the other. The Rhone runs through it 
 from end to end. It is subject to a strange undulatory 
 wave called a seiche, which passes across it like a shudder, 
 or as if the side of the cup in which the Lake is lodged 
 had been hghtly struck. 
 
 The vast dimensions of the Lake can best be realized 
 by imagining it empty of its water. It would then 
 appear as a barren valley of rock 45 miles long and 
 8j miles broad at its widest point. It would take the 
 form of a vast, terrific canyon, with sides of clammy and 
 cadaverous stone and with a depth so profound that its 
 bottom would be almost in twilight, since at its deepest 
 it sinks no less than 1,095 feet. 
 
 At one end of the valley the Rhone would pour in 
 as an icy waterfall ; while at the other end — like a card- 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 board toy on the top of a bank — would be the city of 
 Geneva. The bottom of the valley would be covered 
 with the clay-coloured mud brought down by the river, 
 and here, one may imagine, would be writhing and 
 plunging those fearsome reptiles that belong to the 
 Legends of the Lake. There would be strange heaps 
 of wreckage amid the silvery acres of dead fish, and, 
 perhaps, on a ledge of rock in the valley's side a lonely 
 skeleton with a rope and stone still dangling from its 
 neck ; for executions by drowning were once common 
 in these waters. 
 
 Far more important than its topographical features 
 are the conflicts of thought and of national ideals of 
 which the Lake has been the scene. On the south 
 shores of Leman the feudal form of government pre- 
 vailed. Here the castle and the baron dominated the 
 land ; the peasants were serfs, and those in higher 
 place but obsequious servants. In early days Savoy was 
 broken up into little seigneuries, which held their own 
 with such strength as they could command. Then came 
 Humbert of the White Hands, who banded the inde- 
 pendent, feudal lords into one united body and so 
 established the State of Savoy, of which he — as Count 
 — became the autocratic ruler. Savoy rose to be a 
 power, not through the merit of its princes, but by the 
 circumstance that France never ceased in her attempts 
 to gain possession of it. It was the greed and aggression 
 of France that made Savoy whole, that kept it united 
 and kept it strong. But whether under one lord or under 
 many, it remained the land where men had few rights 
 but those of obedience. 
 
 On the other side of the Lake the contrary condition 
 
 I 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 held sway. The people were bent upon acquiring liberty 
 and the control of their own destinies. So long as they 
 were subject to rule they never ceased to clamour for 
 more freedom. Little by little their demands were 
 granted until, with increasing confidence, they grew 
 bold, threw off the yoke of their overlords and estab- 
 lished the first republics in modern Europe. Thus on 
 one side of the water was an enlightened democracy, 
 while on the other was a dull feudalism. 
 
 The waters of the Lake that divided the RoyaUst 
 from the Republican were destined, in time, to separate 
 two antagonistic phases of religious thought. When 
 the Reformation blazed forth, the north shores of Lac 
 Leman became the advanced line of Protestantism and 
 the bulwark behind which its forces gathered. Across 
 the water were the entrenchments of Rome. These 
 upholders of adverse faiths glared at one another across 
 the blue until, in a memorable year, the army of the 
 Reformation crossed the barrier, invaded the Roman 
 lines, swept over Chablais^ and converted it to Protest- 
 antism. The victory was only for a while, since under 
 the leadership of St. Francis of Sales the Catholic Church 
 succeeded in regaining the ground that it had lost and 
 that it has never since surrendered. 
 
 But this is not all, for the Lake was to witness 
 another profound movement which served further to 
 divide the minds of men — Voltairism came into being. 
 Voltairism, Lord Morley claims to stand out as " one of 
 the great decisive movements in the European advance, 
 like the Revival of Learning, or the Reformation." 
 *' We may think," he adds, "of Voltairism in France 
 
 1 Chablais is that province of Savoy which borders on the Lake. 
 
 3 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 somewhat as we think of CathoUcism or the Renaissance 
 or Calvinism. It was one of the cardinal liberations of 
 the growing race, one of the emphatic manifestations of 
 some portion of the minds of men, which an immediately 
 foregoing system and creed had either ignored or out- 
 raged."^ Voltaire lived at Ferney — a few miles from 
 Geneva — for some twenty years, during which time he 
 never failed to spread abroad the views with which his 
 name is associated. 
 
 In present aspect the two shores of Lac Leman differ 
 very much when seen from the water. On the Savoy side 
 is a luxuriant land, w^ayward and unsophisticated, a land 
 without walls or hedges where things seem to grow as 
 they will with little method or restraint. The north 
 shore, on the other hand, is meticulously tilled. Its 
 slope, from Vevey almost to Nyon, is covered with vine- 
 yards patterned out by formal lines and made to look 
 stiff and artificial. In the spring the northern bank of 
 the Lake for many miles is a cinnamon-brown and as 
 monotonous in hue as a ploughed field. When the vine 
 leaves appear the slope becomes a hesitating green and 
 then a bolder green which, as the autumn wanes, fades 
 into tints of yellow or ruddy brown. Thus it is that 
 the more pleasing view of the Lake is gained from the 
 northern side, for it affords a view across the water of 
 a coast that is always green and that has, moreover, as 
 a glorious background, a range of mountains capped with 
 snow. 
 
 Many times and by many pens has the Lake been 
 described. The descriptions are monotonous, for they 
 are all in terms of "blue" and are indeed little more 
 
 1 " Voltaire," by John Morley. London, 1897. 
 4 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 than rhapsodies in blue. Ruskin exults in the glories 
 of this tint with such thoroughness that he leaves the 
 subject almost exhausted, for he speaks of "the ever- 
 answering glow of unearthly aquamarine, ultramarine, 
 violet-blue, gentian-blue, peacock-blue, river-of-paradise- 
 blue, glass of a painted window melted in the sun." 
 
 It is unquestionable that the Lake is often blue ; but 
 it is always a delicate and timid blue, very unlike the 
 bold assertive blue of the Mediterranean. It is, more- 
 over, a tint that ever varies, that changes with each 
 hour of the day, for the surface of the Lake is sensitive, 
 sympathetic and full of moods. It may fade into grey, 
 the grey of the pearl if the sun be on it, the grey of 
 the smoke of burning wood if it be in the shadow of a 
 cloud. There are days when it is almost jade-green. 
 There are evenings when it is streaked with lilac, with 
 coral-pink or with rose-red. There are, moreover, occa- 
 sions, it must be said, when " the river-of-paradise-blue " 
 is replaced by a colour so commonplace as that of an 
 old pewter plate. The surface of the Lake has been 
 compared to a mirror, but it is seldom so hard or so 
 artificial as to justify that comparison. It may on a 
 sunless day resemble a sheet of blue Damascus steel, or 
 when the mist is gathering it may have the appearance 
 of sullen ice, but of the Lake as a sitting-room mirror 
 few can have knowledge. 
 
 For convenience of description the Lake in the 
 following account is divided into four sections : 
 
 A. From Geneva to the Dranse. 
 
 B. From the Dranse to the Rhone. 
 
 C. From the Rhone to Lausanne. 
 
 D. From Lausanne to Geneva. 
 
 5 
 
II 
 
 GENEVA : A GENERAL VIEW 
 
 GENEVA, when seen for the first time, should be 
 seen from the Lake. To arrive at the railway 
 station and be conveyed through featureless 
 streets in an hotel omnibus is merely to gain an impres- 
 sion of a town that may be any towTi, may be Lyons 
 or Marseilles or such other city as has the names of its 
 streets inscribed in French. 
 
 The visitor would expect to find something very 
 distinctive about Geneva, if he be one of those who hold 
 that human characteristics are influenced or determined 
 by environment. He would insist that there must be 
 something unusual about the aspect, position or sur- 
 roundings of Geneva to account for its history and its 
 pronounced individuahty. What is there in the topo- 
 graphy of the place that can explain its ponderous 
 gravity, its love of learning, its hatred of the trivial, its 
 passion for reform, and its general dourness? 
 
 Geneva seems never to have had a childhood, much 
 less a frivolous youth. It has always appeared to be old 
 and solemn beyond its years. From its earliest days it 
 clamoured for liberty at the time when its neighbours 
 were quite content with their dukes and their kings. 
 While other towns had their tournaments and courts of 
 love, Geneva was poring over its books. While the 
 
 girl of Savoy was slyly dropping rose leaves on a trouba- 
 
 6 
 
Geneva: A General View 
 
 dour, the maiden of Geneva was sitting at the feet of 
 a droning preacher. While its gates were closed to the 
 jester and the mountebank, they were open to the fanatic 
 and the crank; for Geneva was ever a sanctuary to the 
 man with a grievance, to the honest rebel and to all who 
 were oppressed. There has passed along the streets of 
 this city as strange a company of men as ever haunted 
 the shades of Dante's Purgatorio, wild-eyed men who 
 went by shaking their fists at a world of wrong, men 
 too who were aflame with the spirit of destruction and 
 the breaking up of laws, as w^ell as smiling men who, as 
 they passed, muttered to themselves of a new heaven 
 and a new earth. 
 
 What mark has all this emotion left upon Geneva, 
 or what is there about the disposition of the town that 
 can explain its exceptional temperament? The answer 
 is : There is nothing. 
 
 Approached from the Lake, Geneva appears as a 
 brilliant city at the end of an avenue of shining water 
 bounded by green banks. Here the Lake terminates 
 and here the city shuts in the scene, as if the sheet of 
 w^ater were a stage. The houses are drawn across from 
 shore to shore like a dam. They form an unbroken wall 
 and yet at some point the Rhone must be breaking 
 through to make its escape to the sea ; but of any such 
 gap there is no sign. About the place is a sense of 
 finality, a sense of having come to the end of things, for 
 over the tops of the houses that close the Lake there is 
 nothing to be seen but the sky. The dam might be built 
 on the brink of the world and beyond it there may be 
 nothing but space into which the Rhone drops like a 
 waterfall. 
 
 7 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 On nearer approach the brilliancy of Geneva becomes 
 more evident. The houses are lofty and bravely coloured 
 and present a wide front of thousands of windows 
 and thousands of sun-blinds. There is nothing to suggest 
 academic solemnity or puritanical gloom. On a hillock 
 to the left are the towers and spire of a church, but 
 beyond this Geneva would appear to be composed of gay 
 and magnificent hotels. In the matter of cheerfulness 
 and worldliness it may be an inland Nice or a lake-side 
 Monte Carlo. 
 
 A fuller acquaintance with Calvin's home shows it to 
 be a fine ambitious city, beautifully ordered and modern 
 in every particle of its being. Geneva, like Lausanne, 
 has long carried on a crusade against all that is old within 
 its boundaries. Old Geneva has practically vanished, 
 except in a few; by-ways and corners; while in its place 
 is a reformed city which is evidently determined never 
 to put new wine into old bottles. 
 
 That Geneva is still a place of refuge may be gathered 
 from the fact that, although the population of the 
 Canton is 151,000, only 50,000 of this number are 
 Genevese, while 39,000 are Swiss of other Cantons and 
 no fewer than 62,000 are foreigners. 
 
 The passing away of old Geneva is to be deplored, 
 as it was a town of peculiar fascination. Ruskin speaks 
 of it as "the most lovely spot, and the most notable, 
 without any possible doubt, of the European universe," 
 as "a bird's nest of a place, the centre of reHgious 
 and social thought and of physical beauty to all hving 
 Europe."^ Happily very many prints and old accounts 
 exist of Geneva as it was, so that it is possible to 
 
 1 " Praeterita." 
 
 8 
 
Geneva : A General View 
 
 reconstruct, in imagination, the city of ancient days.^ 
 It consisted of two parts joined by a bridge over the 
 Rhone. The part on the north side — the Quartier St. 
 Gervais — was small and occupied a very low hillock ; 
 while the south part — the Quartier St. Pierre — was large 
 and covered a dome-shaped hill of some height. Both 
 parts of the town were surrounded by a wall and a moat. 
 The wall was made formidable by many towers and 
 pierced by many gates. Of the moat, the gates and 
 the towers all traces have disappeared, but of the ancient 
 walls there are still some meagre relics to be seen, as 
 in the Rue d' Italic and the Rue de Beauregard. 
 
 Mediaeval Geneva was a small place. The confines of 
 the south town may be indicated at the present day by 
 the lake-side, the Rue d'ltalie, the Rue des Casemates, 
 the foot of the Rue de la Croix Rouge and the Corra- 
 terie ; and the boundaries of the smaller town by the 
 quay, by the Rue des Terreaux du Temple, the Cornavin 
 and the Rue de Chantepoulet. 
 
 Inside the Quartier St. Pierre there are feeble traces 
 of even an older town, the almost forgotten Burgundian 
 to\Mi, for after the passing away of the Romans Geneva 
 became, in 443, the capital of the Kingdom of Burgundy. 
 Gondebaud, the most famous and most disreputable of 
 the early Burgundian kings, built a castle in Geneva in 
 the Bourg-de-Four and surrounded the town with a wall. 
 About 534 the Franks possessed the place, but at the 
 end of the ninth century it was annexed by the new 
 
 1 " Voyage pittoresque en Suisse," par £mile Begin. Paris, 1852. " Swit- 
 zerland," by Wm. Beattie. London, 1834. " Les Actes et Gestes Merveilleux 
 de la Cite de Geneve," par A. Fromment (written in 1550). Geneva, 1854. 
 " Le Tour du L^man," par A. de Bougy. Paris, 1846. " Beaut^s de I'Histoire 
 de la Savoie et de Geneve," par P. Nougaret. Paris, 1818. " L'Ancienne 
 Geneve," par J. Mayor. Geneva, 1896. 
 
 9 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Burgundian kingdom under Rodolfe I. In 1038 — on 
 the death of Rodolfe III — it passed into the possession 
 of the German Empire, and thus is explained how the 
 Imperial eagle on a yellow ground became a part of 
 the arms of the city. The wall that enclosed the old 
 Burgundian town ran to the east of the Cathedral and 
 the Bourg-de-Four, followed on the north the line of 
 the Rue Calvin, and extended towards the Rhone as far 
 as the Tour de Boel. Fragments of this old wall appear 
 in the Rue du Manege, Rue de Bemont, the alleys of 
 the Rue de la Pelisserie and the north face of the Rue 
 Calvin. 
 
 The bridge was a remarkable feature of Geneva. It 
 was interrupted by an island, as it is to this day. It was 
 of wood, and was crowded with wooden houses which 
 hung perilously over the Rhone. They did more than 
 this. They waded out into the river on piles, some 
 venturing as far as a hundred feet. They formed a 
 curious medley of taverns and private houses, of shops 
 and primitive factories, for in certain of the dwellings 
 there was a water-wheel whirling under the ground floor. 
 The houses were all gaily decorated, and the roadway 
 was made brilliant by swinging shop-signs and the sign- 
 boards of inns, with perhaps, now and then, the coat of 
 arms of a noble resident. As the structure was of wood, 
 it is no wonder that, on a certain day in 1670, the bridge 
 and all that was on it was burned to the water's edge. 
 
 About a century ago Geneva was the delight of 
 everyone who had eyes to see. There was no city like 
 it, old travellers were wont to assert. Shelley was about 
 the only visitor of note who could find " nothing in it 
 that can repay you the trouble of walking over its rough 
 
 lO 
 
GENENA: THE LAST OF THE PENTHOUSES 
 
Geneva: A General View 
 
 stones."^ He complained, too, that the gates were 
 closed at 10 p.m. (The chief gates were demolished in 
 1831.) To Ruskin it was always " the dear old decrepit 
 town." He describes it, in his " Praeterita," as "a 
 little town, composed of a cluster of watermills, a street 
 of penthouses, two wooden bridges, two dozen of stone 
 houses on a little hill, and three or four perpendicular 
 lanes up and down the hill." He found, however, 
 another bridge over the moat. It was " the delicatest 
 of fihform suspension bridges," he says, " strong enough 
 it looked to carry a couple of lovers over in safety, or a 
 nursemaid and children, but nothing heavier." 
 
 Old prints and drawings (such as those of Henri 
 Silvestre) show what an exceedingly picturesque place 
 it was, with its untidy river banks, its piratical-looking 
 lanes, its tumbledown mills, its ancient dwellings with 
 their great overshadowing roofs and wooden balconies, 
 while the river-side houses hung over the water like a 
 line of old clothes clinging to pegs. 
 
 Perhaps the most striking and unique feature of 
 Geneva in those days were the penthouses. They stood 
 high up under the eaves of the dwelling, where they 
 formed part of the fifth story. They were supported on 
 immensely tall square pillars of wood which sprang from 
 the street. They sheltered the houses from sun and rain. 
 There is only one penthouse left in Geneva. It is in the 
 Rue de la Cite (No. 5). It consists of one towering 
 square pillar which supports a room on the fifth stor>\ 
 The little room, which has two windows, looks like a 
 dovecote on a pole. I can imagine it occupied by a boy 
 who had faith in the story of Jack and the Beanstalk. 
 
 » " JDstory of a Six Weeks' Tour." London, 1817. 
 II 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Those who are unmoved by new municipal buildings, 
 palatial hotels and super-modern shops will find the most 
 interesting part of Geneva in the Musee d'Art et 
 Histoire, where will be seen, among a superb collection 
 of old prints, two large models of the town as it 
 appeared in 1815 and 1850 respectively. In the same 
 museum also are deposited innumerable relics which have 
 come down from the days of the lake-dweller and the 
 Roman occupation to the sober times of the nineteenth 
 century. Here mil be seen a prehistoric boat and its 
 paddles, old furniture, old ceilings, old tavern signs, old 
 ironwork, as well as a medley of little things that recall 
 the intimate life of the serious city. Notable in the 
 collection are two street doors, one a splendid piece of 
 woodwork of the sixteenth century from the Rue de la 
 Pelisserie, and another from the Rue Calvin which is 
 covered with the burnt-in stamps of various revolutionary 
 clubs. Among these writings in red-hot iron are a heart 
 enclosing the word " constant," the cap of liberty on a 
 staff with the doubtfully sincere word "pax," the 
 frequently recurring design of two fish, and many 
 monograms and initials. 
 
 One feature in Geneva that curiously impresses the 
 visitor is the sight of the Rhone rushing through the 
 town. There is some inscrutable magic in this spectacle, 
 for I have watched a perspiring tourist tearing along the 
 quay with guide-book in hand and with evidently not a 
 moment to spare. I have seen him cast a glance over 
 the parapet at the Rhone and suddenly stop, to forget 
 his haste, and possibly his lunch, and to gaze on the 
 river with the absorption of a mesmerized man. It is 
 difficult to say what constitutes the fascination of this 
 
 12 
 
Geneva: A General View 
 
 amazing stream. It is an effect compounded of many 
 things, of the terrific speed at which the tide whirls 
 by, of its haunting colour — a spectral blue — and of its 
 gigantic volume, for it seems as if this outrush must 
 empty the Lake in a day. 
 
 The sight of the Rhone at Geneva made a great 
 impression upon Ruskin, who explains its enchantment 
 in the following fine passage : 
 
 " For all other rivers there is a surface, and an underneath, 
 and a vaguely displeasing idea of the bottom. But the Rhone 
 flows like one lambent jewel ; its surface is nowhere, its ethereal 
 self is everywhere, the iridescent rush and translucent strength 
 of it blue to the shore, and radiant to the depth. Fifteen feet 
 thick, of not flowing, but flying water; not water, neither, — 
 melted glacier, rather, one should call it ; the force of the ice 
 is with it, and the wreathing of the clouds, the gladness of the 
 sky, and the continuance of Time. Waves of clear sea are, 
 indeed, lovely to watch, but they are always coming or gone, 
 never in any taken shape to be seen for a second. But here 
 was one mighty wave that was always itself, and every fluted 
 swirl of it, constant as the wreathing of a shell . . . the 
 never-pausing plunge, and never-fading flash, and never- 
 hushing whisper." 
 
 In the place of the two bridges of Ruskin's time there 
 are now seven. They are all temperately ugly. In the 
 middle of the river, as it leaves the Lake, is a pleasant 
 little island called, in old days, the He des Bergues, or 
 Isle of Barges. It is shaded by trees and forms a cool 
 retreat from the whirl of traffic and the buzz of life along 
 the quays. It is occupied by an unpretentious cafe and 
 a pretentious statue of Rousseau, by reason of which it 
 is called Rousseau's Island. It brings those who come 
 here in very intimate association with the wonder of the 
 
 '3 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 river; since, but for the lack of moveijient, it might be 
 a raft anchored in the torrent. 
 
 It is, moreover, a place frequented by sea-gulls. 
 These birds are an agreeable feature in the life of the 
 Lake. Their migration every year is a matter of 
 mystery. They go ; but no one knows whither, for the 
 nursery of the race is still a secret place. The birds 
 are becoming demoralized. Their proper occupation is 
 fishing ; but now that the tourists have taken to feeding 
 them with bread they have neglected that industry. 
 Instead of following the fish in the Lake, they prefer 
 to follow the steamers, to haunt the quays and to subsist 
 on the unemployment dole which is so lavishly bestowed. 
 They ^vill soon become, like the pigeons of Venice, a 
 company of tourist-supported idlers. 
 
 If the average visitor were advised that there is, in 
 a public park in Geneva, a new and recently erected 
 monument to the Reformation he would probably 
 express gratitude for the warning and add that there 
 were already enough recent memorials in England and 
 France to satisfy the most morbid craving. Yet this is 
 a monument so remarkable and so impressive that it is 
 worth a pilgrimage to see it. 
 
 It consists of a long stone wall of great height. At 
 the bottom of the wall runs a stream, clear as crystal, 
 in a channel of stone. There are lilies in flower in the 
 stream. Above the wall rises the old city of Geneva. 
 In the centre of the wall stand erect four gigantic 
 figures of men. They are the four leaders of the 
 Reformation — Farel, Calvin, Beze and Knox. They are 
 solemn enough and grim enough ; while their immense 
 proportions give them the aspect of superhuman strength. 
 
 14 
 
* "i : 
 
Geneva: A General View 
 
 They stand, side by side, \\ath their backs to the wall. 
 It is, however, no mere wall ; for behind it is the curtain 
 of the ancient bulwarks, that wall of 1543 which kept 
 safe the town. It is the wall that faces Rome. 
 
 Along the vast screen are other figures, smaller 
 and, by comparison, less significant. Among them are 
 Cromwell, the courtly Coligny and plain, honest Robert 
 Williams. There are also bas-reliefs depicting various 
 scenes in the development of the Reformation between 
 the years 1536 and 1602. All these are of interest, but 
 they do not disturb the impression made by the four 
 stern-faced men who stand with their backs to the wall 
 that faces Rome. 
 
 15 
 
Ill 
 
 GENEVA : THE OLD STREETS 
 
 THE heart of Geneva is L'lle, a little island on 
 the Rhone, where the old bridge crossed between 
 the two quartiers of the town. There was a bridge 
 here before the days of Christ, for Julius Csesar found 
 it stemming the river when he came to this part in 
 B.C. 58. On the south of the Rhone at that date were 
 vague people called the Allobroges, and 'on the north 
 the equally vague Helvetes. Caesar had already dealt 
 with the Allobroges, but the Helvetes were giving 
 trouble, were apt to swarm over the bridge and were 
 indeed making themselves exceedingly offensive ; so the 
 Roman general caused the bridge to be broken down 
 and thus stopped their activities. This transaction is 
 recorded on a stone in the w^all of the modern tower 
 which now stands on the island. This tower, which is 
 pleasing enough for a structure that has no reason for 
 being a tower, occupies the site of a very old castle or 
 keep which came to be, at one time, the Bastille of 
 Geneva. Here was confined the heroic patriot Berthelier, 
 and at the foot of the tower he was beheaded. This was 
 in 1519, as a very theatrical statue calls to mind. 
 
 The bridge opens upon the Place Bel Air, which was 
 at one time known as the Square of the Three Kings 
 from a tavern of that name. Professor Doumergue 
 
 i6 
 
Geneva: The Old Streets 
 
 states that in this spot the punishment of the pillory 
 was administered as late as 1811.^ 
 
 The Low Town is represented by a series of parallel 
 streets which run east and west in a line with the quay. 
 These streets were once the most picturesque in Geneva, 
 for here were the penthouses. They have now been 
 entirely rebuilt and are devoted to rows of ambitious 
 shops. Even the quaint old alleys which, only a few 
 years ago, crept between the Rue du Marche or Rue de 
 la Croix d'Or and the Rue du Rhone have vanished or 
 have been robbed of any interest. 
 
 The Fusterie, the Molard and the Place de Longe- 
 malle — now busy squares — were once inlets from the 
 Lake where ships discharged their cargoes. At the Lake 
 end of the Molard was a tower which (very much 
 renovated) still remains. From the iron rod on the 
 summit of its roof dangles a small key, a quite ordinary 
 front door or cupboard key. This is still the subject of 
 some surmise. Professor Doumergue thus comments on 
 it : " The key may be that of the Rive Gate sent to the 
 Duke of Savoy in 1602, concealed in a turkey, by a 
 traitor." 2 A key, it might be added, forms a part of 
 , the arms of Geneva, but it is a large key, appropriate to 
 a castle keep, and not to a china closet. 
 
 The High Town is reached by steep streets which all 
 inevitably lead to the Town Hall, the Cathedral and the 
 Bourg-de-Four. Of these streets the Rue de la Cite has 
 probably seen more of the past Hfe of Genevia than has 
 any other. At the bottom of the street is the fountain 
 of the Escalade, erected in 1857. It is a pleasant-look- 
 
 1 " Geneva Past and Present." Geneva. (No date. A most excellent 
 guide-book, marred only bv the lack of an index.) ' Op. cit., page 21. 
 
 c 17 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 ing monument of stone, alive with little bronze figures 
 which are very busy in making vivid the tale they have 
 to tell. It is placed where it is because on the night 
 of December 11, 1G02, when the attempt to seize 
 the city was made, this small street was in the very 
 thick of it. 
 
 Near the fountain is the sole remaining penthouse 
 in Geneva, of which mention has been already made 
 (page 11). In the alley No. 18 is a fine example of 
 the old balconied house. The building has four stories 
 above the ground floor. Each of these is provided with 
 a deep and spacious wooden balcony with wxU-turned 
 railings. The four balconies are one above the other and 
 represent the entries to as many different residences. 
 In another alley (No. 19) is a good specimen of the tall 
 staircase tower which is so common in old Genevese 
 dwellings. In the Place du Grand Mezel, higher up the 
 street, Bonivard lived after his release from the prison 
 of Chillon. It is now a httle Place of superior private 
 houses. 
 
 Near the top of the hill the Rue de la Cite changes 
 its name to the Grande Rue. No. 40 in this street was 
 the birthplace — as a tablet declares — of Jean Jacques 
 Rousseau (June 28, 1712). The ancient house is replaced 
 by a quite new building, belonging, appropriately enough, 
 to a company of printers. About this point the Rue de 
 la Pelisse rie stumbles up into the Grande Rue. It is a 
 narrow, dingy street of poor but picturesque houses, 
 many of which are of some age. It is so steep a street 
 that at the bottom it has recourse to a flight of steps in 
 order to accomplish the ascent. At No. 11 is a doleful 
 alley. It ends in a court that is mysterious and mean 
 
 i8 
 
■^^•mumJ^ 
 
 (iENEV'A : RUE CA1.\ IN 
 
1 : .'J 
 
Geneva: The Old Streets 
 
 and suggestive of a trap. Here the visitor is brought 
 suddenly face to face .with a mass of mouldy masonry. 
 This is a part of the old Burgundian wall very dramatic- 
 ally presenting itself. Near the top of the Rue de la 
 Pelisserie is a large private house (No. 18). It is the 
 best house in the street, possesses four stories, has a 
 quite dignified entrance and the aspect of being well-to- 
 do. It is not old, nor has it a claim to any architectural 
 beauty, but it was here that George Eliot stayed from 
 October, 1849, to March, 1850. She lodged with a 
 family named Durade, the husband being an artist. She 
 had a bed-sitting-room, took her meals with the Durades 
 and paid for this lodging and board 150 francs a month, 
 including light. She was the only lodger. She hired 
 a piano. Lunch was at 12.30, dinner at 4 and tea 
 at 8.1 
 
 Turning out of this street is the Rue Calvin, a sober, 
 narrow street which is making its way to the Cathedral. 
 It ends in a tiny square where are a fountain and a 
 tree and where people come to rest ; for it is as quiet as 
 a convent courtyard. In a house (No. 11), near to this 
 little square, Calvin lived. It is needless to say that the 
 house has been pulled down.^ It is represented now by 
 a glaring new building which announces itself as the 
 office of the Board of Health and offers to test milk 
 and other articles of consumption as well as to inspect 
 weights and measures. It is remarkable that no memorial 
 of Calvin exists, if exception be made of the question- 
 able chair in the Cathedral — " not a room, not a piece of 
 furniture," writes Doumergue, " not even a gravestone." 
 
 1 " George Eliot's Life," by J. W. Cross, London, 1885. 
 * It was demolished in 1706. 
 
 19 
 
,; The Lake of Geneva 
 
 In the Rue du Puits St. Pierre, leading out of the 
 Rue Calvin, is the famous Tavel house (No. 6). This 
 is one of the most perfect of the old city houses. It is 
 a square, solid building, supported at one corner by a 
 round tower with a conical roof. The windows have 
 been modernized, although their original outlines are 
 still evident ; but there is one little slit of a window with 
 a pointed arch which seems to have been overlooked. 
 There is a series of very curious heads projecting from 
 the wall of the house, which has besides a fine courtyard 
 with a winding stair and some admirable ironwork in 
 the forms of a fanlight and a balcony. 
 
 Before the Rue de la Cite finally reaches the Bourg- 
 de-Four it changes its name for the second time and 
 becomes the Rue de I'Hotel de Ville. In this street 
 (No. 8) is the Turrettini house, which claims, with the 
 Tavel house, to be one of the few remaining specimens 
 of the great houses of Geneva. It dates from 1620. 
 The Turrettini were Italians who came to Geneva as 
 Protestant refugees and who, in their new home, raised 
 themselves to positions of dignity and repute. The house 
 is built of stone in the classical style and is impressive 
 by its fine proportions and its great simplicity. 
 
 Two other streets of interest clamber up from the 
 Low Town to that common meeting-place, the Bourg- 
 de-Four. They are the Rue Verdaine and the Rue de 
 la Fontaine. At No. 15 Rue Verdaine, Henri Amiel 
 passed the closing days of his life. He w^as that strange, 
 lonely and melancholy man who poured forth the dreari- 
 ness of his soul in the Journal Intime.^ It is a morbid, 
 egotistical and unwholesome work which would have 
 
 1 " Amiel's Journal." Translated by Mrs. Humphry Ward. London, 1889. 
 
 20 
 
GENEVA : BOURG DE FOUR 
 
Geneva: The Old Streets 
 
 been better left where it was found — locked up in a 
 box. The house, which has not the merit of age, is now 
 a warehouse. It looks towards the Cathedral (which 
 stands above it) and faces that remarkable passage, the 
 Degres de Poule or Hen Steps. The Hen Steps are 
 entered through a rounded archway and mount up to 
 the Cathedral. The steps, which form a stair as steep 
 as a ladder, pass underneath some ancient buildings 
 which were formerly stables and granaries. The Hen 
 Steps date from 1554. 
 
 At No. 32 Rue de la Fontaine is an old entry with 
 a rounded arch that leads into an alley. The arch pierces 
 the fragment of a wall as ancient as the doorway. The 
 guide-book states that this wall belonged to the palace 
 of the Bishop and that by this exit Pierre de la Baume, 
 the last Bishop of Geneva, quitted the city on July 14, 
 1533. 
 
 The Bourg-de-Four is an irregularly shaped place 
 on the summit of the town, surrounded by equally 
 irregularly shaped houses. It has a modest fountain, is 
 shaded by some old trees and is altogether an agreeable 
 and picturesque part of the city. Here stood the ancient 
 Burgundian castle which w^as destroyed by the Count of 
 Savoy in 1320. The Bourg was for centuries the social 
 and business centre of Geneva, and a very pleasant rally- 
 ing point it must have been. It was the place where the 
 fairs were held and where the chief inns were located. 
 There are still some of the old inscriptions remaining, 
 such as the Pomme d'Or 1734, and some old signs, such 
 as that of the Sea Shell and the Black Horse. From 
 the last-named it would appear that it offered " bon 
 logis *' as long ago as 1563. 
 
 21 
 
IV 
 
 GENEVA : THE OLD BUILDINGS AND THE ALLEYS 
 
 THE To\vn Hall, near to the Bourg-de-Four, 
 possesses considerable interest. Its history is very 
 fully recorded in Professor Doumergue's work. 
 Externally the building offers little attraction. It looks 
 comparatively modern and presents the features of the 
 municipal offices of any large provincial town. It has, 
 however, an entry — built in 1617 — of greater dignity 
 than the average municipal office attains ; while all along 
 its front is a stone bench fit for Roman senators to sit 
 on. In the wall to the left of the main entrance is a 
 bronze tablet set up in 1892 to record a certain political 
 achievement. It is in itself of no moment, but it 
 replaced a tablet erected in 1558 in honour of the 
 Reformation. This bronze is now in the north aisle of 
 the Cathedral. In front of the tablet stood the pillory, 
 and here too was a raised seat from which, as late as 
 1829, criminal sentences were read out. 
 
 On a certain day in June, 1762, the road at the 
 foot of the tablet was the scene of a curious ceremony. 
 A fairly brisk fire of faggots was burning in the street, 
 and around it, but at a careful distance, was a crowd 
 of people whose expressions denoted var>^ng shades of 
 indignation or disgust. In the centre of the circle was 
 a man in a dismal costume who was busy tearing up 
 books and thromng them on the fire. The man was the 
 
 22 
 
Geneva: The Old Buildings 
 
 common hangman and the books were the works of 
 J. J. Rousseau. 
 
 At the back of the Town Hall is the Baudet Tower, 
 one of the oldest buildings in the city, for it dates from 
 1455. It is a small, low, square tower of great charm 
 and obviously of great age. The authorities of Geneva 
 have done their best to make it look new, but only with 
 indifferent success. Even the upper story, which was 
 transformed in 1894, fails to spoil it. 
 
 In the comer of the picturesque court of the Town 
 Hall is a fine Renaissance doorway bearing the date 
 1556. It opens upon the famous paved slope. This 
 slope, which is unique in Europe, makes its way by a 
 series of sharp turns to the top of the building — to the 
 third floor, in fact. It has a vaulted roof, is paved with 
 small cobblestones and is lit through a series of arches 
 which open upon the courtyard. In order to realize this 
 remarkable stairless stair one should imagine the syndic 
 and his wife returning late in the evening from a ride 
 in the country. They reach the Town Hall and, with- 
 out dismounting, ride up side by side to the very door 
 of their bedroom, where they alight from their horses. 
 
 The one gracious room in the Town Hall is the State 
 Council Chamber, which dates from the 15th century. 
 It is small and in spite of its modern windows realizes 
 very fitly the solemn room where Calvin imposed his 
 will and pronounced before the awed council his edicts. 
 The ceiling is a reproduction of that of the 16th century, 
 while the panelling has been removed to the Museum 
 and replaced by a commendable imitation. Round the 
 walls are certain frescoes which were only laid bare 
 during alterations made in 1901. They deal with Justice 
 
 23 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and depict the perfeet judge as a gentleman with his 
 hands cut off to show that he cannot — even if he would 
 — accept a bribe. In this room also are syndics' staffs 
 dating as far back as 1450. 
 
 The Grand Council Chamber is comparatively 
 modern, while the very ornate Alabama Hall is only of 
 interest from the facts that the Red Cross Society was 
 founded here in 1864 and that within its walls in 1872 
 the AJahama claim was settled. 
 
 Opposite the Hotel de Ville is the old market hall 
 of 1415. It has been many times restored but is still, 
 with its gaudily painted shutters, an impressive building. 
 The open ground floor where the market was held is now 
 void, while the upper part of the hall is (or was) the 
 city armoury. 
 
 Behind the Town Hall is the famous Promenade of 
 La Treille. It is the oldest public walk in the city and, 
 being placed on the ramparts, provides a magnificent 
 view of the country to the south of Geneva. It is here 
 that that poor solitarj'^ creature Ami el, the unsuccessful 
 professor, was wont to pace to and fro pondering over 
 the misery of life and inventing fresh expressions of 
 melancholy for insertion in his diary. La Treille takes 
 its origin from the early part of the 16th century. It 
 has been frequently repaired and remade, as the dates 
 (1557 to 1713) on the supporting wall serve to show. It 
 is planted in all its length with chestnut trees, w^hich 
 make it the most pleasant and best shaded walk in 
 Geneva. Not the least noticeable feature of the terrace 
 is the bench w^hich runs from one end of the parade to 
 the other, for it claims the curious distinction of being 
 the longest bench in the world. 
 
 24 
 
GENE\ A : TOUR BAIDF.T 
 
Geneva : The Old Buildings 
 
 The Cathedral of St. Peter on the summit of the 
 town is probably as well known to European travellers 
 as St. Peter's at Rome or St. Paul's in London. Its 
 two square towers and its graceful steeple form the 
 landmarks of Geneva for miles around. The first church 
 upon this site is credited with the date 1034. The 
 present building had its origin in the 12th and 13th 
 centuries and provides an illustration of the transition 
 from the Romanesque to the Gothic styles. The very 
 beautiful Gothic chapel of the Maccabees was constructed 
 in 1406 and refashioned in 1878. The whole Cathedral 
 has been much restored and affords an instance of the 
 remarkable power the Genevese possess of making the 
 most ancient building look new. The Corinthian portico 
 which would do credit to a provincial corn exchange was 
 added in 1759 to the permanent disfigurement of an 
 otherwise consistent building. In the Cathedral is a 
 plain chair " which it is supposed that Calvin employed 
 in his pulpit." 
 
 There are two other old churches in this part of 
 Geneva — the Madeleine and St. Germain. The Made- 
 leine, in the queer ill-shapen Place of that name, dates 
 from the early part of the 12th century ; but was rebuilt 
 in 1446 and in 1611 and very violently restored in recent 
 years. Its gallant old tower (plastered over to make it 
 appear new) has very ancient round-arched windows. 
 The rest of the building is Gothic and is so '* done up " 
 that it may have been built in the present century. The 
 church of St. Germain is almost as old as the Madeleine. 
 It is much hemmed in by mean buildings. Its one fine 
 feature is its venerable square tower which has happily 
 escaped the restorer. The rest of the edifice has, however, 
 
 25 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 suffered severely at his hands. It is a church with a 
 '•past," for it has been in turn a butcher's shop, a 
 Flemish chapel and an artillery barracks. 
 
 Close to the Cathedral is the Auditoire. It has been 
 a church since 1213, except for an interval in the 16th 
 century when it was a smithy. It was at one time a 
 chapel for the Enghsh residents in Geneva. In the 
 Auditoire Calvin delivered his famous lectures. On the 
 wall is a tablet which states that John Knox, " pastor 
 of the EngHsh residents and citizen of Geneva," preached 
 in the chapel during the years 1555-7. The building, 
 however, is so entirely modern in appearance that the 
 announcement makes no impression, for it is impossible 
 to associate this very present-day building with the 16th 
 century and the great Scots reformer. 
 
 The St. Gervais quarter of Geneva, to the north of 
 the Rhone, presents little that is of interest. The old 
 quartieVf surrounded by its walls and towers, occupied 
 a very gentle slope, the summit of which is represented 
 by the top of the Rue Cornavin. Here stood — at the 
 end of a bridge crossing the moat — one of the main 
 gates of Geneva. It was by this gate that most travellers 
 entered the town, and as the railway station is situated 
 here it happens that they still enter by the same point. 
 As the southern town has its church of St. Peter's, so 
 this di\'ision of Geneva has its church of St. Gervais. 
 
 This church dates from the middle of the 15th 
 century. It has a fine tower with Romanesque windows. 
 On the south face of the tower are the arms of the 
 bishop, Franpois de Mies, and the date 1435. The rest 
 of the church adopts the Gothic arch, is built largely of 
 brick, and presents, under the margin of the roof, a 
 
 26 
 
Geneva : The Alleys 
 
 cornice of modillons of the 15th century. The whole 
 building has, however, been so thoroughly restored as 
 to be of small interest and, being a Protestant church, 
 is kept locked. On the outer wall of the church is a 
 tablet giving the names of those citizens of Geneva — 
 seventeen in all — who were killed during the Escalade 
 of 1602. 
 
 The Rue du Temple, by the side of the church, con- 
 tains many old houses of the humbler type. One house 
 (No. 15, for example) retains its fine ogee windows and 
 the pointed arch of its old doorway. The street as a 
 whole is, indeed, one of the least modernized in Geneva. 
 
 The alleys of old Geneva are fast disappearing, and 
 with them will vanish a characteristic and intimate 
 feature of the ancient city. There are certain alleys in 
 the southern town which are worth exploring. The 
 Passage des Barrieres, near the Madeleine, with its steep 
 stairs and its suspicious twists and turns, is certainly 
 picturesque; w^hile the alley that leads from No. 24 Rue 
 Verdaine to the Rue de la Fontaine conveys a sense 
 almost of alarm. A narrow subway, like a working in 
 a mine, leads to a flight of stone stairs. At the bottom 
 of the stairs the alley skirts the base of a round tower 
 which looks into a dank yard. Then follow a dark tunnel 
 and finally, with some relief, the daylight of another 
 street. 
 
 The most uncanny alleys, however, are on the other 
 side of the Rhone. Notable are those that lead from the 
 Rue du Temple to the bank of the stream, together with 
 a few" that slink out of the Rue Cornavin. They recall 
 to mind every horrible story that is concerned with the 
 darker life of a mediaeval town. Here is the narrow 
 
 27 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 entry that one armed man could hold against a score. 
 Here is the doorway, deep sunken in shadow, where the 
 assassin with the cloak w^ould wait, and there the steps 
 that lead to the suspicious half-open door. There are 
 square vents in walls, each guarded by an iron grille, 
 that let the light into no one knows what chambers of 
 horror. There is the courtyard, green with mould and 
 dark as a pit, that is made a haunted place by reason 
 of the dust-covered ^\dndows which spy into it story 
 above story. These by-\vays are deserted. They are 
 not places to linger in, for there is an atmosphere of 
 uneasiness about them which persists until the sunlight 
 and the open air are once more reached. It needs but 
 little fancy to people them wdth a hundred terrors, to 
 imagine oneself chased dow^n these nightmare lanes and 
 to find no way of escape, to detect footsteps creeping 
 round the corner, to see a white face at one of the dread- 
 ful windows, or to have the silence of a hollow courtyard 
 rent by a heart-chilling shriek. 
 
 28 
 
V 
 
 THE ESCALADE 
 
 ONE of the most dramatic events in the history 
 of Geneva was the treacherous attempt to take 
 the town on December 11, 1602 — an adventure 
 known as the Escalade. It failed ; and the people of 
 Geneva still continue to rejoice in their victory as each 
 December comes round. No visitor can be long in 
 Geneva without being reminded, by monument, tablet 
 or relics, of the Escalade. The aggressor was the Duke 
 of Savoy. Savoy never for long relaxed its efforts to 
 seize the city, for it was obsessed by the ambition. 
 
 In 1602 Geneva and Savoy were at peace. Indeed in 
 the early part of that year some notables of Savoy had 
 visited the city in order to discuss certain matters of 
 common interest. They were smiling and conciliatory 
 gentlemen who made themselves most agreeable and who 
 yielded to Geneva's demands with great bonhomie. 
 They admired the city and were especially interested in 
 the walls. The Genevese felt this to be a compliment, 
 for they were very proud of their walls. That a Savoyard 
 should be found at night measuring the height of the 
 wall with a stone attached to a string was regarded as 
 the act of an enthusiast. Spring, summer and autumn 
 went by, but nothing was heard of Savoy except kindly 
 greetings, and yet the Duke, unable to take Geneva 
 by force, had resolved to sneak into the city at night 
 and massacre the inhabitants. 
 
 29 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 This unheroic enterprise was planned for the darkest 
 night of the year — December 11, which in the calendar 
 of to-day would be December 21. An army was to lie 
 in wait in the outskirts of Geneva while a picked body 
 of 300 men were to creep into the town by scaling the 
 walls. The leader of the scaling party was Brunaulieu, 
 who knew the city wxll and hated it still better. His 
 company was worthily equipped. Their helmets and 
 breastplates were blackened so as to be less easily seen. 
 They were provided with dark lanterns, with hammers 
 to smash in doors, huge pincers to cut chains, petards 
 and a horrible kind of two-pronged fork on a long pole. 
 Laden on mules were ladders in sections which could 
 be lengthened or shortened at will. These ladders were 
 spiked at the foot for firmer holding, while at the top 
 they were covered with felt to muffle sound. Other 
 mules carried hurdles and faggots to be laid in the moat, 
 which was now at its lowest. 
 
 Before the Porte Neuve was closed for the night a 
 panting countryman hurried in to announce that he had 
 seen troops advancing towards Geneva. He w^as curtly 
 told in reply that he was dreaming and was advised to 
 drink less wine. A little later a cavalier passed through 
 the gate and repeated the news, adding that the men 
 were of Savoy. Whereupon the officer of the guard, 
 pointing to the great wall rising from the moat, asked 
 sarcastically, "Are these Savoyards birds that they can 
 fly over walls and ditches ? ' ' 
 
 The plan of attack will be understood by reference 
 to the sketch opposite this page. One party was to 
 climb over the wall of the Corraterie, seize the Porte de 
 la Monnaie, on the one hand, and the city side of the 
 
 30 
 
b 
 
 
 -^ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 i 
 
 
 \i 
 
 UJ 
 
 ^/^ 
 
 
 3 
 
 s 
 
 _i 
 
 tT^ 
 
 < 
 
 S^ 
 
 'L> 
 
 4^ 
 
 t/) 
 
 *»J 
 
 
 'Jr 
 
 Q 
 
 u 
 
 E 
 H 
 
 o 5 
 
 T <o (^ i- i u_ v^- X 
 
The Escalade 
 
 Porte Neuve on the other. A body of men hidden out- 
 side the Porte Neuve were to rush that gate as soon as 
 the signal was given that the advanced party had 
 accomphshed its objects. The attack was timed for 4 a.m. 
 
 A httle after midnight the men with the ladders 
 crept across the Plainpalais towards the wall. It was 
 nervous work, for it was pitch-dark and cold. The least 
 noise alarmed them, even the stumbling of a mule or a 
 gust of wind among the reeds. Once a hare darted across 
 the line and so terrified the men in the van that they 
 stopped to cross themselves and, with chattering teeth, 
 to mutter a prayer. When the moat was reached a 
 flock of wild duck was disturbed and dashed into the 
 darkness with great quacking and flapping of wings. 
 The guard at the Monnaie heard the flutter of these 
 ducks, but merely remarked sleepily, " That otter is 
 busy again." 
 
 It may here be explained that the Corraterie (now 
 the street of that name) was a rough level space between 
 the town and the wall. The town was at this point 
 represented by the backs of the houses that — on the 
 other side — looked into the Rue de la Cite. There were 
 here three gates, the Monnaie, the Tertasse and the 
 Treille, the positions of which are still easily identified. 
 There were certain alleys that opened at one end into 
 the street and at the other into the Corraterie, as they 
 do to this day. The site of the Bastion d'Oie is now 
 occupied by the Rath Museum; the Porte Neuve stood 
 on the town side of the present Place Neuve, while the 
 wall beyond it was that against which the new monument 
 to the Reformation is erected. 
 
 The ladders were put in place ^vith much whispering 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and trepidation, but little eagerness was shown in making 
 the ascent. At the foot of the ladder stood a lean Scots 
 Jesuit, named Alexander Hume, who exhorted those 
 who were about to mount, giving to each a piece of 
 paper with a text on it which would preserve the holder 
 from shot, steel and sudden death. Hume, with a little 
 ill-timed imagery, told the hesitating soldiers that the 
 ladders were steps to Heaven. This was not reassuring, 
 as the men did not wish to go to Heaven at that par- 
 ticular moment and, moreover, preferred some other 
 route than the ladder. However, they crept up shiver- 
 ing and, climbing over the wall, hid under the parapet. 
 
 When about 200 had taken this unsteady road to 
 Paradise a soldier at the Monnaie Gate, hearing a noise 
 in the direction of the moat, warned his corporal, one 
 Francois Bousezel. The two started off with a lantern 
 towards the ramparts, calling out, at each nervous step, 
 " Qwi vive?^^ They had not gone far into the black 
 night when the corporal was felled by an invisible halberd 
 which crashed upon him in the dark. He dropped dead 
 — the first victim of the Escalade. He was a velvet 
 merchant and lived in the Bourg-de-Four in that house 
 which now bears, as a sign, a sea shell. His companion 
 incontinently fired off his harquebus and fled back to the 
 gate screaming " AJarme! alarme! Aux armesl " This 
 was at 2.30 a.m. 
 
 The guard at the Monnaie were aroused and a 
 drummer boy, beating his drum, hurried into the town 
 sending a thrill of panic through each silent street as 
 he panted up to the Hotel de Ville. The Rue de la Cite 
 was soon in commotion. Windows were thrown open, 
 and every nightcapped head that popped out yelled the 
 
 32 
 
The Escalade 
 
 same cry into the empty lane : " In Heaven's name what 
 is the matter? " Bolts were shot back, doors were 
 thrown open, and men, half-dressed and with any odd 
 weapon in their hands — a pike, a sword, a shovel or 
 a pick — rushed into the street. Dogs barked, women 
 screamed, lights appeared at every window, while the 
 flare of torches cast fantastic shadows upon the balconied 
 houses. In a moment, above the hubbub in the street, 
 came a sound, deep, hollow and ominous, the clang of 
 the great bell. La Clemence, tolling the alarm. 
 
 The guard at the Porte de la Monnaie was soon driven 
 back (they were only six in all), and the Savoyards rushed 
 into the little Place de Notre-Dame du Pont crying 
 " Ffue Savoie!^^ This was a small triangular space — 
 indicated by the present Escalade fountain — between 
 three gates, the Monnaie opening on to the Corraterie, 
 the City Gate at the bottom of the Rue de la Cite, and 
 the Rhone Gate that led into the square now called the 
 Place Bel Air. Between the two gates last named, and 
 facing the Monnaie Gate, was a small low house that had 
 once been the Mint. It is shown in old prints^ as a 
 house of two stories only. Here lived Mere Royaume, 
 a woman of 60, who became the heroine of the Escalade. 
 The little place was crowded with the Savoyards, and 
 no doubt from every window some article was hurled 
 down upon them with curses, if only it were an old 
 boot, a chair or a log of wood. Mere Royaume did 
 better. She dropped out of her window a heavy iron 
 pot or marmite — as much as she could lift. It fell upon 
 the head of a soldier of Savoy and killed him. This first 
 
 » " Histoire Populaire du Canton de Geneve." Geneva, 1905, page 57. The 
 Monnaie Gate was destroyed in 1831. 
 
 D 33 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 enemy casualty seems to have heartened the Genevese, 
 for they poured into the place with a roar hke thunder 
 and drove the invaders back through the Monnaie Gate 
 into the Corraterie. 
 
 There was a house (No. 8) in the Rue de la Cite that 
 belonged to Julien Piaget. It was entered by an alley 
 leading from the street to the Corraterie. The door on 
 the street side was locked, but the other door was open. 
 Here the Savoyards made an entry, but were met by 
 the Piagets' servant, one Abraham de Batista, who, 
 armed with a sword, gallantly held the passage. Dame 
 Piaget — a lady of resource — was alone in the house. 
 She first of all barricaded the front door which opened 
 into the alley and then threw into the street the key 
 of the locked entry to the alley, so that the Genevese 
 were able to enter. They found Batista dead at the 
 alley end, and, stepping over his body, fell on the 
 Savoyards and drove them back to the Corraterie. 
 
 Like encounters took place all along the line. At 
 the Tertasse Gate a sortie was made, led by Jean Canal, 
 the syndic, a man of 63. He rushed ahead of his party 
 armed only with a sword, but was at once cut down, 
 while by his side was killed Bogueret, the architect of 
 the Hotel de Ville. Their deaths were avenged ; for the 
 Genevese fell upon the intruders with such violence that 
 they drove them down the hill to the Porte Neuve. 
 
 While all this confused street fighting was in progress 
 Brunaulieu was making a fierce attack on the Porte 
 Neuve. The twenty Genevese who composed the guard 
 were soon dislodged and fled in disorder up to the Porte 
 de la Treille. That gate gained, they shvit and bolted 
 the iron-studded door behind them and ' ' hoped for the 
 
 34 
 
The Escalade 
 
 day." The Savoyards pursued them up the slope, yell- 
 ing, so far as their breath would allow, " Ville gagneel 
 Ville gagnee I " They found the door too stout for even 
 a dozen hammers, so a cry was raised for Picot, the 
 famous petardier, to come and blow it up. Picot came, 
 planted his petard, and was about to light it when the 
 portcullis fell with a fearful thud, cmshing Picot to the 
 ground beneath its iron heel. There he lay with the 
 petard by his side and the fuse still aglow in his dead 
 hand. A young soldier named Isaac Mercier, seeing 
 the danger, had quietly mounted on to the roof of the 
 gate and had set free the chain of the portcullis. By 
 his wit the town was saved. 
 
 While the Savoyards, with heated talk, were debating 
 what next they should do a sound fell on their ears that 
 struck them suddenly silent with their mouths agape. 
 It was the boom of a cannon. An ingenious gunner 
 had fired a culverin from the Bastion d'Oie along the 
 wall with such good purpose that the ladders were 
 swept down and fell into the moat. The retreat of the 
 Savoyards was thus cut off. The men of Geneva, pour- 
 ing out of the Tertasse and Monnaie Gates, fell upon 
 them with shouts of victory. The women threw lighted 
 straw out of the windows that opened on the Corraterie 
 and so made the slope blaze like the day and the crowd 
 of men glow like goblins in the glare of a furnace. 
 
 The Savoyards gave way. Some escaped by the 
 Porte Neuve ; some jumped over the wall and were 
 drowned in the moat; others surrendered and others 
 were killed. By 5.30 a.m. all was over and Geneva was 
 safe. In this gallant defence Geneva lost 17 killed ; but 
 of the enemy 54 were dead — including Brunaulieu, their 
 
 35 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 leader — while 13 were taken prisoners. The 13 were 
 hanged on the Bastion d'Oie next day at two o'clock 
 in the afternoon. Thus ended the Escalade. 
 
 In the Geneva Museum are the relics of this stirring 
 adventure, and very interesting they prove to be. There 
 are the very ladders that were placed against the wall, 
 the helmets and cuirasses worn by the scaling party, 
 their arms, the hammers and hatchets that they carried, 
 the dark lanterns, the horrible two-pronged forks and the 
 petards like massive gallon pots with handles. Here also 
 are the helmet worn by the petardier Picot (it weighs 
 nearly 25 lbs.) and the culverin that shot down the 
 ladders. This notable piece of ordnance is about eight 
 feet long, has a muzzle aperture of one and a half inches 
 and is a breech-loader. In a separate case is Brunaulieu's 
 very ornate sword, but Madame Royaume's cooking-pot 
 is not to be found among the exhibits. 
 
 Many portraits no doubt exist of those who did great 
 things on the immortal night of the Escalade, but I 
 know only two of them. The one is of the Duke, the 
 other is of Mere Royaume. Madame Royaume's portrait 
 is a head carved in stone over the portal of a quite 
 modern building. The house stands on the site of a 
 tower near the Monnaie Gate which was in the thick of 
 the fighting and which was called, in after years, the 
 Escalade Tower. It was ruthlessly pulled dow^n in 1903. 
 Madame Royaume's head is that of an elderly lady in a 
 nightcap. A look of contentment beams on her deter- 
 mined face as if there still was ringing in her ears the 
 comforting sound of an iron pot coming in contact with 
 an alien skull. 
 
 36 
 
FROM GENEVA TO THE DRANSE 
 
VI 
 
 HERMANCE AND YVOIRE 
 
 THE shores of the Lake from Geneva to the mouth 
 of the Dranse are comparatively low. They form 
 a somewhat steep bank behind Cologny, but farther 
 east assume a gentler slope and, here and there, sink 
 almost to a flat. The great mountains are far away and 
 invisible from the steamer. Certain isolated hills, how- 
 ever, springing from the plain, follow the coast line. 
 These are Les Voirons running from the level of Geneva 
 to Corsier, the Mont de Boisy between Hermance and 
 Yvoire and the sharp ridge of AUinges, with its ruins, 
 2 J miles beyond Thonon. 
 
 The shores, all the way, belong to a luxuriant 
 country which will remind an Englishman of Dorset or 
 Devon or the banks of the upper Thames. There are 
 no formal vineyards to mar the country by mathematical 
 plots and formal lines. The vines are grown upon the 
 branches of dead trees, are irregularly disposed and form 
 a picturesque feature in the landscape. If the country 
 has any distinctive character it is that bestowed upon it 
 by the number of Lombardy poplars which are ranged, 
 in companies and in sentinel-like ranks, along this 
 beautifid green shelf. 
 
 Cologny is a suburb of Geneva, a suburb of fine 
 villas and formal gardens marked by every evidence of 
 
 39 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 comfort and wealth. It was here, in the Villa Diodati, 
 that liyron stayed; but as villas change in a hundred 
 years it is well to turn to a contemporary print to see 
 what manner of house it was in 1816. The plate shows 
 a plain cottage-like building on a terrace facing the 
 Lake. It possesses two stories with three windows on 
 each floor, but it hardly attains to the ornate standard 
 of the Cologny of the present day. 
 
 Bellerive is another village de luxe. There was an 
 abbey here which was founded in the 12th century and 
 was destroyed by the Genevese in 1536. The pinnacle 
 of the altar of this abbey is preserved in the Geneva 
 Museum. It takes the curious form of a tower by the 
 side of which stands a lady crowned who is almost as 
 tall as the tower itself. At Bellerive in 1667 the Duke 
 of Savoy established a port and citadel in order to 
 encourage and protect the trade of Geneva. The present 
 attitude of Bellerive would seem to protest against the 
 absurdity of this project, for, like its neighbour La 
 Belotte, Bellerive is given up to mere enjoyment, to 
 boating and sailing, to lolling in hammocks and 
 spraw^ling upon lawns. As for commerce, it might go 
 hang. 
 
 Of some other stopping places on this shore there is 
 little to be said. Corsier, Anieres, Coudree-Sciez and 
 Anthy-Sechex are scarcely more than names associated 
 with a tiny pier, a cafe in a meadow, a bored douanier 
 and a road coming down from the hinterland from 
 villages which are out of sight and from crossways w^here 
 a farm track or a lane stumbles into the route to the 
 Lake. In the shade by the pier there may be a gig 
 which has brought some country folk to the steamer 
 
 40 
 
HERMANCE, FROM THE LAKE 
 
 HERMANCE 
 
Hermance and Yvoire 
 
 or an ox-wagon waiting for stores from Geneva. At 
 Coudree-Sciez conditions are quite elemental. Here are 
 merely a row of poplars, a landing stage, a hut and a 
 road which skips coquettishly out of sight. Beyond these 
 suggestions of human life there is nothing to dispel the 
 idea that the country is deserted. Anyone who left 
 the steamer here would apparently have to wander far 
 before he came in touch with his kind. 
 
 The places of less indistinctness in this section of the 
 Lake are Hermance, Nernier, Yvoire and Beauregard 
 and, near the Dranse, the town of Thonon. Hermance 
 is a frontier village by the boundary which divides 
 France from Switzerland. The place itself is Swiss. 
 The frontier is not formidable. It consists of a tiny 
 rivulet in a guUey of trees. In the summer-time a 
 mouse could cross over from Switzerland to France with- 
 out swimming, or a lady could make the passage with 
 the assurance that the water would not cover the heel of 
 a fashionable shoe. 
 
 If those who visit the Lake were asked to indicate 
 the prettiest village on its shores, I think that the 
 majority would name Hermance. It is old-fashioned 
 and unspoiled. It will call to mind the little riverside 
 village of England as it was fifty years ago, before the 
 day of the irreverent Bank Holiday and the yelling 
 charabanc. 
 
 There is little need to describe it. It is just 
 a pretty village. Seen from the Lake it seems to be 
 buried in a wood, so girt about is it by trees. Above 
 the mass of green stand up a mediaeval tower, the 
 bronze-coloured steeple of a church and the brown roofs 
 of an ancient house or two. There is a child-like place 
 
 41 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 by the water's edge made to look grown-up by a few 
 clipped plane trees and some benches for the village 
 gossips. 
 
 The road is wide and without a pavement. The 
 cottages are covered with wistaria or clematis. Along 
 the outside gallery of the house is trained a vine and 
 over the grey wall a pear tree lolls. On a strip of grass 
 by the wayside fishing nets are drying. Here a flower gar- 
 den makes a sudden blaze of colour like a burst of music ; 
 while across the way is a farmyard in agreeable disorder. 
 
 There are yet other things in the village — an old 
 stone cross in the shadow of a tree, a splashing fountain, 
 a cafe half -hidden by oleanders in tubs and, that delight 
 of every village, the bewildered general shop with its 
 confusing smells. A breeze from the Lake, idling down 
 the street, brings with it the consciousness of an unseen 
 stretch of water together with the perfume of roses, the 
 smell of burning wood in a kitchen and the odour of 
 roasting coffee from the courtyard of the inn. 
 
 The town was founded in 1025 by Hermengarde, 
 Queen of Burgundy, and it is from this lady that it 
 derives its name. Later, the Lords of Faucigny fortified 
 the place, surrounded it with walls and with a moat, and 
 built the castle of which one fine tower still remains 
 intact. Here in the 13th century the fair Beatrice of 
 Faucigny held her court, took the town under her care 
 and — about the year 1290 — established and endowed the 
 church. 
 
 The town was attacked and despoiled by the Bernese 
 in 1536 and again in 1589. On the latter occasion 
 Hermance very rashly resisted ; with the result that the 
 Bernese practically destroyed the place, pulling down the 
 
 42 
 
• •'! 
 
Hermance and Yvoire 
 
 walls, demolishing the church and leaving only the great 
 tower of the castle standing, since that was beyond their 
 power to destroy. As the more adventurous spirits in 
 Hermance had the habit of pouncing upon Genevese 
 boats and were, in fact, no better than pirates, the port 
 was filled up and the once thriving town and fortress 
 were reduced to a mere fishing village and, uninten- 
 tionally, to a place of much fascination. 
 
 The tower stands upon a hillock just above the 
 village. It is round, is of immense size and has recently 
 (1913-14) been restored with great consideration. It was 
 built in the 13th century and provides as vivid an idea 
 of the donjon of old days as any tower in Savoy. The 
 present church appears to have been erected in 1637, 
 some years after the disastrous visit of the Bernese. It 
 is a fine building, the decoration of which is effective 
 and in exceptional taste ; but it has been so ruthlessly 
 restored as to obliterate the interest that it must once 
 have possessed. By the side of the church is the Chapel 
 of St. Catherine, now mutilated beyond recovery. It 
 is a good specimen of the architecture of the 15th century 
 and is fully described by J. Mayor in his well illustrated 
 work.^ 
 
 Nernier is a modest village or little town that has 
 seen better days, but is still a pleasant place by reason 
 of the many queer old houses that are to be found in its 
 almost silent streets or springing from the water's edge. 
 It has an ancient church with a somewhat remarkable 
 stone steeple. The chateau that once belonged to 
 Godefroy de Bouillon, the crusader, is now represented 
 by a modern building. It is curious how persistently 
 
 1 " L'ancienne Gen4ve." Geneva, 1896. 
 43 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 isolated little incidents cling to certain places until they 
 comprise almost its sole store of history. The incident 
 always recorded about Nernier is to the effect that 
 Lamartine, the poet, stayed here in 1815, that he lived 
 in the house of a boatman named Favre at the charge of 
 20 sous a day *' nourriture compriSf^^ and that he always 
 spoke of these days as the happiest of his life. He seems 
 to have been looked after by the boatman's very kindly 
 daughter — a young w^oman of 25 — who fed the poet on 
 eggs, milk and cheese to his complete comfort. 
 
 From its history Nernier is shown to have been a 
 place of some account even in Roman days. It once 
 had a castle of its own, stout walls and a couple of gates, 
 and was happy in that it w^as possessed by the beautiful 
 Beatrice of Faucigny. Among the illustrious persons 
 who have been Lords of Nernier was (in 1433) Nicod de 
 Menthon, an ambassador to England.^ The church is 
 mentioned in a papal bull of the year 1250. It was a 
 dependency of the great abbey of Filly near by, of the 
 ruins of which only the faintest traces now exist. 
 
 Yvoire stands at the entrance to the Petit Lac, 
 where the wider expanse of water suddenly narrows. 
 The distance from Yvoire to the point of Promenthoux, 
 on the opposite shore, is hardly three miles. Yvoire 
 was thus in old days the Gibraltar of the Lake. A great 
 many visitors, and among them many artists, come to 
 Yvoire every year, and the inhabitants never cease to 
 w^onder why they come, for the place is no other than 
 a small village and a poor one. The residents would 
 probably say that if the stranger wished to see the glories 
 
 * " M^moires et documents de TAcad^mie Chablaisienne," Tome xii. Thonon 
 1898. 
 
 44 
 
A GATE OF YVOIRE 
 
 SIKHET IN 1VOIKK 
 
Hermance and Yvoire 
 
 of the Lake he should go to Montreux, where everjrthing 
 is new, where the latest fashions are in vogue and where 
 the whole place appears to be bursting with the good 
 things of life. 
 
 Yvoire, poor as it is, has yet a little of that wealth 
 which is beyond the dream of avarice and which money 
 bags cannot purchase. It is a little fortified mediaeval 
 town which has still around it its ancient walls and is 
 still entered by its ancient gates. Its castle still seems 
 to be keeping watch over the strait, while there is a 
 tower in Yvoire that in height and strength is formidable 
 still and only needs its portcullis to be brought back to 
 become again an entry hard to force. Moreover the 
 family who, as Lords of Yvoire, held the castle 260 years 
 ago, hold it still. 
 
 The original walls of Yvoire were built in the 14th 
 century and have been many times strengthened and 
 restored. The town gates, with their pointed arches, 
 belong probably to the 16th century, while the age of 
 the founding of the castle would go back to a period 
 before even the walls were made. A Pierre of Yvoire 
 figures in the records of 1264 as giving certain woodland 
 rights to the convent of Filly ; while in 1289 Antelme 
 d'Yvoire is found doing homage — and no doubt very 
 agreeable homage — to the fair Beatrice of Faucigny. 
 
 Yvoire was a place that bred stout warriors and bold 
 sailormen. Its boys played at soldiers as soon as they 
 could go alone. The young women could handle a boat 
 as deftly as a man. The mother would leave her baby 
 to carry powder kegs to the battlements; while the 
 housewife would stay her cooking to boil water to be 
 poured on any who dared assail the gate. If accounts 
 
 45 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 be true, Yvoire was at one time a nest of pirates and the 
 terror of the Lake. When a merchant craft on its way 
 to the Rhone sighted a covey of boats pulling out from 
 the town all hope was lost, unless a delivering wind swept 
 down from the east; for the rhythm of the oars of the 
 boats of Yvoire was as ominous a sound as the tramp 
 of marching men. 
 
 Yvoire, it appears, has many times changed hands. 
 In 1366 it was sold by the Count of Savoy to Antelme 
 de Miolans. In 1402 it passed by marriage to the 
 Ravoree family, and in 1494 was sold to Georges 
 d'Antioche, and later (in 1634) to Antoine Former.^ 
 Finally, in 1655, it came into the possession of the 
 famous family of Bouvier, and it is that family which 
 holds it now. 
 
 A Ferdinand Bouvier was Lieutenant Governor of 
 Chillon in 1588 {see Chapter xxv). His brother, Jehan 
 Bouvier, was the redoubtable Jehan of the Iron Arm. 
 This hardy but rather mythical warrior had lost a hand 
 in battle and had replaced it by an arm of iron. It 
 would seem that he was one of the defenders of the 
 castle of Yvoire in 1600, many years before that fortress 
 passed into the hands of his family. Jehan of the Iron 
 Arm is the subject of a famous romance^ in which he 
 is described as Jean d' Yvoire, but the title is unfounded, 
 as the chateau did not come into the possession of the 
 Bouviers in his lifetime. 
 
