BEAVER LIN] 
 
 THE CANADA SHIPPIKG COMPAMY'S LINE OF STEAM 
 to Canada nn<i the United States 
 
 PRESENTED 
 
 TO 
 
 The University of Toron 
 
 BY 
 
 
 Government Assisted Passages to Quebec are granted t< 
 tain classes of emigrants. Particulars from undersigned or Local Ag 
 
 Descriptive Pamphlets of Manitoba, the North West Territorj' and 
 tish Colambia, on application to the undersigned or their Local Ageil 
 
 R. MOKTOOMERIE & CO., 82 MARK IiA:¥E, I.OIIiI>0: 
 
 ]>. McGregor & co., 59 rorertj^on st , glasg^ 
 
 A. A. WATT, 3 CUSTOM HOI SE SQUARE, RELFAST. 
 
 N. G. SEYMOUR & CO., QUEEXSTOWN. \ 
 
 1 
 
 R. W. ROBERTS, Manarjer Canada Shipping 
 
 21 Water Street, liiverpoaj 
 
 H. E. MURRAY, General Manager, ^ 
 
 1 Castom House Square, HontreA 
 
i BANQUE DU PEUPLE 
 
 ESTABI.ISITEk> 18S5. 
 
 INCORPORATED BY ACT OF PARLIAMENT. 
 
 ITAIi PAID-VP, ....... 81,600,000 
 
 ST. JAMES STREET, MONTREAL. 
 
 BOARE OF DIRECTORS. 
 
 Cberrier, Esq., Pres. O* S. Brnsli, Esq., Tice«Pres. 
 
 main FraneiM* Esq. A. Provost, Esq* A. Eeclaire, Esq. 
 
 J. Grenler, Esq. P. M. Galarneau, Esq. 
 { A. A. TroUier, Casbier. 
 
 ints: — London, Glynn, Mills, Currie & Co. ; The Alliance Bank, Lim. ; 
 |ORK, National Bank of the Republic ; Qc'kbec, Bank of Montreal. 
 
 aE MOLSON'S BANK. 
 
 INCOPPORATED BY ACT OF PARLIAMENT 1855. 
 
 i^D OFFICE, - - - MONTREAL. 
 
 t 
 
 ^AID-X^P CAPITAL, - - - - 82,000,000 
 iiEST FUND, • 8500,000 
 
 Board of Directors: 
 
 Thos. Workman, Preauhnt. J. H. R. Molson, Vice-President. 
 it. VV. Shepherd. 8. H. Ewixg. Hon. D. L. MacPherson. 
 
 Miles \yiLLiAMs. A. F. Gault. 
 WoLFERSTAN ThoMas, General Manager. M. Heaton, Inspector. 
 
 'icAes :— Aylmer, Ont., Brockville, Clinton, Exeter, Woodstock, London, 
 rd, Montreal, Morrisburg, Owen Sound, Ridgetown, Smith's Falls, Sorel, 
 »mas, Toronto, Trenton, Waterloo, Ont. 
 
 ^ Banque Jacques-Cartier. 
 
 { . 
 
 ^AL A UTHORISED, ^ - - - $500,000 
 'TAL SUBSCRIBED, - - - . - $500,000 
 
 DIRFCTORS 
 I ALPH. DESJARDIXS. Esq.. MP., President. 
 
 A. S. HAMELIX. Esq., Vice-President. 
 !ASSIDY,EsQ. LS. MOV AT, Esq. AUG. COUILLARD, Esq. 
 
 J. 0. GRAVEL, Esq. LIOIEX HUOT, Esq. 
 
 i A. L. deMARTIGXY, a«/<ier. 
 
 Beaaliarnois Branch.— J. A- COOKE, Manager 
 St. Kyacintbe Brancb — A. CLEMEXT, Manager. 
 t. Remi, P.Q., Brancb.— CHARLES BEDARD, Manager. 
 Talleylleld Brancb.— J. F- PELLANT, Manager. 
 
 dts in New York— THE NATIONAL BANK OF THE REPUBLIC. 
 Agents in London, Eng— GLYNN, MILLS, CURRIE & CO. 
 
 i/ 
 
THE RUSSELI^. 
 
 THE I^EADIIlf© HOTEIi OF OTTAWA. 
 
 This magnificent Hotel, fitted up in the most modern style, con- 
 tains accommodation for over FOUR HUNDRED GUESTS, with 
 passenger and baggage elevators, and commands a splendid view 
 of the city, Parliamentary grounds, river and canal. Visitors to 
 the Capital on business or pleasure, will find it most convenient to 
 stop at the Russell, where they can always meet leading public 
 men. The entire Hotel is supplied with escapes, and in case of 
 fire there would not be any danger. 
 
 GOUIN & CO., Proprietors. 
 
 THE CANADIAN EXPRESS CO. 
 
 GENERAL EXPRESS FORWARDERS, 
 
 Shipping Agents and Custom House Brokers, 
 
 Forward Merchandise, Money, and packages of every description ; collect 
 BUls with Gf cds, Notes, Drafts and Accounts, throughout the Dominion, 
 United States and Europe. 
 
 Shipping Agents in London, Eng., Montreal, Quebec and Portland, Me. 
 
 Goods in Bonds promptly attended to and forwarded with despatch. 
 
 Invoices are requisite for all goods going to the United States. 
 
 PRINCIPAL OFFICES: 
 
 LIVERPOOL, ENO-, TORONTO, KINGSTON, 
 
 MONTREAL, QUEBEC, DETROIT, MICH., 
 
 OTTAWA, PERTH, PORTLAND, ME. 
 
 PETERBOROUGH. 
 
 And all Towns and Stations on the line of the above Railways. 
 
 Time and Insurance saved. Consignments solicited. i) 
 
 G. CHEITET, Saperiotiaideiit. 
 
 \ 
 
Great North-Western Telegraph Coi 
 
 OF CANADA. 
 
 OPERATING THE LINES OF THE 
 
 HoDtreal Dominion and Manitoba 
 
 TELEGRAPH COMPANIES, 
 
 AND CONNECTING WITH THE 
 
 W^ESTERN UNION 
 
 — AND — 
 
 ATUNTIG GABLE COMPANIES. 
 
 ERASTUS WIHAIV, K. P. ]>WIOfirr, 
 
 President. General Manager. 
 
ESTABLISHED 1834. 
 
 JOHN HENDERSON & CO. 
 
 FURRIERS. 
 
 Visitors to Canada are cordially invited to visit our 
 
 FUR ^V^^i^REHOUSE 
 
 The Fur collection of Canada is so extensive that we are enabled 
 
 to show an assortment of ^™S 
 
 AND — ^ 
 
 MA/\/UFAGTURED FURS. 
 
 which for variety and beauty canuot be excelled elsewhere. 
 
 It will afford us much pleasure to exhibit these Furs to visitors 
 at any time, and a half hour devoted to their inspection will be 
 both pleasantly and profitably spent. 
 
 JOHN HENDERSON & CO., 
 
 1677 NOTRE DAME STREET, 
 
 MONTREAL. l 
 
HE MEDICAL HALL, 
 
 129 ST. JAMES STREET, 
 
 Next the Post Office, 
 
 MONTREAL. 
 
 IMPORTEI^ OF 
 
 Genuine Drugs and Chemicals, Frencli and Englisli Perfumeryi 
 
 rERFUMERY DEPART MENT. 
 
 English LavenJer Water, 
 
 Ea.. de-Vie Ag Lavand de Lubin, 
 Lubin's Genuine Perfiunej*, 
 
 Atkinson's Choice Perfume?, 
 
 Farma'8 Jiilichs Piatz Cologne, 
 
 Bailey'.s E-s. Bouquet, Es.«. Marachale, 
 Ooud ray's Parisian Perfuniee, 
 Lotus Water, 
 
 Orange BlosFora Cologne, 
 Genuine Bay Rum. 
 
 TOILET REQUISITE DEPARTMENT. 
 
 Military Hair Brushep in Leather Cases, 
 Fine Ivory Hair Brushes, 
 
 Kent's London Hair Brushes, 
 
 French Hair Brushes in Rose and Sat'n-Wood, 
 
 Clotli, Tooth and Nail Brushes in great varietj. 
 
 English and French Toilet Soaps, 
 
 Tortoise Shell and Ivory Combs, 
 
 Celluloid Combs and Brashes. 
 
 A LARGE ASSORTMENT OF 
 
 Wooden Hand Mirrors, Bevelled and Plain, 
 
 Richly- Gilt Smelling Bottles and Ladies' Dressing Cases, 
 Toilet Sets, Jewel Cases, 
 
 Odor Cases, Sponge Bags, 
 Turkey Cup Sponge, 
 
 Honey Comb Sponge, &c., &c. 
 

 PDBLICATIONS OF TBE6AZETTE PRINTING Ou 
 THE GAZETTE, 
 
 ESTABLISHED 1778. 
 
 8 Pages Daily-Cut and Pasted-Well Printed-Good Type. 
 
 Sobscrlption, $6 per Year. Weekly Edition, 91 per Year. 
 
 At once the oldest and best p:iper in the Dominion. As a Bosiness 
 Joornal, its comi>rehonsive and thoroughly reliable Financial, Com* 
 mereinl, Sbippini; and Market Re|»ort*t are recognized as the 
 
 standard Canadian autliority on those !»ubje('tj<, and as a General News* 
 naper, its full telegraphic and other information includes the latest news, 
 Dot D Foreign and ]>ome?tic, Rot up in an aumctive form. In addition to 
 a very large local circulation, TbkGazktte circulates freely in the public cor- 
 porations and in.xtitutions, and throughout the commercial community of 
 the Dominion. 
 
 THE ONLY WEEKLY LAW PAPER IX CANADA. 
 
 James Kirby , LL.D. , D.C.L. , Editor. Subscription, $4 a year. 
 
 Invaluable to the Profession. 
 
 |, CANADA MEDICAL AND SDRGICAL JOURNAL, 
 
 The oklej^t and most influential Medical Journal in the 
 Dominion. Published Monthly. 
 
 GEO. ROSS, A.M., M.D., and T. G. RODDICK, M.D., Editors. 
 
 SUBSCRIPTIOX, .S3.00 A YEAR. 
 Taken by the foremost Physicians in the Country. 
 
 THE EDUCATIONAL RECORD, 
 
 Published every month under the ."luthority of the Protestant Committee of 
 the Bard of Education, and containing the official announce- 
 ments of the Board. 
 SUBSCRIPTION, - - - _ _ $1.00 A YEAR. 
 
 An excellent medium to meet Teachers and i^chool Com. 
 
 niissioners. 
 
 BOOK AND JOB PRINTING DEPARTMENT. 
 
 The best appointed Job Printing House in Canada. 
 
 ^ Estimates given. All orders by mail or telegraph promptly attended to. 
 
 ^ RICHARD WHITE, Man.-Dlr., 
 
 „._..^ - 6?a2e«g Printing Co., Montreal. 
 

 
 bo 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 >.-! 
 
 
 4 
 
 i 
 i 
 
 
 
 
 
 i 
 
 
 hi 
 
 a 
 
 ? 
 
 
 
 0S 
 
 fi'- 
 
 .1 
 
 CO 
 
 «< 
 
 
 -J 
 
 o 
 6 
 
 p 
 
 ■ 
 
 IJLJJ 
 
 ,£3 
 
 m' 
 
 S'' 
 
 (1 
 
 ^ 
 
 Q 
 
 Ij.'', 
 
 i 
 
 *^-* 
 
 ^ 
 
 o 
 
 ^?^ 
 
 
 >» 
 
 s 
 
 
 r^ 
 
 ARE 
 
 the C 
 
 
 
 
 
 » 
 
 It 
 
 
 CO s 
 
 o 
 
 z w 
 
 
 p 
 
 
 ilSO 
 
 aged 
 
 
 i 
 
 
 a a 
 
 
 Li-; 
 
 
 
 
 >» 
 
 
 Bvf'i'j 
 
 , 
 
 
 
 K' 
 
 u--'" 
 
 ■2 
 
 
 1*9/' 
 
 -- 1 
 
 S 
 
 
 m. 
 
 '-J^ 
 
 ;3 
 
 
 P" 
 
 
 o 
 
 
 !»?■'■ 
 
 I J 
 
 — t. 
 
 s 
 
 
 %■ 
 
 L 1 
 
 "2 
 
 
 h=, 
 
 3 
 
 
 
 
 "§ 
 
 
 
 ,_3 
 
 ■r-t 
 
 
 
 
 ex. 
 
 
 
 ■ " - 
 
 1 
 
 1 
 
 
A SELECTION OF BOOKS ON CANADA 
 
 PUBLISHED IN THE DOMINION. 
 
 Hemorios of Canada and Sicotland. Speeches and Verses by the 
 Right Hon. the Marquis of Lome ; $1.50. 
 
 Eng^land and Canada— a Summer Tour between Old and New West- 
 minster, with Historical Notes, by Sandford Fleming, CE., C M.G. ; 
 
 Fossil Men and their Modern Representatives— An attempt to 
 
 illustrate the character and condition of pre-historic men in Europe by 
 
 those of the American races, by Principal Dawson. 12mo , illustrated ; 
 
 $2.00. 
 The Dawn of Life; being the History of the Oldest known Fossil Re- 
 mains, with illustrations of Eozoon, by Principal Dawion 12mo., 
 
 illustrated; $2.00. 
 Acadian Oeologry — The Geological Structure, Organic Remain?, and 
 
 Mineral Kesources of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward 
 
 Island, by Principal Dawson, with many platC' and maps ; $.^ 00- 
 Ufe of Nir William Logman, F.R.S., First Director of the Geologic il 
 
 Survey of Canada; illustrated by Sketches from his Note Books, by 
 
 Dr. Bernard Harrington. 8vo. ; .§300. 
 History of Canada under French Kesrime, I533-I763, with Mai s 
 
 and Plans by Dr. H. H. Miles. 8vo. ; §3 00. 
 A School History of Canada down to Coii federation, by Dr. 11- II 
 
 Miles ,•^0.50. 
 History of Acadia, by James Uannay. $3.59. 
 The Butterflies and JHoths of Canada, with Descriptions of tlieir 
 
 Color, Size, Habits, «fec., by Dr. A- M. Ross $1.00. 
 The Birds of Canada, with description of their Plumage, Habits, Food, 
 
 Song, Nests, &c., and times of Arrival and Departure, by Dr. A. M- 
 
 Ross. $1.00. 
 Our Birds •►f Prey ; or, the Eagles, Hawks and Owls of Canada, by 
 
 Henry G. Vennor, F.G.S-, with 30 Photographic Illustrations; $5.00. 
 Grammar and Dictionary of the Ojibway Ijangrna{;:e, by R- R. 
 
 Bishop Baraga. $3.00- 
 Chansons Popnlalreei dn Canada, with Music, by Ernest Gagnon. 
 
 $1.50. 
 Picturesque Quebec, by J. M. Lemoine. $3.00. 
 The Intercolonial— A Historical Sketch of the Intercolonial Railway, 
 
 with Maps and Illustrations, by Sandford Fleming, CE. .$3. 00. 
 The Ijoyallsts of America and their Times, by Rev. Egerton 
 
 Ryerson. 2 vols.,8vo. ; $5.00. 
 Mountain and Prairie— A Journey from Victoria to Winnipeg by the 
 
 Peace River Pass, by Rev. Daniel M. Gordon. $1.75. 
 Hlstolrede la I.iitterature Canadienne, par Edmund Lareau. $1.25. 
 Si'Instruction Pnbllqueau Canada— Precis HistoriqueetStatistique, 
 
 parTHon. P. J 0. Ghauveau $1.00- 
 True and Genuine Description of New France, commonly called 
 
 Canada. Translated from the French of Pierre Boucher, Governor of 
 
 Three Rivers in 1664. $1.00- 
 Manual of the Constltu ion of Canada, by John Gooch- $1 00. 
 Canada on the Pacific— A Journey from Edmonton to the Pacific by 
 
 the Peace River, by Charles Horetsky. $100. 
 Manitoba; its Infancy, Growth and Present Condition, by Prof. Bryce. 
 
 t*)^. ou« 
 Red River, by Joseph T Hargrave. $150. 
 Toronto of Old, by Dr. Scadding. $3.00- 
 The Works of Francis Parkman— 8 vols. $12.00 
 The Publications of the Oeologrical Survey of Canada— Cata- 
 logues on application. 
 The above are a few of the Canadian books in our Stock. Any book not on 
 and can be procured at short notice. 
 
 PUBLISHERS AND BOOKSELLERS, 
 233 ST. JAMES STREET, MONTREAL.. 
 
.J- 
 
 JOHNSTON'S FLUID BEEF 
 
 not like Liebig's and other similar extracts, a 
 mere stimulant. Like them, it imparts a stimu- 
 lus to the system, but adds, what they have no 
 power to supply, nourishment for brain and 
 bone and muscle. 
 
 OFFICES : 27 ST. PETEE STREET, MONTEBAL. 
 
 !t)Q 
 
 bQ 
 
 
 Visitors will find a very choice and large 
 selection of the following goods: 
 
 Electro Silver Ware, 
 
 Polished Brass Ware, 
 
 Lemaire*s Opera Glasses, 
 
 Mantle Clocks, Faacy Goods, &c. 
 
 Bisque & Parian Figures, &c 
 
 All at reasonable prices. 
 
 WHOLESALE AND METAIL. 
 
 ISrSPECTIOir IXTITED. 
 
 83 
 
 IMPORT£RfS, 
 
 ST. SULPICE ST., MONTREAL. 
 
 Near Notre Dame Church. 
 
 [Canada Paper Company 
 
 (LIMITED.) 
 
 Tlioiiias Loiran, President. Jobn Maefarlane, V-Pres. & Man. Dir. 
 
 Manufacturers and Dealers in every description of 
 
 PAPER, AND IMPORTERS OF STATIONERY. 
 
 Hills at Windsor Mills, P.Q. and Slierbroolce, P.^. 
 
 Office and Warerooms : 374, 376 & 378 St. Paul St, Montreal. 
 
 Western Brancb : 11 Front Street West, Toronto. 
 
IMDDSTRIAL AND COTTON 
 
 CENTENNIAL EXPOSITION 
 
 — OPENS AT — 
 
 DECEMBER 1, 1884, AND CONTINUES SIX MONTHS. 
 
 THE ILLIIOIS CENTRAL RAILROAD 
 
 owning and operating a line from Chicago to New Orleans, have placed in 
 their equipment Pnllmaii Bnffet Sleeping Cars of the latest improved 
 pattern, built expressly for this line to run through from Cliicago to Wew 
 Orleans without change. 
 
 These Cars are models of excellence and contain ten sections, drawing room, 
 smoking room, and Buffet. The passenger can press the button on the electric 
 bell in his section and order from the menu : Raw Oysters— Stewed Oystere — 
 Sardines — Ham Sandwiches — Tongue Sandwiches — Boiled Eggs — Cheese, 
 Bread and Butter —Crackers— Tea — Chocolate —Coffee —Iced Tea — Milk — 
 Cream — Mineral Waters — Lemonade — Cigars, — and have the same nicely 
 served without leaving his seat. 
 
 The Buffet Cars le e Chicago every nig^ht at 8.30 p. m., reaching 
 New Orleans the second morning.— liOW Rates for the Round Trip to visit 
 the Exposition, and Tourist Tickets to Texas, Mexico, California, and Florida 
 rto New Orleans, with stop-over privileges to visit the Exposition. — For full 
 particulars address 
 
 THOS. BORWIX, 
 
 Gen. North. Pass. Agent, Chicago. 
 
 A. H. HANSO]^, 
 
 Gen. Pasp. Agent, Chicago* 
 
THE 
 
 Sun Life Assurance Company 
 
 OF CANADA. 
 
 HEAT) OFFICE, 
 
 MONTREAL. 
 
 Tlie only Company in Canada wbicli issues absolutely 
 unconditional liife Policies. 
 
/ 
 
 / 
 
 POSTAL INFORMATION. 
 
 PRINTED BY AUTHORITY. 
 
 1. Rate of Postagrc* to be prepaid by stamps, is as follows :~ 
 On Letters addressed to places in — 
 
 Canada or the United States 3 cents per half ounce. 
 
 United Kingdom or Newfoundland. 5 " |* '* '* 
 
 European countries generally 5 '* " ** ** 
 
 2. Printed Matter, including Newspapers and Periodicals (other 
 than Newspapers from oflBce of publication) addressed to places in — 
 
 Canada, United States, or Newfoundland — 1 centfor each4ounoer 
 UnitedKingdomand all European countries! " " 2 " 
 
 Postal Cards are issued for transmission to places in — 
 
 Canada or the United States, at 1 cent each. 
 
 United Kingdom, Newfoundland, and all European 
 countries 2 " " 
 
 Mails are despatched from Canada to the United Kingdom, once 
 a week, via Rimouski, and three times a week via New York, the rates of 
 Postage being uniform by both routes. 
 
 5. Money Orders. The commission charged on Money Orders 
 drawn in Canada, payable within the Dominion, is as follows: — 
 
 If not exceeding $ 4 2c. 
 
 3. 
 
 4. 
 
 vei 
 
 ■$4 
 
 
 t» 
 
 10 
 
 i( 
 
 10 
 
 
 t( 
 
 20 
 
 (. 
 
 20 
 
 
 .( 
 
 40 
 
 (( 
 
 40 
 
 
 «( 
 
 W 
 
 (( 
 
 60 
 
 
 (< 
 
 80 
 
 (< 
 
 80 
 
 
 (< 
 
 100 
 
 5c. 
 10c. 
 20c. 
 30c. 
 40c. 
 50c. 
 
 And on Money Orders paj-able in the United Kingdom and United 
 States :— 
 
 If not exceeding $10 10c. 
 
 Over SIO " " 20 20c. 
 
 " 20 " " 30 30c. 
 
 " 30 " " 40. 40c. 
 
 " 40 " " 50 50c. 
 
 Money Orders may also be had, at the same rates, on most of the 
 countries m Europe and the principal British Possessions abroad. 
 
 Table showing the amonnf in Canadian Money fo he paid hy reminera 
 for Money Orders on the United Kingdom, where payment will be 
 made tn bterlmg Money. " 
 
 £ «. d. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 1 
 2 
 3 
 4 
 5 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 6 
 
 7 
 8 
 9 
 
 
 
 
 
 10 
 
 S c. 
 
 £ 
 
 8. 
 
 d. 
 
 $ c. 
 
 24 
 
 1 
 
 
 
 
 
 4 87 
 
 49 
 
 2 
 
 
 
 
 
 9 74 
 
 73 
 
 3 
 
 
 
 
 
 14 61 
 
 97 
 
 4 
 
 
 
 
 
 19 48 
 
 1 22 
 
 5 
 
 
 
 
 
 24 35 
 
 J f' 
 
 6 
 
 
 
 
 
 29 22 
 
 1 71 
 
 I 
 
 
 
 
 
 34 09 
 
 1 95 
 
 8 
 
 
 
 
 
 38 96 
 
 2 19 
 
 9 
 
 
 
 
 
 43 83 
 
 2 44 
 
 10 
 
 
 
 
 
 48 70 
 
1 1 
 
 l|SS4 
 
 HAND-BOOK 
 
 FOR THE 
 
 DOMINION OF CANADA. 
 
 PREPARED FOR 
 
 THE MEETING OF THE BRITISH ASSOCIATION FQ:i 
 
 THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE. 
 
 AT MONTREAL, 1884. 
 
 BY 
 
 S. E. DAWSON, 
 
 ONE OF THE LOCAL SECRETAKIES OF THE ASSOCIATION, 
 
 
 ' ' ' .:0 III 
 
 
 MONTREAL: 
 DAWSON BROTHERS, PUBLISHERS. 
 
 1884. 
 
'■{y^w 
 
 Entered according to Act of Parliament of Canada, in the year 1884 by 
 S. E. Dawson, in the Office of the Minister of Agriculture. • 
 
 GAZETTE PRINTING CO., MONTREAI.. 
 
PREFACE. 
 
 This book has been prepared at the request of the 
 Citizens' Committee of the British Association for the 
 purpose of giving to the members attending the 
 meeting at Montreal an outline of the main facts of 
 interest concerning Canada generally, and, especially, 
 concerning the place of meeting and its immediate 
 surroundings. 
 
 Although, in a general way, the committee has 
 approved of the book, the writer alone is responsible 
 for any opinions which may incidentally be expressed 
 in it and for the accurac}^ of the facts set forth. The 
 statistical information is, for the most part, derived 
 from documents published by the general or provin- 
 cial parliaments. 
 
 Some of the chapters have been contributed by gen- 
 tlemen specially conversant with the subjects treated 
 in them. Mr. A. T. Drummond contributed the chap- 
 ter on Forestry at page 21, and that on the Botany of 
 Labrador, page 272. Mr. Thomas McDougall, that at 
 page 24 on the Lumber Trade. Music is treated of by 
 Mr. Joseph Gould at pages 38 and 222. Dr. Harring- 
 ton contributed the chapter on the Geolog}^ of Mont- 
 real and its environs at page 232. Dr. George M. 
 Dawson supplied the chapter at page 323 on the 
 Geology of the country between Owen Sound and the 
 Eocky Mountains, Principal Dawson wrote the geo- 
 logical itinerary of the Intercolonial Kailway at page 
 84, and Mr. D. A. P. Watt contributed the chapter on 
 the Salmon Fisheries of the Labrador Coast at page 279, 
 and that on the Botany of Lake Superior at page 322. 
 
CONTENTS. 
 
 THE DOMISION OF CAS ADA. 
 
 Introduction, p. 1.-— Political Future, p. o. — Physical Features, 
 p. 4. — Extent, p. 7. — Census, p. 8. — !n<lians, p. 8. — ^lilitia, 
 p. 10. — Commerce, p. 11. — Inland Revenue, p. 14. — Na- 
 tional I'olicv, p. 14. — Manufactures, p. 10. — Public Works, 
 p. 19.— TotaVCostof PuTi;Tu^'\forks,p. L'l— Forestry, p.21.— 
 1/ The Lumber Trade, p. 24.--Kailways, \\ 27.— Grand Trunk 
 Railway, p. 28.— Canadian Pacitic Railway, p. 29. — Govern- 
 ment Roads, p. 33. — Science, Literature and Art, p. 34. — 
 Geological Survey, p. 34. — Meteorological Service, p. 35. — 
 Royal Society, p. 35. — Royal Canadian Academy, p. 36. — 
 Literature, p. 37. — Music, p. 38. — Political Divisions, p. 42. — 
 . Table of size of the Great Lakes, p. 43. — Table of Distances, 
 p. 43. 
 
 ACADIA. 
 General Sketch of the Acadian Provinces, p. 45. 
 
 NOVA SCOTIA. 
 
 Pliysical Features, p. 51.— Soil, p. 51. — Climate, p. 52. — 
 Minerals, p. 52.— Coal, p. 53. — Gold, p. 54. — Iron, p. 54. — 
 Fisheries, p. 54. — Population, p. 55. — Education, p. 55. 
 
 HALIFAX. 
 
 History and Sketch of the City, p. 55. 
 
 EXCURSIONS IN NOVA SCOTIA. 
 
 To Yarmouth r/a Wnuhor, p. 61. — Windsor, p. 61. — Grand Pre, 
 p. 62. — The Acadians, p. 63. — "Wolfville, p. 65. — Annapolis, 
 p. 66. — Digby, p. 67. — ^C'lare, p. 67.— Yarmouth, p. (S^. 
 
 To Pictou p. 68. — Stellarton, p. 68.— New Glasgow^, p. 68. — 
 Pictou, p. 69. — Coal Mines, p. 70. 
 
 To Ccmso, p. 71. — Antigonish, p. 71. — Tracadie, p. 71. — Gut 
 of Canso, 71. 
 
Vlir CONTENTS. 
 
 HALIFAX TO QUEBEC. 
 
 By the hitercolonial Rail way ^ p. 72. 
 
 Shubenaca<lie, p. 72.— Truro, p. 72.— Londonderry, p. 73.— 
 Folly Lake, p. 73. — Sprin.ixhlll Mines, p. 73. — Excursion to 
 the Jogirins, p. 74.— Parrsboro', p. 74. — Ma<'can, p. 75. — 
 Amherst, p. 75.— Bonier Wars, p. 75. — Sackville, p. 70. — 
 Moncton and tlie Tides of the Bay of Fundy, p. 77. — Mira- 
 michi, p. 78. — Chatham, p. 7V).— Bat hurst, p. 80. — Miscou, 
 p. 80. — The Lepers of Traeadie, p. 80. — Dalhousie, p. 82. — 
 Campbellton, p. 82.— Metapedia, j). 82. 
 
 THE GEOLOGY OF THE COUNTRY FROM HALIFAX TO QUEBEC. 
 Geological Itinerary of the Intercolonial Railway, p. 84. 
 
 CAPE BRETON. 
 
 History, p. 88.— Capture of Louisbourg, p. 91. — Area, p. 94. — 
 Climate, p. 95.— The Bras d'Or, p. 95. — Coal Mine^, p. 96. — 
 Sydney, p. 96.— Baddeck, p. 97.— Port Hawkesbury, p. 97. — 
 Arichat, p. 98. 
 
 PRINCE EDWARD ISLAXD. 
 
 History, p. 98.— Census, p. 100.— Soil, p. 101.— Climate, p. 101. 
 Trade, p. 102.— Charlottetown, p. 102.— Summerside, p. 103. 
 Georgetown, p. 103. 
 
 NEW BRUNSWICK. 
 
 The United Empire Loyalists, p. 103.— Physical Features, 
 p. 107— Rivers, p. 108.— Minerals, p. 108.— Climate, p. 108. 
 Population, p. 109.— Railways, p. 109.— Education, p. 109. 
 
 ST. JOHN. 
 
 History and Sketch of the City, p. 110. 
 
 EXCURSIONS IN NEW BRUNSWICK. 
 
 To Fredericton, p. 112.— Fredericton, p. 113.— The Maine 
 Boundary, p. 114. -The St. Croix River, p. 115. -St. An- 
 drews, p. 115.— St. Stephen, p. 116. 
 
CONTENTS. IX 
 
 PROVINCE OF QUEBEC. 
 General Acroiintof its History and Physical Features, p. 117. 
 
 THE CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 Description, p. 127.— Harbour, j). 129. — Hotels, p. 130. — Foun- 
 dation, p. 130. — Citadel, p. 131. — Fortifications, p. 132. — 
 Sciuares and Monuments, p. 134. — Keligious and C iiaritable 
 Institutions, p. 137. — C hurches, p. 140. — Parliament Build- 
 ings, I). 141.— Laval University, p. 141. — The Chien d'Or, 
 p. 143.— Excursions from Quebec, p. 145. — Falls of Mont- 
 morenci,p. 145. — Falls of Lorette, p. 140. — Chaudiere Falls^ 
 p. 140. 
 
 MONTREAL. 
 
 General Description and History, p. 147.— Hotels, 154. — Cab 
 Tariff, p. 150. — Restaurants, p. 158. — Post ()ffice, p. 159. — 
 Commerce, p. 159. — Harbour, p. 100. — Lachine Canal, p. 
 103. — Railways, p. 105. — Victoria Bridge, p. 107. — Manu- 
 
 •/factures, p. 170.— Water Works, p. 170.— Mount Royal 
 Park, p. 171. — Parks and Squares, p. 174. — Public Build- 
 ings, p. 1 70. — Churches, p. 179. — Benevolent Institutions, p. 
 193. — Educational Institutions, p. 202. — Science, Literature 
 and Art, p. 220. — Amusements, p. 225. 
 
 GEOLOGY OF MONTREAL AND ITS ENVIRONS. 
 
 Sketch of the Geology of Montreal and surrounding country 
 with a map geologically coloured, p. 232. 
 
 EXCURSIONS FROM MONTREAL. 
 
 The Cemeteries, p. 239. — Mountain Drive, p. 240. — Sault-au- 
 Recollet, p. 240. — Lachine, p. 241. — Lachine Rapids, p. 241. 
 — Belail, p. 243. 
 
 To Quebec by the Biter, p. 243. — Sorel, p. 245. — Three Rivers, 
 p. 240. 
 
 To Ottawei by Canadian Pacific Ba'dway, p. 248. — Grenville, 
 p. 249. — Buckingham, p. 250. 
 
 To Lake Memphrernagog, p. 250. — Chambly, p. 251. — West 
 Farnham, p. 254. — Sutton, p. 255. — Newport, p. 255. — Lake 
 Memph rem agog, p. 255- 
 
 The Eastern Townships, p. 257. 
 
X CONTENTS. 
 
 THE LOWER ST. LAW'REXCE. 
 
 La Bonno Sto. Ann«\ p. 25!>.— Tslaii'I of Orleans, p. 259.— St. 
 Thomas, p. 2<io.— Day St. Paul, p. •-<►<». — Le.s EboiikMiiens, 
 p. 2<)0.— Eartlxniako.s; p. 2«;i.— Murray Bay, p. 2B1.— Kain- 
 ouraska,p. 2>i2.— liivicrodu Lnun, p. 2>»2.— Cacouna. [h 2(53. 
 Tadousac, p. 2<)3.— I'rince of Wales at Ta<lousac, 2<)5.— Tlie 
 Saguonay, !>. 2<)5.— Ha Ha Day, p. 208. 
 
 To the Bnii Chahur, p. 2<)8.— Bi(\ p. 2«)8.— Rhuouski, p. 2(V.).— 
 Mataiie, p 2<)*.>.— Gaspf', p. 27<i.— Perce, p. 270.— Pa,si)ebiac, 
 p. 270.— Dalhousie, p. 271. 
 
 THE LABRADOR COAST. 
 
 p. Z/>.— . 
 
 p. 278.— Salmon Fisheries, p. 27i>. 
 
 THE PROVLXCE OF OXTARIO. 
 
 History, p. 281.— U. E. Loyalists, p. 281.— Newark, p. 282.— 
 York, p. 282.— War of 18i2, p. 282.— Area, p. 283.— Climate, 
 p. 284. — Resources, p. 284. — Census, p. 280. — \.auufactures, 
 
 y p. 286. 
 
 CITY" OF OTTA\VA. 
 
 Description, p. 287. — Chaudiere Falls, p. 287.— Parliament 
 Buildings, p. 288. — Society at the Capital, p. 288. — Hotels, 
 p. 289. 
 
 Montreal to Ottawa h^i Canada Atlantic Railwa'/, p. 289. — St. 
 Anne's, p. 290.— Vaudreuil, p. 290. 
 
 Ottawa to Montreal hq the River, p. 291. — The Riyer Ottawa, 
 p. 291.— The Gatineau, p. 291.— The Lieyre, p. 291.— The 
 North and South Nation, p. 291.— Grenyille, p. 292.— The 
 Rapids of the Ottawa, j). 292.— Carillon, p. 293.— The Cana- 
 dian Thermopylie, p. 293.— The Sacrifice of Dollard, p. 294. 
 The Lake of Two Mountains, p. 295.— Rigaud, p. 295.— The 
 Deyil's Garden, p. 295.— Oka, p. 295.— St. Anne's, p. 296.— 
 Lake St. Louis, p. 297.— Lachine, p. 297. 
 
CONTENTS. X[ 
 
 THE UPl'EK ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 Kvigftoi) to Montreal hji thr Ilivir, p. 2!>7. — Kin<«'ston, p. 207. — 
 Frontonac and LaSallo, p. I'I'T. — lioyal ISlilitarv Collogo, [>. 
 21)9.--i^UM'n'.s ( olleiro, p. 2!>!)— Tlio TlioiisaiKf Islands, i). 
 20*.). — ])i('k«'iis and IMarniier, p. 300. — Tliousand I.slan<l 
 Park, p. :301.— Tho IJapids of the St. Law nuico, p. 301. — 
 Tom Moore, p. 3()2.— The Long Sault, p. :;()3.--Tlie Lower 
 Kapids, p. lio;;.— Isle Perrot, p. 304.— Cliateauguay, p. 304. 
 — La»'hine, p. 3()5. 
 
 Ottaira to Toronto hti RoUimii, p. 305. — Madoc, p. 300.— Poter- 
 boro,p. 3(Mi.— The Trent, p. 30().— The Lake ^'ities, p. 300.— 
 Belleville., :>00.— ( obourg, p. 300. 
 
 TORONTO. 
 
 llistorv, p. 307.— Aleanini; of Name, p. 307. — Trade, p. 300. — 
 Hotels, p. 300.— Kaihvays, p. 300.— Parks, p. 300.— Public 
 Buildings, p. 310. — Clnirches, p. 310.— Educational Institu- 
 tions, p. 311.— Libraries, p. 313. — Newspapers, p. 313. 
 
 Toronto to Xiagara, p. 313. — Niagara, p. 314. 
 
 I'he Peninsula of Ontario, p. 315. — Hamilton, p. 315. — London, 
 p. 315. 
 
 Toronto to Lake Svprrior, ]\ 31(>. — Lines of Travel, p. 310. — 
 Georgian Bay, p. 318. — Lake Simcoe, p. 31S. — Owen Sound, 
 p. 31'S. — The Destruction of a Nation, p. 310. — Collingwood, 
 p. 310. 
 
 Lake Superior, p. 310.— The Ojibway fbuntry, p. 310.— The 
 Isles of Huron, p. 320.— The Inside C hannel, p. 320.— Sault 
 Ste Marie, p. 321.— ^lichipicoton, p. 321.— Nepigon, p. 321. 
 Thunder Bav, p. 321.— Port Arthur, p. 322.— The Land of 
 Hiawatha, p. 322.— Botany, p. 322. 
 
 Geological Sketch of the country from Lake Huron to the 
 Rocky Mountains, p. 323. 
 
 MANITOBA. 
 
 History, p. 327. — La Verendrye, p. 328. — Area, p. 328. — Phy- 
 sical Features, p. 320.— Soil* p. 320.— Climate, p. 330.— Pro- 
 ductions, p. 330. — Coal, p. 331. —The Provisional Districts, 
 p. 332.— Tlie Hudson's Bay Route, p. 332. 
 
XII CONTENTS. 
 
 BRITISH COLUMBIA. 
 
 General Description, p. 333. — Climate, p. 334. — Resources, 
 p. 334.— Coal, p. 334. -Gold, p. 335. 
 
 MAPS. 
 
 Sketch Map of the Dominion. 
 
 Map of the Grand Trunk System, to face p. 28. 
 
 Geological Map of Montreal and its Environs, to face p. 232. 
 
 General Railway System of Eastern Canada. 
 
HAND-BOOK FOR CANADA. 
 
 THE DOMINION OP CANADA. 
 
 Introduction.— To those fortunate people who are 
 endowed with intelligent curiosity and quick percep- 
 tion, travel in any country is pleasant and profitable ; 
 and it is doubtful whether, in comparing other coun- 
 tries with their own, the differences they observe or 
 the similarities they recognise interest them most. 
 An Englishman visiting Canada for the first time will 
 have abundant material for both these classes of 
 observation. He will see a people of his own race and 
 language w^ho have adapted themselves to a totally 
 new set of conditions. He will be able to trace poli- 
 tical principles, with which he is familiar, worked out 
 into new forms ; unchecked by the resisting force of 
 institutions venerable by the traditions of long pre- 
 ceding centuries. In Canada, he will see the youngest 
 nation in the world ; and he will be able to converse 
 with those who assisted at its birth. He will see 
 institutions in process of construction, and a people, 
 without a leisure class, busy working at them. Much 
 of the political energy of the old world is, properly 
 enough, spent in destructive modification of old insti- 
 tutions ; but, in the new world, the same energy is 
 fully occupied in constructive adaptation of principles. 
 
2 THE DOMINION. 
 
 Hence Englishmen are often sui-prised to find that 
 Canadians, of all political parties, are more conserva- 
 tive than they themselves are. and they will soon 
 learn that party names have not always the same 
 political contents in Canada as in England. 
 
 Some of the provinces have interesting and event- 
 ful histories going back to the discovery of this conti- 
 nent, but the Dominion dates only from July 1, 186*7. 
 Upon that day the Imperial Act, known as the British 
 North America Act, came into force and inaugurated 
 the present political status. That Act was passed at 
 the request, and upon the petition, of the Legislature 
 of Canada which then consisted of, what are known 
 now as, the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. The 
 other provinces accepted the Act as each entered the 
 Dominion ; and, in this manner, each legislature laid 
 down its former powei'S to resume anew that portion 
 which fell to its share under the distribution of the 
 Imperial Act. The end the founders of the Dominion 
 sought could not be attained in any other v^ixy. With 
 the warning of the great civil war of the United 
 States before their eyes, they resolved to avoid the 
 semblance of a delegation of a limited portion of pro- 
 vincial rights to a central government. Therefore the 
 different Provincial Legislatures practically resigned 
 the aggregate of their political powers into the hands 
 of the Imperial Parliament, which, in turn, re-dis- 
 tributed this total imperium in the manner laid down 
 in the Act, and thus formulated the present Constitu- 
 tion of the Dominion of Canada. One most essential 
 point must be borne ever in mind, namely that, in 
 Canada, the residuum of the undistributed imperium 
 was given to the central government ; whereas, in 
 the United States, the residuum of the undelegated 
 imperium of each sovereign State remained with its 
 own legislature — a distinction most important, and 
 vital to the political constitution of the Dominion. 
 As might have been anticipated, questions concerning 
 the interpretation of the British JS^orth America Act 
 
POLITICAL FUTURE. 3 
 
 are constantly arising. These are settled by ultimate 
 appeal to the Queen in Council. The political student 
 who desires detailed information as to the distribution 
 of political power to the various legislatures will find 
 it fully set forth in the Act in question. 
 
 Political Future.— This is a subject apparently of 
 unfailing interest to many who are not natives of the 
 country. The native Canadian is not in the least 
 degree exercised upon the question. Experience has 
 shown that the Canadian people have hitherto been 
 equal to such emergencies as have arisen in the past ; 
 and the Canadians of to-day are too much occupied 
 with practical questions to discuss the various hypo- 
 theses which speculative politicians delight to pro- 
 pound. Young nations, like young men, are not 
 addicted to introspection. Canadians will, however, 
 be found tolerant of political advice. They are accus- 
 tomed to it and therefore have great capacity for 
 receiving it with equanimity. They will listen with 
 complacency to the same mathematical demonstra- 
 tions which failed to convince their grandfathers, 
 that their country must inevitably be split up, or 
 swallowed up, or r^nnexed; or to any other theory 
 which ingenious strangers may cherish. They have 
 observed that in the regions of political and moral 
 forces the laws of arithmetic have only a fitful ap- 
 plication. History teaches them that the nations 
 which have in the past become great, have con- 
 cerned themselves more with doing the work which 
 lay ready to their hands than with speculative poli- 
 ties. Even the "fishing-rod argument" fails to move 
 them. For, in truth, other nations have passed 
 through the "fishing-rod" phase. The Prussians 
 were never disturbed because their provinces stretched 
 out end to end along the Northern seas ; or because 
 the Ehine provinces were separated by foreign States 
 from the main body of the kingdom. !N'or were the 
 Italians disturbed because Metternich considered Italy 
 
4 THE DOMINION. 
 
 to be merely a geographical expression. The old 
 thirteen colonies were a fringe of English settlements 
 along the Atlantic coast; while the French occupied 
 the valleys of the St. Lawrence and Ohio. There is 
 more in common between the Manitobans and Nova 
 Scotians, than between thePiedmontese and Sicilians, 
 or between the Ehenish and Polish provinces of Prus- 
 sia. The political outlook of these countries was not 
 encouraging one hundred years ago ; but they worked 
 out their own problems in their own way, as the 
 Canadians propose to do, undeterred by the meta- 
 phors of political weather-prophets. There is an 
 over-carefulness in such matters, which is morbid, 
 referred to by the Hebrew sage when he said, '' He 
 that observeth the wind shall not sow and he that 
 regardeth the clouds shall not reap." 
 
 Physical Features.— A description of Canada is not 
 easily given in the limited space available in a guide- 
 book. To characterize in a few lines a country cov- 
 ering more than half the continent of North America, 
 and reaching from the latitude of Constantinople to 
 the North Pole — a country whose circuitous coast-line 
 on the Atlantic measures 10,000 miles, and whose 
 western shore upon the Pacific, studded with islands 
 and indented by secure harbours and deep inlets, 
 attains almost an equal length — a country where 
 maize and peaches are staple crops, and where 
 vegetation fades out upon the desolate and melan- 
 choly shores of the Arctic Ocean. To characterise 
 such a country by a few general phrases is evidently 
 impossible. If we look at the eastern portion alone 
 we see the greatest forest region in the world. If we 
 consider the central portion, we are regarding the 
 great prairie country, but if we cross the passes into 
 the Pacific province we enter upon that "Sea of 
 Mountains " compared with which the most mountain- 
 ous country in Europe is of limited extent. 
 And yet there are aspects in which, when British 
 
PHYSICAL FEATURES. 5 
 
 Columbia is excepted, this great country may be 
 apprehended by a vnde genbralization. It is a country 
 of broad lakes and llowing waters. A country where 
 the abundance of streams and the regularity of sum- 
 mer rains preclude the possibility of drought, and 
 secure the widest area of vegetable growth. It is a 
 land of grass and forest. A country containing by 
 far the largest portion of fresh-water upon the globe ; 
 where, 2,000 miles from the ocean, the traveller may 
 lose sight of land and be prostrated by sea-sickness. 
 A land containing the most extensive water-ways in 
 the world J where thousands of miles of navigable 
 rivers may conduct commerce into the remotest 
 corner of the continent at its widest part. The slope 
 of the land from the Eocky Mountains is so gradual 
 that the rivers flow with an even stream, and their 
 sources are so certain that thej' flow in a equable 
 volume. The only abrupt fall of land from Edmonton 
 to the sea is the terrace at Niagara. That fall, and 
 the minor rapids of the St. Lawj-ence are overcome by 
 the most complete system of canals in the world, and, 
 with one transhipment at Montreal, goods can be 
 landed at the head of Lake Superior in the centre of 
 the continent, 2,384 miles from the Straits of Belle- 
 isle. Of this distance 1,500 miles are in fresh water; 
 but, if we turn farther noj-th and enter Canada by 
 Hudson's Bay, the ocean ship will reach, at Port Nel- 
 son, the outlet of a river system stretching out with 
 few interruptions to the very back-bone of the conti- 
 nent; and draining an interior basin, remoter than 
 the St. Lawrence basin, of over 2,000,000 square miles 
 in extent. This profound penetration and permeation 
 of the country by water-ways is the great character- 
 istic of Canada. Fj-om Port Nelson to Liverpool is 
 2,941 miles — from New York to Liverpool is 3,040 
 miles. It is difficult to realize the fact that there, in 
 the very centre of America, an Englishman is ninety- 
 nine miles nearer home than at New York. 
 
6 THE DOMINION. 
 
 Not only in these greater instances, but in many- 
 others, the Dominion is intersected and irrigated by 
 myriads of streams which interlace their sources and 
 open up the country to its remotest bounds. In the 
 prairie region the Saskatchewan alone affords 1,500 
 miles of steamboat navigation. Close upon the north 
 of it commences the Mackenzie Eiver basin, extend- 
 ing over 550,000 square miles. This great stream, with 
 its tributary lakes and its chief affluent the Peace 
 Eiver, affoi'ds with trifling obstacles, upwards of 
 2,000 miles of waterway navigable for steamboats. 
 Down this mighty river in 1^93 went Alexander 
 Mackenzie, the Montreal fur-trader, and, first of white 
 men, stood upon the shore of the Arctic ocean and 
 
 " felt the breezes blow 
 From wastes that slumber in eternal snow ; 
 And waft across the waves tumultuous roar 
 The wolf s long howl from Oonalaska's shore." 
 
 We have excepted British Columbia from this gen- 
 eral description ; but there are remarkable correspon- 
 dences between the extremes of the Dominion upon 
 the eastern and western oceans. Nova Scotia, with 
 its magnificent harbour of Halifax and its abundance 
 of coal, corresponds with Vancouver Island, with 
 Esquimault the best harbour on the Pacific and its 
 wonderfully rich coal mines. Half-way between, 
 upon the prairies, crop out upon the surface at 
 Edmonton, at Bow and Belly rivers and elsewhere, 
 coal seams which set at rest for ever any question as 
 to fuel and motive power for the interior of the conti- 
 nent. The fisheries of the Pacific coast are fast rising 
 into an importance corresponding to those of the 
 Atlantic. All these things, and such as these, occupy 
 the minds of the busy community of Canadians. The 
 present generation are called to do a practical work. 
 They will pass away and their remote descendants, 
 who inherit their labours, may have leisure for hypo- 
 thetical politics. It was in the decay of the republic 
 
AREA. 7 
 
 that Cicero found leisure to write out his speculations 
 upon the theoretical Commonwealth. Douotless, also, 
 the Canadians have their limitations ; but meanwhile 
 " necessity is laid upon them." 
 
 Extent— The area of the Dominion is 3,470,392 
 square miles, or about forty per cent, of the aggre- 
 gate area of all the British possessions throughout 
 the world. Upon its Atlantic coast, Canada, compared 
 with New York or Philadelphia, reaches one-third of 
 the way across the ocean to Europe. The ocean nar- 
 rows towards the north to such a degree that, more 
 than three centuries before Columbus, the Northmen 
 were able to visit the coasts of Cape Breton and Nova 
 Scotia in theii* little vessels. Of this vast area much 
 no doubt is unavailable for culture, but, as the North 
 and North-west are opened up, enormous tracts of 
 good land are revealed, astonishing the Canadians 
 themselves by the magnitude and extent of the 
 resources of their country. In Canada there is no 
 area desert from drought. In the far North-west, 
 where the isothermal lines rise high under the influ- 
 ence of the Japan current, the forest reaches the 
 shores of the Arctic ocean. The area of agricultural 
 and timbered lands in the Dominion is estimated at 
 2,000,000 square miles. 
 
 From the returns of the census of 1 881 it is ascer- 
 tained that the area of land occupied in the Dominion 
 was 45,358,141 acres. 
 
 of these there were improved : — 
 
 In crops acres 15,112,284 
 
 In pasture 6,385,562 
 
 In gardens and orchards 401,335 
 
 The remainder was unimproved. As the area of 
 land suitable for the cultivation of wheat is over 
 1,000,000 square miles or 640,000,000 acres, it will be 
 
8 
 
 THE DOMINION. 
 
 seen at a glance that no one who is willing to work 
 need want for food in a country where so much land 
 may be had for the asking. 
 
 Census.— The last census of Canada was taken in 
 1881. The papulation by Provinces, compared with 
 the previous census, is as follows : — 
 
 Province. 
 
 Nova Scotia 
 
 New Brunswick 
 
 Prince Edward Island 
 
 1871. 
 
 1881. 
 
 387,800 440,572 
 285,594 321,233 
 94,021 1 108,891 
 
 In- 
 
 Rate 
 
 crease, per ct 
 
 Quebec il,191,516jl,359,027 
 
 Ontario 1,620,8511,923,228 302,377 
 
 52,772 
 35,039 
 
 14,870 
 167,511 
 
 Total, older Provinces . . 
 
 Manitoba 
 
 British Columbia . 
 Territories 
 
 Dominion gjrand total. . 
 
 3,579,782 4,152,951 573,169 
 
 18,995 
 36,247 
 
 65,954 46,960 
 49,459| 13,212 
 56,446 
 
 13.6 
 12.4 
 15.8 
 14.6 
 18.6 
 
 16.0 
 
 247.0 
 36.3 
 
 3,635,024 4,324,810 633,341 : 18.98 
 
 Out of the total population 403,491 persons were 
 owners, occupying their own lands. The holdei-s of 
 ten acres and less were 75,286. Those who held lands 
 of eleven to one hundred acres numbered 249,997. 
 From 101 to 200 acres the number of holders was 
 102,243, and over 200 acres 36,499. 
 
 Indians.— An account of Canada would be very 
 incomplete without some reference to the Aborignes 
 whose destiny it seems to be, sooner or later, to pass 
 away before the white man. The dealings of the 
 Canadian Government with the Indians have always 
 been marked by the strictest equity. In the North- 
 west, before lands were laid out for settlement, the 
 
INDIANS. 9 
 
 Indian titles wore cxtinfijuished b}' treaties of purchase 
 conducted with councils of the tribes intei'ested ; and 
 concluded in the most foi-mal manner, and by 
 methods fully comprehensible to the Indians. These 
 treaties have been relii^iously olbserved. The last 
 Indian war in Canada was that of Pontiac, in 1763. 
 The whole North-west has been kept in the most per- 
 fect order by the Mounted Police, a force of 518 
 oflftcers and men with headquarters at Regina. Small 
 squads of these men will ride into the largest camp, 
 and arrest and bring to trial any Indian who has com- 
 mitted a crime. The most foimidable tribes of the 
 North-west are the Blackfeet. They respect and sub- 
 mit to this admirable body of men, for they have con- 
 fidence that justice will be done to an Indian as 
 righteously as to a white man. Last j^ear in the 
 whole North-west 386 cases were tried. One only 
 was for murder. Ninety-seven were simple disputes 
 about wages on the railway. Twenty-nine were for 
 gambling. Twelve onl}' wei-e for being drunk and 
 disorder!}', for it is absolutel}" forbidden to carry 
 spirituous liquors into the North-west ; and the 
 Mounted Police will speedih' deal with any white 
 man they catch doing it. A few years ago when 
 Sitting Bull with his Sioux, red-handed from the war 
 with the United States, took I'efuge on Canadian ter- 
 ritory, two men of the Mounted Police rode into his 
 camp and arrested one of his '' braves " who was 
 charged with murder, and carried him off to trial. The 
 whole Canadian North-west is more orderly and more 
 absolutely safe for man, woman or child than an}' city 
 in Euroi)e or America. 
 
 There is, in the Department of the Interior, a special 
 stall' for watching over the interests of the Indians 
 throughout the Dominion. Industrial schools are 
 provided for their children and farm instructors are 
 appointed to teach the adults to till their lands. Grov- 
 ernment provides seed, animals, and implements; 
 and, in the North-west, the Blackfeet (a most intelli- 
 
10 THE DOMINION. 
 
 gent tribe) are settling down to work. In British 
 Columbia many Indians on the coast find regular 
 employment in the fish-canning factories and many 
 in the fisheries. Very little improvement appears 
 in the extreme east in recent years among the 
 Micmacs of the Maritime Provinces, but the Indian 
 settlements in Ontario are doing well. These consist 
 mainly of Iroquois. They are commencing to 
 increase in number, and are not only cultivating their 
 lands, but keeping their roads and bridges in repair. 
 The Oneidas came from the United States and bought 
 their own lands. The Indians of the Iroquois stock 
 generally do w^ell, while those of the Algonquin stock 
 are not so pjromising. The Government severely 
 punishes any one who sells liquor to the Indians. It 
 8upj)lies them with medical assistance and protects 
 them in every possible way from the cupidity of 
 white men. The total number of Indians in Canada 
 is 131,137, including the nomadic tribes as far as the 
 Arctic coast. Of these 36,483 are in British Columbia 
 and 34,520 in the North-west. In Quebec there are 
 11,930 and in Ontario 18,121. The mimber of children 
 actually attending school is 3,248. The present value 
 of the property held by Indians, or in trust for them, 
 is 811,007,914. 
 
 Militia.— The total expenditure last year in the 
 Department of Militia Avas $760,354. The force con- 
 sists of 37,000 men and officers. A small arms ammu- 
 nition factory is carried on at Quebec by the Depart- 
 ment. The officer in chief military command, under 
 the Minister of Militia, is always an officer of the 
 British army. Thei-e is at Kingston a Military Col- 
 lege where the highest education is given for officers 
 of the staff or for the scientific services ; and there are 
 schools at Toronto, St. Johns (near Montreal) and 
 Frederic con, where all regimental infantry officers 
 must in future qualify before joining their regiments. 
 A cavalry school is being organised at Toronto. The 
 
COMMERCE. 11 
 
 force consints of voluntcerB with the exception of two 
 batteries of artillery and the men in training in 
 the military schools who are regularly enlisted. It 
 is composed of seven regiments and six squadrons 
 of cavalry ; three companies of mounted rifles ; two 
 regiments, five brigades and eighteen batteries of 
 garrison artillery ; one half-battery of mountain artil- 
 lery ; three companies of engineers ; and ninety-four 
 battalions of infantry and riflemen. 
 
 COMMERCE. 
 
 The Blue-books published by Government must bo 
 consulted by anyone desirous of detailed information. 
 We have space to show only the leading facts which 
 will, even although crudely put, give an accurate idea 
 of the trade of the Dominion. The value of the chief 
 staples of export are given separately, for from these 
 a ready induction can be made concerning the indus- 
 tries of the country. For the year ending June 30th, 
 1883, in the whole of the Dominion 
 
 The total imports were $132,254,022 
 
 The total exports were 98,085,804 
 
 The aggi^egate trade, including imports and exports, 
 was apportioned as follows : — 
 
 With Great Britain $99,19^,682 
 
 With United States 97,^01,056 
 
 showing that, close as Canada is to the United States, 
 the larger volume of trade is still with Great Britain. 
 Upon the total value of imports the Customs revenue 
 amounted to $23,172,308, being an average duty of 
 17*52 per cent., and an average of $5.26 per head of 
 the population. 
 
 The exports of the produce of Canada, exclusive of 
 
12 THE DOMINION. 
 
 products in transit, shipped at Canadian ports, are 
 thus classified : — 
 
 Produce of tlie mine $ 2,970 ,88() 
 
 fisheries 8,809,118 
 
 " " forest 25,370,72(> 
 
 Animals and tlieir pro<ki<'e 20,284,343 
 
 A«rrit'iiltural products 22,818,519 
 
 Manufactures 3,503,220 
 
 A short analysis of these figures will show the 
 chief employments of the people. Of the produce of 
 the mine, the export of coal amounted to $1,087,411. 
 The value of gold in nuggets, dust, quartz, &c., 
 exported was $911,383. Gypsum exported, amounted 
 to $151,844. Copper ore, to $150,497. Iron ore, to 
 1138,775. Phosphates, to $302,716. The iron ores of 
 Canada ai-e very pure and are exported to Penn- 
 eylvania chiefly to oe smelted with inferior ores. The 
 phosphate trade has sprung up only in recent years, 
 since the discovery of the enormous deposits of apatite 
 in the Ottawa Valley. 
 
 The chief exports of the fisheries were :— 
 
 Codfish, dried $3,653,083 
 
 Mackerel, pickled 520,335 
 
 Herring, pickled 505,730 
 
 Lobsters, preserved 1,478,895 
 
 Salmon, canned 1,156,223 
 
 The leading items of export classed as products of 
 the forest were : — 
 
 Pot and pearl ashes $ 268,055 
 
 Tan bark 321,991 
 
 Ideals 8,656,541 
 
 Planks 8,022,095 
 
 Staves 346,649 
 
 Shingles 283,530 
 
 Kadway sleei>ers 554,328 
 
 White pine timber 2,852,908 
 
 Oak 976,330 
 
COMMERCE. 13 
 
 The trade in animal products was alwayH largo, but 
 the export of live stock has assumed much imj)ortance 
 of late years. The chief items in this group were : — 
 
 Horses $1,633,291 
 
 Horned cattle 3,898,028 
 
 Sheep 1,388,056 
 
 Butter 1,705,817 
 
 Cheese 6,451.870 
 
 Furs 1,087,523 
 
 Hides 460,983 
 
 Bacon 43(),973 
 
 Wool 280,530 
 
 Great efforts are being made to improve the manu- 
 facture of butter and cheese to the highest possible 
 point. This class of exports, and the export of live 
 cattle are capable of indefinite extension, as is evident 
 from what has been previously said of the climate 
 and rainfall. 
 
 Of agricultural products the chief items were : — 
 
 Barley 86,293,233 
 
 Peas 2,161,708 
 
 Wheat 5,881,488 
 
 Flour 2,515,955 
 
 Hav 902,105 
 
 Malt 1,136,700 
 
 Potatoes 1,048,954 
 
 Besides the above, wheat, in transit from the West- 
 ern United States was exported to the value of 
 $5,821,886. 
 
 The chief items of manufactured goods exported 
 were: — 
 
 Extract of hemlock bark $305,418 
 
 Iron and hardware 319,217 
 
 Leather (sole and upper) — 271,140 
 
 Boots and shoes 96,815 
 
 Ships sold in foreign countries 506,538 
 
 Manufactures of wood 540,875 
 
14 THE DOMINION. 
 
 The number of sea-going vessels entered inwards 
 during the year was 10,781. The aggregate of tons 
 register was 4,004,35*7, of which 2,121,954 were of 
 steamships. 
 
 The inhxnd trade of Canada, upon the rivers and 
 lakes, is shown by the fact that during last year there 
 were 17,012 arrivals at inland ports. The volume of 
 the coasting trade is indicated by a total of 38,244 
 arrivals in the same peiiod, of which 17,782 were of 
 steamers. 
 
 These are the leading items of the commerce of 
 Canada taken from the latest Blue-books for the year 
 ending June 30th, 1883. 
 
 Inland Revenue.— This amounted last year to $6,878,- 
 259, of which $3,902,867 was raised from spirits ; 
 $405,023 from malt and $1,886,302 from tobacco. The 
 total amount of spirits manufactured during last year 
 was 4,281,208 proof gallons. Of tobacco, 9,558,952 
 lbs. were manufactured, of which 454,922 lbs. were 
 exported. 
 
 National Policy.— In times gone by, it was the policy 
 of the British Government to foster trade with the 
 Colonies by a system of differential duties, both in the 
 Home and Colonial tariffs, against the products of 
 foreign countries. A wide spread delusion exists that 
 this was the cause of the American Eevolution. The 
 real question at that time, if the British people could 
 have risen to it, was formulated by ex-Governor 
 Pownall, then a member of Parliament, (who had 
 served as Eoyal Governor in South Carolina, ISTew 
 Jersey and Massachusetts) in a work published in 
 1768 and dedicated to the Eight Honourable George 
 Grenville, of Stamp Act notoriety. He said "It is 
 " therefore the duty of those who govern us to carry 
 "forward this state -^things, to the weaving of this 
 "lead into our systum, that Great Britain may no 
 "more be considered as the kingdom of this isle only, 
 
NATIONAL POLICY. 15 
 
 " with many appendages of provinces, colonies, settle- 
 " raents, and other extraneous parts, but as a grand 
 "marine Dominion consisting of our possessions in 
 *' THE Atlantic and in America, united into a one 
 *' Empire, in a one center where the seat of gov- 
 *'ernment is." The capitals are Pownal's. He 
 thought highly of his plan. At that moment the 
 Sibylline books were offered in full tale ; but the fates 
 were against their acceptance and the opportunity 
 passed. After the revolution, some abuses of the 
 restrictive system were abolished in the remaining 
 colonies ; but differential duties w^ere still continued, 
 and the theory of an Imperial policy was retained. 
 In 1846, however, England adopted a national policy 
 suited to England, and, as business in the colonies 
 had grown up under a different system, a general 
 crash and utter collapse of trade in all the colonies 
 followed. As business revived upon the new basis, the 
 colonists observed that, w^hile their tariff on imports 
 was low, the United States tariff* struck with heavy 
 duties all their exports, but .>s soon as they com- 
 menced to apply the method of differential duties the 
 British Government interfered. In Sept. 1850 the 
 'New Brunswick Legislature sought " to impose differ- 
 *' ential duties on importations from the United States 
 *' to the extent of those imposed by that country on 
 *' importations from New Brunswick." That is, the 
 colonists, retaining some vestiges of the imperial idea, 
 soui»:ht to have a British tariff* for Britain and a 
 United States tariff for the United States. This was 
 refused in a despatch dated N^ov. 1st, 1850, and the 
 policy was laid down which has been adhered to ever 
 since. That was the national policy of England. 
 
 The National Policy of Canada was not, however, 
 clearly formulated until 1878, when the people, by 
 overwhelming majorities, manifested their will that 
 a complete and radical revision of the tariff* should be 
 made. Whether they were wise is not a question to 
 discuss here. They had been somewhat ostentatious- 
 
16 THE DOMINION. 
 
 ly requested to settle their own affairs, and they did 
 BO. As unmistakably as the E. _,lish people in 1846 
 declared for a fiscal polic}^ suited, in their opinion, to 
 the needs of England, so the people of Canada declared 
 for a fiscal policy suited, in their oj^inion, to the needs 
 of Canada. These needs could not, when the imperial 
 idea was abandoned, be identical ; because, in the case 
 of Canada, the proximity of the United States render- 
 ed it necessary to take into account the fiscal policy 
 of that great country. The essence of a National 
 Policy as understood by Canadians is that it shall be 
 adapted to the whole conditions of the country for 
 which it is framed ; while the prevailing school in 
 England think that a policy which is suitable for 
 England is also suitable for every other country. 
 This is a theory held only in England, and, in diverg- 
 ing from it, the Canadians are in agreement with the 
 practice of all other nations. They do not believe in 
 a policy universally applicable, either in finance or 
 legislation, any more than in a universal garment, or a 
 universal diet, and hence they have incurred much 
 criticism. But, in fact, a IN'ational Policy does not 
 necessarily involve a high tariflp. The tariif may be 
 high or low, or free on certain articles, as it was for 
 many years under the reciprocity treaty with the 
 United States. It simply means that policy which, 
 in their opinion, shall best promote the interests of 
 the ]3eople by whom it is framed. 
 
 Manufactures.— It is beyond doubt that owing to the 
 National Policy the manufactm^ing interests of Cana- 
 da have been very greatly developed. Tables are 
 given in the census which show the aggregate 
 amounts of the manufactures for the years 1871 and 
 1881, but it is doubtful how far reliance can be placed 
 upon these statements. They are only valuable rela- 
 tively for comparison ; because the same tendencies 
 to error owing to the mis-statements of individuals, 
 would likely exist at both periods to the same degree. 
 
VOLUME OF TRADE. 
 
 IT 
 
 The number of persons employed would, however, be 
 as nearly absolutely correct as census figures can be. 
 
 Manufacturing Industries. 
 
 1881. 
 
 $ 
 
 Amount of capital invested. ... 77,964,020.00165,302,623.00 
 Value of raw material used. . . . 124,907,846. 00^179,918,593. 00 
 Aggregate value of productions. 221,617,773.00309,676,068.00 
 
 Aggregate wages paid i 40,851 ,009. 00 1 59,429,002.00 
 
 Number of persons employed . . ! 187,942 
 
 Average wages for each person, 
 adults or children 
 
 254,935 
 
 233.11 
 
 It is abundantly evident that, although 1871 was a 
 most prosperous year, the increase has been large. 
 When the imports and exports for the same years are 
 compared, there will be found a large increase, viz. : — 
 
 1871. 
 
 Imports $96,092,971 
 
 Exports 74,173,618 
 
 1881. 
 $105,330,840 
 98,290,823 
 
 $1 70,266,589 $203,621,663 
 
 Mi\ Patterson gives the following percentage analy- 
 sis of the imports for a series of years : — 
 
 Year. 
 
 Imports from 
 
 Great 
 Britain. 
 
 United 
 States. 
 
 Other 
 Countries 
 
 1878 
 1879 
 1880 
 1881 
 1882 
 
 Percentage from 
 
 (( (( 
 
 <i tt 
 
 it u 
 
 41.04 
 38.58 
 48.08 
 47.57 
 44.91 
 
 53.33 
 54.44 
 
 40.88 
 40.07 
 
 42.87 
 
 5.63 
 
 6.98 
 
 11.11 
 
 12.36 
 
 12.22 
 
 The amount of foreign trade increased in value be- 
 tween the census years 1871 and 1881 in the same ratio 
 as the population, viz., 19 per cent. ; but in bulk the 
 imports were larger, as they consisted more of raw 
 
18 
 
 THE DOMINION. 
 
 terials, to which the labour of the country afterwards 
 
 added value. 
 
 This new direction of trade will appear from the fol- 
 lowing table of the course of the sugar trade, in which 
 the imports of 1878, the year just preceding the adop- 
 tion of the National Policy, are compared with those 
 of 1882 :— 
 
 Imports of Sugar. 
 
 1878. 
 
 1882. 
 
 u 
 u 
 (( 
 i( 
 i( 
 
 From Great Britain 
 
 " United States 
 
 West Indies 
 
 Brazil 
 
 Central America . . . 
 British East Indies 
 Dutch East Indies 
 All other countries 
 
 Lbs. 
 51,187,301 
 50,394,946 
 
 7,534,468 
 
 347,700 
 
 Lbs. 
 
 2,770,089 
 
 11,575,426 
 
 79,078,494 
 
 33,805,480 
 
 210,897 
 
 1,158,464 
 
 6,359,038 
 
 371,809 
 
 Total 109,464,415 135,329,697 
 
 It will be seen that the bulk of the importation 
 increased 25 per cent. ; but whereas in 1878 all the 
 sugar imported was manufactured, in 1882 it was 
 raw sugar from the producing countries. The fact 
 w^as that under the old tariif sugar-refining had dis- 
 appeared as an industry in Canada ; whereas now 
 there are five refineries, employing 3,500 workmen 
 directly, and a yevy much larger number indirectly. 
 The trade was transferred, from Great Britain and the 
 United States, to the West Indies and Bj-azil. 
 
 Since the adoption of the National Policy the 
 cotton industry has grown up, until, in 1883, there 
 were 20 mills, employing 10,200 persons and distri- 
 buting annually $1,110,000 in wages. 
 
 The increase in manufacturing industries has been 
 in all directions. Only a few of the leading ones can 
 be mentioned in our limited space. Woollens, Boots 
 
PUBLIC WORKS. "^ 19 
 
 and Shoes, Agricultural Implements, Furnitui'e, Loco- 
 motives and Cars, Cheese Factories, Edge Tools, 
 Founding, Hats and Furs, Hosiery, India Kubber, 
 Nails and Tacks, Oils, Paper, Paints, Preserved and 
 Canned Foods, Boiling Mills, Sewing Machines, Soap 
 and Candles, Tanneries, &c. For fuller information 
 the census and trade returns may be consulted ; or, 
 better still, the admii'able reports of the Montreal 
 Board of Trade, compiled by its Secretary, Mr. Patter- 
 son. A most important fact stated in that report in 
 this connection is that "in 1881 the total foreign trade 
 "of Canada was larger in proportion to the population 
 " than that of the United States ; while the shipping 
 "of Canada per head of the population was moi'e than 
 " four times as large." 
 
 Public Works— The remarkable river system of 
 Canada has required a large expenditure of public 
 money to bring out its full efficiency. From the 
 entrance to Canadian waters at the Straits of Belleisle 
 to the head of Lake Superior stretches a water-way of 
 2,38'4 miles. The difference of level in the whole dis- 
 tance is 600 feet ; and this is overcome by a series of 
 canals having a total length of 71^ miles, with 55 
 locks, and a lockage height of 533 feet. The canal at 
 the Sault St. Marie is on the United States side, and 
 is one mile long with 18 feet of a rise. Besides these, 
 there are two canals, twelve miles in length, on the 
 Richelieu. By means of these, navigation is opened 
 up to Lake Champlain and, through the Whitehall 
 canal, the Hudson valley is reached; making a con- 
 tmuous water-way to the ocean, at New York, of 
 45Y miles. By two short canals, the Ottawa Eiver 
 is rendered navigable as far as Ottawa. Above the 
 Chaudiere Falls the river is navigated by steamboats 
 in long stretches with few breaks as far as the Mat- 
 tawan, a distance of 192 miles. From Ottawa to 
 Kingston, on Lake Ontario, is the Rideau canal. 
 Besides these larger systems there are many smaller, 
 
20 THE DOMINION. 
 
 such a8 the works upon the River Ti^ent, opening np 
 160 miles — the Avorks at Rainy Lake, west of Lake 
 Superior — the short canal far on the east opening up 
 the Bras d'Or in Cape Breton— and the Murray canal, 
 without locks, to cut off the peninsula of Prince 
 Edward in Lake Ontario. Other projects are before 
 the people, some of them of great magnitude; such as 
 the Bay Yerte canal to unite the Bay of Fundy with 
 the Gulf of St. Lawrence — the Georgian Bay canal to 
 unite the waters of Lake Ontario with Lake Huron — 
 the Ottaw\a and French River system, to unite the 
 Ottawa with Lake Huron by w^ay of Lake Nipissing 
 and French River. Surveys have been made of these, 
 but no detinite policy resolved upon. 
 
 Slides and Booms.— It w\as also necessary, as Canada 
 depends much upon the lumbering industry, to open 
 up the streams for floating timber to market. This 
 has been done by timber slides, booms, and dams too 
 numerous to particularise here. 
 
 Harbours and Breakwaters.— Much of the public 
 money has been spent upon these. We have given the 
 extent of the coast lines upon the eastern and western 
 oceans; but, besides these, the coastlines of the inland 
 seas have to be taken into account, and their harbours 
 provided with works. Gales on the gj*eat lakes are 
 very destructive, and fresh water is as formidable as 
 salt water, when there is enough of it. 
 
 Lighthouses, Telegraphs and Beacons— The great 
 extent of coast, lake and river navigation has com- 
 pelled a large outlay on these important objects. The 
 Canadian Government works 152 miles of cable and 
 2,566 miles of land telegraph lines. Signal stations 
 are established along the lower St. Lawrence to Cape 
 Rosier; on the Magdalen Islands; on Anticosti and 
 the Bird Rocks in the Gulf; and at Cape Ray and on 
 St. Paul's Island at the entrance of the Gulf; so that 
 
FORESTS. 21 
 
 a ship may be signalled at Montreal the raomen she 
 enters Canadian waters. The Government also )pei*- 
 ates the line from Winnipeg to Edmonton in the 
 North-west ; and the cables and land lines in British 
 Columbia. The telegraph system on the south shore 
 of the River and G-ulf of St. Lawrence is complete. 
 Upon the north shore it will be completed this year 
 to Point des Monts, and the design of Government is 
 to continue the line by cable up to the Straits of Belle- 
 isle on the north shore, which is the northern entrance 
 to the Gulf. 
 
 Total Cost of chief Public Works.— It will assist 
 much in giving an idea of the objects for which the 
 four millions of Canadians, who are working out the 
 destinies of this country, have incurred their present 
 debt, if the following table of the total expenditures 
 on the chief items of public works be considered. The 
 amount is brought down to June 30th, 1882 : — 
 
 Cost of construction of canals $48,410,983 
 
 " Public Buildings in Dominion 16,549,334 
 
 " Harbours and Breakwaters . . 7,875,035 
 
 " Lighthouses,Beacons& Buoys 2,872,203 
 
 *' Roads and Bridges 7,717,750 
 
 " Slides and Booms 1,651,762 
 
 " Telegraph and Signal Service . 1,068,421 
 
 " Railways (Dominion only)... 90,729,662 
 
 The grand total of the sums expended upon Public 
 Works in the Dominion, not including cost of working 
 them, is $166,815,771. 
 
 This is the capital sum expended upon works of 
 public permanent utility. It is not capital destroyed, 
 but capital fixed, which is yielding returns either to 
 the public revenue directly or to private citizens. 
 
 FORESTRY OF CANADA. 
 
 Taking a general view of the great forest areas of 
 the Dominion, some striking facts present themselves. 
 
THE DOMINION. 
 
 The line of separation between the wooded and the 
 prairie countiy west of the Lake of the Woods forms 
 an abrupt barrier be^ ond which but few of the trees of 
 Ontario, Quebec, and the Maritime Provinces extend : 
 whilst the Eocky Mountains are found to be a divide 
 separating from the rest of the Dominion a forest 
 flora, which, with few exceptions, is distinctive of 
 British Columbia, Washington, and Oregon. 
 
 There are ninetj'-five species of forest trees in 
 Canada, of which Ontario, the most southerly of the 
 Provinces, has sixty-five. Of these, 'all, with five 
 exceptions, occur in the Lake Erie districts, fifty-two 
 extend eastward into the Province of Quebec, thirty- 
 four ai'c found to a greater or less extent on the 
 eastern and western coasts of Lake Superior ; whilst 
 only fourteen have been observed to range westward 
 to the Eed Eiver and the pi-airie country thence to 
 the Eocky Mountains. On the other hand, thirty-four 
 species of trees are found in British Columbia, of 
 which only seven — the aspen poplar (Populus tremu- 
 loides), balsam poplar (P. balsamifera), canoe birch 
 (Betula papyi-acea), white spruce (Abies alba), black 
 spruce (A. nigra), balsam (A. balsamea)and red cedar 
 Juniperus Yirginana) — extend eastward beyond the 
 influence of the Eocky Mountains, but these seven are, 
 with the exception of the red cedar, which is more 
 limited in range, very generally distributed over the 
 whole Dominion from the Mackenzie Eiver to Nova 
 Scotia. Eighteen, or more than one half, of the British 
 Columbia trees belong to the Conifera? or Pine family. 
 
 The leading economic trees of Ontario, nearly all of 
 which range into the other eastern Provinces, are 
 
 Basswood (Tilia Americana). 
 Red maple (Acer rubrum). 
 Sugar maple (Acer saccharinum). 
 Black ash (Fraxinus sambucifolia). 
 AVhite ash (F. Americana). 
 Bed elm (Ulmus fulva). 
 White elm (U. Americana). 
 
FORE-^TRY. * 23 
 
 Plane tree (Platanus orcidentalis). 
 Butternut (Jnglans cinerea). 
 Walnut (J. nijxra). 
 Hickory (Gary a alba). 
 Bur oak (Quercus macrocarpa). 
 White oak (Q. alba). 
 Ked oak (Q. rubra). 
 Beech (Fagus ferruginea). 
 Hop hornbeam (Ostrya Virginica). 
 Canoe birch (Betula papyracea). 
 Black birch (B. lenta). 
 Aspen (Populus treniuloides). 
 Aspen (P. grandidentata). 
 Balsam poplar (P. balsamifera).* 
 Red pine (Pinus resinosa). 
 White pine (Pinus strobus). 
 Balsam fir (Abies balsamea). 
 Hemlock (A. Canadensis). 
 Black spruce (A. nigra). 
 White spruce (A alba). 
 Tamarac (Larix Americana). . 
 Arbor vitfe (Thuja occidentalis). 
 
 The prominent trees of Manitoba, which province 
 may be considered as representing the Central Dis- 
 trict of Canada — are 
 
 Basswood (Tilia Americana). 
 Ash-leaved maple (Negundo aceroides). 
 Green ash (Fraxinus viridis). 
 White elm (Ulmue Americana). 
 Canoe birch (Betula papyracea). 
 Aspen (Populus tremuloides). 
 Balsam poplar (P. balsamifera). 
 Black spruce (Abies nigra). 
 White spruce (A. alba). 
 Tamarac (Larix Americana). 
 
 In British Columbia the leading; trees, in addition 
 to the six already mentioned, are 
 
 Maple (Acer macrophyllum). 
 Alder (Alnus rubra). 
 Oak (Quereus Garry ana). 
 Cottonwood (Populus trichocarpa). 
 W^estern bircli (Betula occidentalis). 
 
24 THE DOMINION. 
 
 Western scrub pine (Pinus contorta). 
 
 White pine (P. monticola). 
 
 Yellow i)ine (P. ponderosa). 
 
 Menzies' spruce (Picea Menziesii). 
 
 Engelmann's spruce (Picea Engelmanni). 
 
 Spruce (Abies grandis). 
 
 Balsam spruce (A. subalpina). 
 
 Western hemlock (Tsuga Mertonsiana). 
 
 Williamson's hemlock (T. Pattoniana). 
 
 Douglas fir (Pseudotsuga Douglasii). 
 
 Giant cedar (Thiija gigantea). 
 
 Yellow cypress (Cham^ecyparis Nutkaensis). 
 
 Yew (Taxus brevifolia). 
 
 Western larch (Larix occidentalis).' 
 
 The government of the province of Ontario has re- 
 cently taken up seriously the question of preserving 
 and re-planting forests, and of tree-planting upon 
 the high-roads and farms. The government of Quebec 
 has also wakened up to the importance of the subject, 
 and has instituted an ''arbor day" or annual tree- 
 planting holiday throughout the Province. But the 
 efforts of those concerned in forestry have hitherto 
 been turned chiefly towards obtaining more stringent 
 regulations fo)' ])reventing forest fires and for com- 
 pelling the lumbermen to woi'k their limits in a 
 more economical manner. The Forestry associations 
 throughout the country are doing good, useful work 
 in calling the attention of the farmers and settlers to 
 the great and increasing value of wooded land. 
 
 THE LUMBER TRADE. 
 
 The Lumber trade of the Dominion is still its most 
 important commercial interest. The products of the 
 forest considerably exceed in value those of the farm. 
 The home consumption of lumber is large, inasmuch 
 as building is chiefly done in wood. The quantity 
 required for domestic use is estimated at two-thirds of 
 the total quantity made, the balance finding its way 
 to England, the United States, the West Indies, and 
 South America. 
 
LIMBER TRADE. 25 
 
 The principal areas of timber lands lie in the Pro- 
 vinces of Quebec and Ontario. The Pi'ovincc of 
 Quebec has under license 48,500 square miles, pro- 
 ducing 2,500,000 pine logs, equal to 380,000,000 feet 
 B.M., and 1,301,000 spruce logs, equal to 10(3,000,000 
 feet B.M. ; white and red pine timber, 3,110,000 cubic 
 feet equal to 37,320,000 feet B.M. ; hardwood, 51,000 
 cubic feet or 611,000 feet B.M. ; railroad ties, 143,000 
 pieces, 32 f e 4 each, making 4,576,000 feet B.M. ; 
 cedar, equal to 4,500,000 feet; pine and spruce, round 
 timber, 5,760,000 feet B.M. ; besides tamarac, hemlock 
 and cordwood, in all 540,976.000 feet, giving a gross 
 revenue of $668,506 to the Province. 
 
 The Province of Ontario has 18,000 square miles 
 under license, furnishing 2,600,000 standard pine logs 
 equal to 520,000,000 feet of lumber; 6,700,000 cubic 
 feet of white and red pine, or 81,000,000 feet B.M. ; 
 dimension timber 23,000,000 feet B.M. ; hardwood, 
 cedar, &c. ; in all 635,500,000 feet, B.M., paying to 
 the Provincial Government S547,000. These figures 
 are for the year 1880-81. The revenue from the crown 
 lands both in Ontario and Quebec has increased since, 
 for in 1883 Quebec shows $856,872, and Ontario 
 $635,447. 
 
 In New Brunswick the cut of timber on govern- 
 ment lands equals 160,000,000 feet, yielding to the 
 Province $152,000. Prince Edward Island yields 
 no more than is required for home use. Manitoba and 
 the North-west territories are sparely provided with 
 timbei-, and the trade therein is still unimportant. 
 British Columbia is more amply sujiplied, and as its 
 facilities for export increase, it must develo]) a large 
 trade. Its most important timber ti-ee is the Douglas 
 spruce or Oregon pine, which is the only kind that 
 has as yet become of economic value. Its wood is 
 yellow or reddish and coarse grained. It is considered 
 inferior to the pine of the Ottawa region for finer 
 kinds of work. 
 
 The most highly prized timber in the country is 
 
26 THE DOMINION. 
 
 white pine, and the best qualities arc to he found on 
 the Ottawa I^iver. The Ottawa whit^ pine is justly 
 famous for its softness, owin<^ to which it can be 
 easily moulded into the forms required for interior 
 work. Hut the better qualities are bein^ gradually 
 depleted, and it is said that the proportion of high 
 grade pine produced on the Ottawa River is rapidly 
 decreasing. The production of spruce is relatively 
 on the increase as a substitute in many ways for pine. 
 
 The timber lands held under license are operated 
 subject to the following regulations: — Licensed lands 
 are divided into limits commonly of about tifty square 
 miles each. Upon the sale of a limit the government 
 retains its proprietary right in the land, selling only 
 the privilege to cut and cany oi\' the timber. The 
 purchaser then has to pay a ground rent of $2 per 
 mile annually. The licenses under which the land is 
 held are renewable every year, and may be continued 
 as long as the owner of the standing timber requires 
 the use of the land for his operations. In addition to 
 this charge, the timber, when cut and brought away, 
 is subject to crown dues, which vary according to the 
 description of the produce. Pine logs pay 15 cents per 
 standard log of 200 feet, board measure, and spruce 
 logs pay 10 cents per log in Quebec. In Ontario, 
 pine and spruce pay 22 and 5J cents respectively. 
 
 Operations in the woods are commenced about the 
 middle of December. Gangs of men are sent up by 
 the first snow-roads. Arriving on the spot of their 
 labour, they build themselves chantiers, of rough 
 logs, and prepare stabling for the horses, to follow 
 about a month later. The work of felling and haul- 
 ing goes on till about the 15th March. By that time 
 the product of the winter's work has been hauled to 
 the bank of some stream and piled up on the rollway 
 ready to be thrown into the river. The camps are 
 then broken up, and the men are paid off. About a 
 month later fresh gangs of men are sent up the river 
 
RAILWAYS. 27 
 
 to tumble in the stuff and drive it to its destination 
 at the market or tlie mill. 
 
 Consequent upon the alteration in the commcreial 
 ]>oliey of Enghmd whieli took ])lace in 1840, tlie trade 
 in lumber commenced to change its direction towards 
 the United States. Between the years 1821 and 1832 
 the total export of productions of all kinds to that 
 country averaged 83,257,15.3 annually, while in 1882 
 the trade in lumber alone with the United States 
 amounted to 810,192,033. This further change also 
 ensued that whereas in former years the lumber was 
 exported to England in the shape of large pieces of 
 square timber ; under the changed })Olicy, sawmills 
 of larger dimensions and increased capacity sprang up 
 and the lumber was exported to England as deals and 
 to the United States as boards. Thus employment 
 was provided for an additional number of hands in 
 Canada. The figures of the total amount of export 
 are given elsewhere. 
 
 RAILWAYS. 
 
 The Confederation of the British North American 
 provinces in 1867 opened up new problems and re- 
 vealed new duties. The summer communications by 
 waterways would no longer suffice. The existing 
 railway system w^as sufficient for old Canada, but new 
 Canada stretched out to the Pacific, and required that 
 its winter outlet on the Atlantic should be on its own 
 teiTitory. Then followed, soon after, the introduction 
 of steel rails and a complete i evolution in trade com- 
 menced. In the limited space at our disposal it is im- 
 possible to do more than to indicate the greater 
 features of the system as it has shaped itself in the 
 minds of Canadian statesmen. 
 
 The railways of Canada may be divided into four 
 classes. 
 
 1. Those roads which may be called local^ contained 
 within the limits of the separate provinces. These 
 
28 THE DOMINION. 
 
 have been aided by the various provincial govern.- 
 ments and will not be considered here. 
 
 2. The Grand Trunk Eaihvay and its branches 
 which may be called the system of Central Canada. 
 
 3. The Canadian Pacitic Eailway which, although 
 it has its own communications with the sea and has 
 its own system in Central Canada, may be called the 
 system of the new AVestern Canada. 
 
 4. Those roads reaching from Central Canada to the 
 sea eastwards and from Centi-al Canada to the Pacific 
 system westwards which are considered as public 
 works necessary to the consolidation of the Dominion. 
 
 The elassitication is not very exact, but it is conve- 
 nient for obtaining a general notion of the Canadian 
 system. 
 
 Grand Trunk Railway— This was the first great sys- 
 tem in oj-der of time. It was originally designed as a 
 trunk line i-unning from Montreal to Sarnia, with a 
 branch to Portland as a winter port. The Portland 
 branch had already been built and was purchased by 
 the company. The road has been of enormous benefit 
 to Canada. It runs through the most po2:)ulous and 
 fertile parts of the country. It was built by English 
 capital, under English management, although the Gov- 
 ernment of Canada contributed fifteen millions of 
 dollars to it. Many and serious mistakes were made 
 in the inception, building and early management of 
 the road ; but the country was new and the problems 
 were strange. The I'oad has now absorbed a large 
 number of smaller roads until it reaches from Chicago 
 to Portland and Quebec, and has attained a total 
 mileage length of 4,534 miles. It owns or controls 
 three of the most remarkable bridges in the world — 
 the Victoria Bridge across the St. Lawi-ence at Mont- 
 real, the Suspension Bridge at Niagara Falls, and the 
 International Bridge across the Niagara River. 
 
 From Montreal, as a centre, the Grand Trunk Eail- 
 way has a line to Portland with a branch to Quebec. 
 
R T H 
 
 v>N 
 
 nRTHERN_ 
 
 Bozeman 
 on 
 
 Tallow. 
 
 Jackson Loi 
 
 ^at^Ua 
 
^j^\pOFTHt 
 
 -ooo- 
 
 faEd-niim 
 
 r 
 
 ■aiwa 
 
 [BATlNlS 
 
 gH 
 
 ^hHas? 
 
 B R.>^ L T M B \ S 
 
 Kmlenay La 
 
 '♦« 
 
 .New Westminster 
 
 L.Cktla% 
 
 C'"v.,,,V* 
 
 WASHI NGTO 
 
 OLYMPIA 
 
 Teninoj 
 Kalamai 
 Portland] 
 
 Tacuina ^><[sij)>kane FJllI»]t[ 
 
 Carbonado 
 
 Ainsworth i 
 WallulaJc, 
 Columbia ^*V^-<^j- 
 
 o. R.w. * N.c 
 
 ;WalfaWallan^ J 
 ^tilla Dee 
 
 0) 
 
 wlLeland 
 
 L'Anse 
 
 ^/ 
 
 Felch 
 Mountain 
 
 L A K B 
 
 s u r B n I o Ji 
 
 Klamath Lake 
 
 Baker City 
 
 • BOISE CIT 
 
 G N i \* , 
 
 8ta(^shono jc- 
 I. 
 
 Uamey Lake 
 
 .^o^*' 
 
 JSS^' 
 
 •%."< 
 
 y>,»<> 
 
 :^i 
 
 ^Redding 
 ^ Tehama 
 
 ^C^^^ 
 
 7 
 
 
 ^Re^jrCarmm Lake 
 
 y / A\ D 
 
 g; ^W^i 
 
 ,d« 
 
 ° "Eureka 
 CARSON Austin 
 
 DET. 
 
 MAC. 
 
 •T.JOSEPH'S 
 
 ISLAND ^orth Channel 
 
 **^^\^Taim% 
 
 GRAND MANITOULIN I8L. 
 
