TOURISTS & CITIZEN. y E .MAC DOWEL COSGRAVE, M.D. AND LEONARD R.STRANGWAYS,M.A STEAMSHIP TICKETS TO ANY PORT BY ANY LINE. RAILWAY, COACH AND STEAMER TICKETS Through & from Ireland /O4 RELAND ALL PARTS FOREIGN BANKING RAFTS& CIRCULAR NOTES ISSUED /Chief Office : Ludgate Circus, London DUBLIN. THE GRESHAM 0=0 t^^^^^^ TY /^\ nn if? T 5 One of the Largest and I 1 I |-( Best Appointed in Ireland, f 1x7 I Vf 1 J J^- ^ ^ ^, , ^ v ^j -w-^j-' i^J "-(^w VBJ \*4 ^^ ^V ^^^^^ ^V -^Vi r4 -^ii_^^ DINING, READING, SMOKING AND BILLIARD ROOMS ON GROUND FLOOR. FIRST-CLASS CUISINE. TABLE D'HOTE EVERY EVENING. ELECTRIC LIGHT. MODERATE FIXED TARIFF. OLDEST HOTEL. BRAY. ESTABLISHED 1791. * TIJE ROY^L * CO. WICKLOW. T. CAMPBELL, Proprietor. CONNEMARA, ACHILL & WEST OF IRELAND. CIRCULAR TOURS from Dublin, Broadstone Station, to the Tourist, Angling and Shooting Resorts in the West of Ireland. Reduced Fares for Parties of Two to Four Passengers. Extra Coupons issued for extended Tours from Dublin, Broadstone Terminus, to the North and South of Ireland. TOURIST TICKETS from the Principal Towns in England and Scotland for Connemara, or Combined Tour including Killarney. Issued at the Offices of the Railway and Steam Packet Companies and Tourist Agencies. RETURN FARES FROM DUBLIN. NUMBER OF PASSENGERS. *. The Tickets are available for ;=: ~ Two months, and are extended ou payment of a percentage. lit | tod i 3rd Class ClaMjClaw Class Class Class I THREE I I 1st I *nd | 3rd 1st | ; Class ! Class!ciass!dass ! ( _ 42 01 30 Ol 89 78 6 58 0:128 61113 6 86 0^164 0146 01113 Connemara and Achill New Tour ..| 53 6| 46 6 33 99 9 86 6 63 4,143 9 125 01 93 9<183 0;160 6 122 i ~B 153 121 192 0:152 Ol t and the West of Ireland 47 6| 42 0| 30 89 86 6 Connemara and the North of Ireland] 60 Con Public Cars ran during the Season, passing through Oughterard, Recess (for Glenda- lough), Clifden, Letterfrack (for Renvyle), and Leenane. Steamers ply on Galway Bay. The M. G. W. R. Co.'s Oil Illustrated Handbook to the West of Ireland contains 16 full-paged toned Lithographs and numerous Woodcuts. Application for Time Tables, Tourist Programmes, and Information as to Fares, Routes, Hotels, &c.. nay be made to the Company's Agents, Mr. H. G. Callan, 60 Castle Street, Liverpool, and Mr. 3. F. Ritson, 178 Buchanan Street, Glassow, or to the undersigned. JOSEPH TATLOW, Manager, BBOADSTOSE STATIOX, DUBLI.V. Midland Great Western Railway, ADVERTISEMENTS. Dnblin, Wicklow and Wexford Railway. CHEAP TOURS IN THE COUNTIES OP WICKL0W INCLUDING THE MAGNIFICENT SCENERY Glendalough Powerscourt Waterfall, Devil's Glen, The Darkle, Vale of Ovoca, Wooden Bridge, i^ Etc., etc. FOR FULL PARTICULARS, SEE THE COMPANY'S ANNOUNCEMENTS. f ** f 1 ^**! ^a^ *ak. *mf r^= s> BEAUTIFULLY ILLUSTRATED, Price 6d. HARCOURT STREET TERMINUS, DAVID J. STEWART, DUBLIN, \#h May, 1895. Traffic Manage* THE DICTIONARY OF DUBLIN IRISH MANUFACTURING INDUSTRIES. PIM BROTHERS & CO., MANUFACTURERS OF IRISH POPLINS AND LINENS, Table Linen, Irish Laces, Balbriggan Hosiery. MEDALS: Dublin, 1850 New York. 1852 London, 1862 Paris, 1867 London, 1851 Paris, 1855 Dublin. 1865 Vienna, 1878 Dublin, 1872 Oporto, 1866 RETAIL WAREHOUSE: PIM BROTHERS, Ltd., SOUTH GREAT GEORGE'S STREET P. B. & Co. have been awarded Prize Medals for Excellence of Manufacture of their Poplins wherever exhibited. THE DICTIONARY OF DUBLIN Being a Comprehensive Guide to the City and its Neighbourhood BY E. MAcDOWEL COSGRAVE, M.D., DUB. UNIV., F.R. C.P.I. Member of Council, Photographic Society of Ireland AND LEONARD R. STRANGWAYS, M.A. Ex-Sch. and Senior Moderator, Dub. Univ. ; Vice-President, Photographic Society of Ire/and ILLUSTRATED BY NUMEROUS PHOTOGRAPHS TAKEN BY 'THE AUTHORS DUBLIN: SEALY, BRYERS & WALKER I A. T. & C. L.) 94, 95 AND 96 MIDDLE ABBEY STREET LONDON : SIMPKIN, MARSHALL, HAMILTON, KENT & CO., LTD. 1895 EXAMINATION HALL, TRINITY COLLEGE. PREFACE. IHE " DICTIONARY OF DUBLIN " consists of Two Parts. The first gives the informa- tion required by all visitors ; the second, a Dictionary proper, gives fuller particulars on subjects of special interest ; a system of cross references, making it easy to consult either section as desired. By this means a visitor making a short stay is not overburdened with details, and yet can at any moment get the fullest information upon anything which specially attracts him. To the resident or to the visitor bent on thoroughly investigating the city and its environs, it is hoped the book will prove an ample guide. In the first edition of a book, containing so much material in a small space, complete freedom from fault can hardly be expected. The authors will be obliged to any reader who points out errors or VI . .. omissions in order that such may be corrected in future editions. The authors are responsible for the reproductions from photographs, but not for the woodcuts introduced by the publishers. NOTE. In Part I. words in heavy-faced type are the subject of special articles in Part II. In Part II. cross references to other articles are given by printing the subjects of such in capitals. June, 1895. PART I. CHAP. I. ACCESS TO DUBLIN II. IN DUBLIN III. HISTORIC DUBLIN iv. FIRST DAY'S WALK THRO' THE CITY v. SECOND DAY'S WALK THRO' THE CITY VI. DUBLIN FROM A TRAMCAR VII. TRIPS IN THE NEIGHBOURHOOD OF DUBLIN VIII. BOOKS, VIEWS AND MAPS - PART II. CHAP. PAGE I 5 12 39 55 7* 88 THE DICTIONARY OF DUBLIN, PART I. Access to Dublin. ,N the so-called good old times, and not so very /< long ago, the voyage to Ireland was a matter needing much consideration [Mail Boats*] ; but the fine boats of the L. & N. W. Railway Co. and of the City of Dublin Steam Packet Co. have changed all that, and the actual sea journey occupies now only some three to four hours. The Z. c^ N. W. R. boats run between Holy- head and Dublin (North Wall) twice daily in connection with Express trains to and from London. There is also a slower service daily, but it is not so popular. The City of Dublin boats, which carry the Mails, run to Kingstown Pier, * Heavy type is used to direct the reader's attention to the longer articles on special subjects in Part II. from which the pas- senger takes the boat train to Westland-row Station a run of a quarter of an hour. Tickets issued for the Mail boat are available without extra charge for the North Wall Steamers, but holders of tickets for the North Wall route must pay 25. on the ist Class and 33. on the 2nd Class Tickets for the privilege of travelling by the Kingstown boats. This is often a matter of great convenience, as the hours of starting differ considerably. The traveller can secure a bed on board, and may occupy his berth over night for the morning boats. The City of Dublin Co. runs a tidal service between Dublin and Liverpool with excellent boats, and the Dublin and Glasgow Co. and the Laird Line combine to give a daily service to and from Greenock and Glasgow. The time occupied in the passage is roughly 15 hours. Passengers from the Southern parts of England will find good accommodation and a very enjoyable trip of 2 1 hours or so by taking the Bristol Steam Navigation Co. boats, sailing from Bristol on Tuesdays, and from Dublin on Fridays ; while those who really enjoy the sea can have an excellent trip from London direct to Dublin by the British and Irish Steam Packet C0.'s boats which run twice a week each way, calling at Plymouth, Falmouth, Southampton and Portsmouth. On the other hand many : --._ travellers, for whom the " up and down motion, which is caused by the treacherous ocean," has terrors unspeakable, will yet find it possible to visit Ireland with only one hour's open sea voyage by choosing the Larne and Stranraer Route. The steamers of all these Companies are excellently fitted ; but, as is only natural, the finest boats are those which run on the Express and Mail Services between Dublin and Holyhead. A table of fares by each of the above-mentioned routes will be found among the advertisements. Whichever method the visitor may adopt of reaching our city, he should on no account miss the view of the noble Bay of Dublin as the vessel approaches its destination. To one whose first view of Dublin Bay is in the early morn of a bright summer day, the sight will be long a cherished memory. On the right is the bold Hill of Howth with the Bailey Lighthouse crowning a precipitous crag. Beyond it lies the little island of Ireland's Eye, and in the background Lambay. On the left rises Bray Head, an abrupt promontory. Further away rise the famed Dublin hills, and in the background the violet hills of far-famed Wicklow. Soon Dalkey and Killiney are passed on our left, and almost at once Kingstown Harbour is reached. If we are not to land there we shall have more time to admire the beautiful panorama spread before us, as our steamer slowly cleaves its way up the Liffey. So glorious is the picture, so exquisite the tints of the distant hills and valleys that the visitor will not wonder at the fond- ness and pride with which all Irishmen regard what one of our poets calls a "match- less wonder of a bay." On reaching the quays, the stranger will at once be struck with the un- usual accent of the natives; but the dan- gers, so merrily de- scribed in many authors, of being torn to pieces by rival jarveys are a thing of the past. The Irish car is a marvel to the stranger who feels a distinct element of adventure in the drive on such a vehicle with a jarvey whose object appears to be to run as close as he possibly can to everything without absolutely running into it. The cars are, howeve^ quite safe, and the carmen often most amusing guides as well as most accomplished whips. We leave our visitor with every confidence that he will safely reach his hotel. CHAPTER II. In Dublin. EFORE reaching Dublin it is well to arrange where to stay, especially in times of local ex- citement, such as " Horse Show Week," when accommodation is very hard to get. Lodgings in Dublin are sometimes clean and comfort- able, but this is not the rule, and hotels will be found more comfortable in every way. There are a few first-class hotels in Dublin, and many reasonably good ones. A great num- ber of combined hotel and boarding establishments have lately sprung up, in which economical and fairly comfortable quarters can be obtained. Particulars of the chief hotels will be found in our advertise- ment columns. Some few years ago the visitor who did not take his meals in his hotel fared badly, as Dublin was poorly supplied with restaurants ; having visited Mitchell's for lunch, the joys of Dublin were exhausted. Of late years there has been a great improvement in this respect, and Dublin is now well supplied with first-class restau- rants. Some of the hotels have lately opened their table d'hote dinners to non-residents. The pedestrian or cyclist who seeks re- freshment in the surrounding country will fare badly, as the neighbouring villages afford little prospect of entertainment, and unless the tourist hits upon some large place, such as Bray, Kingstown, or Howth, he will find it better to remain hungry. The clean cottages which abound in Wales, where tea can be obtained at a moderate cost, are almost unknown about Dublin. Some notable exceptions, such as that at the gate of the Dargle, show how highly such accommodation is valued. In other Chapters di- rections are given for sys- tematic walks through Dublin, and in the Dic- tionary the various sights, c.,are described in detail. It is only necessary here to give a brief sketch of what the visitor to Dublin can do. It is very easy to get about Dublin ; outside cars abound [Pares], and trams run frequently in all directions. An outside car is the best vehicle to use. It is light, quick, and cheap, and holds four easily, and another " on the well " at' a pinch. The driver is generally well stocked with miscellaneous information, and humour is not absent. The novice is advised to hold on when going round corners. Tramcars run through the principal streets and along the quays ; from the top good views can be obtained. Trams also run out into the suburbs ; a description of the routes is given in Chapter VI. Whilst Dublin is full of interest to those who care to study it, it is comparatively easily exhausted by the super- ficial visitor. The most important parts lie in an elongated block, crossing the river at O'Connell Bridge. This is bounded by S. Stephen' s-green at the south, and the Rotunda (at the head of Sackville-street) at the north ; Dame-street forms a detour to the west. In this district will be found the best streets for shopping, and consequently the best streets for seeing people; the finest commercial buildings and some of the finest public buildings, such as the Museums, Trinity College, Bank of Ireland, Royal Exchange, Christ Church Cathedral, Custom House, Pro- Cathedral, Post Office, and the Rotunda. S. Patrick's Cathedral and the Four Courts lie outside this district to the west. S. Stephen's-green is a noble city park, and its frequent seats afford a pleasant resting-place to the tired sight-seer. One of the finest views in Dublin is that from the bridge which crosses the lake. To the north the wide expanse of water leads the eye to the island and to the mimic cataract falling over jagged rocks ; above rises the classic fagade of the College of Surgeons. To the right is seen Grafton-street TOP Of UUAFTON STREET. and a noble row of Clubs, with a distant view of the cam- panile and other buildings of T. C. D. ; to the left the statue of George II., the fountains, and, in the distance, the granite front of the Catholic University, and the campanile of the Royal University. Behind the second lake are the Shel- bourne Hotel, many fine houses, and a number of fine trees. Grafton-street is the great shopping street of Dublin 41, College-green is the centre for banks and insurance com- panies, and it and Sackville-street contain the finest statues, and are the starting points of the tram system. College-green is an imposing space, triangular in shape, the apex passing into Dame-street. The base is the fine front of Trinity College. At one side is the Bank of Ireland (formerly the Parliament House), at the other a row of fine banks and commercial buildings. In the centre space are statues of Burke, Goldsmith, Grattan, and William III. Here is the terminus of those tram lines which run west. Grafton-street, Dame-street, and Westmoreland-street, the three chief thoroughfares opening out of College-green, are all full of handsome buildings. Westmoreland-street leads to O'Connell Bridge, from which another fine view of the city can be obtained. Looking back up Westmoreland-street, Trinity College and the noble portico of the old House of Lords are seen ; the latter stands boldly out to the street. More to the left is D'Olier-street ending in other buildings of Trinity College. Look- ing in the opposite direction the fine pro- portions of Sackville- street are appreciated. In the immediate fore- ground is the splendid memorial to O'Connell, further on the Gray Statue, Nelson's Pillar, and the portico of the Post Office. In the distance is the Rotunda, and the spire of S. George's Church. Up and down the river fine views are obtained, the Custom House (spoiled to some extent by the Loop Line) standing out clear and white when the wind is from the east ; the upper quays and Phoenix Park, showing best as the sun sinks to the west. But if the city is soon exhausted its suburbs are inexhaust- ible, and whether sea, mountain or rich pasture of emerald hue delights the eye, the treat can be had in abundance. The Phoenix Park is within reach of the tram lines, but can be better explored on an outside car, as can the Straw- berry Beds and many pretty bits at the north side. For more distant excursions the railways must be used. The railway stations of Dublin are : Westland-row and Harcourt-street , the termini of the Dublin, Wicklow, and Wexford Railway. The former line goes to Kingstown, and will be passed over by the traveller CUSTOM HOUSE, FROM O'CONNELL BRIDGE. arriving by the Holyhead mail. Both lines join at Bray ; so either can be used when starting to explore the County Wicklow. Kingsbridge, the terminus of the Great Southern and West- ern Railway, leading to Cork, Killarney, &c. Broadstone, the terminus of the Midland Great Western Railway, leading to Galway, Sligo, &c. Amiens- street, the terminus of the Great Northern Rail- way, leading to Belfast and the North. This is joined to Westland-row by the Loop Line. 10 There are also stations on the North Wall used in connection with the Cross-Channel steamboats. To Howth, at the north, and to Kingstown and Bray, at the south, trains are frequent and cheap. In the evenings the fares are still further reduced. Most of the County Wicklow is within reach of a day's excursion, but the more distant parts can be better seen by stay- ing for two or three days. Suggested excursions are given in Chapter VII., and the places are described in detail in Part II. THE DICTIONARY. Sundays in Dublin are fairly cheerful. The musical services in S. Patrick's and Christ Church Cathedrals are beautifully rendered ; the afternoon services are usually crowded. The services in the Castle Chapel and Trinity College are also attractive, but orders have to be obtained. The only church services that can be at all classed as " High" are those in S. Bartholomew's and All Saints', Grangegorman. High Mass in the Pro-Cathedral, S. Francis Xavier, and S. Andrew's draws large and fashionable congregations ; but, indeed, at most Catholic churches the at- tendance is large, and numbers may often be seen standing with uncovered heads outside the doors. On Sunday mornings the funerals en- liven the streets leading towards Prospect Cemetery. Forty, fifty, or more outside cars with from four to six or seven passen- gers on each often follow a single hearse, and as time goes on, so great is the anxiety to arrive before the gates are shut, that sometimes three funerals will race up Sackville-street abreast, each trying to be first to make the narrow of Cavendish-row. 11 On Sunday afternoons Dublin empties ; some go to the Phoenix Park, where the grass of the People's Gardens is thickly dotted with family groups ; strolling couples may be met further afield. The tram lines also carry crowds to Clontarf, Sandymount and the base of the Dublin moun- tains, and the railways leave thousands at Howth, Kings- town, and Bray. Week-day evening amusements in Dublin are not nume- rous. There is only one first-class theatre and one second- rate theatre. The latter is not always open. There is also one good Music Hall. The Leinster Hall accommodates large audiences for concerts, and the Rotunda Rooms and Antient Concert Rooms have smaller concerts, conjurers, &c., &c. In Summer Hengler's Circus is open in the Rotunda Gardens, and is a pleasant and favourite resort. The Shows organized by the Royal Dublin Society are always largely attended. The Museum all the year round and the Royal Hibernian Academy in Spring exhaust the public amusements, unless frequent Bazaars can be placed under this heading. CHAPTER III. present the reader with a full history of the ancient city of Dublin is beyond the scope of the present work ; but a brief sketch of the steps by which Dublin became the second city of the Empire will pro- bably be agreeable to "the stranger within our gates," who would lose much of the interest which his visit should afford him if he were left in ignorance of our past history. The earliest inhabitants and the first adventurers who entered the bay can no longer be de- termined, but the original foundation of the city is believed to have been as early as 2000 B.C., and our ances- tors, whether of Spanish or Scythian origin, as is sometimes suggested, have left to us, in relics of their skill in gold, silver, and bronze, such exquisite works of art as prove that Ireland can fairly claim in the world's early history a posi- tion far superior to that of the surrounding nations. The name of Dublin has been variously derived from Dun Eblana, " the fort of the cowslip," and from Duibhlinn, " the black pool." It is a remarkable fact that speakers of Irish in all remote parts of the country call the city even now Ath-cliath, with the prefix Bally, the whole being pro- nounced Blaa-clee " the town of the hurdle-ford." In the 13 early Christian era the history of the city presents few features of interest beyond its occupation by the Galls or foreigners. These constant invasions, however, inculcated a military training and a fondness for fighting which is still a characteristic of the inhabitants. In the fifth century St. Patrick of Armagh visited Dublin, which adopted Chris- tianity. The ninth century is noteworthy for repeated in- vasions by the Danes, possibly a different race from the former foreigners. These Danes varied the monotony of being defeated by the native Irish by inflicting serious re- verses upon the English, thus showing plainly how impor- tant a part Ireland, and Dublin in particular, was destined to play for weal or woe in the fortunes of the sister kingdom. The following century is occupied by the burnings and re- buildings of the city by one or other of the contending parties ; and in 1014 the famous Brian Boroihme [Bora] utterly routed and almost annihilated the Danes in the glorious battle of Clontarf, in which, however, king Brian was himself slain. Shortly afterwards Malachi burned and razed the city of Dublin to the ground. This eleventh cen- tury saw the building of CHRIST CHURCH and S. MICHAN'S CHURCH, which still remain. The power of the Danes was by this time thoroughly broken, and after repeated defeats during the first half of the twelfth century, they had so far forgotten their pristine valour that they became an easy prey to Strongbow, who in 1170 occupied the city. This inva- sion of Ireland by Englishmen under Strongbow was brought about by the expulsion of Dermod McMurrough, king of Leinster, at the hands of Roderick O'Connor, king of Ireland. McMurrough had run away with the wife of O'Rorke, Prince of Breffni. O'Connor espoused the cause of O'Rorke and advanced with him against McMurrough, who finding resistance impossible fled to Henry II. of England and tendered his alle- giance. The English monarch having obtained from Pope Adrian a Bull making over to him the lord- ship of Ireland, granted permission to McMurrough to enlist volunteers who would right under the English flag for the recovery of his lost sovereignty. The most important of these adventurers was Strongbow, who after considerable success in the south of Ireland advanced upon Dublin, and after a brief siege occupied the city. He married Eva, daughter of McMurrough. Strongbow was himself closely blockaded by Roderick O'Connor, and was on the point of evacuating Ireland with all his English followers, when Roderick, owing to some treachery on the part of his followers, was compelled to raise the siege and leave Dublin in the hands of the Saxons. Henry II. visited the city in 1172, and received the homage of the chieftains. In the following year he granted the city to the citizens of Bristol to colonize, confirming to them by charter all privileges which they possessed at Bristol. This charter is still to be seen in the CORPORATION RECORDS. Strongbow died in 1175, and in 1209, on Easter Monday, the new colonists who had gone out to make holi- day, at Cullenswood, were attacked and slain to the number of 500, the spot being to this day called the "Bloody Field," and the day " Black Monday." King John, in 1210, established law courts, and erected a mint, and in the same year Henry III., on his accession, granted " Magna Charta " to Dublin, and later on gave to the citizens the fee-farm of the city at a rental of 200 marks. In 1282, the greater part of the city near the Castle, including S. Werburgh's and a large portion of Christ Church was burned down. The pious citizens began to rebuild these sacred edifices, even before their own houses. In this century, also, the Castle was built, and the first bridge thrown over the Liffey. In 1315, 6,000 Scots, under Edward Bruce, were invited by the native Irish to assist them against the English garrison, and landed in Ulster ; but the men of Dublin showed so firm a front, that Bruce, who had reached Castleknock, withdrew without attacking 15 the city. A terrible famine in 1331, followed in 1348 by a sickness resembling cholera, reduced the city to dire straits. In 1486, Lambert Simnel was crowned in Christ Church ; but the annals of the city exhibit little save the usual attacks by the Irish on the English colony and the reprisals which followed. Repeatedly the power of the Church was called upon to aid the English, on the plea that Adrian, Pope of SPEED'S MAP OF DUBLIN, 1610. Rome, had, in 1172, alienated his Lordship of Ireland to Henry II. for a certain rent. The sixteenth century exhibits a monotonous st" ies of risings, including the famous rebellion in 1534 of 'Silken Thomas," son of the Earl of Kildare. In 1541, the title King of Ireland was assumed by Henry VIII. by Ad of the Irish Parliament. Of Tyrconnell, Tyrone and a host of others, who made matters lively for the English during the 16 second part of this century, we lack space to speak ; but in matters more particularly concerning the city itself we must mention the introduction of printing in 1550, the opening of Trinity College to students in 1593, and the introduction of the potato in 1578. After Lord Mountjoy's fiendish " final Conquest of Ireland " in 1600, Dublin was visited by the plague in 1604, and again in 1606 and 1607. Speed's well-known map, dated 1610, is of interest, and is here exhibited. The circuit of the city walls was then one mile. The ex- actions and confiscations of Strafford, 1633, were carried out with the deliberate intention of extinguishing every Irish trade and manufactures notably the woollen trade, which then flou- rished, so that Ireland might be dependent upon England. The insurrection of the Irish Septs in 1641 was crushed with cold-blooded ferocity, and was followed by unparalleled barbarities in the city itself. In 1649, Lord Ormond was defeated in the great battle of Bagotsrath, by the citizens of Dublin, and within a few days Cromwell landed. In nine months, Cromwell overran almost all Ireland, whose ruined keeps and dismantled castles still attest the horrors of the times. Indeed " The curse of Cromwell on you " is even yet used throughout the country as an impreca- tion. The world-famous Dean Swift was born in 1667. In 1689, James II. arrived and issued his brass money, to the nominal value of one-and-a-half million pounds. This money which was by proclamation made to pass as silver coinage, was coined out of old brass and gun metal ! The circulation, however, ceased after the battle of the Boyne, when William III., on July 5, 1690, entered Dublin. A Penal Code was now in- stituted in retaliation for *- 17 the cruelties perpetrated by the Jacobites on Protestants ; and it is in this period, chiefly, that the strong religious antipathies, which even yet distract Ire- land, had their origin. It is certainly true that many of the English colonists became Hiberniores ipsis Hibemicis ; but it cannot be denied that the plunderings, extortions, and the mur- dering of the old natives were due solely to a land hunger, and have ac- quired a religious colour, as it were accidentally, owing to the hypocritical cloak which some of the rulers, professedly Protestants, threw over their greed. The eighteenth century brought with it at least freedom from constant invasion, and the citizens had leisure to devote to the adornment of their city. The Royal Barracks (1704), the old Custom House (1707), the Parliament House (finished 1739), the Rotunda Lying-in Hospital (1751), the Royal Exchange (1769), the Blue Coat Hospital (1773), King's Inns (1776), present Custom House (1781), Four Courts (1786), together with many fine mansions, countless places of worship, and very many of our leading benevolent institutions were erected during this century, while the city advanced with amazing rapidity in every respect. The streets were widened, public lighting undertaken, the river embanked, banks established, and a General Post Office instituted. Many societies, both scientific and literary, were started, and the arts flourished. Then, too, means of inter- communication with the centre of the country were estab- lished by the fine canals an enterprise comparable with the modern magnificent railway lines. This was, indeed, the Golden Age of Dublin, which then possessed a resident nobility and a gentry warmly attached to their native land. The restrictions which hampered trade were removed, and an energetic body of traders, animated by a spirit of com- mercial enterprise, arose. The population, which in 1644 is stated to have been 8, 159, had risen in 177710 137,208, and in 180310169,528! The insurrection of May, 1798, led immediately to the Union with England (1801), and although it cannot but be a 18 source of deep regret that the mansions of our nobles are no longer occupied by their lordly owners, and that London has drawn to herself much of the best and brightest of our genius, for which a mock Court is poor consolation, still Dublin in spite of many difficulties has progressed within the present century in a remarkable degree. Her streets no longer 1!) exhibit that squalor .which earned for her the soubriquet " dirty Dublin." Even a Thackeray could find small mark for his satire in the fine thoroughfares which now adorn our city. We have still, alas ! the black mud, from which no amount of Paving and Cleansing Committees can protect us in rainy weather ; but if we have our full share of rain we have our recompense in a fine water supply, and if we have no manufactories to boast of we can content ourselves with the enjoy- ment of an air which is not smoke- laden, and a sky which is not always blurred with smuts. On the whole, given fair weather, no place can look brighter, livelier, or more lovely than the much-maligned City of Dublin, and its sample squares, noble public buildings, not to mention the sur- passing loveliness of its environs, fully entitle it to rank as the second city of the Empire. CHAPTER IV. First Day's Walk Through the City, [MAPS A. AND B.] HE Bank of Ireland and the University are such conspi- cuous objects in themselves, and are withal so interesting to the visitor, as well as so central in situation, that they have been adopted as our starting point for each day's walk. On the strangers first morning in Dublin he can do no better than direct his steps to " Old Trinity." Passing under the Archway he will see, in the octagon-shaped vestibule, the notice boards, on which are posted the examination returns ; and, if it be Term time, they will probably be surrounded by an eager throng of students in cap and gown, discussing the results, or awaiting fresh intelligence. The large quadrangle which is first entered, is 560 feet in length by 270 in breadth, and gives an immediate idea of that spaciousness which is, indeed, the main characteristic of the University buildings. In this vast square are the Chapel and the Examination Hall to the left and right hand respectively, while just beyond the Chapel stands the Dining Hall, with its great kitchens. From the pulpit in the Dining Hall the scholars of the house, of whom there are 70, pronounce in their turns the old graces Before and after Commons. The portico of the chapel, with four Roman Corinthian columns, is exactly similar to that of the Examination Hall, and both are from the design of Sir W. Chambers. After visiting these buildings the Library will attract attention. The present Library was first opened OLD BUILDINGS (BEFORE ALTERATIONS) AND LIBRARY, T.C-D. a .fg|Hil* 6 i! "5 rt t, 5 ^-n ~ ^2 T3 ^ & <y 23 pavilion is occupied by the Fagel Library, removed from Holland to London during the French invasion of 1784, and purchased by Dublin University for ^"8,000. Immediately above it are the Manuscript rooms, in which are stored many priceless MSS. relating to Irish history, &c. This room, by regulation of the Statutes, can be visited only in company of the Librarian himself. Some few of the marble SOUTH SIDE OP PARLIAMENT SQUARE. busts which stand in the large room are of interest, as are many of the old Irish MSS. described elsewhere. From the Library the visitor will pass to the famous New Buildings, which form the southern side of the New Square. The Venetian style of ornamentation used here contrasts curi- ously with the classic style of all the other College buildings; and there is not in Dublin any more beautiful interior THE LIBRARY, T.C.D. 25 than the entrance hall of this noble structure. The other houses of this square, and all of those in the square called " Botany Bay," contain only students' quarters or the private rooms of the Fellows. For the present we shall not go out into the College Park, since at such an early hour there is not much to be seen there ; but leaving the University again by the front gate we cross to the famous Bank of Ire- land, once the Houses of Parliament. In it there is now little to attract the visitor, excepting always the House of Lords, which remains to this day in much the same con- dition as before the Union. The House of Commons was burned down in 1792 and again in 1804, and the present cash office is erected on its site. The statue of King William III. and Foley's statues of Gold- smith, Burke and Grattan are worthy of inspection before we leave College- green. The front of the University itself can be excellently seen from this point. Its length is 308 feet. The building 26 is of the Corinthian order, and at each end are pavilions adorned with coupled pilasters supporting an attic storey. Continuing our way up Dame-street we pass on the right the Dublin Commercial Buildings, with fine reading- rooms. In the basement of the same building is an 27 excellent luncheon-bar (he Bodega. A little further on the left is George's-street, up which we may walk for a hundred yards or so to visit the South City Markets, which cover an area of almost two acres. This fine build- ing, in Scotch baronial style, was burned to the ground in 1891. Almost opposite to it, but rather higher up, stands the house in which was opened the first Lying-in Hospital ever started in Great Britain. It was opened in 1745 by the noble Dr. Mosse, whose exertions on behalf of the suffering poor secured to Dublin its famed Rotunda Hospital. Returning again to Dame-street we come next to the City Hall, which is worth a visit, particularly if the City Fathers happen to be in session. The City Hall has a fine front of the Corinthian order, and faces Parliament- street, noted in former days for its great book shops and its journalists. Here are at present the offices of the Daily Express (rebuilt, 1893) and of the Warder and Mail. From this point we catch our first glimpse of Christ Church Cathedral. Before 1886, when Lord Edward-street was opened, there was a row of houses across the end of Dame-street, obstructing both the view and the traffic. The opening of this new street was certainly one among the most important improvements of the city within recent years. Turning to the left, past the west front of the City Hall, we reach the Castle, the town residence of the Lord Lieutenant. Here are the offices of the administration of Government and of the Metropolitan Police. The building of the Castle was begun by King John in 1205, and the latest addition, the Chapel, was completed in 1814. The Upper Castle Yard, which we have entered, con- tains the state rooms of the Viceroy, S. Patrick's Hall and the apartments of the officers of the household and of the Secretaries of State. The buildings are very plain externally, and the whole effect disappointing, but the interior of the noble S. Patrick's Hall on the occasion of some great function cf State is very magnificent. We now pass into the Lower Castle Yard, in which atten- tion is attracted by the Chapel, an ornate Gothic building with a fine interior. The quaint heads carved on the exterior are deserving of at- tention. Here also is the heavy Birmingham Tower, usually called the Record Tower, as the Irish records have been kept there since 1.579. In this courtyard a plain line of buildings to the north contains the offices otheTreasury,c., while beyond the Chapel are the offices of the Dublin Metropolitan Police. To the south is a barrack of the police, and near it a small lawn or " garden," from which can be obtained a view of the entire buildings, world-famed CASTLE CHAPEL AND HECORD TOWER. as Dublin Castle. A military band performs every morning while the guard is being changed in the Upper Yard, and especially on S. Patrick s Day a crowd gathers to enjoy the scene. Returning once again to the Upper Yard we pass out by the gate into Castle-street, and a few yards further reach the Castle Steps, off which, at No. 9 Hoey's-court, in the year 1667 was born the famous Jonathan Swift, Dean of S. Patrick's Cathedral. Continuing up Castle-street we come upon Christ Church Cathedral, which, however, we S. PATRICK AND S. NICHOLAS STREETS. 30 shall reserve for our second day's walk. Turning to the left into Werburgh-street we reach S. Werburgh's Church, one of the most interesting of our old city churches. The spire of this church is a conspicuous object in all the old maps of Dublin ; it was taken down early in the present century as dangerous. Under the chancel are interred the remains of the ill-fated Lord Edward Fitzgerald. Returning to Christ Church-place, and turning to the left in front of the Synod Hall, we find ourselves in Nicholas- street one of the remnants of old Dublin. The stranger who is interested in the study of people rather than of places, should visit Nicholas-street on Saturday morning, when the whole pavement is littered with the various articles exposed for sale. There is not in all Dublin a more interesting spot to be seen, and the pity of it is that sanitary requirements are abolishing, bit by bit, every vestige of the Dublin of which this is now one of the sole relics. There can be no doubt that the street is dirty and its odours not " of Araby ; " yet it is at least picturesque, and we will the more appreciate its old-time semi-continental effect, by turning to the rigrit from Patrick-street (the continuation of Nicholas- street) to glance at the red-brick cottages which are rapidly replacing all the quaint old tumble-down streets. At the end of Patrick-street stands the National Cathedral of S. Patrick. Built in 1190 on the spot where, according to tradition, S. Patrick baptized his converts in the fifth century, this ancient edifice has passed through many vicissitudes. By turns, a law court, a "grammar scole with lodgings for the scole master," a barrack for Cromwell's Ironsides injured by fires and by the waters of the River Poddle, S. Patrick's still remains a stately and venerable pile. In modern times a most complete renovation of the building was successfully carried out in 1864-5, at tne so ' e cost of Sir B. Guinness, whose statue, in a sitting posture, may be seen outside the building near the West Porch. This statue, by Foley, was erected " by his fellow country- men in grateful remembrance of the Restorer of the Cathedral." There is so much of interest in connection with this building that the stranger is most strongly advised to read the longer article, which deals more adequately with the subject. We can here direct special attention to a very 31 few out of many memorials. The greatest interest will naturally centre round all that concerns the famous wit and s. PATRICK'S CATHEDRAL. patriot, Dean Swift, so popular and so beloved by all classes of the people. The fine bust above the doo: of the robing- 32 room is considered a good likeness, and beside it is the tablet to the Dean, together with one to the ill-fated Stella, whom Swift described as "the truest, most virtuous, and valuable friend that I, or perhaps any other person, was 33 ever blessed with." Casts of the skulls of Swift and Stella may be seen in the robing-room. To Swift is due in large measure the preservation of many of the other monuments which adorn the Cathedral. Among them may be men- tioned that of Schomberg, and the fine old tombs of Archbishops Gregory and Jones and the Boyle monument ; while among modern memorials none surpass in interest the tomb of the great Archbishop Whately, and the striking statue erected to Captain Boyd, both executed by Farrell. The old door of the Chapter House and the curiously carved chest in the North Aisle will also attract attention. Swift's pulpit and two effigies, said to represent S. Patrick and Archbishop Fulk de Saund- ford, can be seen in the baptistery. On leaving the Cathedral, the tourist will do well to visit Marsh's Library, where many rare MSS. are stored. Here may be seen Dean Swift's handwriting, and that also of Archbishop Laud, and there is in Dublin no place in which the old-world savour is more pleasantly kept alive. Strangely enough, few of our Dublin folk seem aware of the exis- tence of this public library founded for their use. The Police Barrack beside the Library occupies the site of the Archiepiscopal Palace of S. Sepulchre and from its yard there is an excellent view of the exterior of St. Patrick's Cathed al. The Deanery, from which appeared many of Dean Swift's famous writings, was burned down in 1781. The present Deanery is a very gloomy building, but contains some very fine portraits, including a famous painting by Bindon of Dean Swift. As we pass through Kevin- street, Bishop-street, and York-street into Stephen's-green, we may, with but short detours, visit two of Dublin's noblest institutions, the Meath Hospital, in Heytesbury-street, and the Adelaide Hospital, in Peter-street. York- street, a fine but rather decayed thoroughfare, contains little of interest, except the College of Surgeons, with its superb front facing Stephen's-green. Entering the Green itself we pause to admire Farrell's statue of Lord 34 Ardilaun, to whose munificence Dublin owes so very ex- cellent an example of landscape gardening. Keeping to the right we leave the Green by the south side to visit the Catholic University, easily recognised by the re- cumbent lion over the door. Some little distance to the right is the Wesleyan Chapel, and behind it the beautiful WATERFALL IN 8. STEPHENS GREEN. buildings of the Wesley College. At the south-east corner of Stephen's-green is Earlsfort-terrace, which like Stephen's- green itself is the home of Education in Dublin. In it are The Royal University, occupying the buildings of the old Exhibition Palace, and the Alexandra School and College the "Girton" of Ireland. The new build- ings of Alexandra School, from designs of Sir Thomas Drew, 35 are worthy of inspection. On the east side of Stephen's- green stands the noble S. Vincent de Paul Hospital, and within a few doors the College of Science. The latter ought to be visited as it contains a very excellent museum of peculiar importance to all who are interested in Irish industries. Here, too, may be seen exquisite enamels of every type, and a fine collection of china. Strolling through the Green again towards the north side, we take the opportunity of inspecting more closely the beauties of the public park itself. This is the most extensive and most picturesque of the squares of Dublin, and will contrast very favourably with similar squares in any city in the empire. The circumference is almost one English mile. It is a real delight to see how the children from the surrounding back streets enjoy the playgrounds, which Lord Ardilaun's generosity has placed within their reach. Here, amid lakes, islets, and cascades, they can drink in the . air of heaven and feel thankful that - ~ ~ - the square is no longer closed to them, as in Thackeray's famous de- scription, when the entree was con- fined to those who paid their guinea a year, and "there were not more than two nursery-maids to keep company with the statue of George II." The noble donor spent ,15,000 on the opening of S. Stephen's-green, and never was money more usefully expended. The Dublin Metropolitan Police have erected a bandstand as a Jubilee offering to Queen Victoria, and here on Saturday evenings during the warm season their fine band attracts a very large assembly of Dublin artisans and others. From the Green, after duly admiring the rockeries, waterfalls, and the many species of water-fowl which en- liven the lake, we pass out into Dawson-street, glancing at the statue of Lord Eglinton, erected after the very successful Horse and Cattle Show of 1867. The Mansion House stands on the right side of Dawson-street as we stroll down this fine street It is a spacious if not very pretentious JJ6 residence for the Lord Mayor. There are some fine por- traits in the building, and many magnificent apartments, notably the Round Room, erected in 1821 for the reception of King George IV. In the gardens stands an equestrian statue of George I., which originally stood on Essex-bridge. The inscription is of more than passing interest. A few paces further down Dawson street is the house of the Royal Irish Academy, which is shorn of its interest to the visitor since the removal of its fine Celtic Museum, in 1891, to the care of the Science and Art Department. Passing S. Ann's Church with its handsome new fagade we turn into Molesworth-street on the right, and at once see the magnifi- cent buildings of the National Library and Museum with Leinster House in the background. As these are among the noblest of our public buildings the stranger will act wisely in devoting considerable time to an inspection of their contents. Molesworth-street, through which we are walking, was in former days the home of many of our resident nobles, but it is remarkable now only for the Free- mason's Hall, a fine building, and for two smaller Concert or Lecture Halls, the Molesworth Hall, and the Leinster Lecture Hall. The visitor cannot but be impressed with the magnificence of the noble pile of building in which the National Library and the Museum of the Science and Art Department are housed. So full a description of their many curiosities is given elsewhere that it is unnecessary here to enter into details. It will be found convenient to visit the Library first, and then, after a glance at the magnificent Reading Rooms of the Royal Dublin Society in Leinster House, to pass across the Quadrangle into the Museum. Here, although the exhibits are unusually well labelled, a special guide is almost necessary if one intends to study any- particular department. Having exhausted the sights which the Museum affords, the stranger may pass out through the Natural History Department into Leinster Lawn, in which will be seen a statue to the Prince Consort. On the further side of Leinster Lawn is the National Gallery, a re- naissance building of similar design to that just quitted. Here are some fine examples chiefly of the Dutch school, and an interesting series of historical portraits. On leaving this great group of public buildings we find ourselves in. Merrion-square from which we may pass by Clare- street back into the College Park, which we now enter by NATIONAL GALLERY STAIRCASE. the Leinster Gate. The buildings at this end of the Park are chiefly those connected with the famous University Medical 38 School. The Museum is very well worth a visit. Beyond these buildings are the Gymnasium and Tennis Courts, while at the east end of the level sward stands the Pavilion. Here we shall probably find that we have done enough sight-seeing for one day, and we may restfully spend the remainder of the afternoon in watching whatever match happens to be in progress in the Park. CRICKET IX THE PARK. FRIEZE, ROUND BOOM, ROTUNDA. CHAPTER V. Second Day's Walk Through the City. [CHIEFLY ON MAP C.] ; GAIN starting from the front of Trinity College we shall describe a walk which takes in most of the objects of interest at the north side of the city, and Christ Church Cathedral at the south side. From Trinity College, Westmoreland street leads directly to O'Connell-bridge, and so on to the north side of the river. It is a handsome street, containing fine business buildings, and the projecting portico of the old House of Lords (Bank) ; it was made by the Wide Street Commissioners at the end of the 1 8th century on the site of narrow lanes the scene of many a robbery which led down to the ferry plying across the river before the bridge was built. The curious may be interested in learning that Westmoreland-street is the same length and breadth as the Ark, but this was an undesigned coincidence ! We, however, will not choose the direct route, but turn to the right, down College-street, keeping the College railings on our right. 40 Entering College-street we pass the unhappy statue of Tom Moore (the effigy is better known as Black-a-Moore) ; this work of art was from the first an object of ridicule, the short, stumpy figure of the original being caricatured by the statue. Several attempts have been made to im- prove it j a somewhat lighter pedestal was built, and the head was sawn off, and three extra inches of neck added ! On the left-hand side of the street is the handsome Pro- COLLEQE GREEN. vincial Bank, the interior of which is well worth visit- ing; and at the open space, where College-street, D'Olier-street (leading to O'Connell-bridge) Great Bruns- wick-street (leading to Westland-row and containing the Queen's Theatre), Townsend-street (containing the Coffee Palace), and Hawkins'-street (containing the Leinster Hall) meet, stands J. Kirk's Monument erected in 1862 to Sir Philip Crampton. It consists of a drinking fountain with three basins, from which rises a tall spike of 41 water lilies and other aquatic plants cast in bronze ; in the middle a bust of Sir Philip nestles. This monument is THE CUSTOM HOUSE. locally known as the " water babe," but has been called the " cabbage. ' 42 Going down Hawkin's- "*" street we pass the Lein- ster Hall on the right. This handsome hall is built on the site of the old Theatre Royal ; it is used for the greater musical events, and the smaller bazaars. At the end of the street, Burgh -quay is reached ; going to the right for a couple of hundred yards past the Corn Exchange and Conciliation Hall, Butt Bridge (a swivel bridge, built in 1878, and called after the Home Rule leader), enables us to cross the river, and passing under the un- sightly "Loop Line" to reach the Custom House. The Custom House is a magnificent building separated from the river by a wide quay and with a large open space at its back. Until the building of the " Loop Line " the west side was also open and there was a beautiful view of the whole from O'Connell-bridge. It is a Doric building, and was built by James Gandon, 1781-91^1 a cost of over a quarter of a million. The south front facing the river has a fine centre portico (with sculpture representing England and Ireland embracing) connected by arcades to the end pavilions. Above is a richly pillared cupola with copper dome, from the top of which rises a circular pedestal bearing a heroic statue of Hope. Each end pavilion has two tall recessed pillars. The north front is somewhat similar, but the central portico has no entablature ; it bears statues of Europe, Asia, Africa and America, Most of the stone carving was done by Ed. Smyth ; the heads represent the rivers of Ireland. The open space opposite the north front has been the scene of many great meetings j it was here, in 1 840, that Father Mathew addressed thousands, and administered the pledge to them. The east side is occupied by docks. The interior of the Custom House is not worth visiting. Going west along Eden-quay, O'Connell- (or Carlisle) bridge is reached, and Farrell's fine marble statue of Smith O'Brien can be seen at the farther side. Carlisle-bridge was built in 1794; it was narrow and steep, and in 1880 the crown of the 43 arches was lowered and it was doubled in width. It is now perfectly level and the full width of Sackville-street. Owing to a dispute between the Corporation and the Port and Docks Board, it received on its re-opening two names, and is indifferently known as O'Connell-bridge or Carlisle- bridge. It is divided into two parts by a central pathway. From O'Connell-bridge one of the best views of Dublin can be obtained. Up the river are seen the handsome quays, with the towers of Christ Church Cathedral, the Synod Hall, and Augustinian Church rising above them, and in the distance the Phoenix Park. Down the river are seen the SACKVILLE STREET. Custom House and the shipping, and on a clear day with an east wind the south wall can be seen stretching out into the sea. To the south is Westmoreland-street, with the boldly projecting portico of the Bank and the end pavilion of the faQade of Trinity College, and D'Olier-street, showing at its end other buildings of Trinity. To the north (the direction in which we are to go) stretches Sackville- street, a street of magnificent proportion ; the projecting portico of the G. P. O. and Nelson's Pillar, and several statues form breaks, the Rotunda Buildings and the spire of S. George's closing the view. The O'Connell Monument was erected in 1882, 44 from the design of Foley, and is one of his finest works. The statue of O'Connefl stands on a lofty drum, round which are a number of figures pressing forward to hear what Erin, freed from her fetters and pointing upwards to O'Connell, is telling of her Liberator ; at the corners are four figures emblematic of O'Connell's great qualities Patriotism, Eloquence, Justice, Fortitude. A little further on, where Abbey-street crosses, is Farrell's statue of Sir John Gray, to whose action Dublin is indebted for its splendid water supply. Lower Abbey-street (to the right) contains the Mechanics' Institute, Christian Union Buildings, and several places of worship. Passing the Hotel Metropole on the left and Prince's- street,from which issues the Freeman 's Journal, the General Post Office is reached. It is a splendid building, designed by F.Johnston, and erected in 1818. There used to be entrances into a vestibule under the portico', but these have been built up, and letters are posted from the pathway; the offices for Stamps, Tele- graph, and Parcels Post opening from Prince's - street. The interior of the building is practi- cally given up to Sorting and Tele- graphy ; parcels being sorted in Amiens-street, and other branches of work being carried on in Nos. 14 and 1 5 "Upper Sackville street. GENERAL POST OFFICE. Nelson's Pillar was erected in 1808, and is a tall Tuscan column, on the top of which stands a fine statue of Nelson, carved by Kirk. A winding staircase admits to a balcony from which a good view is obtained on a clear day. (Admittance 3d.) There were steps round the pillar, and to reach the bottom of the centre staircase a descent had to be made through a trap-door, but in 1894 the steps were removed, and a porch added. Looking up Henry- street (to the west) the tower of S. Michan'S is seen, and the Amiens-street Terminus of the G. N. R. is seen far down Earl-street (to the east). THE PRO-CATHEDRAL. A detour may here be made by going a short way down Earl-street and turning up Marl borough-street to the left. The Pro-Cathedral (Cathedral of S. Mary), 1825, stands on the left ; it is a fine Doric building raised on a plat- form and has a wide portico of six fluted pillars. Figures of the Virgin, S. Lawrence O'Toole, and S. Joseph surmount it. The interior contains some fine altars and monuments ; of the latter those of Cardinal Cullen and Archbishop Murray deserve special notice. Opposite the Cathedral are the Model Schools, which well deserve a visit; here teachers are 46 trained to manage the different varieties of schools which they will be likely to meet afterwards throughout Ireland. There is a statue of McDonnell in front. The building next Earl-street is the old town house of the Tyrone family (Waterford House) ; it was designed by Cassels and has a fine mahogany staircase and good stucco work. Returning to Sackville-street by the lane beside the Cathedral, No. 10, Drogheda House, now occupied by the Hibernian Bible Society, can be visited ; it contains splendid examples of old woodwork and stucco. Nearly THE KOTUNDA HOSPITAL. opposite is the statue of Father Mathew by Miss Redmond. At the opposite side, No. 43 was the home of the Land League, and is now occupied by its successor, the National League ; from its windows many orations have been delivered. The Rotunda Hospital faces Great Britain-street; it has a fine cut stone front, curved wings, and a lofty cupola. It was opened about 1760 through the exertions of Dr. Mosse, who also laid out the Square at the back. The entrance hall, staircase, and chapel are worth seeing. The Round Room and the Caven- dish-row buildings were added afterwards, and are used for concerts, dances, &c., the profits going to the hospital. The Wedgewood frieze of ox- heads outside the Round Room is worth noticing. Proceeding up Cavendish- row and Rutland-square, E., we are in what was the best part of Dublin in pre-Union days, a large number of the nobility having lived within a radius of a few hundred yards. At the upper corner of the Square is a lodge with a portico which was built as a shelter for the sedan-chair men. Opposite is Rutland-square Pres- byterian Church, 1864, a fine building in decorated Gothic, with a lofty spire. Proceeding along the north side of the Square Charlemont House is reached ; it stands back with a gravel sweep in front, and is now the General Register Office. Retracing our steps to the church we go up Gardiner'S- row and Great Denmark-street until we reach No. 8, a large house standing by itself; this is Belvidere House, and the staircase and reception rooms should be visited. No other building gives such a good idea of the lavish but tasteful expenditure in old Dublin. Opposite to Belvidere House opens North Great George's-street, which contains some fine mansions. (Kemnare House.) Going on to the corner of Temple-street two churches are seen ; the square tower seen down Hill-street belonged to Little S. George's Church, 1714; that to the left is the present parish church of S. George. (To visit the Jesuit Church of S. Francis Xavier, go on straight through Gardiner's-place to Mountjoy-square and turn to the left along Upper Gardiner-street. After seeing the church, S. George's can be reached by Dorset-street.) Passing along Temple-street the Children's Hospital is passed and S. George's Church reached. This is a fine classical building, with a graceful, well-proportioned spire, 48 200 feet high. It was designed by F. Johnston, and opened in 1813. It stands in an open space, and is built of cut granite. There is a fine portico and boldly projecting frieze. The well decorated ceiling and carved woodwork are worth seeing. Going up Eccles-street, Johnston's house (64) and Tyrawley House ( 1 8 and 1 9) are passed. At the upper end on the right, is the Mater Misericordise Hospital, with MATER MISERICORDLE HOSPITAL. a noble frontage of cut granite and two long wings ; it is the largest hospital in Dublin. At the opposite side is a railed-in space containing a memorial cross of Irish design and inscription to the memory of the authors of the Annals of the Four Masters. Beyond this open space is the beautiful Church of S. Joseph. Passing it, Blessington-street is reached. At the upper end is the old basin which supplied the north city with canal water until the introduction of 49 the Vartry ; the ground round the basin was laid out as a public garden in 1891 by the Corporation. Crossing Blessington-street and passing Mountjoy-street, the " Black Church," or S. Mary's Chapel of Ease is reached. It is an early nineteenth century attempt at Gothic architec- ture, with poor details. Turning to the right through a gateway and proceeding along a private road the Broad- Stone terminus of M.G.W.R. is reached. It has a granite facade of Egyptian design, and an extensive lateral portico. The warehouses beyond mark the site of the old canal harbour, but this is now filled up. From the bridge in front of the terminus a fine view of Dublin can be obtained. This bridge is called the Foster Aqueduct, and used to carry the canal over Phibs- borough Road. At present the canal stops short of the bridge. Descending to the road below the Aqueduct, the grounds of King's Inns are entered. The fagade of the King's Inns is a very handsome one, and is well carved. Passing through the building by an archway, a narrow, dark courtyard is reached ; this opens by a very heavy gateway into Henrietta-Street, perhaps the finest of the old Dublin streets, but now sadly decayed. The stone building to the right is the Library of the Inns ; the first house to the left is Blessington House. (On reaching Bolton-street a detour of 100 yards to the left will reach the Church and new Priory of S. Saviour.) Turning to the right along Bolton-street the top of Capel- street is passed, and Green-street with its Courthouse and the remains of Newgate Prison can be seen. Facing the Courthouse is the new perpendicular fagade (1893 G. C. Ashlin) of S. Michan's Catholic Church. The facade in Anne-street and the rest of the church were built in 1814, and are not of much interest. Passing on, Church-street is reached ; turning along it to the left, the Capuchin Church of S. Mary of Angels is on the right ; it has a fine fagade, but the carving is unfinished. Beside it is the Father Mathew Memorial Hall, erected 1889 ; this is one of the chief centres of Dublin temperance work. Still further on the right is S. Michan's Church ; this was the first church built on the north side of the river, 50 and parts of it date from the end of the nth century. Most of it was, however, rebuilt in 1686 and 1828. The tower stands at the far end, and is the finest church tower in the city ; the rest of the church externally presents no features of interest. Internally the church is spacious, but ugly ; there is an old organ (said, incorrectly, to have been the instru- 51 ment Handel used in playing the Messiah) ; on the front of the organ gallery is a fine piece of wood carving. There are some curious tombs, including an effigy, said by tradition, to be that of S. Michan. The church plate is interesting and includes fine examples of i6th and iyth century work. In the churchyard are some interesting stones ; those of Lucas, of some of the United Irishmen, and of Emmet (apocryphal) will be pointed out. The vaults under the church are much visited by those whose love of the curious overpowers their objection to the ghastly. In these vaults coffins decay, but bodies become shrivelled and mummified, and outlast their receptacles. Bodies from one to two hundred years' old are displayed to the curious, and other grim sights can be seen, including one vault in which all the dead are placed in the standing position. A few yards further on, passing the Police Courts and Record Office, Inn's-quay is reached, and the Four Courts can be visited. This magnificent building (1796) reaches from Whitworth-bridge to Richmond-bridge, and consists of a centre and two side blocks of buildings separated by courtyards and connected by screen arcades in front, and by buildings behind. The centre block is surmounted by a fine dome, and is entered through a lofty portico. The chief internal feature is the Central Hall, from which the Four Courts open. This hall is domed, and coupled columns and bas-reliefs adorn the walls ; it contains several statues. The courts themselves are not worth visiting unless some case of unusual interest is being tried. Crossing Whitworth-bridge (built on the site of the oldest Dublin bridge), Bridge-street is reached ; going up it a short way Cook-street (on the right) is reached ; this is the seat of the coffin trade, and until lately in several shops slates were kept, on which place and date of customers' wakes were entered. A sharp turn to the left shows S. Audoen's Arch (131 5), the only gate way of Dublin now remaining ; passing under it, and so into the old city, S. Audoen's Church is reached, and passing between it and the churchyard 52 (supported by the city walls, and now opened to the public as a garden), the west front of the church, with its curious old tower, is passed, and Corn Market reached. The curved wall of Lambe-alley shows the remains of another part of the City Walls. S. Audoen's Church should be visited. After the i Cathedrals, it is the most inter- esting ec- clesiastical structure in Dublin. A short distance be- yond Corn Market, to the west, is the Church of SS- Au- gustine and John: its facade should not be missed. Further on is S. Ca- therine's Church, before which Em- m e t was executed (1803), and a little further on is Guinness' Brewery. Returning to S. Audoen's, and going east, Christ Church Cathedral and the Synod Hall (connected together by a graceful bridge crossing the street in a single arch) are seen. Going under the bridge, and a short way down the hill, the west facade and the north side of the Cathedral are well seen. The transept, tower and side of the early English nave are original ; the projecting building at the CHRIST CHURCH CATHEDRAL (EAST END). 53 north-west corner is a baptistery. The west end is not striking, not having the "screen" structure, so effectively used in many English cathedrals, but rhe five- light window and carved door are of fine design. Re-passing under the bridge, the south side of the Cathedral should be studied, and the space on which are the "cloister garth," and ruins of the old Chapter House. On this space several generations of buildings stood, part of Skinners'-row, old Christ Church- yard, and the Law Courts having been built on the site of the monastic buildings. The removal of the buildings took place at various times, but the ruins of the Chapter House were uncovered, and the site of the Cloister marked out, only a few years ago. In 1878, the Cathedral was restored by George Street, at the cost of Henry Roe. The south wall of the nave had fallen years before and a blank wall stood in its place ; so that part had to be erected de novo ; the east end also is new, a tasteless fifteenth century chancel having been built over the remains of the older work. Mr. Street's work is as far as possible an exact copy of the older work, and here and there throughout the building old stones are built in to show the fidelity of the copy. Entrance can be obtained by the south door of the nave. The nave is open free to visitors, but for the chancel, transept, and crypt a charge of 6d. is made. The visitor, no matter how hurried, should visit these parts, as otherwise much of beauty and of interest will be missed. When leaving the Cathedral the path inside the railings should be followed ; leaving the precincts by the east gate. By this means the Norman doorway in the south transept, and the beautiful arrangement of the east end will be seen. To the right will be seen S. Werburgh's-street with S. Werburgh's Church. Lord Edward-street (opened 1886) leads to Dame-street, at the near end of which (and marking the old city wall and gateway of S. Mary la Dame) is the City Hall (formerly the Royal Exchange) a beautiful building (1769) in Corin- thian style, crowned by a low dome. Inside is a hall, 54 containing statues, including a fine one of O'Connell. On the floor the standard measures are displayed. The Council Chamber may also be visited. Continuing along Dame-street the front of Trinity College is soon regained, a distance of some 5 or 6 miles having been covered. This round can easily be done on one day by the help of a car, but the tourist who can afford time should devote longer to it, and so be able to carry away a deepe- impression. AFTER A HARD DAT. CHAPTER VI. Dublin from a Tramcar. 