 The two gate towers of Yvoire are on the south or 
 land side of the town. In ancient days they bid defiance 
 to all on the high road who w^ould dare to enter unasked, 
 
 1 " M^moires, etc., de 1' Academic Chablaisienne," loc. cit. 
 * " Jean d' Yvoire au Bras de Fer," par J. Fazy. Paris, 1840. 
 
 46 
 
VVOIRE : THE CHURCH 
 
Hermance and Yvoire 
 
 but now on each mediaeval postern is merely a gentle 
 warning to the effect that motor cars are not allowed 
 within the walls. Between the two gateways runs the 
 ancient wall of the town with its battlements still in 
 evidence. At the foot of the wall is the moat, which is 
 now devoted to the culture of potatoes. 
 
 There is nothing in Yvoire that could be called a 
 street. Its lanes are narrow, loose and very confused. 
 They are also very dirty. The houses are of a humble, 
 despondent type, are old and decrepit, and therefore 
 picturesque. Their general untidiness is excessive and 
 they are patched and re-patched like an old shoe. The 
 church has been modernized, has a flat ceiling, square 
 \\dndows and walls covered monotonously with plaster. 
 The copper-coloured steeple, however, is charming and 
 makes an attractive object when Yvoire is viewed from 
 the Lake. That the church has been "done up" in 
 recent years is evident, since Read, writing in 1897, 
 speaks of it as "an old church lit by loopholes." 
 
 The chateau rises from the water's edge. It is a 
 square, simple and solid block of masonry with a flat 
 roof and with windows which belong to various periods, 
 for some are pointed and some are square. At the four 
 corners of the building are the remains of round turrets. 
 Upon the land side of the chateau are a square tower 
 with a pointed roof and the remains of a moat. There 
 are no battlements and no gun emplacements ; but, on 
 the other hand, ivy and climbing roses give an air of 
 much gentleness to the hardy old fortress. There are 
 certain gardens in the ancient town and many trees, 
 which very graciously and charitably temper its poverty 
 and bestow some comfort upon its extreme old age. 
 
 47 
 
VII 
 
 THE TRAGEDY OF BEAUREGARD 
 
 THE stranger who wanders in the district between 
 Hermance and Nernier will be struck by the 
 persistence and apparent pride with which all 
 signposts point the way to the Port of Tougues. It 
 may be true that " all roads lead to Rome," but 
 certainly in this area they all lead to the Port of 
 Tougues. There would seem to be no possibility of 
 escaping this haven ; for to the undecided there is no 
 alternative between the Port of Tougues, on the one 
 hand, and the rest of the universe on the other. 
 
 In approaching this much proclaimed place one 
 expects to come upon a wharf of stone where cranes 
 are wheezing laboriously, where there are bales of mer- 
 chandise and lusty men rolling barrels to and fro. There 
 should be also ropes and anchors and ships in that 
 deshabille which they assume when lying in port. 
 
 Such impressions will not be realized, for Tougues, 
 when reached, is found to be represented by a clump of 
 poplars in a silent field, from the edge of which a very 
 fragile pier ventures out into the Lake. There is no 
 sign of human life and the road stops abruptly at the 
 beach, as if overcome by the shock of a cruel disillusion. 
 Among the shadows on one side of the road is a cafe, 
 in front of which are a few tables and chairs. On the 
 
 48 
 
The Tragedy of Beauregard 
 
 other side is a dwelling house vaguely defined. The 
 commerce of the place is represented by a heap of stones 
 for the mending of roads. Such is the Port of Tongues 
 to which the signposts point with such assurance. 
 
 The real interest of the Port of Tongues is vicarious 
 and depends upon the fact that it adjoins the famous 
 Chateau of Beauregard and is, indeed, on the edge of 
 the wood in which that castle lies. Beauregard stands 
 in a clearing open to the Lake, where it occupies the 
 crest of a green slope that rises gently from the beach. 
 It is a very ancient place, for it was a stronghold as long 
 ago as 1326, and its square tower, with walls three metres 
 thick, is believed to belong to that period. It has been 
 much added to and more than once rebuilt, notably in 
 the 15th century, as is suggested by the date 1573 on 
 the tower of the chateau.^ Until the 16th century 
 Beauregard was held by the family of de Bailey son. 
 It then belonged to the Allinges, and finally to the 
 illustrious house of de Costa, in which family it still 
 remains. 
 
 The most famous member of this family was the 
 Marquis Henri Costa de Beauregard, who occupied the 
 chateau in the latter end of the 18th century and w^as 
 one of the victims of the French Revolution. He kept 
 a diary, and his memoirs, translated and edited by 
 Charlotte M. Yonge, provide a remarkably graphic 
 picture of the sufferings of a noble family during the 
 time of the Terror. ^ 
 
 The marquis married in 1777, and was with his wife 
 and family at Beauregard when the Revolution burst 
 
 » " M^moires, etc., de I'Acad^mie Chablaisienne," Tome xii. Thonon, 1898. 
 * " A Man of Other Days." London, 1877. 
 E 49 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 forth. The shrieking hordes who were to wipe out the 
 old regime and remake the world fell upon Beauregard 
 in 1792. The marquise and her children fled to Lausanne 
 across the water. The marquis and his favourite son 
 Eugene joined the residue of the loyal army then hold- 
 ing out precariously in the mountains. He distinguished 
 himself as an officer, so far as distinction w^as possible 
 in an army whose deeds were doomed to be inglorious 
 and whose inevitable fate was to fail. 
 
 His great delight was in his son. In all his letters 
 Eugene was the one bright figure among a gloomy com- 
 pany, and to have him with him was the solace of his life. 
 With the marquis also was his old servant Comte who, 
 although paid no wages and subjected to all the miseries 
 of a hopeless campaign, declined to leave his master or 
 to abate any detail of his service. On one terrible 
 morning Eugene was killed in an unprofitable skirmish, 
 and the grief of the poor father was pitiable to witness. 
 It was a sorrow that never ceased to cloud his days. In 
 the meantime the marquise and her children w^ere living 
 in Lausanne in " frightful poverty " which she bore with 
 great courage, for she was — as her letters show — a very 
 gallant lady. She thus describes the wretched lodging 
 in Lausanne : " The children and I live in a room v^dth 
 a red tile floor, faded curtains, three horse-hair chairs, 
 an old white stove and the little table upon which I write 
 to you. . . . What does that signify? And yet, Henri, 
 I have under my window a poor little rose tree that has 
 sprung up by chance among the nettles, like your image 
 among my tears." She does not add — as she might 
 have done — that her life was a constant fight against 
 starvation. 
 
 50 
 
BEAUREGARD 
 
The Tragedy of Beauregard 
 
 In 1796, after four years of misery, the marquis was 
 free to join his wife at Lausanne. He came accompanied 
 by the faithful Comte. The journey from Turin to 
 Lausanne by the St. Bernard Pass occupied twelve days. 
 They reached the gates of Lausanne towards evening. 
 ITie marquis found his wife and children waiting for him 
 in the road. The meeting was most pathetic for, besides 
 the death of their boy, so much that was terrible had 
 happened since they parted at Beauregard. He hardly 
 knew her. He simply saw, standing outside the gate, a 
 lady in black who was as pale as death and who, as he 
 approached, cried "Henri! Henri! " and threw herself 
 into his arms. " When they came to themselves they 
 looked at one another like strangers. She was an old 
 woman with wrinkles and grey hair. He was bent and 
 would have been taken for an old man." 
 
 The first intent of the marquis when he had settled 
 at Lausanne was to visit his old home at Beauregard, if 
 he could elude the minions of the Republic. He knew 
 that the chateau had been pillaged from cellar to attic 
 and partially wrecked, that a portion had been burned 
 and that it was tenantless. He started one morning in 
 a sailing-boat, taking with him an old friend and his 
 servant Comte. They met with a contrary wind, so that 
 it was not until nearly sundown that they reached the 
 chateau. 
 
 They landed on the beach and walked up the familiar 
 path to the house. The house was silent and evidently 
 deserted. The rosy light of the setting sun fell full 
 upon it, showing the black streaks left by smoke and 
 flame, the gaping windows and the half -charred shutters 
 hanging from the walls. In the once trim courtyard 
 
 51 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 were masses of burnt wood, fragments of shattered 
 furniture, rags that were once fine curtains, begrimed 
 bits of clothing, tiles and heaps of broken glass. 
 
 The door was open, for it had been battered in. The 
 marquis entered with a shudder and .walked from room 
 to room, stumbling over collections of rubbish and of 
 fallen plaster. The memories that the place recalled 
 were the memories of a lifetime, but they were all so 
 marred as to become a mockery. Treasure after treasure 
 was missing. In the place of his wife's portrait was a 
 dark square on the wall. Sacred cupboards had been 
 ransacked and everywhere were ruin, defilement and 
 outrage. " This was her room," the marquis muttered 
 as he passed along the corridor, "and this was mine." 
 One room he would not enter, but he asked Comte to 
 go into it alone. It was the room of his dead son 
 Eugene. 
 
 As the three were leaving the chateau in the 
 uncertain light they were startled by a voice that issued 
 from the depths of the building. It was an unearthly 
 voice that screamed ' ' Off with you ! Off with you ! I 
 am master here. Oh ! what a fire it was when they 
 burned it down." They all recognized the voice as that 
 of a poor idiot boy named Jacques whom the marquise 
 had looked after and provided for. He apparently had 
 alone clung to the desolate building, which he haunted 
 like a demented spirit. 
 
 The three made their way to the boat and pushed 
 off. They lingered for a moment before hoisting the 
 sail, in order to look once again at the old house which 
 was now but a black shadow among the trees. As they 
 looked, standing up in the boat bare-headed, there rang 
 
 52 
 
The Tragedy of Beauregard 
 
 out in the silence of the dusk the voice of the idiot 
 boy shrieking the " Marseillaise." Such was the home- 
 coming of the noble Marquis of Beauregard. 
 
 When the Terror had passed away the marquis and 
 his family were able to return to Beauregard. The old 
 chateau was restored, and under its roof he and his 
 devoted wife ended their days in peace. 
 
 The chateau, as already stated, is on a green slope 
 open to the Lake. On all other sides it is surrounded 
 by trees. That part of the building which faces the 
 water is plain and stolid and as glum as the back of an 
 institution. It is of three stories, all of which are pro- 
 vided with square windows. Its walls, of a ruddy grey, 
 are covered with ivy. The entrance to the house is on 
 the east side, where is a comfortable courtyard between 
 two segments of the building. The block to the left is 
 made up of the old donjon, a huge, low square tower 
 surmounted by a conical roof of most amazing height. 
 Indeed, viewing the structure as a whole, there would 
 appear to be almost as much roof as tower. The main 
 building is made picturesque by a series of oval windows 
 below the eaves, such as were common in French man- 
 sions about the end of the 18th century. The west side 
 of the house, with its small projecting tower looking out 
 upon a little formal garden, is the most intimate and 
 homely part of the chateau. The beach where the 
 marquis landed is very pretty. It is a shelf of grey 
 pebbles shaded by trees, and among the trees is the small 
 path that he followed up to the house. 
 
 53 
 
VIII 
 
 THONON 
 
 THONON, once the capital of Chablais, a fortress 
 and the residence of princes, is now a place of 
 small account. Its chief characteristics are 
 negative. It possesses neither "sights" nor present 
 interests. It is simply a provincial town that has seen 
 better days and that has sought, in its old age, the quiet 
 of obscurity. The Romans thought well of the spot, 
 since they planted a town here. The Burgundians also 
 were attracted by it, for, in the course of their violent 
 lives, they made of Thonon a kind of robbers' castle or 
 marauding outpost. But before even the Romans came 
 or the Burgundians carried red riot through the land 
 there was a lake village by the shore, built on a forest 
 of piles by a nameless people. 
 
 The surroundings of Thonon explain how it came to 
 be chosen as an abode of men. Here is a raised plateau 
 that sweeps inland for miles till it comes to the foot of 
 the guardian hills — the Mont d'Armonnaz and the Bois 
 de la Comte. Towards the Lake it ends in a green bank 
 which slopes suddenly to the beach. It must always have 
 seemed that this edge of the plain, this crest of the bank, 
 was a fitting place whereon to build a town. Here 
 Thonon stands. On the east of the plateau is the 
 majestic gorge of the Dranse; while on the west the 
 plain stretches towards Geneva, becoming narrowed as 
 
 54 
 
Thonon 
 
 it goes by the massif of Les Voirons and of Mont Saleve. 
 The whole plateau is magnificent, for it is luxuriantly 
 green. The far hills, with their vast precipices, are 
 capped with snow; while in the centre of the plain, on 
 an isolated ridge, stand — clear-cut against the sky — the 
 romantic ruins of Allinges. The view of this fair country, 
 as approached from the west by the white road from 
 Excenevex is, I think, one of the most appealing of its 
 kind on the Lake, especially as in the foreground there 
 glistens the blue bay of Coudree. 
 
 Thonon is not a " season place," although it has its 
 waters and its baths and is, indeed, proclaimed at the 
 railway station to be " Thonon les Bains." It is one 
 of those comfortable, contented towns that is busy all 
 the year round with its own little affairs and does not 
 encourage the stranger to intermeddle with its joys. 
 
 Thonon was from early years a fortified town. Its 
 great walls and towers were built about the year 1290, 
 and at the same period the castle was constructed. The 
 castle became the residence of the Counts and Dukes 
 of Savoy, and on that account Thonon became the most 
 important place in Chablais. A plate of the castle as 
 it was in 1540 ^ shows a vast and imposing building on 
 the brink of the plateau with a square donjon in the 
 centre and a round tower at each bend of the wall. The 
 castle, after violent changes of fortune, was taken by 
 the French and Swiss in 1589, and was finally pulled 
 down in 1626 after having been nearly destroyed by 
 fire. There were five gates to Thonon,^ but of these 
 
 1 " Memoires et Documents de 1' Academic Chablaisienne." Tome xxvi. 
 1913. 
 
 ■ Map of 1682 in " Histoire de Thonon," par L, E. Piccard. Tome 1. Annecy, 
 1882. 
 
 55 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and of the ancient walls no trace remains. The wall on 
 the east followed the Rue des Granges and that on the 
 west the present Boulevard Carnot. From this dis- 
 position it will be seen that the old town was small and 
 its confines very limited. 
 
 Thonon, owing to its strategic position near the 
 banks of the Dranse and to its importance as a seat of 
 the ruling prince, figures prominently in the wars of the 
 Middle Ages, sometimes with credit, sometimes without. 
 It was swayed on occasion by this faction and on occasion 
 by that. The attitude of the inhabitants in the presence 
 of acute political movements was not always marked by 
 a sense of proportion nor did it always express itself 
 logically or with dignity. In this respect Thonon was 
 not peculiar. 
 
 For example, at the time of the French Revolution, 
 the spirit that prompted that upheaval spread to Savoy 
 in the form of a blind revolt against all constituted 
 authority and anything that implied control. The 
 patriots of Thonon, after due discussion, concluded that 
 they could best express their approval of the policy of 
 the time by liberating the town drunkard who had been 
 sent to prison by the arbitrary governor.^ So they 
 attacked the gaol door with bludgeons and hammers, 
 battered it in, and scuttled down the corridor to find the 
 oppressed winebibber. They found him ; smacked him 
 on the back ; led him forth noisily into the street and 
 proceeded to carry him round the town with shouts of 
 triumph. 
 
 Surely there was never in the world such an emblem 
 
 1 " Memoirs of the Marquis de Beauregard." Edited by Charlotte M. Yonge, 
 London, 1877. Vol. I, page 127. 
 
 56 
 
Thonon 
 
 of liberty, of fraternity and of the heaven-born equahty 
 of man as this trembUng drunkard, clinging with nervous 
 hands to the arms of a tavern chair, with terror sweat- 
 ing from his bloated face as he rocked to and fro on 
 the shoulders of an eddying mob, like a piece of wreckage 
 in a torrent. They carried him round Thonon for the 
 immoderate period of four hours, stopping, no doubt, for 
 refreshment at various wine shops in their progress. At 
 the end of the fourth hour the drunkard became so limp 
 that he was of no further use as an emblem, for an 
 emblem must be erect like a knight's pennon and not 
 a thing like a sack of meat. 
 
 The site of the castle is the present Place du Chateau, 
 an open square on the edge of the bank, shaded by many 
 trees and affording a most gracious view. Just to the 
 east of the place stood the convent of the Capuchins, 
 built in 1602, but now indicated only by some remains 
 embodied in the house which occupies its site. There 
 were four other convents in Thonon, of which that of 
 the Minimes alone calls for notice. It was founded in 
 1636 by Albert Eugene de Geneve, Marquis de Lullin, 
 and is now the hospital of the town. It is a fine 
 Renaissance building, the windows of which are orna- 
 mented by elaborate stonework. The cloister that 
 surrounds the court-yard is worthy of a palace. In the 
 wall of the colonnade is a stone with the inscription, 
 " Icy gist Gaspard de Geneve, Marquis de Lullin," and 
 the date June, 1619. 
 
 In the Rue Chante-Coq — now but a mean street — 
 is a 16th century house, with a handsome stone doorway 
 and elegant windows, that was once the residence of the 
 Guillet-Monthoux family. No. 17 in the same street 
 
 57 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 was the house of a syndic of Thonon — one Pierre 
 Fornier — who was converted by St. Francis and who 
 entertained the great preacher within these walls. The 
 Hotel de Ville, a quite worthy building, stands in an 
 old-world square that is pleasant to come upon, for it 
 recalls the scenery of an 18th century romance. In the 
 square is a curious stone fountain in the form of a 
 column of unusual type. It is reputed to date from the 
 13th century, but has obviously been much renovated 
 since that time. 
 
 The church is not commendable. Its facade is mean 
 and otherwise expressionless, its interior irritating by 
 reason of much restless and trashy ornamentation in the 
 taste of two centuries ago. There is an old font by 
 the entry which was used by St. Francis, and also a 
 handsome organ-loft of wood and a pulpit with carved 
 panels of much merit. From this pulpit St. Francis 
 preached during his turbulent mission in Chablais. One 
 interesting feature of the church is the crypt. It is 
 entered with some difficulty (and with the aid of a 
 candle) through a trap-door under the pulpit. The crypt 
 has a cove roof supported by low columns and rounded 
 arches. The capitals of the pillars are remarkable by 
 their eccentricity. The structure is accredited to the 
 11th century, although some assign to it an earlier 
 date. The place is filled with rubbish and is in woeful 
 disrepair. 
 
 Opposite the church is a quaint httle old house with 
 an overhanging roof and on the ground floor a shop of 
 the mediaeval type in the shadow of an arch. It is 
 occupied by a fumiste and maker of stoves. As the 
 place is dark and cave-like and filled with strange things 
 
 58 
 
THONON : ST. FRANCIS S SHOP 
 
 i 
 
 f 
 
 
 ^^^K ^^^^^^^Bi "* ^^^Hil 
 
 Lgij'^^pW 
 
 n 
 
 ' ?Df. i 
 
 nil-'i^B 
 
 ^ 
 
 
 ^Hj'A 
 
 
 RIVES BELOW THONON 
 

Thonon 
 
 in metal it could pass for the shop of an alchemist or 
 a maker of coats of mail. On one of the shutters of the 
 shop is fastened a cross of iron. It was in this shop 
 that St. Francis took refuge from the violence of the 
 Protestant mob, after preaching in the church of 
 Thonon, and the cross of iron serves to keep in memory 
 his timely deliverance.^ 
 
 Near the foot of the bank upon which Thonon stands 
 is the village of Rives. That it is a fishing village would 
 be evident in the dark. It is made up of little old houses 
 with outside stairs, wooden galleries and overhanging 
 roofs. The life of the place appears to be carried on in 
 the balconies or in the road, and the inhabitants to be 
 mostly children. The road is steep, and at the top of 
 the village is a stone basin for running water whence 
 the supplies of the place are drawn. Any who would 
 realize the village home of Jack and Jill, the kind of hill 
 they climbed and the source at which they filled their 
 pails should come to Rives. There is nothing lacking 
 to complete the scene of that never-to-be-forgotten 
 disaster. 
 
 At the bottom of the village, by the water's edge, 
 is an immense, stolid building with white walls and 
 ancient windows, many of which are closed by bricks. 
 It is a sour-looking old place which seems to resent the 
 indignity of being now used as a storehouse for plaster. 
 On the roadside is a low, square tower looking as surly 
 as a long neglected tower can look. There is another 
 tower, smaller and less depressed in aspect, on the Lake 
 front. This is the Chateau de Montjoux-St. Bernard. 
 It belonged in 1405 to the noble family of Greysier, 
 
 » " M^molrcB, etc., de I'Acad^mle Chablaisienne." Tomt xix, page 168. 
 
 59 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and then to the lords of Ravoree, who ceded it in the 
 16th century to the monastery of Montjoux founded by 
 St. Bernard of Menthon. It was burnt in 1557 and 
 attacked and damaged during the Bernese invasion of 
 1591. It remained, however, in possession of the monks 
 until the Revolution of 1793, when it was seized and 
 sold as national property to the family of Favre of 
 Thonon. Since that date its downfall appears to have 
 been rapid. 
 
 From old prints it may be gathered that it has 
 changed little in its general aspect, except that it once 
 had a court-yard which reached to the water's edge and, 
 on the west, a small chapel with a bell gable. Of neither 
 court-yard nor chapel does any trace remain; while the 
 construction of the harbour has altered the aspect of the 
 little cove upon the margin of which the chateau stood. 
 The large tower by the road was called the Tour des 
 Langues because in old days the monks demanded from 
 the inhabitants the tongue of every beast slaughtered in 
 Rives. This was a very moderate tax, for in England 
 at the present day they would have taken half of the 
 entire animal. 
 
 6() 
 
IX 
 
 ROUND ABOUT THONON 
 
 OUT of the plain behind Thonon there arises 
 suddenly a lofty ridge with a sharp edge like 
 that of a chipped flint. On the jagged summit 
 stand the ruins of Allinges — the most romantically 
 placed ruins to be found along the Lake shore. The 
 walls of the great keep can be seen for miles both from 
 the water and the land. The castle would seem to realize 
 that spectral chateau on a bleak cliff that figures in 
 Gustave Dore's pictures and that belongs to the world 
 of myths and legends. 
 
 Allinges is made up of two castles, each on a separate 
 peak, together with an ancient chapel. The earlier 
 castle — the Chateau Vieux — is on the eastern extremity 
 of the ridge ; the less ancient — the Chateau Neuf — is on 
 its western point, w^here is also the chapel. In the gap 
 between the two peaks was the long extinct village of 
 old Allinges. 
 
 The older castle and the village were founded by the 
 Burgundians in the 5th century.^ They held it for a 
 hundred years, when they were driven out by the 
 Franks, who, fighting all the while, remained masters 
 of AlHnges until 879. No traces of the works of these 
 periods remain. In 888 the new Burgundian Kingdom 
 
 1 " CEuvres historiques de M. I'Abbe Gonthier." Thonon, 1901. Tome i. 
 
 6l 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 was constituted by Rodolfe I. He seized AUinges, and 
 his son, Rodolfe II (912-937), rebuilt the Chateau Vieux, 
 added, at a later period, the Chateau Neuf and recon- 
 structed the village between the two hills. A few relics 
 of these Burgundian castles are said to be discoverable. 
 It will be understood how^ it has come about that an 
 edifice erected a thousand years ago is still described as 
 ** new." The Burgundians held on to AUinges until the 
 dynasty came to an end in the days of the last king, 
 Rodolfe III. 
 
 In or about 1073 the stronghold fell into the posses- 
 sion of the rich and powerful family of AUinges (hence 
 the name of the place), who held it for some 200 years. 
 In the 13th century the I^ords of Faucigny^ were 
 masters of the hill, and a little later it passed into the 
 hands of the Counts of Savoy. The history of this 
 fortress — the most formidable in the country — involves a 
 turbulent story which is far too long to follow. It .was 
 the scene of frequent alarms and periodic fighting, was 
 many times besieged and many times changed masters. 
 There was a period when the so-called old castle 
 belonged to one baron and the new to another and when 
 the two kept up a constant fight at dangerously close 
 quarters. In 1536 the Swiss took the place and the 
 banner of Berne was hoisted on the height with a cheer 
 that could be heard at Thonon. In 1567 AUinges once 
 more belonged to Savoy, but in December, 1600, it was 
 besieged by the French, on which occasion the garrison 
 surrendered and were allowed to march forth with drums 
 beating and with all the honours of war. Once more 
 
 1 One of the three provinces of Haute Savole, the others being Genevois 
 and Chablais. 
 
 62 
 
Round About Thonon 
 
 Allinges returned to the Dukes of Savoy ; when in 1703 
 Victor Amadeus II — he whose story is told in Chapter 
 XV — finding himself confronted by a new war with 
 France and fearing that Allinges .would be hard to hold, 
 dismantled the castles, blew them up and left them in 
 the ruin in which they are found to this day. 
 
 Before their destruction there was little distinction 
 in the matter of age between the one castle and the 
 other. An old plate conveys a good idea of the double 
 fortress as it appeared in 1682.^ It shows a castle on 
 either hill, both complete and both pertaining to the 
 same period. They are very strongly fortified and are 
 surrounded by a high machicolated wall with square 
 towers at intervals in its circuit and with heavy outworks 
 on the side of approach. From the centre of the 
 Chateau Vieux rises a lofty keep, the remains of which 
 form the most prominent feature in the ruins as they 
 now appear. 
 
 Rodolfe II when he built the Chateau Neuf built 
 also, on the same part of the hill, the little chapel which 
 is still standing undisfigured and, indeed, but little 
 changed. This 11th century chapel is one of the oldest 
 in Savoy and has naturally been made a national monu- 
 ment. It is very plain, very small and very dark owing, 
 to the fact that the windows which light it are little 
 more than slits deep sunk in the wall. It has a plain 
 cove roof and the chancel is represented merely by an 
 alcove or shallow apse. The walls of the recess are 
 decorated by frescoes accredited to the 13th century, the 
 subject being the Benediction of Christ. Above the roof 
 is a demi-tour for the bell. Attached to the chapel is a 
 
 ' " GEuvres historlques de M. I'Abb^ Gonthler." Thonon, 1901, Tome i. 
 
 63 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 monastic building, with a round-arched arcade, which 
 rather swamps the tiny church. 
 
 A memorable day in the history of. the chapel was 
 September 14, 1594. On that day two strangers, simply 
 clad and without baggage, came on foot to the draw- 
 bridge of the castle of AUinges. One of them, a youth 
 of 27, with a very gentle face, was Francis, son of 
 the Count de Sales. ^ The other was his cousin, Louis 
 de Sales. They were both priests, although not dressed 
 in the garb of their order. They brought letters to the 
 governor of the castle, from the Duke of Savoy and others, 
 begging that Allinges would help in the work for the 
 reconversion of Chablais. It was on this ridge that the 
 mission began, for on the next morning St. Francis 
 celebrated his first Mass in the little chapel. By 1598 
 or 1600 nearly the whole of Chablais had returned to the 
 Catholic faith. 
 
 In approaching Allinges from Thonon it appears at 
 first incredible that buildings could ever be erected where 
 the ruins stand, for the ridge on the side towards the 
 town is a rank precipice. It remains, however, to be 
 discovered that there is an approach on the south side. 
 The path leads through a stone gateway and by various 
 outworks to the hill on which the chapel stands. The 
 remains of the Chateau Neuf lie scattered among orchards 
 and plots of grass where sheep are feeding. To the east 
 is the mighty donjon of the Chateau Vieux, a mass so 
 stupendous and so soUd as to defy destruction. The 
 ruins cover an immense area. Besides the walls there 
 are the remains of towers, of bastions, of posterns and 
 
 1 St. Francis was born at the Chateau of Sales, near Annecy, in 1567, and 
 died at Lyons in 1622 in the gardener's cell of the Monastery of the Visitation. 
 
 64 
 
.V— -• 
 
Round About Thonon 
 
 of covered ways, some green with ivy, some bare as a 
 bleached bone. In the cleft of the rock between the two 
 main hills the old town hid. During centuries of war 
 it must have been as uneasy a dwelling as a robin's nest 
 in a gun casemate. Where it cowered there is now a 
 w^ood, in the quiet depths of which its very stones are 
 as completely lost as are its troubles. 
 
 Just outside Thonon, near the Evian road, is the tiny 
 hamlet of Concise. It is a place of no mean standing, 
 for in 1093 it possessed a hospital, a castle and a priory 
 of Augustins ; while in 1250 it figures in a bull of Pope 
 Innocent IV. ^ Concise is worth turning aside for a 
 moment to see on account of its fascinating little church. 
 This church is of great age, is the size of a small cottage 
 and has a steeple with a quite ridiculous window in it. 
 Within is a nave, with a flat ceiling like that of a room, 
 and a choir with a faintly pointed roof. A minute 
 chapel has been built out on one side, while over the 
 entrance is a gallery with a kind of nursery rail. A more 
 charming specimen of the little village church would be 
 difficult to find. 
 
 At Concise and on the brink of the steep bank which 
 looks down upon the beach stood the Tower of La 
 Fl^chere. When the French and the Swiss invaded 
 Chablais in 1589 they laid siege to the castle of Thonon. 
 The castle had a large garrison and was believed to be 
 impregnable ; but either from treachery or from cowardice 
 the commandant surrendered before the assault was even 
 commenced. Thonon having been disposed of, the vic- 
 torious army marched on to La Flechere. As this 
 
 1 " R^geste Genevois avant I'Annee, 1312." Geneva, 1866. " Haute 
 Savoie," par A. Raverat. Lyons, 1872. 
 F 65 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 insignificant place had a garrison of only 18 men it was 
 assumed that it would surrender even more promptly 
 than Thonon. To the indignation of the Swiss leader 
 the captain of the tower declined to yield and, further- 
 more, was not only defiant but inclined to be rude. The 
 tower was surrounded by a host strong enough to capture 
 a place four times its size; but it proved not easy to 
 take and, owing to the lack of artillery, it began to be 
 a question if it could be taken in any reasonable time. 
 
 The Swiss general was furious and swore he would 
 hang the whole of the eighteen before dinner as a lesson 
 to the rest of Savoy. But the dinner hour came and 
 passed and the captain of the tower was still jeering 
 from the battlements. The next step was to burn the 
 gallant men out of their stronghold, and to effect this 
 the adjacent buildings were set on fire. The tower 
 became enveloped in flames and it was soon evident to 
 the garrison of La Flechere that there was nothing for 
 it but to rush out of the building and surrender. This 
 they did. 
 
 The whole of the eighteen were not hanged ; but six 
 of the number were selected for this particular treat- 
 ment. It so happened that on the face of the tower 
 was a projecting beam which would serve as an excellent 
 gallows. The six were led out and lined up under the 
 beam with their backs to the tower, just about the time 
 of the setting of the sun. A difficulty arose as to an 
 executioner. Whereupon one of the six, a corporal — in 
 order to save his own neck — offered to hang his five old 
 comrades. He hanged them one after the other, but 
 asked the pardon of each in turn before the fatal moment 
 came. The fifth and last man refused his pardon. The 
 
 66 
 
' • e • ♦ » *' * 4 
 
Round About Thonon 
 
 corporal, however, put the rope round his neck and 
 pushed him off the ladder as he had done with the rest 
 of his late friends. As he was about to descend, pleased 
 with his own happy escape, a ball from a Swiss musket 
 passed through his breast. 
 
 In old prints La Flechere is represented as a small, 
 square building with a tower on either side of it and 
 around it a battlemented wall.^ As years went by the 
 tower fell into decay and a Capuchin convent was built 
 on its ruins. The convent, as it now appears, is a 
 rambling building with square towers and with little 
 about it that is of interest except the old garden in 
 which it stands. 
 
 Between Concise and the river is the Chateau of 
 Thuyset. It is a small chateau, but one of the most 
 charming on account of its picturesque features and the 
 care with which it has been preserved. It is old, for it 
 was built in 1490 by the Allinges. After passing through 
 other hands it was occupied in 1673 by the Lucinges, 
 and finally, in 1688, came into the possession of the 
 distinguished family of de Foras, to whom it still belongs. 
 The building is square, has a very lofty roof with dormer 
 windows, and is supported by two graceful towers, the 
 survivors of the four towers with which the chateau was 
 originally provided. 
 
 The River Dranse, where crossed by the Evian road, 
 is a dull river. There is more bed than river, for 
 in the summer the stream is so small as to be almost, 
 lost in the intolerable desert of ash-grey stones. The 
 Dranse comes down from the mountains through a most 
 beautiful rocky gorge, some miles in length, which is 
 
 1 " Groot Stedcboek, van Piemont en van Savoye." The Hague, 1725, 
 
 67 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 luueh frequented by tourists in charabancs, who seem to 
 be curiously fascinated by the very name of "gorge." 
 On either bank of the river will be seen the remains of 
 the old bridge of the Middle Ages. This bridge was con- 
 structed in the 15th century, was no less than 656 feet 
 long, and carried in its course some 29 arches. It was 
 blown up in 1814 during the war that was raging at that 
 period. The bed of the river has been very much 
 narrowed in modern times by the construction of an 
 embankment, with the result that the greater part of 
 the mediaeval bridge is now on dry land. Its roadway 
 is narrow, being about 10 feet wide, and is protected on 
 each side by a wall which is rapidly tumbling away. 
 The road would serve still for the packhorse and the 
 litter, but not for the blustering motor lorry or the 
 charabanc. 
 
 68 
 
en 
 Z 
 
 < 
 
 as 
 Q 
 
 U 
 
 OS 
 
 > 
 
 o 
 
 o 
 
 Q 
 
 2 
 
 33 
 Q 
 
 o 
 
 H 
 
X 
 
 RIPAILLE 
 
 ON the level promontory which lies between the 
 Dranse river and the Bay of Thonon stands the 
 famous Chateau of Ripaille surrounded by a 
 gloomy wood. A full history of Ripaille, of the great 
 people who dwelt there and of the strange things they 
 did, is furnished by M. Bruchet in a fine volume of some 
 600 pages.^ 
 
 Ripaille owes its origin to a remarkable woman, 
 Bonne de Bourbon, wife of Amadeus VI of Savoy. 
 Amadeus was a semi-mythical being who might have sat 
 at the Round Table of King Arthur by the side of 
 Launcelot of the Lake. He w^as generally known as the 
 ' ' Green Count ' ' by reason of the colours he wore at a 
 certain tournament. To judge from her portrait the 
 Lady Bonne was small and slight, veiy pretty and very 
 pert. She had large blue eyes and her fair hair was 
 arranged in two heavy plaits, one on either side of her 
 face. Her head-dress was a little flat cap that looked 
 like a wreath, and her general aspect that of a very 
 forward schoolgirl of fifteen. Although she was so small 
 and although she wore her hair in plaits, she was a 
 masterful lady. She managed her adventurous husband, 
 her son, her daughter-in-law and everything and every- 
 body about her. 
 
 1 " Le Chateau de Ripaille," par Max Bruchet. Paris, 1907. 
 
 69 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 She had a love of the country. She hated walls and 
 battlements, drawbridges and moats. She found the 
 sombre castles in which she lived so many prisons, and 
 thus it was that she came to the Forest of Ripaille, 
 where she built a wooden house as a kind of hunting 
 lodge. She began it in 1371, but did not enter into 
 possession until six years later because she was short of 
 money. As the funds of the family improved she added 
 to Ripaille, for she was never still and never without a 
 scheme in her head. In 1384 she made great additions. 
 Being a good housewife, she built a spacious kitchen and 
 provided a cellar worthy of it. Being of a religious mind, 
 she erected a wooden chapel, and then — and this is very 
 characteristic of her — put up a dovecot. Still she went 
 on adding building after building, just as she wanted 
 them, until the place must have looked like an encamp- 
 ment of huts and booths at a fair; for when she had 
 finished Ripaille could accommodate 300 persons and 200 
 horses. 
 
 Now this fascinating and determined lady who hated 
 walls yielded at last to the womanly weakness of vanity 
 and — out of what must be called mere swagger — built a 
 tower in front of the entrance. This was the beginning 
 of the great Chateau of Ripaille. 
 
 In 1383 the Green Count died, and his son, Amadeus 
 VII, reigned in his stead. Bonne the Imperious ruled 
 over the new count as she had ruled over his father. 
 She now came to be known — in spite of her little 
 stature — as Madame la Grande to distinguish her from 
 her daughter-in-law, the new countess, who went 
 humbly by the name of Madame la Jeune. Bonne's son 
 Amadeus, who was born in 1360, was called the " Red 
 
 70 
 
Ripaille 
 
 Count," because in some friendly combats with English 
 knights he had become so covered with British blood as 
 to merit the title named. No hint is given as to the 
 depth of tint he might have attained had the combats 
 been unfriendly. 
 
 The Red Count was involved in what Bmchet calls 
 " The Drama of Ripaille." This drama is a most curious 
 medley ; for it involves, as essential factors, a prince, a 
 quack doctor, a wild boar and a suspected hair- wash. 
 In the Forest of Lonnes, which lies between Thonon and 
 Allinges, there was a devil-possessed wild boar which, 
 by the violence of its disposition and the intemperance 
 of its actions, became a terror to the country and, in 
 after years, the subject of a popular romance.^ The 
 boar, having resisted both prayers and exorcisms, was 
 approached by a body of hunters under the leadership 
 of the Red Count. This was in the summer of 1391. 
 The boar was killed by one of the escort, but the count, 
 in the course of the hunt, was thrown against a tree 
 and injured in the shoulder, according to one authority, 
 in the leg according to another. He was taken to a 
 farm in the forest called La Chavanne and was later 
 carried to Ripaille. 
 
 It may be said, by the way, that the Forest of 
 Lonnes, although much reduced in size, is still a glory 
 of the country and that there is still a farmhouse at La 
 Chavanne. It is a lonely old house covered with wistaria 
 and made picturesque by an outside gallery of wood, 
 and a great grey roof in which are very quaint dormer 
 windows. Over one door is a quotation from Virgil and 
 over the other some lines from Horace. The windows 
 
 1 " Le Sanglier de la For6t de Lonnes," par J. Replat. Annccy, 1840. 
 
 71 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 have little panes of glass and are flanked by antique 
 sun-shutters. The house is surrounded by very old farm 
 buildings and shaded by three great chestnut trees. The 
 whole place is charming and as beautiful a picture of old 
 Savoy as could be imagined. 
 
 Just before the time of the accident to Amadeus a 
 doctor named Grandville had wormed his way into the 
 Court. He was a charlatan of the ripest type and a liar 
 of exceptional gifts. His cunning was so subtle and his 
 blandishments so soft that even the Lady Bonne — clever 
 as she was — was deceived and allowed him to prescribe 
 for her, but happily without ill effect. 
 
 The count, when laid up by his injury, sent for 
 Grandville. The smiling, insidious scoundrel came to 
 Ripaille and brought with him so many medicines, 
 ointments and electuaries that it needed two packhorses 
 to carry them. Bruchet gives a list of these preparations, 
 the very perusal of which is enough to promote an illness 
 in the imaginative. Now when Grandville reached 
 Ripaille and stepped, like a dancing master, into the 
 sick room, unctuously rubbing his hands, the count made 
 no complaint about his injury, but expressed his alarm 
 at certain symptoms of old age that had beset him, viz. 
 weakness, pallor and baldness. The count was then 
 only thirty-one. 
 
 Grandville — with his sleeves tucked up — set to work 
 on the bald head as the most tangible of the symptoms. 
 He started with a wash which not only caused great 
 pain to the prince, but burnt the hands of the barber 
 who applied it. Not a hair responded. He then shaved 
 the head in order that the next wash might penetrate 
 to what are known to the laity as " the pores." This 
 
 72 
 
Ripaille 
 
 wash smelt so horribly that both the patient and the 
 barber had to hold their noses. Then came three other 
 washes of varying degrees of offensiveness. Still there 
 was no sign of a single hair. 'J'hen the expert rubbed 
 the scalp with such vigour that it became red " comme 
 ensanglante.'' Still no hair. Finally a very hot plaster 
 was applied, to be worn four days and to be followed by 
 other plasters and other washes. Still no hair ventured 
 to show itself, although one would have thought that 
 the treatment could produce a growth of hair on the 
 head of a statue. 
 
 In addition to the local treatment Grandville gave 
 the count medicines and pills. The pills were very large 
 and black and horrible to the taste. However, the count 
 took them. He only rebelled when he was offered a 
 draught of " Extract of Unicorn," because his friends 
 considered that preparations made from that animal were 
 apt to be unreliable and too dangerous to be employed 
 on a reigning prince. 
 
 The poor count, who had swallowed enough medicine 
 to start a dispensary, became weaker and weaker; until, 
 towards the end of October, it was evident that he was 
 dying. Grandville was dismissed and the regular Court 
 physicians called in. They declared that Amadeus had 
 been poisoned by the quack ; while certain courtiers were 
 quick to add that the assassination was prompted by a 
 noble named Othon de Grandson of Aubonne, who was 
 hostile to the prince. Amid the hideous hubbub that 
 followed, amid the clamour of charges and counter- 
 charges, of venomous hints and bold lying, Amadeus, the 
 Red Count, passed out of the world. The date of his 
 death was November 2, 1391. 
 
 73 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The party with the loudest voice declared that the 
 prince had been poisoned, while the partisans of Grand- 
 son and indirectly of Grandville asserted that he had 
 died of the effects of the accident at the boar hunt. 
 From the ample documents furnished by M. Bruchet 
 I am disposed to think that the death of the count was 
 due to neither of these caiises, but rather to a certain 
 blood disorder prevalent at that age. 
 
 Grandville fled, was arrested but escaped, and was 
 again captured. He died comfortably in prison in 1395. 
 Grandson was imprisoned in the Castle of Chillon, and 
 although subsequently released, his estates of Aubonne 
 and of Coppet were confiscated. He was killed in a 
 duel in 1397. Poor Bonne — the lady of the dovecot 
 and the hair plaits, was — although quite innocent — 
 involved in the poHtical troubles that followed her son's 
 death, and was obliged to leave Savoy. She died in 
 exile in the year 1402. 
 
 Amadeus VIII, who succeeded his father, the Red 
 Count, was a man of learning w^ho was deeply devoted 
 to religion. He entirely altered the aspect and character 
 of Ripaille. In 1410 he established there a priory and 
 chapel to St. Maurice and then set to work to build a 
 castle for himself with fitting fortifications. Bonne's 
 disorderly collection of buildings was swept away, all but 
 her *' great tower by the old gate." In the course of 
 his building he added other round towers, making seven 
 in all, constructed a deep moat, erected a drawbridge 
 and laid out the great courtyard. This work he seems 
 to have completed in 1434, in which year he founded at 
 Bipaille the Order of St. Maurice. The first tower to 
 the right of the entrance into the courtyard was reserved 
 
 74 
 
mi 
 
 %"* 
 
 m- 
 
 mjr-- 
 
 
 "3, , : 
 ^ < '.•.. • . • • • 
 
 n 
 
 ■4k''' .'«••• 
 
 1^ 
 
 f^' .."-■■■' 
 
 •|A'. 
 
Ripaille 
 
 for the doyen of the knights of St. Maurice. It was 
 later known as the Tower of Pope Fehx, for in 1439 
 Amadeus was elected Pope under the title of Felix V. 
 This tower still stands. 
 
 Amadeus resigned the papacy and abdicated as duke 
 in 1449,^ was made Bishop of Geneva, and died in that 
 city in 1451. He was buried at Ripaille. When the 
 Bernese invaded Chablais in 1536 Ripaille was taken, 
 the monastery was scattered, the tomb of the duke was 
 broken up and the church turned into a stable. Later 
 " a gentleman of Evian " collected the duke's bones 
 and, taking them to Turin, deposited them, in 1576, in 
 the Cathedral of St. Jean. 
 
 In 1589, when the Swiss again invaded Chablais, 
 Thonon capitulated without a struggle, but Ripaille, 
 with its garrison of 600 men, resisted. After a siege 
 of only 48 hours the castle was taken, was looted with 
 great thoroughness and was then set on fire. It burned 
 for two days and was almost wholly destroyed, four only 
 of the seven towers surviving. These four towers remain 
 to this day. Later, when Ripaille once more came into 
 the possession of Savoy, a Carthusian monastery was 
 established here and appropriate buildings erected 
 upon the site of the old ruins. In 1762 a church was 
 added to the monastery. Ripaille remained with the 
 Carthusians until the French Revolution in 1793, when 
 the monastery was broken up and the buildings allowed 
 to decay. In 1809 the chateau was purchased by Pierre 
 Louis Dupas, the famous French general. He was a 
 native of Evian — having been born in a house opposite 
 the church — and lived at Ripaille until his death in 
 
 1 He was the first count to assume the title of Duke of Savoy. 
 
 75 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 1823.^ It remained in the family of Dupas until 1892, 
 when it passed into the possession of the father of the 
 present owners. 
 
 A picture of Ripaille as it appeared in 1866 is given 
 in Wey's volume of lithographs.^ It shows a mass of 
 houses of various periods and of quite humble pretence. 
 In the centre is the church of 1762, an ungainly building 
 with a facade of pilasters in grey marble surmounted 
 by the cross of Savoy. The four towers are to be seen, 
 but the main building is entirely without interest or 
 architectural character. 
 
 Thanks to the kindness of M. Paravicini I had an 
 opportunity of seeing the chateau of to-day. It is a 
 new building, sumptuously constructed and adorned, and 
 is, with little doubt, the finest of the various chateaux 
 that have been erected on this site. Certain it is that 
 Ripaille has never stood in the midst of so glorious a 
 garden. The four ancient towers of Amadeus, with 
 their machicolations and their pointed roofs, are incor- 
 porated in the modern building. The church of 1762 
 has been pulled down. The moat has been turned into a 
 rose garden and the great courtyard thrown open as it 
 was in old days. Traces of the three towers that com- 
 pleted the total of seven are still visible, as are also some 
 fragments of the ancient walls together with certain 
 stone entries. 
 
 On the other side of the courtyard is the old 
 monastery, a low building consisting of a central block 
 and two wings. It is covered by a fine wide-stretching 
 roof and evidently has been but little altered. It dates 
 
 1 " G^neraux Savoyards," par A. Anthonioz. Geneva, 1912. 
 * " La Haute Savoie," par Francis Wey. Paris, 1866. 
 
 76 
 
Ripaille 
 
 from the end of the 16th century. In the outer wall, 
 and at about three feet from the ground, certain cow- 
 horns project at intervals from the masonry. They are 
 supposed to have been worked in among the stones by 
 the monks to keep off the devil, and, although they are 
 now much decayed, they are no doubt still as efficient 
 as they have ever been. There are some fine stone door- 
 ways in the monastery and some handsome old windows. 
 The ancient corridors and the monks' cells are still 
 retained. 
 
 The most charming feature of this building, however, 
 is the monks' kitchen. It has been left untouched and 
 is as solemn and as full of shadows as a great cave. The 
 vaulted roof is black with the smoke of centuries. The 
 enormous fireplace still parades the hook, the chain and 
 the mighty pot which were essential parts of the Gar- 
 gantuan cuisine of the time. The uncouth implements 
 for preparing food by the hundredweight would make a 
 modern dyspeptic shudder. On the walls hang mighty 
 ladles and tongs and forks that would lift a carcass. 
 The bins for flour, the tubs, the tankards for wine, the 
 cruse for oil, the bellows, the meat-hooks, the heaps of 
 logs and the font-like trough for the water suggest the 
 kitchen of a giant and his himgry family ; while the 
 massive stone floor would bear the weight of a traction 
 engine or of a cook of that tonnage. 
 
 The kitchen stands triumphantly for surfeit and 
 plenty, for the mighty appetite and the fat of the land. 
 What a picture it conjures up of the roaring supper 
 table and the rows of burly figures on the benches, the 
 heavy jowl and the tireless jaw, the slobbering mouth 
 and the heaving Falstaffian paunch ! 
 
 77 
 
XI 
 
 TWO LEGENDS OF RIPAILLE 
 
 IN the park of Ripaille and by the water's edge is 
 the Tour du Noyer. Being visible from the passing 
 steamer and being of peculiar appearance it excites 
 the interest of the lake-side tourist. It is an old round 
 tower of two stories covered with ivy. The windows and 
 the door are square. It was probably once a watch- 
 tower as well as a pharos to guide ships round the cape. 
 The tower is roofless, and the curious feature about it 
 is that a great walnut tree grows from its interior and, 
 mounting high above its summit, shades it like an 
 umbrella. To this unusual circumstance the tower owes 
 its name. 
 
 The Legend of the Nut Tower is as follows. A boat- 
 man was rowing a stranger across the Lake to Ripaille. 
 The stranger — a very silent man — had with him a box 
 which it was plain to see contained treasure. The boat- 
 man very naturally threw his fare into the Lake and 
 drowned him. He landed chuckling on the beach and 
 carried the box into the tower, where, after gloating 
 over its contents for a while, he disposed himself to 
 sleep. He was awakened from his dream of showers of 
 gold by no less a person than the Devil. 
 
 The Devil informed him, as he sat shivering on the 
 ground, that he himself was the stranger with the box 
 
 78 
 
RIPAILLE : THE NUT TOW ER 
 

Two Legends ot Ripaille 
 
 and that he had adopted this disguise in order to 
 encourage the dehghtful crime of murder. He further 
 informed his late boating companion that he proposed 
 to kill him and to bury him in the tower and that from 
 his wretched body would grow a walnut tree as from 
 a seed. The boatman, who was no gardener, expressed 
 little interest in this novel method of tree-culture and 
 remained unconcerned when the Devil added a further 
 botanical fact to the effect that for one hour once a 
 year the nuts on the tree would be changed to diamonds. 
 It is a matter of regret with local speculators that no 
 one has as yet hit upon the exact hour when the 
 jewellery is in bloom. My visit to the tower was 
 equally ill-timed, for I certainly missed the advantageous 
 moment. 
 
 Before the Devil proceeded to operate upon the 
 boatman, who was dodging about in the tower like a 
 rat in a pit, he became facetious and indulged in a 
 pleasing pun upon the words noyer and noye, which 
 humour, no doubt, the boatman was too worried to 
 enjoy. 
 
 In the courtyard of the chateau and opposite to the 
 Tower of Felix V was a spot where, in winter, the snow 
 was apt to collect and to linger after the rest of the 
 yard had ceased to be white. It was a son of General 
 Dupas who was especially impressed by the phenomenon 
 which he had frequently noticed. There was a tradition 
 that a well existed at this spot and that into it a young 
 monk, who had committed a hideous crime, had been 
 thrown alive. It was believed that on this account the 
 snow was reluctant to melt, so that, once now and 
 then, a pall of white might be laid o\er the body of the 
 
 79 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 unhappy man. There was evidence that a well existed 
 in the courtyard in 1434. Excavations were made in 
 1903, and at the spot where the snow had always tarried 
 the relics of a well were discovered. Among the mass 
 of earth and stones and other debris that filled it was 
 found the skeleton of a young man so disposed as to 
 suggest that the body had been thrown headlong into 
 the pit. 
 
 By the side of the bones were a pocket knife of a 
 very ancient type, a chaplet of beads and, as a pendant 
 to the same, a tiny human skull in ivory — a me^nento 
 mori. These are precisely such things as are likely to 
 be found in the pocket of a monk. I have seen these 
 relics and cannot rid my mind of the belief that there 
 is some truth in the tale they appear to tell. 
 
 8c 
 
— B — 
 FROM THE DRANSE TO THE RHONE 
 
 8i 
 
XII 
 
 A DESERTED SPA 
 
 THE most picturesque and most impressive part of 
 the Lake shore is that which Ues between the 
 River Dranse and the Rhone. After the Dranse 
 and its melancholy flat are passed the coastline becomes 
 gradually higher and higher, forming a huge green bank 
 some nine miles long which, before it ends, attains at 
 Thollon to no less than 1,800 feet above the level of the 
 Lake. Looked at from below this heaving slope is like 
 the back of a great green wave as it would appear to a 
 swimmer in the trough behind it. It seems as if, at its 
 summit, it must be curling over to break at the foot of 
 the mountains which are still some miles away. These 
 mountains are dominated by the grey peak of Dent 
 d'Oche, which, until the summer comes, is covered with 
 snow. 
 
 The bank is brilliant with every shade of green, from 
 the holly-green of the thicket of firs to the lettuce-green 
 of the rising corn, a bank of meadows and woods, of 
 cherry orchards and of chestnut groves, with, here and 
 there, a hamlet with its pointed spire and, here and 
 there, a white-walled villa, a garden of many colours, 
 or the brown roofs of an ancient farm. About Thollon, 
 
 83 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 above Meillerie, the bank and the mountains meet, and 
 from Meillerie eastwards the shore of the Lake is one 
 gigantic precipice, cleft, more than once, from summit 
 to foot by a fierce ravine and, in the rest of its length, 
 a rampart half pine-forest and half cliff. At the end 
 of the Lake it forms a flank of that stupendous portal 
 through which the Rhone sweeps out into the open. 
 
 The first place met with, after the Dranse is crossed, 
 is the village of Amphion. It is a shy, old-fashioned 
 hamlet lying curled up at the foot of a hill. It is some 
 w'ay from the shore and the hustling high road. Since 
 that road was made and since the steamers came Amphion 
 would appear to have drawn a cloak over its head and 
 to have dropped out of the scheme of things. It is a 
 sun-browned place with an unassuming prettiness of its 
 own and has probably changed but little during the last 
 two hundred years. By the pier and at some distance 
 from the old village is the modern Amphion, where are 
 the cafe, the restaurant and the postcard shop wdthout 
 which the tourist would find the world a place devoid 
 of purpose. 
 
 About a mile from Amphion along the Evian road 
 is a spring. It is not easy to find and, when found, is 
 not difficult to forget, and yet there was a time when 
 its w^aters were the most famous in Savoy, a time when 
 the Spa of Amphion was the resort of the ' ' smart set ' ' 
 of the day and of all who (w^ell or ill) wished to be 
 regarded as people of quality. This was long before the 
 waters of Evian were discovered. Now the Amphion 
 spring is about three miles from Thonon and one and 
 a half miles from Evian, and as there w^as no accommo- 
 dation for visitors at Amphion village those who would 
 
 84 
 
A Deserted Spa 
 
 take the waters had to stay at one or other of the towns 
 named. Evian being the nearer was the better patronized. 
 
 It was in the 18th century that the spa at Amphion 
 reached the summit of its glory. It was then imperative 
 that all those who claimed to be " in society " should 
 repair once a year to Amphion. The Amphion spring 
 is chalybeate, and its medicinal value depends — as does 
 the value of other spa waters — largely upon the faith 
 of the visitor, the dictates of fashion and the docility 
 of the doctor. 
 
 A very curious little book was written in 1697 on 
 the subject of the Amphion spring.^ It is a cheerful, 
 chatty and discursive work enlivened with verses. It 
 professes to give an analysis of the water and a report 
 as to its healing powers ; but it wanders off into a history 
 of Chablais from the days of the Romans and an account 
 of Evian from its very infancy. The analysis is not 
 profound and is, indeed, almost pathetic in its innocence. 
 It was accomplished by dropping powdered oak-apples 
 into the water and noting the change of colour and in 
 emphasizing the fact that the addition of certain potent 
 chemicals caused no ^^ fermentation/^ 
 
 From the physician's report it appears that the 
 spring had a wide range of usefulness. It could purify 
 the blood — whatever that may mean — it could cure boils 
 and asthma, sciatica and sleeplessness, gout and goitre, 
 as well as tremhlements and herezipere. It also seems 
 to have been a remedy for laziness. For example, le 
 sieur Pomel of Evian, who for twenty years could not go 
 out of the town except on a horse, regained the use of 
 his feet after drinking the water for fifteen days. Then, 
 
 1 " Mercure Acatique," par Pcre Bernard, Gardien d'Evian, 1697. 
 
 85 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 again, a lady of Margensel who had long been unable to 
 go to church managed to walk there after eighteen days 
 of water drinking. Her case was evidently a little more 
 obstinate than that of sieur Pomel. Some of the cures 
 were very quick. Thus Michel Bassay, who had been 
 blind for five years, recovered his sight in fifteen days. A 
 woman of Divonne, aged 30, who had been paralysed 
 for nearly eighteen years, in all but her tongue and her 
 arms, was able to walk in the regulation fortnight. A 
 little undue, and possibly unkind, emphasis is laid upon 
 the fact that her tongue was never paralysed during this 
 trying illness. 
 
 Amphion spa in the season was a place of great 
 activity and display and was thronged by a gaily-dressed 
 and pleasure-seeking company. There was a regular 
 service of public vehicles from Thonon, on the one side, 
 and from Evian on the other. Crowds came in private 
 carriages ; a great number in boats, while those who 
 considered a walk of a mile and a half to be part of the 
 " cure " gave animation to the Evian road with their 
 bright frocks and many-tinted parasols and their lively 
 chatter. The pump-room was by the beach. It was a low 
 building with a colonnade of white pillars. On the Lake 
 side was a terrace and on the land side a lawn. There 
 now stands in its place a modern hotel with the facade 
 of which, however, the old white colonnade is blended. 
 
 An ancient print shows the spa as it was in the days 
 of its triumph. The garden is buzzing with men and 
 women dressed in the latest fashion of the time. They 
 walk to and fro, simper and bow, take off their hats, 
 kiss finger tips, spread themselves upon benches or gossip 
 together in groups, snuff-box in hand. In the road is 
 
 86 
 
AMPHION 
 
 AMPHION : THE DESERTED SPA 
 
A Deserted Spa 
 
 a crowd of carriages and coaches, of cabriolets and gigs, 
 together with a lounging company of coachmen and foot- 
 men, of postilions and maids. For colour and vivacity 
 it may be a parade in Bath, in the days of Beau Nash. 
 
 The spa is now without honour even in its own 
 country. An obscure lane, overgrown with weeds, slinks 
 down to the water's edge. There, under the shadow of 
 a great chestnut tree, are the once famous spring and 
 its pavilion. The pavilion is a small octagonal building 
 of red brick and plaster with eight round arches. It has 
 a pointed roof covered with gold-green moss. Within 
 two streams of water from metal pipes drop, with a 
 pretty tinkle, into a stone basin. Thence the water 
 overflows on to the ground and, escaping by the door- 
 way, runs down to the beach, staining the pebbles as 
 it goes with the tint of rust. 
 
 On the wall over the spring are inscribed these words 
 — Aquse Mese Prosunt Homnihus Infirmis Omnium 
 Nationum.^ It will be noticed that the initial letters 
 spell the word " Amphion." The pavilion was built by 
 Victor Amadeus II, he whose history is recorded in 
 Chapter xv. 
 
 The poor little pavilion, forgotten by the world, is 
 a picture of utter desolation and neglect. But for the 
 babble of its waters, which has never ceased, night or 
 day, for over two hundred years, it is as still as an empty 
 chapel, and yet there was a time when there fluttered 
 around it a throng as brightly coloured as a cloud of 
 butterflies and when white arms and jewelled hands 
 would be thrust through its arches to receive a cup of 
 the water that was to cure all ills. 
 
 1 My waters are for the good ol the sick of all nations. 
 87 
 
XJII 
 
 EVIAN 
 
 EVIAN is one of the most popular towns on the 
 Lake. It is a pretty place, quiet and old- 
 fashioned ; its waters and baths have a high 
 repute ; its hotels are among the best in France, and its 
 summer climate is perfect. Its position on the Lake 
 makes it a convenient centre for visitors, while among 
 its greatest attractions is the enchanting country with 
 which it is surrounded. 
 
 Evian is small and has been little spoiled by its 
 popularity, which it accepts with composure. It consists 
 of one narrow main street, sundry lanes and a market 
 square. By the Lake promenade are the Etablissement 
 des Bains and the Casino, while behind the town on 
 the slope of the hill are the great hotels and the fashion- 
 able villas. Here is a simple old country town with a 
 rustic market-place, where butter and eggs are sold, 
 surrounded by very advanced buildings of great magnifi- 
 cence, and here is a High Street where the limousine 
 from Paris, with its liveried servants, is held up by a 
 primitive wagon drawn by two oxen and guided by 
 a man of the 17th century. The association is as 
 anomalous as would be the picture of a peasant in 
 homespun, with a rake on his shoulder, sitting in a 
 salon surrounded by a gorgeously apparelled company. 
 
 88 
 
Evian 
 
 Evian is a " season place," and in the height of the 
 summer is crowded, is agreeably restless and very smart. 
 The Rue Nationale becomes then a miniature Bond 
 Street, for there are shops from Paris and Aix and Nice 
 to dazzle the eye. As the pavement is so narrow that 
 it will only admit of one person at a time, the haigneurs 
 walk in the road. Beneath the avenue of clipped plane 
 trees which shade the promenade there is always a 
 rustling company, bright with all the colours of the 
 setting sun. 
 
 When the season is over Evian becomes once again 
 a drowsy, self-absorbed provincial town. The High 
 Street may be absolutely deserted from end to end. 
 The hotels are closed and the brilliant shops are shuttered 
 up. The steamboats cease to call, while the cabs, the 
 motors, the charabancs and the pleasure boats vanish as 
 if by the stroke of a magician. The place becomes 
 suddenly empty, suddenly quiet, like a ballroom awed 
 by a sudden death. There is nothing to recall the gala 
 days but the flaming posters still hot on the walls, while 
 down the desolate High Street a yoke of oxen can 
 lounge with an air of contemptuous boredom. 
 
 Evian is a venerable town, for it figures in the 
 mediaeval wars and, even before those days, there was 
 some kind of Roman settlement in the place. Its history 
 is neither distinctive nor particularly interesting, since 
 it differs so little from that of other ancient towns of its 
 kind. It was periodically besieged. It was periodically 
 pillaged. It was on occasion burnt down and on occasion 
 decimated by the plague. It received benefactions from 
 this gracious lady or that great lord, was visited by 
 princes and witnessed in its streets, from time to time, 
 
 89 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 scenes of riot and brawling when the people, pouring 
 out of the taverns, clamoured for more liberty or the 
 redress of wrong. If particular names and dates are 
 supplied a historj' such as this would provide the salient 
 features in the story of a long series of ancient 
 tow^ns.^ 
 
 In its j^oung days Evian must have been very 
 picturesque. It was surrounded by a wall and a moat 
 and was entered by five gates. In the circuit of the wall 
 were twehe towers, very lofty and defiant. There were 
 two churches, two great convents and a chateau. A 
 stream. La Gruz, ran through the centre of the town, 
 dividing it into two parts and incidentally turning a mill- 
 wheel on its way. To the wTst of the stream was the 
 parish or hourg of St. Mary, with its church still stand- 
 ing ; while to the east was the hourg of La Touviere, with 
 its church of St. Catherine. This church, which stood 
 on the spot now occupied by the Buvette Cachat, was 
 dismantled in the Re\olution and later fell into ruins. ^ 
 
 The walls and fortifications were built by Amadeus V 
 in 1322. The chief tow'ers belonged to certain strong- 
 holds. The more ancient of these was the castle of 
 Peter of Savoy, built in 1237. It had four towers, and 
 occupied the site of the present Hotel de France on the 
 south side of the main street. It is described in old 
 books as the Chateau du Souverain and is depicted as 
 being in a more or less ruinous condition. The second 
 castle — known as the Gribaldi Chateau — was built in 
 
 ^ A History of the Town by Noble Francois Prevost, written in 1G23, and 
 reproduced in Tome v. of the " Memoires de I'Academie Chablaisienne," 1891 ; 
 also " Les Archives d'Evlan avant 1790," par C. A. Bouchet. 
 
 * " Au Pays Eviannals," par Alexis Bachellerie. Evian, 1909. 
 
 90 
 
Evian 
 
 1569, and stood where is now the modern Hotel de 
 Ville.i 
 
 Of the encircHng wall and its five gates no trace 
 remains ; but of the round towers four are still to be 
 seen. They have lost in stature and in dignity, have 
 ceased to be menacing or martial and have become 
 tamely domesticated as parts of modest dwellings. The 
 guard-room has possibly become a fowl-house and the 
 turret of the sentry a bedroom for a child. Two stand 
 timidly behind the Hotel de Ville, another is hidden by 
 the Hotel de France, while a fourth, very shrunken by 
 the weight of years, clings to the spot where was once 
 the Thonon Gate. Here, like a blind halberdier, it 
 seems to be still watching the western road. 
 
 The two convents — much modernized — occupy their 
 ancient sites. The Convent of St. Claire, on the west, 
 is close to the parish church ; while that of the Corde- 
 liers (now the Pensionnat St. Joseph) is on the east of 
 the town, where its ancient walled garden confronts the 
 Tourists' Office and the holiday-makers' pier. 
 
 The church of St. Mary is the predominant feature 
 of Evian and its most distinguished building. It dates 
 from the 13th and 14th centuries. The tower is mag- 
 nificent, being unusually lofty and of great size. It has 
 huge belfry windows with round arches, and is sur- 
 mounted by a balustrade and a glittering steeple which 
 was erected in 1793 in place of an older structure which 
 had been destroyed. At the foot of the tower is an 
 early Gothic window. Compared to the tower, the 
 church is mean. It has a nave and two aisles, the vaulted 
 
 > " Historic Studies in Vaud, Berne, and Savoy," by Meredltli Read. Vol. 2, 
 page 7. London, 1897. 
 
 91 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 roofs of which are very cunningly painted to represent 
 carved stone. By the side of the chancel is the little 
 Chapel of Notre-Dame de Graces. Above its altar are 
 figures of the Virgin and Child canned in wood and 
 brightly painted. The work bears the date 1493. Both 
 figures are nearly life size and, although a little archaic, 
 are very charming. It will be noticed that the infant 
 Christ holds in His hand a bird with a black head. 
 
 This carving has a curious history. Louise, daughter 
 of Amadeus, Duke of Savoy, married Hiigues de 
 Chalons, the last Lord of Orbe. Being left a widow 
 at the age of 30, she entered the convent of the Clarisses 
 at Orbe.^ Her novitiate ended in Jvme, 1493. To 
 commemorate that event she presented to the convent 
 the figure of the Madonna above described. The small 
 bird with the black head, held in the hand of the infant 
 Christ, represents herself. She died in 1503. In 1554 
 the nuns were driven from Orbe and sought refuge at 
 Evian. They carried the figure of the Madonna with 
 them. They set sail from Ouchy on March 20th, 1555, 
 in favourable weather. Midway across the Lake they 
 were overtaken by a storm and the ship was nearly lost. 
 To lighten the vessel some of the cargo was thrown 
 overboard, and among the articles cast away in the 
 confusion was the sacred image. The nuns landed safely 
 at Evian as the sun died down. 
 
 That same day, in the evening, a fisherman of 
 Meillerie noticed a shining object on the lake. He 
 approached it and saw to his amazement the face of the 
 Madonna — very vivid and very lifelike — appearing above 
 
 1 Orbe is in Vaud, between Lausanne and the Lake of Neuchatel. The convent 
 is now an inn. 
 
 92 
 
EVIAN 
 
 EVIAN: ONE OF THE TOWERS 
 
Evian 
 
 the surface of the deep. Around the face was a halo 
 of gold over which the water rippled. What appeared 
 in the dim light to be a miraculous vision proved to be 
 the figure from the convent at Orbe. It was recovered 
 and restored to the nuns, who, in gratitude for their 
 deliverance, gave it to the church at Evian, in the little 
 chapel of which it has remained for, now, over 300 
 years.^ 
 
 The chateau at Evian, generally spoken of as the 
 de Blonay Castle, occupied the site upon which the 
 present Casino stands. It appears in a print of 1725 as 
 a square block of uninteresting and featureless buildings 
 with a fine garden reaching down to the edge of the 
 Lake.'' It was originally the Castle of Grillie which in 
 1474 belonged to the Bonivards, of which family the 
 Prisoner of Chillon was a member. In 1565 it was sold 
 to Jacques Dunant, and finally came to the de Blonay s 
 in 1676.^ The de Blonays occupied the chateau for 200 
 years until 1878, when it became the property of the 
 town of Evian under the will of Ennemond de Blonay, 
 the last of this branch of the family. It was pulled down 
 and the Casino built in its place. 
 