 / 
 
 'Escanaba 
 
 4 
 
 PUSt.Agnace\ » Mackinac 
 
 Mackinawr..^^^ 
 
 / >4pheboygan 
 
 ORUMMOND 
 ISLAND 
 
 vr^ 
 
 o 
 
 riTZWILLIAM 
 MUMO 
 
 V 
 
 \ 
 
 J Hawthorne 
 
 ^ 
 
 Alanson. 
 
 ^ 
 
 ■^ 
 
 ^lepworth 
 V-llenford 
 
 Meaford 
 
 -V 
 
 \ 
 
 Traverse 
 City 
 
 CJ 
 
 Green Bay 
 
 IE r Two 
 
 ^Manito- ^ 
 woe Ludington 
 
 Manistee 
 
 Waltonj 
 Mantonl 
 
 Elmira 
 rMancelona 
 'Kalkaska 
 
 Iliggint L, 
 
 IGaylord 
 ! Forrest 
 
 I Grayling 
 ,St.Helens 
 
 Cadillac 15 
 
 lo- 
 
 co Houghton Lake q. 
 
 ) Tawas City 
 
 '^^^^est Branch -prtl/ 
 
 SOUTHAMPTON - 
 
 Port Klgfn\ 
 
 Tuniere% 
 Paisley •^ 
 
 KINCARDIN E ^'"^ci'^lK 
 
 r,!^Z\ DuTkeldV V 
 
 Whitechurch V" *''""''°"^4. * >^^ 
 Wlnjliam/V Mil-linaX ^ f 
 Belgrave/ 7Vw Clifford VI #. 
 
 Tara 
 
 ^^\ 
 
 »■»♦; 
 
 .d^NAv**** 
 
 >v*f" 
 
 Hobart 
 ^/xouth , Pentwater *^ "* 
 
 Ri\o» 
 
 ^eed City standish\ 6,' 
 
 A^' 
 
 *' 
 
 GODERICH 
 ^ HolmesvlUe 
 
 
 .v«* 
 
 Belgrave/ ^ Vw «"^'iN'!*4f>^t_- 
 
 ^<*^"> 
 
 ?^;<^".<^ 
 
 it<m\ 
 
 is /Sheboygan' i 
 
 Biy^Rapids 
 
 51 
 
 
 wl 
 
 ite Cloud 
 
 ?\\MILWAUKEE 
 
 o 
 
 
 
 LakeV 
 
 Coleuian 
 
 Sttbewaing 
 
 Bav/City 
 
 Kippeng "^ .f>jj> 
 HeosaUg V^^*^<.^ 
 V ^Exeter 1 ^ *^\^A«*<vVo* 
 
 
 m^i 
 
 •'/„i «%»«»> 
 
 ^e^H., 
 
 Stfx 
 
 :<?/ 
 
 foi 
 
 
 
 Tbornd»I< 
 
 d»K^i 
 
 »^..vr*"^A\ 
 
 
 iSS 
 
 Q.Q- 
 
 Burford 
 N.Durha 
 NORWICH 
 
 ^ 
 
 .&oh\q, 
 
 
 
 Monon 
 
 
 
 
 
 '°v. '?'»«> 
 
 <u ■> '«' 
 
 "^ TOLEDO 
 
 
 . Crosse 
 
 i^ 
 
 kFreu: 
 
 lOPI 
 
 V^/ 
 
 :n\ 
 
 ^^^.^<^ 
 
 
 3V>\*> 
 
 ]N^>^ 
 
 \Delt»ht)K^ ", 
 
 tiler 
 ^Luipsic 
 
 / 
 
 ml 
 
 Careyl 
 
 %*^' 
 
 w;elUngton^ 
 :^helby 
 
 
 Warre] 
 
 / 
 
 Youngstown *^~*^ 
 
 
 
 ji 
 
 •388 
 
. V CANADIAN 
 
 it* ^\ N R T H 
 \ 
 
 W EST 
 
 PACIFIC 
 
 T E R. 
 
 B 
 
 ON T A 
 
 ^issoula Ft.Lewis^ 
 , HELENA 
 
 <ORTHERN^ 
 
 rftw "1/ Bozeman "Hunttey 
 
 ^'™v ?Dillon __ 
 
 TSellotcatone Lake 
 
 ^^o. 
 
 \. I 
 
 ^*>?. 
 
 
 EnglUU Rfvaf^ 
 
 '•y* 
 
 HUNTCHS IftLANC . 
 
 rj A. 
 
 nU HCTALl 
 
 ^ ^'V 
 
 Ft.Keogh 
 
 ^ . NOR. 
 
 PAG. ' -T 
 ■; Ellendaitf 
 
 
 K 
 
 .__J Jtoreau Rirer 
 
 Jackaun Lake 
 
 ^IPocat^Ua 
 
 jW Y M 
 
 Ft.Mc Kinney 
 
 Deadicoado 
 
 Jblack 
 
 HILLS 
 
 c*«»«' 
 
 !»« 
 
 B. 
 
 • A>>erdeen 
 
 Redf:U 
 
 Pierre 
 
 Chainb«rUin 
 
 I N G 
 
 9f^ ^.e^^ 
 
 Fi.Laran 
 
 Valentine 
 Logan 
 
 Barne* n ■ / ■ 
 
 ^ 'v. ^ iBrainerd ' 
 
 M»nk*to /^ |oy "^^J^^. 
 
 _ mnspt'tiiV- "^ 
 
 Athbnd ^V" Ma^'etttf- 
 
 PbUlIp* 
 
 Menomlne*/"* S^ 
 
 I 
 
 
 Is. A p._ 
 
 Great Salt 
 
 l\f ^ I ^«*« ^ ' T CUeVENfikf >-^ 
 
 SALT LAKE t ^^! gl oH 
 
 I tlTY \ ^** I p^ La Salle 
 
 ! / jS^ i c L»ia 
 
 Salina c^<^ ^ | Gunnison 
 
 •^^, 
 
 505, 
 DENVER 
 
 North Platte 
 W. % IN Ht5^ 
 
 Omah^ 
 
 IMcil BlMfh 
 
 Frisco 
 
 v^. 
 
 Akroa| trar^W*"""^ — ^-j 
 
 ,Kli>s" I "°''ll *«'/l- """ 
 
 UN. 4 IJPAC.S X 
 
 *'* ^'^latin- *■ 
 
 ■/o^^^.AST. Quinc: 
 
 e^^'^V^To?' 
 
 PuebloT^^. ■jrtonoioj'"'' K 'A 
 
 " '^■*1 Cooks i't.KnhiiwwC ■ 
 
 Staui; 
 i»»i3w.llMid Jc, 
 
 yc. -^k^. Daas V 
 
 BOSTON 
 
 O ^ 
 
 l^in 
 kEldred 
 
 Norwich 
 
 *- \watkins 
 
 LAKE I o^^>^^Sidney 
 inghamion 
 usqudThan n^^^ 
 
 ^"^ Stamford ; 5 
 
 Elmirar 
 
 KiDgstou 
 
 Erie 
 
 rarren 
 
 ^Girard 
 
 ila 
 
 OU City 
 Franklin 
 
 I Emporium 
 , Driftwood 
 
 N\ 
 
 Newcastle 
 
 \ Beaver 
 
 (Red 
 
 Plttfiton 
 Williamsport 
 
 Lackawaxen 
 ^Scranton 
 
 i^Tn-*' 
 
 ^^l * 
 
 JerseJ^*- 
 
 prinqfipjdl 
 
 ; I •«/ 
 
 lliRTIOf 
 I 
 
 / 
 
 tall River • 
 
 0- 
 
 r^y 
 
 ^Qreenport 
 'Sag Harbor 
 
 Kx li A ^^:i^ 
 
 i*21entown' 
 
 Reading 
 
 , Long Branch ^ 
 
 If 
 
 o 
 
 c 
 
 , Seaside Park 
 
 M' T§BURGH 
 
 / 
 
 ENG-O BY AMERICAN BANK NOTE CO. NEW VORX 
 
r 
 
 r , 
 
 \ 
 
 ' bid 
 
RAILWAYS. 20 
 
 It controls the Vermont Central line to Boston and 
 N V London, connecting with the New England 
 .system. By a branch to Eouse's Point it connects- 
 with the New York roads; and by a branch to Dundee 
 it is reaching out to the system of Western New York. 
 At Coteau a little west of Montreal, it has a bi-anch to 
 Ottawa; ai Belleville it branches out into the Midland 
 system ruuiing to Georgian Bay on Lake Huron with 
 several sub- branches. At Toronto it has annexed the 
 jrreat Western system of roads of which the most 
 important termini are Detroit, Buffalo and Niagara 
 Falls. At London it spreads out into a net woi-k of 
 roads touching the lakes, north, south and west, at 
 many points, and connecting at Buffalo eastwards 
 with the great roads of New York and Pennsylvania, 
 From Port Huron it has built the Chicago and Grand 
 Trunk Eailway by which it reaches that most import- 
 ant city of the Western States, Chicago. It is an 
 enormous system of railroads rather than a railway ; 
 and lv2) manager has an important position among the 
 railway kings of the continent. 
 
 Th«^ Canadian Pacific Railway.— This gigantic enter- 
 prise vvas a necessary coroMary of the confederation 
 of British America. It is also the shortest route across 
 thf .tinentand the one by the lowest passes of the 
 Rocky Mountains, and lastly it is the road which 
 opens up to the English emigrant the greatest amount 
 " "^ "" i-tile land available for settlement at the least dis- 
 tance from his native country. This last consideration, 
 at the time of a great outbreak of land hunger in the 
 ')^ . world, gives a social importance to this railway 
 tqual to its commercial and politici^l importance. 
 
 In 1871 the Dominion Goveniment commenced the 
 preliminary surveys. In 1872 the first charter was 
 granted, and at the close of that year the ministry 
 resigned and the charter fell thi^ough. The new 
 ministry resolved to continue the enterprise as a gov- 
 fernment work. In 1878 a change occuiTed and 
 
30 THE DOMINION. 
 
 Sir John A. Macdonald again became premier. Par- 
 liament decided that it was advisable that the rail- 
 way should be constructed by private enterprise, but 
 in the meantime work was continued upon certain 
 parts of the road. At last in 1880 a contract was 
 entered into with the present company who assumed 
 all the work done and undertook to complete the road 
 by the year 1891. 
 
 From the first this railway was considered a national 
 work and parliament gave large assistance to the 
 company both in money and land.. It was stipu- 
 lated that for twenty years no other railway should 
 be chartered to run to the south or southeast, nor to 
 within 15 miles of the international boundary. Other- 
 wise the enterprise might have been strangled by 
 United States lines and the elfort^^ and sacrifices of the ^ 
 Canadian people would have been rendered fruitless. 
 These sacrifices had been enormous and the country 
 is still spending large sums, in many ways, to de- 
 velope the vast resources of the great Northwestern 
 TeiTitory. The company set to work with amazing 
 vigour, and now the road is open from a point 100 
 miles east of the head of Lake Superior to the summit 
 of the Eocky Mountains far eaj-lier than the date 
 agreed upon. On the Pacific side it is built from Port 
 Moody to Lytton, and is advancing rapidly to Kam- 
 loops. From Montreal the line is open (beyond Sud- 
 bm*y) 105 miles west of Lake Nipissing, and, by a 
 branch, to Algoma on the north shore of Lake Huron. 
 The intervening section on the north fehore of Lake 
 Superior is being pushed on rapidly and will probably 
 be completed in twelve months. 
 
 Upon the least reflection it must be evident that an 
 enterprise of such magnitude could not be dependent 
 upon any other corporation, or have its policy con- 
 trolled by any other railway which might possess the 
 main issues of commerce. In short it could not be 
 bottled up in the interior of the continent. 
 
 At Winnipeg, as a centre, all the interior roads 
 
RAILWAYS. 31 
 
 converge. A glance at the map will show that until 
 the line north of Lake Superior is completed all com- 
 munication in winter must be by waj^ of St. Paul, 
 Chicago, and Detroit through the peninsula of Ontario. 
 Montreal, from its geographical position, is the centre 
 and the ideally most diiect and nearest point through 
 which westei-n traffic can pass to the sea-boaid. The 
 Company made Montreal and Winni2)eg therefore 
 their chief centres of operation. But Toronto could 
 not be ignored, tirst, because it is the political and 
 business centre of the most populous and influential 
 Province of the Dominion, and second, because during 
 the summer season, until the road north of Lake 
 Superior is finished, all the trade between Ontario and 
 the North-west is most conveniently carried on by 
 steamers (jonnecting jjorts on Geojgjan Bay north of 
 Toronto with the head of Lake Superior. 
 
 The Company therefore found it necessary to occupy 
 Toronto and Detroit. A Canadian system of railways 
 omitting Toronto would be like the play of Hamlet 
 with Hamlet omitted. Consequently the road which 
 they have built to connect Montreal and Ottawa with 
 Toronto is open now to the public. To connect with 
 Georgian Bay, the Toronto, Grey & Bruce system of 
 roads was purchased, and thus a complete summer con- 
 nection through Canadian territory with the far west- 
 ern Provinces w^as secured. Pending the completion 
 of the road it was necessary to make the connection as 
 complete in winter. For that purpose the Company 
 purchased the Credit Valley Railway from Toronto to 
 St. Thomas where it connects with the Canada South- 
 ern, and is now building a more direct line from Inger- 
 soll on the Credit Valley road to Detroit and thus 
 securing an independent winter connection with the 
 plexus of roads south of the lakes w^hich centre there, 
 and providing an outlet for business from the western 
 and south-western States by way of its Toronto and 
 Montreal road. 
 
 In summer Montreal is the sea-board — there remains 
 
32 THE DOMINION. 
 
 now to consider the route of the great trans-continen- 
 tal line in winter. By the purchase of the South 
 Eastern Railway, communication with all the New 
 England ports was secured. But the people of Cana- 
 da had made too many saciiiices to be content with 
 any but a Canadian winter port. Therefore the Com- 
 pany are now building a line from West Farnham to 
 Sherbrooke. There it will make friendly connection 
 with the International Railway directly east (over the 
 Ashburton surrender) to the New Brunswick roads — 
 to the sea-board at St. Andrew's or St. John — or per- 
 haps when the visions of its projectors are realised by 
 the Gi'eat Short Line to the long wharf of America at 
 Louisbourg, wiiere nine hundred years ago the North- 
 men landed from their little vessels, and where fishing 
 craft from western Europe congregated one hundred 
 years before Cham plain founded Quebec. 
 
 This is the main outline of a great idea which is on 
 the eve of realisation. It has come gradually into the 
 minds of the Canadian people. It is one worthy of 
 their parentage. The dreams the fathers dreamed ai-e 
 waking realities to the children. These things are 
 possible in a new country. There is no land-hunger. 
 Every immigrant arriving, settling, and doing well 
 pays the cost of a detinite portion of the railway which 
 carries him to his farm, feeds him while he is 
 struggling and canies his surplus to market when he 
 gets strong. This is a condition of things peculiar to 
 a young country and which cannot occur where the 
 land is already occupied. So long as the country 
 opened up is fertile and easily obtainable by settlei's 
 all other questions are of minor importance. Great 
 social questions are being worked out here without 
 the aid of dynamite. 
 
 The main line, wiien finished, will be about 2,899- 
 miles; the portion at present completed and oper- 
 ated is 2,105 miles, of which 144 miles is on the 
 Government section from Port Moody eastward. The 
 following is a summary of the total mileage of the 
 
RAILWAYS, 
 
 33" 
 
 Canadian Pacific system and branches up to June, 
 
 1884 : — 
 
 Eastern Division — Main line— Miles. Miles. Miles, 
 
 Montreal to point beyond Sudbury. . . 470 
 Branches — 
 
 Brockville 45^ 
 
 Aylmer 7 
 
 St. Jerome 11 
 
 St. Lin '. 15 
 
 St. Eustache 8 
 
 Atlantic and North- West. . . . b} 
 
 Algoma 96 
 
 AVestern Division — Main line — 
 
 Nepigon to summit of Rockies . 
 
 Beyond summit 
 
 Branches — 
 
 Emerson 
 
 Pembma Mountain 
 
 Gretna 
 
 South- Western 
 
 Stonewall 
 
 Selkirk 
 
 Emerson and West Lynn ... . 
 
 Ontario Division — 
 
 102 
 14 
 51 
 18 
 22 
 20J 
 
 • • • • 
 
 St. Thomas to Toronto (C.V.R.) 
 Streetsville to Orangeville (C.V.R.). . . 
 
 Church's Falls to Elora (C.V.R.) 
 
 Owen Sound to Toronto (G.T. & B.). . 
 Tees water to Orangeville (G. T. & B.) 
 Toronto to Smith's Falls (0. & Q.). . . 
 
 122 
 35 
 27 
 
 121 
 70 
 
 211 
 
 188 
 
 1,458 
 35 
 
 658 
 
 294 1,787 
 
 586 
 
 Grand Total 
 
 586 
 3,031 
 
 Government Roads.— These roads are mostly in the 
 
 east and extend from Halifax to Quebec with branches 
 
 to Pictou and to St. John, under the name of the 
 
 Intercolonial Eailway. The Prince Edward Island 
 
 3 
 
34 THE DOMINION. 
 
 Eailway runs throughout that island in its whole 
 length. These two roads are worked by the Govern- 
 ment. But certain other roads, important as links in 
 uniting the vaiious systems, have been subsidised, 
 such as the International from Sherbrooke in Quebec 
 eastward to the boundary line. A railway to connect 
 the Canadian Pacitic at Callander with the Ontario 
 system at Gravenhurst and several minor lines with 
 similar general objects have also been subsidized. 
 
 This necessarily short sketch must suffice. A stud 3^ 
 of any good railway map is the best method of learn- 
 ing the intricacies of the great railway system of 
 Canada — a system as bold as the canal system and 
 which shows that the statesmen of Canada of the last 
 and present generation possess that most impoi'tant 
 qualification of all — faith in their country. 
 
 SCIENCE, LITERATURE AND ART. 
 
 Under the Confederation, by the provisions of the 
 British North America Act, the subject of Education 
 was I'eferred to the separate Provinces. Each Prov- 
 ince has its own system with its own Superintendent 
 and Normal Schools, and even its own Colleges or 
 Universities. These are in no way interfered with 
 by the general government. 
 
 There are, however, some Dominion institutions 
 which properly should be considered here, as dealing 
 with scientific matters. During last year the Depart- 
 ment of the Interior spent $5*7,83^ on the 
 
 Geological Survey of Canada.— This survey was com- 
 menced in 1841, and, fortunately for the country, 
 was placed under the care of an enthusiast in geologi- 
 cal science, a gentleman of private means, trained to 
 business, a Canadian, well known in after years as Sir 
 William Logan. Mi*. A. Murray, who afterwards 
 directed the survey of Newfoundland, was appointed 
 assistant. Mr. T. Sterry Hunt, who had been trained 
 
SCIENCE AND ART. 35 
 
 under Dr. Silliman, was appointed chemist and mine- 
 ralogist ; and, later, Mr. E. Billings, who had been 
 trained for the Canadian Bar, but whose whole soul 
 went out towards science, was made pahi3ontologi8t. 
 These men, all endowed with special natural abilities, 
 and all enthusiasts in science, soon won for the Geo- 
 logical Survey of Canada a brilliant reputation 
 throughout the scientitic world. Since then, the field 
 of work has widened and the modest grants of early 
 days have been increased largely. The museum and 
 the offices have been removed from Montreal to Otta- 
 wa where a large staff is engaged in inquiries which 
 are now extended over all the natural sciences. The 
 reports published contain a mine of information con 
 cerning the Natural History and Geology of the coun- 
 try, and the museum is one of the chief attractions 
 of Ottawa. 
 
 Meteorological Service.— This is in the Department 
 of the Minister of Marine, and upon it $42,294 were 
 spent last year. The telegraph and signal stations 
 along the coasts of the seas and lakes are worked by 
 a numerous body of skilled men under the superin- 
 tendence of Mr. Cai*pmael whose headquarters are at 
 Toronto. Storm warnings and weather probabilities 
 are posted in stated places all over the Dominion and, 
 as the telegraph stations extend across the continent, 
 the information is most valuable to the community. 
 Mr. Carpmael is also Director of the Magnetical Obser- 
 vatories in the same ministerial Department, upon 
 which government spent $9,696 last year. The chief 
 observatories are at Toronto, Montreal, Kingston, 
 Quebec and St. John, N. B. 
 
 Royal Society of Canada.— This association origin- 
 ated in the mind of the Marquis of Lome, who, dur- 
 ing his administration, never ceased to interest him- 
 self in the intellectual and artistic advancement of the 
 country. It was organized in four sections : — 1st, 
 
36 THE DOMINION. 
 
 French Literature, HiHtory, and Ai-clueology ; 2nd, 
 English Literature, History, and Archaeology; 3rd, 
 Mathematical, Chemical and Physical Sciences; 4th, 
 Geological and Biological Sciences. Each section has 
 twenty members, including a President, Vice-Presi- 
 dent and Secretary. A President, Vice-President and 
 Secretary are also elected for the Society. The tirst 
 members were nominated by Lord Lome and the first 
 meeting was held in May, 1882. Meetings are held 
 annually, when papers are read and elections held for 
 officers, and for new members when vacancies occur. 
 The Society has published a large quarto volume of 
 transactions. 
 
 Royal Canadian Academy of Arts— If the Marquis 
 of Lome has left in the Koyal Society of Canada a 
 memento of his interest in the intellectual advance- 
 ment of Canada ; the artistic leanings of II. R. II. the 
 Princess Louise have left their mark in the foundation 
 of the Academy of Arts. It consists of 31 Academe- 
 cians and 55 Associates ; and embraces the Arts of 
 Painting, Sculpture, Designing and Architecture. 
 Under the supervision of the Council of the Academy 
 annual exhibitions are held in the chief cities of the 
 Dominion in rotation, where pictures painted during 
 the previous year by Canadian artists are exhibited, 
 and prices are affixed in the catalogue to those which 
 are for sale. Several young Canadians now studying 
 in Euroi)e send pictures to these exhibitions. The 
 President, Mr. L. R. O'Brien, is a painter in water- 
 colours, whose works take probably the highest rank, 
 and at Ottawa Mi\ Harris' painting of the '' Framers 
 of the Confederation Act" will show what has been done 
 in historical painting in oils. Mr. L. P. Hebert's sta- 
 tue of Sir George Cartier will answer for an instance 
 of the best which can be done in sculpture, and Mi*. 
 Bourassa's frescos at Montreal may be taken as spe- 
 cimens of what has been done in religious art. These 
 names are given not because there are no others of 
 
LITERATURE. 37 
 
 equal merit, but because there are probabl}' none of 
 Muperior merit in each branch, and from their work a 
 stranger may furm a judgment an to the present state 
 of art in ('anada. There has been a marke<l advance 
 .since the institution of the Academy. A visitor will 
 be able in passing through the cities to form his own 
 ideas upon the state of Architectui-al Art. 
 
 Literature— This subject is conveniently arranged 
 under three heads English Literature, French Litera- 
 ture, both taken in a strict sense, and the Literature 
 of Science. The peculiar circumstances of the two 
 races in Canada have produced a remarkable ditference 
 in their literature. The English race, in close and 
 incessant relation with England and the United States, 
 has been oppressed in its literary et!brt by tlie weight 
 of the great literatures of these two countries. The 
 oft quoted sneer "who rea<ls an American book?" 
 shows how recently literature in the L'nited States at- 
 tained its majority. The same causes increasingly tend 
 to depress native English literature in Canada, to which 
 must be added the provincialism which necessarily 
 clings to communities so recently united into one 
 political organism — a provincialism not confined to 
 the smaller provinces or to the less important politi- 
 cians. From this it results that the English Canadi- 
 ans have not succeeded in establishing any magazine 
 or review which has lived for any length of time, 
 excepting such as are the organs of a political party 
 or a religious denomination. Many promising 
 attempts have been made but so far without success. 
 Yet there is no dearth of good writers in Canada and 
 many good works have been wi'itten in Law, Politics, 
 History and Poetry, but they cannot be said to have 
 won wide reputation abroad. 
 
 Under the head of French Literature more has been 
 done in comparison. The French in Canada are the 
 children of ante-revolutionary Finance, and a great 
 gulf in thought and feeling separates them from the 
 
38 THE DOMINION. 
 
 France of to-day. Passionately attached to their 
 language and religion their national existence found 
 expression in their literature, which lived its life 
 unshadowed by any influences from without. The 
 education in the colleges, which are all under ecclesi- 
 astical management, has always been mainly literary 
 and the French in Canada, besides being as a rule 
 good speakei'S, have produced very many excellent 
 works in history, fiction and poetry which have found 
 acceptance in France, and have received merited 
 praise from acknowledged literary authorities there. 
 A few years ago the Academy of France awarded the 
 Monthyon j)rize to a volume of Canadian poetry. 
 
 In the literatui'e of Science the English Canadians 
 have taken very high rank outside their own country. 
 In Geology, Palaeontology, Chemistry and the Natural 
 Sciences generally the names of British Canadians are 
 known not only in the United States and England, 
 but on the continent of Europe, and their waitings 
 may be found in many foj-eign scientitic periodicals. 
 One cause of this strong tendency towards science is 
 no doubt the practical character of the English Cana- 
 dians, and another is the fact that the sciences in the 
 English colleges are taught by laymen who have no 
 other profession to divide their energies. 
 
 Music :— In speaking of the music of Canada, any 
 reference to a generic or distinctive style must, of 
 necessity, apply to the popular songs of the Province 
 of Quebec. In no other part of the Dominion does 
 the music d iter from that found generally throughout 
 the English speaking countries of North America ; but 
 among the French Canadians there exists a peculiar 
 kind of composition known as Chansons PopulaireSy 
 and closely related in foi-m and spirit to the minstrelsy 
 of Europe. These Chansons, or Songs, may be divided 
 into two classes — those of foreign and those of native 
 origin. 
 
 The songs of the first class, transplanted from Brit- 
 
MUSIC. 39 
 
 taDj and Normandy, and other provinces of France^ 
 some two hundred years aii;o, or more, by the French 
 missionai-ies and early settlers of Canada, retain, as a 
 rule, the forms they then assumed. They belong to 
 that common gemts of minstrelsy, or folk-song, now 
 so commonly heard in the north of Spain, in France, 
 in some of the cantons of Switzerland, in Scotland, in 
 Ireland and in Wales, the original melodies of which, 
 it is generally believed, have descended from those 
 Celtic hordes who invaded Northern Europe in the 
 early ages of the Christian era. In connection with 
 this minstrel music it may not be out of place to say 
 that the peculiarities of rhythm and tonality which 
 everywhere characterise it, exist, to a very consider- 
 able extent, in those genuine African melodies sung 
 by the negroes of the Southei-n States ; and did not the 
 results of philological investigations render such a 
 relationship, if not impossible, at any rate highly im- 
 probable, it might almost be claimed that these latter, 
 also, belong to the gi-eat family of Euroj^ean folk- 
 song. 
 
 The songs comprised in the second class — those of 
 native origin — are, it is easy to perceive, but the 
 natural outcome of a close familiarity with those of 
 foreign growth. Both are the spontaneous, but rude 
 and uncultivated expression of ??incere, unaifected 
 emotions and sentiments. Crudities and absurdities 
 often appear in the verses, and irregularities and 
 monotony in the melodies ; yet, despite these serious 
 defects, there is in these strange productions so much 
 true poetic sentiment and so much tuneful energy, 
 that their popularity with the people who sing them 
 and the attraction the}' possess for the lover of 
 research are easily accounted for. 
 
 Much might be said respecting the literary and 
 poetical worth of the vej'ses employed for these 
 songs. The limits of this chapter, however, allow no 
 reference to them. Mr. F. A. H. La Eue has contri- 
 buted to the Foyer Canadien, (Quebec, Yol. I. 1863, 
 
40 THE DOMINION. 
 
 and Vol. III. 1865,) two interesting and comprehen- 
 sive articles, entitled Chansons Populaires et Histor- 
 iques, to which the curious reader is referred for 
 further information. So little has been written on the 
 subject that Mr. La Eue's researches are invaluable, 
 while his manner of telling what he has discovered 
 is singularly pleasing and conclusive.^ 
 
 The chief peculiarities of the melodies of these 
 native songs are, First : the manifest absence of 
 musical knowledge on the part of those who invented 
 them ; Second : their irregular rhythm, scarcely 
 a melody being without one or more interpolated 
 bars in a different time from that of its general 
 measure; Third : the musical modes employed, which 
 in most cases ignore the " leading notes " of the 
 modern scale, and frequently produce effects that are 
 harsh and disagreeable to cultivated ears. 
 
 In melodic beauty these airs, as a class, do not com- 
 pare favourably with the national airs of Scotland and 
 Ii'eland, or even of Wiles. Nevertheless, they have 
 decided characteristics, and their robust vigour usually 
 atones for any deficiency in beauty. There is about 
 them the flavour of the woods, the lakes and streams, 
 the hills, the valleys, the winter days, the summer 
 nights. They portray with rare vividness the sports 
 and pastimes, the family gatherings, the social usages, 
 the religious ceremonies and feelings, in short the 
 complete national life of the people. It w^ould be 
 impossible to find elsewhere so true a reflex of the 
 habits and modes of thought of the French Canadian 
 peasantry as these songs afford. 
 
 The boat-songs may almost be said to constitute a 
 style distinct in itself. They are commonly wi-itten 
 with alternate strains for a single voice and chorus, 
 and the spirit, healthiness of tone, and actual grace- 
 
 * Nearly everything published relating to these national songs, in addi- 
 tifon.to the two Reviews by Mr. LaRue, may be found in the Repertoire 
 National, the Chansotinier des ColUgea, and Mr- Ernest Gagnon's collec- 
 tion of airs with words, Chansons Populaires, all Quebec publications. 
 
MUSIC. 41 
 
 fulness of the airs surp'^ss those found in any of the 
 other styles. 
 
 Although, as ah-eady intimated, these native songs 
 have been inspired in part by those fiom over the 
 seas, it is to Canadian life and Canadian scenery that 
 they chiefly owe, not only their existence, but, also, 
 their unquestioned superiority, in freedom ot form 
 and natuialness and breadth of expression, to their 
 foreign relatives. The adventures of the chase, the 
 perils of the rapid rivers, the grandeui* of the lofty 
 mountains, the unbroken silence of the impenetrable 
 forests all awaken emotions that best tind utterance in 
 song. The emotions of a people like those among 
 whom these remarkable songs are produced, ardent in 
 temperament and susceptible in natui-e, must, neces- 
 sarily, be strong and deep. To this fact, doubtless, 
 we are indebted for many of these curious etforts to 
 clothe in music and verse thoughts and feelings 
 worthy, it may be, of a better guise. 
 
 Mr. LaRue, in one of the reviews already referred 
 to, relates, among other interesting facts, the signifi- 
 cant one, that several of these poems of undoubted 
 French origin have, at various times, entirely disap- 
 peared from their native country, and, after a lapse of 
 several decades, have been recognised in Canada by 
 French travellers, and subsequently revived in their 
 ancient home. 
 
 The discovery in one country of songs lost many 
 years before by another is, in itself, no remarkable 
 occurrence ; but when the songs so discovered reflect, 
 with the unequalled truthfulness and fidelity peculiar 
 to themselves, customs and manners of a certain age of 
 which they may be the only preserved record, the 
 importance of the discovery and of its possible results 
 is manifestly increased. 
 
 Following the thought to its fuller limit, in its con- 
 nection with those singular lyrical productions which 
 have formed the subject of this chapter it is not 
 too much to say, that, in years to come, when the 
 
42 THE DOMINION. 
 
 faithful histoi'ian shall have gathered together the 
 material for their true and completed story, we shall 
 find that not the least interesting, nor, indeed, the 
 least valuable page in the record of oui' national life 
 will be furnished by the Chansons Populaires of the 
 Province of Quebec. J. G. 
 
 POLITICAL DIVISIONS. 
 
 Having thus endeavoured to obtain a general view 
 of the Dominion it will now be convenient to consider 
 the provinces separately, commencing from the East. 
 There are seven provinces, (Newfoundland has not 
 seen fit to join the Confederation) viz. : 
 
 Nova Scotia, including Caj)e Breton. 
 
 New Brunswick. 
 
 Prince Edward Island. 
 These form what are commonly called the Maritime 
 Provinces — formerly Acadia. 
 
 Quebec, including Anticosti and the Mag- 
 dalen Islands. 
 
 Ontario. 
 These are known as old Canada, formerly Upper and 
 Lower Canada, New France, or the Province of Quebec. 
 
 Manitoba. 
 
 British Columbia. 
 All these seven are provinces proper, and send 
 representatives to the general Parliament at Ottawa. 
 They have, of course, legislatures of their own, and 
 their governors are nominated by the general Govern- 
 ment at Ottawa. Besides these, there are the follow- 
 ing ten-itories all governed by one governor and 
 council for the North-West, nominated by the Domi- 
 nion Government : 
 
 Keewaydin, or Northwest Territory. 
 
 Assiniboia. 
 
 Saskatchewan. 
 
 Alberta. 
 
 Athabaska. 
 
-AREAS AND DISTANCES. 
 
 4a 
 
 The last four extend from west of Manitoba to the 
 Eocky Mountains. Keewaydin is not defined. Its 
 boundaries in one direction are in dispute between 
 Manitoba and Ontario. 
 
 COMPARATIVE TABLE OF THE SIZE OF THE GREAT LAKES 
 
 OF THE WORLD. 
 
 Elevat'n 
 iLencrth Brea'th Depth above 
 
 miles. 
 
 Lake Superior . . . ' 460 
 
 *' Michigan...! 330 
 
 ** Huron ' 260 
 
 *' Erie 250 
 
 *• Ontario.... 180 
 
 ** Winnipeg . 280 
 
 " Manitoba... 120 
 ** Winne]:)ego- 
 
 sis 120 
 
 '* Ladoga, the, 
 
 largest! 
 
 lake in I 
 
 Europe.... .... 
 
 miles, feet. sea. 
 
 170 
 90 
 
 110 
 60 
 60 
 30 
 16 
 
 17 
 
 800 
 700 
 700 
 200 
 600 
 
 * * * * 
 
 ( 
 
 • • • • { 
 
 • • • • 
 
 600 
 576 
 574 
 565 
 235 
 650 
 670 
 
 692 
 
 Area in 
 square 
 miles. 
 
 31,500 
 22,000 
 21,000 
 9,000 
 6,400 
 8,500 
 1,900 
 
 1,936 
 
 6,190 
 
 Tables of Distances. Statute 
 
 miles. 
 
 Liverpool to Straits of Belle Isle 2,234 
 
 '* Louisbourg, Cape Breton . 2,708 
 
 " Halifax, N.S 2,910 
 
 ** Quebec via Belle Isle 3,060 
 
 . «* '* St. Paul's 3,242 
 
 ** Montreal via Belle Isle 3,220 
 
 « New York 3,563 
 
 Montreal to Straits of Belle Isle 986 
 
 Ottawa, by rail 120 
 
 ** Toronto " " 333 
 
 ** Owen Sound, by rail 455 
 
 ** Niagara.... ' " 415 
 
 •* Sault St. Marie, by water 1,000 
 
 ** " " via Toronto & Owen Sound . 681 
 
44 THE DOMINION. 
 
 Montreal to Port Arthur via Toronto & Owen Sound 987 
 
 Winnipeg " " .... 1,344 
 
 *' New York 400 
 
 *' Halifax via Intercolonial RR 847 
 
 Winnipeg to Port Arthur. 429 
 
 St. Paul's 410 
 
 '' Regina 356 
 
 " Calgary 839 
 
 " Stephen (summit of Rockies) 960 
 
 " Savon a's Ferry, Kamloops 1,250 
 
 " Port Moody, Pacific 1,465 
 
 Owen Sound to Port Arthur 530 
 
 By Ocean steamer embarking at Liverpool and landing 
 
 at Montreal 3,220 
 
 By Inland steamer embarking at Montreal and land- 
 ing at Port Arthur 1,278 
 
 By Canadian Pacific route, IMontreal via Toronto and 
 
 Owen Sound, to summit of Rockies 2,304 
 
 Montreal to Port Moody 2,893 
 
ACADIA. 
 
 L'^ eadie is the euphonious French name for the 
 Maritime Provinces of Canada, now called ^N'ova Sco- 
 tia, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island. The 
 word is derived from a Micmac word Cadie, signifying 
 a place of abundance, and, as used by the Indians, 
 was always qualified by another word expressing the 
 thing which there abounded. Quoddy, a word fre- 
 quently met with in localities on the Bay of Fundy, 
 is a Malicete form of the same word. In the charter 
 for the settlement of the country, granted b}'' Henry 
 TV, to deMonts, it is styled La Cadie, and this name 
 is not only historically proper, but conveniently 
 applicable to all these provinces, for they are similar 
 in climate, soil, productions and people. Such subtle 
 differences in manner and appearance as may exist 
 among the people can be distinguished only by one 
 long resident in the country. Acadia is, in the true 
 fitness of things, the proper place in the New "World 
 at which an Englishman should land. Nova Scotia^ 
 especially, is mildly American ; and the transatlantic 
 mind may there collect itself, after the sea voyage, 
 before encountering the oppressive superiority of 
 Boston, the cosmopolitan indifference of New York, 
 or the exuberant metaphors of the irrepressible West. 
 
 The track across the ocean, which a steamship from 
 Liverpool to Halifax follows, has been a highway 
 for many centuries. Before William the Norman, 
 landed in England, while Canute the Dane was king, 
 the ships of the Norsemen of Iceland and Greenland 
 visited the waters of Acadia and coasted its shores. 
 It was in the year 1000 that Leif Erikson landed in 
 
46 ACADIA. 
 
 Nova Scotia, (Markland he called it), probably near 
 Oape Sable. After him, came Thoi-vald Erikson and 
 Thorstein Erikson with his wife Gudrid ; and then 
 followed Gudrid again with her second husband 
 Thorfinn, and Freydis ; and in A. D. 1121 Bishop Erik 
 Upsi and others, until, in 1347, the '' Black Death " 
 scourged the North and almost depopulated Norway, 
 Iceland and Greenland. Thenceforth they ceased to be 
 swarming hives of adventurous freebooters. But the 
 geographical knowledge acquired was not lost ; and 
 when, in 1477, Columbus visited Iceland, the sagas 
 still extant, in which the deeds of the old Norse 
 sailors are recorded, had been written ; and the tradi- 
 tions of Helluland, Markland and Yinland were in the 
 memories of the older men. 
 
 The restless maritime energy of the Norsemen pass- 
 ed into the Normans of Dieppe and the Bretons of 
 St. Malo ; and especially into the Basques of Bayonne, 
 St. Jean de Luz and St. Sebastian. These latter were 
 the whalers of th*^ fifteenth and sixteenth centuries 
 and, in following the whales as they became scarce in 
 the Bay of Biscay, out into their far ocean haunts, 
 they came upon the Banks of Newfoundland, then 
 as now teeming with fish. Jacques Cartier on his 
 first voyage found a vessel from Eochelle on the coast 
 of Newfoundland. She was looking for the harbour 
 of Brest, a place then well known on the coast of 
 Labrador at which Cartier also called. He found the 
 coast named already until he came to Anticosti. 
 Cabot, who first coasted the mainland of America in 
 1497, may well have been ante-dated by some of 
 those daring whalers and fishermen who as early as 
 1504 are known to have thronged the harbours of 
 Newfoundland and Labrador. Therefore, on the very 
 earliest maps Newfoundland (supposed to be a group 
 of islands) was called Baccalaos, the word for cod- 
 fish in the Basque tongue, from whence it passed into 
 Spanish, Portuguese and Italian. 
 
 Early in the 16th centuiy the English took up the 
 
HISTORY. 47 
 
 whale fishery ; but they had to employ Basques as 
 harpooners, until they themselves acquired the requi- 
 site skill. They spent their energies in the Northern 
 Seas, and named all the shores of Hudson's Bay and 
 Davis' Straits and northwards with English names, in 
 their vain endeavoui's to find a north-west passage 
 to the Indies. Other pjnglishmen became great free- 
 booters, like Drake, Hawkins and Cavendish, and 
 fought the Spaniards in peace or war wherever they 
 found them, in the West Indies or in the great South 
 Sea. But the Spaniards and French chiefly worked 
 the fisheries in these early days, and French and 
 Spanish Basques caught whales in the Gulf of St. 
 Lawrence as far up as Tadousac, and traded for furs 
 long before Champlain's time, probably as far up 
 the river as Hochelaga. Basque and French memories 
 linger all round the coast, and bear witness to the 
 present day to the maritime enterprise of cities whose 
 glories have departed, and whose silent quays and 
 empty warehouses tell of nations who were not equal 
 to their opportunities. 
 
 In history it is the improbable which happens. 
 The philosophy of history has many attractions. It 
 is so easy to look backwards and demonstrate how 
 everything necessarily happened just as it did. To 
 look forward, however, and verify the philosophy 
 by successful prophecy, is the true test of a science. 
 He would have been a bold prophet who in the 
 seventeenth century could have looked at a map of 
 North America and prophesied that in 200 years it 
 would be the greatest Anglo-Saxon country in the 
 world. All Canada and Acadia were French. The 
 Fi-ench posts occupied all the Ohio valley. The 
 Spaniards occupied Florida and claimed the Caro- 
 linas. The Dutch occupied New York. The Swedes 
 occupied the Delaware. Only in Virginia and New 
 England had the English race a footing. But they 
 did the work which lay before them manfully, steadily 
 and quietly, for if there were political weather pro- 
 
48 ACADIA. 
 
 phets then their vaticinations have not been pre- 
 served. 
 
 Acadia was colonised by the French. Before 
 Champlain founded Quebec, he, or rather his compa- 
 nion Poutrincourt, founded Port Royal, now Anna- 
 poliw, in Nova Scotia. The expedition sailed from 
 Havj-e in 1G04 under the command of deMonts, to 
 whom Henry lY. had granted the privilege of trade. 
 Champlain sailed with him — a brave and experienced 
 captain, who had spent two years and a half in the 
 West Indies and in Mexico, and had made a voyage to 
 Tadousac and gone up the St. Lawrence as far as 
 the present Montreal. He was indeed an acquisition- 
 to the expedition. They made land at Le Heve, 
 which still bears that name, and coasted along, touch- 
 ing at Port Mouton, Cape Sable, St. Mar3^'s Bay, Long 
 Island, all names still clinging to these places. Then 
 deMonts separated to explore another part of the 
 Bay, and Champlain continued coasting until he 
 entered the harbour, now Annapolis Basin. He called 
 it Port Royal, for it was " one of the finest har- 
 bours he had seen in these lands." It was not until 
 the following year that they settled there. The win- 
 ter of 1G04 was passed at St. Croix, an island a few 
 miles above St. Andrew's, near the junction of the 
 river St. Croix with the sea. In 1G05 they crossed the 
 Bay, settled at Port Royal, and Poutrincourt founded 
 the first permanent settlement of Europeans on the 
 Western Continent north of the Spanish fort at St.. 
 Augustine in Florida. 
 
 The romantic history of the French settlement can- 
 not be given here in detail. Nor can we do more than 
 allude to the remarkable characters who figure in 
 this interesting though little known history of a 
 remote colony ; to Membertou the great sachem, ta 
 Poutrincourt, to d'Aulnay Charnissay, to La Tom^ 
 and his heroic wife, to the Baron de St. Castine, 
 the brilliant young officer who left his regiment in 
 Canada and married the daughter of Madockawando 
 
HISTORY. 49 
 
 and became a great Indian sachem on the Bay of 
 Fundy. Nor can we stop to relate how the English 
 repeatedly plundered and sacked Port Koyal ; and 
 how they claimed Acadia, sometimes as a part of 
 Virginia, and sometimes as a part ot Massachu- 
 setts. No matter what went on in Europe, there 
 was seldom peace in America in those days. The 
 kings of England, Fi-ance and Spain granted charters 
 and commist^ions, and made claims, which overlapped 
 each other by many hundreds of miles. Nothing but 
 confusion could follow, and the French and English 
 and Indians harried each othei* without cessation. 
 The French were still settled in different parts of 
 Nova Scotia when James I. granted in 1621 the 
 whole of Acadia to Sir William Alexander, in which 
 charter the name Nova Scotia first appears. In 1625, 
 Charles I. confirmed the grant, and added with 
 impartial ignorance Anticosti, Nantucket, Martha's 
 Vineyard, and parts of Canada. The only traces of 
 his royal bounty now remaining are the Baronets of 
 Nova Scotia and the imaginary claims of Earls of 
 Stirling. This order of Knights Bannerets still exists 
 in Old Scotland, a heidtage of certain noble families. 
 It possesses an escutcheon, motto, insignia and dress, 
 but no land ; and Nova Scotia knows nothing of them. 
 The English had taken Acadia and Quebec in 1629 
 but in 1632, by the treaty of St. Germain en Laye, 
 both were restored to France. But in 1654, in a time 
 of peace, the English Commonwealth, ruled by Crom- 
 well, and the Massachussetts Commonwealth, again 
 seized Acadia. Cromwell as Lord Protector granted it 
 to Sir Thomas Temple and two others, but again it 
 was restored to France by the treaty of Breda in 
 1667 . In 1690, Sir William Phipps conquered it and 
 Massachusetts claimed it under a charter of King 
 William III. ; then follows a confused and turbulent 
 history of border feuds until in 1713 the whole of 
 Acadia with the exception of Cape Breton was ceded 
 by France to England. An English governor took 
 4 
 
50 APADIA. 
 
 lip his residence at Port Royal which thenceforth 
 became Annapolis. Not lon^* after, commenced the 
 dinpute as to the houndarics of Acadia, followe<l by the 
 btniggle for the Ohio valley, tinally leading np to 
 the conqnest of Canada. 
 
 After the cession of Acadia in 1713 Cape Breton, or 
 Isle Koyale as it was then called, became of vital 
 imj)ortance to Franco as the key of the Gulf of St. 
 Lawrence, and consequently of Canada. Therefore 
 Louisbourg was founded upon a magnitieent harbour, 
 and a fortress of the fiist class was erected there. 
 The French monarchy devoted what strength it had 
 to spare from its European schemes to Canada, 
 Cape Breton and Louisiana. The English colonies, 
 on the other hand, were yovy little thought of by 
 their monarchs; but they possessed free self-govern- 
 ing legislatures, containing within themselves all the 
 possibilities of growth. Thirty years later came the 
 inevitable collision, and now the Islands of St. Pierre 
 and Miquelon alone remain of all the magnificent 
 empire of France in America. 
 
 The subsequent history of Acadia will be alluded to 
 in the sketches of the several provinces. The name 
 Nova Scotia now superseded the ohl French name. 
 New Brunswick was the county of Sunbury, until 
 1784, when it was erected into a province under its 
 present name. Cape Breton, in the same year was 
 made a separate government, and in 1820 it was re- 
 annexed. In 1784 also the Island of St. John was 
 separated from Nova Scotia, and in 1799 the name 
 was changed to Prince Edward Island, after the Duke 
 of Kent who was much beloved by the settlers. 
 There were several places called St. John in British 
 America and much confusion resulted therefrom. 
 The Acadian provinces from that period remained 
 separated until united into the Dominion of Canada. 
 After this sketch of the general history of Acadia it 
 will be convenient to consider it under its four natu- 
 
NOVA SCOTIA. 51 
 
 ml divisions, viz., Nova Scotia, Cape Breton, Princo 
 Edward Island, and Now Brunswick. 
 
 NOVA SCOTIA. 
 
 The peninsula of Nova Seotia is 275 miles long by 
 100 miles in hreadth at its broadest part; but, to the 
 length of the Province 100 miles must be added for 
 the island of Cape Breton which belongs to it politi- 
 cally. The area of the entire province is 20,907 
 Sfjuare miles. It presents to the ocean a bold and 
 rocky front, studded with islands, and abounding 
 with excellent harbours. Dividing the peninsula by 
 the line of watershed running through its whole 
 length at the centre, the south-eastern half, look- 
 ing towards the Atlantic, is composed of Cambrian 
 rocks, w^ith intrusions of granite at Halifax, Shel- 
 burno and Musquodoboit ; while the north-western 
 half consists of Silurian and carboniferous strata 
 edged on the shore of the Bay of Fundy by a 
 bold and lofty ridge of trap rock 600 feet in height, 
 on the inner side of which flows the Annapolis river. 
 This remarkable border of protecting rock is called 
 the North Mountain. On the opposite side of the 
 river is the South Mountain running parallel. The 
 portion of the peninsula which connects it with the 
 rest of Acadia is divided by the Cobequid Mountains, 
 1,100 feet high, which separate the streams flowing 
 into the Basin of Minas from those flowing into North- 
 umbei-land Straits. The coast line is deeply indented 
 with inlets so that no part of the province is distant 
 more than 30 miles from the sea. 
 
 Soil.— The interior of the province along the divid- 
 ing ridge is a broken country, and the south-eastern 
 part, as a rule, is not adapted for farming although it 
 contains much good land. On the south-west side, 
 however, the land is very rich. The valley of the 
 Annapolis Eivor and the land around the Basin of 
 
52 ACADIA. 
 
 Minas is proverbial for its fertility. The high tides 
 of the Bay of Fundy have produced marsh soils of 
 inexhaustible richness ; for they bear with them an 
 alluvium which renders manuring unnecessary. The 
 land also on the Gulf of St. Lawrence side is good. 
 The province abounds in lakes, none of them large, 
 where good fishing is to be had. The Cobequid 
 Mountains are clothed with forests which produce 
 abundance of excellent timber. The energies of the 
 Nova Scotians have always been directed rather to 
 ship-building, fishing and mining, than to farming ; 
 although, from the western part of the province, 
 there has always been a lai-ge export of agricultui*al 
 products of all kinds. 
 
 Climate.— The climate of Nova Scotia is very conge- 
 nial to old country settlers. It is not so cold in 
 winter, or so warm in summer, as the rest of the 
 Dominion. It is changeable according as the winds 
 blow from the continent or from the sea. The wind 
 from the south often comes loaded with vaj^our from 
 the warm waters of the gulf stream, which condenses 
 into fog along the coasts of the Atlantic and the Bay 
 of Fundy. These fogs ai-e not enjoyed by the Cana- 
 dians of the inland provinces, but the fresh com- 
 plexions of the Acadians bear witness that they are 
 conducive to health. Ponce-de-Leon, instead of search- 
 ing for the fountain of youth among the lean and 
 wrinkled alligators of the tepid morasses of Florida, 
 should have looked further north. A dip into a cool 
 fog in the summer and a diet of succulent oysters, 
 pugnacious lobsters and nutritious codfish, is the 
 nearest thing which the world affords to the fountain 
 of rejuvenescence. There is more rain in the Acadian 
 provinces than in Canada owing to the proximity 
 of the ocean. In the south-western pai't of the Pro- 
 vince sheep are pastured out all the winter. 
 
 ^''nerals.— Nova Scotia abounds in valuable min- 
 erals. In the tmbriaL, an along the Atlantic coast, 
 
NOVA SCOTIA. 63 
 
 gold is found in considerable quantity. During the 
 last year the export of gold from Nova Scotia mines 
 amounted to $279,735. Gypsum is largely mined. 
 The export last year to the United States amounted 
 to 138,081 tons. Iron is abundant and the ores are of 
 superior quality. 
 
 Coal.— The coal fields of Pictou and Cumberland are 
 very well known. In the latter section the Spring- 
 hill coal mine is reached by the Intercolonial Eail- 
 way. The coal field of the Pictou district has been 
 long and extensively worked. The two main seams 
 of the Acadia mines give a thickness of 18 feet and 11 
 feet respectively of good coal. At the Albion mines 
 a section of the main seam gave 36f feet of coal 
 including a thickness of twenty three inches of inter- 
 stratified beds of ironstone, and a section of the deep 
 seam gave 18J feet of good coal. Tha larger portion 
 of the coal raised is consumed in the Dominion. 
 During the year ending June 30, 1883, however, the 
 exports to foreign countries amounted to 216,805 tons 
 from the whole province of Nova Scotia, including 
 Cape Breton. The known productive coal fields of 
 Nova Scotia cover an area of 685 square miles. The 
 Nova Scotia coals are much esteemed for gas pm^- 
 poses and were it not for the heavy tarift' would be 
 (as they were formerly) used in the United States to 
 a very much greater extent. 
 
 The whole of the mines of the province were in 
 1826 leased by the Crown to the Duke of York, who 
 transferred the lease the following year to the General 
 Mining Association of London. This corporation 
 worked the coal mines of Pictou and Cape Breton for 
 many years, but disputes arose between it and the 
 Provincials until at last, in 1857, the Association gave 
 up its claims to all unopened mines upon receiving 
 an undisputed title to certain areas in the coal fields 
 of Cape Breton, Pictou and Cumberland. New com- 
 panies were then organised who work the mines, now 
 4* 
 
54 ACADIA. 
 
 under Provincial laws. All the coal of !N"ova Scotia 
 is bituminous. Further particulars of these coal areas 
 will be found under the notices of the respective 
 localities. There are things to be seen in the mines 
 of this province which cannot be seen elsewhere in the 
 world. SirChai'les Lyell crossed the sea twice, mainly 
 for the purpose of visiting them, and in his "Student's 
 Elements of (reology," chapters 23 an<l 24 show what 
 an important position the coal measures of Nova 
 Scotia hold in the domain of science. 
 
 Gold.— That half of the Peninsula of Nova Scotia 
 which faces to the Atlantic is, as has been stated 
 Cambrian with large areas of granite. In this section, 
 throughout its whole area of about 6,500 square miles, 
 numerous lodes of gold-bearing rocks have been found. 
 The gold occurs in quartz veins in the Cambrian 
 strata. When the auriferous nature of the rocks was 
 discovered in 1860 there was great excitement, which 
 calmed down in time to a steady industry. As a gen- 
 eral thing, however, this is not carried on by the most 
 approved methods. The largest yield in any single 
 year was in 1807, when 27,314 oz. of gold were ex- 
 tracted. Since then the product has varied. In 1883, 
 it was 15,446 oz. Woik is now carried on in about 
 twenty ditferent localities. The avej-age yield per 
 man per day was $2.84 in the whole of the mines 
 w^orked during that year. 
 
 Iron. — Iron occurs in many places, but it is worked 
 only at Londonderry and at New Gla8gow\ There it 
 ;s found in an immense vein of ankerite 30 to 150 
 feet wide^ holding brown hematite and extending for 
 many miles. Last year the Steel Company took out 
 52,410 tons of ore. 
 
 Fisheries.— At the last census 24,636 men were 
 employed in the fisheries in 755 vessels and 13,214 
 boats. The fish caught are cod, mackerel, herrings, 
 
HALIFAX. 55^ 
 
 salmon, halibut, haddock. The product of canned 
 lobsters for that year is given at 3,841,476 lbs. The 
 value of the fisheries of the province was estimated for 
 the year ending June, 1883, at $7,621,500. 
 
 Population.— The population of the entire pi'ovince, 
 including Cape Breton, is 440,572. Of this number 
 117,487 are Eoman Catholics, 60,255 are Church of 
 England, 112,477 are Pj-esbyterian and 50,780 are 
 Methodist. There are 41,219 Acadian French in the 
 province and 40,065 of German descent ; these last are 
 mostly in Lunenburg county. The Scottish element 
 preponderates in the remaining part of the popula- 
 tion. Immigration to Nova Scotia has been very 
 scanty, therefore of the total population 414,647 are 
 colonial born. 
 
 Education.— Dalhousie College, at Halifax, is the 
 chief institution of the province. Acadia College, at 
 Horton, is connected with the Baptist denomination ; 
 King's College, at Windsor, is in connection with the 
 Church of England. The Normal School is at Truro. 
 The public schools are free. The number of public 
 schools in operation last year was 1943, with 2011 
 teachers and 81,863 pupils, or 1 in 5 of the population. 
 
 HALIFAX. 
 
 The drum-beat of Britain, which, to adapt the elo- 
 quent words of Daniel AYebster, once followed the 
 morning round the world, ceases its proud roll at this 
 city — the portal of the Dominion of Canada. For here 
 is the last English garrison upon the AYestern Conti- 
 nent. — kept here, we are carefully assured, not out of 
 regard for any antiquated colonial prejudices, but 
 solely because of the importance of Halifax to Eng- 
 land as a naval station and a coaling depot. Let the 
 English visitor, then, listen to the morning drum-beat 
 and take a last look at the uniform of his country's 
 
56 ACADIA. 
 
 soldiers, for be will not hear the one or see the other 
 again, if he follows the morning for very many 
 thousands of miles, across the continent, and over the 
 broad southern ocean, until he arrives at the island of 
 Hong-Kong. At Halifax, however, he will be thor- 
 oughly at home. From the citadel, as on the Queen's 
 ships of war in the harboui-, the British flag still flies 
 without the escutcheon of the younger Britain embla- 
 zoned upon it. The familiar uniforms will be seen on 
 the streets and on the wharves. The people will not 
 seem strange, and if, as is frequently the case, that 
 favorite Haligonian dissipation, a regatta, is going on, 
 he will see that, though colonial born, they have all 
 the nautical instincts of the British race. 
 
 The city of Halifax was founded in 1749. It was 
 the first permanent settlement of Englishmen in Nova 
 Scotia ; for, although there had been an English gov- 
 ernor and an P^nglish garrison at Annapolis since 
 1713, and English fishermen frequented the coast and 
 assembled in the harbours, there had been no serious 
 attempt to colonise the country. The seat of govern- 
 ment was then transferred to Halifax, and Governor 
 Cornwallis. who came out in command with the first 
 settlers, again called upon the Acadians to take the 
 oath of allegiance to the British Government. The 
 Acadians were very uneasy at the aiTival of the Eng- 
 lish, and their deputies brought to Cornwallis an 
 address, from 1000 persons, containing this very 
 remarkable sentence, " What causes us all very great 
 '' pain, is the fact that the English wish to live 
 " amongst us. This is the general sentiment of the 
 '' undersigned inhabitants." Seeing that the province 
 had been an English possession for thirty-six years, 
 such a sentiment, expressed to a British governoi*, did 
 not promise a peaceful time for the new settlers. The 
 Indians fully sympathised with the Acadians, and, as 
 the English settlements spread along the coast to 
 Lunenbui-g and Liverpool, the tomahawks and scalp- 
 ing knives of the savages found constant emj)loyment, 
 
HALIFAX. 5*7 
 
 thus provoking an exasperation which resulted in the 
 Acadian deportation and the punishment of the inno- 
 cent with the guilty among the French inhabitants. 
 
 During the war which followed, Halifax grew 
 rapidly. Here Wolfe's fleet assembled for the subju- 
 gation of Louisbourg and for the capture of Quebec. 
 Then followed the American revolution, and troops 
 and war-ships crowded the streets and harbour. 
 When Howe was compelled to evacuate Boston in 
 1W6 it was to Halifax he retired. His fleet and 
 army made the little town very lively for a while. 
 During the war of 1812-15 Halifax was again a centre 
 of naval activity and, until recently, there were old 
 residents who could remember the excitement when 
 the Shannon towed the Chesaj^eake into the harbour 
 as a prize, and broke the spell of success which 
 seemed until then to attend the United States navy. 
 Such times as these have happily passed away ; but 
 the dockyard, and the forts, and the citadel tell of the 
 former years of bitterness and warfare. 
 
 The population of Halifax, inclusive of Dartmouth, 
 is 40,340. It is essentially a maritime and commer- 
 cial city, doing a large trade in the export mainly of 
 products of the fisheries, of gypsum, coal, and lum- 
 ber, and carrying on, by the ships owned there, a con- 
 siderable foreign trade. In the year ending June, 
 1883, the imports were $7,206,885 and the exports 
 $5,002,929. Since the completion of the Intercolonial 
 Eailway it has become the winter port of the Domi- 
 nion. Manufactures are now springing up and, lately, 
 a large sugar refinery has been established there. The 
 city contains a lai-ge proportion of wealthy people. 
 It is not so progressive as some of the other cities of 
 the Dominion, for the fact of its being so important a 
 military and naval station in past years has not been 
 an unmixed advantage. Large expenditures for mili- 
 tary purposes do not confer the lasting benefits which 
 result from permanent productive investments, and 
 
58 ACADIA. 
 
 the attention of youth is apt to be drawn away from 
 commeicial enterprise. 
 
 The liarbour is justly celebrated for its safety and 
 commodioiisness. Lying close to the great ocean 
 highway, between Europe and America, it is admir- 
 ably adapted for a port of call or a port of refuge. The 
 inlet extends fifteen miles into the land. In front of the 
 town the harbour is one mile acj'oss, and, beyond the 
 narrows, Bedford Basin expands into a sheet of water 
 ten square miles in extent where the largest ship may 
 lie close to the shore. There is no bar at the mouth 
 of the harbour. The average depth of water is eight 
 to ten fathoms, and in its very shoalest part it is 24 
 feet deep at low w^ater. The tide rises six feet, and 
 the largest vessels can lie afloat at the wharves. It is 
 accessible at all seasons of the year. The Cunard 
 line, the first line of ocean steamers, was projected by 
 a Haligonian, Sir Samuel Cunard, and here all the 
 steamers touched during the early years of the enter- 
 prise. Eegular lines of steamers sail for Bermuda 
 and St. Thomas, connecting at the latter port with all 
 the "West Indian lines. Steamships of the Allan line 
 for Liverpool and St. John's, Newfoundland, call here 
 en route for Baltimoi-e, Md., and Norfolk, Ya. The 
 Anchor line connects with St. John, N.F., and Glas- 
 gow. Then there are steamers for Boston and New 
 York; for Sydney, Cape Breton ; Canseau, N.S. ; and 
 Charlottetown, P.E.I. 
 
 The entrance to Halifax harbour upon a clear day 
 is very striking. On the right is McNab's Island, and 
 beyond it the east' n passage, not available for large 
 vessels, guarded by Fort Clarence on the Dartmouth 
 shore; on the left is a bold shore surmounted by 
 York redoubt and the telegraph station. Then Point 
 Pleasant with its charming park, the seaward point of 
 the peninsula upon which the city is built, is seen in 
 front. To the left of it runs the north-west arm and 
 to the j'ight is the harboui-, with George's Island 
 armed to the teeth in the centre of it, raking the 
 
HALIFAX. 59 
 
 entrance. Above the city, which is built upon a rocky 
 declivity sloping somewhat stee])ly down to the 
 water's edge, is the citadel. Far up tlie harbour are 
 the NaiTOWs hiding the beautiful Bedford Basin, 
 which suddenly expands its tianquil surface, securely 
 land-locked and deep enough for men-ol-war close to 
 its shores. 
 
 Visitors from the United States always inspect the 
 citadel; from the old world, where citadels are plen- 
 tiful, visitors are not so curious in that diiection. The 
 view, however, from the citadel, taking in as it does 
 all the environs of Halifax, is well worth the attention 
 of strangers. A drive round by the park at Point 
 Pleasant and along the Northwest Arm should be 
 taken. This is one of the most picturesque sheets of 
 water in the Dominion. The villas on its shore and 
 Melville island, in a pretty bay at its head, add to the 
 general etfect and make the drive very enjoyable. 
 
 Halifax is full of memories of the Duke of Kent, 
 father of Queen Victoria. The site of the Prince's 
 lodge on Bedford Basin is still pointed out ; ani he it 
 was who laid the tirst stone of the citadel. The 
 town is resonant with military and naval names : the 
 Queen's Dockyard, the Admiral's House, the Artil- 
 lery Barracks, the Ordnance Whaif, the Wellington 
 Barracks, and the forts which protect the harbour 
 give a martial character to Halifax which no other 
 Canadian city besides Quebec possesses — but we can 
 never foi-get that in Quebec the morning drum-beat 
 of the Im})erial isle is heard no more. 
 
 Dalhousie University is an impoitant institution. It 
 is unconnected with any religious body. There are 
 seven professors in the faculty of arts and thirteen in 
 that of medicine. 
 
 The Province Building is a handsome building con- 
 taining the chambers of the Legislature, the library 
 and the archives of the Province. The new Provin- 
 
60 ACADIA. 
 
 cial Building contains a museum where may be found 
 a valuable collection to illustrate the resources and 
 natui'al history of the Province. The Post Office is in 
 the same building. 
 
 Halifax abounds in charitable institutions of all 
 kinds and in churches, notable among which are St. 
 Paul's chui'ch and St. Mary's cathedral. Here also 
 are the seats of the Anglican Bishop and the Roman 
 Archbishop of the Province. 
 
 Strangers interested in the question of food fishes 
 will see a large variety at the Fish Market, and al- 
 though such places are no where very inviting to the 
 ordinary tourist, they are not overlooked by those 
 who travel for information. 
 
 Beautiful drives and walks abound at Halifax. The 
 Public Gai'dens on Spring Garden road are very well 
 kept and are a pleasant refuge in summer from the 
 heat. The Park at Point Pleasant possesses a singu- 
 larly attractive site. The old Martello tower is a 
 picturesque object. 
 
 Hotels.-The chief is the Halifax hotel in Hollis 
 street. Near it is the International hotel. The 
 Wavei'ley hotel is an exceedingly good semi-private 
 hotel but it is not large. It is very pleasantly 
 situated. 
 
 Clubs.—The Halifax Club has a very well appointed 
 club-house on Hollis street. 
 
 EXCURSIONS. 
 
 From Halifax by railway the traveller may proceed 
 in four directions. 1st. To Windsor on the Basin of 
 Minas, and down the Annapolis river to Yarmouth on 
 the south-west; 2nd. To Truro, and thence to Pictou 
 on Northumberland Strait, whence he may cross to 
 Prince Edward Island ; 3rd. By the same route as far 
 as New Glasgow, whence he may branch off, on the 
 
WINDSOR. 61 
 
 Eastern Extension Road, to the Gut of Canso, en route 
 for Cape Breton; or 4th. Directly along the main lino 
 of the Intercolonial through New Brunswick to Que- 
 bec. On this route he may diverge at Moncton to 
 St John. 
 
 TO YARMOUTH VIA WINDSOR. 
 
 The trains of the Windsor and Annapolis Railway 
 leave the Intercolonial Railway Depot. This line 
 commences properly at Windsor Junction where the 
 traveller will see for a little distance a piece of 
 country, the hump of Xova Scotia, which will give 
 an idea of what the world might have looked like after 
 some great wash-out in primordial times. After 
 ten miles of such land the country improves a little 
 and the train passes near the Uniacke gold mines. 
 At Newport large quarries of gypsum exist, and 
 the annual export hence, mainly to the United States, 
 is the chief business of the inhabitants. At last^ 
 after an uninteresting drive of 45 miles, the traveller 
 aiTives at 
 
 Windsor, a town of 3,019 inhabitants upon the Avon 
 river. This is a beautiful place, or the contrary, ac- 
 cording to the state of the tide ; for here the visitor 
 will meet the remarkable tides of the Bay of Fundy. 
 He will have, if the tide is out, a thoroughly satisfy- 
 ing view of an amazing area of red fertilizing slime; 
 and, if the tide is in, he will see one of the prettiest 
 pieces of water in the country. He will realise here 
 with Charles Dudley Warner how important water is 
 in the make-up of a river. 
 
 Still Windsor is a pretty town and the country 
 around it is fertile. It exports also much fertility to 
 other soils in the gypsum which abounds in the 
 neighboui'hood. Here was born, and here died, Judge 
 Halibui^ton, better known as " Sam Slick the Clock- 
 maker," the author of many humorous books. Here 
 
62 ACADIA. 
 
 is situated the first college founded in the Province- 
 King's College, with six professors, founded in 1788, 
 under the patronage of the Archbishop of Canterbury. 
 The professors must belong to the Anglican Church 
 but no religious tests are required of the students. 
 
 The country around Windsor was settled vory early 
 by the French, but after the Acadian deportation 
 their vacant lands were tilled up by a population from 
 Massachusetts and Ehode Island. Immediately around 
 Windsor the land was granted to British officers and 
 fortifications were erected which have crumbled away. 
 
 After leaving Windsor the train crosses the Avon 
 upon a bridge, v^eiy costly on account of the stupend- 
 ous tides of the river. For some distance the bank of 
 the Avon is followed through a rich country abound- 
 ing in gypsum and freestone. Falmouth and Hants- 
 port are prosperous villages where shipbuilding is 
 carried on to a considerable extent. After passing 
 Horton the train crosses the Gaspereaux rivei* and 
 arrives at 
 
 Grand Pre.— This is the classic land of Evangeline — 
 
 "" In the Acadian land, on the shores of the Basin of Minas, 
 Distant, secluded, still, the little village of Grand Pr4 
 Lay in the fruitful valley. Vast meadows stretched to the 
 
 eastward. 
 Giving the village its name, and pasture to flocks without 
 
 number. 
 Dykes, that the hands of the farmers had raised with 
 
 labour incessant, 
 .Shut out the turbulent tides, but at certain seasons the 
 
 flood-gates 
 •Opened, and welcomed the sea to wander at will o'er the 
 
 meadows. 
 AVest and south there were fields of flax, and orchards, and 
 
 cornfields 
 Spreading afar and unfenced o'er the plain, and away to 
 
 the northward 
 Blomidonrose." 
 
 The traveller may now verify the accuracy of the 
 word-painting. 
 
GRAND VBt. 63 
 
 THE ACADIANS. 
 
 The object of the Poet's art is not so much to relate 
 the exact truth as to tell a touchini!; and beautiful 
 etoiy. Mr. Lon<rf'ello\v'rt ''Evangeline" is an illustra- 
 tion of Bacon's adage that '* the mixture of a lie doth 
 always add pleasure." And so the dealings of the 
 Britisli Government with the Acadians have been exhi- 
 bited to the world as a wanton and utterly unjustifi- 
 able outrage. To those Nova Scotians, of English 
 descent, who have heard at their grandmothers' knee 
 the story of the tirst settlers at Halifax and Dart- 
 mouth, the matter appears in a totally ditfei-ent light, 
 as a stern and bitter necessity of a cruel war. Into 
 this question we cannot enter, tempting though it be, 
 and we would refer those who may wish to follow it 
 up, to a volume i>ublished by the Nova Scotia Govern- 
 ment in 1869. It is entitled " Selections from the 
 Public Documents of the Province of Nova Scotia," 
 by Thomas B. Aikens. In this excellently edited 
 volume the documents themselves are allowed to tell 
 the story. The notes are few and merely explana- 
 tory — mostly biogra2)hical. The poem of "Evange- 
 line " is, however, a ver}^ beautiful one, and the des- 
 criptions of sceneiy are true to nature. The Acadians 
 were very deeply attached to the soil of Nova Scotia, 
 and many wlio w^ei-e expatriated returned aftei* their 
 wanderings. Some of them settled in Gaspe, in 
 •Canada. The settlers who came from France to 
 Canada were mostly Norman or Breton ; but the 
 Acadians were fi-om the south-west — from Saintonge, 
 Eochelle and adjacent places. In 1719 there were 
 about 500 families in the province. In 1755 there 
 were probably 8000 or 9000 Acadian French, of whom 
 not more than 3000 were expatriated by the British 
 -Government. At present there are in Nova Scotia 
 41,219, in New Brunswick 56,635, and in Prince 
 Edward Island 10,751 persons of French descent. 
 They form a most valuable portion of the population. 
 
64 ACADIA. 
 
 Cheerful, contented, polite, and laborious, they ai-e 
 everywhere respected. They do not intermarry wi h 
 the English, and, at some jjlaces such as Chezzetcook, 
 they had until lately retained the peculiar dress of the 
 peasantry of Old France. A study of some of these 
 settlements, in the middle of an English community but 
 with cure and notary of the old days and with man- 
 ners, customs and religioii so different, is interesting to 
 a speculative politician. There is nothing in conser- 
 vatism like it on this continent. The Acadians were 
 strongly attached to the Eoman Catholic Church, as 
 they still are. They came of the same stock which, as 
 Huguenots, so obstinately resisted the dragonnades of 
 Louis XIY. But no question of religion caused the 
 deportation by the English, for the Acadians enjoyed 
 the most absolute freedom of worship. It was not in 
 Acadia as in Canada. There were no schools nor col- 
 leges of any kind, and the people were very ignorant 
 and entirely in the hands of their political leaders. 
 Many of them were peaceable and harmless, but many 
 would not even sell supplies to the English. At Grand 
 Pre 1900 persons were collected by Colonel Winslow, 
 a Massachusetts officer, who was in command. He 
 burned the village — houses and barns, "^hurch and 
 grist mills — and broke down the dykes. The troops 
 on this service were all Massachusetts men of hard 
 Puritan stock. They belonged to a regiment raised 
 for special service in America. The men of the Aca- 
 dians were collected separately and ordered to embark. 
 This they refused to do without their families, but 
 they were driven on board at the point of the bayonet 
 in the sight of the weeping women and children* 
 The women and children followed in other transports, 
 and no care was taken that the families should be re- 
 united. For this there could be no pretext of excuse. 
 That was in 1755. Twenty years later and the 
 whole family of Winslow were hunted out of Massa- 
 chusetts. Proscribed royalists, they shared the fate of 
 the Acadian loyalists. Their own property was con- 
 
WOLFVILLE. 65 
 
 iiscated or destroyed, and they had to make new homes 
 upon the rocky shores of the St. John. The Winslow 
 stock was the oklest and staunchest of the original 
 Plymouth Rock settlement and had filled the highest 
 offices in the Commonwealth. Many of them were 
 rewarded by the British Government with grants and 
 some with pensions, but the poor Acadians, scattered 
 homeless and penniless through the English colonies 
 among a race of alien tongue, found no sympathy 
 from their heartless monarch or his frivolous cour- 
 tiers. Every American loyalist had in King George 
 III. a personal, sympathetic friend. If any one in the 
 American colonies is at any time heard to speak 
 slightingly of King George, he will turn out not to be 
 colonial born. 
 
 Wolfville. — After leaving Grand Pr^ the train passes 
 through \Yolfville, where is situated the University of 
 Acadia College, founded and supported by the Baptist 
 denomination. Then the valley of the Cornwallis 
 River is reached through a beautiful countjy. From 
 Windsor, up the Cornwallis and down the Annapolis 
 valleys, is the garden of Nova Scotia — rich in soil and 
 mild in climate. The road now continues in the 
 depression between the South and x^orth Mountains, 
 referred to elsewhere. At Kentville is a flourishing 
 town of 3000 inhabitants, and a succession of pretty 
 villages is passed until Bridgetown, on the Annapolis 
 Eiver, is reached, which is a place of some importance 
 as the head of steamboat navigation on the river. If 
 the tide is out, the tourist will not see any river. The 
 water may be away down the bay, but it will come 
 and make the valley look charming in its setting of 
 parallel, hilly ranges ; and, what is better, will float 
 any vessels which may be sitting up waiting for it. 
 One of the oddest sights to a stranger is to see a little 
 steamer sitting up in the mud, blowing off steam and 
 whistling with haste to get her freight aboard, as if 
 she were going straightway overland, while there is 
 5 
 
e6 ACADIA. 
 
 not watei" enough to float a chip. But in Ave minutes 
 up it comes, and she is oft*. Passing down the left 
 bank of the river the train arrives at 
 
 Annapolis, tlie ancient and venerable capital of Aca- 
 dia — the oldest town [north of Florida] in America, 
 and it would be difficult to find one prettiei*. The 
 beauty and security of the situation struck the eye 
 of Champlain — the clearest-headed Frenchman who 
 ever trod the shores of the New World. It is the 
 quietest, the most restful place which can be ima- 
 gined — a very sanatorium for a shattered nervous 
 system — quieter now than even 150 years ago when 
 there was a garrison, sometimes French and some- 
 times English ; and w^hen the English were always 
 burning out the French, excepting when the French 
 were entrapping the English and the Micmacs were 
 scalping them — quieter even than in the winter of 
 1600-07, when the clever, light-hearted Parisian law- 
 yer, Lescarbot, and the Baron de Poutrincourt, and 
 Hubert, the apothecary, who represented science, and 
 Champlain, who organised the " ordre de bon temps,'^ 
 and their friends, Catholic and Huguenot, had such an 
 excellent time in this Acadian "Forest of Arden." 
 There was no scurvy there, for game was abundant, 
 and the lively Frenchmen exhausted their culinary 
 skill upon it — before the Cavaliers had founded James- 
 town or the Puritan Fathers had set up their ecclesi- 
 astical tyranny, called by a vivid metaphor a "theo- 
 cracy," at Salem. Then was " le bon vieux temps" of 
 Henry lY., before the revocation of the Edict of 
 Nantes had set Frenchmen at each others' throats in 
 France. In Acadia, as in Canada, no man was ever 
 molested in the name of religion. It was not quite 
 upon the site of the town, however, that the first fort 
 was built ; it was on the opposite side, a little further 
 down the Basin. 
 
 The town of Annapolis Eoyal contains 2,833 inhabi- 
 tants. It is almost sui'rounded by water, for it is 
 
YARMOUTH. &J 
 
 built on a peninsula projecting into the basin which 
 lies tranquil among the bills protected from all winds. 
 The water is deep and the shores bold. The IN'orth 
 Mountain range protects it from the fog and wind of 
 the Bay of Fundy, and the opposing range protects it 
 on the east. The fortifications still remain, picturesque 
 and ruinous. Far up the valley are seen the dyked 
 meadow-lands of the Acadians, and down, towards the 
 south, the high lands round Digby are hazy in the 
 distance. 
 
 The railway ends at Annapolis. It is to be contin- 
 ued round the Basin, 20 miles, to meet the Western 
 Counties Eailway at Digby, but meantime the travel- 
 ler must take the steamer which makes a daily trip to 
 that town. From Annapolis there is a regular steamer 
 leaving for St. John, New Brunswick, U2:)0n alternate 
 days (distance 45 miles). It is a very pleasant route, 
 A weekly steamer leaves also for Boston. The short 
 trip down the Basin is enjoyable. 
 
 Digby. — A town of 1,879 inhabitants, occupying a 
 picturesque site opposite Digby Gut, which is the 
 name of the naiTOW opening in the precipitous trap 
 cliffs through which the tides rush in and out from 
 the Bay of Fundy. It is a favoui'ite summer resort, 
 being free from fog and sheltered by the hills. This 
 town has given its name to the celebrated Digby 
 herrings. 
 
 The Western Counties Railway to Yarmouth runs 
 along the coast of St. Mary's Bay through the town- 
 ship of Clare. This township is settled by Acadians 
 who returned after their exile, and, finding their old 
 locations on the Basin of Minas occupied, took up land 
 here. It is a most characteristic community. Long- 
 fellow's description, in " Evangeline," will apply to 
 them to-day as fully as it does to the Acadians of 120 
 years ago. This unchangeable conservatism is a phe- 
 nomenon in the western world. After a run of 67 
 
^ ACADIA. 
 
 miles the train arrives at Yarmouth —the jumping-off* 
 place of Nova Scotia. The interior of the country is 
 a hunting and fishing region — wild and studded with 
 lakes. It is broken and unfit for farming. 
 
 Yarmouth is a city of 6,200 inhabitants — the most 
 maritime town perhaps in the world ; for it is doubt- 
 ful whether a single person can be found there who is 
 not, directly or indirectly, interested in a vessel. The 
 instinct for maritime enterprise here amounts to genius, 
 for, though the harbour is poor, the soil rocky and 
 stej'ile, and there is no back country to depend upon, 
 the people are rich and thriving by their foreign com- 
 merce. The tonnage owned in this small place amounts 
 to 118,922 tons. There are 3,469 persons who are 
 owners of shipping. Eetired sea captains find here a 
 paradise, for the proximity of the Gulf stream makes 
 the weather very changeable, and speculation upon 
 that subject is always in order. 
 
 FROM HALIFAX TO PICTOU 
 
 Travellers take the Intercolonial Eailway, and at 
 Truro the Pictou branch diverges from the main line. 
 If all parts of i^ova Scotia were as charming as the 
 North West Arm or the Annapolis valley the effect 
 would be too monotonous, and so, in going to Pictou, 
 the aesthetic sense is allowed a short period of repose. 
 There is nothing specially to remark upon until the 
 ti'ain arrives at 
 
 Steliarton, forty miles from Truro. The Albion coal 
 mines are reached at this station. The population of 
 the place is 1,881, all connected in someway with the 
 mines. Two miles further on is 
 
 New Glasgow. Population 2,595 — engaged in manu- 
 facturing and shipbuilding. A Siemens' furnace, be- 
 longing to ine Nova Scotia Steel Company, is at 
 
piCTOu. 69 
 
 work here making steel plates. There are also rolling 
 mills and glass-works. The Nova Scotia Eailway 
 (formerly the Halifax and Cape Breton Eailway) 
 branches off here for Antigonish and the Gut of 
 Canso. The train now continues along the East river 
 (8 miles) until Pictou Landing is reached, from 
 whence by ferry the traveller crosses to the opposite 
 side of the harbour to the town of 
 
 Pictou. Population 3,403, is situated upon an inlet of 
 Northumberland Strait into which three rivers — the 
 East, the Middle, and the West rivers fall. It has by 
 far the best harbour on the northern shore of Nova 
 Scotia, sheltered and commodious — from five to nine 
 fathoms deep and with 20 feet of water over the bar 
 at low tide. Unlike the harbours of Halifax and St. 
 John it freezes over in the winter. The coast is low, 
 but the scenery up the valleys of the rivers is pretty, 
 and the bathing on the beaches is good. There is 
 much good farming land in the vicinity but, as the 
 meadow lands on the opposite coast of the Province, 
 were more inviting, the French never made any 
 settlement here. It was first settled in 176*7 by six 
 families from Philadelphia, but the immigration which 
 stamped a peculiar character on this part of the Prov- 
 ince was the band of Highland Scotch which arrived 
 in 1Y73. They landed in full highland array in kilts 
 and with bagpipes in full blast. Never had the like 
 been heard in Acadia. The Micmacs, who had pre- 
 viously been hanging i*ound for scalps, fled, terror- 
 struck at the sound, and from thenceforth gave no 
 trouble to the settlers in those parts. The ^' medicine " 
 of the ba^-pipe subdued them. The immigration 
 continued from Scotland and the great majority of 
 the people are Scotch and Presbyterian. This ener- 
 getic stock has made Pictou county one of the most 
 productive farming counties in Nova Scotia. The 
 town has made great progress in manufacturing, and 
 does a coasting trade by vessels built and owned 
 
70 ACADIA. 
 
 there. Education is very carefully looked after, and 
 with academy and schools and museum, and library 
 and newspapers, the people of Pictou are admirably 
 provided with educational facilities. 
 
 Steamers leave Pictou regularly for Charlotte town, 
 P.E.I., for Port Hood in Cape Breton, and for the 
 Magdalen I-^lands. The Gulf Port line of steamers to 
 Quebec leave from here, touching at all the principal 
 ports in the Gulf of St. Lawrence. Pictou is, how- 
 ever, chiefly remarkable as the outlet of one of the 
 most important coal fields of Nova Scotia. 
 
 Pictou Coal Mines.— These mines first began to be 
 worked in the year 1807. As explained elsewhere, in 
 1825 all the mines in the Province passed into the 
 hands of the General Mining Association of London, 
 which commenced in 182Y to raise coal on a large 
 scale and with scientific appliances. This monopoly 
 continued until 1856, when the Company abandoned 
 all their claims and were allowed to select four square 
 miles where they pleased. They chose the locality 
 known as the Albion Mines at Stellarton, and event- 
 ually sold out to a new company called the Halifax 
 Company. 
 
 The area of the coal field at Pictou is 35 miles, but 
 the beds are so thick and so accessible that their 
 importance is out of proportion to the area. At the 
 Albion Mines there is a section of 2,450 feet of coal 
 measures holding 100 feet of coal. The thickness of 
 the seams of the lower group are as follows in order 
 of depth :— 34 ft. 7 in., 22 ft. 11 in., 5 ft. 1 in., 3 ft. 
 6 in., 3 ft. 3 in., 12 ft., 5 ft., 11 ft., 10 ft. There are 
 sixteen seams known but these are the chief. It is 
 the main seam of 34 feet which is generally worked. 
 In the neighbourhood are ako the extensive mines 
 worked by the Intercolonial, Acadian and Yale Com- 
 panies. The total sales of coals last year from the 
 Pictou mines were 4G1,809 tons, of which 260,980 
 tons were consumed in the Dominion. 
 
TO CAPE BRETON. 71 
 
 NEW GLASGOW TO THE GIT OF CANSO. 
 
 This is the usual route to Cape Breton. A train 
 leaves New Glasgow on the arrival of the train from 
 Halifax. The country is uninteresting, and has been 
 only recently cleared. At Merigomish are mines of 
 coal and iron. Forty-one miles from New Glasgow is 
 
 Antigonish, a thriving town of 3,500 inhabitants, 
 nearly all Highland Scotch in nationality and Roman 
 Catholic in religion. Here the tourist may enjoy the 
 noveltv of healing sermons in Gaelic from the cathe- 
 
 V CD 
 
 dral pulpit. Many of the older people speak no other 
 language. Tall, strong people they are, and their vil- 
 lage is one of the prettiest in Eastern Nova Scotia. 
 The streets are clean and planted with shade-trees. 
 The houses are tidy and bright. This town is a 
 bishop's see, and all the saints who have it under 
 charge are good old Scotch saints, without any Saxon 
 mixture — St. Ninian, St. Columba and St, Margaret, 
 Queen of Scotland. The large college is named after 
 St. Francis Xavier, perhaps because the older saints 
 were not so strong in scholarship as in the more use- 
 ful arts of clearing up land and reducing a wilderness 
 to order and civilization. The countrv around is an 
 unfailing resort for hunting and fishing. The high 
 land of Antigonish Mountain gives it variety. The 
 harbour is shallow and at a distance from the village. 
 Cattle, butter and gypsum are exported from this 
 place. The road continues on through a thinly settled 
 country to 
 
 Tracadie, an Acadian French village, situated in a 
 fertile district. There is a monastery of lifty Trappist 
 monks here, who are expert farmers. At 39 miles 
 from Antigonish is 
 
 Mulgrave Wharf, on the Gut of Canso. Here is the 
 ferry to the Island of Cape Breton. 
 
72 ACADIA. 
 
 HALIFAX TO QUEBEC BY THE INTERCOLONIAL RAILWAY, 
 
 For nine miles aftor leaving Halifax the railway 
 skirts the shores of Bedford Basin. Completely land- 
 locked and hidden from any but the most careful 
 search it was, in old times, a noted haunt of bucca- 
 neers; and, to this day, it would not surprise any resi- 
 dent on its shores if Capt. Kidd's hidden treasure were 
 dug up. Th*8 treasure is in several other harbours 
 also on the coast. It is one of the myths cherished by 
 this otherwise practical people. At Bedford the road 
 turns inward to 
 
 Windsor Junction.— Here divei'ges the Windsor and 
 Annapolis Eailway. At 
 
 Shubenacadie, the river of that name is reached. In 
 the early days of Haliftix a canal was projected to 
 connect this river, which falls into the Basin of Minas, 
 with the Atlantic at Halifax. A very feasible scheme, 
 if the cost had been provided for, because of the many 
 intervening lakes ; but it fell through. To the east is 
 a broken countrj^ frequented by moose-hunters and 
 anglers. The road continues through a good farming 
 country, although from the cars it may seem rough, 
 until it reaches 
 
 Truro.— He^-e the branch for Pictou diverges. This 
 was an old Acadian settlement, and the dykes in the 
 meadows date from the French times. It is the centre 
 of a rich district, and possesses the attraction of being 
 an educational centre as well, for the Provincial, 
 Normal and Model schools are here. There are also 
 many manufactures carried on, and these, added to 
 the exceeding beauty of the site, make Truro the most 
 important place after Halifax in the province. The 
 town has a population of 3,463. It is situated at the 
 head of Cobequid Bay, a part of the Basin of Minas. 
 It is 62 miles from Halifax. 
 
THE INTERCOLONIAL. 73 
 
 After leaviner Truro the train beo'ins the ascent of 
 the Coboquid Mountains, following up the valley of 
 the Folly Iliver, which it crosses on a viaduct 600 feet 
 long and 82 feet above the river, until the summit is 
 reached at Folly Lake, 607 feet above the sea. At 
 
 Londonderry is a railway to the Acadia Iron Mines, 
 where are situated the works of the Canada Steel 
 Company, who have blast furnaces at work aud who 
 n^.anufacture pig-iron, bar-iron, sheet-iron and nail- 
 plates; also railway axles and wheels. There are 
 several varieties of ore found, but that worked is 
 chiefly limonite. From this point to 
 
 Folly Lake, or Folleigh (if thei-e is time to spell it so), 
 are the heaviest grades of the line. Long snow-sheds 
 testify to the severe winter storms upon the moun- 
 tains. The rock cuttings and the curves are numer- 
 ous, but many glimpses of picturesque scenery may be 
 had from the train. The Cobequid Mountains are 100 
 miles long and 10 miles wide. They rise to a height 
 of 1,100 feet. The train now descends the northern 
 slope. At 
 
 Springhill Junction branches off the road of the Cum- 
 berland Coal and Eailway Company to Parrsboro', on 
 the Basin of Minas. The mines are distant about 
 five miles from the Intercolonial Railway. Three 
 separate seams are being worked, and the present out- 
 put is 1,200 tons a day. In the year 1883 the total 
 output was 200,000 tons. The operations of the com- 
 pany have of late been largely extended. The three 
 seams now being worked are of 13 feet, 11 feet and 11 
 feet respectively. In a width of 1,018 feet there are 
 eight seams and an aggregate thickness of 62 feet of 
 good workable coal. The analysis of the 13-foot seam 
 is as follows : — Carbon, 78.51 ; hydrogen, 5*19 ; oxygen 
 and nitrogen, 5.98 ; sulphui*, 1*12 ; ash, 5*20. The coal 
 used on the Intercolonial Railway is from this mine. 
 
74 AC.M)IA. 
 
 The owners are enlarging the works so as to attain 
 an output of 2,000 tons a da3^ The area of the 
 Cumberland coal tleld is 300 squaj'c miles. 
 
 From thivS point an excursion can be made to visit 
 the celebrated Joggins section ol" the carboniferous 
 series of rocks. The railway runs from Springhill 
 Station to Parrsboro', on the ]3asin of Minas. There a 
 party could easily arrange for a steamer to go along 
 the coast, and the Intercolonial Eailway could be 
 reached again at Amherst without turning back upon 
 the route to (Quebec. 
 