'UBLIN is well supplied with tram lines, most of which start from Nelson's Pillar in Sack- ville-street ; College Green is another start- ing point, and nearly all lines touch one or other of these centres. The Blackrock, Kingstown, and Dalkey electric system starts from Lower Abbey-street, and runs over Dublin lines to Beggar's Bush. The Blessington and the Lucan steam trams are in connec- tion with the Rathmines and Phoenix Park (north quay) lines respectively, which carry passengers to the commence- ment of the steam lines. The tram cars are well appointed, and run frequently ; the fares are moderate. The top of a tram car is a pleasant position from which to gain a knowledge of the city and its surroundings. The following sketches will enable the traveller to identify most of the objects of interest that are passed. Of course, r. stands for right-hand and 1. for left-hand. The passenger is supposed to be looking in front. As the number of trams per hour varies at different times during the day, it is only possible here to give the average number. Full particulars of hours and fares will be found in the company's time tables (free). 56 RATHMINES AND TERENURE ( 3 i miles). From the south side of Nelson's Pillar every few minutes. FARES. To top of Dawson-street (S. Stephen' s-green), id. ; Portobello Bridge^ 2d. ; whole way, 3 d. Leaving Nelson's Pillar the Post Office is passed r. ; Prince's-street between it and the Hotel Metropole contains the Freemari s Journal building ; the statue of Sir John Gray, and the fine O'Connell Memorial are passed 1., and O'Connell Bridge is crossed, Butt Bridge and the Custom House being seen 1., and the Metal and the Essex Bridges and the towers of Christ Church Cathedral, Synod House, and Augustinian Church, r. T.C.D., FROM GRAFTON STREET. In Westmoreland-street, the Ballast Board's Office, r., the Irish Times building, 1., are passed, and the Bank portico (outside the old House of Lords), and the front of T.C.D. are seen in front ; the Bank is passed r., and Moore s statue, 1. Passing the front of T.O.D., with the statues of Burke and Goldsmith, a good view of College-green and Dame-street is obtained. The chief portico of the Bank, several fine banks and insurance offices, and the statues of Grattan and William III., are prominent. Going up the lower part of Grafton-street the Provost's 57 House is 1. ; without entering the narrow part of Grafton- street, the line turns 1. down Nassau-street, the railings of the College Park (a good view of the College buildings being obtained) are 1. (Here Donny brook tram goes off.) Turning to the r. up Dawson-street, Leinster House is seen down Molesworth-street, 1., and projecting on the 1. side of Molesworth-street may be seen the portico of the THE LAKE, S. STEPHEN'S GREEN PARK. Masonic Hall ; S. Ann's Church, the Royal Irish Academy, and the Mansion House are passed in suc- cession 1., and S. Stephen'S-green is reached (Id). Turning r. past some fine clubs, Grafton-street is passed r., and the Gaiety Theatre and Mercer's Hospital seen some distance in front. Turning 1., and going along the W. side of the Green, the College of Surgeons and 58 Unitarian Church are passed r., and the statue of Lord Ardilaun 1. Harcourt-street is next traversed. The terminus of the D. W. & W. R. is at the top L, and the High School and Baptist Chapel r. Turning r. to Harcourt-road the Pal- merston Park tram line is crossed, and the South Circular-road, with S. Kevin's Catholic Church r. and S. Kevin's Church 1. seen in front. Richmond-street 1. leads to Portobello Bridge. The harbour and disused hotel r. re- mind us of pre-railway days, when people tra- velled by "fly boats" on the Grand Canal (2d.)- Rathmines-road, a tine suburban thoroughfare has the beautiful facade of S. Mary's Church L, and Portobello Barracks r. The Dublin Mountains are seen in front. Bending r. Rathgar-road is entered, and another bend r. leads through Terenure-road to Terenure. From this the tram car to Rathfarnham can be taken, or the steam tram to Blessington and Poulaphuca. DONNYBROOK (3 miles). From south side of Nelson's Pillar, about 8 times an hour. FARES Merr ion-square, id./ Baggotrath Church^ whole way^ 30!. Rathmines Tram Line to bottom of Dawson-street, con- tinuing along Nassau-street with the railings of the College Park 1., Kildare-street, with the richly carved Kildare-street Club at the corner is passed ; at the 1. side of Kildare-street, the portico of the College of Physicians is seen. The University Medical School is at the end of the park 1. Merrion-square (Id.) is reached, and Leinster Lawn, 59 with the Natural History Museum, and National Gallery is seen at the west side r. The line passes the north and east sides of the square; then S. Stephen's Church is seen 1. Going up Lower Fitzwilliam-street Fitzwilliam-square is seen in front. Turning 1. into Baggot-street the Canal Bridge is reached. Then the City of Dublin Hospital is passed 1., and Baggotrath Church, r. (2d.). Turning r. the line goes up Waterloo- road, along More- DONNYBROOK CATHOLIC CHURCH. hampton-road, with Hospital for Incurables r. When passing through the village of Donnybrook, the fields, L, are the site of the old " Donnybrook Fair," the annual scene of drunkenness and fighting, until abolished in 1855. To the r. is a handsome memorial gateway leading into the old churchyard. A straight run leads to the river Dodder and the end of the line, S. Mary's Church, 1., is a fine modern building, in early English style, designed by G. Ashlin. To the r. is a tramway depot. 60 IRISHTOWN AND SANDYMOUNT (3! miles). From south side of Nelson's Pillar, about 8 times an hour, FARES To Westland Row Railway Station, id. ; Sandy- mount-green, 2d ; whole way, 3d. Rathmines Tram-line until CPConnell Bridge is crossed. Turning to the left down D'Olier-street the statue of Smith O'Brien is passed r., and Junior Army and Navy Stores 1. Bending 1. into Great Brunswick-street, the Crampton Memorial and Trinity College Buildings are passed r., the Corinthian portico of the Bank of Ireland being seen behind. To the 1. in Hawkins'-street is the Leinster Hall, and in Townsend-street the Coffee Palace. Going along Great Brunswick-street, the Queen's Theatre is passed, r ; the Loop Line crosses overhead near S. Mark's Church, 1. Turning r. the Loop Line again crosses, entering into Westland-row terminus (Id.) S. Andrew's Church is passed L, as is the Royal Irish Academy of Music. A turn L, and again r., passes Merrion Hall (Plymouth Brethren) l.,and the tram turns 1. into Merrion-square N. on the lines used by the Donnybrook and Blackrock trams. The National Gallery and Natural History Museum are seen at the W. side of the Square. Passing along the north side of the Square, Lower Mount- street is entered ; it leads to a bridge over the Grand Canal. Sir P. Dun's Hospital can be seen a little to the 1. A little further on the Blackrock line is left by a turn, L, and the Beggar's Bush Barracks passed r. Dip- ping under the Kingstown Rail- way, a straight run, crossing the Dodder, leads to Irishtown, the 61 Church (S. Matthew's), being L Turning r., and passing the Presbyterian Church r., and Star of the Sea Church 1., Sandymount-green is soon reached (2d.). Soon afterwards turning r., the Strand-road is reached, and from this on, the open sea is on the L, except when the tide is out ; then a wide expanse of sand intervenes. The line ends at a Martello Tower, Mernon pier and baths jutting out into the sea. Sandymount Church lies a little to the r., and a few minutes' walk straight on leads to Merrion Station and to the Blackrock tram line. PALMERSTON PARK (AND CLONSKEA) (3 miles). From the south side of Nelson's Pillar about 6 times an hour. FARES South City Market, id. ; Ranelagh, 2d. ; whole way, 3d. Rathmines line as far as College Green. Turning r. down Dame-street the Bank of Ireland and the statues of Grattan and Wil- liam 1 1 1. are passed r. ; the National, Ulster, and Hiber- nian Banks, 1. Tur- ning 1. South Great George's - street is entered, and the South City Mar- kets soon reached (Id.). Nearly op- posite, standing slightly back, is the old house where Dr. Mosse estab- lished the first Lying-in Hospital THE ORIGINAL LYING-IN HOSPITAL in 1745. In Aun- OP DR. MOSSE. 62 gier-street, No. 12, 1., was the birth-place of T. Moore. Carmelite Church, disused Car- michael College of Medicine, and S. Peter's Church, r. The streets to the right and left contain some interesting old houses. Along Camden- street, to Charlemont- street, where the Rath- mines line is crossed. A few yards previously the Harold's Cross line went oft', r. A straight run leads to the Canal bridge, and continuing on, Mount- pleasant-square is r., and going under railway bridge, Ranelagh is reached (2d.). JUNCTION FOR CLONSKEA. Turning r. under railway and 1., along Palmerston-road , Palmerston Park is reached. CLONSKEA. Change at Ranelagh into special car (which meets about every second tram). Sandford Church is passed r., and a short run brings the car to the terminus, from which the pretty scenery of the Dodder is easily visited. HAROLD'S CROSS AND KENILWORTH SQUARE (3 miles). Cars about 6 times an hour. FARES South City Market, id. ; Leonard's Corner, ad. ; Whole way, 3d. Palmerston Park line to Camden Street. Bending r. up Upper Carnden street Harrington-street is OLD HOUSE OP THE SEVEN GABLES. 63 entered, S. Kevin's Catholic Church r., South Circular- road, S. Kevin's Church 1. At Leonard's corner (2d.) turn 1. into Clanbrassil-street. Wellington Barracks are a few yards further on. The Grand Canal is crossed and a number of old houses are seen 1. Harold's Cross Green, Mount Jerome Cemetery, and Harold's Cross Church on r., and a short road leading to Kenilworth-square is reached. On Sundays the trams go further on, reaching Terenure by this line, and running on to Rathfarnham. INOHICORE (4 mUes). From College Green 4-6 times an hour. FARES Augustine Church, id. ; Jameses-street. 2d. ; whole way, 3d. This line runs along Dame-street, passing r. Bank of Ireland, Commercial Buildings ; 1., St. Andrew's Church (top Church Lane), South City Markets (in S. George's-street), the gateway into Lower Castle Yard (up Palace-street). At the end (on the site of the east wall of the old city) Parliament-street with Essex-bridge and Capel-street are seen r., and the City Hall and Municipal Buildings, with the gateway into the Upper Castle Yard between them 1. Passing along Lord Edward-street (opened 1 886) Christ Church Cathedral is reached and passed r., the east end, the south side, bridge, and Synod Hall being well seen. Corn Market marks the west wall of the old city ; here Newgate stood, and a portion of one of its towers forms the side of Lambe Alley, 1. S Audoen's Church is r., and the Arch (City Walls) lies below it. In Thomas street the Church of S- Augustine and John (Id.) is r., and S. Catherine's Church 1. Here Emmet was executed. Guinness' Brewery is next passed. 1., and passing S. James's Church, 1., the Fountain in James's- street is reached (2d.). S. James's Church r. and " Swift's" 64 Lunatic Asylum and Royal Hospital are seen in front. Kingsbridge Terminus and Steevens' Hospital lier. S. Dublin Union is passed 1., and Kilmainham, with its courthouse and gaol, and the gate of the Royal Hospital, are seen r., on the road leading to Island Bridge and the Phoenix Park. At Inchicore are the works of the G. S. & W. R. and of the Tram Co. CLONTARF (3 miles) AND DOLLYMOUNT (4 miles). From north side of Nelson's Pillar, about 4 times an hour. FARES Amiens-street, Loop Line Station, id. ; the Crescent, 2d. ; whole way, 3d. Leaving the north side of the Pillar the car goes east along Earl-street, Amiens-street Station being seen in front at the end of Talbot-street. At Marlborough-street the Pro-Cathedral and Model Schools lie 1. At Gardiner- street the Custom House is seen, r., and Mountjoy- square, 1. Passing under the Loop Line the Terminus of the G. N. R. is reached and passed, r., on turning into Amiens-street. A few yards further on the Loop Line is again passed under, and its station is r. (Id.) At the corner of Lower Gloucester-street Aldborough House is seen, 1. The line then crosses the canal and passes through " Mud Island," reclaimed by Dutch settlers early in the eighteenth century by building a dyke and pumping out the water with windmills. The Tolka is then crossed by Annesley Bridge, Ballybough Bridge lying L, and Fairview strand is reached. The large tidal estuary on the r. shut in by the G. N. R. is pretty when the tide is in, but when the tide is out the wish of the residents in the neighbourhood to have it turned into a people's park can be well understood ! The fine gateway of Marino (formerly belonging to 65 Lord Charlemont) is passed, 1., as is the Crescent (2(1.) which lies between the Malahide (S. Doulough's) and Howth Roads, and the railway is passed under. From this on the line to Clontarf has the estuary on the r. Clontarf Castle and Church are passed, 1. Some of the trams go a mile further on to Dollymount. Here a bridge, r., leads out to the North Bull, with its rifle range and golf links. A little further than the end of the tram line is the entrance to Lord Ardilaun's place, S. Ann's. PHCENIX PARK (North Circular-road). From Sackville-street, north side of Nelson's Pillar about four times an hour. FARES Mount joy- street, id. ; Grangegorman-lane, zd. ; whole way, 3d. Going up Sackville-street, Father Mathew Statue is passed, r., and Rotunda Hospital and Rooms seen in front, and, 1., going up Rutland-square, Rotu nda and Gardens (Rutland-square), L, National Club, r. The small building with portico, 1., at corner of square was formerly a shelter for sedan-chair men. Rutland- square Church, a fine modern Gothic building, is next passed, L, and at the same side is seen Charlemont House, forming the re- cessed centre of the north side of the square. Gardiner' S- row is passed, r., and the next turn, r., gives a passing view of S. George's Church. At Dorset-street the Drumcondra tram line is crossed. At Mountjoy-street (Id.) the " Black Church " (chapel-of- ease to S. Mary's) is seen, L, and the gardens in front are the old Basin from which the Royal Canal water supply of north Dublin was drawn. The line bends, r., and S. Joseph's Church, an Irish Cross to the authors of the Annals of the Four Masters, and Mater Misericordise Hospital are passed, r. At the next turn, L, Mountjoy Prison is on the r., a steep hill leads to the bridge over the Broadstone branch 66 of the Royal Canal. From this there is a good view of Dublin, L The main Canal is seen, r. At the next crossing, " Dunphy's Corner," the Glasnevin Tram Line goes off, r. All Saint's Church, Grange- gorman lies to the 1. S. Peter's Church, Phibsboro', is now left, r., a good view of the "east" end and the schools being obtained. The square, 1., is occupied by employes of M. G. W. Railway, which is soon crossed, the terminus is seen 1. s. PETER'S, PHIBSBORO' At Grangegorman-lane (2d.) Grangegorman Prison and Richmond Lunatic Asylum are seen, 1. Further on to r. is Female Orphan House. The Cattle Market is passed, L, and the Abattoir, r., the new Marlborough Barracks are seen lying to the r., as are the Constabulary Barracks. From this is a straight run to the Park gate, the Wellington 'Testimonial showing high above the trees in front. 67 GLASNEVIN TRAM. From Sackville-street, north side of Nelson's Pillar twice an hour. FARES Mount joy-street^ id. ; Munster-street, zd. ; whole way, 3d. Phoenix Park (North Circular Road) to " Dunphy's Corner" Turning r. from Phcenix Park Tram Line, S. Peter's Church, Phibsboro', is seen to the left. Munster-street (2d.) is passed. Another bridge over Royal Canal is crossed. The Mills 1. were built by Malet (Malet's folly, as he intended to work by water-power, which the canal failed to supply) for a foundry Fine view of Dublin Bay, North Wall, &c., r. Further S. Vincent de Paul Male Orphanage 1. The turn 1. leads to front entrance of Prospect Cemetery, the walls, watch towers, and old gateway are seen 1. Botanic Gardens are soon reached 1. The "Ink- bottle" Schoolhouse and wooden chapel are seen r., and the R. Tolka crossed, the line stopping at the bottom of the steep street of Glasnevin. KINGSBRIDGE (2 miles). From Westland Row Terminus of D. W. & W. R., from 6 to 8 times an hour. FARES O'Connell Bridge ; id. ; Winetavern-street, 2d. y, 3d. inside ; 2d. outside. Leaving Westland-row and turning 1. Great Brunswick- street is traversed. Antient Concert Rooms and S. Mark's Church r., passing under Loop Line, Queen's Theatre L Turning r. Crampton Memorial, the side of Trinity College, and portico of the Bank Of Ireland are left L, and Coffee Palace and Leinster Hall r. Passing through D'Olier-street, the Smith O'Brien Statue and O'Connell Bridge are left r. (Id.), and 68 the quays are traversed, the river and its bridges being on the r. At Grattan Bridge the City Hall is seen 1., and at Richmond Bridge (2d) Christ Church Cathe- dral is seen L up Winetavern- street, and the Four Courts are passed r. S. Paul's Catholic Church r. (with the tower of S. Michan's Church seen be- hind it). The Mendicity 1., Guinness's Wharf r., and the Royal Barracks r. are the other chief objects of interest, before Kingsbridge Terminus, G. S. & W. R., is reached. THE WHARF, GUTNNESS's BREWERY. WESTLAND-ROW AND HARCOURT- STREET. Every 1 5 minutes. FARE, id. Passing Royal Irish Academy of Music L and Lincoln Place, with S. Mark's Hospital and the entrance to Trinity College Medical School r., the line bends L,' passing Merrion Hall (Plymouth Brethren ^ L, and passes along the West side of Merrion-square. The Leinster Lawn, with the National Gallery, Leinster House, Natural History Museum, and Prince Albert Memorial being r., and the Old Fountain 1. In Merrion-street, No. 24 (Mornington House), L, was the birth place of the Duke of Wellington. Crossing Baggot-street, Ely-place and Hume-street are traversed, and the line runs along the E. side of S. 69 Stephen's Green, past the College of Science, and S. Vincent's Hospital. Leaving the Green, the Royal University is passed r., and Alexandra College, Alexandra School, Clergy Daughters' School, and Skating Rink 1., and the line turns r., running along Lord Iveagh's Garden to Harcourt-street, when it ends at the side of the Terminus D. W. & W. R. PHOENIX PARK (North Quays) i miles. From N.W. corner of O'Connell-bridge. FARES Richmond-bridge, id. ; whole way, ad. Follows route of Kingsbridge line from O'Connell-bridge to Kingsbridge, only at the North side of the river, stopping at Parkgate-street outside the Park gate and close to the terminus of the Lucan Steam Tram. DRUMCONDRA (2 miles). From College-green 3-4 times an hour. FARES Bolton-street, id; whole way, 2d. Leaving the statue of Grattan, that of William III. is passed 1., and S. Andrew's Church seen 1. The Com- mercial Buildings r. At South Gt. George's-street the South City Markets are seen 1., and at Palace-street the Lower Castle Yard is 1. Leaving the City Hall and Lord Edward-street, with Christ Church Cathedral at end, 1., the line bends r. along Parliament-street and Essex-street and crosses Grattan-bridge. At the top of Capel-street Bolton-street is reached (Id.), Green-street Courthouse being a few yards 1. Bending r. Henrietta-street is passed 1., and S. Saviour's Church and Priory, r., Bethesda Church r., and S. Mary's Chapel of Ease 1. are passed at the next crossing, 70 and then the top of Frederick-street is reached and the Phoenix Park line is crossed. Going along Dorset-street, at the bottom of Ecdes- street the Mater Misericordiae Hospital is seen far up to the L, and S. George's Church close at the r. Passing the end of Gardiner-street, S. Francis Xavier Church is seen a little to the r. The Canal is then crossed and Drumcondra entered, Clonliffe Road is passed r. At the end of a cutting with grassy slopes, the Palace of the Roman Catholic Archbishop is seen r., and r behind it, Holycross College. To the left is S, Alphonsup Convent. The line stops at the bridge crossing the Tolka the road to the 1. leads to the Botanic Gardens. The place to the r. across the Bridge is Clonturk Park. There are several shorter lines, but they run over the main lines already described. S. ALPHONSUS CONVENT. CHAPTER VII. Trips in the Neighbourhood of Dublin. HE visitor, who has sufficiently exa- mined the city itself, will naturally desire to learn something of its en- virons ; and few towns so extensive as Dublin can boast of scenic beau- ties at all comparable to these which are so abundant in the district lying all around the city. Within easy reach by rail, tram, or car, the tourist can find scenery of almost every possible kind wild moun- tain gorges, peaceful vales, picturesque glens or rushing torrents, not to mention the coast scenery, which has a beauty all its own. He will, indeed, be hard to please who does not find in VVicklow variety enough and charm enough to gratify every taste. We shall here merely sketch a very few of the excursions which are most po- pular or most inter- esting, leaving the A LONG CAU. 72 reader to find more detailed descriptions of the places alluded to in the special articles given elsewhere. To see all the beauties of the County Dublin alone would be a task of many weeks ; but three or four excursions at least are essential, before we go further afield. FIRST TRIP. 0NE day must be devoted to visiting Kingstown, Killiney, and Bray. The pier at Kingstown, the Victoria Park of Killiney, and the glorious walk round Bray Head should not be missed ; and the tourist may, if pressed for time, combine all in one day's excursion, by going to Kings- town by train and taking a car to Killiney, and thence to Bray. If architecture or antiquarian research is of interest to him, he may, with advantage, after fully enjoying the splendid panorama of mountain, cliff and sea which Killiney affords, enquire his way to the " Druid's Seat," which lies near the village of Killiney. Close to the foot of the hill to the left are the remains of one of the oldest Irish churches, dating from the VI. century, a venerable structure well worth seeing. A good cromlech may next be visited near Ballybrack village on the way to Bray. The path round Bray Head commands su- perb views of the bay and of the Killiney promontory over which we have passed. Bray itself will be visited again, as almost all the well- known Wick- low trips are best taken from this cen- tre. POULAPHUCA BEIDOE. 73 SECOND TRIP. TITHE Liffey Valley may well afford a second day's excur- JL sion, and the visitor can spend a most enjoyable day at Lucan, with its Spa, Leixlip, where stands a fine old castle, and Maynooth, the noble College where Catholic youth are educated for the priesthood ; and he may visit Carton demesne an ideal place for a picnic. The view from the garden-front of the fine old house is simply magnificent. DEER IN PH33NIX PARK. THIRD TRIP. 0N the other hand he may take steam tram to Blessing- ton and explore the upper Liffey, with Poulaphuca Falls and many a lovely river reach. The Lucan trip will, however, enable the stranger to drive through the Phoenix Park and past the Strawberry Beds ; but it must not be assumed that one short drive will exhaust the many attractions of the Phoenix Park, which itself deserves an entire day. 74 FOURTH TRIP. TITO the north of County Dublin, the antiquary will in A preference direct his steps and visit Swords, with its Castle and Round Tower. Lusk also will be within easy reach, and stone roofed Church and Well of S. Dou- lough. ought on no account to be omitted, as it is quite unique among Irish ecclesiastical structures. Malahide Castle and Abbey can be seen and are of high interest. This entire excursion may be undertaken by going to Malahide by train, and there, after inspecting the Castle, &c., hiring car for S. Doulough's and Swords. SWORDS CASTLE. FIFTH TRIP. POWTH, with its famous Hill, must be visited, and will occupy a pleasant afternoon. It is best approached by train. No more delightful place could be imagined in which to spend a long summer day than the ferny or heath-covered uplands of this peninsula. The more ener- getic who delight in walking will take the cliff walk round to the Bailey Lighthouse, and, if time permits, they can do no better than continue the walk right round the headland 75 into Sutton, where they can catch the Dublin train. Howth Harbour was built at the beginning of the century as the packet station, but the silting up of the harbour has gone on to such an extent that only small fishing boats now resort to it. The so-called " Abbey " is worth a visit, but is very ill-kept. At the opposite end of the village stands Howth Castle, with most beautiful grounds. A particularly fine cromlech may be seen here, the top slab being of HOWTH ABBET. enormous size. Ireland's Eye, with its ruined church, is well worth a visit, especially if the sea is calm enough to tempt one to row round the little island and visit the caves. SIXTH TRIP. 0NE excursion must be mentioned which, though not within the limit of the county, is so full of archaeological interest and so comparatively easy to perform that the visitor will be most amply repaid for the time spent upon it. This is the trip to the famous river Boyne, with its abbeys, battlefields, and old sepulchral mounds. The train which leaves Amiens-street at 9 o'clock will carry the tourist to Drogheda, where he must take a car for the day. The first place to visit will be Monasterboice, where the stranger will see the noblest existing examples of the old Celtic Crosses and a fine Round Tower. From this a short drive leads to the famed Abbey of Melli- font, the remains of which acquire an extra interest from the connec- tion of the Abbey with the English invasion of Ireland. A picturesque drive through King William's Glen brings one to the site of the Battle of the Boyne, marked now by an Obelisk. The Boyne itself is a most beautiful river, and its banks are rich with historic remains of extreme interest to archgeologists. From the Obelisk we reach D O W t h , first of the great sepulchral chambers which are comprised in that vast cemetery of the Boyne, wherein are interred MUIREDACH'S CROSS. the kings who once ruled MONASTERBOICB. j n Tara's Halls. A few miles further on we come to New Grange. Both of these tumuli ought to be entered. It will be necessary to use artificial light in order to see the carvings with which many of the stones are enriched ; magnesium wire is far more efficient than candles for the purpose. Even ladies can with ease penetrate into the Great Chamber at New Grange, and no visitor should think of leaving the spot without seeing with his own eyes this absolutely unique spectacle. These tombs form part of 77 a vast necropolis stretching for miles along the banks of the Boyne, and the period of their building is lost in the mists of antiquity. Similar tumuli are found in great numbers at Oldcastle, further up the river. Slane, with its Castle and Hermitage of S. Ere, would well repay a visit, but could 78 hardly be done in a single day unless some of the sights mentioned above were omitted. The district is so intimately INTERIOR OP THE TUMIjLUS, NEW GRANGE. connected with S. Patrick and with Irish history that its mention needs no apology in a Guide to Dublin. 79 Most of the beauties of this exquisite county are within easy driving distance from Bray, which should be reached by an early train so as to leave a long day for each excursion. Cars must be hired at the station, and a fixed understanding made with the driver, who will show his are-b ook on demand. VARTRY BRIDGE, DARGLE. SEVENTH TRIP. TITHE first day in Wicklow will naturally be devoted to a JL walk round Bray Head if this has not been already seen, and afterwards a car may be hired for an afternoon drive'to the romantic Dargle, a glen of exquisite beauty. 80 The drive from Bray runs through the Valley of Diamonds, from which we have fine views of the Great Sugar Loat (1,659 ft.), and, in the further distance to the right, the Djouce Mountain, a round-topped hill (2,384 ft.), on the further side of which are the well-known Loughs Tay and Dan. The car must be left at the Dargle gate, and will drive on to En- niskerry to pick up the visitors. The Powerscourt side of the Dargle ought to be taken, as affording finer views and more op- portunity for pleasant scrambling amid the rocks and trees. The Moss House is a delight- ful spot for lunch, after which we stroll to the Lover's Leap, a pre- cipitous cliff overhang- ing the ra- vine. Far below a bridge car- ries across the stream the water pipes which supply Dub- lin. The View Rock is next seen, after which, taking the path to the right, we can pass out into the public road and find our car awaiting us. Powerscourt Demesne, with its POWERSCOURT FALLS, FROM THE SOUTH. 81 fine Waterfall, may then be visited ; but permission must be secured at the Agent's Office in Enniskerry. There are two routes to the Waterfall, one by Tinnahinch Bridge a most picturesque road, abounding in charming views the other passing by Powerscourt House with its fine gardens, which ought to be visited. This road runs through the Demesne and joins the other near Valclusa. The famous Falls of Powerscourt are apt to be disappointing in dry weather, and the visitor at such time can hardly conceive the majesty of the sight when the torrent, swol- len by heavy rains, rushes over the precipice in volumes of spray. If time permits, the carmen ought to drive home through the Rocky Valley by Kilmacanoge, two miles from which lies the Glen of the Downs, a well-wooded ravine about a mile long. Here may be seen Bellevue, seat of the La Touche family. Turning to the left, at the bottom of the Glen, we soon reach Delgany from which Greystones, a popular sea side resort is distant a couple of miles. The road to Bray runs past Kilruddery, seat of the Earl of Meath. EIGHTH TRIP. LEAVING Bray by the Valley of Diamonds as before, we reach Enniskerry in 2^ miles. Turning to the right, through the village, we can enter the well-known Scalp which is, however, best viewed from the Dublin end. Here, as in almost all Wicklow trips, the towering form of the Great Sugar Loaf forms a fine background to the view. Returning to Enniskerry we take the steep road running directly inland. When the road branches, that to the right G 82 leads to Glencullen. We choose the turning towards the left, and after a couple of miles of steep ascent find ourselves in the Glencree Valley. The Glencree Reformatory is 9* miles from Bray, and lies in the middle of one of the most desolate of all the val- leys of Wicklow. The next turn to- wards the left leads us to Loughs Bray, Upper and Lower, by the great Military Road, which was constructed in 1798, after the Rebellion. The Reformatory may be visited. A. very sharp zig-zag ascent will lead us from Lower to Upper Lough Bray, a mountain tarn, above which on the West towers Kippure (2,475 feet). Further on we pass the Source of the Liffey and a few miles beyond this we reach Sally Gap, where four roads meet. The direct road would lead us by Glenmacanass, with its fine waterfall, to Laragh, and is one of the best routes, so far as scenery is concerned, for reaching Glendalough. The cyclist will here enjoy a down hill grade of almost five miles to Laragh. For the present trip, however, we shall take the turn to the right at Sally Gap, and in 2\ miles we come to the lonely but beautiful Lough Tay" This lake, like the two Loughs Bray, is famed for its trout fishing, as in even a greater degree is Lough Dan, which is distant a couple of miles. The tourist fond of fishing can get good accommodation at Togher (Roundwood). Beside Lough Tay lies Luggela Lodge, nestling amidst woods, the daintiest spot in all Wicklow. The road leads now to Roundwood (5 m.) where are the splendid water- works of the Corporation of Dublin. From Roundwood we must drive back to Bray, passing round the base of the Great Sugar Loaf and through the Valley of Rocks. This trip possesses a character all its own. The scenery is wild, grand, and sombre, the silence almost op- pressive; the gloomy lakes and the dark framing hills are quite unlike the usual soft beauty for which Wicklow is so famous. 83 NINTH TRIP. TITHE well-known Devil's Glen can be visited in an after- X noon by taking train to Rathnew Station, where cars can be procured to the glen, 3 miles distant. It is a romantic spot, and has two picturesque waterfalls, formed by the Vartry river, which brawls along the bottom of the ravine. From the View Rock, above the falls, a glorious view of the Wicklow mountains may be obtained. This trip may be made by stopping at Wicklow instead of Rathnew, as the distance is only a mile or so additional, and Wicklow is worth seeing for its own sake. After walking through the Devil's Glen, a path leads to the place where the cars pick up the visitor again. A short drive to Togher will give the stranger an opportunity of seeing the Vartry Waterworks. The reservoir, covering an area of over 400 acres, contains a supply sufficient to serve Dublin for more than six months. Its powers in this respect were tested severely during the great drought of 1893, when almost the whole area became dry, and bridges, unseen since 1868, when the waters were impounded, were again made visible. Togher (or Roundwood) has good hotel accommo dation, and the stranger might spend the night here and drive next day through delightful scenery to famous Glenda- lough, which is quite as well reached thus as in the usual way from Rathdrum. TENTH TRIP. TITO visit Glendalough with comfort the tourist will take A an early train to Rathdrum, and, hiring a car at the station, drive first to Avoca, where he will see the sweet Vale of Avoca and the Meeting of the Waters scenes familiar to all readers of Moore's exquisite poetry. Castle Howard is beautifully situated in this romantic scenery. A long but most charming drive must now be made to Glen- malure, a wild mountain glen, affording some of the very finest views in Wicklow. Here in 1798 were perpetrated THE VALE OF GLENDALOUQH. 85 many deeds of bloodshed. Before the construction of the great Military Road this was the only one of the great passes by which the recesses of the Wicklow Mountains could be penetrated. The others, Sally Gap (see trip viii.) and Wick- low Gap, were impracticable. This district is a glorious 8. KEVIN'3 KITCHEN AND HOUND TOWER, GLENDALOUGI1. one for the pedestrian, who will strike across the hills for Glendalough, having essayed his climbing powers perhaps en Lugnaquilla {pronounce Lugna-kul-ya]. The car, however, must retrace its course somewhat, and another drive through beautiful scenery brings us to the Seven Churches, or 86 Glendalough. If the visitor cannot stay over night here the Glenmalure portion of the trip must be omitted, but the loss in point of picturesque scenery will be very great. Glendalough can be approached directly from Rathdrum, and in case of need, the late train will take one home to Dublin on the same evening ; but the hotel accommodation at Glenda- lough is so excellent, and the tariff so moderate, that we strongly recommend a stay of at least one night in the valley of the Seven Churches. The best general view is to be obtained from the high ground facing the Royal Hotel, and the visitor ought not to allow any consideration to prevent his making the small climb required to enjoy so superb a coup deceit. Of course, the Churches will be visited; and the many delicious peeps along the Upper Lake must be seen to be understood. Polanass is a fine fall ; and S. Kevin's Bed will, naturally, be entered. A night spent at Glendalough will enable the tourist to walk up to Lough Nahana^an, and to see the bleak Wicklow Gap, from which a road leads direct to Poulaphiica and Blessington. GENERAL REMARKS. IT must not be supposed that the trips mentioned exhaust the possibilities of Wicklow or of Dublin, but they are the least that one should do who wishes to say that he has seen something of their varied beauties. The present book has no pretentions to be a Guide to the county, and can, therefore, not afford space for more extended suggestions. On almost all of these trips, as inns are few and far between, the visitor will act wisely in bringing luncheon with him. Larger excursions in Ireland are so numerous, that we could not here attempt to give even an outline of the more famous. The Giant's Causeway, Killarney, Glengarriff, and a host of other exquisite spots will entice the visitor 8? to spend many a long holiday in Erin's Isle. We need add but one picture of a sight which can be seen only in Ireland the giant reflecting telescope of Lord Rosse at Parsonstown an instrument of great interest to scientific men, and unique in itself. LORD ROSSE'S TELESCOPE. CHAPTER VIII. Books, Views and Maps. L-BQQKS, *HE following is not an exhaustive list of books on Dublin, but gives the chief Guides which have previously appeared, and some books, pamphlets, &c., from which fuller information can be obtained on the subjects treated in the " DICTIONARY." Several of the books named contain useful bibliographies. Some of the early "Tours "in Ireland give very good descriptions of Dublin and its neighbourhood ; later an evi- dence of "book-stealing" rather than " book-making " is apparent, and passage after passage is transcribed (without acknowledgment) so literally, that nothing but the relative dates can decide priority. Some stilted sentences and stupid mistakes which have been thus perpetuated are mentioned in the " DICTIONARY." A great number of the Guide books ran through many editions, e.g., " Picture of Dublin," and " New Picture of Dublin." Additional plates were sometimes added, but the old were still retained, so that Petrie's beautiful plates which in the large paper editions of Wright's Guide and Tours are so brilliant, in the late editions of the " New Picture " are worn so flat as to be hardly recognisable. 89 The letterpress, although re-set, was seldom kept up to date. Image of Ireland. Plates. Derrick ... .. ... 1581 Description of Dublin. E.Lloyd ... ... ... 1732 History and Antiquities of City of Dublin. Walter Harris. Plates. Dub. ... ... ... ... ... 1766 Philosophical Survey of the South of Ireland. Campbell (?) Dub. ... ... ... ... ... ... I77& Pool and Cash's Dublin. Plates ... ... ... 1779 A. Young's Tour in Ireland. Dub. ... ... ... 1780 The Dublin Guide. R. Lewis. Dub. ... ... ... 1787 Transactions Royal Irish Academy. Plates ... 1787 et. seq. View of Ancient and Modern Dublin. Plates. Ferrar. Dub, 1796- Proceedings of Wide Street Commissioners .. ... 1802 Stranger in Ireland. Sir John Carr. Plates. Lond. ... 1805 " My Pocket-book " (burlesque on above) Descriptive Account of Dublin, N. Jefferys ... ... 1810- Picture of Dublin. Plates. I, Ed. Dub, ... ... 1811 Letter from Trustees for Building S. George's Church. Dub. 1813 Guide to Dublin. W. Gregory ... ... . . ... 1815 History of the City of Dublin. 2 vols. Plates. Warburton, Whitelaw, Walsh. Lond. ... ... 1818 Excursions Through Ireland. Thomas Cromwell. Plates ... 1818 S. Patrick's Cathedral. W. M. Mason. Plates ... ... 1820 Historical Guide to Dublin. G. N. Wright. Plates ... 1821 A Picture of Dublin. J. J. M'Gregor. Plates ... ... 1821 Wright's Tours in Ireland (3). Plates ... ... ... 1823-6 Beauties of Ireland. Brewer. Plates. Dub. ... ... 1825 Ireland Illustrated. Plates by Petrie, &c. G.N.Wright. Lond. 1831 Dublin Penny Journal. Plates... ,.. ... ... 1832 Irish Penny Magazine. Plates ... ... ... ... 1833 History of Co. Dublin. D'Alton. Dub.... ... ... 1838 Transactions, Royal Society of Antiquaries of Ireland (and its predecessors). Plates. ... ... ... 1841 et seq. Pictorial Guide Through Dublin. Whittock ... ... 1845 Dublin Supplement to Illustrated London News. ... June 6th, 1846 New City Pictorial Directory. (Elevation of Principal Streets.) Dub. ... ... ... ... ... ... 1850 Irish Tourist's Illustrated Handbook. London ... ... 1852 Frazer's Handbook to Dublin. Maps ... ... ... 1853 90 History of Dublin. J. T. Gilbert ... ... ... 1854-9 Heffernan's Handbook of Dublin. Cuts. Dub. ... ... 1861 The Irish Reporter ... ... ... ... ... 1856 The Dublin Builder ... ... ... ... ... 1859-62 The Irish Builder ... ... ... ... i863etseq. Strangers' Guide to Dublin. Dub. ... ... ... 1864 History of Viceroys of Ireland. J.T.Gilbert. Dub. ... 1865 Memorial Services in Connection with Mary's Abbey. Dub. 1865 History of College of Physicians. T. W. Belcher. Dub. ... 1866 Reports on Christ Church Cathedral. G. E. Street... 1868, 71, 82 Christ Church Cathedral. Rev. Ed. Seymour. Dub. ... 1869 Irish Names of Places. Joyce... ... ... ... 1869 Historic Documents. J. T. Gilbert ... ... ... 1870 History and Antiquities of Dublin. T.D.Sullivan ... 1875 Whammond's Illustrated Guide to Dublin and Wicklow. Dub. 1875 Re-opening of Christ Church. Dub. ... ... ... 1878 Christ Church Restoration. Illustrated ... ... ... 1878 Restoration of Christ Church Cathedral. M'Vittie Dub.... 1878 British Association Guide to County Dublin. M'Alister and M'Nab. Dub 1878 The Improvement of the Bar of Dublin Harbour by Artificial Scour. J.P.Griffith. ... ... ... ... 1879 Guide Through Glasnevin Cemetery. Cuts. Dub. ... 1879 Christ Church Cathedral. T, Drew. Proceedings R.I.A. ... 1882 Guide to Dublin Charities. (3 parts in one vol.) Miss Barrett. Dub. ... ... ... ... ... 1884 Street as a Restorer. T. Drew. Dub. Univer. Review. June 1886 History Royal College of Surgeons. Sir C. Cameron. Dublin 1 886 S. Audoen's Church. Rev. C. T. M'Cready. Dublin ... 1887 Historical Handbook to S. Patrick's Cathedral. Canon Leeper. Ed. II. Cuts. Dub. ... ... ... 1887 Explorations at S. Mary's Abbey. Plates ... ... 1887 Old Dublin. W. F. Wakeman, Evening Telegraph Reprints 1887-91 Fingal and its Churches. R. Walsh. Cuts ... ... 1888 The Port of Dublin. J.P.Griffith .. ... ... 1888 Wakeman's Guide to Ireland. Cuts. Fifth Ed. Dub. ... 1888 Ward's Ireland. Maps. Lond. ... ... ... 1888 Meath Hospital. L. H. Ormsby. Dub. ... ... 1888 Calendar of Ancient Records. J.T.Gilbert ... 1889 et seq. S. Werburgh's, Rev. S. C. Hughes. Dub. ... ... 1889 91 Reports of Society for Preservation of Memorials of the Dead. Cuts. Dub. ... ... ... ... iSgoetseq Memorable Dublin Houses. Wilmot Harrison. Cuts. Dub. 1890 History of Dublin University. J. W. Stubbs. Cuts. Dub.... 1890-2 Handbook to Bank of Ireland. Dub. ... ... ... 1891 S. Patrick's Cathedral. T. Drew. Proceedings R.S.A.I. ... 1891 Guide to Dublin for Association of Chambers of Commerce of the United Kingdom. Dub. ... ... ... 1891 S. Michan's Church. R. Walsh. Dub. ... ... ... 1891 Rotunda Hospital. S. F. Adair. Dub. ... ... ... 1892 Here and There through Ireland. Cuts. Dub. ... ... 1892 History of R. C. Church of S. Michan's. Dub. ... ... 1892 Trinity College ; Tercentenary Volume. Dub. Plates .. 1892 Trinity College Pictorial. Dub. Plates... ... ... 1892 Stratton's Dublin, &c. Plates. Lond. ... ... ... 1892 Street Names Dated and Explained. Rev. C. T. M'Cready. (Bibliography, &c.). Dub. ... ... ... ... 1892 Royal Hospital : Childers and Stewart. Cuts. Dub. ... 1892 Guide to Howth. Plates. C. T. M'Cready, R.S. of Antiq. of I. 1893 Female Orphan House. Rev. D. Cooke. Dub. ... ... 1893 S. Patrick's Cathedral : The Builder ... ... ... 1894 Christ Church Cathedral : The Builder ... ... ... 1894 Rambles on the Irish Coast. W. II. Baily. Dub.... ... n.d. Articles in Lady of the House by Etta Catterson Smith. Illustrated. Black's Picturesque Tourist of Ireland. Ward & Lock's Guide to Dublin. Lond.... ... .. n.d. The Annals of Dublin in the Dublin Directory. II-VIEWS. HE beauty of the Renaissance buildings erected in Dublin in the latter half of the i8th century and the early years of the igih led to many views of Dublin being produced. Sometimes the engravings were issued in black and white, sometimes after printing they were washed in with colours. It is only possible here to mention some of the chief views. 92 It must be remembered that sometimes old plates were found and re-used, so that copies from the same plate may have widely different dates ; and that the old plates were sometimes copied by publishers in order to save having new drawings made. Tudor's Six Views of Dublin (named both in English and in French) were published, 1754. Some copies were plain, some were coloured. They were : 1. Prospect of Custom House and Essex Bridge. 2. Prospect of the Parliamentary House in College Green. 3. A Prospect of the Library of T.C.D. 4. Upper Castle Yard. 5. Barracks of Dublin from St. James' Churchyard. 6. Prospect of City of Dublin from MagazineHill. Malton's Views of Dublin (24 plates, 16^ x 12) were issued 1791-97. They were issued in six numbers (and afterwards in a single volume) with explanatory letterpress, and can often be bought. A few sets were issued unbound, and coloured by hand. We reproduce the view of the TholseL During the last ten years of the i8th century a large number of general views of Dublin, taken from various directions, were issued. Malton also did a large drawings of Trinity College seen through the pillars of the Parliament House (26 x 20). Taylor issued nine coloured plates for his proposed History of the University, 1818-20. Brocas' Views of the City are the next in importance after Malton's ; there are twelve plates, 16 x 10, coloured, issued 1818-29. Several Panoramic Views of Dublin have been pub- lished : From below the Custom House, 24 x 17, coloured, Circ. 1820 Bird's-eye view, Illustrated London News, June 6th ... 1846 From over Royal Hospital, coloured lithograph, 18 x 28, Joseph Lewis 1862 93 Views of different buildings, &c., have appeared round the following maps : Brooking's Map (with panorama of city) ... ... 1728 Royal Map ... ... ... ... ... ... 1821 Heffernan's Maps ... ... ... ... 1861 and 1868 A great many interesting views of Dublin appear as Illustrations in books. The Gentleman's Magazine and other magazines contain many pictures of Dublin, some being of buildings which have now disappeared. Travels in Dublin and Ireland often contain interesting views. Petrie's plates, done for "Cromwell's Tour," include beautiful and accurate views of most of the fine buildings ot Dublin. Pool and Cash's Dublin contains accurate drawings of the chief buildings, 1780. Whitelaw and Walsh's History has good plates and M'Gregor's hand-book to Dublin, 1821, contain good views Wright's hand-book contains Petrie's plates, 1821. These plates were used by subsequent guide-books until quite worn out. Mason's St. Patrick has fine views, which were also issued as separate plates, 1820. A great many views of new buildings and copies of old prints have appeared in the Irish Builder. III-MAPS. HE following are some of the chief extant maps of Dublin. The older ones have been reproduced (generally inaccurately) in many books : 94 Speed's Map (we give a copy from the original) ... ... 1610 Brooking's Map (with views) ... ... ... ... 1728 Rocque's Map ... ... ... ... ... 1756 Maps in the Directories from ... ... ... ... 1773 Royal Map (with views) ... ... ... ... 1821 Heffernan's Maps (with views) ... ... ... 1861 and 1868 Ordnance Survey. ... ... ... .. 1837 et seq. Various publishers issue maps of Dublin and the neighbour- hood, but too often they are not kept up to date. END OF PART I. ADVERTISEMENTS. ESTABLISHED 1843. THE Mutual Life Insurance Co. of New York. 5t)rub ffirt for |rtlsuib : 63 UPPER SACKVILLE STREET. DEBENTURE CONTRACTS WITH 5 PER CENT. INTEREST GUARANTEED BY THE WEALTHIEST INSTITUTION IN THE WORLD. APPLY FOR PARTICULARS TO ABOVE ADDRESS : HENRY J.CLARKE, H. J. G. WHITE, Manager for Ireland. Secretary far Ireland. Map A NOTE. The Tram Lines are marked thus Municipal and Parliamentary Boundaries Map X. NOTE. The Tram Lines are marked thus Municipal and Parliamentary Boundaries Map C NOTE. The Tram Lines are marked thus Municipal and Parliamentary Boundaries H Map D. NOTE. The Tram Lines are marked thus Municipal and Parliamentary Boundaries ADVERTISEMENTS. "THE FIRST ALWAYS WINS." Travellers by LAND and SEA take CONYNGHAM'S COCA WINE. FOR SEA-SICKXF.SS, FATIGUE, AND SLEEPLESSNESS, CONYNGHAM'S COCA WINE is recognised by the leaders of the Medical Profession as THE BEST- It is invaluable as a " Restorative " in convalescence from Influenza, and other debilitating illness, and is a perfect " Pick-me-up. " Sample Bottles. 4/- post free. I Dozen Cases, 42 - carringe paid. Useful Pocket Flasks, 1/3 post free. From all Chemists and Wine Merchants, or direct from H. CONYNGHAM & CO., Upper Baggot Street, DUBLIN. F. NEWBERY & SON, 1 King Edward Street, LONDON. DUNCAN & FLOCKHART, EDINBURGH. Specially packed for export. Not carriage paid. A.4Tl|waite&4(!o. LIMITED, INVENTORS OF SODA WATER. Established 1199, d-d a AOVKHTISEMENTS. GARDEN SEEDS, Bulbs and Flower Roots, TOOLS AND IMPLEMENTS. SPECIALITIES - Superior quality and prompt despatch. CATALOGUES FREE. EDMONDSON BROTHERS, Seed Merchants, 10 DAME STREET, DUBLIN. 6/9 tr D. HENIHAN HAS BOOTS AND SHOES For the Coming Season, suitable for all classes, at the Establishments 63 MARY ST., 34 HENRYJ1V& 46 HENRY ST. BOOTS AND SHOES MADE TO ORDER. Boots sent on approval to all parts of City and Country. One trial will secure your custom. SPECIAL TERMS MADE FOR SCHOOLS AND, INSTITUTIONS. 18/6 Wholesale Orders Supplied. D. HENIHAN. Registered Telegraph Address "BOOTS," Dublin. <l-d b fl&emoranba. flDemorantm. ADVERTISEMENTS- SEALY, BRYERS & WALKER'S List of Shilling Irish Books. IPOST ZFIR/EIE. FitzGerald, the Fire Eater. T.P.Faulkner, B.L. Irish Noimns (Daisies). P. J. M'Cail. Lays of the Western Gael. Sir S. Ferguson. A Vision of Ireland, and other Poems. Eugene Davis. Lays of Country, Home and Friends. Ellen O'Leary. The Patriot Parliament. Sir C. Gavan Duffy. The Jacobite War. Count Plunkett and Fr. Hogan, S.J. Hibernian Nights Entertainments. Sir S. Ferguson. la Parts 1., il., III., One Shilling each Part. The Bog of Stars. Standish O'Grady. Forge of Clohogue. J. Murphy. King and Viking. P. J. Smyth. New Spirit of the Nation. Martin MacDermott. House in the Rath. J. Murphy. The New Irish Song Book, with Miisic. A. P. Graves. Eily O'Hartigan : A Story of Old Dublin. A Parish Providence. E. M. Lynch. Irish National Poems. (J. McD.) A Snake in the Grass. Early Gaelic Literature. Douglas Hyde, LL.D. Newland. By the Author of " Jabez Murdock." Songs of Arcady. E, J. O'Eeilly. Words of the Dead Chief. Mrs. Wyse Power. The Serpent's Sting, and other Stories. 200 pages and 100 Illustrations. Sixpence. Trinity College, Dublin. Illustrated. Sixpence. Shamrock Leaves. A. Butler. Sixpence. Humorous Readings and Recitations for the Platform. Sixpence. My Stepfather and I. C. Verney, Sixpence. Life of St. Patrick. Rev. A. Barry, C.S.S.E. One Shilling. Middle Abbey Street, Dublin. ADVERTISEMENTS. NEW PIANQ?QI-lTa V/ARSROOLIS. KILBEY & KENNY, (LATE OF KILDARE STREET), 5 LEINSTER STREET, NASSAU STREET. PIANOFORTES FOR SALE, Best Makers at Lowest Prices. For s p r PIANOS TUNED AND REPAIRED, Highest Class Workmanship ! Testimonials and Recommendations. ORGANS, BEST AMERICAN MAKES ONLY. Tuners to the Royal Irish Academy of Music, and Royal Dublin Society. ESTIMATES FOR REPAIRS FREE. TO INVALIDS. KELLY'S INVALID STOUT Recommended by the Medical Faculty for its Strengthening and Invigorating Properties. SEE OPINIONS OF THE PRESS. GOLD MEDAL AWARDED, DUBLIN BREWERS' EXHIBITION. 1894. MEDAL AND DIPLOMA OF HONOUR, ROTUNDA EXHIBITION, 1892. VAN DELIVERIES IN CITY AND SUBURBS DAILY. Orders by Post receive prompt attention, Registered Trade <1fark" TUG OF WAR STOUT." HUGH KELLY, TUG OF W B AR T & LE INVA F UD STOUTS, 102 NORTH KING STREET, DUBLIN. Now ready. Price 3s. Qd. 2nd Edition. Tourists' Guide $2$ WP~ Donegal Highlands. PROFUSELY ILLUSTRATED, LARGE MAP, &c, DUBLIN: SEALY, BRYERS & WALKER, AND ALL BOOKSELLERS. dd A ADVERTISEMENTS. T. KENNY & CO., Works 3 CHANCERY PLACE, 21, 22, 23 & 24 PILL LANE. Showrooms-51 THOMAS STREET, DUBLIN. Upholsterers and Manufacturers f PERAMBULATORS, MAIL CARS, BATH CHAIRS, DELIVERY BASKETS ; ; AND EVERY DESCRIPTION OF BEDDING. Woven Wire and Spring Mattrasses. A Special Department far Repairs. All class of Fittings for Perambulators kept in Stock. The Largest Manufacturers of Perambulators &. Bedding in Ireland. iual put out of Perambulators and Mail Cars I icates and Two Prizes for excellence of Manufactu Telegraphic Address" KENNY, DUBLIN." Annual put out of Perambulators and Mail Cars 1,500. Five First-Class Certificates and Two Prizes for excellence of Manufacture. BRAZEN HEAD HOTEL, 2O LOWER BRIDGE STREET, DUBLIN (NEAR THE FOUR COURTS), Breakfasts, Luncheons, Dinners & Suppers. TARIFF MODERATE. ADMITTANCE AT ANY HOUR. m' Note Address, 20 LOWER BRIDGE ST., DUBLIN. M. McHUGH, Proprietor. EGAN'S PRIVATE HOTEL, 57 RUTLAND SQQARE, DUBLIN, (NEAR BROADSTONE TERMINUS.) Visitors will find this House most Central for Business or Pleasure. Bed and Breakfast from 2/6 to 5/- Board from 4/6 to 9/- per day. Mrs. EGAN, Proprietress. d-d ADVERTISEMENTS. M'BIRNEY & CO.'S Irish Linens. The LARGEST STOCK and the BEST VALUE IN IRELAND. TABLE CLOTHS (Double Damask), NAPKINS (Double Damask), SHEETINGS (All Widths), BEDROOM TOWELS, BATH TOWELS, GLASS CLOTHS, &c., dnd all Classes of Household Goods. IRISH CAMBRIC HANDKERCHIEFS. CHILDREN'S HANDKERCHIEFS, 2/-, 2/6, 3/-, 3/6, 4/- per Dozen. LADIES' do. 2/6, 3/-, 4/-, 4/6, 5/- do. Do. do. Hemstitched, 3/6, 4/-, 5/-, 6/-, 7/-, 8/- per Doz. Do. do. Hemstitched and Embroidered, 5/-, 6/-, 7/-, IO/-, and I2/- per Dozen. ALSO, POPLINS, SILKS, LACES, HOSIERY, CLOVES, WOOLLEN GOODS. LADIES' & GENTLEMEN'S OUTFITTING, DRESSES, MILLINERY, MANTLES. CARPETS, CURTAINS, BEDS & BEDDING. READY-MADE CLOTHING, &C. Write for Patterns and compare value. M'BIRNEY & CO., LTD., 14 TO 18 ASTON'S QUAY, DUBLIN. d-d THE DICTIONARY OF DUBLIN PART II. THE DICTIONARY OF DUBLIN- Abattoir. (Map D.) The Abattoir opened in 1882 was de- signed by Park Neville. It stands on ten acres of ground, immedi- ately outside the North Circular- road, by which it is divided from the Cattle Market, a connecting tunnel passing underneath. As it is outside the city boundary the Corporation cannot compel but- chers to use it, so for some years it was carried on at a loss, and slaughter houses are still scattered through the city. Abbey of S. Mary, Ruins Of. The ruins of the abbey of S. Mary lie between Capel-street and Upper Arran-street, and can be reached from Sackville-street through Abbey-street and Mary's- abbey. They are so hidden away in a crowded portion of the city, that it requires some little trouble to discover them, and indeed so defaced and over- built are they that only those interested in architecture will consider them worthy of a visit ; the time may come when an open space will be made, and the foundations of the abbey revealed, and then the graceful chapter- house will be an object for general admiration. The abbey of S. Mary was built on the north bank of the Liffey, within sight of the ancient city, and its walled-in precincts stretched from the present Capel- street to beyond the site of the Four Courts. It was founded for Benedictine monks, but in 1139 was transferred to Cister- cians. The early list of abbots is imperfect, but a complete list is preserved of those from 1132- 1573, when it had to surrender its immense riches to Henry VIII. After its dissolution, it was used as a quarry, and the ill-fated Essex-bridge of 1676 was built with its stones. The only part in fair preserva- tion is the chapter-house, which dates from the re-building after the fire of 1304 ; it is a beautiful Gothic building, measuring 47 by 23 feet, and has a groined roof with good mouldings, and some interesting windows, but its ap- pearance is spoiled by a modern floor, some seven feet from the ground, which divides the build- ing into a low store covered by the groined roof, and a cellar. It was in this chapter-house in 1534 that Lord Thomas Fitz- gerald (" Silken Thomas "), on Note. SMALL CAPITALS are used to refer the reader to other articles in Part II. 104 the false report of his father's irrest in London, threw off the Lord Deputy attire which he wore during his father's absence, re- vealing the armour beneath, and, drawing his sword, renounced allegiance to the English king, and commenced the disastrous rebellion which led to his execu- tion in the following year. Recent excavations have re- vealed various portions of the building and discovered numerous tiles. The results have been printed in an interesting mono- graph. Academy of Medicine in Ireland, Royal. The Aca- demy of Medicine was founded in 1882 by the union of four existing societies : (i) the Medical Society, which was remodelled in 1864 from the Association of Members of the College of Physicians, founded in 1816 ; (2) the Surgical Society,, 1832 ; (3) the Patho- logical Society, 1838 ; (4) the Obstetrical Society. 