 There was another chateau at Evian, the Chateau 
 de Fonbonne. It w^as founded in the 14th century by 
 Amadeus V and was, for a time, an occasional residence 
 of the Counts of Savoy. It became later the house of 
 Baron de Montfaucon and, in turn, of other nobles. 
 Towards the end of the 16th century it was more or less 
 completely destroyed by the Bernese and the French. 
 
 1 " Notre-Dame de Graces." Anon. Evian, 1893. 
 
 » "Groot Stedeboek van Piemont en van Savoye." The Hague, 1725. 
 
 ' Read, op, cit., Vol. 2, page 7. 
 
 93 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 It appears in old drawings as a large massive house with 
 a tower, enclosed within high walls. The present build- 
 ing is modern and has been converted into an hotel. 
 
 Conspicuous in Evian as in other Lake towns is the 
 Jardin Anglais. It is a little thicket of trees by the 
 water's edge intersected by paths. Why this pleasant 
 spot is called " the English Garden " is unknown, for 
 certainly no garden in England could possibly have 
 inspired it. Indeed, if introduced into England it 
 would assuredly be called " the Foreign Garden " on 
 account of its unfamiliar appearance. 
 
 The now far-famed waters of Evian were discovered 
 in 1790, and within a few years — as was inevitable — the 
 town became a spa and changed its name from Evian to 
 Evian les Bains. The acquiring of this title and dignity 
 was attended by some loss of charm; for Evian, the 
 cheery, Lake-side town, where people thronged to take 
 the waters of Amphion, became gravely altered when it 
 had waters of its own. Before the springs were disco\'ered 
 it w^as as rural and as artless a place as Coppet. It had 
 neither harbour nor pier. Those who came by boat 
 landed on the beach. There was no promenade with 
 its stiff row of trees like a file of drilled men. Gardens 
 came down to the water's edge. From the garden 
 steps women could dip their buckets in the Lake and 
 over the wall the boys could fish. There were then still 
 traces of the fortifications and the gates and even of 
 the moat. The de Blonay chateau stood by the church, 
 while in the High Street were many old buildings, none 
 the less picturesque because they were lapsing into ruin. 
 
 Now scarcely an ancient house remains. One, how- 
 ever, is to be noted in the Rue de I'Eghse (No. 1). It 
 
 94 
 
Evian 
 
 was the town house of some noble family. The entry 
 has a shouldered arch, and it and the large mullioned 
 windows speak regretfully of better days. There is a 
 fine, masterful-looking old house on the south side of 
 the main street near the site of the Thonon Gate. 
 As it is shown in old prints, so — with but little change 
 — does it appear now. This was the great inn, the 
 Cheval Blanc, which was, no doubt, a bustling place 
 during the Amphion season. According to Read the 
 inn was the scene of a quarrel that, just before the 
 French Revolution, caused much stir in the town. It 
 concerned a Dunant (one of the family who once owned 
 the Chateau of Evian) and a physician. The physician, 
 forgetful of the suave manners of his profession, kicked 
 his slipper into the face of the gentleman named. This 
 very marked expression of contempt led to a duel, which 
 was fought out at the back of the inn, in a place called 
 " behind the moat." Dunant was killed, and the 
 practitioner, who had so suddenly exchanged the lancet 
 for the sword, was compelled to flee, for there was an 
 impression abroad that he had provoked the duel in order 
 that he might kill Dunant. 
 
 As to the aspect of the natives of Evian there have 
 been curious differences of opinion. Shelley, writing in 
 1816,^ remarks " the appearance of the inhabitants of 
 Evian is more wretched, diseased and poor than I ever 
 recollect to have seen " ; whereas Wey, writing in 18(56, 
 speaks of the beauty of the young women of Evian and 
 the charm of their little round bonnets. It is possible 
 that when Shelley landed he met the inmates of the 
 
 1 " Plistory of a Six Weeks' Tour." London, 1817. 
 ' " La Haute Savoie," par Tiancis Wey. Paris, 1866, 
 
 95 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 hospital taking the air as a measure of treatment, and 
 mistook them for the normal inhabitants, since ruddier 
 and more stalwart folk than the people of Evian could 
 not well be found. As for the little round bonnets, I 
 am afraid they have gone, and possibly the pretty faces 
 have faded with them. Now and then one meets with 
 an aged woman wearing one of these coquettish round 
 caps, and it would be kindly to assume that fifty-five 
 years ago, when Wey visited Evian, the wrinkled face 
 was one of those he thought so comely. 
 
 c;6 
 
XIV 
 
 THE FETE-DIEU 
 
 THE people of Evian are to be seen at their best 
 on the occasion of the Fete-Dieu, which is held 
 on the Sunday after Corpus Christi, that is to say 
 about the beginning of June. The whole street is then 
 lined on either side with young fir trees, which would be 
 Christmas trees to English eyes. They give to the road 
 the aspect of a way through a wood. On the pavement 
 in front of every house are masses of flowers, and it is 
 to be noted that they are wild flowers. Some are in 
 baskets, some in pots, some are in untidy bundles just 
 as the children picked them. Here and there the 
 threshold is strewn with flower petals. Here and there 
 a little table, covered with a white cloth, is placed before 
 the house, and on it stands a vase of wild flowers ; or, 
 failing a table, there will be a chair. Even the poorest 
 cottage makes some display, if only it be a bunch of 
 gentian in a jam-pot or in a tin covered with white 
 paper. There are no tawdry artificial decorations. 
 Young trees from the mountain-side and blossoms from 
 the meadow alone grace the Fete-Dieu. 
 
 At either end of the town — in the market-place, on 
 
 the one hand, and beyond the convent on the other — 
 
 an elaborate altar is erected. A religious procession is 
 
 formed which visits in turn the two altars. In the main 
 
 H 97 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 street, through which the procession moves, certain 
 religious groups are posed to represent Scripture charac- 
 ters. The tableaux are arranged and the holy people 
 are personified by the humbler folk of the town. The 
 realization of each character is founded upon some 
 famihar picture or statue in a church and is carried out 
 with pious simplicity. The people themselves make the 
 garments and fashion the accessories, the haloes, the 
 wings, the w^igs, the beards and the different sacred 
 emblems. 
 
 In the Fete-Dieu of 1921 the tableaux w^ere as 
 follows. In a space before a cafe, made available by 
 clearing away the round tables and the chairs, w^as a 
 group composed of the Virgin Mary, Christ, St. Peter, 
 John the Baptist and other saints. It was quite impres- 
 sive because it was so natural. The Madonna was a very 
 pretty, sad-faced woman who made an adorable figure 
 and was regarded by the passers-by with a reverence 
 that dispelled mere curiosity. St. Peter, with his key, 
 lost some dignity by nodding to his friends in the street. 
 He had, moreover, a jovial face which no subtlety could 
 make serious. John the Baptist, on the other hand, was 
 a convincing figure. He really looked as if he cried in 
 the wilderness and as if " his meat was locusts and wild 
 honey," for he w^as so very lean. The baby in the 
 cradle w^as not a success. He would put his toes in his 
 mouth, and when rebuked became violent. He was 
 bribed to be quiet by a gift of flowers; but he hurled 
 them from him with what, in a grown-up man, would 
 have been, without doubt, regrettable language. 
 
 Another group, by the corner of a lane, was com- 
 posed of women at a well. A third group in the street 
 
 98 
 
EVIAN CHURCH 
 
The Fate-Dieu 
 
 was made up of angels in blue. They were on a rough 
 pedestal covered with brown paper to resemble rock. 
 They were young girls, and they formed an exceedingly 
 effective picture. The angel on the summit of the rock 
 had been drilled to keep her hands crossed over her chest 
 and her eyes turned to heaven. The hands remained 
 unmoved, but when the schoolgirls came by in the pro- 
 cession the eyes faltered and drooped gently to the 
 street, for I am sure that the school was her school. 
 
 At the foot of this group of angels was a number 
 of very tiny cherubim with bare arms and legs and with 
 a great scarcity of clothing. They had little wings which 
 would not have lifted a kitten, and they held aloft 
 flowers in their very chubby hands. After a while, how- 
 ever, the hands dropped and the flowers were forgotten. 
 Some sat down, some clung to the robes of grown-up 
 angels, while one curled herself up, to the damage of 
 her wings, and putting her thumb in her mouth com- 
 posed herself to rest. Before the procession came by 
 the parts they had to play had left their thoughts, and 
 the tableau — so far as they were concerned — consisted 
 of a number of half-naked cherubim tumbling about on 
 the ground in drowsy disorder. 
 
 As a religious display the Fete-Dieu at Evian is 
 most impressive. It is carried out with solemnity and 
 reverence. It is evidently an expression of frank and 
 genuine devotion and is, above all, made admirable by 
 its simplicity, for it is a pageant of the rehgion of a 
 child. 
 
 99 
 
XV 
 
 VICTOR AMyS.DEUS II AND EVIAN 
 
 ON a certain May morning in 1684 the village of 
 Les Echelles was the scene of a sudden and 
 breathless excitement. A very distinguished 
 company had arrived by the Lyons road and had drawn 
 up, with much commotion, at the inn. It was a large 
 party of lords and ladies, all gorgeously dressed and 
 attended by a retinue of servants of no ordinary type. 
 It was a curious party, inasmuch as the most important 
 person in the cavalcade was a small girl of fifteen, who 
 was the object of great attention. The villagers crowded 
 round the inn to get a peep at her. She was a vivacious 
 little maid with a smiling face and roguish eyes. Her 
 head was a mass of curls held in place by bands of silver 
 beads. Her dress was that of a woman of thirty, for 
 her gown was long enough to hide her feet, while the 
 stomacher, stiff and heavily embroidered, reached to a 
 point below her waist. ^ 
 
 The arrival of travellers was no uncommon thing, 
 because the town was not only on the high road between 
 Paris and Chambery, but it stood on the frontier that 
 divided the two great states of France and Savoy. 
 
 The party that had so fluttered the town took break- 
 fast in an upper room of the inn, the windows of which 
 
 * " The Romance of Savoy," by the Marchesa Vitelleschi 2 Vols. London, 
 1905. 
 
 100 
 
Victor Amadeus II and iEvmn 
 
 looked out upon the street. As it was the month of 
 May there is httle doubt that the windows were thrown 
 open. The meal had not been long in progress when 
 the sound of drums and fifes was heard in the direction 
 of the Chambery road. The crowd before the inn became 
 excited and commenced to cheer and to wave their caps. 
 
 The little lady at the head of the table immediately 
 jumped up, in spite of the anxious protests of her friends, 
 and rushed to the window. She saw coming down the 
 street a young man of eighteen, superbly clad and very 
 pleasant to look upon. He was riding at the head of 
 a gallant company of archers and musketeers whose 
 tramp could be heard above the rattle of the drums. 
 The little lady scanned the young man very intently, 
 and then, heedless of the upraised hands and horrified 
 looks of all at the table, rushed out of the room and 
 down the stairs into the street, where she leaped into 
 the arms of the gorgeous lad, who had just then halted 
 at the tavern door. 
 
 The lords and ladies, looking down from the windows, 
 were shocked and scandalized by this spectacle, but the 
 crowd approved of it, for they raised a shout that made 
 the horses rear, and that shout they repeated with greater 
 fervour when the youth lifted the lady to his saddle and 
 kissed her. 
 
 The boy and girl were husband and wife. They had 
 been married three weeks, but they had never met before 
 nor had they even seen one another; for they had been 
 married by proxy. The youth was Victor Amadeus, 
 Duke of Savoy; the girl was Anna Maria, the grand- 
 daughter of Charles the First of England. 
 
 It had been arranged that the meeting of the two 
 
 lOI 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 at the frontier should be conducted with elaborate 
 etiquette. 'Indeed the ceremony of the meeting had 
 been rehearsed over and over again ; but when the 
 moment came little Anna Maria with the curly head 
 could not restrain her curiosity, for she must see what 
 her husband was like, and when she saw him she could 
 not restrain the impulse of her heart, for she felt she 
 must kiss him. And so the courtly ceremonial that had 
 been so laboriously planned came to nothing ; for no 
 spectacle can be less ceremonious than that of a girl 
 jumping into the arms of a becoming youth. 
 
 After the necessary presentations had been made the 
 bride and bridegroom, with their suite, started for 
 Chambery. The duchess was carried in a Sedan chair 
 as the road was rough, while the duke rode by her side. 
 Now and again the restless lady would get out of the 
 chair, and then the two would walk together, talking 
 shyly with many pauses, or would linger behind to pick 
 flowers while the cavalcade moved on. 
 
 When they reached Chambery it was almost dark, 
 but the streets were crowded and ablaze with the waving 
 light of a hundred torches; ^olleys of guns were fired 
 from the castle, while there was not a window that was 
 not illuminated and fluttering with flags. The boy and 
 girl made their way through a cheering mob of loyal 
 folk to Sainte Chapelle to receive the archbishop's bless- 
 ing. After the Benediction the two walked alone to 
 the gate of the palace, he leading her by the hand. 
 
 To realize to its full the importance of the new 
 duchess it is necessary to mention that when Queen 
 Anne died, in 1714, Lord Mar assured the Government 
 of Savoy that if any vmtoward event haippened to the 
 
 102 
 
Victor Amadeus II and Evian 
 
 Chevalier de St. Georges the Stuart party and the 
 troops under their command had received orders to 
 proclaim Anna Maria Queen of England.^ 
 
 The duke and duchess became somewhat intimately 
 associated with Evian, for the family often repaired there 
 in order to take the waters of Amphion. During their 
 visits they resided at the Chateau de Blonay in Evian, 
 near by the church of St. Mary. It was in the church 
 of St. Mary that Victor Amadeus became involved in 
 the dramatic scene that marked his meeting with the 
 emotional Madame de Warens, as is detailed in Chapter 
 XXXII, and it was with Evian that the closing tragedy 
 of his own eventful life was concerned (page 104). It 
 >vas he, too, who built the pavilion over the spring at 
 Amphion and made that little spa, for a while, the most 
 fashionable in Savoy and incidentally filled Evian with 
 persons of quality (page 87). 
 
 Anna Maria proved herself to be — in the course of 
 years — a very admirable woman, wise, amiable and above 
 reproach, a perfect wife as well as a noble and dignified 
 princess. She died in 1728. 
 
 After her death the House of Savoy, that she had 
 so gallantly helped to maintain, fell for the moment 
 into grave disorder. The duke, although only sixty-two, 
 had become a prematurely old man, feeble in health and 
 worn out by the hardships of his many campaigns. lie 
 fell an easy prey to a certain scheming countess who was 
 resolved to become the Duchess of Savoy. The two 
 were secretly married in the duke's study at Turin in 
 the presence only of a clerk and a valet. This was two 
 years after the death of Anna Maria. 
 
 ^ " Marchesa Vitelleschi," op. cit. "^ 
 
 103 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 A month after his second marriage the duke abdicated 
 in favour of his only son Charles Emmanuel. He took 
 this step without the knowledge of his ambitious and 
 masterful wife. He had a longing to return to Cham- 
 bery, and to Chambery he went for the second time 
 as a bridegroom. He arrived just after dusk, as in the 
 happy year when he came as a lad, and went direct to 
 Sainte Chapelle, precisely as he had done forty-six years 
 before. But there was now no cheering crowd in the 
 street, no flare of torches, no salvoes of artillery and, 
 most poignant of all, no bride to lead by the hand. He 
 came alone ; no one met him ; no one knew of his return ; 
 he made his way to the chapel through deserted streets ; 
 he entered and prayed alone, and alone he walked from 
 the chapel to the palace gate. He was acting over again 
 the sunniest moment of his life, but it was under a 
 cloud of brooding tragedy and assumed the form of a 
 self-tormenting penance. 
 
 The final act of the drama opened at Evian. The 
 new duke, Charles Emmanuel, had gone there to take 
 the .waters. While at Evian he was made aware of the 
 astounding news that his father, under the influence of 
 his pernicious wife, had revoked his act of abdication 
 and was on his way to Turin to resume the throne. The 
 young duke left Evian as the panting messenger finished 
 his tale and went post haste to Turin. His father and 
 he arrived there within a few hours of one another. The 
 turmoil, the confusion, the angry interviews, the plots 
 and counter-plots that followed may be imagined. 
 
 In the end — and the end was sad enough — the ill- 
 advised Charles Emmanuel gave the order for his father's 
 arrest, and the feeble, shattered old duke was pulled 
 
 104 
 
Victor Amadeus II and Evian 
 
 from his bed at two in the morning and carried by force 
 to Rivoh, where he was kept a close prisoner. Here he 
 died some twelve months later, just forty-eight years 
 after the meeting with the little duchess on that 
 wonderful morning at Les Echelles. 
 
 The second wife — the scheming lady who dragged a 
 helpless man to ruin to serve her own ends — lived in 
 comfort to the age of ninety. 
 
 105 
 
XVI 
 
 THE REAL COUNTRY 
 
 TO the dweller in towns there is a distinction 
 between the country and the "real country." 
 With the indiscriminate country he is prepared 
 to be, in some way, satisfied, simply because it is not 
 the town; but when the weariness of the city is heavy 
 upon him it is for the real country that he longs. It 
 means to him a quiet place, green and dappled with the 
 sun, that is far behind the battle line of life with its 
 clamour of arms and its crush of men. It means a 
 return, in spirit at least, to the pastoral age of the w^orld 
 where, in the place of the factory with its trail of smoke, 
 are the uplands and the sheep. 
 
 It needs but little to arouse this longing for the natural 
 and the unspoiled. It may be a glimpse of blue sky 
 above the trench-like walls of the street, or a bunch of 
 primroses in a flower-seller's basket, or so primitive a 
 figure as a man with a scythe in a public park. 
 
 The country for some twenty miles round a great 
 city like London brings little contentment. It is con- 
 taminated by the herding of men and the trample of 
 their restless feet. Highways traverse it in unfeeling 
 lines ; the villages have lost their simplicity and have 
 become pinchbeck towns; the hedges are emaciated and 
 grey with dust ; the common is as bare as a w^orn-out 
 
 1 06 
 
o 
 
 a: 
 
 o 
 
 en 
 < 
 
 z 
 
 o 
 
The Real Country 
 
 carpet, and shreds of advertisements hang, like bits of 
 skin, from the meadow fence. 
 
 Go further afield, even travel for a day, and the real 
 country is still hard to find. There are open downs, it 
 is true, wide heaths, footpaths by the cliff, leafy lanes 
 and the banks of streams, but the traces of man and his 
 doings are not readily escaped, for even in the remotest 
 glen the paper bag and broken bottle of the picnic party 
 will be come upon. 
 
 It is but Httle exaggeration to say that there is no 
 " real country " in England. Tramp from the great 
 centre until you come to the sea and the country is still 
 suburban. The land is trim. It has lost its naivete and 
 has become artificial. It is parcelled out like a surveyor's 
 plan, ruled and lined like an allotment garden. The 
 heart of the country is shut away and is guarded as 
 shrewdly as the cloister of a nun. On all sides there are 
 hedges and railings and barbed wire. Everything is 
 enclosed in a pen. The orchard can be seen over a wall 
 bristling with broken glass, while the wood is railed about 
 and proclaims upon every side that the trespasser will 
 be prosecuted. In England, indeed, the way of the 
 trespasser is hard. 
 
 In Savoy, on the other hand, the real country is to 
 be found, and nowhere more generously than by the 
 south shores of the Lake. There, at least, it is not far 
 to seek, for it comes, in all its artlessness, to the very 
 walls of the town. The country itself is luxuriant. It 
 is a land " flowing with milk and honey." It is, more- 
 over, beautiful in its landscape, in its valleys and hills, 
 its vast woods, its slopes green with trees, its river 
 gorges and its flower-bedecked meadows. 
 
 I or 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Around Evian it is possibly at its best. Here is the 
 heart of the country open and making welcome. There 
 are no hedges, no gates, no fences. The stranger may 
 wander where he will. There are highways and mule 
 tracks, but the common means of going to and fro is 
 by the footpath, a footpath as narrow as an Indian 
 trail. It leads through clover fields and fields of corn, 
 through vineyards and through meadows knee-deep in 
 grass. It makes its way unhindered across the apple 
 orchard and the cherry grove, for there is no coniining 
 wall. The blossoms drop on the head of the passer-by, 
 the apples fall at his feet. 
 
 The path leads through gardens with as much assur- 
 ance as if the garden were one's own. It traverses a 
 wood where, by many devious ways, it may wander for 
 miles. It passes through the farmyard and among all 
 its intimate medley of homely things, by the water 
 trough made from the trunk of a tree, the stack of 
 winter wood, the plough, the wine barrels, the lantern 
 hanging from a nail, the stepping-stones across the 
 brook. The house itself is one of the joys of the open 
 path. It will be of brown wood covered often by 
 clematis or wistaria. Under the great eaves runs a long 
 gallery made bright by a few scarlet geraniums and 
 reached by an outside stair. Beneath are the cow-house, 
 the pen for fowls and the shed where hang the yokes for 
 the oxen, the haymakers' tools, the scythes, the baskets 
 for the grapes. 
 
 He who follows the path will see, as the year moves 
 on, every phase of the life of the country, and see it with 
 a freedom and intimacy that he shares with the country- 
 man himself. He will see the ploughing of the land 
 
 io8 
 
The Real Country 
 
 with oxen, the haymaking, the cherry and the apple 
 harvest, the gathering of the chestnuts, the making of 
 the cyder, the grape harvest and the pruning of the 
 vine. This open-heartedness of the country, this ad- 
 mission of the stranger into its famihar Ufe, is readily 
 explained. The land is possessed by small proprietors 
 who represent as fine, honest and industrious a people 
 as the world can boast of. There are no flocks and herds 
 to be penned in fields. The little company of sheep is 
 in charge of a languid boy who follows them about all 
 day, whistling as he goes. The cow is conducted to its 
 pasture by an aged woman or a girl who will knit as 
 she shuffles along with the cow-rope round her arm. Of 
 the man-hating bull that may make the open field a 
 place of terror there is no evidence. 
 
 Since there are no cattle to confine and since the 
 orchard-robber is unknown, hedges and fences are not 
 needed. The wood is free for all to wander in because 
 game preserving and its inevitable restraints are not 
 observed in this corner of France. More than this, a 
 respect for the fields and for the bounty of the land is 
 almost a religion with these simple folk. It is, indeed, 
 an idyllic country but httle removed from that imagined 
 land where shepherds played upon their pipes, where 
 fauns and dryads gambolled in the glen and where it 
 was a fitting thing "to sport with Amaryllis in the 
 shade." 
 
 The country is a paradise for birds, and I have hap- 
 pened upon no place where more singing birds are to be 
 heard than around Evian. It is unusual to meet in a 
 vast city-like hotel with people who mildly grumble that 
 their sleep has been disturbed by nightingales, but such 
 
 109 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 are to be met with here. In a small untidy museum at 
 Thonon is a collection of the birds that are to be found 
 on or about the Lake. The collection is astonishing and 
 claims to be complete. While it includes birds common 
 to Great Britain it embraces many that are not seen in 
 that island. 
 
 The glory of the flowers along the shores of the Lake 
 adds another enchantment to the country. Before the 
 hay is cut there is as brilliant a display of colour as will 
 be found in any Alpine meadow. There are fields purple 
 with meadow sage, yellow with the glorious globe-flower, 
 pink with sainfoin or blue with campanulas. There are 
 slopes of nodding columbines and banks so covered with 
 the small gentian as to seem to be enamelled with lapis 
 lazuli. Anemones of all tints, forget-me-nots in huge 
 masses, the mountain flax, the rock rose, the pansy, the 
 wild straw^berry and the w^ood geranium are among the 
 common flowers to be found in this delectable wild 
 garden. There are, besides, so many blossoms which are 
 unfamiliar that the idler may be busy, if only he will 
 ramble about wdth curiosity in his mind and a copy of 
 Hulme in his pocket.^ 
 
 Lovers of Alpine flowers will understand the desire 
 that moved the closing moments in the life of Edmond 
 Boissier, the famous botanist. As he lay dying he was 
 asked if there was anything he wished. "Yes," he 
 said, " there is one thing I wish, to hold in my hand for 
 the last time a sprig of Alpine campanula." So it came 
 about that, as the shadows deepened and the world grew 
 dark, there stood clear before his eyes, in the last speck 
 of light that lingered, the lone figure of the bell-flower. 
 
 1 " Familiar Swiss Flowers." By F. E. Hulme. London, 1908. 
 
 no 
 
XVII 
 
 now MARIE AIMEE MET SEVEN ANGELS IN THE 
 GUISE OF MENDICANTS 
 
 IN the kindly countiy that Hes between Evian and 
 St. Paul there is a little shy lane which seems to 
 beckon the stranger to follow^ it. It leads, by 
 enticing ways, to the border of a wood, to a lonely place 
 disturbed only by the songs of birds and the babble of 
 a stream. In this solitude will be found a small white 
 shrine enclosed by a railing. On the surface of a stone 
 panel, below a figure of the Virgin, are engraved these 
 
 lines : 
 
 " Here Marie Aimee de Blonay 
 
 Met Seven Angels m tlie guise of Mendicants.''^ 
 
 There is nothing more ; no date, no emblem, no sign 
 that can add even a hint to the simple statement. Those 
 who come upon this shrine will be lost in conjecture, for 
 the little oratory is assuredly modern ; while the de 
 Blonays are the great family of the neighbourhood and 
 the woodland traversed is in their domain.^ The stranger 
 may wonder as he will, and yet any toddling child in the 
 countryside can tell the story of Marie Aimee ; while 
 the elder folk will recall the fact that before the oratoire 
 was built the spot was marked by a cross that had 
 crumbled into dust because it was so very old. 
 
 > The shrine was built in 1896. " Neuvecelle," par Edmond Rollin. Evian; 
 1910. 
 
 Ill 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 One of the de Blonay castles stood in the village of 
 St. Paul. Here Marie Aimee was born in December, 
 1590.^ She was called Aimee after Victor Amadeus I, 
 the then Duke of Savoy. Her father, the count, was a 
 deeply religious man and Marie followed in his footsteps. 
 She was educated at the Convent of St. Catherine at 
 Annecy, where she received instruction from St. Francis 
 de Sales and where she remained until she was eighteen 
 years of age. She then returned to St. Paul and began 
 to devote her life to religious works, to prayer and to the 
 care of the poor and the unhappy. 
 
 On a certain fair morning in May — it will be now 
 over 300 years ago — she was walking in this very glade 
 with her companion. At the spot on the road where 
 the shrine now stands she met seven poor men toiling up 
 through the wood. They were young but in lamentable 
 plight. They were ill and worn, wasted and in rags. 
 Three of them limped along painfully for they bore dire 
 wounds. Their wallets were empty and their faces drawn 
 by the pinch of hunger. They humbly begged alms of 
 the ladies. Marie at once took the leader by the hand 
 and, with tears in her eyes, invited him and his comrades 
 to come with her to the castle. It was a toilsome way, 
 since St. Paul w^as distant some two miles and every step 
 of the path was steep. Still it was the month of May 
 when the cowslips are still ablaze, when the wood sparkles 
 with anemones and when, as the road ascends, bank after 
 bank is blue with gentian. At St. Paul she fed them 
 and clothed them, dressed their wounds ^vith her own 
 hands, comforted them and brought a gleam of con- 
 tent into their weary eyes. As her father was away 
 
 ^ She died in 1649, and was buried in the vault of the church at St. Paul. 
 
 112 
 
MARIE AIMEE'S SHRINE 
 
How Marie Aimee Met Seven Angels 
 
 she found tlicni lodgings in the village and left them 
 there to sleep. 
 
 On the following morning they came up to the 
 castle to take their leave. This parting between the 
 girl chatelaine of St. Paul and the seven travel-worn men 
 must have afforded an impressive picture. For a back- 
 ground was the wall of the great keep rising from the 
 shadows of the moat. In the vault of the gateway, under 
 the beams and chains of the drawbridge, stood the little 
 lady with clasped hands and with the sun full upon her. 
 Before her ranged the seven men so that their shadows 
 reached her feet. The song of a bird in a tree pink with 
 blossom alone broke the silence of the place. 
 
 One of the seven stepped forward to thank the lady 
 for her charity and for the sympathy she had shown them. 
 He spoke in the voice of one who was of noble birth. 
 He begged her to devote her heart to the Seven Spirits 
 who stand before the Throne of the Lamb, and added, 
 ** They will ever bear you in remembrance and will ever 
 bless you and keep you and give you peace." 
 
 As he spoke a change passed over the faces of the 
 seven. The haggard features became beautiful and a 
 smile of infinite tenderness spread across the pallid lips. 
 The uncouth cap changed to a halo of gold, the poor, 
 tattered garments became pendent robes, bright as the 
 moon, while the wallets on their shoulders were trans- 
 formed into cloud-white wings. 
 
 Marie de Blonay, trembling with ecstasy, knelt on the 
 ground in the gateway and buried her face in her hands. 
 When she raised her eyes again to the sky the heavenly 
 visitors had vanished. 
 
 "3 
 
XVIII 
 
 THE CASTLE OF ST. PAUL 
 
 ST. PAUL stands on the hillside over Evian, on a 
 ridge which is 1,500 feet above the level of the 
 Lake. From the shore it appears to be on the 
 sky line, for the higher ground beyond is cut off from 
 view. It is a place of great age and of still greater 
 dignity, since it was for centuries a stronghold of the 
 de Blonay family. Much of the history of this part of 
 Savoy centres around St. Paul and its ancient castle. 
 
 The place is now little more than a hamlet, happy in 
 the superb view it commands of the mountains on the 
 one side and of the Lake on the other. It is a scattered 
 settlement, very vague in its arrangement, since it has 
 no definite street nor the formal attributes of a con- 
 scientious village. It consists merely of houses dotted 
 about at wide intervals among hayfields and cherry 
 orchards. In the place of any plan there is only a 
 pleasant sense of irresponsibility and of doing as you 
 please, for the houses seem to be wandering about like 
 self-absorbed sheep in a pasture. 
 
 On an isolated green mound stands the church almost 
 hidden by trees. I was told that it was at the end of 
 the village, but the village has neither beginning nor 
 end, nor would one venture to say whether the church 
 
 was in the village or without it. It is not a beautiful 
 
 114 
 
The Castle of St. Paul 
 
 church, for, although quite venerable, it has been restored 
 and rebuilt at unlovely periods. It boasts an immense 
 square tower which can be seen for miles, or even from 
 the other side of the Lake. The building has been 
 plastered within and without, and has the plain square 
 windows of a goods shed. 
 
 On the outer wall of the church, on its north side 
 and close to the tower, is a wide pointed archway sealed 
 with masonry. Along the edge of the arch a pretty 
 pattern has been painted, while the wall on either side 
 of the blocked entry shows traces of ancient fresco. 
 This is the entrance to the de Blonay vault, where 
 members of the family have been buried for many 
 centuries. Here lie the early counts and barons of 
 Blonay. Here rests that Marie Aimee de Blonay who 
 met seven angels in the garb of mendicants, and from 
 this vault escaped that lady of St; Paul who was buried 
 alive, as is recounted presently. Near to the church is 
 a convent and a fine old greyheaded preshytere. 
 
 The castle stood below^ the church and to the north 
 of it. It occupied a commanding position, being built 
 on the brink of the almost precipitous slope which drops, 
 like a curtain, from St. Paul to the w^ater's edge. It 
 was constructed by Aymon de Blonay in 1233, or 
 possibly earlier, was restored in 1665, and was allowed, 
 soon after that date, to fall into decay. ^ It consisted, as 
 the old drawings ^ show, of a great square building with 
 a round tower in the centre. This structure stood upon 
 a platform surrounded by a low battlemented wall, and 
 at each of its four corners was a little square towxr with 
 
 1 " Haute Savoie," par A. Raverat. Lyons, 1872. 
 
 * " Groot Stedeboek van Piemont en van Savoye." The Hague, 1725. 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 a conical roof. The entrance to the castle looked towards 
 the church. It can still be defined. From the eminence 
 on which the chateau stands it is said that no fewer than 
 seven of the dc Blonay castles could be seen, including 
 the famous chateau above Vevey. 
 
 Of the actual stronghold but little remains, for a 
 company of cherry trees have taken possession of the 
 place and grass has covered it as with a carpet. There 
 are still in view the great fosse or ditch, the base of a 
 central round tower, masses of half-buried masonry and, 
 on the east, a part of the enceinte wall with deep-cut 
 battlements. At the edge of the plateau is a little square 
 tow^er, ^\dth a round-arched window, very pitiable to see ; 
 for it is the last upstanding fragment of the proud old 
 house and the last of the four small towers already 
 named. 
 
 One day, towards the end of the 17th century, 
 Claudine, the young wife of the then Baron de Blonay, 
 had been buried in the family vault under the church of 
 St. Paul. On the night of her burial the half-demented 
 husband was sitting alone in the hall of the castle, 
 crushed with despair and in utter misery. His supper 
 stood on the table untouched, his face was hidden in 
 his hands, his whole frame shook with his sobbing. 
 There came a faint knock at the door. He jumped up 
 whispering to himself, "My God! It was just in that 
 w^ay she alwaj'^s tapped." As he turned the door opened, 
 and his wife, clad in a shroud, staggered into the room 
 and fell into his arms. 
 
 She had been in a trance that mimicked death and, 
 seemingly lifeless, had been carried to the church and 
 laid in the vault. The bricking-up of the vault was not 
 
 ii6 
 
The Castle of St. Paul 
 
 complete or possibly not commenced. When night fell 
 a servant had crept into the entry for the purpose of 
 stealing a certain ring from the lady's finger. He found 
 her cold hand folded over a crucifix, seized it, and 
 attempted to remove the ring. But the ring would not 
 yield, so he drew out his knife and cut the finger off. 
 
 The pain of this savage woimd woke the sleeper from 
 her trance. With a gasp of horror she realized where 
 she was, felt her way out of the awful place, and with 
 unsteady steps stumbled down the path to the castle. 
 It would have been a fearsome sight — if any chanced to 
 see — the Lady of Blonay, in a shroud dabbled with blood, 
 walking with bare feet to the very castle she had that 
 morning left as a corpse. 
 
 The lady recovered and lived to have several children. 
 One of her sons was that Baron Louis de Blonay who 
 was equerry to Victor Amadeus II and who was present 
 with that prince when Madame de Warens made so 
 dramatic a scene in the church at Evian, as is detailed 
 in Chapter xxxii. Both he and his mother are interred 
 in the vault at St. Paul. 
 
 117 
 
XIX 
 
 THE GREAT STONE AND THE HAUNTED LAKE 
 
 CLOSE to St. Paul are two objects which, in the 
 estimation of the people of the country, are of 
 more than local interest. They are the Great 
 Stone and the Haunted Lake. The Great Stone stands 
 by the side of the mule-path which mounts up from 
 Evian to St. Paul. It takes the form of an enormous 
 and very forbidding block of stone, smooth and almost 
 black, which stands by itself in a field. It is surrounded 
 by cherry trees and has implanted on its summit a lofty 
 wooden cross. Geologically it is what is known as an 
 "erratic." 
 
 The cross has been placed on the stone to avert 
 further trouble, for the story of the Pierregrosse is as 
 follows.^ In the spring of 1273 there were great festivi- 
 ties in progress at the Castle of Larringes to celebrate 
 the marriage of Jordane de Lucinges, the daughter of 
 the house. After the bride and bridegroom had 
 departed certain of the guests sat down to play at 
 cards. They were — to be exact — the host, the Lord of 
 Lucinges, the Marquis of AUinges-Coudree, the Baron 
 Amed de Blonay and M. de Billens, chatelain at Evian 
 for the Count of Savoy. They played for three days and 
 three nights without stopping. Candles were lit when 
 
 1 " Au Pays Eviannais," par Alexis Bachellerie, Evian, 1909, 
 
 ii8 
 
The Great Stone and the Haunted Lake 
 
 the sun set and shutters were thrown open when the 
 dawn broke. Food and drink were kept on the table, 
 and these noble persons, blinking through alternating 
 phases of drunkenness and sobriety, continued to play 
 for the immoderate period above stated. 
 
 Amed de Blonay lost and lost. He lost until his 
 pockets were empty and until he had played away the 
 beautiful chestnut grove of Allaman, the Forest of 
 Lajoux, 10,000 cherry trees at Lugrin, the vines above 
 Maraiche and a hunting-box outside Vevey. Several 
 times during this protracted game his equerry had ridden 
 over from St. Paul to beg his master to return, as 
 the Lady de Blonay was immediately expecting her 
 confinement and very anxious for her husband to 
 come back. 
 
 On the evening of the third day Amed de Blonay, 
 having had enough of card-playing, started to ride home. 
 The night was dark ; an appropriate thunderstorm was 
 raging and he rode at a gallop. When near to St. Paul 
 his horse stumbled and nearly threw him. "May the 
 Devil come and take you! " hissed the count, who, at 
 that moment, was aware of a black-clad figure by his 
 side. " Yes," said the stranger to the astonished Amed, 
 *' I have come. I am Satan and no other. I can give 
 you back all you have lost and more and make you 
 besides the richest lord in the land if . . ." "If what? " 
 asked the count eagerly. " If you will bring me at 
 dawn, at this spot, the first creature born in your 
 chateau after your return." "Agreed!" said the 
 gambler. 
 
 When he reached the castle the child had not yet 
 
 seen the light. Amed, sunk deep in his chair, sat in the 
 
 119 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 great hall waiting with an air of the deepest gloom. The 
 bailiff entered to report to his lord such domestic events 
 as had happened in his absence. The count paid little 
 heed to this chatter, remaining sullen and silent ; but 
 on the mention of one occurrence he suddenly brightened, 
 slapped his thigh and broke out into a roar of derisive 
 laughter. The bailiff, having finished his report, with- 
 drew in amazement, and scarcely had he left when the 
 birth of the j^oung de Blonay was announced. 
 
 Just before sunrise the count left the castle carrying 
 under his cloak a bundle containing something soft. He 
 reached the appointed place and saw, silhouetted against 
 the faint light of the dawn, the black figure of the Devil, 
 and by his side an enormous block of gold so bright as 
 to be almost luminous. " Have you carried out our 
 compact. Sir Count? " asked the Devil. " I have. Sir 
 Satan," replied de Blonay, " and I hope you will like 
 it." At the same moment he let loose from his cloak 
 a newly-born pig. The Devil stamped and raged with 
 fury. The little pig slunk back to the castle. The 
 count smiled and placed his hand on the boulder of gold 
 with an air of ownership. Whereupon the Devil, aiming 
 a kick at the passing pig, struck the mass with his fist, 
 with the result that the yellow glow faded from it and 
 the great block changed into mere dull stone. 
 
 Here the story ends. The conclusion was not satis- 
 factory to either party. The Devil vanished ; the count, 
 in reflective mood, followed the pig to the castle, and 
 the rock remains as it appears to-day. To prevent a 
 repetition of such unholy bargaining the pious folk of 
 St. Paul erected a cross on the summit of the stone. 
 It is a childish narrative, but the people who evolved it 
 
 120 
 
THE GREAT STONE 
 
 DENT D'OCHE 
 
•I > • V ar » 
 
The Great Stone and the Haunted Lake 
 
 are child-like and are apt to express their imagination 
 in terms of the farmyard. 
 
 About 1^ miles beyond St. Paul, in the direction of 
 Bernex, is a place called La Gotetta, where is a calvaire 
 with a modern chapel and the Stations of the Cross. 
 The place is favoured by tourists on account of the 
 imposing view it affords of the Dent d'Oche and of the 
 valley w^hich lies at its feet. Within sight of the chapel 
 are two little lakes in a wood which are famous for their 
 water lilies, their crayfish and their ablettes. The larger 
 of these ponds, called La Beunaz, was at one time 
 haunted by a dwarf of very high principles. He is said 
 to have been just two feet in height, but in erudition 
 he was a giant. 
 
 A farmer living near the lake had had great mis- 
 fortunes and had, indeed, fallen upon such evil days 
 that he had resolved to drown himself. He approached 
 the lake for this purpose, deposited his hat and coat on 
 the bank, together with the few sous in his pocket, and 
 placed on the heap the customary letter to his wife. As 
 he stepped back a pace or two to take the final leap, a 
 voice from the pool called out "Don't do it ! " The 
 farmer recognized the voice as that of the dwarf. The 
 dwarf then proceeded to give the farmer advice as to the 
 care of his land and furnished him with what would be 
 called " tips " in farm management. The farmer resolved 
 to postpone his suicide and to try the reforms suggested ; 
 so he picked up his coat and hat, threw the letter into 
 the lake and walked home. 
 
 So successful were the dwarf's proposals that the 
 farm flourished and there followed very promptly a period 
 of great good fortune. As Christmas drew near, the 
 
 121 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 farmer's wife — a kiudly soul — felt that some recognition 
 of the dwarf's good services should be attempted. So 
 she made him a little suit of clothes, a jacket, a pair of 
 very small breeches, some doll-like stockings and two tiny 
 morocco shoes. The present was even more incongruous 
 than Christmas presents usually are, since it was designed 
 for a being who lived at the bottom of a lake. 
 
 Still, at Christmas Eve these pathetically ridiculous 
 garments were spread, with fond care, by the water's 
 edge, and the farmer, not to be behind his wife in 
 generosity, stuffed some gold coins into the pocket of 
 the absurd breeches. Next morning husband and wife 
 went dow^n smiling to the lake to see what had become 
 of their egregious present. They were horrified to find 
 the clothes torn into rags and the coins scattered along 
 the bank ; while a reproving voice rose from the deep, 
 uttering these words: "Do good for good's sake and 
 not for recompense." With this cutting rebuff ringing 
 in their ears the two sorry imitators of Santa Claus crept 
 home, with downcast heads and a few ridiculous rags in 
 their hands. 
 
 122 
 
XX 
 
 THE HOLLY OF THE TALKING CATS 
 
 BELOW St. Paul and towards the foot of the slope 
 are three other castles (viz. those of Blonay, 
 Allaman and Maxilly) which belong, or have 
 belonged, to the famous family of de Blonay. The most 
 important of these historically is the Chateau de Blonay, 
 which stands near to the water's edge and is a conspicuous 
 object to all who pass by on the Lake. This castle is 
 believed to be the oldest of the de Blonay possessions and 
 to be, indeed, the cradle of the race. It carries the mind 
 back far, since Meredith Read states that ' ' the house of 
 de Blonay has maintained an uninterrupted male descent 
 to the present day for nearly a thousand years." ^ 
 
 The chateau is at Tour Ronde, between Evian and 
 Meillerie. It dates from the 11th century when it formed 
 a primitive lake-side fortress. Later it is depicted in old 
 prints as a mediaeval stronghold within high walls, with 
 a central keep supported by lofty towers and surrounded 
 by a moat. The chateau has been rebuilt in recent years 
 in a style without either character or charm. It is now 
 merely a large ambitious house \\dth a faint pretence to 
 be feudal. Two old towers remain, but with facings so 
 modern that they could be compared to a couple of 
 harquebusiers in frock coats. There are still a moat with 
 
 ^ " Historic Studies in Vaud," etc., vol. i., page 469. London, 1897. 
 
 123 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 a bridge over it and some curious windows fashioned like 
 keyholes. 
 
 By the roadside is a little chapel to St. Andrew. It 
 marks the spot \vhere Antoine de Beaufort, governor of 
 the Castle of Chillon, landed in 1536 when he fled to 
 avoid capture by the Bernese who had attacked his castle 
 and had wrested it from the hands of Savoy. It marks 
 also another landing which took place on the same day 
 under conditions suspicious of exaggeration. One of the 
 de Blonays was at Chillon when the castle fell. Being 
 loj^al to Savoy and determined to escape the hated Swiss, 
 he mounted his horse and in full armour swam across the 
 Lake to Tour Ronde, a distance of over eleven miles. 
 To dispel any doubt as to this performance the natives 
 point to an iron spring by the chapel as a proof that de 
 Blonay did swim the Lake as affirmed, for in struggling 
 ashore the horse, it appears, lost a shoe against a rock 
 and from the rock gushed forth a spring of iron water 
 which is running to this day. The chapel — the walls of 
 which are very old — is, in fact, built on a mass of 
 rock by the water's edge, and it is curious that the iron 
 spring issues through an aperture from the solid, un- 
 fissured stone. 
 
 The Chateau d'Allaman lies behind Blonay, higher 
 up the hill among the orchards. It is a large, rambling 
 building which has suffered much from restorations and 
 additions of various dates. It still presents, however, in 
 the patchwork mass the old stolid " strong house," square 
 and plain, with a round, ivy-covered tower by its side. 
 A lithograph of about the year 1845 shows the castle as 
 it w'as before the wings were added. It was then dilapi- 
 dated, it is true, and although surrounded by all the 
 
 124 
 

 
 MAXILLY CASTLE 
 

The Holly of the Talking Gats 
 
 squalor of a farmyard had yet a dignity which is now a 
 little lacking.^ 
 
 The Castle of Maxilly stands in ruins near by the 
 village of Maxilly. On the fringe of the domain is the 
 bois de Bedford, a fine wood of chestnut trees, named 
 after the Duke of Bedford as a souvenir of the fetes 
 champetres given by him when he occupied the Chateau 
 de Fonbonne at Evian while taking the Amphion waters. 
 The position of the castle is romantic in the extreme, for 
 its gaunt, grey walls rise from the brink of a deep ravine 
 whose sides are dark with trees and in whose depths winds 
 a stream that ever mutters mysteriously. This ravine is 
 full of suspicious shadows, even at high noon ; while at 
 night, when an owl sails hooting down the cleft, it must 
 be a place of dread. 
 
 The ruins are encompassed about by brushwood and 
 almost hidden by trees. Such walls as remain are very 
 high, are pierced by windows which, before the wood 
 grew up, looked out upon the Lake and by doors which 
 once opened into rooms but now into nothingness. In 
 the best preserved part of the castle is the hall, in which 
 is the great fireplace. The hearth is no less than 15 feet 
 in width and is spanned by an arch, on the central stone 
 of which is carved the de Blonay arms. Many a jovial 
 company must have gathered round this fireplace with 
 the glow of the burning logs on their faces ; and sad 
 must have been the day when the fire died out among 
 the ashes for the last time. From the hall a stone stair 
 leads up to a fragment of a room in which is a handsome 
 cheminee decorated with plaster work, as well as with 
 
 1 " Chateaux, Manoirs et Monast^res des Environs de Geneve," par J. Lanz. 
 Geneva. 
 
 125 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 paintings of birds and of a figure claimed to be that of 
 Bacchus.^ 
 
 The main gate of the castle still stands in the form 
 of a fine rounded arch, which opens into the courtyard 
 by the great hall. Just outside the gate is the Holly 
 of the Talking Cats. It is an immense tree, the trunk 
 of .which is said to be 6 feet in girth and the height 
 attained to be 40 feet. Whatever may be its exact 
 dimensions, it is the largest holly tree I have chanced 
 to meet with. 
 
 The legend of The Talking Cats is a little elusive. 
 Francis Wey in his great work ^ says that he found the 
 legend so complicated and tangled that he failed to make 
 anything out of it after reading it no fewer than four 
 times. I have gone a step further and have perused 
 some four or five separate versions of the legend. They 
 all vary ; but out of the melange it is possible to extract 
 a composite narrative with the following features. 
 
 Maxilly came into the possession of the de Blonay 
 family by marriage in the 13th century. The Lady 
 Alix of Maxilly, who is concerned in the story, had two 
 lovers, Raoul de Blonay and Robert d'Arbigny. One 
 was virtuous, the other was not. It became evident, in 
 course of time, that the lady's heart inclined towards 
 de Blonay and that it was at his voice her face ever 
 brightened. Robert d'Arbigny, on observing this 
 preference, became filled with rage and foamed at the 
 mouth. Maddened by jealousy, he resolved to rid the 
 earth of his rival. He w^as disincUned to attempt this 
 
 1 A sketch of the old chateau is given in " Groot Stedeboek van Piemont en 
 van Savoye." Tome ii. The Hague, 1725. 
 
 * " La Haute Savoie," par Francis Wey. Paris, 1866. 
 
 126 
 
The Holly of the Talking Cats 
 
 himself because, in the first place, he was afraid of 
 Raoul and, secondly, he doubted if he would commend 
 himself to the lady when he appeared in the guise of a 
 murderer. 
 
 Now, some miles west of Maxilly is a place called 
 Feternes, where was a grotto occupied by three fairies. 
 They were not good fairies, but were, on the contrary, 
 conspicuously offensive both in their persons and in their 
 habits. In the grotto they kept treasure. They also 
 kept cats. These were not ordinary cats that sleep curled 
 up on hearthrugs ; but were animals terrible of aspect, 
 being very large, with claws as big as scythes and with 
 eyes that almost blinded those who gazed upon them. 
 These lavishly endowed creatures were charged with 
 guarding the treasure, and it was these very super-cats 
 that Robert engaged to compass the death of Raoul. 
 
 The animals were apparently ordered to attack de 
 Blonay as he was about to enter the Castle of Maxilly. 
 They, indeed, flew upon him just outside the gate, at 
 the very spot where the holly tree now grows. The 
 fight w^as terrific and the noise made by the beasts ear- 
 piercing, since cats are very shrill when fighting. Raoul's 
 doublet was torn by the fearful claws ; but he not only 
 kept the cats at bay, but finally drove them before him 
 with his flashing sword. As the cats retreated they 
 called out " Robert is dead." 
 
 After the hideous combat was over de Blonay entered 
 
 the castle. There, sitting in the great hall, was the lady 
 
 shrivelled with terror and with her two hands clutching 
 
 her hair. On her lap was a white cat. When the cat 
 
 saw de Blonay it cried out " Robert is dead," and, 
 
 having delivered itself of this information, jumped 
 
 127 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 through the window, as cats will. Later on the dead 
 body of Robert was found by the postern. 
 
 Here the narrative comes to a sudden end. In order 
 to complete the story and to pro\'ide an appropriate 
 moral, I would venture to suggest that the cats mis- 
 took Robert for Raoul, and so unwittingly brought 
 retribution upon the wicked and upon the virtuous 
 peace. 
 
 Now, since this knowledge came to me, whenever I 
 meet a white cat in a lonely place and when the cat 
 stops and begins to open its mouth, I am always afraid 
 that it will squeal out, " Robert is dead." 
 
 128 
 
XXI 
 
 THE ABBEY OF ABONDANCE 
 
 HIGH up among the hills over Evian, at an 
 altitude of 3,050 feet, is a valley called the 
 Valley of Abondance. The valley is deep and 
 very green and so rich in pasture that its name befits 
 it well. A stream of water, clear as crystal, runs through 
 the valley, while by its side is a long white road which 
 leads from this solitude to the outer world. The sides 
 of the valley are steep and are made almost black by 
 a crowd of pine trees which stand erect on the slopes, 
 like a dark, impassive company of monks with pointed 
 cowls looking down upon their old abbey by the stream. 
 The village of Abondance is small, comfortable and 
 very ancient. Its houses, with their brown overhanging 
 roofs and long balconies, are most picturesque, while 
 across the river is thrown a fascinating wooden bridge 
 roofed over with mouse-grey shingles and covered in on 
 both sides to protect it from the snow. Its timbers are 
 ashen with age ; it is dark as a cavern ; while the echoes 
 that issue from it when an ox-wagon lumbers through, 
 or when a troop of boys clatters down from the school, 
 almost drown the ceaseless clamour of the brook. 
 
 The church and the monastery are a little way up 
 the hill-side, and command both the village and its 
 bridge. The origin of the monastery is obscure. The 
 
 legend that it was founded by St. Colomban in the 
 J 129 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 6th century appears to be unsupported by evidence.^ 
 What is undoubted is that in the 10th century the 
 monks of the monastery of St. Maurice-en-Valais were so 
 harassed by the Saracens that they sought refuge in the 
 far away Valley of Abondance. Here, on land granted 
 by Guy of Feternes, they founded in 1043 a priory and, 
 later, an abbey. The first abbot was one Rodolphe, who 
 was supreme between the years 1144-1153.^ 
 
 The village itself was already long established, having 
 had its origin as a small colony planted by the Bur- 
 gundians in the 5th or 6th century. As the valley was 
 difficult of access and far removed from any masterful 
 highway, it remained isolated and undisturbed — so 
 isolated, indeed, as to justify the claim that the natives 
 of Abondance are Burgundians still ; for those who are 
 learned in these things affirm that the villagers even now 
 present the features and characteristics of that ancient 
 people. Their exceptional stature, their blue eyes, fine 
 complexion and fair hair are the points insisted on. It 
 is claimed, moreover, that the cattle of the valley are 
 peculiar and have traits which are especially their own. 
 
 As time went on this remote offshoot from Burgundy 
 became a sturdy place, very independent and sure of 
 itself ; for, while principalities and powers were hectoring 
 in the world around, Abondance constituted itself a kind 
 of republic and remained aloof as probably the tiniest 
 independent state of its time. The abbey became a great 
 ecclesiastical power. It extended its confines, acquired 
 wealth and lands, so that at one time it held jurisdiction 
 
 1 " L'Abbaye et la Valine d' Abondance," par J. Mercier. Annecy, 1885. 
 
 2 " Abondance," par L. E. Picard. " M^moires et Documents de TAcaddmie 
 
 Chablaisienne." Tome xviii. Thonon, 1904. 
 
 130 
 
ABONDANCE: THE CLOISTERS 
 
 ABONDANCE: THE DOOR OF THE VIRGIN 
 
The Abbey of Abondance 
 
 over no fewer than 18 parishes and 22 priories. The 
 abbey and the repubUc were not always at peace with 
 one another. There were troubles, but possibly not a 
 few of them were settled between the abbot and the 
 Burgundian president over a mug of mulled claret in the 
 abbot's very comfortable parlour. After a period of 
 great glory the abbey fell into decay, became involved 
 at the end in the Revolution of 1792, and was sold as 
 national property a few years later. 
 
 The church, which is one of the most beautiful in 
 Savoy, dates from at least the 13th century. It has been 
 damaged more than once by fire and has suffered hardly 
 less from neglect. Its quaint, effeminate steeple is but 
 200 years old, while its entry is still more recent, for the 
 building was finally restored in 1894. As an example of 
 its period it is now classed as a national monument. It 
 consists of a nave and two transepts, and is very lofty 
 throughout. Its simplicity, its elegance and its fine 
 proportions are the chief attributes of the building. The 
 vault of the choir is ogival. The columns are round and 
 have primitive and curious capitals. As a whole it well 
 illustrates the transition from the rounded to the pointed 
 arch. In the arcades of the choir are certain painted 
 statues on wood, which form the only jarring feature in 
 this otherwise exquisite chapel. 
 
 The abbot's chair, accredited to the 14th and 15th 
 centuries, is a beautiful specimen of wood-carving. It 
 is surmounted by a Gothic canopy on which are little 
 figures of the Apostles. These are claimed to be the 
 work of the 15th century. A more archaic carving 
 (ascribed to a century earlier) is on the right side of the 
 chair. It represents three angels singing and holding a 
 
 131 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 book between them. They are evidently earnest and 
 full of song and are yet unreasonably ugly. They have 
 the mouths of negroes, or, as a French writer prefers, 
 the mouths of frogs. The carving on the left side of the 
 chair depicts a scene in hell. The 15th century stalls 
 display much interesting detail, notably in the heads of 
 men and women showing the garb of the time. 
 
 The monastery is represented by a vast expressionless 
 building close to the church. It is the survivor of various 
 fires, that of 1728 having been the most disastrous. It 
 is now put to many purposes, is a w^andering, miscel- 
 laneous structure, une sorte de phalanstere as one .writer 
 expresses it. It is, in the first place, the mairie of 
 Abondance. It contains both the boys' and the girls' 
 schools, provides, along its echoing corridors, a residence 
 for the clergy and for other less definite people, while 
 its fine refectory has been converted into a justice room. 
 The entrance opens upon a vaulted hall with, in the 
 centre, a single column. On one side of the hall is a 
 large stone trough or lavaho, while on the other side 
 are the outlines of an ample fireplace. This was the 
 chauffoir, where the monks warmed themselves after the 
 offices of the night or early morning. 
 
 A gorgeous valley full of flowers, an ancient church, 
 a rambling monastery, Burgundian villagers and peculiar 
 cows do not, howTver, exhaust the attractions of Abon- 
 dance. 
 
 The great glory of the valley is the abbey cloister. It 
 adjoins the church, w^as almost ruined in the fire of 1728, 
 but has now^ been sympathetically restored. It forms a 
 square and had originally four galleries or corridors, but 
 that on the north side is now wanting. The cloister, 
 
 132 
 
The Abbey of Abondance 
 
 maimed as it is, still remains a structure of supreme 
 beauty. It seems to be shut off from the world, for 
 above its walls there is only the blue of heaven. In the 
 centre, as a patch of green, is a square lawn. It is 
 enclosed by a grey colonnade of Gothic arches, delicate 
 and dainty as lace-work and as fragile looking. Within 
 the screen of pillars and stone tracery there runs on each 
 side a vaulted passage, the walls of which glow with the 
 colours of old frescoes. 
 
 The place is silent and deserted, save that on the 
 cloister roof some pigeons are preening their wings in 
 the sun. Never could the magic effect of light and shade 
 be more beautiful to see. Here the shadow of a column 
 and its arch falls across the paved footway, and here a 
 gleam of light illumines a patch of red and blue among 
 the paintings on the walls. The cloister is, indeed, a 
 place of serene delight, solemn as a strain of old church 
 music, beautiful as an illuminated missal, pathetic as a 
 memory of the dead. 
 
 The cloister was built by the Abbot Jean between 
 the years 1331 and 1354, and the frescoes are believed 
 to date from about the same period. They illustrate 
 scenes in the life of Christ and the Virgin Mary. Among 
 them are the Annunciation, the Nativity, the Flight into 
 Egypt, Christ disputing with the Doctors, and the 
 Marriage Feast at Cana. Deonna and Renard^ give 
 drawings of the frescoes before they were restored, and 
 it will be seen that they are in no way spoiled. 
 
 The interest of these remarkable wall-paintings is 
 largely due to the fact that they represent the people and 
 the country of the period in which they were designed. 
 
 * " L'Abbaye d' Abondance." Geneva, 1912. 
 
 133 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 There are, for example, the curious houses, a street, 
 glimpses of landscape and the dress of men and women 
 of various stations in life. In the fresco of the Feast at 
 Cana we see the table laid, the dishes (mostly of fowls), 
 the knives (but not the forks), the ewers and cups, the 
 salt-cellars and, generally, the table manners of the time. 
 It may be noticed, by the way, that the men dined in 
 their hats and that all, apparently, ate with their fingers. 
 On one side is the kitchen, with a pot hanging before 
 the fire and a lavish supply of hams and sausages in the 
 background. On the other side is a servant bringing in 
 the water that is to be turned into wine. In the Nativity 
 fresco are the stable and manger of the 14th century, a 
 scene which differs strangely from the gaudily decorated 
 cavern shown in Bethlehem at the present day. There 
 is also a mill which is difficult to associate with Palestine. 
 The key-stones of the cloister vault are decorated by 
 ingenious medallions showing the signs of the Zodiac 
 and the months of the year. At the church end of the 
 cloister is the famous Door of the Virgin. It presents 
 a shouldered arch with above it a tympanum in which 
 is carved the Virgin seated with the Child in her lap. 
 Two angels kneel before her, while two others place a 
 crown upon her head. On either side of the entry is 
 a large female statue. The one on the left represents 
 the Synagogue or Old Testament, the one on the right 
 the Church or New Law. Both are crowned, but the 
 figure of the Synagogue is blindfolded. Deonna and 
 Renard give, in the work previously mentioned, a 
 drawing of a more recent statue of the Synagogue at 
 Strasbourg in which the eyes also are blindfolded but 
 the head uncrowned. 
 
 134 
 
XXII 
 
 FROM EVIAN TO BOUVERET 
 
 THE general aspect of the Lake shore between 
 Evian and the Rhone valley has been already 
 alluded to (page 83). A high road follows the 
 water's edge all the way. The first three villages met 
 with — Grande Rive, Petite Rive and Tour Ronde — are 
 of no particular concern, although Petite Rive may serve 
 as a typical example of a lake-side village, where every 
 man is half fisherman and half tiller of the soil. Tour 
 Ronde derives any importance it may possess from its 
 association with the Chateau de Blonay (page 123) and 
 its title from a round tower built here by the Counts 
 of Savoy for the defence of the coast. Of the tower 
 only the name survives, for it was destroyed in the 
 Revolution of 1789. In an old print by C. Hackert, 
 dated 1783, it appears as a low, round blockhouse with 
 loopholes, and is neither formidable nor picturesque. 
 Within a few kilometres of Tour Ronde is Meillerie, 
 which is dealt with in the chapter which follows, while 
 some two miles beyond Meillerie is Bret. 
 
 Bret is a little, cringing, begrimed hamlet placed at 
 the very foot of gorgeous and majestic hills, like a door- 
 mat at the threshold of a palace. It stands some way 
 above the shore, shivering in the shade, for it is only 
 during the rare days of summer that a ray of sun falls 
 upon it. How it came to pass that human beings ever 
 
 135 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 settled in this spot must remain one of the mysteries 
 of the Lake. The inhabitants have shown persistence in 
 cHnging to their homes, for in 1584 the village was swept 
 away by a landslip, on which occasion 122 people lost 
 their Hves. It is picturesque because it is so old, so dis- 
 ordered, so careless. It is just an untidy heap of odd 
 dwellings, disposed with no more method than would 
 ensue if the whole place — houses, lanes and courtyards — 
 had been tumbled out of a cart at the bottom of the 
 hill. 
 
 In olden days the w^ay by the Lake jvas so narrow 
 that it was known as the Pass of Bret. According to 
 Bouchet the most ancient of the archives of Evian is 
 concerned with the w^oods of Bret. That document, 
 bearing the date 1296, contains an order from Count 
 Amadeus forbidding the pasturage of goats in these 
 woods. It further appears that Count Pierre, who 
 preceded this Amadeus, had granted the woods of Bret 
 to the town of Evian as a reward for services its men 
 had rendered in the w^ars with the Valaisians in 1235. 
 
 St. Gingolph, viewed from a passing steamer, is, 
 without doubt, the most beautifully placed town on the 
 Lake, since it has for its background the grandest tract 
 of scenery that the shore provides. It is around St. 
 Gingolph that the mountains come nearest to the water's 
 edge and reach to their greatest height. At their base 
 lies the town, like some ornament in pearl and grey on 
 the hem of a drooping curtain of green. 
 
 Behind the tow-n a gorge, shrouded with trees, 
 descends with many mysterious windings. This is the 
 Vallon de Novel. The mountain to the east of it (the 
 Grammont) rises to a point 5,900 feet above the surface 
 
 136 
 
From Evian to Bouveret 
 
 of the Lake, while that to the west (the Blanchard) 
 cUmbs to 3,400 feet. About the lower ranges of these 
 hills are homely trees, while above them rise, in ever- 
 mounting tiers, the sombre pines — until they reach a 
 wall of precipices slashed with snow and rounded by the 
 blue of heaven. The ravine is ominous, for as it turns 
 out of sight, far up the steep, there is a sense that it 
 must open into some dreadful place among the hills. 
 
 Down this gorge tumbles the torrent of the 
 Morge, which, hurrying headlong through the town, 
 falls boisterously into the Lake. The torrent and the 
 Vallon de Novel mark the frontier between Switzerland 
 and France. They divide St. Gingolph into two parts 
 — one Swiss, one French — with between them only the 
 bond of a small stone bridge. No frontier could be less 
 formidable nor less appropriate to the grave business of 
 the scrutiny of passports and the rummaging of bags. 
 One would expect to come upon a tower or a spiked 
 gate ; but in their place are only two deferential cafes. 
 
 Those who w^ould retain an impression of the beauty 
 of St. Gingolph should view it only from the Lake or 
 from Vevey across the w^ater. The nearer the town is 
 approached the less attractive does it become, so that by 
 the time its streets are entered it has dwindled to a quite 
 plain and ordinary place. According to the guide books 
 the two parts of St. Gingolph display, in strong con- 
 trast, the characteristics of the French on the one side 
 and of the Swiss on the other. This is not, however, 
 apparent ; for the two nations would appear, at this point, 
 to have "pooled" both their virtues and their failings 
 and to have produced thereby a town which in social tint 
 is merely nondescript and drab. 
 
 137 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 St. Gingolph, in the Middle Ages, is said to have 
 been a sober town without ambition or pretence and to 
 have been for long under the fatherly control of the 
 Abbey of Abondance. In the Swiss quarter is a little 
 chapel of much charm which dates from the year 1537. 
 In front of it is an arcade of rounded arches, supported 
 by pillars with capitals of a mildly classic type. Near by 
 are an old archway and an entry which was once the 
 portal of a convent. In the hall of the gendarmerie is 
 a door with an ogival arch bearing the date 1588. Beyond 
 these relics there is little of interest in either section of 
 the double town. 
 
 About a couple of miles from St. Gingolph is 
 Bouveret, The situation of Bouveret is scarcely less 
 beautiful than that of St. Gingolph. The town stands 
 on a densely wooded cape at the very opening of the 
 Rhone valley, and has for a background those imperious 
 mountains which give such grandeur to the scenery of 
 this extremity of the Lake. 
 
 The town itself is of no interest. Almost all traces 
 of the old village have vanished, for Bouveret has become 
 a favourite tourist resort and space has had to be found 
 for the cafes, restaurants, hotels, shops and pensions 
 that represent the price a town has to pay for popularity 
 of this kind. 
 
 The adventure which befell John Evelyn at Bouveret 
 is dealt with in Chapter xxiv. 
 
 138 
 
XXIII 
 
 MEILLERIE AND ITS LOVE STORY 
 
 MEILLERIE is a little fishing village, brown 
 and sunburnt, which squats on a pebbly beach 
 with its feet in the water. It is old ; it is not 
 clean ; it is artistically untidy. Its situation is superb, 
 for it lies at the foot of a steep mountain-slope covered 
 with trees as if with velvet. Between the green of the 
 hill and the blue of the Lake it appears as a brown patch 
 edged with grey — the brown being the housetops, the 
 grey the beach. So narrow is the ledge between the 
 mountain wall and the shore that, in olden days, there 
 was no lake-side road at this point, but only a path for 
 the pack-horse. 
 
 Huge rocks came down to the water's edge in tumbled 
 masses at a promontory just to the east of the village. 
 These were the " rocks of Meillerie " made famous by 
 Rousseau and by the unequal efforts of many draughts- 
 men and painters. The rocks have disappeared. The 
 quarryman, who is no respecter of landscape, has carried 
 them away, while a wide road has taken the place of the 
 ancient mule-path. This road, running from Evian to 
 St. Gingolph, was constructed about the years 1800-6 to 
 supplement the great highway which was then sweeping 
 across the Simplon Pass. 
 
 Meillerie is divided into two parts, the old village and 
 
 139 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 the new. The new dates from the time of the building 
 of the road, and is made up of commonplace houses 
 which are ranged along the route with decorous dullness. 
 The older village lies below, as close to the beach as it 
 can creep, so that the new Meillerie looks down upon 
 its very roofs. It consists of one narrow, unsteady lane, 
 dark and not free from smell, that represents the high 
 street of centuries ago. The houses, with their over- 
 hanging roofs, their wooden balconies, their outside 
 stairs, their dormer windows and incongruous doors, are 
 effective from an artist's point of view, but would be 
 distasteful to a sanitary inspector. They are advanced in 
 years, for the dates over the doors show that they belong, 
 for the most part, to the commencement of the 18th 
 century. The fronts of the houses are in the lane ; the 
 backs are on the Lake, and are hung about with fishing 
 nets, have boats made fast to their door-posts and ropes 
 and fish-traps clinging to their walls or lumbering their 
 galleries. 
 
 Above the door of one house is a stone upon which 
 is carved a crown, together with the words, "A la 
 Couronne. Bon Logis. 1737. P.V." This was, no 
 doubt, the chief inn of Meillerie two centuries ago. The 
 crown is above suspicion, but the " bon logis " may be 
 a matter for divided views. One old house on the beach 
 has inscribed on stone above the entrance, '* I. Sache. 
 Notere. 1762." So it is evident that at least one 
 member of a learned profession lived in this amphibious 
 town in times gone by. 
 