 The South Jogg^.— Sir Charles Lyell says the finest 
 example in the world of a succession of fossil forests 
 of the Carboniferous period laid open to view on a 
 natural section, is that seen on the lofty clitfs called 
 the South Joggins, bordei'ing the Chiegnecto channel. 
 Sir Charles visited them twice. They are abundantly 
 illustrated in all his works and in Dr. Dawson's Aca- 
 dian Geology. There is a continuous exposed section 
 ten miles in length. Sir Charles counted nineteen 
 seams of coal and he saw seventeen trees in an upi'ight 
 position, chiefly Sigillariir, occurring at ten distinct 
 levels, one above the other. The usual height of the 
 trees was six to eight feet, but one trunk was twenty- 
 five feet high. The action of the tides exposes new 
 fossil trees from year to year and a continuous interest 
 thus attaches to the locality. The whole i^round is 
 classic to geological science ; and it would be as 
 unpardonable in a geologist to omit a visit to the 
 South Joggins as for an Egyptologist to go to Cairo 
 without seeing the Pyramids. 
 
 Parrsboro', the terminus of the branch road, is a 
 beautiful place. The scenery is most diversified. In 
 the i-ear is the bold mountain country and to the south 
 east is the Basin of Minas, bordered with beautiful 
 meadows, and set in a distant circle of hills. Opposite 
 is the bold ciitf of Cape Blomidon, the northern end of 
 
THE INTERCOLONIAL. 75 
 
 the barrier of trap rock which skirts the western shore 
 of Nova Scotia — columnar trap restinp^ on new red 
 sandstone, itself worth a visit. The bold points of 
 Cape Split and Cape d'Or are also visible — all con- 
 tributing to form in one locfility a total of geological 
 attractions unequalled in the woi'ld. 
 
 Eeturning to the Intercolonial route ; after leaving 
 Springhill the train passes one station and arrives at 
 
 Maccan.—From this point stages run to the Chieg- 
 necto coal mines and to the South Joggins. Travel- 
 lers who wish to visit these places may reach them 
 conveniently from this point. This is the usual point 
 of stoppage for that purpose when a party is not made 
 made up. Eight miles further is 
 
 Amherst— A flourishing town of 4,457 inhabitants, 
 depending upon a rich farming country for its trade. 
 The tourist who is fond of colonial history stops here 
 to visit the ruins of Fort Cumberland and trace out 
 the localities of many deeds of daring in the old days 
 of struggle in the French and Indian wars. 
 
 Five miles after leaving Amherst the train crosses 
 the little river 3Iissiguash, the boundary between 
 Nova Scotia and New Brunswick — a little stream very 
 important in old -^olonial history and about which the 
 French and English wrangled for thirty years. At 
 the ti-eaty of Utrecht, France ceded to England ^' that 
 all Nova Scotia or Acadia comprehended within its 
 ancient boundaries." The English expected and 
 claimed L'Acrdie as known in the French maps and . 
 books ; but the Fj-ench insisted that the peninsula of 
 Nova Scotia alone was meant, and claimed this little 
 river as the boundary of Canada. Commissioners had 
 been appointed, under the treaty, to settle these 
 boundary questions ; but the}^ did nothing but pro- 
 duce documents and write memoirs, and, at last, in 
 1750, M. de la Jonquiere, the new Governor of Cana- 
 da, sent down the Chevalier de la Corne with a 
 
*76 ACADIA. 
 
 detachment who ai'rived in time to prevent fj-om 
 landing Major Lawrence, who had been sent with a 
 detachment to occupy the head of the Bay. La Come 
 informed Lawrence that the Missiguash was the 
 boundary, and, as war had not been declared, Law- 
 rence landed south of the river and subsequently Fort 
 Lawrence was built by him at the village of Beau- 
 bassin. The Abb^ Laloutre, who was the evil genius 
 of the Acadians, set tire to the church as the English 
 entered the village. He had comedown on his errand 
 of mischief to lead the Acadians to their ruin, and he 
 took this measure to force them to abandon their lands 
 on the English side. La Corne erected Fort Beau- 
 s^jour on his side and from that point as a centre, 
 regardless of the reproaches of the Bishop of Quebec, 
 the insubordinate and unscrupulous Laloutre car- 
 ried on his political plots until he brought upon the 
 Acadians their cruel fate. The ruins of these forts 
 still exist. Fort Beausejour was an important work, 
 built for a garrison of 800 men and armed with 30 
 guns. The French had a continuous chain of forr^ 
 from here to the St, John river. The English main- 
 tained a garrison of 600 men at fort Lawrence until 
 1755, when they captured Fort Beausejour. A few 
 miles further on, the railway crosses a wide extent of 
 rich marsh-land which, fertilized by the muddy tides 
 of the Bay, produces enormous crops of hay. The first 
 important station in iS"ew Brunswick is 
 
 Sackville.— This is a town of 4,882 inhabitants. Mount 
 Alison College, a Wesleyan institution, with 200 stu- 
 dents, is one of the most important educational estab- 
 lishments in the Province. Near here will be the 
 outlet of the Bay Yerte Canal, projected only as yet, 
 to unite the Bay of Fundy with the Gulf of St. Law- 
 rence. When it is remembered that the tides in the 
 Gulf are ordinary ocean tides while those of the Bay 
 rise sixty feet, the difficulty of the undertaking will 
 suggest itself. A railway to Cape Tormentine, to con- 
 
THE INTERCOLONIAL. 77 
 
 nect with a short ferry across Northumberland Straits, 
 is nearly completed. The next station is Dorchester, 
 an important town. Then follows 
 
 Memramcook— containing the large Eoman Catholic 
 College of St. Joseph, with 100 students, among a 
 flourishing population of over 1,000 Acadian French. 
 The next station is 
 
 Painsec Junction.— From here the tourist may go to 
 St. John, to Quebec, or to Shediac. At Shediac the 
 Gulf Ports steamers call, connecting with Pictou, N» 
 S., with Miramichi and the Ba}^ Chaleur ports, and 
 with Quebec. There is also a daily steamer to Prince 
 Edward Island. The next station is 
 
 Moncton. — This is the centre of the Intercolonial 
 Eailway system. It contains 5,032 inhabitants. A 
 sugar refinery and a cotton mill with other factories 
 are located here. These and the machine-shoi^s of the 
 railway are the life of the town. This is the place to 
 witness the great tidal wave of the Bay of Fundy. At 
 low tide nothing can be less interesting than the wide 
 expanse of slippery red mud with a little stream 
 trickling down, far off in the middle, which marks 
 the bed of the Petitcodiac river. The tide comes in 
 with a "bore," six feet high, and speedily rises to 
 a height of seventy feet. Then, when the water comes, 
 and the vessels which were lying over on their sides 
 are straightened up and the banks are full, the river is 
 a pretty sight enough ; although one is always afraid 
 that the water will suddenly run away again. 
 
 The tides of the Bay of Fundy are very remarkable. 
 The tidal wave sweeping along the American coast to 
 the north-east is caught in the broad funnel-shaped 
 entrance to the Bay and compressed. As the opposite 
 coasts draw together it increases in height and speed 
 all the way up to the remotest points of Chignecta 
 and Cobequid Bays. It attains a speed of six milesan 
 
78 ACADIA. 
 
 hour and a height of seventy feet. Into the narrows 
 of the estuaries it rushes with a " bore *' or foaming 
 wave sweeping along with it a flood turbid with red 
 mud. 
 
 From Moncton the road passes through a very unin- 
 teresting country until the Miramichi is reached. The 
 coast is low and although hirge streams are crossed 
 the road has been taken well inland to avoid bridging 
 them at their estuaries. The T^iehibucto is an import- 
 ant river with a flourishing town at its mouth. The 
 settlements are all upon the shore, and, although the 
 land is good, the country from the train seems unin- 
 viting. Land requires to be more than good to tempt 
 a New Brunswicker away from the charms of ships 
 and saw-logs. They are a maritime people and love 
 the water, of the sea first, and, failing that, of the 
 rivers. At Chatham Junction there is a branch road 
 to Chatham, but the main line goes to Newcastle, 
 where it crosses the 
 
 Miramichi River, for there is no town or place called 
 by this euphonious name. Miramichi is a generic 
 name for the settlements upon the river. The road 
 crosses the river above the forks. The length of each 
 bridge is 1,200 feet. After crossing the north-west 
 branch, the road turns ofl" the main line by a siding 
 into Newcastle. The two chief towns on the river are 
 Newcastle and Chatham, between which a very active 
 rivalry exists. Newcastle is a town of 4,209 inhabi- 
 tants, it is at the head of deep water navigation. 
 Chatham is the older settlement, it is on the opposite 
 (south) side of the river six miles lower down. It has 
 a population of 5,672. The business carried on is the 
 same at all the towns of this coast. Lumbering, ship- 
 building and fishing. Canning lobsters and salmon is 
 an important industry. 
 
 The Miramichi River is 225 miles long. It falls into 
 a wide bay — a very favourite fishing ground. The 
 low coast extends out in spits of sandy soil, densely 
 
THE INTERCOLONIAL. Y9 
 
 wooded. It was at Miraniichi Bay that Jacques 
 Cartier first landed on Canadian soil, and the locality 
 was a favourite one in early French times. In 
 1642 Basques were settled on the river, but they quar- 
 relled with the Indians and were succeeded by French. 
 An extensive concession was granted there to Nicho- 
 las Denys, Governor of Acadia, and he had his chief 
 post on the Miramichi, with forts at Miscou and on 
 the Gut of Canseau. The first establishment at 
 Miscou was made in 1610. 
 
 This region became celebrated b}' the immense fire 
 which raged over it in 1825. Newcastle was destroyed 
 and a large number of the inhabitants ruined. Above 
 200 j)ersons were supposed to have perished in the 
 flames. Such a fire was never known befoi'e nor since. 
 Over 8,000 square miles of forest were destroyed and 
 $1,000,000 worth of property. The fire swept rapidl}^ 
 on, cracking and roaring along a blazing line of one 
 hundred miles front. Many ran to the river and 
 plunged to the neck in the water. Others sought 
 refuge on rafts and logs. The roaring of the flames 
 — the sci'earas of the perishing — the cries of the ani- 
 mals — the volumes of smoke and sparks contributed 
 to make up a scene of horror which no eye-witness 
 could ever forget. The lumber from this region was 
 exceedingly good. Masts and spars for the Eoyal 
 Navy were exported thence in large numbers. 
 
 Chatham is the seat of a Eoman Catholic bishop, and 
 a large pile of ecclesiastical buildings form a leading 
 feature of the to^wn. 
 
 The Miramichi is the gateway to the sportsman's 
 paradise — the forest wilderness of New Brunswick. 
 From the fringe of settlement on the coast to the St. 
 John River extends an immense unsettled territory 
 permeated with streams and lakes, and everywhere, 
 by short portages, accessible to light birch canoes. 
 Beaver, moose, cariboo, lynx, sable, mink and bears 
 inhabit this primitive wilderness, and the streams are 
 
80 ACADIA. 
 
 full of fish and abound with salmon in their season. 
 The land in the valleys, when cleared, is exceedingly 
 good farming land. 
 
 After passing three stations the train arrives "at 
 
 Bathurst, a flourishing town of 4,806 inhabitants, 
 formerly called Xepisiguit, a name still borne by one 
 of the four streams which fall into the basin. This 
 place was first settled by a Basque named Enault, who 
 married an Indian woman, but, after clearing the land 
 and raising cattle and starting a fishing and lumber- 
 ing establishment, he was impolitic enough to have a 
 misunderstanding with the lady's brother, who toma- 
 hawked him incontinently. There is a good business 
 done at Bathurst, and the farmers around it are pros- 
 perous. The great falls of the Nepiseguit, 105 feet 
 high, are distant 25 miles. This is a good place for 
 boating, for bathing and for fishing. Altogether the 
 most desirable spot for summer sport along the coast. 
 
 Miscou Island, the extreme north part of the province, 
 was much dreaded in the adventurous old days before 
 science exploded all the monsters, because of a female 
 demon who resided there, up to whose waist the mast 
 of a ship would scarcely reach, and who would pocket 
 a stray Jndian or Fi^enchman for an occasional meal ; 
 besides rendering the place unpleasant with terrific 
 roaring. Is it not so written in the books of the early 
 voyagers ? 
 
 But a demon worse than the Scylla of Miscou lurks 
 not far from here on the desolate sandy shore of Tra- 
 cadie — a demon who baffles the power of nineteenth 
 century science — 
 
 " The nightmare life in death is she 
 That thicks men's blood with cold " — 
 
 the demon of leprosy — the true leprosy of the white 
 shining spot and decaying limbs. Its origin is 
 obscui-e, but it would seem to have originated about 
 
THE LEPERS. 81 
 
 1758 when a Fi'ench vessel, which had been in the 
 Levant trade, was stranded near the Miramichi. The 
 sailors were hospitably treated by the poor lishermen, 
 and shortly after this dreadful plague appeared. 
 Many died, and the people fled to other places along 
 the coast. In process of time the disease appeared at 
 Caraquet, Tracadie and elsewhere, until, in 1817, the 
 death of 3Iarie Landry drew the attention of the 
 government to the subject. But it was not until 1844 
 that a law was enacted under which all the unfortu- 
 nate lepers were collected at one place, Sheldrake 
 Island, at the mouth of the Miramichi. From thence 
 the establishment was moved to Ti-acadie. Everyone 
 found touched with this fell disease was sent there. 
 Forcibly separated from house and home, from parent, 
 wife, or child, what horrible anguish must have torn 
 many a heart on joining that loathsome band of 
 human beings in the lazaretto ! And for many years 
 they were uncared for — objects of teiTor to their 
 fellow creatures — separated and accursed. At last, in 
 1858, application was made to the nuns of the Hotel- 
 Dieu of Montreal. True spiritual daughters of Jeanne 
 Mance, these devoted women feared nothing and 
 shrank from nothing. They took charge of these 
 poor desolate souls, they brought order and cleanli- 
 ness into the lazaretto, they separated the sexes, they 
 washed the bandages, they dressed the dropping limbs, 
 and kindly and patiently, without a shudder of disgust, 
 they still labour to solace these weary souls with the 
 consolations of religion as well as by the kind offices 
 of the hospital. The lazaretto is under the care of a 
 superioress and eight nuns. A visitor in 1873 counted 
 23 patients, and it is beyond doubt that the disease is 
 disappearing. All the innrates are French, and no 
 doubt the practice of continually marrying " in and 
 in," necessary in such small and separated commu- 
 nities, would intensify any disease which happened 
 to take root among them. 
 
 At Bathurst the traveller comes out upon the Bale 
 6 
 
82 ACADIA. 
 
 des Chaleurs, so callcfi by Jacques Cartier on account 
 of the excessive heat he experienced there. The i oad 
 now runs along the bay, which is 100 miles long, with 
 a breadth of 20 to 30 miles. 
 
 Leaving Bathurst, the train crosses several large 
 streams and passes five stations until it reaches 
 
 Dalhousie, a beautiful town of 2,353 inhabitants, 
 situated on a commanding point overlooking the 
 estuary of the Eestigouche Eiver. The harbour is 
 excellent. It was in this estuary that Admiral B>Ton, 
 in ITGO, destroyed the French squadron which came 
 out too late to relieve Quebec. The next station is 
 
 Campbellton, on the Eestigouche Eiver. Here the 
 traveller will take leave of Kew Brunswick, for that 
 river is the boundary of the Province of Quebec. It 
 is the head of navigation on the Bay Chaleur, and 
 here the steamers call from Quebec, Gaspe and the 
 Bay Chaleur poi-ts. It is very central for shooting 
 excursions, is near many important salmon rivers, 
 and is pleasant for driving or boating, or sailing or 
 bathing. In short, it is a delightful summer resort, 
 in proximity to much beautiful scenery. 
 
 Leaving Campbellton the train follows up the Ees- 
 tigouche until opposite the mouth of the Metajiedia, 
 when it crosses to follow the valley of the latter in its 
 course through the mountains. The Eestigouche is a 
 noble stream, broad and deep — famous for salmon ; 
 draining an area of 6,000 square miles, with bold 
 shores, and navigable for 130 miles further. It is 
 crossed by a skew bridge over 1,000 feet long. The 
 scenery at the junction of the river is very pretty. 
 After crossing the bridge the train arrives at 
 
 Metapedia Station.— This is headquarters for salmon. 
 Here is ''Fi^aser's." What salmon-Usher has not heard 
 of it ? And there are pools belonging to that great 
 institution where guests, who cannot afford to lease a 
 
METAPEDIA. 83 
 
 whole river, may try their luck. The road follows up 
 the valley of the Metapedia to the summit of the 
 divide of the St. Lawrence. Several streams fall into 
 the Metapedia, notably the Assametquaghan and the 
 Oausapscal, and, as Fluellen would say, " there a?*e sal- 
 mons in all " — for was it not at the mouth of the latter 
 euphoniously named i-iver where H.R.H. the Princess 
 Louise caught the 40-lb. salmon ? No doubt the dinner 
 earned that day by the quick eye and steady hand of 
 the Royal lady surpassed the sumptuous feasts of 
 Kensington Palace, for camping out in the clear 
 mountain air, and exercise, and pretty scenery give a 
 sauce not to be had from Crosse & Blackwell. Here 
 also abideth the mosquito, no respecter of persons, a 
 creature whose providential function it is to dwell at 
 such places and become the one sole cause why the 
 better-disposed Americans do not take to the woods 
 permanently. The raismi d'etre of this mean sneak of 
 a fly is to drive mankind into the thorny paths of 
 civilization. The winding river, with its hundreds of 
 rapids and falls ; the beauty of the placid lake, which 
 is its source near the summit ; the abundance of fish ; 
 and the wildness of the scenery make this region a 
 very paradise even if it be not quite cleared up. After 
 leaving the banks of Lake Metapedia the road still 
 rises until Lake Malfait is reached, which is at the 
 summit, *750 feet above the St. Lawrence. Then the 
 traveller will begin to see spread out before him the 
 sea-like expanses of the River St. Lawrence, his ears 
 will thenceforth be greeted with the sound of the 
 French tongue, and the names of the stations will com- 
 memorate so many Saints that the Acta Sanctorum of 
 the Bollandists in 54 volumes folio, with the continua- 
 tion to date, would be required to enlighten an in- 
 quisitive stranger as to their merits. 
 
 The remaining stations of the road, until Quebec is 
 reached, will be noticed in another place in the des- 
 cription of the Lower St. Lawrence. 
 
84 ACADIA. 
 
 Principal Dawson has prepared the following geo- 
 logical itinerary of the whole route. 
 
 NOTES ON THE GEOLOGY OF THE COUNTRY FROM 
 HALIFAX TO 3IONTRE.4L. 
 
 At Halifax the geologist lands on the quartzites and 
 slates of the Coast series or Gold series of Nova Scotia, 
 believed to be of Lower Cambrian age. In the vici- 
 nity of Halifax it contains auriferous quartz mines, 
 which are situated at Montagu and Waverley. At 
 North AYest Arm and other places may be seen gra- 
 nite, which traverses these beds as chick dykes or 
 intrusive masses, and produces contac : metamorphism. 
 At Waverley Mine, the obscure fossils named Astropo- 
 lithon may be found in the quartzite. 
 
 At Windsor Junction, the branch to that j^lace di- 
 verges (about forty miles). Windsor has excellent 
 exposui-es of the fossiliferous Lower Carboniferous 
 limestones, and of the great beds of gypsum, char- 
 acteristic of that formation in Nova Scotia. 
 
 Beyond Gay's Elver, the railway enters into the 
 carboniferous country, and in some places quarries in 
 the Lower Carboniferous limestone may be seen near 
 the road. 
 
 At and beyond Truro the railway traverses a por- 
 tion of the Triassic red sandstone of Cobequid Bay. 
 The sandstone may be seen in the cuttings, and the 
 red colour of the soil is characteristic. 
 
 In approaching the Cobequid Hills, a more broken 
 countiy and beds of grey sandstone and conglomerate 
 indicate the Carboniferous beds, which here reappear 
 from under the red sandstone. 
 
 At Londonderry Station the road enters on a belt 
 of highly inclined slates of olive-grey and dark col- 
 ours, which, at a little distance west of the line of 
 railway, contain the large and productive veins of iron 
 ore worked by the Steel Company of Canada. This 
 vein or aggregation of veins is primarily of car- 
 
GEOLOGY. 85 
 
 bonate of iron and ankerite, with some specular iron, 
 but has been changed in many pLaces to a great depth 
 into limonite, which is the ore principally worked. 
 
 Beyond this place the slates are seen to l)e pierced 
 by great intrusive masses of red syenite and by dykes 
 of diorite and diabase. At Wentworth Station these 
 rocks are overlaid by dark-coloured shaly beds, holding 
 fossils of the age of the Clinton or older part of the 
 Upper Silui'ian. The grey slates holding the iron ore 
 are obviously of greater age than this, but how much 
 greater is uncertain. For reasons stated in "Acadian 
 Geology," they are regarded by Dr. Dawson as Lower 
 Silurian. 
 
 Crossing the Colxequid Hills, conglomerates are seen 
 belonging to the southern edge of the Cumberland 
 coal-tield, on which the road now enters. At Spring- 
 hill Station is a branch road leading to the mines of 
 that name, the most important coal mines on the line 
 of this railway. 
 
 At Maccan Station conveyances may be had to the 
 celebrated South Joggins section, on the shore of 
 Chiegnecto Bay, about 12 miles distant. To see this 
 satisfactorily, the geologist should lodge at the Joggins 
 Mines and spend two or three days on the shore. 
 Details of the section will be found in "Acadian 
 Geology." 
 
 From Maccan Station to Moncton the railwa}^ passes 
 over carboniferous rocks, mostly of the lower members 
 of that series. Near Dorchester there aj-e good sec- 
 tions of the Millstone Grit formation, and at the Albert 
 Mines, Hillsboro', the remarkable bituminous shales of 
 the Lower Carboniferous, holding albertite and remains 
 of fishes. This part of the railway also passes over 
 some fine examples of the alluvial deposits of the Bay 
 of Fundy, more especially the great marshes of Amherst 
 and Sackville. 
 
 At Moncton, the railways from St. John on the one 
 hand ar^"" ^hediacon the other join the main line. By 
 the fir t + e traveller may visit the Huronian, Cam- 
 
80 ACADIA. 
 
 bri«an and Devonian loeks of St. John, and by the 
 second and steamers from Pointe du Chene, may reach 
 the Permian and Triassic rocks of Prince Edward 
 Island. 
 
 From Moncton to near Bathurst the railway passes 
 over the low Carboniferous plain of Northern New 
 Brunswick, showing scarcely anything of the under- 
 lying rocks. 
 
 Beyond Bathurst is the varied and interesting 
 country of the Baie des Chaleurs and the Eestigouche 
 and Metapedia Rivers, of which it is possible only to 
 note some of the more interesting features. 
 
 By stopping over at Dalhousie or Campbellton, or 
 at the one place and proceeding to the other, the fol- 
 lowing localities may be visited : — At Cape Bon Ami, 
 near Dalhousie, is a tine section of Upper Silurian 
 shale and limestone, abounding in fossils, and alter- 
 nating with very thick beds of dark-coloured dolerite. 
 Apparently resting on these are beds of red porphyry 
 and breccia, forming the base of the Erian or Devonian 
 beds. On these, a little west of Campbellton, rest 
 agglomerate and shale, rich in remains of fishes 
 (Cephalaspis, Coccostevs, etc.,) and traversed by dykes 
 of trap. Immediately above these are conglomerates 
 and dark, hard shales, the latter full of remains of 
 Psilophyton and Arthrostigma, — and at a sandstone 
 quarry on the opposite side of the Eestigouche are 
 similar plants and great silicified trunks of Prototaxites. 
 All these beds are Low^er Erian. 
 
 At Scaumenac Bay, opposite Dalhousie, are magni- 
 ficent clitfs of red conglomerate of the Lower Car- 
 boniferous, and, appearing from under these, are grey 
 sandstones and shales of Upper Erian age. They 
 contain many fossil fishes, especially of the genus 
 Pterichthys, and also fossil ferns of the genera Archce- 
 opteris and Cyclopiem and of species characteristic 
 elsewhere of the Upper Erian. 
 
 Beyond Campbellton and on the Metapedia River, 
 the rocks exposed are principally slates or shales 
 
GEOLOGY. 87 
 
 witli marked slaty structure, and of Upper Silurian 
 age. Fine exposures of these are seen in the cuttings 
 on the Meta])edia. Fossils occur in calcareous bands 
 associated with these slates. 
 
 Passing Lake Metapedia, at tlie head of the river of 
 that name, the railway cuts through s«)me limestone, 
 pj'obably of Hudson Eiver age, and then passes into 
 Lower Silurian, and probably in part Cambrian, shales, 
 sandstones and conglomerates, of which the greater 
 part are referred to the Quebec grouj). Crossing over 
 these, the raihvay passes at a high level from the val- 
 ley of the Metapedia to the River St. Lawrence, here 
 30 miles wide, and which breaks upon the view sud- 
 denly after leaving the Metis Station, the cuttings 
 near which are in slates of the Quebec group. From 
 this point the raihvay follows the strike of the 
 Quebec group all the w^ay to Levis, opposite Quebec. 
 
 On this line the conglomerates near Bic are espe- 
 cially worthy of notice, and are well seen in the cut- 
 tings. At Levis there are cuttings for a new connect- 
 ing line of road near the village of Levis, and about a 
 mile from the railway station, which expose some of 
 the beds holding GraptoUtes. The citadel of Quebec 
 affords a fine exposure of the Quebec group rocks, 
 though w^ithout fossils, and a traveller who can stay 
 over will find instructive sections at the Island of 
 Orleans. 
 
 The Falls of Montmorenci, near Quebec, are of great 
 beauty, and show in the gorges Utica shale resting on 
 Laurentian gneiss, which at the Natural Sc'^2)s above 
 the falls is overlaid by Trenton limestone. 
 
 Half way betw^een the city and the falls, at u mill in 
 the village of Eeauport, is a bank of shining boulder 
 clay, overlaid by fossiliferous sand and gravel (Saxi- 
 cava sand) rich in Saxicava rugosa and other shells. 
 Clays with a somewhat richer fauna (Upper Leda 
 Clay) occur in the bank of a brook a little farther 
 from the I'oad to the north. 
 
 From Quebec to Montreal, both the Grand Trunk 
 
88 APADIA. 
 
 Eailway and tho Xorlh Shore Railway pass for tho 
 most part over a flat Lower Silurian country, with no 
 exposures of importance. But the traveller w^ho 
 ascends the river by steamboat ma}' see, after leaving 
 Quebec, tine sections of the Quebec group, overlai<l by 
 Trenton limestone and this by Utica shale, whicli in 
 many ])laccs forms high banks overlooking the river. 
 
 J. W. D. 
 
 CAPE BRETON 
 
 This island has been the subject of many discussions 
 among the historians of America (Amei'icanists as 
 the}^ are sometimes called) because, if we ai'e to give 
 credit to a map, dated 1544, and stated to have ])een 
 compiled by Sebastian Cabot, it was upon this island 
 that Cabot landed in 1407. The land first sighted was 
 called by Cabot '"PrimavLsta/' and a lai-ge island near 
 it he called St. John. This latter, by the same map, 
 is identified easily as Piince Edward Island ; while 
 Primavista is Cape North, the most easterl}' point of 
 Cape Breton Island— a veiy probable land-fall. It is 
 difficult however, on a candi '. consideration of all the 
 circumstances, to give full credence to this map; for 
 it was engraved and published in Germany, away 
 from the supervision of Cabot, who was then resident 
 at Seville in Spain, and, moreover, it contains all the 
 discoveries of Jacques Cartier and other navigators 
 down to the date it bears. It is beyond doubt that 
 it was drawn nearly fifty yeais after the discovery 
 in question, and therefore, has not the authority of a 
 contemporaneous map. Moreover, the time stated in 
 Cabot's nai-rative as taken up in sailing from Prima- 
 vista to St. John's Island is too short for the distance. 
 We are, therefore, compelled to relinquish to New- 
 foundland the honour of priority of discovery, and to 
 acquiesce in the commonly received theory that Bona- 
 yista is the Primavista of Cabot, and that, in the 
 island near it still bearing the name Bacalieu, we 
 
CAPE BHKTON. 89 
 
 have a survival of the Baccalaos Island of the nana- 
 tivo. It is, howcv^cr, voiy j)Ossihlo, as others main- 
 tain, that Cabot sighted Labrador first and that Belle- 
 isle is the island he named 8t. John. But, be this as 
 it may, Cabot sailed alon<^ the whole coast from 5G^ 
 to North Carolina,* and upon this voyaij^c the English 
 in after years rested their title , altliough, at the 
 time, they left it to Italian and Spanish writers to 
 record the results of his voyage. The careful clerks 
 of that day preserved a ^opy of the King's commission 
 to Cabot, but we are left to gather the important facts 
 of his voj'age from other sources, and from a manu- 
 script preserved at Bi'istol we learn that the tirst 
 recorded J]uropean ship which touched the mainland 
 of America w^as the Matthew, from Bristol, and 
 manned by Bristol men. 
 
 As stated elsewhere, close in the wake of Cabot, if 
 not indeed before him, came the French of Dieppe and 
 St. Malo and the French and Spanish Basques. These 
 latter named the island by the name it still bears after 
 Cap Breton, near Bayonne, in their own country ; for 
 they seem to have preceded the French on these 
 coasts. Their names clung to the best fishing locali- 
 ties. Sydney Harbour w^as called Baye des Espagnols, 
 Grande Anse on the west coast Anse aux Basques, 
 Cape Dauphin was Pointe des Basques. On the 
 Labrador coast Bradore Bay was Baye des Espagnols, 
 and Bay Chaleur was called Baye des Espagnols on 
 the old maps. Port-au-Basque, in New-found land, is a 
 great submarine cable station, and far up the St. Law- 
 rence, past Tadousac, the name L'Echafaud-aux- 
 Basques marks the place where they cured fish and 
 boiled whale's biubber before Champlain's time. 
 
 All through the succeeding century French, Spa- 
 ish, Portuguese and English fishermen visited Cape 
 Breton, and used its harbours in summer. Strange to 
 say, it was a neutral ground, no matter what wars 
 were going on in Eui'ope. The Fi-ench preferred St. 
 Anne's Bay; the English Louisbourg, which Charle- 
 
90 ACADIA. 
 
 voix calls Ilavre-aux- Anglais in his map, and the Spa- 
 niards, Sydney or Baye des Espagnols. About 1629-34 
 attempts at a French settlement were made without 
 permanent success at St. Anne's Bay. Nicholas 
 Denys, Sieur de Fronsac, was the first to settle on the 
 island. He established a fort at St. Anne's and 
 another at St. Peter's, thus commanding the whole 
 island by means of the Bras d'Or Lake. He was made 
 governor of the whole country up to Cape Rosier, at 
 the mouth of the St. Lawrence, including the islands 
 in the Gulf He had forts also at Chedabuctou, on the 
 Gut of Canseau, and at Miscou, at the mouth of Bay 
 Chaleurs. He worked the coal beds at Sydney as 
 early as 1677. He was a man of great intelligence 
 and enterprise, and a firm believer in the country, in 
 which he said " one could live as well as in France." 
 
 Denys' forts were destroyed by jealous rivals and 
 his concession revoked. Little is heard of Cape Bre- 
 ton until 1711, when an enormous English fleet, under 
 Sir Hovenden Walker, was sent out to attack Quebec, 
 but was shattered by a storm and reassembled at 
 Sydney Harbour. The sole feat which the admiral 
 accomplished was the nailing up of a board on a tree 
 with an inscription painted thereon in Latin to the 
 effect that he took possession of the island in the name 
 of Queen Anne In 1713, after the Treaty of L^trecht, 
 the history of the island truly begins, for then it was 
 confirmed to France with the right to fortify it. The 
 English possessed Newfoundland and Nova Scotia, 
 but Fj-ance resolved upon making a Gibraltar in the 
 West, for Cape Breton was the gateway to Canada. 
 
 After some hesitation, the French Government 
 decided upon Havre-aux-Anglais as the location of 
 their fortress, and changed its name to Louisbourg. 
 The name of the island was also changed to Isle Eoy- 
 ale. In 1720 the engineeis commenced to build the 
 fortifications, and the population of the town grew 
 rapidly. The artificers and military thronged the 
 place: the officers got concessions and started fish- 
 
CAPE BRETON. 91 
 
 eries: many Acadians from Nova Scotia removed, and 
 all the French from Placentia, in Newfoundland, 
 settled there : the French Navy rendezvoused there : 
 the Boston merchants traded there in open defiance of 
 the Navigation laws, and Louisbourg soon became a 
 power and a name in the western seas. Not only on 
 the seas. The French had the most unbounded con- 
 trol of the Indian tribes from the Penobscot to Quebec. 
 Through their Indian allies the colonization of Nova 
 Scotia was prevented and the back settlements of 
 Massachusetts terrorised, while the seaports of the 
 same province were furnishing materials and supplies 
 to the erection of the threatening fortress. 
 
 In 1744 war broke out between France and Eng- 
 land, and the colonists began to feel the thorn which 
 had been planted in their sides. Louisbourg had 
 grown into a fortified place of the first order. No 
 other fortress in the New World, not even Quebec, 
 had attained such strength. But the French nation 
 was not then what it had been. There were dissen- 
 sions in the garrison — the servants of the King were 
 more concerned in making fortunes for themselves 
 than in the public welfare, and Bigot, the evil genius 
 of the French in America, had his grasp, as Eoyal 
 Intendant at Quebec, upon the resources of Canada. 
 
 The outbreak of the war drove all the New England 
 fishermen btf the seas, and Governoj* Shirley, of Massa- 
 chusetts, saw the way open to cany out a scheme he had 
 long meditated — the capture of Louisbouig. It was a 
 daring project for a commercial community to mea- 
 sure swords with the French monarchy, and, alone 
 and unassisted, to attack the stronghold of French 
 military power. These were the men whom thirty 
 years later the Earl of Sandwich in the House of 
 Lords called '* i-aw, undisciplined and coivardlyJ' 
 They were men familiar with danger in every form, 
 excepting in the form they were preparing to encount- 
 er. The rocky shores and stormy seas of Northern 
 America were not likely places to breed cowards — 
 
92 ACADIA. 
 
 nor were men likely to be cowards who all their lives 
 had been accustomed to seize the rifle, which stood 
 ready loaded behind each settler's door, at the sound 
 of the Indian war-whoop which curdled the blood of a 
 soldier accustomed only to the clang and fanftironade 
 of regular warfare. This enterprise was colonial : 
 planned in colonial councils : officered by colonial 
 officers : commanded by a colonial genei'al, with a 
 colonial commissai'iat, and paid for with colonial 
 money. Ten regiments were raised in Massachusetts, 
 Connecticut and New Hampshire ; and the expedition 
 consisting of 4,300 men started from Xantasket Roads 
 in ninety transpoi-ts. William Pepperell, a merchant 
 of Kittery in 'New Hampshire, was commander. He 
 was a man of wealth, amassed by trading and in the 
 fisheries, a militia colonel, close on fifty years of age, 
 with large enterprises on hand, which he cheerfully 
 left at the request of his province. A naval force of 
 14 vessels, carrying 200 guns, all provincial, was 
 sent with the expedition. As soon as the expedition 
 had been sanctioned by the legislature Shii-ley sent to 
 ask the co-oj^eration of the British squadron in the 
 West Indies ; but Commodore Warren called a council 
 of officers, which decided that no assistance could be 
 given without orders from the Admiralty. This news 
 arrived just as the expedition was sailing. Fortun- 
 ately, while it was delayed at Canso waiting for the 
 ice to clear ofl:' the coast, orders did arrive from the 
 Admiralty, and Admiral Warren's squadron co- 
 operated in the attack. 
 
 The siege lasted seven weeks. It was well for the 
 provincial army that the British fleet co-operated, for 
 one or two French men of- war would have destroyed 
 the colonial flotilla. When the colonists, after the 
 surrender, saw the strength of the place from the 
 inside, they wondered at their success. They had to 
 garrison it until the next year, when two royal regi- 
 ments arrived from Gibraltar, and Pepperell (who had 
 become Sir William Pepperell) went back to his storo 
 
CArE BRETON. 93 
 
 at Kittery. From thenee his grandson was driven into 
 exile by the ''Sons of Liberty" at the Eevolution, 
 and the great estates of the family were confiscated. 
 His other descendants fell into poverty and distress. 
 
 The surrender of Louisbourg to a provincial expedi- 
 tion wounded the French Government deeply, and an 
 expedition was sent out consisting of eleven ships of 
 the line, thirty frigates and thirty transports with 
 3,150 soldiers. To the defeat of this armament every 
 force in Natui*e seemed to contribute. Yet it was full 
 of promise. The Acadians were disaffected : the 
 Indians hostile to the English and a large force from 
 Canada was to co-operate: Louisbourg was to be 
 retaken, Acadia reconquered and Boston destroyed. 
 !N^ot even the Spanish armada met with such reverses. 
 The fleet was dispersed by violent storms. Some of 
 the transports were wrecked on Sable Island ; others 
 were driven to the West Indies. The place of rendez- 
 vous was Chebucto, now Halifax, and as the shattered 
 expeditionary forces bes^an to assemble the Due 
 d'Anville, the • commander, was struck down with 
 apoplexy. During the long voyage fever had broken 
 out, and 1,200 men had died on the passage. It raged 
 among the fleet assembled at Chebucto. The shores 
 of Bedford Basin were lined with hospital tents. The 
 vice-admiral ran himself through with his sword in the 
 delirium of fever. The returning vessels were again 
 scattered by storms, and many fell into the hands of 
 the English. 
 
 To the amazement of the colonists, Louisbourg was 
 given back to tfee Fi-ench crown at the peace of Aix- 
 la-Chapelle. The French arrived in 1Y49, and at once 
 began to strengthen the defences in every way. The 
 island again became a centre of agitation and disturb- 
 ance for Acadia, and much of its history has been 
 related elsewhere. The peace was a hollow one, and 
 in 1756 war broke out again. Halifax became, in 
 1758, the rendezvous of an expedition greater and far 
 more fortunate than that of d'Anville. The names of 
 
94 ACADIA. 
 
 Amherst and Wolfe now appear first in American 
 annals. The particulars of the siege are related in all 
 the histories. Louisbourg fell once more; after a long 
 siege and a gallant defence. Here Wolfe distin- 
 guished himself, gained the rank of major-general and 
 won the distinction, fatal to himself though glorious 
 to his country, of being appointed to command the 
 army which conquered at Quebec in the folk wing year. 
 The history of Cape Breton henceforth loser> its 
 interest. For a time it was a separate government, 
 then it was united to the Province of Nova Scotia. 
 Louisbourg was dismantled, the fortifications were 
 blown up, and now it is easy to trace their contour 
 among the grassy mounds of its deserted site. Yet, 
 as the harbour of Louisbourg is the only one in the 
 island which does not freeze in winter, upon the com- 
 pletion of the new short line to Europe this Carthage 
 of Canadian history may once more, under the rule of 
 the children of both the combatants, wake up to a life 
 of nobler enterprise and to a career of success in the 
 peaceful rivalry of commerce. 
 
 Area.— The Island of Cape Breton is 110 miles long 
 by 80 in breadth. It extends over an ai-ea of 4,375 
 square miles. Not only is it indented by manj^ har- 
 bours on its extej'ior coast, but it is penetrated 
 throughout by the sea, which forms a beautiful sheet 
 of water in the heart of the island covering an area of 
 450 square miles. The country is exceedingly diver- 
 sified. The Bras d'Or divides it into two parts; of 
 v^hich that to the north is largely composed of a 
 table land 1,000 feet in height, with bold cliffs steep 
 •down to the sea. This table land, of 1,100 square 
 miles in extent, is unsurveyed and unexplored, save 
 by the sportsmen who follow the moose ani caribou 
 which abound therein. The southern coast is lov^', 
 rising towards the interior. Fi-om Scatari to the 
 western table land the coast is a little bolder, but the 
 -cliffs do not anywhere rise higher than 100 feet. 
 
CAPE BRETON. 95 
 
 About one-half of the area of Cape Breton is fit for 
 cultivation, and in the river valleys there is much fer- 
 tile land. The population is 84,500, employed in the 
 fisheries, in ^oal -mining and in agriculture. They are 
 chiefly of Highland Scotch or of Acadian French 
 descent. 
 
 Climate.— The climate of Cape Breton is like that of 
 Kova Scotia, but fi-eer from fogs. The winters are 
 not so cold as in Canada ; but spring is delayed longer, 
 for the driit-ice is often packed in upon the coast. 
 The summers are not so warm, the heat being 
 modified by the sea wHthin and around. 
 
 The Bras d'Or.— This is the crowning beauty of Cape 
 Breton. By two narrow but deep passages the sea 
 enters the island and spreads out into two broad lakes 
 connected by a narrow^ strait. These lakes ..earch 
 out the recesses of the land in an infinitj^ of bays, 
 creeks, lagoons and inlets of every conceivable variety 
 of size and shape. The water, whicl-. is remarkably 
 clear, is everywhere deep enough for vessels of con- 
 siderable size. The variety and beauty of the scenery 
 is inconceivable to those who have not visited it. 
 Mountain, hill and valley, steep rocky escarpment, 
 grassy acclivity and solemn, w^ooded hills contribute 
 their special attractions. Then there are innumer- 
 able isles and islets and winding, tortuous channels, 
 where the silver sea steals in among the bold and 
 sombre woodlands. To these charms add the abund- 
 ance of fish and proximity of game, and a sylvan 
 paradise is the result, where any lover of nature or 
 sport, who is not a thorough Sybarite, may luxuriate. 
 But one isthmus, a half a mile wide, connects the two 
 halves of the island together at the southern end. 
 The St. Peter's Canal cuts through this. Steamers 
 run daily through the lakes from Sydney to Port 
 Hawkesbury, on the Gut of Canso, connecting with 
 the railway. 
 
96 ACADIA. 
 
 Coal Mines.— Cape Breton is remarkable for its coal 
 mines. Diirin,^ last year 612,614 tons were raised. 
 The centre oi' the island consists of carboniferous 
 rocks, and coal beds crop out on the west, east and 
 south shores. On the west coast, near Port Hoed, a 
 bed of 6 ft. thickness has been opened. At New 
 Campbelltown, on the Great Bras d'Or, a bed of 4 ft. 
 6 in. has been worked ; and in many other places out- 
 crops occur. It is, however, on the east coast, at 
 Sydney, that the most important beds are found. 
 This is supposed to be a segment of an immense coal 
 basin extending* towards the coast of Newfoundland. 
 The area of productive coal-measures at Sydney is 250 
 square miles, and to the geologist the exposures are 
 second only to those of the Joggins in interest. In 
 one section near Sydney, of 1,860 ft. there are 34 
 seams of coal. At Boulardarie Island is a section of 
 5,400 ft.. Of the 34 seams there are four of sufficient 
 thickness to be worked, being 4 ft. 8 in., 6 ft. 9 in., 5 
 ft. and 3 ft. 8 in. respectively. It is a free-burning 
 bituminous coal yielding on analysis 26*93 per cent, 
 of volatile matter, 67*57 of tixed carbon and 5*50 of 
 heavy reddish ash. Full details of this important 
 coal held will be found in Dawson's Acadian Geology^ 
 which every geologist who visits Acadia should carry 
 with him. 
 
 Sydney.— This is a town of 5,484 inhabitants, selected 
 by the British government to be the capital when 
 Louisbourg was destroyed. It is upon a very fine 
 harbour easy of access, deep, commodious and safe. 
 This is the headquarters for a geologist. The Sydney 
 Mines are on the north side of the harbour. At 
 Bridgeport, 13 miles distant, are the International 
 Mines. The Victoria Mines are nine miles distant. 
 The Lingan Mines are near Bridgeport, but 15 miles 
 distant. The Little Glace Bay Mines are 18 miles dis- 
 tant. These are the largest mines. There are eleven 
 in all being worked at the present time. They are 
 
CAPE BRETON. 97 
 
 connected with Sydney by rail or stage and are easy 
 of access, for in many ])laces the coal ci"0|)s out of the 
 cliffs on the sea shore. Sydney is a good place to 
 stay at and convenient for making excursions from. 
 Louisbourg is 24 miles distant, and is reached by a 
 railway. A small town has sjn'ung up on the oppo- 
 site side of the hai'boui*. Cape Breton, I'rom which the 
 name of the island is derived, is its easternmost point 
 and lies between Sydney and Louisbourg. The town 
 in Gascony, whence the name was taken, has dwindled 
 into insignificance since its hardy sons commenced to 
 frequent those coasts, owing to the drift of sand having 
 changed ihe mouth of the J-Jiver Adour. 
 
 Baddeck.— This is a village on the Little Bras d'Or, 
 and is the central point of these lakes ; it is I'eached 
 by steamer from Sydney or by steamer from Port 
 Mulgrave, the terminus of the Nova Scotia Railway 
 on the Gut of Canso. In the first case, the route is 
 through one of the two natural openings to the sea; 
 in the second, the steamer passes through St. Peter's 
 Canal, cutting through the narrow isthmus to the 
 south. This village is headquarters for the sports- 
 man; it is close to the wild northern imexplored 
 region where may yet be found m >08e, caribou, bears, 
 wolves, foxes, beaver, minx and l i:sk-rats, by those 
 who like such rough work. It is the headquarters 
 for the tourist in search of the picturesque, for it 
 would not be easy to find another place central to so 
 much and so varied beauty. The valley of the Mar- 
 garee, with its fine fishing and scenery, is easily 
 reached from Baddeck. 
 
 Port Hawkesbury, a village on the Gut of Canso. 
 This remarkable channel is 15 miles long by one 
 w^ide. The shores are high and bold, and there are 
 several good anchorages in its length. It is the 
 entrance to the Gulf for all coasting vessels, and is 
 available for all classes of shipping. This village is a 
 7 
 
98 ACADIA. 
 
 I 
 
 ort of call for the steamers plying' between Prince 
 ^]dwanl Island and the <iult i)()rts and llaliiax or 
 Boston. Staij:es run to Sydney, Arichat and the Bras 
 d'Or. Three miles from here is Port Hastin<^s, where 
 the Western Union Telegia])h transfers its cable 
 messages for Europe. 
 
 Arichat, on Isle Madame, near the Atlantic entrance 
 to tlie Gut of Canso. A thriving village of Acadian 
 French devoted to the fisheries. It is the see of a 
 coadjutor I'ishop, who has charge of the Roman 
 Catholics of Cape Breton. The Sisters of the Con- 
 gregation, of Montreal, have a convent for education 
 here. 
 
 PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND. 
 
 This beautiful island may be called the garden of 
 the Dominion. It is settled throughout, and is nearly 
 all cleared and under cultivation. In this respect 
 it is in striking contrast to the other provinces of 
 Canada. 
 
 Although it has been asserted that Cabot discovered 
 the island in 1497, the English never laid claim to 
 it ; and, in early times, it formed part of the govern- 
 ment of New Fi'ance. In 1663 the Company of New 
 France granted it to the Sieur Doublet, a captain in 
 the French Navy, but no settlements were made and 
 the grant was revoked. Very little notice was taken 
 of the island by the French until after the treaty of 
 Utrecht. Then, having lost Nova Scotia, they con- 
 centrated their energies upon Cape Breton, and the 
 fertility of Isle St. Jean, as they called it, soon came 
 into use for the supply of the garrison at Louisbourg. 
 In 1719 it w^as granted en seigneurie to the Comte de 
 St. Pierre, w^ho formed a trading company and spent 
 considerable sums in establishing fisheries, but without 
 much success, for the grant was again revoked. 
 
 After the treaty of Utrecht many Acadians retired to 
 
PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND. 99 
 
 this island, and tlieir number was largely increased by 
 refugees when the English captured the French forts on 
 the Bay of Fundy. It atforded two-thirds of the supplies 
 used by the garrison of Louisbourg in 1758, and was 
 under a governor appointed from thence. The only 
 fort the French had was a small work with a few guns 
 at Charlottetown, which they called Port la Joie from 
 its beauty and security. 
 
 The island was surrendered at the capitulation of 
 Louisbourg, and in 1758 Lord Rollo was sent to take 
 possession. Many of the Acadians were deported 
 with those from Nova Scotia and scattered through 
 the English colonies ; but many escaped by hiding in 
 the woods and eventually returned to their lands, 
 where they were unmolested afterwards. In 1763, at 
 the peace, the island was annexed to the government 
 of Nova Scotia and various schemes for its settlement 
 were mooted. At last it was divided into townships 
 and granted, by means of a lottery, to a number of 
 persons, many of them officers of the army and navy 
 who had served in the war. There were conditions 
 attached to these grants, of quit-rent and of reserva- 
 tions for churches and wharves, but especially condi- 
 tions of settlement. The rej)ort upon the fertility of 
 the island was so favourable that it was expected all 
 the land would be taken up at once. 
 
 The grantees, however, for the most part, had no 
 intention of settling. Many sold their grants, and 
 the lands in the island gradually fell into the hands of 
 a few people who did nothing to improve them, but 
 remained in England, waiting to profit by the labour 
 of the actual settlers. Properly, these grants should 
 have been cancelled for non-fulfilment of the condi- 
 tions, but they were not. In 1769 the island was 
 erected into a separate government, and it remained 
 separate until 1873, when it became part of the Domi- 
 nion of Canada. 
 
 The fertility of the island attracted settlers from all 
 sides, and soon it was very generally under cultiva- 
 
100 ACADIA. 
 
 tion, but, as the leases ran out, the absentee landlords 
 raised the rents. Whereupon arose disturbances with- 
 out number — the stalwart pioneers who had brought 
 the wilderness into cultivation not being able to 
 undej'stand the correct principles of property and 
 land tenure. Among other settlers were eight hun- 
 dred Highlanders, brought out by the Earl of Selkirk, 
 who became prosperous farmers in a very short time. 
 The land question still smouldered; occasionally 
 breaking out into flame until the government, in 
 18C0, appointed a commission, which valued the 
 rights of the absentee proprietors and recommended 
 their purchase by the government, with a view to re- 
 selling to the tenantry. A bill was founded on the 
 report, but was disallowed by the J^ritish Govern- 
 ment. Shortly afterwai'ds another bill was passed 
 and allowed, under which the government acquired 
 the proprietors' rights and thus put an end to further 
 agitation. The government acquired 843,081 acres, 
 and in 1882 only 142,011 acres remained not taken 
 up. Of this Gt,000 was indifferent forest land, so that 
 only 15,000 acres remained under lease to tenants who 
 had not purchased. In this manner was Prince Edward 
 Island converted into a country of proprietors from a 
 country of tenant farmers. 
 
 Census.— The island has a population of 108,891 ; of 
 these 47,115 are Roman Catholics. There are 10,751 
 of French Acadian descent and 48,993 are of Scotch 
 descent. The inclination of the people is altogether 
 towards agriculture, although the island is in a very 
 advantageous position for conducting fisheries. The 
 area of the province is 2,133 square miles, or 1,365,400 
 acres. Of this, 1,126,653 acres are occupied and 596,- 
 731 acres are actually under crop or in pastures or 
 gardens. So much country cleared up gives the pro- 
 vince the air of an English rural district — an idea 
 which the tidiness of the farming tends to con- 
 firm. Land can, however, be bought cheaply, for, to 
 
PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND. 101 
 
 the colonist, the West is over the hiinl of promise, 
 and the English-speaking people have not the deep- 
 seated attachment to the soil ul' the Canadian and 
 Acadian French. Consequently, land isott'ei-ed freely, 
 and an immigrant who does not care to face a pioneer 
 life may easily find here a home in a settled and 
 organized community. 
 
 Soil.— The country is level, but slightly rolling. 
 About the North and West rivers it rises into pictur- 
 esque hills, none exceeding five hundred feet in height. 
 It is deeply indented by the sea, and affords much 
 really lovely and quiet scenery after the European 
 type of picturesque beauty. The soil is a bright red 
 loam of uniform character throughout, varying from 
 a stiff red clay to a sandy loam, and everywhere free 
 from stones or boulders. 
 
 Climate.—The climate of the island is modified by the 
 sea. In winter, as compared with Canada, it is warmer, 
 but it is colder than some parts of Nova Scotia, being 
 less influenced by the winds from the Gulf stream. 
 It is less changeable, and there is not the fog in the 
 summer months which is met with in Nova Scotia 
 and some parts of New Brunswick. The island is 
 becoming a very favourite summer resort for Cana- 
 dians. All along the north shoi*e are long, level 
 sandy beaches, formed by the unbroken roll of the 
 sea, admirably adapted for bathing, and here many 
 resort who love quiet and seek for healthful recreation. 
 
 Prince Edward Island is an Arcadian province 
 without manufactures — the ideal country of Mr. Rus- 
 kin, where no tall chimneys vomit soot and blacken 
 the herbage. The green grass is always bright upon 
 the red soil. It is not a i)rovince of towns and cities, 
 but of farm houses in continuous succession on the 
 roads and streams. One drawback, how^ever, there is, 
 and that is the difficulty of regular communication 
 with the mainland during three months In winter. 
 
102 ACADIA. 
 
 The field-ice in the strait renders steam navigation 
 iincei'tnin. Comnninication is kept up by boats ucrosH 
 a ferry of nine miles to the nearest point of New 
 Brunswick. 
 
 Geologfy.— The geological formation of the island is 
 New llvd Sandstone. It is beyond doubt under- 
 laid by coal measures, the continuation of the adjoin- 
 ing carboniferous systems of Nova Scotia and Cape 
 Breton, but at so great a depth that they could not be 
 profitably opened up in competition. 
 
 Railways.— There is but one railway — the Pi-ince 
 Edwaj'd Island Railway, built by the Provincial Gov- 
 ernment and worked at a considerable annual loss by 
 the Dominion Government since confederation. It 
 runs everywhere upon the island from end to end, and 
 branches to every town, so one such railway is amply 
 sufficient for any country. 
 
 Trade.— The exports consist chiefly of farm and 
 cattle products. They are increasing rapidly, for, 
 whereas in 1871 the total exports amounted to 
 $1,478,045, in 1883 they amounted to $3,000,000. 
 
 Education. — This province contains one college, one 
 normal school and 423 public schools, all under the 
 administration of a government board wnth superin- 
 tendent and inspectors. Forty-two per cent, of the 
 annual provincial revenue is expended upon education. 
 
 TOWNS. 
 
 Charlottetown, the capital (population, 11,485), is a 
 pleasant town situated on a point where three small 
 streams fall into a safe and commodious harboui\ 
 Steamers ply between it and Pictou. Another line 
 connects it with Shediac, and there is a weekly line 
 for Can so, Halifax and Boston. 
 
NEW BRFNSWirK. 10.'^ 
 
 Summerside, a town of 2,8*^3 inha^itant^<, onBedcfine 
 Bay, 40 miles west of Charlottetown, celebrated for 
 most delicious oysters — neither too large like Saddle- 
 rocks, nor too small like J^luc l*oints, but just the size 
 which rii^ht j-eason calls for; of good flavour, and 
 tastiniz: as if tliev ha<l lived in salt water. 
 
 Alberton, 40 miles further west ; much fi-equented by 
 fiBhinic vessels. 
 
 Tignish, almost at the extreme western end — a 
 fishing village. 
 
 Georgetown, 30 miles east of Charlottetown, on a 
 very good harboui', which remains open nearly all the 
 winter. Steamers connect it with Pictou and the 
 Magdalen Islands. 
 
 NEW BRUNSWICK. 
 
 The United Empire Loyalists.— Although, as has been 
 shown elsewhere, there were scattered posts in this 
 part of Acadia during the Fi'ench rer/ifne, these were, 
 for the most part, intermittent in their occupation. 
 The hist(M'y of New Brunswick, as a connected story, 
 really dates from the year 1788, when the Loyalists 
 founded the city of St. John. The story of these men 
 has been told by several writers, notably by the Eev. 
 Egerton Everson and the Hon. Lorenzo Sabine, but 
 it has not yet had its Prescott or Parkman to illu- 
 minate weary years of pi'ivation and trial with that 
 glowing light of historic genius which can show the 
 motives influencing the actors in the di-ama, and the 
 hidden springs which supported their souls. 
 
 The time has now arrived when the American 
 nation has become great enough to pass out of the 
 ''mythopoietic" period of history. Already there are 
 found a few writei'S in the United States who, in 
 treating the c^uestion of the great disruption of the 
 
104 ACADIA. 
 
 British race, can pass beyond the region of fourth of 
 July orations. The last gi*eat civil war has taught 
 the'm that it is possible for people to differ funda- 
 mentally upon political questions without ranging all 
 the children of light upon one side and the children of 
 darkness upon the other. 
 
 The revolt of the thii'teen colonies was by no means 
 the act of a large majority. A very lai'ge minority, 
 if not a majority, disappi'oved of it, and this consisted 
 of men. for the most part, opposed to the measures of 
 Parliament, and many of whom had been leaders in 
 opposition to those measures. They were, in all the 
 colonies, respectable for wealth and social position. 
 They wei'c opposed to ai-med rebellion, and believed 
 that the grievances of the colonists could be redressed 
 by less violent measures. They called themselves 
 United Empire Loyalists, because they were sincei-ely 
 attached to British traditions and to the British mon- 
 archy, and they believed in the possibility of a broader 
 empire of the English race than that of the islands of 
 Britain. Their position was similar to that of the 
 Unionists in the South one hundred years latei*. 
 
 When the Declaration of Independence had, after 
 some ditficulty, been carried in the Eevolutionary 
 Congress, a reign of terrorism set in against all those 
 who did not actively sympathise with the revolt. 
 Committees of public safety undertook the mobbing, 
 and tari'ing and feathering, of suspected persons ; and 
 the newly-formed legislatures undertook the confisca- 
 tion of their property. At the same time the British 
 Government woke up to the seriousness of the occa- 
 sion and sent out, too late, a commission of concilia- 
 tion, which was egregiously befooled by that most 
 astute of men, Benjamin Franklin. 
 
 Discouraged by the Crown, and terrorised by the 
 revolutionary committees, a large number of loyalists 
 relapsed into sullen acquiescence; but a number 
 opemy declared for the Crown, and into their ranks 
 were driven all those who were proscribed and hunted 
 
NEW BRUNSWICK. 105 
 
 out by the ''Sons of Liberty " in the different colonies. 
 Of these, regiments were, in time, formed ; and some 
 idea may be gained of the incapacity of the Eoyal 
 officers, who in all cases held chief command, when it 
 is stated that the number of American loyalists in the 
 field nearly equalled, at one time, the number of the 
 Continental army. France then threw her sword into 
 the trembling balance and won a sweet revenge for 
 the humiliations of the preceding war. 
 
 It is not the place here to allude fui-ther to this 
 lamentable quarrel. It is probably better for the 
 human race — those of them, at least, who happen to be 
 French, or German, or Spanish, or of any other stock, 
 that a people so arrogant as the British should be split 
 up into several nations. If the superabundant energy 
 of this race had not been spent to a certain extent 
 upon internal work, the outlook for other nations 
 would have been indeed gloomy. But, be that as it 
 may, the Imperialists lost, and, when peace was 
 declared, th< ' who had sided with England found 
 themselves stripped of their property, outlawed, and 
 abandoned. 
 
 In justice to the British Government, it must be 
 said that it made a strong plea for the loyalists while 
 arranging the treaty; but Oswald, who had the chief 
 share in the negociation, was an infant in Franklin's 
 hands. He even entertained the proposition that 
 Canada should be ceded to the United States, which 
 Franklin mildly suggested as the proper thing to do 
 under the circumstances. This the English Govern- 
 ment would not hear of, but Franklin quietly argued 
 Oswald out of all the territories of the Crown w^est of 
 the Alleghanies, which then formed part of no state 
 or colony, but belonged to Canada. These became 
 the states in after time of Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, 
 Michigan, Wisconsin and Minnesota. With the dis- 
 covery and first occupation of all that territory the 
 thirteen colonies never had anything to do. 
 
 It is necessary to recite these things, even in a 
 
106 ACADIA. 
 
 guide-book, beonuse an intelli^'ent visitor will not be 
 able to understand the political histoiy of this country 
 unless they are taken into account. The political 
 agitator coming out from some old-world hotbed of 
 revolution, wonders to Und his rhetoric cooling down 
 in the atmosphere of a thinly disguised contempt. 
 But the descendants of the loyalists understand the 
 " rights of man " perfectly; and they know, by bitter 
 experience, that among such rights free thought and 
 free speech are not included. They are, therefore, 
 content w^ith the well-ordered liberty wdiich they are 
 now^ enjoying under monarchical forms, and they 
 reject the political nostrums which theorists offer to 
 ihem. 
 
 The peace which brought relief to England brought 
 despair to the loyalists ; for no terms could be made for 
 them. Congress only promised to recommend to the 
 several states a consideration of their cases. The num- 
 ber who were expatriated may be conceived when it is 
 stated thj^t from the port of New York alone upwards 
 of 12,000 men, women and children went into banish- 
 ment previous to September 1T83. What is now the 
 fruitful Pi'ovince of Ontario was a forest wilderness, 
 unknown except as the scene of bloody Indian wai'S. 
 Acadia was unsettled save at Halifax and Annapolis. 
 Eastern Canada was settled, but by a people of 
 another race and tongue. Had these loyalists been 
 people of small account in theii- native land — people 
 of no property or of no culture — it would have been a 
 little thing to have slunk back to those lower occupa- 
 tions in life which the fancy of many writers supposes 
 them to have filled. But such was not the case. 
 They were the vanquished champions of a lost cause 
 — the victims of a political idea which ^"as unsuccess- 
 ful — and they turned to the wildern^ . and founded 
 new communities, in wdiich now are manifested the 
 
 principles of rational liberty which were present in 
 
 their minds. Some went to the Bahamas, 
 
 most went to the Xorth, and received iri-ants from 
 
 , but the 
 
* NEW BRUNSWICK. 107 
 
 the Crown of wild lands in the provinces. The 
 Province of Ontario was settled in its whole length 
 by loyalists, mainly from New York and the Middle 
 States. All the rockv Atlantic coast of Acadia was 
 settled from Massachusetts and the Eastern States; 
 but chiefly is iSTew Brunswick the home of the loyal- 
 ists. Shipload after shipload of i efui^^ees landed on the 
 rugged shore of the harbour of St. John. Many suc- 
 cumbed to the hardships of the first winter, with 
 scanty shelter and scarceness of food — 
 
 With death swooping down o'er their failure and all but 
 their faith overthrown. 
 
 But there their descendants remain to this day — 
 among the most vigorous, the most courageous and 
 most indomitable of the people who inhabit the Domi- 
 nion of Canada. AVho can blame them if they, last of 
 all, should have cherished the grand idea of the soli- 
 darity of England and the English race throughout 
 the world. 
 
 Physical Features.— The area of this province is 27,- 
 174 square miles. From north to south its greatest 
 length is 230 miles, and its greatest breadth is 190 
 miles. The coast upon the Bay of Fundy is rocky and 
 sterile until the' head of the bay is approached, when 
 the rich Acadian marsh lands are met with. Along 
 the shores of the Gulf of St. Lawrence the coast is low 
 and sandy. The surface of the country is rolling. 
 Nowhere does it attain anj" considerable elevation. 
 In the interior, a few miles back of the coast, the soil 
 is good and well adapted for farming. In this respect 
 the province has never had justice. There is less 
 really bad land in New Brunswick than in any other 
 province, except Prince Edward Island. The geolo- 
 gical formation of the country is mainly carbonifer- 
 ous. A strip of Silurian and of granite runs along 
 the southern coast, and the northwestern corner is 
 also Silurian and granite. 
 
108 ACADIA. 
 
 Rivers.— New Brunswick is singiilai'ly endowed with 
 streams. As before stated, the surface of the country 
 is rolling and the valleys of the streams are very wide. 
 The spi-ing freshets flood these wide valleys and pro- 
 duce what is called '^ intervale " land of great fertility, 
 by the annual deposit of the swollen rivers. The 
 Eiver St. John is 500 miles long. It is navigable for 
 large steamers to Fi'ederieton, 00 miles, — and for 230 
 miles more for small steamers as far as drand Falls. 
 Above the falls there is another stretch of 80 miles of 
 navigable watei-. The ti'ibutaries of the St. John are, 
 many of them, large streams, such as the Xashwak, 
 Oromocto, Tobique, Aroostook. The St. Croix, Mira- 
 michi and Restigouche are large rivers, as also are the 
 Nepiseguit and the Eichibucto. These chief arteries 
 and their tributaries interlace their head waters and 
 intersect the province in every direction. 
 
 Minerals.— At Grand Lake, on the St. John, coal is 
 mined to a small extent. The seam is thin, and, in 
 comj)etition with the mines of Nova Scotia, will not 
 pay to work excepting for local consumption. It is 
 near the surface, and is found on many farms in the 
 neighbourhood. What further seams may exist deeper 
 down is not known. Albertite is a very remarkable 
 substance found at the head of the Bay of Fundy. It 
 is a sort of asphalt or solid hydrocarbon. Unfortun- 
 ately the present supply is almost exhausted, and 
 no new veins have yet been struck. A costly litiga- 
 tion was carj'ied on to determine whether this was, or 
 was not, coal, and scientific men, in equal number, 
 were ranged on both sides. 
 
 Climate.— The climate on the Bay of Fundy coast is 
 like that of Nova Scotia, with perhaps more fog in 
 summer. The shores of the Grulf are free from fog. 
 In the interior, about Fredericton, the climate is 
 bright and cold in winter and warm in summer, as in 
 Canada. 
 
NEW BRUNSWICK. 109 
 
 Population. —The population of the province is 321,- 
 233. The genius of the people is maritime, as might 
 be supposed from their origin. Building and owning 
 ships is a passion. It is doubtful whether there is 
 any port in the world where at least one New Bruns- 
 wick ship cannot at any time be found, and their 
 capacity for managing this kind of property amounts 
 almost to instinct. The introduction of iron into shii> 
 building has injured their tj-ade in ships, but ^6 vessels 
 were built last year in the province. The fisheries 
 employ a large number of vessels and men. But the 
 New Brunswickers are also born lumbermen, and two- 
 thirds of the total value of their exports last year were 
 products of the forest. The energies of the people 
 are of late turning towards manufacturing, for which, 
 owing to the proximity of coal, they have great 
 facilities. 
 
 Railways.— The Intercolonial Railway has been 
 referred to in another place. In addition, the Grand 
 Southern, along the south shore, connects St. John 
 with St. Stephen, on the St. Croix Eiver. The New 
 Brunswick Eailway is a system of amalgamated inte- 
 rior lines from St. John to Fredericton — to the Maine 
 frontier, connecting with the New England roads — to 
 Edmonton, on the Upper St. John — and to Woodstock. 
 
 Education. — The chief educational centre of the pro- 
 vince is Eredericton, the capital. The University of 
 New Brunswick is there, and the Normal School. 
 The public schools of the province are free. Last 
 year there were 1,447 schools in operation, attended 
 by 66,775 pupils, or one in five of the population. 
 Owing to a change in the time of making up the 
 accounts, the last statement extends over eighteen 
 months. During that period $236,137 was expended 
 on public education. 
 
110 ACADIA. 
 
 ST. JOHN. 
 
 The city of St. John was founded in 1T83 by a body 
 of exiled loyalists, chiefly from the Eastern States. 
 Among its founders were Chief Justice Ludlow, of the 
 Supreme Court of Xew York ; Judge Upham, who had 
 been a colonel of dragoons; Judge Allen, who had 
 been colonel of an infantry regiment ; Beverley Rob- 
 inson, who had possessed large estates on the Hudson. 
 All of the founders of St. John had been important 
 men in the colonies. They had obtained grants in 
 what was then called Nova Scotia. The city of Bos- 
 ton, with only one dissentient vote, passed a resolution 
 in 1783, which formulated the feeling prevalent, to 
 the effect "that this town will at all times, as they 
 ^* have done to the utmost of their power, oppose 
 " every enemy to the just rights and liberties of man- 
 " kind, and that, after so wicked a conspiracy against 
 ^^ those rights and liberties by certain ingrates, most 
 " of them natives of these states, and who have been 
 " refugees and declared traitors to their country, it is 
 '* the opinion of this town that they ought never to 
 " be suffered to return, but to be excluded from having 
 '' lot or portion among us." Naturally, therefore, the 
 settlers at St. John were poor, for their estates were 
 confiscated and any debts due them had been cancelled 
 by law. They began the world again, and others 
 gathered round them, on this rocky coast, until their 
 city became wealthy and populous ; when one night in 
 June, 1877, a great conflagration, for fire is too weak a 
 word, swept away 1,600 houses, extending along nine 
 miles of streets, and covering 200 acres of ground. 
 This was in the very heart of the business part of the 
 city. Twenty to thirty millions of dollars in value was 
 destroyed in one night; it was a night long to be 
 remembered by those who witnessed it. But this 
 indomitable people were not dismayed, for the ashes 
 were scarcely cool before they commenced their busi- 
 ness again in extemporized shanties — in vaults — under 
 
ST. JOHN. Ill 
 
 every conceivable kind of sb )lter which the ingenious 
 shiftiness of Acadian versatility' could suggest. This 
 was only seven years ago, and now St. John is rebuilt 
 with many handsome buildings, but, with the excep- 
 tion of the Court House and the monuments of the 
 exiled loyalists in the graveyard, eveiything of Iiis- 
 toric association has been swept away. 
 
 The harbour of St. John is open all the year round, 
 and, by a breakwater and Partridge Island at its mouth, 
 is perfectly sheltered. The tide rises 23 feet, but at the 
 lowest tide there is 18 feet of water on the bar. The 
 river St. John falls into it, and around the estuary is 
 clustered an aggregate population of 41,353. In St. 
 John and Carleton, a suburb on the opposite side of 
 the harbour, are 26,127 persons, and in Portland, a 
 separate municipality, 15,226. 
 
 Prince William street and King street are the chief 
 thoroughfares of St. John. The Post Office, Custom 
 House, Bank of New Brunswick and Savings Bank 
 are handsome and substantial buildings. The Eoman 
 Catholic Cathedral in Waterloo street is a large Gothic 
 building in sandstone and marble, simple and severe 
 in style, with a handsome spire and adorned with rich 
 stained glass. 
 
 A short distance from the city, the St. John river is 
 spanned by a suspension bridge. This is stretched over 
 the falls, which possess the eccentricity of falling both 
 ways. When the tide is out the water foils 15 feet into 
 the harbour below, and when the tide runs in, it falls 
 15 feet into the river. Consequently, vessels can enter 
 the river only at half tide.. The bridge is TO feet above 
 the highest tide and crosses by a span of 640 feet. At 
 Carleton, La Tour built his fort, and some traces of it 
 yet remain. There it was that in 1645, Lady de la Tour, 
 in her husband's absence, defended herself against a 
 largely superior force, led by by his rival Charnissay, 
 repulsing them at the head of her men. She at last 
 surrendered on honourable terms, but Charnissay broke 
 his solemn pledge, and hanged all the garrison— English 
 
112 ACADIA. 
 
 and French — but one, whom he compelled to act as 
 hangman, and he also compelled Madame de la Tour, 
 with a halter round her own neck, to be a witness to 
 the murder of her husband's retainers. Thus, says 
 Haanay the historian of Acadia, '' Her great heart was 
 ^' broken. She was severed from the husband to whose 
 '' fortunes she had been so faithful, and could scarcely 
 " hope to see his face again, except as a captive like 
 " herself. She felt her work in life was done, for she 
 *' was not born for captivity. So she faded day by day 
 *' until her heroic soul left its earthly tenement, and in 
 " three weeks from the time she witnessed the capture 
 '* of her fort, she was laid to i-est by the banks of the 
 '' St. John which she loved so well, and where she had 
 '' lived for so many years." Evidently the Acadians 
 were very serious persons in those days. 
 
 From St. John all parts of Kew Brunswick can be 
 reached by rail. Steamers also leave daily for Eastport 
 and Boston, connecting at the former place with 
 steamers on the St. Croix to St. Andrews and St. 
 Stephens. Steamers also connect with Digby and with 
 Moncton. During last 3^ear 1,699 vessels, with an 
 aggregate tonnage of 515,359 tons, departed from St. 
 John. The imports for the same period were $5,304,873, 
 and the exports $4,247,648. 
 
 The Intercolonial Eailway from St. John to the main 
 line at Moncton, passes through Sussex Valley, the 
 choicest farming land in the Province. This region is 
 justly famed for its rural beauty as well as for 
 its fertility. 
 
 ST. JOHN TO FREDERICTON BY RIVER. 
 
 The distance is ninety miles, and it is a very plea- 
 sant trip by day. The steamer leaves from Indian- 
 town, above the bridge. The shores of the river at 
 tirst are rocky. The river has the appearance of a suc- 
 cession of lakes with steep shores, but this changes as 
 the farming land of the province is reached. The banks 
 
PREDERICTON. 113 
 
 become lower, and some of the fertile intervale lands, 
 which the province is so proud of, may be seen from 
 the deck. After passing Gagetown the Jemseg river, 
 which is the outlet of Grand Lake, falls in. Here, in 
 1G40, the French erected a fort, which in 1G5-4 attract- 
 ed the attention of Oliver Cromwell, who understood 
 colonial questions exceedingly well. He sent an expe- 
 dition to take it, and it was taken and held until 1670. 
 At the conquest of Canada the Marquis de Yaudreuil 
 was Seigneur, and 116 settlers held lands from him. 
 The Oromocto is Vao next important river passed, and 
 close to it is Maugerville, a village settled before the 
 revolution, whose inhabitants, in 17T6, were AYhigs. 
 and passed resolutions of sympathy with Congress, 
 At last the city of 
 
 Fredericton is reached. One of the prettiest cities 
 in the Dominion — built on level grass-land among 
 gardens, with a gentle, sloping, garden-like acclivity as 
 a back-ground. The river makes a bend here, and at 
 one point is the Cathedral and at the other is the 
 Government House — for this is the capital of the Pro- 
 vince, where, undisturbed by the noise and bustle of 
 the outer world, legislation may be matured in peace. 
 
 Fredericton has a population of 6,218. The Parlia- 
 ment Building is a handsome edifice, containing the 
 chambers of the Legislative Council, Legislative 
 Assembly and Supreme Court. The library contains 
 15,000 volumes. It is a fire-proof building. The gem 
 of Fredericton is th^3 Cathedral which, though small, 
 is one of the most perfect pieces of pure early English 
 Gothic in America. The Cathedral of Christ Church 
 at Montreal was designed after it by the same archi- 
 tect. 
 
 Fredericton is the outlet of a lumbering district, 
 and large establishments are located opposite at the 
 mouth of the JS'ashwaak Eiver. It is a centre of sup- 
 plies for the upper St. John. It is also a centre con- 
 venient for sportsmen, for it is close to the best hunting 
 8 
 
lU ACADIA. 
 
 and fishing' regions in America. Tliere are good hotels 
 there, and pleasant cultivated tsoeiety. In the old days, 
 when British troops were in (^inada, no |)laee was more 
 popular as a station than the quiet pretty capital of 
 New J^runswick. 
 
 Fi'()m Fredericton theie is a railway along the St. 
 John river to the Grand Falls and Edmonton, whore 
 the Madawaska falls into the St. John. Uj) the Mada- 
 waska and through lake Teniiscouata was the old route 
 to Canada, and there is a ])ortage from the lake to the 
 streams which fall into the St. Law^'ence. 
 
 THE MAINE BOUNDARY. 
 
 It has been shown that, from the earliest times, 
 Acadia extended at least to the mouth of the St. Croix, 
 where deMonts built his tirst fort. It really extended 
 further east ; but even Oswald could not give up ter- 
 ritoiy beyond the St. Croix. That feat remained for 
 succeeding statesmen to accomplish. By the treaty 
 of peace of 1^83 it was arranged practically that the 
 boundai-y of the United States on the east should be 
 ttte St. Croix to its source, and a line from thence to 
 the northern boundary, which was to be the water-shed 
 which divides the streams flowing into the Atlantic 
 Ocean from those flow^ing into the Bay of Fund3^ This 
 was the supposed boundary of Canada and Acadia, 
 although the French justly claimed to the Penobscot. 
 The negotiations between Franklin and Osw^ald were 
 carried on secretly, for the United States had been 
 bound, as a condition of the aid of France, not to make 
 a separate peace; and in the discussion, w^hen the 
 vagueness of this boundary was objected to, Franklin 
 marked on the map the negotiators w^ere using, a red 
 line to indicate the boundary proposed and adopted. 
 This map disappeared, and in later years endless dis- 
 cussion arose as to the true boundary ; for on actual 
 survey a line due north from the soui'ce of the St. Croix 
 did not intersect the northern boundary, but passed 
 
ST. CROIX RIVEK. 115 
 
 through a gap in the hills, and although the real 
 meaning of the treaty was clear there was difficulty 
 in it8 verbal interpretation. \n 1835, Presirlent Jack- 
 son made a very lair proposal to the Bi'itish Govern- 
 ment to cut the (lordian knot of ditticultv which 
 threatened to result in war, but it was rejected by a 
 government of which Lord Palmerston was a member, 
 and the subject was postponed to " to a more conve- 
 nient season" — a veiy unsafe device of "practical" 
 8tatesmanship in intei'natioiuil disputes. The rejec- 
 tion of that proposal has caused the enormous curve 
 of the Intercolonial Eailway, and has cost the Cana- 
 dians many millions of dollars. 
 
 In 1842 a settlement was imperative. The Maine 
 and New Brunswick lumberers were almost at war on 
 the disputed territory. The United States had claimed 
 to within a few miles of the shore of the St. Lawrence, 
 in order that, after conceding something, they might 
 have more left than they were entitled to. Lord 
 Ashburton was sent out, and after much negotiation 
 the present extraordinar}- boundary was stumbled 
 upon. Some difficulty having been found in persuading 
 the Senate to accept this boundary, the map which 
 Franklin and Oswald had used was produced by Mr. 
 Webster, and the red line upon it, far south of the 
 Ashburton line, showed what an immense tract of 
 territory had been secured to the L^nited States beyond 
 what Franklin had contemplated. So the treaty was 
 confirmed. 
 
 THE ST. CROIX RIVER. 
 
 Upon a point jutting out into the sheltered and deep 
 basin of Passamaquoddy Bay stands St. Andrews — a 
 town of 2,128 inhabitants — well laid out and wdth an 
 air of respectability as if it had seen better days. And 
 so it has — for from herein 1832, only seven years after 
 the opening of the Stockton and Darlington Eailway 
 in England, was the projected railway to Canada to 
 
116 ACADIA. 
 
 start, and this town was to be the wharf upon the Bay 
 ol'Fundy ol'the 8t. Lawrence valley. 
 
 This was a bold scheme lor that ])eriod, but it excited 
 much jealousy in the United States, and the boundary 
 bein^ still undetermined, the Stateof Maine laid chaim 
 to the Avhole tei'ritory between New Brunswick and 
 Canada. Owin^ to the discussion wdiich ensued, the 
 project was deferred ; until, in 1842, the colonists saw 
 the Ashburton Treaty signed, which alienated forever 
 the territoiy tlirough which the railway was to pass. 
 Let any cme look at the maj) — no skill in geography 
 is required to decide what was — what could only by 
 any possibility have been — the boundary arranged 
 between Franklin and Oswald in 1783. Even Frank- 
 lin never asked for that territory. Even Oswald 
 never thought of ottering it. The project was aban- 
 doned, and St. Andrews, sank into obscurity. All its 
 bright future as the winter j)ort of Canada faded away 
 and the rising town of St. Stephen, with its abundant 
 water power, took away the lumber trade, Still the 
 dream of those hardy dreamers is approaching fulfil- 
 ment. The railway is now being built from Canada, 
 through Maine, which will carry freight from Mont- 
 real to St. Andrews by a straight line eastward, and 
 justify the prescience of those who in 1836 promoted 
 the charter of the St. Andrews and Quebec Kailway. 
 
 Fourteen miles up the river, where further naviga- 
 tion is pi'evented by a fall, is the town of 
 
 St. Stephen, where are flourishing mills. Opposite 
 is the United States town of Calais. This region is 
 noted for the fact that when Great Britain and the 
 United States were at war in 1812, peace reigned upon 
 the St. Croix. Level headed men, addicted to the free 
 interchange of useful commodities, are not carried 
 away by martial ardor. So Calais and St. Stephen 
 were always at peace. 
 
THE PROVINCE OF QUEBEC. 
 
 The Province of Quebec in the oldest organized 
 province in the Confederation. It has always had 
 for strangers a singular charm, and the history of 
 its eai'ly days surpasses in interest that of any other 
 colony or province in America. Many historians, 
 native and foreign, have endeavored to do justice to 
 the romantic incidents of those early times, and the 
 traveller who may be curious to learn fun her of them 
 would do well to consult the histories of Miles, Fer- 
 land, Garneau, and especially the glowing pages of 
 Francis Parkman. Our task is upon the lower levels 
 of geography and statistics, and we can do little more 
 than indicate the authorities which lie ready to the 
 band of any inquirer. 
 
 The northern boundary of the province of Quebec is 
 the height of land which divides the waters flowing 
 northwards into Hudson's Bay from those which flow 
 into the St. Lawrence. This line continues westwards 
 until it reaches a point forty-five miles due north of 
 Lake Temiscamang, on the Ottawa. Thence the 
 western boundary starts, and, proceeding due south- 
 wards, it passes through the lake and follows the mid- 
 channel of the Ottawa river until it reaches the vil- 
 lage of Point Fortune, upon the western bank. There, 
 leaving the Ottawa, the western boundary strikes 
 through the country to the St. Lawrence, at River 
 Beaudette. This corner, which would seem properly 
 to belong to Ontario, was reserved to the ancient pro- 
 vince of Quebec, because, when Ontario, or Upper 
 Canada, was separated in 1791 as a distinct province, 
 the seigniories of Yaudreuil, Nouvelle Longueuil, 
 
118 PROVINCE OF QUEBEC. 
 
 Soiilanges, and Eigaiul had been erected by the King 
 of France, and were settled by Frenchmen whose 
 existing laws and customs the English Government, as 
 bound by the Act of 1774, respected. In the com- 
 paratively unsettled country to the west, the province 
 of Ontario was created under English laws, and colon- 
 ized by English-speaking settlers. 
 
 Upon the south, Quebec is bounded by the line of 
 45° north latitude, until it reaches New Hampshire, 
 when, turning to the north-east, the boundary line 
 follows a meandering course until it reaches the pro- 
 vince of New Erunswick. This part of the boundary 
 has already been discussed in treating of New Bruns- 
 wick. 
 
 Upon the east, the Islands of Anticosti and the 
 Magdalen group are within the government of Que- 
 bec. A line drawn due north from Anse au Sablon, 
 near the Straits of Belleisle, on the Labrador coast, 
 until it intersects the northern boundary, marks the 
 eastern limit of the province. The remaining portion 
 of Labrador belongs to Newfoimdland. 
 
 The physical features of Quebec which strike the 
 toui'ist are those of an alluvial plain stretching upon 
 both sides of the Eiver St. Lawrence, at varying dis- 
 tances, to the Laurentian Mountains on the north, and 
 the Notre Dame, and Green Moimtains, and the 
 Adirondacks on the south. The first named mountains 
 approach the shores of the lower St. Lawrence very 
 closely, and add a solemn and impressive grandeur to 
 the scenery. Near Quebec they recede, and the rich 
 and fertile valley continuously opens out, widening to 
 the westward to the broad level country of Ontario. 
 From the Montreal Motmtain, on a clear day, these 
 opposing ranges can be seen in the blue distance on 
 the north and south, separated by the wide stretch of 
 alluvial soil below. The Laurentian chain of moun- 
 tains nowhere attains to a very great height. Mont 
 Eboulemens, on the St. Lawrence, is 2,547 feet high. 
 Some of the ridges farther in the interior, are stated 
 
PHYSICAL FEATURES. 119 
 
 to be 4,000 feet. Ti-embling Mountain, in the county 
 of Argenteuil, is given by the officers of tlie Geologi- 
 cal Survey as 2,000 feet, but generally the height does 
 not exceed 1,500 feet. The whole of the Laurentian 
 country, as far as the watershed of Hudson's Bay, con- 
 sists geologically of early ciystalline rocks. The 
 hills are all worn into rounded forms ; for this is the 
 most ancient pai't of the continent of America. The 
 waves of the Silurian sea washed ai^ainst these hills 
 when but two small islands represented the remaining 
 part of the present continent. In the crystalline 
 limestones are the remains of the Eozoon Canadense, 
 earliest of all known forms of animal life. In the 
 same limestones graphite frequently occurs, and the 
 whole Lanrentian formation abounds in iron ores of 
 great purity. The country is studded with innumer- 
 able lakes, tempting the sportsman with their abun- 
 dance of fish. Over a thousand lakes are laid down 
 in the published maps of this region, and these are 
 the never-failing sources of many large rivers; for all 
 the larger tributaries of the St. Lawrence are from 
 the north. In the valleys of these countless streams 
 and lakes are tracts of fertile land, while the dense 
 forest which covers them supplies the timber which is 
 the chief export of Quebec. 
 
 South of the St. Lawrence the Notre Dame Moun- 
 tains follow the shore of the river nearly as far as 
 Father Point, whence, turning to the south-west, they 
 at last mingle with the Green Mountains of Vermont. 
 They attain in some places a height of 3,000 to 4,000 
 feet. The highest points are near the lower St. 
 Lawrence, and are sure to attract the attention of a 
 stranger leaving by the river. The bold bluffs of Capes 
 Chatte and St. Anne are striking objects from the 
 decK of a steamer, for the usual course of the outward 
 mail ships is close to this most rugged shore. The geo- 
 logical structure of those hills is later than that of the 
 Laurentides, and has been considered, together with 
 the country between them and the St. Lawrence, to 
 
120 PROVINCE OF QUEBEC. 
 
 belong to the base of the Silurian system. The Chau- 
 diere river, in whose stream gold is found in paying 
 quantities, takes its rise in these hills; and in this for- 
 mation the copper mines ot Quebec are chiefly found. 
 The character of the country from the river to their 
 base is level and fertile, but as the hills ai*e ap- 
 proached the scenery becomes varied and rugged. 
 
 The province of Quebec is a land abounding in large 
 rivers. The great St. Lawrence flows through it with 
 a breadth varying from one mile, a little above Mon- 
 treal, to twenty miles at Cacouna, and forty miles 
 near Point des Monts, which may be considered as the 
 entrance to the Gulf Flowing into it from the north, 
 we have space to particularize only the larger 
 streams. The gloomy Saguenay, from 300 to 400 
 miles long; the St. Maurice, which has a still longer 
 course; the Ottawa, nearly 600 miles, with its tribu- 
 taries — the Gatineau, the Lievre and the Eouge — all 
 three veiy large streams. From the south, the Riche- 
 lieu, a large and beautiful river, bi-inging the waters 
 of Lakes George and Champlain ; the Chaudiere, and 
 the St. Francis. Besides these there are numberless 
 streams of minor importance in a river system such as 
 this, but which w^ould rank in volume with many of 
 the more celebrated streams of the old w^orld. The 
 Assumption, the Loup rivers, upper and lower, the 
 Chateauguay, the North river, and the Etchemin, are 
 all rivers of importance. Quebec can boast of none of 
 those great inland seas which are the chief features of 
 the western provinces. Some of the lakes ai'e, how- 
 ever, of considerable size. Lake St. John has an area 
 of 360 square miles, and Lake Temiscamang, 126 
 miles ; but in the immense number of its lakes and 
 their great natural beauty, Quebec is unsurpassed. 
 
 Tourists, who arrive for the most part in the sum- 
 mer months, will probably be surprised to encounter 
 an almost tropical heat in those ^^few square miles of 
 snotv'' so carelessly ceded to the British crown by a 
 frivolous French monarch. A few words will, there- 
 
CLIMATE. 121 
 
 fore, be appropi-iate concerning the climate. The 
 isothermal line of mean annual temperature at Mon- 
 treal passes also through Leipzic in Saxony. The 
 mean temperature in summer is the same as that of 
 Orleans in France, and the mean winter temperature 
 resembles that of Moscow in Eussia. 
 
 The heat is sufficient in summer to bring wheat, 
 Indian corn, tomatoes, and the hardier kinds of 
 grapes, to perfection ; and the cold in winter some- 
 times reaches 20° below zero. Then, however, the soil 
 is covered with a thick mantle of snow ; the frost 
 does not penetrate deeply, and the roots of plants are 
 secure from injury until the heats of spring return 
 with their sudden and magical power. An English- 
 man, accustomed to the lingering and reluctant spring 
 of Great Britain, is astonished at the swiftness of the 
 change. It can scarcely be said hat there is a spring 
 season in Quebec, the tields put off their white livery 
 and don the tender green hues of early summer so 
 quickly under the powerful sun and clear skies of our 
 northern latitude. Vegetation advances with great 
 rapidity, for the melting of the frost and snow pul- 
 verizes the soil and prepares it for the seed. One 
 simple fact will, however, give a more certain indica- 
 tion of climate, and that is that maize is a regular 
 and certain crop in nearly the whole province of Que- 
 bec, a plant which will not ripen in England, and will 
 barely ripen in the north of France. 
 
 The winters have, therefore, no detrimental effect 
 upon vegetation, nor are they considered unpleasant 
 by strangers visiting the country at that season. The 
 air is dry and the skies clear. There are no fogs, no 
 raw damp winds, so wearing to invalids. Many from 
 the seaboard with pulmonary complaints have come 
 to reside during the winter at Quebec or Montreal, for 
 here, as at Minnesota in the West, the clear and 
 steady weather is beneficial in such complaints. The 
 sleighs, which make their appearance usually about 
 the first week in December, are not put away until 
 
122 rROYINCE OF QUEBEC. 
 
 the following April, and tlie steady cold seldom 
 relaxes during the whole season. The people still 
 enjoy many out-door amusements ; and curling, snow- 
 shoeing, sleigh-driving, toboganning. and skating are 
 the pastimes of winter. The mighty St. Lawrence is 
 bound fast under the potent spell of frost from the 
 lakes to below Quebec city. Eoads are everywhere 
 made upon the ice, and the farmers bring in their 
 teams in long lines across the frozen winters, heavily 
 laden with their autumn treasures of hay and corn. 
 The ice roads are always marked out by spruce trees 
 stuck in the snow. A visitor in Avinter is sure to be 
 impressed with the weird scene in early morning or 
 evening, when, from a sky as warm with rosy tints 
 as in midsummer, the level beams of sunlight, glanc- 
 ing and brightening over the sea of quiet snowy fur- 
 rows, and glittering icy crests, strike along the line 
 of evergreens, marking the ice roads, upon the trains of 
 sjeighs, and light up the tinned roofs and ste^jples of 
 the distant city with brilliant splendour. 
 