1838. Sec- tions corresponding to each society were formed, and sections of anatomy and of state medicine have since been added. The prefix "Royal "was obtained in 1887. The Academy consists of fellows, members, and associates, and meets on Friday evenings, alternately at the Colleges of Physicians and Surgeons. An annual volume of transactions is published. Academy of Music, The Royal Irish (Map B.) (founded 1856, incorporated 1889), stands in Westland-row, and has a very unpretentious exterior. Students are trained in every branch of musical study ; but it is in instrumental music in particular that the Academy excels, and really first class professors of the various instruments are secured by the Council of the Academy, to the great benefit of its classes and indirectly to the profit of musical culture in Dublin. The Academy is governed by a Council. Full information as to the valuable Scholarships and Prizes connected with it may be had from the Secretary, 36 Westland- row. Academy, Royal Irish (in- corporated 1786) Dawson-st. (Map A.) Beginning with the year 1683. numerous attempts were made to establish in Dublin a Society on the lines of the Royal Society of London ; but it was not until 1 786 that a patent was granted to the Royal Irish Academy "to promote the study of polite literature, science and antiquities." The Academy was really the combination of two societies, which consisted in the main of Fellows of Trinity, and which under the names "ThePalaeo- sophers" and "TheNeosophers," had been started to investigate ancient and modern knowledge. It occupied a house oppo- site to the Provost's House in Grafton-street, and was not re- moved to its present quarters in Dawson-street until 1852. The Academy contains a vast store of literary treasures, including such MSS. in the Irish language as the "The Annals of the Four Masters," " The Speckled Book of McEgan," and many others of priceless value. There is an excellent Library for the use of members, and all the current literature connected with the objects of the Academy may be found on the tables of the Read- ing-room. The Museum of the Academy was transferred in 1891 to the care of the Science and Art Department, and deposited in the 105 new Museum in Kildare-street, partly owing to want of ade- quate accommodation in the Academy's premises and partly with the laudable intention of allowing so unique a collection of Irish works of art to be displayed in the National Museum, where a vastly larger number of visitors would have the opportunity of in- specting it. The Celtic collection is second to none in the world, and shows the great skill attained by our ancestors in the arts, when neighbouring nations had scarcely emerged from their barbarism. Among the more famous exhibits, are the Ardagh Chalice, the Cross of Cong, and St. Patrick's Bell with its shrine or cover a superb example of the early Irish gold- smith's art. (MUSEUM.) The Academy is governed by a President and Council of twenty- one members. Members are elected by ballot ; annual sub- scription, 2 2s. There are at present 320 members ; but the popularity of the Academy has been somewhat decreased by the way in which, of late years, science has overshadowed both polite literature and antiquities in its proceedings. Academy, The Royal Hibernian (Map C.), was incorporated in 1821, and its present home in Lower Abbey- street was erected in 1824, by FRANCIS JOHNSTON, first Presi- dent of the Academy, and one of Dublin's leading architects, at his own sole cost. The building con- sists of three storeys, the first being supported by Doric columns, between which a deep recess leads to the Entrance Hall. Over the entrance may be seen the head of Palladio representing architecture, while above the windows on the right and left are the heads of Michael Angelo and Raphael, emblematic respectively of sculpture and of painting. The first exhibition room,4O x 20 feet, is connected by an arch with a larger room, which measures 40 x 50 feet, and is excellently lighted from above. To the right is an- other smaller and ill-lighted room, devoted usually to the exhibition of architectural designs, &c. In the upper rooms are many valu- able paintings, and a good library of works connected with Art. Students are admitted to the Schools of the Academy, and can attend the lectures of its Pro- fessors. A fine atelier has been added by Sir T. A. Jones, the late President. The smallness of the Government grant renders it im- possble for the Academy to assist young artists as it would wish, and many of the most brilliant of our younger men are un- fortunately compelled to seek elsewhere for that patronage which the poverty of their native land denies them at home. The Annual Exhibition of the Academy lasts from March to May, and as there are on view many works of art, lent by the leading English and Continental Artists, in addition to the excellent works in painting, sculpture, and architecture of our Irish Academicians, the visitor to Dublin should on no account neglect to see this exhibition. An Art Union Drawing is held annually during the Exhibition. Admission, is. ; Sunday after- noons, 2d. For some time before the close of the Exhibition it is opened every evening at a charge of id. Aid borough House, which is at present used as a Commis- sariat Depot, has had a long and interesting history The building was erected (1797) by Lord Aid- 106 borough at a cost 01^40,000, and although badly situated for a nobleman's town house, it afforded the best specimen of architecture and two wings. The position proved to be too damp, and Lady Aldborough refused to live in it. It was long left untenanted, to be found in a private building in Dublin. The building consists of a lofty central square, with handsome cornice and balustrade but in 1813 the building was re-named Luxembourg, and was purchased from Lord Aid- borough by a committee of gentle- 107 men, to be converted into a large public school on the system of Dr. Von Feinaigle (EDUCATION). The undraped statues, a large number of which adorned the gardens, were deemed unsuitable when the building was converted into a school and were therefore banished to an upper chamber, which became a sort of Bluebeard's Room ! They were afterwards found in 1843, when the building was taken over by the Govern- ment, and were then sold. The stucco work in this, as in very many of our old Dublin houses, is noticeably fine. Alexandra College. (Map A. ) The requirements of Higher Education of Women find ade- quate recognition in the Alex- andra College (founded 1866). It corresponds in Ireland to Girton or Newnham in England. The students compete at the Royal University Examinations, and on many occasions have carried away Scholarships and other high dis- tinctions from the sterner sex. A movement is on foot to induce the Governing Body of old T.C.D. to open its Schools and Degrees to women ; for as yet Dublin University has contented itself with Special Examinations for women without permitting them either to attend the Lectures or pass to the Degrees of the University. Alexandra College publishes its own Magazine, giving an account of the various College Societies and Clubs which cer- tainly provide a most extensive training, physical as well as mental. The College possesses a large gymnasium excellently fitted, and its Lawn Tennis and Hockey Clubs are probably quite as important as its Professorial Lectures, securing that our wo- men, mothers of the coming garten, until their final appear as "fair girl graduates'' in generation, shall hand down to their children the corpus sanum as well as the mens sana. Alexandra School (Map A.) was founded in 1873, by the Coun- cil of Alexandra College, and has lately (1890) removed from 73 S. Stephen's-green to its magnificent new buildings in Earlsfort-terrace. This addition to the already ex- tensive buildings of the College was designed by T. Drew, and is probably the most convenient and best equipped girls' school in Ireland. Its pupils number 300, and are notably successful in the Intermediate Examina- tions. At the age of 16 the girls pass from the School to the College, and thus within the same sheltering walls they receive their entire education from the Kinder- rance gr graduates'' in the Royal University, which is exactly opposite to Alexandra College. All Saints' Church, Grangegorman. The Church of All Saints, its school and glebehouse are prettily situated amidst trees on the Phibsborough- road, not far from the Phoenix Park and Glasnevin tram-lines. The parish was formed front those of S. Paul and S. Michan as a perpetual curacy under the appointment of the Vicars Choral of Christ Church Cathedral (of which the district was a grange or farm) who were Rectors. The Dean and Chapter had appointed a curate to the district as far back as 1730. The first curate to the parish received a stipend of ,10 per annum, and was also chaplain to the House of Industry and General Hospital. The church was built in 1828 and the glebehouse in the follow- ing year. The old church (altered) forms the present nave. 108 The chancel was added in 1856, and the north aisle in 1867. In 1889 a baptistery and memorial window were erected in memory of the late Incumbent, the Rev. Dr. Maturin, and in 1892 a new organ was erected in the north aisle. The pulpit also is a memorial. The interior is somewhat spoiled by the large unsymmetrical north aisle, but the exigencies of space left no other method of enlargement possible. The chan- cel is small but beautifully decora- led, and the western baptistery is well designed, and its contained window a beautiful example of modern glass There is a sur- pliced choir, and the musical portions of the service are well rendered . Alphonsus, Chapel of, S. The chapel of the Convent of S. Alphonsus, Clonliffe (1873), is a beautiful example of the late Norman style. It was designed by Ashlin, and is built of granite. The interior is finely decorated and contains some modern "Bossi" work marble inlaid with coloured cements. Amusements. Dublin is not regarded by the stranger as a gay city when compared with other capitals. The climate is against open air festivities, and as a natural result our gaieties are for the most part indoors and private, balls, musicals, &c. The SEASON may be considered to begin in February, and it closes always with the great St. Patrick's Ball on the day of our Patron Saint (March 17). There is not, how- ever, any such marked difference between the season and the non- season as there is in London. It may be that we have not such a round of gaieties in the season, but no such appalling emptiness in our fashionable quarters follows its close. During the summer all Dublin migrate? to the sea ; and most of the bathing places within a radius of 15 miles are lesser Dublins from June to the end of September. (ANGLING, ATH- LETICS, CRICKET, FOOTBALL, GOLF, &c.) Andrew,CatholicChurch Of S. (Map B.) was designed by James Boulger, and erected 1832-7 at a cost of ^13,000. It is in the form of a cross with a cupola over the intersection, and is 160 feet long, 50 feet high, and 50 feet wide ; the width across the tran- septs is 150 feet. The Doric portico is heavy and graceless, and is Distyle-in-antis two columns between antse or square pillars. The entablature is surmounted by a pediment on the apex of which is a fine figure of S. Andrew. The great altar consists of four massive pillars of Scagliolo sur- mounted by a pediment ; the tabernacle and sarcophagus are of the most costly Italian marble. Over the tabernacle is a Trans- figuration carved by Hogan. Andrew, Church of S. (Map A.) S. Andrew's Church used to stand at the south of Dame-street where the Munster and Leinster Bank now is, and Palace-street crosses the old churchyard. In 1670 a church was built on the present site, a hill close to Hoggen-green, on which an old stone circle stood. In 1793-1807 the " Round Church " (really an ellipse 80 X 60) was built, it was a classical building of peculiar design ; the oak from which its ornaments were carved was taken from the roof of the old College chapel, and from the centre of its ceiling hung the gilt lustre of carved wood, formerly in the House of Com- mons and now in the Examina- 109 tionHall, T.C.D. The "Round Church" was burned in 1860. The present church is a hand- some granite building of early decorated Gothic design, erected 1862-6. from the design of Messrs. Lanyon, Lynn, and Lanyon. It consists of a nave, aisles, chancel, apse, and a large tower ending in a lofty spire, standing between the chancel and north transept. There is a cloister porch running along the north aisle, in this the statue of S. Andrew, which stood over the door of the " Round Church " (and which was estimated for by Edward Smith in 1803, at 113 155., though his receipt for only ^30 exists), used to stand ; but people in the street kneeling to pray before it, it was moved in 1872 to the churchyard at the south-west corner of the church where it still stands in a mutilated condition. When taken down after the fire of 1860 the statue was found to be pitted with bullet marks, a celebrated duellist living opposite having in the earlier part of the century used it as a target. A Parochial Hall built in granite from the designs of W. Kaye Parry stands in the churchyard. Ann, Church of S. (Map B.), Dawson-street, facing South Anne- street. A large oblong church with heavy galleries, commenced in 1707. There are numerous wall tablets and stained glass windows, two of the latter erected in 1860 are respectively in memory of Mrs. Hemans andjoun Knox, the erection of stained glass with a figure subject in memory of the iconoclast, seems peculiar. The original form was classical, and designed by Smith. In 1868-9 a new front of Norman style was erected from the design of T. N. Deane. Stones of different colour are used to give emphasis to the design which is very effective. The large centre door has a tower at either side (that on the north being unfinished). Above the door is an open arcade and fine window. A clergy house stands to the south and an entrance to the graveyard to the north. The Molesworth Hall (1867), serves as a Parochial Hall. It was designed by T. N. Deane. Angling. Dublin anglers are but ill-furnished with the means of cultivating the gentle art. Fair fishing may, however, be obtained in the river Tolka, and the Swords river, and within recent years a lake near Brittas on the Poula- phuca tram line has been stocked by The Anglers' Club. Antient Concert Rooms, in Great Brunswick-street (Map B.), (Kings- bridge tram or Hatch- street tram from Harcourt-street terminus) provides two small Halls suitable for concerts and occasional entertainments. They are much used for the Rehearsals of the larger Musical Societies. Antiquaries (Royal So- ciety of Antiquaries of Ireland). (Map A.) This Society, numbering at present thirteen hundred members, is the offspring of the famous Kilkenny Archaeological Society (founded in 1849), which for a long series of years kept alive, almost alone, interest in the antiquities of Ire- land. The Society has power to elect Fellows and Members, and holds its meetings quarterly in each of the four provinces in turn. The published proceedings, form- ing the Journal of the Society, are an invaluable store of infor- mation on all matters of archaeo- logical research. Offices and Council Chamber, 7 S. Stephen's- green, N. 110 Antiquities. The various an- tiquities which are to be seen in and about Dublin can be only briefly mentioned here. Some receive fuller notice in other paragraphs. They are generally marked in Gothic type on the Ordnance i-inch map. There are several CROMLECHS. There are Pillar Stones (Men- hirs) at Raheen and Glencullen. Cairns are more numerous, and are generally called " Giants' graves. " There are several on the Dublin Mountains, where also are remains of some stone circles. The Pipers' Stones, f-mile from Blessington, are a good example. RATHS or Moats which are earthen mounds, and generally called " Forts," are numerous. In some, internal chambers have been found, and, in most, bones. Rathmines, Rathgar, and Rathfarnham all derive their names from Raths which have been removed. There are "Stone Chairs'" near Rathfarnham and at Kil- liney ; they are generally called Druids' Chairs. There are some forty stone Chantries or small Churches in the neighbourhood of Dublin, all of which are very old ; they generally consist of a nave and chancel, with a semicircular sepa- rating arch ; the jambs of the narrow west door may slant in, and there is usually a narrow semi- circular or triangular-headed win- dow over the altar, and one or more windows in the south wall. Killiney (possibly fifth century), S. Nessan's Ireland's Eye, and S. Fintan's Howth. may be visited as examples. S. Nessan's has the remains of a circular cloigceac or belfry over the chancel. ROUND TOWERS can be seen at SWORDS, Lusk, and Clondalkin, and several CROSSES and Holy Wells are within reach. The Holy Well at S. Doulough's is one of the best examples. The ruins of HOWTH Church (1235) are a good example of early Gothic ; the three-arched belfry in the west gable is an Irish char acteristic. An altar-tomb to the 2Oth Baron Howth and his wife (1589) should be noticed. Close to the church is an interesting building named the " Abbot's House," or "College." IN THE LIBERTIES. The Castles of the PALE are the chief mediaeval remains. The city itself has few anti- quities beyond its Churches, and these are dealt with under the head of ARCHITECTURE. A few fragments of CITY WALLS exist, but hardly any Houses date before the eighteenth century. The best examples of the oldest houses are in the district to the S.W. of S. Patrick's Cathedral, and in the streets off South George's-street, where many of the old gabled fronts may yet be seen. The Science and Art MUSEUM contains the magnificent collection Ill of Irish Antiquities made by the ROYAL IRISH ACADEMY and Manuscripts and other antiquities are preserved in the Library of Trinity College. Apothecaries' Hall. (Map C.) The Governor and Com- pany of the Apothecaries' Hall of Ireland were incorporated in 1 791. They have a large building in Mary-street in which they deal in drugs. They used to confer the L.A.H. Diploma, which was a medical qualification, and after- wards had a conjoint examination with the ROYAL COLLEGE OF SURGEONS. Aq uatics YACHTING. Archbishops. Dublin has the honour of being the seat of two Archbishoprics. The Palace of the Protestant Archbishop is in S. Stephen's-green : that of the Roman Catholic Primate is at DRUMCONDRA. They both bear the title " Primate of Ireland." Architecture. Whatever value the street architecture of Dublin has is chiefly derived from width of thoroughfare, and the beauty of a few of the public buildings and places of business ; the em- banked river and frequent bridges are also effective. The appear- ance of many business streets is spoiled by fa9ades, often meri- torious in themselves, but ill- suited to chose about them, and this is worse when the skyline is broken by irregular parapets ; of late years there has been a revival of gables ; but still incongruous, or, what is, if possible, worse, badly matching f^ades are seen in juxtaposition, and even where an effort has been made to secure harmony, as in Grafton- street and Upper Baggot-street, the result has not been happy, partly owing to the ugly com- bination of red brick and lime stone, and partly to a want of attention to mutual relation. In the older residential neigh- bourhoods, gabled houses that take us back to the time of Queen Anne, are still fairly numerous, and a few more markedly Dutch gables remain, but the older 'CAGEWORK" houses are en- tirely extinct. Most of the city residences are OLD DUTCH GABLED HOUSE. of late eighteenth or early nine- teenth century date, and are so severely ugly with horizontal parapets and rectangular windows devoid of ornament, that the classical doorways look like after- thoughts. Some, however, have a granite storey and classical cornice. In the suburbs, espe- 112 BLACK PITS. daily at the South side, the modern houses present more variety. The chief public buildings are in the Classical Renaissance, dating from the end of the eigh- teenth and commencement of the nineteenth century', and are very effective. The most important are the BANK OF IRELAND, CUS- TOM HOUSE, FOUR COURTS, CITY HALL, TRINITY COL- LEGE and KING'S INNS. The group of buildings about LEINSTER HOUSE repre- sents the latter half of the nineteenth century, and though effective, has not the grandeur of the earlier de- signs ; the interiors of the latest additions are, how- ever, striking and suitable. Following the example of the public buildings, most of the large banks and insurance offices are of Renaissance character, but the style has been adapted with more freedom of treat- ment. The cathedrals are in- teresting examples of early Gothic, and the transitional Norman work in Christ Church is of great beauty ; but other traces of old church architec- ture are few. Neglect has done for Dublin what fire did for London, and most of the old churches have been destroyed and ugly rectangles built in their place. At the commencement of this century the only church spire was S. WERBURGH'S, and that was soon taken down as being unsafe. During this cen- tury a number of places of worship for different denomina- tions have been built, and al- though some of the earlier attempts in the Gothic style are grotesque failures, most of those erected within the last thirty years are of good design, and several have graceful spires. The following table gives the various periods of architec- ture, the chief examples be- ing noted it will be observed how few original examples re- main : WEAVER S SQUARE. 113 TABLE OF CHURCH ARCHITECTURE IN DUBLIN. Norman, Christ Church Cathedral Transepts. S. Audoen Door and Font. MODERN EXAMPLES. S. Alphonsus Convent Chapel. S. Ann, Fa9ade. Sandymount Church. s. JOHN'S CHURCH, SANDYMOUNT. Early English Gothic. Christ Church Cathedral. N. Side Nave. S. Patrick's Cathedral. S. Mary's Abbey Chapter House. MODERN EXAMPLES. Christ Church, Leeson-park. S. Andrew, Donny brook. S. Bartholomew. S. Kevin, S. Circular-road. S. Laurence O'Toole. Decorated Gothic S. Audoen (parts of). MODERN EXAMPLES. Rutland-square, Presbyterian. S. Joseph, Berkeley-road. S. Kevin, Harrington-street. S. Peter, Phibsboro'. S. Saviour, Dominick-street. Perpendicular Gothic. S. Audoen, Portlester Chapel. MODERN EXAMPLES. Castle Chapel. Ormond-quay, Presbyterian. Priory, S. Dominick. S. Barnabas, North-lotts. S. Michans, Halston-street. Renaissance. S. Catherine (1710). S. Thomas (1758). S. George ^1813). S. Mary Cathedral (1816). -S. Stephen (1825). S. Francis Xavier (1832). S. Andrew, Westland-row (1837). S. Paul, Arran-quay (1835). S. Mary, Rathmines. Area and Valuation. The area of the City of Dublin within the Municipal boundary is 3,733 acres, and is almost entirely sur- rounded by the Circular-roads, with an extent of nine miles. The Parliamentary boundaries give 5,509 acres. The complete corporate income from rents, customs, &c., amounts to about ,352,000. Army and Navy Stores, Junior, D'Olier-st. (Map B.) rather a new institution (1883) in Dublin, seems to have taken permanent place. Its members are of two classes, Shareholders and Ticketholders, but, presumably with a view to increasing the clientele, not more than five shares are allotted to one applicant. Tickets costing 2s. 6d. may be taken out at any date and are avail- able for one year. The Stores have I 114 very decidedly brought down the prices of the Dublin shops, and are likely to be even more satisfactory when the increased accommodation enables them to stock articles which have at present to be or- dered from their London house with serious delays to the pur- chaser. Artane Industrial School. The Artane Industrial School is situated some three miles to the north of the city on the Ma!ahide-road, on the site where Alan, Archbishop of Dublin, was murdered, 1534. It is managed by the Christian Brothers, who founded it in 1870. It contains 800 boys, and is the most remarkable Industrial School in Europe. There is a fine range of buildings with workshops, and the boys re- ceive instruction in carpentry, engine-fitting, harness-making, painting, tailoring, baking, &c., even hairdressing is taught. The lads have a capital band, and it is a pleasant sight to see them marching after it in companies. An Infirmary was built in 1892, and all new-comers are detained for three weeks under observation to prevent the introduction of in- fectious disease. The Institution is well worthy of a visit, and the drive to it is enjoyable. Artisans' Dwellings. The Dublin Artisans' Dwellings Com- pany (Limited) was started in 1876 by some members of the Dublin Sanitary Association, and its capital has several times been increased, so that at present it stands at ,100,000. Sixteen sites have already been built upon. Some of these were previously cleared by the Cor- poration, acting under the Public Health Acts, and were then leased to the Company. An interesting feature is that a large proportion of the buildings erected are small houses for single families. The Coombe area was covered with 216 of these, and an ornamental fountain and shrubs mark the centre of what was once one of the most unhealthy districts in the city. There are two playgrounds for children, with swings, &c., close to the Coombe buildings. The Earl and Countess of Meath give prizes each year for neatness and cleanliness of rooms, and for window gar- dening. Number of single houses, 1,382. Number of families housed, 1,609. Number of individuals housed, 7,338. The Corporation have lately erected some Artisans' Dwellings as have the ' ' Guinness Trustees." Arts Club, Dublin (Map A.), 6 Stephen's - green, was founded in 1892, for the furtherance of Music, Painting, and kindred arts. Its membership embraces almost all the leading amateur and professional artists in the city, and exhibitions of work are constantly held. The musi- cal evenings are very popular, and the social element in the club is well sustained. There is an annual Art Union Drawing. Asylums for Blind BLIND ASYLUMS. Asylums for Lunatics LUNATIC ASYLUMS. Athletics. Athletic meetings are naturally very popular in our city, and the magnificent grounds of the Royal Dublin Society at Ball's-bridge are the favourite locale of these meetings. Facile princeps in point of attendance 115 come the College Sports, which although shorn in some measure of their olden glories, can still attract to the College Park in one day a gathering of 15,000 ! They are held usually in spring, and are almost the earliest of our out-of- door functions, so that the flower of Dublin's beauty dons at them for the first time its most sum- mery attire. Lansdowneiroad grounds also provide a good and popular track for bicycle races and other contests, and it was on this track that the Irish Champion- ship Events were always decided before the open- ing of BALL'S-BRIDGE. There is also an excellent track at Jones's - road, Drumcondra. Auctions are naturally common in town, and there are many excellent salerooms, the better de- voting themselves, as a rule, to one special line books, china, &c. It is now rare enough to pick up at a sale in a private house any piece of old furniture of value, though even yet such finds are made. It is hardly necessary to re- mind the stranger that much of the furniture introduced by some un- scrupulous auctioneers into such sales is not part of the actual furnishing of the house, and the marvellous "draw- ingroom suites in vdvet or rep" are much better avoided. There is probably here, as else- where, a ring of "dealers" who will readily outbid, even with a risk of loss, the private buyers ; but as a rule they are good- humoured fellows enough, and are often very witly, if not always t< o polite. The chief auction -rooms are: I. North's, Grafton Street, book and miscellaneous, and 2. Bennett's, china, pictures and books, 3. Flint's, 4. Hill's, 5. Law- ler's, all on the north side of the river Liffey, between O'Connell- bridge and the Four Courts. Audoen s Arch. s. Audoen's Arch, situated to the north of S. Audoen's Church, is the only AUDOEN'S ARCH (BEFORE RESTORATION). remaining gateway of the old CITY WALLS, and its construction dates back to a stirring time. In 1315 Edward Bruce, brother to King Robert Bruce, landed in the north of Ii eland and marched upon Dublin, coming as close as Castleknock. The Mayor, Robert Notingham, and citizens pulled down the Abbey of S. Saviour, and built a new wall, "mistrusting 116 that the wals that went along both keies should not have been of sufficient force to outhold the enemie. " S. Audoen's Arch is part of one of the gateways built in 1315. S. Audoen's Arch measures 26 feet from the ground to the crown of the arch, it is 15 feet wide in- side, and 20 feet deep. On the western side of the passage is a stopped-up doorway which may have been a postern. Only a few feet of the tower remain above the arch, but up to 1760 the Corporation of Tanners rented the tower and used it as their Hall. In 1764 the first number of the Public Register or Free- tnatt's Journal appeared ; it was " Printed by order of the Committee, at their Own Printing Office, over St. Audoen's Arch, near Cook-street." In 1880 the Committee of the Corporation con- demned the arch as a nuisance and recommended its removal, but fortunately this vandalism was pre- vented. S. Audoen's graveyard (which adjoins the old wall to the west of the arch) is a public recrea- tion ground (1894), and the arch has been restored, but the tower has not been rebuilt . Audoen, Church of S. (Map A.) S. Audoen's Church, High- street is the most interesting ecclesiastical building in Dublin after the cathedrals. It is named after a Norman saint (who is also the patron of S. Ouen at Rouen), and was built soon after the English came to Ireland in 1171. It consists of two parallel aisles, separated by graceful arches, some of which are built up. The present church is the west half of the north aisle ; the east end is in ruins, and is called the Portlester Chapel ; it was built or repaired by Lord Portlester in the fifteenth century. This part has been put in order by the Board of Works ; it contains a number of monu- ments, some of wood, and all PORTLESTER CHAPEL. sadly defaced. To the south- west are two hagioscopes and the remains of frescoes. In the porch is an altar tomb, with effigies of Lord Portlester and his wife, erected in 1455. The church was for long cut in two by a transverse screen with windows in it, but the chancel was used for Celebration 117 8. AUDOENS CHURCH. until 1773, when a stucco chancel was made. In 1820-21 the gallery which occupied the pointed aisles of the S. aisle of nave was re- moved, and the arches built up. The unused three - quarters of the church was then un- roofed, and four cast-iron pinnacles added to the tower. There is a Nor- man door leading into the body of the church, and the original Norman font is still used. The tower, rebuilt in 1670, contains six bells, one bearing the date 1423. From the top of the tower an interesting view of the old city is obtained. Some of the Communion plate dates from 1624. The sexton lives near at hand, and will show visitors over all parts of the building. Augustine and John, Chapel Of SS. in Thomas- street, is among the finest ecclesiastical buildings in Dublin. It was commenced in 1862 from the designs of Messrs. Pugin and Ashlin. It consists of a nave with lofty side aisles and an apsidal sanctuary (added 1893). A magni- ficent oblong tower with spire rises from the "west" bay of the nave to a height of 160 feet. The lower part of the tower has a lofty arched recess containing the richly carved door and the great window. The spire ends in a French double-pointed roof. The interior also is impressive, with lofty marble columns on Aberdeen granite bases, and white marble reredos ; the glass in the " west " window is very effective. Avoca RATHDRUM. Balbriggan, 22 miles north of Dublin on the Drogheda line, was raised by Baron Hamilton in 1780 CHAPEL OF SS. AUGUSTINE AND JOHN. 118 from a mere fishing village to a industrial centre of considerable importance by the erection of two large cotton factories. " Bal- briggan hosiery " hasaworld-wide reputation. There is very fair harbour accommodation and a small coast traffic. BaJdoyle (8 miles), a station on the Howth Branch of the G.N.R. It has a racecourse which, being close to town, and generally used on popular holidays, is a favourite resort. From Baldoyle there is a fine walk along the" Velvet Strand, and so on to MALAHIDE. Baldungan Castle SKERRIES. Balfe, Michael William, was born on the I5th May, 1808, in IO Pitt-street (Map B.). The house is marked by a tablet, and is easily reached from Grafton- street by Harry-street, His first public appearance was at a con- cert in- 1817, where he played the violin. A piece of his composi- tion had been performed before he \vas seven years old. On the death of his father, in 1823, he went to England, and on to the Continent, but in 1838 returned to Ireland as a member of an opera company. He died in 1870. A memorial window has been erected in the CATHEDRAL OF S. PATRICK, but the project of erecting a statue in the city ended in failure as a comic paper once expressed it, his words, "I dreamt I dwelt in marble - '' were prophetic. The amount subscribed was ex- pended on a bust, which is placed in the NATIONAL GAL- LERY. Balrothery, a much decayed village, about 17^ miles north of Dublin, has a very fine example of a square tower, with a round tower at one corner, not unlike that at LUSK, distant about five miles. Ballast Office (Map B.). The fine brick building with stone adornments, at the corner of West- moreland-street and Aston's- quay, facing O'Connell Bridge, is called the Ballast Office. It was built when the WIDE STREET COMMISSIONERS made West- moreland-street ; the south half was added in 1868. The Corporation known as the Ballast Board was first instituted in 1707 for improving the port and harbour, and for that pur- pose powers were vested in the Lord Mayor, Commons, and citizens of Dublin. One of these powers was raising and selling ballast. In 1786, this body not being found active enough, the 119 Corporation for Preserving and Improving the PORT OF DUBLIN was formed, and their successors, the Port and Docks Board are still familiarly termed the Ballast Board, and their house the Ballast Office. The clock in the Westmoreland- street front and the time ball are considered the most accurate time keepers in Dublin ; the latter used to fall at I p.m. by signal from Dunsink Observatory, but now falls at I p.m. Greenunch time. Ball'S-bridge is on the Dodder, and the district is chiefly important at present, owing to the magni- ficent buildings of the ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY, in which are held the various Cattle Shows of the Society. The grounds are let by the Society for Military Tournaments and various athletic meetings, and the Championships of Ireland are usually decided here- The new Girls' School for Masonic Orphans is also situated here, as are the offices of the Pembroke Township. (Railway Station, Sandymount ; Tram, Black rock.) Banks. The banks are among the handsomest buildings in the city. The Bank of Ireland, the Ulster, the Provincial, the National, and the Munster and Leinster are of most interest. The following table gives a list of the banks, with the address of the chief office : the figure in brackets is the number of branches in the city and suburbs : Bank of Ireland College-green. Hibernian Bank College-green (Si- Royal Bank of Ireland Foster- place (6). National Bank College-green. Provincial Bank College-street (I). Northern Banking Company Henry-street (3). Ulster Bank College-green (2). Munster and Leinster Bank Dame-street. Belfast Banking Company (2). Boyle, Low, Murray & Company. Guinness. Marion & Company. The following table gives the chief bank buildings, date, and name of architect : BANK OF IRELAND, College-green, formerly Parliament House. Northern Banking Co., Henry- street, formerly Ball's Bank. National, 34 College-green, 1845. William Barnes (London). Al- tered 1889, Charles Geoghegan. Royal, 3 Foster-place, 1860. Charles Geoghegan. Provincial, 5 College-street, 1868. W. G. Murray. Hibernian, 27 College-green, 1871. W. G. Murray. Hibernian, 12 and 13 Lower Sackville-street, built for public- house, 1872. T. N. Deane. Al- tered to Bank, 1873. T. Drew. Munster and Leinster, 7-9 Dame- street, 1872. T. N. Deane. Ulster, 32 and 33 College-green, 1891. T. Drew. Belfast Banking Co., 19 Dame- street, 1894. W. H. Lynn. Bank of Ireland (Maps A. and B. ). The most central, best situated, and most beautiful build- ing in Dublin is the Bank of Ireland in College-green. Up to 1800 this was the Parliament House, but the legislative union leaving it unoccupied, and a project to connect it with Trinity College by a tunnel under the street having failed, the Bank of Ireland purchased it from the Government in 1802 for ,40,000, subject to an annual ground rent of 240. When the building was rearranged, the Bank was moved into it from the premises in Mary's- 120 abbey, occupied since the incor- poration in 1783 of the "Gov- ernor and Company of the Bank of Ireland." The Parliament House was erected on the site of Chichester House during 1 729-39, and con- sisted at first of the grand portico in College-green. The clever- ness of a design which could attain such great beauty with so little adornment has always ex- cited admiration, but its author is unknown, though it has been attributed to Cassels who de- BANK OF IRELAND. signed Leinster House. It was carried out by Sir Ed. Pearce, but even at the time he was not believed to be the real designer. In 1785 the House of Lords required more room and a separ- ate entrance ; so the east wing, consisting of a noble portico, connected with the main building by a screen wall, was erected from the design of James Gandon. In 1 792 the House of Commons felt the need of space, and during 1792-4 the west portico was added, with a screen wall con- necting it to the old front. This screen wall had a colonnade of pillars in front of it. These ad- ditions were designed by Robert Parke. Since the purchase of the build- ingfora bank further additions and alterations have been made, under the direction of F. JOHNSTON. New screen walls, ornamented with Ionic columns, and connect- ing the east and west porticos to the front, were built ; the mili- tary gateway and the large gate- ways in Westmoreland-street and Foster-place were erected ; figures put over the pedi- ments, and the old House of Commons, Court of Requests, &c. f were removed and the cash office built in their place. The building is nearly semi- circular, and covers i acres. The principal front faces Col- lege-green, and consists of a ,nd Ionic co- onnade, 147 ftet long, occupying three sides of a court -yard ; the columns are lofty, and rest on a flight of steps con- tinued round the courtyard and to the extremities of the colonnade, where are the entrances under two lofty archways. The four central columns are advanced, and support a pediment with the royal arms in the tympanum and a figure of Hibernia on the apex, with Fidelity on her right and Commerce on her left. The royal arms and figures are the work of E. Smith. He was paid ^450 grar lom 121 tor executing the figures ; and being on her right and Liberty on Flaxman i,iyj, for modelling her left. These figures also are them. by E. Smith. The use of Corin- The east front consists of a thian pillars in this portico has GEORGE III., HOUSE OP LORDS. large gateway, and, beside it, a noble portico of six Corinthian columns, with Fortitude on the apex of the pediment, Justice been much criticised. The solu- tion said to have been given by the architect at the time of their execution in answer to a bystander 122 who asked him " What Order are these columns ? " is " It is a very substantial Order, for it is the Order of the House of Lords." The more probable explanation is that the portico was made to harmonise with the opposite corner of Trinity College. The entrance to the Plouse of Lords used to be under this portico, it is built up, but part of the lamp- hook remains over the keystone. The west front consists of an Ionic portico of four columns sup- porting a pediment ; and a large gateway, which contains quarters for a military guard, and is appro- priately decorated with a military trophy cut in stone by J. Kirk. This gateway is at right angles to the portico, and forms a termina- tion to Foster- place. The side porticos are connected with the centre by circular screen walls with rusticated basement and niches .separated by three-quarter columns as lofty as those of the porticos. The new iron railings were erected in 1889. Beneath the grand portico are two entrances leading to lobbies out of which the cash office opens. The old entrance used to be in the centre and lead into a large ante-room to the House of Com- mons, called the Court of Requests on the site of which part of the cash office stands. This splendid room was designed by F. Johnston, and measures 70 ft. x 53 ft. ; the walls are panelled with Bath stone, and ornamented with Ionic columns standing on high pedes- tals and supporting a rich entab- lature. The ceiling is coved, and has a large rectangular opening covered by a lantern. The House of Lords is used as a Board room, but remains in great measure unaltered ; it is panelled and ornamented with columns of Riga oak, but the old benches have been removed, the table and chairs remaining. There are two fine pieces of tapestry on the waHs, repre- senting the Battle of the Boyne and the Siege of Derry ; the latter has a number of incidents of the siege represented on the margin. At the end of a room is a white marble statue of George III., by J. Bacon, jun., which cost .2,000. There is also a fine bust of the Duke of Wellington by Turnerelli. The fireplace of Kilkenny marble deserves notice. A large model in wood of the building is shown to visitors ; it took Mr. Doolittle nearly three years to produce it. and represents the building and its construction faithfully, except that the artistic taste of Mr. Doolittle led him to represent the pillars of the east portico as Ionic in order to match the rest! The roof of the cash office lifts off and displays the in- genious construction adopted by Mr. Johnston. The printing of bank notes is done in a building at the back, and is well worth seeing. The beautiful row of heads, and some other parts of the design, are printed from steel plates, the names of the branches and other letterpress being afterwards prin- ted. The system of numbering, and of checking the numbers printed, is most ingenious. When finished the notes are bound into books, and are so kept until they are required for issue. The automatic weighing ma- chine that separates out light gold is also worth seeing. Bally brack KILLINEY. Barnabas, Church of S> The Church of S. Barnabas was built in the North Lotts 123 in 1870 It was designed by A. G. Jones, and is in Per- pendicular Gothic. The tower, with corner pinnacles, forms a conspicuous object, rising as it does to a height of 135 feet. There is a nave with side aisles and a chancel. It cost ,4,000. This is one of the three churches built from the money left by Miss Shannon of Rathmines, the others are : S. Paul's, Glenageary (Decorated Gothic, 1868), and S. KEVIN'S, South Circular- road. The schools were built at the expense of J. B. Ball. Bay of Dublin POOLBEG LIGHTHOUSE, PORT OF DUBLIN. Barracks. Dublin is for its size as well provided with barrack accommodation as any city in the kindom, and although some of the existing buildings have been declared to be unhealthy notably Island-bridge the health of the troops quartered in the city is uniformly good. The chief bar- racks are Island-bridge and Marl- borough, Cavalry ; Royal Bar- racks, R. Engineers ; Richmond ; Wellington, Beggar's Bush, Portobello, Ship-street, Infantry ; Aldborough House, Commissariat. Bartholomew, Church of S. The Church of S. Bartholo- MARLBOROUGH BARRACKS. s. BARTHOLOMEW'S CHURCH. mew, Elgin-road, was consecrated in 1867. Itis one of the most beau- tiful churches in Dublin, and was designed by Wyatt (London). It is Early English Gothic, and the original design in- cluded a spire (166 feet high), but the good proportions of the tower, its position and its pinnacles, made it unnecessary. It stands in an open position between Elgin-road and Clyde- road, and 'consists of a nave, transepts, choir, and apse ; the tower rises over the choir, and in its upper storey is octagonal. The blelfry is reached 124 by a circular tower at the N.E. corner. The interior is very beautiful. The decorations were designed by T. Deane. the figures beingpainted by Sydney Smith (London). The Rood Screen, of wrought iron, was erected in 1892, in memory of Miss Ferrier ; it was designed by T. Deane, and executed by McLoughlin. Most of the win- dows are memorials. The glass in the east window is by O'Con- nor, the rest by Heaton, Butler, and Paynes. Two are in thanks- giving for the escape of the clergy when a crocket from the tower was blown off and fell through the roof. The floor is laid in mosaic. The organ is a very fine one, and cost more than ,1,000. There is a clock with four faces in open metal work, a peal of eight bells, and a carillon which plays every three hours. The vicarage stands at the west end, and has a very pretty Paro- chial Hall attached to it. Baths. Sea bathing is very popu- lar among the Dubliners, and, as the coast in the immediate neigh- bourhood of the city is too flat to permit of bathing except at high water, excellent sea-water baths have been constructed at Merrion, Clontarf and Blackrock, while those who prefer the open sea can in 20 minutes from Westland-row Station reach Sandycove, which is beyond comparison the finest bath ing-place on the coast. Good swimming can be enjoyed also at Bray, Dalkey, Dollymount, or Seapoint. The " Dublin Swim- ming Club " has its head-quarters at the Blackrock Baths. Fresh-water Baths have been opened by the Corporation at Tara - street (Admission 4d., Second Class 2cl.), and the citizens avail themselves very fully of the advantage. The same establish- ment provides shower baths, douches, &c., and attached to it is one of the Corporation wash- houses an invaluable boon to the poor of our city. Among Turkish Baths the most popular are the Stephen's-green, the Hammam (Sackville-street) and the Lincoln- place, conveniently near Westland- row Station. All of these have hot and cold baths as well as electric and medicated baths. Suitable accommodation is provided for ladies, as well as for gentlemen in most of the Turkish Baths in town, and at most of the sea bathing-places given above there are separate baths for ladies. Perhaps the most popular se?. bathing-places for ladies areat Salt- hill, Sandycove and Blackrock. Beggars. Dublin has been from time immemorial famous fot the pertinacity of its beggars : and they are still with us, plying their A BIT O' COMFORT. trade openly and unashamed. There is unluckily among us none of the picturesqueness of the foreign mendicant, nor can we even claim any of the higher class solicitors of the public charity the street artist being unknown 125 have attained to a certain amount of fame. Zozimus, STREET ARABS. a prince of wits and of beggars, Pembroke Township, contains acquired such a reputation, that large military barracks. The a comic Dublin weekly adopted his name as its title. Beggar's Bush, part of the curious may see in the print above an engraving of this district during the eighteenth century, at 126 which time the ground now so built upon was covered by thickets and was the haunt of footpads who used to prey upon the citizens of Dublin. Hence the name. Belvidere House. (MapC.) Belvidere House, Great Denmark- street, faces North Gt. George's- street. It is one of the finest old houses of Dublin, and contains magnificent, if somewhat florid, stucco work. It was built about APOLLO CEILING. 1775 and is detached, with a frontage of 80 feet, a cut stone basement and fine flight of steps. The grand staircase is magnifi- cently designed and richly decorated in stucco of French design executed by Italian work- men. The three reception rooms on the first floor are finely de- corated. One the music room is dedicated to Apollo who, with his attendants and musical instru- ments adorns the ceiling ; another to Diana has the objects of the chase (finely modelled), and the third to Venus and the Arts. The grand organ in its S. Domingo mahogany case, fine mahogany book-cases and old hall chairs are worth seeing. The house was bought by the Jesuits in 1843 for ji,8oo (which in- cluded the organ and book-cases) subject to ^35 per annum, and was turned into a college. New college buildings having been built at the back, the house has been restored' to its original condition and taste- fully coloured. Benevolent and Charitable Institu- tions. There are a large number of benevolent and charitable institutions in Dublin. Information con- cerning some of those most interesting to visitors is given under the following heads : BLIND ASYLUMS. COFFEE PALACE. CONVALESCENT HOMES. DEAF AND DUMB ASYLUMS. DOGS AND CATS' HOME. FEMALE ORPHAN HOUSE. GIRLS' FRIENDLY SOCIETY. HOSPITALS. INDUSTRIAL SCHOOLS. LUNATIC ASYLUMS. MAGEOUGH HOME. MASONIC CHARITIES. MENDICITY INSTITUTION. PLEAS ANTS' ASYLUM. REFORMATORIES. VINCENT DE PAUL ORPHAN- AGES. SIMPSON'S HOSPITAL. "WORKING BOYS' HOME. Bicycling is perhaps more popular in Dublin than might have been expected, considering the extremely bad surfaces of the 127 roads in many parts of the sur- rounding county, and the very large amount of tram line in the city itself. Possibly the Irish roads are to be thanked, however, in that they forced an Irishman to invent the Pneumatic Tyre ! The most important cycling meetings take place at BALL'S-BRIDGE, where the Irish Championships are decided, but hardly any local Athletic meetings take place at which Cycling is not a feature. Blackrock, 5 miles from Dublin, is one of the chief stations on the Kingstown railway line. It possesses fine enclosed sea-baths and is a pjpular summer resort. There is a good People's park, in which military bands play during summer months, and, altogether, Blackrock has dis- tinctly advanced in attractive- ness within recent years. An old cross, dating perhaps from the fourteenth century, stands at the end of the Main-street. Electric Tram-cars run from Dublin direct to Blackrock and on to Kingstown and Dalkey. Blessing-ton is a village in Co. Wicklow, some sixteen miles from Dublin, on the old main road to Kilkenny and the South. It is a favourite trip with Dub- liners going to the picturesque Falls of Poulaphuca on the river Liffey. The new Steam Tramway provides an easy and pleasant method of reaching the village, and will take one on to the Waterfall. The road- way, as will be seen from the view, passes directly above the Falls, but the necessary bridge, which was designed by Nimmo, has been made as little offensive POULAPHUCA. as possible, and with its orna- mental parapet and turrets forms a not unpleasant picture. Num- berless pretty peeps of river scenery can be obtained in the immediate neighbourhood of Poulaphuca. It is advisable in this trip to take the earliest car from Terenure, as the run to Blessington takes almost two hours. Blind Asylums. There are four Asylums for the Blind in Dublin. The Richmond National Institution for Industrious Blind; The Molyneux Asylum ; S. Joseph's Catholic Male Blind Asylum at Drumcondra Castle (founded in Glasnevin, 1859, and removed 1882), which is managed 128 by the Carmelite Brothers, and contains about 100 inmates, and S. Mary's Blind Asylum for Girls, at Merrion (founded, 1858), under the care of Sisters of Charity, and with about 200 in- SIMPSON'S HOSPITAL has a large number of blind inmates. Blue-Coat School, Oxman- town. KING'S HOSPITAL. Boating may be enjoyed at the various seaside resorts near town, but the chief racing clubs of Dublin have their headquarters on the Dodder at RINGSEND. Botanic Gardens. There are two Botanic Gardens : Royal Botanic Gardens, Glasnevin, under the Science and Art Depart- ment, and the Botanic Gardens, TRINITY COLLEGE. The for- mer is two miles from G.P.O., and can be reached by Glasnevin tram, from the north side of Nelson's Pillar. It is open from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on week days, and from 2 p.m. to sunset on Sundays. The conservatories close at 5 p.m. In 1 790 a petition, drawn up by Dr. Walter Wade, an enthusiastic botanist, and presented on behalf of the Dublin Society to the Irish Parliament, led to a grant being given to the Society to establish a garden, and in 1793 a plan was drawn up by Dr. Wade and adop- ted. In its last year of existence the Irish Parliament gave a further grant for the completion of the gardens. The site chosen was at the Dublin side of the village of GLAS- NEVIN (one of the most fashion- able suburbs of the time), on the right bank of the river Tolka. It had been the residence of Tickel, the poet and friend of Addison, who often stayed with him ; the yew walk is still asso- ciated with the friends, as it is called " Addison's Walk," and is the reputed spot where Tickel wrote his once-famous ballad commencing : "In Leinster, famed for maidens fair." In 1877 the garden was taken over by the Science and Art Department, and it was shortly afterwards enlarged to 40 acres by the addition of the ground between Prospect Cemetery and the river. The groundshave natural beauty and variety, and everything possible has been done to enhance their attractions, so that for its extent it would be hard to find a more beautiful garden. The gateway was erected about 1818 at the expense of Mr. Pleasants. A second storey has lately been added to one of the lodges. On entering, the house of the Superintendent will be seen to the right ; it stands almost on the site of Tickel's house ; beyond it is a fern -house and a house for the Victoria Regia and other water plants, which has on its shelves a fine collection of in- sectivorous and foliage plants ; turning to the left the larger glass- houses are reached, the palm-house occupying the top of the hill, and containing a remarkable collection of tree ferns. The porch to the near annex of the palm-house is kept filled with Orchids in flower and is always a centre of interest, as is the annex in early winter when it is filled with Chrysanthe- mums. Around these houses the Natural Orders are displayed, each having a separate bed cut out from the sward, stiffness being avoided by the graceful shapes of the beds and by the occasional introduction of shrubs between. The Yew-tree Walk and col- lection of rock plants are on the edge of a hill which falls rapidly 129 to a pond, which in summer is filled with water lilies, and is in winter the earliest hope of skaters. Luxuriant trees and shrubs adorn the declivity, and the borders of the lake and an island are devoted to moisture-loving plants. A shaded walk beyond the lake follows the margin of the Tolka the boundary at this side. Students of the Science and Art Department visit the gardens with their Professors to sketch or paint from nature. There are also collections of medicinal plants, plants useful in husbandry, &c., and it will be found that most classes are well represented and successfully culti- vated. Botanic Gardens, Col- lege. These gardens are in Pembroke-road, close to Lans- downe station. They are, of course, intended primarily for the use of students of medicine in the University ; but they will well repay a visit. There are many curious shrubs and semi-tropical plants. The present curator, F. Burbidge, is a prolific writer on Horticulture and has contributed in no small degree to bring the narcissus into its present popu- larity. Boundaries. Dublin is sur- rounded for about one-half of its circumference by two great roads called the North and South Cir- cular roads, which may be taken as roughly the boundaries prescribed in CAB AND CAR FARES. On the eastern side of the city where the Circular roads are not con- tinued, the Grand Canal and the 1 Royal Canal roughly form the boundaries on the south side and north side respectively of the Liffey. These are easily remem- bered, and the visitor will see that the whole districts com- prised in Maps A, B, and C. together with half of that in Map D, come within the city bound- aries. Bray. Bray is the most fashion- able watering place within easy reach of Dublin; it is thirteen miles distant to the south and is reached by railway from Westland- row or Harcourt-street. The former route passes through KINGSTOWN and gives exquisite sea views, especially when leaving Dalkey tunnel, and the left hand side of the train should be chosen. On the Harcourt-street line the right hand side of the train gives good mountain views and peeps at Leopardstown Racecourse, the CONVALESCENT HOME, and an old Cross at Carrickmines. The Stillorgan Reservoir and Glen- druid are passed at the other side. Bray is a fine town bounded on the south by Bray Head (793 feet) and on the north by Bray river which separates it from the County Dublin. An esplanade almost a mile long forms its sea- face ; houses front this. The chief business street is joined to the esplanade by the finely designed Queensborough-road and by the well-wooded roads grouped under the name Novara. There are several fine hotels. Bray is a first rate centre for see- ing the north side of the County Wicklow, all the interesting parts of which are within car and cycle and many within pedestrian range. Great Sugar Loaf (1,650 feet), LittleSugar Loaf (i,i2ofeet ; Bray Head (793 feet), Kippure (2,475 feet ) and Douce (2,384 feet) may be ascended. GLEN OF THE DOWNS (5 miles), DARGLE (2 miles), ENNISKERRY (3^ miles), Powerscourt Waterfall (8 miles), Lough Bray (12 miles), SCALP 130 {3 miles) can all he reached by road. Lord Meath's demesne, up Bray Head (entrance opposite to Kilruddery) is open daily ; it Kilruddery, is open on Monday is an easy drive and leaves only a and Tuesday. The carriage road few yards to be ascended on foot. 131 The sea side of Bray Head can be ascended on foot, but is closed on Friday. The more distant parts of the County Wicklow can be reached from Bray partly by train to RATHDRUM, and then by car. In this way Glendalough, Vale of Ayoca, and Meeting of the Waters, Devil's Glen, &c., can be seen. Bride, Church of S. (Map A.) S. Bride's or Bridget's Church in Bride-street is an oblong building with two long round- headed windows in the east end, and dates from 1684. Amongst the mural monuments is a plain one to T. PLEASANTS, and a handsome one to his wife. The church is disused (being joined to S. Werbugh's). The parish was taken from the Cathedral of Christ Church and granted to that of S. Patrick in 1181. It consisted of a union of three parishes, that of S. Bride and two others which are of in- terest. S. Stephen's, the church of which stood where Mercer's hospital now stands, gave its name to S. Stephen's-green. and Stephens-street. S. Michael de la Pole, the church of which stood near the "Castle steps" pos- sessed an ancient cloigtheach or circular belfry like that at S. Kevin's Kitchen, GLENDALOUGH. This church and belfry were pulled down in 1781, and Dublin lost one of its most interesting relics. A stone tablet over an archway points out the entrance to the old schools of S. Michael de la Pole. Bridges. The Liffey is crossed by ten bridges at Dublin ; they are as follows, commencing at the west and going down the river: (i.) Sarah-bridge, the found- .ation stone of which was laid in 1791 by Sarah, Countess of West- moreland ; it is now commonly called Island -bridge from the village of that name. It con- sists of one graceful arch of 104 feet span, and connects Kilmainham with the Phrenix Park. (2.) Kings-bridge, built 1827 to commemorate the visit of King George IV., in 1821. It is built of iron. (3.) Victoria-bridge, built in 1863. It took the place of Bar- rack-bridge, or, as it was more generally called, Bloody-bridge, which was built to take the place of an older wooden bridge which in 1671 (the year of its erection) the apprentices tried to destroy; in order to cut off the troops in ^ the opposite barracks from the , city ; the military interrupting them a fight ensued in which four young men were killed, and the ! bridge earned its soubriquet. (4.) Queen? s-bridge, 1764-1768, built to replace Arran-bridge which had been built in 1683, and swept away by a flood in 1 763. (5.) Whitworth-bridge, built in 1816 nearly on the site of Ormond- bridge 1684, which stood on the site of the Friars-bridge erected in 1428 by the Dominican Friars (who collected toll) to replace Old- bridge, supposed to have been built in 1215 and swept away in 1385. This was one of the principal entrances to the city in the reign of Elizabeth. It con- nects Church-street with Bridge- street. (6. ) Richmond-bridge, built 1816, from the design of James Savage, is ornamented with six well cut heads and connects Wine- tavern street with Chancery-place The balustrade of cast iron in front of the Four Courts is continuous with that on Whit- worth and Richmond bridges. 132 (7.) Grattan-bridge, built in 1678 on the model of West- minster-bridge, and called Essex- bridge after the Lord Lieutenant of that date. It was rebuilt in 1756, and in 1874 the arches were low- ered, and it was widened by metal wings bearing the pathways. In the following year it was renamed GRATTAN BRIDGE. Grattan-bridge. It connects Capel- street with Essex-street, and marks the N.E. corner of the old city . The old Custom House used to stand just below it on the south side. (8.) Wellington-bridge, 1816, formerly named the Cast-iron- bridge; it has been of recent years generally called the Metal- bridge, and few citizens would recognise it by its real name. It is a foot-bridge of a single span of 140 feet and steep gradients. A toll of d. is still charged. It connects Liffey-street with the Commercial Buildings, and through them with Dame-street. (9.) G 1 Connell-bridge or Car- lisle-bridge was built under the latter name in 1794, when the Custom House was removed from Essex-bridge to its present site. It like Essex-bridge was nar- row and steep, and in 1880 the crown of the arches was lowered, and it was doubled in width, so that now it is the width of Sackville- street and perfectly level. The new- wings follow the old work and are handsomely exe- cuted in stone. It is peculiar amongst bridges in being as broad as it is long and in having a cen- tral pathway, connected with nothing and yet largely used. When re- opened, the PORT AND DOCKS BOARD retained the name Carlisle-bridge, and the Corporation re- named it O'Connell- bridge ; a compromise was arrived at, and bronze tablets bearing both names were inserted over the names cut by the Port and Docks Board. (10.) Butt-bridge, called after ISAAC BUTT, popu- larly known as the Swivel- bridge, crosses the river im- mediately above the Custom House. It was built in 1878, and is useful rather than ornamental. It can be opened, but ships cannot pass it owing to the Loop Line. Broadstone. (Map C.) The name of a district now applied to the terminus of the M.G. W. Rail- way, opened 1847. Probably from a broad stone which crossed the river Bradoge. A branch of the Royal Canal ran into it, being carried over the Phibsborough- road by the Foster Aqueduct,, from which a fine view of the city is obtained. The station used to be reached by a floating draw- 133 ge, ut te basin filled up in 1879, and the old stores from which the " fly-boats " started for Mullingar and the Shannon, now stand round dry land. A new approach to the station from Mountjoy-street was made in 1879. Butt, Isaac, was born at Glen- fin, 1813. He had a brilliant career in Trinity College and filled the chair of Political Economy 1836-41. In 1838 he was called to the Bar, and took silk 1844 ; his ability and eloquence soon gained him a foremost place at his profession. As a Conservative he wrote for the papers and opposed O'Connell in the Cor- poration and else- where. In 1848 he de- fended Smith O'Brien, and sat for Youghal as a Liberal-Con- servative, 1852 - 65 ; he defended the Fenian prisoners, 1865-9 ; and 1871, was returned for Limerick and became leader of what he named the Home Rule Party. When Parnell invented "ob- struction " and Butt refused to practise it, the leadership changed hands. During most of his political life Butt lived in 64 Eccles-street, and from its steps, in 1869, delivered a speech more fiery than discreet. KENMARE HOUSE was afterwards his resi- dence. He died at Dundrum in 1879. Cage Houses. The timber houses of Dublin were commonly called " Cage Houses" in allusion to the bar-like effect of their beams. Some of them dated from the time of Elizabeth, but, unfortu- nately, the hand of the improver has not spared these splendid pieces of work, and not a single example remains. One of the most celebrated was the Carbrie in Skinner's-row, which was inhabi- ted by the Earl of Kildare in 1532. The last to disappear was one which stood at the corner of Castle-street and S. Werburg- street. It was removed by the WIDE STREET COMMISSIONERS in 1813. Canals. There are two canals, the Royal and the Grand, which connect Dublin with the central portion of Ireland. The Royal Canal, incorporated 1818, and now ROYAL CANAL, BROADSTONE BRANCH. the property of the Midland Great Western Ry. Co., runs parallel to that line as far as Mullingar, from which it branches off to- wards Longford, and so to the Shannon. The traffic is carried on by private traders, who pay toll to the Company. The Grand Canal (1765-1772), run- ning southward as far as Sallins (1783), and onto Monasterevan, giving connection with Athy, where the Barrow Navigation Co. joins it, and completes the 134 circuit to Waterford and many leading southern towns. Another branch of the Grand Canal runs through Tullamore to Shannon Harbour, near Banagher (1806), forming a connection by the river Shannon with such important centres of population as Athlone and Limerick, while a Branch line connects the Shannon with Ballinasloe. Carlisle Bridge BRIDGES. Carmelites, Chapel of Convent of Discalced. (Map A.) Aungier-street and York-row, consecrated 1827. The exterior is plain, but the interior is effective. One side is lit by cir- cular-headed windows, the other is occupied by niches and statues. This chapel was built by the ex- ertions of the Rev. Dr. Spratt, who also rescued the ancient figure of the Virgin Mary, now at the Epistle side of the altar. This figure is carved in oak and belonged to S. Mary's Abbey; it was burned by the common hangman and its remains placed face down- wards were hollowed out into a trough for pigs. The silver crown belonging to the statue, said to have been used in the coronation of Lambert Simnel, (CHRIST CHURCH CATHEDRAL,) was sold for old silver and melted down. Carton MAYXOOTH. Castle Chapel. The Castle Chapel, 1807-1814, is a pictur- esque structure designed by F. Johnson, in the "' Gothic " style, as he understood it, at a cost of 42,000. It is of Gothic form without the Gothic spirit, and many of its details are irreconcil- able, but standing on sloping ground and abutting on the modernised but massive Ber- mingham Tower, it is the prettiest feature of the Castle. It consists of a choir of six bays, supported by heavy buttresses terminating in pinnacles and built of black calpe. At each side of the east window are debased towers containing the gallery stairs, and between them is the office of the Ulster King of Arms. The entrance is by the north porch. The most interesting parts of the exterior are the heads cut in dark blue Tullamore marble by the Smiths ; there are ninety of these, and they include all the sovereigns of England. The most interesting are S. Peter and his Key over the north door, Dean Swift over the window above the north door, and S. Patrick, King Brian Boroimhe, and the Virgin Mary over the east door. The interior is chiefly stucco, coloured and lined to imitate stone, the woodwork is of Irish oak. The Arms of all the Vice- roys of Ireland are emblazoned in chronological order. Castle, Dublin. The Castle, the town residence of the Lord Lieutenant, has been the Royal seat of government since the time of Queen Elizabeth (1560). It is now nearly in the centre of the city, but originally formed the south- east corner of the old walled City (CiTY WALLS), and, before the WIDE STREET COMMISSIONERS opened the approaches to it, was surrounded by crooked and narrow streets. The original building was com- menced by Meyler Fitzhenry, Lord Justice, in 1205, and finished in 1 220, by Henri de Loundres, Archbishop of Dublin. It was a strong fortress, surrounded by a moat. It fell into decay, and dur- ing the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries the Viceroys wrote piteous complaints of its condition 135 and of the expense of keeping it habitable. 'It was gradually re- built, and hardly any of the ori- ginal building now exists. It stands at the west end of Dame-street, and consists of two courtyards. The Upper Castle Yard is entered from Cork-hill by a gateway, which is sur- mounted by a statue of Justice ; there is another gateway leading nowhere, " built merely to pre- serve uniformity," and between the two is the Bedford Tower,' To BEDFORD TOWER. which, erected like the gateways in the middle of the eighteenth century, has nothing mediaeval in its appearance, but is a classical fa9ade with a clock tower and cupola. Under a portico at the opposite or south side, is the en- trance to the State apartments ; the Chief Secretary's office is at the east side The west end of the south side is the rebuilt Wardrobe Tower. The Lower Castle Yard is much more picturesque, being situated on the slope of a hill ; it contains the Bermingham Tower (rebuilt about 1810, but with some of the thick old walls visible inside), in which State records are kept, the Chapel (CASTLE CHAPEL), the Ordnance office, the old Treasury standing on a terrace, and other offices, and the headquarters of the Metro- litan Police. It can be entered rom Palace-street (off Dame- street) or from Ship- street, pass- ing underneath the light draw- bridge leading to the Gardens, and by the south side of the Chapel. The State apart- ments are reached by a wide and handsome stair- case ornamented by firearms. Over the lobby mantel- piece is a fine oak carving. The chief is S. Patrick's Hall, a handsome apartment, 82 x 41 feet, and 38 feet high, decorated in white and gold, and lit since 1892 by electric lights placed along the cornice. The ceil- ing was painted in 1783 by Waldre or Waldron, for the In- stitution of the Order of S. Patrick ; it contains three large designs : George III., supported by Justice and Liberty : S. Patrick converting the Druids, and Henry II. receiving the sub- mission of the local kings. The banners and arms of the knights adorn the walls. At one end is the throne, over it is a gallery for the public ; at the other end, is a gallery for musicians and servants ; 136 and one for noblemen's daughters who have not yet "come out." Room, contains a long series of portraits of Viceroys. There are raised seats along the sides. The Council, or Supper The Throne-room is bright with crimson hangings and gild- 137 ing ; it contains the throne erect- ed for George IV., mirrors shaped like royal crowns, and a glass lustre presented by the Duke of Rutland, which is a fine specimen of Waterford glass. The Long or State Drawingroom is interest- ing as the only room containing the personal property of the reign- ing Viceroy, which is open at State functions : the Carara marble mantelpieces, with Bossi inlay, were removed to the Castle from No. 5 ELY-PLACE. Visitors are shown the State apartments when the Viceroy is not in residence. Castleknock (5 miles from G.P.O., across the Phcenix Park), possesses an interesting old castle, which has been in ruins since the Restoration. The original castle was built by the famous Hugh Tyrrel, one of Strongbow's warriors, in 1177, and stood many a siege. Only one ivy-mantled tower now re- mains. The " knock " or hill on which the castle stood is believed to be a sepulchral mound, and remains, which have been dug up, lend colour to the idea. St. Vincent's College, standing in the Old Castle Grounds, nearer to the Knockmaroon gate of the Phoenix Park, is a fine institution for the education of Catholic youth. Cathedral of S. Patrick. (Map A.) This venerable pile is believed to occupy the site of an earlier chapel erected by Ireland's patron saint in 448 A.D. However this may be, it was undoubtedly a Pa- rochial Church at a very early date, and in 1190 the site was chosen by John de Comyn for his new Collegiate establishment " to en- courage the study of good literature in Ireland." Comyn's successor in the see, Henri de Loundres, the only Irish prelate who was present at the signing of the Magna Charta at Runnymede, raised S. Patrick's to the dignity of a Cathedral with Dean and Chapter. The Cathedral had a very chequered existence for the succeeding centuries, and was the scene of many turbulent meetings. An old door is shown in the North Aisle which bears witness to the quarrel between the Earls of Kildare and Ormond, represen- tatives of the Red and White Roses. Ormond fled into the Chapter House, fearing for his life, and was only induced to come forth when Kildare pledged his honour "that he should receive novillanie." A hole was cut in the door of the Chapter House that the Earls might shake hands as a token of their reconciliation ! During the last year of Henry VIII. the Cathedral was sup- pressed and its revenues given up to the Crown by Dean Bassenet " the scoundrel (as Dean Swift calls him) who surrendered the deanery to that beast Henry VIII." Within a few years however (in 1554) the Cathedral was reconsti- tuted by Philip and Mary. In 1663 we notice that the Lady Chapel was granted for the use of the French Protestant refugees who were at that time very nu- merous in Dublin. In 1 783 during the Lord Lieutenancy of Earl Temple, was instituted the Most Illustrious Order of S. Patrick, and few indeed of the pageants seen within the walls have equalled in brilliancy the installation of some of the Knights notably that of H. R. H. The Prince of Wales in 1868. Owing to re- peated and strangely incongruous attempts at restoration, very little remained of the ancient portion of 138 the building, when in 1860 the dilapidated condition of the sacred edifice became so serious, that one of our leading citizens, Sir Benjamin Lee Guinness, under- of the old \vork amid the later repairs ; but while it is not possible to extol too highly the munificence of Sir B. Guinness, whofe work throughout was a work of love, took the entire restoration at his own sole cost. The restoration cost .150,000. and was a matter of extreme difficulty, owing to the impossibility of tracing remnants one cannot help regretting that he should have ventured to dispense with the assistance of a professional architect in his restoration. It can hardly be doubted that great 139 and irreparable injury has been done by a renovation conducted in some respects with but little regard to the preservation of all that was truly antique in the building. Practically the Cathedral may be said to have been rebuilt, the S. wall of the Nave was wholly rebuilt, as were the N. and S. Aisles, and a S. Porch was added. The galleries and old-fashioned pews which so disfigured the in- terior were swept away, and the floor which had been greatly raised was reduced to its original level. Among the earlier repairs during the present century may be noted the rebuilding in 1821, of the North Transept, which had been long in ruins, to act as a Parish Church of S. NICHOLAS WITH- OUT ; the successful restoration in 1845 owing to the liberality of Dean Pakenham of the choir, of which a strange description may be found in Wright's "Historical Guide, 1821. "The choir was formerly roofed with stone flags of an azure colour, and inlaid with stars of gold ; but the weight of the roof being too great for the support beneath, it was re- moved, and discovered traces of IOO win- dows." During wet weather serious injuries had been done by the river Poddle, which has on many occasions inun- dated the building. and it was not until 1880, that the genero- sity of Lord Ardilaun enabled the Dean and Chapter to construct a new system ofdrainage, which has effectually got rid of the previous damp. In 1872 the Synod of the Church of Ireland, then disestablished, constituted S. Patrick's the Na- tional Cathedral of the Church of Ireland, each diocese having the right of patronage to one Pre- bendal Stall,,whilethe Archbishops and other Prelates have Stalls reserved for them . The architecture of S. Pat- rick's is for the most part Early English, but owing to the neces- sity for constant repairs, many specimens of later styles are to be seen. The length is 300 LADY CHAPEL. 