 High above the village is the old church with a fine 
 square tower of the 13th century, in which are two 
 
 quaint little windows of that period. The choir is old 
 
 140 
 
Meillerie and its Love Story 
 
 and belongs to the early days of the pointed arch, while 
 the body of the church is comparatively modern. Hound 
 the church, which was formerly a priory of the Great 
 St. Bernard, is a cluster of semi-ecclesiastical buildings 
 with Gothic entries. 
 
 There is nothing romantic about Meillerie, unless it 
 be its situation and its sweet-sounding name, and yet 
 there has been a time when Meillerie was flooded by the 
 limelight of romance, was a place of rapture to many 
 and a Mecca for the passionate pilgrim. It w^as thus 
 endowed because it came, together wdth Clarens, into 
 the scenery of Rousseau's famous story, " Julie ou la 
 Nouvelle Heloise." This book was published in 1761, 
 had an immense vogue and was read all over Europe. It 
 reflected the sentiment of the day, to w^hich it gave 
 glowing and indeed brilliant expression. 
 
 The ideal attitude affected by the youth of the time 
 was that of sorrow. Melancholia was a cult. It was the 
 doom of the hero of Rousseau's tale to be shut out of 
 Paradise. A hectic passion that could never be gratified 
 and a cloud of oppression were his lot. Between him and 
 the adored one stretched an abyss of despair. Into that 
 abyss they w^ept and across it they exchanged sobs and 
 hysterical moanings. 
 
 The youth and the lady were regarded with acute pity 
 by those who read their story, while the more miserable 
 they w^ere the more they w^re adored. Red-eyed women, 
 throbbing with sympathy, and would-be-unhappy youths 
 came to Meillerie as to a shrine of burning hearts or a 
 morgue of dead aspirations. They picked forget-me-nots 
 from among the rocks of Meillerie and pressed them 
 between the leaves of cherished books. They gathered 
 
 141 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 rose leaves at Clarens and " bathed them with tears," 
 for to bathe things with tears was an emotional habit 
 of the time. 
 
 " Julie " is a notable book, full of fine passages and 
 idyllic pictures. It is a book that embraces a wide 
 range of human emotions ; although it displays a passion 
 that is often a little falsetto in tone and a morality so 
 facile that the book has been denounced as "a real 
 danger to women and young men."^ It is, moreover, 
 marred by its diffuseness, by its quite unendurable length 
 and by the cumbrous form it takes, for the tale is told 
 in a series of letters, one of which may alone cover twenty 
 pages. 
 
 For the sake of those who may have forgotten the 
 story — and for the relief of the many who may lack the 
 patience to read it — I append a brief precis of the doleful 
 tale, since Meillerie is a place of no interest whatever 
 apart from Julie. 
 
 Julie, the heroine, w^as the only daughter of noble 
 parents. The family resided at Clarens. The mother 
 was an ineffectual and negative lady, but the father was 
 proud and violent and typical of that variety of parent 
 known on the stage as the " heavy father." The hero, 
 Saint-Preux, was of humble origin but well educated. 
 When the story opens he was giving lessons to Julie 
 as a casual tutor, with the approval of the tepid mother 
 but without the knowledge of her husband. The teacher 
 and his pupil fell in love with one another. The father, 
 when he found that Saint-Preux was taking no payment 
 for his instruction, forbade his services unless he accepted 
 an appropriate salary. Saint-Preux declined to take 
 
 * " Le L^man," par Bailly de Lalonde. Tome i, page 349. Paris, 1842. 
 
 142 
 
OS 
 
 S 
 
Meillerie and its Love Story 
 
 money for improving his Julie's mind and was, therefore, 
 told somewhat curtly to go. 
 
 The lovers could now only come together in secret, 
 their chief place of meeting being a little shrubbery 
 or thicket which came to be known as the Bosquet de 
 Julie. Vandal builders have passed over this hallowed 
 spot like a swarm of locusts, so that the hosquet has 
 vanished and in its place are shops, garages and gas- 
 works. 
 
 Julie felt the new position difficult, for her conscience 
 was tender. She therefore banished Saint-Preux to 
 Meillerie. Here he raved and w^ept. He longed, he 
 said, to die at her feet, his brain reeled, his heart was 
 torn to pieces, while his agony consumed him like a fire. 
 He threatened to end it all by suicide, for he wrote, 
 " the rock is sheer, the lake is fathomless and I am in 
 despair.'* 
 
 He probably lodged at La Couronne, the inn in the 
 dismal lane. He would sit on the rocks of Meillerie 
 and gaze at Clarens until he ,was nearly demented. 
 With a spy-glass the cure lent him he could make out 
 Julie's house and the garden in which she walked. He 
 frequented a grotto where he could sigh in solitude. 
 The grotto is said to have been swept away by the 
 quarryman, but there is no evidence that it ever existed. 
 
 Julie sank into an appropriate state of nervous 
 prostration and became so ill that Clara, a sympathetic 
 cousin, secretly begged the lover to return. He did. 
 After an explosion of rapture he proposed elopement. 
 Julie declined, pleading her duty to her parents. 
 
 Saint-Preux again went into banishment. About 
 this time an English peer (cautiously called '* Lord 
 
 143 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 B ") entered upon the scene. This nobleman, when 
 intoxicated, made remarks about Julie that Saint-Preux 
 considered insulting. Saint-Preux struck him, and was, 
 in due course, challenged to a duel. Julie intervened 
 in a very charming and diplomatic letter. The peer 
 apologized and became the lovers' dearest friend, prac- 
 tically adopted Saint-Preux and provided him with an 
 income for life. 
 
 Lord B, then, with great daring, interviewed Julie's 
 father and begged that tyrant to allow Saint-Preux to 
 marry his daughter, as the youth was now possessed of 
 suitable means. The father, spluttering with rage, 
 refused to contemplate a proposal so wounding to his 
 pride of race. The English peer then took the lover 
 away so that his mind might be diverted by the 
 vicissitudes of travel. This involved endless letters of 
 description dealing with familiar spots and many weary 
 dissertations upon most things under the sun. 
 
 Now, on a sudden, an event happened in the quiet 
 home at Clarens which had the effect of a thunder-clap. 
 Saint-Preux's letters to Julie were discovered by the 
 easily inflamed father. There followed a cyclone of 
 violent denunciations, of harsh sayings, of weeping and 
 wringing of hands, of sobbing in locked rooms. In the 
 hush after the storm the terrified Julie found herself 
 compelled to many a Mons. Wolmer, who was " nearly 
 fifty" and, at the same time, dull, plain and prosaic. 
 
 Julie had two children and claimed to be, in time, 
 not unhappy. She, however, continued her correspon- 
 dence with Saint-Preux. Mons. Wolmer was a man of 
 eccentric mind and unusual views, for when he learned 
 the story of his wife and her lover he promptly invited 
 
 144 
 
Meillerie and its Love Story 
 
 Saint-Preux to come and stay with them. Saint-Preux, 
 of course, came. The meeting with his JuHe was moving 
 beyond expression, although it must have been tempered 
 somewhat by the ponderous presence of Mons. Wolmer. 
 
 Saint-Preux continued to live with this exceptional 
 couple for an indefinite period. The conduct of the two 
 lovers was beyond reproach, for Julie was immaculate. 
 Saint-Preux became the tutor to the children of his dear, 
 and there fell upon this strange household such peace 
 as may be found among the ashes of a smouldering fire. 
 
 At the end Julie dies. Sad to say, she is long in 
 dying, and her farewell utterances exceed in length any 
 which literature has hitherto given to the world. She 
 leaves behind her a letter for Saint-Preux telling him 
 that her love has never wavered and that to the end she 
 was his and his alone. With this letter — the sweetest 
 and most pathetic of them all — the story closes. 
 
 In the year 1816, in the month of June, Byron 
 and Shelley came to Meillerie, drawn there solely by 
 adoration of Julie. Shelley considered the poor village 
 "enchanted ground," for it had been the place of exile 
 of Saint-Preux.^ They sailed down from Montalegre, 
 which is close to Cologny, a suburb of Geneva. They 
 w^ere both Aery earnest young men, both a little touched 
 by the miasma of melancholy and both spellbound by 
 the story of Saint-Preux and his beloved. They, no 
 doubt, recited passages of the book as they sailed along, 
 for with " the divine beauty of Rousseau's imagination " 
 they were both infatuated. Byron at the time was 
 twenty-eight and Shelley twenty-four. 
 
 Near Meillerie they were overtaken by a sudden squall 
 
 1 " History of a Six Weeks' Tour." London, 1817. 
 K 145 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 which nearly rent the sail from the ship and drove it 
 half under water, so that they were in great danger of 
 being swamped. Byron was a fine swimmer. He threw 
 off his coat and, standing with his legs apart on the 
 rolling deck, was prepared to do heroic deeds. Shelley 
 was not so prepared. He was no swimmer. He felt 
 that death was upon him, but his greater fear was that 
 his friend, in his determination to save him, would lose 
 his own life. He therefore clung to the seat with both 
 hands, determined that he would sink with the vessel. 
 He also had removed his coat, and one may assume that 
 from its pocket protruded the j^ellow cover of the book 
 that had lured them to apparent death. 
 
 Nothing tragical followed, for the vessel was blown 
 into the harbour of St. Gingolph, and the two poets 
 stepped ashore with their dripping coats on their arms. 
 The episode had some fascination for them, since it was 
 at this very spot and in a gale of like temper that Julie 
 and Saint-Preux were nearly wrecked in an excursion 
 they took on just such a summer's day. 
 
 Later the two dreamers sailed to Clarens and walked 
 with bared heads in the sacred bosquet. Here they 
 picked flowers, which they imagined Julie had herself 
 planted, and scattered the petals to the breeze, so that 
 they might be wafted to the adored one, for they felt 
 that her spirit still ho^•ered in the well-remembered 
 grove. 
 
 146 
 
XXIV 
 
 JOHN EVELYN AT BOUVERET 
 
 JOHN EVELYN, aged 26, the squire of Wootton, 
 was in 1646 at Milan, which he considered '' a 
 sweate place." He was proposing to cross the 
 mountains to Geneva. With him were certain friends 
 and, among them, a Captain Wray, who provided what 
 playwrights call " comic relief " in a somewhat dramatic 
 company. Wray is described as "a good drinking 
 gentleman ' ' who had recently bought a pretty nag from 
 an innkeeper for eight pistoles.^ He had the unfortunate 
 habit, both when drunk and sober, of firing off his gun 
 if he was the subject of any exceptional emotion. He 
 also had with him a dog jvhich he had brought from 
 England and which he claimed to be a water spaniel, but 
 which Evelyn affirmed was only " a huge, filthy cur." 
 
 At Milan they were invited to dine at a palace by 
 a total stranger who had picked them up in the street. 
 This incautious man described himself as a " Scots colonel 
 who had an honourable command in the citty." After 
 dinner the colonel was anxious to display his horses, so 
 the party adjourned to the stables. The colonel mounted 
 a horse in order to show off its paces, but unfortunately 
 the gallant officer " was a little spirited with wine," so 
 spirited, indeed, that he was thrown, was badly injured, 
 
 ^ A pistole was worth 16s. 2d. 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and died next day. Evelyn, who had already been chased 
 down the streets as a spy when he was found peeping 
 into a house to see "the tapissries," thought that the 
 sooner they left Milan the better. So they hurried off 
 in the morning. 
 
 Having crossed the Lago Maggiore in a boat, they 
 reached the foot of the Alps and proceeded to climb up 
 to the Simplon Pass. There was, in those days, no 
 road over the pass, but merely a track. The month >vas 
 September and the weather bad. They could only get 
 mules to ride, w^hile Wray's pretty nag carried the 
 luggage. 
 
 The journey was unpleasant in the extreme. Evelyn 
 loathed a mountainous country. He hated " the strange 
 horrid and fearfull craggs and tracts onely inhabited by 
 beares, wolves and wild goates." He hated the terrible 
 roaring of waterfalls and the bridges composed only of 
 a felled tree over " cataracts of stupendious depth." He 
 hated the people for ' ' having monstrous gullets or W' enns 
 of fleshe growing to their throats, some of which were 
 as big as an hundredpound bag of silver." He disliked 
 their " puffing dress, furrs and barbarous language " and 
 was, above all, disgusted with the "very infamous 
 wretched lodging ' ' that they provided, for in one place 
 he lay on a bed stuffed with leaves "that crackled and 
 did so prick his skin thro' the tick that he could not 
 sleepe." 
 
 Near the Simplon Wray's " filthy cur " chased a 
 herd of goats down the rocks into a river. The villagers 
 declared that one was killed in this stampede, and 
 demanded "mony." Wray, under the influence of 
 emotion, fired off his gun ; the party spurred their mules 
 
 148 
 
John Evelyn at Bouveret 
 
 and tried to bolt. They were stopped by the enraged 
 villagers, were dragged off their saddles, deprived of 
 their arms and hustled into the room of an inn, where, 
 in due course, " a score of grim Swisse " (the elders of 
 the place) condemned them to pay a pistole for the goat 
 and ten more for attempting to ride away. 
 
 They came upon much snow; managed to cross the 
 pass and began to descend. Here Wray's horse slipped 
 over a precipice and, rolling down the slope, landed on 
 a bank of loose snow. Wray was so moved by this 
 behaviour of his horse that he was about to fire at it — 
 according to his habit when deeply stirred — but was 
 restrained by his friends. He contented himself with 
 hurling stones at the horse, with the result that the 
 aggrieved animal began to plunge, fell over another 
 precipice and rolled so far down the slope that it took 
 the travellers two miles by the path to reach it. They 
 found "the pretty nag" unnerved and benumbed, but 
 otherwise unhurt. 
 
 Finally, after wading through what Evelyn calls an 
 ocean of snow, they reached Brigue. Here they found 
 that " almost every doore had nail'd on the outside a 
 beare's, wolfe's or foxe's head and divers of them all 
 three : a savage kind of sight." They had now only to 
 follow the Rhone to the Lake of Geneva. They still 
 met with adventures, but of a minor type. Evelyn was 
 rejoiced to be out of a country *' so melancholy and 
 troublesome " ; but he continued to find the mountains 
 " horrid " and hated the people, because he found them 
 " very clownish and rustically clad after a very odd 
 fashion, for y® most part in blew cloth, very whole and 
 warme." 
 
 149 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 In a few days they reached Bouveret, arriving in 
 the evening, travel-stained and worn. Evelyn made for 
 the inn, where he demanded a room, explaining that he 
 was so exhausted he must go to bed immediately. The 
 landlad}'^ regretted that there was not a vacant chamber 
 in the house. This w^ould not do for the masterful squire 
 of Wootton. He would have a room, and that at once. 
 One can imagine him pounding upstairs and stamping 
 along the corridor, smacking his leg with his riding whip 
 and demanding at each door who occupied this room 
 or that. 
 
 One chamber, the landlady said, was occupied by 
 her daughter, who was in bed. This was enough for 
 the squire. The daughter must be turned out and sleep 
 elsewhere, as he was so fatigued that he must lie down 
 at once. The good woman expostulated, became voluble 
 and excited, shrugged her shoulders, waved her head to 
 and fro and stretched her hands out with the palms to 
 heaven. It is probable that Evelyn understood but little 
 of her patois. He seems, however, to have caught some- 
 thing about changing the sheets. Changing the sheets! 
 Bah ! He would have no changing of sheets ! Turn 
 the girl out, and he would jump into bed at once, as 
 he was almost too tired to stand. 
 
 The girl was turned out. Evelyn seized the room 
 and, throwing off his clothes, jumped into bed. He 
 found the bed warm. In fact, he found it very warm, 
 for the girl had smallpox and had been in a high state 
 of fever. 
 
 Next day Evelyn and his friends hired a *' bark " 
 and sailed to Geneva. It will be no matter of surprise 
 that soon after his arrival at that city he was down with 
 
 150 
 
John Evelyn at Bouveret 
 
 the smallpox. He felt so ill that he thought his very 
 eyes would drop out. It was a trying illness, for he 
 was nursed by a Swiss matron whose " monstrous 
 throat" filled him with alarm whenever he awakened 
 from a troubled sleep and saw this dreadful woman with 
 the bulging neck hanging over him. 
 
 He was in bed fifteen days and confined to his room 
 for five weeks. The illness was expensive, for he had to 
 pay 45 gold pistoles to the keeper of the inn and 
 5 pistoles to his doctor. He gives a good description of 
 Geneva as he saw it, and was much heartened when he 
 was well enough to sally forth and play a game at 
 "mall." He says "this towne is not celebrated for 
 beautifull women," and yet the susceptible Captain 
 Wray fell in love with one of them and was so mightily 
 enamoured that he was unable to discuss any plan for 
 their future journey, nor even to think upon it. 
 
 Ultimately they all went down by boat to Lyons. 
 From there they appear to have struck across country 
 to Orleans. At Orleans, Wray, whom Evelyn speaks of 
 as " our mad captaine," was left behind. It may be 
 surmised that Wray, when he saw his friends pass out 
 of sight, was so overcome by his feelings that he again 
 let off his gun. 
 
 It is to be regretted that Captain Wray kept no 
 diary, for he was a man of sentiment and of varied 
 attainments who appeared to attract adventure. The 
 amorous Wray, with his nag, his unruly dog, his passion 
 for gun-firing and his love of drink, must surely, on his 
 way back to England, have met with incidents which 
 would have been worth recording. 
 
 151 
 
XXV 
 
 ACROSS THE RHONE 
 
 JUST as the western end of the Lake at Geneva 
 appears to be closed by a dam or barrier of houses, 
 so does the Lake on the east appear to be brought 
 to an end against a barrier of trees. In neither case 
 does there seem — at first sight — to be a gap through 
 which the Rhone could either enter or escape. It is not 
 until Bouveret is left behind and the steamer is making 
 its way to the opposite shore that the Rhone can be 
 seen to dart out of the thicket in which it has been 
 hiding and make for the open. Its waters are turbid, 
 tired-looking and the colour of potter's clay. They 
 blunder into the Lake, where they form an eddy of 
 dirty water in a pool that is clean. 
 
 There is no romance about the entry ; no suggestion 
 of the far-off glacier melting in the sun ; no idea of 
 welcome. There is simply a sense of an intrusion and 
 a regret that the water is so thick and so unpleasing. 
 The Lake seems to feel this, for although the two join, 
 as they must, they do not mix. They keep apart. A 
 hard line separates the clear blue from the muddy grey. 
 The river seems to feel it too, for, after its first fouling 
 of the Lake, it disappears as if it dived to the bottom 
 out of shame. 
 
 There is no view of the Rhone Valley more delectable 
 than that from the Lake, as the steamer crosses from 
 
 152 
 
TOWER AT PORTE DU SEX 
 
 GHESSEL CHURCH 
 
Across the Rhone 
 
 shore to shore. The valley is long and wide ; its walls 
 are the flanks of mountains; its floor is a " level mead," 
 dotted >vith trees and as green as the Lake is blue. 
 There is no sign of a river, of a road, nor of any work 
 of man. As the valley makes its way into the unknown 
 the light that fills it becomes whiter, the colours fade, 
 all outlines cease to be distinct and it ends in a mist 
 above which rise lilac-tinted peaks capped with snow. 
 
 Not far beyond Bouveret and in the floor of the 
 valley is the Pont du Sex — the last bridge over the 
 Rhone before it reaches the Lake. Guide book after 
 guide book has burst into rapture over this bridge, a 
 venerable, wooden bridge which was roofed over from 
 end to end. It has been described as the most picturesque 
 object on the Lake, has been spoken of as " poetical " 
 and declared to be "a wonder." It was built in 1839 
 by a carpenter from Martigny named Roulier, with the 
 help of his son-in-law. Before these two self-sufficing 
 carpenters built the bridge the Rhone was only to be 
 crossed by a ferry-boat from Chessel. The old bridge 
 was replaced in 1905 by one of iron, a bridge so ugly 
 as to be really heroic. This latter work can claim to be 
 a wonder — a wonder of f rightfulness. If there be per- 
 fection in ugliness, this mass of dreadful iron has reached 
 a point beyond which imagination cannot aspire. It 
 had to come. It fulfils the functions of a bridge ; it is 
 strong ; it is safe. The dear old, delightful bridge was 
 none of these things. It was merely beautiful. It 
 shook in the wind ; it bent to the flood. It could carry 
 a company of pattering goats, but the ox- wagon made it 
 afraid and the motor car caused it to shake and tremble 
 like a very old man. 
 
 153 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 By the bridge is an ancient gateway, the Porte du 
 Sex. On one side of It is a precipice, and on the other 
 is a tower as steep. The tower bears the date 1G76. 
 Behind it is a surly and determined-looking building, 
 with windows heavily grilled with iron and with shutters 
 painted in the brave colours of the canton. This chdteaii- 
 jort was built in 1597 to command the entrance into the 
 Rhone valley. It was rebuilt in 1676, as the date on 
 the tower confirms, and was for long the residence of 
 the chatelain of Bouveret. The building was much 
 damaged by the inundation of 1902, when the whole 
 floor of the valley w^as under water as far up as Vouvry, 
 which is a kilometre above the Porte du Sex. 
 
 Across the bridge the road leads through a flat and 
 luxuriant country where are many trees and fields which 
 sing of the goodness of the land. Then comes the little 
 hamlet of Chessel, a perfect realization of the hamlet 
 of the simple life. It has an ancient church as small as 
 itself. Its stone steeple is anterior to the 16th century. 
 The church — restored in 1777 — is the type of church 
 that a child would build with a box of bricks, for it has 
 the tower and the steeple that the toy-maker supplies. 
 It may be inappropriate to apply the term " comical " 
 to a place of worship, but Chessel church is comical, just 
 as a young puppy is comical. It is so immature and so 
 assuredly a church in its babyhood. It has a little vaulted 
 choir, a tiny pulpit and a small recess that would be a 
 side chapel if it were not used to store wood for the 
 stove. Moreover, the church stands in an orchard, and 
 when seen through a cloud of pink and white blossoms 
 is a picture of simplicity. 
 
 Beyond Chessel and still in the Rhone Valley is the 
 
 154 
 
NOVILLE 
 
Across the Rhone 
 
 village of Noville. It would probably call itself a town, 
 for it has a Maison de Ville where serious documents of 
 State are pasted on the wall. Noville is untroubled by 
 the world, is away from the beaten track and the tourist 
 knows it not. It is unspoiled and is a village that belongs 
 to the " real " country. It has many chamiing houses; 
 some with wide wooden balconies piled the one above 
 the other, some with inviting outside stairs, as well as 
 cottages which are almost buried in climbing roses and 
 are as bright with flowers as a church door on a wedding 
 day. The place is a mixture of a farmyard and a village. 
 The cow-shed opens its pungent doors by the side of 
 the shop, while the manure heap and the stack of winter 
 wood find prominent places in the main street. 
 
 The pride of Noville is its ancient church, which is 
 mentioned as long ago as 1177 in a bull of Pope 
 Alexander III. The square ivy-covered tower is sur- 
 mounted by a curious stone steeple which only an 
 architect could fitly describe. The church has been 
 inteUigently restored. The Swiss habit of smothering 
 anything antique with plaster has been abandoned. The 
 walls show the bare stone, while every structure of 
 interest — Romanesque or Gothic — appears to have been 
 piously preseiTcd. The side chapel belongs to the 15th 
 century, while the choir shows traces of paintings of a 
 century earlier. 
 
 By the side of the church is a beautiful old house of 
 such charm that it is worth a journey to Noville to see 
 it. It has a glorious roof, double ogee windows with 
 transoms and shutters painted in bold stripes of white 
 and green. It would belong, apparently, to the late 
 16th century. 
 
 155 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Probably there are very few who will be concerned 
 to know that at Noville in the year 107 B.C. the Helvetes 
 
 the tiresome people who would persist in crossing the 
 
 Geneva bridge— defeated the Romans in masterly fashion 
 and killed the consul and also his nephew. 
 
 The road across the Rhone Valley ends at Villeneuve, 
 which is on the Lake side, has a pier and is the terminus 
 of the tram-line from Vevey. It is curious that a place 
 called the New Town should be one of the oldest towns 
 on the Lake. It was a very important Roman settle- 
 ment, and during the Middle Ages was a to\\Ti of 
 consequence. The early traveller may never have heard 
 of Geneva or Lausanne, but he knew Villeneuve. Ville- 
 neuve stood on the road between Italy and Gaul, for 
 the one available pass across the mountains was, at that 
 time, the Great St. Bernard. It not only stood on the 
 road ; it held it as an outpost of Chillon. 
 
 A vast company of people passed through Villeneuve 
 — merchants and pedlars, minstrels and men-at-arms, 
 pilgrims on their way to Rome, people who were seeking 
 a new world and others who were fleeing from an old. 
 Villeneuve exacted a toll from all who passed through 
 its gates. In 1286 in 213 days the collector of dues 
 dealt with 2,211 bales of French and Lombard cloth, 
 1,448 bundles of wool and hides, 2,568 loads of salt and 
 810 packs of merchandise.^ The tolls collected in 1279 
 amounted to 345 livres, which is calculated to represent, 
 in the coinage of to-day, half a million francs.^ Ville- 
 neuve, moreover, had much to sell, not a little to buy, 
 
 ^ " Autour du Lac Leman," par Guillaume Fatio. Geneva, 1902. 
 
 » " Dictionnaire Historique du Canton de Vaud." Tome il, p. 789. Lausanne, 
 1921. 
 
Across the Rhone 
 
 and vast amounts of money to change. Its one long 
 street was thronged the week through; its .warehouses 
 were packed ; its shops and its booths were the wonder 
 of all who found their way into this Vanity Fair. A 
 vast number of Jews and Lombards were attracted to 
 the town by its prosperous trade. They were not well 
 received by the people. In 1348, when the " Black 
 Death " was raging, the Jews of Villeneuve were 
 accused of poisoning the wells between Clarens and 
 Vevey. They were arrested and imprisoned at Chillon, 
 were tortured and confessed. The people of Villeneuve 
 were so infuriated that they burst into the castle, dragged 
 the Jews out and burnt them alive in the road. 
 
 Owing to many causes Villeneuve began to decline 
 towards the end of the 14th century. Fewer and fewer 
 travellers passed along the road, the Customs receipts 
 dwindled in proportion, and the once crowded market- 
 place became quieter and at last almost still. 
 
 In 1236 the pious Aymon, fourth son of Thomas, 
 Count of Savoy, founded in the town the Hospital of 
 St. Mary for the relief and comfort of all pilgrims who 
 passed along the road as well as of the sick who might 
 fall by the way. Aymon himself was stricken with 
 disease, and this hospital was his offering of gratitude 
 to Heaven for such years of life as he was spared. It 
 is said that there were times when as many as 600 loaves 
 were given out in a day and when there were no fewer 
 than one hundred sick persons within the hospital walls. 
 The Hostel of St. Mary had a large staff of priest- 
 physicians and, for long after Aymon 's death, was fitly 
 maintained by the house of Savoy as well as by money 
 collected from wealthy travellers and grateful patients. 
 
 IS7 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 In later years the hospital ceased to be of service, but 
 it was not given up without a struggle. There were 
 few, if any, patients, it is true, but there were still 
 large funds to treat. So the place became — as one author 
 terms it — une retraite de consolation for the hospitalier 
 and his friends. Thus in 1G59 the controller of the 
 empty hospital enjoyed a pension of 400 silver florins; 
 his wife came in for 125 florins and the baker for 112; 
 while the woman cook drew 40 florins, together with 
 4 barrels of corn, 4 " chars " of white wine and 2 of 
 red.^ Villeneuve had ample leisure to enjoy this scandal. 
 Old Villeneuve must have been a \'ery picturesque 
 spot. It was surrounded by a wall and possessed three 
 gates. An old drawing depicting one of these gates 
 shows what a sturdy and trim j)lace it was in the days 
 of its glory. 2 At that entrance to the town which looks 
 towards Chillon w^ere a great square tower, a chapel to 
 the Virgin and the Hospital of St. Mary already named. 
 These were all built by Aymon about the year 1236. 
 The tow^r, with the chapel at its foot, stood on one 
 side of the road, the hospital on the other. The hospital 
 has been entirely swept away and a school built in its 
 place. The tower — a square solid block — still stands. 
 The lower part is old and with little doubt dates from 
 Aymon 's time, but the upper part, with its faintly 
 pointed arches, is more recent, although still some 
 centuries old. The chapel, which will have been more 
 than once rebuilt, has been converted into the Maison 
 de VilJe. It bears over the door the arms of the town 
 and the dates 1236-1876, the latter being the year of 
 
 » " Dictionnalre Historique de Vaud." Tome ii, 1921. 
 * " Hlstolre du Canton de Vaud," par P. Maillefer, p. 455. Lausanne, 1903. 
 
 158 
 
Across the Rhone 
 
 its final restoration. Within will be seen a fine Gothic 
 vault, which forms the roof of a school, on the one side, 
 and of offices on the other. These buildings are by the 
 side of the railway station through which will thunder 
 the Simplon express that now, in a flash, carries through 
 Villeneuve travellers who, in old days, toiled through the 
 town on foot, in litters, on horses or on mules. 
 
 As to the Villeneuve of the present time it is needless 
 to say that it shows no traces of its former splendour. 
 It has gone to the other extreme, and is now without 
 a bustling traffic, without anything that could be called 
 business and very nearly without life. A promenade 
 runs along the Lake shore. It is lined with the usual 
 clipped planes and also with a superb row of standard 
 roses. The town is composed of the " one long street " 
 through which the pilgrims tramped and down which 
 the tram-car now rattles. There are a few houses bear- 
 ing such dates as 1580 and 1596, but beyond these figures 
 they show small evidences of antiquity. The town itself 
 is drab, low-spirited and purposeless, and apparently 
 stupefied by centuries of utter dullness and by the con- 
 viction that it has no longer any place in the world. 
 
 It can claim one charm — the view that it affords of 
 the take and its great mountains and of the magic valley 
 of the Rhone. The church of St. Paul (said to have 
 been founded in 1106) is even more uninteresting and 
 more dreary than the town. The present building dates 
 from the 15th and 16th centuries, affects the Gothic style, 
 has a tower which might have some attraction were it 
 not smothered in plaster, and a church which — as Read 
 mildly puts it — is '"' sadly disfigured." 
 
 The great house of Villeneuve was that occupied by 
 
 159 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 the distinguished Bouvier family. It stood near the town 
 gate and was (and is indeed still) the last house on the 
 right on the road to Aigle. It was practically destroyed 
 by the fire of May 4, 1409, which threatened to make 
 of the town a heap of ruins. In Head's time it consisted 
 of two parts, of a large house and a smaller one, with 
 a tower the height of which had been reduced. It had 
 then a fine stone doorway and narrow grated windows, 
 and above all a cellar which Read was — for a special 
 reason — delighted to find intact. 
 
 The house has been recently modernized, but the 
 general features (of the large house and the small and 
 the low tower) have been preserved. The stone doorway 
 has vanished and with it probably the cellar. The story 
 of the house, as told by Read, is as follows.^ 
 
 In 1588 Charles Emmanuel of Savoy determined to 
 possess himself once more of the Pays de Vaud. He 
 collected an army of some 5,000 men at Ripaille, together 
 with appropriate artillery, and ships to carry his forces 
 across the Lake. He expected a good deal from the 
 army, but still more from treachery on the part of certain 
 notables of Lausanne, for a feature in the programme 
 w^as to be a rising in that city on behalf of Savoy. 
 
 The chief conspirator in Lausanne was D'Aux, the 
 burgomaster. He w^as in the habit of sailing over to 
 Evian to discuss this precious plot with his Savoy friends. 
 Another prominent traitor was his nephew, Ferdinand 
 Bouvier, of Villeneuve. He was the lieutenant governor 
 of the Castle of Chillon and at the same time warden of 
 the hospital at Villeneuve. He was a man in the prime 
 of life, being thirty-five. 
 
 * " Historic Studies in Vaud, Berne and Savoj', ' by M. Read. London, 1897. 
 
 i6o 
 
'fi 
 
Across the Rhone 
 
 The landing of the duke's army and the rising in 
 Lausanne were arranged for a certain day in December. 
 But no fleet came in sight and the sleepy streets of 
 Lausanne were disturbed by nothing more sensational 
 than a dog fight. Two things had happened. A severe 
 gale had prevented the duke's ships from leaving Ripaille 
 and the plot had leaked out. The latter fact was due 
 to the practice — still in vogue — of one friend confiding 
 to another the details of the affair '* in the strictest 
 confidence." It was passed on, in this way, from mouth 
 to mouth until it came to the knowledge of the Bailiff 
 of Lausanne. D'Aux was warned, also in the strictest 
 confidence, that "things were coming out." So he 
 bolted to St. Sulpice, where he obtained a boat that 
 carried him to Evian. 
 
 The information reached the Bailiff of Lausanne in 
 the following manner. The bailiff was dining with 
 Ferdinand Bouvier at the Castle of Chillon. They were 
 boon companions and firm friends. The dinner was, no 
 doubt, excellent and the wine of the best. It was a 
 jovial evening, the conversation was genial, and any 
 boatman rowing by the castle wall would hear the 
 laughter that re-echoed across the table. 
 
 As the two — a little red in the face, perhaps — leaned 
 back in their chairs to enjoy the last flagon of wine a 
 messenger entered with a letter for the bailiff. Annoyed 
 at the interruption he opened the letter petulantly, and 
 as he read his face became graver and graver. Looking 
 across to his ruddy companion, he said, " My friend, it 
 pains me to the heart, but I have orders to arrest you." 
 Bouvier, suddenly become pale, could only say stiffly, 
 "You must obey orders. I am at your disposal; but 
 
 L i6i 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 allow me to go to Villeneuve under any guard you like 
 so that I may put my affairs in order." 
 
 The bailiff consented, but the two spoke no more. 
 One can imagine the silent room, Bouvier still sitting 
 at the table with bent head, cowed and shamed, and hisi 
 guest standing by the window and muttering over and 
 over again, " Ferdinand a traitor! '* 
 
 Bouvier and his guard marched to his house at 
 Villeneuve. On arriving there he suggested that the men 
 would like some refreshment and directed them to the 
 cellar, telling his servant, no doubt, to see that they had 
 plenty and that they had it strong. They found it so 
 unlike the barrack wine that, in a while, they were all 
 too drunk to have thought of either their mission or their 
 charge. In the meantime the Governor of Chillon slipped 
 out of the garden door and, fleeing through the night, 
 reached Savoy in safety. 
 
 He left his wife, Marie du Crest, behind — an excellent 
 lady to whom he had been married eight years. She was 
 arrested, taken to Chillon, and put to the torture. By 
 a rope attached to her wrists she was hoisted up the 
 pillar which stood in the centre of the torture chamber 
 while red-hot irons were applied to her feet. It was a 
 terrible ordeal, but the gallant woman kept her teeth 
 clenched and refused to betray the man who had left her 
 to her fate. As nothing would induce her to speak, she 
 was released, and returned with her poor charred feet 
 to the now desolate house at Villeneuve. 
 
 Of all those who took part in this sorry drama, the 
 
 only one who stands out as an heroic figure, among the 
 
 company of traitors and cowards, is the brave and loyal 
 
 Marie du Crest, who could be faithful unto death. 
 
 162 
 
— c- 
 
 FROM THE RHONE TO LAUSANNE 
 
XXVI 
 
 THE THREE TOWNS 
 
 THE Rhone Valley occupies the whole of the 
 eastern extremity of the Lake, being bounded on 
 either side by masterful mountains which form 
 the walls of the stupendous outlet. One flank of these 
 mountains is continued along the Swiss or northern 
 shore, rising (as on the opposite coast) directly from the 
 water's edge, but providing ground enough at their foot 
 to accommodate the united towns of Territet, Montreux 
 and Clarens. On one of the promontories which stand 
 out from the mountain-side is Glion, and above it the 
 vast white hotel of Caux ; while between Territet and 
 Villeneuve are the heights of Rochers de Naye, which 
 attain an altitude of 6,710 feet above the sea level. At 
 Clarens the hills drop away and there opens up a wide 
 valley sloping gently to the Lake. It is triangular in 
 outline, with its base on the shore, where are Vevey and 
 La Tour de Peilz; while on one flank are the Pleiades 
 and on the other Mont Pelerin. Far up on the floor of 
 this broad gap in the hills is the famous Castle of 
 Blonay. 
 
 Between Vevey and Lausanne the coast is uninterest- 
 ing and forms, indeed, the dullest part of the Lake 
 shore. It is represented by a range of low hills which 
 is covered with vineyards, planned in stiff, monotonous 
 
 165 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 squares and rows. As Lausanne is approached the trees, 
 the fields and a freer, kindUer country appear again, so 
 that the lake-side ceases to be a tedious bank of chess- 
 board patterns and cubist sketches. For some reason — 
 based probably upon early Biblical teaching — there is an 
 impression that a vineyard should be beautiful. It may 
 have been so in the days of the Song of Solomon, but 
 now, what with staking and weeding, pruning to the 
 ground and spraying with sulphate of copper, a modern 
 vineyard (except for a week or so in the autumn) affords 
 but an uninspiring spectacle. Gazing upon this bank, 
 ruled and lined like an exercise book, one fails to 
 appreciate the rapturous declaration, " My beloved is 
 unto me as a cluster of camphire in the vineyards of 
 En-gedi." 
 
 The Three Towns are very happy in their position in 
 the great scene. Between the blue of the Lake and the 
 blue of the sky there rise the mountains just named. 
 They are, at this point, from 2,000 to 3,000 feet high. 
 This range is no mere bank. Its variety is infinite, for 
 it is thrown into folds by many a gorge and jagged by 
 many a peak. It is green with every variant of that 
 colour, since between the forests of holly-green firs are 
 patches of steep down of the tint of a geranium leaf and 
 as smooth. The mountain where it meets the Lake is 
 fashioned into bays and capes most beautiful to see, and 
 here the trees come down to the very pebbles of the 
 beach. 
 
 It is along the strand of these blue coves that the 
 Three Towns cluster. Viewed from across the water they 
 appear as a line of bright colour, a very broken line 
 fashioned out of tints of white and pink, of yellow, and 
 
 i66 
 
The Three Towns 
 
 faint blue, and punctuated by a thousand dots, which 
 are windows, and capped by splashes of brown, which are 
 roofs. All these details are reflected in the Lake with 
 undiminished brilliance. The line is broken, here and 
 there, by a clump of trees in a garden, by the spire of 
 a church, by tall poplars, by a white balustrade and by 
 many a ghnt of sun on glass. So broad is the Lake and 
 so towering are the hills that these far-famed places, with 
 their thousands of inhabitants, seem, at a distance, little 
 more than a row of bright and shapely stones. 
 
 The Three Towns, in their combined attractions, form 
 the most popular resort in this part of Switzerland. 
 Their popularity is easy to understand. They command 
 the finest view that the Lake affords. They face south. 
 They are protected by the great hills from the north 
 wind — the cynical and uncharitable hise. They know 
 not the fog. They are, above all, very modern and 
 furnish every comfort that the most fastidious can desire. 
 They toil not, neither do they spin ; but exist only to 
 afford joy to the visitor. The visitor is, indeed, their 
 sole commodity, their sole export and import and the 
 object of their being. 
 
 The welfare of the Three Towns depends upon the 
 stranger within their gates. It is amazing what that 
 individual requires. His needs are made manifest by 
 the multitude of shops and by their complex variety, by 
 food collected from all quarters of the earth, by theatres 
 and casinos, by steamers to carrj^ him on the water as 
 well as by electric or funicular railways to drag him to 
 the tops of mountains in order that he may enjoy a view. 
 All this he wants to secure an appropriate delight in 
 living. Yet the first visitors who came to Montreux — 
 
 167 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 the men of the Bronze Age — needed so little and could 
 do so much tor themselves. Given food, fire and a 
 strong axe, they were probably as happy as the most 
 favoured in the Three Towns arc to-day. The machinery 
 of happiness has become, in fact, extremely complicated, 
 and the things that the pampered " cannot do without " 
 are as the sands of the sea in multitude. Yet with this 
 intricate machine and these things that cannot be denied 
 the Three Towns deal with composure and success, and 
 so the world speaks w^ell of them. 
 
 The Towns are still in their youth, the least mature 
 being Territet, which has sprung up, like a crop of 
 brightly-tinted mushrooms, on a bank by the Lake-side. 
 Old prints show Territet as a stretch of green meadow- 
 land with a cottage or two, some trees and an enticing 
 footpath. Montreux, a town of over 22,000 inhabitants, 
 is older. The name implies a district rather than a 
 town, for in ancient times Montreux was a collection of 
 hamlets scattered about the foot of the hills. It is only 
 of recent years that the houses have spread down to the 
 margin of the Lake. A print of 1823 ^ shows this bustling 
 and brilliant town as a mere village with a church perched 
 high up on the slope. The domain belonged in the 11th 
 century to the Bishops of Sion and then, in the 14th 
 century, it was possessed by Savoy. The Count of Savoy 
 required at that time from the cure an annual dole of 
 four pounds of wax to be used for his comfort w^hen he 
 came to Chillon. As some abatement to this tax the 
 cure was allowed to fish in the Lake in Lent. 
 
 The origin of the old church of Montreux is lost in 
 the mists of the past, but it emerges with the dignity 
 
 ' " Voyage pittoresque autour du Lac de Geneve." Paris, 1823. 
 
 i68 
 
SEA-GULLS ON THE LAKE 
 
 # 
 

The Three Towns 
 
 of a parish church in 12*.?8. It was dedicated to St. 
 Vincent, the patron of vine dressers, and was placed by 
 the terraces of vines, where it became a sanctuary for 
 those who worked among the grapes. The church was 
 built in its present form in 1507. It stands in the 
 quarter called Les Planches, and was at one time reached 
 by the slothful by means of a funicular railway, now 
 extinct. 
 
 The growth of Montreux has been rapid. In 1815 
 it could boast only of a few rustic inns. In 1835 the 
 first 'pension appeared — the Pension Visinand — at Sales, 
 now an insignificant suburb of the modern town. Then 
 followed very timidly some small hotels. One hotel, 
 *' The Swan," boasted of no fewer than 30 beds. In 
 1850 the population (which had been 2,833 in 1831) rose 
 to 3,181, and Montreux had then eight hotels or pensions , 
 with a complement, between them, of 250 beds. The 
 Dictionnaire Historique, from which these particulars are 
 obtained, states that in 1854 the cost of living en pension 
 at Montreux w^as three francs a day. This will fill the 
 modern grandchild with envy and call forth regretful 
 comments upon the good old days. It should be remem- 
 bered that the three francs included the privilege of 
 going to bed with a solitary candle, of washing in a small 
 bowl of cold water and the use of a bedroom without a 
 carpet. 
 
 Those who would see something of old Montreux 
 should visit the suburbs of Les Planches and Sales. They 
 stand high up in the shadow of the mountain, and w^ere 
 once villages with nothing between them and the Lake 
 but vineyards and green fields. Now the new town has 
 chmbed up to them, has infected them with some 
 
 169 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 modernity and, but for the protecting hill, would have 
 elbowed them off the ledge to which they cling. 
 
 These two little quarters of Montreux have, however, 
 still some independence and show even now some of 
 their old quality. They are separated from one another 
 by the Gorge du Chauderon, a narrow but deep cleft 
 in the rock, at the bottom of which a stream tumbles 
 headlong, showing flashes of silver through a cloud of 
 trees. Les Planches has its village fountain bearing the 
 date 1754, its old-world cafe with a hanging sign, and 
 many ancient and picturesque houses which go back to 
 such years as 1583 and 1620. One of them has quite a 
 fine round tower, with a pointed roof and some 17th 
 century windows. SCdes is a little less interesting, but 
 its ways are narrow and steep and, indeed, there is a 
 long winding stone stair which climbs from the foot of 
 the town to its summit as if the place j\Tre a tenement 
 house. 
 
 The old church of Montreux is just above Les 
 Planches. It stands alone on a ledge of rock. Behind 
 it is the precipice of Glion, which projects from the 
 mountain-side like a gigantic altar. In front of the 
 church is a delightful terrace shaded by trees. Beyond 
 the terrace wall an abrupt declivity drops headlong to 
 the fashionable town, where are the new houses, the great 
 hotels, the kursaal, the tramways and, beyond them all, 
 the everlasting Lake. 
 
 The church is superb and of great interest. It has 
 
 been religiously preserved, is of grey stone, possesses a 
 
 lofty square tower and spire, and has a belfry lit by 
 
 Gothic windows. On either side of the nave are immense 
 
 round pillars of oyster-grey stone. They are without 
 
 170 
 
The Three Towns 
 
 capitals and form the bases for four round arches. The 
 arches, in turn, support a beautiful vaulted roof. The 
 spandrels between the ribs are painted, and the whole 
 effect is one of great charm. The choir, with its Gothic 
 windows, is more modern, but the body of the church 
 remains practically as it was in 1509. 
 
 At the end of the terrace and close to the church door 
 is a curious stone building, small and square, with narrow 
 Romanesque windows and a quite commonplace roof. 
 Its interior will afford a surprise. It reveals an exquisite 
 httle chapel with a groined roof, the ribs of which radiate 
 from a single round pillar in the centre of the chamber. 
 In architectural detail the chapel follows precisely the 
 lines of the nave of the church, and there is no doubt 
 but that the two were built about the same period (1509). 
 This little building was once the cemetery chapel. Here 
 the bones of the dead were deposited and here, in 1522, 
 the celebration of the Mass was authorized. It is now 
 a salle des catechumenes or Sunday school. This church 
 and its chapel are without question the most beautiful 
 objects in the whole of Montreux. 
 
 Clarens was made famous by J. J. Rousseau, for it 
 was the home of the much-enduring Julie. A French 
 author,^ writing in 1846, remarks, " The greater number 
 of the English who make gibberish of our language 
 come here attracted by the memory of Rousseau." That 
 fascination no longer has power and the command of 
 the French tongue has, at the same time, improved. 
 Clarens, although now so very modern, is an old village 
 which can boast of the fact that Roman remains have 
 been found in its vicinity. It was in the domain of the 
 
 ^ " Le Tour du Leman," par A. de Bougy. Paris, 184G. 
 171 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Lords of Chatelard and, some time in the 14th century, 
 was granted the privilege of possessing a mayor. Byron 
 resided in Clarens in 1816, which fact is still kept 
 prominently in mind. About the middle of the 18th 
 centuiy' Clarens awoke, cast off its ancient garments, 
 and appeared jauntily in the fashionable raiment of the 
 day. 
 
 Above the town of Clarens is the cemetery, one of 
 the most beautiful on the coast. It stands at the foot 
 of the hill upon which is reared the Castle of Chatelard. 
 The terrace in front of it commands a memorable view 
 of Montreux. In this secluded place is the tomb of 
 Henri Frederic Amiel, the author of the melancholy 
 " Journal Intime." He died in 1881 at the age of sixty 
 (page 20). It is a disconsolate looking memorial in the 
 form of a shrunken pyramid of grey stone with panels 
 of chilly slate. It is shaded by an unhappy yew tree, 
 while the grave at its foot is buried under a shroud of 
 irreverent ivy. 
 
 172 
 
XXVII 
 
 CHILLON 
 
 « 
 
 CHILLON is probably the best preserved mediaeval 
 castle in Europe. It is certainly the best known 
 and assuredly, of all buildings in the .world, is the 
 one which has been the most persistently photographed, 
 painted and sketched. It must be familiar to thousands 
 who have never set foot in Switzerland. Its position is 
 exceptionally picturesque. The castle of romance is 
 generally perched on the summit of a crag. Here is a 
 castle at the foot of a hill, with its foundations in a 
 lake. Chillon stands on a small island of rock which is 
 approached from the mainland by a bridge. The Lake, 
 as it flows between the islet and the land, forms a natural 
 moat. 
 
 In front of the castle is a stretch of bright water, 
 while behind it is a steep mountain covered with trees 
 from base to summit. So immense is the hill at whose 
 foot it lies that the castle is completely dwarfed and 
 indeed, when seen three miles away, might be but a 
 block of carved ivory set on a sheet of enamel backed 
 by a cushion of dark green. What adds to the charm 
 of the position is the fact that the castle stands entirely 
 alone. There is no building — ancient or modern — to mar 
 its particular features or to distract the eye from its 
 gem-Hke isolation. 
 
 173 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Viewed from near at hand Chillon satisfies the 
 imagination. It reahzes to the full the feudal castle of 
 old days, its arrogant display, its hardihood, its brutality, 
 its elemental outlook upon life. Here are all the details 
 that befit the scene of a mediaeval romance and that 
 furnish a background for those thrilling incidents which 
 may happen within castle walls. Here stood the draw- 
 bridge by the ominous entry ; here are the low-pitched, 
 cavernous guard-room, with its great fireplace, and the 
 sun-lit courtyards where the pages played at knuckle- 
 bones and where the maids, as they passed, lingered to 
 laugh with them. Here, too, are the turrets where the 
 sentries watched, the great keep into which the country 
 folk, half-clad and half-crazed, were hurried when the 
 Terror was upon them, as w^ll as the dungeons made 
 horrible by moans and the clank of chains. Looking 
 out upon the Lake are the great hall w^hose timbers have 
 re-echoed the sounds of revelry and the shouts of armed 
 men, the justice room, the torture chamber and the little 
 balcony where the ladies fed the pigeons. There is no 
 detail lacking. There are even the secret stairs cut in 
 the walls, so essential in romance, and the postern by 
 the water's edge which was a way of escape when all hope 
 was lost. 
 
 There has been a stronghold at Chillon from very 
 early days, because it held the ancient road which, at this 
 point, was but a pass between the mountain-side and 
 the Lake. It was not until the 18th century that the 
 highway was widened by the cutting away of the cliff. 
 Chillon, once the property of the Bishops of Sion, came 
 into the possession of Savoy in the 12th century. It was 
 the famous Count Pierre of Savoy who may be regarded 
 
 174 
 
CHILLON FROM THE LAKE 
 
 CHILLON 
 
Chillon 
 
 as the builder of the castle. This turbulent and ever- 
 restless man lived between the years 1203 and 1268. 
 Chillon remained in the hands of Savoy until the fortress 
 was taken by the Bernese in 1536. The last chatelain 
 who held the castle for Savoy was Antoine de Beaufort. 
 In January, 1798, the people of Vevey and Montreux 
 seized Chillon and so freed it from the dominion of 
 Berne. 
 
 Since the time of Count Pierre the castle has been, 
 of necessity, many times remodelled or enlarged, and 
 thus it is that it shows the work of many and varied 
 years. The building, in its general features, belongs to 
 a period that ranges from the early part of the 13th 
 century to the end of the 16th. 
 
 To describe Chillon would be as complex a work as 
 the description of the contents of an antiquary's shop. 
 The building has been most skilfully restored, the 
 arrangements made for the visitor are perfect, while the 
 little leaflet giving the main features of the castle is a 
 model of what a guide should be. The land side of the 
 castle is commanded by three round towers which rise 
 from the moat, are crowned by machicolations and 
 pierced by many loopholes. In the central tower is a 
 curiously ill-omened dungeon. On a line with these 
 three defences is a square tower of the 13th and 14th 
 centuries which guards the entry. In the centre of the 
 whole mass of buildings and dominating them all is the 
 keep, a plain, uncompromising structure of great height 
 which is believed to date from the beginning of the 
 11th century. 
 
 The Lake side of the castle is represented by a 
 rectangular block of buildings in the walls of which are 
 
 175 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 many beautiful windows. Here is the Great Hall, a 
 magnificent apartment .with tour Gothic windows and a 
 15th century ceiling, which is supported by massive 
 columns of chestnut wood with finely carved capitals. 
 Another notable apartment is the Justice Room, with a 
 ceiling of sunken squares supported by pillars of dark 
 grey marble. Leading from it is "Room No. 15," the 
 most dreaded room in the castle, for it was transformed 
 into a Torture Chamber in the 17th century. It is, in 
 point of fact, a bright and cheerful room and the one 
 that, of all the apartments in the chateau, would be 
 selected for a bedroom. It has a pretty 18th century 
 window which looks over the Lake towards the setting 
 sun. This view of the placid w^ater, with its fisher-boats 
 and its sea gulls and the open country on either side of 
 it, must have given the first pang of pain to those who 
 were led into this fearsome place. The w^alls are decorated 
 in squares of brick-red and grey. The ceiling, upon w^hich 
 the eyes of the man on the rack must have rested, is as 
 merrily painted in green, white and scarlet as a child's 
 toy-box. It may, indeed, be a nursery ceiling. 
 
 The most horrible object in the room is a tall, lean 
 pillar which drops from the ceiling like the body of a 
 snake. It was by ropes attached to this pillar that the 
 victims of "Justice" were hoisted up while hot irons 
 were applied to their feet. The base of the pillar is 
 browned and much worn away. The imaginative affirm 
 that it has been charred and that it w^as charred by red- 
 hot irons. The pillar has a still more horrid feature. 
 It is rudely painted, but at the lower part the paint has 
 been scratched away, and the idea cannot be avoided 
 that it has been scratched off by the finger nails of the 
 
 176 
 
A COURTYARD IN CHILLON 
 
 THE GREAT HALL. CHILLON 
 
Ghillon 
 
 tortured. The most loathsome period in the history of 
 this room must belong to the time when witches were 
 hunted out and were dragged from their villages to 
 Chillon to be tortured before they were thrown into the 
 Lake. One can imagine some harmless old crone, tooth- 
 less and grey-headed (a scold with a bitter tongue it 
 may be) swinging with ghastly contortions from the 
 pillar and filling the stone chamber with her ear-piercing 
 shrieks. Early in the 19th century, writes Read, an 
 ancient chest in the Torture Chamber was examined. It 
 was found to be filled with musty, time-stained docu- 
 ments which, in the course of years, had been depleted 
 for the making of cartridges and the lighting of fires. 
 
 In pleasant contrast to " Room No. 15 " is the 
 exquisite little Chapel of St. George. It has a beauti- 
 fully decorated Gothic roof and four very modest lancet 
 windows. It was built in the middle of the 13th century, 
 " to which epoch," says the leaflet, " belong the arches, 
 bays and some of the paintings." 
 
 There are many other rooms in this rambling place, 
 such as the Duke's bedroom, with its immense fireplace 
 and blood-red walls, and the Duke's parlour or " retreat." 
 There are, moreover, hollow-sounding corridors, unex- 
 pected stairs, quaint courtyards, sudden loopholes that 
 seem to jump out at the passer-by, heavily barred 
 windows and, on the summit of the walls, the fascinating 
 galleries of the patrol. 
 
 Very many people have an acute — if morbid — taste 
 for dungeons. To creep down dark steps into an 
 undoubted oubliette is evidently one of the greatest joys 
 that the visitor to Chillon experiences. The dungeons 
 at Chillon are most satisfying to those who have this 
 
 M 177 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 appetite. They are hollowed out under the main build- 
 ing, were constructed between the years 1254 and 1264, 
 and are just above the level of the Lake. They consist 
 of a series of communicating vaults where will be seen 
 the condemned cell, the execution chamber with the beam 
 of the gallows, as well as hollow places which even a 
 modest imagination can people with wild-eyed, crouching 
 wretches, hugging their rags. 
 
 At the end is the main dungeon where Bonivard, 
 the prisoner of Chillon, was confined. It is long, narrow 
 and grey, and to a large extent cut out of the rock. 
 The floor also is of rock. It has a fine vaulted roof 
 supported by round columns. To the base of one of 
 these pillars Bonivard was chained. The light is admitted 
 through narrow, vertical slits which open into round- 
 arched embrasures. The place is more like the crj^pt of 
 a church than the deepest depth of a prison. Compared 
 with the black, stifling, rat-infested dungeons of mediaeval 
 tales, with their mouldy walls dripping moisture and 
 their cruelly pinched space, this dungeon of Bonivard is 
 quite an oubliette de luxe. It is lofty, dry, well lit and 
 well ventilated, cool in summer and by no means chilly 
 in December. The light is good enough to read by, 
 while those who could clamber into the window recess 
 w^ould obtain a view such as no modern prison could 
 provide. The one sad note about the place is the sound 
 of the water rippling against the base of the rock, a 
 sound that is half sympathetic, half mocking, at one time 
 caressing and at another maddening with despair. 
 
 178 
 
THE PILLAR IN THE TORTURE CHAMBER, CHILLON 
 
^e^ 
 
XXVIII 
 
 THE PRISONER OF CHILLON 
 
 BONIVARD, the Prisoner of Chillon, has two 
 personalities. There are the Bonivard of fact and 
 the Bonivard of fiction. The two men are totally 
 unlike. One is not even the shadow of the other. For 
 the Bonivard of fiction Byron is in large measure respon- 
 sible, since his famous poem has made this much pitied 
 prisoner known the world over. Byron, in a note to the 
 poem, confesses that "he was not sufficiently aware of 
 the history of Bonivard ' ' when he penned the lines at the 
 inn in Ouchy. The Bonivard of the poem is represented 
 as a martyr to his religion, as a pious man who was 
 thrown into a dungeon because he fought ' ' for the God 
 his foes denied " and because he was prepared to suffer 
 death " for tenets he would not forsake." The Bonivard 
 of fact did not owe his imprisonment to any tenets nor 
 to any matter of faith. His religious views were never 
 in question. He was confined in Chillon by the officers 
 of Savoy because he was a fighting man they feared, 
 because he was a danger to the State and because he had 
 hunted down natives of Savoy and killed them whenever 
 the occasion offered. He had, indeed, maintained for 
 long a vendetta against Savoy, had fought Savoy tooth 
 and nail, and, therefore, when he was captured by the 
 enemy he was very reasonably immured in a prison. 
 
 179 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Bonivard was a learned man according to the standard 
 of the time, was of good family, was daring and fearless, 
 a gallant soldier and, above all, a staunch patriot. He 
 had two grounds for his hostility towards Savoy. In 
 the first place, Savoy was the avowed enemy of Geneva 
 and had proved herself to be an enemy who was both 
 treacherous and relentless, while, in the second place, 
 Bonivard had a grave personal grievance against the state 
 he harassed. 
 
 This was obviously not the devout man about whom 
 Byron wrote with so much sympathy and with such fine 
 pathos ; nor was this the man who is figured in a modern 
 painting placed in the guard-room of the Castle of 
 Chillon. This picture has for its scene the familiar 
 dungeon. Seated on the floor with his back to a column 
 is a dignified man with a calm and benevolent counten- 
 ance. He is handsomely dressed in semi-academical 
 attire. He is spotlessly clean; his moustache and beard 
 are neatly trimmed. It only seems a pity that a man 
 so elegantly clad should be sitting on the ground. By 
 his side are the conventional heap of straw and pitcher 
 of water which are inevitable in prison scenes. Attached 
 to him, in such a w^ay as not to disturb his carefully 
 arranged robes, is a chain of such size that it would hold 
 an elephant. This is the Bonivard of the poet, a noble 
 figure, but not " the prisoner of Chillon." 
 
 The real Bonivard, on the other hand, would be 
 represented by a fierce looking man with wild and 
 frowsy hair, unshaven and unwashed, clad in an unclean 
 shirt, in ragged breeches and still more ragged hose. 
 Possibly by his side w^ould be some fragment of paper, 
 for Bonivard appears to have spent his solitary days in 
 
 1 80 
 
The Prisoner of Ghillon 
 
 writing verses which were not too serious, being, in fact, 
 merely ''trifling fancies and ballads." 
 
 Bonivard was born at Seyssel, near Bellegarde, in 
 1493. When he was 17 he succeeded his uncle as prior 
 of St. Victor. The monastery was in Geneva, standing 
 on the site now occupied by the Russian church. The 
 office was a well-paid sinecure. Bonivard never took 
 holy orders, but was concerned with the monastery solely 
 as a layman. He seems to have been a cheery, light- 
 hearted lad who, with a cock's feather in his cap and a 
 sword by his side, swaggered about Geneva as one of the 
 rollicking company who were going to beard Savoy. So 
 troublesome did these gay conspirators become that in 
 1519 — when Bonivard w^as 26 — the Duke of Savoy took 
 serious steps to put an end to their many acts of 
 aggression. The result was that Bonivard had to fly 
 disguised as a monk, was captured and imprisoned by 
 the duke for two years in the Castle of Grolee. 
 
 The revenues of the monastery of St. Victor were 
 largely derived from lands in Savoy, and thus it was that 
 Bonivard, on his release, found himself robbed of a good 
 deal of his estate. He then, aided by a few hired men, 
 began a guerrilla war of his own against Savoy. He had 
 serious reverses and ran deadly risks, but still he held 
 on, impelled by his dashing and adventurous spirit. 
 Nothing dismayed him ; nothing damped his ardour. He 
 would fight Savoy so long as he had breath in his 
 body, and if none stood with him he would fight alone. 
 Bonivard and his raids became a terror to the Savoyards. 
 He kept the country around Geneva in a condition of 
 alarm. Although a price was placed upon his head, his 
 craft and courage saved him from arrest. 
 
 i8i 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 In 1530 Bonivard (then 37), went to Seyssel to see 
 his mother. On the return journey through Vaud he 
 was betrayed, was captured in a wood above Lausanne, 
 and brought in triumph to Chillon. For the first two 
 years in the fortress he seems to have been well treated 
 and to have occupied a room near to that of the 
 governor; but at the end of this time, either on account 
 of his own misconduct or by order of the duke, he was 
 transferred to the dvmgeon and chained to one of its 
 pillars. 
 
 On March 28th, in the memorable year 1536, Chillon 
 was taken by the Bernese and Bonivard was set free. 
 He returned to Geneva a poor man. He was granted 
 a small pension and was commissioned by the authorities 
 to write a history of the city. This he did ; but the 
 work was written in so racy a style that the punctilious 
 Calvin declined to sanction its publication. The work 
 apparently did not see the light until 1831. 
 
 Bonivard, the chastened dare-devil, found Geneva 
 under the rule of Calvin a dour and melancholy city. 
 He was not infrequently in trouble. He was charged 
 by the Town Council on one occasion with playing back- 
 gammon and with absenting himself from church and, 
 at another time, on account of some impropriety with 
 a serving maid. 
 
 Bonivard's chief troubles, however, were matrimonial. 
 He had four wives after his release from prison.^ The 
 first one — a very worthy lady — died in 1543. The 
 second was an elderly person who had already had two 
 husbands. This lady he beat. He was charged before 
 
 ^"Lake Geneva and Its Literary Landmarks," by F. Gribble. London, 
 1901. 
 
 182 
 
The Prisoner of Ghillon 
 
 the Council for this treatment of his wife; but the 
 Council dismissed the charge on the ground that Madame 
 Bonivard well deserved the beating she got. In fact, it 
 was the wife who was reprimanded by the bench, and 
 not the husband with the stick. The lady, what with 
 being beaten at home and being reprimanded abroad, 
 seems to have taken a dislike to Geneva, for she fled 
 from the city and the unsympathetic eyes of the world. 
 
 The third wife, Pernette Mazue, was a widow. She 
 appears to have been negative and inconspicuous and to 
 have escaped the tongue of gossip. The fourth wife, 
 Catharine de Courtavone, was exceptional and a very 
 disturbing person in the house of an aged scholar. She 
 was a runaway nun, young and pretty. Bonivard had 
 given her shelter out of kindness. The Council, hear- 
 ing of this charitable act, regarded it as a scandal and 
 ordered Bonivard to marry the young person. The nun 
 was not enthusiastic about the match, while Bonivard 
 was so opposed to it that he implored to be let off, 
 pleading his age (he was then 69) and his infirmities. 
 The Court insisted that the scandal could only be 
 repaired by matrimony, so, amid sighs and groans, the 
 marriage took place. The end was a tragedy. Three 
 years after the w^edding the wife was accused of immoral 
 conduct with an unfrocked priest. The aged Bonivard 
 himself did not charge her and, indeed, pleaded for her 
 and gave evidence on her behalf. The sentence passed 
 by puritan Geneva was terrible. The ex-priest was 
 beheaded and the runaway nun was sewn up in a sack 
 and thrown into the Rhone. 
 
 Bonivard died in 1570 at the age of seventy-seven. 
 
 183 
 
XXIX 
 
 BARBILLE OF CHATELARD 
 
 BEHIND Clarens, on a round and very prominent 
 hillock covered with vines, rises the Castle of 
 Chatelard. Its position is commanding and its 
 isolation impressive, for it stands alone, like a sentinel, 
 in the vast opening of the valley. The chateau consists 
 of a massive square building of stone capped by a 
 high-pitched roof. A line of machicolations crowns the 
 biscuit-yellow walls, the upper portions of which are of 
 brick, as in the Chateau of Lausanne, to which Chatelard 
 bears a close resemblance. The windows are few and 
 have been modernized on the lines of the 18th century. 
 The general impression conveyed by the castle is that 
 of stern simplicity, self-confidence and immense strength. 
 By the side of the keep is a small square tower which 
 looks as if it had budded off from the parent building 
 and would grow up like it in the course of time. On 
 the north side is a low and more modern house with a 
 round tower at its north-west corner. The outworks 
 which once protected the castle on the hill-side have 
 vanished, together with the enceinte w^all. A trace of 
 this wall, however, survives, together with (on the north 
 side) the base of a tower and the head of a stair which 
 is reputed to have once led to a subterranean passage of 
 much mystery. The chateau has in recent years been 
 
 184 
 
Barbille of Ghatelard 
 
 very judiciously restored by M. Marquis-Du-Bochet, in 
 whose family it still remains. At the foot of the castle 
 hill is the hamlet of Tavel. The name is significant, as 
 will appear in the account which follows. 
 
 Chatelard was in its earliest days a very great 
 possession. The domain extended from Vevey to Chillon. 
 Some memory of its vastness still clings to it, for the 
 present commune of Chatelard includes no fewer than 
 32 villages and hamlets as well as the town of Clarens. 
 The territory, which was originally held by the Abbey 
 of St. Maurice, came into the hands of the Bishops of 
 Sion about the commencement of the 11th century. 
 The history of Chatelard — a turbulent and very complex 
 story — is admirably set forth in the Dictionnaire His- 
 torique. It is a story of gradual disintegration, of a 
 loss of lands here and of a loss of rights there, of many 
 successive owners and of quarrels and fighting. It is a 
 story with many odd details bearing upon the eternally 
 thorny subject of taxation. For example, the people in 
 1355 are found to be complaining of certain aides which 
 had to be forthcoming on three special occasions. First, 
 when the lord became a chevalier ; secondly, when he 
 made a journey across the sea, and, thirdly, when one 
 of his daughters married. This is interesting as an early 
 protest against compulsion in the matter (1) of subscrib- 
 ing to a testimonial, (2) of paying another person's 
 travelling expenses and (3) of giving wedding presents to 
 exalted people you do not like. 
 
 In the 13th century the Montreux portion of the 
 domain was acquired by the Count of Savoy and the 
 much curtailed estate of Chatelard came into the hands 
 of the family of La Sarra. The chateau was built in 
 
 i85 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 1440 as a stronghold and place of refuge by Jean de 
 Gingins. He founded the barony of Chatelard, which 
 carried with it the prerogatives of an autocratic prince. 
 The chateau w^as taken and sacked by the Germans in 
 1476, but was repaired in 1502 by Franyois de Gingins. 
 It then passed through the hands of many holders, among 
 whom are the Allinges of Coudree, of which house 
 mention is made in Chapter ix. In 1596 Chatelard w^as 
 sold to Gabriel de Blonay, and in this family it remained 
 until the end of the 17th century, when the heiress, 
 Fran^oise de Blonay, married Etienne de Tavel, ba?i- 
 neret ^ of Vevey, and so made the de Tavels lords of 
 Chatelard. 
 
 The wedding .was romantic, not in itself, but by 
 reason of the fact that it led to a de Tavel becoming 
 master of Chatelard, and in this way it served to show 
 how discreet and judicial are the adjustments brought 
 about by the Hand of Fate. 
 
 Some fifty years earlier Barbille Nicolaide de Blonay, 
 the beautiful daughter of the Lord of Chatelard, became 
 betrothed to a de Tavel. The youth went away to the 
 wars and was absent for so unreasonable a period that a 
 certain Jean de Blonay (Lord of Bernex in Savoy and a 
 remote relative of the lady) took the opportunity of 
 making love to her. He succeeded well, so wtU that 
 the two became ardently attached. Barbille 's father, 
 very properly, declined to consent to their marriage or, 
 indeed, even to sanction their acquaintance. Thereupon 
 Jean of Bernex hid, one winter's day, among the trees 
 
 ^ The title is derived from banniire, and signified originally a standard-bearer 
 in war. Later the " bannerets " assumed the honour of knighthood, and were 
 known as chevaliers bannerets or leaders of feudal troops. In the 17th century 
 the title was purely honorary. 
 
 i86 
 
THE CASTLE OF CHATELARD 
 
Barbille of Chatelard 
 
 by Chatelard, abducted the lady according to the methods 
 of the time, and carried her off to Savoy, where they 
 were married on January 9th, 1642.^ All this was in 
 accord with the tradition and the procedure of mediaeval 
 courtship. 
 