 The province, though shorn of its ancient dimensions 
 by the Act of 1791, which constituted Upper Canada, 
 and by the lamentable w^eakness of the Imperial Gov- 
 ernment in its various capitulations to the United 
 States, still contains 188,688 square miles. 
 
 In regard to population, Quebec is excelled by the 
 province of Ontario; the figures being 1,359,027 in 
 Quebec, to 1,923,228 in Ontario. Of this number 
 1,073,820 are of French origin, in the province of 
 Quebec alone. 
 
 These figures showing the preponderance of the 
 French race in Quebec lead naturally to a short sketch 
 of the history of the pi'ovince, a consideration of which 
 can alone explain our present institutions. Although 
 discovered by Jacques Cartier in 1535, and visited again 
 by him in 1 536, it w-as not until 1608 that the first settle- 
 ment was made. This was at the present city of Quebec. 
 The true father of Canada was Samuel de'Champlain, 
 a man of rare practical talent, of great constancy and 
 
HISTORY. 123 
 
 courage, and of lofty moral character. He was sent 
 out by a company of associated nobleman of France, 
 primaril}^ for the purpose of opening up a trade with 
 the Indians for peltries, and secondly for the purpose 
 of opening up a new field for the Christian religion. 
 It is necessary to dwell specially upon the religious 
 side of the foundation of the Cvdony in order to under- 
 stand its history. The Eoman Catholic religion was 
 then in the full tide of that enthusiasm which caused 
 the counter reformation, and devoted men and women 
 poured out their lives and treasures with cheerfulness 
 in the effort to spread its doctrines upon distant shores. 
 Hence it was that for many years the colony of France 
 took feeble hold upon the soil of Canada, It was more 
 a trading and missionary station than a plantation. 
 The Eecollet Fathers in 1615, and the Jesuits in 1625, 
 threw themselves into the missionary work, en- 
 couraged by Champlain, who, being a very earrest 
 * Catholic, concerned 'himself deeply in their efforts. 
 DeMonts, Chauvin, and many of the early patrons 
 of the colony were Huguenots ; but from the very first 
 it was stipulated that although the Huguenots might 
 share in the profits of the trade, the conversion of the 
 Indians was to be left entirely with the Eoman 
 Catholics. Later in 1627, when the company of one 
 hundred associates was formed, Montmorenci sold his 
 rights to his nephew deLevis, due de Yentadour, a 
 devout member of a monastic order. Then it was stipu- 
 lated that none of the settlers whom the associates 
 engaged to carry out to Canada should be other than 
 Catholic, and the religious zeal of the devout Catholics 
 of old France was more earnestly directed to Canada. 
 Noblemen and ladies, as w^ell as priests, threw them- 
 selves into the effort, and the foundations of institu- 
 tions were laid which exist to the present day almost 
 unchanged. Then followed in quick succession the 
 educational establishments of the XJrsulines, of the 
 EecoUets, of the Jesuits, of the Congregation of ladies 
 of Notre Dame, for the i-eligious training of the savage 
 
124 PROVINCE OF QUEBEC. 
 
 tribes. The French colonists, with donbtfiil policy, 
 identified their fortunes with the Huron and Algon- 
 quin tribes, which they found in the valley of the 
 St. Lawrence, and thus imperilled for many years 
 their existence in a long and deadly struggle with 
 the rising power of the Iroquois confederation. A 
 remnant of the Huron tribe still remains at Old 
 Lorette, near Quebec, while the Pequods, the N^arra- 
 gansetts and other aboriginal tribes of New England 
 have been utterly exterminated. 
 
 The colony of New France then was founded upon 
 a religious basis, in the same manner as were the 
 colonies of New England. It is, however, a matter of 
 pride to the Canadian that the soil of New Fi'ance was 
 never polluted by the footsteps of the familiars of the 
 Inquisition, who loaded with infamy the annals of New 
 Spain. Nor have our historians ever to blush for deeds 
 such as the^'athers of New England perpetrated towards 
 those who differed from them in religious belief. While 
 in the colony of Plymouth men and women were 
 hanged for being Quakers, while others were impris- 
 oned and pilloried on suspicion of Anabaptism, Pre- 
 lacy, or Eomanism, while the gloomy superstition of 
 Salem witchcraft swept off its victims by dozens, the 
 only blood shed in Canada for the Christian faith was 
 the blood of its martyr missionaries. They were ready 
 to shed blood for their belief, but it was their own blood ; 
 they were ready to pour out life, but it was their own 
 lives. These are matters of history; to touch on 
 questions of religion is not the province of the writer 
 of a guide book. In the pages of Parkman the deeds 
 and the faith of these men are recounted with a vigour 
 and impartiality which does him honour, and with an 
 eloquence worthy of his theme. If at this present time 
 the French race manifests a vitality in Canada as 
 mysterious to its enemies as to the Frenchman of the 
 France of to-day, it is because of the imperishable 
 power of the self-sacrifice and heroism of so many of 
 those men, laymen as well as clerics, who planted the 
 
HISTORY. 125 
 
 standard of France on the shores of the Eiver St. 
 Lawrence. 
 
 Passing, as not essential to our present purpose, the 
 history of the next hundred years, the struggles with 
 the Iroquois, and the wars with the British colonies 
 to the south, in which were achieved many gallant 
 enterprises and wei*e perpetrated many cruel deeds 
 of blood upon both sides; passing over also the 
 adventurous establishment of trading posts in the far 
 west and north-west, and the bold voyages of La Salle 
 and Hennepin, we come to the pei'iod when France 
 and England prepared to light a battle a Voutrance 
 upon the shores and in the forests of the new world. 
 The thirteen colonies then numbered three millions, 
 backed by large bodies of troops from England. 
 Canada barely numbered 60,000 souls, and was very 
 fitfully supporteJl by the French monarchy, then in 
 the last days of its decadence. Yet, great as the odds 
 appeared to be against the Canadians, the vigour and 
 consummate ability of the the men who ruled were 
 more than equal to the emergency, until the last 
 crowning effort of the English. In 1754 the war 
 commenced. Braddock was disgracefully beaten by 
 a handful of men, Abercrombie was defeated by one 
 fifth of his number, Oswego surrendered with disgrace, 
 the horrible tragedy of Fort William Henry was 
 enacted, and the year 1757 saw the French victorious 
 along the whole line of their border. With 1758 the 
 tide of war turned. Louisbourg on the east, and Fron- 
 tenac on the west, fell into English hands ; but although 
 the genius of Wolfe and Amherst wielded the British 
 power, resistance was obstinate. The struggle w^as 
 long and doubtftil at Quebec. The defeat of Montcalm 
 did not necessitate, however, the surrender of the 
 city, for in a very few weeks the approaching winter 
 would have compelled the British to re-embark. 
 Montcalm's trusted officers, deLevis and Bougainville, 
 were absent, and in the dismay which followed upon 
 his death Quebec was surrendered. 
 
126 PROVINCE OF QUEBEC. 
 
 Scarcely had the British fleet left when the English 
 garrison found itself besieged by deLevis witli the 
 troops from Montreal and new militia levies. The 
 siege lasted all winter. In early spring the British 
 General Murray marched out to giv^e de Levis battle, 
 but was defeated at St. Foy, and contined within the 
 walls of Quebec. The knell of French dominion had, 
 however, been struck. The opening of navigation 
 brought the English fleet once more, and Murray was 
 succoured. DeLevis retired to make a last stand at 
 Montreal, which, slowly, the three English armies 
 under Amherst, Murray and Ilaviland, advanced to 
 besiege. On September 8th, 1760 the capitulation 
 was signed, by which Canada passed over to the 
 British Crown. It is upon the conditions of this 
 capitulation and of the treaty of peace which followed 
 in 1763, and upon the celebrated Quebec Act of 1774, 
 that the laws, language, and religion of France are 
 still established so tirmly in this province. It is 
 around these brilliant records that the national feeling 
 of the French Canadian loves to linger, and the 
 devoted lives of the early missionaries still feed the 
 flame of devotion in the Lower Canadian heart. 
 
 We have no space to sketch even an outline of the 
 remaining history. How for fifteen years the sceptre 
 of universal empire paused within reach of England's 
 grasp, and how she failed to seize it the histories of 
 the loyalists of New Brunswick and Ontario will 
 abundantly relate. The story of their history is full 
 of interest, and the reader may consult the larger 
 works for the details. One fact only we add, that the 
 generous treatment of the British Government so won 
 the hearts of the Canadian French that during the war 
 of 1812-14 they took up arms cheerfully in its defence, 
 and a British general officer in a private memorandum 
 to the Duke of Wellington could state that ''not a 
 single Lower Canadian militia-man was known to 
 desert to the enemy during the three years the war 
 continued." 
 
CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 Whatever jealousies may exi^t anion;;- the cities 
 of the Dominion, all Canadians are proud of Que- 
 bec. Not that they think the Quebecers have done 
 their duty by her, not that they think the streets 
 could not be cleaner, nor the houses more regular, 
 nor the wharves more orderly; but they love Quebec 
 because the people are polite and hospitable before all 
 others, because the scenery is surpassingly beautiful, 
 and because the whole country around teems with asso- 
 ciations of historic interest. The resolute Champlain, 
 the haughty Frontenac, the heroic Wolfe, and the 
 
 Note. — It should have l>eon observed here, to avoid mis- 
 conception, that Wolfe was buried in the family vault under 
 the parish church of Greenwich. Neither the monuments 
 described, pp. 135, 187, nor the monument in Westminster 
 Abbey, nor the tablet at Westerham, nor the monument at 
 Stowe, mark the place of his interment. Frontenac's heart 
 was sent to France to the Countess <le Frontenac, who nevor 
 was in Canada. 
 
 though lower down the waters widen to a score of miles, and 
 at the gulf to a hundred. From the compression of the great 
 river at this spot the city derives its name, the word signify- 
 ing, in the native Indian tongue, the strait. On the east of 
 the city, along a richly fertile valley, flows the beautiful St. 
 Charles to join its waters wuth those of the great river. The 
 mingled waters divide to enclasp the fair and fertile isle of 
 Orleans. 
 
 '* The citv, as seen from a distance, rises statelv and 
 solemn, like a grand pile of monumental buildings. Cluster- 
 ing houses, tall, irregular with high pitched roofs, crowd the 
 long line of shore and climb the rocky heights. Great piles of 
 stone churches, colleges, and public buildings, crowned with 
 gleaming minarets, rise above the mass of dwellings. The 
 clear air permits the free use of tin for the roofs and spires, 
 and the dark stone-W'ork is relieved with gleaming light. 
 
126 PROVINCE OP QUEBEC. 
 
 Scarcely had the British fleet left when the English 
 garrison found itself besieged by deLevis with the 
 troops from Montreal an<l new militia levies. The 
 siege lasted all winter. In early spring the British 
 General Murray marched out to give deLevis battle, 
 but was defeated at St. Foy, and contined within the 
 walls of (iuebec. The knell of French dominion had, 
 however, been struck. The opening of navigation 
 brought the h^nglish fleet once more, and Murray was 
 succoured. DeLevis retired to make a last stand at 
 Montreal, which, slowly, the three English armies 
 under Amherst, Murray and Haviland, advanced to 
 besiege. On September 8th, 1760 the capitulation 
 was signed, by which Canada njw^ai - — 
 
 Bl'iti»jV» ^" 
 
 ..^IXV^V 
 
 yyjL to seize it the hi^^lories of 
 
 xne loyalists of New Brunswick and Ontario will 
 abundantly relate. The story of their history is full 
 of interest, and the reader may consult the larger 
 works for the details. One fact only we add, that the 
 generous treatment of the British Government so won 
 the hearts of the Canadian French that during the war 
 -of 1812-14 they took up arms cheerfully in its defence, 
 and a British general officer in a private memorandum 
 to the Duke of Wellington could state that "not a 
 single Lower Canadian militia-man was known to 
 desert to the enemy during the three years the war 
 continued." 
 
CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 "Whatovcp joalonsies may exist amoiio^ the cities 
 of the Dominion, all Canadians are proud of (Jiie- 
 bec. Not tliat they think the Qiiehecers have done 
 their duty by her, not that they think the streets 
 coukl not be cleaner, nor the houses more regular, 
 nor the wliarves more orderly; but they love Quebec 
 because the people are polite and hospitable before all 
 others, because the scenery is surpassingly beautiful, 
 and because the whole country around teems with asso- 
 ciations of historic interest. The resolute Champlain, 
 the haughty Frontenac, the heroic Wolfe, and the 
 chivalrous Montcalm, repose here, resting amid the 
 scenes of their labours after the turmoil of their earnest 
 lives. Much has been written about Quebec, but Charles 
 Marshall, a young man of great j)romise, who died " too 
 early " on a homeward voyage from the East, gives, in 
 his '' Canadian Dominion," a description so graphic 
 that we cannot do better than make an extract from it. 
 
 " Unexampled for picturesciuenes and magniticence of posi- 
 tion on the American continent, and for the romance of her 
 historic associations, Quebec sits on lier impregnable heights 
 a queen among the cities of the New World. 
 
 " At her feet flows the noble St. Lawrence, the fit highway 
 into a great empire, here narrowed to a couple of miles breadth, 
 though lower down the waters widen to a score of miles, and 
 at the gulf to a hundred. From the compression of the great 
 river at this spot the city derives its name, the word signify- 
 ing, in the native Indian tongue, the strait. On the east of 
 the city, along a richly fertile valley, flows the beautiful St. 
 Charles to join its waters with those of the great river. The 
 mingled waters divide to enclasp the fair and fertile isle of 
 Orleans. 
 
 ** The city, as seen from a distance, rises stately and 
 solemn, like a grand pile of monumental buildings. Cluster- 
 ing houses, tall, irregular with high pitched roofs, crowd the 
 long line of shore and climb the rocky heights. Great piles of 
 stone churches, colleges, and public buildings, crowned with 
 gleaming minarets, rise above the mass of dwellings. The 
 clear air permits the free use of tin for the roofs and spires, 
 and the dark stone-work is relieved with gleaming light. 
 
128 CITY OF QUEnEC. 
 
 Above all rise the long dark lines of one of the world's famous 
 citadels, the (ii])raltar r»f America. 
 
 "Then still below, tlie shores are lined with warehouses 
 and quays and masses of shipping. All tbe surrounding 
 waters are filled with sails ; the srene is one of sunlight and 
 life. Stoamt^rs with their filmy lines of smoke, pass up and 
 down the river, or rapidly across, or tug with much noise 
 and short breath the heavy rafts of wood, acres wide covered 
 w ith hut villages, that float down from the inland waters. 
 At Pointe Levis, opposite the citadel, lie stranded or lazily 
 floating incalculable masses of this lumber, waiting for tran- 
 sit to the Britisii Isles, South America or Australia. 
 
 This exti-act vei-y fairly describes Quebec. Henry 
 Ward Beeeher, while te.stifyin<j^ to the wonderful 
 beauty of the scenery, was impressed by the oddity of 
 the city. He thus describes it : — 
 
 " Queer old Quebec ! Of all cities on the continent of 
 America, the quaintest. It is a populated cliff, a mighty rock, 
 scarped and graded and made to hold houses and castles, 
 which by all proj)er natural laws ought to slide off from its 
 back like an ungirded load from a camel's back. But they 
 stick. At the foot of the rocks the space of several streets has 
 been stolen from the river." 
 
 Mr. Beecher'n first experience on landing is thus 
 related : — 
 
 " Away we went, climbing the steep streets at a canter 
 with little horses hardly bigger than flies, and like flies, with 
 an aptitude for climbing perpendicular walls. It was strange 
 to enter a walled city through low and gloomy gates on this 
 continent of America. Here was a small bit of mediseval 
 Europe perched upon a rock and dried for keeping, in this 
 north-east corner of America, a curiosity that has not its 
 equal, in its kind, on this side the ocean." 
 
 The medieval monuments of Quebec are fast pass- 
 ing aw^ay. The ancient gates, so dear to American 
 travellers, have been rejjlaced by brand new structures 
 or removed altogether. Before long the walls will be 
 swept away, and boulevards will mark their place. 
 Our United States cousins, travelling in search of 
 
THE TI ARBOUR. 129 
 
 romantic Bcnsatioiin, will miss them, but tlie native 
 Quebeecr does not ajjpreciate his jn-ivileges, and thirsts 
 to replace the unique quaintness of the ancient struc- 
 tures by the parvenu stitfness of more modern archi- 
 tecture. 
 
 Six times have the walls of Quebec been assailed ]»y 
 enemies. In lt>29, theP^riLcli^h, under Sir David Kirke, 
 captured the town and sent its jL^arrison to p]n<j:land as 
 prisoners of war. Restored by treaty to the French 
 Crown, Quebec again, in 1090, saw a hostile fleet, that 
 of Sir William Phipps ; but thoui,di the town was bom- 
 barded, the English fleet liad to retire unsuccessful. In 
 1711 an expedition was planned both by land and sea. 
 but proved abortive. Admiral Walker's fleet was pre- 
 vented by fogs and storms from reaching the city ; 
 many of his shijjs were lost, and 800 of his men were 
 drowned. To the pious Canadians of that day it was 
 a direct intervention of Providence. In 1759 followed 
 the siege and capture by Wolfe; in 17G0 the unsuc- 
 cessful siege of the English garrison by deLevis ; and 
 lastly in 1775, the siege under Montgomery and 
 Arnold. 
 
 Quebec is not only remarkable foj* beauty of site and 
 interesting from historic association, but is worthy of 
 study on account of being the centre of the lumber 
 trade and the largest shipping port for timber in the 
 world. 
 
 Passing to a more detailed descripton of those points 
 in Quebec of interest to the tourist we first notice 
 
 The Harbour.— Distant though it is from the sea the 
 harbour of Quebec is one of the few in America deep 
 enough for the ''Great Eastern.'' Nevertheless, the 
 changes in trade have compelled improvements on a 
 lari^e scale. The Princess Louise Embankment at the 
 mouth of the St. Charles, encloses a tidal harbour 
 having an area of 20 acres, and with 24 feet of depth 
 at low water. Connected with it is a wet dock, to have 
 a permanent depth of 27 feet, with an area of 40 acres. 
 9 
 
130 CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 The embankment ij> 4000 feet long by 330 feet ^vide. 
 Nearly one million of dollars has been expended upon it. 
 
 On the opposite side at Pointe Levis, the Lome 
 Graving Dock', a work of great magnitude, is fast 
 approaching completion. The expenditure so far 
 amounts to $419,096. The dimensions are to be : 
 length, 500 feet; width, 100 feet; depth, 25J feet; 
 width of entrance, C2 feet. 
 
 During the year ending June, 1883, the departui*es 
 for sea of vessels from this port were 653, with an 
 aggregate tonnage of 631,213 tons. 
 
 Hotels.— The St. Louis, in Lewis Street, is the largest 
 hotel. The Albion, in Palace Street, is a very good 
 hotel. Henchey's, in Ann Street, is a comfortable 
 commercial house. If the Quebec people had left the 
 old gates and rebuilt the hotels, tourists w^ould have 
 been better pleased. As the Quebecers entertain 
 mediaeval views upon the subject of outside traders, 
 commercial ti-avellers before opening their samples 
 would do well to see about their licenses. 
 
 Foundation.— Quebec was founded in 1608 by Samuel 
 de Champlain. Seventy years previous to that date, 
 in 1535, Jacques Cartier, on his second voyage to 
 America, had discovered the St. Lawi-ence, and that 
 winter he passed in Canada, miserably enough, for 
 having no idea of the nature of the climate, he had 
 not made proper preparations either for food or for 
 clothing. He moored his vessels in the St. Charles 
 Eiver, close to the spot wdiere the Dorchester Bridge 
 now stands, and built huts on the east bank. The 
 site where St. Roeh's suburbs now stands was occu- 
 pied by an Indian town, called by the natives 
 Stadacona, and ruled by a chief called Donnacona. 
 In 1541, Cartier passed another winter in Canada, 
 but not at the former station. He chose a spot at 
 Cap Rouge on account of its greater defensibility, for, 
 having played the shabby trick of carrying off the 
 
THE CITADEL. 131 
 
 hospitable Donnacona on his previous visit, and the 
 chief having died in France, he did not care again to 
 trust the Indians. The following spring he returned 
 to France, and Quebec remained unsettled by Euro- 
 peans until Champlain's arrival in 1608. Champlain, 
 then, is the true founder of Quebec and pioneer of 
 civilization in Canada, a man of whom Canad'ans are 
 justly proud. He died an<l was buried in Quebec. 
 Only recently his burial-place was discovered under 
 the Champlain Steps in the vault of an old chapel. 
 His work has endured; of the 62,000 inhabitants of 
 the city of Quebec at this day, 46,000 still speak his 
 language. 
 
 The Citadel. — Passes to visit the Citadel were 
 formerly required from the military author ies, but 
 are not now necessary. In former years, before the 
 evacuation of the country by Great Britain, a full 
 infantry regiment was always quartered here, besides 
 artillery and engineers. It is now held by a small 
 body of Dominion troops. 
 
 Cape Diamond, upon which the citadel stands, is a 
 precipitous promontory rising 350 feet perpendicularly 
 from the river. From the elevated plateau upon which 
 the city is built, and from the Plains of Abraham 
 adjoining, the height is much less and the slope more 
 gradual, still, the lofty fortress domineers over the 
 whole surrounding country. 
 
 The visitor approaches the works through a steep, 
 winding road up the glacis, flanked by walls of stout 
 masonry, and peered at by ports and loop-holes which 
 scan his approach from all imaginable angles. The main 
 body of the work is entered across a bridge, over a 
 deep ditch, and through a massive gate called the 
 Dalhousie Gate, after the Earl of Dalhousie, Governor- 
 General in 1829. Here the main guard is placed, and 
 the officer of the day takes his post. Inside, the 
 summit of the cliff has been so far levelled as to make 
 a large parade ground for the garrison. Around, 
 under the walls, are the barracks and store-houses. 
 
132 CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 The large stone building is the officers' quarters. 
 Magazines, armories, and store-houses occupy suit- 
 able situations, and encircling all are the green slopes 
 of the ramparts above,surmounted by the grey line of 
 the walls, turning with sharp angles into each bastion, 
 and ornamented with cannon and formal geometric 
 piles of black shot and shell. 
 
 Mounting the ramparts the visitor will view a scene 
 of surpassing beauty. Standing upon the very beak 
 of the promontoiy, which juts out into the broad 
 undulating vallc}^, he sees the land rising, slope upon 
 slope, until the purple mountains close in the view. 
 These slopes, studded with villages, crowned with 
 bright steeples, look down, as from some gigantic 
 amphitheatre, upon the river-basin and shipping. 
 Walking westward, along the ramparts, the visitor 
 will obtain a good view of the Plains of Abraham, 
 where the decisive battle was fought, as well as of 
 the precipitous bank up which Wolfe's army climbed 
 on that September night so fatal to French power in 
 the western world. 
 
 Fortifications.— Although from the earliest period of 
 settlement fortifications were necessary against the 
 Indians, the outline of the present constructions is 
 due to M. deLery, who, in 1720, planned the defences 
 much as they exist at the present day. In 1759 they 
 were repaired by the English garrison which was 
 left in occupation during the winter ; and again in 
 1775 to resist the Americans under Montgomery. 
 Important additions have since been made from time 
 to time by the British Government, especially in 1823 
 when the citadel was buill . 
 
 At the end of St. Lewis Street is the St. Lewis Gate, 
 opening out into the Grande Allee, where are situated 
 the Skating Rink and the new Houses of Parliament. 
 This gate is a ncAV construction replacing the old histo- 
 ric gate. Next, to the right is the Kent Gate, an entirely 
 new gate opened to relieve the pressure of traffic. 
 
THE FORTIFICATIONS 133 
 
 The corner stone of this gate was laid by H. E.H. 
 the Princess Louise. The Queen subscribed largely 
 to the cost of its erection, and it is named after her 
 father. Prince Edward, Duke of Kent, who lived in Que- 
 bec for many years and was very much liked by the 
 Canadians. St. John's Gate is the next, leading out 
 into the most populous suburb. It was rebuilt in 1865. 
 The main business of Quebec with the surrounding 
 country being carried on through this gate, it was 
 the first to feel the innovating spirit of the age. From 
 the top a splendid prospect over the valley of the St. 
 Charles will reward the tourist. From hence the walls 
 are continued along the edge of the clitfs overlooking 
 St. Roch's suburbs to the site of Palace Gate, at the 
 foot of Palace Street. In 1775 the American army 
 occupied the suburbs of St. Roch. On the night of 
 the 31st December of that year a sally of the garrison 
 from the Palace Gate took Arnold's men in rear while 
 they were making an attempt upon one of the barriers 
 of the Lower Town. From this point a high wall 
 and parapet is continued to the site of Hope Gate, 
 thence to a cliif called the Sault-au-Matelot. Here is 
 the Grand Battery commanding the harbour. From 
 hence the wall continued to Prescott Gate, demolished 
 in 1871, through which all travellers by railway or 
 steamer used to pass before entering the Upper Town. 
 To force this gate was the object of the night attack 
 of Dec. 31st, 1775. Montgomery, advancing from the 
 west, and Arnold from the east, were to meet at 
 Mountain Street and carry the gate with their united 
 forces. Montgomery, with 700 men, marched along 
 the road now known as Champlain Street as far as a 
 spot called Pres-de-Yille. Here were posted a battery 
 of guns and a guard of forty-five men behind a barrier 
 in a narrow defile between the river and the rock. 
 Supposing the guard to be ignorant of their approach, 
 the assailants charged at a run, but were niet by a 
 volley at close range, which scattered them and killed 
 their general. A slab upon the rock above now marks 
 
134 CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 the spot where he fell. The attack led by Arnold 
 from St. Eoch's suburb was mo]'e obstinate. The first 
 barrier at the eastern end of Sault-au-Matelot Street 
 was carried. Here Arnold was wounded, and had to 
 be borne to the rear. His troops, passing through 
 the street, came to another barrier, which resisted all 
 their efforts, and having been taken in the rear by a 
 sally of the garrison from Palace Gate, they sur- 
 rendered to the number of 42G. In visiting this locality 
 it must be borne in mind that the river came much 
 closer to the cliif than at present. 
 
 Squares and Monuments.— Quebec, being mounted up 
 so high in the atmosphere, scarcely requires squares 
 or parks for breathing-places. But Quebec has that 
 which is better than any park or square in 
 
 Dufferin Terrace.— This is a very beautiful promenade 
 on the brow of the precipitous cliff overhanging the 
 Lower Town. It is a very favourite spot among 
 Quebecers, and commands a magnificent view of the 
 harbour and of the Point Levis side of the river. It 
 is upon the site of the old Castle of St. Louis, which 
 was burned in 1834. The site was levelled and the 
 platform laid down by the Earl of Durham, but in 
 1878, during the administration of the Earl of Dufferin, 
 it was extended to four times its original size, and its 
 name changed from Durham Terrace. It is now 1420 
 feet in length, and 182 feet above the river. There 
 is nothing elsewhere like it for extent of promenade 
 or for grandeur of scenery. On fine summer evenings 
 to congregate there is, with Quebecers, almost a reli- 
 gious duty. When the band plays there they cannot 
 stop in their houses. Opposite, upon the south or 
 Point Levis side of the river, can be seen the fortifica- 
 tions rendered necessary by the increased range of 
 modern artillerv. These works are not armed, the 
 Government of Great Britain having changed its 
 policy since they were begun. 
 
governor's garden. 135 
 
 The Governor's Garden.— This is the only park in 
 Quebec and it is a very small one, but it has, how- 
 ever, an ornament of interest in the column erected in 
 1827, by a public subscription, to the memory of Wolfe 
 and Montcalm which was started by the Earl of 
 Dalhousie. The inscription upon the front is gene- 
 rally admired for its elegant brevity, and was written 
 by I)r. Fisher, of Quebec. It is 
 
 Mortem. Virtus. Communem 
 
 Famam. Historia. 
 
 monumentum. posteritas. 
 
 Dedit. 
 
 Which may be thus rendered : 
 
 Valour gave a united death, 
 History, a united fame; 
 Posterity, a united monument. 
 
 On one side is the name "Wolfe," upon the other the 
 name "Montcalm," and in the rear a long inscrip- 
 tion in Latin stating that the foundation of the monu- 
 ment was laid by Governor-General the Earl of 
 Dalhousie in the reign of George lY ., to the memory 
 of Wolfe and Montcalm. 
 
 The Place d'Armes.— This is an open space near 
 Dutterin Terj-ace, an enlargement of the old French 
 parade ground by taking in the site of the old EecoUet 
 buildings, which were destroyed by fire. 
 
 The St. Foy Monument.— Every visitor to Quebec 
 should drive out a few miles on the St. Foy road, and, 
 turning off by a cross road, return to the city by the 
 St. Lewis road. The drive will pass many points of 
 interest and beauty. A short distance beyond the 
 toll-gate, on the St. Foy road, is a monument to com- 
 memorate a battle fought exactly 100 years previously 
 upon that locality. It was the last struggle for dom- 
 
136 CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 inion. Murray, with his small Enc^lish garrison, was 
 alone in Canada, cooped up in Quebec with the whole 
 country in arms against him, and closed in by winter 
 from all succour. He marched out to meet deLevis, 
 and was repulsed and forced to retire within the walls. 
 deLevis commenced to bombard the town, but before 
 he could make much ])rogress the spi'ing opened and 
 British reinforcements arrived. Around the spot 
 marked by the monument the tiercest struggle raged. 
 The monument is of bronzed metal upon a stone 
 base. Upon the face fronting the road is the inscrip- 
 tion 
 
 AUX BRAVES DE 1760, ERIGE PAR LA SOCIETE ST. 
 JEAN BAPTISTE DE QUEBEC, 1860. 
 
 On one side is the word Murray^ with the arms of 
 Grreat Britain, and on another Levis, with the arms of 
 Eoyal France. On the fourth side are the arms of 
 Canada. The windmill also portrayed upon this side 
 recalls the bloody struggle around the mill which 
 formed the key of the position. The inscriptions 
 upon monuments, like those upon tombstones, are 
 often lacking in that severe accuracy of statement 
 which records so enduring would seem to demand. 
 This is no exception. It was erected by a public 
 subscription among the citizens of Quebec generally 
 to which the English very largely contributed, 
 although it marks an English defeat. The statue 
 which surmounts it was the gift of Prince Jerome 
 Napoleon. It is of bronze and represents Bellona. 
 The St. Jean Baptiste Society managed the fund, 
 however, and superintended the inau guration. 
 
 Crossing over to the St. Lewis road and returning 
 to the city, the tourist soon arrives at the Plains of 
 Abraham, where the great battle of 1759 was fought. 
 At that time this plain stretched, unbroken by in- 
 closures, level from the river bank to the walls save 
 where scattered bushes afforded shelter to marksmen. 
 
PLAINS OF ABRAHAM. 13*7 
 
 Other markmen were posted in the flanking woods. 
 The English were inferior in number to their oppo- 
 nents, but they were all trained troops. They had time 
 to get up but one gun. To them defeat was certain 
 destruction, for to re-embark in the face of a victorious 
 enemy was impossible. Success jus titled the enter- 
 prise of Wolfe, but, had the fortune of war turned the 
 other way, his reputation would have been ruined. 
 Montcalm's most trusted officers, deLevis and Bourla- 
 maque, were absent at Montreal or on the Eichelieu, 
 yet he might well have hoped for success. He has 
 been blamed for giving battle, but delay would have 
 given the English time to intrench, and criticism is 
 easy after the event. 
 
 The story of the battle is too well known to need 
 recital. The spot where the dying general heard the 
 victorious shout of his troops is marked by a small 
 column with the simple legend 
 
 HERE DIED WOLFE VICTORIOUS. 
 
 Not far off the curious visitor may find the place still 
 called ''Wolfe's Cove," where the landing was made. 
 A path leads down the steep bank to the cove on the 
 river side. 
 
 The Esplanade.— This is a level and pleasant spot 
 under the ramparts, between St. Lewis and St. John's 
 gates, used as a parade ground for troops and a 
 promenade for the citizens. 
 
 RELIGIOUS AND CHARITABLE INSTITUTIONS. 
 
 The Ursuline Convent.— In the early days of the 
 colony, when the Jesuit Fathers were carrying to the 
 far-off westera tribes the doctrines of their church, the 
 Superior at Quebec used to send to France an annual 
 account of the work done among the savages. These 
 " Jesuit Relations," as they are now called, corres- 
 ponded to the present reports of missionary societies, 
 
138 CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 and were eagerly read throughout France, and stirred 
 np the piety and zeal of devout Catholics. 
 
 The Jesuits made an earnest appeal on behalf of 
 the female children of the Indians. This inflamed the 
 ardour of a noble and devout ladv, Madame de la 
 Peltrie, who resolved to devote her life and fortune 
 to the spiritual and secular education of the Indian 
 girls in the wilds of Canada. Associating with herself 
 three Ursuline nuns, she sailed for Canada in 1639, 
 and, after many privations and hardships, succeeded 
 in founding the institution which still exists, covering 
 about seven acres of i^round in Garden Street. 
 Although to Madame de la Peltrie is due the inception 
 of the scheme and the funds with which it was com- 
 menced, its success was mainly owing to the first Su- 
 perioress, Marie de I'lncarnation, a remarkable woman, 
 called by Eossuet the St. Theresa of the New World, 
 who united an almost ecstatic fervour to practical 
 talents of the highest order. Incited and supported 
 by supernatural dreams and visions, her indomitable 
 energy overcame all discouragement. Twice the 
 convent was burned to the ground, pestilence and 
 famine decimated the small band of colonists and 
 native converts, the Indian children were unexpectedly 
 indocile, even when persuaded to listen ; but the zeal 
 of this woman never flagged, and her courage never 
 grew faint. In the vision she saw, while praying 
 before the Sacrament at Tours before she entered 
 on her work, the whole land of Canada was shewn 
 her, rugged with the primeval forest ; and the memory 
 of the Heavenly voice which sent her on her mission, 
 supported her under all her trials. The community 
 now numbers in Quebec about eighty professed sisters, 
 instructing from 400 to 500 pupils. Branch houses 
 have been established at Lake St. John and at Stan- 
 stead. The Ursulines of Three Eivers, though now 
 independent, sprang from the Quebec establishment, 
 and the convent at Boston, destroyed in 1834 by a 
 fanatical mob, had been founded by nuns of this order. 
 
HOSPITALS. 139 
 
 Visitors will i-equire special permission to go 
 beyond the parlour and the chapel. This last is of 
 special interest, for here repose the remains of Mont- 
 calm. Mortally wounded while attempting to rally 
 his men, he was carried to the Ursuline Convent, 
 where he died. A marble slab in the church per- 
 petuates his memory. The chapel was built in 1724. 
 It contains some good original paintings. 
 
 The Hotel Dieu.—This institution was founded in 
 1639, by the Duchess d'Aguillon, niece of Cardinal 
 Richelieu. At her instance three Sisters from the 
 Convent of the Hospitalieres at Dieppe sailed for 
 Canada in the same vessel which carried Madame de 
 la Peltrie and the Ursuline nuns. They soon found 
 employment, for the small-pox broke out with great 
 virulence in the small colony. After changing their 
 residence several times they finally settled, in 1646, 
 on the present site of their institution, between Hope 
 Gate and Palace Gate. Here their buildings gradually 
 grew to their present dimensions. The present build- 
 ings were commenced in 1654, and received large 
 additions in 1672 and in 1696. The community 
 consists of about 62 professed nuns, who devote them- 
 selves to attending to the sick and affording gi'atu- 
 itous relief to poor out-door patients. 
 
 The chapel contains some good paintings, notably 
 one by Eustache Le Sueur. 
 
 The General Hospital.— This establishment was found- 
 ed in 1692 by the second Bishop of Quebec, for the 
 purpose of receiving aged, infirm and sick poor. Four 
 Sisters of the Hospitalieres of the Hotel Dieu com- 
 menced the work in a convent upon the River St, 
 Charles, owned by the Recollet Fathers. The property 
 was bought from the Fathers by the Bishop, and is the 
 site of the present fine hospital. It became indepen- 
 dent of the Mother House in 1701, and now" contains 
 about seventy professed Sisters. Situated in St. Roch's 
 
140 CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 8ubur])s, outside the walls, it became a refuge for all 
 of the religious orders during the siege of (Quebec in 
 1751). Here many wounded soldiers l)oth of the Eng- 
 lish and French armies were conveyed and nursed with 
 care and assiduity. 
 
 The Marine Hospital.—This noble building is very 
 conspicuouslj' sitL:atod upon the bank of the 8t. Charles 
 River. It was built in 183-4, and is designed for the 
 cure of sick sailors from the hundreds of vessels trad- 
 ing at the port. Eveiy comfort has been pi'ovided here 
 for the friendless sailor ; skilful advice, careful nursing, 
 and large recreation grounds. 
 
 The Basilica.— Quebec does not contain many fine 
 churches. The Roman Catholic Cathedral will at 
 once arrest attention, by its peculiar style or absence 
 of style. It is the most foreign looking building in 
 Quebec, and situated as it is upon the irregular open 
 space (for it cannot be called a square) near the mar- 
 ket, a stranger can scarcely realize the fact that he is 
 in America, and not in some out of the way town in 
 Normandy or Central Fi\ance. The Cathedral was erect- 
 ed in 1G66 by Monseigneur de Laval, the first Bishop of 
 Quebec. The interior is very interesting, and contains 
 some good pictures, among which are a Saint Paul, by 
 Carlo Maratta, and a Christ, by Van Dyck. The vest- 
 ments are probably more gorgeous in adornment than 
 anywhere else in America. Many of them w^ere gifts 
 from the French kings. The church is the See of the 
 Archbishop of Quebec. In 1874 Pope Pius IX elevated 
 it to the rank of a Basilica Minor. It is the only 
 church of that dignity in America. 
 
 The Anglican Cathedral.— This fine church occupies 
 a considerable portion of the site of the old Recollet 
 Monastery. It was erected in 1804, at the expense of 
 the English Government. Many monuments of inter- 
 est are contained in it, and specially one to Bishop 
 
CHURCHES. 141 
 
 Mountain, (the first of the name), Bishop of Quebec. 
 The tine Htainccl glass window is to commemorate the 
 second Bisho]> Mountain. In tliis church the Duke of 
 Eichmond wan buried, who, while Govei'nor-General, 
 died of hydrophob''^ from the bite of a tame fox. The 
 Hplendid communion service, altar-cloth, and service 
 books are the gift of George III. 
 
 The Church of Notre Dame des Victoires. — A small 
 church in the Lower Town, called at first Notre 
 Dame de la Victoire in 1090, to commemorate the re- 
 pulse of Sir AVilliam Phipps. A flag shot aw\ay from 
 Phipps' ship, which some Canadians swam out for and 
 brought to shore, used to adorn this church as a trophy. 
 In nil, w^hen Walker's expedition was scattered fy 
 storms in the river, the Quebecers fancied that it w^as 
 by a miraculous interposition of Providence, and so 
 they changed the name to Notre Dame des Victoires^ 
 The irregular square on w^hich the little church stands 
 is most quaint and picturesque. '* Break-neck steps " 
 are quite neai-, leading up little Champlain street. A 
 bit of Europe in the 17th century is \evy precious in 
 a new country. 
 
 Many other commodious churches testify to the 
 piety of the people of Quebec. 
 
 Parliament Buildings.— This is an imposing block of 
 buildings just completed. They are in the form of a 
 quadrangle, and are situated on a commanding site 
 outside St. Louis Gate upon the Grande All^e. They 
 live built in Fi'ench lYth century style, and are most 
 substantial in construction as well as ornamental in 
 design. The Provincial Legislature meets here, and 
 all the departmental offices are clustered together here 
 under one roof. 
 
 The Seminary and Laval University.— Among the men 
 of ability w4io have left indelible ti*aces upon the 
 history of the province, none surpass Francois de 
 
142 CITY OP QUEBEC. 
 
 Laval, first Bishop of Qiichec. Born of tho noblo 
 family of Montnioi'oncM, he liad all tho vii^our, all tho 
 courage, ami a full ])i'o|)oi-tioii of the pi-ide which 
 belonged to his lineage. He ai'rived at (Quebec in 1058, 
 and assumed, with no falteririi^ .i^i'Jisp, the reins of eeelo- 
 siastical power. lie destroyed the independence of tho 
 missionaiy or«^anizati()n, and divided the country into 
 regular pai'ishes. lie tbunded, in 1003, the Seminary 
 of (Quebec, tho Gran<l Seminary for the theological 
 training of clergy for his diocese, and the Little Semi- 
 nary for general education. To this institution ho 
 devoted all his wealth, and after thirty years labour in 
 the colony, ho retired to spend within its walls tho 
 remainder of his life. In 1852 the Seminary was 
 transformed into tho Laval University, and the great 
 design of its founder ultimately realized. Tho univer- 
 sity building now stands out in tho forefront of the 
 Upper Town, conspicuous for magnitude, solidity and 
 stilfness. Within, it is furnished lavishly with all tho 
 appliances of modern teaching : a splendid library of 
 77,000 volumes, and costly apparatus, convenient lec- 
 ture-rooms and spacious halls. The main building is 
 297 feet long, and five stories high. A wing 2()5 foot 
 long was added in 1880. It is fire-proof, and is sur- 
 mounted by a dome from which magniticent views 
 may bo had over tho country in all directions. With- 
 out, it is utterly bare of ornament, and rigid as its 
 founder. Tho hall of entrance is of noble proportions. 
 On each flat a corridor runs down tho centre, 8 feet 
 wide, and 265 feet long. Tiie Natural History collec- 
 tions are very complete, and the collection upon North 
 American Archaeology is also well worth a visit. It is 
 tho best in Canada. The Herbarium contains 10,000 
 plants, and the Ornithological collection comprisoa 
 600 species. The University has a very largo staff 
 of Professors, and takes place in the front rank of 
 educational institutions in the Dominion. Fourteeen 
 colleges and four grand Seminaries are affiliated to this 
 University, which grants degrees in the FacuHies of 
 
COLLEGES AND SCHOOLS. 143 
 
 Arts, Theoloi^y, Law and Medicine. The Imildincrs of 
 the Seminary adjacent are nnudi more ])ictureMque. 
 Thcvaryini^ heii^lil and ii-re^ular stylo of the building 
 und the enclosed court ai-e pleasanter to the eye if not 
 80 suited to the present utilitai'ian a«4'e. The cha))el 
 of the Semiiiarv^ is well worth a visit. It contains some 
 tine ori;;"inal paintings. 
 
 Morrin College.— This institution owes its origin to 
 a becjuest of the late Di*. Mori'in, of Quebec. It is 
 under the manag(^nient of the Presbyterian bo<ly, and 
 is alfiliate<l with McGill University, Montreal. In the 
 same building are the rooms of the 
 
 Literary and Historical Society, founded in 1825 by 
 the aid of the Kai'l of JJalhousie. It has a good libi'ary 
 of books on the History of Canada. Lectures are given 
 and Transactions published from time so time. 
 
 The Normal School.— This quaint building is situated 
 on Dutferin Terrace (at the part of it properly called 
 Durham Terrace). It was built in 1784 by Governor 
 llaldimand, and is sometimes called after him, Haldi- 
 mand Castle. The stone built into the wall bearing 
 date 1G-I7, belonged to the bastion of Fort St. Louis, 
 which has long since disappeared. It w^as dug up in 
 1*784 and built into the wall, but the date commemo- 
 rates the completion of the vanished bastion. 
 
 The Post Office.— This is a handsome edifice, built of 
 Cap Eouge limestone. It replaces an ancient building 
 which used to excite the curiosity of strangers. The 
 effigy of Champlain over the entrance in Buade Street 
 looks down on the busy crowd. Close to it is the 
 celebrated Chien d'Or, sole relic of the former build- 
 ing, telling in bright new gilding its old story of 
 revenge and murder. As the stone has been preserved 
 the story must be told. 
 
144 CITY OF QUEBEC. 
 
 The former Post Office was a house which, in those 
 days, might almost be called a palace, occupied in the 
 year 1748 by an eminent merchant of Quebec, Mons. 
 Phillibert. He had quarrelled with the notorious Inten- 
 dant BiiTOt, the second man in New France, who was 
 then in the full tide of that peculation and insolence 
 which sapped the pow^r of France in the new as well 
 as in the old world. To express his hatred, Phillibert 
 had this rough sculpture placed over his door, with 
 the legend in old French : — 
 
 " Je Suis Vn Chien Qvi Eonge L'os 
 en le rongeant je prends mon Repos, 
 Vn temps viendra qvi n'est pas venv, 
 Qve je morderay qvi m'avra mordv.'' 
 
 Bigot, in return, quartered troops upon him. An 
 insult from the officer in command of the soldiers 
 quartered in his house was resented with a blow by 
 Phillibert. The officer drew his sword and ran the 
 merchant through the body. He then fled from 
 Quebec and took refuge in Acadia. The influence of 
 Bigot soon procured letters of pardon from Louis XY . 
 The officer returned to Quebec, registered his letters, 
 and satisfied the widow with a money compensation. 
 His promotion soon followed, and the murder of the 
 merchant was forgotten by all, excepting by a son of 
 Phillibert, a lad of eleven years, a quiet and reserved 
 youth, of brooding and austere habits. Arrived at 
 manhood, young Phillibert left Quebec for France. 
 A few months after his departure his mother received 
 a letter, " My dearest mother, w^e are avenged; my 
 fathers murderer is no more." The vengeance of the 
 son had overtaken the murderer in the streets of 
 Pondicherry in the East Indies. 
 
 This is the story as given by Lemoine and others 
 who have written about Quebec. This same Chien 
 d'Or could tell many stories of old days if he could 
 speak. He could tell of the flirtations of tne beautiful 
 Mary Simpson with Captain Horatio Nelson of H.M.S. 
 
EXCURSIONS. 145 
 
 Albemarle, afterwards the great Admiral, and of the 
 agonised feelings of the too susceptible hero wlien his 
 cooler-headed (or hearted) fiiend Davison got him off 
 to sea unmarried, and pi'evented him. almost by 
 violence, perhaps from settling in Canada. The new 
 Post Office is a handsomer building than its prede- 
 cessor, but those who delight in stories of love and 
 murder will always regret the old quaint and gloomy 
 building which it has replaced. 
 
 EXCURSIONS. 
 
 Interesting and beautiful as Quebec may be, w^ith 
 its quaint buildings and legendary memories, the 
 drives and excursions from the city surpass the 
 attractions of the citv itself. Let the tourist not fail 
 to visit the Falls of Montmorenci. Mr. VV. T>. Howells 
 thus describes them : — 
 
 " The lofty bluff was scooped inward from the St. Law^- 
 rence, in a vast irregular semicircle, with cavernous hollows, 
 one within another, sinking far into its sides, and naked 
 from foot to crest, or meagrely wooded here and there with 
 evergreen. From the central brink of these gloomy purple 
 chasms the foamy cataract launched itself, and like a cloud, 
 
 " Along the cliff to fall, and pause and fall did seem." 
 
 I say a cloud, because I find it already said to my hand, as 
 it w^ere, in a pretty verse, and because I must needs liken 
 Montmorency to something that is soft and light. Yet a 
 cloud does not represent the glinting of the water in its 
 downw^ard swoop ; it is like some broad sloj)0 of sun-smitten 
 snoW' ; but snow is coldly white and opaque, and this has a 
 creamy warmth in its luminous mass ; and so there hangs 
 the cataract unsaid as before. It is a mystery that anything 
 so grand should be so lovely, that anything so tenderl> fair 
 in whatever asi)ect should yet be so large 'that one glance 
 fails to comprehend it all. The rugged wildness of the cliffs 
 and holiows about it is softened by its gracious beauty, 
 which half redeems the vulgarity of the timber merchant's 
 uses in setting the river at work in his saw-mills and choking 
 its outlet into the St. Lawrence with rafts of timber and 
 10 
 
146 CITY OP QUEBEC. 
 
 ruV>bish of slabs and shingles. Nay, rather, it is alone 
 amidst these things, and the eye takes note of them by a 
 separate etfort." 
 
 The Natural Stej^^. a mile and a-half above the falls, 
 should be visited. The river has cut its way down 
 through the Trenton limestone to the underlying 
 gneiss. It has formed a deep I'avine through which 
 the water swirls in a raj^id current. 
 
 The Falls of Lorette.— This charming and romantic 
 spot ought to be visited. Marshall says that "the 
 Lorette cascades would give fjime and fortune to any 
 spot in England or France." Though not so frequently 
 visited, they are by many preferred to the Montmo- 
 renci Falls. At the village reside the remnant of the 
 once powei"ful tribe of Hurons. Flying in terror 
 from their relentless foes, the Iroquois, they left 
 their ancient abodes in the West, and settled here 
 under French protection. Parkman, in one terse 
 sentence, embodies the history of the Indians of 
 America. " Spanish civilization crushed the Indian; 
 English civilization scorned and neglected him; 
 French civilization embraced and cherished him." 
 The chapel was erected in 1731, The settlement 
 dates from 1697. 
 
 The Chaudiere Falls.— These falls are within easv 
 reach of Quebec, and will well repay a visit. 
 
 We have not exhausted the attractions of Quebec. 
 Many days might be spent by a nature-loving visitor 
 in exploring the surrounding country — the lakes full 
 of fish, and beautiful as dreamland — Lake St. Charles, 
 Lake Beauport, and many others ; our space, but not 
 our theme is exhausted. Those who w^ish to pursue 
 the subject further may do so in *' Picturesque 
 Quebec," and in the other publications of Mr. J. M. 
 Lemoine. 
 
THE CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 The city of Montreal, the chief city of Canada, 
 althouii-h not the seat of Government even of its own 
 Province of Quebec, is situated upon the southeast 
 side of a triangular island formed by the mouths of 
 the Ottawa, where, after a course of 600 miles, it 
 debouches into the St. Lawrence. The city is built 
 upon the left or northern bank of the St. Lawrence. 
 The clear blue water of that river and the more tur- 
 bid stream of the Ottawa meet near Montreal at so 
 acute an angle that their waters do not mingle, but 
 the line of junction may be traced for many miles 
 below, the St. Lawrence water washing the right 
 hand and the Ottawa the left hand bank. 
 
 The population of the city, at the last cenr-us, was 
 140, Y4Y of whom 78,684 were of French and 28,995 of 
 Irish origin. As to religion 103,579 were Eoman Catho- 
 lics. That census which was taken in 1881 showed 
 an increase of 33,522 in the preceding ten j^ears. 
 During the present j ear the municipality of Iloche- 
 laga was annexed, with a population of about 5,500. 
 The total population of the Island was 193,171. 
 
 The estimated value of the real estate is $84,802,380 
 and the present municipal taxes amount to $7.50 
 per head of the population. The length of the city is 
 nearly foui- miles and its breadth is two miles. It is 
 narrowed, however, by Mount Royal, which, forming 
 its chief ornament, rises boldly in rear of the city. 
 Suburban towns and villages, such as St. Cunegonde, 
 St. Jean-Baptiste and St. Henri, are spreading out 
 fast, and the mountain will shoitly be surrounded by 
 contiguous buildings. 
 
148 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Every visitor arriving by the i-iver must notice the 
 Custom House, a handsome triangular building of 'gray 
 stone, upon the river front, with its apex pointing 
 eastwards, and a clock upon the eastern tower. This 
 marks a triangular piece of ground, which, in old 
 days, was formed by a little stream falling there into 
 the main river. Upon this spot, on the 18th of May, 
 1642, Paul de Chomedey, Sieur de Maisonneuve, laid 
 the foundatiCiis of Ville-Mark de Montreal and here 
 was planted that grain of mustard seed which, in the 
 words of the enthusiastic Yimont, would soon grow 
 and overshadow the land. The story of the founding 
 of Montreal is well told by Parkman, but we have 
 space for only a short extract : — 
 
 ''Maisonneuve sprang ashore, and fell on his knees. 
 jlis followers imitated his example ; and all joined 
 their voices in enthusiastic songs of thanksgiving. 
 Tents, baggage, arms and stores, were landed. An 
 altar Avas raised on a pleasant spot near at hand ; and 
 Mademoiselle Mance, with Madame de la Peltrie, aided 
 by her servant Charlotte Barre, decorated it with a 
 taste which was the admiration of the beholders. Now 
 all the company gathered before the shrine. Here 
 stood Yimont in the rich vestments of his office. Here 
 were the two ladies with their servant ; Montmagny, 
 no very willing spectator, and Maisonneuve, a war- 
 like figure, erect and tall, his men clustering around 
 him. They kneeled in reverent silence as the Host 
 was raised aloft ; and, when the rite was over, the 
 priest turned and addressed them — ' You are a grain 
 of mustard seed, that shall rise and grow till its 
 branches overshadow the earth. You are few, but 
 your work is the work of God. His smile is on you, 
 and your children shall till the land.' " 
 
 The main point to be remembered in connection 
 with the early settlement of Montreal is, that it was 
 the result of religious enthusiasm. That is shown by 
 the name ViUe-Maric^ the original name of the city. 
 It was an attempt to found in America a veritable 
 
FOUNDATION. 149 
 
 ^' Kingdom of God," as understood by devout Roman 
 Catholics. The expedition was titted out in Finance 
 solely for that purpose, and the inception of the enter- 
 prise has many romantic particulars of •' voices and 
 revelations" and "providential occurrences" by 
 which the zeal of its founders was su2)ported and 
 stimulated. They had need for all their enthusiasm, 
 and opportunity for its exercise ag-ainst the powerful 
 Iroquois tribes, who determined to extinguish the 
 infant settlement in the blood of che settlers. The 
 character of Maisonneuve was a noble one. Duty was 
 the o'uiding star of his life. AVhen the governor of 
 Quebec sought to dissuade him from settling at the 
 "siege perilous" of Montreal, he replied: — "Mon- 
 sieur, your reasoning would be conclusive if I had 
 been sent to deliberate upon the selection of a suitable 
 site, but the Company having decided that I shall go 
 to Montreal it is a matter of honour, and I trust you 
 will not be displeased that I settle my colonj" there." 
 And again when further pressed : — " Gentlemen, if all 
 the trees of the Island of Montreal were changed into 
 Iroquois I am bound by honour and duty to go." A 
 stately and chivalrous tigure — this grand religious 
 knight of antique mould. Any city might be proud 
 of such a founder. But no monument records his 
 devotion, no square, or public place, commemorates his 
 name. We have Papineau Square, Chaboillez Square, 
 Phillip's Square, Dutt'erin Square, Dominion Square, 
 but no Place Maisonneuve. It would almost seem 
 that " devoir " was only an old French word. 
 
 The city of Montreal is built upon a series of ter- 
 races which mark the former levels of the river, or of 
 the ancient sea which washed the bases of the Lau- 
 rentian hills to the north. The geological formation 
 is Silurian, the surface rock being Trenton limestone. 
 In rear of the mountain the Trenton limestone comes 
 to the surface, and it is from these beds that the grey 
 stone is procured of which the city is chiefly built. 
 Along the margin of the river black shales of a higher 
 
150 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 formation, the "Utica, appear. The Island of Montreal 
 exhibits no less than six different formations in the 
 Lower Silurian. At St. Anne's, the western extrem- 
 ity, is the Potsdam sandstone. In that locality those 
 curious perforations may be seen supposed to be 
 worm burrows. Close to the Potsdam, near the rail- 
 way station, the Calciferous formation comes up in a 
 good locality for fossils. At the next station, Point 
 Claire, the Ch" 'y has a very extensive exposure ; 
 the stone for the V^ictoria Bridge was quarried there. 
 A short distance further east the Black River lime- 
 stone comes up, and at Montreal the Trenton lime- 
 stone and Utiea shales appear. The mountain which 
 rises up behind the city consists of trap rock, which 
 has forced its way through the limestone lying 
 against it. 
 
 Mount Poyal, from which the city derives its name, 
 rises 700 feet above the river level. From its sum- 
 mit the whole Silurian plain spreads out in a pano- 
 rama, broken only by the trap mountains, which sug- 
 gest former volcanic disturbance. These hills lie in 
 a line from ^N". W. to S. E., and mark a continuous 
 dislocation in the rocks. Looking southwards, upon 
 the left is Montarville; seven pretty lakes are con- 
 cealed in the recesses of the mountain. Next is 
 Belceil mountain with the ruins of a chapel upon the 
 summit. A depression in the midst of this mountain 
 is occupied by a lake of singular clearnet^s and depth. 
 Next, the Eougemont moimtain rises from the plain 
 almost concealing the Yamaska mountain behind it, 
 and to the right the conical shape of Mount Johnson 
 or Monnoir sharply breaks the level surface. Sixty 
 years ago this prairie between the St. Lawrence and 
 the Eichelieu was very productive wheat land, but 
 continual crops have run it out, and it now awaits 
 the steam plough, the high farming, and the capital, 
 which alone can draw out its capabilities. 
 
 At the time of the first arrival of the French, in 
 1535, a large Indian town existed on the site of the 
 
OLD IIOCIIELAGA. 151 
 
 present city, probably near the English Cathedral. 
 The skeleton of an Indian, who liad been buried in a 
 sitting posture, was fbun<l recently near Manstield 
 street, together with various objects of Indian pot- 
 tery. Jacques Caj'tier, wlio was guided then by the 
 chief to the top of the mountain, desci-ibes the town as 
 being fortitied with palisades, and built in the foi-m of a 
 circle. It was surrounded by fields of grain which 
 gave evidence of the settled character of the popula- 
 tion and their comparative civilization. He learned 
 that the name of the town was Hochelaga. The 
 eastern ward of the present city, where Jacques 
 Cartier probably landed, still retains that name, and 
 it has also been retained as tlie name of the county. 
 Jacques Cartier made no settlement in Canada, and 
 no visit by Europeans to Hochelaga is recorded 
 until seventy years later, when Champlain made an 
 expedition up the St. Lawrence But the populous 
 town described by Jacques Cartier had disappeared 
 Two aged Indians alone were found to conduct him 
 to the summit of Mount Royal, and relate the story 
 of the ruin of their people. Manj^ traditions survive 
 of the fratricidal war which bi-oke out after Cartier's 
 departure. If we are to believe the historian of the 
 Wyandots — Peter Dooyentate Clarke — himself a 
 descendent of the tribe — the Senecas and Wyandots, 
 or Hurons, lived side by side at Hochelaga, in peace 
 and amity until, in an evil moment, a stern chief of 
 the Senecas refused to permit his son to marry a 
 Seneca maiden. The indignant damsel rejected all 
 suitors, and promised to marry that man only who 
 should kill the chief who had oft'ended her. A young 
 Huron fulfilled the condition and won the lady. 
 But the Senecas adopted the cause of their chief and 
 attacked the Hurons. At first they were unsuc- 
 cessful, but the other tribes of the Iroquois assisted 
 them, and the Hurons were driven westward, and 
 were eventually almost exterminated by the implac- 
 able Iroquois. This romance of Hochelaga has found 
 
152 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 no poet or novelist to embellish an<l innn<»i"tali/.o it. 
 Our dark-skinned Canadian Helen l)r(>iiii:lit " iinnuni- 
 berod woe.s " U2)on her people, hut until some Homer 
 arises to narrate th«' ])artieulars, we shall never know 
 what tragie fate hefell her. Some vestiges of 11 ion 
 even still survive, hut Champlain saw no traee of the 
 triple palisaded town elaborately deserihed hy his 
 pre<lecessor. He was struek with the advantageous 
 situation of ^Fontreal. and even made a (dearing at 
 Point-u-Callieres whieh he ealled Plaee IJoyale, but 
 did not earrv out any desii^n whieh he may have 
 formed of foundinii: ii settlement. 
 
 The earlv history of Ville Marie is full of romance. 
 Champlain sided with the Hurons in the bitter war 
 whieh was raging at the time of his ari'ival, and the 
 French for tifty years struggled with difficulty against 
 the enterprises of those implacal)le enemies. Mon- 
 treal, being nearer to the Iroquois cantons, chietlj'felt 
 their fury, and in 1660. the whole island up to the 
 palisades of the town was swept ])y Tn<lian war- 
 parties. A deed of heroism by which DoUard and 
 seventeen other Frenchmen devoted themselves to 
 death alone saved the town. In 1665 the Marquis de 
 Tracy arrived from France with the Carignan regi- 
 ment. He defeated and punished the Iroquois and 
 established forts at St. Ther^se, Sorel and Chambly, 
 to check their incursions. The two latter places still 
 retain the names of the captains of his regiment who 
 built the forts. Then Montreal rapi<lly grew into im- 
 portance, and became the centre of the fur trade with 
 the west, and of the expeditions to retaliate upon the 
 English colonies, to the south, the atrocities which 
 the Iroquois, the allies of the English, had inflicted 
 upon Canada. Fj-om Mon-real also started Joliet, 
 Hennepin and La Salle on their adventurovj career of 
 western exploration. 
 
 In 1722 Montreal was regularly fortified, with a 
 bastioned wall and ditch, after plans by de Lery. The 
 lane in rear of St. James street, now called Fortifica- 
 
OLD FORTIFICATIONS. 153 
 
 tion Lane, marks the line of the old walls demolished 
 in 1808. 
 
 Upon Dalhousie Square stood the citadel. It had 
 been the site of one of the seignioi-ial windmills, and 
 was a hii^'h hill overlooking the towii. When Earl 
 Dalhousie was Govei-nor-General, the site was granted 
 to the city and tlie land level le<l. 
 
 The station of the Canadian Pacitic Railway stands 
 upon the site of the bari'acks occupied, until 1870, by 
 the English troops. They were called the Quebec 
 Gate Barracks, and there a portion of the old deLery 
 walls remained standing until 1881, when the ground 
 was entirely cleared to make room for the de2)0t. 
 Then disappeared the last vestige and visible sign in 
 Montreal of the French military power of former 
 years. In an angle of the wall to the north the 
 French Governors placed the Champ-de-Mars, still 
 used as a parade ground, much extended and sur- 
 rounded by trees in later times. The powder maga- 
 zine stood as a detached building in St. James street; 
 and the Recoil et Gate in Notre Dame street, very 
 near it, marked the western limits of the town. 
 
 Wolfe's victoi'y, on the Plains of Abraham, resulted 
 in the surrender of Quebec, but it was not until 
 September of the following year 1T60, that the 
 French power in Canada was tinally broken by the 
 surrender of Montreal. On the same day the army 
 of General Amherst from the English colonies, and of 
 General Murray from Quebec, arrived before the 
 walls. The city was not prepared for defence and de 
 Vaudreuil had no adequate force for resistance. 
 The long struggle was ovei*, and the white flag of 
 France went down before the fortune of the English 
 race. It ^-as a dear conquest for England, because 
 the colonists, freed from all apprehension, became 
 restive, and the English, proud of their victories, be- 
 came more aiTogant ; so it happened that only six- 
 teen years later British troops were, in their turn, 
 surrendered at Chambly and St. John. The British 
 
154 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Governor escajjcd down the river to Que]>eo, and the 
 ^lontrealers once more surrendered I heir eity, but 
 tills time to Montgomery, comniandini;* the army of 
 revolted eolonists. Durini^ the winter of 1770-7 the 
 city was oeeu])ied by the troops of the Continental 
 Confi;ress, and tiie astute and ])hiusible Fraidvlin prac- 
 tised his ]>ersuasive ])Owers in vain to induce the 
 Canadians to join the revolt. In the s])rini!: <^f n77 
 the advance of the British troops from (Quebec com- 
 pelled the invaders to evacuate (Canada, and the Bri- 
 tish fla«j; once more floated over the walls of Montreal. 
 
 Tl . history of our citv from thenceforth becomes 
 dull and uninterestini::. It is the ordinary history of 
 a mercantile town. Growing trade, extending build- 
 ings, material progress, in all directions. A slight 
 glow of romantic adventure still clung to it during 
 the contest for the fur trade between the North-West 
 and the Hudson's Bay Companies. The head-quarters 
 of the former were at Montreal, and here the fur- 
 kings of the Xorth-AVest lived and spent their profits 
 in generous hospitality. When the fleets of canoes 
 went out with supplies or returned with peltries, the 
 narrow streets of the old town were cro^vded with 
 adventui'ous voyageurs, and ])icturesque with savage 
 and semi-savage costumes. But all that passed away 
 with the fusion of the two companies, and Montreal 
 settled down to the humdrum life of ordinary trade. 
 Still the mingling of different creeds, languages and 
 races at Montreal adds even yet a charm of variety 
 to the city which none who have lived there ever for- 
 get. 
 
 With this ra])i(l sketch of old Montreal, w^e now 
 pass on to the Montreal of to-day. and a weary tourist 
 will naturally ask first for information about 
 
 HOTELS. 
 
 The Windsor Hotel, on Dominion Square, is one of 
 the finest hotels in America, whether for style of 
 
HOTELS. 155 
 
 architecture, commodiousness, comfort or complete- 
 nesH. It is one of the cliicf of those pahitial hotels 
 peculiar to Amei'ica, in which, under one roof every 
 comfort and convenience of life can he found. The 
 main entj-ance is from the Square and oj)cns into the 
 grand rotunda where are situated the hotel office, tlio 
 waitiujLC-room, the tele^raj)h and ticket-office, tlio 
 news-stand, coat-rooms, t^c. Closely connected hy pas- 
 sages are the wash-i*ooms, the hilliard room, the bar, 
 the barher's shop, a haberdasher's shop and a chemist's 
 shop. The rotunda has a domed loof handsomely 
 frescoed, and is lit from the top by large sky-lights. 
 A handsome marble staircase leads to the grand 
 corridor 180 feet long by 30 wide, out of which opens 
 a suite of handsome drawing rooms. On the same 
 flat is the main dining-room, 112 feet long by 52 feet 
 w.de, mf*rble-floored, and beautifully frescoed. A 
 smaller dining-room, 60 feet by 40, opens out of this. 
 The bed-rooms are all supplied with hot and cold 
 water, and are roomy and well wai'med and venti- 
 lated. The hotel is handsomely and luxuriously 
 furnished thi'oughout, and its situation is healthy and 
 airy. ($4.00 per day.) 
 
 The St. Lawrence Hall, on St. James sti'cet, ranks next 
 to the AVindsor, and is the most centrally situated hotel 
 in the city. It is the next building west of the Post 
 Office and close to all the banks and business offices. 
 Until the Windsor w\as built, it w^as the most fashion- 
 able hotel. It has been enlarged and improved to 
 meet evej-y want of the travelling public. (S3. 00 to 
 $3.50 i^er day.) 
 
 The Richelieu Hotel, on St. Yincent street, and extend- 
 ing to Jacques Cartier Square, is a very large hotel, 
 frequented chiefly by the French portion of the popu- 
 lation. It is a good and well kept house. ($2.50 to 
 $3.50 per day.) Those who ])refer it may take a 
 room at $1.00 per day and get their meals at the 
 Bestaurant; d la cdrte^ or elsew^here. 
 
156 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 The Albion Hotel, on McGrill street, is a large and 
 comfortable hotel frequented by country merchants — 
 a good commercial hotel. (82.00 to 82.50 per day.) 
 
 The American House, on St. Joseph street — much re- 
 sorted to by dealers in horses and cattle — a comfort- 
 able hotel. (82.00 to 82.50 per day.) 
 
 The Canada Hotel, St. Gnbriel street, a French-Cana- 
 dian hot^d. (82.50 per day.) Eooms all furnished 
 for two guests. 
 
 The Jacques Cartier Hotel, Jacques Cartier Square — 
 a small but comfortable hotel, patronized by French- 
 Canadians. (81.50 to 82.00 per day.) 
 
 The New York House, Lagauchetiere street. (81.25 
 to 82 00 per day.) 
 
 Omnibuses attached to the chief hotels await the 
 arrival of all trains and steamers, and the visitor 
 would do well to take his seat at once in the omnibus 
 bearing the name of the hotel where he wishes to put 
 up. Checks for baggage may safely be entrusted to 
 the porter who bejirs the badge of the hotel he repre- 
 sents. 
 
 Cabs and carriages in great number await all 
 arrivals of trains or boats. 
 
 TARIFF OF CAB FARES. 
 
 One-Horse Vehit'*' \. — From any place to any other, (pro- 
 vided the time occu .< 1 does not exceed twenty minutes) for 
 one or two persons, zo cents ; three or four persons, 50 cents. 
 From any place to any other, (provided the time occupied 
 does not exceed half an hour) for one or two persons, 40 
 cents ; three or four persons, 60 cents. When the drive ex- 
 ceeds the time limited as aforesaid hour rates to be charged. 
 
 By the Hour. — For the first hour, one or two persons, 75 
 cents ; three or four persons, $1. For every subsequent 
 hour: one or two i^ersons, 60 cents; three or four persons, 
 75 cents. 
 
PUBLIC CONVEYANCES. 157 
 
 Two-Horse Vehicles.— From any place to any other, (pro- 
 vided tiie time occupied does not exceed half an hour) one or 
 two persons, 65 cents ; three or four persons, 75 cents. When 
 the drive exceeds the time hmited as aforesaid, hour rates to 
 be charged. 
 
 By the Hour.— One or two persons, $1 ; three or four per- 
 sons, $1.25. 
 
 Fractions of hours to be charged at pro rata hour rates, but 
 no less than one-quarter of an hour shall be charged when 
 the time exceeds the hour. 
 
 Fifty per cent, to be added to the tariff rates for rides from 
 12 midnight to 4 a. m. 
 
 The tariff by the hour shall apply +o all rides extending 
 beyond the city limits when the engagement is made within 
 the city. 
 
 Baggage. — For each trunk or box carried in any vehicle, 
 10 cents ; but no charge shall be made for travelling bags, 
 valises, boxes or parcels, which passengers can carry by the 
 hand. 
 
 Carriages are very numerous in Monti cal. For ex- 
 cursions, or for a drive round the mountain, or a visit 
 to the cemetery a special bargain should be made. 
 The best plan is to order a carriage at the office of the 
 hotel, and thus prevent a wrangle. Strangers should 
 avoid drinking largely of water on their first arrival. 
 It is apt to cause diarrhoea when copiously drunk in 
 hot weather. The ubiquitous pitcher of iced-water has 
 invaded Canada from the South provoking incessant 
 thirst. 
 
 Horse Cars of the Montreal City Passenger Railway run 
 as follows : 
 
 From Mile End to Dorchester Avenue, by St. Lawrence,, 
 Craig, Bleury and St. Catherine streets West, every 8 minutes, 
 from 7 a. m. to 7 p. m., and every 16 minutes from 6.15 to 
 7 a. m. and 7 to 10 p. m. ; last car leaves Mile End Depot at 
 about 9 30, and Dorchester Avenue at about 10.15 p. m. 
 
 Between Hochelaga and A twater Avenue, St. Cunegonde,. 
 cars every 11 minutes, from 6.10 a. m. to 9.30 p. m., by way 
 of St. Mary, Notre-Dame and St. Joseph streets. 
 
 Papineau Sc^uare to the West end of St. Antoine street, every 
 15 minutes, from 7 a. m. to 10 p. m. 
 
158 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 St. Denis Street Line from Craig street to IVIount Royal 
 Avenue, from 7 a. m. to 9.30 p. m., every 15 minutes. 
 
 Omnibuses. — Leave Post Office for Point St. Charles every 
 20 minutes, from 6.30 a. m. to 9.30 p. m. 
 Fare on all lines 5 cents. 
 
 RESTAURANTS. 
 
 These abound in the central part of the city, espe- 
 cially in St. James Street and Notre Dame Street. 
 The chief are : — 
 
 Freeman's, No. 231 St. James Street ; Alexander's, 219 St. 
 James Street; Compain's, No. 116 St. Francois-Xavier Street ; 
 The Bodega, No- 366 Notre Dame Street ; Victor's, No. 145 
 St. James Street ; Walker's No. 372 Notre Dame Street. Be- 
 sides these, single meals can be had at the following hotels : 
 Windsor, $1.00 ; St. Lawrence Hall, 75c ; Richelieu, 75c ; Al- 
 bion, 50c ; American House, 50c ; Canada, 50c ; New York 
 House, 50c. 
 
 A stranger, having letters, would do well to obtain 
 an introduction at the St. James' Club, in Dorchester 
 Street, or at the Metropolitan Club on Beaver Hall, 
 
 MONEY. 
 
 English gold is a legal tender at the rate of 4.86| 
 dollars to the pound, but silver money is not a legal 
 tender, and passes under its proportionate value. 
 United States' money is taken at par when in gold or 
 paper, but silver coins are at a discount. There are 
 many brokei's' offices where money may be exchanged. 
 Weir's and Picken's, near the Post-office, are good 
 places, but the hotels all take foreign money at its 
 proper value. The money in use in Canada consists 
 of bank notes of S5 and upwards, and Grovernment 
 notes of $1 and upwards, all i-edeemable in gold on 
 demand. The latter are a legal tender. The Cana- 
 dian coinage is silver only, consisting of pieces of 5, 
 10, 20, 25 and 50 cents. 
 
COMMERCE. 159 
 
 THE POST OFFICE 
 
 13 on St. James Street at the corner of St. Frangois 
 Xavier Street, aiji almost facing the Phice d' Amies. 
 It is a hirge handsome building of grey limestone with 
 mansard roof. 
 
 Mails for England close four times a week ; for the 
 United States twice daily. Canada is a member of 
 the Postal Union, and the postage to all countries in 
 the Union is 2 J pence stg. or 5 cents per half ounce. 
 For all parts of Canada and the United States the rate 
 is 3 cents. City or drop letters are one cent. Postal 
 <?ards at two cents are provided for England and the 
 Postal Union, and at one cent for Canada and the 
 United States. Transient Newspapers are one cent. 
 All postage must be prepaid. The regulations for 
 Book and Parcels Post and for other mailable matter 
 as well as the hours of departure can best be learned 
 on inquiring at the Hotel office, as they vary from 
 time to time. 
 
 COMMERCE OF MONTREAL. 
 
 The River St. Lawrence is 1,500 miles long and drains 
 an area of 330,000 square miles. From Montreal to 
 Quebec, a distance of IGO miles, its width varies from 
 one to two miles. From a short distance below Quebec 
 to the Gulf of St. Lawi-ence it varies from 10 to 35 
 miles in width. Half way between Montreal and 
 Quebec it widens out into Lake St. Peter, which is 20 
 miles lono- and 9 wide. 
 
 At Quebec the tide rises 14 feet, but it ceases to be 
 observed at the -ower end of Lake St. Peter. The 
 depth of the river is so great that the largest ocean 
 steamers may be found loading or discharging in Mon- 
 treal harbour. From Quebec to Montreal the depth, 
 excepting for a distance of 30 miles, mostly in Lake 
 St. Peter, is never less than 30 feet. The work of 
 deepening the channel on the flats of that Lake was 
 
160 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 commenced in 1851 by the Harbour Commissioners 
 of Monti-eal, and has been steadily continued so that 
 now a depth of 25 feet at lowest water has been 
 attained. Owing to these great efforts, the largest 
 ocean vessels are able to reach our port. In carrying 
 on these works 8.500,000 cubic yards had to be re- 
 moved. The ship channel so deepened is 300 feet 
 wide at its narrowest point. Work is being steadily 
 continued and will not cease until a depth of 27J feet 
 is attained. 
 
 The distance from Montreal to the Atlantic Ocean 
 is a little under 1,000 miles, or to be precise, it is 98G 
 miles from Montreal to the Straits of Belleisle. The 
 city is 250 miles above salt water, and it is 315 miles 
 nearer to Liverpool than is the City of Xew York. 
 One-third of the whole distance to Europe by way of 
 the St. Lawrence is in comparatively smooth w^ater. 
 Westwardly the distance from Montreal to Chicago by 
 the St. Lawrence system is 1,261 miles, or 158 miles 
 less than the distance from Xew York to the same 
 city, w^hile the canals of the St. Lawrence system 
 aggregate only 70 miles, against 350 miles of artificial 
 navigation bv the Erie Canal to Buifalo. From these 
 few facts the importance of Montreal as a centre of 
 commerce can be estimated. 
 
 The Harbour.— Xo visitor to Montreal should fail to 
 walk along the river front, and inspect the wharves 
 and quay. These \vere designed during the vigorous 
 administration of Lord Sydenham. A solid revetement 
 wall runs along the whole riverfront of the city, com- 
 mencing at the Lachine canal, and continuing to the 
 Current St. Mary; a distance of one and a half miles. 
 As the wall forms the outer edge of the river-street, 
 that street is open to view from the river for its 
 Avhole length. The wharves at which the ships dis- 
 charge are ten feet below the level, so that the pedes- 
 ti'ian standing upon the wall and leaning against the 
 protecting rail, may see at a glance the whole busi- 
 
OCEAN STEAMSHIP LINES. 161 
 
 ness of the port si)read out below him. Close to the 
 canal are the basins for the Allan line of steamers 
 from Glaso;ow and Liveryujol ; then follow steamei-s 
 from the Maritime Provinces and different PJiiropean 
 ])orts, then sailing ships, then the sheds of the Lon- 
 don line of steamers and the Dominion line from 
 Liverpool ; then follow the sj)lendid liver boats plying 
 between Quebec and Montreal ; then succeed a crowd of 
 smaller river steamers, wood barges, and, final Iv, sail- 
 ing ships and steamei's as far as Ilochelaga. Here 
 lie, at a distance of 900 miles from the ocean, vessels 
 from all the ports of the world, from England, v^ith 
 iron, dry goods, and general goods ; from France and 
 the Mediterranean with wines and groceries ; from 
 Germany, with glass and general goods ; from China, 
 with tea — alongside of vessels loading with return 
 cargoes of grain, cattle, lumber, mineral phosphates 
 and other productions of Canada. The Avharves are 
 not disfigured by unsightly warehouses, but the river 
 street is as clear as a Parisian quay. 
 
 The maritime importance of Montreal will perhaps 
 best be illustrated by an enumeration of the regular 
 lines of ocean steamships w^hich trade to the port, 
 they are : — 
 
 Allan Mail Line, weekly to Liverpool. 
 
 Allan Line, weekly to Glasgow. 
 
 Dominion Line, Aveekly to Liverpool. 
 
 Beaver Line, weekly to Liverpool. _ 
 
 Donaldson Line, weekly to Glasgow. 
 
 Temperley Line, fortnightly to London. 
 
 Boss Line, fortnightly to London. 
 
 Great Western Line, fortnightly to Bristol. 
 
 Thomson Line, fortnightly to Newcastle-on-Tyne, via 
 London. 
 
 Hansa Line, fortnightly to Hamb'irg. 
 
 White Cross Line, fortnightly to Antwerp. 
 
 Quebec Steamship Line, fortnightly for ports on the Gulf 
 and Prince Edward Island. 
 
 Montreal and Acadian Line, fortnightly to St. John's, New- 
 foundland. 
 
 Black Diamond Line, to Charlottetown, Pictou and St. 
 John's, Nfld. 
 11 
 
162 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Besides these, there are numerous steamers trading 
 to the poi't whieli do not belong to any reguhir line. 
 The fleet of river steamers plying to the ditterent 
 towns on the 81. Lawrence and its tributaries adds to 
 the busy appearance of the harbour. 
 
 The statistics of the business of the port for the 
 year 1883, are: — 
 
 Total value of exports $27,277,195 
 
 " value of imports 43,718,549 
 
 " customs duties collected 7,698,796 
 
 " tonnage 664,263 
 
 " sea going vessels 660 
 
 Of these last 464:=605,805 tons were steamships. 
 
 Only per cent, of the vessels arriving from sea 
 were sailing vessels, showing that Montreal has be- 
 come almost entirely a steamship port. 
 
 The quay or revetment wall extends down to the 
 Current St. Mary, but the wharves are continued 
 much further down the river as far as the Hudon Cot- 
 ton Factory. The total length of wharf accommoda- 
 tion is 4*57 miles, of which two -thirds is for ships 
 drawing 25 feet of water. The port possesses every 
 convenience for loading and despatching ships, such 
 as steam elevators for grain and appliances for ship- 
 ping cattle. 
 
 The following extract from the records of the Corn 
 Exchange gives the chief items of export during the 
 yeas 1883 : — 
 
 Wheat... 5,008,167 bushels. 
 
 Maize 4,530,731 
 
 Peas 1,666,334 " 
 
 Oats 155,431 " 
 
 Barley 142,354 '' 
 
 Rye 175,960 " 
 
 Flour 1,552,484 cwts. 
 
 Meal 185,676 " 
 
 Potash 35,140 " 
 
 Butter 159,663 firkins. 
 
 Cheese 991,940 boxes. 
 
 Bacon 73,048 " 
 
LACHINE CANAL. 1G3 
 
 Lard 52,423 tierces. 
 
 Meats 11,923 barrels. 
 
 Oxen 50,345 animals. 
 
 Sheep 102,347 
 
 Apatite 17,160 tons. 
 
 Lumber 16,964,478 feet. 
 
 Deals 23,094 standards. 
 
 In order to give greater despatch the harbour is 
 lighted by the electric light under the Brush system, 
 so that ships are loaded or discharged at night as well 
 as during the day. 
 
 On a market day, that portion of the harbour 
 allotted to river craft assumes a very livel}^ appear- 
 ance. Much of this business is in the hands of the 
 Eichelieu and Ontario JS'avigation Company, but there 
 are many independent boats. That Company has a 
 line of magniiicent steamers to Quebec, leaving Mon- 
 treal every evening uj:on the arrival of the daily 
 steamer from the Lake Ontario ports. It has a direct 
 boat for Three Eivers twice a week, a daily boat for 
 Terrebonne, and a boat twice a week for Cornwall. 
 There is also a service on the Eichelieu twice a week 
 and upon the Yamaska. These rivei* boats, with the 
 ferry steamers, and steam tugs, fully occupy the 
 wharves near the Bonsecours market. 
 
 Lachine Canal.— The St. Lawrence, upon whose 
 abundant watei-s this fleet rests, becomes, a few milos 
 west of the city, completely unnavigable, owing to 
 the Lachine rapids or Sault St. Louis. The Lachine 
 Canal, which debouches into the harbour of Montreal, 
 is the first of a series of magnificent works by which 
 the trade of the west is brought to our doors. It is 
 eight and three quarter miles long, and overcomes a 
 total rise of 45 feet, its width varies from 163 to 208 
 feet and it has ^ve locks, 2*70 feet long and 45 feet 
 wide. Yessels drawing 12 feet can pass through it. 
 
 In the spacious basins of the Lachine Canal, assemble 
 the steamers, schooners, barges and propellers which 
 
164 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 cany on the ti'tiffic with the upper river and hikes. 
 Wliile the wharves of tlie harbour proper are shore 
 wharves and ])iers, the whai'ves of the Canal are all 
 enclosed basins or docks. These last afford a total 
 wharf fronta<i:e of 3:30 miles, of which one third of a 
 mile is tor eighteen feet of water and the ]"emainder 
 for twelve ieet, in addition to the wharfage of the 
 harbour as previously given. The total number of 
 inland vessels which arrived in 1883 was 5477, and the 
 total inland tonnage was 7t)4,721. The inland tonnage 
 has decreased of late yeai-s as the railway system has 
 been extending. 
 
 The waters of Lake Champlain drain into the St, 
 Lawrence by the Eichelieu. but there ai-e rapids on the 
 latter river which are overcome by a canal. Lumber 
 is ex])orted to, and coal imported from the United 
 States by that route. The extent of the water- 
 ways 0]>ened up by means of the western canals, may 
 be seen by a glance at the map. They reach through 
 all the great lakes — to Duluth and Fort William on 
 Lake Superior, Chicago and Milwaukee on Lake 
 Michigan, Collingwood and Goderich on Lake Huron, 
 Euftalo and Cleveland on Lake Erie, Hamilton, 
 Toronto, Kingston and Oswego on Lake Ontario. 
 Then the Ottawa river GOO miles long tlows into the 
 St. Lawrence at Montreal and brings the trade of all 
 its vast valley. The rafts of timber from the Ottawa 
 and its tributaries for shipment at Quebec, are not 
 seen at Montreal. They always pass down behind 
 the island bv the Eiviere-des-Prairies, which falls into 
 the St. Lawrence below the cit3\ The rapids of the 
 Sault-au-Recollet on that branch of the Ottawa are 
 not so formidable as the Lachine Rapids or Sault St. 
 Louis. 
 
 Leaving the Lachine Canal for the upper waters are 
 many independent steamers, besides steam tugs for 
 the barges and returnino- lake craft. A weekly line 
 of steamers runs to Duluth at the head of Lake 
 Superior. Another weekly line runs to Chicago at 
 
RAILWAYS. 165 
 
 the head of Lake Michigan. A <huly line leaves for 
 Hamilton at the western end of Lake Ontario, and 
 another dail>' line for Ottawa on the Ottawa river. 
 All these call at the intermediate ports. The grain 
 exported from Montreal is for the most part tran- 
 shipped into barges by steam elevators at Kingston. 
 It arrives there from Ohieago, Milwaukee, Toledo, 
 Detroit, and other westei*n ports in lake craft — 
 usually schooners. Some of it comes bv rail fi-om 
 Goderich, Collingwood or Midland Cit}', on Lake 
 Huron, and this route is gaining u])on the former: 
 but, in any case, at Kingston the grain is loaded into 
 cana) barges, each carrying 18,000 to C0,000 bushels, 
 which are towed down the canals by propellers and 
 put alongside the ocean ships at Montreal. There is 
 an economy in transhipment, because each kind of 
 craft is constructed to comply with all the varied 
 conditions of the long inland route. Besides in the 
 summer months, the handling of the grain helj^s to 
 keep it in good condition. 
 
 Tourists who wish to go westward by the boats of 
 the Eichelieu and Ontario Company, can avoid the 
 delay of the canals by taking the Grand Trunk Eail- 
 way to Prescott or Brockville. They can leave six 
 hours later and catch the steamboats at those ports, 
 b}' this means passing through the Thousand Islands 
 and Lake Ontario, and avoiding the heat aud dust of 
 the railway cars. It does not answer, however to take 
 the boats when close connections have to be made and 
 time is limited. 
 
 THE RAILWAYS OF MONTREAL. 
 
 It is not sufficient in these days that a city should 
 be situated at the intersection of great water-ways, it 
 is also necessary that it should be the centre of con- 
 verging railways. During the past few years Mont- 
 real has made great advances in this respect, and in 
 a very short time the city w^ill possess the same rela- 
 
1()G CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 live position of importance in winter by railway, as 
 it does in summer by steamships. 
 
 The Grand Trunk Railway is of first importance. By 
 it Montreal is connected with the westei-n provinces, 
 and wMth Chicago and the Western States. On the 
 south it connects at Rouse's Point with the railways 
 for New York city, for Ogdensburg and the whole 
 system of roads in western and southern New York. 
 At St. Johns it connects with the roads to Boston and 
 New Eni^hmd. On the east it is3aches the seaboard at 
 Portland, and at Quebec it connects with the Inter- 
 colonial Eailway, and thus with the Maritime Pro- 
 vinces. By the North Shore Eailway it has a more 
 direct connection with Quebec. It passes through 
 Sherbrooke, the chief city of the Eastern Town- 
 ships. It is in realit}^, as well as in name, the Grand 
 Tnink Raihvay of Canada, for with it is now amalga- 
 mated the Great Western Eailway to Detroit, and its 
 aggregate length is 4,524 miles. At Montreal the 
 workshops and the head offices are located, and here the 
 railway crosses the river by a bridge which is one of 
 the great engineering works of the world. A hand- 
 some and commodious building has been erected for 
 the chief offices of this company at Point St. Charles. 
 The far reaching lines of this great system are shown 
 upon the map at p. 28. 
 
 The Central Vermont Railway.— This is a very favour- 
 ite route, either to New York or Boston. It crosses 
 the Eichelieu Eiver at St. Johns, and runs down on 
 the eastern side of Lake Champlain to Troy, where 
 it connects with the Hudson Eiver Eailway. For 
 Boston it connects at White Eiver Junction with the 
 New England roads. It is now controlled by the 
 Grand Trunk Eailway. 
 
 The South Eastern Railway is another most impor- 
 tant road. By this Montreal is connected with the 
 
VICTORIA BRIDGE. 16T 
 
 whole system of New England roads, with the sea- 
 board at Boston, and with many beautiful routes 
 throuich the White Mountains — the Switzerland of 
 North America. It now Ibrms part of the Canadian 
 Pacific System. 
 
 The Canadian Pacific Railway.— This railway is fully 
 noticed at page 29. The station is at Dalhousie Square. 
 From M'mtreal the whole valley of the Ottawa is now 
 accessible, and an alternative route to Toronto, via 
 Ottawa has been opened. North of the city it has 
 branches to St. Jerome, St. Lin, and St. Eustache. On 
 the south of the city a branch is under construction 
 to Sherbrooke. A new bridge is designed in connection 
 with this system to cross the St. Lawrence four miles 
 above the city. 
 
 Besides these greater systems of railway there are 
 several minor roads from Montreal, such as that to 
 Sorel on the Richelieu, to Huntingdon at the south- 
 west corner of the Province, and to Lachine. 
 
 All the railways are connected with the shipping by 
 a line of rails upon the wharves the whole length of 
 the city, which is worked by the Grand Trunk Rail- 
 way under the supervision of the Harbour Commis- 
 sioners for the convenience of all the companies and 
 in the interests of the trade of the port. In the rear of 
 the mountain the Jacques Cartier railway connects 
 the eastern and western roads. 
 
 The Victoria Bridge.— This wonderful triumph of 
 engineering skill was completed in 1859, from the 
 designs of Robert Stephenson ana A. M. Ross, ably 
 carried out by the energy of James Hodges. The 
 bold idea of a bridge to span the St. Lawrence did not 
 originate with them, as, in fact, the Honourable John 
 Young in 1847, and Mr. T. C. Keefer in 1851, had, long 
 before the English engineers came out, demonstrated 
 its feasibility and pointed out the location which was 
 afterwards, with slight modifications, adopted. The 
 
168 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 engineers skilfully availed themselves of a ledo-e of 
 rock, which crosses the river fi'oni Point St. Charles 
 to St. Lambert's, upon which to found their superstruc- 
 ture. 
 