140 feet, breadth of the nave 67 feet, while the extreme breadth at the transepts is 157 feet. The Spire, erected in 1705 by Bishop Sterne, is 101 feet high and stands upon a much older tower, 120 feet high, built probably in 1307 by Bishop Minot, whose device (a bishop holding a steeple in his hand) may bear reference to this Pakenham (to whose memory also the pulpit has been erected) is a very beautiful work. In this chapel the Upper House of Convocation used to meet, and here are still held the Visitations of the Chap- ter. The chair used by the Presi- dent is believed to be that in which King William III. sat when he attended Service in the S. PATRICK 3. FROM S. DOOR. fact. The ornamental cross which finishes the spire was added by Sir B. Guinness. The Lady Chapel, said to have been founded in 1270, is believed to have been modelled, so far as its clustered columns with their branching capi- tals are concerned, on the famous Chapter House of Salisbury Cathedral. The window to Dean Cathedral after the Battle of the Boyne. An arcade has been lately ( 1 892) constructed all round the Lady Chapel, and immensely improves the effect. This is the gift of J. G. Nutting, in memory of his daughter. To describe in detail the monu- ments would occupy more space 141 than we can afford, but some of the most famous deserve special notice. In the Baptistery the massive figure built into the wall on the right side of the window was formerly believed to represent Archbishop Comyn, but is now generally admitted to be St. Patrick. The tiles of which the flooring of the Baptistery is composed are of very great anti- quity, having formed originally the steps of S. Paul's side altar in the S. Transept. Above the Baptistery was the Cathedral School in which tradition tells us the famous Ussher was educated. The monument of Archbishop Tregury (1449) is very noteworthy also in this portion of the building, as is the effigy of Fulk de Saundford ; but the extremely dim light renders it quite im- possible to see these interesting relics satis- factorily. In the Nave is the pulpit from which Swift used to preach, and beside it one is immediately attracted by the noble Boyle monument, erected by the first Earl of Cork to the memory of his wife. A strange history is told concerning this monument, to the effect that it stood originally in the place of the high altar. Lord Strafford, then Lord Lieutenant, on a bitter complaint from Laud that " this structure occupied the place of God's altar," appointed a Royal Commission, on whose recommendation the monument was removed and erected else- where. We are further told that the misfortunes which overtook Strafford were traceable in some degree to his share in this re- moval, inasmuch as the Earl of Cork's evidence given at the trial contributed very largely to Straf- ford 's condemnation. The statue of Captain Boyd by Farrell, with an inscription from the pen of Dr. Alexander, Loid Bishop of Derry, is said to be an excellent likeness of that heroic officer, who lost his life while endeavouring to rescue the crew ot a sinking brig off KINGSTOWN. ' In the N. Aisle at its west end *. AISLE, s. PATRICK'S 142 may be noticed the Mayo memo- rial window, in memory of the while Governor-General of India. The monument of one of Ireland's s. PATRICK'S (LOOKING w. FROM LADY CHAPEL). Earl of Mayo, who was assassi- nated in the Andaman Islands greatest orators, John Philppt Curran, occupies the first place in 143 this Aisle, His remains, after lying for 20 years in the vaults of Paddington Church, were con- signed to Glasnevin where they now rest. The monument to Archbishop Jones (1619), which stood originally in the Choir, occu- pying an entire arch, next attracts attention, and further on come, among many others, a statue to Chief Justice Whiteside, and a slab in memory of Samuel Lover, whose amazing versatility is hap- pily described in the inscription. His remains rest in Kensal-green Cemetery. Turning into the ^V. Transept we come upon one of the oldest memorials in the Cathedral, the monument of Bishop Meredyth, bearing date 1597. This monu- ment, destroyed in 1688 by Crom- wellian troopers, has been fre- quently repaired by pious descend- ants of the deceased prelate,forming in this respect a remarkable con- trast to the Schomberg memorial, on the N. wall of this Transept. The famous duke was killed at the Battle of the Boyne (1690). and the inscription records, in Dean Swift's bitter style, how the Dean and Chapter "after repeatedly imploring theduke's heirs to erect a memorial, had been finally obliged themselves to set up this slab, that at least the stranger might know where lie the ashes of Duke Schomberg.'' " The closeness of his kinship had less weight with his own family than had the fame of his deeds among strangers." The duke's skull is to be seen in the Vestry, and shows the hole in the forehead caused by the bullet which killed him. Above the tomb may be seen some military relics, including the cannon ball which killed Lord Loftusas he sat in his tent (Sept., 1691,) at the siege of Limerick. The memorial window to the men "of the i8th Royal Irish, who fell in the Crimea, 1855-6," is also in this Transept, the N. end of which is occupied by two large memorials to those of the same regiment who fell in China. Passing into the North Choir Aisle we see the ancient monu- ment of Dame St. Leger, who died in 1603, having had no less than four husbands ! Some scraps of old S. Patrick's are to be seen in the S. Choir Aisle, as we leave the Lady Chapel the lid of an ancient Sarcophagus, with an incised Celtic cross, and a recumbent figure of a monk in a recess of the S. Choir wall. Here, too, must be noticed some sepulchral brasses, the more interesting as being the only old memorials of this kind now existing in Ireland. They are in memory of Deans Sutton (1528), and Fyche (1537). The silver inlay on these brasses is peculiarly worthy of notice. Brasses to Sir Henry Wallop (1599), and Sir Edward Ffitton (1573), with long inscripiton, are also in this Aisle. At the base of the first pillar of the S. Transept is shown the well of S. Patrick ; but it is now believed that the well in which he baptized was near the steeple in the North Close. The S. Transept contains an elaborate monument to the learned Primate Marsh (1713), whose library remains to the present day, a memorial of this public benefactor. Archbishop Smyth's (1771) monument, and that of Viscountess Doneraile (1761), are of some interest, and a small slab, erected by Dean Swift, records the virtues of Alex- ander M'Gee (1721), one of the Dean's servants. The tomb of the learned Archbishop Whately 144 stands in the west corner of the Transept. The S. Aisle con- tains few monuments, but a memorial window has been placed here by Sir Robert Stewart, late organist of the cathedral, in memory of Sir John Stephenson, whose collaboration with Moore in "The Irish Melodies," has rescued for us many gems of our National music. DEAN S"W1FT. The bust of Swift, which is above the Robing-room door, was executed by a sculptor named Cunningham for Swift's publisher, Alderman Faulkner, by whose nephew it was, in 1775, presented to the Chapter. The likeness to the Dean is considered the best extant, and exhibits strongly the characteristic sloping forehead. The monument of the Dean stands close by, and bears this inscription from his own pen : Hie depositum est corpus JONATHAN SWIFT, S.T.D. Hujus Ecclesiae Cathedralis, Decani, ubi saeva indignatio ulterius Cor lacerare nequit. Abi viator Et imitare si poteris Strenuum pro virili Libertatis vindicatorem. Obiit 19 die mensis Octobris, A.D. 1745. Anno Actatis 78. The inscription on the right side of the robing-room door com- memorates the virtues of the famous Stella (Mrs. Hester Johnston), who died in 1727-8, and was buried by torchlight. During some alterations, rendered necessary, in 1835, by the over- flowing of the river Poddle, which passes under the Cathedral, the coffins of Swift and Stella were exposed to view and casts were taken of their skulls. The bells of the Cathedral were, for the most part, recast in 1670, but two were added in 1864 by Sir B. Guinness, for use in con nection with the very curious clock which chimes various airs. The services of the Cathedral are held at 11.15 A - M - an( i S^S p ' M -> ar "d are fairly well attended. The music at the afternoon service on Sunday is excellent, and has been irreverently called "Paddy's Opera." The clearing away of many old houses on the north side of the building has already greatly improved the approach from that side, and if the present intention of making a garden 145 there be carried out, the advantage below. In the side aisles are a both to S. Patrick's and to the number of interesting monuments neighbourhood will be veiy con- and in the ambulatory are other siderable. altars. The interior of the Cathedral Of S. Mary Cathedral has lately been deco- (Metropolitan Church). (Map rated. C.) Commonly called the Pro- Catherine,Church of S. Cathedral, stands in Marlborough- S. Catherine's Church, Thomas- street, opposite the Model schools, street, 1760-69, was designed by It was built on the site of Annes- John Smith. It is built almost ley House, 1816-1825, from the on the site of S. Thomas's Abbey, design of an amateur artist living It has a classical faa^de, 92 feet in Paris. l n g> a t one side ; the unfinished It is Grecian, the chief facade, tower at the west end and the 118 feet long, having a portico high pitched roof dominating the (raised on a platform approached facade quite spoil the exterior by steps) consisting of six fluted effect. However at the time it Doric columns supporting an was considered a triumph " In entablature, continued around the architectural beauty inferior only sides, ornamented with triglyphs to that of S. THOMAS' CHURCH. and surmounted by a pediment The interior measures 80 x 47. bearing statues of the Virgin, S. Five bells were hung in the old Patrick and S. Laurence O'Toole tower in 1670. but they have dis- (one guide book names them appeared. The Earls of Meath "Faith, Hope and Charity" !). for several generations were buried The sides also are architecturally under the altar, and there are fa cades and measure 1 60 feet. In monuments to William Mylne, the original appeal are the follow- 1790, who "established on a per- ing words: "We flatter ourselves feet system the Waterworks of that there will soon be presented Dublin," and to Dr. Whitelaw, to the eye of the traveller on 1813, the historian of Dublin, entering our city a specimen of Catholic Boys' Home, 72 architectural elegance that must and 73 Middle Abbey-street bespeak the taste of the Irish (Map. C). Founded in 1887, for people," and although taste has the purpose of providing destitute changed since its inception it is a boys, of not more than 16, with fine specimen of classical archi- food and lodging at a nominal cost, tecture. It is under the care of the clergy The interior contains nave and of S. Mary's Cathedral, and is side aisles separated by colonades; much used by lads who live by at the west end is an apse contain- selling newspapers, ing a magnificent altar of white Catholic University, The marble, executed by Turnerelli, (Map A.) is situated in St. standing out from the wall and en- Stephen's-green on the south side, closed by a circular railing. To the The main building, easily recog- left on entering is a fine statute of nised by the recumbent lion over Cardinal Cullen (by Farrell) the door, was the town house of standing on a drum surrounded the famous Buck Whaley, whose by figures ; at the opposite side is many feats earned him an un- a statute of Archbishop Murray enviable notoriety. The lion (by Farrell) with two figures above the handsome Doric door- 146 way was cast according to Malton by the celebrated Van Nost. The building, in spite of late addi- tions, is not very suitable for its present purpose, and can be re- garded only as a makeshift, until funds are forthcoming to erect a building which shall be a fitter home for the Catholic University. The University was founded in 1854 by Pope Pius IX., and is under the supreme government of the Catholic Archbishops and Bishops of Ireland. Since 1882 the University consists not of one college only but of several which, while retaining their separate or ganization, co-operate for the ad- vancement of higher Catholic education. Degrees are granted at present in theology and philo- sophy only, while students in arts, medicine, law, and en- gineering proceed to their degrees in the ROYAL UNIVERSITY. The colleges composing the University are, St. Patrick's College, MAY- NOOTH ; University College, Stephen's-green ; St. Patrick's College, Carlow ; University College, Blackrock ; Holy Cross College, CLONLIFFE ; The Medi- cal School, Cecilia-street. Catholic University Church. (Map A.) The Church of the Catholic University, S. Stephen's-green, S., the en- trance to which is by a Roman- esque door next the University, was erected by Cardinal Newman (1856) on the model of a church in Rome ; indeed it is said that the marble which covers the walls formerly lined a church in Rome and was given by Pius IX. to the Cardinal, but this is uncertain. A bust of Cardinal Newman (who as Dr. Newman, was rector of the University) by Farrell (1892), stands in a marble niche. Over the marble panneling are copies of Raphael's cartoons. A lady chapel has been added, and Justice O'Brien has had all the alabaster capitals carved and stained glass placed in the lady chapel. It was formerly a col- legiate church for students in residence, but is now a parochial chapel-of-ease. Cemetery of Mount Jerome, Harold's-cross, is more especially devoted to the burial of Protestants, and contains many handsome memorials, though none perhaps so striking as the tombs of O'Connell or Curran in PROSPECT CEMETERY. The grounds are, however, of equal beauty, and considerable taste is exhibited in the care of the ceme- tery. The entrance is beside Harold's Cross Church, and a broad walk leads directly to the mortuary chapel, a Gothic building in the Early English style. Among many tombs of less- general interest is to be noticed that of the poetDavis, of" Young Ireland" fame, with a superb marble statue by Hogan. White- side the orator lies beside the mortuary chapel. Cemetery, Prospect. (By Glasnevin tram from north side of Nelson Pillar, 3d. ; alighting at junction of Glasnevin and Finglas roads.) Scandals connected with burial led Daniel O'Connell, in 1823, to recommend the foundation of a Catholic burial place, and in 1828 one was opened at Golden-bridge. This becoming rapidly full, a larger one was opened in a northern suburb near Glasnevin in 1832, and subsequently several times enlarged. At present it consists of some 58 acres, and is surrounded by high walls broken at intervals by towers in which watchers armed with guns used tc- 147 PARNELL'S GRAVE, O'CONNELL TOWER AND MORTUARY CHAPEL. be placed to prevent body snatchers from crossing the walls. There are two entrances, that on the Finglas road, was built in 1878, and is exceedingly beauti- ful. It consists of a long stretch of railings with handsome gates and noble piers of carved granite. Through the railings are seen the mortuary Chapel, O'Connell Round Tower, and numerous beautiful memorials. The Mortuary Cha- pel of the Resurrec- tion ot our Lord (1879) is a beautiful granite building of Roman- esque architecture of twelfth century Irish design, such as is met with on the Rock of Cashel. It was de- signed by J. J. M'Carthy, R.H. A., the windows being supplied by Messrs. Clayton and Bell. The O'Connell Monument consists of around tower 170 feet in height, in a vault under which the body of the Liberator was laid in 1869, having rested in the O'Connell Circle for twenty - two years. The re- mains are enclosed in an altar tomb, through the trefoil openings of which the coffin can be seen. Curiously enough, by mis- take, his age was engraved on the brass let into the altar slab as 73 instead of 71. Numbers of other tombs of in- terest can be found. Curran, Sir John Gray, Tom Steel, Dr. Spratt, John Hogan the sculptor, John O'Donovan the Irish scholar, William Smith O'Brien, Cardinal Cullen, and Parnell, are but a few names chosen at hazard from the many which are house- hold words in Ireland. Many of the tombs are of great CTJRRAN'S TOMB. 148 beauty and nearly all are in good taste. Charlemont House. (Map C. ) Charlemont House stands a little back in the centre of Palace- row, the north side of Rutland- square. The house was designed by Lord Charlemont, assisted by Sir William Chambers ; the front is of Arklow stone, the basement is rusticated, and the first floor CHARLEMONT HOUSE. has five windows adorned with architraves, and surmounted by pediments alternately angular and circular. At the sides of the doorway are obelisks which for- merly supported lamps, and semi- circular curtain walls with niches and balustrades enclose the space in front. There is a rather fine staircase, but the rooms are shorn of their beauty by the removal of old mantelpieces and doors. The windows of the upper storey are curiously concealed. There is a splendid view of Dublin from the flat raised roof. In the early years of the present century this house contained a valuable col- lection of picture's and curios. It is now used as the General Register office. The library is used in Census years. A public search room was built (1895). A long passage, off which a small library with semi-circular ends opens, leads to the large library erected at the end of the garden. The ante-room, lit by a dome, contains the niche where the celebrated Venus stood, but the marble pillars and carved wood have been removed. The ceilirtg of this ante-room is a fine example of stucco, but all the old work has dis- appeared from the library. Chess ClubS. There are many Chess Clubs in and about Dublin. The most important are the Dublin C.C. (1867), 35 Molesworth- street ; the City C. C. (1887), Coffee Palace; the Dublin University C. C. (1875). Most of the suburbs have Clubs, some of which are very strong. The Dublin Club of Living Chess (1891), gives performances of chess and whist for charities. There are weekly Chess columns in several of the Dublin papers, and an annual contest for the "Armstrong Cup" tests the relative strength of the Clubs. Christ Church Cathe- dral. (Map A). The Cathedral of the Holy Trinity, commonly called Christ Church Cathedral, is architecturally and historically the most interesting building in Dublin. Having been built by the Danes, who were hemmed in by hostile tribes, and rebuilt by the English as the Cathedral of the Pale, it is in striking contrast to the Romanesque found in other parts of Ireland. Indeed so far were English ideas carried that in 1380 a law was 149 passed that no native should te suffered to profess himself in this institution, and, except in the reign Probably no other building so frequently destroyed and so dread- fully altered was ever restoied, CHRIST CHURCH CATHEDRAL B. END. of James II., no Irishman was admitted even as Vicar-Choral until late in the eighteenth century. but owing to the liberality of a citizen and the genius of an archi- tect, Christ Church is now almost 150 exactly as it was when rebuilt in the thirteenth century. The eventful history of the Cathedral can be but briefly sum- marised. In 1038 it was founded by the Danish King Sitric for Secular Canons. About 1163 it was changed by Archbishop Laurence O'Toole in- to a Priory. Soon after 1 1 72 it was enlarged, a choir and steeple, and two chapels being added by Arch- bishop Laurence O'Toole, Strong- bow and others. 1 181-1225 the rest of the build- ing was remodelled. All the old parts now remaining date from this period ; as the work was done by the English its style is similar to that of the same period in England, and the work marks the transitional period passing from Norman to early English Gothic. From the character of the details Mr. Street considered that those who worked at Glaston- bury and South Wales also worked here. From this on the history of the fabric is chiefly a catalogue of mis- fortunes. In 1 283 some of the neighbour- ing tribes set fire to Skinner's- row, and the fire spreading to the Cathedral, the steeple, chapter- house, cloister and dormitory were burned . The citizens deserve credit for having raised money to repair the Cathedral before they attempted to rebuild their own houses ; however in 1316 the new steeple was burned down. In 1300 precedence over S.Pat- rick's was formally acknowledged. Between 1349 and 1362 an in- tentional alteration wrought great ruin. Archbishop John de S. Paul pulled down the Apsidal Norman Choir which was 32 feet deep, and erected an oblong one 105 feet long, which had a bend to the north, in order to take ad- vantage of the S. wall of an older Lady Chapel as a foundation for his north wall, and so economise. The design of this Chancel was strangely poor, considering the splendid work being done in Eng- land at the same time. It was in this Chancel that Service was held until the restoration ; the rest of the building being used as a pro- menade. In 1461 the great E. window was blown in, and the records, relics, &c., injured. In 1486 a curious piece of his- tory was enacted in the Cathedral. Lambert Simnel was conducted to it in state and formally crowned as Edward VI. In 1538 Henry VIII. restored it to its original foundation as a Cathedral, with a Dean and Chap- ter of Secular Canons. On Easter Day, 1551, the Lit- urgy was read in English for the first time in Ireland in Christ Church Cathedral. In 1562 the crowning catastro- phe occurred. The heavy stone- groined roof had gradually spread the walls asunder, and in this year fell, carrying most of the south wall and west front, and leaving the north side of the nave leaning out as it does to the present. In 1563 a hideous blank wall was built where the south pillars of the nave had stood, and a wooden roof was added. The fallen stones were not removed, but were levelled and flagged over, raising the level of the floor, but preserving for Mr. Street a quarry in which details of carving and design were found which enabled the original building to be repro- duced ; and Mr. Street has left lasting testimony to the fidelity 151 of his work by building in old stones here and there throughout the new work. Although the ruinous state of the Cathedral required occasional patching, it remained from this date until its restoration in practi- cally the same condition. In 1682 the remains of the monastic and other buildings to the south of the nave were re- moved, and the King's Courts erected instead ; these courts were used until the Four Courts were erected on Inn's-quay. A low, dark passage leading into the yard of the Courts was named "Hell," from a figure of black oak which stood in a niche in it, it was probably an old figure of the Virgin, and originally stood over the entrance to the passage, but from its blackness it was popularly considered to represent the devil. The connection be- tween hell and the lawyers was a fruitful source of jokes in Dublin of the eighteenth century. In the earlier part of this century the Commissioners of Wide Streets removed the north side of Skinner's-row and the buildings known as Christ Church Yard, leaving the open space that now exists between the Cathedral and Christ Church-place, which latter is the south side of old Skinner's- row. 1831 is the last date of degene- ration. In it the oblong choir was remodelled, and poor as it always was, it was made still poorer by being robbed of nearly every relic of its original architecture. Another curious alteration was made at the same time, the beauti- ful Norman door, was removed from the North Transept and placed in the South Transept, where it still remains. The Great Restoration of this century lasted from 1871-8, and was carried out at the sole cost of Henry Roe, D.L., under the direction of George Street, R.AJ, Architect. In 1872, an Act of the General Synod made Christ Church the Cathedral Church of the united Dioceses of Dublin,Glenda- lough, and Kildare. The opening of Lord Edward-street (188$) cleared the east end of the Cathe- dral, and new railings were erected. Part of a fund for the unemployed was devoted to laying out the grounds. In 1893 the east end was completed under the supervision of T. Drew, R.H.A. The approach to the Cathedral from Dame-street is very beautiful. At first the mass of the Cathedral attracts attention, but gradually resolves itself, and the central tower stands out from the sur- rounding gables and roofs, then these separate, and from the up- per end of LordEd ward-street the beauty and richness of the exterior can be appreciated. The grounds are entered by a small east gate, close to the frag- ment of wall which formed one of the corners of the fourteenth cen- tury chancel ; the path leads past the choir buildings, the apsidal chapels, S. Laurence O'Toole's chapel, and the S. transept, with its beautiful Norman door, in front of which lie the ruins of the Chapter House From this point the exterior of the Nave, the bridge leading to the Synod Hall, and the site of the cloister garth are seen. The Cathedralisentered\hx<M.g\ the south porch, from which steps lead to the Synod Hall bridge ; it contains a handsome marble monument erected by the Royal Dublin Society to Thomas Prior, their founder, ob. 1756. The best view of the interior is from inside the west door. As the eves become accustomed to the the graceful Early English nave, with its old north side CHRIST CHURCH (LOOKING E.). gloom the beauties of the build- ing gradually disclose themselves leaning out, the baptistery, the screen, the tower arches, the 153 apsidal chancel, the coloured windows, the exquisite tiles. The JVave is thirteenth century Early English Gothic ; the mould- ings of the piers and arches are numerous and rich, and the capi- tals have carved heads and stalked foliage. The triforium consists of triple openings, the centre having a trefoil head ; the clerestory has a similar arrangement. The sills of the triforium rest upon a moulded string course, from which spring shafts of dark blue lime- stone, running up and dividing the groups of triforium and cleres- tory openings, and giving depth and colour to the design, an effect which is intensified by the groined roof springing, not from corbels, but from the capitals of annulated columns starting from the base of the nave piers. The surface of the pillars at the north side is new, but the wall above is mostly old, and leans out from the tops of the pillars owing to the spread of the original roof ; a recurrence of this has been pre- vented by the use of flying but- tresses. The tiles are very rich in colour- ing and variety of surface (being impressed, inlaid, and in relief), and are all copies of old tiles dug up during the restoration. The large circles in the centre aisle re- present the disciples going out two by two. All the windows are filled with stained glass ; the western Jesse and smaller windows, are in me- mory of Lord Chancellor Black - burne ; the windows in the north clerestory contain the arms of the Irish dioceses ; the lower shield in the most westerly is placed side- wards, and contains Mr. Roe's arms, and his monogram is car- ved on the central boss of the westerly bay of the south side aisle. Going along the north aisle a small door is seen which leads by a turret to the clerestory and roof ; the baptistery opens from the second bay by an arch of peculiar shape built up of old stones, and here it may be pointed out that in almost every arch or moulding Mr. Street has had at least one old stone inserted as a proof that he was following the old design. The Baptistery is a copy of a Baptistery, or perhaps a porch, the foundations of which were found at a lower level. It is an archi- tectural gem. The roof is sup- ported by two central slender clus- tered columns of Irish marble and ten columns placed round the walls. There are ten lancet and five oval windows filled with coloured glass, and a table bench runs all round. The windows were put in by Mr. Street in memory of his wife. Those on the right side give her Christian names by having figures of S. Mary and S. Anne, and Mr. Street's are shown at the left by S. George and 8. Edmund. The other five are Irish saints, amongst whom S. Cuthbert is included. Between the centre pillars stands the font on a slab of black marble ; green and red shafts support a grey bowl elaborately inlaid with coloured marble. The arch leading from the aisle into the north transept is part of the original work, and is a most beautiful example of transitional Norman work. . In the south aisle is what is known as the Strongbow Monu- ment. It consists of two monu- ments lying side by side, each on its own block of marble. Thelarger figure is that of a knight in full armour, and is reported to repre- 154 STRONGBOW sent Strongbow; it is really an effigy substituted in 1570 (the arms on the shield are those of FhzOsmond), the original monu- ment having been hopelessly broken by the fall of the cathedral. The smaller figure is older, and is only from the hips up. Legend says that it represents Strongbow's son, who, showing cowardice in battle, was cut in two by his father. As some say that Strongbow only ran his sword through, and others that his son fought in subse- quent battles, it is more probable that the figure was broken in two by the fall of the roof and the bro- ken end roughly chiselled off. The appearance of the intestines, however, gives strength to the legend. Bones, thought to be those of Strongbow, were found in a hollow space over the crypt arching, exactly be- neath where the monument now lies ; they were placed in a box from which they mysteriously disappeared. In old agreements it was often arranged that payments were to be made on Strongbow's tomb, and the custom has only lately died out. Against the wall of the south aisle are the two following inscrip- tions : THIS : AVCYENT : MONVMENT : OF : RYCHARD : STRA NGBOWE : CALLED : COMES : STRANGULENSIS : LORD : OF t CHEPSTO : AND : OGNY : THE : FYRST : AND : PRYNCYPALL INVADER : OF : IRELAND : 1169 : QUI : OBIIT : 1177 : THE MONVMENT : WAS : BROCKEN : BY : THE : FALL : OF THE : ROOF : AND : BODYE : OF : CHRISTES CHVRCHE : IN : A : 1562 : AND : SET : VP AGAYNE : AT : THE : CHARGYS : OF : THE RIGHT : HONORABLE : SR : HENRI : SYDNEY KNYGHT : OF : THE : NOBLE : ORDER : L PRESIDENT : OF IRELAND : 1570. WAILES DEPVTY OF 155 T : RIGHT : HONORABLE : T : ERL OF : SVSSEX : L : LEUTNT : THIS : WAL : FEL : DOWN : IN : AN : 1562 : T : BILDING : OF : THIS : WAL : WAS : IN : AN : 1562. Rebuilt in its ancient form in anno 1878 by the Duke of Marlborough, L. Lieutenant. Reposuit W.B.P. 1891. The pillar between the nave and south transept has four heads carved on it. They represent (from the side aisle to the nave) Mr. Street, Archbishop Trench, Mr. Roe and Primate Beresford. The Royal and Mayoralty State pews have the ancient arms affixed to them. The pulpit is supported by columns of greenGal way marble resting on bases of red Cork mar- ble, which stand on a massive slab of Kilkenny marble. The panels contain figures of the four Evangelists, and the cornice is of red marble. From this the west window is well seen ; it has five lofty lancets, the three inner are stilted, and the centre has a trefoil head. The Screen. This is a most beautiful piece of work, and, like the pulpit, was designed by Mr. Street. The base is red Cork marble, columns of Kilkenny mar- ble divide it into five parts, of which the centre is the doorway, and a richly carved course of Kil- kenny marble runs across. The arches are finely carved, the Pascal Lamb being represented over the door ; the finial over it is a copy of the famous Cross of Cong ; the gables are double. The lower part of the arches were at first filled in with alabaster diaper, but lately gilt metal has been substi- tuted. The South Transept is a beautiful and impressive example of transi- tional work ; the capitals, mould- ings and string courses are richly carved. It contains a monument to the Earl of Kildare, ob. 1743, and a quaint one dating from 1677. The ascent to the tower is com- menced at the S.W. corner, and at the east side is the entrance into S. Laurence G'Toole's Chapel, founded circ. 1 190, destroyed early in the present century and rebuilt 1871. It is entered by an ancient arch and contains an effigy usually described as that of S. Laurence O'Toole, but more probably Archbishop Comyn who built the present north-side of the nave. The effigy in Purbech marble is supposed to represent Strong - bow's wife. There is also the following monumental inscription to John de Lombard circ. 1310 : John Lumbard of the County of Parma and Dame Rame Paris of Saint Savour of Esturia, his wife, and all their lineage died whilst in this country lie here. Proceeding round the Ambula- tory (which is entered by an ancient arch) the three eastern chapels are seen. They were built circ. 1171, destroyed circ. 1315 and rebuilt 1871. The ambulatory and Chapels have a bench table round the walls and transitional arches. Chafel of S. Laud or S. Lo. contains a brass commemorating the restoration by Mr. Roe ; and lort the heart of S. Laurence O'Toole. fragment of the old work is in- It is paved with old tiles. Chapel serted. There are seventeen CHK1SI CHURCH SCREEN AND S. TRANSEPT. of Sancta Maria Alba or Lady sedilia, the centre, for the bishop, Chapel, on the north side, a single is the largest. Chapel of S. 15; Edmund, King and Martyr. The Chapter-room, Choristers School- rooms, &c., are built on the site of the chapel of the B. V. Mary. The North Transept contains the organ which stands on a carved gallery of Caen stone supported by marble columns ; it is a fine instrument built by Telford, the case being designed by Mr. Street. The Choir is made up of the apse and the space under the Central Tower. The apse has five arches surmounted by beautiful diaper work, the north and south arches are fine examples of the work of Strongbow's time and show their tran- sitional character by the combination of Norman ornament with the pointed arch . The new capi- tals are beautifully carved. The long brass north of the sanctuary is to Arch- bishop Trench, 1886, and bears a faithful likeness. The com- bination of the marble and tiles in the sanctuary floor deserves attention ; indeed all the details here are of exceeding beauty. The eagle lectern dates from the fifteenth century. The four arches supporting the central tower are richly carved ; they were inserted during the restoration, ten feet above the original arches which were plain and by their lowness spoiled the interior view. The Crypt is reached from the south aisle of the nave by a circular headed door leading into a small chapel containing an altar tomb to Bishop Lindsay (for forty- two years Dean of the Cathedral) ob. 1846. The old connection be- tween the Bishoprick of Meath and the Deanery of the Cathedral will be noticed on several monu- ments. Old worn steps lead down into the extensive and well cared crypt, which is lit by gas and contains a large number of monu- ments and antiquities ; only a few can be mentioned. Lord Chan- cellor Bowes, ob. 1767. The ancient stocks which stood until THE CITT STOCKS. 1821, in Christchurch-place. Wood-carving about 200 years old. Fragments of pottery, old mortars, metal work, &c., dug up during various excavations, and a piece of the peat which underlies the soil. The tabernacle and candlesticks used at Mass in the Cathedral in the reign of James II. The statues of Chas. II. and James, Duke of York, brought from the THOLSEL, until the restoration stood in the north transept. Busts of Dr. Welbore Ellis and his wife, ob. 1733 and 158 1739- Richard Woodward, organ- ist of the Cathedral oh. 1777, with one of his chants, in musical notation, sculptured on the monu- ment. The monument to Steven- son is of rare beauty and might with advantage be restored to the Cathedral ; it was carved by T. IN THE CRYPT. Kirk; and consists of a bust of Stevenson ; leaning against the pedestal is a choir-boy bearing the scroll of an anthem. The monument to Nathaniel Sneyd is generally considered Kirk's best work ; the dying figure is touchingly rendered. The monuments to Thomas Abbott, ob. 1837, and to Sir Samuel Aughmuty are also by Kirk. There are a large number of fragments of carved stone saved during the restoration. The T0wera\so is worth visiting. There are thirteen bells on which tunes are played every three hours. The clock has no external face. The nave is open, but a charge of 6d. is made for seeing the chan el. transepts and crypt, and a further charge of 6d. is made for ascending the tower. Christian Union Build- ings (Map C.) The Christian Union Buildings in Lower Abbey Street are erected on the site of the Metropolitan Hall, formerly the Music Hall. They were opened in 1882. There is a large hall with a smaller hall and corridor at one side, all of which can be joined into one when re- quired. The front of the building, which is a hand- some elevation of red brick and limestone, con- tains the rooms of the Y. M. C. A., and the offices of other Societies. There is a gym- nasium in the basement. Circular Roads BOUND ARIES. City Hall (Map A.) Cork-hill, formerly the Royal Exchange, was built from the designs of Thomas Cooley in 1769, by a Society of Dublin merchants, the expenses of the building being raised by lotteries. The famous patriot, Dr. Charles Lucas, then one of the city representatives, secured from Parliament the purchase money for the site. The Exchange seems however to have been very little used for its original purpose, but soon became a" popular place for public meetings. Here usually the famed Volunteers used to meet for reviews ; and here the Yeo- 159 manry had their head quarters in 1798, and perpetrated many cruel- ties on passers by who fell under their suspicion. Here in 1800, Daniel O'Connell made his first public speech a protest against the Union with Great Britain. On the assimilation of Irish currency to that of England the original purpose of the Exchange ceased to exist, and attempts were made by the CHAMBER OF COMMERCE to sell the building to the Govern- ment. These were, however, not successful, and in 1852 the Ex- change became the City Hall of the Corporation of Dublin. The building is deservedly considered to be one of the finest in the city. Its principal front faces Parliament Street, and consists of a fine por- tico with pediment supported on six columns of the Corinthian order those at each end being coupled. The western front faces Castle- street and with the city offices combines to lend considerable dignity to the approach to Dublin Castle. This western front is a similar portico of four Corinthian columns but without pediment. The entablature is continued all round the building. A fine balus- trade crowns the top except where interrupted by the pediment. The eastern front is plainer having only coupled pilasters similar to those which adorn the northern and western fronts, but no portico. The edifice itself is a square of 100 feet and is surmounted by a dome, which is not, however, very conspicuous outside. The situa- tion on a steep ascent has made it necessary that the main en- trance should be approached by a flight of steps. The former heavily-railed en- trance fell in while a number of citizens were watching from the steps the whipping of a criminal in 1814. A view of this old entrance can be seen in Malton's Views of Dublin. On entering the great Central Hall one cannot fail to be struck by the similarity of design to that of the Hall at the Four Courts. Both are the work of Mr. Cooley, and in each we find the main plan consists of a square with a circle inscribed in it. The interior of this Hall is strik- ingly beautiful. Twelve composite fluted columns support a dome, superbly lighted by a central sky- light and twelve circular windows in the attic. The dome is beauti- fully decorated with hexagonal and diamond-shaped compartments, the whole being a fine example of stucco-work. In the Hall are statues- -O'Connell and Drummond both by Hogan, Henry Grattan by Chantrey, Dr. Lucas by Edward Smyth, a statue remarkable as being produced when the sculptor was only 23 years of age. The effect is wonderfully expressive of life and action, but the attitude is painfully suggestive of double- jointedness in the deceased patriot. There is also a fine bronze statue of George III. by Van Nost, whose pupil Edward Smyth was. A bust of Denis Florence McCarthy, the poet, is also in the Hall. On each side of the columns which support the dome are semi- pilasters of the Ionic order, rising to half the height of the columns to which they are attached, and above them is an entablature over which in the inter-column spaces are festoons of laurel. These Ionic pillars are continued round the building, and between each pair is a door and circular window. At each side of the north main entrance rise geometrical stair-r cases, lighted by oval lanterns, and leading to the Hall where the City Fathers now meet. The 160 staircases are adorned with fine stucco work, showing in some parts copies of figures found in Herculaneum. Before leaving the Central Hall the visitor should note the standard mea- sures of length which are marked on the floor by small brass squares let into the pavement. Smaller standard measurements are exhibited outside the north entrance. The floor itself is handsomely inlaid with black and white flags of gradually decreasing size as they approach the centre. The Corporation Council Cham- ber (the old coffee-room of the Royal Exchange) extends from one staircase to the other, almost the entire length of the northern front. It is furnished in excellent style, after the fashion of the House of Commons. The Lord Mayor's Throne, made of Irish Oak, with the Irish wolf dog on its arms, occupies one end of the Chamber, and behind it is the entrance to a convenient press gallery. The removal in 1892 of the unsightly gallery for the pub- lic, which used to project over the Lord Mayor's seat, has added greatly to the beauty of the room. The public have now a large gallery at the opposite end, from which they can hear the debates sometimes sufficiently heated of their representatives. The brass work which is used to screen off the various parts of the Chamber is of simple but very chaste design, and is ornamented with the Irish harp. Some fine paintings hang on the walls, among which may be noticed Hamilton's portrait of H. Sankey, 1791-2; D. O'Connell, Lord Mayor in 1841-2 ; Dwyer Gray, 1890; T. Sexton, 1888-9. The Chamber is lighted by two oval lanterns in addition to the windows of the north front. The Members' Room is a small room over the west front, and is com- fortably furnished. It contains a complete series of all the Dublin papers for the past loo years. Over the fire place hangs a very large map of the city, which is kept always up to date. The entire building is lighted by elec- tricity. City of Dublin Hospital (Map B.) Upper Baggot- street, was founded 1832. In 1893-5 the present front of red brick and buff terra-cotta was added from the designsofA. E.Murray, C.E., Lord Pembroke paying ^6,000, the rest being raised by the " Kosmic Bazaar " held at Ball's Bridge, 1893. The hospital is unsectarian. City Walls. The \valled-in City of Dublin was a small rectangle, of which Christ Church Cathedral forms nearly the centre ; only a few scattered portions of the walls remain. Probably the first strong walls date from the time of Henry II., but they were frequently added to and their boundaries enlarged. One important addition was in 1315 ; of this S. AUDOEX'S ARCH remains. Starting from the CASTLE (the S.E. corner of the old city) by the gate leading into Ship- street, the walls form the right hand side of Little Ship-street ( Sheep- street ) ; the gateway over the Castle steps is on the site of Austin's Gate, but is modern, and the old walls were re-cased with lime stone in 1856, and look quite new. The walls crossed S. Werburgh's-street by Pole Gate (so called from river Poddle), and on to S. Nicholas Gate (the site is in S. Nicholas-street, about Draper's-court) ; then gradually turned to the north outside a 161 narrow thoroughfare named Back- lane, behind the houses of which portions of the wall can be traced. Lamb-alley in Cornmarket has its left side curved ; the curved wall (now the side of a public-house) was formerly part of one of the outer towers of Newgate, the western gateway of the city, which as lately as 1794 was used as a prison, and which stood about the western part of Webb's establishment. At the opposite side of Cornmarket was Ormond (Wormwood) Gate. The wall is next found to the north of S. AUDOEN'S CHURCH, supporting a small portion of graveyard now converted into a public garden ; going down the passage between the church and the garden the most interesting relic of the walls is found S. AUDOEN'S ARCH, but this por- tion dates from 1316, and the course of the older wall is uncer- tain. There were a number of towers along the river front ; the Old Crane (ico ft. square) stood at the corner of Winetavern-street. The foundations of a tower are to be seen in the basement of the corner shop of Essex-street and Essex- quay. Dame's Gate, removed in 1698, was joined by a wall to the Birmingham Tower of the Castle. Clocks. The first public clock in Dublin was that erected in the steeple of S. Patrick's Cathedral in 1560. The present clock in the turret was presented by Sir B. Guinness in 1 864. There are good clocks also in the front of Trinity College and in the Ballast office, Westmoreland-street, the time being kept in the former from Dunsink Observatory, and in the latter direct from Greenwich. A time-ball falls at the Ballast office at I p.m. Greenwich time. The Royal University in Earlsfort-ter- race, has in the tower a clock which used to be regarded as a good time- keeper when it stood at the Post Office. It has a very sweet peal of bells, but its time is now very inaccurate. The Post Office has at present a small clock concealed under the main front, and many of our leading churches have within late years erected clocks which are of great value in their neigh- bourhoods. Among the best are those of S. George's in Hard- wickr-place ; the Presbyterian church in Rutland-square and S. Bartholomew's in Clyde-road, with a fine set of bells which y various hymns at intervals. Church Cathedral has a clock with chimes but no face. Clon. An Irish prefix meaning a meadow. Clondalkin, a station on the Kingsbridge line distant some 4 miles from Dublin, is interesting chiefly for its ROUND TOWER, which is one of the most perfectly preserved in Ireland. The door- way is approached by a flight of modern steps ; and as one of the local gentry has caused the floors to be replaced in the various storeys of the tower, the stranger will have here an opportunity of studying the interior of these ancient Irish towers. Clondalkin is unfortunately not a very fine example of a round tower, being only 84 feet high. The projection around the base is unique and may be of later origin. ClonlifFc. Clonliffeor the Plain of the Liffey is situated to the North of Dublin and forms part of the Drumcondra Township ; over it the battle of Clontarf (1014) raged. It has within the past few years been densely covered with small houses ; and two grounds for races and other sports Drumcondra Park and City and Suburban Race Course have been opened. A few old houses remain on Qonliffe road, two of them formed the original Feinaiglian Institute, and afterwards the preparatory school (ALDBOROUGH HOUSE), HOLY CROSS COLLEGE, St. ALPHONSUS Convent, and the Palace of the Roman Catholic Archbishop are amongst the chief buildings. There is also an iron chapel of ease to S. Georges' (i 880. Clon I iffe College. - Holy Cross College, Clon- liffe, for divinity students, is a large building standing in extensive grounds of old meadow land and fine trees. It was built by Cardinal Cullen in 1879, tne designs being supplied by'J. J. M'Carthy. The most interesting portions of the build- ing are the large room where prizes are dis- tributed, and, under it. the refectory ; the lib- rary contains the library of the Catholic HOI University in the fine old mahogany book- cases taken from S. Stephens Green, as well as a large collection of other books including a complete series of the " Freeman's Journal " from its earliest issue in 1764. Amongstthe objects of interest are some valuable paintings : a letter from Pius IX. to Cardinal Cullen, the Propaganda Prize List for 1826 with the name of P. P. Cullen carrying off first prizes in nearly every class, and numerous pre- sentation albums. The Church, which contains a portion of the true Cross, is at one end of the main building and is in the classical style. The front is of granite, and though massive its design gives lightness to it. In the portico are two statues, a superb one of Pius IX. signed E. Matteini, Roma 1865, and a replica by Farrell of his statue of Cardinal Cullen in the Pro- Cathedral. The interior is in the style of the Roman basilica ; a nave terminating in an apsidal sanctuary, and separated from the nave aisles by seven bays of semi- CE08S CHURCH, CLONXIFFE COLLEGE. circular arches resting on red marble pillars, 15 feet high, and each cut out of a single block. (These pillars came from Italy wrapped in cottonwool, packed in straw and enclosed in wooden cases. ) The Ionic capitals and bases are of white marble, the sub- plinths of black Galway marble. The roof is well decorated and be- tween the clerestory windows are eight fine pictures by Guillardo who also painted the Stations of the Cross. The north altar con- 163 tains the piece of the true Cross and has a beautiful alto relievo of S.Paul preaching ; the south altar has an alto relievo of the Sermon on the Mount. Both of these were given to Cardinal Cullen by Pius IX. Cardinal Cullen is buried in a crypt under the apse. Clbnmel House. (Map A). 16 and 17 Harcourt-street. Nos. 15, 18 and 19 are built on its grounds. At the side of No. 14 may be seen the " bow," with its windows built up, from which Lady Barring- ton used to watch those in the garden of Clonmel House. The annoyance that this harmless espionage caused can now hardly be un- derstood, but this and the passages at arms which led to the building up of the win- dows are re- corded matters of history. Clontarf is an interesting district stretching along the coast to the north of the city ; trams starting from Nelson's-pillar run from end to end of it and give a pleasant excursion. The city is left at Annesley-bridge over the river Tolka ; from this, up to, perhaps, Mountjoy-square is the site of the Battle of Clontarf, 1014, when Brian Boroihme finally broke the power of the Danes but was himself slain by the retreating enemy. From this bridge to the railway embankment is a large area of shallow water when the tide is high, and of ill- smelling mud at all other times ; a project to reclaim this space and turn it into a public park is under consideration. The fine entrance designed by Cipriani to Marino is passed. The house is in a sunken position and is of plain design; it belongs to the Christian Brothers. Another building higher up, presenting a long fron- tage of red brick with a chapel at one end, is the O'Brien Institute THE TEMPLE, MARINO. for the education of the better classes who are badly off ; it was erected from money bequeathed by Miss O'Brien, and was de- signed by J. I. O'Callaghan, F.R.I.A.I. The most interesting object in Marino (after the woods which are very fine) is the Temple or Casino, which can be reached by following the Malahide road for half-a-mile. It was designed for Lord Charlemont by Sir William Chambers and is of richly carved Doric ; it is raised on a 164 platform, and has a portico to each side with statues at the angles. Carved lions and urns are outside a deep area from which strangely extensive vaults open. The stone is nearly as white as marble, and the carvings and mouldings are quite perfect, the interior, however, is altered. The Crescent, just beyond Marino, is said to have been built to annoy Lord Charlemont and obstruct his view. RAHENY CHURCH. Clontarf Castle, re-built in the earlier part of this century, stands on the site of the old castle of the Knights Templars ; close to it is the modern church, a pretty building with a fine spire. The roads inland are called the " Green Lanes," and are favourite drives in spring. The further part of Clontarf is called Dollymount; here a bridge leads to the North Bull (PORT OF DUBLIN) where are the rifle range and golf links. It is a pleasant walk along the Bull wall to the mouth of the Liffey ; or Raheny can be reached, and the fine church erected by Lord Ardilaun seen. Clonskeagh, a village 3 miles from the G.P.O. on the river Dodder, which affords some picturesque bits of scenery. There is a picturesque old Castle in the neighbourhood. Clonturk. DRUMCONDRA. Clubs. (Map A.) The chief clubs in Dublin are The Kil- dare-street, at the junction of Nassau-street and Kildare- street, a very fine Venetian Romanesque building, designed by Messrs. Deane and Wood- ward, with some quaint car- vings on the window-sills. Stephen's-green, north, is the real clubland of Dublin, and here are the Stephen's-green Club, No. 9 ; the Hibernian United Service Club, No. 8, with large bow windows ; the Friendly Brothers of St. Patrick, No. 22 ; the Uni- versity Club, No. 1 7 ; and the Sheridan Club, No. 25. There are also THE DUBLIN ARTS CLUB, No. 6, and THE ROYAL SOCIETY OF ANTI- QUARIES OF IRELAND, No. 7. There has been started lately a joint club, under distinguished pat- ronage, for ladies and gentlemen with clubrooms in Suffolk-street. Other leading Clubs are the National in Rutland-square and the Sackville-street Club, No. 59, the most important club on the north side of the city. 165 S. STEPHEN S GREEN, N. Coffee Palaces. The Coffee Palace, Townsend-street (Map B), was opened by the Dublin Total Abstinence Society in 1875, and enlarged in 1886. It is a large building with a bar and dining- rooms on the ground floor, library, reading, and meeting rooms on the next floor, and still higher up bedrooms for young men. There are also chess and billiard rooms, and a large hall in which temper- ance meetings, concerts, or scien- tific lectures are held almost nightly. The Coffee Palace is the centre of numerous branches of work " to promote the moral and social well-being of the community with- out distinction of creed or poli- tics," and is the publishing office of a monthly journal entitled Com- mon Sense. The North-'Mall Coffee Palace is a branch of that in Townsend- street, and is much used by travel- lers, sailors, and workmen employed on the quays. The ten Cabmen's Shelters and Coffee Stands are worked by the same Society. College-green (Maps A. and B.), is perhaps as fine an open space as can be seen in any city in Europe. It is surrounded by magnificent buildings, which include the Uni- versity and the Bank of Ireland. Anciently this portion of the city was occupied by a village named "Hogges," a Teutonic word which de- notes sepulchral mounds like our Irish "dolmens." Sir James Ware describes the discovery here, in 1646, of an ancient sepulchre "composed of eight black marble stones, of which two made the covering and were supported by the others.'' In 1146 a convent, called St. Mary de Hogges, was erected on the site now occupied by TRINITY COLLEGE. Hoggen-green was the scene of many bloody en- counters between the men of Dublin and their invaders ; and there exist in the ROYAL IRISH ACADEMY Museum some relics of ancient weapons (found during some excavations in 1817) which are supposed to have been used during these engagements in the eleventh century. From an early period Hoggen-green was the place of public execution in Dublin. At the end furthest from Trinity College stood the Bridewell, as given in Speed's Map of Dublin, 1610. This was converted into Trinity Hall and became the first COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS in Ireland. The name is still to be 166 seen in Trinity-street. (Map B.) beside St. Andrew's Church. Some very famous houses stood in College-green, chief among them being, perhaps, Clancarty House and Chichester House on the site of the Bank of Ireland. Before 1818 the General Post Office occupied the site of the " Royal Arcade," which was burned in 1837. This site is now that of the National Bank. In College-green, too, was the superb Daly's Club-house, just at the corner of Foster-place. Its fa9ade still remains. This club was the resort of the famous Hell-Fire Chib, and was de- scribed by a writer at the close of the last century as being a temple to the god of cards and dice "much more magnificent than any temple (in Dublin) devoted to the God of the Universe"! The building occupied the entire space between Foster-place and Anglesea-street. WILLIAM III. The remarkable leaden statue of William III. was erected in College-green in 1701, and has had a very precarious existence, partly owing to the spirit of Jacobitism and partly from the mere love of mischief, which is the usual out- come of college "wines." His Majesty " of glorious, pious, and immortal memory " was often to be seen in the morning minus his sword, or a limb, or smeared with filth. The statue was a favourite meeting-place of Orange Societies who used to march round it with colours flying. Later on it be- came the mustering place of the Irish Volunteers, who, in 1792, ceased their annual processions round the statue, as being calcu- lated, and very naturally, to irritate their Catholic fellow- citizens; but it was not until 1822 that the annual decking of the figure with orange streamers was finally abandoned. Amid the countless insults and injuries in- flicted on the statue, the most serious were the attempts to blow it up. In 1836 the King was blown completely off his horse and the figure altogether shattered ! It was however, repaired again and again, and still remains a marvellous survival. The modern College-green has been adorned by a fine statue of Grattan, by Foley (A. M.Sullivan handed over .300 subscribed to compensate him for political imprisonment, and so started the fund for this statue), and the two excellent figures of Burke and Goldsmith, which stand in front of the Uni- versity. Within recent years great improvements have been made in the buildings in this part of the city, and some of the present buildings will bear com- parison with those ofnnycityin the Empire. The great Irish BANKS congregate here ; and the Hibernian, the Ulster,- and the National, have all magnificent 167 offices in College-green, while the Royal Bank in Foster-place may be practically regarded as being in College-green. The BANK OF IRELAND is dealt with in a sepa- rate article. College of Physicians- Royal. In 1626, King Charles I. directed the incorporation of a University, and granted by the Provost and Fellows ' ' for the sole and proper use of physicians,," on condition that they should have the appointment of President. They appointed Dr. Stearne to the office, and then began the long and intimate connection between the College and Dublin Univer-' STATUE HALL, ROYAL COLLEGE OP PHYSICIANS. College of Physicians in Dublin, but owing to the unsettled state of the times no charter was pro- cured. In 1654, John Stearne, M.D., Senior Fellow of the Dub- lin University, founded a body called "The President and Fra- ternity of Physicians " at Trinity Hall (at the south side of Dame- street), which was a Hall in the sity, a connection which still exists. In 1667 Charles II. granted the first charter. In 1692 a new and extended charter was granted by William and Mary, from which fact the College was called " King and Queen's College of Physicians" until 1889, when by charter it 168 assumed the name of " Royal Col- lege of Physicians." The College met in Trinity Hall until 1 692, and then in the housesof the Presidents until Sir Patrick Dun's Hospital was built in 1808, when it moved into it and met there until the present building was opened in 1864. The College is built in Kildare- street, on the site of the Earl of Portarlington's house, which was converted into the old Kildare- street Club, in 1 800, and burned in 1860: and can be recognised by its well proportioned portico (somewhat overshadowed by the National Library) from the design of W. C. Murray, son of the designer of the completed fa9ade of the COLLEGE OF SURGEONS. The interior is very effectively planned, and as the various por- tions are separated by plate glass doors, there is, on entering, a fine /vista from the doorway to the stained glass window at the far side of the Convocation Hall. The first Hall is generally called the Statue Hall. It is of the Corinthian order, and is 60 feet in length by 30 feet in breadth, and 32 feet high. The walls are divided into bays by pilasters, and the coved ceiling springs from an enriched cornice. It contains statues of past Presidents, which are all of great merit : Sir Henry Marsh, Bart., 1866, by Foley ; R. J. Graves, 1877, by Bruce Joy ; William Stokes, 1876, by Foley ; Sir Dominick Corrigan, Bart., 1869, by Foley. There are also a number of portraits, the most interesting being Sir Godfry Kneller's picture of Sir Patrick Dun, President frequently be- tween 1681-1706, and a liberal benefactor to the College. Under this portrait hangs the illuminated certificate of the original grant of arms in 1667. The arms are a celestial hand feeling a terrestrial pulse, with an Irish harp in the lower compartment. The terres- trial pulse is now omitted from the College Arms. A corridor leads to the Convo- cation Hall, added to the College in 1874, from the design of Messrs, McCurdy and Mitchell. It is handsome and well proportioned, being 60 feet in length, 33 feet in breadth, and 45 feet in height. It has pilasters, a fine cornice and an open timter roof. The meet- ings of the College are held in this Hall, and the President's chair, the beautiful mace and the portraits are worth inspecting. Over the entrance Hall is the Library, which is not large, the want of College buildings having long been a bar to the formation of an extensive collection of books. Amongst other chartered privi- leges, the Fellows are exempt from being chosen to the offices of "Constable. Scavenger and such like." They also may sign prescriptions with their initials without adding their degree and where they obtained it. Visitors can see the College Halls at any time, unless the Col- lege is sitting or examinations are being held. College of Surgeons Royal. The College of Sur- geons claims descent from the first incorporation of medical practi- tioners in the United Kingdom : the Fraternity or Guild of Barbers established by Royal Charter in Dublin on i8th October, 1446, by King Henry VI. A later charter which is preserved in Trinity Col- lege was granted by Queen Elizabeth in 1572. The real history of the College dates from the 29th March, 1780, when a number of surgeons con- 169 stitued themselves into the " Dub- lin Society of Surgeons." On the nth February, 1784, they pro- cured a charter dissolving them from the union with the barbers, and establishing them as a corpor- ate body by themselves. For some time they met in the Rotunda Hospital, but like the sister College, had to go to various places until they built a per- manent house of their own. In 1809 a College was built on the Friends' burial- ground on the west side of S. Stephen's-green, having frontages to the green and York-street. This forms the south wing of the present building, the frontage of which was completed from a design by Wm. Murray in 1827. The exterior of the Col- lege is of great beauty and worthy of its splendid posi- tion. From a rusticated base of granite, Doric col- umns rise ; the four central ones are advanced and support an entablature and pediment ; three-quarter columns adorn the wings. Between the columns are large circular-headed windows, and the whole is surmounted by a frieze and cornice, terminated by a balus- trade. The apex of the pediment is adorned by a figure of ^Escula- pius, supported by Minerva on the right and Hygeia on the left. These figures, and the royal arms in the tympanum are by J. Smyth, R.H.A. The hall contains a statue of William Dease (one of the most energetic of the founders of the College), executed in 1886 by Farrell, R.H.A. ; the inner hall to the left is really the hall of the original building. Both halls con- tain a large number of busts of former Fellows. The Examination Hall is large but gloomy. As originally built, it was wanting in height, and in 1859 it was altered. As there was a museum above it, it was enlarged downwards, and a double flight of STATUE OP WILLIAM DBASE. stairs leads from the door down to the present floor level. At the same time a bust of the Prince Consort was placed in a niche, and the room was named the Albert Hall. The Library is a handsome apartment, and contains a fine collection of books. Upstairs is a large boardroom, the walls of which are covered with portraits, and there are two museums, one of comparative anatomy and one of anatomy and pathology, the latter was enlarged in 1886. There is also a collection of wax anatomical models presented by the Viceroy in 1829, and called after him, the Northumberland Museum. The Medical School (MEDICAL 170 SCHOOLS) was nearly rebuilt in 1891, and the electric light intro- duced ; in most of its departments it is now worthy of the prestige of the College. Visitors have no difficulty in seeing the College buildings. College of Science, Royal, in S. Stephen's-green, east (Map B.) is under the con- trol of the South Kensington authorities. It employs professors who lecture on Geology, Botany, Zoology, Physics, Chemistry, &c. , but the classes are by no means so well attended as the excellence of the teaching merits. The aim of the lecturers is to supply a course of instruction in matters pertaining chiefly to Irish industries ; the original aim of the Museum. founded in 1 8 , being to exhibit the materials and sources of all industries found in Ireland. This Museum is well worthy of the attention of the stranger, who is interested in geology or in paleon- tology ; the collection of fossils is particularly fine. The exhibits of manufactures, both Irish and British, are arranged in a historic and scientific manner, so that their educational value is much en- hanced and the rise and progress of each branch of industry may be distinctly traced. There is a collection of china which is very well worthy of study, and many choice examples of enamel work. The Entrance Hall is adorned with slabs of our Irish marbles, the Galway green, Kilkenny black, and Cork red, being perhaps the most beautiful. There is an excellent Library of scientific works attached to the College, and a fair-sized Theatre for demonstrations. There are, in short, few buildings in Dublin which will better repay a visit, and we might add that few of our important buildings are less ap- preciated by the citizens for whose benefit they were constructed. Commerce. Dublin is not, perhaps, a very important com- mercial city, but at the close of last century, the accommodation provided by the quayage on the river proved so inadequate, that a special grant of ^45,000 was made by Parliament to form docks beside the river- These docks are capable of accommodating A STREET STALL. 