Member-at-Large (one-year term): Marie Bednar, Assistant to the Head, Slavic Library Program, University Libraries, Pennsylvania State University, University Park, PA 16802; Laszlo L. Kovacs, Librarian, School of Humanities, Social Science and Education, Purdue University Libraries, West Lafavette, IN 47907.

UNIVERSITY LIBRARIES SECTION

Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect: Joanne Harrar, Direc-

tor, Library Science, University of Maryland, McKeldin Library, College Park, MD 20742; Richard J. Talbot, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 01002.

Secretary (three-year term): Naimuddin Qureshi, Assistant Professor, California State University, 800 N. State College Blvd., Box 4150, Fullerton, CA 92634; Judy Harvey Sahak, Assistant Director of Libraries, The Claremont Colleges, Ninth & Dartmouth Sts., Claremont, CA 91711.

ACRL Members Run for ALA Council

The following members of the Association of College and Research Libraries have been nominated as candidates for ALA councilor in the spring 1979 elections. Members are encouraged to vote for these candidates to increase ACRL's voice in the affairs of the American Library Association.

Elaine P. Adams, Coordinator, Learning Resources Center, Texas Southern University Library, Houston

Ronald Blazek, Associate Professor, School of Library Science, Florida State University, Tallahassee

William S. Budington, Executive Director and Librarian, John Crerar Library, Chicago, Illinois

Sheila Dowd, Assistant University Librarian for Collection Development and Reference Services, University of California, Berkeley

Allan J. Dyson, Head, Moffitt Undergraduate Library, University of California, Berkeley

Ambrose Easterly, Director of Library Services, William Rainey Harper College, Palatine, Illinois

Shirley A. Edsall, Director, Learning Resources Center, Wilson Memorial Hospital, Johnson City, New York

Bernard M. Fry, Dean, Graduate Library School, Indiana University, Bloomington

Dean W. Halliwell, University Librarian, University of Victoria, Victoria, British Columbia, Canada

Beth Hamilton, Director, Illinois Regional Library Council, Chicago, Illinois

William C. Highfill, University Librarian, Auburn University Libraries, Auburn, Alabama

Daniel W. Lester, Assistant Dean for Technical Services, University of New Mexico General Library, Albuquerque

Beverly P. Lynch, University Librarian, University of Illinois at Chicago Circle

Sister Lauretta McCuster, Dean, Rosary College, Graduate School of Library Science, River Forest, Illinois Richard E. Miller, Director, Oshkosh Public Library, Oshkosh, Wisconsin

Ronald Naylor, Personnel Officer, University of Maryland Libraries, College Park

Richard Olsen, Director, James P. Adams Library, Rhode Island College, Providence

Lelia G. Rhodes, Director, Jackson State University Library, Jackson, Mississippi

C. James Schmidt, Director of Libraries, State University of New York, Albany

Thomas W. Shaughnessy, Assistant Director for Public Service and Collection Development, University of Houston, Houston, Texas

Kenneth E. Toombs, Director of Libraries, Thomas Cooper Library, University of South Carolina, Columbia

Herman Totten, Associate Dean, School of Library and Information Science, North Texas State University, Denton

Avery Williams, Reference Librarian, Roosevelt University Library, Chicago, Illinois.

Librarian Is AAUP President

The new president of the American Association of University Professors (AAUP) is Martha Friedman, associate professor and history and philosophy librarian at the University of Illinois, Urbana. She has been a member of the university faculty since 1965 with her particular area of research being the history of American academic libraries and the development of ideas of professionalism in librarianship. Friedman has served on the Faculty Senate at the University of Illinois and has been the chairperson of the Senate Council since 1976. She has also been a member of numerous other campus committees. Since 1965, when she joined AAUP, she has held many chapter and conference offices and recently completed a term as first vice-president of AAUP.