Appointments

Karim B. Boughida has been appointed dean of University Libraries at the University of Rhode Island. Boughida had been the associate university librarian for digital initiatives and



at George Washington University (GWU) since 2008. Fluent in Arabic, French, and English, Boughida is a frequent public speaker on library, information technology and data issues, and has spoken at

content management

Karim B. Boughida the Digital Library Federation, the Museum Computer Network, and the Coalition for Networked Information. He was one of five experts invited to discuss the International Bibliographic Framework Transition Initiative (Bibframe) at the Library of Congress and was recently named to the editorial board of the International Journal on Digital Libraries and the VIVO-DuraSpace leadership group that is focused on the discovery and linkage of researchers across institutions worldwide. Before joining GWU, Boughida was senior information systems architect at the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles, which is an international research leader in arts, education, and humanities.

Meg Eastwood has been appointed life sciences and agriculture librarian at the University of New Hampshire.

Allison O'Dell has joined the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries as metadata librarian. **Richard Saltzburg** has been named the Arabic, Slavic and Germanic Studies liaison librarian at the University of Florida George A. Smathers Libraries.

Sarah Theimer has been appointed cataloging and metadata librarian at the University of New Hampshire.

Retirements

Ray English Azariah Smith Root director of libraries at Oberlin College since 1990, has retired. English was active in ACRL in a variety

of contexts. He was a primary founder of the ACRL scholarly communication program, serving as chair of the task force that lead to the initiative and also as chair of the ACRL Scholarly Communication Committee from its inception until 2006. He



Ray English

was also a longtime member of the steering committee of SPARC, serving as chair of the committee from 2006 until 2010. He was named ACRL's Academic Research Librarian of the Year in 2006 and received ALA's Hugh C. Atkinson award in 2009. The Oberlin College Library, under his leadership, received the ACRL Excellence in Academic Libraries Award in the college library category in 2002. **72**

Advertisers

| American Psychological Associati | ion 473 |
|----------------------------------|---------|
| Annual Reviews | 487 |
| Archival Products | cover 3 |
| Better World Books | cover 2 |
| Chemical Abstracts Service | cover 4 |
| Choice Online | 474 |
| Rittenhouse Book Distributors | 477 |
| University of Wisconsin-Madison | 501 |

Ed. note: To ensure that your personnel news is considered for publication, write to Ann-Christe Galloway, production editor, *C&RL News*, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611-2795; email: agalloway@ ala.org; fax: (312) 280-2520.