m 
 
 ■Anl 
 
 "^j^fi^jfasyij^aTj 
 
 1 "Tl 
 
 ^^u^^^^^l 
 
 1 i 
 
 
 |_J
 
 
 
 ^^1 
 
 liRARY^/r 
 
 .^ ^lllBRAfiYQA^ 
 
 ^<yOjnV3JO'^ ^«!/0JllV3J0^ 
 
 A\\EIINIVERS/A 
 
 o 
 
 ^vvlOS'ANC 
 I 
 
 
 .^OFCAIIFO/?^ ^OFCAllFORj^ 
 
 ,5!rtEUNIVER% 
 
 '^^Aiivaan-^'^ ^t^Anvaani^ 
 
 
 
 .^WEUNIVERJ/A 
 
 ■^v 
 
 
 ^^W•UNIVER% 
 
 v^lOSAliCElfj^ 
 o 
 
 <rii30Nvso^^' "^/^aaAiNHiwv 
 
 ^lliBRAfiVOA 
 
 ^^tllBRAf 
 
 <riijONvso# "^AaaAiNOiwv^ '^ojiivj jo'^ 
 
 ^OF'CAllFOfe^ 
 
 
 '^<!/OJnVD 
 ^OFtAlIf 
 
 ^(^Aiivaai 
 
 ^N^IUBRARYQ? 
 
 ^aOJITVJjO'^ ^.tfOJIlVDJO'^ "^JJlJDKVSOl^ 
 
 ^OFCALIFOff^ jg,^FCALIFO/?^ 
 
 so S- 
 
 <AWEUNIVER% 
 
 
 ^<?Aavaan# 
 
 <f?l]0NVS01^ 
 
 ^'lOSANCl 
 
 %a3AINfl 
 
 ^^/smm
 
 .5^r— <^ 
 
 50 C 
 
 J>^ ^g 
 
 <ril30NVS01^ %83MNn-3V\'^ 
 
 :^ 
 
 vr 
 
 :J\ Is %^\ Ve 
 
 '^ommw^ '"^o-mnw^ 
 
 ,0i\MmO/:-^ 
 
 "^l-lIBIiARY-Oc 
 
 ^OJITVD'JO^ 
 
 ^OFCAIIFO%. 
 
 %ojnvDjo^ 
 
 
 
 ^■lOSANCElfj^ 
 
 ,0 
 
 
 ^OFCAIIFO% .^\WEUNIVER% ^v^lOSANCElfj^^ 
 
 
 %«vaaiH^ <rii33fjv.soi^^ '%a3AiNn3ftv*' 
 
 ^JrtEO)^IVER%, ^lOSAJJCEKj^. 
 
 <ril3DNVS01^' 
 
 _ o 
 
 ^ ^*^ ^ 
 
 Awn-mv^ 
 
 
 %JI3AlNa'3i\V 
 
 ^UIBRARYQ^^ i!$!bumm/-^ 
 
 ^OF^CAIIFO/Xfe ,^(JFCAIIF0%;. 
 
 
 >^^liBRARYQ;^ 
 
 ^(JOJUVDJO"^ 
 
 ^OF^CAIIFO% 
 
 "^OJITVOJO^ 
 
 ^iOPCAllFO/?^ 
 
 pe _ _, 
 
 00 
 
 jji\rt)}ifvEi?% 
 
 
 l^^lOS^ANCElfjiv 
 
 
 JJrtEUNIVER% ^v^OSANCElfj-^ 
 
 ' %avjiain'^ %avaan-^^ <rii30Nvsoi=^' "^/saaAiNn-aw"^
 
 Ja^^-uj! l^^W6^ JjuAAjU^J 
 
 o 
 
 , r 
 
 '}vjJ li^ 
 
 ^
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY, 
 
 GO. LOUTH: 
 
 h ||ttitt$ anil A^%ti(mUu. 
 
 A GUIDE 
 
 AND 
 
 POPULAR HISTORY. 
 
 • A house of praj'er, once consecrate 
 To God's high service — desolate ! 
 A ruiu where once stood a shrine ! 
 Bright with the Presence all divine I" 
 
 (}V. Chalterton Dix.) 
 
 i'ermtssu superiorum. 
 
 ^ublis^jb bg 
 JAMES DUFFY & CO., Ltd., DUBLIN, 
 
 FOR 
 
 THE CISTERCIANS, 
 
 MOUNT ST. JOSEPH ABBEY, ROSCRL'A. 
 
 1897.
 
 prinlfb bii 
 Edmund Burke & Co., 
 
 6l & 62 GREAT STRAND STREET, DUBLIN.
 
 Annex 
 INTRODUCTION. 
 
 
 In the following pages an attempt is made to describe 
 the ruins of Mellifont as they now appear, and to explain 
 the uses, or probable uses, that the buildings yet remain- 
 ing must have served when the monks dwelt there. 
 Obviously, some important structural alterations were 
 made when changing the venerable Abbey into a fortified 
 residence ; nevertheless the ruins exhibit, on the whole, 
 the characteristics of the primitive plan and style in 
 which Mellifont, as well as all the Cistercian monasteries 
 both in this country and on the Continent, were built. 
 The explanation is founded on reliable authority, being 
 gleaned from most authentic sources, such as, Les Monu- 
 ments Primitifs de La Regie Cistercienne, which is a 
 copy of the Rule drawn up by the Founders of the 
 Order ; the Monasticon Cisterciense ; Violet Le Due ; 
 Juhainville, Etudes sur VEtat interieur des Abbayes 
 Cisterciennes au XII. et au XIII. siecle ; Meglinger, 
 Iter Cisterciense ; La Vie de Saint Bernard, by Vacan- 
 dard, etc. 
 
 As no Records, or Chronicles of Mellifont now exist, 
 the historical part of the compilation has been derived 
 from different sources, chiefly from our old Annals — The 
 Annals of the Four Masters; those of Boyle, of 
 St. Mary's Abbey, Dublin; Clyn and Douiing's ; and 
 of Clonmacnois ; Ware's Bishops, etc. ; the Miscellaiiy of 
 
 2057981
 
 vi PREFACE. 
 
 the ArchcGological Society; Ussher's Sylloge ; Morrin's 
 Calendars of Patent Rolls, etc. The part relating to 
 disciplinary subjects was drawn principally from Martene's 
 Thesaurus Anecdotorum, Vol. IV., which contains the 
 Decrees of the General Chapter of the Cistercian Order, 
 also, from the Constitutiones et Privilegia, Menologium, 
 and the Fasiculus Sanctoruni Ordinis Cisterciensis, 
 by Henriquez ; Originum Cisterciensium, tom. I , Jan- 
 auschek ; VHistoire de La Trappe, Gaillardin, etc. The 
 vindication of monks in general, from the aspersions cast 
 on them by their enemies, and the facts appertaining to 
 the Rebellion of 1641, are borrowed exclusively from 
 Protestant sources, — Dugdale's Monasticon Anglicanum, 
 Tanner's Kotitia Monastica, Maitland's Dark Ages, 
 Leiand's History of Ireland, Temple's History of the 
 Insurrection, 1641, Tichborne's History of the Siege of 
 Drogheda, Carte's Ormond, etc. 
 
 These by no means exhaust the list of authors con- 
 sulted and ^^tilised, but they show how far apart the 
 pieces lay which have been stitched together to form a 
 consecutive narrative. The compiler has endeavoured to 
 compress the matter into the smallest possible space in 
 order to make the little book accessible to all at a 
 moderate price ; and he has preferred to allow^ others to 
 speak rather than to thrust his own opinions on the 
 reader. Finally, he has borne in mind throughout, the 
 trite saying, Magna est Veritas et prwvalebit.
 
 CONTENTS. 
 
 CHAPTER I. PAGE 
 
 THE RUINS ...... 1 
 
 CHAPTER II. 
 
 bT. MALACHY FOUNDS MELLIFONT . . .33 
 
 CHAPTER III. 
 
 AN EPITOME OF THE RULE OBSE*RVED AT MELLIFONT AT 
 ITS FOUNDATION, AND FOR ABOUT A CENTURY AND 
 A HALF AFfERWARDS . . . .41 
 
 CHAPTER IV. 
 
 MELLIFONT TAKES ROOT AND FOUNDS NEW HOUSES OF 
 
 THE ORDER . . . . . .50 
 
 CHAPTER V. 
 
 MELLIFONT CONTINUES TO FLOURISH UNDER SUCCESSIVE 
 
 EMINENT SUPERIORS . . . . .58 
 
 CHAPTER VI. 
 
 MELLIFONT IN TROUBLOUS TIMES . . . 67 • 
 
 CHAPTER VII. 
 
 THE SUPPRESSION OF MELLIFONT . . .85 
 
 CHAPTER VIII. 
 
 MELLIFONT BECOMES THE HOME OF A NOBLE FAMILY — 
 
 IS SOLD, AND IS DELIVERED UP TO RUIN AND DECAY 101 
 
 APPENDIX. 
 
 I. — LIST OF ABBOTS OF MELLIFONT. . .128 
 
 II. — CHARTER OF NEWRY . . . .129 
 
 III. — INVENTORY OF ESTATES OF MELLIFONT . 131
 
 fist 0f Illustrations. 
 
 General View op Mellifont 
 Plan of Clairvaux 
 Plan of Mellifont Abbey 
 Gateway (Porter's Lodge) . 
 North Window of Chapter- House 
 Doorway of Chapter-House 
 Interior of Chapter- House . 
 Interior of Lavabo (Octagon) 
 Arch of Lavabo (Octagon) . 
 South Wall of Lectorium . 
 
 Frontispiece 
 At p. 4 
 
 15 
 19 
 23 
 35 
 43 
 47 
 63
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY, 
 
 CO. LOUTH: 
 
 Its 3^uius antr Associations, 
 
 CHAPTER I. 
 
 THE RUINS. 
 
 "Look, stranger ; where these stones in ruin lie. 
 Here in the old, grey times a holy thing 
 Rose up — a cloistered pile ; but time swept by 
 And smote the sanctuary with his reckless wing." 
 
 (From the Swedish, by J. E. D. Bethune.) 
 
 F the many historic ruias which dot our 
 country and attest its former greatness, 
 few attract so much attention, and invite 
 so close a study as our monastic remains, 
 pre-eminent amongst which are those of the 
 ancient historic Abbey of Mellifont. In count- 
 less pages of our Annals the name appears. In 
 the records of sieges, battles and insurrections, from the 
 day on which a colony of St. Bernard's monks from world- 
 famed Clairvaux, came and settled in its tranquil valley, 
 till having passed through many vicissitudes, as an abode 
 of piety and wide-spread beneficence, it became a baronial 
 residence, and finally lost its prestige as the site of a mill, 
 whose remains contrast incongruously with those of such 
 a precious memorial. 
 
 And what was Mellifont ? It was the first house of the 
 Cistercian Order in Ireland ; founded, endowed and en- 
 riched by native princes and saintly prelates ; the mother 
 
 A
 
 i ME1>L1F0NT ABBEY, 
 
 of saints and scholars ; and at one time, the admiration of 
 our land, as a gem of rare architectural beauty. 
 
 Before going back to the shadowy past, let us endea- 
 Tour to trace amongst its ruins the outlines of the ancient 
 buildings, and to explain the special use and meaning of 
 each in the monastic economy, when white-robed monks 
 trod its cloisters, and knelt and prayed before the altars 
 in its church. Each of the Cistercian churches and 
 monasteries was built upon a uniform plan, with some 
 slight modifications, arising perhaps in all instances from 
 peculiarities of site and local difficulties. Around the 
 whole pile of monastic buildings, and girdling an area of 
 some thirt}' acres or more, comprising gardens, orchards, 
 meadows, ran a high wall, called the "Enclosure Wall," 
 which served to isolate the denizens of the cloister, and 
 prevent as far as possible all ingress of the world. En- 
 trance within the precincts of the monastery was obtained 
 through a spacious and lofty gate-house occupied by a 
 trusty Lay-Brother, whose duty it was to receive visitors, 
 and dispense hospitality to the poor and the way-farer ; 
 thus he formed a connecting link between his brethren 
 within and the world without, from which they were cut 
 ofif. Extending on either side of this gate-house, or 
 " Porter's Lodge," as it was known in monastic language, 
 was a range of buildings for the exclusive use of strangers 
 of every grade. There were the Hospice proper, an 
 infirmary for the sick poor, with stabling also, in the 
 immediate vicinity, for the horses of travellers : — 
 
 " Whoever passed, be it barou or squire, 
 Was free to call at the abbey and stay ; 
 No guerdon or gift for bis lodging pay, 
 Tuough he tarried a week with its holy choir." 
 
 The old tower which is passed as one approaches the 
 ruins of Mellifont, was the "Porter's Lodge," and right
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. S 
 
 under it ran the avenue which led to the abbey, but 
 which was converted into a mill-race when Mellifout had 
 reached its last stage of degradation. The present road- 
 way was constructed in order to give access to the mill. 
 The remains of old walls can still be traced stretching on 
 both sides of the tower, and prove its ancient purpose in 
 connection with Cistercian usage, as described above. 
 Some gate-houses of Continental monasteries, which have 
 till now subsisted intact from the eleventh or twelfth 
 century, bear a striking resemblance to this one at 
 Mellifont. That of Aiguebelle, in particular, near Grignan, 
 in the Department of Drome, France, most closely 
 resembles it. 
 
 There can be no doubt that a pile of buildings once 
 occupied and enclosed the whole space from the old gate- 
 way to the church, forming a rectangle, of which the 
 church was the fourth side. The precise purposes these 
 buildings served at Mellifont can now be only conjectured; 
 for, in different monasteries, local wants determined in a 
 great measure the allocation of this site to uses which 
 varied with the circumstances of each community. That 
 is not, however, to be understood of what are called the 
 " Regular Places ;". for these were held to be indispensable, 
 and occupied almost the same position in every monastery. 
 The intervening space here between the gate-house and 
 the church is now covered over with the debris of ancient 
 buildings, which local tradition says once occupied the 
 side of the hill on which, and about where, a few modern 
 cottages now stand. 
 
 Approaching nearer to the ruins, a modern mill obtrudes 
 itself upon the scene, and one cannot help wishing it 
 transported beyond the plane of his observation.* 
 
 * The " Tourist Company " have recently fitted up a compartment 
 of the old mill, where a cheap and substantial lunch can be had by 
 visitors who may desire it.
 
 4 MKLLIFOiNT ABBEY. 
 
 Arrived at what is now the entrance gate, the visitor 
 beholds in front of hiin the four remaining sides of what 
 was once an octagonal building, and somewhat nearer on 
 his left, a small roofless edifice. These are commonly, but 
 erroneously, called the " Baptistery " and " St. Bernard's 
 Chapel." Their true purposes shall be explained further 
 on. Immediately at his feet now, extend the sites of 
 the church, and of the once magnificent cloisters. Of 
 these latter not a trace remains, except a mere outline on 
 the green sward, and a few squares of concrete to indicate 
 the position once occupied by them. The plan of the 
 church extends to right and left : the western portion of 
 the nave running towards the river (see Plan), and the 
 entire length is dotted at intervals with blocks which 
 mark the sites of the piers. These concrete blocks were 
 laid by order of Sir Thomas Deane, under whose direction 
 the excavations were made here some few years ago. 
 The length of the nave cannot now be ascertained with 
 certainty, but judging from the position occupied by 
 some very old w^alls at the south-western side, it may be 
 roughly stated to have been 120 feet ; while 54 feet 
 6 inches was the width of the whole church, including 
 the aisles. These latter were each 10 feet wide. The 
 nave had seven bays, and like all Cistercian churches, it 
 was divided into two parts by the Rood-loft and Choir- 
 screen, which stood about midway. This Rood-loft 
 served a twofold purpose ; on it was a lectern, where the 
 Lessons of the night-offices were read by the monks in 
 rotation, and thereon the Abbot announced the Gospel 
 proper to each festival, chanting or reading it, according 
 as the office was sung or merely recited, after which, with 
 crosier in hand, he gave his solemn benediction. It 
 answered, too, as a partition between the choir of the 
 monks and the stalls of the Lay Brethren ; the former on
 
 i 
 
 Entrance. 
 
 
 11. Former Novitiate. 
 
 Abbot's House. 
 
 
 12. Cloisters. 
 
 Guest House. 
 
 
 13. Stairs to Dormitory. 
 
 Stablea. 
 Churcb. 
 
 
 14. Calefacl-ory. 
 I.'5. Refectory. 
 
 
 
 IB. Kitchen. 
 
 Cull for Books (Common Box). 
 
 17. Lavabo (Octagon). 
 
 The amplcr^o 
 
 Dormitory. 
 
 18. Cemetery. 
 
 
 19. St. Bernard's Cell. 
 
 Piirloiir, 
 
 
 20. The Prior's Chambers. 
 
 23. Lesser CloUter. 
 
 34. Hall for Thesea. 
 
 2.5. Theological Sciiool. 
 
 26. Intirmary. 
 
 27. Common Room of the Infiri
 
 6 MELLIFONT AHBKY. 
 
 the eastern, the latter on the western side of it. This 
 Choir-screen formed a sort of reredos to the two altars, 
 which were invariably found in this position in the 
 churches of the Order. On these altars were offered up 
 daily Masses for living and deceased benefactors — a 
 practice which continues in the Order and which dates 
 back to the foundation of the Cistercian Institute. 
 Further west was a tribune or gallery, where guests and 
 the dependants of the monastery assisted at Divine 
 Service, Office and Mass. Inside the Rood-loft, was the 
 Choir proper, which extended thence to the Chancel, or 
 " Presbytery Step," as it is called in monastic parlance. 
 A small space was provided between the Choir and the 
 Chancel, in order to allow a passage to those who pro- 
 ceeded from the Sacristy to the High Altar within the 
 Chancel. Two rows of stalls ran down on each side the 
 length of the nave. These stalls were generally of carved 
 oak, and were artistically tinished. The outer rows were 
 for the novices, and the backs of their stalls formed the 
 desks used by the professed monks, whereon they rested 
 the ponderous tomes containing the sacred psalmody. 
 During the High Mass the stalls next the Chancel were 
 used, and the place of honour, that is, the first stall on 
 the Epistle, or south side, was given to the Abbot. The 
 Prior, as second superior, occupied the first on the 
 opposite, or Gospel side. The other monks according to 
 seniority occupied the stalls on either side. On the other 
 hand, at Matins and at all the offices, except that in 
 connection with High Mass, the Abbot's and Prior's 
 stalls were farthest from the Chancel, and next the Rood- 
 loft, and the order of the monks was reversed. In token 
 of his jurisdiction the Abbot's crosier was fixed at his 
 stall. The Cistercian monks call this Rood-loft the 
 ''Jube" from the first word spoken by the reader when
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 7 
 
 he asks the blessing before commencing the Lessons. 
 The whole nave here at Mellifont seems to have been 
 paved with beautiful tiles ; a few of which may yet be 
 seen in their position near the great pier on the north 
 side. At the intersection of the transept with the nave, 
 is the space called the " Crossing," or " Lantern." Over 
 this rose the bell-tower, which was supported on solid 
 piers, from two of which sprang the Chancel arch, and 
 from the two others, that of the nave. These piers were 
 formed of clustered columns, but their remains (about 
 live feet high), vary both in dimensions and in style, 
 manifesting, thereby, the partial renovation that took 
 place from time to time. The material of which the 
 whole building was constructed is a butf-coloured sand- 
 stone not found in the vicinity of Mellifont, but brought, 
 it is said, from Kells, some twenty miles away ; a thing 
 not very difficult, seeing that the river is so convenient. 
 Some, again, are of opinion that the stone was brought 
 from Normandy ; which seems to be improbable. 
 
 The total length of the transepts is 116 feet; the width 
 54 feet. The northern one is some four feet longer than 
 the southern. They seem to have had aisles, an unusual 
 arrangement in churches of the Order. In the northern 
 transept were six chapels, the piscinas of which are still 
 to be seen in the piers adjoining. The number of these 
 piscinas cannot fail to strike one as something very 
 singular. Their presence is accounted for in this way. 
 At the date of the foundation of Mellifont and for 
 centuries later, it was the custom for priests of the Order 
 to wash their hands at the foot of the altar before com- 
 mencing Mass, the server pouring water on his hands, 
 which he dried with a towel that had been previously 
 laid on the altar. The water used was then cast into the 
 piscina. It was also the custom with them, at that time.
 
 S MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 to descend from the altar when they had consumed the 
 Sacred Species out of the chalice and to wash their 
 fingers over the piscina. 
 
 This northern transept seems to have been a favourite 
 spot for interments; for during the excavations numerous 
 skulls were found there. At Clairvaux, the corresponding 
 site was strewn with the graves of bishops, who selected 
 it as the place wherein to rest after life's weary struggle. 
 No record or memorial of these survives, or of any of the 
 dead interred at Mellifont, to point out the occupant of 
 a single grave. In the northern wall of this transept is a 
 beautiful door-way with jambs of clustered columns. Hard 
 by, the wall was pierced to make a loop-hole when Mellifont 
 was transformed into a fortress. On one side of the door- 
 way are the remains of what must once have been a superb 
 chapel ; on the opposite side are a few steps of a spiral 
 stair-case, formed in the thickness of the wall, which led 
 up to the tower, as is to be seen at Graignamanagh, 
 Co. Kilkenny, and other houses of the order in Ireland. 
 The level of the floor here is some five or six feet lower 
 than the adjacent road-way which was raised by the 
 accumulated rubbish of former buildings that extended 
 along the hill-side where the cottages now stand. 
 
 The southern transept may have had its six altars also. 
 The aisle seems to have been built up, and when the 
 alterations which took place in the whole fabric in the 
 fifteenth century were made, a large portion of this 
 transept would appear to have been allocated to the uses 
 of a sacristy. No trace of a sacristy remains elsewhere, 
 and this would be a very convenient place to utilise as 
 one. The remains of some walls lead us to suppose such 
 an arrangement probable. In Cistercian monasteries, a 
 stair-case in this transept near the cloister led thence to 
 the dormitory, but no remains of such a stairs have been
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 9 
 
 discovered at Mellifont. When Sir Thomas Deane had 
 the earth and rubbish, or, as he calls it, the " grassy 
 mound," removed, he discovered the foundations of two 
 semi-circular chapels in each transept, in a line with the 
 site occupied by the High, or principal Altar. (See the 
 dotted lines in the Ground Plan). Describing them, Sir 
 Thomas writes : " Within the circuit of the external walls 
 are the foundations of an earlier church which indicate 
 four semicircular chapels, and two square ones between. 
 Of this church we have no distinct record, but the bases 
 of semi-detached pillars would indicate the date given for 
 the erection of Mellifont." These four semi-circular 
 chapels in line with the High Altar, formed an exact 
 counterpart of the church of Clairvaux which was erected 
 in 1135, and which by St. Bernard's express wish, served 
 St. Malachy as the model for Mellifont. 
 
 The chancel terminated in a square end, and was 42 
 feet deep by 26 feet wide. It was raised about six inches 
 over the floor of the nave, and a slab of limestone 
 extended the entire width with which the tiled pavement 
 was flush. Almost in the centre of the chancel, that is 
 to say, nearly midway between the two piers, are two 
 sockets sunk in sandstone blocks. What uses they served 
 cannot be affirmed wath certainty. However, it may be 
 conjectured that they served to receive the supports on 
 which a violet curtain was suspended during Lent, screen- 
 ing the " Sanctuary." This curtain spanned the space 
 from pier to pier. The custom is still preserved in the 
 Order. Here on this central spot, a lectern was placed, at 
 which the sub-deacon at Solemn Masses sang the Epistle. 
 Here, too, the celebrant of the Community Mass on 
 Sundays blessed the water with which he sprinkled the 
 brethren, who presented themselves two by two before 
 him. It was here, also, that the Abbot blessed the
 
 10 MELLIFOIST ABliEY. 
 
 candles, ashes, and palms, on Candlemas-day, Ash "Wednes- 
 day, and Palm Sunday respectively. This was called the 
 " Presbytery Step," and the whole space within the 
 chancel, the " Sanctuary." 
 
 The basis on which the High Altar was built still 
 remains. It is distant some few feet from the eastern 
 wall, in order to allow a passage for the monks, who on 
 Sundays and Festivals received Holy Communion at this 
 altar, after which they walked around it in single file, and 
 passing on by the Gospel, or northern corner, returned to 
 their stalls in the nave. The basis is ten feet long 
 by three and one half feet wide. On the Epistle, or 
 southern side, are the piscina surrounded with a dog- 
 tooth moulding, and the remains of the sedilia or stalls, 
 which were occupied by the celebrant, deacon, and sub- 
 deacon at High Mass. Under these sedilia a tomb was 
 discovered during the excavations. A skull and some 
 bones, together with a gold ring, were raised from their 
 resting-place ; the bones were replaced and covered with 
 the slab of concrete now seen at this spot, but the ring 
 was sold by a workman and could never be recovered. 
 No inscription or tradition identifies the occupant of the 
 hallowed grave. Could it have been that of the famous 
 Dervorgilla? She was certainly buried at Mellifont, but 
 unfortunately, we do not know the spot where her 
 remains were laid when " life's fitful fever" was over ; or 
 it may have been the resting-place of Thomas O'Connor, 
 or of Luke Netterville, both, successively, Archbishops of 
 Armagh ; for they, also, were buried at Mellifont. 
 
 On the opposite, or Gospel side, is an arched recess 
 having an ornamental moulding around it. This would 
 seem to have been the Founder's tomb, or rather, the 
 remains of it. In the Cistercian Constitutions no special 
 place was allotted for the tombs of Founders, and only the
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 11 
 
 indefinite permission was given, that they, kings and 
 queens, bishops and such like exalted dignitaries, might 
 be buried within the churches of the Order. A general 
 custom, however, prevailed in Ireland of appropriating to 
 the Founder's tomb a space iu the northern wall of the 
 chance], and directly at right angles with the High Altar. 
 Others, besides Founders, were buried on the north side 
 in the chancel. Thus, in the Annals of St. Mary's 
 Abbey, Dublin, we are told that Felix O'Ruadan, who 
 had been a great benefactor to that house, was buried in 
 the chancel of the abbey church, on the north side. 
 And Felix O'Dullany, the first Abbot of Jerpoint, and 
 afterwards Bishop of Ossory, was interred on the north 
 side of the High Altar, at Jerpoint. 
 
 The door on this side of the chancel is a puzzle, as in 
 no other church of the Order is one found in this position. 
 There is no evidence of a building having adjoined with 
 which this door communicated, so that its use is un- 
 known. Quite close to this door there is a shallow recess 
 in the wall, which may have been a provision for the 
 Abbot's throne, when he officiated pontifically, as that 
 is the site usually occupied by it. Some five or six feet 
 high of the chancel walls is all that is left standing ; and, 
 though not up to the window level, what remains of the 
 cut stone and water-tabling gives an idea of the beauty 
 of the whole, and what a loss we have sustained by its 
 destruction. 
 
 In the original church, that is, the one erected in St. 
 Malachy's time, there were ten altars we are told, but on 
 the ground plan seven only are shown. Two more at 
 least were in front of the Rood-loft or Juhe, and the 
 remaining one very probably was in one of the aisles. 
 The church of Mellifont was remarkable, not so much for 
 its vast dimensions, as for its architectural beauty ; yet,
 
 12 MELLIFOiNT AJilJEY. 
 
 in this it was surpassed by St. Mary's Abbey, Dublin. 
 Sir Thomas Deane writes : " From the fragments of the 
 church which remain, it is easy to trace the vicissi- 
 tudes the building underwent. I have great doubt that 
 any portions of the structure above ground are those of the 
 earliest church erected on the site, or date as far back as 
 1157, which is given as the year of its consecration. . . . 
 The details of the piers (the older ones) are in my 
 opinion a century or more later in date. They still indi- 
 cate a foreign type, and the arrangements and obvious 
 plan show that the transepts as well as the nave had 
 aisles. . . . Portions of the piers discovered are of the 
 fifteenth century, other parts of the church of the four- 
 teenth. ... A second portion dates probably from 
 1260, another from 1370, and another from 1460. I am 
 not prepared to follow from the history of the Abbey the 
 causes of such restorations ; but it is certain that rebuild- 
 ings of portions of the church occurred from time to time, 
 and that violence or decay was the cause." Neither to 
 violence nor to decay can the alterations be attributed, 
 which the church underwent at the three periods 
 mentioned by Sir Thomas, but rather to the practice then 
 common to the whole Order, chiefly in the monasteries of 
 Great Britain and Ireland, of adopting the advancing 
 changes in the Gothic style, and to the laudable efforts of 
 the monks to make the House of God worthy of Him as 
 far as art and skill could be made subservient to that 
 purpose. Thus in the Annals of Fountains and Furness, 
 there are abundant proofs of this constant change going 
 on in those monasteries even down to the date of their 
 suppression. One Abbot considered the eastern window 
 too low and narrow, and had it enlarged; another thought 
 the tower rested on too slender a basis, and he built 
 substantial piers and flanked them on the outside with 
 buttresses, and so with others.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. IS 
 
 To better understand the surroundings, it will be neces- 
 sary to bear in mind the general plan on which all 
 Cistercian monasteries were built. On this subject there 
 is a good deal of misapprehension, even on the part of 
 those who seem to have given close attention to the 
 matter. The church and buildings necessary for large 
 communities were so arranged as to form a square, 
 thereby combining simplicity with economy. It is said 
 that the monks borrow^ed this idea from the form of a 
 Roman villa. The church formed the first or northern 
 side (for in temperate and cold climates the other build- 
 ings, as tbey lay to the south, were sheltered by the 
 church.) The sacristy, chapter-house, and other halls were 
 on the east ; the calefactory, refectory, and kitchen on 
 the south ; and the Domus Conversorum completed 
 the square on the west. Within this square were the 
 cloisters, always contiguous to the main buildings, and 
 forming a communication with all the parts of the 
 monastery. Tbey were a sort of covered ambulatory,^ 
 whose roof rested on the one side against the main 
 buildings, and on the other was supported by open orna- 
 mental arcades, which, however, in these climates were 
 glazed. The cloisters were often vaulted iu richly 
 moulded stonework, and were fitted up with benches for 
 reading, chiefly on the side adjoining the church. The 
 space or quadrilateral area enclosed by them was called 
 the Cloister- Garth, in the centre of which a statue or 
 handsome fountain stood. 
 
 The cloisters were generally entered fz'om the church 
 by the south aisle, at the point where it adjoins the 
 transept; but here, at Mellifont, the entrance was direct 
 from the south transept itself. This a glance at the 
 ground-plan will show; though it may have been otherwise 
 in the primitive church ; for, when it underwent altera-
 
 14 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 tions, the transepts were widened by the addition of an 
 aisle to each ; and, the cloister being thus encroached on, 
 a change was necessary in it also. 
 
 Adjoining the transept, and at right angles with the 
 cloister, on the left, was a narrow hall or cell which 
 contained books, chiefly the Sacred Scriptures, and the 
 writings of the Fathers. This cell, which had no 
 window, was called the " Armarium Commune," or 
 "Common Box;" for its contents were common to all 
 the monks. Its situation was convenient to the reading- 
 cloister, which lay along the south wall of the church. 
 In this cell the monks were provided with an abundant 
 supply of good books, but treatises on the Canon and 
 Civil Laws were forbidden to be kept in it : the Prior 
 was charged with the custody of these. Behind this 
 cell, and communicating only with the church, the 
 Sacristy was placed ; but, as before observed, there is no 
 trace of one here. Some writers on monastic ruins, 
 confidently assure their readers that this cell was a 
 prison, and that it was called the "Lantern;" casting 
 upon the monks all responsibility for the name, and 
 supposing them to have formed it on the lucits a non 
 lucendo principle, seeing the cell was dark. The error 
 was all their own ; for the Lantern, as has been already 
 shown, was in the tower over the crossing of the church ; 
 and the true use of this cell has just been stated above. 
 