40,000 tons of shipping, while the North Wall extension and the breakwater provide 4,500 feet of berthage. Besides the docks held by the Dublin Port and Docks Board, three private docks exist, in which toll is charged on the vessels discharging. Of these the most important is the Spencer Dock, which enables cross-channel steamers, and other shipping, to pass from the river alongside the railway or canal-boat. This great work has been carried out 17T by the Midland G.W.R. Com- pany; and the G.S.W.R. and the Dublin and Drogheda line have obtained power to connect their Systems with the Liffey Branch Railway of the Midland Company. The chief export of Dublin is Porter, of which the average export is about 430,000 hogsheads. Whiskey also is largely exported. Horses and other live stock make a large total ; other exports are wool (1891, value of export .54,827) and chemical manures (1891, value of export 16,760). The imports of grain, flour and varied foreign or colonial produce amounted in 1891 to 983,482 tons. Commercial Buildings (Map A.) The Commercial Build- ings Company was incorporated 1798. They have a building with a fine granite face three stories in height, surmounted by a heavy cornice, in Dame-street. There is a central hall and stair- case, with a fine library and reading-room. In the rere is a spacious court, with another en- trance from Cope street, sur- rounded by offices occupied by brokers, insurance and other agents. Concerts. It has been long a boast that the Irish are the musical people /ar excellence, and that the imprimatur of a critical Dub- lin audience stamps an artist. Nevertheless, partly owing to want of money, and partly to proverbial jealousies of musicians, local musical societies languish, and a well-filled house is the ex- ception, not the rule. The Dublin Musical Society, for many years under the conductorship of Joseph Robinson, kept up a high standard of excellence in orchestral music, chiefly oratorio. Its choir of 300 voices, with a fine band, was a credit to the city, and it would be a matter of deep shame if the society be allowed to drop. The concerts are, by per- mission of the authorities of the ROYAL UNIVERSITY, given in the great Hall at Earlsfort-terrace. The S. Patrick's Oratorio Society, whose performances were given in the Cathedral in aid of the Cathe- dral funds, has been unfortunately, prohibited, and the Glee Choir which used to provide three most enjoyable concerts during the season, is also gone, like its proto- type, the famous "Glee and Madrigal." The College Choral is, of course, a private society ; as is "The Strollers." who occasionally give "At Homes," for which invitations are eagerly sought. The best instrumental chamber music is now to be heard at the afternoon Recitals of the ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY in Kildare-street ; but it can hardly be denied that the ordinary Dublin concert-goer cares immensely more to hear vocal gymnastics by some "star" or the last new song of the Milton Wellings type, than to listen to concerted music of any description, whether vocal or instrumental. Concerts at popu- lar prices have been revived within the past few years, and have been attended with reason- able success. At them Dubliners have the opportunity of hearing all theleading vocalistsand instru- mentalists. Cramer of West- moreland-street and M. Gunn, the proprietor of the Gaiety Theatre and Leinster Hall, also cater for the musical public. The Dublin Instrumental Club has a fine orchestra. The Club-room is at 9 Merrion-row. Conciliation Hall. The building close to the CORN EX- CHANGE on Burgh-quay, now used 172 as a corn store, was named Con- ciliation Hall by O'Connell, and its vails often re-echoed to his eloquence. The gilded harp and shamrock on the ceiling of the upper loft still testify to its former .use. On the outside is the date 1843. Consuls. American Consulate Office 204 Great Brunswick-street. Argentine Republic 19 North Earl-street. Austria 194 Great Brunswick- street. Belgium 17 Eden-quay. Bolivia 46 Dame-street. Brazil 25 Mespil-road. Chili i & 2 Westmoreland-st. Denmark Northumberland House, Northumberland-road France 31 South Anne-street. German Empire 17 Eden-quay. Italy 105 Stephen's-green, south. Mexico 46 Dame-street. Netherlands 124 Abbey-st., up. Portugal i College-street. Spain i & 2 Westmoreland-st. Russia 30 Eden-quay. Uruguay and Monte Video 49 Fitzwilliam-square. Convalescent Homes. The Convalescent Home,Stillorgan, was founded in 1868, a wing in memory of Judge and Miss Berwick being added in 1870. A pay wing for those who can afford a little has lately been added. It is a handsome building and stands on high ground near the railway, looking down on the distant sea in front, and up to the Dublin mountains behind. Most of the inmates are sent from the Dublin hospitals. Lind*^ Blackrock. The house was given by F. Coppinger and was endowed by the late M. Mullins. Twenty-five beds are reserved for patients from S. Vincent's Hospital. The Meath Hospital Convalescent Home is situated at Bray. S. John's House of Rest, Merrion, is a beautiful building, homelike in its arrangements, into which convalescents and those in need of rest are admitted. It was founded 1870, removed to the present building 1880, and has since been enlarged and a chapel added. Convents. There are a number of Convents in Dublin ; most of them are associated with works of mercy or of education. The fol- lowing are the most important : Sisters of Charity, Upper Gardiner-street Stanhope-street S. Joseph's Hospital for Sick Children S. Vincent's Hospital Our Lady's Hospice for the Dying. Sisters of Mercy, Lower Baggot- street Tervis-street Hospital Du Bon Secours, Mount-street. Loretto, North Great George's- street S. Stephen's-green, E. Carmelite, S. Joseph's, Rane- lagh. Poor Clares, Harold's Cross Or- phanage. Sisters of S. Dominick, Cabra. Corn Exchange. (Maps B & C.) The Corn Exchange Build- ings Company was incorporated in 1815, and soon afterwards the present building on Burgh-quay was erected. It has a heavy granite front, two stories in height. The large hall is 130 feet long, the centre is divided from the sides by ranges of metal pillars, and light is obtained by a continuous clerestory above the entablature forming a lantern the size of the central space. It is furnished with sample tables. Market days, Tuesday and Friday 11.30 to 1.30. Corporation. In 1172 Henry II. granted to Dublin its first 173 Charter with the same privileges as Bristol then enjoyed, through the instrumentality of Strongbow, who was at this time governing Ireland. This Charter of Henry II. is still preserved in the CITY HALL and is a superb example of illuminated work which the visitor should endeavour to see. A second Charter was granted to Dublin in 1192 by John, Lord of Ireland, youngest son of Henry II., and in 1207 yet another Charter was given by King John. The Magna Charta was granted to Ireland by Henry III. in 1216, and in the following year fee-farm of the city was granted to the citizens, and the Charter of King John was further confirmed in 1227. In 1287, Edward I. gave a new Charter, and permission was given in 1407 to the Mayor of the city to have a gilt sword carried before him as before the Lord Mayor of London. The Charter was confirmed in 1607, and in 1660 a gold collar of SS. was presented by Charles II. to the Mayor who was granted also a foot com- pany as escort. Five years later the title of Lord Mayor was con- ferred as in London, and in lieu of the foot company ^"500 was granted to him. In 1687 James II. renewed the Charter on a quo warranto. The Collar of SS. was lost in the troubles of 1 688, and in 1697 King William III. presented to the then Lord Mayor a new collar of similar make with a miniature of the King attached to it. The meetings of the Corpora- tion were held in the THOLSEL which stood at the north-east corner of S. NICHOLAS-STREET, and was built originally in the reign of Edward II. , and rebuilt in 1683, with its main front to Skinner's-row. In 1 793 the Corpo- ration acquired the house in William-street, at the corner of Coppinger's-row, which is used to the present day as Lord Mayor's Court of Conscience ; and in this house they held their meetings until the removal in 1852 to the present CITY HALL. The Cor- poration was reformed in 1841, and consists of a Lord Mayor, 15 Aldermen, and 45 Councillors. Corporation Records. In the Muniment Room of the CITY HALL are stored many archaeological curiosities of ex- treme value. Among the most famous MSS. belonging to the city are " The White Book " con- taining some 145 pages of records of the city during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries : next in importance may come "The Black Book," also called " The Chain Book,'' of which the records many of which are sadly defaced run from the fourteenth down to the beginning of the eighteenth century. " The Recorder's Book " claims to be a copy made in 1667 of all the Charters of the city; but it is not very accurate. "The Charters," of which there are more than 100 in all, give a full account of the rise of our civic life, and are of supreme value as also are the Assembly Rolls which are continuous from 1448 down to 1841, since which time the minutes of the Corporation have been entered in books. Hidden away in these documents are abundant materials to delight the antiquarian and the archaeologist ; and it is one more proof among many, of our neglect of what is of interest in our own land that no one has as yet undertaken to publish the vast masses of topo- graphical and biographical infor- mation stored in these old-time records. Courts of Justice FOUR COURTS. Cooley, Thomas. Thomas Cooley (1744-1784) came to Dublin in 1769, when his design for the ROYAL EXCHANGE was accepted. He afterwards built the Hibernian Marine Schools, New- gate in Green-street (1773-1780), and commenced the FOUR COURTS, completing the west wing and its south facade. Crampton Memorial. (Map B.) The Crampton Me- morial at the junction of College- street with Gt. Brunswick-street and D'Olier-street, was erected from the design of J. Kirk, R.H.A. A paper of 1862 states: "The sculptor hopes it will be a monu- ment to himself as well as to Sir P. Crampton." It is generally called the "Water Babe," but less flattering names have been applied. It consists of a stone base with three drinking fountains ; above rises a tall pyramid of bron/.e built up of water lilies and other aquatic plants ; swans and a bust of Crampton nestle in the foliage. It is a curious production. The following inscription was com- posed by Lord Carlisle : This fountain has been placed here, A type of health and usefulness, By the friends and admirers Of Sir Philip Crampton, Bart., Surgeon-General to Her Majesty's Forces. It but feebly represents The sparkle of his genial fancy, The depth of his calm sagacity, The clearness of his spotless honour, The flow of his boundless bene- volence. Cricket. The leading clubs of Dublin are the University C. C., Phcenix C. C., Vice- Regal C. C., Leinster C. C.. and the Garrison. Cricket has, for various causes, never become a popular game in Ireland, but the clubs mentioned above maintain a good standard and can hold their own as a rule against any English County Team, except those of the first rank. The College -park is the best place in Ireland to see good cricket, and some excellent play may be wit- nessed there. Cromlechs, The following Cromlechs are close to Dublin : Glen-Druid, Carrickmines (top stone 1 8 feet by 6 feet) ; Howth (between castle and S. Finton's church) ; Zoological gardens (removedfrom Knockmaroon hill); Kilternan; Shankill; Mount Venus (top stone 15 feet by 9 feet by 5 feet). Crosses. The following ancient Crosses are within easy reach of Dublin : Finglas, Rathmichael, Kilgobbin, Kill-of-the-Grange, S. Olave's, Carrickmines, Blackrock and S. Doulough's. There is also a fragment at Tallaght. The splendid Crosses of MONASTER- BOICE, though further away, can be easily reached in a day's ex- cursion. Custom House. (Map B.) The old Custom House (1707), successor to the Old Crane (ClTV WALLS), stood near Essex-bridge, where an arm of the Liffey ran in to join the Poddle ; and when its decay and want of accommo- dation rendered it useless, the building of the South Mole allowed its successor to be built further down the river where ships had ready access. The present building stands on the north side of the river, sepa- rated from the water by a wide quay, and with a wide open space at the back. It is built of granite and Portland stone, and is one of 175 the finest buildings in Dublin. It was designed by James Gandon, and built in 1781-1791, at a certi- fied cost of over 257,000, the docks and quay costing .140,000 in addition. It is in the Doric style, measures 375 ft. x 205 ft., and forms an oblong with two internal courts, separated by a central pile of building. The south front facing the river is composed of end pavilions united by arcades to the centre CUSTOM HOUSE. portico, which has a deep enta- blature and bold projecting cor- nice. The frieze over the portico bears oxes heads festooned with their skins. In the tympanum is sculpture representing the friendly union of Great Britain and Ire- land ; they are embracing each other in a shell car drawn by sea- horses, and attended by tritons and merchant ships. On the attic story are statues of Neptune, Plenty, Industry, and Mercury, by Thomas Banks, R.A. Behind the portico rises a richly pillared cupola ; the dome, 26ft. in dia- meter, is covered with copper, and over it, standing on a circular pedestal, is a figure of Hope 12 ft. high and 113 ft. from the ground. Each end pavilion has two tall recessed pillars, which give a look of cohesion to the storeys. The north front has a central portico of four columns, but no pediment ; on the entablature are statues represent- ing Europe, Asia, Africa, and Ame- rica; there are recessed columns in the end pavi- lions. The carved royal arms at the ends were done by Ed. Smyth, and were the works which first made his reputation. He also did the sixteen carved heads over the building, re- presenting the rivers of Ireland. The female head stands for Anna Liffey. The interior is disappointing although lined throughout by cut stone, as, being divided into storeys, and containing numerous offices, only small por- tions can be seen at once. The stairs are cleverly constructed, the upper flight seeming unsupported. The Long Room, 7oft. x 7oft., has two rows of pillars; the centre compartment has an arched roof, and the side compartmems flat roofs. In 1856 a banquet was 176 given in this room to 3,000 Cri. mean soldiers. The open space to the north of here, in 1840, Father Mathew ad- ministered the pledge to thousands from the steps. IN THE DARGLE. the Custom House is called Ber- esford-place ; public meetings have often been held in it, and Butt Bridge and the Ixx p Line have greatly spoiled the appear- ance of the Custom House. 177 Dal key, Smiles from Dublin, on the coast between KINGSTOWN and BRAY, was so long ago as 1300 a famous city, and the chief port of Dublin. It possessed seven castles, of which two are still to be seen. One is in ruins, but the second, after restoration, is used as the Town Hall. These old castellated dwellings have been pronounced by competent authorities the oldest and finest structures of their kind in the British Isles. Although called castles they are not military strongholds, but dwellings of the merchant princes, and are believed to have been erected as early as the close of the twelfth century. Dalkey Island, distant about half a mile from land, was famous during the end of last century as the scene of a mock royal court, in which many of the leading Dublin wits assembled and elected one of their number King of Dalkey ! The picturesque situation of Dalkey and its beautiful sea and mountain views combine to render it one of the most attractive of our many watering places. As the railway does not here run along the coast, Dalkey has escaped the injury which the rail- way line has done to all the bath- ing places ne;irer to the capital. During the summer there are bands constantly at Sorrento, and there is no part, of the ex- quisite Bay of Dublin, which can boast attractions superior to those found here. It is, however, very much to be regretted that almost all the foreshore has been taken for building purposes by private persons, so that the public are cut off from access to this beautiful portion of the Bay. Dargle. This beautiful glen in the Co. Wicklow is about a mile long, and is a rocky and wooded gorge through which the river from Lough Bray flows to Bray. The Dargle can best be seen by driv- ing from Bray to Enniskerry, 3^ miles through lovely scenery ; the fare by long car (starting from Bray station) is 6d. each, but a party of four can take an outside car at a little over that rate. From Enniskerry, the upper end of the Dargle is entered, and fine views of the Wicklow Mountains are obtained. A pleasant afternoon can be spent rambling down the Glen past the picturesque bridge over the river, by which the WATER SUPPLY is carried to Dublin, the Lover's Leap, the Fairies' Pool, and the other objects of interest. The Upper or Herbert-road (reached by foot- path through woods) should be taken back to Bray. Tea can be had at the Dargle gate ; and any- one who is tired can generally get a seat on a car for the journey home. Deaf and Dumb. The chief charities for the deaf and dumb are the Catholic Institution for the Deaf and Dumb, Cabra, founded 1846, about 400 inmates. The National Association for the Education of the Deaf and Dumb Children of the Poor in Ireland (Protestant), Claremont, Glas- nevin, founded 1816, about 50 inmates. Protestant Deaf and Dumb Association for working amongst adults. Denmark-street, Great ( Map C), was partofGardiner's-row until 1792. The following were owners of the houses : i . (Tulla- more House), Baron Tullamore, afterwards Earl of Charleville. 3. Lord Norbury (the "hang- ing judge"). 4. Earl of Erne. 5. (Killeen House) Earl of Fingall. 6. BELVIDERE HOUSE. 7. Lord Aldboroogh. ITS Devil's Glen, County Wicklow. Train to Newrath station on the D. W. & W. Railway (29^ miles), and thence by car to the Glen (3^ miles). The Glen is a ravine through which the river VARTRY flows, the rocky banks rising some 300 or 400 feet are clothed with trees, and the pathway runs at the bottom of the Glen. At the upper end the pathway rises and there are fine views of the Water- fall and of the Wicklow Moun- tains. The best plan is to return by car to Bray, a drive of some twelve miles. Newtown- mountkennedy, Delgany, and the beautiful GLEN OF THE DOWNS are passed through. Dispensaries. Dublin is well provided with Dispensaries under the care of the North and South Dublin Unions ; many of the HOSPITALS (general and special) also, have Dispensaries, and, as there is no widespread feeling against receiving free medical re- lief, Provident Dispensaries are few. Dogs' and Cats' Home, Grand Canal Quay. The Cats' Home was founded in 1885, by Miss Swifte and R. B. Kennett. The Dogs' Home is under the management of the S.P.C.A. Stray cats and dogs are taken in and cared for : those of value are sold, and the useless and hope- lessly diseased are mercifully destroyed. Cats are boarded whilst families are in the country, at is. per week (6d. for kittens) ; and get three meals daily. Sick dogs are carefully treated. Open 10-4 daily. Dolly mount CLONTARF. Dominick-street (Map C.) called after Christopher Dominick, M.D. (an ancestor of the Duke of Leinster), who died in 1 743. Be- fore 1727, he had built himself a house in the newly laid out street, which is now No. 20, and used by S. Mary's Parish for schools ; it is the largest house in the street, being five windows wide. There is handsome stucco work of fe- male figures in the hall, a fine wooden staircase, and well carved wooden architraves over the draw- ing-room doors. The Duke of Leinster uses No. 13 as a town residence. No. 40 has a good stone doorway. Sir W. Rowan Hamilton was born in No. 36 in 1805. Dorset Institution. (Map C.) The Dorset Institution occu- pies a fine old house, No. 54 Upper Sackville-street. It is unsectarian, and the respectable poor are helped by orders for needlework, &c. There is a de- pository where plain and fancy work is sold for the benefit of reduced ladies. Doulough Church of S. About six miles from Dublin, on the Malahide-road, and about four miles from Malahide, is the most interesting stone-roofed church in Ireland. It probably dates trom the I3th century, and is oblong in plan, with a square tower in the middle. The in- terior is divided into several com- partments, of which the largest was a chapel. The upper rooms were used as living rooms. The lower part of the tower is co-eval with the church, but the upper is either an addition or rebuilt. The stone-roof, of high pitch, is in capital preservation. A modern church is built at the side, and the old building is care- fully preserved. In a field close by is a well, which is covered by an octagonal stone building, with a stone roof. It was probably used as a baptistery. A curious bath- like structure, called, " S. 179 Catherine's Pond," is also to be seen, and at the entrance to the short by-road leading to the church is an ancient stone-cross. by the Royal Irish Academy with so little regard to the his- torical importance of their ex- ploration that no official records . DOULUUGH S CHUKCH. Dowth, a tumulus on the northern banks of the Boyne, about five miles from DROGHEDA. The tumulus was opened in 1847 of the excavations exist. Some curious stone and amber beads, and other interesting relics were found. There is historic evidence 180 that all the tumuli on the Boyne were plundered by Danes about the middle of the ninth century. The plan of Dowth is, like that of NEWGRANGE, cruciform, the en- trance passage being 27 feet in length. Slabs of stone, called sill- stones, stand directly across the passage at intervals, and at the entrance of the main chamber, as well as at the entrance to the recess opposite, as well as at the openings of other chambers in this mound. Pos- sibly they may have had some such use as the basins at New- grange. Beyond the right arm of the cross are two other cham- bers, with recesses, while a com- pletely distinct chamber may be entered by a separate entrance, a few yards to the right of the main entrance. Keys can be got at the cottage beside the tumulus. Drives within easy reach of Dublin are very numerous ; and a short list of the most interesting places which may be visited on a car may prove useful. The dis- tances are given from the G.P.O. : MILES CARTON DEMESNE ... i 5 CLONSILLA 8 *DARGLE 14 DUNSINK 4 | *ENNISKERRY nl GLENASMOLE 10 GLENDRUID Q LUCAN ga MALAHIDE (passing S Doulough's) 9 MAYNOOTH I5 'POWERSCOURT DEMESNE 14 S. DOULOUGH'S CHURCH 6 SALMON LEAP (Leixlip) i o *SCALP 12 SWORDS j *More easily reached by taking tram to BRAY (n miles), and car from that on. The coast of Dublin Bay is all beautiful ; and picturesque scenery can be enjoyed at almost every station on the D.W. & W. line. Killiney Hill and Bray Head on the south side of the Bay, and Howth Head on the north, can- not be seen to full advantage while driving ; but the visitor should on no account omit to walk round these famous head- lands, where from paths which overhang the sea many exquisite views are obtained of sea and rock, with distant mountains and waving woods, all uniting to form an enchanting panorama. Another good centre from which many fine drives may be enjoyed is Rathnew, a station on the D.W. & W. Railway, 30 miles from town. From it the DEVIL'S GLEN, the Vartry, and Lough Dan district are within easy reach, as indeed is GLENDALOUGH, for which, however, Rathdrum (37 miles) is a more convenient station. The world-famous " Meeting of the Waters," is within a few miles of Rathdrum. It is wiser to take a car for long trips by the day, the fare being approximately 135., with a few shillings extra for the driver. The stranger will do well to settle definitely with the driver as to his fare (including driver's fee) before starting. Drogheda, though not in Dub- lin, is so important a centre from which to see the remarkable anti- quities of NEWGRANGE, DOWTH, MELLI FONT and MONASTERBOICE that a few words will be accept- able concerning this historic town itself. Situated on the Boyne, 31^ miles north of Dublin, Drogheda has an excellent trade, chiefly with Liverpool. The town was originally strongly fortified, and two of the old gates still remain. That called St. Lawrence's Gate is a conspicuous object at the end of the main street of the town. It consists of two very lofty towers, 181 circular in form and connected by a wall. The other remaining gate, called the West Gate, is octagonal, and, like St. Lawrence Gate, is pierced with numerous loop holes. Chief among other objects of interest to a stranger in Drogheda may be mentioned the graceful Magdalen Steeple, the sole remnant thence to Slane, with its fine castle and numerous interesting ruins. On the Hill of Slane S. Patrick first kindled the beacon fire of Christianity in Ireland. Slane and its neighbourhood can- not fail to charm the archaeologist or the artist, and he will, indeed, be hard to please who is not LAWBXEtOI GATE, DKOGHEDA. two miles from the town. The Battle of the Boyne was fought on July 1st, 1690, and the Obelisk stands on the spot where William's forces crossed the stream. It is then open to the visitor to drive straight on to DOWTH and NEWGRANGE and delighted with so fair a panorama as the country all along the banks of the Boyne will disclose. Ex- quisite scenery of every kind, romantic ruins, prehistoric monu- ments and early Christian remains, castles, abbeys, crosses and round- towers lend a charm to every mile 182 of the way from Drogheda to Trim. If the visitor's time is limited to a single day, he must perforce confine his tour within a narrower radius, and from New- grange he can readily drive to the historic Abbey of MELLIFONT, founded in 1 142. The interest of DROGHEDA. the place is enhanced from its connection with Dearvorgilla, wife of O'Ruarke, Prince of Breffni, whose frailty was the cause of the original invasion of Ireland by the Saxon. From Mel- lifont it is but two miles to MON- ASTERBOICE, with its glorious ex- amples of Celtic remains. The tourist who wishes to include in one day's trip the main objects given above must leave Dublin by the 9 a.m. train from Amiens- street and hire a car for the day, taking care to come to a definite agreement with the driver. The usual arrangement is approxi- mately 8d. a mile outwards and 4d. return. A fine railway viaduct crosses the Boyne at a height of 95 feet. Drogheda House. (Map C). Upper Sack- ville - street was formerly called Drogheda - street after the owner of the soil, Henry Moore, Earl of Drogheda, whose names and title are still recalled by neighbouring streets. No. 10, occupied by the Hibernian Bible Society since early in the century, is part of Drogheda House, which had passed out of the Drogheda family, but in 1771 was repurchased from Lord Dartiy for ,5,000, It is well preserved ; its hall, staircase, and ground-floor rooms are well worth seeing as examples of beautiful wood and stucco work ; the carving of the door- cases is especially good. No. 9 passed into the hands of Currey the publisher in 1824; in 1867 rebuilt by an Insurance Company, it is now the offices of the Tramway 183 Company, and was part of Drog- heda House, but there are no marks of closed doorways, so probably the house was divided soon after 1771 and before the stucco work was done. Drumcondra. The village of Drumcondra, two miles to the north of Dublin on the SWORDS road, is situated on the banks of the river Tolka about a mile be- lowGLASNEViN. It was sometimes called Clonturk (plain of the Tolka), and was once inhabited by wealthy families (including two Lord Chancellors and a Primate) whose houses remain, but are now occupied by religious orders. The house to the left on crossing the bridge was Belvidere, the seat of the Coghill family. In the early part of the century it was turned into a kind of Vauxhall, and in 1812 Sadleir ascended from the grounds in a balloon, falling into the Irish Channel and being saved by a vessel running her bowsprit through the balloon. The house at the opposite side of the road has lately been turned into a place of amusement under the name of Clonturk-park, and a few years ago Baldwin ascended from the grounds and descended in a parachute a curious coincidence the first balloon ascent and first parachute descent happening at the same place, but with an interval of 80 years. The balustrade in front of Clonturk House belonged to old Carlisle bridge. Drumcondra Church is a small plain building behind Clontuik-park; it contains a hand- some monument to Marmaduke Coghill, ob. 1738, Chancellor of the Exchequer (by whose sister the church was built). The Chancellor is sitting with Minerva standing at one side and Religion at the other. In the churchyard lie many notable people ; in the same grave lie Gandon, architect of the Custom House, and Grose the antiquary. It was of the latter that Burns wrote " A chiel's amang you taking notes. " Drummond Institute. This excellent institution for the orphan daughters of soldiers was founded in 1864, by the will of Alderman Drummond, and is situ- ated in two houses at Mulberry- hill, Chapelizod. It is under the control of a large board of gover- nors, chiefly military, and the benevolent intentions of the testator are admirably carried out. Dunsink Observatory. The Observatory of Dublin Uni- versity, distant some four miles from Dublin, beyond the Phcenix- park will repay a visit. The Observatoiy, founded in 1782 by money bequeathed by Provost Andrews for that purpose, stands 300 feet above sea level, and the Professor of Astronomy, appointed by Dublin University, has by special grant the title Astronomer Royal of Ireland. This Observa- tory possesses probably the largest great circle graduated all round that exists. The diameter is 8 feet and over 23 years were taken to make and erect the instrument, which, however, is not any longer in use. The chair of Astronomy was held first by Dr. Ussher, who was succeeded by Dr. Brinkley, afterwards Bishop of Cloyne. Brinkley was succeeded by the world-famous William Rowan Hamilton who was appointed to the chair, while an undergraduate of twenty-two years old ! This truly marvellous man laboured in Dunsink for some 40 years work- ing at his mighty system of Quaternions. Among other Royal Astronomers of Ireland may be mentioned, Sir Robert Ball, now 184 Professor of Astronomy in Cam- bridge. The present occupant of the chair is Dr. Arthur Rambaut, D.Sc. The Observatory is now fitted with an excellent meridian circle and a very fine Equatorial, the gift of Sir James South. The chief addition in late years has been a superb reflecting telescope for photographic purposes, pre- sented by Isaac Roberts, F.R.S., and by this timely gift Dunsink is able to take its proper place in the photographic survey of the heavens, which is now being carried on. Eccles-Street, called after Alderman John Eccles who bought the Ballyboght property in 1703 (this property formerly belonged to James II.) ; his name appears on the pedestal of King William's statue, as Sheriff, 1701. Little S. GEORGE'S CHURCH was a private chapel erected on the grounds of Mount Eccles (the house stood near where Middle Gardiner-street now is). Tyrawley House, now 18 and 19 Eccles-st., stood in its own grounds leased from the Eccles family the carriage entrance has been built up and doorways opened (1847) on the street side ; it passed out of the hands of the Tyrawley family, 1809. In No. 63 Sir Boyle Roche lived. No. 64 is a double house, one part being decorated by groups in bas relief; this part was added for his own use by F. JOHNSTON, architect of S. George's Church, &c., and contains a fine octagonal room, oak room, and fine mantel- pieces. The stable is built with a perpendicular Gothic tower, and contains some curious Spanish wood-work. (S. GEORGE'S CHURCH.) The top of the street was laid out as a Royal Circus early in this century, with the intention of rivalling Merrion-square, and is so marked on the maps ; but only the dwarf wall for the railings was built. The upper part of Eccles-street, and the MATER- MISERICORDI^ HOSPITAL inter- sect the Circus. Education. Ireland in the past may be said to have had no public schools comparable to the great English foundations a circum- stance which may in some measure account for the astounding fact that even to the present day Irish gentry are in the habit of sending their sons to second rate English schools, from which they return to enter Dublin University ! The most famous attempt to remedy this defect in our educa- tional appliances was the Feinag- lian Institution, so called from a German scholar (Von Feinagle) who visited Dublin in 1813 to lecture on Mnemonics and Educa- tion. He was induced by the leading men of the city to remain here in order to put his methods to a practical test. ALDBOROUGH HOUSE was secured for the avowed intention of " inducing the resi- dent gentlemen of Ireland to educate their sons in their native country, and thereby averl those immediate and remote effects which too often follow from the opposite practice." The Institu- tion flourished for a very consider- able time, but has long ceased to exist. Whatever the difficulties may have been in 1813 about an Irish education for Irish boys, there can be no question that now Dublin is amply supplied with good schools of every possible class, capable of giving an educa- tion distinctly equal, if not superior to that given in any English school ; but in prestige and social position, both of the school and 185 the schoolmaster, much is yet left to be desired ; and it is lamentable indeed to see so many Irish boys still sent to England year after year to acquire only a veneer of English accent, and a snobbish disdain for all that is Irish. The largest public schools in Dublin at present are the High School of Erasmus Smith in Harcourt-street, and the Wesley College in S. Stephen's-green; but the boys of the upper classes are for the most part educated at some of the numerous private schools which abound in the city. At SANTRY, some 3^ miles from the city, is a large school founded by the Incorporated Society, while at Rathfarnham is situ- ated the College of St. Columba, a school built in 1843, and conducted in the interest of the Church of Ireland on the English Public School system. The Presbyterian Assembly has opened in Stephen's-green N., a new school, called S. Andrew's College. There are numerous excellent schools for the education of Catholic youth, among which may be mentioned the Catholic University School in Leeson- street, and the famous Black rock College. Electric Lighting LIGHT- ING. Electoral Divisions. Dublin is divided for electoral purposes into four divisions, named I. College-green. 2. Dublin Harbour. 3. Stephen's- green. 4. S. Patrick's. The University of Dublin sends two representatives to the Imperial Parliament. Ely Place. (Map B.) No. 5 was built by Dr. Gustavus Hume circ. 1770, and gave the name Hume-row, until 1776 when the Earl of Ely built No. 8. In No 6, Lord Chancellor Fitzgibbon, afterwards Earl of Clare, lived ; some of the loopholes and defen- ces erected by Lord Clare (and not without good reason) against possible attacks by mobs, can yet be seen ; as can the emblems of the Lord Chancellor's office which are on the panels of the staircase. This house was afterwards used by Lord Powerscourt, it is now a public office. No. 8, Ely House, has a noble staircase with well- carved doorways and fine metal balustrades, the panels represent- ing the labours of Hercules. The stucco is of pure Italian design ; the drawingroom, of which the ceiling is finely moulded, has a silver grate, and white marble mantelpieces with groundwork of inlaid Sienna. Enniskerry in the County Wicklow nearly four miles from Bray (fare by Mail car 6d.), lies at the further end of THE SCALP, and is one of the most picturesque villages in the neighbourhood. It is so romantically situated and the scenery is so delightful that it is a favourite resort of the visitors to Dublin. The best approach to it is through the Scalp ; but the easiest and most natural method of access is to drive from Bray to the DARGLE and walk through it to Enniskerry, which is half a mile from the end of the Dargle. It would be quite impossible, where all is so lovely, to pick out the chief " bits " of beauty ; but the peeps obtained from the Scalp with the dainty little village nestling in the valley below are worth along walk to see. The church on the hill is a pretty building with a grace- ful spire and behind it towers the huge form of the Great Sugar Loaf. Enniskerry is an excellent centre for tourists, and there is good 186 Hotel accommodation. Close to the village is POWERSCOURT De- mesne and Waterfall. Essex Bridge BRIDGES. Fares Cab and Car within the Dublin Metropolitan District are arranged by the Commissioners of Police, and are as follows: 1. By " Set-down," direct from one place to another within the prescribed boundaries, for two only, 6d. Double fare is charged if the hiring be before 9 A.M. or after 10 P.M. For more than two persons and at any hour, is. An ad- ditional sixpence is charged for each stoppage, provided that the driver warns the hirer that such a charge will be made. 2. By Time. For first hour or less for one or more persons, is. 6d. For every half-hour after the first complete hour, 6d. If the hiring be before 9 A. M. or after 10 P.M. these fares are increased to 2s. and gd. respec- tively. No driver is bound by a time engagement beyond five hours, except by special arrange- ment. For drives which go outside the prescribed boundaries the follow- ing are the charges : I. By Distance : (which is cal- culated invariably from the General Post Office without regard to where the hiring actually took place). For a drive, for one or more persons not returning with tJie hirer, for every statute mile, going, 6d. Drivers are bound to bring back the hirer, if required to do so, at a fare for every mile returning, 3d. If the hiring be before 9 A.M. or after 10 P.M. the fare going shall be is. for \hzjirst mile or fraction of a mile, the other fares remaining as above. 2. By Time. For the first ten minutes with not more than two adults, 6d. After hours or with more than two adults, is. For second ten minutes or part thereof, 6d. No driver to be bound for more than 20 minutes if not hired by the hour at a fare of 2s. For every half after the first complete hour, gd. Luggage is charged for at the rate of 2d. per article ; and small parcels, umbrella, &c., or other article carried in the hand shall not be considered luggage. Drivers are bound to proceed from the stand to the hirer's residence if the distance do not exceed quarter of a mile. If sent away, unemployed, they are entitled to receive 6d. [BOUNDARIES.] Female Orphan House. The Female Orphan House is splendidly situated on high ground on the North Circular road. The charity dates from 1 790 when Mrs. Este opened a home for five orphans. Mrs. Este died the fol- lowing year, and Mrs. Peter La Touche took her place. Thepre- sent building was opened in 1793. The west wing was added in 1796 (during which year 1,015 was obtained for the charity after a sermon preached by the Rev. Walter Blake Kir wan in S. Peter's Church). In 1818 the east wing and chapel were added. For many years Parliament gave a grant to equal the estimated ex- pense, and the number of children reached 160. There is now a fixed Parliamentary grant of 500, and there are 60 inmates. The building has a long front separated from the road by railings 187 -erected by Henry Bren- nan in 1867. At the east end of the building is the chapel, and near it is a parsonage built in 1876 in memory of Ven. C. \Volseley, who was chap- lain for twenty years. The inside is in beauti- ful order, Mrs. Fuller having in 1887 com pletley restored the fabric. It contains 100 iron beds of quaint form, presented by George IV. after his visit in 1821. The chapel was de- signed by F. Johnston (1818-19) at a cost .of .2,500 which was granted by Parliament and, like the Chapel Royal, is a study in perpendicular Gothic executed in stucco. It has a memorial window to Mrs. Peter La Touche. There is a farm attached which Mrs. A. J. Brown gave in 1891 as "The Richard Brown Memo- rial Farm." There is a " Brennan Memorial Fund," having for its object to supply sea air and bathing to the orphans. All the work of the house, farm, making of clothes, &c., is done by the girls, their employment being changed each fortnight, only the appliances met with in ordinary houses being used, so that the girls may be fitted for situations. Ferryboats cross the Liffey at three or four points below the Swivel-bridge and form a con- venient, if slow, method of passing from side to side on the lower reaches of the river. The fare is |d. Fingall. The northern part of the County Dublin from the coast for a considerable distance inland was called Fingall from a colony of Ostmen who were expelled from FERRYBOAT. Dublin after protracted fighting in the tenth century and settled in this district. It is said, but with what truth we know not, that the inhabitants possess even now some distinct characteristics, derived from their Gallic ancestry. It is at least certain that the towns and villages of Fingall, poor though they may be, are quite remarkable among Irish villages for their clean tidy appearance (SKERRIES, LUSK, &c.). Fingall gives the title Earl of Fingall to the noble head of the great Irish family of Plunkett. Fire Brigade, The, has its chief station in Clarendon-street, near the top of Grafton-street (Map A). It is very central and well officered, so that with rare ex- ceptions Dublin suffers little from fires. Like all large cities, it has been visited, in the past, by terrible disasters from fire. In 1190 "a great part of the city was con- sumed;" in 1282 and the following year serious conflagrations oc- curred and CHRIST CHURCH CATHEDRAL was greatly injured. In 1361 a similar fate befell S. PATRICK'S CATHEDRAL; in 188 1304 the noble Cistercian ABBEY OF S. MARY in Oxmantown was burned and the Chancery Rolls up to the 28th year of Edward I., which were deposited in the Abbey, were destroyed. In 1591, the powder sent by Queen Eliza- beth for the use of the Army, was ignited by some accident and caused terrible loss of life. In 1792 the House of Commons was burned. Passing over some minor outbreaks we find during the pre- sent century the great fire of 1837 in which the Arcade which stood on the site of the College-green P.O. was burned. The Account- ant-General's office was destroyed by fire in 1857 and in 1860 occurred the appalling fire in which the Kildare-street CLUB was burned. Within recent years, the most notable conflagrations have been the burning of the Theatre Royal in Hawkins'-street, 1880, the destruction in 1892 of the SOUTH CITY MARKETS, and of Amott's premises in Henry- street in 1894. Fish and Vegetable Mar- kets. (MapC.) The Fish and Vegetable Markets were erected on the site of a number of half ruinous houses about East Arran- street and Mary's-lane. They were opened in 1892 and consist of ten departments: six for fruit and vegetables and four for fish. The principal entrance is in Halston: street and is built of lime- stone and brick with terra-cotta ornaments ; it is in the Corinthian style, and has figures of Justice with a sword, and Trade with -evenly balanced scales. Fitzwi 1 1 iam-square (Map B.), although small, is well built, most of the houses having the basement faced with cut granite. It is of comparatively late date (1816-24). The Tennis Tourna- ment, during which the Champion- ship of Ireland is decided, is held in it each May. The square is not open to the public. Football has always been a favourite game in this country, and, as might be anticipated, Irishmen's preferences are strongly in favour of the Rugby game, and in 1894 Ireland won the Championship of the United Kingdom. The leading clubs are the University, Wanderers, Lansdowne and Bective Rangers, who among them supply the Dublin contingent to the Irish XV. Association football is played in a half-hearted fashion in Dublin. The Gaelic Associa- tion play a game of rather similar type, but so rough that accidents are of frequent occurrence. Fountains. Dublin is badly- provided with ornamental drink- ing fountains. Many interesting examples were cleared away by the Paving Board when reconsti- tuted in 1807. "There were formerly in almost every street one or two fountains, which, though a great ornament, were a greater nuisance, and the cause of many sad accidents, as they were alwa\ s crowded by the idle, and the pavement around was so wet and slippery that horses, particularly in harness, have frequently fallen in attempting to pass, and in winter these places became a perfect sheet of ice. All these nuisances have been removed at a trifling loss to the city in point of pictur- esque appearance." When the LOOP LINE was being made a similar vandalism occurred, a handsome fountain of cut stone erected by .the Earl of Carlisle in 1861 was removed and has dis- appeared. The only ornamental fountains are those in S. STEPHEN'S- 189 GREEN and the Castle. The chief drinking fountains, in addition to the ancient specimen in James' - street, are at the Municipal Build- ings (erected soon after the open- ing of Lord Edward-street) ; Park Gate-street (erected by the Earl of Carlisle, 1861) ; S. Stephen's- green, N. : Artisans' Dwellings in the Coombe ; and the CRAMPTON MEMORIAL. At the west side of MERRION-SQUARE are the remains of one of ambi- tious design. There are also a number of standards from which Vartry water can be drawn, and several drinking troughs for cattle. Four Courts. (Map A.) The Courts and numerous offices con- nected therewith are situated on the north bank of the Liffey between Richmond Bridge and \Vhitworth Bridge ; almost the entire interval being occupied by the river front of this superb pile of buildings. In very early times the Irish Courts of Law were held at intervals in various towns throughout the kingdom, chiefly Carlow and Drogheda. In 1548 we learn that the Cathedral of S. Patrick was used as a Com- mon Hall for the Courts of Justice, on the plea that two cathedrals were unnecessary. In 1608 "The King's Courts" were removed from Dublin Castle to " certain rooms with- in the precinct or close of CHRIST CHURCH," probably the house of the Deans of Christ Church. Constant complaints were made of the poor accom- modation here afforded, and in 1695 these King's Courts were re- built at a cost of ^3,421 75. 8d. In 1744, and again in 1755, con- siderable sums were expended for repairs ; but the buildings had fallen into so ruinous a state, and were so extremely incommodious, that COOLEY was requested to fur- nish a design for a new building In a more convenient situation ; the outcome of which proposal was the building of the present Four Courts in 1796. In the older Four Courts at Christ Church the separate Courts were not enclosed from each other, and the Judges of the various Courts could be seen all sitting in the same Great Hall. The design for the new building, as originally drawn by Mr. Cooley, proposed a large central square in front of the main building ; but in consequence of the difficulty of securing the necessary depth in the rear, an alteration was made by Mr. Gandon, who took up the work on Mr. Cooley's death. At each side of the central building there are large courtyards separated from the street by rusticated screens, in the centres of which are orna- mental archways by which one enters the courtyards. Over the eastern arch is placed the Harp of Ireland, with the statues of Justice, Security and Law supported upon volumes of law books, encircled by a serpent, presumably emble- matic of the wisdom of the bar ! Above the western arch stands the Royal Shield, encompassed by em- blems suitable to the offices which occupy that part of the building. These wings are occupied by the offices connected with the various Courts, and are not of any great interest to the visitor. The great central building with its fine dome forms one of the most attrac- tive of our public buildings. The main entrance is through a mag- nificent Corinthian portico of six columns, supporting on the apex of its pediment a statue of Moses, and at either side figures of Justice and Mercy, while at each corner of the front seated figures are 190 placed emblematic of Wisdom and Authority. Above this central pile rises a circular lantern, 64 feet in diameter, ornamented by 24 graceful Corinthian columns ; the entablature running right round the summit of the lantern, appears to support the magnificent dome. Passing through the semicircular recess in the main front we come at once into the great Central Hall, from which the Four Courts extend towards the four corners of the square. The plan, there- statues. The entrance to" each Court is between pairs of coupled Corinthian columns, the upper portion of which is fluted. In the four panels immediately above are bas-reliefs representing great events in history : I. William the Conqueror instituting Courts of Justice ; 2. Signing of the Magna-Charta in 1215; 3. Grant- ing of a Charter to the City of Dublin by Henry II. ; 4. James I. abolishing the Brehon Laws and publishing the Act of Oblivion. THE FOUR COURTS. fore of the building is a square of 140 feet, at each corner of which is one of the Courts, the entrance of each being from the Central Hall. The intervals between the Courts are occupied as Judges' Chambers, Robing Rooms, Jury Rooms, &c. , and one of them is used as a Rolls Court. The Hall is adorned with statues of Sir Michael O'Loughlin, Plunkett, Whiteside, O'Hagan, Sheil and Henry Joy, so that there are left now only two vacant sites for These panels are the work of Mr. EDWARD SMITH, a Dublin artist. Above the interior dome is a large space under the true dome, lighted by twelve large windows, between which are statues, emblematic of Liberty, Justice, Wisdom, Prudence, Law, Mercy, Eloquence and Punishment, each resting on a corbel. Above these figures on the frieze are to be seen medal- lions of the following great Law- givers : Moses, Lycurgus, Solon Numa, Confucius, Alfred, Manco- 191 Capac and Ollahm-Fpdhla. This void between the interior and exterior domes was intended originally for a library, and is very spacious but singularly ill- adapted for any such purpose. It is now used as a storehouse for records. The rooms used as a Library at present are worth a visit, if the visitor can secure the entree through some barrister friend. Here at almost any hour of the day may be seen a busy hive. Two small rooms at right angles to each other are simply black with gowns bustling to and fro. The sitting accommodation has long been quite inadequate to the numbers requiring seats, and fortunate indeed is he who has secured a seat for his proper use. When a solicitor wishes to con- sult a member of the Bar who is in the Library he mentions the name to the doorkeeper, who in sten- torian tones summons the required barrister to a small ante-room, where eager consultations are con- tinually being held. The public are admitted only to the great Central Hall, which during the sittings of the Court, presents a very lively scene, eminent Q.C.'s hurrying from one case to another, while countless briefless Juniors, their brief-bags bulged probably with waste papers, assume a pre- ternaturally busy air when some possible client approaches, though their sole business in actual fact is the retailing of the freshest Dublin gossip. The Courts themselves are small but well lit, and are worth a visit only when some great case is on, with a strong Bar. Even if the olden eloquence has died with Curran, Whiteside and many another, at least there are still many, who relieve the dryness of their law with flashes of that true Irish wit, which has ever found its most brilliant exponents among the Bar of Ireland. Francis Xavier, Chapel Of S. (Map C.). The Chapel of S. Francis Xavier, Upper Gardiner-street, belongs to the Society of Jesus, and is one of the finest chapels in Dublin. It is beautifully decorated and is celebrated for its music. The building was designed by T. B. Keane (1832). The front consists of a granite portico 50 feet high of four Ionic pillars supporting an entablature and pediment which bear the Sacred Mono- gram and "Deo Uni et Trino sub invocatione - S. Francisci Xaverii " in gold. The interior is cruciform and is 40 feet high. The great altar screen, 25 feet high, is of the Corinthian order, with a pediment and alto relievo in the tympanum ; the altar piece represents S. Francis Xavier preaching, and is of considerable merit. An organ gallery is over the west door ; the organ was built for a musical festival in Westminster Abbey. The paint- ings hanging on the walls are well worth seeing. The four hung on either side of the high altar are copies of famous Roman paint- ings, and illustrate the four great proofs of the Redeemer's love : " Se nascens dedit socium, Convescens in edulium, Se moriens in pretium, Se regnans dat in premium." The four paintings in the transepts were added in 1881, they are by the elder Gagliardi and represent (l.) Ignatius immediately after his conversion. (2.) Ignatius persuading Francis Xavier. (3.) The chapel of Montmartre where the vows were taken. (4. ) Francis Borgio offering himself as a novice. In a corridor are 192 portraits of many prominent merly included in Gardiner's- members of the Society. row. Gaiety Theatre, in S. King- General Post Office (Map the top of Grafton- street, at the top of street (Map A.) is a small but comfortable house. Since the burning of the old Theatre Royal, in 1880, it has been prac- tically the sole theatre at which high class entertainments are given. It seats about 2,000, and the stage is 45 ft. deep by 54 ft. wide. The fa9ade is plain brick- work, and pre- sents no archi- tectural feature. G a n d o n, James, (1742-1824), born in Lon- don, was ap- prenticed to Sir Wm. Cham- bers. He came to Dublin in 1781^ to super- intend the building of the Custom House, and remained in Dublin until his death. He is buried in Glas- nevin, in the grave of Gross, the antiquarian. Gandon designed the Custom House ; portico, House of Lords ; centre and screen arcades of Four Courts ; Military Hospital; old Carlisle Bridge ; King's Inns. Gardiner's-row (Map C.) dates from 1 769. No. 4 was the family house of the Earl of Arran ; No. 5, of the Earl of Ross, whose title became extinct on his death in 1802. No. 6 was at one time the house of the Whites (Lord Annaly). In No. 7 the Earl of Carrick lived. Great Denmark-street was for- C.), Sackville-street. The Pos't Office was originally established in Dame-street, where the Com- mercial Buildings now stand, it was then moved to the site in College-green occupied by the National Bank, and remained until increase of work rendered a larger building necessary. The present fine building (1815-18) was GEXEBAL POST OFFICE. designed by F. JOHNSTON, and cost ^50,000. It has a frontage of 223 feet and is built of granite ; its portico projecting over the pathway is one of the features of Sackville-street. This portico is 80 feet long and has six massive fluted Ionic columns, a richly carved frieze, and a pediment sur- mounted by three fine statues by the younger Smyth. Hibernia resting on a spear and holding a shield decorated with a harp is in the centre ; Mercury with his caducus and money-bag, and Fidelity with finger to lip and 193 key in hand are to the right and left. The ancient joke of the Jarvey was to point them out as the Twelve Apostles, and on the unwary tourist objecting that there were only three, to reply that the rest were inside sorting the letters. The building is little changed externally, except that the vesti- bule under the portico was built up in 1860, and letters are now posted without entering the building ; the removal of the clock and bells (whose musical chimes were heard all over the north side of the city) to the Royal University, was a local loss, and the present clock is a mean look- ing substitute. The inside of the building has been fre- quently altered. The sorting and telegraph departments occupy most of it. The pri- vileged few admitted to the sorting office on Christmas eye witness a busy scene. George s Church- Little S. (Map C.) S. George's chapel, or, as it is commonly called, Little S, George's, is in Hill-street (formerly Lower Temple- street). It was built circ. 1714, by Sir John Eccles, as a private chapel for his house- hold and tenantry in the grounds of Mount Eccles, and on a map of 1719 is marked "King George's Chapel." It has a square tower 40 ft. high, and con- tains some interesting monu- ments and the pew of the Eccles family. It is sur- rounded by a crowded grave- yard. n3JJIM i It was been closed for some years, and the endowments given to Clonliffe Chapel of Ease, S. George's Parish. In 1894 was carried out a project to take down the body of the church, and turn the churchyard into an open space, using the tower for the caretaker. The monuments should have been moved to S. George's Church. George, Church of S. (Map C.) in George's-place, at the junction of Eccles, Temple, and s. GEORGE'S CHURCH. Hardwicke-streets. The original parish of S. George was on the south side of Dublin, and George's- lane off South George's-street marks the locality of the church. Afterwards "Little" S. GEORGE'S O 194 CHURCH was built at the north side. The increase of the north side rendering more accommoda- tion necessary, the present parish of S. George was formed by Act of Parliament, 1793, zn*^ tne church built 1802-13. Francis Johnston was the architect of the church, the estimated cost was ji 7,453 i8s. 4d., and the actual amount spent ^36,210 145. 2d. ; part of the increase was due to the softness of the ground neces- sitating deep foundations and the building of large vaults. This is the finest classical church in the city and standing in an open space on high ground can be well seen. The principal front is 92 feet wide and has in its centre a portico of four fluted Ionic columns, 3$ feet in diameter, supporting an entablature and pediment, on the frieze of which is in Greek capitals " Glory to God in 'the highest." The portico is 15 feet deep and is raised on several steps. The other three sides are also of the Ionic order, and have a boldly projecting cornice. Behind the portico rises the steeple, one of the most beautiful examples of its kind in existence. This is due to the conception being Gothic in spirit although the details are purely classic. It is 200 feet high and ends in a finely carved stone cross. The interior measures 80 x 60 ft. and is covered by a single span ceiling of great beauty which nearly caused the collapse of the building in 1836. The scarcity of timber due to Continental war led to short lengths being used ; gradually the massive walls were pushed out, and the whole was in such a dangerous state that it was almost decided to take the roof off and rebuild. Malet, a young engineer, offered to raise and fix the roof without damage to the ceiling and succeeded ; his bow-string girders can be seen in the roof. Projecting galleries ap- parently support ed by handsomely carved cantilevers run round three sides, at the fourth a chancel now opens but formerly there was only a slight recess with a "three- decker" in front, the space behind being divided into three stories and used for vestry and school- rooms. Other alterations have been made, such as removing the square pews (sittings in the gallery were sold by auction for ^5,213 8s. gd., in aid of the building fund-) and taking away the upper organ gallery. There are memorial windows in the chancel, a memorial brass lectern, and a carved font erected by sub- scriptions received from those who were baptised in the church. There are a number of wall tablets; the most curious is that of Charles L. Metzler Giesecke, who bears the following letters after his name: F.R.S.E. & G.S.L., V.P. R.I.A., H.M.R.D.S., M. W.S.W.M.-B.S.L.M.R.D.A.S. There is a peal of eight bells ranging from 8 cwt. to 22 cwt., which are rung by amateurs. Six were hung in 1828 by the architect of the church in the Gothic tower he built to the stable of his house 64 ECCLES-STREET. The neigh- bours complaining of the noise, he had two more bells cast and pre- sented the peal, which cost .1,500, to the church in the same year, G.F.S. The object of the Girls' Friendly Society is to bind to- gether in one society ladies and working girls for mutual help. There is a free registry for young women in business and for servants; and members receive introductions 195 when moving from one district to, another. The Lodge, 12 and 13 South Frederick-street, was opened 1881 and enlarged in 1887 as a memorial of Jane LaTouche. Its object is to provide a temporary home for members of the G.F.S. and other young women. It alsp contains recreation rooms, a library, and the registry offices. Glasnevin is a quiet little village prettily situated on the banks of the river Tolka about two miles from Dublin ; it consists of a single street with some INK-BOTTLE SCHOOL HOUSE, GLASNEVIN. picturesque old houses. In the eighteenth century it was a favour- ite suburb, and Tickel, Addison, Swift. Delany, Sheridan, Steele and Parnell are hut some of the names intimately connected with its history. At the right hand side is Delville, built by Dr. Delany, F.T.C.D., and afterwards Dean of Down, on a small property of eleven acres which he laid out in a fantastic manner with the assist- ance of another Fellow of Trinity Dr. Helsham. Anxious to im- mortalise both names, Delany took their first syllables and called his place Zfe/delville ; but it was the age of wits and epigrams, and the first syllable had to be dropped. Swift often stayed at Delville, and it is supposed that whilst staying therein 1735 he printed the satire " The Legion Club " which no publisher would undertake, fearing prosecution. Early in this century an old printing press was dis- covered in an outhouse. The BOTANIC GARDENS are at Glasnevin and the name Glasnevin is often erroneously applied to Prospect CEMETERY. Glen of the Downs. This is a pretty glen i miles long, about five miles from Bray ; it lies between the Downs mountain and the little Sugar Loaf (a barbarous name which has ousted the poetical Irish name whichmeansgiltspears, alluding to the light of the setting sun remaining on the peaks after the lower ground is in shadow). The sides are 600 feet high and densely wooded. There is a good view of the greater Sugar Loaf from the Glen and pretty views of the Glen itself can be obtained from the Tea-house in Bellevue. Glencree Reformatory. The Glencree Reformatory was established in 1859, and old Glen- cree Barracks, restored from the state of ruin which long disuse had occasioned, forms the chief of the present buildings. It is situ- ated twelve miles from Dublin, in the heart of the mountains close to Lough Bray, and can only be reached by driving from Dublin or Bray. The best plan for a visitor is to drive from Dublin, returning by Enniskerry and the Scalp. It will be a long day's 196 drive, but the scenery throughout is splendid, The boys are em- ployed in reclaiming mountain land, and already have formed a fertile oasis in an inhospitable district. The average number of inmates is 250. Glendalough, the famous vale of the Seven Churches lies about 8 miles from Rathdrum, a station on the D. W. & W. Railway, which is the best point from which to reach the " Glen of the two lakes." The drive towardsLa- ragh is extremely beautiful, and on passing this village we see the dark mountains amid whose cheerless gorges S. Kevin sought refuge from the fair Kathleen. The hills which surround the lakes are, on the south, Lugduff [2,148 ft.], Mullicap [2,176 ft.], and Derrybawn [1,567 ft.] ; and, ST. KEVIN'S KITCHEN. on the north, Brockagh, Glen- dassan,and Comaderry [2,296 ft]. The lower lake is small and not very picturesque, but the desolate wildness of the upper lake has an impressiveness all its own. Tradition states that Glendalough was, in the fifth and sixth cen- turies, the site of a city which sprang up round the monastery founded by S. Kevin. From this spot, now so lonely, went forth in olden days saints and scholars to teach the world ; and while all surrounding nations were sunk in barbarism, in this remote valley the lamp of re- ligion brightly burned, and the silent ruins of the cathedrals and shrines, then erected, still bear tes- timony to the sanctity and splen- dour of our pious forefathers. The Seven Churches are : The Cathe- dral, of which the nave is 48 ft. by 30 ft., and the choir 38 ft. by 25 ft. The east window is en- riched by chevron and other ornaments. S. Kevin's Kitchen, with its very ancient stone roof of steep pitch and its strange belfry tower springing from the gable the earliest ex- ample of such a belfry. The nave is 23 ft. by 15 ft., the walls being 3 ft. 6 inches in width. Trinity Church, con- sisting of a nave 29 ft. 6 inches, with a chancel 13 ft. 6 inches by 9 ft. In it may be seen almost all the characteristic features of ancient Irish architecture, a splendid example of the square- headed doorway and a magnificent choir arch. Our Lady's Chapel pos- 197 SQUARE-HEADED DOORWAY. sesses a superb western doorway, one of the finest examples of its style. The small stream which flows from the upper lake separates S. Kevin's Kitchen from the Re- feart, or Royal Cemetery Church, the burial place of the Irish kings, the O'Tooles. This ruin is too imperfect to be very interesting. The Prior of S. Saviour, some- times called the Abbey, is the most Easterly of the Churches, and is of extreme interest as con- taining the tomb of S. Kevin who died in 618. This appears to have been the finest of the Churches architecturally, and consisted of two buildings parallel to each other, and much curious workmanship as well as many strange devices can still be made out, some being quite unique in Ireland. On a little patch of ground under the beetling crag of Lugduff, almost inaccessible except by boat, is the ruin called Teampull-na-Skellig, or Church of the Desert. The last of the Seven Churches is called The Ivy Church, but there are many other ecclesias- tical remains scattered through the valley stones, crosses, &c., while innumerable legends are told by the guides about almost every bush or well in the glen. The visitor will be wise to em- ploy a guide and so acquire much information of an amus- ing if not very veracious kind. The Round Tower, no ft. high, is a good example of these remarkable buildings, of which originally there were two at Glendalough. S. STONE CROSS. 