 The bi"id<>-e is 9,184 feet in lengtli. Thei-e are 25 
 tul)es, which are supported by 24 piers, and the two 
 terminal abutments, or, to be more precise, there in a 
 centre tube and, on either side, six pairs of double 
 tubes. The centre tul>e is detached at both ends ; rnd 
 the double tubes are l)olted together and to the piers 
 at their inner junction, and free at their outer ends. 
 These free ends rest upon rollers, and, as openings are 
 left between each set of double tubes, the expansion 
 and conti'action caused by the extremes of Canadian 
 climate are amply provided for. The tubes are of 
 wrought boiler plate iron, built up with most careful 
 calculation of varying thickness of plate, and stitt'ened 
 with angle-iron. They ai-e of the uniform l)readth of 
 16 feet, and are arrano-ed for a sino'le track within. 
 Their height varies from 18 feet 6 in. at the tei-minal 
 tubes to 22 feet for the centre tube. The centre tube 
 is 60 feet above the summer level of the river. Besides 
 the openings for expansion, windows are placed in the 
 tubes to att'ord light. All the s])ans are uniformly of 
 242 feet excepting the centre, which is 330 fe i. 
 
 The piers are built of limestone of the same forma- 
 tion, the Chaz}', but taken from two localities, one at 
 Pointe Claire, on the Island of Montreal, and the other 
 at Isle Lamotte, in Lake Champlain. 
 
 The dimensions of the piers at the summit are 33 
 feet in the line of the river by 16 feet in the line of 
 the bridge. They descend to a point 30 feet above 
 summer level, very gradually increasing in size. At 
 this point the masonry is extended horizontally 10 feet 
 on the up-stream side, from whence it descends, at an 
 angle of 45 degrees, to a point 6 feet below summer 
 level, and thence perpendicularly to the bed of the 
 river. The main increase in the size of the piers is 
 thus upon the up-stream side ; the other sides, however, 
 
VICTORIA BRIDGE. 169 
 
 increase slightly as they descend. The current runs 
 at the bridge at the rate of seven miles an hour, and 
 the pressure of the ice when piling and shoving in 
 the spring and fall is enormous. The horizontal gain 
 of 10 feet in the up-stream dimension of the piers 
 prevents the ice from reaching the shaft, and the 
 sharp edges to which the piers are brought upon that 
 side form saddles upon which the ice cannot rest, but 
 must break asunder or glide aside. The dimensions 
 of the piers at their foundation are 92 feet b}' 22J feet. 
 The abutments are 242 feet by 34 feet at the top and 
 290 feet by 92 feet at the foundation. The entrance 
 is between high parapets of massive masonry, hewn 
 in Egyptian style. Over the entrance, cut into the 
 lintel is the inscription : — 
 
 Erected a.d. mdccclix. 
 ROBERT STEPHENSON AND ALEXANDER M. ROSS, 
 
 Engineers* 
 
 Over the lintel, just in front of the first tube, is in- 
 scribed: — 
 
 Built by James Hodges 
 FOR SIR SAMUEL MORTON PETO, BART. 
 THOMAS BRASSEY AND EDWARD LADD BETTS 
 
 Contractors. 
 
 The iron for the superstructure was all prepared 
 at Birkenhead and sent out, each piece so marked as 
 to go readily into its place. The first stone was laid 
 on Jul}' 20th, 1854, and the first passenger train 
 crossed December 19th, 1859. 
 
 The following data, from Mr. Legge's excellent 
 little book about the bridge, are given for the benefit 
 of visitors who may be fond of figures : — 
 
 Cubic feet of masonry, 3,000,000 feet ; tons of iron 
 in tubes, 8,250 ; number of rivets, 2,500,000 ; paint- 
 ing on tubes, 30 acres, four coats, equal to 120 acres ; 
 force employed, 3,040 men, 142 horses, 4 locomotives. 
 Total cost 6,300,000 dollars. 
 
170 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Strangers desiring to visit the bridge will require 
 to obtain a pass fi-om the Grand Trunk Railway office 
 at Point St. Charles. 
 
 Manufactures of Montreal. — Montreal is not only 
 a centre of commerce, but the most important manu- 
 facturing city in the Dominion. The manufacture of 
 boots and shoes employs about 3,000 hands, and the 
 product of the numerous factories is enormous. The 
 largest sugar refineries in Canada are at Montreal. 
 The largest cotton mill in the country is that of the 
 Hudon Company, at Hochelaga. There are two silk 
 factories, a large rubber factory, many large clothing 
 factories employing in the aggregate 2,500 hands; 
 factories of cards, boxes, paints, soaps, cements, drugs. 
 On the canal are saw-mills, sash factories, rolling 
 mills, nail works, engine and machine works. There 
 are five establishments for making sewing machines. 
 The edge tools — axes, augers, &c., of Montreal make 
 are celebrated for excellence. At the machine shops 
 of the Grand Trunk and Canadian Pacific Railway 
 everything connected with railway machinery is 
 manufactured. There are carpet factories, rope 
 factories, large binderies, large printing offices. Over 
 2,500 hands are employed in the tobacco factories ; 
 over 300 in the breweries. To give an account of the 
 various manufacturing industries in the city would 
 require more sj^ace than can be afforded in a guide 
 book. 
 
 WVTER WORKS. 
 
 The water supply of the city is taken from the 
 St. Lawrence, about one mile above the head of the 
 Lachine rapids, at a point 37 feet above the summer 
 level of the harbour of Montreal. One branch of 
 the aqueduct starts at that point, and another branch 
 starts from a point 3,000 feet above. Both unite and 
 form a canal, 26,200 feet long, to the Wheel House at 
 the west end of the city where there is a large settling 
 
PARKS AND SQUARES. ITl 
 
 poDcl. The Wheel House is a substantial ston^ bulld- 
 iDg, containing water wheels and steam engines, by 
 which the water is pumped either directly into the 
 city mains, or into the large reservoir. The water 
 from the wheels after it has done its work of pumping 
 is carried away into the river by a tail-race 3,500 feet 
 long. There are two reservoirs ; the larger is at the 
 head of MacTavish sti-eet on the side of the mountain, 
 204 feet above the level of the river. It is 810 feet 
 long, 377 feet wide, and 24 feet deep. It is dug out 
 of the solid rock, and contains 36J millions of gallons. 
 Fi'om it the water is pumped by a steam engine to 
 the small reservoir, 200 feet long by 80 feet wide, 
 situated 218 feet further up on the mountain side. This 
 has a capacity of two millions of gallons, and supplies 
 all the city above the level of Sherbrooke Street. All 
 the work has been constructed in the most substantial 
 manner, and is worth the inspection of those interested 
 in engineering matters. It cost the city six million 
 dollars, which amoimt was raised by bonds secured 
 by the water-rates. The average daily consumption 
 of water in 1883 was 10,552,174 gallons. 
 
 PARKS AND SQUARES. 
 
 Mount Royal Park.— Kind friends from the upper 
 provinces sometimes ask, in the conclusive manner 
 generated by the free air of the west, " What would 
 your town be without the mountain ? " To whid 
 the Montrealer is constrained meekly to reply, *' Not 
 very much, for if the mountain were levelled, our city 
 would look as dull as any of the flat western towns." 
 But then Montreaiers have no intention of flattening 
 out their mountain, for although they are reminded 
 by strangers from the east that it is a very small 
 mountain — nothing but a hill in fact — they are proud 
 of it such as it is, and do not wish it to be higher. 
 They feel that it is a great ornament to their city, 
 and it answers their purpose much better than Mont 
 
172 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Elane or Mount AVashi no-ton would, because, 1)eing 
 the heiii'ht it is, thev have been enabled to turn it 
 into a park, which is their delight, and will be that 
 of their children. 
 
 The Mountain Park covers 430 acres. It was 
 acquired by the city in 1874. It is under the control 
 of three commissioners, members of the City Council, 
 who have secured the professional assistance of Mr. 
 Frederick Law Olmstead, of New York, a gentleman 
 of great artistic taste and wide experience in land- 
 scape gardening. Under his advice the park has, for 
 the most ])art, been laid out, as far as it has been laid 
 out at all. In reality veiy little has been done 
 excepting the construction of roads, for the work of 
 laying out such a park as this is not one which can 
 be huri'ied. Indeed, any '" laying out" in the strict 
 sense of the word is very earnestly to be deprecated, 
 for the mountain already possesses so many natural 
 advantages that it is far easier to spoil it than to im- 
 prove it by a lavish expenditure of money. In an 
 admirable little book written by Mr. Olmstead upon 
 the subject of the artistic development of this pro- 
 perty, he shows that it is only by following in the 
 lines which nature has already laid down, and by 
 bringing these half hidden, but. characteristic beauties 
 fully to light by the resources of art, that the most 
 can be made of the wonderful possibilities of the 
 place. 
 
 In preparing his plans, Mr. Olmstead has adopted 
 names expressive of the characters of different parts 
 of the park. He calls the highest parts of the moun- 
 tain where the soil is thin and rocky, and the aspect 
 is arctic, the XJpperfell. Lower, on the southern spur, 
 near the spot known to natives as '' the Pines," is 
 what he calls the Brackenfell, from the abundance of 
 ferns found there. Opposite the Brackenfell, to the 
 west, lies an expanse of rolling, grassy, park-like 
 turf, this he calls the Glades. The steep declivities 
 around which winds the ascending road he calls the 
 
MOUNT ROYAL PARK. 173 
 
 Cliffs. The forest land through which this road passes 
 is the Underl'ell. The bare land towards the north, near 
 the u])per reservoir, he calls Cragsfoot. At the north 
 end of the mountain iss Piedmont, and the level plain 
 which stretches out towaitls St. Jean Baptiste village, 
 known vulgarly as Fletcher's Field, he designates 
 Cote Placide. Following out the indications expresssd 
 by these happily-chosen names, we may grasp the 
 whole idea of the artist in designing the plan, and 
 understand what he means by following in the lines 
 which nature has traced. The vistas of the Glades 
 must not be obscured, nor the Fells deforested, nor 
 the wildness of the Crags moderated, nor the breezy 
 U2:)lands of Piedmont obstructed, nor the grassy ex- 
 panse of Cote Placide cut up and disfigured, but 
 whatever is done must be suboi'dinate to the genius 
 of the place. The approaches to the park are from 
 Bleury and Peel streets. Description of scenery is 
 more the province of the poet than the writer of 
 guide books. Those who visit it will see for them- 
 selves, and those who do not can obtain no adequate 
 idea from a verbal description. 
 
 The views over the surrounding country are ex- 
 ceedingly fine. On the south is the level prairie 
 dotted with villages, from Laprarie, in the distant 
 bay on the right, to Yarennes. The mountains rising 
 abruptly from the plain are, commencing from the 
 west, Monnoir, or Mount Johnson, Shetford, Rouge- 
 mont with the Yamaska Mountain behind it, Belceil 
 and Moutarville. In the remote distances are the 
 Adirondacks in New York, and the Green Mountains 
 in Vermont. From the east end the spectator looks 
 down the valley of the St. Lawrence, and may see to 
 the left the couj'se of Riviere-des-Prairies to its junc- 
 tion below the island ; far off on the left ai*e the 
 Laurentian Hills. But thoroughly to enjoy the 
 beauties of the Mountain Park the tourist should 
 follow the roads across the Glades w^estwards and 
 cross the Protestant Cemeterv to the Belvedere con- 
 
174 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 spicuous on the western summit. From that point 
 the lower valley of the Ottawa opens out. The Lake 
 of Two Mountains, Lake St. Louis, the two northern 
 mouths of the Ottawa, and the fertile island of Mont- 
 real are spread out as upon a map, while on the one 
 hand the Protestant Cemetery, and on the other the 
 Catholic Cemetery glisten with monuments shining 
 through the foliage. 
 
 Omnibuses leave the post office for the Mountain 
 Park at short intervals in tine weather. Refresh- 
 ments can be had during the season at the restaurant 
 on the summit, near Peel Street steps. Pedestrians 
 can reach the top of the mountain by steps above 
 Peel Street or above University Street. There are 
 also many paths of easy grade. 
 
 St. Helen's Island.— This island was a few years ago 
 opened to the public for a park. It commands an 
 excellent view of the cit3\ and being beautifully 
 wooded, is a pleasant place for a ramble. Access is 
 obtained by the steamer Filgate, which plies regularly 
 to it from the wharf opposite the Bonsecours market, 
 Eefreshments can be had on the island, and swings 
 and other amusements are provided for children. 
 There is a swimming bath at the lower end. The 
 island is named after Helen Boulle, the wife of 
 Champlain. She was the first European lady who 
 visited Canada. It belonged at one time to the Barons 
 of Longueuil, but was sold to the British G-overnment, 
 who used it for many years as a depot for military 
 stores and a station for troops. The fort and barracks 
 still remain. 
 
 Viger Square, in St. Denis street, has been very 
 prettily laid out with gardens and conservatory for 
 the accommodation of the eastern part of the city. 
 
 The Champ-de-Mars, upon Craig Street, in rear of 
 the Court House, is a fine exercise ground for troops, 
 
PUBLIC SQUARES. 1^5 
 
 240 yards long by 120 wide. It is siirroimded by a 
 line of Lombardy poplars. It belonged to the Imperial 
 Government, and in former years, when British troops 
 were stationed in Canada they were paraded here, and 
 the place was a favourite resort of strangers. Then 
 it was kept trim and in good order. Now it seems 
 to be a no-man's land. It is really owned by the 
 Dominion Government, which spends money very 
 reluctantly at Montreal, except to increase its facili- 
 ties for collecting taxes. 
 
 Jacques Cartier Square, near the City Hall and 
 Court-house, has a fine outlook upon the river. This 
 square is ornamented by two Russian guns, trophies 
 from Sebastopol, and presented to the city by the 
 Imperial Government. A column surmounted by a 
 statue of Lord [N'elson is placed at the head of the 
 square. It was erected in 1808, by the merchants of 
 Montreal, shortly after the death of the Admiral at 
 Trafalgar. 
 
 Victoria Square, at the western end of St. James' 
 street, is upon the site of the old hay-market. Upon 
 it is a colossal statue of the Queen in bronze, by 
 Marshall Wood, an English artist. 
 
 Dominion Square is upon the rising ground more to 
 the west. It is the finest square in Montreal as to site. 
 The Windsor Hotel, the new Cathedral of St. Peter, 
 St. George's Church and Eectory, and many other 
 churches close to it give it importance architecturally. 
 It also commands a fine view of the mountain. During 
 the winter carnivals the ice-palaces were erected 
 here. 
 
 Place d'Armes, which for stately buildings is worthy 
 of attention. The Church of Notre Dame forms one 
 side, and the other three sides are occupied by fine 
 buildings. The Bank of Montreal is conspicuous with 
 
176 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 its Grecian frcmt. Next Is the Cauada Piicific Railway 
 office. Uj)(»n the eastern side, with ornamental front 
 and mansai'd roof, is the Jacques Cartier Bank. The 
 Ontario Bank is o})posite. At the corner, in Ohio 
 stone, is a building now occuj)ied as the Eoyal Insur- 
 ance Office. The Seminary of St. Sul])ice, adjoining 
 the Church, with its mixture of architecture, half of 
 the pj'esent day and half the Xurman PVench style of 
 two centuries ago, is a lit emblem of old Montreal, 
 now fast changing into a new city. 
 
 PUBLIC BUILDINGS. 
 
 The Court House, situated in Notre Dame street, 
 between the Champ de Mars and Jacques Cartier 
 Square, is a handsome building of grey Montreal 
 limestone, in the Grecian style, 300 feet loni^, 125 feet 
 wide, and 76 feet high. All the Courts have their 
 sittings here, and offices ai'e provided foi* all the 
 departments of the administration of justice. The 
 buildirtg is divided by iron sliding doors into fire- 
 proof compartments. The Advocates' Library, which 
 occupies a portion of it, is very complete in the subject 
 of old French civil law. 
 
 Bonsecours Market., on St. Paul street near Jacques 
 Cartier Square, is a very large and substantial build- 
 ing, which the tourist who wishes to see the Lower 
 Canadian peasantry would do well to visit on a Tues- 
 day or Friday. Under this one roof, and from the 
 market carts and booths around, every sort of eatable 
 can be purchased, from maple sugar to mutton and 
 lish. Vegetables of all sorts testify to the fruitfulness 
 of the surrounding country. All sorts of cheap 
 clothing, baskets, little shrines, images and wooden 
 shoes, are displayed to tempt the rustic purse, and 
 restaurants of primitive style to tempt the rustic 
 stomach. A poor man of simple taste finds here 
 everything lie may require for horse or person. There 
 
PUBLIC BUILDINGS. 177 
 
 arc six otlier maikets in the city, but tliis i ; the one Lest 
 worth a visit. The lengtli of tliis buildiiiii; is nearly 
 500 feetj and its a])pearance when crowded on a market 
 day is very lively. 
 
 The Custom House is a handsome ti'ianic^ilar building 
 with a tower, situated on the river-tront, on a lot of 
 land formerly called Pointe-a-Callieres, because, in old 
 French days, when the little stream, now covered in, 
 was visible, it se])arated this point from the city, and 
 Monsieur de Callieres' house was built there, outside 
 of the walls, which tlien followed the line of the north 
 side of the pi'csent street. As pointed out at p. 148 
 this is the spot wliere Champlain made the tirst clear- 
 ing and Maisonneuve assisted at the first Mass. 
 
 The Examining Warehouse is further westward on 
 the river-front, near the entrance to the Lachine 
 Canal. It is a very commodious stone buildirg, with 
 every appliance for storing and handling goods. 
 
 The City Hall.— This is a very imposing building 
 close to the Court House. It is 485 feet in length, 
 and is built in an adaptation of modern French style, 
 with lofty mansard roofs and central pavilion. All 
 the municipal offices are in this building including 
 the water-works and fire-alarm offices. The Recor- 
 der's Court and Police office are in the basement. The 
 city is governed by a Mayor, elected annually, and 
 thirty aldermen. Three aldermen, one of w^hom re- 
 tires every year, are elected by each of the ten wards 
 of the city. 
 
 The Harbour Commissioners' Building.— Tliis commis- 
 sion consists of membeis nominated partly by the 
 Montreal Board of Trade, the Corn Exchange and the 
 City Council, and partly by the Dominion Govern- 
 ment. Its duties are to watch over tlie harbour, to 
 keej) the wharves and quays ^" ')od repair, to extend 
 12 
 
178 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 them wlion required, to allot pliiees to incoming ves- 
 sels, and i:enerallv t(; supervise all matters connected 
 
 • 
 with the commerce of the city other than the collec- 
 tion of eustom duties. The Board has also caro of the 
 channel of the river and supervision of the pilots as 
 far as (^Uiebec. Under its direction all the o])era- 
 tions of drerlLiinii* and removing; shoals have heen 
 carried <>n for a lonu* series of years, and to itn 
 enliiihtened views of the destiny and ca])al)ilities of 
 the city aie due the present commodiousness and 
 efHciency of the ])ort. The j)lant engaged in this 
 work consiNts of eight esteam dredges, two stone-lift- 
 ing^ harges, and eight tug-boats. 
 
 The commission occupies a large cut-stone building 
 adjoining tlie Examining Warehouse. In the base- 
 ment of the building the engines for the electric lamps 
 which light the harbour are placed. 
 
 The Inland Revenue Office is a building on Custom 
 House Square, in old times the market place of the 
 town. The present building was erected in 1836 for 
 a Custom House. 
 
 The Board of Arts and Manufactures is a commission 
 nominated b}' the Government of the Province of 
 Quebec tor holding industrial exhibitions, carr^'ingon 
 schools of technical art, and generally watching over 
 the industrial interests of the province. It occupies 
 a large building at the east end of the Champ-de- 
 Mars. A com])lete set of the British Patent Oftice 
 publications may be consulted in the library of this 
 Commission. The Exhibition buildings and grounds 
 are at the Mile End. 
 
 The Board of Agriculture is constituted similarly to 
 the preceding, and has care of all public interests 
 relating to agriculture. It holds exhibitions annually 
 in conjunction with the former Board. Its offices are 
 in the same building as the above. 
 
CHURCHES. 170 
 
 THE CHURCHES OF MONTREAL. 
 
 From what has boon said ooncornini? tho early 
 settlemont of Montreal, a stranger will he prepared 
 to find a lar^'o number of churohes. Tourists are 
 always struck with this peculiarity, and Mark Twain, 
 in a speech at a public dinner at the Windsor Hotel, 
 said that he " never was in a city before where 
 one could not throw a brick-bat without broakin^r a 
 church window." The action and reaction constantly 
 going on in a community containing an unusual num- 
 ber of earnest men of all conceivable shades of eccle- 
 siastical opinion naturally excites a corresponding 
 amount of zeal which has crystalizod into stone and 
 mortar. There is, however, a vast amount of tolerant 
 feeling in religious matters which quietly tides over 
 disputes when they threaten to bo dangerous, and de- 
 monstrates, alike in Protestant and Catholic, the false- 
 ness of Rousseau's maxim that " it is impossible to 
 live at peace with people whom one believes to be 
 eternally lost." In the old times, just after the con- 
 quest, the Protestants used one of the Roman churches 
 for worship after tho morning Mass. For twenty 
 years after 1766 the Church of England people occu- 
 j^ied the Church of the Recollets every Sunday after- 
 noon. The Presbyterians used the same church before 
 1792, and when the congregation moved to their first 
 church in St. Gabriel street they presented to the 
 priests of the Rocollet Church a gift of candles for 
 the high altar and of wine for the Mass, as a token of 
 good-will and thanks for the gratuitous use of the 
 church. These days have passed away, and every 
 congregation now has its own church. Many of the 
 buildings are very handsome. Commencing with the 
 Roman communion there are the 
 
 Cathedral of St. Peter.— This building, wdiich is now 
 in course of construction, occupies one of the finest 
 sites in the city, at the corner of Dominion Square and 
 
180 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Dorchester Street. It is designed to reproduce, on a 
 Binjiller scale, all those features of St. Peter's at Rome 
 which ai'e suited to the climate. It will have a similar 
 fa(;a(le, in classic style of architecture, and be sur- 
 mounted by a similar dome. The ground ])lan is 
 cruciform, like its prototvjX', and the arms of the cross 
 ai"e rounded botli at the tribune and at the ends of the 
 transept. It is to have a grand portico surmounted 
 by statues, and smaller domes are to light the side 
 chapels and tribune. The roof, however, will be slo- 
 ping in order to throw off the snow. With this alteration 
 the church will be a re})roduction of the grand Basilica. 
 The dimensions ai-e as follows : — Length of main 
 building 300 feet, portico 30 teet, total length 330 feet, 
 breadth at transej)t 225 feet, height from pavement 
 to ridge of roof 80 feet, height of dome with lantern, 
 ball and cross 250 feet, diameter of dome upon the 
 inside TO feet, width of nave 40 feet. These dimen- 
 sions are as near as possible one half of the great 
 Eoman church, and still the building will surpass all 
 other churches in Canada as to size. The exterior is 
 plain, but the intention is to make the interior as 
 magnificent as possible, after the manner of I alian 
 churches. The present humble cathedral in brick will 
 no doubt be swept away on the completion of this. 
 The large building in the rear, facing towards the 
 river, is the Bishop's palace. The whole design origin- 
 ated with Monsigneur Bourget the former Bishop, 
 now Archbishop in partitus, after his church and 
 palace in St. Denis street had been destroyed in the 
 great f5re of 1852. Like its great prototype it was 
 commenced before the money to finish it was all in 
 hand, and the w^ork is stopped awaiting further con- 
 tributions, which will no doubt come in due time. 
 
 The Parish Church of Notre Dame, erroneously called 
 by mari}^ the Cathedral, stands upon the Place d' Amies. 
 It is built of cut limestone, in the Gothic style, and is 
 mtich admired for its plain and simple stateliness. The 
 
CHURCHES. 181 
 
 length of the church is 255 feet, and its ])rea(lth is 134 
 feet. It will easily accommodate 10,0i)(l j^ersons, but 
 when crowded as it sometimes is, it actually has con- 
 tained 15,000 people. The two principal towers are 
 227 feet high, and at^ord from their summit a broad 
 panorama of the country around. The interior has 
 been recently decoraterl in a somewhat florid manner. 
 The carved woodwork of the choir is especially tine. 
 It represents under the various biblical types the 
 sacritice of Jesus Christ. At high Mass, when crowded 
 w^ith worshippers and wiien the choir is filled with 
 robed ecclesiastics, officiating at the stately ceremonies 
 of the Roman church, the effect is very imposing. The 
 south-west tower is opened in summer; an elevator is 
 provided and visitors may ascend to the top on pay- 
 ment of twenty-five cents. There are ten bells in the 
 towers, making a chime upon which, on great occa- 
 sions, tunes are played. Besides these there is a very 
 large one ''Le Gros Bourdon;" called Jean Baptiste, 
 weighing 20,400 lbs., the largest bell in America. 
 The two largest of the other bells are christened 
 Maria- Victoria and Edward- Albert-Louis. They weigh 
 respectively (30-11 and 3633 pounds. As for the view 
 from the summit, Mr. W. D. Howells thus describes it: 
 
 " So far as the eye reaches it dwells only upon what is mag- 
 nificent. All the features of that landscape are grand. Below 
 you spreads the city, which has leas that is merely mean in 
 it than any other city of our continent, and which is every- 
 where ennobled by stately civic edifices, adorned with taste- 
 ful churches, and skirted by fuU-foliaged avenues of mansions 
 and villas. Behind it rises the beautiful mountain, green 
 with woods and gardens to its crest, and flanked on the east 
 by an endless fertile plain, and on the west by another ex- 
 panse, through which the Ottaw a rushes, turbid and dark, to 
 its confluence with the St. Lawrence, then those two mighty 
 streams commingled flow past the city, lighting up the vast 
 champaign country to the south, while upon the utmost 
 southern verge, as on the northern, rise the cloudy summits 
 of far-oflf mountaine." 
 
182 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 This is gratifying, coming from the author of such 
 books of'ti'avel as '-Venetian Life" and ''Italian 
 Journeys." Mr. Howells is an enthusiast upon Mont- 
 real; he continues: 
 
 " As our travellers gazed upon all this grandeur their 
 hearts were humbled to the tacit admission that the colonial 
 metropolis was not only worthy of its seat, but had traits of 
 a solid prosperity not excelled by any of the abounding and 
 boastful cities of the Republic. Long before they quitted 
 Montreal they had rallied from this weakness, but they 
 delighted still to honour her superb beauty. 
 
 The present church occupies almost the same site as 
 one built in 1672 ; it was a long, low structure with a 
 high pitched roof and stood out across Notre Dame 
 street. It was pulled down in 1824 to make room for 
 the present building, which is one of the largest 
 churches on the continent. The architect was James 
 O'Donnell. He was born a Protestant, but during 
 the erection of the church became a Eoman Catholic 
 and is buried in the cr}^t. 
 
 Notre Dame de Bonsecours— Sister Mari^uerite Bour- 
 geois founded this church in 1673. It was built for the 
 reception of a miraculous statue of the Virgin, which 
 was entrusted to her by the Baron de Fancamp, a 
 priest, and one of the original proprietors of the island. 
 Sister Bourgeois' church was burned in 1754, and in 
 1771 the present church was erected. It is a quaint 
 old church, in a style scarcely met with out of IN'or- 
 mandy, and should be visited in connection with the 
 Bonsecoui's market, which stands close to it. The 
 internal decorations were formerly in the old Parish 
 Church of Notre Dame. Shops are built up against it 
 after the manner common in old European cities. 
 Yery nearly was it swept away to make room for a 
 railway station, but some protestants, actuated by a 
 love of the picturesque and regard for the memory of 
 the good sister, made such a noise that the Bishop 
 interfered to j)revent the sale. 
 
ciiuRcnEs. 183 
 
 St. Patrick's Church, in Lai^auchetiere street, is well 
 worth a visit. It is beautifullv tiiiished and decorated 
 in the interior. It will seat 5,000 people. It is 240 
 feet lon<^ and 90 feet broad. It is the churcdi of the 
 Irish Catholics, and the preaching there is in the 
 En<i:li!^h lan<»:uai]:e. 
 
 The Jesuits' Church.— At the conquest, the British 
 Government confiscated all the Jesuits' estates, and 
 their revenue to this day is devoted to educational 
 purposes. In 1847 the Jesuits were invited by the 
 late Bishop to settle again at Montreal, and in 1864 
 they completed the present church. It is beautifully 
 frescoed within, and decorated in Eoman style by an 
 artist from Rome. The sino^in^c at the evening; ser- 
 vice is particularly good. There is a sermon in Eng- 
 lish every Sunday evening. The church is 194 feet 
 long and 96 feet wide ; the transept is 144 feet ; 
 height of nave, 75 feet. The college of St. Mary 
 adjoins the church. 
 
 Two churches deserve special notice, not on account 
 of their size, but as being a new departure in Canadian 
 art. These are the churches of Notre Dame de 
 Nazareth and Notre Dame de Lourdes. Both of them 
 were designed and painted in fresco b}^ M. Napoleon 
 Bourassa, and a school of young men under his direc- 
 tion. They mark the rise of a native school of art 
 applied to church decoration, which we may well 
 hope will achieve great things. In these, and more 
 especially in the latter of the two, the attempt is 
 made to take one subject and illustrate it thoroughly, 
 making all the details subordinate to the expression 
 of one idea. The church of Notre Dame de Lourdes 
 is to Montreal what Santa Maria Novella was to 
 Florence, it marks a point in the art history of the 
 city. Although in after years many finer paintings 
 than these of Cimabue and Ghirlandaio were produced 
 by the Florentine school, those at Santa Maria Novella 
 will always be doubly interesting, not only for their 
 
184 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 intrinsic merits, but because they were the precursors 
 of greater works. It it not that we wish to institute 
 comparisons between the work of M. Bourassa and 
 of Ghiriandaio, but to give him the credit of being the 
 first in Canada, an<l probal^'y in America, who has 
 applied the art of painting to the adornment of Chiis- 
 tian churches in the broad and thorough manner so 
 common at one period in central Italy. 
 
 Notre Dame de Nazareth.— This church is in St. 
 Catherine street, near St. George. It is placed between 
 the As^dum for Blind Children and the Orphan 
 Asylum. These institutions are built of brick, but 
 the facade of the church is of limestone, and its style 
 is Norman. The interior consists of a nave with a 
 flat ceilinii*. on each side of which is a row of columns 
 supporting the gallery, or rather an arcade. These 
 arcades have smaller columns in front, and were 
 probably suggested by the closed galleries for women, 
 which were common in early Christian churches, and 
 of which one specimen still remains at St. Agnese in 
 Home. The paintings commemorate incidents in the 
 early life of our Lord, his birth, his flight into Egypt, 
 his poverty and labour at Nazareth. Over the altar 
 he is painted as the Good Shepherd, and around him 
 are the four Evangelists. The architecture of the 
 interior is light and graceful, the colours are harmoni- 
 ous, and the effect is very pleasing. 
 
 Notre Dame de Lourdes.— This church has been built 
 and adorned with one idea — that of expressing in 
 visible form the dogma of the Immaculate Concep- 
 tion of the Virgin Mary. A dogma which was de- 
 clared to be '' of faith " first by Pope Pius IX in 1854, 
 although it had been held for many hundi-ed years by 
 numbers of the Eoman church as a pious and permis- 
 sible opinion. 
 
 The architecture of the church is Byzantine and 
 Eenaissance, such as may be seen at Venice. It con- 
 
CHURCHES. " 185 
 
 ^i 
 
 sists of a nave with narrow aisles, a transept and f 
 choir. The choir and the transept are terminated by 
 circular and domed apses, and a large central dome 
 rises at the intersection of the transept. The facade 
 is of white marble. The portico is surmounted by a 
 rose window and by two galleries of round-headed 
 arches. Projecting wings on either side are intended 
 to be completed with domes. It is a small church, 
 but the proportions are just and harmonious. The 
 nave is 50 feet long, 50 feet high, and 25 feet wide. 
 The dimensions of the transept are precisely the 
 same. The choir is 26 feet long and 26 feet wide. 
 The large dome is 26 feet wide and 90 feet high. The 
 total length of the church is then 102 feet, and the 
 total length of the transept is 76 feet, including the 
 dome. 
 
 The idea of the architect and painter, M. Bourassa, 
 includes not only the dogma of the Immaculate Con- 
 ception proper, but the kindred mystical idea of the 
 predestination of Mary. The first picture on the roof 
 of the nave represents the promise of the redemption 
 made to Adam and Eve. They are prostrated before 
 the Lord, who addresses the serpent. The text illus- 
 trated is Gen. iii, 15, as in the Vulgate, "She shall 
 bruise thy head." The second panel is the sacrifice of 
 Abraham, the text is the covenant made with Koah, 
 Gen. ix, 11-16. The third represents the arrival of 
 Rebecca before Isaac, the text is the promise made to 
 Abraham. The fourth, which is over the choir, is 
 Jacob blessing his children, and uttering the promise 
 that " the sceptre shall not depart frOm Judah until 
 Shiloh come." On the right side of the nave are the 
 prophets who have prophesied of the Virgin. Isaiah, 
 the text, chapter vii, " Behold a virgin shall conceive : 
 Jeremiah, the text, chapter xxxi, " A woman shall 
 compass a man ;" David, the text, Psalm cxl, 12, 
 *' Thou upholdest me in my innocence." In the choir, 
 Mieah, the text, chapter v, " Out of thee shall come 
 forth a ruler." On the left side are types of the 
 
18G CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Yirgin, first Sarah, then Eebecca, then Eaehel, and in 
 the choir, Eiith. 
 
 The artist then proceeds to show the Eoman view 
 of the realization of these promises. First, on the 
 right transept is painted tlie Salutation of Elizabeth, 
 Luke 1, 42, — on the left transept the Nativity. The 
 figures around the transept are those of doctors and 
 saints who have magnitied the glory of Mary, or advo- 
 cated the dogma illusti-ated. The Greek fathers on the 
 left, the Latin on the right. 
 
 In the choir M. Bourassa poi-trays the four great 
 events in the life of St. Mary. The previous pictures 
 represent the " predestination of Mary." The choir 
 contains the exposition of the dogma pi'oper. The 
 statue which is over the altar and strikes the eye 
 immediately on entering the church is symbolic of the 
 doctrine. It represents the Virgin in the attitude 
 usually attributed to this subject by the Spanish 
 painters — the hands crossed on the breast — but here 
 she is altogethei- in white, while the garment in their 
 pictures is usually blue. She is standing on the clouds, 
 and the text illustrated is Eev. xii. 1, "A woman 
 clothed with the sun, and the moon under her feet." 
 The light thro^vn down from an unseen lamp is to re- 
 present the clothing with the sun. As the Eoman 
 idea is to present St. Mary in her personal character 
 as the purest of created beings the mystical light upon 
 the white garment conveys it better than do Murillo's 
 l^aintings, in Avhich the dress is blue. On the cupola 
 above is the Annunciation ; on the right is the 
 Assumption, and on the left is the Coronation of the 
 Virgin. 
 
 Whatever opinion may be held by the spectator 
 upon the dogma, the artist must have the credit of 
 working out the exposition of it with force and unity. 
 Some of the painting is exceedingly good. The deco- 
 ration of the church in gold and colours, arabesque and 
 fifteenth century ornament, is very beautiful and har- 
 monious. The lower panels of the nave are reserved 
 
CHURCHES. 18T 
 
 blank, probably for representations of the appearance 
 at Lourdes and similar occurrences elsewhere. The 
 sub-chapel, which is rer had by stairways from the 
 portico, contains a representation '^f the apparition of 
 the Virgin in the grotto at Lourdes, and the kneeling 
 figure is that of the peasant girl Bernardette who saw 
 the visions. 
 
 The texts are, of course, in Latin from the Yulgate 
 Bible, and the application of them is the one adopted 
 by the Boman Church. We have dw:!. at length 
 upon this building because it is the only one of its 
 kind in America. It is like an illuminated Missal, 
 which to a Protestant has interest as a work of art, 
 and to a Catholic has the superadded interest of a 
 work of devotion. 
 
 Church of St. James.— This is erected upon the site of 
 the former Bishop's Church and Palace which were 
 burned in the great fire of 1852. The tower is 
 especially lofty and graceful. The interior is light 
 and pleasing. The slender columns, pointed arches, 
 and the triforium round the nave and transept re- 
 mind the visi+" .' of some of the larger Gothic churches 
 of Europe. The pulpit is a very fine work in wood- 
 carving. 
 
 There arc, of course, as the tourist cannot help 
 seeing, many other Roman Catholic churches in Mon- 
 treal ; but these described are best worth a visit. 
 
 PROTESTANT CHURCHES. 
 
 It follows in the nature of things that Protestant 
 churches in America cannot have the artistic interest 
 which Boman chuiches possess, because the former 
 depend upon the art of architecture alone, while the 
 latter invoke the aid of the sister arts of painting and 
 sculpture. In exterior beauty the Protestant churches 
 surpass the Boman Catholic. Notre Dame de Lourdes 
 is perfect in its style, and the new church of the 
 Sisters of the Congregation is very fine, but there is 
 
188 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 no church which, in perfection of proportion, !=*ym- 
 metry, and adherence to the style chosen, equals the 
 Anglican Cathedral. In the R(anan churches of Mon- 
 treal there is no stained glass worth speaking of. The 
 Protestant churches, and especially the Cathedral, 
 contains much good work of that kind. The Romans 
 seem to have as great a dislike to paintings upon 
 windows as the Anglicans have to paintings upon walls. 
 
 Christ Church Cathedi-al, in St. Catherine street is a 
 monument of the taste and enero-y of the tirst resident 
 Anglican Bishop of ^lontreal, Dr. Fulford, whose 
 memorial stands close bv on its eastern side. This 
 group of buildings, though in point of size not so im- 
 posing as some of the Roman Catholic churches, far 
 surpasses them in unity and beauty of architectural 
 style and in correctness of proportion. The Fulford 
 Memorial resembles the much-admired Martyr's Me- 
 morial at Oxford, and was erected by public subscrip- 
 tion in honour of a man much beloved. The church 
 is built of Montreal limestone, faced with white sand- 
 stone brought from Caen in Normandy. Its dimen- 
 sions are : total length 212 feet, length of transept, 
 100 feet, height of spire 224 feet. The church is built 
 in the form of a Latin cross in the early English style 
 of architecture. The height of the nave is 67 feet. In 
 point of interior decoration the church is cold, but this 
 elfect is relieved to some extent bv the colours in the 
 stained glass windows. The western window is very 
 beautiful, as also are those in the transept and some 
 but not all, of those in the nave. The capitals of the 
 columns are carved in imitation of different Canadian 
 plants, and the seats in the choir are very handsome. 
 A passage leads to the Chapter House, an octagonal 
 building harmonious in style, and aiding the general 
 effect with its broken outlines. Noticeable in the 
 church is the font, a very beautiful work presented by 
 a parishioner. In rear of the Cathedral and facing 
 the same way are 
 
CHURCHES. 189 
 
 Bishopscourt, the residence of the Bishop and the 
 Rectory, the residence of the Eector of the church. 
 
 St. Georges' Church.— This church is admirably situ- 
 ated at the south- '.vest corner of Dominion square at 
 the junction of Osborne and AVindsor streets. The 
 architecture is an ada])tation of thirteenth centuiy 
 Gothic. Its material is native limestone, with the 
 decorative parts in sandstone from Ohio. It has a 
 handsome stone porch, the nave is unobstructed with 
 piers, and the roof, with its wide span has been much 
 admired. The tower and spire which is wanted to 
 complete the design will be shortly built, and will 
 be 230 feet high from ground to apex. The schools in 
 connection w4th the church meet in a separate build- 
 ing adjoining, which is used for public parochial 
 schools as well as Sunday schools. The present 
 edifice was completed in 1870; the building in rear of 
 the church facing on Windsor street is the Rectory. 
 
 St. Stephen's Church.— This is a very pretty church,^ 
 notable not only for its architecture, but for the ex- 
 ceeding convenient plan upon which it is built. It is 
 the outcome of much patient thought and practical 
 talent. 
 
 Church of St. James the Apostle. — This church is 
 pleasantly situated upon St. Catherine street west. It 
 is a solid but unpretending early English structure. 
 The stalls and r credos are of butterwood and are much 
 admired. The pulj^it is a very handsome work in 
 Caen stone and Egyptian marble. The congregation is 
 an offshoot of the earlier St. Stephen's Church. The 
 great attraction of the church of St. James the Apos- 
 tle is the Sunday afternoon litany service, discontinued 
 during the summer months. The musical part of the 
 service receives special attention at all times 
 
 Other Anglican churches are St. John the Evangel- 
 ist's, on St. XJrbain street ; St. Martin's, on Upper St.. 
 
190 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 TJrbain Street; Trinity, on St. Denis Street; St. 
 Thomas', on St. Mary street; St. Luke's, on Dorchester 
 street east ; St. Jiide's, on C'oursol street ; Grace church, 
 Point St. Charles ; St. Mary's, at Ilochelaga ; and 
 L'Eglise du Eedempteur (French), on St. Joseph 
 street. 
 
 Presbyterian Churches. — The difterent Presbyterian 
 bodies of Canada were united a tew years ago into one, 
 under the name of the Presbyterian Church in Canada. 
 The union was objected to by a few of the ministers of 
 the " Old Kirk," and one important congregation in 
 Montreal, that of St. xlndrew's, still holds out against 
 it. 
 
 Crescent Street Church. — This imposing edifice is 
 built of Montreal limestone, and is situated on the 
 corner of Dorchester and Crescent streets. It is a 
 Gothic church of the 13th century French style, spe- 
 •eially adapted to the modern requirements of congre- 
 gational worship. The seats are arranged in curves 
 round the pulpit at the end of the church, and the 
 spectator, judging from the interior, would pronounce 
 the building to be circular or octagonal. It possesses a 
 dignified front with three portals, deeply recessed and 
 moulded. The tower and spire are of graceful de- 
 sign, and are together 217 feet high. At the back of 
 the church is a spacious lecture hall and Sunday school 
 room, forming a two story building. The congrega- 
 tion was founded in 1844, after the disruption of the 
 <Church of Scotland, as a Free Church. The first church 
 was in Cotte street. The congregation removed to the 
 present one in 1878. 
 
 St. PauPs Church, at the corner of Monique street 
 is undoubtedly one of the most striking edifices on 
 Dorchester street. The tower is singularly beautiful 
 in its proportions. The church is built in the early 
 English style, of Montreal limestone with Ohio stone 
 
CHURCHES. 191 
 
 dressings. The interioi*, which is well laid out, is span- 
 ned by iihammer-heamed open-tinihered roof. The con- 
 gregation dates from 1832, and atlhered to the Church 
 of Scotland until the union of all the Preshytej'ian 
 bodies above referred to. The original clmrch was 
 in St. Helen street. The present one was opened in 
 1868. 
 
 St. Andrew's Church is built upon a very imposing 
 site on Jkaver Ilall Hill, and cannot fail to arrest the 
 attention of a sti'anger. It is in Gothic stjde, built of 
 cut limestone. The steps and portico are especially 
 fine, and the interior arrangement is very convenient 
 for worship. The congregation was founded in 1804. 
 The first church was on St. Peter street, near St. 
 Sacrament street. In 1851 the present building was 
 opened for worship. This church did not consent to 
 the union and belongs, not to the ''Presbj'terian 
 Church of Canada," but to the " Presbyterian Church 
 of Canada in connection with the Church of Scotland." 
 The spire is 180 feet high, and is of very graceful 
 proportions. 
 
 Erskine Church, corner of Peel and St. Catherine 
 streets, is a handsome church, built of rough lime- 
 stone, faced wdth dressed stone. The ditterence of 
 colour between the dressed and uncut Montreal lime- 
 stone, makes a very pleasing relief in buildings com- 
 posed of both. The church is Gothic in style and 
 of good proportions. The congregation was originally 
 founded in 1830 as a United Presbyterian Secession 
 Chiu'ch. 
 
 Knox Church, on Dorchester street, is also a fine 
 church. It is an offshoot of the first Presbyterian 
 congregation of Montreal in St. Gabriel street. 
 
 The American Presbyterian Church will attract the 
 attention of strangers from the United States, being 
 
192 CITT OF MONTREAL. 
 
 1 
 
 )liinnc(l Jifter American models. It in built of cut 
 imestone, and has two towers of* unequal height and 
 differing styles. The fittings of the church are hand- 
 some and comfortable, and it is well laid out for hear- 
 ing. The organ is the largest and most costly in the 
 city. This cliurch is in connection with the Presby- 
 terian Church of the United 8tates. 
 
 The St. Gabriel Street Church.— This is the most 
 interesting church, histoi-ically, of all the Protestant 
 churches of Montreal, for it was the first one built. It 
 was erected in 1792, and its bell is the oldest Protestant 
 bell in Canada. Here the Scotch reiriments used to 
 assemble for worship in the days when British troop.s 
 were stationed in Canada. In outward appearance it 
 is not beautiful, but it has a quaint appearance of anti- 
 quity which attracts attention. 
 
 There are many other Pi'csbyterian churches in 
 Montreal, St. Matthew's, at Point St. Charles ; St. 
 Joseph street Church ; Chalmers' Church, St. Law- 
 rence street ; Church of the Saviour (French), Canning 
 street ; St. Mark's church, William street ; Stanley 
 street Church, &:c., &c. 
 
 The Methodist Church. — This is a very influential 
 body and possesses eleven churches in Montreal. The 
 chief are 
 
 The St. James Street Church, which is very large 
 and will seat about 2,500 people. The interior arrange- 
 ments are admirable, and the fittings and stained glass 
 are good. When this church is filled, as it often is, on 
 some anniversary service, it ])resents a very striking 
 appearance on account of the amphitheatre like ar- 
 rangement of the seats. 
 
 The Dorchester Street Church is a handsome church 
 in Gothic style. 
 
BENEVOLENT INSTITUTIONS. 103 
 
 Other Protestant Churches.— The First Bai»tist chnreh 
 is ii handsome cut stone biiildint^ at the eoriier of St. 
 Catherine and City Councillors' streets. Tliis body has 
 three churches in Montreal. 
 
 The Church of the Messiah is a fine church within and 
 without. It l^elonLC^^ to the Unitarian body, and is 
 situated on Beaver Hall hill. 
 
 Reformed Episcopal.— St. Bartholomew's, well situ- 
 ated on Beaver Hall hill, at the opposite corner. 
 
 Emmanuel Church. — Close to Brummond street, 
 upon the north side of St. Catherine street, stands the 
 Con<i!;re^ational church of Emmanuel, in the early 
 En<^lish style Avith basement. The interior is well 
 lighted and spacious. The Congregational body has 
 four churches in Montreal. 
 
 There are in 3Iontreal 7-4 church edifices, many of 
 them very large and costly, being more than one to 
 every 2,000 of the total population. Besides these 
 mentioned above there are two synagogues, one Ger- 
 man Protestant church, one Swedenborgian, one Ad- 
 vent church. There are five Protestant churches 
 in which the services aj*e conducted in the French 
 language. 
 
 BENEVOLENT INSTITUTIONS. 
 
 Montreal is as remarkable for the number and 
 variety of its philanthropic institutions as it is for the 
 numbei* of its churches. This results naturally from 
 the circumstances attending its foundation, and from 
 the mixture of religions, languages and races which 
 followed. We have space for notice of a very few of 
 these institutions. There are a vast number of smaller 
 ones which cannot even be enumerated. Every con- 
 gregation has its own congregational charities. Every 
 national society has its '' home" for those of its own 
 13 
 
104 CITY OF MUNTUEAL. 
 
 nationality. The 8t. Goor^'o's Society tor English, 8t. 
 An'lrew'h for Scotch, St. J'atricU's foi- Catholic Irish, 
 the Iri>h Benevolent Society lor Protestant Irish, 
 the (lernian Society for Germans ; and, stian<;ely 
 enoui^h, the French ( 'aiia<liai)s, whomii^ht natuially ho 
 Hupposed to he at home here, liave a national society 
 — St. John the Baptist's. Tiien there ai'e many work- 
 inii^men's l^enetit societies — Frencli, Iii>h and Kn^lish. 
 There aie colonizati(>n societies. Societies foi' j)rayer 
 and ^ood works i;eneially; for the reformation of out- 
 cast women, foj' the trainini;- of outcast children, for 
 widows and orphans, ki:. Many of tlie lioman ( 'atholic 
 religious orders will he separately mentioned, hut it 
 will he impossihle to refer to all of them. Only two of 
 them — the Caiinelites at llochelaga, and Les Soeurs 
 Adoratrices du Precieux Sang at Notre Dame de 
 Grace — are contemplative orders. There are Init 52 
 nuns in both houses, and they are of course cloistered. 
 There is at Oka a monastery of Trappists. They devote 
 themselves to farming 1000 acres of land, and have a 
 saw-mill of their own. But the numerous religious 
 habits seen in the streets of Monti'eal aie those of 
 communities engaged in some practical work, either of 
 charity or of education. It would be difficult to men- 
 tion any philanthropic object which is not covered by 
 some institution. The social organization of Montreal 
 is so composite, that in order to woi'k well man}- insti- 
 tutions re<iuire to be in tri2)licate at least. Eace and 
 language divide the French from the English and 
 Irish, and religion divides the English from the French 
 and Irish. These last are sub-divided by religion, so 
 that they require two separate national benevolent 
 societies. It is this wiiich makes variety in Montreal 
 life and emulation in its institutions. The French 
 and English races flow on side by side like the two 
 great rivers opposite the city, which do not commingle 
 until they reach the tide, and feel the influence of the 
 great ocean in which all streams must eventually lose 
 their individual peculiarities. 
 
BENEVOLENT INSTITUTIONS. 105 
 
 Montreal General Hospital — This hiiildinjjj was 
 f()Uii<lo(l ill 1822 by puhlic subscri])tion, and has been 
 greatly enhii'ged in succeedini^ years by the liberality 
 of a tew wealthy citizens. There are a large niimbei* 
 of wards for poor patients, and adviee and medicine 
 are given to a great nmnberof out-door patients. There 
 are pi'ivate wards for those who, having means, may 
 not have a home, nor fi'iends to attend them. Hero 
 they will receive tlie best medical advice and the most 
 careful inirsing. A special buiMing is set apart for 
 contagious diseases. The total number of in-door 
 patients ti*eated in the year 188:j-4 was 2017. Tho 
 average daily number of patients in the wards wavS 
 138. In the out-door department there were 11,38<) 
 consultations, besides those in the eye and ear depart- 
 ment, where 1,172 new j)atients were treated. During 
 hist year the Hospital received S-IO.OOO be([ueathed by 
 the late I). J. Clreenshields, and 850,000 presented by 
 Mr. George Stephen for the erection of a new wing. 
 The annual cost of maintenance is about 340.000. 
 
 Protestant House of Industry and Refuge — A large 
 brick building on Dorchester street near Bleur}^, for a 
 refuge for the homeless and friendless poor. During 
 the year ending March, 1883. the number of night 
 lodgings given were — men 16,135, women, 3,400. The 
 average number of inmates was 117. A soup kitchen 
 is attached, and there is also a board of out-door relief. 
 Such of the inmates as are able to work earn a small 
 revenue for the house by hiring out for light jobs 
 and by preparing kindling wood. The institution is 
 supported by voluntary contributions and carried on 
 by a committee of citizens elected annually by the 
 contributors. 
 
 A country house for the accommodation of the aged 
 and helpless inmates has been recently completed on 
 a farm a few miles from the city, bequeathed for that 
 pui'pose by the late Thomas Molson. One wing of this 
 building will be paid for by a bequest of S 16,000, left 
 
196 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 by a former President. The main building will cost 
 about $24^000, and i^ being built by the contributions 
 of citizens. 
 
 The Mackay Institute for Protestant Deaf-Mutes.— 
 
 The building and grounds of this useful institution 
 ware given fy the late Joseph Mackay. The number 
 of pupils is 38, of whom sixteen are girls. It is a 
 boarding school for the education and moral and indus- 
 trial training of Protestant deaf-mutes. The charge for 
 pupils is S120 per annum. Free admission is granted 
 in certain cases to the children of poor Protestants 
 residing in the Province of Quebec. The building is a 
 very handsome one, built of Montreal limestone, and 
 is situated on the Cote St. Luc road, about two miles 
 westward from the citv. 
 
 The Young Men's Christian Association Building.— 
 
 The handsome building of this institution is situated 
 at the corner of Ci'aig and Radegonde streets. It is well 
 built of rough limestone, faced with white stone, and 
 is conspicuous by its pointed tower. A young man 
 arriving in Montreal, without friends, would do well at 
 once to visit the rooms of this association and enroll 
 his name if he is seeking employment. A good read- 
 ing-room is opened for gratuitous use. 
 
 The Montreal Dispensary, founded in 1843. This 
 is situated on St. Antoine street, IN'o. 135. It is sup- 
 ported by voluntary contributions, and affords medical 
 aid to the sick and poor of every nationality and 
 religion. The attending physicians visit at their 
 homes those who are too poor to pay and cannot go 
 out. The total number of applications for medical 
 relief in 1883 was 9248. 
 
 The Ladies' Benevolent Institution.— No. 31 Berthelot 
 street, founded in 1832 for rphans or fatherless chil- 
 dren. The children are cared for and educated until 
 
BENEVOLENT INSTITUTIONS. 197 
 
 a suitable age, when they are placed in situations 
 where they can earn their own living. 134 persons are 
 at present in the institution. It is supported by volun- 
 tary contributions. A large building and extensive 
 grounds are devoted to this charity. 
 
 Protestant Infant's Home, Xo. 508 Guy street. — 
 Founded in 1870 as a foundling asylum and an orphan 
 asylum. The number of children received during the 
 year was 65. The death rate was 10 per cent. 
 
 Protestant Orphan Asylum, Xo. 1445 St. Catherine 
 street. This institution was founded in 1822 for the 
 care of orphan children, who are trained and educated, 
 and indentured when they reach a suitable age. There 
 are thirty-four children now in the as^^lum. It is sup- 
 ported by voluntary contributions, and caiTied on by 
 a committee of ladies. 
 
 The Hervey Institution, founded in 1847 under the 
 name of the Home and School of 1 lustry. This 
 institution is for the training for domestic service of 
 children who have lost one or both parents. It is 
 managed by a committee of ladies, and supported by 
 voluntary contributions. 
 
 The Women's Protective Immigration Society.— The 
 
 "Home " is at 131 Mansfield street. It is for the pur- 
 pose of receiving female immigrants until they can 
 find emploj'ment. During last year 236 persons were 
 so sheltered for varying periods of time. 
 
 The University Maternity Hospital.— This Hospital, 
 supervised by a committee of ladies, is attended by 
 the professors of McGill College. It is at 93 St. Urbain 
 street. 
 
 The Western Hospital, Dorchester street west, is 
 supported by voluntary contributions, and attended 
 
198 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 by the leading medical men of the city. It is a 
 Maternity Hospital and specially intend d for treat- 
 ment of the diseases of women. 
 
 Hospital of the Grey Nuns.— This great charity was 
 founded in the year 1755. The antique and venerable 
 pile of buildings, which was at first erected on the 
 river-side near the office of the Ocean Steamship Com- 
 pany, has been pulled down to make j-oom for ware- 
 houses, and the nuns removed in 1871 to their new 
 hospital in Guy street, more commodious and more 
 airy, though decidedly wanting in that air of antiquity 
 which used to be so pleasing to strangers. 
 
 The order of the Grey Sisters, which now num- 
 bers 320 professed sisters and 60 novices, was founded 
 in 1737 by a Canadian lady, the widow of M. de You- 
 ville. She took up a work which, commenced in 1692 
 by M. Charron, had languished after his death, and, 
 forming a religious community, established this hos- 
 pital for the reception of aged and infirm people. The 
 name of Foundling street (near St. Ann's market) 
 commemorates the spot where, in 1755, the body of a 
 mui'dered infant was discovered by this pious and 
 benevolent lady, in the little river now covered by the 
 street. One arm of the child projected above the ice, 
 and a poniard in its throat proclaimed the horrible 
 crime which had been perpetrated. Stirred with 
 compassion at the pitiful sight, she extended the 
 objects of her institution so as to embrace orjDhans 
 and foundlings. The work grew upon her hands, and 
 here, in this enormous mass of buildings, are gathered 
 many hundreds, helpless through extreme age or 
 extreme youth, or incapacitated by incurable diseases 
 from taking care of themselves. The daughter of the 
 famous Col. Ethan Allen, of Vermont, died in 1819 a 
 nun of this order. In 1881 the total number of inmates 
 were : aged and infirm 275, orphans 125, foundlings 
 222, servants 18, nuns 95, novices 67. The foundling 
 children ai*e from all parts of the Dominion and 
 
BENEVOLENT INSTITUTIONsT 199 
 
 the neiglibouring States ; some are brought from the 
 lying-in hospitals. During each year TOO to 800 are 
 received. They are given out at first to hired nurses, 
 who retain them until eighteen months old, when 
 they are taken back. The chiklren are all reared by 
 hand and therefore onlv about one-third survive. 
 
 These Sisters have nine establishments in the North- 
 west, in the Eed Eiver, Saskatchewan, and Mackenzie 
 Eiver districts, thirty in the Province oi* Quebec, and 
 three in the United States. 
 
 In the city they have a number of detached institu- 
 tions under their care, viz. : — 
 
 St. Joseph's Asylnm. — Cathedral street; for orphan girls. 
 
 Dispensary. — For giving medicine to the poor. 
 
 St. Patrick's Asylum. — Near St. Patrick's church ;'for Irish 
 orphans, and aged persons. 
 
 St. Bridget's Asylum. — For aged and infirm persons,* ser- 
 vant girls out of place, and as a night refuge. 
 
 St. Joseph's Infant School. — St. Bonaventure street. 
 
 Nazareth Infant School and Institution for Blind 
 Children. — St Catherine street. : 
 
 Bethlehem Asylum. — St. Antoine street; for orphan girls 
 and for an infant school. 
 
 Hospice St. Charles. — Notre Dame street; for the aged 
 and infirm. 
 
 The Hotel Dieu.— This institution is the oldest in 
 Montreal, having been founded in 1644 by Madame de 
 Bouillon, a French lady of very high rank, who sent 
 out 42,000 livres by the hands of Mons. and Madame 
 d'Ailleboust to build a hospital at Montreal. As there 
 was not room in the little fort for such a- building, a 
 site was chosen near at hand (now covered by a block 
 
200 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 of warehouses in St. Paul street, called Xun's build- 
 ings), and a building erected, which was surrounded 
 by palisades and garrisoned against the Iroquois, who 
 prowled incessantly around the infant colony. There 
 Mademoiselle Mance took up her abode. Obedient to 
 a su2)ernatural call, she had left an honoured and 
 peaceful home to serve God in this wilderness in- 
 fested by cruel savages, and, with three women, the 
 only companions of her sex, she fearlessly commenced 
 the work of which the results have been so great. 
 
 The present buildings were completed in 1861, and 
 are situated at the head of St. Famille street. The 
 Hospital proper occupies the western part and is 
 divided by the chapel from the Nunnery. Eighty of 
 the Sisters are cloistered and do not go outside of the 
 buildings and grounds. There are 350 beds in the hos- 
 pital ; over 3,000 sick persons are annually received, 
 and the number of professed sisters and novices in 
 attendance is about one hundred. This establishment 
 is carried on at an annual expenditure of $32,000. 
 
 The Notre Dame Hospital.— Founded for the relief of 
 the sick of all creeds. The nursing is under the care 
 of the Grey Nuns, fourteen of whom reside continually 
 in the building. There is a Catholic chaplain, but 
 patients may send for any clergyman they prefer. 
 During the year ending June 1883, 862 patients were 
 admitted. In the out-door department, relief was 
 given to 2,660 patients. In the out-door eye and ear 
 department 599 patients were treated. 
 
 Convent of the Good Shepherd, Sherbrooke street. — 
 This is an institution for the reformation of women 
 and children, carried on by the Sisters of Charity of 
 the Good Shepherd. There are 59 nuns besides 
 novices and postulants. It was founded in 1844. 
 
 Roman Catholic Orphan Asylum— 1135 St. Catherine 
 street. Founded in 1832. 
 
BENEVOLENT INSTITUTIONS. 201 
 
 The Deaf and Dumb Institution.— This was founded in 
 1848 for the instruction of deaf and dumb boys. It is 
 carried on by the Clerks of St. Yiator, a Eoman 
 Catholic religious order. Instruction is in French 
 mainly, but there are two English classes. 
 
 Asile de la Providence, founded in 1843, and carried 
 ou by the Sisters of Providence on St. Catherine 
 sti-eet, for aged and infirm persons, oi'phans, &c. 
 These sisters number in this city over 80. They have 
 schools with 600 pupils, an asylum for deaf-mutes, 
 two hospitals, a dispensary, and they make visits of 
 relief, and go out nursing the sick and poor. These 
 nuns have the following institutions under their care 
 in Montreal which is their headquarters, but they 
 have branch establishments in many other places, 
 even as far off as the Mackenzie Eiver, in the north- 
 west, and in Brazil and Chili. In all they number 
 469 religious and 43 postulants : 
 
 Dispensary, founded in 1863. 
 
 Institution for Deaf Mutes, in St. Denis Street, founded in 
 1851, for deaf and dumb girls, containing 32 nuns and 215 
 pupils. 
 
 St. Jacques* School, St. Denis Street; 10 nuns and 392 
 pupils. 
 
 Hospice St. Alexis, for orphans ; 4 nuns and 135 orphans. 
 
 Hospice St. Joseph de la Providence, Mignonne street, 
 for lady boarders. 
 
 St. Vincent de Paul Infant School, Visitation street; 14 
 nuns and 696 pupils. 
 
 Asile du St. Enfant Jesus, Coteau St. Louis, for visiting 
 the sick and poor ; 9 nuns and 201 pupils. 
 
 Sacred Heart Infant School, Fullum street; 6 nuns and 
 226 pupils. Visits are made also to the sick, and to the 
 prisoners in the jail. 
 
202 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 These Sisters have care also of the Insane Asylum 
 at Longue Pointe. 
 
 Besides the preceding institutions there are Tem- 
 perance Societies, Bands of Hope, Odd Fellows 
 Societies, Burial Societies, and numl>erless others. 
 For the protection of dumb animals there is a very 
 active and efficient 
 
 Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals; 
 
 office, 199 St. James street. During the year 1882 
 forty convictions were obtained by the efforts of this 
 Society. 
 
 EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 
 
 The question of public instruction which so pro- 
 foundly agitates all mixed communities has long been 
 settled in Lower Canada. There is a Superintendent 
 of Education for the whole province, assisted by a 
 Roman Catholic Board for Eoman Catholic schools, 
 and a Protestant Board with a Secretary for Protest- 
 ant schools. Upon the Eoman Catholic Board all the 
 Bishops of that communion sit personally, or by pro- 
 curation. The Protestant Board is nominated so as 
 to represent the various Protestant bodies. The 
 school law for Montreal is in some respects peculiar. 
 An assessment of one-fifth of one per cent, is levied 
 annually upon all the real estate in the city, collected 
 by the City Treasurer with the other taxes, and 
 handed over to the two city boards of Protestant and 
 Catholic School Commissioners. The tax on the pro- 
 perty of Protestants goes to the Protestant Board, 
 and that on the property of Catholics to the Catholic 
 Board. 
 
 McGill University.— McGill University owes its origin 
 to the wealthy and patriotic citizen of Montreal, 
 whose name it bears ; and its consequent progress has 
 been due to the liberality of other citizens of Montreal 
 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 203 
 
 who have added to the original foundation endow- 
 ments of chairs and scholarships, and gifts in build- 
 ings, books, specimens and apparatus. 
 
 James McGill was born on the 6th October, 1744^ 
 in Glasgow, Scotland. He received his early training 
 and education in that country, but of these little is 
 known. He arrived in Canada before the American 
 revolution, and appears, in the first place, to have 
 engaged in the north-west fur trade, then one of the 
 leading branches of business in Canada. vSubsequently 
 he settled in Montreal, and, in partnership with his 
 brother Andrew, became one of the leading merchants 
 in the little town of about nine thousand inhabitants, 
 which then represented our commercial metropolis. 
 He died in 1813, leaving his property for the founda- 
 tion of a college, to be called by his name, and under 
 the management of an educational body then recently 
 established by law, though not actually instituted, and 
 entitled the " Eoyal Institution for the Advancement 
 of Learning." Owing to litigation as to the will, the 
 property did not become immediately available, and 
 it was not till 1821 that the institution was granted 
 University powers by Eoyal charter. 
 
 The value of the property bequeathed by Mr. 
 McGill was estimated, at the time of his death, at 
 £30,000 ; it has since become much more valuable^ 
 owing to the gi'owth of the city. The sum was not 
 large in comparison with many other ediicational be- 
 quests ; but it would be difficult to estimate its value 
 to Canada in general, and to Montreal in particular. 
 Gathei'ing around it the gifts of other liberal men, it 
 has sustained the McGill University, and carried it on 
 to its present point of usefulness and success as a 
 source of literary and scientific culture. Indirectly, 
 it has benefited the cause of common and grammar- 
 school education, through the action of the Eoyal 
 Institution, through the services of the students and 
 graduates as teachers, and through the McGill Nor- 
 
20-4 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 mal School, which, though supported by Government, 
 would scared}' have been established but for the 
 influence of the college. Those who have in these 
 ways received its educational benefits are to be found 
 in all parts of the country, contributing by superior 
 skill and intelligence to the common good. An 
 endowment of this kind is, probably, of all invest- 
 ments of money, that which yields the richest returns. 
 The experience of older nations has shown that such 
 endowments survive changes of religion, of dynasty, 
 of social and political systems, and go on bearing fruit 
 from age to age. It will, doubtless, be so here also, 
 and the time will come when the original endowment 
 of McGill will appear but as the little germ from 
 which a great tree has sprung — the spring which 
 gives birth to a mighty river. It is not an institution 
 depending upon government aid or indebted in any 
 way to government. It is the creation of English 
 citizens of Montreal; and the Molsons, Frothinghams 
 and others who have almost founded it anew have set 
 an example which has been generously followed. 
 During last year the following additions were made to 
 the endowment: — by bequest of Miss Barbara Scott 
 830,000, for the chair of civil engineering; by bequest 
 of Major Mills $42,000, for the chair of classics ; by 
 bequest of Mr. David Greenshields $40,000 for the 
 chairs of chemistry and mineralogy ; by bequest of 
 Mrs. Andrew Stewart (n^e Gale) $25,000, for a chair 
 in the Faculty of Law, and in addition to these 
 bequests a subscri2:>tion for five years of $2,000 a year 
 for the chair of botany has been given by a citizen 
 still living. 
 
 At the present time the property of McGill Uni- 
 versity may be estimated at three-quarters of a million 
 of dollars. It has forty professors and lecturers, 
 embracing some of the most eminent men in their 
 departments in the Dominion, and its students may 
 be stated in round numbers as about 500. The latest 
 large benefaction which it has received is the Peter 
 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 205 
 
 Eedpath Museum, which was erected by the benefiic- 
 tor, whose name it beai's, at a cost of about SI 20,000 
 and contains veiy vahiable collections, more especial- 
 ly in geology and zoology. 
 
 The University has four Faculties — of Arts, Applied 
 Science, Medicine, and Law. Being non-denomina- 
 tional it has no Theological Faculty, but it offers 
 advantageous t«-ms of affiliation to Theological Col- 
 leges, whereby their students can have the benefit of 
 its classes and degrees, and it has already four such 
 colleges, re])resenting four of the leading Protestant 
 denominations. It has also two affiliated colleges in 
 Arts — Mori'in College, Quebec, and St. Francis Col- 
 lege, Eichmond. The McGill Normal School for 
 training teachers for the Protestant population of the 
 Province of Quebec is an affiliated school. 
 
 Its buildings are pleasantly situated in grounds laid 
 out in walks and ornamented with trees, at the foot 
 of the Montreal mountain, and, though most of them 
 are unpretending in exterior, they are substantially 
 built of stone, and are well adapted for the purposes of 
 education. It has an excellent philosophical appara- 
 tus and collections of models in mining and engineer- 
 ing and also good chemical and physiological labora- 
 tories. It has a library of 25,000 volumes in addition 
 to its medical library, and though these libraries are 
 not large, they include an unusually choice and valu- 
 able selection of books. 
 
 Though the University has existed since 1821, and 
 its endowment since 1813, its actual history" as an 
 important educational institution dates from the- 
 amendments of its charter and the re-organization or 
 its general body in 1852. It is thus a comparatively^ 
 new institution, and is perhaps to be Judged rather by 
 the indications of vitality and growth which it pre- 
 sents than by its past results. It has, however, 
 already more than 1200 graduates, many of them 
 occupying important ]3ublic positions in Canada and 
 elsewhere. 
 
206 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 FACUEtlES OF MCGILL COLLEOE. 
 
 The Faculty of Arts-T-The completo course of stud}' 
 extends over four sessions, of eiji^ht months oac'h, and 
 includes Classics and Mathematics, Exi^erimental Physics, 
 Englisli Literature, Logic, Mental and Moral Science, 
 Natural Science, and one modern language, or llel)rew'. The 
 •course of study leads to the degree of B.A., M.A., and LL.D. 
 
 The Faculty of Applied Science provides a thorough pro- 
 fessional training, extending over three or four years, in 
 Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mining Engi- 
 neering and Assaying, and Practical Chemistry, leading to 
 the degrees of Bachelor of A^)plied Science, Master of Engi- 
 neering, and Master of Applied Science. 
 
 The Faculty of Medicine. — The complete course of study 
 in medicine extends over four sessions, of six months each, 
 ^nd leads to the degree of M. D., C. M. There is also a sum- 
 mer course, which is optional. 
 
 This Faculty occupies a separate building at the north of 
 the grounds. It is the most important Medical School in 
 Canada and draws its students from all parts of the Domi- 
 nion. The class tickets of the Faculty are recognised in all 
 the great Medical Schools in England. The University 
 Maternity Hospital and the Montreal General Hospital afford 
 great facilities for hospital practice. The library contains 
 7,000 volumes. 
 
 The Faculty of Law. — The complete course in law extends 
 over three sessions, of six months each, and leads to the 
 degrees of B.C.L., and D.C.L. 
 
 Presbyterian College of Montreal.— This institution is 
 affiliated with McGill University. It is devoted 
 entirely to the training of missionai-ies and ministers 
 speaking English, French and Gaelic in connection 
 with the Presbyterian Church in Canada. It is under 
 the control of the general assembly of the church. 
 
 The college was chartei-ed in 1865 and from a small 
 beginning has grown until it has now eighty gradu- 
 ates and seventy-two students, a library of over 10,000 
 volumes, buildings and endowments which exceed a 
 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 207 
 
 <|Utirter of Ji million <lollai's in value. This amount 
 has been drawn chiefly from Montreal and tlie imme- 
 diate neighbourhood. 
 
 The collci^e has found many generous benefactors. 
 Among them are Mrs. l^edpath who endowed one of 
 the chairs with $20,000, and the late Mr. Edward 
 Mackay who gave $40,000 to the endowment in his 
 life time. The sum of $10,000 was bequeathed by 
 Mr. Joseph Mackay for the same purpose. 
 
 The original college building is a stone editice, ele- 
 gant and commodious, pleasantly situated on the rising 
 ground above the city, commanding a view of the 
 University grounds, the city, and the scenery of the 
 St. Lawrence. To this has been added, by the gene- 
 rosity of Mr. David Morrice, an elegant and much 
 more extensive series of stone buildings, designated by 
 the Board as the Morrice Hall, including convocation 
 hall and library, dining hall, dormitories and offices, 
 forming with the original building three sides of a 
 large quadrangle. 
 
 Resident students are furnished with rooms, heat- 
 ing and light, free of expense ; but the refectory and 
 attendance of servants are in the hands of the steward, 
 whose fee will in no case exceed $12 per month. 
 
 The Wesleyan Theological College.— This college w^as 
 founded in 1873, and incorporated and affiliated to 
 McGill University in 1879. It is devoted to the in- 
 struction and training of ministers for the Wesleyan 
 church. It is under the care of a Principal, who, with 
 the other professors, gives instruction upon all the 
 subjects required for a complete Theological course. 
 For mental philosophy, ethics, logic, the natural sci- 
 ences and other non-theological subjects, the stu- 
 dents attend lectures at McGill College. The College 
 buildings recently erected are on University street, at 
 the northern enti-ance to the McGill College grounds. 
 The number of students is twenty, of whom eight are 
 French. 
 
208 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 The Congregational College.— Tliis institution has re- 
 cently completed a handsome building on McTavinh 
 street close to the grounds of MctJill College. There 
 are four professors and nine students. Students are 
 trained up here for the ministry of the Congregational 
 diurches of Canada. The collci^e is affiliated to Mc- 
 Gill University. 
 
 The Anglican Diocesan College.— This is the training 
 college of students for the ministry of the Church of 
 England in the Diocese of Montreal. It is situated on 
 Dorchester street, opposite the Windsor Hotel. It is 
 under the care of a Principal and five professors. Num- 
 ber of students, twenty. The college is affiliated to 
 McGill University from whence the students derive 
 their degrees in Arts. 
 
 TJniversity of Bishops College.— The Theological and 
 Arts Faculties of this University are at Lennoxville. 
 The Medical Faculty is at Montreal, It occupies a 
 large building on Ontario street, and has a staff of 
 eighteen professors, and the number of students is 
 thirty-four. The course of instruction is complete, 
 and the class tickets for the various departments are 
 accepted by the Royal College of Surgeons, the 
 Royal College of Physicians, London, and the Royal 
 College of Physicians, Edinburgh. The students 
 have access to the Montreal General Hospital, the 
 Western Hospital, the Hotel Dieu Hospital, and the 
 Montj'eal Dispensary. The college has every facility 
 for teaching in the way of museum and laboratories. 
 The physiological and histological laboratories are 
 very complete. 
 
 Montreal School of Medicine and Surgery.- This in- 
 stitution wa« incorporated in 1845 and is a part of the 
 University of Victoria College at Cobourg. The lec- 
 tures are delivered in the French language. There 
 are fifteen professors upon the staff, and, during the 
 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 209 
 
 last session, (lio nmnlK'r of students was 147. This 
 school has sj)ecial charge of the Hotel Dieii lIosj)ital 
 and of the Dis]K'nsary of the Sisters of Pi'()videnec. 
 The college building is oj>posite to the Hotel Dieu. 
 
 The McGill Normal School, situated on Behnont 
 street, is an institution under the Governnient school 
 law for training teachers for the Protestant schools. 
 There are nine professors and 126 students. The 
 school is afliliated to the McCJill University, and six 
 members ol' the corporation of that institution assist 
 the Superintendent of Education in its directicm. The 
 complete course of study is very thorough, extending 
 over three vears. Students are <i:raded into three 
 classes, those studying for an elementary school 
 diploma, for a model school diploma, and for an 
 academy diploma. The training and instruction in 
 the Normal School is supplemented by practice in the 
 two Model schools which are attached. These contain 
 300 pupils. The education in the Normal School is 
 gratis, but those who are admitted must sign an obli- 
 gation to teach for at least three years, and must have 
 passed an examination. 
 
 The Protestant Board of School Commissioners. -This 
 
 is a Board of six members, three of whom are ap- 
 pointed by the Quebec Government, and three by the 
 Coi*poration of the city. Two members retire annu- 
 ally but may be re-appointed. It is constituted for ad- 
 ministering funds raised for the public city schools. 
 The gross income of the Board for the year ending 
 June, 1883, was $107,074, raised as follows: From the 
 city tax of one-fifth of one per cent, on the real estate 
 of Protestants, $72,552, from the Government of the 
 province, $4,986, from school fees, $29,554. The 
 amount required for building school houses was raised 
 by debentures bearing interest at six per cent., with 
 a sinking fund of two per cent. The amount of in- 
 terest and sinking fund is deducted by the City 
 14 
 
210 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Treasurer before handing over the assessments. The 
 schools under the care ot the Board are the following : 
 
 High School for Boys. — A classical school leading up to 
 the University, 817 pupils. 
 
 High School for Girls. — 157 pupils. The number of 
 teachers in these two schools is 25. 
 
 Senior School.— A commercial school to complete the edu- 
 cation of those from the common schools who do not wish to 
 go to college or to be taught the classical languages, four 
 teachers, 87 pupils. 
 
 Point St. Charles Elementary School 
 
 . . . . 302 pupils. 
 
 Mill Street 
 
 « 
 
 .... 58 " 
 
 Royal Arthur 
 
 « 
 
 ... 493 " 
 
 Ann Street 
 
 « 
 
 ....426 " 
 
 Ontario Street 
 
 (( 
 
 ... 123 " 
 
 British and Canadian 
 
 <( 
 
 ....392 '' 
 
 Sherbrooke Street 
 
 it 
 
 ....578 '' 
 
 Dorchester Street 
 
 u 
 
 ....181 " 
 
 Panet Street 
 
 u 
 
 ...320 " 
 
 The average total number of scholars in the Com- 
 missioner's Schools is 3548, and of teachers 105. 
 
 Seminary of St. Sulpice.— In the year 1636 the Abb^ 
 Olier, a zealous priest, while praying in the Church 
 of St. Germain des Pr^s, in Paris, received, or thought 
 he received, a divine revelation to found upon the 
 island of Montreal a society of priests for the propaga- 
 tion of the true faith in the new world. Led by 
 various mystical guidings, he formed the acquaintance 
 of Dauversiere, a receiver of taxes in Anjou, whose 
 mind had been prei)ared in a similar manner. These 
 two men resolved to found upon the island three 
 religious orders — one of pi-iests, to preach the true 
 faith ; another of nuns, to nurse the sick; and a third 
 also of nuns, to educate the young. The dream of 
 these enthusiasts is to-day realized in the Seminary of 
 St. Sulpice, the hospital of the Hotel Dieu, and the 
 schools of the Congregation of Notre Dame. 
 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 211 
 
 Olier and Dauversi^re had very little money, but 
 they found the Baron de Fancamp, who was rich, and, 
 with the aid of three others, they purchased, in the 
 year 1(J40, the seigniory of the island of Montreal 
 from the company to whom it had been granted by 
 the King of France. Then, finding in Maisonneuve 
 a suitable leadej*, they sent out, in 1641, the colony 
 which in Ma}', 1642, founded the city of Montreal. 
 
 In 1647 the AbbddeQu^lus, with three other priests, 
 came to Montreal to cdvry out Olier's views. He 
 founded in 1657 the antique looking building adjoining 
 the church of Xotre Dame ; and its solid walls still 
 testify to the thoroughness of the artisans of that day. 
 
 The objects of the Order of Sulpicians, the " Gen- 
 tlemen of the seminary," as they are called in Mont- 
 real, are, first, to carry on a theological training college 
 for priests, and, secondly, to teach the secular youth. 
 The larger portion of the Eoman Catholic clergy in 
 the province have been trained by them, and the 
 building in ^otre Dame street is the home of all the 
 members of their order when they visit Montreal. 
 The business of the seminary is carried on in the 
 offices of this building, for the Gentlemen of the 
 seminary, being the successors of the original grantees 
 of the island, have much secular business to transact 
 with the citizons. 
 
 The educational establishment of the seminary has 
 for years been at the western limit of the city, upon 
 extensive grounds, formerly called the '' Priest's 
 Farm." In the picturesque towers, which are all 
 remaining of the old Fort de la Montague, schools 
 were opened for the instruction of the Indians, by the 
 priests of the seminary and the ladies of the Congre- 
 gation de Notre Dame. 
 
 The imposing mass of buildings which has been 
 erected here must at once attract inquiry. It con- 
 sists of a main building, 530 feet long, flanked by two 
 transverse wings, one of which is 252 feet long, and 
 crossed in the centre by the chapel. The chapel is 
 
212 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 113 feet in length, very tastefully finished, and Ihe 
 paintings on the walls are good. The architecture is 
 in Eoman style, and the glass being stained in light 
 colours, the whole interior elt'ect is pleasing. 
 
 The number of pupils and the statf of professors is 
 very large. Costly physical aj^paratus has been pro- 
 vided for the classes in science, and the libi-ary is very 
 extensive. In the school of philosophy there are four 
 2)rofessors and 50 students. There are nine professors 
 of theology with 210 students. Many of the Roman 
 clergy of the United States have been trained here, 
 the present Bishops of Boston and of Portland among 
 the number. In the ''Petit Seminaire " education is 
 provided for those who do not intend to enter the 
 church ; the late Sir George Cartier, Hon. Mi\ Ouimet 
 Superintendent of Schools, and many others who have 
 risen to power in the province, were educated at this 
 seminary. A large number of youths from the United 
 States have also been educated here. There are now 
 299 pupils taught by 22 professors and masters. 
 
 The older portion of the building in Notre Dame 
 street is worth a visit, if only to see what substantial 
 work was done by Montreal masons two hundred 
 years ago. In the very heart of the busy city one 
 step will bring the toui-ist into a quiet garden sur- 
 rounded by ecclesiastical buildings and pervaded by 
 an air of antiquity which is not met with in America 
 outside of this Province. 
 
 Laval University.— What the McGill University is to 
 the English and Protestants of the province, the 
 University of Laval is to the French and Eoman 
 Catholics. The chief seat of this institution is at 
 Quebec city, and it is under the auspices and manage- 
 ment of the Seminary of Quebec, who provided the 
 funds for its erection. The branch at Montreal is 
 not a separate college, but an integral part of the 
 University, the professors of both ranking indiffer- 
 ently according to seniority. The Yice-rector of 
 
EDUCATIONAL IXSTITUTIONS. 213 
 
 the University resides at Montreal, and there is a 
 resident Dean of each facnlt3^ 
 
 The Faculty of Arts is not yet organized. The 
 Faculty of Theology is held in the building of the 
 Seminary of St. Sulpice, on Sherbrooke street. 
 
 The Faculty of Law meets in the Cabinet de Lec- 
 ture, opposite the Seminaiy building, in Notre Dame 
 street. It has eighty students and a large staff of 
 professors, among whom ai-e the Hon. P. J. O. Chau- 
 veau, formerly Premier and Minister of Public In- 
 fitruction, Hon. Mr. Chapleau, the present Secretary 
 of State and Justices Jette and Loranger. The Dean 
 is Mr. C. S. Cherrier, the oldest barrister in Montreal. 
 The Faculty of Medicine is in the old Government 
 House, on Xotre Dame street. 
 
 The establishment of Laval University at Montreal 
 profoundly agitated the French community. It was 
 opposed with great vehemence and pertinacity by 
 the late Bishop of Montreal and by the Bishop of 
 Thi'ee Eivers, and supported by the Archbishop of the 
 Province, the Bishop of Montreal, and all the other 
 Bishops. The matter was repeatedly referred to 
 Eome, and a Bull was at last issued by the present 
 Pope in favour of the L^niversity. This, however, 
 is not considered final, and the contest still goes on. 
 Land has been acquired for the college buildings, but 
 whether these will ever be erected depends upon the 
 final decision of the Pope. The good Catholics of 
 Canada never would let the Popes rest long, but 
 always have had an ecclesiastical nut for the Roman 
 Curia to crack. 
 
 The building in which the Medical Faculty holds its 
 sessions is one of the old landmarks of the city. It was 
 built in the year 1704 by the Chevalier de Ramesay, 
 father of the officer who surrendered Quebec after 
 Wolfe's victory. DeRamesay was Governor of Mon- 
 treal, and this chateau was in the most fashionable 
 part of the city, close to the residence of the Marquis 
 de Yaudreuil, the Count de Contrecoeur, the Count 
 
214 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 d'Eschambault, the Count de Beaiijeu, and other 
 noblemen of the French period. When the revohition- 
 ary army occupied Montreal, General Wooster's head- 
 quarters were in this building ; General Benedict 
 Arnold afterwards occupied it, and here resided, in the 
 winter of 1775-76, Benjamin Franklin, Samuel Chase, 
 and Charles Carroll, of CarroUtown, who were sent 
 by Congress to win the Canadians over to the revo- 
 lutionary side. Their errand was abortive, for the 
 French clergy and noblesse produced some campaign 
 documents of Congress dwelling upon the dreadful 
 character of the Eoman Catholic religion, intended for 
 distribution to Protestants only, in other places than 
 Canada, and which the ingenious Franklin was un- 
 able to explain away. Charles Carroll's brother, a 
 Catholic priest, afterwards first Bishop of Baltimore, 
 came on to assist, but without success. The declara- 
 tions for distribution in England, Canada, and the 
 colonies were absurdly in'consistent. 'The British 
 Governors continued to use the building as the 
 Government House until Lord Elgin's time, when the 
 seat of government was moved ft*om Montreal after 
 the ebullition of loyalty in 1849, when the Governor 
 was stoned and the Parliament House burned. Subse- 
 quently it was occupied by the Quebec Government 
 for the Jacques Cartier Normal School. It is a long 
 low building with thick walls, and very substantially 
 built. Is is as strong now as it was 178 years ago 
 when it was erected. 
 
 St. Mary's College.— This institution is carried on by 
 the Jesuit fathers. It adjoins the church of the 
 Gesu, and occupies a very conspicuous site on Bleuiy 
 street. It was founded in the year 1848, and re- 
 moved to the present building in 1855. The design 
 comprises a portico and colonnade on the southern 
 fa9ade, which are still required to give completeness 
 to the architectural effect. The building is 225 feet 
 long by 50 wide. The pupils number 360, many of 
 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 215 
 
 whom are from the United States. The course of 
 study is divided into two distinct departments, classi- 
 cal and commercial. 
 
 The college possesses a museum, containing a good 
 collection of mineral specimens, mostly Canadian. It 
 possesses also a collection of apparatus for scientific 
 research, and a well furnished laboratory for ap- 
 plied science. The sciences of physiology, botany 
 and zoology are illustrated by an extensive collection 
 of models. There are three libraries connected with 
 the college, and a good collection of coins and medals. 
 The academic hall is imder the church. It is built in 
 the style of an amphitheatre, and holds 1200 people. 
 It is furnished with a stage, scenery and costumes, 
 and here during the winter the students give drama- 
 tic, literary and musical entertainments. The society 
 has a noviciate of the Order with 45 candidates at 
 S^ult-au-Recollet. ^ 
 
 The Jacques Caxtier Normal School.— This is an estab- 
 lishment of the Provincial Government for the train- 
 ing of teachers for the Catholic public schools of 
 the province. The Abb^ Yerreau is the Princij)al, 
 assisted by nine professors and a librarian. It is pro- 
 vided with model schools to afford practical training 
 for teachers. The course of study covers three years, 
 The school now occupies very handsome and commo- 
 dious buildings on Sherbrooke street east, on the local- 
 ity known as Logan's farm. The building is of Mont- 
 real limestone, and the site is very commanding. 
 Every facility for thorough teaching is provided. The 
 number of pupils in training is seventy-six. 
 
 The Roman Catholic School Commission.— This board 
 corresponds to the English board described on page 
 209. It is constituted in the same manner for carry- 
 ing on the public schools for Eoman Catholic chil- 
 dren, Irish as well as French. The gross income 
 of the board is $94,576, of which $67,700 was received 
 
216 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 from the city school tax, S16,013 from the Grovcrn- 
 ment education gi*ant, and $0,963 from pupils' fees, 
 From this the intei'est and sinking fund on the deben- 
 tures sold to build school houses has to be deducted, 
 The board has 30 schools, 212 teachers, and 9,825 
 pupils under its supervision. It carries on also a poly- 
 technic school, under eight professors. The building 
 in which that school is held contains also accommo- 
 dation for the Commercial Academy. It is situated 
 in extensive grounds between St. Catherine and 
 Ontario streets, and is a remarkably fine and solid 
 edifice in handsome architectural style. The follow- 
 ing schools are carried on by the board. Six of them 
 are under lay teachers. The remainder are subsidized 
 schools under the control of the Board but taught by 
 private persons or by the religious orders : — 
 
 No. of Pupils. 
 
 1 Plateau Commercial Academy 412 Bovs. 
 
 2 Montcalm School ' 418 do 
 
 3 Champlain " 383 do 
 
 4 Sarsfield " 330 do 
 
 5 Belmont " 285 do 
 
 6 Olier " 223 do 
 
 7 Plessis " 345 do 
 
 8 St. Bridget " 630 do 
 
 9 School 256 Notre Dame street 180 Girls. 
 
 10 do Mullins street 268 do 
 
 11 do St. Catherine street 368 do 
 
 12 do corner Maisonneuve and Onta- 
 
 rio streets 801 do 
 
 13 do cor. Visitation and Craig streets 774 do 
 
 14 do corner Mignonne and St. Denis 
 
 streets 98 do 
 
 15 do for the blind 44 Boys and Girls. 
 
 16 do 7 St. Elizabeth street 483 do 
 
 17 do 165 " " 107 do 
 
 18 do 21 Montcalm street 93 do 
 
 20 do corner Cadieux and Rov streets 259 Girls. 
 
 21 do 312 Logan street ' 190 Boys and Girls. 
 
 22 do 250Panet " 103 do 
 
 24 do 199 Chatham street 356 do 
 
 25 do 624 St. Catherine street 212 do 
 
/ 
 
 EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 21*7 
 
 ?o School 21 1 St. Antoine street 158 Boys and Girls. 
 
 27 do St. Joseph street 704 Boys. 
 
 //28 do " " 516 Girls. 
 
 29 do St. Anne street 637 Boys. 
 
 30 do " " 421 Girls. 
 
 Evening School 17 Young Men. 
 
 The Christian Brothers' Schools.— The headquarters in 
 America of this celebrated teaching order is at Mon- 
 treal, and the chief establishment is in Cott^ street. 
 They have in Canada 35 schools with 10,007 pupils. 
 The total number of religious teachers of this order in 
 Canada is 333. Their pupils in Montreal number 
 3,793. 
 
