than two weeks following the close of the ALA Midwinter Meeting. The program or programs to receive the award will be selected by the time of, and announced at, the following annual conference.

Units of the Association eligible for grants under the award are: ALA committees, ALA joint committees, ALA divisions, ALA round tables, and ALA chapters. Applications for grants from units within a division must be approved by the governing board of the division. The chairman is Mary V. Gaver, Professor, Graduate School of Library Service, Rutgers, The State University, New Brunswick, New Jersey 08903.

The Melvil Dewey Award, consisting of an engraved medal and a citation, is presented annually to an individual or a group for recent creative professional achievement of a high order, particularly in those fields in which Melvil Dewey was actively interested, notably library management, library training, cataloging and classification, and the tools and techniques of librarianship. Donated by Forest Press, Inc. Deadline for nominations, January 15, 1968. Send five copies of nominations to the jury chairman, Dr. Richard M. Dougherty, Associate Director of Libraries, University of

Colorado, Boulder, Colorado 80302.

The Joseph W. Lippincott Award is an award made to a librarian, consisting of \$1,000, an engraved medal, and a special citation, made annually to honor outstanding participation in professional library associations, notable published professional writing, or other significant activity in the profession. Donated by Joseph W. Lippincott. Deadline for nominations, January 15, 1968. Send five copies of nominations to the jury chairman, Robert E. Thomas, Librarian, Salt Lake City Public Library, 209 East Fifth Street, Salt Lake City, Utah 84111.

The MARGARET MANN CITATION is an annual citation, awarded by the Cataloging and Classification Section of the Resources and Technical Services Division made to a cataloger and/or classifier, not necessarily an American, for his outstanding professional achievement in the areas of cataloging and classification, either through publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional cataloging associations, introduction of new techniques of recognized importance, or outstanding work in the area of teaching within the past five years. Deadline for nominations, January 1, 1968. Send nominations with resumé of achievement on which nomination is based to the committee chairman, Miss Marion Kesselring, Assistant Chief Catalog Librarian, Brown University Library, Providence, Rhode Island 02912.

The Isadore Gilbert Mudge Citation is given at the annual conference of the ALA

to a person who has made a distinguished contribution to reference librarianship. This contribution may take the form of an imaginative and constructive program in a particular library; the writing of a significant book or articles in the reference field; creative and inspirational teaching of reference service; active participation in professional associations devoted to reference services; or other noteworthy activities which stimulate reference librarians to more distinguished performance. Send nominations to the chairman, A. Kathryn Oller, Graduate School of Library Science, Drexel Institute, 32nd and Chestnut Streets, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19104, by March 16, 1968.

The Herbert Putnam Honor Award is presented at unstipulated intervals as a grant-inaid to an American librarian of outstanding ability, for travel, writing, or other use that might increase his usefulness to the library profession or to society. The award was made possible by friends and associates of Dr. Putnam, Librarian of Congress, 1899-1939, in remembrance of his distinguished services to his profession and his country. The ALA Awards Committee will serve as jury for this award. The winner will be announced and the award will be presented at a general session during the annual ALA conference in Kansas City.

The SCARECROW PRESS AWARD FOR LIBRARY LITERATURE is a cash award of \$500 made to an American librarian to recognize an outstanding contribution to library literature issued during the calendar year preceding the presentation. Deadline for nominations, January 15, 1968. Send nominations to the jury chairman, Robert F. Delzell, Administrative Assistant, University of Illinois Library, Urbana, Illinois 46990.

ACRL NOMINEES

Candidates for ACRL offices in 1968 have been announced, and are: For Vice President and President-Elect:

Page Ackerman, University of California, Los

Philip J. McNiff, Boston Public Library. For Directors-at-Large (1968/72) (two to be elected, one from each bracket)

Frances Kennedy, Oklahoma City University.
David Weber, Stanford University Libraries.
J. Richard Blanchard, University of California, Davis.

Norman Tanis, Kansas State College of Pittsburg.

Section and Subsection nominations will appear in a later issue of *CRL News*.