198 Kevin's bed is a small cavity in the sheer face of the rock which overhangs the upper lake. It may be approached with comparative ease by land, but it is more easy of access from a boat. The bed is some thirty feet above the level of the lake, and, if we can accept the tradition, it was from this ledge that the saint hurled the fair Kathleen when, with her BOUND TOWER. "eyes of most unholy blue," she tried to entice him from his pious meditations. Surely her love and fidelity merited less harsh treat- ment. The visitor ought to read Moore's melody " By that Lake whose gloomy shore," the beauty of which has cast a glamour of romance over this mythical mem- ber of " the wily sex ' ' and her sad fate. S. Kevin's bed has been visited by many famous people Sir Walter Scott, Maria Edge- worth, Thackeray, Lady Morgan, and a host of others. Before leaving the lakes, the stranger should visit Poulanass Fall, an exquisite little cascade, behind the small inn between the lakes. There is excellent hotel accom- modation at Glendalough, and the tourist who cares for walking might spend some days in ex- ploring this delightful district. Glenmalure RATHDRUM. Golf has within recent years become very popular in Dublin and fine links have been secured atDollymount beyond CLONTARK, and in the Phcenix Park. The sport finds many enthusiastic votaries, chiefly among members of the bar. Gordon Boys' Home (Map C.) The Gordon Boys' Home was established in 1888, and moved in 1890 to No. 77 Lower Gardiner-street, to provide a home for boys who have passed through the Meath INDUSTRIAL SCHOOL, and obtained employ- ment in Dublin. It is named after Samuel Gordon, M.D., Hon. Sec. of the Meath School, and has an average of 16 inmates. Grangegorman Church. ALL SAINTS, GRANGEGORMAN. Guinness' Brewery (Map D.). in S. James' Gate stretches clown to the river, on which the Company has large wharves. The business began about 150 years ago, but its gigantic export operations may be said to date only from 1860, when the pre- mises occupied an area only equal to one tenth of the present space. Probably every visitor to Ireland will be desirous of visiting this magnificent commercial enterprise, the fame of which is world wide. Permission can be readily obtained by writing to the Secretary, and the visitor will have here an oppor- tunity of inspecting such a busy 199 hive of industry as his eyes Henrietta-Street. (Map C.) have never previously rested upon. To describe the various curious things which are shown would need a specialist ; but among the many marvels may be noticed the huge barrels of "beer, "as the guides call our Dublin XX. Miles upon miles of tubing seem to encircle one like a vast spider's web within the works ; myriads of barrels of every possible size form pyramids outside ; railway THE YARD, GUINNESS S BREWERY. lines with little special trains plying backwards and forwards in the busiest manner give one a fair idea of the amazing traffic of this great firm. For the convenience of visitors there are even passenger trains, which whirl one through the narrowest and murkiest of tunnels in his tour of inspection till one almost expects to hear the shout, "Stop here for Guinness' Porter." The Company manufactures on the premises everything required for trade pur- poses. The men employed number i, 600, and some live in model dwelling-houses built for them at Rialto-bridge. Carts, horses and men are all of the biggest, ' ' spick and span." Henrietta-street leads from Bolton- street to the King's Inns, and at the end of the last century was one of the most fashionable streets in Dublin ; it contains some mag- nificent houses, now mostly in tenements. It used to be called Primate's Hill as four Primates occupied in turn from 1724-1794 a house at the top which, the executor of Primate Robinson assigned it to a pauper in order to get rid of his liability, and was so neglected for about thirty years that it became ruinous and the present Law Library was built on its site. The top house on the right hand side (No. 10), was built by Luke Gardiner in 1730; it after- wards was known as Blessington House. The pre- sent doorway is modern, the hall cutting the dining-room in two. In 1814 the body of the Countess of Mountjoy (whose husband after- wards became Earl of Blessington) lay in state in this house, some ^"3,000 or ,4,000 being lavished on the spectacle. No. 9 was designed by Cassels in 1734 for Thomas Carter, Master of the Rolls. There is a fine cornice, centre window and door- way. In the entrance hall six Corinthian columns support the lobby, which is reached by a fine double stone staircase. Mr. St. George, an ancestor of the Earl of Leitrim and the builder of the Viceregal Lodge, lived in No. 8. The large house lower down be- longed to the Earl of Thomond. 200 Hibernian Academy. ACADEMY, ROYAL HIBERNIAN. Holy Cross College CLONLIFFE COLLEGE. Hospitals. Dublin is well pro- vided with Hospitals, but unfor- tunately owing to want of funds many of them are unable to use all their beds. They may be roughly classified, into : I. General Hospitals. II. Fever Hospitals. III. Special Hospitals. IV. Hospitals for Incurables. General Hospitals are eleven in number. 1. Adelaide Hospital (Map A), Peter-street; Founded 1839, for Protestants only. 125 beds. 2. City of Dublin Hospital (Map B), Upper Baggot-street; founded 1832 ; 93 beds ; enlarged and re- fronted from designs of A. E. Murray. 1894. 3. Dr. STEEVENS' HOSPITAL (Ma'p D.) Kingsbridge ; founded 1720. 250 beds. 4. House of Industry Hospitals (Map C), North Brunswick-st. ; 200 general beds. There are three buildings Richmond, for surgical cases, 1 20 beds ; Whitworth, for medical, 80 beds ; and the Hard- wicke for fever cases. 5. Jervis-street Charitable Infir- mary (Map C). Founded 1721. Rebuilt 1884. 80 beds. 6. MATER MISERICORDS HOS- PITAL, Eccles-street. Founded 1 86 1. 350 beds. 7. MEATH HOSPITAL and Co. Dublin Infirmary (Map A), Hey- tesbury-street. Founded 1753. 102 beds. 8. Mercer's Hospital (Map A), Lower Mercer-street. Founded 1734, by Mrs. Mary Mercer. 97 beds. 9. Sir Patrick Dun's Hospital -(Map B), Grand Canal-street. Founded 1808. So beds. 10. S. Vincent's Hospital (Map B), S. Stephen's-green, East. Founded 1834. 160 beds, under the care of the Sisters of Charity. 11. Drumcondra Hospital, for- merly Whitworth, but renamed 1893. Founded in 1818 as a Fever Hospital. Reopened as a general Hospital. 34 beds. There are also large general hospitals attached to the North and South Dublin Unions, and a ROYAL MILITARY INFIRMARY in the Park. Fever Hospitals, The largest and best situated Fever Hospital in Dublin is the House of Re- covery in Cork-street. It was founded in 1802, and consists of three large Hospital buildings (the latest built in 1893), Nurses' Home, Laundry, &c., standing in well planted grounds. There are observation wards, and all forms of infectious disease are kept separate. The Hardwicke Hospital (House of Industry), 120 beds, is also kept for fever cases, and several of the general hospitals have fever wards. Lying-in Hospitals ROTUNDA HOSPITAL (Map C), Great Britain-street ; Coombe Hospital ; National Lying-in Hos- pital, Holies-street. Children's Hospitals National Children's Hospital (Map A), Harcourt-street ; Or- thopaedic (Map B), Great Bruns- wick-street ; S. Joseph's, Temple- street. Ophthalmic Hospitals S. Mark's (Map B), 1844, Lincoln-place ; National Eye and -Ear Infirmary (Map B), Moles- worth-street. Incurables Hospital for Incurables, Don- nybrook-road ; Hospice for the Dying, Harold's- cross. 201 Hospital Sunday Fund. The Dublin Hospital Sunday Fund was founded in 1874 chiefly through the efforts of Dr. Henry Eames. Collections are yearly made on the 2nd Sunday in November, but so far only in Protestant places of worship. The fund is divided between sixteen hospitals in proportion to voluntary contributions received and work done. About ^"4,000 is annually distributed. popular resort for Saturday and Sunday outings, and on all days for pic-nics. The harbour is small and about two-thirds is dry at low water ; I mile away is IRELAND'S EYE, the ruins of S. Nessan's Church and the fantastic rocks to the east are worth visiting. The village of Howthis poor; in it are the interesting ruins of the Collegiate church (1235) with triple belfry and tomb of the S. Lawrence (Lord Howth) family HOWTH CASTLE, WITH IRELAND'S EYE. Howth. The Hill of Howth forms the north boundary of Dublin Bay, and is connected with the mainland by a raised beach along which the railway runs. The station is nine miles from Dublin on the Great Northern Railway, Amiens-street terminus. The Hill is two and a-half miles long and two wide, and reaches a height of 563 feet. It is in great part open to the public and is a (1589). The "College" close by is used as a dwelling. Howth Castle is a fine building standing in beautifully wooded grounds ; the rhododendrons are very fine and there is a cromlech called "Fin's Quoit" at the foot of Carrick-Mor cliff, the upper stone is 14 x 12 feet. The Castle door stood open at dinner hour from the time of Granuaile, until the present century. When the Castle, 202 harbour, and village are seen, the cliff walk should be followed, round the wildest part of the hill to the Bailey lighthouse, where Wigham's gas apparatus can be seen. A pretty road leads down to Sutton (passing S. Finton's church) where train can be taken. Huguenots. The refugees known under this name settled at Dublin in large numbers soon after the Restoration of Charles II. The Irish Parliament passed an Act to encourage the settlement of foreign Protestants in Ireland, and the Duke of Ormond, then Lord Lieutenant, exerted himself in forwarding this policy. Cardinal Mazarin died about this time, and from the date of his death liberty of conscience was curtailed in France. Many members of the Reformed Church there preferred to seek a home in foreign lands, and of these a considerable num- ber reached Ireland ; the principal settlement, however, took place when in 1685 tne Edict of Nantes, which had been issued by Henry IV. in 1 598, was revoked by Louis XIV., and the limited toleration which had prevailed since the accession of Henry IV. was abruptly terminated. The Hu- guenots fled out of their country on every side : many of them helped William of Orange to expel James II. from Ireland, and, when peace was restored, their settlement in several localities did much to create prosperity. In Dublin they took up their abode in the Liberties around S. Patrick's Cathedral, and speedily estab- lished thriving industries, such as silk, velvet, and ribbon wearing. The beautiful material known as Irish poplin was introduced by them, and many of the technical terms still used in the trade (e.g., cotcret, rochetee) reveal their origin. The most historic of Irish Banks was founded by David Digges La Touche and Nathaniel Kane in 1713 ; the former had fought at the battle of the Boyne, and founded in Ireland a family to whose public spirit the historian Lecky bears witness. The present Munster and Leinster Bank is the lineal descendant of La Touche's concern. The refugees were partly Calva- nistic and partly Episcopal : the former worshipped in a chapel in Peter-street, which was not finally closed until r8i4 ; they had also a chapel in Lucy-lane (now Chan- cery-place), known as the French Church of the Inns, or of Golblack- lane ; the latter were allowed by the Dean and Chapter of Saint Patrick's to make use of the chapel of S. Mary attached to the cathe- dral ; they had also for some time a place of worship near Capel-street. The French service in S. Patrick's lasted until 1816. There were originally three Hu- guenot burial grounds in Dublin, viz. : in Peter-street, in Cathedral- lane, and in Merrion-row ; the last is still used. Some few place-names in the city are of Huguenot origin as French-street and Mercer-street. The west side of Stephen's-green was long known as Frenchman's- walk, D'Olier-street is named after Jeremiah D'Olier, High Sheriff in 1788 ; Fumbally's-lane shows a strange corruption of Fionville. Amongst Huguenot family names still to be found in Dublin are the following : Borough, DuBedat, Lefanu, LaTouche, Labat, Laber- .touche, Lanauze, LeCIerc, LeBas, Lefroy, Montfort, Maturin.Fleury, Perrin, Cherry, Espinasse, Bes- sonnett, DuCros, De Soucy, Mou- lang, Trench, D'Olier, Saurin 203 Boileau, &c. It may be added that the patentee of the halfpence which in 1723 roused Swift's " salva indignatio " came of a family that had translated its pa- .tronymic Dubois into Wood. InchiCOre, a rising suburb, near KILMAINHAM with fine railway engineering works of the Dublin and South Western Company. Industrial Schools. There are eight industrial schols in and about Dublin. The most im- portant is ARTANE. Heytesbury- street school (Map A-) occupies an interesting old building formerly the Seneschal's Court and prison for the manor of S. Sepulchre. The following list gives the religion, sex, date of opening and average number of inmates : S. Mary, . Sandymount, R C. Girls. 1869. 70. Heytesbury-street. P. Girls. 1869. 30. ARTANE. R.C. Boys. 1870. 800. Booterstown. R.C. Girls. 1870. 140. Meath, Blackrock. P. Boys. 1871. 120. Merrion. R.C. Girls. 1872. 150. Golden Bridge. R.C. Girls. 1880. 1 60. Kilmore, Fairview. R.C. Boys. 1881. 100. Insurance Offices. The following Table giving the chief buildings, with year of erection and name of architect : National, College-green, built for Daly's Coffee Housa (part of). Life Association of Scotland, 40 Dame-street, 1864. David Bryce, (Edinburgh). Standard, 66 Upper Sackville- street, 1865. David Bryce, (Edin- burgh). The Ten Virgins in Pediment, by Steele. Liverpool^ London, and Globe, I and 2 College-green, 1 866. T. N. Deane. Scottish Provincial, 9 Upper Sackville-street, 1867. T. N. Deane (now offices of D. U. Tram Co. ) Scottish Equitable, 14 West- moreland-street, 1867, W. G. Murray. North British and Mercantile, 28 College-green, 1868. David Bryce (Edinburgh.) Royal, 44 and 45 Dame-street, 1868. W. G. Murray. Crown, 46 and 47 Dame- street, 1871. T. N. Deane. English and Scottish Law Life, 41 Lower Sackville-street, 1871. William Sterling. Scottish Widows' Fiind, 40 and 41 Westmoreland-street, 1877. T. N. Deane. Royal Exchange, 5 College- green, 1878. T. N. Deane. Commercial Union, 37 College- green, 1881. T. N. Deane. Sun, 17 S. Andrew-street, 1885. G. C. Ashlin. Northern, 7 Westmoreland- street, 1887. G. C. Ashlin London and Lancashire, 24 Westmoreland-street, 1893. W. J. O'Callaghan. Scottish Provident, 36 College- green, 1894. C. A. Owen. Ireland's Eye, a small island a mile from HOWTH contains the ruins of a very ancient Irish church originally stone roofed, dating from the sixth century, but much rebuilt. It is worth while to row round the island as the cliffs on the seaward side are very fine. James, Church of S., James's-street. A handsome Gothic building designed by J. Welland and built 1861. Jews. In 1718 a plot of ground at Fairview was conveyed to Hebrews and a synagogue was 204 IKELAND S EYE. built on it ; it is still used as a cemetery. In 1830 a synagogue was opened in S. Mary's Abbey. The present synagogue, Adelaide- road, was opened in 1892. It was designed by J. J. O'Callaghan and cost (including the s i ;e ) ; 5,ooo. It is built of red brick in Eastern Romanesque style and contains a "choir," a raised plat- form in centre, and the Ark in a recess. Before the Ark is a hanging censer, and over it are two tables of stone bearing the command- ments in Hebrew. In the basement are two schoolrooms. Johnston, Fran- cis. A celebrated architect to whom Dublin owes much. The following are some of the buildings he de- signed S. GEORGE'S CHURCH, Cash Office, &c., BANK OF IRELAND, Richmond Penitentiary, CASTLE CHAPEL, GENERAL POST OF- FICE, Gate- way ROYAL HOSPITAL, ROYAL HI- BERNIAN ACADEMY (presented to the city at his own cost), Cavendish- row build- ings of the ROTUNDA. He lived for some years in 64 ECCLES- s. JOSEPH'S CHAPEL. 205 STREET, where he had a rich store of curiosities,. He was for many years architect to the Board of Works, and died 1829, and is buried in S. George's Burial Ground. Joseph, Chapel of S. Berkely-st.(Map C.) A beautiful chapel built from the designs of Messrs. O'Neil and Byrne, 1874- 80. It is built of granite in the decorated Gothic style and con- sists of a nave with aisles, an apsidal chancel, chapels and a N. W. tower, the latter was com- pleted 1893. The interior is light and graceful and most of the windows are filled with stained glass. The window at the west end of the Virgin's Aisle is by Hardiman ; there is a handsome wooden pulpit and the reredos with the exquisite life-size white marble angels is the work of Miss Redmond. A peal of tubular bells were hung in 1892. The entire cost cf the chapel was about ^"30,000. Until 1890 it was a chapel of ease to S. Michan's, but was then made into a parish church. Kevin, Chapel of S., (Map A.). The chapel of S. Kevin, Harrington-street, is a handsome cruciform church in decorated Gothic designed by Messrs. Pugin and Ashlin, and consecrated in 1868. It has a wide nave, transepts, a five-sided apse, side chapels, sacristy, &c., and corner turrets but no tower or spire. Amagnificentaltarinwhite marble designed by Ashlin has lately been erected. Kevin, Church of S., (Map A. ) The new church of S. Kevin is a fine structure on the South Circular-road at the corner of Bloomfield-avenue. It was designed by T. Drew, and is a plain but pleasing example of the early English style ; it consists of nave, aisles, chancel, tower and lofty spire, the latter and upper story of the tower are built of red sandstone, which is also used for the windows and doorways and relieves the granite. (Cf. BARNABAS, CHURCH OF S.) The old disused church of S. Kevin (Map A.) is between Upper Kevin-street and Camden- row it stands in an extensive churchyard (where the parents of Tom Moore are buried), and has no particular interest, having being erected in the eighteenth century in place of that built in the fifteenth century, which possibly followed an earlier foundation, but of this there is no record. Kenmare House (Map C.), 41 North Great George's-street is an interesting example of an old Dublin house. It belonged to the Earl of Kenmare and has a fine stone staircase, and the front drawing-room has the only perfect frescoes remaining in the city ; views of the Italian coast are seen all round as though between the pillars of a colonnade. The mantel-piece in this room is a fine example of Bossi work. At the back, opening off the lobby, is a private chapel. This house was for some time the residence of ISAAC BUTT. It was from No. 20 nearly opposite (occupied by Major Swan) that Mrs. Lefanu, when a girl, stole the dagger with which Lord Edward Fitzgerald defended himself. For years Major Swan went about in fear, thinking the dagger would be used to take his life, in revenge for Lord Edward. Lady Kenmare left Kenmare House in 1798, as she could not bear to live within sight of Major Swan. Kil So constant as a prefix in Irish names, is the same word as 206 DRAWING-ROOM, KEXMARS HOUSE " cell," and means shrine or church. Kil main ham. (Map D.) 2i miles, from the G. P. O., is famous chiefly for its ROYAL HOSPITAL, the home of Ireland's " aged or maimed" soldiers, which stands on the site of the House of the Knights Templars. Kilmainham has acquired a new fame from its gloomy prison in which many of Ireland's political leaders have been immured, and from which the famed " No Rent " manifesto was issued. The '' Kilmainham Treaty" is the name given to the presumed understanding arrived at by Mr. Parnell and Mr. Gladstone in 1882. Kilmainham can be reached by Inchicore tram from College- green. The gaol and the gate- way are the chief objects attract- ing attention, there is also a fine view of the PHCENIX PARK and the LIFFEY. In the \bbey of Kilmagnend (1006), Strongbow established Knights Templars, on the suppres- sion of which Order, 1307, the Abbey was given the Knights of S. John of Jeru- salem. At the time of the dis- solution of the monasteries it passed into the hands of the Crown and the ROYAL Hos- PITAL was built upon it. The gateway leading into the Royal Hospital was designed by F. Johnston, and erected 1812, when the South Quays ended at the end of Barrack Bridge. For some time before its removal (1846), a rotting piece of board excited curiosity ; at length it was blown down, and the arms of the architect, cut in stone, were dis- covered, When the Board of Works re-erected the gateway g, and shortly afterwards the slab was they left out this carving, stolen. Kilternan, a village at the Dublin end of the SCALP. The visitor who is interested in archi- tectural remains will find in the west gable of the church a fine example of the old Irish square- headed doorways, now stopped up with masonry. The font in this church is of great antiquity. A short walk leads to the Kilternan CROMLECH, usually called "The Giant's Grave," one of the most perfect as well as one of the largest monuments of the type to be seen in Ireland. The covering stone is 23 feet long by 207 17 feet broad, and over 6 feet thick in some parts. K i I I i n e y , 9 miles from Dublin, is peculiarly interesting for its old church, which dates from before the Norman conquest and is one of the most character- istic examples of old Irish church architecture, with its square- headed doorways and splayed windows. The aisle on the north side of the nave is modern work. The Hill of Killiney rises to a height of 474 feet, and one of its is a large cemetery and some most interesting Christian remains. The old church is certainly anterior to the twelfth century, and some of the more ancient portions are very similar to the remains seen at GLENDALOUGH. W. F.Wakeman has given a very full and satisfac- tory account of these remains in his Evening Telegraph re- prints. There are also two antique crosses, a holy well, and a very fine example of a bullaiin or cupped stone. three summits is crowned by an Kingsbridge is the terminus of obelisk erected in 1741, to give the G. S. & W.R., the line running employment during a famine. to the south. BRIDGES. The Hill was thrown open in 1887 under the name of Victoria Park, in commemo- ration of her Majesty'sjubi- lee. From its summit a pano- rama of sur- passing loveli- ness is seen. Bray with its Er e c i pilous ead-land ri- sing sheer from BLUE COAT SCHOOi,, the sea, the two Sugar Loaves, " Kitty Goligher.' with the lead works' chimney (ScALP), and across the Bay, Howth, and in clear weather even the distant Mourne Mountains may be seen. The ascent should be made from the Dalkey side. Ballybrack is a village on the western slope of the Killiney hills, and is a popular summer resort. Kill - o - the - Grange, 6 miles from Dublin and I mile from BLACKROCK, has long been regarded as holy ground. There King's Hospital at Oxman town-green, commonly called the Blue Coat School, was founded in 1670 for the education of the sons of p:orer freemen. The present building was opened in 1777. being erected from designs by one of our less known architects, Thomas Ivory. The original design, still to be seen at the school, and illustrated in Pool and Cash (1780) exhibits a large steeple surmounting the central pile. Want of money has, up to the present day, hindered the comple- 208 tion of this portion of the archi- tect's intention. The school accommodates 100 boys. KINO'S INNS. King's Inns (Map C.) In the reign of Edward I. an Inn of Court (called Collet's Inn) was held out- side the city walls'where Exche- quer-street and South Great George's-street now stand. Na- tives descending from the Wick- low Mountains having plundered the Exchequer and burned the records, the seat of justice was removed inside the walls. In the reign of Edward III. Chief Baron Sir Robert Preston resigned his house, where the CITY HALL now stands, for Inns of Court, but two hundred years afterwards (1543) the Preston family claimed the house, and the Society got a grant of the dissolved Dominican Mon- astery of S. Saviour. In 1542 when Henry VIII. assumed the title of King of Ireland, the Society took the name of King' 's Inn. In 1765 the Inns being ruinous the Society took a plot of ground at the upper end of Henrietta-street from Primate Robinson, and erected the present building, the site of the old Inns being used for the present FOUR COURT.-. The present building was designed by James Gandon, and the stone carving is by Edward Smith. The entrance from Henrietta- street is prison like and depressing, but the facade to Constitution - hill is very fine, and as it stands in an open space can be well seen. A very pretty view of it can be ob- tained from the front of the BROADSTOXE Ter- minus. There are two wings connected by a central building with rusticated base, lofty columns, and an en- tablature representing what is sometimes de- scribed as " Elizabeth with. CARYATIDES, KING'S INNS. at one side, a group of bishops offering her a bible, and at 209 the other a group of barons offering a copy of MagnaCharta,'' and sometimes as " the lawyers and prelates of Ireland receiving a translation of the Bible and a Charter from Elizabeth." The wings have fine doorways orna- mented with caryatides ; those in the north wing (which contains the dining-hall) represent Plenty and a Bacchante ; those at the en- trance to the Prerogative Court are Security and Law. There is an alto-relievo on each wing, and above the centre rises a graceful cupola. The dining hall, 8 1 x 42, is a fine room with a dais at one end and portraits round the walls. Opposite the central archway of the facade is a stone statue of Truth which used to stand in the central hall of the FOUR COURTS. The Law Library, on the site of Primate Robinson's house, was built in 1827 from the designs of Mr. Darley at a cost of ^"20,000. Kingstown, Royal Mail Packet Station, was, before 1821, called Dunleary, and owes its present title to one of the all- too-few- ROYAL VISITS, King George IV. having embarked here on his return to England. EAST PIER. ! .--.: . - -XT. THE OBELISK, KINGSTOWN. An Obelisk commemorates the event. Kingstown had been but a little fishing village, but is now the premier watering place, the head quarters of the yacht clubs, and has a population of over 17,000. The harbour was be- gun in 1816, from designs by Mr. Rennie, and was finished only in 1859 at a cost of ^825,000. The -nl, fa East Pier is 3, 500 feet in length, and the West Pier 4,950. The depth of water varies from 1 5 to 27 feet, and its extent is 250 acres. At the end of the East 210 Pier is a revolving light, visible, in fair weather, nine miles out at sea. The West Pier has a red light to define its position, and the width of the entrance is 760 feet. The Town-hall, opened in 1880, is a fine building near the Railway-station, and contains some good assembly rooms. Kingstown is seen at its very gayest during Regatta week (YACHTING), when all the lead- ing racers congregate there. A man-of-war is usually stationed in the harbour, and a strong fort with heavy guns has been erected at the end of the East Pier, to command the bay. On the East Pier stands the memorial to Captain Boyd, R.N., who lost his life in an attempt to save some seamen who were drowning in a storm which occurred in Febru- ary, 1861. [S. PATRICK'S CATHEDRAL]. The noble Mail boats are always an object of popular enthusiasm, and visitors make a point of going down to the Pier to see the arrival or de- parture of the afternoon boats. The incoming steamers arrive at 6 a.m. and at 5.25 p.m., and the Boats from Kingstown leave at 7.5 a.m. and at 7.25 p.m. Trains for WESTLAND-ROW run in con- nection with the Cross-Channel steamers and accomplish the six miles in a few minutes. The Dublin and Kingstown Railway was opened for traffic in 1834. It cost almost ^63,000 a mile to construct. The line was the first which was opened in Ireland and the second in the United King- dom. Lam bay. An Island distant about 3 miles from Rush. It is usually visited by steamers which leave the Custom House Pier during the summer months on advertised dates, There is not much of interest on the island itself, but the sail in fine weather is very enjoyable. There are about looinhabitants,and the intercourse with the mainland, except during the summer months, is extremely limited. An old polygonal castle, dating from 1467, stood on the western side of the island, and a little to the north of this site stands the present so-called castle, a square strongly fortified building, apparently erected to protect the islanders in times of danger. It resembles more a modern dwelling than an ancient castle. The visitor, if time allows, should climb the highest point on the island, Knockbane, 418 feet, from which a most extensive panorama can be seen. This island, like those near Skerries, is famed for the number and variety of its sea birds. The name Lambay is believed to be derived irom Lamb-ey or Lamb- island. Langford House (MapC.) Mary-street commenced 1697 by Paul Barry, Keeper of the Pipe or Great Roll of the Exchequer. Sold 1712 to Rt. Hon. Henry Ingoldsby ; 1 743 bought by Rt. Hon. H. L. Rowley (father of Lord Langford). It was used for barracks 1800, and 1809 for the Paving Board It is now occupied by Messrs. Bewley and Draper. Laurence O'Toole Church Of, S. The Church ofS. Laurence O'Toole, Sheriff- street, is a fine structure of dark blue lime stone, built 1862-3. It is of early English design, but with the poverty and faulty application of detail which is met with in so many of the earlier Gothic build- ing of Dublin. The general design is good, and the fine spire forms a conspicuous landmark. Leinster House, which is now 211 the Head Quarters of the famous ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY and of the SCIENCE and ART DEPARTMENT, was built about 1745 as a town house by the twentieth Earl of Kildare, in "the Molesworth Fields. " The design is by Richard Cassels, and the building justifies Malton's description of it as ' ' the most stately private residence in the city." The centre of the West Front is adorned with four Corin- thian columnswithentablatureand rounded by a high stone wall ornamented with rusticated piers. The new buildings of the Science and Art Department and National Library occupy two sides of this courtyard instead of the high stone wall, a dwarf wall surmounted by iron railings, has been erected. The garden front of Leinster House is even more simple than the princi- pal front, and calls for no special remark. The buildings of the NATIONAL GALLERY and the LEINSTER HOUSE. pediment : between the pedestals of the columns are balustrades. The first storey is rusticated. The windows are all ornamented by architraves, and in the second storey the windows are surmounted by pediments angular and circular alternately. From each side of the front run colonnades of the Doric order. Originally the entire space between Kildare-street and the building was a large courtyard, more than 210 feet wide, sur- MUSEUM OF NATURAL HISTORY stand on the north and south sides of Leinster Lawn which extends from Leinster House to Merrion- square. The interior of Leinster House is not now open to the public, but the Hall is well worth a visit, containing many choicr paintings, and some remarkably fine pieces of sculpture. The Reading-room of the R. D. S., and above it the old Picture Gallery till lately used as the 212 National Library of Ireland, are a pair of princely rooms, 70 ft. by 24 ft., with fine ceilings supported by fluted Ionic columns. The North side is broken by a fine bow window. L e i X I i p, if miles beyond Lucan, is famous for its Salmon- leap [Danish lax a salmon. In old Latin writers the place is named Saltus Salmonis]. There are numerous pretty walks in this neighbourhood, and the visitor will find it most convenient to take the Steam Tram to LUCAN and walk through the beautiful within the present century lost its popularity, and is only gradually recovering it now that the Steam Tram has brought it within com- paratively easy reach of the citizens . Leopard stown, anciently called Leperstown, from a leper hospital which was in the neigh- bourhood, is now famous for its race-course, opened in 1888. The race-course is beside Foxrock Station, on the Harcourt-street Railway line and is therefore the most conveniently situated of the many race-courses near town. NATIONAL LIBRARY. demesne to Leixlip. The view of the Salmon-leap itself has been greatly injured by an ugly mill which disfigures the bank just above the falls. The Dublin side of the river should be chosen, but either side will afford pretty views. Leixlip Castle, founded in the twelfth century, stands on a hill commanding the village. In it King John resided for some time before his accession ; but Leixlip Libraries. The chief libraries of Dublin are, in addition to the famous library of DUBLIN UNI- VERSITY, which is not open for public reading, THE NATIONAL LIBRARY of Ireland in Kildare- street, the Public Library of S. Patrick (Marsh's Library), at S. PATRICK'S CATHEDRAL. The Libraries of the KING'S INNS, of the ROYAL COLLEGE OF PHYSI- CIANS and of the ROYAL COLLEGE 213 OF SURGEONS are devoted natu- rally to special subjects. The ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY has a fine and increasing library for the use of its members. There are many lending libraries in town from which the visitor can borrow books, the chief being Green's, Clare-street ; Morrow's, Nassau-street, and Eason's, Sack- yille-street. There are also some free libraries and reading- rooms supported by the Corporation under the Public Libraries Acts of 1 875-7, which are fairly well patronised by those for whom they are intended. Library, National (Map B). The National Library, Kildare - street, forms the northern portion ,of the fine pair of build- ings erected in 1883 in the Courtyard of LEINSTER HOUSE, from the designs of T. N. Deane and Sons. Its general features corre- spond with the MUSEUM opposite, but the design is varied to suit its special purpose. Entering the large horse- shoe-shaped hall the curi- ous internal porch is seen. ; A staircase leads to a lobby from which a double" flight ascends to the prin- cipal reading - room im- mediately over the en- trance hall. This reading room is horseshoe shaped and measures 70 x 60 ; it is lofty, with a fine domed roof. Dwarf book- cases contain reference books, but the collection of books is kept in the wing next Kildare-street, which is divided into three stories, each again divided into others some seven feet high by inter- mediate iron floors. Thus all the books are easily reached by the attendants, but the fine effect of old fashioned libraries is lost. Liffey. The "Anna Liffey" rises near Kippure, between Upper Lough Bray and Lough Crog- heen ; there is another source named Liffey Head, and the two streams join ne*r Sally-gap (1,631), some twelve miles from ON THE LIFFEY, ABOVE POULAPHTJCA. Dublin as the crow flies, but about forty miles as the river flows. The Liffey flows westward through BLESSINGTON, under Poulaphuca bridge ; northwards to Newbridge, and then gradually bends to the east by Sallins and LUCAN and so through the city and into the sea at PooLBEfJ LIGHTHOUSE. 214 Lighting In 1697 the Cor- poration were empowered to erect public lights in the city and its Liberties. In 1759 each parish undertook its own lighting. In 1784 the Paving, Cleansing, and Lighting Board of the Corporation took the lighting over. At the end of last century numerous private lights were erected before houses and were attended to by the public lighters ; the iron supports of some of these still exist. The ROTUNDA HOSPITAL Governors managed the lighting of their own square and charged a special tax on those inhabitants who had private lights jl for single burners and i 145. for double burners. The oil lamps were replaced by gas in 1825; this was for many years supplied by two companies which afterwards combined and secured a practical monopoly as the Alliance and Dublin Con- sumers' Gas Company; their works are on the Grand Canal Docks, Great Brunswick-street. In 1881, in consequence of an agitation against this monopoly, the gas company introduced electric light- ing into a few of the principal streets, but the fittings were only temporary and were soon removed. In 1892 the Corporation built an electric station in Fleet-street (Maps A and B),andintheautumn commenced lighting three miles of streets, and supplying private consumers. The gas testing station is in Tara-street (Map B.) Linen Hall (Map C.) An ex- tensive range of buildings which consisted of six courts and 557 apartments. Most of it is at present used for barracks ; the rest has passed over to other trades, and it is no longer used as a Linen Hall. Lough Bray. The Upper and Lower Lough Bray are well worth visiting. The drive from Dublin is some 12 miles long but passes through exquisite scenery ; passing Killikee, Lord Massy 's beautiful place, from which there is a fine view; the " Hell fire Club" is seen perched on Mountpelier hill ; a fine valley is next ascended and GLENCREE REFORMATORY passed. The Lower Lake, 1,500 feet above the sea, is surrounded by towering mountains (of which Kippure is the highest) except at the side where the waters are kept up by the old moraine ; a Swiss cottage at the side of the lake was a present from the Lord Lieutenant, the Duke of Northumberland, to Sir P. CRAMPTON as a complimentary offering for his professional services. The Upper Lake is reached after a stiff climb, it lies in a wild and deep hollow. From Lough Bray there is a fine drive (12 miles) to Bray, or Roundwood may be vis- ited, passing Sallygap, Luggelaw (Lough Tay) and not far from Lough Dan, a famous trout lake. The direct road by Sally Gap leads to Glendalough through Laragh, passing the Falls of Macanass, a district most interest- ing to mineralogists. At Round- wood the Vartry reservoir (WATER SUPPLY) is seen. Lough Dan LOUGH BRAY. Lough Tay LOUGH BRAY. Lucan (8 miles) Stations on G. S. and W. and M. G. W. Railways. Steam tram from Parkgate-street. The pleasanter way of visiting Lucan is by road, and several other places can be seen in the same excursion. Passing through the PHCENIX PARK and leaving it by the Knock- maroon gate, the north bank of the Liffey is reached and kept to through the " Strawberry Beds," which extend over many acres of slopes to the right, and there straw- berries and cream may be had in 215 the season, past Woodlands, the beautiful demesne of Lord Annaly, with a castle dating from the time of King John (visitors are per- mitted to see the demesne). Crossing the river by a fine stone bridge the village of Lucan is reached. There is a ruined church, the tower of a castle of the PALE, which belonged in the seventeenth century to General Sarsfield. There is a Rath near at hand, the chambers of which can be entered. The Spa a famous resort in the last century and lately restored in public esteem, is in Lucan De- mesne, through which visitors are allowed to walk. The Spa can be reached by a tunnel under the road, starting inside the gate of the Hydropathic. At the other end of the demesne a bridge leads into LEIXC.IP (the Irish for Salmon Leap) (10 miles) ; the castle rising on the river bank and covered by ivy, was occupied by King John before his accession. Before crossing the bridge into Leixlip a gate to the left will lead to the " Salmon Leap," a wide waterfall with beautifully wooded banks and a prosaic mill. The pathway along the river bank should be followed. At the proper season the salmon can be seen leaping these falls. Luggelaw LOUGH BRAY. Lugnaquilla RATHDRUM. Lunatic Asylums. The Richmond District Lunitic Asy- lum, North Brunswick-street, 1815. This forms one of a group with the North Dublin Union and House of Industry Hospitals, and all are reached by a common avenue. There are two principal buildings, one for male and the other for female patients, standing on 52 acres of ground, which stretch away to the North Cir- cular-road, and are cultivated by the inmates, of whom there are more than a thousand. S. Patrick's Hospital for the Insane, Bow-lane, W. (Map D.) This is generally called Swift's Hospital, as it was founded by Dean Swift's bequest of his pro- perty (; II >)> which is com- memorated in the verse : "He left the little all he had, To found a home for fools and mad ; Thus showed by one satiric touch, No nation needed it so much.'' A Parliamentary Grant was given in addition. The Hospital was incorporated 1746 and opened 1757. It was designed by George Semple. The front is of granite, and extends some 1 50 feet. There is a spacious hall with a door on each side ; that on the left leads to the Board-room, where there is a portrait of Dean Swift, and that on the right to the Billiard-room, which contains some of the sixteen old mahogany benches from the Irish House of Lords, which are in the Asylum. In the Drawing-room is a mahogany escritoire, left to the Asylum by Dean Swift. The various locks throughout the building are the original ones, and are good ex- amples of Irish workmanship. A new entrance has been added by Rawson Carrol, 1892. Patients are admitted at not less than i per week. There are generally about 100 inmates. Stewart Institution for Idiotic and Imbecile Children and Asylum for Lunatic Patients. This is situated at Palmerstown, Chapel- izod, and was founded in 1869 by Dr. Stewart. It generally con- tains about 70 children in the Institution, in addition to the 216 patients in the Asylum. Some of the inmates are free ; the rest pay not less than ^"50 per annum. . The Criminal Lunatic Asylum is situated at Dundrum. There are also many Private Asylums. Lusk, a neat village 14 miles north of Dublin, possesses an ancient Church, now rebuilt, con- taining many old tombs of great interest. At the west end of the Church is a solid square tower, LVSK (FROM N.W.). which at three of its corners has comparatively modern round towers incorporated with the masonry, while at the fourth corner stands an antique round tower rising to a height of no feet. Mageough Home, Palmer- ston Park. An extensive range of buildings founded in 1878, under the will of Miss Elizabeth Mageough, for the habitation, support, and clothing of aged Protestant females. Each inmate has a whole or half of a separate house, of which there are thirty- nine. Mail Boats. In the olden days before HOWTH harbour was built the mail packets came into the PIGEON HOUSE harbour. These vessels were none of the best, and one can sympathise with the terrors caused by a passage from Holyhead when one reads in W. F. Wakeman's very interesting accounts that the passage sometimes, when winds were con- trary, occupied a fort- night, during which as provisions ran short, passengers and crew were obliged to rig up fishing lines and catch what din- ner they could. After 1807, Howth, then a mere fishing village, be- came the packet station, and here in 1821 King George IV. landed in one of those amazingly rare ROYAL VISITS to Ireland. The opening, in 1821, of KINGSTOWN Pier was followed by a transference of the Mail Station to this Harbour, and no finer harbour exists in Europe. The mail boats make the pas- sage to or from Holyhead in 35 hours, and the run to Dublin is a matter of ten minutes Mails. There are from five to six deliveries of mails in town according to position, the most important being the cross-channel deliveries at 8 a.m. and 7 p.m. There is one delivery on Sundays about 8.15 a.m. The despatches of mails are very numerous, but the most important leave the 217 G.P.O.at 6 a.m. and 6.10 p.m. (POST OFFICE.) Malahide, 9 miles from Dublin, is beautifully situated on an es- tuary of the sea called Broadwater Meadows. At low water, unfor- tunately, the harbour is almost dry. This fact and the amazing lack of enterprise exhibited by the Railway Co. are together respon- sible for the neglect of this once fashionable watering-place. For those who like quiet with good boating, &c., Malahide is a para- dise, but the attractions of the modern fashionable seaside resort it certainly cannot boast. Near the town is Malahide Castle, seat of Lord Talbot de Malahide, to' whose ancestor Henry II. granted the lands in 1174. The castle contains some very fine carved oak wainscotting, and per- mission to view it can be obtained when the family are absent. Close by are the ruins of the chapel, with some interesting tombs ; among others worthy of notice is that of the Hon. Maud Plunkett, whose first husband, Mr. Htissey, was slain on the day of her marriage, leaving her the singular celebrity of having been maid, wife, and widow in one day. Readers will remember the lines of Gerald Griffin's fine ballad, " The Bridal of Malahide ?. i ,. , - " She sinks on the meadow, In one morning tide A wife and a widow, A maid and a bride." Mansion House, The, stands in Dawson-street, and is an unpretentious building, con- taining some fine apartments in which the Lord Mayor entertains the citizens. There are some good portraits of former Lords Lieuten- ant, and in the garden an eques- trian statue of King George I. erected in 1720 on Essex Bridge and transferred in 1798 to its present position . The inscription is of interest. " Be it remembered that, at a time when rebellion and disloyalty were the characteristics of the day, the loyal Corporation of the City of Dublin re-elevated this statue of the illustrious House of Hanover." Within re- cent years the front of the Mansion House has been some- what improved and a fine porch added. Among the finest rooms in the building are the Oak room, about 50 feet long, where public breakfasts are given, and the superb Round Room, erected in 1821, for the express purpose of entertaining King George IV. The chamber is a perfect circle of 90 feet diameter, lighted by a lantern 50 feet from the ground. A supper room was added in 1892. It is worth notice that the Mansion House is a red brick building of the time of Queen Anne, the stucco facing being a modern addition. The house was built in 1710, and was purchased by the Corporation in 17 1 5, as a residence for the Lord Mayor. There are some fine portraits in the building. Maps. Not very many ancient maps of the city are in existence, and of these some are very diffi- cult to procure. Chief among them are Speed's, published in 1610. Brooking, with VIEWS, 1728; Rocque, 1756; Cook's Royal Map, with VIF.WS, 1821 ; Heffernan's, with VIEWS, 1861 and 1868 ; and those published from :ar to year in Thorn's Directory, he Ordnance Survey of 1837 was revised in 1864 and in 1887. Mark, Church of S. (Map B.) S. Mark's Church, Great Brunswick-street, was fin- ished in 1729, the parish having been cut off from St. Andrew's in 218 1707. The exterior is of dark lime- stone and is barnlike ; the facade to S. Mark's- street has an unfinished look. The interior measures 80 by 30. In 1892-3 the wall sur- round ing the grave- yard was re- moved, and a railing substituted, the ground being put in order. This has been a great improvement. At the same time an open-air pulpit was erected at the south-east corner. Markets. Dublin is not well supplied with markets, and many of the poorer dealers sell from barrows in the streets ; this is well seen on Saturdays. Thomas SOUTH CITY MARKET. with some so-called " baronial " ornamentation, was opened in 1 88 1 by the South City Markets Company, Limited. It is a large square, its principal side being in South Great George's-street, and is easily approached from Graft on - street and Dame-street. It was built on the site of the Castle Market, built 1704, and rebuilt as New Castle Market 1783. The street during the week preceding Company also widened part of Christmas is an extended market Cr."*-fc r. r ^t /- > *_.. u.. for turkeys and geese, the stalls being farmers' carts from which the horses have been taken. The South City Market, a hand- some building of Domestic Gotic A STREET STALL. South Great George's-street, but unfortunately have been unable to complete this improvement at the Dame-street end. The South City Market has never been popu- lar with stall-holders although the external shops are well occupied ; it suffered severely by fire in 1892. The Ormond Market was opened in 1682 ; some quaint scraps still exist, but the trade has been di- verted to the FISH AND VEGETABLE MARKETS. The Fruit Mar- 219 ket used to be held inside the walls of the Old Prison in Green- street ; it has been moved to the FISH AND VEGETABLE MARKET. Marino CLONTARF. Marsh's Library. (Map A.) This valuable collection of books was given by Archbishop Marsh in 1694 for the use of the public. The collection includes many volumes of considerable interest, ami in some the visitor is shown annotations made by the famous Dean Swift usually more forcible than polite. The quaint old wood- work of the Library is well worth seeing, and there is in the atmos- phere of the entire place an old- world flavour which is distinctly interesting. Few Dubliners seem to be aware of its exist- ence, and fewer still have ever handled its musty tomes. (ST. PATRICK'S CATHE- DRAL). Mary's Abbey ABBEY OF S. MARY. Mary, Church of S. (Map C.) In Mary-street, was built on the formation of the parish in 1697. It is of poor design, with a stunted unfi- nished-looking tower. The churchyard at the south side has lately been opened to the public, but is not well laid out. It stretches in front of Jervis-street Hospital. There used to be a fountain at the north side of the church. The interior of the church is gloomy. Amongst the many mural monu- ments is one to the Rev- Robert Law, Rector, who died 1789. Masonic Hall. (Map B.) The Masonic Hall, 17 and 18 Molesworth-street is a handsome building of cut stone built from the design of Edward Holmes, 1877, at an estimated cost of .8,000. It has a fine porch and three stories of Doric, Ionic, and Corinthian design leading up to a pediment in the tympanum of which are masonic emblems. It contains handsomely decorated rooms for the various branches of the order; the Grand Lodge room is 72 feet long x 40 feet wide, and 32 feet high; it con- tains frescoes, portraits and an organ. The office of the schools is at No. 1 6. A Victoria Jubilee Masonic Annuity Fund was founded in 1888. MASONIC FEMALE ORPHAN SCHOOL,. Masonic Orphan Schools. The Female Orphan School was founded in 1790 by a few masons who subscribed and sent some orphans to a day school ; next a school for twenty girls was opened in 1792 in a lane off 220 Prussia-street. In 1852 Burling- ton House in Mespil-road (now Margaret Hall) was taken and the number of inmates was increased. More space being needed, the present school at Ball's Bridge was built, 1880-2. It is a hand- some brick and terra-cotta building of Elizabethan design with corner tower and cupola ; it was designed by Messrs. McCurdy and Mitchell. The interior is beautifully fitted up. The terra-cotta fountain was bequeathed by Mr. Sawyer. Two great bazaars have been held in aid of this school, one in 1882 realised a profit of .6,601, while in 1892 the enormous sum of 21,842 was made. Most of the latter sum has been invested and the interest will be devoted to helping (educationally and otherwise) pupils on leaving. Part has been spent on an infirmary, dormi- tories and hall. The school holds a hundred girls. Visitors are shown over the building on Wednesday afternoon (Blackrock tram). The Orphan Boys' School was started at Sandy mount in 1869 and was moved in 1887 to Rich- view, Clonskeagh, where a house and twenty-four acres of land had been secured. The additional buildings were designed by Thomas Drew, R.H.A., who also added a wing, 1894. The school contains about 60 boys, and the annual cost of mainte- nance and education for each is only about 25 per annum. The average cost in the girls school is about the same. Mater Misericord iae Hospital, Eccles-street, is the finest hospital in Dublin. It was opened 1861, but two wings have since been added. The front nearly 300 ft. long is of granite with slightly projecting pavilions at the ends and a nol>le centre projection over seventy feet long, with a recessed portico and lofty Ionic columns. It was intended to build a cupola, but its base has been removed. Curved steps lead to the entrance hall, and other steps lead down to the out-patient department. The hospital con- tains 350 beds and was buiit by the Sisters of Mercy, but is open to all religions. Matthew, Church of S., Irishtown. The parish of S. Matthew originally formed part of the parish of Donnybrook. Its church formerly designated "The Royal Chapel of S. Matthew, Ringsend," was a royal donative chapelry without cure of souls but subject to, episcopal jurisdiction. It was erected during the reign of Queen Anne in the year 1704, for the revenue officers and other in- habitants of Ringsend who, on account of the tides, could not always attend Donnybrook church It afterwards became a garrison chapel, then to all intents and purposes a chapel-of-ease to Donnybrook, and was finally, immediately after the passing of the Irish Church Act in 1870, made the church of the new parish of S. Matthew, Irishtown. The population of the parish is nearly 5,000, of whom 1,100 are members of the Church of Ireland. Ringsend is inhabited by a large Protestant colony, the descendants of English fishermen who came over in the last century. In the year 1878 the vicar of the parish, the Rev. Robt. B. Stoney, D. D. , assisted by the parishioners and other friends, set about the rebuilding and enlargement of the church which had become quite inadequate to the needs of the parish. Plans for its restora- 221 tion were drawn by F. S. Fuller, of Dublin, and on the 2nd of October, 1879, the church was reopened and dedicated by Archbishop Trench. The restored church of S. Matthew is of cruciform shape with lofty tower 95 feet high, open roof, lancet windows, large and spacious chancel, and occupies nearly twice the space of the old building. Since the restoration it has been further adorned with handsome marble mosaic pave- ment in the chancel and . passages a peal of tubu- lar bells, stained -glass windows in the sacra- rium or apse, besides min- or improve- ments in the porch and outside. The total cost of all these im- provements has been not less than . ^4,000. S./K Matthew's^! church is en- tirely free and unappropriated, and is open everyday from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. for private prayer. In the church- yard are the tombs and monu- ments of many leading citizens of a past generation, viz : Vavasours, Lundy-Footes, Fitz- gibbons, Roes, Askins, &c., &c. There are also several monuments in the church to deceased chap- lains and other persons. The National schools attached to the church are attended by over 200 children. S. MATTHEWS CHURCH. Maynooth (15 miles), a station on the Midland Great Western Railway. The Castle is a fine ruin ; it was erected 1426 by the sixth Earl of Kildare, and dismantled on account of the rebellion of Lord Thomas Fitzgerald" Silken Thomas." The remains are of considerable extent and are open to the public. Carton, the seat of the Duke of Leinster contains about i.ooo acres. The Rye, a tributary of the Liflfey, passes through, and there are several lakes. The grounds are open to the public. The house was de- signed by Cas- sels. Maynooth College was founded in 1795. There are t h r ee blocks of building and an estate of some eighty acres. Meath Hos- pital and County Dublin In- firmary. (Map A.) The Meath Hospital was opened in 1753 in the Coombe. In 1816 the present site in Heytesbury- street was taken ; it formerly belonged to Dean Swift and was called Naboth's Vineyard or the Dean's Vineyard. T. Pleasants gave ;6,ooo towards the building and in 1820, Dublin County gave .4,788. The Hospital was opened in 1822. In 1887 the John Barbour Wing was commenced. Some of the leading men of the famous old Dublin School of 222 Medicine were attached to the Meath Sir Philip Crampton, William Stokes, Robert J. Graves, John Cheyne. The nursing is done by Red Cross Sisters, and the hospital has a Convalescent Home for its patients at Bray. Mechanic's Institute (Map C.) Lower Abbey-street has a fair library and reading rooms. The News room can be used on pay- ment of a penny. The theatre attached to it has been turned into a music hall. The Institute is not well supported. Medical Schools. There are three Medical Schools in Dublin I. Dublin University M.S., 1711, Lincoln-place ; 2. Royal Col- lege of Surgeons M.S., 1789, (including the Carmichael, 1812, and Ledwich, 1836, Schools) ; 3. Catholic University M.S., Cecilia- St., 1855. All these Schools are open to students reading for any of the Universities or Colleges, but the majority of Trinity students attend the Dublin University School ; those who read for the conjoint diplomas of the Royal Colleges study in the College of Surgeons School, and most of those reading for the Royal University attend Cecilia-street. Med ici ne ACADEMY OF MEDI- CINE, ROYAL. Mel I ifont Abbey, info L uth on the border of Meath, is about 6 miles from DROGHEDA, and lies in a sheltered glen, through which the little river Mattock winds. The ruins consist of the so-called Baptistry,a very beautiful building, octagonal in shape, with semi- circular headed arches in each face. These are of most elegant design and workmanship, and will attract the attention of every student of archaeology. The Chapel of S. Bernard is a good example of vaulting, and the capitals of the columns are excellently designed. The bases of the great nave piers have been within late years laid bare, and much of the old tiling, as well as many scraps of carving, then recovered, may be now seen in S. Bernard's Chapel. The great Tower or Archway nearer to the entrance of the valley, was erected probably for defensive purpose, and has been very roughly treated. The Chapel on the hill is a com- paratively modern erection. At Mellifont lived the fair, but frail Dearvorgilla, whose elopement with Dermod McMurrough led to the Saxon invasion of Ireland in 1172. Mendicity, Association for the Prevention of, This useful Association was founded in 1818 during a great prevalence of famine and fever. Its work is carried on in Moira house, Usher's-island a portion of the south quays close to King's- bridge. This house formerly the suburban residence of the Earl of Moira has been altered beyond recognition, the entire upper storey being removed and the hall cut up. From the yard at the back the view of the house is more interesting and its age can be seen. The chief works carried on by the Association are the providing of daily meals (over 100,000 per annum are given), the transmission of strangers to their homes, and the supplying of cheap baths. Merrion, a station on the Kings- town Railway line 3^ miles from town, has a short pier at the end of which are good swimming baths, with accommodation for both sexes. The Sandymount tramway runs direct to this pleasant spot, where bands often perform during the summer even- ings. 223 Merrion Square (Map B.) is the most beautiful of the Dublin squares and is the largest after S. Stephen's-green. It contains about 12^ acres and was laid out in 1762 in which year the north side was commenced ; houses were being built up to 1820. Three sides are surrounded by houses, but the west side is faced by the Leinster Lawn with LEINSTER HOUSE, the NATIONAL GALLERY, and MUSEUM at the sides. Opposite the Leinster Lawn are the remains of a large and ambitiously designed fountain, de- dicated to the Duke and Duchess of Rutland, which was erected by Coadeini79i. Sixteen years after its erec- tion it was cracked and bulged, but, since that, time has dealt tenderly with it, and it is picturesque in its decay. The north side is mostly occupied by Doctors. The square is not open to the public. Michan, Catholic Church Of S. ( Map C.) S.Michan's Church is built between Anne-street and Halston-street. From the Reforma- tion until about 1700 the Roman Catholics of the parish had no settled place of worship but mass was said in private houses. The chapel of a convent in Channel- row was about 1700 converted to secular use for the parishioners. MERRION SQUARE, N, In 1702 Dr. Nary was appointed P.P. and built a chapel on the south side of Mary's-lane where he served until his death in 1738. The present church (1811-14) has its principal facade to Anne- street, in the porch are the arms of Captain Bryan who contributed largely to the building. The Hal- ston-street fa9ade (1893) designed by G. C. Ashlin, R.H.A., is per- pendicularGothic withaside tower containing the entrance and ending in a corner turret. The interior con- tains much stucco; over the high altar is a full length figure of the Saviour in alto - relievo. Thesidealtars have painting of the Virgin and Child and S. Francis. The registers are complete from 1725. Michan, Church Of S. (Map C), Church- street. There are few build- ings whose age is so hard to discern. There was on this site an old church of Danish foundation (circ. 1095) which acted as a parish church for all the north side of the river until 1697. This old church was dedi- cated to S. Michan, and its south aisle to S. Syth. The present church was built about 1685, but an inscription tells "This church underwent thorough restoration in 1828." At this date the chancel was removed, and it is 224 impossible to tell how much remained. The tower is a fine square structure with embattled parapets ; it forms a con- spicuous ob- ject in all general views of the city. Over its west door is the inscription : " This surely is the house of the Lord, 1 686," but this and the win- dow above are probably in- sertions, and the tower the same 'as is shown in Speed's Map, 1 6 to, and pos- sibly the original tower of the Xlth Century. The interior is spacious, and contains portions of some old tombs. The recumbent effigy in a niche to the south of the chancel is supposed to be S. Michan, Bishop and Confessor. On the front of the organ case is fine carving of musical instruments; this organ was said to have been the Fishamble-street organ on which Handel played the " Mes- siah ;" but the organ he played on was a chamber one which used to be shown in 64 Eccles-street (F. JOHNSTON.) The church plate is interesting there is an early seTenteenth century Spanish copper gilt re- pousse and highly chased chalice, a silver gilt chalice of 1676, and a silver gilt chalice, the stem and S. MICHAN S CHURCH. base of which date from 1516. The vaults under the church are very extensive and have the curious pro- perty of pre- venting or ar- resting decay. Bodies are buried in wooden cof- fins and grad- ually undergo a mummifying process, with out the evolu- tion of the gases of de- cay. A man who died at the age of in, the brothers Sheares who were executed for rebellion and others are shown to the curious. The vaults are still used for interment. In the churchyard there are nume- rous interesting graves ; on the tomb of Lucas, ob. 1771, are the following lines by Lewis : Lucas ! Hibernia's friend, her joy and pride, Her powerful bulwark and her skilful guide. Firm in the Senate, steady to his trust, Unmoved by fear and obstinately just. Under slabs side by side at the west lie the United Irishmen Oliver Bond who died in Newgate under sentence of death, 1798, and the Rev. W. Jackson. The grave of Emmet is legendary, he is really buried in Glasnevin churchyard. 