 In due course young de Tavel returned from his 
 protracted service at the front. He, no doubt, hurried 
 breathlessly up the steep hill of Chatelard, in front of 
 his men, clasping in his hot hand some rare present for 
 his bride that was to be. At the entry there w^as no 
 Barbille to welcome him with open arms, but only the 
 old Lord of Chatelard, stuttering and vague, who blurted 
 out in gasps that his misguided daughter had bolted off 
 with another man and had incontinently married the 
 same. 
 
 The returned warrior naturally became very violent, 
 stormed and stamped and " said things " about the 
 thieving Jean of Bernex. The family of the missing 
 lady joined heartily in the clamour he made. The result 
 was that between the houses of Chatelard and of Bernex 
 there arose what — in modern parlance — would be called 
 " a fearful row." So fearful was it that the dispute was 
 referred, in heated terms, to the judgment of the King 
 of France and the Duke of Savoy. As Jean and his 
 abducted bride lived on the French side of the Lake, it 
 is no matter of surprise that the two potentates decided 
 in favour of the young couple and apparently considered 
 that Jean was justified in running off with the lady. 
 
 This decision did not satisfy the de Blonays, who 
 brought the matter before Their Excellencies of Berne. 
 As Chatelard was on the Swiss shore of the Lake it is, 
 
 ' Read. Op. cit. 
 187 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 again, no matter of surprise that Berne sided with 
 Barbille's bereaved parent and with the distracted young 
 man who had just returned from the wars. Berne, with 
 great sternness, at once ordered Jean to report himself 
 at Chillon. 
 
 Jean, safe in Savoy, merely laughed at this order, 
 but Their Excellencies, who considered it no laughing 
 matter, proceeded to pass sentence in default. The 
 sentence was in these terms. The damsel must be at 
 once returned to Chatelard as if she were a bundle of 
 stolen goods. Jean must pay to de Tavel 350 double 
 louis in compensation for the loss of his bride and for 
 the laceration of his heart, while the old Lord of Chate- 
 lard was to be reprimanded for his negligence in 
 allowing so pretty a girl as Barbille to bolt out of the 
 castle on a winter's night. FaiUng compliance with 
 these terms, Jean w^as to be arrested. 
 
 But Jean was safe in Savoy. The silly folk of Berne 
 amused him. He supposed they could not realize how 
 ridiculous they w^ere. Anyhow, he defied arrest, declined 
 to pay a single louis to de Tavel or to anyone else and, 
 above all, declined to surrender his loyal and well-beloved 
 Barbille. 
 
 So nothing came of all these strong and imposing 
 actions. The storm died down, the sky was blue once 
 more, and possibly — when the summer came — Jean and 
 Barbille would climb the hill above Bernex and, looking 
 across the water at the old Castle of Chatelard, w^ould 
 regard it as the scene of the most fortunate moment in 
 their lives. 
 
 1 88 
 
XXX 
 
 VEVEY 
 
 " "^ TEVAI is a town more beautiful in its simplicity 
 %/ than any I have ever seen." Thus wrote 
 ^ Shelley in the year 1816. And even now, 
 after the passage of a hundred years, the same can be 
 said with assurance of the venerable town. By the side 
 of its gorgeous neighbours, Lausanne and Montreux, 
 Vevey retains a simplicity and modesty which is, by 
 comparison, very becoming. It does not profess to be 
 beautiful nor to be brilliant, but it claims to be comfort- 
 able, and in that purpose it succeeds. It is matronly 
 rather than modish. Its outlook upon life is that of the 
 sober middle-aged. If it lacks the boisterous enthusiasm 
 of youth, it lacks also the listlessness of advancing years. 
 It is what H. G. Wells would call " a nutritious town." 
 It is much in favour with the English, who are attracted 
 to the place because it is homely and steady, not puffed 
 up nor given to vanity, and is possessed, moreover, of a 
 climate that is agreeable and reasonable the whole year 
 round. 
 
 Vevey is large, having a population of 13,644, but 
 then it has always been a place of importance because 
 it stands upon the highway that led from Italy into 
 Gaul. The Romans, who were no mean judges in the 
 selecting of sites, had a settlement at Vevey. It occupied 
 
 189 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 the ca!>tern end of the present town, jsUinding iihove the 
 Rue dii Simplon and therefore some Httle way from the 
 Lake. The Burguudians, too, made much of the place, 
 for the hist of the kings of Burgundy had a palace 
 here and, moreover, a Burgundian cemetery has been 
 unearthed in the precincts of the town. 
 
 Vevey has seen in its time a great deal of trouble, 
 and that is, perhaps, why it is now so subdued and 
 serious. It stood on the boundary between two disputing 
 powers, like a miniature Belgium, and was, therefore, 
 the scene of violent collisions and disturbance. It was 
 besieged or pillaged or burnt with some regularity. 
 Consistent fighting betw^een orthodox and properly con- 
 stituted combatants it could tolerate, but it was liable to 
 attacks from irregular bodies, made up of outcasts and 
 scoundrels, who were very trying. For instance, in 1444 
 Vevey was laid >vaste by a most pernicious company of 
 freebooters who called themselves Ecorcheurs or flayers. 
 Attacks delivered by ordinary, nicely drilled soldiers 
 were bad enough, but an onslaught by men who made 
 a profession of flaying people alive was horrible to a 
 degree. 
 
 As certain children have diseases worse than others, 
 so Vevey seems to have suffered all its misfortunes in an 
 exaggerated form. If it had the plague, it had it very 
 badly, and if it .was flooded, it was flooded beyond all 
 reason. If it was set alight, it burned like a bonfire, 
 as was the case in the conflagration of 1688, when 230 
 houses w^re reduced to ashes. 
 
 Vevey has had, in succession, a number of overlords 
 and has experienced a change of ownership w^hich must 
 have been most unsettling. In the 11th century the 
 
 190 
 
Vevey 
 
 Bishop of Sion possessed one part of Vevey and the 
 Bishop of Lausanne the other, an anxious position, for 
 bishops in those days were among the most grasping and 
 cantankerous of men. The Counts of Savoy at one time 
 forced themselves on the place, being very pushing land- 
 grabbers, while at other periods the seigneur was the 
 Lord of Blonay or the Lord of Oron or some other 
 potentate. The lords of Blonay in the 13th and 14th 
 centuries had, in fact, two seigniorial houses in Vevey. 
 One — known always as the chateau — was very strong, 
 had a high square donjon with heavy walls. It stood on 
 the edge of the Lake on the spot now occupied by the 
 Hotel des Trois Couronnes. Its position serves to 
 explain the name of the adjacent street — the Rue du 
 Chateau. 
 
 A still more involved period was reached when Vevey 
 was divided into a number of separate hourgs, subject to 
 different lords. It then resembled a building made up 
 of self-contained flats let to quarrelsome tenants. Each 
 hourg had its castle, its walls and gates, its drawbridge 
 and its moat. Each also had its chapel and its bake- 
 house. Of such chapels Read names seven. Remains 
 of certain of the chateaux survived even into the 18th 
 century, at which time the boundaries of the old 
 *' quarters " were still indicated on the maps. 
 
 Vevey in the days of the old hourgs must have been 
 the most picturesque town on the Lake. From the water 
 sprang a line of walls and towers, with here and there 
 a water gate or a little quay for boats. Within the 
 enceinte rose the square keep of this lord or that, with 
 around it many a turret and many a spire and many a 
 gabled roof. The lanes, narrow and dark, would pass 
 
 191 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 between high walls and by weedy moats, by bastions and 
 drawbridges with their beams and chains. There would 
 be a garden or two, some simple shops with swinging 
 signs, a cluster of fisher huts and benches where old men 
 sat to gossip. The streets would be made bright, now 
 and then, by the banners of knights and the gleam of 
 their armour, by the gay jackets of the bowmen and the 
 more gaudy liveries of the squires. Here and there, in 
 the crowd, would be a monk in a brown frock, a court 
 jester giggling at the maids, a singer >\ith a lute or a 
 boatman laden with oar and net. The quiet of the lane 
 would be broken by the sound of chapel bells, by a chant 
 sung in a convent, by revellers in a tavern or by a 
 trumpet call from the vault of a guard-room. 
 
 In the 16th century, or before, Vevey was surrounded 
 by ramparts and possessed eight gates. The walls were 
 levelled as the town grew up, so that the last of the old 
 defences disappeared in the 18th century. One gate, 
 that known as the Villeneuve Gate, seems to have clung 
 to its old position until as late as 1803, when the pickaxe 
 and crowbar of some town improvement committee laid 
 it low\ 
 
 The houses of Vevey, although old at heart, have all 
 been modernized, and so have lost their picturesqueness. 
 It is of little interest to stand before a quite modern 
 building with plate-glass ^\dndows and be told that it 
 was once a palace of the kings of Burgundy, or to con- 
 template a church that might have been built a year ago 
 and be assured that it occupies the site of a convent of 
 St. Claire which was founded in 1422. One of the few 
 old reUcs in Vevey is the statue reputed to be that of 
 its patron saint, St. Martin. The saint stands on a 
 
 192 
 
Vevey 
 
 column, at the foot of which is a tinkhng fountain. He 
 is depicted in the guise of a Roman warrior. The ferocity 
 of his features has been toned down by wind and rain, 
 while the sun has tanned him, from helmet to buskin, 
 an unpretentious yellow. As the protector of the city 
 he is hardly more impressive than Han Andersen's Little 
 Tin Soldier. 
 
 The house that was occupied by Edmund Ludlow, 
 one of the judges of Charles I, has been long pulled 
 down and its site covered by the Hotel du Lac. Three 
 of the so-called regicides came to Vevey, namely, Ludlow, 
 Lisle (who signed the death w^arrant) and Broughton 
 (who read the sentence of death). As Charles II was 
 known to have sent emissaries throughout Europe to 
 hunt down the murderers of his father and to compass 
 their deaths, these three fugitives passed a life of great 
 uneasiness. They were welcomed by the people of 
 Vevey with effusion and were given a public reception 
 as well as a present of wine. A tablet on the wall of 
 the Hotel du Lac speaks of Ludlow as " the defender 
 of the liberties of his country " and states that he had 
 lived at Vevey " with the sympathy of the inhabitants " 
 from 1662 to 1693. Lisle did not feel comfortable at 
 Vevey, so he moved to Lausanne, where he was promptly 
 assassinated, being shot through the back in August, 
 1664. 
 
 The care of Ludlow gave the authorities of Vevey 
 considerable concern. His house was fortified and 
 guarded. Every boat that approached the beach was 
 viewed with suspicion. Every tramp who lurched into 
 the town was seized and overhauled with a thoroughness 
 
 which was exhausting and painful to him. Innocent 
 
 N 193 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 tourists who with curious eves strolled gaping through 
 the streets were dogged by soft-footed men and peeped 
 at from behind corners and from dark entries. As for 
 the " doubtful character," he was hunted like a mad 
 dog, and was glad enough to find himself, bruised and 
 breathless, in the hospitable dust of the high road. 
 Ludlow's chamber was provided with a bell at the 
 sound of which all citizens were ordered to arm and rush 
 to the Englishman's house, seizing on the way any 
 strangers they might chance to meet. Ludlow lived in 
 such a state of persistent unrest that he must have 
 suffered from what modern physicians call " anxiety 
 neurosis." Gribble gives a very striking picture of his 
 home life, in which he describes " Lieutenant General 
 Edmund Ludlow anxiously searching the horizon, with 
 one hand screening his eyes and the other gripping the 
 bell-rope.'* ^ Both Ludlow and Broughton are buried at 
 St. Martin's, Vevey, where a tablet has been erected to 
 their memory. 
 
 The fine church of St. Martin, standing as it does 
 on high ground above the town, forms the landmark of 
 Vevey. Its great square tower, capped by four little 
 turrets, can be seen for miles and from both sides of 
 the Lake. The church is said to date from the 12th 
 century, but was rebuilt in its present form three 
 centuries later. Restorations and a liberal coating of 
 cement have robbed it of much of its interest, but the 
 grand old tower has happily escaped the hand of the 
 spoiler. 
 
 Vevey possesses pleasant public gardens, a fine 
 parade, a picturesque clock tower and a vast market 
 
 » Op. cit., p. 157. 
 194 
 
/I 
 
 A STREET IN VEVEY 
 

 
Vevey 
 
 square. In this Place du Marche are the house of 
 Madame de Warens as well as the hotel, La Clef, where 
 Rousseau stayed in 1730. The lower part of the latter 
 building is occupied by modern shops, but the upper part 
 has probably been but little changed in the last two 
 hundred years. 
 
 Those in search of the picturesque should visit Corsie . 
 Corsier is virtually a suburb of Vevey, but it would 
 repudiate such association, for Corsier, although now 
 only a village, has held a high place in the land and can 
 boast of a history almost as distinguished as that of its 
 more imposing neighbour. It has a wonderful church. 
 The outside of the building is deplorable, presenting 
 merely a cube of recent plaster pierced by modern and 
 anomalous windows. The church within is low, plain, 
 severe and most impressive, having the appearance rather 
 of a crypt than of a church. It presents a nave and 
 aisles built up of massive round arches supported upon 
 heavy square pillars of immense size. Its age is obviously 
 very great. 
 
 The choir is less ancient, for it pertains to the 15th 
 century. It is in the Gothic style and has a fine vaulted 
 roof. On this roof are some very remarkable paintings, 
 belonging to the century just named. These archaic 
 pictures represent the angel of St. Matthew, the lion of 
 St. Mark, the bull of St. Luke and the eagle of St. 
 John. The designs were brought to light when a coat- 
 ing of whitewash was removed from the vault in 1889. 
 On the wall of the choir are the figures of angels in 
 fresco, each holding a cross surrounded by a circle. The 
 church, it is needless to say, has been made a national 
 monument. 
 
 195 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The village is full of old houses of much charm. 
 Opposite to the church is a fine house — now a cafe — 
 bearing the date 1592. It has a deep-sunk entry made 
 up of a series of diminishing round arches which follow 
 a descending stair. On the stone framework of the 
 windows are carved a number of quaint and grotesque 
 heads. The whole building is a pleasing specimen of 
 its period as well as a worthy companion of the church, 
 which was already very old when the house was built. 
 
 196 
 

 a: 
 D 
 O 
 sa 
 en 
 < 
 X 
 
 X 
 H 
 
 O 
 as 
 
 N 
 
 a 
 w 
 
 Q 
 
 oi 
 
 O 
 H 
 
 a 
 a 
 
 D 
 
 a 
 
XXXI 
 
 LA TOUR DE PEILZ 
 
 ADJOINING Vevey and now practically absorbed 
 by it is the little town of La Tour de Peilz, 
 ^ once a fortified place whose castle or tower was 
 a famous stronghold. The word Peilz, although pro- 
 nounced "paix," has nothing to do with peace. In 
 the Dictionnaire Historique it is surmised that it is 
 derived from the Roman gentilice " Pellius." The 
 name in 1453 was Tour de Peil. 
 
 La Tour is a very old domain that belonged to the 
 Bishops of Sion in the 12th century and was acquired 
 by Count Pierre of Savoy by purchase in 1255. The 
 chateau dates from this period. Amadeus V, Count of 
 Savoy, known in history as Le Grand, made his residence 
 at the tower in the latter years of the 13th century. It 
 was even then a fortified town with three gates. 
 
 La Tour de Peilz was one of the three great castles 
 of the district, the others being Blonay and Chatelard. 
 It has had a distinguished and stirring history. The 
 Dictionnaire Historique gives a list of its chatelains from 
 1288 to 1536. These noblemen possessed at one time a 
 wide jurisdiction which, between the years 1314 and 
 1370, included even the town of Vevey. The more 
 important documents relating to La Tour have been 
 made public by M. Naef in an interesting volume.^ 
 
 1 " La Tour de Peilz." Lausanne, 1892. 
 ' 197 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The gravest period in the history of the Tower was 
 in 1476, when it was besieged by the Bernese and 
 defended by the lord of Chatelard. Its fortifications 
 being in poor condition, the stronghold fell after a 
 spirited defence and was submitted to the flames. The 
 people of the place were massacred with such brutal 
 thoroughness that only eight escaped, and these either 
 plunged into the Lake or got away in boats. 
 
 The chateau at this period had three towers, a round 
 tower at either end (east and west) and a square tower 
 about the centre. As a result of the siege only one 
 tower — that on the east — was habitable, and even it was 
 roofless. It was used for a long time as a prison, and 
 within its walls the doors of the cells are still to be seen. 
 In 1749 the castle was rebuilt. The two round towers 
 were repaired, and these remain to this day. The 
 square tower was pulled down, while the house that now 
 exists was built on a portion of its site. At the same 
 time the terrace by the Lake was constructed. The 
 chateau of to-day forms a prominent and attractive 
 feature of the Lake. It is occupied by Sir Horace and 
 Lady Pinching, Lady Pinching being the representative 
 of the old and distinguished Swiss family in whose 
 possession the Tower has long remained. The chateau 
 consists of a solid square building, with modernized 
 windows, extending between the two old round towers, 
 the one to tEe east being still without a roof. Both have 
 been very carefully preserved. On the terrace in front 
 of the house are stalwart Lombardy poplars, while 
 behind is the moat, which has been incorporated in the 
 beautiful garden of the place. By the side of the castle 
 is the harbour, full of fishing boats and of craft with 
 
 198 
 
CHATEAU DE LA TOUR DE PEILZ 
 
La Tour de Peilz 
 
 great swallow-wing sails. It affords as charming a picture 
 of a small freshwater haven as could be imagined. 
 
 The church of La Tour, built in 1794, occupies the 
 site of the 13th century chapel of St. Theodule. The 
 building itself is of no interest, but the choir, which is 
 very small and out of proportion to the nave, is believed 
 to be a part of the ancient chapel. It has a faintly 
 pointed roof, while the vault of the nave is round. This 
 poor little apse has been so smothered with plaster, 
 according to the custom of the country, that all traces 
 of age or of architectural detail have been lost. The 
 tower of the church, with its ingenious stone steeple, 
 stands over the only surviving gate of La Tour. This 
 gate, which is said to date from the second half of the 
 13th century, has been restored with such vigour that it 
 might have been built within the memory of a child 
 of thirteen. 
 
 On one side of the gate, in the Place des Anciens 
 Fosses, is a portion of the old wall of the town. It has 
 happily escaped " doing up," is beautiful with ivy and 
 is a precious relic of the gallant little hourg. 
 
 i(j9 
 
XXXII 
 
 THE ESCAPADE OF MADAME DE WARENS 
 
 AGREx\T deal has been written about Madame de 
 Warens.^ And yet, but for her association with 
 ^ Rousseau and the pretty, if hazardous, story 
 which cUngs around Les Charmettes, she would have 
 remained unknown to the world except, perhaps, for a 
 certain dramatic episode that took place in the church 
 of St. Mary at Evian. 
 
 The most moving adventure in this lady's life was 
 her running away from her husband at Vevey. It was 
 not a creditable enterprise, being, in fact, disgraceful 
 from beginning to end ; but it was carried through with 
 such coolness, verve and ingenuity as to be a notable 
 feat. When a woman, lacking in means, leaves her 
 husband's home, alone and without the romantic 
 embellishments of an elopement, the event is apt to be 
 a little squalid and drab. It conjures up in the mind 
 the picture of a pallid woman, sniffing hysterically and 
 creeping on tiptoe out of a chilly house in the early 
 hours of the morning, before the world is awake and 
 when no one feels too cheerful. Then follow a dis- 
 tracted journey, a lukewarm reception at the house of 
 an astonished friend and finally much discomfort due to 
 remorse, to a scarcity of underclothing and a superfluity 
 
 * Read's account (" Historic Studies in Vaud," etc.) is one of the most detailed. 
 
 200 
 
The Escapade of Madame de Warens 
 
 of advice. And yet, in most cases, the poor woman has 
 some justification for her act. 
 
 Now, Madame de Warens had no means of her own 
 and no justification for her conduct, and yet she carried 
 out her coup .without the least squalor, without any 
 scarcity of clothing, without remorse and without the 
 tiresome importunities of moralizing friends. She, 
 indeed, absconded in great comfort and accomplished 
 with flair what may be termed a running-away de luxe. 
 The details of the adventure are as follows. 
 
 Franyoise Louise de la Tour, the daughter of a 
 family of position, was born at Vevey in March, 1699. 
 She married on September 22nd, 1713, Sebastian de 
 Loys, son of the seigneur of Warens. He was twenty- 
 five at the time and she fourteen. She was married from 
 school, and the bridegroom on the occasion paid her 
 debts, which — for a child — were not negligible. As a 
 schoolgirl she must have been rather alarming, for she 
 was far in advance of her times. She was precocious 
 and wrote letters which, for solemnity and precision of 
 language, would have done credit to a woman of sixty. 
 
 The young couple settled in Vevey, in a house still 
 standing in the Place du Marche, where Madame de 
 Warens — aged 14 — set at once to work to " have a good 
 time." She succeeded. She was fond of pleasure, of 
 change, of excitement and of cheerful society. Her time 
 was soon occupied with parties and picnics, with recep- 
 tions, with excursions on the Lake and javmts in the 
 woods. She had a little country house, called Le Basset, 
 just above Clarens, and there in the summer many weeks 
 were spent. 
 
 As her husband's income was limited, Frangoise 
 
 201 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Louise began to find herself with inadequate funds for 
 her pleasures. She began to find life dull and to be 
 haunted by the spectre of boredom. She had little to 
 do in her home, for she had no children. In order 
 to make money the ingenious lady started a stocking 
 factory at Vevey to produce silk stockings. Unfortun- 
 ately the people of Vaud did not wear silk stockings, so 
 the business did not prosper. 
 
 Now^ comes the year 1726. The lady was then twenty- 
 seven. She was of middle height, round and plump, with 
 fair hair, blue eyes, a dimpled chin and a very pretty 
 mouth. That she was fascinating, vivacious, emotional 
 and impulsive may be gathered. The husband at this 
 time was thirty-eight. He was a poor creature, dull, 
 stolid and matter-of-fact, who did his duty according to 
 his lights, was unsuspecting and, above all, a ponderous 
 bore. He could claim — as he did claim — that he w^as 
 eminently respectable, but he was the last husband who 
 would ever have satisfied Mademoiselle de la Tour. It 
 must, at the same time, be remembered that a rigid form 
 of Protestantism ruled in Vaud at this period and that 
 it failed to give full scope to Madame de Warens' 
 conception of the '* joy of living." 
 
 The scheme that she concocted in her busy brain 
 was on no petty lines. She was to be rid of Vevey, of 
 her stupid husband, of her dour friends, of her debts 
 and her bankrupt stocking factory. She w^as to have 
 freedom, money, a complete change, every w^orldly 
 comfort and a good social position. It was an ambitious, 
 programme, but the lady — incredible as it may seem — 
 carried it through to the letter. 
 
 In the autumn of 1725 she started on an exploring 
 
 202 
 
The Escapade of Madame de Warens 
 
 expedition. She went to Aix "on account of some 
 pains " and visited, in the course of her quest, Geneva, 
 Chambery and other places. Savoy pleased her ; so that, 
 after due investigation, it was to Savoy that she resolved 
 to come. In the summer of 1726 she persuaded a 
 doctor to advise her to take the waters at Evian for the 
 relief of the same " pains." Her dolt of a husband, of 
 course, agreed. She got together some money, ordered 
 a brigantine for her journey and proceeded to put her 
 luggage on board. The landing place was close to the 
 house. M. de Warens, in a letter, says *' she always 
 took with her a great deal of luggage." Certainly on 
 this occasion she did. She took all her clothes to the 
 last ribbon and all her jewellery. She also took the 
 entire contents of the plate closet, leaving for her 
 husband's use some old spoons and forks and an antique 
 salt-cellar. She took all the kitchen utensils she could, 
 all the best linen and coverlets and even the mattresses, 
 together with odd pieces of furniture. Her husband was, 
 of course, ignorant of this compendious outfit, which was 
 certainly excessive for a three weeks' stay at a spa. 
 
 He was out for the day when she was busy with her 
 packing and also out for supper the same evening. 
 When he returned he found her shut up in her room 
 and still packing. She advised him (through the locked 
 door) to go to bed. At the unreasonable hour of 2 a.m. 
 she knocked him up to say good-bye. Being a dutiful 
 husband, he accompanied her to the boat in his dressing- 
 gown. She took her own maid with her. On parting 
 she solemnly handed to her husband — as every good 
 housewife should do — the key of the plate closet, which 
 she said she had carefully locked. She did not inform 
 
 203 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 him that she had carefully emptied it before she turned 
 the key. He, no doubt, expressed a kindly hope that 
 her " pains " would be mitigated by the taking of the 
 waters. The amazing lady set sail for Evian on the 
 morning of July 13th, 1726, with a smile of supreme 
 satisfaction on her face. 
 
 M. de Warens, still deluded and still dutiful, went 
 over to Evian to see his lady on August 4th. She was 
 most agreeable, but at once asked him to send her a 
 certain ' ' beautiful cane with a golden head ' ' for her 
 use in walking when she went to the spa. She begged 
 him also to forward Bayle's ''Historical and Critical 
 Dictionary " in five volumes. She was not taking the 
 waters nor was she reading dictionaries, but both the 
 cane and the books meant money, and she was deter- 
 mined to get all she could. She seems to have had just 
 one twinge of conscience at the last, for when she bade 
 the silly man adieu she said, with a sigh, " My poor 
 husband, what will become of you? " He left Evian the 
 same day. On reaching Vevey de Warens the deluded 
 sent her his gold-headed cane and the learned volumes 
 by a special messenger. Had he stayed in Evian a little 
 longer he might have heard a great deal, for much had 
 happened between the time of her departure from 
 Vevey and his dutiful visit. 
 
 Madame de Warens was aware that to live in comfort 
 in Savoy she must become a Catholic and, further, she 
 was aware that she must get money. Now a convert 
 in Savoy was at that moment an asset of importance, 
 and if the convert chanced to be the wife of a nobleman 
 in Protestant Vaud a person of great spiritual value. 
 Franyoise, therefore, had resolved to join the Church 
 
 204 
 
The Escapade of Madame de Warens 
 
 of Rome, and the next thing was to make money out 
 of her conversion. She had aheady a plan worked out 
 in her busy brain. The fact that she left Vevey on 
 July 13th was not an accident, for she knew that on 
 July 14th the Duke of Savoy (Victor Amadeus II) 
 would be at Evian, and would attend the parish church 
 in company with the bishop. Here was her chance. 
 She went to the church of St. Mary and took her place 
 just inside the door. 
 
 What followed may be given in the words of M. de 
 Conzie, who was a member of the duke's suite. The 
 duke was staying at the de Blonay chateau at Evian 
 with the son of that Madame de Blonay who had been 
 buried alive at St. Paul, as has been recorded in 
 Chapter xviii. M. de Conzie writes : 
 
 *' The Prince went to Mass in the parochial church accom- 
 panied simply by some seigneurs of his court, among whom 
 was the Bishop of Annecy. Scarcely had the duke entered the 
 church when Madame de Warens seized the prelate by his cassock 
 and threw herself at his feet, saying ' In manus tuas, Domine, 
 commendo spiritum meum.' The bishop stopped, and aiding 
 her to rise, talked five or six minutes with this young penitent, 
 who from thence went directly to the lodgings of the prelate ; 
 and as soon as Mass was finished he joined her there." ^ 
 
 The result of this carefully-planned dramatic per- 
 formance was a presentation to the duke, a pension of 
 1,000 livres a year from that prince and an additional 
 income of 1,000 livres a year from the Bishops of 
 Annecy and Maurienne.^ The fortunes of Franyoise 
 Louise — aged 27 — were made. 
 
 1 Quoted by Read, op. cit. 
 
 * The joint sum would be equivalent to about £80 per annum, a goodly 
 income in those times. 
 
 205 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 There was just one thing more. She was to go to 
 a convent at Annecy and she wanted to leave Evian in 
 style. So she told a dire story of a possible pursuit by 
 infuriated relatives, and was therefore conducted to 
 Annecy by an armed escort provided by the duke. The 
 lady seems to have started for Annecy just after the 
 visit of her husband on August 4th. 
 
 The messenger whom M. de Warens had sent to 
 Evian with the gold cane and the dictionary came 
 back on August 7th and, meeting his master in the 
 road, bluntly exclaimed, " Monsieur, you have no 
 more a wife ! She left Evian this morning to follow 
 the duke to Turin." The information was not quite 
 exact, but it was enough for de Warens, who at 
 once bolted home and rushed up to the plate closet. 
 He found it empty. He then threw open his wife's 
 wardrobes. They also were empty but for a few rags. 
 He immediately took horse and galloped to Geneva, 
 not to regain his wife, but in the hope of retrieving 
 some of his stolen property. He failed totally. 
 
 In a little w^hile he received a nice chatty letter 
 from the astounding lady, written from Annecy, giving 
 all her news and suggesting that he should become a 
 Catholic and should pay her a visit in her new home. 
 He went to see her as she proposed. She took care 
 that the interview was well staged. He saw her in bed. 
 She wept picturesquely and begged very prettily to be 
 forgiven. He stayed at the inn, but they had breakfast 
 and dinner together. She talked mostly about religion, 
 but he had not come to Annecy to discuss points of 
 doctrine, but to discuss the stocking factory, because, 
 as she had become a Catholic, her property in Vevey 
 
 2Q6 
 
The Escapade of Madame de Warens 
 
 (such as it was) would be sequestrated to the State. She 
 signed such documents as he wished, with the result that 
 in due course the bankrupt factory became his own. 
 He was throughout this crisis a great deal more anxious 
 to save something out of the wreck than to secure 
 possession of this fluttering, theatrical young woman. 
 He writes in a letter to a friend : "As I quitted her 
 she was seized with a sort of faintness which was so 
 short that it convinced me she was a veritable 
 comedian." 
 
 She had just a few moments of uneasiness, however, 
 for long after the Evian exploit she wrote to M. de 
 Conzie : 
 
 *' My dear friend, will you believe me when I tell you that 
 for two years after my abjuration of Protestantism I never went 
 to bed without feeling a kind of goose flesh all over my body, 
 resulting from the perplexity into which I was phuiged." 
 
 A divorce for "malicious desertion" was declared 
 on February 24th, 1727.^ 
 
 In 1728 Madame de Warens met with Rousseau, 
 then a lad of sixteen. About 1736 she took the pretty 
 house, Les Charmettes, just outside Chambery. The 
 poor lady died in the town of Chambery, in destitution 
 and obscurity, at the age of sixty-three. Her place of 
 burial is unknown. Her husband predeceased her by 
 eight years. Rousseau's treatment of this kind-hearted 
 if erring woman was such as to justify the opinion that 
 "in the long range of historical personages whom the 
 centuries present to us there is perhaps no more repulsive 
 figure than that of J. J. Rousseau as a human being. 
 
 ^ " Madame de Warens " (Mitnoires, elc, de la Suisse Romande); par A. de 
 Montet Tome iii. 1890. 
 
 207 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 He is absolutely disgusting." ^ The only plea that could 
 be urged on his behalf is that he was undoubtedly of 
 unsound mind. 
 
 The house that Madame de Warens occupied in 
 Vevey is in the north-east corner of the Place du Marche 
 and is now known as the Maison Nicole. It is rather 
 hidden from view by a row of new shops. It is a pretty 
 house of two stories, has a fine roof and is composed of 
 a central part with a wing on either side. The windows 
 are modern. The entrance is approached by a double 
 flight of steps, and down these very steps the smiling 
 lady, with her pockets stuffed with household loot, must 
 have tripped when she was on her way to the boat and 
 was leaving Vevey for ever. Her country house, Le 
 Basset, was demolished in 1889. Photographs of it 
 show a small rustic house among the vineyards, very 
 simple, but made attractive by quaint windows and a 
 long covered balcony on the upper floor. 
 
 iRead. Op, cit, vol. 2, p. 116. 
 
 208 
 
XXXIIl 
 
 BLONAY CASTLE 
 
 ABROAD valley, breaking its way through the 
 far hills, rolls down to the Lake at Vevey. High 
 ^ up on the floor of this league-wide slope stands 
 the Castle of Blonay. Its position is superb. It stands 
 alone on an isolated mound, the one dominant feature of 
 the landscape. So it has stood for over seven hundred 
 years. It is surrounded by a green, contented country 
 of homely meadows and slumbering, shadowy woods. 
 Towering above it are the massive heights of Les 
 Pleiades, which form the eastern wall of the valley. 
 
 The castle realizes to the full the romance with which 
 it has been surrounded for so many centuries. It is 
 most impressive when viewed from the lower stretches 
 of the valley on a grey day — a November afternoon, let 
 it be, about the time of the setting of the sun. The 
 castle then stands up against the background of mist as 
 a thing of enchantment. Its height appears enormous. 
 It is white and spectral -looking, a vast mysterious 
 presence rather than a fabric of solid stone. 
 
 As a writer in the Dictionnaire Historique says, the 
 
 family of Blonay is "one of the most important and 
 
 probably the most ancient in the Pays de Vaud." In 
 
 these days of change it is impossible to contemplate 
 
 without a sense of awe a house which has been in the 
 o 209 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 occupation of one family for seven hundred years, and 
 is still held by the descendants of that Othon de Blonay 
 who led his rough men-at-arms into this quiet valley 
 about the year 1000. There was just one break in the 
 centuries, when Blonay and its castle were ceded in 
 1752 to Rodolphe de Graffenried ; but the domain 
 returned again to the ancient family in 1806. 
 
 The history of the Blonays provides a moving and 
 picturesque story. Among the lords of the castle have 
 been heroic men whose deeds are almost mythical. 
 Crusaders bearing the banner of the Cross, men who 
 have fought beyond the seas, knights whose lances have 
 gained glory in the lists, grey-headed men of affairs and 
 young bloods who have made the country ring with 
 their gallantries. Still throughout the ages their 
 trenchant motto has been upheld — *' Purs comme VOr, 
 jyrompts comme VEclair,^^ 
 
 Many must have been the revels within the walls 
 of Blonay, many the feasts and many the bridal gather- 
 ings. One trivial record throws a pretty light on some 
 of the doings at the chateau. It appears that in the 
 16th century there was a tournament at the Court of 
 Savoy between bachelors and married men. Simon de 
 Blonay, as champion of the married, beat the Sieur of 
 Corsant, who carried the pennon of the bachelors. As 
 the result of his defeat the Lord of Corsant had need to 
 go to Blonay to cry mercy of the Dame de Blonay. 
 The lady was more than merciful, for the defeated 
 champion was lavishly entertained and made much of. 
 Among the company there chanced to be the beautiful 
 Yolande de la Villette. By her bright eyes de Corsant 
 was once more vanquished and brought helpless to the 
 
 210 
 
BLONAY CASTLE 
 
.>»«>*»»*« •»»«•' 
 
Blonay Castle 
 
 ground. Once again he cried mercy and with such 
 effect that Yolande became the chatelaine of Corsant, 
 while the bachelors lost a gallant member of their 
 company. 
 
 The castle was built in 1175 by Pierre de Blonay, 
 from which time dates the great central tower or keep, 
 which is still the prominent feature of the chateau. 
 Blonay has of necessity undergone many changes in the 
 course of its long life. It has been remodelled and 
 added to from time to time, and yet it is claimed that 
 it retains to the present day its original outline. The 
 most extensive changes in the building appear to have 
 been carried out in the 15th century as a natural result 
 of the introduction of firearms. It was originally flanked 
 by four towers, of which now only two remain. 
 
 The Chateau of Blonay is less impressive when 
 viewed near at hand. It stands, as already stated, on 
 a very steep isolated mound covered with grass. It 
 takes the form of an immense rectangular building with 
 modernized windows. It is ashen- white in colour and 
 is surmounted by a chestnut-brown roof. In general 
 appearance it has the aspect of a vast, rambling, scarcely 
 habitable place, very old, very desolate looking and 
 chilled, it would seem, to its inmost walls by the winters 
 and bleak winds of centuries. In the centre is the great 
 keep, a square, stolid mass, still very sturdy in spite of 
 its burden of years. It has a high-pitched roof covered 
 with slate-coloured tiles, while just below the eaves is 
 a series of rectangular embrasures which date from the 
 15th century. The building on the steeper side (that 
 facing the Lake) is supported by three immense but- 
 tresses. High up on the w^all on the east flank is a 
 
 211 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 very beautiful little turret, Avith a machicolated gallery, 
 perched up near the roof like a dovecot. 
 
 The entrance is gloomy. The main gate, with its 
 rounded arch of the 16th century and its heavy sullen 
 door, is surmounted by a gallery with machicolations, 
 and has by its side windows barred with forbidding iron. 
 Within is a 15th century chapel which has been con- 
 verted into a muniment-room. It still retains its altar 
 and its benitier, and is still lit by a window which bears 
 the date 1577. 
 
 Almost at the foot of Blonay is the pleasant village 
 of La Chi^saz with its rare old church — rare not because 
 its annals go back to 1228, nor because it has been 
 restored with exceptional skill, but rare on account of 
 its remarkable ceiling and the fact that it possesses two 
 perfectly distinct choirs. The beautiful square tower of 
 the church was erected in 1523, while the main walls of 
 the building belong to the 14th century. The interior 
 presents a spacious nave without aisles. The roof is 
 of painted wood. It takes the form of a wide vault 
 shaped like the hull of a vast ship inverted. It is, more- 
 over, ribbed longitudinally in a manner which strongly 
 suggests the planks of a ship. The summit of the arch 
 might be the keel as it would appear from the inside. 
 Furthermore, there hang from this dome certain 
 lanterns which curiously resemble the stern lights of 
 ancient ships. The comparison goes no farther, for the 
 whole arch is painted a deep blue to represent the vault 
 of heaven and is spangled, from horizon to zenith, with 
 stars. It is the sky of a night in summer and, indeed, 
 the worshipper on such an evening might imagine the 
 church to be roofless and that he sat beneath the 
 
 212 
 
BLONAY CASTLE : THE MAIN GATE 
 
'^yi V 
 
Blonay Castle 
 
 stars and could feel the breeze sweeping up from 
 the Lake. 
 
 The two choirs are side by side but are separated by 
 a very massive wall. Through the thickness of the 
 masonry a passage has been cut which leads from one 
 choir to the other. They both belong to the 13th 
 century. The south choir contained, in ancient days, 
 the high altar. It has three lancet windows arranged 
 in a pyramid and is — taken as a whole — a perfect 
 specimen of its period. Here lie buried members of 
 the Cojonay family, as is recorded on a stone bearing 
 their blazon of the three birds. The north choir is of the 
 same date, but its two large pointed lights w^re intro- 
 duced in the 16th century. On the north wall is a very 
 beautiful httle 14th century window of particular charm. 
 This choir was a chapel of St. George, which was 
 founded by Aymmonet de Blonay and his wife. Mar- 
 guerite d'Oron, about the middle of the 14th century. 
 It must be to this pious couple that we owe the exquisite 
 little window in the chapel wall. Marguerite deserted 
 Blonay, for after the death of Aymmonet she had two 
 other husbands, the third being Jean, Count of Gruyere, 
 who seems to have persuaded her to transfer her share 
 of the domain to Amadeus VI of Savoy. On the vault 
 of this choir is still to be seen, in faint colour, the 
 golden lion of the great house of Blonay. 
 
 The village of La Chiesaz is made up of ancient 
 houses, some of which are so curious that it would seem 
 as if they had been designed for the sole purpose of 
 being picturesque. The outer walls of many of the 
 cottages display designs in black and white, illustrating 
 village scenes and depicting village characters. Some of 
 
 213 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 the figures are life-size, some are smaller. All are 
 realistic and delightful in their vivacity and good spirits. 
 They are the work of M. Beguin, an artist of note who 
 was a native of La Chiesaz. They appear to have been 
 painted about thirty-five years ago. The practice of using 
 the outside walls of houses as leaves of a sketch-book is 
 probably only to be observed at La Chiesaz. The result 
 is so remarkable that the village is generally known as 
 Le Village illustre. 
 
 9H 
 
XXXIV 
 
 GRUYERES 
 
 IT will be remembered that when Counsellor Knapp 
 put on the Goloshes of Fortune, in mistake for his 
 own, he found himself (as Hans Andersen tells us) 
 carried back three hundred years and stumbling through 
 a town which was strange and unreal. Now, without 
 the help of magic shoes, there is to be found, among 
 the hills of Fribourg, a town which is curious and 
 improbable and which will carry those who come to it — 
 be they counsellors or common men — far back into the 
 past. The name of the town is Gruyeres.^ It is a 
 remote, shy place which would fain be left in peace. 
 Its people are almost as isolated as are dwellers on an 
 island and still speak, among themselves, a Romanic 
 dialect called Gruerien. 
 
 The scene amidst which the town is set is such as 
 best becomes it. It lies in a country of its own which 
 was once a little kingdom, independent, self-contained 
 and strong. Of this country of Gruyere it was the 
 capital, while jvithin its walls was the court of its 
 autocratic prince. It was precisely such a country, such 
 a town and such a prince as figure in the simplest fairy 
 tale. To realize the landscape it is necessary to conceive 
 a wide plain of meadow land, as green as the sky is blue, 
 
 1 It is reached most readily from Vevey or Montreux by electric railway. 
 
 215 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 a plain which is traversed by a stream, is dotted by a 
 cottage or two and occupied by many cows. Around this 
 arena — as if it were the wall of a vast colosseum — is a 
 circle of mountains which enclose it and hide it from 
 the .world. 
 
 In the expanse itself is a solitary hill, long, narrow 
 and steep and shaped like a whale. On the summit of 
 this hill is the town. Seen from afar it is a compact, 
 clean-cut little place, so raised above the plain as to 
 overlook it from end to end. It seems at first to be 
 merely a pack of white w^alls on the top of a green bank. 
 The walls have dots for window^s, and for roofs a litter 
 — it would seem — of brown autumn leaves dropped by 
 the wind. 
 
 The town is surrounded by a prim wall, within 
 which the houses are herded like white sheep in a 
 pen. This wall has battlements on its crest, and at its 
 foot a gate which appears as a black gap from which 
 a grey path trails do\vn the slope. On the highest point 
 of the hill is a massive castle of great age, crowned by 
 a high-pitched roof and flanked by a round tower. Near 
 by the chateau can be seen the spire of a church. 
 Gruyeres, even when viewed from a distance, is more 
 like a town in a story-book than a place to be found in 
 a telephone directory. 
 
 It becomes almost a question how a town so distinctive 
 should be most fitly approached. To walk up the hill, 
 staff in hand, would clearly be appropriate. It would 
 be proper also to ride up, provided that the lady — if 
 there be a lady — rode pillion. As to vehicles, a cabriolet 
 or a one-horse chaise would appear to be in keeping, but 
 to visit Gruyeres in a motor car would be an outrage. 
 
 216 
 
Gruyeres 
 
 One might as well burst into the Garden of Eden on 
 an aeroplane. 
 
 As the proposed one-horse chaise crawls up to the 
 town there is nothing to be seen that is noteworthy, 
 nothing but the white road and a hill-side covered 
 with grass. On reaching the summit the chaise will 
 stop, the traveller will alight, and will find himself 
 suddenly in the midst of Gruyeres. The town is 
 revealed so abruptly that the hill road might have 
 opened upon the stage of a theatre with a set scene 
 showing a street in an vmusual to^vll. In front of the 
 traveller is an open space with houses crowding on 
 either side of it. It is a space of modest size and yet 
 it reaches from one end of the town to the other, for 
 Gruyeres is very small, so small that the whole of it 
 is seen at a glance. The place is paved with cobble- 
 stones, between which much grass is growing. It is 
 called simply " The Street," for there is no other street 
 in the town. Yet it is not exactly a street. It has 
 no pavement and no apparent outlet. Moreover, it is 
 not level as most streets are. In fact, it slopes down 
 at once to a dip where are a fountain and women wash- 
 ing clothes. It then mounts up, as if from a river-bed, 
 and comes to an end before a figure of Christ on the 
 Cross. The figure is life-size, is brilliantly painted, and 
 is sheltered by a penthouse which throws a solemn 
 shadow across the face. Beyond the Cross, on one 
 side, is a little company of houses which appear to be 
 elbowing one another and peeping over one another's 
 shoulders in their effort to look down The Street ; while, 
 on the other side, is a path which leads to the castle. 
 Beyond the castle and the inquisitive houses are the sky 
 
 217 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and a distant mountain capped with snow. Thus it is 
 that The Street represents the beginning and the end 
 of Gruyeres. In fact, it is Gruyeres. 
 
 The view of the castle from the entry to Gruyeres 
 is enchanting. There is Uttle more than the round 
 tower to be seen, but it is so burly, so like a great giant 
 and yet so very old and kindly-looking that the little 
 town lies at its feet with the contentment of a dog. 
 Owing to the oddness of the houses that form The Street 
 and to the general unreality of the place it would be no 
 surprise if one suddenly heard (as did Counsellor Knapp 
 in his own queer city) the sound of drums and fifes and 
 saw coming down the lane from the castle a troop of 
 drummers beating their drums, followed by a body of 
 men-at-arms with crossbows and spears, and then, on a 
 large horse, a prince in armour with a plume in his 
 helmet, attended by pages upon whose slashed doublets 
 was embroidered in silver the wide-winged crane or 
 Grue — the emblem of Gruyeres. 
 
 Those who wear the Goloshes of Fortune would see 
 that procession without doubt and stranger things 
 besides ; but to those who are normally shod there is 
 still " La Rue," which is assuredly strange enough. It 
 is a quiet street because, but for the women washing 
 at the spring and two boys who are trickling marbles 
 between the cobble-stones, there are few signs of life. A 
 red-faced girl is chasing some fowls out of a mediaeval 
 cellar; but the excitement is only momentary. An old 
 woman is seated on a bench in the sun busy with her 
 knitting, while on another bench two aged men are 
 reading from the same new^spaper, the date of .which 
 journal one would suppose to be about 1621. 
 
 218 
 
Gruyeres 
 
 The houses are not only old but curious. Many have 
 fine ogee windows as well as handsome stone doorways. 
 Over the round arches of these entries will be such dates 
 as 1543, 1591 or 1594, together with a piece of carving 
 which as often as not takes the form of the strutting 
 Grue. There is an ancient house with a mediaeval shop. 
 The shop is just a rounded arch closed by the original 
 three-fold shutter and provided with a stone slab for the 
 counter. The house has windows which would not 
 demean an old-world manor house. There is an inn, 
 too, called the " Fleur de Lys." It is a comfortable 
 inn but rather modern, being, indeed, almost an upstart 
 in the place, since it is not yet three hundred years old, 
 as the date (1653) over the door attests. Gargoyles 
 seem to have been, at one time, fashionable in Gruyeres, 
 as was also the custom of decorating a house with 
 fantastic carving, the work apparently of light-hearted 
 men who worked for the fun of the thing and were fond 
 of making jokes in stone. 
 
 The most delightful house in Gruyeres is known as 
 '' La Chalamala." It stands in La Rue, there being no 
 other place for it. It is small, possessing two stories 
 and a garret. The door is approached by a flight of 
 white steps which are picturesquely askew. It is just 
 such a door as would be found in a 14th centuiy con- 
 vent. The windows, however, are the glory of the 
 house. The stone framework of each is wondrously and 
 profusely carved with great cunning and invention. 
 There is an overhanging roof with a water-pipe which 
 ends in a dragon's head. The head is very fierce, is 
 rather violent in colour, has teeth like a saw and a 
 gaping mouth that is alarmingly red. From the lips of 
 
 219 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 the reptile the water pours down upon the cobblestones 
 when rain falls in Gruyeres. 
 
 The name of the house is of interest. Gerard 
 Chalamala >vas a jester at the Court of the Count of 
 Gruyere. All that is known about him is contained in 
 his last will and testament, which he signed on the 
 25th day of May in the year 1349. The document is 
 preserved among the archives of the town. M. Diricq, 
 in his charming little history of Gruyeres ^ reproduces 
 it word for word, merely changing the Latin of the 
 text into modern French. A will gives little scope for 
 the display of humour, so it is impossible, from this 
 ancient writing, to form any idea of Chalamala's gifts 
 as a comedian. From the document, however, many 
 things are to be learned. In the first place it is clear 
 that the jester was rich and, in the second place, that 
 he was deeply religious. He left legacies to various 
 pious institutions, including one cow to La Chartreuse 
 of Oron and another cow to the Abbey of Marsens. It 
 is to be gathered from this testament that Chalamala 
 was of a serious and melancholic disposition, as are so 
 many professional humorists. Furthermore, it appears 
 that he belonged to a family of jesters, for his brother 
 Michel is described as a mime, wMe his daughter 
 Jordane was married to a "fool." 
 
 When this family party of funny men gathered 
 together at Christmas the meeting must have been 
 depressing and restrained, since they must have shunned 
 the talking of " shop," have avoided clowning and 
 thrown aside all apeing of the professional manner. 
 
 1 " Gruyeres en Gruyere," par Edouard Diricq. Lausanne, 1921. With a 
 beautiful water-colour of La Rue by Colonel Goff. 
 
 220 
 
Gruy^res 
 
 One can imagine Jordane, the daughter, imploring her 
 husband Girard not to try to be tunny at the dinner 
 table and to keep his hands off the sausages and such- 
 hke tempting missiles. The testator mentions his house, 
 but it is impossible to identify it with the dainty, 
 fantastic little building which now goes by his name. 
 The only comic feature about the dwelling is the dragon- 
 headed water-pipe which pours down water on the head 
 of the passer-by. 
 
 Opposite this house and by the side of The Street is 
 a most extraordinary object. It consists of a huge 
 block, bench or table of solid stone. In this stone, 
 chiselled out of the very rock, are five deep round basins. 
 They differ in size and capacity. At the bottom of 
 each is a round vent which opens upon the side of the 
 wall above which the block is placed. These cavities 
 suggest rock-hewn wash-hand basins of great depth, but 
 it is hard to understand why one is so large and one so 
 small, unless the latter be intended for a child. A 
 wearer of Counsellor Knapp's goloshes might consider 
 that they belonged to some colossal game of bagatelle 
 played by giants or to some still more unearthly game 
 of chance. They are, however, nothing of the kind. 
 They are the ancient Mesures in which the peasants 
 measured their corn on market days. When the rock 
 basin was filled the buyer drew off the grain in a sack 
 through the vent on the face of the wall. Even to-day 
 this method of transacting business would appear to 
 have some practical merit. 
 
 Photographs give no effective idea of the beauty of 
 Gruyeres. They should, indeed, be avoided, as convey- 
 ing an inadequate impression of the place, since one 
 
 221 
 
The^Lake of Geneva 
 
 great charm of La Rue is its wonderful colouring. The 
 houses are mostly white or a hazy blue. The overhang- 
 ing roofs, which cast such quaint shadows on the walls, 
 are a ruddy brown. The roadway blends the lilac-grey 
 of the cobble-stones with the green of grass, and will be 
 lit by a spark of brighter colour as a woman with a 
 red cape crosses in the sun. On almost every window-sill 
 is a box of scarlet geraniums, while creepers and climb- 
 ing roses find a place on many a stretch of ancient 
 masonry. Sun-shutters are en regie in Gruyeres, and 
 are lavish in their colouring. At a point or two in the 
 street are dark green fir trees or an aromatic pile of 
 winter wood, the logs of which are russet or biscuit- 
 yellow or silver-grey. In front of almost every house 
 is a bright green bench behind a row of shrubs in pots 
 or a bank of flowers. This bench so enclosed forms the 
 open-air sitting-room of the home, for here the gossips 
 gather while the children play, and here the man from 
 the fields smokes his caporal after his work is done. All 
 that is needed to complete the magic of the place is the 
 sound of a spinning-wheel. 
 
 The castle dates from the 11th century, but has been 
 more than once rebuilt. In its general features it must 
 look to-day very much as it has looked for the last four 
 hundred years. The church is of little interest. It has 
 been restored on the lines of a church in a new industrial 
 suburb. It is all that Gruyeres is not. 
 
 The town wall has much attraction, especially for 
 boys playing at soldiers. It has an ineffectual tower 
 here and there and boasts of battlements, each gap in 
 which gives a little framed picture of the glorious green 
 country around. The patrol path on its summit is pro- 
 
 222 
 
Gruyeres 
 
 tected by a running roof which shielded the city guard 
 from the sun in summer and from the snow in winter. 
 This much-trodden path is so Httle changed that, when 
 the shadow of the evening falls, it is easy to picture the 
 last of the old night watchmen disappearing round the 
 corner with his heavy cloak, his lantern and his pike. 
 
 The gates of the town have, like all old gates in 
 walled places, a fine air of romance about them. The 
 chief gate is the Porte du Belluard. It was the state 
 entry into Gruyeres. It has a pointed arch, over which 
 is a small mysterious gallery with one tiny window to 
 watch the road and a line of machicolations with which 
 to terrify the intruder. Over the entry is a painting in 
 brave colours in which great justice is done to the 
 strutting Grue. Through this gate must have poured 
 many a brilliant and beribboned cavalcade when the 
 count went forth to the wars or when he was making 
 a visit in state to the Castle of Blonay or the city of 
 Aubonne. 
 
 There is another gate which has quite a different 
 attraction. It was a sally port or little used postern, 
 a way of escape which would be called in the theatre 
 world "an emergency exit." It is a mere hole in the 
 town wall, wide enough to allow a cow to pass. It leads 
 out directly upon the grass slope of the hill, so that it 
 is just one step from the inside of the town to the green 
 and quiet country'. One can imagine the melancholy 
 Chalamala stealing out of this gate alone to sit on the 
 hill-side, where — disturbed only by the tinkle of the 
 cow-bells — he could invent fresh funniments to be 
 retailed while the count sat at supper, or practise fresh 
 grimaces before a little piece of looking-glass. 
 
 223 
 
XXXV 
 
 ON THE ROAD TO LAUSANNE 
 
 A WHITE level road, hot and dazzling in the 
 summer, runs from Vevey to Lausanne, a 
 distance of 12 J miles. It has on one side the 
 Lake and on the other the vineyards, with here and 
 there a garden of roses, a villa or a little town. The 
 first place met with on the way is the fascinating village 
 of St. Saphorin. It is small, since it can number only 
 400 inhabitants, and yet it has been a place of import- 
 ance in its day, for the Romans had some kind of station 
 here, while in mediaeval times St. Saphorin was of good 
 repute and held itself in no small esteem. It has been 
 the seat of a noble family, for there is a record of a 
 knight with the musical name of Guy de St. Saphorin 
 as far back as the year 1137. The '' Court General " 
 of St. Saphorin drawn up in 1424 mentions a mayor 
 and other officials, while frequent allusion is made to 
 the aristocratic Chateau of Glerolles with which St. 
 Saphorin was honourably associated. 
 
 The little town, although not entirely fortified, was 
 a hourg fenne; that is to say, it had a wall on its more 
 exposed front, where it faced the Lake, while on the 
 other side it trusted to the cliff against which it stands. 
 There were two gates to the tiny place, one on the 
 
 west and one on the east. The old narrow road from 
 
 224 
 
ST. SAPHORIN: THE ENTRY 
 
 lamasyoHBiiiiiBBBi 
 
 GLEROLLES. SHOWING A BACKGROUND OF VINEYARDS 
 
• • ♦ '* «\ 
 
On the Road to Lausanne 
 
 Lausanne crept in at the west gate, climbed up to the 
 church and then dropped down again to the eastern gate, 
 as if it were a passage over the hump of a camel. The 
 road — the old road — follows perversely the same course 
 still. 
 
 St. Saphorin viewed from the Lake is a very pert 
 place. Piled up on the side of a cliff it looks like a 
 clump of creepers, with great brown leaves, climbing up 
 the face of a rock. It should be entered from the 
 Vevey side, not by the new road, which is commonplace, 
 but by the old. This old road is narrow and steep and 
 has other peculiarities. It passes by a pointed archway 
 through the ancient wall of the town, a wall of which 
 a considerable portion still exists. The road, as it mounts 
 upwards, creeps under two other archways. By the side 
 of the first of these is a house with fine ogee windows, 
 while by the side of the other is the stump of a 
 pentagonal tower with its original loopholes. St. 
 Saphorin, therefore, was guarded well. 
 
 The place J or piazza, or central square of St. 
 
 Saphorin, to which the road leads, is a very curious 
 
 and pretty place. It is about the size of a modest 
 
 drawing-room and is shaded by two fine trees, a Lom- 
 
 bardy poplar and a chestnut, which are almost too large 
 
 for the diminutive plot. On one side is the church, 
 
 and opposite to it is '' The Wave " inn, an old house 
 
 with a beautiful hanging sign showing a three-masted 
 
 ship in full sail. On the third side of the place a flight 
 
 of stone steps leads up to an arcade under a house. The 
 
 arches of the arcade form a kind of gallery which looks 
 
 down into the square as a theatre box may look down 
 
 upon a stage. In the arcade is a swing for the village 
 p 225 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 children, while out of it leads a tempting path which, 
 skirting the \ery roof of the church, winds uphill among 
 the vines. The whole setting suggests a scene in a rustic 
 opera. 
 
 The village itself is picturesque, with its alleys, its 
 dark passages and its curious houses. One house bears 
 the date 1612, another has a fine loggia of stone, while 
 many have balconies and outside stairs w^hich give the 
 place much attraction. 
 
 The church is famous. It dates from the 15th 
 century, and occupies the site of an edifice of even 
 greater age. It has a grand square tower and presents 
 within a fine Gothic roof and a gracious choir. Its 
 chief treasure is a stained-glass window given by Bishop 
 Sebastien de Montfalcon in 1530, in which the bishop 
 is shown on his knees before the Virgin and St. 
 Saphorin. A writer in the Dictionnaire Historiqiie con- 
 siders this window to be one of the finest in the whole 
 of Vaud. Placed in the church for safe keeping are an 
 inscribed stone of the Roman period in the form of an 
 altar, found in the village, together with a Roman mile- 
 stone, of the time of the Emperor Claudius, from the 
 high road by GleroUes. 
 
 In a wall in the square at the top of the hill is a 
 curious tablet of stone dated 1812. Carved upon it in 
 prominent letters is a notice to carters that they must 
 not descend the hill without putting a drag or shoe on 
 the wheel and, further, must not allow timber to trail 
 behind the cart. One would imagine that no carter, 
 even if exhilarated by a "joy ride,'* would need this 
 very obvious advice. As, however, the wagoner in 
 1812 was probably imable to read, the warning is 
 
 226 
 
On the Road to Lausanne 
 
 graphically conveyed to him in the form of a cart- 
 wheel carved in stone to which is attached a most 
 conspicuous drag. 
 
 A little way beyond St. Saphorin is the old Chateau 
 of Glerolles. It is placed on the very edge of the Lake 
 and, indeed, stands on a rock which was once an island, 
 like that of Chillon; but the making of the railway 
 has now united it to the mainland. The origin of the 
 chateau is obscure. It comes into the light of history 
 in the second half of the 13th century as a possession 
 of the bishops of Lausanne. It seems from the earliest 
 times to have been dignified by a lofty square tower 
 of the type of the tower at Ouchy. The chatelain of 
 Glerolles was appointed, until 1536, by the bishops and 
 was endowed >vith considerable power, which he shared 
 with an avou6 or legal representative of Lausanne. The 
 Dictionnaire Historique gives a list of the chatelains of 
 Glerolles from 1312 to 1798. The most important part 
 of the chateau — as it now appears — was the work of the 
 last bishops of Lausanne, and notably of Aymon de 
 Montfalcon, or Montfaucon, who held the see between 
 the years 1491 and 1517. Glerolles w^as then a small 
 fortress, and made itself obnoxious by the exacting of 
 tolls from those who passed along the highway. On the 
 west side of the building are still to be seen five coats 
 of arms at different levels belonging to Bishop Aymon 
 and to families with which he was allied. On the south 
 face of the chateau (between the west block and the 
 donjon) are six other coats of arms, also of the Mont- 
 falcons. These relate, it is surmised, to Sebastien de 
 Montfalcon, the last of the bishops of Lausanne. 
 Sebastien, when he fled from the city under the 
 
 227 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 circumstances detailed in Chapter xxxviii, took refuge 
 in Glerolles. 
 
 In 1803 Glerolles was sold, its glory faded, the aspect 
 of romance died from its walls and it became a dull and 
 uninteresting place, not due to attempts at restoration, 
 but to attempts to convert it into a modern dwelling 
 house. The Dictionnaire Historique says that the 
 donjon of the chateau once contained on the first floor 
 a chest of wood strengthened with plates of iron and 
 furnished with a little wicket closed by bars. This went 
 by the name of "the witches' cage." 
 
 Glerolles at the present day is a large rambling, 
 disorderly building, half modern and half ancient, and 
 so vague that it is neither a chateau, on the one hand, 
 nor a dwelling house, on the other. It looks as if 
 portions of a mediaeval castle had been fused, in a 
 muddled mass, with a farmhouse and a block or tw^o of 
 suburban flats. At the entry — on the side of the road 
 — is a round tower which, no doubt, once commanded 
 the drawbridge. Behind it is the lower part of the great 
 square donjon or keep. This was, until recent times, a 
 most commanding tower, as is evident from old prints,^ 
 where it is shown in its full grandeur with a steep, 
 pointed roof and a row of sentry windows under the 
 eaves. It appears that the new owners of the donjon, 
 finding that its vast body cast an objectionable shadow 
 on the vines across the road, pulled the old keep down 
 to what may be called a proper agricultural level. It 
 is now a most sorry object, but has just one memory 
 left of its ancient glory in the form of a very dainty 
 little window that looks across the Lake. 
 
 1 " Histolre du Canton de Vaud," par P. Maillefer. Lausanne, 1903. p. 183. 
 
 228 
 
On the Road to Lausanne 
 
 The mass of the building has been modernized, 
 although here and there an ancient window is visible, 
 together with traces of handsome stonework. In the 
 courtyard, which has still some element of dignity, will 
 be seen the coats of arms which have been already 
 described. The interior of the building was practically 
 gutted and " brought up to date " some twenty or thirty 
 years ago. 
 
 High up on the hill-side above Glerolles and very 
 conspicuous to those who pass by on the Lake is the 
 Tower of Marsens. It dominates the famous vineyards 
 of Dezaley. It takes the form of a huge square tower 
 surmounted by fragments of its old battlements and 
 pierced by certain transomed windows which would 
 belong probably to the 17th century. It has older 
 windows, some with the original round arch and some 
 of the type known as ogee. It dates from about the 
 year 1140, and is supposed to have been built, as a 
 maison forte, by that Bishop Landri de Durnes who 
 erected the first Castle of Ouchy. Its history is unevent- 
 ful and is much concerned throughout with the fact 
 that it possessed a winepress. It has had \ery many 
 owners, from a Lord of Gruyere, on the one hand, to 
 an apothecary of Fribourg, on the other. 
 
 229 
 
XXXVI 
 
 A CHAPEL IN A GROCER 's SHOP 
 
 GULLY, midway between Vevey and Lausanne, is 
 a little town of 1,100 inhabitants. It can look 
 back very far into the past, for there was a time 
 when the lounger on the beach of Cully would have 
 seen in the bay a lake village, an amphibious camp 
 made up of thatched roofs and huts on a submerged 
 field of piles. Later on the idler would have seen 
 Roman legionaries and Roman merchants halting by 
 the road, since Cully seems to have been a posting 
 station or wayside caravanserai of some significance. 
 
 Cully, from its earliest days, has been devoted to 
 the making of wine. It has probably made wine ever 
 since wine-making was known in Europe. It makes 
 wine still and makes it well and, indeed, does nothing 
 else. Grapes and the winepress are the symbols of its 
 being, the subject of its thoughts and the mark of its 
 ambition. A bunch of grapes on a branch constitutes 
 the ancient arms of Cully. They are grapes, it may be 
 noticed, of such size and quality that they would seem 
 to proclaim to the world, " These are the grapes of 
 Cully." Someone, inspired by a sense of the fitness of 
 things, has surmised that there was once a temple to 
 Bacchus at Cully, but unfortunately the suggestion is 
 unfounded. There are, however, other memorials which 
 
 230 
 
A Chapel in a Grocer's Shop 
 
 may prove as significant. One day in the year 1882 a 
 man digging in a vineyard by Cully unearthed a httle 
 bronze statuette of a Bacchante. It would seem to tell 
 the story of a Roman wine-grower whose admiration of 
 Bacchus was such that he kept this figure in his house. 
 When the barbarians .were seen to be swarming over 
 the hills above Cully one can imagine him taking the 
 image from its niche and hiding it among his vines. One 
 must further suppose that he was killed or made prisoner, 
 since certain it is that he never came back to claim the 
 figure he cherished. So for nearly two thousand years 
 a votary of Bacchus lay hid in the vineyards of Cully. 
 
 The records of Cully go back to the 10th century. 
 It once belonged to the bishops, who did little but 
 quarrel about their claims since the town was in the 
 ecclesiastical parish of Villette. It seems to have been 
 only feebly fortified, but possessed in 1577 both a car can 
 and a virolet. The former was a collar for the neck of 
 criminals exposed to public view, and the latter a cage 
 in which they were confined for convenient exhibition, 
 to the delight, no doubt, of the boys of the place. ^ 
 
 Cully is an interesting spot in many ways. It has, 
 in the first place, the most picturesque promenade on 
 the Lake, a wide, leisurely promenade dignified by a 
 row of fine old Lombardy poplars. On this parade is a 
 monument to Major Davel, who was a bourgeois of 
 Cully. The gallant Davel raised the standard of rebellion 
 in 1723 with the forlorn hope of ridding Vaud of the 
 dominion of Berne. He failed, and was executed at 
 Vidy, near Lausanne, on April 24th, 1723. 
 
 A still more charming feature of this unpretentious 
 
 1 Carcans of various types are to be seen in the Vevey Museum, 
 
 231 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 town is displayed by the number of old houses that it 
 contains, and especially by their beautiful doorways. 
 Close to the church is an old building called the Sordet 
 House. It, being very antique, is smothered wath 
 stucco, according to the Sw^iss custom. Its main feature 
 is a square tow^er, on one angle of which — almost buried 
 in plaster — is a fine Gothic niche. The doorway in the 
 base of the tower is of handsomely carved stone, and 
 bears the inscription, " 1521. A.S." The letters are 
 the initials of Aime Sordet. The door opens upon a 
 wdde stone stair, the walls of which are ornamented at 
 intervals with elaborate and curious pieces of carving, 
 representing heads, coats of arms, reptiles and a man 
 playing the bagpipes. The arms of the Sordet family, 
 it may be noted, were a serpent with a gold crown. On 
 the south wall of the house, which looks into a quaint 
 courtyard, is an escutcheon, with on it a figure, helmet 
 and lambrequin carved in stone. The house is now 
 divided into poor tenements. 
 
 In the courtyard is a remarkable mediaeval bench 
 fashioned, or rather dug out, from the trunk of a tree, 
 for it is in one solid piece. Wood can show its age in 
 manj^ ways. It may become black ; it may become 
 grey; it may be friable, riddled with worm-holes and 
 covered with snuff-coloured dust. This bench is, how- 
 ever, as hard as a stone, as sunburnt as a summer 
 fisherman and free from evidences of decay. Age shows 
 itself in the extraordinary degree in which it is wrinkled. 
 No shrivelled-up centenarian could show wrinkles so 
 intricate nor furrows so deep. 
 
 The Sordets were great people in Cully in the 16th 
 century, and by reason of holding the seigneurie of 
 
 232 
 
CULLY: A DOOR OF 1598 
 
 CULLY: A MEDIyiiVAL BENCH DUG OUT FROM A TREE TRUNK 
 
A Chapel in a Grocer's Shop 
 
 Ropraz (near Mezieres, north-east of Lausanne) had the 
 status of noblemen. Aime Sordet was one of the repre- 
 sentatives, on the side of the Reformers, chosen to take 
 part in the famous Rehgious Conference held at Lausanne 
 in October, 1536. 
 