 The Sisters of the Congregation of Notre Dame.— 
 
 This body of religious ladies has a very large 
 number of establishments for the education of girls, 
 all of which are managed from the mother house at 
 Yilla Maria. The religious community was founded 
 by Marguerite Bourgeois, a lady who, in the year 
 1653, gave all her property to the poor, and came out 
 to Canada with Maisonneuve on his second voyage, 
 to establish an institution for the education of thf; 
 female children of the French settlers and of the sav- 
 age nations of Canada. She was not born of a noble 
 family, but she had in an eminent degree that nobility 
 which no written parchments can bestow, flowing 
 from a heart humble, and yet brave, earnestly religi- 
 ous, and yet with a qw'ei enthusiasm. " To this day," 
 says Parkman, " in crowded schoolrooms of Montreal 
 and Quebec, fit monuments of her unobtrusive virtue, 
 her successors instruct the children of the poor, and 
 embalm the pleasant memory of Marguerite Bour- 
 geois. In the martial figure of Maisonneuve and the 
 fair form of this gentle nun we find the two heroes of 
 Montreal." 
 
 Until recently the mother house of this community 
 was in St. Jean Baptiste Street. The chapel is entered 
 by an archway from Notre Dame street. It was built 
 
218 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 in 1856 and dedicated to Notre Dame de Piti^, upon 
 the site of a church erected in 1G93 by Marguerite 
 Bourgeois. The buildings around in the court and 
 those in St. Jean Baptiste street have a very vener- 
 able air. On the right, in the gateway, an old chapel 
 still exists, built under the eve of the i^ood Sister her- 
 8elf. F^rom this place for 200 years the movements 
 of the whole community were regulated. Now Villa 
 Maria is the centre of their work. It was formerly 
 the residence of theGoveniors-General. The old house 
 still stands, but the Sisters have added immense piles 
 of buildings to it. The convent proper is built to 
 receive 1,000 nuns ; for, this being the mother house, 
 the Sisters come from all parts to make their annual 
 " retreat " here. The other buildings are for the board- 
 ing school. The church which has just been com- 
 pleted ought to be visited. The interior is not yet 
 decorated, but the architecture is a credit to the city. 
 It is in the Byzantine style. The dome over the high 
 altar is 1G5 feet high and 34 feet in diameter. The 
 side towers are 160 feet hii^-h. The church is 300 
 feet long and the high altar stands midway in the 
 nave, dividing the space reserved for the nuns from 
 that allotted to the public. A beautiful rose window 
 adorns the church and the proportions of the separate 
 parts are most hai-monious. The decoration is to be 
 in fresco and it is expected that Notre Dame de 
 Lourdes will be excelled. What a theme for a Cana- 
 dian artist is the life of Marguerite Bourgeois in which 
 the supernatural interweaves with glowing threads the 
 devoted life of the quiet nun ! Niches lor statuary 
 abound upon the ftigade which is striking and in good 
 proportion. The site of the buildings is the tinest 
 about Montreal. 
 
 Some idea of the extent of the operations of these 
 ladies may be given when we say that they have 86 
 establishments. Besides their establishments in 
 Canada proper, they have houses in Nova Scotia, 
 Cape Breton, and Prince Edward Island; in Connec- 
 
EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS. 219 
 
 ticut, in Massachusetts, in Maine, in YernK^nt, and in 
 Illinois. They number in all 783 professed sisters, 8*7 
 novices and 50 postulants, and have at the present 
 time 19,026 pupils under their care. 
 
 The Religious of the Sacred Heart.— These ladies^ 
 have three establishments on the island. The chief 
 one is at Sault-au-Eecollet, upon a beautiful site on 
 the Rivi^re-des-Prairies, about nine miles from the 
 city, and contains 148 boarders. A secondary school 
 is attached with 40 pupils. In the city they have a 
 select school for young ladies with 75 pupils at No. 
 1156 St. Catherine street. This order was founded 
 in France in the year 1800 by Sophie Barat, born of 
 very poor parents, but who became in early youth a 
 prodigy of learning. The home of the order is at 
 Amiens. 
 
 The Hochelaga Convent.— This institution is carried 
 on by the sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus and 
 Mary, a religious order which has thirty-four branch 
 establishments in the United States and Canada, and 
 teaches between eight and nine thousand children. 
 This is the mother house of the order. It is beauti- 
 fully situated on the river St. Lawrence about one 
 mile below the city, and is a very large and commo- 
 dious building, with a handsome cut stone fa9ade. 
 The number of young lady boarders is over 200, from 
 all parts of the United States and Canada. In a 
 branch establishment at St. Jean Baptiste village the 
 sisters have 400 pupils in a parochial and select 
 school. 
 
 All branches of education are taught in English and 
 French. Special facilities for learning French are 
 provided, and the department of needle-work and 
 domestic training recive special attention. A museum 
 with a good ornithological collection is attached to 
 the convent. 
 
 In the preceding notices, reference is made only 
 
220 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 to the chief ])ublic educational institutions. There 
 are many excellent proprietary schools both for day 
 scholars and boarders, to the latter of which pupils 
 fi'om all parts of the Dominion and from the United 
 States are sent. 
 
 Veterinary College.— Montreal possesses a very im- 
 portant school of Veterinary Science, imder the care 
 of Principal MclCachran. Students from a G;reat dis- 
 tance come to attend this college. It has six profes- 
 sors besides the Principal. 
 
 Board of Arts Schools.— Tn addition to the educa- 
 tional institutions already alluded to, the free even- 
 ing drawing classes conducted under the direction of 
 the Council of Arts and Manufactures of the Province 
 of Quebec, are worthy of note. These classes are 
 entirely free and are intended chiefly for artisans and 
 apprentices. Instruction is given in free-hand and 
 object drawing and designing, and also in mechanical 
 and architectural drawing and modelling. Litho- 
 graphy and wood-engraving are also taught. The 
 classes are opened during the winter months, not 
 only in Montreal, but in all the larger towns of the 
 province. There were 938 pupils last year under 
 instruction thi-oughout Quebec. The Montreal school 
 has 322 pjupils. 
 
 SCIENCE, LITERATURE AND ARTS. 
 
 Libraries — The population of Montreal is not suffi- 
 ciently homogeneous to make a large general library 
 possible. McGill College possesses 25,000 volumes in 
 general literature. The best feature in this library is 
 the English historical section, which is mainly the 
 gift of Mr. Peter Eedpath. The Medical Faculty has 
 a separate library of f, 000 volumes. 
 
 In Law, the Advocates' Library in the Court House 
 has about 15,000 volumes, and is especially full in the 
 
LIBRARIES. 221 
 
 department of French Civil Law. In Theology, the 
 Presbyterian College has 10,000 volumes of well 
 selected and useful works for the training of students 
 and the use of the y)rofessors. The complete patro- 
 logy of the Abb^ Migne is in this collection. The 
 Jesuits have three libraries in 8t. Mar^^'s College. 
 One of 10,000 is the ])rivate library of the Jesuit 
 fathers. The library for the use of the students con- 
 tains 3,000 volumes. In the hall of the Union 
 Catholique, below the Jesuits' Church, there is a 
 public library and reading-room, containing 20,000 
 volumes in French and English, and a selection of 
 periodical literature. 
 
 The Seminary of St. Sulpice has a large library in 
 the old building on Notre l)ame street. At the college 
 in Sherbrooke street is the theological library of the 
 Grand Seminary, and the more general library of the 
 Little Seminary. 
 
 The Mechanics' Institute has a lending library of 
 popular books. The British Patent Office publications 
 may be consulted at the Board of Arts and Manufac- 
 tures. 
 
 A public library of reference is much wanted in 
 Montreal. A student in Roman Catholic theology and 
 kindred subjects can find all he requires. In Protes- 
 tant theology the Presbyterian College affords very 
 good material. In civil law the Advocates' Library is a 
 useful one. In some departments the McGill Library is 
 pretty full, but if any one in Montreal wishes to carry 
 on researches requiring general works of reference he 
 must go to some other city. The Government pub- 
 lishes many useful documents for the information of 
 Parliament, but in Montreal it is nobody's business to 
 keep them. There is not a set accessible for refer- 
 ence. Thousands of copies are scattered broadcast 
 among people who use them for waste paper. It 
 requires a distressing amount of labour to carry on 
 the most ordinary inquiries in history, politics, socio- 
 logy, art, or general literature. 
 
222 CITY OF MONTUEAL. 
 
 THE FINE ARTS. 
 
 Music— Tlio imisioal taste of Montreal has developed 
 rapidly dui'in<^ the past ten year.s, alth(>ui;;h, perhapn, 
 manifestini^ itself less in a puhlic tlian in a private 
 way. Numerous amateur and ])r()fessi()nal concortH 
 of good (quality and enjoyahle character are given 
 every winter. The j)rivatc cultivation of the art han 
 created a community capable of appreciating the best 
 music, and of criticising intelligently performances of 
 a high order, and it invariably lends its hearty sup- 
 port to all musical efforts worthy of encouragement* 
 
 Good choirs are maintained by nearly all the 
 churches, both Eoman Catholic and Protestant. Pro- 
 minent among the former are those of Notre Dame, 
 St. Patrick, the Gesu, and St. James. In the Protes- 
 tant churches particular attention is given to music 
 at St. James the Apostle's, St. John the Evangelist's, 
 Christ Church Cathedral, and at the St. James street 
 Wesleyan Methodist, the American Presbyterian, 
 and St. Andrew's Churches. 
 
 Music is also taught at the public schools, and 
 special care is bestowed upon it at all the private 
 schools and seminaries. 
 
 There are several musical societies in the city, but 
 only two, the Mendelssohn Choir and Philharmonic 
 Society, are regularly organized, and give public per- 
 formances at stated times. The former of these, al- 
 though the smaller society, has precedence from age, 
 it having been in existence over nineteen years. It 
 is a private organization, composed entirely of 
 amateurs, and has a membership of about ninety 
 selected voices. Its performances consist chiefly of 
 lighter choral works and unaccompanied part-songs, in 
 which latter style of singing the choir has attained to 
 a high degree of excellence. 
 
 The Philharmonic Society was established four 
 years ago. During that time it has met and over- 
 come many difficulties (mostly financial), and is now 
 
FINE ARTS. 223 
 
 ia a position whore its ultimate siiccesft can hardly bo 
 doubted. The chorus nundjors 200, and three con- 
 certs are i^iven every winter. Since its torniation the 
 Hociety has ])ertbrnie(l in a satisfactory and ai-tistic 
 manner scvei*al of the ^reat choral woi'ks of Handel, 
 Haydn, and Mendelssohn, and lightei' woi'ks by losa 
 noted composers. It is assisted by La Socit'td den 
 Symphonistes, an orchestral association of forty 
 pieces oi'ijanized some three years since, but now dis- 
 banded, although capable of being called together at 
 whort notice wlicn required. 
 
 The church organs of Montreal are worthy of 
 ttpecial mention, several tine instruments having been 
 placed in dittcrent churches in the city. The best are 
 that in the English Cathedral, built by Hill, of Lon- 
 don, England, and those by Warren & Sons, of 
 Toronto (formerly of this city), in the American 
 Presbyterian Church, in St. Andrew's, St. Greorge's, 
 St. James the Apostle's, Trinity, Emmanuel, Erskine, 
 and St. Paul's. 
 
 Fainting and Sculpture. —Good works in these arts 
 are not plentiful in this city. The Board of Arts and 
 Manufactures carry on a number of schools for tech- 
 nical Art, and progress is being made in that direc- 
 sion, but the citizens so far have not expended much 
 upon really first-class works for the adornment of 
 their houses. Still there are a few tine paintings in 
 private hands. The paintings in the Eoman Catholic 
 churches are, for the most part, singularly poor, and 
 the stranger will look in vain for any treasure of art 
 corresponding to the importance of the buildings. 
 Notre Dame de Lourdes (see page 184) is the excep- 
 tion to this general rule. Much more attention has 
 of late been drawn in this direction by the ettbrts of 
 
 The Art Association.— This institution was incorpor- 
 ated in the year 1860 under the presidency of the late 
 Eishop Fulford, who, during his lifetime, took a deep 
 
224 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 interest in its proceedings. Its operations were car- 
 ried on by a council of gentlemen interested in art 
 matters, and for many years, under their auspices, 
 exhibitions were held with much success. The late 
 Mr. Benaiah Gibb, a member of the council, died in 
 1877, and bequeathed to the Association the lot of 
 land at the corner of St. Catherine street and Phillips' 
 square, upon which the gallery is erected, and $8,000 
 in money. He left also his own collection of ninety 
 paintings and some bronzes as a nucleus for a gallery. 
 To these, some works of art have been added by tlie 
 liberality of citizens. The gallery is open every 
 week day from ten until four on payment of 25 
 cents. Members paying an annual subscription of 
 live dollars, and their families, are admitted free. Be- 
 sides the pei'manent exhibition, special exhibitions of 
 paintings, engravings, ceramics, and other works of 
 art are periodically held. Lectures on kindred sub- 
 jects are provided, and art classes are carried on 
 under competent teachers. An art reading room, to 
 form the nucleus of an art library, has been recently 
 started in this building. 
 
 The Decorative Art Society.— The rooms of this 
 Society are on Phillips' Square. They ai'e conducted 
 on the same principle as the well known institutions 
 of the same name in New York and London. They 
 afford a means of interchange and disposal of objects 
 of art in needle-work, ceramics, painting on satin, 
 and objects of vertk generally. They are conducted 
 by a committee of ladies. 
 
 Science.— The scientific interest of Montreal centres 
 around two institutions — the McGill College and the 
 Natural History Society. We have already referred 
 to the former under the head of Education (page 202), 
 and can only repeat here that the Faculty of Applied 
 Science has 10 professors and 4-i students, and is well 
 2:)rovided with laboratories and models. The degree 
 of Bachelor of Science is granted in this Faculty. 
 
AMUSEMENTS. 225 
 
 The Natural History Society oceupie'^ a Iraildinc; of its 
 own on University street. It date.^ from the year 
 1827, when it was tirst organized. The Museum was 
 commenced in 1832 in a building in Little St. James 
 street, and the Society removed in 1858 to its present 
 building. The ground tlat is occupied by the lecture 
 room and library. On the second flat is an excellent 
 and extensive natural history collection, and a collec- 
 tion of interesting objects connected with Canadian 
 history and the native races of Canada. Besides the 
 regular meetings of the society, courses of lectures 
 are given during the winter on scientific subjects. 
 The transactions of the society are published in a 
 quarterly magazine. In it all the papers of interest 
 which are read at the monthly meetings appear. 
 
 AMUSEMENTS. 
 
 The young people of Montreal have many amuse- 
 ments, mostly of an out-door character, both in sum- 
 mer and winter. Middle-aged and elderly people are 
 not amused any more in Montreal than elsewhere, 
 They are occupied generally in active business cares, 
 lively political discussions, or in carrying on the 
 numerous churches and benevolent institutions previ- 
 ously described. Some wise ones, however, practise 
 golf in summer and curling in winter, as distractions. 
 
 Lacrosse.— This is the national game of Canada, 
 practised by the Indians long previous to the arrival 
 of Europeans. It was by means of a match between 
 the Sacs and Ojibways that the savages obtained pos- 
 session of Fort Michilimakinac, at the outbreak of 
 Pontiac's war in 1763. There are nine lacrosse clubs 
 in Montreal. No regular times are set apart for 
 games, but the clubs usually practise early in the 
 morning on the grounds of the Montreal Lacrosse 
 Club in Sherbrooke street west, or in those of the 
 15 
 
226 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 Shamrock Club on St. Ciitherine street west. Matches 
 are frequently played on Saturday afternoons. 
 
 Cricket.— The Montreal Cricket Club is the only 
 one in the city. Its grounds are on St. Catherine 
 street west. 
 
 Base-Ball— The St. Lawrence Base-Ball Club is the 
 only one. This game is not much played. 
 
 Foot-Ball.— This is a very popular game. There 
 are three very large clubs. One of them is formed of 
 University students. 
 
 Boating.— -This amusement cannot be caiTied on 
 opposite the city on account of the rapidity of the 
 current. The young men of Montreal who indulge 
 in it resort to Lachine or Longueuil. There are 
 several clubs — the Longueuil Boating Club, the 
 Lachine Boating Club, and the Grand Trunk Boating 
 Club, all composed of Montrealers. 
 
 The Bicycle Club.— One club of about seventy mem- 
 bers have devoted themselves to this amusement, 
 and occasionally make processions through the streets 
 and excursions in the countrv. 
 
 Golf.— There is a very large Grolf Club, which meets 
 at the grounds and club house on Fletcher's field. 
 
 t>' 
 
 Hunting.— Montreal can boast of the largest and 
 best conducted hunting establishment on this conti- 
 nent. The kennels of the Montreal Hunt Club are 
 situated on Colborne Avenue, near Sherbrooke street, 
 and cover three and a half acres of land. They well 
 deserve a visit because they contain the very latest 
 and most complete conveniences for the lodging, 
 feeding, and general comfort and happiness of horses 
 and hounds. The establishment consists of one hunts- 
 
AMUSEMENTS. 22*7 
 
 man, two whippers, a kennel hunt^sman and an earth- 
 stopper. Stables are provicl i for the servants* 
 horses and for the horses of members of the club who 
 may come to Montreal during the hunting season. 
 There are forty couples of dogs in the kennels, includ- 
 ing the pack which the club purchased from the 
 the Earl of Huntingdon. Yerv comfortable and con- 
 venient club-rooms are erected for the use of members, 
 wiio now number over eighty, and among whom are 
 very many of the ^llte of Montreal society. The 
 regular hunting season commences in September, 
 when the hounds meet on Tuesdays, Thursdays and 
 Saturdays at 11 o'clock, until December. Only the 
 wild fox is hunted by the club. Drags and bagmen 
 have no place in its arrangements. The club is the 
 oldest in America. The present chief huntsman has 
 been for 26 years in charge of the pack. The meets 
 are attended by a brilliant assemblage of well 
 mounted ladies and gentlemen. The scarlet coats and 
 trim appointments of the members on a field day, and 
 the excitement of a burst across the country make a 
 ^' meet " one of the sights of Montreal. 
 
 Racket.— This game is carried on by a club of forty 
 members. The court is in St. George street, near 
 Yitre street. 
 
 Lawn Tennis is very popular. There is a club of 
 about sixty members (ladies and gentlemen), which 
 meets in summer at the grounds of the Montreal 
 Lacrosse Club every week day except Saturday, at 3 
 P.M. In winter the meetings are at the fiacket 
 Court. 
 
 Racing.— A turf club, under the name of " The Pro- 
 vince of Quebec Turf Club," has recently been 
 organized in Montreal. At present it consists of 63 
 members, and has leased the race course at Blue 
 Eonnets for its meetings ; but the club hopes soon to 
 
228 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 have a better track and to erect suitable buildings. 
 Upon days of meeting, the Grand Trunk Eailway 
 trains stop at the foot of the hill near the course. 
 Many of the members of the club are leading citizens 
 of Montreal, and they hope to improve the breed of 
 horses in the countrv, as well as to amuse themselves, 
 by carrying on this sport in a fair and honest way. 
 At Lepine Park, below Hochelaga, is a course for 
 trotting of a rougher sort. 
 
 Gymnasium, on Mansfield street. This was built 
 originally for a gymnasium alone, but it was not very 
 successful. A few years ago the Mercantile Library 
 Association, then in a moribund state, was incorpor- 
 ated with the Gj^mnasium Association. Afterwards 
 the Montreal Lacrosse Club, the Montreal Snowshoe 
 Club, and the Bicycle Club were successively absorbed 
 into a larger body called the " Montreal Amateur 
 Athletic Association," which has its head-quarters in 
 this building. It is an excellent institution and very 
 useful to young men. There is a good gymnasium, 
 l^rovided with a competent teacher, a bowling-alley, 
 billiard tables, a shooting-gallery, a library (the old 
 one of the Mercantile Library, quite sufficient for the 
 demand), baths and a reading-room. There is no 
 bar, nor any thing of the sort under a more euphoni- 
 ous name, so that parents are quite satisfied to have 
 their sons frequent the building. 
 
 The Victoria Skating Rink.— Montreal possesses the 
 largest and best skating rink in Europe or America. 
 The Grand Duke Alexis, Avho skated there during his 
 visit to Canada, pronounced it better than anything 
 of the kind in Eussia. The club consists of over 
 2,000 members. The rink is a brick building with a 
 roof of one semi-circular span 50 feet high at the 
 centre. It is 260 feet long and 100 feet wide. A 
 promenade extends around the ice, and in the front 
 of the building are dressing and cloak rooms, and 
 
AMUSEMENTS. 229 
 
 offices. Besides the music stand, there is a gallery 
 for spectators ; for here on a gala night may be seen the 
 youth and beauty of both sexes. Fancy dress balls are 
 held on the ice, and one of the most brilliant sights 
 which the city affords is presented on such an occa- 
 sion. The rink is brightly lit, a band plays in the 
 orchestra, and the gay dresses and swift movements 
 of the skaters combine to make the scene like a peep 
 into fairyland. During the winter, rinks are im- 
 provised elsewhere, upon smooth places on the river 
 or canal, and upon vacant lots throughout the city. 
 
 Curling.— A very favourite amusement in winter 
 among the middle-aged men of the city. The climate 
 of Montreal is favourable to the production of very 
 excellent ice for the purpose, and the Scotchmen who 
 settled here instituted their national game in Mon- 
 treal as early as 1807. In that year the Montreal 
 Curling Club was founded. The Marquis of Lome is 
 patron of this club. The rink is at J^o. 1450 St. 
 Catherine street. The Thistle Club was founded in 
 1842. Its rink is in St. Monique street. The Cale- 
 donia Curling Club was founded in 1850, and its 
 rink is at the corner of St. Catherine and Mountain 
 streets. 
 
 Tobogganing.— -The toboggan is a long sled, without 
 runners, which lies flat upon the snow. It is made 
 of thin ash, and is usually 8 feet long by 18 inches 
 wide, and curled up at the prow. Being made to 
 glide upon the surface of light t^now, it was used in 
 winter time, and is still used, by the Indians, for trans- 
 porting their effects ; for a man u])on snowshoes drag- 
 ging a toboggan can go across country and take with 
 him an astonishing quantity of stuff. Upon this 
 primitive conveyance it is the delight of youthful 
 Montrealers of both sexes to slide down hills. The 
 lady sits in front and the gentleman sits or kneels be- 
 hind and steers. The course is soon over, but the 
 
230 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 proce??s of dra<xgin£>: the vehicle up-hill i>^ enlivened by 
 conversation, and is seldom tedious. There are four 
 chibs devoted to this amusement. Members are ad- 
 mitted by ballot and identified by badges of various 
 colours. Initial velocity is given by artificial erec- 
 tions at the tops of the hills. These rise some 30 feet 
 and are covered with ice and snow. The tobo<:rfi:an 
 
 fro 
 
 swoops down like a bird, and the dazed novice, to 
 quote the words of an American editor at last winter's 
 carnival, feels as if he were swallowing a whirlwind. 
 The slides on gala nights are lit up with torches ; but 
 bright moonlight nights are preferred for this recrea- 
 tion. It is a very pretty sight to see the figures of 
 the sliders against the white snow gliding swiftly 
 down the hill or sociably trudging up again, dragging 
 their toboggans. 
 
 Snow-shoeing. — A number of clubs are devoted to 
 this amusement. They are distinguished by the 
 colours of their blanket coats. Long tramps are 
 organized during the season and a strong turn-out of 
 snow-shoers making a bee line across the country is a 
 very picturesque sight. It is quite usual in Montreal 
 for young ladies to walk on snow-shoes in company 
 with friends. Some of them can walk long distances. 
 During the carnival of 1884 after the ice palace 
 had been attacked and carried in the midst of a blaze 
 of fireworks, the clubs, to the number of 2,000 men 
 all carrying torches, went upon a tramp over the 
 Mountain. The sight was one to be remembered. 
 The long procession of brilliant lights moved up the 
 steep declivity, alongthesummit of the Mountain, and 
 down again, zigzaging upon the winding roads like 
 an immense fiery serpent, while the keen air was 
 ablaze with rockets and Eoman candles. The Ice- 
 palace on this occasion was lit up with electric lights. 
 
 Chess. — There is one chess club w^hich meets at the 
 Montreal Gvmnasium in Mansfield street. 
 
AMUSEMENTS. 231 
 
 The National Amateur Association.— This organization 
 consists of deputies from the ditterent athletic clubs 
 for the purpose of organizing matches and promoting 
 out-door recreations. 
 
 Militia. — Yohmteering is a favourite occupation of 
 the young men of the city. There are six regiments 
 of infantry, one troop of cavalry, one company of 
 engineers, and one battery of horse artillery raised in 
 the city. 
 
 Theatres.— The histoi'v of the Drama in Montreal is 
 a che(juered one. The clergy, both Catholic and Pro- 
 testant, have at all times discountenanced it, and the 
 theatre-going class has also been limited by the differ- 
 ence of lano:uaiz:e. The first theati*e was built in 1825 
 in St. Paul street. There are three at present, viz. : 
 
 The Academy of Music, on Victoria street, which is 
 the best house in Montreal, and one where there is 
 generally very good acting and singing. It is closed 
 in the summer. 
 
 The Crystal Palace Opera House, an improvisation on 
 Dominion square, is open in summer as an Opera 
 House and in winter as a Skating Rink. There is 
 usually a good company acting there during the 
 season. 
 
 Theatre Royal, in Cotte Street. — This theatre is kept 
 open in summer as well as in winter. It is a small 
 house, but very good companies sometimes perform 
 there. 
 
 The Queen's Hall is a beautiful and commodious hall 
 where concerts and lectures are frequently given. 
 Lectures, however, are not among the weaknesses of 
 Montrealers. Music they are fond of, for it speaks all 
 languages and appeals to the whole community. 
 
232 
 
 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 GEOLOGY OF MONTREAL AND ITS ENVIRONS. 
 
 The following sketch, to accompany the annexed 
 Geological Map of Montreal and its environs, has been 
 contributed by Dr. Harrington, F.G.S. : — 
 
 The region around Montreal is one of much interest 
 to the geologist. Within a com])aratively limited 
 area a number of geological formations are repre- 
 sented, while eru])tive rocks well worthy the study of 
 the petrologist are to be seen at many points. The 
 formations with their approximate British equivalents 
 are included in the tbllowin<i: table : — 
 
 Systems. Fop>rATioNS. British Equivalents, 
 
 Pleistocene (Post- fSaxicava sand ) r^^ , .^-i^ o^ 
 
 Pliocene, Cllamp-] Leda clay, | Cly<|«^»f ff;f ', 
 
 Silurian, 
 
 lBouWe7clay. ] Boulder Cliy or Till. 
 Lower Kbl;-orberg. Ludlow. 
 
 Siluro-Cambrian 
 (Ordovician.) 
 
 f Hudson River 
 (or Loraine). 
 TJtica. 
 
 Lower Llandovery, 
 
 ■{ Trenton(includ- \- Caradoc or Bala, 
 
 Cambrian. 
 Norian. 
 
 Laurentian. 
 
 in<? Birdseve 
 and Black 
 River,) Chazy. 
 
 r Calciferous. 
 \ Potsdam. 
 
 Llandeilo, Arenig. 
 
 { 
 
 1 Lower Tremadoc and 
 / Lingula flags. 
 
 . Hypersthene rock of 
 Skye, &c. 
 
 \Lewisian gneiss, &c. 
 i of N. AV. Scotland. 
 
 I. Laurentian.— A small area occupied by rocks of 
 the Laurentian sj'stem is shown on the accompany- 
 ing map, consisting partly of the true or Lower 
 Laurentian of Sir William' Logan (1) and partly of 
 the Norian (Upper Laurentian of Logan, (2). Imme- 
 
"X, 
 
 :< 
 
 :< 
 
 
GEOLOGY. 233 
 
 tliiilely woHtwai'd <>t' IIum, hoyoiul tin* limits of the 
 map, is the "(iroiivillo rcijjion," which wa.^ ivudend 
 clasHie })V the rcHcaichi^s of Looan, and which will 
 ever be a favourite tield for the .study of liaurentian 
 locks. Its southern limit is easily reaclu'd hy takin*;* 
 the Canadian Pacific JJailwav to i'alumct Station, <)1 
 miles, or to I^achute, 4.'> miles from Montreal. North 
 of the I^ake of Two Mountains, Laui'entian gneisses 
 occupy an isolated ai ea of 40 or 50 sijuare miles and 
 constitute a hill of considerable height known us 
 Mont C^alvaire. This mav he reached hy steamer 
 from Lachine, the passenger landing at the Indian 
 village of Oka. 
 
 (ieologists wishing for a glimpse of the Noriaii, 
 may go hy railway to St. Jerome, a pretty village on 
 the Riviere du Nord, 33 miles from Monti-eal. The 
 strata exposed here are not typical; hut true norites 
 may be seen a few miles off, at the village of New 
 Glasgow. Eetui'ning from this place to Montreal by 
 way of St. Lin, an opportunity would be afforded of 
 studying the Potsdam, Calciferous and Chazy for- 
 mations. 
 
 II. Cambrian— Pest ing upon the corrugated and 
 folded Laui'entian rocks are beds of sandstone (3), 
 which occupy a considerable area in the valleys of the 
 St. Lawrence and Ottawa, and wliich wei-e long ago 
 recognized as equivalent to the Potsdam sandstones of 
 the New York geologists. They are exposed at many 
 points, the nearest to Montreal being Ste. Anne at the 
 upper end of the island, a place accessible either by 
 Giand Trunk railway or steamboat from Lachine. 
 
 Worm burrows (Scolithvs Canadensis) abound in 
 some of the beds at St. Anne, wiiile at Beauharnois, 
 south of Lake St. Louis, the curious tracks described 
 by Owen under the generic name Protichjiites, were 
 discovered many years ago. 
 
 On reference to the map it will be seen that the 
 Potsdam sandstone forms an anticlinal on either side 
 
23-4 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 of which the succee<lin£^ formations appoar, bci»;innin£i^ 
 with the Calciferoiis (4). This is composed mainly of 
 dolomite and lias a thiclvness of several hundred feet. 
 It may be seen at St. Anne, where it yields a few char- 
 acteristic tbssils {LeperdHia Anna, Murclusonia Annay 
 &c.) 
 
 m. Siluro-Cambrian.— Ile^tinic conformably upon the 
 Calciferous is the Chazy formation which, accordinii; 
 to some <»:eoloii:ists, may be re^'arded as the tirst mem- 
 ber of the Siluro-Cambrian (Lower Silurian of Murchi- 
 son). Accordinii; to Billings, of forty-four organic 
 forms found in the Calciferous of the Ottawa basin 
 only two pass up into the Chazy limestone; but the 
 break here may be regarded as tilled by the Levis 
 formation which occurs further eastwards. In the 
 neio-hbourhood of Montreal, the Chazy formation is 
 about 200 feet thick, and consists mostly of limestone 
 (often with thin dolomitic layers), though in some 
 parts of its distribution elsewhere, it is largely repre- 
 sented by sandstones and shales. Exposui*es may be 
 seen and fossils collected at many points north of the 
 city, as for exami)le aloni»: the St. Lawrence road. 
 Near the Indian village of Caughnawaga, opposite 
 Lachine, there are extensive quarries which afford 
 an excellent opportunity for studying the formation. 
 Amonii; the more common oru'anic remains found in 
 the neii>:hbourhood of Montreal may be mentioned 
 RhynclKMella plena, Orthis fjoreal'S, Ortlvs plafys, Malo- 
 cystites MurcJvsoni, Blastoido-crhius car char icedens, kc. 
 
 The Chazy fornxation is succeeded by another series 
 of limestones constituting the Trenton group, and hav- 
 ing altogether a thickness of about GOO feet. These 
 vary considerably in character, being partly black and 
 bituminous, partly grey and more or less crystalline. 
 Some of the beds, as shown by Dv. Dawson, are 
 almost entirely composed of comminuted fragments 
 of corals, shells, t^c. Oi'ganic remains abound in 
 many localities, but *he best nli? 3s for the collector to 
 
GEOLOGY. 235 
 
 visit arc the qnanics at the Mile Eiul, near the city, 
 and those near Pointe Claire Station, about lifteen 
 miles west. At the latter place, which is easily 
 reached by the Grand Trunk Eailway, the Black 
 Hiver beds occur and yield many fossils which are 
 ditt'erent from those obtained at the Mile End. Among 
 the more important species found at one or other of 
 these localities may be mentioned : — 
 
 Stenopora fibrosa, Chaietes Jycoperdon, Glyptocrinus 
 ramulosvs, Colnmnaria alreolata, Tetraduwi fibratum, 
 Ptilodictya acuta, Strophcmena aliernata, Leptana 
 sericea, Orthis lynx, Lingula quadrala, Cyrtcdonta 
 Ifuronensis, Murchisonia bellicincta, PUuroiomaria sub- 
 conica, Conxdaria Trent 07} ensis, Asaphns megistoSy Trinu- 
 clens concentricvs, Bathyurus extans. 
 
 The limestones seen at the Montreal Eeservoir and 
 at many points in Mount Royal Park, are of Trenton 
 age, though ditfering in aspect from those seen at the 
 Mile End quarries, owing, no doubt, to their prox- 
 imity to the great intrusive mass of the mountain ► 
 Nearly all the more important buildings in Montreal 
 are constructed of stone derived chiefly from the 
 Trenton formation, though in part from the Chazy. It 
 is also worthy of note that the Trenton formation has 
 supplied most of the building-stone used in Quebec, 
 Ottawa and Kingston. 
 
 The Utica shales, which succeed the Trenton lime- 
 stones, may be seen at tiie upper end of St. Helen's 
 Island, at Motlatt's Island, at Longueuil and other 
 points opposite Montreal. They are black and bitu- 
 minous and occasionally fossiliferous. As shown by 
 the map, there is a considerable area occupied by 
 rocks of the Hudson Eiver or Loraine formation, but 
 owing to superficial deposits it is only here and there 
 that they can be seen. One locality is at the rapids 
 above Chambly Basin on the Richelieu Eiver. The 
 beds here are nearly horizontal, and consist of bluish 
 and grey argillaceous, arenaceous, and calcai-eous 
 shales. The latter contain organic remains, anionic 
 
236 ' CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 which muy bo mentioned Amhonychia radiata, Fterinea 
 demissa, and Modiolopsls modiolaris. 
 
 IV. Silurian.— In the rcij^ion under consideration the 
 eole representative of the Silui-ian system (Upper 
 Silurian of Murcliison) is to be found in two or three 
 t<mali outliers of the L«)wer Ilelderberc: formation 
 which are about two hundred miles distant from the 
 nearest ])ortion of tlie i>'roup in the State of Xew 
 York. The principal outlier is on St. Helen's Island, 
 and consists tor the most part of a breccia holding 
 fragments of gneiss, sandstone, limestone, &c., im- 
 bedded in a jntste of dolomite. On the east side of the 
 island, not far from the north end, there are two 
 small patches of limestone, holding a number of char- 
 acteristic Lower Helderberg fossils, and associated 
 with the breccia in such a manner as to make it seem 
 probable that both rocks belong to the same period. 
 Among the organic remains in the limestone are 
 Favosites Gothlandlca, Orthis ohlata, Strophomeiia rhom- 
 hoidalis, Rhynchonella ventrlcosa, Pentamerus galeatuSy 
 P. pseudo-f/aleatus, &c. Both the limestone and brec- 
 cia are traversed by dykes of a variet}' of nephiline 
 basalt, which have hardened the limestone and en- 
 abled it to withstand the denuding agencies which so 
 nearly obliterated a chapter in the geological history 
 of this neighbourhood. 
 
 V. Pleistocene.—Between the Lower Helderberg and 
 the Pleistocene of Montreal there is an untilled gap. 
 The Devonian and Carboniferous are absent, nor 
 have ,'e any trace of tbrmations belonging to the 
 Mesozoic or Tertiary. The Pleistocene is, however, 
 ■well represented. It has been divided into : 1. The 
 Boulder clay ; 2. The Leda clay, and 3. The Saxicava 
 sand — groups which are not always sharp!}' delined. 
 The city of Montreal is built upon Pleistocene de- 
 posits, and good opportunities of studying them, are 
 oft^n att'orded by excavations ibr cellars, drain>^., &c. 
 
GEOLOGY. 23T 
 
 At the Mile End qnarrie-^. north of the city, they are 
 seen restin*^ upon the Trenton limestones, the sur- 
 faces of which are often beautifully i»:Iaciate(l. At 
 this place they yield a number of fossils, includin*^ 
 Mytilns edutis, Astarte Laurentiana, Tellina proxima, 
 T. grienlancUca. Mya truncata, M. arenarUi, Natica 
 clausa, Trlchotropis horealis. Numerous fossils have 
 also been obtained at Logan's Farm, at the Glen (Dor- 
 chester Avenue), and at other points near to or in the 
 city. On the west side of the mountain, over Cote 
 des Neiges village, there is a Pleistocene beach with 
 marine shells at an elevation of 470 feet above the 
 sea. Other well marked sea-margins or terraces on 
 the flanks of the mountain ai-e at heights of 440, 386 
 and 220 feet, the Montreal reservoir being at the 
 level of the last. The Sherbrooke street terrace is 
 about 120 feet above the sea. 
 
 On the summit of the mountain, at an elevation of 
 over 700 feet, and at many other points, there are 
 boulders of crvstalline rocks which must have been 
 brought from the Laui*entian regions to the northeast. 
 
 Eruptive Rocks.— In the region represented on the 
 map are a number of eruptive masses, which have 
 broken through the flat-l^ing Pakeozoic strata, and 
 constitute hills from the summits of which beautiful 
 views of the surrounding^ country may be obtained. 
 The main part of Mount Eoyal is composed of diabase, 
 in places rich in olivine ; but to the westward of this 
 there is an im])ortant and more recent mass of nephe- 
 line-syenite which is well seen at the " Corporation 
 Quarry," where considerable quantities of the rock 
 are obtained for use as road-metal. The nepheline- 
 feyenite has penetrated and tilted up the Chaz}^ lime- 
 stone, converting it locally into a highly crystalline 
 marble. Both the eruptive masses of the mountain 
 and the surrounding stratified rocks are traversed by 
 numerous dykes, from an eighth of an inch or less in 
 thickness up to about eight or ten feet, and composed 
 
238 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 of a remui-kiible variety of roeks, such as nepheline- 
 syenite, tescheiiite, nephelinite, nepheliue-basalt, &c. 
 All the eruptive rocks appear to date from PaUeozoic 
 time, notwithstandiiiiz; that some of them have no 
 where else been shown to belong to a period anterior 
 to the Tertiary. 
 
 The eruptive masses east of Montreal, included in 
 the map, also consist of interesting rocks. Mon- 
 tarville is composed of olivine-diabase, v/hile Beloeil is 
 partly augite-syenite, and ])artly nephelinc-syenite. 
 Koui>:emontaij:ain ismaiulv olivine-diabase. It should 
 also be stated that the Luureiitian rocks to the 
 northwest are cut by thick dykes of diabase which, 
 according to the investigations of Logan, are more 
 ancient than the Potsdam sandstone. 
 
 Minerals.— The following species have been found 
 at or near Montreal, and chieflv in connection with 
 the trap-dykes referred to above : Pyrite, Pyrrholite, 
 Galena, Sphalenite, Magnetite, Titanic Iron Ore, 
 Limonite, Fluorite, Quartz, Orthoclase, several triclinic 
 felspars, Augite, Hornblende, Acmite, Chrysolite, 
 Biotite, Epidote, Xepheline, Sodalite, Cancrinite, 
 Titanite, Tourmaline, Xatrolite, Analcite, Chabazite, 
 Heulandite, Calcite, Dolomite, Strontianite, Daw- 
 sonite, Baryto-celestite. Most of these are unimpor- 
 tant in so far as the mineral collector is concerned, 
 being met with only in small quantity or merely as 
 constituents of the crystalline rocks already noticed. 
 The most interesting species is Dawsonite, a hydrous 
 carbonate of aluminium and sodium. It was tirst 
 found here and subsequently met with in Tuscany. 
 Yery tine crystals of calcite (nail-headed spar) may 
 sometimes be found at the Mile End quarries, and 
 good specimens of augite from loose masses of trap 
 occurring near the Montreal aqueduct. From dykes of 
 nepheline-syenite also, good specimens of natrolite 
 and sodalite have been obtained. Sodalite and can- 
 crinite occur sparingly at the "Corporation Quarry," 
 
EXCURSIONS. 239 
 
 as well as acmitc, a mineral which is met with at 
 several other localities. 
 
 B. J. H. 
 
 The Director of the Geological Survey is preparing 
 an account of the geology of tha Dominion, to be ac- 
 companied by a map, geologically coloured, of the 
 whole of Canada. Notices of the zoology of the 
 country will no doubt also be given. 
 
 EXCURSIONS. 
 
 Montreal is situated within easy reach of many 
 charming places, and to describe them all would 
 occupy too much space. Around the city there are 
 some very interesting drives. 
 
 The Mount Royal Cemetery.— A very beautiful spot in 
 the heart of the Mountain, about two miles from the 
 city, unsurpassed for the advantages of its situation, 
 and adorned with many beautiful monuments. In 
 the rear, on the summit of the hill, is an observatory 
 from whence a view of the whole extent of country to 
 the noi'th, up to the Laui-entides may be had. From 
 this point a charming road, winding through the woods, 
 leads down in rear of the cemetery. 
 
 The Catholic Cemetery adjoins the preceding, and is 
 best visited by the road connecting the two ceme- 
 teries. It has an extensive outlook towards the 
 south, as far as the Adirondack range. The sepul- 
 chral vaults are a striking featui'e of this cemetery. 
 There is a tine monument erected to the men who 
 fell in 1837. As they were unsuccessful at the time 
 they were rebels, but as almost everything they fought 
 for was, in the sequel, granted, possibly it might be 
 as precise to call them patriots. Guibord's grave is 
 near the road leading from the Protestant Cemetery, 
 
240 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 and recalls one of the most remarkable conflicts be- 
 tween Church and State which has occurred in recent 
 times. The ascent to Mount Calvarv bv the fourteen 
 Stations of the Cross appeals to the devotion of 
 Eoman Catholics and interests Protestants as bein^ 
 a feature not met with in the cemeteries usually 
 visited. 
 
 The Drive around the Mountain, usually taken by 
 tourists. The extensive <i:rounds of the Board of Ai?- 
 j'iculture and the Exhibitiim buildini; of the Board of 
 Arts and Manufactures (see pp. 178, 220) may be seen 
 in this drive upon the right, not far from tlie entrance 
 to the Protestant Cemetery. The grounds occupy a 
 space of about 50 acres ; a portion being in the 
 Mount Royal Park and connected by means of a sub- 
 stantial bridge with the Exhibition Grounds proper. 
 Among the principal buildings on the grounds may 
 be mentioned the Crystal Palace, for the display of 
 manufactured articles ; the Carriage Building ; the 
 Boot and Grain Building, and the Machinery Hall 
 pj'ovided with a stationary engine and shafting. 
 
 The Agricultural Implement Building (for the dis- 
 pLiy of agricultural machinery in motion) is situated 
 on the Park side ; it consists of four buildings with 
 extensive connecting corridors. The Exhibitions for 
 the past two or three years have been remarkably 
 successful and have attracted immense crowds. An 
 Exhibition has now come to be regarded as an annual 
 institution, ttie date fixed is usually towards the end 
 of September in each yar. 
 
 The road passes thiough the village of Cote-des- 
 iNeiges, and on the left, upon the south-west slope of 
 the little mountain, the Convent of Yilla Maria (see 
 page 217) is passed. On the nght, at the summit of 
 the road, is the Church of Notre Dame de Grace. 
 
 Sault-au-Recollet.— There is an intei'esting drive to 
 what is called the '' back river," or the Piviere-des- 
 
EXCURSIONS. 241 
 
 Prairies at Sault-aii-Eeeollet — a ra])id so called after 
 Nicholas Viel, a Recollet priest, who was drowned 
 here by Huron Indians in 1020. The timber rafts for 
 Quebec pass down this river, and liere is situated the 
 Mother House of the oi'der of the Sacred Heart (see 
 p. 219). 
 
 Lachine.— A drive to this village, going out by 
 the upper i*oad and returning by the lower one, will 
 amply repay a visitor. The scenery is beautiful, and 
 all along the lower road the rapids (Sault St. Louis) 
 are seen to great advantage. Near the head of the 
 aqueduct still stards the house built by Robert 
 Cavelier de La Salle. Here was his seigniory before 
 he set out on the western explorations which ruined 
 him, but made his name famous. The aqueduct and 
 wheel-house (see p. 170) can be seen en route. 
 
 The Lachine Rapids.— Tourists w^ho have not come 
 down the St. Lawrence by steamer, may see one of 
 the most important rapids on the river by taking a 
 train at the Bonaventure depot for Lachine, and there 
 embarking upon one of the small steamers to Mon- 
 treal. A train leaves about 7 a. m. and one at 5 p.m. 
 to connect with the steamers coming down the 
 river. Opposite Lachine is the village of Caughna- 
 waga, more picturesque at a distance than upon near 
 approach. Here are settled, upon a reservation, a 
 remnant of the once powerful Mohawk tribe of Iro- 
 quois, which for so many years was the terror of the 
 French colonists. This settlement was commenced 
 under the French regime by those Indians of the Iro- 
 quois tribes who fell under the influence of the French 
 missionaries. They espoused the French cause in the 
 colonial wars, but their aid was always distrusted 
 when they were accing against their own country- 
 men. It was here that those horrible raids upon 
 Deerfield, Haverhill and Schenectady were planned, 
 which were palliated but not justified by the conduct 
 16 
 
242 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 of Massachusetts towards the Abenakis. The Indians 
 do not take kindl}' to agTioultiire, but prefer the free 
 and roving life of voyageurs and guides. 
 
 The village of Lower Lachine is seen on the left, as 
 the steamer enters the long and turbulent lapids of 
 the Sault St. Louis. The river is contracted and 
 obstructed by islands, and trap dykes crossing the 
 softer limestone rocks, make by their uneven wear 
 a very broken bottom. The fall of the river is also 
 considerable and the channel tortuous, all which cir- 
 cumstances combined cause this rapid to be moi*e 
 feared than any of the others. There is little dan- 
 ger, however, to passengers. Formerly the insur- 
 ance companies compelled the steamers to stop at 
 Caughnawaga for a pilot, but now that is not consid- 
 ered necessary. As the steamer enters the rapids the 
 engines are slowed, retaining a sufficient speed to give 
 steerage way, and, rushing along w^th the added 
 speed of the swift current, the boat soon begins to 
 labour among the breakers and eddies. The passen- 
 gers grow excited at the apparently narrow escapes, 
 as the steamer seems almost to touch rock after rock, 
 and dips her prow into the eddies, while the turbu- 
 lent waters throw their spray over the deck. On the 
 right, as the tourist passes through the whirl of 
 waters, the appropriately named Devil's Island is 
 passed, and upon the left is Isle-au-Heron. The aque- 
 duct of the Montreal Water Works may be seen on 
 the main land on the left. On the right the rock}^ 
 shelving shore of the Indian i-eserve runs far into the 
 river. But at such a pace the course is soon run. 
 The boat, gliding into quieter water, opens up the 
 shallow and still bay of Laprairie, and the long and 
 stately front of the city of Montreal, the grey lime- 
 stone, and the bright tinned roofs of the buildings 
 relieved with the beautiful back-ground of the green 
 Mount Eoyal. Over head is the Victoria Bridge, and 
 down the river is the clustered foliage of the groves 
 on the Island of St. Helen. After a long circuit to 
 
EXCURSIONS. 243 
 
 avoid a shoal in the centre of the river, the boat stops 
 at the mouth of the Laehine canal. 
 
 Beloeil.— There is no prettier spot in the Province 
 of Quebec than the Iroquois House, a hotel built half- 
 way up the side of Belojil mountain. The tourist may 
 take an early train on the Grand Trunk Eailway, and 
 must stop at the St. Hilaire (not Beloeil) station. On 
 getting out he will find conveyances to take him up 
 to the hotel, which is situated high up in the shady 
 recesses of Mont Beloeil. After resting at the hotel 
 he can visit the beautiful lake close at hand, and pro- 
 ceed to the summit of the mountain, where he will 
 obtain such an extended view of beautiful scenery as 
 would repay a walk ten times as long. Eeturning, 
 any evening train is available, but the better plan is 
 to stay over night at the hotel, which is very com- 
 fortable. 
 
 TO QUEBEC. 
 
 Montreal to Quebec by Steamer.— This is by far the 
 most pleasant mode of making the joui'ney. The 
 steamers, which leave the Richelieu Company's wharf 
 at V p. m., are among the finest and most comfortable 
 boats to be found on American waters. There is no 
 day line, and shortly after his departure the tourist 
 will hear the call for supper, which is provided in a 
 most satisfactory manner. He will, if disposed for 
 sleep, then be able to retire to a clean and comfort- 
 able state-room. As the summer nights of these 
 northern latitudes are short, the traveller will see by 
 daylight some of the best parts of the river if he will 
 rise early enough. 
 
 A good view of the city can be had when leaving, 
 from the steamer's deck. Mi\ Howells thus describes 
 it : — " For miles the water front of Montreal is 
 superbly faced with quays and locks of solid stone 
 masonry, and thus she is clean and beautiful to the 
 
244 '^•ITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 very feet. Stately piles of architecture, instead of 
 the old tumble-down warehouses that dishonour the 
 waterside in most cities, rise from the broad wharves j 
 behind these spring the twin towers of Notre Dame, 
 and the steeples of the other churches above the 
 roofs." The steamer glides swiftly down the Current 
 8t. Mary, leaving 8t. Helen's Island on the right, a 
 beautifully wooded spot, worthily named after flelen 
 Boulle, the youthful and lovely lady, wife of Champ- 
 lain, who charmed the wild Huron savages in l(j20 
 with her gentle manners. Still farther to the I'ight 
 opens out Longueuil Bay, with the village of 
 Longueuil in the distance, the setting sun brightening 
 the tinned steeple and steep roof of the parish church. 
 This is the characteristic picture of the Lower St. 
 Lawrence. Parish after ]»arish on both shores, at 
 intervals of about nine miles, each with its church 
 and presbytcre substantially built after a fashion seen 
 still in Normandy, with steep pitched roof and nar- 
 row windows, but all covered with the bright tinned 
 plates which only the dry climate of Canada can \)yq- 
 serve from rust. 
 
 The river flows through a wide alluvial plain. Far 
 on the north are the Laurentian Mountains, and on 
 the south the Green Mountains. At Quebec they 
 approach the river, giving boldness to the scenery, 
 but all our j^resent course is quiet and monotonous — 
 the river-banks worn steep by the washing of the 
 current on one side, while long points of alluvial mat- 
 ter are deposited on the other by eddies and pools of 
 quiet water, the chuj-ches and the clustered villages 
 around them on the level plateau above the stream, 
 and the long stretches of arable land, scarcely broken 
 by trees, save where the Lombardy poplar rears its 
 stiff and formal shape against the sky. 
 
 After passing Longueuil ; Boucherville, Yarennes 
 and Yercheres, follow in quick succession on the right, 
 and Longue Pointe, Point-aux-Trembles, and Pout-de- 
 risle on the left. Here the remaining waters of the 
 
EXcuRsroNs. 245 
 
 Ottawa join their flood to the St. Lawrenco, hiding 
 their union anion<^ a maze of h)W wooded iwhinds. 
 Still on the left follow L'A-^siimption, at the mouth of 
 tJie Achigan and Assumption rivers, Lavaltrie and 
 Berthier. Opposite Berthiei-, on the light hank, the 
 Eiehelieu falls into the St. Lnwi'cnee, rlraining lakes 
 Champlain and George, and all the country north of 
 the Hudson valley. On the eastern bank of theRiciie- 
 lieu, the ohl Riviere-des-Iro^piois, stands Sorel. Vain 
 attempts have been made to call this place William 
 Henry, hut the name of the Captain of the Carignan 
 regiment, who built the old Fort Richelieu here iu 
 1665, as a check to Iroquois incursions, yet clings to 
 the spot. 
 
 Sorel is a place of consideraule trade. Most of the 
 numerous steamboats plying on the river have been 
 built here, and large numbers of river-craft in the 
 Whitehall trade are owned here. 
 
 Shortly after leaving Sorel the river opens out to a 
 width of nine miles, and for twenty-tive miles the boat 
 passes through Lake St. Peter. Here are the flats 
 through which the ship channel has been dredged (see 
 p, 159). The St. Francis river falls in on the right, and 
 the Maskinonge on the left. The former is an import- 
 ant stream, which does much useful work in the mills 
 of the Eastern Townships before it gives up its indivi- 
 dual existence. There is nothing to be seen upon 
 Lake St. Peter. In spreading out to such an expanse 
 the water becomes very shallow, save in the channel. 
 The tourist may perhaps overtake some timber-raft, 
 covering acres in extent, lighted up by fires, and 
 navigated by men with bronzed faces and red shirts, 
 whose forms, as they flit across the unearthly glai-e, 
 remind one of Dante's great poem ; or perhaps he 
 may meet some ocean steamer, her black bulk dimly 
 discerned in the darkness, far astray in these fresh 
 waters from her home on the blue Atlantic. The 
 most indefatigable sight-seer would, however, do well 
 
246 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 to retire to his state-room immediately after leaving 
 Sorel, and rise the earlier in the morning. 
 
 Three Rivers, is the next stopping place. The tra- 
 veller will sjurely know when the boat arrives by the 
 unearthly din of the steam-whistle, and the stamping 
 overhead and shouting which seems so utterly unne- 
 cessary to any one who does not intend to stop there, 
 but is merely anxious for a little sleep. It is the third 
 city of importance on the liver, and w^as the second 
 founded by the early colonists. The Eiver St. Mau- 
 rice falls in here from the north, and, being divided at 
 its mouth by two islands, the three channels give the 
 town its name. The St. Maurice is one of the most 
 important tributaries of the St. Lawrence; running 
 a course of about 300 miles, and recenungmany large 
 tributaries before joining its waters with the St. Law- 
 rence . It is a very important lumbering stream be- 
 cause of the immense area it drains. At twenty-one 
 miles distance from Three Elvers are the Falls of Sha- 
 wanegan. There are many falls and rapids on the 
 lower St. Maurice, but none to compare mi grandeur 
 with Shawanegan. Here the river, suddenly bend'ng 
 and divided by a rocky island into two channels, tails 
 nearly 150 feet perpendicularly, and dashes violently 
 against a wall of opposing rock, whence the united 
 stream forces its way through a channel not more 
 than thirty yards wide . There can be no more strik- 
 ing sc^ne in its savage grandeur than this fall, and a 
 visit '7.U repay the enterprising tourist. Above the 
 falls Ub Jrand Piles a tug steamer runs as far as La 
 Tuque, an old fur-trading post. In the old French 
 days, before Montreal was strong enough to keep the 
 Iroquois at a distance, Three Elvers was the most im- 
 portant post on the river for traders ; but it declined 
 in importance as Montreal grew. There is a consider- 
 able export of lumber from this point. The iron of the 
 St. Maurice forges is made from large deposits of 
 bog iron ore found in this vicinity ; they are not yet 
 
EXCURSIONS. 247 
 
 exhausted, although they have been worked for over 
 150 years. 
 
 After leaving Three Elvers the steamer stops but 
 once more before arriving at Quebec, and that is at 
 Batiscan, a village near the mouth of a river of the 
 same name ; then is passed, from the north, the River 
 St. Anne. About twenty miles from St. Anne occur 
 rapids and obstructions in the St. Lawrence, called 
 the Richelieu Rapids. Large ships usually have to 
 wait for high tide before passing here, as the rocks 
 are dangerotis. A few miles from these rapids the 
 Jacques Cartier falls in, still from the north, for the 
 St. Lawrence is a northern river, and draws its unfail- 
 ing waters mostly from the north. From this point 
 the scenery loses its flatnesss, and the traveller will be 
 repaid for an early morning start. The steamer 
 swiftly passes village after village, and in the distance 
 the mountains around Quebec can be seen, blue 
 and dim, the sun rising behind them. On the right, 
 near the city, is the mouth of the Chaudiere River, on 
 the left is Cap Rouge, and a little farther on is Sillery, 
 close under which is Wolfe's Cove, where the landing^ 
 was etfected in 1759 which changed the destinies of 
 Canada. Gliding on past the maze of ships, and rafts, 
 and booms, and deals, the steamer sweeps close under 
 Cape Diamond, into the matchless basin shadowed by 
 precipitous clilt's, from which Quebec, the Queen of 
 the St. Lawrence, looks down in all her quaint beauty 
 upon a scene unequalled in the new world. 
 
 And now thf steam-whistle, its piercing shrillness, 
 heightened by the i everberation from the opposite 
 cliffs of Point Levis, rouses all sleepy-headed passen- 
 gers, and summons from the heights that heteroge- 
 neous congeries of vehicles in which Quebec rejoices. 
 The traveller may, however, take one of the hotel 
 omnibuses in waiting; but let him not leave the city 
 without a ride in a '* caleche." The world looks so 
 strange from a caliche, and Quebec, from such a 
 point of view, looks, if possible, qtiainter than it really 
 
248 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 is. If the tourist be, unfoi'tunately, thin and of light 
 weight, anxiety lest he be shot out may disturb his 
 mind ; but still let him hold on bravely, he may not 
 have another chance. The caleche is fast disappear- 
 ing, its last home is here, and soon it will depart 
 whither so many good things have already gone. 
 
 TO OTTAWA. 
 
 To Ottawa by Railway.— The Pacific Eailway has 
 purchased the portion of the foi mer Q., M., O. k O. 
 Eailway between Montreal and Ottawa as the first 
 link in the great system uniting the 8t. Lawrence 
 with the Pacific Ocean. Trains leave the Dalhousie 
 Square depot. The first stop is at 
 
 Sault-au-RecoUet,— where the train crosses the Eiviere- 
 des-Prairies or Back Eiver. The Convent of the 
 Sacred Heart is on the right before pa>sing the bi'idge. 
 A fine view of the rapids may be had from both sides 
 of the cars. The road now crosses Isle Jesus, a very 
 fertile island 21 miles long and 6 miles wide. After 
 passing St. Martin Station it arrives at 
 
 St. Martin Junction..— Here the North Shore Eailway 
 to Quebec diverges. The next station is 
 
 Ste. Rose.— At this point the train crosses the north- 
 ernmost mouth of the Ottawa river and passes on to 
 the main land. A very beautiful view may be had 
 from the cars up and down the river, which seems to 
 have no special name, and is called the Eiviere St. 
 Jean, or Jesus, or Terrebonne liver, and sometimes 
 simply the Ottawa. The road now lies across a level 
 uninteresting plain, underlaid by the Potsdam sand- 
 stone and the Calciferous formation. At 
 
 Ste. Therese, a road branches off for St. Jerome, 
 another for St. Lin, and another for St. Eustache. A 
 
EXCURSIONS. 249 
 
 very large Roman Calholic College is situated here and 
 may be seen from the train. The following stations 
 are St. Augustin, 8te. Scholastique (which is the county 
 town), St. Ilermas and 
 
 Lachute, a large town upon the falls of the Eiviere 
 du Nord containing a number of manufactories. It is 
 the county town of Argenteuil . The river skirts the 
 Laurentian hills and the course of the train, after 
 crossing it, lies between the Ottawa and the base of 
 that range. The next station is St. Philippe; then, 
 leaving all the saints behind, the train strikes for the 
 main Ottawa river wdiich is reached at 
 
 Grenville.— This is a very good point from which to 
 examine the Laurentian country. The mountains 
 abound in minerals such as mica, graphite and 
 apatite, and the bands of crystalline limestone near 
 here are favourite fields for obtaining specimens of 
 the rarer minerals. At Grenville the Longue Sault 
 rapid commences, which interrupts the navigation of 
 the Ottawa ; and here is also the upper end of the 
 Carillon and Grenville canal. At the foot of the 
 rapid Dollard and his comp^anions, in the year 1660, 
 saved Canada by the sacrifice of their lives. 
 
 Close to Carillon, at the foot of the canal, is 
 this ThermopyltT) of French Canada, but DoUard's 
 name is commemorated in Yi lie-Marie only by a 
 contemptible little lane. Passengers for Caledonia 
 Springs get out here. After leaving Grenville the 
 Calumet river, a small stream, is crossed, and, a 
 mile i^nd a half further on, the River Rouge, a tur- 
 bulent stream, down which a good deal of lumber is 
 floated. The train arrives next at Montebello — the 
 residence of the late Hon. Louis Joseph Papineau, the 
 O'Connell of Canada, from whom the next station, 
 Papineauville, derives its inharmonious name. The 
 road runs through a rough and uninteresting country 
 for the rest of the distance. To the scientific tourist, 
 
250 CITY OF 3fONTREAL. 
 
 however, the ^^ound is classic, for it is at Cote St, 
 Pierre, in the seigniory of Petite Nation, 20 miles from 
 Montebello, where the Eozoon Canadense is found in 
 its least altered and most characteristic condition. 
 At North Nation Mills the North Nation river, a 
 lumbering stream, is crossed. Then follow the sta- 
 tions of Thurso and Eockland — next follows. 
 
 Buckingham, upon the Eivierc-au-Lievre a singu- 
 larly rapid and turbulent stream which rushes, rather 
 than flows, throuii^h a o-ood huntini»; count rv but a bad 
 one for settling in. The river falls 70 feet in a very 
 few miles, and consequently there are several large 
 lumber establishments here. Buckingham is the 
 centre of the apatite and the plumbago mining coun- 
 try. Eleven miles above Buckingham and accessible 
 by steamer from it is the Emerald mine, where the 
 apatite may be seen in masses. The next stations 
 are L'Ange Gardien and Templeton, then the Gati- 
 neau river is crossed. This is a very large and im- 
 portant lumbering river 300 miles in length, and a 
 chief tributary of the Ottawa. The next station is 
 
 Hull, opposite Ottawa. A fine view of the Parlia- 
 ment buildings can be had from the station. After 
 leaving Hull the Ottawa river is crossed upon a 
 bridge remarkable for its solid construction, for here 
 the Ottawa flows in a wide and full stream just above 
 the Falls of the Chaudiere. From the train a view of 
 the rapids may be had. The river is 500 yards wide 
 and the principal !fall is GO feet high. The tourist 
 will find much to interest him in a visit to this fall. 
 The next station is Ottawa. 
 
 LAKE MEMPHREMAGOG. 
 
 Excursion to Lake Memphremagog.— The South East- 
 ern Eailway extends from Montreal to Newport in 
 
EXCURSIONS. 251 
 
 Yermont. There it connects with the Passumpsic 
 Valley line, leading to Boston by a direct route 
 through the very heart of the tinest scenery of the 
 White Mountains. Trains leave the Bonaventure 
 Station for Boston morning and evening. In running 
 down to the river the Lachine Canal (p. lt>3) is 
 crossed, and the tourist may obtain a good view of 
 it from the cars. The train crosses the St. Lawrence 
 on the Victoria Bridge (see p. 167) and, at St. Lam- 
 bert station, the South Eastern track diverges. Foui* 
 railways start from this point. The Central Ver- 
 mont is on the right hand, for the south, via St. 
 Johns and St. Albans ; the track of the South Eastern 
 is the next. On the left are the main lines of the 
 Grand Trunk for Portland, Quebec and Rouse's Point, 
 and last to the left is the railway for Sorel. Trains 
 also leave for Huntington, but they diverge from the 
 main b'xie of the Grand Trunk Railway at a point a 
 few miles further on. From the embankments on ap- 
 proaching or leaving the Bridge a view of the rapids 
 of Sault St. Louis and the bay of Laprarie may be seen 
 on the right, and of St. Helen's Island and the city of 
 Montreal on the left. After leaving St. Lambert the 
 train strikes across the level country to the valley of 
 the Richelieu which is reached at the Station of 
 
 Chambly Basin. — Here the Richelieu opens out into 
 a wide and tranquil expanse after a turbulent and 
 rapid course of 16 miles from St. Johns, and into 
 this basin the Chambly Canal debouches. An impor- 
 tant trade with the United States is carried on by 
 this canal. The Richelieu river was, before railway 
 times, the chief rou'e between Canada and the United 
 States. It drains Lake Champlain and, by the canal 
 from Whitehall at the head of the lake, the waters of 
 the St. Lawrence are connected with the Hudson 
 river. The Richelieu was called the Riviere-aux- 
 Iroquois in French times, for down it used to come 
 the canoes of the hostile Mohawks from their homes 
 
252 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 on the head waters of the Hudson. The Marquis de 
 Tracy in 1(3(35. seeing- the importance of securing con- 
 trol of this river, ordered the erection of three forts. 
 One, at the mouth of the river, was erected hv M. de 
 4Sorel, one at this jxnnt was erected by M. de Cham- 
 blv. and the third — Fort St. Therese — a few miles 
 further up, at the liead of the portage, was erected by 
 •Colonel de Saliei-es, the Colonel of the Carignan regi- 
 ment in which the two former were captains. These 
 forts were of wood, but in ITOO Captain Berthelot 
 Sieur de Beaucourt erected a stone fort at Chambly 
 upon the site of furt St. L(^uis, of which the ruins 
 can be seen upon the left as the train approaches the 
 station. 
 
 As the French power strengthened, Fort Chambly, 
 or Fort St. Louis as it was then called, became less 
 important, and the interest of the struggle with the 
 English centres around Crown Point and Ticonderoga ; 
 but Chambly was always occupied by a strong 
 French garrison. When Canada was ceded to the 
 English, a British garrison replaced the French 
 troops, but the fort at St. Johns was considered by 
 far the most important on the river, and when the 
 revolutionary war broke out in 17T5. it was the gar- 
 rison at St. Johns which arrested for two months the 
 advance of Monto-omery into Canada. While he was 
 thus delayed Majors Brown and Livingstone raised 
 about 300 Canadians, and with these, and 50 men of 
 the Continental Ai-my, invested Chambly, which sur- 
 rendered apparently without firing a shot. Certainly 
 nobody was hurt on either side and the whole matter 
 was settled in 48 hours. The garrison was com- 
 manded by Major Stopford and consisted of 83 men 
 of the 7th Eoyal Fusileers. Montgomery was run- 
 ning short of powder, and the capture of the military 
 stores at Chambly contributed largely to the fall of 
 St. Johns. The prisoners were very useful as a means 
 of securino^ consideration for Ethan Allen and his 
 men who had been captured a short time before in a 
 
EXCURSIONS. 253 
 
 quixotic attack on Montreal. The colours of the 7th 
 Fusileers which were taken at the same time were the 
 first trophies of the war. It was a strange gtirrison. 
 There were in the fort 83 soldiers and 90 women and 
 ehiklren. They were all sent into the revolted 
 colonies. The commandant at 8t. Johns permitted 
 the batteaux to pass southward unmolested. ''Their 
 number of women and quantit}^ of baggage" writes 
 Montgomery, "is astonishing.". The whole attair is 
 still a puzzle to the historian. The fort was a square 
 enclosure w^ith flanking towers unprotected by earth- 
 works of any kind. Barracks and store houses were 
 built around the court. The site was admirably 
 chosen at the foot of the portage, commanding effec- 
 tually the whole breadth of the river. 
 
 During the succeeding period while English troops 
 were stationed in Canada, Chambly was continuously 
 occupied by a garrison. The fort was abandoned 
 about the year 1838 and began to fall into decay. 
 Large barracks and officers' quarters were built near 
 it. The number of troops gradually decreased, but, 
 until the evacuation of the country, detachments 
 from Montreal used to go every summer to Chambly 
 for target practice. After the British troops finally 
 departed, the inhabitants began to use the timber of 
 the fort for fire-wood, until the river face fell down 
 and the whole wall threatened to tumble in. Then 
 VTOse an indefatigable local antiquary, M. Dion, who 
 gave the Quebec Government no rest until the modest 
 sum of $1,000 was granted to keep the walls from 
 further decay, and with this inadequate sum he rescued 
 this interesting relic of former days from utter ruin. 
 
 Chambly owes also to M. Dion's enthusiasm a statue 
 in bronze of Col. De Salaberry, who won a victory 
 over the Americans at Chateauguay in the war of 
 1812, while m command of a detachment of Canadian 
 Yoltigeurs. The statue is of bronze, cast at Montreal 
 by L. P. Hebert. It is not much above natural size, 
 but it is a decidedly better work of art than the 
 
254 CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 colossal statue of the Queen on Victoria Square in 
 Montreal. There is a very pretty little English 
 Church at Chambly. After leaving Chanibly Basin 
 the train next stops at 
 
 Chambly Canton.— Here are woollen and cotton mills 
 and a paper mill. Several other factories cluster 
 here on the shore of the St, Louis rapids, for the 
 water power is very extensive. From Chambly. upon 
 the left, Montarviile, Belceil, and Rougemont moun- 
 tains are seen to great advantage, rising up out of the 
 level and fertile country. The train now crosses the 
 river, and, from the cars, a good view of the rapids 
 may be obtaiued. Then follows Marieville, which is 
 the station for Rougemont. On approaching Ste. 
 Ang^le, the next station, Monnoir or Mount Johnson 
 is seen plainly on the right, and, on the left, the 
 Yamaska Mountain emerges from the shadow of 
 Hougemont. The Sheftbrd Mountain becomes clearly 
 visible also on the left, and, as the train proceeds, 
 Brome and Sutton Mountains appear, after which the 
 mountains around Lake Memphremagog are seen in 
 a continuous chain also on the left. After Ste. Brigide 
 the next station is 
 
 West Famham, an important manufacturing village 
 upon the Yamaska river. A large cotton factory 
 .and a beet-root sugar factory are among the indus- 
 tries established here. The Central Vermont Rail- 
 way intersects the South Eastern at this point. The 
 Yamaska is a very tortuous river. It is seen inter- 
 mittently upon the left, winding through the level 
 plain. After passing through Farnham, Brigham 
 ;and East Farnham the train stops at 
 
 Cowansville, the county town. The neighbouring 
 village of Sweetsburg is seen upon the rising ground. 
 'They are pretty places, and at this point the scenery 
 ^begins to lose its flat character and gains rapidly in 
 
EXCURSIONS. 255 
 
 interest. The land is also very good for agricultural 
 purposes. The river is the south branch of the 
 Vamaska. After West Brome follows 
 
 Sutton Junction, where the Eailway from Sorel con- 
 nects with the South Eastern. The Bolton Moun- 
 tains around the lake are seen upon the left, the 
 Pinnacle Mountain opens to the right. The train, 
 after stopping at Sjtton F'lats and Abercorn, crosses 
 the border and arrives at Kichford in the State of 
 Vermont, an important manufacturing town and one 
 of the oklest in the State. The direct course of the 
 road is now barred by Jay's Peak, the most northern 
 spur of the Green Mountains, 4,018 feet high. The 
 train now follows along the valley of the Missisquoi 
 Hiver which it crosses, and, after stopping at East 
 Bichford, turns back into Canada, keeping the river 
 on the left continuously visible, winding among the 
 meadows at the foot of the mountains. Glen Sutton 
 and Mansonville, the next stations, are in Canada. 
 Then the border is again crossed. North Troy by 
 its name gives evidence of the classic culture in the 
 United States, which replaces the saintly tendencies 
 of the Lower Canadians. The Missisquoi river is 
 finally crossed, and after passing Newport Centre, 
 Lake Memphremagog opens out, and Newport, at the 
 head of the lake, is reached. 
 
 Newport, is a pleasant little town in the State of 
 Vermont, important chiefly because it is the terminus 
 of the Passumpsic Eailway and the point where 
 travellers from Quebec and Montreal meet on the 
 road to Boston. It is situated at the head of Lake 
 Memphremagog, one of the most beautiful lakes 
 in North America. The western shore of the lake 
 is skirted by lofty mountains, while the eastern 
 shore slopes gradually down to the water. Upon the 
 ■eastern shore are many beautiful villas and produc- 
 tive farms, while the oj)posite side retains all ite 
 
25C CITY OF MONTREAL. 
 
 primitive wildncss. There is a continual contrast 
 between these o]>posini^ styles of hindscape beauty 
 whicli adds variety to the iscenei'v of the hike, for the 
 eye wanders with pleasure from the quiet and fertile 
 elopes, adorned with villas and laid out by art, to the 
 rugged grandeur of Ortbrd Mountain, the Owl's Head 
 and Mount Elephantis which, as the sun declines, 
 cast tlieir sombre shadows far over the bright sheet 
 of water. The outlet of the lake is the Magog river 
 which falls into the St. Francis at Slierbrooke. It is 
 a turbulent stream and, as it has a considerable fall 
 in a short distance, it does much woi'k for manuftic- 
 turers befo* 3 it is allowed to join the placid St. 
 Francis. On Mondays the Steamer Lady of the Lake 
 leaves Newport at 8 a.m. and goes to the town of 
 Magog at the outlet, a distance of 30 miles, returning 
 at 4.30. On other days the steamer goes only as far 
 as Georgeville, but makes two trips, one at 8.30 a.m. 
 and a second at L30 p.m. The prettiest scenery is 
 on the lower part of the lake, so that the tourist will 
 not miss much by turning back at Georgeville. 
 
 The most remarkable peak in the chain of moun- 
 tains on the western shore is the Owl's Head. It rises 
 from the very water's edge to a height of 2,743 feet. 
 Snugly ensconced at its base is the Mountain House, a 
 capital hotel, wdiich has recently been refitted 
 throughout. Those who are fond of climbing can 
 easily make the ascent of the mountain by a foot- 
 path to its very summit. On a clear day the view 
 is marvellously extensive. Lake Memphremagog in 
 its whole extent — with every island and creek — is 
 manifest at the foot of the mountain. Far off the St. 
 Fi'ancis can be seen in its whole course to the St. Law- 
 rence, and even the white towers of Notre Dame de 
 Montreal can be discerned. On the east is lake 
 Massawippi — on the west is lake Champlain with the 
 Adirondacks behind it. On the south are the White 
 Mountains and the Green Mountains. The valleys of 
 the Yamaska and the Eichelieu — a level plain with, 
 
EXCURSIONS. 257 
 
 iHolated peakn lie spread out as on a map. It is a 
 panorama which will I'cwanl the tourist for a two 
 hours climl), because, owing to the comi)aratively 
 isolated position of the mountain, tliere is no inter- 
 veninir summit to obstruct the view. Let the enter- 
 prising traveller ascend, provided with a field glass 
 and a good map and he will not regret his labour, if 
 only the weather be clear. 
 
 A little further down the lake is Mount Elephantis, 
 and on the opposite shore is Bay View Park, a great 
 resort for picnics. Then follow a number of hand- 
 some villas and fine farms. Half way down the lake 
 is Georgeville — a pleasant summer resort with a good 
 hotel. Opposite, on the west side, is Knowlton's 
 Landing. Here the stage for Knowlton can be taken, 
 traversing the Bolton pass through mountain scenery 
 of alpine wildness and beauty. At last Magog is 
 reached at the extreme northern end of the lake. 
 The Central Vermont Railway has a branch line from 
 St. Johns to this point which will shortly be extended 
 to meet the Grand Trunk Railway at Sherbrooke. 
 Fi'om Magog the steamer returns to Newport where 
 the toui'ist may resume his journey to New York, 
 Boston, Montreal or Quebec. Newport is a good 
 holiday resort. It is a centre from whence many 
 interesting excursions can be made and i» within 
 easy reach of all the chief cities of the North and 
 and East. 
 
 The Eastern Townships.— This name is given to an 
 important section of the Province of Quebec where 
 the majority of the population is English. Its chief 
 town is Sherbrooke (population 7,227), an important 
 place at the junction of the Magog and the St. Fran- 
 cis rivers. Here are factories of woolens, cotton, 
 flannel, paper, axes, and other leading articles. There 
 is an abundant water power. Compton is the centre 
 of a rich farming and stock-raising district. Here is 
 the celebrated establishment of the Hon. Senator 
 17 
 
258 LOWER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 Cochrane known to all stoi-k-breeders in England and 
 the United States. The choicest and most valuable 
 cattle on the continent are here. 
 
 THE LOWER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 Xo one who possesses any love for scenery on a 
 grand scale should fail to make the trip down the 
 lower St. Lawrence as far as Gasp^, if time permit, 
 but certainly as far as Tadousac and up theSaguenay. 
 The majestic flood of the great river widening out 
 into an estuary of the ocean, the cool and bracing 
 breeze, the clear air, the stern and, at times, savage 
 cliffs, the bright clean villages dotting the shore, sur- 
 rounding the inevitable church, and surrounded by 
 the fertile green of the clearings, present a succession 
 of images unexcelled by the attractions of any other 
 part of the world. The Grand Trunk Railway and 
 the lines of steamers from Quebec have rendered this 
 country thoroughly accessible. Here it is cool, while 
 the rest of the northern hemisphere is baking under 
 the summer sun ; here are spots where the youthful 
 and merry may dance and flirt with those like- 
 minded ; spots where the sportsman can rejoice over 
 the abundance of fish, with bracing air and fatigue 
 for sauce ; and spots where the wearied man of busi- 
 ness may rest. 
 
 The service of the St. Lawrence and Saguenay is 
 performed by a line of boats, which leave Quebec on 
 the arrival of the Richelieu Company's steamers and 
 the night trains from the West. These steamers sup- 
 ply excellent meals. State-rooms can be secured in 
 advance, and, with very little baggage besides great- 
 coats and shawls, a party may make a delightful trip, 
 the boat serving for a floating hotel. 
 
 On leaving Quebec the harbour basin is seen to 
 great advantage. Far oft' on the left Montmorenci, 
 sheeted with white foam, shines out from the green 
 hill-side. The beautiful Island of Orleans is soon 
 
SCENERY. 259 
 
 reached on the left. It is nineteen miles long by 
 five and a half broad. About twelve miles from Que- 
 bec, upon this island, is the village of St. Laurent. 
 Here the expedition under Wolfe landed in 1759. St. 
 Patrick's Hole, nearly opposite, is a sheltered anchor- 
 age for ships, where they used to wait for their last 
 orders. Here was built the great timber shi]), the 
 "Columbus," of 3,700 tons burden and 301 feet in 
 length. She carried four masts, and, when built forty 
 years ago, was thought to be the largest ship afloat. 
 The pretty village of St. Anne upon the north shore 
 is hidden by the intervening island. It is situated 
 upon the St. Anne Eiver, where are rapids and two 
 waterfalls celebrated for their beauty and often visited 
 from Quebec. Besides, it is the Canadian Loretto, and 
 " La Bonne Ste. Anne " has worked as many miracles 
 as any saint in Europe. Pilgrimages are constantly 
 made to this shrine from all parts of the province. 
 
 The north shore of the river is wild and mountain- 
 ous, but the south side is, for more than a hundred 
 miles, a continuous settlement. As the current sets 
 strongly down the south side, the steamers always 
 follow it, and as parish after parish, with church 
 after church at regular intervals, is passed, the effect 
 is peculiarly pleasing. 
 
 Passing the Island of Orleans we soon reach Grosse 
 Isle, thirty miles below Quebec. This is the quaran- 
 tine station, and has a resident establishment for 
 visiting ships and receiving sick emigrants. Dread- 
 ful memories linger around this island of the horrors 
 of the fever year of 1847, when the famine-stricken 
 people of Ireland poured into our country, and ship 
 after ship landed its cargo of poor fevered emigrants 
 upon this small island. Six thousand are said to have 
 been buried in one long grave. Oi^posite Grosse Isle, 
 on the north shore, is Capo Tourmente. The moun- 
 tains which from Quebec were seen looming in the 
 purple distance here first reach the river, and follow 
 down along the north shore to a point twenty miles 
 
260 LOWER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 below the Saguenay. The cape is 1,800 feet high. 
 Opposite, but still far olf from the south shore, the 
 mountains begin to creep nearer, until, at the point 
 where the north mountains retire, the south moun- 
 tains come out upon the river. 
 
 Forty miles below Quebec, on the south side, is the 
 thriving village of St. Thomas, situated on the 
 Riviere du Sud. Eising among the mountains, this 
 stream winds through the rich plain and falls into 
 the St. Lawrence, near the village, over a pretty fall 
 of some 20 feet high. 
 
 Not quite so far dow^n as St. Thomas are Crane 
 Island and Goose Island, famous among lovers of 
 sport. They are very fertile islands, and are con- 
 nected by a long low belt of land, jiroducing abundant 
 crops of hay. 
 
 Sixty-five miles below Quebec is the Traverse, 
 Although the river is thirteen miles wide, the only 
 channel available for large ships is not more than 
 1,400 yards across. The Isle-aux-Coudres (so called 
 by Jacques Cartier from the number of filberts he 
 found growing there) and two large shoals obstruct 
 the navigation. The river bottom is also very 
 irregular, and cross currents run in all directions. 
 Large sailing ships generally wait a particular state 
 of the tide before passing through. 
 
 Isle-aux-Coudres on the north, at the entrance of 
 Bale St. Paul, is a large island under good cultivation. 
 
 La Bale St. Paul lies inside of Isle-aux-Coudres, to 
 the north, between two lofty and precipitous capes. 
 The Ei.i^re du Gouffre runs into it. It is a very 
 picturesque bay, being closed in by an amphitheatre of 
 mountains. Near the bay is a very large deposit of 
 titaniferous iron ore 90 feet thick. Any scientific 
 person who finds out a use for titanium will make 
 his fortune and enrich this locality. 
 
 Between Bay St. Paul and Murray Bay, or Malbaie, 
 lies the seigniory of Les Eboulemens, a name de- 
 noting a peculiarity of the country. It is re- 
 
SCENERY. 261 
 
 markable for being a sort of earthquake centre. 
 Every year shocks are felt, and occasionally they 
 have been very severe. In 1757 the earth cracked in 
 many places. In 1791 the shocks continued for forty 
 successive days. Eut the great .earthquake year was 
 that celebrated in the "Jesuit Eelation" of 1663, 
 when, it is said, that mountains were thrown down and 
 the face of the country changed from Bale St. Paul to 
 the Saguenay. The convulsions extended throughout 
 Canada, and in Quebec and Montreal the people rushed 
 out of their houses in tei'ror, the bells were violently 
 rung, and the forests swayed as with a tempest. They 
 commenced in winter, and the ice was thrown up in 
 great heaps. At Tadousac showers of ashes fell, and at 
 Baie St. Paul a mountain was thrown into the sea and 
 became an island. The river was agitated by great 
 waves and ran of a changed colour. These shocks lasted 
 from February to August. The piety of the inhabitants 
 grev/ more and more earnest. Never, says the narra- 
 tor, were there so many or so sincere confessions, or 
 so many conversions. Many who were engaged in 
 the liquor traffic (which the priests always opposed) 
 saw the error of their ways and repented. The good 
 fathers were sometimes a little imaginative in their 
 missionary reports, but whatever there may be of 
 exaggeration in these accounts, it is evident that some 
 grand convulsion, centering in this spot, took place 
 at that time. 
 
 The geological character of the whole of the north 
 shore is Laurentian. The great mass of the rocks are 
 gneiss, very much twisted and contorted, and contain- 
 ing large quantities of Laurentian limestone. Seams of 
 granite occasionally, as near Tadousac, cut the gneiss. 
 The whole shore abounds in iron sand. At the Moisic, 
 364 miles below Quebec, works were erected for smelt- 
 ing this sand, which makes excellent iron. Magnetic 
 iron ore and titaniferous iron ore are very abundant. 
 
 MuiTay Bay, or Malbaie, is 90 miles from Quebec. 
 It is a deservedly favourite summer resort for Cana- 
 
202 LOWER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 dians. The Mun\ay river, a small stream with fair 
 fishing, falls into this bay. There are good hotels where 
 a stranger may stop. The long line of cottages around 
 the bay are the summer residences of Montreal and 
 Quebec people. It is a jjlace of much interest to 
 geologists, for fossiliferous Silurian I'ocks lie at the 
 base of the Laurentian cliffs. This seigniory was 
 granted, after the conquest, to an officer in one of 
 AVolfe's Highland regiments, and was settled by sol- 
 diers who obtained their discharge in Canada. Here 
 they married Canadian wives, and forgot, not only 
 Scotland, but their religion and language, and the 
 tourist is startled to find many Frasers, McNeils, and 
 Blackburns who cannot speak a word of English. 
 There is an English church service here on Sundays 
 during summer, and for week-day amusements boat- 
 ing and fishing suffice. Several lakes at no great dis- 
 tance afford pleasant excursions. 
 
 Upon the north shore, near the mouth of the Sague- 
 nay, is a small island called Echafaud aux Basques 
 and, in Charlevoix's time, traces of its occupation 
 by whalers were visible. The Basque roads, quite close, 
 were called I'Anse aux Basques in Champlain's time. 
 
 Soon are passed on the south shore the Kamouraska 
 islands, the Pilgrinis, Hare island, and the little islets 
 familiarly styled Brandy Pots. The boat stops at 
 Kamouraska, a favourite watering-place with the 
 French Canadians. The country is productive, and 
 abounds, moreover, in pretty scenery. The Kamou- 
 raska river falls into the St. Lawrence at this point. 
 
 The next stopping place is the wharf, 125 miles 
 from Quebec, where passengers are landed for Eiviere 
 du Loup and Cacouna. Carriages in plenty will be 
 found on the wharf to take the tourist to either place. 
 The wharf is midway between them. Eiviere du Loup 
 is one of the most picturesque villages in the province. 
 Near the village are the pretty falls of the Loup 
 river, close to the railway track. The old portage to 
 the head-waters of the St. John commenced here. 
 
CACOUNA. 263 
 
 Cacouna. — This is the Brighton of Canada, the 
 paradise of fair Quebecers, famous for dancing and 
 flirting, and a dangerous place for an unengaged 
 bachelor, or even for an engaged one, if his fiancee be 
 not there also to monopolise him. The St. Lawrence 
 hotel upon the river-bank is always well kept. 
 For miles along the road between Kiviere du Loup 
 and the east end of this village the white cottages 
 of summer residents are scattered along the high 
 bank. The river is here twenty-five miles wide 
 and quite salt. The ships nearly always pass near 
 the south shore, and there is amusement for idlers in 
 watching them. The river forms here a shallow bay, 
 sheltered by Cacouna island, and the sandy beach at 
 high water is suitable for bathing. To sit upon the 
 edge of the high river bank at Cacouna and watch the 
 sun sink behind the purple mountains of the north 
 shore is a sight worth coming all the distance to see. 
 
 Tadousac— Leaving the Eiviere du Loup wharf, the 
 the steamer crosses over to Tadousac and passes up 
 the Saguenay, returning the next day. So much has 
 been written, and well written, about the Saguenay 
 river, that we could not do better than quote some of 
 the more graphic descriptions. Here is one by Fran- 
 cis Parkman, a description of Tadousac in the time of 
 Champlain : — 
 
 " The port of Tadousac was long the centre of the Cana- 
 dian fur trade. A desolation of barren mountains closes 
 around it, betwixt whose ribs of rugged granite, bristling 
 with sapins, birches and firs, the Saguenay rolls its gloomy 
 waters from the northern wilderness. Centuries of civiliza- 
 tion have not tamed the wildness of the place ; and still, in 
 grim repose, the mountains hold their guard around the 
 waveless lake that glistens in their shacow, and doubles, in 
 its sullen mirror, crag, precipice and forest. 
 
 " Near the brink of the cove or harbour where the vessels 
 lay, and a little below the mouth of a brook which formed 
 one of the outlets of this small lake, stood the remains of the 
 wooden barrack built by Champlain eight years before. 
 
264 LOWER ST. LAWkEXCE. 
 
 Above the brook were the lodges of an Indian camp, stacks 
 of poles covered with birch bark. They belonged to an 
 Algonquin horde called Montagnais, denizens of surrounding 
 wilds, and gatherers of their only harvest — skins of the 
 moose, cariboo, and bear ; fur of the beaver, marten, otter, 
 fox, wild cat, and lynx. Nor was this all, for they were 
 intermediate traders betwixt the French and the shivering 
 bands who roamed the wear}' stretch of stunted forest be- 
 tween the head waters of the Saguenay and Hudson's Bay. 
 Indefatigable canoe-men in their birchen vessels light as 
 egg-shells, they threaded the devious tracks of countless rip- 
 pling streams, shady by-ways of the forest, where the wild 
 duck scarcely finds depth to swim ; then descended to their 
 mart along those scenas of picturesque yet dreary grandeur 
 which steam has made familiar to modern tourists. With 
 slowly moving paddles they glided beneath the clift' whose 
 shaggy brows frown across the zenith, and whose base the 
 deep waves wash with a hoarse and hollow cadence ; and 
 they passed the sepulchral bay of the Trinity, dark as 
 the tide of Acheron, a sanctuary of silence and solitude, 
 where the soul of the wilderness dwells embodied in voice- 
 less rock; depth which, as the fable runs, no line can fathom, 
 and heights at whose dizzy verge the wheeling eagle seems 
 a speck." 
 
 '* The scene," Parkman adds in a note, ''is one of 
 the most remarkable on the continent." Bouchette 
 estimates the height of these clifts at ISOO feet. 
 
 But not only was Tadousac the centre of the fur 
 trade. It was also a centre of the Christian faith. 
 With the trader came the indefatigable missionary, 
 not without fruit also of his labours. Far up, upon the 
 head waters of the Saguenay and St. Maurice, where 
 the fooc of the white man even now seldom treads, 
 the crot s was planted by zealous missionaries in very 
 early times. 
 
 The kSaguenay is, next to the Ottawa, the most 
 important tributary of the St. Lawrence. The largest 
 ship of the line can sail up safely sixty-five miles from 
 its mouth to the rapids at Chicoutimi. It receives 
 eleven large tributaries, which drain many lakes in 
 the interior. Chicoutimi, from which large quantities 
 
THE SAGUENAY. 265 
 
 of lumber are shipped, is half-way botwcen the mouth 
 of the river and Lake St. John. 
 