225 Moira House MENDICITY. Molyneux Church (Map A.). Peter-street. It is connected with Sir Capel Molyneux' house. Astley took the house and built his Amphitheatre, which was afterwards altered into a chapel for the Molyneux Asy- lum for Blind Females, the inmates of which lived in the adjoining house. It is now the Albert Church and Molyneux Retreat for aged females. Monasterboice, 4 miles from Droghecla, and 2 from MELLIFONT, contains, among many ecclesiastical antiquities, two of the finest exam- ples of old Celtic crosses. The largest stands 27 feet in height (including the base) and is most excellently sculptured ; some of the subjects in the separate panels can still be identified ; such are the Ascended Saviour, the Empty Tomb, David and Go- liath, &c., but on the smaller cross practically every panel is as fresh almost as when the artist completed his work some nine centuries ago. The height is 15 feet, and the figures of warriors and bishops, with which each panel is richly adorned, stand out in high relief from the stone, supplying a simply invaluable means of studying the dresses in use during the period at which this noble work was executed. The small circu- lar targes of the soldiers are worthy of note. The lowest panel on the east side is manifestly a representation of the Garden of Eden, the Eating of the Fruit and the consequent Expulsion. Above is a panel of which subject is more obscure though the figures areplain enough. Another panel higher up represents the Adoration of the MUIREDACH S CROSS AND ROUND TOWER. Magi, a star being visible above the Holy Child's head. The centre of the circle on the same side is a representation of the Day of Judgment ; our Lord, with a cross and sceptre, is depicted with the elect upon His right hand, singing and playing upon harps, Q 226 while on the left hand devils are driving away the condemned. Immediately below is a huge pair of scales in which S. Michael is weighing souls, while Satan crouching below is trying to turn the scales in his own favour ; on the other side of the cross are three panels on the main shaft, each containing three figures only. The inner part of the circle on this side shows the Crucifixion, with soldiers piercing our Lord's side. The base of the shaft has an inscription in Irish, which has been interpreted by the learned Dr. Petrie : " A Prayer for Muire- dach, by whom this cross was made." There were two Muire- dachs connected with Monaster- boice, one died 844 ; but the second, who died in 924, was a man of higher distinction and greater wealth, so that the erection of toe crosses is, with great proba- bility, assigned to him. The present cross stands 15 feet in height and measures 6 feet across the arms. The Monastery which was founded in 512, A.D., by S. Bute, was the most famous north of Dublin, until the neighbouring Monastery of MELLIFONT arose. Of the two Chapels of which fragments remain, one may be as old as the sixth century. The larger one is very much later possibly the thirteenth century. The Round Tower is a fine ex- ample of these characteristically Irish structures. Before leaving the graveyard, the visitor will do well to read some of the inscriptions on the tombstones. One records how the stcne was erected by the mourner, in " filial memory of his beloved wife ! " Monuments STATUES. Mornington House, famous as the birth-place of the great Duke of Wellington, is No. 24 Upper Merrion-street. The house needs no particular description. It is now employed for offices in connection with the Irish Land Commission Courts. The dis- cussion as to whether the great Duke was or was not born in this house is definitely settled by the fact that the prescription com- pounded by Mr. Evans of Dawson- street for the mother on this interesting occasion is still to be seen framed in the shop, and bears the above address. Mount Jerome CEMETERY. Mountjoy-square (Map c.), 1792-1818, is situated on the top of a hill and contains about 4 acres. Having been built from a single plan the houses have not the irregularity of skyline so frequent in Dublin, which pleasing as it is with gables, is the reverse with parapets. It was intended to make each side an architectural whole, with central pediment and end pavilions, but this ambitious design, like many others in Dublin, had to be given up for wantof money. Thesquare is prettily laid out but is not open to the public. Museum Natural H i Story. (Map B.) The Natural History Museum is con- tained in a handsome building (designed by Captain Poke, R.E. , under the superintendence of R. Griffith, LL.D., 1855, on the south side of the Leinster Lawn. It can be entered from Merrion-square or from the SCIENCE AND ART MUSEUM. The nucleus of the collection belonged to the ROYAL DUBLIN- SOCIETY who handed it over to the Science and Art Department. Entering from the Science and Art Museum the annexe is first reached, this contains the Paljeontological 227 collection. Passing the vestibule with its fine case of gulls theground floor is entered. Here are the fish, amphibians and reptiles. Cases on the south side illustrate the Geographical Distribution of Animals. The coloured casts of fish are worthy of notice. As- cending the staircase at the far end the main room is entered; it is lofty with two galleries and a glass roof. A fine case of anthro- poid apes is here seen. The In- vertebrates and Mammals occupy the floor ; the case at the far end (first to the left when entering from the grand staircase) is an Index case to Animal life, every Order being illustrated. The first gallery is devoted to birds, those is cases I to 1 1 being Irish. The upper gallery contains Insects, special collection of injurious in- sects and a collection of Birds' Nests and Eggs. The vestibule contains the Mammals of Great Britain and Ireland, including a fine skeleton of the Irish elk. The General Handbook to the Science and Art Museum contains information about the collections, and fuller particulars can be ob- tained from special harfdbooks, to the Vertebrates, Invertebrates and Birds. Museum Science and Art (Map B.). The Science and Art Museum, Kildare-street, was built in 1885, from the design of T. N. Deane and Sons. It forms one of a fine group of buildings, its chief facade (200 feet) being at the south side of the courtyard of Leinster House, and facing the National Library designed at the same time by the same architects. There are also facades to Kildare- street (186 feet) and Kildare-place. The building is very fine and con- sists of a central portion and two wings, the central portion contains the rotunda (the dome of which overtops the wings) the central court and grand staircase. It can be entered from Kildare- street, passing through the court- yard of Leinster House, and getting a good view of the outside of Leinster House, the National Library and the Museum, or from Merrion-square through the NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM. We will suppose the former en- trance chosen. Passing through the semi-circular colonnade the rotunda is first entered ; it is a fine and graceful apartment 60 feet in diameter, with a domed roof and gallery supported on 20 columns of Irish marble, with richly carved capitals. It contains casts from the Antique and a group of Indian cannon. The attendant sells general catalogues for 3d. and catalogues of soecial departments at 3d. and4d., but the Museum is so well labelled that these are hardly necessary, especially as in each room a plan of the building is hung up with the room marked in colour. The floor in the rotunda as elsewhere on the ground floor is set with tesserae in beautiful designs, the carved doors are Italian, the doorcases and fire- places are of pottery. The central court is next entered, it is splendidly designed and of fine proportion, 123 x 74 feet. The central portion is sunk with a tier of steps leading down to it, and there is a gallery, supported on iron columns which are continued to the roof, light being derived from above. This court contains a large number of objects of in- terest immediately opposite to the entrance is a wrought iron railing from Hampton Court Palace, to the right a cast of the tomb of Carlo Marsuppini and a cast of a monolith from Central America 228 attract attention and to the left is a fine statue of Lieutenant W. R. Pollock Hamilton, one of the heroic defen- of ties of Greece and Rome, chiefly electrotypes, but there are some fine painted vases. Room 2 west 229 illustrates Egypt and Assyria, the most valuable original is a figure of Rui, circ, 1300 B.C. There are other originals, electrotypes, casts, and paper moulds. Room 3 west contains a well arranged and fairly extensive ethnographical collection which is well illustrated by maps. Room one of the most interesting objects in the Museum, a large relief map of Ireland on a horizontal scale of I inch to the mile, and a vertical scale of ii inches to the mile. This map is coloured so as to show the geological structure of the island. American photo- graphic transparencies fill the win- SCIENCE AND ART MUSEUM CENTRAL COURT. 4 west, contains a collection of musical instruments including the piano used by Moore when writing his Irish Melodies. Room 5 west, contains specimens of Indian, Persian and Moorish art. Passing the rotunda, room 5 east is entered, it contains a beautiful i6th century Venetian Well-head. Room 4 east contains dows. Room 3 east contains Geological collections, including Irish fossils and rocks. Rooms I and 2 east contain the Mineral - ogical collection ; Irish minerals are in the latter room. Thegrand staircase isof Portland stone with broad marble handrail, and marble .panels in the walls. It is massive and effective. 230 The gallery of the Central Court contains a large variety of objects such as enamels, fans, metal work and some Irish an- tiquities. Room I west contains models of looms, &c. Room 2 west contains industrial models ; the model of the old wooden bridge at Schaffhausen, and that of Wigham's gas lighthouse will attract attention. Rooms 3 and 5 west contains arms and armour, The gallery of the rotunda con- tains casts of modern sculpture. Room 5 east contains cast of ivor- ies, metal work, &c. Room 4 east contains furniture, in it are speci- mens of Bossi work (marble inlaid with coloured cements). Room 3 east contains pottery, porcelain and glass. Room 2 east, ivory and wood carving, &c. Room I SCULPTURE HALL, NATIONAL GALLERY. 4 contain the magnificent col- lection of Irish antiquities made by the Royal Irish Academy and transferred by them to the Museum in 1890. S. Patrick's Bell, 5th century, Tara Brooch, gth century, Cross of Cong, nth century, Croziers, 6th century, are only a few amongst the treasures which deserve careful study. The present arrangement is temporary. Room east, lace and embroideries ; there is also an interesting carved wood chimneypiece removed from an old house in Kildare-place. Going up still higher the Her- barium and Botanical Museum is reached. The ante-room contains an Index Museum which is of great assistance to those learning botany. From room 2 east (ground floor) 231 a passage leads to the NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM. It contains amongst other objects a royal Sanctuary from Mandalay, a Buddist temple from Ceylon, watercolours by Peter de Wint and an old Dublin doorway. Music. ROYAL IRISH ACADEMY OF Music. this up to ,21,500 and in 1859 the gallery was commenced. It is a handsome Renaissance building, corresponding to the Natural His- tory Museum at the opposite side of Leinster Lawn. The first room entered is the Sculpture or Dargan Hall, the room at the end was intended to hold Marsh's Library, GALLERY OF THE OLD MA8XKBS. National Gallery (Map B.), Merrion-square, west. The com- mittee of the Dargan Testimonial Fund in 1854 voted ,5,000 out of the funds contributed to com- memorate the public services of William Dargan in defraying the expenses of the Exhibition of 1853 at his own cost, towards the erection of u public gallery of Art. ParliamentarygranUbrought but is now the National Historical and Portrait gallery. A handsome staircase leads to the large gallery of Old Masters over the Dargan Hall, and there are other smaller rooms for watercolours and modern pictures. The gallery is rich in examples of the Dutch School. It is open free on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Satur- days from 12 to dusk (or 6 p.m.) ENTRANCE TO THE TUMULUS AT NEW GRANGE. 233 and on Sundays from 2 to dusk (or 6 p.m.)- Admission on Thurs- days and Fridays from 10 to 4, 6d. There is a very good critical and descriptive catalogue for 6d. National Library LIBRARY, NATIONAL. Nelson's Pillar. (Map C.) Nelson's Pillar stands in the middle of Sackville-street at the junction of Henry-street and Earl- street ; it was erected in 1808. It consists of a pedestal, column and capital, surmounted by a fine stone statue of Nelson, leaning on a capstan, executed by Kirk. The entire height is 134 feet. The column, which is Doric or Tuscan, was designed by W. Wilkius, Fellow of Caius College, Cambridge, and is ex- ceedingly ugly ; this may be partly accounted for by money falling short, and the original design having to be modified. The pedestal bears the following names with their dates : Tra- falgar, XXI October MDCCCV, S. Vincent, XIV February, MDCCXCVII, the Nile, I August, MDCCXCVIII, Copen- hagen, II April, MDCCCI, and was designed to have a sarcophagus over the word Trafalgar. The pil- lar is awkwardly situated, inter- rupting the traffic between Henry- street and Earl-street, and many of the citizens wish to have it removed to the head of Sackville-street. In 1894 the steps were taken away, a doorway inserted, the inscrip- tions gilded, and iron railings erected, G. P. Beater being the architect. New Grange, the finest of the series of tumuli, which lie for some miles along the northern bank of the Boyne, is one of the most remarkable examples in Europe of Rude Stone Monu- ments, and may fitly be compared to the Pyramids of Egypt in de- sign. The visitor to Dublin should on no account leave our shores without seeing so unique a monument. Many accounts of early excavations or plunderings of this cave has come clown to us, but the reader who is interested in the archaeology of the matter will find an interesting account by Mr. George Coffey in the A'./. Academy Transactions, 1892. The actual sepulchral chamber is en- tered by a long passage, more than 20 yards long, and so low in parts that it is necessary to crawl for a short distance on hands and knees. This small inconvenience need not, however, deter even ladies from entering New Grange, as the greater part of the passage is quite lofty enough to enable one to walk with a slight stoop only, and the height increases rapidly as one nears the actual chamber, which is 19 ft. 6 in. in height, and appears to have been formed by placing large slabs of stone over one another so that they project gradually inwards, until the top is closed by one flat stone. Of course the vast weight of earth and stones which composes the mound itself, retains the slabs above described in position. Around the main chamber, with its recesses, runs an upright course of stones, 7 or 8 feet in height, which exhibit most of the carvings for which the tumulus is so famous. The cave is, like almost all such tumuli, cruciform in shape, and the recesses in New Grange are of different dimen- sions. The north recess, facing the entrance, is 7 ft. 6 inches in depth, but has little of the char- acteristic ornament in it except for one remarkable fact connected with the ornament, alluded to in Sir W. Wilde's Boyne and 234 Blackwater, that it "not only covered portions of the stones ex- posed to view, but extended over those surfaces which were com- pletely concealed from view, and where a tool could not have reached them." This would naturally imply that the stones were carved before being placed in position. The Eastern recess, 8 feet in depth and almost equally wide, has two magnificent slabs of rock to act as doorway, on the top of that to the right may be seen some carving of the lozenge pattern which is very common in Ireland. Varieties can be seen in the passage on many of the upright stones. The roofing stone of the Eastern recess is the most richly carved of all the stones in the tumulus. Lozenges, c'og-tooth, spirals and concentric circles are intermingled with one another in marvellous variety. This recess, like (bat on the West of the chamber, contains a large basin with the centre depressed. In the centre of the chamber also stands a large basin greatly de- pressed and exhibiting two cup- hollows. It seems probable that these basins were intended either to hold the actual body interred or burned, or to hold an urn in which the remains were deposited. The west recess is of interest chiefly as containing the remark- able fern-leaf marking on the face of the slab to the right, which also has upon it the very ex- ceptional figure which, alone of the New Grange markings, ap- pears to be more than a mere ornament. Opinions are likely to remain divided as to its meaning, but the latest interpretation by Mr. CofTey is that the figure represents a boat. Besides the great stone at the entrance to the mound, there have been dis- covered two other inscribed stones which exhibit very remarkable carving. These were displayed for the first time, within many centuries, when the monument was placed in 1891 under the Protection of Ancient Monu- ments Act. The visitor to New Grange will find it necessary to bring with him some strong light such as an electric lamp or magnesium wire. Candles are practically useless. Newspapers. The first news- paper published in Dublin was Pile's Occurrences which appeared in 1700, but there had previously appeared a single leaf printed on both sides and entitled The Dub- lin Nevas Letter. The learned Mr. Gilbert was the first to draw attention to the publication of this sheet which appeared in 1685. Dublin has always possessed a very large number of dailypapers, and supports at present the folloiv- ing: Daily Express Conservative and Church of Ireland. Irish Times Unionist. freeman's Journal Nationalist, with Evening Telegraph. Daily Independent Nationalist. with Evening Herald Evening Mail Conservative. Weekly Editions of the Irish Times, Independent, and Free- man's Journal appear ; and among other weekly journals may be mentioned United Ire- land and Sport. There are numberless Weekly Papers connected with various Trades notably many excel- lent Cycling and Athletic Papers. Nicholas Within, Church Of S. (Map A.) The church of S. Nicholas \Vithin stands in 235 S. Nicholas-street not far from Christchurch-place ; although the last church only dated from 1807. it is a ruin. Its churchyard used to extend to Christchurch-place (formerly Skinner' s-row) but that part of it was given to the Cor- poration as a site for theTHOLSEL. Nicholas Without and Luke, Church of, SS. (Map A.). S. Nicholas Without was in N. Transept of S. Patrick's Cathedral from as early as 1302; be- coming ruinous, from 1784 to 1825 money was being raised and efforts made to restore the Tran- sept for a parish church. The present church was formerly S. Luke's. It is a plain structure measuring 70 x 30 and was built soon after an Act of Parliament of 1708. It is approached from the Coombe by an avenue of elms. Observatory. DUNSINK. O'Connell Bridge. O'Connell Monument (Map C.) This superb Monu- ment stands at the lower end of Sackville-street, facing O'Connell Bridge. It was designed by O'CONNELL MONUMENT. Foley and after his death was finished by Brock. The first stone was laid in 1864, and the Monument was unveiled August 1 5th, 1882. It consists of a bronze statue of O'Connell (clothed in his cloak) twelve feet high, standing on a limestone pedestal twenty-eight feet high. Round the drum is a noble group of nearly fifty figures cast in various degrees of relief. In front is a heroic figure of Hibernia trampling her broken fetters under foot, and with one hand holding the Act of Eman- cipation, and with the other pointing up to the Liberator. The rest of the figures are repre- sented as listening earnestly to what Hibernia tells them of her deliverer. The four large winged figures at the corners of the base represent O'Connell's chief vir- tues : Patriotism, Fidelity, Elo- quence, and Courage. Orphanages. There are a good many orphanages in Dublin. Miss Barrett's Guide to Dublin Charities (1884) gives the number of orphans as rather over 2,000. The FEMALE ORPHAN HOUSE, ROYAL HIBERNIAN MILITARY SCHOOL, DRUMMOND IN- STITUTION, MASONIC SCHOOLS and S. VINCENT DE PAUL MALE ORPHAN- AGE are dealt with separ- ately. The Female Orphanage, George's-hill, is the oldest in Dublin, it was established in 1771, the Penal laws being evaded by teaching glove- making, &c. The Hiber- nian Marine Society's School founded 1766; their house on Sir John Roger- son's Quay is the subject of one of Malton's Plates ; when it was burned the school was moved to I Upper Merrion- street. S. Vincent's Female Orphanage, North William-street, contains 180 orphans, and S. Joseph's Female Orphanage, Mountjoy-street, 100. Ovoca. RATHDRUM. Oxmantown. The north- west district of Dublin, so called as it was appropriated to the Danes or Ostmen (Eastmen) who, from prudential motives, were not allowed to sleep in the city, then al- together on the south side of the river. It is said that the beams forming the roof of West- minster Hall grew here be- fore the. forest was cleared, and Ostman- town - green formed. Little John the asso- ciate of Robin Hood showed feats of shoot- ing on this green, and some histo- rians say he Arbour-hill DUNSHAUQHLIN CASTLE. was hanged on close by. S. MICHAN'S CHURCH, named from a Danish saint, was the first church built at the north side of the river. There is one curious subterranean building, named " Scaldbrother's Hole" from a notorious thief who inhabited it, .and another, the entrance to which is from what is locally known as " Bailey's Timber Yard." Pale. Dublin with the contiguous parts of Kildare, Louth and Meath was incorporated by King John as the English Pale and the included townlancls were divided amongst the English who built a number of castles, the plain square keeps of many of which still re- main. The following were "walled and good towns " of the Pale : Dublin, Swords, Balrothery, Howth, Newcastle, Bray, Clon- dalkin, Fieldstown and Tallaght. Patrick, Knights of S. This Order was founded in 1783 during the Vice- royalty of Lord Temple. The first investiture took place on the ilth March of that year in the great ball- room of Dublin Castle, which thenceforth by Royal command bore the name of S. Patrick's Hall: the instal- lation in S. Patrick's Cathe- dral followed on S. Patrick's Day, and each knight was admonished amongst other things " to fight for the just and necessary defence of them that be oppressed and needy." Since the disestablishment of the Irish Church, installation in S. Patrick's Cathedral has ceased, but the banners of the knights last installed there before 1869 still hang in the chancel. The statutes of ihe Order should be curious reading, for they are described by a good autho- rity as "a farrago of non- sense." 237 S. PAUL S CATHOLIC CHURCH Paul, Catholic Church of S. (MapC.) Arran-quay. A fine church built in 1835 on the site of the small chapel of 1785. The facade is built of granite and con- sists of a portico with three fine fig- ures whose attitudes show action ; behind rises a campanile in which a peal of bells was hung, 1845. Pavements. The soubriquet " dirty " which used so frequently to be applied to Dublin, was fairly earned by its muddy streets ; be- fore the present system of paving was adopted, long detours had often to be made to avoid wide seas of mud which welled up between the paving stones. For some years the Corporation have been spending large sums in re- paving the streets, the stones being laid on a layer of concrete ; this has greatly improved the streets, but though cleaner, they are not pleasant to drive over. Grafton-street, Mclesworth - street, Kil- dare-street, and some fragments opposite places of worship, are paved with wood ; Henry- street and Mary-street are paved with Asphalt. The sidewalks in Dublin are, as a rule, un- even and soon tire the pedestrian ; they are laid with squares of granite which wear unevenly, especially at the edges. In a few places artificial blocks have been laid, and the squares and many of the suburban pathways are made of concrete. Peter, Catholic Church of S. PHIBSBORO' CHURCH. Peter, Church of s. (Map A.) S. Peter's Church, built within the precincts of the Carmelite Convent, Aungier-street, is the parent parish church of all the district lying to the east '.of the old city, but increasing population has led to new churches being built, and since the disestab- lishment of the Irish Church most of these have had parishes assigned to them. The present church opened in 1867, is from the design of E.H.Carson, F.R.I.A.L portions of the former church being utilised. It is buili. of granite in Early English Gothic, and has a nave 86X40, two tran- septs and a chancel. The transepts are separated from the nave by arches with circular perforations in the spancirils. Th.: chancel measures 18x15, and iis arch is supported by columns of Green Galway Marble. The tower stands- between the chancel and north 238 transept its spire isunfinished. A tombstone bears the inscription : " Benjamin Disneli, ob. 1814." Phibsboro' Church. The Church of S. Peter, Phibsboro', stands on high ground in the angle formed by the North Circular and Cabra roads. A chapel was built here early in this century in " Milner's second order of Gothic Architecture" a fearful and a wonderful " style." A picture is given of it by Petrie S. PETERS CATHOLIC CHURCH. 1831. Afterwards it was rebuilt in what was looked upon as early pointed Gothic ; the tower and nave still remain, and the general effect is good, but the details poor. Again rebuilding was commenced, and a new east end and central tower, with ceiling 130 feet high, arose; the re- building had reached this point in 1868, when there was a lawsuit about the strength of the tower, the trial lasted 34 days, and ended in the jury disagreeing. The work was then suspended, and some time afterwards the upper part of the tower was removed. The new work was designed by Mr. Goldie and is very beautiful. It consists of transepts no feet across, and 80 feet high, a choir consisting of a short polygonal apse of seven bays, with a series of seven radiating chapels. At the end of each transept is a fine rose window and a carved niche. The stained glass is by Lobin of Tours. This new portion is some of the finest Gothic work in Dublin, it is a great pity that the magnifi- cent design remains un- finished. Phoenix Park (Map D). This spacious and beautiful park, open at all times to the citizens, lies to the west of the city on the north bank of the Liffey, it is seven miles in circumference, contains 1760 acres, of which 1,360 are open, and has seven entrances with gates and lodges. The name is derived from the manor house of Fion-uiske (clear water), possibly called from the neighbouring spa which stood on the hill now occupied by the Magazine Fort ; Lord Chesterfield perpetuated the an- glicised form by erecting the Phoenix Column. About 1 662 Charles II. formed a deer park, partly out of the lands of Kilmainham which had been surrendered to the Crown on the suppression of the Order of S. John of Jerusalem, and partly by the purchase of neighbouring townlands. In 1751, the Right 239 Hon. Nathaniel Clemens, father of Lord Leitrim, built a lodge for his own use, which in 1784 was afternoon with the aid cf an outside car. In the following route the chief points of interest are noted. bought by the Government for the use of the Lord Lieutenant. The park can easily be explored in an Hcnu to see the Park. Entering by the North Circular-road Gate, the Constabulary Barracks are seen to 240 the right ; dis- mount and en- ter the People's Gardens to the left, crossing the valley be- tween the two lakes ; on the plateau beyond is the statue of Lord Carlisle, 1873, and there is a good view of the ROY A I. I NFIRMARV. TheWELMNG- TON TESTI- MONIAL (the "big mile- stone " as it is disdainfully called) can PEOPLE S GARDEN; LORD GOUGH. next be examined, and the car rejoined at Foley s beautiful equestrian statue of Lord Gough, erected in 1880. Then drive along the road over the river leaving the cricket grounds on the right. Passing the Kilmainham Gate a steep hill is ascended at the Magazine Fort (formerly called Wharton's Folly from the Lord Lieutenant who built it) at the right. This magazine called forth one of Swift's latest epigrams : " Behold a proof of Irish sense, Here Irish wit is seen, When nothing's left that's worth defence, We build a magazine." Further on theChapel- izod Gate is passed with the HIBERNIAN SCHOOL 241 CHIEF SECRETARY'S LODGE. on the hill to the right, then the road becomes prettier, and the view of the river more exquisite. The furze glen with its quiet lake is the wildest part, and soon afterwards the Knock- maroon Gates are reached. Leaving by one gate the road to Lucan, Strawberry Beds, &c., is seer, and a glimpse is obtained of Lord Iveagh's house; re-enteiing by the second gate the Mountjoy barracks for the Ordnance Sur- vey are passed to the left, and the centre road is reached. Drive along the centre road to the Phcenix Column, erec- ted by Lord Chester- field, L.L., in 1745. It is 30 feet high, and consists of a Corinthian column crowned by a Phcenix on a flaming pile. On one side of the pedestal is carved : Civium oblectamente, Campum rudtm et incultum Ornari jussit Philippus Stanhope, Comes De Chesterfield, Prorex. "On the other side is : Impensis suis posuit Philippus Stanhope, Comes De Chesterfield, Prorex At the right is the Chief Secre- tary's Lodge, and at the left the Undersecretary's Lodge. Continu- ing the centre road the portico of the VICE- REGAL LODGE is seen between two rows of shrubs ; on this spot Lord Frederick Caven- dish and Mr. Burke were mur- dered by the " Invincibles "in 1882. To the right beyond a belt of trees is the Fifteen Acres (why "Fifteen" it is hard to say, as the open space is of great extent) where formerly duels were decided, now used as a review ground and always sur- rounded by crowds of citizens on the Queen's Birthday. Passing the Vice-regal Lodge the old Elm avenue is seen, and beyond it the Nine Acres and Polo ground, a road leading round the Zoologi- cal Gardens and past the old EXTRAXCE TO THE ZOO- 242 Chalybeate spring. The ZOO- LOGICAL GARDENS are now passed and the Gough statue is regained. The park can be left by Parkgate-street. Physicians COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS. Pigeon House Fort. The Pigeon House is situated on the South Wall about I miles below Ringsend ; it was bought by the Government for a barrack in 1814, and at one time was considered " a place of great strength sur- rounded with heavy cannon and commanding the bay in various directions. " The old timber mole was replaced by a stone one to this point in 1755, and a small harbour was built to afford shelter to the packets " which were ex- posed to the swell in the Channel in easterly winds," but from the first it was nearly dry at low water. A hotel for the convenience of travellers and a Custom House were built beside the harbour. Up to 1818 the English Mails were despatched daily (except Sundays) from the Post Office, College Green. A long coach holding 40 passengers conveyed them to the Pigeon House har- bour, from which, when the tide served, the packets sailed. The average passage to Holyhead was twelve hours. At that time some of the Irish mail coaches were built of sheet copper or iron as in the various insurrections metal plates were found useful in turning off musket balls ! When Howth Harbour was finished the packets were transferred to it. The Pigeon House is now used as barracks, targets for rifle practice being put up on the South Bull. Those v/ishing to walk to the end of the South Wall have to pass through the fort. The Govern- ment are now considering the advisability of handing the Pigeon House over to the Corporation. Pleasants' Asylum (Map A.) in Camden-street was opened in 1818. T. Pleasants having be- queathed ^15,000 for establish- ing a female orphan house for daughters of respectable house- holders. The inmates are well cared and highly instructed. Pleasants, Thomas, was a merchant of Dublin (ob. 1816) who gave large sums in practical charity. The Tenter House was erectedin 1815 at a costofi2,964; before this the poor weavers of the Coombe had either to suspend work in rainy weather or use the alehouse fire and thus were (as Wright expresses it) "exposed to great distress, and not unfrequently reduced either to the hospital or the gaol." The Tenter House is a brick building in Cork-street, 275 feet long, 3 stories high and with a centre cupola, the building has long since passed to other uses owing to the failure of hand weaving in the city but at the time it fulfilled its design, the 30,000 people depending on weaving using it gladly and "in 1816 no one woollen weaver was found im- ploring relief, or within the walls of a prison." Mr. Pleasants gave /6,ooo to the MEATH HOSPITAL, .500 to build the entrace to the BOTANIC GARDENS, Glasnevin and endowed PLEASANTS' ASY- LUM in Camden-street. There is a monument to his memory in S. BRIDE'S CHURCH. Police. The Dublin Metropolitan police number 1,148 with officers, and have long been a subject of legitimate pride to the city. For superb physique no finer body of men can be produced in the King, dom. It is enough to say that they are no unworthy companions to the world - famous Royal 243 Irish Constabulary. The Police Band has always maintained a high standard of efficiency. The head quarters are in Dublin Castle. Police Courts, The (Map C.) are situated behind the FOUR COURTS. The building is com- modious and well suited to its purpose, but it is not likely to interest the visitor. Police Magis- trates. There are attached to the Courts four Police Magistrates, of whom one sits at Kingstown to take in the S. district of the County. Poolbeg Light- house built in 1764-8, stands at the end of the great South Mole which extends from RINGSEND fully 3 miles into the sea. To those who delight in sea air and fine mountain views there can be no more glorious walk, or bicycle run, than that from Rings- end to Poolbeg. The superb Bay of Dublin has been often com- pared in beauty to the Bay of Naples ; and by this walk we can reach almost the centre of it. The coast from the city as far as Bray is studded with towns and villas, while in the background rise the Dublin mountains. On the other side the bold promontory A MEMBER OP THE D.M.P. first time in early morning dotted here and there with the white canvas of yachts or the tawny sails of fishing smacks will readily understand the intense enthusiasm with which all Irishmen regard their " matchless wonder of a bay." In 1880 a condensing dioptric apparatus took the place of the old silver reflectors. There is also a siren, sounded by compressed air, which is worked by gas made on the spot and can be called into action in two minutes. The base of the lighthouse is pro- tected by large con- crete blocks. The walk to the lighthouse by Ringsend and the Pigeon House is a pleasant one. There are four other light- houses on the river. Poplin is the one speciality for which, if we except porter, Dublin has obtained a world-wide fame. The manufacture was intro- duced by the Huguenot refugees in 1693, and is still flourishing, al- though its popularity has declined as an article of ladies' wear. The material is composed of silk and worsted, the appearance being extremely rich. It is said that the excellence of the water used in dying the worsted here renders the colours superior to those pro- duced elsewhere. of HOWTH rises grandly from the PortObellO (Map A.), i miles ocean ; while directly across the from the G.P.O., was in the olden river mouth are CLONTARF and time, while yet the CANAL-boat Dollymount. The Bay is seven was the chief method of travelling, miles across, the visitor, whose quite an important station and a good fortune it is to see it for the fine hotel were erected at the 244 Canal Basin. Portobello Bridge connects the city with RATHMIXES and there is a large Military Barrack on the Canal Bank on the Rathmines side. The once cele- brated gardens of Portobello, in which many a sensational ex- hibition was given, have entirely disappeared in the astonishing ex- tension of the suburbs. Little more than 5 years ago hardly a house was to be seen beyond the canal, but now many a village originally far beyond the bounda- ries of the city has become part and parcel of Dublin ( RATH- MINES). VIEW ON THE LIFFET. Port of Dublin. Dublin is situated at the head of a bay six miles long and five and a-half miles wide, and its modern history as a port may be said to date from 1707, when the port was vested in the Corporation. At that time the Liffey and the Dodder flowed across the sands at low water dividing them into the North and South Bulls. The first work undertaken was the great South Wall, which reaches some three miles into the sea ; this straight- ened the channel, protected it from south winds and kept the South Bull from encroaching. This wall was first built of wood, but was gradually replaced by stone. This South Wall being broken in several places owing to the piles decaying, the Irish Parliament incorporated a special body, named the Corporation for Preserving and Improving the Port of Dublin, and the care of the port was transferred to it. This body was familiarly known as the BALLAST OFFICE or Board, a name which still attaches to the Port and Docks Board. Soon af- ter 1819, the North Bull Wall was built from Clon- tar f to within 1,000 feet of Poolbeg lighthouse; half of this wall was sub merged when the tide was in r this enabled the water to escape freely at the first half of the ebb, the remainder being confined, rushed out with great force and by its scour has deepened the water over the bar at low water of spring tide, from 6 to 16 feet. Since 1860 great improvements have been made in the river, from 1865 to 1 868 more than 15,000,000 tons were dredged out ; the North Wall has been extended and the Alexandra Basin formed, and much of the QUAY walls have been rebuilt with deep foundations, so as to allow large vessels to come alongside. The North Wall extension was built by blocks of concrete 360 tons weight; these were built at a distance and carried by an immense floating sheares and lowered on ground which had first been dredged out, and then prepared by men work- ing in a diving-bell. The moving of the blocks and the diving- bell (which could be entered by a shaft from above) were for many years objects of more than local interest. In 1878 the income of the port reached its maximum, the regis- tered tonnage being 2,026,185, and the in- come from rates and dues ^62,417 gs. lod. Since that there has been a decline in re- ceipts, which is due to the law of measurement having received a new construction in 1879. The result to Dublin has been disas- trous, as needed improvements cannot be carried out, and much of the dredging plant is unused. Ahundredyearsagoihe entrance to the harbour was so difficult that a ship canal was projected, the starting point to be either Dun- leary (Kingstown) or Sutton. At present large steamers can enter the port at all tides ; indeed Dublin is the only harbour in -which ihe Great Eastern was ever moored to a wall (1888-9). POWERSCOURT WATERFALL. Post Office GENERAL POST OFFICE. Poulaphuca BLESSINGTOX. Powerscourt, with its famous waterfall, is best approached from ENNISKERRY, where admission tickets must be procured. Of the entrances into the beautiful de- mesne of Lord Powerscourt. the visitor will probably take the Great Gate, which is less than half a mile from Enniskerry up a very steep hill. From the gate to the Falls, a distance of three miles, is one continual succession of delightful views of river, moun- tain and woodland scenery. The Fall itself is caused by the Dargle river leaping over a lofty cliff, and 246 in rainy weather it has a very fine effect ; it is apt, however, to be disappointing in fine seasons, and the story goes that on one occasion when George IV. was expected to visit the place, a large reservoir was constructed on the summit of the cliff to secure nn imposing cataract. Alas, the King did not come, and the artifice was not required. In any case, the visitor will find in the demesne itself a surfeit of beauty, and the base of the cliff over which the river tumbles is a favourite place for picnic parties from Bray or Dublin. The fare for a car from Bray is about ten shillings there and back ; but a bargain must always be made beforehand. Powerscourt House (Map B.) William-street 1771-3, de- signed by Robert Mack, cost ;lo,ooo. There is a fine fi^ade which, however, can hardly be seen from the narrowness of the street. There is a fine flight of steps, and the internal staircase is made of mahogany. This was taken as a Stamp Office in 1811. It is now occupied by Messrs, ferrier and Pollock. Presbyte- rian Church. Presbyterian Church in Ireland. The Presbyterians came to Ulster from Scotland in the reign of James I., and in 1642 the first Presby- tery was form- ed. There are six Congregations in Dublin r and others in the suburbs. Their finest place of worship is RUT- LAND - SQUARE CHURCH. Or- mond-quay Church has a limestone front with side towers of poor perpendicular Gothic design ; it was built in 1865. The Church in Adelaide-road has a high rusti- cated basement from which the pillars of the portico rise. Donore Church is a small but well-de- signed building of red sandstone and granite, in decorated Gothic.. United Presbyterian CInirch. A Congregation meets in Lower Abbey-street ; it is the lineal descendant of a congregation; with which King William III. worshipped in Moss-lane ; they afterwards moved to the site of the old Bank of Ireland in Mary's Abbey, and in 1826 moved to Lower Abbey-street, their church in Mary's Abbey becoming a Synagogue. Pro-Cat hed ral CATHEDRAL. OF S. MARY. Prospect C e m e t e r y CEMETERY. THE QUAYS LOW DOWN. 247 Provost's House TRINITY COLLEGE. Quays. The river Liffey is bounded on both sides by con- tinuous embankments or quays, which ex tend from themouthof the river to Kingsbridge. That on the south side is separated merely by the mouth of the Dodder from the South Wall, which extends into the bay for some three miles. These quays were mostly built in the first quarter of the present century by the BALLAST OFFICE docks. Passenger steamers start from the north quays. Queen's-square (Map B.) A small square opening off Great Brunswick-street. It was erected '839-50 and well planted, indeed a guide book of the latter date says " We have no hesitation in saying that in Ireland or England there is nothing to equal it." For years it was used for shooting rubbish, but some years ago the Corporation laid it out once more, and opened it as a public garden. THE QUAYS HIGH UP. Corporation at present termed the Port and Docks Board when also many of the bridges were rebuilt. The most ornamental portion is Inn's-quay, opposite the FOUR COURTS, where the parapet is replaced by a balustrade continuous with that of the flank- ing bridges. From the CUSTOM HOUSE down the parapet is dis- continued and the quays are devoted to shipping. At the south side coal, guano, &c., are dis- charged ; wood, corn, &c., being discharged at the north quays and Queen's-square is greatly given up to theatrical lodgings. Rath, which appears as a prefix in so many of our Dublin suburbs, means originally a circular en- closure or "dun," as it is also called, wh'ch surrounded the house of the chieftain in ancient cities. The earthern rampart was possibly surmounted by strong palisades. Rat hd rum (37 miles on the D. W. & W. R.) is a very good centre for visiting the more distant parts of the County Wicklow : it 248 has a good hotel. GLENDALOUGH is seven miles away, and Glen- malure is the same distance ; the latter is a fine pass under Lugna- quilla (3,039 ft.) a mountain well worth climbing. Passing through the Vale of Avonmore the Vale of Avoca is entered under Castle Howard, and over the real "Meet- ing of the Waters." From the village of Avoca toWoodenbridge station at the other end of the Vale, is a beautiful drive of six miles, it can be seen well both by road and rail. Rathfarnham, a southern suburb and village, four miles from the G. P. O., is interesting chiefly from the fine castle built by Archbishop Loftus in the reign of Elizabeth. The Church of Ire- land College of St. Columba (EDUCATION) is in this district. Rathgar, a township united to RATHMINES, one of the most popular residential suburbs. Rathmines, themost important suburb of the city, lies due south across the canal, past PORTOBELLO. On the right as one enters the township, over La Touche's Bridge, lie the Portobello Artillery Barracks, which have lately been increased in size. The Commis- sioners constructed, in 1880, superb water works at Glen-na-Smoil Valley, and during the severe drought of 1893 had reason to congratulate themselves on their foresight in refusing to have their township served by the VARTRY supply. Tramcars ply from NELSON'S Pillar to Terenure. Rathmines Catholic Church. The Church of S. Mary of Refuge, Rathmines-road, is a fine structure of Renaissance design, from the plans of P. Byrne, R.H.A. ; it was completed in 1883. It is cruciform in plan, and has a large copper dome ; the portico is a magnificent piece of work, the four Corinthian pillars being of vast but harmonious pro portions. Over the apex of the pediment is a fine statue of the Virgin and Child, and there are other statues at thesidesandon the entablature are the words MARINE PECCATORUM REFUGIO. The appearance of the fa9ade was somewhat injured by a ' right of way " which pre- vented the side doors being put in, but this difficulty was overcome in 1894. Records. The Public Records of Ireland are, by an Act of Par- liament of 1867, placed under the charge and superintendence of the Master of the Rolls. They are preserved in the State Paper Office and in the Public Record Office ; the former is situated in the Birmingham Tower, Dublin Castle, the latter in a building which forms part of the precincts of the Four Courts, these two offices are now under the super- vision of one officer who is styled Deputy Keeper of the Records and Keeper of the State Papers, and who acts under the direction of the Master of the Rolls. The Public Record Office of Ireland resembles the similar Department in England, it has, however, one specially distinct feature : all wills, as soon as they have attained the age of twenty years from date of proof, are preserved there, whereas in England these most important records remain in the Probate Registry at Somerset House. The State Paper Office was in 1715 under the charge of the celebrated Addison. The Public Record Office was founded in 1868, and the first Deputy Keeper was the late Sir Samue Ferguson. Reformatory Schools. There are two Reformatory Schools 249 in Dublin Cork-street (P.) and High Park, Drumcondra (R.C.) The former has an average of 1 1 , and the latter 46 inmates. GLEN- CREE is the most important reformatory close to Dublin 250 inmates. Register Office, General CHARLEMONT HOUSE. Registrar-General CHAR- LEMONT HOUSE. Ringsend is a village at the confluence of the Dodder with the Liffey. It was at one time a pretty suburb, and so long as the Pigeon House harbour was used for the packet boats, Ringsend was prosperous. Tjh ere are good docks, but rarely used, and Ringsend at present de- rives the small importance it possesses from its being the head -quarters of the Dublin fishing fleet, and also of all the ROW- ING CLUBS. There are glass works and vitriol works in the village. The sea- wall, stretching 3 milesintothesea from Ringsend to Poolbeg Light- house, ranks among the noblest moles in the Kingdom. The Pembroke TECHNICAL SCHOOLS were built 1893. (MATHF.W, CHURCH of S.) Rockabill, a lighthouse on a toweringrock about fivemiles from the coast opposite to SKERRIES. Rotunda Hospital. The Rotunda Hospital and Buildings form a handsome group at the south side of Rutland-square and the north end of Sackville-street ; the Hospital faces Great Britain- street and the buildings have entrances in Cavendish-row. The Rotunda Hospital was the first Lying-in hospital built, and still deservedly holds a high place among its fellows. It owes its existence to the foresight, liberality, and perseverance of Dr. Bartholo- mew Mosse, who, struck by the misery of poor women when most they needed help, opened in 1745, ROTUNDA HOSPITAL. a house (which still exists) in George's lane now, South George' s-street. In 1748 the success of the work led to a larger house being required, and Dr. Mosse bought the Barley Fields (the present Rutland-square) and in 1757 the first stone of the Hospital was laid. Dr. Mosse not only collected money and started lotteries and spent all his private means on the grounds and building, but in 1755 petitioned the Parliament for assistance 250 which was granted in two sums of ;6,ooo; he died in poverty in 1759, aged 47. The Hospital is built of granite and measures 125 ft. x 80 ft. ; it is three stories in height, with Doric columns and pediment in the centre. Above rises a tower ending in an open gallery and graceful dome. It was designed by Cassels. The pavilions were added by F. Trench ; one is un- altered and is an entrance to the Rotunda Buildings, the other has an added story and is used as a porch for the Hospital. The "Auxiliary Hospital," at the S.W. corner of the square, was built by Lord Kingsland for a town house, but he never lived in it owing to the neighbouring site being selected for an hospital. For some years it was occupied by the Richmond Blind Institu- tion, and in 1815 was taken over for hospital purposes. The New Auxiliary, of red brick and yellow terra-cotta, was built from the designs of Albert Murray, 1895. The Chapel, over the entrance hall, is the finest example of stucco- work in Dublin, the ceiling con- taining figures of more than life size in alto relievo. The stucco was designed by Cremillon and executed by the brothers Francini. The seats are of mahogany, and there is a curious font presented by the Bishop of Raphoe, in 1765. The Rotunda Gardens ( RUT- LAND-SQUARE) were laid out as places of public entertainment, the profits going to the Hospital. The present Tennis ground is the old Bowling green. The Rotunda Rooms were added from time to time with the same object. The Round Room (Sofeet in diam- eter) was designed by Ensor and erected, with two tea-rooms, in 1764-5. The balcony inside was added in 1860. The room is beautifully proportioned and has been the scene of many great political meetings. F. Johnston designed (1784) the portico facing Cavendish-row, the Pillar Room (the best dancing room in the city), the Large Concert Hall, and the smaller concert halls. He decorated the outside of the Round Room with the magnificent Wedgwood frieze of Ox skulls (cf. page 34). These rooms were occupied by troops in 1798, and in the present century they have never been the assistance to the charity that they were at firs^t The average profits from the rooms in 1795-7, was ; l 45^' whilst from 1815-7 it was only 300. Lately, for some years, the rooms were little used, but their prosperity seems once more to be reviving. In !785theHospital wasgranted a duty of i 155. 6d. on each private sedan chair, of which there were 260 in Dublin. The Hospital contains 95 beds. From its founda- tion to 1892, 231,732 women were confined in it. Round Towers. The fol- lowing Round Towers can be easily reached from Dublin : p, Height Distance ace ' (infect), (in miles). Clondalkin, 85 5 Glendalough, no 32 Kells. 99 30 Kildare, 1 10 30 Lusk, 1 10 14 Monasterboice, no 37 Rathmichael, The Stump, 9 Swords, 73 8 RO wi rig. All the Rowing Clubs of Dublin are situated on the Dodder at RINGSEND. The leading clubs are the Dublin University Rowing Club, Dublin 251 University Boat Club, the Pem- broke, the Commercial and the Dolphin. The annual Regatta is held in July beside the sea-wall which extends from Ringsend to the PIGEON HOUSE. The course is from the Pigeon House to the mouth of the Dodder. Royal Dublin Society, the, (Map B.) was founded in 1731 and incorporated in 1749 to promote Husbandry and oth>r useful arts in Ireland. It therefore takes rank as the very oldest society of its kind in the Kingdom. After many migrations, it now occupies apart of LEINSTER HOUSE (bought in 1815 for ; 25,000), which it shares with the BALL'S BRIDGE PREMISES. Science and Art Department, There were in 1821 about 500 members and considerable grants- from Parliament were required to enable the Society to carry on its excellent work. There are now 9,000 members elected by ballot and the society administers an annual income of ^25,000. The promotion of Science and Industry is beset with difficulties in Ireland, but at no period of its existence has the good influence of this Society been more widely extended ormorelargely beneficial than at present. The visitor who is so fortunate as to be in Dublin during one of the larger Cattle Shows or Horse Shows, given by the Society at BALL'S BRIDGE, cannot but be struck with the excellent results of the Society's labours. To encourage a knowledge of Botany, the Botanical Gardens were laid out in 1793 at GLASNEVIN ; and in 1 88 1 very extensive grounds -were opened at BALL'S BRIDGE, as the space in the front of Leinster House was too small to admit of such ex- hibitions as the Society can get to- gether. The build- ings at Ball's Bridge are the finest in the Kingdom for the pur- pose to which they are applied, and three or four times a year they are thronged with visitors from all parts of the world. The greatest Horse Show takes place in August, and attracts 252 so many strangers to the Irish capital, that during the " Horse Show Week " it is almost im- possible to secure accommodation in town. The Society carries on also a scientific work of high im- portance, and many most valuable contributions to modern know- ledge are to be found among its publication. Lectures are constantly given in the Theatre; and within late years a very sensible new departure has been made in providing popular Scientific Lectures for the young by some of our leading authorities. The Musical Recitals of the Society have long been famous. The MUSEUM, together with the Schools of Design have been taken over from the Royal Dublin Society by the SCIENCE AND ART DEPARTMENT and the NATIONAL LIBRARY OF IRELAND, which before the completion of the new building was very poorly housed in LEINSTER HOUSE, has now been transferred to the superb building erected for it. Royal Hospital. (Map D.) The Royal Hospital, KIL- MAINHAM is one of the most interesting buildings near Dublin ; it was built from the design of Sir Christopher Wren. 1680-4, at a cost of .26,000 " for the re- ception and entertainment of antient, maimed and infirm officers and soldiers." The Hospital stands in pretty grounds and can be reached most directly from Kingsbridge and most pictu- resquely from Kilmainham by the Richmond Tower (erected on the S. Quay, at the end of Barrack Bridge from the designs of F. Johnston, 1812, moved to present site, 1846). The Royal Hospital is built in the form of a quadrangle 306 feet by 288 feet, and enclosing a courtyard 210 feet square- The principal front is to the north and faces the Phoenix Park ; the Great Hall is in the centre of this side, the Chapel forms its east end and the apartments of the Master (the Commander of the Forces in Ireland) its western part. The entrance to the Great Hall projects 17^ feet x 66 feet, and is orna- mented with Corinthian pilasters, over the door are the arms of the Duke of Ormond who did so much to further the foundation of the institution. The steeple (added in 1701) rises over the entrance, and consists of two stories (one of which contains a clock) and in octagonal spire. In the centre of each of the other fronts is an arched gateway. The courtyard is laid out in grass plots and a covered piazza extends round three sides and part of the fourth ; there is a sun-dial (1748) over the north door. The Great Hall is well worth visiting ; it measures 100 ft. x 50 ft. and is lofty in proportion. The upper part of the walls has 22 portraits of sovereigns and Irish statesmen, and a number of old flags ; the lower half is wainscotted in oak and is de- corated with a valuable collection of armour and weapons, much of which was sent to the Pigeon House Fort from the Tower of London in 1829 and transferred to the Royal Hospital in 1891 at the instance of Lord Wolseley, Master. A fine fire-place, the original charter of Charles II., a curious collection of old books, and glass cases of medals, which belonged to former inmates, are also to be seen. The chapel (dedicated in 1886 to the memory of King Charles I., Martyr) con- tains a large window the tracery of which belonged to the ancient 253 priory and the upper part of the is by Grindley Gibbons. The glass is old, the lower part was beautiful stucco ceiling was cle- ROYAL UNIVERSITY. presented by the Queen after her signed by Cipriani. The number visit in 1849. The oak carving of pensioners at preient is 140. 254 Royal Infirmary. (Map D.) The Royal Infirmary (1786-8) is built at the margin of the Phoenix Park between the two principal gates. It stands on the top of a well-wooded hill and has a handsome frontage consisting of a centre, surmounted by a cupola, and two returning wings. Royal Irish Academy ACADEMY, ROYAL IRISH. Royal University, (Map A.) in Earlsfort-terrace, was es tablished in 1879, and occupies the buildings of the old Dublin Exhibition (1864-5) of which the huge glass building was removed to Battersea Park. New lecture- rooms, &c. , have been erected at the south side of the main front and at the northern extremity a lofty square CLOCK tower. The Royal University is an ex- amining body only, and with it are incorporated the old Queen's Colleges of Belfast, Cork and Galway. The Degrees of the Royal are open to female as well as male students, and many of the highest distinction have been won by members of the gentler sex. There are two very excellent Halls, used occasionally for concerts, by permission of the Senate. Royal Visits to Ireland have not been frequent. Henry II. came, 1172; John, 1210; Richard II., 1394 and 1396 ; Henry V., 1415. In 1821 George IV. landed at Howth, and after nearly a month's stay, embarked at Dunleary (re-named KINGS- TOWN) where his last footprint is preserved under an obelisk ! Her Majesty the Queen has visited Ireland three times, in 1849, from August 6th-ioth, in 1853, from August to 29th September 3rd, during which time she visited the " Dargan" Exhibition on Leinster Lawn, and in 1861, from August 22nd~3Oth, when the Royal party visited Killarney. Rush, a decayed fishing village between SKERRIES and MALA- HIDE, was at one time famous for its fish-curing industry, the ling of Rush being a particular delicacy. The village is interesting at present chiefly as giving the nearest view from the mainland, of LAMBAY Island. Rutland Square (Map C.), or the Rotunda Gardens, is situa- ted at the north end of Sackville- street. It was laid out in 1750 as a place of amusement, the profits to go to the building of the RO- TUNDA HOSPITAL, which, with its annexes, occupies its south side ; the railings were put round it in 1 785. Part of the square is rented for Hengler's Circus, and the asphalt, now used for tennis, marks the site of a skating rink. At the north-east corner opposite RUTLAND-SQUARE CHURCH, is a a small house with a portico, which was once a shelter for sedan chair bearers, who had their stand in front. The centre of the north side of the square is occupied by CHARLEMONT HOUSE, a splendid building now used as the Registrar-General's Office. The other houses on the north side, and some of those on the east, are very fine, and many of them were occupied by the nobility in pre-Union days. At one time concerts, illuminated promenades, bands, and other amusements, were held nightly during the summer, the profits going to the hospital. The north side was named Palace-row, the east side, Cavendish-row, and the west side, Granby-row, the two latter names are now applied to limited parts. The square is not open to the public. 255 Rutland Square Presby- terian Church. The Presbyterian Congregation of S. Mary s Abbey was established about 1667, soon after the passing of the Act of Uniformity in the reign of Charles II., and their place of worship built on the ruins of part of the old Abbey, now merged in B o 1 a n d ' s Bakery, was entered by a covered pas- sage from Capel street. The old site being found inconveni- ent, the pre- sent church was built 1862-4, at the expense of Alexan- der Find- later at the north - east corner of RUTLAND- SQUARE, on the site of the Earl of Bective's house. The Church, de- signed by H e i t o n , Perth, is built of Gra- nite in late decorated Gothic style, and, although hemmed in by houses, is one of the most successful exteriors in Dublin. It has a graceful spire 1 80 feet high, and the east side is divided into three bays with high gables and richly traceried five-light windows. At the south or Rutland-square end, are the principal entrances, the large window at this end is in com- memoration of the building. In the porch is a monument to the Rev. Benjamin MacDowel, ob. 1824. The interior is very effec- tive, although the unpierced wall on the left somewhat spoils it. The open roof is lofty, and over the pulpit RUTLAND SQUARE CHURCH.. ville (from the family name of the Duke of Dorset; was applied to the upper part in 1756. This portion was widened (to the west) and trees planted in the centre, and a walk made named the "Mall." New Sackville-street (now Lower Sackville-street) was opened by the WIDE STREET 257 COMMISSIONERS in 1796. Sack- ville-street contains the GENERAL POST OFFICE. NELSON'S PILLAR, DROGHEDA HOUSE, and numer- ous STATUES. Sal lygap LOUGH BRAY. Salmon Leap -LEIXLIP. Sandy mount. 2$ miles from G.P.O., is a fine stretch of sand at low tide a glorious place for a gallop. Cockles are found in great abundance. The artillerymen from the PIGEON HOUSE practise on the seaward parts of the sand. As a residential neighbourhood Sandymount has gone down. Its houses are small, and the district lies too low. Santry. A small village two miles from Dublin, on what was once the great Northern road, was a model village once, but has fallen into decay during the years Srntry Hall has been vacant. The church has some interesting monuments, and had until lately a typical double belfry built of rubble ; a few years ago this was broken off by a falling tree, and has been replaced by a single belfry of cut limestone a Vandal action. Santry Hall is a superb large square building in Jacobean style : marble sculptures, monu- ments to favourite horses and dogs, and a large artificial lake testify, as does the luxuriant planting, to the former magnifi- cence of this place. Saviour, Chapel of S. (Map C.) The Chapel of the Dominican Order is built at the top Of DOMINICK-STREET, with approaches from Rutland-square and Dorset-street. It is a lofty building, in early decorated Go- thic, designed by J. J. McCarthy. The west facade is beautifully carved, with figures over the doors, a large window, and heavy carved pinnacles. Inside, the central aisle has graceful pillars, large clerestory windows, and painted wooden roof. The lowness and narrowness of the side aisles, and the height of the nave roof, give an appearance of height, length, and narrowness. At the east end the High Altar, beauti- fully carved, stands in the centre of an apse, the windows of which are filled with coloured glass. At present the interior is injured by the stones having been covered with colour wash, but this has been removed from the lower parts, and eventually all is to be scraped. From the east end the view is equally beautiful, being closed by the organ, which stands over the western door on a stone gallery, and the beautiful window. Side chapels were added to the north aisle in 1895. The altar of the Sacred Name (1891), at the east end of the south aisle, is an exquisite 5iece of work, ornamented with a elicate fret of white on a back- ground of coloured marble. The upper figure of Christ was brought from Italy, but the beautiful group of the "Dead Christ," in alto relievo under the altar, was carved by Hogan (1857), and is a master- piece. There is a memorial win- dow in the south aisle erected by Earl Spencer in memory of T. H. Burke, Under-Secretary, assassinated in the Phoenix Park, 1882. Saviour, Priory of S, (Map C.) The Priory of S. Saviour is at the north side of the chapel, and runs along Dorset- street. It was designed byj. L. Robinson. The north, east, and south sides are finished. It is built of limestone, with richly carved Caen stone dressings. There are two stories above the basement, but the important rooms, such as the Chapter S 258 House, Library, and Kitchen, fill both stories. At the east side is a beautiful cloister with wooden roof, supported by short pillars resting on stone corbels. At one end is a marble lavatory, and be- side it the entrance to the Refec- tory, which contains a reader's pulpit ; there are tables at three sides, and the brethren sit out- side them looking towards the centre of the room. The Hospi- tium is separated from the Refec- tory by sliding doors, and when required the two can be thrown into one. The Chapter House, a fine apartment, is at the north side, as is the Library, which has books round the walls and in pro- jecting book cases, which separate off quiet bays for readers ; it is lit by a superb oriel window, sepa- rated from the rest of the room by a Gothic arch. The private chapel, sacristy, &c., occupy the south 'side. The Priory contains many portraits and other paint- ings. There is a fine picture of Father Burke, whose eloquence used to draw crowds to the neigh- bouring church. Scald brother's Hole OXMANSTOWN. Scalp, The. This very famous pass lies on the border between Dublin and Wicklow, one side being in each county. It may be reached most conveniently from the little village of ENNIS- KERRY, but a far better view is obtained by driving from Carrickmines past Golden Ball and KILTERNAN, a very beautiful road giving fine views of the Two and Three Rock Mountains. The Scalp itself is a very singular chasm in the mountain, in which huge masses of granite are loosely piled on either side. It is quite worth while to climb the sides of the pass as a glorious panorama is thus disclosed to view ; but even from the road below the picture formed by the ravine with the bold form of the great Sugar Loaf Mountain closing the vista is extremely beautiful. As one advances the rocky side of Carrickgollan, usually nicknamed Katty Goligher, may lie seen on the left, the chimney of the Ballycorus Lead Works on its summit making it easily recog- nisable. Schools. The leading schools of Dublin are Alexandra College and School (for ladies) in Earls- fort-terrace, the High School of Erasmus Smith in Harcourt- street, and the Wesley College in St. Stephen's-grecn. The University College School in Stephen's-green and the Catholic University School in Lower Lee- son-street are among the chief schools for Catholic boys only. A well equipped girls' school for higher education of Catholic ladies has been opened in Merrion- square, and there are many ex- cellent Convent Schools. S. Andrew's College in Stephen's- green is a Presbyterian School. In the neighbourhood of Dublin are, of Protestant non-sectarian schools, St. Columba's College, RATH- FAR NHAM ; Santry School, Kingstown School, with many smaller foundations ; while the Catholics possess famous edu- cational centres at CLONGOWES WOOD, BLACKROCK, and else- where. Dublin has a very large number of private schools of good reputation, both for girls and boys ; but the great Public School and the High School of the English type have not arisen among us. Science COLLEGE OFSCIENCE ROYAL, 259 Season. The Season in Dublin is early so as not to allow the London Season to interfere with it. It commences in the last week in January, when the Viceregal party move into the Castle and the first Levee is held, and ends on St. Patrick's Day, 1 7th March. There are two Levees and two Drawingrooms ; the Levee is held in the middle of the day, the Drawingroom in the evening of the following day. At Levees a band plays in the Upper Castle Yard, and cavalry ride round and round, keeping carriages in an outer circle. The route from the top of the stair- case through the State Apartments (CASTLE) is through S. Patrick's Hall, the Supper Room, the Throne Room (where the Lord Lieutenant stands with his back to the windows), the Ante Room, and out again to the staircase. At Drawingrooms the reverse course is pursued, the order being Long Corridor, Great Drawingroom, Ante Room, Throne Room (where the Lord Lieutenant stands at the Throne facing the windows), and through the end of the Supper Room, into S. Patrick's Hall. Ladies (with their trains extended) have to pass round three sides of the Throne Room, gentlemen cross merely the fourth side. When all have passed through, the " Na- tional Anthem " is played, and the Lord Lieutenant and Household, headed by Ulster King-at-Arms, pass in procession through S. Patrick's Hall. During the Season there are generally two State Balls, also Dances, Con- certs, and Dinners. The Season ends with great tfdat on S. Patrick's Day. At noon there is a grand imttary display in the Upper Castle Yard, the colours are trooped, national airs are played, and the Viceregal party, decorated with shamrocks, appear over the portico. In the evening S. Patrick's Ball is held. To it all are invited who attended either Levee or Drawingroom. Dancing goes on in the Throne Room as well as in St. Patrick's Hall, and Sir Roger de Coverley is danced. Simpson's Hospital (Msp C). George Simpson, merchant, living at^24 Jervis-street, suffered from blindness and gout ; once as he lay\in great pain unable to reach the- hell or to make him- self heard, 'the forlorn state of those afflicted like himself but without his means so struck him that he longed to help them. He consulted his wife, and she, nobly encouraging his plans, he devised his estate for the purpose of founding an asylum for blind and gouty men in reduced cir- cumstances. On his death in 1778 his trustees bought Putland House for ,3,600, but it was found in- convenient, and in 1784 the inmates were removed to Judge Robinson's house in Jervis-street (on the si*e of part of Jervis- street Hospital), and Putland House and that next it were taken down and the present Hospital built in 1787. The Hospital face; Jervis- street, and has a plain massive granite frontage. There is a large entrance hall contain- ing some curious chairs, bought in 1781, and two staircases. In the boardroom is a fine mantel- piece, which cost in 1787 ^140. The reclining figure is ex- 3uisitely carved. There is a fine ining hall at the rere and over it an infirmary. The hospital con- tains some celebrated Chippen- dale chairs. 