 There is another beautifully carved doorway in 
 the town, bearing on the lintel the inscription, "1520. 
 A. lESVS MARIA, s.," the first and last letters being 
 the initials of the same Aime Sordet. Among other 
 notable stone entries in the town may be mentioned 
 one with the date 1525 and the Sacred Heart in stone, 
 another with the year 1598 over a round arch very 
 curiously ornamented, and a third of much dignity 
 marked by the date 1684. One humble doorway — a 
 simple square entry of stone — must not be overlooked. 
 It is crowned by a little head, the head of a nun with 
 a pretty face and a most becoming coif. Her story 
 would be interesting to know, for she must have been, 
 at one time, the beauty of Cully. 
 
 The interiors of certain of the ancient houses in the 
 town have changed but little during the last three or 
 four hundred years. There are still to be seen the worn 
 stone stair, the great carved beams in the ceiling, the 
 16th century windows and the doorway that would seem 
 to pertain to a convent cell rather than to a modern 
 kitchen. 
 
 There is a fountain in the centre of Cully, the stone 
 basin of which bears the date 1643. It is surmounted 
 by an ancient column on which is a figure still more 
 ancient. This figure is evidently human and probably 
 female. It is claimed to be a statue of Justice, but it 
 is so corroded and battered that it has become as feature- 
 
 233 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 less as a nursery doll after j^ears of service in a household 
 where there are boys. 
 
 There was, by the way, a fountain or spring on the 
 outskirts of the town that had the reputation of being 
 able to drive away evil spirits. But this water supply 
 was discouraged by the mediaeval priests, as it appeared 
 to encroach upon their special clerical functions and to 
 be, indeed, competitive. 
 
 The church is new, having been rebuilt in 1866. The 
 fine square towxr, with its pointed windows, has remained 
 untouched, while in its belfry are two bells which were 
 cast in 1516 and 1563 respectively. 
 
 There is a small 16th century chapel in Cully which 
 should not be passed by, as it is in many ways peculiar. 
 It is not obtrusive and, indeed, is difficult to discover, 
 for it is not to be found in any street or any square, 
 nor, in fact, in any lane or passage. Access to it is not 
 to be sought through the intervention of any cure, pastor 
 or sacristan. It is approached in the following manner. 
 
 In the main thoroughfare of Cully is a large and 
 prosperous grocer's shop, as modern as plate-glass 
 windows and beribboned chocolate boxes can make it. 
 The visitor enters the grocer's shop and, after appro- 
 priate inquiries, passes behind the counter to a small 
 passage filled, almost to the point of bursting, with 
 groceries in bulk. In a gap between the boxes and tins 
 is a mediaeval doorway in stone delicately carved. This 
 is the entry to the chapel. It leads into a very dim 
 room, the stagnant air of w^hich is laden with the smell 
 peculiar to a grocer's shop — a sickly, almost medicinal, 
 smell compounded of coffee and soap, of vinegar and 
 cloves, of oranges and sawdust. It is occupied from 
 
 234 
 
A Chapel in a Grocer's Shop 
 
 floor to ceiling with bags of rice, biscuit tins, boxes of 
 starch, boxes of candles, pickle-jars, jam-pots, stove 
 polish and brooms. This is the interior of the chapel, 
 although no ecclesiastical feature of any kind is as yet 
 evident. 
 
 But there is a ladder in view which leads through a 
 trap-door in the wooden ceiling. The visitor mounts the 
 ladder and, crawling out into a kind of loft still encum- 
 bered with groceries, finds himself under a beautiful 
 Gothic vault — the vault of the chapel itself. It is a 
 groined roof of the 16th century, the ribs of which meet 
 at a central key-stone whereon are carved the bunch of 
 grapes — the arms of Cully. The spaces between the ribs 
 are filled Avith a painted design of great beauty. The 
 work is so like that in the nave of the church at Lutry 
 that it can hardly be other than the work of the same 
 artist. This little chapel is lit by a Gothic window, and 
 although its hght is not actually hidden under a bushel, 
 it is dimmed by a baldachin of grocer's sundries. 
 
 235 
 
XXXVII 
 
 LUTRY 
 
 BETWEEN Cully and Lutry is the remarkable 
 church of Villette. It is so close to the Lake 
 as to be a prominent object from the passing 
 steamer. It stands alone and apart from the village. 
 Villette, now a little settlement of some 300 people, was 
 once a place of great importance. The parish of Villette 
 covered a very large area and included the town of 
 Cully with no fewer than six communes. The church of 
 Villette is first mentioned in the year 1134. It has been 
 more than once rebuilt, but still retains many of its 
 early characters. The choir is a curious, low, vault-like 
 structure, with smooth walls as simple as the interior of 
 a cave. The steeple, however, is the more remarkable 
 feature of the church. It is a sharp-pointed steeple of 
 stone mounted upon a square tower. Where the tower 
 and the steeple meet are a number of little pointed 
 niches of an unusual type, while in the tower itself are 
 some large trefoil windows of great beauty. The church 
 deserves a little better care than it appears to receive. 
 
 Just before Lutry is reached there will be seen on 
 the hill-side a small but curious white tower known as 
 the Tower of Bertholo. It is low, smooth-walled and 
 semicircular, and is attached to the back of a quite 
 bright villa. It looks rather like an old white shell on 
 the back of a youthful snail. The tower has its ancient 
 
 236 
 
Pi 
 H 
 
LUTRY : THE CHURCH DOOR 
 
Lutry 
 
 battlements and its mediaeval loopholes. It has not 
 suffered from restoration. It, at one time, had a fine 
 conical roof, which was pulled down in the middle of the 
 19th century from motives of economy. The Tour de 
 Bertholo is the remains of a castle built by Berthold 
 de Neuchatel, Bishop of Lausanne. He held office 
 between the years 1212 and 1220. It was erected with 
 the intent of affording an advanced post for the defence 
 of Lutry. One family at least of the mayors of Lutry 
 occupied this castle during the 14th century. 
 
 Lutry, a town of 2,560 inhabitants, is near to 
 Lausanne, with which it is connected by a tramway. 
 It is a grey and sober place, with narrow and moody- 
 looking streets and a general aspect of unemotional old 
 age. Like Cully, it has some memory of Roman days 
 and can boast that it was at one time an important 
 Burgundian town. Its chief attraction is its church, 
 which was originally the church of the Priory of St. 
 Martin, which priory was founded early in the 11th 
 century. The church, on its present site, w^as built in 
 1228. The bishops of Lausanne regarded Lutry as one 
 of their choicest possessions and looked after the town 
 and the rich lands around it with a care that was a little 
 too paternal. In the 11th century they appointed an 
 officier feodal to protect their interests. He had the 
 title of mayor, but possessed far wider judiciary and 
 administrative powers than is associated with that title 
 in England. The office became hereditary, and the 
 family, having taken the name of Mayor de Lutry, 
 developed into rather arrogant and domineering people. 
 One thing, however, they did : they looked after the 
 church. 
 
 237 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The church was many times rebuilt, notably in 1344, 
 after its destruction by fire, and again in 1569. During 
 the restoration of the church in 1908 traces of a 12th 
 and 13th century building were brought to light. The 
 church is an exceptionally beautiful structure. The 
 main door, with a round arch, was erected in 1570. It 
 presents a tympanum of delicately carved stone sup- 
 ported by four pillars. The carving would seem to be 
 the work of a man who loved carving for its own sake 
 and could not resist the temptation of adding a little 
 here and elaborating a little there, until he had produced 
 the door of his heart's desire. Above the entry is a fine 
 Gothic window. 
 
 The interior of the church is Gothic. Its most 
 exquisite feature is the choir, with its three little rose 
 windows. The whole of the groined roof of the church 
 is painted, and presents as gracious a specimen of church 
 mural decoration as will be found anywhere in the 
 country. The design suggests an Italian origin. It is 
 intricate and harmonious and produces a general effect 
 of great charm. The work belongs to the 16th century. 
 There is a lady chapel, marked off by a unique stone 
 partition in which are three windows. The central one, 
 over a square entry, is in a simple Gothic style, but 
 the two side windows are of so quaint a type that none 
 but an expert could pass judgment upon them. On the 
 wall of this partition is an ancient and most attractive 
 painting of the Madonna. Some of the old stalls in the 
 church show the bear of Berne. 
 
 Lutry was fortified and surrounded by a wall in 1220. 
 There were four gates in the enceinte, while the wall 
 was protected at intervals by round towers. One of 
 
 238 
 
LUTRY : THE CASTLE AND TOWN WALL 
 
Lutry 
 
 these towers still survives on the west side of the town. 
 It shows the old sentry windows and the narrow loop- 
 holes, but it is in lamentable repair and has been much 
 mutilated. On the top of it has been clapped a modern 
 roof, which makes it almost ridiculous. 
 
 The castle is to the east of the town. It has a superb 
 entry in the form of a wide round arch, over which is 
 a gallery with heavy machicolations and on either side 
 a turret. The upper part of this magnificent work has 
 been destroyed. The gateway dates from the commence- 
 ment of the 17th century. The arms above the archway 
 are those of Crousaz de Corsy and Cerjat, and recall the 
 marriage of Francois Crousaz with Judith de Cerjat in 
 March, 1023. It was at this period that the castle was 
 acquired by the Crousaz family, as the Dictionnaire 
 Historique affirms. The castle, on something like its 
 present lines, is said to have been built in the 16th 
 century upon the site of a chateau of an earlier period. 
 Over a door in the inner court are the arms of Berne 
 and the date 1551. As it appears to-day it is a fine and 
 picturesque building, modernized to some extent, but 
 still presenting its magnificent roof and its two old 
 square towers. One of these is a part of the chateau 
 itself, while the other — the smaller of the two — is 
 detached and represents a defensive outpost. The 
 interior of the building is said to contain some fine 
 deeply panelled ceilings (plafonds a caissons). 
 
 By the castle are traces of the city wall, upon the 
 summit of which the castle stood. The road by the side 
 of this wall (shown in the photograph) follows the course 
 of the old moat. 
 
 On the outskirts, on the way to Vevey, there is to 
 
 239 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 be seen in a wall an odd thing — a stone road-sign. It 
 takes the form of a slab of stone on which is carved in 
 relief a hand and arm, together with the date 1736 and 
 a notification to the effect that the hand points out the 
 road to Vevey. The hand has the anatomical simplicity 
 of the hand on an Egyptian or Assyrian monument, but 
 it serves its purpose ; it clearly shows the road and has, 
 besides, a friendly and human look about it which is 
 lacking in the modern curt and peremptoiy arrow. 
 
 A little above Lutry is the village of Corsy. It is a 
 place of no present interest, but was made famous by 
 the memorable Jugement de Dieu in the year 908. 
 Boson, the Bishop of Lausanne, laid claim to the forest 
 of Jorat. His claim was disputed, and the matter was 
 left to be decided by the Judgment of God. The king 
 allowed the bishop to sustain his right by " proof of the 
 hot iron." One of the bishop's servants, a man named 
 Arnulphe, was chosen for the test. A red-hot iron was 
 applied to his hand, and it was agreed that if the 
 imprint of the iron was still visible on the third day 
 following the operation the bishop would lose the forest. 
 The hand was bound up in linen and the dressing sealed 
 with the signet of the king. On the third day — amid 
 tense excitement — the bandage was removed at this very 
 village of Corsy, where the king was holding his assizes. 
 No trace of the burn was visible, and so the forest became 
 the freehold property of the bishop.^ 
 
 This curious but venturesome procedure, which 
 involved a combination of Divine agency, some sensa- 
 tional surgery and the dry legal process of conveyancing, 
 has very reasonably fallen into disuse. 
 
 1 " Dictionnaire Historique de Vaud." 
 240 
 
LUTRY! THE CASTLE DOOR 
 
 LUTRY: THE STONE HAND 
 
XXXVIIl 
 
 LAUSANNE 
 
 IAUSANNE, the capital of the Canton of Vaud, is 
 the smaller of the two cities of the Lake. It 
 stands on a green slope which glides, in leisurely 
 fashion, from the wood which crowns its summit to the 
 beach at its foot. The town is far up on this slope, being 
 about a mile and a quarter above the port of Ouchy. 
 
 Seen from the Lake, it is so discursive a city that no 
 one could venture to define its outlines. Its houses are 
 scattered in all directions, among trees and lawns, 
 gardens and green fields. It is as if a drop of stone- 
 coloured paint, faUing from a height, had been spattered 
 over a green cloth. It seems to be composed entirely 
 of suburbs. If Chislehurst were given a cathedral and 
 transferred to a lake-side it might pass muster for 
 Lausanne, since there is nothing to suggest that this 
 city of Vaud is so serious as it is or that it possesses 
 07,000 inhabitants. 
 
 Lausanne when seen from a distance and Lausanne 
 when viewed from within are two towns which are 
 totally unlike. A more deceptive place does not exist. 
 From afar Lausanne seems to occupy a hill-side as 
 smooth as a cushion. There is nothing to suggest that 
 it contains streets, much less railway stations, tramhnes 
 and shops. When, on the other hand, the place is 
 
 Q 241 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 entered it is found to be as irregular and tumbled a 
 town as could be imagined, a place built in detachments 
 without a plan, a labyrinth of streets, of green terraces 
 and gardens, of slums and many-arched bridges all joined 
 up with a " central square " which is neither square nor 
 central. To this very disorder the town owes much of 
 its attraction, for the agreeable medley is due to the fact 
 that Lausanne is located, not on an even slope, but on 
 three abrupt hills separated by deep valleys. Were it 
 not that these valleys are crossed by a series of bridges, 
 life in Lausanne would consist in climbing up hill and 
 in walking down again. Moreover, Alfred de Bougy, 
 writing in 1846, says that owing to the hills and the 
 villainous paving, Lausanne was, in his day, practically 
 inaccessible to carriages.^ 
 
 The hills are round and are disposed in a triangle, 
 like the balls of a pawnbroker's sign. They are the 
 Cite, the Bourg and St. Laurent. On the Cite, or 
 predominant hill, are the castle and the cathedral. This 
 mound is, and always has been, the high place of the 
 town and the stronghold of its government. The Bourg 
 was possessed by the nobles, by the merchants and by 
 the great inns. St. Laurent was a suburb occupied by 
 a church and certain defence works. The poorer folk 
 lived in the gutters between the hills. In one of these 
 flowed the Flon and in the other the Louve. Their 
 channels met at the Grand Pont ; but, within the actual 
 compass of tlie town, both streams have now disappeared 
 from view. 
 
 From ancient prints ^ it can be seen that old Lausanne 
 
 1 " Le Tour du Leinan," par A. de Bougy. Paris, 1846. 
 « " Itinera Alpina," par J. J. Scheuchzeri. Ludq. Bat., 1723. Tome il, p. 49Pi 
 
 342 
 
LAUSANNE 
 
Lausanne 
 
 .was a very romantic looking town. Its three hills were 
 crowned with castle and spire, with turrets and high- 
 soaring roofs; while around it ran a zigzag wall pierced 
 by gates and surmounted by many towers. The dwellings 
 that made up the mass of the city were of dark wood 
 with lofty gables. They huddled in the valleys like a 
 drift of autumn leaves in a gully. Of the fortifications, 
 no trace remains with the exception of one tower, the 
 Tour de I'Ale, which stands near the Place du Chauderon 
 on the St. Laurent hill. It is a high round tower of 
 the days of the musketeers, which finds itself now very 
 inappropriately placed in a modest street of private 
 houses. 
 
 Modem Lausanne is, in spite of its uneasy site, an 
 imposing city, spick and span and well-to-do. It has 
 many fine public buildings, but they are nearly all new, 
 for so strong has been the passion for " improvements " 
 that old Lausanne has almost passed away, while in its 
 place is a city which might have been built within the 
 memory of living men. 
 
 On the summit of the Cite hill, and therefore on the 
 highest point of the town, stands the chateau. It has 
 been admirably restored and is a perfect monument of 
 its kind. It stands alone — a square, grey mass of heavy 
 masonry, pierced by a few small windows and surmounted 
 by a steep, russet-coloured roof. Between the roof and 
 a line of machicolations the castle wall is of pale red 
 brick, while at each corner of the building is a turret 
 also made of brick. The whole castle is a realization of 
 solidity, of simplicity and of terrific strength. It was 
 erected within the period 1397-1431. The Cite was then 
 well fortified and was surrounded by a wall. 
 
 243 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 One of the most memorable years in the history of 
 the chateau was the year 153G. For some three centuries 
 before this date Lausanne, together with the whole 
 Swiss shore of the Lake, belonged to Savoy. The rule 
 of Savoy was indulgent and was committed to the hands 
 of the bishops of Lausanne, who lived with the splendour 
 and dignity of princes on the Cite hill. The whole 
 country was, of course. Catholic. The Reformation, 
 which had already begun, spread rapidly to Berne. In 
 Berne it assumed a bellicose form, for the Bernese were 
 earnest and determined men who regarded as enemies 
 those who held opinions that differed from their own. 
 They approached Lausanne with an army under General 
 Nsegueli on March 31st, 1536. They entered the town 
 without difficulty. Indeed, the people, who were them- 
 selves mostly reformers, welcomed their coming. 
 
 The first object of the Bernese was to seize the person 
 of the bishop. His name was Sebastien de Montfalcon. 
 He was sitting in his room in the castle very ill at ease, 
 for while he hurried to and fro stuffing things into his 
 pockets he was compelled, at every moment, to take a 
 look through the windows at the hot, excited men who 
 were swarming up the hill. The castle was readily taken, 
 and the leading Bernese, dashing up the stair, broke 
 into the bishop's chamber with a shout. They found 
 it empty. Now% concealed behind a great seat or desk 
 was a secret passage which led by means of a stair in 
 the thickness of the castle wall to the Chemin Neuf at 
 the foot of the hill.^ The bishop had taken advantage 
 of this passage and had escaped. He fled, as has been 
 already noted, to Glerolles. 
 
 1 " Delices de la Suisse," par Blancbet. Basle, 1764. 
 244 
 
LAUSANNE : FOUNTAIN AND TOWN HALL 
 
Lausanne 
 
 The identical chamber he left is still to be seen. It 
 is on the first floor of the castle, and is a small, low- 
 pitched, comfortable room with two windows and a 
 hospitable fireplace. The ceiling is elaborately decorated, 
 while carved on the chimney-piece are the arms of Mont- 
 falcon and the motto, " <Si qua fata sinant/^ The 
 embrasures of the windows serve to show the enormous 
 thickness of the walls. The secret door is no longer to 
 be seen, although Read,^ writing in 1897, speaks as if 
 the passage was in evidence at that date. The attendant 
 who shows the room indicates the position of the hiding- 
 place, and by thumping on the wall elicits, in response, 
 a hollow and emotional sound which is quite convincing. 
 The long corridors of the chateau are impressive, as is 
 also the main entry, but the site of the drawbridge is 
 occupied — for the time being — by a small modern 
 building. 
 
 On the Cite hill stands also the famous Cathedral of 
 Notre-Dame, built between the years 1235 and 1275, 
 and so fully restored at the end of the last century (from 
 the plans of Viollet-le-Duc) that it appears almost a new 
 building. The fine Gothic tower and the exquisite steeple 
 form the actual pinnacles of Lausanne. The Apostles' 
 Porch, the great ^ose-^vindow, the carved stalls of the 
 15th century and the wall paintings of the same period 
 are too well known to need description. No one can 
 fail to be impressed by the main entry, with its huge 
 flamboyant window, its statues of saintly men, its elabor- 
 ate ornamentation and its old brown doors with their 
 very ancient lions' heads in bronze. 
 
 The church, being Protestant, is very bare, bare save 
 
 1 Op. cit. 
 
 245 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 for the scattered seats and the pulpit, and devoid of all 
 colour except such as streams through the crimsons and 
 blues that fill the tracerj'^ of the rose-window. There is 
 no altar ; but the place it occupied in the choir is marked 
 by two curious impressions in the stone floor. They are 
 just such depressions as the knee of a kneeling man 
 would make on soft sand. They correspond to either side 
 of the altar and are assumed to have been worn by the 
 knees of worshippers clad in armour. If that be so, they 
 must represent the obeisance of many thousands of men 
 in mail through a vast procession of years. 
 
 This cathedral was the scene of the famous Disputa- 
 tion held on July 5th, 1536, in which Farel, Calvin and 
 Viret took part, with the result that Vaud separated 
 from the Romish Church and the episcopal see was 
 removed to Fribourg. 
 
 The Bernese, having scared the bishop from his 
 castle, dealt in effective fashion wdth the treasures in the 
 church. Aided by the people, they broke up the altar 
 with hammers, tore dowTi the sacred images and left 
 them, headless and armless, amid the dust of the floor, 
 put their feet through precious paintings and stripped 
 from the walls the hangings of fine silk. In the nave 
 they heaped up a pile of loot of such brilliancy that it 
 needed no beam from the stained-glass window to give 
 it radiance ; for here were crucifixes and candlesticks of 
 sparkling metal, ewers and patens of gold, reliquaries 
 flashing with gems, a chalice that shone like the moon, 
 statuettes of silver and vases of polished brass. The men 
 of Berne kept a firm hold upon Lausanne and estab- 
 lished in the castle a hailli or governor, who ruled the 
 
 con^erted city \vith a rod of iron. 
 
 246 
 
* 5* 
 
Lausanne 
 
 In addition to the chateau on the Cite was an 
 episcopal palace. This seems to have been in existence 
 as late as 1705. It was subsequently pulled down to 
 make room for the chestnut terrace which is one of the 
 delights of Lausanne. One tower of this palace remains. 
 It still looks dow^n, with an assumption of superiority, 
 upon the town it once kept in awe, although it has now 
 become, very meekly, a part of a most interesting 
 museum. 
 
 The fine mansions on the Cite have all vanished, but 
 behind the cathedral, in the Rue Cite Derriere, there 
 are yet some old houses of modest pretence — such as 
 No. 23 — which are of interest. It was in this street 
 that Gibbon lodged when he first came to Lausanne. 
 
 The hill of tlie Bourg was also fortified and surrounded 
 by a wall. Between it and the hill of the Cite flowed 
 the Flon, the course of which is marked by the present 
 Rue Centrale. The Bourg and the Cite were by no 
 means always at peace in the early days. They were, 
 indeed, for years the most quarrelsome of neighbours 
 and flew at one another across the Flon on occasion 
 with much beating of drums, much shrieking of women 
 from the walls and much shaking of fists. For example, 
 in 1240 there were two competitors for the episcopal 
 chair of Lausanne. The Bourg sided with Jean de 
 Cossonay, the Cite with Phillippe de Savoie. Although 
 the question was one merely of Church government, the 
 men of the two hills fought with such intemperance 
 that there were no fewer than 300 casualties. Fighting 
 was a chronic condition around most fortified towns, and 
 Lausanne was no exception. The cause of the fighting 
 was often obscure and as often trivial. One reads that 
 
 247 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 in a certain bloody encounter without the walls in 1476 
 an Enghsh knight was killed. His skull was found long 
 after in a cemetery of Lausanne with a rose noble fixed 
 between the teeth. ^ 
 
 The Bourg, as already stated, was occupied by the 
 nobles. Its main street, the Rue de Bourg — a steep 
 and narrow way — is the main street still. Read gives 
 a list of the distinguished families who once lived there 
 and also of the great inns, such as the " Golden Lion," 
 the " Angel " and the " Bear," that found a place on 
 this hill. At the foot of the street is a modernized 
 business house with a corner turret. The corbel which 
 supports the turret has carved on it, in archaic fashion, 
 the head of a man with a heavy moustache and the 
 words, "a toy mon dieu mon coeur monte." This 
 house, before the Reformation, belonged to the Bishop 
 of Lausanne. It came, about 1550, into the possession 
 of the Deyverdun family. One of the Deyverduns 
 was the intimate friend of Gibbon when he lived in 
 Lausanne. In front of the house and at the foot of 
 the hill country women come with baskets of flowers, 
 as has been the custom for centuries past ; so the man 
 with the moustache is still cheered by the sight of a 
 bank of daffodils and violets, of iris and anemones, 
 of roses and mimosa, and at the grateful sight his stone 
 lips may still mutter the words which are written at the 
 base of the turret. 
 
 The citizens of the Rue de Bourg had curious respon- 
 sibilities in the matter of the administration of justice, 
 for they formed a kind of jury of experts who were liable 
 to be called upon in legal emergencies. " They were 
 
 1 A gold coin of the time of Edward IV. of the nominal value of ten shillings. 
 
 248 
 
Hi^ 
 
Lausanne 
 
 required," says Vulliemin, *' at the first summons, even 
 if at table, glass in hand, or occupied in measuring cloth, 
 to leave everything and, running to range themselves 
 around the bailiff or the bishop, to give their advice as 
 people versed in the customs of the city. As a recom- 
 pense they were free from ' lauds ' and alone had the 
 right to place benches before their houses for the disposal 
 of their wares." ^ 
 
 On the Bourg, in the Place St. Francois, is the 
 church of St. Francis. It dates from the 15th century, 
 but it has — like every other old edifice in Lausanne — 
 been so restored that it appears to be quite a new build- 
 ing. It is composed only of a nave and choir, is a 
 church of great dignity, grand in its proportions and 
 most simple in its decoration. Leading from the Place 
 St. Francois is Rue du Grand Chene. At No. 6 in this 
 street Voltaire lived in 1757, but, it is needless to say, 
 the cyclone of " improvements " has swept the house 
 out of existence. 
 
 In the valley between the Cite and the Bourg is the 
 curious Place de la Palud. It was in ancient days the 
 business centre of the town as well as its market-place. 
 It retains its activity still, and on prescribed days is as 
 packed with country-folk and their baskets, panniers, carts 
 and stalls as its narrow confines will allow. There is a 
 fountain in the Place, surmounted by the figure of an 
 oddly-shaped woman, clumsily clad, who realized in 1585 
 the popular conception of Justice. Here also is the 
 Hotel de Ville, with its great motherly roof, its gaily 
 painted clock-tower and its superb facade. It was 
 founded in 1454, but the present structure dates from 
 
 » Quoted by Read, op. cit., vol. I, p. 43. 
 249 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 1674. Having in view the grand new public edifices of 
 Lausanne, it would, no doubt, be rank heresy to suggest 
 that this town hall is by far the handsomest building of 
 its kind in the city. 
 
 Where the Rue St. Laurent joints the Palud stood 
 the de Loys house, notable as the birthplace of M. de 
 Loys de Warens, whose fame depends solely upon the 
 fact that he was the indistinct husband of the flamboyant 
 Madame de Warens. Read gives a picture of the house 
 as it was in his time. It was a dwelling of infinite charm, 
 with its courtyard, its fine front, its stair, with the date 
 1650, and its great roof where, amid the black tiles, were 
 two lovers' knots and a red ace of diamonds. The house 
 and the garden have, of course, been cleared away, to be 
 replaced by premises which, in their unblushing plainness, 
 are almost pathetic. 
 
 Leading from the Palud to the terrace by the 
 cathedral are the Market Stairs. In a simple way they 
 form one of the most picturesque features in the city 
 and are designated as one of its historical monuments. 
 The stairway is of old grey wood and is very steep. It 
 is co^'ered, in all its length, by a roof of red tiles held 
 up by wooden pillars. It is very shady, very full of 
 echoes, very old and a stair of some mystery, for one 
 wonders where it will end. It ends delightfullj^ and 
 appropriately by opening on the terrace, beneath one of 
 the most curious little houses ever conceived in a story- 
 book. The house is of wood, is supported upon wooden 
 columns (like a balcony) and is shaded by a chestnut tree. 
 In the place of windows it has shutters or jalousies, which 
 are prettily arranged. It is rather a gallery than a 
 dwelling, rather a summer-house than a sitting-room, 
 
 250 
 
Lausanne 
 
 and yet it has, in a childish way, an official api^earance, 
 a faint suggestion of a mayor and corporation. It is 
 apparently entered by an ancient door on the stairway 
 which does not seem to have been opened for a century. 
 In the museum near by is a print, dated 1678, in which 
 this little house, or an ancestor of it, is depicted very, 
 much as it is to-day. A man, whom I imagined to be 
 unreliable, told me that it was the place from which 
 proclamations were read to the people. If this be true 
 the people would hardly take the message gravely, for 
 the little house is so fantastic, so like a dwelling out of 
 Hans Andersen's fairy tales, that it could never be the 
 scene of anything really serious. 
 
 To the day-dreamer I would commend this spot 
 above all in Lausanne. The place is always quiet, 
 always drowsy, always in the twilight of the trees. It 
 is cool, for a breeze from the Lake will steal up here 
 when it will wander nowhere else. There are many 
 benches to choose from, so the dreamer can sit and gaze 
 at the little house and people it with whom he will. 
 
 251 
 
XXXIX 
 
 GIBBON AT LAUSANNE 
 
 THE best remembered scenes in the life of Edward 
 Gibbon have for a background the city of Lausanne. 
 No reader of his immortal " Memoirs " can fail to 
 be interested in visiting the places that figure in the story 
 he has to tell. The Lausanne of Gibbon's time has 
 almost passed away, but there are still the Rue de Bourg, 
 the chateau, the Place de la Palud and the Market Stairs, 
 .while the house in which Gibbon lodged when he first 
 came to the city is still standing. 
 
 In the year 1752 Gibbon, then only 15 years of age, 
 was loafing aimlessly about the streets of Oxford as a 
 gentleman commoner of Magdalen College. He was a 
 pitiable object. He was the only surviving child of his 
 parents. His mother had died when he was ten. His 
 father neglected him, so his bringing up fell casually 
 into the hands of his aunt, Catherine Porten, who was 
 a very lovable lady. He had a wretched childhood, while 
 of the happiness of boyish years he knew nothing. His 
 education had been of the scantiest. Above all, he had 
 been delicate and had suffered much at the doctor's 
 hands. He very early came to the conclusion that he 
 was doomed to be " an illiterate cripple." 
 
 At Oxford he did nothing, was taught nothing and 
 
 was left entirely to his own devices. He regarded the 
 
 252 
 
Gibbon at Lausanne 
 
 time he spent at Magdalen as "the most idle and 
 unprofitable of his whole life." While at Oxford, and 
 when 16 years of age, he became a Catholic. This con- 
 version was the result, not of personal influence, but of 
 the reading of Catholic books. He states that he had 
 not even conversed with a priest. His father, when 
 dutifully informed of this change of faith, became violent, 
 as was his habit in the face of any untoward event, 
 threatened to disinherit the boy and bundled him off, at 
 a few days' notice, to Lausanne, then the most strictly 
 Protestant town in Europe. At Lausanne he was to be 
 under the charge of a Calvinist minister named Pavilliard. 
 Having regard to the father's ignorance of Lausanne 
 and the fact that he — in the main — wished to punish 
 the lad, he did better than he knew. 
 
 Young Gibbon left for Lausanne in the care of a 
 Swiss gentleman. The two started from London on 
 June 19th, 1753, crossed from Dover to Calais and, 
 although they travelled " post haste all the way " and 
 with the utmost expedition, did not reach Lausanne 
 until June 30th. 
 
 M. Pavilliard lived in the Rue Cite Derriere No. 17, 
 and here young Gibbon lodged. The street is one of the 
 few streets in the old quarter of Lausanne w^iich have 
 undergone but little change. It is a quiet street of 
 private houses of the humbler type, is situated just 
 behind the cathedral and is, indeed, between the 
 cathedral and the chateau. The building is practically 
 unaltered. It is an unpretentious house with two 
 stories and an entry under a round stone arch. The 
 windows are framed in stone after the manner of the 
 18th century. The right side of the house has been 
 
 253 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 modified, so far as the ground floor is concerned, and 
 is now occupied by a small Poste de Police; but the 
 greater part of the building is probably as it was in 
 Gibbon's time, so that it only remains to speculate as 
 to which of the heavily-shuttered windows was that of 
 the room he occupied. 
 
 Gibbon was fortunate in his host. M. Pavilliard was 
 a man of education and of great capacity as a teacher. 
 He was kind-hearted, sympathetic, moderate in his 
 religious views and, above all, tactful. There grew up 
 between the Calvinist minister and the young Catholic 
 a very hearty friendship. The pastor's influence soon 
 began to take effect, so soon, indeed, that within 
 eighteen months of his arrival at Lausanne Gibbon 
 returned to the faith of his fathers, and on Christmas 
 Day, 1754, received the Communion in a Protestant 
 church. 
 
 The lad at first found life in the Rue Cite Derriere 
 verj^ disagreeable. He had no friends; he had very 
 little pocket money; he was not allowed a personal 
 servant; he could play no games. He deplored his 
 unfitness for bodily exercise and had to become recon- 
 ciled to a sedentary life. He read enormously, and very 
 soon acquired a thorough knowledge of French. He 
 could not endure Madame Pavilliard. He speaks of her 
 " uncleanly avarice " and says that under her roof he 
 was almost starved with cold and hunger, and recalls, 
 with disgust, her " coarse and homely table." It was 
 certainly a great change from the easy, idle life at 
 Oxford, where he did as he pleased, had unbounded 
 liberty and lived as gentlemen commoners were expected 
 to live. Here at Lausanne were the discipline of a 
 
 254 
 
Gibbon at Lausanne 
 
 Calvinist minister's house, regular hours, possibly rather 
 tedious family prayers and the sour face of Madame 
 Pavilliard gazing at him across the bare table. 
 
 Things, however, improved in time. The Pavilliards 
 moved to another house (long since demolished), a 
 pleasant tour through Switzerland was undertaken and 
 young Gibbon began to make friends. His one par- 
 ticular friend was George Deyverdun, with whom, at a 
 later period, he shared a house in Lausanne and with 
 whom he remained on terms of affection until 
 Deyverdun 's death in 1789. 
 
 He met also another friend — a lady — who was 
 destined to play an emotional part in his otherwise 
 rather drab existence. She was a Mademoiselle Susanna 
 Curchod, who became a famous personage in the literary 
 and social annals of the Lake of Geneva. Susanna was 
 the daughter of the Protestant minister of Grassier, a 
 little village on the French border which is described in 
 Chapter xlvii. " Her fortune was humble," writes 
 Gibbon, " but her family was respectable," and she had 
 been exceptionally well educated by her father. She 
 came to Lausanne on a visit to some relatives, and here 
 Gibbon met her. The momentous meeting was in June, 
 1757, when Gibbon was twenty and the pastor's daughter 
 eighteen. 
 
 The future historian was not heroic in appearance. 
 He is described as a thin, pale little figure \Ndth a large 
 head covered with red hair and a nose that a heartless 
 French writer, in later years, compared to a potato. 
 Susanna was pleasant to look upon, had a refined, 
 intelligent face and delicate features. She would be 
 described as elegant, or, in the language of the day, 
 
 »55 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 "genteel." Her primness was a pronounced character- 
 istic. One writer, quoted by Gribble,^ says, " God, 
 before creating her, must have soaked her, inside and 
 out, with starch." In spite of her primness she was a 
 most amiable woman of whom everyone thought well 
 and spoke kindly. Her portraits do not justify the claim 
 that she was beautiful and fail to confirm the opinion 
 of Gibbon that " Nature had endowed her with a beauty 
 which would soften a tyrant and inflame an anchorite." 
 
 The two young people became engaged. He visited 
 her at her home in Grassier, as is recorded in Chapter 
 XLVii, and there is no reason to doubt that the engage- 
 ment was approved by the lady's parents. This was in 
 the autumn of 1757. There were love letters, of course, 
 WTitten in the manner of the time. To-day they read 
 rather like exercises in prose, perfect in style, but lack- 
 ing the warmth of life, artificial and extravagant and 
 as Httle like the love-song of a bird as a concert 
 performance on a flute. 
 
 Gibbon was recalled to England in April of the 
 following year (1758). He announced his engagement 
 to his father, who again became violent, refused his con- 
 sent and let his son understand that if he persisted in 
 his folly he w^ould find himself " destitute and helpless." 
 Mr. Gibbon, senior, wishing to be unpleasant, alluded to 
 Mademoiselle Curchod as a " foreigner," which was then 
 a term of reproach that implied inferiority and suggested 
 a proneness to indefinite delinquencies. 
 
 Young Gibbon reached England in May, but it 
 was not imtil August that he wrote to Mademoiselle 
 Curchod to break off the engagement. The letter which 
 
 1 " Madame de Stael and her Lovers." London, 1907, 
 256 
 
LAUSANNE : THE HOUSE IN WHICH GIBBON LODGED 
 
Gibbon at Lausanne 
 
 announced this breach of promise has been quoted so 
 often that to many it is the only specimen of Gibbon's 
 writings with which they are famiUar. As a hterary 
 production it is perfect. As a model of a letter, which 
 of all letters in the world must be the most difficult to 
 write, it is a finished work. Epistles of this type are 
 often rudely exposed to the public gaze, but their literary 
 feebleness can only be appreciated by comparing them 
 with Gibbon's little masterpiece. 
 
 Mademoiselle Curchod was, of course, hurt ; but she 
 remained dignified, for her primness saved her from 
 being dramatic. In 1760 the minister of Grassier died, 
 and his stipend died with him. " His daughter," writes 
 Gibbon, " retired to Geneva, where, by teaching young 
 ladies, she earned a hard subsistence for herself and her 
 mother." Susanna appears, a little later, to have become 
 companion to a Madame Vermenoux, a wealthy wddow 
 who lived in Geneva but frequently visited Paris. 
 Necker, the rising banker, had long wooed Madame 
 Vermenoux and had, indeed, proposed to her; but she 
 had declined his offer, hoping to meet with a more 
 aristocratic suitor. On her return to Paris with her 
 young companion she found that Necker had not only 
 continued to rise, but had attained a position of promi- 
 nence and was likely to become the counsellor of kings. 
 The widow at once determined that her persistent lover 
 had now risen so far as to approach her conception of 
 an aristocratic suitor, and resolved to accept his proposal 
 when next it was tendered. It was, however, never 
 offered, for w^hen Necker saw the widow's charming 
 companion he at once fell in love with her, promptly 
 proposed and was primly accepted. The marriage took 
 
 R 257 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 place in 1764, and the event is said to have caused the 
 widow " acute suffering." So the minister's daughter 
 from the humble village of Grassier became Madame 
 Necker, destined to be famous as the chatelaine of 
 Coppet and the mother of the illustrious Madame de 
 Stael. 
 
 Gibbon returned to Lausanne in May, 1763, and 
 remained there eleven months. He felt that he could 
 not again face Madame Pavilliard and her parsimonious 
 fare, so he became a boarder in the " elegant house " of 
 a M. De Mesery. Here he lived in great comfort, and 
 records with satisfaction that the food was plentiful and 
 the boarders " select." The position in Lausanne of 
 the " elegant house " has, unfortunately, never been 
 traced. 
 
 It was during this period of his stay in Lausanne 
 that Gibbon tells of his favourite society. La Societe du 
 Printemps. He says it was ** a singular institution." 
 Considering that it flourished in a puritan city imbued 
 \\ith the rigorous teachings of Calvin it certainly was 
 peculiar. 
 
 " It consisted of fifteen or twenty young unmarried ladies, 
 of genteel, though not of the very first families ; the eldest 
 perhaps about twenty, all agreeable, several handsome, and 
 two or three of exquisite beauty. At each other's houses they 
 assembled almost every day, without the control, or even the 
 presence, of a mother or an aunt ; they were trusted to their 
 own prudence, among a crowd of young men of every nation 
 in Europe. They laughed, they sung, they danced, they played 
 at cards, they acted comedies ; but in the midst of this careless 
 gaiety, they respected themselves and were respected by the 
 men.' 
 
 " 1 
 
 1 " Memoirs of Mv Life," by Edward Gibbon, p. 156. 
 258 
 
Gibbon at Lausanne 
 
 About 1758 Gibbon met Voltaire who had at that 
 time a house in Lausanne. Gibbon was then twenty- 
 one and the French philosopher sixty-four. The two 
 did not take at all kindly to one another. To Voltaire 
 the future historian was merely " a fat-faced youth 
 called Gibbon," while to Gibbon the Frenchman was 
 a not too pleasant and much over-rated playwright. 
 Although Gibbon paid more than one visit to Ferney 
 (the last in 1763), the two writers never became more 
 than formal acquaintances. 
 
 In 1765 Gibbon was in Paris, on which occasion he 
 called upon Madame Necker, who received him very 
 graciously. The meeting was, no doubt, a little trying, 
 but they were both astute enough to make it as free 
 from embarrassment as was possible. The two, who had 
 once been lovers, became devoted friends and corre- 
 sponded with one another, in the warmest but most dis- 
 creet terms, for the remainder of their lives. Madame 
 Necker was attracted to Gibbon by his great intellectual 
 abilities, while he never ceased his admiration of her fine 
 qualities as a woman. It was a platonic attachment, if 
 ever there was one, and if some element of romance 
 occasionally crept in it gave to the friendship a certain 
 picturesqueness. Gibbon visited the Neckers not only 
 in Paris but also at Coppet. Mention is made of one such 
 visit to Coppet in 1790. At that time Madame de Stael, 
 who was at the chateau, was twenty-four, but as Gibbon 
 fails to allude to the whirlwind lady she probably merely 
 frightened him. Madame Necker 's last letter to Gibbon 
 is dated June 15th, 1792. He died in January, 1794, 
 and she in the May that followed. 
 
 Between 1758 and 1783 Gibbon was in England, 
 
 259 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 except during a tour in Italy in 1764-5 and a visit to 
 Paris in 1777. In England he did strange and improb- 
 able things. He joined the army in the diluted form of 
 the militia, became a major and indeed a lieutenant- 
 colonel, and rode about on a horse. Further than that he 
 became a member of Parliament, in which office he filled 
 "the humble station of a mute." He went even more 
 widely astray, for he was appointed a Lord Commissioner 
 of Trade and Plantations, he having no knowledge of 
 either trade or trees. In this dignified position he 
 "enjoyed," as he says, "many days and weeks of 
 repose." 
 
 His father having died in 1770, he was now possessed 
 of ample means, and in September, 1783, he returned to 
 his beloved Lausanne. He took up his abode with his 
 friend George Deyverdun, who owned a house in Lau- 
 sanne called " La Grotte." Gibbon undertook the expense 
 of the house, and here he hoped to end his days. La Grotte 
 was very beautifully situated. It stood on the brink of the 
 hill in front of the church of St. Frangois, was open to 
 the south and commanded a superb view of the Lake and 
 of the mountains of Savoy. It was surrounded by a 
 garden of four acres in which was a summer-house. Here 
 Gibbon wrote, and here, in 1787, he completed his great 
 work, "The DecHne and Fall of the Roman Empire." 
 Read has given an interesting history of La Grotte, 
 from which it appears that it was originally a part of the 
 Convent of St. Francois and was, as such, occupied by 
 vaults where muniments and treasures were stored. A 
 photograph shows a house of no great interest and evi- 
 dently of no great age. It had a very lofty and steep 
 roof. On the road front there was but one story, while 
 
 260 
 
Gibbon at Lausanne 
 
 on the southern side — owing to the slope of the ground 
 — there were three. In general terms it would be 
 described as an unpretentious suburban villa. 
 
 La Grotte has long since been pulled down, and on 
 its site and on a part of its garden has been erected the 
 Post Office, the most prominent building in Lausanne. 
 An hotel, called the Hotel Gibbon, came to occupy the 
 western end of the grounds, so that the garden of the 
 hotel represented all that was left of the garden that 
 Gibbon loved. 
 
 So long as La Grotte stood it was visited every year 
 by a horde of sightseers and admirers or pseudo-admirers 
 of Gibbon. Between the years 1802 and 1831 the house 
 was occupied by an old lady named Madame Grenier. 
 She has left it on record that for nearly a generation the 
 pilgrimage of visitors was continuous. They came to see 
 the historic summer-house and to take away a piece of 
 it as a memento. " As every English visitor cut away 
 a portion, the summer-house gradually disappeared from 
 Lausanne and was distributed in fragments through 
 Great Britain. Bit by bit the owners renewed it, but 
 eventually not a morsel of the original w^as left."^ A 
 totally new summer-house was built, but that also was 
 hacked away by the penknives of enthusiastic tourists. 
 It is apparent that a proportion of these relic-hunters 
 had but a vague knowledge of the hero they worshipped. 
 Two items of information confirm this impression. " A 
 time came," as Mr. Hill states in his appendix, " when 
 the guides began to point out the venerable Madame 
 Grenier, if she chanced to be in the garden, as Gibbon's 
 widow"; and further, in Notes and Queries the folio w- 
 
 1 Appendix No, 51 of G. Birkbeck Hill's edition of the Memoirs. 
 
 261 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 ing conversation (overheard at the Hotel Gibbon) is 
 recorded : 
 
 She : " Whose portrait is that? " 
 
 He : " Gibbon, after whom the hotel is named." 
 
 She : " But who was Gibbon? " 
 
 He : *' One of the EngUsh Royal Family." 
 
 The Hotel Gibbon >vas pulled down in the summer 
 of 1921. During the process — .which I witnessed — the 
 garden was turned into a white desert of plaster, bricks 
 and stones, a desert of mounds like a white sand dune, 
 dimmed by a cloud of dust. Out of this waste rose 
 three little trees, young, eager and rustling with life. 
 They will by this time have vanished; but while they 
 lived they had a pathetic interest, for they were the very 
 last green things that grew in Gibbon's garden. 
 
 262 
 
XL 
 
 OUCHY 
 
 OUCHY is the port of Lausanne, a pleasant and 
 pretty suburb and a favourite resort of tourists, 
 since for all who travel by steamer Ouchy is 
 the Charing Cross of the Lake. It is well wooded, 
 has a garden promenade, a little harbour occupied by 
 sailing boats and swans and some of the best hotels in 
 the canton. 
 
 But a little while ago Ouchy was a mere fishing 
 village. It is described in the middle of the 19th century 
 as a neglected place whose narrow lanes were often deep 
 in mud and whose houses were doddering with decay. 
 To the east of the village were the old Holies de la Ville 
 in a state of impecunious ruin. Passengers who arrived 
 by steamer had to be taken ashore in small, flat-bottomed 
 boats, for there was no pier to accommodate a vessel of 
 any size. 
 
 It was not until 1858 that Ouchy woke from its 
 mediaeval slumber, opened its rheumy eyes, stretched 
 its cramped Umbs, and cast off its time-worn rags. The 
 transformation was remarkable. In 1859 the Hotel 
 Beau Rivage was founded, while, about the same time, 
 a landing pier worthy of the port of Lausanne rose from 
 the Lake. Ouchy had always been a port. It had even 
 a service of ships; for as long ago as 1760 a barque 
 
 263 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 sailed on every Monday for Vevey and on every Tuesday 
 for Geneva. So Mondays and Tuesdays were busy days 
 on the beach of Ouchy. 
 
 In very early days a castle was built at Ouchy to 
 protect the port by Bishop Landri de Durnes, but it 
 seems to have been soon destroyed by marauders from 
 Savoy. It was replaced by a far more massive building 
 by Bishop Roger between the years 1178 and 1212.^ It 
 had a great square donjon with a fine building at its foot 
 and was surrounded by a moat and by a wall upon which 
 two round towers were planted. Here the bishops lived. 
 Here they had their own chapel and here they held im- 
 portant conferences. They looked after the port and 
 especially after the harbour dues and did a good business 
 as transport agents. They w^ere never short of fish, for 
 it was ordained that every boatman, when he w^ent 
 a-fishing, must make — on each occasion — a cast of the 
 net for the bishop. If it rested with the fisherman to 
 determine, after the event, which was the bishop's par- 
 ticular catch the impost was probably not exacting. 
 After the bishops were driven out in 1536 the castle fell 
 into decay. Old prints show it in progressive stages of 
 decrepitude, but also show that the donjon tower still 
 held its great head aloft, through century after century, 
 although the castle was put to all kinds of mean ends. 
 It became a custom-house and even a depot for salt, 
 finally degenerating into a shapeless block of derelict 
 buildings. 
 
 The fortifications were destroyed towards the end of 
 the 17th century. The castle stood close to the edge of 
 the Lake so that the water reached to the wall with 
 
 1 " Dictionnaire Historique de Vaud." 
 264 
 
Ouchy 
 
 which the old stronghold was surrounded. The land that 
 now lies in front of the chateau and which embraces 
 the piers and the public garden has been reclaimed from 
 the Lake in recent years. The site of the chateau is 
 now occupied by a modern hotel with which the tower — 
 restored out of all recognition — is incorporated. In its 
 lower part the ancient walls are still to be seen, but as 
 it ascends it changes from the donjon keep of feudal 
 times to an up-to-date hotel of the 20th century with 
 results which may be imagined. 
 
 Byron and Shelley were detained at Ouchy by heavy 
 rain for two days when returning from their visit to 
 Meillerie (page 145). This was in June, 1816. They 
 stayed at an inn which is referred to as "a small inn in 
 the village of Ouchy." It was here that Byron wrote 
 " The Prisoner of Chillon." The inn was called at the 
 time " L'Ancre," but it is now the Hotel d'Angleterre. 
 From prints of about the year 1816 it would appear that 
 the inn has not greatly altered. It has been enlarged and 
 has lost the double flight of steps by which the entry was 
 approached. By the side of the hotel is a cluster of old 
 houses which have changed but little since Byron's time 
 and which the poet would no doubt recognize if he visited 
 the Ouchy of to-day. 
 
 Between Ouchy and Lausanne is a green hill called 
 Montriond. The north slope is wooded and transformed 
 into a public garden, but the south side, that turns 
 towards the Lake, is still a smooth slope covered with 
 grass which probably looks as it looked a thousand years 
 ago. On this green mound there assembled in the year 
 1036 a great company of barons, bishops and knights 
 from France, from Savoy and from the country round. 
 
 265 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 On the top of the hill stood a venerable prelate, Bishop 
 Hugues of Lausanne, to whose earnest utterances the 
 company listened with attention. To his appeal they 
 yielded so that before the assembly dispersed there was 
 proclaimed from the summit of this green hill the Treve 
 de Dieu or Truce of God. 
 
 Those who bound themselves to observe the Truce 
 were committed to the following conditions. The church, 
 the villager, the serf and the inoffensive merchant were 
 not to be molested. Fighting and feuds were to cease 
 each week from Wednesday night until Monday morning, 
 and a like peace was to be observed during Church 
 festivals as well as during the days of Advent and Lent. 
 M. Maillefer^ points out that these restrictions involved 
 240 days of inactivity, leaving only 125 days in the rest 
 of the year for the business of fighting, of castle-storming 
 and the raiding of towns. It is no matter of surprise — 
 as the author remarks — that a time soon came when 
 these limitations were " not strictly observed." 
 
 1 " Histoire du Canton de Vaud." Lausanne, 1903, p. 122, 
 
 266 
 
— D- 
 
 FROM LAUSANNE TO GENEVA 
 
XLI 
 
 ST. SULPICE AND MORGES 
 
 THE shore of the Lake between Lausanne and 
 Geneva is low, being little more than the sloping 
 bank by a river's side. It is wooded all the way, 
 and here and there, as if to emphasize its charm, a 
 Lombardy poplar stands erect, like a note of exclama- 
 tion. The rising ground behind the Lake margin, as far 
 as Nyon, is devoted to the cultivation of the vine, for 
 this is the great wine-growing district of La Cote. 
 Apart from the vineyards, it is a simple pastoral country 
 which is to be seen at its best behind Nyon, where amid 
 " green haunts and deep inquiring lanes " are villages of 
 serene delight. 
 
 There are low hills in the immediate background, 
 the most conspicuous being La Cote, which starts at St. 
 Prex. On the summit of this hill, near Rolle, is the 
 Signal de Bougy, from which it is possible to see the 
 Lake from end to end, as well as the range of Mont 
 Blanc, some 47 miles distant. About half-way up the 
 Lake the Jura Mountains come into view, sloping 
 obliquely from the north, as if making for Geneva. 
 As that city is approached the country becomes more 
 
 269 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 leisurely, more pleasure-loving, with more villas than 
 farms, more gardens than tilled fields, until at last it 
 lapses idly into a luxuriant suburb with not a few of 
 the river-side features of Mario w or Henley-on-Thames. 
 
 Six kilometres from Ouchy by the Geneva road is 
 the hamlet of St. Sulpice. The only objects of interest 
 on the way are a stone which records the distances, not 
 in kilometres, but in leagues, and, at Vidy, a chapel 
 which is now little more than a barn with a bell gable 
 and a Gothic door. It once was part of the hospital, La 
 Maladiere, to which, in the Middle Ages, lepers and 
 victims of the plague were sent. 
 
 St. Sulpice is a trivial hamlet on a high bank, with 
 just a cafe, a shop or so and a school. At the foot of 
 the bank, by the edge of the Lake, is the famous church. 
 It stands on a little green flat in company with a few 
 chestnut trees, some poplars, two or three benches and a 
 pier. As a specimen of an early church it is the most 
 interesting ecclesiastical building on the Lake. It has 
 been restored with skill and affords a vivid realization of 
 the abbey church of its time. 
 
 The date of the foundation of the Priory of St. 
 Sulpice is unknown, but the church itself dates from the 
 commencement of the 12th century. It has remained 
 practically unchanged in all these years. Unimportant 
 alterations were made in the 15th century and in the 
 year 1673. A tablet inside the church shows precisely 
 what and where these alterations are, the most notable 
 being the Gothic window of the central apse. The 
 restorations occupied the years 1895-1903. A reference 
 to old prints shows how piously these repairs have been 
 carried out. 
 
 270 
 
St. Sulpice and Merges 
 
 The church has a central square tower in a style that 
 would in England be called the Norman. On the east 
 or Lake side is a rounded apse with a very small 
 additional apse on either side of it, each with a single 
 slit-like window. The church within has a cove roof, 
 uniform from end to end. The walls are painted in the 
 style of the period, while in the dome of the central 
 apse are old frescoes (restored) of Christ and the Four 
 Evangelists. 
 
 The next place of any note beyond St. Sulpice is 
 
 Merges. It lies on a shallow bay with almost level 
 
 shores. Although the present town cannot claim to be 
 
 of extreme age, yet some 7,000 years ago Morges was 
 
 one of the most favoured abodes of man in this region, 
 
 for here was the largest of the prehistoric lake villages. 
 
 Lake dwellings are known to have existed at Thonon, 
 
 Yvoire, Excenevex, Nernier, Hermance, Coppet, Rolle, 
 
 St. Prex and Nyon, but the settlement at Morges seems 
 
 to have been the most important of them all and, 
 
 in its way, the metropolis. There appear to have 
 
 been three villages, the largest of which was opposite 
 
 to the present town. It was 1,312 feet long, from 
 
 130 to 300 feet wide and was surrounded by water 
 
 which is now from 9 to 16 feet in depth. ^ Towards the 
 
 end of the severe drought in the winter of 1920-21 the 
 
 piles upon which the village of Morges were built 
 
 appeared above the surface o\ving to the low level of the 
 
 Lake. These ancient structures came up into the air and 
 
 the light of day like the astonished dead rising from the 
 
 deep. Had they been endowed with eyes to see there 
 
 would have been much to wonder at, for the Lake 
 
 * " Dictionnaire Historique de Vaud." 
 271 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 steamers swept by them in the day and at night the 
 electric Hghts of Morges flashed on the water that rippled 
 round them. In the Geneva Museum, besides many 
 relics of the lake-dwellers, is a boat dug out of the trunk 
 of a tree that came from the village of Morges. 
 
 Morges is a delightful town, very placid and — as it 
 would seem — very well content. Along the Lake front 
 is a formal promenade lined with trees. It is bordered 
 by walled gardens which belong to the houses of the town. 
 The backs of these houses are more picturesque than the 
 fronts, which face the street, for the backs of no two 
 houses are alike nor are any two on the same level. They 
 are alike in this, that they all have chestnut-coloured 
 roofs. From the promenade can be obtained, on occa- 
 sion, a view of Mont Blanc. The people of Morges 
 appear to regard this view as a municipal propertj^ and 
 one that gives the town a claim to be illustrious. 
 
 The town consists of two fine wide streets — the 
 Grande Rue and the Rue du Lac — which run parallel 
 with one another and with the margin of the Lake. 
 They are very decorous streets, trim and clean, and 
 made bright, here and there, by modest fountains 
 around which flowers are planted and where pigeons 
 delight to strut. 
 
 At one end of the town is a large modern church in 
 the Classic style (built 1772-6) with a steeple that shines 
 in the sun like polished bronze. At the other end is the 
 chateau, used since the closing years of the 18th century 
 as an arsenal. It is a vast, square building with a round 
 tower at each corner capped by a " pepper-pot " roof. 
 Many of the old windows are retained, while the main 
 
 door is engaging, for it takes the form of a narrow entry 
 
 272 
 
lU'K' 
 
St. Sulpice and Merges 
 
 that opens upon a steep and mysterious stair and is 
 protected overhead by a little machicolated gallery. 
 
 The castle was built by Peter of Savoy towards the 
 end of the 13th century, and is a splendid specimen of 
 its period. It was originally surrounded, on at least two 
 sides, by water, while the largest of the four round 
 towers (that nearest the town) was the keep or place of 
 last refuge. The Counts and Dukes of Savoy have 
 resided here on occasion, but then they — like Queen 
 Elizabeth — seem to have stayed, some time or another, 
 at every building of any note in the country. In 1420 
 Amadeus VIII came with his wife and family to the 
 Castle of Morges to escape the plague, and in order to 
 render themselves more secure the duke had the town 
 isolated. Morges has, of course, in common with all 
 other fortified towns, been duly besieged, taken or burnt, 
 and in these violent events the chateau has always played 
 a leading part. 
 
 The castle, being very old, has, according to the 
 custom of the Swiss, been smothered all over with 
 plaster. In spite of this disfigurement it still retains 
 much of its ancient dignity. One affront, however, 
 brings it almost to the verge of the ridiculous. High up 
 on the frowning feudal tower that formed the keep, 
 where bowmen and harquebusiers kept watch, a huge 
 clock-face has been plastered on the stone, just such a 
 clock-face as would befit the front of a motor garage. 
 By the chateau is the harbour. It was constructed in 
 1680, and as it was first laid down so is it now. It 
 consists of two stone moles with, at the end of each, a 
 rather pert little tower. Between the two towers, in 
 
 ancient days, a chain was stretched to protect the haven. 
 
 s 273 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The two towers are still in place and are still looking 
 very alert, but the chain has gone and with it the 
 pirates. 
 
 Morges was once the Portsmouth of the Lake and 
 the seat of its navy, for in 1689, when Vaud was menaced 
 by the Duke of Savoy, a fleet of men-of-war was built 
 at Morges. It consisted of two " barks," each 70 feet 
 long, with 24 rowers, 3 cannon, a battery of harquebuses 
 and a hold to accommodate 400 soldiers. The number 
 of the men has probably grown to 400 with the growth 
 of years, and may possibly have started with the more 
 reasonable complement of forty. 
 
 What the mediaeval town looked like may be gathered 
 from the Passage de la Voute, which burrows, in quite 
 the mediaeval way, under some old houses ; while the 
 Rue Neuve — possibly the oldest street in the place — is a 
 lane of long ago, for it is dark and clammy and so narrow 
 that it would admit nothing with a greater beam than a 
 laden pack-horse. The Rue des Fosses serves to indicate 
 the line of the ancient walls. There are some old houses 
 in Morges which show no little pretence, for there was 
 a time when the town was a favourite resort for the 
 wealthy people of Lausanne. 
 
 The Hotel de Ville is a fine old building with a 
 pentagonal tower in which is a winding stair and with 
 a very handsome entry bearing the date 1680. On the 
 face of the tower hangs the alarm bell. Projecting from 
 an angle of the Town Hall, at the level of the first 
 floor, is a very old stone figure of Justice. It takes the 
 from of a loose, silly-looking young woman who is very 
 immodestly clad and who holds negligently in her hand 
 a pair of metal scales which wave in the wind. She is 
 
 274 
 
St. Sulpice and Merges 
 
 not an imposing figure and would, indeed, appear to be 
 better fitted for a reformatory than for a palace of 
 justice. 
 
 One of the most interesting things in Morges is 
 the old house. No. 54, Grande Rue, known as " La 
 Laiterie." The interior has been admirably restored by 
 the owner, a learned antiquary, and the rooms filled with 
 his fine collection of old furniture. The house consists 
 of two parts, that on the street dating from the 15th 
 century and that at the back from a century later. 
 Between the two is a courtyard in which are three 
 beautiful stone galleries which rise one above the other. 
 Each is supported upon pillars and rounded arches, and 
 each has a stone balustrade. The structure bears the arms 
 of the Blanchenay family and the date 1670. 
 
 The front of the house, looking on the street, has 
 been modernized and spoiled beyond recovery, but the 
 fagade of the other house, that looks into the court, is 
 little altered and its old windows are still charming. 
 Three of the original wooden ceilings have been pre- 
 served. They are all notable, but one belonging to the 
 16th century is magnificent and is worth a journey to 
 Morges to see. It is fashioned in the form of sunken 
 squares enclosed by immense beams. The design is 
 carried out with a boldness and an arrogance very 
 expressive of mediaeval ideas. There are many small 
 rooms, which are panelled, have friendly-looking cup- 
 boards, and curious little paintings over the doors. They, 
 with the rest of the house, enable one to realize the 
 home of the gentleman of Morges as he and his 
 family lived some hundreds of years ago. The furniture 
 belongs to many periods and is derived from many 
 
 275 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 sources. Much of it is accredited to the 16th century 
 and a great deal to the days of Louis XIV and Louis 
 Quinze. 
 
 In its general aspect Morges is most attractive. It 
 is throughout a grey town, so uniformly grey that it 
 seems to be coated with dust or to be viewed through a 
 mist. Beneath its pallor there is just a hint, here and 
 there, of a colour that may have been bright long years 
 ago, for in the almost universal grey there may be traces 
 of a faint green on a shutter, of an almost vanished pink 
 on a house front, or of a primrose that might once have 
 been brown. Thus it is that its streets have about them 
 the suggestion of a very faded brocade. 
 
 One old book speaks of Morges as "a cultured 
 town," but it would now be described rather as 
 ' ' genteel ' ' and as presenting a respectability so pro- 
 nounced and prim as to be almost oppressive. It has the 
 aspect of an early Victorian town, a Jane Austen town, 
 that would pride itself on being "select," where the 
 proprieties are observed and where deference should still 
 be paid to " persons of quality." 
 
 There is one anomaly which is as difficult to appreciate 
 as the garage clock on the feudal tower. Morges has a 
 casino. How it found its way into the town is beyond 
 understanding. It is an admirable casino, but it seems 
 as out of place as a loud-voiced buccaneer at a vicarage 
 drawing-room tea party. 
 
 Close to Morges is the amazing Chateau of Vufflens. 
 It is the largest castle on the Lake, the loftiest, the 
 most imposing. It is a building of that type and size 
 .which is generally spoken of as "a pile." It is a land- 
 mark in the country for miles around, and even when 
 
 276 
 
THE CASTLE OF MORGES 
 
 VUFFLENS 
 
St. Sulpice and Morges 
 
 viewed from across the water is impressive by its sheer 
 immensity. Seen at a distance, when the sun shines on 
 it, it is entirely white, as white as if it were made of 
 marble and, curiously enough, it then appears to be new 
 and a work of yesterday. 
 
 There was a castle at Vufflens as long ago as the 
 12th century, and the first seigneur of whom any record 
 exists is the Chevalier Pierre de Vufflens, in the year 
 1160. Some vestiges of the early stronghold or of a 
 chateau of the 13th or 14th century have been discovered. 
 The castle was at first a freehold, but was subsequently 
 placed for greater security under the protection of the 
 bishops of Lausanne. The lords of Vufflens held it 
 until the middle of the 13th century, when it passed by 
 marriage to Richard de Duin. About the close of the 
 following century it was possessed by the illustrious 
 family of Colombier, who held it to the middle of the 
 16th century. The present castle was built by a Colom- 
 bier in the 15th century, and it is assumed that the 
 architect was an Itahan. Vufflens was bought by 
 Francois de Senarclens in 1641, and was in the holding 
 of that great family until recent years. The last of the 
 race, Henri de Senarclens, died in 1858. The Senarclens 
 arms still surmount the main entry. 
 
 Vufflens stands on a small green hill in a land of 
 many vineyards. At its foot the little village cringes like 
 a frightened dog. What especially strikes the visitor, 
 when wonder at the vast proportions of the place has 
 lessened, is its aspect of extreme old age and the remark- 
 able fact that it is built wholly of brick, of a small white 
 brick. By an ingenious disposal of the brick beautiful 
 
 and delicate ornamentation is introduced in the walls, 
 
 277 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and where, in a few places, red brick is blended with the 
 white, the effect is exquisite. 
 
 The predominant feature of the castle is a gigantic 
 square tower, 190 feet high, capped by a cone-shaped 
 roof. Beneath the eaves of the roof is a row of \vindows, 
 black and hollow, which light the gallery where the 
 sentries kept their watch. Then below the gallery, as 
 the chief ornament of the tower, is a series of machico- 
 lations of an unusual and most picturesque type. At 
 the foot of the great keep are four smaller towers, also 
 square and designed upon like lines. At a little distance 
 from the donjon is a low square castle or memoir with 
 a round turret at each angle and with modernized 
 windows on its lower floors. It is connected with the 
 main building by a long gallery and a subterranean 
 passage. In this lesser chateau the owner lives, or 
 rather lived, for the castle is at present unoccupied and 
 is, indeed, for sale. The castle appears to have been 
 restored for the last time in 1860. 
 
 278 
 
• XLII 
 
 ST. PREX AND A MAN OF WEIGHT 
 
 A LITTLE way beyond Morges is St. Prex. St. 
 Prex is said to have come by its name in rather 
 ^ a curious manner. St. Prothais, the Bishop of 
 Avenches, who flourished in the early part of the 6th 
 century, seeing his town in process of being destroyed 
 by the Germans, sought peace in a soHtude at the foot 
 of the Jura Mountains. On his death his body was 
 buried at a place called Biere,^ but the Bishop of 
 Lausanne, holding the saint in great veneration, resolved 
 that his remains should be deposited in the cathedral of 
 that city. The body was therefore dug up and carried 
 by the clergy with great ceremony to the shores of the 
 Lake. 
 
 The funeral procession was an imposing one, for there 
 was a brave display of banners, while the company, as 
 they marched along, chanted psalms and hymns. In due 
 course they arrived at a little Lake town then called 
 Basuges. On approaching this spot it was noticed that 
 the bearers of the coffin began to stagger under their 
 burden. The coffin had, in fact, suddenly become 
 heavier. It became, indeed, more and more weighty 
 with each step. The procession halted, additional bearers 
 
 1 Some six miles due north of Rolle. 
 279 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 put their shoulders under the bier, the singing ceased; 
 but the coffin became heavier and yet heavier, until at 
 last it had to be lowered to the ground. When on the 
 ground it was discovered that no body of men could 
 lift it. 
 
 It was evident that the dead bishop had an aversion 
 to be moved any farther and was determined to stay 
 where he was. Thus it came to pass that at Basuges he 
 was buried and the place came to be known as St. 
 Prex, which, by some ingenuity, is considered to be an 
 improved version of St. Prothais. 
 
 The obstinacy of the bishop did not diminish with 
 the passage of years, for in 1400 he was again dug up 
 and the attempt made to continue the interrupted 
 journey to Lausanne. But the bishop was as determined 
 as ever not to go to that city, for the coffin was found 
 to have actually gained in weight in the intervening 800 
 years. So at St. Prex he remained, as he evidently 
 .wished. 
 
 Basuges, it should be mentioned, was almost 
 destroyed by an inundation in 563, and on such part of 
 it as remained high and dry the St. Prex of the present 
 time was built. ^ The little town, standing as it does on 
 a point of land, was fortified by Boniface, Bishop of 
 Lausanne, in 1234, and became a very sturdy and inde- 
 pendent place. It needed a stout tower and strong walls 
 to protect it from the pirates of Thonon, to whom the 
 periodic raiding of St. Prex appears to have been a 
 popular diversion. It would seem that, besides its walls 
 and its towers, it possessed — in the days of its glory — a 
 court of justice, a cowhouse, a bakehouse and a chapel. 
 
 1 " Le L6man," par Bailly de Lalonde. Tome i, p. 166. Paris, 1842. 
 
