# **ACRL's 2008 Awards Program**

## Honoring outstanding achievements in academic librarianship

or more than three quarters of a century, ACRL has been committed to celebrating the achievements of deserving academic and research librarians through the presentation of awards, grants, and fellowships. Every year ACRL extends recognition and honor to the winners of its awards. Thanks to generous corporate sponsorship that provides almost

\$30,000, ACRL has and will continue to nominate, select, and honor the very best in academic librarianship.

ACRL members are an integral part of our successful awards program. Please consider acknowledging those who have influenced your thinking, your practice, and your growth as an academic or research librarian. We urge you to nominate colleagues whose

work you admire, and whose contributions merit recognition by the profession. Your nominations will ensure that the pool of candidates for each award remains both competitive and distinguished.

Complete information about the ACRL awards program, including nomination procedures, past winners, criteria and contacts, is available in the "Awards" section of the ACRL Web site at www.acrl.org. December 7, 2007, is the deadline for most of the awards to be presented in 2008. A brief description of each award is listed below.

### Achievement and distinguished service awards

• Excellence in Academic Libraries

Award (sponsored by Blackwell's Book Services): \$3,000 for each type of library award (college, community college, and university). Recognizes academic libraries that are outstanding in furthering the educational missions of

their institutions.

 Academic/ Research Librarian of the Year Award (sponsored by YBP Library Services): \$5,000 award. Recognizes an outstanding

ACRL Academic/Research Librarian of the Year Award winner Lizabeth (Betsy) A. Wilson, dean of university libraries at the University of Washington-Seattle (third from right) with (left to right): Mary Ellen K. Davis, ACRL executive director; Ann-Marie Breaux, vice president of academic service integration, YBP Library Services; YBP Library Services representative; Linda Gagnon, senior vice president of sales and marketing, YBP Library Services; and ACRL Past-President Pamela Snelson.

> member of the academic or research library profession.

> • Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award (sponsored by ACRL, Association for Library Collections and Technical Services [ALCTS], Library

> Megan Griffin is ACRL program coordinator, e-mail: mgriffin@ala.org © 2007 Megan Griffin

Administration and Management Association [LAMA], Library and Information Technology Association [LITA]): cash award. Recognizes outstanding achievements (including risk-taking) in the areas of library automation, management, or development and research.

- Law and Political Science Section Marta Lange/CQ Press Award (sponsored by *CQ Press*): \$1,000 award. Recognizes a librarian who has made distinguished contributions to bibliography and information service in law or political science.
- Miriam Dudley Instruction Librarian Award (sponsored by *Elsevier* on behalf of its library and information science program): \$1,000 award. Recognizes an individual librarian for significant contributions to the advancement of instruction in a college or research library environment.
- Instruction Section Innovation Award (sponsored by *LexisNexis*): \$3,000 award for librarians who have implemented innovative approaches to information literacy at their respective institutions or in their communities.
- Community College Learning Resources Leadership/Library Achievement Awards (sponsored by *EBSCO Information Services*): \$500 for each of two awards recognizing outstanding achievement in library programs or leadership.
- Haworth Press Distance Learning Librarian Conference Sponsorship Award (sponsored by *Haworth Press*): \$1,200 conference sponsorship award to honor any individual ACRL member working in the field of, or contributing to the success of distance learning librarianship of, related library service in higher education.
- Distinguished Education and Behavioral Sciences Librarian Award (sponsored by *John Wiley & Sons*): \$1,000 award to honor outstanding contributions to education and behavioral sciences librarianship through accomplishments and service to the profession.
- Women's Studies Section Awards for Achievement (sponsored by *Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc.* and *Routledge*): \$1,000 for each of two awards recognizing career

or significant achievements in the area of women's studies librarianship.

#### **Research awards/grants**

- **Doctoral Dissertation Fellowship** (sponsored by *Thomson Scientific*): \$1,500 to assist doctoral students in the field with their dissertation research.
- Samuel Lazerow Fellowship (sponsored by *Thomson Scientific)*: \$1,000 cash for travel and writing in the fields of acquisition or technical services.
- Coutts Nijhoff West European Specialist Study Grant (sponsored by *Coutts Nijhoff International*): Grant that supports research pertaining to Western European studies, librarianship, or the book trade.

#### **Publications**

- Katharine Kyes Leab and Daniel J. Leab Exhibition Catalogue Awards (sponsored by *Katharine Kyes Leab* and *Daniel J. Leab*, American Book Prices Current): Recognizes outstanding catalogs published by American or Canadian institutions in conjunction with library exhibitions. Deadline: October 15, 2007.
- Ilene F. Rockman Instruction Publication of the Year Award (sponsored by *Emerald Group Publishing Unlimited*): \$3,000 to recognize an outstanding publication related to instruction in a library environment published in the last two years.
- Science and Technology Section Oberly Award for Bibliography in the Agricultural or Natural Sciences: This biennial award is given in odd-numbered years for the best English-language bibliography in the field of agriculture or a related science.

#### Learn more about ACRL's awards

If you would like more information about the ACRL 2008 Awards Program, visit the "Awards" section of our Web site at www. acrl.org or contact ACRL Program Coordinator Megan Griffin, at (800) 545-2433 ext. 2514, or mgriffin@ala.org.

We welcome your nominations and look forward to celebrating achievements in academic librarianship in 2008.