 Here (at Mellifont), in close proximity to the transept, 
 is the ruined two-storied building we saw as we ap- 
 proached, and which, from its present striking appearance, 
 must have been one of the most beautiful within the 
 ancient abbey's precincts. This is commonly, but 
 erroneously, known as " St. Bernard's Chapel." Why 
 it was reputed to have been a chapel, must be from the 
 close resemblance it bears to one. It was, in reality, the
 
 From Photo by W. Lawrence, Dublin. 
 
 Gate\7ay (Porter's Lodge.) See page 2.
 
 IG MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Chapter-house. That it was, is quite evident to anyone 
 who has studied the plans of Cistercian monasteries : 
 (a), from the position it occupies, and (h), from the 
 internal arrangement and decorations such as are found 
 in other like edifices of the Order in Ireland. A stone 
 bench ran around the inside of the building, and which, 
 when covered with a rush mat, served as a seat for the 
 monks. In Graignamanagh Abbey, Co. Kilkenny, the 
 ancient Chapter-house still remains, closely resembling 
 this one at Mellifont, both in style and ornamentation, as 
 well as in dimensions. The historic Chapter-house of 
 St. Mary's Abbey, Dublin, which was unearthed a few 
 years ago, exhibited in every detail a striking resem- 
 blance to this also. That at Graignamanagh was 
 remarkable for its beauty. At the entrance to it from 
 the cloister, was a magnificent arched doorway, con- 
 taining within it three smaller arches of blue marble, 
 beautifully carved. A grand central column, called by 
 the inhabitants of the district, the " Marble Tree," 
 supported the roof. It stood eight feet high from base to 
 capital, whence the branches spread to meet the corre- 
 sponding ribs on the groined roof. 
 
 Sir William Wilde describes the Chapter-house at 
 Mellifont, as he saw it in 1850. He says : " It must 
 have been one of the most elegant and highly em- 
 bellished structures of the Norman or Early English 
 pointed style in Ireland." He calls it a Crypt ; for it 
 Avas overlaid, and surrounded up to a high level by heaps 
 of rubbish. He goes on to say : " It has a groined roof 
 underneath another building evidently used for domestic 
 purposes, and was probably part of the Abbot's apart- 
 ments. The upper room, which contains a chimney, 
 must have been a pleasant, cheerful abode, and its 
 windows commanded a charming prospect down the
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 17 
 
 valley, with a view of the distant hills peeping up from 
 the south-west. The building is 30 feet long, by 19 feet 
 wide. There are no remains of muUions or tracery of 
 the east window. At present, there are two lights on 
 each side; but upon a careful examination of the 
 masonry both within and without the building, it is, we 
 think, apparent that in the original plan, the upper 
 window on each side alone existed, the others being 
 evidently subsequent innovations. The original windows* 
 are still beautiful, deeply set, and, though their stone 
 mullions are rather massive, each forms, with the tracery 
 at the top, a very elegant figure. The internal pilasters, 
 which form an architrave for the northern window, 
 spring from grotesque heads, elaborately carved, and 
 which appear as if pressed down by the superincumbent 
 weight. A fillet of dog's-tooth moulding surrounds the 
 internal sash. A projecting moulding courses round the 
 wall, about two feet from the ground, which, while it 
 dips dowm to admit the splayed sill of the upper or 
 original windows, continues unbroken by the lower ones, 
 an additional proof that the latter did not exist in the 
 original plan of the building. Three sets of short 
 clustered columns, four feet high, one in the centre, and 
 one in each angle, spring from this course, and terminate 
 in elaborately carved floral capitals, which differ slightly 
 one from the other. The centre rod of this cluster 
 descends as far as the floor. From these spring the ribs, 
 which form the groining of the roof. . . . The grand 
 architectural feature, and most elaborate piece of carving, 
 was the door-way, formed of a cluster of columns, very 
 deeply revealed on the inside, but apparently plain on 
 the outside. . . . Nearly the whole of the western end 
 
 * See Illustrcalion, p. 19.
 
 18 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 has fallen, so that nothing but the foundations of this 
 very splendid door-way now remain. A figure of it 
 has, however, been preserved in Wright's Louthiana 
 (reproduced here),* published in 1755, where we read 
 that it was 'all of blue marble, richly ornamented and 
 gilt,' but ' which,' the author adds, ' I was informed was 
 sold and going to be taken to pieces when I was there.' 
 All the pillars and carved stone work of this building 
 were at one time painted in the most brilliant colours, 
 the capitals light blue, the pillars themselves red ; 
 portions of this paint still remain in the curves and 
 amongst the foliage." 
 
 The Chapter-house i* is little changed since Sir William 
 Wilde penned the foregoing, and time seems to have 
 dealt leniently with this magnificent ruin. One of the 
 windows has had its mullions restored under the Board 
 of Works ; a number of curious objects — capitals, corbels, 
 and portions of arches and cut stone, flooring tiles, etc., 
 has been collected there, and a gate to guard them has 
 been erected by Mr. Balfour, the owner of the ruins and 
 surrounding property. It is very dubious that the upper 
 story ever served as a part of the Abbot's lodgings, as 
 these are generally found further east. This room may 
 have been the muniment room. It has two port-holes 
 remaining, relics of the days when Mellifont was turned 
 into a fortified castle, and the cry of fierce, contending 
 men was heard on this hallowed spot, over the graves of 
 the sainted dead. In the first volume of The Dublin 
 Fenny Journal, there are very interesting articles from 
 the pen of a Mr. Armstrong, a native of the locality. 
 He tells us that this Chapter-house was converted into a 
 banqueting-hall by the Moore family, and that in his 
 time (1832), it was used as a pig-sty. 
 
 * See IllustKition, p. 23. + See Illustration, p. 35.
 
 From Photo ^y ^- Laiorence, Dubli7i. 
 
 North Window or Chapter-Hocse. See p. 17.
 
 20 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Another account of the fate of the beautiful arched 
 door-way of blue marble is, that it was lost at a game of 
 piquet, and the lucky winner, whose name, unfortunately, 
 has not been handed down to us, had it removed to his 
 mansion, and set up as a chimney-piece. The floor of the 
 Chapter-house is now laid with some of the tiles which 
 were found in the church during the excavations, in order 
 to preserve them from destruction or appropriation by 
 " relic-hunters." Abbots, generally, chose the Chapter- 
 house of their abbeys for their burial place ; but, as no 
 grave was found here, when the rubbish was removed, 
 during the excavations, we may conclude that the Abbots 
 of Mellifont were buried either in the church, or in the 
 cemetery with their monks. 
 
 The glazed tiles and their manufacture were a 
 specialty with the old Cistercians, in these; countries. 
 Similar tiles are seldom met with amongst the ruins of 
 other churches. Here at Mellifont, those found are red 
 and blue, and the vast majority have the legend Ave 
 Maria inscribed on them ; others are impressed with a 
 Fleur de lis, a cock, or some typical device. It is Avell 
 known, that specimens of tiles found at Fountains, in 
 Yorkshire, bear a close resemblance to these. There, 
 the motto of that monastery was impressed on the tiles 
 discovered — "Benedicite fontes Domino'^ — "Ye fountains 
 bless the Lord." No doubt, here, too, some bore the 
 motto of Mellifont, if only they could be found. 
 
 A very pertinent question arises now : how could this 
 small building give sitting accommodation, not only to 
 one hundred and fifty monks, which this monastery is 
 said to have had, but even to a third of that number ? 
 It seems impossible. It may be that, on becoming 
 numerous, they used as Chapter-house some other 
 building no longer standincr. At Graignamanagh, the
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 21 
 
 monks, finding their Chapter-house too SQiall, converted 
 the eastern window of it into a door, and built a large 
 and spacious hall, as a new Chapter-house, the old one 
 sersring as an ante-chamber to it. No such addition had 
 been made here ; for the window remains intact. 
 
 What a change has come over this grand old Chapter- 
 house since it saw its Abbot, who ranked as a peer of 
 the realm, walk up its centre with solemn and stately 
 tread, and mount the steps which led to his seat, on the 
 east ; and the grave assemblage of white-robed monks 
 enter in silence, and take their places on either side, 
 while one of them sang at the Lectero, the Martyrology, 
 and a chapter of St. Benedict's Rule ! From this 
 custom of having a chapter of the E,ule sung there every 
 morning, this apartment derives its name. In the 
 interval, between the singing of the Martyrology and the 
 chapter of St. Benedict's Rule, one of the priests gave 
 out certain prayers, to which all responded. These 
 prayers were chiefly petitions to the Lord, that He 
 would deign to bless and guard them during the coming 
 day ; for the hour of chapter, or of the assembling of the 
 Brethren, was generally aboitt 6 am. The Abbot then 
 explained the chapter which had been sung, dwelt on 
 the obligations incumbent on his hearers, by their 
 profession, to observe the teaching which St. Benedict 
 inculcated by his Rule ; then called for the public self- 
 accusations of breaches of monastic discipline (external 
 faults only), and imposed penances commensurate with 
 each transgression. The Chapter-house was the hall 
 wherein were held the deliberations or councils relative 
 to the administration of temporalities, and here novices 
 were elected or rejected by secret ballot. 
 
 On leaving the Chapter-house one finds himself again 
 on the site of the eastern walk or alley of the Cloister, as
 
 22 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 it is called, and proceeding along it southward, one sees 
 a wall some seven or eight feet high without door or 
 window of any sort. It is doubtful that this was portion 
 of the ancient building; for then Mellifont would not 
 have followed the general plan of all the houses of the 
 Order. That it was not one of the original buildings is 
 probable, both because the masonry is more modern, and 
 the remains of an old building running at right angles with 
 it were found when the excavations were made a few 
 years ago in the potato garden, at the rere of this wall. 
 That old structure measured about fourteen feet wide. 
 It is shown on the ground plan. In the plan of Clair- 
 vaux, of which Mellifont is said to have been a counter- 
 part, a long narrow hall ran off the Cloister here, parallel 
 with the Chapter- house. It was called the "Auditorium" 
 or " Parlour." It was there that each choir monk's share 
 in the manual labour was assigned him every day by the 
 Prior. There, too, confessions were heard, and the monks 
 might speak to the Prior or Abbot on necessary matters ; 
 for the adjoining Cloister was a place of strict silence. 
 As at Clairvaux, the novitiate was placed further south 
 where the novices Avere trained in their duties by a 
 learned and experienced monk, who, according to St. 
 Benedict, " would know how to gain souls to God." 
 
 Over the buildings on the ground story, that is, over 
 the Sacristy, Chapter-house, Parlour, and Novitiate, was 
 the Dormitory, which was entered by a stair-case, in the 
 south-eastern angle of the transept, on one side, and by 
 another stairs at the junction of the east and south walks 
 of the Cloister. When the monastery at Mellifont was 
 changed and remodelled after Clairvaux (for this latter 
 underwent a substantial change in 1175), the monks mav 
 have used the old Parlour as a passage leading to other 
 buildings which covered that plot of ground beyond the
 
 i^lJ':slj4l--.--».v-.--v'---!MiJl«aJ 
 
 A. Scntt d- Son, Architects.. Drorjheda. 
 
 Doorway of CHAVTER-HofsE. See p. IS.
 
 24 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Cliapter-house, now a potato garden. In the plan of 
 Clairvaux, all the space in that direction is covered with 
 buildings. (See plan of Clairvaux.) In the general view 
 of Mellifont, given in frontispiece, the plot whereon these 
 buildings stood is that where the man is seen tilling the 
 garden. But if one ascend the hill, keeping close to the 
 ruins, it will be evident how suitable a place it was for 
 building on, and the remains of walls peep up here and 
 there over the surface. The level at that spot is, indeed, 
 much higher than in the Cloister, or Chapter-house, but 
 that is partially caused by the debris of ruined buildings 
 which has accumulated there. 
 
 At the extreme end of this eastern walk of the Cloister 
 and at right angles with it, are the remains of what was 
 once a spacious building. It had a fire-place at the 
 eastern end, and a door which led out into another build- 
 ing that formely adjoined it. It is 96 feet long by 36 
 feet wide. No idea can be formed now as to its original 
 use. In some monasteries of the fifteenth and sixteenth 
 centuries, chiefly the more considerable ones, there was a 
 spacious room or hall located as this was, and furnished 
 with benches and writing-desks, where the monks studied 
 and wrote. It was called the " Lectorium" or Beading 
 room. It must not, however, be confounded with the 
 Scriptorium, which was the official quarters of the copyist. 
 It is well to remark here that the plot of ground lying 
 north of this building was not dug up during the excava- 
 tions, but only skimmed over in order to trace the course 
 of some walls which at intervals appeared above the 
 surface ; but, even this slight investigation was sufficient 
 to reveal the outlines of numerous buildings that once 
 extended in that direction and covered that whole area. 
 Again comparing the site with Clairvaux, we find 
 that the Infirmary and its surroundings would lie in that 
 direction.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 25 
 
 At the extreme end of the easleru walk of the Cloister 
 wliere it joins the southern one, are the remains of a 
 stairs, Avhich formerly led up to the Dormitory from this 
 part of the monastery, as at Clairvaux. Near it is what 
 is commonly called a vault, an arched chamber measuring 
 sixteen feet by fourteen. It has a chimney, and it 
 would seem to have had a narrow window also on the 
 outer or southern end. Here is where the Calefactory 
 stood in almost all the old Cistercian monasteries. This 
 Calefactory was heated by a stove, at which the monks 
 warmed themselves after their long vigils in winter ; 
 but their stay there was restricted to one quarter of an 
 hour. Pope Eugenius III., when a monk at Clairvaux, 
 under St. Bernard, had charge of the stove there, as was 
 commemorated by an inscription over the door of the 
 Calefactor}'. A son of the King of France discharged 
 the same lowly office afterwards at Clairvaux, as the 
 Annals of the Order testify. 
 
 Adjoining this vault is a covered passage, having an 
 entrance into the next building, which runs parallel with 
 it. Its purpose cannot now be known. It may be that 
 the vault or Calefactory had been converted in later 
 times into a store-room for necessaries which were brought 
 thence by this covered way into the Refectory, which is 
 the next building. The Refectory measures 4S feet by 
 24. A few coarse flags remain in their original position, 
 from which it may be inferred that the whole floor was 
 once formed of them. In its western wall was the turn- 
 stile, through which the food was served from the 
 kitchen that adjoined the Refectory on that side. 
 
 Now, we come to the great puzzle, the remains of 
 the octagon building, which was commonly called the 
 Baptistery. Sir William Wilde, who saw it as it was in 
 1848, calls it the oldest and by far the most interesting
 
 26 MELLIFONT ABHKY. 
 
 architectural remains in the whole place ; and he goes on 
 to describe it : * " This octagonal structure, of which only 
 four sides remain, consists of a colonnade or series of 
 circular-headed arches, of the Roman or Saxon character, 
 enclosing a space of 29 feet in the clear, and supporting 
 a wall which must have been, when perfect, about 30 
 feet high. Each external face measures 12 feet in length, 
 and was plastered or covered with composition to the 
 height of 10 feet, where a projecting band separates it 
 from the less elaborate masonry above. The arches -f- are 
 carved in sandstone, and spring from foliage-ornamented 
 capitals, to the short supporting pillars, the shaft of each 
 of which measures 3 feet 5 inches. The chord of each 
 arch above the capitals is 4 feet 3 inches. Some slight 
 difference is observable in the shape and arrangement of 
 the foliage of the capitals, and upon one of the remaining 
 half arches were beautifully carved two birds ; but some 
 Goth has lately succeeded in hammering away as much 
 of the relieved part of each, as it was possible. The 
 arches were evidently open, and some slight variety 
 exists in their mouldings. Internally a stone finger- 
 course encircled the wall, at about six inches higher than 
 that on the outside. In the angles between the arches 
 there are remains of fluted pilasters at the height of the 
 string-course, from which spring groins of apparently the 
 same curve as the external arches, and which, meeting in 
 the centre, must have formed more or less of a pendant, 
 which, no doubt, heightened the beauty and architectural 
 effect. Like the pillars and stone carvings in the 
 Chapter-house, this building was also painted red and 
 blue, and the track of the paint is still visible in several 
 places. The upper story, which was lighted by a 
 window on each side of the octagon, bears no architectural 
 
 * Hee Illustration, p. jn. t See Illustration, p. 47.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 27 
 
 embellishment which is now visible." He then adds, 
 how Archdall, in his Monasticon, asserted that a cistern 
 was placed on the upper story, whence water was 
 conveyed by pipes to the different parts of the monastery ; 
 hut shows how such an arrangement would have been 
 impossible, on account of the weakness of the walls, and 
 the position of the windows. 
 
 This building was known, in monastic terminology, as 
 the " Lavabo." A fountain of water issued in jets from 
 a central column, and fell into a basin, in which the 
 monks washed their hands, before entering the Refectory 
 for their meals. It is quite easy, from the construction 
 of the roof, to imagine a number of branches springing 
 from the capital of the column, and meeting the ribs of 
 the groined roof, in the same manner, as the "Marble 
 Tree," in the Chapter-house of Graignamanagh. Drains 
 in connection with this building were discovered when 
 the excavations were made, and Sir Thomas Deane is of 
 opinion, that it was surrounded on the outside by a 
 wooden verandah, or shed. Certainly, in the plan of 
 Clairvaux, a low building is shown, adjoining the Lavabo, 
 at its east and west ends; but no use is assigned it. 
 Very probably it was the Lavatory. Petrie thinks the 
 Lavabo may have been built as far back as 1165, but 
 that can hardly be held ; for Clairvaux had not been 
 remodelled till 1175, and it had no such ornamental 
 structure in the time of St. Bernard, ^e remarks, too, 
 that fragments of bricks were discovered in the building, 
 and says they were never employed earlier in any other 
 building in Ireland. It is now certain, that it was the 
 monks of Mellifont who first manufactured bricks in this 
 country. This Lavabo was not isolated or detached from 
 the Cloister, but, as at Clairvaux, a door led from one 
 into the other, opposite the entrance into the Refectory;
 
 2f:j MELLIFONT AHBKY. 
 
 and, sioce the excavations, portions of the door-way are 
 visible. Some small shafts and their bases remain. 
 Even at the present day, in one of the most recently 
 constructed monasteries of the Order (near Tilburg, 
 Holland), what might be termed a semi-octagonal Lavabo, 
 having its fountain and basin, has been built. It answers 
 the same purpose as those in ancient times. 
 
 By keeping the Lavabo before one's mind, one can form 
 an idea of the Cloister itself; which, consisting of arcades, 
 closely resembled this in every detail, except that these 
 were glazed, and in all probability its walks had a lean-to 
 roof. The site of the east walk of the Cloister is easily 
 traced, and the places occupied by the piers being now 
 concreted, mark their positions. This eastern walk was 
 21 feet 6 inches wide. The opposite, or western one, was 
 some 19 feet 6 inches ; that on the south, 14 feet ; and the 
 north one, adjoining the church, and which was usually 
 the Reading-Cloister, may also have been 14 feet. Thus, 
 we would have an enclosed space or Garth, 100 feet square. 
 
 Beside the Refectory lay the Kitchen, which was a small 
 building, and around it are the ruins of smaller structures, 
 which may have been store-rooms in connection with it. 
 Under the Kitchen ran a copious stream of water which 
 carried off all the refuse. It is remarkable that at 
 Clairvaux similar remains are found in exactly the same 
 position relatively to the Kitchen there. With the 
 Cistercians, the Kitchen was always square ; with the 
 Benedictines, it was round. To the rere of the Kitchen, 
 and almost directly opposite the covered passage, is the 
 old well which was covered over for a long time, but was 
 discovered, and re-opened in 1832. Near it a portion of 
 the old wall fell in, but the masonry, owing to the singu- 
 larly cohesive character of the mortar, holds together 
 despite the action of the elements.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 29 
 
 Of the western walk of the Cloister no trace remains, 
 and only a tottering wall of the Domus Conversorum, 
 which once adjoined it, is standing. There is no trace 
 either of the northern walk, though this was the most 
 important of all. There the monks read and copied, in 
 cells called " carrols," which were placed near the windows. 
 When not employed in chanting the Masses and Offices in 
 the church, or busied with domestic concerns, or working 
 in the fields, the monks passed all their intervals here 
 occupied with study. The Abbot had a chair here also ; 
 and, from a raised pulpit opposite it, one of the monks 
 read aloud every evening, the lecture before Compline, at 
 which the whole community assisted. 
 
 Turning westward and approaching the Eiver Mattock, 
 we enter, at the left, an enclosed space, bounded by the 
 river on one side, and by the remains of the outer wall of 
 the Domus Conversorum on the other, we find ourselves 
 in a potato garden, which, on close observation, appears 
 strewn with pieces of bones. This was "God's Acre" at 
 Mellifont, the cemetery of the monks. Some forty or 
 fifty years ago, a Scotchman, who then rented the mill and 
 a farm adjoining it, perceiving that the clay of this old 
 cemetery was particularly rich and loamy, dug a spit off it 
 a foot deep or more, and carted it out on his fields for 
 top-dressing. Amongst the stuff so carted were human 
 bones of all kinds, skulls, etc. ! ! ! This was done in a 
 Christian land, and no protesting voice was raised against 
 the horrid profanation ! ! The cemetery is shown in the 
 general view at the extreme left, where the plot of ground 
 appears laid out in ridges and surrounded by a wall. 
 
 The Eiver Mattock flows peacefully still by the old 
 abbey as it did over seven centuries ago, when its course 
 being first arrested, it was harnessed and compelled to 
 take its share in many useful and profitable industries.
 
 80 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 One old solitary yew tree casts its shadow on its water 
 and bears it company amid the surrounding ruin and 
 desolation — sad and sympathising witnesses of Mellifont's 
 fallen greatness. No bridge now spans the river here, 
 though formerly it was probably arched over, and the 
 slopes upon the Meath side were laid out in terraces and 
 gardens. The present mill was built over one hundred 
 years ago, together with some out-offices; the latter, 
 being situated almost midway in the nave of the church, 
 were removed when the excavations were made. The 
 mill has not been worked during the last thirty years. 
 When Mr. Armstrong wrote his interesting papers on 
 Mellifont, in the Dublin Penny Journal, 1832-33, a few 
 cabins nestled under the shadow of the old ruins. 
 
 The last building that deserves notice is the small 
 ruined edifice on the hill, which, after the suppression of 
 the monastery, was used as a Protestant place of worsliip. 
 Sir William Wilde was of opinion that it dates from the 
 fourteenth or fifteenth century. The western gable which 
 rises in the centre into a double belfry contains a pointed 
 door-way, and above, but not immediately over this, is a 
 double round-arched window. One small narrow light 
 occupies the eastern gable. At a few paces in front of 
 this building there stood, at the time Sir William 
 examined it, two very plain and very ancient crosses, one 
 having a heart engraven on it encircled by a crown of 
 thorns, and the other having a fleur de lis on the arm. 
 The latter cross has disappeared, but the former can still 
 be seen prostrate on the ground, in that half of the old 
 cemetery beyond the road-way, that is, on the side to the 
 south. After the suppression, this was used as a Protestant 
 burial-ground, though the presence of Catholic emblems 
 would go to prove that it was once Catholic. Of late 
 years the interments here have been but few. We are
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 31 
 
 nowhere told, nor does any tradition still linger to 
 indicate the former use of this ancient building, but it is 
 most probable, that it was the church in which the tenants 
 and dependants of the Abbey assisted at Mass and other 
 religious functions — in a word, that it was the parish 
 church of Mellifont, which was served hy the monks. 
 This seems to be the most likely explanation ; for the law 
 of " Enclosure," that law of the Church which debarred 
 females from entering within the monastic enclosure, 
 ("Septa monasterW^ as it is called), was in full force at 
 the Dissolution of monasteries, as appears from the 
 Decrees of the General Chapters of the Order about that 
 time, and also from the Episcopal Registers of some of the 
 English dioceses which have lately been published. In 
 these latter are found reports of the bishops, who, either 
 officially or by delegation, visited some monasteries and 
 adverted to the law of enclosure as an important point of 
 monastic discipline. This old structure, then, would have 
 been constructed purposely outside the wall for the use of 
 the tenants. Such a chapel is still to be seen outside the 
 enclosure at Bordesley Abbey, an old Cistercian monastery 
 in Worcestershire, of which we are expressly told, that it 
 was the place in which the monks, tenants, domestics, etc., 
 attended Mass. Another purpose may be assigned to this 
 old chapel at Mellifont, as that attached to the College, or 
 Seminary, which once flourished there. The surrounding 
 hill is locally and traditionally known as College-Hill, and 
 the old road which passes over it and leads to Townley 
 Hall, is called the College Road. 
 
 Little more remains to be said of the ruins or of the 
 site itself. Standing on this hill and looking into the 
 valley beneath, we are struck by its singular natural 
 features. It would seem as if the waters of the Mattock 
 had been suddenly dammed up, and that the pent-up
 
 82 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 waters, bursting their barriers, hollowed out this sheltered 
 little valley, after the angry element had cleared away the 
 rocks and other obstructions ; and having swept it clear of 
 the rubbish, made it a fit and proper place whereon to 
 rear a temple to the true God, in which praise and sacri- 
 fice might for ever be offered to Him. No buildings seem 
 to have been constructed on the Meath side, as no traces 
 of them remain. In this, Mellifont differed from Clair- 
 vaux, whose buildings filled the valley and spread out 
 wings high up the hills on either side of the River Aube. 
 Just due south from where we have been standing, on 
 the hill, and distant about a few hundred yards, the Guide 
 will show a singular earth- work, shaped. like a moat, and 
 having an elevated mound in the centre. From the 
 presence here of old conduits built with masonry, there 
 can be no doubt that this was a reservoir to contain a 
 copious supply of water which flowed from wells on the 
 hill. Lower down than this moat, that is, at the rere of 
 the Chapter-house, lies buried beneath some feet of soil 
 the Abbot's house, where Mellifont's puissant rulers 
 received their guests, and whose hospitable board was 
 honoured by the presence of kings and bishops, as well as 
 chiefs and warriors bold in all their pomp and panoply. 
 It is doubtful that any vestige of the enclosure wall 
 remains, nor can it be conjectured even, what, or how 
 much, space it embraced. As we ponder over the scene, 
 Keats' words find an echo in our hearts: — 
 
 " How changed, alas ! from that revered abode 
 Graced by proud majesty in ancient days. 
 Where monks recluse those sacred pavements trod, - 
 And taught the unlettered world its Maker's praise."
 
 MELLTFONT ABBEY. 33 
 
 CHAPTER II. 
 
 ST. MALACHY FOUNDS MELLIFONT. 
 
 'Pray for my soul. More things are wrought by prayer 
 Than this worhl dreams of. Wherefore let thy voice 
 Rise like a fountain for me night and day, 
 For what are men better than sheep and goats, 
 That nourish a blind life within the brain. 
 If, knowing God, they lift not hands of prayer 
 Both for themselves and those who call them friend ? 
 For so the whole round earth is every way 
 Bound by gold chains about the feet of God." 
 
 (Lord Tennijson. ) 
 
 T the time that Saints Robert, Alberic, and 
 Stephen Harding were laying the founda- 
 tion of the Cistercian Order, in the dense 
 forest of Cistercium, or Citeaux, whence the 
 Order derives its name, or to be more 
 precise, in 1098, a lovely little boy eight years 
 old, with golden hair and dove-like eyes, and 
 ■with nobility of birth stamped in every lineament of his 
 features, was playing in his father's chateau at Fontaines, 
 near Dijon, in France. This child of predilection was the 
 great St. Bernard, who is justly styled the Propagator of 
 that Order which was then in a struggling condition. It 
 has become a proverb, "that the child is father of the 
 man," and a very clever writer exclaims — " Blessed is the 
 man whose infancy has been watched over, kindled, and 
 penetrated by the eyes of a tender and holy mother." It 
 was St. Bernard's singular privilege to have such a 
 mother, one who sedulously watched over his youthful 
 
 c
 
 34) MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 days, and inspired him with a love of all virtues. Hence 
 we are told, that even in early childhood, he evinced a 
 love of piety that was remarkable, and that he constituted 
 his mother the grand model which he was hound to copy. 
 He considered it the summit of his ambition to do all 
 things like his mother — to pray like her, to give alms and 
 visit the sick poor like her; for this noble lady was wont 
 to go along the roads unattended, carrying medicine and 
 nourishment to the indigent. He distinguished himself 
 at the public school where he received his education, and 
 returned to the paternal mansion where he soon after 
 experienced his first great sorrow in the death of his 
 loving mother. He was now approaching manhood, and 
 he must needs select a state of life befitting his high 
 birth. At that time, only two professions were worthy of 
 the consideration of young noblemen — the Church or the 
 Army. With Bernard's distinguished talents, a bright 
 and rosy future presented itself before his youthful 
 imagination, and then the eloquent persuasions of his 
 relatives, who promised him their powerful patronage, 
 were not wanting to arouse his ambition ; but, the image 
 of his saintly mother dispelled all dreams of promotion, 
 and her pious instructions, which sank deep into his young 
 heart, acted as potent antidotes against the allurements of 
 worldly pomp and short-lived honours. After much 
 reflection he made up his mind to renounce ail honours, 
 and to become a monk. By his irresistible pleadings he 
 gained over his four brothers, with other relatives and 
 friends, to the number of thirty, and at their head, 
 presented himself at the gate of the Abbey of Citeaux, 
 where St. Stephen Harding joyfully admitted them. Two 
 years later we find him leaving that monastery as the 
 Abbot of a new colony, on his way to found Clairvaux, 
 being then in his twenty-fifth year. Here, his light could
 
 36 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 no longer remain hidden, but burst forth into a luminous 
 flame whose splendour aroused and powerfully influenced 
 the whole Christian world. The Bishop of Chalons, in 
 whose diocese Clairvaux was situated, was the first to 
 discover the transcendent abilities and eloquence of the 
 youthful Abbot. At his request, St. Bernard consented to 
 deliver a course of sermons in the churches of his diocese, 
 which were productive of incalculable good, and spread 
 the fame of the zealous preacher. Priests as well as 
 laymen, attached themselves to him and accompanied him 
 to Clairvaux on his return from those missions. One of 
 the Saint's biographers cries out — " How many learned 
 men, how many nobles and great ones of this earth, how 
 many philosophers have passed from the schools or 
 academies of the world to Clairvaux to give themselves 
 up to ihe meditation of heavenly things and the practice 
 of a divine morality." His fame reached even to Ireland, 
 and we are told that in this country the little children 
 were wont to ask for the badge of the Crusaders which 
 the Saint distributed. In a word, his voice was the most 
 authoritative in Europe. Kings and princes dreaded him, 
 and accepted him as arbitrator in their quarrels. Even 
 Popes themselves sought his counsel. In his lifetime, his 
 own disciple, Bernard of Pisa, occupied the Chair of Peter, 
 as Eugenius III. It may be truthfully said, that St. 
 Bernard reformed Europe and infused a new spirit into 
 the monastic orders. Even Luther does not hesitate to 
 place him in the forefront of all monks who lived in his 
 time; of him he writes: "Melius nee vixit nee scripsit 
 quis in universe coetu monachorum." 
 