 The entrance to the river is somewhat intricate, but 
 once past the line of shoal, it is not easy to find 
 anchorage, so great is the depth of the water. In a 
 distance of many miles the dej^th is 145 fathoms, and 
 the breadth varies from three quarters of a mile to 
 two miles. The harbour is on the north-east side of 
 the mouth of the river, and is separated from it bj^ a 
 rocky peninsula, The steamer does not enter the 
 harbour, but stops at L' Arise a FEau, upon the river. 
 The wharf is but ten minutes' walk from the hotel, 
 which is beautifully situated upon a plateau overlook- 
 ing the St. Lawrence. Ever}- comfort will be found 
 here, and for amusements, fishing and boating will 
 suffice. There are no roads and no carriages. Over 
 the wilderness of cliffs no roads are possible. From the 
 bold summits of the surrounding hills views may be 
 had of surpassing beauty and grandeur, scenery which 
 in Europe would be crowded with visitors and cele- 
 brated in story. Not that this rocky harbour has no 
 history or legend clinging to it. The quaint little 
 chapel perched up so high tells of two centuries of 
 devotion, and reminds the traveller of the undying 
 zeal of its founders. Li this harbour Chauvin died, 
 the enterprising Huguenot who first induced Cham- 
 plain to visit Canada. Here Sir David Kirke left his 
 main squadron when he sent up the expedition which 
 took Quebec and plundei*ed the rising colony. 
 
 The Prince of Wales visited the Saguenay during 
 his Canadian tour, and probably the most vivid des- 
 cription of the peculiarities of the river which has yet 
 appeared is in the volume published by Mr. Wood, the 
 Times' Correspondent, who was in his suite. The first 
 day was w^el, but the weather having changed and the 
 8un having come brightly out, the Prince was left to 
 fish in the Marguerite, and a number of his suite, Mr. 
 Wood among them, went further up the river in the 
 sloop of war. ^h-. Wood thus describes the trip :■ — 
 
266 LOWER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 " From St. Marguerite the smart little sloop steamed on to 
 where the wild scenery of the river culminates at a little inlet 
 on the right bank between Capes Trinity and Eternity. Than 
 these two dreadful headlands nothing can be imagined more 
 grand or more impressive. For one brief moment the rugged 
 character of the river is partly softened, and looking back 
 into the deep valley between the capes, the land has an asi^ect 
 of life and wild luxuriance, which, though not rich, at least 
 seems so in comparison with the previous awful barrenness. 
 Cape Trinity, on the other side towards the landward open- 
 ing, is pretty thickly clothed with fir and birch mingled 
 together in a colour contrast which is beautiful enough, es|)e- 
 cially when the rocks show out among them, with their little 
 cascades and waterfalls like strips of silver shining in the sun. 
 But Cape Eternity well becomes its name, and is the very 
 reverse of all this. It seems to frown in gloomy indignation 
 on its brother ca]^ for the weakness it betrays in alloAving 
 anything like life or verdure to shield its wild, uncouth defor- 
 mity of strength. Cape Eternity certainly shows no sign of 
 relaxing in this respect from its savage grandeur. It is one 
 tremendous cliff of limestone, more than 1,500 feet high, and 
 inclined forward nearly 200 feet, brow-beating all beneath it, 
 and seeming as if at any moment it would fall and over- 
 whelm the deep, black stream which flows so cold, so deep and 
 so motionless below. High up on its rough grey brows a few 
 stunted pines show like bristles their scathed white arms, 
 giving an awful weird asj>ect to the mass, blanched here and 
 there by the tempests of ages, stained and discoloured by little 
 waterfalls, in blotchy and decaying spots, but all speaking 
 mutely of a long-gone time when the Saguenay was old, silent 
 and gloomy, before England was known or the name of 
 Christianity understood. Unlike Niagara, and all other of 
 God's great works in nature, one does not wish for silence or 
 solitude here. Companionship becomes doubly necessary in 
 an awful solitude like this, and, though you involuntary talk 
 in subdued tones, still talk you must, if only to relieve your 
 mind of the feeling of loneliness and desolation which seems 
 to weigh on all who venture up this stern, grim watery chasm. 
 
 " The ' Flying Fish ' passsd under this cape slowly, with 
 her yards almost touching the rock, though with more than 
 1,000 feet of water under her. Even the middies and young- 
 sters from the squadron were awed by the scene into a tem- 
 porary quietness. The solemn and almost forbidding silence 
 at last became too much. The party said they had not come 
 out to be overawed, chilled and subdued by rocks, however 
 tremendous, so it was carried nem, con. that dead and stony 
 as they were, they must at least have echoes, and the time 
 
THE SAOUENAY. 26T 
 
 was come to wake them. In a minute after, and Captain Hope 
 liaving goocl-naturedly given his consent, one of the largest 
 68-pounders was cast loose and trained aft to face the cliff. 
 From under its overhanging mass the 'Flying Fish' was 
 moved with care lest any loose crag should be sufficiently 
 disturbed by the concussion to come d n n bodily upon her 
 decks. A safe distance thus gained, the gun was tired. None 
 who were in the 'Flying Fish ' that day will ever forget its 
 sound. For the space of half a minute or so there was a dead 
 silence, and then as if the report and concussion were hurled 
 back upon the decks, the echoes came down crash on crash. 
 It seemed as if the rocks and crags had all sprung into life 
 under the tremendous din, and as if each was tiring 68- 
 pounders full upon us, in sharp crushing volleys, till at last 
 they grew hoarser and hoarser in their anger, and retreated, 
 bellowing slowly, carrying the tale of invaded solitude 
 from hill to hilf, till all the distant mountains seemed to 
 roar and groan at the intrusion. It was the first time these 
 hideous cliffs had ever been made to speak, and when they 
 did break silence they did it to some purpose. 
 
 "A few minutes further on, the 'Flying Fish ' passed under 
 Statue Point, where, at about 1,000 fe'^t above the water, a 
 liuge rough Gothic arch gives entrance to a cave in which, as 
 yet, the foot of man has never trodden. Before the entrance 
 to this black aperture a granitic rock, like the statue of some 
 dead Titan, once stood. A few years ago during the winter, 
 it gave way, and the monstrous figure came crushing down 
 through the ice of the Saguenay, and left bare to view the 
 entrance to the cavern it had guarded i)erhaps for ages. 
 Beyond this, again, was th3 Tableau Rock, a sheet of dark- 
 coloured limestone, some 600 feet high by 300 feet wide, as 
 straight and almost as smooth as a mirror." 
 
 This is a very line description. All who love the 
 Saguenay will enjoy it, for the Saguenay has not only 
 many admirers, but many true lovers who spend their 
 summer holidays upon its waters. There is something- 
 in the scenery of the river which gives tone and 
 vigour to the mind, something sanative to an over- 
 wrought brain, as the climate is bracing to the body. 
 Before these solemn precipice^, vanity and ambition 
 seem ridiculous, and the calm grandeur of these ever- 
 lasting hills mocks the pettiness of our short-lived 
 and fussy cares. * visit to the Saguenay is in truth 
 a *' medicine to t'e ^ ind diseased." 
 
268 LOWER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 Ha Ha Bay, is tlio usual teriuination to the Sague- 
 nay trip. Tlie bay is about seven miles wide and 
 nine miles lonij^, and attbrds excellent anchorage 
 for vessels of any size. The main channel of the 
 Saguenay passes u]) to the right between two cliflfe 
 called East and West Capes, but here a broad bay 
 spreads out, and houses and 2>eople and green fields 
 once more aj)pear. 
 
 Twenty miles farther up is Chicoutimi, an interest- 
 ing village situated at the junction of the Chicoutimi 
 river with the Saguenay. It is an important place 
 for lumber export. The chapel is one of the old 
 Jesuit buildings, for thay had a mission here very 
 early. The Saguenay is navigable for a few miles 
 furthei* up before it is broken by rapids. The Chicou- 
 timi river runs a short l)ut violent course often miles 
 from lake Kenogami, broken by almost continuous 
 rapids and falls. The falls near the village are fifty 
 feet high. 
 
 TO THE BAY CHALEUR. 
 
 Those who desire to follow the St. Lawrence to the 
 Gulf must take passage at Quebec on one of the Que- 
 bec and Gulf Port steamers. 
 
 After passing the mouth of the Saguenay, the first 
 point of interest is the island of Bic. At this point 
 outward-bound vessels leave their pilots, who await 
 inward vessels here. The special dangers of the river 
 are supposed to be over, and captains can navigate 
 from this point by the aid of charts alone. This 
 is the last anchorage in the river, and aflbrds excel- 
 lent shelter in bad weather. The island is long and 
 low and not inviting. Here, in December 1861, the 
 Ounard steamer *' Persia," landed a regiment of 
 Guards during the crisis of the Trent affair. Many 
 ships are here at all times during the summer, either 
 outward bound waiting for westerly, or inward bound, 
 waiting for easterly breezes. The high mountain of 
 
BAY CHALEUR. 26^ 
 
 Bic is a good coast mark for a ship sailing up thi 
 river. Bic is 153 miles from Quebec. 
 
 Soon after passing Bic the long pier of Rimouski 
 is seen. Here the ocean steamers of the Allan Line 
 land or receive the incoming or outgoing mails. Pas- 
 sengers may also leave or join the steamer here. A 
 tender is always in readiness for the purpose. The 
 town of Rimouski is two miles from the wharf. 
 It is the most important town in the province east of 
 Quebec. The Intercolonial Railway passes through 
 it. Passengers from the Maritime Provinces usually 
 land or embark at this point. 
 
 The Paps of Matane come next in sight, two remark- 
 able mountains, very useful landmarks for seamen. 
 Soon Metis is passed, now a favourite summer resort for 
 people who dislike warm weather. Matane is next 
 passed where the Matane river falls into the St. Law- 
 rence. This rive:* rises in the rear of the Paps of 
 Matane, and siiould, in all reason, flow south, but, tak- 
 ing a sudden turn, it unexpectedly breaks through 
 the mountains at this point. The settlement on its 
 banks is hidden by the hills ; it is a considerable fish- 
 ing village. 
 
 The south bank of the river is here very bold and 
 grand. The mountains have receded from the north 
 shore so that all the scenery is on this bank. The 
 Notre Dame mountains divide the streams which 
 flow into the Bay Chaleur from the St. Lawrence 
 waters, but there is very little of a water-shed upon 
 this side. 
 
 At Cape Chatte, called after M. de Chates, command- 
 ant at Dieppe, who was Champlain's first patron, and 
 Cape St. Anne, which are next passed, the river proper 
 may be said to cease. The distance from Cape Chatte 
 to Point des Monts on the north shore is twenty-eight 
 miles. The steamer now enters the Gulf of St. Law- 
 rence, and the left-hand shore trends rapidly tc the 
 north. Little fishing stations only are seen clinging 
 to the base of the steep shores. In a few hours Cape 
 
270 LOWER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 Honier is passed, and if the weather is clear the ishind 
 of Anticosti may bo seen in the distance. 
 
 Cape (rasp($ is next passed, and, between high and 
 bold clifts, and through a narrow inlet, the steamer 
 passes into the beautiful land-locked Bay of Gaspd. 
 
 Gaspe is a pleasant summer residence. The bay 
 is sixteen miles long and five miles broad, sheltero<l 
 from all winds, and with excellent anchorage. The 
 visitor who delights in boating or tishing will have 
 full emj)loyment, and the artist in pursuit of fine 
 scenery will find it to his heart's content. The land 
 slopes gently down around the bay, and further in- 
 land, wooded mountains, full of streams abounding 
 in fish, tempt the enterprising tourist. GaspcS is an 
 important fishing town, and here is the chief establish- 
 ment of the large firm of Le Boutillier Brothers. 
 
 At the further end of Gaspd Bay the shoi'es ap- 
 proach, and again widening, form what is called 
 ^aspd Basin, a magnificent sheet of water, landlocked, 
 in which three hundred large vessels might ride out 
 the fiercest storm with ease. 
 
 Leaving Gaspe, the boat arrives, after two or three 
 hours, at Perc^, a picturesque place situated on the 
 southern shore of Malbaie. It derives ics name from a 
 Tery remarkable rock standing isolated though in di- 
 rect line with Barry Point. The rock is pierced by an 
 arch, through which boats may sail, and its inaccessible 
 summit is thronged by sea birds. It is 1500 feet long, 
 SOO feet wide, and rises to a height of 290 feet. Be- 
 hind the village rise the clifl:s called Les Murailks^ 
 suggesting to the imagination a ruined wall of some 
 fortress of Titans. They attain a height of 600 feet, 
 and seem to threaten the village with an impending 
 fall. The island of Bonaventui^e, precipitous upon 
 •one side with lofty cliffs, and sloping gently down 
 upon the other in fertile fields, adds to the interest of 
 the scene. 
 
 Seventy miles from Perc^, in the Baye des Cha- 
 leui's, is Paspebiac, an important fishing town and 
 
LABUAUOR COAST. 271 
 
 tho hoa(l(iu:irter8 of the hirgo linn of Robin. This 
 is a tirm of Jersey men. It was entablished here 
 in 1767. They have many small stations loi* curing 
 fish, and their vessels sail to all the ports of the 
 Mediterranean and Spanish Main. The C(kI of the Bay 
 Chaleui", though smaller than the Newfoundland cod, 
 are moi'e highly esteemed, being whiter in colour and 
 probably more carefully cured. From the days of the 
 discovery of the country, before the settlement of 
 Quebec, the bay has been crowded with fishermen as 
 it is to this day. In the rivers, saln^on are abundant 
 and of large size. 
 
 The next stopping point is Dalhousie in New 
 Biunswick. The I'iver Restigouche, which falls in at 
 the head of the bay, marks the boundary of Quebec 
 upon that side, (see pp. 82-86.) 
 
 THE LABRADOR COAST. 
 
 In the long summer days the steamers for England 
 take the route through the Straits of Belle Isle. This 
 is not only the shorter course, but it is the pleasanter 
 one for ])assengers ; as nearlj^ one-thii'd of the dis- 
 tance to England is in comparatively smooth water, 
 and bad sailors get their sea-legs by degrees. 
 
 This coast was well known in the ver}- eailiest 
 times. The Norseman knew it in A.D. 1000, under 
 the name Helluland. It was re-discovered by Gaspar 
 Cortereal in A.D. 1500. He would seem to have 
 named it, but the meaning of the name Labrador does 
 not clearly appear. It is not, as in Cape Breton " Le 
 Bras-d'Oi",'' and the tradition on the coast that it is 
 a sui'vival of the name of an early Basque whaler 
 seems to be without foundation. Far-fetched also is 
 the supposition that Cortereal named it Laborador 
 because of some spots which appeared fit for cultiva- 
 tion. The most probable theory offered is, that, 
 having stolen fifty of the natives as slaves, he called 
 it Laborador — the labourer's or slave coast. In the 
 
272 LABRADOR COAST. 
 
 oldest maps it is called " Labor ador or Terra Corter- 
 ealisy And here it may be observed that, fj-om 
 Labrador to La Plata, it was as man-stealers that 
 Europeans made their debut upon this continent. It is 
 also worthy of notice that more people were burned 
 alive in Europe for witchcraft and theological eccen- 
 tricities in time of peace than the Red Indians ever 
 burned as enemies in time of war ; and also that the 
 northern Indians invariably respected their female 
 captives, who, if they survived the heat of battle, had 
 nothing else to dread. 
 
 The Esquimaux tribes, who now inhabit the interior 
 of this region, dwelt, at the period of the Norse voy- 
 ages, much farther to the southward and were gradu- 
 ally driven north by the irruptions of the Algonquin 
 tribes who arrived later on the coast. These Esqui- 
 maux are by no means to be despised ; for, according 
 to Mr. Fiske ('' Excursions of an Evolutionist") they 
 ai'e the sole surviving representatives of the Cave- 
 men of Europe of Pleistocene ages, who, during the 
 glacial period, wintered in the still fashionable regions 
 of Pau and Mentone, in company with their pet 
 animals the cave-bear, the cave-lion, the mammoth, 
 and the woolly rhinoceros. Before an antiquity like 
 that even the Massimi must yield precedence, and 
 the Capets and Howards be considered mushroom 
 races. If the features of this ancient people cannot 
 be called pleasing, they have, in the smallness of 
 their hands and feet and their love for hunting and 
 fishing, well recognized marks of distinguished de- 
 scent. 
 
 Botany.— The character of the climate may be learned 
 from the following sketch of the Botany of the coast 
 contributed by Mr. A. T. Drummond : — 
 
 '' On the northern coast of the Gulf of St. Lawrence 
 there is an interesting intermingling of arctic and 
 sub-arctic with northern temperate plants. Opposite 
 Belle Isle, the first land which the traveller meets on 
 
BOTANY. 273 
 
 his journey from Europe to Canada by the northern 
 route, the trees are limited to a very few species, 
 probably only the poplars (Fopuhis fremu hides and P. 
 balsamifera) , the birch {Beiula papyraced), the spi-uces 
 {Abies nigra, A. alba and A. balsamea), and the larch 
 iLarix Americana). There are, however, hej*e, both 
 in Labrador and in Newfoundland, many interesting 
 little ai'ctic plants, amongst others, — Draba incana, 
 Lychnis alpina, Cochlearia tridactylites, Silene acauJis, 
 Dryas octopetala, D. integrifolia, Bubus arcticus, Saxi- 
 fraga nivalis, S. stellaris, Sedum Bhodiola, Solidago 
 virgaurea, var. alpina, Arctostaphylos alpina, Diapensia 
 Lapponica, Fleurogyne rot at a, Salix alpestris, S. reticu- 
 lata and S. phyllicifolia. A branch of the cold 
 Labi'ador current flows south through the Straits of 
 Belle Isle, and thence along the north shore towards 
 and up the estuary of the St. Lawrence, carrying 
 with it, no doubt, with other drift, the seeds of both 
 arctic and sub-arctic species. On Anticosti and the 
 Mingan Islands, against whose shores this branch 
 current strikes, there are, in addition to the above 
 species, others, as Thalictrum alpimim, Erysimum lan- 
 ceolatum, Vesicaria arctica, Viola palustris, Saxifraga 
 Groenlandica, Erigeron alpinum and Betula nana. Along 
 with these arctic species are, everywhere, numerous 
 little sub-arctic forms. 
 
 Those interested in European botany will be de- 
 lighted to find in Newfoundland and along the coast 
 here a considerable proportion of identical Eui^opean 
 species, not merely among the high boreal forms, but 
 even among the northern temperate species, recalling 
 the probably changed physical features of these con- 
 tinents which in post-tertiary times gave opportunity 
 for this intermingling of European with American 
 vegetation. 
 
 A most interesting fact is the range of some of 
 
 these little arctic and sub-arctic plants up the broad 
 
 estuary of the St. Lawrence, upon both sides, towards 
 
 Quebec. At Gasp^, the ''Land's End " on the south 
 
 18 
 
274 LABRADOR COAST. 
 
 shore, and thence up the river on that side, the climate 
 as shown by the flora, is milder, though Dryas Drum- 
 mondil, SoUdago thrysoidea, Yaccinium Vitis-ldcca and 
 Asplenium viride occur at GaspcS Basin, and Bubus 
 Chamcvmorus, Ernvetnun nigrum^ Gentiana acuta, and 
 Fleurogyne rotata extend as far as Eiviere du Loup. 
 Even on the Island of Orleans opposite Quebec are 
 found Astragulus alpinus, A. secunduSj Vaccinium uligin- 
 osum, V. Vitis-Ida^a, and Euphrasia officinalis. On 
 the north shore of the river the sub-arctic flora is 
 more pronounced, and the northern temperate species 
 are somewhat fewer in number. The water of the 
 river is found there to be colder, with a corresponding 
 effect on the temperature of the immediate coast. An 
 explanation of these features is not difficult. Arctic 
 plants delight in a low, equable temperature and a 
 moist atmosphere, and whenever these conditions 
 exist, whether on mountain summits or riortherly 
 ocean coasts, there these little plants find a congenial 
 home. Thus we find sub-arctic plants on the jutting 
 headlands of Lake Superior. The immediate coasts 
 of the Lower St. Lawrence also amply supply these 
 conditions. They occupy a i-ather high latitude, and 
 generally rise to considerable elevations, forming ex- 
 tensive rocky blufts and, in frequent cases, mountain 
 ranges. The broad and deep expanse of water front- 
 ing them necessarily lowers and equalizes the tem- 
 perature, while the constant evaporation over its vast 
 surface gives moisture to the air. The temperature 
 is still further lowered by the cold Labrador current 
 which, chilled by recent contact with floating ice and 
 bergs, is, by the peculiar position of the Island of 
 Anticosti, thrown against the north shore of the river, 
 along which it continues until it meeis, before reaching 
 Quebec, the warmer waters from the great lakes 
 above. Here the current is reversed and the outflow 
 of the united and warmer waters to the Gulf takes 
 place towards the south side of the river. 
 That latitude has, in the Dominion, but a small 
 
HISTORY AND PHYSICAL ASPECT. 275 
 
 relation to climate is strikingly exemplified in the 
 valley of the Lower St. Lawrence. Anticosti whose 
 flora indicates a sub-arctic climate and which is only 
 used for Ashing and lighthouse stations, is in the same 
 latitude as Winnipeg and Vancouver Island, and lies 
 even south of a considei-able portion of the Canadian 
 Pacific Railway west of Winnipeg, and of most of the 
 finest agricultural territory of Manitoba and the 
 North-west. In fact, latitude 49°, which forms the 
 southern boundary of the Dominion from the Lake of 
 the Woods westward to the Pacific Ocean, passes 
 through the northei-n part of the Gasp^ Peninsula and 
 not far from Heath Point in Anticosti." — A. T. D, 
 
 History and Physical Aspect.— On the eastern coast 
 of Labrador Nature usually wears her sternest as- 
 pect. Cold, desolate cliffs, deep fiords, broad bays 
 crowded with rocky islets ; a coast ground by ice, 
 and beaten by the waves — destitute of verdure and 
 defiant of the utmost fury of the ocean. On the west- 
 ern coast, about Mingan ar^d Seven Islands, these 
 sterner features are relaxed, the trees come down to 
 the coast line, and the gardens at the fishing posts 
 produce the hardier kinds of vegetables. All along 
 from the Saguenay to Belle-Isle are salmon streams 
 without number, the myriad inlets are the haunts of 
 innumerable aquatic birds, and the cold waters teem 
 with fish in inconceivable numbers. Even in early 
 spring, while the field-ice is packed along the coast, 
 the sealers reap an abundant harvest. From these 
 forbidding shores greater wealth has been carried 
 away than from the mines of Potosi ; for there have 
 resorted, during 400 years, fishermen from every sea- 
 port on the west of Europe. 
 
 It has been stated, on what authority does not 
 appear, that Cabot, on his first voj^age, found a 
 Basque vessel on the coast of !N^ewfoundland. It 
 is, however, certain that, in A.D. 1508, only eleven 
 years after Columbus discovered America, the Breton 
 
276 LABRADOR COAST. 
 
 fishermen had an important establishment upon the 
 the coast called Brest. This port is laid down on 
 the earliest maps, and Jacques Cartier, in 1535, 
 found, on the coast of Newfoundland, a Rochelle 
 vessel looking for it. The tradition of the coast is 
 wrong in placing this post at Bradore. It was on Old 
 Fort Bay in Esquimaux Bay, called "Yieux Fort," 
 by the French 200 years ago. Roberts, in his Diction- 
 ary of Commerce, published in A. D. 1600, describes 
 it as an important place, and speaks of the Governor 
 and officers of the town. The fort was of stone and 
 mounted with cannon, but it is difficult to conceive 
 that the population, which is stated to be 1000, could 
 have been resident. It was probably a favourite ren- 
 dezvous in the fishing season. The Esquimaux were 
 very hostile at that time and the fishermen could not 
 scatter their posts. The place disappeared from the 
 later French maps excepting under the name Vieux 
 Fort. In those early days these waters were cele- 
 brated in Europe as a w^haling ground. In Robert 
 Dudley's BeJlarcano del 3Iare, published in Florence 
 in 1647, he calls the water shut in by Meccatina 
 and Belle Isle " la Gran' Baia dove se pescono le 
 Balene.^' The French followed the cod and seal fish- 
 eries. The Basques were the whalers : and French and 
 Spanish Basques woi-ked in harmony together. Har- 
 bours for shelter there are in abundance, and fish 
 enough there still are to afford, in A.D. 1880, a pro- 
 duct to the value of $1,401,288. 
 
 The earliest enterprise of the Canadian French was in 
 this direction. From Tadousac to Cape Cormorant was 
 a Royal Domaine Avorked by the ^'fermiers du Hoi," to 
 whom the king let it. From there to Bradore extended 
 a grant made in 1661 (nine years before the date of 
 the Hudson's Bay charter) to the Sieur Bissot de la 
 Riviere. The islands opposite, which follow each other 
 in close succession for the same distance along the 
 coast, were granted in 1678 to Joliet and Lalande, and 
 Joliet, as a reward for having discovered the Missis- 
 
BAYS AND ISLANDS. 277 
 
 sippi, received a grant of the island of Anticosti. 
 There he resided in 1680 with his young wife Claire 
 Bissot, and four young children ; but the English 
 plundered and broke up hi.< posts, and like LaSalle 
 he died a ruined man. The grave of LaSalle is 
 somewhere near the mouth of the Mississippi. Joliet 
 was buried on an island at the mouth of the St. Law- 
 rence opposite Meecatina. 
 
 Pointe des Monts.— The light-house upon a low spit 
 of land is supposed to mark the ^: ranee of the river. 
 The coast is low and monotonous. Dangerous shoals 
 skirt the north shore from Tadousac, and the iron sand 
 which is abundant on the coast is said to affect the com- 
 passes of ships approaching it. From hence the coast 
 trends abruptly to the North. The next important 
 point is 
 
 Egg Island, fomed as the scene of the wreck of Admi- 
 ral Walker's fleet in 1711 ; see pp. 90, 120, 141. The ex- 
 pedition consisted of 68 vessels, and carried 6463 sol- 
 diers, many of them veterans of Marlborough's wars: 
 Nearly one thousand men w^ere drowned. Eight trans- 
 ports were lost, and the remaining vessels were shat- 
 tered by the storm. 
 
 The Bay of Seven Islands. — The scene of one of 
 Whittier's prettiest and most touching ballads : 
 
 " Green-turfed, flower-sown, the last outpost 
 Of summer upon the dreary coast, 
 With its gardens small and spare, 
 Sad in the frosty air." 
 
 A beautiful land-locked bay, where the largest navies 
 could ride in safety, and easily accessible in all winds. 
 The mountains in the distance are 1,000 to 1,300 feet 
 high. The bay runs six miles into the land. The seven 
 islands are high and steep. Grro?+ -.'id Little Basque 
 islands are 500 feet high. It is a place of wild and 
 picturesque beauty. Near here is the Moisic river, 
 
278 LABRADOR COAST. 
 
 celebrated for its iron deposits and for its salmon fish- 
 ing. From hence to the Natashquan the coast is a 
 succession of cliffs of moderate height, uniform and 
 monotonous. 
 
 Mingan, is an important point. The Mingan islands 
 help to form one of the best harbours on the coast. 
 This was the headquarters of Bissot, to whom the 
 seigniory was granted in IGGl, and the Hudson's Bay 
 Company have a post here which they rent from his 
 successors. At Esquimaux Point is a large settlement 
 of 1775 inhabitants, who have a fine church and do 
 a good business in the fisheries. 
 
 Natashquan is the next harbour of importance. The 
 river is the largest on the coast, and celebrated for 
 salmon. There are also good harbours at Kegashka 
 and Coacoachou, farther east. From thence to Mecca- 
 tina is an unsheltered and formidable coast. At Cape 
 Whittle the coast turns northward towards Ficiie Isle. 
 
 Great Meccatina.— A bold headland and a notable 
 landmark on the coast. Near it (perhaps on Little 
 Meccatina Island) is the scene of a touching story, 
 related by Th^vet of the lady Margaret, niece of the 
 stem Huguenot Eoberval. He abandoned her and her 
 duenna on one of these islands when her love became 
 evident. Her lover jumped overboard and swam 
 to the island to share her fate. This was in 1542. The 
 duenna died and the lover died, and after two years 
 of solitary struggle the lady was rescued by a passing 
 vessel and carried to France. Queen Margaret of 
 Navarre refers to the same story in one of her tales 
 but she has got it wrong. Th^vet learned the parti- 
 culars from the lips of the lady Margaret herself* 
 From this point to 
 
 Bradore Bay, the coast makes an inward sweep. 
 Notable among the bays and harbours which abound 
 
SALMON FISHERIES. 2^9 
 
 in this curving coast is Old Fort Bay where, as we 
 have seen, was the hai'bour of Brest. Bradore Bav was 
 an old haunt of the Spanish Basques. They made 
 a settlement there, but the Esquimaux broke it 
 up. Hence the name Baye des Espagnols given to 
 it by the French in early days. It was the boundary 
 of Bissot's grant. Jacques Cartier called the bay " Les 
 Islettes," and to its sheltered waters, studded with 
 countless islands, every kind of fish oi' fowl which 
 frequents the northern waters loves to resort. The 
 bold cape which bounds the bay on the north is Grand 
 Point, and close to it is Anse aux Blancs Sablons — 
 the boundary of Canada on the East. 
 
 The Salmon Fisheries of the so-called King's Posts 
 formed, earlv in the centurv, no inconsiderable item in 
 the business of the Hudson's Bay Company. The 
 numerous rivers and streams which empty their 
 waters into the Atlantic ocean and Gulf of St. Law- 
 rence all the w^ay from Hudson Straits to the Saguenay 
 formerly abounded with these fish, but the barrier- 
 nets and weirs of pale-faces and the spears of Indians 
 had well nigh exterminated the species. In 1852 the 
 Canadian government assumed possession of the 
 salmon fisheries, passed protective legislation through 
 Parliament, and organized an effective system of 
 guardianship — and with the best results, as salmon 
 have again become fairly abundant in m )Bt of 
 these waters. Recent litigation has, however, 
 partially reversed this action of the legislature and 
 has confirmed the title in a salmon fishery to the 
 riparian proprietor. 
 
 Owing to climatic causes the salmon season in 
 Quebec is of short duration, scarcely extending over 
 more than twenty to thirty days in all, ten or twelve 
 of which occur in June and the rest in July. By 
 common consent the feast of SS. Peter and Paul is 
 marked as a red-letter day in the Calendars of both 
 anglers and net-fishers and rarely does their patron 
 
280 LABRADOR COAST. 
 
 saint fail them. Diirinij; the two or three daj's when 
 the season is at its height the take is often pheno- 
 menal, and the weight even of the angler's bag is 
 determined more bv the streni»:th of his tackle and 
 his own j)hysieal endurance rather than by his 
 angling skill. Gill-nets with large meshes (measure- 
 ing fi'om 12 to 16 inches round the square) are the 
 fixed engines commonly used in Canada. They are 
 contined to tidal waters, must not obstruct more than 
 two-thirds of the main channel, and must be lifted for 
 24 hours in eveiy week. 
 
 Almost no grilse are taken in these nets, but the 
 "run " of grilse does not seem to be neaily so large 
 here as in Britain and in Norway. 
 
 The Canadian salmon is said to be conspecilic with 
 his European brother — the true Salmo salar of L inn^, 
 but no necessity is laid upon him to make long 
 migrations by sea towards the North pole. The con- 
 ditions of ample shelter and abundance of food are 
 obtainable by him within easy distance of his native 
 river. In spring time his sea food seems to consist 
 of caplin, smelts, sand-launce, and other small fish of 
 the kinds which roam about in shoals. He is a greedy, 
 predaceous feeder while in the salt-water and thus 
 prepares for his prolonged fast when in the livers. 
 In fresh-water his intestines are found to be empty 
 and his powerful stomach in a state of collapse. 
 
 A few weeks later than the salmon the migratory 
 trout begins to come up from the sea and to make his 
 appearance along the coast and in the estuaries of 
 the rivers. Structurally he is not unlike his brother 
 the river trout, called Salmo fonthialis^ and notwith- 
 standing his roving habits they live in harmony in 
 the same pools, spawn together on the same beds, feed 
 together on smelts and parrs and even on the young 
 fry of their own species. A fresh run sea trout aifords 
 excellent sport to the angler, and food scarcely less 
 toothsome than the lordly salmon. 
 
 D. A. P. W. 
 
THE PKOVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 The political existence of Ontario commenced in 
 1791, when, under the name of Upper Canada, it was 
 set off from the ohi Province of Quebec to be a home, 
 under Englissh hiws, for exiled loyalists of the revolted 
 colonies. A sketch is given at p. 103 of this interest- 
 ing episode of history. The French settlements ex- 
 tended only as far up the I'iver as Coteau du Lac, the 
 boundary of the present Province of Quebec. All else 
 was unbroken forest down to the water's edge ; save 
 posts at Fort Frontenac (now Kingston), at Niagara, 
 and at Detroit. Since the power of the Ilurons had 
 been broken, the very Indian tribes had emigrated ; 
 and into the solitude of that unbroken forest wilder- 
 ness, scarcely one hundred years ago, went the 
 courageous pioneers who so speedily suMued it by 
 their labour, organized it by their intelligence and 
 civilized it by theii' moral worth. 
 
 The first meeting of the legislature was at Newark 
 — now the quiet town of Niagara — not at the Falls, 
 but at the junction of the River and Lake Ontario. 
 There, in 1792, Lieut. Governor Simcoe met the 
 members of the Legislative Council, three in number ; 
 and of the Assembly, live in number. These repre- 
 sented the twelve thousand souls who formed the total 
 poj»ulation of the Province. Ten thousand of these 
 were refugee loyalists, and Governor Simcoe had been 
 colonel of the Queen's Rangers in the Revolutionary 
 War. They were no ordinary farmers and merchants, 
 though they were clad in plain homespun. They had 
 been men of importance in the Colonies before the 
 revolt and accustomed to the conduct of affairs. They 
 
282 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 laid the basin of the constitution of Ontario and 
 organized it under English monarchical foj'ni8 — free, 
 with the reality of freedom. 
 
 Newark was not long the seat of government, for, 
 when the hounchiry was dechired to be the Niagai'a 
 River and the British garrison was withdrawn from 
 Fort Niagara on the southern bank, it was clearly im- 
 possible f(>r the legislature to meet ahnost under the 
 guns of a United States fort. Then York was selected. 
 There had been been an old French post there at the 
 mouth of the Humber, and near its site Governor 
 Simcoe pitched his tent before a single house had been 
 built. So humble was the origin of the beautiful city 
 of Toronto, not yet one hundi'cd years old. 
 
 But the trials of the lovalists were not even then 
 over. In 1812, war broke out between England and 
 the United States. Jetlerson represented the general 
 opinion when he wrote: "The acquisition of Canada 
 this year will be a mere matter of marching." To an 
 anarch like Jefferson, it was utterlv inconceivable 
 that any people should object to what he called 
 *' freedom." In the interim there had been a large 
 Scotch immigration which had not weakened the 
 loyalist element, ioY '' the Scotch," writes Jefferson, 
 "are the enemies of freedom in every country." At 
 that time the population of the United States was 
 7,239,881. The population of the two Canadas was 
 412,000: only 77,000 of which number were in Upper 
 Canada. To Jefferson, as now to some of our political 
 prophets, the matter was a simple sum in arithmetic. 
 
 This is not the place to recount the events of the 
 war. Every man in Upper Canada became a militia- 
 man. The British officers who commanded were men 
 formed under the new school of warfare, and although 
 England, then single handed against the world, could 
 afford but a limited assistance, the result was, that 
 when peace was declared, not only were the British 
 and Canadians in possession of all their present terri- 
 tory, but they occupied a large portion of Maine on the 
 
AREA. 283 
 
 east and the whole of the Micliii^an territory on the 
 west. The condiu-t of the militia was thus descriheii 
 in a private pn'ris, made in 1825 at the request of 
 the I)uke of Wellington, and which was not y)uhlished 
 until 18(j2 : — " The Canadian militia uniformly be- 
 *' haved well. The only part izans oi* well-wishers to the 
 *' Americans were a few^ discontente^l emigi-ants from 
 " England, who -were dissatisfied without any reason 
 " and who. pi'obably, as no form of government could 
 '' have pleased them, w^ould have been equally trouble- 
 '' some under that of the United States. There were 
 " fortunately very few settlers of this description. 
 '' The great majority of the Upi)er Canadians were 
 " happy, loyal, and contented." JSo, in very truth, they 
 are at this ])resent day. 
 
 These things, and such as these, are not alluded to 
 save to explain the ])i'esent political character of the 
 Canadian people, which cannot be understood until 
 they are taken into account. They are not related in 
 the English histories, if any induction may be drawn 
 from the mass of current metropolitan literature on 
 Canadian subjects. To Canadians they are facts of com- 
 mon knowledge, and hence the wonder with which they 
 regard the red-hot annexationists who sometimes 
 arrive fj'om the British Isles. The remaining history 
 of Ontai'io is one of j^eaceful progress and develop- 
 ment — of clearing forests and building cities — of sow- 
 ing and reaping farm-lands, until the present broad, 
 fertile and prosperous province was w^on from the 
 wilderness to civilization. 
 
 Area.— The Province of Ontario is stated officially 
 in the census to extend over an area of 101,733 square 
 miles. Its boundaries on the north and west are stilly 
 however, in dispute; and it will rest with the Privy 
 Council to decide the question finally. If the award of 
 the boundary arbitrators be sustained, 88,000 square 
 miles will be added to the Province. The physical 
 peculiarities of Ontario may be readily apprehended 
 
284 PROVINCE OV ONTAIUO. 
 
 by (UvMini; it into tlnvo sections: — Fir>t, Xoi'lherii 
 Ontario — the Lamenlian coimli'V. north of a lino 
 almost <lue wo^t tVoni the Thoiisaiwl Islands to Matche- 
 dash Bay in (ieor^ian Bay. This is a (.'(umtry of 
 valuable f(M'est land, aboimdin*^- in minerals, thiekl}'' 
 tttiidded with lakes, and intei'seeted l)y stream^. It is 
 rttill the resort of sportsmen and the source of wealth 
 to lumbermen, but murh excellent land is being 
 opened up in the valle3^s as the country is (doared. 
 The secon<l, whicli ma}' be called Central Ontario, 
 extends southward of this line to a remarkable rise or 
 escarpment over whirh the St. Lawrence I'iver falU 
 at the celebrated cataiact of Niagara, and which 
 stretches in a north-western direction to Owen Sound 
 on Georgian Bay. This is a veiy fertile farming 
 country, level or slightly rolling; L(nver Silurian in 
 geological formation, consisting of Trenton, Utica, 
 Hudson River, Medina, Clinton and Niagara beds in 
 regular succession from the North. The third, which 
 may be called South-western Ontario, consists of a 
 rich and level plain sloping down from the summit 
 of tlie escarpment to the waters of Lakes Huron and 
 Erie and underlaid by Upper Silurian rocks in ascend- 
 ing geological order southw^ards to the limits of the 
 province. 
 
 Climate.—The climate is modified by the vicinity of 
 the lakes. Moreover, as the province extends south- 
 wards to latitude 42^ that portion in the extreme 
 south-west enjoys a very mild winter compared with 
 Quebec or Wisconsin. The winters are not so dry or 
 unbroken as in Eastern Canada, and, for that reason, 
 are not so pleasant for outdoor amusements. 
 
 Resources.— The Laurentian country, as previously 
 Btated, abounds in lumber and minerals. On the north 
 shore of Lake Superior copper is abundant, and the 
 mines at Silver Islet in a short time yielded silver 
 ore to an enormous amount. It is, however, as an 
 
AORICI'LTIRAL RESOURCES. 285 
 
 agricultural tountry that Ontario is ])re-orninont in 
 the J)oinini()!i jukI, if it cannot comjK'to in wheat 
 growing with tlie virgin soil of Maniloha, the harley 
 of Ontario is unequalled on the continent. Neai'ly the 
 entii'e export of this ])ro<luct is from this one pro- 
 vince, and it amounted last year to 86,150,078. All 
 croj)s possihlc in the temj)erate zone can be grown in 
 Ontario, and, it the too-enthusiastic native sometimes 
 talks about the *' semi-tro])ical " regions of his ])i-o- 
 vince, he is almost justitied ; for the grape vines in 
 those districts never suffer from IVost, and many of 
 the ]»each orchards C(nitain 3,000 to 8,000 trees. 
 Sweet jK)tatoes in that favoui'cd cf)i'ner grow^ as well 
 as in the Southern States, and the Chinese sugar cane 
 grows luxuriantly. In 1882 thei'e were 5,002,067 
 acres of land r.nder grain crops, oi* 48 per cent, of all 
 the cleared land of the province. The average yield 
 in that year of fall wheat was 26 bushels, of barley 28 
 bushels, and of oats 36 bushels to the acre. 
 
 Many of the districts of the province are admirably 
 suited foi* stock raisinii". Thev are, to borrow the words 
 of the Hon. David Wells, '' the natural habitat on the 
 continent of the combing wool sheep." The wool 
 clip of 1882 was 5,746,182 lbs. The business of cattle 
 ]'aising i'or export has only recently sprung up and is 
 being developed rapidly. These circumstances mark 
 Ontario out as the premier agricultural province of 
 the Dominion — not in wheat as compared with Mani- 
 toba — but in variety and range of vegetable products. 
 
 The Provincial Government deserves great credit 
 for the liberal and practical way in which it is assist- 
 ing to develope the natural resources of the province. 
 The Agricultural College and Model Farm at Guelph 
 should be visited by all interested in such subjects. 
 The, course extends over two years, covering out-door 
 and in-door work, and embracing every detail of 
 practical personal management of the farm and the 
 live stock upon it, as well as the strictly scientific 
 subjects, such as Botany and Agricultural Chemistry. 
 
286 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 In 1882, upon this farm, ci'ops were produced of 43 
 bushels of fall wheat, GO bushels of oats, 205 bushels 
 of potatoes and 800 bushels of carrots to the acre. 
 An experimental farm is attached to the institution 
 for the purpose of making comparative tests of 
 different species of food plants. The Government, in 
 establishing and supporting this admirable institution 
 and in publishing such documents as the Annual 
 Eeport on Agriculture for 1882, and the Report of the 
 Agricultural Commission of 1881, is doing a work 
 which it would be well for the other Provinces to 
 follow. 
 
 Census.— The population of the province in 1881 was 
 1,923,228, of whom 320,839 are Eoman Catholics. Of 
 this number 102,743 are French Canadians, and of the 
 total population 1,525,850 are Canadian born. 
 
 Manufactures.— Ontario is not, like Prince Edward 
 Island, a province of Arcady, growing crops for export 
 only; but it possesses large manufacturing industries 
 as well, There are 14 cotton factories, 31 edge tool 
 works, and 122 agricultural implement establish- 
 ments, among the 5,829 manufacturing establishments 
 which made returns to the Provincial Bureau in 1882. 
 The aggregate of yearly wages earned was $6,741,969. 
 If the fields are green with crops, the chimneys of the 
 factories ut Cornwall, Oshawa, Toronto, Dundas and 
 other manufacturins: centres are black with smoke. 
 Probably the province of Quebec will, on account of its 
 large industrial French population, and consequent 
 abundance of labour, continue to lead in manufactures, 
 but nevertheless Ontario will always show the farm 
 and the factory flourishing together. 
 
CITY OF OTTAWA. 
 
 Ottawa iw a city of 27,412 inhabitants situated most 
 picturesquely at tlie junction of the Eideau river with 
 the Ottawa. Navigation is inteiTupted here by the 
 Falls of the Chaudiere, a cataract which is remarkable 
 enough to have impressed even the stolidity of the 
 Indians ; for in old days they always threw a little 
 tobacco into the Chaudiere before commencing the 
 portage to the quiet water above. 
 
 Next to Quebec, the scenery around Ottawa is the 
 most beautiful in the Dominion. The ranire of moun- 
 tains which closes in the horizon to the north and east, 
 is the last of the picturesque chain of the Laurentides, 
 which the ordinary visitor to Canada is likelj' to see if 
 he travels westward by the usual route. From the 
 summer house on Parliament hill the view is one not 
 easily forgotten. The broad river below, the hills 
 glowing in the sup<et, the Chaudiere white with 
 spray, and the magniiicent pile of public buildings, all 
 contribute to form a most striking landscape. 
 
 The Ottawa makes here a broad curve. The rapids 
 commence a few miles above, but at the city, the 
 channel contracts and the broad and rapid river, ob- 
 structed and tormented by islands and rocks, fal Is 30 feet 
 over a steep limestone clitf into a basin well named 
 the Chaudiere or caldron ; for it is a cavity in the bed 
 of the river in which the water foams and seethes. 
 Such a gigantic water-power is of course utilized, and 
 some of the largest lumber manufactures in the 
 Dominion are situated here. Close ai: hand are the 
 timber slides, by which the lumber from the upper 
 river passes down without damage into the navigable 
 water below. To go down these slides upon a crib of 
 timber is a unique experience a visitor should endea- 
 vour to make ; for, while it is unattended with danger, 
 the novelty and excitement are most absorbing. 
 
 Close lio the city also are the Eideau falls, which 
 though not approaching the Chaudiere in importance, 
 
288 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 are often visited, .he water-works should also be 
 examined. They cost $1,014,000, and are planned 
 upon a system of direct supply by pumping, without 
 the intervention of a reservoir. Three distinct sets of 
 pumps are provided, any one of which is sufficient 
 to supply the wants of double the present population. 
 The others are available for extra demands, as in the 
 case of large fires. 
 
 The city of Ottawa possesses an especial interest to 
 Canadians as the political capital. During the session 
 of Parliament, the most active men in the country are 
 congregated there, either as members of Parliament, 
 or as promoters of private legislation, or as tariflt- 
 doctors, or as volunteer advisers, interested or disin- 
 terested. Then the entertainments at Eideau Hall are 
 frequent, for the Governors General like to make the 
 acquaintance of the active men of the country. News- 
 paper reporters call this "holding a vice-regal court" 
 — a stilted expression invented for the headings of tele- 
 graphic despatches — meaning simply that the Gover- 
 nors give balls and dinner parties when they wish, 
 precisely as the Presidents of the United States do. 
 The people who are invited behave as people usually 
 do in polite society everywhere. The Governors 
 General have never assumed the title of Yice-roy. 
 The expression "Vice-regal court" is "reportorial." 
 
 The headquarters and museum of the Geological 
 Survey are at Ottawa, and all strangers with an 
 inclination for science will of course call there. The 
 collections are open for free inspection. No better 
 w^ay^ of learning quickly the mineral resources and 
 capabilities of the Dominion can be found than a 
 careful study of this excellent and extensive museum. 
 
 The characteristic " sight" at Ottawa is, jwever, 
 the magnificent pile of public buildings. They 
 cover an area of four acres and occupy a very com- 
 manding site on a bluff upon the river bank. The 
 central building is 4^2 feet in length, and the tower 
 over the entrance is 220 feet high. In this building 
 
OTTAWA CITY. 289 
 
 all the legislative business of the Dominion is carried 
 on, and all the departments connected with the 
 Senate and House of Commons are located in it. The 
 building to the right of the square contains the 
 Governor-Generars office, and the Departments of 
 State, of Finance, of the Intei-ior, of Justice, and of 
 Inland Revenue. The building on the left contains 
 the Departments of Customs, of the Post Office, of 
 Railways, of Public Works, of Agriculture, of the 
 Marine and Fisheries. The library is the most archi- 
 tecturally beautiful building for the purpose in 
 America. It is in the rear of the central building, 
 connected with it by corridors. It is polygonal in 
 shape with a buttress at each of its sixteen angles, 
 upon which are flying buttresses which support the 
 dome. The height from the floor to the top of the 
 lantern is 142 feet. The library contains 100,000 
 volumes. The late librarian, Dr. Alpheus Todd, en- 
 joyed a deservedly wide reputation for his works on 
 Parliamentary law. 
 
 The leading hotel is the Russell House. There are, 
 however, several excellent hotels. The Grand Union 
 and Windsor are comfortable houses. 
 
 At Ottawa is the eastern terminus of the Rideau 
 Canal which leads to Kingston on Lake Ontario. 
 The distance is 126 miles with a total lockage of 446 
 feet which is overcome by 47 locks. The locks are 
 all 110 feet long by 33 feet in width. 
 
 MONTREAL TO OTTAWA BY THE CANADA ATLANTIC R. R. 
 
 Much of this route lies in Ontario. Trains leave 
 the Bonaventure station, and, as far as Coteau, the 
 Grand Trunk road is used. After leaving Montreal the 
 first stoppage is at St. Henri, where the train crosses 
 the main track leading to Yictoria Bridge. The road 
 runs on low alluvial land occupied in recent times by 
 a lake and stream. On the right is the terrace mark, 
 ing the former bank. As Dorval station is ap- 
 19 
 
290 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 proached the train comes out into view of Lake St. 
 Louis. The viihige of Lachine is seen on the left. 
 Across the hike is Caughnawaga, and Isle Dorval is 
 near the western shore. Still following the lake, 
 Point Claire appears on the left. The quairies may 
 he seen from the cars. From thence the lake divides. 
 The St. Lawrence channel follows the southern shore 
 and the train follows up the Ottawa channel until it 
 reaches 
 
 St. Anne's bout-de-l'Isle, immortalized b}^ Moore, and 
 where the fond native will point out the house in which 
 the Boat Song was written. And, in veiy truth, the place 
 is important, for does not a distinguished author write 
 ''it is the only historical spot in Canada, because here 
 Tom Moore wrote his Canadian Boat Song"! The 
 native was too much for the author ; for Tom Moore 
 came down the St. Lawrence, not the Ottawa, in 
 a batteau. Still it is nice to have one historical 
 spot to show strangers. Moore's facts are correct. 
 All the north-west trade went by thj Ottawa and 
 Lake Mpissing to Lake Huron; and the voyageurs, 
 when leaving civilization for their adventuious jour- 
 ney had many little escapades to confide to " la bonne 
 Ste. Anne," the patron saint of all who travel by land 
 or water in the Indian territory, so that with a clear 
 conscience they might start on their perilous way. 
 The train crosses one of the mouths of the Ottawa by 
 an iron bridge, next in importance to the Victoria 
 Bridge, foi* this is a formidable river when it wakes 
 up in spring. Isle Perrot is then passed and the 
 Ottawa is finally crossed by another iron bridge before 
 the train arrives at 
 
 Vaudreuil. — The railway now follows the St. Law- 
 rence valley; and that river will, from time to time, 
 appear upon the left until 
 
 Coteau, is reached ; where the Canada Atlantic Eail- 
 way will switch ofi' the trains for the capital of the 
 
OTTAWA RIVER. 291 
 
 Dominion. Up to this station the route is in the 
 Province of Quebec. 
 
 The route to Ottawa by the Canadian Pacific is 
 entirely within the Province of Quebec. It is de- 
 scribed at p. 248. 
 
 OTTAWA TO MONTREAL BY STEAMER. 
 
 A summer's day may be pleasantly spent in this 
 trip, and, as the steamer runs the Lachine Rapids, 
 it has a double attraction for a tourist. 
 
 The boats are good, the meals well prepared, and 
 the officers polite and attentive. The Ottawa, or 
 ''Grand River" of the early voyaf/eurs, is a stream 
 of the first importance. It is six hundred miles 
 long, and has twenty tributaries of large size, be- 
 sides many smaller. It is broader 280 miles from 
 its mouth than it is between Ottawa and the Lake 
 of Two Mountains, and flows with such a strong and 
 deep flood that the blue waters of the great St. Law- 
 rence are pressed against the southern shoi*e. 
 
 Leaving the capital of the Dominion behind, the 
 tourist will see on the north side the mouth of the 
 Gatineau, a large and important lumbering stream, 
 which has been surveyed for three hundied miles 
 from its junction. Messrs. Gilmour's mills are situ- 
 ated at Chelsea, about nine miles up the river. 
 Eighteen miles further, the Lievre river, after a 
 course of 280 miles, falls into the Ottawa. Upon this 
 river, four miles from the steamboat landing, is 
 the village of Buckingham. Here are two very 
 extensive lumbering establishments. The water 
 power of the Lievre is enormous, for the river is 
 very deep and has a fall at Buckingham of nearly 
 seventy feet. Here are also mines of ]) lumbago, of 
 phosphates and of mica. 
 
 The North Nation river is the next large tributary 
 on the Quebec side, and the South Nation on the 
 Ontario or south side. These two streams have each 
 
292 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 a course of nearly 100 miles. Papineaiiville. on the 
 North Nation, is a thriving little village, with lum- 
 ber and grist mills, and water-power in abundance. 
 These rivers biing into the Ottawa, in spring 
 flood, a larger volume of w^ater than can readily pass 
 through the lower rapids, and hence the interval land 
 is flooded in spring. 
 
 Five miles from Papineauville is Montebello, where 
 the seignior of Petite Nation, the late Hon. Louis 
 Joseph Papineau, resided. His name Alls many 
 pages of Canadian history. After his pardon and re- 
 turn from banishment, he mingled very little in 
 politics, but lived to see many of the dreams of his 
 turbulent youth and manhood realized by other 
 hands. His courteous manners and quiet bearing 
 will long be remembered by all who met him in the 
 retirement of his old age. 
 
 Eighteen miles from Papineauville the boat stops 
 at L'Orignal, the county town of the united counties 
 of Prescott and Eussell. Here travellers for Caledonia 
 Springs disembark. The springs are in the hilly 
 country nine miles from the river, and have great 
 efficacy in rheumatic and gouty diseases. There is a 
 good hotel there. Nearly opposite, a few miles lower 
 down on the north shore, is Grenville. The river here 
 passes close to the Laurentian mountains, and, nar- 
 ]-owed also by islands, flows swiftly down the Longue 
 Sault Eapids, or " Chute- a-Blondeau " in a foaming and 
 impetuous torrent, which stops all navigation, except 
 that of dowmvard-bound lumber rafts. Passengers 
 and baggage are transferi-ed to a short railway, 
 which connects Grenville with Carillon twelve miles 
 distant, at the foot of the rapids, w^here all are 
 re-embarked. The difficulties of navigation are over- 
 come by a canal, but the company, to avoid delay, 
 provides adiiferent service of steamers below Carillon. 
 The mountains around Grenville abound in valuable 
 minerals. The bands of crystalline limestone found 
 here in the Laurentian gneiss make this a favouinte 
 
OTTAWA RIVr.R. 293 
 
 ground for geologists. In these limestones the Eozoon 
 Canadense was tirst identified as a fossil. 
 
 On the islands and south shore is the village of 
 Hawkesbury ; and the mills of the Messrs. Hamilton 
 are built upon the islands. The>e mills are the largest 
 upon the Ottawa river, and employ about 500 hands. 
 The Eiver Eouge falls into the Ottawa close to Gren- 
 ville, above the rapids, and the mills are largely 
 supplied with logs from the Rouge. Any one desir- 
 ous of seeing lumber mills upon a large scale could 
 not do better than visit this great and prosperous 
 establishment. 
 
 The sportsman will find Grenville the most conven- 
 ient point of departure for the wild and romantic 
 lake country of the Laurentian hills. This tract 
 resembles the Adirondack i-egion of Xew York in its 
 geological formation, as well as in its abundant lakes 
 and streams, and has, moreover, the advantage of 
 being less frequented, and consequently of being more 
 abundant in fish. The whole country is dotted over 
 with lakes, and, with short " portages " from stream 
 to stream, the sportsman can go great distances in 
 a canoe. It is a very healthy tract also for camp- 
 ing out. 
 
 At Carillon, passengers for St. Andrews and 
 Lachute will find conveyances in waiting. These 
 are two towns upon the Riviere du Nord, which 
 empties into the Ottawa a little below Carillon. 
 The country is rich and fertile, and is especially 
 noted for its excellent dairy farming. Through pas- 
 sengers take the steamboat which immediately 
 crosses over to Point Fortune. This is the first 
 point upon the south shore belonging to the Pro- 
 vince of Quebec, for hitherto the river has been the 
 boundary between the two provinces. 
 
 Here upon the Quebec side is the Thermopyla) 
 of Canada w^here a deed of " derring-do " was per- 
 formed than which no greater is recorded in his- 
 tory. In 1660 the colony was on the eve of de- 
 
294 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 struction. The full force of the Iroquois tribes was 
 in arms to sweep the French into the St. Lawrence. 
 Bollard des Ormeaux and IG younc; Montrealers 
 resolvetl upon a deed which should teach the 
 Indians a lesson. They bound themselves by an oath 
 neither to give nor take quarter. They made their 
 wills, and took the sacrament in the little church at 
 Montreal. Then they started up Lake St. Louis and 
 the Ottawa to this point, where they built a palisaded 
 fort. Some Indians had joined them, but durini;' the 
 fight which ensued only three or four Algonquins re- 
 mained faithful. Soon the Iroquois canoes came danc- 
 ing down the rapids. A war party of 300 wai'riors 
 had been up the i-iver. They speedily discovered 
 the fort and rushed to attack it. Da}" after day they 
 met with a bloody repulse. Sullen with rage they 
 sent for reinforcements until more than 800 war- 
 riors surrounded the palisades. The story is well 
 told in George Murray's ballad : 
 
 " Eight days of varied horror passed ; what boots it now to 
 
 tell 
 How the pale tenants of the fort heroically fell ? 
 Hunger, and thirst, and sleeplessness, Death's ghastly aids, 
 
 at length. 
 Marred and defaced their comely forms, and quelled their 
 
 i^^iant strength. 
 The end draws nigh — they yearn to die — one glorious 
 
 rally more, 
 For tlie dear sake of Ville-Marie and all will soon be o'er ; 
 Sure of the martyr's golden Crown, they shrink not from 
 
 the Cross, 
 Life yielded for the land they love, thev scorn to reckon 
 
 loss." 
 
 They died, every one, fighting to the last gasp ; 
 nor could the Iroquois take one alive for torture. 
 The story was told by some of the treacherous 
 Hui'Ons. The Iroquois lost so many of their bravest 
 warriors that they returned forthwith to their own 
 country. They had had enough of fighting the 
 French for several years. 
 
OTTAWA RIVER. 205 
 
 After leavini^ Point Fortune the steamer enters the 
 Lake of Two Mountains, where tlie Ottawa widens out 
 into one of those beautiful expanses wliich vary the 
 scenery of Canadian rivers. Eigau<l Mountain stands 
 upon the right, a bold and srpiafe mountain sur- 
 mounted by a cross, and belonginijc ^^ the same family 
 of igneous mountains with those which start up from 
 the prairie land around ^[ontreal. Upon the summit 
 of this mountain is a vei'V sini^ular v>lateau, covered to 
 a gi'eat depth with rounded boulder-stones each about 
 the size of a man's liead. These stones consist maiidy 
 of diflerent rock from tlie mass of the mountain, and 
 they lie in long ridges as if turned up by a plough. 
 The natives have styled this place very appropriately 
 the '' Devil's Garden." The Geological report of 18G3, 
 classified it under the heading of " moraines." The 
 name bestowed upon it by the unscientific native is 
 probably the more descriptive of the two. Perhaps 
 both are wrong. An explanation which shall ex]3lain 
 is much needed. 
 
 At the foot of the mountidn is the pretty town of 
 Rigaiid, on the Riviere a la Graisse, thriving and clean, 
 and bright, with its tinned roofs. There is a large 
 French college here. The town is two miles from the 
 steamboat landing. 
 
 Steaming down through the lake, the boat makes 
 a short call at St. Placide and Pointe-aux-Anglais, 
 both on the north bank. The level country and the 
 still and glassy surface of the lake, reflecting the 
 elms on the low bank, make St. Placide the proper 
 tutelary saint for the locality. Soon the lake narrows 
 and the boat stops at Hudson on the right bank. Here 
 large glass works were established, but being unsuc- 
 cessful, have been abandoned. 
 
 The next stop is made at Como, a favorite summer 
 resort of Montrealers. 
 
 Leaving Como the boat crosses to Oka. This is an 
 Indian village upon a seigniory granted by Louis XIV 
 to the Sulpicians on certain specified conditions re- 
 
296 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 gardini;- the Indijuis. The Ali^onquiiis and licxiuois 
 huts are soj)arated l>y tlu' cluircli and prosln'lero. A 
 conmmnity of Tra]))>ist Moidcs are raimini;- here. 
 
 J^isinii; u[) boliiiid OUa arc the two inoinitains tVom 
 whicli the lake dei'ives its name. The one with the 
 cross is Mount Cahaiy. diapels. seven in numher, are 
 built at intervals up the ascent for the seven stations 
 of the Cross. This i)ili»-riinaice is often made bv the 
 faithful, and much bodily as well as spiritual good is 
 stated to liave resulted. 
 
 The lake now widens out ; far on the i-ight is the 
 tinned s]^ireof tlie parish ehui'ch of Vaudreuil gleam- 
 ing in the level ray> of the setting sun. On the left 
 extend the two northern l)ranches of the emhouchure 
 of the river whieh, after passing in rear of the island 
 of ;^[ontreal, and enclosing Isle Jesus, unite with the 
 St. Lawi'cnce below. Ahead is seen the ]M)int of the 
 island of Monti-eal and the village of St. Anne's, with 
 the picturesque ruined fort Senneville, reminding us 
 of Indian wars of bj'gone years, and the stitt* and 
 formal bridge telling us of the engineering victories 
 of the present age. Truly, if we do overcome Nature, 
 she has her revenge in the astounding ugliness of 
 our handiwork when compareil with hei-s. When our 
 constructions fall into ruin she works them up into 
 picturesqueness, and festooning them with verdure, 
 smothers their hard and ungraceful outlines. 
 
 The boat now ari'ives at St. Anne's, and passes 
 through a lock to avoid the I'apids. See page 290. 
 
 Leaving St. Anne's the boat enters upon the broad 
 waters of Lake St. Louis. The little village of Pointe 
 Claire is passed u])on the left. Then the beautifully 
 wooded Isle Dorval, formerly the summer residence 
 of Sir Cxeoi'ge Simpson, Governor of the Hudson's Bay 
 Company. At last the town of Lachine is reached, the 
 former headquarters of the same company, and where 
 their storehouses and the Governor's residence were 
 situated. Lachine has become almost a summer suburb 
 of Montreal, and even in winter many Montrealers 
 
UPPER ST. LAWRENCE. 207 
 
 reside there. Thoy iiinuso themselves with hoatiiinr^ 
 and regattas are held on the lake very frequenti}'. Hero 
 on the-4tli of August, IGSl), fourteen hundred Irocjuois 
 hmded an<l swept the ishind of iidiahitants up to the 
 walls of the forts. Hundreds of eolonists were buteher- 
 ed, and hundreds earrie<l away prisoners. It is a black 
 da}' in Canadian annals, known as the day of " the 
 Massacre of Lachine." 
 
 The steamer touches at Lachine to take on board 
 any who wish to go down the rapids to Montreal. 
 
 THE UPPER ST. LAWRENCE. 
 
 Kingpston to Montreal by the river. — The rajdds of 
 the St. Lawrence can be seen only by tourists arriving 
 from the w^est. p]verv one coming- to America sees, or 
 
 •- CD f 
 
 should see, the Falls of Niagara. Xot much interest 
 attaches to tiie sail from there down Lake Ontario ; 
 80 that the better plan is to take the Grand Trunk 
 Eailway from Niagara Falls or from Toronto, to King- 
 ton, and there to take the steamer for Montreal. 
 
 Kingston is a quiet city which has played an impor- 
 tant I'ole in Canadian history. The tirst settlement 
 there was made in 1673, wdien the Count de Frontenac, 
 to the intense annoyance of the Iroquois, took up 400 
 men from Montreal, who in a week built works, 
 made clearings, and established a firm foothold before 
 the Indians knew what his real intentions w^ere. 
 Behind Frontenac was Eobert Cavelier de la Salle — 
 one of those heroic souls who beat out their lives 
 against the bars of fiite rather than yield. He was 
 called a visionary, but he was really a seer. He first 
 saw the boundless field for entei-prise in the rich val- 
 leys of the Ohio and Mi8sissipj)i. He had a small 
 seigniory a little above Montreal, and the quick- 
 tongued-Fi-enchmen called the place '' Lachine " in 
 derision of his hopes of tindmg an outlet to the China 
 seas, a name which it still retains. To LaSalle, who 
 
208 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 li:i<l sold his sei<^niory, Frontonuc ic»'i^nte(l Cataraqui, 
 or Fort Fi'ontonac, en seujneurie, and tliero the intre- 
 pid ])ioneer hiiilt the tii'st vessel wliieh sailed upon 
 Lake Ontario. 
 
 Tempting indeed is the theme. Pens there arc, enough 
 and to spare, to relate the deeds of* the favourites of 
 fortune; hut the struggles and disappointments of tlie 
 men who lived hefore their time tind verv few his- 
 toi'ians. As the story is related in the ekupient pages 
 of Franeis Fai'kman, a whole Odyssey of heroic etfort 
 is unrolled ; relic^ved, in its sadder jjassages, by the 
 fidelity of the gay and chivali'ous de Tonty; but all 
 summed uj) in the touehing name iWvecmir (Heart- 
 l)i*eak) which La Salle gave to his fort on the Illinois 
 river. Jfe understood, one hundred and fifty years 
 too soon, the importance of the portage at Chicago. 
 A nameless grave near the mouth of the Mississippi 
 river was his recom})ense. 
 
 As the fortunes of La Salle waned, Fort Frontenac 
 was neglected. Frontenac, his patron, was recalled; 
 and the L-oquois, missing Ids firm hand, swept to 
 death or captivity every human being outside of the 
 palisades of the forts. Frontenac, recalled, like Corio- 
 lanus, to rescue the perishing colony, found, to his 
 great disgust, that Fort Frontenac had been aban- 
 doned and dismantled. Contrary to the wishes of the 
 king, the opposition of the English at Albany, and 
 the threats of the L*oquois, he re-establishecl it in 
 1695. Since that time it has been maintained as the 
 key fort of the upper St. Lawrence. During the wai* 
 of 1812, and so long as the British maintained a naval 
 force upon the lakes, it was a most important point 
 as the dockyard and arsenal of Lake Ontario. From 
 1841 to 1844, after the union of Upper and Lowei' 
 Canada, Kingston was the seat of government. 
 Although it is now of less relative importance in the 
 Dominion, it is yet important as a place for the tran- 
 shipment of grain. The Eoyal Military College is 
 situated there — an institution established by the 
 
THE TIIOrsAND ISLANDS. 290 
 
 Dominion Govornmont for tlic trainin<j: of staff and 
 engineer officcrH. The odiicatioii '^Mven is similar to 
 tliat of Woolwich Collcifc, and a certain number of 
 commissions in the Imperial Army are annuaKy 
 allotted to successful students. At' Kintrston also 
 is the University of Queen's College— an im|K)rtant 
 institution connected with the rieshyterian Church 
 of CanJida, with Vl proti'ssors, and 174 students in 
 arts and t]ieoloo;y. Attilialed to the University are 
 two Medical Scho(>ls — the lloyal Colle^eof Thysjcians 
 and Suri^^eons, witli 11 ])rofessors and fMJ students^ 
 and the Women's ^Ie<lical (V)lle<j^e, with 12 prcjfessors 
 and 11 students. A school of Law has been organized, 
 but it is not workini; successi'ullv. 
 
 Queen's (V)llege is remarkable as the only university 
 in Canada where the " sweet girl graduates " of the 
 poet are met with. Tn tlie classes of 1884 were two 
 lady Bachelors of Arts and three lady Doctors in Medi- 
 cine. A woman was lirst in the class of medicine. 
 Of the three gold medallists of 1884 two were of the 
 weaker sex. Co-education in medicine was not found 
 practicable; and, therefore, last year the Women's 
 College was started. The ladies' names were high up 
 in all the classes, excepting in theology, which they 
 do not seem to have attempted — a thing to be 
 wondered at, in view of the facts of Bible liistoiy and 
 the moral elevation and didactic turn of the femi- 
 nine mind. 
 
 The Thousand Islands.— The steamers descending the 
 St. Lawrence leave Kingston at an early hour so as to 
 arrive at Montreal in time to connect with the boat 
 for Quebec. The large and fertile AVolfe Island is 
 passed upon the right after leaving, but it is not until 
 Gananoque is reached that the Thousand Islands 
 properly commence. There are in reality over 1600 
 of them packed in a river-stretch of 40 miles. At this 
 point the Laurentian rocks break through the Silurian, 
 and reach across the St. Lawrence, in this belt of 
 
300 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 islands, to iiiiite witli the great Laufcntian outlier, 
 the Adirondack roicion in the State of New York. 
 'Canadians are sometimes chaiged with undue appreci- 
 ation of the scenery among these islands. The Duke 
 of Argyle, for instance, thought little of the islands, 
 but was impresseil by the rapids of the St. Lawrence. 
 It will be safer, then, to let others speak. Here is 
 'Charles Dickens in his *' American Notes.'' He started 
 from Kingston. 
 
 ^' The beauty of this noble stream at almost any point, but 
 especially in the commencement of the journey, where it 
 winds its way among the Thousand Islands can hardly be 
 imagined. The numl^er and constant succession of these 
 islands, all green and richly wooded; their fluctuating sizes, 
 some so large that, for half an hour together, one among 
 them will appear as the opposite bank of the river, and some 
 so small tliat they are mere dimples on its bosom — their 
 infinite variety of shai^es, and the numberless combinations 
 of beautiful forms which the trees growing on them present 
 — all form a i)icture fraught with uncommon interest and 
 pleasure." 
 
 So far, Dickens ; but, not long after, there came from 
 Prance a celebrated traveller and litterateur^ Xavier 
 Marmiei*, who, writing in anothei- language, waxeth 
 eloquent and saith : 
 
 " Imagine a vast English park with its massive trees, its 
 hills and slopes, and its lans of verdure. Replace its green 
 turf with water, blue, transparent, and crystalline. Do I 
 give you in the comparison some idea of this beautiful lake ? 
 So, I dare not hoj)e this. Over an area twelve leagues 
 long and two or three wide on whichever side you turn 
 your eyes you see nothing but islands of every kind and 
 form — some raising their pyramidal heads boldly above 
 the water, others lying just above the level of the river as if 
 bowed to receive its blessing as it passed. Some are bristling 
 with firs and pines, others lie open and level like a field 
 aw^aiting the husbandman's care. Some are but an arid rock 
 as wild and picturesque as those w^e see among the Faroe 
 Islands ; others have a group of trees or a solitary pine, and 
 others bear a crown of flowers or a little hillock of verdure 
 like a dome of malachite, among which the river slowly 
 
THE ST. LAWRENCE RAPIDS. 301 
 
 glides, embracing with equal fondness the great and the 
 small, now receding afar and now retracing its course, like 
 the good patriarch visiting his domains, or like the god 
 Proteus counting his snowy flocks." 
 
 A little florid — but Marmier's inimitable style suffers 
 in translation. There is, then, an excuse lor Cana- 
 dians who camp out upon these islands and sail among 
 them if they also admire them very much. 
 
 On the American side are two fashionable resorts — 
 Clayton and Alexandria Bay, with large hotels ; and 
 the bay is lively with boats and steam-yachts. A great 
 island of 8,000 acres has been secured by the Meth- 
 odists and Presbyterians ; and there they hold camp 
 meetings and religious exercises, conventions, etc., 
 each religious body on its own end of the island. 
 It is known as the Thousand Island Park and is laid 
 out in drives and walks and groves, and sold out in 
 villa lots in order that everything may conduce to the- 
 summer re-habilitation of the spiritual as well as the 
 physical man. There are people who resist edification. 
 To these the Neic York Herald remarks : ^' a million 
 " of people could be swallowed up in these vast soli- 
 " tudes without interfering with each other's routes 
 '' or pleasures." A million is a great many, but a 
 newspaper statemenc always possesses a substratum 
 of truth. 
 
 The Rapids In Canada, as has been pointed out in 
 
 the case of Ste. Anne's, we cannot do without Tom 
 Moore. Great luminaries of the law who have irra- 
 diated this continent, and great publicists, have passed 
 us by and have gone back from Niagara to Xew Yoi'k 
 by rail ; but a poet has insight and a love for beauti- 
 ful scenery, so ruther than be bumped on a stage for 
 500 miles, Moore preferred gliding down the St. Law- 
 rence in a batteau, even though he had to camp on 
 the bank every night. In the river trip there is 
 variety, for a ride in a Pullman in America does not 
 differ from a ride in a Pullman anywhere else. Those 
 
302 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 "who are open to the sweet influences of nature should 
 with the poet, 
 
 " tread this wondrous world. 
 See all its store of inland waters hurled 
 In one vast volume down Niagara's steep, 
 Or calm behold them, in transparent sleep, 
 Where the blue hills of old Toronto shed 
 Their evening shadows o'er Ontario's bed ; 
 Should trace the grand Cadarqui, and glide 
 Down the white rapids of his lordly tide, 
 Through mossy woods, 'mid islets flowering fair, 
 And bloming glades, where the first sinful pair 
 For consolation might have weeping trod, 
 When banished from the garden of their God." 
 
 Cataraqui was the Iroquois name for Kingston. It 
 was sometimes applied also to the river. 
 
 After passing Prescott and Ogdensburgh (the old 
 Oswegatchie) concerning which much might be said, 
 the rapids commence. 
 
 Chimney Island, formerly Isle Royale, upon the 
 right, was the site of a strong French fort, and the ruins 
 are yet visible. It was built by de Levis and called 
 after him. Two miles further are the Galops Eapids, 
 -extending about two miles. Isle-aux-Galops is on the 
 right. On the left the Junction Canal may be seen. At 
 Point Iroquois, six miles further down, are the Iroquois 
 Hapids. Three miles from Point Iroquois another 
 rapid commences. The Rapide Plat Canal is seen on 
 the left and Ogden's Island on the right. So far the 
 rapids are unimportant, and, if it were not for the 
 upward bound heavily laden barges, these canals would 
 hardly be needed. The course of the river is pretty 
 ■clear of islands for 10 miles ; but when Farren's Point 
 is reached, the Upper Long Sault commences. A short 
 canal is on the left at Farran's Point, and on the oppo- 
 site side of the channel is Croyle's Island. These three 
 canals are collectively known as the Williamsburg 
 canals. They are not used by ascending passenger 
 boats. After passing these, there are four and a half 
 
THE ST. LAWRENCE RAPIDS. 303 
 
 miles of quiet water before the Cornwall canal com- 
 mences and the steamer begins to labour in the Longue 
 Sault Eapids. They are 12 miles long. The total 
 fall from Farran's Point is 48 feet. The Longue 
 Sault Island is the tirst upon the right. Then 
 the current wliiids between Sheek's Island on the 
 left, and Barnhart's Island on the right. A mile of 
 quiet w^ater succeeds when the steamer pitches herself 
 down the north channel having the town of Cornwall 
 on the left and Cornwall Island on the right. At the 
 end of Cornwall Island the line of 45° strikes the St. 
 Lawrence. Thenceforth the teri-itory on both banks 
 is Canadian. Soon the river expands into Lake St. 
 Francis, and takes bi'eath for a stretch of 22 miles 
 before another jump. The village on the point at the 
 right is the Indian village of St. Eegis, W' ere Mrs. 
 Sigourney and some other writers erroneously sup- 
 pose the church bell was carried in 1704 when the 
 French and Indians raided Deertield. Midway on the 
 north shore the little river Beaudette falls in, mark- 
 ing the boundary of Ontario on the east. 
 
 The village of Coteau du Luc is seen on the left 
 where the banks close in and the river is obstructed 
 by islands. Here the ra])ids j-e-commence ; and in the 
 distance on the right is the entrance to the Beauhar- 
 nois Canal. The village is soon passed in the swift 
 rush of the current. On a point on the main shore 
 are the remains of a fort, which was considered veiy 
 important as commanding the chief channel. This 
 channel is now, however, not so much used for steam- 
 boats as for rafts. The steamers pass between Prison- 
 ers' Island and Broad Island, the next channel to the 
 south. These i-apids are three miles long and are dis- 
 tinguished as the Coteau rapids. The boat now glides 
 through quieter water for five miles, between the north 
 shore of the mainland on the left and Grand Island 
 on the right. As the island terminates and the village 
 of Cedars is approached, the river narrows very much 
 and grows very turbulent. Small rocky islets impede 
 
304 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 the current, and the boat is .swiftly whirled for a mile 
 and a half through the Cedars rapids. Here in 1*760, 
 General Amherst, when advancing to capture Monti'cal, 
 lost sixty-four of his boats. Eighty-eight of his men 
 were lost, besides artillery and stores. Here also, in 
 17*76, Captain Forster, with forty regulars, forty-one 
 Canadian militiamen, and 250 Indians, captured a for- 
 tified post of the continental army and made prisoners 
 of the garrison, 390 in number. The same enterpris- 
 ing officer the next day defeated, near Yaudreuil, a 
 detachment sent to relieve the post fj-om Arnold's 
 army, then at Montreal. Finding it difficult to restrain 
 the Indians, he sent all his prisoners to Arnold under 
 a cartel of exchange, which Congress afterwards 
 refused to ratify. 
 
 Upon che right, on the south shore, is the village of 
 St. Timoth^e ; three miles of a (juieter current now 
 intervene, 'before the steamer enters the Cascades 
 Eapids, where a sudden fall in the river-bed causes 
 the waves to rebound from the rocks and islets in 
 that peculiar manner which has given a name to the 
 locality. Immediately after passing these rapids the 
 river widens out again into the broad expanse of Lake 
 St. Louis. In a course of 12 miles the river has 
 dropped 82i feet. 
 
 Upon entering the lake the tourist will see on the left 
 Isle Perrot, and on the right the village of Beauhar- 
 nois. A portion of the Eiver Ottawa here falls into 
 the St. Lawrence, and Isle Perrot is embraced by 
 its two westernmost arms. At Isle Perrot Amherst 
 delayed a day to repair damages to his boats after 
 passing the rapids. The lake is fifteen miles long and 
 seven miles wide at its widest part. When it com- 
 mences to narrow, the Chateauguay river is seen 
 upon the right. The island at its mouth is called 
 Nuns' Island, and is the property of the Grey Sisters 
 of Montreal, to whom the seigniory also belongs. 
 Isle St. Bernard is the proper designation of the island. 
 There is a mound upon it which has the appearance of 
 
OTTAWA TO TORONTO 305 
 
 a work of the old Mound-builders. It has never been 
 opened. If it be their ^vork it is the farthest point 
 eastwards where traces of this mysterious peoj)le will 
 have been found. The Chateauguay river recalls to a 
 Canadian one of the most stirring episodes of the war 
 of 1812 — the repulse of General Hampton by an insigni- 
 ficant force of Canadian militia under Colonel de Sala- 
 berry. This defeat prevented the junction of two 
 American armies, and decided the result of a year's 
 campaign in Lower Canada. As the Lachine rapids 
 are entered the village of Caughnawaga is passed on 
 the right and Lachine on the left. For the continua- 
 tion of the route to Montreal see p. 241. 
 
 O'xPAWA TO TORONTO. 
 
 ' ♦ ■ 
 
 Whoever leaves' Canada without seeing Toronto 
 will carry away a most imperfect impression of the 
 Canadian people. Besides, Toronto is on the way 
 to Niagara Falls ; and if any one returns to England 
 without seeing that famous spot no one will believe 
 him if he says he has travelled in America. 
 
 Hitherto, the traveller westw^ards from Ottawa had 
 to return to the St. Lawrence at Brockville, but the 
 Canadian Pacific has this summer opened a new route 
 through the heart of the country. It passes through 
 a new and mostly unsettled district, in which there is 
 little of interest for a stranger. Until Peterboro' is 
 reached the route is over that northern section of 
 Ontario described, p. 284, as Laurentian. Interesting 
 no doubt to the lumberer, the miner and the sports- 
 man — abounding in sparkling lakes and running 
 streams, but not inviting to the settler in a country 
 where land is so cheap. The more important sta- 
 tions are 
 
 Gaxleton Place, on the Mississippi Eiver, a small 
 lumbering stream ; and Perth, a stirring little county 
 town. After passing Moberlev, the train crosses 
 20 
 
306 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 Shurbot Lake at the IS'arrows. At Tweed the Moira 
 river, an important lumbering stream, is crossed. At 
 Madoc, is the region where gold has been found. The 
 Central Ontai-io Railway crosses here, a road which 
 is being pushed up into the iron region at this point 
 in order to bring to market the rich ores of the 
 district on the north. The Crow river is ci'ossed, and 
 at Blairton the Coboui'g and Marmora Railway — 
 another railway built for minerals — is intersected. 
 
 Peterboro, is an important town of 8,000 inhabi- 
 tants, where the Otonabee river, in the space of 
 nine miles, rushes down an incline of 147 feet, and, 
 on the way down, does a vast amount of useful work. 
 From this point as a centre, a whole realm of wild 
 beauty opens out to tPie lt)ver of iiature, quiet lakes 
 innumerable, flashing water-falls, sparkling streams, 
 abounding in fish and in game. This is the place 
 where the Eice lake canoe was invented, and in it the 
 whole territory can be traversed with few portages. 
 Through this region, down the Trent, came in early 
 times the ubiquitous Champlain from Lake Huron, 
 leading the Huron raid into Iroquois-land across Lake 
 Ontario. Just on the verge are we here of the quieter 
 landscape and fruitful fields of Central Ontario, to- 
 wards which he whose holidays in the wilderness are 
 over i-eluctantly paddles. 
 
 At Myrtle Station, Lake Scugog is reached and the 
 Whitby and Port Perry Railway is crossed. At last 
 passing Yorkville, a subui-b of the city, the train 
 arrives at Carleton, or Toronto Junction. 
 
 In taking this route to Toronto the traveller will 
 have overshot all the important towns of the lake 
 shore. He will have passed the lovely quiet 
 scenery of the Bay of Quinte ; Belleville, where is 
 Albert L'niversity with 11 professors and a crowd 
 of students ; Cobourg, where is situated Victoria 
 University, whose Medical Faculty we met with at 
 Montreal (p. 208), at Cobourg are the Faculties of Arts 
 
CITY OF TORONTO. 307 
 
 and Theology with 10 professors ; Port Hope, the busy 
 port of the Midland Eailway ; Bowmanville; Oshawa 
 and many other manufacturing towns, all traversed 
 by the Grand Trunk Railway and the centres of 
 long established farming districts. 
 
 CITY OF TORONTO. 
 
 The name Toronto was originally applied to the 
 whole district in the neighbourhood of Lake Simcoe. 
 Thus, on some old maps, (Teorgian Bay is Toronto 
 Bay, Lake Simcoe is Toronto Lake, and the Severn 
 and Humber rivers are both called Toronto river, and 
 the old writers use the word in as wide an applica- 
 tion. The town which Governor . Simcoe founded 
 (p. 282; he called York, and it was not until 1834, 
 when the city was incorporated, that the musical 
 Iroquois word Toronto"^ (signifying trees in the 
 water) was adopted and limited to this place. As 
 early as 1749 it was recognized as an important 
 locality, for the Indians from the north used to pass 
 up the Severn, across Lake Simcoe, and make a port- 
 age to the Humber, which here falls into Lake Ontario. 
 It was to cut off this trade from going to Chouagen 
 (Oswego) that the French built a fort and ti'ading 
 post at the mouth of the Humber, which they called 
 Fort Rouille. This had been long abandoned when 
 Simcoe founded the present city. 
 
 From the Humber on the west to the Don on the 
 east, the harbour of Toronto extends, well sheltered 
 from storms on the lake by a long spit of land, which, 
 having been cut by the waves, is called the Island. 
 The city owes very little to Nature besides this shel- 
 tered bay. It haa been made what it is by the 
 enterprise and energy of it^ inhabitants. In 1834 the 
 
 *Vide Cuoq, Lexique de la langiie Iroquoise, p. 51. The long low spit 
 of land forming the harbour, when it was densely wooded, would natur- 
 ally suggest this name for the district opened up by a portage thus identi- 
 fied from the lake. 
 
308 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 population was 9,254; and in 1881, only 47 year» 
 later, it Ih given in the censiis as 86,415. Including 
 the subui'bs it would reach about 103,000. 
 
 To the English people of old Canada, Toronto is 
 what Quebec is to the French — the centime and heart of 
 the race. Montreal, as the meeting point of all, has a 
 cosmopolitan character peculiarly its own ; but 
 Toronto is English through and through. There the 
 solid qualities of the English race, its enterpj-ise and 
 commercial ability, are quickened by the demands of 
 .: new country and rendered more versatile by the 
 exigencies of a rapidly advancing civilization. In 
 Quebec city, in 1832, the population was 30,924, and in 
 1881, 62,446. So that, while the j^opulation of Quebec 
 was doubled, that of Toronto has multiplied tenfold. 
 This difference is mainly due to the opening up of the 
 western country, but something is due to the com- 
 mercial genius of the peo2)le. That point was very 
 well put by an eloquent Abb^ in a speech at the 
 great St. Jean Baptiste celebration in 1884. He said 
 that '' the mission of the French-Canadian people 
 *' was the dissemination of the Catholic faith, while 
 " the mission of the English was commercial." Al- 
 though the numerous steeples of Toronto will demon- 
 strate that the people of that city are not unmindful 
 of their religious duties, it must be admitted that the 
 dominant energies of the Anglo-Saxon race in 
 America have been expended in the practical pur- 
 suits of commerce, and the rewards of this present 
 world have followed in corresponding proportion. 
 The eschatological question underlying the subject it 
 is, fortunately, not the business of the present writer 
 to discuss. 
 
 Toronto is more to Ontario than any other city in 
 Canada is to its respective province. It is the poli- 
 tical, commercial, legal, religious, literary and educa- 
 tional centre of Ontario. Therefore, the influence of 
 Toronto, as of Quebec, is disproportionately great ; 
 while the influence of Montreal, being the meeting- 
 
CITY OF TORONTO. 309 
 
 point of the two races and langiiaj^es is less provincial 
 and eoDscquently, is disj)roportionately small in the 
 central government. 
 
 Trade.— The imports at the port of Toronto for the 
 year 1883 were $18,034,451. The statistics of ex- 
 ports are of no value, as they do not give the amount 
 of exports eastwai'ds. 
 
 Hotels.— The city is well supplied with good hotels. 
 Chief are the Queen's Hotel and the Eossin House, 
 among the most comfortable hotels in Canada. The 
 Queen's is immediately facing the lake, and the 
 Rossin House is more in the centre of the city. In 
 either, of them the traveller will find ever}' comfort. 
 
 Railways.— Much of the pro^jperi ty of the city has 
 been caused by the enterprise which at an early 
 date centred so many railways here. A glance at 
 the map will show the railway lines reaching out 
 fan-like in all directions, and drawing the business 
 of the whole peninsula to a focus. 
 
 Parks and Squares.— In this respect the city is highly 
 favoured. Queen's Park, though not beautiful, is an 
 old favourite. It contains a monument to the youth 
 of the Queen's Own Volunteers who fell at Eidgeway 
 at the time of the Fenian raid in 1866. They were 
 young lads, of the College Company for the most part, 
 who fell. The Fenian forces had been drilling for 
 months in their armories and parading the United 
 States cities in uniform, with all the pomp and cir- 
 cumstance of war, before they invaded Canada. 
 When the raid failed and they returned, they were 
 arrested and disarmed by the United States troops, 
 but they got their rifles back in a day or two. The 
 
 British G-o\ernment solemnly thanked the United 
 
 States Government ! 
 
 'there are many other parks of greater attractions 
 — the Exhibition Park, the Horticultural Gardens, 
 
310 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 Rivcrdale Park, Victoria Pai'k, High Park, and 
 especially fhe Island Park on the island which shel- 
 tei'S Toronto harbour. Jt is reached by a feri'V. On 
 it is the hotel presented by public subscription to 
 Edward Hanlan, who lives here, the undisputed 
 champion oarsman of the world. If any one should 
 go to Toronto and not know this, it would be better 
 to dissimulate than incur, by open confession, the pity 
 of the inhabitants. 
 
 Public Buildings.— These, for the most part, are 
 handsome. The Parliament Buildings ai-e not what 
 they should be, but the Province is preparing plans 
 for new buildings which shall be a credit to the 
 city. The Dominion Government has erected a very 
 handsome Custom House and Post Office, and an 
 Observatory. The Insane Asylum and the Mercer 
 Reformatory for Women are in eveiy respect woi-thy 
 monuments of the practical philanthropy of the 
 people. In Osgood Hall Toronto possesses a digni- 
 fied teraple of justice. The Toronto Bar is a bril- 
 liant one, for the Law Courts are more centralized 
 than in Quebec, where, owing to a mania for de- 
 centralization, the Bar is frittered away over the 
 Province. 
 
 Churches.— The city can boast of many beautiful 
 churches. Chief among them are the Metropolitan 
 Methodist Church, admirable in its internal arrange- 
 ment and handsome in its exterior architecture, the 
 centre of Wesleyan Methodism in old Canada. St. 
 Andrew's Church (Presbyterian) is remarkable for 
 the massive strength of its style, and would arrest 
 attention in any city. It is not easy to characterize 
 the architecture by one word. The arches are Nor- 
 man and the building has a castellated appearance 
 owing to the narrow windows and tourelles on the 
 towers. St. James Cathedral (Church of England) is 
 the see of the Bishop of Toronto, a very fine church 
 
CITY OF T.JR.>NTO. 311 
 
 in Gothic style, whose lofty 8i)ire can be seen from 
 a great distance rising above all others. St. Micliaers 
 Cathedral (i^)inan Catholic) is a vei'v tine example 
 of Gothic, worthy to be the seat of the Archbishop. 
 It is grand in style and tinished in detail. All these 
 four churches are remarkable also for position. The 
 sites are ample in size and chosen with Judgment, so 
 that no ett'ect of architecture is marred by the sur- 
 
 roundings. 
 
 EDUCATION. 
 
 This is the stj'ong point of Toronto, and, indeed of 
 the whole province ; for Ontario is the only province 
 in the Dominion where the Minister of Education 
 has a seat in the Cabinet. No argument can, how- 
 ever, be based upon that, for it is a recent and 
 doubtful change. Chief among the objects of in- 
 terest are, — 
 
 TheUniversity of Toronto.— This institution is based 
 upon an ample endowment of public lands set aside 
 for the purpose from the first settlement of the Pro- 
 vince. The buildings of University College were 
 erected in 1859. They are situated in Queen's Park, 
 and in dignity of appearance ai*e not surpassed by 
 any University buildings in America. No tourist 
 should fail to visit them. The College is not now 
 connected with any religious body. It is the Faculty 
 of Arts of the University, and has a staff of 20 pro- 
 fessors and lectm'ers, with nearly 400 students in 
 attendance. 
 
