No. 1, January 1970

College Research Libraries

NEWS

ACRL News Issue (A) of College & Research Libraries, Vol. 31, No. 1

Nominations Sought for ALA Awards

All members of the American Library Association are urged to recommend candidates for the ALA awards, citations, and scholarships presented for distinguished service to the profession, publication, study, and research. Most of the 1970 awards will be made during the ALA Annual Conference in Detroit. The chairman of the 1969–70 Awards Committee is Spencer G. Shaw, of the Nassau Library System, Garden City, New York. Following is a list of awards which may be of particular interest to members of the Association of College and Research Libraries, with names of persons to whom nominations should be sent:

Beta Phi Mu Award. An annual award of \$50 and a citation of achievement made to an individual for distinguished service to education for librarianship. Only persons nominated by an ALA member are considered. The nomination must be accompanied by a specific statement of the qualifications of the nominee. Donated by Beta Phi Mu. Administered by Library Education Division. Deadline for nominations, April 1, 1970. Send nominations to Jury Chairman Irving Lieberman, School of Librarianship, University of Washington, Seattle 98105.

JOHN COTTON DANA PUBLICITY AWARDS. Annual citations made to libraries or library organizations of all types submitting scrapbooks representing the year's public relations program. Donated by the H. W. Wilson Company. Administered jointly by the Public Relations Section of the ALA Library Administration Division and Wilson Library Bulletin. Deadline for entries, April 1, 1970; for scrapbooks, April 14, 1970. Send entries and scrapbooks to the John Cotton Dana Publicity Awards Contest, c/o Wilson Library Bulletin, 950 University Avenue, Bronx, New York 10452. Information available from Jury Chairman Samuel L. Simon, Long Beach Public Library, 111 W. Park Avenue, Long Beach, New York 11561.

EXHIBITS ROUND TABLE AWARD. An annual award of \$500 made to an individual or a group to aid or improve some particular aspect of librarianship or library service on the basis of need to the profession or in the operation of professional library associations. Donated and administered by Exhibits Round Table. Send applications to Jury Co-chairmen: Harry M. Rowe, Jr., Orange County Public Library, 431 S. Manchester, Orange, California 92668 or John Wall, Demco Library Service, Madison, Wisconsin.

LIBRARY BUILDINGS AWARD PROGRAM. A biennial citation and plaque presented for distinguished accomplishments in library architecture by an American architect. Awards are made in three classifications: school libraries (up to and including secondary schools), college and university libraries, and public libraries (including county and state). Donated and administered by American Institute of Architects, American Library Association, and National Book Committee. Deadline for entries to be determined. Application forms available from Library Administration Division at ALA Headquarters.

ISADORE GILBERT MUDGE CITATION. A citation to be given to a person who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librari-

VOTERS' TIME suggests

how to preserve democratic choice as TV costs escalate in presidential elections. By a Twentieth Century Fund Commission—Dean Burch, Thomas C. Corcoran, Alexander Heard, Robert Price; Newton Minow, chairman. 70 pp. \$1. Twentieth Century Fund, 41 East 70 Street, New York City 10021.

ATTENTION COLLEGE LIBRARIANS!

You expect more from Midwest Library Service . . . And you get it!

For complete jobber services on U. S. titles, call us collect in St. Louis, Missouri—Area Code 314, 845-3100.

MIDWEST LIBRARY SERVICE

11400 Dorsett Road Maryland Heights, Missouri 63042 anship: an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; the writing of a significant book or articles in the reference field; creative and inspirational teaching of reference service; or other noteworthy activities which stimulate reference librarians to more distinguished performance. Donated and administered by the Reference Services Division. Deadline for nominations, March 15, 1970. Send nominations to Jury Chairman Ruth Erlandson, Ohio State University Library, Columbus, Ohio 43210.

EUNICE ROCKWELL OBERLY MEMORIAL AWARD. A citation and a cash award presented biennially in odd-numbered years to the American citizen who compiles the best bibliography in the field of agriculture or one of the related sciences in the two-year period preceding the year in which the award is made. Donated by colleagues of Eunice Rockwell Oberly. Administered by Agricultural and Biological Sciences Subsection, Association of College and Research Libraries. Deadline for nominations, March 15, 1971. Chairman to be appointed. Send nominations to staff liaison, Donald Thomas, ACRL Executive Secretary, ALA Headquarters, 50 East Huron Street, Chicago 60611.

HERBERT PUTNAM HONOR FUND. An award of \$500 presented at intervals as a grant-inaid to an American librarian of outstanding ability for travel, writing, or other use that might improve his or her service to the library profession or to society. Donated by friends and associates of Dr. Herbert Putnam. Administered by ALA Awards Committee. Send nominations to Jury Chairman Spencer G. Shaw, Nassau Library System, Lower Concourse, Roosevelt Field, Garden City, New York 11530.

The ALA Awards Committee is responsible for recommendations on all policies relating to awards made or sponsored by ALA. The committee reviews periodically the appropriateness of existing awards; recommends modification, elimination, or suspension of existing awards; and makes recommendations on all new awards proposed. The committee coordinates the work of juries appointed to select recipients of general ALA awards, arranges for the presentation of these awards, and coordinates the awards programs of the various ALA divisions. In addition to Shaw, the chairman, committee members are Sister Lauretta McCusker, OP (1970); Carlton C. Rochell (1970); Marian Sanner (1970); Mrs. Virginia G. Young (1970); Robert F. Delzell (1971); and Raymond W. Frantz, Jr. (1970). ALA staff liaison is Mrs. Judith F. Krug, director of the Office for Intellectual Freedom.