 Whilst the Church in France was reaping the benefit 
 of the holy Abbot's preaching and example, a zealous 
 Irish prelate was actively and successfully eugaged in 
 eradicating vice which sprang up in this country, as a
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 37 
 
 consequence of the long-protracted wars with the Danes, 
 and the demoralising effects of intercourse with that 
 people. Nevertheless, Ireland had then its saints and 
 scholars, and the ancient seats of learning, such as 
 Armagh, Bangor, Lismore, Clonard, and Clonmacnoise 
 were once more inhabited by numerous communities. 
 This saintly prelate was St. Malachy, who, being on his 
 way to Rome, heard of the sanctity of the great St. 
 Bernard, and would fain pay him a visit. This visit 
 would St. Malachy have gladly prolonged ; for then and 
 there sprang up a mutual affection, which, writes our own 
 Tom Moore, " reflects credit on both." St. Malachy was 
 so enamoured with what he witnessed at Clairvaux, and 
 particularly with the wise discourses of the learned 
 Abbot, that he determined to become one of his disciples. 
 Innocent IL, who then ruled the flock of Christ, on 
 the Saint seeking his permission to retire to Clairvaux, 
 would not hearken to his request, but giving him many 
 marks of his esteem, appointed him his Legate in 
 Ireland, and commanded him to return thither. If 
 St. Malachy might not live at Clairvaux in the midst of 
 the fervent men whom he there beheld earnestly intent 
 in the great work of mortification and expiation, he 
 resolved, at least, to have a colony of them near him in 
 his own country, that by their prayers and example, they 
 might promote God's glory, and in a measure, repeat the 
 glorious traditions of the ancient monastic ages in 
 Ireland. In furtherance of this happy project, he singled 
 out four of his travelling companions, whom he gave in 
 charge to St. Bernard, with these words: "I most 
 earnestly conjure you to retain these disciples, and 
 instruct them in all the duties and observances of the 
 religious profession, that, hereafter they may be able to 
 teach us." On receiving an assurance of a hearty
 
 38 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 compliance from St. Bernard, he took cordial leave of his 
 friend and returned to Ireland. Not long after he sent 
 more of his disciples to join those whom he had already 
 left at Clairvaux, and on their arrival, St. Bernard wrote 
 as follows : " The Brothers who have come from a distant 
 land, your letter and the staff you sent me, have afforded 
 me much consolation in the midst of the many anxieties 
 and cares that harass me. . . . Meanwhile, according to 
 the wisdom bestowed on you by the Almighty, select and 
 prepare a place for their reception, which shall he 
 secluded from the tumults of the world, and after the 
 model of those localities which you have seen amongst 
 us." The place selected by St. Malachy as the site of 
 the future monastery, was the sequestered valley watered 
 by the River Mattock, situated about three and one half 
 miles from Drogheda, Co. Louth, and much resembling 
 Clairvaux, which, too, was located in a valley, shut in by 
 little hills on all sides. Donogh O'CarrolI, Prince of 
 Oriel, the lord of the territory, freely granted the site to 
 God and SS. Peter and Paul, munificently endowed the 
 monastery with many broad acres, and supplied wood 
 and stone for the erection of the buildings. This grant 
 was made in either 1140 or 1141. The charter of 
 endowment by O'Carroll has not been found. 
 
 It would appear from another letter of St. Bernard 
 to St. Malachy, that he had sent some monks from 
 Clairvaux to make preparations for those w^ho were to 
 immediately follow, and that already their number was 
 augmented at Mellifont by the accession of new members 
 from the surrounding district, who had joined them on 
 their appearance in that locality. In this same letter St. 
 Bernard writes : " We send back to you your dearly- 
 beloved son and ours. Christian, as fully instructed as was 
 possible in those rules which regard our Order, hoping.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 39 
 
 moreover, that he will henceforth prove solicitous for 
 their observance." This Christian is commonly supposed 
 to have been archdeacon of the diocese of Down. He 
 was certainly first Abbot of Mellifont, and his name shall 
 turn up in connection with important national events 
 later on. With Christian came a certain Brother Robert, 
 a Frenchman, a skilful architect, who constructed the 
 monastery after the model of Clairvaux. 
 
 That these were the pioneers of the Cistercian Order 
 in Ireland cannot for one moment be doubted, both from 
 the very important fact, that the Abbot of Mellifont took 
 precedence of all the Abbots of his Order in this country, 
 and also, because it is an historical fact, that St. Mary's 
 Abbey, Dublin, the other claimant for priority, did not 
 exchange the Benedictine for the Cistercian Rule till, 
 at earliest, 1148, when the Abbot of Savigni in France, 
 with the thirty houses of his Order (Benedictine) subject 
 to his jurisdiction, were admitted into the Cistercian 
 family by Pope Eugenius III., who presided at the 
 General Chapter of the Cistercians that year. St. Mary's 
 was founded from Buildewas, in Shropshire, and this 
 latter was subject to Savigni. 
 
 Various reasons are assigned for the adoption by these 
 ancient monks of the name Mellifont, which signifies 
 " The Honey Fountain." Some are of opinion it had a 
 spiritual signification, and had reference to the abundance 
 of blessings which would flow, and be diffused over the 
 whole country from this centre, through the unceasing 
 and fervent intercessory prayer of its holy inmates; for 
 next to their own sanctification, their neighbour's wants 
 claimed and received their practical sympathy. Like 
 divine charity it gushed forth from hearts totally devoted 
 to God's service and interests, and this zeal would be 
 halting and incomplete did it not embrace the spiritual
 
 40 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 and temporal concerns of their fellow mortals. Others 
 derive the name from a limpid spring which supplied the 
 monks with a copious, unfailing stream of sweet water, 
 which had its source in Mellifont Park about one quarter 
 of a mile distant, and which was conducted V)y pipes 
 through the various parts of the monastery. This seems 
 a very plausible account, and as the spring rose at a high 
 level, it had sufficient pressure to obviate the necessity 
 of a cistern as was erroneously supposed in connection 
 with the Lavabo. 
 
 It was customary with the old Irish Cistercians to give 
 their monasteries symbolical names at their foundation, 
 and these names often denoted some local feature or 
 peculiarity. Thus, Newry was called of the " Green 
 Wood," from the abundance of yew trees around the 
 monastery there; Corcomroe, Co. Clare, was known under 
 the title of the " Fertile Rock ;" Baltinglas, Co. Wicklow, 
 as the "Valley of Salvation," etc. 
 
 It is said that the " Honey Fountain" had its source 
 in Mellifont Park, but it seems that few of the present 
 generation living in the vicinity of Mellifont know or 
 appreciate its virtues. In the Ordnance Survey, it is 
 stated that it rose in Mellifont Park, which was formerly 
 a wood, and that to the north of the well, a few trees still 
 remained at the time of the Survey, when the farm 
 belonged to a Mr. James Curran.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 41 
 
 CHAPTER III. 
 
 AN EPITOME OF THE RULE OBSERVED AT MELLIFONT AT ITS 
 FOUNDATION AND FOR ABOUT A CENTURY AND A HALF 
 AFTERWARDS. 
 
 " Here man more purely lives ; less oft doth fall ; 
 More promptly rises ; walks with stricter heed ; 
 More safely rests ; dies happier ; is freed 
 Earlier fi'om cleansing fires ; and gains withal 
 A brighter crown." 
 
 (^Saint Bernard.) 
 
 'N the foregoing verses St. Bernard sum- 
 marises the manifold advantages accruing 
 from the profession and practice of the 
 rule which he and his fellow abbots drew up 
 for their followers. In that age of chivalry 
 yj j^ and wide extremes, men's minds were profoundly 
 moved by the world-wide reputation and dis- 
 courses of an outspoken, fearless monk, who confirmed his" 
 words by incontestable and stupendous miracles. Then, 
 it was nothing unusual to see the impious sinner of 
 yesterday become a meek repentant suppliant for 
 admission into some monastery to-day, where he could 
 expiate and atone for his former grievous excesses. The 
 innocent, also, sought the shelter of the cloister from the 
 contaminating influences of a corrupt and corrupting 
 world ; and in the spirit of sacrifice presented themselves 
 as victims to God's outraged justice. At that same 
 period, that is, about the middle of the twelfth century, 
 there was witnessed an unwonted movement towards
 
 42 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 monasticism in its regenerated condition, as the Church 
 Annals abundantly testify. This happy tendency was 
 mainly due to St. Bernard's influence and popularity, and 
 was well illustrated by the saying of the historian : 
 " The whole world became Cistercian." 
 
 In essaying to reform St, Benedict's Rule, the first 
 Fathers of the Cistercian Order sought only to restore its 
 primitive simplicity and austerity, but they, nevertheless, 
 added some wise provisions which established their reform 
 on a firm basis, and which the experience of ages proved 
 to be indispensable. First of all, it was ordained, that all 
 houses of the Order should be united under one central 
 controlling power, and that all the Superiors should meet 
 annually for deliberation on matters appertaining to the 
 maintenance of discipline and the correction of abuses. 
 This assembly w^as called the General Chapter, over 
 which the Abbot of Citeaux presided as recognised head 
 of the Order. Till then, no such institution existed, and 
 an Abbot General, as we may call him, had it in his 
 power, from incapacity or any other cause, to disorganise 
 a whole Order. Under the General Chapter such a 
 catastrophe Avas impossible. Besides this wise enactment, 
 St. Stephen drew up what he called the " Chart of 
 Charity," by which it was ordained that the abbot of a 
 monastery who had filiations (that is, offshoots or houses 
 founded directly from that monastery) subject to him, 
 should visit them annually either in person or by proxy, 
 and minutely inquire into their spiritual, disciplinary, 
 and financial condition. The abbots of those filiations 
 were bound to return the visit during the year; but 
 they did so in quality of guest and not as "Visitor," the 
 official title of the Abbot of the Parent House ; or, 
 " Immediate Father," as he is called. Thus the bands of 
 discipline were kept tightly drawn, and harmony, with
 
 I
 
 44 Ml'JLLlFONT AliBEY, 
 
 uniformity of observance, was maintained throughout the 
 entire Order, 
 
 The denizens of the Cloister at that time consisted of 
 two great classes, who, indeed, enjoyed alike all the 
 advantages of the state, but differed in their functions 
 and employments. One was busied with the cares of 
 Martha, the other was admitted to the privilege of 
 Mary. The former were employed chiefly in domestic 
 duties, and various trades, and were entrusted with the 
 charge of the granges or outlying farms. These were 
 the Lay Brothers. Frequently their ranks were aug- 
 mented by the noble and the learned, who, unnoticed and 
 unknown till their holy death, guided the plough, delved 
 the soil, or tended the sheep and oxen in the glades of 
 the forest. The other class resided in the monastery and 
 devoted their time to the chanting of the Divine Office, 
 alternating with study in the Cloister and manual labour 
 in the fields and gardens. These were the choir monks. 
 Their dress was white. By vigorous toil and strict 
 economy, these good old monks wrested a competency 
 from their farms, and freely shared their substance with 
 the needy and the stranger. They exhibited to an 
 astonished world a practical refutation of its corrupt 
 maxims and habits. Thus by their very lives, they 
 preached most efficaciously ; for by their contempt of 
 worldly honours and pleasures they gave proof abun- 
 dant of the faith that enlightened them to recognise 
 the sublimity of the Gospel truths ; of the hope that 
 sustained them to courageously endure temporal privations 
 for the sake of future rewards; and of the charity that 
 prompted them to liken themselves to Jesus Christ, their 
 Master, who, being rich, became poor for their sakes. 
 Some may be inclined to consider all this as the effect of 
 monkish extravagance, weak-mindedness, and folly ; but
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 45 
 
 modern investigation, instituted and carried to a success- 
 ful issue by honest Protestant writers, has brushed aside 
 such calumnies as hackneyed catch-words, and has proved 
 that beneath the monk's cowl, there were found hearts as 
 warm and minds as broad as in any state or grade of 
 society. It must also be remembered, that for centuries 
 the monks were the teachers Avho moulded and fashioned 
 the youth of the upper and middle classes. 
 
 Two o'clock A.M. was the usual hour for rising, when 
 the monks, obedient to the Sacristan's signal, rising 
 from their straw pallets and slipping on their sandals (for 
 they slept fully dressed, as the poorer classes of the time 
 are said to have done,) they left the Dormitory by the 
 stairs that led down to the southern transept, and 
 proceeding noiselessly, they reached the Choir where 
 they immediately renewed the oblation uf themselves to 
 God. Then the Office of Matins was commenced, and 
 it Avith Lauds occupied about one hour. On solemn 
 festivals the monks rose at midnight, and the Office lasted 
 over three hours ; for then the whole of it was sung. 
 Matins and Lauds over, they proceeded to the Reading- 
 cloister to study the Psalms, or Sacred Scripture, or the 
 Fathers: some prolonged their devotions in the church," 
 where with clean, uplifted hands, tliey became powerful 
 mediators betw^een God and His creatures; too many of 
 whom, alas, ignore their personal obligations. At that 
 time, too, the priests might celebrate their Masses, as the 
 ancient Rule gave them liberty to select that hour if they 
 felt so inclined. We do not know how many priests were 
 amongst the Religious at Mellifont soon after its establish- 
 ment, but they must have numbered about twenty, since 
 there were ten altars in the church. And judging by the 
 number of priests in other monasteries of the Order at that 
 period, this figure is not too high. "We know that in
 
 4G MELLIFONT AUIJEY. 
 
 1147, there were fifty priests at least at Poutigny, 
 one of the four first houses of the Order. About five 
 o'clock the monks assembled ia Choir for Prime, after 
 which they went to Chapter, where the Martyrology and 
 portion of the Rule were sung, as has been already ex- 
 plained. Chapter over, they entered the Auditorium, where 
 they took off and hung up their cowls, and each went 
 thence to the manual labour assigned him by the Prior. 
 In winter, nearly all went out to work in the fields, grubb- 
 ing up brushwood and burning it, and so preparing the 
 ground for cultivation. After some hours spent in labour, 
 they returned to the monastery where they had time for 
 reading ; they then went to Choir for Tierce and High 
 Mass. During winter the Mass was sung before going out 
 to work. In summer they dined at 11.30, after which 
 an hour was allowed for repose, and None being sung they 
 resumed their labour in the fields. In winter, dinner was 
 at half-past two; the evening was spent in study and in 
 chanting the Offices of Vespers and Compline, and at 
 seven they retired to rest. Ia summer the hour for 
 repose was eight o'clock. The Office of Completoriura or 
 Compline always closed the exercises of the day, and all 
 passed before the Abbot, from whom they received holy 
 water as they left the church. Each went straight to his 
 simple couch where sweet repose awaited him after his 
 day of toil and penitential works. His frugal vegetable 
 fare, without seasoning or condiment, barely sufficed for 
 the wants of nature, and even this was sparingly doled 
 out to him ; for during the winter exercises, that is, from 
 the 14th of September to Easter, he got only one refection 
 daily except on Sundays, when he always got two. Wine, 
 though allowed in small quantities at meals in countries 
 where it was the common drink, was not permitted here, 
 but in its stead, the monks used beer of their own
 
 L_ 
 
 <r..' 
 
 .,...>,ti>i^^^i>:^^-'^ 
 
 From Photo by W. Lawrence, Dublin. 
 
 Arch of Lavabo (Octagon.) See p. 26.
 
 48 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 brewing. Their raiment consisted of a white woollen 
 tunic of coarse material and a strip of black cloth over the 
 shoulders, and reaching to below the knees, gathered in at 
 the waist with a leathern girdle. Over these, when not 
 employed in manual labour, was worn the long white 
 oarment with wide sleeves, called the cowl. The tunic was 
 the ordinary dress of peasantry in the twelfth century, and 
 was retained by the reformers of St. Benedict's Rule, partly 
 because it was the prescribed dress of the monks, and 
 partly as an incentive to humility ; a mark of the perfect 
 equality which reigned in monasteries, and which removed 
 all distinction of class. 
 
 Such was the ordinary routine of life led at Mellifont, 
 but then certain officials filled important offices which 
 necessarily brought them in constant contact with the 
 outer world. Such, for instance, was the Cellarer, who 
 had charge under the Abbot of the temporalities of the 
 monastery, and catered for all the wants of the com- 
 munity. Some were deputed to wait on the guests and 
 strangers, while others cared the sick poor in the hospice 
 with all charity and tenderness. For the maintenance 
 of the sick poor large tracts of land or revenues arising 
 from house-property were very often bequeathed by pious 
 people, and the monks were then their almoners ; but, 
 with or without such a provision from outside, the 
 monks did maintain these establishments from their 
 own resources. 
 
 The Abbot entertained the guests of the monastery at 
 his own table, dispensing to them such frugal fare as was 
 in keeping with the Rule ; for meat was not allowed to 
 be served, except to the sick. He had his kitchen and 
 dining-hall apart, but in every other respect, he shared 
 in all the exercises with his brethren. Though he 
 occupied the place of honour and of pre-eminence in the
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 49 
 
 monastery, yet he was constantly reminded in the Rule, 
 that he must not lord it over his monks, hut must 
 cherish them as a tender parent. His object in all his 
 ordinances should be to promote the welfare of the flock 
 entrusted to him, for which he should render an account 
 on the last day. 
 
 From this relation of the manner of life at Mellifont, 
 we see that it was in strict conformity with St. Bernard's 
 definition of the Cistercian Institute, when he writes : 
 " Our Order is humility, peace, and joy in the Holy 
 Ghost, Our Order is silence, fasting, prayer, and labour, 
 and above all, to hold the more excellent way, which is 
 charity." 
 
 I>
 
 50 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 CHAPTER IV. 
 
 MELLIFONT TAKES ROOT AND FOUNDS NEW HOUSES OF THE 
 
 ORDER. 
 
 "Even thus of old 
 : Our ancestors, within the still domain 
 
 Of vast Cathedral or Conventual church, 
 
 Their vigils kept ; where tapers day and night 
 
 On the dim altars burned continually, 
 
 In token that the House was evermore 
 
 Watching to God. Religious men were they ; 
 
 Nor Avould their reason tutored to aspire 
 
 Above this transitory world, allow 
 
 That there should pass a moment of the year 
 
 When in their land the Almighty's service ceased." 
 
 ( Wordsworth.) 
 
 ;HE history of Mellifont may be justly said 
 to reflect the concurrent history of Ireland. 
 It is so intimately connected and inter- 
 woven with that of our countr}-, that they 
 touch at many points, and we can collect 
 matter for both as we travel back along the 
 stream of time and observe the footprints on 
 the sands, where saint, and king, chieftain, bishop, and 
 holy monk, have left their impress and disappeared, to 
 be succeeded later on by the baron and his armed 
 retainers. How different the Ireland of to-day from the 
 Ireland that Christian, the first Abbot of Mellifont, 
 beheld when he and his companions settled down in the 
 little valley, in the laud of the O'Carroll ! How many 
 changes have passed over it since, leaving it the poorest 
 country in Europe, though one of the richest in natural
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 51 
 
 resources ! But these considerations appertain to the 
 politician ; they do not lie within the scope of the present 
 writer. Next to building their church and monastery, 
 the first care of the monks on their immediate arrival at 
 Mellifont, w^as to prepare the soil for tillage; for, judging 
 from the nature of the surroundings, it must have been 
 overrun with dense brushwood, unbroken, save at distant 
 intervals, by patches of green sward. Most houses of the 
 Order in Ireland had to contend with similar conditions 
 at their foundation ; of Dunhrody, Co. Wexford, we are 
 expressly told, that the monk sent by the Abbot of 
 Buildewas to examine the site of the future monastery, 
 found on it only a solitary oak surrounded by a sivamp. 
 But these old monks were adepts in the reclamation of 
 waste lands, and soon the hills rang with the instruments 
 of husbandry. Pleasant gardens and fertile meadows 
 rewarded their toil, and their example gave a stimulus to 
 agriculture, which, till then, was neglected by a pastoral 
 people. At the same time, they manufactured bricks in 
 the locality, and employed them in their buildings. 
 Then rumour on her many wings flew far and near, and 
 spread the fame of the new-comers to that remote valley, 
 and soon the monastery was crowded with visitors intent 
 on seeing the strangers and observing closely their 
 manner of life. The sight pleased them. The ways of 
 these monks accorded with the traditions handed down 
 of the inhabitants of the ancient monasteries, before the 
 depredations of the Danes, and the hearts of a highly 
 imaginative race, with quick spiritual instincts, were 
 attracted towards St. Bernard's children. Immediately 
 began an influx of postulants for the Cistercian habit, and 
 every day brought more, till the stalls in the Choir were 
 filled, and Abbot Christian's heart overflowed with glad- 
 ness. In consultation with St. Malachy, Abbot Christian
 
 52 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 decided on founding another monastery, as his own could 
 no longer contain the now greatly-increased community. 
 A new colony was sent forth from it, and thus in two 
 years from the foundation of Mellifont, was established 
 ** Bective on the Boyne." Some say that Newry, which 
 was endowed by Maurice M'Loughlin, King of Ireland, at 
 St. Malachy's earnest entreaty, was the first filiation of 
 Mellifont. The charter of its (Newry) foundation happily 
 has come down to us, but it bears no date. However, 
 O'Donovan, who translated it into English from the Latin 
 original in MS. in the British Museum, says it was 
 written in IIGO. As it is the only extant charter granted 
 to a monastery by a native king before the Invasion, a 
 copy of the translation is given in the Appendix. 
 
 Under the patronage, then, of St. Malachy and the 
 native princes, and by the skill, industry, and piety of its 
 inmates, Mellifont rose and prospered, and merited an 
 exalted place in popular esteem. The monastery was in 
 course of construction, and their new church nearing 
 completion, when a heavy trial befell the monks in the 
 death of their unfailing friend, wise counsellor, and loved 
 father, St. Malachy, which took place at Clairvaux, in the 
 arms of St. Bernard, A.D. 1148. St. Bernard delivered a 
 most pathetic discourse over the remains of his friend, 
 and wrote a consoling letter to the Irish Cistercians, 
 condoling with them on the loss they and the whole 
 Irish Church had sustained on the death of St. Malachy. 
 He, later on, wrote his life, and willed, that as they 
 tenderly loved each other in life, so in death they should 
 not be separated. Their tombs were side by side in the 
 church of Clairvaux, till their relics, enshrined in 
 magnificent altars, with many costly lamps burning before 
 them, were scattered at the French Revolution, and the 
 rich shrines were smashed and plundered. Portions of
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 53 
 
 their bodies were, however, preserved by the good, pious 
 people of the locality, and their heads are now preserved 
 with honour in the cathedral of Troyes, France. The 
 writers of the Cistercian Order claim St. Malachy as 
 having belonged to them ; for, they say that being 
 previously a Benedictine, he received the Cistercian habit 
 from St. Bernard during one of his visits to Clairvaux. 
 They add that St. Bernard exchanged cowls with him, 
 and that he wore St. Malachy 's ever after on solemn 
 festivals. The Saint's life is so well known that it needs 
 no further notice here. Before his death, he saw three 
 houses founded from Mellifont, namely, Bective, Newry, 
 and Boyle. 
 
 Two years after St. Malachy's death, that is, in 1150, 
 the monks of Mellifont experienced another serious loss 
 when their venerated Abbot, Christian, was appointed 
 Bishop of Lismore, and Legate of the Holy See in 
 Ireland, by Pope Eugenius III., who had been his fellow- 
 novice in Clairvaux. Christian's brother, Malchus, was 
 elected to the abbatial office in his stead. Malchus 
 proved himself a very worthy superior, and Mellifont 
 continued on her prosperous coarse, so much so, that in 
 1151, or nine years from its own. establishment, it could 
 reckon as many as six important filiations, namely, 
 Bective, Newry, Boyle, Athlone, Baltinglas, and Manister, 
 or Manisternenay, Co. Limerick. 
 
 In 1152, St. Bernard passed to his reward, after having 
 founded IGO houses of his Order, having edified Christen- 
 dom by the splendour of his virtues, and astonished it by 
 his rare natural gifts, which elevated him far above all 
 his contemporaries. From the moment that he accepted 
 the pastoral staff as Abbot of Clairvaux, till his death, 
 that is, during the space of forty years, he was the figure- 
 head of his Order in whom its whole history was merged
 
 54 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 during that long period. In fact, he became so identified 
 with the Order to which he belonged, that it was often 
 called from him, Bernardine ; or, of Claraval, from his 
 famous monastery; and it was in a great measure owing 
 to his influence, and in grateful acknowledgment of the 
 splendid services which he rendered the Church in 
 critical times, that Sovereign Pontiffs heaped so many 
 favours on it. He was the fearless and successful 
 champion of the oppressed in all grades of society, and 
 all looked up to him as their guide and instructor. And 
 yet this paragon of wisdom, this stern judge of the evil- 
 doer, was remarkable for his naturalness and affectionate 
 disposition. On the occasion of his brother Gerard's 
 death, he attempted to preach a continuation of bis 
 discourses on the Canticle of Canticles, but his affection 
 for his brother overcame him, and after giving vent to his 
 grief, he delivered a most touching panegyric on his 
 beloved Gerard. To the last moment of his life he 
 entertained a most vivid recollection of his mother, and 
 cherished the tenderest affection towards her memory. 
 It may be doubted, that any child of the Church ever 
 defended her cause with such loyalty and success. One 
 stands amazed on readijig what the Rev. Mr. King writes 
 in his Church History of Ireland, where he taxes St. 
 Bernard with superstition, because the Saint relates in 
 his Life of St. Malachy, how that holy man wrought 
 certain miracles. So evident were St. Bernard's own 
 miracles, that Luden, a German Protestant historian, 
 calls them "incontestable." 'Twere supreme folly to 
 accuse a man of St. Bernard's endowments and culture, 
 of the weakness that admits or harbours superstition, 
 which generally flows from ignorance, or incapacity to 
 sift matters, and to test them in their general or parti- 
 cular bearings. Oq the whole, Protestant writers speak 
 and write approvingly of him.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 55 
 
 In that year (1152), a Synod was held at Mell, which, 
 according to Ussher, is identical with Mellifont, though 
 now a suburb of Drogheda is known by that name. 
 Other Irish writers say that this Synod was held at Kells. 
 At it Christian, then Bishop of Lisniore and Legate of 
 the Holy See, presided. In the Annals of the Four 
 Masters it is related, that a "Synod was convened at 
 Drogheda, by the bishops of Ireland, with the successor 
 of Patrick, and the Cardinal, John Paparo," etc. 
 O'Donovan, quoting Colgan, tells us that Mellifont was 
 known as the " Monastery at Drogheda." 
 
 In this same year occurred the elopement of Dervor- 
 gilla, wife of Tiernan O'Rourke, Prince of Brefny, with 
 Dermod M'Murchad, King of Leinster. She is styled 
 the Helen of Erin, as it is commonly supposed that her 
 flight with Dermod occasioned the English Invasion. 
 When O'Rourke heard of her departure, he was " marvel- 
 lously troubled and in great choler, but more grieved for 
 the shame of the fact than for sorrow or hurt, and, 
 therefore, was fully determined to be avenged." It is 
 mentioned in the Annals of Clonmacnois that O'Rourke 
 had treated her harshly some time previous, and that her 
 brother M'Laughliu connived at her conduct. Dervorgilla 
 (which means in Irish, The True Pledge), was forty-four 
 years of age at the time, whilst O'Rourke (who was blind 
 of one eye) and M'Murchad, were each of them sixty-two 
 years old. O'Rourke was the most strenuous opponent 
 of the English at the Invasion, and was treacherously 
 slain by a nephew of Maurice Fitzgerald at the Hill of 
 Ward, near Athboy, in 1172. He was decapitated, and 
 his head hung over the gates of Dublin for some time. 
 It was afterwards sent to King Henry, in England. 
 
 From 1152 to 1157 the monks attracted no attention 
 worth chronicling; for during these five years they
 
 56 MELLIFONT ABBI-Y, 
 
 passed by unnoticed in our Annals. It is, however, 
 certain that they were busily engaged in the completion 
 of their church and in making preparations for its solemn 
 consecration. And what a day of rejoicing that memo- 
 rable day of the consecration was, when Mellifont beheld 
 the highest and holiest in Church and State assembled to 
 do her honour ! This ceremony far eclipsed any that had 
 been witnessed before that in Ireland. What commotion 
 and bustle filled the abbey, the valley, and the sur- 
 rounding hills ! A constantly increasing crowd came 
 thronging to behold a sight which gladdened their hearts 
 and aroused their piety and admiration. For, there stood 
 the Ard High (High King) of Erin, surrounded by his 
 princes and nobles in all the pride and pageantry of state, 
 the Primate Gelasius, and Christian, the Papal Legate, 
 with seventeen other bishops, and almost all the abbots 
 and priests in Ireland. Then the solemn rite was per- 
 formed, and many precious offerings were made to the 
 monks and to their church — gold and lands, cattle, and 
 sacred vessels, and ornaments for the altars, were be- 
 stowed with a generosity worthy of the princely donors. 
 O'Melaghlin gave seven-score cows and three-score ounces 
 of gold to God and the clergy, for the good of his soul. 
 He granted them, also, a townland, called Fiunabhair-na- 
 ninghean, a piece of land, according to O'Donovan, which 
 lies on the south side of the Boyne, opposite the mouth 
 of the Mattock, in the parish of Donore, Co. Meath. 
 O'CarroU gave sixty ounces of gold, and the faithless but 
 now repentant Dervorgilla presented a gold chalice for 
 the High Altar, and cloths for the other nine altars of 
 the church. 
 
 Mellifont looked charming on that propitious occasion, 
 and presented a truly delightful picture, with its beautiful 
 church and abbey buildings glistening in the sun in all the
 
 M ELL 1 FONT ABBEY. 57 
 
 purity and freshness of the white, or nearly white, 
 sandstone of which they were composed. Yet, beautiful 
 as were the material buildings, far more so were those 
 stones of the spiritual edifice, the meek and prayerful 
 cenobites, who were gathered there to adore and serve 
 their God in spirit and in truth. From that valley there 
 arose a pleasing incense to the Lord — the prayers, and 
 hymns, and canticles, which unceasingly resounded in 
 that church from hearts truly devoted to God's worship, 
 and dead to the world and themselves.
 
 58 
 
 MKLI.IKOJST ABBEY. 
 
 CHAPTER V. 
 
 MELLIFONT CONTINUES TO FLOURISH UNDER SUCCESSIVE 
 EMINENT SUPERIORS. 
 
 " This is no common spot of earth, 
 No place for idle words or mirth ; 
 Here streamed the taper's mystic light ; 
 Here flashed the waving censers bright ; 
 Awhile the Church's ancient song 
 Lingered the stately aisles along, 
 And high mysterious words were said 
 Which brought to men the living Bread." 
 
 {W. Chatterton Dix.) 
 
 FTER the consecration of their church the 
 monks settled down to their ordinary- 
 quiet way. The erection of the monastic 
 buildings had hitherto kept them occupied ; 
 now that these were completed, they de- 
 voted their attention to the improvement of 
 their farms, which they tilled with their own 
 hands, and to the embellishment of their immediate 
 surroundings. Even at this early period of her history, 
 Mellifont was a hive of industry where all the trades 
 flourished and many important arts were encouraged. 
 At that time hired labour was sparingly employed by the 
 monks; for they themselves bore a share in the work of 
 the artisans as well as in the ordinary drudgery of tillage^ 
 Labour placed all on a footing of equality whilst it gave 
 vigour to the body by healthy exercise in the open air. 
 Perhaps, this healthy exercise was one of the secrets of 
 the longevity for which the monks were remarkable.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 59 
 
 Regularity of life continued for years contributes to a 
 state of health which dispenses with physicians. Where- 
 ever monks settled down they inomediately erected mills 
 for grinding corn, for preparing and finishing the fabrics 
 of which their garments were made, etc. St. Benedict 
 enjoined on his monks the necessity of practising all the 
 trades and arts within the walls of the monastery, so that 
 they need never leave their enclosure for the purpose, or 
 under the pretext, of having their work done by externs. 
 
