Doris Small Helfer, librarian and chair of the Oviatt Library's Technical Services Department, has been honored with the Distinguished



Teaching, Counseling, or Librarianship Award at California State University-Northridge. She is well known on campus for her outstanding efforts to provide excellent library service and

Doris Small Helfer

for her scholarly and professional contributions.

William R. Holman, award-winning author, book designer and printer, publisher, and retired library administrator will receive the 2009 Distinguished Alumnus Award of the



Graduate School of Library and Information Science, the University of Illinois, Champaign-Urbana at ALA Annual Conference in Chicago. Holman became the youngest city librarian of San Francisco at the age of 34, win-

William R. Holman

ning awards for improving one of the largest public libraries in the nation, before Chancellor Harry Ransom recruited him in 1967 as professor of History and Art of the Book for the Humanities Research Center (HRC) at the University of Texas-Austin. He eventually served as director of the HRC Library. Holman had previously served as director of the San Antonio Public Library, the Rosenberg Library in Galveston, and the library of Pan American University. He retired in 1985, to continue as a freelance designer and publisher under the imprint of Roger Beacham Publisher. His This Bitterly Beautiful Land, by Al Lowman, was described by Lon Tinkle of the Dallas Morning News, as one of "the most original and most beautiful" books published in Texas. Texas Beast Fables, by Harold Billings with illustrations by Barbara Holman, is his most recent work. His memoir, The Orphan's Nine Commandments (2007), has been described by Larry McMurtry as "an important-indeed, a compelling memoir . . . [it] takes us into the world of orphanages-private and state-in a way that will move you, inform you, and haunt you." This tale of Holman's orphaned life in Oklahoma in the 1930s has been compared to the adventures of David Copperfield and Oliver Twist, as "compelling" and "an unforgettable story."

Brian E. C. Schottlaender, Audrey Geisel university librarian at the University of California(UC)-San Diego since 1999, has been appointed to the Executive Committee of HathiTrust, a major collaboration of the nation's largest academic libraries to create a vast digital repository. As a member of HathiTrust's Executive Committee, Schottlaender, along with the seven other members representing the founding institutions, is playing an important role in guiding the project, focusing on a variety of issues ranging from finances to development priorities. Schottlaender has held numerous leadership positions in the library world over the last decade. Last year, he was appointed secretary of the Board of Directors of the Center for Research Libraries. He also served as president of the Association of Research Libraries (2005-06). Before joining UC-San Diego, he held librarian positions at the California Digital Library, UCLA, University of Arizona, and Indiana University.

Bradley Westbrook, head of the Metadata Analysis and Specification Unit in the UC-

Ed. note: To ensure that your personnel news is considered for publication, write to Ann-Christe Galloway, production editor, *C&RL News*, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611-2795; e-mail: agalloway@ ala.org; fax: (312) 280-2520.



San Diego Libraries, has received the "Archival Award of Excellence" from the California Historical Records Advisory Board for the leadership role he has played in developing the Archivists' Toolkit (AT), a technological software innovation

Bradley Westbrook

that has had a dramatic impact on archival work. The award, funded by the Society of California Archivists, Inc., is the second award received by Westbrook for his visionary efforts in creating the AT.

Appointments

Katy Baum has been appointed cataloging and periodicals librarian at the Wyndham Robertson Library of Hollins University in Roanoke, Virginia.

Robin Bowles has been appointed research and instructional librarian, life and health sciences at Villanova University's Falvey Memorial Library in Villanova, Pennsylvania.

Stephen Brooks is now head of monographic services at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill University Library.

Stefanie Buck has joined Oregon State University Libraries as the new instructional design/social sciences librarian.

Eileen Heeran has been named assistant head of technical services and head of cataloging for the Louis Round Wilson Special Collections Library at the University of North Carolina.

Daniel Hickey has been appointed business and information sciences librarian in the Schreyer Business Library at Penn State University Libraries.

Michael Klein has joined Oregon State University Libraries as digital applications librarian.

Melissa Levine is now lead copyright officer for the University of Michigan Library.

Krystal Lewis joined Temple University Libraries as the coordinator of information literacy and reference.

Tara M. Radniecki has been named reference and electronic resources librarian for Loyola University-Chicago.

T. Peter (Pete) Ramsey has been appointed tenure-track reference and instruction librarian at Penn State Great Valley Library.

Catherine (Katie) Dover-Taylor has joined Gettysburg College's Musselman Library as reference and Web services librarian.

John Vincler has been appointed special collections librarian at the University of Akron's Archival Services.

Retirements

Louise K. Green retired in May after more than 40 years of service to Villanova University, Villanova, Pennsylvania. In addition to serving as acting library director of Falvey Memorial Library twice, she was associate director for public services, head of reference, a lecturer in the library science department, and a member of the academic integration team. In 1997, she was awarded the university's "Distinguished Service Award" in recognition of her many contributions to Falvey and the university. She served on numerous university-wide committees, including the Academic Information Planning Committee, the Information Technology Steering Council, and the Faculty Recruitment and Retention/Multicultural Diversity Committee. 🕶

Advertisers

| Annual Reviews | cover 3 |
|----------------------------------|----------|
| Association of Research Librarie | s 382 |
| Choice | 393 |
| Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory | 392 |
| Press | |
| Modern Language cov | er 2,381 |
| Association | |
| Optical Society of America | cover 4 |
| Rittenhouse Book Distributors | 385 |
| | |