other significant activity in behalf of the profession and its aims. Donated by Joseph W. Lippincott. Administered by the ALA Awards Committee.

Margaret Mann Citation. An annual citation, awarded by the Cataloging and Classification Section of the Resources and Technical Services Division, made to a cataloger and/or classifier, not necessarily an American, for his outstanding professional achievement in the areas of cataloging and classification, either through publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional cataloging associations, introduction of new techniques of recognized importance, or outstanding work in the area of teaching within the past five years.

Isadore Gilbert Mudge Citation. A citation to be given at the annual conference of the ALA to a person who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; the writing of a significant book or articles in the reference field; creative and inspirational teaching of reference service; or other noteworthy activities which stimulate reference librarians to more dis-

tinguished performance.

Eunice Rockwell Oberly Memorial Award. A biennial award given in odd-numbered years, consisting of a citation and a cash award of the income of the Oberly Memorial Fund, made to the American citizen who compiles the best bibliography in the field of agriculture or one of the related sciences in the two-year period preceding the year in which the award is made. Made possible by a fund established by colleagues in memory of Eunice Rockwell Oberly. Administered by ACRL Agriculture and Biological Sciences Subsection.

Esther J. Piercy Award. An award, established in 1968, in the form of a citation given to recognize the contribution to librarianship in the field of the technical services by younger members of the profession. The recipient will be a librarian with not more than ten years of professional experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contributions and leadership in any of the fields comprising technical services by such means as: (a) leadership in professional associations at local, state, regional or national levels; (b) contributions to the development, application, or utilization of new or improved methods, techniques, and routines; (c) a significant contribution to professional literature; and (d) conduct of studies or research in the technical services. The award shall be given to

an individual each year in which the Jury believes there to be a qualified recipient.

Scarecrow Press Award for Library Literature.
An award of \$500 and a citation made to an American librarian to recognize an outstanding contribution to library literature issued during the calendar year preceding the presentation. Donated by the Scarecrow Press. Administered by ALA Awards Committee.

CONCERNED LIBRARIANS PLAN MEETING

"Who Speaks for the Academic Librarian?" is the topic announced by the Librarians Concerned About Academic Status in requesting meeting space during ALA's Atlantic City Conference, Co-chairmen Mrs. Fay M. Blake and Evert Volkersz announced. Librarians Concerned About Academic Status, a national grass roots committee of academic librarians, invites all librarians concerned with the problems of status, academic freedom, representation, and voice to attend this open meeting. Date and place will be announced when the information becomes available. After brief presentations have been made on specific issues of academic librarianship (speakers to be announced), the committee hopes to open the floor to a general discussion of needs, responsibilities, programs, and machinery to achieve the highest aspirations of academic librarianhip.

COMMITTEE ON NON-WESTERN RESOURCES

Need help in acquiring Asian and African materials? The Committee on Non-Western Resources wishes to assist librarians who are developing collections or who have specific problems. Perhaps the individual and combined experience of this group can be of assistance to you. Address inquiries to the Chairman or Committee members: Sister Elizabeth O'Connor, Manhattanville College, Purchase, N.Y. 10577; Miss Dorothy Drake, Scripps College, Claremont, Cal. 91711; Miss Ann Edmonds, Mount Holyoke College, South Hadley, Mass. 01075; Mr. Kenneth H. LaBudde, University of Missouri at Kansas City, 5100 Rockhill Road, Kansas City, Mo. 64110; Mrs. Lillian Smoke, Gettysburg College, Gettysburg, Pa. 17325.