 Eleven years passed without Mellifont receiving any 
 notice from our native chroniclers, and then at the year 
 1168, it is recorded, that Prince Donogh O'Carroll, the 
 Founder, died and was buried in the church there. 
 Ware tells us that bis tomb and those of other remark- 
 able personages had been in the church. As it Avas an 
 almost general custom in Ireland, that the Founders of 
 religious houses were interred on the north, or Gospel 
 side of the High Altar, so it may be justly inferred that 
 he was buried within the chancel, and that the recess on 
 the north side is where his monument was erected. 
 Thus, King Charles O'Connor's tomb occupies the same 
 place in Knockmoy Abbey, Co. Galway, of which he was 
 Founder. So, too, in Corcomroe Abbey, Co. Clare, the 
 tomb of Conor O'Brien, King of Thomond, grandson of 
 the Founder of that abbey, is still to be seen in a niche in 
 the wall on the north side of the High Altar. No doubt 
 they were buried under the pavement. The ancient 
 Statutes of the Order permitted kings and bishops to be 
 buried in the churches, but assigned no particular part 
 as proper to them. 
 
 In 1170, a monk named Auliv, who had been expelled* 
 
 * The Annals of Ulster simply state " for the monks of Ireland did 
 banish him (Auliv) out of their abbacy, through lawful causes." The 
 Four Ma><ters tell us it was the monks of Drogheda who had expelled
 
 €0 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 from Mellifont, instigated Manus, the King of Ulster, to 
 commit an " unknown and attrocious crime," as the 
 Annals of the Four blasters call it ; that is, to banish 
 the monks whom St. Malachy brought to Saul, Co. Duwn, 
 and to deprive them of everything they were possessed of. 
 Instances of Avicked men deceitfully entering monasteries, 
 at that time and at other periods of monastic history, are 
 given, but invariably the guilty party is severely censured, 
 and it is related that his fellow-monks rid themselves of 
 him. St. Bernard himself was deceived by his secretary, 
 Nicholas, who afterwards left the Order. " He went out 
 from us," said the Saint, " but he did not belonsf to us." 
 
 The Order was spreading rapidly in Ireland, and the 
 filiations from Mellifont in their turn sent out new 
 filiations, till most of the picturesque valleys in this 
 country sheltered and nurtured thriving establishments ; 
 so much so, that O'Daly tells us " there were twenty-five 
 grand Cistercian abbeys in Ireland at the Invasion." 
 But then a new era dawned on this unhappy nation, and 
 might usurped the place of right, cruel unending strife 
 and fierce jealousies were imported into the country, and 
 it became one vast battle-field. Ireland would have 
 assimilated the two contending races, but their amalga- 
 mation would have been detrimental to English interests 
 in this kingdom, and hence by statute, by bribe, by all 
 means available, the representatives of that Crown only 
 
 him from the abbacy foi" his own crime. A writer iu the Dahlia Penny 
 Journal, ] 835-36, says this Auliv was Abbot of the monastery of St. 
 Mary de Urso, near the West Gate, Drogheda. He quotes some old 
 Annals without particularising them. And Dalton, in his History of 
 Drogheda, tells us that Auliv had been Abbot of that same Abbey of 
 St. Mary's, Drogheda, and was expelled. Dalton evidently confounds 
 this monastery with Mellifont. No Cistercian Community had power 
 to depose their abbot, such power being vested in the General Chapter 
 of the Ordoi .
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 61 
 
 too successfully kept the feuds alive. Fain would they 
 have made the Church an instrument for the furtherance 
 of these ulterior purposes, but, whilst she stood firm as an 
 integral part of Peter's Rock, neither English bribes nor 
 English wiles could subjugate her. True, Englishmen: 
 were appointed to the richest benefices within the Pale to 
 which the Euglish kings had the right of presentatioD, 
 and these strove, with as much zeal as the knight or 
 baron, to extend the boundaries of the shire-lands. But 
 the Irish prelates, by their disinterestedness, and their 
 personal and episcopal virtues, saved the Church from 
 the degradation that imperilled her. We shall see the 
 result of this policy as we proceed. 
 
 Judging, by analogy, from the progress of society in 
 other countries, and from the relative cumber of monas- 
 teries founded in them and in Ireland before the Invasion, 
 it may be conjectured that the monastic system in all its 
 branches would have produced in this country the same 
 fruits in agriculture, in learning, and in the arts, as are 
 attributed to it in the history of other nations ; and, in a 
 special manner, it would have helped, by the unity of 
 government enforced in Religious Orders, to bind together 
 the discordant elements of society. Quite different, how- 
 ever, was it in Ireland ; for the sphere of action of each 
 monastery was cramped, and confined within a certain 
 radius, beyond wdiich its influences were not felt, nor 
 regarded otherwise than in a hostile spirit, or at best as 
 an object of suspicion. 
 
 In 1172, the Abbot of Mellifont was sent to Rome on 
 an embassy by King Roderic O'Connor. We are not told 
 its nature. 
 
 In 1177, Charles O'Buacalla, then Abbot of this 
 monastery, was elected Bishop of Emly, where he died 
 within a month after his consecration. In 1182, King
 
 62 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Henry II. granted to the Abbot and community of 
 Mellifont a confirmation of their possessions, and three 
 years later, King John, at that time styled Lord of 
 Ireland, renewed the confirmation while he was residing 
 at Castleknock, during his brief visit to this country, in 
 1185, the thirty-second year of his father's reign. A 
 copy of the Charter may be seen in the Miscellany of the 
 Archaeological Society, Vol. I., page 158. The original, 
 which is one of the earliest of the Anglo-Irish documents 
 that have come down to us, is preserved in Trinity 
 College, Dublin. By this Charter King John confirmed to 
 the monks of Mellifont the "donation and concession" 
 which his father made to them. By it he confirmed to 
 the monks " the site and ambit of the abbey, with all its 
 appurtenances, namely, the grange of Kulibudi (not on 
 the Ordnance map), and Munigatinn (Monkenewtown), 
 with its appurtenances, the granges of Mell and Drogheda 
 (in Irish Droichet-atha, that is, bridge of the ford) and 
 their appurtenances, and Rathmolan (Rathmullen) and 
 Finnaur (Femor), with their appurtenances, the grange of 
 Teachlenni (Stalleen), and the grange of Kossnarrigh 
 (Rossnaree), with their appurtenances, the townland of 
 Culen (CuUen) and its appurtenances, the grange of 
 Cnogva (Knowth), the grange of Kelkalma (not known 
 now), with their appurtenances, Tuelacnacornari (not 
 known), and Callan (Collon), with their appurtenances, and 
 the grange of Finna ( ) with its appurtenances." 
 
 He also confirms the grants of two carucates of land made 
 to the monks by Hugh de Lacy, viz., of Croghan and 
 Bally bregan (?), and also one carucate of kind given by 
 Robert of Flanders, called Crevoda, now Creewood, two 
 miles west of Mellifont. 
 
 In 1186, St. Christian O'Connarchy, or Connery, who 
 had been the first Abbot of Mellifont and afterwards
 
 (54 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Bishop of Lismore and Legate of the Holy See, died, and 
 was buried at O'Dorney, Co. Kerry, a monastery of his 
 Order, which was founded in 1154, from Manister-Nenay. 
 He had resigned all his dignities six years before, in order 
 the better to prepare himself for a happy death. He was 
 enrolled in the Calendar of the Saints of the Cistercian 
 Order, and his festival was kept in England in pre-Refor- 
 mation times, on the 18th March. In the eulogy of him 
 in the Cistercian Menology it is said, " that he was 
 remarkable for his sanctity and wonderful miracles, and 
 that next to St. Malachy, he was regarded by the Irish 
 nation as one of its principal patrons," even down to the 
 time that that was written, A.D. 1630. An Irish gentle- 
 man who visited Italy in 1858, wrote from Venice to a 
 friend, that he had seen amongst the fresco paintings 
 which covered the wall of the beautiful church of Chiara- 
 valla, the first Cistercian monastery founded in Italy, a 
 painting of St. Malachy; also one entitled, "S. Christi- 
 anus ArcMeps. in Hibemia Cisterciensis" — "St. Chris- 
 tian, a Cistercian monk, and Archbishop in Ireland." The 
 error in ranking him as Archbishop probably arose from 
 his having succeeded St. Malachy as Legate. It was in 
 his Legatine capacity that he presided at several Synods, 
 chiefly the memorable one convened by King Henry at 
 Cashel, in 1172. 
 
 About the same time, there died at Mellifont, a holy 
 monk named Malchus, who is said to have been St. 
 Christian's brother and successor in the abbatial office, as 
 has been related above. Ussher, quoting St. Bernard, 
 positively asserts that he was St. Christian's brother. 
 And Sequin, who, in 1580, compiled a Catalogue of the 
 Saints of the Cistercian Order, mentions Malchus in that 
 honoured roll, and styles him " a true contemner of the 
 world, a great lover of God, and a pattern and model of
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 65 
 
 all virtues to the whole Order." He says, " he was one 
 of St. Malachy's disciples iu whose footsteps he faithfully 
 followed, and that he was renowned for his sanctity and 
 learning, as well as for the many miracles he wrought." 
 His feast was kept on the 28th of June. 
 
 In 1189, Rudolph, or Ralph Feltham, Abbot of 
 Furness, died and was buried here. And in the same 
 year, died Murrogh O'Carroll, cousin of the Founder, near 
 whom he was interred. 
 
 la 1190, Pope Clement III, issued a Bull addressed 
 to the General Chapter of the Cistercian Order, dated 
 July 6th of that year, enrolling St. Malachy in the 
 Calendar of Saints, and appointing the 3rd of November 
 for his festival. 
 
 At that same General Chapter, it was decreed that the 
 Irish Abbots be dispensed from attending the General 
 Chapter annually, and it was decided that they should 
 be present every third year; and a few years later, the 
 Abbot of Mellifont was charged to select three of their 
 number who should repair thither every year. 
 
 In 1193, Dervorgilla died at the monastery of Mellifont. 
 The Annals of the Four Masters and other Annals 
 simply relate the fact of her having died there in the 
 yoth year of her age, without alluding to the place of her 
 sepulture. 
 
 In that year, also, portions of the Relics of St. Malachy 
 were brought to Mellifont and were distributed to the 
 other houses of the Order in Ireland. Several of our 
 Annals say that the Saint's body was brought over from 
 Clairvaux, but that is obviously a mistake; for until the 
 French Revolution, the bodies of St. Malachy and St. 
 Bernard occupied two magnificent altar-tombs of red 
 marble within the chancel, at Clairvaux. A charter, 
 dated 1273, is still extant, whereby Robert Bruce, the
 
 66 MELLIFONT ABBKY. 
 
 rival of John Baliol for the Scottish Crown, conveys his 
 land of Ostieroft to the Abhot of Clairvaux for the 
 maintenance of a lamp before St. Malachy's tomb in that 
 church. And the General Chapter of the Order held in 
 1323, when raising the Saint's festival to a higher rank, 
 expressly mentioned that his body " rested " at Clairvaux. 
 Meglinger, a German Cistercian monk, who visited Clair- 
 vaux in 1667, and wrote a description of that famous 
 abbey as he beheld it, says that he was shown the heads 
 of Saints Malachy and Bernard, which were preserved in 
 silver cases. He also mentions the superb altar-tombs 
 of the two Saints. Later on, the two celebrated Bene- 
 dictine monks, Dom Mart^ne and Dom Durand, when 
 in quest of MSS., called at Clairvaux, and were shown 
 the tombs and heads of the Saints. It is scarcely 
 necessary to remark that this respect and veneration 
 were entertained for the tombs only because they con- 
 tained the bodies of the holy men. 
 
 In 1194, Abbot Moelisa, who then governed Mellifont, 
 was made Bishop of Clogher.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 67 
 
 CHAPTER VI. 
 
 MELLIFONT IN TROUBLOUS TIMES. . 
 
 " But I must needs confess 
 That 'tis a thing impossible to frame 
 Conceptions equal to the soul's desires ; 
 And the most diflScult of tasks to keep 
 Heights which the soul is competent to gain." 
 
 ( Wordsworth.') 
 
 IXTY years of uninterrupted prosperity 
 have passed over Mellifont, during which 
 period it has been honoured by princes 
 and people alike, and even the English 
 Kings have marked their esteem for it by 
 heaping fresh favours on it. It was still 
 flourishing in 1201, when Thomas O'Connor, 
 Archbishop of Armagh, whom the Annals of St. Mary's 
 Abbey, Dublin, style "a noble and worthy man," chose 
 it as his burial-place, and was buried there with great 
 honour. He was brother to Roderick O'Connor, King 
 of Connaught. It was at his instance that Joceline wrote 
 his Life of St. Patrick. 
 
 In 1203, King John " of his own fee" granted a new 
 charter confirming that given by his father some years 
 before, and also giving the monks free customs, together 
 with the fishery on both sides of the Boyne. 
 
 In 1206, Benedict and Gerald, monks of Mellifont, were 
 deputed by Eugene, Archbishop of Armagh, to wait on 
 the King and to tender him, on the Archbishop's behalf, 
 three hundred marks of silver and three of gold for
 
 68 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 restitution of the lands and liberties belonging to that 
 See. It was the King's custom to appropriate the 
 revenues of the vacant bishoprics, and on the confirmation 
 by the Pope of the bishop-elect, he issued a writ of 
 restitution of the temporalities, or episcopal possessions 
 and rights. The King, in order to keep the temporalities 
 the longer, often refused his "conge d'elire," without 
 which an election was invalid by the civil law. Soon 
 after the Invasion, King Henry II. held in his possession, 
 pending the appointment of new prelates, one arch- 
 bishopric, five bishoprics, and three abbeys, here in 
 Ireland. 
 
 In 1211, Thomas was Abbot, and seven years later, 
 Carus, or Cormac O'Tarpa, Abbot, and presumably 
 immediate successor to Thomas, was made Bishop of 
 Achonry, which See he resigned in 1226, and returned to 
 Mellifont, where he died that same year, and Avas buried 
 there. Some two-and-one-half miles north of Mellifont, 
 and one-half mile east of Collon, between that village and 
 Tinure, there is a crossing of the roads still popularly 
 known as "Tarpa's Cross." Local tradition has it that 
 this Cormac O'Tarpa, when Abbot, was wont to walk 
 daily from the monastery to this spot. 
 
 About that time, or in 1221, Mellifont, from some 
 unrecorded cause, fell from its first fervour, but only for 
 a very brief period ; for the remedy applied effected a 
 thorough reform. In the Statutes of the Order for that 
 year, the General Chapter authorised the Abbot of Clair- 
 vaux to set things right by bringing in monks from other 
 monasteries, and so, as it were, infuse new and healthier 
 blood into the monastic life there. As no further mention 
 is made of the matter, the trouble, whatever its nature 
 was, must have been permanently removed. 
 
 In 1227, Luke Netterville, Archbishop of Armagh, was
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 69 
 
 buried here. It was he who, three years previous, founded 
 the Dominican monastery in Drogheda, of which, now, 
 only the Magdalen Tower remains. And in that year 
 (1227), Gerald, a monk of Mellifont, was elected Bishop 
 of Dromore. 
 
 In 1229, the King granted to the Abbot and Com- 
 munity of Mellifont a Tuesday market in their town of 
 Collon. 
 
 In 1233, the General Chapter authorised all the Abbots 
 of the Order to have the Word of God preached on 
 Sundays and festivals, to their servants and retainers, in 
 some suitable place. And in 1238, the King gave a new 
 confirmation to the monks of Mellifont. 
 
 In 1248, the General Chapter granted permission to 
 the English and Irish Abbots of the Order, to hold 
 deliberations on important local matters in their respec- 
 tive countries. The Abbots of Mellifont, of St. Mary's 
 Abbey, Dublin, and of Duiske, Co. Kilkenny, were 
 empowered to convoke all the other Irish Abbots of the 
 Order for consultation; the assembly thus somewhat 
 partaking of the nature of a Provincial Chapter. 
 
 In 1250, no Englishman would be admitted to pro- 
 fession at Mellifont. In 12G9, David O'Brogan, who had 
 been a monk of this house, and afterwards Bishop of 
 Clogher, was buried here. In 1272, Hore Abbey, near 
 Cashel, was founded from Mellifont. In 1275, the General 
 Chapter decreed that in the admission of novices into the 
 Order there should be no question of nationality. 
 
 Hitherto, the Cistercians confined themselves, in dis- 
 charging the offices of their sacred ministry, to their 
 guests, servants, and the sick poor in the hospitals at 
 their gates ; but now, the altered circumstances of the 
 times demand a change in their usages and impose 
 fresh burdens on them, for which they get no credit.
 
 70 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 The new Orders of St. Francis and St. Dominic had 
 settled down in this country, and were attracting a 
 large percentage of the young men, who, till then, 
 entered the ranks of the Lay Brethren, and managed the 
 granges, or outlying farms, under the Cellarer. In 
 consequence, therefore, of the insufficiency of their 
 numbers to work the farms profitably, it was found 
 necessary to lease these granges to tenants, and hence the 
 origin of many villages and towns that, in several 
 instances, arose on the site of the granges. The chapel 
 attached to the grange (for every grange had its chapel 
 for the use of the Brothers in charge) was converted into 
 a parish church for the new population that clustered 
 around it. Of this church the monks became the pastors, 
 except when it lay at too great distance to be served from 
 the monastery; in which case, the monks employed 
 secular priests. They built schools also, where the 
 children of the tenants and dependants received gratui- 
 tously from the monks themselves, an education similar to 
 that at present imparted in our primary schools. 
 
 Though the study of Sacred Scripture, Theology, and 
 Canon Law was encouraged in the Order from its founda- 
 tion ; yet it was not until 1245 that studies were fully 
 organised by drawing up a curriculum that should be 
 obligatory. In that year it was ordained by the General 
 Chapter that in every Province there should be a central 
 monastery to which the monks should repair to read the 
 prescribed course of studies under members of the Order, 
 who had graduated at some university. We are not told 
 which of the Irish monasteries was selected as the House 
 of Studies ; but, in 1281, the General Chapter decided and 
 decreed that in all the larger abbeys such Houses of 
 Studies should be established. 
 
 There is an entry in the Annals of St. Mary's Abbey, at
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 71 
 
 the year 1281, giving the price of cattle at that time. As 
 it is interesting it is given here : viz., twenty shillings 
 each for a horse, a cow, or a bullock. 
 
 In 1306, Mellifont first experienced the baleful effects 
 of racial jealousies and bickerings ; for the monks could 
 not, or would not, agree to elect an Abbot ; and during 
 their dissensions, the King seized the possessions of the 
 monastery. We are not informed how matters terminated 
 on that occasion. 
 
 In 1316, the General Chapter ordered that the English, 
 Welsh, and Irish Abbots should send some of their monks, 
 in proportion to the number in their respective monasteries, 
 to the University of Oxford, to be educated there. A few 
 years previous, the Earl of Cornwall endowed at Oxford 
 the College of St. Bernard (now St. John's), for the 
 Cistercians. How far the Irish monks availed of this 
 college cannot be known ; probably those within the Pale 
 did largely benefit by it. One who obtained an unenviable 
 notoriety by his intemperate invectives against the 
 Mendicant Orders, was educated there — Henry Crump, an 
 Englishman, and monk of the Abbey of Baltinglas. But 
 it is very dubious that the " mere Irish" ventured to cross 
 its threshold. They would abstain from doing so from 
 prudential motives. 
 
 The fourteenth century was ushered in by the re- 
 petition of feuds between the Anglo-Irish and the Irish ; 
 and, as it grew older, the former fought amongst them- 
 selves, with Irish auxiliaries on both sides. It may be 
 here remarked, as a curious historical fiict, that it was the 
 Irish who fought the battles for the English Crown in 
 Ireland ; it was they, too, who retained their country 
 subject to that dominion, according to Sir John Davis 
 {Discoverie, p. 639) ; for no army ever came out of 
 England from the time of King John, except the expedi-
 
 72 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 tioT)ary army of Richard II. The few forces subsequently 
 sent over, until the twenty-ninth year of Queen Elizabeth, 
 "were to quell the rebellions of the English settlers. 
 
 The most disastrous calamity in Ireland in this century, 
 next to the great plague of 1348, or the "Black Death," as 
 it was called, was Bruce's invasion in 1315. Friar Clyn 
 tells us in his Annals, that Bruce and his followers " went 
 through all the country, burning, slaying, depredating, 
 spoiling towns and castles, and even churches, as they 
 ■went and as they returned." As a result the country 
 was visited by a dreadful famine, and, moreover, the Pope, 
 writing to the Archbishops of Dublin and Cash el in 1317, 
 alludes to scandals, murders, conflagrations, sacrileges, 
 and rapine, as following from that invasion. Though 
 Bruce failed in his object to overthrow the English power 
 in Ireland, yet he so far succeeded, that he weakened it 
 considerably. 
 
 In the year 1316 (according, to Ussher), O'Neill 
 addressed his famous Remonstrance to Pope John XXII., 
 in which, amongst other complaints, he remarked, that the 
 religious communities were prohibited by the law from 
 admitting anyone not an Englishman into monasteries 
 within the Pale. In response to this, the Pope sent two 
 Cardinals to investigate the matter, and also wrote a 
 letter to King Edward II., exhorting him to adopt merciful 
 measures towards the Irish. The letter had not much 
 efifect, and the cruelties and injustice continued; but, 
 about twenty years later, there was exhibited an unpre- 
 cedented tendency on the part of the Anglo-Irish and the 
 Irish towards incorporation. The Irish people clung to 
 the great Geraldine family with a romantic afifection which 
 that chivalrous race fully reciprocated. So, too, did 
 they lean towards the rivals of the Geraldines, the 
 Ormondes, and to other Anglo-Irish barons, who, likewise,
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 73 
 
 had adopted Irish customs and sirnames. Eoglish power 
 in this country had grown to be regarded as merely 
 nominal, and the administration of the law and the office of 
 Lord Deputy could no longer be committed to one or other 
 of the two principal families (the Geraldine or Ormonde), 
 to whom the Deputyship had been usually entrusted. 
 To preclude the danger of these haughty noblemen 
 attempting to arrogate the state of the independent native 
 chieftains, and to firmly establish the English power, a 
 Parliament, which assembled at Nottingham, in the 
 seventeenth of Edward III. (1343), enacted laws for the 
 reformation of the Irish Government. A few months 
 previous to the sitting of this Parliament, Sir Ralph Ufford 
 had been sent over as Lord Deputy, to stamp out this 
 incipient spirit of independence, and to impede the fusion 
 of the two races. This nobleman, by rigid and cruel 
 measures, executed the nefarious intentions of the Eng- 
 lish Parliament. He appropriated the goods of others, 
 plundered, without discrimination, the clergy, the laity, the 
 rich and the poor; assigning the public welfare as a 
 pretext. He broke down the pride of the Earl of 
 Desmond, and for a while seized his estates ; but, on 
 Ufford's recall to England and the appointment of Sir 
 Walter. Bermingham as his successor, Desmond was re- 
 stored to royal favour. Gradually the old animus was 
 revived, and old dormant jealousies between the two races 
 were awakened, until, in the year 1376, the "Statute of 
 Kilkenny" threw the whole nation into a state of com- 
 motion and chaos, and aroused a fierce hatred between 
 the Anglo-Irish and the later arrivals from England, who 
 were styled by that Act, " the English born in Eugland." 
 The latter despised the former and called them " Irish 
 Dogg;" the Anglo-Irish retorted, giving them the name 
 of "English Hobbe," or churl. These bickerings were
 
 74 MELLIFONT AllBEY. 
 
 reprobated by the said Statute, which, at the same time, 
 banned the whole race of the native Irish. Sir John 
 Davis writes of it : " It was manifest from these laws 
 that those who had the government of Ireland under the 
 Crown of England intended to make a perpetual separa- 
 tion between the English settled in Ireland and the 
 native Irish, in the expectation that the English should 
 in the end root out the Irish." And another Englishman 
 writes of this Statute : *' Imagination can scarcely devise 
 an extremity of antipathy, hatred, and revenge, to which 
 this code of aggravation was not calculated to provoke 
 both nations " (Plowden, Historical Revieiv of the State 
 of Ireland.) The foregoing summary of the condition of 
 affairs in Ireland in the fourteenth century has been 
 given, in order to illustrate and explain the bald historical 
 facts handed down to us having reference to Mellifont 
 during the same period. 
 
 It will be remembered that in the year 1316, O'Neil 
 complained to the Pope that Irishmen were by law 
 excluded from entering monasteries within the Pale ; 
 accordingly, we read that in 1322, the monks of Mellifont, 
 amongst whom the English element then prevailed, 
 would admit no man to profession there who had not 
 previously sworn that he was not an Irishman. Cox, 
 who derives his information from some old document in 
 the Tower of London, tells us that in 1323, the General 
 Chapter of the Order strongly denounced this pernicious 
 practice, but there is no such decree, nor is there any 
 allusion to it in Martene at that date. That spirit seems 
 to have been gratifying to King Edward II. ; for, in 1324, 
 he complained to the Pope of the violation of the law of 
 exclusion, and Nicholas of Lusk, who was then Abbot, 
 was superseded ; very likely, was summarily deposed, for 
 the infraction of it.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 75 
 
 At that very time, some of the other Cistercian 
 monasteries under the protection of the native chieftains, 
 and totally composed of Irishmen, were in a most 
 prosperous condition, and merited the genuine esteem of 
 princes and people. Thus, the Abbey of Assaroe, or 
 Ballyshannon, under the fostering care of the Princes of 
 Tyrconel, attained celebrity by the regularity of its 
 monks and the learuing and sanctity of its Abbots, three 
 of whom were made Bishops at no distant intervals. Of 
 Boyle Abbey, Co. Roscommon, the same can also be said ; 
 for it throve and flourished without royal favour or 
 charter. On the other hand, Mellifont had a plethora of 
 charters, for which the monks there must have paid 
 dearly. But, surrounded as it was by covetous and not 
 over-scrupulous neighbours in lawless times, such safe- 
 guards were decidedly necessary. So, in 1329, Edward 
 III. granted them a confirmation of all former privileges, 
 together with the right of free warren in all their manors ; 
 and again in 1848, he gave them a fresh confirmation, 
 with the right to erect a prison in any of their lands in 
 the Co. Meath, and also the power to erect a pillory and 
 gallows in their town of Collon. The Abbot then, as a 
 temporal lord over his own manors, had power of life and 
 death over his vassals therein ; but he never exercised the 
 authority so vested in him by condemning anyone to 
 death, nay, even, he refrained from adjudicating on civil 
 matters, as is seen by dispensations granted by Popes to 
 Irish Cistercian Abbots freeing them from the obligation 
 of acting as Justices. 
 
 It is recorded that in 1329, in the battle in which the 
 Louth men killed their new Earl, John Birmingham, 
 " there fell Caech O'Carroll, that famous tympanist and 
 harper, so pre-eminent that he was a phoenix in his art, 
 and with him fell about twenty tympanists who were his
 
 70 MEL LI FONT ABBEY. 
 
 scholars. He Avas called Caech O'CarroU because his 
 eyes were not straight, but squinted ; and if he was not 
 the first inventor of chord music, yet of all his prede- 
 cessors and contemporaries, he was the corrector, the 
 teacher, and director." 
 
 How it fared with Mellifont during the fearful pesti- 
 lence that ravaged all Europe in 1348, is not related. 
 Friar Clyn, the Franciscan Annalist, wrote of it: — " That 
 pestilence deprived of human inhabitants, villages and 
 cities, and castles and towns, so that there was scarcely 
 found a man to dwell therein." The mortality ia the 
 religious houses was very great, and in some instances, 
 only a few monks were left out of large and numerous 
 communities. It is said that in these countries the 
 religious Orders never recovered from the loss of the best 
 and most learned of their members who were then swept 
 away. 
 
 In 1351, Abbot Reginald was charged, as if it were a 
 crime, and found guilty, of having within two years 
 collected of his own money, and from the Abbots of 
 Boyle, Knockmoy, Bective, and Cashel, and of having 
 remitted the sum of 664 florins to the Abbot of Clairvaux, 
 while war was being waged between England and France. 
 But there was no treason or treasonable intent in that ; 
 for the money was to defray the current expenses of the 
 Order, and was levied off every monastery in proportion 
 to the resources of each. Richard, Coeur de Lion, 
 Alexander II. of Scotland, and Bela IV. of Hungary had, 
 in their day, contributed largely to this fund. 
 
 In 1358, the Abbot of Mellifont made good his claim 
 to three weirs upon the Boyne, at Rosnaree, Knowth, and 
 Staleen ; but, in 1366, he was indicted at Trim, for 
 erecting an unlawful weir at Oldbridge, when the Jury 
 found against him, and he was ordered to reduce the weir
 
 MELLIFONT ABBKY. 77 
 
 to a certain breadth and space, and he, himself, was 
 sentenced to a term of imprisonment ; but, on his paying 
 a fine of £10 to Roland de Shalesford, the sheriff of the 
 Co. Meath, this sentence was commuted. Ten years 
 later, John Terrour, successor to this Abbot, was sued for 
 obstructing the King's passage of the Boyne. 
 
 In the years 1373 and 1377, the Abbot was summoned 
 to attend Parliaments held at Dublin and Castledermot 
 respectively. In the former Parliament, one hundred 
 shillings were ordered to be levied from him, as his 
 portion of the subsidy granted to the Lord Justice, 
 William de Windesore, by the same Parliament. In 
 1380, the King gave a special mandate that no mere 
 Irishman should be admitted to profession in this abbey. 
 In 1381 and 1382, the Abbot attended Parliaments held 
 in Dublin, and in 1400, the King granted a royal con- 
 firmation of all the land, manors, and liberties, bestowed 
 on the abbey by former charters ; and in 1402, he 
 pardoned the Abbot and monks for their having admitted 
 Irishmen to profession. However, they were mulcted 
 in the sum of £50. In 1415, Leynagh Bermingham, 
 William Davison, and John D'Alton were committed to 
 the custody of the Abbot to be kept by him as hostages 
 for the allegiance of their respective fathers. In 1424, 
 the Abbot, with the Archbishop of Armagh and Nicholas 
 Taafi'e, was appointed Justice and Conservator of the 
 Peace for the Co. Louth. 
 