 280 
 
ST. PREX 
 
 ST. PREX: THE TOWN GATE 
 
St. Prex and a Man of Weight 
 
 It also possessed a mayor, for it is on record that the 
 first mayor of St. Prex died in 1200.^ 
 
 St. Prex occupies a well-wooded promontory which 
 projects so far into the Lake that at a distance the place 
 appears to be afloat. Above the trees can be seen the 
 top of the old tower and the spire of the church. It 
 is now a very small, subdued and inoffensive village, 
 apparently half emptied of its people and given over to 
 the lodging of cattle, for the smell of the co washed per- 
 vades St. Prex from end to end. It boasts of a little 
 parade, with a few trees and a bench or two. Of the 
 old walls but a few traces remain, but the town gate 
 and the ancient tower still stand. The tower is near 
 the Lake edge, is square, lofty and pierced by fine 
 Romanesque windows and by a few loopholes. Of the 
 age of the tower nothing definite is known, except that 
 it is " very old." It seems now to fill no pubHc function, 
 since it has attached itself in a very friendly >vay to a 
 block of modern buildings. So close is the attachment 
 that the old and the new seem to be standing arm in 
 arm. Most of the houses of the to.wn belong to the 16th 
 and 17th centuries. 
 
 The town gate has a pointed arch, over which rises 
 a picturesque clock tower with a gaily painted clock. 
 The ancient house by the gate is now the Maison de 
 Ville, as certain public documents pasted on the wall 
 attest. The gate opens into a wide and cheery High 
 Street where are the village shops. The rest of the town 
 is occupied by bewildered lanes which are as tangled as 
 a bundle of string. 
 
 1 Guillaume Fatio, op. cit. The mayor in the middle ages was usually the 
 agent or bailifl of the bishop and a minor magistrate. 
 
 281 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The church is on a slight hill outside the town. It 
 occupies the site of a church of the 12th century, some 
 of the foundations of which have been brought to light. 
 It is a large plain building with a handsome square tower, 
 the round-arched windows of which are obviously very 
 old. On the summit of the tower is a pointed spire 
 covered with brilliant little tiles. The main door at the 
 foot of the tower is in the Classic style and bears the 
 date 1663. There are certain old windows in the body 
 of the church, notably one of the early English type and 
 another with an ogee arch. Both are bricked up. In the 
 wall by these windows some pieces of carved stone have 
 been inserted. One, representing leaves and an ear of 
 corn, has on it the date 1503, while the other piece 
 appears to be Roman, for the Romans had a settlement 
 of some note on this point of land. The windows w^hich 
 light the church are Romanesque, and great age must 
 attach to the heavy buttresses which support the walls. 
 The choir is decorated by beautiful Romanesque arcades. 
 The body of the church has been restored, for a woodcut 
 of 1844 shows it as being little more than a barn.^ 
 
 1 " Le Tour du L^man," par A. de Bougy. Paris, 1846 
 
 282 
 
XLIII 
 
 ROLLE 
 
 ROLLE is a curiously attractive town, being, as 
 one writer sympathetically says, " U7ie honnete 
 ■ petite ville.'' It is very like Morges but Morges 
 in miniature. It bears as close a family likeness to 
 Morges as if that town were its parent. Morges has two 
 wide, straight streets ; Rolle has one. Morges has four 
 thousand inhabitants ; Rolle has two thousand. Morges 
 has an ancient castle at one end of the town, and so 
 has Rolle. Morges has a casino, and Rolle, not to be 
 outdone, has an island of its o^vn. This island, by the 
 way, adds much charm to the place. It is an artificial 
 island constructed in 1839. It is now^ covered with trees 
 and is " adorned," as the guide books say, with an 
 obelisk in honour of De la Harpe, who was a native of 
 the town. 
 
 The long broad street of Rolle would pass for the 
 Grande Rue of an 18th century town, if only its shops 
 were a little toned down and a little less lavish in plate 
 glass. In a fine house. No. 5, Cesar de la Harpe was 
 born. A tablet attached to the building describes him 
 as the " Fondateur de la Liberie Vaudoise,^^ and gives 
 his birth and death as 1754 and 1838. There is also in 
 the Grande Rue a round-arched gateway with a little 
 square tower over it furnished with machicolations and 
 
 283 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 with double ogee windows. It bears the insigne of the 
 double cross and was evidently at one time the gate- 
 house of some mansion of distinction. 
 
 At the end of the street is the castle, a low, long 
 building with a fine square tower at either end and a 
 water-tower standing in the Lake, but connected to the 
 main building by a gallery. It is a fine specimen of feudal 
 architecture and can claim a venerable past, for in 1291 
 the Count of Savoy had a castle at Rolle. The oldest 
 part of the present building belongs to this period. The 
 lords of Mont were from an early date the holders of the 
 stronghold. Among them was Amedee de Viry, who 
 in 1476 repaired the building and added a great round 
 tower on the north-west side which still goes by his 
 name. This is the Amedee who erected the little church 
 at Coppet. At Mont, which stands about a mile and a 
 half above Rolle, there can still be seen on an eminence 
 some remains of the old feudal donjon of the barons of 
 that place. The castle was much damaged by fire in 
 1530 and was finally modernized in the 19th century. 
 
 The body of the castle forms a triangle, consists of 
 one floor only, and is now occupied by municipal offices, 
 a school, and a museum which appears to be never open 
 when a visit is projected. Over the main entry are carved, 
 with great display, the arms of Hieronymus Steiger. 
 In 1588 Jean Steiger bought the seigneuries of Mont 
 and Rolle. He was followed by many members of his 
 family, during whose tenancy the castle was restored, was 
 much modified and given its present outlines. By the 
 side of the entry is a pretty Gothic window which seems 
 to have lost its way in this otherwise severe building. In 
 
 the upper ^sdndows of the castle are curious iron grilles 
 
 284 
 

Rolle 
 
 of exceptional and extravagant fierceness. They look 
 like the distorted branches of some horrible iron thorn 
 bush, and appear to be enraged, but what purpose they 
 serve beyond that of mere f rightfulness it is hard to say. 
 On the land side of the castle to the north-west is an 
 immense round tower standing alone. It has a fine 
 pointed roof. If it has a door it is hidden. Save for a 
 few loopholes its walls are blank, and as to windows it 
 has none. A more dumb, inhospitable and uncivil 
 building could not be conceived. This is the Viry Tower 
 already alluded to. It is at present used as a prison, and 
 no building in the world could appear more like one. 
 
 From the Lake it is that Rolle looks its best, for its 
 gardens come down to the water's edge just as they do 
 at Coppet. There is no stiff promenade, but only a line 
 of garden walls, and behind the gardens a row of unsteady 
 old houses. Each garden has its summer-house and its 
 little landing stage with usually a boat made fast to it, 
 while the backs of the houses, which look towards the 
 Lake, are so fantastically irregular and so beautiful with 
 their red-brown roofs, their balconies and their climbing 
 roses, that Rolle must ever be a place of pleasant memory. 
 
 About the second half of the 18th century Rolle 
 was an exceedingly fashionable town which w^as much 
 patronized by the "smart set" of the time. It was a 
 spa. It had baths. It had a sulphur spring like that of 
 Harrogate and also a stream that gave forth iron. The 
 spring was situated at the end of the town on the way 
 to Lausanne. All kinds of great people came to Rolle 
 for the " cure," and among them no less a person than 
 that wizened old cynic, Voltaire. 
 
 Behind Rolle there stretches a glorious green country 
 
 285 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 which ends at the foot of the tree-capped hill La Cote. 
 It is dotted by many villages, each with its little church. 
 They look inviting at a distance, but certain of them lose 
 much of their charm when viewed from the actual street. 
 In Allaman, which stands not far from the Lake, is 
 the vast Chateau des Menthon. It has been much 
 restored and now follow^s the general lines of the great 
 mansion of the 18th century. Its towers are no doubt 
 older and its moat more ancient still. It is said 
 that Voltaire w^ished at one time to purchase this castle, 
 but their Excellencies of Berne declined the offer on 
 the extraordinary ground that Voltaire w^as a Roman 
 Catholic. There is a little old church in the village with 
 a square tower and a pointed spire. In front of it and 
 shading it is a fine and venerable tree. It is from just 
 such a church that the curfew tolled ** the knell of 
 parting day " in Gray's " Elegy." 
 
 Higher up the slope, on a natural terrace, is the 
 ancient and picturesque town of Aubonne. It is made 
 a conspicuous object in the landscape by reason of its 
 very tall white tower capped with red, which stands up 
 above the town like a gaunt lighthouse. Aubonne w^as a 
 Roman town of some consequence, and later a stronghold 
 of the Burgundians and of the House of Savoy. In after 
 days its history was one of violence and misfortune and 
 of the pride that goeth before a fall, for it seems to have 
 been fated that every family who held Aubonne must 
 needs come in time to some kind of tragic end. The story 
 of the town has been ably written by Duquesne,^ but it 
 is too long and too involved to be attempted in this place. 
 
 Among the great lords of Aubonne in the days of 
 
 ^ " Aubonne k travers les figes," par M. le pasteur Duquesne. Morges, 1908. 
 
 286 
 
o 
 
 b 
 
 o 
 
 a 
 
 J 
 
 H 
 en 
 
 < 
 U 
 
 H 
 
ROLLE 
 
RoUe 
 
 Savoy was that Othon de Grandson who was suspected 
 of compassing the death of Amadeus VII at Ripaille, 
 as has been recounted in Chapter x. Before this 
 mysterious event he had become famous as a soldier and 
 had fought with distinction in the EngHsh army. 
 
 Aubonne was taken by the Bernese in 1.53G, and 
 some hundred years later (viz. in 1620) the seigneurie of 
 the town was sold to a certain Theodore Turquet de 
 Mayerne. This man (born at Mayerne, near Geneva, 
 in 1573) was a doctor who practised in Paris. He was 
 a learned, ingenious and enlightened physician who was 
 far in advance of his times. In his day no medicines 
 were considered to be fit for the use of man unless they 
 were derived from the animal or vegetable kingdom. 
 Mayerne, who was skilled in chemistry, boldly defended 
 the use of chemical remedies in disease. He was the 
 first to employ calomel as a drug, and introduced the 
 famous lotion known as " Black wash." For these 
 heresies he was condemned as a quack by the College of 
 Physicians of Paris ; doctors were forbidden to meet him 
 in consultation, puns were made on his name (tiirquety 
 a mongrel) and, although by far the most able physician 
 of his time, he was practically banished from the city. 
 
 He was neither a quack nor a mongrel, but a physician 
 of exceptional ability and a man who inspired respect 
 by his uprightness, his independence and his frank 
 honesty. In Paris he happened to have cured an English 
 peer who took the discredited doctor with him to England 
 and presented him to the king. His supreme merit was 
 soon recognized. He was granted the M.D. of Oxford 
 in 160G, was made physician to James I in 1611, and was 
 later physician-in-ordinary to Charles I and his queen. 
 
 287 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 He greatly pleased the august lady by inventing some 
 exceptional cosmetics for her use. He was knighted in 
 1624. He sold the seigneurie of Aubonne in 1650 and 
 ended his days in retirement in Chelsea. Here he 
 died in 1655 and was buried in the church of St. Martin- 
 in-the-Fields. It is through these two notables that 
 Aubonne becomes associated, in curious ways, with 
 England and with London. 
 
 The chateau, raised aloft upon high walls, crowns the 
 summit of the town. It dates from the 13th century, 
 but the only relic of the ancient building is the plain 
 white donjon tower by which Aubonne is known on the 
 Lake. There was another tower like it at one time, but 
 it vanished in 1837, partly from the effect of time and 
 partly from the far more ruinous effect of "improve- 
 ments." The present castle — used for municipal offices 
 — belongs to the 17th and 18th centuries, has a beautiful 
 gateway and a fine courtyard surrounded by an arcade 
 of Classic pillars. 
 
 Among the quaint and picturesque ways of Aubonne 
 
 .will be found a fine market-house, raised upon columns, 
 
 and an ancient church founded in 1306. The latter poor 
 
 building has been so renovated and improved from time 
 
 to time that it is now much deformed and is a mere 
 
 hunchback and cripple of a church. So much of the old 
 
 material has been preser\^ed that it presents a pathetic 
 
 medley of a dozen periods and a patchwork of all sorts 
 
 of architectural curiosities. The next time it is restored 
 
 it is to be hoped that it will be put out of its misery, and 
 
 that the venerable pillars and oddly carv^ed stones and 
 
 corbels will be given a home in some kindly museum, for 
 
 as a place of worship it is a mere travesty. 
 
 288 
 
THE TOWER OF AUBONNE 
 
 AUBONNE: ENTRANCE TO THE CHATEAU 
 
5' J .• : 
 
XLIV 
 
 NYON 
 
 NO town viewed from the Lake is more romantic 
 looking than old Nyon. It appears as a medley 
 of weather-worn houses piled up on a mound, on 
 the summit of which is a fine mediaeval castle, grey as a 
 ghost. A study of ancient prints serves to show that 
 Nyon has changed but little during the last few centuries. 
 It has developed, it is true, a philandering promenade 
 and some timid suburbs ; but it is still the firm-knit, 
 truculent old town on the hill that bawled defiance across 
 the Lake. 
 
 It is a very ancient place, for it was founded by the 
 Romans about 46 B.C. and was a town of some magni- 
 ficence in its time, as is attested by the remains that 
 have been discovered of noble buildings and an imposing 
 temple. Its water was brought by means of an aqueduct 
 from Divonne, which is nearly six miles distant, while 
 in the bay of Promenthoux was a Roman military en- 
 campment and a harbour to serve it. 
 
 During the 2nd and 3rd centuries barbarian hordes 
 swept over the town, leaving it blood-spattered, charred 
 and dishonoured, so that when the Burgundians came in 
 443 Nyon was but a heap of desolate ruins. It is believed 
 to have remained in this condition for some 600 years. ^ 
 
 1 " Nyon k travers les Slides," par Th. Wellauer. Geneva, 1901. 
 T 289 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 There it stood, century after eentury, a haunted mound 
 shunned by man, a plaee of awe whose hidden ways 
 were a refuge for wild beasts, a tumulus of bleached bones. 
 Here, among the undergrowth on the hill-top were the 
 broken pillars of a temple, the flagged pavement of a 
 forum, the curved stone bench of a garden, the basin of 
 a fountain, the walls that marked a street. 
 
 It was not until the end of the 11th century — in 
 1096 some records say — that life came again to this long 
 silent hill and men began to make their homes among 
 the pitiable ruins. The little hesitating town belonged 
 at first to the Archbishop of Besanyon and was assigned 
 in 1130 — for purposes of easier administration — to 
 Humbert de Cossonay, lord of Prangins. About 1293 
 it passed into the possession of Savoy, grew straightway 
 in stature and in strength, and became one of the prin- 
 cipal towns in Vaud. In 1416 it could boast of 800 
 inhabitants. In January, 1536, it was taken without 
 resistance by the Bernese, in whose masterful hands it 
 remained until 1798, when Vaud declared its independ- 
 ence and when over the tower of Nyon was hoisted La 
 cocarde verte. 
 
 The age of the castle of Nyon is uncertain. Although 
 first heard of in 1289, it can only claim to have been 
 built, on lines like the present, during the occupation of 
 Savoy. After the Bernese took Nyon they reconstructed 
 the castle in the years 1572-7, and it is this castle that 
 crowns the hill to-day. Three of the round towers M. 
 Wellauer believes belong to the 13th century and to 
 Savoy, but the body of the building dates — as already 
 stated — from the close of the 16th century. 
 
 The castle is singularly well preserved. It consists of 
 
 290 
 
Nyon 
 
 a massive square block of grey stone with, at each corner, 
 a round tower capped by a conical roof. There is on one 
 side of the chateau a fifth tower, square and of great size, 
 which is furnished with machicolations. It contains the 
 main stair and the belfry. The central building has a 
 high-pitched roof of chestnut-brown tiles which is im- 
 pressive by its great size. Unfortunately the windows 
 have been modernized and provided with sun-blinds and 
 flower-boxes such as would become a well-to-do boarding- 
 house. The structure is now occupied by municipal 
 offices and by a prison. 
 
 The entry to the castle yard is through a round-arched 
 gateway over which are carved coats of arms and the date 
 1572. The chief arms are those of Zehender, the bailiff 
 of the time. The details are almost obliterated, but it 
 is still possible to decipher on the stone a figure that 
 might pass for the bear of Berne. The shield is sup- 
 ported by two utterly ridiculous lions, standing erect 
 and as crude as a couple of nursery toys. A drawing of 
 the castle in the museum shows that as late as 1744 
 there was a ditch on the land side which was crossed 
 by a drawbridge and protected by a picturesque guard- 
 house. 
 
 The castle was the official residence of the hailli. 
 Most notable among these representatives of Berne was 
 the genial Victor de Bonstetten, the friend of Madame 
 de Stael. A portrait of this charming old gentleman 
 (who Hved between the years 1745 and 1832) is to be 
 found in the Castle Museum. One night during the 
 Terror a servant summoned Bonstetten to come to a man 
 who was hiding in the garden. The good-natured hailli 
 
 .went at once and found a wild-looking man in rags who 
 
 291 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 exclaimed, " I am Carnot. I die of hunger. Give me 
 shelter for the night." Bonstetten covered his tatters 
 with his own cloak, took him in, fed him and lodged him 
 in his own bed. The next day Camot was able to proceed 
 on his way. He never forgot his kindly host, for when 
 he became minister he invited Bonstetten to Paris and 
 presented him to Napoleon, who was then First Consul. 
 General Lazare Carnot — it will be remembered — was for 
 two years president of the Directoire, but in 1797 was 
 forced to flee from Paris. He returned to that city in 
 1799. 
 
 Nyon in the days of its glory was a walled town with 
 three gates. The castle stood at an angle of the enceinte. 
 The old wall on the Lake side of the town still exists, 
 although it has been much reduced in height. At its foot 
 runs the beautiful Promenade des Marronniers, shaded 
 by trees and commanding a fine view of the Lake and of 
 the range of Mont Blanc. In the course of the wall is 
 the base of the large round bastion which figures in the 
 old drawings of Nyon. 
 
 The Promenade ends at the only remaining gate of 
 the town — the Porte Notre-Dame. It is a gateway with 
 a rounded arch built out of stones from the Roman ruins. 
 From this point the wall followed the Promenade du 
 Jura as far as the Place Bel Air, where stood the Porte 
 St. Martin. This gate has long since been demolis^hed, 
 but until quite recently there was on the roof of a forge 
 near by (now pulled down) the watch-tower of the guard 
 of this quarter of the town. From the St. Martin Gate 
 the wall ran in a bold sweep round the Place Bel Air, 
 .where a considerable section of it (some 14 feet high) 
 
 can still be seen on the side opposite to the new post 
 
 292 
 
Nyon 
 
 office. Where the Place Bel Air meets the Rue St. Jean 
 was the third gate, the Porte St. Jean. From this point 
 the wall (the base of which still exists) passed direct to 
 the castle by the Rue des Moulins. These walls are 
 believed to date from the 14th century. 
 
 At the foot of the castle mound and near to the 
 margin of the Lake is a venerable tower called the Tour 
 Jules-Cesar. It is reached by a steep, old-fashioned alley 
 — the Rue de la Poterne. The tower is square, is 
 possessed of four stories and is capped by a cone-shaped 
 roof. It is now occupied by poor tenements. The base 
 of the tower, built of large blocks of stone, is Roman, 
 the upper part (much modified) belongs to the Middle 
 Ages. High up on that wall of the tower which faces 
 the Lake is the figure of a man in stone, but so weather- 
 worn is it that its identity is lost. It may be taken to 
 represent the Unknown Warrior of Nyon's fighting days. 
 When the fortifications of Nyon were built the tower 
 became of comparatively little importance, for in 1398 it 
 is on record that it was granted to a meritorious citizen, 
 in recognition of his services, on the annual payment of 
 a partridge, that bird apparently occup5dng at the time 
 the legal position of the more modern pepper-corn.^ 
 
 Not far from Caesar's Tower is an old statue which 
 represents another Unknown Warrior. It is the figure 
 of a man in armour with a very gallant plume in his 
 helmet and a halberd in his hand. As a work of art it 
 is archaic. Below the pedestal on which the figure stands 
 is a stone fountain bearing the date 1763, but it is evident 
 that the statue is some centuries older. The warrior holds 
 
 in his left hand a shield or scroll bearing the silver fish of 
 
 • 
 
 1 " Dictionnaire Historique de Vaud." 
 
 293 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Nyon and the date 1096 — the year of the reputed resur- 
 rection of the town. Testuz^ states that his armour and 
 equipment belong to the period of Henri IV (1553-89). 
 Nothing is known as to the identity of this cavaUer. 
 He is, however, much admired by the inhabitants and is 
 affectionately known as " Maitre Jacques." 
 
 The streets of Nyon — now a town of 5,000 inhabitants 
 — are full of interest and contain many old houses, in the 
 walls of some of which are fragments of curious carving. 
 It also is made beautiful by many gardens and there is, 
 indeed, one street, the Rue des Jardins, which has 
 nothing but gardens on either side of it. The chief 
 gardens in this street belong to a large and ancient 
 mansion which stands by the south side of the chateau 
 on the site of old convent buildings. 
 
 The street known as the Rue du Vieux-Marche is 
 supposed to traverse the Roman forum, since so many 
 Roman remains have been found in its vicinity. In the 
 picturesque Rue du Marche certain buildings are raised 
 upon arches so as to form a long arcade full of deep 
 shadows. One of these buildings is the fine old Town 
 Hall bearing the date 1636 and flanked by a square tower 
 which would seem to be older still. Let into one of the 
 buttresses of the Town Hall is a large slab of Roman 
 carved stone. Opposite to the Town Hall is one of the 
 many beautiful fountains of Nyon. At the end of the 
 arcades is the Tour de la Flechere. It is a square tower, 
 much mutilated and much plastered over, but it retains 
 its fine stone doorway over the lintel of which, in bold 
 carving, are the arms of the families Des Champs- 
 Aubonne and the date 1597. This was the mansion of 
 
 1 " Nyon ct ses Environs," par Aug. Testuz (I'Europe illustrie). No date. 
 
 294 
 
NYON: RUE DE L4 FLECHERE 
 
 
 NYON: THE WRITlNp.ON; Ttjig. WA1;U. ;'. : ; 
 
Nyon 
 
 a noble and it stands in what was once the aristocratic 
 quarter of the town. 
 
 Behind and below the present post office is the old 
 corn mill of the baiUis of Berne. It is built on the mill 
 course of the Asse, and its wheel still tumbles round and 
 round. It bears on the beams \vhich face the street the 
 date 1C21 and the initials m.i.b. — i.o.d.m. 
 
 The national church of Nyon was built on its present 
 lines in 1474. It has been many times restored — to its 
 disadvantage. The lower parts of the walls are con- 
 structed of stones from the Roman ruins. The spire fell 
 down at the end of the 18th century and has not been 
 replaced. The nave is Gothic. At the east end are two 
 vers' tine Romanesque windows of a most unusual type. 
 On the outer wall at this part are two venerable carved 
 stones, one showing the sun and the letters I.H.S., and 
 the other the arms of Savoy. 
 
 Near the church, in the Rue du Prieure and in the 
 wall of a modest house, is set an inscribed stone. The 
 inscription it bears is shown in the photograph facing 
 page 294. This remarkable Writing on the Wall may 
 be translated as follows : 
 
 " In 1573 a cupa of corn cost 15 florins 
 and a setier of wine 13 florins.'* 
 
 It is impossible to give in modern terms the equivalent 
 value of these measures, as both they and the florin were 
 subject to local variations very difficult to gauge with any 
 accuracy. The stone expresses the high w^ater mark 
 attained by the cost of living in 1573. This was the 
 result of oppressive taxation, for, by the so-called Con- 
 vention of Lausanne of 1564, it was stipulated that the 
 
 295 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Bernese should pay to Savoy an indemnity of 80,000 
 gold crowns, and it was further resolved that this money 
 should be a charge on the Pays de Vaud.^ Moreover, 
 the rebuilding of the castle of Nyon was commenced in 
 1572, and it may be assumed that the people of Nyon 
 were called upon to contribute to this costly undertaking. 
 The interest in after years of this Writing on the 
 Wall may be judged by imagining the significance of a 
 stone let into the wall of a house on Ludgate Hill with 
 the inscription : 
 
 " In 1920 a loaf of bread cost l/4j 
 and a bottle of whisky 12/6.'* 
 
 1 " Histoire du Canton de Vaud," par P, Maillefer. Lausanne, 1903, p. 254. 
 
 296 
 
XLV 
 
 MADAME DE STAEL 
 
 THERE is no place on the Lake more fascinating 
 than Coppet — little, old-fashioned Coppet — with 
 its grey chateau and its memories of Madame de 
 Stael. Places of historic or sentimental interest are apt 
 to be marred by the callousness of change and the 
 intrusion of unsympathetic detail, but here at the chateau 
 nothing has altered. It is as it was a hundred years ago. 
 There is no jarring element, nothing to disturb the 
 memory of the past and the perfection of the picture it 
 conjures up. 
 
 It is possible, without an effort, to reconstruct the 
 romance of the faded house and the scenes that it 
 witnessed — scenes that belong to a picturesque period in 
 the history of France and to a very remarkable company 
 of dramatis personae. It is possible to realize the presence 
 of its radiant chatelaine, to see the beautiful Madame 
 Recamier, Benjamin Constant, " with his red hair, his 
 pale blue eyes and his gawky German-student appear- 
 ance " ^; Madame de Kriidner, who " talked of nothing 
 but heaven and hell"; Count de Sabran, who was so 
 small that he was nearly buried in his helmet when he 
 played Pyrrhus ; Werner, the tragic poet " with his nose 
 full of tobacco " and his bad French, and dear old Bon- 
 stetten, philosopher and gossip, who never outgrew his 
 
 1 " Madame de Stael," by A. Stevens, London, 1881. 
 297 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 youth and never ceased his admiration of Frederika Brun. 
 So whole-heartedly does the chateau with its rambling 
 garden belong, even now, to the 18th century that folk 
 in the attire of to-day — golf caps and tweed suits — seem 
 grossly out of place in its precincts. Among its salons 
 and its solemn walks should be ladies in turbans and 
 plumes and in dresses with the waist just under the 
 arms ; while the men should wear wigs or long hair, full- 
 skirted coats, with a soft cravat at the neck and frills 
 at the wrist, breeches and bright stockings. 
 
 Very many books have been written on the subject 
 of Madame de Stael and her times, but it may be con- 
 venient to some — standing, as it w^ere, in the courtyard 
 at Coppet — to give a brief resume of her animated career. 
 Anne Louise, Baronne de Stael Holstein, was born in 
 Paris in 1766, and died in that city in 1817. Her father 
 was Jacques Necker, a wealthy Parisian banker and 
 Minister of Finance to Louis XVI. ^ A native of Geneva 
 and a Protestant, he w^as a remarkable man with a still 
 more remarkable appearance. His bust in the Museum 
 at Geneva shows a head so strangely shaped as fully to 
 justify his wife's assertion that "his features resemble 
 those of no one else." The strange characteristics of his 
 face are a pointed retreating forehead of immoderate 
 height and a pointed chin of equally immoderate length. 
 Madame 's mother was Susanna Curchod,^ the daughter 
 of the Protestant pastor of Grassier, a village on the 
 frontier of France and some five or six miles from 
 
 1 Born 1732. Died at Coppet 1804. The blazing jade-green uniform that 
 he wore at the meeting of the States General at the commencement of the French 
 Revolution is in the Geneva Museum. 
 
 * Born 1739. Married 1764 Died at Coppet 1794. 
 
 298 
 
Madame de Stael 
 
 Coppet. Having been left with little means at her 
 father's death, she had to work for her living, and so 
 became a governess. Before she met Necker she was 
 beloved by Gibbon, the historian, as has been already 
 told (page 255). She was amiable and well educated, 
 prim and a little narrow in her views. In the presence 
 of her brilliant husband and her daughter she became 
 inconspicuous — the shadow of a gentle lady moving in a 
 quiet background. A friend once said of her, " She is 
 rigid and frigid but good and has no taste in dress." 
 Petted and tenderly cared for, she remained the prim 
 little governess to the end. She was devoted to her over- 
 powering husband. In a letter she wrote — to be opened 
 by him after her death — she says, ** I believe my spirit 
 will still watch over you, and that, in the bosom of God, 
 I shall still enjoy your tenderness for me." 
 
 Anne Louise, educated by her mother with finicking 
 care, developed with a rapidity that frightened that 
 demure lady. At the age of twelve she wrote a drama 
 which, as a literary work, was probably not equal to 
 " The Young Visiters." At fifteen " she had mastered 
 some of the profoundest works of French literature,"^ 
 and at the same age she wrote a precis of Montesquieu's 
 " Spirit of Laws." For a bouncing girl with an intense 
 capacity for pleasure this may seem a dour employment, 
 but her life was always made up of strong contrasts. 
 From this period to the end of her days she wrote 
 without ceasing, romances, poems, plays, philosophical 
 treatises, criticisms, as well as a cyclopaedic work on 
 Germany. Her writings, collected after her death, filled 
 eighteen volumes. 
 
 ^ Stevens, op. cit. 
 299 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 She being richly endowed, her father was in a position 
 to select for her a husband. The husband must needs be 
 moderately young, of good family and position, must 
 agree not to separate the bride from her parents and, 
 above all, be a Protestant. Such a man was not readily 
 to be found in Catholic France ; so finally Eric Baron de 
 Stael Holstein was chosen as the most fitting. He was 
 37 years of age, a Swede, and the Swedish Ambassador 
 in Paris. The marriage, which was not a love match 
 but a manage de convenance arranged by the father, 
 took place in 1786. Three children were the result of 
 this union, two boys and a girl.^ After the birth of the 
 third child Madame de Stael obtained a separation from 
 her husband on the ostensible grounds of his recklessness 
 in the matter of money. He died in 1802. When he 
 was ill the kind-hearted lady went to see him and hoped 
 to bring him to Coppet, but he died on the way at 
 Poligny of an apoplectic stroke. 
 
 The attraction exercised by Madame de Stael was 
 remarkable. Her salon, whether in Paris or at Coppet, 
 in London or at Weimar, was crowded with men and 
 women who were anxious to talk to her, to discuss ^vith 
 her or merely to see her and take her hand. It was 
 the charm of the woman herself that brought the world 
 to her feet and not wholly her reputation as a writer. It 
 began when she was only twenty. It lasted to the end 
 of her life. She gathered together more who were illus- 
 trious in literature, science and art than a learned society 
 could pretend to embrace or a princely court could 
 attempt to honour. There was scarcely a person of 
 
 » Augustus, born 1790, died at Coppet 1827. Albert, born 1793, killed in a 
 duel 1813, and Albertine born 1797, married the Due de Broglie 1816, died 1838. 
 
 300 
 
Madame de Stael 
 
 eminence in Europe whom she had not met. She had 
 chatted with Marie Antoinette at the Trianon. She had 
 talked (but much less pleasantly) with Napoleon. She 
 had argued with Chateaubriand. She had exchanged 
 views with Goethe. It is notable that her attractiveness 
 appealed to women as well as to men, and that a large 
 number of her intimate friends were of her own sex. 
 
 She was in Paris during the outbreak of the French 
 Revolution and witnessed the horrors of 1791 — the down- 
 fall of the monarchy, the attack on the Tuileries, the 
 massacre of prisoners, the setting up of the guillotine. 
 She was entirely fearless and never, in the most trying 
 moment, did her gallant heart fail her. In September, 
 1792, she had to flee from the terror-stricken city. She 
 was alone, for her husband was in Holland, and she was 
 expecting in a few months' time the birth of her second 
 child. 
 
 She had sheltered, at the risk of her life, several 
 people who were fleeing from the Tribunal. M. de 
 Narbonne — once Minister of War — was hiding in her 
 house when a horrified domestic hurried back to her 
 mistress to say that a paper posted on a wall declared 
 M. de Narbonne to be one of the proscribed. In a little 
 while the ruffians of the Revolution entered the house 
 to search for refugees. She met them with dignity, 
 rebuked them for their intrusion and finally, " with death 
 in her heart," treated them with pleasantries — chaffed 
 them, in fact — and, leading them to the door, bowed 
 them out smiling and submissive. 
 
 She disliked Napoleon and he disliked her and was, 
 moreover, frightened of her. The two were, in certain 
 characteristics, a little too much alike ever to be friends. 
 
 301 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 His vanity annoyed her. She was piqued by the fact 
 that he utterly ignored her personal attractions. He 
 considered her ugly. She admired his abilities, but 
 hated his ideas of liberty and distrusted his ambitions. 
 She considered him a usurper, for in politics she was a 
 "constitutional republican." She had "a difficulty of 
 breathing in his presence," but stood up to him with 
 unflinching eyes and sturdy courage. " When about to 
 meet him," she says, " I wrote down a number of tart 
 and poignant replies to what he might have to say, had 
 he chosen to insult me." He never insulted her, because 
 he was afraid to do so. He once said " she carries a 
 quiver full of arrows that would hit a man were he seated 
 on a rainbow." ^ 
 
 Her influence in anti-Napoleonic circles became so 
 great that in 1803 the jealous autocrat banished her from 
 Paris and later from France. She was thus exiled from 
 her beloved city for ten years. She travelled a great 
 deal, visiting Italy, Berlin, Vienna, Russia and Sweden. 
 She was twice in England, once, in 1793, when she 
 stayed at the charming village of Mickleham in Surrey, 
 and on the second occasion, in 1813, when she made her 
 home at 30, Argyll Place, Regent Street, where she 
 held a court worthy of a queen. Although she was so 
 much at Coppet, she had little liking for a country life. 
 It was Paris she adored. When a friend at Coppet was 
 pointing out to her the glories of the mountains and the 
 Lake her only answer was, '* Show me the Rue du Bac." 
 
 In 1811 Madame de Stael married a young French 
 cavalry officer named Rocca.^ She was then forty-five 
 
 1 Stevens, op. cil. 
 
 - By birth a Swiss, his family being Italian refugees in Geneva. 
 
 302 
 
MADAME DE STAEL 
 
 From the painting by Mme. Vig^e Le Brun in the Geneva Museum 
 {From a copyright />/iotogra/>/i supplied hy the Museum) 
 
Madame de Staei 
 
 years old, while Rocca was twenty-three. The marriage 
 was secret and was kept a secret until after her death. 
 Although there was a difference of over twenty years in 
 their ages, he was apparently as devoted to her as she to 
 him. Rocca had been wounded in the war, was lame and 
 in very delicate health. He was, however, a lovable if 
 somewhat impetuous youth with " a most magnificent 
 head." There was one child of the union, a boy. The 
 child was left with a doctor in the remote village of 
 Longirod, in the mountains, some five miles above 
 Rolle. Here he was brought up under a false name and 
 described as the son of American parents. This treat- 
 ment of her youngest child is one of the least creditable 
 features in Madame de Stael's career. Rocca only 
 survived his wife some six months. 
 
 Many estimates of Madame de Stael have been given 
 to the world. They are, for the most part, based upon 
 her attainments as an author. Possibly after the lapse 
 of a century critics would be unprepared to bestow 
 upon her works the extravagant praise that they received 
 during her lifetime. Possibly her " Corinne " would 
 not now be regarded as "an immortal monument," ^ nor 
 would all allow that her *' Allemagne " '' inaugurated a 
 new era in literature." Still, she was undoubtedly an 
 accomplished writer, although her works are — in the 
 opinion of many — superficial, flimsy and unnatural. 
 Those who may not agree that " she was the most 
 remarkable woman that Europe has produced ' ' ^ will 
 perhaps endorse — if with some reserve — the opinion of 
 Macaulay, that '* she was certainly the greatest woman 
 
 I Saint-Beuve. 
 
 ' Galifle quoted by Stevens, op. cil. 
 303 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 of her time." It was a woman who spoke of her as *' a 
 most celestial creature " ^ ; it was a man ^ who said that 
 " she was probably the most remarkable person in 
 conversation that ever lived." 
 
 As a conversationalist she was brilliant, eloquent, 
 quick in repartee, ready in wit, yet conciliatory and 
 "fond and caressing to all." Benjamin Constant, who 
 knew her better than most and who was, indeed, to her 
 "more than friend," declared that her two most pre- 
 dominant qualities were affection and pity. She was 
 sympathetic to a fault, was never bitter and knew 
 nothing of envy, hatred or malice. She deplored her 
 natural restlessness. She was never still. Her activity 
 was unbounded and almost a disease, so that there is 
 little exaggeration in those who said that her life was a 
 rush and a whirlwind. 
 
 Vain she assuredly was and no doubt, as Constant 
 says, " in too great a hurry to put herself forward." It 
 was her passion, at any cost, to be always in the limelight. 
 She was eager for affection. She wished people to like 
 her, and it was only her inexorable good sense that kept 
 these traits within reasonable bounds. It will be no 
 matter of surprise that she knew little of " nerves," 
 although many of her passages with Benjamin Constant 
 were marked by theatrical or hysterical outbursts. It will 
 be somewhat unexpected to learn that she was a sound 
 woman of business and an excellent manager of a house- 
 hold. She had, indeed, a contempt for those who assume 
 that the position of a woman of genius is incompatible 
 with that of a good housekeeper. 
 
 Being warm-hearted, passionate, sensual and readily 
 
 1 Mile. Huber. » Ticknor. 
 
 304 
 
Madame de Stael 
 
 swayed by sentiment, it was inevitable that her days 
 could not pass without the interruption of a love affair 
 or so. There were, indeed, a great many of such affairs. 
 With this phase of her life Col. Haggard deals in an 
 interesting volume wherein he shows Madame de Stael 
 in a light which — even allowing for the easy morals of 
 the time and for possible misrepresentation — is certainly 
 deplorable.^ Sincere as was her attachment to Benjamin 
 Constant, fervid and ephemeral as might have been her 
 love for Rocca, it remains clear that the deepest devotion 
 of her life was for her father. One Httle episode will 
 illustrate this. When in May, 1812 (eight years after her 
 father's death), she commenced her flight from Coppet 
 to escape the persecution of Napoleon, she thus records 
 her last moments in the old house. 
 
 " Many times during this anxiety I invoked the memory 
 of my father. I went to his study where his arm-chair, his 
 table and his papers were still in their old places ; I kissed each 
 cherished trace of him. I took his cloak that, till then, I had 
 ordered to be left on his chair, and bore it away with me, that 
 I might wrap myself in it at any moment in which death might 
 approach me." ^ 
 
 At Coppet Madame de Stael kept practically open 
 house, entertaining everj'-one who had any claim to 
 eminence in letters* Coppet became, indeed, a sort of 
 court and the intellectual rendezvous of Europe. Its 
 chatelaine left her company free all the morning, but in 
 the evening they united and then began a conversazione 
 which was probably without an equal of its kind. Every 
 
 1" Madame de Stael, her Trials and Triumphs," by Lt.-0)1. Andrew 
 Haggard. London, 1922. See also, " Madame de Stael and her Lovers," by 
 Francis Gribble. LoHdon, 1907, 
 
 * Stevens, op. cit, 
 
 u 305 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 day a domestic placed on the table by the side of her 
 mistress's plate a little green branch. This she carried 
 with her as a kind of baton when she entered the salon 
 and with the flourish of it she punctuated her conversa- 
 tion. Those who gathered around her talked of literature 
 and the arts, recited poems, read passages from the works 
 they had each in hand, criticized every author of pretence, 
 acted plays and often did not separate until the early 
 hours of the morning. 
 
 The conversation was, no doubt, from a modern point 
 of view stilted, artificial and extravagant. The great 
 aim of all was to be brilliant and sparkling. It was 
 appropriate to speak of a lady as a goddess and to treat 
 her as such, to break forth into uncontrolled rapture or 
 to exhibit " transports of dehght." It is no matter of 
 wonder that these evenings were sometimes tiring, when 
 everyone was posturing on a tight-rope and trying to 
 outdo one another in feats of wit. There were head- 
 aching evenings also, as must have been the case when 
 a learned man who denied the personality of Moses 
 insisted on giving an analysis — chapter by chapter — of 
 the writings ascribed to that patriarch. It is no wonder 
 that jovial old Bonstetten should write, *' I returned 
 yesterday from Coppet. I feel fatigued as by a surfeit 
 of intellect. I am half dead," or that Byron, who envied 
 the cleverness of a lady with whom he could not compete, 
 should say — with some show- of temper — '' Her society 
 is overwhelming — an avalanche that buries one in glitter- 
 ing nonsense, all snow and sophistry. She talks folios." 
 
 In appearance Madame de Stael was plain and (unlike 
 most plain women) she was fully conscious of the fact. 
 She would sacrifice her talents and her fame, she said, 
 
 306 
 
Madame de Stael 
 
 to be as beautiful as Juliette Recamier, her friend and 
 the most lovely woman of her time. Madame de Stael 
 ,was a brunette, with black hair and large dark eyes, 
 which all who met her declared to be magnetic and 
 magnificent. Of her various portraits the one that is 
 probably most true to her is that painted at Coppet by 
 Madame le Brun in 1809, when the authoress was forty- 
 three.^ It is a little marred by its setting, for Madame 
 de Stael is shown perched on a rock in an open, windy 
 country, bare-headed and with a lyre in her hand. She is 
 assuming the character of Corinne, the heroine of her 
 famous romance. The face is that of a woman brimming 
 over with health and vivacity, an intelligent rather than 
 an intellectual face, a face certainly sensuous and animal, 
 but keen, alert, clever and supremely amiable. " To aid 
 the expression," Madame le Brun writes, " I entreated 
 her to recite tragic verses while I painted," but the face 
 is so full of good humour and, indeed, of roguishness 
 that the effect of the tragic verses would appear to have 
 been lost. 
 
 Her last illness was short and her last moments 
 happily free from distress, for she died in her sleep. 
 
 ^ It is now in the IMuseum of Geneva. 
 
 307 
 
XLVI 
 
 COPPET AND ITS CHATEAU 
 
 VERY charming is the small town of Coppet when 
 viewed from the Lake. It is a homely, comfort- 
 able looking place which has changed so little that 
 it is to-day much as it was a hundred years ago. It 
 appears as a cluster of old, brown-roofed houses, on a 
 slope, surrounded and shut in by a circle of trees. It 
 has happily escaped " improvements," and even the tiny 
 church has not been restored. There is no formal 
 promenade by the Lake, no row of planes clipped to 
 pattern and scarcely a modern dwelling to spoil the 
 impression of an eighteenth century town. 
 
 The houses stand a little way back from the shore so 
 that their gardens may come down to the Lake. Thus 
 it is that the whole of the ' ' front ' ' at Coppet is made 
 up of gardens which are a blaze of colour all the summer 
 through. The garden walls are centuries old. They rise 
 direct from the water, and over them may hang a tress of 
 scarlet geranium, a tangle of clematis or, in the autumn, 
 a pendent scarf of purple convolvulus. When the Lake 
 is smooth — as it so often is — these flowers and the grey 
 wall they cling to are reflected in the water as clearly 
 as if on glass. Some of the taller plants, the hollyhocks 
 and the delphiniums, seem to be looking over the wall 
 at their reflections in the water. 
 
 Each garden has a humble water-gate, with steps 
 
 308 
 
>' tl: »* t a" t ' i* ••*. 
 
Coppet and its Chateau 
 
 leading to the Lake. Here the housewife dips her 
 watering-can, making on the poHshed surface a circle of 
 ripples which change the reflections of the flowers into 
 prismatic waves of yellow, red and blue. Here, too, the 
 small boy sails his boat and here the lovers lean over the 
 wall and talk. Close to the water's edge is the tiny 
 church, with its beautiful east window of flamboyant 
 Gothic and its aspect of great age. On the summit of 
 the town and looking do\vn upon the cluster of brown 
 roofs is the pale, grey chateau. It seems to mother the 
 place like a grey hen watching over a brood of brown- 
 speckled chickens. 
 
 The town, which can number only 570 inhabitants, 
 consists of one long street, a lane or two and a road of 
 some quality which climbs up to the chateau. The houses 
 are nondescript and irregular. Each has its own particu- 
 lar character, for there is no uniformity of style in Coppet. 
 The dwellings form fine arcades, as in some Italian towns, 
 along the sides of the street, while in the shadows of 
 their heavy arches are curious, shy little shops. There 
 are many dim alleys, too, a fountain, and a 16th century 
 house with a vaulted entry in w^hich is exposed an ancient 
 column. A gallant coat of arms stands over the gateway, 
 while a tower and balcony still look down into what was 
 once a stately court-yard. The tower served to defend 
 the approach from the Lake. The house belonged to the 
 fief of Mezieres and the arms are those of Quisard, lord 
 of Crans,^ combined with the arms of another family. 
 The town had originally two walls which descended in 
 fan fashion from the chateau to the Lake. In these 
 walls were four gates. 
 
 1 Crans is about midway between Nyon and Coppet, 
 309 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The church, as already stated, is very small and 
 very old. It is built of rough stone and is held up by 
 ponderous buttresses, since it seems unsteady. At the 
 end that looks on the street is a bell-tower with a steeple 
 bright wuth ruddy tiles, and a Gothic door much out of 
 shape and apparently never used. The glory of the little 
 building, however, is the east window, which turns 
 towards the Lake and which seems almost too ornate 
 for so simple a place. The church was built about 1500 
 by Amedee de Viry and was originally attached to a 
 Dominican convent. 
 
 Inside it is very bare and, indeed, much neglected. 
 It presents only a nave with a vaulted roof and two 
 empty side-chapels. The main feature of the blank 
 interior is an arrogant, black stove of great height, which 
 stands in the centre of the church and dwarfs everything 
 around it. To make itself more obtrusive it parades a 
 prodigious stove-pipe, which is carried boldly across the 
 nave from side to side. Against the wall are two rows 
 of monks' benches, the seats of which are uncouthly 
 carved with heads and shells, fishes and frogs, monkeys 
 and wine-bottles. Some bear the arms of the founder, 
 Amedee de Viry. Curiously enough, on the upper part 
 of certain stalls are cut, in high relief, the rose, the 
 thistle and the shamrock. Another anomaly in this 
 barn-like place is a very handsome white marble vase on 
 a black pedestal. It was erected — the inscription states 
 — by Madame Necker in memory of her parents. From 
 this it appears that her mother was Magdelaine d 'Albert 
 and that she was born at Montelimart. 
 
 The chateau is on the summit of the town. It is a 
 low building that forms three sides of a square and is 
 
 310 
 
X 
 
 u 
 
 ai 
 D 
 
 X 
 u 
 
 u: 
 
 X 
 H 
 
Coppet and its Chateau 
 
 a beautiful model of the French country house. The 
 seigneurie of Coppet has been held by many illustrious 
 nobles, among whom was that Othon de Grandson of 
 Aubonne who was involved in the drama of Ripaille 
 (Chapter x). The chateau was sold to Amedee de Viry, 
 lord of Rolle, in 1484. It was he who built the church. 
 He appears to have died in 1518. The barony of Coppet 
 dates from 1484. 
 
 The date and origin of the original castle of Coppet 
 are unknown. M. V. von Berchem^ asserts that there 
 is no authority for the statement that it was founded by 
 Pierre of Savoy in 1257. That a castle did exist at 
 Coppet in the 13th century would seem to be undoubted. 
 In 1660 it appears as a chateau fort, with a square keep, 
 three round towers, a moat and a drawbridge. Having 
 become ruinous, it was pulled down (all but one tower) 
 in 1665 and was converted into a inaison oiiverte or 
 country mansion. 
 
 It was purchased in 1767 by Gaspard de Smeth, of 
 Frankfort, a merchant of Leghorn. He reconstructed it 
 in its present form. His arms and those of his wife, 
 Ursule Kunkler, still surmount the central court. He 
 died in 1771, and is buried in the church of Coppet. 
 The chateau was purchased by Necker in 1784, who 
 made certain alterations and carried out the existing 
 internal decorations. It is now the property of Comte 
 d'Haussonville (great grandson of Madame de Stael 
 through her daughter, the Duchesse de Broglie), who 
 very generously allows visitors to see the house on certain 
 days of the week. 
 
 An arched way under the chateau leads to a court- 
 
 1 " Dictionnaire Historique du Canton de Vaud. " 
 
 3" 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 yard, one side of which is open to the garden. The 
 charm of the place is that it is practically unchanged 
 since the days of its illustrious chatelaine. The rooms 
 are almost as she left them. The furniture is the same, 
 so that little is lacking to complete the conception of 
 Coppet as it was in the days of its glory. Three rooms 
 are shown on the ground floor, the grande salle (now 
 the library), where the plays were acted and the recita- 
 tions given. Among the old-world furniture is the piano 
 upon which Madame de Stael used to play. The next 
 room is that lady's bedroom. The bed is upholstered 
 in red and white, and has a great canopy above it crowned 
 by figures in gilt. Here are her turbans. They are 
 mostly yellow or of the pattern known as that of the 
 Paisley shawl. Here are her furniture, her writing table, 
 her arm-chair and portraits of herself, her mother and 
 her last child, Alphonse de Rocca (born 1812), a pretty 
 but delicate-looking boy of about five or six with his 
 mother's wonderful eyes. 
 
 The next room is the bed chamber of Madame 
 Recamier. It is a little room with a simple bed in the 
 corner, draped in faint green and with a canopy over 
 it fixed to the panel. The .walls are covered wdth a 
 hand-painted Chinese paper, and the furniture is very 
 dainty, as was befitting to the lady of the room. These 
 two chambers must be regarded as museum rooms, for 
 they could hardly be the actual apartments in which the 
 ladies slept. The three rooms just named all look across 
 the Lake. 
 
 A wide stone stair leads to the upper floor. It is a 
 haunted stair crowded by the shades of the brilHant folk 
 who once paced up and down its now silent steps. One 
 
 312 
 
i ' 
 
 COPPET : THE MAIN STREET 
 
Coppet and its Chateau 
 
 can imagine Benjamin Constant among them, now, 
 bolting up radiant with delight and now crawling \ip 
 with hangdog looks and that despondency which he so 
 vividly describes in his Journal. 
 
 On the upper floor are two apartments which both 
 open upon a balcony facing the Lake. The salon is a 
 beautiful room, but much smaller than one would have 
 expected. It is upholstered in red and write. Here 
 Madame de Stael, waving her green branch, walked to 
 and fro among her distinguished friends and amid a babel 
 of chatter. All the furniture, including her own especial 
 sofa, is the furniture of the time. The other room, the 
 petit salon or music room, is small, contains many 
 portraits (including one of Baron de Stael, the husband, 
 and one of Madame Necker in an attire which justifies 
 her reputation for being stiff), a piano and some of the 
 properties — swords, pistols and daggers — used in the 
 plays. The general colour effect is that of red and 
 white. 
 
 The garden is a wild garden of great fascination. 
 Before the house spreads a meadow, in the centre of 
 which is a fish-pond and at the end a wood. On either 
 side are trees and meditative walks, with, in one of the 
 thickets, a small stream which, after passing under a 
 rustic bridge or two, tumbles out of sight. The garden 
 has been well called "the love-making garden." It is 
 so secluded, so full of kindly shade, so tempting a place 
 to meet in, so sympathetic, so beautiful as a scene with 
 which to associate the fondest of memories. Absent- 
 minded paths wander among the trees. The shadows of 
 the trunks make bars across them ; the sun dapples them 
 with gold. There are stone benches, too, by the way, 
 
 3^3 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 should the hidy be tired, as well as hidden places where 
 the most tearful parting would be both unseen and 
 unheard. 
 
 Some distance from the house and the love-making 
 garden is another wood, a dark, sombre wood, very 
 unlike that by the chateau, for it is sacred to the dead. 
 It lies apart on the other side of the road, with beyond 
 it the open country. It is a solemn-looking mass of 
 trees, its shade is very dense and it is surrounded on 
 all sides by a lofty wall. In the centre of the thicket 
 — we are told — is a low building whose entry is closed 
 with stone. No one can see it, very few have ever seen 
 it, for none are allowed to pass through the gate in the 
 guardian wall. 
 
 In this little sepulchre lie the bodies of three — the 
 master of Coppet, his wife and their only child. It is 
 a strange burying place. Here in the depths of a dank 
 thicket, whose gloom the sun can hardly pierce, and 
 whose tangled ways are untrodden by the foot of man, 
 lie Necker, the Minister of Finance to Louis XVI, 
 Susanna Curchod, the beloved of Gibbon, and that 
 brilliant, passionate and ever restless woman Madame 
 de Stael — now three skeletons in a solitude. 
 
 314 
 
^. 
 
 vm ^ 
 
 jj^BT' 
 
 4,V 
 
 'i 
 
 U 
 Q 
 
 S 
 
 Q 
 
 u 
 
 a 
 X 
 
XLVII 
 
 THE HOME OF SUSANNA CURCHOD 
 
 GRASSIER, where Susanna Ciirchod was born and 
 where she spent the early years of her life, is 
 5 or 6 miles from Coppet and 3f miles beyond 
 Nyon. It is from the latter town that it is the more 
 conveniently reached. Grassier lies on the border of 
 France ; indeed, the little stream that marks the frontier 
 runs through its midst. The greater part of the village 
 is on the Swiss side, and it is here that the church 
 and the parsonage are placed. It will be remembered 
 that Susanna Curchod's father was the pastor of Grassier 
 and that the church was — with the rest of Vaud — 
 Protestant. M. Gurchod held the office of pastor between 
 the years 1729 and 1760. 
 
 Grassier is small, for its population does not number 
 200. It lies in the midst of a green pastoral country 
 at the foot of the Jura Mountains. It is as rural a spot 
 as could be imagined, where the things that matter are 
 butter and cows, the prospects of the hay and the laying 
 of hens. It is a pretty village, trim and clean, with 
 many comely old houses and delightful gardens. What 
 is especially charming about it is the fact that it has 
 remained unchanged and unspoiled. It is still the old- 
 world village that the parson's daughter knew, and along 
 whose single street she must have so often walked, dream- 
 ing of her future. The little lady was always very prim, 
 
 315 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 and it is noteworthy that a persisting feature of the village 
 is its old-maidish primness. 
 
 So far as history goes the village is very old, for 
 there were lords of Grassier as long ago as the 12th 
 century. It has passed through many hands, while it is 
 interesting to find that in 1384< Bonne of Bourbon, 
 Countess of Savoy, and her son, Amadeus VII, granted 
 "the house of Grassier" to their maHre d' hotel, one 
 Etienne Guerric. This is the Lady Bonne whose story 
 is told in Ghapter x. 
 
 The church is of great age. Indeed, there has been 
 a church on the present site since the 13th century. 
 The building that now stands has been " restored " with 
 unexampled violence. The old square tower, with its 
 spire, has been preserved, while the body of the church 
 has been modernized ; that is to say, made to look as 
 little like a church (and particularly an old church) as 
 possible. In 1878 the stalls, the panelling and other 
 ancient works in wood were torn out and used for fuel. 
 The interior of the building is as bare as the destroyer 
 could leave it, so that it falls short even of the dignity 
 of the meeting-room at a workman's club. In further 
 restorations of an equally hearty character carried out in 
 1911 traces of walls and vaults of a very ancient church 
 jvere discovered. 
 
 Opposite the church is a beautiful old house with, in 
 front of it, a tiny walled garden encompassing a solitary 
 apple tree. It is a long, low house of two stories with a 
 brown-red, wxather-beaten roof and six windows on the 
 upper floor. This is the parsonage, the house in which. 
 Susanna Gurchod was born in the year 1739. It affords 
 a satisfying picture of the village pastor's home. The 
 
 316 
 
The Home of Susanna Gurchod 
 
 garden wall is covered with ivy and the front of the house 
 with jasmine, while the window-shutters throughout are 
 painted with the canton colours — broad stripes of white 
 and green. The house has undergone no notable change, 
 since the Curchod family left it. 
 
 The wife of the present pastor was so very kind as 
 to allow us to see the sitting-room of the house. It is 
 on the ground floor, and is a low-pitched room, the 
 windows of which look into the tiny garden. But for 
 the furniture this room is to-day precisely as it was in 
 the time of the future Madame Necker. It brings vividly 
 to mind the daring flight that the prim young woman 
 took when she spread her wings at Grassier to sail out 
 into the fashionable world. What contrast could be 
 more extreme than that between this quiet jasmine- 
 scented parlour and the Necker salon in Paris, brilliant 
 with gilt and satin and the glare of a hundred lights, 
 buzzing with courtly talk and made wonderful by the 
 costumes of the beauties and the dandies of the day ! 
 
 It is interesting to recall the fact that Edward 
 Gibbon, in the course of his love-making, came to 
 Grassier to see his beautiful Susanna. As has been 
 recorded in Ghapter xxxix, the two met in Lausanne 
 in June, 1757. In August of that year Gibbon came to 
 Grassier and remained two days. He seems to have 
 " looked in when passing " in October, while in Novem- 
 ber he stayed at the parsonage for nearly a week. The 
 two must have sat in this identical parlour often enough 
 — the awkward English youth with the big head and the 
 prim and most decorous lady. They probably sat in the 
 window, where, holding her hand, he would pour forth 
 appropriate adoration in his recently acquired French. 
 
 317 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 Madame Necker, when she became a person of wealth 
 and position, was very kind to her poor relations in Vaud. 
 She was also a little frightened of them. Fear came 
 upon her in this wise. A certain cousin " Toton," who 
 very probably lived in a cottage at Grassier, wrote to the 
 great lady and expressed a cousinly desire to pay her a 
 visit in Paris. This produced a panic which found expres- 
 sion in a letter written by Madame Necker to a friend. 
 In this rather too candid epistle the translated parson's 
 daughter thus sets forth her views. 
 
 " Could I have the audacity," she asks, " to make her change 
 her name or disavow my relationship to her ? Even if I were 
 willing to do so, would my husband and my servants keep my 
 secret ? On the other hand, how could I introduce her as my 
 relation in a house frequented by persons of all ranks in society, 
 and in which, to be appropriately dressed, she would have to 
 spend at least a thousand French crowns a year ? To say 
 nothing of her manners, her way of speaking and a thousand 
 other trifles which, without detracting from her real merit, 
 would make the most unfortunate impression in a country in 
 which people judge by appearances." ^ 
 
 Immediately behind the Curchod house is an inn 
 called "The Inn of the White Goose." A sign-board 
 painted just one hundred years ago hangs over the road 
 from a corner of the building. On it, in fitting colours, 
 is the figure of a white goose and the words, ^^ Logis a 
 Pied et a ChevaV Above the goose is inscribed " Mon 
 Oie paye tout,^^ which evidently embodies an ingenious 
 play upon the word monnaie.^ So there were wits, it 
 seems, in Grassier in old days and in more houses than 
 one. 
 
 1 Gribble. Op. cil., page 24. 
 
 * Spelt and pronounced monnoie in the 17th Century. 
 318 
 
XLVIII 
 
 THE TOWN THAT IS NOT A TOWN 
 
 THE country between Coppet and Versoix, 
 traversed by the Geneva road, is very pretty, 
 very homely and as radiant with the joy of hving 
 as any good-hearted, sunny land can be. Versoix is, 
 however, a perplexity. There are two Versoix — Versoix 
 la Ville and Versoix le Bourg. There is a further 
 complication inasmuch as the latter was formerly 
 distinguished as Versoix le Village. 
 
 Now a tram-line runs from Geneva to Versoix. It 
 passes through le Bourg, and some way farther on stops 
 at la Ville, where the line abruptly terminates. The 
 traveller, coming from Geneva, will have to decide 
 whether he will stop at Versoix le Bourg or will go on 
 to la Ville, because the conductor is sure to ask him. 
 If he resolves to go to Versoix la Ville he will find 
 himself deposited, not in a town, but in the country. 
 He will, in fact, be put down on a white high road with 
 fields on one side and the thickly wooded grounds of a 
 mansion on the other. He will see no street, no 
 church, no cafe and, indeed, no house. It is as if a 
 Londoner wishing to go to Richmond found himself 
 deposited in the middle of Richmond Park. Whatever 
 Versoix la Ville may be, it is quite evident that it is not 
 a town nor even a suburb. 
 
 The stranded visitor probably takes the returning 
 
 319 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 tram and alights at Versoix le Bourg. He here finds 
 himself in a town, an undoubted town, with a railway 
 station, a pier, a grocer's shop and a police station. 
 There is no possibility of mistaking it. It is a town. 
 The other place is not. 
 
 It is a town that looks its best from the Lake, for 
 the houses come down to the water's edge in leisurely 
 fashion and lean over the wall like idle men. There is 
 a modest promenade shaded by plane trees, and, in its 
 general bearing, the place may be a fragment of old 
 Chelsea in its unpretentious days. It is indeed a suburb 
 of Geneva where town folk come on high days and 
 holidays for boating and for a day in the country. It 
 presents no more interest than such a suburb may be 
 expected to afford. On one large house is a tablet which 
 states that on its site in the 13th century stood the 
 Chateau of Versoix. An old print ^ of the 16th century 
 shows the little town as completely surrounded by a 
 wall and as having in its centre the selfsame chateau in 
 the form of a lofty round tower. This drawing depicts 
 Versoix at an unhappy moment of its career. It shows 
 it in process of being besieged and — worse than that — 
 displays the enemy, like a swarm of ants, pouring into 
 the town. 
 
 This, however, does not explain the bold-faced 
 imposture of Versoix la Ville. The title is not a jest, 
 but rather a term of derision. In 1766 Geneva and 
 France were at loggerheads. The grounds of the dispute 
 are immaterial. A "Plan of Mediation," proposed by 
 France, was presented to Geneva in December, 1766, 
 
 1 " Histoire populaire du Canton de Geneve," par H. Denkinger-Rod. 
 Geneva, 1905. Page 209. 
 
 320 
 
>< 
 o 
 
 > 
 
The Town That is Not a Town 
 
 and was uncoiithly rejected. France in revenge resolved 
 to blockade the city, and at once closed the frontier 
 which separated the canton from the greater state. 
 This action — from the French point of view — was not 
 quite a success. Geneva had an exit through Savoy and 
 could still reach Lyons, the great mart with which she 
 was so intimately concerned. France, on the other 
 hand, where it bordered on Geneva, was seriously 
 inconvenienced, since the supplies of the district were 
 largely drawn from that city. 
 
 Voltaire, who was busy with his colony at Ferney, 
 found himself in great straits and declared that his 
 people were in risk of being starved. On February 10th, 
 1767, he wrote to the French Ambassador in Switzerland 
 suggesting that, to punish Geneva, a port should be 
 established at Versoix, and that to the new port the 
 vast trade of Lyons should be diverted. The scheme, 
 if successful, would go far to ruin Geneva. 
 
 The Due de Choiseul at once gave the proposal his 
 hearty support. In the summer of 1767 the plans for 
 Versoix la Ville were completed and the construction of 
 the new road that would lead to Lyons was commenced. 
 The first thing demanded at Versoix was the port. It 
 was to be called "Port Choiseul." By May, 1768, 
 some 2,000 men were employed in the construction of 
 this harbour which was to rival that of Geneva. The 
 port was to be square in outline and was to present, on 
 either side of the entrance, a low square tower. A 
 detailed plan of Port Choiseul is given in M. Jean 
 Ferrier's interesting work on Versoix.^ The construc- 
 
 1 " Le Due de Choiseul, Voltaire et la Crdation de Versoix-Ia-Ville, 1766- 
 1777." Geneva, 1922. 
 
 V 321 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 tion was so rapidly advanced that the moles were very 
 nearly completed. The great drought of 1920-21 caused 
 the Lake to sink to a degree almost unprecedented, 
 with the result that the harbour works of 1768 came 
 into full view. A photograph in M. Ferrier's book 
 shows the once submerged harbour as it appeared in 
 1921. The moles — constructed of stonework supported 
 by piles — are so complete that it was possible to walk 
 from one end of the harbour wall to the other. 
 
 With the town little progress was made. It was 
 plotted out on the ground behind the port, and, from 
 the plan given by M. Ferrier, it would have been, if 
 completed, a town of no little magnificence. It was 
 hexagonal in outhne and surrounded by a wall. It was 
 to contain a custom-house and many warehouses, an 
 hotel de ville, a hospital, bridges and canals, an obelisk, 
 fountains and fine boulevards. Through the centre of 
 the town ran the present highway, passing in its progress 
 across a spacious Rond Point. The streets were arranged 
 on rectangular lines, as in a new American city, and 
 were dignified by such names as the Rue Choiseul, the 
 Place Roy ale, the Avenue Richelieu, etc. The actual 
 building operations did not advance beyond a few huts 
 for the workmen, a stone house for the officials and a 
 canteen. 
 
 In 1770 the great Minister Choiseul fell from grace, 
 and with his disappearance the phantom town vanished. 
 The area is now occupied by a few Lake-side mansions 
 with wide-extending grounds. A fine cedar marks the 
 entry into the invisible city. There is no indication of 
 a quay, since the gardens reach to the water's edge. 
 The would-be streets are now lawns and thickets. A 
 
 322 
 
The Town That is Not a Town 
 
 wooded lane or two, running straight to the Lake, may 
 possibly indicate the position of some ambitious Rue 
 Centrale or Rue de la Paix. There is still, however, 
 the Rond Point. It is marked out by a circle of stone 
 posts which, no doubt, in the city of Choiseul, would 
 have been connected by massive chains gracefully looped. 
 With a wish to be helpful to the tourist, I would 
 suggest that if he wants to go to the Town of Versoix 
 he should not go to Versoix the Town. 
 
 323 
 
XLIX 
 
 VOLTAIRE AT FERNEY 
 
 BETWEEN Versoix and Geneva there is one place 
 where the steamer stops. It is called Belle vue, 
 and is worthy of its name, but is of no other 
 interest, being merely a pretty villa-suburb of Geneva. 
 Less than two miles inland from Bellevue, however, and 
 invisible from the Lake, is the world-famed village of 
 Ferney. Ferney lies in the plain which stretches from 
 the foot of the Jura Mountains to the Lake. It is in 
 France ; just in France, for it is but a little way beyond 
 the frontier. It is 3 J miles from Geneva, with which 
 it is connected by a tramway and by a shady road 
 through cornfields, vineyards and other pleasant places. 
 Voltaire, wearied by many wanderings and soured by 
 the experience of many homes, settled down at Ferney 
 in 1758 when he was 64 years of age. At Ferney he 
 spent the remainder of his days, a period of no less 
 than twenty years. The property was bought in the 
 name of his niece and housekeeper, Madame Denis, who 
 was also his heiress. Ferney at the time was a wretched 
 hamlet occupied by forty or fifty equally wretched in- 
 habitants who were " devoured by poverty, scurvy and 
 tax gatherers." ^ The state of the peasantry in France at 
 this period was indeed deplorable. They lived in hovels 
 
 I " Life of Voltaire," by S. G. Tallentyre. Vol. II, page 78. 
 
 324 
 
Voltaire at Ferney 
 
 scarcely fit for cattle ; three-fourths of what they earned 
 was seized as taxes ; there was a heavy duty upon salt, 
 and the chief means of sustenance was black bread. 
 They were crushed by the tyranny of their masters, 
 were forbidden to fence their lands lest my lord's hunt- 
 ing should be hindered, to manure their crops lest the 
 flavour of my lord's game should be spoiled, and to weed 
 their vineyards lest the partridges should be disturbed. 
 
 For the hungry folk of Ferney Voltaire changed to 
 summer the winter of their discontent. Before ten years 
 had passed he had built a fine village with homes for 
 some hundreds of inhabitants, among whom there was 
 not a poor person. He obtained a reduction of taxes, 
 re-acquired rights of which the villagers had been 
 robbed, set up a school, provided a doctor and secured 
 work for everyone on his domain. He well merited the 
 title of the "Patriarch of Ferney " and the blessings of 
 all who came within the range of his benevolence. 
 
 The chateau at Ferney was old and ruinous, 
 picturesque no doubt, but impossible as a place to 
 live in. It was entered through two towers connected 
 by a drawbridge according to the plan of a maison 
 forte of mediaeval times. Voltaire pulled it down and 
 built in its place the chateau which now stands. He 
 w^as his own architect and, being ignorant of that art, 
 wisely followed the lines of the country mansion of his 
 day. The result is a plain, comfortable house which, 
 as Tallentyre says, has " no architectural merit except 
 that its ugliness is simple." The house contained 
 fourteen bedrooms, and such was the hospitality of the 
 patriarch that they w^ere never for long unoccupied. 
 