260 There are about sixty inmates, who are lodged, fed, and clothed. Few charitable institutions dating from so far back are so thoroughly efficient and carry out the wishes of the founder so perfectly as Simpson's Hospital. Skerries is a town of about 2,200 inhabitants, situated on the coast within 19 miles of Dublin on the G.N.R. Line. Like all the towns in FINGALL, as the northern district of the county was called, it is very clean, although its inhabitants are, as a rule, poor and its houses small and, for the most part, thatched. The town is a popular summer resort for Dubliners, as it possesses a superb strand and has good facilities for bathing at any state of the tide. There is a small harbour and boating may be enjoyed. Within a short distance of the beach are Colt Island, Shenick's Island, and S. Patrick's Island, called originally Holm Patrick, and remarkable as the residence of Ireland's patron saint. The relics of a church are still to be seen on it. Five miles from land lies Rockabill with its conspicuous lighthouse. Within easy walk from Skerries in the LUSK direction is the gaunt old ruin of Baldungan Castle, built in the I3th century. The castle belonged to the Berming- hams, and passed by marriage into the possession of the Howth family, whose arms adorn the front. This castle was battered by Cromwell's artillery, it is said, from the ships lying in the bay ; but as the distance is over three miles the statement seems incre- dible. Adjoining the castle is a church with a cemetery, in which many old tombstones may be seen. The chief industry- of Skerries is embroidery of muslin. Many of the inhabitants are engaged also in embroidering stockings in connection with the great stock- ing industry at BALBRIGGAN, which is distant about four miles. Skerries and the islands are famous as resorts of many dif- ferent species of sea birds. Squares. The chief squares in Dublin are S. STEPHEN 's- GREEN, MERRION-SOUARE, and FITZWILLIAM-SQUARE, at the south side of the river, and MOUNTJOY-SQUARE and RUT- LAND-SQUARE in the north. WEAVERS'.SQU ARE is a small paved space containirig some very old houses. QUEEN-SQUARE (Map B), lately laid out by the Cor- poration as a public garden, opens off Great Brunswick-street, and is a favourite habitat of thea- trical folk. The suburb of RATH- MINES contains several squares. Statues. Dublin possesses many statues and public monuments, some of which are but little adornment to the city Among the more important may be named : O'Connell, in Sackville-street, foundation laid 1864, unveiled August 1 5th, 1882, is from the studio of Foley, although at his death the completion of the de- sign devolved upon Mr. Brock, one of his pupils. The fine figure of the Liberator, 12 feet high, stands upon a pedestal 28 feet in height, and forms one of the noblest memorials in the city. It is fully described elsewhere. To the genius of Thomas Far- rell, R.H.A., Dublin owes the statue of Sir John Gray, a colossal figure in Sarravezza marble, stand- ing, with its pedestal, 24 feet high. The figure is over 10 feet in height. In front of the Marl- borough-street Schools stands 261 another fine work by Farrell the statue of Sir Alexander M'Don- nell, one of the Commissioners of Education [1839-71]. From Farrell's studio also came the fine marble figure of Smith O'Brien, .at the southern end of Carlisle Bridge. At the junction of West- moreland-street with College- street stands the strangely un- graceful figure intended to perpetuate the memory of Ireland's most graceful poet, Thomas Moore. This effigy in lead has been long the laughing- stock of the city and ought to have been pulled down long since, Shortly after its erection the head was removed and replaced with the chin raised three inches above its for- mer level. College -street has been pecu- liarly unfortu- nate in the attentions of the Committee of Fine Arts (!), to whose artistic sense we owe also the remarkable memorial to Sir Philip CRAMPTON a drinking fountain, which is commonly called the Cauliflower, Among the most recent addi- tions to the public monuments of our city is the Father Mathew Memorial Statue in Upper Sack- ville-street. The figure of the FATHER MATHEW great Temperance Reformer, in the habit of the Capuchin Order, is a beautiful piece of work from the studio of Miss Mary Redmond, and is a notable addition to our public sta tuary. The fine statute of Barry Sullivan in the character of Hamlet, which occupies a pro- minent position in GLASNEVIN CEMETERY, between the Mor- tuary Chapel , and the O'Con- nell Circle, is the latest (1894) among many masterpieces from Farrell's chisel in this cemetery. A- mong the older statues to be seen in Dublin are equestrian figures of Wil- liam III. [1701] fully described elsewhere [Coi.- LEGE GREEN] ; 'reorge I. in ihe MANSION HOUSE Gardens [1723]; George II. [1758] in the centre of Stephen's-green. A figure of this monarch, erect- ed 1750, maybe seen also over the entrance to Weaver's Hall. Statues of George III. by Van Nost, George IV. , Dr. Lucas the patriot ; Moore, the poet ; Drum- mond, the politician, are to be seen in the CITY HALL, where also stands Chantrey's masterpiece, a noble statue of Ireland's famous orator, Henry Grattan. In the crypt of Christ Church Cathedral are still to be seen two figures re- 262 presenting Charles II. and James, Duke of York, which stood origi- nally over the old THOLSEL. There are of course many fine statues in ST. PATRICK'S also, and in the PRO-CATHEDRAL and the FOUR COURTS. In Stephen's- green there is a fine figure of Lord Eglinton, and a seated figure of Lord Ardilaun [1892] by Farrell, erected by public subscription in honour of the donor of the Park. Lastly, we may call attention to Foley's statue in St. Patrick's Churchyard, erected in 1875 m memory of Sir Benjamin Lee Guinness. The WELLINGTON TESTI- MONIAL in the Phoenix Park is a plain granite obelisk, 150 feet high, with the names of the great Duke's victories engraved upon it. The model of an ancient Irish Round-tower which has been placed in Prospect Cemetery over the grave of O'Connell was erected in 1869. The Phcenix Pillar erected by Lord Ches- terfield, when Viceroy, in 1747, is curious as having given appa- rently for ever an en- tirely erroneous name to our famous park, the Irish name of which [Fionnuisg clear waters] arose from a beautiful well near the present Viceregal Lodge. Surely, while the true origin of name is yet known, an in- scription ought to be placed on this column to record how the mis- take has arisen. Of statues the more important are : The Gough Statue, erected in 1880, and considered to be one of Foley's finest eques- trian statues. From the studio of the same sculptor we have also the fine figure of Lord Carlisle, erected in 1869, in the People's Gardens ; the statues of Gold- smith (1863) and Burke (1868) in front of the University, and that of Grattan (1876) in College- green three most graceful ex- amples in very different styles of this artist's work. In the hall at the COLLEGE OF PHYSICIANS the visitor may see one statue by Bruce Joy, and three by Foley. Steevens 1 Hospital. (Map D.), is the most interesting of the general Hospitals of Dublin. It is close to King's-bridge and forms a pictureseque and fine quadrangle 233 x 204 feet, with an internal space surrounded by piazzas sup- porting the corridors of the upper sumys. It owes its existance to STEEVENS HOSPITAL. 263 Dr. Richard Steevens and his twin sister Grizelda ; the former in 1710 bequeathed his estate to his sister for her life, after which it was to be devoted to building an hospital. He died the day after he made his will, whereupon Madam Steevens (popularly the hospital is often called " Madam Steevens'") determined to have the hospital built at once and sur- rendered the estate to the trustees, keeping 1 50 a year for her own life, and apartments in the hospi- tal. The building, 1720-33, cost ; 1 6,000, collected by subscrip- copied from the Temple of Minerva Polias at Athens. The tower and dome also are copied from Athenian models, and reach a height of 100 feet. Until the disestablishment of the Irish Church, S. Stephen's was a Chapel- of-Ease to S. PETER'S. Stephen s-green Saint, was originally levelled in 1678, and surrounded by a deep ditch which was usually a receptacle for every kind of filth. This ditch was filled up, and in 1815 iron railings were substituted, but the original ditch can be seen in S. STEPHEN S GREEN. tion, the Steevens' money being kept for an endowment. The Boardroom contains many objects of interest, such as portraits of Dr. Steevens and his sister, old books and old furniture. Stephen, Church of S. (Map B.) The Church of S. Stephen, Upper Mount-street, was built in 1825, from a design by T. Bowden, the body of the church measuring in feet by 49 feet, and the chancel 66 by 44. It is classical, the portico being Malton's views, with the "genteel company who walked there after two on Sundays." In 1880 Lord Ardilaun, with a munificence cha- racteristic of his family, laid out this vast space, which had pre- viously been a dreary waste, in- tersected by walks of mathema- matical straightness. Rarely has landscape gardening produced a happier result, and Stephen's- green may now rank as one of the finest as well as the largest squares in Europe. Each side of 264 the square is a quarter of a mile S words, an ancient borough 3 in length. In Rocque's Map, miles distant from MALAHIDE, 1 756, the four sides are named : Beaux-walk, French-walk, Lee- son's-walk, Monk's-walk. Stephen's-green contains some of the finest houses in the city, almost all of which have interest- ing histories. Among famous persons who lived here may be mentioned Whateley, Lord Chan- cellor Plunkett, Felicia Hemans, Buck Whalley, &c. Sti Morgan, a village 1 5 miles S.E. of Dublin, with a population of 1,558. There are three religious houses in the neighbour- hood. The race- course at LEOPARDS- TOWN, close to the station of Foxrock, is one of the most popular as well as the most picturesque in the district. There is a curious obelisk. loo feet high, near the village. It was erected " to give em- ployment to the poor" in the year 1741, in which year also the much better known obelisk of Killiney was built with the same laudable object. Strawberry Beds LUCAN. Surgeons ROYAL COLLEGE OF SURGEONS. Swi m m i ng. The best facilities for swimming in the neighbour- hood of town are to be found at Sandycove beyond Kingstown, Blackrock, Merrion, and Clontarf. The last three have enclosed BATHS, which are filled at high tide. Howth also is a favourite place for swimmers, but it, like Bray, is too far off for the resi- dents in the city. which was onue its port, and 9 from Dublin. The town is now remarkable chiefly for its archaeological remains. The an- cient Abbey and Round Tower of Swords are conspicuous objects for miles around. The name Swords is believed to be derived from the word "sord," pure water, and was applied originally to the famous well still known as S. Columbkill's Well, which supplies drinking water to SWORDS. the inhabitants. Beside the Abbey- is a very fine ROUND TOWER, now covered with ivy. There is also an extensive castle, the gateway and walls being well preserved. Swords appears re- peatedly in ancient records and has quite an interesting history, too long for repetition here. It was sacked again and again by the Danes, but has now sunk into a very sleepy condition bereft of whatever little trade it may once have possessed, and not even on any railway line. 265 Synagogue JEWS. Ta.lla.ght, an ancient town, now fallen into decay, is best ap- proached by the Blessington Steam Tramway from Terenure, a distance of about four miles. The name refers to the numerous sepulchral mounds found on the hills around. The parish church has an ancient square belfry, covered with ivy and possessing very irregular stepped battle- ments. This tower is of extreme antiquity, and the old church has supplied materials for the con- struction of the present building. A very curious antique font of horseshoe shape is still to be seen in the churchyard. Beside the tower stood Tallaght Palace, the country residence of the Arch- bishop of Dublin, the demesne of which was sold about 1820 by Archbishop Magee to Major Palmer on condition that he would demolish the old oalace, lest it should become a monastic institution. It was, however, leased in 1842 to the Dominicans, who have built a large monastery on the site of the ancient palace ! A very beautiful chapel has been erected in the monastery to the memory of the famous preacher, Father Burke. Tallaght was in 1867 the scene of some rioting in connection with the Fenian disturbances of that year. Technical Schools. The City of Dublin Technical Schools were the outcome of the Artizans' Exhibition, held in 1886, on a plot of ground situate between Dame-street and Exchequer-street. At the close of the Exhibition, it was proposed by some members of the Committee that the build- ings should be utilized for Techni- cal Schools, and a Provisional Committee was formed to take the preliminary steps. It was then found that a very large sum would have to be expended upon the existing buildings to render them suitable for Technical Schools, and that the rent of the premises was prohibitive. Suitable premises were found in Messrs. Fry's old factory in Lower Kevin -street which were taken by the Committee, the landlord kindly giving a large rebate in the rent for the first three years as a subscription to the Schools. Public subscrip- tions were then collected and the Dublin Corporation made an annual grant of ^500 (afterwards increased to .750) under the Public Libraries Acts towards the maintenance of Science and Art Classes. Public Lectures in various trade subjects were given with a view to making known the objects of the School in the Spring, and Evening Classes were opened in the Autumn of 1888. The Tech- nological Classes in Carpentry, Metalplate work, Plumbing, &c. ; the Commercial Classes in Book- keeping and Shorthand, as well as Classes in Cookery and Dress- making, are supported entirely by Public Subscription. In 1893 the Corporation putting the Technical Instruction Acts [1889] into operation in the city, levied the full rate of id. in the , and made a grant to the Kevin- street Schools towards the main- tenance, improvement, and in- crease of the Technological and Commercial Classes, and a branch or new School will be opened on the north side of the city, as soon as suitable premises can be obtained. In 1892 the Earl of Pembroke offered a Site and Endowment for a Technical and Fishery School in Ringsend, on the condition that 266 the Pembroke Township should put the Technical Instruction Acts into operation and support the School. The Township at once responded to the Earl's generous offer, and the School was opened in October. 1893. Templeogue, a small village, the first stopping-place of the BLESSINGTON Steam Tramway, was the residence of the Irish novelist, Charles Lever, who lived in Templeogue House one of many houses in which tradition says that King James slept on the night of his defeat at the Battle of the Boyne ! The house still possesses gigantic grottoes, exten- sive gardens and other features which bear witness to its departed grandeur. Tenter House FLEASAXTS, THOMAS. Theatres. We read that in early days plays were performed on a stage erected in Hogge's- green, now COLLEGE-GREEN. Many attempts were made in the seventeenth century to establish a permanent theatre ; in 1662 anew THE THOLSEL theatre in Smock-alley fell in on the audience, killing a large number of them. After this dis- aster no new theatre was opened until the eighteenth century, towards the middle of which there were six or more places of thea- trical entertainment in the city. The Theatre Royal (Crow- street) was at the close of last century the leading "house" in Dublin ; but the new Theatre Royal in Hawkins's-street, built in 1821 on the site of the old Dublin Society's house by Mr. Beagley, and burnt in 1880 (see FIRES) was so much more easy of access that the earlier house was closed. At present Dublin possesses only two theatres, the Gaiety, in South King-street, off Grafton-street, a very pretty little house, lit with electric light ; and the Queen's (Royal) Theatre, the home of melo-drama, which claims to be the oldest theatre in Ireland. Tholsel. The meetings of the Common Council and of the Court of Conscience used to be held in a building calico, tne Tholsel, built in the Ciiurcnyarcl at the cor- ner of S. Nicholas- street and Skinners'- r o w (now Christ Church - place); it was design- ed by Inigo Jones and was of rich Jacobean design. Fi- gures of 267 Charles II. and James II. stood in niches; they are now in the crypt of CHRIST CHURCH CATHEDRAL, but there is no vestige of the Tholsel left ; it has disappeared, and the ground was let for building in 1807. The Tholsel is perhaps the finest of Malton's Views of Dublin. Thomas, Church of, S. (Map C\ S. Thomas's Church, Marlborough-street, was built in 1758-62 by John Smith ; it has a low Corinthian facade, copied from a design by Palladio, which is completely overshadowed by the ugly gable of the body of the church. Mr. Baker designed a steeple to hide this defect but it was never carried out. In the earlier part of the century this was considered the most beautiful church ta(;ade in Dublin. The interior (80 x 62) is spacious and has been of late years much im- proved. A Parochial Hall in " cement classical " is built next the church ; its interior is effect- ively panelled in wood. Three Rock Mountain near Stepaside about 8 miles S. of Dublin), 1,585 feet above the level of the sea, affords a glorious panorama across the Bay, and in fine weather as far as the distant Mourne Mountains, and is a favourite walk with Dubliners. The "Rocks" are huge masses of granite piled steeply upon one another. Topography. The city of Dublin is the capital of the county of the same name, and is situated at its east border on both sides of the tidal portions of the river LIFFEY. Dublin Bay is bounded on the north by HOWTH, a rocky promontory 563 feet high, and on the south by the Killiney Hills, 472 feet high. The northern portion of the county is comparatively flat, being separated from Meath by hills not quite 500 feet high, but at the south the rounded and bog- covered Dublin and Wicklow mountains form a high barrier, which at the summit of Kippure reaches 2,473 f eet - To the west is the valley of the Liffey and flat rich land only occasionally risinj? into hills. The east coast-line of the county is 70 miles long, and is chiefly low and sandy, but in some parts rocky. There are harbours at Balbriggan, Rush, Howth, Dublin, Kingstown, Bul- lock and Dalkey. Kingstown and Dublin are the only ones that are accessible at all tides. The islands along the coast are, to the north, the Skerries five in number, one of which ROCKABILL bears a lighthouse with flashing red light. Then there is LAM BAY, nearly 600 acres in extent, and IRELAND'S EYE (or Island), a mile from Howth and a favourite summer excursion, the jagged rocks the home of sea-birds, and the ruined chuich being attractive. At the south side of the bay close to the main- land is DALKEY Island ; it also has its ruined church, and used to icjoice in a "King." Howth and Dalkey Island form the boundaries of the bay which is about 6f miles wide. There are two large banks of sand, one at either side of the river bar ; they are called the North and South Bull. The former is fixed on the west by the Bull wall, 9,000 feet long, the lighthouse at the end of which marks one side of the opening of the river, the other being the POOLBEG LIGHTHOUSE at the end of the South Wall which separates the South Bull from the channel of the river (PORT OF DUBLIM). 268 , Most of the city stands on the raised beach and alluvial land at the lower end of the valley of the Liffey. A well-marked raised beach con- nects the Hill of Howth to the mainland : the Hill is of Cambrian for- mation as is Bray Head (county Wick- low) at the south, and in both are found species of Oldhamia the earliest pre- served vestige of life. The Killiney Hills are of granite which extends neai ly seventy miles south from Kings- tow n, also ap- pearing to the north at Rockabill. The occur- rence of local glaciers is shown by moraines (as at Upper and Lower Lough Bray). There are also rock scorings and ridges show- ing that a great iceflow came from the west and passed over the site of Dublin. Tramways Tram cars commenced running in 1872 from Rathgar to College-green ; ra- pidly new lines were opened, and the North City Tram Company 269 started, and was shortly afterwards amalgamated with the older company. They, as the Dublin United Tramway Company, are second to none in the excellence of their arrangements for the public convenience. The cars, with few exceptions, start from the G.P.O. at Nelson's Pillar or College-green, and there is prac- tically no district of the city to which an excellent service has not been organized. The fares are cheap, and the cars follow each other in rapid succession. There is no better way in which the visitor can acquire a good general impression of Dublin's main arteries, and some of its outlying suburbs, than to take his seat on the top of a tramcar. (Part I., chapter vi.) Trinity College (Map A), was founded in 1591 by Adam Loftus on the site of the Nun- nery of S. Mary de Hogges (Hoggen-green), outside the city of Dublin, as may still be seen on the official seal of the University in the words "juxta Dublin." The site, which had lain derelict since the dissolution of the monas- teries under Henry VIII., was granted free by the Corporation of Dublin. With Archbishop Loftus was united Lucas Chaloner, a former Fellow of Trinity College, Cam- bridge, and to him more than to any other is due the credit of being the real founder of Trinity College. An alabaster tomb to this famous man may be seen at the rere of the chapel, and it speaks but ill for the College that this tomb is in so neglected a con- dition. The original buildings, opened for students in 1593-4. were of red Dutch brick, and re- mained an integral part of the college until the building of the new front square in 1751-59. They occupied a position between the present Campanile and the Examination Hall. The early college was deliberately instituted "for the benefyt of the whole country," and no exclusion on grounds of religion was contem- plated in the original charter; nor, indeed, did any exclusive system arise before the charter o f Charles 1. At the present time there is absolutely no exclusion on grounds of religious disability known in Trinity College. The gradual rise of the building from such small beginnings to the present stately pile may be accurately traced on a map given in Stubb's History, and we need only add that the line of buildings there seen be- tween the Library and the Com- mons Hall was not taken down until 1839. "Botany Bay" (so called because it was poked into an out-of-the-way corner) was built in the closing years of last century, and finally the New Square was erected in 1838-44. This square was originally open on the side of the Park, and the superb New Buildings were erected in 1857. It will be seen that the oldest buildings now standing are the residential parts of Library Square, which dated from the time of Queen Anne. These ranges of buildings had dormer windows in the attic storey ; but in 1894 the old roof was removed and the walls raised. The buildings are now of four uniform storeys a piece of Van- dalism, which it is difficult to excuse. The Graduates' Memo- rial Building was, at the sam? time, built into the central posi- tion of the similar block which faces the Library. Thu?, piece by piece, all that was ancient or valuable in the structure of thr GOLDSMITH. College has been obliterated, giving place to a very in- artistic u n i f o r m i t y. The original front is depicted in Brooking's Map of Dublin (1728), and consisted of buildings very similar to those of Queen Anne's period with dormer windows. To the visitor quite the most in- teresitng thing to be seen within the walls of " Old Trinity" is the Library ; which owes its origin to a subscription raised in 1601 by some of Elizabeth's sol- diers as a gift to the newly founded University in com- memoration of the victory over the Spaniards at Kin- sale. It is of interest to find that Challoner and Ussher, while in London purchasing books with this fund, held consultation with the famous Bodley, who was at the same time buying books for his Oxford Library. After the death of Ussher in 1656 the soldiers then in Ireland, emu- lous of the action of their predecessors, purchased his valuable library to present to the College, in which after many vicissitudes, it still rests. The present Library was erected 1712-1732, and received many noble bequests, while the College authorities were no less liberal in money grants for the purchase of books. In 1801 the Library acquired the right, shared with four other great lib- raries, to receive free of charge a copy of every book published in the kingdom, provided that the Librarian claims the book within one year of publication. The number of books at present 271 in the Library is about 225,000, including MSS. Among the objects of interest which the visitor should notice we may mention some Egyptian with extremely interesting his- tories, and, of more especial interest to Irish students, many superbly illustrated books written by our Irish saints, and elabo- QUEEN ANNE BUILDING. papyrus, finely embellished with pictures, representing the history of a departed soul, some biblical palimpsests and other manuscripts rately ornamented with the cha- racteristic Celtic interlaced work. Chief among these is the famous Book of Je/ls, almost every 272 word of which is so abundantly ornamented that it is has been called "the most beautiful book in the world. " The Book of Armagh, strange old satchels and shrines, in which these volumes were pre- served, are exhibited beside them and should not be overlooked. THE LIBRARY. the Book of Dimma as well as many others deserve notice and may be seen usually in the glass cases during the daytime. The Among Celtic works the most famous is the Book of Leinster. It would be impossible for a stranger to see all the objects of 273 interest in one visit, but we may call his special attention to one or two of the more important the harp of Kins; Brian Boroihme (pronounced " Boru"), some ele- gant gold ornaments, including the largest gold ornament as yet found in Ireland, a small original Greek bas-relief representing Demosthenes at the altar, said to have been found in the ruins of Hadrian's villa. The rapid in- crease in the number of books has made it necessary to enclose the ground floor which, before 1892, was an open colonnade. The western portion of the space so gained is now utilised as a reading-room for those who are permitted to read in the Library. This right belongs to graduates alone, but permission is readily extended to any one who is pro- perly introduced. The Library closes at 3 in winter and at 4 in summer. On leaving the Library the visitor should pass into the College Park where the students are usually to be seen engaged at cricket or football. At the pavilion end are the great build- ings of the Trinity Medical School which is so famous all the world over. Here too are the Anatomical Museum (1875), and the Histo- logical Laboratory (1880). The museum contains a good collection of Anatomy and of Natural His- tory, and an excellent system of Anthropometric measurement is carried on in it. Close at hand are the Dissecting Rooms, and still further in the direction of Lincoln- place gate stand the Chemical Laboratories, which are equipped with all the modern appliances requisite in chemical research. A new degree, founded in 1890, of Doctor in Science has attracted large numbers of graduates to this school. Strolling back to- wards the New Square one passes the Lawn Tennis Courts and the College Gymnasium. On re- entering the New Square, a visit must be paid to the New Buildings quite the most beautiful erection in Trinity College. It was de- signed by Mr., now Sir Thomas, Deane and erected in 1854-5 at a cost of ,26,000. This noble building is in the style of a Venetian palace and has won the highest praise from no less cap- able a critic than Mr. Ruskin. The Entrance Doorway and the main hall, both of which are illustrated, are extremely beauti- ful. The hall is rather suggestive of Moorish art. All the marbles used are Irish and the general effect is extremely good. The clock upon the stairs is regulated by an electric current from DUNSINK OBSERVATORY. The same current is utilised to control the clocks over the entrance gate and also the timepiece in the hall of the ROYAL DUBLIN SOCIETY HOUSE. The New Buildings are the home of the Engineering School of the college and contain fine geological and mineralogical collections upstairs, as well as a number of engineering models and a good collection of instruments. The lecture rooms of the Divinity School and Law Schools also are in this building, and some of the smaller rooms are not infrequently used as examination rooms for Moderatorships. Before we leave the New Square a glance should be taken at the Printing House, which is an excellent example of an old Greek temple fa9ade. It was built in 1734 by Bishop Stearne, as the inscription above the entrance tells. The interior is not of course open to inspection, but many fables are T 274 current in Trinity of the ex- pedients resorted to by students in the olden days to obtain advance copies of coming exami- nation papers. The precautions are too complete to allow of any with its dormer windows (cf. page 21) was removed in 1894, and a modern Queen Anne storey built. The red brick was then exposed to view. The one great point in which such attempt being made in our own times. Before entering the Library square we may notice the rere of the oldest line of buildings now standing. The upper storey Dublin University contrasts un- favourably with its English sisters is in regard to the coldness and lack of adornment in its squares and quadrangles. Trinity College 275 is so vast, when compared with an individual college of either Oxford or Cambridge, that one cannot fairly demand here the same richness of ornament which is there so lavishly displayed. Within recent years a laudable attempt has been made by judicious planting of Virginian creepers on some of the buildings to take away at least some of this coldness ; and as we look back towards the Library from the Printing House we cannot fail to be struck by the great improvement thus caused. We next visit the Dining-hall, built in 1745, and re-built, as being in a dangerous condition, in 1761. The front is of no great beauty, though designed by the leading Dublin architect of the day, Mr. Cassells. The clock over the Dining-hall was, until 1870, re- markable as being kept by order of the Board a quarter of an hour behind Dublin time. An amusing reference to this astounding pecu- liarity will be found in the Uni- versity Magazine called Kottabos (First Series). The Dining-hall itself is a noble room 70 feet long by 35 feet broad, and 35 feet high. It is wainscoted to a height of 12 feet in oak. The ceiling spring- ing from a cornice of Italian design is very graceful, and the room is ornamented with excellent portraits of distinguished alumni, including Flood and Grattan. From the pulpit near the Fellows' Table the Scholars of the House in their turn pronounce the old Latin Graces before and after meat. Over the Entrance-hall is the Fellows' Common-room, a fine room adorned with some good modern paintings, chiefly of the Fellows and Provosts. There are also some additional rooms, built in 1892, to give the Fellows necessary accommodation for social purposes. The Kitchens immediately below the Dining- hall, together with the Cellars, the Buttery,&c.,are quite worth a visit, and the Clerk of the Kitchen will tell many a quaint story of the doings of many of our most digni- fied citizens of the early parts of the century, when they were ' ' College boys." The average number of diners in Term amounts to some 300, and the roasting and baking arrangements will make the lady visitor open her eyes ! On leaving the Common-hall we must visit the Chapel, which was erected in 1787-98, from designs by Sir W. Chambers, who designed all the buildings which look upon Parlia- ment-square, as the large front square is called. The front of the Chapel is similar to that of the Examination-hall and consists of a fine portico of four Roman Corinthian columns 33 feet in height, rising from a base of three steps and supporting a side cornice with the usual pediment. The Chapel, exclusive of the Ante- Chapel and the apse, is 85 feet long by 40 wide. The Ante- Chapel contains some mural slabs, on which are inscribed the names of some of the Fellows who are buried within the precincts. Partly over this Ante-Chapel and partly over the stalls of the Senior Fellows is the Organ Gallery, in which seats are reserved for strangers who can get "orders"' for the 9.45 o'clock Service on Sunday mornings. The visitor will hear in College Chapel the best Cathedral Choir in Dublin, and the early hour at which Service is held, is a distinct advantage. The interior of the Chapel owes what- ever of beauty it possesses to private benefactors. The marble 276 steps and rails before the Altar were the gift of Provost Hum- phrey Lloyd (1872). The windows in the Apse are filled with painted are memorials respectively of the great Bishop Berkeley and of Dr. Richard Graves, S.T.P. All the windows are round-headed, de- DOORWAY, XEW BUILDINGS. glass ; the central winding being erected by Dr. Butcher, Bishop of Meath, to the memory of the famous Archbishop Ussher, while those on the right and left sides void of any tracery ; and as those in the apse alone are painted there is a great want of warmth in the colouring of the Chapel. The woodwork of the fine oak 277 wainscoting is elaborately carved, and cost between five and six thousand pounds. Between the windows are coupled Ionic pilas- was originally built by Green, George III.'s favourite organ builder, but has been veiy greatly enlarged so that little or nothing STAIRCASE, NEW BUILDINGS. ters which support an ornamental frieze and cornice, from which rises the coved ceiling with its elaborate stucco work of very florid Italian design. The organ now remains of the original instru- ment. Of the seats in Chapel, those next to the wall on either side are reserved for Junior Fellows and Professors, while the students 278 sit below. Service is held both morning and evening every day, but Sunday mon-ing Service alone is fully choral, and at it the students all wear surplices. Facing the Chapel, and precisely similar well as by a range of small semi-circular windows over the cornice. The walls are adorned with composite pilasters, stand- ing separately at intervals of 12 feet on a rusticated basement. 10 in external design and in internal o -namentation, so far as the differ- ent uses would allow, is the Ex- amination Theatre. This superb chamber is lighted by three large windows in the apse, as feet high. The fine stucco fr eze and cornice are the work of Italian artists, while the richly decorated ceiling was designed and mod- elled by Mayers, under the direc- tion of Sir Thomas Chambers 279 The pictures in the Hall are modern copies, chiefly by Hill. Formerly students regarded the seat, which was immediately under the picture of good Queen Bess, as dying, while the University weeps as she supports his drooping head, and an angel points to the crown of immortality which she carries in her hand. The sarcophagus is peculiarly unlucky, and avoided it at all examinations. The Baldwin monument is the work of Hewston, a Dublin Artist, who executed it in his studio at Rome. The figures represent the great Provost of porphyry, and the cost of the monument was almost ; 1,500, including the cost of bringing it from Rome to Dublin. The organ in the gallery, usually sup- posed to have been taken from 280 one of the Sp wrecked on the Irish coast, was in actual fact presented to the Uni- versity by the second Duke of Ormonde (1703), who had found it in a prize ship, captured in the attack on the combined French and Spanish Fleets in Vigo Bay in 1702. The chandelier, de- signed for 60 candles, which hangs from the ceiling, is of carved oak gilt, and belonged to the Irish House of Commons. It used to hang in S. Andrew's Church. During the conferring of Degrees, ladies are admitted to the gallery, from which many notable scenes have been wit- nessed, when the Public Orator's Latin orations were rendered more than usually unintelligible to his listeners by an accompaniment of squibs and crackers always prepared by the U ndergrads, for any favourite who happens to be the recipient of an Honorary Degree. The Campanile, stand- ing in an isolated posi- tion in the middle of the Great Quadrangle, was erected in 1852, by Lord John George Bere.sford, Primate of all Ireland. The circular belfry, sur- rounded by eight Corin- thian pillars raised upon pedestals, is set upon a stage of circular steps supported by a basement storey of the Doric order, square in plan, and built of rusticated granite. CAMPANILE. 281 282 There is an archway in each side of the square, and the key- stones are carved, representing Homer, Socrates, Plato, and De- mosthenes. At each corner of the square, above the entablature, are pedestals with seated figures, symbolic of Divinity, Science, Medicine, and Law. Above the bell-chamber rises a dome of very graceful form, over which is a smaller gallery of open arches crowned by a smaller dome with a gilt cross. The College Bell, weighing about 37 cwt. is too large to swing in the chamber, and it is therefore rung only by chiming. The old buildings fa- cing the Library, and usually called Rotten-row, are about to be remodelled, so that the Students' Union a memorial of the Ter- centenary of 1892 will occupy the centre of the block. The Provosfs House is said to be a copy of the design (or General Wade's House in Piccadilly. This is the famous Field Marshal Wade who pacified Scotland by building military roads, and of whom the poet sings If you'd seen but these roads before they were made, You'd hold up your hands and bless General Wade. The main entrance is from Grafton-street. but a very lofty wall deprives the visitor of much view of the building ; there is a private way, which connects the Provost's Library directly with Parliament-square at the doorway to the right of the Examination Hall buildings. The House con- tains many fine portraits of former Provosts, but it is of course not open to the public. The Fellows' gardens lie behind the Library and are not very noticeable, except perhaps for the Magnetic Obser- vatory where Dr. Lloyd, afterwards Provost, carried out his well-known experiments. This observatory was at the time when it was built (1837) the sole observatory in the kingdom, with the single exception of Greenwich, devoted entirely to magnetic research. If " Old Trinity " lacks in some degree the architectural beauty of Cambridge or of Oxford, she has a stateliness all her own. Her culture too is no whit inferior, though distinct from that of her sisters. She can boast among her alumni great names, whose lustre her English sisters may well envy. We need only mention a few eachagiant Burke,Swift, Ussher. Congreve, Goldsmith, Berkeley. Trinity Dublin has till lately been dubbed the "silent sister," because her sons published little within the first fifty years of the nine- teenth century ; but she has again found her voice, and in the studies which are peculiarly her own, she speaks now with no uncertain sound. The Observatory of the University is at DUNSINK, and may be seen usually by writing to the Astronomer Royal for per- mission. Tullagh, sometimes called Tuly, Church stands near Ca- binteely. Only the chancel now remains, with a finely modelled arch. Among many tomb-stones is one to the memory of Mary Mercer, who, in 1734, founded Mercer's Hospital. There are also to be seen here several stones with incised markings. Right in the middle of the road is a plain Irish Cross in good preservation. This cross is represented in Grose's Antiquities (1791) as standing on a square block in the graveyard. The present rough granite pedes- tal on which the cross is sup- ported was built when the level 283 of the road was lowered, so as to avoid moving the sacred emblem. In a field to the W. is another very remarkable broken cross. The views from this position are excellent ; and the tourist can from Tullagh easily reach Glen Druid, a most picturesque glen, in which is a very fine cromlech. [DRIVES']. Tyrawley House ECCLES STREET. Ulster King of Arms. In the journal of King Edward VI., under date 2nd February, 1551, there is the following entry : " There was a King-of-Arms made for Ireland whose name was Ulster, and his province was all Ireland, and he was the fourth King-of-Arms, and the first Herauld of Ireland." The Office of Arms, of which the origin is thus mentioned, is situated in the Bermingham Tower, Dublin Castle. Ulster is accounted an officer of the Lord Lieutenant's Household, and is paid a fixed salary. Unitarian Church (Map A). A handsome granite building in decorated Gothic, on the west side of S. Stephen 's-green, erected from the designs of Messrs. Lanyon, Lynn, and Lanyon, 1862. It is |_- sna Pfd> consisting of nave with one side aisle and one transept ; there are schoolrooms underneath. The facade towards the Green, although hemmed in by houses, is picturesque and effective. University of Dublin TRINITY COLLKGE. University, Royal- ROYAL UNIVERSITY. Vale Of Avoca RATHDRUM. Vartry WATER SUPPLY. Vincent de Paul Male Orphanage, S., Prospect, Glasnevin. Founded 1856, en- larged 1880. A handsome build- ing of dark limestone, situated in well-kept grounds, where the roads to the PROSPECT CEME- TERY and BOTANIC GARDENS separate. It contains 120 boys. Vincent de Paul, Society of, S. This Society was established in Dublin, in 1844. At present there are 22 Conferences and about 300 active members. A large amount of relief is given in temporary necessity, when the breadwinner of a family is ill or suffering from the effects of an accident. By this means many families are kept from the work- house. Each year some 5,000 families are helped. The workers are all Roman Catholics, but their work is entirely unsectarian. Waterfbrd House (Map C.), Marlborough-street, was the first stone house built in Dublin ; it was designed by Cassels for the Earl of Tyrone (afterwards Mar- quis of Waterford) in 1740, and faces the Cathedral of S. Mary. It is occupied by the National Education Commissioners, and stands at the south side of an open space. The matching build- ing at the north has been built by the Commissioners. Waterford House has a handsome though heavy Doric doorway, over which is a Venetian window. The stairs, doors, &c., are all of mahogany, and the beautiful stucco work is by Cretnillon and the Francini. Water Supply. Dublin has had for a long time an abundant supply of water. (FOUNTAINS.) During the earlier part of the century it was derived from the canals, the north side of the city being supplied from the basin at the top of Blessington-street (lately laid out as a park), the south side being supplied by James-street basin and Porlobello 284 THE icommra TOILET. basin. An old guide- book says: "Around each of these reservoirs is a handsome walk, bounded by quickset hedges, which form a delightful promenade for the inhabitants in its vicinity." The in- habitants relied largely upon the pumps for a drinking supply. The water at low pressure was conveyed by pipes, which at first were wooden ; as the city grew, the purity of the canal water decreased, city wells became con- taminated, and the need of a high pressure service to reach the tops of the houses and save the use of fire- engines, was felt. Chiefly by the influ- ence of Sir John Gray, chairman of the Water- works Committee, it was resolved to bring a new water supply from Wicklow, the basin of the river Vartry being the source selected. This supply was made available for use in 1868, the works being designed and carried out by Park Neville, C.E. The river Vartry rises at the base of Sugar Loaf mountain and flows in a south direction through a thinly populated district into the sea at the town of Wicklow, 17^ miles from its source. The Roundwood reservoir is yi miles below its source, and covers 409 acres, its greatest depth being 60 feet, and its average depth 22 feet. It contains 240,000,000 gallons and is 692 feet high, or 580 feet above the highest part of WASHING DAT. 285 Dublin. Large filter beds are constructed here. The water is brought by a tunnel, nearly three miles long, and by large pipes (a second service of which is to be laid) to the distributing reservoirs at Stillorgan, a little over four miles from the city boundary. The lower reservoir is 250 feet above the Dublin quays. The supply of water is large and constant and the quality good ; and only once "(1893) had the amount used to be cur- tailed, although it is supplied not only to the city and neigh- bouring townships, but to the district between Dublin and Bray. In 1893 extra supplies were drawn from the Grand Canal. Hydrants are laid in the streets every 100 yards, and no steam or hand engines are re- WELLINGTON TESTIMONIAL. quired in coping with fires. Weavers' Hall, Coombe, a red-brick building fallen into sad decay. A statue of George II. adorns the front, and next door is an equally aged and decrepit Weavers' Alms House. The Hall measures 50 x 21 and contained a portrait of George II. worked in tapestry with the following couplet on the frame : " The workmanship of John Van- beaver, Ye famous tapestiy weaver." This portrait has been removed. Wellington Testimonial. (Map D.) The Wellington Tes- timonial (designed by R. Smirke) was erected by public sub- scription : the committee desired to place it in the centre of S. Stephen's-green, but it was not considered fit "that a king should make way for a subject " and the request was refused. The Salute Battery in the Phoenix Park was then given as a site and the monu- ment was commenced in 1817. It consists of a massive obelisk, bearing the names of the victories gained by the Duke, this rises from a square pedestal ornamented with bas-reliefs in bronze which in turn stands on the summit platform of a flight of steep and slanting steps 480 feet in cir- 286 cumference. The total height is 205 feet. A smaller pedestal for a statue was built at one side but money for the statue not being forthcoming it was removed, greatly to the advantage of the monument. Werburgh, Church of S. (Map A.) The church stands on the east side of S. Werburgh- street close to Christ Church Cathedral. Originally the parish was dedicated to S. Martin, but a church dedicated toS. Werburgh was erected in the end of the XII. century. The present church dates from the commencement of the XVIII. century, being opened for service about 1712, a tower being added ten years afterwards and six bells hung in 1748. In 1754 the church was burned by the candlesnuffers being emptied on the matting. It was rebuilt and re-opened in 1759; in 1768 a spire 160 feet high was added. This spire was the only church spire in Dublin and forms a con- spicuous object in many old views, but being poorly built of small stone it soon got out of repair, and as the Government considered it dangerous to have a tower over- looking the castle, the parish authorities were induced not to have it restored but removed ; in 1 8 10 the spire was taken down in 1836 the tower followed, and in 1855 five of the bells were sold a sad history. The fa?ade of the church is classical lonicpilasters and Doric doorway. Built into the outside of the south wall are the figures of a knight and his wife, with a number of smaller figures and the Geraldinearms; these are portions of an altar tomb which stood in a pew in the old church. The interior, 80 x 52 (which is des- cribed in old guide-books as of "noble and awful simplicity") contains some objects of interest, the Royal arms (1767), mark the old Viceregal pew (S. Werburgh's is the parish church of the Castle and was the Chapel Royal until the Castle Chapel was built). The fine pulpit carved byGrindley Gibbons, belonged to the Castle Chapel until the stone pulpit was erected ; it was then given to S. Andrew's, afterwards removed to S. John's, and in 1878 came most appropriately to the old Chapel Royal of S. Werburgh. The lectern is supported by the shaft of the old pulpit. The or^an dates from 1767 and the church plate from 1676. The window was presented in 1876 by Canon (now Dean) Green. There are a number of mural monuments, and under the chancel lies the body of Lord Edward Fitzgerald. In another vault lies the body of Sir J. Ware ( 1 594-1666) the antiquary. The rebuilding of the tower has lately been mooted, but so far funds have not come in. An inter- esting histoiy of the church has been written by the Rev. S. C. Hughes, Rector. Wesley College, a fine build- ing, unfortunately shut out from view by the range of houses in front of it, stands behind the Wesleyan Chapel in Stephen's- green, S. (SCHOOLS.) Wide Street Com mis- Sioners deserve mention. They were appointed in i/58> and given large powers for " open- ing wide and convenient streets," the cost being met by taxation, but the Commissioners being unpaid. They opened Parliament- street in 1762, from the Castle to Grattan Bridge, opened the west end of Dame-street (1790) to connect the Castle with the Par- liament House. They also opened 287 HARDING SCHOOLS. North Frederick-street, Sackville- street, Westmoreland-street, D'Olier-street, Great Brunswick- street. They intended to open streets from Dame-street to Christ Church Cathedra], and from York- street to S. Patrick's Cathedral, thus making a direct passage to the latter from S. Stephen's-green. The former of these projects has lately been carried out by the Corporation, but the latter is still undone. Wooden Bridge R A T H - DRUM. Working Boys' Home and Harding: Techni- cal School. (Map A.) The Home was founded in 1877. In 1886, money bequeathed by Miss Harding was given on condition that a Technical and Night School should be opened in connection with the Home. With part of this money the present building was erected in 1892. It has a a frontage of 162 feet to Lord Edward-street, and is built in the Elizabethan style of red brick with buff terra-cotta facings, from the design of Albert Murray. It has a large Lecture-hall, two School-rooms, a Dining-hall, and Dor- mitories for 60 boys. There are four shops on the ground floor. Yachting: finds many ardent supporters among the residents of Kings- town and Howth. The most important clubs are the Royal S. George's, and the Royal Irish, both of which have their club-houses in Kings- town. Dublin is a paradise for the yachts- men ; and the natural beauty of this matchless Bay is yet further en- hanced when myriads of exquisite yachts with their snowy sails skim here and there over the dancing waves like white-winged birds. The Kingstown Regatta takes place in August, and attracts many of the best known racing yachts from all parts of the world. Zoological Gardens, The, LION CUBS. 288 are beautifully situated (since 1830) in the PHCENIX-PARK, and possess a very fair collection of animals, the lions being quite the finest to lie seen in captivity. In lion- breeding the Dublin Gardens have been singularly successful ; many of the lions now in other Zoologi- cal Gardens were born in Dublin. A visit ought to be so timed as to see the animals fed at 3 o'clock. A band performs once a week during the summer, and the lake- walk, constructed to give relief in one of the famine years, affords an extremely picturesque promen- ade. An interesting CROMLECH, found at Knockmaroon, has been re-erected within the Gardens, and ought not to be overlooked. Admission, is. ; Sunday, 2d. Annual s u b s c r i p - t ion for fa- mily, i is. THE END. ADVERTISEMENTS. 2S9 "BELFAST HOUSE." WALPOLE BROTHERS (THE OLDEST HOUSE IN THE LINEN TRADE} Being Manufacturers, supply the Public with the best Hand Woven Irish Table Damask, Either in BELFAST, DUBLIN, or LONDON, At Lower Prices than the same quality can be procured at elsewhere. nnHElR designs are entirely different from those of any other maim J_ facturer, and are to be had only from themselves at their different Warerooms. Many of these designs, being purely Celtic, give a distinct character to Walpoles' Table Damask. CAMBRIC HANDKERCHIEFS AT MANUFACTURERS' PRICES are a speciality. They are kept in plain veined, and embroidered makes, and will be found beautifully fine, soft, and durable. IN WALPOLES' LADIES UNDERCLOTHING DEPARTMENT they keep em- ployed a large number of the most skilled needle workers, and they show the very latest styles in Trousseaux, etc., which they make up to samples supplied, and at competitive prices. 8 & 9 Suffolk Street, Dublin, 16 Bedford -st., 89 New Bond-st., Belfast. London, W. Waringstown, Co. Down. 290 ADVERTISEMENTS. FORREST & SONS, LTD., SUfc flDercers, Costumier*, manufacturer* of 3ri6b Xace To Her Majesty the Queen, the Prince and Princess of Wales, and the Irish Court. 101 GEAPTON STREET, DUBLIN. 34 PATRICK STREET, CORK. DUBLIN WHISKEY! CAN BE OBTAINED AT THE SCOTCH HOUSE. JAMES WEIR & CO 6 & 1 BURGH QUAY. ADVERTISEMENTS. 291 39 PAEKGATE STEEET (Corner of Infirmary Ed.), DU BLI N. TTISITORS to Dublin will find many advantages by staying at this quiet Home-like and Comfortable Hotel, which is overlooking Phoenix Park. Three minutes walk from Great Southern and Western Eailway Station City and Lucan Trams start from door. Hot and Cold Baths. Tariff Moderate J. BOURKE, Proprietor. ROBERT WHITE, CEETIFIED PLUMBEE, SANITAEY AND HYDEAULIC ENGINEEE, Building, Plumbing, & General Contractor, &c., &c. t 64 Middle Abbey Street, Dublin. A large stock of the Newest and most approved of material always in Hand. All Orders executed with the utmost despatch and on the most moderate terms. 292 ADVEKTISEMENTS. alliance anb Bublin Consumers' (5as Co. COOKING & HEATING BY GAS. READINESS, CLEANLINESS COMFORT AND ECONOMY. Gas Cookers and Heating Stoves Hired by the Quarter at Moderate Rentals, or sold on the Hire-Purchase System. Bath Heaters & Gas Machine Washers Sold on the Hire-Purchase System. Gas Engines On the Six Years' Hire-Purchase System. A LARGE SELECTION OF THE MOST MODERN CAS APPLIANCES AT ALL TIMES ON VIEW AT THE COMPANY'S SHOW ROOMS, HAWKINS ST., DUBLIN. alliance anb Dublin Consumers' (Sas Co, CHEAP FUEL. Coke at 11s. per chaldron (CARRIAGE EXTRA). OOIECIE FOR DOMESTIC USE, HOTELS, SMITHIES, Ac., AT 18s- PER TON (carriage extra). The above prices are subject to alteration at any time without notice. Orders sent by Post to the Offices, as above, will receive prompt attention. ADVERTISEMENTS. 293 FLOWER AND M'DONALD, DUBLIN AND BALBRIGGAN, MANUFACTURERS OF "PURE IRISH SEA SALT," "SNOW FLAKE" BUTTER SALT," "CRYSTALLISED BAKER'S SALT," "COARSE GRAIN CURING SALT," Also Direct Importers of BEST HOUSE AND STEAM COALS. HEAD OFFICE 14 D'OLIER STREET, DUBLIN, and THE QUAY, BALBRIGGAN Telegrams, "DONALD, DUBLIN." Telephone No. 848. 6 LOWER ABBEY STREET, 6, SUCHE & RUDD, flftercbant {Tailors ant> Outfitters, 6 LOWER ABBEY STREET, 6, DUBLIN. 294 ADVERTISEMENTS. ZOOLOGICAL GARDENS, PHCENIX PARK. rPHE natural beauty of these well-kept grounds is unrivalled by those of any similar institution. The Collection includes the most renowned family of home-bred Lions in Europe, now in the fifth generation, from the original pair purchased in 1855, since which time 180 cubs have been born in the gardens. SPLENDID NEW OUT-DOOR AVIARY. INTERESTING VARIETIES OF WILD AND DOMESTIC CATTLE. Monkeys, including Chimpanzee, and Urang-Utan, Bears, Elephants, Camels, &c. PRICES OF ADMISSION Week-days, 1 s. ; Saturdays, half price ; Sundays, 2d Children always half price. Schools, &c., at reduced rates. ADVERTISEMENTS. 295 E. M. GOGGIN, 20a Nassau Street, DUBLIN, Has the Finest and most Artistic Display of IReal 3rfsb iJBog afe Ornaments anfc 5ewellerp t Connemara Marble and Wicklow Spar Ornaments at Lowest Prices. HIGHEST AWARD AT WORLD'S FAIR, CHICAGO. MISS COCCIN, WHO WAS AT LADY ABERDEEN S IRISH VILLAGE, PERSONALLY SUPERINTENDS. Fac-simile of the Brian Boroihme Harp, which gained Prize at Chicago, on view, together with Stocks of Jaunting Cars, Irish Crosses, Candle- sticks, Inkstands, Blotters and Irish Potato Pots. IRISH BOG OAK ORNAMENTS. Hrttetic (Tannncjs from "Book of IRells" AND OTHER ANCIENT STYLES, MOST UNIQUE AND SUITABLE KOR Birthday and Wedding Presents, Prizes, Christmas, Easter and Souvenir Gifts, etc. Over 1,000 Articles to choose from, varying from 6d. to 10 and upwards. THE TRADE SUPPLIED. BAZAARS LIBERALLY DEALT WITH. E. O'LEARY & CO., NASSAU STREET, DUBLIN. 296 ADVERTISEMENTS. TO H.F^H. THE JSKSSsfeS PRJNCE OF WALES. I @1TRELL r^ ^ * \OCHRANE'S TableWateps. 51 Prize Medals DUBLIN. BELFAST. LONDON. ADVERTISEMENTS. 297 Grand Hotel, Greystones (Three minutes' walk from station on the Dublin, Wicklow and Wexford Railway) STANDS in its own grounds, beautifully situated and within easy access of the Glen of the Downs, Dargle, Powerscourt Waterfall, the Sugar-loaf Mountains (1,681 feet above the level), and Bray. The Directors have paid particular attention to the provision made for Cold, Fresh, and Salt YVater Baths, and the Sea Bathing is excellent. The Hotel contains fine Billiard Room and Smoking Room, also suites of Rooms for families. The sanitary arrangements and ventilation are perfect. Tennis Grounds attached, and Golf Links in connection with the Hotel. Good Stabling. For terms, which are moderate, apply to THE MANAGER. Cook's Hotel Coupons accepted. Glendalough, Seven Churches, COUNTY WICKLOW. "THE ROYAL HOTEL" stands in its own grounds of twenty acres, beautifully situated in the Vale of Glendalough, adjoining the far- famed Seven Churches erected by St. Kevin in the sixth century, ten minutes' walk from St. Kevin's Bed and Lakes. Train service, four times daily to and from Dublin, Bray, and inter- mediate stations to Rathdrum, where cars are always in attendance, and from which Glendalough (eight miles) may be reached through the ex- quisitely beautiful Vale of Clara, where flows the picturesque River Avon- more, Good Trout Fishing in Lakes and district. Excellent Stabling, Post Cars, Waggonettes, etc., supplied by the Hotel on the shortest notice. Telegraph and Post Office, five minutes' walk from Hotel. Tourists are recommended not to be misled by interested statements of car drivers, ' itinerant" guides and others, but insist on being set down at the " ROYAL HOTEL," which is the only one in the district. The Hotel (under new management) has been recently renovated, nervly furnished and refitted throughout. Visitors may rely on good accommodation at fixed moderate charges. For terms apply to the Manager. Telegraphic Address " ROYAL HOTEL, CLENDALOUCH." Cook's Coupons accepted. 29S ADVERTISEMENTS. The Largest Bottlers of Stouts and Ales in Ireland. JOHN BEBE^TCO.'S For Excellent Quality and Condition. For Excellent Quality and Condition. Celebrated Bottled Drinks, 18 THOMAS STREET, DUBLIN. Pure and Unmixed. Gold Medal and Two Diplomas irewers' and Distillers' Exhibition. Dublin, 1NO2. NET CASH PRICES, DELIVERED IN CITY AND SUBURBS. Per Gross. Per Gross. Guinness's X Stout - - - 15s. Martlet, Amstel, and Royal Guinness-* XV Slout - - 10s. Pllsciier Laver Beers - 34s. A 28. .uiiui.->-> YX.X Invalid Stout 34s. Hop Bitlers. Is. Sd. per doz. - - 128. Dinner Ales Is. Irish and Devonshire Cider - 2Os. Bass' and Allsopp's Pale Ale 24s. These Drinks are sent by rail or boat in 6-dozen patent cases (except XXX, which is in five's), on receipt of Order with remittance covering Goods and Empties. Cases OS. each, Bottles lei. per doz. Full amount refunded if returned, carriage paid, within two months from date of purchase, or if orders be repeated will be credited against those going out Hotels, Restaurants, Saloons, and Family Grocery Establishments supplied on favourable terms. Traders who usually do their own bottlir-ff, but may from time to time run short, may always rely oil getting the Drinks in prime order and fit for immediate use, WHISKIES. Per Gal. Strength Per Gal. Strength about about Bebe's No. 1 - - 18s. Hi u.p. Bebe's No. 4 - - 158. 2O u.p. ,.3 - - Its. 17 H.p. 5 - - 148. 22 u.p. .. .,8 - Hi-. 18 U.p. .. .. S - ~ tit". 25 u.p. Above are blends of Fine Old Irish, sent out in quantities of 2 Gallons and upwards, in Cases, Jars and Casks. SPECIAL J. J. A S., 338. per Gallon. Jameson's, Power's, Roe's, Ac., in Bond. Quotation* on application. BRANDIES, GIN, &c. Hennessy's. Sayers'. De Kuyper's. Hollands, Old Jamaica Rum. Foreign Liqueurs, London Gin. Ac. Specially imported Cognac Brandy. 3s. per Case. GuiKcr Wine, Oa.i Cordials, lOs.; Lime Juice, 13s. per doz. CHAMPAGNES-Glesler, Ayala, Munim, Pommery, Ac., Ac. Ports and Sherries - - 13s., 15s., 18s., 3Os., 348., to 48s. per dozen. Clarets ^ ^ ^-^ lOs., 13s., 15s., 18s., to Tens, Finest imported, Is. 3d., Is. 4d., Is. 8d., to 2s. Ol. per lb. Sugars, Crystalled, Moist Coffee, Finest Fresh Ground - - - Is. lOd. Cubes, Lump for Preserves. Cafe iii- Paris, Ac. At Lowest Market Rates. Fine Cocoa Shell, 18s. d. per cwt. ; per lb., 3d. Finest Trinidad Shell, 33s. per cwt. ; per lb. 4d. Jums, Jellii-s. Spices. Picklos Tinned Meats, Fruits, Ac. JACOB A CO.'S and HUNTLEV A PALMER'S BISCUITS and RICH CAKKS. Telephone No. 508. Telegrams-" BEBE, DUBLIN." ADVERTISEMENTS. 299 THIS EQUITABLE LIFE ASSURANCE SOCIETY OF THE UNITED STATES. "PREMIER LIFE OFFICE OF THE WORLD." The Tontine Policies of the Society afford Admirable Provision for the NEW DEATH DUTIES. ^^ ^Cj Everything Freshest in ^ <*** - ^ ft** Life Assurance. FINANCIAL STANDING. Assets over 38,500,000 Surplus over 7,700,000 The U.S. Equitable's Free Tontine Policy is the simplest and best Life Assurance contract known. Study its Provisions. I>8 i;iJ\ OFFICE: CITY CHAMBERS, DAME STREET. Manager: H. HARRISON. Chief Office for Great Britain and Ireland: 81 CHEAPSIDE, LONDON, E.G. A. MUNKITTRICK and W. TRIGGS, General Manager*. ADVERTISEMENTS. Special appointment. HODGINS & CO, LTD To H.I.M. The Empress of India and successive Lords Lieutenant since 1841, 46 WILLIAM ST. & 82 AUNGIER ST. f [Copy.] ISLAND BEIDGE BARRACK, DUBLIN. CHIEF SECRETARY'S LODGE, May 23rd, 1895, Messrs. HODGINS & Co. have supplied me with Meat since January last, and I have found them attentive and obliging, and the various supplies good and of reasonable price. (Signed), H. TOMKINSON, Lieut. -Colonel; Royal Dragoons. THE N EW (FIRST CLASS) COMMERCIAL AND FAMILY SOUTH GREAT GEORGE'S STREET, D _U B_L IN. XHIS NEW COMMERCIAL AND FAMILY HOTEL has been fitted up with all the latest Sanitary Improvements, and Furnished throughout in : best style for the comfort and convenience of Travellers, LARGE COMMERCIAL ROOM, LADIES' DINING AND SITTING ROOMS, BILLIARD ROOM, WRITING AND SMOKING ROOMS, AND SEVERAL LARGE STOCK ROOMS, ELECTRIC LIGHT. Tilt position is one of the molt Central in DublinTram Cars passing the Doors to all parts of the City. E K. MAYHEW, Manager- ADVERTISEMENTS. Telegraphic Address- Telephone No. 217. "THORNTON, DUBLIN." $ Special Warrant. J. THORNTON, Fruit Merchant and Florist TO 1bis TRogal Tbigbness tbe prince of Males, Ibis Excellency tbe Xoro ^Lieutenant, AND THE OFFICERS' MESSES OF THE REGIMEHTS III IRELAND, 63 GRAFTON STREET, DUBLIN. Cut Flowers and WF* Table Decorations, The only Fruit Merchant in Ireland warranted to supply H.R.H. The Prince of Wales. Grea Lakes Queen THE BE Du B! forTwc A university of California SOUTHERN REGIONAL LIBRARY FACILITY 405 Hilgard Avenue, Los Angeles, CA 90024-1388 Return this material to the library from which It was borrowed. AUG 2 7 1B99 DUE 2 WKS FROM DAtE RECEIVED _UCLAURL7I|LL To Kill Do To Kill toGl and! To Kill D( GF To Kil via and Spenc n Tickets, including Hotel Accommodation, and Excursions in iLiiiurnKy, tun be had from Cook &* Son, and Gaze &* Son. Luncheon Baskets supplied at the principal stations. Comfortable Carriages. Fast travel. For full particulars of tours and arrangements, see Tourist Programme, and Illustrated Guides, sent post free, or apply to the SUPERINTENDENT OF THE LINE, Kingsbridge, or to Messrs. COOK & SON, or Messrs. GAZE & SON. R. G. COLHOUN, Traffic Manager A 000028340 8 ADVERTISEMENTS. TOWN AND COUNTRY HOUSES Inspected and Tenders furnished, free of charge, for Painting, Decorating & Repairing Throughout THOMAS ^r^f^U I_9K_ I <*vno CO., DOCKRELL. 8011 ^ GREAT .KOIU.I: s 81 DUBLIN. : THE : DUN DRUM ,coD Ublin) , (GEO. B. EDMONDSON, Manager.) Excels all others. *i&S*. Branch Office : 13 Castle Market, South City Markets. Telephone No, 1107. Fish ! Game ! Poultry 12 WILLIAM ST. 7 OUGGAN TER., RATHMINES 22 UP BACGOT ST 103 UP GEORGE'S ST 27 GEORGES ST. KINGSTOWN 69 UP. SACKVILLE ST 25 MAIN ST BRAY ***! Warrant to li^.lA.jD. ^Jtinct THE SSSak 3 - First-Class Houses. (" Vide Dnblln Papers ")-" The different Establishments of this famous Firm are on* of the sights of Dublin, crowded as they always are with the choicest description of Flab, Game, Poultry nowhere can the Public be aa well served."