 The allusions to Mellifont during the remainder of this 
 century are very few and uninteresting. Whether, or 
 not, it shared the fate of many other Irish monasteries 
 at that time and had no regular Abbot, but one who was 
 called Abbot in commendam, is not known ; but the 
 presumption is that it had not a regular Abbot. These 
 Abbots in commendam were not monks, or members of
 
 78 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 any Religious Order; but secular clerics, not necessarily 
 in Holy Orders. Sometimes, especially when the abuse 
 had reached its greatest height in the fifteenth century, 
 they were even laymen; nevertheless, they enjoyed the 
 revenues of the abbeys committed to them, with the style 
 and title of Abbots, but exercised no spiritual jurisdiction 
 in their abbeys. This latter was confided to regular 
 Priors who were selected by their own Religious superiors. 
 When laymen held the abbeys in commendam they 
 commonly resided in them with their wives, families, 
 retinues, servants, etc., to the distraction and interference 
 with the monks in their regular observances, and finally, 
 to the complete subversion of discipline. At that very 
 time this pernicious practice had brought the whole 
 Order to the brink of ruin ; for we find the General 
 Chapter on several occasions deploring the injuries 
 inflicted on religion, and lamenting the havoc wrought 
 by it, and they decided to send three of their number to 
 Rome to implore the Pope's protection against the 
 growing evil. Still, it survived, more or less, in these 
 countries till the Reformation. Scotland suffered more 
 from it, apparently, than Ireland did, as can be seen from 
 the lists furnished by Brady in his Episcopal Succession. 
 In 1476, the Abbot of Mellifont complained, that 
 "owing to oppressions and extortions within the County 
 of Louth and Uriell, his monastery was greatly indebted 
 and impoverished." Certain it is, that for some time 
 previous, it had fallen from its former regularity and 
 fervour; but, through the zeal and tact of Abbot Roger 
 who then governed it, it regained its wonted prominence 
 amongst the most observant monasteries. In 1479, this 
 same Roger having set forth to the King that he had 
 "Jurisdiction Ecclesiastical of all persons within his lands, 
 as well secular as ecclesiastical, the King, out of his love
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 79 
 
 to the Cistercian Order, granted to the Abbot and his 
 successors, the Jus cle excommunicatis capiendis, and 
 episcopal jurisdiction," (Stat. Roll. 19 Ed. IV., c. 5.) 
 The former privilege refers to the concession made to the 
 Church by the first clause of the Statute of Kilkenny, and 
 which had been confirmed by subsequent Parliaments for 
 centuries after its first enactment. Under the headino: — 
 "The Church to be free — Writ De Excommunicato 
 capiendo," the clause proceeds to ordain, " that Holy 
 Church shall have all her franchises without injury, .... 
 and if any (which God forbid) do to the contrary, and be 
 excommunicated by the Ordinary of the place for that 
 cause, so that satisfaction be not made to God and Holy 
 Church by the party so excommunicated within a month 
 after such excommunication, that then, after certificate 
 thereupon being made by the said Ordinary into the 
 Chancery, a writ shall be directed to the Sheriff, Mayor, 
 Seneschal of the franchise, or other officers of the King, to 
 take his body, and to keep him in prison without bail, 
 until due satisfaction be made to God and Holy Church, 
 etc." By episcopal jurisdiction is here meant the civil 
 rights and privileges appertaining to the episcopal office, 
 and enjoyed at that time by bishops over their subjects, 
 lay and clerical. And as to the spiritual, quasi-episcopal 
 jurisdiction — the Abbots of the Order had that as well as 
 exemption in relation to their own monks from the very 
 foundation of the Order; but by a Decree dated 28th 
 September 1487, Pope Innocent VIII. granted to all 
 Cistercian Abbots quasi-episcopal jurisdiction over their 
 tenants, vassals, subjects, and servants. By this Decree, 
 the Pope " took all the Abbots, Abbesses, Monks and 
 Nuns of the Order under his special protection, together 
 with all their goods, vassals, subjects, and servants, and 
 exempted and freed the same from all jurisdiction,
 
 80 MliLLIFOXT ABBEY. 
 
 superiority, correction, visitation, subjection and power 
 of Archbishops, Bishops and their Vicars, etc., .... and 
 subjected them immediately to himself and the Holy- 
 See." This Decree is given in full in the Privilegia 
 Ordinis Cisterciensis, p. 179. 
 
 That the Abbots of the Order exercised that privilege in 
 this country cannot be doubted. We read an instance of 
 it in the Triumphalia, so ably edited hy the late Father 
 Denis Murphy, S.J., where, even after the Council of 
 Trent and so recently as 1621, a certain secular priest, who 
 had been appointed by the Abbot of Holy Cross to the 
 pastoral charge of the parish attached to that abbey and of 
 one or more outlying parishes subject to the same Abbot, 
 denied after some time, that he had his faculties from the 
 said Abbot, but rather from the Archbishop, or his Vicar. 
 The controversy lasted long, but finally, it was decided 
 in the Abbot's favour, and Dr. Kearney, then Archbishop 
 of Cashel, acknowledged the Abbot's title. And again, 
 in the Spicelegium Ossoriense there is a letter from 
 Dr. O'Reilly, Archbishop of Armagh, written to the 
 Propaganda in 1633, in which he complained that the 
 Cistercians claimed the privilege of " Visitation, Correc- 
 tion, Sum/moning to Synods, Approbation to hear 
 confessions, together ivith entire and absolute episcopal 
 jurisdiction!' And a further proof in favour of the 
 practice is found in the fact that laymen who acquired the 
 suppressed monasteries of the Order claimed and exercised 
 that same privilege. Thus, in 1622, Archbishop Ussher 
 in a Report of Bective parish said it belonged to 
 Bartholomew Dillon, Esq. of Riverstown, his Majesty's 
 farmer of the impropriate property. " This church 
 belongeth to the Abbey of Bectiffe, in the possession of 
 the said Mr. Dillon, who pretendeth to have an exemption 
 from the Lord Bishop's jurisdiction, and doth prove wills
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 81 
 
 and grant administrations." And in 1744, Harris writes 
 of Newry, where once was a Cistercian Abbey also: "A 
 mitred Abbot formerly possessed the lordships of Newry 
 and Mourne, and exercised therein Episcopal Jurisdiction, 
 which after the dissolution of the Abbey was done by the 
 temporal proprietor, and at the present Robert Needham, 
 Esq., to whom the town and manor belong, enjoys an 
 exempt Jurisdiction within the said manors, and the seal 
 of his court is a Mitred Abbot in his Albe sitting in a 
 chair, and supported by two yew trees with this inscrip- 
 tion : ' Sig ilium exemptce Jurisdictionis de Viride 
 Ligno alias N'eivry et Mourne.'"' Which in English 
 means, the seal of the Exempt Jurisdiction of Newry and 
 Mourne. Verily! this savours of Popery; for, it was 
 from the Pope the monks received their exemption. A 
 modern example of this Papal concession, exercised in the 
 Anglican Church, is to be found in the case of the Dean 
 of Westminster who is immediately under the jurisdiction 
 of her Gracious Majesty the Qaeen, and consequently 
 exempt from that of the Archbishop of Canterbury. It is 
 as successor to the Abbot of Westminster that he claims 
 and is allowed that privilege of exemption ; for the Abbot 
 was immediately subject to the Pope in pre-Reformation 
 times. 
 
 The Abbot of Mellifont was implicated in the rebellion 
 of Lambert Simnel ; for in 1488, he received pardon from 
 the King for his offences in that connection. The close 
 of the fifteenth century found Mellifont recovering and 
 maintaining its old prestige amongst the Religious Orders 
 of this country, and with the dawning of a new century, it 
 had regained its former level, from which a host of 
 circumstances had conspired to drag it down and to 
 degrade it. These circumstances have been already 
 detailed and need not be here repeated. 
 
 F
 
 82 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 In civil matters, Ireland in the first quarter of the six- 
 teenth century, presented the same, or nearly the same, 
 condition as she did more than three centuries before, 
 when the English first landed on her sliores. The Pale 
 was literally bounded by the Liffey and the Boyne, and 
 the old feuds, the long-protracted wars between the 
 Anglo-Irish and the natives still subsisted. The regular 
 administration of the law was limited to the four counties 
 adjoining the capital, called the " Four Obedient Counties." 
 It seeems incontestable that religion was in a flourishing 
 condition in this country during the period ; for an 
 unwonted activity and fervour animated both clergy and 
 people, as can be inferred from the number of religious 
 houses established ; the frequency of Synods held denoting 
 zeal and regularity on the part of the prelates convening 
 them ; and the common practice, so much then in vogue, 
 of visiting, through a spirit of penance and devotion, the 
 Holy Places at home and in far-off countries. Our Annals 
 prove this to demonstration. But, it must be borne in 
 mind that the spirit of exclusion was still in full force 
 amongst the Anglo-Irish clergy, and no Irishman was 
 eligible for benefices within the Pale. Learning, which is 
 ever the handmaid of true piety, found its home as in 
 ancient times amongst the two classes of the clergy, the 
 secular and regular. The number of learned works 
 published at that time clearly proves it. Amongst the 
 many eminent men who then adorned the Church in 
 Ireland, Maurice O'Fihely, Archbishop of Tuam, ranks 
 foremost. His biographers, for he had many, inform us, 
 that he " was eminent for his extraordinary knowledge in 
 Divinity, Logic, Philosophy, and Metaphysics," that he 
 published a Dictionary of the Holy Scriptures, and was 
 styled by his contemporaries at home and abroad, "The 
 Flower of the World." He had been a Franciscan Friar
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 83 
 
 before his promotion to the See of Tuam, but did not long 
 survive his appointment. 
 
 Now, capital has been made by some writers out of a 
 description of the Church in Ireland taken from the State 
 Papers, Part III., Vol. II., pp. 15, 16. If it reflected a true 
 picture, a Reformation would indeed have been needed, 
 but not the kind introduced by Henry VIII., nurtured 
 by Edward VI., and propagated with fire and sword by 
 Elizabeth. Tbe Report states: "Some sayeth, that the 
 prelates of the Church and the clergy is much the cause 
 of all the mysse order of the land, for there is no arch- 
 byshop, ne bysshop, abbot, ne prior, parson ne vicar, ne any 
 other person of the church, high or lowe, greate or smalle, 
 Englysh or Irish e, that usythe to preach the worde of 
 
 Godde, saveing the poor fryers beggars." 
 
 " Some sayeth" — Who were these " Some," or what was 
 their assertion worth ? Were they parties who benefited 
 by the disturbance of the old order of things at the 
 Suppression, and so suspected of having been partial, and 
 eager to seek any and every palliation for the State Church 
 as by law established. Now every student of Irish history, 
 as contained in our Annals, knows that that anonymous 
 statement is unwarranted by fact. It will suffice to take 
 two instances, as we find them recorded in Dowling's 
 Annals about this time, to show the fallacy of the 
 accusation of wholesale neglect of preaching the Word of 
 God. Of Nicholas Maguire, Bishop of Leighlin, 1490- 
 1512, Dowling (Protestant Chancellor of Leighlin) writes: 
 " When he was Prebendary of Ullard, he preached and 
 delivered great learning with no less reverence, being in 
 favour with the King and nobility of Leinster, v/ho, 
 together with the Dean and Chapter, elected him Bishop 
 of Leighlin." And of Maurice Deoran, or Doran, who a 
 few years later succeeded him in Leighlin, Dowling again
 
 84 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 writes : " He was a most eloquent preacher." It cannot 
 be denied that at that time some Church dignitaries 
 affected the airs and magnificence of worldly magnates, 
 nor that they gave scandal to their flocks by their ab- 
 senteeism. Other abuses, no doubt, existed, but the 
 watchful providence of God had made provision for their 
 removal through His authorised ministers. But, alas ! a 
 new condition of affairs shall soon arise. The most power- 
 ful political engine ever fabricated for the extension of the 
 English power in Ireland shall b? introduced, one which 
 shall eventually break up the tribe lands, annihilate the 
 sway of the ancient chieftains, and reduce their im- 
 poverished descendants to the condition of serfs and 
 menials. And this shall be called reforming the Church ! 
 Even in this revolution, Mellifont shall play her part, and 
 become revolutionized and misappropriated.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 85 
 
 CHAPTER VI I. 
 
 THE SUPPRESSION OF MELLIFONT. 
 
 " No more shall Chtvrity with sparkling eyes, 
 And smiles of welcome, wide unfold the door, 
 Where pity listening still to nature's cries, 
 Befriends the wretched and relieves the poor." 
 
 (Keats.) 
 
 r^ 
 
 ^ f^^:M^l^. HE Religious Orders, which succeed each 
 "^ ~ IS^^^ other in the Catholic Church, are subject 
 -^f *^ to laws similar to those that govern the 
 productions of nature. They grow from 
 feeble and imperceptible seeds, increase, 
 flourish, and bear fruit ; then decrease, fade, and 
 fall to the ground. But they have produced a 
 fruit, which contains within it the germs of a new seed- 
 time, and which bursts forth vigorously from the decaying 
 sheath to reproduce its never-failing kind. This work of 
 reproduction and subsequent expansion is aided, directed, 
 and encouraged by him, to whom is divinely committed 
 the government of the Church ; and when pseudo, self- 
 styled reformers essay the difficult task, their true 
 character is unmasked in the inevitable ruin and desola- 
 tion which follow, instead of the order and rehabilitation 
 which were promised. Bluff Kiug Hal, or the ^[errie 
 Monarch, as Henry VIII. was familiarly and affectionately 
 called by his loving subjects in the beginning of his reign, 
 was in need of money to squander on his passions and 
 pleasures. In his newly assumed character, therefore, of 
 Head of the Church in his dominions (which, by Act of
 
 8() MELLIF(JNT ABBEY. 
 
 Parliament, lie made it high treason to deny), he suppressed 
 the lesser monasteries whose annual income did not 
 exceed £200. This was done, forsooth, in the interests of 
 religion ! ! ! The proceeds of the confiscation were soon 
 dissipated, and the wily Cromwell, whom the King had 
 appointed his Vicar- General, suggested the suppression 
 and appropriation to the King's uses, of all the monas- 
 teries within the realm. Again it is his zeal for the 
 promotion of God's glory that is pleaded as bis motive for 
 the nefarious deed. Three years before, when addressing 
 the Houses of Parliament in behalf of the measure for the 
 suppression of the lesser monasteries, he publicly gave 
 thanks to God, that in the large communities "religion is 
 right well kept and observed." And yet, what a meta- 
 morphosis in such a short space! All had now fallen 
 away, and had inexplicably sunk into all manner of 
 iniquity ! Spelman, in his History of Sacrilege, tells 
 the mode adopted by this model Reformer to carry his 
 motion for investing in the Crown the property of all the 
 Religious Orders. " The King sent for the Commons," he 
 tells us, " and informed them he would have the Bill pass, 
 or take off some of their heads." This they knew to be 
 no empty threat ; and pass the Bill they did on that 
 memorable day of May 13, 1539. The Lords, as a body, 
 voted for it; partly through a feeling of jealousy towards 
 the Churchmen, who enjoyed no inconsiderable share of 
 the monarch's confidence and favour, and so they rejoiced 
 at whatever promised to destroy this good understanding 
 between them ; and partly through cupidity, for they 
 hoped for a share in the booty. The Bishops at that 
 juncture are blamed for their weakness in complying with 
 so unjust a proceeding; but they were divided in their 
 councils; some considering it the less of two evils to 
 sacrifice the Religious houses, in the hope that the
 
 MKLLIFONT ABBEY. 87 
 
 misunderstanding between tlie King and the Pope would 
 be soon adjusted and the monks restored, yielded to the 
 King; others, unworthy of their office, as it must be 
 admitted, worldly men, courtly prelates, who dreaded the 
 King's displeasure, obsequiously obeyed his mandate. 
 
 Besides his greed for gold, the King had another potent 
 
 motive for suppressing the monasteries, one that gave a 
 
 zest to this disgraceful act: he wanted the further to spite 
 
 the Pope by inflicting such an unheard-of injury on 
 
 religion. Other motives, too, were not wanting, such as 
 
 state policy, so the King alleged, and the want of constant 
 
 affection towards his person on the part of the Religious, 
 
 particularly in his new capacity. This, Lord Herbert 
 
 (who was no friend of the monks) admits in his Life of 
 
 the King. His Lordship writes : " The monks were 
 
 looked upon as a body of reserve for the Pope, and always 
 
 ready to appear in his quarrels." Perhaps, their oppo- 
 
 sitiou to the King's assumption of spiritual power 
 
 precipitated matters. At all events, one of them, zealous 
 
 for God's law, had the courage to reproach him to his face 
 
 in a sermon preached at Greenwich before the King's 
 
 marriage with Anne Boleyn. This fearless champion of 
 
 justice, this intrepid son of St. Francis, thus addressed the 
 
 dissolute monarch: — "I am that Micheas, King, whom 
 
 you will hate because I must tell you truly that this 
 
 marriage is unlawful; and I know that I shall eat the 
 
 bread of affliction and drink the water of sorrow ; yet, 
 
 because our Lord has put it in my mouth, I must speak 
 
 it." And when he and another faithful brother friar were 
 
 brought before the King's council, who rebuked them, and 
 
 declared them deserving of being shut up in a sack, and 
 
 thrown into the Thames, for the boldness of their language 
 
 in the matter of the King's marriage, his companion 
 
 smiling said : " Threaten these things to the rich and
 
 8(S MEI.LIFONT A1JI3ET. 
 
 dainty persons, vvho are clothed in purple, and fare 
 delicionsly, and have their chiefest hope in this world ; 
 for we esteem them not, but are joyful, that, for the 
 discharge of our duty we are driven hence; and, with 
 thanks to God, we know the way to heaven to be as ready 
 by water as by land." (Stowe, Church Chronicle.) 
 
 It was not, then, for dissoluteness of morals, nor for 
 illiteracy, nor for backwardness in preaching the Word of 
 God, nor yet for being drones in society, that the monks 
 were turned from their peaceful homes. The true cause 
 was, that the King knew, and his criminal advisers also 
 knew, that the monasteries were as impregnable fortresses, 
 which in defence of truth and justice, would hold out 
 firm against seductive bribes, and the most appalling 
 threats ; hence they must be swept away under plea of 
 general corruption of morals, etc., and their properties 
 held up as a bait to draw over proselytes to the new order 
 of things. The historian, Lingard, writing of the attitude 
 of the monks towards the King's supremacy in spiritual 
 matters, says : "Secluded from the world, the Religious 
 felt fewer temptations to sacrifice their consciences to the 
 commands of their Sovereign, and seemed more eager to 
 court the crown than to flee the pains of martyrdom," 
 
 Here, in Ireland, one of the King's advisers counselled 
 him to suppress some of the monasteries, and to convert 
 them into residences for young noblemen, who would 
 promote and defend the King's interests. Patrick Finglas, 
 created by Henry VIII. Chief Baron of the King's 
 Exchequer, and afterwards Lord Chief Justice, wrote a 
 book entitled : " A Breviate of the getting of Ireland and 
 of the decay of the same," in which he recommends the 
 suppression of the monasteries bordering on the Pale, 
 " because they were giving more aid and supportacion to 
 the Irish than to the King." "Let the Abbeys," he goes
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 89 
 
 on to say, "be given to young lords, knights, and gentle- 
 men out of England, which shall dwell upon the sanae." 
 This advice seemed good to the King, and it was literally 
 carried out, but to far greater extent than this astute 
 lawyer had anticipated. 
 
 Mellifont, in common with the other Religious establish- 
 ments in Ireland within grasp of the King (for in Ulster, 
 they were free from molestation under O'Neil and 
 O'Donnell), must have heard with dismay the rumours 
 afloat about a general suppression, and grief and con- 
 sternation must have filled the hearts of the monks. 
 Was it possible, they asked, that the King, whose person 
 they respected, whose laws they obeyed, would drive 
 them forth, wanderers over the world, which many of 
 them had renounced in early youth ; and now, without 
 adequate provision, were they, in their declining years, 
 to perish by the roadside ? Were their beautiful church, 
 their loved cloister, their shady groves, no more to shelter 
 them, and were they to sever connection with a spot 
 endeared to them by so many holy associations? Yes, 
 it is true, alas ! for the Abbot of St. Mary's, Dublin, 
 being nearer authentic sources of information, has heard 
 it and has sent word, that sentence is passed on all, and 
 their doom has sounded; for the following Royal Com- 
 mission was forwarded to the Deputy, with peremptory 
 orders to have it executed forthwith : — 
 
 Royal Commission directed to John Allen, Chancellor; 
 George, Archbishop of Dublin ; William Brabazon, Vice- 
 Treasurer ; Robert Cowley, Master of the Rolls ; and 
 Thomas Cusacke, Esq. ; reciting, " That from the informa- 
 tion of trustworthy persons, it being manifestly apparent 
 that the monasteries, abbeys, priories, and other places of 
 Religious or Regulars, in Ireland, are at present in such a 
 state, that in them, the praise of God and the welfare of
 
 90 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 man are next to notliing regarded ; tlie Regulars and 
 nuns dwelling there being so addicted, partly to their own 
 superstitious ceremonies, partly to the pernicious worship 
 of idols, and to the pestiferous doctrines of the Roman 
 Pontiif, that unless an effectual remedy be promptly 
 provided, not only the weak, low order, but the whole 
 Irish people, may be speedily infected to their total 
 destruction. To prevent, therefore, the longer continu- 
 ance of such Religious men and nuns in so damnable a 
 state, the King (having resolved to resume into liis hands 
 all the monasteries and Religious houses for their better 
 reformation, to remove from them the Religious men and 
 women, and to cause them to return to some honest mode 
 of living and to true religion,) directs the Commissioners 
 to signify this his intention to the heads of Religious 
 houses ; to receive their resignations and surrenders 
 willingly tendered ; to grant to those tendering it liberty 
 of exchanging their habit and of accepting benefices 
 under the King's authority; to apprehend and punish 
 such as adhere to the Roman Pontiff and contumaciously 
 refuse to surrender their houses ; to take charge for the 
 King's use of the possession of those houses, and assign 
 competent pensions to those who willingly surrender." 
 {Patemt and Close Rolls, Chancery, Ireland, Morrin, 
 1539-40, April 30, Henry VIII., 30^, p. 55.) 
 
 Most marvellous, indeed, and sudden, and quite un- 
 precedented in history, was this utter decadence from 
 godliness to " idolatry and the pestiferous doctrine of the 
 Roman Pontiff " on the part of 100,000 persons within 
 the space of three short years ! But, behold ! the godly 
 monarch will reform them (supposing they needed 
 reform) in the fashion recorded in the old English 
 proverb: "The devil amended his dame's leg; when he 
 should have set it right, he brake it quite in pieces."
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 91 
 
 That the Deputy, Lord Gray, did uot consider the monks 
 and nuns an effete body, addicted to evil practices, will 
 appear evident from the letter he addressed to Cromwell, 
 and which was signed by his Council. It bears date 21st 
 May 1589 :— 
 
 "May it please your honourable Lordship to be 
 advertised, that by the report of Thomas Cusacke and 
 others repaired lately out of the realm of England into 
 this land, it hath been openly bruited the Kind's grace's 
 pleasure to be, that all the monasteries within this land 
 should be suppressed, none to stand. Amongst which, 
 for the common v/eal of this land, if it might stand with 
 King's most gracious pleasure by your good Lordship's 
 advertisement, in our opinion it were right expedient 
 that six houses should stand and continue, changing their 
 habit and rule into such sort as the King's grace shall 
 will them: which are namely, St. Mary's Abbey, adjoining 
 Dublin, a house of white monks (Cistercian.s) ; Christ 
 Church, a house of canons situated in the middle of the 
 City of Dublin ; Grace Dieu Nunnery, in the County 
 Dublin; Connell, in the County Kildare ; Kenlys or 
 Kells, and Jerpoint (this latter Cistercian also), in the 
 County Kilkenny. For in these commonli/, and in 
 others such like, in default of common inns, which are not 
 in this island the King's Deputy and all others his 
 Grace's Council and Officers, also Irishmen and others 
 resorting to the King's Deputy in these quarters is and 
 hath been most commonly lodged at the cost of the said 
 houses. Also, in them, young vien and children, both 
 gentlemen's children and others, both of man hind and 
 woman kind be brought up in virtue and in tlie 
 Englishe tongue and behaviour to the great charge of 
 the said liouscs ; that is to say, the woman kind of the 
 whole Euglishie of this land, for the most part, in the said 
 nunnery, and the man kind in the other houses."
 
 02 MELLIFONT ABBKY. 
 
 And the Abbot of St. Mary's, petitioning soon after for 
 exemption from the general suppression, pleads in a letter 
 to the same Cromwell: "Verily we be but stewards and 
 purveyors to other men's uses for the King's honour, 
 keeping hospitality, and many poor men, scholars and 
 orphans." 
 
 All petitions are unavailing; the King is inexorable; 
 and St. Mary's and Mellifont, and the others included in 
 the original list must go down before the despot's unholy 
 will, untried, unheard, but Avith the nation's regret, those 
 alone excepted, who thirsted for and shared the sacri- 
 legious booty. Before the lamp of piety and learning be 
 extinguished for ever in Mellifont, let us take a parting 
 glance at it, so that the contrast may be the more marked 
 as we note its vicissitudes later on. 
 
 In that bright July morning (1539), when the bell 
 summoned the monks of Mellifont to matins for the last 
 time, the sun rose over as fair a picture as could well be 
 conceived, when its brilliant rays shot floods of light 
 through the woods and valley, and gilt the quivering 
 tree-tops with lustrous gold. And the enormous piles of 
 white masonry looked whiter for the glinting of the 
 sun-beams, and many a fantastic shadow was cast on the 
 tesselated pavement in the church by the " dim religious 
 light " of the gorgeous stained glass windows. The 
 statues of the Twelve Apostles looked down patronisingly 
 from lofty pedestals, and bore the minds of the beholders 
 aloft, to where the guerdon awaits the faithful soldier of 
 Christ when his term of service here below shall have 
 expired. Loud rose the rhythmic measure of the majestic 
 Gregorian Chant rendered by over one hundred full- 
 voiced singers on that beautiful morning, ere yet the 
 skylark shook the dew-drops from his wings, or intoned 
 his early carol o'er the meadows by the Boyne. The
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 93 
 
 pealing of the organ sounded loud and louder as they 
 chanted their solemn Mass, but to many who then took 
 part in that sacred function, its plaintive notes presaged 
 the speedy end of their time-honoured establishment, 
 which at any moment may receive the fatal visit of the 
 Commissioners. In its internal economy it was wisely 
 and worthily governed, its community numbered 150 
 Choir monks, besides Lay Brothers and familiars, its 
 schools were prosperous, and from their widespread repu- 
 tation, merited the title of " famous " which was accorded 
 them. The children of the monks' tenants received a 
 free education here ; moreover, the monks conducted a 
 school, which we would now call a seminary, where 
 gentlemen's children and others were taught the higher 
 branches suited to prepare them for their career in after- 
 life. Their peaceful valley was screened on every side 
 from wintry blasts by tasteful plantations, useful and 
 ornamental ; for a thickly planted orchard, chiefly of 
 apple and pear trees, which covered both sides of the 
 River Mattock from the mill to where the bridge now 
 spans the river, survived till within the memory of many 
 still living who describe it as having been so dense that 
 one could cross the valley on the tops of them. The 
 grounds surrounding the monastery were laid out with 
 commendable taste ; the lands yielded plentiful crops, 
 and supported numerous herds of cattle. The hill south- 
 east of the abbey was covered over with oak of gigantic 
 size — the growth of centuries — and on the Meath side 
 were screens of valuable timber. Their tenants were 
 contented and prosperous ; for the monks were indulgent 
 landlords. Their rents were paid in kind, and for the 
 rest, they found a ready market always at the abbey, 
 where a huge supply of provisions was constantly needed 
 for the strangers and the poor who sought and found a 
 ready welcome there.
 
 04 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 The spiritual wants of the tenants and dependants 
 were attended to by one of the monks, John Byrrel, 
 whose name occurs first in the list of those belonging 
 to Mellifoiit to whom pensions were granted. He is 
 styled Parson of Mellifont. It is probable, too, that 
 others of the abbey priests ministered to Tullyallen 
 parish (though it is scarcely probable that the present 
 parish is conterminous with the old one), to Monk- 
 newtown and Donore; for in the English Episcopal 
 Registers, twelve volumes of which have been recently 
 published, it is noted that their brethren in England 
 served the parishes in the immediate vicinity of the 
 monasteries : and, moreover, we find in the list of 
 pensioners of other Cistercian houses in Ireland, the 
 names of three or more, in the same monaster}', who 
 are called parsons. Medical advice and medicine were 
 dispensed gratis at the Abbey. The sick poor were 
 visited and cared for in their homes by physicians 
 employed by the monks; they were also admitted into the 
 hospital at the gate. On fixed days weekly, the poor of 
 the locality came for and received loaves of bread which 
 were specially baked for them, and meat in abundance, 
 with beer, was distributed to them. In those days there 
 were no poor laws; for the monks provided for all the 
 wants of tlio indigent. The monks were in constant touch 
 with all cla.^ses of society, at least the principal officers 
 were, and they were the advisers, as well as the instructors, 
 of all. Tlie History of the English Abbeys of the Order, 
 or the fragments that have survived the vandalism of the 
 Dissolution, and which have been published by impartial 
 Protestants, clearly prove that this picture of far-reaching 
 and ungrudging beneficence is by no means fanciful. 
 (See Ruined Abbeys of Britain, by Frederick Ross.) 
 The Abbot of Mellifont took a prominent place in the
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. <).5 
 
 councils of the nation. He ranked as a Peer, and had a 
 seat in the House of Lords before all the other Pteligious 
 superiors, twenty-three more of whom were privileged to 
 sit there. He was bound to supply a certain number of 
 horsemen for the King's musters, and to maintain them at 
 his own charge. Tradition has it that he could ride on 
 his own territory from the sea at Drngheda to the 
 Shannon at Athlone, but this requires confirmation. He 
 owned some 4,000 acres at the suppression, extending on 
 the south side of the Boyne from Drogheda to Rossnaree, 
 and on the north, to Slane, including the fisheries and five 
 salmon weirs on the river. He rented the fishing of six- 
 teen corraghs at Oldbridge, for which he got £13 13s. 4d. 
 annually. The toiun of Tullyallen belonged to him. It 
 was then in a flourishing condition, but has fallen since 
 from its rank as a town to that of a mere village, 
 composed of a few scattered cottages. The district was 
 then populous; for another village grew up near the 
 Abbey occupied by tradesmen and dependants who were 
 constantly employed by the monks. It was called Doagh. 
 It is now level with the field. It stood a quarter of a 
 mile north-west of Mellifont, beyond the Mattock. Its 
 site is an elevated plateau, locally known as the Doagh 
 Meadows. The entire annual revenue of the Abbey was 
 estimated at £316, which, allowing for the difference in value 
 of money since, would be equivalent to an income of close 
 on £4,000 at the present day. On that the monks main- 
 tained themselves and a large staff of servants, "kept 
 hospitality, and many poor men, scholars, and orphans." 
 The Abbot entertained his guests daily at his own table 
 in a spacious building apart from the monks' quarters, and 
 was a man of light and leading, unlike the helpless 
 imbecile portrayed by Scott in his novels. The Abbot 
 was chosen, often from some distant monastery, for his
 
 96 MELLIFONT ABBEY, 
 
 aptitude " in goveruing souls," which was the paramount 
 consideration with St. Benedict in the selection of a 
 superior. He should be learned, and sound both in 
 doctrine and morals, to be entrusted with such a charge. 
 It is only too true that unworthy persons, contrary to the 
 Canons, were sometimes intruded into the position by 
 powerful relatives, and they, alas ! generally brought 
 disgrace on religion. 
 
 As to the spiritual condition of Mellifont at the time 
 of its suppression, it was certainly on a high level. No 
 charge was brought against that community, on that score, 
 even by its worst enemies ; none but the general ones 
 mentioned in the Commission. In truth and in fact, the 
 observances then in force at Mellifont were identical with 
 those introduced by Abbot Christian and practised at 
 Clairvaux by St. Bernard and his saintly companions. 
 If they were " idolatrous," and " superstitious," and 
 savouring of the " pestiferous doctrines of the Roman 
 Pontiff," so must have been the ancient practices of the 
 Cistercians ; and wonderful indeed was it, that till King 
 Henry and his advisers discovered it, our ancestors, for 
 four hundred years at least, approved of and took part in 
 these same practices without a suspicion of the " perni- 
 cious" errors they were now found to contain ! In the 
 matter of discipline alone was there any decadence, and 
 then the altered conditions of the times demanded some 
 modifications. The use of flesh meat three days in the 
 week was introduced, and instead of manual labour, other 
 duties were substituted, such as teaching, copying, study, 
 etc. In their daily lives, we are told by Rev. Dr. Gasquet, 
 O.S.B., perhaps the greatest living authority in such 
 matters, that the Cistercians at that time differed little 
 from the Benedictines. 
 