 Inconveniently near the house was a tumble-down old 
 
 325 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 church, which, in spite of the violent protests of the 
 priest, was got rid of in 1761. Voltaire, in the same 
 year, built a church to take its place, but erected it at 
 a point farther removed from the chateau. On it he 
 caused to be inscribed the words, " Deo erexit Voltaire." 
 He explained this inscription by saying that the church 
 was the only one in the world erected to God alone and 
 not to a saint. 
 
 He laid out a garden by the chateau on the lines of 
 gardens that in the course of his wanderings had pleased 
 him, planted innumerable trees, put all the land under 
 vigorous cultivation and erected immense farm buildings 
 which, to this day, fill the passer-by with admiration. 
 The change accomplished in Ferney by this remarkable 
 man was little less than miraculous, for in the place of 
 a rotting hamlet and a ruined castle buried in a desert 
 of brambles and weeds he produced a trim, bustling, 
 well-to-do little town, together with as prosperous a 
 farm as was to be found in the countryside. 
 
 Under the roof of the new chateau of Ferney was 
 gathered one of the strangest households in the annals 
 of domestic life. In the first place the master of the 
 house presented an unusual and arresting figure, comic 
 to some degree, yet to some degree alarming. A quaint, 
 emaciated man whose skin was drawn over his cheek 
 bones like parchment, who had a high, narrow forehead, 
 bare as a skull, a determined mouth that was a mere 
 slit, as if the toothless jaws had snapped together like 
 a trap, while in this death's head were two large, rest- 
 less eyes as bright and as keen as those of a hawk. It 
 was with some reason that he w^as called " the famous 
 old skeleton " and " the old owl of Ferney." 
 
 326 
 
Voltaire at Ferney 
 
 His garb, too, was very odd. At the time when he 
 bought Ferney he is described as appearing " in a long 
 peHsse, a black velvet cap, and a peruke which covered 
 almost all his face except the nose and chin, which by now 
 nearly met." ^ He would be seen working in his garden 
 in old grey shoes and stockings, a long vest to his knees, 
 the same black velvet cap and the huge drooping peruke 
 which hung from his head like a spaniel's ears. He was 
 the sort of object in the street that set children scream- 
 ing and that dogs barked at. He knew he was peculiar, 
 and would ask, when people came to see him, " Have 
 they come to see the rhinoceros? " When he went 
 abroad he affected an antique type of carriage which was 
 painted a bright blue, was speckled with gold stars and 
 was drawn by four horses. 
 
 Another person in this strange menage was Madame 
 Denis, Voltaire's niece and housekeeper. She was a 
 widow and, at the time of the purchase of Ferney, was 
 48 years of age. She was tiresome, extravagant, idle 
 and utterly incompetent. She w^as under the impression 
 that she possessed literary gifts and personal attractions. 
 Instead of managing the house, she devoted her time to 
 writing preposterous plays or to inditing amorous letters 
 to imagined admirers. She was short and fat and well 
 described as "Madame Roundabout." Among her 
 minor accomplishments, she squinted. The brilliant, 
 epigrammatic Madame d'Epinay speaks of her as 
 " entirely comic, ugly but good-natured, and a liar 
 simply from habit." Besides muddling everything she 
 did, she bullied her uncle, who found that the house 
 could only be cleaned and put in order when she was 
 
 1 Tallentyre. Op. cit. Vol. II, page 69. 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 away. After Voltaire's death she married again, at the 
 ripe age of G9, and it is reported — to show the dis- 
 crimination of justice — that her husband bulHcd her as 
 she had bulHed her uncle. 
 
 How the house was managed under this feckless 
 playwright is a mystery, for it was more like an hotel 
 than a private dwelling. There were no fewer than sixty 
 or seventy persons about the place, including the five 
 servants who waited at table. Visitors called almost 
 every day. If they were strangers, Voltaire would send 
 down a message that he was dying, and if they came 
 again w^ould excuse himself on the ground that he was 
 still dying. Those who came to sup stayed the night, 
 for there was no inn in Ferney. Those who came on a 
 visit of a few days were apt to stay for weeks or even 
 for months. One relative — who was paralysed — remained 
 at Ferney ten years, until, in fact, he died. At two 
 different periods there was an adopted daughter 
 living in the chateau in addition to this ever-changing 
 company. 
 
 The second of these casual daughters was a very 
 pretty young woman who ran about the house and in 
 and out of the garden, singing and laughing the day 
 through. She was clever and gentle and possessed of as 
 sweet a disposition as woman ever had. Voltaire adored 
 her, while her affection for him was the solace of his 
 declining days. She came to Ferney in 1776. Voltaire 
 called her Belle-et-Bonne, but her real name was 
 Mademoiselle Reine Philibert de Varicourt. She 
 belonged to a noble family, was penniless and destined 
 for a convent. Voltaire came across her as a total 
 stranger. He picked her up as he would have picked 
 
 328 
 

 a 
 
 
 ^. 
 
 \' 
 
 X 
 
 'J jA \ 
 
 U) 
 
 ''\a3 
 
 b 
 
 i^ 
 
 Z 
 
 W- 
 
 M 
 
 
 CU 
 
 
 O 
 
 
 £ 
 
 
Voltaire at Ferney 
 
 up a stray kitten, took her to Ferney and devoted him- 
 self to making her happy. She was married to the 
 Marquis de Villette in 1777 in the Ferney chapel ; but 
 she never deserted the old patriarch who had brought 
 joy into her life. She was with him when he died, and 
 after his death devoted herself to the glorification of his 
 memory. 
 
 Belle-et-Bonne at Ferney is a picture to linger over, 
 the picture of a pretty, light-hearted girl taking charge 
 of a cynical, violent old man who was always fighting 
 with someone and who was to so many an object of 
 terror or of hate. She arranged his papers, soothed him 
 when he was irritable, joked at his bitter and sardonic 
 thrusts and treated him, in a motherly way, as a great 
 petulant baby. A stranger picture still would be pre- 
 sented by the salon at Ferney on a summer's morning, 
 when Voltaire, in his long-skirted coat and dangling 
 peruke, would be seen — at the age of 83 — teaching the 
 laughter-shaken Belle-et-Bonne how to dance. 
 
 The household at Ferney cannot be completed with- 
 out mention of the fat Swiss servant Barbara. She was 
 the comedian of the group, the comic servant out of a 
 French farce, the licensed jester in an otherwise solemn 
 establishment. Voltaire was delighted with her, appre- 
 ciated her humour and called her his Bonne-Baba. She, 
 on the other hand, told her master, in her comic way, 
 some home truths, and especially ridiculed the idea that 
 he had any common sense. Once when he had made 
 himself ill by an indiscretion in diet she laughed in his 
 rueful face and said, " With all your cleverness you are 
 sillier than your own turkeys." 
 
 Voltaire's industry and versatility were amazing. lie 
 
 329 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 was probably the most \oluminous writer who ever lived. 
 Although he did not rise until 11, he did a great deal 
 of his work in bed, for he slept but little. In his room 
 were five desks devoted to the separate subjects ^vith 
 which he was at the moment engaged. One would be 
 given up to a drama, another to a poem, a third to a 
 skittish letter to a lady or a kindly note to someone in 
 distress, while the fourth would display the material for 
 a biting criticism which would wound an opponent like 
 the thrust of a rapier. 
 
 Although born and brought up in a city, Voltaire 
 taught himself farming, made his land pay, and became 
 a typical squire and prosperous country gentleman. One 
 can imagine him taking a sample of his own wheat out 
 of a deep pocket and pouring the grain from one skinny 
 hand to the other as he haggled with the miller over the 
 price, or prodding a sheep sarcastically with his stick as 
 he disputed its value with the dealer. He kept bees — 
 had, indeed, four to five hundred hives — cultivated silk- 
 worms, bred horses and had a barn for fifty cows. 
 
 When the serious civic troubles in Geneva drove a 
 body of artisans out of the town, he offered a sanctuary 
 to some fifty malcontent watchmakers, advanced them 
 money, found them material and provided them with 
 houses. The colony fiourished, so that in 1773 Voltaire, 
 poet, critic and dramatist, sold no fewer than 4,000 
 watches at a profit, thanks to bis energy and his per- 
 sistent touting for orders. Having a store of raw silk, 
 he started silk weaving, and — like Madame de Warens 
 — began with the making of silk stockings. He sent 
 the first pair to the Duchesse de Choiseul with a pretty 
 compliment as to the size of her foot. This enterprise 
 
Voltaire at Ferney 
 
 also flourished, while the colony added to its industries, 
 in course of time, the making oJ; lace and of linen. 
 
 After Voltaire's death in 1778— at the age of 84— 
 Madame Roundabout inherited Ferney. She promptly 
 sold it. It was occupied for some time by Belle-et-Bonne 
 and her husband, and when, finally, the property was 
 disposed of, all relics of Voltaire were scattered to the 
 winds, including even the Chinese wall-paper of his 
 especial room. 
 
 Ferney at the present day is a pretty little village, 
 very quiet, but rather uathout purpose, for every trace 
 of Voltaire's busy colony has disappeared. It consists 
 of one long street, through which the tramway runs, 
 and of one or two side-streets. The main street has 
 been modernized, but not unpleasantly ; while in one of 
 the by-streets can be seen a part of Ferney as Voltaire 
 left it. The houses here are simple and of two stories, 
 are all alike, are all grey and uniformly faded-looking. 
 The ground floor of each is occupied by a large round 
 arch beneath w^hich was the shop or the workroom. All 
 now are closed and the small lane is very quiet. It calls 
 to mind some of the humbler by-w^ays of Versailles, and 
 is so unlike the ordinary village street as to give to 
 Ferney a quite distinctive character. 
 
 Under a large plane tree in the village are a fountain 
 and a bust of Voltaire, while in the main road stands a 
 very pleasing statue of the Patriarch of Ferney in out- 
 door dress. It is so lifelike that if the figure could step 
 down from its pedestal one would see in the street the 
 curious old gentleman, thin and bent but very eager in 
 his glance, taking a walk through the village he had 
 made. 
 
 331 
 
The Lake of Geneva 
 
 The chateau is a little outside Ferney and on higher 
 ground. It is a simple, homely-looking house of two 
 main stories, built in a faintly classical style, roofed with 
 slate, and presenting throughout a uniform tint of 
 grey, for even the sun-shutters are grey. It is, indeed, 
 nothing more than the house of a well-to-do gentleman 
 farmer who had chosen to live among his cornfields and 
 his vineyards. In front of the house is a tall iron rail- 
 ing, and just within the railing is the church, with its 
 prominent inscription, " Deo erexit Voltaire." It is a 
 little stone building with round-arched windows and 
 door. Its charming simplicity is spoiled by a vulgar 
 clock tower, which is evidently an addition of more 
 modern and less considerate days. It appears to be used 
 merely as a storeroom. 
 
 The grounds around the chateau are small and simple, 
 are well wooded and are enclosed within a high wall. 
 There is no pretence to a park, for the house is simply 
 a house on a farm. The country around, but for a 
 vineyard or two, is singularly English, and, indeed, if 
 the vines were replaced by hop-fields it would be a 
 part of Kent. The view from the chateau is singularly 
 beautiful, for to the north are the Jura Mountains and 
 the brilliant plain stretched out at their feet ; w^hile on 
 the south are the Lake, the hills of Savoy and the 
 dazzling range of Mont Blanc. 
 
 Walking one silent afternoon beneath the wall which 
 guards the grounds of Ferney, I heard a burst of girlish 
 laughter ring out from the terrace of the house. It 
 maj'^ have come from the lips of some merry serving- 
 maid, but I prefer to think that it was an echo of the 
 long dead laughter of the radiant Belle-et-Bonne. 
 
 332 
 
Meziei 
 
INDEX 
 
 " A Man of Other Days," by Char- 
 lotte M. Yonge, 49 
 " Abondancc," by L. E. Picard, 130 
 Abondance, Abbey of, 130 et scq. 
 and St. Gingolph, 138 
 frescoes in cloister of, 133, 134 
 Abondance, Burgundians at, 130 
 Church and Monastery of, 129, 131, 
 
 132 
 Republic of, 130 
 Valley of, 129 
 wooden bridge at, 129 
 Alabama, arbitration at Geneva, 24 
 Alexander III, Pope, and Noville, 155 
 Alix of Maxilly, Lady, story of, 126- 
 
 128 
 Allaman, ChMeau des Menthon, at, 286 
 Allaman Castle, near St. Paul, 123, 124 
 " Allemagne," by Madame de Stael, 
 
 303 
 AUinges, castles of, 61-5 
 
 11th century chapel at, 63, 64 
 ridge of, 39, 64 
 ruins of, 55, 61 
 Allinges, the, Chateau of Beauregard 
 and, 49 
 Chateau of Chatelard and, 186 
 Chateau of Thuyset and, 67 
 Allobroges, Caesar and, 16 
 Amadeus V (Le Grand), and Chateau 
 de Fonbonne, 93 
 and Evian, 90 
 La Tour de Pcilz and, 197 
 Amadeus VI (the " Green Count "), 
 
 69, 70, 213 
 Amadeus VII (the "Red Count"), 70, 
 287 
 and Grassier, 316 
 death of, 73 
 fight with the wild boar of Lonnes, 
 
 71 
 Grandville and, 72, 73 
 
 Amadous VIII and Morgcs Castle, 
 273 
 as Bishop of Geneva, 75 
 at Ripaille, 74 
 death of, 75 
 
 elected Pope (Felix V), 75 
 first Duke of Savoy, 75 
 re-interment at Turin of, 75 
 Amiel, Henri, at Geneva, 20, 24 
 
 " Journal Intime,' 172 
 " Amiel's Journal," translated by Mrs. 
 
 Humphry Ward, 20 
 Amphion, 84 et seq. 
 spa of, 84, 85 
 
 Victor Amadeus II and his duchess 
 at, 103 
 Ani^res, 40 
 
 Anna Maria, as heir to English throne, 
 103 
 death of, 103 
 
 meeting of, with Victor Amadeus II, 
 100 et seq. 
 Annecy, Mme. de Warens at, 206 
 Antelme de Miolans, 46 
 Antelme d'Yvoire, and Beatrice of 
 
 Fauci gny, 45 
 Anthonioz, A., " Gcneraux Savoyards " 
 
 by, 76 
 Anthy-Sechex, 40 
 " Au Pays Eviannais," by Alexis 
 
 Bachellerie, 90, 118 
 Aubonne, Chaleau of, 288 
 
 history of, 286 
 " Aubonne a travers les Ages," 
 by M. Ic Pasteur Duqucsne, 
 286 
 " Autour du Lac Ldman," by Guil- 
 
 laume Fatio, 156, 281 
 Aymon, Count of Savoy, Villcneuvc, 
 157 
 founds hospital of St. Mary Ville- 
 ncuve, 157 
 
 333 
 
INDEX 
 
 " A Man of Other Days," by Char- 
 lotte M. Yonge, 49 
 " Abondancc," by L. E. Picard, 130 
 Abondance, Abbey of, 130 d scq. 
 and St, Gingolph, 138 
 frescoes in cloister of, 133, 134 
 Abondance, Burgundians at, 130 
 Church and Monastery of, 129, 131, 
 
 132 
 Republic of, 130 
 Valley of, 129 
 wooden bridge at, 129 
 Alabama, arbitration at Geneva, 24 
 Alexander III, Pope, and Noville, 155 
 Alix of Maxilly, Lady, story of, 126- 
 
 128 
 Allaman, Chateau des Menthon, at, 28G 
 Allaman Castle, near St. Paul, 123, 124 
 " Allemagne," by Madame de Stael, 
 
 303 
 Allinges, castles of, 61-5 
 
 11th century chapel at, 63, 64 
 ridge of, 39, 64 
 ruins of, 55, 61 
 Allinges, the. Chateau of Beauregard 
 and, 49 
 Chateau of Chatelard and, 186 
 Chateau of Thuyset and, 67 
 Allobroges, Csesar and, 16 
 Amadeus V (Le Grand), and Chateau 
 dc Fonbonne, 93 
 and Evian, 90 
 La Tour de Pcilz and, 197 
 Amadeus VI (the " Green Count "), 
 
 69, 70, 213 
 Amadeus VII (the "Red Count"), 70, 
 287 
 and Grassier, 316 
 death of, 73 
 fight with the wild boar of Lonnes, 
 
 71 
 Grandville and, 72, 73 
 
 Amadous VIII and Morgcs Castle, 
 273 
 as Bishop of Geneva, 75 
 at Ripaille, 74 
 death of, 75 
 
 elected Pope (Felix V), 75 
 first Duke of Savoy, 75 
 re-interment at Turin of, 75 
 Amiel, Henri, at Geneva, 20, 24 
 
 " Journal Intime,' 172 
 " Amiel's Journal," translated by Mrs. 
 
 Humphry Ward, 20 
 Amphion, 84 et seq. 
 spa of, 84, 85 
 
 Victor Amadeus II and his duchess 
 at, 103 
 Ani^res, 40 
 
 Anna Maria, as heir to English throne, 
 103 
 death of, 103 
 
 meeting of, with Victor Amadeus II, 
 100 et seq. 
 Annecy, Mme. de Warens at, 206 
 Antehne de Miolans, 46 
 Antclme d'Yvoire, and Beatrice of 
 
 Faucigny, 45 
 Anthonioz, A., " Generaux Savoyards " 
 
 by, 76 
 Anthy-Sechex, 40 
 " Au Pays Eviannais," by Alexis 
 
 Bachelleric, 90, 118 
 Aubonnc, Chateau of, 288 
 
 history of, 286 
 " Aubonne a travers les Sges," 
 by M. le Pasteur Duquesne, 
 286 
 " Autour du Lac Leman," by Guil- 
 
 laume Fatio, 156, 281 
 Aymon, Count of Savoy, Villeneuve, 
 157 
 founds hospital of St. Mary Ville- 
 neuve, 157 
 
 333 
 
Index 
 
 B 
 
 Bachellerie, Alexis, " Au Pays 
 
 Evlannais," 90, 118 
 Bailly de Lalonde, " Le Leman," 142, 
 
 280 
 Balleyson, de, family of, and Chateau 
 
 of Beauregard, 49 
 Banneret, origin of title of, 186 (foot- 
 note) 
 Barbille of Chatelard, 184 el seq. 
 " Bastille of Geneva," 16 
 Basuges, St. Prothais, and, 279, 280 
 Batista, Abraham de, and the Esca- 
 lade, 34 
 Beatrice, of Faucigny and Hermance, 
 42 
 and Nernier Castle, 44 
 Antelme d'Yvoire and, 45 
 Beattie, William, " Switzerland," 9 
 Beaufort, Antoine de, 124 
 
 and Chillon, 175 
 Beauregard, 41 
 
 Chateau of, 49, 53 
 the Terror and, 50 
 tragedy of, 48 et seq. 
 " Beautes de I'Histoire de la Savoie 
 et de Geneve," by P. Nougaret, 9 
 Bedford, Duke of, and IMaxilly, 125 
 Begin, ^mile, " Voyage pittorcsque en 
 
 Suisse," 9 
 Belle-et-Bonne (see Varicourt, Made- 
 moiselle) 
 Bellerive, Abbey of, 40 
 
 Duke of Savoy and, 40 
 Berchem, M. V. von, " Dictionnaire 
 Historique du Canton de Vaud," 
 311 
 Bernard, P^re, " Mercure Acatique," 
 
 by, 85 
 Bernese, and Allinges, 62 
 and Chillon, 175, 182 
 and Monastery of Montjoux, 60 
 at Lausanne, 244, 246 
 attack and destroy Hermance, 43 
 capture of Aubonne by, 67, 287 
 capture of Ripaille by, 75 
 La Tour du Peilz and, 198 
 Nyon and, 290 
 Reformation and, 244 
 
 Bernex, Jean of, story of, 186, 187 
 Bcrthelier, execution of, 16 
 Bcrthold de Neuchiitcl and Tour de 
 
 Bcrtholo, 237 
 Bertholo, Tower of, 236 
 Besanfon, Archbishop of, and Nyon, 
 
 290 
 Bcze, statue of, in Geneva, 14 
 " Black Death " at Villeneuve, 157 
 Blanchard, the, 137 
 Blanchet, " Delices de la Suisse," 244 
 Blonay, de, Amcd, story of, 118 el seq. 
 Aymon and Castle of St. Paul, 
 
 115 
 Aymonnet and Chapel of St. George 
 
 at Chiesaz, 213 
 Barbille Nicolaide (see Barbille of 
 
 Chatelard) 
 Baron Louis, 117 
 
 Claudine, burial aUve of, 116, 117 
 Franfoise, marriage of, to Etienne 
 
 de Tavel, 186 
 Gabriel and Chatelard, 186 
 Jean de (Lord of Bernex), 186 
 Marie Aimee and the seven angels, 
 
 111 ; burial place of, 115 
 Pierre, builder of the chateau, 211 
 Raoul, and Lady Alix of Maxilly, 
 
 126-8 
 Simon as " Champion rrf the Mar- 
 ried," 210 
 vault of, at St. Paul, 115 
 Blonay, de, Cliateau of, at Evian, 93 ; 
 Victor Amadeus II at, 103 
 at St. Paul, 114 et seq., 123 
 at Tour Ronde, 123, 135 
 at Vevcy, 165, 191, 209 ; history of, 
 210 el seq. 
 Bogueret, death of, in the Escalade, 34 
 Bois de Bedford, Maxilly, 125 
 Bois de la Comte, 54 
 Boissier, Edmund, dying wish of, 110 
 Boniface, Bishop, of Lausanne and 
 
 St. Prex, 280 
 Bonivard (Prisoner of Chillon), 18, 93, 
 179 et seq. 
 dungeon of, in Chillon, 178 
 Bonivards, the, and the Castle of 
 
 Grillie, 93 
 " Bonne-Baba," Voltaire and, 329 
 
 334 
 
Index 
 
 Bonne dc Bourbon (Madame la 
 Grande), and Grassier, 316 
 and Ripaille, 69 et seq. 
 death of, 74 
 Bonstcttcn, Victor dc, and Madame 
 de Stael, 306 
 at Coppet, 297 
 at Nyon, 291, 292 
 Boson, Bishop of Lausanne, and Jiigc- 
 
 menl de Dicii, 240 
 Bosquet de Julie, Clarcns, 143, 146 
 Bouchet, C. A., " Les Archives d'Evian 
 
 avant, 1790," 90, 136 
 Bougy, A. de, " Le Tour du Leman," 9, 
 
 171, 242, 282 
 Bouveret, 138, 152, 154 
 
 John Evelyn at, 138, 147 et seq. 
 Bouvier family, and Yvoire, 46 
 
 house of, at Villeneuve, 159, 160 
 Bouvier, Ferdinand, Lieutenant-Gov- 
 ernor of Chillon, 40 
 treachery of, 160, 161 
 Bouvier, Jehan (" Jehan of the Iron 
 
 Arm "), 46 
 Bret, 135, 136 
 pass of, 136 
 woods of, 136 
 Broglie, Duchesse de, 300 (see footnote) 
 
 311 
 Broughton, at Vevey, 193, 194 
 Bruchet, Max, " Le Chateau de 
 
 Ripaille," by, 69, 71, 72, 74 
 Brun, Madame le, portrait of Madame 
 
 de Stael by, 307 
 Brunaulieu, and the Escalade, 30, 34, 
 
 35 
 Burgundians and Alhnges, 61 
 at Abondance, 130 
 at Aubonne, 286 
 at Geneva, 9 
 at Nyon, 289 
 at Thonon, 54 
 at Vevey, 190 
 Burgundy, Geneva as capital of King- 
 dom of, 9 
 Byron, Lord, and Madame de Stael, 
 306 
 and " Prisoner of Chillon," 179, 180 
 at Clarens, 146, 172 
 at Mejllcrie, 145 
 
 Byron Lord, {continued) 
 at Ouchy, 265 
 at St. Gingolph, 146 
 at Villa Diodati, Cologny, 40 
 
 Calvin, at Disputation of Lausanne, 
 246 
 Bonivard and, 182 
 house of, at Geneva, 19 
 in State Council Chamber at Geneva, 
 
 23 
 lectures of, in the Auditoire, 26 
 statue of, in Geneva, 14 
 supposed chair of, Geneva Cathedral, 
 25 
 Canal, Jean, and the Escalade, 34 
 Carnot, General Lazare, at Nyon, 
 
 292 
 Chablais, conversion of, 3 
 
 St. Francis and, 64 
 Chalamala, Gerard, story of, 220 
 Chambery, Victor Amadeus II and 
 
 Anna Maria at, 102 
 Charles Emmanuel, of Savoy, at Lau- 
 sanne, 160, 161 
 " Chateaux, Manoirs et Monast^res des 
 Environs de Geneve," by J. Lanz, 
 125 
 Chatelard, Castle of, 184 et seq. 
 Chessel, 154 
 
 Chillon Castle, Bonivard's dungeon in, 
 178 
 capture of, by Bernese, 182 
 dungeons in, 177, 178 
 Ferdinand Bouvier, Governor of, 46, 
 
 160, 161 
 history of, 173 et seq. 
 Jews of Villeneuve in, 157 
 " Room No. 15," 176, 177 
 torture chamber in, 177 
 torture of Marie du Crest at, 162 
 witches tortured in, 177 
 Chillon, Prisoner of, 18, 93, 178, 179 
 
 et seq. 
 Choiseul, Due de, and Versoix la Ville, 
 321 
 
 335 
 
Index 
 
 Clarcns, 165 
 
 Byron at, 172 
 
 Madame dc Warcns' house, " Lc 
 Basset," at, 201, 208 
 
 Rousseau and, 141, 143, 171 
 
 tomb of Aniicl at, 172 
 Coligny, on Reformation memorial at 
 
 Geneva, 15 
 Cologny, 39 
 
 Villa Diodati, Byron at, 40 
 Colombier, and Castle of VufTIens, 277 
 Concise, Church of, 65 
 Constant, Benjamin, at Coppet, 297, 
 313 
 
 on Madame dc Stae], 304 
 Conzie, M. de, and Madame dc Warens, 
 
 205, 207 
 Coppet, Amedee de Viry and church 
 of, 284, 310 
 
 Benjamin Constant at, 297, 305, 313 
 
 chateau of, 308 d seq. 
 
 church of, 310 
 
 Count de Sabran at, 297 
 
 Gibbon at, 259 
 
 Madame de Stael at, 297, 312 
 
 Madame Recamier at, 297, 312 
 
 town of, 308 et seq. 
 
 Victor Bonstetten at, 297 
 
 Werner at, 297 
 " Corinne," by Madame de Stael, 303 
 Corsant, Sieur de, Champion of the 
 
 Bachelors, 210, 211 
 Corsier, 40, 195 
 Corsy, 240 
 
 Cossonay, Humbert de, and Nyon, 290 
 Costa de Beauregard, Marquis Henri, 
 and Chateau of Beauregard, 49 
 
 at Lausanne, 51 
 
 Eugene, death of, 50 
 Coudree, Bay of, 55 
 Coudree-Sciez, 40, 41 
 Courtavone, Catharine de, Bonivard 
 
 and, 183 
 Crans, 309 
 Grassier, church of, 316 
 
 description of, 315 et seq. 
 
 Gibbon at, 317 
 
 " Inn of the White Goose," 318 
 
 Susanna Curchod's home at, 256, 
 257, 315 el seq. 
 
 Crest, Marie du, torture of, 162 
 Cromwell, on Reformation memorial 
 
 at Geneva, 15 
 Cross, J. W., " George Eliot's Life," 
 
 19 
 Crousaz, Fran9ois, and Castle of Lutry, 
 
 239 
 Cully, 230 et seq. 
 
 Curchod, M. Pastor of Grassier, 315 
 Curchod, Susanna, 255, 256 
 
 and Madame Vermenoux, 257 
 
 career of, 298, 299 
 
 Gibbon's engagement to, 256, 299 
 
 home of, 315 ct seq. 
 
 marriage of, willi Ncclicr, 257, 258 
 
 Necker and, 257 
 
 D'Albert, Magdelaine, monument 
 
 to, at Coppet, 310 
 d'Arbigny, Robert, and Lady Alix of 
 
 Maxilly, 126-8 
 D'Aux, Burgomaster of Lucerne, story 
 
 of, 160, 161 
 Davel, Major, monument to, at Cully, 
 
 231 
 " Dclices de la Suisse," by Blanchet, 
 
 244 
 Denis, Madame (" Madame Round- 
 about "), and Voltaire, 324, 327 
 inherits Ferney, 331 
 Denkinger-Rod, H., " Histoire popu- 
 
 laire du Canton de Geneve, 320 
 Dent d'Oche, 83, 121 
 Deonna and Renard, " L'Abbaye 
 
 d'Abondance," 133 
 d'Epinay, Madame, on Madame Denis, 
 
 327 
 Deyverdun, George, and Gibbon, 248, 
 
 255, 260 
 Dczaley, vineyards of, 229 
 d'Haussonville, Comte, and Coppet, 
 
 311 
 " Dictionnairc Historique du Canton 
 
 de Vaud," 156, 158, 169, 185, 197, 
 
 209, 227, 228, 239, 240, 264, 271, 
 
 293, 311 
 
 33^ 
 
Index 
 
 Diricq, Edouard, " Gruy^res en Gru- 
 
 y6re," 220 
 d'Oron, Marguerite, and Chapel of St. 
 
 George, Chidsaz, 213 
 Doumergue, Professor, 16, 17, 19, 
 
 22 
 Dranse, the, bridge over, 68 
 
 gorge of, 54, 67 
 Duin, Richard de, and Castle of 
 
 Vufflens, 277 
 Dunant, Jacques, and Castle of Grillie, 
 
 93,95 
 Dupas, General, purchase of Chateau of 
 
 Ripaille by, 75 
 Duquesne, M. le pasteur, " Aubonne 
 
 a travers les figes," by, 286 
 Durnes, Bishop Landri de, and Ouchy 
 
 Castle, 264 
 
 Eliot, George, at Geneva, 19 
 Escalade, of Geneva, 18, 29 et seq. 
 
 fountain of, 18, 33 
 
 memorial of, in St. Gervais Church, 
 27 
 
 relics of, 36 
 Excenevex, 55 
 
 Evelyn, John, at Bouveret, 147 
 et seq. 
 
 at Geneva, 150, 151 
 
 at Milan, 147 
 Evian, 88 et seq. 
 
 and Amphion Spa, 84, 85 
 
 Bourg la Touviire, 90 
 
 Bourg St. Mary, 90 
 
 Castle of Peter of Savoy, 90 
 
 Chateau de Fonboune, 93, 125 
 
 Chateau of, 93 
 
 Church of St. Mary, 91, 103 
 
 Convent of St. Claire, 91 
 
 Convent of the Cordeliers, 91 
 
 discovery of spring at, 94 
 
 Gribalbi Chateau, 90 
 
 history of, 89 et seq. 
 
 H6tel de Ville, 90, 91 
 
 Jardin Anglais at, 94 
 
 Madame de Warens at, 203, 204 
 
 Evian (continued) 
 Rue de I'Eglise, 94 
 Rue Natlonale, 89 
 the Cheval Blanc, 95 
 the country round, 108 
 the F6te-Dieu, 97 et seq. 
 Victor Amadeus II at, 100 et seq. 
 woods of Bret granted to, 136 
 
 Familiar Swiss Flowers," by F. E. 
 Hulme, 110 
 Farel, and the Disputation at Lausanne, 
 246 
 statue of, in Geneva, 14 
 Fatio, Guillaume, " Autour du Lac 
 
 L^man," 156, 281 
 Faucigny, Lords of, and Allinges, 62 
 
 and Hermance, 42 
 Favre family, of Thonon, and monas- 
 tery of Montjoux, 60 
 Fazy, J., " Jean d'Yvoire au Bras de 
 
 Fer," 46 
 Felix v.. Pope (see Amadeus VII) 
 
 tower of, at Ripaille, 79 
 Ferney, bust of Voltaire at, 331 
 Chateau of, 325, 326, 332 
 Gibbon at, 259 
 " Madame Roundabout " inherits, 
 
 331 
 Voltaire at, 4, 324 el seq. 
 Voltaire's Colony at, 330 
 Ferrier, Jean, " Le Due de Choiseul, 
 Voltaire et la Creation de Ver- 
 soix-la-Ville, 1766-1777," by 321 
 Ffite-Dieu, the, at Evian, 97 et seq. 
 Fdternes, fairy grotto at, 127 
 Filly, Abbey of, 44, 45 
 Fonbonne, Chateau de, 93, 125 
 Foras, de, familj% and Chateau of 
 
 Thuyset, 67 
 Fornier, Antoine, and Yvoire, 46 
 Fornier, Pierre, and St. Francis, 58 
 Franks, and Alhnges, 61 
 
 at Geneva, 9 
 Fromment, A., " Les Actos et Gestes 
 Merveilleux de la Cit6 de Geneve," 
 by, 9 
 
 W 
 
 337 
 
Index 
 
 Galiffe, on Madame de Stael, 303 
 " G^ndraux Savoyards," by A. An- 
 
 thonioz, 76 
 Geneva, Alabama settlement at, 21 
 
 alleys of, 27 
 
 appearance of, 7, 8 
 
 as capital of Burgundian Kingdom, 9 
 
 Auditoire, the, 26 
 
 Bastille of, 16 
 
 Berthelier, statue at, 16 
 
 Beze, statue at, 14 
 
 Bourg-de-Four, 9, 10, 17, 20, 21, 22 
 
 Calvin and, 19, 182 
 
 Cathedral of, 17, 19, 21, 22, 25 
 
 character of, 6 el seq. 
 
 Church of St. Germain, 25 
 
 Corraterie, the, 33, 34, 35 
 
 Escalade, the, 29 el seq. 
 
 Escalade Tower, 36 
 
 Evelyn and Wray at, 150, 151 
 
 fountain of the Escalade, 18, 33 
 
 Franks at, 9 
 
 frescoes in Town Hall, 23, 24 
 
 Fusterie, the, 17 
 
 George Eliot at, 19 
 
 German Empire and, 10 
 
 Grande Rue, 18 
 
 Hen Steps (D^gres de Poule), 21 
 
 High Town, 17 
 
 He des Bergues, 13 
 
 Julius Ctesar at, 16 
 
 Knox statue in, 14 
 
 L'lle, 16 
 
 Low Town, 16 
 
 Madeleine, the, 25 
 
 Molard, the, 17 
 
 Monnaie Gate, 33, 34, 35, 36 
 
 Musee d'Art et Histoire, 12, 36 
 
 Old Bridge, 10 
 
 Passage des Barri^res, 27 
 
 penthouses at, 11, 17, 18 
 
 Place Bel Air, 16, 33 
 
 Place de Longemalle, 17 
 
 Place de Notre-Dame du Pont, 33 
 
 Place du Grand Mezel, 18 
 
 Porte de la Treille, 34 
 
 Porte Neuve, 34, 35 
 
 promenade of La Trcillc, 24 
 
 Geneva (continued) 
 
 Quartier St. Pierre, 9 
 
 Rath Museum, 31 
 
 Red Cross Society founded at, 24 
 
 Refonnatlon monument in, 14 
 
 Rousseau's birthplace in, 18 
 
 Rousseau's Island, 13 
 
 Rousseau's works burnt at, 23 
 
 Rue Calvin, 10, 12, 19 
 
 Rue de Beauregard, 9 
 
 Rue d' Italic, 9 
 
 Rue de la Cite, 11, 17, 18, 20, 32, 34 
 
 Rue dc la Fontaine, 20, 21 
 
 Rue de I'Hdtel du Villc, 20 
 
 Rue de la PeUsserie, 18, 19 
 
 Rue du Puits St. Pierre, 20 
 
 Rue du Temple, 27 
 
 Rue Verdaine, 20 
 
 Ruskin on, 8, 11 
 
 St. Gcrvais Quartier. 26 
 
 Shelley at, 10, 11 
 
 Tavel house, 20 
 
 Tertasse Gate, 34, 35 
 
 the Rhone at, 12, 13 
 
 Town Hall, 17, 22, 23 
 
 Turrettini house, 20 
 
 Walls of, 9, 10 
 Geneva, Lake of, birds of, 109 
 
 colour of, 5 
 
 dimensions of, 1 
 
 entry of the Rhone to, 152 
 
 flora of, 110 
 
 Lake-dwellers of, 12 
 
 Petit Lac, the, 44 
 
 road from Vevey to Lausanne by, 224 
 
 sea-gulls on, 14 
 
 shore between Evlan and Rhone 
 valley, 135 
 
 shore between Lausanne and Geneva, 
 269 
 
 shore between the Dranse and the 
 Rhone, 83 
 
 shore between Vevey and Lausanne, 
 165 
 
 shores from Geneva to the Dranse. 39 
 
 topographical features of, 2, 3 
 Geneva Museum, 12 
 
 altar of Bellerive Abbey in, 40 
 
 bust and uniform of Necker in, 298 
 
 Madame de Stael's portrait in, 307 
 
 338 
 
Index 
 
 Geneva Museum (continued) 
 relics of Escalade in, 36 
 relics of lake-dwellers in, 272 
 " George Eliot's Life," by J. W. Cross, 
 
 19 
 Georges d'AntiocIie and Yvoirc, 46 
 Germans and Geneva, 10 
 Gibbon and George Deyverdun, 2-18, 
 255 
 and Madame de Stael, 259 
 and Mdlle. Curcliod, 255, 256, 299,317 
 at Grassier, 256 
 at " La Grotte," 260 
 at Lausanne, 247, 252 et scq., 258 
 death of, 259 
 
 meeting with Voltaire, 259 
 " Memoirs of My Life," by, 258 
 strange career of, 26U 
 " The Decline and Fall of the Roman 
 Empire," by, 260 
 ' Gibraltar of the Lake " (Yvoire), 44 
 Gingins, Francois de, and Chatelard, 
 
 186 
 Gingins, Jean de, and Barony of 
 
 Chatelard, 186 
 Glerolles, Chateau of, 224, 227 
 Glion, 165, 170 
 Godefroy de Bouillon, and Chateau of 
 
 Nernier, 43, 44 
 Gondebaud, Castle of, at Geneva, 9 
 Gorge du Chauderon, 170 
 Grammont, the, 136 
 Grande Rive, 135 
 
 Grandson, 0th on de, and Castle of 
 Coppet, 311 
 Lord of Aubonne, 286 
 and the " Red Count," 73, 74 
 Grandvilie, and the " Red Count," 72 
 
 arrest and death of, 74 
 " Great Stone, The," story of, 118 
 " Green Count," the (see Amadeus VI) 
 Grenier, Madame, and " La Grotte," 
 
 261 
 Greysier family, and Chateau de Mont- 
 
 joux-St. Bernard, 59 
 Gribaldi Chateau, Evian, 90 
 Gribble, F., " Lake Geneva and its 
 Literary Landmarks," 182, 194 
 " Madame de Stael and Her Lovers," 
 256, 305, 318 
 
 Grolee, Castle of, Bonivard imprisoned 
 
 in, 181 
 " Groot Stedeboek van Piemont en 
 
 van Savoye," 67, 93, 115, 126 
 Gruerric, Etienne, and Crassier, 316 
 Gruyere, Jean, Count of, 213 
 Gruyeres, 215 et seq. 
 " Gruyeres en Gruyere," by Edouard 
 
 Diricq, 220 
 Guillet-Monthoux, family, at Thonon, 
 
 57 
 Guy of Fetcrnes, and Priory of Abond- 
 
 auce, 130 
 
 H 
 
 Haggard, Lt.-Col. Andrew, " Madame 
 de Stael, Her Trials and Tri- 
 umphs," by, 305 
 
 Harpe, Cesar de la, birthplace of, 283 
 obelisk to, at Rolle, 283 
 
 Haunted lake, the, of La Gotetla, 121, 
 122 
 
 Haute Savoie, provinces of, 62 (foot- 
 note) 
 
 " Haute Savoie," by A. Raverat, 65, 
 115 
 
 Helvetes, the, Juhus Csesar and, 
 16 
 
 Helvetians, defeat Romans at Novillc, 
 156 
 
 Hermance, 41, 42, 43 
 Chapel of St. Catherine at, 43 
 tower of, 43 
 
 Hermengarde, Queen of Burgundy and 
 Hermance, 42 
 
 Hill, G. Birkbeck, edition of Gibbon's 
 Memoirs by, 261 
 
 " Histoire de Thonon," by L. E. Plc- 
 card, 55 
 
 ' Histoire du Canton de Vaud," by P. 
 Maillefer, 158, 228, 266, 296 
 
 " Histoire populaire du Canton de 
 ndve," by H. Denkinger-Rod, 
 320 
 
 " Historic Studies in Vaud, Berne, and 
 Savoy," by Meredith Read, 47, 
 91, 95, 123, 159, 160, 177, 191, 
 200, 208, 245, 249, 250, 260 
 
 339 
 
Index 
 
 ' History of a Six- Weeks* Tour," by 
 
 Slielley, 11, 95, 145 
 " History of Evian," by Noble F. 
 
 Prevost, 90 
 Holly of the Talking Cats, legend 
 
 of, 126-8 
 Huber, Mdlle., on Madame de Stael, 304 
 Hugues, Bishop, of Lausanne, 266 
 Hiigues de Ghilons, and Louise of 
 
 Savoy, 92 
 Hulme, F. E., " Familiar Swiss 
 
 Flowers," by, 110 
 Humbert of the White Hands, 2 
 Hume, Alexander, and Escalade, 32 
 
 I 
 
 Ile des Bergues, 13 
 " Itinera Alpine," by J. J. Scheuch- 
 zeri, 242 
 
 Jean de Cossonay and the Bishopric 
 of Lausanne, 247 
 
 " Jean d'Yvoire au Bras de Fer," by 
 J, Fazy, 46 
 
 Jehan of the Iron Arm {see Bouvier, 
 Jehan) 
 
 Jews of ViUeneuve, arrested and tor- 
 tured, 157 
 
 Jordane de Lucinges, story of, 118 
 
 " Journal Inlime," by Henri Amiel, 20, 
 172 
 
 Jugement de Dieu, 240 
 
 •' Julie ou la Nouvelle Heloi'se," by 
 J. J. Rousseau, 141, 142, 171 
 
 Julius Caesar, at Geneva, 16 
 
 K 
 
 Knox, John, statue of, in Geneva, 14 
 
 in Geneva, 26 
 KrQdner, Madame de, at Coppet, 297 
 
 "L'Abbaye d'Abondance," by 
 
 Deonna and Renard, 133 
 " L'Abbaye et la Valine d'Abondance,'' 
 
 by J. Mercier, 130 
 " L'Ancienne Geneve," by J. Mayor, 9, 
 
 43 
 La Belotte, 40 
 La Chavanne, the " Red Count " at, 
 
 71 
 La Chi^saz, 212, 213, 214 
 La Cote, vineyards of, 269 
 
 hill of, 286 
 La Flechere, tower of, 65 
 siege of, 66 
 convent at, 67 
 r^a Gotetta, haunted lake at, 121 
 " La Grotte," Gibbon at, 260 
 
 pilgrims at, 261 
 La Gruz, of Evian, 90 
 " La Haute Savoie," by Francis Wey, 
 
 76, 95, 126 
 La Maladi^re, Leper and plague hos- 
 pital, 270 
 La'^Sarra, and Chatelard, 185 
 La SociHe du Printemps of Lausanne, 
 
 258 
 La Tour de Peilz, 165, 197 
 Lake-dwellings on Lake Geneva, 12, 
 
 271 
 " Lake Geneva and its Literary Land- 
 marks," by F. Cribble, 182, 
 194 
 Lamartine, at Nernier, 44 
 Landri de Durnes, Bishop, and Tower 
 
 of Marsens, 229 
 Lanz, J., " Chateaux, Manoirs et 
 monast^res des Environs de 
 Geneve," by, 125 '■ 
 Larringes, Castle of, 118 
 Lausanne, appearance of, 241, 
 242 
 Bourg, the, 242, 247, 248 
 Cathedral de Notre Dame, 245 
 Charles Emmanuel of Savoy at, 160, 
 
 161 
 Chateau of, 243 
 Church of St. Francis, 249 
 Cit6, the, 242, 243 
 
 340 
 
Index 
 
 Lausanne {conliniied) 
 Convention of, 295 
 Disputation at, 246 
 Episcopal Palace at, 217, 248 
 Gibbon at, 247, 252 el seq. 
 H6tel de Ville, 249 
 Hdtel Gibbon, 261, 262 
 La Sociele da Prinlemps, 258 
 Market Stairs, 250 
 Marquise Costa de Beauregard, 
 
 50 
 Place de la Palud, 249 
 Reformation at, 244 
 Rue de Bourg, 248 
 Rue du Grand Chene, 249 
 St. Laurent, 242 
 Tour de I'Ale, 243 
 Voltaire's house at, 249 
 Le Basset, Madame de Warens' house, 
 
 201, 208 
 " Le Chateau de Ripaille," by Max 
 
 Bruchet, 69 
 " Le Due de Choiseul, Voltaire et la 
 Creation de Versoix-la- Ville, 1766- 
 1777," by Jean Ferrier, 321 
 " Le Leman," by Bailly de Lalonde, 
 
 142, 280 
 " Le Sanglier de la Foret de Lonnes," 
 
 by J. Replat, 71 
 " Le Tour du Leman," by A. de 
 
 Bougy, 9, 171, 242, 282 
 " Le Village illuslre," 214 
 " Les Actes et Gestes Merveilleux de 
 la Cite de Geneve," by A. From- 
 ment, 9 
 " Les Archives d'Evian avant, 1790," 
 
 by C. A. Bouchet, 90, 136 
 Les Charmettes, Madame de Warens 
 
 at, 200, 207 
 Les Echelles, Anna Maria and, 100 et 
 seq. 
 Victor Amadeus II and, 100 el seq. 
 Les Planches, 169, 170 
 Les Voirons, 39, 55 
 " Life of Voltaire," by S. G Tallentyre, 
 
 324, 325, 327 
 Lisle at Vevey, 193 
 Lonnes, Forest of, legend of the " Red 
 
 Count " and, 71 
 Louis de Sales, 64 
 
 W* 
 
 Louise of Savoy and Notre-Dame des 
 Graces at Evian, 92 
 
 Loys, Sebastian de, and Madame de 
 Warens, 201 
 birthplace of, at Lausanne, 250 
 
 Lucinges, the, and Chdteau of Thuy- 
 set, 67 
 Jordane de, 118 
 
 Ludlow, Lt.-General Edmund, house 
 of, at Vevey, 193 
 
 Lullin, Albert Eugene de Gendve, Mar- 
 quis de, and convent at Thonon, 
 57 
 
 Lutry, 236 el seq. 
 Castle of, 239 
 
 M 
 
 Macaulay, on Madame de Stael, 303 
 " Madame de Stael," by A. Stevens, 
 
 297, 302 
 " Madame de Stael and Her Lovers," 
 
 by F. Gribble, 256, 305, 318 
 " Madame de Stael, Her Trials and 
 Triumphs," by Lt.-Col. Andrew 
 Haggard, 305 
 " Madame de Warens," by A. de 
 
 Montet, 207 
 " Madame Roundabout " (see Denis, 
 
 Madame) 
 Magdalen College, Oxford, Gibbon at, 
 
 252, 253 
 Maillefer, P., " Histoire du Canton de 
 
 Vaud," by, 158, 228, 266, 296 
 Marsens, Tower of, 229 
 Maxilly, Castle of, 123, 125 
 bois de Bedford at, 125 
 " Holly of the Talking Cats," and, 
 126-8 
 Mayor, J., " L'Ancienne Geni^ve," 9, 
 
 43 
 Mazue, Pernette, Bonivard and, 183 
 Meillerie, 84, 135, 139 
 
 Bosquet de Julie, 143, 146 
 Byron and Shelley at, 145 
 church of, 140 
 La Couronne, Inn at, 143 
 Love story of, 139 et seq. 
 
 34' 
 
Index 
 
 Meilleric (continued) 
 
 Rocks of, 139 
 " Mdmoires et Documents de I'Aca- 
 ddniie Chablaisienne," 44, 46, 49, 
 55, 59, 90, 130 
 " Memoirs of My Life," by Edward 
 
 Gibbon, 258 
 " Memoirs of tlie Marquis de Beau- 
 regard," by CIiarlotteM. Yonge, 56 
 Menthon, Cliateau des, Voltaire and, 
 
 286 
 Mercier, I., " L'Abbaye et la Vallee 
 
 d'Abondance," 130 
 Mercier, Isaac, and the Escalade, 35 
 " Mercure Acatique," by Pere Bernard, 
 
 85 
 Mesery, M. de. Gibbon's association 
 
 with, 258 
 Milan, John Evelyn at, 147 
 Mont Blanc, view of, from Ferney, 332 
 view of, from Morges, 272 
 view of, from Nyon, 292 
 view of, from Signal de Bougy, 269 
 Mont, Castle of, 284 
 Mont Pelerin, 165 
 Mont Saleve, 55 
 IMontet, A. de, " Madame de Warens," 
 
 207 
 Mont d'Armonnaz, 54 
 Mont de Boisy, 39 
 Montfalcon, Aymon de, and Chateau 
 
 of Glerolles, 227 
 Montfalcon, Bishop Sebastien de, at 
 Glerolles, 227, 228 
 attack on, 244 
 
 window of, at St. Saphorin, 226 
 Montfaucon, Baron de, and Chateau 
 
 de Fonbonne, 93 
 Montjoux, monastery of, 60 
 Montjoux-St. Bernard, Chateau de, 59 
 Montreux, 45, 165, 168 
 
 Gorge du Chauderon at, 170 
 growth of, 169 
 old church of, 169, 170, 171 
 Montriond, hill of, 265 
 Morge, the, 137 
 Morges, Castle of, 273 
 Church of, 272 
 compared with Rolle, 283 
 Grande Rue, 272 
 
 Morges (continued) 
 
 Harbour of, 273 
 
 H6tel de Ville, 274 
 
 " La Laitcrie," 275 
 
 lake-dwellings at, 271 
 
 Passage de la Vottte, 274 
 
 Rue des Fosses, 274 
 
 Rue du Lac, 272 
 Morley, John, " Voltaire," 4 
 Morley, Lord, on Voltairism, 3, 4 
 " Musce d'Art et Histoire," 12 
 
 N 
 
 Naef, M., " La Tour de Peilz," 197 
 Naegueli, General, at Lausanne, 244 
 Napoleon, Madame de Stael and, 300, 
 
 301, 305 
 Narbonne, M. de, Madame de Stael 
 
 and, 301 
 Necker, Jacques, and Castle of Coppet, 
 
 311 
 Necker, Madame, and Cousin " Toton," 
 318 
 and Madame Vermenoux, 257, 298 
 and Susanna Curchod, 257, 258 
 burial place of, 314 
 Gibbon meets, in Paris, 259 
 monument to parents of, 310 
 mother of Madame de Stael, 258 
 portrait of, at Coppet, 313 
 Nernier, 41 
 
 Beatrice of Faucigny and, 44 
 chateau and church at, 43 
 Lamartine at, 44 
 " Neuvecelle," by Edmond Rollin, 111 
 Nicod de Menthon, and Nernier, 44 
 " Notre-Dame de Graces," 92 
 Nougaret, P., " Beautes de I'Histoire 
 de la Savoie et de Geneve," by, 9 
 Noville, 155 
 Nut Tower, legend of (see Tour du 
 
 Noyer) 
 " Nyon k travers les Si^cles," by Th. 
 
 Wellauer, 289, 290 
 " Nyon et ses Environs," by Aug. 
 
 Testuz, 294 
 Nyon, 289 et seq. 
 
 Burgundians at, 289 
 
 342 
 
Index 
 
 Nyon (continued) 
 castle of, 290, 292 
 church of, 295 
 " Maitre Jacques " at, 294 
 Porte Notre Dame, 292 
 Porte St. Jean, 293 
 Porte St. Martin, 292 
 Promenade des Marronniers, 292 
 Romans at, 289, 294 
 Rue des Jardins, 294 
 Rue du Marche, 294 
 Tour de la Flech(ire, 294 
 Tour Jules Cesar, 293 
 " Writing on the WaU " at, 295 
 
 " CEuvREs historiques de M. I'Abb^ 
 
 Gonthier," 61, 63 
 Orbe, Convent of the Clarisses at, 92 
 Ouchy, 263 et seq. 
 
 Byron and Shelley at, 264 
 
 castle of, 264 
 
 H6tel d'Angleterre, 265 
 
 Hfltel Beau Rivage, 263 
 
 Paravicini, M., and Chateau of 
 
 Ripaille, 76 
 Pavilliard, M., Gibbon and, 253, 254, 
 
 255 
 Penthouses at Geneva, 11, 17, 18 
 Petit Lac, the, 44 
 Petit Rive, 135 
 Phillipe de Savoie, and Bishopric of 
 
 Lausanne, 247 
 Piaget, Juhen, house of, 34 
 Picard, L. E., " Abondance," 130 
 
 " Histoire de Thonon," 55 
 Picot, the Pelardier, and the Escalade, 
 
 35, 36 
 Pierre, Count of Savoy, and Castle of 
 Coppet, 311 
 and Chillon Castle, 174, 175 
 and Morges, 273 
 and woods of Bret, 136 
 
 Pierre, Count of Savoy {continued) 
 
 La Tour de Peilz and, 197 
 Pierre de la Baunie, last Bishop of 
 
 Geneva, 21 
 Pierre de Vudlens, Chevalier, Castle of 
 
 Vuniens and, 277 
 Pierre of Yvoire, 45 
 " Pierregrosse," the {see " Great 
 
 Stone ") 
 Pinching, Sir Horace, and La Tour de 
 
 Peilz, 198 
 Pleiades, Les, 165, 209 
 " Port Choiseul," 321 
 Pont du Sex, 153 
 Port of Tougues, 48, 49 
 Porte du Sex, 154 
 " Prseterita," by Ruskin, 8, 11 
 Prevost, Noble F., " History of 
 
 Evian," 90 
 Promenthoux, bay of, Roman camp 
 
 on, 289 
 Promenthoux, point of, 44 
 
 QuARTiER St. Pierre, Geneva, 9 
 Quisard, Lord of Crans, 309 
 
 Raverat, a., " Haute Savoie," by, 
 
 65, 115 
 Ravoree, and Chateau de Montjoux- 
 St. Bernard, 60 
 family and Yvoire, 46 
 Read, Meredith, " Historic Studies in 
 Vaud, Berne, and Savoy," 47, 91, 
 95, 123, 159, 160, 177, 191, 200, 
 208, 245, 249, 250, 260 
 Recamicr, Madame, at C-oppct, 297 
 beauty of, 307 
 
 bedchamber of, at Coppet, 312 
 " Red Count," the (see Amadeus VH), 
 
 70 
 Red Cross Society, foundation of, 24 
 Reformation, the, at Lausanne, 244 
 memorial in Geneva Cathedral, 23 
 monument to, in Geneva, 14, 30 
 
 343 
 
Index 
 
 " R^geste Genevois avant I'Ann^e, 
 
 1312," 65 
 Renard {see Deonna and Renard) 
 Replat, J., " Le Sanglier de la Foret 
 
 de Lonnes," by, 71 
 Rhone, the, 1, 7, 12, 13, 152, 153 
 
 bridges of, 13 
 
 entry of, to the lake, 152 
 
 last bridge over, 153 
 
 Ruskin on, 13 
 Rhone Valley, 152, 105 
 Ripaille, captured by Bernese, 75 
 
 Carthusian monastery at, 75, 76, 77 
 
 Charles Emmanuel of Savoy at, 160, 
 161 
 
 chateau of, 69 el seq., 76, 77 
 
 church of, 76 
 
 General Dupas purchases Chateau 
 of, 75 
 
 legends of, 78 et seq. 
 
 Priory and Chapel of St. Maurice at, 
 74 
 
 " The Drama " of, 71 
 
 Tour du Noyer at, 78 
 
 Tower of Pope Felix V at, 75, 79 
 Rives, 59 
 Rocca, marriage with Madame de 
 
 Stael, 302, 303 
 Rochers de Naye, 165 
 Rodolfe I, 10, 62 
 Rodolfe II, 10, 62, 63 
 Rodolfe III, 62 
 Rodolphe, first Abbot of Abondance, 
 
 130 
 Roger, Bishop, and Ouchy Castle, 264 
 RoUe, 269, 283 et seq. 
 
 compared with Morge, 283 
 
 medicinal spring at, 285 
 
 Voltaire at, 285 
 Rollin, Edmond, " Neuvecelle," 111 
 Romans, at Aubonne, 286 
 
 at Nyon, 289, 294 
 
 at St. Prex, 282 
 
 at St. Saphorin, 224 
 
 at Thonon, 54 
 
 at Vevey, 189 
 
 at Villeneuve, 156 
 
 defeat of, at Noville, 156 
 Rousseau, J. J., and Clarens, 171 
 
 and Madame de Warens, 200, 207 
 
 Rousseau, J. J. (continued) 
 
 and "rocks of Meillerie,'' 139 
 
 at Vevey, 195 
 
 birthplace of, 18 
 
 " Julie ou la nouvelle Ileloise " and, 
 141, 142 
 
 statue of, at Geneva, 13 
 Royaume, Mere, heroine of the Esca- 
 lade, 33, 36 
 Ruskin, on Geneva, 8, 11 
 
 " Pr.-eterita," by, 8, 11 
 
 on Lake Geneva, 5 
 
 on the Rhone, 13 
 
 Sabran, Count de, at Coppet, 297 
 St. Andrew, Chapel of, Tour Ronde, 
 
 124 
 St. Bernard of Menthon, 60 
 Saint-Beuve, on Madame de Stael's 
 
 " Corinne," 303 
 St. Catherine, Chapel of, at Hermance, 
 
 43 
 St. Colomban, and monastery of 
 
 Abondance, 129 
 St. Francis of Sales, 3 
 at Allinges, 64 
 at Thonon, 58 
 Marie Aimee and, 112 
 St. Gingolph, 136, 137, 138 
 
 Shelley and Byron at, 146 
 St. Maurice-en- Valais, Chatelard and, 
 185 
 monastery of, 130 
 St. Maurice, Priory and Chapel of, at 
 Ripaille, 74 
 the Order of, 74 
 St. Paul, castle of, 114 et seq., 123 
 church of, 114, 115 
 Marie Aimee and the Angels at, 112 
 St. Prex, 269 
 church of, 282 
 
 legend of St. Prothais and, 279 et seq. 
 Maison de Ville at, 281 
 Romans at, 282 
 walls of, 281 
 St. Prothais, Bishop of Avenches, 279 
 et seq. 
 
 344 
 
Index 
 
 St. Saphorin, 224, 225 
 St. Sulpice, 270, 271 
 S41es, 169, 170 
 
 Saracens, and monastery of St. Mau- 
 rice-en- Valais, 130 
 Savoy, the " real " country, 106 
 
 et seq. 
 Savoy, Counts of, 2, 75 (footnote) 
 
 and Allinges, 62 
 
 and Chatelard, 185 
 
 and Evian, 93 
 
 and Morges Castle, 273 
 
 and Rolle Castle, 284 
 
 and Thonon, 55 
 
 and Tour Ronde, 135 
 
 and Yvoire, 46 
 Savoy, Duke of, and Bellerive, 40 
 
 and Lausanne, 244 
 
 and the Escalade, 29 
 
 Bonivard and, 181 
 Scheuchzeri, J. J., " Itinera Alpine," 
 
 242 
 Sea-gulls on Lake Geneva, 14 
 Seiche, the, 1 
 
 Senarclens, Francois de, and Castle of 
 Vufflens, 277 
 
 Henri de, 277 
 " Seven Angels," the, legend of, 111 
 
 et seq. 
 Shelley, and Vevey, 189 
 
 at Clarens, 146 
 
 at Evian, 95 
 
 at Geneva, 10, 11 
 
 at Meillerie, 145 
 
 at Ouchy, 265 
 
 at St. Gingolph, 146 
 
 " History of a Six Weeks' Tour," 11, 
 95, 145 
 Signal de Bougy, 269 
 Simplon Pass, Evelyn and Wrav at, 
 148 
 
 road to, 139 
 Sion, Bishops of, and Chatelard, 
 185 
 
 and Chillon, 174 
 
 and Montreux, 168 
 
 and Vevey, 191 
 
 at La Tour de Peilz, 197 
 Smeth, Gaspard de, and Castle of 
 Coppet, 311 
 
 Sordet, Aim^, House of, at Cully, 232, 
 
 233 
 Stael, Madame de, and Coppet, 297 e 
 seq., 312 
 
 and Gibbon, 259 
 
 and her father, 305 
 
 appearance of, 307 
 
 Benjamin Constant and, 305, 
 313 
 
 Bonstetten and, 306 
 
 burial place of, 314 
 
 Byron and, 306 
 
 career of, 298 cl seq. 
 
 children of, 300 (footnote) 
 
 " Corinne," by, 303 
 
 marriage \Tith de Stael, 300 
 
 marriage with Rocca, 302 
 
 M. de Narbonne and, 301 
 
 Napoleon and, 300, 301, 305 
 
 parents of, 298 
 
 portraits of, 307 
 
 works of, 303 
 Stael-Holstein, Eric, Baron de, mar- 
 riage of, 300 
 
 portrait of, at Coppet, 313 
 Steiger, Hieronymus, arms of, on Rolle 
 Castle, 284 
 
 Jean, and Rolle, 284 
 Stevens, A., " Madame de Stael," by, 
 
 297, 302 
 " Switzerland," by William Beattie, 9 
 
 Tallentyre, S. G., " Life of Vol- 
 taire," 324, 325, 327 
 
 Tavel, Etienne de, marriage of, with 
 Franfois de Blonay, 186 
 
 Territet, 165, 168 
 
 Testuz, Aug., " Nyon et ses Environs," 
 294 
 
 " The Decline and Fall of the Roman 
 Empire," by Gibbon, 260 
 
 " The Romance of Savoy," by Mar- 
 chesa Vitclleschi, 100 
 
 Thollon, 83 
 
 Thonon (Thonon les Bains), 39, 41, 54 
 et seq. 
 
 345 
 
Index 
 
 Tliouon (Thonon les }3aius) (continued) 
 
 capture of Castle of, 65 
 
 church of, 58 
 
 history of, 55 
 
 Ildtel de Ville, 58 
 
 Miniines Convent at, 57 
 
 museum at, 110 
 
 Place du Chateau, 57 
 
 Rue Chanle-Coq, 57 
 
 St. Francis at, 58, 59 
 Three Towns, the, 165 el seq. 
 Thuyset, Chateau of, 67 
 Ticknor, on Madame de Stael, 304 
 Tour, Fran^oise Louise de la (sec 
 
 Warens, Madame de) 
 Tour de la Flechere, at Xyon, 294 
 Tour des Langues, Rives, 60 
 Tour du Noyer, Ripaille, legend of, 78 
 
 el seq. 
 Tour Jules Cesar, Xyon, 293 
 Tour Ronde, 135 
 
 Blonay Castle at, 123 
 Treve de Dieii, 265 
 Turin, re-intermenl of Pope Felix Y 
 
 at, 75 
 Turquet, Theodore, dc Mayerne of 
 
 Aubonne, story of, 287, 288 
 Turrettini, the, at Geneva, 20 
 
 Vallox de Novel, 136, 137 
 Varicourt, Mademoiselle, Reine Phili- 
 bert de (" Belle-et-Bonne "), and 
 Ferney, 328, 331 
 marriage of, 329 
 Vermenoux, Madame, and Susanna 
 
 Curchod, 257 
 Versoix, Chateau of, 320 
 Versoix-la- Ville, 319 el seq. 
 Versoix le Bourg, 319 e/ seq. 
 Vevey, Boiirgs of, 191 
 Chateau of, 191 
 Church of St. Martin at, 194 
 Convent of St. Claire, 192 
 De Blonay, Chateau at, 116 
 history of, 189 cl seq. 
 Hdtel du Lac, 193 
 Lisle, Ludlow, and Broughton at, 
 193, 194 
 
 \'evey (conlinued) 
 
 Madame dc Warens' house at, 195 
 201, 208 
 
 museum at, Carcans in, 231 
 
 Place du Marche, 195 
 
 Rousseau at, 195 
 
 Shelley at, 189 
 
 statue of St. Martin at, 192 
 
 Villeneuve, Gale of, 192 
 Victor Amadeus II, abdication of, 104 
 
 and Evian, 100 (7 seq. 
 
 and Madame de Warens, 103, 117, 
 205 
 
 death of, 105 
 
 dismantles Allinges Castle, 63 
 
 pavilion at Amphion built by, 87, 
 103 
 
 second marriage of, 103 
 Villeneuve, 156-60 
 
 " Black Death " at, 157 
 
 Bouvier House at, 159, 162 
 
 Church of St. Paul at, 159 
 
 gates of, 158 
 
 hospital of St. Mary, 157 
 Villette, Church of, 236 
 Vineyards, 4, 39, 166 
 
 of Dezaley, 229 
 
 of La Cote, 269 
 Viret, at Disputation of Lausanne, 
 
 246 
 Viry, Amedee de, 284 
 
 and Chateau of Coppet, 311 
 
 and Church of Coppet, 310 
 Viry Tower, 284, 285 
 ViteUeschi, Marchesa, " The Romance 
 
 of Savoy," by, 100, 103 
 Voltaire and Bonne-Baba, 329 
 
 and Mile, du Varicourt, 328, 331 
 
 and Versoix, 321 
 
 as " Patriarch of Ferney," 325 
 
 at Ferney, 4, 324 el seq. 
 
 at Rolle, 285 
 
 Chateau des Menthon and, 286 
 
 Gibbon and, 259 
 
 house of, at Lausanne, 249 
 
 Madame Denis and, 324, 327 
 " Voltaire," by John Morley, 4 
 "Voltaire, Life of," by S. G. Tallen- 
 
 tyre, 324, 325, 327 
 Voltairism, 3, 4 
 
 346 
 
Index 
 
 " Voyage piltoresque autour du Lac 
 
 cle Geneve," 168 
 " Voyage piltoresque en Suisse," by 
 
 Emile-Bcgin, 9 
 Vuniens, Chaleau of, 276 
 
 W 
 
 Ward, Mrs. Humphry, " Amiel's 
 
 Journal," 20 
 Warens, iMadame de, and Victor 
 
 Amadeus II, 103, 117, 205 
 escapade of, 200 el seq., 250 
 house of, at Vevey, 195, 201, 208 
 Wellauer, Th., " Nyon fi travers les 
 
 Si^cles," by, 289, 290 
 Werner at Coppet, 297 
 Wey, Francis, " La Haute Savoie," by, 
 
 76, 95, 120 
 
 Williams, Robert, on Reformation 
 monument at Geneva, 15 
 
 Witches, torture of, in Chillon 
 177 
 
 Wray, Captain, tour of, with Evelyn, 
 147 el seq. 
 
 YOLAXDE DE LA ViLLETTE, and SieUT 
 
 de Corsant, 211 
 Yonge, Charlotte M., " A Man of 
 
 Other Days," 49, 56 
 Y voire, 41 
 castle and walls of, 45 
 chateau of, 47 
 church of, 47 
 history of, 46 
 " The Gibraltar of the Lake," 44 
 
 347 
 
Printed in England by 
 
 Cassell & Company, Limited, 
 
 London, E.C.4. 
 
 F. 25. 322 
 
UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LIBRARY 
 
 BERKELEY 
 
 Return to desk from which borrowed. 
 
 This book is DUE on the last date stamped below. 
 
 2^0eo'49SS/\ 
 
 REC'D UD 
 
 JUN 14 I960 
 
 
 1 I90ct'58BP 
 
 
 
 RfclC D uO 
 
 
 
 OCT ^ti^iS 
 
 
 
 1 v.^^^^^^ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 iS^'^T-'/^n' ■? 
 
 
 
 \ 
 
 
 
 21-100m-9,'48(B399sl6)476 
 
YD 09444 
 
 516876 
 
 UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LIBRARY 
 
!?.!?: 
 
 IP PiP 
 
 mimm 
 
 'V mm 
 
 ?.v' I' 
 
 mm 
 
 im^\ 
 
 iliiii 
 
 iilfiPI 
 
 M i i !--ili