 University of Trinity College, founded by Bishop 
 Strachan when University College was secularized. 
 The buildings will accommodate eighty students, and 
 are very advantageously situated on an extensive plot 
 of ground. It is designed primarily for the education 
 of the Anglican clergy, and the teaching ranks very 
 high. There are 14 professors. 
 
312 PROVINCK OF ONTARIO. 
 
 Knox College.— This in.-'/itution is in (•r>niiecti(>n with 
 the Piesbytrriaii Chiii'ch and has a In^li iv|Mitation. 
 It was foiindod in 1843, at the time of the <iisni|)t ion, 
 for the pi'eparation of'clergynieu of the Free Kirk. 
 
 Wycliffe College.— This a recent Ibundation. The 
 present huiMini;- was eoniph'ted in 1882. It Ih a 
 theoloo'ieal eolieue in connection with the Chureh of 
 England. Theie are at j)resent six professors and 23 
 stuclents, of whrun ID are resident. Tha en<l(nvment 
 is being* raised by vohmtary subscription. 
 
 Macmaster Hall, for the training of clergy for the 
 Baptist Church — a very beautiful and coni])lete acade- 
 mic building, and an ornament to the city. 
 
 St. Michael's College, is a Roman Catholic institu- 
 tion, having a high standing and di*awing many 
 students from the United vStates. It is atiiliated to 
 the University of Toi'onto. 
 
 The Normal School, occupies a handsome j)ile of 
 buildings in extensive grounds. As a training school 
 for teachers, it is the centre of the educational system 
 of Ontario. Lai'ge amounts have been expended on 
 the library and museum, and, with less judgment, on 
 the Art Crallerv. There is a Model School in the 
 same building. 
 
 The School of Practical Science, is a branch of Uni- 
 versity College for the practical training of students 
 of Technology. 
 
 For the Medical Sciences there arc — The Toronto 
 School of Medicine, the Trinity Medical School, the 
 Woman's Medical College, the Ontario College of 
 Pharmacy, the Dental College, and the Ontario 
 Yeterinar}- College. 
 
 There are numerous educational institutions besides 
 these well worthy the attention of an inquiring 
 visitor. 
 
FALLS OF NLVOARA. .'US 
 
 The Canadian Institute occupioa a largo buiMing 
 with a good inuseuin jin<l library. Its transjictioim 
 contain many papei'H of value, an<l most ot'thc scientitic 
 men of Canada arc among its resident or corj ospond- 
 ing members. 
 
 Libraries. — Com|>ai-tMl with other cities, Toronto is 
 well supplied with books. The libraiy of University 
 College contains 30,000 volumes, and all the other 
 colleges have libraries of 5,000 to 10,000 volumes. 
 The library of Osgood Hall, with 20,000 volume.^, 
 is very complete in law, and there is a good library 
 at the Normal School. At the Canadian Institute is a 
 Natui'al History library', and the city lias also a Free 
 Public Library, suj^ported hy the i-atepayers, with 
 branches, forming a circulating library for the use of 
 the citizens on the well known English plan. The 
 library of tlie Legislature contains 18,000 volumes. 
 
 Newspapers.— It is impossil)le to omit mention of the 
 remarkable development of the newspaper press of 
 Toronto. The two leading papers — the Globe and the 
 Mail — are fully al>reast of the newspapers of any 
 city in America, and ahead of all the other cities of 
 the Dominion in enterprise. There are other enter- 
 prising newspapers in Toronto, for the city is rich in 
 periodical literature, and there are other newspapers 
 in the country in which the editorial writing is quite 
 as good, but in enterprise and energy these two papers 
 must be admitted to have the lead. 
 
 TORONTO TO NIAGARA. 
 
 To write about the Falls of Niagara is an impeii:i- 
 nence. Nothing can be said which has not been 
 said already, and, inasmuch as many very skilful pens 
 have striven to describe them, probably said better. 
 Only let the tourist beware of staying too short a 
 time. It will take a clever man to see Niagara at a 
 
314 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 glance. To see Niagara Falls the tourist must, at leasts 
 stay over night and look at them again and again, by 
 day and by night. He must cross the river to Goat 
 Island and go out over the bridges to the farthest of 
 the Three Sisters Islets, and sit down and look and 
 listen, until at last the roar of the cataract and the 
 swirl of the rapids will daze him. Then he may go 
 away and the impression upon his mind will be per- 
 manent. Or. better still, let him go down under the 
 Horseshoe Falls into the Cave of Thunders, if his 
 nerves are stronic. But all these thimi-s can be learned 
 at the hotel, and information will be showered ujDon the 
 tourist in every conceivable manner and beyond the 
 possibility of sudden absorption. To begin to tell of 
 the heroic Brock, and the deeds of 1812 ; of the days 
 of La Salle ; of the exaggerations of Hennepin, who 
 amplified 200 years ago, in good western style ; of the 
 cutting out of the Caroline ; and the thousand inter- 
 esting events associated in the Canadian mind with 
 Niagara is impossible. A second historic spot, how- 
 ever, the tourist referred to at page 290 might have 
 recorded. Near Queenston, Tom Moore wrote ''The 
 Woodpecker," presumably on a '' hollow beech tree,'* 
 once existing between Niagara and Queenston, but 
 which has, alas, long since been whittled away by the 
 jack-knives of historical pilgrims ; but the place where 
 it grew can still be seen. 
 
 The Horse-Shoe Fall.— The more important of the 
 two divisions of the cataract still remains upon the 
 Canadian side ; its nationality having survived the 
 treaties which made such fantastic frontiers else- 
 where. Fortunately there were no islands on the 
 Canadian side. 
 
 The best hotels on the Canadian side are the Clifton 
 House and Prospect House. They command a fine 
 view of the Falls. On the United States side the best 
 are the International Hotel and the Cataract House. 
 
THE PENINSULA. 315 
 
 Niagara Falls are best reached from Toronto by 
 steamer across the Lake to Lewiston ; or directly by 
 the Great Western Division of the Grand Trunk RaiU 
 way. It is a very shoi't excursion, only two hours 
 by rail from Toronto. 
 
 THE PENINSULA. 
 
 The most productive part of the province of 
 Ontario is the peninsula formed by lakes Ontario, 
 Erie and Huron. As has been pointed out elsewhere, 
 in variety of agricultural wealth it surpasses all 
 other parts of the Dominion. In visiting Niagara by 
 railway Hamilton is passed, the fifth city of Canada 
 as to size, containing a population of 35,961. Dur- 
 ing the last ten years this city increased twenty-five 
 per cent, in population. It is a busy stirring place, 
 and the tourist who ma}' imagine it to be a mere pro- 
 vincial town will be surj^rised at the elegance and 
 solidity of the buildings. 
 
 London is at the centre of the peninsula. A city 
 of 19,746 people. Through it all the railways of this 
 part of the j^i'ovince pass. It is situated in the centre 
 of the richest farming country; and from it all that is 
 most worth seeing, to any one interested in agricul- 
 ture, can be easily visited. Near London are the 
 lands occupied by the Indians, the descendents of the 
 haughty warriors who were the terror of the early 
 settlers. The scenery of the peninsula is, for the 
 most part, flat or rolling, save along the edge of the 
 Niagara escar])ment which marks the country from 
 Niagara to Owen Sound with a line of romantic 
 beauty. 
 
 A western town has very little history to vary the 
 happy monotony of its annals. A store at a portage, 
 a saw mill at a rapid, an inn at the intersection of 
 roads usually marks its commencement. The black- 
 smith is soon needed, and as the settlement grows^ 
 other less essential people follow, until, in a few 
 
316 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 years, the settlement will, almost unnoticed, have 
 sprung up into a full-fledged town, with mayor and 
 council, city hall, gas, and the telephone; stores for 
 all the necessary wants of this world, and several 
 kinds of churches for the requirements of the next. 
 The churches will at lirst be of wood ; but let the 
 traveller return in twenty years. The people will not 
 have rested on their oars in the meantime. They 
 cannot rest. There is much still to be done, and the 
 children of the people who attacked the wilderness 
 will never rest until it is completely subdued. There 
 IS much of interest in the peninsula and in its many 
 flourishing towns, bat it lies off the main track to 
 Lake Superior and the west, and our space will not 
 permit further detail. 
 
 FROM TORONTO TO LAKE SUPERIOR. 
 
 There are many lines of steamers upon the upper 
 lakes. For the tourist, only the following need be 
 considered : 
 
 1. The Canadian Pacific Line.— Sailing from Owen 
 Sound direct to Port Arthur, and stopping only at 
 Sault Ste. Marie. All steamers necessarily stop at the 
 Sault, and there is the proper place to change the 
 route, if that be desired. These steamers are steel, 
 Clyde-built vessels, lighted by the electric light, and 
 provided with every comfort. This is the fastest route 
 for Manitoba. The boats sail on Tuesdays, Thui*g- 
 days and Saturdays at 4 p.m., and their course is 
 through the middle of lake Superior. 
 
 2. The Owen Sound Steamship Line.— This line calls 
 at all ports on Manitoulin Island and the north shore 
 of Lakes Huron and Superior as far as Nepigon only. 
 The steamers sail from Owen Sound on Wednesdays 
 .and Saturdays for the Sault, and on Tuesdays and 
 Pi-idays for Nepigon. 
 
LAKE SUPERIOR. 317 
 
 3. The Canada Transit Company's Line—These boats 
 Btart from Cuilingwood but call at Owen Sound. 
 On Wednesdays a steamer sails for Port Arthur 
 direct, and on Tuesdays and Fridays for Port Arthur, 
 calling at Silver Islet on the north shore of the lake. ' 
 
 These three lines take the channel north of Mani- 
 toulin Island, sailing in quiet water, amid the count- 
 less islands of Georgian Eay, and performint^ the ser- 
 vice of the north shore of Lake Superior. The Soutk 
 Shore has attractions of its own. It is sei*\'ed by 
 
 4. The Lake Superior Transit Company. — The boats of 
 this line start every day, except Sundays and Fri- 
 days, from Buffalo, but they can be caught at Sault at 
 Ste. Mary. They coast along the south shore of Lake 
 Superior stopping at all the ports as far as Duluth. 
 
 Tourists desirous of making a coasting circuit of the 
 lake may go up on the north shore to Port Arthur 
 by line No. 3 and then take a boat of the Northwest 
 Transportation Company, line No. 5, to Duluth and 
 return to the Sault by boats of the Lake Superior 
 Transit Company along the south shore, or they may 
 reverse the route ; changing at the Sault. 
 
 5. The North-West Transportation Company.— This is a 
 line of steamers sailing on Tuesdays and Fridays from 
 Sarnia and connecting with the Gi-and Trunk Eailway 
 system. They touch at Goderich, Kincardine and 
 Southampton upon the eastern shore of lake Huron. 
 Their course to Sault Ste. Marie is south of the Mani- 
 tonlin island. From the Sault they go to Port Arthur 
 and Duluth, at which latter point they connect with 
 the Northern Pacilic E. E. and also with the steamers 
 for points on the south shore. Those who wish to 
 see the Peninsula of Ontario may take the Sarnia 
 steamers after passing through the best part of the 
 province by the Great Western division of the Grand 
 Trunk Eailway. Goderich and Kincardine, on Lake 
 Huron, are noted for their salt-works. Ontario ex- 
 ported 197,159 bushels of salt last year. 
 
318 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 TO GEORGIAN BAY. 
 
 Two ports on Georgian Bay are points of departure 
 for the upper lakes — CoUingwood and Owen Sound. 
 The Owen Sound road is formed partly of the Toron- 
 to, Grey & Bruce Railway purchased, and partly of 
 a new road, from Orangeville to Owen Sound, built by 
 the Canadian Pacific. It passes through a rich agri- 
 cultural district. A branch at Oj'ani>:eville leads to a 
 part of the country about Elora abounding in beauti- 
 ful scenery. Owen Sound had 4,486 inhabitants in 
 1881 and is a thriving place. 
 
 The road to CoUingwood is over the Northern 
 Railway, and it passes through the oldest settlements 
 in the province; almost alongside of Yonge street; 
 an avenue hewed out of the forest in the early days of 
 York to open up the old Indian trail to Holland's 
 Landing. The road passes through many a farm 
 with a story. On this line, near ths summit, it was 
 that a number of French royalists settled during 
 the revolution, the Comte de Chains, the Chevalier 
 de St. George, the Comte de Puisage, etc. Scarcely 
 any of their descendants are left. The modern French 
 have lost the expansiveness of the old race which 
 nearly succeeded in making North America a French 
 continent. At Holland Landing commenced the In- 
 dian portage southwards to reach Lake Ontario by 
 the Humber. At AUandale there is a branch road 
 to Barrie and Orillia, on Lake Simcoe, and termi- 
 nating at Penetanguishene, which the busy Ontarian 
 has time to spell only as far as Penetang. 
 
 Concerning Lake Simcoe and the beauty of its 
 scener}', we have space only to say that it is one of 
 the loveliest spots in Canada. Nor does it want in 
 historic interest, for in its neighbourhood were en- 
 acted the dreadful tragedies of the Hiu'on-Iroquois wai'. 
 Here, if there were space, could be narrated deeds of 
 the loftiest heroism and of the most fiendish cruelty. 
 In this corner of Ontario a nation was saved from 
 
LAKE SUPERIOR. 319 
 
 utter extermination only by the intervention of the 
 white strangers. Had the 'French arrived 50 years 
 later the Huron nation would have disappeared as 
 utterly as did the Mound-builders. Later on it be- 
 came the scene of live great battles, in which the Mis- 
 eissaugas an Ojibway tribe overcame the Iroquois and 
 drove them out of the country. At Penetanguisheno 
 was the naval station of the upper lakes where a 
 large force was kept, until the convention of mutual 
 disarmament with the United States. 
 
 Collingwood is a busy town, which in 1881 had a 
 population of 4,446 inabitants. 
 
 LAKE SUPERIOR. 
 
 The dimensions of this lake are given at p. 43. 
 Apart from the novelty of sailing upon a great fresh- 
 water sea 2000 miles from the main Atlantic, the 
 scenery on its shores is impi'essive and grand. There 
 is nothing merely pretty there. ]S"ature assumes a 
 solemn and stern grandeur. It is the great lake of 
 the Ojibways, '^ Kitchi-gami." Listen to an Ojibway 
 chief, Kah-CTC-Ga-Grah-Bowh — vulgarly George Cop- 
 way — describing his country : 
 
 "When I look upon the land of the Ojibways, I cannot but 
 be convinced of the fact that in no other portion of the world 
 can there be a territory more favoured bv Heaven. The waters 
 are abundant and good ; the air bracing and healthy. It is 
 not to be wondered at that, in such a climate, such a strong 
 athletic and hardy race as the Ojibways should exist. There 
 is as much diflerence between them and the tribes of the 
 South as between the strong wind and the gentle zephyr." 
 
 In fact the Iroquois never met a serious check until 
 they came in contact with the Ojibways. 
 
 A recent American traveller gives his impressions 
 as follows : — 
 
 The place of Lake Superior, among all bodies of fresh 
 water is unique, with its vast expanse, its headlands that 
 
320 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 repeat Gibraltar, its islands that lie in the distance like 
 mountains of opaque amethyst in beds of turquoise, blue, 
 or silver, and its waters, cold as the v/aters of the pole, and 
 so clear that you look at a depth of 50 feet upon beds of 
 rock, white with silver veins, paved with phosphorescent 
 spar or glittering with copper, where Isle Royale stretches 
 her jewelled fingers beneath the waves. 
 
 The course of the steamers from Owen Sound and 
 CoUingwood is invariably inside of the barrier of 
 islands which shelters Georgian Bay from the sweep 
 of the waves of the main lake 
 
 " within the wilderness 
 Of Huron, clasping those transparent bays, 
 Those deeps of unimagined crystal, where 
 The bark canoe seems hung in middle air." 
 
 On the left is the bluff of Cabot's Head, a pro- 
 longation of the escarpment previously referred to at 
 p. 284. Then follows the Grand Manitoulin Island 80 
 miles long by 20 wide, with a large Indian popu- 
 lation of the Ojibway nation. The east coast of 
 the bay is rocky and bold and is studded with 
 an infinity of small islands. As the steamer pro- 
 ceeds to Manitouwahning, the islands become very 
 numerous, and she seems landlocked in the tortuous 
 channel of this island maze. On the north shore 
 the Lacloche Mountains — the rugged border of the* 
 lake — close in the view ; and at the north-east cor- 
 ner of the bav the French Eiver dischara^es the 
 waters of Lake Xipissing, down whose rapid stream 
 came Champlain in a bark canoe in the year 1615, 
 on his visit to Ihe Huron nation in their towns near 
 CoUingwood, five years before the Pilgrim Fathers 
 landed at Plymouth Eock. The channel broadens to 
 the west, but Cockburn and Drummond Islands still 
 shelter it from the swell of the lake. Opposite Bruce 
 Mines St. Joseph's Island commences ; a large island 
 at the mouth of St. Mary's river, which is the name 
 the St. Lawrence bears here. At Garden River is an - 
 
LAKE SUPERIOR. 321 
 
 Indian reserve. The next stoppin<^^ place is Sault Ste. 
 Marie, or, in the language of the country, '' The Soo,'' 
 an important place, for all steamers stop there to pass 
 through the Canal rendered necessary by the Falls 
 of St. Mary. The first canal was built in 1853-5 ly a 
 company under a contract with the State of Michigan. 
 Since then a new canal has been made. It is one mile 
 long with one lock, 515 feet in length, admitting 
 vessels of 16 feet draught, and overcoming a rise of 
 18 feet. The width of the canal varies from 108 
 to 270 feet. The old canal has two locks of 350 feet 
 each. Both are on the United States side. This was 
 a more important place, relatively, in old days when 
 grand councils of Indian nations were convened here, 
 and voyageurs held their revels on their return from 
 the far west. 
 
 After the Sault the next stopping place is Batcha- 
 waning Bay. On all the north shore the coast is bold 
 and wild. Cascades without number fall down over 
 the steep cliffs, and, although the steamers keep well 
 out into the lake, the air is so clear that the shores 
 are seen at a great distance. Michipicoton Island and 
 Biver are the next stopping places. An important 
 post this, in the fur trade ; for, by a very short 
 portage, the head waters of the Moose Eiver, falling 
 into Hudson's Bay, are reached. The Michipicoton 
 River is navigable up to the Falls, 15 miles distant. 
 The island rises 800 feet above the lake. At Pic River, 
 the next port, is another Hudson's Bay post. Nepigon 
 Bay is sheltered by islands from the swell of the 
 lake. It is a large bay 40 miles long by 15 miles 
 wide, studded with numberless islands. The land rises 
 to 1000 or 1300 feet. The river is the outlet of Lake 
 Nepigon, a large lake frequented by sportsmen. At 
 last the grand outlines of Thunder Cape, an immense 
 mass of trap, appear like a lion couchant ; and opposite 
 to it is Pie Island. At the entrance of the Bay is 
 Silver Islet, a patch of rock scarcely large enough 
 for a log hut, from which a fabulous quantity of silver 
 21 
 
322 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 ha8 been taken. All along the north shore native 
 copper occurs. The countiy must depend for deve- 
 lopcment upon its mineral resources which fortunately 
 are great, tor it is a veritable giant-lan(i. Thunder- 
 Bay is an extensive sheet of water, running 40 miles 
 into the land, and surrounded by grand scenery. All 
 around are clitfs rising 1000 to 1500 feet boldly out 
 of the lake. Into it falls the Kaministiquia Eiver, at 
 whose mouth in 1G78 Daniel Greysolon, Sieur du Luth, 
 built his fort and traded with the Sioux of the head 
 waters of the Mississippi. At the head of the Bay is 
 Prince Arthur's Landing, now called Port Arthur. 
 Far away to the west is the land to which 
 
 departed Hiawatha 
 Hiawatha the Beloved, 
 In the glory of the sunset, 
 In the purple mists of evening, 
 To the regions of the home-wind, 
 Of the North-west wind Keewaydin, 
 ^i'^ the islands of the Blessed, 
 To the kingdom of Ponemah 
 To the land of the Hereafter ! 
 
 Always to the west — the land of the indetinite. 
 Greeks, Egyptians or Ojibways — it is the same story. 
 
 Botany.— As noted on page 2T4 the flora of the north 
 shores of Lakes Superior and Huron is of sub-arctic 
 type, the physical conditions of a large body of cold 
 water with a low equable temperature and a moist 
 atmosphere being somewhat akin to those existing 
 on the shores of the Gulf of St. Lawrence. This 
 influence does not, however, extend to any great dis- 
 tance inland, where the vegetation is of the ordinary 
 Canadian type. Of ferns some interesting species 
 are found here : — Cryptogramme acrostichoides, a high 
 noi'thern plant, scarcely distinct from the European 
 C. crispa, occurs on Isle Eoyale ; Pella^a gracilis, with 
 its long slender cord-like rootstock and its delicate 
 stipes and fronds, is widespread ; Aspleniujn viride is 
 
QEOLOOY. 323 
 
 found at Owen Sound, and doubtless occurs elsewhere ; 
 Polystichiim fragrajis, which Sir \Vm. Hooker terms 
 ^'one of the most beautiful of all ferns," remarkable 
 for the persistence of its dead fronds and for its strong 
 aromatic odour ; P. Lonchitis and P. Fllix-mas, both 
 scarce and local in America ; the ubiquitous Ci/stea 
 fragilis in many of its protean forms, the purely North 
 American C. fjublifera, and at Pic Kiver and elsewhere 
 the beautiful C. moiitana, whose only other recorded 
 American stations are in the northern Kocky Moun- 
 tains and at Amour in the Strait of Belleisle ; Woodsia 
 7/i:6n5^'s on rocky banks everywhere, W.hyperborea, W. 
 glabella^ and W. Oregana — the latter, a purely North 
 American plant, found sparingly on the south shore ; 
 Scolopendrium vulgare, extremely local in America, 
 occurs at Owen Sound ; and the Botrychlums are fully 
 represented — the species, following Milde's nomencla- 
 ture, being B. Lunara, B. matrlcarujefoUum, B. lanceo- 
 latiwi, B. simplex, B. ternatum (numerous forms, in- 
 cluding rutaceum, Schkuhi*, lunarioides, Michaux, and 
 obllquum, Muhlenberg), and B. virginanum. Taken as 
 a whole, the fern flora of Lake Superior is more 
 Asiatic than European, and about one half of the 
 whole number of species found here also enter the 
 Arctic circle. 
 
 Dr. George M. Dawson, F.G.S., contributes the fol- 
 lowing sketch of the geology of the country from 
 Owen Sound to the Eockv Mountains. 
 
 LAKE HURON TO THE ROCKY MOUNTAINS. 
 
 At Owen Sound, whence the C. P. E. steamers 
 leave for Port Arthur, rocks from the Hudson River 
 to the Niagara occur, and many fossil corals are ob- 
 tained in the limestones of the latter formation. The 
 peninsula, which forms the west side of Georgian Bay, 
 and the south shore of the Manitoulin Islands, arc 
 
324 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 chiefly composed of the Niagara limestones, in a 
 nearly horizontal position. On approaching the Sault 
 St. Marie, lower rocks occupy the shores, and in 
 passing through the canal tlie peculiar red and spot- 
 ted sandstones of this locality, which are of Potsdam 
 or Chazy age, are well seen. 
 
 Isle Koyale, off the entrance to Thunder Bay, is 
 noted for its deposits of native oopper, while Silver 
 Islet, near to Thunder Cape, is the site of a silver 
 mine which has proved exceptionally rich. 
 
 The scenery of the shores of Thunder Bay is very 
 fine, its most remarkable features being Thunder Cape, 
 Pie Island and McKay's Mountain, all of which are 
 capped by massive contemporaneous trap flows. The 
 rocks of tlie shores of the bay are those of the 
 Animiki, or base of the upper copper bearing group 
 of Sir W. E. Logan. They are nearly horizontal and 
 overlie the Huronian and Laui'entian rocks inland 
 quite unconformably. 
 
 On the line of railway from this point to the Lake 
 of the Woods a number of alternating bands of 
 Laurentian and Huronian rocks are crossed. 
 
 Near Keewatin or Eat Portage, where the Winnipeg 
 River issues from the Lake of the Woods, a junction 
 (probably faulted) of the Laurentian and Huronian 
 formations may be observed in the immediate vicinity 
 of the railway. Further west, the overlap of the 
 Silurian limestones of the Winnipeg basin is concealed 
 by drift deposits, which cover the surface of the coun- 
 try and consist generally of stratified sands and 
 gravels overlying the boulder-clay. The Hed Eiver 
 valley is entirely of alluvial formation, consisting of 
 the sediments of a former great post-glacial lake to 
 which the name Lake Agassiz has been given. 
 
 In continuing westward, the edge of the second prai- 
 rie-steppe(el8ewhere well defined) is gradually mounted 
 by the railway, which follows the Assiniboine valley. 
 On this prairie-level the underlying rocks are seen 
 only in the scai*ped banks of the deeper river-valleys, 
 
GEOLOGY, 325 
 
 the Hurfiico consistiiiii; of a <^vci\t depth of drift. In tl\o 
 vicinity of Moose Jaw the edijro of the third pniirie- 
 steppe is anproiiched, and mixy he ohserved extending 
 along the horizon to the south-west. This is the so- 
 called Mis.souri Coteaii, one of the most remarkahlo 
 results of glacial action on the continent. West of 
 Moose Jaw the Coteau helt is crossed, and numerous 
 valleys show the chaiacter of the drift deposits. At 
 this point the Coteau is, however, divided into two 
 zones by a wi<le flat area covered with alluvium, of 
 which Old Wives Lakes occupy a part. 
 
 Further west, the line skirts the northern edge of 
 the Cypress Hills, a remarkable plateau consisting 
 of cretaceous rocks, capped by miocene gi'avels, the 
 existence of which was determined for the tirst time 
 last summer. At Medicine Hat and other stations 
 near this place ver3Mnteresting and extensive sections 
 of cretaceous coal-bearing rocks occur, and one mine is 
 already in active operation. Eemains of Deinosaurs 
 and other reptiles have been observed here in some 
 abundance. West of Medicine Hat as far as Calgary, 
 the line passes along the west side of the Bow River 
 over a heavily drift-covered plain. At Calgary the 
 Laramie rocks, overlying the Cretaceous, are well 
 exposed. Prom this point the Rocky Mountains are 
 in full view, and the railway'- continuing westward 
 along the Bow River exhibits in numerous cuttings 
 and in the banks of the river and valley, good sections 
 of the Laramie and Cretaceous rocks, which, on ap- 
 proaching the mountains more closely, become folded 
 together and lie at all angles up to verticality. Large 
 collections of fossil plants of Laramie age have been 
 obtained near Calgary. 
 
 At the base of the mountains the Coniferous trees 
 characterizing the western slope are first met with, 
 and a flora for the most part distinct from that left in 
 the wooded country east of Winnipeg. 
 
 Bow River Falls, at the mouth of the Kanaskis, are 
 
326 PROVINCE OF ONTARIO. 
 
 oxtrcmcly ]>ic'lnreHqiio, and Hcctions of CretaccouB 
 HumlHtones and sliales occur in the banks. 
 
 Near Padmorc, the Palieozoic rockH of the moun- 
 tainn are readied, their junction witli tlie Cretaceous 
 Hories being a faulted one with downthrow eastward. 
 Ghicial grooviiii^, due to a foi'iner Bow River gla- 
 cier, is observable here ; and the scenery, which from 
 Calgary to this }K)int is very tine, liere becomes grand 
 and rugged as the ])ass is entered. Tlie mountains 
 bordering the valley are chiefly composed of very 
 massive limestones of Devonian or Devono-carboni- 
 ferous age. At the junction of Cascade Eiver with 
 the Bow Eiver, a remarkable isolated trough or fold of 
 Cretaceous rocks occui's, occu})ying a wide valley with 
 a north-west and south-east course. The rocks contain 
 coal seams which have assumed the character o€ 
 anthracite, and are ali'cady being opened up, though 
 discovered only last summer. 
 
 Westward fi-om this point the line affords magni- 
 ficent views of the mountains constituting the main 
 chain of the Eockies. Deposits of copper ore have 
 been found near Castle Mountain, and silver ores are 
 reported from the same vicinity. Before reaching 
 the continental watershed, the valley is occupied by 
 rocks of an older series which unconformably under- 
 lie the limestones of the higher peaks. These rocks, 
 consisting of slates, quartzites, etc., are probably Cam- 
 brian, though no fossils have yet been discovered in 
 this locality. Numerous exceedingly fine views occur 
 near the summit, and on the west slope are several 
 true glaciers, while many of the higher peaks are 
 covered, more or less completely, with perennial snow. 
 
 G. M. D. 
 
MANITOBA AND THE NORTH-WEST. 
 
 Concerning this— the jn-airie ])rovinc'e of (^aniuhi— 
 much need not be said here ; hecaiise nunieroiis pub- 
 licationw rehiting to it are widoly distributed ; and uIho 
 because to write about it demands an extensive use of 
 the future tense which a stJ'anger visitor can emi)loy 
 lor himself with as niucli accuracy as a resident. The 
 continued advance of settlement, moreover, makes 
 any guide book antiquated a few months after publi- 
 cation. 
 
 The West is the country of infinite possibilities. 
 Thither go the knights-errant of this age— not to 
 rescue distressed damsels, for damsels are ju-ovokingly 
 scarce there, and are more apt to distress the knights 
 — but to conquer every kind of difficulty and to solve 
 every kind of riddle which Nature presents to her 
 sturdier children — sure at last of the recompense of 
 a competency in a healthy climate among congenial 
 surroundings. 
 
 History.— The whole country west and north of the 
 St. Lawrence water-shed formed part of the domain 
 granted by Charles II. to the Hudson's Bay Company 
 in 1670. They occupied the mouths of the rivers and 
 traded with the Indians of the basin which drained 
 into the Bay. 
 
 The French of Canada had reached the entrance of 
 Lake Superior in 1G41. The Huron-Iroquois war 
 closed the country for a while, but in 1670 the Jesuits 
 had a mission at La Point e upon its southern shore. 
 Daniel Greysolon du Luth went up to the North-West 
 in 1678, and a little later built a fort at Kaministiquia, 
 near Fort William, where he lived an adventurous life 
 
328 MANITOBA AND THE NORTH-WEST. 
 
 trading with the Indians; sometimes leading them to 
 the assistance of the French otfteers, sometimes defy- 
 ing the king's edicts, arid sometimes tighting for his 
 life with tlie wild trihes around him. 
 
 It is, however, to Pierre Gauthier de Yarennes — 
 Sicur de hi Verendrye — that the credit of opening up 
 Manitoba is due. He, with four of his sons, a nephew, 
 and a Jesuit priest, travei'sed it in 1738-48, and in the 
 course of liis eventful life he founded posts there, and 
 gave names to K)calities which they retain to this 
 day. He founded Fort Maurepas, now Fort Alex- 
 ander at the mouth of the Winnipeg River, Fort 
 Houge at the mouth of the Red River, Fort de la Reine 
 on the site of the city of Winnijieg, Fort du Grande- 
 Rapide at tlie Rapids of the Saskatchewan, and Forts 
 du Pas and La Corne farther up on the same river. 
 His sons discovered the Rocky Mountains, though 
 they did not ci'oss them. His life was more romantic 
 than the wildest sensational novel of our day. He 
 died broken down with debt and misfortune. Then 
 followed the war with the English, in which his 
 sons were killed, and for a while a curtain fell over 
 the West. 
 
 As soon as peace was declared and the English 
 began to settle at Montreal, they took up the enter- 
 prises of the French. The North-W^cst Company was 
 formed, and one of its partners, Sir Alex. Mackenzie, 
 crossed the Rocky Mountains and reached the Colum- 
 bia. He also discovered the river now called by his 
 name and traced it to the Arctic Ocean. Then came 
 the struggle betw^een the Xorth-West and the Hudson's 
 Bay Companies which broke out into open war ; fol- 
 lowed by an amalgamation and once more the curtain 
 was drawn over the western land ; until at last, in 
 1869, Canada purchased the Hudson's Bay Company's 
 rights and opened it to the world. 
 
 Area. — The area of Manitoba, separate from the 
 yorth-West Territories and the four districts of As- 
 
PHYSICAL FEATURES. 329 
 
 siniboia, Saskatchewan, Athabaska and Alberta, is 
 given in the census as 123,200 square miles, but the 
 eastern boundary is still in dispute with Ontario, and 
 the Privy Council will have to decide the question. 
 
 Physical Features.— The gifts of Providence are 
 bestowed with wisdom — not all upon one country lest 
 all mankind should want to settle there, and another 
 tower of Babel be required. The North West from 
 the valley of the Red Eiver to the Eocky Mountains 
 has no features. It is one vast illimitable plain 
 endowed with a monotony of fertility. The entrance 
 to it from Lake Superior is through a belt of rough 
 country abounding in lakes and streams and rocks, 
 but the great characteristic of the country is the 
 prairie, stretching out to the Rocky Mountains, which 
 for unknown ages has been the pasture land of 
 innumerable herds of buffalo. Upon the south it 
 is bounded by the arid plateau of the Missouri, and 
 upon the north by the forest region north of the 
 Saskatchewan. Travelling westward, three plains, at 
 diflPerent levels, are crossed before reaching the Rocky 
 Mountains. The first extends nearly to the western 
 boundary of Manitoba; up to an escarpment called by 
 various names as Pembina, Riding, Duck and Porcu- 
 pine Mountains. This, when surmounted, turns out 
 to be but the edge of a more elevated plain, which 
 extends nearly to Battleford and Regina. Thence the 
 land rises a step higher and sweeps in an unbroken 
 level to the Rocky Mountains. Through these plains 
 the rivers have worn deep valleys, so that from the 
 deck of a steamer the view is extremely limited. 
 
 Soil.— The soil of Manitoba is a strong black vegeta- 
 ble mould from 18 inches to many feet deep, which 
 the English Tenant Farmere' delegates report will 
 produce 40 bushels of wiieat to the acre the first year, 
 and 30 bushels annually for 30 successive years with- 
 out manure. The produce over the whole province 
 
330 MANITOBA AND THE NORTH-WEST. 
 
 in 1882 was 32 bushels of wheat, 37 bushels of barley, 
 51 of oats, and 278 of potatoes to the acre. 
 
 The Eailway does not pass through the best of 
 the country after leaving Regina. The most produc- 
 tive area is on the North Saskatchewan, at Prince 
 Albert and Edmonton, and further north on the Peace 
 Eiver. 
 
 Climate.— It seems strange that there should ever 
 have been a question concerning the climate of a coun- 
 try which the buffalo — an animal without political pre- 
 judices — has, for unknown ages, selected as his winter 
 home. Blodgett, in his Climatology, published thirty 
 years ago, summed up the matter in the following 
 sentence : "The fact of the presence of these vast herds 
 '' of wild cattle on plains at so high a latitude is ample 
 '' proof of the climatological and productive capacity of 
 "the country." As the buffalo live upon grass it would 
 seem evident that there must he grass in any place to 
 which they resort. Lord Milton and Dr. Cheadle 
 report that their horses, turned out in the fall upon the 
 open prairie, were caught in the spring so well nour- 
 ished that they were like " balls of fat." Agents for 
 lands in the United States are continually spreading 
 evil reports of the Canadian North-west. It is better 
 to rely upon the experience of the buffalo, who make 
 no percentage by misleading settlers. At St. Paul 
 and upon the Peace Eivers the spring opens at the 
 same date. The navigation of the Red River is open 
 as early as that of the St. Lawrence, and in the years 
 1871 to 1881 the Red River was open ten days before 
 the opening of the Erie Canal. 
 
 Productions.— The North-west is above all else an 
 inexhaustible wheat mine. How many hundreds of 
 thousands of years ago it was, when the alluvial stib- 
 stratum was deposited, only geologists know ; but in- 
 numerable herds of buffalo have grazed over these 
 plains for unknown ages, and, since man arrived, the 
 
PRODUCTIONS. 331 
 
 long grass has been annually burned. Into all this 
 accumulated wealth of agricultural possibilities the 
 present generation has entered. 
 
 Not less remarkable is the abund.^nce of coal ; not 
 lignite only, but true bituminous coal. At Bow and 
 Eelly Eivers, at Souris, at Edmonton and far north 
 on the Peace Eiver — all over this vast territory in 
 fact, coal seams crop out, some of them ten to twenty 
 feet in thickness. A few months ago only a cut- 
 ing for the railway in the Kicking-horse pass opened 
 a seam of anthracite. Bitumen and petroleum abound 
 on the Athabasca, where are also found springs of 
 mineral pitch. Salt spi-ings exist near lakes Manitoba 
 and Winnipegoosis and elsewhere, from which salt is 
 manufactured in a rude way. 
 
 The productive character of the gold-bearing rocks 
 at Rat Portage has not been well ascertained. 
 Eight companies are now at work, and the present 
 year will prove them. At the head waters of the 
 Saskatchewan gold has been washed out on the bars for 
 some time, and reports are continually brought in of 
 discoveries which, in themselves seem very probable, 
 and which mav be verified at anv moment, for there 
 18 every indication of rich gold deposits. 
 
 As a cattle-raising country the Xorth-west is pre- 
 eminent. Where herds of wild cattle could flourish 
 herds of tame cattle can likewise flourish, and large 
 ranches are now established near the foot-hills of the 
 Bockies. 
 
 Of all these things travellers will themselves judge. 
 Canadians residing in old Canada know no more 
 of them than others. Every year brings new ca- 
 pabilities to light, and demonstrates the probabilities 
 of the previous year. The most enterprising of the 
 Canadian people, the sturdy farmers of Ontario, are 
 pressing into the country ; and a steady stream of 
 emigration fi-om England is flowing into it. Prophecy 
 is easy concerning it, but the reality of to-day ex- 
 ceeds the wildest prophecy of twenty years ago. The 
 
332 MANITOBA AND THE NORTH-WEST. 
 
 country has only one pest, worse than mosquitoi?, 
 the speculators, called in vivid western parlance, 
 " boomsters," who fortunately have, for the moment, 
 burst themselves in a vain attempt to drink up the 
 whole Xorth-West. 
 
 THE PROVISIONAL DISTRICTS. 
 
 These were erected in 1882 for the convenience of 
 settlers. They are — Assiniboia, comprising 95,000 
 square miles; Saskatchewan, 114,000 square miles; 
 Alberta, 100,000 quare miles; and Athabasca, 122,- 
 OOO square miles. Much of what has been said under 
 the head of Manitoba is applicable to these territories 
 also. 
 
 Perhaps the most important question now before 
 the Western j^eople is that of the navigation of Hud- 
 son's Bay and Straits. The Dominion Government 
 has oi'ganized an expedition (which sailed in July) to 
 set this question at rest. Seven parties will be left 
 during the winter, three on each side of the straits 
 and one at Fort Churchill, to make observations as to 
 the opening and close of navigation and the move- 
 ments of the ice. If it be found possible to open up 
 a regular and '^ertain trade by way of Hudson's Bay, 
 the consequences are far-reaching, — ocean shipping 
 will be brought into the very heart of the continent. 
 Most antagonistic views upon this subject are held 
 in Canada, and, in view of the steps now taken to 
 solve the question, discussion in the absence of data 
 is lost time. 
 
BRITISH COLUMBIA. 
 
 This is the largest province in the Confederation, and 
 contains an area of 341,305 square miles— equal to the 
 aggregate areas of France, Belgium, Holland and 
 Italy. It is also the most sparsely peopled, for the total 
 population at the last census was only 49,459, of which 
 26,661 were Indians. There are, therefore, but 22.798 
 white people in all that vast territory. Four thousand 
 less than the number on the poor-rate in England, in 
 that year in the county of Devon alone. 
 
 This province would seem to be the natural habitat 
 of the Anglo-Saxon upon the Pacific Ocean. The Japan 
 cuiTent corresponds to the Gulf stream, and throws 
 upon its shores a body of warm water, which in like 
 manner as in England moves the isothermal line far 
 northward. The climate of Victoria is like that of the 
 British Channel Islands. The mean temperatui*e 
 during the year is 50°. The lowest mean monthly 
 figure being, for December, 38°, and the highest, for 
 July, 53*8. The climate of Port Simpson, the most 
 northern point, is almost as mild, and none of the 
 harboui's ever freeze. Upon the main-land, as the 
 mountains are ascended, the climate becomes drier 
 and more severe, and the loftiei' ranges are clothed 
 with snow all the year round. 
 
 The coast line is very remarkable. It is an endless 
 succession of deep and sheltered harbours — an inter- 
 minable labyi'inth of inlets and islands and channels — 
 where the largest ship may sail for many days without 
 fear of shoals, and where the lighest canoe may go 
 immense distances without feai^ of rough water. The 
 country has been unfortunate enough to be the subject 
 
334 BRITISH COLUMBIA. 
 
 of negotiation twice. The iirst time, the southern 
 territoiy as far as the Cohunbia was carved away ; 
 the second time, a few small adherent islands were 
 scraped off. 
 
 The rivers teem with fish. The attention of the 
 people is, however, concentrated upon the salmon ; 
 of which there are several species, the earliest 
 arriving in March, and the latest remaining until 
 winter. In 1882, the exj^orts of canned salmon were 
 250,000 cases, valued at S1,24T,000. The Indians are 
 very useful in these " canneries," and of the 3,000 
 persons employed in this industry, a large proportion 
 are Indians. Herring, haddock and other food fishes 
 are abundant, but do not attract much attention. The 
 current pi-ice of salmon in Victoria is 2Jd. stg. the 
 pound. They swarm in all the rivers, and in the 
 Fraser they are found 1,000 miles from the sea. 
 
 The mildness and humidity of the climate, due to 
 the condensation upon the mountains of the warm 
 Japan current, cause this province to abound in lumber. 
 The trees grow to an immense size. But king of all 
 trees is the Douglas fir. A section of one may be 
 seen at Ottawa on the Parliament grounds 8 feet 4 
 inches in diameter. It is a section taken 20 feet from 
 the ground out of a tree 305 feet high. At page 23 is a 
 list of the chief trees of the Province. They all 
 attain great proportions, but the Douglas Fir is the 
 loftiest of all. Masts of this tree, 130 feet long, are 
 often made. The timber-producing resources of the 
 province are practically untouched ; for capital and 
 population are I'^king to develop them. The market 
 at present is San Francisco, where British Columbia 
 timber finds ready sale at remunerative rates. 
 
 The destiny of the province will probably be decided 
 by the abundance and excellent quality of its coal. 
 The Nanaimo coal has been used by the war vessels of 
 the Pacific squadron for many years. This coal field is 
 130 miles in length along the east coast of Yancouver 
 Island. On the north of the island the Comox coal is 
 
RESOURCES. 335 
 
 found at Barclay Sound. On the main land at the 
 mouth of the Fraser Kivoi-, coal is found, and the coal 
 field of the Nicola Valley, on the Thompson River is 
 100 miles long by -40 miles broad. At many other 
 places important deposits have been noted. At the 
 Queen Chai-lotte Islands valuable mines of true anthra- 
 cite have been discovered. Important ores of iron 
 occur in close proximity to the Xanaimo coal. 
 
 Since the year 1858, when gold was discovered, the 
 total vield to the end of 1882 from irold-mininff 
 amounted to $46,685,334. The placer mines have 
 been to a great extent worked out; but quartz-mining 
 is as yet in its infancy. The cost of sending supplies 
 up to the mines has prevented their rapid develoi)- 
 ment. The railway will remedv that disadvantage. 
 The product of gold in 1882 was^l, 013,827. 
 
 It is not as a farming country that the pi'ovince will 
 chiefly be celebrated. There is, no doubt, much good 
 land in the valleys and on the estuaries. In the Peace 
 river district there ai*c extensive prairie-^, and much 
 excellent grazing land is found in the interior. But 
 it wdll be long before the prairie land on the east of 
 the mountains will be taken up and the railway con- 
 necting these regions will develop each in its natural 
 order. 
 
 . For grandeur of scenery this province is unequalled. 
 It is traversed by four ranges of mountains, the 
 Eockies, the Selkirk range, the Gold range, and the 
 Cascade ran2:e. Among these and their outliers are 
 numerous long and profoundly deep lakes, whose 
 waters hurry down the steep inclines by many chan- 
 nels to the sea. The chief river is the Fraser, which 
 extends in navigable stretches far into the interior, 
 interrupted by rapids and falls where it breaks 
 through the mountain ranges. The mountain peaks 
 are snow-capped all the year round. 
 
i 
 
DOMINION LINl OF STEAHSNIPS 
 
 RUNNING IN CONNECTION WITH 
 
 THE GRAND TRUNK RAILWAY OF CANADA. 
 
 BrooldTn, 
 Sarnia, • 
 Montreal, 
 Ontario, - 
 Tezas, - 
 
 Tons 
 
 4500 
 3750 
 3300 
 320C 
 2750 
 Vancouver, 
 
 Tons. 
 
 Oregon, - - 3750 
 
 Toronto, - 3300 
 
 Dominion, - 3200 
 
 Mississippi, 2600 
 
 (Quebec, - - 2600 
 5300 Tons. 
 
 — BETWEEN — 
 
 QUEBEC AND LIVERPOOL IN SUMMER, 
 
 — AND — 
 
 PORTLAND, Me., & LIVERPOOL IN WINTER 
 
 Theee Pteamors are all of the highest class, full-powered, ani 
 Clyde-built iu water-tight compartments, commanded by men of 
 large experience, and carry a full staff of Stewards, Stewardesses, 
 and a Surgeon for the comfort and convenience of passengers. 
 
 The Saloons, Stateroous, Music Room, Bath Rooms and Smok- 
 ing Room in " Vancouver," " Oregon '' and " Sarnia" are amid- 
 ships, where but little motion is felt, and are handsomely fitted up. 
 
 The passage from Quebec being nearly 500 miles shorter than 
 from New York, and three days of it in the comparatively smooth 
 waters of the Gulf and River Si. Xatrre/ice, makes this route the 
 most desirable for passengers. 
 
 Rates of passage from Quebec or Portland : — Cabin, $50 to $80, 
 according to steamer and accomodation ; Intermediate and Steerage 
 at lowest rates. 
 
 For further particulars apply to 
 
 Flinn, Main, & Montgomery, 
 
 Man. Directors, 
 24 James St., I.ITERPOOL. 
 
 David Torrance & Co., 
 
 General Agents, 
 
 MOBTTREAIi. 
 
J^The Crown Lands Department has under its direction and con- 
 trol many matters of public interest to which the attention of 
 capitalists, settlers, and others is specially drawn. 
 
 NETTLEMEMT LANDS. 
 
 It offers to the settler the choice of a variety of land, from the 
 Ottawa Valley on the west to the Labrador coast on the east 
 affording a variety of soil, climate and value unequalled elsewhere. 
 
 The priceji and conditions are of the most favorable character, 
 and every possible facility is afforded to the bona fide settler to 
 discharge the conditions of his purchase. 
 
 MISTEH. 
 
 A variety and abundance of mines exist throughout the entire 
 Province. In the Ottawa Valley rich nho.«phate mines have been 
 discovered, and in many places are now being worked to great profit. 
 
 In the Beauce di.-trict valuable gold nnnes exist, which liave 
 for many years attracted the attention of capitalists. 
 
 Valuable Afbef^tos mines have al.«^o been discovered, which are 
 being worked to advantage. 
 
 To the North of the St. Lawrence, below Quebec, a region com- 
 paratively unknown, valuable ochre mines have already been 
 discovered, and there is every reason to believe that valuable 
 mineial deposits of other kinds are to be found there. 
 
 Copper and iron mines have also been found in various sections 
 of the Province, some of which have proved and are now proving 
 a profitable investment. 
 
 FISHERIES. 
 
 The fishing privileges are of great value, especially those of the 
 Salmon fishing on the innumerable rivers flowing into the Lower 
 St. Lawrence and the Saguenay. 
 
 The inland lakes, which are unsurpassed for the beauty of 
 scenery surrounding them, also abjund in fish, and the Depart- 
 ment has already leased a number of them to individuals and 
 clubs for fishing purposes. 
 
 GAME. 
 
 Attention has also in the past been given lo the protection of our 
 game, anu it is the purpose and intention of the Department in the 
 future to exercise a more vigilant protection, with the view of in- 
 creasing their value and importance. 
 
 Any information with reference to any of the foregoing subjects 
 will be cheerfully given by the officers of the Department on appli- 
 cation therefor. 
 
 W. W. I.YNCH, 
 
 Quebec, 1st July, 1884. Commissioner, 
 
FREE FARMS FOR THE MILLION 
 
 IN THE BEAUTIFUL PROVINCE OF 
 
 Manitoba and Canadian Nortli-West 
 
 have 150,000,000 acres of the best Wheat Land in the world, and 
 50,000,000 acres of the best Grazing; Land. 
 
 RAIL^VAY COMMUNICATION 
 
 open to all parts of the Continent. The Canada Pacific is now 
 running about 900 miles west of Winnipeg, and has now reached 
 the summit of the Rocky Mountains'. Railway line from Winnipeg 
 to Thunder Bay now running. Total length of Canada Pacific 
 completed, about 2,000 mile-^. Length expected to be completed 
 within one year, from Callander to Port Arthur, 2,500 miles. 
 Government section on Pacific coast, rails already laid, 144 miles. 
 Entire line to Pacific Ocean expected to be running in 1885. 
 
 THE GREAT WHEAT BELT. 
 
 Red River Valley, Saskatchewan Valley, and great Canadian 
 Prairie^*, the large.-^t Wheat Growing Area of the Continent of 
 North America. Richest and Deepest soil, ready for the plough. 
 Heavy Wheat (weighing 65 lb.*, to the bushel). Heavy Crops, and 
 Ready Markets. Average product of fair farming, 80 bushels to 
 the acre. 
 
 GREAT COAL FIELDS. 
 
 The Largest Coal Fields in the World, and within easy reach, 
 are in the Canadian North-West, in connection with Iron, Gold, 
 Silver and other valuable minerals. 
 
 HOMESTEADS. 
 
 s^One hundred and sixty acres given free to every settler in 
 Manitoba and the North-Wei-t. 
 
 Healthy Climate--llo Fevers, No Agues, No Endemic Diseases. 
 
 Full detailed information, in Pamphlets and Maps, fur- 
 nished (gratis and post free) on application to the 
 
 DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, 
 
 OTTAWA, CANADA. 
 
THE GRAND TRUNK RAILWAY 
 
 OF CANADA 
 
 Affords the readiest means of communication between tlie principal 
 places in Q,aebe€ and Ontario with the 
 
 LOWER PROVINCES, THE EASTERN AND CENTRAL STATES, 
 
 AS WELL AS WITH 
 
 CHICAGO AUD THE WESTERN AND NORTHWESTERN STATES 
 
 ALSO REACHING 
 
 Manitoba and the Xortli-We^t Territory 
 
 by its steamer connections on tlie Oreat I^akes, in addition to its 
 alJ-rail connections. 
 This hne., with the Canafla Atlantic Railway, provides the 
 
 shortest route between 
 
 MONTREAL AND OTTAWA; 
 
 with the €taicag:o and Grand Trunk Railway, the shortest line 
 
 between 
 
 MONTREAL AND CHICAGO, 
 
 and it reaches nearly every part of Ontario by its own lines 
 thus reducing transfers and changes to a minim iiin. It has 
 Tlironglft ('ar6 on Tbroagli Traini^, Parlor and Dinidg €ar» 
 on Day Trains, Sleepinf? Cars on ^^igrlit Trains, and Ba^ag^e 
 
 ie checked through. These advantages, with steel Rails 
 Superior Rolling Stock, A-c, enable the G. T. R. to meet the 
 requirements of the travelling public as well as any line on the 
 continent. 
 Every facility is afforded for reaching 
 
 SUMMER PLEASURE RESORTS. 
 
 The Lowei ^ . l.awrence and the Sagnenay Rivers, the 
 White 9Ioant«»m:.is, I^ake Champlain, Lake Oeorge, Saratoga, 
 
 are all points to which passengers are ticketed by this hne. 
 
 ExcTirsion tickets are also issued, either all rail or in connec- 
 lion with steamboat lines, to places West, such as i.ake Superior 
 and l^ake Huron Ports, Niagara Falls, Kingston and the 
 Thousand Islands, Aq. 
 
 Tickets and further information as to G. T. R. routes can be 
 had at the ticket offices of the G. T. R. and connecting hnes. 
 
 W. ED6AR, L. J. SEAR6EANT, JOSEPH HiCKSON, 
 
 Gen. Pass. Agent. TraflBc Manager. General Manager. 
 
BllAWAll I IWBSOI 0. 00.'S 
 
 Twenty-£iglit Miles the Shortest Route Be- 
 tween Montreal and Xew York. 
 
 The Only liine to Saratoga, L.ake George, and 
 
 liake Chauiplain. 
 
 The Most Hireet Route to Troy, Albany, JTew 
 
 York, Philaflelphia, and All Points 
 
 South and £ast. 
 
 Passengers by this Route, during the Summer season, may ex- 
 change their tickets for those reading '•' Tlirough I^ake Cham- 
 plain and liake Oeorgo, via the Champlain Transporta- 
 tion Company's Steamers,*' affording them an opportunity of view- 
 ing some of the Finest Scenery in Anieriea. 
 
 "Wagxer's Elegant Drawing Room and Sleeping Cars Run 
 
 Via This Route. 
 
 The Through Mail and Express for N"ew York carried over this 
 Line. During the vsea.-on of naviijation, close connection made at 
 Troy and Albany with day and night boats on the Hudson River 
 for Ne ./ York. 
 
 Information given and tickets sold at all New York Central 
 Hudson River an<l N. Y, West Shore and Butfalo Railroad Ticket 
 Offices in New York, and at the Grand Trunk Ticket Offices, and 
 at the Company's Office, 
 
 143 l^t. James Street, Montreal. 
 
 D. M. KENDRICK, CHARLES C. McFALL, 
 
 Gen. Pass, Agent, ALBANY. Agent, MONTREAL. 
 
5C 
 
 o 
 
 M 
 
 z 
 
 M 
 
 o 
 
 O 
 
 09 I ^, 
 
 h) 
 
 M 
 
 » 
 
 5^ 
 © 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 • »-< ' 
 
 
 1 
 
 • 
 
 ft 
 
 i 
 
 
 
 • 
 
 
 
 
 • 'C 
 
 • ft 
 
 • 
 
 JZi 
 
 *n 
 
 A 
 
 fi 
 
 I 
 
 
 
 
 : <5 
 
 
 <3 
 
 CO 
 
 l-H 
 
 rH 
 
 
 rH 
 
 • 
 
 
 
 
 : a 
 
 1-t 
 
 O 
 
 a 
 
 c 
 
 • 
 
 
 
 
 
 o 
 
 
 .^ 
 
 
 • 
 
 
 
 
 
 : *« : 
 
 a 
 
 P^ 
 
 e. 
 
 
 '* 
 
 
 
 
 23 
 
 c 
 
 P; 
 
 
 
 o 
 
 
 
 
 
 T-i 
 
 
 
 ^ : 
 
 
 
 
 • 
 
 : o jz 
 
 
 ^£ 
 
 
 c 
 
 > 
 
 
 
 
 • O C 
 
 1 ~oj5 "•« 
 
 > _ 
 
 
 si 
 
 
 
 
 : So SP S = ^ 3 c 
 
 Pt3 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 ^ 
 
 * 1-H 
 
 
 
 
 • 1— 1 ^H T-( C^I C^ 
 
 ) 1-t 
 
 • 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 ^^ 1 
 
 • 
 
 < 
 
 b 
 
 ; -o • 
 
 
 
 
 
 '^^ S-^ 
 
 
 1—4 
 
 H 
 
 •1 
 
 ! ^ 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 O 
 
 T— 
 
 , O 
 
 • 
 > « 
 
 
 
 
 
 ; t-4 
 
 OQ 
 
 c 
 
 ! ** 
 
 a 
 
 
 
 
 c ^ c 
 
 : o 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 ^-1 ■S^*-'^ 
 
 • -t^ 
 
 > 
 
 
 ■ • 
 
 
 \ ; 
 
 
 00 • ^^ 
 
 • © 
 : c 
 
 . s 
 
 ^ 
 
 »^ 
 
 • 1- 
 
 ^ 
 
 
 
 
 
 : ^ a 
 
 ■ T^ 
 
 • 
 
 03 eS 5 
 
 1^ JS h:: 
 
 ■ 
 
 i 
 
 5 ^ 
 
 
 
 • 
 
 • © 
 02 
 
 H 
 
 r- 
 
 r- 
 
 * T— 
 
 ^- 
 
 ,_ 
 
 ^ C 
 
 5 : -? 
 
 I : a 
 
 rH 
 
 
 c 
 
 C 
 
 : i 
 
 c 
 
 -4- 
 
 
 
 o 
 
 : o 
 
 :j 
 
 • • 
 
 » 
 
 
 T 
 
 
 • a 
 
 * • 
 
 © 
 
 O" 
 
 < 
 
 1^ 
 
 
 
 7 c 
 
 
 i • O 
 
 C 
 3 
 
 
 ^H 
 
 r- 
 
 1— 
 
 <-H 
 
 T— 
 
 ^ r- 
 
 ' : £ 
 
 3 ! *^ 
 
 rH 
 
 
 
 
 • > 
 
 ■i 
 
 > 
 
 
 • c 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 K 
 
 i > 
 
 sc 
 
 t" 
 
 • c 
 
 
 
 
 RIO. 
 
 
 
 
 J c 
 
 
 C 
 
 • "a 
 
 i ■ 
 
 
 
 <; 
 
 
 
 
 ^ c 
 
 
 c 
 
 : a 
 
 i '. 
 
 
 
 H 
 
 
 
 
 
 j_ 
 
 
 • «^ 
 
 t ' 
 
 
 
 ^ 
 
 
 
 : 'c 
 
 r '^ 
 
 ^ 
 
 > 
 
 * c. 
 
 ) J 
 
 
 
 c 
 
 
 
 a 
 
 > f 
 
 i < 
 
 * T— 
 
 c 
 
 ' 1 — 
 
 
 
 
 • 
 
 8 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 [ '• 
 
 1 • 
 
 » • 1 
 
 1 • 1 
 
 
 
 X 
 
 
 
 c 
 
 ««.. 
 J 
 
 
 
 
 • • i 
 
 
 
 M 
 
 
 
 
 d 
 
 
 
 
 a • 
 
 
 
 b 
 
 
 
 
 » 
 
 
 
 ■^ 
 
 • • 
 
 
 
 
 as 
 
 ,3 
 
 
 
 1^9 
 
 
 
 
 •■ * 
 
 s : 
 
 3 I 
 
 
 
 
 
 ' S 
 
 
 
 
 St 
 
 3 !» ^ 
 
 
 
 H 
 
 **- 
 
 ^ ^^ 
 
 - ^ 
 
 : 1^ 
 3 : 
 
 5 ":; 
 
 ■ O a 
 
 i w £ 
 
 
 ^ 
 
 c 
 c 
 
 I 
 
 : c 
 
 5 C 
 
 2 -*i 
 
 3 ^ 
 
 J a 
 
 2.S i 
 
 1 sS 
 
 © 
 
 1 ' 
 
 - 1 
 
 
 
 
 : « 
 
 5 « 
 
 5 «i ^ 
 
 ^ d '^ 
 
 
 
 J ? 
 
 
 1 
 
 2 CZ 
 
 1 E- 
 
 
 ., es-- 
 1 WP 
 
 :s ^ 
 
 3 "o - 
 
 1 ^ a 
 
 i<^ 
 
 ? 1 
 
 & 
 
 a> 
 
 
 V 
 
 
 .3 
 
 
 >- 
 
 
 o 
 
 
 M 
 
 
 P4 
 
 
 hi 
 
 
 © 
 
 
 -4-> 
 
 
 .4.J 
 
 
 c8 
 
 
 ^N 
 
 
 9 
 
 
 ^ 
 
 
 4J 
 
 
 e 
 
 
 • PN 
 
 
 n 
 
 
 a 
 
 
 o 
 
 
 S 
 
 
 © 
 
 nn 
 
 >> 
 
 
 h 
 
 © 
 
 08 
 
 DQ 
 
 
 
 o 
 
 n 
 
 O 
 
 <8 
 
 
 4^ 
 
 eg 
 
 OQ 
 
 J2 
 O 
 
 o 
 ■♦a 
 
 •I-1 
 
 ht 
 
 S 
 
 © 
 
 eSjQ 
 
 l^ 
 
 2 
 
 
 o 
 
 T30 
 
 c ^ 
 
 c3 
 
 
 SS 
 
 rH 
 
 Xj 
 
 s 
 
 B 
 
 s 
 
 s 
 
 «<-4 
 
 
 
 O^' 
 
 '^S 
 
 M 
 
 tH 
 
 OQ 
 
 H 
 
 .w 
 
 ? 
 
 kl 
 
 © 
 
 P5 
 
 M 
 
 o 
 
 © 
 © 
 
 
 a 
 
 73 
 © 
 
 OQ 
 
 13 
 
 ..- 
 
 C 
 
 >-i 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 .fcj 
 
 J3 
 
 
 a 
 
 >> 
 
 © 
 
 
 o 
 
 <A 
 
 2; 
 
 ■^j 
 
 
 M 
 
 -fcS 
 
 
 1— 1 
 
 >> 
 
 O 
 
 
 
 r! 
 
 bi 
 
 o 
 
 4) 
 
 
 o 
 
 fl» 
 
 © 
 
 ^^ 
 
 O 
 
 b 
 
 JS 
 
 © 
 
 x^ 
 
 ja 
 
 j<j 
 
 (n 
 
 
 ^ 
 
 i 
 
 
 IH 
 
 '. 
 
 !»-( 
 
 » 
 
 »• 
 
 SJ-J^ 
 
 o 
 
 on 
 
 fe 
 
 © 
 
 
 ^-» 
 
 
 iM 
 
 
 d 
 
 1 
 
 ^ 
 

 o 
 <x> 
 
 <© 
 
 SB 
 O 
 
 03 
 
 0) 
 
 
 t3 
 
 
 SB 
 
 o 
 o 
 
 • I-l 
 
 s 
 
 o 
 
 p 
 
 <D 
 
 OQ 
 
 S 
 
 OQ 
 
 I 
 
 I— < 
 QQ 
 
 
 •I— I 
 
 o 
 
 00 
 
 © 
 
 OD 
 O 
 
 O 
 
 -^i 
 
 m 
 
 O 
 0) 
 
 OD 
 
 C3 
 
 cc 
 C 
 O 
 
 OD 
 
 c3 
 
 OD 
 
 OS 
 
 X: 
 
 OD 
 
 -♦^ 
 
 O 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 > 
 
 o 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 
 © 
 
 C 
 
 
 QQ 
 
 © 
 
 OD 
 © 
 
 OD 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 > 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 o 
 
 © 
 
 a 
 
 o 
 
 c3 
 
 a ^ 
 
 P^H 
 
 © 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 © Oh 
 OD O 
 
 c3 
 
 
 © 
 © 
 
 .0 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 n © 
 
 03 
 G 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 © 
 
 OD 
 © 
 
 ;>. 
 
 
 pG 
 
 fcJD 
 
 X 
 
 i»j-^ 
 
 
 
 >-* 
 
 
 © 
 
 c 
 
 
 X' 
 
 p^ 
 
 
 
 3 
 
 
 
 © 
 
 =1- 
 
 
 
 G 
 
 *«r; 
 
 bC 
 
 
 03 
 Ph 
 
 c3 
 
 -*^ 
 
 OD 
 © 
 
 C3 
 © 
 
 
 © ;z2 
 
 © 
 oc 
 
 •— © -X ^ _:i 
 
 03 
 
 G 
 © 
 
 O 
 
 OD 
 
 c3 
 © 
 
 00 
 
 © 
 
 O 
 
 •— OD 
 
 G 
 03 
 
 OD 
 © 
 
 I 
 
 O 
 
 .2 
 
 03 
 
 O 
 
 OD 
 
 © 
 +3 
 
 © 
 
 Pi 
 00 
 
 O 
 
 G 
 O 
 
 OQ 
 
 .a 
 
 00 
 G -M 
 
 a 03 
 
 •« CO 
 
 bX) 3 
 ;-! o3 
 
 G 
 
 G 
 
 © 
 
 3C 
 
 © 
 © 
 G 
 03 
 
 OD 
 
 a 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 EH 
 
 o 
 o 
 o^ 
 
 o 
 o 
 
 =^ 
 
 OD 
 
 © 
 © 
 
 pG 
 OQ 
 
 G 
 
 OS 
 G 
 03 
 
 O 
 
 © 
 .G 
 
 -1-3 
 
 o 
 
 43 
 
 o 
 
 o 
 o 
 
 o 
 
 o 
 
 rH 
 <^ 
 
 o 
 
 QQ 
 
 H <s^ 
 
 G 
 
 C 
 
 B 
 02 
 
 o 
 o 
 o 
 
 C<1 
 
 >, ^ 
 
 32 
 
 © G 
 
 o 
 o 
 o 
 
 o 
 o 
 o 
 
 00 
 © 
 
 ^ 
 
 © 
 
 G 
 © 
 Pi 
 
 © 
 
 o 
 H 
 
 00 
 
 GO 
 
 C4-1 
 O 
 
 1=; tJD 
 
 
 OD 
 
 © 
 
 +3 
 
 c3 
 © 
 
 H 
 
 G 
 o 
 
 • 1-i 
 
 ^-> 
 
 c3 
 
 © 
 
 O S 
 
 © 
 
 G 
 
 G 
 -♦J 
 
 00 
 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 -© s 
 
 03 
 
 © 
 
 G 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 OD 
 
 00 
 © 
 
 G 
 G 
 O 
 
 G f3 
 
 03 
 © 
 
 © 
 © 
 
 © 
 
 00 
 • t-l 
 
 O 
 
 OD 
 
 I— I 
 
 03 
 
 
 iz; 
 
 St 
 
 m 
 
 
 '^ 
 
 oi 
 
 CO 
 
 f^ 
 
 GO 
 
 a 
 
 1— » 
 
 CO 
 
 <»« 
 
 M 
 
 Ph 
 
 P^ 
 
 
 © 
 
 
 
 QQ 
 
 
 -4-: 
 
 H 
 
 OQ 
 
 ^; 
 
 tH 
 
 f^ 
 
 «\ 
 
 g 
 
 « 
 
 H 
 
 ^ 
 
 P3 
 
 03 
 
 
 ^ 
 
 
 P 
 
 
CANADIAN BOOKS 
 
 BY 
 
 CANADIAN AUTHORS. 
 
 The Life and Times of Sir John A. Macdonald, by J. E. CoUine. 
 8vo demy; G50 pages. Cloth extra, $3.00; Half Morocco 
 (Library style), $4.50 ; Full Morocco, $6.00. 
 
 Canada under the Administration of Lord Lome, by J. E. 
 
 Collins. 8vo demy; GOO pages. Cloth extra, $3.00; Half 
 Morocco (Library Style), $4.50 ; Full Morocco, $6.00. 
 
 Canada under the Administration of the Earl of Dufferin, by 
 
 Geo. Stewart, Jr. 8vo. Demy; 700 pages. Cloth extra, $3. 
 
 A Trip to Manitoba ; or, Roughing It on the Line, by Mary 
 
 Fitzgibbon. Cruwn 8vo. ; 300 pages. Cloth extra, $L00. 
 
 Nova Britannia; or. Our New Canadian Dominion Fore- 
 shadowed, by Hon. Alex. Morris, P.C., D.C.L. Crown 8vo. ; 
 190 pages. Cloth extra, $0.75. 
 
 The World, Round It and Over It, by Chester Glass. Crown 
 8vo. ; 520 pages. Cloth extra, $1.50. 
 
 SEND FOR OUR COMPLETE CATALOGUE. 
 
 Our books are sent post-pai<l, to any address in the world on 
 receipt of published price. 
 
 fl 
 
 ROSE PUBLISHING CO. 
 
 TORONTO, CANADA. 
 
To Tourists and Pleasure Seekers, 
 
 .<^:r 
 
 IMPROVED ARRANGEMENTS. 
 
 THE RICHELIEU & OKTW NAVIIillTiOII CO,'S 
 
 LINES OF THROUGH SIDE-WHEEL STEAMERS FROM 
 
 TORONTO to MONTREAL, QUEBEC, WHITE MOUN- 
 TAINS, PORTLAND, LAKE GEORGE, SARA- 
 TOGA, NEW YORK, RIVIERE DU LOUP, 
 The Far-famed RIVER SAGUENAY, &c. 
 
 f The Riclielieu and Ontario Navigation Company's lines com- 
 prise the original Royal Mail Line and Richelieu Company's 
 steamers, with the addition of several new steamers, thus forming 
 two first-cla?s lines of Passenger steamers, which for speed, safety,, 
 and comfort cannot be surpassed. 
 
 They are the only lines now affording tourists an opportunity to 
 view the magnificent scenery of 
 
 The Thousand Islands and Rapids of the St. Lawrence^ 
 
 ALSO THE FAErFAMi:D RIVER SAGUENAY. 
 
 Sf^ This route possesses peculiar advantages over any other^ 
 
 ALEX. MILLOY, J. B. LABELLB, 
 
 Traffic Manager. General Manager 
 
 / 
 
ST. LAWRENCE HALL, 
 
 MOI>rTREAL. 
 
 HENRY HOGAN, - Proprietor. 
 
 For the past 30 years this hotel, familiarly known as the " ST. 
 LAWRENCE," has been a household word to all Travellers on 
 the Continent of North America, and has been patronized by all 
 the Royal and Noble personages who have visited the City of 
 Montreal. 
 
 This hotel, including the entire block, which is admirably 
 situated, being in the very heart of the city, and contiguous to the 
 Oeneral Post Office, Public Buildings, and other places of in- 
 terest and of business, has recently been acquired by Mr. HOGAN, 
 the former proprietor, who has handsomely and appropriately 
 decorated and renovated the interior, and completely retitted the 
 whole of the apartments with new furniture, comprising 100 new 
 rooms, making the present number of apartments 250. A new and 
 elegant Passenger Elevator has also been added, and the Hails 
 and Public Rooms are lighted by tlie Electric and Incandescent 
 lights, making it the most attractively lighted hotel in the 
 Dominion. 
 
 The hotel is managed by Mr. Samuel Montgomery, under the 
 immediate supervision of Mr. Hogax. than whom no one is better 
 qualified to conduct an hostelry of such magnitude as the St. 
 Lawrence Hall, and than whom no one has gained a better repu- 
 tation as an obliging, generous and considerate host. 
 
 JI^'AU Baggage Checks should be given to the Porters in 
 
 attendance. 
 
 ^^ TERMS MODERATE. -"^g 
 
Dominion Exiiibition, 
 
 1884— MONTREAL— 1884 
 
 SEPTEMBER 8th TO 13th. 
 
 ' AGRICULTURAL AND INDUSTRIAL. 
 
 Ample Grounds and magnificent buildings for the display of 
 Live Stock, Manufactured articles, Agricultural Implements, and 
 Machinery in motion. 
 
 Grand International Bench Show of Dogs. 
 
 The Exhibition will be in full operation from Friday, Septem- 
 ber 5th. to Saturday, the 13th, 1884, and will be open till 10 p.m. 
 each day. 
 
 Reduced rates are offered by all the principal Raihvay and 
 Steamboat Companies. 
 
 For all information apply to the undersigned, 
 
 S. C. STEVEXSOX. ) 
 
 > Joint Secretaries, 
 GEO. EECXERE9 ) 
 
 76 St. Gabriel Street. 
 
Department of the Interior. 
 
 MANITOBA 
 
 AND THE 
 
 North- West Territories. 
 
 MnXIONS OF ACRES OF THE FINEST AGRICULTURAL 
 LANDS IN THE WORLD OPEN FOR SETTLEMENT. 
 
 r 
 
 >^ 
 
 i 
 
 Any person, male or female, tlie sole head of a family, or any 1 
 male who has attained the age of 18 years, can obtain a/ree hcToe- 
 stead of one quarter section of 160 acres upon any even-numbe'"'^d 
 section in surveyed agricultural lands, and, in addition, if h^ so 
 desires. 160 acres as a pre-emption, at $2.50 per acre, payable at ^ 
 the end of three years. 
 
 Intending immigrants can, on requisition signed by them, obtain 
 authority from the Minister of the Interior for any person they 
 name, to make hom' stead and pre-emption entries for them before 
 their arrival. 
 
 A settler is required to reside upon and cultivate his homestead for 
 not less than six months in each of three years, at the end of which 
 time he is entitled to a patent for his land ; or he may reside any- 
 where within a radius of two miles of his homestead, provided that 
 
 { 
 
for three months cext prior to making application for patent, he 
 shall reside in a house erected on his own homebtead, and have 40 
 acres of his homestead under cultivation. 
 I Provision is made for the acquirement by settlers of wood and 
 
 (hay lands in connection with their homesteads. 
 
 Two sections are reserved out of every township for school pur- 
 
 ' poses. 
 
 I Odd-numbered sections within 24 miles on each side of the 
 
 \Canadian Pacific Railway are reserved for that railway, and can 
 be purchased from the Railway Company. 
 
 Odd-numbered sections outside of the Canadian Pacific Railway 
 /belt, and not within 12 miles of any projected line of railway, 
 
 /other than the Canadian Pacific Railway, can be purchased from 
 
 I the Government at .$2.50 per acre, payable at time of sale. . 
 
 Odd-numbered sections in lands outside of the railway beltj, 
 land North of the Canadian Pacific Railway belt, can be purchased 
 
 / from the Government at $2.00 per acre, payable at time of sale. 
 Coal in vast quantities, and of excellent quality, exists in all 
 parts of the North-West Territories. Tlie minimum prices for 
 v.oal lands are : for lignite and bituminous coal, $10.00 per acre ; 
 f*>i anthracite, .$20.00 per acre. 
 
 Valuable deposits of gold, silver, copper and iron have already 
 been discovered in the Rocky Mountains. The price to the original 
 discoverer for a location not exceeding 40 acres, is $5 per acre. 
 Full particulars as to the mode of acquiring these mineral lands 
 may be ascertained on application to the Department of the In- 
 terior, or at anv Dr.ninion Lands Ofiice. 
 
 The Canadian Pacific Railway is now open beyond the summit 
 of the Rocky Mountains, over one thousand miles west of Winni- 
 peg, and the whole line is expected to be completed to the Pacific 
 Ocean early in 1886. 
 
 A. M. BURGESS, 
 
 Deputy of Oie Minister of the Interior. 
 
 li 
 
 1 
 
AXdLiA^ XJtWM 
 
 OF 
 
 Royal Mail Steamsbii 
 
 Under Contract with the Governments of Cstnada an< 
 Newfoundland for the Conveyance of Mails. 
 
 -:(>:■ 
 
 This Company's Lines are composed of the following Doi 
 
 Engineii Civile Built 
 
 IRON STEAMSHIPS. 
 
 They are built in water-tight conj|)artnients, are unsurj)a»."ec 
 strength, speed and comfort, are fitted up with all the nioi 
 iniproveu)ent.s that practical experience can suggest, and 1 
 
 MADE THE FASTEST TIME ON RECORD. 
 
 inJMIDIAN .6100- 
 
 SIBERIAN 4600 
 
 CARTHAGENIAN 4600 
 
 PABISIAN 5400. 
 
 SARDINIAN 4650. 
 
 POLYNESIAN ,..4100. 
 
 S ARMATIAN 3600 . 
 
 CIRCASSIAN 4000. 
 
 PERTJVIA>I 3400. 
 
 NOVA SCOTIAN 3300. 
 
 CASPIAN 3200. 
 
 HANOVERIAN 4000- 
 
 NORWEGIAN 3531- 
 
 HIBERNIAN 3440- 
 
 AUSTRIAN 2700. 
 
 NESTORIAN 2700. 
 
 PRUSSIAN 3000. 
 
 SCANDINAVIAN 3000. 
 
 BUENOS AYREAN 3800- 
 
 COREAN 4000. 
 
 GRECIAN 3600. 
 
 MANITOBAN 3150.. 
 
 CANADIAN 2600. 
 
 PHOENICIAN 2800- 
 
 WALDENSIAN 2600. 
 
 LUCER NE 2200. 
 
 NEWFOUNDLAND 1500- 
 
 ACADIAN 1350. 
 
 Building. / 
 
 liuilding. 
 
 Building. / 
 
 CAPT. JAMES WYLIE. 
 LIEUT. W. H. SMITH, K.I 
 CAPT. R. BROWN. 
 CAPT. J. GRAHAM. 
 CAPT. WM. RICHARDSO 
 CAPT. J. RITCHIE. 
 CAPT. W. DALZIELL. 
 CAPT. HUGH WYLIE. 
 LIEUT. B. THOMSON, R.] 
 CAPT. J. G. STEPHEN. 
 CAP!. A. MACNICOL. 
 LIEUT. R. BARRETT, R.J 
 CAPT. D. J. JAMES. 
 CAPT. ALEX. McDOUGi 
 CAPT. JOHN PARKS. 
 CAPT. J.SCOTT. 
 CAPT. R. P. MOORE. 
 CAPT. C. E. LeGALLAIS. 
 CAPT. R. CARRUTHERS. 
 CAPT. C.J. MENZIES. 
 CAPT. JOHN BROWN. 
 CAPT. R. H. HUGHES. 
 CAPT. JOHN KERR. 
 CAPT. C. MYLIUS. 
 CAPT. F. McGRATH. 
 
FROM APRIL TO OCTOBER 
 
 E3AMERS OP THE LINE SAIL WEEKLY 
 
 jFROMLI 
 
 ing at 
 
 
 es in C't 
 
 
 >art8 of ( 
 
 na 
 
 >Jorth-V^ef 
 
 r 
 
 8 of la'Ml 
 
 
 ers. '^ J 
 
 
 rt8 M 
 
 
 uel 
 
 
 or 
 
 r 
 
 r 
 
 1 
 
 ■f 
 
 'fi 
 
 rryin^: J. 
 
 »I 
 
 ^NTREAL. 
 
 .j^ passengers to all 
 
 i ... ^ ..cDec route m the cneapept a id bef*t for 
 
 especially to the Province of Manitoba and 
 
 itory, consisting of two thousand millions of 
 
 portion of whfch is ottered in free grants to 
 
 naiuplilets and tenant fanners delegates'' 
 
 • and all parts of Canada free. Tl 3 passage 
 
 -> l*ss than to New York, and a large 
 
 >nipa itlvely smooth waters 0. tlieGiilf 
 
 's ro e H mo.-t desirable one . >r paseen- 
 
 f Ad ^rica as w ' as tc Ci.aaaa. To 
 
 ^ n * afcsengers have 
 ,age p port of landing. 
 
 \LIFAX, 
 
 nd Weekly in Winter. 
 
 . Pt QUEENSTOWN. 
 
 m Halifax are given to 
 
 Servants going out 
 
 used by applicants 
 
 the undersigned or 
 
 as. 
 
 
 JTI 
 
 
 A 
 
 .es. 
 .t to 1 
 ?1 fron 
 
 il n accommodation at 
 
 ;r . . Liverpool, carrying 
 P IIL VDELPHIA, BAL- 
 
 '• L FROM 
 s-^ERY WEEK, 
 
 I t) WEEKS, 
 
 ! L 7»st rates, 
 t'^ • -lasgow and 
 1 F ;land and 
 
 ^ -1 jna^ n Bros. & 
 
 ] v^ an ; hi- m, Mont- 
 
 I 0^ cutc. 5C0tt & C Quebec, 
 
 / ^.ontOj .' Ch]r'^'^ ,. ^ . n & Co. ; 
 
 .S., . vAinard «fc Co. ; St. «. ^nn, 17.?. ^ 1 lOmson & 
 
 ^ s, N.F.. Si'^-^ ^ C-" ^*^w York a. v^nion, Leve & 
 
 ^; Jtimo^ \ Soil '^ei *^o. ; ^xonte Video and 
 OS Avres, xu. Sanison & (Jo. 
 
 I II. 4&: A« AIiIiAl\% 
 
 BOSTON AND MONTREAL 
 
mo 
 
 (M) 
 
 I-^R 
 
 l-^O 
 
 115 
 
 Uti 
 
 105 
 
lOS 
 
 Hf. 
 
 7.% 
 
 T«> 
 
 r 1 1 K 
 
 DOMINION OF CAN. 
 
 A REDUCTION OF THE MAP PREPARED & ISSUED UNDER TH 
 OF THE MINISTER OF RAILVtfA.YS tt CANALS (l88 
 
 d6 Ixmoitudc Wipst fixxm Grtwnwicii >Ht 
 
'^M^MM 
 
 80 
 
 79 
 
 TT 
 
 76 
 
 PO)ill||iJll©!Nlf«<€^l^B^ 
 
 SHEWING TH E 
 
 r^AILWAYS IN OPEF^TION 
 
 1884. 
 
 COLLINGWOOD SCHREIBER 
 • Chief Engineer 
 
 GOV HAILWAYS 
 
 »oAi.K ar MIL** 
 a IP ■p ap y to y to y y io « 
 
 i'ompU»d hu L .v. efohti*0n 
 
 Iv 
 
 ^ 
 
 *^ 
 
 ■V* 
 
 ■"^r^t^w 
 
 ^ 
 
 ^ a 
 
 ^ 
 
 .-A" 
 
 ,'--., 
 
 ^ 
 
 ^ 
 
 ''Ai 
 
 ^ 
 
 •V 
 
 L\ 
 
 )V. 
 
 /^. 
 
 rA 
 
 r^^ 
 
 ^ 
 
 @ 
 
 > 
 
 
 o 
 
 ^7f 
 
 'fi*ft 
 
 K" T A 
 
 A 
 
 IVt OLMt 
 
 ^ 
 
 "St 
 
 -JT 
 
 A 
 
 *^. <v 
 
 if" 
 
 I — U^S- 
 
;ii'.i'iiK.:. 
 
 ^^1 
 
 rFM 
 
 ^^ 
 
 ^E 
 
 go^ 
 
 w 
 
 1^ 
 
 aov 
 
 y 
 
 -S- 
 
 il; 
 
 z:: 
 
 // 
 
 S5>. 
 
 ^J 
 
 4^ 
 
 ^% 
 
\J 
 
 OF 
 
 T 
 
 vSiJ^^ 
 
 VSO 
 
 « 
 
 Si. 
 
 Ijlfljllllttl"' 
 
 
 1 
 
 o 
 
 h 
 u 
 
 H 
 
 
 m 
 
 ol^cj 
 
 
 .fx-?- 
 
 
 BUB^ 
 
 ^ 
 
 c 
 
 D 
 
 i 
 
 .iLc 
 
 I BAILWATS OF CANADA. 
 
 Miles In operatlop 
 
 1— Albert - ■' 
 
 2 — B«y of Quinte and Navigation Co 
 
 ."< — Canada Atlantic 
 
 4 —Canada Southern 
 
 ."i C>i.naaiM.u Picoiiiu 3152 1 
 
 " ' " 200 1 , 
 
 /^alloy 184 ^ 
 
 8 — Toronto, Urey A Bruce 191 
 
 9 — Carillon & Grenville 
 
 10 - Central Ontario 
 
 11 — Chatham Branch 
 
 12 — CobourB, Veterboro' & Marmora 
 
 13 — Erie A H uron . 
 
 6 — Ontario <& Quebec'. 
 Credit Va 
 
 i; 
 
 32 
 
 9 
 
 47 
 
 40 
 
 14 — Grand Southern 82* 
 
 15 — Grand Trunk 903 1 
 
 1ft— Buffalo A Lake Huron 162 
 
 17 — tJrand Trunk, Ooor. Bay A L. Krie 184 
 
 18— Great Western 692 
 
 19 — London i Port Stanley 24 
 
 20— WelliuKton. Grey & Bruce 168 
 
 21 — London, Huron A Bruce 69 
 
 22— Brantford, Norfolk A Port Burwell 35 
 Xi— Wellaud ' 25 
 
 24— Jlidliuid - 144 
 
 25 — Toronto A Nipisping 105 
 
 26 — Victoria 86 
 
 27— Whithv. Port P.riy A Lindxav 4«5 
 
 2856i 
 
 Mries in op«i-ation. 
 GoTemineut Railways : 
 
 31 — Intercolonial 919 > m-x 
 
 32— Prince Ed wurd Island 198* J "''» 
 
 33 — International 69* 
 
 34— K«nt Northern. 1» 
 
 35— Kingston A Pembroke 80 
 
 36 — Manitoba South-Western SI 
 
 If! — Manitoba A North- AVestem 79 
 
 38 — Mussa winui Valley 34 
 
 39 — Mont real a: Vermont Junction 231 
 
 40 — Ne\T Brunswick 174 ) 
 
 41— New Brunswick A Canada 127 > 324* 
 
 42— Frodericton 23* ) _ 
 
 43 — Northern A North-Westem 377* 
 
 44 — Petitcodiac A Elgin 314 
 
 45 - Quebec A Lake St. John 36 
 
 46— QuobcL- Central 145 
 
 47— S'ansfead, Shcfford A Chambly 43 
 
 48— St. John A Maine 32 
 
 49 — St. Lawrence A Ottawa W 
 
 50-St. Martin's A Upham 30 
 
 51— South-Eastern 140 ) 
 
 52— Lake Ohamplain A St. Lawrence. 63 > 239 
 
 53 — Montreal. Portland A Boston 36 > 
 
 54— Spring Hill A Parrsboro' 32 
 
 5.5— Waterloo A Magog 23 i ™ 
 
 5«5— Missisquoi Valley 10 < *^ 
 
IRI 
 
.■*— 4 •ni»it« 
 4 ('aiincia 
 
 A-- OntBr 
 7- »•» 
 
 •- I-., 
 
 W C«rll|..ii 
 
 10 ('«■■! isl 
 
 It Chikiliai 
 1'^- A**'l"»'»» i 
 I.V-iCri. .* 1 
 14— 4lrnii<t .i 
 A-Un»in» i 
 «- III 
 
 la- UrMi 
 
 \*- I.. 
 
RAILWAYS OF CANADA, t 
 
 m 
 
 7 
 
 IhmH .,., 
 
 »r Uuiiita Kn<l Navlsatlwn Oo. 
 
 »<tM AltAiitln 
 
 iin<tit Nuutharn ■ 
 
 •>ii(«rl<i A Quabca* 
 <'r<Miit VnlUy 
 
 Mll«t In Ofaratlon, 
 AU 
 
 it**«**««i* 
 
 'I'liroiitai.Oray A Bra 
 ^'arllloii A Ureiivillfi 
 
 Cuiilriil < )iil»rl 
 
 Hruii'-b 
 
 M 
 
 VI 
 
 II Clinlli 
 
 lV-Krl«i A ll.ir 
 14 — <lritii<l riuiiilitirn. 
 |/V — UrKiiiJ Trunk 
 1*^- 
 
 17 - 
 
 i;^} 
 
 £ 
 
 2737 
 
 I'xlnrhuro' it klMSMir* 
 
 •Ji - 
 21- 
 2-J - 
 
 liulfalo A Ij»k« Huron 
 
 Mritiiil Trunk, (l«<jr. U«y A. L. Bri* 
 
 (irfiit Wnalctrn 
 
 ■ .•(ndiiii i I'nrt .St»riley 
 " Hi 
 
 •-'7 — 
 
 162 
 l»4 
 MK2 
 24 
 1«M 
 
 m 
 an 
 
 144 
 
 ion 
 
 4«1 
 IN) 
 
 IW 
 
 Montrtml A Horxl 47 
 
 • llin«tun, (Jr<-y 4LHruaa 
 ii'tim, liur<in m Bruoe . 
 »iiirur<l, Nurfulk A Port 1 
 
 Burwall 
 
 W»inn«tuji 
 
 l<r» 
 WolUuci 
 
 Ml.lUi.it . 
 
 Turoiilo A NIpUainc • 
 
 V'l<-turU 
 
 Whiltty, Port Perry A Lind«»y 
 Uritnfl Junulinn 
 
 Norlli Hli<>r« 
 
 /.. 
 
 JMtW 
 
 Mil** In oparaliufi. 
 (litvriTiinxiil IlitllwBya: 
 
 31— liitrr<'<>liiniiil »1» * iii-» 
 
 Prtn<'« Kiiwnrtl UijMid IMi { '"'' 
 
 [tit«rn»ll<>nitl IW^ 
 
 i iiiBUliiii A I'l'inhroh* • W 
 
 IhiiIioIik South w»a(fim 51 
 
 17 — MMiiiiolm A North Wwilem 79 
 
 •M — MuNNAWiiOfl VmIImv. • «i4 
 
 M^— Moiitrr'nl A ViTiiiont Junt'lion 3Ai 
 
 4l>— Nrw HriitiHwioh 174 i 
 
 41 - N.<w Hrunawiok A C'aoad* 137 > JOH 
 
 42— Kr<«l<.ri<-toti 23t > 
 
 4:4— Nortbrrn A North-Weitam. S77| 
 
 44- -PatltrmJia.' A Klain 14 
 
 if> Queb» A l^« HI. John W 
 
 44 — Uudbor CoiitrMl , 14ft 
 
 47— Atanat<*«ii, Hhcirord A Cbambly 43 
 
 4H— «t. .loliii A Maine V» 
 
 40— 8t. l^wroiK-e A Ottawa HO 
 
 n)-Ht. Mnrtin'x A Upbani 30 
 
 51— Houth Kiwtrrii 140 > 
 
 0*2— l^k« ChnmpUtn A St. I<awrcno«. 03 > 2»W 
 
 &3— Montreal. HortUnd It Boatoo 9A ) 
 
 ft4— 8urln« Illll A P»rr»b«ro' .T2 
 
 VS — Waterloo A Macqa 2» ( ..., 
 
 Srt— MisiiiKquoT Valley 10 \ " 
 
 fl7 — Wvatrrn (.'ountina , 67 
 
 M — Windaor A Antiapolia H4 ( < i,i 
 
 ft»— W I ndaor Branch .T2 { " 
 
 OOVftNNMtNT RAILWAYS. — Putpla 
 QRANO TRUNK SYSTCM.— Slu* 
 
 CANADIAN PACIFIC Rart. 
 
 CANADA SOUTHERN RAILWAY, — Yallow. 
 
 NORTHCRN Ik NORTH. WKSTKRN RY. — Oraen. 
 ALL OTHER RAILWAYS, — Bro...r 
 
 miiuMAtte imic(»*Mtc ce tteitnui