 Such was the condition of Mellifont on that fatal day,
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 97 
 
 the 23rd July 1539, when the Commissioners, with an 
 armed band, demanded admission and surrender, in the 
 King's name. Remonstrance with them was vain, and 
 the usual formality was gone through. They seized on 
 the charters, registers, ledgers, etc., together with the 
 keys of the treasury and store-rooms ; took an inventory 
 of all the possessions of the monastery, and sealed the 
 Library and strong room. They, then, summoned the 
 Abbot and all the monks to the Chapter-house, to sign 
 the Act of Surrender. In the Calendar of Patent and 
 Close Rolls, Chancery, Ireland, Henry VIII. (edited by 
 James Morrin), the synopsis of it is given as follows at 
 p. 135 : — " Surrender of the Abbey or House of the Blessed 
 Virgin Mary at Mellyfount, in the County of Louth, by 
 Richard Contoure, Abbot, with the consent of the 
 Convent ; and of the church, belfry, cemetery, manors, 
 lands, and all its possessions in the counties of Dublin, 
 Kildare, and Carlow, with all charters, evidences, muni- 
 ments, goods, utensils, ornaments and jewels." — July 23, 
 SI''. (1539). " Endorsed on the preceding surrender is a 
 memorandum that the Abbot and Convent, assembled in 
 the Chapter-house, voluntarily acknowledged the preced- 
 ing surrender, delivered it into the hands of the Lord 
 Chancellor, and prayed it might be enrolled in Chancery, 
 in ]}evpetiiain rei meinoriam. Witness, George, Arch- 
 bishop of Dublin; Wm. Brabazon, Vice-Treasurer; Robert 
 Cowley, Master of the Rolls." July 23, 31°. 
 
 How often have these " voluntary" surrenders been 
 Haunted by writers hostile to the monks, as if the farce of 
 signing the document which made them beggars were a 
 free act ! They were anxious, forsooth, to shake off the 
 burden of their religious obligations, through the facile 
 dispensation so liberally accorded by the new Head of the 
 Church, in the flush of his accession to ecclesiastical 
 
 G
 
 98 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 supremacy! The late scholarly and liberal-minded Deau 
 Butler, Protestant Rector of Trim, wrote thus on the 
 subject: — "The form of surrender then executed omitted 
 
 no property which could belong to the house 
 
 There were added their charters, evidences, writings and 
 manuscripts, their goods, chattels, utensils, ornaments, 
 jewels, and debts, all these were granted to the King, to 
 be disposed of at his good pleasure, without appeal or 
 complaint, and the unhappy men were forced to declare, 
 that they thus deprived themselves of house and home 
 of their oivn free ivill, and that they put an end to a 
 venerable institution, to which they were bound by so 
 many solemn obligations, certain just and reasonable 
 causes thereto moving their minds and their consciences." 
 {Register of the Priory of All Hallows. Preface, p. 
 xxix.) 
 
 The next step was, there and then, to auction off all the 
 moveables of the monastery, except the jewels of the rich 
 reliquaries, chalices, and other sacred vessels, with the 
 plate and bells, which formed the King's special perquisite. 
 The whole artistic woodwork of the church (choir and 
 waiuscotting) was smashed in pieces, and even the very 
 tombs of the founders and others interred there, were sold 
 and carted off. For a description of the work of destruc- 
 tion, as related by an eye-witness of such vandalism at the 
 suppression of an English Cistercian monastery, see The 
 Irish Cistercians, p. 45. The sale realised £141 7s. 3d., 
 but no detailed account is given of the sum that each 
 article fetched. According to another Commission ad- 
 dressed to John Allen, Chancellor; William Brabazon, 
 Vice-Treasurer ; and Robert Cowley, Master of the Bolls; 
 dated May 20, 1539, the proceeds of such sales were 
 ordered to be allocated " to pay the officers and servants 
 of the Crown." When the church and monastery were
 
 MKLLIFONT ABBEY. 99 
 
 dismantled, and every article of value, no matter how 
 trifling, had been removed, the order to clear out the 
 monks was promptly given and executed ; and the gates 
 were shut behind them. Whither they went nobody 
 cared, and whither to go was a problem to themselves 
 difficult to be solved ; for without money or provision, they 
 were in a worse condition than the most destitute of 
 beggars. The hoary old walls caught up their groans 
 and lamentations on that day, as with breaking hearts 
 they looked upon each familiar spot for the last time. 
 This is one of the secrets the old stones of the few 
 remaining buildings yet withhold from us. Mellifont 
 beheld many moving spectacles during the four centuries 
 of her existence, but none, perhaps, so deeply affecting as 
 when her 150 children, amongst whom were the aged, 
 tottering on the brink of the grave and leaning for support 
 on some younger brethren, turned their back upon their 
 happy home where they enjoyed an anticipated paradise. 
 As the sad procession slowly gained the top of the hill, 
 many a time they turned to take a last farewell look at 
 their beloved monastery, till it faded from their view for 
 ever. A few shillings each were allowed them for their 
 immediate wants, but of that multitude only thirteen and 
 the Abbot received pensions. This grant was fixed for 
 them three days after their expulsion, after which they all 
 disappear from the scene as effectually as if the Boyne 
 had engulphed them. 
 
 The following entries are found in the Patent and Close 
 Rolls Calendar, Henry VIII., pp. 59, 60 : " Pension of 
 £40 Ir. to Richard Contour, late Abbot of Mellyfount, 
 payable out of the parishes of Kuockmohan, Donowre, 
 and Monkenewton, with clause of distress." — Sept. 10, 
 1539. And at p. CO, ihid., "Pension to John Byrrell, 
 late parson of Mellifount, £3 6s. 8J.; to Thomas Bagot,
 
 100 MKLLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 £4; to Peter Rewe, 40/-; to Thomas Aleu, 53/4; to 
 William Norreis, 40/-; to Robert Nangle, 40/-; to Patrick 
 Contour, 53/4 ; to William Veldon, £3 Os. 8d. ; to Patrick 
 Lawles, 40/- ; to John Ball, 40/- ; to Clement Bartholo- 
 mewe, 20/- ; to Phelim O'Neil, 20/- ; payable out of the 
 rents and lands of the parishes of Knoekamowan, Donower, 
 and Montuewton " (Monknevvtown), 2G July, 1539. 
 
 Thus, then, were these fourteen provided for, but, of 
 the others, not one received a single shilling, except, as 
 has been said, a mere pittance that sufficed to procure 
 them a few nights' shelter. This is no picture drawn 
 from fancy; it is a well-authenticated fact, that where a 
 peaceful surrender was not given or signed, no provision 
 whatsoever was made for those who so refused. They 
 were given a trifle at their expulsion, and turned adrift to 
 swell the army of beggars, or to perish, as they did in 
 hundreds, of hardships to which they were unaccustomed. 
 The imagination cannot now well conceive the heartless, 
 wanton cruelty then practised on the expelled Religious ; 
 who, if they had betrayed their consciences and taken the 
 oath of Supremacy, might have staved off, at least for a 
 time, the calamities that befell them. But only for a 
 time; for in some instances where the monks, through 
 mistaken notions, obeyed the Royal mandate, they shared 
 the fate of their more steadfast brethren, owing to the 
 insatiable rapacity of the King and his advisers. To 
 those of the expelled who were priests, the hope was held 
 out to them, in case of "free surrender," that they should 
 be promoted to the first vacant benefices. As not one of 
 the Religious expelled from Mellifont is enrolled on the 
 list of those promoted to vacancies during that or the 
 subsequent reigns, it is obvious that they held fast to 
 their principles, and denied the Kiug's Supremac}', an 
 acknowledgment of ^yhich was indispensable before pro-
 
 MKLLIFONT ABBEY. 101 
 
 motion. All honour to them for their generous sacrifices, 
 which made them worthy to be the last who saw the 
 venerable institution reel and fall beneath the despot's 
 blows. Their noble attitude was befitting the close of a 
 work which was inaugurated with such splendour amid a 
 nation's rejoicing. Like the setting sun, Meilifont dis- 
 appeared in a halo of glory. 
 
 CHAPTER VIII. 
 
 MKLLIFONT BECOMES THE HOME OF A NOBLE FAMILY — IS 
 SOLD, AND IS DELIVERED UP TO RUIN AND DECAY. 
 
 " ilute is the matin bell, whose early call 
 
 Warn'd the grey fathers from their humble beds ; 
 No midnight taper gleams along the wall, 
 Or, round the sculptur'd saint its radiance sheds." 
 
 (^Keats.) 
 
 /HE long line of distinguished men being 
 thus rudely and abruptly terminated at 
 Meilifont, with the suppression of the 
 monastery, all memorials of their history 
 were lost, and no trace of them has been 
 left. Not a book, nor cross, nor chalice, register, 
 nor chartulary remains. It appears that Meili- 
 font had its Annalist and its Annals like all the other 
 monasteries of the Order in Ireland ; for Bishop Nicolson, 
 who wrote his "Irish National Library" in 1724, says: 
 " The Annals of Ireland from the foundation of this 
 Abbey in 1142 to the year 1500, are, or were lately, in 
 the hands of some of the learned men of this kingdom." 
 He does not tell us the name of the compiler, but only
 
 102 MtLLIFONT AHIJKY, 
 
 the fact that they had been written at Mellifont. These 
 are not cited by later writers, so they, also, must have 
 perished long since. At the suppression of monasteries, 
 the archives, chronicles, and registers were carefully 
 sought by the Commissioners, because they contained 
 correct information on the value and extent of the 
 possessions of each house respectively ; and the more 
 extensive these were, the more sedulously were the records 
 sought for. Hence it is that because the Cistercian Order 
 had large possessions, the manuscripts were all seized aud 
 handed over with the monasteries to the grantees. The 
 monks could not possibly take one away with them. So 
 their history is now derivable from other sources, which, 
 at best, are very meagre. Mellifont, which occupied so 
 prominent and respected a position during its career, 
 would not be found inferior to other houses of the Order 
 in the number of its learned and remarkable men, were 
 its ancient documents now available ; and, judging from 
 the long roll of distioguished men, who in every depart- 
 ment of knowledge rendered the Order illustrious in other 
 countries, we may safely allot a respectable quota of the 
 same to Mellifont. De Yisch compiled his Writers of the 
 Cistercian Order in 1656, and Sartorius published a 
 large tome in 1700, each containing notices of the illus- 
 trious men of the Order. No less than sixty-three large 
 folio pages of this latter work are occupied with the 
 names of the learned men, and the dates at which they 
 flourished. He places all in distinct categories, and so we 
 have St. Bernard heading the list, after whom come the 
 Grammarians, next follow the Poets, Orators, Historians, 
 Philosophers, Mathematicians, Astronomers, Musicians, 
 then Doctors of Canon aud Civil Law, and Doctors of 
 Theology ; finally, Professors in universities, and others, 
 whose general attainments precluded classification. As
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 103 
 
 these works were written after the suppression of the 
 monasteries in these countries, the materials relating to 
 the Irish and English monasteries having passed into 
 hostile hands or been destroyed, were no longer accessible. 
 Ireland was ever remarkable for the thirst for learning 
 displayed by her children, and for the singular pro- 
 ficiency attained by them, when the opportunity for it 
 was afforded ; we may, then, justly conclude that learning 
 and the polite arts found a homo at Mellifont. For this 
 latter branch, the beautiful buildings would, of them- 
 selves, suffice as an argument in favour of an advanced 
 state of culture and refinement. 
 
 It is worthy of note, that neither the Irish people, nor 
 the representatives of the Government in this country, 
 brought, much less substantiated, any direct charges 
 against the Irish monks, prior to the suppression. Hence 
 it is, that their maligners had to import, for use against 
 them, the staple arguments commonly used in England, 
 and there only by venal scribblers, and those who profited 
 by the downfall of the monks. To such the learned and 
 impartial Protestant historian, the Rev. Doctor Maitland, 
 adverts, when after giving credit to the monks for their 
 having been benefactors to mankind, he writes in his 
 preface to the Dark Ages: — "In the meantime, let me 
 thankfully believe that thousands of the persons at whom 
 Robertson, and Jortin, and other such very miserable 
 second-hand writers, have sneered, were men of enlarged 
 minds, purified affections, and holy lives, that they were 
 justly reverenced by men, and, above all, favourably 
 accepted by God, and distinguished by the highest honours 
 which He vouchsafes to those whom He has called into 
 existence, that of being the channels of His love and mercy 
 to their fellow-creatures." And in our own time, the 
 Guardian, an English Protestant newspaper, when re-
 
 104 MELLIFONT ABIiKY. 
 
 viewing tlie Rev. Doctor Gasqiiet's, O.S.B., learned work, 
 Henry VIII. and the English Monasteries, approvingly 
 cites, amongst others, the following paragraph: — "The 
 voices raised against the monks were those of Cromwell's 
 agents, of the cliques of the new men and of his hireling 
 scribes, who formed a crew of as truculent and as filthy 
 libellers as ever disgraced a revolutionary cause. The later 
 centuries have taken their tale in good faith, but time is 
 showing that the monasteries, up to the day of their fall, 
 had not forfeited the good will, the veneration, the affection 
 of the English people." Mr. Lecky, too, with his usual 
 candour and liberality, writes: — "Monastic institutions 
 were the only refuges of a pacific civilisation ; the only 
 libraries, the only schools, the only centres of art, the only 
 refuges for gentle and intellectual natures ; the chief 
 barriers against violence and rapine ; the chief promoters 
 of agriculture and of industry." {The Political Value' of 
 History, p. 14. London, 1892.) 
 
 The monks being now expelled, Mellifont was delivered 
 up to desecration and ruin ; the silence of the tomb reigned 
 supreme, and the voice of prayer was heard no more ; no 
 longer did the bells from the tower send forth their 
 cheering notes over the surrounding district to raise the 
 hearts of the toiler to Heaven. These sweet toned bells, 
 the gift of some priucel}^ benefactor, had been, with all 
 the other moveable property, carried off by the spoiler. 
 The Abbey, with all its spiritual and temporal possessions, 
 was given, in 1541, to Laurence Townley, for 21 years. 
 
 They passed by reversionary lease to Brabazon, in 
 
 1546. In 1551, they were leased to the same for 21 
 years more, and in 1566, they came by reversionary lease 
 to Edward Moore, the founder of the Drogheda family, 
 who, at that time, came into Ireland, as a soldier of for- 
 tune. {Ai^pendix to the Rejyort of the Deputy-Keeper of 
 the Rolls and Grants of Elisabeth.)
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 105 
 
 This Edward Moore, who was accompanied by Ids 
 brother John, the founder of the Charleville family (now 
 extinct), was descended from an ancient Kentish House. 
 He fixed his residence at Mellifont, changing the church 
 into a dwelling, which he strongly fortified against the 
 attacks of the Ulster Irish, The statues of the Twelve 
 Apostles, which once occupied places in the church, he 
 caused to be removed to the hall, clad in red uniforms, 
 with muskets on their shoulders, as a protest, no doubt, 
 against " Popish idolatry," It is even said that he suifered 
 the Founder's tomb, and those of others, or such portions 
 of them as still were left, to remain as part of his domestic 
 arrangements, without his being disturbed by such solemn 
 surroundings. He was knighted by the Deputy, Sir Wm. 
 Drury, and dying soon after, was succeeded by his son. 
 Sir Garret, to whom Mellifont, with six other dissolved 
 monasteries, and all their spiritualities (that is, the 
 revenues of them, right of patronage, etc.) and tempora- 
 lities, were granted in fee. By these means, was adhesion 
 to the Crown purchased and services to it rewarded — 
 services, which bore no equivocal meaning ever since the 
 Invasion, as the Irish knew by long and bitter experience. 
 
 At this time, the Church, as by Law Established, 
 became part and parcel of the State, and its most 
 obsequious servant. Its ministers looked to the civil 
 power for patronage, and even hoped for promotion 
 through the officials of the Court; but only in a few 
 instances were the livings worth the asking, as the 
 greater part of their temporalities were bestowed on lay- 
 men, favourites of the Queen, We have a picture of the 
 state of that Church in Ireland, soon after the suppression 
 of monasteries, drawn by the Lord Deputy himself, in a 
 letter to Queen Elizabeth. They who would fain believe 
 in the blessed advantages which flowed from the Dissolu-
 
 lOG MELLTFONT AliBEY. 
 
 tion of Monasteries, and the introduction of the new- 
 religion, may take to heart the lesson it teaches. Sir 
 Henry Sydney wrote to the Queen in April, 1576, on the 
 condition of the diocese of Meath : — " There are within 
 this diocese," he writes, " 224 parish churches, of which 
 number, 105 are impropriated to sundry possessions ; no 
 parson or vicar resident on any of them, and a very simple 
 or sorry curate for the most part appointed to serve them ; 
 among which number of curates, only eighteen were found 
 to be able to speak English, the rest being Irish ministers, 
 or rather, Irish rogues, having very little Latin and less 
 
 learning and civility In many places the very 
 
 walls of the churches are thrown down, very few chancels 
 covered; windows and doors ruined and spoiled. There 
 are 52 parish churches in the same diocese which have 
 vicars endowed upon them, better served and maintained 
 than the others, yet badly. There are 52 parish churches 
 here, residue of the first number of 224, which pertain to 
 divers particular lords; and these, though iu better state 
 than the others commonly, are yet far from well." He 
 concludes by saying : — " But yet j^our Majesty may believe 
 it, that upon the face of the earth where Christ is professed, 
 there is not a church in so miserable a case." Lord 
 Grenville, in his Past and Present Policy of England 
 fovjards Ireland, when commenting on Sydney's letters, 
 from one of which the above is an extract, writes : — " Such 
 was the condition of a church which was half a century 
 before rich and flourishing, an object of reverence and a 
 source of consolation to the people. It was now despoiled 
 of its revenues ; the sacred edifices were in ruins, the 
 clergy were either ignorant of the language of their flocks, 
 or illiterate and uncivilised intruders ; and the onlv ritual 
 permitted by the laws was one of which the people neither 
 comprehended the language nor believed the doctrines ;
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 107 
 
 and this is called establishing a reformation." That this 
 condition of affairs was not confined to any particular 
 diocese, but rather was the state in all, is evident from 
 the sketch given by Spenser in his View of the State of 
 Ireland. " They" (the ministers), he says, " neither read 
 the Scriptures nor preach to the people, nor administer 
 the Communion .... only they take the tithes and 
 offerings, and gather what fruit else they may of their 
 
 livings It is a great wonder to see the zeal 
 
 between the Popish priests and the ministers of the 
 Gospel ; for they spai'e not to come out of Spain, from 
 Rome, and from Rheims, by long toil and dangerous 
 travelling thither, where they know peril of death 
 aw^aiteth them, and no reward or riches are to be found, 
 only to draw people to the Church of Rome." Such were 
 the immediate fruits of the Reformation as admitted and 
 described by Protestant contemporaries. 
 
 One of the first proprietary acts of Sir Edward Moore, 
 on his acquiring Mellifont, seems to have been to cut 
 down and sell some of the magnificent timber planted by 
 the monks. The old wooden house, so long an object of 
 curiosity in Drogheda, and which was taken down in 
 1824, was chiefly composed of oak obtained from Mellifont 
 Park. It was situated at the angle formed by the 
 junction of Laurence Street and Shop Street, and was 
 erected by Nicholas Bathe, as an inscription in raised 
 characters, each six inches in length, testified. This 
 inscription was on the Laurence Street side, " Made . Bi . 
 Nicholas . Bathe . in . the . ieare . of. our . Lord . God . 1570 . 
 Bi . Hiu . Mor . Carpenter." 
 
 In 1592, Red Hugh O'Donnell, fleeing from Dublin 
 Castle, where he had been detained a close prisoner, was 
 received and kindly treated by Sir Edward Moore, at 
 Mellifont. His reception is thus related in the Life of
 
 108 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Red Hugh, edited with notes by the late Father Denis 
 Murphy, S.J. : — " After crossing theBoyne near Drogheda, 
 Red Ilugh and his companion mounted their horses, 
 and proceeded about two miles from the river, where they 
 saw a dense bushy grove in front of them on the road they 
 came, and a large rampart all around it, as if it was a 
 kitchen-garden. There was a fine mansion (called the 
 great monastery), belonging to an illustrious youth of the 
 English, by the side of the wood. He was much attached 
 
 to O'Neil He (O'Donnell) went into the house 
 
 and was entertained ; for he was well known there especi- 
 ally more than in other places." 
 
 In 1599, according to the family pedigree, Sir Garret 
 Moore and Sir Francis Stafford were the only English 
 house-keepers in the County Louth; all the lands being 
 wasted by the Ulster rebels. The next important event 
 at Mellifont was the great O'Neil's surrender there to 
 the Deputy, Lord Mountjoy, on the 24th March, 1602. 
 The Lord Deputy sent Sir Garret Moore, as an old 
 acquaintance of O'Neil's, with Sir Wra. Godolphin to 
 parley with him, and O'Neil returned with them to 
 Mellifont, where (on his knees, it is said by English 
 writers,) he made his submission to the Deputy. Here, 
 again, we have further proof of what has been stated 
 before, that it was Irishmen who retained this country for 
 the English Crown ; for when Sir George Carew sat down 
 before Kinsale, where O'Neil Avas defeated, his army 
 consisted of three thousand men, of whom two thousand 
 were Irish.* 
 
 Five years later, that is, in 1607, O'Neil was again at 
 
 * It is not generally known that it was an Irishman who, on the fata 
 day of Aughriin, as St. Ruth rode to victory waving his cap, pointed him 
 out to the gunner whose faithful shot deprived St. Ruth of his head and 
 the Irish Army of a valiant General.
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 109 
 
 the " fair mansion of Mellifont to bid good-bye for ever to 
 his good friend, Sir Garret, the fosterer of his son John,"' 
 He tarried two days with him, and then said farewell. 
 Having given his blessing, "according to the Irish fashion," 
 to every member of his fiiend's household, he and his suite 
 took horse, and rode rapidly by Dundalk on his way to 
 Lough S willy, where a ship awaited him to bear him from 
 his native land for ever. 
 
 By an Inquisition taken on the 14th June, 1G12, the 
 possessions of this Abbey were found as follow : — " The 
 site, a water-mill, a garden, an orchard, a park called Legan 
 Park, the old orchard containing two acres ; the silver 
 meadow, nine acres ; the wood meadow, ten acres j and 
 the doves' park ; 80 acres of underwood ; Killingwood, 
 being great timber, containing twelve acres ; Ardagh, 
 twenty acres, being the demesne lands ; and the grange 
 and town of Tullyallen," etc. 
 
 In 1615, July 20th, Sir Garret was created Baron 
 Moore of Mellifont, by King James I. In 1619, Baron 
 Moore obtained a royal grant of St. Mary's Abbey, 
 Dublin, from the same King ; and in 1621, he was created 
 a Viscount, with the title of Viscount Moore of Drogheda. 
 St. Mary's Abbey, Dublin, passed from the family some 
 fifty years later. 
 
 As has been said, no trace of the expelled religious 
 remains after the suppression of Mellifont. It, however, 
 may be assumed, that some few of them lingered around 
 the hallowed spot to which their affections clung, and that 
 they shared the labours and dangers incident to the 
 Catholic missionaries of the period, as is well known 
 their brethren in other parts of Ireland did after their 
 expulsion. It cannot now be ascertained whether, or not, 
 an unbroken line of titular Abbots of Mellifont was 
 maintained after the dissolution of the Abbey ; but, in
 
 110 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 1623, an oratory in Drogheda, belonging to the Cistercians, 
 was served by five or six Fathers of the Order under 
 Patrick Barnewall, who had been appointed Abbot of 
 Mellifont by the Pope; and in 1625, he received the 
 abbatial benediction in the church of St. John, in 
 Waterford, at the hands of the Most Rev. Thomas 
 Fleming, Archbishop of Dublin. This Patrick Barnewall 
 belonged to the Bremore branch (Co. Dublin) of the 
 ancient and illustrious family of that name. After having 
 studied the Humanities, Philosophy, Theology, and Canon 
 Law in the Universities of Douay and Paris, he was ordained 
 priest, and discharged missionary duties in Drogheda. 
 In a sketch of his life given by a fellow-labourer, it is 
 related, that one night as he lay awake, St. Bernard 
 appeared to him and told him he would be a monk of his 
 Order. Though he relished the idea, yet he did not 
 immediately correspond with his inclinations till he was 
 grievously afflicted with a severe sickness, when he re- 
 membered the vision, and being urged b}' his two sisters, 
 who had consecrated themselves to God, he entered the 
 Novitiate of the Order in Kilkenny, and was at once 
 restored to health. Soon after his profession he was 
 appointed Abbot of Mellifont by Apostolic authority ; and 
 he admitted novices into the Order at his " hiding-place" 
 at Drogheda, whom he sent to be educated at the 
 Cistercian College, Louvain, and to other Continental 
 Colleges. He was a very learned man, particularly in 
 Canon Law, and was consulted as an authority on this 
 subject. During the siege of Drogheda, in 1641, his 
 goods were seized and himself cast into prison, but 
 through the influence of some powerful relatives he was 
 liberated. He died in his father's house in September, 
 1644, and was buried in the church of Donore, which 
 formerly belonged to Mellifont. John Devereux, a native
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. Ill 
 
 of the Co. Wexford, who had been educated at Louvaiu, 
 was appointed by the Pope, Abbot of MelHfont, in 1G48. 
 He, with Father Luke Bergin and Father Patrick Grace, 
 both natives of Co. Kilkenny, Father Malachy O'Hartry, a 
 native of Waterford, Father John Bryan, a native of 
 Drogheda, and Father Piunket, constituted the new 
 community of Cistercian monks under Abbot Patrick 
 Barnewall, when he opened the oratory in Drogheda, in 
 1623. Whether all or any of them perished in the general 
 massacre of Drogheda, under Cromwell, we cannot tell, 
 but they disappeared thenceforth, and John Devereux 
 seems to have been the last titular Abbot of Mellifont. 
 
 In the Eebellion of 1641, Mellifont and its owner. Lord 
 Charles Moore, son of Garret, the first Viscount, became 
 involved. On the 21st November, just a short time after 
 the outbreak, the rebels under Sir Phelim G'Neil, when 
 on their way to besiege Drogheda, made a halt at Tully- 
 allen, and " sent a party of 1,300 foot down to Mellifont, 
 the Lord Moore's hout^e, which their design was suddenly 
 to Surprise ; but, contrary to their expectation, they found 
 there twenty-four musketeers and fifteen horsemen, who 
 very stoutly defended the house as long as their powder 
 lasted. The horsemen, when they saw themselves beset 
 so as they could no longer be serviceable to the place, 
 opened the gates, issued out and made their passage 
 through the midst of the rebels, and so, notwithstanding 
 the opposition they made, escaped safe to Drogheda. 
 The foot having refused to accept of the quarter at the 
 first offered, resolved to make good the place to the last 
 man ; they endured several assaults, slew one hundred- 
 and-forty of the rebels, before their powder failed them ; 
 and at last they gave up the place upon promise of 
 quarter, which was not kept, for some of them were 
 killed in cold blood, all were stripped, and two old
 
 112 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 (lecrepid men slain, the house ransacked and all the goods 
 carried away." 
 
 The above is from Sir John Temple's History of the 
 Irish Rebellion, and it has been quoted by Catholics and 
 Protestants alike when alluding to ]\Iellifont ; they each 
 add, however, a little spice to suit the palates of their 
 respective readers. Of this attack on Mellifont we have 
 no less than four versions, two of which deserve but little 
 credence, viz., that already given, and that of Dean 
 Bernard. The account given by the latter is fuller, and 
 enters more minutely into detail, so that some particulars 
 tax the capacity of the most credulous ; as, for instance, 
 when he tells us that twenty-four musketeers killed one 
 hundred -and-forty rebels though they had only " six 
 shots " of powder, " some only four," and that they 
 rammed in six bullets together, and how each shot killed 
 several. Verily, every bullet had its billet there ! That 
 be sharp practice without doubt ! He also tells, how the 
 loss on the part of the garrison was thirteen killed, 
 '• whom a Friar ivas so forivard for deed of charity as 
 to 'procure them burial in the church adjoining.^' 
 Thank goodness, he has the grace to credit even a Friar 
 with some remnant of humanity ! He does not say that 
 the rebels stripped all. They could not have done so ; 
 for eleven escaped to Drogheda. These godless Papists 
 capped their iniquity in this holy man's estimation when 
 they "threw a fair church Bible into the mill-pond." 
 The last charge on the sheet is — " Their best language to 
 them all was ' English dogs,' ' rogues,' etc." 
 
 Before producing the other two versions, let us examine 
 the characters of both these witnesses as drawn by Protes- 
 tant writers. Sir John Temple wrote his History in 1656, 
 from the "Depositions" preserved then in Dublin Castle, 
 but Avhich are now in Trinity College. These "Deposi-
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 118 
 
 tions" comprise the list of murders, burnings, etc., said 
 to have been perpetrated by the Irish on the English 
 Protestants during the war, and fill thirty-two volumes. 
 He was some time Privy Councillor, but was removed by 
 Ormonde, and Carte tells how " two traitorous and 
 scandalous letters against his Majesty written by Temple 
 were read in Committee." And Dr. Nalson, another 
 Protestant writer, accuses him of having been in league 
 with the Parliamentarians, whom Ormonde describes as 
 those who became the "murderers of his (the King's) 
 royal person, the usurpers of his rights, and destro}ers of 
 the Irish nation ; by whom the nobility and gentry of it 
 were massacred at home, and led into slavery, or driven 
 into beggary abroad." In 1674, Temple protested that 
 the work was published without his knowledge, as appears 
 from State Papers, Dublin edition, p. 2. 
 
 Dean Bernard was Primate Ussher's chaplain, and like 
 his master, was a Puritan. During the siege of Drogheda 
 he watched over the Primate's library lest the rebels 
 should attack the magnificent palace which had been 
 built with the fines from the recusants. He was after- 
 wards Cromwell's chaplain and almoner, in either of 
 which capacities, it would be quite unreasonable to expect 
 justice to the Irish from him. 
 
 As to the " Depositions" themselves, they are summarily 
 dealt with by the Rev. Dr. Warner, another English 
 Protestant historian of that Eebellion. " There is no 
 credit to be given to anything that was said by these 
 Deponents which had not others' evidence to confirm it." 
 And again, the same Dr. Warner, who went through the 
 drudgery of perusing and examining these " Depositions," 
 says : "As a great stress has been laid upon this collection 
 in print and conversation, and as the whole evidence of 
 the massacres turns upon it, I spent a great deal of my 
 
 H
 
 114 MEJ.LHONT AJJBEY. 
 
 time exaujiuiug the books; and I am sorry to say, that 
 they have been made the foundation of much more 
 clamour and resentment than can be warranted by truth 
 and reason." It was in them that Temple found the 
 story of the ghosts of the murdered Protestants, in the 
 River Bann, at the Bridge of Portadown, shrieking for 
 revenge, and one in particular, who was seen there from 
 the 29Lh December to the end of the following Lent! ! ! 
 He sets down the number of English and Protestants who 
 were " murdered in cold blood, destroyed some other way, 
 or expelled out of their habitations in two years by the 
 Irish, as exceeding 300,000," though, according to Petty, 
 there were not at the outbreak of the Rebellion 20,000 
 English Protestants in Ulster, where nearly all the 
 murders were said to have been committed. Dr. Warner 
 also tells how he saw in the Council books at Dublin, the 
 letter which the Commissioners of the Irish Parliament 
 wrote to the English Parliament, urging them to show no 
 mercy to the Irish, hut rather, to revenge the murders 
 and massacres committed by them. They tell them, 
 "that besides eight hundred-and-forty-eight families, there 
 were killed, hanged, burned, and drowned, six thousand 
 and sixty-two." Dr. Warner considers 2,000 about the 
 correct number. A prodigious number to be sure, but 
 how far less than Temple's 300,000. Warner says, finally, 
 at p. 296 of his work so often cited : " It is easy enough 
 to demonstrate the falsehood of every Protestant historian 
 of this Rebellion." 
 
