# People in the News

Bradley F. Baker, dean of libraries and learning resources at Northeastern Illinois University's Ronald Williams Library, is the recipient of the Illinois Library Computer Systems Organization (ILCSO) Distinguished Contributor Award for his active role in ILCSO activities for the last 18 years. He currently serves as an elected member of the ILCSO Board of Directors, and has served as ILCSO vice president (1992-95) and president (1995-98). Baker has also played a number of instrumental roles in ILCSO governance, serving as chair of the Access to Databases Committee, chair of the Functional Specifications Task Force, and chair of the OCLC Connectivity Task Force, In addition to his ILCSO work, Baker is a member of the OCLC Board of Trustees, was president of the OCLC Users' Council/Members' Council, was on the Illinois State Library's ILLINET Network Advisory Committee, and the Illinois Board of Higher Education's IACRL/IBHE Liaison Committee.

Nicholas C. Burckel, dean of libraries at Marquette University, has been named



Nicholas C. Burckel

2003 Librarian of the Year by the Wisconsin Library Association. Burckel was selected for his nationally recognized contributions to libraries and archives and his leadership in these fields. Nomination papers described how Burckel has been deeply involved in

promoting the value of libraries by building relationships with other Wisconsin libraries and developing a variety of professional organizations at the state, regional, and national levels since the 1970s. Burckel also supported the successful fundraising campaign for Marquette's new John P. Raynor, S.J., Library, which opened in 2003.

Lizabeth (Betsy) A. Wilson, director of university libraries at the University of Washington (UW) since 2001, has been

elected chair of the OCLC Board of Trustees. Wilson served as OCLC Members Council president from 1999 to 2000 and has served as a member of the OCLC Board of Trustees since 2000. Before her cur- Lizabeth (Betsy) A. Wilson rent position, Wilson



was associate director of libraries for research and instructional services at UW (1992-2001) and assistant director of libraries for undergraduate and instructional services at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She has held leadership positions in ALA and ACRL, including serving as a member of ALA Council and ACRL president and helping to establish the ACRL Institute for Information Literacy. She is currently chair of the Board of Directors of the Greater Western Library Alliance; a member of the Executive Committee of the Orbis Cascade Alliance: and a Board member of the Association of Research Libraries.

## Appointments

Joe Clark has joined the Albin O. Kuhn Library and Gallery faculty as digital and audiovisual media librarian at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County.

Jenny Garcia has been appointed medical reference/fee-based service li-

Ed. note: To ensure that your personnel news is considered for publication, write to Ann-Christe Galloway, production editor, C&RL News, 50 E. Huron St., Chicago, IL 60611-2795; e-mail: agalloway@ala.org; fax: (312) 280-2520.

brarian at the University of Wyoming Libraries.

**Dennis Gooler** is now associate professor at Dominican University's Graduate Library School, where he will be focusing on electronic technology and reference work.

**Nick Graham** is head of public services of the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

**John Heintz** has been named business reference librarian at the University of St. Thomas in Minneapolis.

**Elizabeth Huntoon** is now visiting instructor at Dominican University's Graduate Library School.

**William La Moy** has been appointed curator of rare books and printed materials at Syracuse University Library.

**Marvel Maring** is now humanities/ fine arts reference librarian at the University of Nebraska-Omaha Library.

**Vickie Mix** has been appointed reference librarian/instructor in the Hilton M. Briggs Library at South Dakota State University.

**Miriam Pollack** is now a visiting instructor at Dominican University's Graduate Library School.

**Jason Tomberlin** is now special projects librarian of the North Carolina Collection at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

**Tim West** has been named manuscripts curator and director of the Southern Historical Collection at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.

### Retirements



Dennis L. Richards

**Dennis L. Richards,** documents librarian at the University of Montana (UM)-Missoula,

tana (UM)-Missoula, retired on December 31, 2003, after a 40year career in academic librarianship. Richards began his professional career at Indiana State University in 1963, and in 1968 he moved to Missoula to become documents librarian. During his 35-year tenure at UM, he brought many honors to the campus, including consistently positive reviews about UM's regional depository operation. In 2003, Richards received the Montana Library Association's Honorary Lifetime Membership Award.

### Deaths

Helen Lightfoot-Fried, 98, died on October 8, 2003. She was known as "Miss Lightfoot" for the close to 30 years during which she served as head of the Indiana University Libraries' Documents Department. She began work as an "apprentice" at the Iowa State Library after graduating from high school and began her lifelong devotion to and expertise in government publications. She was involved in every aspect of acquiring, recording, and organizing Indiana University Libraries' outstanding collections of documents, but guiding students and faculty about their use and interpretation was the clear and central purpose of all those activities. In 1989, Lightfoot-Fried was awarded the William Evans Jenkins Librarian's Award.

#### **Advertiser index**

ACM	33
ACRL/TLT Group	34
American Chemical	Cover 2
Society	
Annual Reviews	36
Archival Products	4
Association of Research	43
Libraries	
Chemical Abstracts Service Cover 4	
CHOICE	I-13
East View Information Svc	s. I-14
EBSCO	Cover 3
Elsevier	31
Oxford University Press	11
Paratext	42
ScienceDirect	1
SWETS/Blackwell	22
Univ. of Oklahoma Librarie	es 26