Megan Griffin

ACRL honors the 2007 WSS award winners

Recognizing achievement

WSS Significant Achievement Awards

The winners of the 2007 ACRL Women's Studies Section (WSS) Award for Significant Achievement in Woman's Studies Librarianship presented a panel at the 2006 National Women's Studies Association (NWSA) meeting, entitled "Locating Women's Studies Information: Contemporary Quandaries in Providing Effective Access to Feminist Materials."

The panelists were as follows: Jennifer Gilley (head librarian, Pennsylvania State- New Kensington), Kayo Denda (women's studies librarian, Rutgers University), Jenna Freedman (coordinator of reference services and Zine librarian, Barnard College), Sharon Ladenson (gender studies and communications librarian, Michigan State University).

The WSS award, sponsored by Routledge, honors a significant or one-time contribution to women's studies librarianship.

A \$1,000 award and a plaque will be presented to the four panelists during the 2007 ALA Annual Conference in Washington D.C. at the WSS Program on Monday, June 25, at 8:00 a.m.

"The panel covered important issues related to women's studies resources," said Megan Adams Brooks, chair of the WSS award committee. "The panel was significant for taking the initiative as librarians to present at a conference of the professional organization of women's studies teaching faculty and researchers. By addressing several issues related to women's studies resources, the panel offered an excellent model that should encourage other members of WSS

to prepare panel proposals for future NWSA conferences."

River awarded WSS Career Achievement Award

Sandra (Sandy) A. River, architecture and humanities librarian at the Texas Tech University Libraries, has been selected as the 2007 winner of the ACRL Women's Studies Section (WSS) Career Achievement Award. The award, sponsored by Greenwood Publishing Group, Inc., honors significant long-standing contributions to women's studies in the field of librarianship over the course of a career.

A cash prize of \$1,000 and a plaque will be presented to River during the 2007 American Library Association (ALA) Annual Conference in Washington D.C. at the WSS Program on Monday, June 25, at 8:00 a.m.

"Sandy's leadership in the ACRL Women's Studies Section is exemplary," said Megan Adams Brooks, chair of the WSS award committee. "She has been a leader in Women's Studies Librarianship for many years and she continues to be a force within the ACRL WSS, not only by her activities and participation on committees but also through her mentorship of young librarians."

River received her M.A. in Philosophy from Texas Tech University, and her MLS in Library Science from the University of North Texas. She received her B.A. in Political Science from Mankato State College.

Megan Griffin is ACRL program coordinator, e-mail: mgriffin@ala.org
© 2007 Megan Griffin

C&RL News June 2007 380