 The Rev. Mr. Carte, an English Protestant clergyman, 
 who wrote the celebrated Life of the Duke of Ormonde, 
 tears all Temple's assertions in pieces, and demonstrates 
 from indubitable authority the falsehoods of his state- 
 ments. Writing of these "Depositions" he says, at Vol. 
 II., p. 263 : "Anyone who has ever read the examinations
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 115 
 
 and depositions which were generally given on hearsay, 
 and contradicting one another, must think it very hard 
 upon the Irish, to have all those without distinction to be 
 admitted as evidence." And in the Preface to the collec- 
 tion of Letters affixed to the Life he alludes to the 
 " uncertain, false, mistaken, and contradictory accounts, 
 which have been given of the Irish Uebellion, by parties 
 influenced by selfish views and party animosities, or 
 unfurnished with proper and authentic materials and 
 memoirs." 
 
 It is obvious from the first pages of Temple's History 
 what the scope of the work is. It is a gross libel on the 
 whole Irish nation from the earliest times. In one page, 
 he twice applies to them the epithet of a beastly race, 
 and, no doubt, worthy to be rooted out, to make room for 
 Royalists of his type, who worshipped the rising sun. 
 
 Carte, in his Life of Ormond, Vol. II., p. 135, gives an 
 account of the attack on Mellifont as follows : — " This 
 detached body of the northern rebels appeared on 
 November 21st in sight of the town of Drogheda, within 
 four miles of it, presuming (as was imagined) upon some 
 party within the place. Sir H. Tichburne, Governor of 
 Drogheda, had the week before sent a party of fifteen 
 horse and twenty-two foot to Mellifont (formerly an 
 Abbey of Bernardino monks, founded by Donagh O'Car- 
 roU, prince of Ergall, about A.D. 1142, but then an house 
 of the Lord Viscount Moore's, three miles from town), as, 
 well as to secure that place from the incursions of roving 
 parties, as to keep abroad continual sentinels and scouts, 
 that might inform him of the rebels' motions. His orders 
 were not well observed, nor his party so vigilant as they 
 ought to have been ; for on the 21st, the rebels on a 
 sudden encompassed the house, and (after the soldiers' 
 powder was spent) took it Avith a loss of some one hundred
 
 116 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 and twenty of their own number (among which were 
 Owen M'Mahon and another captain), and eleven of the 
 soldiers, with most of the arms. As the Irish were 
 breaking into the house on all sides, the troopers causing 
 the great gate to be opened, sallied out, and opening 
 themselves a way through the body of the rebels, got safe 
 with the rest of the foot soldiers sore wounded to 
 Drogheda." This may be accepted as a true, unvarnished 
 account of this much magnified attack ; especially as 
 Tichburne himself, who cannot be accused of partiality 
 towards the Irish, and who was Governor of Drogheda at 
 the time of its occurrence, seems to have been Carte's 
 authority for it, as appears from a reference to a letter 
 written by Tichburne to Ormond, but not given in the 
 collection of Letters mentioned above. There is no 
 question here of quarter given, or of faith broken ; no 
 cold-blooded murders, no gruesome picture of gory corpses 
 unburied, nor of fiendish glee on the part of rebels dancing 
 round their watch-fires in presence of their stark and 
 naked victims strewn around ! ! ! Pity such absurdity 
 should be believed or repeated in our time, when it should 
 have been relegated to the same lumber-heap as the story 
 of the ghosts of the Bann ! 
 
 We have yet another account from a paper or Report 
 published in London by two parties who only give their 
 initials, T. A. and P. G. It was "printed by Edward 
 Blackmore, at the Angel, in Paul's Churchyard, in 1642," 
 and is now to be found in the Contemporary History of 
 Affairs in Ireland, so ably edited by Sir John Gilbert, at 
 Vol. I., Part II., p. 420. There is a discrepancy in the 
 dates, but that is immaterial, as only one attack is said to 
 have been made. It tells us, "That on the same day 
 (April 30), three or four hundred rebels came before 
 Mellifont, three or four miles from Drogheda, where Lord
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 117 
 
 Moore had left on Tuesday before a garrisoa of four- 
 score foot and about thirty horse ; the rebels plaid hotly 
 upon them until the horse were ready within ; but as 
 soon as the horse Avere ready, they, with the foot, sallied 
 out, and killed about thirty of the rebels." This cannot 
 be far from the truth, as it seems to be free from the 
 exaggerations in which Tichburne dealt, when recounting 
 the numerical strength of his and the enemy's forces, 
 ascribing to the latter poltroonery and cowardice in 
 action, and crediting them with excessively heavy losses. 
 
 The predisposing cause, why the Ulster Irish were 
 ready for rebellion was the misery the native inhabitants 
 endured since the Plantation of the six forfeited counties, 
 some thirty odd years before. Even the remnants of the 
 estates allowed them by the Crown were filched from 
 them by the greed and cunning of unscrupulous Com- 
 missioners, who enriched themselves on the ruin of the 
 Irish. Prendergast {Gromiuellian Settlement, pp. 49-50,) 
 thus describes the condition of the old Irish nobility and 
 gentry then : — " Little they (the Planters, Avho got the 
 forfeited estates) thought or cared how the ancient owner, 
 dispossessed of his lands, must grieve as he turned from 
 the sight of the prosperous stranger to his pining family ; 
 daughters, without prospect of preferment in marriage ; 
 sons, without fit companions, walking up and down the 
 country with their horses and greyhounds, coshering on 
 the Irish, drinking and gaming and ready for any 
 rebellion ; most of his high-born friends wanderino^ in 
 poverty in France and Spain, or enlisted in their armies." 
 The immediate cause of the Rebellion is thus stated: — 
 " A letter was intercepted coming from Scotland to one 
 Freeman of Antrim giving an account that a Covenantincr 
 army was ready to come to Ireland under General Lesly, 
 to extirpate the Eoman Catholics of Ulster, and leave tb*^
 
 118 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Scots in possession of that province; that resolutions to 
 that effect had been taken at their private meetings, as 
 well as to levy heavy fines on such as would not appear 
 at their kirk for the first and second Sunday, and on 
 failure the third, to hang at their own doors without 
 mercy, such as remained obstinate " (Carte's Ormond, 
 Vol. I., p. 160). This notion prevailed universally amongst 
 the rebels, and was chiefly insisted on by them as one of 
 the principal reasons of their taking up arms. 
 
 The Rebellion broke out, then, on the 23rd October, 
 1641, and the actors in it were a " tumultuous rabble " 
 as Ormond called them, intent chiefly on plundering and 
 driving off the English settlers, yet before the end of the 
 month the principal towns of the North were in their 
 hands. Leland, a Protestant historian, writes : — " That 
 in the beginning of the insurrection, it was determined by 
 them that the enterprise should be conducted in every 
 quarter, with as little bloodshed as possible " (History of 
 Ireland, Vol. III., p. 101). At p. 1.31, the same historian 
 writes: — "The Lords Justices might have stamped out 
 the insurrection at once had Ormond's advice to levy a 
 large number of troops been attended to ; for the Irish 
 were then formidable only in numbers, and not six 
 hundred of them had proper arms. But their purpose 
 was rather to fan it, in order to gratify their personal 
 greed by extensive forfeitures." Warner, who has been 
 so often quoted before, writes at p. 176 of his History: — 
 " It is evident from the Lords Justices' letter to the Lord 
 Lieutenant that they hoped for an extermination, not of 
 the mere Irish only, but of all the old English families 
 who were Roman Catholics." They issued a most 
 truculent order to Ormond " to burn, kill, spoil, waste, 
 destroy, the rebels, their relatives, houses and property." 
 One of these Lords Justices is thus referred to by Carte :
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 110 
 
 " He was a man of mean extract, scarcely able to read 
 and write . . . plodding, assiduous, and indefatigable, 
 greedy of gain, and eager to raise a fortune ; which it is 
 not difficult for a man of indifferent parts to do, when he 
 is not hampered with scruples about the ways of getting 
 it" (Ormond,Yo\.J.,ip. 190). This same Lord Justice, 
 with three members of the Privy Council, was put under 
 arrest for disobedience to his Majesty, King Charles, and 
 for complicity with his enemies, the Parliamentarians of 
 England. The Lord Justice was deposed and imprisoned, 
 but he retained his ill-gotten property. 
 
 As has been said, the rebels became masters of the 
 principal towns in the North without meeting any check, 
 when they attacked Mellifont. Lord Moore was then in 
 Drogheda with Sir Henry Tichburne, the Governor, with 
 whose policy and methods he, both before and afterwards, 
 identified himself; and, as an active agent of the Lords 
 Justices, he was specially odious to the Irish. During the 
 siege of Drogheda, he more than once, by his alertness 
 and personal bravery, saved the town from falling into the 
 hands of the besiegers. With the exception of Lord 
 Moore and a few of the older families, both the Lords 
 Justices themselves (who governed the country in the 
 absence of the Lord Lieutenant), and their ruthless 
 instruments were men of no fortune ; or, were such as 
 became enriched by the plunder of the Irish. Tichburne, 
 in a letter to his lady, alludes to one of the commissions 
 entrusted to him for execution, in which fiendish work 
 Lord Moore was associated with him. After his return 
 from the burning of Dundalk,* which he left a smoulder- 
 ing heap of ruins, he describes the results : — " There was 
 neither man nor beast to be found in sixteen miles, 
 
 * The Puritans admitted that Sir Pheliin O'Neil did not commence 
 Lis alleged massacres until after the sacking and burning of Dundalk.
 
 120 MKLLIFOiNT ABBEY. 
 
 between the two towns of Drogheda and Dundalk ; nor 
 on the other side of Dundalk, in the County of Monaghan, 
 Dearer than Carrickmacross, a strong pile twelve miles 
 distant" (Tichburne's Siege of Drogheda, ^. 320). And 
 in tlie same page he says, all this magnificent ruin and 
 desolation were inflicted on the peasantry " without one 
 penny of charge to the State, and that for the space of 
 seven months, all under his command subsisted on the 
 spoils" taken from the unfortunate people in that district. 
 " The country and fields about Dundalk," he says, " were 
 abounding in corn, which I allocated to the several 
 companies, etc." The ghosts of the Bann must have been 
 glutted with vengeance ! ! ! 
 
 And now Lord Moore's career is drawing to a close. 
 After having been engaged in many successful skirmishes, 
 raids, and minor actions, he burned with a desire for the 
 honour of measuring swords with the great Owen Roe, 
 who had defeated all the forces hitherto sent against him, 
 and, according to O'Neil's Diary, he affected to despise 
 O'Neil. He was therefore dispatched with a body of troops 
 to dislodge that consummate strategist from a position 
 occupied by him at Portlester Mill, within five miles of 
 Trim. Borlase tells us that Lord Moore was killed in that 
 engagement, August 7th, 1643, "through the grazing of 
 a cannon bullet which he foresaw, yet took not warning 
 enough to evade." The Author of the Aphorismical Dis- 
 covery, who is commonly supposed to have been O'Neil's 
 secretary, gives another account of his death. It is right 
 to mention that this author was by no means a monk, nor 
 was he a clergyman at all, as is evident from his apology 
 in the Introduction, where he tells the reader that he was 
 by profession a " sworde carrier," and that it was " alienat " 
 to that profession to aspire to literary avocations. "The 
 General" (O'Neil), he writes, " not well pleased with his
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 121 
 
 gunner, for he perceaved he shooted too high, and did 
 little hurte, the peace was charged, the Generall tooke a 
 perspective glasse, and saw wheare my Lord Moore stoode. 
 It being charged, the Generall did levell the same against 
 Moore, gave fire, his aime was soe neare home, that he 
 hitted him a little above his corpise, wherupon all 
 dismembred, presently fell dead, the trunke of his bodie 
 fallinge downe, and some of his members whisling in the 
 aire to take possession by flight in some other field, or 
 make such speede to accompany his soul to hell to be 
 assured for winter quarter next springe." 
 
 Lord Moore was succeeded by his son Henry, who, when 
 Governor of Dundalk, in 1645, was more than suspected 
 of plotting with the Parliamentarians to deliver up that 
 town to Monroe. He was relieved of his charge by Ormond, 
 who was then Lord Lieutenant, and being a minor, was 
 sent by him to England (out of harm's way), to the Court, 
 where he was kindly received by the Kiog, who ordered 
 livery to be granted him of his father's lauds {Carte, 
 Vol. IV., p. 154.) Lady Alice, his mother, was, it appears, 
 inveigled into a plot at the same time to deliver up 
 Drogheda to the Scots ; for a wax impression of the keys 
 of the gates having been given her, she caused the gun- 
 smith of the troop, which Lord Henry commanded, to 
 make false keys ; but, being discovered, her ladyship, with 
 others, was sent to Dublin. There, on examination before 
 the Council, they confessed all. (Ibid.) Her Ladyship's end 
 was a tragic one, as we read in Lodge's Peerage. " Lady 
 Alice, younger daughter of Sir Adam Loftus, Viscount 
 Elye, who broke her leg near the fort (Drogheda) by a fall 
 from her horse (occasioned by a sudden grief arising from 
 the first sight of St. Peter's Church, Drogheda, where her 
 dear lord lay buried), on Wednesday, 10th June, 1649, 
 and dying the 13th of a gangrene, was that night buried 
 by him in the family tomb."
 
 122 MELLIFONT ABREY. 
 
 There is another entry at the same place in Lodge. 
 " Lieutenant-Colonel Francis Moore, sixth son of the first 
 VivScount Mellifont, and brother to Lord Charles who was 
 killed at Portlester Mill, who was an officer in the army 
 for the reduction of Ireland, and in 1654<, had a pension 
 from the then Government of 10/- a week, and five of his 
 brother Charles' children had £3 17s. a week in 1G65, out 
 of the district of Trim" (Lodge's Peerage of Ireland, Vol. 
 IL, pp. 99-100). This Francis Moore had been an officer 
 in the King's army, but soon after the arrival in Ireland 
 of Jones, the Parliamentarian General, he went over to 
 him and took the Dundalk troops with him. It was 
 from Cromwell's government he had his pension, but the 
 pensions granted to Lord Charles' children were continued 
 to them after the Restoration, and Lord Henry mentioned 
 above, was created Earl of Drogheda, in 1661, — thus 
 confirming the historic truism, that the ungrateful Stuarts 
 heaped favours on their enemies and treated their best 
 and most devoted adherents with cold indifference. As 
 an illustration of this we have the instance of one of the 
 chief actors in those troublesome times, Sir John Clot- 
 worthy, changing sides three times: — first, fighting in the 
 King's name and commission against the Ulster Irish ; 
 next, siding with the Parliamentarians, his Majesty's 
 deadliest enemies, and going over to England as the 
 spokesman of a deputation sent to the Parliament of 
 England to protest against the return of King Charles IL, 
 on rumour of peace and terms being negotiated between 
 them; again, on King Charles' arrival in England, hieing 
 over to tender his homages and congratulations — and lo ! 
 the reward of his fidelity and loyalty (?) — he was created 
 Viscount Massereene. It is only one instance of several 
 hundreds that may be cited. The i^nfortunate rebels 
 whose banner bore the legend, " Vlvat Carolus Rex" —
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 123 
 
 '• Long live King Charles," and who remained faithful to 
 him to the last, were, by an irony of fate, robbed and 
 banished by the Cromwellians, who were put in possession 
 of their estates and confirmed in them by Charles II. ! 1 ! 
 
 In the foregoing pages, the authorities quoted are 
 Protestants, and all, without exception, hostile to the 
 Irish. Their testimony, nevertheless, is favourable to the 
 rebels, save where the question of religion crops up, then 
 their prejudice blinds their judgment, and hurries them 
 into most glaring absurdities. One more fact about that 
 saddest page of our history. Before the outbreak of the 
 Civil War in 1G41, there were 1,200,000 Irish Catholics 
 in the country ; at its close in 1652, the number had 
 fallen to 700,000, and these were ordered under pain of 
 death to transplant to Connaught — the remnant of a broken 
 and plundered race ! ! ! 
 
 Henr}^ the first Earl of Drogheda, did not long enjoy 
 his honours; nor did his son and successor, Charles, who 
 was succeeded by his brother Henry, the third Earl, who, 
 on the eve of the ever-memorable Battle of the Boyne, 
 entertained a party, amongst whom was one of King 
 William's highest officers. On the morrow, July the 1st, 
 the booming of King William's fifty pieces of "dread 
 artillery" echoed along the hills and the valley of the 
 Boyne, and shook the old abbey walls to their very 
 foundations ; and on that night, the oaken rafters of 
 Mellifont rang to the cheers and toasts of the "glorious, 
 pious, and immortal memory" of the Prince of Orange, on 
 whose side Earl Henry commanded that day a regiment 
 of foot. It may be interesting to mention here, that on 
 the morning of the battle, the Irish Catholic soldiers wore 
 scraps of white paper on their caps — emblematic of the 
 livery of France ; the followers of the Prince of Orange 
 wore green boughs torn off the trees.
 
 124 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 
 
 Charles, Lord Moore, son of Henry, the third Earl, 
 married Jane, heiress of Arthur, Viscount Ely, who 
 received as her portion the suppressed Abbey of Monas- 
 terevan, a Cistercian monastery founded by O'Dempsey, 
 in the 12th century. It was called Rosglas by the Irish, 
 and the Valley of Roses, in the list of monasteries of the 
 Order in Ireland. When it came into Earl Charles' 
 possession, he changed the name to Moore Abbey, and 
 made it his residence. The sons of this Lord Charles, 
 Henry and Edward, became earls successively, and Edward, 
 the fifth earl, having settled down permanently at Monas- 
 terevan, sold Mellifont and some of the property in its 
 immediate vicinity to Mr. Balfour of Townley Hall, in 
 1727. 
 
 The condition of Ireland at that time was truly deplor- 
 able. The Penal Laws were in full force against the 
 unfortunate Catholics, who were reduced to a state little 
 better than slavery. Dr. Johnson wrote of them some 
 fifty years later: — "The Irish are in a most unnatural 
 state ; for we see there the minority prevailing over the 
 majority. There is no such instance, even in the ten 
 persecutions, as that which the Protestants of Ireland 
 have exercised against the Catholics. Did we tell them 
 we conquered, it would be above board ; to punish them 
 by confiscations and other penalties was monstrous injus- 
 tice" (Boswell, at 1773). 
 
 With the Moore family departed also the very shadow 
 of Mellifont's diminished greatness, and " time's effacing 
 finger" almost completely obliterated what was once a 
 gorgeous national monument, which stood out clearly as 
 a finger-post on the ways of time. Gradually the fabric 
 fell into decay, the owl hooted on the landing of the grand 
 stair-case, and the daw and martin flitted unmolested 
 through the deserted halls. The gardens and walks and
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 125 
 
 bowers disappeared beneath a crop of tangled brushwood, 
 the product of neglect. Soon the roof fell in, the walls 
 became seamed with many rents and toppled over with 
 a crash; then Mellifont, the "Honey Fountain," the 
 Monasthir Mor, or Great Abbey, as it was called, the 
 foundation of saints and kings, the abode of the pious and 
 the learned, the house pre-eminently of prayer, the asylum 
 of the poor and friendless, became a shapeless acccumula- 
 tion of rubbish. True, a mill was erected about 100 
 years ago close to the site of the church, and, no doubt, it 
 was told to strangers who then visited the ruins by people 
 who professed to know all about monks, that it had more 
 activity and exhibited more of the bustle of life than 
 when the silent, slumbering monks dwelt there. But a 
 mill in that hallowed spot was a huge incongruity and a 
 wanton disregard for all its honoured associations. In 
 1884, the few remaining ruins became vested in the Board 
 of Works, and the excavations which revealed the plan of 
 the church, as described in Chapter I., were carried out. 
 It only remains to be said that in Mr. Balfour of Townley 
 Hall, the estimable gentleman who now owns Mellifont 
 and some of the property formerly belonging to it, his 
 tenants have found a liberal and generous benefactor, who 
 enjoys the merited esteem and respect of all who know 
 him. 
 
 As one ascends the hill over Mellifont, and, pausing on 
 its summit, gazes on the lovely scenery around him, 
 particularly along the valley of the Boyne, which Young 
 called one of the completest pictures he had ever seen, 
 then glances at the quiet valley beneath him, and 
 remembers what prominent parts those who once trod 
 that favoured spot played in our country's chequered 
 history, his soul is filled with solemn thoughts too big for 
 utterance. There, came the firm and gentle, yet daunt-
 
 126 MELLIFONT AUBEV. 
 
 less, Malachy side by side with Oriel's proud Chief, and 
 hand in hand, they knelt and prayed and consecrated it 
 to the living God for ever. Thereon, rose up the magnifi- 
 cent temple on which neither cost nor labour was spared, 
 that it might be worthy of Him Who deigns to dwell in 
 tabernacles made by man ; and generation succeeded 
 generation of monks, who calmly dwelt in that peaceful 
 valley, which, by their skill and enterprise, they converted 
 into a garden of delights and a terrestrial paradise. The 
 bishop and the king found there a resting-place when 
 life's weary struggle was over, and their end was sweet- 
 ened by the cheering hopes of a glorious immortality. 
 The poor man and the homeless found there a welcome 
 and a shelter, their wants being liberally attended to ; and 
 the blessings of a free education and of spiritual consola- 
 tions were diffused on every side from that centre of 
 learning and piety. The knight and baron came, the 
 belted man of war made his home there, enjoyed his 
 ephemeral honours, but he, too, is gone, severing all 
 connection with it both by name and title, leaving no 
 trace behind. The king and the knight have been 
 brushed aside ; and the old chess-board, Mellifont, alone 
 remains. Impressed vi^ith these reflections, we take a 
 glance beyond the grave, and there, we behold these 
 actors pass before the great, most just, and supreme 
 Judge, to receive the requital of their deeds, and to each 
 is meted out reward or punishment according to his 
 deserts. We, too, the spectators, are hastening towards 
 that same goal ; our future is indubitably in our own 
 hands, according as we do or do not now live up to our 
 convictions, and the dictates of our consciences. 
 
 And, now, we cannot help asking ourselves, what shall 
 Mellifont's future be ? At present it is a blank ; but, 
 shall the lamp of piety and learning be rekindled, and
 
 MELLIFONT ABBEY. 127 
 
 the light burst forth auew there as in the days of its 
 splendour ? We know not ; but we do know that, 
 although God's ways are inscrutable, His wisdom and 
 power are infinite. To Him be all glory for ever and 
 ever. Amen.
 
 APPENDIX I. 
 
 LIST OF ABBOTS OF MELLIFONT. 
 
 Saint Christian O'Connarchy, Founder and first Abbot, 
 
 Bishop of Lismore and Legate of the Holy See, 1150. 
 Blessed Malchus, brother of preceding. 
 Charles O'Buacalla, 1177, made Bishop of Emly. 
 Patrick, term of office not known. 
 Maelisa, appointed Bishop of Clogher in 1194. 
 Thomas, 1211. 
 Carus, or Cormac O'Tarpa, elected Bishop of Achonry in 1219, 
 
 resigned that See in 1 226, returned to Mellifont where he died. 
 Mathew, 1289. 
 Michael, 1293. 
 William M'Buain. 
 Hugh O'Hessain, resigned 1300. 
 Thomas O'Henghan. 
 Radulph, or Ralph O'Hedian. 
 Nicholas of Lusk, 1325. 
 Michael, 1333. 
 Roger, 1346. 
 Reginald, 1349. 
 Hugh, 1357. 
 
 Reginald Leynagh, died 15th August, 1368. 
 John Terrour, 1370. 
 
 [There is no record of the names of Abbots in this interval.] 
 Roger, 1472. 
 John Logan. 
 Henry. 
 
 John Warren. 
 Roger Boly. 
 John Troy, 1486-1500. 
 Thomas Harvey, died 20th March, 1525. 
 Richard Conter, the last regular Abbot, pensioned in 1540. 
 
 As will be observed, the line of succession is incomplete 
 between the years 1370 and 1472; and it is impossible now 
 to fill in the gaps. The List is taken from Ware's Ccenobia 
 Cisierciensia in Ilibernia, and Dalton's History of Drogheda.
 
 APPENDIX. 129 
 
 APPENDIX II. 
 
 THE CHARTER OF NEWRY, 
 
 Copied and translated from the Original in the British 
 Museum, from a copy given by John O'Donovan in Dublin 
 Penny Journal, 1832-33, p. 102. 
 
 Maurice M'Laughlin, King of all Ireland, to all his Kings, 
 Princes, Nobles, Leaders, Clergy and Laity, and to all and 
 each the Irish present and to come, GREETING. 
 
 Know ye that I, by the unanimous will and common 
 consent of the Nobles of Ultonia, Ergallia (Oriel), and 
 O'Neach (Iveagh), to wit of Donchad O'Carroll, King of all 
 Ergallia, and of Murchad his son. King of O'Meitb, and of the 
 territory of Erthur, of Conla, King of Ultonia, of Donald 
 O'Heda, King of O'Neach (Iveagh), have granted and 
 CONFIRMED, in honour of the Blessed Virgin Mary, St. Patrick, 
 and St. Benedict, the Father and Founder of the Cistercian 
 Order, to the monks serving God in Nyvorcintracta (Newry) 
 as a perpetual and pure donation, the land of O'Cormac, 
 whereon was founded the monastery of Athcrathin, with its 
 lands, woods, and waters, Eaancratha, with its lands, woods, 
 and waters, Crumglean, with its lands, woods, and waters, 
 Caselanagan, with its lauds, woods, and waters, Lisinelle, with 
 its lands, woods, and waters, Croa Druimfornac, with its 
 lands, woods, and waters, Letri, Corcrach, Fidglassayn, Tir- 
 morgannean, Connocol, etc. These Lands with their Mills, 
 I have confirmed to the aforesaid monks of my own proper 
 'gift, for the health of my soul, that I may be partaker 
 of all the benefits of masses, hours {i.e. vespers and matins), 
 and prayers that shall be offered in the Monastery itself, and 
 to the end of time. 
 
 And because I have founded the Monastery of Ybar cin- 
 tracta (Newry), of my own free will, I have taken the monks 
 so much under my protection, as sons and domestics of the 
 
 I
 
 130 APPENDIX. 
 
 faith, that they may be safe from the molestations and incur- 
 sions of all men. 
 
 I will also that, as the Kings and Nobles of O'Neach 
 (Iveagh), or of Ergallia (Uriel), may wish to confer certain 
 lands on this Monastery, for the health of their souls, they 
 may do so in my lifetime, while they have my free will and 
 licence, that I may know what and how much of my Earthly 
 Kingdom, the King of Heaven may possess for the use of His 
 poor Monks. 
 
 The Witnesses and Sureties are: — 
 
 Giolla MacLiag, Archbishop of Armagh, holding the Staff of 
 
 Jesus in his hand. 
 Hugh O'Killedy, Bishop of Uriel (Clogher.) 
 Muriac O'Coffay, Bishop of Tirone (Derry.) 
 Melissa Mac in Clerig-cuir, Bishop of Ultonia (Down.) 
 Gilla Comida O'Caran, Bishop of Tirconnell (Raphoe.) 
 Eachmarcach O'Kane, King of Fearnacrinn and Kennacta 
 
 (now Barony of Keenaght, Co. Londonderry.) 
 O'Carriedh, the Great; Chief of Clan Aengusa, and Clan Neil. 
 Cumaige O'Flain, King of O'Turtray (Antrim.) 
 Gilla Christ O'Dubhdara, King of Fermanagh. 
 Eachmarcach O'Ffoifylain. 
 Maelmocta MacO'Nelba. 
 Aedh (Hugh) the Great Magennis, Chief of Clan-Aeda, in 
 
 O'Neach Uladh (Iveagh.) 
 Dermot MacCartan, Chief of Kenelfagartay (Kinelearty.) 
 Acholy MacConlacha, Gill-na-naemh O'Lowry, Chief of Kinel 
 
 Temnean. 
 Gilla Odar Ocasey, Abbot of Dundalethglass (Downpatrick.) 
 Hugh Maglanha, Abbot of Inniscumscray (Iniscourcy.) 
 Angen, Abbot of Dromoge, and many other Clerics and Laics.
 
 APPENDIX. 131 
 
 APPENDIX III. 
 
 INVENTORY OF ESTATES OF MELLIFONT. 
 
 Richard Center, the last Abbot of Mellifont, was, on the 
 23rd July, 1539, seized of two messuages, 167 acres of arable 
 land, 10 of pasture, 5 of meadow, and 5 of pasture in 
 
 Glut , with a salmon weir; £13 13s. 4d. annual rent, 
 
 arising from 16 fishing corraghs at Oldbridge, together with 
 the tithe-corn of the same, all of the annual value, besides 
 reprises, of £27 18s. 8d. ; also a messuage in Shephouse, with 
 the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual value, besides all reprises, 
 of £4 17s. 8d. 3 three messuages, 120 acres of arable land, 20 
 of meadow, — a fishery, and a boat for salmon-fishing in 
 Komalane, together with the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual 
 value, besides all reprises, of £15 3s. ; 3 messuages, 2 cottages, 
 a water-mill, — a fishing- weir, 120 acres of arable land, 3 closes, 
 containing 6 acres of mountain in Schahinge, together with 
 the tithe-corn, of the annual value, besides all reprises, of 
 £12 6s. 8d.; 2 messuages, — 20 acres of meadow and pasture 
 in Donnore, together with the tithe-corn thereof, of the 
 annual value, besides all reprises, of 115/4; 2 messuages, 
 
 8 cottages, 46 acres of arable land, and 2 of meadow in Doo , 
 
 together with the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual value, 
 besides all reprises, of £5; 4 messuages, 18 cottages, 39 acres 
 of arable land, and 3 of meadow in Glassehalyine, together 
 with the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual value, besides all 
 
 the reprises, of £5 18s. 8d. ; 124 acres of arable land, 
 
 and 10 of meadow in Graungethe, together with the tithe-corn 
 thereof, of the annual value, besides all reprises, of £14 19s. 4d.; 
 a messuage and cottage, 45 acres of arable land, and 15 of 
 
 meadow and pasture, in , together with the tithe-corn 
 
 thereof, of the annual value, besides all reprises, of £3 8s. 4d,; 
 4 messuages, 9 cottages, 64 acres of arable land, and 4 in 
 meadow in Balranny, together with the tithe-corn thereof, of 
 the annual value of , messuages, with 19 acres
 
 132 AI'PKNDIX. 
 
 of arable land ia Kordoraghe, together with the tithe-corn 
 thereof, of the annual value, besides all reprises, of 16/-; 
 
 7 messuages, 10 cottages, 18G acres of arable land, 8 of 
 
 meadow, and 40 of pasture and brushwood in , with 
 
 the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual value, besides all reprises, 
 of XI 2 3s. ; a messuage, two cottages, 120 acres of arable land, 
 a fishing-weir, called Broraey's weir, and the fishery there, a 
 
 water-mill in , with the tithe-corn thereof, of the 
 
 annual value, besides all reprises, of £16 5s.; 7 messuages, 
 one cottage, 227 acres of arable land, and 10 of meadow in 
 Bally fadocke, together with the tithe-corn thereof, of the 
 
 annual value, besides all reprises, of ; 4 messuages, 
 
 20 acres of arable land, and 4 of meadow in Kinoyshe, 
 together with the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual value, 
 besides all reprises, of £10 3s. 8d. ; 4 messuages, 46 acres of 
 arable land, and 4 of meadow in Kellystone, with the tithe- 
 corn thereof, besides all reprises, of the annual value of 
 £4 5s. 4d. ; 2 messuages, 3 cottages, 60 acres of arable land, 
 6 of pasture, and 4 of meadow iu Oracamathane, together 
 with the tithe-crown thereof, of the annual value, besides all 
 
 reprises, of ; 4 messuages, 8 cottages, 124 acres of 
 
 arable land, a salmon-weir, called Monktone, a water-mill in 
 the town-land of Rosmore, together with the tithe-corn thereof, 
 of the annual value, besides all reprises, of ; 3 mes- 
 suages, 6 cottages, 126 acres of arable land, 6 of meadow, and 6 
 of meadow in Gyltone, together with'the tithe-corn thereof, of 
 the annual value, besides all reprises, of £6 4s. 8d; 5 mes- 
 suages, 8 cottages, 141 acres of arable land, the fourth part of 
 an acre of meadow, and 6 of common pasture in Dromen- 
 hatt, otherwise, Newton of Knockamothane, together with the 
 tithe-corn thereof, of the annual value, besides all reprises, of 
 £8 9s.; 6 messuages, 140 acres of arable land, 4| of meadow 
 
 in Radrenage, together with the tithe-corn thereof, of 
 
 the annual value, besides all reprises, of £7 12s.; 3 messuages, 
 
 8 cottages, 120 acres of arable land, 6 of meadow, 6 of pasture 
 in Calm, together with the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual
 
 APPENDIX. IS'S 
 
 value, besides all reprises, of £6 173. ; 3 messuages, 60 acres of 
 arable land, 60 of pasture, and 4 of meadow in Stareaaghe, 
 with the tithe-corn thereof, of the annual value, besides all 
 reprises, of £o Ss. 8d.; the tithe-corn of the townland of 
 
 inserathe and Balregane, near Donnore and below the 
 
 parish of Mellifont, of the annual value of £2 ; the tithe-corn 
 of the town of Monamore, of the annual value of £2 13s. 4d. ; 
 
 the rectory of Baliestore, of the annual value of ; and 
 
 the chapels of Grangegeythe and Knockamothane, parcel of 
 
 the rectory of Mellifont, of the annual value of all the 
 
 said rectories being appropriated to the Abbot and his succes- 
 sors, and, together with the said lands, etc., are lying and 
 situated in the Co. of Meath. The Abbot was also seized of a 
 small house in the town of Drogheda, in the tenure of Thomas 
 Tanner, annual value 13/4, and also of another house in the 
 tenure of Roger Samon, of the annual value of 8/-, with 2/- 
 rent from the Mayor and commonalty of Drogheda. 
 
 The above is from the Monasticon Hibernicum. It by no 
 means contains a full inventory of the possessions of Mellifont 
 at the time of its suppression, only the property belonging to 
 it in the County Meath. In the same Monasticon we read, 
 "By an inquisition taken 14th June, 1612, the possessions of 
 this Abbey were found as follow : — The site, a water-mill, a 
 garden, an orchard, a park called Legau Park, the old orchard 
 containing two acres, the silver meadow 9 acres, the wood 
 meadow 10 acres, and the doves' park; 80 acres of underwood; 
 Killing wood, being great timber, containing 12 acres; Ardagh, 
 20 acres, being the demesne lands, and the grange and town 
 of Tullyallen, containing 27 messuages and 260 acres; Der- 
 veragh, 5 messuages and 213 acres; Mell, 2 messuages and 60 
 acres; Ballymear, alias Ballyremerry, 2 messuages and 60 
 acres ; Sheepgrange, no tithe, 8 messuages and 245 acres ; 
 Little Grange, 4 messuages and 62 acres ; Beckrath, 2 mes- 
 suages and 63 acres; Cubbage, 4 messuages and 103 acres; 
 Ballygatheran, no tithe, 6 messuages and 132 acres; Salthouse, 
 7 messuages and 238 acres; Staleban, 11 messuages and 160
 
 134 APPENDIX. 
 
 acres; Vinspocke, 6 messuages and 90 acres; Morragh, no 
 tithes, 11 messuages and 120 acres; Ballypatrick, 8 messuages 
 and 120 acres; in Collon, a water-mill and 23 acres, <£6 13s. 4f). 
 annual rent out of the said town, and the tithes thereof; 
 Bally macskanlan, a castle, no tithe, and 120 acres; Cruerath, 
 Ballyraganly and Donnore, in the parish of Mellifont, with 
 the tithes and altarages, all in this county" (Louth). Here 
 follow the possessions belonging to the Abbey in the County 
 Meath, and which have been given. 
 
 THE END.
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 THQs. W^- & JN. KELLY, 
 
 89 LOWER GARDINER STREET, DUBLIN, 
 
 ESTABLISHED 1824. 
 
 Offices— 1 & 2 WESTMORELAND STREET, DUBLIN. 
 (Next Bank of Irelakd.) 
 We respectfully solicit from the Hierarchy and Clergy a con- 
 tinuance of their valued patronage for the 
 
 imported by us for the use of the Altar, and which we have for so 
 many years supplied throughout Ireland, England, and the Colonies ; 
 having full confidence in, and every assurance of, its guaranteed 
 purity. 
 
 Annexed we give a facsimile of the brand and impression of the 
 capsule, and beg to say we do not send out any Altar Wine in bottle 
 without using these precautions. The Rich Altar Wine has Green 
 Capsule, the Medium Altar Wine has Red Capsule, and the Dry 
 Altar Wine has Blue Capsule. 
 
 Price, including 
 
 Bottles and Carriage, 
 
 21s. per doz. Is. per 
 
 dozen allowed for 
 
 Altar Wine bottles, 
 wlien returned in 
 good condition, car- 
 riage paid. 
 
 FACSIMILE OF 
 
 BLUE CAPSULE 
 
 FOR DRY ALTAR WINE. 
 
 FACSIMILE OF 
 
 GREEN CAPSULE 
 
 FOR RICH ALTAR WINE. 
 
 FACSIMILE OF 
 
 RED CAPSULE 
 
 FOR MEDIUM ALTAR WINE. 
 
 In other WINES we 
 hold a large and well- 
 assorted stock, to- 
 gether with the finest 
 SPIRITS, both Irish 
 and Foreign. 
 
 As advertinementt 
 frequently appear which 
 are likely to confuse our 
 names with those of other 
 firms, intending purchas- 
 ers should make inquiries 
 as to the identity of the 
 firms and addresses with 
 ichom they are dealing. 
 
 THQs W^- & JN. KELLY, 
 
 89 LOWER GARDINER STREET, DUBLIN. 
 
 Offices— 1 & 2 WESTMORELAND STREET, DUBLIN. 
 
 (Next Bank of Ireland.) 
 
 135
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 TODD, BURHS & CO., 
 
 (LIMITED), 
 
 MAET STEEET, AND JERVIS STEEET, 
 DVBLXN, 
 
 AND 
 
 ETJE PAUL LE LOM, PARIS. 
 
 THE LARGEST STOCK OF 
 
 HIGH CLASS DRAPERY - 
 
 E=- AND FURNITURE 
 
 IN THE KINGDOM. 
 
 IRISH MADE GOODS OUR SPECIALITY. 
 
 STRICTLY MODERATE PRICES. 
 
 136
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 Messrs. CLERY & CO. 
 
 AVE completed extensive alterations 
 in connection with their 
 
 COMPLETE HOUSE FURNISHING 
 DEPARTMENTS. 
 
 FOUR NEW GALLERIES have been added, and 
 the Furniture, China and Glass, Carpet, and Curtain 
 Showrooms are now the most extensive in Ireland. 
 
 BEDROOM SUITES in all the Fashionable Woods, 
 Drawingroom Suites, Diningroom Suites, Sideboards, 
 Overmantels, Wall and Library Furniture, French 
 and Italian Bedsteads, Axminster and Brussels 
 Carpets, Turkey Carpets, Parisian and Indian Eugs, 
 Silk Tapestries, Lace Curtains. 
 
 A Magnificent Stock at very Moderate Prices. 
 
 COMPLETE HOUSE FUMISHERS. 
 
 CLERY & CO., DUBLIN. 
 
 137
 
 
 ^5^ 
 
 32 DAME STREET, DTJBLITT. 
 
 PATRICK DONEGAN 
 
 Successor to JOHN DONEGAN 
 
 (The only House of that name in the Trade. ) 
 
 Silver Monstrances . '. '. . . from £10 to £80 
 
 Chalices . . . . . . £3 10s. to £50 
 
 Ciboriums . . . . . . £3 10s. to £40 
 
 Pyxes . . . . . . 15s. to 40s. 
 
 Oil Stocks ...... 18s. to 27s. 
 
 Thuribles and Boats . . . . £10 to £20 
 
 Altar Cruets and Traj's . . . . £5 to £15 
 
 Altar Lamps . . . . . £10 to £50 
 
 Do. new designs, very richly chased and em- 
 bossed with monograms, figures of saints, etc. . £20 to £100 
 
 PLATED ON WHITE METAL. 
 
 Plated Monstrances (new approved silver gilt Lunettes) £4 to £30 
 Cases for Lunettes . . . . 123. 6d. to £2 10s. 
 
 Chalices (silver cup and paten) . . . £3 to £8 
 
 Ciboriums (silver cup and cover) . . £3 to £8 
 
 Sanctuary Lamps, plain or chased . . £1 to £20 
 
 Cruets and Trays (mounted on cut glass) . 15s. to £3 lOa. 
 
 Thuribles (in sizes) .... 15s. 18s. to 30s. 
 
 Do. (in best quality) . . . 32s. 6d. to GOa. 
 
 Boats, 6s. to 10s. ; best quality . . . 15s. to 20s. 
 
 Paschal Candlesticks, all Brass . . . £3 lOs. to £10 
 
 Do. do. in Wood . . . £1 to £3 
 
 Tenebrae Candlesticks, all Brass . . . £8 to £20 
 
 Chandeliers to light Churches, 7 to 18 lights . . £10 to £20 
 
 Coronas and Brass Sanctuary Lamps (in various designs) £1 to £10 
 
 Brass and plated fancy standing Lamps . . 3s. to £5 
 Altar Branches in great variety of designs, 3, 5, 7, 9, 
 
 etc., lights . . . . . . £1 to £10 
 
 New designs in Branches and Standing Lamps. 
 
 ALTAR CANDLESTICKS. 
 Set of Six Altar Candlesticks in Polished Brass. 
 
 Lacquered (Gothic style) . . . . £2 to £40 
 
 In Roman and French style . . . £2 to £30 
 
 Price Lists on Application. 
 
 Candlesticks, Branches, etc., Re-polished and Lacquered as new. 
 
 Goods Repaired, Re-plated, and Gilt in best manner. 
 
 138
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 E. CLARKE a SON, 
 
 SILK MBBCBES 
 
 AND 
 
 THE POPULAR HOUSE 
 
 FOR 
 
 LADIES' AND CHILDREN'S 
 OUTFITTING. 
 
 EVERY REQUISITE STOCKED. 
 
 PRICES MODERATE. 
 
 1 SHOP ST. & 1 WEST ST., 
 DROGHEDA. 
 
 139
 
 ^g ?!jpr i?Haje9t5's ^SW^ ISopal aetlera ^oatent. 
 
 PETER LYONS, 
 
 MANUFACTURER OF 
 
 PRIZE MEDAL BREAD 
 
 AND CONFECTIONERY, 
 
 OBTAINED 
 
 Bronze Medal and Grand Diploma of Honour at Bakers' and 
 
 Confectioners' International Exhibition, held in Koyal 
 
 Agricultural Hall, London, 1896 ; 
 
 ALSO OBTAINED 
 
 Second Prize and 2 Diplomas for High Class Confectionery 
 
 in open competition against all Confectioners in the 
 
 United Kingdom, held in London, 1895. 
 
 RSAD il]\rii.I.V5IS REPORT. 
 
 REPORT from Sir Charles A. Cameron, M.D., D.RH. (Cambridge), 
 F.R.C.S.I., M.R.C.P.L, F.I.C., Professor of Chemistry, R.C.S.I., 
 Medical Officer of Health for Dublin ; City and County Analyst. 
 
 "City Laboratory, Municipal Buildings, Cork Hill, 
 Dublin, i6th Jilarch^ 1897. 
 " I have examined a specimen of Bread submitted to me for that purpose by Mr. Pete« 
 Lyons, of Drogheda. I found it to be free from adulteration and impurity. It contained 
 in 100 parts 33.15 per cent of water — much less than is usually met with — 0.84 per cent of 
 Ash, and 66.0 per cent of Albumen Starch, and it was very white, and evidently made 
 from the very best quality flour. It was properly fermented, uniform in texture, and 
 well baked. "CHARLES A. CAMERON." 
 
 CERTIFICATE OF ANALYSIS. 
 "Analytical Laboratory, ii & 12 Great Tower Street, London, E.C., 
 
 28M November, 1895. 
 " I hereby certify that I have carefully examined, both chemically and microscopically, 
 specimens of the Cakes manufactured by Mr. Peter Lyo.ns, Drogheda, and I can 
 express a very favourable opinion as to their wholesome, digestive, and dietetic properties. 
 They have been judiciously prepared from the choicest materials, are particularly in- 
 Yiting to the taste, and have been carefully and thoroughly baked. 
 
 "GRANVILLE H. SHARPE, F.C.S., Analytical and Consulting Chemist (late 
 Principal of the Liverpool College of Chemistrj-), Author of 'Qualitative and 
 Quantitative Analj'si^,' late Lecturer on Chemistry and Technology to the 
 'Liverpool School of Science,' Lecturer on Chemical Technology to the 'City 
 and Guilds of London Institute,' Member of the Society of Chemical Industry, 
 late Consuhing Chemist to the Mineral Heater Trade Review, &c., Fellow 
 of the Berlin Chemical Society." 
 
 PETER LYONS, 
 
 MODEL MACHINE BAKERY AND CONFECTIONERY, 
 
 112 WEST STSEET, DROGHEDA. 
 
 uo
 
 AD VERTIS EME N TS . 
 
 PLAIN AND FANCY BREAD, 
 CHOCOLATE AND SWEETS IN GREAT VARIETY, 
 
 — CAI.I. TO — 
 
 W. T. SKEFFINGTON'S 
 
 BAKERY AND CONFECTIONERY, 
 79 and 80 WEST ST,, DROGHEDA. 
 
 FEEDING STUFFS OF ALL DESCRIPTIONS, 
 
 FRESH FRO]\I THE BEST MILLS, 
 
 AT LOWEST PRICES. 
 
 CAN BE HAD ALWAYS AT 
 
 W. T. SKEFFINGTON'S '"70^*^1?.'"** 
 
 79 & 80 WEST ST., DROGHEDA. 
 
 141
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 MURTAGH'S MEDICAL HALL, 
 
 SHOP STREET, DROGHEDA. 
 
 ESTABLISHED 1873, 
 
 Accuracy, Neatness, and the correct 
 dispensing of Physicians' Prescrip- 
 tions a Speciality. 
 
 Fancy Perfumes, Toilet Soaps, Nail 
 
 and Tooth Brushes, and every Toilet 
 
 Requisite kept in Stock. 
 
 A Large and Varied Assortment of Foreign 
 
 Mineral Waters, including Hunich, Janos, 
 
 Apenta, Rubenes & Contrexeville Waters. 
 
 Night Bell. 
 
 THOMAS WHELEHAN, L.P.S.L, 
 
 Manager. 
 
 142
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 JJXCBLLBNCB and jgjCONOMYI 
 ^ARIBTY and ^ALUEM 
 
 These are the Pour Factors which combine to make 
 
 LUKE J. HEALY'S 
 
 The Most Desirable House in the District for 
 
 Pure Drugs, 
 
 Patent PHedicines^ 
 ^^ Veterinary Preparations, 
 
 and Toilet Requisites. 
 
 Every Article Stocked is of the Highest Quality, and ia its respective 
 class, the best obtainable. All Drugs are of Purest Manufacture, and 
 are Stocked only in such quantities, and at such intervals, as will 
 ensure them being always Fresh and Reliable. 
 
 ARTISTS^ :5^.EQUISITES and 
 
 PHOTOGRAPHIC lVtATERIAI.S. 
 
 Everything New and Up-to-Date, and the Latest Productions in these 
 Departments Stocked as soon as they appear. 
 
 YOU HAVE MISSED A GREAT TREAT! 
 If you have never tried L. J. HEALY'S Celebrated 
 
 MINERAL WATERS. 
 
 Ask for Ms Lemonade, Ginger Beer, Soda Water and Ginger Ale. 
 
 LUKE J. HBALY, 
 
 Chemist, Mineral Water Manufacturer & Wine Merchant, 
 !l & 82 West Street, Drogheda. 
 
 143
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 J. MAGEE, 
 
 (Successor to E. M'Donough,) 
 
 113 WEST STREET, DROGHEDA. 
 
 Direct Importer of the following Eminent 
 Shippers' Sparkling Wines : — 
 
 POMMERY & (JPlENO. 
 
 AYALA & CO. 
 
 GIESLER & CO. 
 
 &. H. MUMM & CO. 
 CHAELES HEIDSIECK & CO. 
 
 KELLY'S DRY, MD RICH ALTAR WINES 
 ALWAYS L\ STOCK. 
 
 PORTS, SHERRIES, CLARETS, Etc., Etc. 
 
 J. JAMESON <& SON WHISKEY, 
 
 10 TO 12 YEARS OLD. 
 
 144
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 WHITE HORSE HOTEL, 
 
 WEST STREET, 
 
 DROGHEDA. 
 
 (HIS Old-Established and AVell-Managed Hotel 
 occupies the most central position in Drogheda. 
 Sanitary Arrangement perfect. Unrivalled for its 
 Comfort. 
 
 EXCELLENT CUISINE, FINE WINES, 
 AND MODERATE CHARGES. 
 
 Table d'Hote Dinner supplied from One 
 to Two o'clock, daily. 
 
 GOOD SMOKING & BILLIARD ROOMS. 
 
 BATH EOOMS, RECENTLY ERECTED AT A LARGE OUTLAY. 
 
 POST-HORSES AND CARRIAGES KEPT. 
 
 Moderate Charges and Special Terms for Parties. 
 
 Bus attends principal Trains from Dublin & Belfast. 
 
 145
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 F. KELLY 
 
 Invites attention to the great value he offers in 
 GENTLEMEN'S AND YOUTHS' 
 
 TAILORING AND OUTFITTING 
 
 (Also Boys' Ready-Made Clothing.) 
 
 CLERICAL TAILORING is one of the most important 
 and successful Departments with him, and perfect Fitting 
 (Guaranteed) his Speciality. 
 
 A large and Varied Stock of Clerical Cloths always on hand. 
 
 Prices extremely moderate, and Fitting a Speciality. 
 
 F. KELLY (Successor to E. Clarke & Son), 
 
 2 WEST STREET, DROGHEDA. 
 
 Established 1846. 
 
 JOHN CALLAGHAN, 
 
 Uttrt^ant bailor, 
 2 SHOP STREET, DROGHEDA. 
 
 CLERICAL SUITS A SPECIALITY. 
 
 146
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 IF YOU WANT A GOOD REFKESHING CUP OF TEA 
 
 TRY 
 
 M'QUILLAN'S Is. lOd. BLEND, 
 
 A PERFECT, IDEAL TEA. 
 Once Tasted always Bought, and never Forgotten. Note Address — 
 
 JAMES J. M^QUILLAJff, 31 Shop St., Dro^Iieda. 
 
 PORTS, SHERRIES, MARSALAS, CLARETS, BURGUNDIES, &c. 
 
 ALSO 
 
 JOHN JAMESON'S FAMOUS OLD MALT, Guaranteed 
 Under Distiller's Seal, for wliich 
 
 JAMES J. M'aiTILLAN 
 
 IS JUSTLY NOTED. 
 
 31 SHOP STREET, DROGHEDA. 
 
 TEA. (UNEQUALLED VALUE.) 
 
 We buy all our Teas by comparison, and for cash. We are 
 therefore in a position to give our Customers and the Public 
 a better Tea for less money than they can buy elsewhere. 
 Prices 1/2, 1/4, 1/6, 1/8, 1/10, 2/-, & 2/4 per lb. 
 
 .5 lbs. sent post free to any address. 
 
 Guinness's XX Brown Stout in Bottle and on Draught. 
 
 Do. XXX Invalid Stout, 2/4 per dozen. 
 Bass' Pale Ale in Bottle and on Draught. 
 Do. No. 1 Strong Ale (ten guinea) in Bottle. 
 Allsopps' Light Dinner Ale, 1/3 per dozen. 
 
 WINES, BRANDIES, JAMAICA ETJM, HOLLAND, OLD TOM, 
 AND SLOB aiNS, LiaUEURS AND CORDIALS, 
 
 OF THE FINEST QUALITY AT LOWEST WHOLESALE PRICE. 
 
 Specialists in Jolin Jameson & Sons' 6 year old Malt, 24s. per gallon. 
 Do. Do. 5 year old do. 20s. per gallon. 
 
 DUFFY BROTHERS, 19 WEST ST., DROGHEDA. 
 
 147
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 PUItE A1.TAR ^riMK 
 
 OF THE 
 
 DOMIIVICAIV FATHERS, CORPO SAXTO COLLEGE, 
 
 1. 1 S B O N. 
 
 Every process of making from the selecting of the grapes to the 
 filling of the Wine into casks is superintended by the priests 
 themselves. 
 
 PRICE 20/ PER DOZEN, 
 
 Carriage paid to your nearest Railway Station. 
 
 This Wine is very much appreciated by a large number of the 
 
 Clergy. Certificates of analysis and samples free on application. 
 
 Is. per dozen allowed for empty Bottles returned, carriage free. 
 
 J. & J. BOYLE, 37 WEST STREET, DHOGHEDA. 
 
 AGENTS FOR DUBLIN AND NORTH OF IRELAND, 
 ESTABLISHED 1786. 
 
 Telegrams : 
 "ELCOCK DROGHEDA." 
 
 LUKE J. BLCOCK, 
 
 ^utttonecr, Faluet, 
 WOOL AND SHARE BROKER, 
 
 148
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 WILLIAM BANNON, 
 
 20 WEST STREET, DROGHEDA, 
 
 Merchant Tailor, Clothier and Outfitter. 
 
 All Goods disposed of on most moderate terms. 
 
 READY-MADE CLOTHING A SPECIALTY. 
 
 A large Assortment to select from. 
 
 m 
 
 Gents' Ties, Shirts, Braces, etc., always la Stock. 
 A TRIAL RESPECTFULLY SOLICITED. 
 
 JOHN J. KENNY, 
 
 it 
 
 5 SHOP STREET, 
 DROGHEDA. 
 
 HIGH- CLASS 
 
 SANITARY PLUMBING AND GASFITTING. 
 I. F. BRAXIGA^f, R.M.P.C, 
 
 House Furnishing and Builders' Ironmonger, Plumber, 
 Gasfitter, Coppersmith, Church and House BeUfitter. 
 
 PUMPS SUPPLIED AND FITTED. 
 18 SHOP STREET, r>ROGHEDA. 
 
 1 TRIMGATE STREET, NAVAN. 
 149
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 J. NOLAN, 
 
 Frxnfer, Boaksellcr, SfaHoner, Neiusagenf, 
 
 Toy and Fancy Goods Warehouse 
 11 LAURENCE STREET, 
 
 JOHN COLLINS, 
 
 32 & 33 SHOP STRSST, DROGHEDA. 
 
 IRONMONGER. HOUSE FURNISHER, 
 
 PLUMBER & IMPLEMENT AGENT. 
 
 ESTABLISHED 123 YEARS. 
 
 BELEEK GOODS. - 
 
 Tea Services, Vases, Ornaments, Crosses, Fonts, etc., 
 At Very Low Prices. 
 
 PETER McQuillan, 
 
 iroiiur, Chandlor S: ©il Jmprtq, 
 
 90 WEST STREET, 
 
 150
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 THOMAS LYONS, 
 
 &ROCEE, BAKER, 
 
 Corn, Meal, and Flour Merchant, 
 
 54 & 63 TRIMTY STREET, 
 
 DROGHEDA. 
 
 PATKICK DEEW, 
 
 YICTUILLEH, 
 8 WEST STREET, DROaHEDA. 
 
 BEEF & MUTTON OF BEST QUALITY, 
 
 A/ways in Stock at Lowest Prices. 
 
 WILLIAM TAAFFE, 
 
 GENERAL MERCHANT, 
 ARDEE. 
 
 ESTABLISHED 1863. 
 
 Drapery. 
 
 Ready-made Clothing. 
 Boots and Shoes. 
 
 JBepartments : 
 
 Seeds and Manures. 
 Timber, Iron and CoaL 
 Ironmongery. 
 
 Paints, Oils and Colours. 
 Commissioner for Affidavits in the Supreme Court of Judicature. 
 
 DISTRICT STAMP DISTRIBUTOR. 
 
 151
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 IMPERIAL HOTEL, 
 
 DUNDALK. 
 
 fN this long established and popular Hotel will be found 
 Large and Airy Bedrooms, and Comfortable Sitting 
 
 Kooms. 
 CHARGES MODERATE. BUSSES ATTEND ALL TRAINS. 
 
 The Proprietor and Staff leave nothing undone to secure the comfort 
 of Visitors. 
 
 PATRICK O'TOOLE, Proprietor. 
 
 ?P Wl IP 'O 
 
 m 
 
 ^ a, ^ ^ 4^^ ^ 
 
 Restaurant and Dining Rooms, 
 
 11 (fe 12 EARL STREET, DUNDALK, 
 
 CONFECTIONER and FANCY BISCUIT BAKER. 
 
 Creams, Jellies, Blanc-manges, and Christening Cakes. 
 Balls, Suppers, Pic-Nic, and Wedding Parties, supplied on the shortest 
 
 notice. 
 
 THE IRISH CISTERCIANS; 
 
 PAST AND PRESENT. 
 
 Second Edition is in preparation for the Press, and wiU 
 soon be ready. 
 
 I Ilustratei. 
 
 Price Is. nett; By Post, Is. 2d. ^ V. 
 
 152
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 THE IRISH TOURIST. 
 
 Published Monthly during the Tourist Season. 
 
 Full of Interesting and Useful Information, and Photo- 
 graphic Illustrations. 
 
 PRICE ONE PENNY. 
 
 VISIT IRELAND. 
 
 A Concise, Descriptive, and Illustrated Guide to Ireland. 
 
 THE BEST GUIDE EVER 
 
 OFFERED FOR 
 
 6d. 
 
 THE IRISH GOLFERS' ANNUAL: 
 
 CONTAINING : 
 
 Club Directory, and Description of Principal Links, 
 
 Together with a large amount of Information most 
 useful to Golfers. 
 
 PRICE ONE SHILLING. 
 
 Tlie F. W. GROSSLEY PUBLISHING CO., LTD., 
 
 24a Nassau Street, Dubi:.in.
 
 ADVERTISEMENTS. 
 
 GREAT NORTHERNJAILWAY CO. (IRELAND). 
 
 ROYAXi MAZZ. ROUTS 
 
 liKTWKKN 
 
 NORTH OF ZRZ:i.ilNB &. EirCI.A.ND Via KZNCSTO'Wir 
 
 And i:XPRZ:SS service via north "WAT^Js (DVBX.IN) 
 
 or GRESSrORE and HOI.YHEA.D. 
 
 Direct service of Trains and .Steamers with every comfort and cron- 
 venienee. Special Messenger in charge of Luggage between London 
 and Kingstown. 
 
 FASTEST AND MOST DIRECT SERVICE 
 
 liKTWUK.V 
 
 IRELAND AND SCOTLAND Via BELFAST, and MAIL SERVICE TWICE 
 EVERY EVENING, Via ARDROSSAN and Via GREENOCK. 
 
 Cheap Fares between Dublin and other Stations with Glasgow and Edinburgh 
 
 An Omnibus runs from the Great Northern Railway Terminus at 
 Belfast on arrival of the train due at 9.0 p.m., and convej's Passengers, 
 with their personal luggage, for the Ardrossan Mail Steamer. It also 
 conveys Passengers from the incoming Steamers leaving Donegall Quay 
 at 7.10 a.m. in time for the 7.30 a.m. train from Belfast to Dublin, etc. 
 
 Dining, Luncheon and Breakfast Cars are run on the principal trains 
 between Dublin and Belfast, and also through between Belfast and 
 Kingstown Pier, thus saving all transferring at Dublin. 
 
 Tourists' Tickets are issued at Dublin, Londonderry, Belfast, 
 
 and the principal Great Northern Stations : 
 
 To WARRENPOINT, for Rostrevor, Newcastle, the Mourne Moun- 
 tains, and County Down Coast, including Hotel Accommodation. 
 
 „ GREENORE. for Carlingford Lough. 
 
 „ ENNISKILLEN and Bundoran, for Lough Erne, including Hotel 
 Accommodation. 
 
 „ BUNCRANA, Rosapenna, Dunfanaghy, for the Donegal High- 
 lands, including Hotel Accommodation. 
 
 „ DROGHEDA, for the Valley of the Boyne. 
 
 „ HOWTH, for Hill of Howth and Dublin Bay. 
 
 „ MALAHIDE, including Hotel Accommodation. 
 
 „ CONNEMARA and Killarnev. 
 
 ., PORTRUSH, for the Giants'" Causeway. ,. - 
 
 Circular Tours have also been arranged, emb|&cing all places 
 of most interest in the country, and giving a succession of picturesque 
 scenery, and the finest shooting and fishing in Ireland. 
 
 The fares are low, and reductions made when two or more persons 
 travel together. 
 
 Tourists travelling by the Great Northern Railway will find their 
 comfort and convenience studied in every respect. 
 
 Passengers landing at Londonderry or Queenstown from the American 
 Steamers can book at greatly reduced fares, to the principal Stations 
 in Ireland, also to Scotland and England. 
 
 To obtain the Company's Time Tables, Illustrated Guides and 
 Programmes, and full information as to the fares, routes, excursion 
 arrangements, etc., apply to the Superintendent of the Line. Amiens 
 Street Terminus, Dublin. HENRY PLEWS, 
 
 Dublin, 1897. Ge>eral Manac.ek.
 
 
 "^/^aaAiNn-awv^ 
 
 
 ^immYO/^^ A^mmYO/:-^ Miwmm/h ^mm 
 
 iLir:! iiinrt ti-r* t^ 
 
 UNIVERSITY OF CALIFORNIA LIBRARY 
 
 Los Angeles ^^/SmM 
 
 This book is DUE on the last date stamped below. 
 
 MAY ^ 4 ?991l 
 
 
 315 

 
 <rji30Nvsoi^ v/^ii3MNnmv ^<?Aavaan-^^ ^<?AiivagiH'^^ 
 
 ^tllBRARYQp 
 
 7^ 
 
 -j^tllBRARYd/ 
 
 
 ^OFCAIIFO/?^ .^OfCAllFOR,^ 
 
 ^ 
 
 A 000 031 162 1 I 
 
 .^WEDNIVER% 
 
 ^UOS-ANCElfx 
 
 ^Aavaaii^^ ^^Aavaan-^^ <rii30Nvsoi^ 
 
 
 ^^WEUNIVER% ^vjs^OSANCEl^^ ^UIBRARY6>/^ 
 
 A>M-IIBRARYG.^ 
 
 ^TilJONVSOl^ %J13AINa-3UV^ %0JnV3J0'^ 
 
 "^tfOJllVDJO^ 
 
 .^WE•l)NIVERS/A 
 
 <rii]ONvsoi^ 
 
 ^V^OS^ANCElfj^ 
 
 >, 
 
 ^OfCAllFO/?^ 
 
 ^0FCAlIF0/?4 
 ■^1 
 
 ^5 >— - .^ c,' 
 
 >&AavaanAV 
 
 ^>5^^l-lIBRARYG^. 
 
 .K^ILIBRARYQ^ 
 
 ^WEUNIVER% ^lOSANCElfx^ 
 
 ^^aojiTVD'jo'^ ^'^a^my^^ -^•smmm'^ %a3AiN(i3Wv' 
 
 ;^OFCAllF0i?^ 
 
 .aOFCA[IF0% 
 
 LUI 
 
 '"^ommr^ 
 
 ^^Aavaani^ 
 
 .\WEUNIVER% 
 
 ee ■ ■ ^ ^ ^^ 
 
 ^lOSANCEltr^ 
 
 o 
 
 <rii3DNvsoi^ "^/yaJAiNn^ftv